Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Palm Court, Inc. v. District Court of Appeal of Florida

Supreme Court brief1991

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

oa Supreme Court, us. |

VY) FILED

90° 132? | JAN 15 i991

CASE NO.

| OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER 1990 TERM

PALM COURT, INC., a Florida

corporation, CARL A. SAX and

LANNY A. HORWITZ,

Petitioners,

vs.

THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL

FOR THE FOURTH DISTRICT, STATE OF

FLORIDA, and VAUGHN DURHAM, et al.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA

Lanny A. Horwitz, Esq.

7000 Central Parkway

Suite 1460

Atlanta, GA 30328

(404) 399 6066

Counsel of Record

Carl A. Sax, Esq.

6015 N. Ocean Boulevard

Ocean Ridge, FL 33435

(407) 737 9950

Counsel for Petitioners

CASE NO.

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER 1990 TERM

PALM COURT, INC., a Florida

corporation, CARL A. SAX and

LANNY A. HORWITZ,

Petitioners,

vs.

THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL

FOR THE FOURTH DiSTRICT, STATE OF

FLORIDA, and VAUGHN DURHAM, et al.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA

Lanny A. Horwitz, Esq.

7000 Central Parkway

Suite 1460

Atlanta, GA 30328

(404) 399 6066

Counsel of Record

Carl A. Sax, Esq.

6015 N. Ocean Boulevard

Ocean Ridge, FL 33435

(407) 737 9950

Counsel for Petitioners

a j

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

MAY A STATE COURT DENY THE CONSTITU-

TIONAL RIGHT TO TRIAL BY JURY AND DUE

PROCESS BY APPELLATE REVIEW BY ENFORCING

A FINAL JUDGMENT BY PERMITTING THE GAR-

NISHMENT OF THE COURT REPORTER TO BLOCK

COMPLETION OF THE RECORD ON APPEAL? --

DID THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF

FLORIDA DEPRIVE PETITIONERS OF THEIR

CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT TO JURY TRIAL AND TO

DUE PROCESS BY APPELLATE REVIEW BY DENY-

ING THE PETITION FOR WRIT OF MANDAMUS TO

COMPEL THE FOURTH DISTRICT COURT OF

APPEALS OF THE STATE OF FLORIDA TO PER-

FORM ITS MINISTERIAL DUTY TO REVIEW

PETITIONERS' APPEAL OF THE DECISION OF

THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE FIFTEENTH JUDI-

CIAL CIRCUIT IN AND FOR PALM BEACH COUN-

TY, FLORIDA, WHERE THE APPLICATION OF

FLA.R.CIV.P. 1.570(a) REGARDING ENFORCE-

MENT OF FINAL JUDGMENTS APPARENTLY CAUSED

(i)

PETITIONERS' APPEAL TO BE DISMISSED SINCE

THE FOURTH DISTRICT COURT OF APPEALS

APPARENTLY DISMISSED PETITIONERS' APPEAL

AS A SANCTION FOR PETITIONERS' ALLEGED

FAILURE TO PROVIDE A COMPLETE TRIAL

TRANSCRIPT ALTHOUGH PETITIONERS' ALLEGED

FAILURE WAS ATTRIBUTABLE TO THE TRIAL

COURT'S ENFORCEMENT OF THE FINAL JUDGMENT

ENTERED AGAINST PETITIONERS BY PERMITTING

RESPONDENTS, VAUGHN DURHAM, et al, TO

GARNISH THE COURT REPORTER AND TO BLOCK

PREPARATION OF THE RECORD ON APPEAL?

(ii)

LIST OF ALL PARTIES

Petitioners:

(a) Palm Court, Inc.

7000 Central Parkway

Suite 1460

Atlanta, GA 30328

(Palm Court, Inc. has neither parent

companies nor subisdiary companies)

(b) Carl A. Sax

6015 N. Ocean Boulevard

Ocean Ridge, FL 33435

(c) Lanny A. Horwitz

7000 Central Parkway

Suite 1460

Atlanta, GA 30328

Respondents:

(a) Fourth District Court of Appeal,

State of Florida

P.O. Box A

West Palm Beach, FL 33402

(b) Vaughn Durham, et al.

c/o Michael A. Hanzman, Esq.

Zack, Hanzman & Ponce, P.A.

One Centrust Financial Centre

100 S.E. Second Street

Suite 3300

Miami, FL 33131

(iii)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTION PRESENTED

FOR REVIEW (i)

LIST OF ALL PARTIES (iii)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES 1

LIST OF ORDERS 2

GROUNDS FOR JURISDICITON 3

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS 4

STATEMENT OF THE CASE 6

ARGUMENT 9

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

APPENDIX

Exhibit

June 4, 1990 Fourth District

Dismissal of the Appeal 1

September 5, 1990 Fourth District

Denial for Motion for Rehearing

and for Rehearing En Banc 2

October 17, 1990 State Supreme

Court Denial of Petition for

Writ of Mandamus 3

September 20, 1990 Petition

for Writ of Mandamus and

Appendix 4

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

U.S. Constitution, Amendment VII

U.S. Constitution, Amendment XIV

Declaration of Rights,

Art. I, § 9, Fla.Const.

Declaration cf Rights,

Art. I, § 22, Fla.Const.

Fla.R.Civ.P. 1.430 (a)

Fla.R.Civ.P. 1.570 (a)

LIST OF ORDERS

1. October 17, 1990 Order of the Supreme

Court of Florida in Case No. 76,653,

denying Petition for Writ of Mandamus,

without opinion.

2. September 5, 1990 Order of the Fourth

District Court of Appeal of the State of

Florida in Case No. 88-1203, denying

Motion for ReheaTing and Motion for

Rehearing En Banc, without opinion.

3. June 4, 1990 Order of the District

Court of Appeal of the State of Florida

in Case No. 88-1203, dismissing the

Appeal from the decision of the Circuit

Court of the Fifteenth Judicial Circuit

in and for Palm Beach County, Florida in

Case No. 86-3885, without opinion.

GROUNDS FOR JURISDICTION

Pursuant to 28 USC § 1257, Palm Court,

Inc., a Florida corporation, Carl A. Sax

and Lanny A. Horwitz (collectively,

"Petitioners"), respectfully petition

this Court for a Writ of Certiorari

compelling the Supreme Court of the State

of Florida (the "State Supreme Court") in

Case No. 76,653, to reverse its October

17, 1990 Order denying the Petition for

Writ of Mandamus, and to remand to the

District Court of Appeal for the Fourth

District, State of Florida (th "Fourth

District") Case No. 88-1203, to perform

the Fourth District's ministerial duty to

review, on its merits, Petitioner's

appeal (the "Appeal"), of the decision of

the Circuit Court of the Fifteenth Judi-

cial Circuit in and for Palm Beach Coun-

ty, Florida (the "Trial Court") in Case

No.

86-3885.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

U.S. Constitution, Amendment VII -

"In Suits at common

law, where the value

in controversey shall

exceed twenty dol-

lars, the right of

trial by jury shall

be preserved...."

U.S. Constitution, Amendment XIV -

",...-No State shall

make or enforce any

law which shall

abridge the privi-

leges or immunities

of citizens of the

United States; nor

shall any state

deprive any person of

life, liberty, or

property, without due

process of law; nor

deny to any person

within its jurisdic-

tion the equal pro-

tection of the laws."

Declaration of Rights, Art.

Fla.Const.

I,

§ 9,

"No person shall be

deprived of life,

liberty, or property

without due process

of law...."

Declaration of Rights, Art.

Fla.Const. -

"The right of trial

by jury shall be

secure to all and

remain inviolate."

Fla.R.Civ.P. 1.430 (a) -

"The right of trial

by jury as declared

by the Constitution

or by statute shall

be preserved to the

parties inviolate."

Fla.R.Civ.P. 1.570 (a) -

"Final process to

enforce a judgment

solely for the pay-

ment of money shall

be by execution, writ

of garnishment, or

other appropriate

process or proceed-

ings."

I,

§ 22,

ey

cei STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On March 28, 1988, the Trial Court,

sitting without a jury, entered a final

monetary judgment and memorandum opinion

which found that Petitioners violated (a)

§ 12(2) of the Securities Act of 1933, 15

U.S.C. § 771(2), (b) Chapter 517, §

301(1)(a)3 Fla.Stat. and (c) Chapter 517,

§ 301(1)(a)2 Fla.Stat.

On April 15, 1990, Petitioners filed

their Initial Brief and Appendix to

Initial Brief to review the issues raised

On appeal which were not evidentiary,

including whether the Trial Court erred

in denying Petitioners the constitutional

right to jury trial. (See Composite

Exhibit A, Pages 85 - 98, 121 - 125,

Appendix, Exhibit 4)

On June 4, 1990, the Fourth District,

without opinion, dismissed the Appeal

apparently based upon the assertion that

"this appeal (should) be dismissed as a

sanction for the appellants' repeated

failures to provide a transcript of the

trial." (Appendix, Exhibit 1)

On September 5, 1990, the Fourth

District, again without opinion, denied

Petitioners' Motion for Rehearing and

Motion for Rehearing En Banc. (Appendix,

Exhibit 2)

On September 20, 1990, Petitioners

filed a Petition for Writ of Mandamus and

Appendix petitioning the State Supreme

Court to compel the Fourth District to

review, on its merits, Petitioners'

Appeal. (Appendix, Exhibit 4, Pages 23

- 31)

ey

On October 17, 1990, the State Su-

preme Court, without opinion, rendered a

final state court judgment, by denying

the Petition for Writ of Mandamus.

(Appendix, Exhibit 3)

As a result of the State Supreme

Court's denial of the Writ of Mandamus,

and the Fourth District's dismissal of

the Appeal and denial of Petitioners'

Motion for Rehearing and Motion for

Rehearing En Banc, Petitioners have been

denied the constitutional right to trial

by jury and to due process by appellate

review since Petitioners were financially

unable to post a supersedeas bond to

avoid the enforcement of a final judgment

by garnishing the court reporter to block

the preparation of the record of appeal,

and, in turn, the Appeal itself.

ARGUMENT

This Court has jurisdiction to issue

a Writ of Certiorari under 28 USC § 1257,

since (a) the October 17, 1990 Order

denying the Petition for Writ of Mandamus

was a final state court judgment, (b) the

state court judgment hinges upon a sub-

stantial federal question, and (c) the

state court rendering the judgment has so

far departed from the accepted course of

judicial proceedings as to call for the

exercise of this Court's supervisory

power.

The State Supreme Court had jurisdic-

tion to issue a Writ of Mandamus under

Art. V § 3(b)(8) Fla.Const. (1980) and

Fla.R.App.P. 9.030(a) (3), Since the

jurisdiction of the Fourth District was

properly invoked, and the Fourth Dis-

trict, in discharging it's ministerial

duty to resolve the Appeal on its merits,

should not have decided the Appeal,

without opinion, on apparently procedur-

al grounds, namely Petitioners' alleged

failure to complete the record on appeal,

since:

",...the Constitution

provides that 'The

Supreme Court shall

have appellate juris-

diction of all cases

at law and in equity

originating in cir-

cuit ocourte*....but

-. appellate proce-

dure cannot be legal-

ly used to impair the

right to invoke the

appellate jurisdic-

tion conferred upon

the Supreme Court by

the Constitution or

to obstruct the

powers of the court

to make its appellate

jurisdiction effec-

tive." Willey v. W.J.

Hodgson Corporation,

89 Fla. 446, 105

S$o.126 (1925) See

also, Sky Lake Gar-

dens Recreation, Inc.

10

v. District Court of

Appeal, Third Dis-

trict, 511 So. 2d 293

(Fla. 1987);

The nature of the relief sought by

this Petition is a Writ of Certiorari

compelling the State Supreme Court to

remand, for review on its merits, to the

Fourth District, Petitioner's Appeal.

The State Supreme Court's denial of

the Petition for Writ of Mandamus, with-

out opinion, prior to receipt of Respond-

ent's Reply, and the Fourth District's

(a) dismissal of the Appeal almost two

months after the filing of the Initial

Brief, without opinion, and (b) denial of

the Motion for Rehearing and Motion for

Rehearing En Banc, also without opinion,

are attem-ts by the State Supreme Court

and the Fourth District to avoid their

ministerial duty to decide the Appeal on

11

its merits, thereby denying Petitioners

both the right to trial by jury and due

process by appellate review.+

Under the U.S. Constitution, Amend-

ments VII and XIV, "In Suits at common

law...the right of trial by jury shall be

preserved...." and "No State

shall...deprive any person of...property,

without due process of law...."

Under Declaration of Rights, Art. 1,

§§ 22 and 10, Fla.Const., "The right of

trial by jury shall be secure to all and

1. In the Petition for Writ of Mandamus,

Petitioners contended that (a) the ap-

plicable portion of the record on appeal

had been prepared and (b) the appropriate

statutory procedure for the Fourth Dis-

trict to have followed in the discharge

of its ministerial duties would have been

to review the Initial Brief and request

Respondents Vaughn Durham, et al, not

Petitioners, to supplement the record

consistent with Fla.R.App.P. 9.200(b)1.

(See Appendix, Exhibit 4, Pages 29 - 32)

12

trial by jury shall be secure to all and

remain inviolate." and "No person shall

be deprived of life, liberty, or property

without due process of law...." (See also

Fla.R.Civ.P. 1.430(a))

If the State Supreme Court is not

compelled to remand Petitioners' Appeal

to the Fourth District and the dismissal

of the Appeal by the Fourth District was

premised on procedural grounds, namely

Petitioners' failure to complete the

trial record, then the Trial Court's

order permitting Respondents' Vaughn

Durham et al to garnish the court report-

er deprived Petitioners of due process by

appellate review and the right to trial

by jury because Petitioners were unable

to post a supercedeas bond to stay final

enforcement of the Trial Court's judgment

under Fla.R.Civ.P. 1.570(a).

13

This Court should compel the State

Supreme Court to remand this case to the

Fourth District to determine Petitioners'

Appeal on its merits, or a state court

would otherwise be permitted to deny a

citizen of these United States the con-

stitutional right to trial by jury and

due process by appellate review by per-

mitting the garnishment of a court re-

“

porter to serve as an excuse to dismiss

an appeal for failure to complete the

Steak

record on appeal. Po 2

Lanny A. Horwitz, Esq.

7000 Central Parkway

Suite 1460

Atlanta, GA 30328

(404) 399 6066

"a pee

Carl A. Sax, ez

6015 N. Ocean Boulevard

Ocean Ridge, FL 33435

(407) 737 9950 -

Counsel for Petitioners

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

As counsel of record, I hereby certi-

Ey that three copies each of the forego-

ing Petition for Writ of Certiorari and

Appendix has been furnished to the Dis-

trict Court of Appeal for the Fourth

District of the State of Florida, P.O.

Box A, West Palm Beach, FL 33402 and to

Michael A. Hanzman, Esq., Zack, Hanzman &

Ponce, P.A. attorneys for Respondents,

Vaughn Durham et al, One Centrust Finan-

Cial Centre, Suite 3300, 100 S.E. Second

Street, Miami, FL 33131 this _l4¢, day of

“ebruary , 1991.

~~.

—

Lanvy A. Horwitz, Esq.

BEST AVAILABLE COP

'

CASE NO.

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER 1990 TERM

PALM COURT, INC., a Florida

corporation, CARL A. SAX and

LANNY A. HORWITZ,

Petitioners,

vs.

THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL

FOR THE FOURTH DISTRICT, STATE OF

FLORIDA, and VAUGHN DURHAM, et al.,

Respondents.

APPENDIX TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF

CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME COURT

OF FLORIDA

Lanny A. Horwitz, Esq.

7000 Central Parkway

Suite 1460

Atlanta, GA 30328

(404) 399 6066

Counsel of Record

Carl A. Sax, Esq.

6015 N. Ocean Boulevard

Ocean Ridge, FL 33435

(407) 737 9950

Counsel for Petitioners

APPENDIX, EXHIBIT 1

JUNE 4, 1990 FOURTH DISTRICT

DISMISSAL OF THE APPEAL

15

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL OF THE

STATE OF FLORIDA FOURTH DISTRICT, P.O.

BOX A, WEST PALM BEACH, FL 33402

PALM COURT, INC., et al.,

Appellant(s),

Vv. CASE NO. 88-1203

VAUGHN DURHAM, et al.,

Appellee(s). ALL PLEADINGS

SIGNED BY AN AT-

June 4, 1990 TORNEY MUST IN-

CLUDE THE ATTOR-

BY ORDER OF THE COURT: NEY'S FLORIDA

BAR NUMBER.

ORDERED that the Appellees' March 16,

1990 renewed motion to dismiss appeal is

granted and the above-styled appeal is

dismissed.

I hereby certify the foregoing is a

true copy of the original court order.

CLYDE L. HEATH,

CLERK.

cc: Sally R. Doerner

Lanny A. Horwitz

Hon. John B. Dunkle, Clerk (86-3885 CLF &

86-9123 CEF)

cmsS

16

APPENDIX, EXHIBIT 2

SEPTEMBER 5, 1990 FOURTH DISTRICT

DENIAL OF MOTION FOR REHEARING

AND MOTION FOR REHEARING EN BANC

17

’

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL OF THE

STATE OF FLORIDA FOURTH DISTRICT, P.O.

BOX A, WEST PALM BEACH, FL 33402

PALM COURT, INC., et al.,

Appellant(s),

Vv. CASE NO. 88-1203

VAUGHN DURHAM, et al.,

Appellee(s). ALL PLEADINGS

SIGNED BY AN AT-

September 5, 1990 TORNEY MUST IN-

ee CLUDE THE ATTOR-

BY ORDER OF THE COURT: NEY'S FLORIDA

BAR NUMBER.

ORDERED that the Appellants' June 15,

1990 motion for rehearing and motion for

rehearing en banc are denied.

ORDERED that Appellants' July 16,

1990 motion to sever consolidated appeal

is denied.

I hereby certify the foregoing is a

_.true copy of the original court order.

CLYDE L. HEATH,

CLERK.

cc: Larry A. Horwitz

Carl A. Sax

Michael A. Hanzman

cms

18

APPENDIX, EXHIBIT 3

STATE SUPREME COURT DENIAL

OF PETITION FOR WRIT OF MANDAMUS

19

SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA

WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 17, 1990

PALM COURT, INC., etc.,

Petitioners,

Vv. CASE NO. 76,653

DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL,

FOURTH DISTRICT, et al.,

Respondents.

The petitioner in the above cause has

filed a Petition for Writ of Mandamus,

and the same having been duly considered,

it is ordered that said Petition be and

the same is hereby denied.

OVERTON, Acting C.J., MCDONALD, EHRLICH,

BARKETT AND KOGAN, JJ., concur

A True Copy H

TEST: cc: Lanny A. Horwitz,

Esquire

Carl A. Sax,

Esquire

Hon. Clyde L. Heath,

Clerk

Sid J. White Michael A. Hanzman,

Clerk, Supreme Esquire

Hon. George W. Hersey

C.J.

20

APPENDIX, EXHIBIT 4

PETITION FOR WRIT OF MANDAMUS

AND APPENDIX

21

IN THE SUPREME COURT

OF THE STATE OF FLORIDA

PALM COURT, INC., a

Florida corporation,

CARL A. SAX and

LANNY A. HORWITZ, CASE NO.

FOURTH DISTRICT

Petitioners, COURT OF APPEAL

CASE NO. 88-1203

vs.

THE DISTRICT COURT

OF APPEAL FOR THE

FOURTH DISTRICT,

STATE OF FLORIDA,

Respondent.

and

VAUGHN DURHAM, et al.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF MANDAMUS

Lanny A. Horwitz, Esq.

7000 Central Parkway

Suite 1460

Atlanta, GA 30318

(404) 399 6066

Florida Bar No. 142489

Carl A. Sax, Esq.

6015 N. Ocean Boulevard

Ocean Ridge, FL 33435

(407) 737 9950

Florida Bar No. 202266

22

Attorneys for Petitioners,

Palm Court, Inc., Carl A. Sax

and Lanny A. Horwitz

PETITION FOR WRIT OF MANDAMUS

Pursuant to Fla.R.App.P. 9.100, Palm

Court, Inc., a Florida corporation, Carl

A. Sax and Lanny A. Horwitz (collective-

ly, “Petitioners"), respectfully petition

this Court for a Writ of Mandamus compel-

ling the District Court of Appeal for the

Fourth District, State of Florida (the

"Fourth District") to review, on its

merits, Petitioner's appeal (the

"Appeal"), in Case No. 88-1203, of the

decision of the Circuit Court for the

Fifteenth Judicial Circuit of the State

of Florida (the "Trial Court") in Case No

&€6-3885.

