Respondents Brief — Enmund v. Florida

Supreme Court brief1982

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Office - Supreme Court

FILED

FEB 3 1982

u >.

ALEXANDER L. SitvAs

IN THE = —

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STAT

October Term 1981

EARL ENMUND,

Petitioner,

against

STATE OF FLORIDA,

Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENT

JIM SMITH

Attorney General

GEORGE R. GEORGIEFF

Assistant Attorney General

Attorney of Record

LAWRENCE A. KADEN

Assistant Attorney General

RAYMOND L. MARKY

Assistant Attorney General

The Capirol Building

Tallahassee, Florida 32301

(904) 488-0600

Be

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

WHETHER THE DEATH PENALTY CAN

EVER BE CONSTITUTIONALLY

APPROPRIATE FOR A DEFENDANT

CONVICTED OF FIRST DEGREE

MURDER STEMMING FROM HIS

EXTENSIVE PARTICIPATION IN A

DEADLY FELONY INVOLVING FIRE-

ARMS, WHEN THE DEFENDANT, AL-

THOUGH PRESENT IN THE VICINITY

OF THE KILLINGS, DID NOT

PERSONALLY COMMIT THE MURDERS,

AND THERE WAS AN ABSENCE OF

PROOF THAT HE INTENDED THE

DEATHS TO OCCUR?

WHETHER PETITIONER'S DEATH

SENTENCES WERE APPROPRIATE

CONSIDERING HIS HIGH DEGREE OF

INVOLVEMENT IN THE CRIMES, THE

FORSEEABILITY THAT DEATHS WOULD

OCCUR DURING A ROBBERY INVOLV-

ING THE USE OF FIREARMS, AND

THE FACT THAT PETITIONER

NEITHER INTRODUCED NOR PROFFER-

ED ANY EVIDENCE IN MITIGATION?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

ARGUMENT

I. THE EIGHTH AMENDMENT DOES NOT

REQUIRE PROOF OF MENS REA AND/

OR INTENT BEFORE A DEFENDANT

CAN BE FOUND CRIMINALLY

RESPONSIBLE.

A.

The Court Should Refuse To

Draw A Bright Line Which

Would Usurp The Traditional

Authority Of The Various

State Legislatures To

Determine What Punishment

Is Appropriate For A Parti-

cular Crime.

The Florida Legislature Did

Not Act Arbitrarily Or Un-

reasonably When It Predi-

cated Criminal Responsibi-

lity Upon Concepts Of For-

seeability.

1. Death sentence not

automatic ...

-i1i-

11

27

39

44

TABLE OF CONTENTS (continued)

2. Deterrence 48

3. Moral Outrage 57

II. PETITIONER'S DEATH SENTENCE WAS

APPROPRIATE BECAUSE OF HIS

EXTENSIVE INVOLVEMENT IN THE

CRIMINAL ACTIVITY, THE NATURE

AND CIRCUMSTANCES OF THE CRIME,

AND THE FACT THAT HE PRESENTED

ABSOLUTELY NO EVIDENCE IN MITI-

GATION. 64

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Brown v. State,

381 So.2d 690 (Fla. 1980),

cert. denied, 101 S.Cr. 931

(1981) 71

Coker v. Georgia,

433 U.S. Sh (1977) 36 ,43

Eddings v. Oklahoma,

-S. » Case No.

80-5727, (opinion filed

Jan. 19, 1982) 29,30

33,38

46 , 68

70,72

Enmund v. State,

399 So.2d 1362 (Fla. 1981) 5,68

-iii-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (cont.)

Cases Page

Gre v. Georgia,

yk: U.S. 154 (1976) 8 , 34,36

39 ,43 ,63

Hargrave v. State,

366 So.2d I (Fla. 1978),

cert. denied, 444 U.S. 919

(1979) —~CS 60 ,69,71

Hutto v. Davis,

Case No. 81-23 (opinion filed

Jan. 11, 1982) 29

Jurek v. Texas,

428 U.S. 262 (1976) 34 ,36 ,63

Lockett v. Ohio,

(1978) 10,14,18

20 ,21,27

29 ,33 ,46

52,65 ,66

Palsgraf v. Long Island R. Co.,

aie N.Y. 339, 162 N.E. 99

(N.Y. 1928) 41

Powell v. Texas,

392 U.S. 514 (1968) 32,893,908

37

Proffitt v. Florida,

oSe 6) 7,31,34

36 ,44,63

66

Roberts v. Louisiana,

428 U.S. 325 (1976) 30

-iv-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (cont. )

Cases Page

Roe v. Wade,

410 U.S i13 (1973) 48

Rummel v. Estelle,

ewe 1980) 28

Shriner v. State,

oO. (Fla. 1980),

cert. denied, 101 S.Cr. 899

T1981)"——~CS~S~ST 66

State v. Dixon,

283 So.2d 1 (Fla. 1973),

cert. denied, 416 U.S. 943

(1974) ——~—S 70

Stein v. New York,

346 U.S. 156 (1953) 26

United States v. Kaiser,

545 F.2d 467 (Sth Cir. 1977) 22

Vaught v. State,

So.2d ,» Case No. 52,835

(Opinion filed Jan. 7, 1982) 60

Wilder v. State,

583 S.W.2d 349 (Tex.Cr.App.

1979) 45

Woodson v. North Carolina,

S. 21,29,30

-Vr

Art.

Page

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION

III, § 3

Eighth Amendment

Fourteenth Amendment

18

18

18

18

18

18

18

18

18

18

18

18

18

49

U.S.C.

U.S.C.

U.S.C.

U.S.C.

U.S.C.

U.S.C.

U.S.C.

U.S.C.

U.S.C.

U.S.C.

U.S.C.

U.S.C.

U.S.C.

U.S.C.

Dm DP DP DP DP DD DP Pr rer DP ae mm

FEDERAL STATUTES

2

32

33

351(b)

794

844(d),(£) and (i)

1111

1201

1716

1751(b)

1992

2113(e)

2381

1472(i) and (n)

-vi-

22

11,15,28

28

45

25

25

25

24,45

25

22,26

25

25

25

26

26

22,23

24

26,45

STATE STATUTES

Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-301(2) 43

Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-303 A.3 43

Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-703(£)(4) 56

Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-703(g)(3) 46

Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 13-1105 43

Ark. Stat. Ann. § 41-1304 46

Ark. Stat. Ann. § 41-1501 43,56

Cal. Penal Code § 31 43

Cal. Penal Code § 189 43

Cal. Penal Code § 190.3(}) 46

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 16-11-103 (5) (d) 46

Colo. Rev. Stat. §16-11-103 (6) (e) 56

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 18-1-603 43

Colo. Rev. Stat. § 18-3-102 43

Conn. Gen. Stat. § 53a-8 44

Conn. Gen. Stat. § 53a-54b 44,56

Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, § 271 44

Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, § 636 44

-vii-

Del.

Fla.

Fla.

Fla.

Fla.

Page

STATE STATUTES (cont. )

Code Ann. tit.

Stat. § 777.011

Stat. § 782.04

Stat. § 921.141

Stat. § 921.141

Ga. Code § 26-801 (b)

Ga. Code §

Ga. Code § 27-2534.1

Idaho Code § 18-204

Idaho Code

Idaho Code

Ill.

Ill.

Ill.

Ill.

Ind.

Ind.

Rev. Stat. ch.

Rev. Stat. ch.

Rev. Stat. ch.

Rev. Stat. ch.

11, §4209(e) (h)

(1)

(6) (d) 64,

(3)

26-1101 (b)

(6)

§ 18-4003(d)

§ 19-2515(£) (4)

38, § 5-2

38, § 9-1(a)(3)

38, § 9-1(b) (5)

38, § 9-1(c)(5)

Code § 35-41-2-4

Code § 35-42-1-

1

-viii-

56

11

42

66

68

44

44

56

44

44

56

44

44

56

47

44

44

Page

STATF STATUTES (conc. )

Ind. Code § 35-50-2-9(b) (5)

Ind. Code § 35-50-2-9(c) (4)

Ky. Rev. Star. § 502.020

Ky. Rev. Stat. § 507.020(b)

Ky. Rev. Stat. § 532.025(2)(b) (5)

La. Code Crim. Pro. Ann. art. 905.4(e)

La. Code Crim. Pro. Ann. art. 905.5(g)

Md. Crim. Law Code Ann. § 413(d)(7)

Md. Crim. Law Code Ann. § 413(g) (6)

Miss. Code Ann. § 97-1-3

Miss. Code Ann. § 97-3-19-(2)(d)

Miss. Code Ann. § 97-3-19(2)(e)

Mo. Rev. Stat. § 565.012.2(6)

Mo. Rev. Stat. § 565.012.3(4)

Mont. Rev. Codes Ann. § 45-2-302(3)

Mont. Rev. Codes Ann. § 45-5-102(b)

Mont. Rev. Codes Ann. § 46-18-304(6)

Neb. Rev. Stat. § 28-206

Neb. Rev. Stat. § 28-303

-ix-

STATE STATUTES (cont.)

