Petition for Writ of Certiorari — City of Milwaukee v. Cement Division

Supreme Court brief1991

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

ae, Supreme Court, U.S.

FILED

on -1299

tan FEB 15 1991

so Vin OFFICE OF THE Clans

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1990

CITY OF MILWAUKEE,

Petitioner,

CEMENT DIVISION, NATIONAL GYPSUM

COMPANY, et al.,

Respondents.

_

aA

Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Seventh Circuit

a

_

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

a

—

GRANT F. LANGLEY

City Attorney

Counsel of Record

RupoitrpH M. Konrap

Deputy City Attorney

THomMaS J. BEAMISH

Assistant City Attorney

800 City Hall

200 East Wells Street

Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53202

(414) 278-2601

Counsel for Petitioner

February 14, 1991

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

SSE neath tether cea TTI csc

}

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Does a federal court of appeals, which has found

an apportionment of fault by a district court to be clearly

erroneous under Fed. R. Civ. P. 52(a), have the authority

to make new findings of fact, reweigh the evidence and

reapportion fault?

2. Should the admiralty rule that liability for dam-

ages is to be allocated among the parties proportionately

to the degree of their fault be changed so that the relative

cost of avoiding the casualty becomes a substantial factor

in apportioning fault?

ii

LIST OF PARTIES

The parties to the proceedings below were the peti-

tioner City of Milwaukee and the respondents Cement

Division, National Gypsum Company; Reed & Brown,

Inc.; New York Marine Managers, Inc.; Allstate Insurance

Company, c/o American Marine Underwriters, Inc.;

Highlands Insurance Company; Employers Casualty

Company of Texas, c/o Texas Marine Underwriters

Agency, Inc.; Donald H. Miller, Inc.; U.S. Fidelity and

Guarantee Company; Great Lakes Protective Association;

The Atlantic Companies; Lloyds Underwriters, Institute

Companies, including: Commercial Union Assurance Co.

Ltd., “I” A/o. Andrew Weir Insurance Co. Ltd., English &

American Insurance Co. Ltd., “M” 1 A/o., Orion Insur-

ance Co. Ltd., “T” A/o. Yasuda Fire & Marine Insurance

Co. (U.K.) Ltd., “T” A/o., Atlas Assurance Co. Ltd., “T”

A/o., Phoenix Assurance Co. Ltd., British Law Insurance

Co. Ltd., Road Transport and General Insurance Co. Ltd.,

Insurance Company of North America (U.K.) Ltd., “G”

A/o., Insurance Company of North America (U.K.) Ltd.,

“O” A/o., Home Insurance Co. Ltd., “X” A/o., London &

Hull Maritime Insurance Co. Ltd., Hanover Insurance Co.

Ltd., Sphere Insurance Co. Lid., Drake Insurance Co.

Ltd., Bishopsgate Insurance Co. Ltd., “F” A/o., British

Law Insurance Co. Ltd., No. 2 A/o., Minster Insurance

Co. Ltd., No. 2 A/o., Insurance Corporation of Ireland,

“L” A/o., Folksam International Insurance Co. (U.K.)

Ltd., Terra Nova Insurance Co. Ltd. per Andrew Drysdale

Ltd., Economic Insurance Co. Ltd., “GENERAL” A/o.,

c/o Willis, Faber & Dumas Ltd., Ten Trinity Square, Lon-

don EC3P 3AX England.

iii

LIST OF PARTIES — Continued

Petitioner, City of Milwaukee, has no parent com-

panies, subsidiaries, or affiliates to list pursuant to Rule

28.1.

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ............... eee i

(og REAP eee rae eee eee ee ii

eo EE eee ee ee eee Tere re 1

EC a 0b 6 Whe AGHA w 650.5606 Kee ad te dM 2

ee eee eee ee Te eee eee 3

SEAMS GOP Beem CAI ec ic cc cee eccessicenes 3

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ........... 11

I. The Seventh Circuit’s Unauthorized Finding of

Fact and Reapportionment of Fault on Appeal (1)

Conflicts with Decisions of this Court, and (2)

Deprives the Petitioner of an Appeal as a Matter

OE TU Sc cscs ccceevesccvawseecnntccsnassoees 11

A. The Seventh Circuit’s Decision Conflicts

with Decisions of This Court and its Ruling

Exceeds its Appellate Authority ........... 11

B. The Seventh Circuit’s Decision Deprives the

Petitioner of an Appeal as a Matter of Right 23

Il. The “Cost of Avoidance” Standard for Appor-

tioning Fault in an Admiralty Case Formulated

by the Seventh Circuit is Inconsistent with United

States v. Reliable Transfer and with Numerous Cir-

cuit Court Decisions that have Apportioned

Fault Without Reference to the Cost of Avoidance

Terres SEE GARPPAASES SERRA AED CRO Cs SmNeREME NOES OO

ee rere eee eet ee ee eee 30

APPENDIX

Decision of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Seventh Circuit (October 16, 1990)........... la

eS

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

Memorandum of Decision and Order of the

United States District Court for the Eastern Dis-

trict of Wisconsin (June 30, 1989) ................ 15a

Order of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Seventh Circuit Denying Petition for

Rehearing (November 21, 1990)................. 145a

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

FEDERAL Cases

Afran Transport Co. v. S/T Maria Venizelos, 450

F.Supp. 621 (B.D. Pa. 1976) ..... 6s ccscccseneces

Allied Chemical Corp. v. Hess Tankship Co. of Dela-

ware, 661 F.2d 1044 (5th Cir. 1981).............

Anderson v. Bessemer City, 470 U.S. 564 (1985)

Pins sau nwn dies RODEN RRR ET RS SU eeeee 13, 14, 15,

Boudoin v. ]. Ray McDermott & Co., 281 F.2d 81 (Sth

Ce Wee caved ckecuc cuee ke coke ee

Bremmer v. Shedd, 467 F.Supp. 261 (W.D. Pa. 1979)...

Bunge Co. v. M/V Furness Bridge, 558 F.2d 790 (Sth

Cir.) cert. denied 435 U.S. 924 (1977)............

Canal Barge Inc. v. China Ocean Shipping Co., 770

oe Bk A Be arr re rr rry Tere

Chris-Craft Industries, Inc. v. Piper Aircraft Corp.,

516 F2d 172 (2d Cir. 1975) (en banc), rev'd on

other grounds, 430 U.S. 1, reh’g denied, 430 US.

GEO COUN <4 Saw donc 0ns sun encaeeeulanseeneekees

Complaint of B.F.T. No. Two Corp., 433 FSupp. 854

Rs PTT re ee eee

Complaint of Flota Mercante Grancolombiana, S.A.,

440 FSupp. 704 (S.D. N.Y. 1977) ...............

Complaint of Interstate Towing Co., 717 F.2d 752 (2d

GOR TOE 6 6 diss c<ccdk nen Guede aac enean wee ea nens

Dagnello v. Long Island R.R. Co.. 289 F.2d 797 (2d

Ce WES vc bub dum ue $60044 56580 Dee

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Dale Benz, Inc. Contractors v. American Casualty Co.,

ay fo 8 8 | | Ley Terre reer 22

Ente Nazionala Per L’Energia Electtrica v. Baliwag

Nav. Inc., 774 F.2d 648 (4th Cir. 1985)............. 12

Felder v. United States, 543 F.2d 657 (9th Cir. 1976) .15, 22

Gele v. Wilson, 616 F.2d 146 (5th Cir. 1980).......... 25

Getty Oil Co. (Eastern Operations) Inc. v. SS Ponce

DeLeon, 555 F.2d 328 (2d Cir. 1977) ............ 12, 25

Harbor Tug & Barge, Inc. v. Belcher Towing Co., 733

Pe Ge CUCU GEO s soca canncceanecsavanns 12, 25

Hellenic Lines v. Prudential Lines, Inc., 813 F.2d 634

Gee Sa ND ra 6 ee nek Kha saxa neceakeueeesdadaswn 19

Helvering v. Gowran, 302 U.S. 238 (1937)............. 14

Icicle Seafoods, Inc. v. Worthington, 475 U.S. 709

i ee ery were ee ETO ree er eee 14, 15

In re White Cloud Charter Boat Co., Inc., 813 F.2d

SO CE I I occ ck kb bh yun achesebesdenbebess 12

Inland Oil and Transport Co. v. Ark-White Towing

Co., 696 F2d 321 (5th Cir. 1983) ...... rier rere 25

Landau v. ].D. Barter Const. Co., 657 F.2d 158 (7th

St MED «6a kortin 0 Goh ca vi uaa es Ne kas Ce eRS URES ey

McAllister v. United States, 348 U.S. 19 (1954)..... 11, 12

Mitchell v. Evelyn C. Brown, Inc., 310 F.2d 420 (1st

Le SE Sa choi gsinn spn akeuehwhn Ges ee penn iaeeares

viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES —- Continued

Page

Petition of United States Steel Corp., 479 F.2d 489

(6th Cir.), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 859 (1973)...... t.. a0

Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Stokes Oil Co., 863 F.2d

Se IE I a sob deoaC SES OSA sey eeeedeecess 12

Portacci v. Moran Towing & Transport Co., 615 F.2d

ee NE Nok hao be es eneh en ennnn deh accbacks 25

Pullman-Standard v. Swint, 456 U.S. 273 (1982) ..12, 14, 15

Red Star Towing & Transport Co., Inc. v. “Ming

Giant”, 552 F.Supp. 367 (S.D. N.Y. 1983)........... 25

SCNO Barge Lines, Inc. v. Sun Transp. Co., 775 F.2d

ee Se I Sas cc w ib Sanka wk asks n ae Cake soos 12

Securities & Exchange Commission v. Chenery Corp.,

ey: Oe EE vn Oa Vy nannies SMMC UNE eee as 2 14

Simpson v. United States, 322 F.2d 688 (5th Cir.

NCR eT HAA TREMOR CELE Cas PTE Kaka ek es 22

Trade Banner Lines v. Caribbean Steamship Co., 521

Fe Sr TE OE cra hd Nb pea KEKE OS Checee ews 28

United States v. Carroll Towing Co., 159 F.2d 169 (2d

Cir. 1947)

United States v. Johnston, 268 U.S. 220 (1925)......... 23

United States v. Reliable Transfer, 421 U.S. 397 (1975)

NSSA Chane avast eReAd ee eee aes Makes 19, 24, 25, 26, 27

United States Fidelity & Guaranty Co. v. Jadranska

Slobodna Plovidba, 683 F.2d 1022 (7th Cir. 1982) .... 27

Wainwright v. Sykes, 422 U.S. 72 (1977) .............. 13

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Unitep States Cope

ei | RN er err rer eer yr se 2

OP ae PIU Ss 0 04 S45 GN A5A chads 5 ba seeeusan 2, 4

ea SEL aa AS ANA ces keew esas cinch etsientaes 2,4

Be RAs a kor cineencens LUER NNER COREE SENS ONG 15

FEDERAL RULES OF CiviL PROCEDURE

kT er Pe Tree PTT eT ee ee Pe Te ere eye 12

a rr Pann were es at ena Ce se rea tes a! 3

NE aa hens egncelurss cis eaesnueeeeethaaees veer 3

a 8 SE ere ee er a ta, 13, 14, 3, &

gf SPEC TET E TIE TEL ee eA TR Te ee ETS 3

Pe IEE ss 05:6 FA CONUE Ag Cie CORO e he eee hea Rees 12

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Abston and Kunz, Collision Survey 1988: Survey of

Reported Collision Decisions in the Federal Courts,

ED WAM. DUG, Cid. Gee CUS osc cscs cescsssences 19, 26

6 M. Cohen, Benedict on Admiralty, Doc. No. 3-2

Pee Ae Is ceed caves sa caic cc tae sc eeue wes s 26

Brussels Collision Liability Convention of 1910,

oR Perry ny Trae yn ae Pr a errr: 26

11 C. Wright & A. Miller, Federal Practice and Pro-

CRI Te Oy Se PUES bv ay os cides cceseaeca ds 20

No.

La

—

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1990

CITY OF MILWAUKEE,

y, Petitioner,

CEMENT DIVISION, NATIONAL GYPSUM

COMPANY, et al.,

Respondents.

y

—_r

Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Seventh Circuit

>

is

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

— *

vw

The petitioner, City of Milwaukee, respectfully prays

that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment and

opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the Sev-

enth Circuit entered in the above-entitled proceeding on

October 16, 1990.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Seventh

Circuit is reported at 915 F2d 1154 (7th Cir. 1990), and is

reprinted in the appendix hereto. [1a]

1

2 |

The memorandum decision and order of the United |

States District Court for the Eastern District of Wisconsin

(Curran, D.J.) has not been reported. It is reprinted in the

appendix hereto. [15a]

,%

—_

JURISDICTION

Invoking federal jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1333,

the respondents brought this suit in admiralty in the

Eastern District of Wisconsin. The Eastern District bifur-

cated the trial of liability and damages. On June 30, 1989,

the Eastern District, after the issue of liability was tried to

the court, issued a decision and order which held that

both petitioner and respondents were negligent and con-

tributorily negligent and apportioned fault 96 percent

against the respondents and four percent against the

petitioner. [15a]

Respondents appealed the decision of the Eastern “a;

District to the Seventh Circuit under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1292(a)(3). On October 16, 1990, the Seventh Circuit

entered an opinion and judgment reversing the Eastern

District’s allocation and reapportioned fault two-thirds

against the respondents and one-third against the peti-

tioner. [la] The petitioner filed a petition for rehearing en

banc, which was denied by the Seventh Circuit on

Nevember 21, 1990. [145a]

The jurisdiction of this Court to review the judgment

of the Seventh Circuit is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1).

.

3

STATUTES INVOLVED

Fed. R. Civ. P. 52(a) Findings by the Court

(a) Effect. In all actions tried upon the facts without

a jury or with an advisory jury, the court shall find the

facts specially and state separately its conclusions of law

thereon, and judgment shall be entered pursuant to Rule

58; and in granting or refusing interlocutory injunctions

the court shall similarly set forth the findings of fact and

conclusions of law which constitute the grounds of its

action. Requests for findings are not necessary for pur-

poses of review. Findings of fact, whether based on oral

or documentary evidence, shall not be set aside unless

cleariy erroneous, and due regard shall be given to the

opportunity of the trial court to judge of the credibility of

the witnesses. The findings of a master, to the extent that

the court adopts them, shall be considered as the findings

of the court. It will be sufficient if the findings of fact and

conclusions of law are stated orally and recorded in open

court following the close of the evidence or appear in an

opinion or memorandum of decision filed by the court.

Findings of fact and conclusions of law are unnecessary

on decisions of motions under Rules 12 or 56 or any other

motion except as provided in Rule 41(b).

y%

vr

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On December 24, 1979, the SS EM FORD, loaded with

5,700 tons of cement, was moored in a slip in Mil-

waukee’s outer harbor on southern Lake Michigan. In the

course of a severe northeasterly winter storm, the FORD,

over a twelve-hour period, broke loose from its moorings,

4

4

battered_against the headwall of the slip, tore holes in its

hull, took on water and sank to the bottom of the slip.

The owners of the vessel, National Gypsum, and its

insurers brought this suit in admiralty pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 1333 against the City seeking $6.5 million in

damages. The suit alleged, among other things, that the

City had negligently breached its duty as a wharfinger by

failing to warn National Gypsum of a hidden danger in

the berthing slip. The City denied fault and alleged in its

counterclaim that National Gypsum was negligent in

leaving the FORD moored in an outer harbor slip in

winter virtually unmanned, and with no means of mon-

itoring weather or summoning tugs or a pilot for assis-

tance. The City sought to recover $250,000 for damages

caused by the vessel crashing against the dock walls.

The trial was bifurcated, with the liability portion

tried to the District Court without a jury. The District

Court, in a 140-page opinion, found both National Gyp-

sum and the City negligent and contributorily negligent,

and found National Gypsum 96 percent at fault and the

City 4 percent at fault.

National Gypsum, by means of an interlocutory

appeal pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1292(a)(2), appealed that

portion of the District Court’s decision apportioning fault

96/4 as well as a separate issue. The Seventh Circuit, in a

2'/2 page discussion in its eleven-page opinion, held that

the District Court’s apportionment of fault was clearly

erroneous and reapportioned fault two-thirds upon

National Gypsum and one-third upon the City. This

eigl t-fold increase of the City’s fault increased the City’s

potential liability from a range of approximately $0 to

$40,000 to a range of approximately $2 million to $4

5

million, depending upon how the unresolved damages

issues will be decided.

The District Court found the facts to be as follows.

Upon the FORD’s arrival in Milwaukee’s outer harbor on

December 21, 1979, its captain, Captain Patrick Gallagher,

contacted the City’s dock superintendent, Stanley Blawas,

by radio-telephone. Captain Gallagher notified Blawas

that the FORD was instructed to lay up for the winter

beginning on December 23, 1979 at National Gypsum’s

terminal located in the City’s inner harbor. Because

National Gypsum’s terminal was unavailable to the

FORD for the next three days, Blawas offered the captain

a berth at South Slip No. 1 in the outer harbor for a

temporary tie-up. Blawas told the captain that it would

be easier for the FORD to maneuver in and out of that

slip. The captain accepted the slip without making any

inquiry as to its safety and moored the vessel bow in,

starboard side to the dock. [33a-34a]

The next morning, December 22nd, National Gypsum

changed the FORD’s orders and instructed the captain to

leave the vessel berthed in the outer harbor, to discharge

its officers and crew for the holidays, and then to order

their return after Christmas to make one more voyage

before returning to Milwaukee for its winter lay-up. [40a]

Captain Gallagher did not inform the City of this change

in the FORD’s plans. [100a] However, when Blawas hap-

pened to be on the vessel later that day on other business,

the captain did inform Blawas that the FORD would need

to tie up for a number of days and that part of the crew

would be leaving for the holidays. Blawas then told the

captain that the outer harbor could get “heavy” in a

storm; Blawas added that the waves in the slip were

generally one to two feet. [41a] Blawas offered the captain

6

a more sheltered inner harbor berth, which the captain

rejected because the crew had already begun to double

the lines and moving the ship would have cost time and

money. [42a, 101a] Later on the 22nd, the captain dis-

charged the entire crew, but left aboard five crewmen

who agreed to stay as shipkeepers. [42a-43a] Before his

own departure, he also shut down the ship’s radio-tele-

phone as well as the radio which would normally receive

weather reports. [44a-45a]

Although the National Weather Service broadcast

weather forecasts for the port area on December 23rd and

24th, which gave clear warning of the severity and direc-

tion of the approaching storm, no one on the FORD had

been assigned to monitor the weather. At 7:00 A.M. on

December 24th, the United States Coast Guard posted

gale warnings for southern Lake Michigan. None of those

aboard the vessel had heard the forecasts or knew of the

warning. [45a-50a] At approximately 1:00 P.M. on Decem-

ber 24th, a crew member noticed that the FORD was 10 to

15 feet off the dock at the stern and the wind velocity and

wave height had increased markedly; the boarding lad-

der, now off the dock, was then brought on board. After

unsuccessful efforts to tie up the vessel, tugs arrived at

4:00 P.M., but could not help because there was no pilot

aboard the FORD. Tugs returned at 6:00 P.M., but could

not contact the ship by radio. [51a-53a]

A licensed pilot did arrive at 5:30 P.M., saw that the

bow of the ship was pounding against the headwall, and

jumped aboard the FORD, along with three others, to

prepare it to be towed from the slip. At 8:00 P.M., the

pilot successfully summoned tugs, but by that time the

FORD’s rolling actions were too severe and attempts to

remoor the vessel proved unsuccessful. At 11:00 P.M., the

7

pilot found that the ship was taking on water; near mid-

night the ship was abandoned by all hands. That night

the ship sank to the bottom of the slip. [53a-55a]

The District Court found the City negligent in not

adequately warning National Gypsum that wind and

wave conditions could develop in the slip occupied by

the FORD that would endanger the vessel. Moreover,

although the City did not know that the captain planned

to discharge virtually the entire crew, the District Court

found that the City failed to solicit sufficient information

from the captain to decide either to order the vessel to

remain manned while tied up or to move off the berth.

