Record and brief — Schiavo Bros. v. United States Gypsum Co.

Supreme Court brief1982

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

das,

UONed

.. STEVAS,

CLERK

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1981

SCHIAVO BROTHERS, INC.,

Petitioner

v.

UNITED STATES GYPSUM CO.,

Respondent

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Joun M. Exuiotr

2600 The Fidelity Building

Philadelphia, PA 19109

(215) 875-7000

Attorney for Petitioner

Schiavo Brothers, Inc.

Of Counsel:

Dir_wortn, Paxson, KALisH

& KAUFFMAN

ConsTANcE B. Foster

2600 The Fidelity Building

Philadelphia, PA 19109

International Printing Co., 711 So. SOth St., Phila., Pa, 19143— Tel. (215) 727-8711

QUESTION PRESENTED

The well-established and long-standing limitation of

appellate review contained in the Clearly Erroneous Rule

is ever increasingly being eroded by the Courts of Appeals’

transparent recourse to mislabelling a factual finding as

“ultimate fact” or a “mixed question of law and fact” and

thus subject to plenary review.

Legal commentators, the practicing bar, as well as

judges of the federal courts have noted with increasing

alarm that the appellate courts’ expanding license to

substitute their judgment for that of the trial court on

factual issues has inevitably usurped the traditional role

of the finder of fact; increased appeals and unnecessary re-

mands; and further burdened already overcrowded

dockets.

Accordingly, this case is of exceptional importance.

It presents this Court with a clear-cut example of the

undisputed and widespread abuse of the Clearly Erroneous

Rule and the perfect opportunity to draw a clear and thera-

peutic line between appellate review and fact finding:

Did the United States Court of Appeals for the Third

Circuit subvert the intent and purpose of the Clearly

Erroneous Rule when it reversed the factual finding

of the trial court and held that the District Court’s

finding of reasonableness was a mixed question of

law and fact reviewable as a conclusion of law, es-

pecially where this Court, appellate courts of the

forum state, and every other circuit court address-

ing the issue has held that a finding of reasonableness

must be reviewed as a finding of fact under the clearly

erroneous standard?

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

REASON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ............000eceeeee0:

The Decision Below Raises a Question of Exceptional

Importance Which Must Be Settled by This Court

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Third Circuit Entered November 30, 1981 ........

Opinion and Order of the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania Entered

Dt MM wethds cas necadodesecsawnsdcsuceces

Opinion and Order of the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania Entered

EE SED eG icienonsstedcantiecaqhcnessuetede

Memorandum and Order of the United States District

Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania

Entered January 15, 1980 ............c.esceeees

Judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Third Circuit Entered November 30, 1981 ........

Order of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Third Circuit Denying Petition for Rehearing In

Banc Entered December 23, 1981 ................

Amended Judgment of the United States Court of Ap-

peals for the Third Circuit Entered January 6, 1982

(ii)

Page

Al

A74

A88

A95

A97

A98

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

AMF, Inc. v. McDonald’s Corp., 536 F. 2d 1167 (7th Cir.

Dt psa bshvesakheshheanehesccsl eedccdgencsconess

Bogojavlensky v. Logan, 181 Pa. Super. 312, 124 A. 2d 412

DEE Shu rdndencuassvuendhedenseccéecegeesesseneees

Clancy v. Brunswick-Balke-Collender Co., 291 F. 2d 799

I ee Ee ee eee ei ea cegsubusene tt

Commissioner v. Duberstein, 363 U. S. 278 (1960) .........

Four Sons Bakery, Inc. v. Dulman, 542 F. 2d 829 (10th Cir.

A ACEI chien Rant ae

Hinkson v. Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co., 134 Pa. Super.

PE EEE LesGode bcccecccecsscceueesss

Hood v. Meininger, 377 Pa. 342, 105 A. 2d 126 (1954) ....

Pendergrass v. New York Life Ins. Co., 181 F. 2d 136 (8th

PE 200 cua de Cie cehekdspaiedwaseeckacencbonee

Slisz v. Munzenreider Corp., 411 N. E. 2d 700 (Ind. App.

SE CaCROSbRCSEELESGmeNS ase ceveésecancencedesves

Travelers Insurance Co. v. Davis, 411 F. 2d 244 (5th Cir.

ME Cakenubengekeehesegneblenesccccesenoveesessee

Trio Process Corp. v. L. Goldstein's Sons, Inc., 612 F. 2d

1353 (3d Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 449 U. S. 827 (1981)

United States v. City of Albuquerque, 545 F. 2d 110 (10th

' Cir. 1976), cert. denied, 433 U. S. 909 (1977) .........

United States v. One Motor Yacht Named Mercury, 527

Ws EE COE GEN BED Sic csccccnccccescccocstses

United States Gypsum Co. v. Schiavo Brothers, Inc., 450

. Sapp. S508 (E. DB. Ba. WBE) 0... ccccccccccccess

United States Gypsum Co. v. Schiavo Brothers, Inc., 485

. Ba. SE CE. BP, BUR) onc ccccncccccccccecccss

Van Ooteghem v. Gray, 628 F. 2d 488 (5th Cir. 1980), cert.

dismissed, 451 U. S. 935 (1981) ...............0c00ee

Wurlitzer Co. v. Strand Enterprises, 32 N. E. 2d 62 (Ohio

ME MEE Ske Sendcdeceseeacncscccoseccscodeccuses

Page

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (Continued)

Statutes: Page

a a 1

MMII ccccecvchecendncevdvecesecnccoscsess 2

Court Rules: |

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 52(a) ............. 1,4

Other Authorities:

Nangie, The Ever Widening Scope of Fact Review in Federal

Appellate Courts—Is the “Clearly Erroneous Rule” Being

Avoided?, 59 Wasu. Univ. L. Q. 409 (1981) .......... 6,7

Wright, The Doubtful Omniscience of the Appellate Courts,

FF FS Gg ere 6

Note, Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 52(a) and the Scope

of Appellate Fact Review: Has Application of the Clearly

Erroneous Rule Been Clearly Erroneous?, 52 St. Joun’s

PEE scbUbewecncceccodavuenusdsedesuecs 7

(iv)

OPINIONS BELOW

The panel opinion of the United States Court of Ap-

peals for the Third Circuit, which is not yet officially re-

ported, is printed in the Appendix at pp. Al-A27. The

opinions of the district court, officially reported at 450 F.

Supp. 1291 (E. D. Pa. 1978) and 485 F. Supp. 46 (E. D.

Pa. 1979), are printed in the Appendix at pp. A28-A94.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit was dated and entered on November

30, 1981. (App. A95-A96). Schiavo Brothers’ timely

petition for rehearing in banc was denied by the Court of

Appeals by Order dated December 23, 1981. (App. A97).

Subsequently, an amended judgment of the Court of

Appeals was dated and entered January 6, 1982. (App.

A98-A99).

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under and

pursuant to 28 U. S. C. § 1254(1).

PROCEDURAL RULE INVOLVED

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 52(a):

In all actions tried upon the facts without a jury . . .

[findings of fact shall not be set aside unless clearly

erroneous . . ..

(1)

2 Petition for Writ of Certiorari

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In 1966, Schiavo Brothers, Inc. (“Schiavo”) leased a

tract of land in Southwest Philadelphia from United States

Gypsum Co. (“USG”). The lease specified that the land

could be used by Schiavo only for the less than pristine

uses of a landfill and a junkyard. When the lease was ter-

minated in 1974, USG brought suit’ to recover from

Schiavo the cost of clearing the land of debris left by the

sublessee junk car dealers. (App. A29).

At trial, the factual issue presented was whether

Schiavo had breached its covenant, implied under Penn-

sylvania law, to return the leasehold property in the same

condition as received, normal wear and tear excepted.

(App. A53). The evidence at trial established that the

property was specifically limited to use as a junkyard (App.

A36-A37); that debris was a natural and inevitable con-

sequence of a junkyard (A33, A56, A57); that junk car

dealers virtually never cleaned the property of debris upon

leaving (App. A56, A57); that USG knew how junk car

dealers operated when the lease was executed in 1966

(App. A32-A34, A56, A57); and that USG had made no

provision in the lease requiring Schiavo to assume respon-

sibility for clearing the debris which the junkyard dealers

would inevitably produce (App. A41, A57).

After ten days of trial, extensive briefing and oral

argument (App. A30), the trial court found that under

the circumstances of this case, the “accumulation of

debris” and the “failure to clear the debris” when the lease

was terminated constituted reasonable wear and tear in

the context of the junk car industry:

1. The basis for federal jurisdiction was diversity of citizenship

between the parties, 28 U. S. C. § 1332: USG is incorporated in

Delaware and its principal place of business is in Chicago, Illinois;

Schiavo is incorporated in Pennsylvania and its principal place of

business is in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. (App. A30-A31, A47).

Petition for Writ of Certiorari 3

Schiavo returned the land in substantially the same

condition as existed when it received the land, rea-

sonable wear and tear excepted. (App. A58).

The reversal by the Court of Appeals of the trial

court's finding of reasonableness was based solely on its

bizarre holding that a finding of reasonableness is “a mixed

question of fact and law subject to review as a question

of law.” (App. A7). Although the panel acknowledged

that review of a factual finding of reasonableness was gen-

erally subject to the “clearly erroneous” standard (App.

A7 n. 2), it nevertheless inexplicably held that the question

of “reasonable wear and tear” in the instant case was some-

how a question of law subject to plenary review on appeal.

(App. A8).

Only by expediently avoiding the clear limitation on

appellate review mandated by the Clearly Erroneous Rule

was the panel able to substitute its own judgment for that

of the fact finder and hold that “the wear and tear inflicted

[on the junkyard] was unreasonable.” (App. A13).

4 Petition for Writ of Certiorari

REASON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Decision Below Raises a Question of Exceptional

Importance Which Must Be Settled by This Court

As set forth in Rule 52(a) of the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure, findings of fact by the district court must

be affirmed by the Courts of Appeals unless “clearly

erroneous.”

In the instant case, the Third Circuit conveniently

avoided the mandated restricted review of factual findings

under the Clearly Erroneous Rule* by simply mischar-

acterizing the issue of reasonableness as a mixed question

of fact and law, and thus reviewable free of the Clearly

Erroneous Rule. (App. A7).

Significantly, in making its crucial finding that rea-

sonableness is a mixed question of law and fact, the Court

cited only two state court opinions from outside the forum.’

(App. A7 n. 2). The Court did not cite, distinguish or

discuss either opinions by the appellate courts of Pennsyl-

vania, unanimously holding the issue of reasonableness to

be a question of fact,* or numerous opinions by the Courts

of Appeals from the Third and other Circuits, also hold-

2. Commissioner v. Duberstein, 363 U. S. 278, 290 (1960).

3. Slisz v. Munzenreider Corp., 411 N. E. 2d 700, 710-11 (Ind.

App. 1980); Wurlitzer Co. v. Strand Enterprises, 32 N. E. 2d 62,

63 (Ohio App. 1936).

4. Hinkson v. Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co., 134 Pa. Super.

161, 166, 3 A.2d 197, 199 (1938) (holding on facts identical to the

instant case that the issue of whether or not leasehold property

was returned in the same condition as received, reasonable wear

and tear excepted, “was clearly a question of fact”); Hood v.

Meininger, 377 Pa. 342, 105 A. 2d 126 (1954) (question of reason-

able time allowed to correct defect is for trier of fact); Bogojavlen-

sky v. Logan, 181 Pa. Super. 312, 124 A. 2d 412 (1956) (determina-

tion of reasonableness of delay in performance of contract is for

fact finder).

Petition for Writ of Certiorari 5

ing that reasonableness determinations were findings of

fact subject to the Clearly Erroneous Rule.’ ,

Thus, the Third Circuit's holding in the instant case

that “reasonablencss” is “a mixed question of fact and law

subject to review as a question of law” is, in the words of

the Fifth Circuit, an obvious and improper relabelling of

a factual determination “in order to justify plenary review

of an issue.” Van Coteghem v. Gray, 628 F. 2d 488, 491-

92 (5th Cir. 1980), cert. dismissed, 451 U. S. 935 (1981).

The unsupported holding of the Third Circuit in this

matter is unfortunately only the latest example of the mani-

fest abuse of the Clearly Erroneous Rule prevalent

throughout the Courts of Appeals. The disregard of the

Rule and its resulting injury to the entire federal judicial

system has been universally lamented by legal commenta-

tors, the practicing bar, as well as district and circuit

court judges. For example, in Trio Process Corp. v.

L. Goldstein’s Sons, Inc., 612 F.2d 1353 (3d Cir. 1980),

cert. denied, 449 U. S. 827 (1981), a member of the Third

5. Four Sons Bakery, Inc. v. Dulman, 542 F. 2d 829, 832 (10th

Cir. 1976) (“[R]easonableness of time for revocation of accept-

ance is one of fact, to be made on the unique circumstances of

each case”); AMF, Inc. v. McDonald's Corp., 536 F. 2d 1167, 1170

(7th Cir. 1976) (“Whether in a specific case a buyer has reason-

able grounds for insecurity is a question of fact”); United States v.

City of Albuquerque, 545 F. 2d 110, 114 (10th Cir. 1976) (“We

conclude that the trial court’s finding that the City of Albuquerque

made reasonable accommodation efforts is not clearly erroneous

and should not be overturned by us”); United States v. One Motor

Yacht Named Mercury, 527 F. 2d 1112, 1114 (Ist Cir. 1975)

(“[T]he determination of reasonableness of the delay is a finding

of fact”); Travelers Insurance Co. v. Davis, 411 F. 2d 244, 248

(5th Cir. 1969; (“The reasonableness . . . of an attorney's fee is

primarily a disputed question of fact”); Clancy v. Brunswick-

Balke-Collender Co., 291 F. 2d 799, 807 (3d Cir. 1961) (reasonable

grounds for termination under employment contract issue for jury ).

6 Petition for Writ of Certiorari

Circuit vividly described the tendency of the Third Cir-

cuit to act as a “rump fact-finding authority.”

Although today’s decision of the court and the previ-

ous decision in Trio Process III involve only one case,

they reflect a point of view in this court, with which

I am in strong disagreement. It is a point of view

reflecting a belief than an appellant court has the right

to encroach upon the prerogatives of a fact finder.

Today’s decision, in particular, constitutes a danger-

ous extension of a line of cases that I believe were

wrongly decided because they tampered with fact-

finding orthodoxy. See, e.g., Harganrader v. Cali-

fano, 575 F. 2d 434 (3d Cir. 1978); N. L. R. B. vo.

Armcor Industries, Inc., 535 F. 2d 239 (3d Cir. 1976).

Id. at 1364 (Aldisert, J., dissenting).

Judge Aldisert’s criticism of the Third Circuit is

echoed by Judge Nangle of the Eastern District of Mis-

souri in his recent article The Ever Widening Scope of

Fact Review in Federal Appellate Courts—Is the “Clearly

Erroneous Rule” Being Avoided?, 59 Wasn. Univ. L. Q.

409 (1981), in which he lamented the almost universal

tendency of the appellate courts to circumvent the Clearly

Erroneous Rule.®

The appellate courts have failed increasingly to ac-

cord to the trial court’s findings of fact the respect

and deference envisioned by the Clearly Erroneous

Rule. Although purporting to pay homage to the

Clearly Erroneous Rule, appellate courts have become

6. Unfortunately, Professor Charles Alan Wright's 1957 pre-

“diction that through, inter alia, circumvention of the Clearly Erro-

neous Rule the appellate courts would usurp the judicial system

has come true. See Wright, The Doubtful Omniscience of the

Appellate Courts, 41 Munn. L. Rev. 751, 751 (1957).

Petition for Writ of Certiorari 7

less reticent to substitute their view of the evidence

for that of the trial court to “do justice.” Id. at 410.

Erosion of the Clearly Erroneous Rule is not an

academic problem. It cuts to the core of the federal ju-

dicial system. Where the simple expedient of invoking

the proper talismanic words * “frees” the appellate courts

to conduct unrestricted review of the factual findings of

district courts, it inevitably “impairs the confidence of

litigants and the public in the decisions of the district

courts, and multiplies the number of appeals.” * In addi-

tion, appellate usurpation of district court fact finding de-

lays justice, adversely affects judicial morale and hinders

reasonable settlements.’

It is imperative that this Court seize this opportunity

to firmly reassert the proper limits of appellate review

under the Clearly Erroneous Rule. The instant case in-

volves a clear-cut example of the ever increasing abuse of

appellate review and calls for this Court's exercise of its

supervisory powers to grant certiorari and reaffirm that ap-

pellate courts must strictly adhere to the Clearly Erroneous

Rule, and thus rebalance the scales between the fact finder

and appellate courts.

7. Nangel, Widening Scope of Fact Review at 418.

8. Pendergrass v. New York Life Ins. Co., 181 F. 2d 136, 138

(8th Cir. 1950).

9. Nangel, Widening Scope of Fact Review at 426-27. See

also Note, Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 52(a) and the Scope

of Appellate Fact Review: Has Application of the Clearly Erro-

neous Rule Been Clearly Erroneous?, 52 Sr. Joun’s L. Rev. 68,

90-91 (1977).

8 Petition for Writ of Certiorari

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, a writ of certiorari should

issue to the United States Court of Appeals for the Third

Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

Joun M. E.uiotr

2600 The Fidelity Building

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19109

(215) 875-7000

Attorney for Petitioner

Schiavo Brothers, Inc.

