Respondents Brief — Migra v. Warren City School District Board of Education
Supreme Court brief1984
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
Otiice .
spreme Court, U
FIL®se D -
}
MAR ga
No. 82-738 1983
— =. STEVAS,
In The CLERK
Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1982
oO
DR. ETHEL MIGRA,
Petitioner,
Vs.
WARREN CITY SCHOOL DISTRICT
BOARD OF EDUCATION, et al.,
Respondents.
ry
—
ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT
ry
BRIEF FOR RESPONDENTS
—o
JAMES L. MESSENGER
HENDERSON, COVINGTON, STEIN,
DONCHESS & MESSENGER
600 Wick Building
Youngstown, Ohio 44503
Telephone (216) 744-1148
Counse! for Warren City School
District Board of Education
JOHN C. BURKHOLDER
(Counsel of Record)
NICHOLAS A. PITTNER
KIMBALL H. CAREY
MEANS, BICHIMER, BURKHOLDER
& BAKER CO., L.P.A,
14th Floor
42 East Gay Street
Columbus, Ohio 43215
Telephone (614) 221-3135
Counse! for Individual Respondents
Swan, Angelo, Rubin, Tesner,
Milheim, ana Miller
COCKLE PRINTING CO., 231: Dowgias St.. Omaha 66102
—
QUESTIONS PRESENTED
1. Is a plaintiff in a federal court action brought
pursuant to 42 U.S.C. $1983 precluded from litigating
issues that she might have raised, but in fact did not raise,
in a previous state court action between the same parties
and based on the same transaction, occurrence, or series
of transactions and occurrences?
2. Do petitioner’s claims for deprivation of her “lib-
erty interest in her reputation” sound sufficiently in def-
amation and tort to be barred by Ohio’s one-year statute
of limitations on actions for defamation and intentional
torts?
ii
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
Questions Presented i
Statement of the Case 1
Summary of Argument
Argument:
I. The Full Faith and Credit Clause (28 U.S.C.
§ 1738) requires the federal courts sitting in
Ohio to bar subsequent actions between the same
parties arising out of the same transaction, oc-
currence, or series of transactions and occur-
rences. 5
A. The federal courts must give the same pre-
elusive effect to state court judgments as
would be given under the law of the state in
which the action arose. 5
B. Under the most recent pronouncemenis of the
Ohio Supreme Court on res judicata, a party
is barred from a second action against the
same defendants seeking relief on federal
constitutional grounds where such grounds
could have been argued in a prior action
arising out of the same transaction, occur-
rence, or series of (ransactions and occur-
rences, but were not. 7
II. There is nothing in the legislative history or the
prior decisions of this Court which would sup-
iil
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases
A.L. Englander Motor Co. v. DeGaetano, 120
Ohio St. 448, 166 N. E. 2d 372 (1929) 0. 35
Allen v. MeCurry, 449 U.S. 90 (1980).....2, 4, 6, 23, 25, 28
Anderson v. Minter, 32 Ohio St. 2d 207, 291
N. E. 2d 457 (1972) dieiiisiaas?iae
Anderson v. Richards, 173 Ohio St. 50, 179 N.
E. 2d 918 (1962) eee
Broadway Management, Ine. v. Godale, 55 Ohio
App. 2d 49, 378 N. E. 2d 1072 (1977) S18
Castorr v. Brundage, 674 F.2d 531 (6th Cir.
1982), cert. denied, — U. S. —, 103 S. Ct.
240 (1982) 26
Charles A. Burton, Inc. v. Durkee, 162 Ohio St.
433, 123 N. E. 2d 432 (1954) ze 9
Clark v. Baranowski, 111 Ohio St. 436, 145 N.
E. 76 (1924) 9
Covington and Cincinnati Bridge Co. v. Sar-
gent, 27 Ohio St. 233 (1875) 9,19
Cromwell v. County of Sac, 94 U.S. 351 (1877)... 23
De Marrais v. Community College of Allegheny
County, 407 F.Supp. 79 (W.D. Penn. 1975);
aff’d 571 F. 2d (3rd Cir. 1978)
Dowd Box Co. v. Courtney, 368 U.S. 502
(1962) 18
Faweett v. G. C. Murphy & Co., 46 Ohio St. 2d
245, 348 N. E. 2d 291 (1976) 21
Henderson v. Ryan, 13 Ohio St. 2d 31, 233 N.
E. 2d 506 (1968) 9, 11,13
Huffman v. Pursue, Ltd., 420 U.S. 592 (1975)... _ 27
iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page
Jackson v. Kurtz, 65 Ohio App. 2d 152, 416 N.
E. 2d 1064 (1979) . 18
Jeter v. Hewitt, 63 U.S. (22 How.) 352, 363-
64 (1859) 30
Johnson v. Railway Express Agency, 421 U.S.
454 (1975) 5, 33
Johnson’s Island v. Board of Township Trus-
tees, 69 Ohio St.2d 241, 431 N.E.2d 672
(1982) 3, 7, 14, 16, 17, 18, 19, 21
Kahn v. Cincinnati Times-Star, 10 Ohio Dee.
599 (1890), aff’d, 52 Ohio St. 662, 44 N. E.
1132 (1895) 35
Kilgore v. City of Mansfield, 679 F.2d 632
(6th Cir. 1982) 5, 33
Kremer v. Chemical Construction Corporation,
— U.S. —, 102 S. Ct. 1883 (1982) 2, 6, 24, 25
Lee v. City of Peoria, 685 F. 2d 196 (7th Cir.
1982) 26
Lombard v. Board of Educ., 502 F.2d 631
(2d Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 420 U.S. 976 (1975) 26
Lovely v. Laliberte, 498 F.2d 1261 (1st Cir.
1974), cert. denied 419 U.S. 1038 (1974) .W.-. = 26
MacMurray v. Bd. of Trustees of Bloomsburg,
8. C., 428 F. Supp. 1171 (M. D. Pa. 1977)
Mason v. Owen-Illinois, Inc., 517 F.2d 520
(6th Cir. 1975)
36
33
Mills v. Whitehouse Trucking, 40 Ohio St. 2d
55, 320 N. E. 2d 668 (1974) 35
33
Myers v. Pennypack Woods Home Ownership
Assn., 559 F. 2d 894 (3rd Cir. 1977)
v
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page
New Jersey Edue. Assn. v. Burke, 579 F.2d
764 (3d Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 439 U.S.
894 (1978) 26
Norwood v. McDonald, 142 Ohio St. 299, 52 N.
E. 2d 67 (1943) 8,9
Patsy v. Board of Regents, — U.S. —, 102 8S.
Ct. 2557 (1982) 29
Pear! v. Koch, 5 Ohio Dee. 5 (1894) 2000. | 84
Perry v. Sindermann, 408 U.S. 593 (1972) ............... 31
Robb v. Connolly, 111 U.S. 624 (1884) 00 31
Robbins v. District Court, 592 F. 2d 1015 (8th
Cir. 1979) .. 26
Rush v. Maple Heights, : 167 Ohio St. 2d 221,
147 N. E. 2d 599 (1958) .. 8
Scoggins v. Schrunk, 522 F. 2d 436 (9th Cir.
1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1066 (1976) WW... 26
Sharp v. Shelby Mutual Insurance re ny
15 Ohio St. 3d 134, 239 N. E. 2d 49 (1968) 11, 16
Shoemaker v. City of Cincinnati, 68 Ohio St.
603, 68 N. E.1 (1903) = 30
Southern Jam, Inc. v. Robinson, 675 F. 2d 94
(5th Cir. 1982) .... 26
Spence v. Latting, 512 F. 2d 93 (10th Cir.
1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 896 (1975) 0. 26, 28
Starr v. Rupp, 421 F. 2d 999 (6th Cir. 1970) _..... 35
State v. Cole, 2 Ohio St. 3d 112, 443 N. E. 2d
169 (1982) 18
State v. Roberts, 1 Ohio St. 3d 36, 437 N. E.
2d 598 (1982) 18
Stromberg v. Board of Educ., 64 Ohio St. 2d
98, 413 N. E. 2d 1184 (1980) 18
vi
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continned
Page
Universal Underwriters v. Shuff, 67 Ohio St.
