Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Detwiler v. City of Akron

Supreme Court brief1991

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

, SS eer,

JY-, A498 RFiLED

MAR 19 1991

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

No.

In The :

Supreme Court Of The United States

October Term, 1990

MARY DETWILER,

Petitioner,

Vv.

CITY OF AKRON,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH

APPELLATE DISTRICT, SUMMIT COUNTY, OHIO

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Robert R. Melnick

Of Counsel: Counsel of Record

John W. Whitehead Daniel G.LaPorte

THE RUTHERFORD THE RUTHERFORD

INSTITUTE INSTITUTE of OHIO

1445 East Rio Road 18 N. Phelps St., Suite 300

Charlottesville, VA 22901 Youngstown, Ohio 44503

(804) 978-3888 (216) 744-8973

Attorneys for Petitioner

i

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the right to a fair trial, under the Sixth and Fourteenth

Amendments, demands that a defendant charged with trespass and

other misdemeanors at an abortion clinic be allowed to present

evidence to the jury in support of her claim that her conduct was

privileged under the common law because it was necessary to save

human life beyond the first trimester of pregnancy.

ii

LIST OF PARTIES

The parties to the criminal and appellate proceedings in the state

courts were Petitioner, Mary Detwiler, as Defendant in the Akron

Municipal Court and Appeilant in the Court of Appeals, and the City

of Akron, as Plaintiff in the Akron Municipal Court and Appellee in

the Court of Appeals.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED ................

MOPORPANTONS...................5..

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ................

OPINIONS BELOW ....................

ee ees

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PUMPER wt ts

DIATOMENT Ur IMECASE .........2206.

SUMMARY OFARGUMENT ..............

EE ee ee

I. THE RIGHT OF CRIMINAL DEFENDANTS

TO A REASONABLE OPPORTUNITY TO

BE HEARD IS A FUNDAMENTAL RIGHT

IN THE AMERICAN SYSTEM OF JURIS-

ee

II. THE OPPORTUNITY TO PRESENT A

COMPLETE DEFENSE IS INCLUDED

WITHIN THE PENUMBRA OF THE FUN-

DAMENTAL RIGHT OF CRIMINAL

DEFENDANTS TOBEHEARD ........

III. PETITIONER WAS DEPRIVED OF

HER OPPORTUNITY TO PRESENT HER

NECESSITY DEFENSE TO THE JURY,

IN VIOLATION OF HER CONSTITU-

TIONAL RIGHT TO PRESENT A COM-

PUMBRURUPUUEPMES CR te ee

IV. PETITIONER COULD HAVE SUSTAINED

HEK BURDEN OF PROOF WITH RESPECT

TO HER NECESSITY DEFENSE .......

—=— —

na & WwW N

iv

V. PETITIONER’S LACK OF PRIVILEGED

CONDUCT, AS AN ELEMENT OF THE

ALLEGED MISDEMEANOR, WAS NOT

PROVED BEYOND A REASONABLE

DOUBT BY THE PROSECUTION .....-.- - 14

‘se Sa re a oe 15

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

A. CASES

Akron v. Akron Center for Reproductive Health,

RE SG ae ee ge we ee 8 4,9, 10,11

Akron v. Detwiler, No. 89 CRB 3282

PE ID gcc cc tee ee 3

Baltimore & Ohio R. Co. v. United States,

eee ee 5

Beachwood v. Cohen, 29 Ohio App.3d 226,

504 N.E.2d 1186 (App. 1986) ........... 14,15

California v. Trombetta, 467 U.S. 479 (1984) .. 2... 6

Castle v. United States, 347 F.2d 492 (D.C. Cir.), cert.

den., 381 U.S. 929 (1964), 381 U.S. 953,

pet. reh. den., 382 U.S. 874 (1965), cert. den.,

Pn PRE 6 be 6 va iw te 6 06 8

Chambers v. Mississippi, 410 U.S. 284 (1973) ..... 6,8

Cleveland v. Municipality of Anchorage,

OR Bi) er 11

Cleveland v. Sabo, Cuyahoga App. Nos. 41999 and

42004 (decided May 14, 1981), 1981 WL 4949

Pee eae ee ee 12

Cleveland v. Sundermeier, 48 Ohio App.3d 204, 549

Pe so a a as sake 8 12, 15

Crane v. Kentucky, 476 U.S. 683 (1986) ......... 5, 6,7

Davis v. Alaska, 415 U.S. 308 (1974) .......... 6

Dayton v. Drake, 1990 WL 121890 (Ohio App.) .... 10

Detwiler v. Akron, C.A. No. 14385

SS 8a Seas eee & 4 6 ale 10, 11

Duncan v. Louisiana, 391 U.S. 145 (1968) ....... 6

vi

Fairfield Commons Condominium Assn. v. Stasa, 30 Ohio

App.3d 11, 506 N.E.2d 237 (1985) cert. den., sub.

nom., Moriarty v. Fairfield Commons Condominium

Assn., 479 U.S. 1055 (1987) 2... 6 6 eee ees

Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479 (1965)... ..

Harriss v. Pan American World Airways, 649 F.2d 670

(Sth Cir. 19BO) wee ee ee ees

Hoffart v. State, 686 S.W.2d 259 (Tex. App. 14 Dist.

1985), cert. den., 479 U.S. 824, reh. den., 479 US.

iL a ee

fe ve Oliver, 383 U.S. 257(1948) 20. eee

In re Winship, 397 U.S. 358(1970) ..... 2.5 ---

Int’l Union, United Auto. Aerospace and Agricultural Im-

plement Workers of America UAW v. Johnson Con-

trols, Inc., 886 F.2d 871 (7th Cir. 1989) ....

Jenkins v. McKeithen, 395 U.S. 411 (1969) .......

Kettering v. Berry, 57 Ohio App.3d 66,

__N.E.2d___ (1990)... 2 ee ee ees

Levin v. Delta Air Lines, 730 F.2d 994

(4th Cir. 1984) 2... ec eee ee ees

Mariemont v. Wells, 33 Ohio Misc.2d 9, 514

N.E.2d 764 (M.C. 1986) ... 2... 5 2 ee ees

Morgan v. United States, 298 U.S. 468 (1936)... . .

Ohio v. Rinear, No. 78CRB-3706 (Mun. Ct. Hamilton

County, Ohio, decided May 2,1978) .......

People v. Harmon, 394 Mich. 625, 232

N.W.2d 187 (1975) 2... 6 ee es

People v. Luther, 394 Mich. 619, 232

N.W.2d 184 (1975) 2... 2 ee ee ee es

People v. Stiso, 93 I. App.3d 101, 416

N.E.2d 1209 (Ill. App. 1981)... 2... ee.

People v. Unger, 66 Il.2d 333, 362

N.E.20 319 (101. 1977) ww ees

10

5,6

14

10

14

1]

~J

Vii

Powell v. Alabama, 287 U.S. 45(1932) ......

Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973) ... 2...

Sigma Reproductive Health Center v. Maryland,

297 Md. 660, 467 A.2d 483 (1983) .....

Specht v. Patterson, 386 U.S. 605 (1967)... . .

St. Louis v. Klocker, 637 S.W.2d 174

IIIS Ca litre or | a Pe

State v. Adams, 62 Ohio St.2d 151, 404

Wk.ae BO6GCISSR) 2...

State v. Balch, No. CR10-94874 (C.P. New London

County, Conn., decided March 7, 1978) .. .

State v. Brechon, 352 N.W.2d 745 (Minn. 1984)

State v. Burton, 103 A. 962(R.1.1918) ......

State v. Cross, 58 Ohio St.2d 482, 391

N.E.2d 319(1979) .........2......

State v. Isaac, 44 Ohio Misc. 87, 337 N.F.2d 818

Da s&h us 6 owe tO ea

State v. Milam, 108 Ohio App. 254, 156

IN.E.28 640(1959) ..............

State v. Procter, 51 Ohio App.2d 152, 367

8

State v. Rasmussen, 5 Fam. L. Rep. 2037

(BNA) (Mun. Ct. Hennepin County,

WC II gs vc ct ck

State v. Sappienza, 84 Ohio St. 63, 95

SEE: wha Gs 6 40 0 0 oak

United States v. Bailey, 444 U.S. 394 (1980) _..

United States v. Balch, No. 64684-77

(D.C. Super. Ct., decided Dec. 19,1977) _ .

United States v. Contento-Pachon, 723 F.2d 691

ae tat a |.

United States v. Dorrell, 758 F.2d 427

RS

. . .

12

viii

United States v. Kabat, 797 F.2d 580 (8th Cir. 1986),

cert. den., 481 U.S. 1030 (1987) ........--- 8

United States v. Lopez, 885 F.2d 1428 (9th Cir. 1989),

cert. den., 110 S.Ct. 748 (1990)... 2... - 7

United States v. McKnight, 427 F.2d 75 (7th Cir.),

cert.den., 400 U.S. 880 (1970) ........-5-- 7

United States v. Simpson, 460 F.2d 515

‘Le a 12, 13

Washington v. Texas, 388 U.S. 14 (1967) ......---. 5,6

William Gray, 29 F. Cas. 1300 (C.C.D.N.Y. 1810) ... 7

Wilson v. State, 777 S.W.2d 823

(Tex. App.- Austin 1989)... 2.2... - eee 12

Woods v. State, 121 S.W.2d 604 (Tex. 1938) ...... 7

Wright v. Olin Corp., 697 F.2d 1172 (4th Cir. 1982)

B. STATUTES

Akron City Code, Section 130.02 .....-.---5-: 2, 14

Akron City Code, Section 131.08(B)(1) .....-.-. 2

C. OTHER AUTHORITIES

Note, Necessity As A Defense To A Charge of Criminal

Trespass In An Abortion Clinic, 48 U. Cin. Law

el ere 7, 8,10

No.

In The

Supreme Court Of The United States

October Term, 1990

MARY DETWILER,

Petitioner,

v.

CITY OF AKRON,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH

APPELLATE DISTRICT SUMMIT COUNTY, OHIO

OPINIONS BeLOW

The Entry of the Ohio Supreme Court denying jurisdictics is not

reported and is printed in the Appendix, p. A-1.

The Decision and Journal Entry of the Court of Appeals, Ninth

Judicial District, Summit County, Ohio is not reported and is printed

in the Appendix, p. A-2.

The Judgment of Conviction of the Akron Municipal Court is

not reported and is printed in the Appendix, p. A-20.

The Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law of the Akron

Municipal Court are not reported. They are printed in the Appendix,

p. A-22.

JURISDICTION

The Court of Appeals for the Ninth Judicial District, Summit

County, Ohio, entered its Decision and Journal Entry on July 5, 1990,

affirming the Judgment of Conviction entered against Mary Joun

Detwiler, Petitioner in this case, on November 15, 1989. At her trial.

2

Petitioner was prevented from introducing any evidence in support of

her claim that her presence at the abortion clinic on May 6, 1989 was

necessary to save human life, despite her argument that her defense

did not conflict with this Court’s decision in Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S.

