Record and brief — Grieg v. United States

Supreme Court brief1982

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

used

81-685 r

No. 81-

—

IN THE

— —

OCTOBER TERM, 1981

JOHN M. GRIEG,

Petitioner,

V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF CLAIMS

Of Counsel:

SHEA & GARDNER

1800 Massachusetts Ave., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

October 10, 1981

I. MICHAEL GREENBERGER *

MICHAEL S. GIANNOTTO

SHEA & GARDNER

1800 Massachusetts Ave., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 828-2000

NEIL B. KABATCHNICK

Suite 860

1800 M Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 872-1051

Attorneys for Petitioner

* Counsel of Record

WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co.. lc.

- 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Pursuant to 10 U.S.C. § 1552, each civilian Secretary

of a military department, acting through correction

boards, is charged with correcting military records which

are in “error” or which constitute an “injustice.” Often,

as in this case, an adverse correction board decision

pertaining to a military record has the effect of sustain-

ing an individual’s mandatory, involuntary termination

from the armed services. By regulation, the correction

boards provide no right to an oral hearing, compulsory

process, or cross examination. On review in the Court

of Claims, a de novo trial is afforded.

The questions presented for review are as follows:

Whether it is a violation of the Administrative Pro-

cedure Act, 10 U.S.C. § 1552, the Due Process Clause of

the Fifth Amendment, or the federal common law per-

taining to judicial review for the Court of Claims to up-

hold such civilian correction board decisions

(a) by considering only the evidence adduced at the

de novo trial which supports the correction

board’s factual determinations and by refusing

to give any consideration or weight to either a

plaintiff’s de novo showing or the trial judge’s

findings to the contrary;

(b) by barring the fresh determination of facts by

its trial judges when they review, at the trial de

novo, the correction board factual determinations

and by requiring those judges to find, absent a

confession of error by the government, that the

military record in dispute, in and of itself, con-

stitutes sufficient evidence to support the board

determination as to that record’s accuracy; and

(e) by abridging the right to a trial de novo by fail-

ing to give any consideration or weight either

to the evidentiary showings made by a plaintiff

at such a proceeding or to the trial judge’s

findings.

(i)

ii

PARTIES BELOW

The only parties to this proceeding in the court below

are those indicated by the caption of this petition.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

. ————————

—— — ——ů ů ů ——

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS EVS

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

1.

2.

3.

Introduction — — 8

Petitioner’s Army Record

Events Pertaining to Petitioner’s Involuntary

e SI | TE oN eC ee

a. Notice of the third Vietnam assignment....

b. Completion of arctic tests

e scesestinistemnenmeneniinnies

6.

7.

Administrative Proceedings .....................-..........-

a. Before the Special Review Board

b. Before the Correction Board ..........................

Trial Division Proceedingngs s

Court of Claims Decision

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT . q

A. THE COURT OF CLAIMS’ DECISION BELOW

IS IMPORTANT, WILL HAVE BROAD IM-

PACT, AND CONFLICTS WITH CIRCUIT

. Tb

B. THE COURT OF CLAIMS’ USE OF A SUB-

STANTIAL EVIDENCE TEST TO REVIEW

FACTS FOUND DE NOVO AFTER TRIAL

CONFLICTS DIRECTLY WITH DECISIONS

„ rr

(iii)

13

14

14

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Page

2. De Novo Scope of Review ......................--.----- 16

3. Substantial Evidence Test Applied to De

. 17

C. THE COURT OF CLAIMS’ REFUSAL TO EX-

AMINE CORRECTION BOARD DECISIONS

ON THE BASIS OF THE “WHOLE RECORD”

CONFLICTS WITH THE APA AND DECI-

SIONS OF THIS COURT ............ 19

D. THE RESTRICTIVE SCOPE OF REVIEW

APPLIED BELOW CONFLICTS WITH THE

REMEDIAL INTENT OF CONGRESS IN

ESTABLISHING CIVILIAN CORRECTION

———— — 24

E. THE RESTRICTIVE SCOPE OF REVIEW

APPLIED BY THE COURT BELOW NE-

GATED PETITIONER’S DUE PROCESS

RIGHT TO AN ORAL HEARING AND TG

CONFRONT ADVERSE WITNESSES .......... 25

ET — — 27

*

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

Alexander v. Gardner-Denver Co., 415 U.S. 36

% AAA 16

Arnett v. Kennedy, 416 U.S. 134 (1974) ................. 25

Beckham v. United States, 375 F.2d 782 (Ct. Cl.

—2— d — aaa ae 16, 17

Blevins v. Plummer, 613 F.2d 767 (9th Cir. 1980).. 27

— . 4. 15, 17

Brown v. United States, 396 F.2d 989 (Ct. Cl.

— 15. 16, 17, 18, 23

Buchanan v. United States, 621 F.2d 373 (Ct. Cl.

I — —— tials 18. 26

Camp v. Pitts, 411 U.S. 138 (1973 —— 16, 18

Chandler v. Roudebush, 425 U.S. 840 (1976) ........ 16

Citizens to Preserve Overton Park, Inc. v. Volpe,

I. ttsttcnncnineesintanentiiioniniaininn 16, 18

Colm v. Vance, 567 F.2d 1125 (D.C. Cir. 1977) 27

Diliberti v. Brown, 583 F.2d 950 (7th Cir. 1978). 27

Duhon v. United States, 461 F.2d 1278 (Ct. Cl.

OUD ceeenessesenessmineetmemnnnnannpainmnenmsemninns 24

Ingraham v. Wright, 430 U.S. 651 (1977) ............ 26

Knehans v. Alexander, 566 F.2d 312 (D.C. Cir.

1977), cert. denied, 435 U.S. 995 (1978) ......... 27

Lane V. Secretary of Army, 504 F. Supp. 39 (D.

Md.), aff'd mem., 639 F.2d 780 (4th Cir. 1980) 27

McGahey v. United States, 213 Ct. Cl. 717 (1977).. 15

Montilla v. United States, 457 F.2d 978 (Ct. Cl.

% —A A 15-16

Morrissey v. Brewer, 408 U.S. 471 (1972) 26

Neal v. Secretary of Navy, 639 F.2d 1029 (3d Cir.

11*» ̃ ʃ—27'——— 18. 26

NLRB v. Robbins Tire & Rubber Co., 161 F.2d

e ceceneresccsneseseresstteninieddidteitinien 23

Nolen v. Rumsfeld, 535 F. 2d 888 (5th Cir. 1976),

cert. denied, 429 U.S. 1104 (1977777 19

Nolen v. Schlesinger, 492 F.2d 787 (5th Cir.

1%%%ͥͤ»’é ũ ‚‚ ] Au!I ˙ 19

Ogden v. Zuckert, 298 F.2d 312 (D.C. Cir. 1961). 4,14

Oleson v. United States, 172 Ct. Cl. 9 (1965) 4,24

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Pauls v. Secretary of Air Force, 457 F.2d 294 (Ist

Z 27

Ragoni v. United States, 424 F.2d 261 (3d Cir.

e — 18

Renegotiation Board v. Bannercraft Clothing Co.,

. ee 16, 17

Riley v. United States, 608 F.2d 441 (Ct. Cl.

eee 22

Roelofs v. Secretary of Air Force, 628 F.2d 594

Z 18

Rolles v. Civil Service Commission, 512 F.2d 1319

, EL ev 25, 26-27

Sanders v. United States, 594 F.2d 804 (Ct. Cl.

SAE a passim

Sanford v. United States, 399 F.2d 693 (9th Cir.

11 —— —ͤ— 18-19

SEC v. Chenery Corp., 332 U.S. 194 (19477 23

Skinner v. United States, 594 F.2d 824 (Ct. Cl.

I ETS EE a Poe 22, 24

Suro v. Padilla, 441 F. Supp. 14 (D.P.R. 1976).. 27

United States v. First City National Bank, 386

r 16

Universal Camera Corp. v. NLRB, 340 U.S. 474

ES ce 20, 22

Vitek v. Jones, 445 U.S. 480 (1980) 26

Weahkee v. Perry, 587 F.2d 1256 (D.C. Cir. 1978).. 16, 17

Wolff v. McDonnell, 418 U.S. 539 (197) 26

Woodby v. Immigration & Naturalization Service,

EE ESTES SITE 16

Statutes, Rules and Regulations:

Administrative Procedure Act, § 706, 5 U.S. C. 8 706

. 2, 18, 19

Defense Officer Personnel Management Act, as

amended

§ 105, 10 U.S.C.A. §§ 631, 632, 637 (West

D 9, 26

§ 204, 94 Stat. 2880 5 9, 25-26

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Legislative Reorganization Act of 1946, as amended

§ 131, 2 U.S.C. §190g (1976) (partially re-

E 2, 3

§ 207, 10 U.S. C. A. 5 1552 (a) (West Supp.

1980) 1

Officer Personnel Act of 1947, as amended

§ 509(g)-(h), 10 U.S.C. §3303 (1976) (re-

T 9, 25

Tucker Act, as amended

§ 1, 28 U.S.C. § 1491 (1976 & Supp. III 1979). 2,4

passim

r 2

28 U.S.C. § 1346 (1976 & Supp. III 19797 4

Department of the Army Regulations

C passim

AR 15-185 (32 C. F. R. § 581.3 2, 3, 11

Rules of the House of Representatives

Rule XXII, J 2, 97th Cong., Ist Sess. (1981). 2,3

Senate Standing Rules for Conducting Business,

D ia aL aa 2,3

Rules of the Court of Claims, Rule 147(b) ............. 17

Rules of the Supreme Court, Rule 21.1(k) ) 1

Other Authorities:

H.R. Rep. No. 640, 80th Cong., Ist Sess. (1947) 25, 26

S. Res. 274, 96th Cong., Ist Sess. 125 Cong. Rec.

816588 (daily ed. Nov. 14, 1979), as amended by

S. Res. 389, 96th Cong., 2d Sess., 126 Cong. Rec.

82942 (daily ed. March 25, 1980) 2

Ford, Officer Selection Boards and Due Process of

Law, 70 Military L. Rev. 137 (1975) 27

Schwartz, Administrative Law § 210 (1976)

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1981

No. 81- ——

JOHN M. GRIEG,

V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Petitioner,

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF CLAIMS

OPINIONS BELOW

The decisions of the Army Special Review Board (A.

63a-64a)' and the Army Board for Correction of Miii-

tary Records (A. 59a-62a) denying petitioner relief are

not reported. The opinion and findings of the Court

of Claims trial judge granting petitioner relief (A. 20a-

58a) are not reported. The opinion of the Court of Claims

reversing the decision of the trial judge (A. la-19a) is

reported at 640 F.2d 1261.

JURISDICTION

The judgment and opinion of the Court of Claims (A.

la-19a) were entered on January 28, 1981. A timely

petition for rehearing was denied on May 15, 1981. A.

65a. On August 3, 1981, the Chief Justice entered an

order (A. 66a) extending the time within which to file

1 Citations to “A.” refer to the separate appendix that accom-

panies the instant petition pursuant to Rule 21.1(k) of this Court.

this petition to October 12, 1981. The jurisdiction of

this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1255(1).

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

There are set out in the appendix this petition the

following provisions: .

Sections 131 and 207 of the Legislative Reorganiza-

tion Act of 1946, as amended, 2 U.S.C. § 190g (1''76)

(partially repealed 1979) and 10 U.S. C. A. § 1552. a)

(West Supp. 1980) (A. 67a-68a)?

Section 706 of the Administrative Procedure Act,

5 U.S.C. § 706 (1976) (A. 67a)

Section 1 of the Tucker Act, as amended, 28 U.S.C.

§ 1491 (1976 & Supp. III 1979) (A. 68a-69a)

Department of the Army Regulations *

AR 623-105 (1966) (A. 72a)

AR 623-105 (1972) (A. 73)

AR 15-185 (1977) (32 C.F.R. § 581.3 (1977) )

(A. 70a-72a) :,

2 On November 14, 1979, 2 U.S.C. § 190g was repealed insofar as

it applied to the United States Senate. S. Res. 274, 96th Cong.,

Ist Sess., 125 Cong. Rec. 816588, 816602 (daily ed. Nov. 14, 1979).

However, the substance of the statute’s terms was preserved by

inclusion within the Senate Standing Rules for Conducting Busi-

ness. See Rule XIV, {9 (adopted pursuant to S. Res. 274, supra,

125 Cong. Rec. at 816690, as amended by S. Res. 389, 96th Cong.,

2d Sess., 126 Cong. Rec. S2942 (daily ed. March 25, 1980).

A. 74a. The substance of the statute’s terms is also included in

Rule XXII, J 2, of the Rules of the House of Representatives, 97th

Cong., Ist Sess. (1981).

The regulations reproduced in the appendix are those which

were in effect during the time periods relevant to this case. These

regulations have not been changed substantively since those time

periods. See AR 623-105 (1979); 32 C.F.R. § 581.3 (1980).

3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

1. Introduction. The court below, acknowledging the

appealing facts of [petitioner’s] case,” described this

action as raising “important questions concerning [its]

jurisdiction and permissible scope of review.” A. 2a. This

proceeding culminates petitioner’s almost decade-long ef-

forts to correct an error in his military records which

he contends led to his involuntary termination from the

United States Army after seventeen years of active duty

in that service. Congress does not permit the correction

of military records by private bill. 2 U.S.C. § 190g;

United States Senate Rule XIV, {9 (1981); House of

Representatives Rule XXII, 2 (1981).* Instead, it has

enacted legislation which delegates to the Secretary of

each military service, acting through civilian correction

boards, both the power and the duty to “correct any mili-

tary record ... when... necessary to correct an error

or remove an injustice.” 10 U.S.C. § 1552.“ Under gov-

erning reguiations, however, no right to an oral hearing,

compulsory process, or cross examination is provided in

Army correction board proceedings, and none of these

procedural protections was afforded in this case. See

32 C.F.R. 5 581.3 (e) (5) (i)-(ii), (d). Except in cir-

cumstances not here relevant, the only assured oppor-

tunity for oral presentation, compulsory process, and

confrontation of adverse witnesses accorded to individuals

seeking relief pursuant to § 1552 occurs in the trial de

novo in the United States Court of Claims to which

plaintiffs are entitled when challenging an adverse

correction board determination. Petitioner contends here

that, by virtue of the restrictive scope of review an-

nounced and applied by the Court of Claims in this case,

that single opportunity for an oral presentation and

cross examination has been rendered meaningless in

See n.2, supra.

5 See, e.g., Sanders v. United States, 594 F.2d 804, 812 (Ct. Cl.

1979) (en banc) (pursuant to § 1552, “the Secretaries have a duty

as well as the power to afford servicemen proper relief.“

4

that the Court of Claims’ trial judges are henceforth

effectively precluded from overturning correction board

decisions unless the military record is inaccurate on its

face or the government otherwise confesses error. In

this regard, Court of Claims’ trial judges are essentially

prohibited from looking beyond the military record which

is in dispute and considering the evidence presented by

plaintiffs at the de novo trial.“

Petitioner seeks in this Court no new procedural

rights in the correction process; rather, he merely main-

tains that the scope of review articulated by the Court of

Claims below is at odds with well-established concepts of

administrative law as enunciated in the Administrative

Procedure Act (“APA”) and decisions of this Court,

and that, by effectively nullifying his one opportunity

to confront adverse witnesses, it abridges procedural due

process rights afforded by the Fifth Amendment. Peti-

tioner further contends that the decision below conflicts

directly with the Court of Claims’ own assertions that

Congress intended 10 U.S.C. § 1552, the statutory

remedy for the correction of military records, to be “re-

medial and to be liberally construed, rather than [read]

narrowly or technically.” Oleson v. United States, 172 Ct.

Cl. 9, 18 (1965).

For an analysis of the Court of Ciaims' jurisdiction over

correction board decisions, see Sanders, supra, 594 F.2d at 809-13.

Suffice it to say here that that court has exclusive jurisdiction over

money claims against the United States not sounding in tort in

excess of $10,000, which are premised upon, inter alia. federal

statutes. 28 U.S.C. § 1491; 28 U.S.C. § 1346. Since a great many

cases pertaining to correction board decisions involve former mili-

tary personnel terminated from service because of allegedly erron-

eous records and since most resulting claims for back pay and

retirement benefits exceed $10,000, the Court of Claims has been

the principal forum for judicial review of correction board decisions.

Cf. Ogden v. Zuckert, 298 F.2d 312, 315 (D.C. Cir. 1961). In the

Court of Claims, plaintiffs challenging correction board decisions

are “entitled to a trial on the merits, as a matter of right, so that

[they] may have a judicial determination of the disputed factual

issues involved in [their] claim[s].” Bray v. United States, 515 F.2d

1383, 1390 (Ct. Cl. 1975).

The undesirable consequences resulting from the hold-

ing at issue are illustrated by the facts of this case.

2. Petitioner’s Army Record. The petitioner, John M.

Grieg, is a much decorated veteran of the United States

Army. Over the course of a seventeen-year military

career as an enlisted man and then an officer,” he was

certified, inter alia, as a Special Forces (i.e., Green

Beret) Officer and a Ranger Parachutist (A. 34a-35a)

and served three separate tours of combat duty in Viet-

nam. A. 2a-3a. During his second Vietnam tour, he was

the commander of a Green Beret counterinsurgency team

which engaged in guerilla warfare in the Vietnam jungle

for a six-month period (A. 36a) and, for that effort, he

was “awarded the Bronze Star Medal” for “distinguish-

ing himself by outstanding meritorious service in con-

nection with ground operations against a hostile force.”

