Record and brief — Illinois v. Gates

Supreme Court brief1983

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

-wontad

| Office -Supreme Court, U.S.

FILED

AUG 25 1981

THE STATE OF ILLINOIS,

Petitioner,

LANCE GATES anp SUSAN GATES,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF ILLINOIS

TYRONE C. FAHNER,

Attorney General of the State

of Illinois

Metsourne A. Nok, Jr.

Assistant Attorney General

188 West Randolph Street

(Suite 2200)

Chicago, Illinois 60601

J. MicHakt Fitzsimmons Attorneys for Petitioner

State’s Attorney for DuPage County

Tuomas L. KNIGHT

BarBARA A. PREINER

Assistant State’s Attorneys

207 South Reber Street

Wheaton, Illinois 60187

Of Counsel

A

Printed by the Authority of the State of Illinois — 8-25-81

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Whether detailed information provided to police by an

anonymous informer, coupled with government corrobora-

tion of the information, provide probable cause for the is-

suance of a search warrant?

INDEX

PAGE

END N Shoe cucdanvearcinedee sets os i

EE ono 6660s 6-0sveghadedayharest wees l

EE Vent on boeecondsndveweengenaeae vance 2

GD svn a cccncccveessccccese 3

Reasons For Granting the Writ:

Detailed information provided to police by an

anonymous informer, coupled with government

corroboration of the information, established

probable cause for the issuance of a search war-

PER cia codenabessardaveteucevae te tsesves 6

SD 6. 56.405 66 0 OV es ee rddeedeanees césenee 18

Appendix A, Supreme Court Opinion ............ la

Appendix B, Appellate Court Opinion............ lb

AUTHORITIES CITED

CONSTITUTION PAGE

United States Constitution amendment IV ..... 3

CASES

Beck v. Ohio, 379 U.S. 89, 13 L.Ed.2d 142, 85

et, ED. C64 a4 dwhbekennkena i's 7

McCray v. Iliinois, 386 U.S. 300, 18 L.Ed.2d

eee ere 7

United States v. Ventresca, 380 U.S. 102, 13

L.Ed.2d 684, 85 S.Ct. 741(1965)........... 7,17

Jones v. United States, 362 U.S. 257, 4 L.Ed.2d

Ge ee DMEED on cv cecusescéiecce’s 7, 15

Aguilar v. Texas, 378 U.S. 108, 12 L.Ed.2d 723,

TP CUUIIED > bcebabvscaecesoseuse 5, 7, 8,

12, 13,

14, 15

Stanley v. State, 19 Md.App. 507, 313 A.2d 847

EE 5.1.0 5.5.64 ab bee UCL ee th awh aes 8

Spinelli v. United States, 393 U.S. 410, 21

L.Ed.2d 637, 89 S.Ct. 329(1959)........... 8, 9, 10,

11, 12,

13, 14,

16, 17

Draper v. United States, 358 U.S. 307, 3 L.Ed.2d

Bes POs DP CRRUED oc ccs cc cdc ce ces. 9, 10, 11,

12, 14, 17

Whitely v. Warden of Wyoming State Penitentt-

ary, 401 U.S. 560, 28 L.Ed.2d 306, 91 S.Ct.

a RR eres eon em 14, 15

State v. Thorp, 358 A.2d 655 (N.H. 1976)...... 15

United States v. Edmonds, 535 F.2d 714 (2d Cir.

INS S00 We 0 ced Ons Soe R Maen ares Oe és

United States v. Anderson, 500 F.2d 1311 (5th

DI 562 295 cb cea Soe eal. <s

United States v. Foose, 402 F.Supp. 526 (D.C.

ere ere SP errr), Tee

United States v. Hall, 468 F.Supp. 123 (D.C.

RS a ee

15

15

15

15

No.

In the Supreme Court of the Anited States

THE STATE OF ILLINOIS,

Petitioner,

LANCE GATES anp SUSAN GATES,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF ILLINOIS

Petitioner, the State of Illinois, respectfully prays that a

Writ of Certiorari be issued to review the judgment of the

Supreme Court of Illinois.

OPINION BELOW

The Supreme Court of Illinois issued its opinion in this case

on June 26, 1981, and it may be found at 85 IIl.2d 376, ___

N.E.2d ____, ____ Ill. Dec. ____ (1981). The court in its opi-

nion held that the anonymous letter received by police did not

satisfy the two-prong test for probable cause enunciated in

Aguilar v. Texas (1964), 378 U.S. 108, 12 L.Ed.2d 723, 84

S.Ct. 1509. The court found that the “basis of knowledge”

prong was not satisfied since the anonymous letter did not

contain any statement showing that the information was ac-

quired through personal or firsthand knowledge. The court

also found that the letter did not describe the accused's

criminal activity in sufficient detail so as to allow an inference

of personal knowledge of the informant.

In addition, the court found that there was no showing that

the informant was credible, as required by the “veracity”

prong of the Aguzlar test, since the identity of the informant

was not known and the informant failed to admit activities

which were against his penal interest.

The court declined to address the question of whether the

corroboration of the tip by the FBI agent cured the defect in

either prong of the Aguilar test, stating that the corroborating

“evidence” was only of innocent rather than criminal activity.

The court found that such corroboration is insufficient to

support a finding of probable cause. The Appellate Court —

Second District, by order, had previously affirmed the trial

court's order quashing the search warrant and suppressing the

evidence. A copy of the Appellate Court's order, as well as a

copy of the opinion of the Illinois Supreme Court is appended

to this petition.

JURISDICTION OF THE COURT

The opinion of the Illinois Supreme Court affirming the

order of the Appellate Court was rendered on June 26, 1981.

This petition is filed within sixty days of that opinion. The

jurisdiction of the Supreme Court of the United States to hear

this case is invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1257(3), since in the pro-

ceedings in the state courts of Illinois the Respondents have

specifically set up, and throughout asserted, an alleged viola-

tion of their rights arising under the Constitution of the

United States.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

United States Constitution amendment IV.;

The right of the people to be secure in their persons,

houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable searches

and seizures, shall not be violated, and no Warrants shall

issue, but upon probable cause, supported by Oath or affir-

mation, and particularly describing the place to be searched,

and the persons or things to be seized.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On May 3, 1978, the Bloomingdale police department

received by mail an anonymous handwritten letter which

alleged that Susan Gates and Lance Gates, her husband, were

planning to travel to Florida in a few days for the purpose of

obtaining illegal drugs. The letter read:

“This letter is to inform you that you have a couple in

your town who strictly make their living on selling drugs.

They are Sue and Lance Gates, they live on Greenway,

off Bloomingdale Rd. in the condominiums. Most of

their buys are done in Florida where she leaves it to be

loaded up with drugs, then Lance flys [sic] down and

drives it back. Sue flys [stc] back after she drops the car

off in Florida. May 3 she is driving down there again and

Lance will be flying down in a few days to drive it back.

At the time Lance drives the car back he has the trunk

loaded with over $100,000.00 in drugs. Presently they

have over $100,000.00 worth of drugs in their basement.

They brag about the fact they never have to work, and

make their entire living on pushers.

I guarantee [sic] if you watch them carefully you will

make a big catch. They are friends with some big drugs

dealers, who visit their house often.

Lance & Sue Gates

Greenway

in Condominiums.”

The chief of police delivered the letter to Charles Mader, a

detective of the Bloomingdale police department and he re-

quested one of the department's radio operators to seek

assistance from the Secretary of State's office in Springfield in

obtaining a specific address for the Gates. That office advised

than an Illinois driver's license had been issued to a Lance

Gates residing at a stated address in Bloomingdale. Mader

then communicated with a confidential informant who had

provided reliable information to Mader during the previous

two years. Upon examining certain financial records to which

the informant had access, he reported a new address on

Greenway Drive in Bloomingdale for the Lance Gates who

had previously resided at the address in Bloomingdale fur-

nished by the Secretary of State's office.

Upon inquiry, Mader was told by an officer of the Chicago

police department assigned to O'Hare Airport that “L. Gates”

had made a reservation with Eastern Airlines on its flight 245,

which was to depart from O'Hare on May 5, at 4:15 p.m. The

final destination of the flight was West Palm Beach, Florida.

On May 5, Mader was told by William Morely, an agent of

the Drug Enforcement Administration, that “Lance Gates”

had boarded Eastern Airlines flight 245 bound for Florida.

The following day Morely informed Mader that Gates had ar-

rived in West Palm Beach, had proceeded by cab to the West

Palm Beach Holiday Inn, and had entered a room registered

to Susan Gates. Agent Morely told him that he observed Gates

and an unidentified woman leave the room at 7 a.m. and

enter a red vinyl over gray Mercury with 1978 Illinois license

number RS 8437. Records at the Secretary of State's office

showed that the license plate was registered for Lance B.

Gates, but had been issued for a different automobile.

Based on the anonymous letter, the described information

obtained from the law enforcement authorities, and the

verification of the address obtained from the confidential in-

formant, Mader, on May 6, sought and obtained ir che circuit

court of DuPage County, a search warrant for both the Gates’

residence in Bloomingdale and the car they were driving in

Florida.

At 5:15 a.m. on May 7, Lance and Susan Gates returned by

car to their home on Greenway Drive. They were immediately

served with a search warrant by waiting Bloomingdale police

officers. In the trunk of the Mercury the officers found several

large bundles of marijuana weighing a total of approximately

350 pounds. A search of the Gates’ residence uncovered more

marijuana, weapons, ammunition, drug paraphernalia, and

several scales presumably used for weighing the drugs. Police

also ascertained that the couple had cocaine in their posses-

sion. They were indicted for unlawful possession of cannabis

with intent to deliver and unlawful possession of a controlled

substance. Lance Gates was separately indicted for possession

of an unlicensed firearm.

The defendants filed a pretrial motion to quash the search

warrant and to suppress all physical evidence obtained as a

result of the search, arguing that the anonymous letter did not

set forth the underlying circumstances or manner in which

the informant acquired the information or that the informa-

tion was reliable as required under the test for probable cause

described in Aguilar v. Texas (1964), 378 U.S. 108, 12

L.Ed.2d 723, 84 S.Ct. 1509. The defendants also argued that

the separate evidence obtained by Detective Mader in his in-

dependent investigations did not corroborate the anonymous

informant’s accusations that the Gateses were involved in

criminal activity so as to support the issuance of a search war-

rant based on probable cause. The motions to quash and to

suppress evidence were allowed by the circuit court of DuPage

County, and its action was affirmed by the appellate court (82

Ill.App.3d 749).

The People then appealed to the Illinois Supreme Court

which affirmed the Appellate Court on June 26, 1981. No

petition for rehearing was submitted.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

DETAILED INFORMATION PROVIDED TO PO-

LICE BY AN ANONYMOUS INFORMER, COU-

PLED WITH GOVERNMENT CORROBORA-

TION OF THE INFORMATION, ESTABLISHED

PROBABLE CAUSE FOR THE ISSUANCE OF A

SEARCH WARRANT IN THIS CASE. THE EN-

FORCEMENT OF DRUG LAWS IN ILLINOIS

WILL BE THWARTED IF OFFICERS ARE NOT

PERMITTED TO RELY UPON DETAILED IN-

FORMATION PROVIDED THEM BY AN ANON-

YMOUS CIVILIAN INFORMER.

Illinois police officers attempting to stop illegal drug activ-

ity are in large part dependent upon civilian informers, fre-

quently anonymous informers, to provide information for

their investigations. By its ruling below, the Illinois Supreme

Court has drastically narrowed this avenue of information for

investigation. Due to misinterpretation of the case law pro-

nounced by this Court, the Illinois Supreme Court has severe-

ly restricted the use of anonymous informers’ revelations to

obtain search warrants for the enforcement of drug laws.

The standard for probable cause in assessing a complaint

for a search warrant is a probability of the existence of crimi-

nal activity and not a prima facie showing, of actual criminal

activity. Beck v. Ohio, 379 U.S. 89, 96, 13 L.Ed.2d 142, 147,

85 S.Ct. 223 (1964). Affidavits relating to probable cause are

to be tested by a considerably less rigorous standards than

those governing the admissibility of evidence at trial. McCray

v. Illinois, 386 U.S. 300, 311, 18 L.Ed.2d 62, 70, 87 S.Ct.

1056 (1967). In analyzing probable cause, issuing magistrates

are neither to be confined by insubstantial limitations nor by

restrictions on the use of their common sense. United States v.

Ventresca, 380 U.S. 102 at 108, 13 L.Ed.2d 684 at 688, 85

S.Ct. 741 (1965). In cases of this type determination of prob-

able cause by issuing magistrates shall be paid great deference

by courts of review. Jones v. United States, 362 U.S. 257, at

270-271, 4 L.Ed.2d 697 at 707-709, 806 S.Ct. 725, 78 ALR 2d

233 (1960).

The recognized test applied to complaints for search war-

rants based on hearsay information is the “two-pronged” test

as set out in Aguilar v. Texas, 378 U.S. 108 at 114, 12

L.Ed.2d 723 at 729, 84S.Ct. 1509 at 1514 (1964). The Court

there in pertinent part held:

Although an affidavit may be based on hearsay infor-

mation and need not reflect the direct personal observa-

tions of the affiant, Jones v. United States, 362 U.S. 257,

4 L.Ed.2d 697, 80 S.Ct. 725, 78 ALR 2d 233, the magis-

trate must be informed of some of the underlying cir-

cumstances from which the informant concluded that

the narcotics were where he claimed they were, and some

of the underlying circumstances from which the officer

concluded that the informani, whose identity need not

be disclosed, see Rugendorf v. United States, 376 U.S.

528, 11 L.Ed.2d 887, 84 S.Ct. 825, was “credible”. .. .

[Aguilar v. Texas, supra, 378 U.S. at 114.]

Thus, the first prong of the test requires that the magistrate

be informed of “some” of the underlying circumstances from

which the informant concluded that narcotics were where he

claimed them to be. This prong is used to determine whether

the informant obtained his information in a reliable manner.

The second prong of the Aguilar test requires that the officer

set forth information from which he concluded that the hear-

say declarant was credible.

A. The Detailed Nature Of The Information

Contained In The Anonymous Letter Was

Sufficient To Allow The Issuing Judge To

Infer That The Informant Had Obtained

His Information In A Reliable Manner.

The first prong, or the “basis of knowledge” part of the test

announced in Aguilar is most often satisfied by the

informant’s declaration that he is revealing personal

arwwledge gathered through some physical sensory faculty

such as that of sight, smell, or sound. (See Stanley v. State, 19

Md.App. 507, 531, 313 A.2d 847, 861 (1974).) Absent an in-

formant's statement regarding the manner in which informa-

tion was obtained, the magistrate must be convinced that the

information is furnished by the source under circumstances

demonstrating or inferring the reliability of the information.

Spinelli v. United States, 393 U.S. 410, 425, 21 L.Ed.2d 637,

89 S.Ct. 329 (1959). As Justice White explained in his concur-

ring opinion in Spinelli, when the information is:

Sufficiently detailed [it] will in effect verify itself —

that is, the magistrate when confronted with such detail

could reasonably infer that the informant had gained his

information in a reliable way. See, Ante, at 417, 11

L.Ed.2d 644. Detailed information may sometimes imp-

ly that the informant has himself observed the facts. 393

U.S. at pg. 425.

The Spinelli Court discussed the determination which the

issuing magistrate must make when an anonymous informant

does not demonstrate the exact manner or circumstances in

which he or she received the information.

In the absence of a statement detailing the manner in

which the information was gathered it is especially im-

portant that the tip describe the accused's criminal activ-

ities in sufficient detail that the magistrate may know

that he is relying on something more substantial than a

casual rumor circulating in the underworld or an accusa-

tion based merely on an individual's reputation.

[393 U.S. at 416, 21 L.Ed.2d at 645, 89 S.Ct. at 590.]

In Draper v. United States, , 358 U.S. 307, 3 L.Ed.2d 327,

79 S.Ct. 329 (1959) a paid informant provided an FBI agent

with a mere description of the defendant and his mode of

transportating certain drugs. The detail with which it was

provided however, was one reason it was sufficient for the

court to infer that it was obtained in a reliable manner.

Referring to the Draper informer's information in the

subsequent Spinelli decision, Justice White said, “the kind of

information related by the informant is not generally sent

ahead of a person’s arrival in a city except to those who are in-

timately connected with making careful arrangements for

meeting him.” Spinelli, supra, 393 U.S. at 426. In the present

case, as in Draper, the details of the travel arrangements con-

firm the reliability of the informer's information. The infor-

mation provided by the informer relating to the involved

travel arrangements of these defendants was in great detail

and was elevated to a high degree of reliability by the cor-

roboration of government agents’ eyewitness observations.

The anonymous letter was received by the police on May 3

and gave the names, relationship and approximate addresses

of these defendants; “they live on Greenway, off Bloom-

ingdale road in the condominiums.”

10

The letter stated that the defendants made most of their

drug buys in the State of Florida, that Ms. Gates would drive

their motor vehicle to Florida and then Mr. Gates would fly

down and drive the vehicle back to Illinois. The letter stated

that on May 3 (the date it was received) she would be driving

down and he would meet her and the car there “in a few

days.” Additionally, the letter stated not only the value of the

narcotics which would be found, but also their precise loca-

tion in both the Gates’ home and automobile. The informant

also included a statement that the Gates’ “brag about the fact

they never have to work.” Finally, the letter relates that drug

dealers frequent the Gates’ home.

An anonymous letter detailing the manner in which drugs

were transported, when and how the next transport would

occur, where the drugs were stored, and finally some of the

personal characteristics of the defendants themselves should

certainly be sufficient to convince a magistrate that the infor-

mation was something other than “casual rumor” or a mere

accusation based on the defendants’ reputation in the under-

world community. As stated by Justice White, the magistrate

presented with such intimate detail could “reasonably infer

that the informer had gained his information in a reliable

way.” Spinelli, supra, 393 U.S. at 425.

