Record and brief — Pauk v. Board of Trustees of the City University of New York

Supreme Court brief1982

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

UONed

U.S

Office - Supreme Court,

FILED

81°1091

vec @ 1B"

ANDER L. STEVAS.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1981

>

EDGAR PAUK,

Petitioner,

—against—

THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF

THE CiTy UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK, et al.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

JONATHAN A. WEISS

132 West 43rd Street, 3rd Fl.

New York, New York 10036

(212) 391-0120

Attorney for Petitioner

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Where petitioner, a college professor,

complained that he was denied tenure solely

due to his exercise of free speech and union

activities, but the Second Circuit Court of

Appeals dismissed his § 1983 action as

untimely because it was initiated more than

three years from the time it allegedly

accrued:

(1) Was it error for the Second Circuit

Court of Appeals to apply to petitioner's

§ 1983 action the New York statute of limi-

tations for a liability created by statute,

even though this Court has held that § 1983

creates no liability, and even though state

courts in New York and at least one federal

court outside New York, have held that such

statutes of limitations are not applicable

for § 1983 Civil Rights actions?

(2) Was it error for the Second Circuit

to hold that petitioner's cause of action

accrued before the decision to terminate his

employment, and thus tenure, was final under

state law?*

* A complete listing of all respondents in

the proceeding is as follows: The Board

of Trustees of the City University of New

York; The City of New York; Harold M. Jacobs,

Patricia J. Carry Stewart, Loretta A. Conway,

Walter H. Crowley, Armand D'Angelo, Edith B.

Everett, Gurston D. Goldin, Albert V.

Maniscalco, Joan B. Maynard, Emanuel R. Piore,

Joaquin Rivera, David Z. Robinson, Ronald T.

Gault and Jack J. Oliviero, members of the

Board of Trustees of the City University of

New York; Saul B. Cohen, Joseph S. Murphy,

Nathaniel H. Siegel, Lola R. Locker, Albert

M. Levenson, David H. Speidel, Seymour Goodman,

Norman L. Goldman, Joel Mandelbaum, Henry W.

Morton, William Hamovitch, Michael Studdert-

Kennedy, Konrad Gries, John H. Reilly, Manuel

Lloris, Seymour Resnick, Martin Nozick, Albert

A. Sicroff, Rosette C. Lamont, Sergio Pacifici

and Beatrice P. Patt, members or former members

of the faculty at Queens College.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Questions Presented .........e6- i

GUEREGRS BONSW ccccesccvecessece 2

DUBASEICCAGR ccccccccccccccccece 2

Constitutional and Statutory

ES ae 3

Statement of the Case.........ee. 3

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .. 6

1. The mistaken application

of the state statute of

limitations for a liability

created by statute to a

§1983 cause of action dis-

regards this Court's

decision in Chapman that

§1983 “does not provide

any rights at all.".... 10

2. There is a conflict

between the Circuit

Courts as to whether,

in light of Chapman,

§1983 is a statute

creating a liability.. 14

3. The Circuit Court's

holding conflicts with

New York precedent... 16

A. Applicability of

CPLR 214(2)...... 16

iii

B. Accrual of the

cause of action... 17

4. Decisions of New York state

courts and New York federal

courts conflict on the

period of limitations

applicable to a §1983

GUGRGs c cc cccoccceeeoeeoose 20

Gc eccoceceooeeéeeeeweecesees 26

APPENDIX A

Opinion of the

Court of Appeals

for the Second Circuit ........ A- l

APPENDIX B

Opinion of the

District Court for the

Eastern District of

-. . SP PPrrrrvTrrrrvTrTrTrrriririts .« -.

APPENDIX C

Order of the Court of

Appeals for the Second

Circuit Denying Petition

For Rehearing In Banc ......... A-45

APPENDIX D

Relevant Constitutional

and Statutory Provisions ...... A-47

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Beard v. Robinson, 563 F.2d 331

(7th Cir. 1981), cert. den.,

438 U.S. 907 (1978)

Board of Regents v. Tomanio,

446 U.S. 4 (1980)

Burns v. Sullivan, 619 F.2d 99

(ist Cir. 1980), cert. den.,

U.S. , 101 §.ct. 256,

66 L.EG.2d 121 (1980)

Chapman v. Houston Welfare Rights Org.,

U.S.

Chardon v. Fernandez, 50 U.S.L.W. 3341

(November 3, 1981)

Clark v. Water Commissioners,

N.Y.

Davis v. Passman, 442 U.S. 228

(1979)

Delaware State conse v. Ricks,

U.S. ’ Ct. ’

66 L.Ed.2d 431 (1980)

International U., U.A., A. & A.I.W.

v. Hoosier C. Corp., U.S.

(1966)

Johnson v. Railway Express Agency,

421 U.S. 454 T1375)

McMillian v. City of Rockmart,

° (Sth Cir., Unit B,

1981)

Marshall v. Kle , 637 F.2d 1217

TSth Cir. 1961)

Meeker v. Lehigh Val. R. Co.,

236 U.S. 412 TESTS}

Pauk v. Board of Higher Education,

62 App.Div.2d 660 tise Dept. 1978),

aff'd., 48 N.Y.2d 930 (1979)

Pitt v. City of New York, (Sup.Ct.,

N.Y.Co., Greenfield, J.), New York

Law Journal, November 18, 1981,

p. 4, col. 4,

Sears, Roebuck & Co. v. Enco Assoc., Inc.

N.Y.

Sicolo v. Prudential Sav. Bank

Of Brooklyn, 5 N.¥.2d 254 (1959)

Skehan v. Board of Trustees,

590 F.2g 470 (3rd Cir. 19768),

cert. den., 444 U.S. 832 (1979)

Staffen v. City of Rochester,

80 App.Div.2d tS (ath De Dept. 1981)

State v. Cortelle Corp.,

N. i

Western Electric Co. v. Brenner,

N. >.

vi

Federal Constitution

U. S. Const. Amend. XIV, § l

Federal statutes

42 U.S.C. § 1983

New York statutes

Civil Practice Law and Rules

§ 213(1)

§ 213(2)

§ 214(2)

Articles

Feld, Daniel E., “What Statute of

Limitations Is Applicable to Civil

Rights Action Brought Under 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983," 45 A.L.R. Fed. 548-586 and

1981 Later Case Service.

"A Limitation of Actions for

Deprivation of Federal Rights,"

68 Columbia Law Review 763 (1968).

"Statutes of Limitations in Federal

Civil Rights Litigation," 1976 Arizona

State Law Journal 97 (1976).

vii

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1981

No.

EDGAR PAUK,

Petitioner,

- against -

THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE CITY

UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK, et al.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF

CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Petitioner Edgar Pauk prays that a writ

of certiorari issue to review the order of

the United States Court of Appeals for the

Second Circuit entered in this case on July

22, 1981.

Opinions Below

The opinion of the Court of Appeals

for the Second Circuit is reported at 654

F.2d 856 and is set forth at Appendix A

herein. The opinion of the District Court

for the Eastern District of New York, dated

October 14, 1980, is not reported and is set

forth at Appendix B herein.

Jurisdiction

The order of the Court of Appeals for

the Second Circuit was dated and entered on

July 22, 1981. Petitioner filed a timely

motion for rehearing in banc, which was

denied on September 11, 1981 in an order set

forth at Appendix C herein. This petition

for a writ of certiorari was filed within

ninety days of the denial of the motion for

rehearing. The jurisdiction of this Court.

is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions

The federal Constitutional provision

involved is the Fourteenth Amendment to the

United States Constitution. The federal

statutory provision involved is 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983. The state statutory provisions

involved are Sections 214(2), 213(1) and 213(2)

of the New York Civil Practice Law and Rules.

The text of those provisions is set forth at

Appendix D herein.

Statement of the Case

From September 1, 1967 to August 31,

1976 petitioner was employed by Respondent

Board of Trustees to teach in the Department

of Romance Languages at Queens College.

In September of 1975 petitioner's department

voted to recommend that petitioner be re-

appointed for a sixth year in the position

of assistant professor, and thus acquire

statutory tenure. In October of 1975,

however, a college committee made a negative

recommendation to the College President,

who invited petitioner to appeal. Peti-

tioner's appeal alleged that the proposed

denial of reappointment was caused solely

by his exercise of the right of free speech

and union activities. In November 1975,

the College President rejected petitioner's

appeal and he was notified by the Provost

that his appointment at Queens College would

end on August 31, 1976. Because it was the

College President's custom not to forward

negative recommendations to the Board, the

Board had no occasion to, and did not act on

the denial of petitioner's appointment with

tenure.

On August 31, 1979* petitioner insti-

tuted this action pursuant to 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983, alleging the deprivation under color

of state laws of rights secured to him by

the Constitution of the United States. On

bd Although petitioner did not begin this

action until three years after the end

of his employment, in January 1976 (while

still employed by the Board) he began a

special proceeding in the nature of mandamus

in state court. In that proceeding, he

claimed tenure by estoppel because of the

length of his service with the Board. In

September 1977 Special Term granted his

petition and ordered him reinstated with

tenure. However, the Appellate Division

reversed that decision and the reversal was

affirmed by the Court of Appeals. Pauk v.

Board of Higher Education, 62 App.Div.2d 660

(Ist Dept. 1378) aff'd., 48 N.Y.2d 930 (1979).

After petitioner began the action at bar, this

Court reversed the Second Circuit's rule,

which tolled the statute of limitations ap-

plicable to § 1983 actions pending actions

or proceeding in state court vindicating no

federal causes of action. See, Board of

Regents v. Tomanio, 446 U.S. 478 (1980).

October 14, 1980, however, the United States

District Court for the Eastern District of

New York dismissed petitioner's action as

untimely because initiated more than three

years from the time his action accrued.

The Court held that petitioner's action

accrued in November 1975, when he was

notified his employment would terminate on

August 31, 1976. On July 22, 1981 the

United States Circuit Court for the Second

Circuit affirmed the District Court's decision.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This case presents the Court with an op-

portunity to settle the confusion, uncertainty

and lack of uniformity which now exists with

respect to the appropriate statute of limita-

tions in civil rights cases under 42 U.S.C.

1983. This confusion results in burdening

the lower federal (and state) courts who must,

in the absence of guidelines from this Court,

attempt to fashion appropriate limitation

periods, using widely varying methods of

analysis and unfortunately coming to markedly

different conclusions. Thus not only does

the limitation period vary from circuit to

circuit and from state to state (ranging from

six months in Massachusetts (Burns v. Sullivan,

619 F.2d 99 (lst Cir. 1980), cert. den.,

U.S. , 101 S. Ct. 256, 66 L.Ed.2d

121 (1980)) to six years in Pennsylvania

(Skehan v. Board of Trustees, 590 F.2d 470

(3rd Cir. 1978), cert. den., 444 U.S. 832

(1979)), but often within the same state,

depending on the facts of each action. Thus,

in § 1983 actions within the same state,

federal courts have applied state statute of

limitations governing tort actions for

personal injury, intentional torts, contract

actions, state civil rights provisions,

actions against public officials and actions

not otherwise provided for. See, Daniel E.

Feld, "What Statute of Limitations Is Appli-

cable to Civil Rights Action Brought Under

42 U.S.C. § 1983," 45 A.L.R. Fed. 548-586

and 1981 Later Case Service; "Statutes of

Limitations in Federal Civil Rights Litiga-

tion," 1976 Arizona State Law Journal 97

(1976); “A Limitation of Actions for

Deprivation of Federal Rights," 68 Columbia

Law Review 763 (1968).

Furthermore, in at least one state, New

York, state and federal courts differ in their

method of analysis of a 1983 action, and thus

resort to two different sets of periods of

limitations, as discussed infra.

Adding to the confusion, in this and

other cases, is the problem that while many

courts apply the state statute of limitations

for actions upon liability created by statute,

this Court has recently held that 42 U.S.C.

1983 is not a statute creating liability.

Chapman v. Houston Welfare Rights Org., 441

U.S. 600 (1979).

This confusion and perplexity also re-

sults in uncertainty and unfairness to

litigants, like petitioner, required to

guess what statute of limitations will apply

to their cases. This Court in its supervisory

capacity should definitively resolve this

issue and establish clear guidelines

with respect to the appropriate statute of

limitations for Civil Rights Actions.

l. The mistaken application of

the state statute of limitations

for a liability created by

statute to a §1983 cause of

action disregards this Court's

decision in Chapman that

§1983 “does not provide any

rights at all."

Congress has not established a statute

of limitations applicable to actions brought

under §1983. This Court has held, therefore,

that a federal court must “borrow” the "state

law of limitations governing an analogous

cause of action." Board of Regents v. Tomanio,

446 U.S. 478 (1980), at 483; Johnson v.

Railway Express Agency, 421 U.S. 454 (1975).

In the case at bar, the Second Circuit

undertook "to examine the limitations

periods that New York has prescribed for

various state causes of action and then

select for §1983 claims, as a matter of

federal law, the limitations period for

an ‘analogous’ state cause of action."

(A-19). It then held that "a state law

10

Claim founded upon a statute is the appropriate

analogy for a §1983 claim." Id. Thus, the

Circuit Court applied to petitioner's action

section 214(2) of the New York Civil Practice

Law and Rules ("CPLR"), (McKinney's, 1972),

which provides a three-year limit for

an action to recover upon

a liability, penalty or

forfeiture created or

imposed by statute.