A. 22a, 35a-36a. He earned two Oak Leaf Clusters for

his Bronze Star on the basis of further meritorious

service with the 82nd Airborne Division during his third

Vietnam tour. A. 3a, 47a-48a.*

3. Events Pertaining to Petitioner’s Involuntary Term-

ination.

a. Notice of the third Vietnam assignment. On June

22, 1966, petitioner was assigned to the Army’s Arctic

Test Center at Fort Greely, Alaska. A. 37a. His mission

there was to evaluate the performance of various items

of equipment under arctic conditions. A. 38a. Having

recently completed his second tour of duty in Vietnam, it

7 After serving in an enlisted status from November 1952 to

February 1956, petitioner received his commission in June 1958

pursuant to a Reserve Officers’ Training Corps program at the

University of Iowa, where he was rated a “Distinguished Military

Graduate.” A. 33a.

8 Petitioner’s other awards include a Combat Infantryman Badge,

an Army Commendation Medal with Oak Leaf Cluster, an Air

Medal, and a Meritorious Service Medal. A. 35a.

6

was petitioner’s understanding, from briefings by Army

personnel, that he would not, at least in the near future,

be sent back to that country. Tr. 158.“ At the time of

his Fort Greely assignment, petitioner’s only child was

two months old. Because he and his wife expected that,

“in accordance with [standard] Army policy, [his] as-

signment to Ft. Greely would continue for at least 2

years,” they decided in the early months of 1967 to have

a second child. A. 39a. It was anticipated that the child

would be born in December 1967, and thus that “the

family would be together at the time of the birth and

during [the child’s] early infancy.” A. 39a.

In August of 1967, however, during his wife’s preg-

nancy, petitioner received notice to begin a third tour

of duty in Vietnam that December. A. 3a. Confronted

with the prospect of being left in Alaska with a 16-

month-old child and a newborn, and aware “of other

officers who had not been called upon to do so much duty

in Vietnam,” petitioner’s wife became extremely upset

and resentful of “what she believed was unjust treatment

of her husband.” A. 3a.

In response to these domestic difficulties, petitioner, cit-

ing “extreme compassionate circumstances and personal

family problems,” formally tendered his resignation as

an officer in the Regular Army. A. 3a, 40a. That resig-

nation request was denied by the Army on grounds of

“overriding military needs.” A. 3a, 43a. Petitioner was,

however, eventually afforded a postponement of his third

Vietnam combat assignment until March 25, 1968, and

was further assured that the tender of his resignation

would “not be used as a determinant in promotion con-

sideration or future assignments.” A. 3a; PX. 58.”

Citations to “Tr.” refer to the transcript of the trial below

before the Tria! Division of the Court of Claims.

10 Citations to “PX.” refer to the exhibits submitted by peti-

tioner to the Trial Division of the Court of Claims in connection

with the trial below.

7

b. Completion of arctic tests. At the time petitioner

learned that he had been reassigned to Vietnam, his prin-

cipal tasks were the evaluation under arctic conditions of

a survival kit for infantry personnel and a system to

enhance night vision. A. 44a-45a. Petitioner acceler-

ated his work on these projects and completed the final

versions of his test reports two months ahead of schedule

and in time to meet his February 20, 1968 departure

date from Fort Greely. A. 45a-46a.

By communication dated February 5, 1968, the Army

Electronics Command commended as outstanding“ peti-

tioner’s night vision testing and stated that his efforts

“reflect [ed] most highly on [his] . . . capabilities

A. 46a-47a. This communication was accompanied by

a cover letter from the Arctic Test Center Commanding

Officer congratulating petitioner “for a job outstandingly

well done” and noting that petitioner’s “entire tenure

as a test officer has been worthy of such recognition.” A.

47a. Soon after their submission, both of petitioner’s

reports were approved by the Aimy Test and Evaluation

Command. PX. 87, 88.

4. The Disputed Rating. Notwithstanding petitioner’s

accelerated completion of his test reports and the praise

he received for his work, his Officer Efficiency Report

(“OER”) covering the period November 17, 1967 to

11 An Officer Efficiency Report is a periodic appraisal of an

officer’s performance of duty. AR 623-105 at §I-2(b) (1966).

Three persons, termed the “rater,” the “indorser,” and the “re-

viewer,” perform the evaluation. The rater will ordinarily be an

immediate supervisor in the rated officer’s chain of command or

staff. The indorser is normally the individual who rates the rater,

while the reviewer is usually the officer who rates the indorser.

Id. at § II-6. One of the primary purposes” of an OER is to pro-

vide a data base for personnel actions such as promotions. Id. at

§ I-2. Since the occurrence of the events at issue in this case,

OERs have been renamed “Officer Evaluation Reports;” however,

their function as the primary basis for promotion decisions has

remained unchanged. AR 623-105 at § 1-3 (1979).

Feoruary 20, 1968 contained an extremely low rating.

His composite numerical rating totalled only 166.0 (out

of a possible 240) points. A. 6a. In contrast, the com-

posite scores on the first two OERs rendered with re-

spect to petitioner’s services at Fort Greely totalled 203.7

and 209.1, respectively, while his average composite score,

throughout his army career, was 202.2. A. 5a-6a.

The November 1967 to February 1968 OER also con-

tained adverse comments. Major Herbert Lee Gregg, peti-

tioner’s OER rater,“ stated that petitioner had “failed to

prepare the reports of tests in the proper format or within

the required time frame” and that, when questioned about

his progress on the reports, had “displayed a very neg-

ative attitude.” A. 4a. Lt. Colonel Alfred E. Williams,

petitioner’s OER indorser, wrote that, while “MAJ Grieg

was a superior officer until he received his orders to

Vietnam,” during his “last 30 days . . . his dependability

was seriously affected,” and he “displayed a very negative

attitude toward the Army.” A. 4a.

Contrary to Army Regulations, petitioner was not in-

formed prior to preparation of this negative OER that

Major Gregg, a fellow officer for whom he had not worked,

would serve as his rater (Tr. 164-165, 222-224). AR

623-105 at §I-3(c) (1966). Nor, since the OER “was

prepared after [petitioner] left Fort Greely,” was he ac-

corded any prior notice of its contents or an opportunity

to refute them. A. 6a, 51a. Neither Major Gregg nor Lt.

Colonel Williams had “ever discussed with [petitioner]

.. . any supposed deficiencies in his performance.” A.

5la. Indeed, it was not until 1972, after he had been

passed over for promotion to the rank of permanent major,

that petitioner learned of the adverse rating he had re-

ceived in 1968. A. 6a.

12 See note 11, supra, for a definition of the terms “rater” and

“indorser.”

9

5. Administrative Proceedings.

a. Before the Special Review Board. In January 1973,

petitioner was passed over a second time for promotion

to permanent major, and was therefore involuntarily

terminated on November 1, 1973 from active duty pur-

suant to 10 U.S.C. §3303(d), a statute requiring

the discharge or retirement of an officer twice rejected

for promotion to the permanent grade of captain, major

or lieutenant colonel. A. 2a." Believing that his single

adverse OER inaccurately and unfairly characterized his

performance of duties and that it was the cause of his

promotion passovers, petitioner, pursuant to 10 U.S.C.

§ 1552, on October 5, 1973, filed with the Army Board

for Correction of Military Records an application to void

that OER and his resulting promotion failures. A. 6a,

52a.

Before his application could be considered by the cor-

rection board, petitioner was required to seek relief from

an Army Special Review Board—a body designated by

Army regulations to rule upon challenges to OERs. AR

623-105 at §§ 8-2 (a), 8-3(b) (1972). Before that body,

petitioner supported his contention that the OER was

inaccurate with eighteen exhibits demonstrating the high

quality of his service to the Army prior to, during, and

subsequent to the period covered by the OER, including

the various commendations he had received with respect

to the arctic testing reports and two statements dealing

with his performance made by Captain Jack Cook, a test

18 This statute was recently repealed by § 204 of the Defense

Officer Personnel Management Act, Pub. L. No. 96-513, 96th Cong.,

2d Sess. (1980), as amended by the Defense Officer Personnel

Management Act Technical Corrections Act, Pub. L. No. 97-22,

97th Cong., Ist Sess. (1981). The promotion provisions within

the new statute, except under certain defined circumstances, con-

tinue to require the discharge or retirement of officers twice passed

over for promotion to the ranks of captain to lieutenant colonel.

10 U.S.C.A. §§ 631, 632, 637 (West Supp. 1980). See note 24, infra.

10

officer who served with petitioner at Fort Greely and

who disputed several of the adverse factual contentions

within petitioner’s OER and supported petitioner’s state-

ments concerning the high quality and timeliness of his

work. PX. 72, 73 at 3.“

An unsigned “case summary” prepared for use by the

special review board in connection with petitioner’s case

concluded that, although it appeared that the negative

OER “was a major factor in [petitioner’s] non-selection”

for promotion, there was “insufficient evidence to sup-

port the claim that the contested report was not ac-

eurate [J. PX. 93 at 5, 6. This latter conclusion

was premised almost exclusively upon information ob-

tained from Lt. Colonel Williams, the indorser of the

OER, during an ex parte telephone conversation with the

review board’s staff. A. 53a-54a; PX. 93 at 5; Tr. 275-

276. According to the case summary, Lt. Colonel Wil-

liams stated that once petitioner had been assigned to

his third Vietnam tour, he “practically quit work” and

“spent most of [his] time and energy attempting to get

out of the Nam assignment . . [by] telephoning [the

Department of the Army] and congressmen, and writing

letters.” A. 7a. Moreover, Lt. Colonel Williams stated

that he was forced to redo some of petitioner’s tests be-

cause petitioner’s data was incomplete. A. 7a.

In a one-page letter dated February 27, 1974, peti-

tioner was advised that the special review board denied

his appeal because the evidence does not justify” void-

irg the OER. A. 63a. Petitioner was not accorded a

hearing prior to this denial, nor was he given notice

of, much less an opportunity to refute, the ex parte com-

ments. A. 2a.

14 The Cook averments and the documentary exhibits were pre-

sented pursuant to Army regulations which require that statements

of third parties who observe an officer’s performance and any

related documentary evidence from official sources be presented

as evidence of an inaccuracy in an OER. AR 623-105 at § 8-1(c)

(1972).

11

b. Before the Correction Board. Petitioner then pur-

sued his claim before the correction board. Oral hearings

are provided by that body only as a matter of discretion,

and, even when granted, the applicant has no power of

subpoena or right to cross examination. 32 C.F.R. § 581.3

(e) (5) (i)-(ii), (d). On October 19, 1977, petitioner’s

application, brief, and supporting exhibits were consid-

ered by the board in executive session along with ap-

proximately 110 other correction cases, and denied with-

out granting petitioner an oral hearing. A. 6a; PX.

114.“ In its four-paragraph statement of the reasons for

denying relief, the correction board relied extensively on

Lt. Colonel Williams’ ex parte telephone conversation.

A. 62a.

6. Trial Division Proceedings. Petitioner then in-

stituted the present suit in the Court of Claims seeking

back pay, retirement benefits, and the voiding of the

OER and promotion passovers. During a three-day trial

which ensued before that court’s Tria! Division, petitioner

testified that the negative comments contained in the

disputed OER and in Lt. Colonel Williams’ ex parte

statement were factually incorrect, and that he properly

and promptly completed his test reports.

Petitioner’s testimony was supported by that of his

wife and Captain Cook. A. 4a. Indeed, it was supported

in many respects by Lt. Colonel Williams, who, contrary

to his remarks in the OER and his ex parte comments,

admitted that: (1) the data petitioner had gathered for

his test reports were complete, and Lt. Colonel Williams

did not have to reperform any of the tests (Tr. 276-

279, 337); (2) the final reports were authored by pe-

titioner (Tr. 306-308); and (3) he (Lt. Colonel Wil-

liams) had no personal knowledge of petitioner contact-

15 Aside from ruling on 110 applications, the Board, on October

19, 1977, also held three formal hearings on other matters. PX.

114.

12

ing Army Headquarters or Congressmen to change his

Vietnam reassignment (Tr. 331-332, 335-336).

In his opinion and his findings of fact (A. 20a-58a),

Senior Trial Judge Mastin G. White determined that all of

the negative remarks made in the OER and in Lt. Colonel

Williams’ ex parte statement either were completely false

or, though literally true, conveyed a misleading adverse

impression concerning petitioner’s performance of his

duties. A. 50a-5la, 54a-55a."*° The trial judge further

found that the OER “did not represent an accurate, ob-

jective, fair, or just evaluation of [petitioner’s] perform-

ance”; that its factual inaccuracies “indicate[d] a preju-

dicial state of mind . . . toward [petitioner] . . . | which]

was evidently due to the Vietnam assignment and the

[petitioner’s] attempt to avoid it by submitting his resig-

nation”; and that the low rating it contained was the

“major factor” in petitioner’s failure to secure promo-

tion. A. 28a, 49a, 52a.

In light of these facts, the trial judge ruled that pe-

titioner had been deprived of his right to be evaluated

for promotion on the basis of a record which fairly por-

trays his career, and that the correction board’s decision

not to void the OER was “unsupported by substantial

evidence and. . . contrary to law.” A. 29a-3la. He

recommended that, as relief, petitioner receive back pay

for the duty he would have performed had he not been

discharged on November 1, 1973, back retired pay, and

correction of his military records to void the contested

OER and documents showing his failures to secure pro-

motion. A. 3la-32a, 57a-58a.

16 For example, the trial judge found misleading various state-

ments made by Lt. Colonel Williams concerning the extent to which

petitioner’s test reports had to be revised prior to publication in

final form. Although petitioner’s reports had to be to some extent

“worked over” by petitioner and a group of fellow officers after

their initial submission, such “working over” of draft reports was

the customary procedure for all draft submissions at Fort Greeley

and, in any event, petitioner’s work never had to be modified in any

substantial way. A. 51a, 55a.

13

7. Court of Claims Decision. On review, a panel of

the Court of Claims (Judges Kashiwa, Bennett, and

Smith) reversed. Although acknowledging that peti-

tioner “was not granted a hearing until he came to the

court,” it concluded that the trial judge “in his zeal to

do justice as he saw it . . . innocently went beyond the

permissible scope of review . . . by substituting his

judgment of [petitioner’s] performance of duty for that

of [petitioner’s] rating and indorsing officers, reflected

on the OER, which constituted substantial evidence be-

fore the board.. . A. 2a, 16a. In this regard, the

Court of Claims held that “[i]t is the rater’s view that

counts in the end,” and “there [was] no concession by

the rater or indorser [at trial] that the rating was

factually wrong.” The court held that it was error to

weigh against the OFR “self serving testimony,” such

as records concerning petitioner’s career, commendations

he received for the assignment at issue in the OER, or

the testimony of himself, his wife, and Captain Cook.

A. 12a, 16a. Moreover, in its view, the correction board’s

decision could be deemed based on “substantial evidence,”

even though that board made its decision without the

benefit of the evidence ultimately adduced on trial—

including Lt. Colonel Williams’ refutation of remarks

contained in the OER and his ex parte statement—evi-

dence which convinced the trial judge that the correction

board’s decision was unsupported by the requisite evi-

dence. A. 13a-16a.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

A. THE COURT OF CLAIMS’ DECISION BELOW IS

IMPORTANT, WILL HAVE BROAD IMPACT, AND

CONFLICTS WITH CIRCUIT COURT RULINGS.

In the following sections of this petition, we show in

some detail that the scope of review applied by the Court

of Claims in the correction board context is a substantial

departure from well-accepted principles of administra-

tive law as enunciated in the APA and the decisions of

this Court. It also conflicts with Congress’ remedial pur-

14

poses in establishing the correction board system and

negates procedural due process rights otherwise afforded

by the Fifth Amendment. In this regard, we show that,

as a practical consequence of the decision below, a plain-

tiff can prevail in these cases only if the government

confesses error as to the accuracy of a military record.

Our point here is that the issues raised by the decision

below have broad impact. The critical statutory remedy

standing between those Americans who have been or are

under arms to this Nation and a prejudicial error in

their military records is the relief afforded by the mili-

tary services’ civilian correction boards and, when back

pay and retirement benefits in excess of $10,000 are in-

volved, the corresponding review of board decisions in

the Court of Claims. See n. 6, swpra. While other courts

have occasion to review correction board decisions, the

Court of Claims is the principal forum for these cases,

because of the substantial breadth of its jurisdiction. As

the D.C. Circuit has acknowledged: “The most pertinent

judicial decisions interpreting the nature of these Boards

have arisen in litigation before the United States Court

of Claims.” Ogden, supra, 298 F.2d at 315. Accordingly,

when the Court of Claims describes this case as raising

“important questions concerning [its] jurisdiction and

permissible scope of review,” it acknowledges that the

issues raised are of general importance, and thus worthy

of this Court’s attention.

Finally, as we show below, the restrictive scope of

review enunciated by the Court of Claims in this case

places it at odds with at least one Circuit’s rulings

on the way in which correction board decisions should be

judicially reviewed. See pp. 18-19, infra.

B. THE COURT OF CLAIMS’ USE OF A SUBSTAN-

TIAL EVIDENCE TEST TO REVIEW FACTS

FOUND DE NOVO AFTER TRIAL CONFLICTS

DIRECTLY WITH DECISIONS OF THIS COURT.

1. Right To Trial De Novo. The Court of Claims has

recognized that, by enacting the correction board statute

(10 U.S.C. § 1552), Congress imposed upon correction

15

boards “a duty as well as the power to afford service-

men proper relief.” Sanders, supra, 594 F.2d at 812

(emphasis added). Yet, that court has also recognized

that, despite the critically important role played by these

boards and subsidiary military fact finding tribunals in

military pay cases, the correction process is fraught with

procedural infirmities. See, e.g., Brown v. United States,

396 F.2d 989, 994-99 (1968). The facts of this case

clearly illustrate the point."

