Petition — Agrillo-Ladlad v. United States

Supreme Court brief1982

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroszr Term, 1981

ANA ERIKA AGRILLO LADLAD and

LAWRENCE J. FLEMING,

Petitioners,

vs.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

Rosert J. Wxser,

221 N. LaSalle Street,

Chicago, Illinois 60601,

(312) 782-1983,

Counsel for Petitioners,

Ana Erika Agrillo-Ladlad and

Lawrence J. Fleming.

Keenan Printing Company 312-648-0050 ses

i —Whether naptha or gasoline soaked newspapers

spread on the floor of a building to direct a fire

and lighted by a burning newspaper constitute an

explosive for the purpose of 18 U.S.C. § 844(j)?

ii — Whether the term explosive“ as used in 18 U.S.C.

§ 844(i) should be construed to include common law

arson where a fire is set with the use of an accelerant

and paper ‘‘trailers’’?

iii —Whether the jury instruction defining ‘‘incendiary

device’’ is an accurate statement of law?

iii.

INDEX TO PETITION

Pace

ieee i

r ̃ én . db capes «„. 2

r ¾ . ˙ bl! rn; . 2

, .. m m 2

r „eee 2

ee eee eee 3

Reasons for Granting the Wrint 7

Zee 18

D 5 Gaiddbecanetaneedbeeeos Sumas . Al

Z Bl

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Casns Pace

Bollenbach v. United States, 326 U.S. 607 (1960) ...... 17

Holy Trinity Church v. United States, 143 U.S. 457

FF 13

National Woodwork Manufacturers Association v. Na-

tional Labor Relations Board, 386 U.S. 612 (1967) .. 12

Rewis v. United States, 401 U.S. 808 (1970) ........ 13, 14

United States v. Baranski, 484 F. 2d 556 (7th Cir.

—— dte a schts uboedes Cede ˙ — K éccbbheseses 16

United States v. Bass, 404 U.S. 336 (1971) .......... 14

United States v. Birchfield, 486 F. Supp. 137 (W. D.

EEE „ 8, 9, 15, 17

United States v. Campos-Serrano, 404 U.S. 293 (1971) 14

United States v. Donnelly, 179 F. 2d 227 (7th Cir.

. cbbcdeahs cates cddaedcevcsteéece 17

United States v. Gere, 662 F. 2d 1291 (9th Cir. 1981) .. 8,9

iv.

Statutes Pace

, ̃ I e 3

eee ens 3, 8, 16

e eee 2, 3, 7, 8, 9, 10

F ͥð tree 3, 8, 11

r » .net 2

Rules

Rule 20, Rules of the Supreme Court 2

Legislative Material

eee eee 11

ee no coc cue cedvetscdeedccescesanss 12

, chee bncatneedees sve 12

eee bbb edee eos 12

, cab uasvatayeecs decete 12

1970 U.S. Code Cong. and Adm. News 4011 ....... 10

1970 U.S. Code Cong. and Adm. News 4013-4 ...... 11

1970 U.S. Code Cong. and Adm. News 4047 ....... 11

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser Term, 1981

ANA ERIKA AGRILLO LADLAD and

LAWRENCE J. FLEMING,

Petitioners,

vs.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

Petitioners, Ana Arika Agrillo-Ladlad and Lawrence

J. Fleming, respectfully pray that a writ of certiorari

issue to review the judgment and opinion of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit, entered

in this proceeding on April 14, 1982.

OPINION BELOW |

The opinion of the court of appeals is, as yet, unreported ;

however, it appears as Appendix A hereto.

PARTIES BELOW

The names of all parties to this proceeding in the court

of appeals appear in the caption of the case.

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on

April 14, 1982. This petition for certiorari is timely filed

within 60 days after the entry of judgment in the court

below pursuant to Rule 20 of the Rules of the Supreme

Court. This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254.

STATUTES INVOLVED

18 U.S.C. § 844(i) :

“(i) Whoever maliciously damages or destroys, or

in any activity affecting interstate or foreign com-

merce shall be imprisoned for not more than ten years

or fined not more than $10,000, or both; and if per-

sonal injury results shall be imprisoned for not more

18 U.S.C. § 844()) :

**(j) For the purposes of subsections (d), (e), (f),

(g), (h), and (i) of this section, the term explosive“

means gunpowders, powders used for blasting, all

forms of high explosives, blasting materials, fuses

(other than electric circuit breakers), detonators, and

other detonating agents, smokeless powders, other ex-

plosive or incendiary devices within the meaning of

paragraph (5) of section 232 of this title, and any

chemical compounds, mechanical mixture, or device

that contains any oxidizing and combustible units, or

other ingredients, in such proportions, quantities, or

packing that ignition by fire, by friction, by concus-

sion, by percussion, or by detonation of the compound,

mixture, or device or any part thereof may cause an

explosion.“

18 U.S.C. f 232 (5):

The term explosive or incendiary’ device’ means

(a) dynamite or all other forms of high explosives,

(b) any explosive bomb, grenade, missile, or similar

device, and (e) any incendiary bomb or grenade, fire

bomb, or similar device, including any device which

(i) consists of or includes a breakable container in-

eluding a flammable liquid or compound, and a wick

composed of any material which, when ignited is

capable of igniting such flammable liquid or compound,

and (ii) can be carried or thrown by one individual

acting alone.“

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The judgment below was entered on a verdict of guilty

on both counts of a two count indictment charging the

defendants, Ana Erika Agrillo-Ladlad (hereinafter re-

ferred to as Agrillo-Ladlad’’) and Lawrence J. Fleming

(hereinafter referred to as ‘‘Fleming’’) with violations of

(1) 18 U.S.C. 371 (conspiracy) and (2) 18 U.S.C. § 844(i)

(damaging property by means of an explosive).

4

Agrillo-Ladlad owned United Latino Press (hereinafter

referred to as United Latino“), a commercial printing

company which leased approximately one half of the usable

space on the sixth floor of a seven story building in Chi-

cago, Illinois. On March 22, 1979, there was a fire in the

United Latino space. At that time, Fleming and Jeffrey

Bennett (hereinafter referred to as ‘‘Bennett’’) worked

for Agrillo-Ladlad.

Bennett, a severed co-defendant, testified at trial for the

government and described setting the fire. He said that

a 55 gallon drum of naptha was purchased and delivered

to United Latino on March 21, 1979; that, at about 1:30

a.m. on March 22, he went to the United Latino office and

began placing pieces of newspaper, end to end on the floor

in a line. He said that he made three lines, or “trailers’’,

which he laid out so they could be ignited from one point.

Bennett said that, after laying out the trailers, he poured

naptha on them. He also spilled naptha on himself.

He further testified that, after spreading the naptha,

he began to work on an electronic ignition unit; and that

the unit was designed to work off a timer and electricity,

whereby a flame would be created to pass through the news-

paper and ignite the naptha. He said that the flames would

then spread along the trailers from the starting point.

Bennett testified that, to attach the ignition unit to a

camera timer, he had to splice some wires; that he neg-

lected to bring wire splicers with him; that he decided to

strip the insulation from the wires by burning them. He

testified that he lit a match and began to burn the insula-

tion from the wires; that the match burned too far and

he dropped it on the floor, setting himself on fire. He

testified that nothing else ignited; that he remained in the

office for awhile, attempting to beat out the fire on his

5

legs, whereupon his hands became burned. He said that no

fumes ignited and that he ran out of the office to the

hallway where he extinguished the flames by rolling in a

rug.

He testified that, after extinguishing the five on his legs

and arms, he returned to the United Latino office; that

he ignited a piece of paper and dropped it at the inter-

section of the trailers. He further testified that he walked

out of the office, that he noticed no flames or explosions,

that he closed the door and locked it.

Prior to calling Bennett to testify, the government of-

fered the testimony of an investigator from the Chicago

Police Department bomb and arson unit. The investigator

testified that he was called to the United Latino building

on the morning of March 22 where he observed the flames

and smoke on the sixth and seventh floors; and that, con-

sidering the brown-yellow smoke, the white flame and the

even burn he observed inside the building, he concluded

that a petroleum distillant-based product was used as an

accelerant in the fire. He said that this would result in an

‘*explosive-type”’ fire of rapid oxidation, meaning that the

accelerant ignites simultaneously in a contained area. He

identified certain photographs, which he said reflect that

there was a primary fire, which was low and that there

was a secondary fire which gained more heat after it had

oxygen and then burned more severely near the ceiling or

upper reaches of the space.

An agent from the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Fire-

arms also testified for the government, and defined vari-

ous technical terms and concepts within his expertise. He

defined explosive range” as the range of proper mixture

of fuel to air that has the potential of explosion. He said

that any accelerant that would have a ‘‘flash point” be-

low 100° Fahrenheit would be a flammable liquid and have

a potential for explosion; that the flash point of naptha is

50° Fahrenheit; and that the flash point of gasoline is

—45° Fahrenheit.