[57a-58a, 102a-103a]

The District Court found the shipowner negligent

because: (1) National Gypsum knew from regulations

published earlier by a marine insurance association that

Milwaukee’s outer harbor was not a safe location to leave

a vessel moored in winter without a crew, [37a-38a, 131a]

(2) it had been specifically warned by a marine surveyor

two weeks before the sinking that Milwaukee’s outer

harbor was subject to heavy surge in northeasterly winds,

[31a-32a] and (3) its captain had been warned by the City

that the weather could get “heavy” in the outer harbor.

[41a] Despite this knowledge, the District Court found

that National Gypsum had failed to follow prudent mar-

itime practices in three significant respects. First,

National Gypsum failed to man the FORD with a captain

or licensed pilot and sufficient crew to operate the vessel;

as a consequence, the FORD could not be moved out of

the slip, either by its own power or with assistance of

tugs once gale warnings were issued early in the day or

later in the day when her lines began to part. [58a,

126a-127a] Second, National Gypsum failed to monitor

8

the weather; as a consequence, no one on the vessel heard

the weather forecasts indicating that gale conditions were

developing on southern Lake Michigan. [59a, 127a-128a]

Third, National Gypsum failed to provide those on board

with ship-to-shore communications; as a consequence,

they did not learn of the i.npending storm until the ship

moved away from the dock, and, once the ship did move

away from the dock, they could not effectively summon

help. [128a]

The District Court held that fault should be appor-

tioned in accordance with the relative culpability of the

parties and found that National Gypsum had to bear a far

greater share of the fault for the casualty than the City.

[135a] National Gypsum, the District Court found, consis-

tently chose a course of action that would save it time

and money, even at the cost of risk to its vessel.

[135a-137a] The District Court found a great disparity in

culpability because: (1) the disparity in tasks and duties

imposed by law on a shipowner is far greater than those

imposed on a wharfinger, (2) the shipowner remained in

complete custody and control of the vessel and, therefore,

bore the ultimate responsibility for ensuring her safety,

and (3) the potential for suffering a large loss was fore-

seeable to the shipowner because of the large cost of the

property — the ship and the cargo — the shipowner had at

risk. [138a-139a]

The Seventh Circuit did not find any particular find-

ing of fact or conclusion of law relied upon by the District

Court in apportioning fault to be erroneous. It described

the District Court’s decision as “thorough and largely

well-reasoned” and “basically correct;” nevertheless, the

Seventh Circuit held that the District Court’s apportion-

ment of fault was clearly erroneous. The Seventh Circuit

9

apparently believed that the District Court might have

apportioned fault in proportion to the alleged value of

the property each party had at risk. The Seventh Circuit

based this conclusion upon a single sentence of the Dis-

trict Court’s 140-page opinion that the potential of the

shipowner incurring a large loss was foreseeable because

of the value of the property it had at risk, and upon its

observation that the District Court’s apportionment of

fault ratio was approximately the same as the ratio of the

amount of damages alleged in the pleadings. The Seventh

Circuit stated that the District Court’s “calculations, how-

ever they were arrived at” left it with a “definite and firm

conviction that a mistake had been committed.” It held

that it could not accept the District Court’s apportion-

ment because either the District Court had considered the

value of the respective property at risk, or the District

Court had failed to adequately explain in its decision how

it had arrived at the apportionment of fault. [10a-11a]

Rather than remand the case to the District Court

either to clarify its opinion or to reapportion fault consis-

tent with the Seventh Circuit’s opinion, the appellate

court decided to reapportion fault based upon the record

before it. In doing so, it focused on isolated facts, while

not accepting the District Court’s evaluation of the entire

record. Rather than accept the District Court’s finding

that the City had inadequately warned the FORD, the

Seventh Circuit found that the City had failed to warn the

FORD or National Gypsum of any possible danger to the

FORD. [4a] The Seventh Circuit also found that the

FORD’s captain had informed Blawas that “most of the

crew would be gone until December 26th or 27th, but that

a skeleton crew would be left aboard the FORD during

the interim.” [4a-5a] This finding charged the City with

10

greater knowledge than that found by the District Court,

which had found that the captain of the FORD told

Blawas only that “part of the crew would go home for the

holiday.” [41a] In addition, the Seventh Circuit appar-

ently afforded other significant findings of the District

Court less weight than the District Court provided in its

decision. [3a-4a]

The Seventh Circuit then applied a new standard of

measure of liability to a maritime case. “The doctrine of

comparative negligence” the court announced “is gener-

ally supposed to be used to assess liability in proportion

to the cost of avoiding the entire accident to each side.”

[1la] The City could have told the captain more about

possible wave conditions in the slip and could also have

asked the captain more searching questions about his lay-

up plans at no cost, and because the captain could have

undertaken some investigation on his own or could have

questioned Blawas more closely at no cost, the Seventh

Circuit concluded that no reasonable trier of fact could

apportion more than two-thirds of liability to National

Gypsum. Although the Seventh Circuit apparently found

the “cost of avoidance” to be equal, it concluded that

National Gypsum must bear a greater share of the fault

than the City because a captain is ultimately responsible

for his ship and, in this case the captain had left the

FORD “a sitting duck.” On this basis the Seventh Circuit

reapportioned fault two-thirds upon National Gypsum

and one-third upon the City. [11a-12a]

La

4

11

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. The Seventh Circuit’s Unauthorized Finding of Fact

and Reapportionment of Fault on Appeal (1) Con-

flicts with Decisions of this Court, and (2) Deprives

the Petitioner of an Appeal as a Matter of Right.

In violation of a rule this Court has described as

“elementary,” proceeding in a fashion this Court has

described as “incredible,” in direct conflict with three

recent decisions of this Court, without statutory author-

ity, and without hearing the key testimony it relied upon,

the Seventh Circuit appropriated from the District Court

the task of finding the facts in this case. This appropria-

tion has resulted in a decision that was not only rendered

without lawful authority, but also is erroneous and unjust

in result. As a consequence, the City, burdened with a

judgment that will cost it millions of dollars, has in effect

been deprived of the right to appeal an erroneous finding

of fact to a higher court. This unauthorized, drastic and

unjust reordering of the federal judicial process deserves

this Court’s attention.

A. The Seventh Circuit’s Decision Conflicts with

Decisions of This Court and its Ruling Exceeds

its Appellate Authority.

It is not disputed that an apportionment of ‘ault in an

admiralty case is a finding of fact and not a conclusion of

law. This Court held in McAllister v. United States, 348

U.S. 19 (1954), that a finding of negligence in an admi-

ralty case tried to the court is a finding of fact that must

be reviewed under the “clearly erroneous” standard. Id.

12

at 20.1 Accordingly, the “clearly erroneous” standard of

review is applied to an admiralty court’s apportionment

of fault in accordance with comparative negligence prin-

ciples in collision (two or more moving vessels) or alli-

sion (involving fixed objects) cases in all circuits that

have considered the issue.?

In three unequivocal decisions, this Court has held

that federal appellate courts, in reviewing a district

court’s decision pursuant to Rule 52(a), should not make

factual findings on their own. In Pullman-Standard v.

Swint, 456 U.S. 273 (1982), this Court held that findings of

“ultimate fact” - in that case a finding of discrimination -

are subject to review under the “clearly erroneous” stan-

dard of Rule 52(a), and, accordingly, appellate courts are

without authority to make independent findings of “ulti-

mate fact,” even if the “ultimate fact” found is based

upon subsidiary facts found by the district court. Id. at

1 Prior to the decision of this Court in McAllister v. United

States, 348 U.S. 19 (1954), federal appellate courts had the

power to conduct de novo reviews in admiralty cases. In 1966,

the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure were made applicable to

admiralty cases, except for prize proceedings. Fed. R. Civ. P. 1,

81(a)(1).

2 See, e.g, Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Stokes Oil Co., Inc., 863

F.2d 1250 (6th Cir. 1988); In re White Cloud Charter Boat Co., Inc.,

813 F.2d 1513 (9th Cir. 1987); SCNO Barge Lines, Inc. v. Sun

Transp. Co., 775 F.2d 221 (8th Cir. 1985); Ente Nazionala Per

L’Energia Electtrica v. Baliwag Nav. Inc., 774 F.2d 648 (4th Cir.

1985); Canal Barge Inc. v. China Ocean Shipping Co., 770 F.2d

1357 (Sth Cir. 1985); Harbor Tug & Barge, Inc. v. Belcher Towing

Co., 733 F.2d 823 (11th Cir. 1984); Getty Oil Co. (Eastern Opera-

tions) Inc. v. SS Ponce DeLeon, 555 F.2d 328 (2d Cir. 1977). The

Seventh Circuit acknowledged that it was bound by the

“clearly erroneous” standard of review in this case. [10a]

i?

285-87. As a consequence, in cases where a district court

has failed to make a finding because of an erroneous view

of the law, or where the findings are infirm because of an

erroneous view of the law, “a remand is the proper course

unless the record permits only one resolution of the fac-

tual issue.” Id. at 292. All this, the Court noted “is ele-

mentary.” Id. at 293. For an appellate court to proceed to

make its own finding of ultimate fact, as the Seventh

Circuit did in this case by its reapportionment of fault,

was described by this Court as “incredible.” Id. at 293.

The rationale for the limited review permitted under

Rule 52(a) was stated by this Court in Anderson v.

Bessemer City, 470 U.S. 564 (1985):

The rationale for deference to the original

finder of fact is not limited to the superiority of

the trial judge’s position to make determinations

of credibility. The trial judge’s major role is the

determination of fact, and with experience in

fulfilling that role comes expertise. Duplication

of the trial judge’s efforts in the court of appeals

would very likely contribute only negligibly to

the accuracy of fact determination at a huge cost

in diversion of judicial resources. In addition,

the parties to a case on appeal have already

been forced to concentrate their energies and

resources On persuading the triai judge that

their account of the facts is the correct one;

requiring them to persuade three more judges at

the appellate level is requiring too much. As the

Court has stated in a different context, the

trial on the merits should be “the ‘main

event’ .. . rather than a ‘tryout on the road.’ ”

Wainwright v. Sykes, 422 U.S. 72, 90, 53 L.Ed. 2d

594, 97 S.Ct. 2497 (1977).

Id. at 574-75. In Anderson this Court held that the Fourth

Circuit erred when it did not limit its review to a deter-

mination of whether the district court’s findings were

14

clearly erroneous, but instead made findings of fact on its

own by drawing factual conclusions from both the facts

found by the district court and from its own interpreta-

tion of the testimony.

In Icicle Seafoods, Inc. v. Worthington, 475 U.S. 709

(1986), this Court held unequivocally that a federal appel-

late court in reviewing a district court’s decision pur-

suant to Rule 52(a) should not make factual findings on

its own. This Court stated:

If the Court of Appeals believed that the District

Court had failed to make findings of fact essential

to a proper resolution of the legal question, it

should have remanded to the District Court to

make those findings. If it was of the view that the

findings of the District Court were “clearly erro-

neous” within the meaning of Rule 52(a), it could

have set them aside on that basis. If it believed that

the District Court’s factual findings were unassail-

able, but that the proper rule of law was misap-

plied to those findings, it couid have reversed the

District Court’s judgment. But it should not simply

have made factual findings on its own.

Id. at 714.

Had the Seventh Circuit followed the decisions of

this Court in Pullman-Standard, Anderson, and Icicle Sea-

foods, it would have reviewed the record as a whole to

determine if the allocation of fault was clearly erro-

neous.? If it concluded that the apportionment was

3 Review of the whole record is required even if the district

court relied upon a wrong ground in arriving at its decision,

because that alone does not justify reversal. It is a settled rule of

law that in reviewing a decision of a lower court, the appellate

court must affirm if the result is correct, “although the lower court

relied upon a wrong ground or gave a wrong reason.” Securities &

Exchange Commission v. Chenery Corp., 318 U.S. 80, 88 (1943) (quot-

ing, Helvering v. Gowran, 302 U.S. 238, 245 (1937)).

15

clearly erroneous, it should have remanded the case to

the District Court for reapportionment in light of its

decision. If the Seventh Circuit could not determine the

basis of the District Court’s decision, then it should have

remanded the case for clarification. Landau v. ].D. Barter

Const. Co., 657 F.2d 158, 164 n.12 (7th Cir. 1981). Instead,

the Seventh Circuit, after deciding the District Court

might have applied an incorrect legal standard, pro-

ceeded to decide the case itself by engaging in the kind of

fact finding this Court held in Pullman-Standard, Ander-

son, and Icicle Seafoods, that circuit courts are without

authority to do.* The Seventh Circuit reached into the

record to find facts different from those found by the

District Court, placed less weight on certain facts found

by the District Court, weighed all the evidence in accor-

dance with a new standard of measure, and indepen-

dently made the “ultimate finding” in the case: the

apportionment of fault.

In reviewing the conversation that was the basis for

the finding of liability against the City, the Seventh Cir-

cuit, without specifically finding it to be “clearly erro-

neous,” ignored the District Court’s finding that Blawas

“warned that the outer harbor could get ‘heavy’ if a

storm came up.” [41a] Instead, the Seventh Circuit, rely-

ing upon its own interpretation of the transcript, found

4 Title 28 U.S.C. § 2106, empowering the federal appellate

courts to modify judgments, decrees, and orders of the lower

courts does not empower them to exercise authority in the

course of a Rule 52(a) review beyond the limits defined in Rule

52(a). Felder v. United States, 543 F.2d 657, 671 (9th Cir. 1976).

Otherwise, the appellate courts in Pullman-Standard, Anderson,

and Icicle Seafoods would have had free reign to decide the

cases as they did.

16

that “the City failed to warn” the FORD or National

Gypsum of “any possible danger to the FORD.” [4a] In

interpreting Blawas’ testimony, the Seventh Circuit

apparently gave no credence to the testimony of an

impartial witness, Walter Heckl, who described the con-

versation as a warning and whose testimony was found

to be credible and relied upon by the District Court.

[101a] Instead, the Seventh Circuit gave greater weight to

what Blawas might have meant when he told the captain

that waves in the outer harbor could “get a little rough.”

In addition, the Seventh Circuit considered the conversa-

tion in an isolated fashion and, not, as the District Court,

in the context of the record as a whole.> [5a]

The Seventh Circuit found that on the morning of

December 22, 1979, the captain of the FORD informed

Blawas that “most of the crew would be gone until

December 26th or 27th, but that a skeleton crew would be

left aboard the FORD during the interim.” [4a-5a] In

contrast, the District Court found that the captain of the

FORD stated only that “part of the crew would go home

for the holiday.” [41a] The Seventh Circuit’s finding

charged the City with greater knowledge of the make-up

of the remaining crew than found by the District Court,

which specifically found that the City was not fully

informed of the undermanning of the FORD when it

noted that “unbeknownest [sic] to the City - the entire

> The captain did not call Blawas to the ship; Blawas was

on the ship by chance on other business. [41a, 100a] Blawas

testified that the captain called Blawas forward to discuss

access to shore power; the discussion of weather was an aside.

The captain was anxious to go home for the holidays. [40a] He

was unreceptive to the “heavy” weather warning and did not

question Blawas further. [101a]

Ee

17

crew was being discharged and the captain was going on

vacation.” [100a-101a, n.29] Yet the Seventh Circuit did

not find the District Court’s finding on this point to be

clearly erroneous.

In reference to other significant findings of the Dis-

trict Court, the Seventh Circuit did not find any to be

clearly erroneous, but apparently gave them less weight

than did the District Court. The District Court found (1)

that the FORD’s captain “knew or should have known of

any dangers which could have developed due to wind

and wave action” in Milwaukee’s outer harbor and South

Slip No. 1 due to his training and experience as a Great

Lakes ship master and his experience with similar har-

bors [36a], (2) that it was “open and obvious” that the slip

had little breakwall protection from wave action from the

northeast, [37a], (3) that National Gypsum knew that

Milwaukee’s outer harbor was not a safe location to leave

a vessel moored in winter without a crew [37a-38a, 131a],

and (4) that National Gypsum was specifically warned of

the danger in reference to the mooring of the FORD at

that location. [31a-32a] The Seventh Circuit’s watered-

down descriptions of these District Court findings indi-

cate that the Seventh Circuit placed less weight on them

than did the District Court. In describing these findings,

the Seventh Circuit stated that National Gypsum was

“aware” of the regulations that prohibited winter moor-

ing in Milwaukee’s outer harbor because of the dangers

of wave surges from northeasterly winds, that National

Gypsum had been “informed” in December of 1979 that

ships berthed in Milwaukee’s outer harbor were subject

to heavy surges during storms with northeasterly winds,

and that the District Court “thought” that the FORD’s

captain could have predicted the possibility of wave

18

surges based on the construction of the berth and his

experience in general. [3a-4a]

The Seventh Circuit then, in order to apportion fault,

weighed the evidence in accordance with its own pre-

cepts. Rather than apportion fault solely on culpability,

the Seventh Circuit initially apportioned fault based upon

the “cost of avoidance” to each party. It concluded that

the “cost of avoidance” was the same for each party

because both the City and the captain could have avoided

the entire accident by being more fo~thright and asking

more questions. Nevertheless, the Seventh Circuit agreed

with the District Court that National Gypsum must bear

more fault than the City because its captain was ulti-

mately responsible for the ship and he had left it “a

sitting duck.” Based upon these precepts and the facts as

found by the Seventh Circuit, it apportioned fault two-

thirds upon National Gypsum and one-third upon the

City. [11a-12a]

The Seventh Circuit apparently believed that it had

authority to reapportion fault itself rather than remand

the case to the District Court for a redetermination of

fault because (1) “on the facts of this case, no reasonable

trier of fact could apportion more than two-thirds of the

liability to National Gypsum,” (2) “the trier of fact dis-

played a willingness to apportion at least this much of the

award to National Gypsum,” and (3) its decision “merely

confine[d] the decision of the district judge to the upper

limit of his discretion.” [12a-13a]

The rationale stated by the Seventh Circuit does not

withstand either legal or logical scrutiny. Although it

cited no authority in support of its rationale, the Seventh

Circuit’s statements are an apparent reference to cases

where an appellate court appropriately may exercise its

19

authority to reduce or increase damages awarded by a

district court. The Seventh Circuit apparently relied

6 Since this Court adopted the pure comparative negli-

gence rule in admiralty in United States v Reliable Transfer, 421

U.S. 397 (1975), only one other federal circuit court has reap-

portioned fault on appeal, Hellenic Lines Ltd. v. Prudential Lines,

Inc., 813 F.2d 634 (4th Cir. 1987). In all other cases, the appel-

late courts either affirmed the apportionment of fault or, if they

found it to be in error, remanded the case to the district court

to reapportion fault. Abston and Kunz, Collision Survey 1988:

Survey of Reported Collision Decisions in the Federal Courts, 13

Tul. Mar. L.J. 355 (1989).