I

BASIS FOR INVOKING JURISDICTION

This Court has jurisdiction to issue

23

a Writ of Mandamus under Art. V § 3(b) (8)

Fla.Const. (1980) and Fia.R.App.P.

9.030(a) (3). Mandamus is the proper

remedy since the jurisdiction of the

Fourth District was properly invoked, and

the Fourth District, in discharging it's

ministerial duty to resolve the Appeal on

its merits, should not have decided the

Appeal on, apparently, procedural

grounds, without opinion, since:

",...the Constitution

provides that 'The

Supreme Court shall

have appellate juris-

diction of all cases

at law and in equity

originating in cir-

Suit GOUEGS «...

Wut sec appellate

procedure cannot be

legally used to

impair the right to

invoke the appellate

Jurisdiction con-

ferred upon the

Supreme Court by the

Constitution or to

24

obstruct the powers

of the court to mak

its appellate juris-

diction effective."

Willey v. W.J. Hodg-

son Corporation, 89

Fla. 446, 105 So.126

(1925) See also, Sky

Lake Gardens Recrea-

tion, Inc. v. Dis-

trict Court of Ap-

peal, Third District,

511 So. 2d 293 (Fla.

1987);

and, the question of whether Petitioners

have been denied their constitutional

right to appeal the issue of their right

to trial by jury, where preparation of

the trial record was blocked by the Trial

Court's Garnishment Order, is an issue of

law relating to the constitutionality of

garnishment when utilized to avoid the

Supreme Court's appellate jurisdiction.

Hess By and Through Hess v. Metropolitan

Dade County, 467 So.2d 297 (Fla. 1985);

Fine v. Firestone, 448 So. 2d 984 (Fla.

25

II

FACTS UPON WHICH THE PETITIONERS RELY

On March 28, 1988, the Trial Court,

with the Honorable Daniel T.K. Hurley

presiding, sitting without a jury, en-

tered a final monetary judgment and

memorandum opinion (the "Memorandum

Opinion"), which found that Petitioners

violated (a) § 12(2) of the Securities

Act of 1933, 15 U.S.C. § 771(2), (b)

Chapter 517, § 301(1)(a)3 Fla.Stat. and

(c) Chapter 517, § 301(1)(a)2 Fla.Stat.

On April 15, 1990, Petitioners filed

their Initial Brief and Appendix to

Initial Brief (Composite Exhibit A), to

review the issues raised on appeal which

are not evidentiary, namely whether the

Trial Court erred in denying Petitioners

(a) a jury trial as guaranteed by the

Florida Constitution and (b) judicial

26

enforcement of a contract.

On June 4, 1990, the Fourth District,

without opinion, dismissed the Appeal

(Exhibit B), apparently based upon the

assertion that "this appeal (should) be

dismissed as a sanction for the appel-

lants' repeated failures to provide a

transcript of the trial." See March 15,

1990 Renewed Motion to Dismiss Appeal

(Exhibit C), March 24, 1990 Response to

Renewed Motion to Dismiss Appeal (Exhibit

D), April 12, 1990 Motion to Enforce Rule

9.200(b)1 (Exhibit E), April 20, 1990

Response to Motion for Enlargement of

Time (Exhibit F), and May 7, 1990 Reply

to Motion to Strike Appellants' Brief and

Motion to Enforce Rule 9.210(f) (Exhibit

G).

On September 5, 1990, the Fourth

District, again without opinion, denied

27

Petitioners' Motion for Rehearing and

Motion for Rehearing En Banc (Exhibit H).

See June 14, 1990 Motion for Rehearing

and Motion for Rehearing En Banc (Exhibit

I) and July 3, 1990 Reply to Response to

Motion for Rehearing and Motion for

Rehearing En Banc (Exhibit J).

As a result of the Fourth District's

dismissal of the Appeal and denial of

Petitioners' Motion for Rehearing and

Motion for Rehearing En Banc, Petitioners

have been denied the right to trial by

jury and to appellate review since Peti-

tioners were financially unable to post a

supersedeas bond to avoid the surrepti-

tious use of garnishment proceedings to

block the preparation of the record of

appeal, and, in turn, the Appeal itself.

IIt

THE NATURE OF THE RELIEF SOUGHT

The nature of the relief sought by

28

this Petition is a Writ of Mandamus

compelling the Fourth District to review,

on its merits, Petitioner's Appeal.

IV

ARGUMENT

The Fourth District's (a) dismissal

of the Appeal almost two months after the

filing of the Initial Brief, without

opinion, but apparently based on proce-

dural grounds and (b) denial of the

Motion for Rehearing and Motion for

Rehearing En Banc, also without opinion,

are an attempt by the Fourth District to

avoid its ministerial duty to decide the

Appeal on its merits.

Petitioners have not sought to appeai

the Trial Court's findings in the Memo-

randum Opinion. However, this fact

should not be deemed as acquiescence or

admission to any portion of the Memoran-

29

dum Opinion since (a) Petitioners recog-

nize that an appeal of the Trial Court's

findings, in a non-jury setting, are

virtually unassailable, and (b) the

Fourth District, in its opinion filed

January 24, 1990, in a related appeal, in

Case No. 88-3012, described its former

member's Memorandum Opinion as "compel-

ling and exhaustive."

Petitioners have, however, sought to

review the Trial Court's denial of Peti-

tioner's right to trial by jury and judi-

cial enforcement of a contract; and, to

permit the Fourth District to avoid the

discharge of its ministerial duty to

decide the Appeal on its merits, is to

deny Petitioners both the right to trial

by jury and to appellate review.

Petitioners contend that (a) the

applicable portion of the record on

30

appeal has, in fact, been prepared, (b)

the Fourth District has not reviewed the

Initial Brief, which was filed, promptly

after the Fourth District permitted

Petitioners' counsel to withdraw, (c) the

Fourth District has not given Petitioners

an opportunity to supplement the record,

if appropriate and (d) the appropriate

procedure for the Fourth District to have

followed in the discharge of its ministe-

rial duties would have been to review the

Initial Brief and request Appellees, not

Petitioners, to supplement the record

consistent with Rule 9.200(b)1.

Accordingly, the Fourth District

incorrectly exercised discretion over a

matter that should have been treated as a

ministerial function, namely, its deter-

mination of the Appeal on its merits, and

this Court should (a) find that "the

31

district court improperly dismissed

petitioner's appeal...(and)...the dis-

trict court has a ministerial duty to

consider and decide the appeal." See Sky

Lake Gardens, Supra, and (b) issue a Writ

of Mandamus to correct this error.

Lanny A. Horwitz, Esq.

7000 Central Parkway

Suite 1460

Atlanta, GA 30318

(404) 399 6066

Florida Bar No. 142489

Carl A. Sax, Esq.

6015 N. Ocean Boulevard

Ocean Ridge, FL 33435

(407) 737 9950

Florida Bar No. 202266

Attorneys for Petitioners,

Palm Court, Inc., Carl A. Sax

and Lanny A. Horwitz

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a copy of the

foregoing Petition for Writ of Mandamus,

and Appendix thereto, has been furnished

to the District Court of Appeal for the

Fourth District of the State of Florida,

P.O. Box A, West Palm Beach, FL 33402 and

to Michael A. Hanzman, Esq., Floyd Pear-

son Richman Greer Weil Zack & Brumbaugh,

P.A. attorneys for Respondents, Vaughn

Durham et al Courthouse Center, 26th

32

Floor, 175 N.W. First Avenue, Miami, FL

33128-1817 this 20th day of September,

1990.

Lanny A. Horwitz, Esq.

33

IN THE SUPREME COURT

OF THE STATE OF FLORIDA

PALM COURT, INC., a

Florida corporation,

CARL A. SAX and

LANNY A. HORWITZ, CASE NO.

FOURTH DISTRICT

Petitioners, COURT OF APPEAL

CASE NO. 88-1203

vs.

THE DISTRICT COURT

OF APPEAL FOR THE

FOURTH DISTRICT,

. STATE OF FLORIDA,

Respondent.

and

VAUGHN DURHAM, et al.,

Respondents.

APPENDIX TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF

MANDAMUS

Lanny A. Horwitz, Esq.

7000 Central Parkway

Suite 1460

Atlanta, GA 30318

(404) 399 6066

Florida Bar No. 142489

Carl A. Sax, Esq.

6015 N. Ocean Boulevard

Ocean Ridge, FL 33435

(407) 737 9950

Florida Bar No. 202266

34

Attorneys for Petitioners,

Palm Court, Inc., Carl A. Sax

and Lanny A. Horwitz

EXHIBIT A

EXHIBIT A

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL

FOR THE FOURTH DISTRICT

STATE OF FLORIDA

PALM COURT, INC., et al.,

Appellants,

Vv. CASE NO. 88-1203

VAUGHN DURHAM, et al.,

Appellees.

APPELLANTS’ INITIAL BRIEF

On Appeal from the Circuit Court of the

Fifteenth Judicial Circuit in and for

Palm Beach County, Florida

Lanny A. Horwitz, Esq.

P.O. Box 5684

Hilton Head Island, SC 29938

(803) 785 5650

Florida Bar No. 142489

Carl A. Sax, Esq.

6015 N. Ocean Boulevard

Ocean Ridge, FL 33435

(407) 737 9951

Florida Bar No. 202266

Attorneys for Plaintiff/Appellants,

Palm Court, Inc., Carl A. Sax and

Lanny A. Horwitz

36

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Table of Citations Pg 1

Statement of the Case and Facts Pg 4

Summary of the Argument Pg 27

Argument

Point One Pg 29

THE TRIAL COURT ERRED IN DENYING PLAIN-

TIFF/APPELLANTS, PCI, SAX AND HORWITZ A

JURY TRIAL AS GUARANTEED BY THE FLORIDA

CONSTITUTION.

(a) The Trial Court erred since the

Action included claims cognizable at law

and Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, and/or Sax

and Horwitz were entitled to a jury

trial in a note/damage/fraud action.

(b) The Trial Court erred since rescis-

sion was unavailable to Defendants/Appel-

lees, Vaughn Durham, et al. and Plain-

tiff/Appellants, PCI, and/or Sax and

Horwitz were entitled to a jury trial in

a damage action.

(c) The Trial Court erred since its

Memorandum Opinion and Final Judgment

have predetermined intertwined legal

issues for which Plaintiff/Appellants,

PCI, and/or Sax and Horwitz were other-

wise entitled to a jury trial.

Point Two Pg 46

THE TRIAL COURT ERRED IN DENYING TO

37

PLAINTIFF/APPELLANTS, PCI, SAX AND HOR-

WITZ JUDICIAL ENFORCEMENT OF A CONTRACT.

The Trial Court erred since PV, as agent

of Defendants/Appellees, Vaughn Durham,

et al. under the Management Agreement,

executed the Transfer Letters which

modified the PPM and obviated the Trial

Court's findings.

Conclusion Pg 53

Appendix Attached

Certificate of Service Attached

38

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Cases

Adams v. Citizens Bank of Brevard, 248

So.2d. 682 (Fla. 4th DCA 1971)

Adler v. Seligman of Florida, Inc., 492

So.2d. 730 (Fla. 4th DCA 1986)

Beacon Theatres v. Westover, 359 U.S.

500, 79 §.ct. 948, 3 £.Bd. 2G 988

(1959)

Bingham et al v. Taylor, 12 F.2d 15,16

(1926)

Boston Rug Galleries, Inc. v. William

Iselin & Co., 212 So.zd 58 (Fla. 4th DCA

1968)

Cerrito v. Kovitch, 457 So.2d 1021, 1022

(Fla.1984)

Cheek v. McGowan Electric Supply Co.,

404 So,2d 834 (Fla. 1st DCA 1981)

Chenery v.Crans, 497 So.2d 267

(Fla.2nd DCA 1986)

Colon v. Lisk, 13 A.D. 195, 43 N.Y.S.

364, affd, 153 N.Y. 188, 47 N.E. 302

(1897)

Construction Systems, Etc. v. Jennings

Const., 413 So.2d 1236, 37 (Fla. 3rd DCA

1982)

Dairy Queen, Inc. v. Wood, 369 U.S. 469,

82 S.Ct. 894, 8 L.Ed.2d 44 (1962)

39

David v. Sun Federal Savings & Loan, 461

So.2d 93 (Fla. 1984)

Davis v. McGahee, Fla. 257 So.2d. 62

Eli Lilly Co. v. Generix Drug Sales,

Lnc., 460 F.2d 1096, 1107 (5th Cif.

1972)

Fl. East Coast Railroad v. Thompson, 93

Fla. 30, 111 So. 525 (1927)

General Investment Company of Connecti-

cut, Inc. v. Ackerman, 37 F.R.D. 38

(1964)

Hightower v. Bigoney, 156 So.2d 501

(Fla.1963)

Hobbs v. Florida First Nat. Bank,

480 So.2d 153 (Fla.App. 1 Dist. 1985)

Hollywood, Inc. v. City of Hollywood,

321 So.2d. 65,71 (Fla.1975)

Houston v. Adams, 95 So. 859-860 (1923)

Houston v. Forman, 109 So. 297 (1926)

In Re Forfeiture of 1978 Chevrolet Van,

493 So.2d 433 (Fla. 1986)

Napolitano v. H.L. Robertson and Associ-

ates, inc., 311 So.2d 757 (Fla. 3d DCA

1975)

Padgett v. First Federal Savings & Loan

Association of Sant@ Rosa County, 378

So.2d. 58 (Fla. lst DCA 1979)

40

Padgett v. First Federal Savings &

Loan Association, 378 So.2d 58 (Fla. 1st

DCA 1979)

People v. One 1941 Chevrolet Coupe, 37

Cal.2d. 283, 231 P.2d 832 (1951)

Phillips v. Kapus, 764 F.2d 807 (ilth

Cir. 1985)

Plimpton v. Town of Somerset, 33 Vt.

283 (1860)], 36 Fla. at 650-51, 653, 18

So. at 863

Ross v. Bank South, N.A., 885 F.2d 723

(11th Cir.1989)

Smith v. Orange County, 497 So.2da

985,986 (Fla. 5th DCA 1986)

Smith v. Barnett Bank of Murray Hill,

Fla.App. 350 So.2d 358,359 (1977)

Southwestern Life Insurance Co. Vs

Gerson 187 So.2d. (Fla.3d DCA 1966)

Spring v. Ronel Refining, Inc., 421 So.2d

46 (3rd DCA 1982)

State Dept. of Natural Resources v.

Estech, Inc., 515 So.2d 758 (Fla.2nd DCA

1987)

State v. 1920 Studebaker, 120 Or. 254,

251 P. 701 (1926)

Swofford v. B & W , Inc., 336 F.2d 406

(Sth Cir. 1964), cert. denied, 379 U.S.

962, 85 s$.Cct. 653, 13 L.Ed.2d 557

41

(1965)

Thermo-Stitch, Inc. v. Chemi-Cord Proc-

essing Corp., 294 F.2d 486 (5th Cir.

1961) S.Ct. G33, 13 L.Ed.2d 557 (1965)

Waddell v. State ex rel Meeks, 225 Ark.

293, 357 S.W.2d 651 (1962)

Wiggins v. Williams, 36 Fla. 637, 18 So.

859 (1896)

Statutes

Art. I § 22, Fla. Const.

Art. I, §10, U.S. Const.

Declaration of Rights Art. I, §10, Fla.

Const.

Fla.R.Civ.P. 1.430(a)

West F.S.A. Const. Art. 1, § 22

STATEMENT OF THE CASE AND FACTS

This is an appeal from a five (5)

week trial, without a jury, commencing on

February 16, 1988, before the Honorable

Daniel T. K. Hurley, Fifteenth (15th)

Judicial Circuit in and for Palm Beach

County, Florida (the "Trial Court")

42

resulting in a memorandum opinion (the

"Memorandum Opinion") (R 3543-76) and

final judgment (the "Final Judgment") (R

3578-83), entered by the Trial Court on

March 28, 1988, finding that

Plaintiff/Appellants, Palm Court, Inc.

("PCI"), Carl A. Sax ("Sax") and Lanny A.

Horwitz ("Horwitz") violated (a) §12(2)

of the Securities Act of 1933, 15 U.S.C.

§771(2), (b) Chapter 517, §301(1) (a)3,

rie. Stat. , and (c) Chapter $17,

§301(1)(a)2, Fla.Stat., relating to

Counts III, IV and V, respectively, of

the Revised Second Amended Counterclaim

filed by Defendants/Appellees Vaughn

Durham, et al. (R 2772-2825)

The Trial Court's Memorandum Opinion

tracks Alna Capital Associates v. Wagner

758 F.2d. 562 (11th Cir.1985), where the

Eleventh Circuit held that a trial

43

court's findings that a defendant had

committed securities fraud would be

affirmed where the trial court made

careful, detailed findings which were

sufficiently supported by the evidence.

Accordingly, even though Plaintiff/-

Appellants, PCI, Sax and Horwitz assert

that the Trial Court's findings are not

sufficiently supported by the evidence,

Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, Sax and Hor-

witz recognize that an appeal of the

Trial Court's findings, in a non-jury

setting, are virtually unassailable.

Therefore, Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI,

Sax and Horwitz have not sought to appeal

the Trial Court's findings in the Memo-

randum Opinion. However, Plaintiff/-

Appellants, PCI, Sax and Horwitz's fail-

ure to challenge the Trial Court's find-

ings should not be deemed, by this Court,

44

as acquiescence or admission to any

portion of the Memorandum Opinion.

On November 30, 1989,

Plaintiff/Appellant PCI (and Sax and

Horwitz), entered into a stipulation of

settlement with Defendants/Appellees,

Vaughn Durham, et al. (the "Stipulation

of Settlement") which, "without in any

way conceding to the merits of each

others position," provided, in pertinent

part, that:

"PCI (and Sax and

Horwitz) will not

appeal any aspect of

the Final Judgment or

Memorandum Opinion

with respect to

Counts I and II of

the Revised Second

Amended Counterclain,

but nothing contained

herein shall prohibit

PCI (and Sax and

Horwitz) from contin-

uing the Appeal as

aforesaid, in order

to reverse the Judg-

ment or Memorandum

45

Opinion with respect

to Counts III, IV and

V of the Revised

Second Amended Coun-

terclaim." (Counts

III, IV and V are

sometimes hereinafter

referred to as Counts

III, XIII and XIV of

the Revised Second

Amended Counter-

clain.)

On March 14, 1990, consistent with the

terms of the Stipulation of Settlement,

Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, Sax and Hor-

witz filed their Amended Directions to

Clerk (R 3612-18) and Statement of Judi-

cial Acts to be Reviewed (R 3619-20),

limiting the Appeal to all aspects,

including the right to a jury trial, of

the Trial Court's findings in the Memo-

randum Opinion and Final Judgm at relat-

ing to Counts III, IV and V of the Re-

vised Second Amended Counterclaim.

The Stipulation of Settlement also

46

provided that:

"As to the Final

Summary Judgment (in

favor of those Unit

Owners who were not

party to the bifur-

cated and severed

first wave trial),

all of the ... Stipu-

lations as to the

Final Judgment...

shall apply to the

Final Summary Judg-

ment...."

On February 8, 1989, the Trial Court

entered a final judgment pertaining to

the Final Summary Judgment. (R 3608-09)

Accordingly, for purposes of this

Appeal, the term Final Judgment includes

the final judgment pertaining to the

Final Summary Judgment.

In January, 1985, Plaintiff/Appel-

lant, PCI was formed by Plaintiff/Appel-

lants, Sax and Horwitz, Lawrence Reger

("Reger") and Southern Floridabanc Sav-

ings Association ("SFB") to (a) purchase

47

ea Palm Beach property (the "Hotel"), and

(b) renovate and syndicate the Hotel

under either a limited partnership or

hotel/condominium offering.

