Record and brief — Jannotti v. United States

Supreme Court brief1982

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

ion

Petit

ee ee ee ee ee ee

‘

81-1899 ¥ rye ur Os

APR 12

No. _

Besa ends

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1981

HARRY P. JANNOTTI,

Petitioner

0.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent

GEORGE X. SCHWARTZ,

Petitioner

v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

. CLayton UNpercor.er, III

Of Counsel: OBERT N. pe Luca

Di_wortn, Paxson, KALISH 2600 The Fidelity Building

& KAUFFMAN Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19109

Carot A. MEEHAN (215) 875-7000

2600 The Fidelity Building Attorneys for Petitioner

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19109 Harry P. Jannotti

Ricuarp A. SPRAGUE

Epwarp H. RusBENsTONE

Suite 400, Wellington Building

Of Counsel: 135 S. 19th Street

SPRAGUE & RUBENSTONE a 19103

Suite 400, Wellington Building 1-

135 S. 19th Street Attorneys for Petitioner

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19103 George X. Schwartz

International Printing Co., 711 So. SOth St. Phila., Pa. 19143 — Tel. (215) 727-8711

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the government's conduct of the ABSCAM

operation violated the most basic standards of due process

and fundamental fairness, reaching and exceeding that

degree of outrageousness which mandates dismissal of this

prosecution?

2. Whether, where the evidence of governmental in-

ducement is overwhelming, the government can meet its

burden to disprove entrapment when the only proof of

predisposition offered is the fact that the defendant com-

mitted the criminal act, which proof demonstrates neither

his pre-existing criminal inclination nor familiarity with

criminal techniques and procedures, and was manufac-

tured, in its entirety, by the government?

3. Whether, given the constitutional limitations in-

herent in Congress’ power to legislate under the commerce

clause, federal jurisdiction under the Hobbs Act can be

predicated upon wholly fictitious facts and circumstances

which could never have had, at any time, any actual or

_ potential effect on interstate commerce and which “facts,”

in any event, were formulated and injected into the trans-

action in question by the government?

4. Whether, under the Hobbs Act, criminal convic-

tions for extortion can be sustained absent proof of

“inducement” by the defendants charged?

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

GemmNNNS TUMMIITED onc cesses scccccccccsccssccccvccces i

TAGE GP AMUBTBTTED oo0o sc ccccccscccccccccccccscccosecs iii

SN BT ccc ccccccdcccceccctssendscccceseceses

III cin nc'nnd6060eecbes6oedectseacascenesbesecste

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROvISIONS INVOLVED ......

STATEMENT OF THE CAGE 2... cece ccccccccccccccscccccess

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .......-..-00000eeee eee 10

The Government’s Conduct of ABSCAM Violated the

Most Basic Standards of Due Process and Funda-

mental Fairness, Reaching and Exceeding That

Degree of Outrageousness Which Mandates Dis-

mafesal of Tiles Prosecution ........ccccceccsccees 10

Where the Evidence of Governmental Inducement Is

Overwhelming, the Government May Not Rely Upon

Evidence of “Ready Acquiescence” Manufactured by

It to Meet Its Burden, Nor Can a Court Sustain a

Conviction in an Entrapment Case on Proof of Com-

mission of the Criminal Act Alone ............... 17

The Third Circuit's Ruling on Hobbs Act Jurisdiction in

This Case Conflicts With the Rulings of Three Courts

of Appeals, Impacts on All Federal Criminal Legis-

lation Enacted Under the Commerce Clause, Misap-

plies Prior Holdings of This Court, and Is Erroneous

Under the Facts of This Case ................... 20

A Conviction for Extortion Under the Hobbs Act Absent

Proof of Inducement by a Defendant Should Not

Be Permitted, and Clarification of This Issue Is

ET bWhddddh00660 sens ccasdudacbesenceseses 26

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

Casey v. United States, 276 U. S. 413 (1928) .............. ll

Greene v. United States, 454 F. 2d 783 (9th Cir. 1971) ..... 11,13

Hampton v. United States, 425 U. S. 484 (1976) ........... ll

Olmstead v. United States, 277 U. S. 438 (1928) ............ ll

People v. Dioguardi, 8 N. Y. 2d 260, 203 N. Y. S. 2d 870, 168

Se OE gow ncccdusdsyucedcansseueccess 27

Perez v. United States, 402 U. S. 146 (1971) .............. 20, 21

Sherman v. United States, 356 U. S. 369 (1958) ............ ll

Sorrells v. United States, 287 U. S. 435 (1932) ............ 11,17

United States v. Adcock, 558 F’. 2d 397 (8th Cir.), cert.

es GO Oe Oe CD oi cnccckensasbesucvtacee 27

United States v. Addonizio, 451 F. 2d 49 (3d Cir.), cert.

Gee, GES TH, BH GE CIGD acc cccccccccsciccscccccs 27

United States v. Archer, 486 F. 2d 670 (2d Cir. 1973) ....11, 15, 24

United States v. Bocra, 623 F. 2d 281 (3rd Cir.), cert. denied,

i oo ce sence ceeeueseseenadseccee ll

United States v. Cerilli, 603 F. 2d 415 (3d Cir. 1979), cert.

denied, 444 U. S. 1043 (1980) .............. ccc eee 22

United States v. Duhon, 565 F. 2d 345 (5th Cir. ), cert. denied,

ee ee PE acd coe weaver ecabesucsusacass 28

United States v. Feola, 420 U. S. 671 (1975) ..... 20, 22, 23, 24, 25

United States v. French, 628 F. 2d 1069 (8th Cir.), cert.

denied, 101 S. Ct. 364 (1980) ..............cceeeeee. 26

United States v. Gerald, 624 F. 2d 1291 (5th Cir. 1980) ..... 28

United States v. Hathaway, 534 F. 2d 386 (lst Cir.), cert.

denied, 499 U. S. 810 (1976) .........ccccccccccccecs 27

United States v. Hedman, 630 F. 2d 1184 (7th Cir. 1980),

cert. denied, 450 U. S. 965 (1981) ................05. 27

United States v. Hyde, 448 F. 2d 815 (5th Cir. 1971), cert.

denied, 404 U. S. 1058 (1972) ......... cece cece eeees 27, 28

United States v. Johnson, 565 F. 2d 179 (1st Cir. 1977), cert.

Gre, GEG GG. BN CEG ones ccc ccvccccssccccces ll

(ii)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (Continued)

Cases (Continued): Page

United States v. Leja, 563 F. 2d 244 (6th Cir. 1977), cert.

denied, 434 U. S. 1074 (1978) ........ccccccccevcees ll

United States v. Phillips, 577 F. 2d 495 (9th Cir.), cert.

I, Ge Ge Gs Ge CPU occ cvccccvcsccsccesceces 21

United States v. Prairie, 572 F. 2d 1316 (9th Cir. 1978) ..... Il

United States v. Reifsteck, 535 F. 2d 1030 (8th Cir. 1976) ... 11

United States v. Rindone, 63] F. 2d 491 (7th Cir. 1980) .... 21

United States v. Russell, 459 F. 2d 671 (9th Cir. 1972), rev'd

i oD cieenesescendeccesennvesdsvecss ll

United States v. Spagnolo, 546 F. 2d 1117 (4th Cir. 1976)

(per curiam ), cert. denied, 433 U. S. 909 (1977) ....... 21, 22

United States v. Staszcuk, 517 F. 2d 53 (7th Cir.) (en banc),

cert. denied, 423 U. S. 837 (1975) .............. 21, 22, 25, 27

United States v. Twigg, 588 F. 2d 373 (3d Cir. 1978) ...... ll

United States v. Watson, 489 F. 2d 504 (3d Cir. 1973) ..... 17

United States v. West, 511 F. 2d 1083 (3d Cir. 1975) ...... ll

Williamson v. United States, 311 F. 2d 441 (5th Cir. 1962), on

appeal after remand, 340 F. 2d 612 (5th Cir.), cert.

I, Ge We CED occ ccdccccveccaseveciee 12

Constitution and Statutes:

United States Constitution, Amendment V ............ i, 2, 20, 25

United States Code, Title 18:

Re a ee 22

18 U. S. C. § 1951 (The “Hobbs Act”) ..... 2, 3, 8, 9, 20 et seq.

Be ae ee EE ED | Se cidecodccciccceod’ 3, 8,9, 14

ee eg Cs eke ied wabawues 3,15

ae SED Uceuiod 60 G5beendu64 se eneoneuew 4

United States Code, Title 25:

a i ci aven eens bees eceseeeosuées st 2

(iv)

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser TERM, 1981

HARRY P. JANNOTTI,

Petitioner

v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent

GEORGE X. SCHWARTZ,

Petitioner

0.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

Petitioners above named respectfully pray that a writ

of certiorari issue to review the judgment and opinion of

the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit,

sitting in banc, entered in this case on February 11, 1982.

(1)

2 Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit, sitting in banc, reversing the opinion

of the United States District Court, is not yet reported. A

copy of this opinion is printed in the Appendix at A. 1.

The opinion of the United States District Court for

the Eastern District of Pennsylvania, which was reversed

by the appellate court, is reported at 501 F. Supp. 1182

(E. D. Pa. 1980). A copy of this opinion is printed in the

Appendix at A. 129.

The opinion of the United States District Court for

the Eastern District of Pennsylvania, dismissing the sub-

stantive Hobbs Act charges, is not reported. A copy of

this opinion is printed in the Appendix at A. 107.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit, reprinted in the Appendix, at A. 181,

was entered on February 11, 1982. This Court’s jurisdic-

tion is invoked under 28 U. S. C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

United States Constitution:

Amendment V:

No person shall . . . be deprived of life, liberty,

or property without due process of law; . . .

United States Code, Title 18:

§ 1951. Interference with commerce by threats or

violence (the “Hobbs Act” )

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari 3

(a) Whoever in any way or degree obstructs, delays,

or affects commerce or the movement of any article

or commodity in commerce, by robbery or extortion

or attempts or conspires so to do . . . shall be fined

not more than $10,000 or imprisoned not more than

twenty years, or both.

(b) As used in this section—

°° ° °

(2) The term “extortion” means the obtaining of

property from another, with his consent, induced

by wrongful use of actual or threatened force,

violence, or fear, or under color of official right.

(3) The term “commerce” means commerce

within the District of Columbia, or any Territory

or Possession of the United States; all commerce

between any point in a State, Territory, Posses-

sion, or the District of Columbia and any point

outside thereof; all commerce between points

within che same State through any place outside

such State; and all other commerce over which

the United States has jurisdiction.

§ 1962. Prohibited activities (Racketeer Influenced

and Corrupt Organizations Act: “RICO” )

(c) It shall be unlawful for any person employed

by or associated with any enterprise engaged in, or

the activities of which affect, interstate or foreign

commerce, to conduct or participate, directly or indi-

rectly, in the conduct of such enterprise’s affairs

through a pattern of racketeering activity or collection

of unlawful debt.

4 Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

(d) It shall be unlawful for any person to conspire

to violate any of the provisions of subsection (a),

(b), or (c) of this section.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

ABSCAM was conceived in 1978 by F. B. I. agents

in New York along with a career swindler and convicted

felon, Melvin Weinberg. Originally, ABSCAM was de-

signed to recover stolen property, but it evolved into a

government-backed endeavor to bribe public officials,

thus changing the government's role from that of a tradi-

tionally passive buyer of stolen property to an aggressive

instigator, seeking out officials and offering bribes to them.

ABSCAM was characterized throughout by clever

strategies and substantial inducements—the “honeypot”

according to Weinberg—designed to attract potential tar-

gets of the scheme. Substantial legal fees, lucrative in-

vestment opportunities, and large amounts of money were

offered to the victims of the scheme, and the impression

of an Arab sheik with vast amounts of money to spend

freely was continually fostered by tie FY. B. I. Likewise,

the F. B. I. agents repeatedly and effectively employed

the concept of “the Arab mind” or “the Arab way of doing

business” ' to persuade their victims that they must accept

the money offered to them to convince the fictitious sheik

of their friendship.

The government also recruited and used “middle-

men” to assist in the scheme, among them Howard Criden,

a Philadelphia lawyer who brought both petitioners

Schwartz and Jannotti into the ABSCAM net. Criden, as

were various other middlemen, was compensated by

1. See the District Court’s discussion of the “Arab mind” tech-

nique and the manner in which it was employed, at A. 151-152.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari 5

contingent fee based upon the number of officials he could

produce for the government. He also received continu-

ing promises of substantial, future legal fees and other

lucrative investment opportunities.

Criden was taught early in ABSCAM by Weinberg

and another middleman, Mayor Angelo Errichetti of Cam-

den, New Jersey, that the officials who were brought in to

meet the sheik and his “associates’"—the F. B. I. agents—

need only come on strong, emphasize their importance,

and that no official would be called upon to pertorm.

A. 152-153. Criden also intentionally deceived the F. B. I.

by having an associate in his law firm impersonate an

immigration officer to obtain a $50,000 fee. The ruse did

not work and the F. B. I. learned of the deception. Never-

theless, the F. B. I. continued to utilize Criden and to

accept without question his representations regarding the

honesty and reputations of public officials who were the

ultimate victims of ABSCAM.

The Philadelphia aspect of ABSCAM was authorized

by the F. B. I. only for a ten-day period, was the last major

operation conducted by the ABSCAM operatives, and was

designed to test the integrity of city officials.* No infiltra-

tion or discovery of ongoing criminal activity took place or

was intended by the government. Rather it created a

criminal enterprise and actively attempted to involve inno-

cent persons in its operations. The scenario employed by

the F. B. I. centered upon the sheik’s plan to construct a

fictitious $35 million hotel in Philadelphia, with its result-

ant, major impact on the city’s economy. But the rec-

ord is devoid of any evidence that payments of money to

2. The Philadelphia U. S. Attorney testified that his office

actively lobbied for an opportunity to conduct a Philadelphia

ABSCAM operation, attempted to devise strategems to justify

bringing ABSCAM to the city, and formulated a scenario which

would result in violations of federal law.

6 Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

any city official were either sought or required or that any

Philadelphia official would have to be dealt with in con-

nection with the proposed hotel project.

Following a series of telephone calls from Weinberg

to Criden, on January 18, 1980, Criden met with F. B. I.

Agent Michael Wald, who passed himself off as a rep-

resentative of the fictitious sheik.’ Wald pressed Criden

for introductions to various municipal officials. He spe-

cifically requested a meeting with petitioner Schwartz and

Councilman Louis C. Johanson, Criden’s law partner,

despite Criden’s protestations that their assistance was

unnecessary given the sheik’s prior relationship with two

Philadelphia congressmen. Wald then unilaterally raised

the issue of payments and agreed to pay Criden $10,000

for the production of Schwartz and Johanson. As of this

time, Criden had never met or had any prior dealings with

Schwartz.

Later that day, Johanson met with Wald. He agreed

to support the hotel project and accepted a $25,000 pay-

ment. At the end of the meeting, Wald gave Criden

$5,000 and promised him “5 for the next delivery.”

Johanson testified that, based on his earlier meeting with

Criden, he thought the payment was a retainer for lezal

services which his law firm would perform on the hotel

project. Johanson also testified that as the meeting pro-

gressed, he became aware that it “wasn’t kosher.” Later,

and because he thought he had been duped by Criden,

Johanson refused a request by Criden for an introduction

to petitioners, since he felt they were good men whom he

did not want to involve in improper activities.

On January 23, 1980, Schwartz met with Criden

and Wald.* During the meeting, Schwartz repeatedly

3. The meeting with Criden, as were the subsequent meetings

with petitioners, was videotaped by the government.

4. Criden had obtained an introduction to Schwartz through

a mutual friend, Philadelphia Common Pleas Court Judge Thomas

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari 7

pitched Philadelphia, told Wald that the “climate is good”

for a major construction project, and noted that any

problems arising in connection with a proper and legitimate

project could be overcome administratively. Schwartz

also advised Wald of his power and influence within City

Council and that he, Schwartz, had previously rendered

assistance to other developers of major construction proj-

ects in Philadelphia. Wald assured Schwartz that the

project was a legitimate one but emphasized that, if the

project was to be built in Philadelphia, he must have

Schwartz’ assurance that there would be no problems.

Schwartz repeatedly advised that no guarantees could be

given but that, as long as the project was legitimate, any

problems could be resolved.

Significantly, when Wald first mentioned payments,

Schwartz made it clear that money was not the motivating

factor behind his agreement to assist with the project.

Throughout the meeting, Schwartz discussed the available

financing opportunities and the best law firms to employ

in connection with the project. Near the end of the meet-

ing, Wald again told Schwartz that he must have Schwartz’

unequivocal assurance that everything could be taken care

of if he was to report to the sheik that the hotel project

could be placed in Philadelphia. Schwartz reiterated that

he “cannot give you a guarantee that there won’t be any

problems” but that so long as the project was legitimate,

administrative procedures in Philadelphia could assist in

resolving those problems. At the end of the meeting, a

payment of $30,000 was given to Schwartz. Wald then

4. (Cont'd)

Shiomos. Shiomos testified that Criden told him that Criden’s

clients wanted to hire Schwartz as a consultant and to pay Schwartz

for his advice and that he, Shiomos, told this to Schwartz. Judge

Shiomos testified that he saw nothing “improper or fishy” in this

proposal and so advised Schwartz. A. 159-60.

8 Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

gave Criden $5,000 for delivering Schwartz and urged

Criden to deliver petitioner Jannotti.’ Although, as with

Schwartz, Criden did not know Jannotti prior to the meet-

ing, Criden boasted on tape to Wald that he knew Jan-

notti well. The F. B. I. did not attempt to verify Criden’s

plainly false assertions of knowing Schwartz, and it did

nothing to verify his assertions concerning Jannotti.