This Court has held, however, that §1983

"does not provide any rights at all", but

served only to ensure that

an individual had a cause

of action for violations

of the Constitution, which

in the Fourteenth Amendment

embodied and extended to

all individuals as against

state action the substantive

protections afforded by §1

of the 1866 Act.

Chapman v. Houston Welfare Rights Org.

("Chapman"), 441 U.S. 600 (1979), at 617-618.

As used in Chapman, “cause of action" means

only that a §1983 plaintiff

is a member of the class

of litigants that may, as

11

a matter of law, appropriately

invoke the power of the Court.

Davis v. Passman, 442 U.S. 228 (1979), at

239, note 18. This Court has also held

that, "one cannot go into court and claim

a ‘violation of §1983' - for §1983 by itself

does not protect anyone against anything.”

Chapman, supra, 441 U.S. at 617.

It is axiomatic, therefore, that a

statute like §1983 that "does not provide

any rights at all", can create no corresponding

liability. Thus CPLR 214(2) is not the ap-

propriate state statute of limitations to be

applied to §1983 actions based on the United

States Constitution.

Because the Circuit Court could not

distinguish the holding of Chapman, it chose

to ignore that decision, and dwell instead

upon all the reasons why it found it preferable

to continue to apply CPLR 214(2) to the action

12

at bar. In his concurring opinion, Judge

Sofaer criticized the majority for not facing

up to Chapman, stating:

A precise reading of

Chapman spares us the need

to engage in policy analysis

that might suggest we are

selecting a limitations

period that we find con-

venient, rather than one

squarely justified by

state-law analogies.

.

(A-22 )

By disregarding the clear principles

enunciated by this Court in Chapman, the

Circuit Court compounds the confusion now

present in the lower federal courts sur-

rounding the applicable state statute of

limitations for § 1983 actions.

* The concurring opinion, however, provides

no "precise reading of Cha * I

merely attempts to differentiate "ereating*

a liability from "imposing" a liability, in a

Procrustean effort to fit the language of

CPLR 214(2) within the holding of Cha °

For decisions differentiating the ae of

a liability from the imposing of a penalty or

forfeiture, see Sicolo v. Prudential Sav. Bank

of Brooklyn, 5 N.Y.2d 254 (1959) and Meeker v.

ehigh Val. R. Co., 236 U.S. 412 (1915).

13

2. There is a conflict between

the Circuit Courts as to

whether, in light of

Chapman, §1983 is a statute

creating a liability.

The decision of the Circuit Court in its

analysis of the effect of Chapman conflicts

with a recent decision of the Fifth Circuit.

The Fifth Circuit has recently held that, in

light of Chapman, a §1983 action based on the

Constitution was not one "for the enforcement

of rights accruing to individuals under

statutes," and thus declined to apply the

Georgia twenty-year statute of limitations

applicable to the enforcement of rights accru-

ing under statutes. It applied, instead, the

two-year limitation period for “actions for

injuries to the person," to an action where

plaintiff had complained of “irregularities

surrounding his arrest." McMillian v. City

of Rockmart, 653 F.2d 907 (5th Cir., Unit B,

1981).

The Fifth Circuit is the only court,

14

state or federal, outside New York to consider

the continued applicability of a period of

limitations for liabilities created by, or

accruing under a statute in light of Chapman.

However, the issue is bound to be raised

whenever a similar state statute of

limitations has heretofore been held

applicable to §1983 actions under the

Constitution.* This Court should provide

guidance to avoid compounding the

confusion and uncertainty which are

bound to increase On this important

issue.

* State statutes of limitations governing

actions to recover upon liabilities created

by statute were held applicable to §1983 actions

by federal courts within the following circuits.

2nd Cir.: New York; 4th Cir.: North Carolina;

5th Cir.: Texas, Florida, Alabama; 6th Cir.:

Kentucky; 7th Cir.: Wisconsin; 8th Cir.:

Arkansas, Nebraska; 9th Cir.: California,

Montana, Nevada, Idaho, Oregon; 10th Cir.:

Colorado, Wyoming. 45 A.L.R. Fed. 548-586.

15

3. The Circuit Court's holding

conflicts with New York

precedent.

A. Applicability of CPLR 214(2)

Section 214(2) has been held inapplicable

by New York courts to a statute which, "in

regulating a substantive right or the procedure

for its enforcement does not create or impose

a liability, penalty or forfeiture." State

v. Cortelle Corp. ("Cortelle"), 38 N.Y. 2d

83 (1975), at 89. The Court stated: "The

statute may limit or broaden the remedy, even

define its exercise and by whom, but it did

not create or impose a liability, penalty or

forfeiture in the sense of CPLR 214."

Cortelle, supra, 38 N.Y. 2d at 88. A

fair reading of this Court's decision in

Chapman and of the New York Court of Appeals'

decision in Cortelle, compels the conclusion

that, under New York State law, CPLR 214(2)

is not applicable to a §1923 action. As held

by this Court in Tomanio, supra, 446 U.S.

at 484, in §1983 actions state statutes of

16

limitations are “more than a technical

obstacle to be circumvented if possible. In

most cases, they are binding rules of law"

which 42 U.S.C. §1988 “authorizes federal

courts to disregard ... only if the state

law is inconsistent with the Constitution

and laws of the United States." Tomanio,

supra, 446 U.S. at 484-485.

B. Accrual of the cause of action

This Court has recently settled the

issue of the accrual of an employment dis-

crimination cause of action in an academic

setting, where notice of termination of

employment precedes actual termination by

several months or even years. See Delaware

State College v. Ricks, ("Ricks"), U.S.

101 S. Ct. 498, 66 L.Ed.2d 431 (1980)(42

U.S.C. § 1981) and Chardon v. Fernandez

("Chardon"), 50 U.S.L.W. 3341 (November 3,

1981) (42 U.S.C. § 1983). In those deci-

sions this Court held that "limitation

17

periods normally commence when the employer's

decision is made." Ricks, supra, 66 L.Ed.2d

at 442. (Emphasis added). In Ricks the

Court essentially held that, when the Board

of Trustees voted to deny plaintiff tenure,

by that vote "the College had established

its official position." Ricks, supra, 66

L.Ed.2d at 442. Thus, the termination of

employment was only “a delayed, but inevitable,

consequence of the denial of tenure." Ricks,

supra, 66 L.E.2d at 439. Similarly, in

Chardon this Court held that plaintiffs'

cause of action accrued when a "final deci-

sion had been made" to terminate their

employment. Chardon, supra, 50 U.S.L.W. at

3342. (Emphasis added). It is clear,

therefore, that under the standards enunci-

ated by this Court, a cause of action for

employment discrimination accrues when the

employer makes a final decision.

In the case at bar, under New York law,

18

petitioner's employer was not the President

of Queens College, but the Board of Trustees

of the City University of New York. It is

undisputed that said Board never acted to

terminate plaintiff's appointment. Because

the Board's time to act did not expire until

August 31, 1976, there was no final decision

prior to that date regarding the termination

of petitioner's employment. On the authority

of Ricks and Chardon, petitioner's § 1983

cause of action, therefore, did not accrue

until a final decision was made by default

on August 31, 1976, and this action, initiated

within three years of that date, was timely.

19

4. Decisions of New York

State courts and New

York federal courts

conflict on the period

of limitations appli-

cable to a § ELE action.

Two New York courts so far have con-

sidered the continued applicability of CPLR

214(2) to a § 1983 action in the light of

Chapman, and both have come to the conclusion

that CPLR 214(2) no longer applies to such an

action. Staffen v. City of Rochester

("Staffen"), 80 App. Div. 2d 16 (4th Dept.

1981); Pitt v. City of New York, (Sup. Ct.,

N.Y¥.Co., Greenfield, J.), New York Law Journal,

November 18, 1981, p. 4, col. 4 ("Pitt"). As

a consequence of the Circuit Court's disregard

of this Court's holding in Chapman, there are

now two sets of statutes of limitations appli-

cable in New York to the same § 1983 action.

Which set is chosen depends entirely on

whether the action is brought in state court

or federal court.

20

In federal court, all § 1983 actions are

mistakenly characterized as actions "to re-

cover upon a liability created by statute,”

and governed by CPLR 214(2) (3 years). In

state court instead, "it is the gravamen or

essence of the cause of action that deter-

mines the applicable Statute of Limitations."

Western Elec. Co. v. Brenner, 41 N.Y. 2d 291

(1977), at 293. Therefore, each § 1983 claim

must be individually examined in order to

determine its “gravamen or essence" and then

the relevant period of limitations applied to

it. Thus, in Staffen, after examining the

cause of action, the court held that the

particular § 1983 action was "a tort action

against police officers to [sic] whom the

municipality has a duty to indemnify," and

applied the one-year and 90-day statute of

limitations of section 50-i of the General

Municipal Law. In Pitt, the Court held that

the essence of the cause of action was

21

assault and battery, and applied to it

CPLR 215(3) (one year), dismissing the

action as untimely.

If petitioner had brought this action

in state, rather than federal court, his

action would have been characterized as

contractual because it arose out of an

employment relationship. Thus, the state

court would have applied to it CPLR 213(2),

the six-year statute of limitations governing

actions in contract.* See, Western Electric

* As summarized by the Circuit Court, it

is plaintiff's contention that his con-

tract with the Board in addition to its

express terms, “includes all rights conferred

by New York law, which requires promotions in

the civil service to be made according to

merit, N. Y. Const., Art. V, § 6, and that

denial of tenure because of his exercise of

First Amendment rights was unrelated to merit

and therefore breached his contract." (A-13).

CPLR 213(2) is set forth at A-48.

22

v. Brenner, 41 N.Y.2d 29 (1977); Sears,

Roebuck & Co. v. Enco Assoc., Inc., 43 N.Y.2d

398 (1977). Alternatively, a state court

would have characterized petitioner's action

as arising under the Constitution, rather

than a statute, and applied to it CPLR 213(1),

the six-year residual statute of limitations.

See, Clark v. Water Commissioners, 148 N.Y.1l

(1895).* It is difficult to conceive of a

* As noted by the Circuit Court, the

"sensible but difficult conclusion"

reached by the District Court that the United

States Constitution was a statute for purposes

of CPLR 214(2),

has implicitly been rejected

by the New York courts, to

which we are supposed to

look for guidance as to the

appropriate statute of

limitations.

Circuit Court (Concurring Opinion) (A-22).

New York is not the only state to distinguish

between a liability created by statute, and

one created by the Constitution in the appli-

cation of a statute of limitations. See, e.g.,

Marshall v. Kleppe, 637 F.2d 1217, 1232-1224

(th Cir. 1981) Gali fornia) and Beard v.

Robinson, 563 F.2d 331, 334-338 (7th Cir.

Illinois), cert. den., 438 U.S. 907

(1978).

23

period of limitations more appropriate to

the vindication of rights secured by the

Fourteenth Amendment than the six-year period

of limitations applied by New York state

courts to vindicate rights secured by the

New York State Constitution.

Regardless of whether a state court

would characterize petitioner's action as one

in contract or one to vindicate constitutional

rights, neither chara¢terization should be

rejected lightly because, as this Court has

held,

there is no reason to

reject the characterization

that state law would impose

unless that characterization

is unreasonable or otherwise

inconsistent with [federal]

policy.

International U., U.A., A. & A.I.W. v. Hoosier

(Emphasis added).

It is clearly not in the best interest

of the Constitutional rights, whose vendica-

tion § 1983 was meant to authorize, to have

24

a dual set of limitation statutes applicable

in state and federal courts located in the

same state and purporting to apply the same

state law. This is particularly true where

there is no allegation that the characteri-

zation applied by state courts is "unreasonable

or otherwise inconsistent with [federal]

policy." This Court should put an end to

this dual set of limitation periods, by

Clarifying which is the correct method of

characterizing a § 1983 action for purposes

of applying to it the appropriate state

statute of limitations.

25

CONCLUSION

For the above reasons, a writ of

certiorari should issue to review the order

of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Second Circuit in this case.

Dated: December 7, 1981

Respectfully submitted,

JONATHAN A. WEISS, ESQ.

132 West 43rd Street

New York, N. Y. 10036

(212) 391-0120

Attorney for Petitioner

Edgar Pauk, Esq.

(on the brief)

26

’

is

5

ut : iy

ee SR

iN

tie

Ee,

by re

de

4

\PPENDIX A Opinion of the

Court of Appeals

for the Second Circuit.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

—-

No. 877—September Term, 1980

(Argued April 6, 1981 Decided July 22, 1981)

Docket No. 80-9018

aan

EDGAR PAUK,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

—V—

THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE

City UNIVERSITY OF NEw York, et al.,

Defendants-Appellees.

Before:

TIMBERS and NEWMAN, Circui: Judges,

and SoraeEr*, District Judge.

—_$<

Appeal from a judgment of the United States District

Court for the Eastern District of New York (Jacob Mish-

* The Honorable Abraham D. Sofaer of the United States District Court

for the Southern District of New York, sitting by designation.