In this case, the Illinois Supreme Court held that the infor-

mation provided here was not “in sufficient detail to lead a

magistrate to conclude that the tip was the product of

firsthand knowledge or personal observation.” (Slip opinion,

p- 9]. Further, the court distinguished the present case from

Draper in that the informant in Draper had previously given

reliable information to the affiant. [Slip opinion, p. 8]. Fur-

ther, the court found that the present case was more

analogous to Spinelli than Draper. [Slip opinion, pg. 6]. The

court erred in so holding.

11

The present case directly parallels Draper as stated by

Justice Moran, joined by Justice Underwood, in his dissenting

opinion below:

“(U)nder the court's analysis in Spinelli, the result in

Draper, in light of Aguilar, does not hinge on the mere

averment that the informant had previously given reli-

able information. Rather, the determining factor in es-

tablishing probable cause and complying with both prongs

of Aguilar is the speciticity of the tip combined with the

police verification by investigation.”

[Slip opinion, pg. 13, 14].

Here, as in Draper, the police were provided with a specific,

detailed and future sequence of events, as emphasized by

Justice Moran. [Slip opinion, pg. 12]. Further, in this case, as

in Draper, every detail of the informant’s letter was cor-

roborated by police investigation, clearly indicating that the

informant had an underlying basis of knowledge.

The present case is readily distinguishable from Spinelli. In

that case the information was provided by a “confidential,

reliable informant.” The affidavit stated that the informant

told law enforcement agents that Spinelli was “accepting

wagers and disseminating wagering information by means of

telephones which have been assigned numbers WYdown

4-0029 and WYdown 4-1036.” 393 U.S. 410, 414, 21L.Ed.2d

637, 642, 89 S.Ct. 584, 588. The Court held the affidavit was

insufficient to establish probable cause. The Court in Spinelli

found there was insufficient detail from which a magistrate

could infer that the informant had gained his information in

a reliable way. Further, the Court found that the investigative

police work in Spinelli corroborated only that Spinelli could

have used two telephones for gambling or for some other pur-

pose. Clearly, the present case contains much more detail and

corroboration than that in Spinelli.

12

For the foregoing reasons, the details provided were suffi-

cient to satisfy the first prong of the Aguilar test. The issuing

judge correctly inferred from the detailed information pro-

vided that the informant obtained his information in a

reliable way. The trial court erred in reversing the issuing

magistrate’s finding of probable cause and the Appellate

Court and Supreme Court erred in affirming that action.

B. Corroboration Of Informant’s Letter Is Rel-

evant To And May Be Used To Support The

First Prong Of The Aguilar Test. Sufficient

Corroboration Existed Here To Warrant A

Finding Of Probable Cause.

In this case, the People contended that the judge who

issued the search warrant correctly considered the fact that

much of the information provided by the informant was cor-

roborated by other law enforcement officials and a reliable

informant. The Appellate Court stated that such corrobora-

tion could not be used to support the first prong of the Aguélar

test, the basis of the knowledge prong. The court held “Cor-

roboration does not establish that the informer obtained his

information in a reliable manner.” The Illinois Supreme

Court refused to address this issue in the present case, holding

that “The corroboration of innocent activity is insufficient to

support a finding of probable cause.” Slip opinion, p. 10. The

court's holding clearly reflects a misunderstanding and mis-

application of the law as previously expressed by this Honor-

able Court in Draper v. United States, 358 U.S. 307 3

L.Ed.2d 327, 79 S.Ct. 329 (1959), Aguilar v. Texas, 378 U.S.

108, 12 L.Ed.2d 723, 84 S.Ct. 1509 (1964), and Spinelli v.

United States, 393 U.S. 410, 21 L.Ed.2d 637, 89 S.Ct. 584

(1969).

In Spinelli, the Court established the approach to be taken -

by lower courts where, as here, the informant's tip is a

13

necessary element in a finding of probable cause. The Court

held that:

“If the tip is found inadequate under Aguilar, the other

alleg .tions which corroborate the information contained

in the hearsay report should then be considered. At this

stage as well, however, the standards enunciated in Agut-

lar must inform the magistrate’s decision. He must ask:

Can it fairly be said that the tip, even when certain parts

of it have been corroborated by independent sources, is

as trustworthy as a tip which would pass Aguilar’s tests

without independent corroboration.”

[393 U.S. at 415.]

In Spinelli, the FBI was informed by a “confidential, reliable

informant,” that Spinelli was “operating a handbook and ac-

cepting wagers and disseminating wagering information by

means of the telephones which have been assigned the num-

bers WYdown 4-0029 and WYdown 4-0136.” 393 U.S. at 414.

The FBI conducted an independent investigation of defen-

dant corroborating the two telephone numbers (although

listed to another person). In addition, the FBI observed the

defendant travel to and from the apartment building, park

his car there, and enter one of the apartments. The FBI

agents also informed the issuing magistrate that Spinelli was

“known to [the] affiant and to federal law enforcement agents

and local law enforcement agents as a bookmaker, an associ-

ate of bookmakers, a gambler, and an associate of gamblers.”

Id. This Court held that probable cause did not exist, and

found that the independent investigation was not sufficient

“to support both the inference that the informer was generally

trustworthy and that he had made his charge against Spinelli

on the basis of information obtained in a reliable way.” 393

U.S. at 417. The Spinelli Court nowhere stated that cor-

roboration could not be used to support the first prong of the

Aguilar test; it only held that in that particular case neither

prong of the test was supported by independent police cor-

roboration.

14

In Draper, decided before Aguilar, the tip of a reliable,

paid informer was investigated by a police officer and many of

the details of the tip were corroborated. It is significant to

note that the reliability of the informer was not in issue.

Therefore, the police corrobozation in that case went to

establish only the trustworthiness of the information, which

later became a “basis of knowledge” prong of Aguilar. In

Draper, the Court stated:

And surely, with every other bit of [the informant’s] in-

formation being thus personally verified, [officer/affi-

ant] had “reasonable grounds” to believe that the re-

maining unverified bit of [the informant's] information

— that Draper would have the heroin with him — was

likewise true.

[Draper, supra, 358 U.S. at $13].

The Spinelli Court recognized that corroboration could be

used to support the basis of knowledge prong:

Once again, Draper provides a relevant comparison. In-

dependent police work in that case corroborated much

more than one small detail that had been provided by the

informant .. .. It was then apparent that the informant

had not been fabricating his report out of whole cloth;

since the report was of the sort which in common experi-

ence may be recognized as having been obtained in a reli-

able way, it was perfectly clear that probable cause had

been established.

[393 U.S. at 417, 418].

In Whitely v. Warden of Wyoming State Penitentiary, 401

U.S. 560, 28 L.Ed.2d 306, 91 S.Ct. 1031 (1971), it was stated:

This Court has held that where the initial impetus for

an arrest is an informer's tip, information gathered by

the arresting officer can be used to sustain a finding of

probable cause for an arrest that could not adequately be

supported by the tip alone. Draper v. United States, 358

15

U.S. 307, 3 L.Ed.2d 327, 79 S.Ct. 329 (1959). See Spi-

nelli v. United States, supra, at 423, 2! L.Ed.2d at 647.

[Whitely, 28 L.Ed.2d at p. $12).

It again must be emphasized that corroboration in Whitely

was not limited by this Court to use in satisfying only the

reliability prong of Aguilar, as mistakenly held by the Illinois

Supreme Court. Other cases holding that corroboration is

relevant to whether the informer gathered his information in

a reliable way include, State v. Thorp, 358 A.2d 655, 659

(N.H. 1976); United States v. Edmonds, 535 F.2d 714, 720

(2nd Cir. 1976); United States v. Anderson, 500 F.2d 1311,

1316 (5th Cir. 1974); United States v. Foose, 402 F.Supp. 526

(D.C. PA. 1975); United States v. Hall, 468 F.Supp. 123

(D.C. Texas 1979). The theory rejected by both the Appellate

Court and the Illinois Supreme Court is sound. If much of the

informer's information is corroborated, the indication is that

the informer got his information in a reliable way.

Even though the information in the letter is hearsay, there

is a substantial basis for crediting it because the letter's details

were fully corroborated by other independent sources; federal

agents, a police official, and a reliable informant. “Cor-

roboration through other sources of information reduced the

chances of a reckless or prevaricating tale. .. ." Jones v. U.S.,

supra, 306 U.S. at 271.

Under the facts in this case the issuing judge correctly

found that the anonymous informer’s information was

reliable, and as such satisfied the requirements of the first

prong of the Aguilar test. The details of the letter regarding

defendants’ activities and the detailed corroboration of those

facts support a conclusion that the judge correctly found that

the information was accurate and truthful. The name and

address of the defendant was corroborated by another infor-

mant who had given the affiant information in the past

leading to seven arrests and seven convictions. The physical

16

description of Lance Gates was obtained through indepen-

dent police investigation of Gates’ driver's license. A person

matching that description boarded the flight bound for

Florida, again corroborating the anonymous letter. In

Fiorida, the defendant met a woman in a room at a hotel

registered to defendant Sue Gates. Again, the travel ar-

rangements in the letter were independently corroborated.

The following day, the two defendants drove back to Illinois

(again corroborating the letter) in a motor vehicle with license

plates registered to another automobile owned by the defen-

dant. This type of corroboration is as sufficient as that found

in Draper, where the only corroboration of the tip related to

the defendant's travel arrangements and physical description.

Furthermore, the independent police work here “cor-

roborated much more than one small detail that had been

provided by the informant,” Spinelli, 393 U.S. at 417, and is

therefore readily distinguishable from the Spinelli case.

The Illinois Supreme Court refused to consider the cor-

roborating evidence on this case because only “innocent facts”

were corroborated. That this holding was in error is clear

from a reading of Draper, in which only the innocent iacts of

defendant's physical description and travel arrangements

were corroborated. In addition, it must be emphasized here

that such short-term travel arrangements, which seemingly

have no purpose, are common in drug trafficking cases. This

Court in Spinelli recognized that certain activity, which is

seemingly innocent, may take on a more sinister color by vir-

tue of an informer’s tip. Thus, although the conduct of the

defendant in Spinelli coupled with the informant's tip was not

sufficient in itself to suggest criminal activity, the Court noted

that had the premises involved contained an unusual number

of telephones or if abnormal activity had been observed prob-

able cause may well have been found. 393 U.S. at 418. In the

present case, the short-term, seemingly purposeless travel ar-

rangements, were sufficient to establish probable cause, and

17

the issuing magistrate was entitled to rely on such common

sense considerations. United States v. Ventresca, 380 U.S.

102, 108, 13 L.Ed.2d 684, 688, 85 S.Ct. 741 (1965).

The People ask this Honorable Court to grant this petition

and issue a Writ of Certiorari to review the decision of the II-

linois Supreme Court. The misunderstanding and misap-

plication by Illinois courts of the notion of corroboration as set

forth in Spinelli and Draper, will result in continuing injustice

if it is not corrected and clarified by this Court. The People

request that this Honorable Court grant the People’s Petition

for a Writ of Certiorari, and ultimately vacate the judgment

of the Illinois Supreme Court and remand this case for further

prosecution.

18

CONCLUSION

For all of the foregoing reasons, the Writ of Certiorari

should be issued to review the judgment and opinion of the

Supreme Court of the State of Illinois.

Respectfully submitted,

TYRONE FAHNER,

Attorney General of the State

of Illinois

MELBOURNE A. NOEL, JR.

Assistant Attorney General

188 West Randolph Street

(Suite 2200)

Chicago, Illinois 60601

Attorneys for Petitioner

J. MICHAEL FITZSIMMONS

State’s Attorney for DuPage County

THOMAS L. KNIGHT

BARBARA A. PREINER

Assistant State's Attorneys

207 South Reber Street

Wheaton, Illinois 60187

Of Counsel

ee

la

SUPREME COURT OPINION

Docket No. 53453 -- Agenda 6 — January 1981.

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, Appellant,

v. LANCE GATES et al., Appellees.

MR. JUSTICE WARD delivered the opinion of the court:

On May 3, 1978, the Bloomingdale police department

received by mail an anonymous handwritten letter which

alleged that Susan Gates and Lance Gates, her husband, were

planning to travel to Florida in a few days for the purpose of

obtaining illegal drugs. The letter read:

“This letter is to inform you that you have a couple in

your town who strictly make their living on selling drugs.

They are Sue and Lance Gates, they live on Greenway,

off Bloomingdale Rd. in the condominiums. Most of

their buys are done in Florida. Sue his wife drives their

car to Florida where she leaves it to be loaded up with

drugs, then Lance flys [sic] down and drives it back. Sue

flys [sic] back after she drops the car off in Florida. May 3

she is driving down there again and Lance will be flying

down in a few days to drive it back. At the time Lance

drives the car back he has the trunk loaded with over

$100,000.00 in drugs. Presently they have over

$100,000.00 worth of drugs in their basement.

They brag about the fact they never have to work, and

make their entire living on pushers.

I guarantee [sic] if you watch them carefully you will

make a big catch. They are friends with some big drugs

dealers, who visit their house often.

Lance & Sue Gates

Greenway

in Condominiums.”

2a

The chief of police delivered the letter to Charles Mader, a

detective of the Bloomingdale police department and he re-

quested one of the department's radio operators to seek

assistance from the Secretary of Siate’s office in Springfield in

obtaining a specific address for the Gates. That office advised

than an Illinois driver's license had been issued to a Lance

Gates residing at a stated address in Bloomingdale. Mader

then communicated with a confidential informant who had,

he claimed, provided reliable information to Mader during

the previous two years. Upon examining certain financial

records to which the informant had access, he reported a new

address on Greenway Drive in Bloomingdale for the Lance

Gates who had previously resided at the address in Bloom-

ingdale furnished by the Secretary of State's office.

Upon inquiry, Mader was told by an officer of the Chicago

police department assigned to O'Hare Airport that “L. Gates”

had made a reservation with Eastern Airlines on its flight 245,

which was to depart from O'Hare on May 5, at 4:15 p.m. The

final destination of the flight was West Palm Beach, Florida.

On May 5, Mader was told by William Morely, an agent of

the Drug Enforcement Administration, that “Lance Gates”

had boarded Eastern Airlines flight 245 bound for Florida.

The following day Morely informed Mader that Gates had ar-

rived in West Palm Beach, had proceeded by cab to the West

Palm Beach Holiday Inn, and had entered a room registered

to Susan Gates. Agent Morely told him that he observed Gates

and an unidentified woman leave the room at 7 a.m. and

enter a red-vinyl-over-gray Mercury with 1978 Tilinois license

number RS 8437. Records at the Secretary of State's office

showed that the license plate was registered for Lance B.

Gates, but had been issued for a different automobile.

Based on the anonymous letter, the described information

obtained from the law-enforcement authorities, and the

verification of the address obtained from the confidential in-

Sa

formant, Mader, on May 6, sought and obtained in the circuit

court of DuPage County, a search warrant for both the Gates’

residence in Bloomingdale and the car they were driving in

Florida.

At 5:15 a.m. on May 7, Lance and Susan Gates returned by

car to their home on Greenway Drive. They were immediately

served with a search warrant by waiting Bloomingdale police

officers. In the trunk of the Mercury the officers found several

large bundles of marijuana weighing a total of approximately

350 pounds. A search of the Gates’ residence uncovered more

marijuana, weapons, ammunition, drug paraphernalia, and

several scales presumably used for weighing the drugs. Police

also ascertained that the couple had cocaine in their posses-

sion. They were indicted for unlawful possession of cannabis

with intent to deliver and unlawful possession of a controlled

substance. Lance Gates was separately indicted for possession

of an unlicensed firearm.

The defendants filed a pretrial motion to quash the search

warrant and to suppress all physical evidence obtained as a

result of the search, arguing that the anonymous letter did not

set forth the underlying circumstances or manner in which

the informant acquired the information or that the informa-

tion was reliable as required under the test for probable cause

described in Aguilar v. Texas (1964), 378 U.S. 108,-12 L. Ed.

2d 723, 84 S. Ct. 1509. The defendants also argued that the

separate evidence obtained by Detective Mader in his in-

dependent investigations did not corroborate the anonymous

informant’s accusations that the Gateses were involved in

criminal activity so as to support the issuance of a search war-

rant based on probable cause. The motions to quash and to

suppress evidence were allowed by the circuit court of DuPage

County, and its action was affirmed by the appellate court (82

Ill. App. 3d 749). We granted the State's petition for leave to

appeal. 73 Ill. 2d R. 315(a).

4a

Both the Constitution of the United States (U.S. Const.,

amend. IV) and the Constitution of Illinois (Ill. Const. 1970,

art. I, sec. 6) provide assurance against unreasonable searches

and seizures of person and property. The determination of

probable cause for the issuance of a search warrant must be

made by a “neutral and detached magistrate instead of being

judged by the officer engaged in the often competitive enter-

prise of ferreting out crime.” (Johnson v. United States (1948),

333 U.S. 10, 14, 92 L. Ed. 436, 440, 68 S. Ct. 367, 369.) This

determination also must be based upon the sworn observa-

tions or on other sufficient facts or circumstances presented

under oath before a magistrate. The Supreme Court in

Aguilar v. Texas (1964), 378 U.S. 108, 12 L. Ed. 2d 723, 84S.

Ct. 1509, considering its decisions in Giordenello v. United

States (1958), 357 U.S. 480, 2 L. Ed. 2d 1503, 78S. Ct. 1245,

Johnson v. United States (1948), 333 U.S. 10, 92 L. Ed. 436,

68 S. Ct. 367, Nathanson v. United States (1933), 290 U.S.

41, 78 L. Ed. 159, 54S. Cr. 11, and United States v. Lefkowitz

(1932), 285 U.S. 452, 76 L. Ed. 877, 52S. Ct. 420, announced

the constitutional standard to be used by courts in deciding

whether a search warrant might properly issue when the com-

plaint for the search warrant is based in whole or in part upon

information supplied by an anonymous or unidentified infor-

mant. The court stated:

“Although an affidavit may be based on hearsay infor-

mation and need not reflect the direct personal observa-

tions of the affiant [citation], the magistrate must be in-

formed of some of the underlying circumstances from

which the informant concluded that the narcotics were

where he claimed they were, and some cf the underlying

circumstances from which the officer concluded that the

informant, whose identity need not be disclosed [cita-

tion], was ‘credible’ or his information ‘reliable.’ " $78

U.S. 108, 114, 12 L. Ed. 2d 723, 729, 84 S. Ct. 1509,

1514.

