Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Trojan Technologies, Inc. v. Pennsylvania

Supreme Court brief1991

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

&? Supreme Court, UM «

90-1189, FILE BD

JAN 22

No.

In The bene =

Supreme Court of the United States

-—

October Term, 1990

TROJAN TECHNOLOGIES, INC. AND KAPPE

ASSOCIATES, INC.,

Petitioners,

Ay

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA and LEROY S.

ZIMMERMAN, ATTORNEY GENERAL,

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

PAUL A. LOGAN

Counsel of Record

MICHAEL G. TRACHTMAN

ETHAN N. HALBERSTADT

Attorneys for Petitioners

367 South Gulph Road

King of Prussia, Pennsylvania 19406

(215) 354-9700

11617

tz *NJ (201) 257-6850¢(800) 3 APPEAL *NY (212) 840-4640*MA (617) 542-1114

ee DC (202) 783-7288*PA (215) 925-6500°USA (800) 5 APPEAL

STATEMENT OF QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Whether state buy-American legislation that prohibits

locally-funded political subdivisions within the state from

purchasing foreign steel products violates the commerce clause

by rendering the state a market regulator, as to which the Courts

of Appeals are in conflict? :

2. Whether state buy-American legislation that affirmatively

discriminates against foreign commerce violates the commerce

clause or is permissible under the market participant doctrine?

3. Whether state buy-American legislation serves a legitimate

State interest in protecting United States industry from foreign

competition or, as economic protectionism, violates the equal

protection clause?

li

RULE 29.1 LIST

Neither Trojan Technologies, Inc. nor Kappe Associates, Inc.

has parent companies, subsidiaries, or affiliates to list pursuant

to Rule 29.1.

it

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ne a Cheek Eka EE eR ERTS

a ee oe ee ec a kee Oak ees

TN A a a vba ekd be E RRS

Tenner ab aekeawes

Pomememe We Gormibtemee CHG Wit 2... ce eee

Il.

The Third Circuit’s decision that the market

participant doctrine permits states to regulate the

procurement policies of their political subdivisions

is in express conflict with the Seventh Circuit’s

interpretation of the market participant doctrine and

extends the market participant doctrine beyond the

limits set forth by previous decisions of this Court.

This Court has expressly reserved the question of

whether state buy-American statutes that affect

foreign commerce are saved from commerce clause

scrutiny by the market participant doctrine ......

Page

to

iv

Contents

Page

ill. The Third Circuit’s decision that economic

protectionist legislation does not violate equal

protection is in direct conflict with decisions of this

Court holding that economic protectionism is not a

legitimate state purpose under the equal protection

SPS. CCh SG LAK Dew AA SNA Sd TCE ENS 18

OE RET LIE A ere Oa ENR a PPO PN 22

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Cases Cited:

Bacchus imports, Ltd. v. Dias, 468 U.S. 263 (1984) ....... 19

Bowman v. Chicago & N.R. Co., 125 U.S. 465 (1988)

Se yee ee a ere ts Re arte Te Pras iy pager: Pes Arey 14

Brown v. Maryland, 25 U.S. 419 (1827) ............... 13

Buttfield v. Stranahan, 192 U.S. 470 (1904) ............ 13

Chy Lung v. Freeman, 92 U.S. 275 (1876) ............. 13

Garcia v. San Antonio Metropolitan Transportation

Authority, 469 U.S. 528 (1984) .......5........... 10

Henderson v. Mayor of New York, 92 U.S. 259 (1876)

LEP PPA EF OE aR we OE ERA ONO 14

Contents

Page

Japan Line, Ltd. v. County of Los Angeles, 441 U.S. 434

di FE ee ee eT ee ns passim

Metropolitan Life Insurance Co., v. Ward, 470 U.S. 869

L, - SPPr Sedinh ley Gy hoe 7, 19, 20, 21

Michelin Tire Corp. v. Wages, 423 U.S. 276 (1976) ..... 13

National League of Cities v. Usery, 426 U.S. 833 (1976)

shaw ekdeasiceo nee s ce beens Cee 10

New England Power Co. v. New Hampshire, 455 U.S. 331

COTE xo 85.60 Vonks an teen e eee ee eee 16

Northeast Bancorp, Inc. v. Board of Governors of the Federal

Reserve System, 472 U.S. 159 (1985) ............. 19, 20

Reeves, Inc. v. Stake, 447 U.S. 429 (1980) ....... 6, 9, 10, 12

South-Central Timber Development, Inc. v. Wunnicke, 467

UD. We MOE s 5 buss cskanaeen eae ae 9, 12, 13, 16, 18

Sporhase v. Nebraska ex rel. Douglas, 458 U.S. 941 (1982)

sb is & be laa mee a cacao ee a 16

Swin Resource Systems, Inc. v. Lycoming County, 883 F.2d

245 (3d Cir. 1989), cert. denied, ___-—~ U.S. ____, 110

S$.Ce. 1127, 167 Le. 2b ORS CGRP... ce cs ce cuss 10

Trojan Technologies, Inc. v. Commonwealth of

Pennsylvania, 916 F.2d 903 (3d Cir. 1990)........ passim

vi

Contents

Page

Trojan Technologies, Inc. v. Commonwealth of Pennsylvania,

142 ©. Sapp. FSB CGD. Pu. TOUR ik cs cv ccncccucss 2

W.C.M. Window Co. v. Bernardi, 730 F.2d 486 (7th Cir.

FOU sku ckcuutastcx acento eee 6, 8, 9, 11

Western & Southern Life Ins. Co. v. State Board of

Equalization of California, 451 U.S. 648 (1981)... .20, 21

White v. Massachusetts Council of Construction Employers,

Je tk ol, Sree rae es 9, 10, 11

Zschernig v. Miller, 389 U.S. 429 (1968) ........00..... 21

United States Constitution Cited:

J.>. Come. Amt. 6. 6 6 Oe on cc iui ceacasceeee 2

J.B. Come. Ane. Be. OF. Svcd euccscaecsee ee 3

Federal Statutes and Treaties Cited:

Steel Import Stabilization Act, P.L. 98-573, Title VIII

§§ 801-808, 98 Stat. 3043-47, codified at 19 U.S.C.S.

§ 2253 note (Law. Co-op. Supp. 1990) ........... 17, 18

Trade Agreements Act of 197%, Pub.L. 96-39, 93 Stat. 144,

19 U.S.C.S. § 2501-2581 (Law. Co-op. 1983 & Supp.

NOWUD onsicssinevendend Seno Ocean 17, 18

-

United States-Canada Free Trade Agreement, January 2,

SE, BY Wales GOO occa nadine ccheunxeeeateenee 17, 18

vil

Contents

Fage

State Statutes Cited:

Ala.Coae § 39-3-4 - § 39-3-5 (Supp. 1990) ............. 12

Ill.Rev.State. ch. 48, para. 1801-1807 (1986)............ 12

Ind.Code Ann. § 5-16-1 - § 5-16-8-2 (West 1984) ....... 12

Mass.Gen.Laws Ann. ch. 7 § 22 (1986 & Supp. 1990)

Md.State Fin. & Proc.Code Ann. § 12-401 - § 12-405(1985) 12

N.J.Stat.Ann. § 40A:11-18 (West Supp. 1990).......... 12

hm 9, 2° 2. f . SeeeerrrrerT reer ee 12

Ohio Rev.Code Ann. § 153.01.1 (1990) ................ 12

Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 16 § 1770 (Purdon Supp. 1990)...... 4

Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 24 § 6-602 (Purdon 1962)........... 4

Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 53 § 306 (Purdon 1974 & Supp. 1990)

eee keene UNEEA KE RENSSEEU CAN CASEI ROR AS CENERS 4

Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 53 § 46302 (Purdon 1966 & Supp. 1990)

PPO ree ee re rere eee eT eT er ret Pere cee 4

Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 53 § 23104 (Purdon 1957)........... 4

Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 73 § 1881-1887 (Purdon Supp. 1978)

OO PC re ere Teer TS eT eee ee ee passim

vill

Contents

Page

R.I.Gen.Laws § 37-2.1-1 - § 37-2.1-5 (1990) ........... 12

W.Va. Code § 5-19-1 - § 5-19-4 (1990) ................ 12

APPENDIX

Appendix A — Opinion of Court of Appeals ............. la

Appendix B — Opinion and Order of District Court .... 30a

Appendix C — Steel Products Procurement Act ........ dla

Appendix D — Stipulation of Fact .............0.0.0... 46a

No.

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1990

TROJAN TECHNOLOGIES, INC. AND KAPPE

ASSOCIATES, INC.,

Petitioners,

vs.

COMMONWEALTH OF PEI.NSYLVANIA and LEROY S.

ZIMMERMAN, ATTORNEY GENERAL,

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

The petitioners, Trojan Technologies, Inc. and Kappe

Associates, Inc., respectfully pray that a writ of certiorari issue

to review the judgment and opinion of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Third Circuit, entered in the above-entitled

proceedings on October 24, 1990.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

(Pollak, J.) is reported at 916 F.2d 903 (3d Cir. 1990), and is

reprinted in the appendix hereto, p. la, in/ra.

The opinion of the United States District Court for the Middle

District of Pennsylvania (Caldwell, J.) is reported at 742 F. Supp.

900 (M.D. Pa. 1990), and is reprinted in the appendix hereto,

p. 30a, infra.

x JURISDICTION

The petitioners brought this suit in the Eastern District of

Pennsylvania, invoking federal jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1331. On the respondents’ motion the case was transferred to

the Middle District of Pennsylvania.

On January 5, 1990, after the parties filed cross-motions for

summary judgment, the Middle District issued an opinion and

order denying the petitioners’ request for declaratory and

injunctive relief.

On appeal pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1291, the Third Circuit

issued an opinion and order on October 24, 1990, affirming the

decision of the district court.

The jurisdiction of this Court to review the judgment of the

Third Circuit is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Article I, Section 8 of the Constitution of the United States:

The Congress shall have the Power .

io regulate Commerce with foreign Nations, and among the

several States, and with the Indian Tribes;

Amendment IV, Section | of the Constitution of the United

States:

No State shall .. . deny any person within its jurisdiction

the equal protection of the laws.

STATUTE INVOLVED

The Steel Products Procurement Act, Act of March 3, 1978,

P.L. 6, No. 3, Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 73 §§ 1881-87 is reproduced

in the appendix hereto at page 4la, infra, due to its length.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In 1978 the Pennsylvania General Assembly passed the Steel

Products Procurement Act (hereinafter ‘Steel Act’’), Act of March

3, 1978, P.L. 6, No. 3, Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 73 §§ 1881-87. The

Steel Act requires all public agencies within the Commonwealth

to use American-made ‘‘steel products’’ in all public works

projects. The Steel Act applies not only to state agencies, but

also to all local governmental entities, including counties, cities,

boroughs, townships, school districts, municipalities and

authorities. 73 P.S. § 1886. In addition, the Steel Act applies

to ‘‘all other public bodies, authorities, officers, agencies or

instrumentalities, whether exercising a governmental or proprietary

function.’’ 73 P.S. § 1886.' The stated purpose of the Steel Act

1. The local governmental entities governed by the Steel Act are substantially

autonomous. For instance, counties, cities, boroughs, school districts, and

municipalities all have the authority to generate their own revenues and establish

(Cont'd)

is to ‘‘aid and promote the development of the steel industry of

the United States in order to stimulate and improve the economic

well-being of the Commonwealth and its people.’’ 73 P.S. § 1883.

To this end the General Assembly declared that

[t]he economy and general welfare of the

Commonwealth and its people, as well as the

economy, general welfare and national security of

the United States, are inseparably related to the

preservation and development of the steel industry

in the Commonwealth and in the other states of

the United States.

73 P.S. § 1883.

Petitioners are Trojan Technologies, Inc. (‘‘Trojan’’) and

Kappe Associates, Inc. (‘‘Kappe’’).’? Trojan is a Canadian

corporation that manufactures a patented ultraviolet light water

cisinfecticn system known as the ‘‘UV 2000”’ (Stipulation of Fact,

paras. 1, 3). Kappe is Trojan’s exclusive distributor in

Pennsylvania. (/d., para. 2).

The UV 2000 is designed for use in potable water plants,

(Cont'd)

governing bodies to administer such funds. See Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 16 § 1770

(Purdon Supp. 1990); Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. $3 § 23104 (Purdon 1957); Pa. Stat.

Ann. tit. 53 § 46302 (Purdon 1966 & Supp. 1990); Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 24 § 6-602

(Purdon 1962); Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 53 § 306 (Purdon 1974 & Supp. 1990).

Municipal authorities, in particular, have substantial contracting authority and

finance the construction, maintenance, and operation of sewage treatment

facilities through local assessments. Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 53 § 306.

2. This case came before the District Court fer the Middle District of

Pennsylvania upon a joint Stipulation of Fact. The Stipulation of Fact is reprinted

in the appendix hereto, p. 46a, infra.

and has been purchased by several Pennsylvania municipalities

and authorities for use in waste water and sewage treatment

facilities. (/d., paras. 4-5). The primary components of the UV

2000 are ultraviolet lamps which kill bacteria and microorganisms

in the effluent which is discharged from the waste water and sewage

treatment facilities. (/d., para. 7). The system also contains a small

amount of steel component parts which constitute less than 15%

of the UV 2000’s total cost. (/d., paras. 8-11).

On July 8, 1988, the Pennsylvania Attorney General’s Office

sent letters to several municipal authorities requesting information

concerning petitioners’ compliance with the Steel Act. Three days

later a letter was sent directly to Trojan, requesting documentation

confirming that the UV 2000 complies with the Steel Act. (/d.,

para. 20).

On August 8, 1988, Petitioners filed suit against the

Commonwealth and the Commonwealth’s Attorney General in

the Eastern District of Pennsylvania, seeking a declaration of the

unconstitutionality of the Steel Act and an injunction against its

enforcement. On defendants’ motion the case was transferred to

the Middle District of Pennsylvania. The parties thereafter filed

cross motions for summary judgment.

On January 5, 1990, the District Court (Caldwell, J.) issued

an opinion and order denying petitioners’ request for declaratory

and injunctive relief. The petitioners appealed to the Third Circuit,

which affirmed the decision of the District Court on October 24,

1990. The Third Circuit agreed with the District Court’s general

finding that the Steel Act fell within the market participant

exception to the dormant commerce clause.