113 (1973). Petitioner then timely filed an appeal and motion for

certiorari with the Ohio Supreme Court. The Ohio Supreme Court

dismissed the motion and appeal on December 19, 1990. The jurisdic-

tion of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. Sec. 1257(a).

U.S. CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

AND STATE STATUTES INVOLVED

U.S. Constitution, Amendment VI:

...[I]n all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy the

right to a speedy and public trial, by an impartial jury. . .

U.S. Constitution, Amendment XIV, Section I:

...[NJor shall any State deprive any person of life, liberty,

or property without due process of law; nor deny to any

person within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the

laws.

Akron City Code § 130.02:

“PRIVILEGE.” An immunity, license, or right conferred

by law, or bestowed by express or implied grant, or arising

out of status, position, office, or relationship, or growing

out of necessity. ‘

Akron City Code § 131.08 (B)(1):

(B) Noperson, without privilege to do so, shall do any of

the following:

(1) Knowingly enter or remain on the land or

premises of another;...

3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This is a Petition for Certiorari from the affirmance by the Ninth

District Court of Appeals, Summit County, Ohio of the Judgment of

Conviction entered in favor of the City of Akron against Mary Joan

Detwiler on November 15, 1989 in Akron Municipal Court Case No.

89 CRB 3282.

Prior to trial, Petitioner filed a motion and a memorandum to

allow the introduction of medical and other evidence in support of her

defense of necessity. After a hearing, the motion was denied and the

Akron Municipal Court subsequently issued Findings of Fact and

Conclusions of Law (the “Findings”) in support of the denial. At the

motion hearing, Petitioner’s counsel expressly raised the issue of

whether Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973), prevented the defense of

necessity.

Following a timely appeal to the Ninth District Court of Appeals,

Summit County, Ohio, the appellate court affirmed the trial court on

all issues by its Decision and Journal Entry of July 5, 1990. The first

assignment of error to the Court of Appeals stated as follows:

The trial court below deprived appellant of her constitu-

tional right to due process of law by refusing to aliow

appellant to present the common law defense of necessity

and to introduce expert medical evidence in support there-

of.

A timely notice of appeal to the Supreme Court of Ohio was filed

with the Court of Appeals on August 6, 1990 and a copy of that notice,

together with a memorandum in support of jurisdiction, was filed with

the Supreme Court of Ohio on September 4, 1990. Treating the appeal

as a motion for an order directing the Court of Appeals for Summit

County to certify its record, the Supreme Court of Ohio, on December

19, 1990, overruled the motion and dismissed the appeal sua sponte

on the grounds that no substantial constitutional question was in-

volved. This Petition for Certiorari ensued in due course.

The facts material to a consideration of this case are as follows:

on Saturday, May 6, 1989, Petitioner, a 27-year old housewife and

mother, then of four, now of five, arrived with other persons at 839

East Market Street, Akron, Ohio, at approximately 8:00 a.m., to try to

4

save the lives of unborn children scheduled for abortion and death that

day at the Akron Center for Reproductive Health (Akron Municipal

Court Trial Transcript Vol. I, 149, hereinafter “Tr.”) a second floor

tenant of the commercial building at that address (Tr. Vol. IT, 322 &

ff). She found pro-abortion protestors already on the premises, chiefly

on the second floor balcony area of the building near the second floor

entrance to the abortion clinic. Petitioner took up a position in an

unenclosed outside stairwell area of the premises next to the adjacent

parking lot and open to the public. However, she was not in front of

the stairs to the second floor (7r. Vol. II, 329). Throughout the day

until the time of her arrest, Petitioner sang hymns and otherwise

conducted herself in a peaceful manner in this common area (7r. Vol.

IT, 331). Petitioner at no time entered any portion of the premises

leased to the abortion clinic. She remained, with her friends, in

approximately the same area, until the point of her arrest. After being

arrested, booked and fingerprinted, she was transported to the Power

Street correctional facility and incarcerated before being released on

her own recognizance.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Ohio courts denied Petitioner her fundamental right to

present a complete defense to misdemeanor trespass. Specifically, the

Ohio courts excluded all evidence at trial which related to Petitioner’s

necessity defense. In holding that the necessity defense is unavailable

to pro-life trespassers with respect to abortions of pregnancies beyond

the first trimester, the Ohio courts have ignored this Court’s declara-

tions in Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113 (1973) and Akron v. Akron Center

for Reproductive Health, 462 U.S. 416 (1983), that the State has a

compelling interest in the potentiality of human life beyond the first

trimester of pregnancy and have misapplied the holdings of these

cases. The Ohio courts have thus deprived Petitioner and an entire

class of criminal defendants of their fundamental right to present a

complete defense to the jury.

5

ARGUMENT

I. THE RIGHT OF CRIMINAL DEFENDANTS x

TO A REASONABLE OPPORTUNITY TO BE

HEARD IS A FUNDAMENTAL RIGHT IN THE

AMERICAN SYSTEM OF JURISPRUDENCE.

This Court unequivocally has held that the right of criminal

defendants to be heard, i.e., the “ right to [one’s] day in court,” is a

fundamental right in the American system of jurisprudence. See /n re

Oliver, 333 U.S. 257, 273 (1948).

The opportunity to be heard includes the right to offer testimony.

Oliver, 333 U.S. at 273. Indeed, this Court has held:

The right to present evidence is, of course, essential to the

fair hearing required by the Due Process Clause. See, e.z.,

Morgan v. United States, 298 U.S. 468, 479-80; Baltimore

& Ohio R. Co. v. United States, 298 U.S. 349, 368-69

(1936). And, as we have noted above, this right becomes

particularly fundamental when the proceeding aliegedly

results in a finding that a particular individual was guilty

of a crime. Cf. Washington v. Texas, 388 U.S. 14 (1967);

In re Oliver, 333 U.S. 257, 273 (1948).

Jenkins v. McKeithen, 395 U.S. 411, 429 (1969). This Court has

reiterated this fact many times, without regard to the nature of the

alleged crime or the motivation of the accused. See e.g., Crane v.

Kentucky, 476 U.S. 683, 690 (1986); Washington v. Texas, 388 U.S.

14, 19 (1967); Powell v. Alabama, 287 U.S. 45, 68 (1932).

This vital and sacred right to be heard was denied Petitioner in

the case presently before this Court.

II. THE OPPORTUNITY TO PRESENT A COM-

PLETE DEFENSE IS INCLUDED WITHIN THE

PENUMBRA OF THE FUNDAMENTAL RIGHT

OF CRIMINAL DEFENDANTS TO BE HEARD.

The Court has held that “specific guarantees in the Bill of Rights

have penumbras, formed by emanations from those guarantees that

help give them life and substance.” Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S.

479, 484 (1965). As such, the right to present a complete defense to

6

the jury is within the penumbra of the Sixth and Fourteenth Amend-

ment rights to present a complete defense.

This Court has held that under the Due Process Clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment, criminal prosecutions must comport with

notions of fundamental fairness, which notions include an opportunity

to present a complete defense:

We have long interpreted this standard of fairness to re-

quire that criminal defendants be afforded a meaningful

opportunity to present a complete defense.

California v. Trombetta, 467 U.S. 479, 485 (1984) (emphasis added).

See Crane, 476 U.S. at 690; Chambers v. Mississippi, 410 U.S. 284,

302 (1973); Washington, 388 U.S. at 23; and Oliver, 333 U.S. at 273.

In fact, this Court has concluded that:

[J]urors were entitled to have the benefit of the defense

theory before them so that they could make an informed

judgment as to the weight to place on Green’s testimony

which provided “a crucial link in the proof ... of petitioner’s

act.”

Davis v. Alaska, 415 U.S. 308, 317 (1974).

This fundamental right provides, as Justice White once ex-

pressed it for the Court:

[A]n accused with the right to be tried by a jury of his peeis

[which gives] him an inestimable safeguard against the

corrupt or overzealous prosecutor and against the com-

pliant, biased, or eccentric judge. If the defendant preferred

the common-sense judgment of a jury to the more tutored

but perhaps less sympathetic reaction of the single judge,

he was to have it.

Duncan v. Louisiana, 391 U.S. 145, 156 (1968). This fundamental

right is nowhere more important than in cases such as Petitioner’s

where the issues are highly charged and highly susceptible of bias and

overzealcus prosecution. This Court has never held that an entire class

of criminal defendants, i.e., pro-life protesters accused of trespass, are

not entitled to present a complete defense to their juries.

atl

5

The opportunity to present a complete defense is an empty one

indeed if the State may exclude competent, reliable evidence that is

central to a defendant’s claim of innocence. Crane, 476 U.S. at 690;

see also Specht v. Patterson, 386 U.S. 605, 610 (1967). Petitioner’s

right to acomplete defense was rendered entirely empty when the Ohio

courts refused her the opportunity to present her necessity defense to

the jury.

Ill. PETITIONER WAS DEPRIVED OF HER

OPPORTUNITY TO PRESENT HER NECESSITY

DEFENSE TO THE JURY, IN VIOLATION OF

HER CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT TO PRESENT

A COMPLETE DEFENSE.

Petitioner seeks from this Court only the opportunity to present

her necessity defense to the jury, which defense is recognized in Ohio.

See State v. Sappienza, 84 Ohio St. 63, 95 N.E. 381 (1911); State v.

Milam, 108 Ohio App. 254, 156 N.E.2d 840, 843 (1959).

The necessity defense has been presented to the jury in many

States, including Ohio. See, e.g., United States v. McKnight, 427 F.2d

75 (7th Cir.), cert. den., 400 U.S. 880 (1970) (in defense of illegal

importation of heroin); State v. Procter, 51 Ohio App.2d 152, 367

N.E.2d 908 (1977) (prison escape); Castle v. United States, 347 F.2d

492 (D.C. Cir.), cert. den., 381 U.S. 929 (1964), 381 U.S. 953, pet.

reh. den., 382 U.S. 874 (1965), cert. den., 388 U.S. 915 (1967) (illegal

drug distribution); People v. Luther, 394 Mich. 619, 232 N.W.2d 184

(1975) (prison escape); People v. Harmon, 394 Mich. 625, 232

N.W.2d 187 (1975) (prison escape); United Statics v. Lopez, 885 F.2d

1428 (9th Cir. 1989), cert. den., 110 S.Ct. 748 (1990) (prison escape);

People v. Unger, 66 II1.2d 333, 362 N.E.2d 319 (Ill. 1977) (prison

escape); United States v. Contento-Pachon, 723 F.2d 691 (9th Cir.

1984) (unlawful narcotics distribution); State v. Burton, 103 A. 962

(R.I. 1918) (traffic laws in wartime); The William Gray, 29 F. Cas.

1300 (C.C.D.N.Y. 1810) (embargo laws); Woods v. State, 121 S.W.2d

604 (Tex. 1938) (leaving scene of accident).