The agent explained how naptha or gasoline can be

ignited :

The vapors produced are heavier than air and when

the vapors are produced, they have a tendency to stay

within the immediate area and it’s—actually it’s an

accumulation of vapors that constantly build up and

build up, until they’re—the proper amount of fuel to

air is attained.

If the proper amount—if it's in proportion— the right

proportion of the fuel to air and there is a source

of ignition, there will be an explosion.

a aaa

the simultaneous burning of vapors

. 1

front”, what is that phenomenon?

A. That is the explosive phenomenon. There is

really no difference between an explosive—a rapid

flame and explosive—in high explosives, such as dy-

namite and T.N.T. and what-have-you, the detonating

velocities are measured in the rate of—by the progres-

sion of fire through that material.

Q. And is it measured in the same way with ac-

celerants—in the explosive range?

A. Not in the same way, but it’s the same—same

phenomenon.” (Emphasis supplied).

By way of summary, the agent recognized the distinction

between high explosives, such as dynamite and T.N.T.,

and accelerants which may produce a rapid flame front.

7

The agent testified that, in his opinion, the combination

of the irailers, the chemical accelerant and the source of

ignition constituted an ‘‘incendiary device.’’

On cross-examinalion, the agent testified that, when

Bennett dropped the burning paper on the naptha, two

things could have happened: 1) ignition of burning of the

accelerant or 2) the explosive phenomena—the rapid flame

front would progress from that point. The agent said that,

in his opinion, every rapid burning is ‘‘an explosive phe-

nomena ; that fire is an explosive phenomena at the

lowest possible range and detonation is ‘‘an explosive phe-

nomena” at the highest possible range; that certain chemi-

cals and compounds, such as dynamite and T.N.T., are

explosives, by themselves; and that naptha has an explo-

sive potential only when it is within the flammable limits,

or the mix with air is in the range of 9% to 6.7%. The

agent testified that, in the strictest sense of the word, every

fire is an explosion because any material capable of oxida-

tion can explode. He cited the example of methane gas

being released from grass clippings as being an explosive.

The Decision Below Is In Conflict

With The Decision Of The Ninth

Circuit Court Of Appeals On The Same Matter

The petitioners were convicted of conspiracy to damage

and destroy, by means of an explosive, property used in

an activity affecting interstate commerce. They were also

convicted of the substantive offense under 18 U.S.C.

§ 844(i). The testimony reflects that Bennett laid out

layers of newspapers, connecting the major pieces of shop

equipment to a central ignition point. After the papers

were laid out, Bennett poured naptha on them and began

to assemble an ignition unit. In doing so, he struck a match

and ignited the naptha which had dripped onto his clothing.

After he extinguished his burning clothing, he lit a piece

of newspaper which he dropped on the central ignition

point. The fire spread across the trailers to the different

pieces of machinery, some of which was owned by United

Latino and on which it carried insurance. As noted by

the court below, the question presented is whether naptha

soaked newspapers strategically spread across the floor

of a building for the purpose of directing a fire and ignited

by a newspaper is a explosive or “incendiary device,“

as defined in 18 U.S.C. § 844(j) and 18 U.S.C. § 232(5).

After reviewing the language of Title XI of the Organized

Crime Control Act of 1970, the legislative history of the

Act, the testimony at trial and case law, the court below

held that the naptha soaked newspapers constitute ‘‘an

explosive“.

Similarly, in United States v. Gere, 662 F. 2d 1291, 1295-6

(9th Cir. 1981) (See Appendix B) the court had to deter-

mine whether trailers“, soaked with photo-copy fluid,

constitute ‘‘an explosive’’ within the meaning of 18 U.S.C.

§ 844(j). The Ninth Circuit, relying upon the language

of the Title XI, legislative history and congressional in-

tent, determined that the fluid soaked trailers were not

„explosives

In United States v. Birchfield, 486 F. Su. 137 (W..

Tenn. 1980), the alleged explosive“ consisted of a gasoline

soaked floor on to which the defendant was accused of

throwing a burning piece of paper. The trial court dis-

missed the indictment, finding that the spreading of gaso-

line throughout a building does not create an explosive“

within the meaning of 18 U.S.C. § 844(i).

In conclusion, there is a clear, substantial and direct

conflict between the decision below and that of the Ninth

Circuit in United States v. Gere, 662 F. 2d 1291, 1295-6 (9th

Cir. 1981), and that of the court in United States v. Birch-

field, supra. To resolve this, a Writ of Certiorari should be

issued.

THE DECISION BELOW SANCTIONS THE UNIN.

TENDED AND UNWARRANTED EXTENSION OF

TITLE XI WHEREBY EVERY ARSON INVOLVING

A BUILDING CONTAINING A BUSINESS AFFECT.

ING INTERSTATE COMMERCE WILL CONSTITUTE

AN EXPLOSION.

In United States v. Gere, 662 F. 2d 1291, 1295-6 (9th Cir.

1981), the Ninth Circuit touched upon the impact of an

overly broad interpretation of the word explosive as

used in 18 U.S.C. 844(i). The court characterized the acts of

the defendant in Gere, supra, as arson. This corresponds to

the reasoning of the court in United States v. Birchfield,

486 F. Supp. 137 (N.D. Tenn. 1980), where it was noted

that the use of trailers to spread or direct a fire is common

to arson. Even in the instant matter, there was expert testi-

mony that every fire is an explosion because any material

capable of oxidation can explode. Agent Cousins, testifying

for the government cited the example of methane gas being

released from grass clippings as being an explosive.

In the same vein, an investigator from the Chicago bomb

and arson unit testified that in the instant matter there was

a primary fire, which was low, and then a secondary fire

which gained more heat after it had oxygen. This secondary

fire, after the build up of heat, often causes an explosion

in that windows are blown out.

10

Based upon the above, every enclosed burning—i.e. the

burning of the inside of a building—will, if allowed to reach

a certain temperature, result in an explosion. Therefore,

every arson of a commercial building will be a violation of

18 U.S.C. § 844(i).

This is not the plain meaning of the statute nor was it

the intent of Congress. In 1970 U.S. Code Cong. and Adm.

News, p. 4011, it is stated:

„This title (Title XI), added by the committee,

establishes Federal controls over the interstate and

foreign commerce of explosives and is designed to

assist the States to more effectively regulate the sale,

transfer and other disposition of explosives within

their borders.

In addition to the Federal regulatory scheme, title

XI strengthens the Federal criminal law with respect

to the illegal use, transportation or possession of ex-

plosives. Under this part of the title, the definition of

explosives is broadened to include incendiary devices

such as Molotov cocktails’.’’

The congressional intent in adopting Title XI is stated as

follows:

‘*Bombings and the threat of bombings have become

an ugly, recurrent incident of life in cities and on

campuses throaghout our Nation. The absence of any

effective State or local controls clearly attest to the

urgent need to enact strengthened Federal regulation

of explosives.

* * *

Among other matters, the hearing record discloses

that between January 1, 1969, and April 15, 1970

law enforcement officials reported a total of 4,330

bombings, 1,475 attempted bombings, and 35,129

threatened bombings. The Department of Treasury

11

spokesmen indicated that in this period such bombing

outrages were responsible for the death of 40 persons

and approximately $22 million of property damage.

1970 U.S. Code and Adm. News, p. 4013-4.

Further in the section analysis, and regarding the defini-

tion of explosives as found in Section 844 (j), it is stated:

„Section 844(j) sets forth the definition of ‘explo-

sive’ for the purposes of Section 844(d) through (i).

The use of the se; arate definition is for the purpose

of including incendiary devices within the coverage of

Section 844 (d) through (i), and to make the exceptions

applicable to the regulator: provisions of this chapter

inapplicable to these sections. 1970 U.S. Code Cong.

and Adm. News, 4047. (Emphasis supplied)

The statements of the legislators during the congressional

debates are even more helpful in removing any ambiguity.

On April 23, 1970, Congressman Emanuel Celler, Chairman

of the House Judicary Committee which studied the House

version of Title XI, introduced the legislation into the

House saying:

The bill] is in response to a series of recent bomb-

ing outrages and bomb threats in various parts of the

Nation.’’ 116 Cong. Rec. 12989.

In his statement to the House, Congressman Celler said

that the definition of explosives contained in the bill ex-

pands the definition presently contained in the Federal

Criminal Code to include incendiary bombs, grenades and

similar devices. 116 Cong. Rec. 12990.