Of Counsel:

Dua.wortH, Paxson, KAuIsH &

KAUFFMAN

CowsTANcE B. Foster

4600 The Fidelity Building

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19109

en OT oe

wins

etter

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For THE Turrp Circuir

Nos. 81-1168, 81-1272 and 81-1273

UNITED STATES GYPSUM COMPANY,

Appellant /Cross-Appellee

SCHIAVO BROTHERS, INC.,

Appellee/Cross-Appellant

On Cross-APPEALS FROM THE

Unitep States Districr Court

For THE EASTERN District OF PENNSYLVANIA

(D.C. Civil Nos. 74-3165 and 80-0391)

Argued: September 22, 1981

Before: ALDISERT, HIGGINBOTHAM and SLOVITER,

Circuit Judges

(Opinion filed November 30, 1981)

(Al)

A2 Court of Appeals Opinion

MicHaet M. Bayison (Argued )

Duane, Morris & HECKSCHER

One Franklin Plaza

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19102

Attorney for Appellant/Cross-Appellee,

United States Gypsum Company

Joun M. Exuiorr (Argued)

ConsTANCE B. Foster

Di.wortH, PAxson, KALIsH &

LEvy

2600 The Fidelity Building

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19109

Attorneys for Appellee/

Cross-Appellant,

Schiavo Brothers, Inc.

OPINION OF THE COURT

[Entered November 30, 1981]

A. Leon HiccinsoruaM, Jr., Circuit Judge.

1.

While one man’s junk may be another man’s profit,

there comes a point where clearing junkyard remnants

constitutes a substantial financial cost. Here we are re-

quired to decide whether under Pennsylvania law the

landlord or the primary lessee should bear the costs of

clearing the junk left by the sublessees in this case. Dur-

ing the last three years, two district judges have been sort-

ing out the appropriate property and damage doctrines

to determine who pays for removal of the junk and other

alleged damages arising out of the tenancy. We will af-

firm the rulings of the district court except as to its deci-

sion not to consider the issues of holdover rent and loss-

of-use of purchase monies, and we will remand for further

proceedings on those two claims.

Court of Appeals Opinion A3

Il.

The facts of this case have been set forth twice, at

length, in two different district court opinions, reported

at 450 F.Supp. 1291 (E.D.Pa. 1978) and 485 F.Supp. 46

(E.D.Pa. 1979). We therefore only summarize them here.

The plaintiff, United States Gypsum Company

(Gypsum ) owned a landfill in southwest Philadelphia. In

1966, it entered into a lease agreement with the defendant

Schiavo Brothers, Inc. (Schiavo). Gypsum and Schiavo

also agreed by separate contract that Schiavo, a waste

hauling firm, would haul waste for Gypsum. Schiavo sub-

let part of the property to automobile junkyard opera-

tors. Schiavo’s lease with Gypsum was lawfully termi-

nated by Schiavo, effective January 1, 1974, but most of

the junkyard dealers (the sublessees) refused to leave un-

til well into the sun.mer of 1974. Meanwhile Gypsum had

agreed to sell the property to Swann Oil Company, but

the sale was delayed, allegedly because Swann would not

accept transfer of the property until all of the debris left

by the junkdealers had been cleared. That debris cov-

ered most of the property and included car seats, tires and

other by-products of junkyard dealing. When the junk-

dealers finally left, Gypsum was obliged to hire a con-

tractor to clear the debris. After the debris was cleared,

Gypsum transferred the property to Swann in September,

1974, almost four months later than both parties had

planned.

Gypsum sued Scisavo for the cost of the cleanup,

for holdover rent’ and for damages compensating it for

1. A holdover tenant is one who fails to abide by the term of a

lease requiring the tenant to vacate on an agreed date. Katzman v.

Hoffman, 242 F.2d 354, 358 (3d Cir. 1957). We use the term

“holdover rent” to apply to all of the damages, rent and others,

sought by Gypsum for Schiavo’s occupancy of the premises beyond

the termination of the lease. See Restatement (Second) of Prop-

A4 Court of Appeals Opinion

the loss of the use of the money due from Swann that

was not received until after the clean-up. Jurisdiction

was founded on diversity of citizenship, and the law of

Pennsylvania governs the action

The case was assigned to the calendar of Judge Her-

bert A. Fogel, who ordered that liability and damages be

tried separately. Trial on liability issues began in Novem-

ber, 1975 and continued, intermittently, into January,

1976. Judge Fogel filed his judgment shortly before he

resigned in May, 1978.

Judge Fogel ruled that under Pennsylvania law

there was, implied in the lease between the parties, a

covenant by Schiavo to return the leasehold property in

the condition in which it received it, reasonable wear

and tear excepted. He ruled that that covenant is a part

of a tenant’s obligations under a lease unless it is negated

by contrary language in the lease, and that no such

contrary intent was expressed in the lease at issue. He

also found, however, that Schiavo had not breached the

contract, and that in the context of the junkyard industry,

the leaving of the debris was reasonable wear and tear

to the property. He entered judgment in favor of Schiavo

without mentioning the issues of holdover rent and loss

of use of purchase monies.

Judge Louis H. Pollak was assigned the case after

post-trial motions had been filed by both sides. He agreed

with Judge Fogel that the implied covenant existed, but

he reversed Judge Fogel’s conclusion that Schiavo had not

breached the covenant. He ruled that the debris exceeded

reasonable wear and tear, and he therefore ordered a trial

on damages relating to breach of the covenant. He also

ruled, initially, that Judge Fogel should have entered find-

NOTE — (Continued)

erty, Landlord and Tenant, §§ 14.5, 14.6, (1976) for a discussion of

the various types of damages recoverable from a holdover tenant.

Court of Appeals Opinion A5

ings on holdover rent and loss of use of purchase monies.

However, upon a motion for reconsideration filed by

Schiavo, Judge Pollak decided that Gypsum had not

placed its claims “in so clear a focus as to warrant my

concluding that (1) the claims were actually litigated,

and (2) Judge Fogel erred in not ruling on them.” 485

F.Supp. at 56. He therefore denied Gypsum any relief on

the claims of holdover rent and loss of use of purchase

monies.

After trial of damages Judge Pollak awarded Gypsum

$96,815.00 to compensate it for its expenditures in clearing

the debris caused by Schiavo’s subtenants. He denied

Gypsum’s request for an award of prejudgment interest.

He also dismissed, on the basis of res judicata, a second

complaint brought by Gypsum seeking to recover holdover

rent and loss of use of purchase monies.

Both parties appealed. Schiavo challenges the rul-

ings of Judge Fogel and Judge Pollak that any implied

covenant existed. Gypsum challenges Judge Pollak’s rul-

ings precluding recovery for holdover rent and loss of use

of purchase monies, his dismissal of the second action,

his refusal to award prejudgment interest, and his refusal

to disburse to Gypsum certain escrow funds held by

Schiavo.

Ill.

Existence of the Implied Covenant

Schiavo vigorously disputes the rulings of both Judge

Fogel and Judge Pollak that there existed an implied

covenant in the agreement between the parties that

Schiavo would return the property in the condition in

which it received it, reasonable wear and tear excepted.

Schiavo implicitly concedes that under Pennsylvania

law, the covenant exists unless it is, in some manner,

A6 Court of Appeals Opinion

negated. However it argues that the integration clause

in the lease did negate any implied covenants. The in-

tegration clause said in part:

It is expressly understood and agreed by and between

the parties hereto that this lease and the riders at-

tached hereto and forming a part hereof set forth all

the promises, agreements, conditions and understand-

ings between the Lessor and or its Agent and Lessee

relative to the demised premises, and that there are

no promises, agreements, conditions, or understand-

ings, either oral or written between them other than

are herein set forth.

Although there is some force to Schiavo’s contention,

we have concluded that the courts of Pennsylvania would

hold that the covenant was not negated by the integration

clause at issue. The obligation of a tenant to return the

leasehold property in the condition in which it was re-

ceived, reasonable wear and tear excepted, is fundamental

to the landlord-tenant relationship, even in a commercial

setting. A landlord is entitled to presume that the tenant

has implicitly promised not to waste the property. For

that reason, only the clearest negation of the obligation

will overcome the landlord’s lawful expectation. We

agree with Judge Fogel’s discussion of the issue (450

F.Supp. at 1304), and affirm the district court's ruling on

the point.

IV.

Breach of the Implied Covenant

Schiavo also appeals Judge Pollak’s determination

that it is liable for $96,815.00, Gypsum’s costs in clearing

the debris that was left by Schiavo’s subtenants.

Judge Fogel placed great weight on the trial evidence

showing that “upon termination of a junkyard lease, the

Court of Appeals Opinion A7

dealer rarely, if ever, cleared the property of accumulated

debris... .” 450 F.Supp. at 1306. He ruled that the

implied covenant to return the property in the condition

in which Schiavo received it, reasonable wear and tear

excepted, had not been breached:

We find . . . that USG has failed to meet its burden

of establishing that, in the context of the junk car

industry, the wear and tear to the land was excessive

or unreasonable.

450 F.Supp. at 1305.

Part of Gypsum’s timely motion for a new trial sought

reconsideration of Judge Fogel’s finding that the wear and

tear inflicted on the property was reasonable. In a

thoughtful opinion Judge Pollak ruled that he was em-

powered to reconsider Judge Fogel’s conclusion on reason-

ableness; that, in his opinion, the Pennsylvania courts

would not give controlling effect to industry custom; and

that the wear and tear inflicted by Schiavo was not

reasonable.

The parties disagree on whether the “reasonableness”

determination is a finding of fact or a conclusion of law.

Generally, where the primary facts are undisputed and

only ultimate inferences and legal consequences are in con-

tention, a question of law is presented; or, by some formu-

lations, a mixed question of fact and law subject to review

as a question of law. Ross v. Commissioner of Internal

Revenue, 129 F.2d 310, 312 (5th Cir. 1942). See also 9

Wright and Miller, Federal Practice and Procedure (2d

Ed.), § 2589, at 753; Fleer Corporation v. Topps Chewing

Gum, Inc., 658 F.2d 139, 154 (3d Cir. 1981); Shultz v.

Wheaton Glass Co., 421 F.2d 259, 267 (3d Cir. 1970),

cert. denied, 398 U.S. 905 (1970).

2. Other courts have held that, where the basic facts are not

in dispute, ultimate questions of “reasonableness” are mixed ques-

A8 Court of Appeals Opinion

In this case, only the legal consequences of Schiavo's

conduct, and not the particulars of the conduct itself, were

in issue before Judge Pollak. He was asked to decide

whether the law of landlord and tenant in Pennsylvania

would hold Schiavo liable for damages because of the un-

disputed condition of the property after the termination

of the lease. That determination is essentially a legal one.

We conclude that where a successor judge is asked by

timely and proper motion to reconsider the legal conclu-

sions of an unavailable predecessor, he or she is empowered

to reconsider those issues to the same extent that his or

her predecessor could have. Our conclusion rests on three

grounds. First, we are bound by clear precedent of this

court:

The petitioners base their claim for relief . . .

upon the rule that judges of co-ordinate jurisdiction

sitting in the same court and in the same case should

not overrule the decisions of each other . . . [citations

omitted]

[T]here may be exceptional circumstances under

which the rule is not to be applied. Such circum-

stances exist when the judge who made the original

decision is not available to consider the application

NOTE -— (Continued)

tions of fact and law, subject to plenary review on appeal. See,

e.g., Slisz v. Munzenreider Corp., 411 N.E.2d 700, 710-11 (Ind.App.

1980); Wurlitzer Co. v. Strand Enterprises, 32 N.E.2d 62, 63 (Ohio

App. 1936). The standard of review is of course different where

the issue is how a reasonable person would have acted in a like

situation — a determination that is peculiarly one for the factfinder.

TSC Industries, Inc. v. Northway, Inc., 426 U.S. 438, 450 n. 12.

Compare 9 Wright and Miller, supra, § 2589 (mixed questions of

fact and law generally subject to plenary review), and Id., § 2590

(negligence finding subject to “clearly erroneous” review. )

Court of Appeals Opinion A9

to rehear and reverse his decision. If the judge who

made the decision dies or resigns from the court he

obviously is no longer available to consider it and

such consideration must perforce be by another judge

if it is to be had at all.

TCF Film Corporation v. Gourley, 240 F.2d 711, 713-14

(3d Cir. 1957) (affirming successor judge’s reversal of a

denial of leave to amend complaint). We have held the

rule to apply where a “mixed question of fact and law” is

presented; that is, where the primary facts are not in dis-

pute but ultimate inferences and legal conclusions are.

Ryans v. Blevins, 258 F.2d 945, 946 (3d Cir. 1958) (suc-

cessor judge’s reversal of his predecessor's application of

the “last clear chance” doctrine to undisputed facts ).

Second, were we to hold that Gypsum was not en-

titled to have its request considered by Judge Pollak, we

would effectively be denying it its right to move for re-

consideration—a right recognized by the Federal Rules,*

and the Local Rules of Civil Procedure of the Eastern Dis-

trict of Pennsylvania, where this case was tried.‘ A liti-

gant’s right to try to persuade a court that it has erred

should not be denied simply because of the unavoidable

unavailability of the judge who rendered the original

decision.

Third, we agree with the succinct reasoning of the

Seventh Circuit in a similar case:

Regardless of the impact of any law-of-the-case rule,

our duty is to determine whether the judgment of

Judge Miner [a successor judge] is correct. In fact

3. See Rules 52(b), 59 and 60. Cf. Rules 15(b), 16.

4. Local Rule 20(g), E.D.Pa. Two of the other district courts

in this circuit — the Districts of New Jersey and Delaware — like-

wise provide for reconsideration by Local Rule: Local Rule 12(1),

D.N.J.; Local Rule 3.3, D.Del.

Al0 Court of Appeals Opinion

we should sustain any judgment from which an ap-

peal has been takea if it is supported by the record

and the law .... Obviously we cannot be expected

to reverse a correct decision by one district judge

simply because we find that it is contrary to a prior

ruling by another district iudge in the same case . . .

. Parmelee Transportation Co. v. Keeshin, 292 F.2d 794,

797 (7th Cir. 1961). It remains for us to decide, however,

whether we agree with the legal determination of Judge

Pollak, who ruled as follows:

[T]he fact that . . . junkdealers are “in general, an

extremely difficult group with whom to deal . . . and

that upon termination of a junkyard lease, the

dealer[s] rarely, if ever, cleared the property of accu-

mulated debris”, should not, without more, immunize

them (or those responsible for them) from liability.

Such behavior was not “reasonably necessary in order

for the [junk car dealers] to use the leased property

in a manner that [was] reasonable under all the cir-

cumstances.” Restatement 2d of Property, Landlord-

Tenant, Section 12.2.

485 F.Supp. at 52.°

5. Section 12.2(1) says:

Permissible changes by the tenant — Except to the extent the

parties to a lease validly agree otherwise, the tenant is entitled

to make changes in the physical condition of the leased prop-

erty which are reasonably necessary in order for the tenant to

use the leased property in a manner that is reasonable under

all the circumstances.

We agree with Judge Pollak that, because of the absence of clear

Pennsylvania precedent on many of the points at issue, our analysis

in this diversity case is, by necessity, largely predictive. Most of

our citations to the Restatement are meant to encompass our pre-

diction that the courts of Pennsylvania would adopt the cited

principles.

Court of Appeals Opinion All

Although Judge Pollak’s interpretation of the obliga-

tions imposed on a tenant by § 12.2 is phrased somewhat

differently from Judge Fogel’s discussion of the “reason-

ableness” of the wear and tear, supra, in fact each used

virtually the same standard. Comment d to § 12.2 pro-

vides in relevant part:

No matter what use of the leased property is de-

termined to be reasonable under all the circumstances,

normal wear and tear on the leased property by that

use is not only reasonably necessary, but reasonably

to be expected by the parties, absent an agreement

otherwise. . . .

Because “normal wear and tear” is per se a part of

that which is “reasonably necessary in order for the tenant

to use the leased property in a manner that is reasonable

under all the circumstances,” the fundamental question de-

cided by both Judge Fogel and Judge Pollak was whether

the wear and tear imposed on the property was “reason-

able.” Restatement (Second) of Property, Landlord-

Tenant, § 12.2(3).

When determining what constitutes “wear and tear”

for a junkyard or landfill we write on a clean slate, since

we have not found, and no one has called to our attention,

any prior cases defining “wear and tear” in such a con-

text. Even the references to wear and tear in the Com-

ments to the Restatement include such traditional exam-

ples as the wearing down of refinished floors and the

leaving of holes caused by picture hooks — instances in

which wear and tear seems to imply some gradual wear-

ing. In this case instead of wear and tear we have a

“dump and add” phenomenon. Nevertheless, the central

issue is the same as that in more traditional wear and

tear cases, i.e., whether the condition of the property,

Al2 Court of Appeals Opinion

viewed in light of its potential for sale or re-rental, has

deteriorated so unreasonably that the tenants, rather than

the landlord, should be required to pay for its restoration.

We therefore have little difficulty in concluding that “wear

and tear” is at issue.

In this case a landlord leased a largely vacant piece

of land in January of 1966. 450 F.Supp. at 1298. A rela-

tively small part of that property was sublet to junkdealers.