5a

The first part of this standard or test is often referred to as

the “basis of knowledge prong” and the second part as the

“veracity prong.”

In Aguilar, an officer of the Houston police department

applied for a search warrant on the ground that “ ‘reliable in-

formation [had been received] from a credible person’ ” that

the defendant was known to have drugs on his premises for

purposes of sale and personal use. The court described the af-

fidavit as containing “ ‘no affirmative allegation that the af-

fiant spoke with personal knowledge of the matters contained

therein’ ” or “that the affiant’s unidentified source ‘spoke with

personal knowledge.’ The court further stated that “the

source here merely suspected, believed or concluded that

there were narcotics in petitioner's possession. The magistrate

here certainly couid not ‘judge for himself the persuasiveness

of the facts relied on * * * ito show probable cause.’ He neces-

sarily accepted ‘without question’ the informant’s ‘suspicion,’

‘belief or ‘mere conclusion.’ ” (378 U.S. 108, 109, 113-14, 12

L. Ed. 2d 723, 725, 728-29, 84 S. Ct. 1509, 1511, 1513-14,

quoting Nathanson and Giordenello.) The court held that the

evidence obtained from a search conducted with the warrant

was inadmissible and remanded the case for further pro-

ceedings.

The first prong, or the “basis of knowledge” part of the test

announced in Aguilar, is concerned with the facts and cir-

cumstances showing that the informant knew that the person

named has been or will be involved in criminal conduct. The

most common means of satifying this requirement is by the in-

formant’s declaration that he is revealing personal knowledge

gathered through some phsical sensory faculty such as that of

sight, smell or sound. (See, e.g., Stanley v. State (1974), 19

Md. App. 507, 531, 313 A.2d 847, 861.) Statements contain-

ing mere conclusions of criminal acivity without a statement

regarding independent facts and personal observations do not

6a

provide a sufficient basis for a neutral magistrate to decide to

issue a search warrant.

Looking at the anonymous handwritten letter here one can

only observe that it does not contain any statement showing

that the information was acquired through firsthand or per-

sonal knowledge of the informant. The informant states that

the defendants make their living by selling drugs but he does

not set out the source of this knowledge or the ground for his

conclusion. There is the statement that the defendants

boasted of their illegal occupation, but one does not know

whether they made these comments to the informant or

whether this was hearsay. Similarly, the informant states that

the defendants will be returning from Florida with over

$100,000 in drugs and that there is over $100,000 worth of

drugs in their basement. No basis of knowledge for this is

given. There is no statement made that the informant ever

saw drugs or was inside the defendants’ residence or even that

someone had told him of any of these claimed facts. The letter

set out mere conclusions and contained no statements of per-

sonal observation or firsthand knowledge.

The second part of the Aguilar test, often, as noted, refer-

red to as the “veracity prong,” requires a showing of the

underlying circumstances from which it was concluded that

the informant was “ ‘credible’ "’ or his information

“ ‘reliable.’ "(378 U.S. 108, 114-15, 12 L. Ed. 24 723, 729, 84

S. Ct. 1509, 1514.) Though it is not necessary to consider this

“prong” where the “basis of knowledge” part has not been

satisfied, we shall comment on it because of the State's argu -

ments discussed later relating to self-verifying detail and cor-

roborating evidence as support for the search warrant here.

The name of an informant need not be revealed to the

magistrate before a search warrant is issued so long as it is

established that the informant is credible. This requirement is

usually satisfied by reciting in the affidavit previous instances

7a

in which the affiant police officer has obtained information

from the informant that led to various arrests and convictions.

(See McCray v. Illinois (1967), 386 U.S. 300, 18 L. Ed. 2d 62,

87 S. Ct. 1056; People v. Garcia (1975), 27 Ill. App. 3d 396.)

Here, the informant's identity was not known to the affiant,

Detective Mader. There was simply no basis on which either

Mader or the magistrate could conclude that the anonymous

person was credible.

The failure to satisfy under Aguilar that the informant was

credible does not of itself mean that the “veracity prong” re-

quirement cannot be met. It may be satisfied by a showing

that the informant's tip was reliable. United States v. Harris

(1971), 403 U.S. 573, 29 L. Ed. 2d 723, 91S. Ct. 2075, shows

that a plurality of the court considered that the alternative re-

quirement of reliability of the information supplied was

satisfied where the informant, in giving the information, ad-

mitted activities which were against his penal interest. In Har-

ris a warrant was issued to Federal and local officers permit-

ting them to enter and search the defendant's premises where

they found containers of whiskey on which the Federal tax

had not been paid. The affidavit accompanying the request

for a warrant stated that information was received from an in-

dividual who claimed, as a confederate, personal knowledge

that the defendant was a “trafficker of nontaxpaid distilled

spirits.” (403 U.S. 573, 575, 29 L. Ed. 2d 723, 729, 91S. Ct.

2075, 2077.) The court held that the informant’s admission of

complicity with the defendant in these activities over an ex-

tended period of time, which subjected him to possible indict-

ment under section 5205(a) of title 26 of the United States

Code (26 U.S.C. sec 5205(a) ), generated some measure of

reliability. It was held that under the facts and circumstances

of the case that probable cause had been established. Assum-

ing, arguendo, that we were to follow the view of the plurality

in Harris it would have no significance, because there was no

admission against penal interest here.

8a

Concluding that the letter standing alone cannot satisfy the

requirements under Aguilar, we consider now the State's con-

tention that the “self-verifying detail” within the letter, coupl-

ed with the corroborating nature of the information acquired

by Detective Mader, established probable cause for the is-

suance of the search warrant.

The notion of “self-verifying detail” is found in Spinelli v.

United States (1969), 393 U.S. 410, 417, 21 L. Ed. 2d 637,

644, 89 S. Ct. 584, 589. The court had granted certiorari

“[b]elieving it desirable that the principles of Aguilar should

be further explicated * * *.” (393 U.S. 410, 412, 21 L. Ed. 2d

637, 641, 89 S. Ct. 584, 587.) There are important resem-

blances between the circumstances here and those in Spinellz.

A search warrant had been issued, and the affidavit submit-

ted in support of it cited a report from an unidentified infor-

mant and also one of an independent FBI investigation which

was said to corroborate the informant’s tip. The affidavit was

more persuading than the one here. It described the infor-

mant as “a confidential, reliable informant” and stated that

Spinelli was known to the affiant-special agent and to Federal

and local law-enforcement officers as a gambler and book-

maker. According to the affidavit the informant had advised

the FBI that Spinelli was operating a handbook and was using

specified telephone numbers in its operation. The Supreme

Court held that the affidavit was insufficient and that the

search warrant had been issued without probable cause. The

court observed: “Though the affiant swore that his confidant

was ‘reliable,’ he offered the magistrate no reason in support

of this conclusion. Perhaps even more important is the fact

Aguilar’s other test has not been satisfied. The tip does not

contain a sufficient statement of the underlying circum-

stances from which the informer concluded that Spinelli was

running a bookmaking operation. We are not told how the

FBI's source received his information — it is not alleged that

the informant personally observed Spinelli at work or that he

had ever placed a bet with him. Moreover, if the informant

came by the information indirectly, he did not explain why

his sources were reliable. [Citation.] In the absence of a state-

ment detailing the manner in which the information was

gathered, it is especially important that the tip described the

accused's criminal activity in sufficient detail that the

magistrate may know that he is relying on something more

substantial than a casual rumor circulating in the underworld

or an accusation based merely on an individual's general

reputation.” (393 U.S. 410, 416, 21 L. Ed. 2d 637, 643-44, 89

S. Ct. 584, 589.) As can be said of the investigative activities

by the law-enforcement officers here, the court in Spinelli

stated: “[WJe find nothing alleged which would permit the

suspicions engendered by the informant'’s report to ripen into

a judgment that a crime was probably being committed. As

we have already seen, the allegations detailing the FBI's

surveillance of Spinelli and its investigation of the telephone

company records contain no suggestion criminal conduct

when taken by themselves — and they are not endowed with

an aura of suspicion by virtue of the informer's tip.” (393 U.S.

410, 418, 21 L. Ed. 2d 637, 645, 89 S. Ct. 584, 590.) The

court commented that the report from the informant was

meager and could easily have been obtained from an offhand

remark heard at a neighborhood bar.

The court in Spinelli did say that while an affidavit may not

satisfy the “basis of knowledge” prong of the Aguilar test by

failing to set out adequately the circumstances explaining

how the confidential information was obtained, this may be

cured if the information set out is so detailed that a magistrate

“could reasonably infer that the informant had gained his in-

formation in a reliable way.” (393 U.S. 410, 417, 21 L. Ed. 2d

637, 644, 89 S. Ct. 584, 589.) Thus an informant's report, if

detailed sufficiently, may in effect verify itself in the sense that

the magistrate, when presented with such detail, can

10a

reasonably infer that the informant had gained his informa-

tion is a reliable way and may be a sufficient basis for a

magistrate’s finding of probable cause for the issuance of a

search warrant. The court cited Draper v. United States

(1959), 358 U.S. 307, 3 L. Ed. 2d $27, 79 S. Ct. 329, a pre-

Aguilar decision, as a “suitable benchmark” upon which to

measure this sufficiency of detail. (393 U.S. 410, 416, 21 L.

Ed. 2d 637, 644, 89S. Ct. 584, 589.) It is important to observe

that in Draper there was not, as here or in Spinelli, an anon-

ymous or unidentified informant but a named informant

whose information, when given to law-enforcement officers

on earlier occasions, had been reliable.

The use of self-verifying detail to find probable cause is

limited, though, to a situation where the informant has not

otherwise disclosed the manner in which he has obtained his

information and thus has failed to satisfy the “basis of

knowledge” prong. While the specificity of detail may be used

to supply the basis-of-knowledge requirement, it cannot

establish that the informant was credible or his information

reliable, in and of itself, so as to meet Aguilar’s “veracity”

prong. The court in Stanley v. State (1974), 19 Md. App. 507,

533, 313 A.2d 847, 862, described this when it observed: “The

notion that great detail implies personal observation rather

than the over-hearing of barroom gossip, presupposes an

honest informant. If the informant were concocting a story

out of the whole cloth, he could fabricate in fine detail as easi-

ly as with rough brush strokes. Minute detail tells us nothing

about ‘veracity.’ " See also People v. Linder (1975), 24 Ill.

App. 3d 995; Note, Probable Cause And The First-Time In-

former: United States v. Harris,, 403 U.S. 573 (1971), 43

Colo. L. Rev. 357, 362 (1972).

Self-verifying detail discussed in Spinelli as a means of satis-

fying the basis-of-knowledge prong must be accepted with

great circumspection. This was expressed by Mr. Justice

lla

Harlan when, as appears in the quotation above from

Spinelli, he cautioned that the tip must describe the claimed

criminal activity in detail adequate to show the magistrate

that he is relying on information more substantial than casual

rumor or an accusation founded only on the accused's general

reputation. We cannot say that the information provided

here was in sufficient detail to lead a magistrate to conclude

that the tip was the product of firsthand knowledge or per-

sonal observation.

That the anonymous informant gave the name of the street

where the defendants resided and stated that they would be

driving from Florida in early May with drugs in the trunk of

their car does not even meet the specificity of detail required

by the court in Draper v. United States (1959), 358 U.S. 307, 3

L. Ed. 2d 327, 79 S. Ct. 329, so as to cure the existing defi-

ciency of the “basis of knowledge” prong. Nor can it be rea-

sonably concluded that the information in the letter was ac-

quired through first-hand knowledge rather than by rumor.

Also, we reiterate and emphasize that here the informant was

anonymous. In Draper the informant was named and iden-

tified as one who earlier had given information to law-

enforcement officers that had been reliable.

The corroborative evidence gathered by Detective Mader,

when coupled with the “detail” of the informant’s letter, did

not constitute probable cause under the tests of Aguilar. The

appellate court, in addressing this question of corroborative

evidence, rejected the State's contention that corroboration

can be use® to satisfy the “veracity” prong as well as the “basis

of knowleuge” prong of the Aguilar test. The court held that

partial corroboration may be considered only to support the

contention that the information obtained was reliable. Citing

Stanley v. State (1974), 19 Md. App. 508, 531, 313 A.2d 847,

861-62, the court held that corroboration may not serve as a

means of satisfying the “basis of knowledge” prong.

l2a

Courts are not in agreement on the question of whether

partial corroboration, combined with an informant’s tip, may

cure a deficiency in either prong of the Aguilar test. See, e.g.,

1 LaFave, Search and Seizure sec. 3.3 (1978); Moylan, Hear-

say and Probable Cause: An Aguilar and Spinelli Primer, 25

Mercer L. Rev. 741 (1974); Stanley v. State (1974), 19 Md.

App. 507, 313 A.2d 847.

We need not consider this question, however, since the

nature of the corroborating “evidence” in this case would

satisfy neither the “basis of knowledge” nor the “veracity”

prong of Aguilar. Looking to the affidavit submitted as sup-

port for Detective Mader’s request that a search warrant issue,

we note that the corroborative evidence here was only of clear-

ly innocent activity. Mader’s independent investigation re-

vealed only that Lance and Susan Gates lived on Greenway

Drive; that Lance Gates booked passage on a flight to Florida;

that upon arriving he entered a room registered to his wife;

and that he and his wife left the hotel together by car. The

corroboration of innocent activity is insufficient to support a

finding of probable cause. See Whiteley v. Warden of Wyom-

ing State Penitentiary (1971), 401 U.S. 560, 567, 28 L. Ed. 2d

306, 312-13, 91 S. Ct. 1031, 1036.

For the reasons given above, the judgment of the appellate

court is affirmed.

Judgment affirmed.

MR.JUSTICE MORAN, dissenting:

The majority concludes that the letter combined with the

facts gleaned from the police investigation does not satisfy

either prong of the Aguzlar test. I disagree. As the opinion

points out, the letter did not reveal that the informant had

personal knowledge of the criminal activity, the method by

which the “basis of knowledge” prong is generally satisfied.

13a

However, that prong can be satisfied by sufficiently specific

detail and corroborating information. (Spinelli v. United

States (1969), 393 U.S. 410, 416-17, 21 L. Ed. 2d 637, 644, 89

S. Ct. 584, 589.) That the necessary specificity of the initial

information and the requisite corroboration were present

here can be demonstrated by a comparison with three United

States Supreme Court cases.

Draper v. United States (1959), 358 U.S. 307, 3 L. Ed. 2d

327, 79 S. Ct. 329, involved an arrest without a warrant.

There, an informant gave a Federal narcotics agent informa-

tion regarding narcotics law violations. On a motion to sup-

press, the agent testified that he “had always found the infor-

mation given by [the informant] to be accurate and reliable.”

(358 U.S. 307, 309, 3 L. Ed. 2d $327. 329, 79 S. Ct. 329, 331.)

No underlying facts established this conclusion. However, the

informant told the agent that Draper had gone to Chicago the

day before by train and that he would return to Denver by

train with three ounces of heroin on one of two specified

mornings. In addition, the informant described Draper's

physical appearance, the clothes he was wearing, that he

would be carrying a tan zipper bag, and that he walked quick-

ly. The court found that the agent had probable cause to ar-

rest when a man fitting Draper's description stepped off the

specified train.

In Aguilar v. Texas (1964), 378 U.S. 108, 12 L. Ed. 24723,

84S. Ct. 1509, police officers, in support of their application

for a search warrant, submitted an affidavit stating:

“Affiants have received reliable information from a

credible person and do believe that heroin, marijuana,

barbiturates and other narcotics and narcotic parapher-

nalia are being kept at the above desc: Sed premises for

the purpose of sale and use contrary to the provisions of

the law.” ($78 U.S. 108, 109, 12 L. Ed. 2d 723, 725, 84S.

Cr. 1509, 1511.)

l4a

The court found that the information merely reflected the in-

formant’s “ ‘suspicion,’ ‘belief or ‘mere conclusion.’ ” (378

U.S. 108, 114, 12 L. Ed. 2d 723, 729, 84S. Ct. 1509, 1514.)

In so holding, it established the two-pronged standard for

evaluating if a search warrant should issue:

“[T]he magistrate must be informed of some of the un-

derlying circumstances from which the informant con-

cluded that the narcotics were where he claimed they

were, and some of the underlying circumstances from

which the officer concluded that the informant, whose

identity need not be disclosed [citation], was ‘credible’ or

his information ‘reliable.”” 378 U.S. 108, 114, 12 L. Ed.

2d 723, 729, 84S. Ct. 1509, 1514.

With this test as the standard, the Supreme Court decided

Spinelli v. United States (1969), 393 U.S. 410, 21 L. Ed. 637,

89 S. Ct. 584. In that case, the affidavit stated that Spinelli

was known to law-enforcement agents as a bookmaker and a

gambler, and that the FBI had “been informed by a confiden-

tial reliable informant that William Spinelli is operating a

handbook and accepting wagers and disseminating wagering

information by means of telephones which have been assigned

and numbers WYdown 4-0029 and Wydown 4-0136.” 393

U.S. 410, 414, 21 L. Ed. 2d 637, 642, 89 S. Ct. 584, 588.

The court contrasted the informant’s tip with the informa-

tion provided by the informant in Draper. The court conclud-

ed that a magistrate could infer from the tip in Draper that

the informant had gained his information in a reliable way

whereas, in the case before it, the report could have been ob-

tained from an offhand remark heard at a neighborhood bar.

The court also found that the investigative police work in

Draper corroborated much more than one small detail and

resulted in the inference that the report was reliable. In con-

trast, the investigation in Spinelli corroborated only that

Spinelli could have used two telephones for gambling or for

15a

some other purpose, and was insufficient to support the

reliability of the information. The court stated:

“{In Draper], the police, upon meeting the inbound

Denver train on the second morning specified by in-

former Hereford, saw a man whose dress corresponded

precisely to Hereford’s detailed description. It was then

apparent that the informant had not been fabricating his

report out of whole cloth; since the report was of the sort

which in common experience may be recognized as hav-

ing been obtained in a reliable way, it was perfectly clear

that probable cause had been established.” 393 U.S. 410,

417-18, 21 L. Ed. 2d 637, 644, 89 S. Ct. 584, 590.