In March, 1985, Plaintiff/Appellants,

PCI, Sax and Horwitz retained the serv-

ices of Sparber, Shevin, Shapo, Heilbron-

ner and Book, P.A. ("Sparber") and Cohen,

Scherer and Cohn, P.A. ("Cohen"), as

securities and real estate counsel,

respectively, and Pannell Kerr Forster

("PKF"), as hotel feasibility consult-

ants.

On June 30, 1985, a private placement

memorandum prepared by Sparber, as amend-

ed by the October 15, 1985 Addendum, and

subscripton documents relating thereto

(the "PPM") (R 3219-3429), was printed

for distribution to broker/dealers li-

censed to sell securities in those states

48

blue-skyed by Sparber in accordance with

applicable state and federal securities

laws.

In November, 1985, Plaintiff/Appel-

lant, PCI retained the services of Rich-

ard Strother, Strother Investments, and

Frederick Randal, First Hampshire Securi-

ties, Inc., a licensed broker/dealer

("First Hampshire") to sell the Units in

the Hotel.

On December 29 and 30, 1985, at the

offices of Cohen and SFB,

Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, Sax and Hor-

witz, Andrew Jacobson, Esq. of Cohen's

office, representatives of SFB, Mr.

Strother, Mr. Randal and Geoffrey Chalm-

ers, Esq., Grey and Wendell, Boston, MA,

assembled, in Boca Raton, Florida, to

Close the $13,900,000 hotel/condominium

offering (the "Closing").

49

Immediately after all parties were

assembled, Mr. Chalmers (a) announced,

after he delivered several million dol-

lars of deposits, notes, and other clos-

ing documents, that he represented De-

fendants/Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et al.

and (b) thereafter, attempted to negoti-

ate a reduction to the purchase price of

the interests in the Hotel (the "Units"),

Since the Hotel, after Mr. Chaimers'

morning inspection, was not, in Mr.

Chalmers opinion, complete, and PV Ho-

tels, Inc., the Hotel Agent ("PV") had

not obtained significant pre-bookings for

the 1986 season.

After Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, Sax

and Horwitz refused to reduce the pur-

chase price of the Units, Messrs. Stroth-

er and Chalmers, on behalf of Mr. Chalm-

ers' clients, proceeded to close the

50

purchase of the Units in the Hotel.

At the first wave trial, although

both Plaintiff/Appellants, Sax and Hor-

witz and Mr. Jacobson testified to the

foregoing, the Defendants/Appellees,

Vaughn Durham, et al. asserted that the

Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, Sax and Hor-

witz knew that Mr. Chalmers, in fact,

represented First Hampshire, and not the

Defendants/Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et

al. and that, in any event, Mr. Chalmers

did not have actual authority to bind

Defendants/Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et

al. to any modification to the PPM.

All Closing documentation was assem-

bled by Mr. Jacobson in consultation with

various partners and/or associates of

Sparber, under the supervision of Mr.

Chalmers.

As is customary in limited partner-

51

ship offerings, prospective limited

partners did not attend a Closing since

securities and/or real estate counsel,

namely Sparber and Cohen,were required to

opine to compliance with Closing condi-

tions.

Accordingly, Sparber acted as escrow

agent and Cohen acted as sub-escrow agent

to assure Plaintiff/Appellant, PCI's

compliance with Closing conditions set

forth in the escrow agreement contained

in the PPM (the "Escrow Agreement") (R

3058-63), and issued legal opinion let-

ters that the Closing complied with the

PPM.

During the first wave trial, both

Sparber, who had elected not to attend

the closing since Mr. Chalmers was

present, and Defendants/Appellees, Vaughn

Durham, et al. sought to rely upon Plain-

52

tiff/Appellant, PCI's representations in

an incumbency certificate (the "Incumben-

cy Certificate"). (R 3151-53)

However, (a) the Incumbency Certifi-

cate was a First Hampshire requirement,

(b) Sparber was not delivered a copy of

the Incumbency Certificate until after

the Closing, and (c) Cohen modified the

Incumbency Certificate at the Closing,

prior to its execution by Plaintiff/-

Appellant, PCI and its review by Mr.

Chalmers.

Since Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, Sax

and Horwitz, and, for that matter, its

counsel, Sparber and Cohen, believed that

Mr. Chalmers represented the Defendants/-

Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et al., certain

agreements were reached at the Closing

with Messrs. Strother and Chalmers, which

were memorialized in two (2) letters

53

dated December 30, 1985 and December 31,

1985 (R 3073-3138 and R 3147-50), which

were executed, on behalf of the Defend-

ants/Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et al., by

PV, the agent of the Defendants/Appel-

lees, Vaughn Durham, et al. under various

Rental Management Agreements (R 3357-65)

which had been executed and delivered to

Sparber or Cohen on or before the Clos-

ing. (The Transfer Letters are reproduced

in the Appendix. )

Contemporaneously with the Closing,

PV donated the facade of the Hotel to the

Palm Beach Preservation Society (the

"Facade Easement Donation") in order to

secure a multi-million dollar charitable

tax deduction for Defendants/Appellees,

Vaughn Durham, et al.

The Facade Easement Donation was not

part of the offering of Units, and the

54

tax benefits flowing to the Defendants/-

Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et al. were not

included within the PKF forecasts con-

tained in the PPM (the "Forecasts"). The

donation was, however, part of the

unauthorized investment summary (the

"Investment Summary") prepared and dis-

tributed by Strother Investments and

First Hampshire. (R 3165-98)

Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, Sax and

Horwitz believe that the Action and the

Revised Second Amended Counterclaim would

not have been filed, but for the follow-

ing; (a) Mr. Strother prepared the In-

vestment Summary, (b) Mr. Strother di-

rectly, or indirectly sold the Units in

the Hotel to Defendants/Appellees, Vaughn

Durham, et al., (c) Messrs. Strother and

Chalmers closed the offering on behalf of

the Defendants/Appellees, Vaughn Durhan,

55

et al., (da) Messrs. Strother and Chalmers

reviewed and approved the Transfer Let-

ters prior to their execution by PV on

behalf of Defendants/Appellees, Vaughn

Durham, et al., (e) Mr. Strother was

elected president of the condominium

association, (f) Mr. Chalmers was re-

tained as counsel to the condominium

association, (g) the Defendants/Appel-

lees, Vaughn Durhan, et al., in actuali-

ty, purchased the Units under the Invest-

ment Summary and not the PPM, and (h)

Messrs. Strother and Chalmers retained

the firm of Floyd, Pearson, Richman,

Weil, Zack & Brumbaugh to defend the

Action and to bring the securities claims

against Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, Sax and

Horwitz, among others.

Indeed, this opinion was shared by

Carteret in commenting on the necessity

56

of Mr. Strother's trial appearance (he

did not appear since the Trial Court

denied Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, Sax and

Horwitz's motion to include Mr. Strother

within the class of ten (10) purchasers

selected, over Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI,

Sax and Horwitz's objection (R 196) by

Defendants/Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et

al. to appear at the first wave trial):

"Judge, you can't

because Mr. Stroth-

er's testimony in

this case is so

relevant. You have

to understand what he

was. Not, only, was

he the seller of the

deal, whatever, he

became the president

of the condo associa-

tion. He was the one

who made the decision

to close this hotel.

He was the one who

made the decision to

retain Mr. Richman

(counsel to Defend-

ants/Appellees,

Vaughn Durham, et

al.), and he was the

57

;

:

:

one who in my opinion

started the whole

ball rolling.” (R

207-08)

As part of the documentation delivered by

Mr. Chalmers at the Closing, Defendants/-

Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et al. execut-

ed, inter alia, first mortgages (the

"Mortgages") and first mortgage notes

("Notes"), representing eighty (80%) per

cent of the purchase price of the Units,

in favor of SFB, and two (2) additional

promissory notes, representing ten (10%)

and three (3%) per cent of the purchase

price of the Units, in favor of Plain-

tiff/Appellant, PCI (the "10% Note" and

"3% Note").

As an accommodation to both Plain-

tiff/Appellant, PCI and SFB, Plain

tiff/Appellant, PCI, SFB and Carteret

entered into (1) a Substitution of Col-

lateral and Collateral Assignment and

58

Security Agreement (the "Collateral As-

signment") and (2) Buy - Sell and Tri-

Party Agreement (R 3541-42) (the "Tri-

Party Agreement"), under which (a) Car-

teret substituted its first mortgage

encumbering the Hotel by accepting a

collateral assignment of the Notes and

Mortgages, and (b) SFB unconditionally

agreed to purchase the Notes and Mort-

gages from Carteret approximately one (1)

year after the Closing.

As partial payment for fee and other

expense reimbursements, Plaintiff/Appel-

lant, PCI, at the Closing, assigned the

3% Notes to Strother Investments.

In addition, at the Closing, Plain-

tiff/Appellant, PCI disbursed, as sales

commissions, to First Hampshire and other

broker dealers the 7% down payment re-

ceived from Defendants/Appellees, Vaughn

59

Durham, et al.

In order to close the sale of the

hotel/condominium offering, each of the

four (4) participants in Plaintiff/Appel-

lant, PCI, namely, Plaintiff/Appellants,

Sax and Horwitz, Reger and SFB, advanced

$225,000, or $900,000 in the aggregate,

and Reger, on Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI,

Sax and Horwitz's behalf, arranged for a

$938,250 letter of credit (the "Letter of

Credit"), one of the requirements of the

PPM.

Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, Sax and

Horwitz believe that the Trial Court's

findings are not sufficiently supported

by the evidence, in part, since it is not

logical to find fraud where the sponsors

go out of pocket nearly $2 million at

Closing.

Before Defendants/Appellees, Vaughn

60

Durham, et al. defaulted on either the

Notes or the 10% Notes,’ Plaintiff/Appel-

lant, PCI sold the 10% Notes to SFB to

defray unpaid costs to either complete

the renovation of the Hotel or satisfy

the terms of the PPM.

In early 1986, Plaintiff/Appellant,

PCI turned over control of the condomini-

um association to Defendants/Appellees,

Vaughn Durham, et al., subject to the

Rental Management Agreements with PV,

under which PV continued to operate the

Hotel for the benefit of Defendants/-

Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et al.

Almost immediately thereafter, De-

fendants/Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et al.

(a) ceased making payments under the

Notes and 10% Notes, (b) canceled the

insurance for the Hotel and (c) undertook

to close and abandon the Hotel.

61

After various meetings with both

Carteret (collateral assignee of the

Notes and Mortgages under the Collateral

Assignment) and SFB (purchaser of the 10%

Notes), Plaintiff/Appellant, PCI filed,

on April 24, 1986, an action (the "Ac-

tion") seeking foreclosure of the Mort-

gages, and collection upon the Notes.

The Action, which was filed by Botos

& Oliver, P.A. ("Botos"), provided that

Plaintiff/Appellant, PCI owned the Mort-

gages and Notes.

On April 25, 1986, at Plaintiff/-

Appellant, PCI's request, the Trial Court

appointed Michael Scheinvold, a Fort

Lauderdale attorney, as receiver of the

Hotel.

In April, 1986, the Defendants/Appel-

lees, Vaughn Durham, et al. attempted to

draw down the Letter of Credit, which had

62

niin

been provided to subsidize, in part,

Plaintiff/Appellant, PCI's Forecasts.

In April, 1986, with Plaintiff/Appel-

lant, PCI's cooperation and consent, the

Letter of Credit was drawn down by Mr.

Scheinvold in order for the Hotel to

continue its operations.

On June 26, 1986 the Action was

amended by the filing of an amended

complaint (the “Amended Complaint"). (R

2228-75)

On July 25, 1986, the Defendants/-

Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et al. filed a

Counterclaim (R 2276-2316) against Plain-

tiff/Appellant, PCI, and its officers,

directors and principal shareholders, Sax

and Horwitz, and Cohen, among others,

Claiming, inter alia, that Plaintiff/-

Appellants, PCI, Sax and Horwitz violated

(a) §12(1) and (2) of the Securities Act

63

of 1933, 15 U.S.C. §771(1) and (2), and

(b) Chapter 517, Fla.Sta. §301(1)(a)2 and

3, entitling Defendants/Appellees, Vaughn

Durham, et al. to rescission, damages and

attorney's fees.

Sparber was added as a party by the

November 15, 1986 Amended Counterclaim.

(R 2333-79); and, PKF and Carteret were

added as parties at a later date. fThe

claims against such parties are set forth

in the December 31, 1987 Revised Second

Amended Counterclaim. (R 2772-2825)

On September 12, 1986, Plaintiff/-

Appellant, PCI entered into a stipulation

with Defendants/Appe)]lees, Vaughn Durhan,

et al. in order to operate the Hotel

pending resolution of the Action.

On September 26, 1986, Carteret

brought separate actions to foreclose on

64

the Mortgages only, one of which was Case

No. 86-9123-C(L)F. (R 3621-45)

Carteret brought its separate ac-

tions, notwithstanding (a) the filing of

the Initial Actions by Botos, common

counsel to both Plaintiff/Appellant, PCI

and Carteret, (b) the preparation of a

redelivery agreement dated April, 1986

(the "Redelivery Agreement") by Botos,

(c) the execution and delivery of the

Redelivery Agreement by Plaintiff/Appel-

lants, PCI, Sax and Horwitz and Reger,

(d) the authority under the Redelivery

Agreement for Plaintiff/Appellant PCI to

commence the Action, and (e) the unavail-

ability of the Statute of Frauds as a

defense to the binding nature of the

Redelivery Agreement.

On December 24, 1986, Carteret moved

to intervene in the Action (the "Motion

65

to Intervene"). (R 2380-82)

On February 12, 1987, the Trial Court

bifurcated the Action by its Order on

Case Management Conference (the "Bifurca-

tion Order") by limiting the initial wave

to issues raised between Plaintiff/Appel-

lant, PCI (as later defined, at the

Pretrial Conference, to include Sax and

Horwitz) and Defendants/Appellees, Vaughn

Durham, et al., thereby severing Plain-

tiff/Appellants, PCI, Sax and Horwitz's

and Defendants/Appellees, Vaughn Durhan,

et al.'s claims, cross-claims and coun-

terclaims against SFB, Sparber, Cohen,

and PKF among others, from the first wave

trial.

In early 1987, Carteret exercised its

right, under the Tri-Party Agreement, to

cause SFB to purchase the Notes and Mort

gages, which were then in default. SFB,

66

however, refused to comply with the Tri-

Party Agreement, which later became the

subject of ancillary litigation which was

disposed of as part of the Mid-Trial

Settlement (as hereinafter defined).

Thereafter, Plaintiff/Appellant, PCI

filed a Chapter 11 petition before the

United States Bankruptcy Court for the

District of South Carolina. However, the

bankruptcy court refused to take juris-

diction, after Defendants/Appellees,

Vaughn Durham, et al. succeeded in vili-

fying Plaintiff/Appellants, Sax and

Horwitz.

On June 16, 1987, the Trial Court

granted Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, Sax

and Horwitz's Emergency Motion to Rein-

state Receiver, after which Plaintiff/-

Appellant, PCI delivered the Hotel to Mr.

Scheinvold, who, in turn, redelivered

67

the Hotel to Defendants/Appellees, Vaughn

Durham, et al., who closed the Hotel

immediately thereafter.

On July 28, 1987, Plaintiff/Appel-

lants, PCI, Sax and Horwitz and Carteret

entered into a stipulation (the "Stipula-

tion") (R 2544-45) to dispose of a motion

regarding redelivery of the Notes, which,

inter alia, substituted Carteret for

Plaintiff/Appellant, PCI in the foreclo-

sure counts of the Action, and provided

that:

"Carteret and my

clients, PCI, Sax and

Horwitz, have agreed

to dispose of ... the

motion regarding

redelivery of the

notes by withdrawing

same without preju-

dice to our right to

refile in the event

the settlement agree-

ment to be announced

hereafter becomes

untenable and agree-

ing that Carteret

shall be permitted to

68

pursue and enforce the

foreclosure case

against the unit

owners, and Holland «

Knight at Carteret's

expense, shall act as

lead counsel for both

Carteret and PCI, Sax

and Horwitz in the

prosecution of the

foreclosure

SGEION «cc: (R 2544-

45)

Neither Carteret nor

Holland & Knight

shall have a right to

compromise or preju-

dice the foreclosure

action against the

unit owners and/or

the balance of the

recovery otherwise

due PCI without the

consent of PCI, Sax

and Horwitz" (R 2545-

46).

In August, 1987, Carteret sought to

declare the Stipulation untenable.

On August 28, 1987, Carteret amended

and consolidated its foreclosure cases by

filing an amended complaint. (R 2646-

3704) (R 2763-64)

69

Carteret's amended complaint request-

ed a foreclosure sale in its claim for

relief, and was not an action on the

Notes. (R 3703-04)

On October 5, 1987, the Trial Court

consolidated Carteret's foreclosure

action into the Action (the "Substitution

Order"). (R 2763-64)

Although the Substitution Order

resulted from the Stipulation, the Trial

Court, after Carteret sought to declare

the Stipulation untenable, did not (a)

unwind the Substitution Order and permit

Plaintiff/Appellant, PCI to pursue its

foreclosure case against the Defendants/-

Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et al. under

the terms of the Redelivery Agreement or

(b) permit Plaintiff/Appellant, PCI to

try the Note Counts (as hereinafter

defined) as requested under the Plain-

70

tiff/Appellant, PCI's Motion to Try

Certain Counts of Palm Court's Complaint

(R 3013-15), which was never ruled upon

by the Trial Court.

On December 31, 1987, Defendants/-

Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et al. filed

the Revised Second Amended Counterclaim

(R 2772-2825), upon which the Trial Court

based its Memorandum Opinion and Final

Judgment.

On January 20, 1988, the Trial Court,

by its Order on Palm Court, Inc.'s Motion

and Renewed Motion to Compel Redelivery,

denied Plaintiff/Appellant, PCI's demand

that Carteret redeliver the Notes in

accordance with the terms of the Redeliv-

ery Agreement.

On February 3, 1988, at the Pretrial

Conference and on the first day of the

first wave trial, the jury/non-jury issue

71

——

was discussed among counsel to

Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, Sax and Hor-

witz, Defendants/Appellees, Vaughn Dur-

ham, et al. and Carteret (R 6, 7, 72-76,

78, 84, 102, 104-06, 110-13, 115-25, 172,

222, 225-26, 231, 257-58, 260-61).

Carteret supported Plaintiff/Appel-

lants, PCI, Sax and Horwitz's request for

a jury trial, albeit for different rea-

sons.

Initially, Carteret was a conterde-

fendant under Count VII of Defendants/-

Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et al.'s Re-

vised Second Amended Counterclaim, which

alleged that Carteret aided and abetted

Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, Sax and Hor-

witz's securities violations. (R 3729-

30)

In addition, at the Pretrial Confer-

ence, Defendants/Appellees, Vaughn Dur-

72

ham, et al. dismissed, by Motion to Amend

Revised Second Amended Counterclaim, all

Counts of the Revised Second Amended

Counterclaim, except for Counts I, II,

III, XIII, XIV and XxII.

On February 16, 1988, the first day

of the first wave trial, after Carteret

stated:

"in order to resolve

all the matters at

this time pending

against my client,

we'll waive the trial

by jury on that

count" (R 258),

and Defendants/Appellees, Vaughn Durham,

et al. stated:

"We are willing to

waive (trial by

jury)" (R 259),

the Trial Court found, over Plain-

tiff/Appellants, PCI, Sax and Horwitz's

renewed request for a jury trial, and

objection to a bench trial, that:

73

"IT am relying on

Judge Wiggington's

Opinion, the 1972

opinion by the First

District Court of

Appeals where the

Court indicated that

rescission is an

equitable remedy and

that when equity

takes a proceeding

that the Court has

the ability then to

resolve all other

issues that are

involved. There is,

too, the Federal

Circuit Court of

Appeals' opinion from

the Eleventh Circuit,

I believe, that

reviewed Judge Arono-

vitz's decision where

he tried a rescission

Claim in a securities

fraud case and the

Court again indicated

that that was an

equitable action and

that under federal

law rescission is to

be tried by the Court

and not a jury, so

for all of the cases

that were submitted

and which support

that proposition and

which I will dictate

into the record at a

74

later time, I will

deny Palm Court,

Inc.'s objection to

having the case tried

without a jury and I

will try those Counts

before the Court." (R

261).