2d 172, 423 N. E. 2d 417 (1981) oo. 17
Vasu vy. Kohlers, Ine., 145 Ohio St. 321, 61
N.E. 2d 707 (1945) occ 7,8
Wentz v. Richardson, 165 Ohio St. 558, 138
N. E. 2d 675 (1956) 35
Whitehead v. General Telephone Co., 20 Ohio
St. 2d 108, 254 N. E. 2d 10 (1969) 20
Wyler v. Tripi, 25 Ohio St. 2d 164, 267 N. E.
2d 419 (1971) a
Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37 (1971) wo.) 27
Outro Revisep Cope
Section 2305.09 20
Section 2305.11 avsnsemDy Bdy D4, 35
Tr 19
Section 4112.01 21
Unirep States Cope
Ee 21
28 U.S.C. $1738 25,62, 27, 31, 36
29 U.S.C. 4 623 21
42 U.S.C. 4 1983 3, 4, 5, 22, 23, 24, 25,
26. 29, 32, 33, 36
42 U.S.C. 4 2000e 21
Oruer AUTHORITIES
Currie, Res Judicata: The Neglected Defense
45 U. Chi. L. Rev. 317 (1978) 26, 27, 30
Ohio Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 13... 12, 13
vii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Pages
Ohio Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 42 (B).....3, 20, 21
Ohio Constitution, Article TV, 9 5 cccccnne 12
United States Constitution, Article VI, clause
2 (Supremacy Clause) ... 30, 31
No. 82-738
s*.
+
In The
Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1982
ss,
~~
DR. ETHEL MIGRA,
Petitioner,
vs.
WARREN CITY SCHOOL DISTRICT
BOARD OF EDUCATION, et al.,
Respondents.
s*,
ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT
‘."
BRIEF FOR RESPONDENTS
SS
ee
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
In the interest of brevity, respondents will not submit
a separate statement of the case. Respondents do wish
to clarify three particular points. First, the nonrenewal
of petitioner was accomplished in order to abolish the
position of Elementary Education Supervisor, a position
which has never since been filled. Second, the Board’s
action in renewing petitioner’s contract was accomplished
solely as a courtesy to petitioner, on the understanding
that she would be submitting her resignation, which she
did not do. And firally, petitioner’s favorable judgment
in the state court was affirmed by the state court of ap-
peals, after which review was denied hy the Ohio Supreme
Court. As a result, petitioner has been paid back pay for
the 1979-80 school year (her nonrenewal in April of 1980
2
was not challenged), minus unemployment compensation
received.
However, respondents must vigorously object to the
statement of the case set forth in the brief of the amicus
curiae American Civil Liberties Union. First, such state-
ment is purely gratuitous in view of Rule 36.5 of this
Court, which limits an amicus to a statement of interest,
summary of argument, argument, and conclusion. Sec-
ond, and more importantly, the opening paragraphs of
this statement recite as “facts” certain matters which are
not facts at all, but merely allegations of fact made by
petitioner in her federal complaint. Therefore, respond-
ents respectfully submit that the statement of the case of
said amicus is, in the above respects, inappropriate, and
not properly before this Court.
—_ *
/—
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
1. In applying res judicata principles, the federal
courts must give to state-court judgments the same pre-
clusive effect which the state courts themselves would give
to such judgments. This rule is founded on the “full
faith and credit” statute (28 U.S. C. 4 1738) as interpreted
by this Court in Allen v. McCurry, 449 U.S. 90 (1980) and
Kremer v. Chemical Construction Corporation, — U. 8. —.
102 8. Ct. 1883 (1982).
Under this rule, petitioner’s claims in this case were
properly found to be barred as res judicata, since Ohio
law precludes second actions between the same parties or
their privies arising out of the same transaction, oecur-
rence or series of transactions and occurrences. The argu-
ments of petitioner and the various amici to the contrary
are based on the erroneous assumption that under Ohio
3
law, petitioner had more than one “cause of action” upon
which she was entitled to bring suit. While it is true that
in earlier times Ohio law might have defined a “cause of
action” in the narrow way argued by petitioner, it does
not do so today. More recent developments in Ohio law,
culminating in the decision in Johnson’s Island, Inc. v.
Board of Trustees, 69 Ohio St. 2d 241, 431 N. E. 2d 672
(1232), indicate clearly that a “cause of action” is now
much more broadly defined for claim preclusion purposes.
It is also significant to note that in this 1982 decision, the
Ohio Supreme Court barred a subsequent action based on
federal constitutional claims where, as here, such claims
could have been raised in the first proceeding, but were
not.
The fact that the state trial court separated and con-
tinued petitioner’s conspiracy claim, and subsequently ap-
proved the voluntary dismissal! of such claim, is of no
avail to petitioner. The trial court was merely exercis-
ing its discretionary authority, under Ohio Civil Rule 42
(B), to order a separate trial of a certain issue before it.
At one time, respondents were still susceptible to further
state court proceedings on this issve. However, petitioner
cannot seize on this fact as an opportunity to raise entirely
new claims, in a new forum, which she failed to raise in
the first proceeding. Such a result is contrary to both
Rule 42 and basic claim preclusion concepts, and should
be rejected.
2. In this case, petitioner attempts to avoid the pre-
clusive effect of her first, state-court action against these
respondents by arguing that in actions under 42 U.S.C.
§ 1983, the federal courts should apply the concept of issue
preclusion (i. e., collateral estoppel) but not the concept
of claim preclusion (1. ¢., res judicata or estoppel by judg-
4
ment). Because there is nothing in the law, the legisla-
tive history, or the underlying policy concerns which would
support the creation of this new “double standard” of pre-
clusion, petitioner’s arguments here must fail.
It is clear from a reading of both A'len v. McCurry,
449 U.S. 90 (1980) and Kremer v. Chemical Construction
Corporation, — U.S. —, 102 S. Ct. 1883 (1982) that this
Court views both issue and claim preclusion concepts as
being fully applicable in Section 1983 actions. Thus,
virtually all of the federal circuits to have addressed the
question have held that claim preclusion concepts apply
fully in Section 1983 actions to bar federal claims which
could have been raised in a prior state proceeding, but
were not. One additional ground for this position is that
allowing a separate federal-court review of federal issues
is contrary to well-established principles of federal-state
comity.
Finally, the argument in favor of a dual standard of
preclusion must be rejected on policy grounds. The
burgeoning Section 1983 caseload which now threatens to
overwhelm the federal courts would only be increased by
a rule which allowed a separate federal review of federal
constitutional questions which could have been dealt with
in an earlier state court proceeding, but were not. Fur-
thermore, it would be more in the interest of sound judi-
cial administration to have federal constitutional ques-
tions determined in the state courts whenever possible:
first, because the state courts should bear equally the bur-
den of interpreting and enforcing federal law which is,
after all, the “law of the land” under the Supremacy
Clause; and second, because in many instances (including
the present case) the federal court must look to state courts
5
in any event for certain relevant interpretations of state
law in order to dispose of the issues before it.
3. Petitioner’s claims for defamation and impair-
ment of her “liberty interest” are barred by Ohio’s one-
year statute of limitations upon claims for defamation
and other intentional torts. (Ohio Rev. Code § 2305.11).
This result is dictated by the well-established rule that in
determining what statutes of limitation apply in § 1983
actions, the federal courts are to apply the state statute
of limitations which would be applicable in the most closely
analogous state action. Johnson v. Railway Express
Agency, 421 U.S. 454 (1975) (case under 42 U.S.C.
§ 1981); Kilgore v. City of Mansfield, 679 F. 2d 632 (6th
Cir. 1982) (Ohio Rev. Code § 2305.11 applies in § 1983
action sounding in intentional tort).
In light of the foregoing, this Court should affirm the
decisions of the trial court and the Court of Appeals for
the Sixth Circuit.
ry
~~
ARGUMENT
I. The Full Faith and Credit Statute (28 U.S.C.
§ 1738) requires the federal courts sitting in
Ohio to bar subsequent actions between the same
parties arising out of the same transaction, oc-
currence, or series of transactions and occurrenc-
es.
A. The federal courts must give the same preclu-
sive effect to state court judgments as would
be given under the law of the state in which
the action arose.