Because of these infirmities, the Court of Claims has

long held that [iln military pay cases such as this

judicial review is not limited to the administrative rec-

ord,” and that a plaintiff, “in this court, is entitled to

a trial on the merits, as a matter of right, so that he

may have a judicial determination of the disputed factual

issues involved in his claim.” Bray, supra, 515 F.2d at

1390 (emphasis added). Accord, McGahey v. United

States, 213 Ct. Cl. 717, 719 (1977) ; Montilla v. United

17 As we have shown in the statement above, petitioner, contrary

to Army regulations, was not informed of the identity of his OER

rater prior to the preparation of the OER here in dispute, and the

rater was, in fact, an officer for whom petitioner had not worked.

Neither the OER rater nor indorser had ever conveyed any criti-

cism to petitioner while he was at Fort Greely. Indeed, petitioner

did not learn of the adverse OER until four years after it had been

rendered, and thus subsequent to its use by an Army selection

board determining his fitness for promotion.

Petitioner was accorded no opportunity for a hearing in order

to refute the OER before the selection boards which passed him

over for promotion. Nor was he entitled to an oral hearing before

the special review board which reviewed the accuracy of his OER.

Indeed, the review board resolved his claim on the basis of an

unsigned case summary, which, in turn, was premised almost

exclusively upon an ex parte telephone call to the OER indorser.

The correction board also denied petitioner’s application in execu-

tive session without granting him an oral hearing and relied, for

its decision, upon the review board’s analysis. Indeed, on the same

day it considered and disposed of petitioner’s application, it con-

ducted three “formal” hearings and resolved 110 applications for

the correction of militiary records. The substantive analysis of

petitioner’s requests for relief by both the review board and the

correction board consumed only a single page of discussion.

16

States, 457 F.2d 978, 982-83 (Ct. Cl. 1972); Brown,

supra, 396 F.2d at 992-1001; Beckham v. United States,

375 F.2d 782, 785 (Ct. Cl. 1967). In this regard, the

Court of Claims has concluded that the “non-adversary

records of the kind we have before us in a large segment

of the [correction board] cases cannot form the sole basis

for a judicial decision. They are too infirm and incom-

plete.” Brown, supra, 396 F.2d at 997 (emphasis added).

See also, e.g., Camp v. Pitts, 411 U.S. 138, 142 (1973);

Citizens to Preserve Overton Park, Inc. v. Volpe, 401

U.S. 402, 415 (1971) (sanctioning the taking of de novo

evidence when “agency fact finding procedures are in-

adequate”). Thus, in the Court of Claims’ view, intro-

duction of de novo “evidence has proved invaluable in

fully understanding and evaluating the basis—or dack of

basis—for the administrative decision.” Brown, supra,

396 F.2d at 997. Accordingly, a trial de novo was held

below without any objection from the government.

2. De Novo Scope of Review. Decisions of this Court

clearly establish that a trial court reviewing agency

action de novo “should make an independent determina-

tion” of the facts based upon the evidence adduced be-

fore it. United States v. First City National Bank, 386

U.S. 361, 368 (1967). Accord, Citizens to Preserve

Overton Park, Inc., supra, 401 U.S. at 415 (de novo

review entails “independent judicial factfinding”) ; Wood-

by v. Immigration & Naturalization Service, 385 U.S.

276, 278 n. 2 (1966) (de novo review entails an “inde-

pendent determination of the factual issues. See

also, e.g., Chandler v. Roudebush, 425 U.S. 840, 852-64

(1976). Indeed, in Renegotiation Board v. Bannercraft

18 This Court has also held in this regard that while adminis-

trative findings “may, of course, be admitted as evidence” in the

judicial proceedings, Chandler, supra, 425 U.S. at 863-64 & n.39;

Alexander v. Gardner-Denver Co., 415 U.S. 36, 60 & n.21 (1974),

such findings will be “accorded [only] such weight as the court

deems appropriate” after a consideration of all evidence pre-

sented. Id. at 60; Weahkee v. Perry, 587 F.2d 1256, 1263 (D.C.

Cir. 1978) (Robb, J.).

*

17

Clothing Co., 415 U.S. 1, 23 (1974), this Court explicitly

recognized that a “de novo proceeding” in the Court of

Claims is one “unfettered by any prejudice from the

agency proceeding and free from any claim that the

[agency’s| determination is supported by substantial evi-

dence. ... [T]he parties are not bound by a prior de-

termination made at [the agency] level. (Emphasis

added.) The Court of Claims, by virtue of its own rules,

has acknowledged these precepts by mandating that

“(djue regard [be given] to the circumstances that the

trial judge had the opportunity to evaluate the credibility

of the witnesses,” and by requiring that “the findings

made by the trial judge shall be presumed to be correct.”

Ct. Cl. Rule 147(b).

3. Substantial Evidence Test Applied to De Novo

Findings. Had the Court of Claims followed this Court’s

explicit precedents pertaining to de novo review, there

can be little doubt that the trial judge’s decision in this

case would have been affirmed. But the Court of Claims

has refused to permit its trial judges in military pay

cases to make a “fresh determination of the facts and

issues” even though de novo evidence has been taken.

Weahkee, supra, 587 F.2d at 1263. Instead, that court,

contrary to this Court’s direction that Court of Claims’

de novo review should be “free from any claim that the

[agency’s] determination is supported by substantial evi-

dence,” has insisted upon “applying its substantial evi-

dence test to the findings of the Board.” Beckham, supra,

375 F.2d at 785. Accord, Brown, supra, 396 F.2d at 992;

Bray, supra, 515 F.2d at 1391. The Court of Claims

therefore felt it sufficient to conclude in this case that

the Officer Efficiency Report (“OER”) in question “con-

stituted [the] substantial evidence” (A. 18a) upon which

the correction board decision could be sustained and held

that the trial judge erred in considering any de novo evi-

dence to the contrary.

It has been widely acknowledged that the Administra-

tive Procedure Act (“APA”) governs review of civilian

18

correction board decisions. See, e.g., Neal v. Secretary of

Navy, 639 F.2d 1029, 1036 (3d Cir. 1981); Roelofs v.

Secretary of Air Force, 628 F.2d 594, 599 (D.C. Cir.

1980); Buchanan v. United States, 621 F.2d 373, 384

(Ct. Cl. 1980) ; Sanders, supra, 594 F.2d at 812. Section

706 (2) (E) of that Act makes clear that the “substantial

evidence” test is used only when a court is reviewing

agency fact finding made pursuant to a trial-type hearing

required by statute. Camp v. Pitts, supra, 411 U.S. at

140-41; Citizens To Preserve Overton Park, Inc., supra,

401 U.S. at 414-15. No statute required that petitioner

be granted an adjudicatory hearing before the correction

board, and, to say the least, the consideration afforded

to his application for correction cannot be characterized

as a formal, trial-type proceeding. The Court of Claims’

use of the substantial evidence test in situations such as

the present case, where a de novo trial is necessitated

because the record presented to that court is “too infirm

and incomplete,” Brown, supra, 396 F.2d at 997, con-

stitutes a dramatic departure from the mandates of the

APA and the requirements of this Court.

The use of the substantial evidence test in this type of

situation is aggravated by the Court of Claims’ ruling in

this case which, as we show in detail in the following

section, effectively sustains the correction board except

in those rare instances where the government has con-

fessed that a military record is inaccurate. As a result,

the de novo trial afforded in § 1552 cases in the Court of

Claims is rendered almost meaningless since, absent a

concession of error, none of the plaintiff’s evidence can

be considered to determine whether the correction board

should be overturned.

As a result of the Court of Claims’ decision below, there

now exists among federal appellate courts a wide diver-

gence of opinion concerning the scope of review of correc-

tion board decisions. The Third and Ninth Circuits have

ruled that de novo trials should not be granted by district

courts reviewing correction board decisions. Ragoni v.

United States, 424 F.2d 261, 263 (3d Cir. 1970); San-

19

ford v. United States, 399 F.2d 693, 694 (9th Cir. 1968).

Yet, the Fifth Circuit affords de novo trials in this

context. Nolen v. Schlesinger, 492 F.2d 787 (5th C*r.

1974). The Court of Claims grants de novo trials “as a

matter of right,” Bray, supra, 515 F.2d at 1390, but,

by virtue of the restrictive scope of review enunciated

in this case, renders these proceedings virtually meaning-

less. See pp. 19-23, infrau.“

This substantial confusion within the federal appellate

courts as to the manner in which to review correction

board decisions makes the Court of Claims’ decision at

issue fully worthy of this Court’s attention.

C. THE COURT OF CLAIMS’ REFUSAL TO EXAMINE

CORRECTION BOARD DECISIONS ON THE BASIS

OF THE “WHOLE RECORD” CONFLICTS WITH

THE APA AND DECISIONS OF THIS COURT.

Even if application of the substantial evidence test

were appropriate here, the Court of Claims has seriously

misapplied it. Section 706 of the APA provides that,

when using the substantial evidence test to determine the

adequacy of agency fact finding, a court must “review the

whole record or those parts of it cited by a party... .”

(Emphasis added.) This provision was included within

the APA to defeat the pre-APA practice employed by

19In Nolen, the Fifth Circuit, in granting de novo review, at-

tempted to harmonize its ruling with the Ninth Circuit’s Sanford

decision (denying de novo proceedings) on the ground that the

evidence the plaintiff sought to adduce in Sanford concerned issues

not raised before the correction board. 492 F.2d at 787. In San-

ford, however, the Ninth Circuit squarely held that the trial

“court’s function . . [is] confined to a review of the evidence

submitted to the [Army] Board for Corrections.” 399 F.2d at 694.

On remand, the Nolen court, although applying a substantial

evidence test to the de novo record for purposes of determining the

validity of the Board’s findings, made clear by its analysis that

courts reviewing correction board determinations must examine

the entire administrative and de novo record before reaching a

decision, and thus, its analysis conflicts with that of the Court of

Claims. Nolen v. Rumsfeld, 525 F.2d 888, 889-90 (5th Cir. 1976),

cert. denied, 429 U.S. 1104 (1977).

20

some courts, which was to “ ‘read only one side of the

case and, if they [found] any evidence there, the admin-

istrative action [was] sustained and the record to the

contrary ignored.’” Schwartz, Administrative Law § 210

at 593 (1976) (quoting Report of the Attorney General’s

Committee at 210-11 (1941)) (emphasis added). Under

“this [pre-APA] interpretation, substantial evidence

meant, in effect, such evidence as standing alone would be

sufficient to support a finding,” no matter “how heavily

the countervailing evidence [might] preponderate .. . .”

Id. (Emphasis added.)

In the landmark case of Universal Camera Corp v.

NLRB, 340 U.S. 474, 487-88 (1951), this Court em-

phatically rejected the so-called “any” evidence test,

stating:

“Whether or not it was ever permissible for courts

to determine the substantiality of evidence support-

ing [an agency] decision merely on the basis of

evidence which in and of itself justified it, without

taking into account contradictory evidence or evi-

dence from which conflicting inferences could be

drawn, the [APA] definitively precludes such a

theory of review and bars its practice. The sub-

stantiality of evidence must take into account what-

ever in the record fairly detracts from its weight.

This is clearly the significance of the requirement

. . that courts consider the whole record.” (Em-

phasis added.)

By virtue of the decision below, the Court of Claims,

contrary to the holding of Universal Camera Corp., has

reverted to the practice of upholding agency fact finding

whenever the record contains “any” evidence to support

the agency decision. Thus, en route to its decision con-

cerning the substantiality of the evidence before the

correction board, the Court of Claims focused al-

most exclusively upon the very document in dispute and

characterized as error the trial judge’s consideration of

evidence refuting it.

The Court of Claims discounted any examination in

cases of this sort of such documentary evidence as “the

21

Army Electronics Command commendation of [petition-

er's] work and the letter by [his] commander, Col. Na-

bors, which forwarded that commendation to plaintiff” on

the ground that [t] hose personnel were not legally re-

sponsible for . . making an evaluation of that work for

the military,” (A. 13a) “ and dismissed as “self serving”

(A. 16a) the testimony of petitioner, his wife, and Captain

Cook—all of which contradicted the indorser’s ex parte

comments that petitioner had “spent most of [his] time

and energy attempting to get out of the Nam assign-

ment,” “practically quit work,” and possessed a very

negative attitude. See pp. 8, 10, supra. Finally, the

Court of Claims characterized as “slight variations” (A.

15a) from the record before the correction board, Lt.

Colonel Williams’ concessions at trial that petitioner had,

in fact, completed his assignments, that the final reports

submitted to the Army Test and Evaluation Command

were authored by petitioner, and that Lt. Colonel Wil-

liams had no personal knowledge of petitioner spending

his “time and energy attempting to get out of the Nam

assignment.” See pp. 11-12, supra.

In dismissing, for purposes of correction board review

cases, the worthiness of such evidence as Captain Cook’s

testimony discrediting petitioner’s OER and petitioner’s

commendations from superiors generously praising his

work, the Court of Claims conveniently chose to ignore

the fact that presentations of this nature are exactly the

kind of evidence required by Army regulations to demon-

state an inaccuracy in an OER.”

20 This highly technical conclusion disregards the obvious fact

that as commander of Arctic Test Center, Col. Nabors had “legal

responsibility” for evaluating petitioner’s work and, indeed, was

quite familiar with it in that he directly oversaw the preparation

of petitioner’s OER for the period immediately preceding the rating

period in question. PX. 27.

21 AR 623-105 (1974) provided that an officer, in order to in-

validate an OER, had to provide “statements from third parties

who were in official positions which enabled them to observe

directly the manner in which the [rated officer] performed his

In short, the Court of Claims, in express contradiction

of this Court’s mandate in Universal Camera Corp., held

that its trial judges should “determine the substantiality

of the evidence” by relying upon only the “evidence

which in and of itself justified” the correction board de-

cision, and should refuse to “tak[e] into account contra-

dictory evidence or evidence from which conflicting in-

ferences could be drawn.“ 340 U.S. at 487-88. Indeed, the

Court of Claims expressly criticized the trial court for

doing exactly that which Universal Camera requires,

taking] into account whatever in the record fairly de-

tracts from” the evidence upon which the agency relied.

Id.”

duties during the rated period, and/or other pertinent documentary

evidence from official sources.” Id., § 8-1(c). The current version

of AR 623-105 calls for a substantially similar evidentiary showing.

AR 623-105 at §9-7(c) (1979).

22 The harshness of the Court of Claims’ application of the

substantial evidence test below is illustrated most clearly by its

total disregard of the trial judge’s finding that “the evidence in

the record does not disclose any factor, other than the unfair and

unjust OER .. „ which might have caused the plaintiff's pass-overs

[for promotion] by the. . . selection boards.” A. 30a. This finding

was supported, inter alia, by the conclusion within the unsigned

case summary before the Army Special Review Board that it

appeared that the “contested report was a major factor in his

non-selection.” PX. 93 at 4. (En phasis added.)

The Court of Claims concluded on review that there was no

“clear nexus“ between the OER and plaintiff's passovers by the

selection boards. A. 16a-17a. Yet, it was not able to point to any

evidence in the record suggesting that there were other factors

involved in petitioner’s failure to be promoted. In any event, the

Court of Claims has frequently held that the “most critica] item in

an officer’s selection folder is his OER,” Skinner v. United States,

594 F.2d 824, 831 n.4 (1979) and that once it is found that an

OER is in error, the burden is on the government to show by

“substantial evidence . that it was unlikely that the officer

would have been promoted in any event.’” Riley v. United States,

608 F.2d 441, 444 (1979) (quoting Sanders, supra, 594 F.2d at

818). Again, no evidence was introduced or relied upon at any level

of review showing that anything other than the adverse OER

formed the basis of petitioner’s failure to be promoted.

23

In applying this unduly restrictive standard of re-

view, the Court of Claims correctly recognized that

t jhe cold reality of the situation is that it will always

be difficult to overcome the discretionary judgments and

evaluations by the rater and indorser....” A. 15a. It

suggested that the only evidence which could refute an

OER would be a “concession by the rater or indorser

that the rating [is] factually wrong.” A. 16a. Indeed,

under the Court of Claims’ scope of review, the “cold

reality” is that, unless the government confesses error,

review of correction board factual determinations as to

the accuracy of a military record is “a hopeless formality

for the litigant. . . . It reduces the judicial process in

such cases to a mere feint.“ SEC v. Chenery Corp., 332

U.S. 194, 210 (1947) (Jackson, J., dissenting).

On the one hand, the Court of Claims has determined

that service personnel have a right to a trial de novo on

appeal from correction board determinations because:

(1) “the administrative record consists, as here, simply

of the official military records plus the written materials” ;

(2) even when oral hearings are granted by the correc-

tion board, they are not “adversary with the right to cross

examine all opposing witnesses . . . as is now normal for

the regulatory agencies and the boards of contract ap-

peals”; and (3) de novo “evidence has proved invaluable

in fully understanding and evaluating the basis—or lack

of basis—for the [board] decision.” Brown, supra, 396

F.2d at 995, 997, 998. By virtue of the decision at issue,

however, the Court of Claims has removed completely the

meaningfulness of a de novo proceeding because the cor-

rection board will always be sustained unless the evi-

dence supporting that tribunal’s determination “carries

its own death wound.” NLRB v. Robbins Tire & Rubber

Co., 161 F.2d 798, 800 (5th Cir. 1947).

The Court of Claims’ departure from the accepted

method of applying the substantial evidence test is a fur-

ther issue deserving the attention of this Court.

24

D. THE RESTRICTIVE SCOPE OF REVIEW APPLIED

BELOW CONFLICTS WITH THE REMEDIAL IN-

TENT OF CONGRESS IN ESTABLISHING CIVIL-

IAN CORRECTION BOARDS.

The Court of Claims has frequently held that the duty

imposed upon correction boards to correct “errors” and

“injustices” in military records constitutes “ ‘an abiding

moral sanction to determine insofar as possible, the

true nature of an alleged injustice and to take steps to

grant thorough and fitting relief.’” Sanders, supra, 594

F.2d at 813 (quoting Duhon v. United States, 461 F.2d

1278, 1281 (Ct. Cl. 1972)) (emphasis added). It has, ac-

cordingly, been emphasized that the correction board stat-

ute is “remedial and to be liberally construed, rather than

[read] narrowly or technically,” Oleson, supra, 172 Ct. CI.

at 18.