The land was returned about one hundred and three

months later, sometime in the summer of 1974, with debris

“spread generally throughout the leasehold area.”* Id.

at 1301. Gypsum received ninety-six months’ rent for its

property, a total of about $191,500. Yet Gypsum was

required to pay $96,815.00 — more than half of the rent it

received during the eight years —to clean the debris

caused by Schiavo’s subtenants.’ Moreover, Gypsum was

saddled with the dual aggravations of arranging for the

clearing of the property and having to wait for that process

to be completed. We agree entirely with Judge Pollak

that the Pennsylvania courts would not require a land-

6. The area that was not free of debris in 1966 was returned in

1974 in as good or better condition than that in which it was rented.

7. Schiavo contended at trial that Gypsum realized $17,000

per year in synergistic savings by entering into the combined

leasehold/waste-hauling agreement with Schiavo. Our review of

the record indicates that Gypsum, for its own reasons, had insisted

on an arm’s length hauling rate separate from the lease. (App. at

1125). Nevertheless, even if Judge Fogel had found as a fact that

Gypsum indeed saved money from the combined leasehold/ hauling

agreement, it is clear that it would have saved but $34,000 in the

first two years and at most $34,000 between 1968 and 1972 after

its waste hauling needs had declined by sixty per cent (the landfill

operation closed in 1972). Even if those savings had been viewed

as additional rent, the total rent would have been about $259,000.

The cost of clearing the debris caused by the subtenants remains

$96,815, or almost forty per cent of the total “rent” — hardly reason-

able to ask a landlord to accept.

Court of Appeals Opinion Al3

lord to pay for the kind of behavior engaged in by the

junkdealers in this case. The leaving of massive amounts

of debris on otherwise vacant property to the significant

detriment of the landlord is, in our crowded age, unrea-

sonable wear and tear, regardless of whether the industry

involved makes a habit of it. As between Gypsum and

Schiavo it is Schiavo who must bear the cost of the

clean-up because it was Schiavo who chose to rent to the

largely judgment-proof junkdealers. Certainly, Gypsum

foresaw that Schiavo would lease to junkdealers, but that

foresight hardly solves the problem of which party to the

agreement ought to pay for the conduct that occurred.

We conclude that under the law of Pennsylvania, the wear

and tear inflicted was unreasonable, and Schiavo should

compensate Gypsum for it.

V.

Gypsum’s Requests for Rulings on Claims

It is often difficult for a trial judge hearing a case to

determine whether counsel has presented a claim with

sufficient specificity to put opposing counsel on notice to

defend it, or whether in the course of pretrial and trial

proceedings counsel has waived the claim. The problem

of ascertaining whether there was or was not a waiver of

a claim is even more difficult when a judge must decide

on a cold record what was waived or litigated before his

or her predecessor. Yet, this is the troublesome problem

that Judge Pollak was required to adjudicate — i.e.

whether “the Court [Judge Fogel] failed to rule on two of

its [the plaintiff's] damage claims,” 485 F.Supp. at 51, or

whether “the failure to enter findings with respect [to

these claims] is tantamount to findings adverse to [the

claimant}’” Id., quoting Switzer Brothers, Inc. v. Locklin,

297 F.2d 39, 46 (7th Cir. 1961).

Al4 Court of Appeals Cpinion

Judge Pollak originally concluded that “the failure

to enter findings on these two claims was oversight, and

one which Judge Fogel would have been required to cor-

rect had he still been on the bench when plaintiff's motion

was filed. As his successor, I am equally obliged to reopen

the judgment...” 485 F.Supp. at 51-2. However, upon

a motion for reconsideration filed by Schiavo Judge Pollak

reversed his ruling:

I have concluded that the presentation of these two

damage claims [holdover rent and loss of use of pur-

chase monies] at the trial before Judge Fogel did not

place them in so clear a focus as to warrant my con-

cluding that (1) the claims were actually litigated,

and (2) Judge Fogel erred in not ruling on them. It

was, therefore, inappropriate for me to re-open the

record as to these claims. I will vacate that portion

of my May 22 order.

Id. at 56.

After Judge Fogel’s findings were filed, Gypsum pre-

sented a motion and memorandum of law captioned

“Motion for a New Trial” (essentially, a Rule 59 motion)

as a part of which it sought additional findings of fact

and conclusions of law under Rule 52, Fed. R. Civ. P.°

Rule 52(a) provides in part:

In all actions tried upon the facts without a jury

or with an advisory jury, the court shall find the facts

specially and state separately its conclusions of law

8. We agree with Professor Moore that “Since the time periods

for the various motions [Rule 52(b) and Rule 59(a) and (e)] are

identical and the motions are closely related, a movant should not

be prejudiced by an erroneous rule reference, but should be granted

whatever relief his motion shows him to be entitled.” 6A Moore’s

Federal Practice { 59.04[6] (2d Ed.).

Court of Appeals Opinion Al5

thereon, and judgment shall be entered pursuant to

Rule 58;.... Requests for findings are not necessary

for purposes of review. . . .

Rule 52(b) provides in part:

Upon motion of a party made not later than 10 days

after entry of judgment the court may amend its

findings or make additional findings and may amend

the judgment accordingly. The motion may be made

with a motion for a new trial pursuant to Rule 59...

The claims on which Gypsum sought rulings in its

post-trial motion were those relating to Schiavo’s liability

for holdover rent and loss of use of purchase monies.

A.

Holdover Rent

Two years after the conclusion of a complex trial,

Judge Fogel rendered findings of fact and conclusions of

law which omitted any discussion of the issue of holdover

rent that Gypsum believed it had litigated. The Rules

recognize that judges will occasionally overlook issues,

especially in a complex case. In a jury case Rule 51 affords

counsel the opportunity during trial to call the court's

attention to claims upon which counsel believe the jury

should be charged, even after the court has given all of

the instructions that it had intended to give. In a non-

jury case, of course, counsel will not always know which

issues the court has been considering until it has rendered

its findings of fact and conclusions of law, and, normally,

a judgment. Rule 52(b) was designed to deal with

exactly the sort of problem raised by Gypsum in its post-

trial motion. It permits counsel to ask the court to correct,

Al16 Court of Appeals Opinion

on the non-jury record before it, any errors of law, mis-

takes of fact or oversights that require correction.’

Rule 59(a) complements Rule 52. When the trial

record before the court in a non-jury case is infected with

“manifest errors of law or fact,” 6A Moore’s Federal Prac-

tice $59.07 (2d Ed.) (and cases cited), the court may

order a new trial on some or all of the issues in the case.

A new trial is sometimes the only effective way to cure

the prejudice resulting from errors or oversight, and if

that is the case a new trial must be ordered. Very often,

however, corrections can be made without reopening the

trial record.

Where a new trial is not ordered, the trial record must

support whatever additional findings of fact or conclusions

of law a party seeks under Rule 52(b) or it is certainly not

entitled to them. That entitlement also depends, as Judge

Pollak recognized, on what the trial court required the

moving party to prove. See Rule 16, Fed. R. Civ. P.

9. Although Rule 52(b) does not explicitly refer to reconsider-

ation of conclusions of law, it is clear that the district court has the

power under Rule 52(b) and 59(e), read together, to alter or add

to its conclusions of law where appropriate. See 5A Moore’s Fed-

eral Practice { 52.11[2] (2d. Ed.). Cf. Parmelee Transportation

Co. v. Keeshin, supra, 292 F.2d at 797. Factual determinations are

correctable under Rule 52(b) if the district judge who heard the

evidence believes that they are necessary, and capable of being

made without the grant of a new trial. We hold in this case that a

successor judge is generally empowered to decide a reconsideration

motion in the same way his or her predecessor could have. How-

ever, like the court in Ryans v. Blevins, supra, 258 F.2d at 945, we

do not address whether a successor judge is, under any circum-

stances, empowered by Rule 52 to add to or alter the factual deter-

minations of the predecessor judge who heard the trial evidence.

That situation very likely presents an exception to our holding that

the successor jvdge steps completely into his or her predecessor's

shoes in deciding a Rule 52 motion.

Court of Appeals Opinion Al7

This case therefore compels us to examine, in some

detail, exactly the situation Gypsum faced at the begin-

ning of trial. Judge Fogel bifurcated the trial into liability

and damages phases." Indeed, that was Judge Fogel’s

practice in virtually every civil case on his calendar, as

reflected in his standing pretrial order. (App. at 32).

Gypsum alleged in its complaint that “As a result of de-

fendant’s breach of its covenants to surrender complete

possession of the premises to the plaintiff on the date of

termination, January 1, 1974, plaintiff has suffered dam-

ages in the amount. the rental value of the property

from the date of termi tion to the date Swann was ready,

willing and able to proceed to settlement under the agree-

ment of sale of the leasehold property, but for the pres-

ence of the debris.” (Complaint $23). Gypsum in-

10. Bifurcation of liability and damages is permitted by Rule

42(b), Fed. R. Civ. P.

The court, in furtherance of convenience or to avoid prejudice,

or when separate trials will be conducive to expedition and

economy, may order a trial of any . . . separate issue...”

11. The phrase “but for the presence of the debris” refers only

to Swann’s unwillingness to purchase the property before it was

cleared of debris. That stipulation was part of Swann’s contract of

sale with Gypsum. The date Swann was “ready, willing and able

to proceed to settlement . . . but for the presence of the debris” was

approximately June 1, 1974, more than three months before the

debris was cleared. We do not construe the phrase “but for the

presence of the debris” in this paragraph to be intended to amplify

the allegation that Schiavo failed to “surrender complete possession

of the property,” (although it is possible that the debris itself was

sufficient to deprive Gypsum of possession of certain parts of the

property at the time.) Rather, the paragraph as a whole refers to

the period of time between January and June in which (1) some

of Schiavo’s subtenants were still in possession of parts of the prop-

erty and holdover rent was the only remedy at issue, and (2) at

the end of which (approximately June 1) loss of use of purchase

monies first became a conceivable element of damages (i.e., Swann

A18 Court of Appeals Opinion

cluded, in its pretrial Proposed Findings of Facts, a finding

that “Schiavo notwithstanding that it terminated the lease

with Gypsum, did not vacate the leasehold property as of

January 1, 1974.” Gypsum listed as “Contested Issues” in

the joint pretrial order “Whether Schiavo is liable to

United States Gypsum for damages... . (b) for rent from

February 1, 1974 to September 26, 1974, at $1,667.67 per

month [and] (c) For the loss of the use of $1,282,895

from June 1, 1974 to September 26, 1974.”

Gypsum proved that the lease existed, that Schiavo

terminated it, and that the termination was effective as

of January 1, 1974, or at the latest, February 1, 1974. 450

F.Supp. at 1299; Exh. P. 58. Gypsum also proved that

“only one of the dealers vacated his lot [as of December

31, 1973]”, 450 F.Supp. at 1300; that the “other dealers

formed an association to fight eviction,” Id.; and that

“[d]uring the course of the summer of 1974, the junk car

dealers gradually vacated the premises,” Id.

Unfortunately, one lawyer’s liability issue is another

lawyer's damages issue. For example, a claim for five

months of holdover rent can be viewed in at least two

ways. There can be liability for some holdover rent, with

the length of the holdover being a damages issue; or there

can be liability for five different months of holdover

tenancy, with a later damages determination involving,

in a simple case, only a multiplication of a monthly num-

ber by five.

In discussing bifurcation of liability and damages

under Rule 42(b) in a slightly different context (an anti-

trust case in which proof of injury was an element of lia-

bility) the Fifth Circuit observed:

NOTE — (Continued)

was ready to settle but for the presence of the debris). In short,

{ 23 is a “holdover tenants” paragraph and not a “holdover debris”

paragraph. See 485 F.Supp. at 56.

Court of Appeals Opinion Al9

The use oi this trial procedure [bifurcation of liability

and damages] must be grounded upon a clear under-

standing between the court and counsel of the issue

or issues involved in each phase and what proof will

be required to pass from one phase to the next.

Response of Carolina, Inc. v. Leasco Response, Inc., 537

F.2d 1307, 1324 (5th Cir. 1976).

In this case, Judge Fogel made it clear at the final

pretrial conference that liability and damages issues would

be strictly separate:

Mr. Ex.uiotr [counsel for Schiavo]: This is a

bifurcated trial. I think damages are inappropriate.

I haven't put any facts in as to the damages because

of the standing pretrial order which says—

Tue Court: I think that’s right. That is correct

because I said I want to bifurcate as to liability first.

Mr. Baytson [counsel for Gypsum]: Does that

mean I don’t have to be prepared for damages?

Tue Court: No, because what I will do is when

the testimony is completed, obviously, I think in a

case of this importance to both sides you would prob-

ably want the transcript with a right to submit any

supplemental data you may want as to what develops.

Mr. Baytson: Okay.

Tue Court: Therefore, you don’t have to go to

the expense or trouble of putting on any damage

witnesses.

Mr. Bay.son: Fine.

Unfortunately, Judge Fogel did not clarify with coun-

sel where the dividing line between liability and damages

was to be.

A20 Court of Appeals Opinion

The touchstone, in reviewing bifurcated proceedings,

is whether the party bearing the burden of proof was

unfairly prejudiced by the procedures employed. Rule

42(b) permits bifurcation to “avoid prejudice,” not to

create it.

Judge Fogel’s standing pretrial order, the joint pre-

trial order and the transcript of the pretrial conference do

not reflect the clear separation of issues into liability and

damages, nor the “clear understanding [of] . . . what proof

will be required to pass from one phase to the next”

( Response of Carolina, Inc., 537 F.2d at 1324), that would

have been necessary before Gypsum could be charged

with having waived certain points by not having litigated

them aggressively enough in the liability phase.”

Counsel for Gypsum could reasonably have concluded

that his obligations during the liability phase were to

plead the holdover tenancy,” to offer to prove a failure

to surrender possession, and to prove that Schiavo failed

to surrender possession of some part of the premises for

some period of time after the termination of the lease.

Gypsum, in fact, met each of those requirements. Calcu-

lations of the time of the holdover and the acreage unlaw-

fully possessed are reasonably susceptible of being called

questions of damages.

12. Generally, pretrial orders under Rule 16 are to be liberally

construed to embrace all legal and factual theories inherent in the

issues defined therein. Century Refining Co. v. Hall, 316 F.2d 15,

19-20 (10th Cir. 1963); Peter Pan Seafoods, Inc. v. United States,

272 F.Supp. 888, 891 (W.D.Wash. 1967) rev'd on other grounds,

417 F.2d 670 (9th Cir. 1969). Gypsum was simply not accorded

that latitude in this case.

13. Of course, the plaintiff need only plead his claim. The

magic legal words “holdover tenancy” were certainly not necessary

where the plaintiff so clearly put Schiavo’s failure to surrender

possession in issue. See Rule 8(f), Fed. R. Civ. P.

Court of Appeals Opinion A21

Certainly, Judge Fogel could have required more ex-

tensive proof of “liability” for holdover tenancy, for exam-

ple, proof of the number of months the sub-tenants were

in possession. Nevertheless, he did not, and it would be

unfair to penalize Gypsum for not having done what it

was never required to do.

A holdover tenant is one who unjustifiably refuses to

surrender possession of a leasehold premises at the end

of the term of the lease. See n. 1, supra.; Restatement

(Second ) of Property, Landlord and Tenant, § 14.1. The

landlord may sue such a holdover for possession and to

recover whatever damages it suffered as a result of the

tenant’s actions. Taylor v. Kaufhold, 368 Pa. 538, 544,

84 A.2d 347, 350 (1951). Schiavo chose, as a tenant, to

sublet the property to subtenants, and their presence after

January 1, 1974 is imputable to Schiavo. Id. Certainly

it appears that Schiavo wrongfully denied Gypsum pos-

session of some part of the leasehold property for some pe-

riod of time after the termination of the lease.

We conclude, therefore, that Judge Pollak could have

entered a conclusion of law on Schiavo’s liability vel non

for holdover rent; that is, there is a sufficient record upon

which to base such a determination. It would be inap-

propriate, however, for us to make that determination, be-

cause we have not been briefed as to what legal defenses

Schiavo may have had, given Judge Fogel’s findings of

fact aud other facts not in dispute."* Moreover, Rule

52(a) reposes in the district court the responsibility for

entering initial rulings on each issue raised at trial. We

will therefore remand the case to the district court for an

examination of record of the trial before Judge Fogel, a

conclusion of law as to liability for holdover rent, and, if

necessary, further proceedings on damages for the hold-

over.

14. Judge Pollak, in fact, alluded to some possible defenses in

his original opinion. 485 F.Supp. at 51.

A22 Court of Appeals Opinion

Loss of Use of Purchase Monies

Much of our discussion of the holdover rent issue

applies to Gypsum’s claim for loss of use of purchase

monies. Judge Fogel did not reach the issue, and Judge

Pollak ruled that Gypsum had waived it. Judge Fogel

had found that

. USG had arranged for the sale of the leasehold

property to Swann Oil Company (Swann), as part

of the agreement of sale, dated January 18, 1974; clos-

ing was.made conditional upon all debris being re-

moved from the land. It was thus vital to USG’s

interests that the property be cleaned.

meen the period when the dealers were vacat-

ing the premises, Schiavo denied that it was its re-

sponsibility to remove the debris left by the dealers,

or the debris accumulated through fugitive dumping.