It is now well-settled that the “full faith and credit”
statute (28 U.S.C. 41738) | vides the proper analyti-
cal framework to be used by the federal courts in assess-
ing the preclusive effect to be given to state-court judg-
ments. As noted by this Court in Allen v. McCurry, 449
U.S. 90 (1980),
[T]hough the federal courts may look to the
common law or to the policies supporting res judicata
and collateral estoppel in assessing the preclusive ef-
fect of decisions of other federal courts, Congress has
specifically required all federal courts to give pre-
clusive effect to state-court judgments whenever the
courts of the State from which the judgments emerged
would do so:
“The ... judicial proceedings of any court of
any State ... shall have the same full faith and
credit in every court within the United States and
its Territories and Possessions as they have by
law or usage in the courts of such State... .” 28
U.S. C. $1738 (1976).
449 U.S. at 96 (citations omitted). This proposition was
recently reaffirmed by this Court in Kremer v. Chemical
Construction Corporation, — U.S. —, 102 S. Ct. 1883
(1982), wherein it is stated quite simply:
Section 1738 requires federal courts to give the
same preclusive effect to state court judgments that
those judgments would be given in the courts of the
state from which the judgment emerged.
— U.S. at —, 102 S. Ct. at 1889 (extensive footnote omit-
ted).
Thus, in both Allen and Kremer, supra—the leading
cases to apply res judicata principles in the federal-state
context—this Court has declared that it is the “full faith
and credit” statute which governs any analysis of the
preclusive effect to be accorded state-court judgments. In
7
accordance with this directive, the parties to the present
appeal! must now attempt to discern, as best as they can
from the most recent pronouncements of the Ohio Su-
preme Court, the current status of Ohio law on the ques-
tion of res judicata.
B. Under the most recent pronouncements of the
Ohio Supreme Court on res judicata, a party
is barred from a second action against the
same defendants seeking relief on federal
constitutional grounds where such grounds
could have been argued in a prior action aris-
ing out of the same transaction, occurrence,
or series of transactions and occurrences, but
were not.
The elaborate analyses of Ohio law offered by peti-
tioner and the various amici fail to correctly portray the
current status of Ohio law on the application of res judi-
cata principles. More specifically, petitioner and the vari-
ous amici fail to recognize and acknowledge the impact of
Johnson's Island, Inc. v. Board of Township Trustees, 69
Ohio St. 2d 241, 431 N. E. 2d 672 (1982)—tthe most recent
major pronouncement of the Ohio Supreme Court on
res judicata, and a decision which dramatically broadens
the scope of the doctrine as it now exists in Ohio.
To be sure, the courts of Ohio in earlier times applied
issue preclusion and claim preclusion concepts in a very
narrow manner. For example, under the ruling of Vasu
v. Kohlers, Inc., 145 Ohio St. 321, 61 N. E. 2d 707 (1945),
a plaintiff who suffered both personal injuries and prop-
erty damage in an automobile accident was entitled to
maintain separate actions against a defendant for each
type of injury. The theory for allowing separate actions
was that “[i]njuries to both person and property suffered
by the same person as a result of the same wrongful act
are infringements of different rights and give rise to dis-
tinct causes of action. . . .” 145 Ohio St. at 321, 61 N. E.
2d at 709 (syllabus at 7 4).
Beginning in 1958, however, the Ohio Supreme Court
embarked on a course which would lead to a significant
broadening of issue preclusion and claim preclusion con-
cepts in Ohio. In the case of Rush v. Maple Heights, 167
Ohio St. 2d 221, 147 N. E. 2d 599 (1958), the court dis-
carded the anachronistic and cumbersome “dual cause of
action” rule of Vasu v. Kohlers, supra. In doing so, the
court focused on the singular nature of the wrongful act,
and concluded that “as the defendant’s wrongful act is
single, the cause of action must be single. . . .” 167 Ohio
St. at 230, 147 N. E. 2d at 604. The new rule, which was
declared to be more in accord with “modern practice,”
167 Ohio St. 2d at 235, 147 N. E. 2d at 607, was adopted
in the hope that it might reduce “the vexatious litigation,
with its attendant confusion, which has resulted in recent
years from the filing of separate petitions by the same
plaintiff. . . .” 167 Ohio St. 2d at 234, 147 N. E. 2d at 607.
Following Rush v. Maple Heights, supra, the Ohio
courts continued to struggle with the concept of what con-
stitutes a “cause of action” for res judicata purposes. In
the present context, the definition of a “cause of action”
is crucial, since (as already noted by petitioner) the basic
rule of Ohio law is that a person is entitled to one lawsuit
for each “cause of action” that he has. Norwood v. Me-
Donald, 142 Ohio St. 299, 52 N. E. 2d 67 (1943); White-
head v. General Telephone Co., 20 Ohio St. 2d 108, 254
N. E. 2d 10 (1969). Conversely, a plaintiff in Ohio will
9
be barred from raising any claims in a second action which
he could have raised in a first action against the same par-
ty, see e.g., Charles A. Burton Inc. v. Durkee, 162 Ohio
St. 433, 123 N. E. 2d 432 (1954); Clark v. Baranowski, 111
Ohio St. 436, 145 N. E. 76 (1924); Covington and Cincin-
nati Bridge Co. v. Sargent, 27 Ohio St. 233 (1875), but
only if the second proceeding is based on the same “cause
of action,” see, e. g., Norwood, supra.
In 1968, the Ohio Supreme Court made two conspicu-
ous attempts to deal with the question of what constitutes
a “cause of action” for res judicata purposes. In Hender-
son v. Ryan, 13 Ohio St. 2d 31, 233 N. E. 2d 506 (1968),
the court was faced with a claim by a defendant attorney
(Ryan), that a malpractice claim against him was barred
by a previous action against him for fraud, in which he
and several other defendants had been exonerated. As
both actions arose out of the same general set of events,
the court found it necessary to address the question of
what constitutes a single “cause of action” under Ohio
law:
What then constitutes a cause of action? Al-
though the meaning given the term may vary accord-
ing to the purpose for which it is sought (United
States v. Memphis Cotton Oil Co., 288 U.S. 62, 67, 68,
53 S. Ct. 278, 280, 77 L. Ed. 619, 623), legal writers
have categorized three general views:
1. A cause of action is identical with a remedial,
or secondary, right. This definition, reminiscent of
the common-law forms of action, equates a cause of
action with each legal theory a plaintiff may have to
redress an injury even though arising from a single
wrongful act. This view has found disfavor with most
courts and authorities because it perpetuates the
pleading of legal theories instead of “a statement of
10
facts constituting a cause of action in ordinary and
concise language.” See Section 2309.04, Revised Code.
2. “[T]he facts from which the plaintiff’s pri-
mary right and the defendant’s corresponding pri-
mary duty have arisen, together with the facts which
constitute the defendant’s delicit or act of wrong”
give rise to a cause of action. This concept omits the
remedia! right and duty of the first definition, there-
by emphasizing substantive rights as distinct from
procedural rights. It is concerned with the wrongful
act and not with the theory of recovery.
3. A cause of action is a group or aggregate of
operative facts, limited “to a single occurrence or af-
fair, without particular reference to the resulting
legal right or rights.” This so-called “factual unit”
theory places the emphasis upon the breadth of the
transaction or occurrence rather than the particular
right of the plaintiff which has been infringed. The
broadest in scope, this definition compels the pleader
to include in his petition all elements of the transac-
tion or occurrence at the risk of splitting his cause of
action.
13 Ohio St. 2d at 33-34; 233 N. E. 2d at 508-09. In com-
paring these three basic definitions to Ohio law, the court
found that
[t]his court has previously adhered to the “primary
right-primary duty” concept, looking to the defend-
ant’s wrongful act.
However, multifold aspects of the same wrongful
act, t.e., negligence consisting of several concurrent
acts, do not permit multiple suits.
e e eo
We are obliged then, to determine whether the
case now before us involves the same wrongful act as
that from which the defendant was exonerated by the
former judgment between these parties.
13 Ohio St. 2d at 35; 233 N.E. 2d at 509-10 (emphasis
added) (citations omitted).
11
Significantly, the court in Henderson did not find that
the plaintiff had separate causes of action for fraud and
malpractice. It did permit the second action against Ryan,
but only because the existing joinder statute (which had
since been repealed) prevented the plaintiff from joining
the two claims against Ryan. There is no question, how-
ever, that law of Ohio as it was being declared at the time
of the Henderson decision (January of 1968), was mov-
ing toward a broader application of res judicata prin-
ciples:
Thus, the Cee no longer contains any impedi-
ment to the joinder of causes of action of the kind as-
serted by the plaintiff in this case. The statutory
changes reflect a constantly developing policy in the ~
pursuit of simplified pleadings and procedure. To
save time and to relieve court congestion, parties are
encouraged, if not commanded, to litigate all their
claims in one action, except to the extent that joinder
of multifarious and complex issues would produce
confusion and prejudice. Defendants and the courts
are thus saved from vexation caused by multiple lit-
igation.