Unlike the District Court, however, the Third Circuit

addressed the issue raised by the fact that the Steel Act applies

not only to projects undertaken by state agencies, but also to those

undertaken by local governmental entities, such as municipal

authorities, where the state is not a direct market participant.

However, the Third Circuit did not understand this distinction

to affect its commerce clause analysis. It reasoned that the

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania could restrict the contracting

authority of such local entities, not because such entities are

themselves market participants, but solely because they derive their

authority from the state.

In so reasoning, the Third Circuit expressly disagreed with

the Seventh Circuit’s interpretation of the market participant

doctrine in W.C.M. Window Co. v. Bernardi, 730 F.2d 486 (7th

Cir. 1984). See Trojan, 916 F.2d at 911. Consequently, the

parameters of the market participant doctrine in the public

contracting realm remain unclear.

The Third Circuit also reasoned that its conclusion should

not change because the Steel Act discriminated against foreign

commerce. This issue was expressly reserved by this Court in

Reeves, Inc. v. Stake, 447 U.S. 429 (1980), wherein this Cceurt

commented:

We have no occasion to explore the limits imposed

on State proprietary actions by the ‘‘foreign

commerce’’ Clause or the constitutionality of

‘*Buy-American’’ legislation. We note, however,

that Commerce Clause scrutiny may well be more

rigorous when a restraint on foreign commerce is

alleged.

Re ves, 447 U.S. at 438 n.9 (citations omitted). Nonetheless, the

Third Circuit concluded that the Steel Act survived ‘‘even the

most searching review’’ as the concerns animating the foreign

commerce clause were not implicated by the Steel Act. /d. at 912.

The court reasoned that state procurement practices do not raise

conflicts in policy among multiple national sovereigns. Moreover,

the court observed that Congress was aware of state activity to

restrict procurement of foreign goods, and yet had not imposed

a policy of national uniformity. /d.

Finally, the Third Circuit summarily rejected petitioners’ claim

that the Steel Act violated the Equal Protection Clause of the

United States Constitution.’ The court reasoned that this Court’s

decision in Metropolitan Life Insurance Co. v. Ward, 470 U.S.

689 (1985), was inapposite to the case sub judice as that case

involved taxation, a concern not implicated by the Steel Act.

According to the court, the Steel Act did not violate equal

protection because it distinguished between groups that were

legitimately different. Trojan, 916 F.2d at 915.

3. The Third Circuit also rejected petitioners’ claims that the Steel Act

was preempted by federal statutes and executive agreements, interfered with

the federal government’s exercise of the foreign relations power, and was

unconstitutionally vague.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I.

THE THIRD: CIRCUIT’S DECISION THAT THE

MARKET PARTICIPANT DOCTRINE PERMITS STATES TO

REGULATE THE PROCUREMENT POLICIES OF THEIR

POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS IS IN EXPRESS CONFLICT

WITH THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT'S INTERPRETATION OF

THE MARKET PARTICIPANT DOCTRINE AND EXTENDS

THE MARKET PARTICIPANT DOCTRINE BEYOND THE

LIMITS SET FORTH BY PREVIOUS DECISIONS OF THIS

COURT.

The Third Circuit’s decision permitting the Commonwealth

of Pennsylvania to regulate the activities of local municipal

authorities under the guise of market participation threatens the

principles of free trade on which the negative commerce clause

is based. Under the Third Circuit’s reasoning, the mere grant of

authority from a state to a local public entity renders the state

a market participant in all activities undertaken by the local public

entity. The Third Circuit’s analysis expressly rejected the Seventh

Circuit’s interpretation of the market participant doctrine set forth

in W.C.M. Window Co. v. Bernardi, 730 F.2d 486 (7th Cir. 1984)

(Posner, J.). See Trojan, 916 F.2d at 911.

In Window, the Seventh Circuit struck down an Illinois

preference law which required public works contractors, including

those who contracted with local political subdivisions, to hire only

Illinois laborers. The Seventh Circuit rejected Illinois’ claim—

the same claim asserted in the case sub judice by Pennsylvania—

that the statute was saved from commerce clause scrutiny by the

market participant doctrine. The Seventh Circuit reasoned that

the crucial distinction between Illinois’ preference plan, and those

schemes approved by this Court under the market participant

doctrine, was that Illinois applied its preference law not only to

itself, but also to local entities. Consequently, the Window court

held, Illinois acted as ‘‘a regulator, telling thousands of local

government units that they must not give construction contracts

to employers of non-residents.’’ Window, 730 F.2d at 495.

The Third Circuit’s disagreement with Window could be no

more direct or complete. 7rojan, 916 F.2d at 911. The Third

Circuit held that local entities are to be fictionalized for commerce

clause purposes, and treated as if one and the same with the state,

solely because they were created by state legislation.

The Third Circuit’s decision extends the market participant

doctrine well beyond the narrow contours established by this Court

in Hughes v. Alexandria Scrap Corp., 426 U.S. 794 (1976), Reeves,

Inc. v. Stake, 447 U.S. 429 (1980), White v. Massachusetts Council

of Construction Employers, Inc., 460 U.S. 204 (1983), and South-

Central Timber Development, Inc. v. Wunnicke, 467 U.S. 82

(1984). As these decisions make plain, this Court has never

Suggested that a state’s creation of local public entities renders

the state a market participant in all activities undertaken at the

local level. To the contrary, this Court has required ‘‘direct state

participation in the market’’ in order for the state to gain market

participant status. Reeves, 447 U.S. at 436 n. 7 (emphasis added):

see also White, 460 U.S. at 211 n.7 (the market participant doctrine

Only permits a state to influence ‘‘a discrete, identifiable class

of economic activity in which [it] is a major participant.’’)

Based on this Court’s decisions in Alexandria Scrap and

White, supra, the most readily identifiable form of direct, major

participation is financial. In Alexandria Scrap, the Court held

that the State of Maryland could expend state funds to encourage

the removal of automobile hulks from Maryland streets and

junkyards. In White, the Court concluded that the City of Boston

could require all construction projects funded in whole or in par’

10

by the City to be performed by a work force of at least 50%

city residents, reasoning that since ‘‘the city expended only its

own funds in entering into construction contracts for public

projects, it was a market participant and entitled to be treated

as such.”’ White, 460 U.S. at 214-215 (emphasis added). The

rationale of these holdings is *‘the long recognized right of a trader

or manufacturer, engaged in an entirely private business, freely

to exercise his own independent discretion as to parties with whom

he will deal.’’ Reeves, 447 U.S. at 438-439.* There is no lawful

justification to extend these hoidings, as does the Steel Act, to

a State’s attempt to hamstring the conduct of separate entities,

controlled by separate decision-makers, using separate funds.

The Third Circuit found that the restraints imposed by the

Steel Act do not offend the commerce clause because the affected

local entities can informally be thought to be ‘‘supplying for the

State.’’ Trojan, 916 F.2d at 911. This informal analogy flies in

4. Considerations of state sovereignty also have been cited as supporting

the market participant doctrine. In Reeves, 447 U.S. at 438 n. 10, for instance,

this Court stated that ‘‘{[c]onsiderations of sovereignty dictate that marketplace

actions involving ‘integral operations in areas of such traditional governmental

functions’—such as the employment of certain state workers—may not be subject

even to congressional regulation pursuant to the commerce power. It follows

easily that the intrinsic limits of the Commerce Clause do not prohibit state

marketplace conduct that falls within this sphere.’’ In support of the foregoing,

National League of Cities v. Usery, 426 U.S. 833, 852 (1976) was cited. Since

this Court’s last foray into the arena of market participation, National League

of Cities was overruled by Garcia v. San Antonio Metropolitan Transportation

Authority, 469 U.S. 528 (1984). Thus, the foundation upon which the market

participant doctrine is built has been substantially weakened, if not totally

eradicated. See Swin Resource Systems, Inc. v. Lycoming County, 883 F.2d

245, 260 (3d Cir. 1990), cert. denied, ___ U.S. ___., 110 S.Ct. 1127, 107 L.Ed.

2d 1033 (1990) (Gibbons, J., dissenting) (the market participant ‘‘line of cases

rests upon substantially the same notoriously flawed analytic framework of the

state-federal relationship made infamous in National League of Cities, the

companion case to Alexandria Scrap’’).

11

the face of this Court’s admonition that ‘‘there are some limits

on a state or local government’s ability to impose restrictions that

reach beyond the immediate parties with whom the government

transacts business.’’ White, 460 U.S. at 211 n.7. While the Court

in White found that private contractors were, ‘‘in a substantial

if informal sense, ‘working for the city’, ’’ White, 460 U.S. at

211.7, the executive order in White and the Steel Act are breeds

apart. In White, the city had a substantial connection to the work

being performed. The city entered into contracts for the projects

at issue, and provided full financial support. In the case sub judice,

on the other hand, there is no substantial relationship between

the Commonwealth and the ‘‘discrete, identifiable class of

economic activity’’ taking place on the local level. The private

suppliers of local entities are not ‘‘supplying for the State’’. Rather,

the private suppliers are supplying for the local entities which

pay them.

The upshot is that while local public entities may be considered

to be a part of the state for many purposes, it is equaily as clear

that local public entities cannot be considered a part of the state

for all purposes. See Window, 730 F.2d at 495.

The Third Circuit’s decision affirming the authority of the

States to thrust economic protectionist legislation upon local public

entities expands market participation wel! beyond any previous

decision of this Court and is directly at odds with the Seventh

Circuit’s decision in Window, supra. The issue is of paramount

importance given the tremendous amount of contracting done at

the local level across the nation. See Window, 730 F.2d at 496.

A decision of such far-reaching impact merits review by this Court.

12

THIS COURT HAS EXPRESSLY RESERVED THE

QUESTION OF WHETHER STATE BUY-AMERICAN

STATUTES THAT. AFFECT FOREIGN COMMERCE ARE

SAVED FROM COMMERCE CLAUSE SCRUTINY BY THE

MARKET PARTICIPANT DOCTRINE.

In Reeves, supra, this Court expressly reserved the question

of whether state buy-American legislation is safeguarded from

commerce clause scrutiny by the market participant doctrine.

Reeves, 447 U.S. at 438 n.9. At the same time, the Reeves Court.

observed, and this Court has long held, that restraints on foreign

commerce are subject to even greater scrutiny than those on

interstate commerce, because of the impact such restraints may

have upon the nation as a whole. /d.; see, e.g., Wunnicke, supra;

Japan Line, Lid. v. County of Los Angeles, 441 U.S. 434 (1979)

(and cases cited therein, infra n. 6). Given the formidable burdens

on foreign commerce created by the wide-spread enactment of

state buy-American legislation,’ review of the case sub judice is

merited.

This Court has repeatedly stressed the danger inherent in state

forays into foreign affairs. In Wunnicke, for instance, a plurality

of the Court relied upon heightened foreign commerce clause

scrutiny in striking down an Alaska law which required that timber

S. At least eleven states have buy-American preference statutes in one form

or another that restrict the importation of foreign steel. See Ala.Code

S$ 39-3-4—§ 39-3-5 (Supp. 1990); Il. Rev.State. ch. 48, para. 1801-1807 (1986);

ind.Code Ann. § 5-16-8-1—§ 5-16-8-2 (West 1984); Mass.Gen.Laws Ann. ch.

7 § 22 (1986 & Supp. 1990); Md.State Fin. & Proc.Code Ann. § 12-401 § 12-405

(1985); N.J.Stat.Ann. § 40A:11-18 (West Supp. 1990); N.Y. State Fin.Law § 146

(1989); Ohio Rev.Code Ann. § 153.01.1 (1990); Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 73

$ 1881-1887 (Purdon Supp. 1978); R.1.Gen.Laws § 37-2.1-1—§ 37-2.1 8 (1990);

W.Va. Code § §-19-1 § 5-19-4 (1990).

13

taken from state lands be processed in state prior to export. The

Court explained:

It is a well-accepted rule that State restrictions

burdening foreign commerce are subjected to a

more rigorous and searching scrutiny. It is crucial °

to the efficient execution of the Nation’s foreign

policy that ‘the Federal Government . . . speak

with one voice when regulating commercial

relauions with foreign governments.’

Wunnicke, 467 U.S. at 101 (citing Michelin Tire Corp. v. Wages,

423 U.S. 276 (1976); Japan Line, supra).

Similarly, in Japan Line, supra, the Court struck down a

California ad valorem property tax, as applied to Japanese

shipping companies’ cargo containers which were used exclusively

in foreign commerce. The Court found that the tax could frustrate

the achievement of federal uniformity in several ways. For

instance, the Court noted that if a novel state tax created an

asymmetry in the international tax structure, foreign nations

disadvantaged by the levy could retaliate against American-owned

instrumentalities generally, ‘‘so that the Nation as a whole would

suffer.’’ Jd. at 450; see Brown v. Maryland, 25 U.S. 419, 446-448

(1827); Chy Lung v. Freeman, 92 U.S. 275, 279 (1876). Moreover,

if other States followed California’s exampie, various

instrumentalities of commerce could be subjected to varying

degrees of multiple taxation, a result that would plainly prevent

the Nation from ‘‘speaking with one voice, in regulating foreign

commerce. /d.°

6. The Court cited numerous cases stressing the need for uniformity in

dealing with foreign nations. See, e.g., Buttfield v. Stranahan, 192 U.S. 470,

492-493 (1904) (‘‘exclusive and absolute’’ power of Congress over foreign

(Cont'd)

14

Despite this precedent, the Third Circuit quickly dismissed

the impact of buy-American legislation upon foreign commerce.

The central concern, according to the Third Circuit, was whether

the Steei Act impaired federal uniformity in an area where federal

uniformity was essential.” Reasoning that Congress is aware of

State activity to restrict the procurement of foreign goods, yet

has not imposed a policy of national uniformity, the Third Circuit

concluded that state procurement policy was not an area in which

tederal uniformity was essential. Trojan, 916 F.2d at 912.

The Third Circuit’s conclusion cries out for review. It confuses

dormant commerce clause analysis, and it ignores the important

considerations this Court has stressed as being applicable to the

review of state legislation impacting foreign commerce.