In Hellenic Lines, the Fourth Circuit reversed the district

court’s allocation of fault and reapportioned fault on appeal.

The decision does not provide well-reasoned precedent for the

Seventh Circuit’s decision because the Fourth Circuit in reap-

portioning fault relied upon its authority to decrease or

increase the amount of damages awarded by the trial court. Id.

at 638. As pointed out in this petition, the appellate authority

to decrease or increase damages does not legally or logically

include the authority to apportion fault on appeal. See infra pp.

20-22. Of particular significance is the Fourth Circuit’s mis-

placed reliance upon Chris-Craft Industries, Inc. v. Piper Aircraft

Corp., 516 F.2d 172 (2d Cir. 1975) (en banc), rev'd on other

grounds, 430 U.S. 1, reh’g denied, 430 U.S. 976 (1976). In that case

the Second Circuit held that it had the authority to modify the

judgment to increase the award of compensatory damages

because (1) the critical evidence was largely documentary, id. at

186, and (2) the court could do so without having to evaluate

the testimony of witnesses. Id. at 186 n.16. Neither justification

cited by the Fourth Circuit applies in this case because (1) Rule

52(a) was amended after Chris-Craft Industries was decided,

thereafter providing that findings of fact based upon documen-

tary evidence must be reviewed in accordance with the same

“clearly erroneous” standard applied to findings of fact based

upon oral testimony, and (2) the Seventh Circuit in this case,

unlike the Fourth Circuit in Chris-Craft Industries, had to evalu-

ate oral testimony, rather than documentary evidence, to

apportion fault.

20

upon that authority, although in this case damages had

not yet been tried.

The authority of federal appellate courts to decrease

the amount of damages awarded below does not include

the authority to apportion fault because apportionment of

fault is a question of fact, whereas the question of

whether damages are excessive is a question of law. Dag-

nello v. Long Island R.R. Co., 289 F.2d 797, 806 (2d Cir.

1961); See generally 11 C. Wright & A. Miller, Federal

Practice and Procedure: Civil § 2820 (1973). Because of this,

an appellate court that concludes that damages awarded

by a trial judge are excessive cannot exercise its indepen-

dent judgment and reduce the award to a level it believes

to be appropriate, but can only reduce the damages to a

level that would not have mandated reversal had the trial

court awarded that amount of damages originally. Peti-

tion of United States Steel Corp., 479 F.2d 489, 501 (6th Cir.),

cert. denied, 414 U.S. 859 (1973). The reduction permitted

is not the result of a reweighing of the evidence, but the

result of the court’s legal conclusion that the awarding of

the “excessive” portion of damages was erroneous. That

portion of the damage award found not to be legally

excessive is a finding of fact of the lower court, not the

appellate court.

In this case, the Seventh Circuit’s finding of 33'/s

percent fault against the City has no basis in the findings

of the District Court. The District Court apportioned fault

96/4 and the appellate court 667/3/33'/3. Although the

District Court displayed a willingness to apportion at

least 667/3 percent against National Gypsum [because 96

is greater than 66?/s], the District Court did not display a

similar willingness to apportion 331/3 percent against the

City. The additional 29 percent of fault attributed to the

21

City by the Seventh Circuit was a finding of fact made by ~

the appellate court alone. The Seventh Circuit’s conclu-

sion that 331/3 percent against the City represents the

upper limit of the court’s discretion is not rooted in, or in

any way supported by, the finding of 4 percent made by

the District Court. Reapportionment of fault on appeal,

unlike the reduction of damages found to be excessive, by

its very nature creates a gap between the degree of fault

found below and the degree of fault found on appeal in

reference to one of the parties, in this case, the City.

In spite of the statement by the Seventh Circuit that

“no reasonable trier of fact could apportion more than

two-thirds of the liability to National Gypsum,” it cannot

be seriously argued that the Seventh Circuit’s allocation

is the only allocation permitted by the record. Had the

District Court apportioned fault 90/10, or 85/15, or

80/20, it is doubtful that the Seventh Circuit would have

found the District Court’s apportionment clearly erro-

neous based upon the reasons the Seventh Circuit stated

in its decision. To state that no reasonable trier of fact

could apportion fault differently than the appellate court

did in this case is simply to find facts under the rubric of

a conclusion of law and to ascribe to the process of

apportioning fault a degree of precision that does not

exist. In certain circumstances, a record does compel one

conclusion only. For example, if an appellate court con-

cludes that a finding of discrimination is clearly erro-

neous, then a finding of no discrimination logically

follows, and it is of little consequence if the judgment is

entered by the appellate court or the district court.

Apparently, it is the Seventh Circuit’s position that 667/3

/33'/3 is the opposite of 96/4 as a matter of law.

22

The rationale employed to permit appellate courts to

increase damages under limited circumstances is equally

inapplicable to the reapportionment of fault. When appel-

late courts have increased damages, they have done so

only when they were certain that they were not under-

mining the integrity of the trial process. For example, in

Simpson v. United States, 322 F.2d 688 (5th Cir. 1963), the

court increased the damages when it found that “there

are firm guidelines establishing the basic elements of the

award and it can be computed with some degree of

certainty as easily by the appellate court as by the trial

judge ...” Id. at 693. In Dale Benz, Inc. Contractors v.

American Casualty Co., 303 F.2d 80 (9th Cir. 1962), the

court increased the damages where it was “in as good a

position to determine the issues involved on the record

before us as would be the trial judge on remand,” and the

“issues arise out of and are concerned with figures and

arithmetical calculations.” Id. at 82. In Felder v. United

States, 543 F.2d 657, 671 (9th Cir. 1976), the court confined

its modification to a recalculation of damages under cir-

cumstances where most of the changes made involved

arithmetic calculations that the appellate court could per-

form as easily as the trial court.

A finding apportioning fault, unlike a damage

award, has no quantifiable component readily subject to

recalculation, but is dependent upon the application of

law to facts which are as rich and diverse as human

experience. This exercise of judgment is more accurately

done by the trier of fact because “[c]old records rarely

reflect the look, the touch or the feel of the witness... . ”

Mitchell v. Evelyn C. Brown, Inc., 310 F.2d 420, 425 (1st Cir.

1962).

23

B. The Seventh Circuit’s Decision Deprives the

Petitioner of an Appeal as a Matter of Right.

The most dire consequence of an appellate court

engaging in fact-finding is that the regular appellate pro-

cess is so reordered as to deprive litigants of their ordi-

nary right to have findings of fact reviewed by an

appellate court. In this case, the City chose not to appeal

the District Court’s findings of four percent fault against

it because of the relatively small cost of the decision. Had

the District Court, however, found the City to be one-

third at fault, the City, facing the specter of a multi-

million dollar judgment, would have appealed the find-

ing of liability and the apportionment to the Seventh

Circuit.

When an appellate court makes an erroneous finding

of fact on appeal, the party against whom the facts are

found is left with no appeal as a matter of right. A party’s

only recourse is to attempt to convince this Court to

accept its petition for a writ of certiorari. A petition,

however, is not a certain remedy because it is not an

appeal as a matter of right. It is a difficult task to per-

suade this Court to accept a petition solely to review facts

found by the appellate court because this Court, the

supreme interpreter of the law and the Constitution, is

not easily fettered to the petty detail of factfinding. “We

do not grant a certiorari to review evidence and discuss

specific facts.” United States v. Johnston, 268 U.S. 220, 227

(1925).

It cannot be argued that no further appeal is needed

because the facts were found in the course of appellate

review. Facts found on appeal are not based upon the

testimony itself, but upon the record of the testimony, a

sterilized version of a trial, cleansed of all nuance and

24

subtlety. This Court has noted that such a record does not

provide an accurate basis for fact finding. Anderson, 470

U.S. at 574-75. The appeal is further limited by the stan-

dard of review — in this case the “clearly erroneous”

standard. Neither party presents the appeal to the court

in the same manner as the case was presented to the trial!

court. Rather, their energies and arguments are directed

to persuading the court that the appeal should be decided

one way or another based upon the standard of review.

Such argument, by its nature, omits the nuanced analysis

of testimony and exhibits that characterizes post-trial

argument and briefing.”

The Seventh Circuit, by appropriating the role of fact

finder from the District Court, has left the City with no

remedy unless this Court grants the petition to review in

this case.

Il. The “Cost of Avoidance” Standard for Apportion-

ing Fault in an Admiralty Case Formulated by the

Seventh Circuit is Inconsistent with United States

v. Reliable Transfer and Numerous Circuit Court

Decisions that have Apportioned Fault Without

Reference to the Cost of Avoidance.

The Seventh Circuit has formulated a new standard

by which to apportion fault in maritime collision and

allision cases. The new standard - cost of avoidance - is

inconsistent with this Court’s decision in United States v.

Reliable Transfer, 421 U.S. 397 (1975), and numerous circuit

court decisions which have apportioned fault without

reference to “cost of avoidance.” Moreover, apportioning

? Requiring litigants to persuade an appellate court in the

same fashion as a trial court has been described by this Court

as “requiring too much.” Anderson, 470 U.S. at 575.

——eEEE=—=—-

25

fault based upon “cost of avoidance” is illogical and will

interject uncertainty into an area of the law that routinely

involves large damages.

In Reliable Transfer, this Court held “that when two or

more parties have contributed by their fault to cause

property damage in a maritime collision or stranding,

liability for such damage is to be allocated among the

parties proportionately to the comparative degree of their

fault... .” Under this standard, fault is apportioned in

accordance with the relative culpability of the parties.

Harbor Tug & Barge, Inc. v. Belcher Towing Co., 733 F.2d 823,

825 (11th Cir. 1984); Gele v. Wilson, 616 F.2d 146, 148 (5th

Cir. 1980).

Numerous federal appellate courts have reviewed

apportionments of fault by district courts without any

reference to or consideration of the cost of avoidance. See,

e.g., Inland Oil and Transport Co. v. Ark-White Towing Co.,

696 F.2d 321 (5th Cir. 1983); Complaint of Interstate Towing

Co., 717 F2d 752 (2d Cir. 1983); Getty Oil Co. (Eastern

Operations), Inc. v. SS Ponce DeLeon, 555 F.2d 328, 335 (2d

Cir. 1977); Portacci v. Moran Towing & Transport Co., 615

F.2d 293 (5th Cir. 1980); Allied Chemical Corp. v. Hess

Tankship Co. of Delaware, 661 F.2d 1044, 1057 (Sth Cir.

1981). In addition, numerous district courts have allo-

cated fault or reviewed allocations of fault by juries in

admiralty cases without reference to or consideration of

the “cost of avoidance.” Red Star Towing & Transport Co.,

Inc. v. “Ming Giant”, 552 FSupp. 367 (S.D. N.Y. 1983);

Complaint of Flota Mercante Grancolombiana, S.A., 440

F.Supp. 704, 726 (S.D. N.Y. 1977); Bremmer v. Shedd, 467

F.Supp. 261, 267 (W.D. Pa. 1979); Afran Transport Co. v. S/T

Maria Venizelos, 450 F.Supp. 621, 623 (E.D. Pa. 1978); Com-

plaint of B.F.T. No. Two Corp., 433 F.Supp. 854, 875 (E.D. Pa.

a

26

1977). No federal court has used the “cost of avoidance”

standard advocated by the Seventh Circuit in apportion-

ing fault in an admiralty case. Abston and Kunz, Collision

Survey 1988: Survey of Reported Collision Decisions in the

Federal Courts, 13 Tul. Mar. L.J. 355 (1989) (compiling

federal collision and allision decisions reported within

the last fifteen years).

In Reliable Transfer, this Court noted that prior to the

decision in that case, the United States was virtually

alone among the world’s major maritime nations not to

adhere to the Brussels Collision Liability Convention of

1910 that provides for the apportionment of damages on

the basis of degree of fault whenever it is possible to do

so.8 This Court noted in deciding Reliable Transfer that the

fact that the United States did not adhere to the conven-

tion rule had encouraged trans-Atlantic forum shopping.

Id. at 404.

“Cost of avoidance” is a standard quite different

from culpability. The former is an economic standard

which can be measured and compared. The latter reflects

the judge or jury’s considered judgment as to the quality

and gravity of each party’s negligence. Adoption of the

“cost of avoidance” standard in the United States would

8 Article 4 of the Brussels Collision Liability Convention of

1910 provides in part: “If two or more vessels are in fault the

liability of each vessel shall be in proportion to the degree of

the faults respectively committed. Provided that if, having

regard to the circumstances, it is not possible to establish the

degree of the respective faults, or if it appears that the faults

are equal, the liability shall be apportioned equally.” United

States v. Reliable Transfer, 421 U.S. 397, 403 n.6; 6 M. Cohen,

Benedict on Admiralty Doc. No. 3-2 (rev. 7th ed. 1990).

27

once again create in the United States a rule for appor-

tioning fault significantly different from the rule

throughout most of the world and would risk the rein-

troduction of the forum shopping this Court sought to

end in Reliable Transfer.

The precept that the burden of precaution or, to

restate it in economic terms as did the Seventh Circuit,

the “cost of avoidance” is to be considered in deciding

whether a party’s conduct was negligent was suggested

by Judge Learned Hand in United States v. Carroll Towing

Co., 159 F2d 169, 173 (2d Cir. 1947). Under the “Hand

formula,” i.e., B < P x L,a party would be negligent if the

burden of precaution (B) were less than the probability of

harm (P), multiplied or discounted by the gravity of the

injury (L). The “Hand formula,” however, was suggested

as a means of assisting courts in determining whether

action or inaction constituted negligence. The Seventh

Circuit, in United States Fidelity & Guaranty Co. v. Jad-

ranska Slobodna Plovidba, 683 F.2d 1022, 1026 (7th Cir.

1982), approved the use of the “Hand formula” to deter-

mine whether conduct was negligent, but, even in that

limited context, did so with the caveat that it was not

holding that courts must use the “Hand formula” to

determine negligence in all maritime cases.

The “cost of avoidance” standard, although a useful

concept in deciding whether or not a party’s conduct was

negligent, cannot logically be applied to apportioning

fault, because in many cases the cost of avoidance has

nothing to do with culpability. Many casualties might

have been avoided had the parties involved been more

alert, in which case the cost of avoidance could have been

equal. The measure of a party’s culpability, however,

depends upon the extent of their legal duty. Bunge Co. v.

28

M/V Furness Bridge, 558 F.2d 790, 799 (5th Cir. 1977), cert.

denied 435 U.S. 924; Trade Banner Lines v. Caribbean Steam-

ship Co., 521 F.2d 229, 230 (5th Cir. 1975); Boudoin v. J. Ray

McDermott & Co., 281 F.2d 81, 84 (5th Cir. 1960). The

contradiction in the two concepts is illustrated in this

case. The Seventh Circuit, one page after it announced the

concept, was compelled to limit its application because of

the disparity between the legal responsibilities of the

captain as compared to the wharfinger for the welfare of

the ship.

When the concept of “cost of avoidance” is used in

conjunction with the “Hand formula” to determine if a

party’s conduct was negligent, the concept provides a

helpful tool because of the comparative relationship

established: B < P x L. No similar comparative relation-

ship is established when the concept is applied to appor-

tioning fault because the “Hand formula” gives no

guidance to comparing one party’s “cost of avoidance”

with another. For example, if the cost of avoidance to one

party is $5,000 and the cost to the other is $15,000, and

P x L is $5,000,000, is the cost of avoidance for both

parties equally low, indicating fault should be appor-

tioned 50/50, or is $15,000 high and $5,000 low, requiring

allocation of 85/15, or should the costs simply be com-

pared with each other, and fault allocated 75/25? Obvi-

ously, none of these considerations resolve the issue of

the culpabilities of the parties.

The introduction of the cost of avoidance standard

raises the question of how this cost is to be measured.

This case does not provide a good illustration of how to

measure the cost because neither party was aware that

this standard would ultimately be applied to apportion

fault in this case, and therefore neither party put into the

29

record evidence concerning the cost of avoidance. The

Seventh Circuit assumed the cost of avoidance to be the

same because it concluded that more forthrightness, both

on the part of the captain and the City’s dock superinten-

dent, might have prevented the casualty. Had the parties

submitted evidence on this issue, the record would not

have supported the Seventh Circuit’s conclusion.9

Everyday in the United States judges and juries

apportion fault on the basis of culpability without any

great difficulty. The concept of culpability, although diffi-

cult to articulate in abstract terms, is not difficult to apply

9 The cost of avoidance from the City’s perspective would

have been much greater than that concluded by the Seventh

Circuit. If the City, to avoid a casualty, is required to direct

captains of vessels where to moor their ship, how to tie it up

and man it, how to monitor the weather and maintain ship-to-

shore communications, the City would have to employ a per-

son who is qualified to make those decisions. The City would

have to hire a port captain who was licensed to navigate and

dock ships on the Great Lakes. The port captain would have to

meet with the captain of the vessel and ascertain the make up

and health of the ship’s crew, the capabilities and mechanical

condition of the ship, the nature of its cargo and its plans. The

port captain would then have to review with the ship’s captain

all of this information and tell the captain, from the port’s

point of view, where and how he should dock his vessel. The

cost of doing this, of course, would be considerably higher

than the cost of the City’s dock superintendent being more

forthright. For National Gypsum, there would be no additional

cost because it has already incurred the cost of employing a

captain to make these decisions. If that were the state of the

record, one must ask, how would the damages be apportioned?

If the cost to the City of employing a port captain were $80,000

per year, and the cost to National Gypsum to maintain the

same level of knowledge was zero, would any fault be attrib-

uted to the City?

30

because it is a concept rooted in the common experience

of human life. To introduce the concept of “cost of avoid-

ance” into allocating fault in maritime cases will once

again place the United States out-of-step with the world’s

major maritime powers. It is not only illogical, because it

is inconsistent with culpability, but also will add needless

confusion to an area of the iaw that is well settled with-

out any assurance that it will result in more just appor-

tionments of fault.

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, the petitioner respectfully requests

the Court to grant the petition.

Respectfully submitted,

Grant F. LANGLEY

Milwaukee City Attorney

Counsel of Record

RupDoLreH M. Konrap

Deputy City Attorney

THomas J. BEAMISH

Assistant City Attorney

800 City Hall

200 East Wells Street

Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53202

(414) 278-2601

Counsel for Petitioner

February 14, 1991

APPENDIX

IN THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 89-2631

CreMENT Division, NaTioNAL Gypsum Company, REED &

BROWN, INCORPORATED, NEw YORK MARINE MANAGERS, INCOR-

PORATED, et al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

City oF MILWAUKEE,

Defendant-Appellee.