13 Ohio St. 2d at 38; 233 N. E. 2d at 511 (emphasis added).
Later in 1968, the Ohio Supreme Court accelerated
the subtle shift toward a broader definition of a “cause
of action” which it had begun in Henderson, supra. In
Sharp v. Shelby Mutual Insurance Company, 15 Ohio St.
3d 134, 239 N. E.2d 49 (1968), the court again reviewed
the three basic definitions of the phrase “cause of action.”
15 Ohio St. 2d at 139-40; 239 N.E. 2d at 53-54. It ulti-
mately held that the plaintiff had two separate causes of
action, and was thus not barred by res judicata. In doing
12
so, however, the court specifically applied the third, or
“factual unit,” definition of a cause of action, 15 Ohio St.
2d at 140-41; 239 N. E. 2d at 54, which it defined in relevant
part as follows:
One concept of the term [cause of action] ... is
to the effect that as long as the same wrongful act or
transaction is the subject of litigation there is but one
cause of action without regard to the application of
rules of substantive law to additional or variational
facts which are involved and which must be consid-
ered. The test under this concept is not whether add-
ed facts constitute a material difference in plaintiff’s
right or defendant’s wrong under the substantive law,
but whether such additional facts are so closely woven
into the transaction which comprehends the defend-
ant’s wrong as to justify the court in regarding mul-
tiple interests affected and wrong done as a single
unit for the purpose of litigation.
15 Ohio St. 2d at 140; 239 N. E. 2d at 54 (emphasis added).
Consonant with this shift in Ohio law on preclusion
matters was the Ohio Supreme Court’s adoption, in 1970,
of the Ohio Rules of Civil Procedure—and in particular,
Rule 13 thereof.* Ohio Rule 13, like its federal counter-
part, establishes a compulsory counterclaim rule embody-
ing the broadest possible definition of a “cause of action”:
A pleading shall state as a counterclaim any claim
which at the time of serving the pleading the pleader
has against any opposing party, tf it arises out of the
transaction or occurrence that is the subject matter
of the opposing party’s claim and does not require
*The Ohio Supreme Court was authorized to promulgate
rules for the governance of Ohio’s courts by the “ m
Courts Amendment” to the Ohio ©onstitution, Article IV, § 5,
effective May 7, 1968.
13
for its adjudication the presence of third parties of
whom the court cannot acquire jurisdiction.
Ohio R. Civ. P. 13(A) (emphasis added). The policy con-
cerns served by the compulsory counterclaim rule are
clearly stated in the Staff Notes to Ohio Rule 13(A) which
provide in relevant part as follows:
A compulsory counterclaim is one which “is log-
ically related to the opposing party’s claim where
separate trials on each of their respective claims
would involve a substantial duplication of effort and
time by the parties and the courts.” See, Great Lakes
Rubber Corp. v. Herbert Cooper Co., 286 F.2d 631 at
634 (3d Cir. 1961).
The purpose of the compulsory counterclaim is to
avoid a multiplicity of suits by requiring in one action
the litigation of all claims arising from an occurrence.
(Emphasis added.)
Thus, it is clear that in the adoption of the compulsory
counterclaim rule, the Ohio Supreme Court was again
utilizing a “series of transactions or occurrences” defini-
tion of a cause of action. See Henderson, supra, 13 Ohio
St. 2d at 38; 233 N. E. 2d at 511. The absolute preclusive
effect of this rule for compulsory counterclaims not raised
has since been recognized by Ohio’s courts. See, e. g.,
Broadway Management, Inc. v. Godale, 55 Ohio App. 2d
49, 378 N. E. 2d 1072 (1977).
The 1970’s did not witness any significant develop
ments in Ohio’s position on res judicata. However, in
1980, 1981, and 1982, the Ohio Supreme Court rendered a
number of decisions calling for a broader application of
the doctrine. By far the most significant of these deci-
14
sions was Johnson’s Island, Inc. v. Board of Township
Trustees, 69 Ohio St. 2d 241, 431 N. E. 2d 672 (1982).
Johnson’s Island involved a zoning dispute between
a homeowners’ association and a neighboring landowner,
Johnson’s Island, Incorporated. At one time, Johnson’s
Island, Incorporated, had owned virtually all of Johnson’s
Island, a 275-acre island in Lake Erie. However, follow-
ing its purchase of the island in 1956, the corporation pro-
ceeded to subdivide the outer perimeter of the island for
the sale of residential lots. In 1975, the township in which
the island was located adopted a comprehensive zoning
plan. Under this plan, the entire island was zoned for
residential housing.
The specific dispute in Johnson’s Island related to the
operation by the corporation of a limestone quarry on the
island. The operation of this quarry required blasting
and other heavy industrial activities. Based on the 1975
zoning plan, the local homeowners’ association sought and
obtained (in 1977) a permanent injunction from the Com-
mon Pleas Court of Ottawa County prohibiting John-
son’s Island, Incorporated from conducting any quarry-
i operations on the island. In this action, the corpora-
tion had attempted to establish that the operation of the
quarry was a “prior nonconforming use.” The corpora-
tion did not challenge the constitutionality of the township
zoning regulation as applied to its quarry site. The court
of appeals affirmed the injunction, and further review was
denied by the Ohio Supreme Court.
In 1978, the corporation filed a second action in the
common pleas court seeking a declaration, inter alia, that
the zoning regulation was unconstitutional as applied to
15
the quarry. The trial court granted summary judgment
against the corporation on res judicata grounds, even
though the defendant in the second action was not the
homeowners’ association, but the board of township trus-
tees. The court of appeals affirmed, and the Ohio Supreme
Court certified the case for review.
In 1982, the Ohio Supreme Court affirmed the court
of appeals, and in doing so applied res judicata principles
more broadly than it ever had before. The application
of res judicata was broadened in two particular respects.
First, the Ohio Supreme Court relaxed the mutuality re-
quirement to permit the first judgment to act as a bar,
even though there was not a strict identity of parties. It
found that there was a “mutuality of interest” between the
township trustees and the homeowners’ association, even
though there was no legal privity between them, and even
though one was a public entity. 69 Ohio St.2d at 245;
431 N. E. 2d at 675.
Second, and much more importantly for present pur-
poses, the Ohio Supreme Court precluded a second action
raising certain federal constitutional claims, where such
constitutional claims could have been raised by a party
to the first action, but were not:
Decisions of this court, and of other jurisdictions,
have established that the doctrine of res judicata is
applicable to defenses which, although not raised,
could have been raised in the prior action. Accord-
ingly, if a defendant, as the appellant here, previous-
ly neglected to assert the [constitutional] defense, he
is precluded from raising it subsequently by virtue
of the existence of the judgment rendered in the form-
er action.
16
69 Ohio St. 2d at 245-46; 431 N.E.2d at 675. The court
stated that the above principle “accommodates the finality
of judgments,” 69 Ohio St. at 246; 431 N. E. 2d at 675, and
set forth the following underlying rationale:
“The reasoning in such cases is that a party
should have his day in court, and that that day should
conclude the matter. A party is bound then to present
his entire cause and he is foreclosed from later at-
tempting to reopen the cause as to issues which were
or could have been presented... .”
69 Ohio St. 2d at 246; 431 N. E. 2d at 675-76, quoting An-
derson v. Richards, 173 Ohio St. 50, 53, 179 N. E. 2d 918,
921 (1962).
For purposes of the present case, where this Court is
being called on to discern the current status of Ohio law, it
is crucial to recognize that in Johnson’s Island, supra, the
Ohio Supreme Court cast aside the argument of the cor-
poration that the second proceeding was not based on the
same “cause of action.” This argument was briefed and
argued to the court.* However, the court proceeded to
reject this argument and apply claim preclusion concepts
to bar the second action. 69 Ohio St. 2d at 246; 431 N. E.
2d at 675. In doing so, it necessarily found that the whole
issue of the zoning ordinance, its constitutionality, and
whether the corporation had established a prior noncon-
forming use were “so closely woven into the transaction
which comprehends the defendant’s [alleged] wrong” that
the court was justified in treating them as a “single unit
for the purposes of litigation.” Sharp, supra, 15 Ohio St.