4193

A-1l

ler, Judge) dismissing appellant’s action under 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983 as time barred.

Affirmed.

>

JONATHAN A. WEIsS, New York, N.Y. (Oscar

Chase and Edgar Pauk, New York, N.Y.,

on the brief), for appellant.

EDWARD F.X. HArt, New York, N.Y. (Allen G.

Schwartz, Corp. Counsel, and Ronald E.

Sternberg, New York N.Y., on the brief),

for appellees.

a

NEWMAN, Circuit Judge:

This appeal concerns the recurring issue of determining

the appropriate statute of limitations under New York law

for actions commenced under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 (1976).

The District Court for the Eastern District of New York

(Jacob Mishler, Judge), applying New York’s three-year

limitations period for liability created or imposed by

statute, N.Y. Civ. Prac. Law and Rules (CPLR) § 214(2)

(McKinney 1972), dismissed appellant’s claim as time

barred. We affirm, concluding that § 214(2) is the New

York limitations provision that best fulfills the federal

policies underlying § 1983 actions.

Appellant Edgar Pauk became an Assistant Professor

in the Department of Romance Languages of Queens

College of the City University of New York in the Fall of

1970 after serving as a Lecturer for the three preceding

years. Under New York law, tenure is automatically

conferred within the City University when an individual

4194

A-2

has served full-time as an Assistant Professor for five

continuous years and is reappointed for a sixth consecu-

tive year. N.Y. Educ. Law § 6212(3) (McKinney Supp.

1980) (formerly N.Y. Educ. Law § 6206(3)). On Septem-

ber 24, 1975, after five years of full-time service,’ Pauk

was informed by his Department that it had voted to

recommend him for reappointment with tenure and was

submitting its recommendation to the College Personnel

and Budget Committee. However, on October 24, 1975,

Pauk was notified by the President of the College that the

Committee had voted against his reappointment.

In this letter, the President indicated that he would

entertain an appeal of the Committee’s determination

based on either information that had been unavailable to

the Committee, or credible allegations that the Commit-

tee had considered non-academic matters. Pauk appealed,

outlining his academic credentials, and alleging that he

had been denied reappointment because of his union

activities. On November 14, 1975, the President denied

Pauk’s appeal, and shortly thereafter, on November 24,

1975, Pauk was notified by the Provost that his appoint-

ment terminated on the final day of his existing one-year

contract, August 31, 1976. Pauk’s tenure application was

not considered by the University Board of Trustees be-

cause it was the Board’s practice to act on tenure matters

only when positive tenure recommendations were made.

! Though Pauk was appointed to the faculty for six years prior to the

action on his tenure, in 1971-1972 he was on leave of absence without

pay from all of his teaching responsibilities in order to work for the

faculty union. The New York courts held that the tenure statute, N.Y.

Educ. Law § 6206(3) (now § 6212 (3)), required five years of full-time

Service, not simply appointment, as a teacher and consequently that

Pauk had not already acquired tenure by having been reappointed to a

sixth year. Pauk v. Board of Higher Educ., 62 A.D.2d 660, 406

N.Y.S.2d 46 (ist Dep’t 1978), aff'd 48 N.Y.2d 930, 425 N.Y.S.2d 92

(1979).

4195

A-3

On January 7, 1976, Pauk challenged the denial of his

reappointment by filing a grievance in accordance with

the collective bargaining agreement between the Board of

Higher Education (now the Board of Trustees of the City

University of New York) and the faculty union, the

Professional Staff Congress. Under this agreement, griev-

ances were submitted to an arbitrator empowered to rule

only whether the challenged decision was procedurally

defective. If the arbitrator so ruled, the matter was

referred to a select faculty committee to reconsider the

decision and make a recommendation to the Board.

Rather than pursue this path, Pauk withdrew his griev-

ance one month after filing it. In the interim, he com-

menced an Article 78 proceeding in New York state court,

CPLR § 7801, et seg. (McKinney 1981), alleging that his

dismissal was improper since he had in fact obtained

tenure, counting either the three years in which he taught

in the capacity of a lecturer, or the one year during which

he was on leave of absence without pay from any teaching

duties. This petition was ultimately rejected by the New

York Court of Appeals in 1979. Pauk v. Board of Higher

Education, 48 N.Y.2d 930, 425 N.Y.S.2d 92 (1979), aff’g

62 A.D.2d 660, 406 N.Y.S.2d 46 (Ist Dep’t 1978). On

August 31, 1979, three years after the termination of his

employment contract, and three years and nine months

after notification of both the tenure denial and his dis-

charge date, Pauk filed this action under 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983, alleging that the College and City education

officials had deprived him of First Amendment rights by

denying him reappointment with tenure in retaliation for

his active participation in the faculty union.

The District Court granted appellees’ motion to dismiss

the complaint on the grounds that Pauk’s action was time

barred. The Court determined that Pauk’s claim had

4196

A-4

accrued in November 1975 when he received notification

of the tenure denial and his discharge date. The Court

then applied the three-year limitations period of CPLR

§ 214(2) for liability created or imposed by statute. We

agree with both conclusions of the District Court.

Accrual

Federal law determines when a claim accrues under

§ 1983. Singleton v. City of New York, 632 F.2d 185, 191

(2d Cir. 1980), cert. denied, __. U.S. ___. (1981). In

Singleton, following the Fourth Circuit’s approach in

Bireline v. Seagondollar, 567 F.2d 260, 263 (4th Cir.

1977), cert. denied, 444 U.S. 842 (1979), we held that the

federal claim accrues when the plaintiff “knows or has

reason to know” of the injury that is the basis of his

action. 632 F.2d at 191. Pauk knew of his injury, the

alleged improper denial of tenure, on November 24, 1975,

when he received notice of termination of his employment

from the Provost following the President’s denial of his

appeal. He contends, however, that his right of action did

not accrue until August 31, 1976, the date of his actual

discharge, because the letters he received in November did

not represent final action on his tenure application, ac-

tion that he alleges could be taken only by the Board of

Trustees of the University.’

In Delaware State College v. Ricks, _. U.S. ___

(Dec. 15, 1980), the Supreme Court held that the date of

accrual of a claim alleging that the plaintiff was denied

tenure because of his national origin in violation of 42

2 We reject Pauk’s theory that no “deprivation” occurred under

§ 1983 until his employment actually terminated. The alleged depriva-

tion violating Pauk’s constitutional rights was not the fact of his

discharge but the denial of reappointment with tenure, allegedly based

on Pauk’s protected First Amendment conduct.

4197

A-5

U.S.C. § 1981 (1976) and Title VII of the Civil Rights Act

of 1964, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e (1976), was the date on which

the plaintiff had received notice of the negative tenure

decision and not the date of his actual termination.

Appellant seeks to distinguish Ricks on factual grounds,

contending that, unlike the circumstances of this case,

there was clear evidence of the decision’s finality in Ricks

because the Board of Trustees of Delaware State College

had both reviewed the faculty tenure decision and sent the

notification letter to Ricks.’

The gist of appellant’s claim is that under New York

law the Board of Trustees cannot delegate its decisional

authority with respect to academic matters such as tenure,

and that the negative tenure determination by the College

3 Appellant also contends that Ricks is inapplicable because of the

difference in the federal statutes on which the claims rest, citing this

Court’s statement in Singleton v. City of New York, 632 F.2d 185, 191

n.5 (2d Cir. 1980), cert. denied, ___ U.S. ___ (1981), that in a single

§ 1983 action relying on several claims for relief, the individual claims

need not all accrue on the same date. We disagree with appellant as to

the import of our remark in Singleton, we simply expressed the

common sense view that accrual dates for different types of claims

may vary, and did not suggest that the federal rule for determining

when a particular type of claim accrues should vary according to the

federal statute under which it is brought. We think it appropriate to

follow the Supreme Court’s approach to the time of accrual of a claim

involving a denial of tenure under 42 U.S.C. § 1981 (1976) in this

action brought under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 (1976). Cf. Bratton v. Bethle-

hem Steel Corp., 24 Empl. Prac. Dec. (CCH) 4 31,290 (9th Cir. 1980)

(same rationale for choosing statute of limitations under § 1983 applies

to § 1981); Marshall v. Electric Hose & Rubber Co., 68 F.R.D. 287,

293 (D. Del. 1975) (same).

Nor is appellant’s claim aided by Fernandez v. Chardon, No.

80-1237, ___ F.2d ____ (Ist Cir. May 8, 1981). Fernandez held that a

§ 1983 claim for wrongful discharge from government employment

accrued at the time of discharge, rather than receipt of notice of the

discharge decision. Whether or not we would agree with Fernandez in

the context of a discharge from non-academic government employ-

ment, we note that Fernandez distinguished Ricks on the ground that

Ricks, like Pauk, was alleging an unlawful denial of tenure, not a

discharge.

4198

A-6

Committee and the President therefore lacked binding

authority without the Board’s approval. Pauk maintains

that since these decisions were not “final,” his claim did

not accrue until his actual discharge, when he no longer

qualified under the tenure statute’s continuous full-time

service requirement. We disagree.

New York courts have held that the Board has a

“nondelegable duty” to decide faculty appointments, pro-

motion, and tenure, Rodriguez-Abad v. Kibee, 71 A.D.2d

588, 418 N.Y.S.2d 430 (Ist Dep’t 1979); Aptekar v. Board

of Higher Education, 66 A.D.2d 630, 414 N.Y.S.2d 156

(Ist Dep’t 1979); Legislative Conference of City Univer-

sity v. Board of Higher Education, 38 A.D.2d 478, 330

N.Y.S.2d 688 (Ist Dep’t), aff’d, 31 N.Y.2d 926, 340

N.Y.S.2d 924 (1972); see Professional Staff Congress/

CUNY v. City University of New York, 507 F. Supp. 637

(S.D.N.Y. 1981). But the context of these rulings is quite

distinct: at issue was the Board’s ability to reject a faculty

committee’s positive recommendation of tenure. The

courts uniformly concluded that the committee recom-

mendations did not bind the Board because the Board’s

authority to grant tenure was not delegable. In Rodri-

guez-Abad, the Appellate Division further held that when

a select committee established in accordance with the

collective bargaining agreement’s arbitration procedures

voted to recommend an individual for tenure, the Presi-

dent could not veto that determination on his own but

had to pass the recommendation on to the Board for its

review. We do not find in these rulings a requirement that

the Board independently review all negative tenure deci-

sions. The Board’s only nondelegable duty concerning

tenure under New York law is to review recommendations

for tenure supported throughout the administrative

process or committee recommendations following a prop-

4199

A-7

erly filed grievance even if disapproved during the ad-

ministrative process.

There was no occasion for Board review of the denial

of Pauk’s tenure because the administrative process did

not result in a favorable recommendation and Pauk

withdrew from the grievance procedure which the

New York courts have found to require ultimate Board

review. Since appellant chose not to pursue the grievance

procedure, the letters of notification he received from the

President and Provost constituted final university action

rejecting his tenure application. Pauk’s discharge follow-

ing receipt of those letters was simply the “inevitable

consequence” of the adverse tenure decision previously

made by the College just like the plaintiff’s discharge

following the trustees’ notification letter in Ricks. ___

U.S. at ___. We see no basis for disiinguishing appel-

lant’s case from Ricks. Since the Board did not delegate

any duty in this case, we affirm the District Judge’s ruling

that appellant’s federal claim accrued as of November 24,

1975, the date he received final notice of his discharge.

Statute of Limitations

Because Congress has not provided a federal statute of

limitations for actions brought under § 1983, we must

apply the most appropriate state statute of limitations.

Board of Regents v. Tomanio, 446 U.S. 478 (1980);

Johnson v. Railway Express Agency, Inc., 421 U.S. 454

(1975). We have previously held that the appropriate

statute of limitations for § 1983 actions brought in New

York is CPLR § 214(2), which specifies a three-year

limitations period for actions to recover upon a liability

created or imposed by statute. E.g., Singleton v. City of

New York, supra, 632 F.2d at 190; Taylor v. Mayone, 626

F.2d 247, 253 (2d Cir. 1980); Quinn v. Syracuse Model

4200

A-8

Neighborhood Corp., 613 F.2d 438, 449 (2d Cir. 1980);

Meyer v. Frank, 550 F.2d 726, 728 (2d Cir.), cert. denied,

434 U.S. 830 (1977). Appellant asks us to abandon these

holdings in light of the Supreme Court’s decision in

Chapman v. Houston Welfare Rights Organization, 441

U.S. 600, 618 (1979), which held that § 1983 does not

create any substantive rights and is only a remedial

statute. Since § 214(2) does not apply to actions founded

upon statutes that provide only additional remedies and

do not create or impose new obligations, State v. Cortelle

Corp., 38 N.Y.2d 83, 85-86, 378 N.Y.S.2d 654, 655-56

(1975), the continued application of § 214(2) to § 1983

actions after Chapman must be reexamined, as we have

previously recognized. See Singleton v. City of New York,

supra, 632 F.2d at 190; Taylor v. Mayone, supra, 626 F.2d

at 251 n.4; Quinn v. Syracuse Model Neighborhood

Corp., supra, 613 F.2d at 449 n.6.