The necessity defense is central to Petitioner’s defense since

charges against pro-life trespassers are generally dropped when the

necessity defense is permitted. See, Necessity As A Defense To A

Charge of Criminal Trespass In An Abortion Clinic, 48 U. Cin. Law

8

Rev. 501, 502 n. 11 (1979) citing Ohio v. Rinear, No. 783CRB-3706

(Mun. Ct. Hamilton County, Ohio, decided May 2, 1978). It has been

asserted that such charges are dropped precisely to avoid setting a

precedent which would enable pro-life protesters successfully to

defend their alleged trespasses. See Necessity As A Defense To A

Charge of Criminal Trespass In An Abortion Clinic, 48 U. Cin. Law

Rev. at 502 n. 11 (1979).

IV. PETITIONER COULD HAVE SUSTAINED HER

BURDEN OF PROOF WITH RESPECT TO HER

NECESSITY DEFENSE.

The Court has held that the necessity defense is available if the

criminal action was necessary to avoid a harm more serious than that

sought to be prevented by the statute defining the offense. United

States v. Bailey, 444 U.S. 394, 410 (1980).

In considering the matter, courts have routinely held that the

necessity defense is not intended to excuse criminal activity by those

who merely disagree with the decisions and policies of the lawmaking

branches of government. See United States v. Kabat, 797 F.2d 580,

591 (8th Cir. 1986), cert. den., 481 U.S. 1030 (1987). Petitioner does

not assert the necessity defense merely because she disagrees with the

decisions and policies of the lawmaking branches of government with

respect to the right to an abortion.

The Court has held that a vital element of any necessity defense

is the lack of a reasonable alternative to violating the law, i.e., a

“chance both to refuse to do the criminal act and also to avoid the

threatened harm.” Bailey, 444 U.S. at 410.

The Court has required a threshold showing on the part of those

who assert an affirmative defense to a crime and if testimony support-

ing one element is insufficient to sustain it, the trial court and jury need

not be burdened with testimony supporting other elements of the

defense. Bailey, 444 U.S. at 416. Nonetheless, where constitutional

rights directly affecting the ascertainment of guilt are implicated, rules

of evidence may not be applied mechanistically to defeat the ends of

justice. See Chambers, 410 U.S. at 302.

Petitioner was unconstitutionally deprived of the opportunity to

present evidence to the jury concerning these issues and could have,

9

if so permitted, supported her defense with a preponderance of the

evidence, as required by Ohio law. See Sappienza, 95 N.E. 381.

Specifically, Petitioner could have shown, if she had been per-

mitted to do so, that her actions met all the requirements of Ohio

common law for assertion of a necessity defense. These requirements

are considered as follows:

(1) The threatening or triggering harm outweighed

(or at least equaled) the harm designed to be

avoided by the statute defining the alleged of-

fense. This is an objective matter and is not to be

based upon Petitioner’s subjective view at the

time of her conduct. Moreover, this issue, as

framed below, has not been decided by this Court.

This Court has held that the State has an “important and

legitimate interest in protecting the potentiality of human life.” Roe v.

Wade, 410 U.S. 113, 162 (1973); Akron v. Akron Center for Reproduc-

tive Health, 462 U.S. 416, 428 (1983). Moreover, the Court has held

that after the end of the first trimester of pregnancy the State’s interest

becomes compelling. Roe, 410 U.S. at 163; Akron Center, 462 U.S.

at 429. Indeed, at viability, this interest in protecting the potential life

of the unborn child is so important that the State may proscribe

abortions altogether. Roe, 410 U.S. at 163-64; Akren Center, 462 U.S.

at 428.

These interests of the State in the “potentiality of human life”

have been furthered by the courts in other contexts. For example,

unconstitutional discrimination against pregnant women has been

condoned as part of industrial fetal protection policies, see, e.g., Int’!

Union, United Auto. Aerospace and Agricultural Implement Workers

o} America UAW v. Johnson Controls, Inc., 886 F.2d 871 (7th Cir.

1989) and Wright v. Olin Corp., 697 F.2d 1172 (4th Cir. 1982) and in

connection with airline safety, see Levin v. Delta Air Lines, 730 F.2d

994 (4th Cir. 1984) and Harriss v. Pan American World Airways, 649

F.2d 670 (9th Cir. 1980). How can it be said that business entities must

protect the health of the unborn when Petitioner may not protect the

very life of the same unborn?

Further, as part of the objective basis for use of the defense,

Petitioner proffered previously recorded testimony of a medical ex-

10

pert, and other documentary evidence, showing the scientific grounds

for concluding that a fetus is 2live. Medical references proffered are

listed in Appendix B to this Petition.

In this respect,the Ohio courts have misapplied the principles of

Roe and Akron Center, supra. See, ¢.g., Fairfield Commons Con-

dominium Assn. v. Stasa, 30 Ohio App.3d 11, 506 N.E.2d 237 (1985),

cert. den. sub. nom., Moriarty v. Fairfield Commons Condominium

Assn., 479 U.S. 1055 (1987) (abortion protests not justified by legal

necessity because United States Supreme Court has found that abor-

tions are not illegal); Dayton v. Drake, 1990 WL 121890 (Ohio App.)

(necessity defense unavailable because abortion performed prior to

viability is not illegal act); and in Petitioner’s case, Detwiler v. Akron,

C.A. No. 14285 (9th App. Dist. 1990) at 5S (necessity defense unavail-

able because abortion performed pricr to viability is not illegal act);

An Ohio appellate court has stated that:

Through judicial decision and legislative determination

denying abortion recognition as a harm, the law has

preempted the central inquiry of the necessity defense;

whether the activity sought to be stopped or the criminal

conduct employed to stop it is the “greater harm.” By

denying abortion classification as a harm the law has

determined that the greater harm per se is in the criminal

conduct. The defense of necessity which has been created

by the law may not, therefore, be employed to justify or

excuse it.

Kettering v. Berry, 57 Ohio App.3d 66, __N.E.2d_ (1990).

Other courts that have held the necessity defense inapplicable to

trespass of abortion clinics have often based their decisions on the fact

that first trimester abortions are legal, see Necessity As A Defense To

A Charge of Criminal Trespass In An Abortion Clinic, 49 U. Cin. Law

Rev. at 513, including n. 99, citing State v. Balch, No. CR10-94874

(C.P. New Lendon County, Conn., decided March 7, 1978) (oral

opinion); United States v. Balch, No. 64684-77 (D.C. Super. Ct.,

decided Dec. 19, 1977) (oral opinion); State v. Rasmussen, 5 Fam. L.

Rep. 2037 (BNA) (Mun. Ct. Hennepin County, Minn. Nov. 21, 1978);

or that abortions in general are legal, e.g., Hoffart v. State, 686 S.W.2d

259 (Tex. App. 14 Dist. 1985), cert. den., 479 U.S. 824, reh. den., 479

1]

U.S. 977 (1986); State v. Brechon, 352 N.W.2d 745 (Minn. 1984);

Sigma Reproductive Health Center v. Maryland, 297 Md. 660, 467

A.2d 483 (1983); St. Louis v. Klocker, 637 S.W.2d 174 (Mo. App.

1982); Cleveland v. Municipality of Anchorage, 631 P.2d 1073 (Alas-

ka 1981); People v. Stiso, 93 Ill. App.3d 101, 416 N.E.2d 1209 (TI.

App. 1981).

Notwithstanding the erroneous holdings of the courts cited

above, this Court has not determined whether the harm of trespass

outweighs the State’s compelling interest in the “potentiality of human

life” beyond the first trimester of pregnancy as these interests have

been declared by this Court in Roe and Akron Center, supra. This

Court has never declared a compelling interest in avoiding trespass.

Indeed, the dissent in the Ohio Court of Appeals wrote in Petitioner's

case:

I would recognize the common law defense of necessity.

However, the burden of proving that defense is upon the

defendant. To my mind, she must establish that an abortion

was about to be performed upon a specific woman who was

more than three months pregnant or upon a minor at any

stage of pregnancy where the applicable laws dealing with

notice and parental consent have not been complied with.

The Supreme Court has approved the legality of abortions

through the first trimester. Until the Court decides when a

fetus is a person, I see no reason to deny the defense of

necessity to those who believe that the fetus is viable and

is a person at more than the third month of pregnancy. At

least it would get the issue squarely before the U.S.

Supreme Court who must eventually decide the issue.

Detwiler v. Akron, C.A. No. 14385 at 22 (9th App. Dist. 1990)

(Mahoney, J., dissenting).

The director of the Akron Center for Reproductive Health tes-

tified at Petitioner’s trial that abortions of pregnancies bevond the first

trimester were scheduled on the date of Petitioner’s alleged trespass.

See Tr. Vol. I, 159. Petitioner testified that she was at the Akron Center

for Reproductive Health solely to save unborn babies from abortion.

See Tr. Vol. I, 326.

12

With respect to abortions of pregnancies beyond the first

trimester, Petitioner’s purpose was in accord with this Court’s decla-

ration of the State’s compelling interest in the potentiality of human

life. Petitioner was seeking to save lives in which the State has asserted

a compelling interest.

Therefore, there can be no doubt that Petitioner had sufficient

evidence to present to the jury the factual question as to whether there

were pregnancies beyond the first trimester scheduled for abortion and

whether Petitioner’s purpose was in fact to prevent such abortions.

Petitioner was unconstitutionally deprived the jury’s judgment on this

factual question.

(2) The threatening or triggering harm was imminent

with no reasonable alternative to Petitioner’s con-

duct.

Courts have often excluded necessity defense evidence when

alternative courses of action were available to avert the harm, such as

opportunities for speech and political participation. See, e.g., United

States v. Dorrell, 758 F.2d 427 (9th Cir. 1985) (damage to government

property to redress concerns regarding U.S. policy on nuclear war);

Wilson v. State, 777 S.W.2d 823 (Tex. App.- Austin 1989) (seizure of

university president's office to stop apartheid); and United States v.

Simpson, 460 F.2d 515 (9th Cir. 1972) (damage to government proper-

ty to move U.S. to terminate involvement in Southeast Asia).

Petitioner could have shown that, as to a particular abortion

beyond the first trimester which was scheduled for the date of

Petitioner's alleged trespass, other opportunities for educational and

political participation would have been futile or non-existent. In this

respect, Petitioner could have distinguished her facts from many cases

cited by the trial court. See Appendix A-22. For example, pro-life

trespassers have been denied the necessity defense because the desire

to impart information regarding abortion was not a valid basis for the

necessity defense in that there were viable alternatives to trespassing

such as public sidewalk picketing and dissemination of information

through print and television media. See Cleveland v. Sabo, Cuyahoga

App. Nos. 41999 and 42004 (decided May 14, 1981), 1981 WL 4949

(Ohio App.) and Cleveland v. Sundermeier, 48 Ohio App.3d 204, 549

13

N.E.2d 561 (1989). As set forth above, Petitioner testified that her sole

purpose was to save unborn babies.