Neb. Rev. Stat. § 29-2523(1) (c)

Neb. Rev. Stat. § 29-2523(2) (e)

Nev. Rev. Strat. § 195.020

Nev. Rev. Star. § 200.030

Nev. Rev.Scatc. § 200.035(4)

N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 630.01 I(c)

N.M. Stat. Ann. § 30-1-13

N.M. Stat. Ann. § 30-2-1(2)

N.C. Gen. Scat. § 14-5.2

N.C. Gen. Star. § 14-17

Ohio Rev. Code §2929.04(A) (2)

Okla. Stat. Ann. tic. 21, § 172

Okla. Stat. Ann. cit. 21, § 701.12.3

Okla. Stat. Ann. cic. 21, § 701.78

Or. Rev. Stat. § 161.155(2)(b)

Or. Rev. Stat. § 163.115(1)(b)

Or. Rev.Stat. § 163.115(3)

S.C. Code § 16-1-40

S.C. Code § 16-3-10

S.C. Code § 16-3-20(C) (a) (6)

-xXx@-

57

47

44

44

47

57

44

44

45

45

57

45

57

45

45

45,57

45,57

45

45

47 ,57

Page

STATE STATUTES (cont.)

S.C. Code § 16-3-20(C) (b) (4) 47

S.D. Compiled Laws Ann. § 22-3-3 45

S.D. Compiled Laws Ann. § 22-16-4 45

S.D. Compiled Laws Ann. § 22-16-8 45

S.D. Compiled Laws Ann. §23A-27A-1(5) 57

Tenn. Code Ann § 39-109 45

Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-2402 45

Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-2404(i) (4) 57

Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-2404(4)(5) 47

Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-2407 45

Texas Penal Code Ann. tit. 2,

§ 7.02(b) 45

Texas Penal Code Ann. tit. 5,

§ 19.03(a) 45,57

Urah Code Ann. § 76-2-202 45

Utah Code Ann. § 76-5-202(1)(d) 45

Utah Code Ann. § 76-3-207(1)(£) 47

Ve. Stat. Ann. tir. 13, § 4 45

Vc. Stat. Ann. cic. 13, § 2301 45,57

Vc. Stat. Ann. cit. 13, § 2403 45

-xi-

Page

STATE STATUTES (conc. )

Wash. Rev. Code § 9A.08.020 45

Wash. Rev. Code § 9A.32.030(1) (c) 45

1981 Wash. Laws chap. 138, § 2(5) 57

1981 Wash. Laws chap. 138, § 7(4) 47

Wyo. Stat. § 6-1-114 45

Wyo. Stat. § 6-4-101 45

Wyo. Stat. § 6-4-102(4) (iv) 47

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Capital Punishment: Hearings on

S rz Before the Committee on the

Judiciar ,» %/th Cong., Ist Sess.

25 (T5BYS 24

S. Rep. No. 143, 97th Cong., lst

Sess. 5 (1981) 24

S. 114, 97th Cong., lst Sess. (1981) 22

24 ,25

41

-xii-

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner's statement of the case

omits material facts, is not written in a

light most favorable to sustain the

rulings of the Florida courts, and is

unacceptable.

Petitioner was convicted of two

counts of first degree murder and one

count of robbery in the Circuit Court of

Hardee County, Florida (R 1647). After a

sentencing hearing in which Pecicioner

neither introduced nor proffered any

evience (R 1677), the jury recommended

that sentences of death be imposed for

the two first degree murder convictions

(R 1691). Petitioner's co-defendant,

Sampson Armstrong, was also convicted of

two accounts of first degree murder, and

the jury recommended two death sentences

for him also. The trial court chen found

that the aggravating circumstances

outweighed che mitigating circumstances

and sentenced Petitioner to death on both

first degree murder counts (R 1700,

1701). He received a life sentence for

the robbery conviction.

The murders and robbery arose out of

an incident which occurred on April l,

1975. Sometime in March, 1975, Peri-

tioner and two other individuals had been

present at the victims’ home in order to

buy a calf (R 997). One of che victims,

Thomas Kersey, exhibitred a large roll of

cash, and Petitioner later admitted chat

the amount of cash had been a copic of

discussion that evening (R 1509).

Early on the morning of che murders,

Petitioner was seen in a car near the

scene of the murders (R 1330-1303). An

accquaintance of co-defendant Armstrong

testified chat on the day of the murders

Armstrong had told him that he,

Petitioner, and Armstrong's wife had

robbed and killed an elderly couple (R

1345-1353). Armstrong and his wife had

approached the old couple's farm house

door ostensibly for the purpose of asking

for water for an overheated car. How-

ever, Armstrong grabbed victim Thomas

Kersey at which time Mrs. Kersey opened

fire and shot Jeannette Armstrong. A gun

battle ensued, and both Mr. Kersey and

his wife were murdered. Shortly

thereafter, Petitioner was seen driving

the same automobile which had been seen

outside the victims’ residence by another

witness. In the car with him were his

common law wife and two unidentified

persons, one of whom was lying down in

the back seat of the car (R 1303).

Petitioner's common law wife, Ida

Jean Shaw, testified that on April 2,

1975, she had been in an automobile with

both Armstrong and Enmund and chat

Armstrong had given her two hundred

dollars (R 1195). She also testified

that on the day of the murders she asked

Enmund why he had done it, and he replied

that he had seen the man with the money

when he had bought che calf (R 1205,

1206). During the same conversation,

Armstrong stated that he had made sure

that the people were dead (R 1207, 1208).

Based on these facts, the Supreme

Court of Florida upheld the trial court's

findings that victim Kersey had a reputa-

tion for carrying large sums of money on

his person, that Petitioner had actually

seen Mr. Kersey with the money, and chat

Enmund planned and participated in the

4

robbery which resulted in the murders.

Also upheld was che trial court's finding

that Enmund had helped to cover up the

crime by directing that Ida Jean Shaw

dispose of the murder weapons (R 1201).

The Florida Supreme Court's more

detailed statement of facts can be found

at Enmund v. State, 399 So.2d 1362,

1363-1367 (Fla. 1981)(J.A. 35-42).

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I.

The Constitution does not require

proof of intent before a defendant can be

found criminally responsible. Rather,

the determination of criminal responsi-

bility has traditionally been left to the

various states, whose legislative deter-

minations are afforded great deference

and will not be disturbed absent a

showing of irrationality.

When determining whether a legis-

lative judgment that a sentence is

appropriate for a particular crime is

rational, this Court has traditionally

refrained from drawing "bright lines."

Judicially created, inflexible rules are

especially inappropriate in criminal

cases because, as this Court has

traditionally held, a particular sentence

6

must be tailored to meet the peculiar

facts and circumstances of the crime as

well as the character of the individual

perpetrator.

The Florida Legislature did not act

arbitrarily or irrationally when it based

criminal responsibility upon concepts of

foreseeability. The Florida Legislature

rationally concluded that homicides were

more likely to occur during the commis-

sion of certain potentially dangerous

felonies, and it provided that its most

serious sanction should be imposed in the

most extreme cases. However, in Florida,

just because a death sentence is possi-

ble, it is not automatic. The sentencing

authority's discretion is guided and

channeled, Proffitt v. Florida, 428 U.S.

424 (1976), and the sentencing authority

is required to weigh all relevant

mitigating evidence against the applica-

bility of specified aggravating factors.

In that regard, Florida has a statutory

mitigating circumstance which requires

that the sentencing authority consider

the extent of an accomplice's participa-

tion in the capital felony.