First, contrary to the position asserted by the Third Circuit,

federal approval of state buy-American legislation cannot be

inferred from Congressional silence. Implicitly, the Third Circuit

reasoned that if Congress was disturbed by state buy-American

policies, it could address and eliminate the problem. Having not

(Cont'd)

commerce); Bowman v. Chicago & N.R. Co., 125 U.S. 465, 482 (1888) (‘It

may be argued [that] the inference to be drawn from the absence of legislation

by Congress on the subject excludes state legislation affecting commerce with

foreign nations more strongly than that affecting commerce among the States.

Laws which concern the exterior relations of the United States with other nations

and governments are general in nature, and should proceed exclusively from

the legislative authority of the nation’'); Henderson v. Mayor of New York,

92 U.S. 259, 273 (1876) (regulation “‘must of necessity be national in its

character’’ when it affects ‘ta subject which concerns our international relations,

in regard to which foreign nations ought to be considered and their rights

respected’’).

7. The Third Circuit identitied multiple taxation as another concern

underlying the foreign commerce clause. However, the court summarily dismissed

this concern as the Steel Act does not involve taxation.

15

done so, Congress somehow voiced its approval of state buy-

American legislation.

This reasoning stands dormant commerce clause analysis on

its head, and is based upon a premise previously rejected by this

Court. In Japan Line, supra, appellees contended that any

problems created by California’s tax could be cured by

congressional action or by international agreement. In finding

‘*no merit in this contention’’ this Court explained:

The premise of appellees’ argument is that a State

is free to impose demonstrable burdens on

commerce, so long as Congress has not preempted

the field by affirmative regulation. But it has long

been ‘accepted constitutional doctrine that the

commerce clause, without the aid of Congressional

legislation . . . affords some protection from state

legislation inimical to the national commerce, and

that in such cases, where Congress has not acted,

this Court, and not the state legislature, is under

the commerce clause the final arbiter of the

competing demands of state and national interests.’

Japan Line, 441 U.S. at 454. The Court further observed that

appellees’ argument defeated, rather than supported, the cause

it aimed to promote:

For to say that California has created a problem

susceptible only of Congressional—indeed, only

of international—solution is to concede that the

taxation of foreign-owned containers is an area

where uniform federal rule is essential. California

may not tell this Nation or Japan how to run their

foreign policies.

16

Id. at 455.

Thus, the absence of a uniform federal policy with respect

to state buy-American legislation proves nothing; Congressional

silence is not tantamount to Congressional approval.

Second, rather than endorsing silence as approval, this Court

has held that express Congressional approval is required before

the states are permitted to impose burdens upon interstate or

foreign commerce. Wunnicke, supra; see Sporhase v. Nebraska

ex rel. Douglas, 458 U.S. 941, 960 (1982) (where this Court declined

to find Congressional authorization for state-imposed burdens

on interstate commerce in ground water despite 37 federal statutes

and a number of interstate compacts that demonstrated Congress’

deference to state water laws); New England Power Co. v. New

Hampshire, 455 U.S. 331 (1982).

Thus, in Wunnicke, supra, a plurality of this Court struck

down Alaska’s in-state processing requirement despite the existence

of ‘‘parallel’’ federal legislation which approved such restrictions

on federal owned lands. The Court rejected the argument that

the Alaska policy was authorized by the federal policy, because

such authorization was not expressly stated. The Court reasoned:

A rule requiring a clear expression of approval by

Congress ensures that there is, in fact, such a

collective decision and reduces significantly the risk

that unrepresented interests will be adversely

affected by restraints on commerce.

Wunnicke, 467 U.S. at 93. The Court found this need for

affirmative approval ‘‘heightened by the fact that Alaska’s policy

has substantial ramifications beyond the Nation’s borders. The

need for a consistent and coherent fureign policy, which is the

exclusive responsibility of the Federal Government, enhances the

17

necessity that Congressional authorization not be lightly implied.’’

Id. at 93 n. 7.

Third, even assuming, arguendo, that Congressional silence

manifests federal approval of state regulation’ Congress has

articulated the need for a uniform federal policy with respect to

the importation of foreign steel. The Steel Import Stabilization

Act (‘Stabilization Act’’), supra, evinces the clear intent by

Congress to place control of steel import policy firmly within the

hands of the Executive. In enacting the Stabilization Act, Congress

found that a ‘‘national policy’’ was necessary for the steel industry

to compact the effects of unfair trade practices. Sec. 802(a)(4).

Congress reasoned that the ‘‘full and effective implementation

of the national policy for the steel industry’’ would ‘‘substantially

improve the economy and employment in both the steel and iron

ore producing sectors.’’ Sec. 802(a)(6).

Thus, although the Pennsylvania General Assembly believes

that the promotion of the ‘‘development of the steel! industry of

the United States’’ will be accomplished through such protectionist

legislation as the Steel Act, Congress has itself perceived the threat

of steel imports to be a national concern and has empowered the

President—not the individual states—to deal with the problem.’

°8. The Third Circuit expressly found that the United States-Canada Free

Trade Agreement, January 2, 1988, 27 1.L.M. 281, the Trade Agreements Act

of 1979, Pub.L. 96-39, 93 Stat. 144, 19 U.S.C.S. § 2501-2581 (Law. Co-op.

1983 & Supp. 1990), the Agreement on Government Procurement (implemented

pursuant to the Trade Agreements Act of 1979), and the Steel Import Stabilization

Act, P.L. 98-573, Title VIII §§ 801-808, 98 Stat. 3043-47, codified at 19 U.S.C.S.

§ 2253 note (Law. Co-op. Supp. 1990), collectively did not contain a clear

statement of acquiescence in state buy-American statutes. Trojan, 916 F.2d at

909-910 n. 10.

9. In addition to the Stabilization Act, Congress has directed a substantial

amount of attention to areas implicated by the Steel Act. See United States-

(Cont'd)

18

Finally, the Third Circuit completely failed to address one

of the major concerns underpinning the foreign commerce clause,

stressed in Japan Line, supra: the danger of retaliation by foreign

nations which, by necessity, would be directed against the Nation

as a whole. This threat of retaliation is plainly implicated by state

procurement policies. Foreign nations who are unable to do

business with Pennsylvania public entities may retaliate, not only

against Pennsylvania, but against the Nation as a whole. This

threat of economic retaliation is made all the more real by the

proliferation of state buy-American legislation. See supra, n.5.

This significant threat, and the national impact of discriminatory

state restraints on foreign commerce, justify a review of the Third

Circuit’s decision by this Court.

THE THIRD CIRCUIT’S DECISION THAT STATE BUY-

AMERICAN LEGISLATION DOES NOT VIOLATE EQUAL

PROTECTION IS IN DIRECT CONFLICT WITH DECISIONS

OF THIS COURT HOLDING THAT ECONOMIC

PROTECTIONISM IS NOT A LEGITIMATE STATE

PURPOSE UNDER THE EQUAL PROTECTION CLAUSE.

The Steel Act strives to promote the United States steel

industry by barring foreign made steel products from every public

works project in the Commonwealth. Such blatant attempts at

economic protectionism have uniformly been struck down by this

(Cont'd)

Canada Free Trade Agreement; the Agreement on Government Procurement;

the Stabilization Act, and the Trade Agreements Act of 1979. Compare

Wunnicke, 467 U.S. at 101, where this Court found Alaska’s in state processing

requirement particularly inappropriate as it implicated an area in which Congress

had directed substantial attention. Interestingly, this *‘substantial attention”’

came in the form of federal legislation which, Alaska argued, authorized Alaska’s

scheme.

19

Court under both commerce clause and equal protection analysis.

See Bacchus Imports, Ltd. v. Dias, 468 U.S. 263 (1984);

Metropolitan Life Insurance Company v. Ward, 470 U.S. 869

(1985). The Third Circuit’s decision legitimizes the very sort of

parochial and discriminatory state policies that the equa! protection

clause was intended to prevent.

In Metropolitan Life,'® this Court held that under the equal

protection clause the ‘*‘promotion of domestic business within a

State, by discriminating against foreign corporations that wish

to compete by doing business there, is not a legitimate state

purpose.”’ /d. at 880. The Third Circuit justified its refusal to

apply this holding to the case sub judice by reasoning that

Metropolitan Life was limited to the type of discriminatory tax

scheme presented in that case. Trojan, 916 F.2d at 915 [citing

Northeast Bancorp, Inc. v. Board of Governors of the Federal

Reserve System, 472 U.S. 159 (1985)]. Moreover, the court stated

that ‘‘the Equal Protection Clause permits economic regulation

that distinguishes between groups that are legitimately different’’.

Trojan, 916 F.2d at 915 [quoting National Bancorp, 472 U.S.

at 180 (O’Connor, J., concurring)}.

This reasoning is erroneous, and directly contravenes this

10. In Metropolitan Life this Court struck down an Alabama statute which

imposed a substantially lower tax rate on domestic insurance companies than

on out of state insurance companies. The Alabama statute could not be attacked

under the Commerce Clause because Congress had expressly authorized state

regulation of the insurance industry. Nonetheless, this Court concluded that

‘‘fe]qual protection restraints are applicable even though the effecr of the

discrimination . . . is similar to the type of burden with which the Commerce

Clause would also be concerned.’’ /d., 470 U.S. at 881. Similarly, a state’s

status as a market participant does not immunize it from equal protection attack.

See Alexandria Scrap, supra (upholding Maryland’s market participant scheme

because it bore a rational relationship to Maryland’s legitimate purpose to clean

up its Own environment).

20

Court’s decisions in Metropolitan Life and Northeast Bancorp.

First, in Northeast Bancorp, this Court distinguished

Metropolitan Life in upholding under equal protection attack state

statutes that excluded bank holding companies from some states

while admitting others. In so doing, this Court focused on the

fact that ‘‘banking and related financial activities are of profound

local concern.’’ Northeast Bancorp, 472 U.S. at 177. These

‘‘profound local concerns’’ provided the legitimacy for the state

statutes.

The rationale supporting Northeast Bancorp has little

relevance in the case sub judice. First, the Steel Act does not

address a matter of ‘‘profound local concern’’. The purpose of

the Steel Act is to promote the United States steel industry. The

promotion of the steel industry is a matter of national and not

local concern, as evidenced by Congress’ enactment of the Steel

Import Stabilization Act, supra.

Second, in Northeast Bancorp ‘‘the states in question...

[were] not favoring local corporations at the expense of out-of-

state corporations’. Northeast Bancorp, 472 U.S. at 177. This

is not true of the Steel Act. The stated purpose of the Steel Act

is to promote the United States steel industry by barring from

all public works projects any entity which deals with foreign steel

manufacturers. The Steel Act thus attempts to promote a national

industry at the expense of a foreign industry.

Finally, the fact that the Steel Act does not implicate the

taxing power misses the point. The Metropolitan Life decision

was based in large measure upon Western & Southern Life Ins.

Co. v. State Board of Equalization of California, 451 U.S. 648,

21

667-668 (1981)'', where this Court held:

We consider it now established that, whatever the

extent of a State’s authority to exclude foreign

corporations from doing business within its

boundaries, that authority does not justify

imposition of more onerous taxes or other burdens

on foreign corporations than those imposed on

domestic corporations .

(emphasis added).

Thus, this Court has never held that on/y discriminatory tax

schemes, like those presented in Metropolitan Life, violate equal

protection. To the contrary, when a state statute imposes burdens

on foreign businesses that are more onerous than those on domestic

businesses, and the imposition of such burdens do not further

legitimate state interests, the statute violates equal protection.

The burdens imposed by the Steel Act on foreign industries

are intentional, direct, and, for a company that manufactures

products for use by municipal authorities, virtually complete.

Review of the Third Circuit’s decision is required by this Court

11. In Western & Southern Life Ins. Co., this Court upheld a California

Statute which imposed a retaliatory tax upon on foreign insurers when the

insurer’s state of incorporation imposed higher taxes on California insurers doing

business in that state. This Court observed that the principal purpose of

retaliatory tax laws is to promote the interstate business of domestic insurers

by deterring other States from enacting discriminatory taxes. /d. at 668.

According to this Court, this was a legitimate state purpose. /d. at 671. While

such retaliatory state measures may be legitimate in the context of interstate

commerce, they clearly have no place in foreign commerce. In fact, this concern

over foreign retaliation is one of the factors motivating heightened foreign

commerce clause scrutiny. See Japan Line, 441 U.S. at 450. Moreover, as applied

to foreign commerce, such laws would impermissibly cast courts of law as arbiters

ot toreign policy. See Zschernig v. Miller, 389 U.S. 429 (1968).

22

to clarify the extent of state authority to promote domestic

industries through such economic protectionist legislation.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this petition for certiorari should

be granted.

Respectfully submiited,

POWELL, TRACHTMAN,

LOGAN & CARRLE

s/Paul A. Logan

Paul A. Logan

367 South Gulph Road

King of Prussia, Pennsylvania

19406

(215) 354-9700

Counsel for Petitioners

January 21, 1991

la

APPENDIX A — OPINION OF THE COURT OF APPEALS

Filed October 24, 1990

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 90-5057

TROJAN TECHNOLOGIES, INC. and KAPPE

ASSOCIATES, INC.,

Appellants,

v.

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA and

LEROY S. ZIMMERMAN, ATTORNEY GENERAL,

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA,

Appellees

On Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Middle District of Pennsylvania

(M.D. Pa. No. 89-0364)

Argued August 10, 1990

BEFORE: STAPLETON and GREENBERG,

Circuit Judges and

POLLAK"*, District Judge

(Filed October 24, 1990)

Paul A. Logan (Argued)

Powell, Trachtman, Logan & Carrle

367 South Gulph Road

King of Prussia, Pennsylvania 19406

Attorney For Appellants,

* The Honorable Louis H. Pollak, United States District

Judge for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania, sitting by

designation.

2a

Ermest D. Preate, Jr.

Attorney General

Thomas B. York (Argued)

Deputy Attorney General

Calvin R. Koons

Senior Deputy Attorney General

John G. Knorr, III

Chief Deputy Attorney General

Chief, Litigation Section

Office of the Attorney General

15th Floor, Strawberry Square

Harrisburg, PA 17120

Attorneys for Appellees,

Stuart Gerson

Assistant Attorney General

Patricia M. Bryan

Deputy Assistant Attorney General

Robert V. Zener

Attorney, Appellate Staff, Civil Division

Department of Justice

Washington, D.C. 20530-0001

Attorneys for Amicus Curtae United States

of America

OPINION OF THE COURT

POLLAK, District Judge.