The scope of review applied by the court below flies in

the face of the remedial purposes of § 1552. The Court

of Claims has concluded that a correction board finding

that there is no “error” or “injustice” in an OER can be

overturned only if military personnel demonstrate a

gross material error of fact?” or a “gross injustice”

in the board’s decision, by showing, for example, “a con-

cession by the rater or indorser that the [OER] was

factually wrong.” A. 15a, 16a (quoting Sanders, supra,

594 F.2d at 813 and Skinner, supra, 594 F.2d at 830)

(emphases added). In effect, then, through its restric-

tive scope of review the Court of Claims has substantially

narrowed the situations involving errors or injustices in

which it will grant relief. The Court of Claims has thus

ignored the standards established in § 1552 and de-

feated completely Congress’ remedial intent in enacting

that provision.

Given the importance of § 1552 to service personnel and

the predominant role the Court of Claims plays in that

statute’s construction, the question whether that court

can alter the terms of § 1552 by application of a scope of

25

review test is a matter which should also be addressed by

this Court.

E. THE RESTRICTIVE SCOPE OF REVIEW APPLIED

BY THE COURT BELOW NEGATED PETITION-

ER’S DUE PROCESS RIGHT TO AN ORAL HEAR-

ING AND TO CONFRONT ADVERSE WITNESSES.

A majority of this Court has concluded that federal

civil service employees, because they can be discharged

only “for cause,” have a property interest in continued

employment sufficient to trigger due process protections.

Arnett v. Kennedy, 416 U.S. 134, 166 (1974) (Powell,

J., concurring) ; id. at 185 (White, J., concurring and

dissenting) ; id. at 209 (Marshall, J., dissenting). See

also Rolles v. Civil Service Comm’n, 512 F.2d 1319, 1327

& nn.20-21 (D.C. Cir. 1975) (Wilkey, J.) (construing

Arnett). Army officers, such as petitioner, below the

rank of lieutenant colonel have employment entitlements

similar to those granted civil service employees. While

the statute under which petitioner was terminated man-

dated the discharge or retirement of any officer twice

passed over for promotion to captain, major, or lieutenant

colonel (10 U.S.C. § 3303 (d) (1976)), Congress, when

enacting that provision, made it clear that the promotion

system was intended “to force out incompetent officers

only” and that “every qualified Army officer is, in effect,

assured of a career up to and including lieutenant colonel

grade. H.R. Rep. No. 640, Soth Cong., Ist Sess.,

reprinted at [1947] U.S. Code Cong. Serv. 1647, 1651.“

23 Indeed, the record below shows that, during a period recog-

nized by the Court of Claims as “highly competitive” for Army

officers, Sanders, supra, 594 F.2d at 821 (Nichols, J., concurring),

the three selection boards which passed over petitioner promoted,

respectively, 90.6, 82.1, and 80.8 percent of the candidates con-

sidered by them for promotion for the first time. A. 17a.

2 Section 3303(d), under which petitioner was terminated, was

recently repealed by § 204 of the Defense Officer Personnel Man-

agement Act and replaced by new statutory provisions which con-

tinue to require that twice-passed over officers be discharged or

Given this entitlement, due process requires, at the

very least, that petitioner be accorded the right to a full

post-termination trial to challenge the lawfulness of his

termination when his case is in a reviewing court.”

While the Court of Claims, on wholly separate grounds

(see pp. 14-16, supra), affords such a hearing, it has,

by refusing to give any weight to petitioner’s case, ren-

dered this procedural protection meaningless.

The question whether military personnel are entitled

to any procedural due process upon termination from the

armed services has been the subject of much debate in the

lower courts.“ The conflicting approaches by federal

retired. See note 13, supra. Under the new statute, however, if on

the date an officer would otherwise be discharged pursuant to these

provisions, he is within two years of qualifying for retirement, he

must be retained until qualified for retirement. Id., § 105, 10

U.S. C. A. §§ 631(a) (3), 632 (a) (3) (West Supp. 1980). Moreover,

captains and majors twice passed up for promotion may, in the

discretion of the Secretary and subject to the needs of the military,

be continued on active duty. Id., 10 U.S.C.A. § 637 (a). This new

statute thus provides expectations of continued employment over

and above the entitlements granted under pre-1980 law, which

“assured” competent officers “a career up to and including lieu-

tenant colonel grade.” [1947] U.S. Code Cong. Serv., supra, at 1651.

25 See, e.g., Vitek v. Jones, 445 U.S. 480, 494-97 (1980) (ad-

versarial hearing must be provided to prisoner prior to his in-

voluntary transfer to State mental hospital); Ingraham v. Wright,

430 U.S. 651, 672, 674-82 (1977) (due process is satisfied where

students subject to corporal punishment have available common law

judicial remedies to redress injuries should punishment be exces-

sive); Wolff v. McDonnell, 418 U.S. 539, 563-68 (1974) (prior to

taking of disciplinary actions against prisoners, prisoners must be

provided oral hearing with right to call witnesses and present

documentary evidence in their defense); Morrissey v. Brewer,

408 U.S. 471, 487-90 (1972) (prior to revocation of parole, parolee

must be accorded opportunity for adversarial hearing).

26 Compare Neal, supra, 639 F.2d at 1041 n.12 (dictum) (sug-

gesting due process rights); Buchanen, supra, 621 F.2d at 375-

80 (dictum) (showing entitlement to continued employment of

regular and reserved Naval officers); Rolles, supra, 512 F.2d at

1326-28 & n.19 (D.C. Cir. 1975) (dictum) (Wilkey, J.) (§ 1552

27

courts to this issue and the issue’s interrelationship with

the scope of review applied below are additional reasons

why this question is worthy of resolution by this Court.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this petition for a writ of

certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

I. MICHAEL GREENBERGER *

MICHAEL S. GIANNOTTO

SHEA & GARDNER

1800 Massachusetts Ave., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 828-2000

NEIL B. KABATCHNICK

Suite 860

1800 M Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 872-1051

Attorneys for Petitioner

* Counsel of Record

Of Counsel:

SHEA & GARDNER

1800 Massachusetts Ave., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

October 10, 1981

procedures are “constitutionally suspect”); Suro v. Padilla, 441

F. Supp. 14 (D.P.R. 1976) (finding due process right) with Lane

vy. Secretary of Army, 504 F. Supp. 39 (D. Md.), aff'd mem.,

639 F.2d 780 (4th Cir. 1980) (no right); Blevins v. Plummer,

613 F.2d 767 (9th Cir. 1980) (no right); Diliberti v. Brown, 583

F.2d 950 (7th Cir. 1978) (no right); Knehans v. Alexander, 566

F.2d 312 (D.C. Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 435 U.S. 995 (1978) (no

right); Pauls v. Secretary of Air Force, 457 F.2d 294 (ist Cir.

1972) (dictum) (no right). See also Colm v. Vance, 567 F.2d

1125, 1127-32 (D.C. Cir. 1977) (remand in similar statutory con-

text (i.e., foreign service officers) for property right determina-

tion). For a scholarly analysis contending that regular Army

officers are entitled to procedural due process, see Ford, Officer

Selection Boards and Due Process of Law, 70 Military L. Rev.

137 (1975).

xipuaddy

— |

f ourt, U.S.

R 1 — 6 s 5 Office 1 3

No. 81- ocT 9 1981

ALEXANDER L. STEVAS.

IN THE CLERK

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1981

JOHN M. GRIEG,

Petitioner,

v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

APPENDIX TO

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF CLAIMS

I. MICHAEL GREENBERGER *

MICHAEL S. GIANNOTTO

SHEA & GARDNER

1800 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 828-2000

NEIL B. KABATCHNICK

Suite 860

1800 M Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 872-1051

Attorneys for Petitioner

* Counsel of Record

Of Counsel:

SHEA & GARDNER

1800 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

October 10, 1981

— — —

WILSON - Erts PrinTtiNG Co.. INc. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON. D.C. 20001

APPENDIX TABLE OF CONTENTS

A. Grieg v. United States, No. 258-78 (Ct. Cl., January

28, 1981)

Grieg v. United States, No. 258-78 (Tr. Div. Ct. Cl.,

April 14, 1980) 6 T

In re: Grieg, (Army Board for Correction of Mili-

tary Records, 1977) 9 od

. Letter to John M. Grieg from Major J. Slone, Eval-

uation Report Branch, U.S. Army Military Person-

nel Center (February 27, 1974) (informing peti-

tioner of decision of Army Special Review Board)..

. Grieg v. United States, No. 258-78 (Ct. Cl., May 15,

1981) (denying petitioner’s motion for rehearing

and rehearing en bane)

Grieg v. United States, No. A-80 (U.S. Sup. Ct.

August 3, 1981) (extending time to file — for

writ of certiorari)

G. Excerpts from Relevant Statutes

. Excerpts from Department of the Army Regula-

7

. Excerpts from S. Res. 274, 96th Cong., Ist Sess.,

125 Cong. Rec. 816588 (daily ed. Nov. 14, 1979),

as amended by S. Res. 389, 96th Cong., 2d Sess., 126

Cong. Rec. 82942 (daily ed. March 25, 1980)

Page

la

67a

la

APPENDIX A

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF CLAIMS

No. 258-78

(Decided January 28, 1981)

JOHN M. GRIEG

v.

THE UNITED STATES

Neil B. Kabatchnick, attorney of record, for plaintiff.

Louis R. Davis, with whom was Assistant Attorney

General Alice Daniel, for defendant. Lynn J. Bush, at-

torney of record. Major Scott Magers, Department of

the Army, of counsel.

Before KASHIWA, BENNETT, and SMITH, Judges.

OPINION

BENNETT, Judge, delivered the opinion of the

court:

This is a military pay case in which plaintiff seeks to

have the court void an OER and then grant further re-

lief as a result of that correction of plaintiff’s military

records. We conclude that it would be improper to void

the OER. Therefore, we hold for defendant. In doing

so, we reverse the decision of the trial judge but accept

2a

most of his findings. Such findings of fact as are neces-

sary to our decision are stated herein. This case again

presents to the court important questions concerning our

jurisdiction and permissible scope of review. It is on the

interpretation and application of guidelines which have

been laid down for the resolution of these cases that we

respectfully differ with the learned trial judge. We think

he has exceeded the court’s authority. On the appealing

facts of plaintiff’s case, it is tempting to do so. But,

we must be ever mindful that this is a court of limited

jurisdiction.

Plaintiff entered on extended active duty on October 4,

1958, as a second lieutenant in the Army Reserve. He

served on active duty thereafter continuously until No-

vember 1, 1973, reaching the rank of temporary

major. He was an officer in the Regular Army almost

all of this time and achieved a record noted for com-

petent and faithful discharge of duty. He was dis-

charged on November 1, 1973, pursuant to statute, after

he was twice considered but not selected for promotion

to the permanent grade of major. His claim is that the

promotion nonselections were due to an erroneous officer

effectiveness report (OER) covering the period from

November 17, 1967, to February 20, 1968. He seeks back

pay, correction of his records, promotion, placement on

the retired list, and ancillary relief. Plaintiff has sought

and been denied administrative relief by the Army under

AR 623-105 and by the Army Board for the Correction

of Military Records. The board considered plaintiff's

application in executive session. He was not granted a

hearing until he came to the court. His suit is timely.

The court rejects the trial judge’s findings numbered 43(c)

through 43(i), 44, 48(b) through 48(k), and his conclusion of law.

The court’s task in review of the record has been made unneces-

sarily difficult by defendant's failure to comply with our Rule

143(c) which requires that, “At the end of each exception to find-

ings of fact, appropriate references shall be made to the parts of

the record relied upon in support thereof.”

Plaintiff was an Infantry officer who performed two

tours of duty in Vietnam, and as leader of a Special

Forces team was awarded the Bronze Star Medal, among

others. Thereafter, and after completing an advanced

Infantry officer career course at Fort Benning, Georgia,

he was assigned to the Army Arctic Test Center at Fort

Greely, Alaska. There he was made a test officer in the

Infantry Airborne and Individual Equipment Test Divi-

sion. Lt. Col. Alfred E. Williams was his division chief.

Maj. Herbert Lee Gregg was senior test officer of the

division and was plaintiff's OER rater. Lt. Col. Wil-

liams was plaintiff’s OER indorser.

While at Fort Greely in August 1967, plaintiff re-

ceived alert orders that he was being assigned to Viet-

nam for a third tour there and that he was to report

no later than December 28, 1967. Plaintiff’s wife and

infant child had accompanied him to Fort Greely. His

wife was upset at the prospect of a third tour in Viet-

nam because she was expecting another child in Decem-

ber 1967. She also knew of other officers who had not

been called upon to do so much duty in Vietnam and

resented what she believed was unjust treatment of her

husband. Plaintiff was made aware of these feelings in

no uncertain terms and, agreeing with her, tendered his

resignation from the Army. The resignation was not

accepted because of the continuing military need for his

special qualifications. However, supplemental orders

were issued changing his reporting date for the Vietnam

assignment to March 25, 1968. He performed that third

tour with distinction, winning two Oak Leaf Clusters

for his Bronze Star.

There is no dispute about the high quality of plaintiff’s

service prior to receipt of the Vietnam alert notice. The

OER rendered on his performance of duty from Novem-

ber 17, 1967, to February 20, 1968, however, contained

some criticism. While praising plaintiff’s superior tech-

4a

nical competence and stating that in the rating period

he had performed his assigned duties in a superior man-

ner, the rater’s comment also stated, in pertinent part:

After the tests were completed, MAJ Greig failed

to prepare the reports of tests in the proper format

or within the required time frame. When ques-

tioned about the progress that he was making on

the reports, he displayed a very negative attitude.

Plaintiff’s indorser, Lt. Col. Williams, added the fol-

lowing comments on the OER:

MAJ Grieg was a superior officer until he received

his orders to Vietnam. The last 30 days that he was

assigned to this Test Division his dependability was

seriously affected. He conducted two arctic service

tests during the test season and gathered adequate

test data. One of the test reports he wrote had to

be completely rewritten by other officers of this Test

Division; the other test report had to have major

modifications and corrections made on it. MAJ

Grieg is capable of producing superior test reports

as indicated by the reports he submitted for the

previous test season. During MAJ Grieg’s last 30

to 45 days that he was assigned to this test division

he displayed a very negative attitude toward the

The rater and indorser testified at the court trial and

reiterated their views as expressed on plaintiff’s OER.

Plaintiff’s testimony denied the factual accuracy of these

comments and represented that because of his prospective

departure from the Test Center that he, in fact, acceler-

ated his work and completed it in proper form and content

well before his scheduled departure date, and in sufficient

time for its review by the division review board. At the

trial, plaintiff’s testimony was supported by that of a

former subordinate, Jack C. Cook, Jr., and by Mrs. Grieg.

5a

It is a fact that the review board found with respect to

one of plaintiff’s reports that it should include certain ad-

ditional data plaintiff had developed, and amended it ac-

cordingly. Also, the reports were prepared in final form

for distribution prior to plaintiff’s departure from the

Test Center.

The Army Electronics Command in a communication

dated February 5, 1968, commended plaintiff’s perform-

ance, referring among other things to his “great personal

sacrifice’ and to the “outstanding manner“ in which

plaintiff and his assistant cooperated to prevent delay

and overcome technical difficulties. The communication

concluded with the statement, “The very eminently satis-

factory manner in which this mission was accomplished

reflects most highly on Major Grieg’s * * * capabilit[y]

and * * * devotion to our nation’s defense.” The fore-

going commendation was forwarded to plaintiff by the

commanding officer of the Test Center, Col. Nabors, with

a covering communication which praised plaintiff’s per-

formance and congratulated him “for a job outstandingly

well done.”

Plaintiff was considered but not selected for promotion

to the permanent grade of major by Army selection

boards that convened on January 24, 1972, and January

31, 1973. He was passed over for promotion to the tem-

porary grade of lieutenant colonel, AUS, by a selection

board that convened on September 5, 1972. Pursuant

to law he was therefore discharged on November 1, 1973.

On plaintiff’s application he was appointed a major in

the Army Reserve on October 12, 1973. The trial judge

found that the principal factor in plaintiff’s being passed

over for promotion was the comparatively low OER that

was rendered on him for the last 3 months of this tour

of duty as a member of the division at the Test Center,

Fort Greely, Alaska. Plaintiff received three OERs while

at the Test Center. His composite score on the first one

6a

was 203.7. The second was 209.1. The third one, here

in issue, was 166.0. This represented a decline of 37.7

points compared with the first OER and 43.1 points when

compared with the second. The low OER was the lowest

composite score on any OER for plaintiff during his

entire military service. Excluding this one OER, his com-

posite scores for his entire service averaged 202.2. The

low OER was prepared after plaintiff left Fort Greely

and he did not see it until 1972 when he made inquiry

after being passed over for promotion in that year.

Plaintiff’s first challenge to the OER for the period

November 17, 1967, to February 20, 1968, was on October

5, 1973, when he sought a correction of his record under

the provisions of 10 U.S.C. § 1552 (1976) and AR 15-

185 by an appeal to the Army Board for the Correction

of Military Records. He did not pursue this appeal im-

mediately because, as later discussed, he first sought to

exhaust other administrative relief within the Army

itself. However, he amended his appeal to the board when

the other avenue of relief was unsuccessful and his ap-

plication was considered on October 19, 1977, by the

board in executive session. By letter of November 23,

1977, plaintiff was advised that the application for cor-

rection of his records was denied. The board decision

stated, in part:

DISCUSSION: From a review of the applicant’s entire

OER file it does appear that the OER in question

i. e., for the period from 17 November 1967 to 20

February 1968] may have been the determining

factor for his non-selection to the grades of Major-

RA and LTC-AUS.

