Record and brief — Davis v. United States

Supreme Court brief1982

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

UOIag

Office - Supreme Court, U.S.

FILED

81-644 AUG 25 1981

No,

ALEXANDER L STEVAS.

a = ed

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1981

GLYNN RICHARD DAVIS,

Petitioner,

vs.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent,

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Robert M, Tyler, Jr. (Counsel of Record)

Blaine F, Evans

ELAM, BURKE, EVANS, BOYD & KOONTZ

P.O. Box 1559

Boise, ID 83701

Telephone: (208) 343-5454

ADLER, BARISH, LEVIN & CRESKOFF

Rohm & Haas Building

8th Floor, Lafayette Building

6th & Market Streets

Philadelphia, PA 19106

Telephone: (215) 923-8900

Attorneys for Petitiener

1, Where the federal government has

unique knowledge of potential risks to the

health of citizens who participate in gov-

ernment programs, what is the nature and

scope of the government's duty to inform

the public of those risks?

2. Whether accrual of a cause of ac-

tion within the meaning of 28 U.S.C.

§ 2401(b) is deferred where plaintiff's

failure to discover the cause of his in-

jury within two years of incurring it re-

sults from the government's acts in con-

cealing information essential to his cause

of action?

3. Whether the concealment doctrine

tolls the statute of limitations, 28 U.S.C.

§ 2401(b), where plaintiff's failure to

sue within two years of incurring an injury

results solely from the government's mis-

representations to the public and failure

to produce decuments sought by a subpoena

served on the government?

4. Whether the principles of equity

applicable to statutes of limitations pre-

clude the government from asserting a lim-

itations defense where the government has

concealed from the plaintiff information

necessary to predicate his claim against

the government?

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED .

OPINIONS BELOW.

JURISDICTION,

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE .

JURISDICTION IN THE COURT

OF FIRST INSTANCE .

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .

I.

Il.

ITl.

In the context of the statute

of limitations to the Federal

Tort Claims Act, this case pre-

sents an important question of

federal law concerning the na-

ture and scope of the govern-

ment's duty to inform the pub-

lic of risks associated with

government programs which en-

courage mass citizen participa-

tion. are ae

The decision below conflicts

with this Court's decision of

United States v. Kubrick, 100

$.Ct. 352 (1979). *

The decision below conflicts

with settled federal law which

tolls statutes of limitations

where the government conceals

from a plaintiff evidence which

is crucial to his cause of

hs + ee o> 6 oe 6 6 IN

iii

17

18

49

25

35

CONCLUSION. . . 2. 2 6 ee © © © 8 42

APPENDICES

Appendix A. A-1

Appendix B. A-19

Appendix C. A-21

Appendix D. A-22

Appendix E. A-25

Appendix F. A-27

Appendix G. A-51

Appendix H. A-56

Appendix I. A-59

Appendix J. A-62

Appendix kK. A-82

Appendix L. A-98

Appendix M. A-113

Appendix N. A-124

Appendix Oo. A-129

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Camire v. United States, 535 F.2d

749 (2a C Cir. 1976). ' ave

Davis v. Wyeth Laboratories, Inc.,

399 F.2d 121, 123 (9th Cir. 1968)

Gicas v. United States, 508 F.Supp.

217 (E.D.Wis. 1981)

United States v. Kubrick,

100 S.Ct. 352 (1979).

Marshall v. Kimberly-Clark Corp.,

625 F.2d 1300 (5th Cir. 1980)

Public Service of New Mexico v.

General Electric Co., 315 F.2d

_ oh gs ie gelatine

Rahn v. United States, 222 F. SupP

775 (S.D.Ga. 1961). . Bie

Spevack v. United States,

390 F.2d 977 (Ct.Cl. 1968).

Toal v. United States,

438 F.2d 222 (2d Cir. 1971)

Pages

25,

24,

37

38

Pages

Statutes:

Federal Tort Claims Act, 28 U.S.C.

|S: Se Beare ; . 17

Federal Tort Claims Act, 28 U.S.C.

ie oS a ’ gttccie ee ae

National Swine Flu Act of 1976,

a ce omeeee. ar EEn sé 6-60 et we 8 22

Regulations:

42 C.F.R. § 73.114(b)(1)(iii) .. . 6, 7

vi

No.