The Florida Legislature also ration-

ally concluded that the threat of capital

punishment would deter potential murder-

felons from committing the underlying

felonies which often result in death.

Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153 (1976).

Moreover, Florida's legislative determi-

nation that it should be possible to

impose the ultimate penalty upon a

defendant who was convicted of recklessly

engaging in foreseeably deadly conduct is

also rational. Any judicial conclusion

to the contrary would threaten the lives

8

of sumerous innocent victims who might

otherwise be murdered if their assailants

or robbers knew they had nothing to lose

by eliminating witnesses to the under-

lying felony. A bright line is simply

not appropriate.

Il.

Death is the appropriate sentence

for Petitioner because of his extensive

involvement in the underlying felony

which resulted in the murders of two

innocent, elderly people. While the fact

that it was not proved that Petitioner

intended the murders to occur might be

relevant in mitigation, this doesn't mean

that either che trial court or the jury

had to find chat Petitioner was a minor

accomplice. In fact, the sentencing

authority found to the contrary that

Petitioner's participation was major --

he planned the robbery, procured his

accomplices, participated in the robbery,

was present in the getaway car near the

actual murders, and helped to cover up

the crime.

Finally, although Lockett v. Ohio,

438 U.S. 586 (1878), requires a

sentencing authority to consider all

relevant mitigating evidence which was

proffered or introduced, Peritioner

presented absolutely no mitigating

evidence during the sentencing phase of

his trial. Therefore, because Petitioner

has not even challenged the applicability

of the two valid aggravating circun-

stances found by the Supreme Court of

Florida, the aggravating circumstances

indisputably outweigh the total absence

of evidence in mitigation. Petitioner's

death sentences should not be disturbed.

10

ARGUMENT

I.

THE EIGHTH AMENDMENT DOES NOT REQUIRE

PROOF OF MENS REA AND/OR INTENT BEFORE

A DEFENDANT CAN BE FOUND CRIMINALLY

RESPONSIBLE.

The Petitioner's major theme is that

his death sentences are disproportionate

to his criminal conduct because there was

no proof that he intended deaths to

occur. Therefore, while paradoxically

conceding that the State of Florida can

hold him criminally responsible and thus

guilty of first degree murder,! Peri-

tioner maintains that a death senrence

cannot be imposed in his case. However,

Peticioner's argument must fail because

the Eighth Amendment does not require

lsection 777.011, Fla. Stat., allows an

aider and abettor to be convicted and

punished as a principal. (J.A. 47).

11

proof of either mens rea or actual intent

before a state can find an offender

criminally responsible and eligible for

the punishment prescribed by law.

In Powell v. Texas, 392 U.S. 514,

535 (1968), the Court announced that it

had never stated that the Constitution

required a finding of mens rea before

criminal responsibility could be found:

We cannot cast aside the

centuries-long evolution of the

collection of interlocking and

overlapping concepts which the

common law has utilized to

assess the moral accountability

of an individual for his anti-

social deeds. [footnote

omitted] The doctrines of

actus reus, mens rea, insanity,

mistake, justification, and

duress have historically

provided the tools for a

constantly shifting adjustment

of the tension between the

evolving aims of the criminal

law and changing religious,

moral, philosophical, and

medical views of the nature of

man. This process of adjust-

ment has always been thought to

be the province of the states.

12

Id. at 392 U.S. 535, 536 (Emphecis

added).

In a footnote in his concurring

opinion in Powell, Justice White honed in

on the crucial analysis which must be

examined when determining criminal

responsibility -- "The proper subject of

inquiry is whether volitional acts

brought about the ‘condition’ and whether

those acts are sufficiently proximate to

the ‘condition’ for it to be permissible

to impose penal sanctions on the

‘condition.'" Id. at 392 U.S. 551, n.2.

Stated in terms of the issues presented

in Petitioner's case, Justice White's

comments would be whether che defendant's

volitional acts brought about the murders

and whether the defendant's acts were

sufficiently proximate to allow Florida

to impose penal sanctions.

13

More recently, while concurring in

Lockett v. Ohio, 438 U.S. 586, 614

(1978), Justice Blackmun recognized that

a requirement of proof of an actual

intent to kill before a defendant could

be capitally sentenced would impose on

the States an artificially defined mens

rea. In le iguage2 consistent with

Powell v. Texas, supra, he perceived the

myriad of difficulties which would be

presented by focusing on “intenr," as if

that were the only acceptable measure

2This correct analysis is uniquely

inconsistent with any notion of "bright

lines" in the determination of the issue

of life or death. The relevant consid-

erations cannot be reduced to such a

simplistic analysis. Justice Blackmun

concurred in the judgment of the Court

because under the Ohio statuts, unlike

Florida's, the sentencer was unable to

consider "the degree of the defendant's

[non-tri rr articipation in the

acts leading to the homicide and the

character of the defendant's mens rea."

Id. at 438 U.S. 616.

14

of criminal responsibiliry. Also, he

recognized that proof of mens rea would

not be a functional method for deter-

mining culpability for eighth amendment

purposes, because culpability involved a

mixture of action, inaction, and degrees

of mens rea:

2. I do not find entirely

convincing the disproportion-

ality rule embraced by my

Brother White. The rule chat a

defendant must have had actual

intent to kill, in order to be

capitally sentenced, does not

explain why such intent is the

sole criterion of culpability

for Eighth Amendment purposes.

What if a defendant personally

commits the act proximately

causing death by pointing a

loaded gun at the robbery

victim, verbally threatens to

use fatal force, admittedly

does not intend to cause a

death, yet knowingly creates a

— probability that the gun

will discharge accidentally?

15

What if a robbery participanr,

in order to avoid capture or

even for wanton sport,

personally and deliberately

uses grave physical force with

conscious intent to inflict

serious bodily harm, but not to

kill, and a death results? May

we as judges say that for

Eighth Amendment purposes the

absence of a “conscious purpose

of producing death," post, at

628, 57 L Ed 2d, at 1004,

transforms the culpability of

those defendants’ actions?

Applying a requirement of

actual intent to kill to

defendants not immediately

involved in the physical act

causing death, moreover, would

run aground on intricate

definitional problems attending

a felony murder. What

intention may a State attribute

to a robbery participant who

sits in the getaway car, knows

that a loaded gun will be

brandished by his companion in

the robbery inside the store,

is willing to have the gun

fired if necessary to make an

escape but not to accomplish

the robbery, when the victim is

shot by the companion even

16

though not necessary for

escape? What if the unarmed

participant stands immediately

inside the store as a lookout,

intends that a loaded gun

merely be brandished, but never

bothered to discuss with the

triggerman what limitations

were appropriate for che firing

of the gun? What if che same

lookout personally intended

that che gun never be fired,

but, after his companion fires

a fatal shot to prevent the

victim from sounding an alarm,

approves and takes off?

The requirement of the

actual intent to kill in order

to inflict the death penalty

would require this Court to

impose upon the States an

elaborate “constitutionalized"

definition of the requisite

mens rea, involving myriad

problems of line drawing that

normally are left to jury

discretion but that, in dis-

proportionality analysis, have

to be decided as issues of law,

and interfering with the

substantive categories of the

States criminal law. And such

a rule, even if workable, is an

incomplete method of

ascertaining culpability for

17

Eighth Amendment purposes,

which necessarily is a more

subtle mixture of action,

inaction, and degrees of mens

rea.

Finally, I must question the

data relied upon by my Brother

White in concluding, post, at

624, 57 L Ed 2d, at 1002, chart

only “extremely rare[ly]" had

the death penalty been used

when a defendant did not

specifically intend the death

of the victim. The representa-

tion made by petitioner

Lockett, even if accepted

uncritically, was merely that,

of 363 reported cases involving

executions from 1954 to 1976,

in 347 the defendant "person-

ally committed a homicidal

assault"-not that the defendant

had actual intention to kill.

App to Brief for Petitioner lb.

Of contemporary death penalty

statutes, my Brother White

concedes that approximately

half permit the execution of

persons who did not actually

intend to cause death.

(Emphasis added).

Lockett, supra at 438 U.S. 614, 615.

