Record and brief — Gilliland v. City of Palmdale

Supreme Court brief1982

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

JUoWE}e}S

jeuonoipsunr

81-1700 - Supreme Court, U.S.

No. ILED

IN THE MAR 15 1982

SUPREME COURT OF THE UN

October Term, 1981

ROBERT J. GILLILAND, MARY P. FITZ,

JAMES S. GILLILAND, and FRANK M.

GILLILAND,

Petitioners,

VS.

CITY OF PALMDALE and COUNTY OF

LOS ANGELES,

Respondents.

APPEAL FROM

COURT OF APPEAL OF CALIFORNIA

SECOND APPELLATE DISTRICT, DIVISION ONE

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

JERROLD A. FADEM

MICHAEL M. BERGER

of FADEM, BERGER & NORTON

501 Santa Monica Boulevard

Suite 600

P.O. Box 2148

Santa Monica, CA 90406

(213) 451-9951

Attorneys for Petitioners

The Brief Shop © Legal Printers © (213) 877-8620

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Is it constitutionally permissible for a state court to

hold unqualifiedly that payment of just compensation for

taking private property for public use is never available as a

remedy when such taking is by a regulation which deprives

the property owner of use of his property?

2. Is it constitutionally permissible for a state court to

hold unqualifiedly that the only remedy available to a pro-

perty owner whose property has been taken by a regulation

depriving him of use of his property, is to seek judicial

invalidation of such regulation?

3. Is it constitutionally permissible for a state court to

hold, without any factual inquiry as to whether the regulated

property is in fact economically or physically capable of

being put to uses theoretically permitted by the reguiation,

that as the regulation says that some uses are permitted, such

statement ipso facto disproves the landowners’ allegations

that in fact the regulation renders the property useless and

worthless?

4. Isis constitutionally permissible for a state to regulate

for the express purposes of violating the Fifth and Fourteenth

Amendment prohibitions against devoting property to a

public use without compensating the owner?

5. Isit constitutionally permissible for a state to refuse to

enforce federal remedies when a federal cause of action is

prosecuted in that state’s courts?

6. On the facts at bench, where the Appellants’ property

was stultified by regulation into uselessness and worth-

lessness, does the constitutional policy of fairness require that

the ensuing economic burden be borne by the benefited

public as a whole and not be disproportionately placed on the

Appellants?

a

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

THE OPINIONS BELOW

JURISDICTION

SUGGESTION THAT CONSIDERATION OF

THIS APPEAL BE JOINED WITH THE PETI-

TION FOR CERTIORARI IN GILLILAND vy.

UNITED STATES, NO. 81-1242.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PRO-

VISIONS INVOLVED

RAISING THE FEDERAL QUESTION

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED ARE

SUBSTANTIAL.

INTRODUCTION

CALIFORNIA HAS CHOSEN TO DEFY THIS

COURT’S INTERPRETATION OF THE

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION.

Page

il

13

see

— WI

THIS COURT’S ATTENTION IS NEEDED TO

END THE NATIONAL ANARCHY ON “THE

TAKING ISSUE.”

THIS COURT’S ATTENTION IS NEEDED TO

END THE NATIONAL ANARCHY ON “THE

COMPENSATION ISSUE.”

THE INTENT OF PALMDALE AND THE

COUNTY TO MAKE A GIFT OF THE SUB-

JECT PROPERTY TO THE AIR FORCE IS

NOT ONLY RELEVANT, IT RENDERS THE

GOVERNMENTAL ACTION UNCONSTITU-

TIONAL UNTIL COMPENSATION IS MADE.

CONCLUSION

19

—jy—

APPENDIX A

OPINION, COURT OF APPEAL, SECOND

APPELLATE DISTRICT, FILED

DECEMBER 7, 1981

APPENDIX B

ORDER, COURT OF APPEAL, SECOND

APPELLATE DISTRICT, FILED

JANUARY 6, 1982

APPENDIX C

PETITION FOR REHEARING DENIED,

JANUARY 6, 1982

APPENDIX D

OPINION, COURT OF APPEAL, SECOND

APPELLATE DISTRICT, FILED

NOVEMBER 25, 1981

APPENDIX E

ORDER MODIFYING OPINION, CER-

TIFICATION FOR PUBLICATION, FILED

DECEMBER 10, 1981

APPENDIX F

PETITION FOR REHEARING DENIED,

DECEMBER 17, 1981

APPENDIX G

ORDER DENYING HEARING AFTER

JUDGMENT BY THE COURT OF AP-

PEAL, FILED FEBRUARY 10, 1982

APPENDIX H

ORDER, HEARING DENIED, CALIFOR-

NIA SUPREME COURT, DATED

FEBRUARY 10, 1982

am You

APPENDIX I

JUDGMENT ON THE PLEADINGS,

SUPERIOR COURT OF LOS ANGELES

COUNTY, FILED SEPTEMBER 12, 1979

APPENDIX J

ORDER OF DISMISSAL OF FIRST

AMENDED COMPLAINT, SUPERIOR

COURT OF LOS ANGELES COUNTY,

FILED NOVEMBER 8, 1979

APPENDIX K

NOTICE OF APPEAL TO THE SUPREME

COURT OF THE UNITED STATES, 2nd

CIVIL NO. 59028, DATED MARCH 5, 1982

APPENDIX L

NOTICE OF APPEAL TO THE SUPREME

COURT OF THE UNITED STATES, 2nd

CIVIL NO. 60960, DATED MARCH 5, 1982

APPENDIX M

PALMDALE CITY ORDINANCE, SEC-

TIONS 32.02, 32.03, 32.04, 32.05

APPENDIX N

LOS ANGELES COUNTY ORDINANCE,

SECTIONS 242, 242.1, 242.2, 242.3

I-1

K-1l

—vi—

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Agins v. Tiburon (1979)

24 Cal.3d 266, 157 Cal.Rptr. 372, 598

P.2d 25, aff’d on other grounds (1980)

447 U.S. 255

Andrus v. Allard (1979)

444 US. 51

Arastra Limited Partnership v. City of Palo

Alto

(N.D. Cal. 1975) 401 F.Supp. 962

Arlington Heights v. Metro. Dev. Corp.

(1977)

429 U.S. 252

Askew v. Gables-by-the-Sea

(Fla. App. 1976) 333 So.2d 56

Brazil v. City of Auburn

(Wash. App. 1979) 598 P.2d 1

Brockett v. Spokane Arcades, Inc. (1981)

___._-;U.S. ___., 70 L.Ed.2d 468

Burrows v. City of Keene

(N.H. 1981) 432 A.2d 15

Charles v. Diamond (1977)

41 N.Y.2d 318, 360 N.E.2d 1295

City of Austin v. Teague

(Tex. 1978) 570 S.W.2d 389

City of Richmond v. United States (1975)

422 U.S. 358

Clifton v. Berry

(Ga. 1979) 259 S.E.2d 35

Page

passim

21

19

10, 11

15, 17, 27

26

26

27

—vii—

Commercial Standard Ins. Co. v. Bank of

America (1976)

57 Cal.App.3d 241, 129 Cal.Rptr. 91 5

Conley v. Gibson (1957)

355 U.S. 41 5, 23

Cordeco Dev. Corp. v. Vazquez

(D. Puerto Rico 1972) 354 F.Supp. 1355 21

Dahl v. City of Palo Alto

(N.D. Cal. 1974) 372 F.Supp. 647 20, 21

Dahlstrom v. United States

(8th Cir. 1956) 228 F.2d 819 9

Davis v. Pima County

(Ariz. App. 1978) 590 P.2d 459

Davis v. Wechsler (1923)

263 U.S. 22 25

Devines v. Maier

(7th Cir. 1981) 665 F.2d 138 10, 20

Dugan v. Rank (1963)

372 U.S. 609 27

Estes v. Texas (1965)

381 U.S. 532 18

Fred F. French Investing Co. v. City of New

York (1976)

39 N.Y.2d 587, 350 N.E.2d 381 26

Fresno v. California (1963)

372 U.S. 627 27

Gilliland v. City of Palmdale 1-3, 9

127 Cal.App.3d 386, 179 Cal.Rptr. 627 11, 13, 17

Gilliland v. County of Los Angeles 1-3, 9

126 Cal.App.3d 610, _.._ Cal. Rptr. 11, 17

Goldblatt v. Town of Hempstead (1962)

369 U.S. 590

—_— =

Gomez v. Toledo (1980)

446 U.S. 635

Griffin v. School Board (1964)

377 U.S. 218

Hamilton v. Conservation Comm’n

(Mass. App. 1981) 425 N.E.2d 358

Helix Corp. v. City of San Diego (1978)

82 Cal.App.3d 932, 147 Cal.Rptr. 683

Hermanson v. Board of County Comm’rs

(Colo. App. 1979) 595 P.2d 694

Hernandez v. City of Lafayette

(Sth Cir. 1981) 643 F.2d 1188 10, 20, 23-15

Hurley v. Kincaid (1932)

285 U.S. 95 27

Inmobiliaria Borinquen, Inc. v. Garcia San-

tiago

(D. Puerto Rico 1969) 295 F.Supp. 203 21

Jacobson v. Tahoe Reg. Plan. Comm.

(9th Cir. 1977) 566 F.2d 1353 23

Kaiser Aetna v. United States (1979)

444 U.S. 164 22

Keystone Associates v. State (1978)

45 N.Y.2d 894, 383 N.E.2d 560 26

20

26

ze 8 & & &

Kmiec v. Town of Spider Lake

(Wis. 1973) 211 N.W.2d 471

Kraft v. Malone

(N.D. 1981) 313 N.W.2d 758

Lake Country Estates v. Tahoe Reg. Plan.

Com. (1979)

440 U.S. 391 23-2°

Lerner v. Town of Islip

(E.D. N.Y. 1967) 272 F.Supp. 664 21

eit

Lomarch Corp. v. City of Englewood

(N.J. 1968) 237 A.2d 881

Lynch v. Household Finance Corp. (1972)

405 U.S. 538

M.J. Brock & Sons, Inc. v. City of Davis

(N.D. Cal. 1975) 401 F.Supp. 354

Mailman Dev. Corp. v. Hollywood

(Fla. App. 1973) 286 So.2d 614

Mondou v. New York, N. H. & H. Ry Co.

(1912)

223 U.S. 1

Monell v. Dept. of Social Services (1978)

436 U.S. 658

Monroe v. Pape (1961)

365 U.S. 167

Moore v. City of East Cleveland (1977)

431 U.S. 494

Moviematic Industries, Inc. v. Dade County

(Fla.App. 1977)349 So.2d 667

Owen v. City of Independence (1980)

445 U.S. 622

Penn. Central Transp. Co. v. City of New

York (1978)

438 U.S. 104

Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon (1922)

260 U.S. 393

Progress Dev. Corp. v. Mitchell

(7th Cir. 1961) 286 F.2d 222

Rasmussen v. City of Lake Forest

(N.D. Ill. 1975) 404 F.Supp. 148

Reitman v. Mulkey (1967)

387 U.S. 369

21

_xX—

San Diego Gas & Elec. Co. v. City of San

Diego (1981)

450 U.S. 621, 67 L.Ed.2d 551

Sanfilippo v. County of Santa Cruz

(N.D. Cal. 1976) 415 F.Supp. 1340

Santa Fe Land Imp. v. City of Chula Vista

(9th Cir. 1979) 596 F.2d 838

Sawyer v. United States

(M.D. Ga. 1956) 148 F.Supp. 877

Seattle School Dist. No. 1 v. State of Wash.

(9th Cir. 1980) 633 F.2d 1338

Sederquist v. City of Tuburon

(9th Cir. 1978) 590 F.2d 278

Shellburne, Inc. v. New Castle County

(D. Del. 1968) 293 F.Supp. 237

6th Camden Corp. v. Evesham Township

(D. N.J. 1976) 420 F.Supp. 709

State v. Superior Court (1974)

12 Cal.3d 237, 115 Cal.Rptr. 497, 524

P.2d 1281

Stevens v. County of Dutchess

(S.D. N.Y. 1977) 445 F.Supp. 89

Stone v. City of Los Angeles (1975)

51 Cal.App.3d 987, 124 Cal.Rptr. 822

Testa v. Katt (1947)

330 U.S. 386

Tiffany v. Sierra Sands Unified School

District (1980)

103 Cal.App.3d 218, 162 Cal.Rptr. 669

United States v. Causby (1946)

328 U.S. 256

United States v. Gerlach Live Stock Co.

(1950)

339 U.S. 725

7, 10-15

27

-_=

Ventures in Property I v. City of Wichita

(Kan. 1979)

594 P.2d 671

Village of Euciid v. Ambler Realty Co. (1926)

272 U.S. 365

Village of Willoughby Hills v. Corrigan

(Ohio 1972) 278 N.E.2d 658,

cert. den. sub nom.

Chongris v. Corrigan (1972)

409 U.S. 919 :

Wheeler v. City of Pleasant Grove

(Sth Cir. 19881) 664 F.2d 99

Wildwood Mink Ranch v. United States

(D. Minn. 1963) 218 F.Supp. 67

Statutes .

28 U.S.C. § i257(2)

42 U.S.C. § 1983

Texts

Ackerman, Private Property and tie Con-

stitution (1977)

Berger, To Regulate or Not to Regulate — Is

That The Question? Reflections on the Sup-

posed Dilemma Between Environmental Pro-

tection and Private Property Rights (1975)

Berwanger, Recent Developments in Judicial

Relief for Owners of Land Limited to Public

Open Space (1976)

Bonderman, Comment (May 1981) 33 Land

Use Law & Zoning Digest 10

Bosselman, Callies & Banta, The Taking Issue

(1973)

19

10

19

antiias

Hagman, Comment (May 1981) 33 Land Use

Law & Zoning Digest 5

Hagman, Larson & Martin, California Zon-

ing Practice [CEB 1969] § 6.26 at 215

Hagman & Misczynski, Windfalls for

Wipeouts (1978)

Kanner, Comment (May 1981) 33 Land Use

Law & Zoning Digest 8

Kanner, Inverse Condemnation Remedies in

an Era of Uncertainty (Southwestern Legal

Foundation 1980) 1980 Institute on Planning,

Zoning, and Eminent Domain 177

Michelman, Property, Utility, and Fairness:

Comments on the Ethical Foundations of Just

Compensation Law (1967) 80 Harv.L.Rev.

1165

Shedd, Inverse Condemnation: A Lingering

‘Juestion When Challenging Zoning Regula-

tions (1981) 17 Law Notes For the General

Practitioner 103

Tribe, American Constitution Law (1978) at

460

Van Alstyne, Taking or Damaging by Police

Power: The Search for Inverse Condemnation

Criteria (1970) 44 S.Cal.L.Rev. 1

3 Williams, American Land Planning Law

[1975] § 73.34 at 388

Willemsen & Phillips, Down-Zoning and Ex-

clusionary Zoning in California Law (1979) 31

Hastings L.J. 103

Rules

California Rules of Court

Rule 976

10

10

25

10

17

United States Supreme Court

Rule 10(6) 3

United States Constitution

Fifth Amendment 4, 5, 8, 15

Fourteenth Amendment 4, 5, 8, 15

No.

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1981

ROBERT J. GILLILAND, MARY P. FITZ,

JAMES S. GILLILAND, and FRANK M.

GILLILAND,

Petitioners,

vs.

CITY OF PALMDALE and COUNTY OF

LOS ANGELES,

Respondents.

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

THE OPINIONS BELOW

Two opinions were issued by the California Court of

Appeal in related cases. Gilliland v. City of Palmdale

(hereafter, the Palmdale case) was reported at 127

Cal.App.3d 386, 179 Cal.Rptr. 627. A copy is Appendix A.

The California Supreme Court, pursuant to its plenary super-

visory power over published case law (Rule 976, Calif. Rules

of Ct.), ordered the opinion deleted from the official reports

(see de-publication order, Appendix G). Gilliland v. County

of Los Angeles (hereafter, the County case) is reported at 126

Cal.App.3d 610, ___._ Cal.Rptr._._._ . A copy is Appendix

D.

JURISDICTION

This inverse condemnation appeal is brought by the owners

of 33.3 acres of vacant property located near the end of a run-

way at an Air Force base (called Plant 42) in Palmdale,

California.

adi»

Five acres are located within the City of Palmdale, while

the remaining 28.3 acres are located across the street in unin-

corporated territory under the planning and zoning jurisdic-

tion of the County of Los Angeles.

Separate actions were filed against Palmdale and the

County, alleging that the zoning actions of those entities had

deprived the property of any feasible, beneficial use, thus

taking the property without compensation in violation of the

Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the United States Con-

stitution. Palmdale and the County had stultified the use of

the property pursuant to an agreement with the United States

Air Force to maintain a clear zone at the end of Plant 42’s

runways.

The property owners sought compensation pursuant to the

United States Constitution and the Civil Rights Act (42

U.S.C. § 1983).

In the County case, the trial court sustained a general

demurrer to the complaint and dismissed the action (App J).

In the Palmdale case, the trial court granted a motion for

judgment on the pleadings 1/, concluding that no taking

could be alleged, and dismissed the action (App I).

On appeal, the California Court of Appeal, Second

District, Division One, affirmed both judgments, concluding

that no taking could be alleged. Additionally, the County

opinion states that no damages could be awarded even if a

taking were proved, in light of the California Supreme

Court’s decision in Agins v. Tiburon (1979) 24 Cal.3d 266,

157 Cal.Rptr. 372, 598 P.2d 25, aff'd on other grounds

(1980) 447 U.S. 255 (App D, p. 8). The Palmdale opinion, on

the other hand, states that Agins’ rejection of a damages

remedy ‘‘. .. flatly contradicts clear precedent of United

States Supreme Court cases .. .”’ (App A, p. 7), and con-

cludes that if a taking were present, compensation would be

appropriate.

1/ Under California law, a motion for judgment on the pleadings is the

functional equivalent of a general demurrer (e.g., Tiffany v. Sierra Sands

Unified School Dist. (1980) 103 Cal. App.3d 218, 222, 162 Cal.Rptr. 669).

fies

The Judgment of the Court of Appeal in the County case

was rendered November 25, 1981 (App D), and certified for

publication December 10, 1981 (App E). A timely Petition

for Rehearing was denied December 17, 1981 (App F).

The Judgment of the Court of Appeal in the Palmdale case

was rendered December 7, 1981 (App A), and certified for

publication January 6, 1982 (App B). A timely Petition for

Rehearing was denied January 6, 1982 (App C).

Timely Petitions for Hearing were filed in both cases in the

California Supreme Court. After extending its time to act,

the California Supreme Court denied the Petitions Feb-

ruary 10, 1982 (App G, H). At the same time, the Palmdale

opinion, which called attention to the conflict between the

California Supreme Court’s Agins opinion and this Court’s

decisions regarding inverse condemnation compensation, was

ordered ‘‘de-published’’ and removed from the official

reports (App G).