-

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Wisconsin.

No. 80 C 1001 - Tuomas J. Curran, Judge.

ARGUED ApriL 13, 1990 — Decipep Octoser 16, 1990

Before Cupany, Posner and Fiaum, Circuit Judges.

Cupany, Circuit Judge. In a heavy storm on Christmas

Eve of 1979, the SS EM FORD, a self-unloading bulk

cement carrier loaded with 5,700 tons of bulk cement,

tore loose from its moorings, battered against the head-

wall of its berth and eventually sank to the bottom of the

Milwaukee Harbor. Following this disaster, the FORD’s

owner, the Cement Division of the National Gypsum

Company, along with the hull and cargo insurers of the

ship, [referred to collectively as “National Gypsum’”]

sued the City of Milwaukee in admiralty. National Gyp-

sum claimed that the City had breached its obligations as

a wharfinger by assigning the FORD to a slip it knew to

2a

be unsafe in heavy winds and by negligently failing to

warn National Gypsum of the hidden dangers in the

berthing slip it assigned to the FORD. National Gypsum

sought over $6,500,000 in compensatory damages. The

City of Milwaukee denied fault and alleged contributory

negligence on the part of National Gypsum, seeking to

recover $250,000 for damage caused to its dockwall and

other property by the FORD’s battering during the

Christmas Eve storm.

After a motion by the City, the district court disqual-

ified National Gypsum’s original attorney and his law

firm because of potential conflicts. At a bifurcated trial on

the issue of liability, the district court found National

Gypsum to be 96% negligent and the City to be 4%

negligent. This interlocutory appeal in admiralty fol-

lowed under 28 U.S.C. section 1292(a)(3). Damages are to

be determined later. We reverse the district court’s alloca-

tion of fault and find that we lack jurisdiction, at this

time, to review the district court’s disqualification order.

I. Facts

Our tale begins on November 15, 1979, when

National Gypsum’s Fleet Captain, Eugene P. Stafford,

telephoned Stanley Blawas, an Assistant Dock Superin-

tendent of the Milwaukee Harbor, requesting a winter

lay-up berth for the FORD. Assistant Dock Superinten-

dent Blawas offered the FORD a berth at Terminal No. 4

in South Slip No. 3 in Milwaukee’s outer harbor. Captain

Stafford inquired about the safety of the slip before

accepting the berth, but was assured by Blawas that the

berth was safe.

3a

Before it had a chance to berth at Terminal No. 4,

National Gypsum changed the FORD’s winter mooring

orders. Instead of mooring at Terminal No. 4 in the outer

harbor, the FORD was ordered to wait in the harbor for

its sister ship and then dock at National Gypsum’s own

terminal in Milwaukee’s inner harbor. After being

apprised of the change in the FORD’s plans, Assistant

Dock Superintendent Blawas offered to let the FORD tie

up temporarily at Terminal Pier No. 1 in South Slip No. 1

in the outer harbor while the FORD was waiting for its

sister ship. Before accepting the offer of South Slip No. 1,

Patrick Gallagher, captain of the FORD, asked Blawas

about the depth of the water in the slip and about the

availability of electric power. He did not ask about the

safety of South Slip No. 1.

After accepting the berth, Captain Gallagher consul-

ted the 1979 United States Coast Pilot to see what it had to

say about the harbor. This maritime source contained no

warnings of hazardous wave surges in Milwaukee’s outer

harbor, but did note that the breakwater in the harbor

could be obscured during heavy waves. From 1912 to

1966 (some 13 years before the sinking of the FORD), one

of the appellants, the Great Lakes Protective Association,

published the winter mooring regulations of the United

States Salvage Association in its annual reports. These

regulations provided that winter mooring would not be

appreved in Milwaukee’s outer harbor Lecause of the

danger of wave surges from northeasterly winds. The

district court found that National Gypsum was aware of

these mooring regulations. In addition, Marine surveyor

William Wade testified that he had informed National

EE ——————

4a

Gypsum in December of 1979 that ships berthed in Mil-

waukee’s outer harbor were subject to heavy surges dur-

ing storms with strong northeasterly winds. National

Gypsum denies that it received this warning. The district

court found otherwise.

The FORD ’s captain, although quite experienced, had

never seen or apparently heard of dangerous wave surges

in Milwaukee’s outer harbor. The district court thought

that the possibility of wave surges could have been pre-

dicted from the construction of the berth and from the

captain’s previous experience mooring in other harbors.

It is clear from previous claims and from records of wave

heights kept by the City, however, that the City had

actual knowledge that mooring in the outer harbor -

especially in South Slip No. 1 - was unsafe during heavy

storms. Despite this knowledge, the City failed to warn

either the crew of the FORD or National Gypsum of any

possible danger to the FORD.

Before long, National Gypsum was to change the

FORD’s orders for the last time. National Gypsum com-

manded the FORD, which was already berthed in South

Slip No. 1, to remain in Milwaukee over the Christmas

holiday and then make one more cement delivery before

mooring at Milwaukee for the winter. The FORD’s winter

mooring lines were put out to secure the ship while the

crew was on vacation.

At a meeting on the FORD on the morning of Decem-

ber 22, 1979, Captain Gallagher informed Assistant Dock

Superintendent Blawas that the ship would be laying up

for the holiday and that most of the crew would be gone

until December 26th or 27th, but that a skeleton crew

5a

would be left aboard the FORD during the interim.

Blawas warned Captain Gallagher that waves in the outer

harbor could “get a little rough” if a storm came up. By

“rough,” Blawas testified that he meant waves of two to

four feet. (Blawas conceded, however, that it was possible

he had actually undercut this warning by specifying

waves of one to two feet. Appellant’s Appendix at

152-53.) Later that same day, Captain Gallagher dis-

charged all but five of the crew for the holidays. In

accordance with National Gypsum’s practice while in

port and with the City’s practice on holidays, no one was

assigned to watch the weather. And no one had the key to

the ship’s radio or telephone. Captain Gallagher expected

the remaining crew to use a nearby pay phone in case of

an emergency. An independent company was retained on

call to provide extra manpower and materials as needed.

By December 24, 1979, a heavy storm had developed.

Waves of up to 15 feet crashed into South Slip No. 1. At

approximately 1 p.m. on that day, one of the FORD’s

remaining crew members realized that the FORD was

from 10 to 15 feet off the dock at the stern and that the

FORD was in danger. The crew called for help. The Coast

Guard was contacted (but no one was available to render

assistance because of the holiday). In addition, tugboats

came out to assist the FORD on three different occasions,

to no avail. The tugboats were unable to help the FORD

because they could not communicate with it and because

it had no pilot on board. Because of the severe waves, the

FORD tore lose [sic] from its moorings, started pounding

against the Meadwall of the dock, became dangerous to

those trying to save it and was eventually abandoned.

The FORD ultimately sank.

6a

National Gypsum brought suit against the City of

Milwaukee, claiming that the City had breached its obli-

gations as a wharfinger by assigning the FORD to a slip it

knew to be unsafe in heavy winds and by negligently

failing to warn National Gypsum of the hidden dangers

in the berthing slip it assigned to the FORD. National

Gypsum asked for over $6,500,000 in compensatory dam-

ages. The City of Milwaukee denied fault and alleged

contributory negligence on the part of National Gypsum,

seeking to recover $250,000 for damage caused to its

dockwall and other property by the FORD’s battering

during the Christmas Eve storm.

After a motion by the City, the district court disqual-

ified National Gypsum’s original attorney and his law

firm because of potential conflicts. After the liability

phase of a bifurcated trial, the district court found that

National Gypsum was negligent and at fault: for laying

up the FORD at South Slip No. 1, for failing to employ or

retain a standby master or pilot and crew members

aboard who could navigate the vessel, for failing to main-

tain ship-to-shore radio-telephone communications and

for failing to monitor the weather. The district court

found the City negligent and at fault: for allowing the

vessel to temporarily lay up at South Slip No. 1, for

failing to warn the ship that wind and wave conditions

could develop which would endanger the vessel and the

City’s dockwall and for failing to order that the ship

remain manned or move off the berth. The district court

also found that the City had breached a wharfinger’s

implied warranty of offering safe berths. The court

apportioned 96% of the fault to National Gypsum and 4%

7a

to the City, a ruling which essentially left both parties to

bear their own losses.

On appeal, National Gypsum argues essentially that:

(1) the district court erred in not finding the City 50% at

fault because the City’s actions constituted either wanton

negligence or negligence greater than 4%; and (2) that the

district court’s ruling disqualifying National Gypsum’s

original attorney and his law firm was clearly erroneous.

The City has not cross-appealed. We find that we do not

have jurisdiction to review the district court’s disqual-

ification order, but reverse the district court’s allocation

of fault.

II. Discussion

A. Pendent Appellate Jurisdiction over the Disqualification

Order

The first issue before us is whether this court has

jurisdiction to hear an appeal from the district court’s

disqualification order. Normally, interlocutory orders are

not appealable. 28 U.S.C. section 1292(a)(3), however,

empowers us to hear “[i]nterlocutory decrees of [] district

courts or the judges thereof determining the rights and

liabilities of the parties to admiralty cases in which

appeals from final decrees are allowed.”

National Gypsum contends that we have statutory

jurisdiction to review the merits of the district court’s

disqualification order (1) because the disqualification

order is a final order with respect to the issue of liability

and apportionment of fault between the parties or (2)

because the disqualification order is an adverse deter-

mination on the substantive right of National Gypsum to

8a

be represented by the counsel of its choice. Despite

National Gypsum’s arguments to the contrary, it is clear

that this court does not have statutory jurisdiction to hear

an appeal from the district court’s disqualification order.

The order does not “determin[e] the rights and liabilities

of the parties.” (emphasis supplied) Rather, it merely dis-

- qualifies National Gypsum’s original lawyer and his law

firm. The district court’s order apportioning liability

between National Gypsum and the City of Milwaukee, on

the other hand, is an appealable interlocutory order in

admiralty.

This court does have the ability to review some inter-

locutory orders — even though it may lack the statutory

jurisdiction to do so - under the doctrine of pendent

appellate jurisdiction. Under this doctrine, “an order not

itself appealable, but closely connected to an order that is

appealable, may be reviewed as a pendant [sic] to the

latter order.” Patterson v. Portch, 853 F.2d 1399, 1403 (7th

Cir. 1988). The doctrine is very limited in scope since an

expansive application of the pendent appellate jurisdic-

tion doctrine would severely undercut the purposes

behind the final judgment rule. Id. Hence, we have held

that “[w]hen an ordinarily unappealable interlocutory

order is inextricably entwined with an appealable [] order,

the former may be reviewed at the same time if, but only

if, there are compelling reasons for not deferring the appeal

of the former order to the end of the lawsuit, at which

time all previous orders are appealable together with the

final judgment.” Illinois ex rel. Hartigan v. Peters, 861 F.2d

164, 166 (7th Cir. 1988) (emphasis supplied).

We find that the requisite “compelling reasons” are

absent in this case. The district court’s disqualification

9a

order is not “inextricably entwined” with the district

court’s allocation of fault. Indeed, the two issues are

actually unrelated (although the court’s ruling on the

former may have had some effect upon the latter).

National Gypsum contends, however, that it is in the

“best interests of justice” to review the district court’s

disqualification order now, at the conclusion of the lia-

bility phase. (If the disqualification order were reversed

after the damages phase is completed and a final judg-

ment entered, the whole case would presumably have to

be retried.) We do not find National Gypsum’s judicial

economy argument, in this context, to be persuasive. An

erroneous evidentiary ruling may persuade a litigant to

waive a (fundamental) constitutional right, but the evi-

dentiary ruling cannot normally be appealed until there

has been a final judgment. If the ruling were erroneous

and the error prejudicial, much judicial effort would

probably have been wasted. But, the final judgment rule

prevails, nevertheless. In short, we see no special reason

why we should. depart from the normal final judgment

rule or expand the doctrine of pendent appellate jurisdic-

tion (and undercut the final judgment rule) to fit this

situation.

B. The Allocation of Fault

In United States v. Reliable Transfer Co., 421 U.S. 397,

411 (1975), the Supreme Court held that “when two or

more parties have contributed by their fault to cause

property damage ina maritime collision . . . , liability for

such damages is to be allocated among the parties pro-

portionately to the comparative degree of their fault, and

10a

that liability for such damages is to be allocated equally

only when the parties are equally at fault or when it is

not possible fairly to measure the comparative degree of

their fault.” This rule provides the backdrop we must use

to analyze this case.

Our standard of review is well settled. This court

may not set aside the judgment of a district court sitting

in admiralty unless that judgment is found to be clearly

erroneous. McAllister v. United States, 348 U.S. 19, 20

(1954). The clearly erroneous standard of review applies

to an admiralty court’s apportionment of fault in accor-

dance with comparative negligence principles in collision

cases. See, e.g., Barnett v. Sea Land Services, Inc., 875 F.2d

741, 745 (9th Cir. 1989). “A finding is ‘clearly erroneous’

when although there is evidence to support it, the review-

ing court on the entire record is left with the definite and

firm conviction that a mistake has been committed.”

United States v. Gypsum Co., 333 U.S. 364, 395 (1948).

We think that the district court’s thorough and

largely well reasoned opinion in this case is basically

correct. Our review of the record leads us to the conclu-

sion that the district court was right when it found both

National Gypsum and the City of Milwaukee to be at

fault in the sinking of the FORD on that fateful Christmas

Eve. Moreover, we think it clear, as did the district court,

that the fault of National Gypsum was more egregious

than the fault of the City. We must, however, take issue

with the district court’s allocation of fault in this case.

The district court held Cement Division to be 96% at

fault and the City to be 4% at fault. These numbers are

’

lla

odd. It appears that the district court apportioned lia-

bility according to the amount of property each side had

at risk. Memorandum Opinion and Order of June 30,

1989, at 134 (“The plaintiffs also had the costlier property

at risk with the foreseeable result being that the damages

claimed by the plaintiff are twenty-six times as great as

those claimed by the defendant.”). Hence, the 96% and

4% figures (25/26=.9615). These calculations, however

they were arrived at, have left us with a “definite and

firm conviction that a mistake has been committed.”

Under the doctrine of comparative negligence, a

party’s share of liability should not depend upon how

valuable his property at risk was. But, this is what the

district court appears to have done in this case. Instead,

the doctrine of comparative negligence is generally sup-

posed to be used to assess liability in proportion to the

cost of avoiding the entire accident to each side. Because

the district court’s allocation of fault was based upon an

incorrect application of comparative negligence princi-

ples or because the district court failed to adequately

explain how it arrived at its result, we cannot accept its

apportionment of liability.

Although we could remand the case for a redeter-

mination of fault, we need not d: so. We believe that, on

the facts of this case, no reasonable trier of fact could

apportion more than two-thirds of the liability to

National Gypsum.

With respect to information about the danger to the

FORD, it seems clear that Assistant Dock Superintendent

Blawas had more detailed and specific information about

12a

the wave conditions in the harbor than did Captain Gal-

lagher. It would have been relatively costless for Blawas

to have been more forthright about the wave conditions

in the slip. It would also have been relatively costless for

Blawas to ask more searching questions regarding Cap-

tain Gallagher’s lay-up plans for the FORD. On the other

hand, it would have been relatively costless for Captain

Gallagher to have undertaken at least some investigation

on his own or to have more closely questioned Blawas’s

assurances.

Once the FORD was berthed and laid-up, however,

National Gypsum was really the only party that could

have undertaken some effort to keep the FORD from

danger. Captain Gallagher could, for example, have left

the radio-telephone in operation or he could have left a

competent master aboard to move the vessel in case

danger arose. Neither of these precautions would have

been very costly. (The City could have ordered the FORD

to move once the storm came up, but without adequate

manpower, such a directive would have rung hollow.) We

think that there is great wisdom in the view that a captain

is ultimately responsible for the welfare of his ship.

Because Captain Gallagher’s actions essentially left the

FORD a sitting duck, National Gypsum must bear more

of the ultimate fault for the FORD’s demise than the City.

See Boudoin v. J. Ray McDermott & Company, 281 F.2d 81,

84-85 (5th Cir. 1960). Because of the distribution of the

cost of avoidance in this case, no reasonable trier of fact

could apportion more than two-thirds of the liability to

National Gypsum. Through the judgment below, the trier

of fact displayed a willingness to apportion at least this

much of the award to National Gypsum. In deciding the

13a

case as we do, we therefore merely confine the decision of

the district judge to the upper limit of his discretion and

apportion liability two-thirds to National Gypsum and

one-third to the City of Milwaukee.

III. CoNcLUSION

For all the foregoing reasons, the appeal from the

district court’s disqualification order is Dismissep for lack

of jurisdiction. The district court’s allocation of fault is

ReverseD. National Gypsum is adjudged to be two-thirds

at fault while the City of Milwaukee is adjudged to be

one-third at fault for the damage to the City’s property

and for the sinking of the SS EM FORD. May she rest in

peace.

A true Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United

States Court of Appeals

for the Seventh Circuit

14a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For the Seventh Circuit

Chicago, Illinois 60604

JUDGMENT - WITH ORAL ARGUMENT

Date: October 16, 1990

BEFORE: Honorable Richard D. Cudahy,

Circuit Judge

Honorable Richard A. Posner,

Circuit Judge

Honorable Joel M. Flaum,

Circuit Judge

No. 89-2631

CEMENT DIVISON [sic], NATIONAL GYPSUM COM-

PANY,

REED & BROWN, INCORPORATED, et al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellants

V.

CITY OF MILWAUKEE,

Defendant-Appellee

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Eastern District of Wisconsin

No. 80 C 1001, Judge Thomas J. Curran

This cause was heard on the record from the above

mentioned district court, and was argued by counsel.

On consideration whereof, IT IS ORDERED AND

ADJUDGED by this Court that the judgment of the Dis-

trict Court is hereby, REVERSED, with costs, as to the

allocation of fault, and DISMISSED, as to the district

court’s disqualification order as this Court lacks jursidic-

tion [sic], in accordance with the opinion of this Court

filed this date.

15a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF WISCONSIN

CEMENT DIVISION, NATIONAL

GYPSUM COMPANY; REED &

BROWN, INC., NEW YORK

MARINE MANAGERS, INC.,

ALLSTATE INSURANCE

COMPANY, c/o American Marine

Underwriters, Inc., HIGHLANDS

INSURANCE COMPANY,

EMPLOYERS CASUALTY

COMPANY OF TEXAS, c/o Texas

Marine Underwriters Agency, Inc.,

DONALD H. MILLER, INC., U.S.

FIDELITY AND GUARANTEE

COMPANY, GREAT LAKES

PROTECTIVE ASSOCIATION, THE

ATLANTIC COMPANIES, LLOYDS

UNDERWRITERS, INSTITUTE

COMPANIES, including:

COMMERCIAL UNION

ASSURANCE CO. LTD. “I: A/o

ANDREW WEIR INSURANCE CO.