Courts have also excluded the necessity defense in the absence

of a showing that there was a sufficient causal relationship between

the act committed by the defendant and avoidance of the asserted

“greater harm.” See, e.g., Simpson, 460 F.2d 515 (damage to govern-

ment property not sufficient to move U.S. to terminate involvement

in Southeast Asia). Petitioner could have shown a direct casual

relationship between her alleged trespass and protection of the State’s

admitted compelling interest in potential human life, such as the fact

that no abortionist arrived to perform abortions at the Akron Center

for Reproductive Health until after 4:00 P.M. on the date of

Petitioner’s alleged trespass. Tr. Vol. J, 150-151.

Therefore, there can be no doubt that Petitioner had sufficient

evidence to present to the jury the factual question as to whether

alternatives existed to Petitioner’s conduct. Petitioner was unconstitu-

tionally deprived of the jury’s judgment on this factual question.

(3) Petitioner reasonably believed her action was

necessary to avoid a threatening or triggering

harm.

One of the essential features of necessity or duress defense is the

sense of present, imminent, immediate and impending death or serious

bodily injury. State v. Cross, 58 Ohio St.2d 482, 391 N.E.2d 319, 323

(1979), citing Sappienza, 95 N.E. 381 and State v. Procter, 151 Ohio

App.2d 152, 367 N.E.2d 908 (1977).

The Director of the Akron Center for Reproductive Health

testified at trial that second trimester pregnancies were scheduled for

abortion on the day of Petitioner’s alleged trespass. See Tr. Vol. I, 159.

Moreover, Petitioner testified that she knew abortions would be per-

formed on the date of her alleged trespass because “Most abortion

clinics are in operation on Saturdays. In fact, that’s one of the biggest

days.” Tr. Vol. I, 326. Furthermore, Petitioner testified that her sole

purpose in being present at the abortion clinic on Saturday, May 6,

1989, was to save unborn babies from death. Tr. Vol. J, 326.

Therefore, there can be no doubt that Petitioner had sufficient

evidence to present to the jury the factual question as to whether

14

Petitioner sensed the immediate and impending death of lives in which

the State has declared it has a compelling interest. Petitioner was

unconstitutionally deprived of the jury’s opinion on this issue.

(4) Petitioner was free from any fault in bringing

about the threatening or triggering harm.

There was no evidence presented at trial that Petitioner was at

fault in bringing about the threatening or triggering harm.

(5) The defense of necessity cannot have been

preempted by a legislative enactment.

There was no evidence presented at trial that the defense of

necessity has been preempted by Ohio legislation.

V. PETITIONER’S LACK OF PRIVILEGED CON-

DUCT, AS AN ELEMENT OF THE ALLEGED

MISDEMEANOR, WAS NOT PROVED BEYOND

A REASONABLE DOUBT BY THE PROSECU-

TION.

Proof of the lack of privilege is an element of the misdemeanor

of trespass and, as such, must be proved beyond a reasonable doubt.

State v. Isaac, 44 Ohio Misc. 87, 337 N.E.2d 818 (M.C. 1975);

Beachwood v. Cohen, 29 Ohio App.3d 226, 504 N.E.2d 1186 (App.

1986); Mariemont v. Wells, 33 Ohio Misc.2d 9, 514 N.E.2d 764 (M.C.

1986); State v. Adams, 62 Ohio St.2d 151, 404 N.E.2d 144 (1980). See

In re Winship, 397 U.S. 358, 364 (1970).

The relevant definition of necessity as charged by the trial court

is:

“[P]rivilege” means an immunity, license or right con-

ferred by law or bestowed by express or implied grant or

arising out of status, position, office, or relationship, or

growing out of necessity.

Akron City Code Sec. 130.02 (emphasis added). Only one form of

lack of privilege was shown by the prosecution, i.e., lack of consent

by those charged with custody and control of the Akron Reproductive

Health Center on the date of Petitioner’s alleged trespass.

The trial court incorrectly excluded all evidence as to necessity.

Therefore, Petitioner is entitled to a reversal of the judgment against

15

her as a matter of law because there was no proof whatsoever as to the

element of trespass regarding privilege created by necessity. See

Sundermeier, 549 N.E.2d at 565, citing Beachwood, 504 N.E.2d 1186.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons and per authorities cited, this Petition for a Writ

of Certiorari should be granted. This Court should review the issues

of whether Petitioner was unconstitutionally deprived of a meaningful

opportunity to defend herself, whether the defense of unborn children

beyond the first trimester of pregnancy is permitted by the common

law defense of necessity, and whether all elements of Petitioner's

alleged trespass offense were proved beyond a reasonable doubt.

Respectfully submitted,

Robert R. Melnick

Of Counsel: Counsel of Record

John W. Whitehead Daniel G.LaPorte

THE RUTHERFORD THE RUTHERFORD

INSTITUTE INSTITUTE of OHIO

1445 East Rio Road 18 N. Phelps St., Suite 300

Charlottesville, VA 22901 Youngstown, Ohio 44503

(804) 978-3888 (216) 744-8973

Attorneys for Petitioner

APPENDICES

<

ws

—

o

Zz.

~

a

—

<

A-1

The Supreme Court of Ohio

1990 TERM

To wit: December 19, 1990

Case No. 90-1707

ENTRY

City of Akron,

Appellee,

v.

Mary Detwiler,

Appellant.

Upon consideration of the motion for an order directing the Court

of Appeals for Summit County to certify its record, and the claimed

appeal as of right from said court, it is ordered by the Court that said

motion is overruled and the appeal is dismissed sua sponte for the

reason that no substantial constitutional question exists therein.

COSTS:

Motion Fee, $40.00, paid by Daniel G. Laporte.

(Court of Appeals No. 14385)

THOMAS J. MOYER

Chief Justice

A-2

In The Court Of Appeals

Ninth Judicial District

State Of Ohio

County Of Summit

C.A. NO. 14385

CITY OF AKRON

Plaintiff-Appellee

v.

MARY DETWILER

Defendant-Appellant

APPEAL FROM JUDGMENT ENTERED IN THE AKRON

MUNICIPAL COURT OF THE COUNTY OF SUMMIT, OHIO

CASE NO. 89 CRB 3282

DECISION AND JOURNAL ENTRY

Dated: July 5, 1990

This cause was heard upca the record in the trial court. Each error

assigned has been reviewed and the following disposition is made:

QUILLIN, P. J. Defendant-appellant, Mary Detwiler, appeals

her convictions for criminal trespass in violation of Akron City Code

131.08(B)(1), disorderly conduct in violation of Akron City Code

132.01(A)(4), and resisting arrest in violation of R.C. 2921.33. We

affirm.

On May 6, 1989, Detwiler met with other anti-abortion activists

at Summit Mall. She and a group of approximately sixty other activists

went to the premises occupied by the Akron Center for Reproductive

Health, Inc. ("Clinic") at 839 East Market Street, at approximately

7:30 a.m., in order to prevent women from entering the clinic and from

obtaining abortions.

Detwiler positioned herself near the staircase which led to the

entrance of the Clinic on the second floor. Detwiler and the other

members of her group would stand and lock arms, at the direction of

the group’s organizers, anytime a person who might be a patient

A-3

approached the staircase. There were also activists positioned at the

west side of the building, blocking the employee’s entrance. At 9:04

a.m., the police officers began to arrest the individual members of the

group. As the police officers asked each individual, including Det-

wiler, to leave, each individual went “limp.” As a result, the officers

were forced to carry one hundred and ten individuals to the field

booking area and then to the transport vehicles. Only the last male

activist walked through this procedure. A jury found Detwiler guilty

of resisting arrest, criminai trespass and disorderly conduct.

Detwiler raises eleven assignments of error.

ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR 1

“The trial court below deprived appellant of her constitu-

tional right to due process of law by refusing to allow

appellant to present the common law defense of necessity

and to introduce expert medical evidence in support there-

of.”

Detwiler contends that based on the common law defense of

necessity, her conduct was privileged, and thus not in violation of the

criminal trespassing ordinance and was permissible under the disor-

derly conduct ordinance.

In Cleveland v. Sundermeier (1989), 48 Ohio App. 3d 204, the

defendant sought to introduce evidence of necessity as a defense for

trespassing. The defendant argued that it was necessary for him to

warn women seeking an abortion of potential psychological complica-

tions from the procedure because the Cleveland Center for Reproduc-

tive Health did not adequately warn of this post-abortion trauma. /d.

at 207. The court stated:

“The defense of necessity excuses criminal acts when the

harm which results from compliance with the law is greater

than that which results from a violation of the law. See

LaFave & Scott, Criminal Law (1972) 381, Section 50.

Furthermore, necessity is not a defense if alternatives to the

criminal act existed. See Cleveland v. Sabo (May 14,

1981), Cuyahoga App. Nos. 41999 and 42004, unreported,

at 6-7...

A-4

“We do not find the defendant’s desire to impart the

information a valid basis for his defense. Further, as the

trial court ruled, Sundermeier had other alternatives to

trespassing such as public sidewalk picketing and the dis-

semination of information through print and television

media. Thus, we find the trial court properly refused to

allow the jury to consider the defendant’s necessity

defense.”

Id. at 207-08.

In Fairfield Commons Condominium Assn. v. Stasa (1985), 30

Ohio App. 3d 11, appellants claimed that their attempts to stop

abortions from taking place on appellee’s property was a legal neces-

sity which justified their trespass. However, the Sixth District Court

of Appeals upheld the trial court’s determination that the protesting of

abortions was not a legal necessity justifying appellants’ activities

because the United States Supreme Court has found that abortions are

not illegal. Jd. at 22-23.

Detwiler contends that, unlike the participation of protestors in

acts of civil disobedience where their conduct is not causally related

to the avoidance of the threatened harm because the protest itself

cannot save lives, her conduct could save lives.

The necessity defense justifies conduct which otherwise would

lead to civil or criminal liability because the conduct is socially

acceptable and desirable under the circumstances. Note, Necessity as

a Defense to a Charge of Criminal Trespass in an Abortion Clinic

(1979), 48 U. Cin. Law Rev. (1979) 501, 502. When rare and extraor-

dinary circumstances force an individual to choose between obeying

the law or breaking it to avoid a greater harm, society prefers that the

individual choose the lesser evil which promotes some value higher

than the value of literal compliance with the law. /d. at 502-03.

The common law elements of necessity are: (1) the harm must

be committed under the pressure of physical or natural force, rather

than human force; (2) the harm sought to be avoided is greater than,

or at least equal to that sought to be prevented by the law defining the

offense charged; (3) the actor reasonably believes at the moment that

his act is necessary and is designed to avoid the greater harm; (4) the

actor must be without fault in bringing about the situation; and (5) the

A-5

harm threatened must be imminent, leaving no alternative by which

to avoid the greater harm. /d. at 504.

However, some states now permit the defense of necessity where

the source is human force, such as in the prison escape context. /d. at

509. When the harm eminates [sic] from a human source, the harm

must be unlawful before the necessity defense can be used. /d. at 513.

Because an abortion performed prior to viability is not an illegal

procedure, see Roe v. Wade (1973), 410 U.S. 113; Webster v.

Reproductive Health Services (1989), 106 L. Ed. 2d 410, courts that

have found the necessity defense inapplicable base their decision on

the absence of an unlawful act. Moreover, the legality of an abortion

also affects whether Detwiler chose the lesser harm. While Detwiler

believes that an abortion is the taking of a life, the present state of the

law is that abortion can be a legal termination of pregnancy.