Timely Notices of Appeal to this Court were filed March 5,

1982 (App K, L).

Jurisdiction of this Court is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1257(2).

Cases sustaining this Court’s jurisdiction on appeal to

review state court judgments concerning regulatory takings

of private propesty without just compensation are: Penn

Central Transp. Co. v. City of New York (1978) 438 U.S.

104; Moore v. City of East Cleveland (1977) 431 U.S. 494;

Goldblatt v. Town of Hempstead (1962) 369 U.S. 590;

Village of Euclid v. Ambler Realty Co. (1926) 272 U.S. 365;

and Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon (1922) 260 U.S. 393.

This single jurisdictional statement is filed pursuant to

Rule 10(6), Rules of the United States Supreme Court.

SUGGESTION THAT CONSIDERATION OF

THIS APPEAL BE JOINED WITH THE PETI-

TIGN FOR CERTIORARI IN GILLILAND v.

UNITED STATES, NO. 81-1242.

As noted above, the reason for Palmdale and the County

denying the property owners the ability to use their land was

—_

to preserve it for a clear zone for Air Force Plant 42. At the

hearing on the zone change, the Air Force representatives

convinced Palmdale and the County that use ought to be

denied because of the large number of noisy and dangerous

flights over the subject property. (The representations are

reproduced in Appendix A to the Petition in No. 81-1242, pp.

12-15.)

It was not possible to sue Palmdale, the County and the Air

Force in the same court, as the Air Force could be sued only

in the United States Court of Claims, while Palmdale and the

County could not be sued there.

THIS COURT NOW HAS THE FIRST JUDICIAL OP-

PORTUNITY TO EXAMINE THE EFFECTS OF THE IN-

TERACTION OF ALL THREE GOVERNMEN1 AGEN-

CIES ON THE SUBJECT PROPERTY. The Gillilands and

Mrs. Fitz respectfully ask that the cooperative governmental

efforts which rendered the property useless be examined

together.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Fifth Amendment, United States Constitution:

. nor shall private property be taken for public

use, without just compensation.’’

Fourteenth Amendment, United States Constitution:

“SECTION 1. . nor shall any State deprive

any person of life, liberty, or property, without due

process of law; .

The pertinent County endionnes is reproduced in Appendix

N, and the City ordinance in Appendix M.

RAISING THE FEDERAL QUESTION

The complaints in both cases alleged a taking of the subject

property for public use without compensation, thus depriving

the Gillilands and Mrs. Fitz of their property without com-

pensation and without due process of law, in violation of the

==

Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments. The federal constitu-

tional question was thus raised at the earliest possible time,

and reiterated in every brief filed in the trial court and on

appeal.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This appeal arises from the California Court of Appeal’s

affirmance of the dismissal of the property owners’ inverse

condemnation and declaratory relief actions. Thus, the facts

come from the complaints which, for purposes of review, are

taken as true and are liberally construed under both Federal

and California law. 2/

The Gillilands and Mrs. Fitz own 33.3 acres of vacant pro-

perty in the County of Los Angeles at the main entrance to

the Lockheed facility, adjacent to Air Force Plant 42. Five

acres are located in the City of Palmdale, while the remaining

28.3 acres are across the street, in unincorporated territory

subject to the jurisdiction of the County. Air Force Plant 42

is an airport with manufacturing conducted on the premises

by defense contractors. Plant 42 has approximately 3,900

employees. The Lockheed facility at Plant 42 is reputed to

have the largest building ever constructed in California. It

houses 6,000 to 12,000 employees, depending on what pro-

jects are being pursued. The B-1 bomber will be built at Plant

42.

The property is beneath the approach path for Runway 4

and departure path for Runway 22 of Plant 42’s airport. 3/

The owners purchased their property in 1965 and 1967, as

an investment for future use. Since that time, at the request

of the City of Palmdale, the owners have granted easements

to the County and Palmdale to permit the urban, commercial

2/ See Conley v. Gibson (1957) 355 U.S. 41, 47-48; Stevens v. County of

Dutchess (S.D. N.Y. 1977) 445 F.Supp 89, 91; Commercial Standard Ins.

Co. v. Bank of America (1976) 57 Cal.App.3d 241, 129 Cal.Rptr. 91.

3/ All runways have two numerical (compass-oriented) designations.

Thus, if an aircraft departs Plant 42 to the southwest, it is said that Runway

22 is being used. An aircraft landing from the southwest is said to be using

Runway 4. It is the same strip of concrete. The number reveals the direction

of use on the compass (220° and 40°).

—6—

development taking place in the area surrounding the pro-

perty.

The subject property is zoned agricultural (A 2-5), a zone

used by Palmdale and the County at the time of the

property’s purchase as a “‘holding zone.’’ A holding zone is

one which permits virtually no use. Palmdale and the County

restrict use of holding zone land until the area is ripe for

development and Palmdale or the County are satisfied with a

specific plan for its use, at which time a zone change is

enacted to permit the use.

Holding zones are a familiar tool of land planners. For

example, the California continuing education zoning text

notes:

**Hold zoning is usually used in areas in which the

market has as yet caused little development, the

community is not certain what uses eventually to

permit in the area, and it is not planning on making

that decision in the near future. The area may not

be zoned at all, and as a consequence, uses may

appear that would be incompatible with present or

future development. In order to control possible

incompatible uses, the land is zoned, typically for

very unintensive uses, and all other uses are subject

to conditional use permit treatment . . . For exam-

ple, the area may be zoned agricultural, not

because that is planned as a permanent use, but

because that is a convenient and often available

category of unintensive use.’’ (Hagman, Larson &

Martin, California Zoning Practice [CEB 1969]

§ 6.26 at 215-216; emphasis added.)

In his nationally utilized treatise, Professor Williams sum-

marizes the case law on holding zones as follows:

**In these cases, the existence of a holding zone,

designed to delay development for one reason or

another, has been noted in passing, as if it were one

of the more familiar legal devices, and with no sug-

gestion that any serious legal problem is presented.

In some of these cases, a holding zone has been

—

established on the theory that no one could tell

what the future land use was going to be; and so a

large reservoir of vacant land has been put into a

zone where the regulations would tend to

discourage development — but with the under-

standing that, when conditions were right for

development, the land could be transferred into

another and perhaps quite different zone.”’ (3

Williams, American Land Planning Law [1975] §

73.34 at 388; emphasis added.)

**Another group of decisions — some brought

by neighbors and some by developers — has also

involved rezonings for less restrictive use, and has

been met with the casual comment that in any event

the previous zone was merely a holding zone, and

not intended to be taken too seriously.”’ (3

Williams, § 73.34 at 390; emphasis added.)

Indeed, this Court seems no stranger to holding zones, as

the ordinance examined in San Diego Gas & Elec. Co. v. City

of San Diego (1981) 450 U.S. 621, 67 L.Ed.2d 551, was said

to possess ‘‘... an agricultural ‘holding’ category.’’ (450

U.S. at ___, 67 L.Ed.2d at 555.)

In other words, the A 2-5 zone was not placed on the sub-

ject property because the A 2-5 uses were appropriate, but

because they were not, That way the property could be kept

unused until Palmdale and the County approved a specific

rezoning plan.

In 1973, conditions in the general vicinity had made the

subject property ripe for development and the owners applied

for a change from their agricultural/holding zone to a com-

mercial planned development zone.

The property surrounding the area of the subject property

is zoned either M 1-1/2 or M 2-1/2, allowing various kinds of

manufacturing and commercial uses.

In April 1973, the County Board of Supervisors denied the

application as to the 28.3 acres in its jurisdiction.

In May 1973, the Palmdale City Council denied the appli-

cation for the 5 acres in its jurisdiction, rejecting the

athens

Palmdale Planning Commission’s unanimous recommenda-

tion to grant the zone change.

The Air Force mobilized opposition to the owners’ applica-

tions among the defense contractors at Air Force Plant 42,

and convinced Palmdale and the County to keep the property

useless because of its proximity to Air Force Piant 42.

The action of Palmdale and the County was in furtherance

of an agreement with the Air Force that property within one

mile of Plant 42, like the subject property, would be used as

the Air Force wished.

The land remaining in the A 2-5 zone, which includes the

subject property, forms a clear zone at the end of one of

Plant 42’s runways. The Air Force desired that clear zone and

Palmdale and the County provided it.

Thus, by their actions in 1973, Palmdale and the County de

facto changed the zoning of the subject property from

holding to agricultural. It was not a mere refusal to rezone.

Rather, it was an announcement that the property would no

longer be considered as holding zone property. Because it was

at the end of the airport runway, the property would

thereafter be treated as though it were really zoned for

agriculture, for which it is incapable of being used.

Palmdale and the County, by enforcing their agreement to

provide the Air Force with a clear zone, have destroyed the

value of the subject property. 4/

The owners believe that the actions of Palmdale and the

County have taken their property for public use without com-

pensation, in violation of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amend-

ments to the United States Constitution and the Civil Rights

Act (42 U.S.C. § 1983).

The owners acknowledged below that California law pro-

vides no adequate remedy at law under these circumstances

(citing Agins), and prayed for redress under federal law.

4/ It bears note that, while Palmdale and the County insist on maintain-

ing this property as vacant land for an Air Force clear zone, the County’s

Assessor values — and taxes — the property for its highest and best use,

commercial or industrial development. The County Assessor understands

that the holding zone’s agricultural designation was not intended as a real

indicator of the property’s potential use.

din

Palmdale’s motion for judgment on the pleadings ignored

federal law, and sought dismissal on the basis of Agins. The

County’s demurrer did likewise.

The trial court dismissed both actions (App I, J).

In the County case, the Court of Appeal likewise followed

Agins. That court refused to apply a damages remedy to a

federal Civil Rights Act case (App D, p. 8).

In the Palmdale case, a different panel of the Court of

Appeal declined to follow Agins on the remedy issue,

recognizing that this Court’s interpretation of the United

States Constitution must take precedence over contrary inter-

pretations of the California Supreme Court (App A, p. 8). In

both cases, however the Court of Appeal misconstrued the

actions of Palmdale and the County in changing the use of

the A 2-5 zoning in such a way that the property was de facto

down-zoned from a holding zone with developmental poten-

tial to an agricultural zone with no value or use. The Court of

Appeal, instead, dealt only with the facial constitutionality of

the zoning, rather than the constitutionality of the zoning as

applied, which was the gravamen of the owners’ cause of

action (see, e.g., App A, p. 2; App D, p. 13). 5/

5/ The Court of Appeal ignored the complaint’s allegation that the

agricultural zoning rendered the property valueless, and relied on the word-

ing of the zoning ordinance which theoretically permitted some use. But

this is a pleading case. If permitted to go to trial, it could be proved that the

theoretically permitted uses are a sham. For example, the following poten-

tial uses (noted at App A p. 2) are unrealistic — rendering the property not

economically viable — because of the high noise levels and danger from air-

craft crashes: one-family dwellings; animal hospitals, schools and kennels

and veterinary offices; youth camps and other campgrounds; auction

grounds; stock breeding and yards; riding academies and stables. The

adverse impact of aircraft noise on animals is legendary (see, e.g., United

States v. Causby [1946] 328 U.S. 256, [chickens]; Wildwood Mink Ranch v.

United States ([D. Minn. 1963] 218 F.Supp 67 [mink]; Sawyer v. United

States {M.D. Ga. 1956] 148 F.Supp 877 [mule]; Dahlstrom v. United States

[8th Cir. 1956] 228 F.2d 819 [horses}). As for agricultural uses, another

court has noted the unsuitability of this area for agriculture. (Stone v. City

of Los Angeles (1975) 51 Cal.App.3d 987, 992, 124 Cal.Rptr. 822) In any

event, it seems abusive of discretion not to permit leave to amend to so

plead if such factual detail is felt to be needed.

—10—

The California Supreme Court denied hearings in both

cases (App G, H).

In doing so, it sent a clear message to this Court: the

message is that the California Supreme Court has no inten-

tion of conforming with this Court’s interpretation of the

United States Constitution until directly ordered to do so.

Please recall that following Avins, this Court considered

San Diego Gas & Elec. Co. v. City of San Diego (1981) 450

U.S. 621 (hereafter San Diego G & E). Though a majority of

this Court believed the judgment was not final and the appeal

was therefore dismissed, Justice Brennan authored a four-

Justice dissenting opinion on the merits, with which one of

the majority (Justice Rehnquist) indicated agreement, and

with which the lead opinion did not differ. The dissenting

opinion has been widely read by lower courts 6/ and com-

mentators 7/ as expressing this Court’s view of the merits

and indicating the proper result (i.e. compensation) if a case

were brought here in an appropriate procedural posture.

Given this Court’s broad hint in San Diego G & E, one

might have expected the California Supreme Court to take

this opportunity to re-examine its Agins conclusion. After all,

it had not only San Diego G & E for assistance, but the direct

criticism of the New Hampshire Supreme Court and the

analysis of the California Court of Appeal in the Palmdale

case. The New Hampshire Supreme Court bluntly and

unanimously concluded:

**We reject [the Agins] approach out of hand. It

is contrary to our well-established law, which goes

back at least as far as .. . [1872]. It is also, we

6/ E.g., Burrows v. City of Keene (N.H. 1981) 432 A.2d 15, 20; Devines

v. Maier (7th Cir. 1981) 665 F.2d 138, 142; Hernandez v. City of Lafayette

(Sth Cir. 1981) 643 F.2d 1188, 1198-1200; see Gilliland v. City of Palmdale

(1981) 127 Cal.App.3d 386, 392-393, 179 Cal.Rptr. 627, 631.

7/ E.g., Hagman, Comment (May 1981) 33 Land Use Law & Zoning

Digest 5; Kanner, Comment (May 1981) 32 Land Use Law & Zoning Digest

8, 9; Bonderman, Comment (May 1981) 33 Land Use Law & Zoning Digest

10; Shedd, Inverse Condemnation: A Lingering Question When Challeng-

ing Zoning Regulations (1981) 17 Law Notes For the General Practitioner

103, 109.

etiu

believe, in violation of the Constitution of the

United States. See [San Diego G & E) (Brennan, J.,

dissenting and Rehnquist, J., concurring).”’ (Bur-

rows v. City of Keene [N.H. 1981] 432 A.2d 15,

20.)

And the Palmdale opinion candidly acknowledged that,

“‘California’s position {in Agins] flatly contradicts clear

precedent of United States Supreme Court cases . . .”” (127

Cal.App.3d at 392-393, 179 Cal.Rptr. at 631, App A, p. 7.)

After extending its time to consider these cases, the

California Supreme Court apparently decided to thumb its

nose at this Court. While refusing to hear either case, it

ordered the forthrightly critical Palmdale opinion deleted

from the published reports (App G), while leaving the County

opinion as published precedent. Please recall that the County

opinion concludes that Agins bars the recovery of damages in

a land use case brought under the federal Civil Rights Act (42

U.S.C. § 1983) and prosecuted in California courts (App D,

p. 8). This, in spite of the explicit holding of this Court in

Owen v. City of Independence (1980) 445 U.S. 622, 650-651,

that:

**A damages remedy against the offending party

{in a Civil Rights Act case] is a vital component of

any scheme for vindicating cherished constitutional

guarantees, .. .”’

Thus, by its actions in these cases, the California Supreme

Court has reaffirmed its intent to defy this Court’s interpreta-

tion of the United States Constitution. By itself, that shows a

need for this Court’s intervention.

THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED ARE SUBSTANTIAL.

INTRODUCTION

**After all, if a policeman must know the constitu-

tion, then why not a planner?’’ 8/

That common-sense statement by Justice Brennan in San

Diego G & E, apparently expressing the views of at least five

members of this Court, is at the heart of this case. For years,

8/ San Diego G & E, 450 U.S. at 661, fn. 26 (Brennan J., dissenting).

aiticn

the judiciary has protected the constitutional rights of those

suspected of crime by insisting that the police know and obey

the Constitution. Failure of the police to ‘*. . . know the

Constitution .. .”’ can result in awards of damages (e.g.,

Monroe v. Pape [1961] 365 U.S. 167). 9/ In San Diego

G & E, this Court was seen as serving notice that a// govern-

ment employees must ‘‘. . . know the Constitution . . .’” or

face the consequences of their ignorance. 10/ Property

owners deserve no less protection of their Fourteenth

Amendment rights than that afforded accused criminals.

The California courts, however, have failed to heed this

Court’s message. As demonstrated by the decisions below,

the California courts have:

@ created their own interpretation of the

Just Compensation Clause, in preference

to (and in contradiction of) this Court’s

interpretation;

@ used their erroneous constitutional inter-

pretation to reject a damages remedy

under the Civil Rights Act, in contradic-

tion of this Court’s holdings;

@ refused to consider the impact of uncon-

stitutional municipal motivation, in con-

tradiction of this Court’s holdings; and

@ invoked stringent pleading rules to avoid

determining these cases on the merits, in

contradiction of this Court’s holdings.

The issues involved on this appeal have aroused national

interest for at least a decade. The lack of direct guidance

from this Court has permitted California to defy the plain

import of consistent federal law. There is now a sufficient

**track record’’ to know that California’s courts will continue

that defiance without a distinct message from this Court.

9/ Monroe held the individual police officers liable, but immunized the

City. Seventeen years later, in Monell v. Dept.of Social Services (1978) 436

U.S. 658, cities were subjected to Civil Rights Act liability.

10/ See notes 6-7 and accompanying text.

—

Such defiance, when successful, is not ignored by other

courts. When other states see California’s tactic succeed, they

will be tempted to emulate it when the occasion arises.

CALIFORNIA HAS CHOSEN TO DEFY THIS

COURT’S INTERPRETATION OF THE

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION.

The headline may seem star‘tling. It is nonetheless true.

The California Supreme Court’s explication of the law

governing takings conflicts sharply with this Court’s inter-

pretation of the Constitution. 11/ A comparison of the

California Supreme Court’s decision in Agins with Justice

Brennan’s opinion in San Diego G & E clearly demonstrates

the conflict:

Agins

*“‘We review the avail-

ability of inverse condem-

nation as a land owner’s

remedy when a public agen-

cy has adopted a zoning or-

dinance which substantially

limits use of his property.

We will conclude that

although a land-owner so

aggrieved may challenge

both the constitutionality of

the ordinance and the man-

ner in which it is applied to

his property by seeking to

establish the invalidity of

the ordinance either

through the remedy of

San Diego G & E

‘‘Invalidation unaccom-

panied by payment of

damages would hardly com-

pensate the land owner for

any economic loss suffered

during the time his property

was taken.

**Moreover, mere in-

validation would fall far

short of fulfilling the fun-

damental purpose of the

Just Compensation Clause.

That guarantee was design-

ed to bar the government

from forcing some in-

dividuals to bear burdens

which, in all fairness,

1!/ As the Court of Appeal in the Palmdale case candidly expressed it,

“California’s position [in Agins] flatly contradicts clear precedent of

United States Supreme Court cases.”’ (App A, p. 7) Of course, the price of

such candor was a depublication order from the California Supreme Court

(App G).

ititinn

Agins

declaratory relief or man-

damus, he may not recover

damages on the theory of

inverse condemnation.’’ (24

Cal.3d at 269-270, 598 P.2d

at 26, 157 Cal.Rptr. at 373.)