LTD., ENGLISH & AMERICAN

INSURANCE CO. LTD. “M” 1

A/o., ORION INSURANCE CO.

LTD. “T” A/o., YASUDA FIRE &

MARINE INSURANCE CO. (U.K.)

LTD. “T” A/o., ATLAS

ASSURANCE CO. LTD., “T” A/o.,

PHOENIX ASSURANCE CO. LTD.,

BRITISH LAW INSURANCE CO.

LTD., ROAD TRANSPORT AND

GENERAL INSURANCE CO. LTD.,

INSURANCE COMPANY OF

NORTH AMERICA (U.K.) LTD.

“G” A/o., INSURANCE

COMPANY OF NORTH AMERICA

(U.K.) LTD. “O” A/o., HOME

l6a

INSURANCE CO. LTD. “X” A/o.,

LONDON & HULL MARITIME

INSURANCE CO. LTD.,

HANOVER INSURANCE CO.

LTD., SPHERE INSURANCE CO.

LTD., DRAKE INSURANCE CO.

LTD., BISHOPSGATE INSURANCE

CO. LTD. “F” A/o., BRITISH LAW

INSURANCE CO. LTD. NO. 2

A/o., MINSTER INSURANCE CO.

LTD. NO. 2 A/o., INSURANCE

CORPORATION OF IRELAND “L”

A/o., FOLKSAM

INTERNATIONAL INSURANCE

CO. (U.K.) LTD., TERRA NOVA

INSURANCE CO. LTD. per

ANDREW DRYSDALE LTD.,

ECONOMIC INSURANCE CO.

LTD. “GENERAL” A/o., c/o

Willis, Faber & Dumas Ltd., Ten

Trinity Square, London EC3P 3AX

England,

Plaintiffs, Case No.

80-C-1001

V.

CITY OF MILWAUKEE,

Defendant and

Third-Party Plaintiff,

V.

EDWARD E. GILLEN COMPANY,

a corporation, and GREAT

LAKES TOWING COMPANY,

a corporation,

Third-Party Defendants.

’

17a

MEMORANDUM OF DECISION AND ORDER

On Christmas Eve in 1979, the S.S. E.M. FORD,

loaded with 5,700 tons of bulk cement, tore loose from

her moorings, battered against the headwall of the dock

in the Milwaukee (Wisconsin) Harbor, and began to take

on water through the breaks in her hull. The next morn-

ing the vessel sank to the bottom of the slip. Following

this disaster the shipowner, the Cement Division of the

National Gypsum Company, Inc., along with thirty-two

of its insurers and marine underwriters, commenced this

action in admiralty, see Federal Rule of Civil Procedure

9(h), claiming that the City of Milwaukee, while acting as

a wharfinger, breached express and implied warranties to

provide a safe berth and negligently failed to warn of

hidden dangers in the berthing slip. In its Amended

Complaint Cement Division seeks $6,500,000.00 in com-

pensatory damages for raising and refloating the vessel,

for removing the hardened cement cargo from its holds,

for loss of the cargo, and for repairing and refurbishing

the E.M. FORD.

The City of Milwaukee answered, denying liability

and asserting a counterclaim against the plaintiff. The

City alleges that the collision’ between the E.M. FORD

1 In this case the vessel struck the dock, so the impact is

properly called an “allision” rather than a “collision.” See

Weyerhaeuser Company v. ATROPOS ISLAND, 777 F.2d 1344,

1346 n.1 (9th Cir. 1985) (“An allision is a collision between a

moving vessel and a stationary object.”). However, under

admiralty jurisdiction, the term “collision” is used in its broad-

est sense to encompass every case where a vessel strikes

(Continued on following page)

18a

and Milwaukee’s dock wall was caused by the negligence

of the plaintiff in leaving the S.S. EM. FORD improperly

moored and improperly supervised, manned and

equipped. The City is demanding $250,000.00 for damage

to its dock and other property. The City also filed a third-

party complaint in admiralty against the Edward E.

Gillen Company, a marine contracting corporation, and

against the Great Lakes Towing Company, a corporation

engaged in the business of providing tugboat services in

the Milwaukee Harbor. See Federal Rule of Civil Pro-

cedure 14(c).2 The third-party complaint alleges that

(Continued from previous page)

another vessel or some object afloat or not. See Admiralty

Jurisdiction Extension Act, 46 U.S.C. § 740. See also People’s

Natural Gas Company v. Ashland Oil, Inc., 604 F. Supp. 1517,

1523 (W.D. Pa. 1985). Therefore, the term “collision” can apply

to the allision at issue in this case.

2 Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 14(c) provides as fol-

lows:

When a plaintiff asserts an admiralty or mar-

itime claim within the meaning of Rule 9(h), the

defendant or claimant, as a third-party plaintiff, may

bring in a third-party defendant who may be wholly

or partly liable, either to the plaintiff or to the third-

party defendant, by way of remedy over, contribu-

tion, or otherwise on account of the same transac-

tion, Occurrence, or series of transactions or

occurrences. In such a case the third-party plaintiff

may also demand judgment against the third-party

defendant in favor of the plaintiff, in which event the

third-party defendant shall make any defenses to the

claim of the plaintiff as well as to that of the third-

party plaintiff in the manner provided in Rule 12 and

the action shall proceed as if the plaintiff had com-

menced it against the third-party defendant as well

as the third-party plaintiff.

19a

Gillen is wholly or partly liable for the damage to the

E.M. FORD because it failed to provide safe mooring for

the vessel and that Great Lakes Towing Company is

wholly or partly liable because it failed to provide towing

services necessary to remove the E.M. FORD from its

perilous position in its slip to a safe and secure location.

Gillen answered denying all liability. But on the third day

of trial Gillen and the plaintiffs entered into a settlement

which was later approved by the court.? Great Lakes

Towing did not file a responsive pleading and the City

voluntarily dismissed its third-party claims against Great

Lakes Towing pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil Pro-

cedure 41(a).4 See Notice of Dismissal of the Great Lakes

Towing Company (filed March 16, 1982).

After the completion of extensive discovery and an

attempt by the plaintiffs to appeal a collateral order dis-

qualifying one of their counsel, a trial to the court com-

menced. By agreement of the parties the trial was

bifurcated and only the liability issues were heard during

this first phase. See Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 42(b).

3 Under the terms of this settlement the plaintiffs were to

give to Gillen and its insurer a release and indemnification

agreement. See Order of Dismissal as to Third-Party Defendant,

Edward E. Gillen Company, Nunc Pro Tunc (filed February 12,

1986).

4 At trial, the parties presented no evidence establishing

that the Great Lakes Towing Company is liable for any of the

damage caused to the vessel or the City’s property. Therefore,

the court has not included Great Lakes Towing in the compari-

son of fault.

20a

The first phase of the trial proceeded for fourteen

trial days during which twenty-eight witnesses were

called. In order of appearance they were:

1.

ROBERT BRISSETTE:

called by plaintiffs; employee of Cement Divi-

sion; First Mate on E.M. FORD in 1979

RICHARD G. BURR:

called by defendant (out of order); Cement Divi-

sion’s Milwaukee plant superintendent in 1979

EUGENE P. STAFFORD:

called by plaintiffs; employee of Cement Divi-

sion; fleet captain in 1979

NORMAN MARTINSON:

called by plaintiffs; employee of Cement Divi-

sion; fleet engineer in 1979

JAMES W. GASKELL:

called by plaintiffs; employee of Cement Divi-

sion; vessel superintendent in 1979

PATRICK J. GALLAGHER:

called by plaintiffs; former employee of Cement

Division; captain of E.M. FORD in 1979

JOSEPH J. ZOLNIEREK:

called by plaintiffs; employee of Cement Divi-

sion; First Assistant Engineer on the E.M. FORD

in 1979 ;

ANDREW LaBORDE:

called by plaintiffs; customer service manager at

MCP Company; amateur photographer

10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

2la

ROBERT M. SORENSON:

called by plaintiffs as expert witness; Professor

of Civil Engineering at Lehigh University; Chief,

Coastal Processes and Structures Branch, Corps

of Engineers Coastal Research Center; certified

to testify regarding coastal engineering, specifi-

cally wave action

WRIGHT GARVEY:

called by plaintiffs; former Deputy Harbor Mas-

ter of the Port of Milwaukee

ROBERT MacLAREN:

called by plaintiffs; attorney; Great Lakes cap-

tain; tug captain

THOMAS A. PARKS:

called by plaintiffs; retired ship captain; assis-

tant superintendent in a melathane factory at

time of trial

REAR ADMIRAL ROY

HOFFMAN, RETIRED:

called by plaintiffs; Port Director of the Port of

Milwaukee in 1979

STANLEY BLAWAS:

called by plaintiffs; Harbor Operations Super-

visor III, Port of Milwaukee (dock superinten-

dent); second in command of port operations in

Milwaukee in 1979

JAMES C. SHERMAN:

called by plaintiffs; employee of Great Lakes

Protective Association; marine surveyor

16.

17.

18.

19.

20.

21.

y

24.

22a

WALTER C. HECKL:

called by defendant (out of crder); former man-

ager of Advance Boiler & Tank Company

WILLIAM WADE:

called by defendant; marine consultant, engi-

neer and surveyor who had worked for Edward

E. Gillen Company and Cement Division

LOUIS E. CARTER:

called by defendant as expert witnesses; ship-

master on Great Lakes

PAUL WIENING:

called by defendant; photographer

DEAN HONADEL:

called by defendant; field engineer, Milwaukee

Port Authority; third in command of engineer-

ing department of Milwaukee Harbor in 1979

BEVERLY J. STRIKE:

called by defendant; Port of Milwaukee Admin-

istrative Manager; Secretary to Board of Harbor

Commissioners

THOMAS E. DOYLE:

called by defendant as expert witness; shipmas-

ter on Great Lakes

STANLEY CATAROZOLI:

called by defendant; employee of Edward E.

Gillen Company; winter carpenter; pile driver

KEITH IVERSON:

called by defendant; employee of Edward E.

Gillen Company; crane operator

25.

26.

27.

28.

23a

SALVATORE A. GUMINA:

called by defendant; employee of Edward E.

Gillen Company; foreman; supervisor of pile

driving and winter boat repair

FLOYD BROWN:

called by defendant; assistant vice president of

American Steamship; in charge of engineering;

marine superintendent

JOHN HANNINEN:

called by defendant; attorney; Chairman and

Attorney-in-Fact of Great Lakes Protective Asso-

ciation 1966-80

VICTOR H. ANDERSON:

called by plaintiffs; shipmaster; United States

Registered Pilot; employee of Lakes Pilots Asso-

ciation, Inc. at time of trial

In addition to these witnesses, the parties designated

portions of the depositions of the following witnesses for

inclusion in the record:

7

JAMES SHERIDAN:

employee of Cement Division; Third Assistant

Engineer on E.M. FORD in 1979

ROBERT MALASKI:

employee of Cement Division; oiler on E.M.

FORD in 1979

LIEUTENANT RANDALL PARMANTIER:

lieutenant commander in United States Coast

Guard in 1979; stationed at United States Coast

Guard Marine Safety Office in Milwaukee, Wis-

consin in 1979; investigated sinking of E.M.

FORD

peal a ii

24a

4. RALPH W. BIGGS, JR.:

employee of Litton Great Lakes Corporation;

vice president of Erie Marine Division; in charge

of winter mooring of the ITS PRESQUE ISLE in

Milwaukee

5. MARK PRESPER:

shop foreman for Milwaukee Recharging Service

at time of trial; Port Captain for United States

Steel until winter of 1979-80

6. CHARLES O. ARNOLD:

retired employee of Litton Great Lakes Corpora-

tion, Erie Marine Division; machinery super-

visor

7. JAMES HASKELL:

former Deputy Municipal Port Director of the

Port of Milwaukee

8. JOHN T. BURKE:

designated as expert witness by plaintiffs;

expertise in moorings; retired United States Reg-

istered Pilot, District 2

9. ROBERT FRANCIS BOWES:

designated as expert witness by plaintiffs;

weatherman; former employee of United States

Department of Commerce, National Weather

Service; expertise in forecasting

10. RICHARD JENNE:

employee of Cement Division; able seaman;

wheelsman; watchman; operated winches on

E.M. FORD

11. THOMAS GOEDEWAAGAN:

marine surveyor; former resident surveyor for

winter mooring approvals for United States Sal-

vage Association, Inc.

ee

25a

12. TRUE LeMON:

ship surveyor; formerly resident surveyor for

Great Lakes area for United States Salvage Asso-

ciation, Inc.

13. LIEUTENANT E. SCOTT VARNEY:

employed by National Oceanic and Atmospheric

Administration

Following the conclusion of the liability phase of this

trial, the parties filed their final arguments and posttrial

briefs. Having reviewed these submissions as well as the

testimony, depositions, and exhibits received at trial, the

cov -t now sets forth its Findings of Fact separately from

its Conclusions of Law pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil

Procedure 52.

I. FINDINGS OF FACT

Prior to trial the parties submitted a Statement of

Uncontested Facts. See Supplemental Pretrial Report

(filed December 23, 1985). These facts have been adopted

by the court, as modified,5 and incorporated into the

court’s own findings of facts which were established by a

preponderance of the evidence at trial.

A. PARTIES

1. Plaintiff, Cement Division, National Gypsum

Company (formerly known as Huron Cement Company)

° Although parties are entitled to require a fact finder to

accept stipulations, modifications may be effected by the court

if the parties present evidence on these issues at trial. See Frank

Music Corporation v. Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, Inc., 772 F.2d 505,

515 n.9 (9th Cir. 1985).

26a

is, and at all times relevant to this matter was, a corpora-

tion and the owner and operator of the S.S. E. M. FORD, a

vessel of the United States engaged in maritime com-

merce and navigation on the Great Lakes, their harbors,

tributaries and connecting waters. See Statement of

Uncontested Facts at J 1; Amended Complaint in Admi-

ralty at II.

2. The remaining plaintiffs were, at all times rele-

vant to this matter, insurers and marine underwriters of

the S.S. E. M. FORD under policies and contracts of

insurance covering loss to the hull and machinery of said

vessel or its cargo. These remaining plaintiffs are: Reed &

Brown, Inc., New York Marine Managers, Inc., Allstate

Insurance Company, Highlands Insurance Company,

Employers Casualty Company of Texas, Donald H. Miller,

Inc., U.S. Fidelity and Guarantee Company, Great Lakes

Protective Association, The Atlantic Companies, Lloyds

Underwriters, Institute Companies, including: Commer-

cial Union Assurance Co. Ltd. “I” A/o., Andrew Weir

Insurance Co. Ltd., English & American Insurance Co.

Ltd. “M” 1 A/o., Orion Insurance Co. Ltd. “T” A/o.,

Yasuda Fire & Marine Insurance Co. (U.K.) Ltd. “T” A/o.,

Atlas Assurance Co. Ltd. “T” A/o., Phoenix Assurance

Co. Ltd., British Law Insurance Co. Ltd., Road Transport

and General Insurance Co. Ltd., Insurance Company of

North America (U.K.) Ltd. “G” A/o, Insurance Company

of North America (U.K.) Ltd. “O” A/o., Home Insurance

Co. Ltd. “X” A/o., London & Hull Maritime Insurance

Co. Ltd., Hanover Insurance Co. Ltd., Sphere Insurance

Co. Ltd., Drake Insurance Co. Ltd., Bishopsgate Insurance

Co. Ltd. “F” A/o., British Law Insurance Co. Ltd. No. 2

A/o., Minster Insurance Co. Ltd. No. 2 A/o., Insurance

27a

Corporation of Ireland “L” A/o., Folksam International

Insurance Co. (U.K.) Ltd., Terra Nova Insurance Co. Ltd.

per Andrew Drysdale Ltd., Economic Insurance Co. Ltd.

“General” A/o.. See Statement of Uncontested Facts at

{ 1; Amended Complaint in Admiralty at II.

3. At all material times the S.S. E. M. FORD was a

self-unloading bulk cement carrier having a molded

length of 413.67 feet, a molded beam of 50 feet and a

reciprocating steam engine of 1500 h.p. for propulsion.

See Statement of Uncontested Facts at 7 4.

4. The defendant, City of Milwaukee, is a municipal

corporation organized under the laws of the State of

Wisconsin and, at all times relevant to this matter, it

owned and operated a number of docks, wharves, piers

and vessel berths in the harbor of Milwaukee through a

Board of Harbor Commissioners under the Laws of Wis-

consin and the Milwaukee City Charter and Code of

Ordinances. The City, through its Board of Harbor Com-

missioners, employed a Port Director and other munici-

pal employees through which it acted as a wharfinger,

offering to vessel operators and shipowners a number of

docks, wharves, piers and vessel berths for use by vessels

in return for payment of money. The wharves and docks

furnished for hire by the City included Terminals No. 1,

No. 2, No. 3, No. 4 and the piers adjacent to Slips 1, 2 and

3 in the Milwaukee Outer Harbor and the City Heavy Lift

Dock and the Municipal Mooring Basin in the Milwaukee

Inner Harbor. See Statement of Uncontested Facts at { 2;

Amended Complaint in Admiralty at III; Amended

Answer and Counterclaim in Admiralty at 7 3; Third

Party Complaint in Admiralty at ] 2.

Iisintiiiaiieetietnele

28a

5. The main entrance channel of Milwaukee Harbor

has a basin composed of breakwaters which widens from

358 feet at the outer end to 552 feet at the inner end

where the sides of the entrance walls connect to the main

breakwaters north and south of the channel. See Stipula-

tion of Uncontested Facts at ¥ 5.

6. Roy Hoffman was appointed Port Director of the

Port of Milwaukee effective October 2, 1978. See Stipula-

tion of Uncontested Facts at ¥ 25; Transcript at 1044

(Testimony of Roy Hoffman).

7. James Haskell was employed as Deputy Port

Director by the City from June 1970 to July 1978, as

Acting Port Director from July 1978 to October 1978, and

as Deputy Port Director from October 1978 up to and

including December 21-25, 1979. See Stipulation of

Uncontested Facts at 4 24; Exhibit 209 (Deposition of

James Haskell at 3-5).

8. The third-party defendant, Edward E. Gillen

Company, is a Wisconsin corporation with offices, equip-

ment, employees and facilities located at 218 West Becher

Street, Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and at all times relevant to

this matter was engaged in the business of construction

and pile driving, including construction of pilings, cais-

sons, earth retention, dockwalls and dredging, and in the

business of making ship repairs. Under ship supervision,

Gillen Company also furnished labor and equipment to

moor vessels and handled the anchors and anchor chains

of vessels while placing them in winter moorings. Under

the supervision of the ship owner, Gillen would also

assist in shifting laid up vessels from one location to

another and remooring them, and performing related

29a

services for shipowners and the owners and operators of

docks and other marine structures at the Port of Mil-

waukee, Wisconsin. At times Gillen Company performed

such work on oral agreements with shipowners and their

representatives. Gillen did not employ licensed naviga-

tion personnel qualified to navigate the E. M. FORD. See

Statement of Uncontested Facts at J 3; Third-Party Com-

plaint in Admiralty at J 3; Transcript at 1207-08 (Testi-

mony of Stanley Blawas); Exhibit 206 (Deposition of

Ralph Biggs at 12-21, 28-39).