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1981

GLYNN RICHARD DAVIS,

Petitioner,

vs.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

OPINIONS BELOW

The Opinion of the Ninth Circuit

Court of Appeals was entered on April 20,

1981, and has been reported at 642 F.2d

328 (9th Cir. 1981). (Appendix A.) The

district court's order on defendant's

motion for Summary Judgment was entered

on March 29, 1977 (Appendix D), and is

not reported. The district court's judg-

ment granting the government summary

judgment was entered on the same day.

(Appendix E. )

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Ninth Circuit

Court of Appeals was entered on June 22,

i981. (Appendix C.) The order of the

Ninth Circuit denying a timely petition

for rehearing and rejecting the sugges-

tion for rehearing en banc was entered on

May 28, 1981. (Appendix B.)

The jurisdiction of this Court is

invoked under Title 28, United States

Code, Section 1254(1).

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

The federal tort claims act, 28

U.S.C. § 2401(b) which provides:

A tort claim against the United

States shall be forever barred

unless it is presented in writ-

ing to the appropriate Federal

agency within two years after

such claim accrues or unless

action is begun within six

months after the date of mail-

ing, by certified or registered

mail, of notice of final denial

-2-.=

of the claim by the agency to

which it was presented.

The Federal Tort Claims Act, 28 U.S.C.

§ 1346(b) which provides:

Subject to the provisions of

chapter 171 of this title, the

district courts, together with

the United States District Court

for the District of the Canal

Zone and the District Court of

the Virgin Islands, shall have

exclusive jurisdiction of the

civil actions on claims against

the United States, for money

damages, accruing on and after

January 1, 1945, for injury or

loss of property, or personal

injury or death caused by the

negligent or wrongful act or

omission of any employee of the

Government while acting within

the scope of his office or em-

ployment, under circumstances

where the United States, if a

private person, would be liable

to the claimant in accordance

with the law of the place where

the act or omission occurred.

42 C.F.R. 73.114(b)(1)(iii). (Appendix

0.)

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Participating in the federal govern-

ment's campaign to eliminate paralytic

poliomyelitis, petitioner Davis took Type

III oral polio vaccine at a mass immuniza-

tion clinic conducted in West Yellowstone,

Montana in March, 1963. Within four

weeks of ingesting the vaccine he was

paralyzed from the waist down and has

continuously remained in that condition.

(Appendix F, p. A-28.)

The mass immunization plan was con-

ceived by an advisory committee estab-

lished in 1960 by the Surgeon General.

‘The committee formulated a plan to create

mass immunization centers throughout the

country, and in March, 1962, the Surgeon

General, acting on behalf of the Public

Health Service, issued recommendations

for the use of the Sabin oral vaccine.

As part of the program, representatives

of the Public Health Service held meet-

ings with local public health officials

and medical personnel in communities

throughout the United States. Davis vy.

Wyeth Laboratories, Inc., 399 F.2d 121,

123 (9th Cir. 1968).

The vaccine involved was Sabin oral

vaccine which consisted of three separate

types: Types I, II, and III. Each type

was designed to immunize the person inocu-

lated from contrac’ ng polio from a cor-

responding type of polio virus. Id. at

122. Unlike the predecessor Salk vaccine,

the Sabin vaccine utilized live virus.

In addition to creating the immuni-

zation clinics, the federal government

controlled the licensing and testing of

the vaccine through the Division of Bio-

logics Standards (DBS) of the National

Institutes of Health, an arm of the United

States Department of Health, Education

and Welfare. The government licensed

three companies to manufacture the vac-

cine, including Wyeth Laboratories, Inc.,

which produced Lot 35, from which Davis

was vaccinated.’

‘In 1964 Davis sued Wyeth on the basis of

diversity jurisdiction. The trial court

ceoere ca ae against “3 and the Ninth

ircuit rever . Davis yeth, °

That case was settl w chéut a sec ~

trial. .

Government regulations required each

manufacturer, after producing a let, to

perform prescribed tests on it and submit

the test results, together with a sample

from the lot, to the DBS, where the gov-

ernment performed additional tests to

determine its safety, potency, ane purity.

If the lot satisfied government standards,

the DBS authorized its dissemination te

the public. |

Dr. Ruth Kirschstein was the DBS

pathologist responsible for supervising

the government testing. Her deposition

was taken on October 21-22, 1965 in the

Davis v. Wyeth litigation, and on May 12,

1975, in the instant litigation. (The

former deposition is hereinafter referred

to as Kirschstein Dep. I and the latter,

as Kirschstein Dep. II.)