‘‘In combination, the

need for preserving a degree

of freedom in the land-use

planning function, and the

inhibiting financial force

which inheres in the inverse

condemnation remedy, per-

suade us that on balance

mandamus or declaratory

relief rather than inverse

condemnation is the ap-

propriate relief under the

circumstances.’’ (24 Cal.3d

at 276-277, 598 P.2d at 31,

157 Cal.Rptr. at 378.)

“We are persuaded by

various policy considera-

tions to the view that in-

verse condemnation is an

inappropriate and

undesirable remedy in cases

in which unconstitutional

regulation is alleged.’’ (24

Cal.3d at 275, 598 P.2d at

29, 157 Cal.Rptr. at 376.)

San Diego G & E

should be borne by the

public as a whole. [Cita-

tions.]’’ (450 U.S. at 656.)

**But the applicability of

express constitutional

guarantees is not a matter to

be determined on the basis

of policy judgments made

by the legislative, executive,

or judicial branches. Nor

can the vindication of those

rights depend on the ex-

pense in doing so. [Cita-

tion.]’’ (450 U.S. at

660-661.)

“The only constitutional

requirement is that the lan-

downer must be able mean-

ingfully to challenge a

regulation that allegedly ef-

fects a taking, and recover

just compensation if it does

so.’ (450 U.S. at 660.)

— =

Thus, the difference between California’s interpretation

and this Court’s interpretation is that this Court has called

for enforcement of the Fourteenth Amendment’s incorpora-

tion of the Fifth Amendment in land use cases where there is

substantial impairment of value. The lower federal courts

have followed this Court’s lead (see pp. 20-21 herein). The

California Supreme Court’s decision in Agins, on the other

hand, ignores the Fourteenth Amendment in cases viewed as

**regulation’’ cases, even when all value is destroyed. In other

words, Agins ignores that which Justice Brennan’s opinion in

San Diego G & E concluded was fundamental (450 U.S. at

660):

**The only constitutional requirement is that the

landowner must be able meaningfully to challenge

a regulation that allegedly effects a taking, and

recover just compensation if it does so.’’ (Em-

phasis added.)

The importance of compensation in constitutional cases

was emphasized by this Court in Owen v. City of Inde-

pendence (1980) 445 U.S. 622, 650-651:

**The central aim of the Civil Rights Act was to

provide protection to those persons wronged by the

***[mjisuse of power, possessed by virtue of state

law and made possible only because the wrongdoer

is clothed with the authority of state law.’’’

***s

**A damages remedy against the offending party is

a vital component of any scheme for vindicating

cherished constitutional guarantees, and the

importance of assuring its efficacy is only accen-

tuated when the wrongdoer is the institution that

has been established to protect the very rights it has

transgressed.’’ (Emphasis added.)

In its recent decision in Burrows v. City of Keene (1981)

432 A.2d 15, a unanimous New Hampshire Supreme Court

(speaking through Chief Justice Grimes) compared Agins and

San Diego G & E and found the Agins analysis logically,

morally and constitutionally wanting:

—16—

**We are aware of cases such as Agins v. Tiburon,

24 Cal.3d 266, 157 Cal.Rptr. 372, 598 P.2d 25

(1979), aff’d on other grounds 447 U.S. 255, 100

S.Ct. 2138, 65 L.Ed.2d 106 (1980), which hold that

a landowner who is the victim of an excessive use

of the police power may not recover damages for

inverse condemnation but must be satisfied with

the remedies of mandamus or declaratory judg-

ment to invalidate the regulation.

**We reject this approach out of hand. It is con-

trary to our well-established law, which goes back

at least as far as Eaton v. B. C. & M. R. R., 51

N.H. 504 (1872). Jt is also, we believe, in violation

of the Constitution of the United States. Seé San

Diego Gas & Elec. Co. v. City of San Diego, 101

S.Ct. at 1294, 1301-08 (Brennan, J., dissenting and

Rehnquist, J., concurring). We agree with Justice

Brennan that it is always open to the governmental

entity involved to rescind or repeal the offending

regulation and thus avoid payment of damages for

inverse condemnation from that point on. /d.

Limiting the landowner to actions which only in-

validate the offending regulation will encourage

municipal planners and other public officials to at-

tempt to throw the burdens accompanying ‘pro-

gress’ upon individual landowners rather than on

the public at large. The allowance of damages for

inverse condemnation during the period of the tak-

ing, however, should encourage such officials to

stay well on the constitutional side of the line, San

Diego Gas & Elec. Co. v. City of San Diego, supra

at 1308 n. 26 (Brennan, J., dissenting), and should

also discourage harassment of property owners by

repeated amendments of zoning regulations and

the enactment of new ones. See id. at 1305-06 n.

22.

**As we have said before, public officials have a

duty to obey the constitution, and they have no

= =

right or legitimate reason to attempt to spare the

public the cost of improving the public condition

by thrusting that expense upon an individual.

[Citations]’’ (Burrows, 432 A.2d at 20; emphasis

added.)

An interesting analysis of Agins appears in Willemsen &

Phillips, Down-Zoning and Exclusionary Zoning in Califor-

nia Law (1979) 31 Hastings L.J. 103. Its insights are intrigu-

ing because one of its authors is identified as a career research

attorney (since 1969) for the California Supreme Court.

Appearing in print six months after the California Supreme

Court decided Agins, it may reveal some of the thinking of

those inside that court.

Willemsen and Phillips open by noting understatedly that:

**. . . California law has taken a unique course,

rendering decisions of other jurisdictions of little

relevance to the California practitioner.’’ (31

Hastings L.J. at 104.)

Later in the article, it is revealed that one of those ‘‘. . .

other jurisdictions . . .”’ whose decisions are deemed “*. . . of

little relevance . . .’’ is the federal judicial system:

**In rejecting the remedy of damages for inverse

condemnation, California courts have charted a

unique course. Their decisions, although resting on

principles of fiscal policy and flexibility in plan-

ning, put California at odds with some of the

federal courts, particularly the Northern District of

California. Conseqrently landowners are likely to

file future inverse cc . ‘emnation actions in federal

instead of state cou .s, thus forcing the federal

courts to face the question of whether to follow

HFH and Agins |{i.e., California law] or to adhere

to federal precedents.’’ (31 Hastings L.J. at 121;

footnotes omitted; emphasis added.)

The concept of ‘‘choosing’’ between precedents of the

California Supreme Court and the federal courts on issues of

federal constitutional law (as though this court and the lower

federal courts were some sort of ‘‘foreign’’ jurisdiction)

likewise appears in the County opinion at bench. There,

antiins

recall, the Court of Appeal chose to apply the California

Agins interpretation of the United States Constitution,

holding that a damages remedy could not be applied by a

California court in a federal Civil Rights Act case (App D,

p. 8). 12/

One would have thought the issue settled no later than

Appomattox.

California’s position is anathema to this Court’s consistent

holdings. For example, in Testa v. Katt (1947) 330 U.S. 386,

this Court reviewed the subject and concluded:

‘(Claflin v. Houseman (1876) 93 U.S. 130]

repudiated the assumption that federal laws can be

considered by the states as though they were laws

emanating from a foreign sovereign. Its teaching is

that the Constitution and the laws passed pursuant

to it are the supreme laws of the land, binding alike

upon states, courts, and the people, ‘anything in

the Constitution or Laws of any State to the con-

trary notwithstanding.’ ... /TJhe obligation of

states to enforce these federal laws is not lessened

by reason of the form in which they are cast or the

remedy which they provide.”’ (330 U.S. at 390-391;

emphasis added; footnote omitted.)

Likewise, in the Second Employers’ Liability Cases (Mon-

dou v. New York, N. H. & H. Ry Co. [1912] 223 U.S. 1), this

Court dismissed the concept that state courts could decline to

enforce a federal statute which did not suit the policies of the

state:

**The suggestion that the act of Congress is not

in harmony with the policy of the State, and

therefore that the courts of the State are free to

decline jurisdiction, is quite inadmissible, because

it presupposes what in legal contemplation does

not exist. When Congress, in the exertion of the

12/ California’s position is reminiscent of the famous ‘‘speech’’ by the

trial judge in Estes v. Texas (1965) 38! U.S. 532 (quoted in the Chief

Justice’s concurring opinion, 381 U.S. at 566) in which he proclaimed that

his oath was to uphold the state constitution, rather than the federal.

= =

power confided to it by the Constitution, adopted

that act, it spoke for all the people and all the

States, and thereby established a policy for all.

That policy is as much the policy of Connecticut as

if the act had emanated from its own legislature,

and should be respected accordingly in the courts

of the State.’’ (223 U.S. at 57; emphasis added.)

Mondou’s reasoning is no less applicable when Constitu-

tional rights are at stake.

Plainly, California has set its courts on a collision course

with this Court’s established precedents. In the words of

Willemsen and Phillips:

**. . . California law has taken a unique course,

rendering decisions of other jurisdictions of little

relevance to the California practitioner.” (31

Hastings L.J. at 104.)

It is recognized that there is a view on this Court that state

judges ‘‘. . . are as capable as are federal judges of enforcing

the Constitution of the United States, and have taken the

same oath todoso.. .”’ (E.g., Brockett v. Spokane Arcades,

Inc. [1981] ____._ U.S. ___, ___, 70 L.Ed.2d 468 [the Chief

Justice, joined by Justices Powell and Rehnquist, dissenting

from a summary affirmance].) Nonetheless, it is now clear

that the California judiciary refuses to enforce the Constitu-

tion in conformity with this Court’s precedents. A quick end

to California’s ‘‘unique’’ unconstitutional foray is deserved.

THIS COURT’S ATTENTION IS NEEDED TO

END THE NATIONAL ANARCHY ON “THE

TAKING ISSUE.”

The problem at bench goes beyond California. A national

debate, which has simmered hotly for more than a decade,

has gone past the boiling point. There has been no lack of

either scholarly discourse or judicial decisionmaking on the

extent to which a government agency may “‘regulate’’ proper-

ty before it crosses the line and ‘‘takes’’ the property. 13/

13/ E.g., Ackerman, Private Property and the Constitution (1977);

Bosselman, Callies & Banta, The Taking Issue (1973); Hagman &

(continued)

—20—

But in attempting to apply the federal constitutional pro-

hibition against taking property without compensation, the

state courts have reached results so widely divergent as to be

called anarchic. Citizens of the several states are subjected to

disparate interpretations of the same federal constitutional

right.

For example, New Jersey has held that even a one year

freeze on land use requires the purchase of a one year option

to purchase the property (Lomarch Corp. v. City of

Englewood [N.J. 1968] 237 A.2d 881), while California finds

an uncompensated five year moratorium constitutionally per-

missible (State v. Superior Court [1974] 12 Cal.3d 237, 115

Cal.Rptr. 497, 524 P.2d 1281).

And Wisconsin has held that zoning agricuiurally

unusable land as agricultural is unconstitutional (Kmiec v.

Town of Spider Lake (Wis. 1973] 211 N.W.2d 471), while

California finds it acceptable (Helix Corp. v. City of San

Diego [1978] 82 Cal.App.3d 932, 147 Cal.Rptr. 683; see also

the cases at bench).

The lower federal courts, on the other hand, have been

generally consistent in concluding that the oppressive use of

the planning, zoning or police powers can be a violation of

the Civil Rights Act and the United States Constitution, re-

quiring compensation. See e.g. :

Wheeler v. City of Pleasant Grove (Sth Cir. 1981)

664 F.2d 99;

Hernandez v. City of LaFayette (Sth Cir. 1981) 643

F.2d 1188;

Devines v. Maier (7th Cir. 1981) 665 F.2d 138;

Dahli v. City of Palo Alto (N.D. Cal. 1974) 372

F.Supp 647;

13/ (continued) Misczynski, Windfalls For Wipeouts (1978); Michelman,

Property, Utility, and Fairness: Comments on the Ethical Foundations of

Just Compensation Law (1967) 80 Harv.L.Rev. 1165; Van Alstyne, Taking

or Damaging by Police Power: The Search for Inverse Condemnation

Criteria (1970) 44 S.Cal.L.Rev. 1; Berger, To Regulate or Not to Regulate

— Is That The Question? Reflections on the Supposed Dilemma Between

Environmental Protection and Private Property Rights (1975) 8

Loy.L.A.L.Rev. 253 [the author is counsel to the Appellants herein}.

— =

Arastra Limited Partnership v. City of Palo Alto

(N.D. Cal. 1975) 401 F.Supp 962 14/;

Cordeco Dev. Corp. v. Vazquez (D. Puerto Rico

1972) 354 F.Supp 1355;

Inmobiliaria Borinquen, Inc. v. Garcia Santiago

(D. Puerto Rico 1969) 295 F.Supp 203;

Shellburne, Inc. v. New Castle County (D. Del.

1968) 293 F.Supp 237, 245;

Sanfilippo v. County of Santa Cruz (N.D. Cal.

1976) 415 F.Supp 1340;

6th Camden Corp. v. Evesham Township (D. N.J.

1976) 420 F.Supp 709;

M. J. Brock & Sons, Inc. v. City of Davis (N.D.

Cal. 1975) 401 F.Supp 354;

Rasmussen v. City of Lake Forest (N.D. Ill. 1975)

404 F.Supp 148;

Lerner v. Town of Islip (E.D. N.Y. 1967) 272

F.Supp 664.

The facts which were held by the lower federal courts to

state causes of action in these cases ranged from large-lot

zoning 15/ (Dahl; Sanfilippo; Rasmussen; Lerner), to

freezes on development (/nmobiliaria; M. J. Brock), to

down-zoning (Shellburne); to open space zoning (Arastra), to

denial of permits or rezoning (Hernandez; Cordeco; Sanfilip-

po; 6th Camden).

The California Supreme Court’s unwillingness to provide

this remedy has led lawyers to file cases involving

unreasonable land use restrictions in United States District

“ourts. That has added an increment of litigation to already

over-burdened District Courts in California.

But some federal courts have felt constrained by this

Court’s view of the abstention doctrine to avoid dealing with

14/ As part of a settlement by which the City paid the property owners

$7,500,000, this opinion was later vacated (417 F Supp 1125). (See Ber-

wanger, Recent Developments in Judicial Relief for Owners of Land

Limited to Public Open Space (1976) 52 L.A. Bar Jour. 196, 197, fn. 4.)

1S/ .e., requiring lots so large that development is not economically

feasible.

aafiinn

land use controversies, 16/ thus relegating the parties to the

uncertain vicissitudes of the state courts. Both systems get

burdened. Land owners are mistreated. And the process of

the law gets deserved criticism.

It is time for more uniform treatment.

In his insightful constitutional law text, Professor Tribe

may have provided an apt beginning in determining what

constitutes a taking:

**Thus a clear case is one that intuitively seems like

a taking in the layman’s sense of that term: a

physical takeover of a distinct entity, with an

accompanying transfer of the legal powers of en-

joyment and exclusion that are typically associated

with rights of property. Moreover, forcing some-

one to stop doing things with his property — telling

him ‘you can keep it, but you can’t use it’ — is in-

distinguishable, in ordinary terms, from grabbing

it and handing it over to someone else. Thus a ‘tak-

ing’ occurs in this ordinary sense when government

controls a person’s use of property so tightly that,

although some uses remain to the owner, the pro-

perty’s value has been virtually destroyed.’ (Tribe,

American Constitutional Law [1978] at 460; em-

phasis added; footnotes omitted.)

Professor Tribe’s description dovetails with this Court’s

earlier comments on takings. (E.g., San Diego G & E, 450

U.S. at ___, 67 L.Ed.2d at 571; Kaiser Aetna v. United

States [1979] 444 U.S. 164, 175; Andrus v. Allard [1979] 444

U.S. 51, 65; Penn Central Transp. Co. v. City of New York

[1978] 438 U.S. 104, 123-124; Agins v. City of Tiburon [1980]

447 U.S. 255, 261, 263.)

Likewise, the simplicity of such a formulation — which

examines the reality of the impact on the property owner —

makes for simplicity in pleading. This also conforms to this

Court’s feelings about Civil Rights Act pleading in particular

16/ E.g., Santa Fe Land Imp. v. City of Chula Vista (%h Cir. 1979) $96

F.2d 838; Sederquist v. City of Tuburon (9th Cir. 1978) $90 F.2d 278.

afin

(Gomez v. Toledo [1980] 446 U.S. 635, 640), and civil

pleading in general (Conley v. Gibson [1957] 355 U.S. 41,

47-48).

On the other hand, the California treatment is exemplified

by the Palmdale opinion which based its dismissal of the

owners’ case on the following quibble:

**Plaintiff claims that the refusal to rezone his

land for commercial development denies him the

‘beneficial’ and ‘only economically feasible’ use of

his land. The legal question, however, is whether it

denies him ‘economically viable use’ [citation]

.,.”” (App A, p. 12; emphasis added.)

With all respect, it is difficult to either understand or ex-

plain the supposed difference between what the complaint

alleges (no ‘‘economically feasible use’’) and what California

says must be alleged (no ‘‘economically viable use’’). Cer-

tainly, if ‘‘viable’’ is the magic word which accomplishes

what ‘“‘feasible’’ does not, it was an abuse of discretion to

deny leave to amend. !7/ The clear intent of the complaint

was to allege that the City’s actions deprived the owners of

the ability to make any use of the property. To end this Civil

Rights case on such quibbling construction seems unworthy.

In land use cases under the Civil Rights Act, this Court and

the lower federal courts have required neither the detail nor

the precision imposed on the owners by the California courts.

For example, in Lake Country Estates v. Tahoe Reg. Plan.

Com. (1979) 440 U.S. 391, the allegations were sparse. (The

allegations may be found in the Court of Appeals’ opinion

sub nom. Jacobson v. Tahoe Reg. Plan. Com. [9h Cir. 1977]

566 F.2d 1353.) The property owners alleged only that the

17/ It may be worth noting that the author of the Court of Appeal’s opin-

ion appears to have used “‘feasible’’ and ‘‘viable’’ interchangeably. See

App A, p. 11, where the plaintiff in the 6th Camden case was said to have

stated a cause of action because the land ‘‘. . . could not feasibly be used

...”*, and where the plaintiff in the Hernandez case was said to have stated

a cause of action because the land ‘*. . . was not feasible for the use permit-

ted . . .””. What happened to the irreplaceable allegation of no viable use?