On January 24, Criden produced Jannotti for the hid-

den cameras. During the Jannotti meeting, and following

an initial discussion of the hotel project, Jannotti was re-

peatedly told by the F. B. I. of the requirements of the

“Arab mind,” and that the sheik insisted upon making

friends and resolving problems before they arose. Wald

asserted that the “Arab mind” required that Jannotti accept

the payment of money to prove his friendship if the sheik

was to construct the hotel in Philadelphia.

Jannotti repeatedly expressed his interest in the

project, his feeling that the project would be a great bene-

fit to the city, and his support for the hotel because it was

a legitimate project. However, each time that Jannotti

showed reluctance to accept money, the F. B. I. agent in-

creased the intensity of his presentation until ultimately

Jannotti accepted a $10,000 payment. Once Jannotti

left, the F. B. I. agents, obviously frustrated because

of Jannotti’s demeanor and lack of understanding or inter-

est in the proffered payment, expressed their displeasure

to Criden.

Petitioners were indicted for conspiracy under 18

U. S. C. §§ 1951 (the “Hobbs Act”) and 1962 (the

“Racketeer Influenced Corrupt Organizations Act” or

“RICO” ) and also for attempts to violate the Hobbs Act.

The attempt charges were dismissed by the District Court

5. Also, during this meeting between Criden and Wald, Wald

pressed for introductions to other city officials with whom he could

“deal,” naming, among others, the mayor and the former mayor of

the city of Philadelphia and various councilmen.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari 9

prior to trial, and the government did not appeal. A. 107

Petitioners were subsequently tried on the two conspiracy

counts. Following a siv day jury trial, petitioner Schwartz

was found guilty of both the RICO and Hobbs Act con-

spiracy charges. Petitioner Jannotti was found guilty of

the Hobbs Act conspiracy charge but was acquitted on

the RICO count.

During the trial, the government placed almost total

reliance on the video tapes. The government did not pre-

sent independent proof of any actual, potential or any

other effect on interstate commerce as a result of peti-

tioners’ conduct and, aside from its own agent, Criden,

presented no evidence of a “pattern” of racketeering.

Likewise, the government introduced no evidence that

petitioners sought, requested, solicited, demanded or

otherwise affirmatively expressed the need for any pay-

ment of money in exchange for official services. Finally,

the government introduced no extrinsic evidence of peti-

tioners’ predisposition and relied solely upon the events

of the meetings and strained inferences from other pe-

ripheral evidence to prove predisposition. Both prior to

trial and following the trial, the District Court held exten-

sive hearings on the due process issues.

After verdict, petitioners moved for judgments of

acquittal. By Memorandum and Order dated November

26, 1980, the District Court set aside the verdict in its

entirety, dismissed the Hobbs Act conspiracy counts for

lack of jurisdiction, and granted petitioners’ motions for

judgment of acquittal. A. 129.

The government appealed the District Court’s ruling

and, on February 11, 1982, the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit, sitting in banc, reversed the

District Court’s decision by a seven-to-two vote, A. 1,

and directed reinstatement of the jury verdict. The in-

stant petition to this Court followed.

10 Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

With this, the first ABSCAM prosecution to reach this

Court, it is now time to confront directly and resolve the

critical issue raised by the government's ABSCAM opera-

tions: will our legal system permit federal investigative

and prosecutorial agencies to create crime, to target and

solicit their potential victims, to influence these victims by

the use of uncontrolled middlemen and by the tendering

of substantial inducements to them, and to script, manu-

facture, and mold the evidence which will be used to

prosecute and convict these victims? It is petitioners’

position that the creation of crime is an insidious and

immoral business and that the government has no place

in it. For all of the reasons set forth below, granting of

the writ requested is essential. The issues in this case, to

quote from Judge Aldisert’s incisive dissenting opinion

below, raise questions which involve “an extremely sensi-

tive intersection between morals and positive law, which

demands that the judiciary assume rather than shirk re-

sponsibility.” A. 79-80.

The Government's Conduct of ABSCAM Violated the

Most Basic Standards of Due Process and Funda-

mental Fairness, Reaching and Exceeding That

Degree of Outrageousness Which Mandates Dismissal

of This Prosecution.

Given the extraordinary impact which ABSCAM has

had on the national conscience, as well as the effect which

any final decision on the ABSCAM affair will have upon

the future conduct of law enforcement agencies in this

country, it is submitted that the controversy which has

swirled around ABSCAM must be definitively resolved.

Indeed, so important is the resolution of these issues that

they should not be left to piecemeal adjudication by the

courts of appeals.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari 11

The District Court in this case applied the “demon-

strable level of outrageousness” standard set down in

Hampton v. United States, 425 U. S. 484, 495 n. 7 (1976)

(Powell, J., concurring), and held that the government's

conduct and activities in ABSCAM exceeded permissible

limits. Petitioners submit that a review of this record will

confirm that the District Court was correct.

Due process in the context of criminal proceedings

has received only limited treatment by this Court,° but

numerous courts of appeals have applied due process con-

cepts’ and in several instances, have reversed criminal

convictions on this very ground.* Every factor found

relevant to the due process analysis by every court of

appeals that has considered the issue is present here in the

extreme.

The government instigated, suggested, set in motion,

and “scripted” the entire ABSCAM scheme. ABSCAM

epitomizes extremely unfair governmental conduct at the

6. Sorrells v. United States, 287 U. S. 435, 459 (1932)

(Roberts, J., separate opinion); Sherman v. United States, 356

U. S. 369, 381 (1958) (Frankfurter, J., concurring); United States

v. Russell, 411 U. S. 423 (1973); Hampton v. United States, supra;

see Olmstead v. United States, 277 U. S. 438, 485 (1928) ( Brandeis,

J., dissenting ); Casey v. United States, 276 U. S. 413 (1928) (Bran-

deis, J., dissenting).

7. E.g., United States v. Bocra, 623 F. 2d 281 (3rd Cir.), cert.

denied, 449 U. S. 875 (1980); United States v. Prairie, 572 F. 2d

1316 (9th Cir. 1978); United States v. Johnson, 565 F. 2d 179 (1st

Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 434 U. S. 1075 (1978); United States v.

Leja, 563 F. 2d 244 (6th Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 434 U. S. 1074

(1978); United States v. Reifsteck, 535 F. 2d 1030 (8th Cir. 1976),

and see cases cited infra at footnote 8.

8. E.g., United States v. Twigg, 588 F. 2d 373 (3d Cir. 1978);

United States v. Archer, 486 F. 2d 670 (2d Cir. 1973); United States

v. Russell, 459 F. 2d 671 (9th Cir. 1972), rev'd 411 U. S. 423

(1973); Greene v. United States, 454 F. 2d 783 (9th Cir. 1971);

see United States v. West, 511 F. 2d 1083 (3d Cir. 1975).

12 Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

highest level. Governmental involvement in ABSCAM

was pervasive and extended over the entire period of the

scheme. The nature of that involvement was singularly

and unfairly designed to lure innocent persons into its

web. No evidence of ongoing criminal conduct by either

petitioner was present when ABSCAM was injected into

their lives, nor did any evidence exist of any prior or con-

tinuing criminal activities of this type in Philadelphia mu-

nicipal government at the time the ABSCAM operation

arrived.

Neither petitioner encouraged the government either

to initiate or expand the scheme; each responded only to

the government’s inducements and protestations of need.

No evidence of petitioners’ predisposition, aside from some

“puffing” in the course of the governmentally-scripted

meetings, could be presented by the prosecution during

trial. Extreme pressure was brought to bear on all per-

sons involve.! in the Philadelphia ABSCAM operation

through the offer of substantial sums of money, the use of

the “Arab mind” ruse, and the government's appeal to

petitioners’ civic duty through representations that, unless

money was accepted to evidence petitioners’ friendship

for the sheik, the hotel project would not be placed in

Philadelphia. The government's agents employed middle-

men who were paid on a contingent fee basis, a tactic

condemned by the Fifth Circuit in Williamson v. United

States, 311 F. 2d 441 (5th Cir. 1962), on appeal after

remand, 340 F. 2d 612 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 381 U. S.

950 (1965), and they were totally unconcerned with the

methods and ploys used by these middlemen to convince

persons to participate in the meetings, despite their

knowledge of prior deception and unconscionable coaching

by these very same middlemen. Finally, the government

went to extraordinary lengths to create a climate of temp-

tation which itself preyed upon the weakness of the victims

of the scheme.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari 13

The government's conduct throughout ABSCAM was

the antithesis of fair and effective law enforcement.

Neither the government nor Criden had any reason to sus-

pect either a propensity to engage in criminal conduct on

the part of either petitioner or the presence of any ongoing

criminal activity involving petitioners. Yet, the govern-

ment directed Criden to inject himself into the petitioners’

lives with the deliberate intent to lure them into criminal

activity and with a conscious design to corrupt them. Re-

gardless of petitioners’ state of mind at the time they were

approached by the government, no reason exists, on this

record, even to suggest that, absent the government's

instigation in this case, petitioners would not have lived the

rest of their lives as law-abiding public officials and re-

spected members of the community.

The Court of Appeals distorts the significance of the

various aspects of the government's activities in ABSCAM

by isolating them one from the other, and by failing to

recognize that all of these elements, taken together, plainly

demonstrate the outrageousness of the government's con-

duct. In Greene v. United States, supra, 454 F. 2d at 787,

the Ninth Circuit recognized that although

“taken individually, none of the factors which we

have pointed to as significant would necessarily re-

quire reversal of a conviction. In our view, it is the

combination which is important.” (Emphasis added ).

The totality of factors present here mandates a ruling in

petitioners’ favor.

Further, in its analysis of the due process question,

the Court of Appeals improperly mixes concepts of entrap-

ment and due process, failing to recognize the constitu-

tional underpinnings of the due process defense. For ex-

ample, although proof that the government had no reason

for approaching a victim may be irrelevant in the entrap-

14 Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

ment context, A. 64, it is and must be a factor in any due

process analysis. Similarly, although in the view of the

Court of Appeals the inducements offered to petitioners

by the government may not have been sufficient to sustain

an entrapment defense, see A. 62, these same inducements

may, when viewed in conjunction with the entire scope of

unfair governmental activity, be a substantial factor in

supporting a due process defense.

Even if one argues, as does the Third Circuit majority,

that the government may employ secretive tactics and de-

liberate strategems to ferret out dishonesty among public

officeholders or to detect illicit drug transactions, that fact

does not sanction the government's instigation, control, and

total orchestration of the very criminal activity which it

intends to prosecute. In every other case in which the due

process defense has been raised, governmental involvement

in criminal activity has been passive and the basic criminal

design has, in each instance, been conceived and carried

out in all material respects by the defendants themselves.

In none of those cases has governmental instigation of or

involvement in criminal conduct risen to the levels which

are present in the Philadelphia ABSCAM case.

Here, the government defined the nature of the

scheme in an attempt to create the jurisdictional fact—

interstate commerce—which would permit it to prosecute

this case in the federal courts. In the same manner, the

government, through its manipulation of its captive middle-

man, Criden, constructed a pattern of bribery which would

not have existed but for Criden’s presence throughout the

scheme.’ Further, the conduct and language of the gov-

9. The District Court found that the government, through the

involvement of its own “agent,” Criden, created, initiated, and in-

stigated the pattern of bribery “as well as cach bribe” upon which

the RICO charge is premised, solely to satisfy the requirements of

RICO and to permit the exercise of federal jurisdiction over fabri-

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari 15

ernment’s agents were deliberately ambiguous and mis-

leading. Indeed, a review of the record will demonstrate

that at no time did the government ever ask either peti-

tioner whether the payment of bribes was necessary.

Moreover, at no point did the government seek to elicit

petitioners’ understanding of the purpose of the meetings.

One must conclude that the agents feared that an explicit

approach would have resulted in the flight of their victims.

Finally, a review of the Circuit Court’s opinion reveals

an extraordinary misconception of the role of the judiciary

in our society. In the view of a majority of the Third

Circuit, it is not the judiciary’s function to determine the

constitutional limitations under which our law enforcement

agencies are to operate. According to Judge Sloviter:

“... the conduct of agents of the executive branch

who must protect the public from crime is more ap-

propriately considered through the political process

where divergent views can be expressed in the ballot

box.” A. 66.

The opinion of the Court of Appeals manifests a total

abnegation of the judiciary’s obligation to define and en-

force the rights of citizens under the Constitution. As

Judge Aldisert recognizes in his dissent:

[T]he philosophical difference that divides this

court depends upon a judge’s unspoken notions about

the role of the courts. If he or she views the role of

9. (Cont'd. )

cated state bribery charges. Reasoning from United States v.

Archer, supra, Judge Fullam held that absent the government's in-

jection of these elements into the scheme, no proof of a pattern of

racketeering activity under 18 U. S. C. § 1962(c) could be shown,

thereby requiring dismissal of the charges on the ground of manu-

factured jurisdiction. A. 175. The Court of Appeals never ad-

dressed this issue.

16 Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

the court as a passive one, he or she will be willing to

delegate the responsibility for unpopular issues to the

jury and not care greatly what the result may be. If

he or she views the court as an instrument of society

designed to reflect in its decisions the highest values

of the American legal tradition, he or she will be more

likely to risk public disapproval and to measure an

unpopular cause against the highest ideals and aspira-

tions of the time.

“The rights conferred upon our society by judges

of the Third Article emanated from cases in which

the defendants were unpopular and generally re-

garded as transgressors—Dollree Mapp, Danny Esco-

bedo, and Ernesto Miranda quickly come to mind.

In each case, a court, not a jury, drew the line of

demarcation between permissible and impermissible

police conduct to insure that enforcers of society’s

laws would not violate established moral frontiers

while exercising their stewardship; it was federal

judges, unmindful of editorials and broadcast plaudits,

who chose to stand tail and unbending.” A. 80.

(Footnote omitted ).

If a national benchmark defining limits on law en-

forcement activity of this type is not established, no citizen

is secure from the clandestine imposition of morality tests

conceived and administered by the federal bureaucracy

for purposes ranging from legitimate law enforcement to

chilling political intimidation.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari 17

Where the Evidence of Governmental Inducement Is

Overwhelming, the Government May Not Rely Upon

Evidence of “Ready Acquiescence” Manufactured by

It to Meet Its Burden, Nor Can a Court Sustain a

Conviction in an Entrapment Case on Proof of Com-

mission of the Criminal Act Alone.

Although recognizing that under the law of entrap-

ment it is the government’s burden to prove predisposition

beyond a reasonable doubt, the Third Circuit proceeds to

ignore this standard of proof, to impose upon a criminal

defendant the obligation to prove lack of predisposition,

and to permit the verdict below to stand on evidence of

the commission of crime alone. If the Court of Appeals’

ruling is not reversed, the entrapment defense will have

been obliterated.

Predisposition involves a difficult inquiry into the

defendant’s subjective state of mind. “[T]he controlling

question [is] whether the defendant is a person otherwise

innocent whom the Government is seeking to punish for

an alleged offense which is the product of the creative

activity of its own officials.” Sorrells v. United States, 287

U. S. 435, 451 (1932). Subsumed within any discussion

of entrapment is the complex, intertwined relationship

between inducement and predisposition. As the Third

Circuit itself recognized in United States v. Watson, 489

F. 2d 504 (3d Cir. 1973):

“[T]he stronger the inducement, the more likely that

any resulting criminal conduct of the defendant was

due to the inducement rather than to the defendant's

own predisposition.” Id. at 511.

The extraordinary degree of government inducement

in this case has already been reviewed. Given evidence

of these overwhelming inducements, the government's

evidentiary burden to prove predisposition was substantial.

18 Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

But the majority of the appellate court abjures any neces-

sity to conduct a review of the entire record, despite its

profession of the appropriateness of such a procedure.

A. 41-42. Instead, as Judge Aldisert points out, it satisfies

itself with a rebuttal of the items relied upon by the Dis-

trict Court in entering judgments of acquittal. A. 93. In

so doing, the court again relieves the government of its

obligation to prove predisposition by good and sufficient

evidence and effectively shifts the burden of disproof onto

the petitioners. Petitioners submit that a review of the

record will plainly demonstrate that not a scintilla of evi-

dence exists to establish the requisite predisposition, let

alone to counterbalance the weight which must be ac-

corded to the uncontradicted proof of massive govern-

ment inducement.

Second, although appreciating that predisposition has

been historically proven by, for example, proof of a de-

fendant’s prior convictions, his participation in similar

transactions or proof of bad character, the Court of Ap-

peals majority makes the startling observation that since

“[s]uch evidence would be extremely difficult to produce

in the case of acceptance of a bribe by a public official .. . .

the very acceptance of a bribe by a public official may be

evidence of a predisposition to do so when the opportunity

is presented.” A. 53-54.

Again, the majority of the court below states, in the

most blatant terms, that proof of the criminal act, a fact

which must be admitted of necessity by a criminal de-

fendant if he is to be permitted to argue entrapment, is

enough when it is a public official who is in the dock. No

basis for the application of such a double standard exists

in our law.

Further, even if one ignores the broad concept set

down by the Court of Appeals that proof of the crime of

extortion is sufficient to defeat the entrapment defense and

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari 19

accepts that court’s abstract proposition that the demeanor

of the petitioners during the commission of the criminal

act is sufficient proof upon which to premise a finding of

predisposition, attention must be directed to the nature of

that proof which was presented at trial.