The issue is squarely presented in this case because,

unlike the claims of the plaintiffs in Taylor and Quinn,

Pauk’s claim is untimely if § 214(2) applies. And, unlike

the plaintiff in Singleton, Pauk specifically urges rejec-

tion of § 214(2) in favor of the longer six-year limitations

period provided by either CPLR § 213(2) (McKinney

1972), applicable to contract actions, or § 213(1), New

York’s residual statute of limitations. Appellees agree

with Pauk that we should abandon application of

§ 214(2) in light of Chapman, but urge a much shorter

limitations period, either the one-year-and-ninety-day

limitations period for actions against a city or its employ-

ees, N.Y. Gen. Mun. Law §§ 50-i, 50-k (6) (McKinney

1977 & Supp. 1980), or the four-month limitations period

for Article 78 actions, CPLR § 217 (McKinney 1972). We

agree with Judge Mishler that, even after Chapman,

§ 214(2) is the most appropriate New York statute of

limitations for § 1983 actions.

4201

A-9

In reexamining the continued application of § 214(2) to

§ 1983 actions, we confront two realities: the body of our

prior case law that has rejected limitations periods shorter

than the three years specified by § 214(2) and the inexact

fit of any of New York’s statutues of limitations to § 1983

actions. Application of the one-year-and-ninety-day pe-

riod of § 50-i of the General Municipal Law was specifi-

cally rejected in Taylor v. Mayone, supra, and Quinn v.

Syracuse Model Neighborhood Corp., supra. Admittedly,

these decisions rejected § 50-i in favor of possibilities that

included § 214(2), whose applicability is now in issue, but

they retain significance nonetheless. Both Taylor and

Quinn acknowledged the possible impact of Chapman

and Cortelle upon § 214(2) and rejected § 50-i in favor of

either § 214(2) or § 213(1), the six-year residual statute of

limitations. Selection between these statutes was not nec-

essary since the claims were timely under even the three-

year statute. Nevertheless, the force of the rejection of a

shorter limitations period remains, a result that seems to

have been tacitly influenced by concern that a relatively

short limitations period would not be consistent with the

broad remedial purposes of § 1983. See Shouse v. Pierce

County, 559 F.2d 1142, 1146 (9th Cir. 1977) (per curiam).

Taylor and Quinn are additionally pertinent in their

disapproval of selecting different limitations periods for

different classes of defendants. The interest in attaining

some uniformity, at least within one state, concerning the

limitations period for § 1983 actions has been widely

noted. See Walden, III, Inc. v. Rhode Island, 576 F.2d

945, 947 (Ist Cir. 1978); Beard v. Robinson, 563 F.2d 331,

337 (7th Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 438 U.S. 907 (1978),

Smith v. Cremins, 308 F.2d 187, 190 (9th Cir. 1962);

Note, Statutes of Limitations in Federal Civil Rights

Litigation, 1976 Ariz. St. L.J. 97 (1976).

4202

A-10

Even if we were to consider the applicability of § 50-i

as an original question, we would be reluctant to select it

for § 1983 actions. Section 50-i applies to suits “for

personal injury or damage to real or personal property”

caused by the negligence or wrongful acts of a city or its

employees. The quoted terms fit precisely actions seeking

redress for injuries of the sort that result from common

law torts. A § 1983 suit, remedying what is sometimes

called a constitutional tort, affords redress for “a depri-

vation . . . significantly different from and more serious

than . . . a state tort.” Monroe v. Pape, 365 U.S. 167,

196 (Harlan, J., concurring). Moreover, § 50-i represents

a New York policy to provide more restrictive remedies

against municipal employees for their torts than are

available against private citizens, for whom the limita-

tions period for unintentional torts is three years. CPLR

§ 214(5) (McKinney 1972). It would be anomalous for a

federal court to apply a state policy restricting remedies

against public officials to a federal statute that is designed

to augment remedies against those officials, especially a

federal statute that affords remedies for the protection of

constitutional rights. Finally, the brevity of the period

prescribed by § 50-i is of doubtful compatability with the

purposes of § 1983. A federal court, searching for an

analogous state limitations period for a § 1983 suit,

should not select any period shorter than the two years

Congress has specified as the time within which notice

must be given of claims against the United States for

unlawful actions by federal law enforcement officers. 28

U.S.C. §§ 1346(b), 2680(h) (1976). That expression of

federal policy should establish a floor for the limitations

period of § 1983 suits, so many of which concern similar

conduct by state law enforcement officers. Cf. Regan v.

Sullivan, 557 F.2d 300 (2d Cir. 1977), adopting three-year

4203

A-11

period of CPLR § 214(2) or six-year period of CPLR

§ 213(1) to suits against federal law enforcement officers

brought pursuant to Bivens v. Six Unknown Named

Agents of Federal Bureau of Narcotics, 403 U.S. 388

(1971).

The same considerations that render § 50-i inappro-

priate as the limitations period for § 1983 actions also

apply to appellees’ suggestion that we should adopt the

one-year-and-ninety-day period provided by § 50-k(6) for

actions against certain employees of New York City. In

enacting § 50-k(6) the New York legislature explicitly

purported to apply the one-year-and-ninety-day limita-

tions period to § 1983 suits, as well as all suits brought

pursuant to 42 U.S.C. §§ 1981-1988 against the desig-

nated class of New York City employees. But, as appel-

lant points out, § 50-k(6), as enacted, did not apply to

employees of a board of education, § 50-k(1)(a) and (e),

and although § 50-k(6) was purportedly amended to cover

New York City educational employees by an amendment

to Education Law § 6211, Ch. 673, § 11, Laws of 1979,

that amendment was ineffective, having occurred after

§ 6211 had been repealed by Ch. 305, Laws of 1979.

Moreover, the inappropriateness of adopting different

limitations periods for different classes of defendants in

§ 1983 suits makes it highly undesirable to select dif-

ferent limitations periods for defendants occupying simi-

lar positions in different cities within a single state.

Appellees also suggest that the appropriate limitations

period is the four months provided by CPLR § 217 for

proceedings brought pursuant to Article 78 of the CPLR.

The brevity of that period makes it singularly inappro-

priate for § 1983 actions. Moreover, even if an Article 78

proceeding is available for appellant’s constitutional chal-

lenge to the denial of his tenure, there is no reason to

4204

A-12

believe that New York regards this procedure as the

exclusive means for pursuing such a claim. Article 78

proceedings, though frequently brought, retain their basic

nature as the modern procedural device for obtaining

relief previously sought by specialized writs of certiorari

for review, mandamus, or prohibition. CPLR § 7801.

Such writs are not analogous to § 1983 actions.

Appellant not only opposes appellees’ suggestions but

urges a limitations period longer than the three years

provided by § 214(2). He contends that the appropriate

period is the six years provided by either § 213(2), appli-

cable to contract actions, or § 213(1), the residual statute

of limitations. The argument for § 213(2) proceeds from

appellant’s contention that his contract with the Board of

Education includes all rights conferred by New York law,

which requires promotions in the civil service to be made

according to merit, N.Y. Const., Art. V, § 6, and that

denial of tenure because of his exercise of First Amend-

ment rights was unrelated to merit and therefore breached

his contract. But appellant is not suing for breach of

contract; he is suing under § 1983 for the constitutional

tort alleged to have occurred when his tenure application

was rejected in violation of his First Amendment rights.

Under New York law, when a contract simply incorpo-

rates preexisting obligations independent of the contract,

the applicable statute of limitations is not the period for

contract actions but the period appropriate to the nature

of the cause of action. Union Bank of Switzerland v. HS

Equities, Inc., 423 F. Supp. 927 (S.D.N.Y. 1976); see

Blessington v. McCrory Stores Corp., 305 N.Y. 140,

147-48 (1953). The Supreme Court recently declined to

apply § 213(2) to a New York suit nominally brought for

breach of a collective bargaining agreement because the

essence of the claim was an attempt to set aside an

4205

A-13

arbitration award. United Parcel Service, Inc. v. Mitchell,

___. ~-U.S. ___._ (Apr. 20, 1981). The Court therefore

applied the ninety-day limitations period applicable to a

claim of that type, CPLR § 7511(a) (McKinney 1963).

For these reasons § 213(2) does not apply to appellant’s

suit.

Appellant’s argument for application of § 213(1), the

residual limitations period, rests on the assumption that

we will no longer apply § 214(2) and the apprehension

tthat we will not accept his argument for § 213(2). Appel-

lees, sharing appellant’s view that § 214(2) no longer

applies, urge us to reject § 213(1) as well. In Singleton v.

City of New York, supra, we observed that § 213(1),

though phrased as applying to “an action for which no

limitation period is specifically prescribed by law,” has

generally been understood to govern only actions for

equitable relief. Jd. at 190.‘ We have also declined to

apply the residual limitations period to a suit seeking an

equitable remedy when an action at law was available.

Swan v. Board of Higher Education, 319 F.2d 56, 60 (2d

Cir. 1963); cf. Romer v. Leary, 425 F.2d 186 (2d Cir.

1970); see also Williams v. Walsh, 558 F.2d 667 (2d Cir.

4 Singleton may have overemphasized the significance of the materials

relied on for this conclusion. First, the opinion noted that the Practice

Commentaries to § 213(1) state that the residual six-year period “gov-

erns actions in equity.” 632 F.2d at 190. That view is not inconsistent

with the applicability of § 213(1) to at least some actions at law, unless

it is assumed that every action at law is governed by one of the specific

statutes of limitations. But see Clark v. Water Commissioners, 148

N.Y. 1, 108 N.Y.S. 427 (1895). Second, the opinion cited legislative

history stating that § 213(1) is applicable to “ ‘such equity actions as an

action to reform an instrument, or any other action where no period is

expressly prescribed.’ ” 632 F.2d at 190 n.4, quoting Leg. Doc. Vol. 1,

No. 13, 18Ist Sess. at 67 (1958). The reference to “any other action”

may well include some actions at law, rather than mean only other

equity actions. Such is the view of at least one group of commentators.

1 J. Weinstein, H. Korn & A. Miller, New York Civil Practice 213.01

(1977) (“Aside from its use as the ‘residual’ provision, CPLR 2131) is

applied in actions in which equitable relief is sought.”).

4206

A-14

1977). Appellant, in addition to seeking reinstatement,

has presented claims for back pay, compensatory dam-

ages, and punitive damages. Notwithstanding the legal

nature of at least some of his claims, appellant urges the

application of § 213(1) for two reasons. First, he ques-

tions Singleton’s limitation of § 213(1) to equitable ac-

tions, pointing out that the statute has at least once been

applied to an action at law. Clark v. Water Commis-

sioners, 148 N.Y. 1, 108 N.Y.S. 427 (1895) (predecessor of

§ 213(1) applied to action for compensation for taking of

property). Second, he urges that § 213(1) applies even

when a legal claim is available as long as the equitable

claim being pursued is not in aid of the legal claim. See

Russell v. Todd, 309 U.S. 280 (1940); 1 J. Weinstein, H.

Korn & A. Miller, New York Civil Practice {213.01

(1977). The substantiality of the issues raised by both

sides concerning the applicability of § 213(1) suggests that

before resolving them we should first more closely ex-

amine the premise on which bcth sides have proceeded:

that the limitations period of § 214(2), applicable to

claims founded on a statute, is no longer appropriate for

§ 1983 suits.

Even after Chapman and Cortelle, there remains room

for argument that § 1983 is a statute within the category

described by § 214(2). The argument requires examina-

tion of both Cortelle and the function of § 1983. Cortelle

declined to apply § 214(2) to an action brought by the

Attorney General of New York, pursuant to § 1101(a)(2)

of the Business Corporation Law (McKinney 1963) and

§ 63(12) of the Executive Law (McKinney 1972), to enjoin

fraudulent practices of corporations and their officers.

The Court of Appeals noted that the statutes authorizing

the Attorney General to sue did not make the defendants’

practices unlawful and that statutes providing “only addi-

4207

A-15

tional remedies or standing” are not statutes that create

or impose liabilities within the meaning of § 214(2). 38

N.Y.2d at 85, 378 N.Y.S.2d at 655. Section 1983 is plainly

not a statute that makes anyone’s conduct unlawful, but

neither is it a statute that provides only “additional”

remedies for well-established liabilities. In the absence of

§ 1983, those who transgress constitutional commands

would be liable for damages only on the basis of an

implied cause of action grounded directly on the Consti-

tution. While such liability has been recognized, Bivens v.

Six Unknown Named Agents of Federal Bureau of Nar-

cotics, 403 U.S. 388 (1971) (Fourth Amendment); Turpin

v. Mailet, 579 F.2d 152 (2d Cir.) (en banc) (Fourth

Amendment liability of municipality), vacated and re-

manded for reconsideration sub nom. City of West Haven

v. Turpin, 439 U.S. 974 (1978); Paton v. LePrade, 524

F.2d 862, 869-70 (3d Cir. 1975) (First Amendment), it

surely is not as “old and common” as the liability for

fraud that predated the statutes authorizing the state

Attorney General’s suit in Cortelle. 38 N.Y.2d at 86, 378

N.Y.S.2d at 657. Section 1983 can hardly be said to

supply an “additional” remedy when, for the 100 years

after its enactment in 1871 until Bivens was decided in

1971, it was the only means recognized for imposing

damage liability specifically for violations of the Consti-

tution. Moreover, when § 1983 provides a remedy, an

implied cause of action grounded on the Constitution is

not available. Turpin v. Mailet, 591 F.2d 426 (2d Cir.

