Amicus Curiae Brief — Gulf States Utilities Co. v. Coalition of Cities for Affordable Utility Rates
Supreme Court brief1991
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
RIED
KAR 27 Wt
OFFICE OF THE CLERK
No. 90-1338 x
IN THE
Supreme Court of the Gnited States
OCTOBER TERM, 1990
GULF STATES UTILITIES Co..
Vv.
COALITION OF CITIES FOR AFFORDABLE
UTILITY RATES, ef al..
Re sponde ji is.
On Petition for Writ of Certiorari
to the Supreme Court of Texas
BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE FOR NORTH STAR STEEL
TEXAS, INC. IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS
DANIEL C. KAUFMAN
Counsel of Record
RITTs, BRICKFIELD & KAUFMAN
Watergate 600 Building
Suite 915
Washington, D.C. 20037
(202) 342-0800
March 27, 1991
PRESS OF BYRON S. ADAMS, WASHINGTON, D.C. (202) 347-8203
7 see) oe oe ae y Ss
*
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
SRASEAIEE GP THD GAGE cnccocccceccscccessscccccsccccccesesees l
THE INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE ..........ccccseeeeeeseeeeeees 5
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT ..........:ccceceeeeeeeeee 6
A. Gulf States Failed To Properly Raise And
Preserve Its Federal Claims Below ....... 6
B. The Claim that the Commission Denied
Gulf States Due Process is Premature .. .
C. The Petition Presents No Substantial And
Important Federal Question .................... 9
9 ae IEEE eee eA re SAS aca ne See RE 20
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES
Board of Directors of Rotary International v. Ro-
tary Club, 481 U.S. 537 (1987) ........seseeeeees
Brown v. Felsen, 442 U.S. 127 (1979) ..........:++++
Cromwell v. County of Sac, 94 U.S. 351 (1877) ...
Morrison v. Chan, 699 S.W.2d 205 (Tex. 1985) ....
United States v. Utah Construction & Mining Co.,
ES CT
University of Tennessee v. Elliott, 478 U.S. 788
(1986) .......ccccccccccssccrererencessceccersceeessesssscsseseeseees
Watson v. Glen Falls Insurance Co., 505 S.W.2d
TQB (Tek. 1974) ..-..ccccercccrsccccccccccscvecccscoseescoseess
STATUTES
28 U.S.C. § 1257 (a) (1988) ............ecccceceeeesererereeeneees
Tex. Rev. Crv. Stat. ANN. art. 1446c (Vernon
Supp. 1990) ........c.ccecseeesersceresessnsesccsesersssnssereess
Tex. Rev. Crv. Stat. ANN. art. 1446c § 40 (Vernon
Supp. 1990) .......-ccccceseensesrcessesessesccsersnssssnesesess
(Vernon Supp. 1990) .........-scesscesssessreescesreeseees
COURT RULES
Supreme Court Rule 14.1() ............sccsccssseeeesersees
IN THE
Supreme Court of the Gnited States
OCTOBER TERM, 1990
No. 90-1338
GuLF StaTes UtTmities Co.,
Petitioners,
We
COALITION OF CITIES FOR AFFORDABLE
Utiity RATES, &T AL.,
Respondents.
BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE FOR NORTH STAR STEEL
TEXAS, INC. IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS
North Star Steel Texas, Inc. (“North Star”) respectfully
opposes the petition for writ of certiorari filed by Gulf
States Utilities Company (“Gulf States”), seeking review
of a final judgment of the Supreme Court of Texas. The
opinion below was issued on September 12, 1990 and re-
ported at 798 S.W.2d 560.
Statement of the Case
The decision below concludes one of two separate and
distinct judicial proceedings before the courts of Texas
rooted in a single decision and order of the Public Utility
Commission of Texas. Since one of those judicial proceed-
ings is not before this Court, a brief sketch of the pro-
cedural history would be appropriate.
Gulf States is an investor-owned public utility engaged
in the business of providing electric service to end-users
in Texas and Louisiana. As such, its retail rates in Texas
are subject to regulation by the Commission under the
Texas Public Utility Regulatory Act (“PURA”’), Tex. Rev.