This case presents the question whether the

Pennsylvania Steel Products Procurement Act

(“Steel Act"), Act of March 3, 1978, P.L. 6, No. 3,

Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 73, §§ 1881-87, is

unconstitutional. The grounds of challenging the

Steel Act are several: it is contended that the Steel

Act (1) is preempted by various federal statutes

3a

and executive agreements regulating foreign

commerce; (2) unconstitutionally burdens foreign

commerce; (3) interferes with the federal

government's exercise of the foreign relations

power; (4) is unconstitutionally vague; and (5)

violates the equal protection clause.

I. Background

The essential facts are not in dispute. The Steel

Act requires suppliers contracting with a public

agency in connection with a public works project

to provide products whose steel is American-made.

Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 73, § 1884. “Public agency” is

defined broadly to include not only state agencies

but all local governmental entities including “all

municipal . . . authorities . . . created or

organized by any county, city, borough [or|

township.” Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 73, § 1886.' The

range of steel products affected is similarly

exhaustive, covering “products rolled, formed,

shaped, drawn, extruded, forged, cast fabricated or

1. The full definition of “public agency” ts

(1) the Commonwealth and its departments, boards,

commissions and agencies;

(2) counties, cities, boroughs, townships, school

districts, and any other governmental unit or district:

(3) the State Public School Building Authority, the

State Highway and Bridge Authority, and any other

authority now in existence or hereafter created or

organized by the Commonwealth;

(4) all municipal or school or other authorities now

in existence or hereafter created or organized by any

county, city, borough. township or school district or

combination thereof; and

(5) any and all other public bodies, authorities.

officers. agencies or instrumentalities, whether

exercising a governmental or proprietary function.

Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 73. § 1886

4a

otherwise similarly processed . .. by the open

hearth, basic oxygen, electric furnace, Bessemer or

other steel making process.” Id. at § 1884.

Payments made in violation of the Act are

“recoverable directly from the _ contractor,

subcontractor, manufacturer or supplier who did

not comply with” the Act. Id. at § 1885(a). Willful

violators of the Act are prohibited from bidding on

public agency contracts for five years. id. at

§ 1885(b).

Appellant Trojan is a Canadian corporation that

manufactures a “UV-2000" ultraviolet light

water-disinfection system. Stipulation of Fact, 7 1.

Appellant Kappe is Trojan's exclusive distributor in

Pennsylvania. Id., { 2. The basic UV-2000 contains

from four to eight ultraviolet lamps, located in a

“UV Module.” The UV Module, in turn, is housed

in a stainless steel frame. Steel is also found in a

stainless steel control box that houses many of the

devices for monitoring the UV-2000's operation.

The steel components constitute less than 15% of

the UV-2000's total cost. Id., { 7-11.

The UV-2000 has applications in industry,

potable water plants and residential use. Several

Pennsylvania municipalities and authorities have

purchased the UV-2000 and installed it at

waste-water and sewage-treatment facilities. Id., 1

4-5. On July 8, 1988, the Pennsylvania Attorney

General's Office sent letters to several municipal

authorities requesting information concerning

compliance with the Act. On July 11, 1988, the

Attorney General's Office sent a letter directly to

Trojan, requesting documentation confirming that

its ultraviolet disinfection system complies with the

Act. Trojan has not supplied any such

documentation. While the Attorney General sought

such information in order to ensure compliance

Sa

with the Steel Act, there has been no final

determination that the Act has been violated, nor

have any sanctions been imposed. Id., 7 20.

On August 8, 1988, Trojan and Kappe filed this

suit against the Commonwealth and_ the

Commonwealth's Attorney General in the District

Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania,

seeking a declaration of the unconstitutionality of

the Steel Act and an injunction against its

enforcement. On defendants’ motion the case was

transferred to the Middle District of Pennsylvania.

The parties filed cross motions for summary

judgment. On January 5, 1990, Judge Caldwell

issued a memorandum and order denying Trojan's

request for declaratory and injunctive relief.

Appellants took this appeal. At the invitation of

this court the United States has submitted a brief

as amicus curiae.? We affirm.

II. The Preemption Challenge

In accordance with the principle that statutory

questions should be considered first in order to

avoid possibly needless constitutional inquiry, we

turn initially to appellants’ claim that the Steel Act

is preempted by a variety of federal statutes and

trade agreements.

Federal law may preempt state law in any of

three ways. Kentucky West Virginia Gas Co. v.

Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission, 837 F.2d

600, 605 (3d Cir.) cert. denied 109 S. Ct. 365

2. The amicus brief supports the district court's decision on

the preemption. commerce clause, and foreign affairs power

issues; the brief takes no position on the vagueness and equal

protection challenges. on the theory that the federal

government has no institutional interest or expertise relevant

to those claims.

6a

(1988). First, Congress may explicitly occupy a

regulatory fleld. Id. at 606. Second, preemption

may occur when Congress completely, although

not explicitly, occupies an entire field of regulation,

leaving no room for the states to supplement

federal law. Id.; Schneidwind v. ANR Pipeline Co.,

485 U.S. 293, 299 (1988). Finally, federal law

preempts its state counterpart when simultaneous

compliance with both state and federal law is

“Impossible or when state law stands as an

obstacle to accomplishment and execution of the

full purposes and objectives of Congress.”

Kentucky West Virginia Gas, 837 F.2d at 606

(citations omitted). Because of federalism concerns,

it is presumed that Congress ordinarily does not

intend to displace existing state authority. See

Tafflin v. Levitt, 110 S. Ct. 792, 795 (1990).

Further, “[wjhere . . . the fleld which Congress is

said to have preempted has been traditionally

occupied by the States,” Congressional intent to

preempt must be “clear and manifest.” Jones uv.

Rath Packing Co., 430 U.S. 519, 525 (1977). State

procurement policy would appear to be such a

field.

Appellants contend that the United

States-Canacda Free Trade Agreement, the

Agreement on Government Procurement, the Steel

Import Stabilization Act of 1984, the Trade Act of

1984 and the Trade Agreements Act of 1979

require an inference of Congressional intent to

preempt state-level “buy-American”™ statutes such

as Pennsylvania's. Appellants argue both that each

individual federal enactment justifies an inference

of preemption, and that the cited acts and

agreements in toto reveal an attempt to develop a

comprehensive scheme that leaves no room for

supplementary state activity.

7a

A. International Agreements

1. United States-Canada Free Trade Agreement

The United States-Canada Free Trade

Agreement, 27 I.L.M. 281, — an_ executive

agreement both negotiated and implemented

pursuant to statutory directives — became effective

January 1, 1989.° Chapter 13 of that agreement

deals specifically with the issue of government

procurement in areas of trade between the two

nations. The chapter commits the parties to

“actively strive to achieve, as quickly as possible,

multilateral liberalization of international

government procurement policies.” Article 1301,

Free Trade Agreement. The Agreement's

implementing legislation’ provides that [t]he

provisions of the [Free Trade] Agreement prevail

over — (A) any conflicting State law .. . [and] any

conflicting application of any State law to any

person or circumstance. . .~ Implementation of the

United States-Canada Free-Trade Agreement, Title

I, Section 102. Appellants contend that the Steel

Act rums counter to the Agreement’s stated

purpose of liberalizing government procurement

policies and thus is preempted.

We are unpersuaded. The major difficulty with

appellants’ position is that the language chiefly

relied on —- “strive to achieve . .. multilateral

liberalization” —- is_ hortatory rather’ than

mandatory. Cf. Wardair Canada, Inc. v. Florida

3. The Agreement was negotiated by the President under

authority of 19 U.S.C. § 2112(b). The Agreement was entered

into on January 2, 1988 and the United States-Canada Free

Trade Agreement Implementation Act was approved by

Congress on September 28, 1988, Pub. L. 100-449, 102 Stat.

1851, as amended by Pub. L. 101-207, § 1(b), 101 Stat. 1833,

reprinted at 19 U.S.C. § 2112 [statutory notes].

8a

Dept. of Revenue, 477 U.S. 1, 10 (1986)

(distinguishing “International aspiration” and “the

law as it presently stands,” refusing to enforce the

“aspiration” to strike a state tax) (emphasis in the

original). Indeed, rather than explicitly preempting

state buy-American statutes, the Agreement seems

tacitly to acknowledge and permit them. Article

1304 provides that “[t]he obligations of this

Chapter shall apply only to procurements specified

in Code Annex I.” The Annex then specifies

fifty-four federal agencies for coverage. Implicit in

this specific designation. omitting the states is

Congress’ acquiescence in, if not endorsement of,

state buy-American statutes. Cf. Wardair, 477 U.S.

at 12. The legislative history makes this point

clear, noting that “[aJlthough discussions in the

current version of the agreement were not

successful in addressing barriers below the level

of the Federal Government in either country, it is

the Committee's understanding that the two

governments will return to this subject at a later

point.” S. Rep. No. 100-509, 100th Cong., 2d

Sess., at 65 (report of the Senate Committee on

Government Affairs). Appellants provide no

evidence that any subsequent negotiations have

revisited and resolved questions about

sub-national barriers. In the meantime, it is

untenable to suggest that an agreement

unsuccessful in addressing sub-national trade

barriers has preempted a state buy-American

statute.

4. Canadian commentators agree, see ¢.g., J. Johnson & J.

Schachter, The Free Trade Agreement, A Comprehensive Guide,

§ 4.2(3) (1988) (United States-Canada Free Trade Agreement

Chapter on Government Procurement “is based on the [GATT]

Procurement Code,” discussed infra, from which “all

provincial, state and local government procurement is

excluded’).

9a

Appellants’ position also overlooks Congress’

substantial concern with fair trade, as distinct

from free trade. Article 1301, on which appellants

also rely, speaks of achieving “mutually beneficial

trade opportunities in government procurement

based on the principles of non-discrimination and

fair and open competition.” (emphasis added).* The

legislative history notes Congress’ concern “about

the negative effect that provincial procurement

barriers can have on the ability of U.S. exporters

to compete for government procurement contracts

in Canada.” S. Rep. No. 100-509, 100th Cong., 2d

Sess., at 65 (report of the Senate Committee on

Government Affairs).° Given Congress’ evident

5. See also, the Trade Agreements Act of 1974, among the

purposes of which is “to harmonize, reduce, and eliminate

barriers to trade on a basis which assures substantially

equivalent competitive opportunities for the commerce of the

United States,” 19 U.S.C. § 2102(2) and the Trade Agreements

Act of 1979, where one “objective [is to] encourage countries

to become parties to the [GATT Government Procurement

Code] and provide appropriate reciprocal competitive

government procurement opportunities to United States

products... .” 19 U.S.C. § 2512(b).

6. It is also to be observed that achieving United

States-Canadian reciprocity in sub-national government

procurement may require more than national legislation. While

it is clear that, on the United States’ side, Congress would

have authority to act preemptively in this area as an exercise

of its power over foreign commerce, it is not at all clear that

the Canadian Parliament has cognate authority. In Canada

the allocation of authority between federal and provincial

institutions, including the treaty power, is governed by §§ 91

(federal powers), 92 (provincial powers) and 132 (treaty power)

of the Canadian Constitution, British North America Act,

1867, 30 & 31 Victoria c. 3 (consolidated with amendments),

substantially amended by the Constitution Act, 1982, Can.

Rev. Stat. 1985, Apendix II, No. 44. Under the allocation of

authority established by these sections, it may be that a

10a

concern with achieving reciprocal trade barrier

reduction it would be anomalous to draw the

inference that the executive and legislative

branches intended to require the unilateral

elimination of state trade barriers. The United

States-Canada Free Trade Agreement does not

constitute such a mandate.

2. Agreement on Government Procurement

The Agreement on Government Procurement was

entered into in 1979 pursuant to the Tokyo Round

of GATT negotiations. It was implemented by the

President in 1982, pursuant to his authority under

the Trade Agreements Act of 1979, 19 U.S.C.

§§ 2511-18 and under 3 U.S.C. § 301. The

Agreement contains detailed rules on the way in

which government procurement contracts are to be

awarded, including that governments will provide

foreign nationals “treatment no less favorable than

that accorded to domestic products and

suppliers.” Agreement on Government

Procurement, Art. II.

Like the United States-Canada Free Trade

Agreement, however, the Government Procurement

federal undertaking to impose constraints on provincial

purchasing policies would require approval of the individual

provinces. See, Attorney-General of Canada v. Attorney-General

of Ontarto (the Labour Conwentions case}, [1937] A.C. 326,

{1937} 1 D.L.R. 673 (Atkins, L.). See also, P. Hogg,

Constitutional Law of Canada, 249-54 (2d ed. 1985).

It also appears that Canadian provinces may enjoy

rights similar to those accorded states under the market

participant doctrine. See Smylie v. The Queen (1900) 31 O.R.

202, 222-23 (Ont. C.A.)} (province has the power under § 92

to dictate the terms under which it disposes of its own

property, thus permitting province to prohibit the harvest of

timber from provincial lands unless harvester pledges to have

timber processed in Canada before export). See also, P. Hogg,

supra, at 570-74.

lla

Agreement only purports to cover fifty-four federal

agencies. Furthermore, the Government

Procurement Agreement contains express language

suggesting that national governments will attempt

to persuade local governments of the benefits of

free trade.’ If anything, then, the President and

Congress have disavowed any intent to supersede

such state legislation. The Agreement’s legislative

history confirms this view. See Statement of

Administrative Action, printed in H.R. Doc. No.

96-153, 96th Cong., lst Sess. 388, 466, reprinted

in 1979 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News, 665,

726-27 (“The Agreement does not cover... all

purchases by States and local governments,

including purchases by States and _ local

authorities with federal funds”) (emphasis in the

original); cf. id. at 479, reprinted in 1979 U.S. Code

Cong. & Admin. News at 737-38 (“[plurchases by

state and local governments are not covered since

the Agreement applies only to federal agencies

specifically listed . . . [t]he Agreement obligates

the U.S. government only to inform regional and

local governments of the principles and rules of

the Agreement”). In short, the Agreement on

Government Procurement demonstrates no intent

to preempt state buy-American statutes.