The critical test which DBS per-

formed on each iot was the neurovirulence

test, in which a sample from a vaccine

let was injected into the brain or spinal

eolumn ef a test animal. After destruc-

tion of the animal following an observa-

tien peried, a section of tissue was

removed from the brain or spine and sub-

jected to a histelogic examination to

determine the number and severity of

lesions, or deviations from the norm.

Lesions were graded on an increasing

scale of severity from 1 to 4. (Kirsch-

stein Dep. I, p. 103.) The occurrence of

lesions in the test lot was then compared

te a reference strain of vaccine main=

tained by the DBS pursuant toe 42 C.F.R.

§ 73.114(b)(1) (iii), which provided that

a test lot was satisfactory for manufac-

ture only if “a comparative analysis of

the test results demonstrates that the

neurevirulence of the test virus pool

dees not exceed that of the NIH Reference

Attenuated Polio Virus."

Wyeth's Lot 35 was subjected te two

tests. Prior te Dr. Kirschstein's depo-

sition in October, 1965, she was served

= 7.

. with a subpoena directing the DBS to

produce all its records pertaining to Lot

35. Yet at this deposition she failed to

preduce the results of a second neurevi-

the lot. (Kirschstein Dep. II, pp. 21-25,

30, 33-34.) The results ef the second

test, included as Appendix I hereto,

that the lot never should have been re-

leased. (Appendix G.) Indeed, the re=-

sults ef this second test on Lot 35 showed

the first grade 4 lesion recorded by the

DBS testing (Appendix G), which was the

most severe on the DBS range of severity.

Because the government failed to

preduce the results of the second test at

Dr. Kirsehstein's deposition in 1965, it

was only fertuiteusly that Davis was

informed ef these facts in 1973 by an

attorney representing another person who

had contracted polio from taking the

vaccine. (Appendix F, p. A-31.) When

Davis obtained this crucial information,

he promptly filed suit against the govern-

ment alleging negligent release of Lot

35. (Appendix F, pp. A-31-32.)

He had earlier sued Wyeth on the

theory of strict liability for failure to

warn of the risk that a person could

centract polio from ingesting the Sabin

vaccine. In that case, Davis had no

evidence of any defect in Lot 35 because

ef the government's concealment of the

results of the second test, and was able

te effer only epidemiclogical proof that

the vaccine had caused his disease.

(Appendix F, p. A=42.) Indeed, the Ninth

Cireuit Court ef Appeals, which ruled in

Davis's favor in the Wyeth litigation,

believed that the Lot satisfied government

standards. Davis v. Wyeth, supra, 399

F.2d at 123. Of course, the court like

Davis had access to only the first test

preduced at Dr. Kirschstein's deposition

in 1965.

| The record is replete with evidence

that Davis aggressively sought to deter-

mine the cause of his paralysis, yet he

was repeatedly told that it was impos-

sible to prove that a particular case of

polio was caused by the vaccine and that

cases which showed a possible epidemiolog-

ical link with the vaccine were not asso-

ciated with any particular lots. (Appen-

dix F.)

Davis's affidavit attached as Appen-

dix F describes in detail his efforts to

learn the cause of his injury. Only

three months after contracting the disease

he began to write letters to epidemiolo-

gists and other scientists and to review

literature on polio contained both in

medical journals and government publica-

tions. (Appendix F.) He wrote to the

«10

Director of the Food and Drug Administra-

tion and the Public Health Service. He

corresponded with the Administrator of

National Health and Welfare in Canada and

in the summer of 1964, wrote to Dr. Sabin

himself, who responded that there was

absolutely no way that he could have

contracted polio from the vaccine. (Ap-

pendix F, pp. A-38-39.) In July, 1964,

Davis's attorneys consulted with Dr.

Salk, developer of the predecessor vac-

cine, and he too, was unable to state

that there was any association of partic-

ular vaccine lots with inducement of the

disease. (Appendix F, p. A-39.) Ina

letter to the Washington State Department

of Health which Davis wrote in October,

1963, he stated that not one of nearly 20

doctors who had examined him would ac-

knowledge that his paralysis could have

been caused by the vaccine. (Appendix A,

p. A-16.)