The board memorandum concluded with the remark

that “the OER reflects a valid appraisal of the appli-

cant’s manner of performance during the period.”

Plaintiff also filed, on February 7, 1974, an appeal

under the provisions of AR 623-105 seeking to void the

Ta

low OER. The Infantry Branch of the Army did not

support the appeal. A special review board in the office

of the Deputy Chief of Staff for Personnel considered the

appeal and rejected it on Febraury 27, 1974. It had be-

fore it plaintiff’s representations and his record, and con-

sidered a memorandum furnished by Lt. Col. Williams,

which was abbreviated in a so-called case summary that

was very derogatory. In part it stated:

b. MAJ Grieg was truly outstanding until he re-

ceived word that he was to be reassigned to Viet-

Nam, then he practically quit work. He spent most

of time and energy attempting to get out of the Nam

assignments. He spent considerable working time

in telephoning DA and congressmen, and writing

letters. “He flat went to pieces.” Appellant told LTC

Williams that he (MAJ Grieg) had a way out in

that his wife would divorce him and refused to take

their child; therefore, the Army would not send him

to Viet-Nam. His attitude was negative.

e. With respect to appellant’s test reports, they

were late in submission and in such condition that

they had to be worked over. In fact LTC Williams

had to redo some of the testing because the data was

not complete. The format wasn’t the problem, it was

the substantive deficiencies that appellant was

faulted for, LTC Williams did not ask MAJ Grieg

to redo any of the work because it would not have

done any good. The rework was done by several

officers including the rater and indorser.

When the trial judge considered the documentary record

in the case and the testimony presented to him, he re-

jected everything that did not support plaintiff’s claim.

He found the adverse statements on the OER by the

rater and indorser factually inaccurate and as indicating

a “prejudicial state of mind” toward plaintiff, “evidently

due to the Vietnam assignment and the plaintiff’s attempt

to avoid it by submitiing his resignation.” He found

8a

that the OER for the contested period “did not represent

an accurate, objective, fair, or just evaluation of plain-

tiff’s performance during such period.” He concluded

that the OER was “unfair and unjust” and “prejudicial”

and that the record did not disclose any factor other than

the challenged OER that might have caused plaintiff's

passovers by the 1972 and 1973 permanent major selec-

tion boards. In this connection he noted the correction

board’s own statement that the weak OER “may have

been the determining factor for his non-selection.” Upon

these determinations the trial judge reached this con-

clusion: “Therefore, legal error was committed when the

1972 and 1973 permanent major selection boards based

their pass-overs of the plaintiff on records which contained

the unfair and unjust OER for the period from November

17, 1967, through February 20, 1968.” [Emphasis sup-

plied.] The trial judge has recommended that the court

award plaintiff back pay for active duty he would have

performed had he not been illegally discharged, for back

retired pay, and for the correction of his records to re-

move the contested OER and passovers. Promotion, of

course, was correctly denied as beyond the court’s

jurisdiction.

The trial judge has repeatedly referred to the result

in plaintiff’s case before the correction board and selec-

tion boards as “unfair and unjust,” i.e. an “injustice”

which he equates with legal error, as shown by the above

quotation from his opinion. He cites just two cases in

support of his proposition. Riley v. United States, 221

Ct. Cl. . , 608 F.2d 441, 443 (1979), and Skin-

ner V. United States, 219 Ct. Cl. 322, 330-31, 594 F.2d

824, 829 (1979). Those cases do not support the proposi-

tion that the court can overturn selection boards and cor-

rection boards because something that they have done or

failed to do is simply “unfair and unjust.” Those were

cases in which pure legal error was committed and there

are many cases proclaiming our jurisdiction to correct

such errors. Capt. Riley was passed over for promo-

tion because of two OERs which were voided by a review

board. The correction board refused his request to

remove the passovers. This was legal error because un-

der the statutes, 10 U.S.C. §§ 3442 (e), 8442(c) (1976),

an officer is entitled to be considered on a record that

accurately portrays his career. The record was erroneous

by the decision and admission of the Air Force itself. It

was also shown that with these illegal OERs out of his

file plaintiff was in the competitive zone for promotion.

The legal error in Skinner was the illegal use of com-

mand influence on the rater, arising from information

the rater and indorser confessed was erroneous. This

violated the same statutes as in Riley. The court in

Skinner ruled:

* * * It takes more than an unfair rating or simple

injustice to merit our consideration or judicial relief.

It must be an unlawful act made so by violation of

statute, or regulation, or published mandatory pro-

cedure, or unauthorized act, or so unsupported by

the evidence as to be a gross injustice, unlawful be-

cause of clear legal or factual error, manifest abuse

of discretion, or arbitrary and capricious action

amounting to bad faith or fraud, and seriously preju-

dicial. [Citations omitted.] [219 Ct. Cl. at 333, 594

F.2d at 830.]

The same day that Skinner was decided, the court en

banc decided Sanders v. United States, 219 Ct. Cl. 285,

594 F.2d 804 (1979). In that case there was also plain

legal error. The correction board removed certain im-

proper OERs from Capt. Sanders’ file but did not re-

move, as he requested, the passovers that they had oc-

casioned. Had it done so, it was evident he would have

been promoted because he was next in line for it. The

court unanimously concluded that he had been discharged

by reason of legal error. An officer is entitled to the pay

of the position to which he was appointed until legally

removed. 37 U.S.C. § 204 (1976).

10a

The Sanders court did not entirely rule out the possi-

bility that somewhere down the road in the future there

might be such an error or injustice so shocking to the

conscience and ignored by a correction board that evi-

dence could show it rose to the level of legal error neces-

sary for the court to remedy it. As yet, the court has

encountered no such cases, post Sanders and Skinner.

One thing is clear, the court cannot itself correct a simple

injustice or direct a correction board to do so, without

the correction implementing a money judgment. Black

v. United States, Ct. Cl. No. 238-74 (order entered April

18, 1980). Correction boards have the authority by stat-

ute to remove or correct an error or injustice. 10 U.S.C.

§ 1552(a) (1976). The statute says: “Except when pro-

cured by fraud, a correct under this section is final and

conclusive on all officers of the United States.” An ex-

ample of the correction of an injustice may be illustrated,

for instance, where the board orders a promotion or

changes the character of a soldier’s discharge from dis-

honorable to honorable as a matter of clemency to cor-

rect a factual but not necessarily a legal error. The

court cannot do this because it does not involve a mone-

tary claim, but is equitable in nature. The court said

in Sanders:

Once a plaintiff has sought relief from the

Correction Board, such plaintiff is bound by that

board’s determination unless he can meet the diffi-

cult standard of proof that the Correction Board’s

decision was illegal because it was arbitrary, or ca-

pricious, or in bad faith, or unsupprted by substan-

tial evidence, or contrary to law, regulation, or

mandatory published procedure of a substantive na-

ture by which plaintiff has been seriously preju-

diced, and money is due. [219 Ct. Cl. at 298, 594

F.2d at 811.]

lla

The court also said in that case:

* * * To recover for failure to correct an alleged

injustice, such as perhaps based on gross material

error of fact or an action contrary to all evidence,

it must be proved that such failure was arbitrary

and capricious, or in bad faith, or contrary to law,

or without rational basis, seriously prejudicial to

plaintiff, and with monetary consequences. In such

event, the abuse of administrative discretion rises to

the level of legal error which merits judicial relief.

These are comparatively rare cases. [Citations

omitted.] Perhaps they are infrequent because the

proof must overcome the strong, but rebuttable, pre-

sumption that administrators of the military, like

other public officers, discharge their duties correctly,

lawfully, and in good faith. [Citations omitted.]

Strong policies compel the court to allow the widest

possible latitude to the armed services in their ad-

ministration of personnel matters. * * * Thus, while

we may disagree with a correction board about

whether or not a specific situation was unjust, we

will not substitute our judgment for the board’s

when reasonable minds could reach differing conclu-

sions. Snell v. United States, 168 Ct. Cl. 219, 227

(1964). [Sanders, 219 Ct. Cl. at 301-02, 594 F.2d

at 813-14.]

Ccacurring in the Sanders result but writing sepa-

rately, Judge Nichols, joined by Judge Smith, would not

admit that there was any right to judicial review except

for legal error. Claims of “injustice” were described as

moral claims for clemency, but not within the court’s

jurisdiction to decide or to require the correction board

to decide “no matter how arbitrary or capricious, in

merely moral cases.” 219 Ct. Cl. at 319, 594 F.2d at

823 (Nichols, J., concurring). The majority opinion ac-

knowledged this difficulty in stating:

12a

Where a correction board fails to correct an in-

justice or a passover is challenged but a back pay

claim has not arisen, plaintiff’s remedies, if any,

would be in the district court by mandamus, 28

U.S.C. § 1361, or declaratory judgment, 28 U.S.C.

§ 2201. [Sanders, 219 Ct. Cl. at 296 n.10, 594 F.2d

at 810 n.10.]

It is unnecessary here to belabor these now well-settled

rules of law and to cite or discuss the cases supporting

the same, as set forth in the precedents cited above. What

is necessary now is to see if plaintiff has met the strict

and difficult tests of Skinner and Sanders, subsequently

reaffirmed in several decisions, including the recent one

of Hary v. United States, 223 Ct. Cl. -—, 618 F.2d

704 (1980).

We think without doubt that plaintiff has failed to

meet the tests. The trial judge has not shown us that

what he found to be an unjust OER amounted to legal

error. He weighed the testimony of plaintiff and his

wife, of plaintiff’s friend and subordinate, Mr. Cook, and

the evidence of the commendation of the Electronics Com-

mand and its indorsement by an officer not in the rating

chain for this particular OER, compared the challenged

OER with others plaintiff received, and concluded that

there was substantial evidence of prejudice and error of

fact so as to make an “unfair and unjust” OER into one

written in legal error. He also gave weight to the specu-

lation of the correction board that the OER “may have

been the determining factor for his nonselection” to the

grade of major, but he did not note that the correction

board also said that the OER constituted a “valid ap-

praisal” of plaintiff’s performance of duty during the

rating period which it covered. “A finding of probable

error or injustice cannot be based on mere speculation.”

Hary v. United States, supra, 223 Ct. Cl. at —— n.18,

618 F.2d at 711 n.18.

13a

The trial judge heard the evidence, evaluated plain-

tiff’s performance, and concluded that the OER for the

period in dispute did not accurately reflect plaintiff’s

performance. A contrary conclusion would have been

equally plausible and well supported. As defendant per-

suasively argues, the Army Electronics Command com-

mendation of plaintiff’s work and the letter by the Test

Center commander, Col. Nabors, which forwarded that

commendation to the plaintiff, do not represent an evalu-

ation of plaintiff’s performance for officer effectiveness

report purposes. Those personnel were not legally re-

sponsible for monitoring plaintiff’s work from day to

day, and making an evaluation of that work for the

military.

Similarly, plaintiff’s record for prior and subsequent

periods cannot negate the evaluation for the OER period

in dispute. The rater and indorser recorded their evalua-

tion of plaintiff’s performance for that period. These

were the individuals who had the legal responsibiilty to

rate plaintiff and who were in a position to observe his

performance on a daily basis. They exercised their dis-

cretion and judgment in rendering the evaluation, and

their evaluation is entitled to a presumption of correct-

ness. Hary v. United States, supra, 223 Ct. Cl. at ——,

618 F.2d at 707; Guy v. United States, 221 Ct. Cl. ——,

——, 608 F.2d 867, 870 (1979); Sanders v. United

States, supra, 219 Ct. Cl. at 302, 594 F.2d at 813. The

rater and indorser reiterated and reaffirmed their criti-

cism of plaintiff’s performance during the rating period

in issue when they testified in this court. As the court

stated in Guy v. United States, supra, 221 Ct. Cl. at

——, 608 F. ad at 870-71:

perfect objectivity in the rating process can-

not be expected or even hoped for. The process of

evaluating officers by other officers is an inherently

subjective process which neither the military boards

14a

nor this court will interfere with unless there is elear

and convincing evidence of factors adversely affect-

ing the ratings which had no business being in the

rating process. * [Emphasis in original.]

See also, Hary v. United States, supra, 223 Ct. Cl. at

——, 618 F.2d at 708. There is no evidence that such

improper factors affected the challenged OER.

In addition, the trial judge seems to have approached

this case as one in which he could evaluate the plaintiff’s

performance during the period from November 17, 1967,

to February 20, 1968, and reach a conclusion based

solely on the weight of evidence as he saw it. However,

the Army Board for the Correction of Military Records

decided that the OER in question represented a “valid

appraisal” of the plaintiff’s performance for the period

in question. That conclusion is entitled to finality un-

less arbitrary, or capricious, or unsupported by the evi-

dence. Skinner v. United States, supra, 219 Ct. Cl. at

332, 594 F.2d at 830. As the court stated in Cooper v.

United States, 203 Ct. Cl. 300, 304-05 (1973): +

* * * This court cannot overturn the * * de-

cisions of the Army Board for the Correction of

Military Records unless they are found to be ar-

bitrary, capricious, and not based upon substantial

evidence, or are contrary to applicable laws and reg-

ulations. Dorl v. United States, 200 Ct. Cl. 626, cert.

denied, 414 U.S. 1032 (1973). This showing re-

quires cogent and clearly convincing evidence. New-

man V. United States, 185 Ct. Cl. 269, 276 (1968) ;

Stephens v. United States, 174 Ct. Cl. 365, 372, 358

F.2d 951, 954 (1966). There is a strong presump-

tion that the board and the Secretary faithfully dis-

charged their duties and the burden is upon plain-

tiff to prove otherwise. Callan v. United States,

196 Ct. Cl. 392, 450 F.2d 1121 (1971); Biddle v.

United States, 186 Ct. Cl. 87 (1968). * * *

15a

The trial judge does not appear to have evaluated the

evidence in light of that standard of review. The failure

of the trial judge to analyze the evidence within the

proper scope of review deprives his recommended opin-

ion of the presumption of correctness to which it would

otherwise be entitled. In addition, the passage of years,

11 years from the performance evaluated to the date of

trial in this court, weighs heavily against the plaintiff’s

efforts to overcome the OER. Slight variations between

the evaluation 11 years ago and the rater and indorser’s

testimony in this court must be expected, given the lapse

of time and the frailty of human memory. But, the

plaintiff must establish a “misstatement of a significant

hard fact,” Hary v. United States, supra, 223 Ct. Cl.

at ——, 618 F.2d at 708, or “gross material error of

fact or an action contrary to all evidence,” Sanders v.

United States, supra, 219 Ct. Cl. at 301, 594 F.2d at

813, or that the decision of the correction board is “so

unsupported by the evidence as to be a gross injustice,”

i.e., clearly erroneous, Skinner v. United States, supra,

219 Ct. Cl. at 333, 594 F.2d at 830. Plaintiff has simply

failed to meet its burden in this case in order to over-

come the OER and the correction board decision.

The cold reality of the situation is that it will always

be difficult to overcome the discretionary judgments and

evaluations by the rater and indorser, especially many

years after the performance was reported. However, this

is as it should be. This court is not here to second-guess

them. Further, “we will not substitute our judgment for

the board’s when reasonable minds could reach differing

conclusions.” Sanders v. United States, supra, 219 Ct. Cl.

at 302, 594 F.2d at 814. We do not run the military

services. Orloff v. Willoughby, 345 U.S. 83 (1953). The

court said in Reale v. United States, 208 Ct. Cl. 1010,

1013, cert. denied, 429 U.S. 854 (1976) :

Plaintiff sees us as made into a sort of super

Correction Board by Pub. L. 92-415, supra. We do

l6a

not agree. We are given power to order correction

of records, and reinstatement but only to make the

relief complete as to matters within our jurisdiction,

not to exercise discretion for the Service Secre-

taries and take over the functions of Correction

Boards.

Any course other than the one stated would permit an

officer to challenge his OERs by bringing in his self-

serving testimony and that of his wife and friends not

in the rating chain, to upset those OERs, and thus render

the entire military promotion and rating system a farce

by destroying its integrity. Show us a clear, legal error

and we can cope with it. We do not have one here. There

was substantial evidence to support the OER as given

to plaintiff. It was not, therefore, arbitrary and ca-

pricious for the correction board not to change it. It is

the rater’s view that counts in the end, absent legal

error. OERs are discretionary matters in which the

court must be scrupulous about its intervention. Boyd

v. United States, 207 Ct. Cl. 1, cert. denied, 424 U.S. 911

(1976). In the face of the presumption that the OER

is correct because the rater is presumed to have acted

in good faith, “plaintiffs must do more, to invoke court

intervention, than merely allege or prove that an OER

seems inaccurate, incomplete, or subjective in some

sense.” Hary v. United States, supra, 223 Ct. Cl. at

——, 618 F.2d at 708. And, as further stated in the

latter case, “merely because the Correction Board voids

an OER, it is not automatically obligated to void any

passover emanating from a selection board that had a

defective OER before it. The officer must show that the

presence of the defective OER made his whole record

before the selection board something less than ‘substan-

tially complete and fair.’” Here, unlike in Skinner, for

instance, there is no concession by the rater or indorser

that the rating was factually wrong. Also, this case is

17a

unlike Sanders because in that case the correction board

had voided four OERs. Further, there is no showing

of plaintiff’s relative standing to others waiting in line

for promotion or at what point there was a “cutoff.”

The best we have is the correction board’s speculation

that the challenged OER might have made a difference.