When comparing the affidavits in Aguilar and Spinelli and

the testimony of the agent in Draper to the affidavit here, it is

clear that this case is more similar to Draper, than to Aguilar

and Spinelli. In Aguilar, the information in the affidavit con-

sisted of mere conclusions and did not satisfy either prong of

the standard established here. Similarly, in Spinelli the af-

fidavit did not contain a sufficient statement of the underly-

ing circumstances from which the magistrate could conclude

that the informer had knowledge that Spinelli was running a

bookmaking operation. Further, the court found that al-

though the affiant swore that his confidant was reliable, he of-

fered the magistrate no reason in support of this conclusion.

In this case, however, as in Draper, a specific, detailed and

future sequence of evemts was supplied by the informant’s let-

ter. As already stated, in Draper the tip was that a man fitting

a particular description had gone to Chicago and would be

arriving on a particular train in Denver on one of two speci-

fied mornings carrying three ounces of heroin. Here, the let-

ter revealed that on May 3, in compliance with their usual

procedure, Sue Gates would be driving down to Florida to

purchase drugs. It further stated that Lance Gates would be

flying down a few days later to drive their car back to

l6a

Bioomingdale carrying over $100,000 in drugs in the trunk.

The police investigation showed that on May 5 a person mat-

ching Lance Gates’ description flew to West Palm Beach,

Florida, and proceeded to the Holiday Inn West to a room

registered to Susan Gates. On May 6, 7 a.m., Gates and an

unidentified female left the motel driving a red-vinyl-over-

gray Mercury. The investigation disclosed that Gates and the

woman left the West Palm Beach area driving northbound on

an interstate highway and that the driving time to Bloom-

ingdale was 21 to 23 hours. In this case, as in Draper, every

detail of the informant’s information was corroborated by the

police investigation. The specific, detailed information in the

letter combined with the corroboration clearly indicates that

the informant had an underlying basis of knowledge, satisfy-

ing Aguilar’s first prong.

In addition, the specific information contained in the letter

which was then corroborated proved the informant’s state-

ments to be credible and reliable, thereby satisfying Aguzlar’s

second prong. The majority opinion attempts to distinguish

Draper by observing in that case there was a named informant

who had given the agent reliable information on other occa-

sions. However, the agent's statement as to the informant’s

reliability was a mere conclusion. It is questionable whether

that naked assertion would satisfy Aguélar’s second prong in

that it does not present any underlying circumstances from

which the judge could determine if the informant is credible

or his information reliable. That statement is not essentially

different from the one made in Spinelli that the “informant

was reliable.” The point is, however, that under the court's

analysis in Spinelli, the result in Draper, in light of Aguilar,

does not hinge on the mere averment that the informant had

previously given reliable information. Rather, the determin-

ing factor in establishing probable cause and complying with

both prongs of Aguilar is the specificity of the tip combined

with the police verification by investigation.

17a

Finally, the majority, citing Whiteley v. Warden of Wyom-

ing State Penitentiary (1971), 401 U.S. 560, 567, 28 L. Ed. 2d

306, 312-13, 91 S. Ct. 1031, 1036, finds that the corroborat-

ing information combined with the tip would not satisfy

either prong of the Aguilar test because the corroborating

evidence was of clearly innocent activity. This conclusion is

incorrect. First, in Whiteley, the corroborating evidence was

simply that the sheriff knew the defendants and the kind of

car they drove. The court in Whiteley specifically stated:

“{T]he additional information acquired by the arresting

officers must in some sense be corroborative of the in-

former's tip that the arrestees committed the felony or, as

in Draper itself, were in the process of committing the

felony.” 401 U.S. 560, 567, 28 L. Ed. 2d 306, 312-13, 91

S. Cr. 1031, 1036.

In Draper, the corroborating information also related to

innocent acitivity — a man fitting a particular description

stepped off a train on a specific day carrying a tan zipper bag.

Yet, the court in Whitley, as well as in Spinelli, clearly held

that this ype of detailed information can be used to cor-

roborate an informant’s tip. The key is whether the cor-

roborative evidence is endowed with an aura of suspicion by

virtue of the informant's tip. (See Spinelli _v. United States

(1969), 393 U.S. 410, 418, 21 L. Ed. 2d 637, 645, 89S. Ct.

584, 590.) In this case, just as in Draper, seemingly innocent

activity became suspicious in light of the initial tip.

Here, the police went through the desired procedure of ob-

taining a warrant. The judge had before him, by way of af-

fidavit, information from which he reasonably could con-

clude that the informant had knowledge that the Gates were

involved in criminal activity and that the information was re-

liable. Under the standard enunciated in Spinelli, the judge

could conclude he was relying on more than casual rumor or

reputation and that the report had not been fabricated “out

18a

of whole cloth.” (See Spinelli v. United States (1969), 393 U.S.

410, 416, 417, 21 L. Ed. 2d 637, 644, 89 S. Ct. 584, 590.)

Probable cause was determined by a neutral and detached

judge. (See Johnson v. United States (1948), 333 U.S. 10, 14,

92 L. Ed. 436, 440, 68 S. Ct. 367, 369.) Issuance of a search

warrant in the instant case is consistent with the rationale

underlying Aguilar, as applied in Spinelli, and does not at-

tenuate one’s right to be free from unreasonable searches and

seizures as guaranteed by the United States and Illinois con-

stitutions.

For the above-stated reasons, I must respectfully dissent.

MR. JUSTICE UNDERWOOD joins in this dissent.

lb

APPELLA “E COURT OPINION

(Filed April 1, 1980)

NO. 78-570

IN THE APPELLATE COURT OF ILLINOIS

SECOND DISTRICT

PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS,

Plaintiff-A ppellant, Appeal from the Circuit

Court

v. of the 18th Judicial Circuit,

LANCE GATES AND SUSAN

GATES, DuPage County, Illinois

Defendant-A ppellees.

Mr. JUSTICE LINDBERG delivered the opinion of the court.

The State appeals on order entered by the Circuit Court of

DuPage County which quashed a search warrant and sup-

pressed the evidence seized pursuant to the authority of the

warrant. At issue is whether the warrant was sufficient under

the standards set forth in Aguilar v. Texas (1964), 378 U.S.

108, 12 L.Ed. 2d 723, 84S. Ct. 1509, and Spinelli v. United

States (1969), 393 U.S. 410, 21 L. Ed. 2d 637, 89 S. Ct. 584.

We affirm.

The facts are straightforward. On May 3, 1978, the Bloom-

ingdale Police Deparment received a handwritten, anony-

mous letter which had no return address. The letter recited as

follows:

“This letter is to inform you that you have a couple in

your town who strictly make their living on selling drugs.

They are Sue and Lance Gates, they live on Greenway,

off Bloomingdale Road, in the condominiums. Most of

their buys are done in Florida. Sue his wife drives their

2b

car to Florida, where she leaves it to be loaded up with

drugs, than flys [sic] back after she drops the car off in

Florida. May 3, she is driving down there again and

Lance will be flying down in a few days to drive it back.

At the time Lance drives the car back he has the trunk

loaded with over $100,000.00 in drugs. Presently they

have over $100,000 worth of drugs in their basement.

“They brag about the fact that they never have to

work, and make their entire living on pushers.

“I guarentee [sic] if you watch them carefully you will

make a big catch. They are friends with some big drug

dealers, who visit their house often.

Lance and Sue Gates

Greenway

In Condominiums”

On the same day the letter was received, Detective Charles

Mader of the Bloomingdale Police Department made an in-

quiry to the Secretary of State's Office regarding the driver's

license of one Lance Gates. The computer reply stated that an

Illinois Drivers License had been issued to a Lance B. Gates,

whose address was listed at 209 D, Dartmouth Drive, Bloom-

ingdale, Illinois. His physical description was given as follows:

Sex — Male

Date of Birth — July 13, 1947

Height — 5° 11”

Weight — 220 pounds

Hair — Brown

Eyes — Brown

Later the same day, Detective Mader contacted a confiden-

tial informant. Detective Mader had known this informant

for approximately two years during which time the informant

had provided the detective with information which resulted in

seven criminal convictions. This informant told the Detective

3b

that Lance B. Gates’ current address was 198 B. Greenway

Drive, Bloomingdale, Illinois.

Detective Mader then called Officer Ott of the Chicago

Police Department who at that time was assigned to O'Hare

Airport. Officer Ott reviewed flight information and stated

that L. Gates, phone number 980-8427, was scheduled to

depart Chicago-O’Hare on May 5, 1978, on Eastern Airlines

Flight 245, departing at 4:15 p.m. The flight was scheduled

from Chicago to Atlanta and then to West Palm Beach,

Florida.

Detective Mader then told the radio operator at the Bloom-

ingdale Police Department to call the Security Office of the Il-

linois Bell Telephone Company. The radio operator was told

that telephone number 980-8427 was a non-published num-

ber issued to Lance B. Gates whose address is 189 B Greenway

Drive, Bloomingdale, Illinois.

On May 5, 1978, Detective Mader was telephoned by Agent

William Morely of the Drug Enforcement Agency. He told

Mader that, pursuant to a prior arrangement with the Detec-

tive, he had maintained a surveillance on all passengers boar-

ding Flight 245. He told Mader that a person matching the

description of, and using the name Lance Gates had boarded

the flight.

Agent Morely called Mader the next day and told him that

an agent in Florida had just completed a surveillance on

Lance Gates in West Palm Beach. This Florida agent told

Morely that he observed the defendant remain in the airport

for approximately one hour after his arrival. He next saw him

take a taxi which the agent followed to the Holiday Inn in

West Palm Beach. The defendant went to a room which was

registered to Susan Gates. At approximately 7:00 a.m. on

May 6, 1978, the Florida agent saw Lance Gates and a female

leave the room, go to the parking lot, and get in a red vinyl

4b

over gray Mercury bearing Illinois license plates RS8437. The

Florida agent followed this Mercury northbound to an in-

terstate which is commmonly used by travelers to the Chicago

area. At that point the surveillance was terminated.

Agent Morely also told Detective Mader that the license

plate RS8437 was registered to the defendant but for a 1975

Hornet station wagon. Finally Agent Morely advised the

Detective that the approximate driving time from West Palm

Beach to Bloomingdale is 21-23 hours.

A complaint for search warrant was prepared and

presented for approval to an associate judge. The complaint

attached an affidavit signed by Detective Mader, which

recited substantially the same facts as set forth above, and in-

cluded a copy of the anonymous note as an attachment to the

affidavit.' The request for the issuance of the warrant was ap-

proved, and a search warrant was issued authorizing police to

search the person of both defendants, their condominium

located on Greenway in Bloomingdale, and the gray Mercury

driven by Lance Gates.

On May 7, 1978 at approximately 5:15 a.m., Lance and

Susan Gates arrived at the residence of 198 B Greenway Drive,

in Bloomingdale. Pursuant to the warrant, the police search-

ed the car and found “seven large burlap bundles of

cannabis” weighing in excess of 400 pounds. The residence

was then searched, and police discovered numerous rifles, a

handgun, a green garbage can containing approximately

twenty pounds of cannabis, three-fourths of a bale of can-

nabis, numerous baggies and hand-rolled cigarettes contain-

ing cannabis, and assorted weighing devices.

Both defendants were arrested and later were indicted on

various narcotics and firearms’ charges. Prior to trial, a mo-

' The text of the affidavit is set out in full in the appendix.

5b

tion to quash the arrest and suppress evidence was filed on

behalf of both defendants. The basis of the defendants’ mo-

tion was that the warrant failed to comply with the re-

quirements of Aguzlar v. Texas (1964), 378 U.S. 108, 12 L.

Ed. 723, 84S. Ct. 1509, in that the author of the anonymous

letter was not “reliable” and that there was no showing that

his or her information was obtained in a reliable manner.

After a hearing, the trial court granted the defendants’ mo-

tion to quash and suppress, and the State appeals.

The Fourth Amendment of the United States Constitution,

as made applicable to the states by the Fourteenth Amend-

ment, requires that search warrants be issued only upon a

showing of “probable cause.” Whenever a search warrant is

sought on the basis of information supplied by an anonymous

informant, it is necessary that the judge or magistrate issuing

the warrant be provided with sufficient facts and circum-

stances from which he can determine the reliability of the in-

former and the accuracy of his present information so that the

constitutional requirement or probable cause may be sat-

isfied. People v. Thomas (1975), 62 Ill. 2d 375, 378, 342 N.E.

2d 383, 384, People v. Isenberg (1977), 52 Ill. App. 3d 426,

429, 367 N.E. 2d 364.

The leading case of Aguilar v. Texas (1964), 378 U.S. 108,

12 L.Ed. 2d 723, 84S. Ct. 1509, set forth a two-prong test to

be applied by a judge or magistrate in testing the sufficiency

of an affidavit filed in support of the insurance of a search

warrant: first, the judge must be informed of some of the un-

derlying circumstances from which the informant concluded

that the defendants were involved in criminal activity (the

“basis of knowledge” prong); and secondly, the judge must be

informed of some of the underlying circumstances from

which the affiant concluded that the informer of his informa-

tion was worthy of belief (the “veracity” prong). The veracity

prong of the Aguzlar test may be, satisfied by showing either

6b

that the informant, whose identity need not be disclosed, is

“credible” the ("credibility” spur) or that his information is

“reliable” (the “reliability” spur). Aguélar, 378 U.S. at

114-115, 12 L.Ed. 2d at 729, 84S. Ct. at 1514.

Pursuant to the test set forth in Aguilar, the first question

we must address in this case is whether the affidavit was suffi-

cient to inform the issuing judge of the underlying cir-

cumstances from which the anonymous informant reached

his conclusions that defendants were engaged in criminal con-

duct. The affidavit attached to the complaint for search war-

rant does not reveal the manner in which the anonymous in-

former obtained or gathered his information. (Cf. People v.

Gomes (1980), 80 Ill. App. 3d 668, 399 N.E.2d 1030 (infor-

mant had personal knowledge that crime had been commit-

ted); People v. Swift (1978), 61 Ill. App 3d 486, 378 N.E.2d

234 (informer was requested by defendant to participate in

crime.) Thus our inquiry turns to whether the judge could

reasonably infer that the information was gained in a reliable

fashion because of the great amount of detail supplied by the

informer. Spinelli v. United States (1968), 393 U.S. 410, 417,

21 L. Ed. 2d 637, 644, 89 S. Ct. 584, ___.. In Spinelli, the

Supreme Court utilized the detail provided by the informant

in Draper v. United States (1959), 358 U.S. 307, 3 L. Ed. 2d

$27, 79 S. Ct. 329, as an example of the detail required to

satisfy the basis of knowledge prong of the Aguzlar test.

Using Draper as a standard, we are of the opinion that the

information supplied by the anonymous informer does not

contain sufficient detail to allow the issuing judge to

reasonably infer that the informer had obtained his informa-

tion in a reliable way. The anonymous letter contains no more

than general allegations that defendants were involved in nar-

cotics sales. Although the anonymous informer did state that

the Gates would soon drive to Florida and return with a load

7b

of drugs in their car, no details regarding this trip were set

forth in the letter. These general allegations fall far short of

the specifics necessary for a judge to properly infer that the

anonymous informer had gathered his information in a

reliable way. Nor could the judge reasonably assume that the

anonymous informer had personal knowledge on the basis of

the statements set forth in the anonymous letter. In contrast

to the case at bar, the informer in Draper supplied police with

a detailed physical description of the accused, the time and

date of his arrival in Denver by train, and a description of the

clothes he would be wearing. The informer also stated that

the accused had a habit of walking very fast. (Draper, 358

U.S. at 309-10, 3 L. Ed. 2d at 330, 79S. Ct. at .) When

confronted with such detail, a judge could reasonably infer

that the informer either had personal knowledge of the tran-

saction or had obtained his information in a reliable way. The

informer in the instant case set forth few details, however, and

he may have obtained his information through rumor or

through another unreliable method. Hence, the affidavit fails

to meet the basis of knowledge requirements set forth in

Spinelli and Aguilar.

The State argues that there is “substantial basis” for

crediting the information supplied by the anonymous infor-

mant because the allegations set forth in the handwritten let-

ter were fully corroborated by other independent sources. We

cannot agree. Partial corroborration of an informant’s story

may show his information to be “reliable;” however, such

corroboration only satisfies the second prong of the Aguilar

test, i.e., the veracity prong. Corroboration does not establish

that the informer obtained his information in a reliable man-

ner. (1 La Fave, Law of Search and Seizure: A Treatise on the

Fourth Amendment, sec. 3.3.) As stated by the court in the

8b

well-reasoned case of Stanley v. State (1974), 19 Md.App.

508, ___., 313 A.2d 847, 861-62:

“[Tihe ‘independent verification’ technique cannot

repair a defect in the ‘basis of knowledge’ prong. Verify-

ing the truth of part of a story does nothing to ascertain

the story's source or to check the informant’s perhaps in-

valid conclusions. ***

An informant who does not speak from personal

knowledge may well be passing on an amalgam of under-

world rumor and barroom gossip. If that be true, the

verification of one contributing rumor would do nothing

for the ‘veracity’ of other contributing rumors. An infor-

mant may have *** then received incriminating infor-

mation from a third party lending inculpatory color to

those observations. Merely verifying the informant’s in-

nocucus observations does nothing to verify the crucial

third party who supplied the damning catalyst.” (Em-

phasis ours.) (Accord, United States v. Hamilton (%Xh

Cir. 1974), 490 F.2d 598, Garner v. State (Del. 1973),

314 A.2d 908.)

Were we to accept the State’s argument, we would permit

government invasion of the privacy of persons solely on the

basis of anonymous tips, made perhaps out of spite or based

upon unsubstantiated rumor, merely because innocent

details have been verified by the observations of a police of-

ficer. Although some federal and state courts have accepted

the position advanced by the State in this case (see e.g.,

United States v. Tuley (5th Cir. 1977), 546 F.2d 1264 (over

dissent); United States v. Myers (D.C. Cir. 1976), 538 F2d 424

(over dissent); Horton v. State (1977), 262 Ark. 211, 555

S.W.2d 226, State v. Gilbert (1976), 24 Or. App. 907, 547

P.2d 632), we believe that neither the theory nor the cases are

sound and we refuse to follow them.