On July 21, 1970, Senator Hruska introduced S. B. 4107

which is a predecessor of Title XI. He expressed concern

regarding the rash of bombing incidents across the county

and cited the bombing statistics given above. In explaining

the definition of the word ‘‘explosives’’, Senator Hruska

said:

12

„The criteal definitions are: ‘explosive materials’

which means, briefly any chemical compound the pri-

mary or common purpose of which is to function by

explosion; ...’’ 116 Cong. Rec. 25155.

During the debate on October 6, 1970, Congressman

Kleppe said:

„In conclusion, I want to commend the members of

the House Judiciary Committee for including title XI,

the administration’s proposals to halt the rash of

bombings across the Nation.’’ 116 Cong. Rec. 35207.

The debate continued on October 7, 1970, at which time

Congressman Mayne, a co-sponsor and lead-off witness on

behalf of the House version of title XI, said:

„Title XI of the bill also finally includes the much

needed antibombing provisions requested by the Presi-

dent. I am proud to have been one of the original

sponsors of the antibombing provisions of the Act,

having introduced the original bill to strengthen our

laws concerning illegal use, transportation or posses-

sion of explosives. . . .’’ 116 Cong. Rec. 35300.

Congressman Hogan also spoke on behaif of Title XI;

„One of the most important aspects of the bill is that

dealing with bombing.

Since the middle of 1969 an unprecedented waive of

explosive bombings has occured across the Nation. The

targets of these terroristic acts include almost every

type of public and private institution, but the attacks

have concentrated most heavily on police stations, court

buildings, corporate offices, military facilities, and

college campuses.’’ 116 Cong. Rec. 35305.

In National Woodwork Manufacturers Association v.

National Labor Relations Board, 386 U.S. 612, 640 (1967),

this Court said:

13

„It is the sponsors that we look to when the meaning

of the statutory words is in doubt.’’

In Rewis v. United States, 401 U.S. 808, 811 (1970), the

Court gave great weight to what the legislators did not say:

In addition, we are struck by what Congress did not

say. Given the ease with which citizens of our Nation

are able to travel and the existence of many multi-

state metropolitan areas, substantial amounts of

criminal activity, traditionally subject to state regula-

tion, are patronized by out-of-state customers. In such

a context, Congress would certainly recognize that an

expansive Travel Act would alter sensitive federal-

state relationships, could overextend limted federal

police resources, and might well produce sitvations in

which the geographic orign of customers, a matter of

happenstance, would transform relatively minor state

offenses into federal felonies. It is not for us to weigh

the merits of these factors, but the fact that they are

not even discussed in the legislative history of § 1952

strongly suggests that Congress did not intend that

the Travel Act should apply to criminal activity solely

because that activity is at times patronized by persons

from another State.’’

In Holy Trinity Church v. United States, 143 U.S. 457,

463, this Court said:

„Again, another guide to the meaning of a statute

is found in the evil which it is designed to remedy;

and for this the court properly looks at contem-

poraneous events, the situation as it existed, and as it

was pressed upon the attention of the legislative body.’’

Current events then are relevant, and are especially

important to the resolution of the issue involved here. The

statements of the members of Congress concerning bomb-

ings evidences the mood of Congress. What was not said

14

during the Congressional debates is also important. No-

where is the word ‘‘arson’’ used, and none of the many

statistics cited throughout the debates included the more

common crime of arson.

Probably determinative of the issue is the silence of

Congress when it is recognized that arson has traditionally

been left to the States to prosecute. If it were the intent

of Congress to alter this traditional relationship, certainly

someone would have said something. Yet, there is nothing.

It is universally accepted that ambiguity concerzing the

ambit of criminal statutes should be resolved in favor of

lenity. Rewis v. United States, 401 U.S. 808, 812 (1971);

United States v. Campos-Serrano, 404 U.S. 293, 297 (1971);

United States v. Bass, 404 U.S. 336, 347 (1971). In Bass,

supra, this Court said:

In various ways over the years, we have stated

that ‘when choice has to be made between two readings

of what conduct Congress has made a crime, it is

appropriate, before we choose the harsher alternative,

to require that Congress should have spoken in a

language that is clear and definite.’

Thus, where there is ambiguity in a criminal sta‘ute,

doubts are resolved in favor of the defendant.’’

In analyzing which of two or more interpretations to

attach to an ambiguous statute, the factor of the Federal-

State balance comes into play. In United States v. Bass,

404 U.S. 336, 349, the court discussed this as follows:

There is a second principle supporting today’s re-

sult: Unless Congress conveys its purpose clearly, it

will not be deemed to have significantly changed the

Federal-State balance. Congress has traditionally been

15

reluctant to define as a Federal crime conduct readily

denounced as criminal by the States. This Congres-

sional policy is rooted in the same concepts of American

Federalism that had provided the basis for judge-made

doctrines. [case cited] As this Court emphasized only

last term in Rewis v. United States, 401 U.S. 808

(1970) ], we will not be quick to assume that Congress

has meant to effect a significant change in the sensitive

relation between Federal and State criminal jurisdic-

tion. In traditionally sensitive areas, such as legisla-

tion affecting the Federal balance, the requirement of

clear statement assures that the legislature has in fact

faced, and intended to bring into issue, the critical

matters involved in the judicial decision.’’ Accord:

U.S. v. Birchfield, 486 F. Supp. 137, 138-9 (M.D. Tenn.

1980)

In conclusion, the expansion of the definition of the term

explosive“ to include arson is unwarranted, and wil! re-

sult in an unintended expansion of federal criminal regula-

tion. Because of the magnitude and potential impact of

this issue, this Court should issue a writ of certiorari.

THE JURY INSTRUCTION DEFINING “EXPLOSIVE”

CONTAINED AN INCORRECT STATEMENT OF

LAW.

The jury was instructed as follows:

The term ‘incendiary device’ means any incendiary

bomb or grennade (sic), fire bomb or similar device.

Any article or device composed of a combustible ma-

terial capable of producing sufficient heat to destroy

property of any kind and having components designed

to ignite that combustible material is under the laws

an incendiary device.

16

The term ‘explosive’ means:

(1) an incendiary device; or (2) any chemical com-

pound, mechanical mixture or device that contains any

combustible units or other ingredients in such propor-

tions, quantities or packing that ignition by fire of the

compound mixture or device or any part thereof may

cause an explosion.’’ Government Instruction 38.

The term ‘‘incendiary device, as defined in 18 U.S.C.

§ 232(5), is divided into three categories:

(a) dynamite and high explosives ;

(b) any explosive bomb, grenade, missile or similar

device; and

(c) an incendiary bomb, fire bomb or similar device,

which:

(i) consists of a breakable container, including

a flammable liquid and wick; and

(ii) is portable.

Here, the plain meaning of the words ‘‘incendiary device“

is readily ascertainable. The device may be dynamite or a

high explosive. Naphtha and gasoline spread on trailers

across the floor do not qualify as they are not dynamite

nor explosives, but flammable liquids.

Naphtha or gasoline spread on trailers across the floor

of a room are not bombs, grenades, missiles or similar de-

vices. The clear intent of this provision is to ban portable

explosives. Nor can the government rely upon the general

term ‘‘or similar devices,’’ for under the doctrine of

ejusdem generis, general words following the specific take

their meaning and are limited by the specifics. U.S. v.

Baranski, 484 F. 2d 556, 566 (7th Cir. 1973).

Finally, naphtha or gasoline spread on trailers across the

floor is not an incendiary bomb, fire bomb or similar de-

17

vice which consists of a breakable container and is portable.

There is, then, no reasonable interpretation of the facts

here which justify the presentation of the ‘‘incendiary de-

vice’’ theory to the jury.

Furthermore, the government’s instruction is overly

broad in that it included within the definition anything

composed of a) combustible material and b) a inethod of

ignition. The concept of unity or portability contained in

the statute is totally lacking. In United States v. Birchfield,

486 F. Supp. 137, 139 (M.D. Tenn. 1980), the Court said:

The statute requires the destruction of a building by

means of an incendiary device, a requirement that im-

plicitly contemplates a separation of identity between

the means of destruction (an explosive) and the object

of destruction (a building). For this reason, the gov-

ernment’s theory that Rene’s Furniture Store enjoyed

a sort of dual existence as both ‘‘building’’ and ‘‘ex-

plosive’’ for the purposes of section 844(i) must be

rejected.

This Court, in Bollenbach v. United States, 326 U.S.

607, 613 (1960), said that a conviction ought not to rest

on an equivocal direction to the jury on a basic issue. In

United States v. Donnelly, 179 F. 2d 227, 233 (7th Cir.

1950), the court reversed a conviction because the jury

was given conflicting instructions : one erroneous and preju-

dicial; the other correct.