Why is «ppropriate for the Court of Appeal to interchangeably use these

words but fatal for the owners to do so?

eolihan

zoning on their land had been changed from residential or

commercial to general forest district, recreation district or

conservation reserve and that the rezoning constituted a tak-

ing (566 F.2d at 1357-1358). In fact, the allegations were said

to be so brief and conclusory that there were not even suffi-

cient facts to rebut the presumption of constitutionality

generally accorded governmental actions (566 F.2d at 1359,

fn. 9). Nonetheless, a cause of action was found, both by the

Court of Appeals (566 F.2d at 1359, fn. 9) and this Court

(440 U.S. at 398-400). Moreover, as here, the face of the Lake

Country ordinance purported to permit some uses, to wit:

*‘Generally, the ordinance allowed very limited

residential use, and no tourist, residential or com-

mercial use, of the rezoned land. Other permitted

uses included hiking trails, campgrounds, stables,

recreation camps, skiing facilities, timber growing,

livestock grazing and electrical substations. In

addition, outdoor recreation concessions and

educational facilities were allowed in the ‘Recrea-

tion District.’’’ (S66 F.2d at 1358.)

Notwithstanding the facial allowance of some use, a cause of

action was held stated in Lake Country, contrary to the cases

here.

Moreover, in Hernandez v. City of Lafayette (Sth Cir.

1981) 643 F.2d 1188, which the Court of Appeal holds up as

an example of how to properly plead a taking (App A, p. 13),

the facts were not in the complaint, but in affidavits filed in

opposition to a motion for summary jvdgment (643 F.2d at

1200). Likewise, in 6th Camden Corp. v. Evesham Township

(D. N.J. 1976) 420 F.Supp 709, another case cited by the

Court of Appeal (App A, p. 11), the complaint simply allegéd

that the Township’s actions rendered the property ‘*‘.

sterile and useless . . .”’ (420 F.Supp at 713). Factual detail

was supplied by evidence beyond the complaint’s allegations

(420 F.Supp at 722). In neither of those cases (or any others

of which we are aware) was a plaintiff required or expected to

plead evidentiary facts showing the specific inappropriateness

of each ‘‘use’’ theoretically authorized by the zoning. Rather,

= =

the ultimate fact that the zoning rendered the property near

worthless was sufficient.

Moreover, it must be remembered that the property owners

were pleading federal causes of action. State technicalities of

pleading may not be used to evade federal rights. As this

Court long ago held, speaking through Mr. Justice Holmes:

**Whatever springes the state may set for those who

are endeavoring to assert rights that the state con-

fers, the assertion of Federal rights, when plainly

and reasonably made, is not to be defeated under

the name of local practice.’’ (Davis v. Wechsler

{1923] 263 U.S. 22, 24.)

The property owners seek only the same treatment as the

plaintiffs in cases like Lake Country, Hernandez and 6th

Camden: to have their allegations liberally construed and the

opportunity to substantiate them with evidence. The allega-

tions show the same sort of deprivation of ability to use land.

It is unseemly for differing rules of pleading to determine the

outcome of a federal constitutional decision.

THIS COURT’S ATTENTION IS NEEDED TO

END THE NATIONAL ANARCHY ON “THE

COMPENSATION ISSUE.”’

If the state courts are in disarray in deciding what is a ‘‘tak-

ing’’ under the United States Constitution, they are no less so

in deciding on a remedy. Professor Kanner, surveying the

field two years ago, concluded that, “‘. . . the state courts’

endeavors form a chaotic pattern ...’’ (Kanner, Inverse

Condemnation Remedies in an Era of Uncertainty

[Southwestern Legal Foundation 1980] /980 Institute on

Planning, Zoning, and Eminent Domain 177, 206.) He con-

cludes:

**A survey of the state law on this topic reveals

an amorphous and irreconcilable body of deci-

sions, each purporting to implement the constitu-

tional protection against confiscation.’’ (Kanner at

180.)

Professor Kanner’s conclusion of chaos is borne out by the

cases.

= =

California (Agins) and Arizona (Davis v. Pima County

[Ariz. App. 1978] 590 P.2d 459) reject compensation as a

remedy, opting for invalidation as the only solution.

By contrast, Ohio (Village of Willoughby Hills v. Corrigan

[Ohio 1972} 278 N.E.2d 658, cert. den. sub nom. Chongris v.

Corrigan {1972} 409 U.S. 919), 18/ Georgia (Clifton v. Berry

[Ga. 1979] 259 S.E.2d 35), and Massachusetts Hamilton v.

Conservation Comm’n (Mass. App. 1981] 425 N.E.2d 358)

reject invalidation, holding that compensation is the sole

remedy.

As might be expected, the analysis is not so simple as exam-

ining two sides of a coin. Rather, the states have created a

spectrum of remedial decisions. Five states (Texas, Kansas,

Washington, North Dakota and Colorado) have announced

that either compensation or invalidation may be appropriate,

depending on the circumstances. (City of Austin v. Teague

[Tex. 1978] 570 S.W.2d 389; Ventures in Property I v. City of

Wichita [Kan. 1979] 594 P.2d 671; Brazil v. City of Auburn

[Wash. App. 1979] 598 P.2d 1; Kraft v. Malone [N.D. 1981]

313 N.W.2d 758; Hermanson v. Board of County Comm'rs

[Colo. App. 1979] 595 P.2d 694.)

Florida and New York seem not even internally consistent.

Cases can be found acknowledging the availability of either

compensation or invalidation (Askew v. Gables-by-the-Sea

[Fla. App. 1976] 333 So.2d 56; Moviematic Industries, Inc. v.

Dade County [Fla. App. 1977] 349 So.2d 667; Fred F. French

Investing Co. v. City of New York [1976] 39 N.Y.2d 587, 350

N.E.2d 381; Keystone Associates v. State [1978] 45 N.Y.2d

894, 383 N.E.2d 560), while others refuse to compensate for

patently irreversible damage (Mailman Dev. Corp v.

Hollywood [Fla. App. 1973] 286 So.2d 614; Charles v. Dia-

mond [1977] 41 N.Y.2d 318, 360 N.E.2d 1295).

New Hampshire has adopted the view expressed by Justice

Brennan’s opinion in San Diego G & E, i.e., that damages be

18/ The comments of Justice Douglas, dissenting from the denial of cer-

tiorari, may bear note. He questions the unfettered use of the police power

to achieve eminent domain goals, as well as the appropriate remedy for the

aggrieved property owner.

—-™

awarded for a temporary taking until the state permits

beneficial use (Burrows v. City of Keene [N.H.1981] 432

A.2d 15).

This Court has consistently recognized the availability and

preferability of compensation as a remedy (Hurley v. Kincaid

[1932] 285 U.S. 95; Dugan v. Rank [1963] 372 U.S. 609;

Fresno v. California [1963] 372 U.S. 627; United States v.

Gerlach Live Stock Co. {1950} 339 U.S. 725; Lake Country

Estates v. Tahoe Regional Planning Agency [1979] 440 U.S.

391; Penn Central Transp Co. v. City of New York [1978]

438 U.S. 104; San Diego G & E.)

It is time for synthesis. The vindication of federal constitu-

tional rights cannot be left to such whimsical state court con-

struction. To permit the present situation to remain without

clear guidance from this Court is to deny due process, as well

as equal protection, of law to all land use litigants.

THE INTENT OF PALMDALE AND THE

COUNTY TO MAKE A GIFT OF THE SUB-

JECT PROPERTY TO THE AIR FORCE IS

NOT ONLY RELEVANT, IT RENDERS THE

GOVERNMENTAL ACTION UNCONSTITU-

TIONAL UNTIL COMPENSATION IS MADE.

With the backhand of a footnote (App A, p. 3, fn. 1), the

Court of Appeal swept aside settled decisions of this Court

which permit examination of the government’s motive in

passing legislation. By ignoring the governmental motive, the

Court of Appeal examined only a part of this case, and

disabled itself from examining the totality.

This Court recently stated the rule succinctly:

‘*acts generally lawful may become unlawful when

done to accomplish an unlawful end . . .”” (City of

Richmond v. United States (1975] 422 U.S. 358,

379, quoting with approval.)

To determine whether acts are ‘‘. . . done to accomplish an

unlawful end ...’’, one may consider why the acts were

done, as this Court did in Richmond. See, e.g.:

= =

Arlington Heights v. Metro. Dev. Corp. (1977) 429

U.S. 252, 265-268 [zoning action invalid if uncon-

stitutionally motivated];

Reitman v. Mulkey (1967) 387 U.S. 369, 376, 381,

{statute struck down because unconstitutionally

motivated];

Progress Dev. Corp. v. Mitchell (7th Cir. 1961) 286

F.2d 222, 231 [damages under Civil Rights Act pro-

per if plaintiffs can prove unconstitutional motive

behind condemnation];

Seattle School Dist. No. I v. State of Wash. (9th

Cir. 1980) 633 F.2d 1338, 1342, 1347 [statute struck

down because unconstitutionally motivated]. 19/

That there are cases (see, e.g., App A, p. 3, fn. 1) noting

that courts need not be concerned with governmental motiva-

tion as a general rule, does not negate the rather large excep-

tion discussed above, i.e., a nominally permissible act may be

unlawful if unconstitutionally motivated. Nor does the

general rule require the judiciary to blind itself to impropriety

where the impropriety can be proved. 20/

The complaints allege that the governmental motive was to

take the subject property from the owners and curry favor

with the Air Force 21/ by donating a clear zone. The ques-

tionable constitutionality of such a scheme merits investiga-

tion by trial.

19/ See also Griffin v. School Board (1964) 377 U.S. 218, 231, holding

that even the concurrent existence of a proper basis for the action may not

validate an wnconstitutionally motivated act.

20/ Besides, even examining only what the government did, (rather than

its motives) as the Court of Appeal prefers, what the government did was to

take the owners’ property and give it to the Air Force for a clear zone. And

no one has paid the owners for this taking.

21/ The Air Force is the largest employer other than Lockheed in North-

west Los Angeles County.

—29—

CONCLUSION

This Court has clearly expressed its views on the impor-

tance of protecting private property rights:

**. . . the dichotomy between personal liberties and

property rights is a false one. Property does not

have rights. People have rights. The right to enjoy

property without unlawful deprivation, no less

than the right to speak or the right to travel, is, in

truth a ‘personal’ right, whether the ‘property’ in

question be a welfare check, a home or a savings

account. In fact, a fundamental interdependence

exists between the personal right to liberty and the

personal right in property. Neither could have

meaning without the other.’’ (Lynch v. Household

Finance Corp. [1972] 405 U.S. 538, 552.)

Today private property rights are in jeopardy. The pen-

chant of financially pressed municipalities to attempt to

transmute private into public property, without compensa-

tion, is visible across the nation.

State courts, attempting to reconcile the needs of

municipalities with the rights of private property owners have

developed a chaotic body of law, while purporting to apply

the same federal constitutional prohibition against con-

fiscating private property.

There is anarchy in the determination of what constitutes a

taking.

There is anarchy in the determination of what constitutes a

constitutionally appropriate remedy.

California stands in open defiance of this Court’s constitu-

tional teachings.

This Court’s guidance is sorely needed.

The Gillilands and Mrs. Fitz pray that probabie jurisdic-

tion be noted.

Respectfully submitted,

JERROLD A. FADEM

MICHAEL M. BERGER

FADEM, BERGER & NORTON

Attorneys for the Appellants

—A.j]—

In the Court of Appeal

of the S.ate of California,

Second Appellate District,

Division One.

Robert J. Gilliland,

Plaintiff and Appellant,

vs.

The City of Palmdale, a municipal corporation,

Defendant and Respondent.

2d Civ. No. 59028,

Super. Ct. No. Cl07092.

Filed December 7, 1981.

APPEAL

APPEAL from judgment of the Superior Court of Los

Angeles County. Thomas W. Le Sage, Judge. Affirmed.

Fadem, Berger & Norton, Michael M. Berger, for Appel-

lant.

Kostas & Epson, James S. Kostas, for Respondent.

Plaintiff appeals from a judgment on the pleadings

without leave to amend. Our review of such judgment is

controlled by time-honored rules of law. A motion for

judgment on the pleadings performs the function of a

general demurrer (Tiffany v. Sierra Sands Unified School

Dist. (1980) 103 Cal.App.3d 218, 222): it tests the suffi-

ciency of the complaint to state a cause of action. (/d., at

pp. 224-225.) Like a demurrer it is confined to the face of

the pleading under attack and admits all material and issu-

able facts pleaded. (/d., at p. 225.) Accordingly, we shall

assess the legal adequacy of the following facts drawn from

plaintiff’s complaint and accepted as true.

-

FACTUAL BACKGROUND

In 1965 plaintiff became the owner of five acres of

vacant land in the defendant City of Palmdale (hereafter

the property) which were located in the path of a takeoff

and approach runway at Air Force Plant 42, a joint

civilian-military airport. At the time that plaintiff acquired

the property it was zoned ‘‘A-2."’ According to the

Palmdale zoning ordinance, of which we take judicial

notice (Evid. Code, § 452(b); Baillargeon v. Dept. of Water

and Power (1977) 69 Cal.App.3d 670, 676), the classifica-

tion A-2 was ‘“‘established for use on land suited for

agricultural purposes and other open land uses .. . [t}he

basic intent of this Zone [is] to encourage and support the

development of agricultural pursuits. To further this pur-

pose limitations are imposed on incompatible and conflict-

ing urban uses.”’ (Ord. No. 140, ch. 3, art. 32, zone A-2,

§ 32.01). Permissible uses of the land thus zoned include:

one-family dwellings; animal hospitals, schools and kennels

and veterinary offices; youth camps and other camp

grounds; crops; auction grounds; stock breeding and yards;

riding academies and stables. The A-2 zoning category

functioned as a holding zone, so-called, such that applica-

tions for a zone change from A-2 were subject to par-

ticularly careful and detailed scrutiny in respect of the uses

that would occur under the change.

In January 1973 plaintiff applied to the Palmdale Plan-

ning Commission for a zone change to a ‘‘commercial

planned development’’ zone. On January 19, 1973, the

Planning Commission voted five to zero in favor of plain-

tiff’s requested zone change. On May 11, 1973, plaintiff’s

request was heard before the Palmdale City Council. A

representative of Air Force Plant 42 and a representative of

the civilian contractors at Air Force Plant 42 testified in

opposition to plaintiff’s requested zone change. The City

ee ee

Council voted three to one against plaintiff’s requested

zone change based on the proximity of the property to run-

ways at Air Force Plant 42. As a result of the City’s

refusal to rezone his property as requested, plaintiff suf-

fered damages of more than $325,000.

On April 15, 1975, plaintiff filed in superior court an

‘tamended complaint for inverse condemnation,”’ alleging

all the above facts which we accept as true for purposes of

reviewing the judgment. Plaintiff further alleged that his

private property had ‘‘been unlawfully taken and damaged

for public use without just compensation and without due

process and equal protection of the laws to which fhe was]

entitled by the United States and California

Constitutions.’ The complaint contained additional con-

clusionary allegations which we discount as surplusage. 1/

1/ Paragraphs 13, 15 and 16 alleged, inter alia, that the refusal

was for the purpose of devoting the property to public use as a

clear zone; that plaintiff had been deprived of the beneficial and

only economically feasible use of his property; that the City in-

tended a de facto transformation of the property into public pro-

perty without paying just compensation. We discount the allega-

tions of motive implicit in these paragraphs on the further

ground that “‘. . . the purpose or motive of the city officials in

passing an ordinance is irrelevant to any inquiry concerning the

reasonableness of the ordinance. ... If the conditions justify

the enactment of the ordinance, the motives prompting its enact-

ment are of no consequence.’ (Citation.)’’ (Pinheiro v. County

of Marin (1976) 60 Cal.App.3d 323, 327-328.) Similarly, under

federal law, motive is irrelevant. ‘‘... the Constitution

measures a taking of property not by what a State says, or...

intends, but by what it does.’ (Citations.)’’ (San Diego Gas and

Electric Co. v. San Diego (1981) __. U.S. ___, [67 L.Ed.2d

551, 573] (dis. opn. Brennan, J.).) Thus, even if we accepted

these allegations of motive as true, they would not bear on our

determination of whether the challenged regulation ‘‘took’’

plaintiff’s land.

—A.4—

(Agins v. City of Tiburon (1979) 24 Cal.3d 266, fn.2 (dis.

opn. Clark, J.); Hecton v. People ex. rel Dept. of

Transportation (1976) 58 Cal.App.3d 653, 657; 6th

Camden Corp. v. Evesham Tp., Burlington Cty. (D. N.J.

1976) 420 F.Supp. 709, 720.)

On March 14, 1979, the California Supreme Court

decided Agins v. City of Tiburon, supra, 24 Cal.3d 266,

and held that the remedy of inverse condemnation was not

available to a landowner aggrieved by the negative impact

of a zoning regulation on his property rights. Such a plain-

tiff was limited, the court held, to mandamus or

declaratory relief to redress the government’s excessive ex-

ercise of its police power to regulate land use. On the

plaintiff’s action for declaratory relief, the court held as a

matter of law that no taking of plaintiff’s land had occur-

red through enactment of the zoning regulation in ques-

tion. (/d., at pp. 277-278.)

On July 17 and 18, 1979, the motion of defendant City

of Palmdale for judgment on the pleadings was argued in

the trial court. On July 18, 1979, the court granted defen-

dant’s motion, noting in its minute order, ‘‘The Court,

having reviewed and considered the pleadings and outline

of the evidence as presented by counsel for the plaintiff,

finds on there has been no taking or damaging of proper-

ty.”’

2/ The trial court’s consideration of the ‘‘outline of evidence as

presented by counsel for the plaintiff’’ was obviously impermissible

when deciding the motion for judgment on the pleadings, as the

motion is directed to the face of the pleading. (4 Witkin, Cal. Pro-

cedure (2d ed. 1971) p. 2817.) On review we limit ourselves to ex-

amination of the face of the pleading and affirm if the trial court

was correct within that proper focus. (Cf. Friendly Village Com-

munity Assn. Inc. v. Silva & Hill Constr. Co. (1973) 31 Cal.App.3d

220, 224.) No doubt the trial court’s consideration of the outline of

(continued)

pa

On June 10, 1980, the United States Supreme Court

decided the appeal of Agins, supra, from the California

Supreme Court and affirmed the holding that the zoning

regulation in question did not take the plaintiffs’ property

without just compensation. (Agins v. Tiburon (1980) 447

U.S. 255.) But because no taking had occurred the court

did ‘‘not cor*ider whether a State may limit the remedies

available to a person whose land has been taken without

just compensation.’’ (/d., at p. 263.)

On June 25, 1981, plaintiff filed his opening brief in this

court, announcing in his introduction, ‘‘This case seeks en-

forcement of rights under the U.S. Constitution (Four-

teenth Amendment) and the federal Civil Rights Act (42

U.S.C. § 1983).””

DISCUSSION OF THE LAW

Notwithstanding plaintiff filed this case six and a half

years ago as a complaint for inverse condemnation, his

characterization of the action on appeal is accurate. The

complaint invokes plaintiff’s rights under the United States

Constitution and specifically alludes to rights protected by

the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments thereto. All that is

required to bring a claim under the federal Civil Rights Act

(42 U.S.C. § 1983) is an allegation that one has been sub-

jected by any form of state action to the deprivation of any

right secured by the Constitution of the United States, 3/

2/ (continued) evidence pertained to its decision whether to

grant leave to amend, whether plaintiff could cure by amend-

ment the defects on which the motion would be granted.