Crv. Stat. ANN. art. 1446c (Vernon Supp. 1990). In No-
vember of 1986, Gulf States applied to the Commission
for authority to increase its rates for retail electric service
rendered in Texas so as to recover the costs associated
with its $4.5 billion investment in the River Bend nuclear
generating station placed in commercial service several
months earlier.' Extensive evidentiary hearings were con-
ducted before three presiding officers, who filed their re-
port about one year later, containing hundreds of factual
findings and dozens of legal conclusions they recommended
for adoption by the Commission. App. 109a-284a.? After
consideration of the examiners’ report, and the exceptions
taken thereto by the participants, the Commission issued
its final Order on May 16, 1988. App. 38a-108a.
In its final Order, the Commission found and concluded
as follows:
[Findings of Fact):
164. The preponderance of the evidence in this
case establishes that $2.273 billion of River Bend
capital costs were prudently and reasonably in-
curred. The evidence is inadequate to support a
finding of either prudence or imprudence with
regard to construction costs in excess of $2.273
billion, [with one exception not here pertinent].
164A. GSU’s share of all River Bend capital costs
in excess of $2.273 billion should be excluded
from plant in service at this time for lack of
‘The administrative proceeding on that application was assigned
Docket No. 7195 and was consolidated with pending Docket No. 6755.
* The form “App. __ a” will be utilized to cite record extracts re-
produced in the separately bound appendix which accompanied the
petition for writ of certiorari.
sufficient evidence as to the prudence and rea-
sonableness of those costs. The amount which
should be included in plant in service, given
GSU’s 70 percent share of the plant, is $1.5911
billion.
[Conclusions of Law]:
15. Under PURA Section 40 a utility must prove
its conduct to have been prudent when decisions
or expenditures are reasonably challenged.
18A. GSU has not met its burden of proving that
the capital costs of River Bend above a reason-
able Definitive Cost Estimate of $2.273 billion
were reasonably and prudently incurred.
App. 64a & 85a-86a. On those issues, Commissioners
Campbell and Greytok concurred.* The Commission ac-
cordingly approved rates reflecting $2.273 billion of River
Bend investment in plant in service, excluding some $1.453
billion in excess of that amount. Gulf States changed its
rates in compliance with Commission’s action.
Gulf States and the respondent municipalities exhausted
their administrative remedies by applying for rehearing
before the Commission, which was denied by operation of
law after forty-five days had elapsed from entry of the
final Order without an explicit ruling on the respective
motions.‘ Gulf States and other participants thereafter per-
* Chairman Thomas, in dissent, would have finally disallowed nearly
$460 million of River Bend investment and “inventoried” almost $500
million more. App. 4la-42a.
* See Tex. Rev.Crv. Stat. ANN. art. 6252-13a § 16(e) (Vernon Supp.
1990). The petition for writ of certiorari claims at note 10 on page 7
that the two Commissioners then remaining in office “could not agree
on rehearing,”” but offers no supporting citation to the record.
fected appeals to the 250th District Court of Travis County,
Texas. Those appeals were consolidated and remain pend-
ing before that court.
Gulf States concurrently filed a new application with the
Commission to change rates for retail electric service ren-
dered in Texas so as to recover the capital costs associated
with the River Beud nuclear generating station in excess
of the $2.273 billion previously allowed. In addition to
intervening in Commission Docket No. 8702, respondents
filed an independent action in the 250th District Court of
Travis County, Texas, seeking declaratory and injunctive
relief against relitigation of River Bend prudence issues.
That court issued final judgment “permanently enjoin{ing
the Commission] from holding hearings on or reconsidering
the prudence of the cost to construct River Bend except
to @ie extent such proceedings are permitted as part of
a remand from the administrative appeal of Docket No.
7195.”” App. 30a-3la. The District Court’s judgment was
grounded on the following findings and conclusions:
4. The doctrines of res judicata and collateral
estoppel apply to administrative agencies.
5. The Commission directly ruled on the prudence
issues in its findings and conclusions.
6<ven if the Commission’s findings and conclu-
sions can be interpreted as lacking a direct ruling
on the prudence issues, the Commission must
have considered the issue to arrive at the findings
and conclusions it actually made.
7. Even if the Commission’s findings and conclu-
sions can be interpreted as not requiring consid-
eration of the issue, Gulf States had ample
opportunity to have the issue considered, liti-
gated, and decided.
*The administrative proceeding on that application was assigned
Docket No. 8702.
8. Any of the three scenarios mentioned imme-
diately above are sufficient to invoke the doc-
trines’ prohibition of subsequent relitigation.
9. The Commission is without authority to permit
or sponsor additional litigation or consideration
of the issue.