7. Article I, { 2 provides, “The Parties shall inform their

entities not covered by this Agreement and the regional and

local governments and authorities within their territories of

the objectives, principles and rules of this Agreement, in

particular the rules on national treatment = and

non-discrimination, and draw their attention to the overall

benefits of liberalization of government procurement.”

12a

B. Statutes

Appellants’ preemption arguments also invoke

the Steei Import Stabilization Act, P.L. 98-573,

Title VIII, §§ 801-808, 98 Stat. 3043-47, codified

at 19 U.S.C.A. § 2253 (Supp. 1990), the Trade Act

of 1974, Pub. L. 93-618, 88 Stat. 1978, (codified

as amended in scattered sections of 5 U.S.C., 19

U.S.C. and 31 U.S.C.), and the Trade Agreements

Act of 1979, Pub. L. 96-39, 93 Stat. 144 (codified

as amended primarily in scattered sections of 19

U.S.C.). But these arguments, too, are wide of the

mark. Much of the statutory language is either

aspirational or so general as to be insufficient to

justify a finding of preemption. See, e.g., Steel

Import Stabilization Act, Sec. 802(a)(4) (describing

a “national policy” for the steel industry); Trade

Act of 1974, 19 U.S.C. § 2102(1), (2) (Supp. 1990)

(Act's purpose is to promote “open and

nondiscriminatory world trade” and “to harmonize,

reduce, and eliminate barriers to trade”); Trade

Agreements Act of 1979, 19 U.S.C. § 2502(2) (Act's

purpose is to promote “an open world trading

system’).

Those statutory provisions that are relatively

specific fall short of establishing a comprehensive

federal scheme or of revealing a direct conflict with

the Steel Act. The Steel Import Stabilization Act,

for example, establishes a mechanism for imposing

quantitative limits on United States’ steel imports.

It does not, however, include regulations of price,

quality or other terms of trade that if present

would indicate comprehensive regulation.

Similarly, the Trade Agreements Act, in making

reference to the effects of state policy on

international trade, goes only so far as to

announce the “sense of Congress” that state

l3a

agencies should not use standards-related activity®

to create “unnecessary obstacles” to foreign trade.

§ 403, codified at 19 U.S.C. § 2533. We think it

unlikely that a “sense of Congress” is sufficient to

preempt a_ state statute establishing a

standards-related barrier;? it certainly is

insufficient to preempt other types of trade

restrictions. Indeed, the cited provision suggests

that Congress is aware of state activities affecting

foreign trade and has decided to confine itself to

persuasive appeals rather than mandatory

preemption.

Such an approach is unsurprising given the

Congress’ previously mentioned concern that any

reductions in barriers to trade be accomplished on

a reciprocal basis. That concern has_ been

expressed during the adoption of the agreements

discussed above and during the adoption of the

three trade acts relied on by appellants. See, e.g.,

Steel Import Stabilization Act, Sec. 802(a)(4)

(“vigorous efforts . . . needed to eliminate...

unfair trade practices"); Trade Act of 1974, § 2,

codified at 19 U.S.C. § 2102(2), (3) (goal is “to

assure({] substantially equivaient competitive

opportunities for the commerce of the United

States” and “establish fairness and equity in

international trading relations’). Absent

assurances of a reciprocal commitment by our

trading partners, it appears that the Congress is

8. “Standards-related activity” is a buyer's activity

establishing perfc..mance and other technical criteria for goods

that it will purchase, and for testing those goods to insure

that they meet the standards established. See 19 U.S.C.

§ 2532.

9. See L. Trive, American Constitutional Law, § 6-26, at 489

(2d ed. 1988) (“broad and abstract federal goals [are] given

scant preemptive effect*).

l4a

as yet unwilling to preempt state buy-American

legislation.

In sum, federal policy as reflected in the two

international agreements and three statutes has

left unadulterated a state’s authority to enact

buy-American legislation. These agreements and

statutes do not constitute a comprehensive scheme

sO pervasive that it must exclude all state action

with respect to foreign steel nor are they otherwise

sufficient to support an inference of Congressional

intent to preempt state buy-American legislation.

The federal policy appears to have been the result

of an explicit negotiating strategy, a strategy that

permits such sub-national legislation pending

sufficient trade concessions or assurances of

mutuality on the part of our international trading

partners. We offer no comment on the wisdom of

that strategy except to say that courts should leave

such matters to the responsible arbiters, Congress

and the Executive. If Congress and the Executive

conclude that a state statute such as the Steel Act

is antithetic to the national interest, they have full

authority to foreclose its continuing operation. But

no such authority has yet been exercised.

II. Commerce Clause Challenge

Article I, § 8 of the United States Constitution

provides that “(t]he Congress shall have Power...

To regulate Commerce with foreign Nations, and

among the several States.” It is well established

that this affirmative grant may sometimes prohibit

state regulatory activity, even absent preemptive

federal legislation. Swin Resource Systems, Inc. v.

Lycoming County, 883 F.2d 245, 248 (3d Cir. 1989)

(citing Cooley v. Brd. of Wardens, 53 U.S. (12

How.) 299, 319 (1852)). In particular, the “negative

commerce clause,” or “dormant commerce clause”

as this residual constraint is often called, prohibits

lSa

many discriminatory state regulations designed to

promote local enterprise at the expense of that

from other states or from foreign countries. The

general rationale underlying the negative

commerce clause is that it prevents the economic

balkanization of the United States into fifty

separate and impenetrable markets. Hughes v.

Oklahoma, 441 U.S. 322, 326 (1979).'°

However, the Supreme Court has also made

clear that “a state or state subdivision that acts

as a market participant, rather than a market

regulator ‘is not subject to the restraints of the

Commerce Clause.” Swin Resources, supra, at 249

(quoting White v. Massachusetts Council of Constr.

Employers, Inc., 460 U.S. 204, 208 (1983)). Put

roughly, the market participant doctrine protects

states when they are acting as parties to a

commercial transaction rather than (as, for

example, when adopting a tax scheme) they are

acting as market regulators. See Reeves, Inc. v.

Stake, 447 U.S. 429, 437 (1980). Appellees, in

arguing that the commerce clause does not

invalidate the Steel Act, claim the protection of the

“market participant doctrine.” However, the

Supreme Court has_ expressly reserved the

10. It is also well established that state enactments that

might otherwise be barred by the dormant commerce clause

are permissible if sanctioned by Congress. See, e.g. Prudential

Ins. Co. v. Benjamin, 328 U.S. 408, 434 (1945). The

agreements and statutes discussed in Part I of this opinion

seem to us to come exceedingly close to providing such

approval. If such were the case, there would be no dormant

commerce clause issue to be decided as the state legislation

would have received a Congressional imprimatur. Cf. Wardair

Canada v. Florida Dept. of Revenue, 477 U.S. 1, 9-13 (1986).

However, since these agreements and statutes do not contain

a clear statement of acquiescence in state buy-American

statutes, we will go on to consider the commerce clause

challenge.

l6a

question of whether state buy-American statutes

that affect foreign commerce violate the commerce

clause, or are permissible under the market

participant doctrine or on other grounds. Id. at

437, n. 9."

To analyze appellants’ commerce clause

challenge, the first question we face is whether the

state, in enacting and enforcing the Steel Act, is

a market regulator or a market participant. We are

satisfied that if Pennsyivania is only a participant,

the inquiry is at an end, White, 460 U.S. at 210;

for the reasons developed below, we are convinced

that with respect to state buy-American statutes

there can be no commerce clause intrusion even

in a foreign commerce context where there is no

attempt to regulate.'?

Appellants argue that market participant status

is umavailable to Pennsylvania because the

Commonwealth is not a buyer of appellants’

disinfection system. Instead, appellants stress that

their customers are local governmental units

distinct from the Commonwealth. Appellants

contend that in controlling the purchases of these

local entities, the Commonwealth is regulating

11. Two state courts have come to competing conclusions on

this issue. Compare Bethlehem Steel Corp. v. Board of

Commisstoners, 276 Cal. App. 2d 221 (1969) with K.S.B.

Technical Sales Corp. v. North Jersey Dist. Water Supply

Comm'n, 381 A.2d 774 (1977), appeal dismissed 435 U.S. 982

(1978).

12. A determination that Pennsylvania is acting as a

regulator would not, standing alone, be sufficient to invalidate

Pennsylvania's statute. Instead it would bring us only to the

next step of commerce clause inquiry, i.e. determining

whether the statute serves a legitimate state purpose that

cannot be equally well served by non-discriminatory means.

Maine v. Taylor, 477 U.S. 131, 140 (1986).

17a

actors other than itself, thereby forfeiting market

participant status.

Appellants rely heavily on W.C.M. Window Co. v.

Berardi, 730 F.2d 486 (7th Cir. 1984). In Window

the Seventh Circuit struck down an Illinois statute

that required public works contractors, including

those who contracted’ with local political

subdivisions, to hire only Illinois laborers. Id. at -

489. Defending its statute, Illinois contended that

local subdivisions were part of the state, and that,

in controlling local transactions, it was doing

nothing more than directing with whom the state

itself would do business, a privilege available

under the market participant doctrine.

The Seventh Circuit, however, held that, for

purposes of the market participant doctrine, local

political subdivisions are not part of a state. The

court acknowledged that for many purposes such

local subdivisions are part of state government.

However, the court concluded that there was an

“analytical and qualitative” difference between a

State requiring state agencies to hire state

residents on public works projects and a state

requiring local governmental units to do the same.

The analytical difference lay in the lack of state

involvement that results when neither state

supervision nor state funds are included in a

project. Id. at 496. The quantitative difference

resulted from the breadth of local public works

projects. Proceeding on the assumption that local

municipalities do much more public contracting

than state central governments, the Window court

thought that extending market participant

protection to such regulatory schemes “could do

great damage to the principles of free trade on

which the negative commerce clause is based.” Id.

The court thus held that such a scheme does not

qualify for protection under the market participant

18a

doctrine and hence violates the commerce clause.

Id. at 495, 496."°

Respectfully, we disagree. We find no compelling

analytical difference between a local govermment

unit and central state agencies. Both exist only

through affirmative acts of the state. A

municipality derives its authority from the state.

United Building and Trades Council of Camden

County v. Mayor and Council of the City of

Camden, 465 U.S. 208, 215 (1984).'* Under

Pennsylvania law it is clear that the local bodies

covered by the statute exist only by grace of state

authority and with such powers as the. state

affirmatively provides.'* We see no reason why,

attendant on making such affirmative grants of

power, the Commonwealth may not also restrict

the contracting authority of such local bodies.

Imposing such _ restrictions on central state

agencies certainly would be permitted and we do

13. The Seventh Circuit also held that the statute was

unconstitutional under the privileges and immunities clause

of Article IV.

14. See City of Trenton v. State of New Jersey, 262 U.S. 182,

187 (1923) (a state “may withhold, grant or withdraw powers

and privileges as it sees fit. However great or small [the

municipality's] sphere of action, it remains the creature of the

state exercising and holding powers and privileges subject to

the sovereign will.*).

15. See, e.g., Department of Public Weifare v. Adams County,

373 A2d 143, 145 n. 4 (Pa. Commw. Ct. 1977}

(Commonwealth “exercise[s} absolute control over counties’)

rev'd on other grounds, 392 A.2d 692 (1978); Plum Twp.

Annexation Case, 116 A.2d 260 (Pa. Super Ct. 1955) (‘all

municipalities are agents of the state); Darby v. Sharon Hill,

4 A. 722 (1886) (borough is “merely an agency instituted by

the sovereign”) and Simon Appeal, 184 A.2d 695 (1962)

(municipal authority is “an independent agency of the

Commonwealth’).

19a

not believe restrictions on local bodies stand in

any different light.

It may be true that local municipalities and

authorities are responsible for the great bulk of

sub-national public procurement. However, we find

no suggestion in the Supreme Court's previous

forays into this area that the quantum of market

purchases should affect a public entity's

qualification for market participant status. Indeed,

to accept the argument would suggest the curious

result that identical legislation adopted by small

and large states might suffer - different

constitutional fates.

We believe the Court's decision in White further

Supports our conclusion. There, the Supreme

Court upheld an order by the Boston mayor

requiring that all city and federally funded

construction projects be performed by a work force

of at least half Boston residents. The Court

rejected a claim that the order violated the

commerce clause because it effectively regulated

employment contracts between private contractors

and their employees, contracts to which the city

was not a party. The Court reasoned that “the

Commerce Clause does not require the city to stop

at the boundary of formal privity of contract .. .

[e]veryone affected by the order is, in a substantial

if informal sense, “working for the city.” White,

460 U.S. at 211 n. 7. If employees of a private

contractor can be thought to be in relationship

with the city, we think it equally clear that

suppliers of a local public entity can be thought

to be “swpplying for the state.” As the ultimately

controlling public purchaser, the Commonwealth

enjoys the same right to specify to its suppliers

the source of steel to be used in any supplies

provided as is enjoyed by similarly situated private

purchasers.

20a

Nor do we find that the commerce clause's

underlying purposes require a broad prohibition

against state regulation of local municipal

purchases. As noted in Reeves, “the Commerce

Clause responds principally to state taxes and

regulatory measures impeding free private trade in

the national marketplace .. . [t]here is no

indication of a constitutional plan to limit the

ability of the States themselves to operate freely

in the free market.” 447 U.S. at 436-37 (emphasis

added). Nor, we take it, is there any indication of

an intent to limit the market operations of local

public entities. Given that local entities can

presumably decide for themselves to contract only

for American steel, cf. White, 460 U.S. at 215, we

think it clear that the Commonwealth, from which

local municipalities derive their power, can impose

similar limits.

We also are not persuaded that the fact that the

products being excluded are of foreign origin

countenances a different result. It is true that the

Supreme Court has suggested that statutes

affecting foreign commerce are subject to a more

searching review. Reeves, 447 U.S. at 437 n. 9.'°

In striking Alaska’s requirement that timber taken

from state lands be processed in-state, the

Wunnicke plurality stated

[wje are buttressed in our conclusion that the

restriction is invalid by the fact that foreign

commerce is burdened by the restriction. It is a

well-accepted rule that State _ restrictions

burdening foreign commerce are subjected to a

more rigorous and searching scrutiny. It is

16. The Court stated that “Commerce Clause scrutiny may

well be more rigorous when a restraint on foreign commeice

is alleged” (citing Japan Line Ltd. v. County of Los Angeles,

441 U.S. 434 (1979)).

2la

crucial to the efficient execution of the Nation's

foreign policy that “the Federal Government...

speak with one voice when regulating commercial

relations with foreign governments.”