In addition, on the first day of the

first wave trial, the Trial Court denied

Plaintiff/Appellants, Sax and Horwitz's

request that they be excluded from the

first wave trial. (R 265)

On the first day of the first wave

trial, the following counts were pending

in Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, Sax and

Horwitz's Amended Complaint, and De-

fendants/Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et

al.'s Revised Second Amended Counter-

claim:

Amended Complaint

Counts 67-103 Judgment on Adjustable Rate

Notes (the "Note Counts (R 2240-44)

75

Count 141 Cancellation of Reinstatement

Rights (R 2243)

Count 142 Cancellation of Puts (R 2243)

Count 145 Improper Interference with

Hotel Management (R 2246)

Count 146 Tortious Interference with

Contractural Rights (R 2247)

Count 149 Improper Drawings on Escrow

Fund (R 2249-50) (collectively "Counts

141-149")

Revised Second Amended Counterclaim

Count I Rescission Based Upon Non-

Registration (R 3711-13)

Count II Violation of §12(1) of the

Securities Act of 1933, 15 U.S.C. §771(1)

(R 3713-14)

Count III Violation of §12(2) of the

Securities Act of 1933, 15 U.S.C. §771(2)

(R 3714-22)

Count XIII First Violation of Florida

Statutes §517, et seq. (R 3737-38)

Count XIV Second Violation of Florida

Statutes §517.301 (R 3739-40)

Count XXII Declaratory Relief (R 3750-51)

The Trial Court, (a) in the Bifurca-

tion Order, severed from the first wave

76

trial, Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, Sax and

Horwitz's claims against Sparber, Cohen,

PKF, among others, (b) in the Substitu-

tion Order, consolidated Carteret's

amended complaint with the Action, there-

by substituting Carteret's foreclosure

counts for Plaintiff/Appellant, PCI's

Counts 104-140 - Foreclosure of Mortgages

for Non-Payment (R 2241-43, 2763-64), and

(c) during the Pretrial Conference,

granted Defendants/Appellees, Vaughn

Durham, et al.'s motion to dismiss all

Counts of the Revised Second Amended

Counterclaim which unequivocally required

a trial by jury (the "Dismissal Motion").

(R 3000-05)

The Trial Court did not, however,

strike Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, Sax and

Horwitz's Note Counts or Counts 141-149.

Just prior to the Mid-Trial Settle-

77

ment (as hereinafter defined), the Trial

Court, at its suggestion, over Carteret's

objectién, permitted Defendants/Appel-

lees, Vaughn Durham, et al. to amend, ore

tenus, their Revised Second Amended

Counterclaim (the “Order Amending Com-

plaint"), to (a) include Carteret as a

co-defendant in the other Counts of the

Revised Second Amended Counterclaim, and

(b) subject Carteret, in the event of an

unfavorable verdict, to a multi-million

dollar judgment clain.

As a‘direct result of the Order

Amending Complaint, Carteret, SFB and the

Defendants/Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et

al., on March 8, 1988, entered into a

mid-trial settlement (the "Mid-Trial

Settlement"), under which Defendants/-

Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et al. exer-

Cised dominion and control over the Hotel

78

by deeding their Units to a wholly owned

subsidiary of Carteret in exchange for

(a) satisfaction of the Mortgages, and

(b) cancellation of a portion of the

Notes equal to the outstanding balance

due under Plaintiff/Appellant, PCI's

construction loan note to Carteret.

Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, Sax and

Horwitz strenuously objected to the Mid-

Trial Settlement, and caused the follow-

ing motion to be read into the record, at

that time:

"We move to dismiss

the remaining Unit

Owner claims against

Palm Court, Inc., Sax

and Horwitz being

Goumte i, 2, 3, 13,

14 and 22.

All those counts

except count 22 seek

rescission and dam-

ages related to

rescission if grant-

ed. .

79

It is clear that the

Unit Owners and

Carteret have made a

binding agreement on

record enforceable by

this Court under

which the Unit Owners

are conveying title

to the Hotel property

to Carteret and that

Carteret has agreed

to pay certain con-

sideration for the

deeds acceptable to

the Unit Owners. It

is also clear that

Palm Court, Inc., Sax

and Horwitz have not

consented to the

transaction.

Under these circum-

stances it is clear

the rescission de-

manded by the Unit

Owners is no longer a

legal possibility.

There is no way they

can tender title to

the Hotel back to

Palm Court, Inc. and

restore the parties

to their status

before 12/31/85. The

Unit Owners’ have

knowingly made an

election to transfer

their title to the

Hotel property to

80

Carteret in return

for the elimination

of all their risk on

the Notes and Mort-

gages to the extent

Carteret held then,

plus an additional

$50,000.

This being so and

since the Unit Owners

can no longer tender

title to the Hotel

property to Palm

Court, Inc., in the

event they succeeded

in the Action here,

their counts’ for

rescission and dam-

ages related to

rescission must fail

and require dismiss-

al.

The remaining count

against Palm Court,

Inc, Sax and Horwitz,

Count > seeks

declaratory relief

contending that

certain conditions

precedent to the

closing of the deal

in December, 1985

were not met. The

count further argues

that by reason there-

of no deal was con-

summated and that the

Unit Owners have no

81

obligation to pay the

Notes. Count 22

further claims there

is a justiciable

controversy because

of the doubt as to

whether the transac-

tion was consummated

and the counter

Claimants are enti-

tled to have their

rights declared.

By electing to sell

or transfer the

property to Carteret

without our consent

in return for the

consideration they

have accepted, the

Unit Owners’ most

certainly have recog-

nized and asserted

ownership of the

property. They are

therefore hardly in a

position to claim

that no deal was

consummated in Decem-

ber, 1985. They have

exercised dominion

and control over the

title they acquired

in a transaction in

which they themselves

have now affirmed and

there is nothing left

fer tais court to

determine under Count

sas”

82

The Trial Court summarily denied all

of Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, Sax and

Horwitz's requests (the "Mid-trial Set-

tlement Order").

The Hotel remained closed and under

possession of Defendants/Appellees,

Vaughn Durham, et al. until the Mid-Trial

Settlement thie it was transferred by the

Defendants/Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et

al. to Carteret Palm Court, Inc., a

wholly owned subsidiary of Carteret.

On March 28, 1988, the Trial Court

handed down the Memorandum Opinion and

Final Judgment, finding, as a matter of

fact and law, that Plaintiff/Appellants,

PCI, Sax and Horwitz violated (a) §12(2)

of the Securities Act of 1933, 15 U.S.C.

§771(2), -(B) Chapter 5817, Fia.Sta.

§301(1)(a)3, and (c) Chapter 517 Fla.

Sta. §301(1)(a)2, relating to Counts

83

III, IV and V, respectively, of the Re-

vised Second Amended Counterclain.

On April 8, 1988, Plaintiff/Appel-

lants, PCI, Sax and Horwitz filed (a) a

Motion for Stay of Execution of Final

Judgment (R 3584-85), (b) a Motion for

Stay of Second Wave Trial Pending Appeal

(R 3586-87), (c) a Motion to Set Aside

Final Judgment (R 3588-89), and (d) a

Motion for New Trial or for Rehearing (R

3590-98), and oon April 18, 1988 Plain-

tiff/Appellants, PCI, Sax and Horwitz

filed a Motion for Stay of Settlement,

Motion for Reduction of Final Judgment

and Motion to Off Set Against Final

Judgment, all of which were summarily

denied by the Trial Court on April 25,

1988. (R 3602-07)

This Appeal was timely filed on May

3, 1988, to review Counts I, II, III,

84

VIII, XIV and XXII of the Revised Second

Amended Counterclaim filed by

Defendants/Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et

al., as limited, by the Stipulation of

Settlement, to Counts III, IV and V of

the Revised Second Amended Counterclaim.

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

The Appeal involves two (2) questions

of constitutional dimension, namely, (a)

whether the Trial Court denied

Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, and/or Sax and

Horwitz the right to trial by jury, and

(b) whether the Trial Court denied Plain-

tiff/Appellants, PCI, Sax and Horwitz's

right to judicial enforcement of a con-

tract.

Point One

The Trial Court Erred in Denying Plain-

tiff/Appellants, PCI, and/or Sax and

85

:

Horwitz a Jury Trial as Guaranteed by the

Florida Constitution.

Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, and/or Sax

and Horwitz were denied a jury trial

since:

(1) The Trial Court failed to proper-

ly consider the claims of Plaintiff/-

Appellants, PCI, Sax and Horwicz under

the Note Counts and Counts 141-149 of the

Amended Complaint, since (a) Plaintiff/-

Appellant, PCI, (i) brought the Action

under the authority of the Redelivery

Agreement, (ii) entered into the Stipula-

tion and did not prosecute the foreclo-

Sure case against the Defendants/Appel-

lees, Vaughn Durham, et al. as a result

of the Substitution Order, and (iii) did

not waive its claims under the Note

Counts and/or Counts 141-149 of the

Amended Complaint, which were pending

86

throughout the first wave trial, and (b)

the Trial Court did not strike the Note

Counts under either the Substitution

Order or the Motion to Try Certain Counts

of Palm Court's Complaint. Accordingly,

Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, and/or Sax and

Horwitz were denied a jury trial ina

note, damage and fraud action.

(2) The Trial Court failed to proper-

ly determine whether rescission was

available to Defendants/Appellees, Vaughn

Durham, et al. under the Revised Second

Amended Counterclaim either (a) at the

beginning of the first wave trial or (b)

after the Mid-Trial Settlement, since

Plaintiff/Appellant, PCI could not be

returned to the status quo ante if re-

scission was granted by the Trial Court,

in which event, the claims of the Defend-

ants/Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et al.

87

were, in fact, for monetary damages.

Accordingly, Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI,

and/or Sax and Horwitz were denied a jury

trial in a damage action.

(3) The Trial Court failed to proper-

ly consider the effect of its Bifurcation

Order Since Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI,

Sax and Horwitz have been denied a jury

trial on their claims against Sparber,

Cohen, PKF, and others.

Point Two

The Trial Court Erred in Denying to

Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, Sax and Hor-

witz Judicial Enforcement of a Contract.

Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, Sax and

Horwitz were denied judicial enforcement

of their contract with Defendants/Appel-

lees, Vaughn Durham, et al., since the

Trial Court ignored the legal effect of

88

the Transfer Letters.

ARGUMENT

Point One

The Trial Court Erred in Denying Plain-

tiff/Appellants, PCI, and/or Sax and

Horwitz a Jury Trial as Guaranteed by the

Florida Constitution.

Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, and/or Sax

and Horwitz's right to trial by jury, as

guaranteed by the Florida Constitution,

was denied.

The Florida Constitution provides

that: "The right of trial by jury shall

be secure to all and remain inviolate."

Art. I § 22, Fla. Const. (1968). See

also, the Florida Rules of Civil Proce-

dure which provide that: "The right of

trial by jury as declared by the Consti-

tution or by statute shall be preserved

to the parties inviolate." Fla.R.Civ.P.

89

1.430(a).

Although a trial by jury is constitu-

tionally guaranteed, however, "the right

to a jury trial, in the absence of a

specific statutory authorization, depends

upon whether the nature of the cause of

action is legal or equitable." Cerrito v.

Kovitch, 457 So.2d 1021, 1022 (Fla.1984).

Therefore, the threshold question is

whether or not the Action was legal or

equitable.

In order to answer the foregoing

question, it is necessary to review the

Counts of both the Amended Complaint and

the Revised Second Amended Counterclaim,

pending throughout the first wave trial.

Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, Sax and

Horwitz's Amended Complaint contained the

Note Counts and Counts 141-149, since the

Substitution Order substituted Carteret's

90

foreclosure counts and did not strike the

Note Counts brought under the Redelivery

Agreement, and Plaintiff/Appellant, PCI

did not waive the right to bring claims

under the Note Counts by virtue of the

Stipulation, which only enakled Carteret

to pursue and enforce the foreclosure

case against the Defendants/Appellees,

Vaughn Durham, et al., without prejudice

to Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, Sax and

Horwitz's recovery against the Defend-

ants/Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et al.

In addition, the Trial Court, during

the Pretrial Conference, said: "My intent

was to try everything that involves the

first wave parties" (R 7) and "I think we

agreed that all of the claims among the

parties would be resolved." (R 137)

In Spring v. Ronel Refining, Inc.,

421 So.2d 46 (3rd DCA 1982), a case

91

clearly analogous to the instant case,

where responderit brought an action seek-

ing to foreclose a mortgage, petitioners

filed an answer, affirmative defenses,

and a counterclaim seeking damages for

fraud, misrepresentation and cancellation

of the note and mortgage, a writ of

certiorari was granted because the trial

court denied the petitioner a jury trial:

"In setting the cause

for non jury trial,

the trial court

departed from the

essential requirement

ef law. Foreclosure

is a traditicnal

equitable remedy as

is the counterclaim

for cancellation. It

is equally unassail-

able that the coun-

terclaim for fraud

and misrepresentation

presents a legal

claim for which the

petitioners were

entitled to a jury

trial. The mixture

of equitable and

legal claims in the

same case cannot

92

deprive a party of

its right to a jury

trial of issues

traditionally triable

to a jury. Padgett v.

First Federal Savings

& Loan Association of

Santa Seas County,

378 So.2d. 58 (Fla.

lst DCA 1979) and the

cases cited therein.

The more difficult

question, however, is

the order in which

these issues must be

tried. In Adams v.

Citizens Bank of

Brevard, 248 So.2d.

682 (Fla. 4th DCA

1971), the court

held:

"(I)f a compulsory

legal counterclaim

entitles the counter-

claimant to a jury

trial on issues which

are not common to any

issues which are not

common to any issue

made by the equitable

complaint, the trial

court should proceed

to try the equitable

issue nonjury with

appropriate provision

made for a jury trial

as to the law issues

if disposition of the

equitable issues does

93

3

4

:

3

a

3

3

¢

j

%

4

4

ae ee

ites »

PEF Ao ia ania OC Secs ad, cal! wien tia Santee Se eS aoe dhe T lie

We ow Seivraey ise:

:

:

x

sf

7

x

not conclude the

case. Southwestern

Life Insurance Co. v.

Gerson [187 So.2d.

(Fla.3d DCA 1966)]}.

But where the compul-

sory counterclaim

entitles the counter-

claimant (upon timely

demand) to a jury

trial on issues which

are sufficiently

Similar or related to

the issues made by

the equitable claim

that a determination

by the fact finder

would necessarily

bind the latter one,

such issues may not

be tried nonjury by

the court since to do

so would deprive the

counterclaimant of

his constitutional

right to trial by

jury. 248 So.2d at

684.'

Moreover,

"where both legal and

equitable issues are

presented in a single

case ‘only under the

most imperative

circumstances... can

the right to a jury

trial of legal issues

be lost through prior

94

determination of

equitable claims...

(and), (w)hat is

essentially an equi-

table cause of action

cannot be transformed

into a legal cause of

action simply by the

use of legal termi-

nology in the conm-

plaint." Cerrito,

supra, at 1022-23

In the present case,

we find that the

issues in the fraud

claim are sufficient-

ly similar to the

issues in the fore-

closure action so as

to first require a

jury trial of the

legal claim. rt,

after the jury ver-

dict, there are

unrelated equitable

issues remaining, the

trial court may then

consider those

claims. Padgett,

supra, at 64; Adams,

supra, at 685."

Under the foregoing authority,

Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, and/or Sax and

Horwitz had an unequivocal right to

trial by jury since the legal and equita-

95

:

ble issues were intertwined"

McGowan Electric Supply Co.,

lst DCA 1981), and the Action

834 (Fla.

involved:

(a) “an action on a

note executed in

connection with a

mortgage (which is)

an action at law as

to which defending

parties are entitled

to a trial by jury as

a matter of right.

West F.S.A. Const.

Art. 1, § 22." Hobbs

v. Florida First Nat.

Bank, 480 So.2da 153

(Fla.App. 1 Dist.

1985): and,

(b) “an action for

the recovery of money

as damages was among

the class of cases in

which common law

afforded a right of

jury trial. Dairy

Queen, Inc. v. Wood,

369 U.S. 469, 82

S.Ct. 894, 8 L.Ed.2d

44 (1962); Waddell v.

State ex rel Meeks,

235 Ark. 293, 357

S.W.2d 651 (1962) "

Smith v. Barnett Bank

96

(Cheek v.

404 So,2d

of Murray Hill,

Fla.App. 350 Sc.2d

358,359 (1977); and,

(c) “"(W)hether or not

a fraud has been

shown to exist in a

given case is, as a

general rule, a

question of fact for

the jury." Fl. East =

Coast Railroad v.

Thompson, 93 Fla. 30,

111 So. 525 (1927).

Since the equitable claims pending on

the first day of the first wave trial, if

any, determined the pending legal claims

both in the Amended Complaint and the

Revised Second Amended Counterclaim, the

Trial Court should have tried all counts

in the same action before a jury (see

General Investment Company of Connecti-

cut, Inc. v. Ackerman, 37 F.R.D. 38

(1964)), and this Court should find

that:

The Trial Court failed to properly con-

sider the claims of Plaintiff/Appellants,

97

Gace NASA needs elie ioral vasa binant tasteaitisiesnirrnsnies manne a ennnmmciaeslillll

PCI, Sax and Horwitz under the Note

Counts and Counts 141-149 of the Amended

Complaint, since (a) Plaintiff/Appellant,

PCI, (i) brought the Action under the

authority of the Redelivery Agreement,

(ii) entered into the Stipulation and did

not prosecute the foreclosure case

against the Defendants/Appellees, Vaughn

Durham, et al. as a result of the Substi-

tution Order, and (iii) did not waive its

claims under the Note Counts, and/or

Counts 141-149 of the Amended Complaint,

wnich were pending throughout the first

wave trial, and (b) the Trial Court did

not strike the Note Counts under either

the Substitution Order or the Motion to

Try Certain Counts of Palm Court's Conm-

plaint.

Additionaliy, although rescission is

an equitable remedy, and is to be tried,

98

together with all other issues, by the

court, rescission was not an available

remedy on the first day of the first wave

trial since (a) all parties required for

the Trial Court to grant rescission, were

not, in fact, before the Trial Court or,

for that matter, joined as counterdefend-

ants in the appropriate counts of the

Revised Second Amended Counterclaim, and

(b) the Defendants/Appellees, Vaughn

Durham, et al. were not capable of rede-

livering the Hotel in the condition it

was in on the day of Closing since the

Defendants/Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et

al., by and through their agent PV, had

exercised dominion and control over the

Hotel, on the day of Closing, by making

the Facade Easement Donation.

First, SFB, the holder of the 10%

Notes, and Strother Investments, the

99

holder of the 3% Notes, were not first

wave parties.

Additionally, Carteret was not joined

in the "rescission" Counts, aS a co-

counterdefendant, until the Order Amend-

ing Complaint.

As Carteret stated at the Pretrial

Conference:

"The thing that the

Court ~ Mr. Hanzman

(attorney for the

Defendants/Appellees,

Vaughn Durham, et

al.) is not telling

and the court doesn't

seem to get is that

they want rescission,

but Palm Court, Inc.

doesn't own those

notes anymore, Car-

teret does. Southern

Floridabanc owns the

other purchasers'

notes. They want to

come and tell you,

your Honor, hat we

want total rescis-

Sion. You can't get

it from Mr. Sax or

Mr. Horwitz or Palm

Court, ine. They

100

can't get it because

Southern Floridabanc

now has a separate

lawsuit and is hold-

ing ten percent notes

and Carteret is

holding the mortgage

notes. Their remedy,

Judge, and they don't

want to admit it to

you, is damages

because Palm Court,

Inc. can't put them

back to where they

were at the beginning

of the , trans-

action...(w)e're all

here under (a) mirage

and that mirage is

that they can rescind

this total transac-

tion through trial

with you. That is

not the case...you

have (to have) all

the parties before

you. All you (do is

to) give them money

damages to make them

whole...so you can't

give them rescission.

That can't get it,

Judge...their real

remedy is rescission-

ary damages. That's

the only thing left

to put them back

whole, and that seems

to be the thing

that's missed ...

101

rescission is putting

people back to where

they were before the

deal uncorked...' (R

123-24) (See also R

321-33)

Second, the cases relied upon by the

Trial Court (R251-52) in justifying a

non-jury trial ina "rescission" setting

are inapplicable and distinguishable.

The first case relied upon by the

Trial Court, Davis v. McGahee, Fla. 257

So.2d. 62, 63, involves a claim where

issues raised by an original and first

amended complaint for rescission were

amended after the case had been set for

non-jury trial by the filing of a second

amended complaint claiming compensatory

and punitive damages.