3/ 42 U.S.C. § 1983 provides: “Every person who, under color

of any statute, ordinance, regulation, custom, or usage, of any

State or Territory ... subjects, or causes to be subjected, any

(continued)

niin

(Gomez v. Toledo (1980) 446 U.S. 635, 640.) There is no

want of federal civil rights cases in which the gravamen of

the claim is a taking of private property without just com-

pensation in violation of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amend-

ments, such as plaintiff has asserted. (See, e.g., Hernandez

v. City of Lafayette (5th Cir. 1981) 643 F.2d 1188; Gorman

Towers, Inc. v. Bogoslavsky (8th Cir. 1980) 626 F.2d 607;

Barbaccia v. County of Santa Clara (N.D. Cal. 1978) 451

F.Supp. 260; Dahil v. City of Palo Alto (N.D. Cal. 1974)

372 F.Supp. 647.) An action under the federal Civil Rights

Act can be brought in state court (Martinez v. California

(1980) 444 U.S. 277; Williams v. Horvath (1976) 16 Cal.3d

834, 837; Brown v. Pitchess (1975) 13 Cal.3d 518, 520-523),

and can be brought against a municipality (Monell v.

Department of Social Services (1978) 436 U.S. 658, 690.)

Altogether we perceive no obstacle to treating this case on

appeal as such an action.

When a federal civil rights action, or other federally

created cause of action, is brought in state court, the vin-

dication of that right cannot be frustrated by state law.

(Williams v. Horvath, supra, 16 Cal.3d at 841.) In matters

of substance the law of the jurisdiction creating the right

will control; in other words, federal substantive case law

should be applied. (Cf. Central Vermont Railway Co. v.

White (1915) 238 U.S. 507, 511.)

Thus, the chief benefit of viewing his complaint in a civil

rights perspective is avoidance of the devastating effect of

the California Supreme Court holding in Agins v. City of

3/ (continued) citizen of the United States or other person

within the jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation of any rights,

privileges, or immunities secured by the Constitution and laws,

shall be liable to the party injured in an action at law, suit in

equity, or other property proceeding for redress.’’

so

Tiburon, supra, 24 Cal.3d 266. Following Agins the

remedy of inverse condemnation with its imposition of

money damages no longer exists in California law. (/d., at

p. 272.) A zoning regulation, no matter how unreasonable

or severe its impact on a landowner’s property rights, can

never effect a ‘‘taking’’ within the meaning of the Just

Compensation Clause of either the United States or

California Constitutions. It must be regarded as an exces-

sive exercise of the pciice power from which the injured

landowner must seek relief by mandamus or declaratory

action to have it set aside. (/bid.)

California’s position flatly contradicts clear precedent of

United States Supreme Court cases. Although the United

States Supreme Court since the California Agins has twice

on a procedural or technical basis declined to reach the

issue and resolve the conflict (Agins v. Tiburon, supra, 447

U.S. 255 and San Diego Gas and Electric Co. v. San

Diego, (1981) __ U.S. __ [67 L.Ed.2d 551]), Justice Bren-

nan in his dissenting opinion in San Diego Gas and Elec-

tric, joined by three members of the Court, has thoroughly

analyzed it. Reviewing the United States Supreme Court

cases on inverse condemnation, he points out that the

Supreme Court regularly hears cases to settle on the par-

ticular facts whether a taking that triggers payment of just

compensation has been effected by an exercise of the police

power through a zoning ordinance or other land use restric-

tion. (/d., at pp. 572-573.) The court thus clearly assumes

such a possibility. (See, e.g. Penn Central Transportation

Co. v. New York City (1978) 438 U.S. 104; Goldblatt v.

Town of Hempstead (1962) 369 U.S. 590.) Dicta abound in

these cases on the standards by which such a determination

should be made. In Agins, supra, 447 U.S. at 260-261, for

instance, the court stated, “‘[t}he application of a general

zoning law to particular property effects a taking if the

—S

ordinance does not substantially advance legitimate state

interests, see Nectow v. Cambridge, 277 U.S. 183, 188

(1928), or denies an owner economically viable use of his

land, see Penn Central Transp. Co. v. New York City, 438

U.S. 104, 138, n. 36 (1978). The determination that govern-

mental action consiit:*c: 2 taking is, in essence, a deter-

mination that the public at large, rather than a single

owner, must bear the burden of an exercise of state power

in the public interest. Although no precise rule determines

when property has been taken, see Kaiser Aetna v. United

States, 444 U.S. 164 (1979) the question necessarily requires

a weighing of private and public interests.’’

While Justice Brennan’s conclusion — that government

action in the form of a police power regulation can effect a

taking just as surely as eminent domain, and the Constitu-

tion demands then that just compensation be paid —

awaits another vote before it invalidates the California

Supreme Court holding of Agins, supra, there is no ques-

tion that the federal law accepts in theory the remiedy of

inverse condemnation with its imposition of money

damages for a “‘taking’’ effected through a zoning regula-

tion. Plaintiff herein, therefore, is not out of court on a

judgment on the pleadings for the reason that the remedy

he seeks has been abolished in state law.

While plaintiff’s suit remains viable under the Civil

Rights Act as to the remedy it seeks, it is no less suscep-

tible as a civil rights action to judgment on the pleadings

for failure to state a cause of action, or as it is termed in

federal parlance, ‘‘a claim upon which relief can be

granted.’’ (Fed. Rules Civ. Proc., rule 12(b)(6), 28 U.S.C.)

Contrary to plaintiff’s interpretation of the trial court’s

ruling as reflected in his brief arguing for application of

federal law, the wording of the judgment below indicates

the trial court granted the motion because the facts alleged

~~ =

failed to show any ‘“‘taking,’’ not because it failed to apply

federal law. It is immaterial of course on what grounds the

trial court granted judgment on the pleadings if that was

the correct decision. (Apelian v. County of Los Angeles

(1968) 266 Cal.App.2d 550, 554, disapproved on another

point in Sullivan v. County of Los Angeles (i974) 12

Cal.3d 710, 722.) We think it was.

We acknowledge and apply the federal policy that a civil

rights pleading should be liberally construed; that ‘*. . . a §

1983 complaint should not be dismissed unless it appears

beyond doubt that the plaintiff can prove no set of facts in

support of his claim which would entitle him to relief.

(Citation.)’’ (Shaw v. Briscoe (5th Cir. 1976) 541 F.2d 489,

490, cert. den. 430 U.S. 933.) We acknowledge and are

willing to apply, if this were an appropriate case, the

wisdom of federal ‘‘taking’’ cases according to which there

is no ‘‘set formula to determine where regulation ends and

taking begins’’ (Goldblatt v. Town of Hempstead, supra,

369 U.S. 590, 594); and the determination is one of

reasonableness that entails ‘‘ad hoc, factual inquiries’

(Penn Central Transportation Co. v. New York City,

supra, 438 U.S. 104, 124), resolution of which is inappro-

priate on a motion to dismiss. (M./J. Brock & Sons, Inc. v.

City of Davis, (N.D. Cal. 1975) 401 F.Supp. 354, 358;

Dahl v. City of Palo Alto, (N.D. Cal. 1974) 372 F.Supp.

647, 648.) Even so, plaintiff’s facts, construed as liberally

as possible, indeed taken as true, when evaluated by the

standards that the federal cases have evolved, beyond

doubt could not make out a “‘taking’’ and do not warrant

a trial on the merits.

The crucial features of plaintiff’s situation are that both

at the time that he acquired the property and at the time

that he brought the lawsuit, the property was both located

in the path of the Air Force runway and zoned A-2. The

anfip§Qu-

only intervening government action was the City’s refusal

to rezone on plaintiff’s request to enable him to develop

the property for commercial use. If, as plaintiff interprets

the situation, the City, by permitting only low density

agricultural use of the property, in effect has devoted the

property to the use of the Air Force or to the public as a

clear zone at the end of the Air Force runway, then it had

already done so when he acquired the property. The City

by refusing to rezone has not deprived him of any property

interest that he ever had. Rather, in a more accurate

perspective, the City has refused to give him a greater pro-

perty interest than he acquired.

Plaintiff’s claim of a government taking under these cir-

cumstances is uniquely slim, as far as we can tell from the

cases. The more familiar fact situation, in which a motion

for judgment on the pleadings or to dismiss has been

denied, presents the affirmative enactment of a zoning

change or the adoption of a general plan by the govern-

ment entity which limits the plaintiff’s economic exploita-

tion of the property affected. (See, e.g., Sanfilippo v. City

of Santa Cruz (N.D. Cal. 1976) 415 F.Supp. 1340 [motion

to dismiss denied when plaintiffs alleged that zoning of

their land was changed from a residential classification per-

mitting one residence per 2.5 acres to a category permitting

one residence per 100 acres and plaintiffs’ subsequent

application for rezoning and approval of a planned unit

development was denied]; M.J. Brock & Sons v. City of

Davis, supra, 401 F.Supp. 354 [motion to dismiss denied

when plaintiff pleaded misleading and encouraging actions

by defendants regarding plaintiff’s development plans

followed by a downzoning from high density residential to

agricultural to a total ban on construction].)

In the few cases where the nature of the alleged

**taking’’ has been the refusal to rezone land that remained

—All—

zoned as it was when plaintiff acquired it, such as plaintiff

has asserted herein, there were additional circumstances

before the court that justified not disposing of the case

without trial. In 6th Camden Corp. v. Evesham Tp., Bur-

lington Cty., supra, 420 F.Supp. 709, plaintiff acquired 20

acres, 17.9 of which were zoned for business and 2.1 of

which, landlocked with the 17.9, were zoned residential.

Plaintiff planned to construct a shopping center on the

entire acreage, but defendants refused to rezone the 2.1.

Plaintiff claimed the 2.1 had been rendered useless and

unconstitutionally ‘‘taken’’ by the zoning for residential

use. The court denied a motion to dismiss, even though

aware that a mere diminution in value would not prove a

‘*taking.”’ The court took judicial notice of a state court

opinion that the 2.1 acres could not feasibly be used for

the permitted use. Similarly in Hernandez v. City of

Lafayette, supra, 643 F.2d 1188, plaintiff’s land had been

zoned single family residential for ten years when he

requested rezoning to a business or multi-family residential

use. The Court of Appeals, reversing a summary judgment

erroneously granted on the defendants’ claim of immunity,

noted that there were genuine issues of material fact

whether the refusal to rezone constituted a taking because

o! summary judgment evidence that the land was not feasi-

ble for the use permitted (adjacent to sewage treatment,

flood plain extending across parts of it) and because of

questions of good faith in defendants’ processing of plain-

tiff’s rezoning application. (/d., at p. 1200.)

In the instant case there is no allegation that plaintiff’s

land is not suited to the uses which are permitted, nor any

allegation of governmental action beyond the straightfor-

ward adherence to the agricultural zoning which came with

the property. When this modest governmental action,

which has deprived plaintiff if not of his property at least

of his profit in the amount of $325,000, is measured

—A-12—

against the criteria of a ‘“‘taking’’ enunciated by the

Supreme Court and that applied by the lower federal

courts, it appears ‘‘ ‘to a certainty that plaintiff is entitled

to no relief under any state of facts which could be proved

in support of the claim.’ [Citations].’’ (6th Camden Corp,

v. Evesham Tp., Burlington Cty., supra, 420 F.Supp. 709,

720, emphasis omitted.)

The criteria are two: ‘“‘... if the ordinance does not

substantially advance legitimate state interests, [citation] or

denies an owner economically viable use of his land [cita-

tion].’’ (Agins v. Tiburon, supra, 447 U.S. 255, 260.) It is

plaintiff’s burden to prove that the ordinance meets these

criteria if a ‘‘taking’’ by the ordinance is to be found. This

is a heavy burden in view of the presumption of validity

that attaches to the exercise of the public zoning

authorities. (See Burns v. City of Des Peres (8th Cir. 1976)

534 F.2d 103, 108, cert. den. 429 U.S. 861.)

The interests of the City of Palmdale in the health and

welfare of its citizens would appear to be well served by

maintaining open land and low density agricultural land

uses in the entire vicinity of the airport and especially in

the direct path of the planes’ takeoff and approach where

plaintiff’s property is situated. There being no allegations

by plaintiff to the contrary, we find the A-2 zoning of

plaintiff’s land to be a reasonable exercise of the police

power to protect the community from the excessive noise,

air pollution and abcve average safety hazards that attend

the concentration of air traffic in the zoned area.

Plaintiff claims that the refusal to rezone his land for

commercial development denies him the ‘‘beneficial’’ and

*‘only economically feasible’’ use of his land. The lega!

question, however, is whether it denies him ‘‘economically

viable use’’ (Agins, supra, 447 U.S. 255, 260) within the

meaning of that concept as developed in the federal cases.

—A-13—

It is well established that a mere ‘‘diminution in value’’

does not amount to such a denial. (Goldblatt v. Town of

Hempstead, supra, 369 U.S. 590, 594; Hadacheck v. Sebas-

tian (1915) 239 U.S. 394, 408-409 [diminution from

$800,000 to $60,000 upheld].) Moreover, ‘‘... the mere

fact that the regulation deprives the property owner of the

most profitable use of his property is not necessarily

enough. . . .”” (United States v. Central Eureka Mining Co.

(1958) 357 U.S. 155, 168.) Indeed, ‘‘[flor there to be a tak-

ing the landowner must show he has been deprived of all

reasonable uses of his land’’ (C.F. Lytle Co. v. Clark (10th

Cir. 1974) 491 F.2d 834, 838); that it has been rendered

valueless. (Steel Hill Development, Inc. v. Town of San-

bornton (ist Cir. 1972) 469 F.2d 956, 963, cert. den. 414

U.S. 932.)

Whatever conclusions plaintiff may have alleged in his

complaint, he has not alleged facts that show that the A-2

zoning denies him all reasonable or ‘‘economically viable’’

uses, as did the plaintiff in Hernandez v. City of Lafayette,

supra, 643 F.2d 1188; he has not alleged that the land is

not suited to the uses for which it is zoned. The ordinance

permits any number of uses, such as crops, livestock,

animal facilities, which are not only reasonable but

valuable and essential to a healthy, diversified community

economy.

As analyzed by the standards of the federal ‘‘taking’’

cases, the A-2 zoning of plaintiff’s land does not deprive

him of the property rights protected in the Fifth and Four-

teenth Amendments to the United States Constitution. No

set of facts that plaintiff could prove would entitle him to

relief under the federal Civil Rights Act.

—A-14—

The judgment on the pleadings without leave to amend is

affirmed.

NOT FOR PUBLICATION.

JAKES, J.*

We concur:

SPENCER, P. J.

DALSIMER, J.

* Assigned by the Chairperson of the Judicial Council.

In the Court of Appeal

of the State of California,

Second Appellate District,

Division One.

Robert J. Gilliland,

Plaintiff and Appellant,

vs.

The City of Palmdale, a municipal corporation,

Defendant and Respondent.

2d Civ No. 59028,

Super Ct. No. Cl07092.

Filed January 6, 1982.

ORDER

THE COURT: The unpublished opinion in this case hav-

ing been filed on December 7, 1981, and request for cer-

tification for publication having been made,

IT IS HEREBY CERTIFIED that the opinion meets the

standards for publication specified in subdivision (b) of

rule 976 of the California Rules of Court; and

ORDERED that the words ‘‘NOT TO BE

PUBLISHED” appearing on page 1 of said opinion be

deleted, and the opinion herein be published in the Official

Records.

oY

GILLILAND vs. CITY OF PALMDALE

Los Angeles, California,

January 6, 1982,

No. 59028.

THE COURT:

Petition for Rehearing Denied.

ee

In the Court of Appeal

of the State of California,

Second Appellate District,

Division One.

Frank M. Gilliland, Jr., et al.,

Plaintiffs and Appellants,

Vv.

County of Los Angeles,

Defendant and Respondent.

2 Civ. No. 60960

(Super. Ct. No. C 107093).

Filed November 25, 1981.

APPEAL

APPEAL from a judgment of the Superior Court of Los

Angeles County. Alexander R. Early III, Judge. Affirmed.

Fadem, Berger & Norton and Michael M. Berger for

Plaintiffs and Appellants.

John H. Larson, County Counsel, and Paul T. Hanson,

Deputy County Counsel, for Defendant and Respondent.

Plaintiffs Frank, James and Robert Gilliland appeal an

order of dismissal entered after the trial court sustained

without leave the general demurrer of defendant County of

Los Angeles (hereinafter referred to as County) to their

first amended complaint.

olin

FACTS

The facts alleged by plaintiffs in their first amended

complaint for inverse condemnation (with a prayer for

declaratory relief and injunction) must on this appeal be

taken as true. Plaintiffs in their first amended complaint

filed September 26, 1979, allege, in substance, as follows:

That the Gillilands are and for seven years have been

owners of Lots 41, 60 and 61 of Tract 7670 of Los Angeles

County comprising 30 acres of vacant land; that the subject

property being situated in unincorporated county territory

is within the zoning and planning jurisdiction of the

County; that the property is and at all times relevant has

been zoned A2-5, an agricultural zone which permits two

single family residences for each five acres of land; that

A2-5 is used by the County as a “‘holding zone’”’ in which

the County holds the land to the minimal use permitted by

the zoning by withholding zone changes for a proposed

new use when the owner comes to the County for a permit

to put his land to its highest and best use ‘‘unless the

County approves the specific proposed land use, site

utilization and sometimes aesthetics of the proposed use to

be made of the land’’; that real property taxes of the sub-

ject property from the time of its purchase in 1967 through

the 1972-1973 tax year increased 600 percent due to

increased commercial and industrial development in the

surrounding area; and that as a further result of this

development the Gillilands on request granted easements

and dedicated portions of the subject property for purposes

such as street widening, curbing and utilities.

Plaintiffs allege further that in February 1973 they ap-

plied to the County Regional Planning Commission for a

zoning change of the subject property to CPD, a commer-

cial planned development zone; that this request was on

etn.

February 20, 1973, denied on the stated grounds that the

property lies within the primary impact area of the pro-

posed Palmdale Intercontinental Airport and that plaintiffs

did not adequately demonstrate need for additional com-

mercial zoning in the area; that the Gillilands appealed this

decision to the County Board of Supervisors (hereinafter

the Board); that on April 30, 1973, the Board heard

testimony opposing the requested zone change from

representatives of Air Force Plant 42 and from aircraft

companies with facilities in the adjacent area, namely

Lockheed, McDonnell Douglas, Rockwell International,

and Northrop; that Air Force Plant 42 is an airport on

which commercial manufacturing is conducted including

assembly of Lockheed L 1011; and that the Board denied

the Gillilands’ request for a zone change based on

testimony that the property is within an area that receives

noise of 100 db(A) or more from Air Force Plant 42.