Wunnicke, 467 U.S. at 100.

We hold, however, that the Pennsylvania statute

survives even the most searching review. In Japan

Line, Ltd. v. County of Los Angeles, 441 U.S. 434

(1979), the Court identified two concerns that

underlie the application of a more probing analysis

to state statutes that affect foreign commerce.

First, there is the Ganger of multiple taxation. Id.

at 446. That concern is not implicated by the Steel

Act. Second, state enactments may “impair federal

uniformity in an area where federal uniformity is

essential.” Id. at 448. We do not believe state

procurement policy to be such an area. State

procurement practices present no problems of

reconciling conflicting policy among multiple

national sovereigns. Compare id at 450.

Furthermore, the record in this case shows that

Congress is aware of state activity'’ to restrict

procurement of foreign goods, see supra, Part I,

and yet has not imposed a policy of national

uniformity. Thus, state procurement policy fits

comfortably within the Supreme Court's

observation that nothing in “the Foreign Commerce

Clause insists that the Federal Government speak

with any particular voice.” Wardair Canada uv.

17. Pennsylvania is one of at least eleven states that have

some form of buy-American legislation. See Ala. Code § 39-3-4

et seq. (1987 Supp.), 48 Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 48, para. 1801 et

seq. (1986), Ind. Code Ann. § 5-16-8-2 et seq. (West 1984),

Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. ch. 7 § 22 (1969), Md. State Fin. &

Proc. Code Ann. § 12-401 et seq. (1985), N.Y. State Fin. Law

§ 146 (1988), W. Va. Code § 5-19-1 et seq. (1987), R.I. Gen.

Laws § 37-2.1 et seq. (1984), Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 152.011

(1987), N.J. Stat. Ann. § 40A:11-18 (West 1973).

22a

Florida Dept. of Revenue, 477 U.S. 1, 13 (1985).'®

To the degree that Pennsylvania's _ statute

implicates foreign policy in areas other than

commercial trade, appellants’ objections are best

focused on the federal government's power to

control foreign affairs rather than the commerce

clause. It is to that aspect of appellants’ claims

that we now turn.

III. The Foreign Affairs Power Challenge

The formulation and administration of foreign

affairs is vested exclusively in the federal

government. Consequently, any state law that

involves the state in the actual conduct of foreign

affairs is unconstitutional. United State v. Pink,

315 U.S. 203, 233 (1942). See also, L. Tribe,

American Constitutional Law, § 4-6, at 230 (2d ed.

1988) (“state action, whether or not consistent

with current federal foreign policy, that distorts

the allocation of responsibility to the national

government for the conduct of American diplomacy

is void"). In contrast, any action that has only

“some incidental or indirect effect in foreign

countries” does not intrude on the foreign

relations power. Zschernig v. Miller, 389 U.S. 429,

432 (1968) (citation omitted).

On only one occasion has the Supreme Court

struck down a state statute as violative of the

foreign relations power. In Zschernig the Court

held unconstitutional an Oregon statute which

provided that a nonresident alien could not inherit

18. In Wardair the Court upheld a Florida aviation fuel tax

as applied to a Canadian air carrier engaged in international

traffic. The tax was upheld despite the United States being a

party to more than seventy bilateral and multilateral aviation

agreements, many of which contain provisions governing fuel

taxes. 477 U.S. 9-13.

1

23a

from an Oregon decedent unless three conditions

were met: (1) the alien’s government must accord

Americans the right to inherit on equal terms; (2)

the alien's government must give Americans the

right to receive payment in the United States of

funds from foreign estates; and (3) foreign heirs

inheriting from Oregon estates must be abkle to do-

so without confiscation by their government.

In considering the application of the Oregon

statute, the Court noted that Oregon courts, and

other state courts enforcing similar statutes, had

routinely launched inquiries into the type of

government that obtained in the _ inheritor’s

country, inquiries that radiated cold war attitudes

regarding the democratic or Marxist characteristic

of various regimes. Id at 434-35. The Court

concluded that the “real desiderata” of Oregon

court decisions were the foreign policy attitudes of

local probate courts, attitudes that moved with the

wax and wane of the cold war. Id. at 437. Applied

in this way, the Court thought that the Oregon

Statute “held great potential for disruption or

embarrassment.” Id. at 435. The Court concluded

that the statute had a direct impact upon foreign

relations and had potential to affect adversely the

power of the central government to deal with such

" problems. As such it was invalid. Id. at 441.

The Pennsylvania statute exhibits none of the

dangers attendant on the statute reviewed in

Zschernig, for Pennsylvania's statute provides no

opportunity for state administrative officials or

judges to comment on, let alone key their decisions

to, the nature of foreign regimes. On its face the

statute applies to steel from any foreign source,

without respect to whether the source country

might be considered friend or foe. Nor is there any

indication from the record that the statute has

24a

been selectively applied according to the foreign

policy attitudes of Commonwealth courts or the

Commonwealth's ‘Attorney General.'? And while it

is possible that sub-national government

procurement restrictions may become a topic of

intense international scrutiny, and a target in

international trade negotiations, that possibility

alone cannot justify this court’s invalidation of the

Commonwealth's statute. This is especially true

when Congress has recently directed its attention

to such restrictions and has taken no steps to

preempt them through federal legislation. Indeed,

in light of Congress’ evident concern with

achieving freer trade on a reciprocal basis, to

strike Pennsylvania's statute would amount to a

judicial redirection of established foreign trade

policy —- a quite inappropriate exercise of the

juidcial power.

IV. The Vagueness Challenge

Appellants and appellees agree that controlling

vagueness doctrine is set out in Grayned v. City

of Rockford, 408 U.S. 104 (1972). In Grayned the

Court explained

Vague laws offend several important values.

First, because we assume that man is free to

steer between lawful and unlawful conduct, we

insist that laws give the person of ordinary

19. Appellants do suggest that Pennsylvania's enforcement

inquiries were made only at the request of a Trojan

competitor. The suggestion is dehors the record, as the facts

stipulated by the parties make no mention of how Trojan’s

potentiai violation originally came to the Attorney General's

attention. Even if true, appellants’ allegation does not

establish —- indeed, it does not even suggest —- that the

statute is being selectively enforced against suppliers from

only a particular nation or group of nations, according to

foreign policy attitudes held by Pennsylvania officials.

25a

intelligence a reasonable opportunity to know

what is prohibited, so that he may act

accordingly. Vague laws may trap the innocent

by not providing fair warning. Second, if arbitrary

and discriminatory enforcement is to _ be

prevented, laws must provide explicit standards

for those who apply them. A vague law

impermissibly delegates basic policy matters to

policemen, judges, and juries for resolution on

an ad hoc subjective basis, with the attendant

dangers of arbitrary and _ discriminatory

applications.

Id. at 108-09. Thus, a statute should be struck as

vague if (1) it fails to give a person of ordinary

intelligence a reasonable opportunity to know what

is prohibited, or (2) it fails to provide explicit

standards to the enforcing officer, in this case

Pennsylvania's Attorney General.

The Court also has declared that

economic regulation is subject to a less strict

vagueness test because its subject matter is often

more narrow, and because businesses, which

face economic demands to plan _ behavior

carefully, can be expected to consult relevant

legislation in advance of action. Indeed, the

regulated enterprise wiay have the ability to

clarify the meaning of the regulation by its own

inquiry, or by resort to an administrative

process. The Court has also expressed greater

tolerance of enactments with civil rather than

criminal penalties because the consequences of

imprecision are qualitatively less severe.

26a

Village of Hoffman Estate v. Flipside, Hoffman

Estate, Inc., 455 U.S. 489, 498-99 (1982).?°

Hoffman Estates added that “[a] plaintiff who

engages in some conduct that is clearly proscribed

cannot complain of the vagueness of the law as

applied to the conduct of others.” Id. at 495.

Appellants first contend that the Steel Act

should be subject to a relatively strict vagueness

review, as the’ sanctions it imposes —

characterized by defendant as civil penalties but

“commercially devastating,” Appellants’ Brief, at 42

— are severe. We disagree. It is not clear to us

that barring a supplier from public contracting

within the Commonwealth for five years is severe.

Such a supplier remains free to participate in the

private Pennsylvania market and to supply

purchasers in other states. In any case, for

purposes of testing the penal severity of a given

statute, Hoffman Estates focused on the distinction

between criminal and civil sanctions, i.e. between

incarceration and financial penalties. We know of

no case in which a civil statute has been subjected

to strict vagueness review. Thus, Pennsylvania's

statute will be measured against the more

deferential standard usually attendant on

commercial regulation.

Appellants contend that the statute is vague in

several respects. First, appellants argue that the

definition of “steel products,” Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 73,

§ 1886, is inadequate because (1) it fails to

20. We note that this suit effectively presents a facial

challenge to the statute, i.e. there is nothing in the record to

indicate how the statute has been interpreted by the

Pennsylvania courts and the Pennsylvania Attorney General.

nor is there any indication of what, if any, administrative

mechanisms may be available to clarify the statute's coverage.

27a

identify how much steel must be fabricated into

otherwise non-steel products to convert that

product into a “steel product,” Appellants’ Brief, at

43-45, and (2) it fails to provide standards for

determining when steel is “United Siates steel,”

Appellants’ Brief, at 45-47.

To demonstrate the first of these points, -

appellants set out a parade of horribles, e.g. is a

wooden chair with nails a steel product? But

rhetorical questions of this sort, though intriguing,

are not to the point. As noted in Hoffman Estates,

appellants’ burden is to show that the statute is

vague with respect to their activity. The statutory

definition of steel products expressly incorporates

the United States Commerce Department Standard

Industrial Classification 35. Classification 35

specifically includes “sewage purification

equipment.” The UV-2000 undoubtedly falls within

such a class, giving appellants ample warning that

their product is within the Steel Act’s ambit.!

Appellants also claim that “steel products” is

vague because it provides no standards for

determining when “articles, materials, and

supplies” have been “mined, produced, or

21. Appellants contend that such a listing alone is

insufficient to ameliorate the statute's vagueness, pointing out

that the same classifications incorporated by the Pennsylvania

statute also list “wooden chairs.” They similarly object that

the statute is unconstitutionally vague because it leaves

unclear whether suppliers must certify that United States

steel is used in “nuts and bolts holding the system together,”

Appellants’ Brief, at 47. Again, however, by these objections

appellants seek the benefits of a vagueness challenge as it

might be raised by other parties. Whatever the case with

respect to “wooden chairs” and “nuts and bolts,” we have no

doubt that a manufacturer of “sewage purification equipment”

whose product contains several steel components has had

sufficient warning that his product 1s covered by the statute.

28a

manufactured” or “melted and manufactured” in

the United States. Appellants note specifically that

much steel is reprocessed, resulting in the final

product becoming the combination of foreign and

domestic steel. Under such circumstances,

appellants, claim that “United States steel” is

inherently vague.

However, the difficulty facing appellants is not

that the definition of United States steel is vague

but that as a matter of commercial practice it may

not always be easy to find steel that satisfies the

requirement. Inability to satisfy a clear but

demanding standard is different from inability in

the first instance to determine what the standard

is. We see no reason that Pennsylvania may not

err on the side of caution in requiring clear

affirmative evidence that steel being used is

entirely of United States origin rather than, as

appellants would have it, giving the benefit of the

doubt to much of the steel! that is in commercial

use. If appellants wish to sell to public agencies

in Pennsylvania, their remedy is to use virgin

United States steel or to find some other means

of tracing the steel’s source.

V. The Equal Protection Clause Challenge

Finally, we find no merit in appellants’ claim

that the Steel Act violates the equal protection

clause. Relying exclusively on Metropolitan Life

Insurance Co. v. Ward, 470 U.S. 689 (1985),

appellants contend that “the Steel Act

unconstitutionally attempts to protect the United

States steel industry by discriminating against

foreign competition.” Appellants’ Brief, at 18. Such

a purpose, argue appellants, is illegitimate under

the equal protection clause. In Metropolitan Life

the Supreme Court struck down an Alabama

29a

statute that imposed a higher tax rate on

nonresident insurance companies than on resident

companies. Later in the same term, however,

Metropolitan Life was sharply limited to its facts

in Northeast Bancorp, Inc. v. Board of Governors,

472 U.S. 159, 176 (1985). As the present case does

not involve .the taxing power and “the Equal

Protection Clause permits economic regulation that

distinguishes between groups that are legitimately

different — as local institutions so often are,” {d.

at 180 (O'Connor, J. concurring), we find no basis

for concluding that the Steel Act contravenes the

equal protection clause.

VI. Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the

District Court will be affirmed.

A True Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit

30a

APPENDIX B — OPINION AND ORDER OF THE DISTRICT

COURT

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE MIDDLE DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

CIVIL ACTION NO. 89-0364

TROJAN TECHNOLOGIES, INC., KAPPE ASSOCIATES,

ee

Plaintiffs,

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA, LEROY

ZIMMERMAN, Atty. Gen. of PA.,

Defendants.

MEMORANDUM

The parties to this declaratory judgment litigation have each

filed a motion for summary judgment. At issue~is_ the

constitutionality of the Steel Products Procurement Act (73 P.S.

§ 1881 et seq.), enacted by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

in 1978 (the Act). The Act requires public agencies, when

undertaking the construction of public works, to include a

provision in their contracts that the steel used in all projects be

produced in the United States.

Plaintiff Trojan Technologies, Inc. is a Canadian corporation

engaged in the manufacturing of equipment used in waste

water/sewage treatment facilities. Kappe Associates, Inc. is

Trojan’s representative in Pennsylvania. In March 1988, the

es

3la

Appendix B

Attorney General of Pennsylvania received a request to investigate

whether certain equipment manufactured by Trojan and suitable

for use in public work projects, was in compliance with the Act.

On June 29, 1988, the Attorney General determined that Trojan’s

equipment was covered by the Act.' He requested that Trojan

submit documentation showing that the steel in its product was

made in the United States. The Attorney General also requested

information from seven municipal authorities concerning their

possible purchase of Trojan’s UV-2000 systems, which could be

in violation of the Act. The Attorney General intends to enforce

the Act against Trojan, and although no proceedings have been

instituted it is not disputed that the Act would preclude the use

of the Trojan product in public work projects in Pennsylvania.