17
2d at 140; 239 N.E 2d at 54. Thus, it is clear that, in
Johnson's Island, the Ohio Supreme Court openly adopted
a “series of transactions or occurrences” definition of a
cause of action, and that older theories, whereby multiple
“causes of action” could spring up from a single event, or
series of related events, have been relegated to the dustbin
of Ohio legal history.
Indeed, any doubts one might have that Ohio, in John-_
son’s Island, was broadening its definition of a “cause of
action” for claim preclusion purposes can be resolved by
an examination of the dissent in that case. It is there
noted, quite correctly, that the issues of prior nonconform-
ing use (raised in the first action) and the constitutionality
of the regulation (raised in the second action) would not
be subject to all the same items of proof. 69 Ohio St. 2d
at 251; 431 N. E. 2d at 678-79 (W. Brown, J., dissenting).
Obviously, a majority of the court did not view this as
a critical issue. The majority opted instead for a rule
which would require preclusion where, as here, there is a
fair relationship between the two issues or claims, even
though the facts necessary to prove the two claims would
not be identical.
Other cases decided shortly before Johnson’s Island
confirm the increasing tendency of the Ohio Supreme
Court to apply preclusion concepts in a broad manner. In
Universal Underwriters v. Shuff, 67 Ohio St. 2d 172, 423
N. E. 2d 417 (1981), the Ohio Supreme Court applied the
doctrine of res judicata to bar an arbitration proceeding
between two contracting parties (an insurance company
and an insured) who had previously litigated a particular
matter. Although the court recognized that the doctrine
traditionally applied only to subsequent legal actions, see
18
67 Ohio St. 2d at 174; 423 N. E. 2d at 418, it nevertheless
chose to extend the doctrine to arbitration proceedings
on policy grounds. For similar policy reasons, the Ohio
Supreme Court had already barred a taxpayer action chal-
lenging the constitutionality of a state statute, where con-
stitutional claims could have been raised in an earlier pro-
ceeding, but were not. Stromberg v. Board of Educ., 64
Ohio St. 2d 98, 413 N. E. 2d 1184 (1980). And, in a pair of
criminal cases, the court has more recently rejected, on
res judicata grounds, attempts in postconviction proceed-
ings to raise federal constitutional issues which could have
been raised at some earlier stage. See State v. Roberts,
1 Ohio St. 3d 36, 437 N. E. 2d 598 (1982) and State v. Cole,
2 Ohio St. 3d 112, 443 N. E. 2d 169 (1982).
In view of the foregoing survey of Ohio law, it can-
not now be plausibly maintained that the Ohio Supreme
Court, if it were faced with the question today, would per-
mit the petitioner herein to maintain a second action
against these defendants for the vindication of certain
federal constitutional rights. Petitioner has had her “day
in court, and that .. . day should [have] conclude[d] the
matter.” Johnson’s Island, supra, 69 Ohio St. 2d at 246;
431 N.E.2d at 675. Unquestionably, the courts of Ohio
would have entertained her constitutional claims had she
presented them. See Dowd Box Co. v. Courtney, 368 U.S.
502, 507-08 (1962) (state and federal courts have con-
current jurisdiction to hear and decide federal constitu-
tional issves); accord, Jackson v. Kurtz, 65 Ohio App. 2d
152, 156, 416 N. E. 2d 1064, 1067 (1979). However, peti-
tioner did not raise such claims in the first action, and is
therefore barred from raising them here:
19
The doctrine of res judicata . . . embraces the pol-
icy that a party must make good his cause of action
or establish his defenses “.. . by all the proper means
within his control, and if he fails in that respect,
purposely or negligently, he will not afterward be
permitted to deny the correctness of the determina-
tion, nor to relitigate the same matters between the
same parties.”
Johnson’s Island, supra, 69 Ohio St. 2d at 244; 431 N. E.
2d at 674, quoting Covington and Cincinnati Bridge Co. v.
Sargent, 27 Ohio St. 233 (1875) (first syllabus).
Petitioner attempts to avoid the bar of res judicata
by arguing that her constitutional claims are not based
on the same “cause of action” as the claims that were liti-
gated in the state-court action (Pet. Br. at 16). In addi-
tion to being incorrect simply as a matter of law (see pre-
ceding discussion), this argument is also unrealistic. Peti-
tioner was hired by the Warren City Board of Educa-
tion to fill the position of Elementary Education Super-
visor. The Board of Education subsequently determined
that this position was no longer necessary, and therefore
nonrenewed petitioner’s contract.* She decided to seek
judicial relief for this action of the Board, and did so by
filing an action in the Common Pleas Court of Trumbull
County, Ohio. In this proceeding, she could have chal-
lenged the Board’s action on any grounds she wished, in-
cluding the ground that the Board’s action in nonrenewing
her contract violated her constitutional rights. However,
*As noted in the yy of the Case, supra, this non-
renewal became necessary because petitioner's +- —y-
was not forthcomin Nina, os tho had been led to believe it
would be. When Board discovered that the resignation
would not be he pee | it was forced to act on petitioner's
contract at a special meeting, with which there were obviously
some procedural difficulties.
20
she elected to challenge the nonrenewal on state procedur-
a! grounds only, and on this challenge she prevailed. Ap-
parently unsated by this round of litigation, she now seeks
to enmesh these same defendants (and one United States
district court) in further litigation—not to vindicate rights
which the state court would not protect—but to vindicate
rights which the state court was never asked to protect.
In this connection, some comment must be made in
response to the argument of the amicus curiae American
Civil Liberties Union that petitioner is entitled to pro-
ceed here because her “analogous . . . tort claims” were
dismissed without prejudice in the state court (ACLU Br.
at 36). This argument is not only without merit; it is also
distracting and disingenuous. Under Rule 42(B) of the
Ohio Rules of Civil Procedure, an Ohio trial court is
granted the discretion to order a separate trial of any
claim or issue if the court, in its discretion, finds that
separate trials would be “in furtherance of convenience
[or] conducive to expedition and economy.”
In this case, the trial court exercised this discretionary
authority when it “reserved and continued” (J. A. at 39)
and later dismissed without prejudice (J. A. at 54) peti-
tioner’s “conspiracy” claim. This claim charged only
that the individual defendants “did by unlawful meetings
... conspire to deprive the plaintiff of her contract rights
with the Warren City School District.” (J. A. at 28) (em-
phasis added). Certainly, were it not for the statute of
limitations,* respondents would still be susceptible to suit
a oe yinvyf yy —G
unspecified torts, Rev § 2305.09. Her abandon-
ment of this claim is not in view of the fact that Ohio
21
in state court on this claim. However, it is clearly not with-
in the contemplation of Rule 42 (B) that in the separated
trial of a particular claim, the plaintiff is entitled to bring
in entirely new claims against the same defendant on the
theory that they are “analogous” to the separated claim.
Under the interpretation of the amicus, petitioner would
presumably be entitled to bring a second action under Title
VII or Title [IX for sex discrimination, or under the Age
Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967* or their Ohio
counterparts,** if she believed that these statutes applied
to her case. Thus, petitioner would be able in the second
action to avoid her own failure to “make good [her] cause
of action . . . by all the proper means within her control,”
Johnson’s Island, supra, 69 Ohio St. 2d at 244; 431 N. E.
2d at 674, simply by having an “analogous” claim dismissed
without prejudice. Respondents respectfully submit that
this result is neither equitable nor in keeping with the pol-
icy of Ohio law on claim preclusion as expressed in the
preceding argument, and should therefore be rejected by
this Court.
In light of the entire preceding discussion, it is ap-
parent that Ohio law, as this Court now finds it, would bar
petitioner’s second action against the same defendants
(Continued on next page)
with contract in the em r-employee context. See Fawcett
v. G. C. Murphy & Co., Ohio St. 2d 245, 248 N. E. 2d 291
rn Anderson v. Minter, 32 Ohio St. 2d 207, 291 N. E. 2d 457
22
asserting new claims under the federal constitution. There-
fore, since the full faith and credit statute (28 U.S.C.
§ 1738) requires that this Court give to petitioner’s first
judgment the same preclusive effect that it would have
under Ohio law, the decisions of the district court and the
Sixth Cireuit Court of Appeals according such preclusive
effect to such judgment were entirely correct, and should
be affirmed.