1979) (en banc) (rejecting cause of action against munici-

pality grounded directly on Constitution because of avail-

ability of § 1983 after Monell v. Department of Social

Services, 436 U.S. 658 (1978)). In light of the primacy of

§ 1983 in providing the basis for securing redress for

constitutional violations, we cannot be certain that the

4208

A-16

New York Court of Appeals would decline to view it as a

statute within the category to which § 214(2) applies.

Alternatively, it is possible to apply § 214(2) directly to

§ 1983 claims, as Judge Mishler did, on the rationale that

the United States Constitution, on which appellant’s

claim is founded, should be considered a statute for

purposes of § 214(2). Other courts have adopted this

rationale in applying local versions of § 214(2) to suits

based on constitutional claims. De Malherbe v. Interra-

tional Union of Elevator Constructors, 449 F. Supp.

1335, 1350 (N.D. Cal. 1978) (U.S. Constitution); Santa

Cruz County v. McKnight, 20 Ariz. 103, 111, 77 P. 256,

259 (1918) (Arizona Constitution). Moreover, in Regan v.

Sullivan, supra, we identified § 214(2) as one of two

statutes of limitations (along with § 213 (1)) that might be

applicable to claims founded directly on the Constitution

pursuant to Bivens v. Six Unknown Named Agents of

Federal Bureau of Narcotics, supra.

Arguably opposed to this construction is Clark v.

Water Commissioners, supra, in which the New York

Court of Appeals ruled that the predecessor of § 214(2)

was inapplicable to a claim for compensation for a public

taking of property. However, Clark appears to involve a

claim based on the state constitution.’ More pertinent is a

8 The pertinence of Clark to § 1983 claims is rendered doubtful by

comparing the nature of the statute at issue in Clark and the nature of

§ 1983. The statute under which the plaintiff sued in Clark in no sense

created or imposed a liability. It merely established the procedural steps

for obtaining compensation in the special context of condemnation

authority exercised by the village of Amsterdam. N.Y. Laws of 1881,

Ch. 101. The statute extended to the village the condemning power

normally exercised by the State. Well-established prior law, as tradi-

tional as the liability for fraud that preceded the additional statutory

remedy in Cortelle, assured the plaintiff in Clark his right to secure

just compensation for any public taking of his property. Section 1983,

as discussed in the text, supra, though not creating a right, has far

more significance in providing the fundamental basis for damage

liability than the statute under which suit was brought in Clark.

4209

A-17

recent decision of the Appellate Division explicitly ruling

that, in light of Chapman and Cortelle, § 214(2) does not

apply to a § 1983 claim brought in state court against a

municipality and its police officers. Staffen v. City of

Rochester, 80 App. Div. 2d 16, __. N. Y.S.2d ____ (4th

Dep’t 1981). Staffen applied the one-year-and-ninety-day

period of § 50-i of the General Municipal Law, a result

we had rejected in Quinn. The Appellate Division was not

asked to determine whether § 214(2) should apply to

§ 1983 claims on Judge Mishler’s rationale that the

United States Constitution can be considered a statute

within the meaning of § 214(2).

From this state of the decisional law a conclusion is not

easily drawn. What must be kept in mind is the nature of

our task as distinguished from that of the state courts.

The courts of New York provide authoritative guidance

on the proper construction of state statutes, including

statutes of limitations. But determination of an appropri-

ate state limitations period applicable to a federal cause

of action is “a matter of federal law.” UAW v. Hoosier

Cardinal Corp., 383 U.S. 696, 705 (1966). We would not

be applying federal law if we automatically deferred to

New York’s view, whether expressed by its courts or its

legislature, as to which limitations period the state

thought was appropriate for a § 1983 claim.* Our task is

6 When a state legislature enacts a statute of limitations explicitiy

applicable to a federal cause of action, a federal court must determine

whether the state statute impairs the achievement of federal objectives,

for example, by prescribing an unduly short limitations period, and

whether the state statute discriminates against federal claims. See

Republic Pictures Corp. v. Kappler, 151 F.2d 543 (8th Cir. 1945)

(federal court may not enforce state statute of limitations enacted

specifically to cover claims founded on any federal law that lacks a

period of limitations), aff'd mem., 327 U.S. 757 (1946); Caldwell v.

Alabama Dry Dock & Shipbuilding Co., \61 F.2d 83 (Sth Cir. 1947)

(state statute of limitations expressly covering claims founded on Fair

Labor Standards Act of 1938 is unconstitutional). When a state court

4210

A-18

to examine the limitations periods that New York has

prescribed for various state causes of action and then

select for § 1983 claims, as a matter of federal law, the

limitations period for an “analogous” state cause of

action. Board of Regents v. Tomanio, supra, 446 U.S. at

483-84.

Having considered the alternatives, we conclude that a

state law claim founded upon a statute is the appropriate

analogy for a § 1983 claim. New York’s highest court has

characterized § 214(2) as applicable to “actions for

wrongs not recognized in the common or decisional law.”

State v. Cortelle, supra, 38 N.Y.2d at 86, 378 N.Y.S.2d at

656. While some § 1983 claims have counterparts in

actions at common law, the constitutional tort remedied

by § 1983 is “significantly different from” state torts,

Monroe v. Pape, supra, 365 U.S. at 196 (Harlan, J.,

concurring). And many § 1983 claims, such as Pauk’s

allegation of denial of tenure for exercising First Amend-

ment rights, have no common law antecedents. A § 1983

claim founded on the Constitution, even if not within the

category of claims to which § 214(2) precisely applies as a

matter of state law, is sufficiently analogous to such

claims to make the limitations period of § 214(2) appro-

priate as a matter of federal law.

determines that a state statute of limitations is applicable to a federal

cause of action, a federal court must make an even more refined

analysis. While recognizing the state court's authoritativeness in con-

struing the state statute of limitations, the federal court must bear in

mind that when the state court determines whether a particular state

statute of limitations applies to a federal claim, the state court is

deciding a question of federal law. This question, involving character-

ization of the federal claim in order to determine which state limita-

tions period most appropriately applies, may be decided by a state

court, see Testa v. Katt, 330 U.S. 386 (1947), but the state court

decision cannot preclude a federal court’s more authoritative decision

on matters of federal law.

4211

A-19

Selecting the limitations period of § 214(2) satisfacto-

rily accommodates relevant federal and state interests.

Section 214(2) manifests New York’s view of an appropri-

ate limitations period that clearly applies to § 1983 suits

founded on other federal statutes. See Maine v. Thi-

boutot, ___. U.S. ___ (June 25, 1980). The interests in

uniformity, which we have previously emphasized, e.g.,

Quinn v. Syracuse Model Neighborhood Corp., supra,

are well served by applying § 214(2)’s limitations period

to all § 1983 suits. Moreover, the three-year limitations

period is consistent with the broad remedial purposes of

§ 1983. The six-year period of § 213 (1) is considerably

longer than the relatively short period of one year and

ninety days, which the New York legislature has recently

attempted to apply to some § 1983 suits, Gen. Mun. Law

§ 50-k(6). Finally, borrowing the three-year period of

§ 214(2) serves the useful purpose of maintaining conti-

nuity in the application of that statute’s limitations period

to § 1983 suits. It would be preferable if Congress would

end the uncertainty that still exists in several states by

legislating a uniform federal statute of limitations. Until

that happens, we hold that the three-year limitations

period of § 214(2) applies to § 1983 suits in New York.

The judgment is affirmed.

oe

SOFAER, District Judge, concurring:

I concur in Judge Newman’s thorough opinion, but

write separately to emphasize that the limitations period

of CPLR § 214(2) is not merely, as the Court holds, an

appropriate provision to borrow for actions brought

pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983, but rather is squarely

applicable to such suits.

4212

A-20

The three-year period of section 214(2) applies to “an

action to recover upon a liability. . . created or imposed

by statute... .” N.Y. C.PL.R. § 214(2) (emphasis

added). The issue, therefore, is not merely whether sec-

tion 1983 creates liability, but also whether it is a statute

that imposes liability. Chapman v. Houston Welfare

Rights Organization, 441 U.S. 600 (1979), did indeed

hold that section 1983 does “not provide for any substan-

tive rights”; as the Court put it, “one cannot go into

court and claim a ‘violation of § 1983’—for § 1983 by

itself does not protect anyone against anything.” /d. at

6i7. But the issue before the Court in Chapman was

whether, for the jurisdictional purposes of 28 U.S.C.

§ 1343, section 1983 was a statute securing “equal rights”

or “civil rights”—not, as in the present context, whether

liability in a federal civil rights action is imposed by

statute. The Court, in fact, recognized that section 1983

“served to ensure that an individual had a cause of action

for violations of the Constitution, which in the Four-

teenth Amendment embodied and extended to all individ-

uals as against state action the substantive protections

afforded by § 1 of the 1866 Act.” Jd. (footnote omitted).

In other words, although the Constitution creates the

substantive right asserted in a section 1983 action (other

than one brought pursuant to Maine v. Thiboutot, 100 S.

Ct. 2502 (1980)), it is section 1983 that imposes civil

liability and provides a cause of action in federal court.

Although some authority exists for the proposition that

suits against state officials for violations of constitutional

rights may be brought directly under the Constitution,

that is hardly a proposition so well-established as to

render section 1983 mere procedural surplusage. More-

over, even if the Supreme Court were to hold that such an

action were available in some circumstances, the state-

4213

A-21

ment that section 1983 is a liability-imposing statute

would nonetheless remain true, for section 1983 would

still constitute Congress’s independent authorization of

suit and would constitute sole authorization of suit in

circumstances in which no direct action was available.

Consequently, a section 1983 action falls precisely within

the language of section 214(2): it is a suit in which liability

is imposed by statute. Clark v. Water Commissioners, 148

N.Y. 1, 108 N.Y.S. 427 (1895), and State v. Cortelle

Corp., 38 N.Y.2d 83, 378 N.Y.S.2d 654 (1975), fortify this

construction, because they are based upon the rationale

that the statutes involved there neither created nor im-

posed any liability.

The recent decision in Staffen v. Rochester, 80 A.D.2d

16, 18-19 (4th Dep’t 1981), incorrectly reads Chapman as

holding that section 1983 is not a statute that creates

liability. Staffen did not address the possibility that sec-

tion 1983 could be viewed as a statute imposing, though

not creating, liability. Moreover, the New York courts

would not adhere to the proposition that section 1983

imposes no liability, in the face of an authoritative federal

decision otherwise construing Chapman (a federal deci-

sion) and the nature of section 1983 (a federal statute).

Given that we view section 1983, even in light of

Chapman, as a statute that imposes liability, we need not

reach Judge Mishler’s sensible but difficult conclusion

that the Constitution is a “statute” for purposes of

section 214(2). That position has implicitly been rejected

by the New York courts, to which we are supposed to

look for guidance as to the appropriate statute of limita-

tions. A precise reading of Chapman spares us the need to

engage in policy analysis that might suggest we are select-

ing a limitations period that we find convenient, rather

than one squarely justified by state-law analogies.

4214

A-22

APPENDIX B

Opinion of the District Court for

the Eastern District of New York

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

EDGAR PAUK,

Plaintiff,

- against -

THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE

CITY UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK,

et al.,

Defendants.

APPEARANCES:

JONATHAN A. WEISS, ESQ.

79 C 2250

MEMORANDUM

OF DECISION

AND ORDER

ocT 14, 1980

Attorney for Plaintiff

132 West 43rd Street

New York, N. Y. 10036

ALLEN G. SCHWARTZ

CORPORATION COUNSEL

Attorney for Defendants

100 Church Street

Room 6-C-13

New York, N. Y. 10007

MISHLER, District Judge

A-23

In this action plaintiff seeks monetary

and injunctive relief pursuant to 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983 for the deprivation under color of

state laws of rights secured to him by the

Constitution of the United States. Plain-

tiff, a former professor at Queens College,

alleges that the decision by college and

City Education officials to deny him re-

appointment with tenure was in retaliation

for his participation in union and political

activities on campus and, therefore, con-

stituted a violation of his First Amendment

right of free speech.

Presently before the court is defendants'

motion pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b)(1) and

(6) to dismiss the complaint on the grounds

that the action is barred by the applicable

statute of limitations and the complaint

fails to state a claim upon which relief can

be granted. In the alternative, defendants

move for an order pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P.

A-24

56(b) granting summary judgment in favor of

defendants.

From 1967 to 1970 plaintiff served as

a lecturer at Queens College of the City of

New York. In the fall of 1970 he became an

assistant professor and remained in the

position until August 31, 1976, when his

employment was officially terminated because

of his failure to obtain reappointment with

tenure for the academic year beginning in

September 1976. Tenure is granted to an

individual who has served in certain positions

for a period of five years and has been re-

appointed for a sixth consecutive year. If

the individual fails to gain reappointment

his employment is automatically terminated.