In view of our determination that the affidavit failed to

satisfy the basis of knowledge prong of the Aguilar test, we

9b

need not address any other issues in this case. For the reasons

stated above, the order of the Circuit Court of DuPage Coun-

ty is affirmed.

AFFIRMED.

SEIDENFELD, NASH, concur.

10b

APPENDIX

Affidavit filed in support of complaint for search warrant:

“I, CHARLES J. MADER, am a detective employed

by the Bloomingdale Police Department, DuPage Coun-

ty, Illinois. I have been so employed for the past five

years. On May 3, 1978, I received a letter sent by an

unknown citizen to the Bloomingdale Police Depart-

ment. I received the letter and the envelope in which it

was sent from Chief Patrick J. McMahon. A copy of the

letter and a transmittal envelope are attached hereto and

incorporated herein by reference.

“On May 3, 1978, I directed a Bloomingdale Police

Department radio operator to make a SOUNDEX

drivers license name inquiry with the Illinois Secretary of

State, Springfield, Illinois to determine whether they had

any record of a LANCE GATES residing in Blooming-

dale, Illinois. The SOUNDEX response established that

one LANCE B. GATES was issued an Illinois drivers

license which listed his address as 209 D. Dartmouth,

Bloomingdale, Illinois. A copy of the response sent by the

Secretary of State is attached hereto and incorporated

herein by reference.

“On May 3, 1978, I contacted a confidential infor-

mant known to me for the past two year period, I have

times, resulting in seven criminal arrests with convictions

in all cases. This confidential informant reviewed certain

financial records available to him and told me that he

located one LANCE B. GATES residing at 198 B. Green-

that GATES’ previous address was 209 D. Dartmouth,

Bloomingdale,

CONTINUED ON PAGE 2

1lb

COMPLAINT FOR SEARCH WARRANT NUMBER S

1603 CONTINUATION OF AFFIDAVIT OF CHARLES J.

MADER PAGE TWO

“On May 8, 1978, I contacted Officer Ott of the Chicago

Police Department at O'Hare Airport. Officer Ort

checked certain flight information available to him and

told me that one L. GATES, phone number 980-8427,

was registered on Eastern Airlines Flight number 245,

scheduled to depart O'Hare on 4:15 P.M. on May 5,

1978. Officer Ott told me that Flight 245 travels from

Chicago to Atlanta and then to West Palm Beach,

Florida.

“I then directed the radio operator to contact the

Security Office of Illinois Bell Telephone Company and

was told by the radio operator that 980-8427 was a non-

published phone numer issued to LANCE GATES at 189

B. Greenway Drive, Bloomingdale, Illinois.

“On May 5, 1978, I was contacted by Agent William

Morely of the Drug Enforcement Administration. He

state that, pursuant to prior arrangement between us, he

had maintained a surveillance on all passengers boarding

Eastern Airlines Flight number 245. He stated further

that in individual using the name LANCE GATES and

matching the physical description furnished by Sc cretary

of State in the attached message boarded Flight 245

bound for Florida.

“On May 6, 1978, Agent Morely contacted me and

said that Drug Enforcement Administration agents in

Florida had just completed a surveillance of LANCE

GATES in West Palm Beach, Florida. He told me that

the Federal agents in Florida observed:

1. GATES arrive in West Palm Beach, Florida via

Eastern Flight Number 245 and remain in the air-

port for one hour before taking a taxi to the West

Palm Beach Holiday Inn;

12b

2 . The room he entered was registered to one SUSAN

GATES;

3 . At 7:00 AM May 6, 1978, LANCE GATES and a

female left the Holiday Inn Room registered to

SUSAN GATES, and entered a red vinyl over gray

Mercury bearing Illinois 1978 license RS 8437;

4 . LANCE GATES and the female left the West Palm

Beach area driving the Mercury northbound on

that interstate highway commonly used by travelers

to the Chicago area.

“Agent Morely further told me that a check of the

records of the Illinois Secretary of State revealed that

license RS 8437 registers to LANCE B. GATES on a 1975

Hornet station wagon.

“Agent Morely also told me that the driving time from

West Palm Beach, Florida to Bloomingdale, Illinois is

approximately 21-23 hours.”

“/s/ DET. CHARLES J. MADER

Complainant”

“PAGE WO OF TWO PAGES

“s/ SUSCRIBED AND SWORN

TO BEFORE ME ON MAY 6, 1978

S. K. LEWIS

Assoc. Judge”

13b

Gnited States of America

State of Illinois,

Appellate Court, $8.

Second District, |

I, LOREN J. STROTZ, Clerk of the Appellate Court, in and for

said Second Judicial District of the State of Illinois, and the keeper

of the Records and Seal thereof, do hereby certify that the foregoing

is a true, full and complete copy of the Opinion of the said Ap-

peilate Court in the above entitled cause of record in my said office.

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have set my hand and

affixed the seal of the said Appellate Court, in Elgin,

in said State, this 1st day of April, A.D. 1980.

/$/ LOREN J. STROTZ

Clerk Appellate Court, Second

District.

jaug

le}uawejddns —

ans~dii.

In the Supreme Court of the

OCTOBER TERM, 1981

Lance GATES AND SUSAN GATES,

RESPONDENTS.

On Writ Of Certiorari To

The Supreme Court Of Illinois

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO AMEND OR ENLARGE

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Tyrone C. PAHNER

Attorney General

State of Illinois

Hersert Lee Caran

Matsourne A. Nok, Jr.

Assistant Attorneys General

188 W. Randolph Street

Suite 2200

Chicago, Illinois 60601

(312) 793-2570

. _ Pty he ty eS of ha — 248

ae x er < ee eS MB ee Se cae Rah OY SSR ee eee.

No. 81-430

In the Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1981

Tue STATE OF ILLINOIs,

PETITIONER,

vs.

LANCE GATES AND SUSAN GATES,

RESPONDENTS.

On Writ Of Certiorari To

The Supreme Court Of Illinois

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO AMEND OR ENLARGE

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Petitioner, the State of Illinois, by its attorney, TYRONE

C. FAHNER, Attorney General of the State of Illinois, moves

the Court to grant petitioner leave to amend or enlarge the

question presented by its Petition for Certiorari to include the

issue of whether the recently recognized good faith exception

to the exclusionary rule precludes application of the Fourth

Amendment exclusionary rule to the present case. Petitioner

presents this Motion pursuant to Rules 42 and 21(1)(a) of the

Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States.

In support of the above Motion petitioner states as follows:

1. On August 23, 1981, the State of Illinois filed the Peti-

tion for Writ of Certiorari in the above-captioned case and

formulated the following single question presented for review:

Whether detailed information provided to police by an anony-

mous informer, coupled with government corroboration of the

information, provide probable cause for the issuance of a

search warrant?

Petition at i.

2. This Court granted certiorari on January 11, 1982, in a

brief order that made no reference to the question presented;

the joint appendix and brief for petitioner were ordered filed

by February 25, 1982 and the case was tentatively scheduled

for argument in April.

3. On November 3, 1981, this court granted certiorari in

Taylor v. Alabama, No. 81-5152, 50 U.S.L.W. 3351, a case in

which the Supreme Court of Alabama decided, inter alia,

that it would be improper to apply the exclusionary rule to the

fruit of an illegal arrest (a confession) where the police were

justified at the time of the arrest in their good faith belief that

the arrest was made on probable cause. Taylor will be argued

in March. Both the State of Alabama and the amici support-

ing the State have made an argument based on the good faith

exception to the exclusionary rule, first given significant judi-

cial recognition in United States v. Williams, 622 F.2d 830,

846-7 (5th Cir. en banc, 1980), cert. den., 101 S. Ct. 946

(1981).

4. Although the good faith exception was not raised in the

present Petition, not argued directly by the State’s Attorney in

the Illinois courts and not discussed in the opinions of the Illi-

nois reviewing courts, the State of Illinois urges, based upon

this Court's decisions waiving the strict requirements of the

predecessors to United States Supreme Rules 21(1)(a) and

(h), that the Question Presented be amended or enlarged to

include the following:

Assuming, arguendo, that the information used to obtain the

search warrant did not satisfy Aguilar v. Texas, 378 U.S. 108

(1964), should the evidence obtained under the warrant never-

theless be admitted at trial because the police acted in a rea-

sonable good faith belief in the validity of the warrant?

5. This Court has in the past granted motions by petition-

ers to amend their Questions Presented to add issues in cases

which were taken on certiorari. E.g., Costello v. United

States, 362 U.S. 973, 365 U.S. 265, 284-85 (1961).

Also the Court has expressed its willingness to consider

points not raised and preserved below where changes ave

occurring in the law which will culminate in the overruling or

limiting of an authority or where a basic unfairness might

escape review if the Rules were strictly applied. Blonder-

Tongue Labs, Inc. v. University of Illinois Foundation, 402

U.S. 313, 319-321 (1971); Erie Railroad Co. v. Tompkéns,

304 U.S. 54, 66 (1938). See dissenting opinion of Mr. Justice

Black in Standard Industries v. Tigrett, Inc., 397 U.S. 586,

587 (1970) in which he maintained that the Court had fre-

quently allowed parties to raise issues for the first time on ap-

peal when there had been a significant change in the law since

the trial. See also, Stern & Gressman, Supreme Court Prac-

tice, (5th edition, 1978), sect. 6.27.

The present case was heard in the Illinois trial court and

briefed on direct appeal by the State before the good faith ex-

ception to the exclusionary rule was adopted by any reviewing

court in a significant, published opinion. Thus, petitioner's

motion to enlarge the question presented comes within the

circumstances and rulings in the Costello and Blonder-

Tongue cases where the additional issues raised were consid-

ered by this Court.

6. The facts leading to execution of the search warrant in

the present case make it a particularly appropriate one in

which to consider adopting and applying the good faith ex-

ception to the exclusionary rule. Before searching the Gates’

clothing, car, and residence for drugs, police respected the ju-

dicial preference for search warrants, going first to an assis-

tant state’s attorney to write up a complaint and then before

an associate judge for a warrant. The complaint for search

warrant covered two pages and was based upon official sur-

veillance of the Gates’ activities as well as on the detailed in-

formant’s letter (R.C. 131 and 136). When the warrant was

properly executed seven hours later, police recovered 400 Ibs.

of cannabis from the Gates’ car, approximately one bale of

cannabis found near weighing and distribution supplies in the

house and numerous firearms (R.C. 133-4). The decision to

suppress evidence obtained during the search was based upon

the alleged technical failure of the complaint for a warrant to

satisfy the test set down by this Court in Aguilar v. Texas, 378

U.S. 108 (1964).

The record in this case establishes that police acted on the

reasonable good faith belief that the assistant state’s attorney

and judge knew the law of search and seizure and produced a

valid warrant. The history of this litigation demonstrates that

the police and state's attorney cannot be faulted for failing to

identify an Aguilar flaw in the complaint. The issuing judge

and trial judge differed on the sufficiency of the complaint.

Furthermore, the Illinois Appellate Court and the Supreme

Court of Illinois seem to have differed on whether the com-

plaint satisfied one prong of the Aguilar test, while one of the

most experienced members of the Supreme Court, Justice

Moran, dissented from the majority's opinion and found the

warrant totally valid. (Appendix to Petition, pp. 12a, 18a and

7-8b).

WHEREFORE, petitioner asks that this Honorable Court

grant its Motion to Amend or Enlarge the Question Presented

for Review.

Respectfully submitted,

TYRONE C. FAHNER

Attorney General

State of Illinois

BY:

MELBOURNE A. NOEL, JR.

Assistant Attorney General

188 West Randolph St.,

Suite 2200

Chicago, Illinois 60601

(312) 793-2570

ee

as

—— i‘

-—-

>

lie.

3n the Supreme Court of the Anited States

Tue Stare or ILumNots,

Petitioner,

v.

LANcE GATES AND SusAN GATES,

Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari To

The Supreme Court of Illinois

JOINT APPENDIX

Tyrone C. FAHNER

Attorney General

State of Illinois

Paut P. Breset, Jr.

First Assistant Attorney General

Daniet M. Harris

Assistant Attorney General

160 North LaSalle Street

Room 800

Chicago, Illinois 60601

(312) 793-4714

Attorneys for Petitioner.

Printed by the Authority of the State of Illinois — {3-25-82}

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

Illinois Supreme Court Opinion ................- la

Illinois Appellate Court Opinion ................. Ib

Affidavit for Search Warrant ..................-. 10b

la

SUPREME COURT OPINION

Docket No. 53453 — Agenda 6 — January 1981.

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS,

Appellant,

v. LANCE GATES et al., Appellees.

MR. JUSTICE WARD delivered the opinion of the court:

On May 3, 1978, the Bloomingdale police department

received by mail an anonymous handwritten letter which al-

leged that Susan Gates and Lance Gates, her husband, were

planning to travel to Florida in a few days for the purpose of

obtaining illegal drugs. The letter read:

**This letter is to inform you that you have a

couple in your town who strictly make their living

on selling drugs. They are Sue and Lance Gates,

they live on Greenway, off Bloomingdale Rd. in

the condominiums. Most of their buys are done in

Florida. Sue his wife drives their car to Florida

where she leaves it to be loaded up with drugs, then

Lance flys [sic] down and drives it back. Sue flys

[sic] back after she drops the car off in Florida. May

3 she is driving down there again and Lance will be

flying down in a few days to drive it back. At the

time Lance drives the car back he has the trunk

loaded with over $100,000.00 in drugs. Presently

they have over $100,000.00 worth of drugs in their

basement.

They brag about the fact they never have to

work, and make their entire living on pushers.

I guarantee [sic] if you watch them carefully you

will make a big catch. They are friends with some

big drugs dealers, who visit their house often.

Lance & Sue Gates

Greenway

in Condominiums.”’

2a

The chief of police delivered the letter to Charles Mader, a

detective of the Bloomingdale police department and he re-

quested one of the department’s radio operators to seek as-

sistance from the Secretary of State’s office in Springfield in

obtaining a specific address for the Gates. That office advised

that an Illinois driver’s license had been issued to a Lance

Gates residing at a stated address in Bloomingdale. Mader

then communicated with a confidential informant who had,

he claimed, provided reliable information to Mader during

the previous two years. Upon examining certain financial

records to which the informant had access, he reported a new

address on Greenway Drive in Bloomingdale for the Lance

Gates who had previously resided at the address in Bloom-

ingdale furnished by the Secretary of State’s office.

Upon inquiry, Mader was told by an officer of the Chicago

police department assigned to O’Hare Airport that ‘‘L.

Gates’’ had made a reservation with Eastern Airlines on its

flight 245, which was to depart from O’ Hare on May 5, at

4:15 p.m. The final destination was West Palm Beach,

Florida.

On May 5, Mader was told by William Morely, an agent

of the Drug Enforcement Administration, that ‘‘Lance

Gates’’ had boarded Eastern Airlines flight 245 bound for

Florida. The following day Morely informed Mader that

Gates had arrived in West Palm Beach, had proceeded by

cab to the West Palm Beach Holiday Inn, and had entered a

room registered to Susan Gates. Agent Morely told him that

he observed Gates and an unidentified woman leave the

room at 7 a.m. and enter a red-vinyl-over-gray Mercury

with 1978 Illinois license number RS 8437. Records at the

Secretary of State’s office showed that the license plate was

registered for Lance B. Gates, but had been issued for a dif-

ferent automobile.

3a

Based on the anonymous letter, the described information

obtained from the law-enforcement authorities, and the veri-

fication of the address obtained from the confidential inform-

ant, Mader, on May 6, sought and obtained in the circuit

court of DuPage County, a search warrant for both the

Gates’ residence in Bloomingdale and the car they were driv-

ing in Florida.

At 5:15 a.m. on May 7, Lance and Susan Gates returned

by car to their home on Greenway Drive. They were imme-

diately served with a search warrant by waiting Blooming-

dale police officers. In the trunk of the Mercury the officers

found several large bundles of marijuana weighing a total of

approximately 350 pounds. A search of the Gates’ residence

uncovered more marijuana, weapons, ammunition, drug

paraphernalia, and several scales presumably used for

weighing the drugs. Police also ascertained that the couple

had cocaine in their possession. They were indicied for un-

lawful possession of cannabis with intent to deliver and un-

lawful possession of a controlled substance. Lance Gates was

separately indicted for possession of an unlicensed firearm.

The defendants filed a pretrial motion to quash the search

warrant and to suppress all physical evidence obtained as a

result of the search, arguing that the anonymous letter did

not set forth the underlying circumstances or manner in

which the informant acquired the information or that the in-

formation was reliable as required under the test for probable

cause described in Aguilar v. Texas (1964), 378 U.S. 108,-12

L.Ed. 2d 723, 84 S.Ct. 1509. The defendants also argued

that the separate evidence obtained by Detective Mader in

his independent investigations did not corroborate the

anonymous informant’s accusations that the Gateses were

involved in criminal activity so as to support the issuance of a

search warrant based on probable cause. The motions to

quash and to suppress evidence were allowed by the circuit

4a

court of DuPage County, and its action was affirmed by the

appellaie court (82 Ill. App. 3d 749). We granted the State’s

petition for leave to appeal. 73 Ill. 2d R. 315(a).

Both the Constitution of the United States (U.S. Const.,

amend. IV) and the Constitution of Illinois (Ill. Const. 1970,

art. I, sec. 6) provide assurance against unreasonable

searches and seizures of person and property. The determi-

nation of probable cause for the issuance of a search warrant

must be made by a ‘‘neutral and detached magistrate instead

of being judged by the officer engaged in the often competi-

tive enterprise of ferreting out crime.’’ (Johnson v. United

States (1948), 333 U.S. 10, 14, 92 L.Ed 436, 440, 68 S.Ct.

367, 369.) This determination also must be based upon the

sworn observations or on other sufficient facts or circum-

stances presented under oath before a magistrate. The Su-

preme Court in Aguilar v. Texas (1964), 378 U.S. 108, 12

L.Ed. 2d 723, 84 S.Ct. 1509, considering its decisions in

Giordenello v. United States (1958), 357 U.S. 480, 2 L.Ed. 2d

1503, 78 S.Ct. 1245, Johnson v. United States (1948), 333 U.S.