The definition of incendiary device, which was given to

the jury, was a misstatement of law. Because the jury was

given one incorrect definition of an essential element of

the offense charged, the jury may have returned its verdict

based upon that incorrect definition. This Court should

determine the correct definition of incendiary de-

vice by limiting it to those acts intended by Congress to

be reguiated, and for that purpose a writ should be issued.

18

For these reasons a Writ of Certiorari should issue to

review the judgment and opinion of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

Ronmur J. Wenen,

221 N. LaSalle Street,

Chicago, Illinois 60601,

(312) 782-1985,

Counsel for Petitioners,

Ana Erika Agrillo-Ladlad and

May, 1982

APPENDICES

Al

APPENDIX A

Anited States Court of Appeals

Nos. 80-2822 & 80-2826

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

v.

ANA ERIKA AGRILLO-LADLAD,

and LAWRENCE J. FLEMING,

Defendants-A ppellants.

Argued September 14, 1981 — Decided April 14, 1982

Before Baven, Circuit Judge, Farmcump, Senior Circuit

Judge, Baxsn, District Judge.

Baxer, District Judge. The defendants, Ana Erika

Agrillo-Ladlad and Lawrence J. Fleming, were convicted

under 18 U.S.C. § 371 of conspiracy to damage and destroy,

and attempting to damage and destroy, by means of ap

* Honorable Harold A. Baker, District Judge for the

Central District of Illinois, sitting by designation.

A2

explosive, property used in an activity affecting interstate

commerce. They were also convicted of the substantive

offense under 18 U.S.C. § 844(i). A confederate, Jeffrey

D. Bennett, was also indicted but plead guilty and became

a witness for the government.

On appeal, Agrillo-Ladlad and Fleming contend that

18 U.S.C. § 844(i) is not applicable to the facts of this case

and that the defendants were improperly convicted under

that statute. We affirm.

L

The defendant, Ana Erika Agrillo-Ladlad, owned United

Latino’s Press, (United Latino’s) a commercial printing

company located on the east half of the sixth floor of 213

West Institute Place in Chicago, IIlinois. Agrillo-Ladlad

employed the defendants Fleming and Bennett. Fleming

was the shop manager and Bennett ran the folding machine

spired together to destroy the business and to collect the

proceeds of the fire and casualty insurance covering the

business.

On March 22, 1979, at about 1:30 A.M., Bennett en-

tered the basement at 213 West Institute Place and dis-

connected United Latino’s fire alarm and sprinkler sys-

tem. Bennett then went to the sixth floor and began to lay

out layers of newspapers in rows, or trailers,’ connecting

the major pieces of shop equipment to a central ignition

point. After he had laid out the rows of newspapers,

1. According to an expert witness for the government, a

trailer is a combustible material that is used to spread and

direct fire in a particular pattern Here the naphtha soaked

rows of newspapers constituted trailers.

A3

Bennett poured naphtha on them using a bucket and the

contents of a fifty-five gallon drum of naphtha which had

been purchased and delivered to United Latino’s the day

before. The process of laying out the newspapers and

saturating them with naphtha took about 2½ hours. During

the whole period of time the windows in the United Latino’s

premises were closed and the ambient temperature was

between 55 degrees and 60 degrees Fahrenheit.

Bennett then began to assemble an electronic ignition

unit which, connected with a timing device, would pass a

flame through the newspapers and ignite the naphtha.

He had to strip the insulation from some wires. Since he

did not have wire strippers, Bennett struck a match to

burn off the insulation, whereupon the naphtha that

Bennett had spilled on his clothing caught fire and Ben-

nett ran from the pressroom and extinguished the flames

A4

Inspector Thomas Kerner of the Chicago Bomb and

Arson Squad testified for the government. From his ob-

servation of the United Latino’s premises, Kerner be-

lieved that an accelerant had been spread about the

premises and that vapors from the accelerant had been

contained in the lower portions of the room either by the

heat or humidity of the room, and that the vapors had

been simultaneously ignited in an ‘‘explosive-type fire of

rapid oxidation.’”

Thomas Cousins, an enforcement officer of the Bureau

of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms, Washington, D.C., testi-

fied as an expert witness for the government. Cousins

testified that both naphtha and gasoline are potential ex-

plosives. It was Cousins’ opinion that an uncontained

explosion had occurred at United Latino’s and that the

uncontained explosion had been a simultaneous ignition of

a vapor envelope which formed above the naphtha soaked

trailers. Cousins was of the further opinion either that a

contained explosion caused by ignition of the accelerant

vapor build-up in the office area took place and blew out

the windows, or that the explosion was caused by the

natural phenomenon of heat build-up in an uncontained

flash fire causing a ‘‘flash over’’ which blew out the win-

dows and vented the fire. Under either possibility there

was an explosion.

Cousins explained how over fifty gallons of naphtha

spread over rows of newspapers to all major equipment

at United Latino’s and into the office area would explode

2. Rapid oxidation, according to Kerner, means that the

accelerant ignites almost simultaneously. (Record, vol. 2, at

108). When a liquid accelerant ignites,

Kerner said, it explodes. (Record, vol. 2, at 111-12).

A5

when set on fire. At night the temperature in United Lati-

no’s was between 55 degrees and 60 degrees Fahrenheit.

Cousins explained that just above the flash point“ of

naphtha, which is 50 degrees Fahrenheit, naphtha generates

sufficient vapors which, when mixed with a certain per-

centage of air, form a potentially explosive mixture. ‘‘The

vapors produced,’’ Cousins explained, ‘‘are heavier than

air and when the vapors are produced, they have a tendency

to stay within the immediate area and. . . build up and

build up, until . . the proper amount of fuel to air is

attained.’’ (Record, vol. 7, at 981-82). It was Cousins’ opin-

ion that more than fifty gallons of naphtha would give off

sufficient vapors to form an explosive potential, when

spread along paper trailers to equipment and into the of-

fice area of United Latino’s in a temperature of above 50

degrees Fahrenheit and when combined with the air around

it. Those vapors, when ignited by a flaming newspaper,

could have exploded. After examining photographs of the

damaged United Latino’s, Cousins described the photo-

graphs as depicting the aftermath of an ‘‘explosive phen-

omenon.’’ (Record, vol. 7, at 985).

II.

The question that confronts us is whether naphtha soaked

newspapers strategically spread across the floor of a

building for the purpose of directing a fire and ignited by

a burning newspaper is an explosive“ or ‘‘incendiary

device as defined in 18 U.S.C. § 844(j) and 18 U.S.C.

3. According to Cousins, the flash point is the lowest

temperature at which a flammable liquid forms vapors

which can ignite. The flash point occurs just below the

— (Record, vol. 7,

A6

§ 232(5) for the purpose of prosecution under 18 U.S.C.

§ 844(i).

The government has two theories: first, that the defend-

ants used a chemical compound, mechanical mixture or

device that contains any oxidizing and combustible units,

or other ingredients, in such proportions, quantities, . . .

that ignition by fire . . of the compound, mixture or device

or any part thereof may cause an explosion,’’ 18 U.S.C.

§ 844(j); second, that naphtha soaked newspapers are a

device similar to an ‘‘incendiary bomb.“ 18 U.S.C. § 232

(5)(C). Agrillo-Ladlad and Fleming argue that Congress

did not intend the term ‘‘explosive’’ as used in 18 U.S.C.

§ 844(i) to include devices such as naphtha soaked trailers.

III.

The plain meaning of the language of Title XI of the

Organized Crime Control Act of 1970, the legislative his-

tory of the Act, the testimony at trial of Thomas Cousins,

and the case law all support the government’s position that

naphtha soaked newspapers constitute an explosive under

the terms of the Act. Pub. L. No. 91-452, 84 Stat. 922

(1970). The device used by defendants contained an oxi-

dizing’’ unit, the air in United Latino’s. The device con-

tained a ‘‘combustible’’ unit, the naphtha vapors, tri ers

of newspapers, and a rolled newspaper. The quantities

of the oxidizing unit and combustible unit caused an ‘‘ex-

plosion when Bennett ignited the device by fire.“ The

defendants argue, however, that the spreading of naphtha

on the trailers was not a proportioning, mixing or packing

as those terms are commonly used.

In determining whether Congress intended to exclude

naphtha soaked trailers from the term ‘‘explosives,’’ the

language used in Title XI of the Organized Crime Control

A7

Act of 1970 must be studied. 2A J. Sutherland, Statutes

and Statutory Construction § 45.05, at 16 (4th ed. 1973).

Title XI provides two independent definitions of the term

‘*explosives.’’