App. 29a-30a.
On appeal taken by Gulf States, the Third District Court
of Appeals reversed and dissolved the trial court’s injunc-
tion. The opinion of the intermediate appellate court is
reported at 777 S.W.2d 814 (1989). That tribunal there
analogized the Commission’s action to severing a claim and
proceeding separately with it, a procedure under which
the severed-out claim would not be precluded in subsequent
litigation. 777 S.W.2d at 817.
Respondents perfected a writ of error to the Supreme
Court of Texas, which reinstated the injunction. The
Supreme Court of Texas held that the failure of Gulf States
to meet its burden of proof precluded further administra-
tive proceedings to plug the evidentiary gap. See 798
S.W.2d at 563-64. It rejected the severance analogy in-
voked by the court of appeals as inconsistent with Texas
practice, holding that the Commission lacked authority un-
der PURA to defer its decision. See id. at 564-65. A motion
for rehearing filed by Gulf States was overruled without
opinion on November 28, 1990.
The Interest of Amicus Curiae
North Star owns and operates an electric steel-making
facility near Beaumont, Texas. That plant utilizes elec-
tricity supplied by Gulf States to power arc furnaces, roll-
ing mills,and other equipment used to convert steel scrap
into useful products. As such, North Star is Gulf States’
largest retail customer in Texas. North Star has intervened
and actively participated in numerous Commission pro-
ceedings involving Gulf States, including Docket No. 7195
and Docket No. 8702. North Star filed briefs amicus curiae
below, as well as briefing the issues to the court of first
instance and intermediate court of appeals.
North Star accordingly has a direct interest in the rates
Gulf States is authorized to charge to end-users in Texas.
North Star likewise has a direct interest in assuring that
participants in Commission proceedings are shielded from
the expense and uncertainty incident to repetitious liti-
gation.
Reasons for Denying the Writ
A. Gulf States Failed To Properly Raise And Pre-
serve Its Federal Claims Below
Gulf States failed to properly raise and preserve its
federal claims below, rendering discretionary review here
inappropriate. “It is well settled that this Court will not
review a final judgment of a state court unless ‘the record
as a whole shows either expressly or by clear implication
that the federal claim was adequately presented in the
state system.’ Board of Directors of Rotary International
v. Rotary Club, 481 U.S. 537, 550 (1987) (citation omitted).
Indeed, Supreme Court Rule 14.1(h) unambiguously re-
quires Gulf States to specify where and how any federal
question for which review is sought was asserted in the
state court proceedings with sufficient particularity “‘as
will show that the federal question was timely and properly
raised so as to give this Court jurisdiction to review the
judgment on a writ of certiorari.” Gulf States has fallen
short on that score.
The opinion and final judgment of the Supreme Court
of Texas embody no adjudication of Constitutional claims,
as the petition for writ of certiorari concedes at page 9.
This should have come as no surprise to Gulf States, be-
cause it had presented no such claims to that tribunal. At
page 9 of its petition, Gulf States notes that it filed briefs
in the courts below wherein it “expressly relied on a de-
cision of this Court, United States v. Utah Construction &
Mining Co., 384 U.S. 394 (1966), for the proposition that
preclusion could not apply.” One searches those briefs in
vain for bare mention of the Constitution or other sug-
gestion of a federal claim. Utah Construction was instead
cited as illustrative of common-law jurisprudence. Indeed,
in its brief to the court of first instance and to the Supreme
Court of Texas, Gulf States included Utah Construction as
the first citation in a string, the others being state ap-
pellate decisions. App. 303a & 307a. Nothing there pre-
sented reasonably alerted the courts of Texas that Gulf
States was seeking a ruling on any Constitutional issue,
much less the specific questions which are now presented
in its petition for writ of certiorari. Such “casual refer-
ences” to federal precedent wholly fail to apprise a state
court that Constitutional claims are being presented. Ro-
tary International, supra at 550 n. 9.
Gulf States closes its statement of the case by insisting
that its motion for rehearing below had “reiterated that
federal issues were present and had been left unaddressed
by the Court’s opinion.” Petition at 11. However, Gulf
States could not have there “reiterated’’ what it had failed
to iterate before. The extracts from its motion for re-
hearing below included in its appendix diverge markedly
from its earlier presentation.* Indeed, Utah Construction
goes entirely unmentioned in those extracts. Moreover, the
one line minute entry overruling that motion fails to es-
tablish that the Supreme Court of Texas actually decided
these newly presented questions on the merits. See Rotary
International, supra at 550. Under the circumstances, “‘it
will be assumed that the omission was due to want of
proper presentation in the state courts, unless the ag-
grieved party in this Court can affirmatively show to the
contrary.”’ See id.