Plaintiffs in addition allege that by reason of the

County’s refusal to rezone, the Gillilands’ private property

has been unlawfuily taken for public use without just

compensation and without due process and equal protec-

tion of law under the federal and state Constitutions; that

as the result of the refusal to permit commercial use the

Gillialnds were deprived of beneficial use, e.g., the use, en-

joyment and right to develop and sell the subject property;

that plaintiffs are informed and believe that the acts of the

County were intended to stultify the lawful use of the

Gillilands’ land, to reduc: its value and to render it un-

saleable and unusable for any reasonable private use and to

accomplish a de facto transformation of the subject land

into public property without payment of just compensa-

tion; that the conduct of the County was unreasonable,

unlawful, arbitrary and discriminatory; that the Gillilands

have been damaged thereby in amount in excess of

aii

$825,000; that prior to filing this action the plaintiffs filed

a claim with the County which was rejected.

Plaintiffs allege further that the County took the plain-

tiffs’ property to provide space for the approach and

departure of jet aircraft to and from Air Force Plant 42;

that this impressed the land with a servitude for airport use

in furtherance of the Couniy’s determination of its own

best interest in keeping Air Force Plant 42 operating in the

County; that the County ‘‘took the use of the Gilliland’s

property by the agreement between the County and the

U.S.”’ and placed the use of the Gillilands’ property in the

United States; that by reason of the foregoing the County’s

zoning ordinance is invalid as applied to the Gillilands’

property; that plaintiffs have no adequate remedy at law

because of Agins v. City of Torrance [sic] (1979) 23 Cal.3d

605; and that plaintiffs were deprived of their property

without just compensation or due process of law in viola-

tion of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the

United States Constitution and the Federal Civil Rights Act

(42 U.S.C. § 1983).

Plaintiffs on the basis of these allegations sought just

compensation for the taking, damages under the Federal

Civil Rights Act, declaratory judgment and injunctive relief

invalidating the County’s zoning ordinance as applied to

the subject property and costs and expenses of litigation in-

cluding attorneys’ fees. Defendant County filed a general

demurrer which was sustained by the trial court and plain-

tiffs have appealed.

ISSUE

Plaintiffs on appeal contend that the trial court erred in

failing to apply applicable federal law and therefore sus-

taining the demurrer and dismissing their action.

= ve

DISCUSSION

The Gillilands contend that the trial court disregarded

the legal authority of federal cases when it sustained the

County’s demurrer. It is well established that enactment of

any general measure which purports to zone or rezone pro-

perty is a legislative act. (Arnel Development Co. v. City of

Costa Mesa (1980) 28 Cal.3d 511, 516; San Diego Bidg.

Contractors Assn. v. City Council (1974) 13 Cal.3d 205.)

The application of this principle has been held, in the case

of a rezoning, not to constitute a denial of due process

under the United States and California Constitutions.

(Arnel Development Co. v. City of Costa Mesa, supra, 28

Cal.3d at p. 519.) California views zoning ordinances as

legislative while variances and subdivision map approvals

are adjudicative. Therefore, adequate protection under

state and federal constitutional requirements is fulfilled

when zoning is enacted by the city council by the provi-

sions for the landowner to have notice and hearing. When

zoning is enacted by initiative, these requirements are

fulfilled by the equal opportunities of those favoring and

opposing the zoning tosbe heard by the electorate. Those

affected by the zoning or rezoning also enjoy the option to

obtain administrative or judicial relief in the event the zon-

ing restriction produces arbitrary or capricious results.

In the event hardship is occasioned by zoning restrictions

administrative relief is potentially available. (/d., at p. 520).

The landowner has ‘‘[t}he right to seek judicial invalidation

of zoning which is arbitrary or unreasonable (see Hamer v.

Town of Ross (1963) 59 Cal.2d 776, 781 [.. .]), which

bears no reasonable relationship to the regional welfare (see

Associated Home Builders etc., Inc. v. City of Livermore,

supra, 18 Cal.3d 582, 609-610), or which deprives them of

substantially all use of their land (see Agins v. City of

eitiin

Tiburon (1979) 24 Cal.3d 266, 273 [. . .], affd. (1980) ___

U.S. __. [65 L.Ed.2d 106, ...]). ...’’ (Arnel Develop-

ment Co. v. City of Costa Mesa, supra, 28 Cal.3d at p.

$21.)

Nonetheless zoning regulations have traditionally been

sustained against constitutional attacks. (See, e.g., Euclid

v. Ambler (1926) 272 U.S. 365, 386.) The California

Supreme Court has previously held that inverse condemna-

tion does not lie in zoning actions in which it is alleged that

the market value of property is reduced. (See HFH, Ltd. v.

Superior Court (1975) 15 Cal.3d 508.)

Therefore, the enactment by a city of a zoning ordinance

reducing the density of approved development on an

owner’s land, does not constitute a taking without just

compensation in violation of the Fifth and Fourteenth

Amendments which would support an action in inverse

condemnation. (Agins v. Tiburon (1980) 447 U.S. 255.)

The United States Supreme Court in Agins affirmed the

holding of the California Supreme Court that the zoning

ordinance on its face did not constitute a taking without

just compensation (Agins v. City of Tiburon (1979) 24

Cal.3d 266). The California decision in Agins held that a

landowner who challenges the constitutionality of an ordin-

ance may not sue in inverse condemnation and thereby

transmute an excessive use of the police power into a

lawful taking for which compensation in eminent domain is

required. (See also the discussion relative to monetary com-

pensation in San Diego Gas & Electric Co. v. San Diego

(Mar. 24, 1981)* ____ U.S. ___.)

In the case at bench, just as in Agins, the zoning or-

dinance does not on its face take plaintiffs’ property

without just compensation. The Gillilands do not allege

* Advance Report Citation: 49 U.S.L.Week 4317.

—f-)-7—

that the ordinance on its face deprives them of subtantially

all use of the land. It is clear from a reading of the ordin-

ance describing A2-5 zoning that there are many uses to

which the land may be put in addition to residential use.

The specific zoning regulations here at issue constitute

exercise of the city’s police power to protect local residents

from the adverse effects of urbanization in specifying low

density where the noise level is high. (See, e.g., Agins v.

Tiburon, supra, 447 U.S. 255, 261.) Although this is the

result of the proximity of the airport, this exercise of the

police power does not constitute a taking compensable in

damages.

In any event, in California the remedy of inverse con-

demnation is not available in these circumstances and

declaratory relief or mandamus is the sole means of relief.

We note that here, just as in Agins, the Gillilands do not

allege that they have submitted to the County a plan to use

or to improve their property according to the manner per-

mitted by zoning regulations; or that such a plan has been

rejected. Consequently, there is as yet apparently no cir-

cumstance which has generated a concrete controversy

regarding the application of the specific zoning provisions.

(Agins v. Tiburon, supra, 447 U.S. at p. 260.) In view of

this circumstance, there is no ground for declaratory relief.

By a parity of logic, mandamus has not been effectively

pleaded by the Gillilands since they allege that they sought

a zone change rather than a building permit or variance or

conditional use permit. Since zoning, as we have pointed

out, is a legislative act, mandamus is not an appropriate

remedy in the case at bench. (Toso v. City of Santa Bar-

bara (1980) 101 Cal.App.3d 934, 942; City Council of

Santa Barbara v. Superior Court (1960) 179 Cal.App.2d

389, 396-399.)

ttn

Finally, since the ordinance is constitutional on its face

and there is no allegation of a threatened harmful act by

the County, the complaint does not allege facts which

would support an injunction.

The Gillilands in their brief concede that they have no

remedy at law under these circumstances by virtue of the

legal principles enumerated in Agins which limit their

remedies. They have, therefore, sought to set forth a claim

for damages under the federal Civil Rights Act (42 U.S.C.

§ 1983). That statute, in substance, merely establishes that

a remedy is available when any person, under color of state

law, deprives the complaining party of rights, privileges, or

immunities secured by federal law. The right to just com-

pensation for a governmental taking of private property

arises not from the federal Civil Rights Act but from the

protections of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments.

However, the California Supreme Court in Agins held that

monetary damages constituted an inappropriate remedy for

an alleged taking which was the result of local land-use

regulation expressing concern with the chilling effect such

awards might have on the proper exercise of the police

power (Agins v. City of Tiburon, supra, 24 Cal.3d 266,

276-277.) In view of that decision, the remedy of monetary

damages would be unavailable in any event, whether the

action were brought in inverse condemnation or under the

federal Civil Rights Act. Since it does not appear that there

was any taking in this case, the distinction is immaterial.

Ultimately, the Gillilands fail to allege facts which con-

stitute an actual taking of property. An owner of

undeveloped land, such as the acreage in the case at bench,

has no vested right in existing zoning. (Avco Community

Developers, Inc. v. South Coast Regional Co. (1976) 17

Cal.3d 785, 791.) A fortiori, the owner can have no vested

ali Din

right in more valuable zoning which he may have anti-

cipated in the future and which would be different from

that in effect at the time he became the owner. (HFH, Ltd.

v. Superior Court, supra, 15 Cal.3d 508, 516.) There is fur-

thermore, no right to have real property zoned for its

highest and best use. (/bid.) The allegations that represen-

tatives of the U.S. Air Force and aircraft companies with

facilities in the adjacent area testified opposing the re-

quested zone change contributes nothing with respect to the

causes of action the Gillilands attempt to state since

neighboring landowners are entitled to present their views

at a hearing on rezoning. (See N.B.H. Land Co. v. United

States (Ct. Cl. 1978) 576 F.2d 317, 318-319.)

In summary, the Gillilands essentially allege that their

property would have a higher monetary value if it were

rezoned commercial. Such circumstances are insufficient to

support a cause of action for a zoning change. (Village of

Euclid v. Ambler Realty Co. (1926) 272 U.S. 365, 384-385.)

DISPOSITION

The judgment (order of dismissal) is affirmed.

HANSON (Thaxton), J.

We concur:

SPENCER, P.J.

LILLIE, J.

NOT TO BE PUBLISHED

ey vo

In the Court of Appeal

of the State of California,

Second Appellate District,

Division One.

Frank M. Gilliland, Jr., et al.,

Plaintiffs and Appellants,

vs.

County of Los Angeles,

Defendant and Respondent.

2 Civ. No. 60960,

Super. Ct. No.107093

Filed December 10, 1981.

ORDER MODIFYING OPINION

CERTIFICATION FOR PUBLICATION

THE COURT: It is ordered that the opinion filed herein

on November 25, 1981, be modified in the following par-

ticular: At the end of the fifth line on page 9, add as foot-

note 1, the following:

Sections 120.18, 233.6, 242, 242.2, 242.3, 261.9

and 262 of the zoning ordinances of Los Angeles

County, Ordinance No. 1494, were attached as

Exhibits 1 and 2 to County’s brief on appeal.

Deputy County Counsel’s written motion for this

court to take judicial notice of the foregoing sec-

tions under California Evide. ze Code section

452, subdivision (b), was granted in open court

during oral argument on November 24, 1981.

atitin

The opinion in the above entitled matter filed on

November 25, 1981, was not certified for publication in the

Official Reports.

For good cause it now appears that the opinion should

be published in the Official Reports and it is so ordered.

ides

GILLILAND vs. COUNTY OF L.A.

Los Angeles, California,

December 17, 1981,

No. 60960.

Petition for Rehearing Denied.

eit

In the

Supreme Court of the

State of California,

En Bank.

Gilliland

vs.

The City of Palmdale, etc.,

2d District,

Division 1,

Civil No. 59028.

ORDER DENYING HEARING

AFTER JUDGMENT BY THE

COURT OF APPEAL

Filed February 10, 1982.

Appellant’s petition for hearing DENIED.

The Reporter of Decisions is directed not to publish in

the Official Reports the opinion in the above entitled cause

filed December 7, 1981 and appearing at 127 Cal.App.3d

26. (Cal. Const., Art., VI, section 14; Rule 976, Cal.

Rules of Court.) Bird, C.J., is of the view that the opinion

should remain published.

eiiitie:

CLERK’S OFFICE, SUPREME COURT

4250 State Building

SAN FRANCISCO, CALIFORNIA 94102

Feb 10, 1982

I have this day filed Order

HEARING DENIED

In re: 2 Civ. No. 60960 Frank M. Gilliland, Jr. vs.

County of Los Angeles

Respectfully,

Clerk

In the Superior Court

of the State of California

for the County of Los Angeles.

Robert J. Gilliland,

Plaintiff,

vs.

The City of Palmdale,

Defendant

Case No. C 107 092.

Filed September 12, 1979.

JUDGMENT ON THE PLEADINGS

The motion of Defendant for a judgment on the

pleadings came on regularly for hearing on July 18, 1979.

Jerrold A. Fadem appeared as counsel for Plaintiff, and A.

Donald Long appeared as counsel for Defendant. After

said hearing a minute order was entered granting said

motion without leave to amend. The Court having reviewed

and considered the pleadings and outline of evidence as

presented by counsel for Plaintiff, rules that there has been

no taking or damaging of Plaintiff’s property.

WHEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND

DECREED that Plaintiff take nothing and that Defendant

not recover its costs herein.

Dated: Sept. 12, 1979

/S/ Thomas W. LeSage

Judge of the Superior Court

a Se

In the Superior Court of California,

County of Los Angeles.

Frank M. Gilliland, Jr., et al,

Plaintiffs,

vs.

County of Los Angeles, et al.,

Defendants.

Case No. C-107093.

Filed November 8, 1979.

ORDER OF DISMISSAL OF FIRST

AMENDED COMPLAINT

Good cause appearing therefor, the above entitled action

is hereby dismissed under the provisions of Section 583-c of

the Code of Civil Procedure as to the First Amended Com-

plaint.

Dated: Nov. 8, 1979

/S/ A. E. Early

Judge

~

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL

SECOND APPELLATE DISTRICT

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

2nd Civil No. 59028

Filed March 5, 1982

ROBERT J. GILLILAND,

Plaintiff and APPELLANT,

vs.

THE CITY OF PALMDALE, a municipal corporation,

Defendant and RESPONDENT.

NOTICE OF APPEAL TO THE

SUPREME CGURT OF THE

UNITED STATES

Appeal From Superior Court of Los Angeles County

Hon. Thomas W. LeSage

Notice is hereby given that Appellant Robert Gilliland

hereby appeals to the Supreme Court of the United States

from the decision of the California Court of Appeal

entered in this action on December 7, 1981 and as to which

the California Supreme Court denied hearing on Febru-

ary 10, 1982.

This appeal is taken pursuant to 28 USC §1257(2).

FADEM, BERGER & NORTON

MICHAEL M. BERGER

Attorneys for Appellant

ait in

PROOF OF SERVICE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA )

>» &

COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES )

I am a citizen of the United States and a resident of the

county aforesaid. | am over the age of 18 years and not a

party to the above entitled action; my business address is

501 Santa Monica Boulevard, Santa Monica, California.

On March 5, 1982 I served the within NOTICE OF AP-

PEAL TO THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED

STATES on the interested parties in said action by placing

a true copy thereof in a sealed envelope with postage

thereon fully prepaid in the United States mail at Santa

Monica, California addressed as follows:

James S. Kostas

Kostas & Epson

44540 North 10th Street

Lancaster, CA 93534

Clerk, California Supreme Court

4250 State Building

455 Golden Gate Avenue

San Francisco, CA 91401

Superior Court for the County of Los Angeles

For the Hon. Alexander Early, III

111 North Hill Street

Los Angeles, CA 90012

All parties requ. to be served have been served.

I declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is

true and correct. Executed on this Sth day of March 1982

at Santa Monica, California.

JACQUELYNN TOLLEFSON

a s

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL

SECOND APPELLATE DISTRICT

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

2nd. Civil No. 60960

Filed March 5, 1982

FRANK M. GILLILAND, JR., et al.,

Plaintiffs and APPELLANTS,

vs.

COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES,

Defendants and RESPONDENTS.

NOTICE OF APPEAL TO THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE

UNITED STATES

Notice is hereby given that Appellants Frank M.

Gilliland, et al. hereby appeal to the Supreme Court of the

United States from the decision of the California Court of

Appeal entered in this action on November 25, 1981 and as

to which the California Supreme Court denied hearing on

February 10, 1982.

This appeal is taken pursuant to 28 USC §1257(2).

FADEM, BERGER & NORTON

MICHAEL M. BERGER

Attorneys for Appellants

~ yo

PROOF OF SERVICE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA )

) ss.

COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES )

I am a citizen of the United States and a resident of the

county aforesaid. I am over the age of 18 years and not a

party to the above entitled action; my business address is

501 Santa Monica Boulevard, Santa Monica, California.

On March 5, 1982 I served the within NOTICE OF AP-

PEAL TO THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED

STATES on the interested parties in said action by placing

a true copy thereof in a sealed envelope with postage

thereon fully prepaid in the United States mail at Santa

Monica, California addressed as follows:

John H. Larson, County Counsel

Paul T. Hanson, Deputy County Counsel

648 Hall of Administration

500 West Temple Street

Los Angeles, CA 90012

Superior Court for the County of Los Angeles

For the Hon. Alexander Early, III

111 North Hili Street

Los Angeles, CA 90012

Clerk: California Supreme Court

4250 State Building

455 Golden Gate Avenue

San Francisco, CA 91401

atin

All parties required to be served have been served.

I declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is

true and correct.

Executed on this Sth day of March 1982 at Santa

Monica, California.

JACQUELYNN TOLLEFSON

Section 32.02 Principal Uses Permitted

Premises in Zone A-2 may be used for:

A. The following principal uses provided that all

buildings or structures shall be located not less

than fifty (50) feet from any street, highway or

any building used for human habitation:

1. Animal hospitals.

2. Animal raising, including such animals

as poultry, fowl, birds, rabbits, chin-

chilla, nutria, mice, frogs, fish, bees,

earthworms and other similar animals

of a comparable nature, form and size

including hatching, fattening,

marketing, sale, slaughter, dressing,

processing, and packing, including

eggs, honey or similar products derived

therefrom.

3. Animal training schools.

Kennels, dog and cat.

5. Veterinary offices.

B. The following principal uses:

1. Camps, youth.

2. Camp grounds, picnic areas, trails with

overnight camping facilities, including

fishermen’s and hunters’ camps but not

including structures for permanent

human occupancy.

3. Crops, field, tree, bush, berry and row,

including nursery stock, the growing

of.

—M-2—

Dwellings, one-family.

5. Electric distribution and_ electric

transmission substations including

microwave facilities in conjunction

therewith, provided such use is not

established within fifteen hundred

(1,500) feet of any public building,

park, school or residential zone.

6. Mushroom farms.

7. Oil wells pursuant to the provisions of

Article 91 (Regulation of Principal

Uses Permitted).