II. There is nothing in the legislative history or the
prior decisions of this Court which would sup-
port the view, advanced by petitioner, that tra-
ditional principles of issue preclusion apply in
§ 1983 actions, but traditional principles of claim
preclusion do not.
In their briefs to this Court, petitioner and the vari-
ous amici argue that although traditional principles of
issue preclusion (i. e., collateral estoppel) apply fully to
the litigants in Section 1983 actions, traditional principles
of claim preclusion (i. e., res judicata or estoppel by judg-
ment) should not apply. Because there is nothing in the
legislative history of Section 1983 or the pronouncements
of this Court to support such a “double standard” of pre-
clusion, respondents must urge the Court to reject these
arguments and affirm the decision of the Sixth Circuit
Court of Appeals.
The basic argument advanced on behalf of petitioner
is that because “Congress has never altered its intent to
make federal courts the primary protection of constitu-
tional rights,” it intended, through Section 1983, “to pro-
vide individuals in petitioner’s situation with the oppor-
tunity to utilize a federal forum for the protection of their
federally secured -onstitutional rights.” (Pet. Br. at 23,
25). Thus, petitioner takes the position that she should
23
be able to look to the federal courts for redress of her
federal claims, even though she failed to seek redress for
these claims in a prior state court action. This position
is, of course, contrary to traditional res judicata prin-
ciples:
Under res judicata, a final judgment on the merits of
an action precludes the parties or their privies from
relitigating issues that were or could have been raised
in that action.
Allen v. McCurry, 449 U.S. 90, 94 (1980), citing Crom-
well v. County of Sac, 94 U.S. 351, 352 (1877). Admitting
this fact, the amicus American Civil Liberties Union asks
this Court to disregard traditional doctrines and to “fash-
ion a doctrine of qualified preclusion” which accords “full
collateral estoppel effect to facts and issues previously
decided . . ., but which does not preclude the assertion of
a federal constitutional claim in federal court merely be-
cause it might have been asserted in an earlier state pro-
ceeding.” (ACLU Br. at 41-42).
This argument in favor of a new preclusionary
“double standard” is unsupportable for a number of rea-
sons.
First, this Court has clearly and unequivocably stated
—twice within the last three years—that traditional con-
cepts of issue preclusion and claim preclusion apply in
Section 1983 actions. In Allen v. McCurry, 449 U.S. 90
(1980), this Court left no doubt as to the full applicability
of traditional res judicata principles in cases such as the
present one:
{I}m 1871 res judicata and collateral could
certainly have applied in federal suits state-
24
common law rules of preclusion or to repeal the ex-
press statutory requirements of the predecessor of 28
U.S.C. § 1738, .... Section 1983 creates a new fed-
eral cause of action. It says nothing about the pre-
clusive effect of state-court judgments.
Moreover, the legislative history of § 1983 does
not in any clear way suggest that Congress intended
to repeal or restrict the traditional doctrines of pre-
clusion... . [I]n the context of the legislative history
as a whole, this congressional concern lends only the
most equivocal support to any argument that, in cases
where the state courts have recognized the constitu-
tional claims asserted and provided fair procedures
for determining them, Congress intended to override
§ 1738 or the common-law rules of collateral estoppel
and res judicata. Since repeals by implication are dis-
favored, Radzanower v. Touche Ross & Co., 426 U.S.
148, 154, 92 S. Ct. 1989, 1993, 48 L. Ed. 2d 540, much
clearer support than this would be required to hold
that 4 1738 and the traditional rules of preclusion are
not applicable to 4 1983 suits.
449 U.S. at 97-99 (emphasis added) (footnotes omitted).
The above proposition was decisively reaffirmed by this
Court less than a year ago in Kremer v. Chemical Con-
struction Corporation, — U.S. —, 102 S. Ct. 1883 (1982).
In doing so, this Court added the following comments on
the importance of a uniform application of traditional
preclusion concepts in Section 1983 actions:
([T)he federal courts consistently have applied res
judicata and collateral estoppel to causes of action
and issue decided by state courts. Allen v. McCurry
449 U.S. 90, 96, 101 S.Ct. 411, 416, 66 L. Bd. 2d 308
(1980); Montana v. United States, 440 U.S. 147, 99
8. Ct. 970, 59 L. Ed. 2d 210 (1979) ; Angel v. Bulling-
ton, 330 U.S. 183, 67 8. Ct. 657, 92 L. Ed. 832 (1946).
Indeed, from Cromwell v. County of Sac, 94 U. 8. 351,
24 L. Ed. 195 (1877), to Federated Department Stores,
Ine. v. Moitie, 452 U. 8. 394, 101 8. Ct. 2424, 69 L. Ed.
2d 103 (1981), this Court has consistently emphasized
25
the importance of the related doctrines of res judicata
and collateral estoppel in fulfilling the purpose for
which civil courts had been established, the conclusive
resolution of disputes within their jurisdiction. Un-
der res judicata, a finai judgment on the merits of an
action precludes the parties or their privies from re-
litigating issues that were or could have been raised
in that action. Allen v. McCurry, 449 U.S., at 94, 101
S. Ct., at 414; Cromwell v. County of Sac, 94 U.S., at
352. Under collateral estoppel, once a court decides
an issue of fact or law necessary to its judgment, that
decision precludes relitigation of the same issue on
a different cause of action between the same parties.
Montana v. United States, 440 U.S. 147, 153, 99 S. Ct.
970, 973, 59 L. Ed. 2d 210. Parklane Hosiery v. Shore,
439 U.S. 322, 326 n. 5, 99 S. Ct. 645, 649 n. 5 (1979).
Thus, invocation of res judicata and collateral estop-
pel “relieve parties of the cost and vexation of multi-
ple lawsuits, conserve judicial resourzes, and, by pre-
venting inconsistent decisions, encourage reliance on
adjudication.” Allen v. McCurry, 449 U.S., at 94, 101
S.Ct., at 414. When a state court has adjudicated a
claim or issue, these doctrines also serve to “promote
the comity between state and federal courts that has
been recognized as a bulwark of the federal system.”
Id., at 96. 101 S. Ct., at 416.
— U.S. at-—- 102 8. Ct. at 1889-90 n.6 (emphasis added).
Respondents will not belabor these points further, which
have been so recently and convincingly made in Allen and
Kremer. It suffices to say here that, in view of above-
quoted passages from these decisions, no plausible argu-
ment can be made today that Congress, in enacting Sec-
tion 1983, expected the federal] courts to apply only the
collateral estoppel aspect of traditional res judicata doc-
trine and to ignore an equally important function of that
doctrine—namely, to preclude the further litigation of
claims which were, or could have been, raised in a previous
action between the parties.
26
Second, the position advocated by petitioner has been
soundly rejected by virtually all of the federal circuits
which have been faced with the question. These circuits
have held that claim preclusion concepts are fully appli-
cable in Section 1983 actions to bar federal claims which
could have been raised in an earlier state proceeding, but
were not. See Lovely v. Laliberte, 498 F.2d 1261 (lst
Cir. 1974), cert. denied 419 U.S. 1038 (1974); Southern
Jam, Inc. v. Robinson, 675 F.2d 94 (5th Cir. 1982); Cas-
torr v. Brundage, 674 F.2d 531 (6th Cir. 1982), cert. de-
nied, — U.S. —, 103 S. Ct. 240 (1982); Lee v. City of Pe-
oria, 685 F.2d 196 (7th Cir. 1982); Robbins v. District
Court, 592 F. 2d 1015 (8th Cir. 1979) ; Scoggins v. Schrunk,
522 F.2d 436 (9th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1066
(1976); Spence v. Latting, 512 F.2d 93 (10th Cir. 1975),
cert. denied, 423 U.S. 896 (1975). Two circuits have adopt-
ed a contrary view. See Lombard v. Board of Educ., 502
F. 2d 631 (2d Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 420 U.S. 976 (1975) ;
New Jersey Educ. Assn. v. Burke, 579 F.2d 764 (3d Cir.
1978), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 894 (1978). However, it is
important to note that in the most recent of these cases
(Burke, supra), the Third Circuit allowed a second, fed-
eral-court action to proceed only in a situation “where a
federal suit is commenced before a final decision by the
state court... .” 579 F.2d at 774. Thus, it is not even
clear that the Third Circuit would allow a second action
in the present case, where no effort to invoke the jurisdic-
tion of the federal court was made until after the state
court proceedings had gone to judgment.