The questions which Gulf States presents in its petition
for writ of certiorari were not raised and decided below.
The writ should accordingly be denied for want of a prop-
erly preserved federal claim.
B. The Claim that the Commission Denied Gulf States
Due Process is Premature
Even where federal claims have been properly pre-
served, this Court’s jurisdiction to review state court pro-
ceedings is not untrammeled. Insofar as here pertinent,
certiorari jurisdiction extends only to “{flinal judgments
or decrees rendered by the highest court of a State in
which a decision could be had.” 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a) (1988).
The arguments grouped under Point II of the reasons given
by Gulf States for granting the writ are not ripe for review
in this Court, because they may be raised in the direct
appeals taken from the Commission’s Order in Docket No.
7195. Those issues have yet to be finally decided in the
first instance, much less by the highest appellate tribunal
in which a decision could be had.
Gulf States admonishes that administrative decision
makers may be “less concerned with procedural regularity
than are the courts.” Petition at 14. Gulf States goes on
to argue that the agency did not subjectively intend the
consequences of its findings and that it improperly altered
the standards of proof after the record had closed. We
will show, under heading C post, that these contentions
are insubstantial. However, even if we indulge the fiction
that the Commission erred in the manner Gulf States con-
tends and assume that the error has been preserved under
State procedures, the claimed defects are appropriately
raised as grounds for reversal on direct judicial review of
the final Order entered by the Commission in Docket No.
7195. Gulf States has already commenced such proceedings
in Travis County District Court. They are not, however,
implicated by the final judgment entered in the independ-
ent civil action from which the petition for writ of certiorari
has been taken. That judgment forecloses Gulf States from
collaterally attacking the Commission’s Docket No. 7195
decision in a subsequent rate case.
The final judgment of the Supreme Court of Texas nei-
ther adds to nor subtracts from the issues remaining un-
resolved on direct judicial review. The writ should
accordingly be denied for want of a final determination of
the claim in State court.
C. The Petition Presents No Substantial And Impor-
tant Federal Question
Putting the jurisdictional impediments to discretionary
review discussed above under headings A and B to one
side, no substantial and important federal questions are
presented by the petition. The arguments presented by
Gulf States boil down to the following logic:
(1) The fourteenth amendment strips a state ad-
ministrative order of preclusive effect unless
the precluded issue was actually decided by
the agency.
(2) The Commission did not actually decide
whether some $1.4 billion of River Bend cap-
ital costs had been prudently incurred.
On that two-part syllogism and for a variety of reasons
ostensibly cloaked in due process garb, Gulf States insists
that it must be afforded another opportunity to litigate
the excess costs. The petition for writ of certiorari asks
this court to establish the first premise and argues that
the second premise has been satisfied. We will address
10
eninstion off the Commmiasents Galles etter Gites len.
aH Hil Apgeeeiety!
iz Hi Au
592. if ‘il
é AT fe TRH
Hint li
A :
an Ht aH Wl Ht
ATH UTE
HTH
aa iebeyists
12a: ifeaye
Hit anf fF
11
billion, the PUC effectively disallowed that
amount from the rate base.
798 S.W.2d at 563-64.’
In reaching for a question of Constitutional dimension,
the petition for writ of certiorari distorts Utah Construc-
tion beyond recognition. The “decision [t]hzre rest{/ed] upon
the agreement of the parties as modified by the Wunder-
lich Act,” but this Court noted that the result reached
was “harmonious with general principles of collateral es-
toppel.”” See 384 U.S. at 421 (footnote omitted).* The dic-
tum which followed likewise bespoke common-law, not
Constitutional law, doctrine:
When an administrative agency is acting in a
judicial capacity and resolves disputed issues of
fact properly before it which the parties have had
an adequate opportunity to litigate, the courts
have not hesitated to apply res judicata to en-
force repose.
Id. at 422. Utah Construction thus purported to delineate
no due process boundaries.
It has been settled for more than a century that res
judicata (“claim preclusion”) forecloses relitigation of all
that might have been litigated previously, whether or not
"The Commission accordingly had no power under State law to re-
serve the excess cost issue for later decision, as the Supreme Court
of Texas explicitly held. See id. In effect, the petition for writ of
certiorari asserts that due process conferred a vested right upon Gulf
States to the fruits of the Commission's error of Texas law. No au-
thority has been or can be cited for that proposition.