B. JURISDICTIONAL FACTS

9. The damage to the S.S. E. M. FORD occurred on

navigable water in the Milwaukee Harbor located on

| Lake Michigan. See Statement of Uncontested Facts at

QV 28 & 45.

10. The City of Milwaukee’s dock at Terminal Pier

No. 1 in South Slip No. 1 was damaged by the S.S. E. M.

FORD, a vessel which was on the navigable water of Lake

Michigan when the damage occurred. See Statement of

Uncontested Facts at J] 36 & 44.

C. THE FINAL 1979 VOYAGE, LAYUP AND SINK-

ING OF THE S.S. E. M. FORD

Contract for Winter Mooring Berth

11. On November 15, 1979, Captain Eugene P.

Stafford, employed as Fleet Captain by Cement Division,

telephoned Stanley M. Blawas, employed as Dock Super-

intendent by the City’s Board of Harbor Commissioners,

and requested a winter layup berth for the S.S. E. M.

30a

FORD. Stanley Blawas offered Terminal No. 4 at Slip No.

2, located in Milwaukee’s outer harbo1, as a winter layup

berth for the vessel from about December 23, 1979, to

March 1, 1980, at a dockage fee of $.70 per lineal foot per

month plus metered charges for electricity and water

furnished to the vessel. Stafford inquired about securing

an inner berth, but Blawas told him that all the inner

berths were reserved. Stafford also inquired about the

safety of Terminal No. 4 and Blawas assured him it was

safe. Stafford then accepted the offer of Terminal No. 4

and confirmed the reservation in a letter of the same date

to Stanley M. Blawas. See Statement of Uncontested Facts

at ¥ 8; Transcript at 1189-96, 1165-68, (Testimony of Stan-

ley Blawas), 916 (Testimony of Wright Garvey), 390 (Testi-

mony of James Gaskell), 231, 227, 196-202 (Testimony of

Eugene Stafford); Exhibits 106 & 130.

12. The November 15, 1979, letter from Captain

Eugene P. Stafford to Dock Superintendent Stanley

Blawas stated:

As per our conversation on November 15, 1979,

we will be berthing the Steamer E. M. FORD for

the winter months in Milwaukee at the South

Pier #2, Terminal #4.

The winter mooring time will be approximately

from 12/23/79 to 3/1/80.

Exhibit 106.

13. Dock Superintendent Stanley Blawas had

authority at all relevant times from the Port Director and

Assistant Port Director to offer berths to vessels at any of

defendant’s docks in the Port of Milwaukee, without

being required to obtain approval from the Port Director,

Deputy Port Director, or any other representative or

3la

employee of the City. See Statement of Uncontested Facts

at { 20; Answers to Plaintiff's Requests for Admissions of

Facts and Genuineness of Documents at { 27; Transcript

at 1167-68 (Testimony of Stanley Blawas), 1045 (Testi-

mony of Roy Hoffman); Exhibit 209 (Deposition of James

Haskell at 7-8).

14. Under the 1977 Public Port Tariff published by

the Board of Harbor Commissioners of the City of Mil-

waukee which was in effect during all times relevant to

this lawsuit, the Board reserved the right to make berth

assignments and to order vessels off berths. See Tran-

script at 1186 (Testimony of Stanley Blawas), 1126-37,

1073-79 (Testimony of Roy Hoffman), 906-11 (Testimony

of Wright Garvey); Exhibits 150 at Items 6, 10, 11 & 25;

207 (Deposition of Mark Presper at 55); 209 (Deposition of

James Haskell at 20-21).

15. In 1979, the City of Milwaukee had no regula-

tions in effect governing winter moorings or temporary

tie ups of vessels at the Port of Milwaukee. See Transcript

at 1130-31 (Testimony of Roy Hoffman).

Warning

16. Early in December of 1979, William Wade, a

marine surveyor who had done work as an independent

contractor for the Edward E. Gillen Company and for

Cement Division, called Cement Division and, in the

course of his conversation with Vessel Superintendent

James Gaskell, warned the company that ships tied up in

slips in the outer harbor at Milwaukee were subject to

32a

heavy surge® during strong northeasterly winds. See

Transcript at 1493-94, 1488-89, 1454, 1447-49 & 1434 (Testi-

mony of William Wade).

Departure and Voyage

17. The E.M. FORD departed from Alpena, Michi-

gan for Milwaukee on December 19, 1979, at 1704 hours

Eastern Standard Time. At all material times the E.M.

FORD had a cargo of bulk cement which had been loaded

at Alpena for delivery to Milwaukee. See Statement of

Uncontested Facts at J] 7; Transcript at 437-39 (Testimony

of Patrick Gallagher), 82-83 (Testimony of Robert Bris-

sette); Exhibit 101.

18. On this voyage the master of the E.M. FORD

was Captain Patrick Gallagher. Captain Gallagher had

been master of the FORD since 1975. See Transcript at 433

(Testimony of Patrick Gallagher).

Change in Orders

19. On the afternoon of December 21, 1979, before

the E.M. FORD reached Milwaukee, Captain Callagher’s

winter mooring orders were changed.

(a) Cement Division’s Fleet Captain,

Eugene Stafford, called Captain Gallagher and

6 Captain Louis Carter explained that a surge occurs

“when you get these waves coming in and coming up against a

shore or a nonmovable object and it can only move, go that

way as far and so long and it has to return. So consequently

you get an incoming action and an outgoing action.” Transcript

at 1548 (Testimony of Louis Carter).

33a

told him that the E.M. FORD would not be

mooring for the winter at Terminal No. 4.

Instead, the vessel was to proceed to Milwaukee

and wait for its sister ship, the S.S. S.T. CRAPO,

to unload, then the FORD was to proceed to

Cement Division’s terminal in Milwaukee’s

inner harbor where it would be moored for the

winter. See Transcript at 546, 439-40 (Testimony

of Patrick Gallagher); 206-07 (Testimony of

Eugene Stafford).

(b) Later that day, during a second call,

Stafford told Gallagher that the FORD could

wait for the CRAPO at Terminal No. 4 or at the

Wisconsin Electric Power Company slip in the

inner harbor. See Transcript at 546-49, 442-44

(Testimony of Patrick Gallagher), 208-10 (Testi-

mony of Eugene Stafford).

(c) After consulting with his first mate,

Gallagher decided not to use the Wisconsin

Electric Power Company slip because there was

mud in that slip which might get into the ship’s

boilers. See Transcript at 548, 444 (Testimony of

Patrick Gallagher). In addition, not traveling to

the Power Company slip would save two hours

of travel in the river. See Transcript at 208 (Testi-

mony of Eugene Stafford).

Agreement to Use Terminal No. 1

20. On December 21, as the E.M. FORD approached

Milwaukee, Captain Gallagher made a security call by

radiotelephone to dock superintendent Stanley Biawas.

See Statement of Uncontested Facts at 7 8. Gallagher

informed Blawas of the change in his orders and told

Blawas that the FORD would be waiting for the CRAPO

until December 23. Blawas then offered to let the FORD

tie up temporarily at Terminal Pier No. 1 in South Slip

——————x

34a

No. 1 in the outer harbor. Blawas explained that it would

be easier for the FORD to maneuver in and out of that

slip. See Answers to Plaintiff's Requests for Admissions

of Facts and Genuineness of Documents at { 4; Transcript

at 1169-70 (Testimony of Stanley Blawas), 917 (Testimony

of Wright Garvey), 494 & 446-49 (Testimony of Patrick

Gallagher). Before accepting the offer of South Slip No. 1,

Gallagher asked Blawas about the depth of the water and

the availability of power. He did not ask about the safety

of the berth. See Transcript at 1196 (Testimony of Stanley

Blawas), 448-49 (Testimony of Patrick Gallagher).

21. After accepting the berth at Terminal Pier No. 1

in South Siip No. 1, Captain Gallagher consulted the 1979

| United States Coast Pilot. This publication contains no

warning that hazardous surge conditions can develop in

slips in the outer harbor at the Port of Milwaukee when

there is a strong wind from the northeast. See Transcript

at 540-42, 532-37, 518-24, 449 (Testimony of Patrick Gal-

lagher), 255, 230-31, 225, 202-06 (Testimony of Eugene

Stafford); Exhibits 187 & 584. However, the Coast Pilot

does state that: “During rough weather the entire break-

water system [at the Port of Milwaukee] may be obscured

by wave action.” Exhibit 187. See also Transcript at

1693-94, 1690 (Testimony of Louis Carter), 255 (Testimony

of Eugene Stafford).

Arrival and Tie Up

22. The E. M. FORD arrived at Terminal Pier No. 1

in Slip No. 1, Milwaukee Outer Harbor at 1631 hours on

December 21, 1979, and thereafter was tied up starboard

side to the dock and with the bow facing in. See Statement

35a

of Uncontested Facts at ¥ 9; Transcript at 450-53 (Testi-

mony of Patrick J. Gallagher), 83-85 (Testimony of Robert

Brissette); Exhibits 101 & 121.

23. The officers and crew of the E.M. FORD tied up

the ship with fiber lines and cables. See Statement of

Uncontested Facts at ¥ 13.

(a) Initially, the E.M. FORD was tied up

with six lines - a standard mooring for a vessel

with a crew on board. See Transcript at 549-51

(Testimony of Patrick Gallagher), 84-85 (Testi-

mony of Robert Brissette); Exhibit 554.

(b) Hours after the initial mooring, Cap-

tain Gallagher ordered the crew to double the

lines at the bow line, at the four abreast lines

and at the stern. See Transcript at 552-53, 453-54

(Testimony of Patrick Gallagher), 129-31, 85-86

(Testimony of Robert Brissette); Exhibits 1217 &

657 (Deposition of Richard Jenne at 15).

24. The City’s Terminal No. 1 dock in Slip No. 1,

Milwaukee Outer Harbor, was constructed in 1932. Cleats

made of steel, 30 inches long, spaced approximately 60

feet apart and secured along the outboard edge of said

dock with four bolts 1-1/4 inches in diameter and about

three feet long, set in concrete, were installed for use by

vessels as mooring devices, and such mooring cleats were

there for use by the E. M. FORD at all relevant times. See

Statement of Uncontested Facts at ¥ 22.

? First Mate Robert Brissette explained two inaccuracies in

the mooring diagram which is Exhibit 121. Two lines shown on

the diagram as doubled were, in fact, single. See Transcript at

103-14 (Testimony of Robert Brissette).

36a

25. In 1979, Terminal No. 1, South Slip No. 1 was

about 950 feeet long and 250 feet wide. See Statement of

Uncontested Facts at J 23; Answers to Plaintiff’s Requests

for Admissions of Facts and Genuineness of Documents

at ¥ 48.

26. Although Captain Patrick Gallagher, master of

the E. M. FORD, had been aboard vessels entering the

Port of Milwaukee thirty to forty times during his career,

he had never moored a vessei during the winter in the

outer harbor at Milwaukee pricr to December of 1979,

and had never witnessed dangerous surges in the outer

harbor. See Transcript at 2222-24, 663, 584-87, 542, 525,

434-36 (Testimony of Patrick Gallagher).

Knowledge of Cement Division and of the City

27. Cement Division’s Captain Patrick Gallagher

knew or should have known of any dangers which could

have developed due to wind and wave action in the outer

harbor and South Slip No. 1 from experience in similar

harbors; from experience in harbors with similar break-

waters; and from his training and experience as a Great

Lakes ship master which requires a general knowledge of

water levels, breakwalls, wind and wave action and

charts. See Transcript at 2241-49 (Testimony of Victor

Anderson), 1850-58, 1844, 1838, 1830-31 (Testimony of

Thomas Doyle), 1686-1700, 1624-56, 1604-21, 1545-66,

1518-19 (Testimony of Louis Carter), 1369-72 (Testimony

of James Sherman), 624, 518-43 (Testimony of Patrick

Gallagher), 239-40 (Testimony of Eugene Stafford);

Exhibits 649, 649A, 649B & 649C. See also 42 C.F.R.

§§ 10.05-43 & 10.05-47.

cin eeceeeieaeeeea

37a

28. The Port of Milwaukee’s breakwater structures

have three openings. One 500-foot breakwater gap opens

into the harbor directly northeast (at an angle of 65 to

67-1/2 degrees) of South Slip No. 1. Therefore, it is open

and obvious that this slip has very little breakwall protec-

tion from wave action coming from the northeast. See

Transcript at 1686-93, 1678-82, 1550-56 (Testimony of

Louis Carter), 1095-96 (Testimony of Roy Hoffman);

Exhibits 103, 104, 144, 160, 182, 182A & 209A (Deposition

of James Haskell at 24).

29. From 1912 through 1966, with the exception of

several World War II years, one of the plaintiffs, Great

Lakes Protective Association (GLPA),® published the win-

ter mooring? regulations of the United States Salvage

Association in its annual reports. Cement Division and its

predecessor, Huron Cement Company, were members of

the GLPA for years including 1966 — the last year the

8 The GLPA is a voluntary association of shipowners who

subscribe to the Association’s program of sharing risks and

losses to their vessels. The members are all underwriters,

licensed by the State of Ohio as reciprocal insurers operating

on a nonprofit basis. See Transcript at 2113 (Testimony of John

Hanninen).

9 In a winter mooring or layup the ship’s machinery is laid

up, the boilers are drained, the seacocks and seachests are

filled, shutters are put over the portholes and fire extin-

guishers are moved to a central location; no crew member

remains on board except a shipkeeper and the vessel is

anchored and secured to the dock with wires, deadwires and

chains. In sum, the vessel is idle and cold. This is also called a

“dry” layup. See Transcript at 1571-73 (Testimony of Louis

Carter), 1255-56 (Testimony of James Sherman), 949-50 (Testi-

mony of Wright Garvey), 224-25 (Testimony of Eugene

Stafford).

38a

winter mooring regulations were published by the GLPA.

See Statement of Uncontested Facts at 46; Transcript at

2103-2209 (Testimony of John Hanninen), 1386-90, 1379

(Testimony of James Sherman), 232-36 (Testimony of

Eugene Stafford); Exhibits 213 & 213A (Deposition of

True LeMon), 593, 614 & 647.

(a) Cement Division had knowledge of the

United States Salvage Association’s winter moor-

ing regulation which provided that winter mooring

would not be approved in the outer harbor at the

Port of Milwaukee. See Transcript at 2103-2209

(Testimony of John Hanninen), 2070-90, 2051-66

(Testimony of Floyd Brown), 1377-90 (Testimony of

James Sherman), 338-42 (Testimony of Norman

Martinson); Exhibits 134, 213 & 213A (Deposition

of True LeMon), 581, 586, 586A, 592, 593, 594, 603,

604, 605, 608, 614 & 647.

(b) The United States Salvage Associa-

tion’s winter mooring regulations were used for

insurance purposes and were not applied and

enforced by marine surveyor inspections to tem-

porary tie ups! such as that of the E.M. FORD

in December of 1979.

See Transcript at 1571-73 (Testimony of Louis

Carter), 1491 (Testimony of William Wade),

1419, 1412, 1398, 1255-59 (Testimony of James

Sherman), 949-50, 915, 893 (Testimony of Wright

Garvey), 224-26 (Testimony of Patrick Gal-

lagher).

10 During a temporary tie up, layup or mooring the ves-

sel’s machinery is not drained, most of the crew is kept on

board and the boilers are kept going. This is also called a “wet”

layup. See Transcript at 1522 (Testimony of Louis Carter), 1398,

1258-59 (Testimony of James Sherman), 949-50, 915 (Testimony

of Wright Garvey).

39a

30. The City of Milwaukee had actual knowledge

that a hazardous surge action could develop in South Slip

No. 1 in the outer harbor of the Port of Milwaukee and

that this surgifg could pose a danger to vessels tied up

there and to the dock itself. This knowledge was based on

prior claims;'! records of prior observations of wind and

wave levels at the Port of Milwaukee; and past studies,

investigations, proposals and reports dealing with the

surge problem. See Statement of Uncontested Facts at 7]

18 & 19; Answers to Plaintiff’s Requests for Admissions

of Facts and Genuineness of Documents (Second Set) at

77 1, 2 & 5; Answers to Plaintiff’s Requests for Admis-

sions of Facts and Genuineness of Documents at {J 10,

12, 13, 14, 15, 17, 18 & 20; Transcript at 1340-43 (Testi-

mony of James Sherman), 1221, 1218, 1154-56, 1151 (Testi-

mony of Stanley Blawas), 1100-10, 1055-72, (Testimony of

Roy Hoffman), 993 (Testimony of Robert MacLaren),

843-65 (Testimony of Wright Garvey); Exhibits 143, 144,

‘1 The court admitted records of prior damage claims as

evidence of notice to the city of Milwaukee of the possibility of

surge developing within Terminal Pier No. 1 in South Slip No.

1. See Transcript at 1055-75 (Testimony of Roy Hoffman);

Exhibits 156, 159 & 164; Requests for Admissions of Facts and

Genuineness of Documents and Answers to Plaintiff’s

Requests for Admissions of Facts and Genuineness of Docu-

ments at 7] 10, 12, 13, 14 & 15. However, the records of these

claims have little probative value. There was no demonstration

that the conditions of the prior accidents were substantially

similar to the conditions of the disaster at issue. See McAllister

Brothers, Inc. v. United States, No. 85-CIV-0098 (CHT) (S.D.N.Y.

March 20, 1989); Tug Ocean Prince, Inc. v. United States, 436 F.

Supp. 907, 921 (S.D.N.Y. 1977), aff'd in part, rev'd in part on other

grounds, 584 F.2d 1151 (2d Cir. 1978).

40a

147, 156, 159, 164, 174, 209 (Deposition of James Haskell

at 12, 17-19), 652.

Second Change in Orders

31. On December 22, 1979, Cement Division’s Fleet

Engineer, Norman Martinson, informed Captain Gal-

lagher that the E.M. FORD’s orders had been changed.

The vessel was to lay up temporarily in Milwaukee to

permit officers and crew members to be discharged dur-

ing the Christmas holiday from December 22 until

December 26 or 27. After the holiday the FORD was

scheduled to make one more delivery trip before being

moored for the winter. When issuing this change in

orders Martinson was not aware that the ELM. FORD was

not tied up at Terminal No. 4 —- the berth for which

Cement Division had contracted. See Transcript at 566-68,

455-56 (Testimony of Patrick Gallagher), 375-77, 315 &

295-300 (Testimony of Norman Martinson).

32. Captain Gallagher protested the change in

orders to Norman Martinson. He pointed out that he and

the crew had had a long and arduous season. Gallagher

was anxious to go home for the holiday and did not want

to return to the E.M. FORD for another trip. See Tran-

script at 568-69, 456-57 (Testimony of Patrick Gallagher),

298 (Testimony of Norman Martinson).

33. After Captain Gallagher received this change in

orders, he told the crew to put out the winter mooring

lines. With the additional lines, the number of lines then

totalled twenty-two. See 455-60 (Testimony of Patrick Gal-

lagher); Transcript at 160, 132, 91-92 (Testimony of Robert

Brissette); Exhibit 121. Putting out these additional iines

4la

exhausted the supply of lines stored on the E.M. FORD.