= ll -

Davis's conscientious review of the

literature proved no more fruitful. A

June, 1963 article by Dr. Gelfand, Chief

of the Enterovirus Unit of the Communica-

ble Disease Center, stated that "it re-

mained impossible to decide whether or

the oral vaccine. ..." (Emphasis ad-

ded.) (Appendix M, p. A-121.) The same

article stated that "[Njo evidence has

composed of these strains, had ever

prevent." (Emphasis added.) (Appendix

F, p. A=35.)

In addition to medical journals,

Davis, beginning only a few months after

the onset of his disease, thoroughly read

the documents which the government dis-

tributed concerning the issue of possible

asteciation ef polio with ingestion of

the oral vaccine.

s 12 «

Sometime in 1962 the Surgeon General,

Dr. Luther Terry, formed a Special Oral

Poliomyelitis Vaccine Advisory Committee

(Committee) comprised of some of the

world's foremost experts on epidemiology

and virology. The Committee included

scientists working both within and with-

out the federal government. Some of the

members were Dr. Ernest Ager, an epidemi-

clogist employed by the Washington Depart-

ment of Health; Dr. Albert Sabin, the

creator of the oral vaccine; and Dr.

Roderick Murray, director of the DBS.

(Appendix L, pp. A-106-108. )

The findings of the Committee's

meetings, held from August, 1962 through

July, 1964, were published in the Commit-

tee's reports, as well as reports and

press releases issued by the Surgeon

General. The meeting of September 15,

1962 was described in the September 20,

1962 technical report authored by the

Surgeon General. (Appendix J.) This was

one of several reports that the Committee

published after September 3, 1962, the

date of completion of the second neurovi-

rulence test on Lot 35.

The September 20 report related that

the Committee had reviewed data concern-

ing the occurrence of polio cases after

administration of the oral vaccine and

had examined those cases which it consid-

ered not inconsistent with a vaccine

relationship. The report noted that the

vaccine administered to those cases was

from several lots not produced by a single

manufacturer. The Committee was able to

conclude only that the reported cases

were “clinically consistent with paralytic

poliomyelitis and with laboratory findings

which could not exclude a possible rela-

tionship to the administration of oral

vaccine." Thus, this Committee, composed

of some of the world's most eminent ex-

perts on polio, could do no more than

acknowledge its inability to exclude a

»14<

possible relationship between ingestion

of vaccine and contraction of polio.

In its next report, issued in Decem-

ber, 1962, it firmly stated that it "does

not consider that an individual case can

be proved to be caused by the vaccine and

no laboratory test has thus far provided

a definitive answer." (Emphasis added. )

(Appendix K, p. A-87.) The public was in

effect being informed that there existed

no possible cause of action against a

drug manufacturer or any other party

predicated on a defect in a particular

lot of vaccine.

With respect to those cases consid-

ered to be "compatible" with the possi-

bility of having been induced by the

vaccine (Appendix K, p. A-87), the pre-

vailing scientific thinking was that the

vaccine relationship to disease was a

general property of the vaccine rather

than defects in manufacture. This view

was re-emphasized in a September, 1964

ah® «

press release of the Surgeon General.

(Appendix L, p. A-102.)

On September 30, 1964, the Surgeon

General released a document listing re-

ported cases of polio which the Committee

considered compatible with the possibil-

ity of having been induced by the vaccine.

Davis's case is contained in that list.

(Appendix L, p. A-11l.) Davis read this

report almost immediately upon its publi-

cation.

Noct until he learned the results of

the second test did Davis have any reason

to believe that the cause of his paraly-

sis was a defect in Lot 35. The results

of this second test constituted the sole

evidence that the cause of his disease

was a peculiar property of Lot 35 rather

than a generic characteristic of Type III

vaccine. Prior to learning of the second

test, he had relied on the government's

representations that it was impossible to

@16«

prove that the disease could be caused by

a specific lot of vaccine.

In none of its reports did the Com-

mittee ever state that any lot had failed

to meet government standards. Indeed,

the affidavit of Ernest Ager, a Committee

member, revea.s that Dr. Murray represen-

ted to the Committee at its July, 1964

meeting; that all lots of Type itt vac-

cine which had been tested up to that

time had satisfied government standards.

(Appendix H, p. A-56.) Dr. Murray's

representation was made despite the re-

sults of the second neurovirulence test

on Lot 35, conducted more than a year and

a@ half earlier, which showed that that

lot violated the applicable regulation.