8. Parking lots as a supplemental use on

lots or parcels of land adjoining or

across an alley from any commercial or

manufacturing zone, pursuant to the

provisions of Article 91 (Regulation of

Principal Uses Permitted).

The following additional principal uses on a lot

or parcel of land having an area of not less than

five (5) acres:

1. Breeding farms for the selective or ex-

perimental breeding of cattle, sheep, or

horses or the raising and training of

horses or show cattle and sheep.

2. Community auction grounds, exclusive-

ly for the sale of agricultural pioducts.

3. Livestock sales yards.

Logging operations, involving only the

actual controlled cutting and removing

of trees with no sawmill operations.

6.

=

Raising of cattle, sheep, goats and

horses.

Riding academies and stables with

boarding of horses.

D. The following additional principal uses on a lot

or parcel of land having an area of not less than

ten (10) acres:

Dairies, including the processing and

sale of dairy products from milk

lawfully produced on the premises.

Livestock feed yards.

Manure, the spreading, drying and sale

of, providing no shaking or pulverizing

machinery is used in connection

therewith.

E. Other similar uses which the Commission finds to

fall within the intent and purpose of this Zone,

will not be more obnoxious or materially

detrimental to the public welfare or to property

in the vicinity of said uses and which the Com-

mission finds to be of a comparable nature and

of the same class as the uses enumerated in this

Section.

Section 32.03 Accessory Uses Permitted

Premises in Zone A-2 may he used for accessory uses, pro-

vided such uses are established on the same lot or parcel of

land, are incidental to, and do not substantially alter the

character of any permitted principal use, including but not

limited to:

caliittin

Accessory buildings or structures other than for

the housing, nurture or confinement of animals

including but not limited to:

a. Private garages, carports and children’s

playhouses.

b. Tool houses, lathhouses and

greenhouses.

c. Windmills, silos, tank houses, buildings

or shelters for farm equipment or

machinery, water wells, water reservoirs

and storage tanks.

c. Stands for the purpose of displaying

and selling agricultural products lawful-

ly produced on the property, subject to

the following conditions:

(1) Floor area shall not exceed three

hundred (300) square feet.

(2) Not to exceed one (1) stand on a

lot or parcel of land.

Accessory buildings or structures required for the

housing, nurture, confinement or storage of

animals, lawfully permitted or produced on the

premises, provided such buildings or structures

are located not less than fifty (50) feet from any

street, highway or any building used for human

habitation or residential zone.

Accessory signs as permitted in subsection F of

Section 32.06.

Building materials, storage of, used in the con-

struction of a building or building project, during

ait Bun

construction and thirty (30) days thereafter, in-

cluding the contractor’s temporary office, pro-

vided that any lot or parcel of land so used shall

be a part of the building project or on property

adjoining the construction site.

5. A caretaker’s residence, where the legally

established use requires the continuous supervi-

sion of a caretaker or superintendent, if occupied

only by such persons and their families.

6. Cattle, goats, hogs or sheep, not to exceed two

(2) such animals on a lot or parcel of land having

an area of not less than twenty thousand (20,000)

square feet, providing a dwelling unit is located

thereon, and that such animals are not kept or

housed within fifty (50) feet of any street,

highway or any building used for human habita-

tion.

7 A guest house.

8. Horses on a lot or parcel of land having an area

of not less than twenty thousand (20,00) square

feet, provided that said horses are kept or main-

tained for the private use of members of the

family residing on the premises, but in no event

more than one (1) such horse for each ten thou-

sand (10,00) square feet of lot area, and that

such horses are not kept or housed within fifty

(50) feet of any street, highway, or any building

used for human habitation.

9. Pets, household, provided that not to exceed

three (3) mammals over four (4) months of age

are kept for each dwelling unit.

10. Wild animals as specifically provided herein:

a

The following being permitted, provided such

animals are kept and maintained at a place where

the keeping of domestic animals is permitted:

BRENSK ESET YT ApoB EK ReS HK rR me ao ge

eB

Alpacas

Anoas

Antelopes

Armadilloes

Badgers

Beavers

Camels

Canaries

Chamoises

Chinchillas

Chipmunks

Cockateels

Deer

Finches

Foxes

Giraffes

Gopher snakes

Guinea pigs

Hamsters

Hawks

Kangaroos

King snakes

. . Koalas

Llamas

Marmosett monkeys

Minks

. Otters

. Ostriches

. Parrots and other birds of the psit-

tacine family

Peacocks

Porcupines

To

af. Prairie dogs

ag. Raccoons

ah. Reindeer

ai. Seals

aj. Squirrel monkeys

ak. Tropical fish excluding caribe

al. Turtles

am. Wallabies

an. White mice

ao. White rats

ap. Zebras

aq. Other similar animals which, in the

opinion of the Commission, are neither

more obnoxious or detrimental to the

public welfare than the animals

enumerated in this Section.

Section 32.04 Uses Subject to Director’s

Review and Approval

Premises in Zone A-2 may be used for the following pur-

poses subject to review and approval by the Director, pur-

suant to the provisions of Article 105 (Site Plan Review):

1. Access to property lawfully used for purposes not

permitted in Zone A-2, provided no other prac-

tical access to such property is available, and

such access will not alter the character of the

premises in respect to permitted uses in Zone

A-2.

2. Christmas trees and wreaths, the sale of, bet-

ween December 1 and December 25, both dates

inclusive, to the extent permitted by other

statutory and ordinance provisions. Any struc-

tures, facilities and materials used for the sale of

Te

trees and wreaths shall be removed from the premises by

December 31 of the same calendar year, and the property

restored to a neat condition.

3. Colleges and universities, including appurtenant

facilities, giving advanced academic instruction

approved by the State Board of Education or

other recognized accrediting agency, but ex-

cluding trade or commercial schools.

Communication equipment buildings.

Country clubs.

Day care for children, family home.

Electric distribution and electric transmission

substations including microwave facilities in con-

junction therewith, except as otherwise provided

in Section 32.02.

8. Fishing and casting ponds.

9. Golf courses.

10. Homes for aged persons, foster family.

11. Homes for children, foster family.

12. Microwave stations.

13. Parks, playgrounds and beaches, publicly owned,

with all appurtenant facilities customarily found

or permitted in conjunction therewith.

14. Riding and hiking trails.

15. Schools, through grade twelve (12), accredited,

including appurtenant facilities, which offer in-

struction required to be taught by the Education

Code of the State of California, in which no

pupil is physically restrained, but excluding trade

or commercial schools.

FF

16.

17.

Section 32.05 Uses by Conditional Use Permit

Premises in Zone A-2 may be used for the following pur-

poses, provided a permit has first been obtained, pursuant

to the provisions of Article 102 (Variances and Conditional

—M-9—

Ski lifts, tows, runs and warming huts.

Storage, temporary, of materials and construc-

tion equipment used in construction or

maintenance of streets and highways, sewers,

storm drains, underground conduits, flood con-

trol works, pipe lines and similar uses.

Telephone Repeater stations.

Use Permits):

e¥ PPP

9.

Agricultural workers’ living quarters, for persons

employed and deriving the major portion of their

income from employment on the premises.

Airports.

Bus terminals, storage and rental.

Cemeteries.

Churches, temples or other places used exclu-

sively for religious worship, pursuant to the pro-

visions of Article 94 (Regulation of Uses Estab-

lished by Conditional Use Permit).

Circus winter quarters.

Convents and monasteries.

Correctional institutions including jails, farms

and camps.

Day care for children, special home.

10. Day nurseries, children.

12.

—M-10—

Electric generating plants, including microwave

facilities in conjunction therewith.

Fairgrounds of a public character, when per-

manently located, including such commercial uses

as are normally accessory or appurtenant thereto.

Farm equipment repair shops.

Farm labor camps, established to serve as tem-

porary housing for migrant and temporary

workers and their immediate families.

. Fertilizer plants.

Fire stations.

Fruit and vegetable packing plant.

Gas measurement stations.

Golf driving ranges.

Guest ranches.

Heliports.

Helistops.

Hog ranches.

Homes for aged persons, small group care.

Homes for children, special boarding.

Hospitals.

Institutions for aged persons, private.

Institutions for children, private.

Lard reclamation projects pursuant to the provi-

sions of Article 94 (Regulation of Uses Estab-

lished by Conditional Use Permit).

Libraries.

. Lodge halls.

32.

Menageries.

33.

$1.

52.

53.

—M-l1—

Mobilehome parks pursuant to the provisions of

Article 94 (Regulation of Uses Established by

Conditional Use Permit).

Museums.

. Nursery schools, pre-school children.

Observatories.

Police stations.

Post office.

Private clubs.

Public utility service centers.

. Race tracks.

. Radio and television stations and towers, but not

including studios.

. Revival meetings, tent.

Rifle, pistol or skeet ranges.

. Road construction and maintenance yards.

Rodeos.

. Sawmills, only in conjunction with logging opera-

tions.

Solid fill projects.

Theaters, drive-in.

Water reservoirs, dams, treatment plants, gaging

stations, pumping stations, and any use normal

and appurtenant to the storage and distribution

of water, other than as provided in Section

32.03.

Wild animal exhibitions.

Wild animals, the keeping of either individually

or collectively for private or commercial purposes

except as otherwise provided in Section 32.03.

Zoos.

unifies

Section 242 Zone A-2 (Heavy Agriculture)

-Permitted Uses

Premises in Zone A-2 may be used for:

A. The following uses:

1. Residence, single family.

2. Crops, field, tree, bush, berry, and row

including nursery stock.

3. Day care for children, family homes.

Homes for aged persons, foster family.

5. Homes for children, foster family.

B. The following agricultural uses provided all

buildings or structures used in connection

therewith shall be located not less than fifty (50)

feet from any street or highway or any building

used or designed for human habitation.

1. Animal hospitals.

2. Animal shelters and pounds.

3. Aquaria.

4. Dairies, including the processing and

sale of dairy products from milk

lawfully produced on the premises on a

lot or parcel of land having an area of

not less than ten (10) acres.

5. Dog kennels.

. Dog training schools.

7. Feed mills on a lot or parcel of land

with an area of not less than five (5)

acres.

8. Greenhouses on a lot or parcel of land

with an area of not less than one (1)

acre.

10.

12.

13.

14.

—_N-2—

Hogs, the maintenance of not to exceed

five (5) weaned hogs or pigs, subject to

the requirements of Section 233 C.

Livestock feed yards on a lot or parcel

of land having an area of not less than

ten (10) acres.

Livestock sales yards on a lot or parcel

of land having an area of not less than

five (5) acres.

Manure, the spreading, drying and sale

of, provided no shaking or pulverizing

machinery is used in connection

therewith on a lot or parcel of land

having an area of not less than ten (10)

acres

Mushroom farms.

The raising of horses and other equine,

cattle, sheep and goats, including the

breeding and training of such animais,

on a lot or parcel of land having an

_ area of not less than one (1) acre, pro-

vided that

a. On lots or parcels of land

having ai‘ area of less than

five (5) acres, eight (8) such

animals may be kept or

maintained per acre in con-

junction with such use, and

b. On lots or parcels of land

having an area of five (5)

acres Or more, there shall be

no limitation as to ihe

number of such animals

=i.3.-

which may be kept or maintain-

ed in conjunction with such

use.

15. Raising of poultry, fowl, birds, rabbits,

chinchilla, nutria, mice, frogs, fish,

bees, earthworms, and other similar

animals of comparable nature, form

and size including hatching, fattening,

marketing, sale, slaughtering, dressing,

processing and packing, and including

eggs, honey or similar products derived

therefrom, on a lot or parcel of land

with an area of not less than one (1)

acre.

16. Riding academies and stables with the

boarding of horses on a lot or parcel of

land having an area of not less than

five (5) acres.

17. Riding and hiking trails, but excluding

trails for motor vehicles.

18. Veterinary.

The following uses provided they are located at

least three hundred (300) feet from any public

park, or any area in any residential zone:

1. Fairgrounds of a public character,

when permanently located, including

such commercial uses as are normally

accessory Or appurtenant thereto.

Fruit and vegetable packing plants.

3. Linseed, cottonseed, and coconut oil

processing plants.

—N-4—

D. The following additional uses:

Campgrounds, picnic areas, trails with

overnight camping facilities, including

fishermen’s and hunters’ camps but not

including structures for permanent

human occupancy.

Camps, youth.

Logging operations, involving only the

actual controlled cutting and removing

of trees with no sawmill operations.

Oil wells including the installation and

use of such equipment, structures, and

facilities as are necessary or convenient

for all drilling and producing opera-

tions customarily required or incidental

to usual oil field practice, including but

not limited to, the initial separation of

oil, gas and water, and for the storage,

handling, recycling and transportation

of such oil, gas and water to and from

the premises. This subsection does not

permit refineries or absorption plants.

The use permitted by this subsection is

subject to the following conditions, ex-

cept that by specific action in each in-

stance the Commission may waive or

modify any one or more of such condi-

tions if it finds that such waiver or

modification wil] not result in material

detrimental to the public welfare or to

the property of other persons located in

the vicinity thereof:

-

Drilling shall not be within

three hundred (300) feet of any

residemce, except the resilience

of the owner of the land on

which the well is located and

except a residence located on

land which, at the time of the

drilling of the well, is under

lease to the person drilling the

well.

If the drilling is within five hun-

dred (500) feet of one or more

residences except the residence

of the owner of the land on

which the well is located and

except a residence located on

land which, at the time of the

drilling of the well is under

lease to the person drilling the

well, that:

(1) All derricks used in con-

nection with the drilling of the

well shali be enclosed with fire-

resistant and sound-proofing

material unless the heads of all

families occupying any

residence within 1320 feet (one-

quartcr mile) of the drilling site,

other than of a_ residence

described at the beginning of

this paragraph b., files a written

waiver with the Commission.

‘

eititia.

(2) All drilling and pumping

equipment shall be operated by

muffled internal combustion

engines or by electric motors.

(3) Materials, equipment,

tools, or pipe used for either

drilling or producing operations

at the well hole shall not be

delivered to or removed from

the drilling site except between

the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 6:00

p.m. of any day, except in case

of emergency.

The derrick used pursuant to

this section to drill any well

hole or to repair, clean out,

deepen or redrill any completed

or drilling well, shall be remov-

ed within ninety days after com-

pletion or abandonment of any

well.

Within ninety days after aban-

donment of any well, earthen

sumps used in drilling or pro-

duction, or both, shall be filled

and the drilling site restored as

nearly as practicable to its

original condition.

Any unattended earthen sump

located within 1320 feet (one-

quarter mile) of the nearest

highway or within 2640 feet

(one-half mile) of 20 or more

residences shall be enclosed with

—_N-7—

a fence not less than five (5)

feet high mounted on steel posts

with not less than three (3)

strands of barbed wire around

the top. Such fence shall be

constructed of woven wire fenc-

ing or equivalent of not greater

than six (6) inch mesh.

When private roads to wells are

constructed, that portion of

such roads lying within two

hundred (200) feet of an oiled

or surfaced public highway, or

of an existing residence, shall be

oiled or surfaced.

A well hole, derrick, or tank

shall not be placed within twen-

ty (20) feet of any public

highway.

Except as provided in Section

243, a faithful performance

bond of two thousand dollars

($2,000.00) shall be filed with

the Board of Supervisors for

each well for the first five (5)

wells. Where more than five

wells are drilled, ten thousand

dollars ($10,000.00) in bonds

shall be the total required of all

oil operators. Either such bond

shall include as obligees all per-

sons who may be damaged or

annoyed by such use or a policy

of insurance shall be filed with

alin

the Board of Supervisors having

a maximum amount of recovery

not less than the amounts re-

quired of a bond, directly insur-

ing all persons who may be

damaged or annoyed by such

use.

All drilling and producing

operations shall conform to all

applicable fire and _ safety

regulations.

Not more than two (2) produc-

tion tanks, neither to exceed

one thousand (1,000) barrels

capacity, shall remain on the

premises following completion

of production tests at each well,

provided however, that this

condition shall not restrict the

maintenance of additional tanks

for storage and shipping.

Proven technological im-

provements in drilling and pro-

duction methods shall be

adopted as they may become,

from time to time, available if

capable of reducing factors of

nuisance and annoyance.

All drilling and production

operations shall be conducted in

such a manner as not to con-

stitute a public nuisance.

—T eo

m. Signs shall not be constructed,

erected, maintained, or placed

on the premises or any part

thereof, except those required

by law or ordinance to be

displayed in connection with the

drilling or maintenance of the

well.

n. Suitable and adequate sanitary

toilet and washing facilities shall

be installed and maintained to a

clean and sanitary condition at

all times.

5. Parks, playgrounds and beaches with

all appurtenant facilities customarily

found in conjunction therewith.

6. Youth hostels.

Section 242.1 Zone A-2 - Accessory Uses

Property in Zone A-2 may be used for:

A. The following accessory uses subject to the same

limitations and conditions provided in Section

207.3. (Zone R-1):

1. Accessory buildings and structures.

2. Animals, domestic and wild, maintain-

ed or kept as pets or for personal use

as provided in Article 12 , of Chapter

we

3. Building materials, storage of.

Detached living quarters for guests or

servants.

5. Living quarters for servants, attached

to such residence.

6.

B. Stands for the display and sale of any products,

the production of which is permitted in Zone A-2

by Section 242, and which have lawfully been

produced on such lot or parcel of land provided:

4.

—N-10—

Room rentals.

That said stand shall be exclusively of

wood frame construction (except the

floor).

That said stand shall have a floor area

of not more than three hundred (300)

square feet.

That said stand shall be located not

nearer than twenty (20) feet from any

street or highway upon which such lot

or parcel fronts or adjacent residences.

That said stand will be on a parcel of

land not less than one (1) acre in area.

C. Signs as provided in Article 7 of Chapter 7.

Section 242.2 Zone A-2 - Uses Subject to

Director’s Review and Approval

If site plans therefor are first submitted to and approved

by the Director, premises in Zone A-2 may be used for:

A. The following uses.subject to the same limita-

tions and conditions provided in Section 207.5

(Zone R-1):

Access to property lawfully used for a

purpose not permitted in Zone A-2.

Carnivals, temporary.

Grading projects, off-site transport.

—

Mobilehomes used as a residence dur-

ing construction.

Model homes.

Parking iots as a transitional use.

Real estate tract offices, temporary.

following additional uses:

Christmas trees and wreaths, the sale

of, between December 1 and December

25, both dates inclusive,to the extent

permitted by other statutory and or-

dinance provisions. Any structures,

facilities and materials used for the sale

of trees and wreaths shall be removed

from the premises by December 31 of

the same calendar year, and the proper-

ty restored to a neat condition.

Day nurseries, children, where operated

in conjunction with and incidental to a

legally established accredited school of-

fering instruction required to be taught

by the Education Code of the State of

California.

Schools, through grade twelve (12) ac-

credited, including appurtenant

facilities, which offer instructivn re-

quired to be taught in the public

schools by the Education Code of the

State of California in which no pupil is

physically restrained but excluding

trade or co:amercial schools.