As a result, in order to guarantee that the sale of the

property to Swann would go through, USG was forced

to hire a private contractor, George Hunter, to clear

the debris. Hunter performed this work at a total

cost of $144,500; the closing on the sale of the prop-

tery to Swann was held on September 30, 1974.

450 F.Supp. at 1300.

Gypsum introduced evidence that the agreed pur-

chase price was $1,282,895, and that representatives of

Swann refused to proceed to settlement until the debris

had been cleared, as was its right under the contract of

sale. (App. at 849).

Moreover, Gypsum had raised the issue in its com-

plaint, in its pretrial Proposed Findings of Fact and in its

pretrial “Statement of Contested Issues”:

Court of Appeals Opinion A23

[Complaint, {] 24. By failing to remove the debris as

of the date of termination of the Lease, defendant

has breached its duty to surrender the premises in

substantially the same condition that it was in at the

time defendant took possession, reasonable wear

and tear excepted. As a result of such breach, plain-

tiff has sustained damages in the amount of:

(b) the loss of the use of the purchase monies

under the agreement of sale with Swann

from June 1, 1974, the date on which Swann

was ready to settle but for the presence of

the debris and scrap, to September 26, 1974,

when plaintiff conveyed the leasehold prop-

erty to Swann and received the purchase

monies.

[Proposed Finding of Fact] 58. As of June 1, 1974

Swann Oil Co. was ready, willing and able to proceed

to closing on the Agreement of Sale dated January

18, 1974, but for the debris on the leasehold property

which had not been removed.

61. USG, in order to complete the sale . . . to Swann

Oil, was forced to undertake . . . the clearing of the

leasehold property. ... The sale of the leasehold

— took place on . September 26, 1974.

nearer Issue] 5. Whether Schiavo is liable to

United States Gypsum for damages.

(c) For the loss of the use of $1,282,895 from

June 1, 1974 to September 26, 1974.”

A24 Court of Appeals Opinion

Gypsum therefore did not in any sense waive the is-

sue during the liability phase.

In any event, we think the issue should be treated in

the way it was raised by Gypsum — as a damage issue.

Loss-of-use is very arguably an element of the damages

proximately caused by Schiavo’s breach of the implied

covenant, that is, its failure to clear the debris. Gypsum’s

complaint ({ 24(b), supra.) alleged exactly that.” Coun-

sel for Gypsum could justifiably have assumed that the

Swann Oil sale was purely a question of damages for

breach of the implied covenant as to which he had no

obligation to present evidence during the liability trial. It

is perfectly clear that that was counsel’s understanding,

since, in the pretrial order, he had offered testimony as

to the “cost of delay [in clearing the debris] to United

States Gypsum in loss of use of funds from June 1, 1974

to September 26, 1974” under the caption “Plaintiff's

Witnesses-Damages.” In fact, Judge Fogel at one point

indicated that the issue was one of damages while a wit-

ness from Swann Oil was testifying. (App. at 848-9).

15. Gypsum also cites § 14.6 of the Restatement (Second) of

Property, supra, which reads as follows:

Liability of Holdover Tenant for Special Damages — Except _

to the extent the parties to a lease validly agree otherwise, if

no election is made under the rule of § 14.4, the landlord, or

incoming tenant, is entitled to recover from a tenant improp-

erly holding over after the termination of his lease for the

special damages caused by the holdover which the tenant could

reasonably have foreseen at the time of his holding over would

result from his conduct, and which the injured party could not

reasonably have avoided, unless equitable considerations justify

relieving the tenant of some or all of these damages.

Loss-of-use may be an element of damages not only for breach of

the covenant but for the holdover tenancy (i.e., if Swann would

have refused to settle for part of the summer because of the sub-

tenants), a question which the district court may wish to consider

on remand if liability for the holdover is established.

Court of Appeals Opinion A25

Equally important is that Judge Fogel might well

have entered a finding on loss-of-use if it had been ger-

mane to his holding on the lease-related issues. As it was,

his finding that the implied covenant was not breached

eliminated any reason for him to consider whether there

was “liability” for various damages resulting from the

breach. After Judge Pollak reversed Judge Fogel’s liabil-

ity finding, he was obliged to consider Gypsum’s timely

raised claim for loss-of-use damages. We will therefore

remand the loss-of-use issue to be considered in the first

instance by the district court.’*

16. As our discussion indicates one of our disagreements with

Judge Pollak is our view that the claims for holdover rent and

loss-of-use are distinct, and in fact flow from two different alleged

acts of the defendant — the tuilure to surrender possession and the

breach of the implied covenant, respectively. (But see n. (15)

supra.) Judge Pollak viewed them as unitary. 485 F.Supp. at 51.

Nevertheless, our discussion of the nature of the claims is not in-

tended to be a commentary on their merits. For example, signifi-

cant issues remain with respect to the loss-of-use claim. Even if

the presence of the debris was the cause of Swann’s refusal to

settle — an issue which the district court will decide on remand —

there remains the question of whether Schiavo should be required

to pay for the harm resulting to Gypsum. Normally, “where the

breach [of contract] by the defendant has prevented the use and

operation of property by the plaintiff from which use profits would

probably have been made, the damages to be recovered may be

measured by [rental waluej . . . or by interest on the reasonable

value of the property as an investment.” 5 Corbin on Contracts

§ 1029, at 177 (footnotes omitted). Interestingly, however, the Re-

statement (Second) of Property, § 12.2(2) —the subsection deal-

ing with remedies for breach of the implied covenant at issue —

omits any mention of the recoverability of “special” damages for

breach of the covenant. See, especially, Comment i. Compare Id.

§ 14.6 (special damages recoverable for holdover tenancy). The

district court must decide on remand whether the courts of Penn-

sylvania would permit recovery of loss-of-use damages on whatever

facts it finds.

A26 Court of Appeals Opinion

VI.

Other Issues

Judge Pollak dismissed a second complaint which was

filed by Gypsum after he had refused to consider holdover

rent and loss-of-use in the main action. The new com-

plaint simply renewed those two claims. Judge Pollak

ruled, in accordance with his earlier ruling, that the issues

were res judicata and could not be raised in a second com-

plaint, because they “should have been fully litigated” in

the first action, citing, Bearoff v. Bearoff Bros., Inc., 458

Pa. 494, 498, 327 A.2d 72, 74 (1974). One of the require-

ments for concluding that a matter is res judicata is, of

course, that there be an extant final judgment from an

earlier action on the matters at issue, which is unreversed

on appeal. Bearoff, 458 Pa. at 498, 327 A.2d at 74-75.

With our decision, that is no longer the case as to the first

action. We will therefore vacate Judge Pollak’s ruling and

remand the second case to the district court so that it can

decide whether to consider it or dismiss it anew on a basis

other than res judicata.

We have considered Gypsum’s arguments anent the

district court's denial of prejudgment interest and its re-

fusal to order the disbursement to Gypsum of certain

escrow funds and find them to be without merit.

Conclusion

We will affirm the district court’s judgment in part

and reverse it in part, and we will remand both cases for

further proceedings, consistent with this opinion, on the

plaintiff's claims for holdover rent and loss of use of pur-

chase monies.”

17. This case has now occasioned hundreds of pages of brief-

ing and at least six different fairly lengthy written opinions in two

different courts. Something about this saga of landlord and tenant

seems to have caused the tiny segment of the legal community

that has dealt with it — both lawyers and judges — to discuss it at

extraordinary length. It is time, however, to bring this litigation to

a close, and we urge the parties that in view of this opinion they

first explore a prompt negotiated resolution of their remaining

differences before this protracted litigation is continued.

A28 District Court Opinion

IN THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

For THE EASTERN DisTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Crvit Action No. 74-3165

UNITED STATES GYPSUM CO.

vo.

SCHIAVO BROTHERS, INC.

OPINION AND ORDER

[Entered May 18, 1978]

Foce., J.

I. IntRopuctrory STATEMENT:

Good name in man and woman, dear my Lord,

Is the immediate jewel of their souls;

Who steals my purse steals trash; ‘tis

something, nothing:

"Twas mine, ‘tis his, and has been slave to

thousands;

But he that filches from me my good name

Robs me of that which not enriches him

And makes me poor indeed.’

(Emphasis supplied. )

The subject of this lawsuit concerns no one’s good

name; it does concern trash. While the actors in this saga

1. Othello, William Shakespeare (1964) — speech of Iago Act

III, Scene III — Lines 155-161 — Edition of 1936, edited by George

Lyman Kittredge.

District Court Opinion A29

do not quite reach the dramatic heights of an Othello or

an Iago, the bitterness generated by this dispute between

landlord and tenant with respect to the responsibility for

cleaning up industrial land has produced quite a scenario

(and has also provided us with more than one sideshow ).

It is the consequence of a long standing business relation-

ship gone sour.

Plaintiff, United States Gypsum Company (USG),

was the Icssor of a tract of land in Southwest Philadelphia

under a lease agreement which began in 1966 and ended

in 1974. USG seeks to recover from the lessee under that

lease, Schiavo Brothers, Inc. (Schiavo), costs incurred by

USG in clearing a large amount of trash and debris left

on the land by Schiavo at the termination of the lease.

The cause of this accumulation of debris was the use to

which the property was put; Schiavo, pursuant to the

terms of the lease, sublet a substantial portion of the lease-

hold premises to junk car dealers. When these dealers

vacated the property in 1974, they neglected to take with

them a substantial amount of the remains of their opera-

tions, specifically tires and car seats. Additionally, the

property accumulated, during the course of the lease, a

large amount of debris which was the result of illegal

dumping by third persons.

When the lease was terminated and Schiavo sur-

rendered the land to USG, Schiavo denied any duty to

clear the debris from the land. It based its position on

the terms of the 1966 lease, which made no provision for

the cleanup of the property at termination; Schiavo con-

tends that such a duty cannot be implied.

Plaintiff contends that Schiavo is in breach both of its

express duty to surrender peaceably the property, and

its implied duty, as lessee, to return the property in sub-

stantially the same condition which existed at the incep-

tion of the lease, reasonable wear and tear excepted.

A30 District Court Opinion

Schiavo also filed a counterclaim against USG, pursu-

ant to Fed.R.Civ.P. 13; this counterclaim arises from an-

other lease between USG as lessor and Schiavo as lessee.

This lease was signed in 1970, and concerned a tract of

land adjacent to the property which was the subject of the

1966 lease between the parties. Schiavo alleges that USG

fraudulently misled Schiavo with respect to the duration of

this lease; it contends that it expended a large sum of

revenue in the purchase of new equipment, and in im-

proving a road leading to the property in reliance on USG’s

misrepresentation; Schiavo claims USG then wrongfully

terminated the lease, causing damage to it.

The trial, which was non-jury, took ten days, eight of

which were devoted to trial of the main claim. Following

the trial, the parties submitted extensive briefs and re-

quests for findings of fact and conclusions of law. Thor-

ough oral argument was heard. We are now prepared

to issue our Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law,

pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. 52(a).

With respect to the main claim, we find that plain-

tiff has failed to prove, by a preponderance of the evi-

dence, that Schiavo is in breach of either an express cove-

nant to peaceably surrender the property, or an implied

covenant to return the land in substantially the same con-

dition as existed at the inception of the lease, (reasonable

wear and tear excepted). With respect to the counter-

claim, we find that Schiavo has also failed to meet its

burden of proof.

II. Frvpincs or Fact — Main Ciaim:

We will present our findings of fact, made pursuant

to Fed.R.Civ.P. 52(a), in narrative form:

A. Introduction:

USG is a corporation engaged in the manufacture of

gypsum building products; it is incorporated in Delaware,

District Court Opinion A31

and its principal place of business is in Chicago, Illinois.

Schiavo is in the business of waste disposal; its state of

incorporation is Pennsylvania, wad its principal place of

business is located in Philadelphia. In January, 1966, the

parties entered into a leasehold agreement for a tract of

land located in Southwest Philadelphia which was owned

by USG ’; it is that lease which is the center of the dispute

before us.

The leasehold property consisted of approximately 26

acres of territory, divided into two areas: Area A comprised

slightly more than 23 of these acres, while Area B ac-

counted for the remaining two-plus acres.’ This property

is adjacent to Essington Avenue, and covers both sides of

67th Street in Philadelphia, an industrial area in Southwest

Philadelphia which is near the Philadelphia International

Airport and consists of much undeveloped land.

B. Pre-1966 Background:

The primary benefit which USG derived, over the

years, from its ownership of the leasehold property, was

the disposal of the company’s waste through the operation

of a landfill on the property. USG has a manufacturing

plant located in Philadelphia, which produces a great

amount of waste material that must be eliminated; USG’s

ownership of the leasehold property provided the neces-

sary means for this disposal. Prior to 1959, the property

was entirely below grade, and was, therefore, suitable for

a landfill operation. In summary form, this operation con-

sists of dumping successive layers of waste in trenches dug

on the land, and covering each layer with a layer of dirt;

2. The lease agreement was dated January 1, 1966.

3. Trial Exhibit P-1, which was admitted into evidence, is a

survey of a portion of the City of Philadelphia, including the lease-

hold property. The parties have stipulated to the accuracy of

this document.

A32 District Court Opinion

this procedure is continued until the land is brought up

to grade. In this fashion, a properly operated landfill can

last for many years.

USG began to use the leasehold property for waste

disposal approximately in 1959; USG leased Area B to a

Mr. Archer, a waste hauler, who was to conduct a landfill

operation on the property, using primarily USG waste ma-

terial to bring the land up to grade; it took approximately

one year to accomplish this. At that time, in 1960, Area

B was leased by USG to a Mr. Spence and a Mr. Mont-

gomery for the purpose of operating an automobile junk

dealership on the property.

In the meantime, while Area B was being brought up

to grade, USG also began to have its waste dumped on

another part of the leasehold property; it leased a small

section of Area A, which has been designated as Area F

(this section has roughly the shape of a finger), to a Mr.

Neely; Area F covers approximately 718 feet along Essing-

ton Avenue, to a depth of about 100 feet. Mr. Neely

agreed to conduct a landfill on Area F, again using pri-

marily waste material of the lessor, USG. When Area F

was brought up to grade (within about a year), Neely

began to operate a used truck business on the property, a

use specifically permitted under the terms of his lease with

USG.

In 1961, Neely had a heart attack, and he assigned his

rights and obligations under the lease for Area F to Joseph

Adiletto, who continued to conduct a used truck business

on the land. Soon, however, Adiletto went beyond the

uses permitted under the lease, and not only began to

deal in automobile scrap himself, but also to sublet a part

of Area F to two automobile junk dealers. When USG

became aware of Adiletto’s activities, it did not order re-

moval of the junk car dealer operation, (Spence and Mont-

gomery were already operating a junk car dealership on

District Court Opinion A33

Area B), but increased the rental which Adiletto was to

pay under the lease. Thus, the junk car dealers continued

to occupy Area F.

By 1963, however, USG had become very unhappy

with the manner in which Adiletto supervised the junk car

dealers. The junk cars had expanded beyond the bounda-

ries of Area F, and were constantly sprawling onto Es-

sington Avenue, a public thoroughfare. In addition, the

property was generally in an unkempt condition, with

junk scrap and debris spread throughout the area; this

generally poor maintenance of the property had prompted

frequent complaints from the City of Philadelphia. For

these reasons, USG cancelled the lease with Adiletto in

1963.

Throughout this period, defendant Schiavo had been

carrying on a waste haulage and landfill operation on a

parcel of land which it owned, and which was adjacent to

the USG property. The real estate business relationship

between plaintiff and defendant began in 1963 after USG

had terminated the Adiletto lease. Area F was then leased

to Schiavo by USG;* USG believed that Schiavo would

exercise more aggressive, and therefore, more effective

supervision over the junk car dealers, and thus not only

keep them within the confines of their areas, but also

police them so that junk cars would not be placed on Es-

sington Avenue.

The natural expansion of junk car dealers beyond their

boundaries seems, however, to be an inevitable occurrence,

and the junk car sublessees gradually began to encroach

on Area A, beyond Area F. Rather than force the dealers

back onto their property, seemingly a fanciful idea at

best, USG agreed to lease to Schiavo a further part of

Area A (beyond Area F), encompassing in part the land

onto which junk dealers had expanded. This area, the

4. The date of this lease agreement was January 18, 1963.

A34 District Court Opinion

subject of a second 1963 lease,” covered approximately 200

feet along Essington Avenue, to a depth of approximately

100 feet. Thus, after the signing of the second lease

agreement, Schiavo had under lease from USG a section

of Area A (encompassing Area F), extending a little more

than 900 feet along Essingtor Avenue, to a depth of about

100 feet.

After the unhappy experience with Adiletto, USG had

been somewhat wary of continuing to allow junk car deal-

ers on the property; USG leased to Schiavo hoping that

defendant would keep the property in better condition.

While there is conflicting evidence on the extent to which

this was accomplished, it is at least clear that Schiavo

maintained the land in better condition than had Adiletto.

Nevertheless, the junk car dealers were an extremely dif-

ficult group to control; Michael Schiavo, who was the

president of Schiavo Brothers, Inc. from 1962 to 1968,

would periodically instruct the junk car dealers to clean up

their properties if the land had become too messy, and he

would demand that they keep their goods within their

particular boundaries. It was, however, a constant

struggle.