JURISDICTION IN THE COURT

OF FIRST INSTANCE

The basis for federal jurisdiction

in the district court was the Federal

Tort Claims Act, 28 U.S.C. § 1346(b).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Ze

IN THE CONTEXT OF THE STATUTE OF

LIMITATIONS TO THE FEDERAL TORT

CLAIMS ACT, THIS CASE PRESENTS AN

IMPORTANT QUESTION OF FEDERAL LAW

CONCERNING THE NATURE AND SCOPE OF

THE GOVERNMENT'S DUTY TO INFORM THE

PUBLIC OF RISKS ASSOCIATED WITH

GOVERNMENT PROGRAMS WHICH ENCOURAGE

MASS CITIZEN PARTICIPATION.

This case presents very important

questions of construction of 28 U.S.C.

§ 2401(b) in the context of far-reaching

government programs designed to affect

the lives of millions of American citi-

zens. The effect of the polio vaccine

program on some citizens, like petitioner,

was permanent paralysis. The government

knew as early as 1962 that some cases of

polio were associated with ingestion of

the Sabin vaccine, yet through the Sur-

geon General and his advisory Committee,

the government repeatedly informed the

public that there was no possible way to

prove that the vaccine caused a particular

@ 16

case of polio and that there was no demon-

strable associa*ion of a case of polio

with any particular lot.

The Surgeon General and the Commit-

tee made these representations despite

the existence of evidence, as early as

September, 1962, that at least one lot of

vaccine, Lot 35, exceeded the govern-

ment's permissible level of neuroviru-

lence and thus did not meet the govern-

ment's safety criteria. During all its

meetings between 1962 and 1964, the Com-

mittee knew that the DBS's purpose in

conducting neurovirulence tests on each

lot of vaccine was to determine whether

it exceeded the neurovirulence of the

DBS's reference strain of vaccine, i.e.,

te ascertain whether or not # particular

lot was safe for public use. In Davis's

case the government's misrepresentations

were compounded by concealment of the

results of the second DBS test on Lot 35,

» 419 «

which constitutes the very heart of his

claim.

This is the setting in which § 2401(b)

must be construed in this case. The

government created and administered a

nationwide program designed to impact the

lives of virtually all American citizens

in the most important conceivable matter

--life itself. The government initiated

the campaign, supervised establishment of

immunization clinics, and strictly regu-

lated the testing and licensing of vaccine.

The polio immunization program is an

example of the extensive role of guardian

or watchdog for the public which the

government has increasingly assumed in

recent decades. The government's under-

taking such an active involvement in the

lives of its citizens raises the vital

question of the corresponding duties the

government incurs to provide citizens

with accurate information about govern-

ment programs, including full disclosure

#- 20 «

ef potential risks asseciated with par-

ticipation in then.

In the polio immunization program,

the government's knowledge of the field

was vastly superier to that of the aver=

age citizen. The government had almost

exclusive contrel ever the resources and

personnel necessary to carry out the

preject. Because eof its superior knowl-

edge and centreol, the government was in

effect the public's guardian and only

safeguard in this highly technical area.

The government eccupied a position of

trust and enormous influence vis-a-vis

the public. In its role of guardian the

government assumed the duty te all mem=

bers ef the public te deal with them at

arm's length and to imform them fully of

all aspects of that program which could

potentially affect their lives.

The evidence in this case is over=

whelming that the government did not

discharge its duty. The Surgeon General's

= 21 =

reports represented to Davis and others

in hie position that there was no way to

preve that the vaccine caused a particular

ease of polio. Further, by failing to

produce the results of the critical test

en Let 35, the DBS concealed from him,

whether through negligence or otherwise,

the crucial piece of evidence in his case

which established that his polic was

indeed caused by the vaccine.