10, 92 L.Ed. 436, 68 S.Ct. 367, Nathanson v. United States

(1933), 290 U.S. 41, 78 L.Fd. 159, 54 §.Ct. 11, and United

States v. Lefkowitz (1932), 285 U.S. 452, 76 L.Ed. 877, 52

S.Ct. 420, announced the constitutional standard to be used

by courts in deciding whether a search warrant might prop-

erly issue when the complaint for the search warrant is based

in waole or in part upon information supplied by an anony-

mous or unidentified informant. The court stated:

**Although an affidavit may be based on hearsay

information and need not reflect the direct personal

observations of the affiant [citation], the magistrate

must be informed of some of the underlying circum-

stances from which the information concluded that

the narcotics were where he claimed they were, and

some of the underlying circumstances from which

5a

the officer concluded that the informant, whose

identity need not be disclosed [citation], was ‘credi-

ble’ or his information ‘reliable.’’’ 378 U.S. 108,

114, 12 L.Ed. 2d 723, 729, 84 S.Ct. 1509, 1514.

The first part of this standard or test is often referred to as

the ‘‘basis of knowledge prong’’ and the second part as the

**veracity prong.”’

In Aguilar, an officer of the Houston police department ap-

plied for a search warrant on the ground that “‘ ‘reliable in-

formation [had been received] from a credible perso,’ ’’ that

the defendant was known to have drugs on his premises for

purposes of sale and personal use. The court described the af-

fidavit as containing ‘‘ ‘no affirmative allegation that the af-

fiant spoke with personal knowledge of the matters contained

therein’’’ or ‘‘that the affiant’s unidentified source ‘spoke

with personal knowledge.’’’ The court further stated that

“*the source here merely suspected, believed or concluded

that there were narcotics in petitioner’s possession. The

magistrate here certainly should not ‘judge for himself the

persuasiveness of the facts relied on * * * to show probable

cause.’ He necessarily accepted ‘without question’ the in-

formant’s ‘suspicion,’ ‘belief’ or ‘mere conclusion.’’’ (378

U.S. 108, 109, 113-14, 12 L.Ed. 2d 723, 725, 728-29, 84

S.Ct. 1509, 1511, 1513-14, quoting Nathanson and

Giordenello.) The court held that the evidence obtained from a

search conducted with the warrant was inadmissible and

remanded the case for further proceedings.

The first prong, or the ‘‘basis of knowledge’’ part of the

test announced in Aguilar, is concerned with the facts and cir-

cumstances showing that the informant knew that the person

named has been or will be involved in criminal conduct. The

most common means of satisfying this requirement is by the

informant’s declaration that he is revealing personal knowl-

edge gathered through some physical sensory faculty such as

6a

that of sight, smell or sound. (See, ¢.g., Stanley v. State (1974),

19 Md. App. 507, 531, 313 A.2d 847, 861). Statements con-

taining mere conclusions of criminal activity without a state-

ment regarding independent facts and personal observations

do not provide a sufficient basis for a neutral magistrate to

decide to issue a search warrant.

Looking at the anonymous handwritten letter here one can

only observe that it does not contain any statement showing

that the information was acquired through firsthand or per-

sonal knowledge of the informant. The informant states that

the defendants make their living by selling drugs but he does

not set out the source of this knowledge or the ground for his

conclusion. There is the statement that the defendants

boasted of their illegal occupation, but one does not know

whether they made these comments to the informant or

whether this was hearsay. Similarly, the informant states

that the defendants will be returning from Florida with over

$100,000 in drugs and that there is over $100,000 worth of

drugs in their basement. No basis of knowledge for this is

given. There is no statement made that the informant ever

saw drugs or was inside the defendants’ vesidence or even

that someone had told him of any of these claimed facts. The

letter set out mere conclusions and contained no statements

of personal observation or firsthand knowledge.

The second part of the Aguilar test, often, as noted, re-

ferred to as the ‘‘veracity prong,’’ requires a showing of the

underlying circumstances from which it was concluded that

the informant was ‘‘‘credible’’’ or his information

***reliable.’’’ (378 U.S. 108, 114-15, 12 L.Ed.2d 723, 729,

84 S.Ct. 1509, 1514.) Though it is not necessary to consider

this ‘‘prong’’ where the ‘‘basis of knowledge’ part has not

been satisfied, we shall comment on it because of the State’s

arguments discussed later relating to self-verifying detail and

corroborating evidence as support for the search warrant

here.

7a

The name of an informant need not be revealed to the

magistrate before a search warrant is issued so long as it is

established that the informant is credible. This requirement

is usually satisifed by reciting in the affidavit previous in-

stances in which the affiant police officer has obtained infor-

mation from the informant that led to various arrests and

convictions. (See McCray v. Illinois (1967), 386 U.S. 300, 18

L.Ed.2d 62, 87 S.Ct. 1056; People v. Garcia (1975), 27 Ill.

App. 3d 396.) Here, the informant’s identity was not known

to the affiant, Detective Mader. There was simply no basis

on which either Mader or the magistrate could conclude that

the anonymous person was credible.

The failure to satisfy under Aguilar that the information

was credible does not of itself mean that the ‘‘veracity

prong’’ requirements cannot be met. It may be satisfied by a

showing that the informant’s tip was reliable. United States v.

Harris (1971), 403 U.S. 573, 29 L.Ed. 2d 723, 91 S.Ct. 2075,

shows that a plurality of the court considered that “be alterna-

tive requirement of reliability of the information supplied

was satisfied where the informant, in giving the information,

admitted activities which were against his penal interest. In

Harris a warrant was issued to Federal and local officers per-

mitting them to enter and search the defendant’s premises

where they found containers of whiskey on which the Federal

tax had not been paid. The affidavit accompanying the re-

quest for a warrant stated that information was received from

an individual who claimed, as a confederate, personal knowl-

edge that the defendant was a ‘‘trafficker of nontaxpaid

distilled spirits.’’ (403 U.S. 573, 575, 29 L.Ed. 2d 723, 729,

91 S.Ct. 2075, 2077.) The court held that the informant’s ad-

mission of complicity with the defendant in these activities

over an extended period of time, which subjected him to

possible indictment under section 5205(a) of title 26 of the

United States Code (26 U.S.C. sec. 5205(a)), generated

some measure of reliability. It was held that under the facts

8a

and circumstances of the case that probable cause had been

established. Assuming, arguendo, that we were to follow the

view of the plurality in His it would have no significance,

because there was no admission against penal interest here.

Concluding that the letter standing alone cannot satisfy

the requirements under Aguilar, we consider now the State’s

contention that the ‘‘self-verifying detail’’ within the letter,

coupled with the corroborating nature of the information ac-

quired by Detective Mader, established probable cause for

the issuance of the search warrant.

The notion of ‘‘self-verifying detail’’ is found in Spinelli v.

United States (1969), 393 U.S. 410, 417, 21 L.Ed. 2d 637,

644, 89 S.Ct. 584, 589. The court had granted certiorari

*‘[b]elieving it desireable that the principles of Aguilar should

be further explicated * * *.’’ (393 U.S. 410, 412, 21 L.Ed.

2d 637, 641, 89 S.Ct. 584, 587.) There are important resem-

blances between the circumstances here and those in Spinelli.

A search warrant had been issued, and the affidavit sub-

mitted in support of it cited a report from an unidentified in-

formant and also one of an independent FBI investigation

which was said to corroborate the informant’s tip. The affi-

davit was more persuading than the one here. It described

the informant as ‘‘a confidential, reliable informant’’ and

stated that Spinelli was known to the affiant-special agent

and to Federal and local law-enforcement officers as a

gambler and bookmaker. According to the affidavit the in-

formant had advised the FBI that Spinelli was operating a

handbook and was using specified telehone numbers in its

operation. The Supreme Court held that the affidavit was in-

sufficient and that the search warrant had been issued

without probable caus~. The court observed: ‘“Though the

affiant swore that his confidant was ‘reliable,’ he offered the

magistrate no reason in support of this conclusion. Perhaps

even more important is the fact Aguilar’s other test has not

9a

been satisfied. The tip does not contain a sufficient statement

of the underlying circumstances from which the informer

concluded that Spinelli was running a bookmaking opera-

tion. We are not told how the FBI’s source received his infor-

mation — it is not alleged that the informant personally ob-

served Spinelli at work or that he had ever placed a bet with

him. Moreover, if the informant came by the information in-

directly, he did not explain why his sources were reliable.

[Citation.] In the absence of a statement detailing the man-

ner in which the information was gathered, it is especially

important that the tip described the accused’s criminal ac-

tivity in sufficient detail that the magistrate may know that

he is relying on something more substantial than a casual

rumor circulating in the underworld or an accusation based

merely on an individual’s general reputation’’ (393 U.S.

410, 416, 21 L.Ed. 2d 637, 643-44, 89 S.Ct. 584, 589). As

can be said of the investigative activities by the law-enforce-

ment officers here, the court in Spinelli stated: ‘‘[W]e find

nothing alleged which would permit the suspicions engen-

dered by the informant’s report to ripen into a judgment that

a crime was probably being committed. As we have already

seen, the allegations detailing the FBI’s surveillance of

Spinelli and its investigation of the telephone company

records contain no suggestion criminal conduct when taken

by themselves — and they are not endowed with an aura of

suspicion by virtue of the informer’s tip.’’ (393 U.S. 410,

418, 21 L.Ed. 2d 637, 645, 89 S.Ct. 584, 590.) The court

commented that the report from the informant was meager

and could easily have been obtained from an offhand remark

heard at a neighborhood bar.

The court in Spinelli did say that while an affidavit may not

satisfy the ‘‘basis of knowledge’’ prong of the Aguilar test by

failing to set out adequately the circumstances explaining

how the confidential information was obtained, this may be

10a

cured if the information set out is so detailed that a magis-

trate ‘‘could reasonably infer that the informant had gained

his information in a reliable way.’’ (393 U.S. 410, 417, 21

L.Ed. 2d 637, 644, 89 S.Ct. 584, 589.) Thus an informant’s

report, if detailed sufficiently, may in effect verify itself in the

sense that the magistrate, when presented with such detail,

can reasonably infer that the informant had gained his infor-

mation in a reliable way and tay be a sufficient basis for a

magistrate’s finding of probable cause for the issuance of a

search warrant. The court cited Draper v. United States (1959),

358 U.S. 307, L.Ed. 2d 327, 79 S.Ct. 329, a pre-Aguilar deci-

sion, as a ‘‘suitable benchmark’’ upon which to measure this

sufficiency of detail. (393 U.S. 410, 21 L.Ed. 2d 637, 644, 89

S.Ct. 584, 589.) It is important to observe that in Draper

there was not, as here or in Spinelli, an anonymous or uniden-

tified informant but a named informant whose information,

when given to law-enforcement officers on earlier occasions,

had been reliable.

The use of self-verifying detail to find probable cause is

limited, though, to a situation where the informant has not

otherwise disclosed the manner in which he has obtained his

information and thus has failed to satisfy the ‘‘basis of knowl-

edge’’ prong. While the specificity of detail may be used to

supply the basis-of-knowledge requireinent, it cannot estab-

lish that the informant was credible or his information reli-

able, in and of itself, so as to meet Aguilar’s ‘‘veracity’’

prong. The court in Stanley v. State (1974), 19 Md. App. 507,

533, 313 A.2d 847, 862, described this when it observed:

‘*The notion that great detail implies personal observation

rather than the over-hearing of barroom gossip, presupposes

an honest informant. If the informant were concocting a

story out of the whole cloth, he could fabricate in fine detail

as easily as with rough brush strokes. Minute detail tells us

nothing about ‘veracity.’’’ See also People v. Linder (1975), 24

lla

Ill. App. 3d 995; Note, Probable Cause And The First-Time In-

former: United States v. Harris, 403 U.S. 573 (1971), 43 Colo.

L. Rev. 357, 362 (1972).

Self-verifying detail discussed in Spinelli as a means of

satisfying the basis-of-knowledge prong must be accepted

with great circumspection. This was expressed by Mr.

Justice Harlan when, as appears in the quotation above from

Spinelli, he cautioned that the tip must describe the claimed

criminal activity in detail adequate to show the magistrate

that he is relying on information more substantial than

casual rumor or an accusation founded only on the accused’s

genera! reputation. We cannot say that the information pro-

vided here was in sufficient detail to lead a magistrate to con-

clude that the tip was the product of firsthand knowledge or

personal observation.

That the anonymous informant gave the name of the street

where the defendants resided and stated that they would be

driving from Florida in early May with drugs in the trunk of

their car does not even meet the specificity of detail required

by the court in Draper v. United States (1959), 358 U.S. 307, 3

L.Ed. 2d 327, 79 S.Ct. 329, so as to cure the existing defi-

ciency of the ‘‘basis of knowledge’’ prong. Nor can it be rea-

s aably concluded that the information in the letter was ac-

quired through first-hand knowledge rather than by rumor.

Also, we reiterate and emphasize that here the informant was

anonymous. In Draper the informant was named and iden-

tified as one who earlier had given information to law en-

forcement officers that had been reliable.

The corroborative evidence gathered by Detective Mader,

when coupled with the ‘‘detail’’ of the informant’s letter, did

not constitute probable cause under the tests of Aguilar. The

appellate court, in addressing this question of corroborative

evidence, rejected the State’s contention that corroboration

12a

can be used to satisfy the ‘‘veracity’’ prong as well as the

“*basis of knowledge’’ prong of the Aguilar test. The court

held that partial corroboration may be considered only to

support the contention that the information obtained was re-

liable. Citing Stanley v. State (1974), 19 Md. App. 508, 531,

313 A.2d 847, 861-62, the court held that corroboration may

not serve as a means of satisfying the ‘‘basis of knowledge’”’

prong.

Courts are not in agreement on the question of whether

partial corroboration, combined with an informant’s tip,

may cure a deficiency in either prong of the Aguilar test. See,

e.g., 1 LaFave, Search and Seizure sec. 3.3 (1978); Moylan,

Hearsay and Probable Cause: An Aguilar and Spinelli Primer, 25

Mercer L. Rev. 741 (1974); Stanley v. State (1974), 19 Md.

App. 507, 313 A.2d 847.

We need not consider this question, however, since the na-

ture of the corroborating ‘‘evidence’’ in this case would

satisfy neither the ‘‘basis of knowledge’ nor the ‘‘veracity”’

prong of Aguilar. Looking to the affidavit submitted as sup-

port for Detective Mader’s request that a search warrant

issue, we note that the corroborative evidence here was only

of clearly innocent activity. Mader’s independent investiga-

tion revealed only that Lance and Susan Gates lived on

Greenway Drive; that Lance Gates booked passage on a

flight to Florida; that upon arriving he entered a room

registered to his wife; and that he and his wife left the hotel

together by car. The corroboration of innocent activity is in-

sufficient to support a finding of probable cause. See Whiteley

v. Warden of Wyoming State Penitentiary (1971), 401 U.S. 560,

567, 28 L.Ed. 2d 306, 312-13, 91 S. Ct. 1031, 1036.

For the reasons given above, the judgment of the appellate

court is affirmed.

Judgment affirmed.

13a

MR. JUSTICE MORAN, dissenting:

The majority concludes that the letter c mbined with the

facts gleaned from the police investigation does not satisfy

either prong of the Aguilar test. I disagree. As the opinion

points out, the letter did not reveal that the informant had

personal knowledge of the criminal activity, the method by

which the ‘‘basis of knowledge’’ prong is generally satisfied.

However, the prong can be satisfied by sufficiently specific

detail and corroborating information. (Spinelli v. United States

(1969), 393 U.S. 410, 416-17, 21 L. Ed. 2d 637, 644, 89 S.

Ct. 584, 589.) Tha’ the necessary specificity of the initial in-

formation and the requisite corroboration were present here

can be demonstrated by a comparison with three United

States Supreme Court cases.

Draper v. United States (1959), 358 U.S. 307, 3 L..Ed.2d

327, 79 S.Ct. 329, involved an arrest without a warrant.

There, an informant gave a Federal narcotics agent informa-

tion regarding narcotics law violations. On a motion to sup-

press, the agent testified that he ‘‘had always found the infor-

mation given by [the informant] to be accurate and

reliable.’’ (358 U.S. 307, 309, 3 L.Ed.2d 327, 329, 79 S.Ct.

329, 331.) No underlying facts established this conclusion.

However, the informant told the agent that Draper had gone

to Chicago the day before by train and that he would return

to Denver by train with three ounces of heroin on one of two

specified mornings. In addition, the informant described

Draper’s physical appearance, the clothes he was wearing,

that he would be carrying a tan zipper bag, and that he

walked quickly. The court found that the agent had probable

cause to arrest when a man fitting Draper’s description

stepped off the specified train.

l4a

In Aguilar v. Texas (1964), 378 U.S. 108, 12 L.Ed. 2d 723,

84 S.Ct. 1509, police officers, in support of their application

for a search warrant, submitted an affidavit stating:

‘*Affiants have received reliable information from

a credible person and do believe that heroin, mari-

juana, barbiturates and other narcotics and narcot-

ic paraphernalia are being kept at the above de-

scribed premises for the purpose of sale and use

contrary to the provisions of the law.’’ (378 U.S.

108, 109, 12 L.Ed. 2d 723, 725, 84 S.Ct. 1509,

1511.)

The court found that the information merely reflected the

informant’s ‘‘ ‘suspicion,’ ‘belief’ or ‘mere conclusion.’”’

(378 U.S. 108, 114, 12 L.Ed. 2d 723, 729, 84 S.Ct. 1509,

1514.) In so holding, it established the two-pronged standard

for evaluating if a search warrant should issue:

**[ T]he magistrate must be informed of some of the

underlying circumstances from which the inform-

ant concluded that the narcotics were where he

claimed they were, and some of the underlying cir-

cumstances from which the officer concluded that

the informant, whose identity need not be disclosed

[citation], was ‘credible’ or his information ‘relia-

ble.’’’ 378 U.S. 108, 114, 12 L.Ed. 2d 723, 729, 84

S.Ct. 1509, 1514.