Plaintiff was considered for reappoint-

ment with tenure in September 1975. His

candidacy was evaluated by various college

committees and subcommittees. On October 24,

1975 Joseph S. Murphy, the college president,

A-25

wrote a letter to plaintiff informing him

that having received from the appropriate

committee a negative recommendation on the

plaintiff's reappointment with tenure he

was not including plaintiff's name among

those recommended for tenure to the Board

of Higher Education (now the Board of

Trustees of the City University of New York).

The president's letter invited plaintiff to

submit to him an appeal of the decision by

October 31, 1975. In this appeal plaintiff

set forth his academic qualifications for

reappointment and charged that it was plain-

tiff's union activities which brought about

the negative recommendation. On November 24,

1975 plaintiff received a letter from

President Murphy denying the appeal. In

addition, on November 24, 1975 plaintiff

received a letter from the Provost of the

College, Nathaniel Siegel, noting the termi-

nation of plaintiff's employment at the

A-26

college as cf August 31, 1976.

Defendants assert that the decision of

the president, of which plaintiff was noti-

fied on November 24, 1975, was a final

decision and that the sole mechanism avail-

able for challenging the decision was the

grievance mechanism contained in the

collective bargaining agreement between the

Board of Higher Education and the Profes-

sional Staff Congress. On January 7, 1976

a grievance was filed on plaintiff's behalf

pursuant to Article 20 of the applicable

collective bargaining agreement challenging

the denial of his candidacy for reappointment

with tenure. On February 10, 1976, however,

the grievance was withdrawn.

On January 15, 1976 plaintiff commenced

an Article 78 proceeding in New York State

Supreme Court, claiming that the combined

length of his employment as a lecturer and a

professor at Queens College automatically

A-27

entitled him to reappointment with tenure.

Plaintiff raised no constitutional issues

in the state court action. The Article 78

petition was granted on September 28, 1977,

Pauk v. Board of Higher Education, Index No.

01316/76 (Sup. Ct. N.Y. Co., Sept. 28, 1977).

However, on June 6, 1978 the Appellate Divi-

sion reversed the prior decision, Pauk v.

Board of Higher Education, 62 App. Div. 2d

660, 406 N.Y.S.2d 46 (lst Dept. 1978), aff'd,

48 N.Y. 2d 930, 425 N.Y.S.2d 92 (1979).

On August 31, 1979, exactly three years

after the termination date of plaintiff's

employment contract and approximately three

years and nine months after plaintiff received

notice of termination, plaintiff filed the

complaint in this action seeking redress

under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 for alleged deprivation

of constitutional rights. Defendants claim

that the action is barred by the applicable

statute of limitations. The court agrees.

A-28

Discussion

Congress has not specified a statute of

[limitations] for § 1983 actions. In the

absence of a specific federal statute of

limitations, federal courts “borrow” the

most appropriate state statute of limitations.

Johnson v. Railway Express Agency, Inc., 421

U.S. 454, 95 S. Ct. 1716 (1975); Kaiser v.

Cahn, 510 F.2d 282 (2d Cir. 1974). Federal

courts sitting in New York have repeatedly

held that the New York statute of limitations

applicable to § 1983 actions is the three-

year statutue of limitations found in

N.Y.C.P.L.R. § 214(2) which applies to

actions “to recover upon a liability, penalty

or forfeiture created or imposed by statute."

Meyer v. Frank, 550 F.2d 726 (2d Cir.), cert.

denied, 434 U.S. 830, 98 S.Ct. 112 (1977);

Kaiser v. Cahn, supra; Ortiz v. LaVallee, 442

F.2d 912 (2d Cir. 1971); Swan v. Board of

Higher Education, 319 F.2d 56 (2d Cir. 1963);

A-29

Bomar v. Keyes, 162 F.2d 136 (2d Cir.), cert.

denied, 332 U.S. 825 (1947).

However, plaintiff argues that the

recent Supreme Court decision in Chapman v.

Houston Welfare Rights Organization, 441 U.S.

600, 99 S. Ct. 1905 (1979), requires that

C.P.L.R. § 214(2) now be held inapplicable

to § 1983 actions. In Chapman, the Supreme

Court found that § 1983 is not a statute

that secures “equal rights" or "civil rights"

within the meaning of the jurisdictional

statute, 28 U.S.C. § 1343, because § 1983

does not provide any substantive rights, but

provides only a remedy. Because § 1983 has

been found to grant no substantive rights, it

is argued, it does not create or impose a

liability for which C.P.L.R. § 214(a) [sic]

would provide the limitations period.

The question of the continued validity

in light of Chapman of the application of

C.P.L.R. § 214(2) to § 1983 actions has in

A-30

prescribed, N.Y.C.P.L.R. § 213(1), the

Second Circuit until recently had not been

confronted with a case requiring resolution

of the limitations question. See Leonhard

v. United States, No. 79-6218 (2d Cir.

August 28, 1980); Taylor v. Mayone, No. 79-

2078 (2d Cir. June 27, 1980); Cullen v.

Margiotta, 618 F.2d 226, 228 n.3 (2d Cir.

1980).

Most recently, however, in Singleton v.

New York City, No. 79-7628 (2d Cir. September

25, 1980) the Second Circuit was squarely

confronted with the issue of whether New

York's three-year or six-year statute of

limitations applied to § 1983 actions. In

Singleton, plaintiff filed his § 1983 action

seeking damages for false arrest and assault

more than three years after his cause of

action occurred, but less than six years

after accrual, making determination of the

applicable statute of limitations crucial to

A-31

recent months gained the attention of the

Second Circuit. In Quinn v. Syracuse Model

Neighborhood Corp., 613 F.2d 438, 449 n. 6

(2d Cir. 1980), the Second Circuit first

noted the possible inapplicability of C.P.L.R.

§ 214(2) to suits arising under § 1983, cit-

ing the New York Court of Appeals' decision

in State v. Cortelle Corp., 38 N.Y.2d 83,

85, 378 N.Y.S.2d 654, 655, 341 N.E.2d 223,

224 (1975) where Judge Breitel stated that

C.P.L.R. § 214 does not apply to "[s]tatutory

provisions which provide only additional

remedies or standing [but] do not create or

impose new obligations." While noting in

dictum in Quinn and in subsequent cases

citing Quinn the possible inapplicability of

N.Y.C.P.L.R. § 214(2) to § 1983 actions, and

suggesting, in the alternative, the possible

applicability of New York's six-year statute

of limitations which governs actions for

which no other specific limitation is

A-32

the existence of the action.

The Second Circuit found that N.Y.C.P.

L.R. § 213(1), the six-year statute of

limitations, was not applicable to Singleton's

§ 1983 action and that the three-year limi-

tation found in C.P.L.R. § 214(2) remained

fi

the applicable limitations period. The

court reasoned that § 213(1) was meant to

govern actions for equitable relief, not

actions for hn and has been so

interpreted by New York State courts. See

Hanover Fire Ins. Co. v. Morse Dry Dock &

Repair Co., 270 N.Y. 86, 200 N.E.589 (1936).

In deciding whether Singleton's § 1983 claim

"[f]it into the state scheme," Klein v. Bower,

421 F.2d 338, 344 (2d Cir. 1970), the court

found that since Singleton sought only

damages and no equitable relief § 213(1)

“must be eliminated as a statute that might

be applied." Singleton v. City of New York,

supra, No. 79-7628, slip op. at 5815. In

A-33

thus eliminating § 213(1), the “only other

relevant state statute of limitations," the

court found that § 214(2) still applied,

presumably because it remained the "more

appropriate" state statute of limitations

in spite of the Supreme Court's reinterpret-

ation of § 1983 in Chapman.

Since Singleton did not foreclose the

application of N.Y.C.P.L.R. § 213(1) to

§ 1983 actions where equitable relief is

sought, this court must make its own deter-

mination whether that section might be

applied in the case presently before us,

where both damages and equitable relief are

sought. We find that § 213(1) is not

applicable. In support of this finding

we look to the reasoning in prior cases in

the Second Circuit in which the court rejected

applicability to federal claims of particular

state statutes of limitations.

A-34

In Regan v. Sullivan, 557 F.2d 300 (2d

Cir. 1977), the Second Circuit rejected the

argument that N.Y.C.P.L.R. § 215(3) which

provides a one-year period for common law

intentional torts is applicable to a Bivens

claim brought directly under the Constitution.

The court reasoned that "a deprivation of a

constitutional right is significantly dif-

ferent from and more serious than a violation

of a state right and therefore deserved a

different remedy even though the same act

may constitute both a state tort and the

deprivation of a constitutional right."

Regan v. Sullivan, supra, 557 F.2d at 304

quoting Smith v. Cremins, 308 F.2d 187, 190

(9th Cir. 1962) quoting Monroe v. Pape, 365

U.S. 167, 196, 81 S. Ct. 473, 488 (1961)

(concurring opinion).

Similarly, in Quinn v. Syracuse Model

Neighborhood Corp., supra, the Second Circuit

A-35

rejected application to § 1983 actions of

New York's one-year 90-day statute, N.Y.

Gen.Municipal Law § 50-i, which governs

actions against municipalities, stating

"[t]o create different limitations periods

for two similarly situated classes of

defendants would create a distinction without

a difference, and would engender unnecessary

confusion for litigants and judges alike."

Quinn v. Syracuse Model Neighborhood Corp.,

supra, 613 F.2d at 449. The reasoning in

Quinn was adopted by the Second Circuit in

Taylor v. Mayone, supra, No. 79-2078 (2a Cir.

June 27, 1980), to find inapplicable to

§ 1983 actions New York's one-year limita-

tions period applicable to actions against

sheriffs and other local officers.

In light of the reasoning of the Second

Circuit in Regan and Quinn, this court finds

that application to § 1983 actions of state

A-36

statutes of limitations, the applicability

of which depends upon distinctions created

to advance state interests or to accommodate

the nature of actions arising under state

law should be rejected. In this instance,

application of a specific state statute of

limitations should not be made to depend

upon the plaintiff's choice between a legal

or equitable remedy. While such a distinc-

tion may accomplish a meaningful purpose in

the context of the various causes of action

arising under state law, if applied to § 1983

actions, such a distinction would create

confusion for both litigants and judges and

would hamper rather than advance the

important purpose of § 1983 to enforce more

perfectly federal limitations on state actions.

Thus, we find that C.P.L.R. § 213(1) must be

eliminated as a statute that might be applied

in this case. N.Y.C.P.L.R. 214(2) remains

A-37

the most appropriate statute of limitations.

Even were this court to find that

C.P.L.R. 213(1) might be applicable to

§ 1983 actions in which equitable relief is

sought, we would find that C.P.L.R. 214(2),

governing actions to recover upon a liabi-

lity created or imposed by statute would

still be the statute of limitations "most

appropriate" for application to § 1983

actions notwithstanding the Supreme Court's

statement in Chapman that § 1983 creates

only a remedy and no substantive rights.

In inquiring as we must where an action

arising under a statute such as § 1983 would

fit into the state scheme, Klein v. Bower,

supra, 421 F.2d at 334, we are instructed by

the New York courts that when a cause of

action arises under a statute which creates

only standing or a remedy and no substantive

rights, a determination of which statute of

limitations is applicable is to be made by

A-38

reference to the source of the right or

liability. See State v. Cortelle Corp.,

supra; Potter v. Walker, 276 N.Y. 15, 11

N.E. 335 (1937); Binelander v. Town of Islip,

199 N.Y.S.2d 561, 10 A.D. 2d 170 (2d Dept.

1960). The rights for which § 1983 provides

a remedy for their deprivation derive from

only two sources: the Constitution and

federal laws.

An action arising under a federal

statute clearly falls within the definition

of C.P.L.R. 214(2) as an action to recover

upon a liability created by statute. As to

whether the Constitution may be regarded as

a statute, there is no doubt that the

Constitution itself creates rights and

liabilities. Turpin v. Maillet, 579 F.2d

152 (2d Cir.), vacated and remanded, 439 U.S.

988, 99 S. Ct. 586 (1978), on remand, 591 F.

2d 426 (2d Cir. 1979); Bivens v. Six Unknown

A-39

Named Agents of Federal Bureau of Narcotics

403 U.S. 388, 91 S. Ct, 1999 (1971). For

the proposition that we may view the

Constitution as a "mere statute" for the

purpose of C.P.L.R. § 214(2), see Clark v.

Water Comrs. 148 N.Y. 1, 42 N.E. 414 (1892),

we find support in the Second Circuit's

opinion in Regan v. Sullivan, supra. In

that case, despite a warning from the

district court that an action founded upon

the Constitution is not "except in the most

expansive sense" created by statute, Regan v.

Sullivan, 417 F. Supp. 399, 403 (E.D.N.Y.

1976), the Second Circuit found that the

three-year limits of C.P.L.R. § 214(2) or

the six-year limits of C.P.L.R. § 213(1)—

applied to suits against federal officers

brought directly under the sncttiieiin™

In holding that New York's three-year

A-40

statute of limitations applies in this case,

the question of when plaintiff's cause of

action accrued becomes determinative.

Plaintiff argues that the cause of action

for wrongful discharge from employment ac-

crued not on November 24, 1975, when he was

notified of discharge, but on August 3l,

1976, the date of actual termination of his

contract term, making timely this action

which was filed on August 3l, 1979, exactly

three years later.