Justice Blackmun's observations illus-

trate the ramifications and irrational

results of Petitioner's bright line

18

theory predicated solely on intent -- and

his comments effectively show why a focus

on actual intent is patently unacceptable

as the sole measurement of criminal

responsibility.

Justice Rehnquist, dissenting in

parc, said it more directly:

I finally reject the proposi-

tion urged by my Brother White

in his separate opinion, which

the plurality finds ic unneces-

sary to reach. That claim is

that the death penalty, as

applied te one who participated

in this murder as Lockett did,

is "disproportionate" and

therefore violative of the

Eighth and Fourteenth Amend-

ments. I know of no principle

embodied in those Amendments,

other than perhaps one's

personal notion of what is a

ficting punishment for a crime,

which would allow this Court to

hold che death penalty imposed

upon her unconstitutional

because under the judge's

charge to the jury the latter

19

were not required to find that

she intended to cause the death

of her victim. As my Brother

White concedes, approximately

half of the States “have not

legislatively foreclosed the

possibility of imposing the

death penalty upon those who do

not intend to cause death."

Ante, at 625, 57 L.Ed.2d, at

1002. Centuries of common law

doctrine establishing the

felony-murder doctrine, dealing

with the relationship between

aiders and abettors and

principals, would have to be

rejected to adopt this view.

Just as surely as many

thoughtful moralists and

penologists would reject the

Biblical notion of "an eye for

an eye, a tooth for a tooth,"

as a guide for minimum senten-

cing, there is nothing in the

prohibition against cruel and

unusual punishments contained

in the Eighth Amendment which

sets that injunction as a

limitation on the maximum

sentence which society may

impose.

Id. at 438 U.S. 635, 636.

Justice Rehnquist's reference to

Justice White's separate opinion in

Lockett concerned the question of whether

20

a mens rea or actual intent to kill was

necessary before a death sentence could

be imposed. Justice White's position in

Lockett is particularly troublesome to

Respondent because of his position in

Woodson v. North Carolina, 428 U.S. 280

(1976). Ia that case, defendant Woodson,

like Petitioner, was capitally convicted

on a felony murder theory even though he

was not personally present in the store

where che murder occurred, did not pull

the trigger, acted only as a lookout

outside the door, and there was an ab-

sence of proof that he intended anyone to

die. In a dissenting opinion, Justice

White stated that he would uphold

Woodson's first degree murder conviction

and resulting mandato.y death sentence,

thus implicitly approving a death sen-

tence when intent to kill had not been

proven.

21

Notwithstanding the fact that there

is no persuasive or binding legal

authority to support Petitioner's

argument, the best evidence chat the

Constitution does not require proof of

actual intent to kill before a death

sentence can be imposed is the Consti-

tution itself. Article III, Section 3

provides that the Congress shall have the

power to decide the punishment for the

crime of treason. Con,.ess has provided

that a maximum penalty of death can be

imposed against one convicted of treason.

See 18 U.S.C. §2381.3 Any judicial

3The Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals has

declared the death penalty provision of

the Federal Government's murder statute,

18 U.S.C. § 1111, unconstitutional on

procedural grounds. United States v.

Kaiser, 545 F.2d 467 (5th Cir. 1977).

However, legislation is currently pending

before Congress to reinstitute the death

penalty under federal law. See

discussion of S.114, infra.

22

conclusion that capital punishment is

cruel and unusual if it were imposed upon

a defendant who was not proven to have

intended to kill would purportedly deny

the Congress its right and power to

determine the punishment for the crime of

treason. This power is expressly given

to Congress by the Constitution. It

should also be noted that treason is a

crime which not only does not require

intent to kill but also does not require

death at all. See 18 U.S.C. § 2381.

Legislation presently pending before

Congress "would authorize the imposition

of the death penalty for a number of

federal felonies in which death results,

even if there is no finding that the

defendant either committed the crime with

the conscious purpose of causing death or

participated in the homicidal act."

23

Capital Punishment: Hearings on S.114

Before the Committee on the Judiciary,

97th Cong., lst Sess. 25 (1981) (letter

stating the views of the Justice

Department).

Senate Bill 114 would allow the

death penalty in some instances even

where death did not occur. For example,

Congress is contempiating authorizing

death for the attempted assassination of

the President. Id. at 59-65 (Memorandum

of Justice Department). See also S. Rep.

No. 143, 97th Cong., lst Sess. 5,6,12,13

(1981). Also included in S.114 are the

non-homicidal crimes of espionage, 18

U.S.C. §794, and treason, 18 U.S.C.

§2381.4

4In a footnote, the Justice Department

listed the following crimes for which the

death penalty could be imposed even if

24

Consequently, if this Court were to

adopt the position urged by Petitioner,

in effect, the Court would be declaring

$.114 unconstitutional before it was even

enacted into law. Considering the far-

reaching effect an adverse ruling by this

Court would have on the aggregate crimi-

nal justice system, and the scope of

Congressional consideration in an

identical area of endeavor, this Court

might wish to consider inviting the

Justice Department to air its views of

(continued from previous page) death were

an unintentional result: 18 U.S.C. §32

(destruction of aircraft or aircraft

facilities); 18 U.S.C. §33 (destruction

of motor vehicles or motor vehicle

facilities; 18 U.S.C. §351(b) (kidna ping

a Member or Menber-elect of enaeenad ; 1

U.S.C. §§844(d),(f£), and (i) (explosives

offenses); 18 U.S.C. §1201 (kidnapping) ;

18 U.S.C. §1716 (mailing injurious

articles); 18 U.S.C. §1951(b) (kidnapping

of the President, Vice President,

President-elect, or Vice President-elect;

25

the subject at issue. Much could be

learned from the key principals in a

critical area of activity.

Petitioner has presented absolutely

no authority to support his contention

that proof of intent to kill is pre-

requisite to a capital sentence in a

felony murder situation. Moreover, the

Court has already upheld a death sentence

for a defendant convicted as an accom-

plice in a felony murder situation where

there was no proof of the defendant's

intent to cause death. See Stein v.

New York, 346 U.S. 156 (1953).

(continued from previous page)18 U.S.C.

§1992 (wrecking trains); 18 U.S.C.

§2113(e) (bank robbery); 49 U.S.C. 1472(i)

or (n) (aircraft piracy). Also death

resulting from the attempt or commission

of the following crimes would be

punishable by death: any rape, arson,

burglary or robbery in the special

maritime or territorial jurisdiction of

TH ane States (under 18 U.S.C.

1111).

26

If Peticioner's argument were

accepted, there would be no need for the

felony murder rule itself, a traditional

concept and rule of law which he has not

seen fit to challenge (Brief of Petri-

tioner at 19). See also Lockett v.Ohio,

supra, at 438 U.S. 602. Thus, since the

Constitution does not require an intent

to kill before capital punishment can be

imposed, the next question which must be

examined is Petitioner's contention that

this Court should judicially create a

rule prohibiting capital punishment in

such cases.

A. The Court should refuse to draw

a bright line which would usurp

the traditional authority of

the various state legislatures

to determine what punishment is

appropriate for a particular

crime.

Despite the fact that the Consti-

tution does not require it, Peritrioner

27

—

has attempted to convince the Court to

draw a bright line and rule that the

Eighth and Fourteenth Amendments prohibit

the States from ever imposing a death

sentence upon a defendant convicted of

felony murder when the defendant was not

the person who committed the murder and

where there was an absence of proof that

the defendant intended anyone to die.

Petitioner asks this Court to go too far!

In fact, the Court has traditionally

and consistently rejected the tempracion

to draw bright lines on constitutional

issues. For example, see Rummel v.

Estelle, 445 U.S. 263, 285 (1980) (rype

and severity of punishment of recidivists

is a matter within the sound discretion

28

of the sentencing jurisdiction).> In

capical cases, the Court has repeatedly

applied a policy of approving sentencing

procedures which require "particularized

consideration of relevant aspects of the

the character and record of each con-

victed defendant before the imposition

upon him of a sentence of death."

Woodson, supra, at 428 U.S. 303 (1976).

See also Lockett, supra at 438 U.S. 602

(1978). Most recently, this concept was

reiterated in Eddings v. Oklahoma,

U.S. » Case No. 80-5727, opinion

filed Jan. 19, 1982.