* The cited case was a Government contracts appeal, the quoted pas-
sage suggesting no Constitutional holding, and the petition for writ of
certiorari is bereft of citation to caselaw reading more into Utah Con-
struction than symmetry with general common-law principles. Indeed,
University of Tennessee v. Elliott, 478 U.S. 788, 799 (1986) confirms
that this Court was “fashioning federal common-law rules of preclu-
sion.”
12
actually litigated. See Brown v. Felsen, 442 U.S. 127, 139
n. 10 (1979); Cromwell v. County of Sac, 94 U.S. 351, 352-
53 (1877). Gulf States suggests no Constitutional impedi-
ment to this long-standing doctrine. Although the petition
for writ of certiorari treats the decision below as grounded
on collateral estoppel (‘issue preclusion’’),? we are left to
speculate as to why the application of the fourteenth
amendment should turn on fine points of the common-law
of judgments. No requirement of “actual resolution’ may
arguably be crafted as an essential component of due proc-
ess.
Gulf States bemoans the supposedly “startling...
harshness” of the decision below, claiming that the Com-
mission held Gulf States to ‘“‘new and detailed proof re-
quirements” announced after the evidentiary record had
closed. Petition at 17. The petition for writ of certiorari
falls curiously silent in particularizing just where that hap-
pened and the administrative record will not support that
extravagant claim.
In the first place, the Commission engaged in garden
variety fact-finding, weighing the evidence adduced over
the course of more than one-hundred hearing days. The
Commission held the statistical evidence put on by Gulf
States wanting in credibility, while upholding the findings
of its presiding officers that Gulf States had not otherwise
carried its burden of proof by reconciling its costs with
legitimate reasons.’ Contrary to the implications of the
*The decision below supports its holdings in reference to “res ju-
dicata” standing alone or to “res judicata and collateral estoppel”
entwined together. Nonetheless, we may accept the characterization
employed by Gulf States for purposes of analysis.
“ The Commission apparently viewed the adjusted definitive cost es-
timate figure of $2.273 billion as a representative of a reasonable es-
timate of the investment required to build River Bend. Findings of
Fact 64-68 & 79-93; App. 55a-58a. It accordingly accepted costs up to
that figure as having been proved prudently incurred, but concluded
13
petition for writ of certiorari, no regulatory body is bound
by due process to provide a running critique to the persons
it regulates—guiding their counsel through the evidence
and confiding what will be required to make a convincing
showing. The Commission’s final Order held Gulf States
to nothing more stringent than a preponderance of the
evidence standard and did nothing to render admissible
any evidence which Gulf States had unsuccessfully tried
to adduce."'
The Commission had not previously announced that any
statistical proof, regardless of its flaws, would invariably
suffice. Nor, did the Commission categorically hold in
Docket No. 7195 that statistics could never carry a utility's
(Finding 163, emphasis added)."* Reliance on evidence of
that character carried with it litigation risks of which Gulf
States should have been aware."
that Gulf States had failed in its burden of proof as to the excess.
Conclusion of Law 18; App. 86a. Respondents have challenged that
rationale in the direct appeals pending in Travis County District Court.
“ The cases cited at page 18 of the petition for writ of certiorari
are accordingly inapposite.
in this proceeding.” App. 260a (Proposed Finding 163). In their dis-
cussion, the presiding officers damned the statistical evidence adduced
by Gulf States with faint praise, remarking that this regression analysis
was “the only means available, in this case,’ to compare River Bend
to its peers and that it was the “most credible” and based on the
‘most reasonable set of variables." App. 18la-82a. The Commission
simply ruled that Gulf States’ “best’’ was_not good enough.
“ Commissioner Greytok was not writing on a clean slate when she
spoke of the regression analysis model adduced by Gulf States in the
following terms: “there are lies, damned lies, in [sic and) statistics and
that one probably falls, in my view, very firmly into the latier cate-
14
In the second place, Gulf States gambled and lost with
a tactical decision to rest its case before the Commission
on the evidentiary record then accumulated." Bluntly put,
Gulf States set out to prove, was afforded fair opportunity
but failed to prove by a preponderance of the
evidence that the River Bend cost over-runs had been pru-
dently and reasonably incurred. In their report to the Com-
mission, the three presiding officers clearly reminded Gulf
States of its burden of persuasion:
-- It is up to GSU, not the intervenors, to
in
gi
iif
il
i
s
=
i!