This suit was filed on August 8, 1988 in the Eastern District Court

of Pennsylvania and transferred to this District on February 2,

1989.

Plaintiffs’ position that the Act is unconstitutional or invalid

is based on the following:

1) The Act violates the Commerce Clause of

the United States Constitution.

2) The Act is an intrusion into foreign affairs

of the United States, an area reserved to the federal

government.

3) The Act is preempted by federal statutes

and foreign trade agreements between the United

States and Canada.

1. The equipment is an ultraviolet light disinfection system, known as

UV-2000.

32a

Appendix B

4) The Act is void for vagueness.

The Commerce Clause Challenge

Plaintiffs contend that the effect of the Act is to regulate

the importing or sale in Pennsylvania of steel made outside the

United States. Plaintiffs submit that the regulation of commerce

with foreign nations is a subject that is within the exclusive control

of the federal government under the commerce clause of the United

States Constitution. Citation of authority is not required to affirm

this basic principle, and if the Act does, in fact, regulate commerce

with foreign countries it is invalid. A state law may violate the

commerce clause if its purpose or effect is to discriminate against

foreign competition. Examples of such illegal laws are Bacchus

Imports Ltd. v. Dias, 468 U.S. 263, 82 L.Ed.2d 200, 104 S.Ct.

3049 (1984), where the state of Hawaii imposed a tax on the sale

of liquor at wholesale but exempted certain locaily produced

beverages, and Hunt v. Washington Apple Adv. Comm., 432 U.S.

333, 53 L.Ed.2d 383, 97 S.Ct. 2434 (1977), where a North Carolina

Statute attempted to limit the ‘‘grading’’ information that could

be used on closed containers of apples shipped to North Carolina.

In both instances the state laws discriminated against foreign

products in favor of locally produced goods.

In opposing plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment, and

in support of its cross motion, the defendants dispute that the

Steel Products Procurement Act regulates commerce or otherwise

intrudes in areas reserved to the federal government. The

defendants contend that public agencies of the Commonwealth

are ‘‘market participants’’, and that the Act does no more than

limit the products that may be purchased or used in constructing

public projects. Rather than ‘‘regulating’’ or attempting to regulate

the sale in Pennsylvania of foreign made steel, the state contends

33a

Appendix B

it is legitimately supporting an important local and national

industry by restricting steel purchases of public agencies to

doinestically produced steel.

The rationale for the ‘‘market participant’’ exception is

illustrated in Hughes v. Alexandria Scrap Corporation, 426 U.S.

794, 49 L.Ed.2d 220, 96 S.Ct. 2488 (1976). Maryland enacted

a complex statute aired at reducing the volume of inoperable

or junk vehicles in Maryland by offering an incentive to scrap

processors. The law provided, among other things, for the payment

of a ‘“‘bounty’’ to scrap processors who destroyed and processed

junk vehicles formerly titled in Maryland. Processors located in

Maryland were provided an easy means of proving the origin of

such vehicles, while non-Maryland scrap processors were held to

a more demanding measure of proof in order to claim the bounty.

Plaintiff, a Virginia scrap processor, challenged the statute as

violative of the commerce clause. The Maryland District Court

agreed, finding that the law imposed ‘‘substantial burdens upon

the free flow of interstate commerce’’ and discouraged wreckers

from taking vehicles out of Maryland for processing. The Supreme

Court, however, reversed and held that the commerce clause does

not require independent justification when a state enters the market

as a purchaser:

Nothing in the purposes animating the Commerce

Clause forbids a State, in the absence of

congressional action, from participation in the

market and exercising the right to favor its own

citizens over others.

The Supreme Court acknowledged that the effect of the

statute may tend to keep junk vehicles from flowing to out of

state processors, but noted that ‘‘no trade barrier of the type

34a

Appendix B

forbidden by the Commerce Clause. . . impedes their movement

out of state.’’ (49 L.Ed.2d at 231).

We find defendants’ argument persuasive and conclude that

public agencies applying the Act are no more than market

participants in complying with the Act and specifying the use of

domestically produced steel in public work projects. The legislation

at issue here does not attempt to control or limit the free flow,

or the sale, of foreign steel products in Pennsylvania. The

legislature simply announced that public agencies in Pennsylvania

must support and foster the well being of an important state and

national industry by restricting its purchases of steel or steel

products to those made in this country. Although this action may

reduce the volume of foreign steel actually sold in Pennsylvania,

it does not create a barrier to its free flow into Pennsylvania.

Just as with a private entity, the state may exercise a choice as

to what it will purchase, but it does not thereby ‘‘regulate’’

commerce in the constitutional sense.

The Intrusion of the Act into Foreign Affairs

Plaintiffs contend that the Act intrudes into foreign policy

or international affairs, which is an area within the exclusive

control of the federal government. Although the Constitution

makes no express grant, the exclusive control of foreign affairs

by the federal government is well established and beyond debate.

Plaintiffs refer to several cases where state laws have been held

to interfere in foreign matters. In Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S.

52, 61 S.Ct. 399, 85 L.Ed. 581, (1941), the Supreme Court struck

down a Pennsylvania law that required aliens to register annually

with the state Department of Labor and Industry. The Court ruled

that a similar federal law was intended by Congress as a

comprehensive and uniform scheme for the regulation of all aliens,

35a

Appendix B

and rendered the state law unenforceable. In Zschering v. Miller,

389 U.S. 429, 88 S.Ct. 664, 19 L.Ed.2d 683 (1968), the Supreme

Court voided an Oregon law that placed conditions on the rights

of nonresident aliens to inherit property owned by Oregon

decedents, holding that the law impaired the effective exercise

of the nation’s foreign policy. These laws each had a direct

relationship to overriding national concerns, but we find no

support in such holdings for concluding that the Act in question

intrudes in foreign affairs. The Steel Products Procurement Act

does not bring Pennsylvania into contact with a foreign

government or with foreign affairs, and the only impact of the

Act on other countries is incidental - i.e., a possible decrease in

the total sales of foreign steel in Pennsylvania because public

agencies will not buy it. This result, however, is traceable to

participation in the market place and not to any effort to control

or regulate commerce with foreign countries.

Preemption by Federal Laws

Plaintiffs also argue that legislation such as the Act is

preempted by various federal agreements or legislation, including

the United States - Canada Free Trade Agreement. However, we

doubt that Congress intended the trade agreement to preempt states

from being ‘‘market participants,’’ and there is no clear intent

of congress to forbid states from taking action to limit to the

source of their purchase of commodities. In Kentucky West

Virginia Gas v. P.U.C., 837 F.2d 600 (3d Cir. 1988) the court

outlined the three tests for determining if preemption has occurred:

1) when enacting federal laws, Congress

explicitly announces its intent to preempt state law;

2) in the absence of express preemptive

36a

language, Congress indicates an intent to occupy

an entire field of regulation, and leaves no room

for states to supplement the federal law;

3) when compliance with state and federal law

is impossible, or when state law is an obstacle to

realizing Congressional objections.

We agree with defendants that preemption is not

demonstrated. In none of the laws cited by plaintiffs has Congress

prohibited states from being market participants, and the trade

statutes Or agreements in question are limited to the

importation/purchase of foreign products by the federal

government.’ The Steel Products Procurement Act does not close

Pennsylvania to the free flow of foreign steel products, and the

court is not persuaded that the incidental result of reducing the

quantities of foreign steel sold in Pennsylvania comes into conflict

with trade policies, etc. of the United States. If a ‘‘buy-America’”’

goal of a state intrudes into foreign affairs, or conflicts with federal

trade efforts, Congress could easily occupy the field with express

legislation to prohibit the practice by state governments.

Vagueness of the Act

The Act requires that only ‘‘steel products,’’ as defined in

Section 1886, be used in all public agency projects. Plaintiffs

contend the Act should be voided because of its imprecise

definition of ‘‘steel products.’’ Generally speaking ‘‘steel products’’

is defined as those produced from steel made in the United States.

Plaintiffs argue that under the terms of the Act it cannot be

2. In addition to the United States-Canada Free Trade Agreement, plaintiffs

also refer to the Agreement on Government Procurement, etc. of 1979; the

Steel Import Stabilization Act of 1974; the Trade Act of 1974; and the Trade

Agreement Act of 1979.

37a

Appendix B

ascertained where the line is drawn in deciding whether a public

agency is dealing with an item covered by the broad definition

in the Act. Plaintiffs pose their dilemma by asking whether a

written report on a public project, held together by a steel Staple,

is a **steel product’’; or are chairs supplied to a public agency

that are held together by a few steel nails included within the

definition; or is a calculator, held together with steel screws, a

‘*steel product’’? The steel in the product involved in this case

constitutes about 15% of its total cost, but what if it were only

5% or 2%? Where is the threshold and how much steel is enough?

Where both foreign and domestic steel are used in a product it

is considered a ‘‘steel product’’, and acceptable, if 75% of the

cost of the ‘‘articles, materials and supplies’’ have been ‘mined,

produced or manufactured’’ in the United States, but how does

one determine the meaning of the quoted language?

We agree with plaintiffs that many situations can be posed

where the applicability of the Act would be difficult, if not

impossible, to ascertain. But the legal test for vagueness is not

based upon one’s ability to conjure up a factual setting where

the application of a particular law is uncertain. The Supreme Court

has announced that to void a vagueness challenge the law must

““give the person of ordinary intelligence a reasonable opportunity

to know what is prohibited, so that he may act accordingly.”’

Graymead v. City of Rockford, 408 U.S. 104, 33 L.Ed.2d 222,

92 S.Ct. 2294 (1922). Moreover, when considering whether a law

is void for vagueness the nature of the enactment must be

considered. In Village of Hoffman Estates, Inc. v. Flipside,

Hoffman Estates, Inc., 455 U.S. 489, 71 L.Ed.2d 362, 371-372,

102 S.Ct. 1186 (1982) the Court said:

Thus, economic regulations is subject to a less strict

vagueness test because its subject matter is often

38a

Appendix B

more narrow, and because businesses, which face

economic demands to plan behavior carefully, can

be expected to consult relevant legislation in

advance of action. Indeed, the regulated enterprise

may have the ability to clarify the meaning of the

regulation by its own inquiry, or by resort to an

administrative process. The Court has also

expressed greater tolerance of enactments with civil

rather than criminal penalties because the

consequences of imprecision are qualitatively less

severe.

In concluding that the ordinance at issue in Hoffman Estates

did not implicate consitutionally protected conduct, the Supreme

Court noted that, ‘‘a plaintiff who engaged in some conduct that

is clearly proscribed cannot complain of the vagueness of the law

as applied to the conduct of others’’ (p. 369). Thus, the fact that

the definition of ‘‘steel products’’ may be vague under other

circumstances is unavailing to plaintiffs here. The parties have

stipulated that the steel components of the UV-2000 system,

constitute ‘‘less than 15%’’ of the cost of the system, but we find

this to be a significant part of the product. Additionally, ‘‘sewage

purification equipment’’ is a classification listed in category #35

of the United States Department of Commerce’s classification

of machinery, which is incorporated by reference in the definition

of ‘‘steel products.’’ If the steel in the UV-2000 system was not

made in the United States it is not a ‘‘steel product’’ defined in

the Act, and thus public agencies would be prohibited from

including it in public works projects in Pennsylvania. _

39a

Appendix B

An appropriate order will be entered.

s/William W. Caldwell

William W. Caldwell

United States District Judge

Date: January 5, 1990

40a

Appendix B

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE MIDDLE DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

CIVIL ACTION NO 89-0364

TROJAN TECHNOLOGIES, INC., KAPPE ASSOCIATES,

Te.

Plaintiffs,

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA, LEROY

ZIMMERMAN, Atty. Gen. of PA,

Defendants.

ORDER

AND NOW, this 5th day of January, 1990, plaintiffs’ request

for declaratory and injunctive relief is denied. The Clerk of Court

is directed to close this file.

s/William W. Caldwell

William W. Caldwell

United States District Judge

Filed: January 5, 1990

ia ai Ni

4la

APPENDIX C — THE STEEL PRODUCTS PROCUREMENT

rr) ACT

CHAPTER 25. STEFL PRODUCTS PROCUREMENT ACT

Section Section

1881. Short title. payments: prohibitions for vio

1882. Police power. lations; procedure

vo9y — a a IRRG. Definitions.

; equired contract provisions. RR7 > 5 . 2 : :

1885. Payments under contracts; ac- 1867. Purpose of act; liberal construc

/ : tien.

tion to recover unauthorized ”

Promsions constituting Chapter 25, the Steel Products Procurement

Act, consisting of §§ 1881 to 1887, were enacted by Act 1978, March 3, PLL.

6, No. 3, §§ 1 to 9. generally effective in 60 days.

§ 1881. Short title

This act shall be known and may be cited as the “Steel Products Procurement

Act.”

1978, March 3, P.L. 6, No. 3, § 1, effective in 60 days.

Historical and Statutory Notes

Section 8 of Act 1978, March 3, P.L. 6. No. 3 is

general repealer.

Section 9 of Act 1978. March 3, PL. 6, No. 3

provides that the act shall take effect in 60 davs

but shall not apply to any contract awarded pur-

suant to an invitation for bids issued on or before

the effective date of said act.

Title of Act:

An Act to promote the general welfare and

stimulate the economy of the Commonwealth by

requiring that all public bodies, inchiding the

Commonwealth, its political subdivisions, and all

authorities, include in all contracts for construc-

tion, reconstruction, alteration, repair, improve-

4 ment or maintenance of improvements of a perma-

nent or temporary nature, a provision that if any

steel products are to be used in the performance of

the contract only steel products produced in the

United States shall be used. and imposing liability

for violation of this act. 1978, March 3, P.L. 6,

No. 3.

First class townships, application of act, sce $3

PS. § 56802

Incorporated towns, application of act, see 53

PS. § $3202

Joint municipal activities. application of act, 53

P.S. § 487.1

Municipal contracts generally, application of

act, see 53 P.S. § 1003

Municipal flood control contracts. application

of act- see $3 PS. § 2863

Municipalities, joint purchase contracts, appli-

cation of act. see 53 PS. § 5432.