Detwiler contends that there were no legal or less harmful

alternatives because judicial or legislative means could not save the

fetus about to be aborted. As a result, the threatened harm was

imminent.

However, because the Supreme Court of the United States has

determined that a woman has a fundamental right to decide to ter-

minate her pregnancy, at least during the first trimester, there was no

need for Detwiler to look for a less harmful alternative. The statutory

defense of necessity was rejected in Erlandson v. State (Tex. App.

1988), 763 S.W. 2d 845, certiorari denied (1989), 107 L. Ed. 2d 110.

Accordingly, we hold that the trial court properly determined that the

privilege of necessity was inapplicable to this case because the im-

minent harm of abortion, which Detwiler sought to avoid, was not a

legally recognized harm. Therefore, the trial court properly excluded

the evidence which Detwiler sought to introduce. The assignment of

error is overruled.

ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR 2

“The trial court deprived the appellant of her constitutional

right to a trial by a jury selected from among her peers by

certain aspects of the trial court’s inquiries to the venire

panel and by refusing to allow counsel to make other

inquiries.”

A-6

Detwiler contends that she was prevented from uncovering

pertinent bias and prejudices of the potential jurors because the trial

court prevented her from inquiring as to (1) whether any female juror

had had an abortion; (2) what the juror’s feelings were on abortion;

(3) whether the jurors believed that an unborn child is a human life;

and (4) the religious background of prospective jurors.

Generally, the scope of the examination of prospective jurors is

within the discretion of the trial court and the judgment will only be

reversed upon a showing that the trial court abused its discretion in

restricting the scope of voir dire. State v. Jenkins (1984), 15 Ohio St.

3d 164, 186.

The record reflects that while Detwiler was precluded from

asking the prospective jurors these four questions, she was permitted

to inquire as to whether the fact that Detwiler was at an abortion clinic

when she was arrested, or that Detwiler had a different opinion on the

issue of abortion than any of the jurors, would influence whether the

juror believed that Detwiler violated the law. She was also permitted

to inquire as to whether the jurors could put their personal opinion

aside, listen to the evidence, and determine the case based on the

evidence. Accordingly, Detwiler was allowed sufficient latitude in

voir dire to establish whether the prospective jurors could set aside

their opinions and approach the matter impartially and could render a

judgment based on the evidence.

Detwiler also contends that the trial court improperly excluded

three veniremen for cause. We disagree.

In reviewing whether the trial court erred in refusing to excuse

a juror for cause when the juror expressed the belief that the defendant

must have done something or he would not be in court, but then stated

that she would follow the law, the Supreme Court of Ohio held:

“***Crim. R. 24 stated in part:

““(B) Challenge for cause. A person called as a juror may

be chailenged for the following causes:

“eee

.

ace

(9) That he is possessed of a state of mind evincing

enmity or bias toward the defendant or the state; but no

person summoned as a juror shal! be disqualified by reason

A-7

of a previously formed or expressed opinion with reference

to the guilt or innocence of the accused, if the court is

satisfied, from the examination of the juror or from other

evidence, that he will render an impartial verdict accord-

ing to the law and the evidence submitted to the jury at the

trial.’ (Emphasis in original. )

“Whether a prospective juror will follow the law as given

by the court is a matter within the discretion of the trial

judge and we will not disturb the court’s ruling on a

challenge for cause, absent an abuse of discretion. State v.

Scott (1986), 26 Ohio St. 3d 92, 26 OBR 79, 497 N.E. 2d

55; State v. Williams (1983), 6 Ohio St. 3d 281,6 OBR 345,

452 N.E. 2d 1323.***.”

State v. Henderson (1988), 39 Ohio St. 3d 24, 27.

Accordingly, veniremen should not be excluded for cause simply

because they voiced a general objection or expressed religious

scruples which could affect their opinion. See Witherspoon v. Illinois

(1968), 391 U.S. 510, 522; Jenkins, supra, at 179. We need only be

satisfied that the potential juror is unwilling to consider all the

evidence presented because of his personal opinions and was com-

mitted to voting against, or in favor of, Detwiler regardless of the facts

and the law as given by the court. See Jenkins, supra, at 182.

William carpenter, the first potential! juror to be excluded, was

questioned by the court as follows:

“see

.

“As I indicated, this event took place on May 6th. It was

an abortion protest on East Market Street.

“Is there anyone present who has any specific knowledge

about that incident either through your own personal

knowledge or discussion with anyone else or by reading or

hearing anything about it in the news media?

“When I ask you these questions, I’m asking you as a group

but I went you to respond as an individual. If anyone has

such information, please respond by raising your hand.

A-8

“All right, sir. What is the knowledge you have of the

circumstances?

“JUROR:

“THE COURT:

“JUROR:

“THE COURT:

“JUROR:

“THE COURT:

“JUROR:

“THE COURT:

It was through the local media, and |

wholeheartedly support what they was doing.

All right, sir. Do you feel that as a result of

your opinion —

Oh, ves. | couldn’t be on this Jury, not on this

miter.

All nght, sir. Your name is, sir?

William Carpenter.

All right, Mr. Carpenter. One of the purposes

for the questions to be asked is to determine

whether or not individuals have opinions as

strongly held as Mr. Carpenter's that they feel

would prevent them from serving impartially

and fairly on a Jury for this issue.

“If you have such an opinion, and you do not

feel that you can lay that opinion aside, then

you must indicate that to this Court.

“Mr. Carpenter as a result of the information

that you've received regarding this and as a

result of your opinion on this issue, do you feel

that you cannot set that aside and act impar-

tially?

No, ma’am, I couldn’t. I’m strongly against

abortion.

All right, Mr. Carpenter. This Court on its own

Motion then will excuse you for cause. Thank

you very much for being with us this morning,

sir.

“eee i (Emphasis added )

(T.0.P. 8-10).

Based on Mr. Carpenter’s response that because of his

knowledge about this specific incident on May 6th and his personal

A-9

opinion on the issue of abortion, he could not set these aside and act

impartially, we cannot say that the trial court erred in excluding Mr.

Carpenter for cause.

Patricia Mahovich, the second potential juror was questioned as

follows:

“ses

.

“JUROR:

“THE COURT:

“JUROR:

“THE COURT:

“JUROR:

“THE COURT:

“MR. BUZZI:

“THE COURT:

“MR. BUZZI:

“see

“THE COURT:

“JUROR:

“THE COURT:

I’m a Roman Catholic and arn strictly against

abortion.

All right, ma’am. What is your name?

I’m number 20, (inaudible) Mahovich.

As a result of your personal religious beliefs,

do you fee! that you could not set those beliefs

aside to fairly and impartially try this matter?

No.

Thank you very much, Mrs. Mahovich. I ap-

preciate —

Your Honor —

Yes.

— could we inquire? I think the Court is

asking the Juror to set aside her convictions

and that places the Juror in a position where

“Mrs. Mahovich, I want to be sure that you

understand that if you cannot set aside any

ideas that you have or any preconceived

opinions and enter into this matter impartially

and be sure you can assure this Court that you

can fairly hear this matter, then we will excuse

you if you are unable to that, ma'am.

(Inaudible)

All right. Thank you very much.***.”

A-10

(T.O.P. at 10-12).

Based on Mrs. Mahovich’s response that a result of her personal

religious beliefs, she could not set aside her opinions and ideas and

fairly and impartially hear this case, we cannot say that the trial court

erred in excluding Mrs. Mahovich for cause.

Carolyn Williams, the third potential juror, was questioned as

follows:

“JUROR: ] am also a born again believer in Jesus Christ

and I do not go for abortion. Positively.

“THE COURT: You feel that would affect your impartiality in

this matter?

“JUROR: Oh, I would go for the baby —

“THE COURT: Thank you, ma’am. And you are?

“JUROR: Carolyn Williams.

“THE COURT: Thank you, Mrs. Williams. We appreciate

your statement. Please see Miss Coleman.

“Yes, ma’am.”

(T.O.P. 12-13).

Based on the trial court’s previous instructions concerning fair-

ness and impartiality and Ms. Williams statement that she would “not

go for abortion” and would find for “the baby”, we can not say that

the trial court erred in excluding Ms. Williams for cause.

The assignment of error is overruled.

ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR 3

“The trial court refused to grant appellant’s motion for a

mistrial on the grounds referred to in assignment of error

no. 2.”

Because we find no prejudicial error in the voir dire conducted

by the trial court, the assignment of error is overruled.

A-11

ASSIGNMENTS OF ERROR

“4. The trial court refused to grant appellant’s motion for a

directed verdict on the charge of criminal trespass, which

motion was made on the grounds that no evidence had been

introduced as to the relationship of the complaining witness,

Akron Center for Reproductive Health, to the operator of the

abortion clinic, nor as io the right of either to control the

common areas at 839 E. Market Street where the alleged

illegal activities took place.

“8. The trial court in its charge to the jury regarding the elements

of criminal trespass refused to specify that appellant must be

found guilty beyond a reasonable doubt of knowingly enter-

ing or remaining on the land or premises of Akron Center

for Reproductive Health without privilege to do so on May

6, 1989, as specified in the complaint.”

Because both assignments of error raise the same issues, they

will be addressed together.

Akron City Code 131.08(B)(1) provides:

“No person, without privilege to do so, shall do any of the

following:

“(1) Knowingly enter or remain on the land or premises of

another;”

“eee 7

Detwiler contends that the trial court improperly instructed the

jury because it failed to specify the parties to the lease agreement in

order to clarify for the jury what constitutes “another” in this instance.

We disagree.

A property owner may trespass upon his property even though

he is its legal owner when he enters the property without the permis-

sion of the party who has custody and control. See State v. Herrin

(1982), 6 Ohio App. 3d 68, 69. In its jury instruction, the trial court

defined land or premises as provided in Akron City Code 131.08(A)

which states:

“(A) For the purpose of this section, ‘LAND OR

PREMISES’ includes any land, building, structure, or place

A-12

belonging to, controlled by, or in custody of another, and

any separate enclosure or room, or portion thereof.”

“eee 7

The lease agreement specifies on page eighteen that all notices which

are properly served on the lessee, shall be addressed as “Greenwich -

Medical Enterprises, Akron, Inc., Akron Center for Reproductive

Health, Suite 5 and 6 - 839 East Market Street, Akron, Ohio 44305.”

The lease provides the lessee with the space located on the second

floor (Suites 5 and 6) together with the joint use with other tenants, of

the parking facilities and all walks and hallways.

Carol Harding testified that while this particular lease had ex-

pired, its terms were carried forward on a month-to-month basis while

the parties negotiated a new lease.

Accordingly, the trial court properly left the factual issue of

which party had custody and control to the jury.

The assignments of error are overruled.

ASSIGNMENTS OF ERROR

“5. The trial court refused to grant appellant’s motion for

directed verdict, and appellant’s reiterated motion for ac-

quittal, on the charge of disorderly conduct as a minor

misdemeanor, which motions were made on the grounds that

the elements of the principal crime were not proved.