Section 844, subsections (d) through (i) of Title XI

created new federal criminal offenses for maliciously using

or attempting to use or threatening to use explosives

ageinst proscribed targets, including commercial proper-

ties. Section 844(j) defines the term explosive for pur-

poses of section 844(i) and other sections dealing with the

malicious use of explosives:

For the purposes of subsections (d), (e), (f), (% ,

(h), and (i) of this section, the term —

means gunpowders, powders used for blasting, all

forms of high explosives, blasting materials, fuses

(other than electric circuit breakers), detonaters, and

other detonating agents, smokeless powders, other ex-

plosive or incendiary devices within the meaning of

paragraph (5) of section 232 of this Title and any

chemical compounds, mechanical mixture, or device

that contains any oxidizing and combustible units, or

other ingredients, in such proportions, quantities, or

packing that ignition by fire, by friction, by concussion,

by percussion, or by detonation of the compound, mix-

ture, or device or any part thereof may cause an

explosion.

18 U.S.C. § 844()).

Section 232(5), which section 844(j) incorporates by

reference further defines the tem explosive or incendiary

device’’ as follows:

The term explosive or incendiary device“ means

(A) dynamite and all other forms of high explosives,

(B) any explosive bomb, grenade, missile, or similar

device, and (C) any incendiary bomb or grenade, fire

A8

bomb, or similar device, including any device which

(i) consists of or includes a breakable container includ-

ing a flammable liquid or compound, and a wick com-

posed of any material which, when ignited, is capable

of igniting such flammable liquid or compound, and

(ii) can be carried or thrown by one individual acting

alone.

18 U.S.C. § 232(5).

Section 841(d) of the Act gives a much narrower defi-

nition of the term ‘‘explosives’’ for the purpose of regu-

lating the traffic of explosives.‘

4. 18 U.S.C. § 841(d) provides:

Except for the purposes of subsections (d), (e), (f),

(g), ch), (i), and (i) of § 844 of this title, explosives“

means any chemical compound mixture, or device, the

primary or common purpose of which is to function

by explosion; the term includes, but is not limited to,

dynamite and other high explosives, black powder,

pellet powder, initiating explosives, detonaters, safety

fuses, squibs, detonating cord, igniter cord, and igni-

ters. The Secretary shall publish and revise at least

annually in the Federal Register a list of these and

any additional explosives which he determines to be

within the coverage of this chapter. For the purposes

of subsections (d), (e), (f), (g), (h), amd (i) of § 844

of this title, the term ‘‘explosive” is defined in sub-

section (j) of such § 844.

Ammonium nitrate and gasoline in a separate state are

not regulated explosives since their common purpose is

not exploding. Hearings on H.R. 16699, H.R. 17154, H.R.

18573 Before Subcomm. No. 5 of the Comm. on the Ju-

diciary, House of Rep., 91st Cong., 2d Sess. at 157 (1970),

(App. to letter from Hollis M. Dole, Ass’t See. of the Int.) ;

accord H.R. Rep. No. 91-1549, 91st Cong., 2d Sess. at 70, re-

printed in [1970] U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 4007, 4041.

A9

When the language of a statute is unambiguous, judi-

cial inquiry ordinarily is at an end. Consumer Product

Safety Comm n v. GTE Sylvania, 447 U.S. 102, 108 (1980).

Despite the seeming clarity of section 844(j), the legisla-

tive history of the Organized Crime Control Act should

be examined to determine whether an extension of federal

involvement is warranted. See United States v. Enmons,

410 U.S. 396, 411 (1973). The hearings held by Subcommit-

tee No. 5 of the House Committee on the Judiciary and the

report of the House of Representatives supports the gov-

ernment’s position that, when used with malicious intent,

petroleum distillates mixed with air at normal ambient

temperatures have an explosive potential and that the

naphtha impregnated device used in this case falls within

the definition of explosives.

Congress provided two separate definitions for the term

explosive “for the purpose of including incendiary devices

within the coverage of section 844(d) through (i), and to

make the exceptions applicable to the regulatory provi-

sions of this chapter inapplicable to these sections.’’ H.R.

Rep. No. 91-1549, 91st Cong. 2d Sess. at 70, reprinted in

[1970] U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 4007, 4047. During

the hearings, members of Congress repeatedly expressed

concern with respect to the difficulty in controlling the

malicious use of common materials such as gasoline, other

flammable liquids, and ammonium nitrate without over-

burdening sportsmen, farmers, and people engaged in

legitimate manufacture, transportation, distribution and

use of such materials. Two bills were considered. One,

Congressman Celler’s bill, H.R. 17154, had a broad defini-

tion of explosive. The other, an administration bill, H.R.

18573, had a narrower definition of explosive. See, e. g.,

Hearings on H.R. 17154, H.R. 16699, H.R. 18573 Before

A10

SubComm. No. 5 of the Comm. on the Judiciary, House of

Nep., 91st Cong. 2d Sess. at 64, 106, 133 (1970).

5. Hearings before Subcomm. No. 5 of the Comm. on the

Judiciary, House of Rep. at 61 (statement of Ass’t Attor-

ney General Will R. Wilson):

Un the composition of some of these things gaso-

line is used, in a Molotov cocktail, and there is another

type of useable device where they take an open con-

tainer of gasoline and put it on a cook stove with the

pilot light. It will furnish enough heat to evaporate

the gasoline and if the room is closed it will finally

develop a combustible mixture in the atmosphere and

the pilot light will ignite it and then the whole room

will explode, so you can leave an open container of

gasoline on a cook stove and make a bomb out of it

that way.

Id. at 64; see also id. at 106 (statement of David Steinberg,

Ex. Dir., Nat 1 Council for a Responsible Firearms Policy,

Inc.).

Statement of Hollis M. Dole, Ass 't Sec. of the Int., com-

paring H.R. 17154 and H.R. 18573 with regard to the defini-

tion of explosives:

H.R. 17154 includes ‘‘any chemical compound... .

that contains . ingredients in such proportions,

quantities or packing that ignition by fire. . . or by

detonation .... may cause an explosion.“ This would

include any highly flammable substance such as gaso-

line, cleaning fluids and many other commercial sol-

vents. It also includes ammonium nitrate which is a

widely-used commercial fertilizer.

H.R. 18573 does not cover ammonium nitrate or

gasoline in a separate state since the common purpose

of these two substances by themselves is not to func-

tion by explosion. When ammonium nitrate and fuel

oil are mixed together, however, they become a very

common explosive known to industry as a blasting

agent,” and are covered by H.R. 18573.

(Footnote continued on following page)

Ali

The bill which emerged from the committee spoke to

these concerns. The bill adopted the language of the ad-

ministration bill in its definition of “explosives’’ for the

regulatory provisions and added certain exclusions. For

the provisions relating to the malicious use of explosives,

the bill adopted the broad definition of the term ‘‘explo-

sives’’ contained in the Celler bill.

In the hearings Congressmen expressed special concern

about the damage to federally owned buildings caused by

arson. In testimony explaining the administration bill,

Assistant Attorney General Will R. Wilson noted that

federal jurisdiction had already entered into the area of

arson: ‘‘Existing law furnishes a basis for Federal in-

vestigative and prosecutive action in certain cases of de-

struction or threats of destruction by arson .... [hJow-

ever, it is inadequate in many important ways.“ Id. at 35;

see also id. at 324.

In addition to the Congressmen’s recognition that Title

XI could apply in instances of arson, the legislative history

indicates that Congress clearly anticipated an overlap

in federal and state jurisdiction. The House Report de-

5. continued

Id. at 157 (emphasis added) (App. A, letter from Hollis M.

Dole [Aug. 19, 19701).

Chairman Celler observed that ‘‘the definition of ‘ex-

plosive’ . . . may create most of our difficulty. We need all

the enlightenment we can get to get a good definition of

explosives.’’ Jd. at 299. With respect to the testimony by

explosive experts, Chairman Celler pointed out that, ‘‘We

had chemical experts testify that ‘explosives’ is a pervasive

term. The testimony was to the effect that an explosive

could be made out of material in this very room. If the

word explosive is so pervasive it could be extremely diffi-

cult to enforce a section proscribing mere possession.” Id.

at 307.

412

scribed the purpose of Title XI as to assist the States

to more effectively regulate the sale, transfer and other

disposition of explosives within their borders.’’ H.R. Rep.

No. 91-1549, ist Cong., 2d Sess. at 36, reprinted in [1970]

U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 4007, 4011. In his statement

explaining the administration bill, Assistant Attorney Gen-

eral Wilson addressed this overlap as follows:

We recognize that the provisions of this bill will,

to a large extent, cover areas presently covered by

State law. We do not intend that the Federal Govern-

ment substitute for the enforcement activities of

State and local authorities in this area. We have,

therefore, included in the bill a provision, subsection

(h), generally similar to present section 837(e), ex-

pressing Congress’ intention that this statute not be

construed as preempting State law or depriving State

or local law enforcement authorities of their respon-

sibilities for investigating and prosecuting crimes in-

volving the use of explosives.