In this case, the government created the scheme, sent

out its agent, Criden, to recruit the victims of the scheme,

enticed the petitioners to attend staged meetings, orches-

trated and scripted every aspect of those meetings, and

controlled the flow of conversation to the extent that the

petitioners’ statements were always made in response to

continuously monitored specific inquiries of the govern-

ment. The conduct and conversation of the government's

agents at the meetings were admittedly designed for the

sole purpose of obtaining evidence to be used in a future

proceeding. Nevertheless, it is this very evidence and

only this cvidence—this demeanor of petitioners at the

meetings—which the government now contends is suff-

cient to satisfy its burden of proof of predisposition.

No logic exists which would justify a finding that the

government may mold and manufacture the “ready re-

sponse” evidence and then would permit reliance upon

this evidence as the sole proof of predisposition. In no

case in which proof of government inducement was as

overwhelming as this case has any court permitted a con-

viction to stand on the flimsy “ready acquiescence” evi-

dence presented here. Although in some situations a

defendant’s ready acquiescence to the government's sug-

gestions may be enough to justify a finding of predisposi-

tion, here neither petitioner said or did anything tending

to establish pre-existing criminal inclinations, or exhibited

such familiarity with criminal techniques and procedures

as to demonstrate previous experience with similar criminal

activity. In short, there was no evidence to show that

when the government’s overtures first came to the atten-

20 Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

tion of Schwartz and Jannotti they were already predis-

posed to accepting bribes.

At bottom, it is clear that the court’s rejection of the

entrapment defense rests upon the simplistic notion that all

petitioners had to do when offered the money was to say

“No thanks.” A. 58. Such an approach to the difficult

jurisprudential problem raised by this case is wholly un-

acceptable. Peeling away the veneer of language in the

court’s opinion, one finds only the proposition that if

petitioners are to be punished for their immorality, the

defense of entrapment must be seriously compromised or,

indeed, eradicated. Review by this Court of the critical

entrapment issues raised by this case is essential.

The Third Circuit’s Ruling on Hobbs Act Jurisdiction in

This Case Conflicts With the Rulings of Three Courts

of Appeals, Impacts on All Federal Criminal Legis-

lation Enacted Under the Commerce Clause, Mis-

applies Prior Holdings of This Court, and Is Erroneous

Under the Facts of This Case.

The interstate commerce requirement in the Hobbs

Act, 18 U. S. C. § 1951, is a jurisdictional prerequisite to

any prosecution under that Act. As this Court held in

United States v. Feola, 420 U. S. 671, 695 (1975), in an

analogous circumstance, “[t]he jurisdictional requirement

is satisfied by the existence of facts tying the proscribed

conduct to the area of federal concern delineated by the

statute.” (Emphasis added). In its decision below, the

Court of Appeals completely disregards this fundamental

concept, establishes a standard of proof which is in direct

conflict with the standards employed hy the Fourth, Sev-

enth, and Ninth Circuits, sustains a conviction tor Hobbs

Act conspiracy where no jurisdictional fact was or could

have been proven, misinterprets this Court’s prior deci-

sions in Feola and Perez v. United States, 402 U. S. 146

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari 21

(1971), and demonstrates a basic misunderstanding of

the jurisdictional limitations inherent in all federal legis-

lation. For these reasons and because, as the Court of

Appeals does recognize, a determination, in the Hobbs

Act context, as to the extent of Congress’ power under the

commerce clause “will have ramifications for all federal

criminal statutes enacted under Congress’ commerce clause

power,” A. 26, review of the Hobbs Act issues raised herein

is imperative.

First, in United States v. Staszcuk, 517 F. 2d 53 (7th

Cir.) (en banc), cert. denied, 423 U. S. 837 (1975),

Judge, now Justice, Stevens addressed the interstate com-

merce issue raised by the Hobbs Act, and held:

“[T]he statutory language [of the Hobbs Act]. . .

requires the prosecutor to prove some connection with

interstate commerce in every case. We hold, how-

ever, that the commerce element of a Hobbs Act vio-

lation—the federal jurisdictional fact—may be satis-

fied even if the record demonstrates that the extortion

had no actual effect on commerce. . . . [J Jurisdiction

in the particular case is satisfied by showing a realis-

tic probability that an extortionate transaction will

have some effect on interstate commerce.

“The jurisdictional inquiry must, of course, focus

on the situation at the time of the offense.” Id. at

59-60. (Emphasis added) (Footnotes omitted).

Since 1975, the “realistic probability” test enunciated in

Staszcuk has continued to be the law in the Seventh Cir-

cuit and has been adopted and uniformly applied by the

Fourth and Ninth Circuits.”

10. E.g., United States v. Rindone, 631 F. 2d 491, 493 (7th Cir.

1980); United States v. Phillips, 577 F. 2d 495, 501 (9th Cir.), cert.

denied, 439 U. S. 831 (1978); United States v. Spagnolo, 546 F. 2d

1117, 1119 (4th Cir. 1976) (per curiam), cert. denied, 433 U. S.

22 Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

which the ABSCAM operation was premised was wholly

fictitious. Accordingly, the government could not and

did not prove at trial that, had the scheme been carried

out, commerce would have been affected."’ Likewise, since

the government, through its agents, never had any inten-

tion to implement the scheme, there never existed any pos-

sibility that the charged conspiracy would ever have any

effect upon interstate commerce. Despite these undis-

puted facts, the Third Circuit held that where a defend-

ant’s conduct constitutes “a sufficient threat to interstate

>»

commerce so as to implicate an ‘area of federal concern’,

federal jurisdiction is established. Thus, in direct conflict

with Staszcuk, the Third Circuit has wrongly substituted a

wholly subjective test, which would rest federal jurisdiction

upon hypothetical, imaginary or non-existent effects on

commerce.

Under the rationale of Feola, jurisdiction must be

predicated upon facts. In Feola, the jurisdictional nexus

under 18 U. S. C. § 111 is satisfied by the existence of a

fact, the presence of a federal officer, just as jurisdiction

under the Hobbs Act is based upon the existence of a

fact—an effect on interstate commerce. If A and B con-

spire to assault X and X turns out to be a federal officer,

the federal jurisdictional fact, and in turn federal jurisdic-

10. (Cont'd. )

909 (1977). Numerous other Courts of Appeals have referenced

the Staszcuk formulation in passing on Hobbs Act jurisdiction is-

sues, including the Third Circuit itself. E.g., United States v.

Cerilli, 603 F. 2d 415, 424 (3d Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 444 U. S.

1043 (1980).

1l. It is undisputed that no evidence, of any nature, was

introduced at trial by the government to show that the alleged con-

spiracy would have had any effect, actual or potential, on com-

merce if performed. A. 130.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari 23

tion, is present. However, if A and B conspire to assault

X who they mistakenly believe to be a federal officer, the

federal jurisdictional fact is not present. Likewise, if a

federal agent tells A and B that X, a federal officer, will

be arriving to arrest them, and A and B agree to assault

X upon his arrival, but X is a creation of the federal agent's

imagination, just as was the hotel project in ABSCAM,

there can be no federal jurisdiction.

Federal jurisdiction is not predicated solely upon the

state of mind of the defendants. Fictions cannot replace

jurisdictional facts. In this case, measured by the facts,

no effect on commerce could ever take place.

Second, permeating every aspect of this case is the

uncontroverted fact that the federal government insti-

gated, scripted, and implemented ABSCAM. The federal

agents thus unilaterally fashioned a scheme which they

hoped would satisfy jurisdictional requirements. In each

case relied upon by the Court of Appeals, however, the

nature and extent of the conspiracy—the substance of the

criminal design—was formulated by the defendants

themselves.”

If the focus of the jurisdictional inquiry is upon

the conspiratorial agreement, see United States v. Feola,

supra, 420 U. S. at 695-96, it is both illogical and patently

unfair to sanction governmental manipulation of that

agreement solely to create federal jurisdiction. If the pur-

pose of the federal conspiracy laws is to provide federal

law enforcement officials with the tools necessary to com-

bat criminal conduct in “areas of federal concern,” it is

likewise illogical to contend that these same officials may

unilaterally create an “area of federal concern” in any

given case so that they may prosecute it.

12. See cases cited in the opinion of the Court of Appeals at

A. 28-31.

24 Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

Whether one accepts Judge Aldisert’s formulation that

“A purely hypothetical effect, a fairy tale conjured by the

FBI . . . is not ‘a sufficient threat to [commerce] so as to

give rise to federal jurisdiction, ” or one employs Judge

Friendly’s “manufactured jurisdiction” approach, United

States v. Archer, supra, 486 F. 2d at 682, the reality

is that no real, actual impact on commerce could have

ever occurred in this case and but for the government's

creation and injection of an interstate element into the

scheme, the federal courts would be without jurisdiction

to prosecute petitioners under the Hobbs Act. This case,

even more than Archer, epitomizes the concept of “manu-

factured federai jurisdiction.” “

Third, not only does the opinion of the Court of Ap-

peals demonstrate a complete misunderstanding of Feola,

see 420 U. S. at 695-96,"* which clearly states that a federal

officer must be the subject of an agreement to assault if

federal jurisdiction is to be present, but it also reflects a

fundamental misperception of and a lack of respect for

the essential nature of federal criminal jurisdiction. As

Judge Aldisert recognizes:

13. In its Opinion, the District Court stated:

“Moreover, to permit this kind of artificial federalization would

effectively remove virtually all of the limitations upon the

criminal jurisdiction of federal courts, and would be utterly

contrary to accepted notions of federalism.” A. 153-54 (Em-

phasis added).

14. In her Opinion, Judge Sloviter remarks:

“In holding [in Feola] that there was a ‘sufficient threat’

to an ‘area of federal concern’ to meet the jurisdictional re-

quirements as long as a federal officer was in fact the target of

the planned attack, 420 U. S. at 695, the Court did not preclude

the existence of federal jurisdiction where the intended victim

is believed to be a federal officer, but in fact is not.” A. 32.

(Emphasis added).

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari ; 25

“The majority interweaves its jurisdictional argument

with the argument that factual impossibility of com-

pleting a substantive offense does not bar a conviction

of conspiracy. They confuse proof of the crime of

conspiracy with the jurisdictional power to punish

the crime. The presence of subject matter jurisdic-

tion is a discrete and primary issue in each case pre-

sented to a federal court, unlike a state court. The

effect on commerce is both jurisdictional and substan-

tive in a Hobbs Act prosecution, but the two inquiries

are separate and distinct. See, e.g., Feola, 420 U. S.

at 694-96.” A.101. (Emphasis added).

Not only are the two inquiries “separate and distinct,” but

also the standards by which they are determined differ.

Respecting proof of the substantive offense, the subjective

criminal intent of an alleged Hobbs Act defendant is cru-

cial; respecting proof of Hobbs Act jurisdiction, however,

the subjective criminal intent of a Hobbs Act defendant

is irrelevant. The intent of the Hobbs Act defendant can

neither create nor negate the jurisdictional fact. In

Staszcuk, Judge Stevens understood this distinction and

formulated a test which respected it. Judge Sloviter, in

her opinion for the court below, paid lip service to the

limitations inherent in the Constitution’s grant of power

to Congress to legislate under the commerce clause and

established a test which shifts the focus of the jurisdic-

tional inquiry away from the “existence of [real] facts” and

to the subjective intent of the actor. As a result, the ob-

jective “realistic probability” test established by Staszcuk

has been disembowled by the Third Circuit and the re-

quirement in Feola that jurisdiction be predicated on fact

has been eliminated.

Finally, the Court of Appeals faults the petitioners

for failing te present any “policy reason” for it to accept

26 Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

“their restrictive view” of the jurisdictional reach of the

Hobbs Act. A. 32. But the policy is clear. The federal

courts are a creation of the Constitution and of Acts of

Congress, and, as such, they are courts of limited jurisdic-

tion. Jurisdiction under the Hobbs Act is predicated on

the commerce clause. Interference with commerce must

be proven before the federal courts may prosecute a viola-

tion of the Hobbs Act. Absent actual interference with

commerce or clear proof that an actual impact on com-

merce would have resulted from a criminal defendant's

actions, the federal courts cannot hear the case. It is peti-

tioners’ position that the Court of Appeals, by its ruling,

has abolished all jurisdictional limitations which hereto-

fore existed under the Hobbs Act and has constructed a

standard “which in practicality would extend federal juris-

diction over just about any robbery or extortion.” United

States v. French, 628 F. 2d 1069, 1077 (8th Cir.), cert.

denied, 101 S. Ct. 364 (1980).

A Conviction for Extortion Under the Hobbs Act Absent

Proof of Inductment by a Defendant Should Not Be

Permitted, and Clarification of This Issue Is Essential.

A plain reading of the definition of “extortion” in the

Hobbs Act shows that proof of inducement is necessary

to convict. The District Court held that the absence of

proof of any express or implied demand or request for

payment by petitioners requires dismissal of the Hobbs

Act charges. A. 110. The Court of Appeals reversed,

asserting that the law is clear throughout the circuits that

proof of inducement by a public official acting “under

color of official right” is unnecessary. A. 33. Petitioners

submit that both the decision of the Court of Appeals and

its rationale are incorrect.

The First, Third, and Eighth Circuits have each ap-

proved jury instructions which require a specific finding

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari 27

of inducement.” In fact, except for Staszcuk, where

insufficient detail is provided to determine whether af-

firmative action was taken by the defendant, and United

States v. Hedman, 630 F. 2d 1184 (7th Cir. 1980), cert.

denied, 450 U. S. 965 (1981), which does nothing more

than cite, as “settled law,” the very cases which either

include evidence of inducement or approve a charge on

inducement, there is no decision under the Hobbs Act

involving a public official which sustains an extortion con-

viction absent evidence of inducements, or of “initiative

and purpose,” United States v. Hyde, 448 F. 2d 815, 833

(5th Cir. 1971) (Wisdom, J.), cert. denied, 404 U. S. 1058

(1972), on the part of the official.’®

In this case, it is clear that neither of the petitioners

nor anyone acting on their behalf, at any time, requested

or demanded money in connection with the proposed con-

struction of the hotel in Philadelphia or in exchange for

petitioners’ use of their official positions. Rather, the evi-

dence is clear that petitioners were, at most, the passive

recipients of money and would have supported the pro-

posed project whether or not any money was paid to them.

In those cases decided under the Hobbs Act in which

public officials were not defendants, the law has long

been clear that, in the absence of proof that defendants

induced or intended to induce payment, the mere ac-

ceptance of a bribe does not constitute extortion or violate

15. See United States v. Hathaway, 534 F. 2d 386 (Ist Cir.),

cert. denied, 429 U. S. 819 (1976); United States v. Addonizio, 451

F. 2d 49, 59 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 405 U. S. 936 (1972); United

States v. Adcock, 558 F. 2d 397 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 434 U. S.

921 (1977).

16. “In other words, while the essence of bribery is voluntari-

ness, the essence of extortion is duress.” United States v. Addo-

nizio, supra, 451 F. 2d at 72, citing People v. Dioguardi, 8 N. Y. 2d

260, 203 N. Y. S. 2d 870, 168 N. E. 2d 683 (19680).

28 Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

the Hobbs Act. E.g., United States v. Gerald, 624 F. 2d

1291 (Sth Cir. 1980), United States v. Duhon, 565 F. 2d

345 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 435 U. S. 952 (1978), United

States v. Hyde, supra." And, as noted above, given the

requirement of inducement even in official corruption

cases and the fact that no case involving official corruption

has ever resulted in conviction of the defendant absent

proof of a request or demand, the Court of Appeals’ read-

ing of the Hobbs Act statute and the conclusion which it

reached are clearly incorrect. Clarification of this trouble-

some issue is plainly warranted.

17. Indeed, no rational argument can be made to support di-

vergent approaches to the Hobbs Act. As the court stated in Hyde,

“[t]he distinction from bribery is therefore the initiative and purpose

on the part of the [defendant] and the fear and lack of voluntari-

ness on the part of the victim.” Id. at 833.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari 29

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, a writ of certiorari should

issue to the Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit so that

this Honorable Court may review and correct the decision

below.

Respectfully submitted,

Of Counsel:

Di_wortH, Paxson, KALIsH

& KAUFFMAN

Caro. A. MEEHAN

2600 The Fidelity Bldg.

Philadelphia, PA 19109

Of Counsel:

SPRAGUE & RUBENSTONE

Suite 400, Wellington Bldg.

135 South 19th Street

Philadelphia, PA 19103

J. CLayton UNDERCOFLER, III

Rosert N. pE Luca

2600 The Fidelity Building

Philadelphia, PA 19109

(215) 875-7000

Attorneys for Petitioner

Harry P. Jannotti

RICHARD A. SPRAGUE

Epwarp H. RUBENSTONE

Suite 400, Wellington Bldg.

135 South 19th Street

Philadelphia, PA 19103

(215) 561-7681

Attorneys for Petitioner

George X. Schwartz

XIpUaddly

81-1899

Supreme Court, U.S.

FiLED

APR 12 1982

bisintdiiciees L. STEVAS

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1981

HARRY P. JANNOTTI,

Petitioner

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent

GEORGE X. SCHWARTZ,

Petitioner

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent

JOINT APPENDIX OF PETITIONERS

JANNOTTI AND SCHWARTZ

. Ciayton UNpercor.enr, III

opert N. pe Luca

2600 The Fidelity Building

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19109

(215) 875-7000

Attorneys for Petitioner

Harry P. Jannotti

Ricuarp A. SPRAGUE

Epwarp H. RuBENSTONE

Suite 400, Wellington Building

135 S. 19th Street

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19103

(215) 561-7681

Attorneys for Petitioner

George X. Schwartz

international Printing Co., 711 So. S0th St. Phila., Pa. 19143 — Tel. (215) 727-8711

TABLE OF CONTENTS OF JOINT APPENDIX

Page

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the Third

Circuit Entered February 11, 1982 ................... Al

Memorandum and Order of the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania Entered August

el ide de eee ded eee ekneiane A107

Memorandum and Order of the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania Entered Nevem-

I tian bece eee eecep ben eemetaeenentesies Al29

Order of the United States Court of Appeals for the Third

Circuit Entered August 26, 1981 ...................-. A179

Judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Third Circuit Entered February 11, 1982 ............. A181

Al

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

Nos. 81-1020 and 81-1021

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Appellant in No. 81-1020

v.