A third reason for rejecting petitioner’s proposed
“double standard” for preclusion is that it would violate
well-established principles of federal-state comity. As
noted by Professor Currie of the University of Chicago
~
27
in his excellent article, Res Judicata: The Neglected De-
fense, 45 U. Chi. L. Rev. 317, 338 n.153 (1978):
[T]o encourage state defendants to reserve fed-
eral issues for separate federal actions would offend
the policy of federalism underlying Younger v. Harris
[401 U.S. 37 (1971)}.
This policy of federalism is described by Professor Currie
in the following terms:
Younger reflects the policy that federal courts
should “not duly interfere with the legitimate activ-
ities of the States” and that the friction incident to
federal interference ought not to be tolerated so long
as state courts provide an adequate opportunity to
resolve federal claims. A litigant who has failed to
make full use of his state court opportunity has not
made a showing that the opportunity was inadequate.
45 U. Chi. L. Rev. at 320-21 (quoting Younger, supra, 401
U.S. at 44) (emphasis added). In a similar fashion, this
Court has also recognized the destructive effect on state-
federal relationships of allowing a separate “constitution-
al review” of matters already litigated in a state court.
In Huffman v. Pursue, Ltd., 420 U.S. 592 (1975), this
Court refused to allow a state-court defendant to maintain
an injunction proceeding in federal court following a state-
court judgment against him, since to do so would cast “a
direct aspersion on the capabilities and good faith of [the]
state ... courts.” 420 U.S. at 709 (decided on abstention
grounds).
Fourth and finali; , etitioner has not presented any
convincing policy reasons why an exception to traditional
preclusion concepts—and to 28 U.S.C. 4 1738—is required
under the circumstances of this case. The essence of pe-
titioner’s argument here is that since she is asserting fed-
eral claims, she cannot be denied her day in a federal
court. (Br. Pet. at 23-26). This argument was categor-
28
ically rejected, however, in Allen v. McCurry, 449 U.S.
90 (1980):
The actual basis of the Court of Appeals’ holding
appears to be a generally framed principle that ev-
ery person asserting a federal right is entitled to one
unencumbered opportunity to litigate that right in a
federal district court, regardless of the legal posture
in which the federal claim arises. But the authority
for this principle is difficult to discern. It cannot lie
in the Constitution, which makes no such guarantee,
but leaves the scope of the jurisdiction of the federal
district courts to the wisdom of Congress. And no
such authority is to be found in § 1983 itself. For
reasons already discussed at length, nothing in the
language or legislative history of 41983 proves any
congressional intent to deny binding effect to a state
court judgment or decision when the state court, act-
ing within its proper jurisdiction, has given the par-
ties a full and fair opportunity to litigate federal
claims, and thereby has shown itself willing and able
to protect federal rights.
449 U.S. at 103-04 (footnotes omitted). Equally uncon-
vineing is petitioner’s claim that to preclude a second ac-
tion in federal court is to “make a federal forum unavail-
able to the petitioner.” (Br. Pet. at 25). Clearly, a federal
forum was available to the petitioner in this case, as she
herself concedes (see Br. Pet. at 25). Petitioner elected
a different forum, however, and cannot now be heard to
complain that the federal courthouse doors are closed to
her. In this respect, petitioner is like the appellant in
Spence v. Latting, 512 F.2d 93 (10th Cir. 1975), whose
arguments were rejected by the Tenth Circuit with the
following comments:
Spence argues that the total effect of res judicata,
together with the Pullman abstention is to
29
rights. He says that he is barred from bringing his
federal and state claims in a federal forum by the
abstention doctrine and that, after final judgment in
state court, he is barred from the federal forum by
res judicata. It may be that if this suit had been
initially filed in the federal court, that court would, in
its wise discretion, have remitted Spence to the ap-
propriate administrative body for a post-termination
hearing. A full and fair hearing there might very
well have obviated or conditioned the adjudication
of the federal question. .. . We do not reach this
question, because Spence chose the state forum, which
as we have seen, has jurisdiction to redress all his
claims, federal and state. The federal court house
doors were initially open to him; but he deliberately
chose the state forum.
512 F.2d at 99 (emphasis added) (footnotes omitted).
Indeed, if there are any policy considerations which
are worthy of this Court’s attention in this case, they are
considerations which militate against the position advo-
cated by petitioner. In 1981 alone, over 30,000 civil rights
actions were filed in the federal district courts of the
United States. See Patsy v. Board of Regents, — U.S.
—, 102 S.Ct. 2557, 2577 (1982) (Powell, J., dissenting).
If petitioner’s view is adopted, the problems created by
this burgeoning Section 1983 caseload would only be ex-
acerbated. Every individual who believed that his con-
stitutional rights had been violated would be entitled to
a separate federal review of his claims, even though he
had previously engaged the same defendants in litigation
in a state court. Clearly, the creation of a right to such
a separate review, as a matter of federal law, will do
nothing to alleviate the overwhelming burdens which now
weigh on the federal courts, or to improve the quality of
justice which those courts are able to provide.
30
The position advocated by petitioner is also bad pol-
icy for a more fundamental reason—namely, that it con-
travenes the very important policies of finality, repose,
and fairness to defendants which have been embodied in
the doctrine of res judicata since the very origins of the
English common law. The doctrine is, like the doctrine of
stare decisis, a cornerstone of the Anglo-American juris-
prudential system. See Shoemaker v. City of Cincinnati,
68 Ohio St. 603, 612, 68 N. E. 1, 2 (1903). See also Jeter
v. Hewitt, 63 U.S. (22 How.) 352, 363-64 (1859). In the
case at bar, it is clear that this fundamental policy of the
law will be frustrated by the interpretation sought by
petitioner. Petitioner has had her day in court, and that
day should have resolved all questions between the parties
relating to the nonrenewal of petitioner’s employment con-
tract with the Warren City Schools. Any other conclu-
sion would impair the ability of our courts to perform the
very social function for which they were created—that is,
to resolve disputes. See Currie, supra, 45 U. Chi. L. Rev.
at 325.
In conclusion, it is important to recognize also that
the view of the petitioner on claim preclusion is bad pub-
lic policy because it encourages the state courts to abdi-
cate their responsibility to hear and determine questions
of federal constitutional law. Under the Supremacy
Clause (U. S. Const., art. VI, cl. 2), federal law is indeed
the “law of the land,” and the burden of applying and en-
forcing this law has always been recognized as an obliga-
tion of the state, as well as the federal, courts:
Upon the State courts, equally with the courts of
Oo ee Sa eee ae ae
protect every right granted or secured by the consti-
31
tution of the United States and the Jaws made in pur-
suance thereof, whenever those rights are involved in
any suit or proceeding before them... .
Robb v. Connolly, 111 U.S. 624, 637 (1884). This obliga-
tion of the state courts to shoulder part of the responsi-
bility for enforcing federal rights is not merely a func-
tion of the Supremacy Clause. It is also highly desirable
as a matter of sound judicial administration. The federal
courts, even in applying federal law, must often look to
the state courts to supply necessary interpretations of
state law. For example, in this very case, the federal
district court would be required to look to Ohio law to
determine whether petitioner had a “property interest”
in continued employment which was protected by the Due
Process Clause (Fed. Compl. at $24; J. A. at 9). See
Perry v. Sindermann, 408 U.S. 593 (1972). Thus, having
the state courts adjudicate a p'laintiff’s federal ciaims, as
well as his state claims, is often a more sensible and effi-
cient utilization of judicial resources than the separate
federal review envisioned by petitioner.
In light of the above, it is apparent that petitioner has
not advanced any legal or policy considerations which
would justify an exception to the full faith and credit
statute (28 U.S. C. § 1738) or the creation of a new “double
standard” of preclusion—that is, a standard which recog-
nizes collateral estoppel, but ignores the equally impor-
tant concept of claim preclusion. Respondents therefore
respectfully submit that the judgment entered by the trial
court herein was eminently sound and reasonable, was
wisely affirmed by the Sixth Cireuit, and should again be
affirmed here.
32
III. Petitioner’s claims for injury to her reputation
and resultant impairment of liberty interests are
barred by Ohio’s one-year statute of limitations
on defamation actions and actions for intentional
torts.
In this case, the district court granted summary judg-
ment against petitioner because, inter alia, her “liberty
interest” claims were barred by Ohio’s one-year statute of
limitations on defamation actions (Pet. Cert. at C 30-31).