Signs as provided in Article 7 of

Chapter 7.

—N-12—

Section 242.3 Zone A-2 - Uses Subject to Per-

mits

Property in Zone A-2 may be used for:

A. The following uses provided a conditional use

permit has first been obtained as provided in

Article 1, Chapter 5 and while such permit is in

full force and effect in conformity with the con-

ditions of such permit for:

1. Airports.

2. Amphiteaters having a seating capacity

of not to exceed five hundred (500)

seats, but excluding drive-in theaters.

3. Arboretums and horticultural gardens.

Athletic fields, excluding stadiums.

5. Churches, temples or other places used

exclusively for religious worship includ-

ing customary incidental educational

and social activities in conjunction

therewith.

Circus winter quarters.

Communication equipment buildings.

Convents and monasteries.

Correctional institutions including jails,

farms, and camps.

10. Day care for children, special homes.

11. Day nurseries, children, except as

otherwise provided in Section 242.2.

12. Earth stations.

13. Electric distribution substations, elec-

tric transmission substations, and

7 Ff * @

23.

25.

—N-13—

generating plants including microwave

facilities used in conjunction with any

one thereof.

Farm equipment repair shops.

Farm equipment, storage, sales and

rental.

Farm labor camps.

Fertilizer plants.

Fire stations.

Gas metering and control stations,

public utility.

Golf courses including the customary

clubhouse and appurtenant facilities.

. Golf driving range.

Grading projects, off-site transport,

where more than one hundred thou-

sand (100,000) cubic yards of material

is to be transported, subject to the con-

ditions and limitations of Sections

501.14 and 501.15.

Grading project, on-site but excluding

projects where the Commission or the

Board of Supervisors have previously

considered such grading proposal as in-

dicated by approval of an Environmen-

tal Document incorporating considera-

tion of such grading project.

Grange halls.

Guest ranches.

S&S 8

41.

42.

—N-14—

Heavy equipment training school on a

lot or parcel of land having an area of

not less than one hundred (100) acres.

. Health retreats subject to the condi-

tions of Section 246.

Heliports.

Helistops.

Homes for aged persons, small group

care.

. Homes for children, special boarding.

Hospitals.

. Institutions for aged persons, private.

Intitutions for children, private.

Juvenile halls.

Land reclamation projects.

Tanding strips.

cibraries.

Living quarters for persons employed

and deriving a major portion of their

income on the premises, if occupied by

such persons and their immediate

families.

Menageries, zoos, animal exhibitions or

other similar facilities for the keeping

or maintaining of wild animals, except

as otherwise provided in Section 242.5.

Microwave stations.

Mobilehome parks subject to the condi-

tions of Article 13 of Chapter 7.

43.

45.

—N-15—

Mobilhomes for use by a caretaker and

his immediate family in accordance

with Article 13 of Chapter 7.

Mobilhomes used as a residence of the

owner and his family during the con-

struction by such owner of a perma-

nent single family residence but only

while a building permit for the con-

struction of such residence is in full

force and effect and in no event longer

than one (1) year in addition to that

provided for in Section 242.2.

Motion picture sets, including the tem-

porary use of domestic and wild

animals in motion picture and televi-

sion production, provided the said

animals are kept or maintained pur-

suant to all regulations of the Los

Angeles County Department of Animal

Control, and are not retained on the

premises for a period exceeding sixty

(60) days. The Director may extend

such time period for not to exceed thir-

ty (30) additional days subject to the

provisions of Article 8 (Director’s

Review) of Chapter 5.

Museums.

. Nudist camps.

Observatories.

Outdoor festivals.

Pest control operations.

. Plant nursery retail subject to the con-

ditions of Section 246.

52.

53.

$5.

57.

58.

59.

61.

—N-16—

Police stations.

Publicly owned uses necessary to the

maintenance of the public nealth, con-

venience or general welfare in addition

to those specifically listed in this Sec-

tion.

Public utility service centers.

Public utility service yards.

Radio and television stations and

towers, but not including studios.

Recreation clubs, private, including

tennis, polo and swimming. Where

specifically designated a part of an ap-

proved conditional use permit such use

may include a pro shop, restaurant and

bar as appurtenant uses.

Recreational trailer parks on a lot or

parcel of land having an area of not

less than five (5) acres as provided in

Article 13 of Chapter 7.

Refreshment stands operated in con-

junction with and intended to serve the

patrons of a use permitted in Zone

A-2, but not as a separate enterprise.

Residence, caretaker’s - A conditional

use permit may be granted for a

caretaker’s residence even though the

number of existing residences on the lot

or parcel of land is the maximum

number permitted as of course by Sec-

tion 702.7.

Revival meetings, tent.

SS 8

71.

72.

73.

74.

75.

76.

= =

Rifle, pistol, skeet or trap ranges.

Road construction and maintenance

yards.

Rodeos, but not including horse racing.

. Sawmills, only in conjunction with log-

ging Operations.

Sewage treatment plants.

. Signs as provided in Article 7 of

Chapter 7.

Solid fill projects.

Stations, bus, railroad, taxi.

Storage, temporary, of materials and

construction equipment used in con-

struction or maintenence of streets and

highways, sewers, storm drains,

underground conduits, flood control

works, pipe lines and similar used for a

period not to exceed one (1) year.

Subdivision directional signs subject to

the limitations and conditions of Arti-

cle 6 of Chapter 5.

Telephone repeater stations.

Terminals, bus and railroad.

Theaters, drive-in.

Theaters, Amphitheaters having a

seating capacity of not to exceed five

hundred (500) seats, but exluding drive-

in theaters.

Water reservoirs, dams, treatment

plants, gaging stations, pumping sta-

tions, tanks, wells and any use normal

—N-18—

and appurtenant to the storage and

distribution of water.

77. Wild animals, the keeping of either in-

dividually or coliectively for private or

commercial purposes except as other-

wise provided in Section 242.5.

B. The following uses provided the specified permit

has first been obtained, and while such permit is

in full force and effect in conformity with the

conditions of such permit for:

1. Cemeteries as provided in Article 4 of

Chapter 5.

2. Explosives storage as provided in Arti-

cle 5 of Chapter 5.

3. Mobilehomes, individual placement of

a mobilehome containing one (1) dwell-

ing unit in lieu of a single family

residence on a lot or parcel of land

having as a condition of use the area

requirement of the zone but in no case

with an area of less than two and one-

half (2 1/2) acres as provided in Article

12 of Chapter 5.

4. Surface mining operations as provided

in Article 11 of Chapter 5.

0} UONOW

Supreme Court, U.S,

FILED

APR 19 1962

DER L. STEVAS

No. 81-1700 ——«_

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 198!

ROBERT J. GILLILAND, et al.,

Appellants,

vs.

Ciry OF PALMDALE and County OF Los ANGELES,

Appellees.

On Appeal From the Supreme Court of California.

MOTION TO DISMISS APPEAL

OR AFFIRM.

JOHN H. LARSON,

County Counsel,

PAUL T. HANSON,

Deputy County Counsel,

648 Hall of Administration,

500 West Temple Street,

Los Angeles, Calif. 90012,

(213) 974-1841,

Attorneys for Appellee,

County of Los Angeles.

Parker & Son, Inc., Law Printers, Los Angeles. Phone 724-6622

Question Presented.

If a property owner buys a piece of unimproved land then

zoned for agricultural and other uses and, there having been

no change of zone and no improvement in the meantime,

later requests that the zoning of his parcel be changed to

allow commercial uses; and if the market value of the prop-

erty would be substantially increased were it to be adver-

tisable as zoned for commercial uses; and if the local leg-

islative body denies the change of zone because no need

exists for commercially zoned land at the location and be-

cause future commercial use would be inconsistent with the

present and future use of a nearby developed and improved

parcel devoted to aircraft construction and airport opera-

tions; has the local governmental entity, by denying a change

of zone which would substantially increase the market value

of the subject, taken it without just compensation in violation

of the Fifth Amendment?

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

UII 01. 4 ioc ctliniiiceneevecsoossasasoseeceesupena

NCE CIID dedcsisdceccsnsccvepnicsosndecssedeeses

PED 0 ccs cccivessccccescecesvscccccscssccesssscscescaseses

I.

If No Taking Without Compensation Has Been

Pleaded the Issue of Remedies Is Not Raised .....

Il.

The Existence of a Right in Real Property Is a Ques-

le I ID hiinccencncccssvcnseceveccncssensectis

Ill.

The Owner of Undeveloped Real Property Has No

Vested Right in the Zoning in Effect at the Time

of Purchase, Much Less a Right to a Change to a

Ie WED HII Sp nccccsedccscscoscoconeeesieses

IV.

A Property Owner Has No Right to Have His Property

Zoned so as to Maximize Its Market Value .......

V

When a Zoning Ordinance Is Facially Constitutional,

There Can Be No Taking by Land-Use Regulation

Unless There Is a Denial of a Development Plan

VI.

IIE ‘dincicsiennddindetccercrecssdininsmeeszenseees

INDEX TO APPENDICES

Appendix |. First Amended Complaint for Inverse

SII icdtiekdassdetnesecoesrsscséusonies App. p.

Appendix 2. Section 262. Zone CPD (Commercial

PE COTE cc ccccccccccsccsccsscesveccossesces

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Agins v. Tiburon, 24 Cal.3d 266, 157 Cal.Rptr. 372

SUN thst tanilaticbbddalbdMainadeddcsncgénnicaseakinsetens 4

Agins v. Tiburon, 447 U.S. 255 (1980) .......... 4,6, 7

Avco Community Developers, Inc. v. South Coast Re-

gional Commission, 17 Cal.3d 785, 132 Cal.Rptr.

386 (1976), cert. den., 429 U.S. 1083 (1978) ...... 5

Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564 (1972) ...... 5

Deltona Corp. v. United States, 657 F.2d 1184 (Ct.Cl.

SINE? dieishindhdmaineiicaiilidimnlih dtcindnibbiikeeehieadicgies 6

Eastlake v. Forest City Enterprises, Inc., 426 U.S. 668

UU -dadeaNenipihbmbidabacddatskudisisesssinteeviinceneseine 5

Ellentuck v. Klein, 570 F.2d 414 (2nd Cir. 1978) .... 5

Gilliland v. County of Los Angeles, 126 Cal.App.3d

GE BP GAR: FD CHUGED cecsnccccccvesvesecsses 2, 4

Hilltop Properties v. State of California, 233 Cal.App.2d

SOD, 43 Cal Rote. GES (IDES) ........ccceccccccceseveess 5

Oceanic California, Inc. v. City of San Jose, 497

P.2aep. S62 C6.D. Cab: 19GB). ...ccccccccccscccecsscees 5

Penn Central Transp. Co. v. City of New York, 438

SA NUE sivteilakahiblenbtictsdcnnstunctvudeiawedeins 6

Rodic v. Thistledown Racing Club, Inc., 615 F.2d 736

EE TTD sdicudenbhatipdabasécesssscdnersipeoisianens 5

Trans-Oceanic Oil Corp. v. Santa Barbara, 85 Cal. App.2d

Fe ee PE GD icc sncsnscscnnsiccnndoneeidese 5

Village of Euclid v. Ambler Realty Co., 272 U.S. 365

REY Sib dhisdighdbbebiinideduiuactconsescedesssesenconainpas 6

iv

Constitution Page

United States Constitution, Fifth Amendment ....... i, 4

United States Constitution, Fourteenth Amendment ... 4

Statutes

Los Angeles Zoning Ordinance, Sec. 262(B) ....... 3, 7

Lnited States Code, Title 42, Sec. 1983 ................ 4

Textbook

37 American Law Reports 3d, p. 109 ..............00005 5

No. 81-1700

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1981

ROBERT J. GILLILAND, et al.,

Appellants,

vs.

City OF PALMDALE and COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES,

Appellees.

MOTION TO DISMISS APPEAL

OR AFFIRM.

Appellee, County of Los Angeles, moves that the appeal

herein be dimissed or alternatively that the judgment be

affirmed, on the grounds that:

1. No substantial federal question is raised because the

California decision is that no taking without compensation

is adequately pleaded;

2. The decision that no taking has been pleaded is based

on California law, an adequate non-federal basis;

3. Furthermore, the decision that no taking has been

pleaded under applicable law is in conformity with federal

cases, including leading cases on the taking issue decided

by this Court.

Statement of the Case.

This is an appeal from the sustaining of a general demurrer

without leave to amend after counsel for appellants repre-

sented that no substantially different facts could be pleaded.

= =

A copy of the First Amended Complaint for Inverse Con-

demnation, the dismissal of which is the subject of this

appeal, is attached as Appendix |.

The Court of Appeal of the State of California affirmed

the judgment of dismissal following the sustaining of de-

murrer because ‘‘[ujltimately, the Gillilands fail[ed] to al-

lege facts which constitute a taking of property.”’ See Ju-

risdictional Statement (hereafter *‘J.S.’’), Appendix D 8-9;

Gilliland v. County of Los Angeles, 126 Cal.App.3d 610,

617, 179 Cal.Rptr. 73, 78 (1981) (hereafter ‘*County

case’’).

The California Supreme Court reitised to grant a hearing.

J.S., Appendix H-1.

The Gillilands purchased the subject property of the

County appez| in 1967. It was then, and is now, zoned A-

2-5, which zoning allows agricultural and other uses, in-

cluding residential. See J.S., Appendix N 1-18.

The property was at all pertinent times, and is now, un-

improved and undeveloped.

In 1973 the Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors,

on appeal from the Regional Planning Commission of Los

Angeles County, denied the requested up-zoning of the sub-

ject property to ‘‘CPD,’’ commercial planned development.

The appellants contend that since the property would have

substantially greater market value if up-zoned to commercial

planned development, the denial of up-zoning constitutes

an uncompensated taking of the property by the County of

Los Angeles.

According to the First Amended Complaint, the reasons

for the denial of the up-zoning were that there was no need

for additional commercially zoned land in the area (see

Appendix 1-3) and that commercial development of the

subject property would be inconsistent with proposed future |

—

airport development and with existing and future airport

operations at Air Force Plant 42, an adjoining parcel which

was already improved and developed. See Appendix 1-3.

The appellants do not allege or contend that their purchase

in 1967 preceded the commencement of large scale aircraft

construction and airport operations at the nearby Air Force

Plant 42.

Appendix 2, attached hereto, is a copy of the applicable

County of Los Angeles zoning ordinance, pertaining to zone

CPD, the requested zoning, which was made the subject of

judicial notice by the California Court of Appeal. See J.S.,

Appendix E-1. Note that development of CPD-zoned prop-

erty (as opposed to sale) requires a conditional use permit

under section 262(B) of Appendix 2.

No application for a conditional use permit is pleaded in

the First Amended Complaint. See Appendix |.

‘titan

ARGUMENT.

I.

If No Taking Without Compensation Has Been Pleaded

the Issue of Remedies Is Not Raised.

In Agins v. Tiburon, 447 U.S. 255 (1980), this Court

said: ‘‘ Because no taking has occurred, we need not consider

whether a State may limit the remedies available to a person

whose land has been taken without just compensation.”’ /d.

at 263.

The California Court of Appeal, herein, held that there

had been no adequate pleading of a taking without com-

pensation. Gilliland v. County of Los Angeles, 126 Cal. App.3d

610, 617, 179 Cal.Rptr. 73, 78 (1981).

The trial court, herein, also, necessarily, made such a

ruling; because declaratory relief was prayed for in the First

Amended Complaint and this is a proper remedy for an

uncompensated taking by zoning activities under Agins v.

Tiburon, 24 Cal.3d 266, 276-77, 157 Cal.Rptr. 372, 378

(1979).

Since, it is very clear that a refusal to up-zone to a more

valuable zoning from a zoning that was in effect when the

plaintiff purchased the property, does not and should not

constitute an uncompensated taking, this Court should dis-

miss this appeal.

Appellants are here asking this Court to expressly over

rule Agins v. Tiburon, 24 Cal.3d 266, 157 Cal.Rptr. 372

(1979), as to remedies for uncompensated taking by zoning

activities even though they have not pleaded an uncompen-

sated taking.

Il.

The Existence of a Right in Real Property Is a Question

of State Law.

The Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments and the Civil

Rights Act, 42 U.S.C. $1983, do not create rights in prop-

erty. They protect rights in property arising from state law.

a

Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564, 577 (1972); Rodic

v. Thistledown Racing Club, Inc., 615 F.2d 736, 739 (6th

Cir. 1980); Ellentuck v. Klein, 570 F.2d 414, 429 (2nd Cir.

1978).

To state a cause of action for an uncompensated taking,

*‘an invasion or an appropriation of some valuable property

right’’ of the landowner must be pleaded. Hilltop Properties

v. State of California, 233 Cal.App.2d 349, 355-56, 43

Cal.Rptr. 605, 609 (1965); 37 A.L.R.3d 109.

Under the law of California and decisions of this Court

and lower federal courts a landowner has no right to a change

of zone from that in force at the time of purchase to a more

valuable zoning. Therefore, denial of such an upzoning

could not constitute a taking.

Il.

The Owner of Undeveloped Real Property Has No

Vested Right in the Zoning in Effect at the Time of

Purchase, Much Less a Right to a Change to a More

Valuable Zoning.

Under the common law of California and other states,

and decisions of this Court, the purchaser of undeveloped

land has no vested right in existing zoning, and certainly

no right to different and more valuable zoning than that

which attached at purchase. Eastlake v. Forest City Enter-

prises, Inc., 426 U.S. 668, 679 at fn. 13 (1976); Oceanic

California, Inc. v. City of San Jose, 497 F.Supp. 962, 974

(N.D. Cal. 1980); Avco Community Developers, Inc. v.

South Coast Regional Commission, 17 Cal.3d 785, 791,

132 Cal.Rptr. 386, 389-90 (1976), cert. den., 429 U.S.

1083 (1978); Trans-Oceanic Oil Corp. v. Santa Barbara,

85 Cal.App.2d 776, 782-98, 194 P.2d 148, 152-60 (1948).

Appellants cite no authority for the proposition that a

purchaser of undeveloped property in a ‘“‘holding zone’’ has

iliin

a vested right to a change to more valuable zoning. There

is no such language in the County’s ordinance. Such a rule

would render low density zoning of undeveloped land mean-

ingless and would remove the discretion of local planners

to regulate such land.

IV.

A Property Owner Has No Right to Have His Property

Zoned so as to Maximize Its Market Value.

It is well-established that a down- zoning which substan-

tially reduces the market value of a parcel does not, in itself,

constitute a taking. Penn Central Transp. Ce. v. City of

New York, 438 U.S. 104, 131 (1978). .

Therefore, refusal to up-zone and, thus, make the prop-

erty substantially more valuable, clearly is not a taking.

It is well-established that there is no right to have property

zoned to maximize its market value, or, in em

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Record and brief — Gilliland v. City of Palmdale · 456 U.S. 967 | Frix