But, since it stated also that the OER was correct we

cannot give plaintiff back pay. Except for an inference

of potential prejudice by the rater, not supported by this

record, the fact that this fine officer had better ratings

before and after the challenged OER is of no legal mo-

ment nor of probative value as to the rating period cov-

ered by the one OER with which he is dissatisfied. A

clear nexus between the OER and plaintiff’s serious pos-

sibility of promotion is lacking in the record. Cf. Guy

v. United States, supra. The statistics supplied in the

findings of the trial judge show that several hundred

officers were considered but not selected by the permanent

major selection boards that considered plaintiff for pro-

motion on January 24, 1972, and January 31, 1973, as

follows:

1972 1973

CO a 1917 1922

ET eS 1652 1480

Percent selected “ 86.2 77.0

“Fresh Zone” considered? 1721 1774

“Fresh Zone” selected ............... 1560 1457

Percent “Fresh Zone” selected .........................- 90.6 82.1

* Officers considered for the first time.

The statistics for the September 5, 1972, temporary

lieutenant colonel selection board that considered, but did

not select, plaintiff are even more striking:

Number considered sta — =

Number selected = Se

Percent selected . Se

“Fresh Zone“ considered . SS OE Oe 850

“Fresh Zone” selected ——

Percent “Fresh Zone” selected n 80.8

18a

We think plaintiff can derive small comfort from these

statistics. Plaintiff’s main argument is that since the

trial judge saw the witnesses and had a chance to judge

their credibility, and the correction board had no hear-

ing, the presumption in favor of the decision and findings

of the trial judge has to be decisive. Indeed, it would

be if he found a legal error. But, his conclusion that

what he believed to be an “unfair and unjust” OER is

necessarily legal error is not supported by the statutes,

regulations, or prevailing case law. In his zeal to do

justice as he saw it, he innocently went beyond the per-

missible scope of review by acting as a correction board

and by substituting his judgment of plaintiff’s perform-

ance of duty for that of the plaintiff’s rating and in-

dorsing officers, reflected on the OER, which constituted

substantial evidence before the board, even though some

aspects thereof might be subject to differences of opinion

between reasonable minds.“ Under the law, as set forth

in our cases, this is not good enough to constitute legal

error which would permit the court to overturn the ad-

ministrative determination, as plaintiff here requests.

Plaintiff argued this case to the trial judge as if this

court were sitting as a super correction board with

authority to correct what are merely alleged inaccuracies

in a challenged OER. We read the trial judge’s opinion

as adopting that view. The trial judge said that:

A military officer is legally entitled to be con-

sidered by a selection board for promotion on the

basis of a record that fairly portrays the career of

the officer in the military service.

2 When the trial judge drafted his recommended opinions, he had

the benefit of the plaintiff's 276-page proposed findings of fact and

brief. However, he did not have before him any proposed findings,

brief, or response from the defendant. See the court’s previous

order in this case. Grieg v. United States, Ct. Cl. No. 258-78 (order

entered May 9, 1980). Thus, the one-sidedness of the record before

the trial judge may have contributed to the outcome below.

19a

In this he was correct. The law provides that appoint-

ments to higher grades are to be made on a “fair and

equitable basis,” 10 U.S.C. §§ 3442 (e), 8442 (e) (1976).

However, this laudable, legal standard does not auto-

matically convert every factual error to legal error. The

plaintiff’s claim in this case relies upon proof that the

challenged OER was materially in error so as to war-

rant judicial relief. But, as we have shown, reasonable

minds can differ on the evidence here. Where that is

so, we can go no further. We have analyzed the case

under the proper standards for granting relief for factual

error and conclude that the evidence was insufficient to

overturn the presumptions which support the OER in

this case. Therefore, the petition is dismissed.

20a

APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF CLAIMS

TRIAL DIVISION

No. 258-78

(Filed April 14, 1980)

JOHN M. GRIEG

v.

THE UNITED STATES

Military pay; officer efficiency rating; selection

board pass-overs; release from active duty; cor-

rection board; damages.

Neil B. Kabatchnick, attorney of record, for plaintiff.

LeRoy Southmayd, Jr., with whom was Assistant At-

torney General Alice Daniel, for defendant.

OPINION *

WHITE, Senior Trial Judge: The plaintiff, who served

on extended active duty as an Army officer for more

than 15 years, sues in the present case because of the

allegedly wrongful termination of his extended active

duty on November 1, 1973. At the time of such termina-

tion, the plaintiff was a member of the Regular Army,

* The trial judge’s recommended decision and conclusion of law

are submitted in accordance with Rule 134(h).

21a

serving in the permanent grade of captain and in the

temporary grade of major. He was released from active

duty because he had been passed over twice by selection

boards, first in 1972 and subsequently in 1973, for pro-

motion to the permanent grade of major in the Regular

Army.

The plaintiff alleges that the two pass-overs mentioned

in the preceding paragraph, and the resulting release

from active duty, where due to an erroneous and unjust

officer efficiency rating (“OER”) which was rendered

on the plaintiff for the period from November 17, 1967,

to February 20, 1968, and which was among the papers

before the 1972 and 1973 selection boards when they

considered the plaintiff for promotion to the permanent

grade of major.

On October 5, 1973, the plaintiff filed with the Army

Board for Correction of Military Records (“the Board“)

an application for the correction of his military records

under the provisions of 10 U.S.C. § 1552 and Army Reg-

ulation 15-185. In the application, as amended, the plain-

tiff requested (among other things): the voiding of the

OER for the period from November 17, 1967, to Feb-

ruary 20, 1968; the voiding of the plaintiff’s failure of

selection for promotion to the permanent grade of major

by the 1972 and 1973 selection boards; and the correction

of the plaintiff’s military records to show that he was

selected for promotion to the permanent grade of major

by the 1972 selection board and was thereafter promoted

to the permanent grade of major, with a designation of

an appropriate date of rank.

The plaintiff’s application was considered on October

19, 1977, by the Board in executive session. The applica-

tion was denied by the Board, without granting the plain-

tiff a hearing on this application.

22a

The present action was instituted by the plaintiff on

May 26, 1978.

During the critical period that is involved in the pres-

ent litigation (i.e., from November 17, 1967, to February

20, 1968), the plaintiff was assigned to duty as a test

officer in the Infantry, Airborne, and Individual Equip-

ment Test Division (“the Division”) at the Army’s

Arctic Test Center (“the Test Center“), Fort Greely,

Alaska. This assignment began in June 1966.

Before reporting to the Test Center in June 1966, the

plaintiff’s professional career as an Army officer had

been quite successful. This had included two tours of

duty in Vietnam. The first tour of duty there was as

an Infantry officer from December 2, 1961, until No-

vember 26, 1962. The second tour of duty in Vietnam

was for a 6-month period that began in the latter part

of 1963 and extended into 1964. During this 6-month

period, the plaintiff was the leader of a Special Forces

team operating in the Vietnamese jungle (the Army

Special Forces being an elite element that specializes in

counter-insurgency operations in hostile territory). On

the basis of his performance as the leader of the Special

Forces team, the plaintiff was awarded the Bronze Star

Medal for “distinguishing himself by outstanding meri-

torious service in connection with ground operations

against a hostile force.”

After completing in June 1965, a tour of duty in

Okinawa as a member of the Ist Special Forces Group,

the plaintiff was assigned to Fort Benning, Georgia,

where he took and successfully completed the advanced

Infantry Officers Career Course. Upon graduating from

this course, the plaintiff was assigned to the Test Cen-

ter; and, as previously indicated, he reported for duty

there in June 1966.

23a

The plaintiff was accompanied to Alaska by his wife

and their one child, who was approximately 2 months

old at the time.

The plaintiff’s work as a test officer at the Test Cen-

ter prior to November 17, 1967, was highly regarded by

his superiors. The OER that was rendered on the plain-

tiff for the period from June 2, 1966, to June 1, 1967,

gave the plaintiff a composite score of 203.7; and his

OER for the period from June 2, 1967, to November

16, 1967, gave him a composite score of 209.1.

By contrast, the OER that was rendered on the plain-

tiff for the period from November 17, 1967, to February

20, 1968, gave the plaintiff a composite score of only

166.0, which was, by a substantial margin, the lowest

composite score on any OER for the plaintiff during his

entire military service. Adverse comments were added

to the OER by the rater and the indorser. These com-

ments related to events which occurred after the plain-

tiff learned in August 1967 that he was being ordered

back to Vietnam for further duty and would be required

to report there not later than December 28, 1967.

As the plaintiff’s wife was expecting to give birth to

their second child in December 1967 (when the plaintiff

was supposed to go to Vietnam for the third time), as

their first child was not yet 16 months old, and as the

plaintiff's wife was acquainted with other Army officers

who had less service in Vietnam than the plaintiff, the

plaintiff's wife was upset and angry over what she

regarded as the unfair and unjust treatment of her hus-

band on being ordered back to Vietnam for a third

tour of duty. She conveyed her feelings to the plaintiff.

On August 14, 1967, the plaintiff tendered to the

Department of the Army, through channels, his unquali-

fied resignation as an Army officer, “to be effective by

June 1968 or earlier.”

24a

After submitting his formal resignation, the plaintiff

telephoned the Infantry Officers Assignment Branch at

Army Headquarters in Washington, D.C., and orally in-

formed that office regarding the submission of his resig-

nation. The Assignment Branch responded that the plain-

tiff’s resignation would not be accepted. The plain-

tiff then orally requested that the date for his reporting

to Vietnam be postponed in view of the expected birth

of a child to his wife in December 1967; and the plain-

tiff was advised that a postponement of his reporting

date would be granted. Later, the plaintiff’s resigna-

tion as an Army officer was formally rejected by the

Department of the Army.

On October 18, 1967, supplemental orders were issued

which changed the date on which the plaintiff was to

report in Vietnam from December 28, 1967, to March

25, 1968. These orders further provided that the plain-

tiff and his dependents were to depart from Fort Greely

on February 20, 1968, for Chicago, Illinois; and that the

plaintiff, after a month’s leave, was to report on March

23, 1968, to a designated Army base on the West Coast

for transportation to Vietnam.

When the plaintiff learned definitely that his resigna-

tion from the Army was not accepted, and that it would

be necessary for him to go back to Vietnam for another

tour of duty in any event, he undertook to accelerate

the completion of the assignments on which he was work-

ing at the Test Center, so that they could be completed

before February 20, 1968, the date on which he and his

family were to leave Alaska.

The plaintiff’s principal assignments at the time re-

lated to the testing under arctic conditions, evaluating,

and reporting on a “starlight scope,” which was a night-

vision system to enhance the ability of Infantry per-

sonnel to see in the nighttime, and a survival kit for use

by Infantry personnel. The plaintiff was in charge of

25a

these projects. Under normal operating conditions at the

Test Center, the testing of the items mentioned would

have been accomplished during the winter months of

1967-68, and the preparation of the reports would have

been undertaken in about April 1968, after the end of

the severe winter weather in the Fort Greely area of

Alaska. Because of the plaintiff’s prospective departure

from the Test Center on February 20, 1968, the plain-

tiff, after completing the testing of the starlight scope

and the survival kit in the field, promptly began the

preparation of his reports. By accelerating the work, he

was able to complete the reports in draft form well in

advance of his February 20 departure date, and in suf-

ficient time for the Division review board (which con-

sisted of all the Division officers, other than the chief

of the Division, and included the plaintiff) to review the

reports, in accordance with the customary procedure,

prior to the plaintiffs departure.

The Division review board (which included the plain-

tiff) devoted a period of days to the draft reports which

the plaintiff had prepared on the starlight scope and on

the survival kit. The review board found the draft re-

port on the starlight scope to be satisfactory, both as to

format and as to content. With respect to the draft

report on the survival kit, the review board found it

to be satisfactory as to format, but concluded that it

did not include certain data which the plaintiff had de-

veloped during the testing process and which other mem-

bers of the review board regarded as pertinent to the

evaluation of the item. Such data were included in the

report by the review board.

By virtue of the plaintiff’s action in accelerating the

preparation of the draft reports on the starlight scope

and the survival kit, and the intensive work on the re-

ports done by the Division review board (which included

the plaintiff), the reports were completed in final form

26a

and typed on mats (for reproduction and distribution)

prior to the time when the plaintiff left the Test Center.

The work done by the plaintiff (and another officer

who assisted him) in connection with the testing of the

starlight scope was commended by the Army Electronics

Command in a communication dated February 5, 1968.

This communication referred (among other things) to

the “great personal sacrifice” of the plaintiff (and his

assistant) and to the “outstanding manner” in which the

plaintiff (and his assistant) cooperated to prevent delay

and overcome technical difficulties. The communication

concluded with the statement that “The very eminently

satisfactory manner in which this mission was accom-

plished reflects most highly on Major Grieg’s * * * ca-

pabilit[y] * * * and * * * devotion to our nation’s

defense.”

The commendation mentioned in the preceding para-

graph was forwarded to the plaintiff by the command-

ing officer of the Test Center, with a covering

communication which stated in part as follows:

2. It is apparent from the attached correspondence

that your contribution to these tests does indeed

merit recognition. You can be justifiably proud to

have completed the tests with the many unexpected

difficulties due to major design deficiencies. Your

resourcefulness and tenacity in the collection of ad-

ditional data will permit the design engineers to

improve upon the items tested.

3. I add to Mr. Thonen’s comments that your

entire tenure as a test officer has been worthy of

such recognition, all tests having been conducted

under adverse conditions which you overcame to suc-

cessful'y complete your assignments. Please accept

my congratulations for a job outstandingly well done.

The plaintiff’s career-low OER for the period from

November 17, 1967, to February 20, 1968 (which was

27a

prepared after the plaintiff’s departure from Alaska and

not shown to him) was, of course, inconsistent with the

commendations from the Army Electronics Command and

from the commanding officer of the Test Center that

covered the plaintiff’s performance during the same period

of time.

As previously stated, the OER in question contained ad-

verse comments by the rater and indorser. Such com-

ments will be set out separately and commented on in the

light of the evidence adduced at the trial.

The rater stated (among other things) that “after the

tests [on the starlight scope and the survival kit] were

completed, MAJ Grieg failed to prepare the reports of

tests in the proper format or within the required time

frame.” This statement was not correct. The Division

review board found that both reports were prepared in

the proper format. Also, the reports, instead of being

delinquent as to time, were prepared by the plaintiff

ahead of the customary time schedule.

The rater also stated on the OER that “When ques-

tioned about the progress that he [the plaintiff] was

making on the reports, he displayed a very negative at-

titude.” This statement was not correct. The plaintiff

made a special effort to complete the reports ahead of the

usual time schedule; he made good progress in this re-

spect; there was no occasion to question him about

progress; and the statement that he displayed a nega-

tive attitude in the matter is contradicted by the evidence

in the record.

The indorser stated (among other things) on the OER

that “The last 30 days that he [the plaintiff] was as-

signed to this Test Division his dependability was seri-

ously affected.” This statement was not correct. It is

contradicted by the evidence in the record.

28a

The indorser also stated on the OER that “One of the

test reports he [the plaintiff] wrote had to be completely

rewritten by other officers of this Test Division * * *.”

This statement was not correct. Neither of the plaintiff's

draft reports was completely rewritten by other officers

of the Division.

The indorser further stated that “the other test report

had to have major modifications and corrections made on

it.” This statement was misleading. What happened was

that the Division review board decided that additional

data, which the plaintiff had developed, should be in-

cluded in one report, and this was done.

The indorser also stated on the OER that “During

MAJ Grieg’s last 30 to 45 days that he was assigned to

this test division he displayed a very negative attitude

toward the Army.” This statement was not correct. It

was evidently based on the circumstance that the plain-

tiff submitted his unqualified resignation as an Army

officer under the circumstances previously outlined in the

opinion, i. e., the plaintiff understood that he would have

to leave for a third Vietnam tour of duty in the same

month when his wife was expected to give birth to their

second child, and he was acquainted with other Army

officers those length of service in Vietnam did not equal

the time that he had already spent there.

The several adverse statements on the OER by the

rater and the indorser that were factually inaccurate

indicate a prejudicial state of mind at the time toward

the plaintiff; and this was evidently due to the Vietnam

assignment and the plaintiff’s attempt to avoid it by sub-

mitting his resignation. It was not any actual deficiency

in the plaintiff’s performance of duty during the period

from November 17, 1967, to February 20, 1968, that

led the rater and indorser to give the plaintiff a career-

low OER for such period.

29a

The evidence in the record shows, and it is found, that

the OER for the period from November 17, 1967, to

February 20, 1968, did not represent an accurate, ob-

jective, fair, or just evaluation of plaintiff’s performance

during such period.

It perhaps should be mentioned that the plaintiff, after

leaving the Test Center, actually served in Vietnam on a

third tour of duty from March 25, 1968, to March 10,

1969. During this tour of duty, he was assigned to the

82nd Airborne Division; and he was awarded two Oak

Leaf Clusters for his Bronze Star Medal on the basis

of meritorious service.

Upon concluding his 1968-69 tour of duty in Vietnam,

the plaintiff served for approximately 4 years in Europe,

first with the Seventh Army in Germany and then with

the Southern European Task Force of the Army in

Italy.

After the plaintiff was passed over twice by selection

boards for promotion to the permanent grade of major,

he was returned to the United States in order that his

required release from active duty might be accomplished

in this country. The release occurred on November 1,

1973.

A military officer is legally entitled to be considered by

a selection board for promotion on the basis of a record

that fairly portrays the career of the officer in the mili-

tary service. Sanders v. United States, 219 Ct. Cl. ——,

——, 594 F.2d 804, 814 (1979); Riley v. United States,

221 Ct. Cl. ——, ——, 608 F.2d 441, 443 (1979). There-

fore, legal error was committed when the 1972 and 1973

permanent major selection boards based their pass-overs

of the plaintiff on records which contained the unfair and

unjust OER for the period from November 17, 1967,

through February 20, 1968. Skinner v. United States,

219 Ct. Cl. » , 594 F.2d 824, 829 (1979); Riley

v. United States, supra, 221 Ct. Cl. at ——, 608 F.2d

at 443.