JANNOTTI, HARRY P.

(D.C. Crim. No. 80-00166-02)

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Appellant in No. 81-1021

v.

SCHWARTZ, GEORGE X.

(D.C. Crim. No. 80-00166-04)

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Argued June 10, 1981

Before: ALDISERT, WEIS, and SLOVITER, Circuit Judges

Reargued In Banc November 23, 1981

Before: SEITZ, Chief Judge,

ALDISERT, ADAMS, GIBBONS, HUNTER, WEIS,

GARTH, HIGGINBOTHAM and SLOVITER, Circuit Judges

(Opinion filed February 11, 1982)

A2

Peter F. Vaira

United States Attorney

Walter S. Batty, Jr.

Assistant United States Attorney

Chief, Appellate Division

Joseph M. Fioravanti (Argued)

Assistant United States Attorney

James J. Rohn

Assistant United States Attorney

Room 3310 U. S. Courthouse

601 Market Street

Philadelphia, Pa. 19106

Paul Shechtman

Criminal Division

Department of Justice

Washington, D.C. 20530

COUNSEL FOR APPELLANT

J. Clayton Undercofler, III, Esq.

Robert N. deLuca, Esq. (Argued)

Carol A. Meehan, Esq.

2600 The Fidelity Building

Philadelphia, Pa.

Of Counsel:

Dilworth, Paxson, Kalish & Levy

COUNSEL FOR APPELLEE

HARRY P. JANNOTTI

Richard A. Sprague, Esq. (Argued)

Edward H. Rubenstone, Esq.

Sprague, Goldberg & Rubenstone

135 South 19th Street

Philadelphia, Pa. 19103

COUNSEL FOR APPELLEE

GEORGE X. SCHWARTZ

A3

OPINION OF THE COURT

SLOVITER, Circuit Judge.

On September 16, 1980, after a six-day trial, a jury

found defendants Harry P. Jannotti and George X.

Schwartz guilty of conspiring to obstruct interstate com-

merce, in violation of the Hobbs Act, 18 U.S.C.

§1951(a), and found Schwartz guilty of conspiracy in

violation of the Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Or-

ganizations Act, 18 U.S.C. §1962(d). At the time of the

events charged in the indictment, Schwartz was presi-

dent of the Philadelphia City Council and Jannotti was

the Council’s majority leader. Following the entry of the

guilty verdicts, defendants renewed their requests for

judgments of acquittal and dismissal of the indictment,

on which the trial court had previously reserved deci-

sion. On November 26, 1980, the district court entered

an order setting aside the verdict of the jury in its entire-

ty, dismissing Count III of the indictment (the Hobbs

Act count) for lack of jurisdiction, and granting the mo-

tions of defendants for judgment of acquittal. The Gov-

ernment appeals. '

In his opinion accompanying the order, the trial

judge gave four reasons for entry of the judgment of ac-

quittal and dismissal of Count III of the indictment.

United States v. Jannotti, 501 F. Supp. 1182 (E.D. Pa.

1980). He concluded:

1. The government suggests that we have jurisdiction under

28 U.S.C. §1291. That section does not create appellate jurisdiction

over appeals by the United States in criminal cases. DiBella v. Unit-

ed States, 369 U.S. 121, 130 (1962); Government of the Virgin Is-

lands v. Hamilton, 475 F.2d 529 (3d Cir. 1973). However. we have

jurisdiction over these appeals pursuant to the Criminal Appeals

Act, 18 U.S.C. §3731. See United States v. Wilson. 420 U.S. 332

(1975); United States v. Schoenhut, 576 F.2d 1010. 1018 & n.7 (3d

Cir.), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 964 (1978).

A4

1. The evidence at trial did not establish the actual

or potential impact upon interstate commerce necessary

to sustain federal jurisdiction under the Hobbs Act;

2. The evidence at trial established entrapment as a

matter of law;

3. Governmental overreaching amounted to a viola-

tion of due process of law;

4. The circumstances relied upon to establish fed-

eral jurisdiction were artificially created. Id. at 1205.

Our review of the record and applicable law con-

vinces us that in reaching these conclusions the district

court erred in its legal analysis and usurped the function

of the jury to decide contested issues of fact. We reverse

the district court’s order and direct reinstatement of the

jury’s verdict.

I.

SUMMARY OF EVIDENCE

An understanding and appreciation of the evidence

presented to the jury is essential to consideration of the

issues facing us on this appeal. We have therefore un-

dertaken an exposition of some of the highlights of that

evidence. The government operation, which has come to

be known as ABSCAM, began some time in 1978. The

basic nature of the plan was that F.B.1. agents posed as

employees of Abdul Enterprises, a fictional multi-

national corporation whose principal, a fictional Arab

Sheik, Yassir Habib of the Arab nation of Abu Dhabi,

was represented as interested in investing large

amounts of money in this country and in emigrating

here. According to the government, the plan was “con-

ceived to create opportunities for illicit conduct by public

officials predisposed to political corruption.” Brief for Ap-

pellant at 6. From the very beginning the government

utilized the services of Melvin Weinberg, accurately

characterized by the district court as a “career swindler,”

AS

501 F. Supp. at 1193,” who, with F.B.]. agents, “spread

the word” that the Sheik was interested in meeting pub-

lic officials who could facilitate his planned investments.

This basic plan evolved into various subparts, each

with its own cast of participants, which were ultimately

the subject of a series of indictments returned by grand

juries sitting in various federal districts of the country.

Thereafter, a number of local and federal public officials

were tried on offenses arising out of their participation.

We focus on the facts material to the prosecution of

Jannotti and Schwartz in the Eastern District of

Pennsylvania.*

The Philadelphia phase began on January 11, 1980

when Weinberg called Howard Criden, a Philadelphia

attorney, and told him that the Sheik was “looking to

build a hotel” in Philadelphia. Criden, who had previous-

ly received money from the F.B.I. agents for arranging

introductions to congressmen in connection with an-

other phase of the ABSCAM operation,’ was told that

2. Weinberg was convicted of mail fraud and wire fraud in

1977. At the intercession of the government, he was sentenced to

three years probation in return for his agreement to help in the

ABSCAM investigation. He was paid $3,000 a month by the F.B.1.

as of the time of the trial, had received a total of approximately

$140,000 up to that time, and had also received other fringe

benefits.

3. The trials of two other defendants, Louis C. Johanson, a

member of Philadelphia City Council, and Howard L. Criden, a

Philadelphia attorney, who were indicted along with Schwartz and

Jannotti were severed from that of Schwartz and Jannotti. Both

Johanson and Criden were convicted on similar charges in the Unit-

ed States District Court for the Eastern District of New York, and

the government moved for their dismissal as defendants here.

4. Criden, Johanson, and Mayor Errichetti of Camden, New

Jersey, were instrumental in arranging for four congressmen. in-

cluding Philadelphia Congressmen Myers and Lederer. to meet the

F.B.I. agents. At the meetings the congressmen agreed to introduce

immigration bills in return for money, leading to their ultimate in-

dictment and conviction.

A6

two representatives of the Sheik would be coming to

Philadelphia to begin discussions. Weinberg suggested

that they be introduced to Congressman Myers or

Lederer, and asked Criden which one would be better.

CRIDEN: Well, I got to hear what you want to

do first, and. . . you know.

WEINBERG: I think they’re looking to build a

hotel there. I'm not sure. That’s only what I heard.

CRIDEN: Okay. Why don't you tell him to find

out more particulars because I don’t know that ei-

ther one would help you in that department. We

may be able to give you more help to them.

WEINBERG: Who do you know there?

CRIDEN: Everybody!

WEINBERG: Everybody?

CRIDEN: Everybody!

WEINBERG: Allright. Pll. . . I'll.

CRIDEN: Remember. | got a partner who's a

city councilman.

A211-12.

A week later, on January 18, 1980, Criden met with

F.B.1. agents Michael Wald and Ernest Haridopolos at

the Barclay Hotel in Philadelphia. Wald and Haridopolos

used the names Michael Cohen and Ernie Polos in their

dealings with defendants throughout these events. That

meeting was among the group of meetings at the Bar-

clay recorded on videotape by the F.B.I. Wald told

Criden that the Sheik was interested in building a hotel

in South Philadelphia, that Wald’s role was to address

himself to possible problems such as zoning, condemna-

tions, and variances. A351. Criden stated, “You don’t

have any problem. You got you two of the strongest

guys” [referring to Myers and Lederer}. Wald responded,

“He [Sheik] wants to be assured that municipal govern-

ment and he can coexist.” Criden asked, “How do you

want me to satisfy you,” to which Wald responded, “I'm

sure the easiest way for me to deal with someone in mu-

A7

nicipal government and I can go back... . Titles im-

press the man, as you know, from past experience. . . .

If he receives those assurances from someone with a ti-

tle sounds appropriate, eh, I buy it, he buys it.” A351-53.

Wald asked Criden about the municipal setup, in-

cluding city council. Criden explained that Philadelphia

City Council is composed of 12 district councilmen and

five at-large councilmen, that his “partner [Johanson is}

a district councilman”, and that the president of city

council, Schwartz, “is a powerful guy” who had been

“president of city council for maybe now ten, twelve

years, already now. Has got power.” Wald responded,

“He’s the man.” A354-55. Wald later asked:

WALD: Can we deal with Mr. Schwartz.

CRIDEN: Oh, sure.

WALD: He seems like the type of person we

CRIDEN: Oh, sure.

WALD: Can I deal with him while I'm here in

town?

CRIDEN: I don’t know. I gotta get hold of my

WALD: Can I deal with your partner?

CRIDEN: Oh, sure.

A357. After some discussion of timing and the proper

“tariff,” Wald asked if he could talk candidly with

Johanson. Criden responded that “As far as Johanson is

concerned, you can talk as candidly as you want.” With

regard to Schwartz, he stated, “He may want to handle it

indirectly.” A367. Wald expressed some concern, stating

that under no circumstances would he want to disap-

point his employer.

CRIDEN: Listen, Mike, I, I read you loud and

clear and if I was sitting in that chair, | would feel

exactly the same way ok. You have no problems

with me.

A8&

WALD: Ok. How do you want to work this?

Eh, do you wantta call me back here concerning

CRIDEN: Oh sure.

WALD: Mr. Johanson.

CRIDEN: T'll get back to you in the next cou-

ple hours.

WALD: Alright.

CRIDEN: If I can serve him up.

A368-69. Wald then asked what the “tariff” would be for

Johanson and Schwartz, and Criden replied

“[t}wenty-five” for Johanson, A375, and “|a|nother fifty”

for Schwartz. A376. Wald demurred at the latter figure,

and Criden asked, “You wanta go thirty on this guy?”

Wald asked, “will he bite at thirty?. . . 1 mean does that

take care of him?” and Criden replied, “Let me try it

I'll run it up the flagpole.” A376-77. Finally

Criden raised the subject of his fee and asked for and

was promised “ten for both of them.” A377.

Several hours later, Criden returned with Johanson

to the Barclay suite where Wald and Haridopolos waited.

Wald again discussed the proposed hotel construction,

explained that he wanted to avoid delays due to the need

for a variance or a building permit, and received

Johanson’s assurances that the inspectors from Licenses

and Inspections, the building inspectors, the plumbing

inspectors, and the electrical inspectors are “not gonna

monkey with you, for a minute because they're gonna be

told not to. . . because the words gonna come down,

that this is a vital project.” A421. In discussing the politi-

cal situation in Philadelphia, and City Council in par-

ticular, Johanson boasted that of the 17 councilmen, he

and Schwartz was each a “very bright fella”, and “after

that there ain’t a brain in the closet.” A415. He spoke of

his and Schwartz’ importance, and stated that Schwartz,

Jannotti and he “run the City Council.” A450. Wald then

asked about Jannotti:

A9

WALD: Would he be interested in doing busi-

ness with us.

JOHANSON: I don’t know that it’s necessary

but if you want to we can.

WALD: I don’t know — if it is —- you're the

best judge of that.

JOHANSON: I think George is ah —

CRIDEN: Well, it might not be a bad idea to

bring Harry up.

JOHANSON: We can bring Harry up. Harry's

the Majority Leader. He’s the — ya know, second in

command.

WALD: Yea.

JOHANSON: He's got seniority.

A453-54. After some additional discussion, the following

exchange took place:

HARIDOPOLOS: Are you acquainted with

how much ah, ya know, ah for the favor and for all

these assur — assurances, right.

CRIDEN: Right.

HARIDOPOLOS: You know how much it is?

JOHANSON: Sure.

HARIDOPOLOS: How much is it?

JOHANSON: Twenty-five.

HARIDOPOLOS: Okay, ah but, of course, ah,

we have to have these proper assurances. You do us

a favor, we’re doin you a favor.

CRIDEN: Obviously.

JOHANSON: Sure.

A471. Johanson gave his assurances and received

$25,000. A480. The following exchange took place:

WALD: And for 25 we've got a friend.

JOHANSON: Right.

A477. The conversation turned to Schwartz:

WALD: Can I talk to Mr. Schwartz as I have

spoken —

A10

JOHANSON: Next week —

WALD: — to you gentlemen —

WALD. [F]rankly. . .

CRIDEN: If you can’t have the same discus-

sion with George, . . . you won't have the meeting.

A485. Wald asked the same question about Jannotti.

Criden promised to let him know whether he could have

the same kind of conversation with Jannotti. A490. After

Johanson left, Haridopolos gave Criden $5,000 and

promised another “five for the next delivery.” A501.

Criden, who did not know Schwartz personally, ar-

ranged for Schwartz to meet the F.B.I. agents through

an intermediary, Judge Thomas Shiomos of the Court of

Common Pleas of Philadelphia County, who lived in the

same apartment hotel as Schwartz. Shiomos testified at

trial that at a meeting on January 21, 1980 between him,

Criden and their mutual friend, Mr. Kattheman, Criden

told him of the proposed hotel construction, asked him if

Schwartz would be interested in talking to “these people

. . . for the purpose of giving them his advice with re-

gard to building this complex in Philadelphia,” and indi-

cated that the investors were willing to “pay for

[Schwartz’] advice.” A639-40. Shiomos thereafter met

with Schwartz, advised him that Criden had wealthy

Arab clients who wanted to invest $150 million to build a

hotel in Philadelphia, and indicated to Schwartz that

Criden had said there “would be a fee for Mr. Schwartz

for his advice” and “that Mr. Criden expected part of that

fee.” A643. Schwartz stated that he “would be interested

in anyone who is willing to invest $150 million.”

Shiomos stated when he left that he didn’t think there

was anything “improper” but that if Schwartz “thought

there was anything improper or fishy |Shiomos was]

sure if [Schwartz] met with Mr. Criden that [Schwartzj

All

could determine that.” A644.° Thereafter Criden spoke

with Schwartz. That discussion was not taped or record-

ed, and there was no trial evidence as to the contents of

the conversation.®

On January 23, 1980, Criden and Schwartz visited

Wald at the Barclay suite. This conversation was

videotaped. Criden stated that he and Schwartz had

“spoken at length” and that Schwartz knew that those

persons whom Wald represented were “interested in

building a hotel facility in Philadelphia that may amount

to some 30 or 40 million dollars.” A689. Wald explained

his purpose:

WALD: Well, what I have been instructed to

do and the purpose for ah my visits to to Philadel-

5. Some time after Schwartz attended the January 23, 1980

meeting at the Barclay, Shiomos and Kattleman went to

Kattleman’'s apartment where Criden lay $6,000 on the table as the

fee to be paid to Shiomos and Kattleman. Shiomos assumed this was

a portion of Criden’s share of the fee that was paid to Schwartz.

A654. Shiomos testified he gave his $3,000 share to Kattleman.

A655.

6. In his post-trial testimony, Criden testified:

Q. All right, now, when you went and saw Mr. Schwartz

after Judge Shiomos had arranged for the interview, did you tell

Mr. Schwartz that the purpose for Mr. Schwartz going there is

to be a consultant for these Arabs or the Arab representatives?

A. To some degree, yes.

Q. You say *o some degree —

A. I told Mr. Schwartz there would be a consulting fee in-

volved and I explained the project to him and I also told Mr.

Schwartz that I had represented these people and had done

business with them for some period of time and that he would

receive a consulting fee.

Q. Did you tell Mr. Schwartz at any time prior to his going

to that meeting that the purpose of the meeting was in a sense

to fix him and to arrange for him to take care of matters in front

of City Council?

A. No, sir.

A3317.

Al2

phia is to firm up uh, what we consider to be a major

investment here and uh the gentleman cares to

make a major investment here because he seems to

like Philadelphia, and he has been told that it would

uh be in his best interest to have an investment, uh,

in an area where he, uh, would like to take up rather

permanent residence and Philadelphia is it.

SCHWARTZ: Philadelphia is a nice city.

Philadelphia has been on the move since 1952. And,

uh, business climate in Philadelphia is good.

A690. Wald continued:

WALD: Uh, and we want to put one up. Now

we know that there are problems inherent in any

major construction, uh, in this city and any other

city. What I am trying to do is take care of any po-

tential problems long before they exist. We’re not

breaking ground tomorrow morning. We can forsee

certain problems such as, uh, uh, zoning and

variances and this type of thing. . . municipal gov-

ernment, how it effects those various things, but we

don’t want to be faced with problems down the road.