“6. The trial court refused to grant appellant’s motion for

directed verdict, and reiterated motion for acquittal, on the

charge of disorderly conduct as a fourth degree mis-

demeanor, which motions were made on the grounds that no

evidence was introduced of any warning to cease and desist

the alleged disorderly conduct.

“9. The trial court failed to charge the jury with respect to the

charge of aiding and abetting disorderly conduct to the effect

that before appellant can be guilty of aiding and abetting, all

of the elements of the principal crime must be proved beyond

a reasonable doubt.”

A-13

Because these assignments of error raise similar issues, they will

be addressed together.

Detwiler contends that the city failed to prove that a principal

offense was committed because there was no evidence that any

member of the group was ordered to cease and desist. As a result, she

could not be convicted of aiding and abetting another in the commis-

sion of disorderly conduct. She also contends that asking the protesters

to leave the premises is not proof of notice to cease and desist. We

disagree.

Akron City Code 132.01(A)(4) provides:

“(A) No person shall recklessly cause inconvenience, an-

noyance, or alarm to another by doing any of the following:

“kee

“(4) Hindering or preventing the movement of persons on

a public street, road, highway, or right-of-way, or to, from,

within, or upon public or private property, so as to interfere

with the rights of others, and by any act which serves no

lawful and reasonable purpose of the offender;”

“eee 7

This section is identical to R.C. 2917.11(A)(4).

Akron City Code 132.01(E), identical to R.C. 2917.11(E),

provides:

“Whoever violates this section is guilty of disorderly con-

duct, 2 minor misdemeanor. If the offender persists in

disorderly conduct after reasonable warning or request to

desist, disorderly conduct is a misdemeanor of the fourth

degree.”

The element necessary under R.C. 2917.11(E) to prove a case

for the fourth-degree misdemeanor is the persistence of proscribed

behavior after a reasonable warning or request to desist. State v.

Reynolds (1985), 25 Ohio App. 3d 59, 60.

In this instance, after Carol Harding, the executive director of

the Clinic, requested that the group leave, Captain Larry Givens of the

Akron Police Department instructed the group that they were engaged

in unlawful activity and that denying access to the premises was a

~

A-14

course of disorderly conduct. Captain Givens then asked the group to

leave the premises and told them that if they chose not to leave they

would be arrested. He warned the group a second time when one of

the officers was injured. Finally, each individual was asked to leave

before they were taken to the booking facility. We cannot say that the

trial court erred in leaving the question of whether Detwiler received

reasonable warning or request to desist to the jury. See Cleveland v.

Egeland (1986), 26 Ohio App. 3d 83, 87.

Detwiler also contends that because this case involves “free

speech”, the scope of the disorderly conduct statute is limited to

situations where “fighting words” are involved.

Detwiler testified that she was not present at 835 East Market to

demonstrate or to picket, but rather to do the affirmative act of saving

lives. Accordingly, the offensive speech provisions are not applicable

in this instance.

The assignments of error are overruled.

ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR 7

“The trial court refused to grant appellant’s motion for

directed verdict on the charge of resisting arrest, which

motion was made on the grounds that the evidence was

undisputed that appellant was placed under arrest prior to

being transported to the field booking area.”

Detwiler contends that the police officers failed to inform her

that she was under arrest or for what reason she was to be arrested in

violation of R.C. 2935.07. As a result, she could not be guilty of

resisting something that was unannounced.

R.C. 2935.07 provides in part:

“Person arrested without warrant shall be informed of

cause of arrest.

“When an arrest is made without a warrant by an officer,

he shall inform the person arrested of such officer’s

authority to make the arrest and the cause of the arrest.

“zee

aniline liana

A-15

“When a person is engaged in the commission of a criminal

offense, it is not necessary to inform him of the cause of

his arrest.”

R.C. 2921.33(A) provides:

“No person, recklessly or by force, shall resist or interfere

with a lawful arrest of himself or another.”

The record reflects that Detwiler was present when Captain

Givens instructed the group at approximately 8:43 a.m. Captain

Givens testified on cross-examination that he warned the entire group

that they were engaging in unlawful activity; that their conduct, by

denying access to the premises, was a course of disorderly conduct;

and that they had already been asked to leave by Carol Harding. He

also instructed the group that they were considered trespassers. Cap-

tain Givens also testified that at that point, he asked them to leave the

premises, and if they chose not to leave, they would be arrested on

those two charges. He also requested that if, in fact, they were arrested,

would they please walk through the booking process into the transport

vehicle. The group was given a few minutes to consider the statement

and then Sergeant Jay Carano began arresting individuals at 9:04 a.m.

Captain Givens also testified that at approximately 11:20 a.m., he gave

a second warning when one of his officers was injured as a result of

carrying these people.

Sgt. Carano testified that he approached Detwiler and asked her

if she would leave; that he waited approximately fifteen seconds; that

she either refused to answer or said no, that she went limp and then

was picked up by four other officers; that she was placed on a stretcher

and was carried to the booking area which was about ten to fifteen feet

away; that she was then photographed, fingerprinted and carried onto

a bus where she remained on the floor; that as the sixty-seventh person

to be arrested in this manner, she was able to witness sixty-six prior

arrests. Sgt. Carano also testified that if Detwiler had said that she

would leave, she would have been allowed to leave.

Detweiler testified that she was present when captain Givens told

the group that if they did nc* leave, they would be subject to arrest;

that he then asked them to leave but that she chose not to leave; that

she was present when Carol Harding was speaking and when Captain

Givens made his second request for the people to stand and to walk to

A-16

the booking area; that she was aware of the prior arrests, and had seen

the arrest procedure for the sixty-six prior cases; that Sgt. Carano

requested her to leave at approximately 1:00 p.m.; and that she fell

into the “fetal position” and went limp.

Based on this evidence, we cannot say that her arrest was in

violation of R.C. 2935.07. Detwiler also contends that once the arrest

took place, she could not be charged pursuant to R.C. 2921.33 because

she submitted to police authority by making no movement to contest

their authority. We disagree.

First, when Detwiler relaxed her muscles and “went limp,” she

could properly be charged with resisting arrest. See Committee Com-

ment to R.C. 2921.33.

Second, the existence of an arrest is dependent upon the presence

of the following elements (1) an intent to arrest, (2) under real or

pretended authority, (3) accompanied by an actual or constructive

seizure or detention of the person, and (4) which is so understood by

the person arrested. State v. Barker (1978), 53 Ohio St. 2d 135,

paragraph one of the syllabus. For purposes of R.C. 2921.33, a lawful

arrest occurs when the defendant surrenders or submits to police

authority or when the police officers obtain control over the defendant.

State v. Huffman (1987), 38 Ohio App. 3d 84, 86. In this instance, the

police officers requested that the entire group, including Detwiler,

leave the premises or, at the very least, walk to tne booking facilities

and then to the transport vehicle. Detwiler did neither of these. Instead,

she forced police officers to carry her through the procedure. There-

fore, we cannot say that the trial court erred in overruling the motion

for a directed verdict where reasonable minds could differ as to

whether she submitted to police authority.

The assignment of error is overruled.

ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR 10

“The trial court allowed the appellant to be convicted of

two or more allied offenses of similar import in violation

of R.C. Section 2941.25(A).”

While R.C. 2941.25(A) provides that a defendant can be con-

victed of only one count of a crime where the defendant’s conduct

aneeaie alutleecaah

pre ne eore ats

Ede oma

eda Ste gle se aS Bs

LE SoA ih cee SAP i aA cle haa all

A-17

constitutes two or more allied offenses of similar import, R.C.

2941.25(B) provides for a conviction on multiple counts where the

offenses are of dissimilar import, or are committed separately, or

committed with separate animus as to each. State v. Bickerstaff(1984),

10 Ohio St. 3d 62, 65.

In this instance Detweiler contends that because her conduct

remained the same from the time she arrived at 898 East Market Street

until her incarceration, all three offenses constitute allied offenses of

similar import.

We have no record of the sentencing proceeding which would

evidence whether this issue was raised before the trial court. Therefore

the claim of error has been waived. State v. Comen (1990), 50 Ohio

St. 3d 206, 211.

The assignment of error is overruled.

ASSIGNMENT OF ERROR 11

“The trial court failed to charge the jury that the Constitu-

tion of The United States and the laws of the State of Ohio,

under certain circumstances, provide that property such as

the Louis Stile Building may be an appropriate location for

the peaceful expression of opinion and limited physical

activity by persons expressing their right to free speech.”

Detwiler contends that because a group of advocates who were

adverse to her beliefs were present and because the premises were

visible to the public and contained more than one tenant, that her

activities were protected under the First Amendment of the United

States Constitution as an exercise of free speech. We disagree.

Detwiler testified that she was not present at the clinic to

demonstrate or to picket on that day, that she had picketed in the past

but that this time she went to rescue babies. Assuming, arguendo, that

her activities would be protected speech, we hold that the property at

835 East Market Street does noi iose its private character merely

because the public is generally invited to use it for designated pur-

poses. See Sundermeier, supra, at 7105-207. Nor do we believe that

Detwiler has presented sufficient factors to distinguish her case from

Sundermeier, supra on this issue. Accordingly, Detwiler and other

A-18

members of her group could properly be excluded from the entrances

of the premises without violating their right to free speech. See

Fairfield Commons Condominium Assn., supra, at 18-20.

The assignment of error is overruled.

The judgment is affirmed.

The Court finds that there were reasonable grounds for this

appeal.

We order that a special mandate issue out of this court, directing

the County of Summit, Akron Municipal Court to carry this judgment

into execution. A certified copy of this journal entry shall constitute

the mandate, pursuant to App. R. 27.

Immediately upon the filing hereof, this document shall con-

stitute the journal entry of judgment, and it shall be file stamped by

the Clerk of the Court of Appeals at which time the period for review

shall begin to run. App. R. 22(E).

Costs taxed to appellant.

Exceptions.

DANIEL B. QUILLIN

FOR THE COURT

CIRIGLIANO, J.

CONCUR

MAHONEY, J.

CONCURS IN PART AND DISSENTS IN PART SAYING:

I would affirm the judgments of conviction on all three charges.

However, I would sustain the tenth assignment of error as to merger

under R.C. 2941.25 of the charges of trespassing and disorderly

conduct. This is so obvious from the record, that one could say it was

plain error for the court not to merge the trespassing and disorderly

conduct.

I concur in the judgment only in overruling the first assignment

of error. I would recognize the common law defense of necessity.

However, the burden of proving that defense is upon the defendant.

To my mind, she must establish that an abortion was about to be

performed upon a specific woman who was more than three months

pregnant, or upon a minor at any stage of pregnancy where the

A-19

applicable laws dealing with notice and parental consent have not been

complied with. The Supreme Court has approved the legality of

abortions through the first trimester. Until the court decides when a

fetus is a person, I see no reason to deny the defense of necessity to

those who believe that the fetus is viable and is a person at more than

the third month of pregnancy. At least it would get the issue squarely

before the U.S. Supreme Court who must eventually decide the issue.