Of course, a harmless error committed in the selection

process would not be actionable. Guy v. United States,

221 Ct. Cl. » , 608 F.2d 867, 872 (1979); Riley

v. United States, supra, 221 Ct. Cl. at ——, 608 F.2d at

443-44. Harmless error, in this respect, means that, ac-

cording to the evidence, it is unlikely that the officer

against whom an error in the selection process was com-

mitted would have been promoted in any event. Sanders

v. United States, supra, 219 Ct. Cl. at ——, 594 F.2d

at 818.

In the present case, the evidence in the record does not

disclose any factor, other than the unfair and unjust OER

for the period from November 1“, 1967, to February 20,

1968, which might have caused the plaintiff’s pass-overs

by the 1972 and 1973 permanent major selection boards.

As previously stated, the plaintiff’s composite rating of

166.0 on that OER was, by a substantial margin, the

lowest composite rating ever received by the plaintiff

during his entire service as an Army officer. Excluding

the OER for the period from November 17, 1967, to Feb-

ruary 20, 1968, the composite scores on the OER’s that

were rendered on the plaintiff during his entire active

military service averaged 202.2. In this situation, it

must necessarily be concluded that the 1972 and 1973

pass-overs by the permanent major selection boards were

due to the unfair and unjust OER for the period from

November 17, 1967, to February 20, 1968, and therefore,

that this OER was highly prejudicial to the plaintiff in

causing the two pass-overs and his release from extended

active duty. Cf. Sanders v. United States, supra, 219 Ct.

Cl. at ——, 594 F.2d at 815; Riley v. United States,

supra, 221 Ct. Cl. at ——, 608 F.2d at 444.

In this connection, it may appropriately be noted that

the Board, in denying the plaintiff’s application for

the correction of his military records with respect to the

pass-overs by the 1972 and 1973 permanent major selec-

3la

tion boards, stated that “the OER in question i. e., for

the period from November 17, 1967, to February 20,

1968] may have been the determining factor for his non-

selection * 2

Under the circumstances, the failure of the Board to

void the unfair and unjust OER and to remove from

the plaintiff’s records the two pass-overs by the 1972 and

1973 permanent major selection boards must be regarded

as constituting arbitrary and capricious action, as un-

supported by substantial evidence, and as contrary to law.

Yee v. United States, 206 Ct. Cl. 388, 397, 512 F.2d 1383,

1387 (1975) ; Riley v. United States, supra, 221 Ct. Cl. at

, 608 F.2d at 444.

As the plaintiff’s two pass-overs for promotion to the

permanent grade of major were based upon the illegal

decisions of the 1972 and 1973 selection boards, the plain-

tiff's release from active duty because of such pass-

overs was illegal. Yee v. United States, supra, 206 Ct.

Cl. at 398, 512 F.2d at 1388; Riley v. United States,

supra, 221 Ct. Cl. at ——, 608 F.2d at 443.

The plaintiff, having been illegally released from active

duty on November 1, 1973, is entitled under 37 U.S.C.

§ 204 to recover an amount representing the active duty

pay and allowances of the grade (major) in which he

was then serving, such pay and allowances to cuver the

period beginning on November 2, 1973, and extending

until such time as he would have been released from

active duty in the absence of the illegal pass-overs by the

1972 and 1973 permanent major selection boards, less

proper off-sets. Sanders v. United States, supra, 219 Ct.

Cl. at ——, 594 F.2d at 810. It appears, in this con-

nection, that the plaintiff, in the absence of the two illegal

pass-overs from promotion to the permanent grade of

major, would not have been released from active duty

32a

until he qualified on October 4, 1976, for retired pay on

the basis of length of service.

The plaintiff is also entitled to recover an amount rep-

resenting the retired pay of a major from the date on

which he would have been retired—i.e., October 5, 1976—

until the date of judgment.

In the petition, the plaintiff seeks an order from the

court directing the Secretary of the Army to correct the

plaintiff’s military records so as to show that the plaintiff

was selected for promotion to the permanent grade of

major by the 1972 permanent major selection board and

was thereafter promoted to the permanent grade of

major; that the plaintiff was selected for promotion to

the temporary grade of lieutenant colonel by the tem-

porary lieutenant colonel selection board that met on Sep-

tember 5, 1972, and was subsequently promoted to the

temporary grade of lieutenant colonel; and that the

plaintiff thereafter retired in the grade of lieutenant

colonel on October 5, 1976. These portions of the

prayer in the plaintiff’s petition cannot be granted by

the court. As the plaintiff has not shown that he was en-

titled, as a matter of legal right, to the promotions

which he now seeks, the court does not have jurisdiction

to grant such promotions. Yee v. United States, supra,

206 Ct. Cl. at 399, 512 F.2d at 1388; Sanders v. United

States, supra, 219 Ct. Cl. at ——, 594 F.2d at 816; Guy

v. United States, supra, 221 Ct. Cl. at ——, 608 F.2d

at 874.

1 The temporary lieutenant colonel selection board of September

1972, in considering and passing over the plaintiff for promotion

to temporary lieutenant colonel, did so on the basis of records

that contained the unfair and unjust OER for the period from

November 17, 1967, to February 20, 1968.

33a

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. Plaintiff is a citizen of the United States and a

resident of the State of Maryland.

2. (a) Plaintiff was born on 21 July 1931 in Chicago,

Illinois. He was 46 years of age at the time of the

filing of the petition on 26 May 1978.

(b) Plaintiff is married and has two children.

(e) Plaintiff’s social security number and service

number is 3 34-26-9139.

3. (a) Plaintiff served in an enlisted status in the

Army Reserve (but not on active duty) from 25 No-

vember 1952 to 25 February 1954.

(b) Plaintiff served on extended active duty in an en-

listed status from 26 February 1954 to 24 February

1956.

4. (a) Following the period of active military duty

referred to in finding 3(b), plaintiff served in an enlisted

status in the Army Reserve (but not on active duty) from

25 February 1956 to 13 June 1958. During the latter

period, plaintiff was a student at Iowa State University.

He was a member of the Army Reserve Officers’ Training

Corps (“ROTC”) at that institution.

(b) Plaintiff graduated from Iowa State University

in 1958 with a bachelor of science degree in agriculture.

(e) By virtue of his work in the ROTC program,

plaintiff was rated as a Distinguished Military Graduate

upon his graduation from Iowa State University; and on

14 June 1958 he was appointed a 2nd Lieutenant in the

Army Reserve.

5. (a) Plaintiff entered on extended active duty on

4 October 1958 as a 2nd Lieutenant in the Army Reserve.

He served on active duty thereafter continuously until 1

November 1973.

34a

(b) Plaintiff was appointed a 2nd Lieutenant, Regu-

lar Army, on 27 April 1959, with date of rank of 21

July 1958.

(e) Plaintiff was promoted to the temporary and

permanent grade of Ist Lieutenant on 1 February 1960

and 21 July 1961, respectively.

(d) Plaintiff was promoted to the temporary and perm-

anent grade of Captain on 30 November 1962 and 21

July 1965, respectively.

(e) Plaintiff was promoted to the temporary grade of

Major on 3 February 1967.

6. Plaintiff’s extended active duty was terminated on

1 November 1973 under circumstances that will be out-

lined in subsequent findings. At the time of his release,

he had completed 17 years, 0 months, and 27 days of

active military service.

7. (a) Plaintiff’s basic branch is Infantry.

(b) Among others, plaintiff has been awarded the

following Military Occupational Specialties (“MOS”):

Field Artillery Unit Commander (1193), awarded 6

October 1958; Infantry Unit Commander (1542),

awarded 29 March 1960; Training Center Unit Officer

(2622), awarded 9 May 1960; Special Forces Officer

(31542), awarded 8 May 1964; Adjutant (2110),

awarded 26 July 1964; Nuclear Weapons Training

Officer (51542), awarded 19 November 1965; Operations

and Training Staff Officer (2162), awarded 22 September

1969; Service Test Officer (2040), awarded 10 August

1970; Ranger Parachutist (81542), awarded 14 March

1972; and Personnel Staff Officer (2260), awarded 12

September 1972.

8. (a) Plaintiff completed the following course work

while serving on extended active duty: Field Artillery

35a

Officers Basie Course (17 weeks), completed 1959; In-

fantry Officers Basie Course (10 weeks), completed 1959;

Ranger Course (9 weeks), completed 1961; Motor Trans-

port Officers Course (9 weeks), completed 1961; Air-

borne Course (4 weeks), completed 1961; Counterinsur-

gency Officers Course (6 weeks), completed 1961; and

Infantry Officers Career Course (36 weeks), completed

1966.

(b) Plaintiff has also completed Phase III of the Com-

mand and General Staff College course.

9. Plaintiff was awarded the Ranger Tab (31 March

1961) and Parachutist Badge (20 September 1961).

10. Among others, plaintiff has been awarded the Com-

bat Infantryman Badge (1964); Bronze Star Medal

(1964), with two Oak Leaf Clusters (1968 and 1969);

Army Commendation Medal (1968), with Oak Leaf

Cluster (1973) ; Air Medal (1969) ; and Meritorious Serv-

ice Medal (1973, for service during the period from 30

April 1969 to 6 August 1973).

11. Plaintiff was sent to Vietnam in the latter part of

1961 for an initial tour of duty in that country. This

tour of duty began on 2 December 1961 and continued

until 26 November 1962.

12. Upon completing the 1961-62 tour of duty in Viet-

nam, plaintiff volunteered for service in the Special Forces

of the Army, an elite element whose primary assignment

is to train for and, if necessary, to participate in counter-

insurgency operations in hostile territory. Plaintiff's ap-

plication was accepted, and he was assigned to the Ist

Special Forces Group in Okinawa. His tour of duty in

Okinawa extended from 26 November 1962 to 22 June

1965.

13. (a) During the period while Okinawa was plain-

tiff’s regular duty station, he was sent back to Vietnam

on a 6-month temporary tour of duty as the leader of a

36a

Special Forces team. The members of the team para-

chuted into the Vietnamese jungle; and thereafter they

engaged in combat operations during the 6-month tour of

duty, which covered the last 3 months of 1963 and the

first 3 months of 1964.

(b) Plaintiff was awarded the Bronze Star Medal for

“distinguishing himself by outstanding meritorious serv-

ice in connection with ground operations against a hostile

force in the Republic of Vietnam during” the period men-

tioned in paragraph (a) of this finding. The citation

for the award further stated:

Through his untiring efforts and professional ability,

he consistently obtained outstanding results. He

was quick to grasp the implications of new prob-

lems with which he was faced as a result of the ever

changing situations inherent in a counterinsurgency

operation and to find ways and means to solve those

problems. The energetic application of his extensive

knowledge has materially contributed to the efforts of

the United States Mission to the Republic of Vietnam

to assist that country in ridding itself of the com-

munist threat to its freedom. His initiative, zeal,

sound judgment and devotion to duty have been in

the highest tradition of the United States Army and

reflect great credit on him and on the military

service.

14. While in Okinawa, plaintiff married his wife, an

American citizen who was working in Okinawa at the

time as a school teacher. The marriage occurred on 1

June 1963. It was the first marriage for both.

15. (a) Upon concluding the 1962-65 tour of duty

in Okinawa, plaintiff was assigned to Ft. Benning,

Georgia, where he took and completed the advanced In-

fantry Officers Career Course over a period of 36 weeks.

(b) A son, the first child of the plaintiff and his wife,

was born at Ft. Benning, Georgia, on April 29, 1966.

37a

16. (a) After graduating from the Infantry Officers

Career Course at Ft. Benning in 1966, plaintiff was as-

signed to the Arctic Test Center of the Army at Ft.

Greely, Alaska (“the Test Center’’).

(b) Plaintiff and his family arrived at Ft. Greely in

June 1966.

(e) Plaintiff’s assignment to the Test Center began on

22 June 1966 and continued to 21 February 1968.

(d) The plaintiff was accompanied to Alaska by his

wife and infant son.

17. (a) Upon reporting to the Test Center, plaintiff

was assigned to duty as a Test Officer in the Infantry,

Airborne, and Individual Equipment Test Division (“the

Division”) at the Test Center.

(b) The Division was subdivided (at least de facto)

into four branches: i.e., the Small Arms Branch, which

was concerned with direct-fire weapons used by the In-

fantry; the Mortar Branch, which was concerned with

indirect-fire weapons used by the Infantry; the Individ-

ual Equipment Branch, which was concerned with items

of equipment to be worn by an individual soldier; and

the Airborne Branch, which was concerned with special

items of equipment to be utilized by Airborne personnel.

(e) Throughout the period while plaintiff was assigned

to the Division, Lt. Colonel Alfred E. Williams (“LTC

Williams”) was Chief of the Division.

(d) Throughout the period while plaintiff was as-

signed to the Division, he was Chief of the Mortar (or in-

direct fire) Branch. During the latter part of plaintiff's

assignment to the Division, he was also Chief of the Air-

borne Branch, and thus for a time supervised two

branches of the Division.

(e) Another branch chief in the Division was Major

Herbert Lee Gregg (“Major Gregg”), who was Chief of

38a

the Small Arms Branch. Effective 17 November 1967,

Major Gregg was also designated as Senior Test Officer

in the Division, because he was, by virtue of his date of

rank as Major, the senior officer in the Division (except

for LTC Williams, Chief of the Division).

18. (a) As the mission of the Division was to test

and evaluate various items of equipment under arctic

conditions, the customary procedure was to conduct the

tests at field stations within the Ft. Greely area during

the winter months, when the most severe weathe condi-

tions (50° below zero, or lower) prevailed in Alaska, and

then to begin the preparation of test reports in late

April or May, after the weather began to moderate.

(b) The customary procedure within the Division for

the preparation of a test report was for the branch chief

who had conducted or supervised the testing to type a

rough draft of the proposed report. The draft would be

considered by a review board (sometimes referred to as

the “murder board”), consisting of all the officers in the

Division, including the drafter of the report but exclud-

ing the Division Chief. The members of the review board,

meeting together, would consider, make comments on, and

suggest changes in the report with respect to matters

of content, grammar, ete. After the review board finished

with the report, it was customarily presented to the Di-

vision Chief for approval or disapproval. If approved by

the Division Chief, the report would be sent to the Test

Center’s typing pool, which would type the report on

mats for reproduction. After the mats were checked

within the Division for typographical errors, the report

would be signed by the Commanding Officer of the Test

Center, and it would then be forwarded to the Army’s

Test and Evaluation Command at Aberdeen Proving

Ground, Maryland, for reproduction and distribution.

19. (a) Plaintiff and his family made a trip from

Alaska to Japan in the summer of 1967. They returned

to Ft. Greely in August 1967.

39a

(b) When plaintiff returned to Ft. Greely in August

of 1967 from the trip to Japan, he found awaiting him

an official notice from the Department of the Army alert-

ing him to the fact that he was being ordered to Vietnam

for further duty, and that he was to report there not

later than 28 December 1967. As plaintiff had already

served in Vietnam on two occasions, once for a l-year

tour of duty and again for a 6-month tour of duty, and

as he knew other Regular Army officers with less service

in Vietnam, plaintiff believed that the message concern-

ing a prospective third tour of duty in Vietnam for him

had been issued by the Department of the Army through

an administrative mistake. He went to the Personnel

Office at Ft. Greely to discuss the matter, and was in-

formed that an inquiry would be made to the Depart-

ment of the Army about the possibility of a mistake.

A day or two later, plaintiff was informed by the Per-

sonnel Office that the alert notice was valid, and that he

was supposed to go to Vietnam in December 1967.

20. (a) At the time when plaintiff was notified in

August 1967 that he would be sent to Vietnam for an-

other tour of duty beginning in December 1967, plain-

tiff’s wife was pregnant with their second child. This

was a planned pregnancy, as plaintiff and his wife an-

ticipated that, in accordance with Army policy, plain-

tiff’s assignment to Ft. Greely would continue for at

least 2 years and that the family would be together at

the time of the birth and during the early infancy of

the second child. It was expected that the second child

would be born in December 1967.

(b) The first child of plaintiff and his wife was ap-

proximately 15 months old at the time when plaintiff and

his wife learned in August 1967 that plaintiff would

be sent back to Vietnam in December 1967.

21. (a) Plaintiff's wife was upset and angry over

what she regarded as the unfair and unjust treatment

40a

of her husband in being ordered back to Vietnam for

a third time, when other officers of her acquaintance

had less service in Vietnam. This feeling was inten-

sified because of the family situation, i. e., her first child

was only about 16 months old and she was pregnant

with the second child, whose birth was expected in De-

cember 1967, the month when her husband was supposed

to go back to Vietnam.

(b) Plaintiffs’ wife conveyed her feelings to plaintiff.

22. Under the date of 14 August 1967, plaintiff ten-

dered to the Department of the Army, through channels,

his unqualified resignation as an Army officer, “to be

effective by June 1968 or earlier.” The letter of resigna-

tion stated in part as follows:

2. I desire to tender my resignation because of

extreme compassionate circumstances and personal

family problems.

6. I do desire appointment in the United States

Army Reserve. Application attached.

23. (a) After plaintiff submitted his formal resigna-

tion to the Department of the Army through channels,

he telephoned the Infantry Officers Assisgnment Branch

at Army headquarters in Washington, D.C., and orally

informed the Assignment Branch regarding the submis-

sion of his resignation.

(b) Plaintiff was advised orally by the Assignment

Branch that his resignation would not be accepted.

(e) Plaintiff then orally requested that the date for

his reporting in Vietnam be postponed in view of the

expected birth of a child to his wife in December 1967.

Plaintiff was orally advised by the Assignment Branch

that a postponement of his reporting date would be

granted.

4la

(d) The telephone call referred to in this finding was

the only telephone call that plaintiff made to the Depart-

ment of the Army with respect to his prospective assign-

ment to Vietnam.

24. Plaintiff did not make any telephone call to any

Member of Congress with respect to his prospective as-

signment to Vietnam.