See Exhibit 657 (Deposition of Richard Jenne at 24).

December 22 Meeting

34. On the morning of December 22, 1979, Salvatore

Gumina, a foreman for the Edward E. Gillen Company,

- and Dock Superintendent Stanley Blawas, who happened

to be aboard the E.M. FORD on other business, met with

Captain Gallagher.

(a) Captain Gallagher told Blawas and

Gumina that his orders had changed and that

the FORD would lay up temporarily in Mil-

waukee and that part of the crew would go

home for the holiday and would not return until

December 26 or 27.

(b) Blawas said that the FORD could

remain at Terminal No. 1,12 but warned that the

outer harbor could get “heavy” if a storm came

up. At the same time Blawas told Captain Gal-

lagher that the waves in Terminal No. 1 were

generally 1-2 feet.

12 The dock at Terminal No. 1, Slip No. 1, was used as a

berth for the E.M. FORD at the wharfage rate set forth in the

City of Milwaukee Public Tariff effective April 25, 1977, as

amended. See Statement of Uncontested Facts at ¥ 12. The City

billed Cement Division for dockage at Terminal No. 1, South

Slip No. 1, for the E. M. FORD from 1530 hours Central

Standard Time on December 21, 1979, to 1400 hours Central

Standard Time on December 24, 1979, in the amount of $156.54,

which was fully paid by Cement Division to the City. See

Statement of Uncontested Facts at ¥ 21.

The winter mooring rate is cheaper than the City’s regular

mooring rate. See Transcript at 1191-93, 1150 (Testimony of

Stanley Blawas).

42a

(c) Blawas suggested that Captain Gal-

lagher tie up the FORD at the City of Mil-

waukee’s heavy lift dock in the inner harbor

because it had electric power. Captain Gallagher

rejected this proposal because the FORD crew

had already started to put out the extra lines.

(d) Captain Gallagher and Gumina agreed

that Gumina would check the FORD’s moorings

and provide lines and fenders as needed.

Although Captain Gallagher had had no prior

dealings with Gumina or with the Gillen Com-

pany, he did not ask Gumina what services,

equipment or personnel the Gillen Company

could provide in an emergency.

(e) Before Blawas and Gumina disem-

barked, they gave Captain Gallagher their tele-

phone numbers.

See Statement of Uncontested Facts at 49 11 & 14; Tran-

script at 2223-30 (Testimony of Patrick Gallagher),

2005-10, 1974-76 (Testimony of Salvatore Gumina),

1294-96 (Testimony of Walter Heckl), 1234-35, 1227-29,

1235-37, 1214, 1196-1209 (Testimony of Stanley Blawas),

699-701, 681-82 (Testimony of Joseph Zolnierek), 580-84,

493-94, 461-72 (Testimony of Patrick Gallagher), 174,

154-55, 135, 92-101 (Testimony of Robert Brissette);

Exhibits 132 & 657 (Deposition of Richard Jenne at 18-20).

Discharge of Crew and Departure of Captain

35. On the afternoon of December 22, 1979, Captain

Gallagher signed United States Coast Guard certificates

discharging the entire crew.

(a) All but five crew members then left the

ship.

43a

(b) Five crew members (none of them from

the deck crew) volunteered or were designated!

to remain on board. They were:

James Sheridan, third assistant engineer

Robert Malaski, oiler

James Simpson, night porter and acting

steward

Hussain Bubakr, wiper

Mohamed Ghazaly, porter

(c) James Sheridan was left in charge as

the de facto shipkeeper.'* These five were to

make sure that one boiler was running and to

keep the plant and generator running. No one

was assigned to watch the the weather. Sheridan

was told that the Edward E. Gillen Company

would help with the lines and provide any man-

power needed.

(d) Before leaving the ship, Captain Gal-

lagher sent the telephone number of Salvatore

Gumina to First Assistant Engineer Joseph

Zolnierek who gave it to James Sheridan. Tele-

phone numbers of Cement Division personnel

were also available aboard ship.

13 Captain Gallagher testified that fleet engineer Norman

Martinson selected the crew members who would remain

aboard, while Martinson testified that it was Gallagher. A

resolution of this conflict is immaterial to this action; however,

it is interesting to note that in Martinson’s opinion, “It

wouldn’t have mattered too much [which crew members were

left aboard] because we had some pretty good competent peo-

ple in there.” Transcript at 334 (Testimony of Norman Martin-

son) This assessment proved to be overly optimistic.

14 Cement Division had no policy or procedure setting

forth the duties expected of a shipkeeper during a temporary

layup. See Transcript at 256 (Testimony of Eugene Stafford).

44a

See Statement of Uncontested Facts at {J 16 & 17;

Answers to Plaintiff’s Requests for Admissions of Facts

and Genuineness of Documents at 4 8; Transcript at

678-83 (Testimony of Joseph Zolnierek), 637, 611-22, 517,

472-80, 459 (Testimony of Patrick Gallagher), 154, 101

(Testimony of Robert Brissette); Exhibits 132, 202 & 202A

(Deposition of James Sheridan at 46-47, 50-54, 56, 60, 63,

109), 203 & 203A (Deposition of Robert Malaski at 25-26,

62-63, 66), 509 & 513.

36. It was the practice of Cement Division to sign

the entire crew off the ship’s articles and off the payroll at

any time the ship was temporarily or permanently laid

up. Implementation of this practice saved money for

Cement Division. The union contract with the ship’s

unlicensed personnel required a winter sailing bonus for

days worked after December 20. The company was also

obligated to pay a premium for work over a holiday

weekend. See Transcript at 1256-59 (Testimony of James

Sherman), 517, 459 (Testimony of Patrick Gallagher), 154

(Testimony of Robert Brissette); Exhibits 527 & 528.

37. Before leaving the E.M. FORD, Captain Gal-

lagher shut down all the radios and radiotelephone. The

radiotelephone was locked in the radiotelephone cabinet

which was locked in the pilot house. James Sheridan had

keys for the entire ship, but he did not have a license

to operate the radiotelephone and did not know how

to operate the equipment.'> There was no other

15 Robert Malaski, the oiler left aboard the E.M. FORD,

had been a radioman first class in the United States Coast

Guard. See Exhibit 203 (Deposition of Robert J. Malaski at 5-6).

Malaski made no attempt to operate the E.M. FORD’s equip-

ment on December 24, 1979.

45a

ship-to-shore telephone aboard the E.M. FORD during

December 22-25, 1979. Captain Gallagher expected the

crew to use a pay telephone on shore in case of emer-

gency. See Statement of Uncontested Facts at ¥ 15; Tran-

script at 670, 617-18 (Testimony of Patrick Gallagher).

38. When its ships were temporarily laid up,

Cement Division’s practice was not to require them to

maintain any type of radio contact. See Transcript at

654-55 (Testimony of Patrick Gallagher), 248 (Testimony

of Eugene Stafford). See also Transcript at 1661 (Testimony

of Louis Carter).

Weather

39. The E.M. FORD was a ship which reported

actual weather and water conditions to the United States

Coast Guard. However, its practice was not to monitor or

report weather conditions while in port. See Transcript at

634, 630-31, 552-65 (Testimony of Patrick Gallagher),

247-48 (Testimony of Eugene Stafford), 145-49 (Testimony

of Robert Brissette); Exhibits 643, 641 & 526. See also

Transcript at 1661 (Testimony of Louis Carter).

40. The National Weather Service at Chicago, Illi-

nois broadcasts periodic weather forecasts for the area

which includes the Port of Milwaukee. From the evening

of December 21, 1979, when the E.M. FORD tied up at the

Port of Milwaukee, through December 24, 1979, when

attempts to rescue the FORD ceased, these forecasts

included:

(a) 9:39 p.m., Central Standard Time, Friday,

December 21, 1979: south-to-southeast winds 15

46a

to 25 knots the remainder of the night, diminish-

ing to 10 to 20 knots Saturday, with waves 2 to 5

feet, decreasing Saturday. This forecast was

broadcast to mariners as a marine forecast

(MAFOR)'¢ at midnight, Central Standard Time,

on that date.

(b) 9:34 a.m., Central Standard Time, Satur-

day, December 22, 1979: southerly winds 12 to 22

knots in the afternoon, becoming southeasterly

15 to 25 knots later that night and continuing

Sunday, with waves 1 to 3 feet. This MAFOR

was broadcast at noon, Central Standard Time,

on that date.

(c) 3:39 p.m., Central Standard Time, Satur-

day, December 22, 1979: southeast-to-south winds

10 to 20 knots that night, increasing to 15 to 25

knots Sunday, with waves 1 to 3 feet. This

MAFOR was broadcast at 6:00 p.m., Central

Standard Time, on that date.

(d) 9:39 p.m., Central Standard Time, Satur-

day, December 22, 1979: southeast-to-south winds

10 to 18 knots the remainder of the night,

becoming southwesterly 10 to 20 knots. This

MAFOR was broadcast at midnight, Central

Standard Time, on that date.

16 MAFORs are weather forecasts and synopses broadcast

by the National Weather Service four times a day. MAFORs

give the predicted weather for each of the Great Lakes for a

twenty-four hour period. They also give the position of pres-

sure areas and their predicted movements.

Great Lakes mariners also receive LAWEBs twice a day.

These reports give the actual weather at shore installations like

Milwaukee. They also give wind direction, the height of the

water and barometer readings. See Transcript at 1700-01,

1565-58, 1520-21 (Testimony of Louis Carter), 630-39 (Testi-

mony of Patrick Gallagher).

47a

(e) 3:39 .a.m., Central Standard Time, Sunday,

December 23, 1979: south-to-southeast winds 12

to 22 knots that day, becoming northeasterly

that night, with waves 1 to 3 feet. This MAFOR

was broadcast at 6:00 a.m., Central Standard

Time, on that date.

(f) 9:34 a.m., Central Standard Time, Sunday,

December 23, 1979: southeast winds 12 to 22

knots that afternoon and early that night,

becoming northeasterly 12 to 22 knots later that

night and northerly winds 18 to 28 knots Mon-

day, with waves 1 to 3 feet. This MAFOR was

broadcast at noon, Central Standard Time, on

that date.

(g) 3:39 p.m., Central Standard Time, Sunday,

December 23, 1979: southerly winds 10 to 17

knots early that night, becoming east-to-north-

easterly 12 to 22 knots later that night and

northeast-to-north winds increasing to 20 to 30

knots Monday, with waves 1 to 3 feet increasing

to 4 to 7 feet by morning. This MAFOR was

broadcast at 6:00. p.m., Central Standard Time,

on that date.

(h) 9:39 p.m., Central Standard Time, Sun-

day, December 23, 1979: southerly winds 10 to 17

knots early that night, becoming east-to-north-

easterly 12 to 22 knots later that night and

northeast-to-north winds increasing to 20 to 30

knots Monday, with waves 1 to 3 feet increasing

to 4 to 7 feet by morning. This MAFOR was

broadcast at 6:00 p.m., Central Standard Time,

on that date.

(i) 3:39 a.m., Central Standard Time, Mon-

day, December 24, 1979: east-to-northeast winds

15 to 25 knots, becoming northeasterly 25 to 35

knots that afternoon and northeast-to-north 30

to 40 knots that night, with waves 2 to 4 feet,

increasing to 6 to 12 feet that night. This

48a

MAFOR was broadcast at 6:00 a.m., Central

Standard Time, on that date.!7

(j) 9:34 a.m., Central Standard Time, Monday,

December 24, 1979: northeast-to north winds 30

to 40 knots that afternoon and early that night

and northerly 25 to 35 knots later that night and

north-to-northwesterly 15 to 25 knots Tuesday,

with waves 6 to 12 feet. This MAFOR was

broadcast at noon Central Standard Time, on

that date.

(k) 3:39 p.m., Central Standard Time, Mon-

day, December 24, 1979: northeast-to-north winds

40 to 55 knots early that night and northerly 35

to 45 knots later that night and north-to-north-

westerly 20 to 30 knots and gradually diminish-

ing during Tuesday, with waves 6 to 12 feet.

This MAFOR was broadcast at 6:00 p.m., Central

Standard Time, on that date.

(1) 9:39 p.m., Central Standard Time, Monday,

December 24, 1979: northeast-to-north winds 35

to 45 knots with gusts to 50 knots the remainder

of that night, becoming north-to-northwest 28 to

40 knots Tuesday morning, diminishing to 22 to

32 knots Tuesday afternoon, with waves 6 to 12

feet. This MAFOR was broadcast at midnight,

Central Standard Time, on that date.

See Answers to Plaintiff's Requests for Admissions of

Facts and Genuineness of Documents at 7] 31-42; Tran-

script at 1659-60, 1520-46 (Testimony of Louis Carter),

654-59, 592-602 (Testimony of Patrick Gallagher); Exhibits

211 (Deposition of Robert Francis Bowes at 26-33), 515.

17 At 7:00 A.M., on December 24, 1979, the United States

Coast Guard posted gale warnings for southern Lake Michi-

gan.

49a

41. On December 24, 1979, the actual wind veloc-

ities recorded for Milwaukee were:

6:00 A.M. 20 knots-per-hour

8:00 A.M. 22 knots-per-hour

10:00 A.M. 24 knots-per-hour

12:00 P.M. 35 knots-per-hour

2:00 P.M. 30 knots-per-hour

4:00 P.M. 40 knots-per-hour

6:00 P.M. 35 knots-per-hour

8:00 P.M. 30 knots-per-hour

12:00 A.M. 24 knots-per-hour

See Exhibits 138, 211 (Deposition of Robert Francis Bowes

at 33-40), 516.

42. The significant wave heights'® measured by the

United States Coast Guard at the entrance to Milwaukee’s

harbor at periodic intervals on December 24, 1979, were:

6:00 A.M. 3.4 feet

12:00 P.M. 7.4 feet

6:00 P.M. 13.6 feet

43. Had he been aboard the E. M. FORD, Captain

Gallagher, using his training and experience as a ship’s

master, could have monitored and evaluated the weather

data which was available on December 23 and 24 to

anticipate that gale-force winds from the northeast were

developing on southern Lake Michigan which could pose

18 A wave’s height is the vertical distance between its

trough and its crest as measured by reference to the mean

water level. The “significant wave height” is the average of the

highest one third of the waves. See Transcript at 816-17 (Testi-

mony of Robert Sorenson).

eee

50a 7

as a danger to the ship. See Transcript at 1832-33 (Testi-

mony of Thomas Doyle), 1541, 1545-46 (Testimony of

Louis Carter); Exhibits 641, 642 & 643.

44. Although the City of Milwaukee Board of Har-

bor Commissioners maintains a courtesy weather watch

during regular business hours, it does not offer weather

watch services to users of its facilities. The City’s custom

and practice is to notify users of its harbor facilities if

winds arise in excess of 30-knots-per-hour. Regular busi-

ness hours do not include weekends and holidays. At

those times no one is on duty at the Port of Milwaukee

except a security watchman. See Transcript at 1195-96,

1158-59 (Testimony of Stanley Blawas), 1133, 1128 (Testi-

mony of Roy Hoffman), 941 (Testimony of Wright Gar-

vey).

45. Cement Division did not plan to rely on the

City’s courtesy weather watch when it agreed to tie up

the E.M. FORD at Terminal Pier No. 1 in South Slip No. 1.

46. Cement Division’s ship, the S.T. CRAPO arrived,

unloaded and departed from Cement Division’s dock on

December 23, 1979. The CRAPO’s log shows that it expe-

rienced 32-38 knots-per-hour winds on the eastern side of

Lake Michigan at noon on December 24. Even though it is

a standard custom or practice for ships in a shipowner’s

fleet to communicate with each other regarding weather,

see Transcript at 1594 (Testimony of Louis Carter), the

CRAPO made no attempt to warn the E.M. FORD of these

conditions. See Transcript at 1594-97 (Testimony of Louis

Carter); Exhibit 644.

5la

Breakaway and Sinking of the E.M. FORD

47. The E. M. FORD remained tied up to the dock at

Terminal Pier No. 1 in South Slip No. 1, Milwaukee Outer

Harbor, until about noon Central Standard Time on

December 24, 1979. See Statement of Uncontested Facts at

q 29.

See Transcript at 815-19 (Testimony of Robert Sorenson);

Exhibit 138.

48. At approximately 1:00 P.M. on December 24,

1979, Third Assistant Engineer James Sheridan, who was

aboard the E.M. FORD, noticed that the ship was 10-15

feet off the dock at the stern and that the wind velocity

and wave height had increased markedly. Sheridan and

another crew member brought the boarding ladder

aboard and Sheridan assigned one of the crew to go on

deck and call for help. See Exhibit 202 (Deposition of

James Sheridan at 120-32, 162-68).

49. At approximately the same time Salvatore Gum-

ina, a foreman with the Edward E. Gillen Company,

decided to drive around Jones Island in the outer harbor

where he had been renovating Gillen offices. Gumina had

not seen the FORD since his meeting with Captain Gal-

'agher on December 22. When Gumina stopped his vehi-

cle on the dock, he heard a crewman aboard the E.M.

FORD calling for help and saw that the FORD had moved

away from the dock. See Statement of Uncontested Facts

at 4 30; Transcript at 2040-43, 2027-37, 2011-12, 1976-79

(Testimony of Salvatore Gumina), 1875-76 (Testimony of

Stanley Catarozoli).

52a

50. Gumina then drove to the United States Coast

Guard station where the duty officer and junior officer of

the day informed him that there was nothing the Coast

Guard could do because it was a holiday and no one was

available to render assistance. See Statement of Uncon-

tested Facts at J 31; Transcript at 1988-89, 1978 (Testi-

mony of Salvatore Gumina).

51. Gumina returned to the Gillen office where he

obtained manilla lines ana attempted to contact other

Gillen employees. He was able to reach five men who

agreed to return to work to assist the EM. FORD. Gum-

ina also informed Don Jackson, an officer of the Gillen

Company, and Stanley Blawas of the FORD’s plight. After

spending at least two hours at the Gillen office, Gumina

and the other employees returned to the dock at approx-

imately 3:30 P.M. and attempted to throw lines aboard the

E.M. FORD. See Statement of Uncontested Facts at 7 32,

33 & 35; Transcript at 2040-45, 2030-37, 1976-2002 (Testi-

mony of Salvatore Gumina), 783 (Testimony of Andrew

LaBorde).

52. Staniey Blawas drove to the dock where some-

one on board the E.M. FORD called out the telephone

number of first assistant engineer Joseph Zolnierek who

was at home in Alpena, Michigan. Blawas called

Zolnierek for authority to call for the services of tug

boats. Zolnierek, in turn, called Captain Gallagher, who

was also in Alpena. Later Blawas called Captain Gal-

lagher to tell him that a licensed pilot was needed and

suggested some names, including that of Captain Thomas

53a

Parks, a resident of Milwaukee. See Statement of Uncon-

tested Facts at {YJ 38 & 39; Transcript at 1209-13 (Testi-

mony of Stanley Blawas), 684-85 (Testimony of Joseph

Zolnierek), 481-88 (Testimony of Patrick Gallagher).