I would also sustain the second assignment of error as to the

individual venire member’s views on abortion. However, the trial

court’s general inquiry averted any prejudicial error.

APPEARANCES:

DOUGLAS J. POWLEY and CHARLES R. QUINN, Asst.

Prosecutors, 161 S. High St., Akron, OH 44308 for Plaintiff.

ROBERT R. MELNICK, Attorney at Law, 18 N. Phelps St., #300,

Youngstown, OH 44503 for Defendants.

DANIEL G. LaPORTE, Attorney at Law, 50 S. Main St., P 0. Box

1500, Akron, OH 44309 for Defendants.

PAUL F. BUZZI, Attorney at Law, 15 N. Broadway, Suite 100-102,

Akron, OH 44308 for Defendants.

A-20

MUNICIPAL COURT OF AKRON

Journal Entry

STATE OF OHIO MARY DETWILER

COUNTY OF SUMMIT VS 89 CRB 3282

CITY OF AKRON

Defendant having been fully informed of his nghts pursuant to Crim.

Rule 5, to which the court attests by initialing this space ___ has entered

his plea to the charges. And the matter being duly heard and the court

being fully advised in the premises and having asked whether defen-

dant has anything to say as to why judgment should not be pronounced

against him and defendant not showing sufficient cause, it is the

sentence of the law and judgment of the court that defendant pay

PLEA TO CHARGES __ Guilty _X Not Guilty __No Contest

DATE EXCEPTIONS

TRIAL HAD 9-25-89 DATE_._ x Found Guilty Not Guilty

COUNT #1: FINE OF $200 and costs AND BE IMPRISONED IN

THE x CITY WORKHOUSE ______. COUNTY

JAIL FOR THE TERM OF PSi

OTHER 30 days Power St. suspended 30 upon condition

Defendant obey all laws for one year. 6 months to pay.

COUNT #2: FINE OF Scosts only AND BE IMPRISONED IN THE

_x. CITY WORKHOUSE ___ COUNTY JAIL FOR

THE TERM OF.30 days Power St. Suspended

OTHER.30 upon condition Defendant obey all laws for

‘ ‘

RA SE AT yg Ww *< Shel ised | ton «

months to pay

COUNT #3: FINE OF Scosts only AND BE IMPRISONED IN THE

_x. CITY WORKHOUSE ___ COUNTY JAIL FOR

THE TERM OF 30 days Power St. Suspended =. =>_

OTHER.30. upon condition Defendant obey all laws for

one_year and serve 40 hours community service at

B iw *s Shel ‘ised } bati

4 months to pay

SUBSEQUENT COURT ORDERS:_Sentence stayed for 30 days

pending appeal. 11-15-89 _ Jane Bond

i Pe

A-21

CASE NO. __89 CRB 3282 _ ASSIGNED __Bond —

MUNICIPAL COURT OF AKRON

LAWRENCE J. WALSH, CLERK OF COURT

DEFENDANT JANE DOE #67 MARY JANE DETWILER _

ATTORNEY Paul Buzzi 376-5297 PHONE 696-1777/692-1172

DATE OF ARREST/CITE 5-6-89

CHARGES:

CT # 1 Resisting

CT # 2 Criminal Trespass. —

CT #3 Disorderly Conduct

A-22

In The Municipal Court Of Akron

Summit County, Ohio

CASE NO. 89 CRB 3282

JUDGE BOND

CITY OF AKRON

PLAINTIFF

v.

MARY JOAN DETWILER

DEFENDANT

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

This matter came on for hearing on September 19, 1989, upon

motion in limine filed by the City of Akron and a motion for deter-

mination of the admissibility of evidence by the Defendant. The case

proceeded to trial on September 21, 1989.

Rulings on both motions were issued prior to trial. Defendant

requested findings of fact and conclusions of law be issued by this

Court as related to the evidentiary hearing.

Accordingly, this Court makes the following findings of fact and

conclusions of law:

Defendant was charged with Criminal Trespass, ACC 131.08;

Disorderly Conduct, ACC 132.01(A)(4) and Resisting Arrest, R.C.

2921.33.

On May 6, 1989, Defendant voluntarily and intentionaliy went

to the premises occupied by the Akron Center for Reproductive

Health, Inc. in the City of Akron. Akron Center for Reproductive

Health, Inc. operates on those premises a clinic at which abortions are

performed in accordance with Ohio law. Abortions are performed at

those premises regularly six days per week.

The Defendant entered the premises without permission of the

owner cr occupant, intending by her physical presence and actions to

prevent women from entering the clinic. Defendant intended to

prevent abortions from being performed and thereby possibly avoid-

ing or hindering the death of an unborn infant.

A-23

The actions taken by Defendant together with other individuals

were initiated by her, planned in advance and under her control at all

times. Defendant was under no legal duty or obligation. Defendant

could repeat this conduct at will whenever she chose to do so.

Defendant by pretrial motion sought to introduce testimony to

rebut evidence to be presented by the prosecution to prove that

Defendant’s entry on the property was without privilege.

The proffered evidence includes:

1. Testimony of friends of the Defendant that she

reasonably believed her actions on May 6, 1989, were

necessary to avoid or hinder the deaths of unborn infants.

2. Expert medical testimony that the life of a human being

begins at conception.

3. Demonstrative evidence of videotapes and ultrasound

records showing the activities of a fetus in the womb.

The prosecution is required to prove as an element of the offense

of criminal trespass that the Defendant, without privilege to do so,

entered or remained on the land or premises of another. ACC 131.08.

“Privilege” means an immunity, license or right conferred by law,

bestowed by express or implied grant, or rising out of status, position,

office, or relationship, or growing out of necessity. ACC 130.02. See

R.C. 2901.01(L).

Defendant argues her entry on the property was privileged

because it was necessary. Defendant further argues this is not an

affirmative defense pursuant to R.C. 2901.05(C)(2). However, that

issue need not be addressed to dispose of the issue before this Court.

While there is no question that evidence of a privilege growing

out of necessity is admissible regarding the charge of criminal

trespass, the issue is whether based on the facts and the proffer of

Defendant, the particular testimony and evidence sought to be intro-

duced are relevant pursuant to Evid. R. 401 and 402. Relevancy cannot

be determined without examining what does and does not constitute

a “privilege growing out of necessity” as set forth by statute.

In construing an ordinance, this Court may consider pursuant to

ACC 10.14 (C):

A-24

1. The object sought to be attained;

2. The circumstances under which the ordinance was

enacted;

3. The legislative history;

4. The common law or former legislative provisions,

including laws upon the same or similar subjects;

5. The consequences of a particular construction;

6. The administrative construction of the ordinance.

( R.C. 1.149).

In construing this statute consideration is given to the legislative

history, the common law, decisions of other jurisdictions, the conse-

quences of construction and the distinctions between justification and

civil disobedience. , *

The language of the Akron City Code is identical to the State

code for the offense of criminal trespass. While there is no statutory

definition of necessity, privilege is discussed in the Committee Com-

ments to H.B. 511, the enacting legislation for R.C. 2901.01(L).

Allof the four separate types of conduct defined as criminal

trespass require that such conduct be unprivileged.

“Privilege” is defined in new section 2901.01 of the

Revised Code, and, with respect to trespass, is conceived

as being broader than permission as such. It may include

permission, or it may include a privilege growing out of

necessity, or by reason of an emergency, or persons in good

faith answering a call for help or otherwise performing

good offices in adverting danger could claim that an other-

wise unauthorized intrusion is privileged. Persons taking

shelter from danger might claim privilege- the classic rule

that vessels in distress may tie up at a private dock is an

example of this type of justification. Police, inspectors, and

other public servants can claim that an intrusion is

privileged within the proper exercise of their duties. These

examples are not exhaustive.

The nature of the defense of necessity is explained by W. LaFave

& A. Scott, Jr., Criminal Law §50 (1972):

A-25

One who, under the pressure of circumstances, commits

what would otherwise be a crime may be justified by

“necessity” in doing as he did and so not be guilty of the

crime in question. With the defense of necessity, the pres-

sure must come from the physical forces of nature (storms,

privations) rather than from other human beings. (When

the pressure is from human beings, the defense, if ap-

plicable, is called duress rather than necessity.) Also, the

pressure must operate upon the mind of the defendant

rather than upon his body. (When A and B are standing

atop a precipice, and an earthquake causes A to stumble

against B, throwing B over the cliff to his death, A’s

defense to a homicide charge is not that of necessity, for

A’s mind did not will his body against B’s; instead, his

defense is that he did no “act” (a willed movement), and

one cannot be guilty of a crime of action without an act.)

But when A, starving to death, takes and eats B’s food to

save his own life, or when A in an emergency intentionally

kills B to save C and D, he may be eligible for the defense

of necessity.

The rationale of the necessity defense is not that a person,

when faced with the pressure of circumstances of nature,

lacks the mental element which the crime in question

requires. Rather, it is this reason of public policy: the law

ought to promote the achievement of higher values at the

expense of lesser values, and sometimes the greater good

for society will be accomplished by violating the literal

language of the criminal law. The law forbids stealing and

murder, for there are positive values in the right to property

and the right to life; but (as in the case of the starving man)

it is better to save a life than to save the property, and (in

the case of the killing of B to save C and D) it is better that

two lives be saved and one lost than that two be lost and

one saved.

The matter is often expressed in terms of choice of evils:

When the pressure of circumstances presents one with a

choice of evils, the law prefers that he avoid the greater evil

by bringing about the lesser evil. Thus the evil involved in

A-26

violating the terms of the criminal law (taking another’s

property; even taking another’s life) may be less than that

which would result from literal compliance with the law

(starving to death; two lives lost).” Id. at 381-82.

See also 1 Wharton’s Criminal Law §88 (13th ed. 1972); R. Perkins,

Criminal Law 956-61 (2d ed. 1969); Arnolds & Garland, The Defense

of Necessity in Criminal Law: The Right to Choose the Lesser Evil, 65

J. Crim. L. & Criminology 289 (1974).

Both the common law and precedent in Ohio recognize the

defense of necessity.

Prior to the enactment of R.C. 2901.01 necessity was recognized

as a defense to trespass in Ohio. In Fulton v. Monahan (1831), 4 Ohio

427, the Court considered necessity as a justification for invasion of

a private right. Although no case in Ohio defines necessity as a

privilege to trespass, some guidance is provided in the use of “neces-

sity" in the former criminal code regarding Sunday labor laws, G.C.

13045. “Necessity ... arises from conditions or circumstances caused

by an agency either in whole or in part, over which man has no

control.” Straka v. State (1914), 25 Ohio Dec. 436, 437, 16 Ohio

N.P.(n.s.) 554.

This is consistent with the commentator’s view expressed by

LaFave and Scott above, necessity is the pressure of circumstances

over which the individual has no control. These circumstances set up

the forced choice which the individual must face. Once these cir-

cumstances have been created, the choice is between mutually ex-

clusive alternatives. The individual facing the impending harm either

breaks the law by one action or by complying with the law, suffers the

alternative harm.