5In a case decided just this term, the

Court, in a per curiam opinion, upheld

against eighth amendment challenges a

state inmate's 40 year sentence for two

marijuana offenses. The Court emphasized

and reiterated that successful challenges

to a particular sentence should be

exceedingly rare and that the basic line-

drawing process was a legislative rather

than judicial function. Hutto v. Davis,

U.S. » Case No. 81-23, opinion

filed Jan. Il, 1982.

29

The Court should categorically

reject any suggestion that a bright line

should be drawn now that it suits the

argument of those opposed to capital

punishment. © Indeed, Respondent is

somewhat amazed that Petitioner is even

attempting to convince this Court to

adopt such an inflexible bright line rule

-- this is the precise approach that some

of the same counsel so strongly and

persuasively urged should be rejected in

the mandatory death penalty cases,

Woodson, supra, and Roberts v. Louisiana,

428 U.S. 325 (1976). Petritioner's

"bright line" theory is simple, all

right, but that is the very argument

6 In fact, four Justices have clearly

stated that the Constitution does not

prohibit rhe imposition of a death sen-

tence upon a person under the age of 18

at the time of rhe crime -- in other

words, a bright line is inappropriate.

Eddings v. Oklahoma, supra (Burger, C.J.,

dissenting).

30

against it. In some matters of govern-

ment, complexity -- not simplicity -- is

desirable. If simplicity were a

paramount constitutional value, we would

all think better of vigilante lynch law

or mandatory death penalty laws. They

have the virtue of simplicity, if no

other.

Moreover, notwithstanding counsels'

inconsistent positions, the drawing of

such a simple, though rigid, bright line

would forever prevent the rule from being

corrected judicially, should the Court

subsequently decide such a change were

prudenc in light of contemporary

standards and conditions.

In 1976, during oral argument in

Proffitt v. Florida, 428 U.S. 424 (1976),

the then Attorney General of Florida

advised this Court that the Florida

31

Legislature rejected the mandatory death

penelty approach after Furman because it

was socially unacceptable to the people

of the State of Florida -- simply for

the reason that it was too inflexible and

failed to take into consideration the

facts and circumstances of the offense

and perpetrator. While, Furman created

doubt as to what was required and many

persons believed that only mandatory

statutes would pass constitutional

muster, the Florida Legislature made a

deliberate decision to enact a good

statute, even though risking it might

later be determined unconstitutional,

rather than a bad statute that at that

time most felt would be declared valid.

It was that rational approach which

ultimately resulted in the validation of

Florida's death penalty statute. The

32

same legislature decided against limicing

its applicability to individuals solely

because they were not present during the

commission of the crime or did not con-

sciously intend death or because they

were of a particular chronological age.

Rather, in keeping with Lockett, supra,

(before it was decided) those were

factors for the sentencer to consider

together with the facts and circumstances

of the crime and the character of the

defendant to determine the appropriate

punishment. Eddings v. Oklahoma, supra,

They were not irrational in rejecting a

"bright line" concept where it would be

wholly inappropriate and where it would

lead to bizarre results not in keeping

with notions of simple fairness and

justice.

33

In any event, when concluding that

the death penalty statutes of Georgia,

Florida, and Texas did not constitute

cruel and unusual punishment, the Court

noted that great deference must be given

to a legislative determination that a

particular sentence was appropriate for

a particular crime. Gregg v. Georgia,

428 U.S. 153 (1976); Proffitt, supra;

Jurek v. Texas, 428 U.S. 262 (1976).

Moreover, the Court also recognized that

it cannot require a legislature to select

the least severe penalty possible and

that "a heavy burden rests on those who

would attack the judgment of the

representatives of the people." Gregg,

supra, at 428 U.S. 175.

This deference to the legislative

will of the people of the various states

and the Court's exercise of judicial

34

self-restraint was not a new approach --

as long ago as 1910 the Court recognized

that a legislature's assignment of a

particular punishment to a particular

crime carried with it a presumption of

validity:

However, there is a certain

subordination of the judiciary

to the legislature. The

function of the legislature is

primary, its exercise fortified

by presumptions of right and

legality, and is not to be

interfered with lightly, nor by

any judicial conception of its

wisdom or propriety. Weems v.

United States, 217 U.S. 349,

. (Emphasis

supp lied)

More recently, in Powell v. Texas,

supra, at 392 U.S. 535, 536, the Court

noted the importance of the traditional

concepts which the common law has util-

ized to assess an individual's moral

accountability for his antisocial deeds.

The Court recognized the "constantly

35

shifting adjustment of the tension |

between the evolving aims of the

criminal law and changing religious,

moral, philisophical, and medical views

of the nature of man" and concluded chat

"[ce]Jhis process of adjustment was always

thought to be che province of the

States." Id.

Petitioner has made numerous

references and analogies to the Court's

opinion in Coker v. Georgia, 433 U.S. 584

(1977), most of the time blithely

asserting that the only difference

between his case and Coker's is that in

the rape case "death fortuitously did not

result."' However, Petitioner's reliance

on Coker is misplaced because cf the

crucial distinction in his case, i.e., in

Petitioner's case two deaths did result.

Therefore, Petitioner's case is more like

36

the 1976 death penalty cases which upheld

the constitutionality of capital

purishment, Gregg, supra, Proffitt,

supra, Jurek, supra. The Court's

analyses and rationale in those cases

should be much more persuasive and

effective in analyzing the question now

before the Court./

Therefore, because this Court has

previously stated that there is no

constitutional requirement for a finding

of mens rea before a defendant can be

found criminally responsible, Powell,

supra, and because the Court has

7Interestingly, ict is significant to

note that even in Coker v. Georgia,

supra, Justice Powell, while concurring

in the judgment, dissented from the

Court's finding of per se unconsti-

tutionality of Georgia's legislative

determination that death could be an

appropriate sanction for the crime of

rape: "Today, in a case that does not

require such an expansive pronoucement,

the plurality draws a bright line between

37

traditionally exercised judicial self-

restraint and declined from adopting a

bright line approach in areas tradi-

tionally within the ambit of legislative

authority, the next question which must

be analyzed is whether Florida's

legislative determinations as they

pertain in Petitioner's case are

rational.

(continued from previous page.) all

murder and all rapes -- regardless of the

degree of brutality of che rape or the

effect on the victim. I dissent because

I_am not persuaded that such a bright

line is appropriate." (Emphasis added).

Coker v. Georgia at 433 U.S. 603.

Justice Powell has thus rejected a

simplistic bright line concept in capital

cases. For example, even in Eddings v.

Oklahoma, supra, Justice Powell declined

to draw a bright line which would

prohibit capital punishmer.c for a

juvenile, and instead remanded the case

for further consideration in light of

Lockett.

38

B. The Florida Legislature did not

act arbitrarily or unreasonably

when it predicated criminal

responsibility upon concepts of

foreseeability.

It is no longer disputed that the

decision to make possible a capital

sentence for a homicide is best left to

the various state legislatures. Gregg,

supra. In that regard, the Florida

Legislature could rationally determine

that under some facts and circumstances,

capital punishwent would be appropriate

for a defendant convicted of first degree

murder after engaging in such reckless

conduct that death was a foreseeable and

likely result.

Perhaps Justice Cardozo's comments

on responsibility and forseeability, made

when he was sitting on the Court of

Appeals of New York, should be the

39

starting point for the Court's analysis:

The risk reasonably to be

perceived defines the duty to

be obeyed, and risk imports

relation, it is risk to another

or to others within the range

of apprehension. [Citation

omitted] This does not mean, of

course, that one who launches a

destructive force is always

relieved of liability, if the

force, though known to be

destructive, pursues an

unexpected path. "It was not

necessary that the defendant

should have had notice of the

particular method in which an

accident would occur, if the

possibility of an accident was

clear to the the ordinarily

prudent eye."' Munsey v. Webb,

231 U.S. 150, 156 [Citation

omitted] Some acts, such as

shooting are so imminently

dangerous to any one who may

come within reach of the

missile however unexpectedly,

as to impose a duty of

prevision not far from chat of

an insurer. Even today, and

much oftener in earlier stages

of the law, one acts sometimes

at one's peril. [Citations

omitted] Under this head, it

40

may be, fall certain cases of

what is known as transferred

intent, an act willfully

dangerous to A resulting by

misadventure to injury to B.