With this test as the standard, the Supreme Court decided

Spinelli v. United States (1969), 393 U.S. 410, 21 L.Ed. 637, 89

S.Ct. 584. In that case, the affidavit stated that Spinelli was

known to law-enforcement agents as a bookmaker and a

gambler, and that the FBI had ‘‘been informed by a confi-

dential reliable informant that William Spinelli is operating a

handbook and accepting wagers and disseminating wagering

information by means of telephones which have been

15a

assigned and numbers WYdown 4-0029 and WYdown

4-0136.’’ 393 U.S. 410, 414, 21 L.Ed. 2d 637, 642, 89 S.Ct.

584, 588.

The court contrasted the informant’s tip with the informa-

tion provided by informant in Draper. The court concluded

that a magistrate could infer from the tip in Draper that the

informant had gained his information in a reliable way

whereas, in the case before it, the report could have been ob-

tained from an offhand remark heard at a neighborhood bar.

The court also found that the investigative police work in

Draper corroborated much more than one small detail and

resulted in the inference that the report was reliable. In con-

trast, the investigation in Spinelli corroborated only that

Spinelli could have used two telephones for gambling or for

some other purpose, and was insufficient to support the reli-

ability of the information. The court stated:

**{In Draper), the police, upon meeting the inbound

Denver train on the second morning specified by

informer Hereford, saw a man whose dress cor-

responded precisely to Hereford’s detailed descrip-

tion. It was then apparent that the informant had

not been fabricating his report out of whole cloth;

since the report was of the sort which in common

experience may be recognized as having been

obtained in a reliable way, it was perfectly clear

that probable cause had been established.’’ 393

U.S. 410, 417-18, 21 L.Ed. 2d 637, 644. 89 S.Ct.

584, 590.

When comparing the affidavits in Aguilar and Spinelli and

the testimony of the agent in Draper to the affidavit here, it is

clear that this case is more similar to Draper, than to Aguilar

and Spinelli. In Aguilar, the information in the affidavit con-

sisted of mere conclusions and did not satisfy either prong of

the standard established here. Similarly, in Spinelli the

16a

affidavit did not contain a sufficient statement of the under-

lying circumstances from which the magistrate could con-

clude that the informer had knowledge that Spinelli was run-

ning 2 bookmaking operatio.:. Further, the court found that

although the affiant swore that his confidant was reliable, he

offered the magistrate no reason in support of this conclusion.

In this case, however, as in Draper, a specific, detailed and

future sequence of events was supplied by the informant’s let-

ter. As already stated, in Draper the tip was that a man fitting

a particular description had gone to Chicago and would be

arriving on a particular train in Denver on one of two

specified mornings carrying three ounces of heroin. Here,

the letter revealed that on May 3, in compliance with their

usual procedure, Sue Gates would be driving down to

Florida to purchase drugs. It further stated that Lance Gates

would be flying down a few days later to drive their car back

to Bloomingdale carrying over $100,000 in drugs in the

trunk. The police investigation showed that on May 5 a per-

son matching Lance Gates’ description flew to West Palm

Beach, Florida, and proceeded to the Holiday Inn West to a

room registered to Susan Gates. On May 6, 7 a.m., Gates

and an unidentified female left the motel driving a red-vinyl-

over-gray Mercury. The investigation disclosed that Gates

and the woman left the West Palm Beach area driving north-

bound on an interstate highway and that the driving time to

Bloomingdale was 21 to 23 hours. In this case, as in Draper,

every detail of the informant’s information was corroborated

by the police investigation. The specific, detailed informa-

tion in the letter combined with the corroboration clearly

indicates that the informant had an underlying basis of

knowledge, satisfying Aguilar’s first prong.

In addition, the specific information contained in the letter

which was then corroborated proved the informant’s state-

ments to be credible and reliable, thereby satisfying Aguilar’s

17a

second prong. The majority opinion attempts to distinguish

Draper by observing in that case there was a named informant

who had given the agent reliable information on other

occasions. However, the agent’s statement as to the infor-

mant’s reliability was a mere conclusion. It is questionable

whether that naked assertion would satisfy Aguilar’s second

prong in that it does not present any underlying

circumstances from which the judge could determine if the

informant is credible or his information reliable. That

statement is not essentially different from the one made in

Spinelli that the ‘‘informant was reliable.’’ The point is,

however, that under the court’s analysis in Spinelli, the result

in Draper, in light of Aguilar, does not hinge on the mere

averment that the informant had previously given reliable

information. Rather, the determining factor in establishing

probable cause and complying with both prongs of Aguilar is

the specificity of the tip combined with the police verification

by investigation.

Finally, the majority, citing Whiteley v. Warden of Wyoming

State Penitentiary (1971), 401 U.S. 560, 567, 28 L.Ed. 2d 306,

312-13, 91 S.Ct. 1031, 1036, finds that the corroborating in-

formation combined with the tip would not satisfy either

prong of the Aguilar test because the corroborating evidence

was of clearly innocent activity. This conclusion is incorrect.

First, in Whiteley, the corroborating evidence was simply that

the sheriff knew the defendants and the kind of car they

drove. The court in Whiteley specifically stated:

‘*{ T]he additional information acquired by the ar-

resting officers must in some sense be corrobora-

tive of the informer’s tip that the arrestees com-

mitted the felony or, as in Draper itself, were in the

process of committing the felony.’’ 401 U.S. 560,

567, 28 L.Ed. 2d 306, 312-13, 91 S.Ct. 1031, 1036.

18a

In Draper, the corroborating information also related to in-

nocent activity — a man fitting a particular description

stepped off a train on a specific day carrying a tan zipper bag.

Yet, the court in Whiteley, as well as in Spinelli, clearly held

that this type of detailed information can be used to corrobo-

rate an informant’s tip. The key is whether the corroborative

evidence is endowed with an aura of suspicion by virtue of

the informant’s tip. (See Spinelli v. United States (1969), 393

U.S. 410, 418, 21 L.Ed. 2d 637, 645, 89 S.Ct. 584, 590.) In

this case, just as in Drpaer, seemingly innocent activity

became suspicious in light of the initial tip.

Here, the police went through the desired procedure of ob-

taining a warrant. The judge had before him, by way of

affidavit, information from which he reasonably could con-

clude that the informant had knowledge that the Gates were

involved in criminal activity and that the information was

reliable. Under the standard enunciated in Spinelli, the judge

could conclude he was relying on more than casual rumor or

reputation and that the report had not been fabricated ‘‘out

of whole cloth.’’ (See Spinelli v. United States (1969), 393 U.S.

410, 416, 417, 21 L.Ed. 2d 637, 644, 89 S.Ct. 584, 590.)

Probable cause was determined by a neutral and detached

judge. (See Johnson v. United States (1948), 333 U.S. 10, 14, 92

L.Ed. 436, 440, 68 S.Ct. 367, 369.) Issuance of a search

warrant in the instant case is consistent with the rationale

underlying Aguilar, as applied in Spinelli, and does net

attenuate one’s right to be free from unreasonable searches

and seizures as guaranteed by the United States and Illinois

constitutions.

For the above-stated reasons, I must respectfully dissent.

MR. JUSTICE UNDERWOOD joins in this dissent.

ib

APPELLATE COURT OPINION

(Filed April 1, 1980)

NO. 78-570

IN THE APPELLATE COURT OF ILLINOIS

SECOND DISTRICT

PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS,

Plaintiff-Appellant, Appeal from the Circuit

Court

v. of the 18th Judicial Circuit,

LANCE GATES AND

SUSAN GATES, DuPage County, Illinois

Defendant-Appellees.

Mr. JUSTICE LINDBERG delivered the opinion of the

court.

The State appeals on order entered by the Circuit Court of

DuPage County which quashed a search warrant and sup-

pressed the evidence seized pursuant to the authority of the

warrant. At issue is whether the warrant was sufficient under

the standards set forth in Aguilar v. Texas (1964), 378 U.S.

108, 12 L.Ed. 2d 723, 84 S.Ct. 1509, and Spinelli v. United

States (1969), 393 U.S. 410, 21 L.Ed. 2d 637, 89 S.Ct. 584.

We affirm.

The facts are straightforward. On May 3, 1978, the

Bloomingdale Police Department received a handwritten,

anonymous letter which had no return address. The letter

recited as follows:

**This letter is to inform you that you have a

couple in your town who strictly make their living

on selling drugs. They are Sue and Lance Gates,

2b

they live on Greenway, off Bloomingdale Road, in

the condominiums. Most of their buys are done in

Florida. Sue his wife drives their car to Florida,

where she leaves it to be loaded up with drugs, then

flys [stc] back after she drops the car off in Florida

May 3, she is driving down there again and Lance

will be flying down in a few days to drive it back. At

the time Lance drives the car back he has the trunk

loaded with over $100,000.00 in drugs. Presently

they have over $100,000 worth of drugs in their

basement.

**They brag about the fact that they never have

to work, and make their entire living on pushers.

**I guarentee [sic] if you watch them carefully

you will make a big catch. They are friends with

some big drug dealers, who visit their house often.

Lance and Sue Gates

Greenway

in Condominiums’”’

On the same day the letter was received, Detective Charles

Mader of the Bloomingdale Police Department made an

inquiry to the Secretary of State’s Office regarding the

driver’s license of one Lance Gates. The computer reply

stated that an Illinois Drivers License had been issued to a

Lance B. Gates, whose address was listed at 209 D, Dart-

mouth Drive, Bloomingdale, Illinois. His physical descrip-

tion was given as follows:

Sex -— Male

Date of Birth -— July 13, 1947

Height — 5'11”

Weight — 220 pounds

Hair — Brown

Eyes — Brown

Later the same day, Detective Mader contacted a

confidential informant. Detective Mader had known this in-

formant for approximately two years during which time the

informant had provided the detective with information

which resulted in several criminal convictions. This inform-

ant toid the Detective that Lance B. Gates’ current address

was 198 B. Greenway Drive, Bloomingdale, Illinois.

Detective Mader then called Officer Ott of the Chicago

Police Department who at that time was assigned to O’ Hare

Airport. Officer Ort reviewed flight information and stated

that L. Gates, phone number 980-8427, was scheduled to de-

part Chicago-O’ Hare on May 5, 1978, on Eastern Airlines

Flight 245, departing at 4:15 p.m. The flight was scheduled

from Chicago to Atlanta and then to West Palm Beach,

Florida.

Detective Mader then told the radio operator at the

Bloomingdale Police Department to call the Security Office

of the Illinois Bell Telephone Company. The radio operator

was told that telephone number 980-8427 was a non-

published number issued to Lance B. Gates whose address is

189 B Greenway Drive, Bloomingdale, Illinois.

On May 5, 1978, Detective Mader was telephoned by

Agent William Morely of the Drug Enforcement Agency. He

told Mader that, pursuant to a prior arrangement with the

Detective, he had maintained a surveillance on all passen-

gers boarding Flight 245. He told Mader that a person

matching the description of, and using the name Lance

Gates had boarded the flight.

Agent Morely called Mader the next day and told him that

an agent in Florida had just completed a surveillance on

Lance Gates in West Palm Beach. This Florida agent told

4b

Morely that he observed the defendant remain in the airport

for approximately one hour after his arrival. He next saw

him take a taxi which the agent followed to the Holiday Inn

in West Palm Beach. The defendant went to a room which

was registered to Susan Gates. At approximately 7:00 a.m.

on May 6, 1978, the Florida agent saw Lance Gates and a fe-

male leave the room, go to the parking lot, and get in a red

vinyl over gray Mercury bearing Illinois license plates

RS8437. The Florida agent followed this Mercury north-

bound to an interstate which is commonly used by travelers

to the Chicago area. At that point the surveillance was

terminated.

Agent Morely also told Detective Mader that the license

plate RS8437 was registered to the defendant but for a 1975

Hornet station wagon. Finally Agent Morely advised the

Detective that the approximate driving time from West Palm

Beach to Bloomingdale is 21-23 hours.

A complaint for search warrant was prepared and pre-

sented for approval to an associate judge. The complaint at-

tached an affidavit signed by Detective Mader, which recited

substantially the same facts as set forth above, and included a

copy of the anonymous note as an attachment to the af-

fidavit.' The request for the issuance of the warrant was ap-

proved, and a search warrant was issued authorizing police

to search the person of both defendants, their condominium

located on Greenway in Bloomingdale, and the gray Mer-

cury driven by Lance Gates.

On May 7, 1978 at approximately 5:15 a.m., Lance and

Susan Gates arrived at the residence of 198 B Greenway

Drive, in Bloomingdale. Pursuant to the warrant, the police

' The text of the affidavit is set out in full in the appendix.

5b

searched the car and found ‘‘seven large burlap bundles of

cannabis’’ weighing in excess of 400 pounds. The residence

was then searched, and police discovered numerous rifles, a

handgun, a green garbage can containing approximately

twenty pounds of cannabis, three-fourths of a bale of can-

nabis, numerous baggies and hand-rolled cigarettes contain-

ing cannabis, and assorted weighing devices.

Both defendants were arrested and later were indicted on

various narcotics and firarms’ charges. Prior to trial, a mo-

tion to quash the arrest and suppress evidence was filed on

behalf of both defendants. The basis of the defendants’ mo-

tion was that the warrant failed to comply with the re-

quirements of Aguilar v. Texas (1964), 378 U.S. 108, 12

L.Ed.723, 84 S.Ct. 1509, in that the author of the anony-

mous letter was not ‘‘reliable’’ and that there was no show-

ing that his or her information was obtained in a reliable

manner. After a hearing, the trial court granted the defen-

dants’ motion to quash and suppress, and the State appeals.

The Fourth Amendment of the United States Constitu-

tion, as made applicable io the states by the Fourteenth

Amendment, requires that search warrants be issued only

upon a showing of ‘‘probable cause.’’ Whenever a search

warrant is sought on the basis of information supplied by an

anonymous informant, it is necessary that the judge or

magistrate issuing the warrant be provided with sufficient

facts and circumstances from which he can determine the

reliability of the informer and the accuracy of his present in-

formation so that the constitutional requirement or probable

cause may be satisfied. People v. Thomas (1975), 62 Ill.2d 375,

378, 342 N.E.2d 383, 384, People v. Isenberg (1977), 52 Ill.

App. 3d 426, 429, 367 N.E.2d 364.

The leading case of Aguilar v. Texas (1964), 378 U.S. 108,

12 L.Ed.2d 723, 84 S.Ct. 1509, set forth a two-prong test to

6b

be applied by a judge or magistrate in testing the sufficiency

of an affidavit filed in support of the insurance of a search

warrant: first, the judge must be informed of some of the

underlying circumstances from which the informant con-

cluded that the defendants were involved in criminal activity

(the ‘‘basis of knowledge’’ prong); and secondly, the judge

must be informed of some of the underlying circumstances

from which the affiant concluded that the informer of his in-

formation was worthy of belief (the ‘‘veracity’’ prong). The

veracity prong of the Aguilar test may be, satisfied by showing

either that the informant, whose identity need not be dis-

closed, is ‘‘credible’’ the (‘“‘credibility’’ spur) or that his in-

formation is ‘‘reliable’’ (the ‘‘reliability’’ spur). Aguilar, 378

U.S. at 114-115, 12 L.Ed.2d at 729, 84 S.Ct. at 1514.

Pursi,ant to the test set forth in Aguilar, the first question

we must address in this case is whether the affidavit was suffi-

cient to inform the issuing judge of the underlying cir-

cumstances from which the anonymous informant reached

his conclusions that defendants were engaged in criminal

conduct. The affidavit attached to the complaint for search

warrant does not reveal the manner in which the anonymous

informer obtained or gathered his information. (Cf. People v.

Gomes (1980), 80 Ill. App 3d 668, 399 N.E.2d 1030 (inform-

ant had personal knowledge that crime had been

committed); People v. Swift (1978), 61 Ill. App. 3d 486, 378

N.E.2d 234 (informer was requested vy defendant to par-

ticipate in crime.) Thus our inquiry turns to whether the

judge could reasonably infer that the information was gained

in a reliable fashion because of the great amount of detail

supplied by the informer. Spinelli v. United States (1968), 393

U.S. 410, 417, 21 L.Ed.2d 637, 644, 89 S.Ct. 584, .In

Spinelli, the Supreme Court utilized the detail provided by

the informant in Draper v. United State (1959), 358 U.S. 307, 3

L.Ed.2d 327, 79 S.Ct. 329, as an example of the detail re-

quired to satisfy the basis of knowledge prong of the Aguilar

test.

7b

Using Draper as a standard, we are of the opinion that the

information supplied by the anonymous informer does not

contain sufficient detail to allow the issuing judge to

reasonably infer that the informer had obtained his informa-

tion in a reliable way. The anonymous letter contains no

more than general allegations that defendants were involved

in narcotics sales. Although the anonymous informer did

state that the Gates would soon drive to Florida and return

with a load of drugs in their car, no details regarding this trip

were set forth in the letter. These general allegations fall far

short of the specifics necessary for a judge to properly infer

that the anonymous informer had gathered his information

in a reliable way. Nor could the judge reasonably assume

that the anonymous informer had personal knowledge on the

basis of the statements set forth in the anonymous letter. In

contrast to the case at bar, the informer in Draper supplied

police with a detailed physical description of the accused, the

time and date of his arrival in Denver by train, and a descrip-

tion of the clothes he would be wearing. The informer also

stated that the accused had a habit of walking very fast.

(Draper, 358 U.S. at 309-10, 3 L.Ed.2d at 330, 79 S.Ct. at

—__..) When confronted with such detail, a judge could

reasonably infer that the informer either had personal

knowledge of the transaction or had obtained his information

in a reliable way. The informer in the instant case set forth

few details, however, and he may have obtained his informa-

tion through rumor or through another unreliable method.

Hence, the affidavit fails to meet the basis of knowledge re-

quirements set forth in Spinelli and Aguilar.

The State argues that there is ‘‘substantial basis’’ for

crediting the information supplied by the anonymous in-

formant because the allegations set forth in the handwritten

letter were fully corroborated by other independent sources.