Although petitioner’s “Questions Presented” do not ac-
tually present this issue for review, petitioner neverthe-
less argues this matter in the text of her brief (Pet. Br.
at 18-23). Therefore, respondents feel compelled to dem-
onstrate here the correctness of the trial court’s ruling on
this question.
One basis for petitioner’s federal action involves what
is in essence a common law tort claim for imposition of
a “stigma” upon petitioner “thereby depriving her of the
liberty interest in her reputation” and causing her to suf-
fer “mental distress, humiliation, embarrassment and
defamation of her character and reputation.” (Fed. Compl.
at 97 24, 25; J. A. at 9, 10). These claims are based on
certain alleged acts of respondents leading up to the vote
of the Board of Education to nonrenew petitioner’s con-
tract on April 24, 1979 (Fed. Compl. at 716; J. A. at 7).
Because these various claims are most closely analogous
to the common law claims of defamaiion and intentional
tort, they are barred by the one-year statute of limita-
tions applicable to such torts in Ohio, Revised Code Sec-
tion 2305.11.
It is now well-settled that because 42 U.S.C. § 1983
does not in itself contain a statute of limitations, a “fed-
33
eral district court must apply the statute of limitations
of the state where it sits which would be applicable in the
most closely anziogous state action to determine the time
within which the cause of action must be commenced.”
Mason v. Owen-Illinois, Inc., 517 F. 2d 520, 521 (6th Cir.
1975) ; accord, Kilgore v. City of Mansfield, 679 F. 2d 632
(6th Cir. 1982) (Ohio’s one-year statute of limitations ap-
plies in § 1983 action sounding in intentional tort). See
a'so Johnson v. Railway Express Agency, 421 U.S. 454
(1975) (applying state statute of limitations to a civil
rights action arising under the provisions of 42 U.S.C.
§ 1981).
The procedure for assessing the similarity of the vari-
ous state law torts to the federal claim presented requires
an analysis of three factors: “(1) the defendant’s con-
duct, (2) the plaintiff’s injury, and (3) the relief re-
quested.” Myers v. Pennypack Woods Home Ownership
Assn., 559 F. 2d 894, 901 (3rd Cir. 1977). Applying these
three factors to the present case, the petitioner has al-
leged (1) that the respondents’ conduct amounted to the
defaming of her name and reputation by maliciously
spreading untruths concerning her job performance as
an Elementary Supervisor, which (2) culminated in the
respondents’ vote of nonrenewal and “mental distress,
humiliation, embarrassment and defamation of character”
for which petitioner (3) seeks compensatory damages of
$250,000.00 and punitive damages of $250,000.00 against
respondents.
From this review of petitioner's claims, it is evident
that her aciion is most analogous to the interests protected |
by the tort of slander and libel which, under Ohio law, is
34
sub‘ect to a one-year statute of limitations. Section
2305.11 of the Ohio Revised Code reads in pertinent part
as follows:
An action for libel, slander, assault, battery, ma-
licious persecution, false imprisonment, or malprac-
tice, including an action for malpractice against a
physician, podiatrist, or a hospital, or upon a stat-
ute for a penalty or forfeiture, shall be brought with-
in one year after the cause thereof accrued... . (Em-
phasis added.)
This one-year statute of limitations on defamation ac-
tions bars the claims of petitioner described above. This
action was not filed until July 10, 1980. The alleged
defamatory acts of the respondents, however, took place
some time prior to April 24, 1979—the date upon which
petitioner’s limited contract was nonrenewed. Therefore,
petitioner has not alleged any defamatory actions of re-
spondent within the one-year period of limitation for ac-
tions of that type.
For purposes of the present case, it is important to
recognize that under Ohio law, a cause of action accrues
when the wrongful act complained of is committed, and
not when the date of damage is discovered or reasonably
should have been discovered. Wyler v. Tripi, 25 Ohio St.
2d 164, 267 N. E. 2d 419 (1971). In Pearl v. Koch, 5 Ohio
Dec. 5 (1894), the common pleas court held that the stat-
ute of limitations for libel or slander commences to run
from the time the alleged slanderous words were spoken,
and not from the time plaintiff had knowledge that they
were spoken. Thus, a slander and libel action would be
barred where the facts showed that the alleged defamation
took place in 1962 and the counterclaim asserting a cause
35
of action was filed in 1966, well beyond the one-year limi-
tations found in Section 2305.11. Starr v. Rupp, 421 F.
2d 999 (6th Cir. 1970).
It is also important to note here that under Ohio law,
an action which is in substance an action for libel or slan-
der is barred by the one-year statute of limitations irre-
spective of how the tort is characterized by the plaintiff.
A. L. Englander Motor Co. v. DeGaetano, 120 Ohio St.
443, 166 N. E. 372 (1929). Further, as here, a plaintiff’s
allegations of injury to reputation and embarrassment and
mental distress are within the scope of a tort action for
libel and slander. Kahn v. Cincinnati Times-Star, 10
Ohio Dee. 599 (1890), aff’d, 52 Ohio St. 662, 44 N. E. 1132
(1895).
The district court’s award of summary judgment to
respondents on petitioner’s defamation claims was correct
as a matter of both Ohio and federal law. The courts of
Ohio have assumed that when the General Assembly enacts
a statute of limitations, it is aware that the statute will
operate without reference to merit and will cut off all
claims after a certain time span. See Wyler v. Tripi,
supra. Therefore, where the plaintiff seeks to bring a
eause of action when the limitation period has expired,
the court must grant defendants’ motion for summary
judgment. Mills v. Whitehouse Trucking, 40 Ohio St. 2d
55, 320 N. E. 2d 668 (1974); Wentz v. Richardson, 165
Ohio St. 558, 138 N. E. 2d 675 (1956). See also Starr v.
Rupp, 421 F. 2d 999 (6th Cir. 1970). And, more specifi-
cally, where the claims in a civil rights action brought in
a federal court are construed to be for libel or slander,
the action is barred if filed after the one-year applicable
state statute of limitations. De Marrais v. Community
36
College of Allegheny County, 407 F. Supp. 79, 80 (W. D.
Penn. 1975) ; aff’d 571 F. 2d 571 (3rd Cir. 1978) ; MacMur-
ray v. Board of Trustees, 428 F. Supp. 1171, 1178 (M.D.
Pa. 1977).
For the above reasons, respondents urge this Court
to affirm the decisions of the trial court and the Sixth
Circuit holding that the “liberty interest” claims of peti-
tioner sounding in tort for defamation of character are
barred by the statute of limitations.
fy.
“
CONCLUSION
In light of the foregoing, it is clear that:
1.
The full faith and credit statute (28 U.S.C. § 1738)
required the District Court for the Northern Dis-
trict of Ohio to bar petitioner’s action, since the
courts of Ohio would have barred the action as
arising out of the same transaction, occurrence,
or series of transactions and occurrences as her
first state-court action.
There is nothing in the legislative history or prior
decisions of this Court, or in any underlying pol-
icy considerations, which would support the view
that although issue preclusion principles apply
in Section 1983 actions, claim preclusion prin-
ciples do not.
Petitioner’s claims for injury to her reputation,
and the resultant impairment of her “liberty in-
terests,” are barred by Ohio’s one-year statute of
37
limitations on defamation actions and actions for
intentional torts.
Wherefore, respondents Warren City School District
Board of Education and individual respondents Catherine
O. Swan, Henry J. Angelo, Willard T. Rubin, Raymond
Tesner, Mary Milheim, and Barbara Miller urge this Court
to affirm the decisions of trial court and of the Court of
Appeals for the Sixth Circuit in each and every particular.
Respectfully submitted,
JaMes L. MESSENGER
Henverson, Covincton, STEIN,
Doncuess & MESSENGER
600 Wick Building
Youngstown, Ohio 44503
Telephone (216) 744-1148
Counsel for Warren City School
District Board of Education
Joun C. BuRKHOLDER
(Counsel of Record)
Nicno.ias A. Prrrner
Kimpaui H. Carey
Means, Bicnimer, BuRKHOLDER
& Baxer Co., L.P.A.
14th Floor
42 East Gay Street
Columbus, Ohio 43215
Telephone (614) 221-3135
Counsel for Individual Respondents
Swan, Angelo, Rubin, Tesner,
Milheim, and Miler
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.