In that case the court found that:

"It is undisputed

that the issues

raised by the origi-

nal and first amended

complaint filed by

102

petitioners, as

joined by the answers

and counterclaims

thereto filed by

respondents, were

equitable in nature

and required the

application of equi-

table principals in

order to grant the

basic relief prayed

for by the respective

parties." Id. 63

In making its determination that once

having taken jurisdiction of a case for

one purpose, equity will retain jurisdic-

tion and finally dispose of litigation

even though purely legal remedies are

involved, the Court held that:

"If it was the pur-

pose and intent of

petitioners to con-

vert their cause of

action from one in

equity to one at law

by the filing of

their second amended

complaint, their

effort to do so was

not made until after

the case had been set

for non-jury trial on

the equitable issues

103

raised by the first

amended complaint and

respondents' answer

and counterclaim

thereto. At that

point it would have

been improper for the

trial court to have

treated the case as

one at law instead of

one in equity." Id 64

The court's findings in Davis v.

McGahee were based on a last minute

amendment after the case had been set for

a non-jury trial, and, therefore, the

judicial findings therein have been

erroneously applied by (a) the Defend-

ants/Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et al.

(see R 225-26) and (b) the Trial Court,

Since the same circumstances do not exist

in the instant case.

Indeed, since the instant case had

been set for a jury trial, and, presuma-

bly, the Trial Court would not have been

able to even consider denying Plaintiff/-

104

Appellants, PCI, Sax and Horwitz's right

to a jury trial had the other Counts of

the Second Amended Counterclaim not been

dismissed by the Trial Court's granting

the Dismissal Motion, the circumstances

of the instant case mandate, using the

rationale of Davis v. McGahee, the impan-

eling of a jury by the Trial Court, since

a last minute dismissal, after the case

had been set for a jury trial, should not

enable the Trial Court to treat the case

as one at equity and not at law.

In addition, under Florida law, the

Trial Court should have, as a result of

its findings, awarded title to the Hotel

to Plaintiff/Appellant, PCI since valid

title could not have been vested in

Defendants/Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et

al. and, in turn, Carteret, if the deeds

were delivered from escrow in violation

105

of the terms of the Escrow Agreement.

"Tt is well settled

that a deed delivered

in violation of the

conditions under

which it is deposited

in escrow vests no

title in the grantee,

or in even an inno-

cent third person to

whom he subsequently

transfers." Bingham

et al v. Taylor, 12

F.2d 15,16 (1926).

"The law recognizes

the right of a person

to execute a deed and

place it in escrow,

to be delivered only

upon the happening of

certain contingencies

and where such deed

is obtained from the

escrow holder by

fraud or by theft,

the grantor is no

more liable to be

deprived of his

property by such

wrongful act than he

would if he had

deposited the deed in

an iron safe which

had been broken into

and the deed stolen."

Houston v. Adams, 95

So. 859-860 (1923).

106

"Even though a deed

fraudulently procured

from an escrow holder

has been placed on

record, and such

record shows an

apparent title in the

one having possession

of the land, in the

absence of an estop-

pel upon the owner

thereof, such record-

ing does not effect

the true title, and a

mortgage executed by

such person in pos-

session to another

who has no actual

notice of the defect

of title creates no

lien upon such land,

as against the holder

of the actual legal

title." Houston v.

Forman, 109 So. 297

(1926).

The second case relied upon by the

Trial Court, Phillips v. Kapus, 764 F.2d

€07 (11th Car. 1985) to deny

Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, Sax and Hor-

witz a jury trial, is also inapplicable

and distinguishable.

In Phillips v. Kapus, plaintiff joint

107

Foi de 5 telbtatisntnntis 23 penal Laas

venture partners sued defendant fellow

venturers for traditional equitable

relief, namely, rescission of a sale of

their partnership interest, reformation

of that partnership and a subsequent

winding up and accounting of partnership

affairs.

In that case the court held that:

"(R)escissionary re-

lief was available

and was properly

tried without a jury,

notwithstanding that

a previous tenant had

exercised its option

‘to buy the subject

property; (and a)

request for account-

ing was not tanta-

mount to a legal

claim for damages and

was triable by the

court."

In the instant case, in order for

Defendants/Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et

al. to seek rescission, the Plaintiff/-

Appellants, PCI, Sax and Horwitz had to

108

be returned to the status quo ante,

namely, title to the Hotel; and, it was

not possible for Defendants/Appellees,

Vaughn Durham, et al., either at the

beginning of the first wave trial or

after the Mid-Trial Settlement, to re-

store Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, Sax and

Horwitz to the status quo ante.

Indeed, since:

"(r)escission is an

‘equitable remedy that

restores the parties

to a transaction to

their status quo

ante...(t)his remedy

is available, howev-

er, only against

parties to a con-

tract--a court may

not order rescission

in a buyer's action

against a defrauding

party who is not a

party to the contract

of sale....thus, in

the context of Rule

10b-5, where buyers

often sue parties

that are not in

privity of contract

109

with the buyer,

rescission is una-

vailable...." Ross v.

Bank South, N.A., 885

F.2d 723 (11th

Cir.1989).

the equitable remedy of rescission was

never available, at the very least, as

against Plaintiff/Appellants, Sax and

Horwitz, who were, at all times during

the first wave trial entitled to their

constitutional right to trial by jury in

this action for damages.

Additionally, as the court itself

said in Phillips v. Kapus:

"The seminal case of

Beacon Theatres v.

Westover, 359 U.S.

500, 79 S.Ct. 948, 3

L.Ed.2d 988 (1959),

and its progeny

recognized that a

jury trial predicated

on a legal cause of

action is not to be

defeated or impaired

by a prior proceeding

without a jury on

other issues involved

in the same case.

See also Eli Lilly

110

Co. v. Generix Drug

Sales, Inc., 460 F.2d

1096, 1107 (5th Cir.

1972); Swofford v. B

& W, Inc., 336 F.2d

406 (5th Cir. 1964),

cert. denied, 379

U.S. 962, 85 Thermo-

Chemi-Cord Processing

Corp., 294 F.2d 486

(5th Cir. 1961)."

Therefore, the court's findings in

Phillips v. Kapus' that:

"plaintiff venturers

did not seek return

of ownership in the

buildings on land

which the partnership

had purchased but

merely sought resto-

ration to their

position as joint

venturers and an

accounting." Phil-

lips, supra at 812-13

do not support the Trial Court's refusal

to impanel a jury in the instant case

and, in fact, mandate same, since the

findings of the Trial Court have effec-

tively defeated Plaintiff/Appellants,

PCI, Sax and Horwitz's right to a jury

111

8 ke nal

trial in subsequent waves of the Action.

Third, the Trial Court's observation

that incidental damages were all that

were demanded by Defendants/Appellees,

Vaughn Durham ina "rescission" setting,

is not the case since Defendants/Appel-

lees, Vaughn Durham, et al.'s claims were

not for damages incidental to rescission,

but were, rather, for damages because

rescission was not available.

Furthermore, even assuming, for the

sake of argument, that rescission was

possible on the first day of the first

wave trial, as a result of the Mid-Trial

Settlement, the Defendants/Appellees,

Vaughn Durham, et al. were unable to

return Plaintiff/Appellant, PCI to the

status quo ante since the Hotel had been

conveyed to Carteret and the

Defendants/Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et

112

al. were only suing for "damages in lieu

of rescission." See General Investment

Company of Connecticut v. Ackerman, supra

at page 40.

Therefore, the subsequent event of

the Mid-Trial Settlement indisputably

removed the counterclaims of Defendants/-

Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et al. from a

"rescission" setting, afforded Defend-

ants/Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et al. a

claim for monetary damages only, and

Clearly entitled Plaintiff/Appellants,

PCI, Sax and Horwitz a trial by jury.

"We cannot ignore the

fact that these

damages proceeded

from events subse-

quent to the pleading

and trial of the

initial claim and

that, of course,

these damages are

substantial. Accord-

ingly, we hold that

appellants were en-

113

<n RA

titled to seek a jury

trial..«+" Agiee vy,

Seligman of Florida,

Inc., 492 So0.2d. 730

(Fla. 4th DCA 1986).

Accordingly, rescission was unavail-

able to the Defendants/Appellees, Vaughn

Durham, et al. at the commencement of the

first wave trial and/or after the Mid-

Trial Settlement, and:

The Trial Court failed to properly deter-

mine whether rescission was available to

Defendants/?ppellees, Vaughn Durham, et

al. under of the Revised Second Amended

Counterclaim either (a) at the beginning

of the first wave trial or (b) after the

Mid-Trial Settlement, since Plaintiff/-

Appellant, PCI could not be returned to

the status quo ante if rescission was

granted by the Trial Court, in which

event, the claims of the Defend

ants/Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et al.

114

were, in fact, for monetary damages.

Additionally, the Bifurcation Order

severed all of Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI,

Sax and Horwitz's and Defendants/Appel-

lees, Vaughn Durham, et al.'s claims

against third parties for breach of

contract, malpractice, fraud and monetary

damages, including, without limitation,

claims against professionals retained by

Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, Sax and Hor-

witz to render services which the Defend-

ants/Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et al.

relied upon in connection with their

purchase of Units.

Clearly, a jury trial would have been

available to Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI,

Sax and Horwitz had the Action not been

bifurcated, since the claims referenced

in the immediately preceding paragraph

are cognizable at law.

425

Therefore, Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI,

and/or Sax and Horwitz were denied their

right to trial by jury, since findings of

the Trial Court in the Memorandum Opinion

have effectively precluded and/or prede-

termined, without a jury trial, Plain-

tiff/Appellants, PCI, Sax and Horwitz's

claims, crossclaims and counterclaims

against all parties to the Action, as

evidenced by the March 29, 1990 hearing

before the Trial Court on Sparber's

Summary Judgment Motions, where the Trial

Court's findings were asserted by Sparb-

er's counsel as collateral estoppel with

respect to Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, Sax

and Horwitz's claims against Sparber.

Indicative of this conclusion is the

Trial Court's entry of the Final Judgment

in a bifurcated case where claims against

parties to the first wave trial and

116

others were still pending.

"Where issues bearing

on count which was an

allegedly equitable

cause of action were

virtually identical

with those on the

other counts, entire

complaint should be

tried in the same

action and no preju-

dice would inure to

defendants for jury

trial issues would be

determined in first

instance to avoid any

element of collateral

estoppel arising with

relation to jury

counts. General

seceeemnanels Company of

Connecticut v. Acker-

man, supra at 41.

As the court found in ¢C er

V.Crans, 497 So.2d 267 (Fla.2nd DCA

1986):

"By bifurcating the

case and trying the

constructive trust

claim firet and

ultimately ruling on

all claims, the trial

court denied appel-

lants of their right

117

CeO a OR

to jury trial on

their damages claim.

Even if the trial

court had only ruled

on the constructive

trust claim, appel-

lants still would

have been denied

their right to a jury

trial on the damages

claim because the

issues in both claims

were so related that

the trial court's

initial findings of

fact on the construc-

tive trust claim

would necessarily

bind the jury when it

later heard the

damages claim." Id.

at 269.

In addition the case law

that:

"where both legal and

equitable issues are

presented in a single

case ‘only under the

most imperative

circumstances ... can

the right to a jury

trial of legal issues

be lost through prior

determination of

equitable claims."

Cerrito, supra, at

1022; and,

118

is clear

"A mixture of legal

and equitable claims

in the same case

cannot deprive a

party of a timely

requested jury trial

on the legal issues."

Smith v. Orange

County, 497 So.2da

985,986 (Fla. 5th DCA

1986); and,

"where the compulsory

counter-claim enti-

tles the counter-

claimant... to a jury

trial on issues which

are sufficiently

Similar or related to

the issues made by the

equitable claim that

a determination by

the first fact finder

would necessarily

bind the later one,

such issues may not

be tried nonjury

since to do so would

deprive the counter-

claimant of his

constitutional right

to & }ury Vriei.*

Adams, supra, at 685;

and,

“Where both equitable

and legal claims

arise in the same

case, this cannot

119

serve to deprive

either party of the

right to a jury trial

of issues tradition-

ally triable by jury.

Padgett v. First

Federal Savings &

Loan Association, 378

So.2d 58 (Fla. ist

DCA 1979), and cases

cited. We hold

that ... the issues

involved in the

complaint and coun-

terclaim are so

intertwined that a

jury trial should be

afforded on all

issues. Napolitano

v. H.L. Robertson and

Associates, Inc., 311

So.2d 757 (Fla. 3a

DCA 1975); Adams v.

Citizens Bank of

Brevard, 248 So.2d

682 (Fla. 4th DCA

1971)." Construction

Systems, Etc. , a

Jennings Const., 413

So.2d 1236, 37 (Fla.

3rd DCA 1982). See

also Hightower v.

Bigoney, 156 So.2d

501 (Fla.1963).

Accordingly, since the "(r)ight to a

jury trial is not a discretionary matter

with (the) judge," Boston Rug Galleries,

120

Inc. v. William Iselin & Co., 212 So.2d

58 (Fla. 4th DCA 1968), and a jury trial

should have been available under the

Amended Complaint for Plaintiff/Appel-

lants, PCI, Sax and Horwitz's claims,

cross claims and counterclaims against

Sparber, Cohen and PKF among others:

The Trial Court failed to properly

consider the effect of its Bifurcation

Order since Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI,

Sax and Horwitz are entitled to a jury

trial if matters triable by a jury,

namely, their claims against Sparber,

Cohen, PKF, and others were precluded by

a non~jury trial.

In conclusion, Plaintiff/Appellants,

PCI, and/or Sax and Horwitz, for all of

the reasons set forth above, both pre-

trial, as a result of various orders of

the Trial Court; during the Pre-Trial

121

by

Conference, as a result of the dismissal

of certain of the counterclaims; at the

beginning of the first wave trial, as a

result of the pending damage, fraud and

note claims where rescission was unavail-

able; and, after the Mid-Trial Settle-

ment, as a result of the Trial Court's

unequivocal inability to grant "rescis-

sion," were denied their fundamental

right to trial by jury, (See State Dept.

of Natural Resources v. Estech, Inc., 515

So.2d 758 (Fla.2nd DCA 1987)), although

the law clearly provides that:

"Questions as to the

right to a jury trial

should be resolved,

if at all possible,

in favor of the party

seeking the jury

trial, for that right

is fundamentally

guaranteed by the

U.s. and Florida

Constitutions. See

U.S. Constitution,

122

and,

Amendments 7 and i4,

and Florida Constitu-

tion, Article I,

Declaration of

Rights, § 22."

Hollywood, Inc. v.

City of Hollywood,

321 So.2d. 63,71

(Fla.1975);

"The constitutional

right to a trial by

jury is not to be

narrowly construed.

321 So. 2d 65 (Fla.

1975). This right is

not limited strictly

to those specific

proceedings in which

it existed before the

adoption of our

constitution, but

should be extended ‘to

proceedings of like

nature as they may

arise. Wiggins v.

Williams, 36 Fla.

637, 18 So. 859

(1896). Accord,

People v. One 1941

Chevrolet Coupe, 37

Cal.2d. 283, 231 P.2d

832 (1951); State v.

1920 Studebaker, 120

Or. 254, 251 P. 701

(1926); Colon v.

123

Lisk, 13 A.D. 195, 43

N.Y.S. 364, affd, 153

N.Y. 188, 47 N.E. 302

"In Wiggins v. Wil-

liams this Court

stated:

'(W)hen the right of

trial by jury is

secured by constitu-

tional provision in

general terms like

ours, and without any

qualification or

restriction, it must

be understood as re

tained in all of

those cases that were

triable by jury

according to the

course of the common

law.... The authori-

ties, with great

uniformity hold that

constitutional provi-

sions like ours were

designed to preserve

and guaranty the

right of trial by

jury in proceedings

according to the

course of the common

law as known and

practiced at the time

of adoption of the

Constitution ....

[and] it is the

nature of the contro-

124

versy between the

parties and its

fitness to be tried

by a jury according

to the rules of the

common law, that must

decide the question.'

[quoting Plimpton v.

Town of Somerset, 33

Vt. 283 (1860)], 36

Fla. at 650-51, 653, |

18 So. at 863-64.

In Re Forfeiture ae

1978 Chevrolet Van,

493 So.2d 433 (Fla.

1986).

"(T)he denial of the

right to jury trial

is more than the

denial of a constitu-

tional right; it is

the denial of a

fundamental right

recognized prior to

the adoption of a

written constitution.

The right to select

the peers to which

one's cause will be

submitted is unique

and indispensable to

the adversary

system." Spring

supra, at 47..

Point Two

The Trial Court Erred in Denying to

125

Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, Sax and Hor-

witz Judicial Enforcement of a Contract.

Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, Sax and

Horwitz were denied judicial enforcement

of their contract with Defendants/Appel-

lees, Vaughn Durham, et al., since the

Trial Court ignored the effect of the

Transfer Letters.

In addition to the numerous standard

securities disclaimers set forth in the

PPM (R 3219-3337), the PPM included:

"ANY REPRESENTATION

MADE WHICH IS NOT

CONTAINED IN OR IS

BEYOND THE STATEMENTS

MADE IN THIS MEMORAN-

DUM IS MADE WITHOUT

ANY AUTHORITY FROM

PCI AND MUST BE

IGNORED." (R 3222)

and,

"FORECASTED OPERATING

RESULTS ARE IMPOSSIBLE

TO ACCURATELY PREDICT

AND NO REPRESENTATION

126

In addition,

alia,

OF ANY KIND I§ MADE

WITH RESPECT TO THE

ACCURACY OF THE

ASSUMPTIONS IN THE

PROJECTIONS." (R

3223)

the PPM included,

inter

a purchase agreement (the "Purchase

Agreement") (R 3351-55), which provided

that:

"Seller reserves the

right to make any

modifications or

amendments to the

Declaration furnished

to Purchasers (in-

cluding Exhibits

thereto) prior to the

closing of title;

provided, however,

that no such modifi-

cations or amendments

shall materially or

adversely affect the

Purchaser, his Unit

or the value of his

investment in the

Hotel, and Seller's

Florida Counsel shall

render an opinion to

Purchaser to such

effect. Upon making

any modifications,

Seller shall notify

Purchaser thereof and

127

furnish Purchaser a

complete copy of all

such modifications;"

(R 3354)

and,

"Purchaser acknowl-

edges that he has not

relied on any repre-

sentations, warran-

ties, statements or

estimates of any

nature whatsoever,

whether written or

oral, made by Seller,

or otherwise, except

as provided herein or

in the Offering

Materials." (R 3354)

Furthermore, the PPM included a

rental management agreement (the "Rental

Management Agreement) (R 3356-65), which

provided, in pertinent part, that:

"Unit Owner hereby

appoints and desig-

nates Hotel Agent as

Unit Owner's sole and

exclusive agent to

Manage, supervise,

operate and rent the

Unit.... Unit Owner

hereby grants’ to

Hotel Agent complete

control and authority

in the operation,

direction, management

and supervision of

the Unit." (R 3357)

Since the Transfer Letters were

executed by PV, as agent for the Defend-

ants/Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et al.

under the Rental Management Agreement,

Plaintiff/-Appellants, PCI, Sax and

Horwitz were entitled to judicial en-

forcement of its terms, since the Trans-

fer Letters obviate the Trial Court's

findings of omissions and misrepresenta-

tions in the Memorandum Opinion.

The Transfer Letters, in particular,

provided that:

(a) Agent of Unit Owners: "...as

Hotel Agent...under paragraph 2 ‘Hotel

Agent Authority and Duties'...it being

the understanding that all of the follow-

ing undertakings are made by you as

129

agents of the Unit Owners..." (R 3076)

(b) Insurance: “You agree to assume

the insurance policies set forth on

Exhibit A attached hereto." (R 3076) (See

also R 3079-80)

(c) Working Capital Loans: "You agree

to cooperate and assist...Palm Court,

Inc....(to)... arrange loans and lines of

credit secured by future distributions of

Unit Owners' Operating Cash Flow, and to

repay Palm dour’. Inc. the $84,000 ad-

vanced by iain Geert, Inc. in excess of

the amount supposed to be advanced by

Palm Court, Inc. for (a) non-consumable

supplies, (b) start-up expenses and (c)

working capital, all in accordance with

the Confidential Private Placement Memo-

randum of the Palm Court as more particu-

larly set forth on Additional Memorandum

dated December 17, 1985 and attached

130

hereto as Exhibit B...." (R 3076-77 R

3081-91) "(Y)ou have advised us that you

may, without our assistance, find it

difficult to arrange for such line of

credit...(t)herefore, we (PCI) have

agreed...to assist you in arranging such

line of credit...in the amount of

$200,000...(and) we have agreed, until

such time as the line of credit is put in

place, to advance funds to the Hotel as

if the line of credit had been in place

under terms and conditions similar to

those that may be obtained by a third

party lender...."