A691-92. Schwartz responded to this overture with a so-

liloqguy on his own political power and importance. After

explaining how close he was to the mayor’ and that he

was “sort of a protege” of the mayor’s deceased father,

who had been Chairman of the {[Democratic] party,

Schwartz stated:

SCHWARTZ: . . . Unfortunately then he died

in 63. And I have been close to every chairman

since. I am a member of the Democratic National

Committee. I am a member of the State Committee.

7. There is no evidence that William Green, Philadelphia's

then newly elected mayor, was ever involved in or knew of the

transactions at issue. In fact, Criden described Green as “an All

American boy”, A343, and advised Wald that it would be “a critical

mistake” to approach him. A372.

Al3

I am a member of the City Committee. A Ward

Leader. I, uh, I have a ward — if you know what

that means in politics.

A693. A few minutes later, Wald asked:

WALD: Is it fair to say that by doing business

with you, uh. . . my zoning problems become... .

SCHWARTZ: Right.

CRIDEN: You, you don’t have any.

WALD: Okay. Now. There are what, 17 mem-

bers, as, as you say. . . and also what uh I read

here. . .

SCHWARTZ: Right.

WALD: Uh, do we have a uh controlling vote

‘SCHWARTZ: Yes.

WALD: . . . problem here?

SCHWARTZ: No...

WALD: Uh.

SCHWARTZ: No.

WALD: Can you control. . .

‘WALD: . . . those types of factions?

SCHWARTZ: Yes.

WALD: You can control them?

SCHWARTZ: The proof was today. The proof

was the election of myself as president again.

WALD: Uh hmm.

SCHWARTZ: In other words, we got uh five or

six now [sic] members that came in. Uh, you tell me

your birth date. I'll give them to you for your

birthday.

A695-6. The essence of Schwartz’ representations of

control was repeated shortly thereafter:

WALD: All right. You’re controlling the coun-

cil at this point.

Al4

SCHWARTZ: Right.

WALD): As far as I’m concerned.

SCHWARTZ: Right.

CRIDEN: Right. And has been for. .

SCHWARTZ: Right. Right.

WALD: Should we have anything that comes

up to a vote, that has to be done on a vote basis, the

council is with you.

SCHWARTZ: Yes.

WALD: You control them at this point.

SCHWARTZ: Yes. Yes. Yes.

CRIDEN: 100 percent.

SCHWARTZ: Yes.

A709. Schwartz stated that although he could not prom-

ise that the hotel project would not have problems, those

problems would not be “insurmountable” as long as the

project “is a proper project.” A698. Wald stated, “I am

not putting up a cathouse”, Criden interjected, “It’s go-

ing to be legitimate”, and Schwartz responded, “That I

take for granted, or I wouldn’t be here.” A710. Wald then

asked Schwartz for assurances of his support if the

project “violates some minor. . . type statute or ordi-

nance or. . . something”, and Schwartz replied:

SCHWARTZ: There is a Board of Building

Standards. There, there is built-in relief every stage

of the way. There’s a Zoning Board of Adjustment

for variances.

WALD: Okay. Can you control that?

SCHWARTZ: Yes... .

A711. Immediately thereafter he explained, “if it isn’t

something that is outlandish, if it is something that

should and can be handled, and I can, I can’t think of

anything that couldn’t be handled. . . [t}hrough a vari-

ance procedure of some kind.” A712. Wald stated:

WALD: Okay. Meaning that, if City Council

has to vote on it, we don’t have a problem at this

point?

Al5

SCHWARTZ: Well, I’m going further. There

are other boards and agencies, uh, depending upon

what your client, how idiosyncrant he wants to be

and how eccentric he wants to be.

WALD: (Laughter) ... They can become

rather eccentric.

SCHWARTZ: All right. All right. It may be

necessary to go to these various boards and commis-

sions. Now, they are part of the organization. They

are part and parcel and. . .

WALD: Appointed, appointed officials?

SCHWARTZ: Yes, they are appointed officials.

Uh, but uh, as I say, uh, I always do my homework.

And, uh, the mayor is a very strong mayor. We have

a strong mayor form of government. And all these

people are his appointees. My understanding with

him is that I go to him — period. I don’t even have to

go to one of the flunkies, one of the functionaries. I

gotohim....

A712-13. After additional discussion which concerned

local law firms that could be employed by ‘the hotel

project, the economic climate in Philadelphia, and the

encouragement received by business from the city, Wald

referred to Schwartz’ compensation:

WALD: Our time frame is growing short, but

we don’t have those type of problems. We don’t have

that built-in resentment. Ah. . . We've talked to

Howard, you know, the figures, the dollars we're

talking are in the right ballpark. We're. . .

SCHWARTZ: That’s not my prime concern.

I'm interested in the City of Philadelphia. I’m inter-

ested in a good project. I’m interested in tax

rateables. I want to see Center City develop. Espe-

cially Center City. There are a few parcels left. Well

anything else that’s going to add to the tax rateables

of the city that’s going to create jobs.

Al6é

WALD: I am again quick to say that I’m not

really interested in the City of Philadelphia to be

candid.

SCHWARTZ: Well | have to be. I have to be.

WALD: Perhaps, oh sure. . . (inaudible)

CRIDEN: Your primary concern is to see that

if your employer decides to move, you have a mini-

mum amount of problems.

WALD: Exactly. . . . Problems are to be han-

dled before they arise. Right. Should any minor

problems come up. Should any problems that are

councilmatic in scope. . .

SCHWARTZ: No problem.

WALD: You could take care of them. Those

are the type of things. . .

SCHWARTZ: Right.

WALD: That he asks I make an unequivocal,

yes, it’s been handled, it’s been taken care of and uh

‘CRIDEN: You make that an unequivocable

yes.

SCHWARTZ: It’s. . . I would say to you that

it’s much easier now than it is than it was four years

ago.

A746-47. The conversation returned to the nature of the

understanding:

SCHWARTZ: There are administrative escape

hatches for everything in the City of Philadelphia

under our various codes. There’s a way of doing it —

administrative way of doing it.

WALD: Okay, and that is the type of thing you

can handle for us.

SCHWARTZ: Oh yeah, right.

WALD: I can go back and say I met a gentle-

man. We had a business deal uh, I've made a friend

in Philadelphia.

Al7

SCHWARTZ: Yes.

WALD: And things are taken care of. . .

SCHWARTZ: Right. . .

WALD: Okay, and the sums appropriate and

we're in good shape. Okay.

A753-54.

Shortly thereafter as seen on the videotape, Wald

opened his briefcase and, without discussion of the

amount, handed Schwartz an envelope [containing

$30,000 cash], which Schwartz placed in his jacket

without counting. The nature of the commitment

Schwartz made was reiterated:

WALD: The legislative problems we've taken

care of?

CRIDEN: No problem.

WALD: Okay, that | can, that I, that I got as-

surance on.

SCHWARTZ: Right.

CRIDEN: You have, you have no problem.

WALD: Okay, the other things can be done

through attorneys, but the legislative problems

don’t exist anymore?

CRIDEN: That’s right.

SCHWARTZ: No. Do not.

WALD: Okay.

A756.

Criden remained behind and received his $5,000

fee for arranging the meeting. A758. He admitted to

Wald that he had to give “something” to someone to

make the approach to Schwartz. A763. Wald indicated

an interest in talking to Jannotti if he was “amenable”

because both Criden and Johanson hed referred to

Jannotti “as a power.” A770. Criden undertook to ascer-

tain to “try to do something” with Jannotti and “if the an-

swer is no, I’m going to tell you right off the bat, forget

it.” A778. They discussed the amount of the payment to

Al8

Jannotti, Wald asking “Will he run with five” and Criden

replying “Maybe ten. . . [L]et me run it up the flag pole

with him.” A779-80. Wald asked whether he should deal

with anybody else on the executive side and was told

that there was no one else he could or should do busi-

ness with. Criden promised to communicate with Wald

the next day and departed.

The next evening, January 24, 1980, following tele-

phone arrangements, Jannotti and Criden arrived at the

Barclay suite to meet with Wald and Haridopolos.

Jannotti had been briefed by Criden and Schwartz earli-

er that day who had “explained the whole situation.”

A848. With Jannotti, as with Schwartz, Wald explained

“I’m only here for one reason, to bring back some assur-

ances.” A849. He continued:

WALD: [W]e are prepared to make a major in-

vestment in this city, alright, and, ah, we have in-

credible funding but it’s still a major investment

even for the people that I represent at this time. Ah,

it’s not a drop in the bucket even for them. It’s a fair

amount of money and ah, the way these people do

business, is somewhat different than the way we do

business in this country, they don’t think. They just

can’t tolerate nor can they put up with psychologi-

cally any problems that arise. Now these type of

problems do arise but they can be handled, but the

type of problems that would get back to my employ-

er. Ahe, he can’t deal with them, and he turns to me

and says I thought we had all this settled in Phila-

delphia. So, that’s why I’m here, simply to take care

of any problems now.

JANNOTTI: Far in advance.

WALD: Ah, it’s really not that far | don’t think.

CRIDEN: Well. . .

WALD: But at least enough in advance that ah

when the time comes it’s over and done with every-

thing is nice. Ah, those problems are simply the

Al9

ones that I can forsee and you haven't come up with

anymore than you and I had been worried about nor

has the other gentleman I dealt with, and that

would be ah, ah, the zoning, any variances that we

have to obtain any, ah, committee type things we’d

would have to, ah, deal with, with City Council ah,

inspections, licensing the whole gamut, ya know

the whole thing, well vou were in that type of busi-

ness in, in an allied situation and I’m sure you can

appreciate the petty things that arise, ah, that have

to be handled.

JANNOTTI: First of all you, you're going to in-

vest a substantial amount of money and, ah, what

you'll be doing is bringing into the City of Philadel-

phia a substantial amount of money, and this will

create jobs, will create a tax base and ah from what I

gather everything that you want to do with be strict-

ly, ah, on board. I mean there’s nothing phony about

it.

WALD: It’s a legitimate operation.

JANNOTTI: As long as it’s, long as it’s a legiti-

mate, legitimate operation. Ya know, any legitimate

operation we will fight for because, ah, ya know why

shouldn’t we fight for a legitimate operation? If the

operation is legitimate, it’s going to bring a tax base

into the City of Philadelphia, it’s going to bring em-

ployment into the City of Philadelphia, ah, this is,

this is basically our job, ah George George’s job and

my job, ah, to try to get as much money into the City

of Philadelphia and as many jobs into the City of

Philadelphia as we possibly can.

A849-51. Wald asked:

WALD: [Bly dealing with you here this eve-

ning and, and the gentleman I, I spoke with last

evening, can I go back with those assurances?

JANNOTTI: I don’t see why not, as you say, ya

know it’s a legitimate project and you have your fi-

A20

nancing, there’s nothing ah, there's nothing that

you're doing illegal. . .

CRIDEN: Michael wants to be sure that he

has a friend if he has a problem.

JANNOTTI: Oh certainly.

WALD: If something arises, if something

arises that needs a City Council vote to be very spe-

cific, a City Council vote is needed on the thing, can

I count on your vote?

JANNOTTI: Why sure. . .. first of all we'll go

over it again, you have a legitimate project, ah,

you're going to invest 36 million dollars in the City

of Philadelphia, which is going to create a tax base

and going to create employment.

WALD: Right, but.

JANNOTTI: But ya, but.

HARIDOPOLIS: A lot of legitimate, ah, things

get bogged down, we don’t want to be bogged down.

JANNOTTI: No, I can't see this being bogged

down.

A853-54. Wald explained his position:

WALD: Let me give you a short insight into

the Arab mind, that its ah, it’s at times difficult to

understand now, ah, I can appreciate it because I’ve

had both worlds and I can relate, ah, you know, you

folks are here, right, they, they think differently,

they deal differently, their psychological process are

alien to the way I understand exactly what you're

saying. Ok. I’m coming up with something that’s

going to help the City of Philadelphia. Ah, it would

help, as it would help any city. Ah, he does not look

on it that way. They do business, differently. They

pay the freight up front. They make friends, right,

and then when there, there is a potential problem

then I don’t mean, I don’t mean a problem that

would necessarily close down construction and

throw the project out of Philadelphia.

A21

A855-56.

Wald and Jannotti discussed City Council politics,

and Jannotti affirmed Criden’s statement that Council

“never had a vote on an issue that George and Harry

wanted passed that they'd lost in the last two years.”

A859. They then discussed the payment to Jannotti:

WALD: But, you were here at the time. You

convinced me right off the bat that we were in the

right city and we would have no problems.

CRIDEN: You will have no problems.

WALD: And I would just as soon save the

money, but I can’t go back.

CRIDEN: I understand, we _ had that

discussion.

WALD: (Pointing to Criden) Did he, was he

very graphic with ya?

JANNOTTI: Yes.

WALD: On exactly how. . .

JANNOTTI: (Nodding yes) He was always up

front, up front.

WALD: Ok and...

CRIDEN: To the bottom line, you know me

Michael, I, I don’t we, we both do everything right

up front.

WALD: Ok and, alright, then I’m going to be,

then I’m going to be up front with ya. I'm.

CRIDEN: Exactly.

WALD: Ah, you've been in business all your

life, you’ve as you said, you got an education 20

years behind the bar, I was sent to Philadelphia to

pay for certain things because that is the psychology

and that is the method of business that these people

are use to, and that is how they conduct business,

they conduct with everybody they do. That’s why

I'm here. I understand their psychology, I’ve been

involved with them long enough, ah to make it a

major part of my life, a majority of my life.

A22

JANNOTTI: Well, you know ah, just just on

the basics, of what you said and what they want to

do, it’s enough for me to get on the floor and argue. I

don’t have to, even care what else they want to come

up with. My basic point is, the fact that, ah what’s

coming in here, and this has been our job, to bring

as much business and and, and ah tax base and em-

ployment to the City of Philadelphia. If that’s the

way they want to do business, that’s all right too.

A859-61. Wald asked again for “assurances”:

WALD: Can I go back, ah ah, to my employer,

the Sheik and tell him that I dealt with a man, on

Wednesday night tell him who he is, dealt with you,

Thursday night, explain who you were, what your

position is and say he and I conducted a cash busi-

ness transaction and he guaranteed me, we don’t

have a problem in Philadelphia. We ah, ah City

Councils on our side the man has the influence with

the Finance Committee, he has influence. . .

JANNOTTI: You wouldn't, you wouldn't be

able to say we don’t have a problem. Problems might

arise, but problems ah, you might say problems can

be solved.

WALD: Ok, you can handle those problems we

presume.

JANNOTTI: I don’t see why not if it’s a legiti-

mate, if it’s a if it’s a legitimate if it’s a, if it’s a legiti-

mate enterprise, it’s a legitimate piece of business.

WALD: By making friends with you this eve-

ning, if we have to go to City Council and say look,

ya know, give us a break, right, got us some legisla-

tion that this is ok. That it’s in the right neighbor-

hood, that the time.

CRIDEN: If you want a street for example let's

say changed from a two way to a one way ok, maybe

that will help you.

A23

WALD: Ok.

CRIDEN: Handle your traffic pattern.

JANNOTTI: We handle that everyday.

WALD: But I go back and I'll say we have this,

and I'll use that as an example that if we have a one

way street situation and it’s just hurting the front,

of, of the place we cannot move people in and out of

the hotel limousines to private vehicles and what

have you, ah the men I dealt with said they will

help. I’m not saying that you could walk in there

and change this thing tomorrow, but.

CRIDEN: Yet.

JANNOTTI: We'll go in there and battle, we'll

go in and battle.

WALD: You're with us?

JANNOTTI: Certainly, we'll go in and battle.

A863-67. Wald then took an envelope from his briefcase

[containing $10,000 cash], handed it to Jannotti, and

asked if “that amount is sufficient.” Jannotti took the en-

velope, answering, “We've discussed it.”

HARIDOPOLIS: You know how much it is?

CRIDEN: Tell him, you can tell him.

HARIDOPOLIS: How much is it?

CRIDEN: Tell him?

JANNOTTI: We won't even discuss it.

WALD: Ok, but you did discuss it with

Howard?

JANNOTTI: We won't even discuss it.

HARIDOPOLIS: Is this arrangement please,

pleasing to you?

JANNOTITI: As I say, we won't even discuss it.

WALD: Ok, well, we've done our business.

A884-85. Jannotti departed, and Criden promised to see

him downstairs.

A24

Il.

HOBBS ACT CONSPIRACY

In its opinion granting the motions for acquittal the

district court noted that the “evidence permitted, al-

though it did not compel, the inference that the pay-

ments represented bribes paid in exchange for the de-

fendants’ assurances of using their official positions to

pave the way for expeditious completion of the project.”

501 F. Supp. at 1184. The court, however, dismissed

Count III of the indictment, the Hobbs Act conspiracy

count, for two reasons. The first dealt with the fictitious

nature of the scheme. Although the court was willing to

assume that the “evidence permitted the jury to con-

clude that, if the project had in fact been a genuine

project, it would have required the movement of articles

in interstate commerce, and that the payment of these

bribes would have affected such commerce by depleting

the funds available for carrying out the project,’ the

court focused on the fact that “there never was any such

planned project. The Arabs, their plans, and their money

were all entirely fictitious.” Id. The court concluded:

While the jurisdictional reach of the Hobbs Act is

undoubtedly extensive, touching conduct having

only minimal or potential impact upon commerce

(broadly defined), it does not operate to confer fed-

eral jurisdiction over purely hypothetical potential

impacts on commerce which could never occur.