The choice must be forced and there must be no legal alternative.

This principle was discussed by the United States Supreme Court in

United States v Bailey, 444 U.S. 394, 100 S. Ct. 624, 62 L. Ed 2d 575

(1980). The Court discussed the defenses of necessity and duress and

stated, 444 U.S. at 410, 100 S. Ct. at 634:

... the defense of necessity or choice of evils, traditionally

covered the situation where physical forces beyond the

actor’s control rendered illegal conduct the lesser of two

A-27

evils.... one principal [sic] remains constant: if there was a

reasonable, legal alternative to violating the law, “a chance

both to refuse to do the criminal act and also to avoid the

threatened harm,” the defense [of necessity] will fail.

Nine caSes have dealt with the legitimacy of the necessity

defense against charges of criminal trespass at abortion clinics. All

find the defense inapplicable: Cleveland v. Municipality of

Anchorage, 631 P. 2d 1073 (Alaska 1981); Gaetano v. United States,

406 A. 2d 1291 (D.C. 1979); People v. Stiso, 93 Ill. App. 3d 101, 48

Ill. Dec. 687, 416 N.E. 2d 1209 (1981); People v. Krizka, 92 Ill. App.

3d 288, 48 Ill. Dec. 141, 416 N.E. 2d 36 (1980); City of St. Louis v.

Klocker, 637 S.W. 2d 174 (Mo. App. 1982); Sigma Reproductive

Health Center v. Maryland, 297 Md. 660, 467 A. 2d 483 (1983);

Hoffart v. Texas (1985 Tex. App. Houston (14th Dist.)), 686 S.W. 2d

259, cert.den. _U.S.__, 93 L. Ed. 2d 46, 107 S. Ct. 95, reh. den.

479 U.S. 977, 93 L. Ed 2d 423, 107 S. Ct. 478; State v. Horn (1985

App.) 126 Wis. 2d 447, 377 N.W. 2d 176, aff'd. 139 Wis. 2d 473, 407

N.W. 2d 854; Pursley v. State (1987), 21 Ark. App. 107, 730 S.W. 2d

250. See also, Necessity as a Defense to a Charge of Criminal Trespass

in an Abortion Clinic, 48 U. Cin. L. Rev. 501 (1979).

The defense of necessity has also been uniformly rejected in

trespass cases at nuclear energy or weapons sites and defense contract-

ing sites. Commonwealth v. Capitolo (1985), 508 Pa. 372, 498 A. 2d

806 (reversing Commonwealth v. Capitolo (1984), 324 Pa. Super. 61,

471 A. 2d 462); In Re Weller (1985) 1st Dist. 164 Cal. App. 3d 44,

210 Cal. Rptr. 130; Schermbeck v. State (1985 Texas App. Dallas),

690 S.W. 2d 315; State v. Champa (1985 <1), 494 A. 2d 102; State v.

Marley (1973), 54 Hawaii 450, 509 P. 2d 1095. See generally collected

cases 41 ALR 4th 773, Trespass: State Prosecution for Unauthorized

Entry or Occupation for Public Demonstration Purposes, of Business,

Industrial or Utility Purposes.

The defense of necessity has been denied in a case of trespass in

two churches in Washington, D.C. where defendants and others

entered on a winter night “for the express purpose of opening the doors

of these buildings to homeless persons living in Washington, D.C. to

protect them with shelter for the night.” Griffin v. United States (D.C.

A-28

1982), 447 A. 2d 776, cert.den., _U.S.__, 103 S. Ct. 1879, 76 L.

Ed. 2d 810 (1983).

The defense of necessity has frequently been raised in escape

cases where a prisoner seeks to justify an escape by the threat of harm

present in the prison. United States v. Bailey, 444 U.S. 394, 100S. Ct.

624, 62 L. Ed. 2d 575 (1980); People v. Lovercamp, 43 Cal. App. 3d

823, 118 Cal. Rptr. 110 (1974).

Examining the common law and recent case law certain prin-

ciples may be extracted as required elements of the defense of neces-

sity.

1. The Defendant is faced with circumstances or condi-

tions caused by an agency over which she has no control.

2. The Defendant as a consequence of the circumstances

must elect a course of action between unavoidable alterna-

tives.

3. The choice of alternatives must require the Defendant

to intentionally undertake an illegal act to prevent or al-

leviate an imminent public or private injury.

4. The injury to be avoided must be greater than the harm

done by the illegal act. This is an objective determination

and not controlled by the good faith belief of the Defendant.

5. There must be no reasonable legal alternative to avoid

the imminent harm.

If each of these elements is present, then necessity as creating a

privilege to trespass has been stablished [sic].

The Defendant bases her defense on her entry onto the clinic

property intending to place herself between the entrance and women

attempting to enter the clinic for the purpose of abortion. This she

argues would result in avoiding or hindering the loss of life of unborn

infants.

In considering each element applied to Defendant, it is apparent

that there were no circumstances beyond the control of Defendant

which placed her in an unavoidable situation. She intentionally went

to the clinic on May 6, 1989, to prevent others from entering into the

building. There was nothing unique or compelling at that particular

A-29

time or place. There was no exterior compulsion upon the Defendant

to act in any manner.

The imminent harm which Defendant sought to avoid, abortion,

was neither imminent nor a legally recognized harm. Assuming a

woman was prevented from entering the clinic on May 6, 1989,

Defendant’s action does not prevent the woman from obtaining an

abortion. Although abortion may be morally objectionable to Defen-

dant and others, it is not a legally recognized injury either public or

private. Those seeking to enter the clinic had a right to be free from

criminal interference. Even assuming arguendo, the abortion to be

prevented was a greater harm than the injury of the trespass, the

possibility of achieving that result was remote at best.

The action of Defendant was more symbolic than active preven-

tion of an imminent harm. Given the essentially symbolic nature of

Defendant’s action, there are reasonable legal alternatives to use to

convince others of the harm of abortion and achieve the end she seeks.

Another factor to consider in construing the privilege of neces-

sity is the consequence of a particular statutory construction. If a

privilege to trespass is permitted under these facts, any individual

could enter a clinic or hospital at any time and justify trespass to

achieve the possible prevention of an abortion.

Defendant does not characterize her action as protest or speech.

She argues this was not a demonstration. She asserts that her conduct

was privileged and she is therefore not guilty of illegal trespass.

This contention is in sharp contrast to the individual who-from

moral or personal conviction as an act of conscience, commits an

illegal act. Civil disobedience may be undertaken to dramatize social

injustice, abuse of power or an arbitrary law. But those who so protest

do not seek to avoid the legal sanctions imposed or claim their beliefs

justify an exemption from the validity of the law itself. See generally,

Civil Disobedience and Violence, Wadsworth Publishing Co., Jeffrie

G. Murphy, 1971, Social Protest and Civil Obedience, Sidney Hook,

p. 53.

The rights to free speech, to assembly and to petition the

government for grievances are a cornerstone of the

American system. So, too, is the right to be free from

cc:

A-30

criminal interference. These appellants trespassed on the

rights of others and did so without excuse. Gaetano v.

United States, 406 A. 2d 1291, 1295 D.C. App. 1979, 631

P. 2d at 1081-82.

The privilege of necessity is not applicable in this case.

Jane Bond

Judge

Mr. Douglas Powley, Chief City Prosecutor

Messrs. Robert Melnick, Daniel G. Laporte and Paul Buzzi,

Attorneys for Defendant 4

APPENDIX B

B-1

MEDICAL REFERENCES

Contemporary scientific evidence clearly concludes that the life

of a human being begins at conception, the time when the process of

fertilization is complete. There is an overwhelming agreement on this

point in countless medical, biological, and scientific writings. The

following examples form only a limited sample from the scientific

literature:

Zygote. This cell results from fertilization of an oocyte by

a sperm and is the beginning of a human being.

*** *

Development begins at fertilization, when a sperm unites

with an oocyte to form a zygote (from the Greek zygotus,

meaning “yoked together”). Each of us started life as a cell

called a zygote.

K. Moore, The Developing Human 1, 12 (2d ed. 1977).

In this first pairing, the spermatozoon has contributed its

23 chromosomes, and the oocyte has contributed its 23

chromosomes, thus re-establishing the necessary total of

46 chromosomes. The result is the conception of a unique

individual, unlike any that has been born before and unlike

any that will ever be born again.

M. Krieger, The Human Reproductive System 88 (1969).

[A]ll organisms, however large and complete they may be

when full grown, begin life as but a single cell. This is true

of the human being, for instance, who begins life as a

fertilized ovum ...

I. Asimov, The Genetic Code 20 (1962).

It is the penetration of the ovum by a spermatozoon and the

resultant mingling of the nuclear material each brings to

the union that constitutes the culmination of the process of

fertilization and marks the initiation of the life of a new

individual.

B. Patten, Human Embryology 43 (3d ed. 1968).

The formation, maturation and meeting of a male and

female sex cell are all preliminary to their actual union into

B-2

a combined cell, or zygote, which definitely marks the

beginning of a new individual.

L. Arey, Developmental Anatomy 55 (7th ed. 1974)

A human being originates in the union of two gametes, the

ovum and the spermatozoon.

J. Roberts, An Introduction to Medical Genetics | (3d ed. 1963).

Bisexual reproduction is characteristic of all vertebrates,

and gametogenesis (the production of germ cells) is its first

phase. The next phase, the beginning of the development

of a new individual, is the fusion of two germ cells

(gametes) of different nature; one, the spermatozoon from

the male parent; the other, the ovum from the female parent.

The result of this fusion is the formation of the first cell of

the new individual, the zygote . .

W. Hamilton & H. Mossman, Human Embrvology 14 (4th ed. 1972).

The zygote thus formed [by the moving together of two sets

of chromosomes] represents the beginning of a new life.

J. Greenhill & E. Friedman, Biological Principles and Modern Prac-

tice of Obstetrics 23 (1974).

The zygote is the starting cell of the new organism.

S. Luria, Thirty-Six Lectures in Biology 146 (1975).

A new individual is initiated by a union of two gametes -

a male gamete, or spermatozoon, and a female gamete, or

mature ovum .

J. Brash, Human Embryology 2 (1956).

Fertilization is significant in that new life is created, but

specifically the cardinal features of fertilization are that (1)

the diploid number of chromosomes [46] is reconstituted

and (2) the sex of the conceptus is designated

chromosomally.

J. Thomas, /ntroduction to Human Embryology 52 (1968).

A new individual is inaugurated in a single cell (zygote)

that results from the- union of a male gamete (sper-

matozoon) with a female gamete (ovum or egg).

B-3

T. Torrey, Morphogenesis of the Vertebrates 47 (3d ed. 1971).

The fertilized egg cell - or zygote - contains nuclear

material from both parents. It marks the beginning of the

life of a new human being and is a useful focal point for

presenting all the diverse aspects of organic reproduction.

G. Simpson & W. Beck, Life: An Introduction to Biology 139 (2d ed.

1965).

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.