(d) Advertising and Public Relations:

"You agree to assume the advertising and

public relations agreement with

Spector/Anker Associates, together with

any monthly invoices therefor..." (R

3077)

131

If the Trial Court had given judicial

effect to the Transfer Letters, the Trial

Court would have found that Piaintiff/-

Appellants, PCI, Sax and Horwitz complied

with the following Closing Requirements

set forth in the Escrow Agreement:

(a) Certificate of Occupancy: "The

Seller has obtained a Certificate of

Occupancy for the Hotel...." (R 3059)

(b) Arcitect's Certificate of Sub-

stantial Completion: "An Architect's

Certificate certifying substantial com-

pletion of the renovation has been exe-

cuted and delivered." (R 3059)

(c) Hotel Agent Certification: "The

Hotel Agent has certified to the Seller

that the Hotel has been fully furnished

and is ready for occupancy and operation

as a European-style luxury resort hotel

and that the Hotel Agent is prepared to

132

commence operation of the Hotel under the

Rental Management Agreements,...." (R

3069)

(ad) Insurance: "The insurance de-

scribed in the Memorandum ...has been

obtained...." (R 3060);

In addition, the Trial Court would

not have been able to find the following

material misrepresentations:

(a) $75,000 Hotel Working Capital

Fund: Since same was specifically off set

by the Transfer Letter (see R 3076 and

3087 and 3147) and $80,000 was actually

advanced by Plaintiff/Appellant, PCI in

excess of the original $75,020, under the

$200,000 line of credit agreement.

(b) Certificate of Occupancy: Since

same was reviewed and accepted by the

Hotel Agent, at the Closing, as agent for

Defendants/Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et

133

al.

(c) Insurance: Since the certificate

for same was attached to the Transafer

Letters, and the requirement to obtain

‘insurance was an obligation of the Hotel

Agent under both the PPM and the Rental

Management Agreement. (R 3358, 3364);

Furthermore, the Trial Court would

not have been able to find the following

material omission:

The Hotel Missed the 1986 Season:

Since the Hotel Agent attended the Clos-

ing, was charged with pre-opening manage-

ment such as pre-bookings, and inspected

the Hotel the morning of the Closing and

certified that the Hotel was substantial-

ly complete and ready for business.

Accordingly, the Trial Court, would

only have been able to find material

misrepresentations and omissions in two

134

(2) categories, namely, those involving

(a) Sparber and (b) PV, as follows:

(a) Sparber : (1) That $300,000 would

be used for advertising, and (2) that the

Hotel was a non-conforming use and struc-

ture; and,

(b)PV: (1) That the restaurant up-

grading would have a negative impact on

the projections, (2) that Chef Surmain's

independent status would have a negative

impact on the projections, (3) that

Plaintiff/Appellant, PCI had lost confi-

dence in PV and that PV would have to be

replaced, (4) that PV questioned the

projections and (5) that Plaintiff/Appel-

lants, Sax and Horwitz were suing a

principal of PV for fraud.

Since the Purchase Agreements and the

Rental Management Agreements were execut-

ed and delivered on or before the Clos-

135

ing, Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, Sax and

Horwitz were entitled to rely upon PV's

agency and authority in executing the

Transfer Letters on behalf of

Defendants/Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et

al.

First, all of the alleged remaining

material omissions and misrepresentations

were fully known to PV at or prior to the

Closing.

Second, the Defendants/Appellees,

Vaughn Durham, et al. purchased the Units

with full knowledge that "operating

results are impossible to accurately

predict," and PV, as agent, had full

knowledge of any alleged inconsistencies

in the Forecasts.

Third, Plaintiff/Appellant, PCI

reserved the right to make modifications

and amendments which did not materially

136

or adversely affect the value of the

Unit, and PV, as agent, agreed, at the

Closing, to the closing adjustments

either set forth in the Transfer Letters

or discussed with PV at the Closing.

Accordingly, the Trial Court, erred

in not giving judicial effect to the

Transfer Letters, and, in turn, the

Rental Management Agreement, the Purchase

Agreement, and the PPM, all of which were

a judicially enforceable contract, the

terms of which if given proper enforce-

ability, would have obviated the findings

in the Memorandum Opinion.

At the very least, the Trial Court

should have recognized that the Transfer

Letters proved that Plaintiff/Appellants,

PCI, Sax and Horwitz did not intend to

defraud Defendants/Appellees, Vaughn

Durham, et al., thereby avoiding any

137

finding of intentional wrongdoing.

It should strain the credulity of

this Court that PV, as agent of Defend-

ants/Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et al. was

authorized to make the Facade Easement

Donation, but was not, simultaneously,

authorized to execute and deliver the

Transfer Letters.

Accordingly, since, as stated by the

Supreme Court in David v. Sun Federal

Savings & Loan, 461 So.2d 93 (Fla.1984):

"Safeuarding the

validity of such

contracts (a mortga-

gee's contractural

right to accelera-

tion), and assuring

the right of enforce-

ment thereof, is an

Obligation of the

courts which has

constitutional dimen-

sions...See also Art.

I, $10, U.S. Const. ;

Declaration of Rights

Art. I, §10, Fla.

Const.,"

138

the Trial Court did not properly consider

the effect of the Transfer Letters, and:

The Trial Court erred in denying

Plaintiff/Appellants, PCI, Sax and Hor-

witz's right to judicial enforcement of a

contract.

CONCLUSION

The Memorandum Opinion and the Final

Judgment of the Circuit Court, as to

Counts III, IV and V of the Revised

Second Amended Counterclaim of Defend-

ants/Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et al.

should be reversed and the Action should

be remanded to the Trial Court for a jury

trial.

Lanny A. Horwitz, Esq.

P.O. Box 5684

Hilton Head Island, SC 29938

(803) 785 5650

Florida Bar No. 142489

139

Carl A. Sax, Esq.

6015 N. Ocean Boulevard

Ocean Ridge, FL 33435

‘407) 737 9951

Florida Bar No. 202266

Attorneys for Plaintiff/Appellants,

Palm Court, Inc., Carl A. Sax and

Lanny A. Horwitz

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

WE HEREBY CERTIFY that a true and correct

copy of the foregoing has been furnished

by mail this day of April, 1990 to

Michael A. Hanzman, Esq., Floyd Pearson

Richman Greer Weil Zack & Brumbaugh,

P.A., Attorneys for Defendants/Appellees,

Vaughn Durham et al., Courthouse Center,

26th Floor, 175 N.W. First Avenue, Miami,

FL 33128-1817.

Lanny A. Horwitz, Esq.

P.O. Box 5684

Hilton Head Island, SC 29938

(803) 785 5650

Florida Bar No. 142489

Carl A. Sax, Esq.

6015 N. Ocean Boulevard

Ocean Ridge, FL 33435 .

(407) 737 9951

Florida Bar No. 202266

140

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL

FOR THE FOURTH DISTRICT

STATE OF FLORIDA

PALM COURT, INC., et al.,

Appellants,

Vv. CASE NO. 88-1203

VAUGHN DURHAM, et al.,

Appellees.

APPENDIX TO INITIAL BRIEF

On Appeal from the Circuit Court of the

Fifteenth Judicial Circuit in and for

Palm Beach County, Florida

Lanny A. Horwitz, Esq.

P.O. Box 5684

Hilton Head Island, SC 29938

(803) 785 5650

Florida Bar No. 142489

Carl A. Sax, Esq.

6015 N. Ocean Boulevard

Ocean Ridge, FL 33435

(407) 737 9951

Florida Bar No. 202266

Attorneys for Plaintiff/Appellants,

Palm Court, Inc., Carl A. Sax and

Lanny A. Horwitz

141

COHEN, SCHERER AND COHN, P.A.

ATTORNEYS AT LAW

5455 NORTH FEDERAL HIGHWAY

PYLON PLAZA NO. 2 SUITE E

BOCA RATON, FLORIDA 33431

December 30, 1985

PV Hotels Corporation

135 West Central Boulevard

Orlando, Florida 32801

Re: Rental Management Agreements for the

Palm Court (a Hotel/Condominium) Palm

Beach, Florida (the "Agreements")

Gentlemen:

In connection with the delivery and

execution of the Agreements this date,

you agree, as Hotel Agent, as soon as

practicable, but in any event, not later

than January 10, 1986, under paragraph 2

"Hotel Agent's Authority and Duties" and

paragraph 10 regarding "Furniture, Fur-

nishings, Fixtures and Equipment" as

follows, it being the understanding that

all of the following undertakings are

made by you as agents of the Unit Owners

142

with no personal liability as to any

contracts or other items being assumed.

1. Utility Contracts. You agree to

transfer to the account of The Palm Court

from the account of Palm Court, Inc. any

and all utility contracts and to assume

any outstanding amounts due therefor.

2. Insurance. You agree to assume the

insurance policies set forth on Exhibit A

attached hereto.

3. Working Capital Loans. You agree to

cooperate with and assist wherever possi-

ble Palm Court, Inc. and its principal

officers arrange loans and lines of

credit secured by future distributions of

Unit Owners' Operating Cash Flow, as to

repay Palm Court, Inc. the $84,000.00

advanced by Palm Court, Inc. in excess of

the amount supposed to be advanced by

143

Palm Court, Inc. for (a) non-consumable

supplies, (b) start-up expenses and (c)

working capital, all in accordance with

the Confidential Private Placement Memo-

randum of the Palm Court as more particu-

larly set forth on Additional Memorandum

dated December 17, 1985 and attached

hereto as Exhibit B, from the first

proceeds available from such loans or

lines of credit, or from the first dis-

tributions payable under that certain

$938,250.00 Revolving Credit Facility

provided by Palm Court, Inc. It being

understood that PV Hotels Corporation

shall not be personally liable for the

repayment of the above sum to Palm Court,

Inc.

4. Bank Accounts. You agree to maintain

bank accounts of The Palm Court at First

144

American Bank and Trust of Palm Beach

and/or at the request of Palm Court, Inc.

to transfer such accounts to Bank Leumi

Trust Company of New York.

5. Condominium Owners Association. You

agree to schedule the first meeting of

the condominium owners association in

accordance with the terms of the Declara-

tion of Condominium of The Palm Court.

6. Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment.

You agree to assume, for the account of

The Palm Court, together with any monthly

rental payments due thereunder, the

equipment leases relating to (a) the

telephone system, (b) the televisions,

(c) the Rolls Royces, (da) the bake shop,

(e) the computer system and (f) the back-

office furniture, all as more particular-

ly set forth on Exhibit C attached here-

145

Te

to.

7. Advertising and Public Relations.

You agree to assume the advertising and

public relations agreement with Spector,

Anker Associates, together with any

monthly invoices therefor, if any; and to

honor the charitable donations to the

Jewish Community Center (two free dinners

for two, including Rolls Royce pickup)

and the Boca Raton Arts Center (one free

dinner for two).

Further, you acknowledge receipt of a

copy of that certain addendum to the

Confidential Private Placement Memorandum

of The Palm Court dated October 15, 1985

and agree that same shall govern if in

conflict with the terms of the Agreement.

Finally, the terms and conditions of this

letter shall be legally binding upon PV

146

Hotels Corporation pending the execution

of more formal documentation in connec-

tion with the above-referenced items.

Your signature below shall evidence your

complete understanding of and agreement

with the contents of this letter.

Very truly yours,

Andrew M. Jacobson

AMJ/js1

Attachments

The foregoing is approved and accepted

this 30 th day of December, 1985

PV Hotels Corporation

By: Lewis Hautzig, V.P.

147

To: Louis Hautzig

From: Bill Elliott

Date: December 27, 1985

Re: the Palm Court

Under the Confidential Private Placement

Memorandum, Palm Court, Inc. agreed to

provide certain funds for the hotel as

follows:

1. Non-consumable Supplies $125,000.00

2. Start Up Expenses 165,500.00

3. Hotel Working Capital 75,000.00

Total $365,500.00

Not withstanding the foregoing, Palm

Court, Inc. has provided funds for the

hotel as follows:

1. Non-consumable Suppiies $134,268.97

2. Start Up Expenses 209,340.47

3. Hotel Working Capital - 305. 833.37

Total $449,422.31

In support of the foregoing, I have

144%

enclosed a computer schedule together

with the supporting documentation for

your review.

In order for you, as Hotel Agent, to meet

current operating expenses, I suggest you

immediately finalize the loans provided

for under the various management agree-

ments.

Remember, such loans are to be secured by

an assignment of Unit Owners' Hotel Cash

Flow.

If you require any assistance or if you

have any questions, please call.

PS, The additional $84,000 that we ad-

vanced should be returned to us from loan

proceeds.

149

PALM COURT, INC.

PARTIAL ANALYSIS OF USE OF SALES PROCEEDS

ACTUAL

START UP EXPENSES: EXPENDITURES

PUBLIC RELATIONS 33,770.04

BROCHURE 18,551.42

VIDEO PRESENTATION 6,776.63

GRAND OPENING PARTY 39,948.31

ANDRE SURMAIN EXPENSES 12,361.96

TRAVEL 13,022.68

PALM COURT HOTEL STAFF

PAYROLL 67,143.44

PALM COURT HOTEL OFFICE

STAFF EXPENSES 17,765.99

TOTAL 209,340.47

150

ACTUAL

HOTEL WORKING CAPITAL EXPENDITURES

PROPERTY INSURANCE

DEPOSITS 11,530.00

ADVERTISING AND

MARKETING 16,306.45

HOTEL AND OFFICE

SUPPLIES 1,648.01

CONSUMABLE SUPPLIES 24,119.46

LEASE DEPOSITS 15,005.90

ANDRE SURMAIN PAYROLL 25,000.02

PALM COURT HOTEL STAFF

PAYROLL AFTER DEC 18 9,353.53

PREPAID PARKING EXPENSE 2,850.00

TOTAL 105,813.37

ACTUAL &

UNPD

NON-CONSUMABLE SUPPLIES EXPENDITURES

LEONARD PARKER COMPANY 47,441.62

CHINA AND ACCESSORIES 75,947.68

UNIFORMS 10, 879.67

TOTAL 134,268.97

GRAND TOTAL 449,422.81

PALM COURT, INC.

c/o Cohen, Scherer & Cohn, P.A.

5455 North Federal Highway

Suite E

Boca Raton, Florida 33431

(305) 994-6677

December 31, 1985

PV Hotels Corporation

135 West Central Boulevard

Orlando, Florida 32801

Attention: Robert Von Bereghy

Re: The Palm Court

Gentlemen:

In Connection with the closing of the

sale of the hotel/condominium units, we

have requested that you establish a line

of credit on behalf of the Unit Owners in

order to provide working capital for the

operation of the hotel until funds may be

drawn down under that certain $938,250.00

Letter of Credit.

152

Although the Rental Management Agreements

specifically authorize you to establish

such line of credit on behalf of the Unit

Owners and to secure such Line of Credit

by an assignment of Unit Owners Hotel

Cash Flow, you have advised us that you

may, without our assistance, find it

difficult to expeditiously arrange for

such line of credit until such time as

the hotel has been in operation and

generated sufficient income from opera-

tions to assure the line of credit Lender

with appropriate means of repayment.

Therefore, we have agreed, and do hereby

agree, to assist you in arranging such

line of credit for and on behalf of the

Unit Owners.

In connection therewith, we have agreed

that such line of credit shall be in the

153

amount of $200,000.00 and shall be repay-

able under terms and conditions and

interest rate to be negotiated at a later

date.

Since the new year is upon us, you have

further expressed your concern that

income from operations on an immediate

weekly basis may be insufficient to meet

payroll and other operating expenses.

Therefore, we have agreed, until such

time as the line of credit is put in

place, to advance funds to the hotel as

if the line of credit had been put in

place under terms and conditions similar

to those that may be obtained by a third

party lender.

In connection therewith, we shall deliver

to you immediately after the First neces-

Sary documentation to evidence the line

154

of credit, w.*h the security being the

assignment of the Unit Owners Hotel Cash

Flow, and the understanding that these

said documents will serve as the model

for the documents to be provided by the

third party lender.

I trust that this sets your mind at ease,

and that you will be able to get down to

the real business at hand.

Very truly yours,

Palm Court, Inc.

By: CARL A. SAX, President

By: LANNY A. HORWITZ, Vice President

CAS/jsl

155

EXHIBIT B

EXHIBIT B

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL OF THE

STATE OF FLORIDA FOURTH DISTRICT, P.O.

BOX A, WEST PALM BEACH, FL 33402

PALM COURT, INC., et al.,

Appellant(s),

Vv. CASE NO. 88-1203

VAUGHN DURHAM, et al.,

Appellee(s). ALL PLEADINGS

SIGNED BY AN AT-

June 4, 1990 | TORNEY MUST IN-

CLUDE THE ATTOR-

BY ORDER OF THE COURT: NEY'S FLORIDA

BAR NUMBER.

ORDERED that the Appellees' March 16,

1990 renewed motion to dismiss appeal is

granted and the above-styled appeal is

dismissed.

I hereby certify the foregoing is a

true copy of the original court order.

CLYDE L. HEATH,

CLERK.

cc: Sally R. Doerner

Lanny A. Horwitz

Hon. John B. Dunkle, Clerk (86-3885 CLF &

86-9123 CEF)

cms

156

EXHIBIT C

EXHIBIT C

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL

OF FLORIDA, FOURTH DISTRICT

CASE NO. 88-1203

PALM COURT, INC., et al.,

Appellants,

vs.

VAUGHN DURHAM, et al.,

Appellees.

/

RENEWED MOTION TO DISMISS APPEAL

Appellees Vaughn Durham, et al.,

through counsel, renew their motion to

dismiss this appeal for the appellants'

continued failure to provide a transcript

of trial and state:

1. This is a plenary appeal from a

final judgment adjudicating the appel-

lants guilty of fraud and securities

violations in connection with a securi-

157

ties offering they sponsored. The appel-

lants noticed this appeal almost two

years ago, on May 2, 1988.

2. On August 30, 1988, this court

issued an order to show cause directing

the appellants to explain why their

appeal should not be dismissed for their

failure to submit directions to the clerk

or a designation to the reporter. Ac-

cordingly, the appellants filed both

pleadings on September 2, 1988.

3s In an order dated October 17,

1988, this court granted the court re-

porter an extension of time of "ninety

(90) days ONLY from the date of this

order" to prepare the transcript of

proceedings. The transcript accordingly

was due to be filed by January 15, 1989.

4. On June 8, 1989, the appellees moved

158

to dismiss this appeal on the ground that

the appellants still had failed to pro-

vide a transcript of trial. [Exhibit A].

The appellee's motion was denied in an

order dated September 18, 1989, which

specifically directed that

appellant shall have

a period of seventy-

five (75) days within

which to obtain a

transcript of the

trial testimony from

the court reporwte2r,

said period of time

to commence as soon

as the trial judge

enters an order

disposing of the

current garnishment

proceedings against

the court reporter

involved here.

(Exhibit B]

5. On November 13, 1989, the appel-

lees supplemented the record on this

appeal with the lower court's final

judgment for garnishment, which was

entered November 10, 1989. [Exhibit C}.

159

Pursuant to the terms of this court's

September 18 order, then, the trial

transcript was due to be filed no later

than January 24, 1990. As no transcript

has yet been filed, the transcript thus is

now almost three months overdue once

again.

6. In November, 1989, the parties

entered into a Stipulation of Settlement

regarding the various matters pending

between them. [Exhibit D]. That settle-

ment provided specifically that "nothing

contained herein shall prohibit [the

appellants] from continuing the

Appeal ... with respect to Counts III, IV

and V of the Revised Second Amended

Counterclaim." Nothing in that agreement

. excused the appellants from their respon-

sibility to provide a transcript of trial

160

for appellate purposes as to those re-

maining counts 9i.e., various violations

of the Securities Act of 1933).