Id. at 1185. The district court thus fashioned a require-

ment that conviction for conspiracy to violate the Hobbs

8. In charging the jury on the Hobbs Act count. the court in-

structed that it must find that “a natural and probable consequence

of the extortion, the receiving the money. would have been to affect

interstate commerce” and that the Government position was that

the receipt of the payments of $30,000 and $10.000 would have had

an effect on interstate commerce. A1344-45.

A25

Act requires an actual potential effect on interstate

commerce.

The second jurisdictional defect, according to the

district court, stemmed from its view that the Hobbs Act

does not cover the “passive acceptance of gratuities by

public officials.” Id. The district court, after noting that

defendants did not request payment and “made it very

clear that the payments would not be necessary”, found

that the convictions would represent “a substantial

stretching of the definition of extortion.” Id.

A.

Effect on Interstate Commerce

The broad ianguage of the Hobbs Act, covering any-

one who “in any way or degree. . . affects commerce

. . . by. . . extortion or attempts or conspires so to do

. . .”, 18 U.S.C. §1951,° demonstrates Congress’ intent

to free interstate commerce from burdens of any kind

caused by extortion. The Supreme Court has expressly

recognized that the statute manifests a congressional

purpose “to use all the constitutional power Congress

9. The Hobbs Act reads in pertinent part as follows:

Whoever in any way or degree obstructs, delays, or affects

commerce or the movement of any article or commodity in

commerce, by robbery or extortion or attempts or conspires so

todo. . . shall be fined not more than $10,000 or imprisoned

not more than twenty years, or both.

18 U.S.C. §1951(a). The statute defines “commerce” as

commerce within the District of Columbia, or any Territory or

Possession of the United States; all commerce between any

point in a State, Territory, Possession, or the District of Colum-

bia and any point outside thereof; all commerce between points

within the same State through any place outside such State;

and all other commerce over which the United States has

jurisdiction.

18 U.S.C. §1951(b)3).

A26

has to punish interference with interstate commerce

" Stirone v. United States, 361 U.S. 212, 215

(1960). Accord, e.g., United States v. Cerilli, 603 F.2d

415, 423 (3d Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 444 U.S. 1043

(1980). See also United States v. Culbert, 435 U.S. 371

(1978); United States v. Green, 350 U.S. 415, 420-21

(1956). In United States v. Staszcuk, 517 F.2d 53, 58

(7th Cir.) (en banc), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 837 (1975),

the court concluded that “the purpose of the Hobbs Act

parallels the central purpose of the Commerce Clause

itself.” Thus, the decision of the district court in this

case has application beyond the Hobbs Act because the

extent of Congress’ power under the commerce clause is

implicated, and, if its analysis is accepted, will have

ramifications for all federal criminal statutes enacted un-

der Congress’ commerce clause power.

We begin the analysis of Congress’ power to regu-

late interstate commerce with the now-accepted princi-

ple that the commerce clause reaches, inter alia, activi-

ties affecting interstate commerce. Perez v. United

States, 402 U.S. 146, 150 (1971); United States v. Dar-

by, 312 U.S. 100 (1941). However, application of a fed-

eral criminal statute is not limited to those cases in

which an actual interstate effect is shown. Instead, as

the Court recognized in Perez v. United States, 402 U.S.

at 152-53, it is enough that the conduct falls within the

“class of activities” within the reach of federal power.

Schwartz and Jannotti were convicted of a conspir-

acy to violate the Hobbs Act, rather than of a substantive

violation of the Hobbs Act. A substantive violation of the

Hobbs Act generally is supported by proof of an actual

effect on commerce. See, e.g., United States v. Mazzei,

521. F.2d 639, 642 (3d Cir.) (en banc), cert. denied, 423

U.S. 1014 (1975). But see United States v. Staszcuk,

517 F.2d 53, 59-60 (7th Cir.) (en banc), cert. denied,

423 U.S. 837 (1975) (actual effect need not be shown;

“realistic probability” of effect is sufficient). Defendants

A27

argue that it follows that a prosecution for conspiracy to

violate the Hobbs Act also requires proof “that com-

merce must have been affected.” Brief for Appellee

Jannotti at 22. In so arguing, defendants overlook the

significant distinction between a conviction for a sub-

stantive offense and a conviction for a conspiracy to

commit the substantive offense. This distinction was

recognized by the district court at an early stage of the

litigation when it dismissed the substantive Hobbs Act

counts of the indictment on the ground that there was

no possibility that the bribe payments could actually

have affected commerce, but left standing the conspir-

aey count on the possibility that federal jurisdiction

could be grounded on proof that the conspiracy, if com-

pleted, would affect commerce. See 501 F. Supp. at

1184. The subsequent dismissal of Count III of the in-

dictment was apparently grounded on the district court's

changed view of the law that an actual potential effect

was required, even for a conspiracy conviction. We be-

lieve the district court’s earlier view was the correct one

Because an agreement between two or more per.

sons to commit criminal acts poses, in and of itself, a sc

rious danger to social order, it is proscribed by the law of

conspiracy. See Callanan v. United States, 364 U.S. 587,

593 (1961). The ultimate failure of the conspiracy may

diminish, but does not eliminate, the threat it poses to

social order; therefore, the illegality of the agreement

does not depend on the achievement of its ends. See gen-

erally United States v. Shoup, 608 F.2d 950, 957 n.13

(3d Cir. 1979); United States v. Bobo, 586 F.2d 355, 371

(5th Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 440 U.S. 976 (1979). It is

similarly irrelevant that the ends of the conspiracy were

from the very inception of the agreement objectively

unattainable. United States v. Waldron, 590 F.2d 33

(1st Cir.), cert. denied, 441 U.S. 934 (1979) (conviction

for conspiracy to transport stolen goods in excess of

$5,000 affirmed, even though, unknown to defendants,

A28

property transported was worth less than $5,000); Unit-

ed States v. Thompson, 493 F.2d 305 (9th Cir. ), cert. de-

nied, 419 U.S. 834 (1974) (defendant can be convicted

of conspiracy to smuggle marijuana even though sub-

stance was not shown to be marijuana). In this case the

defendants agreed to do acts which, had they been at-

tainable, would have affected commerce. At that point,

regardless of whether an actual effect on commerce was

“reasonably probable,” a sufficient federal interest was

implicated to support federal jurisdiction over that

agreement.

The Hobbs Act, by its own terms, encompasses the

inchoate offenses of attempt and conspiracy to extort.

Convictions for these offenses have been sustained not-

withstanding the absence of any evidence of an actual

effect on interstate commerce. In United States v. Rosa,

560 F.2d 149, 153 (3d Cir.) (en banc), cert. denied, 434

U.S. 862 (1977), a case in which there was no effect on

commerce because the “victim” refused to pay the extor-

tion demand, we stated that a defendant may be convict-

ed under the Hobbs Act for an “attempted extortion

which would, if the act were completed, have the effect

of obstructing commerce.” See also United States v.

Bellomini, 454 F. Supp 44, 47 (W.D. Pa. 1978) (“The

fact that the business enterprise was frustrated at a later

date through failure of finances does not constitute a de-

fense to a charge of attempt to extort money in violation

of the Hobbs Act.”). Similarly, in United States v. Caci,

401 F.2d 664 (2d Cir. 1968), vacated on other grounds,

394 U.S. 310 (1969), the Second Circuit sustained the

conviction of defendants for conspiracy to rob an

armored car messenger in violation of the Hobbs Act al-

though the plan was aborted.

Counsel for defendants conceded at oral argument

that they could point to no precedent to support their

contention that a conviction for conspiracy to violate the

Hobbs Act must be predicated on a showing of an actual

A29

or probable future effect on interstate commerce. One of

the few cases to focus on the interstate commerce aspect

of the Hobbs Act, United States v. Staszcuk, 517 F.2d 53

(7th Cir.) (en banc), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 837 (1975),

arose when a local alderman was convicted of a substan-

tive Hobbs Act violation. The government had proven

that he received $3,000 and that he did not oppose a

zoning change which authorized the construction of an

animal hospital. Because no such hospital was ever

built, the court noted that “there is no evidence that ei-

ther the zoning change or the payment had any effect

whatsoever, either favorable or unfavorable, on inter-

state commerce.” Id. at 55. Judge, now Justice, Stevens,

writing for a majority of the en banc court, considered

whether the federal statute reached extortion under

those circumstances, and concluded: “We are. . . per-

suaded that the cases which uniformly hold that a

threatened effect on interstate commerce is sufficient to

bring the statute into play notwithstanding the absence

of any actual effect, correctly interpret the congressional

purpose.” Id. at 59 (emphasis added).

We believe Justice Stevens’ approach is dispositive

of the jurisdictional issue before us. Congress can con-

stitutionally reach inchoate offenses because these

offenses pose a potential threat to interstate commerce;

the existence of such a threat ties “the proscribed con-

duct to the area of federal concern delineated by the stat-

ute.” United States v. Feola, 420 U.S. 671, 695 (1975).

The appropriate inquiry then is not whether the defen-

dants’ perceptions can invest the courts with federal ju-

risdiction, as the district court viewed the issue, but

whether the defendants’ conduct constituted a sufficient

threat to interstate commerce so as to implicate an “area

of federal concern” sufficient to give rise to federal

jurisdiction.

In essence the defendants are arguing that we

should accept an impossibility defense when federal ju-

A30

risdiction is predicated on interstate commerce. We be-

lieve such a defense must be rejected here. In substan-

tive Hobbs Act convictions, the requisite nexus to

interstate commerce has been found in the depletion of

assets theory, because the payment of an extortion de-

mand may reduce the assets available for the purchase

of goods originating in other states. See, e.g., United

States v. Cerilli, 603 F.2d 415, 424 (3d Cir. 1979), cert.

denied, 444 U.S. 1043 (1980) United States,.v.

Addonizio, 451 F.2d 49, 77 (3d Cir. 1971), cert denied.,

405 U.S. 936 (1972). In United States v. Rindone, 631

F.2d 491 (7th Cir. 1980), the Hobbs Act conviction of a

municipal inspector who had extorted money in ex-

change for work permits was challenged on the ground

that there was no nexus with interstate commerce under

the depletion of assets theory because the Federal Bu-

reau of Investigation had supplied the money used in the

extortionate transaction. In rejecting this claim, the

court reviewed Hobbs Act cases which upheld jurisdic-

tion although no depletion of assets affecting interstate

commerce had or could take place and affirmed the “fed-

eral interest in deterring even futile threats to interstate

commerce”, 631 F.2d at 493, referring to United States

v. Staszcuk, 517 F.2d at 57. The Rindone court

concluded:

As the court noted in [United States v. Brooklier,

459 F. Supp. 476 (C.D.Cal. 1978)], “|t]his extortion

completed a plan that would have actually affected

commerce but for a fact unknown to defendants,

i.e., that [the victim] was a company not actually en-

gaged in commerce.” Id. at 478. The presence here

of a fact not known to Rindone, i.e., that the FBI

provided the payoff money, is likewise irrelevant to

the jurisdictional inquiry.

631 F.2d at 494. In the Brooklier case, relied upon by

the Seventh Circuit, the victim corporation was an

F.B.I.-created shell that in fact had no interstate deal-

A31

ings. Jurisdiction under the Hobbs Act was nonetheless

upheld.

In construing other federal statutes, the courts also

have expressed an unwillingness to accept impossibility

as precluding jurisdiction. In United States v. Rose, 590

F.2d 232 (7th Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 442 U.S. 929

(1979), two defendants who had agreed to burglarize a

home in Arizona and to transport the stolen goods to IlIli-

nois, unwittingly engaged F.B.I. agents to perform the

theft and to transport the goods. The agents never in-

tended to commit the thefts and no goods were ever sto-

len; instead the defendants were arrested and convicted

of conspiracy to transport goods interstate knowing the

goods to be stolen. Although the issue of federal jurisdic-

tion was not expressly raised, the court, in affirming the

convictions under 18 U.S.C. §§371, 2314, commented:

Here [defendants] intended to cause the goods to be

stolen and then transported in interstate commerce

with knowledge that they had been stolen. All that

was necessary, in addition to an overt act, was that

the intended future conduct they had agreed upon

include all the elements of the substantive crime.

590 F.2d at 235. This statement reflects the court’s view

that the defendants’ plan to transport the goods inter-

state, even though unattainable from the outset, suffi-

ciently impinged on an area of federal concern to justify

federal regulation and prohibition. See also Craven v.

United States, 22 F.2d 605, 609 (1st Cir. 1927), cert. de-

nied, 276 U.S. 627 (1928) (conviction for conspiracy to

import foreign liquor without payment of tariff can be

sustained based on defendants’ erroneous beliefs that

liquor was of foreign origin).

Defendants have argued that the holding in United

States v. Feola, 420 U.S. at 695-96, supports their view

that an essential jurisdictional element cannot be estab-

A32

lished by reference solely to the state of mind of the de-

fendant. Feola provides no support for the defendants’

theory. In Feola, even though the defendants did not in-

tend to assault a federal officer, the Court held that they

could be still convicted for conspiring to violate the fed-

eral statute, 18 U.S.C. §111, which prohibits an assault

on a federal officer. In holding that there was a “suffi-

cient threat” to an “area of federal concern” to meet the

federal jurisdictional requirement as long as a federal of-

ficer was in fact the target of the planned attack, 420

U.S. at 695, the Court did not preclude the existence of

federal jurisdiction where the intended victim is be-

lieved to be a federal officer, but in fact is not.

In fact, the language in the Feola opinion and the

approach taken by the Court there support our final rea-

son for rejecting the district court’s holding that an actu-

al potential effect on interstate commerce is a jurisdic-

tional prerequisite for a conviction for conspiracy to

violate the Hobbs Act. Defendants have been able to of-

fer this court no policy reason for us to accept their re-

strictive view of Congress’ constitutional power to legis-

late as to conspiracies which pose a threat to interstate

commerce. Defendants agree that had the government

moved from the verbal ruse that its agents were in the

hotel construction business to the more concrete action

of embarking on that venture, see United States v.

Gambino, 566 F.2d 414 (2d Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 435

U.S. 952 (1978), the jurisdictional requirement would

have been met. However, we see no reason to interpret

Congress’ legislative power as dependent upon whether

the F.B.I. agents actually contract for a hotel site, pur-

chase machinery to dump garbage, or establish their

own fencing operation for the purchase of stolen goods.

To require that the government take that additional step

before it can constitutionally reach a proven conspiracy

which would have affected interstate commerce had the

facts been as represented misdirects the focus of the

conspiracy cases. As the Court noted in Feola, “|T|he

A33

law of conspiracy serves ends different from, and com-

plementary to, those served by criminal prohibitions of

the substantive offense.” 420 U.S. at 693. The Court

identified the dual purposes of conspiracy law, “protec-

tion of society from the dangers of concerted criminal ac-

tivity,” and sanctions against those agreements which

pose great likelihood of commission of an act due to well

formed criminal intent. Id. at 693-94.

In this case the jury found that the defendants con-

spired to violate the Hobbs Act by their acceptance of

payments in return for their promises to expedite com-

pletion of an elaborate hotel project which, had it been

constructed, would have entailed at least a $30 million

expenditure. Had the project actually been planned as

represented, defendants’ actions would have violated the

Hobbs Act even if unforeseen difficulties, such as the

overthrow of the “sheik”, prevented any further action

on the project. The federal interest in protecting inter-

state commerce is no less under the factual situation

presented in this case. The threat posed by defendants’

actions is just as great. Since Congress has exercised the

full scope of its commerce power in the Hobbs Act, we

conclude that there was Hobbs Act jurisdiction.

B.

Extortion “Under Color of Official Right”

As an additional ground for dismissing the Hobbs

Act count the district court held that defendants’ con-

duct did not constitute “extortion” under the Act be-

cause they, at most, “passive[ly]” accepted the bribes.

501 F. Supp. at 1185. The Act defines “extortion” as:

the obtaining of property from another, with his

consent, induced by wrongful use of actual or

threatened force, violence, or fear. or under color of

official right.

A34

18 U.S.C. §1951(b)(2).

The district court's holding is inconsistent with the

rationale underlying the holdings of this court that the

Act is disjunctive and proscribes the “obtaining of prop-

erty from another . . . under color of official right,”

without proof of coercion by the defendant. United

States v. Kenny, 462 F.2d 1205, 1229 (3d Cir.), cert. de-

nied, 409 U.S. 914 (1972). We reaffirmed this principle

in United States v. Mazzei, 521 F.2d 639 (3d Cir.) (en

banc), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1014 (1975), where we

stated:

A violation of the statute may be made out by show-

ing that a public official through the wrongful use of

office obtains property not due him or his office,

even though his acts are not accompanied by the

use of “force, violence or fear.”

Id. at 645 (citations omitted). In Mazzei, we observed

that “the ‘under color of official right’ language [of the

Hobbs Act] ‘repeats the common law definition of extor-

tion.’ ” Id. (citation omitted). At common law, extortion

was defined as “any officer’s unlawfully taking, by color

of his office, from any man, any money or thing of value

that is not due to him.” 4 W. Blackstone, Commentaries

*141. The requirement that the money be taken “by col-

or of his office” meant “simply that the officer must have

taken money not due him for the performance of his offi-

cial duties.” State v. Weleck, 10 N.J. 355, 372, 91 A.2d

751, 759 (1952). Thus, “[i]f the [Hobbs] Act is read in

full, the distinction between bribery and extortion be-

comes unnecessary where public officials are involved.”