We cannot agree. Partial ~rroboration of an informant’s

story may show his information to be ‘‘reliable;’’ however,

such corroboration only satisfies the second prong of the

8b

Aguilar test, i.e., the veracity prong. Corroboration does not

establish that the informer obtained his information in a

reliable manner (1 La Fave, Law of Search and Seizure; A

Treatise on the Fourth Amendment, sec. 3.3). As stated by

the court in the well-reasoned case of Stanley v. State (1974), 19

Md.App. 508, ____, 313 A.2d 847, 861-62:

‘(T]he ‘independent verification’ technique can-

not repair a defect in the ‘basis of knowledge’

prong. Verifying the trust of part of a story does nothing to

ascertain the story’s source or to check the informant’s

perhaps invalid conclusions. ***

An informant who does not speak from personal

knowledge may well be passing on an amalgam of

underworld rumor and barroom gossip. If that be

true, the verification of one contributing rumor

would be nothing for the ‘veracity’ of other con-

tributing rumors. An informant may have *** then

received incriminating information from a third

party lending inculpatory color to those observa-

tions. Merely verifying the informant’s innocuous

observations does nothing to verify the crucial

third party who supplied the damning catalyst.’’

(Emphasis ours.) (Accord, United States v. Hamilton

(9th Cir. 1974), 490 F.2d 598, Garner v. State (Del.

1973), 314 A.2d 908.)

Were we to accept the State’s argument, we would permit

government invasion of the privacy of persons solely on the

basis of anonymous tips, made perhaps out of spite or based

upon unsubstantiated rumor, merely because innocent

details have been verified by the observations of a police of-

ficer. Although some federal and state courts have accepted

the position advanced by the State in this case (see e.g.,

United States v. Tuley (5th Cir. 1977), 546 F.2d 1264 (over dis-

sent); United States v. Myers (D.C. Cir. 1976), 538 F.2d 424

9b

(over dissent); Horton v. State (1977), 262 Ark. 211, 555

S.W.2d 226, State v. Gilbert (1976), 24 Or. App. 907, 547

P.2d 632), we believe that neither the theory nor the cases are

sound and we refuse to follow them.

In view of our determination that the affidavit failed to

satisfy the basis of knowledge prong of the Aguilar test, we

need not address any other issues in this case. For the reasons

stated above, the order of the Circuit Court of DuPage

County is affirmed.

AFFIRMED.

SEIDENFELD, NASH, concur.

10b

APPENDIX

Affidavit filed in support of compiaint for search warrant:

“I, CHARLES J. MADER, am a detective

employed by the Bloomingdale Police Depart-

ment, DuPage County, Illinois. I have been so

employed for the past five years. On May 3, 1978,

I received a letter sent by an unknown citizen to the

Bloomingdale Police Department. I received the

letter and the envelope in which it was sent from

Chief Patrick J. McMahon. A copy of the letter

and a transmittal envelope are attached hereto and

incorporated herein by reference.

**On May 3, 1978, I directed a Bloomingdale

Police Department radio operator to make a

SOUNDEX drivers license name inquiry with the

Illinois Secretary of State, Springfieid, Illinois to

determine whether they had any record of a

LANCE GATES residing in Bloomingdale, II-

linois. The SOUNDEX response established that

one LANCE B. GATES was issued an Illinois

drivers license which listed his address as 209 D.

Dartmouth, Bloomingdale, Illinois. A copy of the

response set by the Secretary of State is attached

hereto and incorporated herein by reference.

**On May 3, 1978, I contacted a confidential in-

formant known to me for the past two year period.

I have received information from this person

several dozen times, resulting in seven criminal ar-

rests with convictions in all cases. This confidential

informant reviewed certain financial records avail-

able to him and told me that he located one

LANCE B. GATES residing at 198 B. Greenway

Drive, Bloomingdale, Illinois. He also informed

lib

me that GATES’ previous address was 209 D.

Dartmouth, Bloomingdale.

CONTINUED ON PAGE 2

COMPLAINT FOR SEARCH WARRANT

NUMBER S 1603 CONTINUATION OF AF-

FIDAVIT OF CHARLES J. MADER PAGE

TWO

**On May 3, 1978, I contacted Officer Ott of the

Chicago Police Department at O’Hare Airport.

Officer Ott checked certain flight information

available to him and told me that one L. GATES,

phone number 980-8427, was registered on

Eastern Airlines Flight number 245, scheduled to

depart O’ Hare on 4:15 P.M. on May 5, 1978. Of-

ficer Ott told me that Flight 245 travels from

Chicago to Atlanta and then to West Palm Beach,

Florida.

**I then directed the radio operator to contact the

Security Office of Illinois Bell Telephone Com-

pany and was told by the radio operator that

980-8427 was a non-published phone number

issued to LANCE GATES at 189 B. Greenway

Drive, Bloomingdale, Illinois.

“On May 5, 1978, I was contacted by Agent

William Morely of the Drug Enforcement Admin-

istration. He state that, pursuant to prior arrange-

ment between us, he had maintained a surveillance

on all passengers boarding Eastern Airlines Flight

number 245. He stated further that an individual

using the name LANCE GATES and matching the

physical description furnished by Secretary of State

in the attached message boarded Flight 245 bound

for Florida.

12b

**On May 6, 1978, Agent Morely contacted me

and said that Drug Enforcement Administration

agents in Florida had just completed a surveillance

of LANCE GATES in West Palm Beach, Florida.

He told me that the Federal agents in Florida

observed:

1. GATES arrive in West Palm Beach, Florida

via Eastern Flight Number 245 and remain

in the airport for one hour before taking a taxi

to the West Palm Beach Holiday Inn;

2. The room he entered was registered to one

SUSAN GATES;

3. At 7:00 A.M. May 6, 1978, LANCE GATES

and a female left the Holiday Inn Room

registered to SUSAN GATES, and entered a

red vinyl over gray Mercury bearing Illinois

1978 license RS 8437;

4. LANCE GATES and the female left the West

Palm Beach area driving the Mercury north-

bound on that interstate highway commonly

used by travelers to the Chicago area.

**Agent Morely further told me that a check of

the records of the Illinois Secretary of State re-

+ led that license RS 8437 registers to LANCE B.

GATES on a 1975 Hornet station wagon.

13b

**Agent Morely also told me that the driving

time from West Palm Beach, Florida to Bloom-

ingdale, Illinois is approximately 21-23 hours.”’

“/s/ DET. CHARLES J. MADER

“PAGE TWO OF TWO PAGES

“*s/ SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN

TO BEFORE ME ON MAY 6, 1978

S. K. LEWIS

Assoc. Judge’”’

14b

Anited States of America

State of Bllinois, |

Appellate Court, $3.

Second District, |

I, LOREN J. STROTZ, Clerk of the Appellate Court, in and for

said Second Judicial District of the State of Illinois, and the keeper of

the Records and Seal thereof, do hereby certify that the foregoing is a

true, full and complete copy of the Opinion of the said Appellate Court

in the above entitled cause of record in my said office.

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have set my hand and

affixed the seal of the said Appellate Court, in Elgin, in

said State, this Ist day of April, A.D. 1980.

/s/ LOREN J. STROTZ

Clerk Appellate Court, Second

an

uol!socd

Office - Supreme Court, U.S. ]

Y CIiSED: -

No. 81-430 — om

In the

Supreme Court of the United States

THE STATE OF ILLINOIS,

Petitioner,

v8.

LANCE GATES and SUSAN GATES,

Respondents.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF ILLINOIS

Attorney at Law

180 North LaSalle Street

Suite 1425

Chicago, Illinois 60601.

Attorney for Respondents

Bazey E. Wrrirm

Attorney at Law

i

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

The Respondent would suggest that the Petitioner has

misstated the “Question Presented for Review’’ and that

the Respondent’s Statement of the Question Presented

is a more adequate one:

‘*Whether hearsay information provided to police in

an anonymous letter, containing no basis of knowledge

of how the information was obtained; certain innocent

details of the information being corroborated by po-

lice investigation, established sufficient probable cause

to merit issuance of a search warrant.’’

INDEX

PAGE

Question Presented for Review ............:ssssssssesessesesvesees i

Opinion Below 1

Jurisdiction eapendnanstmnedenemnpapeamensennearmnnemmennnes 1

Statement of the Case 1

Reasons for Denying the Writ 2

The hearsay information provided by a letter by

an anonymous writer was insufficient to establish

probable cause to support the search warrant is-

sued in this case. The case does not present a ques-

tion meriting review by this court. .0.0.........cccce.0. 2

ID seetetesnssetntiesaicirciciaanaaiaeriniaisiiintaainieeansiainaataissitiasta 3

UUTIIIID | dschbcssicdcienbienihetbiciimsasd ctcitinnciin iat a 5

AUTHORITIES CITED

Aguilar v. Texas, 378 U.S. 108, 12 L.Ed 2d 723, 84

I I II eicihpnlddlihiialial ita ccaitatiaiitata 3

Draper v. U.S., 358 US. 307, Shee SS See, 79 S.Ct.

329 (1959) ..... 4

Spinelli v. United States, 393 U.S. 410, 21 L.Ed 2d 637,

RU 3,4

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

No. 81-430

THE STATE OF ILLINOIS,

Petitioner,

vs.

LANCE GATES and SUSAN GATES,

Respondents.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORA <I

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF ILLINOIS

Respondents, Lance Gates and Susan Gates, respectfully

pray tha. Petitioner’s Petition for Writ of Certiorari to

the Supreme Court of Illinois be denied.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Illinois Supreme Court is attached

to the Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the Supreme

Court of Illinois as Exhibit B.

JURISDICTION

The State of jurisdiction stated by the Petitioner is

adequate.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Petitioner’s statement of the case is adequate and

acceptable to the Respondent.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WalT

THE HEARSAY INFORMATION PROVIDED IN A

LETTER BY AN ANONYMOUS WRITER WAS IN-

SUFFICIENT TO ESTABLISH PROBABLE CAUSE

TO SUPPORT THE SEARCH WARRANT ISSUED IN

THIS CASE. THE CASE DOES NOT PRESENT A

QUESTION MERITING REVIEW BY THIS COURT.

ARGUMENT

The Petitioner would have the Court grant certiorari

in the instant case because as stated in the Reasons for

granting the writ: ‘‘THE ENFORCEMENT OF DRUG

LAWS IN ILLINOIS WILL BE THWARTED IF

OFFICERS ARE NOT PERMITTED TO RELY UPON

DETAILED INFORMATION SUPPLIED BY AN

ANONYMOUS CIVILIAN INFORMER”. The Respon-

dent would suggest that the facts of this case demon-

strate that only improper and illegal enforcement has been

thwarted in this case, not proper and legal enforcement.

This Court in Aguilar v. Texas, 378 U.S. 108, 12 L.Ed

2d 723, 84 S.Ct. 1509 (1964) ; and Spinelli v. United States,

393 U.S. 410, 21 L.Ed 2d 637, 89 S.Ct. 584 (1969) estab-

lished basic standards whereby law enforcement officers

and the members of the judiciary could evaluate the suf-

ficiency of probable cause based on the hearsay of an

anonymous informer to support a search warrant. The

Court in Aguilar (378 U.S. 108, 114-15, 12 L.Ed 2d 723,

729, 84 S.Ct. 1509, 1514) established the “*two-pronged’’

test, the two prongs of which are commonly called the

“basis of knowledge’’ prong and the ‘‘veracity prong’’.

The Circuit Court of DuPage County, the Illinois Ap-

pellate Court and Supreme Court of Illinois each reviewed

the probable cause supportive of the search warrant utili-

zing the Aguilar and Spinelli standards of evaluation and

found it wanting. The final and correct result of each

court’s review of the search warrant and its supportive

affidavits was as follows:

a i

(1) The letter from the anonymous author is absent

any description of the manner or means by which that

person obtained the information offered in that letter;

(2) The corroboration of entirely innocent detail by

investigating police officers was insufficient by the “‘self

verifying detail’’ concept of Spinelli v. United States, 393

U.S. 410, 417, 21 L.Ed 2d 637, 644, 89 S.Ct. 584, 589

(1969) to cure the inadequate ‘‘basis of knowledge’’ in-

formation in the letter. (Pages 8a-lla of the Illinois Su-

preme Court opinion) ;

(3) The reliance of the State of Illinois on Draper v.

U.S., 358 U.S. 307, 3 L.Ed 2d 327, 79 S.Ct. 329 (1959) is

misplaced and the fact that a previously reliable infor-

mant supplied a specificity of detail far in excess of that

supplied in the instant case was utilized by the Supreme

Court of Illinois at pages 10a-lla to distinguish Draper

from the instant case.

The above findings set forth the legal reasons why cer-

tiorari should not be granted. An anonymous letter does

not differ from an anonymous phone call or any other

form of hearsay generated probable cause based on the

tip of an unnamed informer. Each of the above must be

judged by the criteria established by this court and if

those defined parameters are not met, as in the instant

ease, the search warrant is constitutionally infirm.

The Defendant-Respondent would further suggest to

this court that the question presented here does not war-

rant review by this court. The Aguilar precedent is long

established and the present case offers only factual inter-

pretation of that precedent and presents no novel consti-

tutional question of sufficient breadth of import to merit

granting by this Court of the State of Illinois Petition

for Certiorari.

ce we

CONCLUSION

The Supreme Court of Illinois, the Illinois Appellate

Court, and the Circuit Court of DuPage County correctly

applied the probable cause standards established by this

Court and this cause presents no constitutional question

of sufficient import to merit review by this court.

The Petition for Certiorari advanced in this ease should

be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

James W. Remuey

Attorney at Law

180 North LaSalle Street

Suite 1425

Chicago, Illinois 60601

Attorney for Respondents

Banry E. Wrrum

Attorney at Law

180 North LaSalle Street

Chicago, Illinois 60601

Tyce S. Surrn

Attorney at Law

307 North Street

Waynesville, Missouri 65583

Of Counsel

oe)!

a

| iaiaieies

~ Supreme Court, U.S.

FILED

No. 81-430 FEB 24 1982

Ar

Bn the CLERK

Supreme Court of the United States

THE STATE OF ILLINOIS,

Petitioner,

LANCE GATES and SUSAN GATES,

Respondent.

On Writ Of Certiorari To

The Supreme Court Of Illinois

RESPONDENTS ANSWER TO

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO AMEND OR ENLARGE

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Barry E. Wrrim James W. Retuey

Attorney at Law Attorney at Law

180 North LaSalle Street 180 North LaSalle Street

Chicago, Illinois 60601 Suite 1425

Chicago, Illinois 60601

Tyce S. Surra

Attorney at Law Attorney for Respondents

307 North Street Autan A. ACKERMAN

Waynesville, Missouri 65583 Attorney at Law

Of Counsel re North LaSalle Street

uite 611

— W. Woonr Chicago, Illinois 60602

rney at Law

1290 Pennzoil Place Of Counsel

711 Louisiana

Houston, Texas 77002

Of Counsel

——

In Tue

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

No. 81-430

SSS

THE STATE OF ILLINOIS,

Petitioner,

vs.

LANCE GATES and SUSAN GATES,

Respondent.

——— eee

On Writ Of Certiorari To

The Supreme Court Of Illinois

RESPONDENTS ANSWER TO

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO AMEND OR ENLARGE

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REViEW

I.

The respondents, Lance and Susan Gates, by their

attorney, James W. Reilley, opposes the petitioner(s)

request to enlarge or amend the question presented in

this case.

0.

JURISDICTION

Within the plethora of rules and Supreme Court

authorities relied upon by the petitioner, one has no

doubt that this Court may, within its own discretion,

grant leave to amend or enlarge the question(s) presented

as per the petitioners certiorari petition. We do not

urge to the contrary. Our opposition relates, rather, to

the subject matter of the proposed amendment or en-

largement.

Ii.

THE PROPOSED AMENDMENT

The State of Illinois, in their petition for writ of

certiorari, presents this question for review:

“WHETHER DETAILED INFORMATION PRO-

VIDED TO POLICE BY AN ANONYMOUS IN-

FORMER, COUPLED WITH GOVERNMENT COR-

ROBORATION OF THE INFORMATION, PRO-

VIDE PROBABLE CAUSE FOR THE ISSUANCE

OF A SEARCH WARRANT?”

The petitioner, now proposes to enlarge or amend the

question to:

“ASSUMING, ARGUENDO, THAT THE INFOR-

MATION USED TO OBTAIN THE SEARCH

WARRANT DID NOT SATISFY AGUILAR V.

TEXAS, 378 U.S. 108 (1964), SHOULD THE EVI-

DENCE OBTAINED UNDER THE WARRANT

NEVERTHELESS BE ADMITTED AT TRIAL

BECAUSE THE POLICE ACTED IN A REASON-

ABLE GOOD FAITH BELIEF IN THE VALIDITY

OF THE WARRANT?”

IV

ARGUMENT IN OPPOSITION TO THE PROPOSED

AMENDMENT

The petitioner would suggest that the warrantless

arrest and search “good faith” exception to the exclusion-

ary rule... has a place in this case. The petitioner is

mistaken.

et ae

Recent warrantless arrest-search cases from this Court

overwhelmingly pronounce the continued difference as

between a warrantless arrest/search . . . and one con-

ducted with the benefit of a judicially approved warrant.

The Court has consistently found that the warrantless

search of premises is “per se” unreasonable’ and the

warrantless entry onto private premises may likewise

suffer the vice of Fourth Amendment prohibitions, not-

withstanding whatever “good faith” may be involved

insofar as the agents or police officers entering the said

premises’. As regarding non-dwelling or non-premises

situations, the Court has ruled in any number of recent

eases that the particular facts of the particular case

will dietate whether the arrest/search will survive Fourth

Amendment scrutiny (assuming a warrantless situation)’.

The case at bar presents a fact situation which cannot

conceivably incorporate the proposed amendment. Here,

the facts reveal that on May 7, 1978 in Bloomingdale,

Illinois, the respondents, were getting out of a car, in

front of their home when certain police officers served

both of them with a search warrant. The search warrant

called for the search of their car and the dwelling. A

search of the car and the dwelling (in the apparent

*e.9., See v. Seattle, 387 U.S. 541 (1967); Camara v.

Mumci

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.