Indeed, it is evident that the Federal investigative

and prosecutive authority contained in this bill must

be used selectively. The provisions of the bill have

of predominantly local concern. It is not intended

that Federal law enforcement authorities should in-

vestigate and prosecute every bomb threat or inci-

dent. Indeed, we do not have the resources to do so.

enable us to achieve maximum

iad

2

Al13

to prosecute the terrorist and I urge your prompt and

favorable action.

Hearings on H.R. 17154, H.R. 16699, H.R. 18573 Before

Subcomm. No. 5 of the Comm. on the Judiciary, House of

Rep., 9ist Cong., 2d Sess. at 34, 38 (1970) (emphasis

added).

6. See also id. at 60-61 (colloquy between Mr. Wilson

and Mr. McCulloch) :

Mr. McCulloch . . . . I hope the story is read that

there is a lack of explosives regulation in at least 32

States of the Union.

Mr. Wilson. . . I might say that practically all the

States have an arson law, so that if a fire results they

can come at it that way. Most of them have some type

of prohibition of malicious explosions.

> * *

Mr. McCulloch . . . . The lack of vigor of some States

. See also id. at 61 (colloquy between Mr. Wilson and Mr.

Rodino) :

Al4

6. continued

refused to enter the investigation saying that it has

no further jurisdiction. City officials disagree.”

I am wondering, first of all, does this bill, H.R. 16699,

cover a situation such as this? If it is true that the

FBI could not have interceded because they lacked

jurisdiction, and the matter couldn’t be resolved on

the Federal level, will the bill that we have before

us counter the situation?

See also id. ai 69 (Representative Poff) :

Mr. Poff: Thank you. Mr. Chairman, I want to

Al5

The legislative history indicates that Congress intended

to define broadly the term “explosive’’ for purposes of

the malicious use of explosives section of the Organized

Crime Control Act; that Congress realized that state and

federal jurisdiction would overlap in certain instances,

such as arson cases; and that simple devices using common

substarces could be used to create an explosive within the

meanin, of the Act. The legislative history supports the

plain me: ring of the language contained in the Act. More-

over, the legislative history supports the proposition that

naphtha soaked newspapers when ignited by fire are an

explosive for purposes of the malicious use provisions of

the Act.

IV.

The Eighth Circuit, the Tenth Circuit and the Eleventh

Cireuit have had occasion in recent decisions to pass upon

the validity of prosecutions under section 844(i). In

United States v. Hepp, 656 F. 2d 350 (8th Cir. 1981), a

random mixture of air and methane gas was held to be an

explosive within the meaning of 18 U.S.C. § 844(j). In

Hepp the defendant and his friends were gathered in the

defendant’s gas station drinking and taking turns shoot-

ing a muzzle loading pistol. The defendant Hepp shot a

hole in the nature gas (methane) meter in the basement

of the station. When one of the drinking party turned the

gas off, Hepp directed that it be turned back on and opened

a window at the top of the stairs leading to the basement.

Hepp then left the filling station on a service call and

during his absence the mixture of methane gas and the

surrounding air was ignited by a spark of unknown origin

resulting in an explosion which destroyed the filling sta-

tion. In rejecting Hepp’s contention that the methane gas

air mixture was not an explosive within the meaning of

Al6

18 U.S.C. § 844(j), the Eighth Circuit relied both on the

uncontroverted opinion of the government’s expert wit-

ness that methane and oxygen are a mechanical mixture

and upon the language of the statute. Jd. at 352-53. The

court also noted that the legislative history of the statute

indicated that the exceptions applicable to the regulatory

provisions of the statute were not applicable to its crimina!

sections.

In United States v. Hewitt, 663 F. 2d 1381 (Iich Cir.

1981), gasoline poured into a closed room through a chim-

ney was held to be an explosive within the meaning of

18 U.S.C. § 844(j). A homemade delayed ignition device

to be an incendiary device within the meaning of 18 U.S.C.

§ 844(j). The court relied for its ruling upon the testimony

of expert witnesses, the plain meaning of the statute, and

cited United States v. Hepp, 656 F. 2d 350 (8th Cir. 1981).

In United States v. Poulos, slip. op. 80-1574 (10th Cir.

Jan. 7, 1982), the court held a mixture of gasoline and

air was an explosive within the meaning of 18 U.S.C.

gasoline. He entered the premises to be destroyed and

put one bottle down in the center of the room and began

pouring the contents of the other bottle around a small

back room of the two room office. Just as he had almost

emptied the contents of the bottle of gasoline the fumes

were ignited by the pilot light of a water heater and, as

the government witness said, “it went whoom.’’ The wit-

ness also testified that he had brought along a fuse de-

a cigarette

vice that he intended to use in conjunction with

Al7

to ignite the fumes after the witness had left the premises.

In determining that gasoline mixed with air was an ex-

plosive, the court relied upon the plain meaning of the

statute. Id. at 5-6.

The Ninth Circuit, however, in United States v. Gere,

662 F.2d 1291 (9th Cir. 1981), reversed the conviction

of a defendant convicted under 18 U.S.C. §844(i) in

connection with the arson of the building which housed

the defendant’s business. The fire was set by the use of

trailers soaked with photocopier fluid leading from inside

the building to an ignition point outside. The trailers, the

court found, were, in effect, fuses running from the point

of ignition into the warehouse. In Gere it does not appear

that the trailers played any part in saturating the air

within the warehouse building with an explosive substance,

nor does there appear to have been any expert witness

testimony that there was an explosion in connection with

the burning. Moreover, the opinion does not discuss the

legislative history of 18 U.S.C. § 844(i), (j). Instead, the

decision relies on the cross-reference in section 844(j) to

18 U.S.C. § 232(5) and holds that federal jurisdiction

should not be broadened to reach arson cases such as Gere.

In United States v. Birchfield, 486 F.Supp. 137 (N.D.

Tenn. 1980), the district court held that 18 U.S.C. § 844(i)

did not apply to a case in which a flaming piece of paper

was thrown into a building which had been soaked with

gasoline. The district court advanced four reasons for its

decision: first, the case presented a common situation of

arson; second, the legislative history of section 844(i) in

no way indicated any Congressional intent to extend fed-

eral jurisdiction over arson cases; and third, principles

of statutory construction require that criminal statutes

be strictly construed. In light of our discussion of the

legislative history of 18 U.S.C. § 844(i), (j) and the plain

Al8

meaning of the statutory language none of these reasons

in Birchfield is persuasive.

The fourth reason advanced in Birchfield was that the

Michigan Court of Appeals has held under a similar

Michigan statute that gasoline was not an explosive. This

fourth reason also is not persuasive. The Michigan case

relied on, People v. Robinson, 37 Mich. App. 15, 194 N.W.

2d 436, aff’d, 387 Mich. 770 (1971), is easily distinguished.

The Michigan Court of Appeals was interpreting a

Michigan penal statute which did not define ‘‘explosives.”

The Michigan Court looked to the State’s Motor Vehicle

Code which defined the term ‘‘explosives’’ to mean ‘‘any

chemical compound or mechanical mixture that is com-

monly used or intended for the purpose of producing an

explosion. . Id. at 18; 194 N. W. 2d at 437 (emphasis

added). Robinson relied upon the commonly used or in-

tended requirement to hold that gasoline was not an

explosive.’

V.

The defendants argue also that the trial court erred in

permitting the jurors to consider whether the naphtha

soaked newspapers used in this case were an incendiary

device. The defendants contend that because the trial court

gave the jurors an instruction based upon an erroneous

theory, there must be a reversal. United States v. Donnelly,

179 F. 2d 227, 233 (7th Cir. 1950).

Under section 232(5), which section 844(j) incorporates

by reference, an incendiary device is “any incendiary

7. The restrictive language defining “explosives’’ in the

Michigan Motor Vehicle Code is similar to the language

defining ‘‘explosives” in the regulatory provisions of the

federal legislation. See supra, note 4.

Al9

bomb or grenade, fire bomb, or similar device.” 18 U.S.C.

§ 232(5). The defendants and the government disagree as

to whether similar device” includes the naphtha soaked

newspapers employed by Bennett. In this case the legis-

lative history and the expert testimony illuminate the

reach of section 232(5). First, there need only be a po-

tential for explosion. And second, Congress understood

the term bomb'' to cover a wide range of explosives. As

previously noted, there was testimony before the House

Judiciary Subcommittee that considered the legislation

that Congress understood the terms “‘bomb’’ and „in-

eendiary device“ to cover a wide range of explosives.

In this case the witness Thomas Cousins, while testify-

ing as an expert for the government, described the charac-

teristics of an incendiary device as a group of components

designed to spread and direct fire, with a source of igni-

tion and no industrial application. (Record, vol. 7, at

988-89). Cousins concluded that the system of naphtha

soaked newspaper directing fire to equipment in combina-

tion with the flaming newspaper used for igniting the

system constituted an incendiary device.