7. Appellant Lanny Horwitz's present

maneuvering to be declared indigent by

the lower court should have no effect on

this court's willingness to dismiss this

appeal. The transcript was due, even

after this court's repeated indulgences,

almost three months ago, long before the

motions claiming indigence were filed.

The appellees, all of whom are investors

victimized by the fraud of Mr. Horwitz

and his partner, to date have been denied

any recompense whatever for their losses.

This delay, now nearly two years in

length, has been occasioned entirely by

the appellants' recalcitrance and failure

to abide by the applicable appellate

rules. To require the appellees to wait

161

longer would be unconscionable.

WHEREFORE, the appellants renew their

request that this appeal be dismissed as

a sanction for the appellants' repeated

failures to provide a transcript of the

trial.

FLOYD PEARSON RICHMAN

GREER WEIL ZACK & BRUM-

BAUGH, P.A.

Attorneys for Appellees

CourtHouse Center, 26th

Floor

175 N.W. First Avenue

Miami, Florida 33128-1817

Telephone: (305) 373-4000

By: MICHAEL A. HANZMAN

By: SALLY R. DOERNER

Fla. Bar No. 251194

162

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL

OF FLORIDA, FOURTH DISTRICT

CASE NO. 88-1203

PALM COURT, INC., et al.,

Appellants,

vs.

VAUGHN DURHAM, et al.,

Appellee.

/

MOTION TO DISMISS APPEAL

Appellees Vaughn Durham, et al.,

through counsel, move the court pursuant

to Florida Rule of Appellate Procedure

9.200 to dismiss this appeal for the

appellants' failure to prepare and file a

transcript of the trial, and a grounds

state:

1. This is a plenary appeal from a

final judgment adjudicating the appel-

lants guilty of fraud and securities

violations in connection with a securi-

Exhibit A

163

ties offering they sponsored. The appel-

lants noticed this appeal on May 2, 1988.

2. On August 30, 1988, this court

issued an order to show cause directing

the appellants to explain why this appeal

should not be dismissed for their failure

to submit directions to the clerk or a

designation to the reporter. According-

ly, the appellants filed both pleadings

on September 2, 1988.

Ze In an order dated October 17,

1988, this court granted the court re-

porter an extension of time of "ninety

(90) days ONLY from the date of this

order" to prepare the transcript of

proceedings for this appeal. The tran-

script accordingly was due to be filed by

January 15, 1989.

4. On January 20, 1989, this court

164

granted the parties' joint motion for a

relingquishment of jurisdiction to the

lower court for the purpose of effectuat-

ing a settlement of this cause. That

order specified that "the Court Reporter

shall hold in abeyance completion of

appellate transcripts pending completion

of proceedings to effectuate settlement."

5. In an order dated March 15, 1989,

this court granted the appellants' motion

for an extension of the period of relin-

quishment to and including March 30,

1989.

6. On March 3, 1989, the lower court

issued an order declining to ratify the

parties' settlement proposal. That order

is the subject of a separate, non-final

appeal presently pending before this

court as case number 89-00939.

7. On April 3, 1989, the appellants

165

moved to extend the period of abatement

of this proceeding pending the outcome of

the non-final settlement appeal. Specif-

ically, the appellants asked to be re-

lieved of their obligation to prepare and

to submit the trial transcript in this

appeal until the non-final appeal is

concluded. This court denied the appel-

lants' motion in an order dated May 9,

1989.

8. At present, thirteen months have

passed since this appeal was noticed. A

full month has passed since this court

denied the appellants' attempt to abate

their responsibility immediately to file

the trial transcript, so there is no

doubt that the transcript is now long

overdue. To date, however, the trial

transcript has not been submitted.

9. Undersigned counsel for the

166

appellees telephoned the court reporter

this morning and was informed that only a

very small portion of this five - week

trial has been transcribed to date. The

reporter estimated that approximately

5000 pages have yet to be transcribed.

10. The appellees respectfully

suggest that the appellants' inordinate

and unauthorized delay in preparing and

submitting the trial transcript in this

action constitutes an abuse of the appel-

late process. It has become increasingly

clear, particularly in light of the

appellants' failure to supersede the

judgment at bar and their repeated at-

temts to delay this proceeding by any and

all possible means, that they have no

real intention of pursuing this appeal to

a conclusion on its merits. It is pat-

ently unfair under such circumstances to

167

require the appellees further to await

the final resolution of this controversy.

Wherefore, the appellees respectfully

move this court to dismiss this appeal

for the appellants' failure to provide a

transcript of the trial.

WE HEREBY CERTIFY that a true and

correct copy of the foregoing was deliv-

ered by mail this 8th day of June, 1989

to: Robert L. Bogen, Esquire, Braverman &

Bogen, 639 E. Ocean Avenue, Suite 209,

Boynton Beach, Florida 33435.

FLOYD PEARSON RICHMAN

GREER WEIL ZACK & BRUM-

BAUGH, P.A.

CourtHouse Center, 26th

Floor

175 N.W. First Avenue

Miami, Florida 33128-1817

Telephone: (305) 373-4000

By: MICHAEL A. HANZMAN

SALLY R. DOERNER

168

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL OF THE

STATE OF FLORIDA FOURTH DISTRICT, P.O.

BOX A, WEST PALM BEACH, FL 33402

PALM COURT, INC., et al.,

Appellant(s),

Vv. CASE NO. 88-1203

VAUGHN DURHAM, et al.,

Appellee(s). ALL PLEADINGS

SIGNED BY AN AT~

September 18, 1989 TORNEY MUST IN-

CLUDE THE ATTOR-

BY ORDER OF THE COURT: NEY'S FLORIDA

BAR NUMBER.

ORDERED that the Appellees' motion to

dismiss the plenary appeal in Case No.

88-1203 and appellant's motion to abate

garnishment proceedings are denied.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that appellant

shall have a period of seventy-five (75)

days within which to obtain a transcript

of the trial restimony from the court

reporter, said period of time to commence

as soon as the trial judge enters an

Exhibit B -

169

order disposing of the current garnish-

ment proceedings against the court re-

porter involved here.

I hereby certify the foregoing is a

true copy of the original court order.

CLYDE L. HEATH,

CLERK.

cc: Robert L. Bogen, Esq.

Michael A. Hanzman, Esq.

cms

170

IN THE CORCUIT COURT OF

THE 15TH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT

IN AND FOR PALM BEACH

COUNTY, FLORIDA

CIVIL DIVISION

CASE NO. 86-3885 (CL) F

PALM COURT, INC..,

et ai.,

Plaintiffs/Counter-

Defendants,

vs. FINAL JUDGMENT

FOR GARNISHMENT

VAUGHN DURHAM, et al.,

Defendants/Counter-

Claimants,

and

MUDRICK, WITT & LEVY,

Garnishee.

/

THIS CAUSE came before the court for

trial without a jury upon the

Defendants/Counterclaimants' Motion for

Garnishment After Judgment and the Third

Party Claim of the law firm of Braverman

and Bogen, and the court having heard and

Exhibit C

171

considered evidence and testimony and

being otherwise fully advised in the

premises, it is

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED as follows:

1. Judgment is hereby granted and

entered in favor of the Defendants/Coun-

terclaimants who shall recover from the

Garnishee, MUDRICK, WITT & LEVY, the sum

of $5,000, for which let execution issue.

2. The Third Party Claim of the law

firm of Braverman and Bogen is determined

to be without merit and is hereby denied.

3. The findings of fact and conclu-

sions of law announced by the court at

the final hearing on October 24, 1989 are

incorporated and adopted here by refer-

ence in their entirety.

4. Jurisdiction is hereby reserved

172

for the taxation of costs in accordance

with the applicable statutory provisions.

DONE and ORDERED in chambers at Palm

Beach County, Florida on this _ day of

, 1989.

SIGNED AND DATED

NOVEMBER 19, 1989

JUDGE DANIEL T. K.

HURLEY

CIRCUIT COURT JUDGE

Copies furnished to:

Robert Bogen, Esquire

Michael Hanzman, Esquire

Thomas Bratton, Esquire

173

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE

FIFTEENTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT, IN

AND FOR PALM BEACH

COUNTY, FLORIDA

CIVIL DIVISION

CASE NO. 86 3885 CL F

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF

APPEAL FOR THE STATE OF

FLORIDA, FOURTH DISTRICT

CASE NO. 88 1203

PALM COURT, INC.,

Plaintiff,

vs.

VAUGHN DURHAM, et al.,

Defendants.

STIPU ION OF SETTLEMENT

THIS STIPULATION OF SETTLEMENT is

being made and executed as of this

day of November, 1989, by and between the

Unit Owners whose names appear on Exhibit

"A" attached hereto (the "Unit Owners"),

Exhibit D

174

Palm Court, Inc., a Florida corporation

("PCI"), Carl A. Sax ("Sax") and Lanny A.

Horwitz ("Horwitz"), and their respective

counsel.

WHEREAS, the Unit Owners, PCI, Sax

and Horwitz are currently involved in

litigation pending in the Fifteenth

Judicial Circuit in and for Palm Beach

County, Florida, styled Palm Court, Inc.

v. Vaughn Durham, et al.m Case No. 86-

3885, (CL) F, as well as in matters

pending in other jurisdictions, each of

which relate to the offering of hotel

interests in the Palm Court Hotel; and

WHEREAS, on March 28, 1988 the Trial

Court entered a Memorandum Opinion and

Final Judgment in,the case of Palm Court,

Inc. v. Vaughn Durham, et al., in which

the Court made certain findings of fact

and conclusions of law favorable to

175

certain of the Unit Owners and adverse to

PCI, Sax and Horwitz (the "Final Judg-

ment" and the "Memorandum Opinion"); and

WHEREAS, on May 2, 1988, the Trial

Court entered an Order granting a Motion

for Final Summary Judgment in favor of

those Unit Owners who were not parties to

the Final Judgment (the "Final Summary

Judgment"); and

WHEREAS, PCI, Sax and Horwitz have

filed a Notice of Appeal from the Final

Judgment and the Final Summary Judgment

(collectively, the "Appeal"); and

WHEREAS, the parties realize that

litigation between them is extremely

complex, vexatious and costly, and that

there are inherent risks to all parties

should the case proceed further; and

WHEREAS, the parties, without in any

way conceding to the merits of each

176

others position, seek to avoid the risk

of further litigation through a settle-

ment of this matter consistent with a fair

resolution of the issues; and

WHEREAS, Sax and Horwitz are majori-

ty stockholders of PCI with full and

complete authority to authorize and/or

execute this Stipulation on behalf of

PCI;

IT IS HEREBY AGREED AND UNDERSTOOD,

as follows;

1. The above representations and

recitals are true and accurate and have

induced the parties into executing this

Stipulation.

2. As part and parcel to a settle-

ment of this matter, the respective

parties represent, agree and/or undertake

to do the following:

(a) As to PCI, it is stipulated

177

that:

(i) PCI will not appeal any aspect

of the Final Judgment or Memorandum

Opinion with respect to Counts I and II

of the Revised Second Amended Counter-

claim, but nothing contained herein shall

prohibit PCI from continuing the Appeal,

except as aforesaid, in order to reverse

the Judgment or Memorandum Opinion with

respect to Counts III, IV and V of the

Revised Second Amended Counterclain.

Upon execution of this Agreement, PCI

shall file a dismissal of its appeal to

the extent it seeks any relief pertaining

to Counts I and II and a notice of intent

to continue its Appeal only to the extent

it seeks relief from Counts III, IV and V

of the Revised Second Amended Counter-

claim and those aspects of the Final

Judgment or Memorandum Opinion which

178

pertain thereto;

(ii) PCI agrees that the amounts

awarded to the Unit Owners under Para-

graph 5 of the Final Judgment shall be

final, enforceable, not subject to ap-

peal, rehearing, collateral attack or

further review, subject to execution in

accordance with Florida Statutes and non-

dischargeable in the event that PCI

should seek protection from creditors

under any Federal or State Debtor Relief

Statute;

(iii) The Unit Owners agree that

execution and discovery and proceedings

in aid of execution on the Final Judgment

shall be withheld pending final resolu-

tion of this matter, as to all waves and

all other parties, inclusive of all

appeals;

(iv) As to the Final Summary Judg-

179

ment, all of the foregoing Stipulations

as to the Final Judgment, specified in

subparagraphs (i) through (iii) above,

shall apply to the Final Summary Judg-

ment, that a final judgment pertaining to

the Final Summary Judgment, as aforesaid

shall be entered by the Trial Court

forthwith, and that the amount of the

final judgment in favor of those Unit

Owners who were not parties the Final

Judgment shall be the amounts set forth

in the schedule attached as Exhibit "B".

Upon execution of this Agreement, Counsel

for the Unit Owners shall submit to the

Court the Final Judgment attached hereto

as Exhibit "C", which judgment shall be

entered upon the representation that is

has been agreed to by the parties;

(v) A judgment shall be entered

against PCI in the amount of One Million

180

Eight Hundred Thousand ($1,800,000)

Dollars, representing statutory attorneys

fees and costs for all Unit Owners set

forth in Exhibit "A" with the exception

of Sam Bernard. Upon execution of this

Agreement, counsel for the Unit Owners

shall submit to the Court the Final

Judgment attached hereto as Exhibit "C",

which judgment shall be entered upon the

representation that it has been agreed to

by the parties;

(vi) In connection with PCI's agree-

ment that all final judgments entered

against it are final, enforceable, and

not subject to appeal, rehearing, collat-

eral attack or further review, PCI hereby

consents to the entry of an order requir-

ing that all instruments of indebtedness

executed by the Unit Owners to which PCI

claims an interest, including those

181

certain adjustable-rate first mortgage

notes in the registry of the Trial Court,

be forthwith returned to the Unit Owners,

which Order shall be entered immediately

upon the execution of this Agreement; and

(vii) PCI and the Unit Owners agree

that, in the event PCI recovers any sums

of money as a result of any claims it has.

or will assert against any third parties,

whether by settlement, judgment or other-

wise, net of reasonable attorneys fees

and costs, or if PCI obtains any sums of

money from any other source of any kind

or nature, that said monies, net of

reasonable attorneys fees and costs,

shall be used first to satisfy the final

judgments in favor of the Unit Owners, as

reduced by sums received by the Unit

Owners from the said third parties, and

that the Circuit Court in and for Palm

182

Beach County, Florida shall enter an

order requiring that any funds recovered

by PCI, but only to the extent of the

aggregate amount of the final judgments,

as reduced, be deposited into* the regis-

try of the Court and used to satisfy the

outstanding final judgments of the Unit

Owners.

(b) As to Sax and Horwitz, it is

stipulated that:

(i) Sax and Horwitz will not appeal

any aspects of the Memorandum Opinion or

Final Judgment with respect to Counts I

and II of the Revised Second Amended

Counterclaim, but that nothing contained

herein shall prohibit Sax and Horwitz

from continuing the Appeal, except as

aforesaid, in order to reverse the Final

Judgment or Memorandum Opinion with

respect to Counts III, IV and V of the

183

Revised Second Amended Counterclaim.

Upon execution of this Agreement,-— PCI

shall file a dismissal of their appeal to

the extent they seek any relief pertain-

ing to Counts I and II and a notice of

intent to continue its Appeal only to $he

extent it seeks relief from Counts III,

IV and V of the Revised Second Amended

Counterclaim and those aspects of the

Final Judgment or Memorandum Opinion

which pertain thereto;

(ii) The Unit Owners will satisfy,

of record, the Final Judgment entered

against Sax and Horwitz either prior to

the conclusion of the Appeal, or after

resolution of the Appeal, at the request

of Sax and Horwitz, upon PCI, Sax and

Horwitz's dismissal of the Appeal as set

forth above, the return of the Notes,

pursuant to Paragraph 2 (a)(vi) and the

184

entry of the Judgments provided for

above; and,

(iii) In the event Sax and Horwitz,

in their individual capacities, recover

any sums of monies against third parties

based upon claims they have or will

assert against third parties, net of

attorneys fees and costs, that their

recovery shall be subordinate to PCI's

recovery of the amount required to satis-

fy the Unit Owners final judgments

against PCI, as reduced by the Unit

Owners recovery or compromise, as afore-

said, and that an order of the Circuit

Court in and for Palm Beach County,

Florida shall be entered regarding the

foregoing. In other words, any sums

recovered by Sax and Horwitz, individual-

ly, will be first used to satisfy the

Final Judgment against PCI in favor of

185

the Unit Owners, as reduced by the Unit

Owners actual recovery.

(c) The Unit Owners, PCI, Sax and

Horwitz agree, for themselves, their

assignees, designees, personal represen-

tatives and successors:

(i) To dismiss, with prejudice, any

action or claim pending in any Court, in

any jurisdiction against each other, with

prejudice, except for the continuation of

the Appeal (except for Counts I and II of

the Revised Second Amended Counterclaim,

as aforesaid) ;

(ii) To refrain from bringing any

future action in any jurisdiction against

each other except as hereinafter set

forth, or as may be required to enforce

the conditions of this Stipulation;

(iii) To exchange mutual general

releases within a reasonable time form

186

the date hereof, except as otherwise

provided herein;

(iv) The Unit Owners shall not be

made parties by PCI, Sax and Horwitz to

any claims asserted against PCI, Sax and

Horwitz, including, but not limited to,

any claims asserted by third parties

relating in any way whatsoever to the

Palm Court Hotel; and

(v) In the event the Unit Owners are

made defendants in any suit or proceeding

brought by any third party to which PCI,

Sax or Horwitz may be liable by way of

contribution, indemnification or other-

wise, to either the Unit Owners or the

complaining party(s), that the Unit

Owners shall not be precluded from as-

serting third-party cross or counter-

claims against PCI, Sax or Horwitz, for

all out of pocket monetary damages; and,

187

in that event, that nothing herein shall

preclude PCI, Sax and Horwitz from as-

serting their respective defenses, which

defenses shall, in no event, include the

assertion of cross or counterclaims

against the Unit Owners or in any way

seek affirmative monetary relief against

them.

3. PCI, Sax and Horwitz further

agree that neither they nor any other

party with whom they are affiliated,

shall appeal or in any way challenge the

Judgment in garnishment entered in faver

of the Unit Owners in the amount of Five

Thousand ($5,000) Dollars and the Unit

Owners shall be entitled to retain said

sum.

4. Nothing in this Stipulation,

whether expressed or implied, is intended

or should be construed to confer, to

i88

grant or to release any person other than

the parties to this Stipulation.

S. The parties agree that this

Stipulation is final and enforceable.

6. The parties have had independent

legal counsel, each is fully cognizant of

the Stipulation's terms, ramifications

and result and each has read it and

understands it in its entirety.

7. This Stipulation is subject to

specific performance and the Circuit

Court in and for Palm Beach County,

Florida, shall retain continuing juris-

diction to enter all orders necessary to

carry out the intent of the parties

hereunder.

8. This Stipulation and its exhib-

its may be executed and/or initialed in

counterparts.

189

ATTEST:

By:

Lanny A. Horwitz,

its

Secretary

PALM COURT, INC.

By: -

Carl A. Sax,

its President

Carl A. Sax

Lanny A. Horwitz

Michael A. Hanzman,

Counsel for all

Unit Owners on

Exhibit "A"

Andrew Hall,

Counsel for

Palm Court, Inc.,

Carl A. Sax and

Lanny A. Horwitz

190

EXHIBIT D

EXHIBIT D

IN THE DISTRICT COURT

OF APPEAL OF THE STATE

OF FLORIDA FOURTH

DISTRICT WEST PALM

BEACH, FLORIDA

CASE NO. 88-1203

PALM COURT, INC., et al.,

Appellants,

Vv.

VAUGHN DURHAM, et al.,

Appellees.

RESPONSE OF PALM COURT, INC., CARL A. SAX

AND LANNY A. HORWITZ IN OPPOSITION TO

RENEWED MOTION TO DISMISS APPEAL

Appellants, Palm Court, Inc., Carl A.