Stern, Prosecutions of Local Political Corruption Under

the Hobbs Act: The Unnecessary Distinction Between

Bribery and Extortion, 3 Seton Hall L. Rev. 1, 14

(1971). More recently, in United States v. Cerilli, 603

F.2d 415 (3d Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 444 U.S. 1043

(1980), we upheld the conviction of state officials who

received bribes in return for conferring valuable state

A35

contracts, and approved the district court’s charge that

extortion under “|cJolor of official right is defined as the

taking by a public official of money not due him or his

office... .”

The holding in our cases that the Hobbs Act covers

the acceptance of bribes by public officials even when

payment was not obtained by force, threats, or use of

fear, and the further suggestion that there need be no

inducement or prior request for such payments, accords

with the view taken by other courts of appeals. In United

States v. Hedman, 630 F.2d 1184 (7th Cir. 1980), cert.

denied, 450 U.S. 965 (1981), the government proved at

trial that defendants, city building inspectors, accepted

money from builders who failed to conform with the

building code, but no solicitation of the bribes was

shown. In rejecting defendants’ argument that the gov-

ernment must show that the officials were the

“initiators” or “inducers” of the alleged payments, the

court stated:

It is settled law in this Circuit as well as others that

in a Hobbs Act prosecution for extortion under color

of official right it is unnecessary to show that the de-

fendant induced the extortionate payment. . .

The Government is merely required to prove that a

public official obtained money to which he was not

entitled and which he obtained only because of his

official position.

Id. at 1195 (footnote omitted). The Sixth Circuit has also

held that the “technical overdrawn distinction” which

the public officials sought to make there between brib-

ery and extortion under the Hobbs Act is not in keeping

with the legislative intent, and that “in cases of misuse

of official power, bribery and extortion are not mutually

exclusive.” United States v. Butler, 618 F.2d 411, 417

(6th Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 447 U.S. 927 (1980) and

449 U.S. 1089 (1981).

A36

Defendants argue that in each of the cases in which

this court seemed to interpret the Hobbs Act to cover

passive acceptance of a bribe by a public official, the de-

fendant had in fact engaged in some conduct which

could be construed as inducement of the payment. Even

if the Hobbs Act were to be construed as requiring some

inducement on the part of the public official, defendants’

conduct in this case hardly constituted merely passive

acceptance of the payments. The evidence does not fit

the defendants’ posited illustration of an unexpected

bribe mailed to a public official’s office. On the contrary,

rather than remaining in their own offices, the evidence

shows that each defendant arrived at the Barclay suite

after having been briefed about the purported hotel

project, the fact that there would be a payment made,

and the specific amount of the payment which would be

made to each. Although there is no verbatim record of

Criden’s earlier conversation with Schwartz, Criden re-

ported to Wald that he told Jannotti before the January

24th meeting that the hotel builders wished assurances

that there would be no municipally imposed obstacles to

the project, and that the builders were willing to pay for

such assurances. A897. As soon as each defendant was

in the Barclay suite, Wald, the F.B.I. agent, promptly re-

peated the need for such assurances. Thereafter,

Schwartz launched into a discourse on his own impor-

tance and power and his ability to control City Council

and the relevant municipal officials and departments,

A692-96, 709-13, see pages 13-16 supra, and Jannotti

also confirmed his own power. A858-59, see page 21

supra. Further, each gave assurances that there would

be no obstacles or that the obstacles, if any, would be

manageable. Thus, each defendant’s appearance at the

Berclay in expectation of a payment and his conduct in

providing such assurances evidences more than mere

“passive” acceptance of the bribes,'° and falls wit’1in the

10. The district court's statement, without citation to the re-

cord, that the evidence “clearly” establishes that the defendants

A37

Hobbs Act definition of extortion under color of official

right.

Accordingly we hold that the district court erred in

dismissing Count III of the indictment.

Il.

ENTRAPMENT

As Justice Harlan noted, the meaning, purpose, and

application of the defense of entrapment in criminal

cases are problems that have sharply divided the Court.

See Lopez v. United States, 373 U.S. 427, 434 (1963).

See also United States v. Russell, 411 U.S. 423, 439-40

(Stewart, J., dissenting) (1973). To a large extent, that

division has centered on whether the controlling stand-

ard focuses on the conduct of the government (the ob-

jective test) or the predisposition of the defendant (the

subjective test). The legal principles which determine

the application of the entrapment defense in this case,

however, are not in serious dispute. The parameters of

the entrapment defense are largely to be found from the

four principal cases in which the defense has been con-

sidered by the Supreme Court, Sorrells v. United States,

287 U.S. 435 (1932); Sherman v. United States, 356

U.S. 369 (1958); United States v. Russell, 411 U.S. 423

(1973); and Hampton v. United States, 425 U.S. 484

(1976).

In Sorrells v. United States, where the Court first

recognized the defense of entrapment, the Court held

the defendant was entitled to have the jury consider

“made it very clear that the payments would not be necessary,” 501

F. Supp. at 1185, does not fairly represent the only possible con-

struction of the evidence, and the jury accepted a contrary con-

struction. The district court's statement is also inconsistent with the

court's own finding that the evidence permitted the inference that

the payments were “in exchange for the defendants’ assurances of

using their official positions to pave the way for expeditious comple-

tion of the project.” 501 F. Supp. at 1184.

A38

whether his acts of possessing and selling one-half gal-

lon of whiskey in violation of the National Prohibition

Act were instigated by the prohibition agent who im-

planted in the “mind of an innocent person the disposi-

tion to commit the alleged offense and induce its com-

mission in order that [Government officials} may

prosecute.” 287 U.S. at 442. The nature of the defense

was outlined more fully when the Court next considered

the defense a quarter of a century later in Sherman v.

United States. Chief Justice Warren, writing for the ma-

jority of the Court, stated that “[t]o determine whether

entrapment has been established, a line must be drawn

between the trap for the unwary innocent and the trap

for the unwary criminal.” 356 U.S. at 372. In concluding

that entrapment had been established as a matter of law,

the Court determined from the undisputed testimony of

the prosecution’s witnesses that the defendant was in-

duced to sell narcotics by the government informer and

that he was not predisposed, i.e., that he engaged in con-

duct he would not otherwise have attempted. The Court

noted, “Entrapment occurs only when the criminal con-

duct was ‘the product of the creative activity’ of law-

enforcement officials.” Id. (emphasis in original).

In United States v. Russell, the Court expressly dis-

approved of the decisions of the lower federal courts

which had expanded the entrapment defense beyond

the Court’s opinions in Sorrells and Sherman. Instead,

the Court reiterated that the defense was not of constitu-

tional dimension, and reaffirmed its prior opinions that

established that entrapment is a “relatively limited de-

fense”, 411 U.S. at 435, which cannot be used by a pre-

disposed defendant. Most recently, in Hampton v. Unit-

ed States, a majority of the Court, in two separate

opinions, upheld defendant's conviction arising from his

sales of heroin which had allegedly been procured from

a government informant, reaffirming once again the

A39

unavailability of the entrapment defense to a predis-

posed defendant.

Emerging from these cases are the principles which

guide our review of the evidence which defendants ar-

gue and the district court found established entrapment

as a matter of law. As the Court stated in Sorrells, “It is

well settled that the fact that officers or employees of the

Government merely afford opportunities or facilities for

the commission of the offense does not defeat the pros-

ecution.” 287 U.S. at 441. Entrapment occurs when a

defendant who was not predisposed to commit the crime

does so as a result of the government's inducement. The

entrapment defense thus focuses on “the intent or pre-

disposition of the defendant to commit the crime.” Unit-

ed States v. Russell, 411 U.S. at 429. As we have pre-

viously held, the government has the burden “to

disprove the whole [entrapment] defense beyond a rea-

sonable doubt,” United States v. Watson, 489 F.2d 504,

510 (3d Cir. 1973)."

Finally, although there may be instances where the

undisputed facts establish the entrapment defense as a

mater of law, as in United States v. Sherman, or where

the evidence is simply insufficient to submit the issue to

the jury, see, e.g., United States v. Armocida, 515 F.2d

49, 55-56 (3d Cir. 1975); United States v. Payseur, 501

F.2d 966, 970-71 (9th Cir. 1974); United States v.

Smith, 489 F.2d 1330, 1334-35 (7th Cir. 1973), cert. de-

nied, 416 U.S. 994 (1974), entrapment is generally a

jury question. See United States v. Lentz, 624 F.2d

1280, 1286 (5th Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 450 U.S. 995

(1981); United States v. Bocra, 623 F.2d 281, 288-89

(3d Cir.), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 875 (1980); United

States v. Twigg, 588 F.2d 373, 376 (3d Cir. 1978). See

also United States v. Klosterman, 248 F.2d 191, 194-95

11. See discussion of burden of proof in Murchison, The En-

trapment Defense in Federal Courts: Modern Developments, 47

Miss. L.J. 573, 604-06 (1976).

A40

(3d Cir. 1957); Tzimopoulos v. United States, 554 F.2d

1216, 1217 (1st Cir.) (per curiam), cert. denied, 434

U.S. 851 (1977). This court has held that a defendant is

entitled to an entrapment instruction,

however unreasonable the judge would consider a

verdict in favor of the defendant to be, when the ac-

cused shows (1) evidence that the Government ini-

tiated the crime, regardless of the amount of pres-

sure applied to the defendant, and (2) any evidence

negating the defendant’s propensity to commit the

crime.

United States v. Watson, 489 F.2d at 509.

The district court in this case submitted the issue of

entrapment to the jury following a jury charge on that

issue which is not here challenged. After the jury decid-

ed that defendants were not entrapped, the district court

reconsidered the propriety of such submission in ruling

on defendants’ motions for acquittal. The court summa-

rized the government’s evidence as relying exclusively

upon the fact that each defendant did accept money

from the agents. The district court agreed that “ijn

some situations . . . a defendant’s ready acquiescence

in the Government’s suggestion may be enough to justi-

fy a finding of predisposition.” United States v. Jannotti,

501 F. Supp. at 1200. See, e.g., Uniicd States v. Valen-

cia, 645 F.2d 1158, 1167-68 (2d Cir. 1980) (ready re-

sponse to drug sale proposal); United States v. Viviano,

437 F.2d 295, 299 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 402 U.S. 983

(1971) (ready response to bribe solicitation).

However, the district court overturned the jury’s de-

cision. Although the court remarked that, “No-one who

has viewed the videotape evidence in this case could

avoid feelings of distress and disgust at the crass behav-

ior the tapes reveal,” it gave judgment for the defendants

because “|t]he evidence was, as a matter of law, insuffi-

cient to estab'ish the defendants’ predisposition beyond

A4l

a reasonable doubt.” 501 F. Supp. at 1200. In support of

that decision, the district court relied on three factors.

In my opinion, in their zeal to make sure that

the defendants would accept the tendered pay-

ments, the government agents offered such attrac-

tive inducements as to preclude any reliance upon

the defendants’ acceptance of the money as proof of

predisposition. In the first place, the amounts of-

fered were exceedingly generous. Standing alone,

the very amounts of the bribes were, to paraphrase

the language of the court in Scriber v. U.S., [4 F.2d

97 (6th Cir. 1925)], “a substantial temptation to a

first offense.”

In the second place, it was clear that the defen-

dants would not be asked or expected to do any-

thing improper on behalf of the proposed hotel ven-

ture; and they agreed to do nothing inconsistent

with their obligations as members of the City Coun-

cil, working for the benefit of their constituents.

Finally, and most importantly, they were led to

believe that if they did not accept the money, the

project would not come to Philadelphia. In the con-

text of the fiscal crises which beset all large cities

these days, and in the context of the problems of ur-

ban blight and decay, the governmental induce-

ment in this case was indeed calculated to

overwhelm.

Id. (emphasis added).

Before turning to that evidence, it will be useful to

reiterate briefly the applicable principles governing def-

erence to the jury’s findings. In ruling on a motion to

overturn a jury’s finding of predisposition the trial court

must view the evidence in the light most favorable to the

prosecution, and resolve all reasonable inferences there-

from in its favor. See Glasser v. United States, 315 U.S.

60, 80 (1942); . ‘ed States v. Artuso, 618 F.2d 192,

195-96 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 861 (1980).

A42

Credibility determinations are for the jury. See, e.g.,

United States v. Bocra, 623 F.2d 281, 289 (3d Cir. ), cert.

denied, 449 U.S. 875 (1980). Viewing the evidence in

this light, the trial court must uphold the jury’s verdict

unless no reasonable jury could conclude beyond a rea-

sonable doubt that the defendant was predisposed to

commit the offense for which he was convicted. See

Burks v. United States, 437 U.S. 1, 16 (1978). Obvious-

ly, in reviewing a district court’s decision to disregard a

jury verdict, we apply the same standard. Id. at 17; Unit-

ed States v. Dixon, 658 F.2d 181, 188 (3d Cir. 1981).

Thus, we must independently examine the evidence on

the three factors relied upon by the district court to de-

termine whether it was as overwhelming for the defen-

dants as the district court found. If not, it was error to

withdraw the decision on the predisposition issue from

the jury.

A.

The size of the payments

The undisputed evidence shows that Schwartz,

chairman of Philadelphia City Council, accepted a pay-

ment in cash of $30,000 from an F.B.I. agent posing as a

representative of the sheik, that he looked inside the en-

velope, fingered the bills, and licked the envelope closed.

The evidence also shows that Jannotti, a member of

Philadelphia City Counc. accepted a payment in cash

of $10,000 from the same F.B.I. representative, that he

placed the envelope in his pocket without opening it,

and that he declined to discuss the amount of the pay-

ment, repeating several times “We won't even discuss

iy

The district court, without any reference to the

record or any analysis of the issue, characterized the

amounts offered as “exceedingly generous” and deter-

mined that “the very amounts of the bribes were. . . ‘a

substantial temptation to a first offense.’ 501 F. Supp.

A43

at 1200. In effect, the district court held that no reason-

able jury could have found predisposition from the de-

fendants’ on-tape conduct because of the nature of the

inducement offered to the defendants.

Even if the dollar amount offered were relevant to

disprove predisposition, a question which we do not de-

cide, we find nothing in the record to support the district

court’s conclusion that in today’s inflationary times, city

councilmen would view sums of $30,000 or $10,000 as

so large or generous as to overcome an official’s natural

reluctance to accept a bribe. Certainly, the question of

the generosity of the sums given must be viewed in rela-

tionship to the circumstances of the acceptors. What

would be tempting to an office clerk would plainly not be

enough to tempt a millionaire. Yet the record is almost

bare of any evidence of the defendants’ financial situa-

tions. What the record does disclose hardly suggests that

either man was in dire straits financially. Schwartz was

a practicing lawyer until 1970 or 1971 and, until that

time, a partner of a large and active center city Philadel-

phia law firm. In his discussion with Wald, Schwartz

stated:

SCHWARTZ: And, uh, I was a senior partner

in a very large law firm, but decided to give up the

practice completely and sever my connections with

the firm to devote full time to my councilmatic du-

ties. I felt that, uh, it was the proper thing for me to

do, for my own discretion. The then mayor, who is

now out of office, Frank Rizzo, who was the former

police commissioner. And, uh, you know, you think

things out.

WALD: Uh-hmm.

SCHWARTZ: And fortunately, I didn’t have to

worry about earning a livelihood, I’ve, I've been a

real estate lawyer, corporate practice real estate, ad-

ministrative agency law. . . .

A44

A694-95. Furthermore, Schwartz did not expect to keep

the entire $30,000. As the district court found,

However, Schwartz accompanied Criden to a meet-

ing with the undercover agents on January 23,

1980, and the videotape of that meeting, together

with other evidence, demonstrates that Schwartz

knew he would be paid $30,000, and that the pay-

ment would be shared in some way with Criden.

501 F. Supp. at 1198.

Jannotti, who in addition to his City Council salary

also owned a bar, made a statement to an F.B.I. agent

during the subsequent investigation that his bar made

“more than $10,000 and there would be no reason for

him to take that kind of money.” A925.

In United States v. Myers, Nos. CR80-00249,

CR80-00253, CR80-00291, slip op. at 59 (E.D.N.Y. July

24, 1981), the district court was faced with a similar is-

sue and commented that today “$50,000 is simply not an

overpowering sum of money.” It also noted that other

legislators approached with bribes of sums greater than

$30,000 found themselves capable of rejecting the of-

fers. Id. at 53, 60.

The jury was well aware of the amount of the bribes

as well as the defendants’ stations in life. Since there is

nothing in the record to support the district court’s con-

clusion that the amounts involved were, as a matter of

law, so generous and enticing as to overcome any possi-

ble refusal by the defendants, the court’s action in over-

turning the jury’s resolution of this issue was plainly an

intrusion on the jury’s prerogative.

B.

The “benignity” of the payments

The second of the three factors which the district

court stressed in holding that the evidence was imsuffi-

cient as a matter of law to establish that the defendants’

A45

acceptance of the money showed their predisposition

was that “the defendants would not be asked or expected

to do anything improper on behalf of the proposed hotel

venture” and that “they agreed to do nothing inconsis-

tent with their obligations as members of the City Coun-

cil, working for the benefit of their constituents.” 501 F.

Supp. at 1200. The district court stated that “there was

no suggestion that the putative sheik required or expect-

ed any violation of the law in exchange for the payment;

he merely wished to be assured that he had ‘friends’ in

high places.” Id. at 1194.

There is a fundamental inconsistency in the district

court’s view of the evidence in this part of its opinion and

the court’s earlier statement in the same opinion that

[t]here is no dispute about the defendants’ receipt of

the payments, and the evidence permitted, although

it did not compel, the inference that the payments

represented bribes paid in exchange for the defen-

dants’ assurances of using their official positions to

pave the way for expeditious completion of the

pi vject.