[Citation omitted] These cases

aside, wrong is defined in

terms of the natural or

probable, at least when

unintentional. (Emphasis

added. )

Palsgraf v. Long Island R. Co., 246 N.Y.

339, 162 N.E. 99, 100-101 (N.Y. 1928).

In terms of the above analysis,

Respondent simply does not understand how

Petitioner or anyone else can quarrel

with che Florida Legislature's conclusion

that certain conduct was so foreseeably

dangerous that anyone who engaged in such

conduct should be eligible for rhe

maximum penalty. A number of United

States senators obviously feel such to be

the case -- see S.114, discussed

previously. The best evidence of the

rationality of such a legislative

41

determination is the fact that not one,

but two deaths did occur in Petitioner's

case as a direct result of the commission

of one of the enumerated potentially

deadly felonies. See § 782.04, Fla.

Stat.; (J.A.-48).

Moreover, it should be beyond

dispute that a homicide is more likely to

occur during the commission of a crime in

which loaded firearms are used. Besides

the fact that sheer common sense dictates

that the Florida Legislature's conclusion

was rational, weight should be given to

the fact that Florida is not the only

state which has enacted death penalty

legislation applicable to murder-felons

or others convicted as accomplices to

forseeably dangerous criminal conduct.

Although not dispositive of the issue,

the fact tht at least twenty-six (26)

42

other states and the federal government

have laws similar to Florida weighs

heavily in Florida's favor.8 See

Coker v. Georgia, supra, at 433 U.S. 593;

Gregg v. Georgia, supra, at 428 U.S.

179-182.

Thus, the Florida Legislature, along

with numerous other state legislatures,

has rationally concluded that certain

8Ic should be emphasized that

Respondent emphatically disagrees with

Petitioner's analysis of other legis-

lative provisions. The following

Statutes allow an aider and abettor to be

convicted of a capital offense, even

though intent to murder either has not

been or cannot be proved: Ariz. Rev.

Stat. Ann. §13-301(2), §13-303A.3.,

§13-1105; Ark. Stat. Ann. §41-1501(1);

(Arkansas allows the affirmative defense

that the defendant did not aid in

commission of the homicidal act, but the

extent of participation would be a

question for the trier of fact; see Ark.

Stat. Ann. §41-1501(2)); Cal. Penal Code

Ste §189; Colo. Rev. Stat. §18-1-603;

18-3-102; (Colorado allows same type of

affirmative defenses as Arkansas; see

Colo. Rev. Stat. §18-3-102(2)(b));

43

criminal conduct is so dangerous that

death is a foreseeable and likely result

of participation in that conduct. This

is the touchstone of the felony murder

rule itself -- a concept which Petricioner

has not seen fit to challenge.

1. Death Sentence Not Automatic

In Proffitt v. Florida, at 428 U.S.

251, the Court noted with approval that

Florida's death penalty statute required

(continued from previous page) Conn. Gen.

Stat. §53a-8, vag page & (8);

Del. Code Ann. tit. 11, §271; §636; Ga.

Code itso (3), §26-1101(b); Idaho

Code §18-204, §18-4003(d); I11. Rev.

Stat. ch. 38, §5-2, §9-1(a)(3); Ind. Code

35-41-2-4, §35-42-1-1; Ky. Rev. Stat.

502.020, §507.020(b); Miss. Code Ann.

97-1-3, §97-3-19(2)(e); Mont. Rev. Codes

Ann. §45-2-302(3), §45-5-102(b); Neb.

Rev. Stat. §28-206, §28-303; Nev. Rev.

Stat. §195.020, §200.030; N.M. Scat. Ann.

§30-1-13, §30-2-1(2); N.C. Gen. Stat

44

consideration as a statutory mitigating

circumstance the extent of a defendant's

participation as an accomplice in the

capital felony. See § 921.141, Fla.

Stat.:

(d) The Defendant was an

accomplice in the capital

felony committed by another

person and his participation

was relatively minor. (Emphasis

added).

(continued from previous page) , 314 5.2.

14-17; Okla. Stat. Ann. cit. §172,

701. 7B; Or. Rev. Strat. §161. 15502340)”

163. 115(1)(b), (Oregon allows same type

of affirmative defenses as Arkansas; see

Or. Rev. Stat. Rg 115(3)); S.C. Code

§16-1-40; §16-3-10; S.D. Compiled Laws

Ann. §22- 3-3, §22- i6- 4, §22-16-8; Tenn.

Code Ann. §§39-109, §39-2407, §39- -2402;

Texas alt Code Ann. tic. 2. 7 02(b):

tic. 5, §19.03(a); see — v. State,

583 S. W. 2d 349 (Tex. Cr. 1979); Ucah

Code Ann. §76-2-202, §76-5- 5.021) (a3; Ve.

Stat. Ann. tit. 13, "84, §2301, §2403;

Wash. Rev. Code §9A. 08.020,

ae Wyo. Stat. §6-1-114,

18 U.S.C. § 2, 49 U.S.C. §1472(1)(1)(B)

ce me tracy resulting in death); 18

U.S.C. 794 (espionage).

45

By requiring consideration of a

defendant's involvement in the capital

felony, as well as by allowing intro-

duction of any relevant mitigating

evidence, (Lockett, supra; Eddings,

supra), Florida has insured that the

discretion of the sentencing authority is

guided and channeled in death penalty

cases--in other words a death sentence is

not automatic. Thus, a defendant whose

participation was in fact minor, unlike

Petitioner, would have the benefit of at

least one statutory mitigating

circumstance.? In practice, a death

°The following states also have

Statutory mitigating circumstances which

require consideration of an accomplice's

extent of involvement in the capital

felony: Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann.

§13-703(¢)(3); Ark. Stat. Ann. §41-1304;

Cal. Penal Code §190.3(4j); Colo. Rev.

Stat. §16-11-103-(5)(d); I1l. Rev. Stat.

46

sentence for an aider and abettor will

only be imposed in extreme cases where

the defendant's involvement was major--

i.e., as in Petitioner's case where he

initiated, planned, procured, assisted,

and covered up. Because other situations

perhaps involving even more reprehensible

conduct and an even greater degree of

involvement are certain to arise,

Respondent reiterates that a bright line

is inappropriate.

(continued from previous page) ch. 38, §

9-1(c)(5); Ind. Code § 35-50-2-9(c) (4);

Ky. Rev. Stat. §532.025(2)(b)(5); La.

Code Crim. Pro. Ann. art. 905.5(g); Md.

Crim. Law Code Ann. §413(g)(6); Mo. Rev.

Stat. §565.012.3(4); Mont. Rev. Codes

Ann. §46-18-304(6); Neb. Rev. Star.

29-2523 (2)(e); Nev. Rev. Star.

rye Or. Rev. Stat. §163.115(3);

_$.C. Code §16-3-20(C)(b)(4); Tenn. Code

Ann. ater ste}! ACE Utah Code Ann.

§76-3-207(1)(£); 1981 Wash. Laws Chap.

138, §7(4); Wyo. Stat. §6-4-102(j) (iv).

47

2. Deterrence

The next question which should be

examined is whether the Florida

Legislature could rationally conclude

that a potential offender would be

deterred from committing one of the

enumerated underlying felonies if the

possibility of capital punishment were

real. When evaluating the propriety of

Florida's legislative determination, the

Court should note the presumption of

validity accorded to various legislative

determinations. Justice White,

dissenting in the now famous abortion

case, Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113, 222

(1973), summarized the applicable

standard of review:

In a sensitive area such as

this, involving as it does

issues over which reasonable

48

men may easily and heatedly

differ, I cannot accept the

Court’s exercise of its clear

power of choice by interposing

a constitutional barrier co

state efforts to protect human

life and by investing mothers

and doctors with the

constitutionally protected

right to exterminate it. This

issue, for the most part should

be left with the people and to

the political processes the

people have dev.sed to govern

their affairs. (Emphasis

added).

Petitioner has argued that because

the death penalty has not been imposed

often in a felony-murder context, a fact

which is not supported by experience in

Florida, 19 death cannot be a deterrent

100f che sixty-six inmates awaiting

execution at Florida State Prison whose

death sentences have been affirmed by the

Florida Supreme Court, forty-five (682)

were involved in the commission of

underlying felonies when homicides

occurred. See Appendix.