Sax and Lanny A. Horwitz, pro se, hereby

file this, their Response in Opposition

to Appellees' Vaughn Durham, et al's

Renewed Motion to Dismiss Appeal, and

state:

A. On September 18, 1989, this

Court issued an Order denying Appellees'

191

motion to dismiss this appeal, which

Order directed that:

“appellant shall have

a period of seventy-

five (75) days within

which to obtain a

transcript of the

trial testimony from

the court reporter,

said period to com-

mence as soon as the

trial judge enters an

order disposing of

the current garnish-

ment proceedings

against the court

reporter involved

herein."

me On November 10, 1989, a Final

Judgment for Garnishment was entered by

the trial court.

3. According to the terms of this

Court's Order, therefore, the trial

transcript in this Appeal was to be

obtained from the Court Reporter by

January 24, 1990. a

4. On January 8, 1990, Barbara E.

192

Bolton, Certified Shorthand Reporter,

certified, by Certificates, copies of

which are attached hereto as Exhibits A

and B, that "the foregoing pages, num-

bered 1 to 1942, inclusive, constitute a

true and correct transcription of my

shorthand report of the proceedings of

Said case through February 19, 1988" and

"March 9, 1988" (which constitute those

portions of the trial transcript, togeth-

er with other transcripts previously

prepared, required under the Statement

of Judicial Acts to be Reviewed and

Amended Directions to Clerk filed by

Appellants in conformity with the Noven-

ber 30, 1989 Stipulation of Settlement

among the parties.

5. Accordingly, Appellees' state-

ment regarding the trial transcript is

incorrect since the applicable portions

193

of the transcript pertaining to the

remaining counts to be appealed consist-

ent with the terms of the November 30,

1989 Stipulation of Settlement, were

certified by Barbara E. Bolton on January

8, 1990.

6. In addition, it should strain

the credulity of the Court that (a)

Appellees' garnishment tactics, undertak-

en to block Appellants' Appeal, is now

being asserted as Appellants' "recalci-

trance and failure to abide by the ap-

plicable appellate Rules" and (b) Appel-

lees' "have been denied any recompense

whatever for their losses" when, upon

information and belief, Sparber, Shevin,

Shapo, Heilbronner and Book, P.A. former

securities counsel to Appellants, and

Cohen, Scherer and Cohn, P.A., former

real estate and closing counsel to Appel-

194

lants, have collectively paid approxi-

mately $2,225,000 to Appellees ina

pretrial settlement.

WHEREFORE, Appellants' request that

this Court deny Appellees' Renewed Mo-

tion.

WE HEREBY CERTIFY that a true and

correct copy of the foregoing has been

furnished by mail this 24th day of March,

1990 to Sally Doerner, Courthouse Center,

26th Floor, 175 N.W. First Avenue, Miami,

FL 33128-1817.

Lanny A. Horwitz

P.O. Box 5684

Hilton Head Island, SC 29938

(803) 785 5650

Florida Bar No. 142489

Carl A. Sax

6015 N. Ocean Boulevard

Ocean Ridge, FL 33435

(407) 737 9951

Florida Bar No. 202266

195

EXHIBIT E

EXHIBIT E

IN THE DISTRICT COURT

OF APPEAL OF THE STATE

OF FLORIDA FOURTH

DISTRICT WEST PALM

BEACH, FLORIDA

CASE NO. 88-1203

PALM COURT, INC., et al.,

Appellants,

Vv.

VAUGHN DURHAM, et al.,

Appellees.

MOTION OF APPELLANTS, PALM COURT, INC.,

CARL A. SAX AND LANNY A. HORWITZ TO

ENFORCE RULE 9.200(b)1

Appellants, Palm Court, Inc., Carl A.

Sax and Lanny A. Horwitz, pro se, hereby

file this, their Motion to Enforce Rule

9.200(b)1 and state:

i. Appellants have filed their

4

Statement of Judicial Acts to be Reviewed

and Amended Directions to Clerk, and

trial transcripts therefore, in a timely

196

manner, in accordance with the terms of

the November 30, 1989 Stipulation of

Settlement.

2. Appellees have complained, in

their Reply to Appellants' Response in

Opposition to Appellees' Renewed Motion

to Dismiss Appeal that "the balance of

this transcript...is clearly required for

Appellants to prosecute this plenary

appeal...."

3. Rule 9.200(b)1 provides that:

(a) “appellant shall designate those

portions of the transcript of proceedings

not on file deemed necessary for inclu-

sion in the record," (b) "an appellee may

designate additional portions of the

proceedings, and (c) "the designating

party ...must pay...(for)...the completed

manuscript...."

Wherefore, Appellants respectfully

197

request that the Court issue an order

directing Appellees to comply with Rule

9.200(b)1.

WE HEREBY CERTIFY that a true and

correct copy of the foregoing has been

furnished by mail this i2th day of April,

1990 to Michael A. Hanzman, Courthouse

Center, 26th Floor, 175 N.W. First Ave-

nue, Miami, FL 33128-1817.

Lanny A. Horwitz

P.O. Box 5684

Hilton Head Island, SC 29938

(803) 785 5650

Florida Bar No. 142489

Carl A. Sax

6015 N. Ocean Boulevard

Ocean Ridge, FL 33435

(407) 737 9951

Florida Bar No. 202266

198

EXHIBIT F

EXHIBIT F

IN THE DISTRICT COURT

OF APPEAL OF THE STATE

OF FLORIDA FOURTH

DISTRICT WEST PALM

BEACH, FLORIDA

CASE NO. 88-1203

PALM COURT, INC., et al.,

Appellants,

Vv.

VAUGHN DURHAM, et al.,

Appellees.

RESPONSE OF APPELLANTS, PALM COURT,

INC., CARL A. SAX AND LANNY A. HORWITZ TO

APPELLEES' MOTIONFOR ENLARGEMENT OF TIME

Appellants, Palm Court, Inc., Carl A.

Sax and Lanny A. Horwitz, pro se, hereby

file this, their Response to Appellees'

Motion for Enlargement of Time and state:

i. Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et al.

have filed their Motion For Enlargement

ef Time, bearing Certificate of Service

dated April 18, 1990, which seeks en-

199

largement of time to respond to certain

motions.

2. Appellants, Palm Court, Inc.,

Carl A. Sax and Lanny A. Horwitz, have,

on April 19, 1990, filed their Motion to

Enforce Fla.R.App.P. 9.300(a) because

Appellees' Motion For Enlargement of Time

fails to contain the certificate required

by Rule 9.300(a) and therefore, is sub-

ject to summary denial.

3s On March 8, 1990, the Court

granted the Braverman and Bogen Motion to

Withdraw as counsel of record for Appel-

lants, Palm Court, Inc., Carl A. Sax and

Lanny A. Horwitz.

4. Appellants, Palm Court, Inc.,

Carl A. Sax and Lanny A. Horwitz, from

and after the granting of the Braverman

and Bogen Motion to Withdraw, have com-

pleted the following:

200

(a) On March 12, 1990, a Notice

of Appearance on behalf of Sax and Hor-

witz, pro se

(b) On March 12, 1990, State-

ment of Judicial Acts ‘to be Reviewed

(c) On March 12, 1990, Amended

Directions to Clerk

(ad) On March 12, 1990, Motion

for Extension of Time to File Brief,

requesting an order extending the time to

file the initial brief until April 15,

1990

(e) On March 24, 1990, Response

of Palm Court, Inc., Carl A. Sax and

Lanny A. Horwitz in Opposition to Renewed

Motion to Dismiss Appeal

(f) On April 2, 1990, Horwitz's

Motion for Review of Order of Lower Court

Denying Motion to Proceed as Indigent

(g) On April 3, 1990, Separate

201

Response of Lanny A. Horwitz in Opposi-

tion to Renewed Motion and Addendum

Thereto to Dismiss Appeal

(h) On April 12, 1990, Motion

of Appellants, Palm Court, Inc., Carl A.

Sax and Lanny A. Horwitz to Enforce Rule

9.200(b)1

(i) On April 12, 1990, Motion

of Appellants, Palm Court, Inc., Carl A.

Sax and Lanny A. Horwitz to Coneiaer

Statement of Judicial Acts to be Reviewed

as Dismissal of the Appeal as to Counts I

and II of the Revised Second Amended

Counterclaim

(j) On April 15, 1990, Appel-

lants' Initial Brief and Appendix

(kK) On April 15, 1990, Appel-

lants' Request for Oral Argument

(1) On April 19, 1990, Motion

of Appellants, Palm Court, Inc., Carl A.

202

Sax and Lanny A. Horwitz to Enforce Rule

9.300(a)

5. From the time of the granting of

the Braverman and Bogen Motion to With-

draw, during the intervening six (6)

weeks, Appellants, Palm Court, Inc., Carl

A. Sax and Lanny A. Horwitz have complet-

ed the foregoing twelve (12) filings in

an effort to permit this Court to expedi-

tiously rule upon the matters brought

before it under Appellants' Initial

Brief.

6. The case sub judice is nearly

two (2) years old due to the effective

blocking, by Appellees, of the trial

transcript preparation through its gar-

nishment of the court reporter and simul-

taneous prayers for relief of dismissal

for failure of Appellants to complete the

trial transcript.

203

Wherefore, Appellants respectfully

request that the Court deny Appellees'

Motion for Enlargement of Time and re-

quire all parties to adhere to the brief-

est possible time periods to conclude

this appeal.

WE HEREBY CERTIFY that a true and

correct copy of the foregoing has been

furnished by mail this 20th day of April,

1990 to Michael A. Hanzman, Courthouse

Center, 26th Floor, 175 N.W. First Ave-

nue, Miami, FL 33128-1817.

Lanny A. Horwitz

P.O. Box 5684

Hilton Head Island, SC 29938

(803) 785 5650

Florida Bar No. 142489

Carl A. Sax

6015 N. Ocean Boulevard

Ocean Ridge, FL 33435

(407) 737 9951

Florida Bar No. 202266

204

EXHIBIT G

EXHIBIT G

IN THE DISTRICT COURT

OF APPEAL OF THE STATE

OF FLORIDA FOURTH

DISTRICT WEST PALM

BEACH, FLORIDA

CASE NO. 88-1203

PALM COURT, INC., et al.,

Appellants,

Vv.

VAUGHN DURHAM, et al.,

Appellees.

REPLY TO APPELLEES' MOTION TO STRIKE

APPELLANTS! BRIEF, REPLY TO FURTHER

AMENDMENT TO APPELLEES' RENEWED MOTION TO

DISMISS APPEAL AND MOTION TO ENFORCE RULE

9.210(f)

Appellants, Palm Court, Inc., Carl A.

Sax and Lanny A. Horwitz, pro se, hereby

file this, their Reply to Appellees'

Motion to Strike Appellants' Brief, Reply

to Further Amendment to Appellees' Re-

newed Motion to Dismiss Appeal and Motion

to Enforce Rule 9.210(f) and state as

205

follows:

i. Contrary to Appellees' Motion,

and notwithstanding the September 18,

1989 Order of this Court, the trial

judge's November 10, 1989 Final Judgment

for Garnishment did not "dispose" of the

garnishment proceedings in the sense of

"getting rid of" the garnishment but

rather “attended to or settled" the

findings of fact and conclusions of the

trial judge with respect to the Appel-

lees' garnishments of the court reporter

and Appellant's counsel.

a The trial judge decided that the

garnishment of the court reporter was

proper and that he would "be compelled to

rule in the same way" (October 24, 1989

Hearing, Page 161) in the future in the

event of any further attempts by Appel-

lants to pay for the transcript of re-

206

cord,

even though:

"The last thing I

want to mention, this

Court is especially

sensitive to the fact

that there is an

ongoing appeal and

that inevitable as a

result of the Court's

decision, it is

obviously going to

impact on that ap-

peal. The judgment

creditors, the people

who won in the trial

court, are effective-

ly going over to the

Defendant and are

taking a sum of money

that is critical to

the Defendant's right

to perfect its appeal

and I'm bothered by

that. But I have

done some independent

research and I can

find no exception in

the Statute that

somehow safeguards a

civil litigants cache

of money, if you

will, on the side so

that they can prose-

cute their appeal.

It seems to me tnat

you can draw some

type of analogy to

where the party

207

doesn't have money

and doesn't post a

Supersedeas bond, so

the party who won in

the trial court has

the right to-go

forward and levy and

inflict tremendous

harm on the other

side, despite the

fact there is an

appeal pending."

(October 24, 1989

Hearing, Pages 159-

60)

and, a copy of the November 10, 1989

Final Judgment for Garnishment and a copy

of the transcript of the Hearing held on

October 24, 1989, wherein the findings of

fact and conclusions of law of the trial

judge are set forth, are attached in the

Appendix to this Reply and Motion and are

made a part hereof by reference.

3. Accordingly, and as a direct

result of the trial judge's November 10,

1989 Final Judgment for Garnishment,

which blocked Appellants' Appeal by

208

preventing transcription of the trial

record, Appellants, on November 30, 1989,

only 20 days later, entered into a Stipu-

lation of Settlement, with Appellees,

limiting the appeal.

4. Thereafter, in compliance with

the Stipulation of Settlement, Appellants

filed (a) Amended Directions to Clerk,

and (b) Statement of Judicial Acts to be

Reviewed.

S. Now, after (a) causing, Appel-

lants to enter into the Stipulation of

Settlement, as a direct result of the

November 10, 1989 Final Judgment for

Garnishment, (b) Appellants' compliance

with the Stipulation of Settlement by

limiting the scope of the Appeal, (c)

Appellees' receipt of the $11, 120,000 of

notes from the registry of the court and

entry of a judgment for $1.8 million in

209

fees and costs, consistent with the

Stipulation of Settlement, and (d) Appel-

lants' timely filing of the Initial

Brief, Appellees have the audacity to (i)

refuse tc release the judgments against

Carl A. Sax and Lanny A. Horwitz, con-

sistent with the Stipulation of Settle-

ment, and (ii) request that this Court

dismiss Appellants' appeal.

6. This request should strain the

credulity of the Court and the Court

should indulge no more of Appellees'

delay tactics and order that Appellees

comply with Fla.R.App.P 9.210(f) within

ten (10) days or face being held in

contempt under Fla.R.App.P 9.410.

Wherefore, Appellants respectfully

request that the Court issue an order

directing Appellees tc comply with

Fla.R.App.P. 9.210(f).

210

WE HEREBY CERTIFY that a true and

correct copy of the foregoing has been

furnished by mail this 7th day of May,

1990 to Michael A. Hanzman, Courthouse

Center, 26th Floor, 175 N.W. First Ave-

nue, Miami, FL 33128-1817.

Lanny A. Horwitz

P.O. Box 5684

Hilton Head Island, SC 29938

(803) 785 5650

Florida Bar No. 142489

Carl A. Sax

6015 N. Ocean Boulevard

Ocean Ridge, FL 33435

(407) 737 9951

Florida Bar No. 202266

211

IN THE DISTRICT COURT

OF APPEAL OF THE STATE

OF FLORIDA FOURTH

DISTRICT WEST PALM

BEACH, FLORIDA

CASE NO. 88-1203

PALM COURT, INC., et al.,

Appellants,

Vv.

VAUGHN DURHAM, et al.,

Appellees. ~

APPENDIX TO REPLY TO APPELLEES' MOTION TO

STRIKE APPELLANTS' BRIEF, REPLY TO FUR-

THER AMENDMENT TO APPELLEES' RENEWED

MOTION TO DISMISS APPEAL AND MOTION TO

ENFORCE RULE 9.210(f)

Lanny A. Horwitz

- P.O. Box 5684

Hilton Head Island, SC 29938

(803) 785 5650

Florida Bar No. 142489

Carl A. Sax

6015 N. Ocean Boulevard

Ocean Ridge, FL 33435

(407) 737 9951

Florida Bar No. 202266

212

IN THE CORCUIT COURT OF

THE 15TH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT

IN AND FOR PALM BEACH

COUNTY, FLORIDA

CIVIL DIVISION

CASE NO. 86-3885 (CL) F

PALM COURT, INC..,

et al.,

Plaintiffs/Counter-

Defendants,

vs. FINAL JUDGMENT

FOR GARNISHMENT

VAUGHN DURHAM, et al.,

Defendants/Counter-

Claimants,

and

MUDRICK, WITT & LEVY,

Garnishee.

THIS CAUSE came before the court for

trial without a jury upon the

Defendants/Counterclaimants' Motion for

Garnishment After Judgment and the Third

Party Claim of the law firm of Braverman

213

and Bogen, and the court having heard and

considered evidence and testimony and

being otherwise fully advised in the

premises, it is

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED as follows:

1. Judgment is hereby granted and

entered in favor of the Defendants/Coun-

terclaimants who shall recover from the

Garnishee, MUDRICK, WITT & LEVY, the sum

of $5,000, for which let execution issue.

2. The Third Party Claim of the law

firm of Braverman and Bogen is determined

to be without merit and is hereby denied.

3. The findings of fact and conclu-

sions of law announced by the court at

the final hearing on October 24, 1989 are

incorporated and adopted here by refer-

ence in their entirety.

4. Jurisdiction is hereby reserved

for the taxation of costs in accordance

214

with the applicable statutory provisions.

DONE and ORDERED in chambers at Palm

Beach County, Florida on this day of

, 1989.

SIGNED AND DATED

NOVEMBER 19, 1989

JUDGE DANIEL T. K.

HURLEY

CIRCUIT COURT JUDGE

Copies furnished to:

Robert Bogen, Esquire

Michael Hanzman, Esquire

Thomas Bratton, Esquire

215

EXHIBIT H

EXHIBIT H

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL OF THE

STATE OF FLORIDA FOURTH DISTRICT, P.O.

BOX A, WEST PALM BEACH, FL 33402

PALM COURT, INC., et al.,

Appellant(s),

Vv. CASE NO. 88-1203

VAUGHN DURHAM, et al.,

Appellee(s). ALL PLEADINGS

SIGNED BY AN AT-

September 5, 1990 TORNEY MUST IN-

CLUDE THE ATTOR-

BY ORDER OF THE COURT: NEY'S FLORIDA

BAR NUMBER.

ORDERED that the Appellants' June i5,

1990 motion for rehearing and motion for

rehearing en banc are denied.

ORDERED that Appellants' July 16,

1990 motion to sever consolidated appeal

is denied.

I hereby certify the foregoing is a

true copy of the original court order.

CLYDE L. HEATH,

CLERK.

ce: Larry A. Horwitz

Carl A. Sax

Michael A. Hanzman

cms

216

EXHIBIT I

EXHIBIT I

IN THE DISTRICT COURT

OF APPEAL OF THE STATE

OF FLORIDA FOURTH

DISTRICT WEST PALM

BEACH, FLORIDA

CASE NO. 88-1203

PALM COURT, INC., et al.,

Appellants,

V. 7

VAUGHN DURHAM, et al.,

Appellees.

MOTION FOR REHEARING AND MOTION FOR

REHEARING EN BANC

Appellants, Palm Court, Inc. ("PCI"),

Carl A. Sax ("Sax"), and Lanny A. Horwitz

("Horwitz"), pro se, respectfully move

the Court for rehearing pursuant to

Fla.R.App.P. 9.330, and for rehearing en

banc pursuant to Fla.R.App.P. 9.331, and

show the Court as follows:

I

MOTION FOR REHEARING

217

On June 4, 1990, the Court granted

Appellees, Vaughn Durham, et al's

("Vaughn Durham") March 15, 1990 Renewed

Motion to Dismiss Appeal, and dismissed

the above-styled Appeal, apparently based

upon Appellees, Vaughn Durham's assertion

that "this appeal (should) be dismissed

as a sanction for the appellants' repeat-

ed failures to provide a transcript of

the trial."

On March 24, 1990, Appellants, PCI,

Sax and Horwitz, in response to Appel-

lees' March 15, 1990 Renewed Motion to

Dismiss Appeal filed their Response,

which provided, in pertinent part, that:

Moe Appellees'

statement regarding

the trial transcript

is incorrect since

the applicable por-

tions of the tran-

script pertaining to

the remaining counts

to be appealed con-

218

iia

sistent with the

terms of the November

30, 1989 Stipulation

of Settlement, were

certified by Barbara

E. Bolton on January

8, 1990 econ In

addition it should

strain the credulity

of the Court that (a)

Appellees' garnish-

ment tactics under-

taken to block Appel-

lants' Appeal, is now

being asserted as

Appellants' '‘recalci-

trance and failure to

abide by the applica-

ble Appellate Rules'

and (b) Appellees'

‘have been denied any

recompense whatever

for their losses'

when, upon informa-

tion and belief,

Sparber

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.