54. Captain Gallagher contacted the Great Lakes

Towing Company to ask for assistance.

(a) At approximately 4:00 P.M. on Decem-

ber 24, after receiving Cement Division’s call for

help, the Great Lakes Towing Company dis-

patched its harbor tug WASHINGTON to assist

the E.M. FORD. But, because there was no pilot

aboard, Captain Robert MacLaren could not ren-

der assistance, so he returned to the dock with

the WASHINGTON.

(b) At approximately 6:00 P.M. on Decem-

ber 24, Great Lakes Towing Company dis-

patched its harbor tugs TEXAS and

WASHINGTON to the E.M. FORD for a second

time. The tugs could not communicate with the

ship, so they returned to their dock.

See Statement of Uncontested Facts at 43; Transcript at

963-93 (Testimony of Robert MacLaren); 481-88 (Testi-

mony of Patrick Gallagher); Exhibits 202 (Deposition of

James Sheridan at 179), 127 & 128.

55. Captain Gallagher also contacted Captain Parks

who agreed to join in the efforts to rescue the E.M. FORD.

Captain Parks arrived at the dock at approximately 5:30

P.M. on December 24. He observed that the bow of the

ship had broken loose from the dock on the north side of

the slip and had swung to the south side of the slip

against the wallhead where it was pounding against the

dock. He noted that there was damage to the FORD’s port

side, including a hole, and that there was a hole in the

54a

stern. He estimated the waves to be 12-15 feet and the

wind velocity to be 30 knots-per-hour. Captain Parks and

Captain Gallagher remained in contact throughout the

evening by means of a shore telephone. See Statement of

Uncontested Facts at {9 35 & 41; Transcript at 1006-19

(Testimony of Thomas Parks), 481-88 (Testimony of

Patrick Gallagher).

56. Captain Parks and three Gillen employees

jumped aboard the E.M. FORD and attempted to prepare

the vessel to be towed from the slip. See Statement of

Uncontested Facts at 77 35 & 42; Transcript at 2035

(Testimony of Salvatore Gumina), 1006-19 (Testimony of

Thomas Parks), 806-10 (Testimony of Andrew LaBorde).

57. At approximately 8:00 P.M. on December 24,

after being summoned by Captain Parks who had acti-

vated the radiotelephone aboard the FORD, the harbor

tugs TEXAS and WASHINGTON were again dispatched

to the E.M. FORD. The tugs remained in the area until

9:30 P.M. when they were released by Captain Parks who

had decided that the tugs should not attempt to tie on to

the ship because the rolling action of the FORD might

endanger the lives of those aboard both vessels. See State-

ment of Uncontested Facts at J 43; Transcript at 1012-17

(Testimony of Thomas Parks), 963-93 (Testimony of

Robert MacLaren); Exhibits 202 (Deposition of James

Sheridan at 179), 127 & 128.

58. While Captain Parks and Gillen employees

manned the power winches and attempted to remoor the

E.M. FORD, members of the FORD crew brought up the

steam on the boilers, put power on the winches, operated

the engine and pumps and took soundings. The cook

55a

proceeded with the preparation of the crew’s turkey din-

ner. See Statement of Uncontested Facts at 47 35, 37 & 42;

Transcript at 2035, 1995-2001 (Testimony of Salvatore

Gumina), 1902-20 (Testimony of Keith Iverson), 1021-36,

1008-18 (Testimony of Thomas Parks); Exhibits 202

(Deposition of James Sheridan at 133, 138-43, 148-50,

169-87), 203 & 203A (Deposition of Robert Malaski at 6-7,

9, 34-44, 62, 63, 66).

59. Although Captain Parks was able to move the

E.M. FORD about 100 feet back into the slip, he and the

Gillen men were not able to remoor the ship for any

length of time. Lines continued to part. At approximately

11:00 P.M. on December 24, Captain Parks found that the

ship was taking on water and was failing to return from

her starboard rolls. Near midnight Captain Parks ordered

the crew to shut down the boilers and generator. The

Captain then ordered everyone off the ship. See Statement

of Uncontested Facts at J] 37 & 44; 1999-2003 (Testimony

of Salvatore Gumina), Transcript at 1028-30, 1016-20 (Tes-

timony of Thomas Parks); Exhibits 202 (Deposition of

James Sheridan at 184-87), 203 (Deposition of Robert Mal-

aski at 44-45).

60. After the persons on board went ashore, the

E. M. FORD settled to the bottom of the slip on December

25, 1979. See Statement of Uncontested Facts at { 45;

Transcript at 1180 (Testimony of Stanley Blawas), 1019-20

(Testimony of Thomas Parks), 936 (Testimony of Wright

Garvey), 786-87 (Testimony of Andrew LaBorde), 686-87

(Testimony of Joseph Zolnierek), 490 (Testimony of

Patrick Gallagher), 311-12 (Testimony of Norman Martin-

son); Exhibits 165 & 180.

56a

61. The City of Milwaukee’s pier and surrounding

property at Terminal Pier No. 1 in South Slip No. 1 was

injured by the E.M. FORD’s repeated pounding against

the dock and its headwall on December 24, 1979. See

Statement of Uncontested Facts at 4 36; Transcript at

1793-1804, 1785-86, 1733-77 (Testimony of Dean Honadel);

Exhibit 552. ‘

62. The City of Milwaukee’s dock structure at Term-

inal Pier No. 1 in Slip No. 1 and its cleats and bollards did

not fail and was not a cause of the damage to the £.M.

FORD or the property of the City of Milwaukee on

December 24, 1979. See Transcript at 1793-1804, 1785-86,

1733-77 (Testimony of Dean Honadel); Exhibit 552.

63. Once the violent surging began to develop in

South Slip No. 1, there were no measures which could

have been taken, short of immediately removing the E.M.

FORD from the slip, which would have prevented or

substantially lessened the injuries which were sustained

by the E.M. FORD and the City’s dock on December 24

and 25, 1979. The FORD could not be removed because

Cement Division failed to retain a master and adequate

crew. See Transcript at 1574-90 (Testimony of Louis Car-

ter), 659-60 (Testimony of Patrick Gallagher), 164-65, 151

(Testimony of Robert Brissette); Exhibit 213 (Deposition

of True LeMon at 97).

64. The complete reliance which Cement Division

purported to place on the City of Milwaukee and the

Edward E. Gillen Company to warn, rescue and protect

the safety of the E.M. FORD was unreasonable under the

following circumstances:

’

57a

(a) When entering into the agreements at

issue with the City of Milwaukee and the

Edward E. Gillen Company, Cement Division

failed to divulge that the S.S. EM. FORD would

be laid up for a period of days without a pilot,

without a crew, without ship-to-shore communi-

cations and without a weather watch.

(b) Without any prior course of dealing,

Cement Division, in the person of Captain

Patrick Gallagher, failed to apprise the Edward

E. Gillen Company of the services it would need

and, at the same time, failed to ascertain

whether Gillen had the equipment and man-

power needed to render these services.

(c) Crew members remained aboard the

S.S. E.M. FORD at all times and should have

been in the best position to observe any weather

conditions which might affect the vessel and to

notify Cement Division personnel in case of an

emergency. See Transcript at 1850, 1834-35 (Testi-

mony of Thomas Doyle), 1695-98, 1581-87 (Testi-

mony of Louis Carter), 1408-09, 1401-02, 1348-49

(Testimony of James Sherman), 1127-28 (Testi-

mony of Roy Hoffman), 1037-41 (Testimony of

Thomas Parks), 588-91 (Testimony of Patrick

Gallagher); Exhibits 207 (Deposition of Mark

Presper at 57-59), 209 (Deposition of James

Haskell at 14 & 17), 210 (Deposition of John

Burke at 109).

D. LIABILITY —

1. Negligence

65. The City of Milwaukee, acting through its

employees and agents, breached its duty of due care for

the safety of its own dock and other property and for the

safety of the plaintiff’s vessel, the S.S. E. M. FORD, by

58a

allowing the E. M. FORD to remain tied up at Terminal

Pier No. 1 in South Slip No. 1 for a period of days

without adequately warning Cement Division that wind

and wave conditions could develop which would endan-

ger the vessel and the City’s property with which it

would come into contact. Despite its superior knowledge

of this hazard, the City failed to exercise its power to

order the vessel to remain manned or move off berth.

66. The defendant's breach of its duty of due care,

as described in Finding of Fact No. 65, above, was a

cause-in-fact of the injury to the S.S. E.M. FORD and of

the injury to its own property which occurred on Decem-

ber 24 and 25, 1979.

67. Cement Division, acting through its employees

and agents, breached its duty of due care for the safety of

its own vessel, the S.S. E.M. FORD, and for the safety of

the property of the City of Milwaukee by choosing to tie

up the S.S. E.M. FORD for a period of days at Terminal

Pier No. 1 in South Slip No. 1 in the outer harbor at the

Port of Milwaukee during the month of December despite

warnings and knowledge that wind and wave conditions

could develop which would endanger the vessel and any

property with which it would come into contact. The

plaintiff further breached its duty of due care by its

captain’s failure to take reasonable precautions to ensure

the safety of the vessel before departing for a vacation.

Captain Gallagher failed to employ a standby master or

pilot and crew members who would be capable of remov-

ing the vessel or taking any other measures necessary

should an emergency arise, failed to employ a crew mem-

ber to remain aboard who would be capable of operating

’ |

59a

ship-to-shore communications facilities, and failed to

assign a crew member to monitor the weather.

68. The plaintiff’s breach of its duty of due care, as

described in Finding of Fact No. 67, above, was a cause-

in-fact of the injury to the S.S. E. M. FORD and of the

injury to the dock and other property of the City of

Milwaukee which occurred on December 24 and 25, 1979.

69. The plaintiffs and the defendant failed to show

by a preponderance of the evidence that the acts or

omissions of defendant Edward E. Gillen Company were

a cause-in-fact of the injury to the S.S. E.M. FORD.

70. Assuming the total fault which caused the injury

to the E. M. FORD to be one hundred percent (100%), the

court attributes ninety-six percent (96%) of the total fault

to the plaintiff Cement Division and four percent (4%) of

the total fault to the defendant City of Milwaukee.

71. Assuming the total fault which caused the injury

to the City of Milwaukee’s dock and other property at

Terminal No. 1, South Slip No. 1 to be one hundred

percent (100%), the court attributes ninety-six percent

(96%) of the total fault to the plaintiff Cement Division

and four percent (4%) of the total fault to the defendant

City of Milwaukee.

2. Warranty

72. By the acts described in Finding of Fact No. 65,

above, the defendant City of Milwaukee breached a

wharfinger’s implied warranty to provide a safe berth for

plaintiff Cement Division’s vessel the S.S. E.M. FORD.

60a .

73. The plaintiff Cement Division, National Gypsum

Company, did not establish by a preponderance of the

evidence that the defendant City of Milwaukee expressly

warranted Terminal Pier No. 1 in South Slip No. 1 to be a

safe berth for a vessel temporarily laid up with no deck

crew aboard capable of moving the ship in an emergency.

74. The defendant City of Milwaukee did not breach

any express warranties to provide a safe berth at Termi-

nal No. 1, South Slip No. 1 in the Milwaukee Harbor for

the plaintiff Cement Division’s vessel, the S.S. E.M.

FORD.

II. CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

A. JURISDICTION AND JOINDER

1. The district courts have original jurisdiction,

exclusive of the courts of the States, of any civil case of

admiralty or maritime jurisdiction, saving to suitors, in

all cases all other remedies to which they are otherwise

entitled. See 28 U.S.C. § 1333(1).

2. When torts have occurred on navigable waters

within the United States and the alleged wrongs bear a

significant relationship to traditional maritime activity,

the claims fall within a federal court’s admiralty jurisdic-

tion. See East River Steamship Corporation v. Transamerica

DeLeval, Inc., 476 U.S. 858, 863-64 (1986); Complaint of

SISSON, 867 F.2d 341, 343 (7th Cir. 1989).

3. The admiralty and maritime jurisdiction of the

United States extends to and includes all cases of damage

or injury, to person or property, caused by a vessel on

navigable water, notwithstanding that such damage or

61a

injury be done or consummated on land, including ship-

caused injuries to a pier. See 46 U.S.C. § 740. See also

Nacierma Operating Company, Inc. v. Johnson, 396 U.S. 212,

222 (1969); Gutierrez v. Waterman Steamship Corporation,

373 U.S. 206, 209-10 (1963); S.C. Loveland, Inc. v. East West

Towing, Inc., 608 F.2d°160, 165 (5th Cir. 1979), cert. denied

sub nom. St. Paul Mercury Insurance Company v. East West

Towing, Inc., 446 U.S. 918 (1980).

4. Third-party defendant Edward E. Gillen Com-

pany, Inc. has properly been made a party pursuant to

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 14(c), which provides

that: 7

When a plaintiff asserts an admiralty or

maritime claim within the meaning of Rule 9(h),

the defendant or claimant, as a third-party

plaintiff, may bring in a third-party defendant

who may be wholly or partly liable, either to the

plaintiff or to the third-party plaintiff, by way of

remedy over, contribution, or otherwise on

account of the same transaction, occurrence, or

series of transactions or occurrences. In such a

case the third-party plaintiff may also demand

judgment against the third-party defendant in

favor of the plaintiff, in which event the third-

party defendant shall make any defenses to the

claim of the plaintiff as well as to that of the

third-party plaintiff in the manner provided in

Rule 12 and the action shall proceed as if the

plaintiff had commenced it against the third-

party defendant as well as the third-party plain-

tiff.

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 14(c). See also Seal Off-

shore, Inc. v. American Standard, Inc., 777 F.2d 1042, 1045

(Sth Cir. 1985); Riverway Company v. Trumbull River Ser-

vices, Inc., 674 F.2d 1146, 1154-55 (7th Cir. 1982); United

62a

States v. Isco, Inc., 463 F. Supp. 1293, 1294-95 (E.D. Wis.

1979); Ohio River Company v. Continental Grain Company,

352 F. Supp. 505, 511-13 (N.D. Ill. 1972).

5. This court has admiralty subject matter jurisdic-

tion over the claims made by the plaintiff in the Amended

Complaint and by the defendant in its Counterclaim and

in its Third-Party Complaint.

B. CAPACITY OF THE CITY OF MILWAUKEE TO

SUE AND BE SUED

6. Where a municipality is engaged in a proprietary

function, as distinguished from a governmental function,

it is answerable for its negligent acts, or those of its

agents, just as would an individual or a private corpora-

tion. See Bagrowski v. American Export Isbrandtsen Lines,

Inc., 440 F.2d 502, 509 (7th Cir. 1971); Leemon v. South

Jersey Port Commission, 145 F. Supp. 828, 831 (D.N.J. 1956).

7. Operations of a pier by a port district established

under state law for the loading and unloading of com-

modities is a “proprietary function” and makes a public

corporation responsible for any negligence committed by

its employees in the course of corporate work. See

Bagrowski v. American Export Isbrandtsen Lines, Inc., 440

F.2d 502, 509 (7th Cir. 1971); Leemon v. South Jersey Port

Commission, 145 F. Supp. 828, 831 (D.N.J. 1956).

8. The City of Milwaukee, in operating harbor and

dock facilities, functions as a general wharfinger. In oper-

ating its municipal port, the City of Milwaukee engages

in a proprietary function. In the exercise of these func-

tions the City is regarded as having the capacities of a

63a

private corporation which can sue and be sued. See

Bagrowski v. American Export Isbrandtsen Lines, Inc., 440

F.2d 502, 509 (7th Cir. 1971); Paper Makers Importing Com-

pany v. City of Milwaukee, 165 F. Supp. 491, 503 (E.D. Wis.

1958).

C. APPLICABLE LAW

9. In federal maritime actions, federal courts sit as

“pure” federal courts, governed by federal procedural

rules and federal substantive law. See Daughtry v. Dia-

mond M Company, 693 F. Supp. 856, 861 (C.D. Cal. 1988).

10. When admiralty jurisdiction is invoked, sub-

stantive admiralty law must be applied. Absent a relevant

statute, the general maritime law, as developed by the

judiciary, applies. Drawn from state and federal sources,

ce general maritime law is an amalgam of traditional

common-law rules, modifications of those rules, and

newly created rules. See East River Steamship Corporation v.

Transamerica DeLaval, Inc., 476 U.S. 858, 864-65 (1986);

Kermarac v. Compagnie Generale Transatlantique, 358 U.S.

625, 628 (1959).

11. If admiralty law fails to provide a standard,

marine collision liability turns on traditional tort law

principles. See East River Steamship Corporation v. Trans-

america DeLaval, Inc., 476 U.S. 858, 864-65 (1986); Floyd v.

Lykes Bros. Steamship Company, Inc., 844 F.2d 1044, 1046-47

(3d Cir. 1988); Daigle v. Point Landing, Inc., 616 F.2d 825,

827 (Sth Cir. 1980); S.C. Loveland, Inc. v. East West Towing,

Inc., 608 F.2d 160, 165 (5th Cir. 1979), cert. denied sub nom.

St. Paul Mercury Insurance Company v. East West Towing,

64a

Inc., 446 U.S. 918 (1980); People’s Natural Gas Company v.

Ashland Oil, Inc., 604 F. Supp. 1517, 1524 (W.D. Pa. 1985).

12. Allisions between a moving ship and a station-

ary or fixed object are governed by the same rules as

admiralty collision cases. See People’s Natural Gas Company

v. Ashland Oil, Inc., 604 F. Supp. 1517, 1523 (W.D.Pa. 1985).

D. MARITIME TORT LAW

13. Negligent conduct on the navigable waters that

causes loss to another constitutes a maritime tort. See

United States v. M/V BIG SAM, 681 F.2d 432, 443 (5th Cir.

1982), cert. denied, 462 U.S. 1132 (1983).

14. Negligence traditionally has four elements:

1. A duty or obligation recognized by the law

requiring the actor to conform to a certain

standard of conduct for the protection of

others against unreasonable risks;

2. A failure on the actor’s part to conform to

the standard required;

3. A reasonably close causal connection

between the conduct and the resulting injury

(proximate, cause);

4. Actual loss or damage resulting to the inter-

ests of another.

United States v. M/V BIG SAM, 454 F. Supp. 1144, 1148

(E.D. La. 1978) (citing W. Prosser, Law of Torts § 30 (4th ed.

1971)) rev’d on reconsideration on other grounds, 480 F.

Supp. 290 (E.D. La. 1979), aff'd in part, rev'd in part on other

grounds, and remanded, 681 F.2d 432 (5th Cir. 1982), cert.

denied, 462 U.S. 1132 (1983).

65a

14. A useful framework for determining negligence

in a maritime case has been formulated by designating by

“B” the burden of the precautions necessary to avert an

accident, by “L” the magnitude of the loss of the accident

occurred, and by “P” the probability that if the precau-

tions were not taken the accident would occur. An alleged

tortfeasor is negligent if B < PL, that is, if the burden of

precautions was less than the harm if the accident

occurred discounted (i.e., multiplied) by the probability

that it would occur. The higher P and L are, an

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.