While the appropriate statute of

limitations for federal actions is borrowed

from state law, the federal rule fixes the

time of accrual of a right of action.

Kaiser v. Cahn, supra, 510 F.2d at 285.

Under the federal rule a cause of action

accrues when the plaintiff knows or has

reason to know of the injury which is the

basis of the action. Young v. Clinchfield

A-41

Railroad Company, 288 F.2d 499, 503 (4th

Cir. 1961). Plaintiff in this case became

aware of the injury caused to him by alleged

unfairness in the evaluation of his appli-

cation for tenure and his action accrued

when he received final notice of termination

of employment on November 24, 1975. Accord,

Brogan v. Wiggins School District, 588 F.2d

409 (10th Cir. 1978); Bir2line v. Segondollar,

567 F.2d 260 (4th Cir. 1977). Plaintiff

misplaces reliance on cases holding that a

claim of employment discrimination under

Title VII accrues upon actual discharge from

employment, Ricks v. Delaware State College,

609 F.2d 710 (3rd Cir. 1979); Bonhow v.

Dresser Industries, Inc., 569 F.2d 187 (3rd

Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 821, 99

S. Ct. 87 (1978). These cases involved the

180-day time limit within which a plaintiff

must file an administrative claim with the

A-42

appropriate agency. In these cases the

court reasoned that if this time limit were

calculated not from discharge, but from

notice, in most cases the claim would have

to be filed before expiration of the term

of employment in order to survive the

statute of 'timitations. The conciliatory

policy underlying Title VII legislation is

not advanced by forcing commencement of

legal proceedings before actual discharge.

See Johnson v. Railway Express Agency, Inc.,

supra, 421 U.S. at 470-73, 95 S. Ct. at

1725-26.

Plaintiff's final argument is that the

statute of limitations in the § 1983 action

was tolled during the pendency if the

proceeding commenced by plaintiff in New York

State Court under N.Y.C.P.L.R. Article 78.

In the recent case, Board of Regents of the

University of the State of New York v. Tomanio,

A-43

U.S. , 100 S. Ct. 1790 (1980),

the Supreme Court addressed this precise

issue. The Court held applicable New York's

tolling rule which does not permit tolling

during the period in which a litigant pur-

sues a related but independent cause of

action. On the basis of the Supreme Court's

decision, we find that the statute of

limitations was not tolled in this case and,

therefore, the action is barred by the three-

year statute of limitations.

Defendants’ motion to dismiss the

complaint is granted and it is

SO ORDERED.

The Clerk of the Court is directed to

enter judgment in favor of the defendants

and against the plaintiff dismissing the

complaint.

/s/ Jacob Mishler

U. Ss. D. J.

A-44

APPENDIX C

Order of the Court of Appeals for the

Second Circuit Denying Petition For

Rehearing In Banc

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

SECOND CIRCUIT

At a stated term of the United States

Court of Appeals, in and for the Second

Circuit, held at the United States Court

House, in the City of New York, on the

lith day of September, one thousand nine

hundred and eighty-one.

80-9018

a— eee er er er er er Or err er er eer er er nr errr a eae area ere ae eee p 4

EDGAR PAUK,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

-y=

THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE CITY

UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK, et al.,

Defendants~-Appellees.

— ee Her er KH eK Ke KH Kr Kr Ke Kr ere Her rer er ee ee Ke eer ee er ree ee eer ree x

(Filed September 11, 1981, A. Daniel Fusaro,

Clerk)

A petition for rehearing containing a

suggestion that the action be reheard in banc

having been filed herein by counsel for the

plaintiff-appellant, Edgar Pauk,

A-45

Upon consideration by the panel that

heard the appeal, it is

ORDERED that said petition for rehearing

be DENIED.

It is further noted that the suggestion

for rehearing in banc has been transmitted

to the judges of the court in regular active

service and to any other judge on the panel

that heard the appeal and that no such judge

has requested that a vote be taken thereon.

/s/

A. Daniel FuSaro

Clerk

by /s/

Francis X. Gindhart

Chief Deputy Clerk

A-46

APPENDIX D: Relevant Constitutional

and Statutory Provisions

AMENDMENT XIV.-CITIZENSHIP; PRIVILEGES AND

IMMUNITIES; DUE PROCESS; EQUAL PROTEC-

TION; APPORTIONMENT OF REPRESENTATION;

DISQUALIFICATION OF OFFICERS; PUBLIC

DEBT; ENFORCEMENT

Section 1. All persons born or natura-

lized in the United States, and subject to

the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of

the United States and of the State wherein

they reside. No State shall make or

enforce any law which shall abridge the

privileges or immunities of citizens of

the United States; nor shall any State

deprive any person of life, liberty, or

property, without due process of law; nor

deny to any person within its jurisdiction

the equal protection of the laws.

§ 1983. Civil action for deprivation

of rights

Every person who, under color of any

A-47

statute, ordinance, regulation, custom, or

usage, of any State or Territory, subjects,

or causes to be subjected, any citizen of

the United States or other person within

the jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation

of any rights, privileges, or immunities

secured by the Constitution and laws, shall

be liable to the party injured in an action

at law, suit in equity, or other proper

proceeding for redress.

§ 213. Actions to be commenced within

six years: where not other-

wise provided for; on contract;

on sealed instrument; on bond

or note, and mortgage upon real

property; by state based on

misappropriation of public

property; based on mistake;

to establish a will; by

corporation against director,

officer or stockholder; based

on fraud

The following actions must be com-

menced within six years:

A-498

l. an action for which no limitation

is specifically prescribed by law;

2. an action upon a contractual

obligation or liability express or implied,

except as provided in article 2 of the

uniform commercial code;

§ 214. Actions to be commenced within

three years: for non-payment

of money collected on execution:

for penalty created by statute;

to recover chattel; for injury

to property; for personal injury;

for malpractice; to annul a

marriage on the ground of fraud

The following actions must be com-

menced within three years:

Re *ee

2. an action to recover upon a

liability, penalty or forfeiture created

or imposed by statute except as provided

in sections 213 and 215;

A-49

uoiyisodd¢

Office - ste Court, U.S.

FILED

aE =? tL. STEVAs,

IN THE :

SUPREME COURT O° THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1981

EDGAR PAUK,

Petitioner,

-against-

THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE CITY

UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK, et al.,

Respondents.

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

TO A PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

FREDERICK A. O. SCHWARZ, Jr.

Corporation Counsel of the

City of New York,

Attorney for the Respondents,

100 Church Street

New York, New York 10007

(212) 566-4338 or 4339

LEONARD KOERNER,

EDWARD F. X. HART,

of Counsel.

No. 81-1091

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1981

EDGAR PAUK,

Petitioner,

-against-

THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE CITY

UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK, et al.,

Respondents.

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

TO A PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether a lack of uniformity in the

statutes of limitations applied by federal

courts in civil rights actions is a necessary

and acceptable result of the decisions of

this Court?

2. Whether the instant case is inap-

propriate for review by this Court since

petitioner's action is barred und2r any

state limitations period arguably applic-

able to this action?

3. Whether the Court of Appeals was

correct in applying the three year statute

of limitations provided in CPLR 214(2)?

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED cccccccececeseece i

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .cceeecsceeecees V

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ccccecceccecees l

REASONS FOR DENYING A

WRIT OF CERTIORARI ccccccccccccceccce 2

POINT I

THIS COURT HAS DIRECTED FEDERAL

COURTS TO APPLY THE MOST ANALOGOUS

STATE STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS TO

FEDERAL CIVIL RIGHTS ACTIONS PUR-

SUANT TO 42 U.S.C. §1983, STATING

THAT UNIFORMITY IS NOT A CONSIDERA-

TION IN THIS AREA coccccccececceeeoees 2

POINT II

THE INSTANT CASE IS INAPPROPRIATE

FOR REVIEW OF THE QUESTION OF WHAT

IS THE ANALOGOUS STATE STATUTE OF

LIMITATIONS APPLICABLE IN A §1983

ACTION, SINCE PETITIONER IS BARRED

PURSUANT TO ANY STATE LIMITATIONS

PERIOD APPLICABLE TO ANY REASON-

ABLE CHARACTERIZATION OF THIS AC-

TION ccoccccccececeseseeeesesececesese 6

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

POINT III

THE COURT OF APPEALS WAS CORRECT

IN APPLYING THE THREE YEAR STATUTE

OF LIMITATIONS PERIOD PURSUANT TO

CPLR 214( 2) ccccccccccccccccccccceces

CONCLUSION .cccccccccccccccececcecces

iv

13

18

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Blessington Vv. mecrory Stores

Corp oe N.Y. ( ’

NE 2a rr TT TrTrTrTirTrirtTt

Board of Regents v. Tomanio,

6 U.S. ( Sebecccccceceeeceses

Chapman v. Houston Welfare

Ri es Org., 441 U.S. 600.

(1375)

eeeeee eee eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaneeeee

Chardon v. Fernandez, U.S.

ae Be Cee 28 eR

Clark v. Water Commissioners,

Tae N.Y. I (1895), 42 N.E.

BLE cccccccceeceeeeeeeeseecccoeceese

Johnson v. Railway Express

Agency, 421 U.S. ( )eccceccece

Klimczak v. Connrex Corp.,

49 AD 2d 1031 (4th Dept., 1975),

374 N.Y.S. 2d BE cccccecesecceeeeese

McMillian v. City of Rockmart,

653 F. 2d 907 ( t ir. APCL) coccce

People v. Duggan, 30 AD 2d 736

(3rd Dept., ), 291 N.Y.S. 2d

BES ceeeeeeseceseeseeseceseoeeeesecees

Page

10,

3,

15

16,

15

14

ll

17

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Pauk v. Board of Trustees, 654

F. 2d 856 (2d Cir. Dt -eceesouese

Pitt v. City of New York,

(Sup. Ct., N.Y. Co.), New York

Law Journal, November 18, 1981,

Pp. 4, col. PPT TTTTTrrrr+rrerrs+tttTteTe

Robertson v. Wegmann, 436 U.S.

( Peccceceececeeeeeeeeeeeees

Russell v. Todd, 309 U.S. 280

( eeeeseieeeeeeeeeneeneeeeeeeeneeeeee

Schmidt v. Merchants Despatch

Trans. Co., 270 N.Y. 287 (1936),

200 N.E. Sit 1 oils emi ie

Singleton v. City of New York,

ve 185 ( ir. e*eeneeee#e:

Staffen v. City of Rochester,

80 AD 2d 16 (4th Dept., 1981),

437 N.Y.S. 2d a werrrTrTTTTTrTrTyT

State v. Cortelle Corp., 38 NY

2d 83 (1975), 34 CWE sd nen

Swan v. Board of Higher Education,

319 F. 24 56 (2d Cir. 1963) ....eees

Trippe v. Port of N.Y. Auth.,

14 NY 2a 119 (1964), 198 NE 2d

-} LSP PEP PRELELECEEELELILELELTLTree

vi

10

15

10

ll

13,

16

10

ll

15,

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Union Bank of Switzerland v.

HD Equities, Inc., 423 F. Supp.

( «DN.Y. 6) ccvcccccccececce

United Auto Workers v. Hoosier

Corp., 383 U.S. 096 (1966) ceceeeees

Williams v. Walsh, 558 F. 2d

667 (2d Car eo Tee énetbenounesdecoée

Statutes:

Federal

28 U.S.C. §1343 ccccccccccces

42 U.S.C. §19OBl iw cccccccccees

42 U.S.C. §19OBZ wc ccesecccees

42 U.S.C. $1986 .cccsecccceces

42 U.S.C. B2000 cccccccccoses

New York State

New York Civil Practice

Law and Rules §213(1) .cceees

vii

10

14

6

1, 2,

10, ll,

13, 14,

17

-

6

8, 9,

10, ll

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

New York Civil Practice

Law and Rules §213(2) «eee.

New York Civil Practice

Law and Rules §214(2) ...ee--.

viii

Page

8, 9

ll, 12,

13, 14,

15, 16,

17

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The petitioner seeks to have this Court

review by writ of certiorari an order of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Second

Circuit, entered on July 22, 1981, which af-

firmed the dismissal of his complaint. Peti-

tioner filed a timely motion for rehearing

in banc, which was denied in an order dated

September 11, 1981. Petitioner instituted

this action pursuant to 42 U.S.C. §1983,

alleging deprivation under color of state

law of rights secured to him by the Consti-

tution of the United States in that he was

denied tenure as a college professor because

of the exercise of his First Amendment right

of freedom of speech by engaging in union

activity. On October 14, 1980, the United

States District Court for the Eastern Dis-

trict of New York dismissed petitioner's

action as untimely because it was instituted

more than three years from the time of its

accrual. The United States Court of Appeals

affirmed with an opinion (Pauk v. Board of

Trustees, 654 F. 2d 856 (2d Cir. 1981).

Respondents rely on the facts presented in

the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari and in

the opinion of the Court of Appeals (Petition

for a Writ of Certioari, Appendix A).