25. On 21 September 1967, plaintiff’s wife wrote a

letter to Senator Everett McKinley Dirksen in Wash-

ington, D.C. The letter stated in part as follows:

Too many [other officers] have never been

[to Vietnam] to merit my husband risking his life

once again for a situation that truly cannot be con-

sidered in defense of America itself. We are both

proud to do our part, both as a soldier in combat and

as a wife waiting at home, trying to be both mother

and father, trying to make his assignment go by

more quickly, and trying to keep his personality and

warmth alive for this [sic] babies, but enough is

enough. We feel we have met our commitment in

this current crisis more than amply. I feel it is

time that all families in the military circuit should

do their part, but that this particular hardship

should be passed around and shared. If, indeed, this

isn’t enough, perhaps it is time part of our stand-

ing reserve force help out the professional forces

158 04 while I still have my husband. I feel, too,

it is time for some of the other ladies to do their

share as I have done, with their husbands to put in

eighteen months as mine has done, before there is

another involuntary assignment to Viet Nam from

our family. It is this very situation of inequity of

combat assignments among career army officers and

the callous manner and lack of consideration for our

personal family problems shown to us by the in-

42a

fantry assignment branch which prompted my hus-

band to put in his resignation.

I am writing to you personally as we have ex-

hausted all other possibilities for help. I am sick

with fear that my having written to you will result

in my husband still having to go to Viet Nam, but

having his assignment altered so he will be in con-

stant danger. Please help us, Sir.

26. The letter referred to in finding 25 was replied

to by Senator Dirksen on 28 September 1967, as follows:

Although I can understand the concern expressed

in your good letter of the 21st, because of your hus-

band’s status as a commissioned officer and his

length of service I would be most reluctant to in-

itiate any official inquiry on his behalf without a

specific request from him.

However, if he feels there is some manner in

which I can be helpful with regard to the situation

you described, I would be happy to have him so

advise me.

27. Following the receipt of the letter from Senator

Dirksen, plaintiff wrote the following letter to Senator

Dirksen on 2 October 1967:

I have read the letter you sent my wife on 28

September 1967. We have the feeling you are try-

ing to warn us about something without stating so.

There are two specific questions I have about your

letter: Are you saying that if an official inquiry

were made, it would have an adverse effect on my

present situation while on active duty and that in

reality it wouldn’t do anything constructive in get-

ting my resignation accepted? Am I doing some-

thing illegal which could result in a dishonorable

43a

discharge or a court martial by seeking Senatorial

help?

If the answers to my questions are “no”, then I

request that you make an official inquiry about my

resignation. The point in question is why the army

won’t accept my resignation when I have met all

of the requirements of the army regulation for

resignation. I feel it unjust to keep me on active

duty when neither a national emergency nor a

declaration of war has been made. It is in the best

interests of my family that I leave the service at

this time; however, the army seems unconcerned

with my reasons for resignation, insisting that I be

separated from my family.

Please advise me.

28. Except for the letter referred to in finding 27,

plaintiff did not write any letter to any Member of

Congress with respect to his prospective assignment to

Vietnam.

29. (a) Plaintiff’s resignation as an Army officer was

rejected by the Department of the Army in a communi-

cation dated 28 September 1967 from the Adjutant Gen-

eral to plaintiff. This communication stated in part as

follows:

1. Current military requirements mke [sic] it

necessary that the Department of the Army exercise

a selective retention program for officer personnel.

* *

2. Vour resignation was considered in light of

that poliey and it was determined that overriding

military needs in your grade and branch required

your retention on active duty. You have therefore

been retained until June 1969. You may, if in the

future you still desire to be separated, resubmit your

resignation through channels in accordance with AR

44a

635-120 to be effected on or after the mentioned

date. *

(b) The communication from the Adjutant General

was transmitted to plaintiff through channels, and was

received by him on or about 17 October 1967.

30. On 18 October 1967, supplemental orders were

issued which changed the date on which plaintiff was

to report in Vietnam from 28 December 1967 to 25

March 1968, These orders further provided that plain-

tiff and his dependents were to depart from Ft. Greely,

Alaska, on 20 February 1968 for Chicago, Illinois; and

that plaintiff, after a month’s period of leave, was to

report on 23 March 1968 to a designated Army base on

the West Coast for transportation to Vietnam.

31. On 14 November 1967, plaintiff submitted to the

Adjutant General of the Army, through channels, a re-

quest that his unqualified resignation as an Army officer

be withdrawn.

32. The second child of plaintiff and his wife was

born in Alaska on 18 November 1967.

33. When plaintiff learned definitely that his resigna-

tion from the Army was not accepted, and that it would

be necessary for him to go to Vietnam for another tour

of duty in any event, he undertook to accelerate the

completion of the assignments on which he was working

at Ft. Greely, so that they could be completed before

20 February 1968, the date on which he and his family

were to leave Alaska.

34. (a) Plaintiff’s principal assignments at Ft. Greely,

as of the time when he learned that he would be leaving

that installation on 20 February 1968, related to the

testing under arctic conditions, evaluating, and report-

ing on a “starlight scope,” which was a night-vision sys-

tem to enhance the ability of Infantry personnel to see

45a

in the nighttime, and a survival kit for use by Infantry

personnel. Under normal operating conditions (see find-

ing 18), the testing of these items would have been ac-

complished during the winter months of 1967-68, and

the preparation of the reports would have been under-

taken in about April 1968. Due to plaintiff’s prospective

departure from Ft. Greely on 20 February 1968, plain-

tiff, after completing the testing of the starlight scope

and survival kit in the field, promptly began the prepara-

tion of his reports and, by accelerating the work, was

able to complete the reports in draft form well in ad-

vance of his 20 February 1968 departure date and in

sufficient time for the Division review board (or “murder

board“) to review the reports, in accordance with the

customary procedure, prior to plaintiff’s departure.

(b) The Division review board, which was under the

chairmanship of Major Gregg and which included plain-

tiff but did not include the Division Chief, devoted a

period of days to the draft reports which plaintiff had

prepared on the starlight scope and on the survival kit.

The review board found plaintiff’s draft report on the

starlight scope to be satisfactory, both as to format and

as to content. With respect to the draft report pre-

pared by plaintiff on the survival kit, the review board

found it to be satisfactory as to format, but concluded

that it did not include certain data which plaintiff had

developed during the testing process and which other

members of the review board regarded as pertinent to

the evaluation process. Such data were included in the

report by the review board.

(e) On one or two occasions while the review board

was considering plaintiff’s draft reports on the starlight

scope and the survival kit, plaintiff suggested that mem-

bers of the board should quit work at 5:00 o’clock and

go home. When such suggestion was made, Major Gregg,

as chairman of the review board, responded that it was

46a

necessary to complete the preparation of the reports in

final form before plaintiff left Ft. Greely and, conse-

quently, board members should resume work on the re-

ports in the evening, after supper. Board members, in-

cluding plaintiff, returned to the Division building after

supper and resumed work on the reports.

(d) By virtue of plaintiff’s action in accelerating the

preparation of draft reports on the starlight scope and

the survival kit, and the intensive work on the reports

done by the Division review board, including plaintiff,

the reports were completed in final form and typed on

mats prior to the time when plaintiff left Ft. Greely on

20 February 1968, so that the reports could be repro-

duced and distributed.

35. (a) The work done by plaintiff and another of-

ficer in connection with the testing of the starlight scope

was commended by the Army Electronics Command in

a communication from that command dated 5 February

1968. The communication stated in part as follows:

2. As test officers during the testing of the

AN/PVS-2 and AN/TVS-4 by the Infantry Branch

these men were faced with many unexpected dif-

ficulties due to major design deficiencies. The na-

tural tendency would have been to stop all testing,

but these men exercising personal initiative and at

great personal sacrifice gave freely of their own

time in coordinating with the representative of this

office to resolve these deficiencies. The outstanding

manner in which Major Grieg and Captain Bar-

tholomew cooperated with the technical representa-

tive of this office was significant in the resolution of

problem areas in the equipments and permitted cor-

rective actions that prevented extensive delay in

overcoming technical difficulties.

3. Without the extra effort and disregard for

personal comfort and convenience shown by Major

47a

Grieg and Captain Bartholomew, this work could not

have been accomplished. The very eminently satis-

factory manner in which this mission was ac-

complished reflects most highly on Major Grieg’s and

Captain Bartholomew’s capabilities and their devo-

tion to our nation’s defense.

(b) The communication referred to in pargraph (a)

of this finding was forwarded to plaintiff by the Com-

manding Officer of the Test Center, with a covering

communication which stated in part as follows:

1. It is with pride and pleasure that I forward

the attached correspondence from Robert E. Thonen,

* * * concerning the outstanding manner in which

you conducted the testing of the AN/PVS-2 and the

AN/TVS-4.

2. It is apparent from the attached correspondence

that your contribution to these tests does indeed

merit recognition. You can be justifiably proud to

have completed the tests with the many unexpected

difficulties due to major design deficiencies. Your

resourcefulness and tenacity in the collection of ad-

ditional data will permit the design engineers to im-

prove upon the items tested.

3. I add to Mr. Thonen’s comments that your

entire tenure as a test officer has been worthy of

such recognition, all tests having been conducted

under adverse conditions which you overcame to

successfully complete your assignments. Please ac-

cept my congratulations for a job outstandingly well

done.

36. (a) Plaintiff served in Vietnam on a third tour

of duty from 25 March 1968 to 10 March 1969. During

this tour of duty he was assigned to the 82nd Airborne

Division.

(b) Plaintiff was awarded two Oak Leaf Clusters for

his Bronze Star Medal on the basis of meritorious service

48a

during two separate periods while serving in Vietnam

from March 1968 to March 1969.

37. (a) Upon concluding his 1968-69 tour of duty in

Vietnam, plaintiff was assigned to the Seventh Army in

Germany. He was accompanied by his family. Plaintiff

served in Germany for 3 years.

(b) Plaintiff volunteered for a continuing overseas

assignment, and was transferred from Germany to the

Southern European Task Force of the Army in Italy.

(e) The European assignments referred to in this

finding lasted from 3 May 1969 to 2 July 1973.

38. (a) Plaintiff was considered, but not selected, for

promotion to the permanent grade of Major in the

Regular Army by an Army selection board that con-

vened on 24 January 1972.

(b) Plaintiff was considered, but not selected, for pro-

motion to the temporary grade of Lt. Colonel, AUS, by

a selection board that convened on 5 September 1972.

(c) Plaintiff was considered, but not selected, for pro-

motion to the permanent grade of Major in the Regular

Army by a selection board that convened on 31 January

1973.

39. Upon being notified that he had been passed over

a second time for promotion to the permanent grade of

Major in the Regular Army and that he would be re-

leased from active duty because of this, plaintiff was,

at his request, reassigned to Aberdeen Proving Ground,

Maryland, to await his release from active duty.

40. On 1 November 1973, plaintiff’s extended active

duty in the Army was terminated because he had been

considered, but not selected, on two occasions for pro-

motion to the permanent grade of Major in the Regular

Army.

41. (a) On plaintiff’s application, he was appointed

a Major in the Army Reserve on 12 October 1973, in con-

nection with his release from extended active duty.

49a

(b) As a Major in the Army Reserve (not on active

duty aintiff's military assignment at the time of the

filing of the petition was as Group 8-4, 11th Special

Forces Group, lst Special Forces, Fort Meade, Maryland.

42. (a) The major factor in the plaintiff's being

passed over for promotion (see finding 38) was the com-

paratively low Officer Efficiency Rating (“OER”) that

was rendered on the plaintiff for the last 3 months of his

tour of duty as a member of the Division at the Test

Center, Ft. Greely, Alaska.

(b) Three OER’s were rendered on plaintiff in con-

nection with his performance as a Test Officer in the

Division at the Test Center. The first covered plain-

tiff’s performance from 2 June 1966 to 1 June 1967; the

second covered plaintiff’s performance from 2 June 1967

to 16 November 1967; and the third (i.e., the OER of

critical importance in the present case) covered plain-

tiff’s performance from 17 November 1967 to 20 February

1968.

(e) Plaintiff’s composite score on the first OER men-

tioned in paragraph (b) of this finding was 203.7.

(d) Plaintiff’s composite score on the second OER men-

tioned in paragraph (b) of this finding was 209.1.

(e) Plaintiff’s composite score on the third OER men-

tioned in paragraph (b) of this finding was 166.0, which

represented a decline of 43.1 points when compared with

the OER for 2 June - 16 November, 1967, and a decline

of 37.1 points when compared with the OER for 2 June

1966 - 1 June 1967.

43. (a) In the OER covering plaintiff’s performance

from 17 November 1967 to 20 February 1968, the rater,

Major Gregg, made the following comments:

MAJ John Miline [sic] Grieg, 085417, has per-

formed his assigned duties in a superior manner

during the rating period.

50a

MAJ Grieg displayed superior technical compe-

tence in conducting arctic winter environmental tests

on the Individual Aid and Survival Kit and the

Weapon-sight, Night Vision. Each test was con-

ducted in a manner that assured comprehensive use

of the test items under arctic winter conditions. The

thoroughness of these tests is reflected by the test

data that was recorded.

After the tests were completed, MAJ Grieg failed

to prepare the reports of tests in the proper format

or within the required time frame. When questioned

about the progress that he was making on the re-

ports, he displayed a very negative attitude.

This officer is exceptionally well versed in numer-

ous military respects and is proficient in the areas

that he enjoys or agrees with.

(b) The indorser, LTC Williams, on the OER for 17

November 1967 to 20 February 1968 made the following

comments:

MAJ Grieg was superior officer until he received

his orders to Vietnam. The last 30 days that he was

assigned to this Test Division his dependability was

seriously affected. He conducted two arctic service

tests during the test season and gathered adequate

test data. One of the test reports he wrote had to

be completely rewritten by other officers of this Test

Division; the other test report had to have major

modifications and corrections made on it. MAJ

Grieg is capable of producing superior test reports

as indicated by the reports he submitted for the pre-

vious test season. During MAJ Grieg’s last 30 to

45 days that he was assigned to this test division he

displayed a very negative attitude toward the Army.

(e) The statement by the rater that plaintiff failed to

prepare the reports of tests in the proper format was not

correct.

5la

(d) The statement by the rater that plaintiff failed to

prepare the reports of tests within the required time

frame was not correct.

(e) The statement by the rater that plaintiff, when

questioned about the progress that he was making on the

reports, displayed a very negative attitude was not

correct.

(f) The statement by the indorser that plaintiff’s de-

pendability was seriously affected during the last 30 days

of his assignment to the Division was not correct.

(g) The statement by the indorser that one of the test

reports prepared by plaintiff had to be completely rewrit-

ten by other officers of the Division was not correct.

(h) The statement by the indorser that the other test

report had to have major modifications and corrections

made on it was misleading, although the review board

decided that additional data which plaintiff had developed

should be included in one report.

(i) The statement by the indorser that plaintiff dis-

played a very negative attitude toward the Army during

the last 30 to 45 days of his assignment to the Division

was not correct.

(j) The OER for the period from 17 November 1967

to 20 February 1968 was prepared after plaintiff’s de-

parture from Ft. Greely, and plaintiff did not see it until

1972. After plaintiff learned that he had been passed over

for promotion to permanent Major in 1972, plaintiff

visited Army Headquarters in Washington, D.C., exam-

ined his personnel file, and noted the relatively poor OER

for the period from 17 November 1967 to 20 February

1968.

(k) Neither Maj. Gregg nor LTC Williams ever dis-

cussed with plaintiff while he was at Ft. Greely any sup-

posed deficiencies in his performance.

52a

44. The OER for the period from 17 November 1967

to 20 February 1968 did not represent an accurate, ob-

jective, fair, or just evaluation of plaintiff’s performance

during such period.

45. (a) The composite score of 166.0 on plaintiff’s

OER for the period from 17 November 1967 to 20

February 1968 was, by a substantial margin, the lowest

composite score on any OER for plaintff during his entire

military service.

(b) Excluding the OER for the period from 17 No-

vember 1967 to 20 February 1968, the composite scores

of the OER’s that were rendered on plaintiff during his

active military service averaged 202.2.

46. (a) On 5 October 1973, plaintiff filed with the

Army Board for Correction of Military Records (“the

ABCMR”) an application for the correction of his mil-

itary records under the provisions of 10 U.S.C. § 1552

and Army Regulations (“AR”) 15-185.

(b) In the application, plaintiff requested: the voiding

of his failure of selection for promotion to the permanent

grade of Major by the 24 January 1972 and 31 January

1973 selection boards; the correction of his records to

show that plaintiff was selected for promotion to the

permanent grade of Major by the 24 January 1972 selec-

tion board and thereafter promoted to the permanent

grade of Major, with a designation of an appropriate

date of rank; the voiding of plaintiff’s failure of selec-

tion for promotion to the temporary grade of Lieutenant

Colonel by the 5 September 1972 selection board; the

correction of plaintiff’s records to show that plaintiff was

selected for promotion to the temporary grade of Lieu-

tenant Colonel by the 5 September 1972 selection board

and thereafter promoted to the temporary grade of Lieu-

tenant Colonel, with a designation of an appropriate date

of rank; and such other and further relief as might be

deemed necessary or appropriate in order to accord

plaintiff full and complete relief.

53a

47. (a) On 7 February 1974, plaintiff filed an appeal

under the provisions of AR 623-105, in which he re-

quested that the OER for the period from 17 November

1967 to 20 February 1968 be voided and expunged from

his records.

(b) On 15 February 1974, plaintiff’s AR 623-105 ap-

peal was transmitted from the Evaluation Report Branch

of the United States Army Military Personnel Center,

thru the Infantry Career Branch, to the Special Review

Board in the Office of the Deputy Chief of Staff for

Personnel.

(e) In a comment dated 19 February 1974, the Chie

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.