Whatever the degree of success of Schiavo at the su-

pervision of the subtenants, the evidence establishes that

the City of Philadelphia did not want the junk car dealers

on the land. The junk car operations produced recurrent

fire calls which had to be answered by the City; they

also produced several air pollution violations, the result

of open burning on the land. Thus, in February, 1965, the

City recommended to USG that the Schiavo lease be ex-

tended only on condition that the junk car dealers be re-

moved from the land, and that a lease term be added which

would specifically forbid the lessee from subletting to junk

car dealers.

5. This second 1963 lease was dated August 15, 1963.

District Court Opinion A35

USG, however, was advised by C.J. Mitchell Co.,

Inc. (Mitchell), its real estate agent with respect to the

leasehold property, that Schiavo was making “a real ef-

fort to compel his tenants to operate according to the terms

of the lease agreement.” (Trial Exhibit D-94.) Mitchell

counselled USG to oppose the City’s attempts to eliminate

the junk car dealers, this advice was followed by USG,

culminating in the lease of January 1, 1966, which is now

before us for interpretation.*

C. The 1966 Lease:

Before introducing the terms of the 1966 lease, it is

necessary to summarize the basic nature of the business

relationship between USG and Schiavo. We have noted

that Schiavo, in leasing Area F and another part of Area

A, acted as master tenant in trying to control the junk

car sublessees. It is important to recognize, however, that

this was merely a sideline operation for Schiavo; its main

business was waste haulage. Because of USG’s need to

dispose of its waste, and Schiavo’s obvious interest in gen-

erating revenue through the hauling of waste, the parties

were able to maintain a healthy, symbiotic relationship.

As we have noted, the leasehold property, owned by USG,

was suited for a landfill operation because it was below

grade; however, USG needed a dumping permit to be able

to dispose of its waste on the property; Schiavo had such a

permit. Similarly, Schiavo needed a landfill area into which

it could dispose of the waste it hauled; it could not, how-

ever, run a landfill operation without a City permit; USG

possessed this permit. In addition, USG desired to have

the land brought up to grade, since this would increase

its value; it was also to USG’s benefit to have a tenant oc-

cupying the property, because vacant land would be

6. The 1966 lease was admitted as Trial Exhibit P-15.

A36 District Court Opinion

highly susceptible to the illegal dumping of waste by out-

siders (a phenomenon known as “fugitive dumping” or

“short dumping”). So our Othello and Iago did indeed

start off well.

In recognition of their mutual needs, USG and Shi-

avo, in January, 1966, entered into two separate con-

tracts: a waste haulage agreement and a lease; it is only

the latter document with which we are concerned in the

matter before us. We note that this lease cannot be

characterized in any sense as an adhesion contract: both

parties were represented by counsel in the negotiation of its

terms.

The leasehold property encompassed all of Areas A

and B (including, of course, Area F, the subject of the

first 1963 lease, and the other portion of Area A which had

been the subject of the second 1963 lease). The 1966

lease superseded and terminated both 1963 leases between

the parties.’ USG terminated its lease with Spence and

Montgomery which covered this property. Spence and

Montgomery had, since the inception of its tenancy in

1960, been using the property for the operation of a junk

car dealership, similar to the use to which Schiavo’s sub-

tenants had put Area F and the other portion of Area A.

The remainder of the leasehold area, on Area A, was still

below grade and suitable for landfilling. Thus, while the

1966 lease was designed primarily to memorialize Schiavo’s

future operation of a landfill on the property, the lease

nevertheless encompassed, in part, areas which had al-

ready been brought up to grade, and which were being

used as junkyard sites. The lease specifically provided for

the further expansion of these junkyards as the land was

7. Due to an apparent typographical error in the 1966 lease,

the two 1963 leases were not specifically cancelled. (See Trial

Exhibit P-15, 23). The parties have stipulated, however, that

both 1963 leases between the parties were cancelled by the 1966

lease. (Joint Request for Finding of Fact #13(a)).

District Court Opinion A37

gradually brought up to grade; paragraph 20 of the lease

states, in relevant part:

20. Subject to the written approval of Lessor’s Works

Manager, Philadelphia Plant, which shall not be un-

reasonably withheld, Lessee reserves the right and

privilege to sublet that portion of the subject premises

already filled to grade level and of no use to Lessee

in conducting a landfill operation, provided that sub-

letting shall be only to so called “Automobile Wreck-

ing Yards.

When Schiavo took over the tenancy of Area B under

the 1966 lease, this property was not vacant; to the con-

trary, Spence and Montgomery had left a substantial

amount of debris on the property upon vacating it. Thus,

in order to prepare the land for the further subleasing to

junk car dealers, Schiavo was forced to expand the sum

of at least $2,500.00. Schiavo initially attempted to re-

cover this amount from USG, but USG directed Schiavo

to pursue Spence and Montgomery under the terms of the

1966 lease, under which USG had assigned to Schiavo all

rights to rent under the lease between USG and Spence

and Montgomery. Since this assignment covered only

rental rights, however, Schiavo could not force Spence

and Montgomery to pay for the cleanup of the property.°

8. Schiavo contends that the total cost of this operation was

$4,391.70. The evidence, however, does not sufficiently establish

the accuracy of this amount. Trial Exhibit P-19, which is a docu-

ment relating to the debris left on the Spence and Montgomery

property, states that the cost to Schiavo was $2,500.00; at the

bottom of this document there are several cryptic numerical

amounts, one of which is 4391.70. We cannot decipher the mean-

ing of this number; we, therefore, find that the cost was at least

$2,500.00.

9. The Spence and Montgomery lease actually did not termi-

nate until May 11, 1966, at which time Schiavo gained full control

over Area B.

A38 District Court Opinion

After negotiations between plaintiff and defendant, USG

agreed to pay Schiavo a $1,400 rental credit for the

cleanup of Area B. Since we find that Schiavo paid at

least $2,500 to have the land cleared, defendant was not

wholly compensated for the expense of removing the

debris. .

With the exception of those areas which were

sites of junkyards, the leaschold property was, in January,

1966, generally clear of debris, with the exception of some

waste which was the result of fugitive dumping on the

property.” During the term of the lease (which was a

year-to-year lease, to be automatically continued unless

terminated by either party), the land was developed as

contemplated by the parties." Schiavo, through the op-

eration of the landfill, gradually brought the land up to

grade; as a portion of Area A was raised to grade leyel,

it would be sublet to an automobile junk car dealer. In

the meantime, junk car dealers continued to operate on

10. The evidence produced at trial established that the only

effective means of preventing fugitive dumping was, in fact, to

erect a chain link fence which would prevent outsiders from even

entering onto the property. Fugitive dumping occurred during the

entire course of the period from 1959 to 1974. The evidence

showed, in fact, that fugitive dumping is virtually a custom with

respect to vacant land, or land on which a landfill operation is in

progress. As one witness eloquently put it:

Nothing will stop anybody from dumping, as I said before.

If you are going to dump, you are going to dump. There's

nothing in the world to stop them. (Trial at 1.227.)

1l. There was one modification to the lease. In 1968, the

parties negotiated a rent reduction for the property. This reduc-

tion was based upon the facts that USG’s waste removal require-

ments had declined, only a small percentage of the leasehold

property was actually being used as a landfill, and the junkyards

were not producing as much income as had been anticipated.

District Court Opinion A39

Areas F and B, and that portion of Area A which had

housed these dealers before 1966. Needless to say, as

the number of junk car dealers on the leasehold property

increased, the number of junk cars on the property likewise

increased. The general nature and upkeep of these junk-

yards was, however, gradually improved as the years

progressed, for the reason that the junk car industry was

generally improving its image; in addition, the City began

to put greater pressure on the dealers to keep their prop-

erties clean.”

There was also evidence that Michael Schiavo made

periodic efforts to keep the junk car dealers in line, and

to force them to keep their properties clean. Along with

his verbal attempts to control his subtenants, Schiavo also

required each dealer, as part of the terms of his lease, to

pay a security deposit to cover the cost of any rent de-

ficiency, as well as the cost of any necessary cleanup at

the termination of the dealer’s lease."* Generally, if this

escrow money was forfeited, it was for failure to pay rent,

12. One junk dealer succinctly stated the reason for the gradual

change in image:

It was going from an eyesore to where nobody wanted a junk

car to where they realized they needed them. If you make it

attractive and neat, you know, then you get more money for

your merchandise, for one thing, and it's more desirable, a

more desirable place to go. People is getting away from the

dirty old image. (Trial at 1.41.)

13. During the period from 1966-69, the amount of this security

deposit varied from $300-$500. In 1969, the amount was raised to

$1,000.

In each of its subleases with the junk car dealers, Schiavo in-

serted a general cleanup clause, which stated:

4b4. The lessee agrees to keep the area clean, with no piling

up of unnecessary old cushions, debris, etc., and clean off the

lot upon vacating it. If the lessor must clean the lot the lessee

will be charged.

A40 District Court Opinion

although there was at least one instance in which it was

forfeited for failure to clean up the property. Michael

Schiavo also testified that if a sublease was terminated, and

the dealer left debris on the property, Schiavo would bear

the expense of cleanup; the purpose of the cleanup was

primarily economic: Schiavo could not sublet a piece of

land which was strewn with debris. Michael Schiavo

testified that if another tenant was not coming onto prop-

erty which a dealer had vacated, he would not clean up

the property, and we accept this testimony.

In 1972, the landfill operation on the leasehold prop-

erty was completed, and Schiavo continued its operations

on the land only in its status as master tenant for the junk

car dealers. After 1972, the number of dealers continued

to increase, and the number of junk cars thus continued to

multiply. In addition, the amount of debris left by

fugitive dumpers increased after the close of the landfill,

because Schiavo could no longer dump this waste in the

landfill.

D. The Termination of the 1966 Lease and the Re-

moval of the Subtenants:

The 1966 lease provided that either party could ter-

minate the lease upon 120 days written notice; the lease

was properly terminated by Schiavo on August 1, 1973,

effective January 1, 1974." The termination was acknowl-

edged by USG by letter dated September 7, 1973; this

letter, from Frank Hansen, Real Estate Manager of USG,

to Schiavo, laid the groundwork for the saga that fol-

lowed—the second paragraph reads as follows:

14. The August 1, 1973 letter was from John Lamb, President

of Schiavo, to Roy E. Starner, Works Manager of USG’s Phila-

delphia plant. Mr. Lamb became president of Schiavo in 1968,

and remained in that position until mid-1973.

District Court Opinion A4l

You recognize, of course, that as lessee it is your obli-

gation to surrender the premises on the termination

date in substantially the same condition as at the com-

mencement of the lease. Consistent with this obliga-

tion, we shall expect you to remove all wrecked or

abandoned automobiles, trucks, parts and other debris

prior to the termination date. (Trial Exhibit P-49).

We find that this was the first notice which Schiavo

received from USG, setting forth that USG expected

Schiavo, under the terms of the 1966 lease, to return the

leasehold property free and clear of debris. The 1966

lease contains no clause with respect to the responsibility

for cleanup of the property. In addition, no representative

of USG informed Schiavo, prior to September, 1973, either

orally or in writing, that cleanup would eventually be re-

quired of Schiavo at termination; the testimony reveals that

the cause of this omission was USG’s belief that such no-

tice was unnecessary, since USG believed that Schiavo

would be fully aware of its alleged responsibility for

cleanup, despite the fact that there was no specific lease

provision which spelled out this duty.

After notice of termination, USG informed Schiavo

that USG did not want the junk car dealers to remain on

the property, and directed Schiavo to terminate the leases

of these subtenants. Accordingly, Francis Dougherty, real

estate agent for Schiavo with respect to the leasehold prop-

erty, gave written notice to the subtenants in October,

1973, that their leases would be terminated, effective

December 31, 1973. No mention was made in this ter-

mination letter from Dougherty of the junk dealers’ re-

sponsibility to clean up their properties pursuant to the

specific terms of their leases.

The junk car dealers, a notoriously difficult group with

whom to deal in any case, quickly objected to the short

A42 District Court Opinion

amount of time which they had been given to vacate their

premises. Basically, the stock in trade of an automobile

junk car dealer is the metal scrap parts of the car; the tires

and seats are generally worth little—it is the metal which

has the value.” In October, 1973, the dealers were faced

with an economically unenviable situation: they had been

given a month and a half to negotiate new leases on an-

other area or to go out of business, and they had to

arrange to remove their inventory from the premises, either

through transportation to another lease site, or through

sale. In addition, sale of the inventory would be hampered

by the fact that all of the dealers had to vacate, resulting

in a large amount of scrap material being dumped on the

market at one time.

Several of the junk dealers informed Dougherty that

they could not possibly vacate their lots by December 31,

and asked for an extension of time. They were informed

by Dougherty that this was impossible; one of the dealers

telephoned Mr. Hansen of USG to request an extension,

but he was rebuffed. On December 1, 1973, Schiavo re-

affirmed the December 31 date. However, only one of

the dealers * vacated his lot on that date, and this dealer

was forced to leave a great amount of valuable scrap

15. The value of the junk car metal to the dealers, despite its

unsightliness, was colorfully explained by one dealer at trial:

Let me explain something to you about junk cars. You know,

it’s just the animal itself. A junk car looks exactly like that, a

junk car. To somebody that doesn’t know anything about junk

cars, it's an ugly sight, it really is. I mean, you know, there’s

nothing beautiful about a smashed automobile or an old scrap,

an old piece of scrap. Now, to me that’s money.

THE COURT: To you it’s beautiful.

THE WITNESS: Right. To me that’s a picture of beauty. I

wish I had a billion cars out there. (Trial at 7.96.)

16. The dealer who vacated was Valentino Piacentino, Jr.

District Court Opinion A43

metal on the property because he had not had time to sell

or remove it.

The other dealers formed an association to fight evic-

tion; Schiavo began eviction proceedings immediately after

January 1, 1974. A hearing was held in Municipal Court

of the City of Philadelphia on March 4, 1974; at this

hearing, the dealers were given a further 90 days from that

date in which to vacate. While the Municipal Court

eviction proceedings were technically a dispute between

Schiavo and the junk dealer's association, counsel for USG

sent an observer *’ to the hearing; he took no part in the

proceedings, but was informed of the negotiations be-

tween respective counsel for Schiavo and the dealers on an

ongoing basis. This agent of USG never objected to the

extension of time given to the dealers.

In the meantime, USG had arranged for the sale of

the leasehold property to Swann Oil Company (Swann),

as part of the agreement of sale, dated January 18, 1974;

closing was made conditional upon all debris being re-

moved from the land. It was thus vital to USG’s inter-

ests that the property be cleaned.

During the course of the summer of 1974, the junk car

dealers gradually vacated the premises, either voluntarily

or by eviction; by September, all of the dealers had left

the property. A substantial amount of debris, however,

remained on the property after the dealers had departed.

The evidence shows that Schiavo did very little to force

the dealers to obey the terms of their leases with respect

to the cleanup of the property. Neither Dougherty, nor

Lamb, nor William Breene (who became managing agent

of Schiavo in April, 1974, and the president of the com-

pany in August, 1974), put great pressure on the dealers

to clear off all the debris, although periodic visits were

17. This observer was Ralph M. Harter, who was an associate

in the firm of Duane, Morris and Heckscher.

A44 District Court Opinion

made by Lamb to the property; he would remind the

dealers that it was their responsibility to clean up. In ad-

dition, Lamb provided the dealers with free trash barrels

to encourage them to put the debris in these containers

and then remove them. Schiavo and its agents were, how-

ever, primarily concerned with removing the dealers them-

selves from the land, which was in and of itself no trifling

task.

It is highly speculative that any degree of pressure

would have succeeded in forcing the dealers to remove all

the debris. Testimony from several witnesses established

that junk car dealers rarely, if ever, clean up their proper-

ties upon leaving; we have already noted that these deal-

ers, were, in general, very difficult persons against whom

to enforce obligations.

During the period when the dealers were vacating the

premises, Schiavo denied that it was its responsibility to

remove the debris left by the dealers, or the debris accumu-

lated through fugitive dumping. As a result, in order to

guarantee that the sale of the property to Swann would go

through, USG was forced to hire a private contractor,

George Hunter, to clear the debris. Hunter performed

this work at a total cost of $144,500; the closing on the

sale of the property to Swann was held on September

30, 1974.

E. Condition of the Leasehold Premises in 1974:

The principal factual disputes between the parties are

the amount and nature of the debris, which was left on

the property at the lease termination in 1974, as compared

with that which was on the leasehold premises at the

commencement of the lease in 1966. In addresing this

question, we must separately consider the three sub-areas

of the leasehold: 1) Area B, Area F, and that portion of

Area A which had been the site of junk car dealerships

District Court Opinion A45

prior to 1966; 2) that part of Area A fronting on Essington

Avenue, and back to a depth of approximately 100 feet—

it is this section onto which Schiavo gradually extended

its subleasing to junk car dealers; and 3) the back portion

of Area A, behind the site of the junk car dealers—this

area was not sublet to the dealers, even after the landfill

was completed.

It is also necessary to distinguish between three types

of debris: 1) junk car metal scrap, which was valuable

inventory for the dealers, although it was just debris as

far as USG and Swann were concerned; 2) tires and car

seats, which comprised the main portion of the waste

left on the property by the dealers; and 3) material from

fugitive dumping, which took virtually every imaginable

form, from watermelons to dead cats to junk car debris

deposited by third persons.