Parking authonities, application of act, see $3

PS § 351

Pennsylvania transportation assistance authori-

ty, application of act, see 66 P.S. § 1912.

Port authorities, application of act, see 55 P.S.

§ 559.1.

Public auditorium authorities, application of

act, see 53 PS. § 23851.

Public School Building Authority. application

of act, see 24 PS. § 791.10

Public television network commission, applica-

42a

tron of act, see 71 P.S § 1188.4.

Cross References Purchases by public agencies, preference for

Borough contracts, application of act, see 53 domestic aluminum and steel products, see 71 P S.

PS. § 46402. § 773.10! et seq.

Counties of third to eighth classes, application School contracts, application of law. see 24 1° S.

of act, see 16 PS. § 1802. § 7-751.

Second class cites, application of act, see 53 PS. Third class cities, application of act, see 53 P.S.

§ 23308 | § 36901.

Second class townships, application of act, see Water and power resources board, application

53 ¥5.§ GOs of act, see 32 PS. § 662.

State highway and bridge authority, application

of act, see 36 P.S. § 4613.

§ 1882. Police power

This act shall be Geemed to be an exercise of the police powers of the Common-

wealth for the protection of the health, safety and general welfare of the people of

the Commonwealth.

1978, March 3, P.L. 6, No. 3, § 2, effective in 60 days.

Historical and Statutory Notes

For effective date and application of act, see

note under § 1881 of this title.

§ 1883. Public policy

It is hereby determined by the General Assembly of Pennsylvania and declared as

a matter of legislative findings that:

(1) The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania is one of the leading states in the United

States in the production of steel.

(2) The production of steel products constitutes a major industry of the Common-

wealth and, as such, provides the jobs and family incomes of hundreds of thousands

of the people of this Commonwealth and, in turn, millions of persons in the United

States.

(3) The taxes paid to the Commonwealth and its political subdivisions by employ-

ers and employees engaged in the production and sale of steel products are one of

the largest single sources of public revenues in this Commonwealth.

|

43a

(4) It has, for many years, been the policy of the Commonwealth to aid and

support the development and expansion of industry in this Commonwealth in order

et to foster the economic well-being of the Commonwealth and its people.

(5) The economy and general welfare of the Commonwealth and its people, as well

as the economy, general welfare and national security of the United States, are

inseparably related to the preservation and development of the steel industry in the

Commonwealth and in the other states of the United States.

The Pennsylvania General Assembly therefore declares it to be the policy of the

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania that all public officers and agencies should, at all

times, aid and promote the development of the steel industry of the United States in

order to stimulate and improve the economic well-being of the Commonwealth and its

people.

1978, March 3, P.L. 6, No. 3, § 3, effective in 60 days.

Historical and Statutory Notes

F effective date and application of act, see

note under § 1881 of this title.

§ 1884. Required contract provisions

(a) Every public agency shall require that every contract document for the

construction, reconstruction, alteration, repair, improvement or maintenance of pub-

lic works contain a4 provision that, if any steel products are to be used or supplied in

the performance of the contract, only steel products as herein defined shall be used

or supplied in the performance of the contract or any subcontracts thereunder.

(b) This section shall not apply in any case where the head of the public agency, in

writing, determines that steel products as herein defined are not produced in the

United States in sufficient quantities to meet the requirements of the contract.

1978, March 3, P.L. 6, No. 3, § 4, effective in 60 days.

Historical and Statutory Notes

For effective date and application of act, see

note under § 1881 of this title

§ 1885. Payments under contracts; action to recover unauthorized payments:

prohibitions for violations: procedure

A (a) No public agency shall authorize, provide for or make any payinents to any

person under any contract containing the provision required by section 4! unless,

when unidentified steel products are supplied under a contract, such person has

provided documentation including, but not limited to, invoices, bills of lading, and

mill certification that the steel was melted and manufactured in the United States,

which establish that such person has fully complied with such provision. If a steel

product is identifiable from its face, such person must submit certification which

satisfies the public agency that such person has fully complied with the provision

required by section 4. Any such payments made to any person by any public agency

which should not have been made as a result of this section shall be recoverable

directly from the contractor, subcontractor, manufacturer or supplier whe did not

comply with section 4 by either such public agency or the Attorney General of

Pennsylvania.

44a

(b) In addition to the withholding of payments, any person who willfully violates

any of the provisions of this act shall be prohibited from submitting any bids to any

public agency for any contract for a period of five years from the date of the

determination that a violation has occurred. In the event the person who violates

the provisions of section 4(a) is a subcontractor, manufacturer or supplier, such

person shall be prohibited from performing any work or supplying any materials toa

public agency for a period of five years from the date of the determination that a

violation has oecurred.

(c) Title 2 of the Pennsvivania Consolidated Statutes (relating: ta administrative

law and procedure) applies to decisions by public agencies that a person has vielated

section (Ma).

1978, March 3. PLL. 6. No. 3. § 5, effective in 60 days

693, No. 142, § 202, effective in 60 days

144, § 1. effective in 60 days.

Section IRR4 of this title

As affected 1980, Oet 5. PLL.

As amended 1984, July 9, PLL. 674. No.

Repealed in Part *

This section ts repealed by Act 1980, Oct. 15, P.L. 950. No. 164, & 504 (71

PS. § 732-504), insofar as it 1s inconsistent with provisions of said act.

fied’, added second sentence of subsec. (a). and,

in third sentence. inserted “manufacturer or sup-

plier’. and, made editorial changes

Section 3 of Act 1984, July 9, P-L 4674, No

Historical and Statutory Notes

For effective date and application of act, see

note under § [881 of this title

1984 Amendment: Dev.cnated existing text as

subsec. (a) and added subsecs (b) and (c); in first

eentence of subsec (a). substituted “when uniden-

tified steel products * * * in the United States,

which establish” for “the public agency ts satis-

§ 1886. Definitions

144. provides as follows:

This act shall not apply to any contract award-

ed pursuant to an invitation for hids issued on or

hefore the effective date of this act”

The following words and phrases when used in this act shall have, unless the

context clearly indicates otherwise, the meanings given to them in this section:

“Person.” Natural persons as well as corporations, partnerships, business units

and associations.

“Public agency.”

(1) the Commonwealth and its departments, boards, commissions and agencies:

(2) connties, cities, boroughs, townships, school districts, and any other govern

mental unit or district:

(3) the State Public School Building Authority, the State Highway and Bridge

Authority, and any other authority now in existence or hereafter created or orga-

nized hy the Commonwealth:

(4) all municipal or school or other authorities now in existence or hereafter

created or organized by any county, city, borough, township or school district or

combination thereof; and

4Sa

(5) any and all other public bodies, authorities, officers, agencies or instrumentali-

ties, whether exercising a governmental or proprietary function.

“Public works.” Any structure, building, highway, waterway, street, bridge,

transit system, airport or other betterment, work or improvement whether of a

permanent or temporary nature and whether for governmental or proprietary use.

The term includes, but is not limited to, any railway, street railway, subway,

elevated and monorail passenger or passenger and rail rolling stock, self-propelled

ears, gallery cars, locomotives, passenger buses, wires, poles and equipment for

electrification of a transit system, rails, tracks, roadbeds. guideways, elevated

structures, buildings, stations, terminals, docks, shelters and repairs to any of the

foregoing.

“Steel products.” Products rolled, formed, shaped, drawn, extruded, forged, cast,

fabricated or otherwise similariy processed, or processed by a combination of two or

more of such operations, from steel made in the United States by the open hearth,

basic oxygen, electric furnace, Bessemer or other steel making process and shall

include cast iron products and shall include machinery and equipment listed in United

States Department of Commerce Standard Industrial Classification 25 (furniture and

fixture), 35 (machinery, except electrical) and 37 (transportation equipment} and

made of, fabricated from, or containing steel components. If a product contains

both foreign and United Stages steel, such product shall be determined to be a United

States steel product only if at least 75% of the cost of the articles, materials and

supplies have been mined, produced or manufactured, as the case may be, in the

United States. Transportation equipment shall be determined to he a United States

steel product if it complies with section 165 of Public Law 97-424 (96 Stat. 2136).!

“United States.” The United States of America and includes all territory, conti-

nental or insular, subject to the jurisdiction of the United States.

1978, March 3, PLL. 6, No. 3, § 6, effective in 60 days. As amended 1982, June 18,

PLL. 558, No. 161, § 1, effective in 60 days; 1984, July 9, P.L. 674, No. 144, § 2,

effective in 60 days

1223 USCA. § 101 note

Historical and Statutory Notes invitation for bids issued on or befOre the effective

For effective date and application of act, see date of this act.

note under § 1881 of this title. 1984 Amendment: Added second sentence in

definition of “public works” and, in definition of

1982 Amendment: Act end of definition of — “steel products”, added “and shall include ma-

“steel products” added “and shall include cast chinery and equipment * * ° with section 165 of

iron products” Public Law 97-424 (96 Stat. 2136)".

Section 2 of Act 1982, June 18, P.L. 556, No. Section 3 of Act 1904, July 9, P.L. 674, No.

144, provides as follows:

. id -

aO8. SERNEEEE Gh Sees “This act shall not apply to any contract award-

“This act shall take effect in 60 days but shall — ed pursuant to an invitation for bids issued on or

not apply to any contract awarded pursuant to an before the effective date of this act.”

§ 1887. Purpose of act; liberal construction

This act is intended as remedial legislation designed to promote the general

welfare and stimulate the economy of the Commonwealth and its people and each

and every provision hereof is intended to receive a liberal construction such as will

hest effectuate that purpose and no provision is intended to receive a strict or limited

construction.

1978, Mareh 2. PLL. 6, No. 3, § 7, effective in 60 days.

46a

APPENDIX D — THE STIPULATION OF FACT

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE MIDDLE DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

CIVIL ACTION NO 89-0364

(Judge Caldwell)

TROJAN TECHNOLOGIES, INC. and KAPPE ASSOCIATES,

INC.,

Plaintiffs,

¥.

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA and LEROY S.

ZIMMERMAN, ATTORNEY GENERAL,

COMMONWEALTH PENNSYLVANIA

Defendants.

STIPULATION OF FACT

The following facts are stipulated to by and between counsel

for plaintiffs and defendants:

1. Trojan Technologies, Inc. (hereinafter ‘‘Trojan’’) is a

Canadian corporation with its offices and principal place of

business in London, Ontario, Canada. Kappe Associates, Inc.

(‘‘Kappe’’) is a Maryland corporation, registered to do business

in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, with its principal offices

located in Rockville, Maryland.

2. Trojan manufactures ultraviolet light water disinfection

systems. Kappe is Trojan’s exclusive manufacturer representative

47a

Appendix D

in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.

3. The Trojan System UV-2000 (‘‘UV-2000’’) is a patented

ultraviolet light disinfection system designed to kill harmful

bacteria and other micro-organisfns in water. A copy of the

brochure describing the UV-2000 is attached as Exhibit ‘‘A’’.

4. The UV-2000 has applications in industry , potable water

plants, and residential use.

5. The UV-2000 has been purchased by a number of

municipalities and authorities in the Commonwealth of

Pennsylvania and has been installed at discharge points in inter

alia, waste water/sewage treatment facilities.

6. The UV-2000 is designed to disinfect water only. The

UV-2000 is not designed to disinfect or purify sewage influent

and cannot disinfect or purify sewage influent. It can be used

to disinfect waste water or effluent which is to be discharged by

sewage treatment facilities.

7. The basic UV-2000 contains a rack of four to eight

ultraviolet lamps that are located in the ‘‘UV Module.’’ The

ultraviolet light from these lamps kills the bacteria and

microorganisms as they pass through the UV modules.

3)

8. The UV-2000 has a Power/Control (P/C) Module, which

provides electricity to the UV Modules. The P/C Module contains

electronic circuitry that monitors the current drawn by the

ultraviolet lamps, water levels and operatuin of the UV-2000. The

P/C Module is usually sited outdoors and therefore is housed

in a stainless steel control box.

48a

Appendix D

9. The UV-Modules are held in place by a stainless steel frame

called the UV Module Rack.

10. Most of the steel in the UV-2000 is found in the UV

Module Rack or the P/C Module control box.

11. The steel components of the UV-2000 constitute less than

15% ot the cost of the entire UV-2000 system, the steel components

are not sold as separate items but rather are component parts

of the UV-2000.

12. Steel may be made by, inter alia, the use of the open

hearth, basic oxygen, electric furnace, Bessemer or other steel

making processes.

13. Once steel is made it may be rolled, formed, shaped,

drawn, extruded, cast, melted, fabricated or otherwise processed.

14. Steel that is rolled, formed, shaped, drawn, extruded,

cast, or fabricated may be rerolled, reformed, reshaped,

reextruded, recast, remelted, and refabricated many times over.

15. Steel products that are produced in the United States

often contain foreign made steel that has been reprocessed in the

United States to form steel products.

16. Steel products that are produced in foreign countries often

contain United States made steel that has been reprocessed in the

foreign country to form steel products.

17. Once a steel product has outlived its usefulness, the steel

product is often reprocessed to create another steel product.

ee

49a

Appendix D

18. Due to the reforming of steel and steel products, it may

be on some occasions virtually impossible to determine the place

in which the steel in the steel product was originally made.

19. Prior to the time that Trojan found itself the subject

of inquiry regarding the UV-2000, the Steel Products Procurement

Act, Act of March 3, 978, P.L. 6, No. 3, 73 Pa.C.S.A. Sections

1881-1887 had not been previously enforced by the Office of the

Attorney General concerning ultraviolet disinfection systems.

20. The Office of the Attorney General has sought to enforce

the Act against Trojan but has not yet made any final

determination that Trojan has violated the Act and Trojan has

not been subjected to any sanctions under the Act.

POWELL, TRACHTMAN,

LOGAN & LIDDLE

s/Paul A. Logan

Paul A. Logan

For Plaintiffs Trojan

Technologies, inc. and Kappe

Associates, Inc.

OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY

GENERAL

s/Thomas B. York

Thomas B. York

For Defendants Commonwealth of

Pennsylvania and Leroy S.

Zimmerman, Attorney General

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Trojan Technologies, Inc. v. Pennsylvania · 501 U.S. 1212 | Frix