49

to the commission of the underlying

felony. To support this argument,

Petitioner has relied upon three studies

conducted in 1926, 1948, and 1975, and

cited in a comment to the Model Penal

Code. However, these studies were merely

compilations of the number of crimes

reported and the number of times deaths

had resulted during the commission of

those crimes. Respondent fails to

comprehend how any conclusion can be

drawn about deterrence when no one knows

how many crimes were not committed

because of fear of the punishment which

could be imposed. Notwithstanding che

inherent unrellability of such

statistics, Petitioner's argument must

fail because he has provided no

statistics (nor could he) for crimes

which were not committed because of fear

50

of capital retribution.

Rather than rely upon strained

interpretations of confusing and

conflicting statistics, Respondent urges

that the Court continue to apply a policy

of common sense. In that regard, con-

sider the example of the smart or

experienced criminal who, by exercising

his dominion and influence over a less

mentally gifted criminal is able to

procure or persuade him to commit one of

the underlying felonies and a death

occurs.

Should the one who planned and

instigated the felony, but who stayed

away because he was shrewd enough to be

aware that he would not be eligible for

the ultimate penalty, be allowed to

escape full culpability for homicides

which would never have occurred but for

51

his setting the crime in motion? This is

especially true when the actual perpe-

trator has received a death sentence.

Obviously, the answer to this question

should be a resounding NO! In fact, who

is more deserving of severe punishment --

shouldn't it be the criminal who caused

the crime to occur? Since an aider and

abettor can be as culpable and can be

punished as a principal is "beyond

constitutional challenge," Lockett,

supra, at 438 U.S. 602, no thinking

person can deny chat there is a strong

public policy against immunizing such a

defendant from equivalent culpability in

sentencing!

Moreover, the same rationale would

apply to an adult criminal who hires or

52

persuades a juvenile to commit a felony

in which a death occurs. In juris-

dictions in which cerrain juveniles are

not treated as adult offenders, should

the adult be insulated from full criminal

responsibility simply because the

principal who committed the murder cannot

receive a death sentence? Again, the

answer must no. Otherwise, experienced

adult criminals would simply have

juveniles do the dirty work for them --

common sense mandates that the state

legislatures be permitted to enact laws

which would prevent such ruthless

situations from being able to occur and

continue. Do not encourage the emergence

of untold Fagins.

53

Another example, also contrary to

prudent public policy, that would be cer-

tain to occur if Petitioner's argument is

accepted by the Court, concerns what

would happen at the crial of a defendant

who actually pulled che trigger in a case

like Petitioner's. Defense counsel would

surely attempt to evoke the jury's

sympathy by pointing out that che "person

really responsible," i.e., the one who,

like Petitioner, planned, initiated, and

assisted in cuvering up the crime, could

not receive the maximum sentence.

This watering-down effect on capital

punishment during trials of killers

should not be permitted. The time has

come for this Court to allow society to

implement those laws designed to stop

those who senselessly and needlessly

violate the laws which most of us

54

respect. Respondent urges that this

Court not prohibit the Scates from

enacting and enforcing laws which deter

crime. After all, even Counsel for

Petitioner would not seriously dispute

that state governments have a duty to

protect all citizens’ constitutional

rights to be safe and secure in cheir

homes and communities and to enjoy

"domestic tranquility."

In other words,

citizens have rights also and one is the

right to enact laws designed to promote

"domestic tranquiliry."

Finally, should Pecitioner be

successful in persuading the Court to

create a rule that one who does not

intend death cannot receive the death

penalty, regardless of the foreseeabilitry

of the dangerousness of his crime, the

“next step would be an attack upon capital

55

punishment for those who planned death

but did not actually commit che killing.

Consider the example of one who initiates

a contract killing. Although the planner

and procurer has an intent to cause a

victim's death, should he be allowed to

escape full responsibility because he

deliberately was not present and did not

pull che trigger? Again the answer must

be a resounding no. In Florida, as well

as at least twenty-four (24) other

states,!1 the state legislatures have

1lthe following states either

specifically make murder for hire a

capital offense or allow a murder

conviction to be aggravated for

sentencing purposes if the defendant

hired someone to commit murder: Ariz.

Rev. Stat. Ann. §13-703(£)(4); Ark. Stat.

Ann. §41-1501(1)(g); Colo. Rev. Stat.

16-11-103(6)(e); Conn. Gen. Stat.

53a-54b; Del. Code Ann. cit. 11,

4209(e)(h); Ga. Code §27-2534.1(6);

Idaho Code §19-2515(£) (4); Ill. Rev.

Stat. ch. 38, §9-1(b)(5); Ind. Code

§35-50-2-9(b3(5); La. Code Crim. Pro.

Ann. art. 905.4(e) (West); Md. Crim.

56

refused to allow such a bizzare and

arbitrary distinction to erode the

effectiveness of capital punishment.

This type of law is a rational response

by those responsible for the health,

safety, and welfare of the people, and

Peticioner has been unable to demonstrate

how such a rational determination offends

the Consticution.

3. Moral Outrage

In the 1976 death penalty cases

which upheld capital punishment, the

(continued from previous page) Law Code

Ann. §413(d)(7); Miss. Code Ann.

97-3-19(2)(d); Mo. Rev. Stat.

565.012.2(6); Neb. Rev. Stat.

29-2523(1)(c); N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann.

630.01(1)(c); Ohio Rev. Code

2929.04(A)(2); Okla. Stat. Ann. cit. 21,

701.12.3; Or. Rev. Stat. §163.095(1)(b);

S.C. Code §16-3-20(C)(a)(6); S.D. Com-

piled Laws Ann. §23A-27A-1(5); Tenn. Code

Ann. §39-2404(1)(4); Tex. Penal Code Ann.

tic. 5, §19.03(a)(3); Ve. Scat. Ann. tit.

433 §2301; 1981 Wash. Laws Chap. 138, §2

57

Court also noted that retribution and

incapacitation were viable theories .to

support capital punishment. Respondent

would add that both incapacitation and

retribution (moral outrage) are equally

applicable in felony-murder situations.

In response to Petitioner's argument that

a death sentence would not deter a

murderer, Respondent simply points out

that the justification for such

punishment in cases like Petitioner's is

deterrence from commission of the

underlying felony and as a resuit the

forseeable, albeit unintended, homicide.

Also, the concept of moral outrage

is even more appropriate in felony-murder

cases than in cases involving premedi-

tated murder, because most premeditated

murders arise out of crimes of passion

which are based upon motive -- crimes

58

where the death penalty is rarely

imposed. An unintended murder is still

murder even though it arises out of the

commission of a felony such as rape or

' armed robbery. This type of crime can

strike any citizen without rhyme or

reason and therefore people have just

cause to fear and despise it the most.

Finally, the propriety and

rationality of Florida's legislative

determination that the ultimate penalty

is appropriate in a case like this

becomes strikingly apparent when one

considers that a criminal has nothing to

lose if he or his accomplice murders his

victim during or after completion of the

underlying felony. If the victim is not

murdered, he might return to assist in

convicting the criminal of the underlying

59

felony. On the other hand, if the vicrim

is murdered, there is absolutely no

possibilicy of future identification by

the victim, and the criminal might escape

responsibility for his heinous crimes

altogether. 12

In other words, a felon has every-

thing to gain and nothing to lose by

murdering the victim of the underlying

felony because he usually cannot receive

a greater punishment chan che life

sentence he is probably already subject

12In a very recent case, Vaught v.

State, So.2d , No. 52,835 (Fla.,

opinion filed Jan. 7, 1982), the Supreme

Court of Florida recognized che value of

such a sanction and upheld the death

sentence of a defendant who was found to

have murdered in order to prevent

subsequent idencification by che victim.

See also: Hargrave v. State, 366 So.2d

1,5 (Fla. 1978), cert. denied, 444 U.S.

919 (1979).

60

to for commission of one or more of the

serious enumerated felonies. Judicial

acceptance of such a result would be

tantamount to the issuance of "death

warrants" for innumerable convenience

store clerks and service station opera-

tors who are the present-day targets of

thugs who have little or no regard for

‘he lives of others. Obviously, this is

an anomalous situation which the Florida

Legislature, or any other legislature

responsible for the protection of its

constituents, cannot allow to occur.