When the property was cleared in 1974, there was

debris spread generally throughout the leasehold area, with

the exception of the areas of three or four dealers who

had thoroughly cleaned their land. Of the material

cleared, approximately forty percent was found on the

front portion of the property, which had housed the deal-

ers; the remaining sixty percent was cleared from the back

portion of Area A. The front portion of the land (both

Areas A and B) was virtually devoid of fugitive dumping

material; it was almost entirely the residue of the junk car

dealers’ operations. Very little of this debris, however,

was metal scrap; the dealers, with only minor exception,

had taken their valuable metal scrap when they left, or had

sold it.’* Thus, the waste on the front portion of the land

was principally automobile tires and seats.

18. USG, in attempting to prove the cluttered nature of the

property in 1974, as opposed to its condition in 1966, places great

reliance upon a series of photographs introduced at trial. Trial

Exhibits P-30 and P-34 are aerial photographs of the leasehold

property, the former taken in 1968, and the latter in 1971. These

A46 District Court Opinion

The debris on the back portion of the land was made

up of approximately eighty percent of the residue of the

junk dealers whose waste had spread beyond their

boundaries (again, principally tires and seats), and ap-

proximately twenty percent fugitive dump material.

Those sub-areas which had been the site of junk car

‘ealers at the commencement of the lease were left, at the

termination of the lease, in the same, or in cleaner con-

dition than that which existed in 1966. There were two

reasons for this: first, as noted earlier, the image of the

junk car industry was changing, and dealers were gen-

erally more conscious of maintaining an orderly premises;

second, and of greater significance, a shredding machine

operation used by the dealers started to accept automobile

seats in 1973; previously the machine had not been

equipped to handle them. Thus, instead of allowing these

seats to accumulate on the property, the dealers were able

to bring them to the shredder and be paid for waste

tonnage.

NOTE — (Continued)

photos serve principally to show the proliferation of junk car dealers

on the property as the land was gradually brought up to grade.

We have found that Schiavo subleased to more junk dealers as the

landfill operation progressed; it is a natural incident of this increase

in dealers that there be a coincident increase in the number of

junk cars and debris, and it is this fact which is shown by P-30

and P-34.

Trial exhibits P-86 and P-86A consist of a series of photographs

identified as depicting portions of the leasehold property taken

during the summer of 1974 when Hunter was cleaning the property.

While these photos show a substantial amount of debris on the

property, they are somewhat misleading, in that they were obviously

taken after Hunter had bulldozed the majority of the debris into

huge piles preparatory to putting it into trucks. Therefore, these

photos show, in essence, the total amount of debris cleared, and not

the general nature of the property at the termination of the lease.

District Court Opinion A47

The rest of the leasehold area, both the front portion

first sublet to junk dealers after 1966, and the back portion,

had more debris on it in 1974 than it had in 1966; this

conclusion is obvious, since we have found that this area

was generally clear in 1966, with the exception of scattered

fugitive dump material. Whatever debris was on the land

in 1974 was therefore more than had existed when the

lease term commenced. With respect to the front portion

which were the subleased areas, however, we emphasize

that the remaining debris was the residue of these junk

car operations — debris which stemmed from the precise

type of land development that had been contemplated by

the parties to the 1966 lease.

III. Discussion:

The basis for federal jurisdiction in this case is diver-

sity of citizenship between the parties. 28 U.S.C. § 1332.

We are, thus, obliged to apply the substantive law which

the courts of Pennsylvania would apply. Erie R. Co. v.

Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1938).

A. Pretrial Ruling on Parol Evidence:

As part of the final pretrial order, plaintiff indicated

its intention to introduce evidence relating to the negotia-

tions which led to the signing of the 1966 lease; specif-

ically, plaintiff wanted to show the reasons why a specific

cleanup clause did not become part of the lease. De-

fendant objected on the ground that this evidence was

barred by the parol evidence rule; defendant contended

that the lease was not ambiguous in any of its terms, and

that it was not procured through fraud, accident, or mis-

take. Prior to trial, we ruled that all evidence of lease

negotiations was inadmissible under the parole evidence

rule; we now reaffirm that finding.

A48 District Court Opinion

Under the parol evidence rule, when parties to a

contract have reduced their agreement to a written form,

and this writing appears on its face to be the entire agree-

ment of the parties, evidence of prior or contemporaneous

negotiations or agreements, which either vary or contradict

that writing, is inadmissible. Furthermore, when the

writing expressly states that it contains the entire agree-

ment of the parties, it is conclusively presumed to do so,

absent a showing that this integration clause was procured

through fraud, accident, or mistake. Gianni v. Russell &

Co., 281 Pa. 320, 126 A. 791 (1924).

The lease in the instant case contains an integration

clause which provides as follows:

It is expressly understood and agreed by and between

the parties hereto that this lease and the riders at-

tached hereto and forming a part hereof set forth all

the promises, agreements, conditions and understand-

ings between Lessor or its Agent and Lessee relative

to the demised premises, and that there are no

promises, agreements, conditions or understandings,

either oral or written, between them other than are

herein set forth. It is further understood and agreed

that, except as herein otherwise provided, no subse-

quent alteration, amendment, change or addition to

this lease shall be binding upon Lessor or Lessee

unless reduced to writing and signed by them. (Trial

Exhibit P-15, 17.)

Plaintiff does not contend that the lease is ambiguous

as to any term, nor that fraud, accident, or mistake can be

established; to the contrary, plaintiff's counsel admitted at

oral argument following trial that the contract was un-

ambiguous. Plaintiff contends, however, that because the

lease is silent with respect to the cleanup of the property,

that parol evidence is admissible to show the intent of the

District Court Opinion A49

on this issue. The short answer to this contention

is that if it had been the intent of the parties specifically

to provide for cleanup, a provision to this effect should

have been inserted into the admittedly integrated lease

document.” It is clear that evidence of intent with re-

spect to the meaning of the contract terms is not admissible

in the absence of ambiguity. Pavlich v. Ambrosia Coal

and Construction Co., 441 Pa. 210, 273 A.2d 343 (1971).

As stated by the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania over

twenty years ago:

In interpreting this agreement it is our duty to at-

tempt to ascertain the intention of the parties and to

give effect to that intention if it can be done con-

sistently with legal principles [citations omitted]. In

order to ascertain that intention “the court may take

into consideration the surrounding circumstances, the

situation of the parties, the objects they apparently

have in view, and the nature of the subject matter of

the agreement.” [citations omitted]. However, that

does not mean that where there is an integrated

agreement. . . . evidence of the negotiations which

have led to the formation of this integrated agreement

is admissible to show an intent at variance with the

language of the written agreement. . . .

Appeal of Edwin J. Schoettle Co., 390 Pa. 365, 372, 134

A.2d 908, 912 (1957).

In order to consider evidence of negotiations in the

matter before us, we would have to find that silence with

19. To support its claim that the ;,arol evidence should have

been admitted, USG cites Commonwealth v. Berger, 11 Pa. Comm.

332, 312 A.2d 100 (1973). While evidence of lease negotiations

was admitted in Berger, there is no indication that the contract

before the court was an integrated document. The lease before

us in the instant matter does, of course, contain an integration

clause, and this is a crucially distinguishing factor.

A50 District Court Opinion

respect to the responsibility of cleanup at the termination

of the lease, amounts to an ambiguity in the contract.

There is simply no basis for such a holding, nor does plain-

tiff contend there is. The lease, which is an integrated

document, and unambiguous in its terms, must be inter-

preted within its four corners; the intent of the parties

must be gleaned from the language of the lease. We,

therefore, reaffirm our prior ruling on this issue, and hold

that parol evidence with respect to negotiations leading

to the signing of the 1966 lease agreement between USG

and Schiavo was property excluded at trial, particularly,

since that evidence would have added a material provision

to the lease.

B. The Existence of an Implied Covenant:

The 1966 lease contained no provision requiring

Schiavo to clean the land, or to return the leasehold prop-

erty to USG free of debris. Therefore, the principal basis

upon which USG relies in seeking recovery from Schiavo

for the expense of clearing the debris is Schiavo's alleged

breach of the implied covenant to return the leasehold

premises in substantially the same condition in which it

existed when received, reasonable wear and tear excepted.

Under Pennsylvania law, this covenant exists even in the

absence of an express covenant, unless the implied cove-

nant is negated by contrary language in the lease. Earle

v. Arbogast, 180 Pa. 409 (1897); Patton v. United States,

139 F.Supp. 279 (W.D.Pa. 1955); Riverview Properties,

Inc. v. United States, 102 F.Supp. 934 (M.D.Pa. 1952).

Plaintiff contends that the return of the property with

junk car debris and fugitive dump material still on the

land was a clear breach of this implied covenant. Before

analyzing this contention, we must deal initially with

Schiavo’s claim that this implied covenant was negated by

the terms of the lease.

District Court Opinion A51

Defendant avers that the integration clause in the

lease precludes the finding of any implied covenant. Since

this clause provides that no agreements or conditions exist

outside the terms of the lease, argues Schiavo, we cannot

place any greater duties upon it beyond those which are

specifically delineated in the written contract. Defendant

contends that the integration clause provides language con-

trary to any duty to return the premises in the same con-

dition, reasonable wear and tear excepted, and that this

implied covenant has thus been expressly negated.

We do not believe that this argument withstands

analysis. We have noted that the intent of the parties

with respect to the meaning of the lease terms must be

determined from the face of the document. The integra-

tion clause, in relevant part, states as follows:

[T]here are no promises, agreements, conditions, or

understandings, either oral or written, between [the

parties] other than are herein set forth. (Emphasis

supplied. )

The obvious intent of this language was to preclude the

introduction of parol evidence with respect to negotiations

and agreements which are not incorporated in the con-

tract. This is the generally recognized purpose of such an

integration clause. An implied covenant, however, cannot

be characterized as an “oral or written” agreement or

understanding; we believe that the insertion of these words

makes it clear that the negation of any implied covenant

which might otherwise adhere was not within the con-

templation of the parties in drafting the integration clause.

Cf. City of Philadelphia v. Page, 363 F. Supp. 148 (E.D.

Pa. 1973), in which the court held that the implied war-

ranty of habitability was not negated by a clause which

stated that the delineated express warranties were the

only warranties to which the seller would be bound.

A52 District Court Opinion

In seeking to negate the existence of the aforemen-

tioned implied covenant, Schiavo advances the following

points: 1) the lease term specifically permitting subleasing

to junk car dealers, did not mention any cleanup duty,

thus negating any finding of an implied covenant to re-

turn the premises as received, reasonable wear and tear

excepted; and 2) the express duty in the lease requiring

peaceable surrender of the premises at the termination of

the lease precludes a finding of any further implied duty.”

We summarily reject both of these contentions. With re-

spect to the first, the mere fact the lease directs that a

specific use be made of the property simply does not estab-

lish that the parties intended to relieve the lessee of the

duty to rectify the consequences of that use. This clause

cannot be interpreted as language contrary to the existence

of the implied covenant.

The second of Schiavo’s contentions is refuted by the

reasoning in City of Philadelphia v. Page, supra; the fact

that the parties resolved to memorialize one termination

duty does not evidence an intent to reject another duty of

a different nature. Defendant argues that the insertion of

an express covenant excludes a contradictory, implied

covenant. Brimmer v. Union Oil Co., 81 F.2d 437 (10th

Cir.), cert. denied, 298 U.S. 668 (1936). We do not be-

lieve, however, that a duty to deliver land at the termina-

tion of a lease is contradictory to a duty to deliver that

land in a certain condition. The covenants are separate

and distinct.

20. Schiavo also contends that the previous dealings between

the parties, and specifically the inclusion of a cleanup clause in

the two 1963 leases, negates the finding of an implied covenant

with respect to the 1966 lease. However, in interpreting the lan-

guage of the 1966 lease within its four corners, we have not con-

sidered evidence with respect to the prior negotiations or dealings

between the parties.

District Court Opinion A53

Having found no language to the contrary in the 1966

lease, we hold that the defendant had a duty to return the

leasehold premises to USG at the termination of the lease,

in substantially the same condition as existed at its incep-

tion, reasonable wear and tear excepted.

C. Breach of the Implied Covenant:

In determining whether Schiavo is in breach of this

implied covenant, we must separately consider three areas

of the leasehold property: 1) the area previously leased

to junk car dealers; 2) the area landfilled and sublet to

dealers during the term of the lease; and 3) the back por-

tion, landfilled but not leased to dealers.

(i) The Area Previously Leased to Junk Car

Dealers

At the commencement of the leasehold term in 1966,

Area B, Area F, and another 200 foot portion of Area A

adjoining Area F, had been the site of junk car dealers for

several years. We have found that, as a result of these

operations, there was a substantial amount of debris and

junk cars already on the property at the execution of the

lease in 1966. Furthermore, we have found that at the

termination of the lease, this portion of the property was

left by Schiavo in either the same, or in better condition

than that in which it had been in 1966. It is therefore

obvious, based upon these findings, that Schiavo did not

breach its implied covenant with respect to these areas.

The land was returned in substantially the same condition

as that which existed when received, reasonable wear and

tear excepted.

(ii) The Area Sublet to Junk Car Dealers for the

* First Time During the Leasehold Term

We have found that the portion of Area A not previ-

ously leased to junk car dealers at the commencement of

A54 District Court Opinion

the lease was generally clear of debris at that time, with

the exception of some fugitive dump material. The part

of this property fronting on Essington Avenue to a depth

of approximately 100 feet as it was gradually raised to

grade level during the lease term, was sublet to dealers.

As a result of these operations, a substantial amount of

junk car debris, principally tires and some car seats, was

left on the property at the termination of the lease. USG

vigorously contends that the failure of Schiavo to clear this

debris off the property was an obvious breach of Schiavo’s

implied covenant; the accumulation of rubbish to this de-

gree, contends plaintiff, cannot be considered “reasonable

wear and tear.” We find, however, that USG has failed to

meet its burden of esi.blishing that, in the context of the

junk car industry, the wear and tear to the land was ex-

cessive or unreasonable.

It is of cardinal importance to note that USG spe-

cifically approved subletting of the leasehold property by

Schiavo to junk car dealers, as the property was filled to

grade. Therefore, while this portion of Area A was vacant

in 1966, the land was developed in the precise manner

contemplated by the 1966 lease. In determining that wear

and tear which is “reasonable”, we must consider the use

to which the property was put, a use which, in this case,

was agreed to by the landlord. In Codman v. Hygrade

Food Products Corp., 295 Mass. 195, 3 N.E. 2d 759 (1936),

the court was confronted with a lease which, by its terms,

required the lessee to return the property (a building)

in “good tenantable repair.” Interpreting this term, the

court stated:

The phrases “in good tenantable repair” and “in good

condition” appearing in such a lease do not have a

fixed or technical meaning which is always the same

regardless of the character or use of the building to

which they refer. A building adapted for use as a

District Court Opinion A55

tannery might be in good condition for that purpose

and absolutely untenantable for use as a watch fac-

tory. In the application of phrases of such general

significance to a building which is the subject matter

of a lease various things are to be taken into account.

Among these are . . . the use to which the building

is to be put and the character of a business there to

be carried on [citations omitted]; . . . and the class

of tenant and the kind of business of a tenant who

would be likely to lease the building (citations

omitted].

3 N.E.2d at 760.

We believe this reasoning is apposite to the facts of

this case. We, therefore, reject plaintiffs argument that

because the land way vacant when leased, we must con-

sider only what is reasonable wear and tear to vacant land;

USG cannot consent to a specific use of its property, and

then ask this court to ignore the natural consequences of

that use.** We cannot determine that “wear and tear”

21. One of the principal cases relied upon by USG, U.S. v.

Jordan, 186 F.2d 803 (6th Cir.), affd per curiam, 342 US. 911

(1951), is distinguishable from the case at bar. In Jordan, the

government temporarily condemned certain private lands, and

leased others, for use as a gunnery range; following the return of

the land to the property owners, they sued for damage to the

standing timber caused by the lodging of bullets in the trees; the

owners argued that the compensation awards and lease rentals

were not sufficient to cover this damage. The government argued

that because the intent of the government was to use the land as a

gunnery range, the lodging of bullets in the timber was the conse-

quence of the normal use of the property. In rejecting this argu-

ment and affirming the district court’s award of damages to the

landowners, the court stated, inter alia:

The extremely low rental which was paid [under the leases],

in some instances as low as fifty cents an acre, strongly sup-

ports the ruling that timber damage was not included in the

rental figure.

A56 District Court Opinion

which is “reasonable” without considering the nature of

the business conducted on the land.* While USG was

primarily interested in the use of the property as a land-

fill, the parties agreed in the lease that Schiavo could sub-

let to the dealers after the land was raised to grade. It

is an understatement to say that the establishment of

junk car dealerships is not the most elegant use to which

land may be put. The uncontradicted evidence produced

at trial established that junk car dealers were, in general,

an extremely difficult group with whom to deal; that it

was an arduous, if not impossible, task to keep them within

the bounds of their obligations; that there was a natural

expansion of debris beyond their lease boundaries; and

that upon termination of a junkyard lease, the dealer rarely,

if ever, cleared the property of accumulated debris be-

yond removing the scrap metal which could be sold. USG,

in fact, suffered this experience with Spence and Mont-

gomery, who failed to clear Area B at the termination of

the 1960 lease covering that property; as a result, Schiavo

was forced to remove the accumulated debris before it

could relet the premises to other dealers.