The trial judge correctly submitted the theory of in-

cendiary device to the jurors.

Based upon the circumstances of this case, the plein

meaning of the statute and its legislative history, and the

expert testimony offered at trial the defendants were

properly convicted under the provisions of 18 U.S.C.

§ 844(i) and the judgment of the district court is affirmed.

A true Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

Bl

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES of America,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

V.

Harold GERE, Defendant-Appellant.

No. 80-1771.

United States Court of Appeals,

Ninth Cireuit.

Argued and Submitted Sept. 10, 1981.

Decided Nov. 13, 1981.

Before WRIGHT and WALLACE, Circuit Judges and

CARROLL, District Judge.*

EUGENE A. WRIGHT, Circuit Judge:

The appellant was convicted by a jury of two counts of

mail fraud and one count of violation of 18 U.S.C. § 844(i),

all in connection with the arson of the building housing

his two businesses. On appeal, he alleges error in admis-

sion of coconspirator hearsay, in failure to give a requested

immune witness instruction, in failure to give sua sponte

an accomplice instruction and in application of § 844(i) to

what was simply arson.

L

Gere’s building was a warehouse containing offices and

storage space. It housed his retail and wholesale office

and photocopier supply businesses.

* Of the District of Arizona.

B2

The building and its contents burned on May 12, 1979.

Firemen and investigators determined from marks on the

floor, burn patterns in wood and other materials, and the

loci of the fires within the warehouse that the fire had been

„set for delayed ignition from outside the cargo door of

the building with the use of ‘‘trailers’’ of photocopier fluid

and fluid-soaked materials. The “trailers’’ were in effect

fuses running from the point of ignition into the warehouse.

Gere was connected to the fire by circumstantial evidence.

He was the last person in the warehouse before the fire.

His motive was proved by evidence that his retailing

business had been undermined by litigation against him

for unfair telephone sales practices. Testimony relating

out-of-court statements by his general manager, Martin

Whiter, was introduced to prove that Gere wished to get

out of the business. Whiter and others testified to off-

record cash sales of inventory by Gere and Whiter at

discount prices. Whiter’s out-of-court-statements were

again used to explain that Gere’s intent was to take cash

from the business without showing a decrease in inventory.

The ‘‘paper’’ inventory’s destruction would result in a

second payment with insurance proceeds.

Before the fire, Gere arranged a loan secured by inven-

tory. At about that time, an endorsement was added to the

fire insurance policy providing for repayment to the bank

in the event of destruction of the secured inventory. Junk“

inventory stored at another location was moved into the

Morris Singer, an acquaintance in the fire reconstruction

business, testified to a conversation with Gere at a club

they frequented, where Gere asked if he ‘‘knew of some-

one who could make a fire.“ Though Gere argues that this

was only casual conversation, Singer approached at least

B3

one person about the possibility of setting the fire.

After the fire, Gere made a request by mail for an

advance against his claims under his fire insurance policy.

In another mailing he swore that he did not cause the loss.

Gere and Whiter were indicted on four counts: (1) con-

spiracy to commit mail fraud and violate § 844(i), (2) mail

fraud based upon the requested advance, (3) mail fraud

based upon the sworn proof of loss, and (4) violation of

§ 844(i) by use of an ‘‘explosive’’ to destroy the building,

resulting in the death of one fireman and the injury of 24

others.

At the close of the evidence, Whiter’s motion for ac-

quittal on all counts was granted. The conspiracy count

was dismissed as to both defendants. The jury returned a

verdict against Gere on the remaining counts.

II.

A. Coconspirator Hearsay

Whiter’s out-of-court statements were allowed before the

jury under the coconspirator hearsay exception. Preceding

the testimony, the court cautioned the jury that it was ad-

mitted subject to the finding of a conspiracy between Whiter

and Gere. The jurors were instructed to “compartmental-

ize’’ the testimony they were to hear and not consider it

until they were convinced beyond a reasonable doubt that

there was a conspiracy. Concurrently, the judge instructed

that the conspiracy had not yet been proved.

Before closing arguments, the court told the jury that

sufficient evidence had not been presented from which it

could find beyond a reasonable doubt that there was a

conspiracy between Whiter and Gere. It then dismissed the

first count of the indictment. The court made no specific

B4

reference to the effect of this finding on the testimony

previously heard. Defense counsel did not object, or refer

in closing argument to the effect of the court’s no-conspir-

acy finding upon testimony previously presented.

Because timely objection was not made, the plain error“

standard of review is to be applied. Fed.R.Crim.P. 30;

United States v. Krasn, 614 F. 2d 1229, 1235 (9th Cir. 1980).

We are to decide whether it is plain error not to give a

final connecting up“ instruction regarding the effect of a

no-conspiracy finding upon hearsay testimony conditionally

admitted under the coconspirator exception to the hearsay

rule.

The appellant argues that before hearsay declarations

go before the jury, the judge is required to make a determ-

ination on the record whether the government has suffi-

ciently proved conspiracy and to rule on the ultimate ad-

missibility of the testimony. Because of failure to do so,

the jury was allowed to consider hearsay testimony.

Where hearsay testimony is conditionally introduced, we

have required that the trial judge make the ultimate de-

termination of whether a foundation has been established.

United States v. Eubanks, 591 F. 2d 513 (9th Cir. 1979);

United States v. Weiner, 578 F. 2d 757 (9th Cir.), cert.

denied, 439 U.S. 981, 99 S. Ct. 568, 58 L. Ed. 2d 651 (1978).

Before the testimony will be allowed to go to the jury, the

prosecution must show that (1) the declaration was in fur-

therance of the conspiracy, (2) it was made during the

pendency of the conspiracy, and (3) there is independent

proof of the existence of the conspiracy and of the connec-

tion of the declarant and the defendant to it. Weiner, 578

F. 2d at 768.

The quantum of independent proof required for the third

element of the foundation requirement is ‘‘sufficient, sub-

B5

stantial evidence to establish a prima facie case.’’ Weiner,

578 F. 2d at 768. We have recently emphasized the im-

portance of the first element in United States v. Fielding,

645 F. 2d 719 (9th Cir. 1981), holding that mere descriptions

of the conspiracy to a nonconspirator are not ‘‘in further-

ance of’’ the conspiracy.

[1] The trial judge may make a preliminary deter-

mination of admissibility or may admit the testimony

conditionally, subject to ‘‘connecting up’’ with the founda-

tion to be eventually laid by the prosecution. United

States v. Zemek, 634 F. 2d 1159, 1169 (9th Cir. 1980), cert

denied, 450 U.S. 916, 101 S. Ct. 1359, 67 L. Ed. 2d 341

(1981) and —— U.S. , 101 S. Ct. 1525, 67 L. Ed. 2d

821 (1981).

When there has been sufficient evidence to sustain a

finding of conspiracy, we have held that giving an instruc-

tion like that given here not reversible error. We have

called such an instruction ‘‘unduly generous.’’ United

States v. Miranda-Uriarte, 649 F. 2d 1345, 1351 n. 4, 1353

(9th Cir. 1981); United States v. Lutz, 621 F. 2d 940, 946

n. 2 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 859, 101 S. Ct. 160, 66

L. Ed. 2d 75 (1980) and 449 U.S. 1093, 101 S. Ct. 890, 66

L. Ed. 2d (1980); United States v. Testa, 548 F. 2d

847, 853 n. 3 (9th Cir. 1977).

It is generous when the judge finds sufficient evidence

to take the conspiracy count to the jury. Though there is

enough evidence to permit the admission of the coconspira-

tor hearsay, the judge thereby imposes the further require-

ment that the jury find conspiracy beyond a reasonable

doubt before considering the hearsay testimony. In this

cireumstance, whether the jury performs this mental gym-

nastic is of little consequence, since the coconspirator hear-

say is properly admitted anyway.

B6

But, when the instruction is given preliminary to the

conditional admission of the testimony, and no more is said

except that the judge finds no conspiracy, whether the jury

then strikes the testimony from its consideration is crucial.

The danger of its not doing so is that it may consider in-

admissible hearsay.

[2] In this situation (where conspiracy has been

charged, testimony conditionally admitted with an instruc-

tion that the jury is not to consider it until conspiracy is

found beyond a reasonable doubt, and a no-conspiracy find-

ing is later made and the count dismissed) we believe

greater caution should be used to assure that the jury ade-

quately connects up the no-conspiracy finding with the

previously admitted testimony. The jury should be in-

structed to ignore the specific items of testimony condi-

tionally admitted.“

1. Our analysis is consistent with the Federal Rules of

Evidence.