‘es
Weigand of GSU observed...that “GSU
‘t know why River Bend cost so much.”
appears to be the case. GSU did not present
credible reconciliation of plant costs with spe-
ific causes, much less with specific regulatory
Ba?
“ Gulf States was apparently then well satisfied with the evidentiary
record:
of exhibits were received in evidence. Every factual, legal,
and policy issue was thoroughly explored and canvassed.
Gulf States Reply to Exceptions to Examiners’ Report at 1-1.
15
changes. Even if the causes for change were le-
gitimate, it did not show that the amounts of
money spent to meet various goals were reason-
able. It did show more generally that regulatory
changes had a dramatic effect on the project’s
scope and cost. Yet from the evidence one cannot
tell how wisely and efficiently money was spent
on design development, scope changes, and meet-
ing regulatory changes.
....GSU has the burden of justifying the costs
of River Bend either by detailed analysis or by
showing that these costs are reasonable com-
pared with those of other plants. It failed to do
App. 18la (record citation and footnote omitted) & 192a."
Gulf States was told early on that its failure to explain
why River Bend ran so far over budget placed its case in
substantial jeopardy. At the January 18, 1988 public meet-
ing, Commissioner Greytok undertook a discussion of the
over-run with Gulf States’ counsel:
COMMISSIONER GREYTOK: Mr. Avery, there
are sections of the Examiners’ Report that state
clearly that they cannot give us any indication
whatsoever as to what happened with the esca-
lating cost of River Bend. And when we started
out the other day, I made the comment to you
right up front, so there would be no doubt in
“The presiding officers recommended adoption of explicit findings
that Gulf States “could have developed a far more complete and ac-
curate investigation” into River Bend’s cost over-runs and that the
non-statistical explanations for the plant’s high costs ‘were inadequate
and unconvincing.” App. 257a (recommended findings 131 & 132). The
Commission's final Order adopted these recommendations verbatim. See
App. 62a.
16
your mind as to where I was headed, that we
are missing $2.3 billion as far as being able to
account for it.
MR. AVERY: Unreconciled; right.
COMMISSIONER GREYTOK: Unreconciled, un-
documented, un-whatever; it’s not there.
MR. AVERY: But not found to be imprudent.
COMMISSIONER GREYTOK: Well. it depends
on whose finding—you know, the way—
COMMISSIONER CAMPBELL: I don’t have to
find it imprudent. If you haven’t proved it to be
prudent and to have been incurred through ef-
ficient operation, Mr. Avery, it would seem to
me that all I would have to do is convince one
other Commissioner to adopt the statement of
our expert that there is no evidence in the record
in which the Commission can either make a find-
ing of prudence or imprudence and all. As long
as I adopt that statement, you have lost on the
burden of proof.
Final Order Meeting Tr. 780-81 (emphasis added). Com-
missioner Campbell reiterated and re-emhasized the con-
sequences of Gulf State’s failure of proof. Jd. at 791-92 &
832.
Notwithstanding those admonitions, Gulf States unequi-
vocally disclaimed any need to reopen the record.
MR. AVERY: What I’m saying to you is, you
say we don’t want a remand.
What I’m saying to you is, I’m not going to tell
you anything but straight what we think. What
we think is, a remand isn’t necessary because we
met our burden of proof. And I can’t tell you that
I don’t think that if I do think that.
17
But, what I’ve also said to you—and I think this
is crucially important and what I don’t think I’ve
gotten across to you is—I’m also saying to you,
uf you think there should be a remand, we are
more than prepared to go about providing that
re pa
Id. at 834 (emphasis added).'* That Gulf States later ex-
perienced a change of heart after entry of the Commis-
sion’s final Order is readily understandable.'* Yet, due
process is not a license to hold back your proof until you
learn that you have lost.
As its final parry to the decision rendered below, Gulf
States accuses the Supreme Court of Texas of “under-
min{ing] the basic foundation of constitutional ratemak-
‘* Counsel had earlier disclaimed asking for an opportunity to adduce
further proof on remand:
MR. AVERY: I'm sorry, Commissioner; I don’t think I have
asked you to do that. I have said if you want a remand,
that’s open to you.