REASONS FOR DENYING A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

POINT I

THIS COURT HAS DIRECTED FEDERAL

COURTS TO APPLY THE MOST ANALOGOUS

STATE STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS TO

FEDERAL CIVIL RIGHTS ACTIONS PUR-

SUANT TO 42 U.S.C. §1983, STATING

THAT UNIFORMITY IS NOT A CONSIDERA-

TION IN THIS AREA.

Petitioner argues that a writ of cer-

tiorari should be granted since "[t]his

case presents the Court with an opportunity

to settle the confusion, uncertainty and

2

lack of uniformity which exists with re-

spect to the appropriate statute of limi-

tations in civil rights cases under 42

U.S.C. 1983." (Petition for a Writ of

Certiorari, p. 5). We submit that this

Court, in its numerous decisions directing

federal courts to apply the most approp-

riate state statute of limitations to civil

rights actions in federal court, has defini-

tively settled the question of the necessity

for uniformity in this area in favor of non-

uniformity. See, Board of Regents v. Tomanio,

446 U.S. 478 (1980); Robertson v. Wegmann,

436 U.S. 584 (1978); Johnson v. Railway Ex-

press Agency, 421 U.S. 454 (1975). “The need

for uniformity, while paramount under some

federal statutory schemes, has not been held

to warrant the displacement of state statutes

of limitations for civil rights actions."

Board of Regents v. Tomanio, supra, 446 U.S.

3

at 482. In Robertson v. Wegmann, supra, 436

U.S. at 594, this Court held that

“whatever the value of nationwide

uniformity in areas of civil rights

enforcement where Congress has not

spoken, in the area to which §1988

is applicable Congress has provided

direction, indicating that state

law will often provide the content

of the federal remedial rule. This

statutory reliance on state law ob-

viously means that there will not

be uniformity on those issues."

In Johnson v. Railway Express Agency,

supra, 421 U.S. at 464, this Court stated

that there is nothing

"peculiar to a federal civil rights

action that would justify special

reluctance in applying state law.

Indeed, the express terms of 4?

U.S.C. §1988 suggest the contrary

is true."

Furthermore, in United Auto Workers v.

Hoosier Corp., 383 U.S. 696, 706 (1966),

this Court, while recognizing that the char-

acterization of an action for the purpose of

selecting the appropriate statute of limita-

tions provision is ultimately a question of

federal law, directed federal courts to look

to characterizations provided by state law

unless that characterization is unreason-

able or inconsistent with national policies.

The principles espoused by this Court in the

cases discussed above necessarily result in

a variety of limitations periods being ap-

plied to civil rights actions even when a

federal court applies the limitations periods

of a single state, since a state may charac-

terize a civil rights action differently de-

pending upon the facts under which it arises.

As we will demonstrate below, the Court

of Appeals properly applied the three year

statute of limitations, as set forth in the

applicable New York State law, to the facts

in the instant case.

POINT II

THE INSTANT CASE IS INAPPROPRIATE

FOR REVIEW ON THE QUESTION OF WHAT

IS THE ANALOGOUS STATE STATUTE OF

LIMITATIONS APPLICABLE IN i §1983

ACTION, SINCE PETITIONER IS BARRED

PURSUANT TO ANY STATE LIMITATIONS

PERIOD APPLICABLE TO ANY REASON-

ABLE CHARACTERIZATION OF THIS AC-

TION.

(1)

The Court of Appeals was correct in

holding that petitioner's cause of action

accrued on November 24, 1975, the date on

which he knew of his alleged injury, the

improper denial of tenure. In Delaware

State College v. Ricks, 449 U.S. 250 (1980),

a case with facts identical for accrual pur-

poses to those in the instant case, this

Court held that the date of accrual of a

claim, alleging that the plaintiff was

denied tenure because of his national ori-

gin in violation of 42 U.S.C. §1981 and

42 U.S.C. §2000e, was the date on which

6

the plaintiff had received notice of the

negative tenure decision and not the date

of his actual termination. See also,

Chardon v. Fernandez, U.S. » 102

S. Ct. 28 (1981).

Although petitioner here argued that

his denial of tenure was not final because

the Board of Trustees had not specifically

acted to deny him tenure, the Court of

Appeals correctly decided that New York law

did not require that the Board of Trustees

seviev negative recommendations of tenure,

absent petitioner's resort to procedures

required in the collective bargaining agree-

ment governing the employment relationship.

See, Pauk v. Board of Trustees, supra, 654

F. 2d at 860 (Appendix to Petition, p. A-7).

Thus, the decision to deny petitioner tenure

was final for accrual purposes when he was

informed by letter dated November 24, 1975,

7

that, upon consideration of his appeal,

tenure was denied.

(2)

Since petitioner's action was instituted

on August 31, 1979, more than three years and

nine months after its accrual date, his ac-

tion must be governed by an analogous state

statute of limitations of more than that

period in order for his action to be timely.

However, as the Court of Appeals correctly

decided, the two limitations periods which

petitioner proposes, i.e., the six year per-

iod for contract (213[2]) and the six year

period for actions for which no statute of

limitations is provided (CPLR 213[1]), are

not applicable under the facts of the in-

‘stant case.

Petitioner argues that, had he brought

his action in state court, it would have been

characterized as contractual and would have

been controlled by the six year period gov-

erning contract actions (CPLR 213[2]). How-

ever, under New York law, when a contract

simply incorporates pre-existing obligations,

independent of the contract and imposed by

the laws of the jurisdiction, the applicable

limitations period is not that applied to

contracts, but rather the period appropriate

to the nature of the underlying cause of

action. Union Bank of Switzerland v. HD

Equities, Inc., 423 F. Supp. 927 (S.D.N.Y.

1976); Blessington v. McCrory Stores Corp.,

305 N.Y. 140, 146-147 (1953), 11 NE 2d 421,

422-423. It is clear, then, that petitioner's

contention that the six year period pursuant

to CPLR 213(2) ought to be applied is totally

without merit.

In the alternative, petitioner argues

that CPLR 213(1), providing for a six year

limitations period for actions "for which

9

no limitation is specifically prescribed by

law," ought to be applied.* In support of his

contention, petitioner cites only one case,

Clark v. Water Commissioners, 148 N.Y. 1

(1895), 42 N.E. 414, a case sui generis on

its facts and completely inapplicable to

actions for violations of civil rights se-

¥*¥Section 213(1) is commonly known as the

residual statute of limitations and is

normally applicable in cases where only

equitable relief is sought. See, Singleton

v. City of New York, 632 F. 2d 185 (2a

Cir. ). In the instant case, peti-

tioner seeks both legal and equitable re-

lief, i.e., reinstatement and damages

totalling $550,000. The Second Circuit

has held that when “a suit in aid of a

federally-created right is brought seeking

both legal and equitable relief, ‘equity

will withhold its remedy if the legal

right is barred by the local statute of

limitations.’ Russell v. Todd, 309 U.S.

280, 289 (1940)." Williams v. Walsh,

558 F. 2d 667 (2d Cir. 1977). Even when

only the equitable remedy of reinstate-

ment is sought, by the mere fact that the

plaintiff could have sought damages under

section 1983, he is not asserting "a fed-

eral right for which the sole remedy is in

equity." Swan v. Board of Higher Education,

319 F. 2d 56, 59- nN. ( re .

10

cured by the Constitution and laws of the

United States.* First, Clark concerns a

provision of the New York State Constitu-

tion, not the Federal Constitution and laws

enacted by Congress for the protection of

civil rights. Second, New York courts have

never applied the reasoning of Clark nor

the residual statute of limitations pro-

vided by CPLR 213(1) to civil rights ac-

tions pursuant to 42 U.S.C. §1983. See,

Staffen v. City of Rochester, 80 AD 2d 16

*Clark v. Water Commissioners, supra, 148

N.Y. 1, 42 N.E. 414, applied the predecessor

of CPLR 213(1) to a cause of action arising

under a statute providing for the obtaining

of compensation in the context of condemna-

tion proceedings because the statute did

not provide a statute of limitations. The

residual limitations period was not applied

because the underlying liability was grounded

in the state constitution provision. See,

Trippe v. Port of N.Y. Auth., 14 NY 2d 119

TISety, 198 NE 2d 585, applying a one year

limitations period to an action based on the

same constitutional provision as in Clark

because the statute providing the remedy so

directed.

ll

(4th Dept., 1981), 437 N.Y.S. 2d 821; Pitt v.

City of New York, (Sup. Ct., N.Y. Co.), New

York Law Journal, November 18, 1981, p. 4,

col. 4.

Since there is no reasonable basis for

applying a limitations period longer than

the three year period of CPLR 214(2), peti-

tioner's complaint was correctly dismissed.

The only question remaining for review by

this Court is whether the three year limi-

tations period of section 214(2) or a lesser

period is the most appropriate New York

statute of limitations to be applied. Any

of these limitations periods would require

dismissal of the complaint. Since this is

purely a question of state statutory con-

struction, it should be reviewed by this

Court only in a case where it would bear

upon the outcome.

12

POINT III

THE COURT OF APPEALS WAS CORRECT

IN APPLYING THE THREE YEAR STATUTE

OF LIMITATIONS PERIOD PURSUANT TO

CPLR 214(2).

CPLR 214(2) provides a three year

statute of limitations for "an action to re-

cover upon a liability, penalty or forfeiture

created or imposed by statute." Petitioner

argues that, in light of Chapman v. Houston

Welfare Rights Org., 441 U.S. 600 (1979),

holding that section 1983 does not secure

any rights, but merely provides a remedy,

and State v. Cortelle, 38 NY 2d 83 (1975),

341 NE 2d 223, holding that section 214(2)

is inapplicable to statutes which merely

provide additional remedies or standing for

pre-existing wrongs, section 214(2) cannot.

be applied to section 1983 actions because

section 1983 does not create or impose

13

a liability.*

We submit that the Corrt of Appeals was

correct in its application of section 214(2)

to this action since section 1983, though it

creates no rights, does create or impose a

liability upon anyone acting under color of

state law who violates rights, privileges,

or immunities secured by the Constitution

or laws of the United States. Without sec-

tion 1983, although petitioner would have

a right, no legal liability or obligation

would exist restraining a potential defen-

dant from violating that right. "If a claim

would not exist but for a statute, the claim

*®Chapman does not deal with the question

of shat statute of limitations applies in

a section 1983 action, but rather of

whether section 1983 can be considered

a statute securing civil rights for the

purpose of supporting jurisdiction pursu-

ant to 28 U.S.C. §1343(4). This Court

held that it did not secure any rights,

but merely provided a remedy.

14

is upon ‘a liability * * * created or im-

posed by statute’, and carries a three year

statute of limitations (CPLR 214, subd. 2)."

Klimcezak v. Connrex Corp., 49 AD 2d 1031,

1032 (4th Dept., 1975); 374 N.Y¥.S. 2d 84.

See also, Schmidt v. Merchants Despatch

Trans. Co., 270 N.Y. 287 (1936); 200 N.E.

324; People v. Duggan, 30 AD 2d 736 (3rd

Dept., 1968), 291 N.Y¥.S. 2d 582.

State v. Cortelle Corp., supra, 38

NY 2d 83, 341 NE 2d 223, holding section

214(2) inapplicable to statutes which merely

provide additional remedies or standing for

recognized pre-existing wrongs, is not to the

contrary. In Cortelle, the statutes, to which

the Court refused to apply section 214(2),

granted the Attorney General standing to sue

in certain cases where fraudulent practices

are alleged and provided additional remedies.

15

The Court held that the statutes

"create no new claims but only

provide particular remedies and

standing in a public officer to

seek redress on behalf of the

State and others. Moreover,

the kind of wrong the Attorney

General seeks to redress is not

a new one to the decisional law

but a now rather old and common

type of fraud.” State v. Cortelle,

supra, 38 NY 2d at 66, 341 NE

3, 225.

In the instant case, CPLR 214(2) ap-

plies because, prior to the enactment of

section 1983, there was no re dy for the

violation of the rights protected by the

statute nor was there a pre-existing legal

wrong.

Petitioner also argues that a conflict

exists between the Fifth Circuit's holding in

McMillian v. City of Rockmart, 653 F. 2d 907

(5th Cir. 1981), and the Second Circuit's

holding in the instant case. However, these

holdings do not, in fact, present any con-

16

flict since they are construing statutes ©

limitations completely distinguishable on

their face. In McMillian, the Court, in li

of Chapman v. Houston Welfare Rights Org.,

supra, 441 U.S. 600, which held that secti

1983 secured no rights, refused to apply a

Georgia statute of limitations applicable

to all suits for the enforcement of rights

accruing to individuals under statutes.

McMillian v. City of Rockmart, supra, 653

24 at 910. However, section 214(2), by it:

express wording, is applicable to causes <

action to recover upon liabilities create

imposed by statute. Since the McMillian s

ute applies to rights accruing under stat

and no rights accrue under section 1983,

appears the Court was correct in not appl

that period. This holding is entirely con

tent with that of the instant case, in wh

the statute applies to liabilities.

17

CONCLUSION

THE PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

SHOULD BE DENIED.

February ll, 1982.

Respectfully submitted,

FREDERICK A. O. SCHWARZ, JR.

Corporation Counsel of the

City of New York,

Attorney for the Respondents.

LEONARD KOERNER,

EDWARD F. X. HART,

of Counsel.

18

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.