Though we have not explicitly said so, the prelimi-

nary determination of ad'nissibility is for the judge

under Rule 104(a). Rule 104(a) codifies the law of this

circuit that has existed since before the Rules’ promul-

— See Carbo v. United States, 314 F. 2d 718,

735-38 (9th Cir. 1963).

The trial judge fulfills his Rule 104(a) responsibility

when he allows a conspiracy count to go to the jury,

even though he may not explicitly find on the record

that the foundation requirement has been fulfilled or

instruct the jury that it may consider the coconspirator

hearsay statements. It is within the judge’s discre-

tion not to make such statements because of their

potential for prejudice. When the judge finds, ex-

(Footnote continued on following page)

B7

[3] The question here, however, is whether the trial

judge’s failure to so instruct constituted plain error. We

hold that it did not.

1. Continued

plicitly or implicitly, that the foundation has been laid,

the defendant cannot complain if he then imposes the

further requirement that the jury consider the cocon-

spirator hearsay statements only if it finds conspiracy

beyond a reasonable doubt. See, e. g., United States v.

Miranda-Uriarte, supra.

The judge fulfills his Rule 104(a) responsibility

when he makes an explicit finding that the govern-

ment has not introduced evidence sufficient to lay the

foundation for admissibility or when he instructs the

jury not to consider the coconspirator statements.

See generally Marcus, Co-Conspirator Declarations.

The Federal Rules of Evidence and Other Recent De-

velopments. From a Criminal Law Perspective, 7 Am.

J. Crim. L. 287 (1979); Comment, The Impact of Fed-

eral Rule of Evidence 104 on the Conconspirator Ex-

2 to the Hearsay Rule, 28 Emory L. J. 1115

The judge here explicitly found that there has not

been introduced enough evidence for the jury to find

conspiracy beyond a reasonable doubt. If connected

immediately to the instruction given before the prior

conditional admission of coconspirator hearsay state-

ments, this would signal to the jury that it could not

consider those statements to determine Gere’s guilt

on the remaining counts. With this no-conspiracy find-

ing, the judge fulfilled his Rule 104(a) responsibility.

The narrow issue we decide is whether, in addition

to the pre-admission instructions and the

finding and in the absence of objection or request, the

saa, wae suena’ to Cssarthe epecifiealiy the effect

no-conspi: cy finding on the previous testimony.

The conditionally admitted testimony largely described

Gere’s bleeding cash from the business, suggesting an in-

tent to exploit the destruction of the inventory by present-

ing a false picture of its amount. But, this was not the

only evidence of the cash sales nor was it the only evidence

suggesting Gere was responsible for the arson. On these

facts the district judge did not commit plain error.

B. Immune Witness Instruction

Gere argues that Morris Singer thought he was testify-

ing under immunity from prosecution and that the court

should have given a requested immunized witness instruc-

tion.

The court entertained a proposed immune witness in-

struction. It declined to give that, but promised to give its

substance. Gere’s counsel argued that the court would

instruct the jury to consider Singer’s testimony as if he

were an immune witness. After instructions were given

and before the jury retired, Gere objected to the instruc

tion given.

[4-6] A trial judge is given substantial latitude in tail-

oring instructions so long as they fairly and adequately

cover the issues presented. The adequacy of the entire

charge is to be reviewed in the context of the whole trial.

Challenges pertaining only to the trial judge’s language

or formulation of the charge are reversible only for abuse

of discretion. United States v. James, 576 F. 2d 223, 226-27

(9th Cir. 1978).

There is doubt Mr. Singer in fact believed he was an

immune witness. He denied in his testimony any explicit

or implicit agreement with the government.

[7] Assuming he did believe he was iminunized, the

question is whether the trial judge abused his discretion in

not giving verbatim the instruction requested by the

defense.

Reviewing the record, we believe the ‘‘substance’’ agreed

upon was that Singer’s testimony should be considered with

caution if he in fact believed he was an immunized witness:

The court expressed doubt that Singer thought he was im-

munized, but agreed to instruct in reference to his testi-

mony. It instructed the jury to view Singer’s testimony

with suspicion if it found Singer believed himself immu-

nized, though it interjected language suggesting Singer

could be equated to other witnesses who said they believed

they would not be prosecuted. Gere argues that this inter-

The instruction might have been better framed, but in

light of the rest of the charge, it was not an abuse of

discretion.

C. Accomplice Instruction

Gere argues that, because Whiter was accused of being

an accomplice and because Singer thought he could be ac-

cused, the court by its own motion should have given an

accomplice instruction in reference to their testimony.

Though it did not give an accomplice instruction, the court

did give one on general credibility.

[8,9] It is settled in this cireuit that where an accom-

plice instruction is not requested, it is not plain error not

to give one sua sponte. DeCarlo v. United States, 422 F.

2d 237, 240-41 (9th Cir. 1970); United States v. Johnson,

416 F. 2d 653, 655 (9th Cir. 1969), cert. denied, 396 U.S.

1019, 90 S. Ct. 588, 24 L. Ed. 2d 511 (1970).

The district court’s failure to give an accomplice instruc-

tion on its own motion was not plain error.

D. Section 844(i)

Section 844(i) provides penalties for destruction of a

building used in interstate commerce ‘‘by means of an ex-

plosive.’’ The penalty is more severe when a person has

been killed or injured.

Explosive is defined in § 844(j) as including, among

other things, explosive and incendiary devices’’ within

the meaning of 18 U.S.C. § 232(5).

According to § 232(5), ‘‘explosive or incendiary device

means

(C) any incendiary bomb or grenade, fire bomb, or

similar device, including any device which (i) consists

of or includes a breakable container including a flam-

mable liquid or compound, and a wick. . . .

Gere argues that § 844(i) was not meant to be a federal

arson statute but instead should be narrowly construed

within the scope of the purpose for which it was formulated.

We agree.

The legislative history of § 844(i) describes congressional

concern with bombings rampant in the 1960’s and 70˙8⁸.

Though there is language suggesting broad jurisdiction, it

relates to buildings in interstate commerce and not to the

manner by which they are destroyed. The cross-reference

to § 232(b), which appears to bring within the section

molotov cocktails and similar devices, should not be read

to broaden the section’s reach as the government proposes.

{10,11} The purpose of the section was to protect build-

ings against the specific evil of bombing. There is no in-

dication that it was meant to overlap state arson law re-

lating to buildings in interstate commerce. Cf. United States

v. Hepp, 656 F. 2d 350 (8th Cir. 1981) (leaking LNG meter

allowed to explode). We reverse Gere’s conviction of a vio-

lation of § 844(i).

Bil

AFFIRMED in part, REVERSED as to the § 844(i)

count and REMANDED for imposition of corrected sen-

tence. The mandate will issue now.

CARROLL, District Judge, dissenting:

I concur in the reversal of Gere’s conviction of violating

18 U.S.C. § 844(i).

I would also reverse the mail fraud counts and remand

for a new trial as to those counts. In my view, the totality

of the instruction problems about which Gere complains

affected his substantial rights to a fair and impartial trial.

A significant portion of the government’s case against

Gere involved statements made by the putative co-con-

spirator and conditionally admitted pending establishment

of the conspiracy. Gere moved for a mistrial when the con-

spiracy count was dismissed. The motion was based on the

nature and extent of the con-conspirator statements heard

by the jury during the four and one-half weeks trial. The

court denied the motion, but agreed to further instruct the

jury to the effect that Gere could not be convicted on the

basis of what the dismissed co-conspirator said or did. The

court did not provide counsel with a copy of the proposed

instruction, nor did it state on the record the full text of any

instruction.

The court failed to give the cautionary instruction in its

charge and trial counsel failed to make an additional re-

quest or objection before the case went to the jury. Under

these circumstances, I would find reversible error. Fed. R.

Crim. P. 52, Ramer v. U.S., 390 F. 2d 564, 580 (9th Cir.

1968). See also U.S. v. Kelinson, 205 F. 2d 600, 601-602

(2nd Cir. 1953).

312

This court’s opinion sets forth the background for Gere’s

second problem with the trial court’s instructions having

to do with the so-called immune-witness instruction. The

trial court had agreed to give the ‘‘substance’’ of an in-

struction requested by Gere but did not advise counsel as

to the text of the court’s proposed revision either before

argument or the giving of the substance“ instruction to

the jury. Again, the problem arises from counsol not hav-

ing an opportunity to object in a meaningful and timely

manner. An appellate court is then left to resolve what the

trial court ‘‘agreed’’ to do, and decide whether the defend-

ant was prejudiced by the instruction as given. The pro-

cedure in this instance would appear in conflict with the

provisions of Fed. R. Crim. P. 30 that The court shall

inform counsel of its proposed action upon the requests

{of counsel] prior to their arguments to the jury .. .”’

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.