501 F. Supp. at 1184 (emphasis added). The district

court never attempted to reconcile the two statements. It

may be that the district court, in stating that defendants

agreed to do nothing “improper”, was referring to the de-

fendants’ repeated statements on tape that they as-

sumed that the hotel was to be a legitimate venture and

their frequent comments that the project would be good

for Philadelphia. However, as the district court acknowl-

edged, the evidence permitted the inference that the

payments represented “bribes” to elected public officials

in return for the use of their official positions. We fail to

see how any court anywhere under any circumstances

can fail to characterize a public official’s acceptance of

payment to “pave the way for expeditious completion of

the project” as “improper”.

A46

The government argues that defendants’ arrival at

the hotel room after 10 o'clock in the evening to meet

with total strangers, and the statements of Criden and

Johanson indicating that Schwartz and Jannotti would

be ready and willing to accept payments in return for po-

litical favors and that they had done so in the past, see,

e.g., A497-500, support the jury’s determination that the

defendants were predisposed. However, even if we were

to look only at the defendants’ own statements and ac-

tions shown on the tapes, there is no justification for tak-

ing from the jury the question of the nature of defen-

dants’ undertaking.

To recapitulate some of the relevant evidence, early

in the meeting at the Barclay Hotel between Schwartz,

Wald and Criden, Wald made it clear that he was seek-

ing political favors in connection with the hotel venture.

Thus, whatever Schwartz’ expectations actually were

about the services he was to perform for the anticipated

fee following Judge Shiomos’ references to a “consulting

opinion”, a reasonable jury could have found that in the

course of Schwartz’ meeting at the Barclay it became

clear that what was at stake was the exchange of future

political favors by the President of Philadelphia’s City

Council for cash to be paid on the spot. See pp. 12-17

supra.

Furthermore, in light of Schwartz’ response to

Wald’s overture (“we got five or six [city council] mem-

bers that came in. . . you tell me your birth date. I'll

give them to you for your birthday,” A695-6), a reason-

able jury could find that Schwartz quickly dispelled any

notion that he thought he was meeting Wald for legiti-

mate “consulting” work. City Council members are

simply not “given” as birthday gifts to prospective

enterpreneurs as part of a “consultation.”

The evidence as to Jannotti, if not quite as strong as

that against Schwartz, also could be construed by a rea-

sonable jury as proving that the payment was made for

A47

political support, for Jannotti’s vote. thereby belving anv

suggestion that it was made for “friendship”. With

Jannotti as with Schwartz, Wald explained “I'm only

here for one reason, to bring back some assurances,”

A849. and characterized the understanding between

them as 2 “cash business transaction” in which Jannotti

“guaranteed. . . ihat we don’t have a problem in Phila-

delphia. . . .” A863. A reasonable jury could view the

assurances given by Jannotti as his willingness to com-

mit his City Council vote, A853-54, and to use his politi-

cal influence. A863-67. See pp. 19-24 supra.

The district court stressed the concern expressed by

both Schwartz and Jannotti that the project be “legal”

and “legitimate”. As the evidence shows. Schwartz ex-

pressed concern that the hotel was not to be used for im-

moral purposes. and Jannotti was concerned that the ho-

tel was not to be used for gambling. While the

defendants’ statements may indicate their unwillingness

to support the project if it were to be used for such illegal

purposes. either because they were interested in Phila-

delphia’s welfare or because such use would become a

matter of public knowledge. they fail to negate the per-

missible inference that both men knew they were acting

improperly in accepting money in return for their sup-

port and influence. As this court has previously held, it is

neither material nor a defense to bribery that “had there

been no bribe, the jpublic official} might, on the avail-

able data, lawfully and properly have made the very rec-

ommendation that [the briber| wanted him to make.”

United States v. Labovitz, 251 F.2d 393, 394 (3d Cir.

1958). Judge Hastie, writing for the court. set forth the

rationale for that holding:

It is a major concern of organized society that the

community have the benefit of objective evaluation

and unbiased judgment on the part of those who

participate in the making of official decisions.

Therefore, society deals sternly with briberv which

A48

would substitute the will of an interested person for

the judgment of a public official as the controlling

factor in official decision.

Id.

The district court, in discussing some of the evi-

dence, stated that Schwartz’ words and actions during

the meeting, as disclosed on the videotape, could be

interpreted to mean either “that he was rendering legal

advice and advice as an expert on city government and

reai estate development, in exchange for a consulting

fee” which would “merely” violate the City Charter’ pro-

hibition against conflicts of interest, or “that he was ac-

cepting a bribe for assuring his official support of a

project he would have been willing to support in any

event.” Id. at 1198.

In the posture of the case before us, we cannot ac-

cept the “consulting fee” view of the payment to

Schwartz (no similar contention having been made as to

Jannotti). It has often been stated by this court that a de-

fendant who chooses to defend on the ground of entrap-

ment must admit that there were present all the ele-

ments of the crime with which he or she was charged

United States v. Shoup, 608 F.2d 950, 964 (3d Cir

1979); United States v. Levin, 606 F.2d 47, 48-49 (3d

Cir. 1979) (per curiam); United States v. Watson, 489

F 2d 504, 507 (3d Cir. 1973). The district court adopted

a restrictive view of the holdings in these cases by inter-

preting them as conditioning the entrapment charge on

defendants’ admission only of the operative facts. 501 F

Supp. at 1201. Subsequent to the district court's opin-

ion, we considered whether an entrapment defense re-

quired admission of the relevant mens rea and stated

that the entrapment de: nse “requires admission of guilt

of the crime charged and all of its elements, including

the required mental state.” United States v. Hill. 655

F.2d 512, 514 (3d Cir. 1981). Thus, our precedent sug-

gests that since acceptance of a bribe was an element of

A49

the crime with which Schwartz was charged, Schwartz

was required to forego the argument that receipt of the

money was a benign “consulting fee” if he was to rely on

the entrapment defense. But see United States v.

Demma, 523 F.2d 981 (9th Cir. 1975) (en banc).

The other difficulty in the willingness of the district

court to view the payments as benign is the obvious sub-

stitution of its view for that of the jury. As the district

court recognized, the jury accepted the view that the

payments were not “consulting fees” but were bribes.

501 F. Supp. at 1198-99. The jury was expressly in-

structed that it must determine whether each defendant

understood that the money was being paid to influence

his vote or conduct. The court charged:

You would ask yourselves at the conclusion of the

transaction and in the totality of the circumstances:

Did that particular defendant understand that mon-

ey was being paid to him to influence his vote, to in-

fluence his conduct in his official position or was

this a situation in which the defendant understood

merely that the money was to be paid in order to en-

able the Sheik’s representative to report back to the

Sheik that he had made friends in accordance with

the Arab way of doing business? That is, in the total-

ity of the circumstances, both the defendant and the

Arab representatives understood that the defendant

had been bought and that his support or at least as-

surance of continuing support were based at least in

part upon the fact that he had received the money or

was this a situation in which it was understood be-

tween the representative and the defendant that

there was no corruption involved, that this was sim-

ply something which was made necessarv in order

to encourage the Sheik to go ahead with the project

but that as between the representatives and the

councilmen it was understood that there was no

curruption involved?

ASO

A1358-59. In view of the jurv’s adverse determination

that the payments were not for “friendship” but were to

improperly influence defendants in the exercise of their

official positions. the district court’s substitution of its

view of the evidence in deciding that as a matter of law

there could be no predisposition represented an unfortu-

nate usurpation of the jurv’s prerogative.

i.

The “contingency” of the hotel project. i.e..

“the Arab mind”

The tinal factor, and the one considered “most im-

portant” by the district court in its assessment of the

“overwhelm|ing!” inducement offered by the F.B.I.

agents posing as the sheik’s representatives, was the

fact. as described by the district court, that defendants

were “led to believe that if they did not accept the mon-

ey. the project would not come to Philadelphia.” 501 F.

Supp. at 1200. The district court. in reviewing the entire

undercover operation which has come to be known as

ABSCAM., stated: “Perhaps the crucial aspect of the un-

dercover operation was its emphasis upon ‘the Arab

mind,’ the ‘Arab way of doing business.” A constant

theme of the agents’ representations was that their

principals would not undertake any project unless first

assured of the ‘friendship’ of the persons with whom

they were dealing.” Jd. at 1194 (emphasis added).

This conclusion suffers from the failure to cite to

evidence that any such representation was ever made to

or communicated to defendant Schwartz. We have

found no such evidence. In fact. early in the meeting be-

tween Schwartz and Wald, Schwartz was told that Phila-

delphia had already been selected:

WALD: Well, what | have been instructed to do

and the purpose for ah my visits to Philadelphia is to

firm up uh. what we consider to be a major invest-

A51

ment here and uh the gentleman cares to make a

major investment here because he seems to like

Philadelphia. and he has been told that it would uh

be in his best interest to have an investment. uh. in

an area where he. uh. would like to take up rather

permanent residence and Philadelphia is tt.

A690.

In an effort to point to evidence which would sup-

port the district court’s conclusion that Schwartz was led

to believe that if defendants did not accept the money

the project would not come to Philadelphia. Schwartz re-

fers to statements by Wald that his emplover was inter-

ested in Philadelphia. had to be “happy”, wanted to “take

care of any potential problems long before thev exist”

and remarks regarding the need for “assurances.”

Schwartz has not. nor have we. found any statement in

which Wald made the representation to Schwartz that

the project was contingent on his acceptance of the

money. While Wald may have made representations to

others that the hotel project was contingent, we have not

been referred to any evidence that such statements were

communicated to Schwartz. If Criden were supposed to

be the alleged conduit. he failed to testifv to that effect

since, notwithstanding the grant of defense immunity to

Criden, neither the defendants nor the government

called him as a witness. '*

It may be that the district court, aware of similar

representations with regard to the “Arab mind” which

were made to other ABSCAM participants, interpolated

them as to Schwartz. Whatever the explanation, since

this was the “most important” factor to show that the ap-

12. Prior to trial, the district court stated that the content of

the defendants’ off-camera discussions with Criden was of critical

importance to defendants’ entrapment defense. A102. After the

close of the government's case-in-chief. the court granted Criden

defense immunity to permit him to testify about these conversa-

tions. A996- 1003.

A52

peal to civic duty was too overwhelming an inducement

for any public official to resist, once this factor is negat-

ed, the house of cards built upon it collapses.

With regard to Jannotti, there is no question that a

reference to the “Arab mind” was made to him, and that

Wald also represented that this “is the method of busi-

ness that these people are use [sic] to, and that is how

they conduct business ... .” A860. See pp. 21-22

supra. Whether these statements can be construed as a

representation that only if Jannotti accepted the money

would the hotel come to Philadelphia is somewhat ques-

tionable. Such a conclusion is even more equivocal in

light of the following colloquy which took place before

the reference to the “Arab mind”:

JANNOTTI: Who could refuse a project like

that?

WALD: Nobody could, that’s my point, alright,

but I've been told the City of Philadelphia is where

this, ah, this construction project is going. | mean

this is where he is going to be. This is where he

wantsit....

A852 (emphasis added). Later in the meeting Wald reit-

erated that “Philadelphia has already been sold, to the

man.” A876. See also A864, A880. Thus, even as to

Jannotti, at most the evidence presents the basis for dif-

fering arguments to the jury as to the interpretation to

be placed on the conversations.

In fact, the issue was presented to the jury. The dis-

trict court instructed on this precise issue as follows:

. . . depending on how you interpret the testimony,

you might draw the inference that the net effect of

the totality of the circumstances considering every-

thing that the agents said in the course of these

meetings the defendants were led to believe that

unless they were willing to accept money and give

assurances this hotel project would not be coming

A53

into Philadelphia. . . . |Djepending upon how you

interpret what was said you could draw either con-

clusion, and it is up to you to decide which one is

appropriate. .

A1355-56. The decision of the jury. adverse to the defen-

dants, demonstrates its resolution of the differing infer-

ences which might be drawn.

D.

Acceptance of the money by Schwartz and Jannotti

To summarize, the district court found that the ac-

ceptance of the money by Schwartz and Jannotti was in-

sufficient evidence of their predisposition to take bribes

because the government offered “such attractive in-

ducements” as were bound to overwhelm. 501 F. Supp.

at 1200. We conclude that the jury could have found

that the evidence fails to show “such attractive induce-

ments” as would overwhelm most honest, responsible

public officials, no matter how deep-seated their civic

duty. Thus, we return to the initial proposition, that the

acceptance of the money itself may be sufficient to show

predisposition.

In certain types of crimes, it is often possible for the

government to show predisposition by proof of the defen-

dant’s prior convictions or his or her participation in

similar transactions. See, e.g., United States v. Ordner,

554 F.2d 24, 28 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 824

(1977); United States v. Lemons, 470 F.2d 135 (3d Cir.

1972) (per curiam), cert. denied, 412 U.S. 929 (1973).

Such evidence would be extremely difficult te produce

in the case of acceptance of a bribe by a public official.

Because such officials are often intelligent, educated

and worldly, it is unlikely that they will accept money

from those to whom they have not had “safe” introduc-

tions and who, because they are also implicated, are un-

likely to report to the authorities. In addition, because

A54

the crime has no direct victim, its occurrence leaves no

public trail which cries for investigation. Since the ulti-

mate factual determination is whether the defendant

was “ready and willing to commit the crime if an oppor-

tunity should be presented,” as distinguished from hav-

ing been “corrupted by some overreaching or special in-

ducement,” United States v. Watson, 489 F.2d 504, 509

(3d Cir. 1973), the very acceptance of a bribe by a public

official may be evidence of a predisposition to do so when

the opportunity is presented.’

li: resolving the issue of vredisposition, the jury

must determine the defendants subjective intent. Ex-

cept in unusual cases, intent can be proven only through

circumstantial evidence. The factors ordinarily relevant

to the jury’s inquiry, particularly the defendant’s words

and mannerisms at the time of the offense, are generally

available only through the testimony of one or more of

the participants. The jury has no opportunity to hear the

voice inflections or see the mannerisms of the partici-

pants. This case is unique in that through the videotape

the jury could observe the entire criminal transaction

and many of the events leading up to it. It could observe

whether the defendants demurred or showed any reluc-

tance when the money was handed to each of them. The

jury could observe the amount of pressure, overt or tacit,

if any, placed on the defendants to accept the bribes. In

short, this jury had in its hands some of the most valu-

13. Researchers have found it difficult to locate a case in

which the defense of entrapment has been successfully interposed

in prosecutions of public officials for accepting, agreeing to receive,

or soliciting bribes. See Annotation, Entrapment to Commit Bribery

or Offer to Bribe, 69 A.L.R.2d 1397, 1431 (1960). Defendants have

cited to no such case, nor has our independent investigation uncov-

ered one. This is to be contrasted with the occasional successful en-

trapment defense by those persons who have been enticed by public

officials to make the payments. See, e.g., United States v.

Klosterman, 248 F.2d 191 (3d Cir. 1957). But see United States v.

Bocra, 623 F.2da 281 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 875 (1980).

A55

able tools possible with which to conduct its inquirv into

the state of mind of each defendant, the crucial factor in

an entrapment defense.

The Ninth Circuit recently reviewed the factors

which must be considered in determining predisposi-

tion, and concluded that, “|w\|hile none of the factors

alone indicates either the presence or absence of predis-

position, the most important factor. as revealed by Su-

preme Court and other decisions, is whether the defen-

dant evidenced reluctance to engage in criminal activity

which was overcome by repeated Government induce-

ment.” United States v. Reynoso-Ulloa, 548 F.2d 1329.

1336 (9th Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 436 U.S. 926 (1978).

The court stated, “We have found no case in which the

defense of entrapment (as opposed to cases dealing with

due process principles) was successful where the defen-

dant had not indicated reluctance to engage in illegal ac-

tivity.” Id. at 1336 n.11.

The facts of this case are unlike any of the few in

which the entrapment defense has been successful. [n

United States v. Klosterman, 248 F.2d 191, 193 (3d Cir.

1957), the government contacted a_ reluctant

intermediary eleven times before he agreed to make the

necessary introduction. The other defendant in

Klosterman was, as the subject of an IRS investigation

which had been continuing “for an unusual length of

time,” under anxiety and therefore “more susceptible” to

the government’s persuasion. Id. at 196. In Sorrells v.

United States, the agent “lured” defendant by “repeated

and persistent solicitation in which he succeeded by

taking advantage of the sentiment aroused by

reminiscences of their experiences as companions in

arms in the World War.” 287 U.S. at 441. In Sherman v.

United States, the defendant. after rebuffing numerous

requests by the government agent. finally relented and

sold drugs to the agent. who had plaved upon the deten-

dant’s sympathy bv predicating his request upon his sul-

A56

fering from lack of narcotics. 356 U.S. at 373. See Wall v.

United States, 65 F.2d 993 (5th Cir. 1933). The situa-

tion here is obviously not analogous. Defendants in this

case point to no statements or gestures which indicate

any reluctance whatsoever to accept the proffered pay-

ments.

Although we have concentrated primarily on defen-

dants’ acceptance of the payments to demonstrate that

predisposition was a jury issue, even were we to disre-

gard certain other evidence relied on by the government

to which defendants vigorously object, there was addi-

tional evidence which the jury may have credited in

finding predisposition. Ellis Cook, a lawyer associated

with Criden, testified that Criden told him that he had

given money to Schwartz in return for Schwartz’ intro-

ducing him to Jannotti. A607. This payment of what

might be considered a “finder’s fee” was made to

Schwartz shortly after he had received the $30,000 pay-

ment from the agents. Schwartz’ acceptance of a pay-

ment for introducing Criden to Jannotti, another public

official, so that Jannotti could participate in a similar

transact

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.