Id. at 790. Counsel thereby reaffirmed his optimistic assessment of the
record—“‘We do not think that an order which disallowed everything
over the definitive cost estimate has a shred of a chance of being
sustained on appeal."’ See id. at 780.
" Even at the late stage, Gulf States did not request the Commission
defer ruling on recovery of any River Bend investment until the
s
evidentiary record could be reopened and supplemented. Gulf States
instead argued for a procedure whereby only the $1.453 billion excess
capital costs were to be reconciled, with the $2.273 billion consistent
with the definitive cost estimate “severfed]" and recovered from its
customers as part of a final decision in Docket No. 7195. See Gulf
States’ Motion for Rehearing of the Commission's Order of May 16
1988 at p. I1-36. Gulf States thereby sought to take the “sweet” and
reject the “bitter” aspect of the Commission's decision. Texas law does
not permit a unitary asset to be so casually split into separately litigated
I
:
f
i
;
¢
:
:
18
ing’’—which Gulf States equates with “a just and reason-
able end-result, which must balance ratepayer and investor
interests.”” Petition at 21. Such arguments founder on the
immutable reality so assiduously denied throughout the
petition for writ of certiorari: the Commission’s determi-
nation that Gulf States failed to carry its burden of proof
resolved prudence issues on the merits as a matter of State
law. Burden of proof was assigned by the Texas legislature
in categorical terms:
In any proceeding involving any proposed change
of rates, the burden of proof to show that the
proposed change, if proposed by the utility, or
that the existing rate, if it is proposed to reduce
the rate, is just and reasonable shall be on the
public utility.
Tex. Rev. Crv. Stat. ANN. art. 1446¢ § 40 (Vernon Supp.
1990) (emphasis added). That burden is not to be relaxed,
under the guise of “‘balancing,”’ merely because the reg-
ulated utility fails to meet it.
Gulf States portrays the Commission’s willingness to
hold the excess River Bend costs “in abeyance” as ‘“‘an
essential part of the Commission’s attempt to balance con-
sumer and investor interests.’’ Petition at 21. Gulf States
seemingly there suggests that evidence which Commis-
sioners Greytok and Campbell refused to credit would have
been transmuted into proof they believed, just because the
interests of Gulf States investors would have been thereby
advanced. That speculation has no foundation in the re-
cord. Indeed, they admonished Gulf States on the record
that they intended to uphold their sworn duty:
COMMISSIONER GREYTOK: ....I am not
about to say to the ratepayers in your service
area that I’m going to give you $2.3 billion based
on nothing. In this Examiners’ Report, we have
witnesses who clearly state that you cannot—that
there is no documentation.
19
Final Order Tr. 787.
COMMISSIONER CAMPBELL: Mr. Avery, you
know, I said when I came on this Commission I
was going to be fair to every utility, and I said
if you make your case, you would get it and if
you didn’t make your case, you didn’t get it, and
that the company shouldn’t look at me or any
other member of this Commission, they had bet-
ter look at the attorneys and witnesses that put
on their case.
Now, as far as I’m concerned, there are some
very critical issues that haven’t been proven up
in this case. And I feel that under the law—and
I’m a stickler on trying to apply the law—under
the law, I have absolutely no right to give you
anything you haven’t proven by a preponderance
of the evidence. ...
Id. at 790."
Compounding its misreading of the Commission major-
ity, Gulf States pretends that the Texas legislature au-
thorized such “balancing” in the agency’s fact finding
process. This Court must firmly turn aside Gulf States’
cynical suggestion that the Commissioners would have
voted differently had they only known that Gulf States’
failure of proof could not be cured later on.
Quite apart from the jurisdictional impediments to dis-
cretionary review discussed above under headings A and
B, the petition for writ of certiorari seeks nothing more
than another round of judicial review of the sufficiency of
the evidence presented to a state administrative agency.
“ Counsel for Gulf States responded to Commissioner Campbell by
reiterating that, under the company’s view of the law, ‘‘we think we've
satisfied our burden of proof. Now, you're the Commissioner; you have
to decide.” Jd. at 791.
20
The questions presented are unworthy of consideration on
the merits by this Court.
Conclusion
For the reasons stated above, the petition for writ of
certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted,
DANIEL C. KAUFMAN
Counsel of Record
Ritts, BRICKFIELD & KAUFMAN
Watergate 600 Building
Suite 915
Washington, D.C. 20037
(202) 342-0800
March 27, 1991
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.