NOTE — (Continued)

Id. at 806. In the case at bar, there is not sufficient evidence

to support an inference that the rental fee was so low that the

parties clearly did not contemplate that USG would bear the cost

of cleanup.

22. Plaintiff produced the testimony of a real estate expert,

Charles A. Thomas, who stated that the debris left on the property

by Schiavo diminished the value of the land with respect to the

“highest and best use” of the land. This issue, however, is not

before us; we must determine what is reasonable wear and tear to

the land with respect to the operation of a junkyard, for this was

the use to which the parties agreed. It is undisputed that the

debris diminished the value of the property with respect to the use

to which Swann wished to put it. See, Getty Oil Co. ». Mills, 204

F.Supp. 179, 197 (W.D.Pa. 1962); Codman v. I grade Food

Products Corp., 295 Mass. 195, 3 N.E.2d 759 (1936).

District Court Opinion AST

Initially, it is clear that the accumultion of debris on

this portion of the leasehold property was not more than

reasonable wear and tear in the context of the junk car

industry. The evidence established that in the later years

of the lease term the general condition of the dealers’

properties improved, due both to the industry's goal to

improve its image, and to the fact that the shredder began

to accept car seats.

Second, with respect to the failure to clear the debris

at the termination of the lease, we find that USG has

failed to prove by a preponderance of the evidence that

this condition was more than reasonable wear and tear to

junkyard property. The evidence shows that the dealers

virtually never cleaned their properties upon leaving, de-

spite their standard lease obligation to do so. We cannot

ignore this evidence. When the lease was executed in

1966, both parties had had experience with junk car

dealers; nevertheless, no provision was made in the lease

with respect to the responsibility for clearing the debris

which the dealers would inevitably produce. We cannot

imply an obligation to return land wholly free of debris,

when the evidence provides no support for a finding that

junkyard property would normally be returned in this

condition. We cannot simply assume in a vacuum that no

one would ever expect leased land to be returned covered

with debris, and that this condition is therefore, neces-

sarily, unreasonable wear and tear as a matter of law.

It is the record, and not our assumptions, which must

support any such finding, and the record in this case fails

to provide this foundation.” We, therefore, hold that with

23. USG argues that Schiavo’s inclus‘on of a cleanup clause in

all of the subleases with the dealers, as well as Schiavo's periodic

demands that the dealers keep the land in good condition, is pro-

bative evidence with respect to Schiavo’s understanding of their

responsibility to return the land clear of debris, and of the inten-

A58 District Court Opinion

respect to that portion of the leasehold property first

leased to junk car dealers during the term of the lease,

Schiavo returned the land in substantially the same condi-

tion as existed when it received the land, reasonable wear

and tear excepted.

(iti) The Back Portion of the Leasehold Property:

The back portion of Area A, which was not leased to

junk car dealers, nevertheless was left with a substantial

amount of debris on it, both from dealers who expanded

their materials beyond their boundaries, and from fugitive

dumping. In determining whether Schiavo is in breach of

its implied covenant with respect to this area, we must

differentiate between these two categories of debris.

(a) Junk Car Debris:

Concentrating first upon the debris which was the

result of the junk car operations on the front portion of

NOTE — (Continued)

tion of the parties to the lease that cleanup was Schiavo’s respon-

sibility. While we will consider the evidence on this issue, see,

Wigmore, Evidence, 3d Ed. 1940, § 377, we do not believe, in light

of the entire record, that this evidence shows any “understanding”

on Schiavo’s part of their responsibility to USG for cleanup.

Schiavo was interested in generating more revenue from the land,

and it was therefore in its interest to rent to the dealers for this

purpose. If a dealer vacated his property, or was evicted, it would

be easier to rent the land to another dealer if the property were

left clean. Additionally, we have found that the City of Phila-

delphia wanted the dealers out of the area because their operations

created an eyesore; therefore, to the extent that Schiavo could en-

courage the dealers to keep their areas orderly, it might well do so

to prevent harassment from the City. Therefore, both the cleanup

clauses in the lease, and Schiavo’s periodic demands to the dealers

to keep their areas neat, were beneficial to Schiavo’s own immedi-

ate economic interest. Accordingly, this evidence is of very little

weight in proving any responsibility for general cleanup at the

termination of the main lease.

District Court Opinion A59

Area A, we again emphasize that the 1966 lease specifically

permitted junk car operations on all of the leasehold prop-

erty. While Schiavo did not specifically lease the back

portion to dealers, it could have done so. Furthermore, we

have found that junk car dealers naturally expand beyond

their boundaries onto any available land; the accumulation

of debris on the back area was neither urexpected nor

unreasonable in the context of the junk car industry. Be-

cause the 1966 lease approved the expansion of dealer

operations onto the entire leasehold property, the accu-

mulation of debris on the back area was not a use con-

trary to lease provisions. Therefore, based upon the

reasoning in the previous section, we again find that plain-

tiff has failed to prove, on the record before us, that the

accumulation of junk car debris was, in the context of this

industry, unreasonable wear and tear to the land. Ac-

cordingly, we find that USG has not established a breach

by Schiavo of the implied covenant with respect to the

dealers’ debris left on the back portion of the property.

(b) Fugitive dumping:

The evidence produced at trial revealed that fugitive

dumping was a normal incident of vacant property; illegal

dumping had been occurring on the leasehold property

for many years prior to the lease, and it continued on the

back portion of the property throughout the term of the

1966 lease. There is, however, a critical distinction be-

tween the accumulation of junk car debris, and the accu-

mulation of fugitive dump debris: fugitive dumping was

not contemplated by the parties to the 1966 lease. While

its occurrence may not have been unexpected, provision

was obviously not made in the lease for fugitive dumping.

USG cannot be held to have approved of the accumulation

of this type of debris; indeed, we must consider this wear

and tear to the land as if the lease had been for vacant

A60 District Court Opinion

land. Under these circumstances, we believe that the

amount of fugitive dump material which was left on the

land at the termination of the lease was unreasonable wear

and tear to the land. Despite this finding, however, plain-

tiff has not proven that Schiavo is in breach of the implied

covenant, because USG has failed to prove that the accu-

mulation of this debris was caused by the negligence of

defendant; we find that under Pennsylvania law, negli-

gence is a required element in proving a breach of the

implied covenant to return leasehold property in substan-

tially the same condition as when received, reasonable

wear and tear excepted.

USG argues strenuously that no proof of negligence

is required to establish a breach of the implied covenant;

it is, USG avers, only the condition of the land, and not

the acts or omissions of the defendant which may have

caused that condition, which we must examine in this

case.

To determine whether negligence is an element of

breach of this implied covenant under Pennsylvania law,

we must focus upon the seminal case in this area. In

Earle v. Arbogast, 180 Pa. 409, 36 A. 923 (1897), the

court stated in relevant part:

Generally, in the absence of an excess covenant on

the subject, the law implies a covenant on the part

of the lessee so to treat the demised premises that

they revert to the lessor unimpaired, except by usual

wear and tear, and uninjured by any willful or negli-

gence act of the lessee. The implied covenant does

not, however, extend to the loss of buildings by fire,

flood, or tempest, or enemies, which it was not in

the power of the lessee to prevent, and there is no

implied covenant that the lessee shall restore build-

ings which have been destroyed by accident without

fault on his part. (Emphasis supplied. )

District Court Opinion A61

USG argues that this language supports the creation

of two covenants: 1) a covenant to leave the premises un-

impaired except by usual wear and tear; and 2) a covenant

to leave the property uninjured by any willful or negli-

gent act of the lessee. The latter covenant, which requires

proof of negligence, is only applicable, avers USG, in

situations in which damage has been caused by a sudden

and singular incident, such as a fire or explosion; the

former covenant applies to normal use, as in the case at

bar, and does not require proof of negligence.

While the language in Earle is somewhat ambiguous,

we do not believe these words may fairly be interpreted

to create two covenants; no case subsequent to Earle sup-

ports such a reading. In 22 P.L.E. Landlord and Tenant

§ 237, the implied covenant is expressed as follows:

Even in the absence of an express covenant, there is

an implied obligation on the part of a lessee to treat

property leased in such a manner that no injury is

done to the inheritance, and to return the property to

the lessor in as good condition as when received, or-

dinary wear and tear excepted. However, a lessee

may not be liable for damage and failure to return

the premises as leased, in the absence of proof of

negligence. (emphasis supplied).

Likewise, in 51 C.J.S. Landlord and Tenant § 408, only

one covenant is stated, with negligence a required ele-

ment:

Independently of express covenant, the law imposes

on a tenant the obligation to return the premises at the

termination of the tenancy substantially in the same

condition as when he received possession, and to re-

store the property to the landlord at the end of the

term unimpaired by the negligence of the tenant.

A62 District Court Opinion

Based upon this authority, and upon our own reading

of the Earle opinion, we reject plaintiff s argument on this

issue. We believe that Pennsylvania law recognizes only

a single implied covenant to return property substantially

in the condition received, and that to prove a breach of

this covenant, the landlord must prove that the damage

to the property was caused by the negligence of the tenant.

See, Mumma v. Club Plan of America, 6 D. & C.2d 266

(Dauphin County 1955); See also, Womack v. Tripp, 137

S.W.2d 180 (Tex. Civ. App. 1940); Arkansas Fuel Oil Co.

v. Connellee, 39 S.W.2d 99 (Tex. Civ. App. 1931).

The record fails to establish any negligence of Shiavo

with respect to the accumulation of fugitive dump debris

on the back portion of the land. We have found, as the

record clearly reveals, that it was virtually an impossible

task to prevent fugitive dumping on the vacant areas. In

an attempt to control the constant fugitive dumping,

Schiavo hired a twenty-four hour watchman to patrol the

premises. Schiavo made frequent reports to the police,

and sought assistance from the Police Department to pre-

vent the illegal dumping; there were also wooden barri-

cades erected to prevent access to the property, but these

were easily bypassed by the fugitive dumpers. While

measures were not successful, they conformed to the

standard which a reasonable man would exercise under

similar circumstances; Schia,o was, therefore, not negli-

gent. Gift v. Palmer, 392 Pa. 628, 141 A.2d 408 (1958).

The evidence demonstrated, in fact, that the only means

of assuring an end to fugitive dumping was the erection of

a chain link fence, at an estimated cost of approximately

$50,000. Barring any provision in the lease requiring

Schiavo to do so, it is clear that Schiavo was under no

duty to USG to expend such a large sum; indeed, USG

does not even allege that Schiavo had this duty. See,

Long v. Fitzsimmons, 1 WSS E.30 (Pa. 1841).

District Court Opinion A63

Therefore, we hold that with respect to the accumula-

tion of fugitive dump debris on the back portion of Area

A, that while the land was returned by Schiavo to USG

in a condition in which there was unreasonable wear and

tear, USG has failed to establish that this damage was

caused by Schiavo's negligence; plaintiff, accordingly, has

failed to prove a breach of the implied covenant.

D. Breach of the Express Covenant to Surrender the

Premises Peaceably at the Termination of the

Lease.

USG’s final ground upon which recovery is sought

may be dismissed summarily. USG contends that the re-

turn of the leasehold property by Schiavo in a littered

condition constituted a breach of the specific lease ob-

ligation to surrender the premises peaceably. (Lease

¢ 4(d)). USG argues that the debris on the property pre-

vented it from exercising dominion and control over the

land and this establishes a breach of the express covenant

to surrender peaceably. We have already noted, how-

ever, that the covenant to surrender land peaceably is

distinct from the covenant to surrender land in a certain

condition. See Section III(B), supra. Schiavo peaceably

returned the land in the condition required by the im-

plied covenant to return the land in substantially the same

condition as when received, reasonable wear and tear

excepted. In the cases cited by plaintiff on this issue,

the tenant was under an express duty to remove posses-

sions from the property. Abrams v. Sherwin, 86 Pa. Sup.

189 (1925); Ide v. Finn, 196 App. Div. 304, 187 N.Y.S.

202 (1921); Mott. Pipe & Supply Corp. v. Blue Ridge

Coal Corp., 208 Misc. 601, 146 N.Y.S. 2d 607 (N.Y.Mun.Ct.

1955). In the case at bar, defendant had no express ob-

ligation to remove the debris; rather, Schiavo had only an

implied duty with which, we heve found, it complied.

A64 District Court Opinion

We, therefore, find that the defendant did not breach the

express covenant to surrender the premises peaceably.

Finally, plaintiff argues that because the debris dimin-

ished the value of the land, Schiavo committed waste to

the property. This argument, standing alone, is clearly

untenable. In determining whether waste has been com-

mitted, a court must consider the nature of the lease, and

the reasonableness of the use made of the premises under

the lease. 78 Am. Jur. 2d, Waste § 1; Stern, Trickett on

the Law of Landlord and Tenant § 62. The use to which

Schiavo put the land was not unreasonable under the lease;

rather, it was specifically approved by the lease. The

debris was a natural incident of the business of junk car

dealerships. Therefore, whether this debris diminished

the value of the land with respect to some other purpose

for which USG might subsequently desire to use the prop-

erty, is not relevant in determining whether Schiavo com-

mitted waste under the 1966 lease.

IV. Findings of Fact—Counterclaim:

The genesis of the counterclaim is a lease between

USG and Schiavo dated July 20, 1970. Under this agree-

ment, USG leased to Schiavo a 12.2544 acre tract of land

adjacent to Areas A and B, and fronting on the Schuylkill

River; this tract has been designated as Area C. This land

was below grade and thus available for a landfill opera-

tion. By 1970, Area A had been nearly raised to grade,

and it was clear to the parties that Area A would only be

available as a landfill for a short time longer.* Both par-

ties were interested in continuing their business relation-

ship, which involved both landfilling and waste haulage;

thus, after USG had obtained a zoning permit allowing

Area C to be used for landfil: _—-poses, the parties entered

into the 1970 agreement. The i970 lease was, in all ma-

24. Area A was subsequently closed as a landfill in 1972.

District Court Opinion A65

terial respects, virtually identical to the 1966 lease for

Areas A and B.* The agreement was to continue from

year-to-year, and could be terminated by either party

upon 120 days written notice.

The subject matter of the dispute on the counterclaim

concerns the alleged wrongful termination of the lease by

USG in April, 1972, after the property had been sold by

USG to Swann Oil Company (the same corporation which

subsequently purchased Areas A and B). Schiavo alleges

that it was assured by USG during 1970 and 1971 that the

property would not be sold until the landfill operation was

completed, and that based upon these assurances, Schiavo

expended approximately $200,000 in building an access

road to Area C, and in purchasing new landfill equipment

to be used in that area.

The original expectation of the parties was that Area

C would be available as a landfill area for approximately

two years; however, new technology and new equipment

in the field convinced Schiavo that the period could be

extended to approximately four years. It was believed

by Schiavo that it was in the interest of both parties to

extend the life of the landfill for as long as possible.

Nevertheless, USG had had the property available for sale

since 1966, a fact of which Schiavo was aware.

Initial consideration was given by Schiavo to the pur-

chase of new landfill equipment early in 1970, prior to the

execution of the lease for Area C. At that time, John

Lamb, president of Schiavo, sought assurance from USG

that the landfill property would not be sold until it had

been raised to grade, and that the purchase of the equip-

ment would be a worthwhile investment for Schiavo. It

is not clear from the record whether Lamb was inquiring

only about Area A, on which the landfill operation was

25. The 1970 lease was admitted at trial as Trial Exhibit P-31.

A668 District Court Opinion

presently proceeding, or also about Area C, on which the

parties anticipated continuing the landfill.

John Lamb testified that in seeking reassurance from

USG, he spoke to Roy Starner, the US: Philadelphia plan

manager; Lamb told Starner that he was “thinking” about

purchasing the equipment, and “wanted to feel comfort-

able” as far as the continuation of the landfill was con-

cerned. Starner responded that he would check with

USG’s main office in Chicago; approximately a week later,

Starner telephoned Lamb, and told him that “as far as I

can find out and as far as I know, there is absolutely noth-

ing in the wind with respect to a prospective buyer or the

sale of that land.” (Trial, 9.100.) When the lease was

executed in July, 1970, however, there was no provision

made guaranteeing the completion of the landfill. Indeed,

Schiavo made no objection to the provision in the lease

permitting termination upon 120 days notice. While the

record is not entirely clear on precisely when Schiavo pur-

chased the new equipment, it was apparently not until

after the lease for Area C was signed by the parties; the

cost of the equipment was approximately $100,000.

When the lease for Area C was executed in 1970, a

problem existed with respect to access to that area; there

was no public thoroughfare running to the property. There

were only two means of access: 1) across Area A, and

over railroad tracks which separated Areas A and C; * and

2) over a rough, dirt roadway which ran to Passayunk

Avenue, a distance of approximately three tenths of a

mile.” Schiavo originally hoped to reach Area C with its

26. These railroad tracks were owned by the Penn Central

Transportation Company.

27. This road is no longer the only access to Area C. In 1973,

the City of Philadelphia opened 67th Street, which in 1970 was

only a paper road. 67th Street, a public thoroughfare, now pro-

vides full access to Area C.

District Court Opinion A67

equipment by traveling through Area A; however, it was

soon discovered that the equipment was too heavy to

operate across the recently landfilled Area A, and, in addi-

tion, the landfill vehicles could not maneuver the incline

over the railroad tracks. Schiavo then attempted to reach

Area C by means of the unfinished access road from Passa-

yunk Avenue; this also proved unfeasible, due to the

weight of the equipment.