Indeed, Respondent submits that it would

be irresponsible for any legislative body

to permit a situation which does not

allow an added effective sanction to

penalize a criminal for an additional,

though not originally planned, heinous

act -- in this case first degree murder.

61

More importantly and more relevant

to a disposition of this case, no

objective or rational person could

seriously argue that a legislative body

cculd not infer or conclude that capital

punishment for the commisson of a serious

felony which results in death of a human

being would not deter others from

engaging in such felonious conduct.

Likewise, a legislative body could

rationally conclude that if capital

punishment were available, felons would

avoid injury to their victims at all

costs.!3 The fact that deaths

13In a 1970-71 study conducted by the

Los Angeles Police Department, it was

found chat 50.5% of a group of arrestees

who either were unarmed or failed to use

their weapons were deterred by fear of

the death penalty. See Amicus Curiae

brief of California, p. 38, filed in

Gregg v. Georgia, supra.

62

occur in only a relatively small number

of the hundreds of thousands of robberies

committed each year demonstrates that the

perpetrators well know the consequences

that can result where a death is

involved.

Petitioner has failed to demonstrate

that a legislature could not so conclude,

and the Gregg, Proffitt, and Jurek cases

unequivocally require him to carry that

heavy burden. The next question which

must be resolved is whether the death

sentence was appropriate in Petitioner's

case.

63

ARGUMENT

Il.

PETITIONER'S DEATH SENTENCE WAS

APPROPRIATE BECAUSE OF HIS

EXTENSIVE INVOLVEMENT IN THE

CRIMINAL ACTIVITY, THE NATURE

AND CIRCUMSTANCES OF THE CRIME,

AND THE FACT THAT HE PRESENTED

ABSOLUTELY NO EVIDENCE IN

MITIGATION.

Petitioner has somehow concluded

that both the trial court and the Supreme

Court of Florida afforded inadequate

consideration to his extent of partici-

pation in the murders and robbery. This

conclusion is apparently based upon

Petitioner's independent conclusion that

§ 921.141(6)(d), Fla. Stat., concerning

the extent of an accomplice's partici-

pation, should have been found. Then,

after manufacturing an inapplicable

mitigating circumstance, Petitioner has

asserted that his death sentence cannot

64

stand because the remaining aggravating

circumstances, in his opinion, do not

outweigh the mitigating. However, the

Florida courts’ findings of the

inapplicability of any mitigating

circumstances, either statutory or

non-statutory, are supported by the

record, and Petitioner's death sentences

should not be disturbed.

Respondent recognizes that Lockett

v. Ohio, supra, mandated that in a

capital case the sentencing authority

"not be precluded from considering as a

mitigating factor, [emphasis in original]

any aspect of a defendant's character or

record and any of the circumstances of

the offense that the defendant proffers

as a basis for a sentence less than

death." Id. at 438 U.S. 604. (Emphasis

added). Ohio's statute failed to pass

65

constitutional muster because it pre-

vented the sentencing authority from

giving independent mitigating weight to

aspects of the defendant's character and

record and because it prevented

consideration of the "circumstances of

the offense proffered in mitigation" by

the defendant. Id. at 438 U.S. 605

(Emphasis added). As has previously been

noted, see n. 1 at p. 4, infra, Florida'a

death penalty statute allows any evidence

relevant to the nature of the crime and

the character of the defendant to be

admitted in mitigation. See §921.141

(1), Fla. Stat.; Lockett v. Ohio, supra;

Proffitt v. Florida, supra, Shriner v.

State, 386 So.2d 525, 533 (Fla. 1980),

cert. denied, 101 S.Cr. 899 (1981).

66

It is extremely critical that the

Court be aware that during the sentencing

phase of the trial, not only did

Petitioner fail to introduce or proffer

any evidence concerning the extent of his

involvement in the crimes, but also that

he failed to present or proffer anv

evidence at all in mitigation. (R 1677).

How then can Petitioner be heard to

complain to this Court that the Florida

courts failed or refused to consider

relevant mitigating circumstances when he

neither introduced nor proffered any

evidence in his behalf? Surely, he

cannot!

However, notwithstanding

Petitioner's total failure to proffer or

present any mitigating evidence, it is

clear from the record that both the trial

court and the Supreme Court of Florida

67

considered and rejected the applicability

of the mitigating circumstance concerning

Petitioner's degree of participation in

the crimes. Thus, Petitioner's case is

completely unlike Eddings v. Oklahoma,

supra, in which the Oklahoma courts

failed to consider certain evidence which

had been introduced for purposes of

mitigation. For example, the trial court

in its written findings, which were

reproduced in the Florida Supreme Court's

opinion, (J.A. 53) stated:

As to FS 921.141(6)(d), the

evidence clearly indicates that

the defendant was an accomplice

to the capital felony and that

his participation in the

capital felony was major. The

defendant Enmund planned the

capital felony and actively

participated in an attempt to

avoid detection by disposing of

the murder weapons.

Enmund v. State, 399 So.2d 1362, 1373

(Fla. 1981). The Supreme Court of

68

Florida agreed with the crial court's

conclusion that § 921.141(6)(d) was

inapplicable. Id. Moreover, it is clear

from the Florida Supreme Court's

statement of facts that that Court was

aware of Petitioner's extensive

involvement in the crimes -- Enmund

initiated the plan for the robbery (Id.

at 1365, J.A. 38; R 997-1000), was seen

near the scene of the crimes on the

morning of the murders (Id. at 1364, J.A.

37; R 1300-1303), admitted that he had

seen Mr. Kersey with the money when he

was present on Kersey's property (R 1205,

1206), and caused disposal of the murder

weapons ( Id. at 1366, J.A. 41; R 1201).

Just because evidence of a mitigating

circumstance could have been introduced,

it does not necessarily follow that such

a mitigating fact had to be found to

69

exist. Eddings v. Oklahoma, supra;

Hargrave v. State, supra. Petitioner's

assertion that his involvement in the

crimes was minor is simply wishful

thinking -- as the record clearly shows,

the crimes never would have occurred had

ict not been for Earl Enmund.

Finally, there are at least three

reasons why this Court must reject

Petitioner's assertion that he should be

resentenced because the Supreme Court of

Florida eliminated certain aggravating

circumstances found by the tcrial court.

First, contrary to Petitioner's wishful

thinking, no mitigating circumstances

were applicable and none were found.

Second, two valid (and now unchallenged)

aggravating circumstances were found --

under Florida law, death is presumed to

be the appropriate sentence when there is

70

nothing in mitigation and at least one

aggravating circumstance exists. State

v. Dixon, 283 So.2d 1 (Fla. 1973), cert.

denied 416 U.S. 943 (1974). Third, under

Florida law, when the reviewing court can

determine from other validly found

aggravating circumstances that "the

weighing process has not been

compromised,'' a death sentence will not

be disturbed. Brown v. State, 381 So.2d

690, 696 (Fla. 1980), cert. denied, 101

S.Cct. 931 (1981); Hargrave v. State,

supra. Petitioner was not denied due

process during the sentencing proceedings

in the Floirda courts, and his death

sentences should not be disturbed.

CONCLUSION

The Constitution does not require a

finding of intent before a defendant can

be found criminally responsible for his

7)

actions, and Peritioner has failed to

offer a compelling reason why this Court

should judicially create such a bright

line rule. Rather, Florida's statute

focuses on the facts and circumstances of

the crime, as well as the character of

the perpetrator, Eddings v. Oklahoma,

supra, and culpability is rationally

based upon concepts of forseeabiliry.

During the sentencing phase of his

trial, Petitioner neither introduced nor

proffered any evidence in mitigation, and

he should not be heard now to complain

that the Florida courts "refused" to

consider his degree of involvement in the

murders. The facts and circumstances

found to exist by the judge and jury are

supported by the record and are suffi-

icient to support the judgments and

sentences of death. Therefore, the

72

decision of the Supreme Court of Florida

upholding the judgments and sentences of

death should be affirmed.

Respectfully submitted,

JIM SMITH

Attorney General

ca bit lig Khel

Assistant Attorney General

° R

Assistant Attorney”’G

Attorney of Record

RAYMOND L. MARKY

Assistant Attorney General

The Capitol Building

Tallahassee, Florida 32301

73

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.