As the government continues to play

a pervasive role in the regulation of

myriad technical matters affecting the

public health, it is very /ikely that

there will arise other cases which pre-

sent similar issues involving construction

ef § 2401(b). One illustration of the

type ef program likely to produce limita-

tions issues similar to this one is the

swine flu immunization program created by

the National Swine Flu Act of 1976, 42

U.3.C. § 247(b). The federal govern=

ment's objective under the Act was to

inoculate the entire adult population of

the United States against threat of a

swine flu epidemic. It was the largest

immunization program in the nation's

history, and over 45 million Americans

were vaccinated. Gicas v. United States,

508 F.Supp. 217 («.D.Wis. 1981).*

In executing programs like the police

immunization campaign in which the public

justifiably places great reliance on the

government's expertise and good faith,

the government should not be permitted to

make misrepresentations to the public,

conceal vital information and then employ

its misrepresentations and concealments

by invoking the statute of limitations to

*Under the Act the United States assumed

liability for damages sustained as a re-

sult of the inoculation. One reason that

the government assumed this responsibility

was the collapse of the commercial liabil-

ity insurance market for vaccine manufac-

turers occasioned by petitioner's earlier

munis, Soh Paige ae eS.

e¢ that Davis remains uncompensated

by the government for injuries he in-

curred more than 18 years ago.

= 23 =

deprive a citizen of a legitimate claim

under the Federal Tort Claims Act. To

sanction such a result would enable a

defendant to profit from his own wrong

and thus violate the most fundamental of

equitable precepts. Rahn v. United States,

222 F.Supp. 775 ($.D.Ga. 1963).

Statutes of limitation themselves

are an equitable device designed to in-

sulate potential defendants from dilatory

tactics. Conversely, the discovery rule

used in the construction of § 2401(b) and

the concealment doctrine are equitable

concepts intended to protect plaintiffs

from harsh application of statutes of

limitations in circumstances where plain-

tiffs, despite the exercise of reasonable

diligence, cannot discover causes of

action because of the acts of prospective

defendants.

The discovery rule and the conceal-

ment doctrine both apply to this case.

e 24 <

Those rules must be analyzed in the con-

text of the government's duty to inform

the public when the government undertakes

to create and police a national plan

affecting the public health.

II.

THE DECISION BELOW CONFLICTS WITH

THIS COURT'S DECISION OF UNITED

Ce KUBRICK, 100 S.CT. 352

The majority of the court below

correctly observed that while the present

case does not involve medical malpractice,

it is in many ways similar to such an

action, and it is therefore here appro-

priate to apply the “discovery rule"

under which a cause of action does not

accrue until the plaintiff discovers, or

in the exercise of reasonable diligence

should have discovered, both his injury

and its cause. (Appendix A, pp. A-5-6.)

As Judge Tang perceived in his dissent,

while the majority may have correctly

stated the rule of Kubrick, supra, it

= 3S <

clearly erred in its purported applica-

tion of Kubrick to the facts of this

case.

As Judge Tang observed, there are

vital distinctions between this case and

Kubrick which require reversal of the

decision below affirming the summary

judgment. The record contains undisputed

facts which as a matter of law establish

that Davis's cause of action did not

accrue until 1973 when he learned of the

results of the second neurovirulence test

on Lot 35. At a bare minimum this evi-

dence created a genuine issue of material

fact of the point in time at which he

knew (1) of his injury and (2) its cause.

These are the key differences between

the facts of Kubrick and this case:

(1) there was no evidence in Kubrick that

the government had failed to disclose to

the plaintiff any documents relevant to

his case; (2) long before two years had

elapsed from the occurrence of his injury,

—

Kubrick had been informed by a physician

that it was “highly possible” that his

deafness had been caused by administra-

tion of the drug neomycin, whereas Davis

was on numerous occasions informed by

various sources that it was impossible to

prove that his polio was caused by the

vaccine and that there was no known asso-

ciation of polio cases with particular

lots of vaccine; (3) unlike Davis, Kubrick

had available to him alternative sources

ef information concerning the cause of

his injury; (4) Kubrick failed to make

diligent inquiry concerning the cause of

his injury, whereas Davis doggedly pursued

the truth about his paralysis; and (5) in

Kubrick there was no showing that the

government had made any public represen-

tations concerning the drug neomycin.

Nine months after the surgery in

which he was treated with neomycin Kub-

rick was informed by a doctor that it was

"highly possible" that his hearing loss

resulted from administration of this

drug. It was common knowledge in the

medical community at that time that this

application of neomycin was improper

because it could cause precisely this

consequence.

By contrast, Davis did not learn

until 1973 of the cause of his injury--a

defect in Lot 35. As opposed to Kubrick's

being informed by a physician of a high

possibility that neomycin caused his

deafness, at most Davis may have suspected

that the vaccine caused his disease.