Confronted with this situation, Schiavo considered

the possibility of improving the Passayunk Avenue road

to permit the movement of heavy equipment upon it. As

this operation involved a substantial expense, however,

Lamb, in early 1971, again sought assurance from USG,

specifically from Starner, that Area C would not be sold

in the near future, but would be available for the life of

the landfill. Starner again checked with USG’s main office

in Chicago, and again told Lamb that as far as Starner

could determine, there was no immediate plan to sell the

property. We find, however, that no specific promise or

assurance was given by USG to Schiavo that the property

would not be sold. Starner’s statements to Lamb relative

to the sale of the property were clearly not absolute; they

contained the obvious disclaimer that Starner had only

checked “as far as he could determine.” Schiavo neither

sought, nor received, any written assurance that the prop-

erty would continue as a landfill. In any case, following

the discussion between Lamb and Starner, Schiavo im-

proved the access road from Passyunk Avenue; this was

done in early 1972. The improvement of the road in-

creased the value of Area C to some degree, since it pro-

vided immediate and functional access to the land.

28. The land upon which this road was built was owned by

the Penn Central Transportation Company. It appears that Schiavo

built the road without obtaining any permit to do so from Penn

Central.

A68 District Court Opinion

USG began initial negotiations with Swann Oil Com-

pany for the sale of Area C during July or August of 1971;

these negotiations became serious sometime during De-

cember, 1971, and January, 1972; an agreement of sale

was signed by USG and Swann in February, 1972. During

the course of these negotiations, Swann requested that

USG keep the potential sale confidential; consequently,

USG did not inform Schiavo of the possibility that Area C

might be sold to Swann. However, at a luncheon meeting

on December 2, 1971, attended by Lamb, Starner, and

Frank Hansen, the Real Estate Manager of USG, Lamb

was informed by Hansen that there was “interest to sell

this property.” (Trial Exhibit P-37.) At this ineeting,

Hansen informed Lamb that USG would keep Lamb

abreast of any development: with respect to the land. We

find again, however, that no absolute assurance of

communication was given by Hansen; in particular, Han-

sen made no commitment which would include a breach

of the duty of confidentiality which USG owed to Swann.

Following the sale of Area C to Swann, USG on April

5, 1972, gave proper notice of termination of the 1970

lease; the termination was to become effective July 6,

1972. (Trial Exhibit P-35.) During the period following

notice of termination, Schiavo accelerated the landfill op-

eration on the property. As a result, when the termination

became effective and Schiavo vacated the land, we find

that Area C was raised to grade, and in fact, was slightly

above grade.

V. Discussion OF THE LEGAL IssvuEs:

Schiavo contends that the alleged misrepresentations

of USG with respect to the potential sale of Area C give

rise to causes of action for: 1) unjust enrichment; 2) eq-

uitable estoppel; and 3) deceit. We find these contentions

to be without merit on the record before us.

District Court Opinion A69

A. Unjust Enrichment:

Under Pennsylvania law, to recover under the eq-

uitable doctrine of unjust enrichment, plaintiff must prove

two elements: first, an enrichment to another; and second,

a resulting injustice if recovery for the enrichment is de-

nied. Meehan v. Cheltenham Township, 410 Pa. 446, 189

A.2d 593 (1963); Bailis v. Reconstruction Finance Corp.,

128 F.2d 857 (3d Cir. 1942).

Initially, we note that unjust enrichment in the matter

before us can only apply to the building of the road, since

USG clearly received no benefit from Schiavo's purchase

of new equipment. With respect to the road, Schiavo

avers that the road benefitted USG by solving the problem

of access to Area C, and thus making the property more

easily saleable. Schiavo further contends that USG’s re-

tention of this benefit, without payment to Schiavo for the

cost of building the road, is unjust, because USG fraud-

ulently induced Schiavo to build the road by informing

Schiavo that there were no immediate plans to sell Area C.

While it is true that USG received some benefit from

the building of the road, it is clear beyond peradventure

that it is not unjust for USG to retain this benefit. In

the first instance, USG did not fraudulently induce Schiavo

to improve the road; this was entirely Schiavo’s own busi-

ness judgment. While Lamb sought reassurance from

USG that the land would not be sold, the response from

Starner, on behalf of USG, was far from absolute. There

was simply no guarantee given, nor would a reasonable

man have interpreted Starner’s words as a guarantee.

Second, the lease contained a clause permitting termina-

tion upon 120 days notice. Schiavo, a sophisticated cor-

poration, knew the terms of this lease, and cannot com-

plain that it was legally enforced to its alleged detriment.

Third, the record shows that no misrepresentation was

A70 District Court Opinion

in fact made; Lamb inquired about potential sale in early

1971, and the road was built at that time; negotiations

with Swann did not commence until July or August of that

year. Therefore, USG did not mislead Schiavo when

Starner informed Lamb that there were no immediate plans

to sell the property. Fourth, the record shows that Schiavo

in fact received full benefit from the road; the road was

built to provide access for a landfill operation. When the

land was vacated by Schiavo, the land had been brought

up to grade, and, therefore, the landfill was completed.

Based upon these findings, we hold that Schiavo has

failed to prove a cause of action for unjust enrichment.

B. Equitable Estoppel:

Under the second head of Schiavo’s claim for recov-

ery, Schiavo seeks to apply the doctrine of equitable es-

toppel. Schiavo contends that USG should be estopped

from exercising the right of termination under the lease

without compensating Schiavo for the equipment and the

road.

The elements of equitable estoppel were succinctly

stated by the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania in North-

western Nat. Bank v. Commonwealth, 345 Pa. 192, 27

A.2d 20, 23 (1942):

Equitable “estoppel arises when one by his acts, rep-

resentations, or admissions, or by his silence when he

ought to speak out, intentionally or through culpable

negligence induces another tu believe certain facts

to exist and such other rightfully relies and acts on

such belief, so that he will be prejudiced if the for-

mer is permitted to deny the existence of such facts.

In this situation, the person inducing the belief in the

existence of a certain state of facts is estopped to

deny that the state of facts does in truth exist, aver a

District Court Opinion AT1

different or contrary state of facts as existing at the

same time, or deny or repudiate his acts, conduct, or

statement.”

See also, Blofsen v. Cutaiar, 460 Pa. 411, 333 A.2d 841

(1975).

Again, Schiavo has clearly failed to prove the ele-

ments of this cause of action with respect to either the

road, or the equipment. First, USG made no misrepre-

sentation, since negotiations with Swann did not com-

mence until after Starner’s “reassurances” to Lamb. Sec-

ond, Schiavo did not rightfully rely on any representations

which were made with respect to potential sale of the

land, since the statements were not absolute and con-

tained an obvious disclaimer. Moreover, Schiavo was

fully aware of the terms of the lease, including the ter-

mination clause. We hold that judgment must be ren-

dered against Schiavo on this cause of action.

C. Deceit:

Finally, Schiavo argues that the actions and misrep-

resentations of USG constitute a cause of action for the

tort of deceit. The elements of this action under the law

of Pennsylvania are: 1) a misrepresentation; 2) a fraudu-

lent utterance thereof; 3) an intention that another person

will thereby be induced to act, or to refrain from acting;

4) justifiable reliance by the recipient; and 5) damage

to the recipient. Savitz v. Weinstein, 395 Pa. 173, 149

A.2d 110 (1959). See also, Thomas v. Seaman, 451 Pa.

347, 304 A.2d 134 (1973).

We need go no further than an examination of ele-

ments (1) and (4) to find that Schiavo has not proven a

cause of action for deceit. We have already determined

that USG made no misrepresentation, and in any case,

Schiavo did not justifiably rely upon any representation

A72 District Court Opinion

which was made. Judgment must, therefore, be ren-

dered aganist Schiavo on this final cause of action.”

An appropriate order will issue.

29. Schiavo argues that misrepresentations were also made by

USG, through Hansen, at the meeting of December 2, 1971. How-

ever, we do not consider this meeting relevant to the issues before

us, since by that time, in December of 1971, Schiavo had already

purchased the new equipment, and had already built the road.

District Court Order A73

IN THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

For THE EASTERN DisTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Civil Action No. 74-3165

UNITED STATES GYPSUM COMPANY

v.

SCHIAVO BROTHERS, INC.

ORDER

[Entered May 18, 1978]

AND NOW, this Ist day of May, 1978, after trial of

the above captioned matter without a jury, consideration

of the briefs and oral arguments of counsel, and for the

reasons cited in the accompanying Opinion, it is hereby

Ordered, Adjudged and Decreed that Judgment is hereby

entered in favor of SCHIAVO BROTHERS, INC. and

against UNITED STATES GYPSUM COMPANY. On

the counterclaim of SCHIAVO BROTHERS, INC. against

UNITED STATES GYPSUM COMPANY, Judgment is

hereby entered in favor of UNITED STATES GYPSUM

COMPANY and against SCHIAVO BROTHERS, INC.

Each party shall bear its own costs.

BY THE COURT:

/s/ Hersert A. Foce.

Herbert A. Fogel, J.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

AT74 District Court Opinion

IN THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

For THE EASTERN DistrICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Civil Action No. 74-3165

UNITED STATES GYPSUM CO.

v.

SCHIAVO BROTHERS, INC.

OPINION

[Entered May 24, 1979]

PoLuaK, J. 22 May, 1979

In December, 1974, United States Gypsum Co. com-

menced this landlord-tenant action, alleging that defend-

ant-tenant Schiavo Brothers, Inc., failed to surrender the

leasehold property on time and clear of debris. A ten-

day non-jury trial was held in late 1975 and early 1976.

In May, 1978, Judge Fogel ruled in defendant's favor, fil-

ing an exhaustive opinion which concluded that defendant

had not breached “either an express covenant to peaceably

surrender the premises or an implied covenant to return

the land in substantially the same condition as existed at

the inception of the lease, (reasonable wear and tear ex-

cepted).”’ Pursuant to Rule 59 of the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure, plaintiff has moved for a new trial.’ ©

1. Judge Fogel’s opinion is set forth at 450 F. Supp. 1291

(1978).

2. Rule 59 provides in relevant part as follows:

(a) Grounds. A new trial may be granted to all or any of

the parties and on all or part of the issues (1) in an action in

which there has been a trial by jury, for any of the reasons for

District Court Opinion A75

I

Before considering the grounds of the plaintiff's mo-

tion, it will be helpful to summarize Judge Fogel’s findings

of facts and conclusions of law.

In January, 1963, the parties to this litigation entered

into a lease agreement for a tract of land located in South-

west Philadelphia and referred to throughout the litiga-

tion as Area F. The map below shows its location.’

Prior to 1963, Area F was leased by plaintiff to so-

called “junk-car dealers” whose business it is to mine

wrecked and abandoned automobiles for valuable parts.

Under the January, 1963 lease, defendant assumed the role

of master tenant responsible for the junk-car-dealer sub-

tenants. In August, 1963, a second lease was signed ex-

tending the leasehold property some 200 feet along Es-

sington Avenue to a depth of apvroximately 100 feet.

(This area is marked A’ on the map.) Both 1963 leases

contained a clause requiring the defendant to return the

property as found, reasonable wear and tear excepted.

In 1966, plaintiff and defendant entered into a third

lease, superseding and terminating the 1963 leases. The

NOTE — (Continued)

which new trials have heretofore been granted in actions at

law in the courts of the United States; and (2) in an action

tried without a jury, for any of the reasons for which rehear-

ings have heretofore been granted in suits in equity in the

courts of the United States. On a motion for a new trial in an

action tried without a jury, the court may open the judgment

if one has been entered, take additional testimony, amend find-

ings of fact and conclusions of law or make new findings and

conclusions, and direct the entry of a new judgment.

3. The map itself is reduced from a map introduced into evi-

dence by stipulation of the parties. The lines marking off Areas F,

A’, and A” were added by this Court so that the map could be a

visual aid to the reader of this opinion; these added lines are not

represented as being to scale.

ESSINGTON

AVENUE.

———

-

A’ A”

®

ARLA = 23.3093 ACKES

Garnmr Aine of Prtedelphia, Baltimore aad Meshongtvn Rasltreed

9LV

uowidgo wnoD 1964151

District Court Opinion A77

leasehold property was enlarged to encompass all of Areas

A and B, parts of which were “below grade.” The lease

required the defendant to bring the land up to grade and

authorized subletting once landfill was complete. Lease

Paragraph 20 limited sublessees to persons engaged in the

junk-car business.‘ The lease also provided for termina-

tion by either party upon 120 days written notice and re-

quired surrender of the premises peaceably on termina-

tion. But unlike the 1963 leases, the 1966 lease did not

contain an express clause imposing on the defendant a

duty to return the property as found.

Pursuant to this agreement, defendant undertook land-

fill operations and sublet to additional junk-car dealers.

By 1972, landfill was complete, and dealers had subleased

property on Areas F, A’, and A” and spread themselves

without subleases onto at least some part of the remainder

(the “back portion”) of Area A. As they spread, the

dealers left a trail of old car seats and tires—parts they

found difficult to sell. In addition, the back portion of

Area A attracted “fugitive dumpers” who favored it with

their refuse.

In August, 1973, plaintiff gave defendant written

notice of termination, effective January 1, 1974.5 Defend-

ant, in turn, notified the junk-car dealers who quickly

formed an association tu fight eviction. Faced with this

4. Paragraph 20 provides:

Subject to the written approval of Lessors Works Man-

ager, Philadelphia Plant, which shall not be unreasonably

withheld, Lessee reserves the right and privilege to sublet that

portion of the subject premises already filled to grade level

and of no use to Lessee in conducting a landfill operation pro-

vided that subletting shall be only to so called “Automobile

Wrecking Yards.”

5. It appears from the post-trial briefs that sometime after

August, 1973 the parties agreed to a one-month extension, post-

poning the termination date to February 1, 1974.

A78 District Court Opinion

opposition, defendant acted expeditiously to remove the

subtenants by instituting eviction proceedings in Phila-

delphia Municipal Court. At a March 4, 1974 hearing, the

Municipal Court gave the dealers until June to vacate the

premises. One of plaintiff's attorneys was present at the

hearing; but since his client was not a party to the eviction

suit, he was there in observer status and took no part.

In the meantime, plaintiff 4ad arranged for sale of

the leasehold property to Swann Oil Company with clos-

ing set for June, conditioned on the removal of all accumu-

lated debris from the property. It was not until Septem-

ber, however, that the last junk-car dealer vacated the

premises. And left behind was a considerable accumula-

tion of old cushions and tires and “materials from fugitive

dumping, which took virtually every imaginable form,

from watermelons to dead cats.” 450 F. Supp. at 1301.

Plaintiff claims that it spent $144,500 to remove this debris

before finally closing with Swann on September 26, 1974.

On the basis of these facts, Judge Fogel ruled as fol-

lows: (1) under Pennsylvania law, the 1966 lease con-

tained an implied duty requiring the defendant to return

and leasehold premises to the plaintiff at the termination

of the lease in substantially the same condition as existed

at its inception, reasonable wear and tear excepted; (2)

Areas F and A’ were in at least as good condition, when

returned to plaintiff, as they were in at the inception of

the lease in 1966; (3) in Area A” (the portion of Area A

leased after 1966 to the junkdealers), the debris, while

substantial, was an inevitable consequence of the junk-

dealer business—a business expressly contemplated by the

1966 lease—and accordingly, “constituted reasonable wear

and tear in the context of the junk-car industry”; (4) as

to the junkdealer debris on the remainder of Area A, which

defendant did not sublease to the dealers, but onto which

they spread, the debris was also reasonable wear and tear

District Court Opinion AT79

“in the context of this industry”; (5) as to fugitive dump-

ing on the back part of Area A, the defendant was not

negligent in failing to take the expensive measures required

to prevent this dumping and therefore, under Pennsylvania

law, was not liable for breach of its implied covenant; and

(6) return of the leasehold in littered condition did not

breach the defendant’s express covenant to surrender the

premises peaceably.

Il.

A

Two of the arguments advanced by plaintiff in sup-

port of its motion for new trial have sufficient merit to

warrant post-trial relief.

1. Plaintiff contends that the Court failed to rule on

two of its damage claims: (1) its claim for rent from Feb-

ruary 1, 1974, plaintiff's intended date of termination, to

September 26, 1974, when plaintiff conveyed to Swann;

and (2) its claim for loss of use of purchase monies under

the agreement of sale with Swann. The thrust of both

claims is that defendant should be held liable for damages

caused by the subtenants who remained on the property

after the expiration of the lease, and who thereby pre-

vented plaintiff from (a) completing the sale to Swann on

time, or (b) otherwise putting the property to some gain-

ful use after defendant stopped paying rent. (Although

characterized as separate items of damage, it would seem

analytically more useful to view the two claims as alterna-

tive ways of describing the economic loss to plaintiff

allegedly occasioned by plaintiff's inability to sell or other-

wise utilize its land for a period of several months. )

Defendant does not dispute that these claims were

tried and were before the Court," but argues that Judge

6. Neither claim was clearly articulated in the complaint. But

it is now “generally accepted that there may be no subsequent chal-

A80 District Court Opinion

Fogel “specifically found that Defendant was not responsi-

ble for the subtenants’ illegal r

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.