Knowledge of cause and a mere suspicion

cannot be equated for purposes of apply-

ing Kubrick. Most important, the govern-.

ment never revealed to Davis the critical

evidence on causation--the second test on

Lot 35.

As Judge Tang stated, far from sug-

gesting a high possibility that his paral-

ysis and the vaccine were causally linked,

mumerous reputed authorities informed

- 28 -

Davis that the vaccine could not be proved

to cause the disease. In 1964 Dr. Sabin

himself, still a member of the Surgeon

General's Committee, told Davis that

there was absolutely no way that he could

have contracted polio from taking the

vaccine. The medical journals and govern-

ment documents which Davis reviewed uni-

formly represented that it was impossible

to prove that the vaccine caused an indi-

vidual polio case.

When Davis was discharged from the

Veterans Hospital on October 25, 1963,

his case was diagnosed as polio, due to

undetermined cause. (Appendix F, p.

A-29.) In a June 26, 1964 letter to the

Communicable Disease Center, the Director

of Idaho's Preventive Medicine Division

stated with respect to the cause of

Davis's paralysis:

The etiology of this case of

paralysis has not been deter-

mined and a large number of

virus diseases are to be consid-

ered. The present diagnosis of

« 29

lower neuron disease with paral-

y8is--etiology unknown --is the

(Emphasis added.) (Appendix N, pp. A-126-

127.) Davis's case was never officially

reported as polio by the Idaho Department

of Health. (Appendix F, p. A-38.) Only

thirteen months before Dr. Kirschstein's

first deposition, the Surgeon General's

Committee released the last of a series

of reports in which it consistently rep-

resented that it was not possible to

prove an individual case was caused by

the vaccine. (Appendix A, p. A-17.)

The foregoing evidence clearly was

sufficient to create an issue of fact

whether Davis knew, prior to Dr. Kirsch-

stein's deposition in October, 1965, the

cause of his paralysis. If he did not

know the cause at that time, then there

can be no doubt that his cause of action

did not accrue under § 2401(b) until 1973

when he learned of the existence and

«: 90 -

results of the second test on Lot 35.

Judge Tang correctly read the record to

suggest that "Davis was still struggling

to determine the cause of his injury by

the critical date in October, 1963, and

well beyond.” (Emphasis added.) (Appen-

dix A, p. A-17.)

If the cause of action did not accrue

prior to the Kirschstein deposition, then

it could not have accrued prior to 1973,

because Dr. Kirschstein in her first

depositon failed to produce the crucial

piece of evidence on which Davis's claim

rests. Without evidence of a defect in

the particular lot from which he was

vaccinated Davis had no cause of action

against the government, because the Com-

mittee’s reports had indicated the possi-

bility of vaccine-induced polio, although

the government continuously represented

that this fact could not be proven ina

given case. Thus to recover against the

© 31

government Davis had to show that a de-

fect in Lot 35 rather than a generic

property of Type III vaccine was the

cause of his injury. Of course, without

the results of the second test on Lot 35

Davis lacked the critical evidence needed

(1) to prove a defect in that lot and

(2) to refute the government's assertions

that it was not possible to prove that a

particular polio case was vaccine-induced.

An important point in this Court's

decision in Kubrick was the ready avail-

ability outside government channels of

information pertaining to the cause of

plaintif{£'s injury:

That he has been injured in

fact may be unknown or unknow-

able until the injury manifests

itself; and

caus

te

. Pg prospect is not so

. for a eal in Lf

rgd of

ee ne longer at etieee mercy 2%

whe an ta ein ie hae Deen

- 32 «

(Emphasis added.) 100 S.Ct. at 359.

Kubrick and this case are at opposite

ends of the spectrum of available alterna-

tive sources of information. For Kubrick

it was a simple matter of consulting

physicians in his community. For Davis

it was totally different. The government

continuously had exclusive control of the

critical evidence on causation and never

voluntarily disclosed that information to

Davis. Moreover, unlike Kubrick, a Com-

mittee formed by the government told

Davis there was no way to prove that his

injury was caused by the drug involved.

Davis simply had no alternative source of

information about the cause of his injury.

The Surgeon General's Committee was

made up of some scientists who worked for

the government and others who did not.

Unlike the medical procedure involved in

Kubrick, which was common knowledge both

within and without government circles,

only the Surgeon General, the Committee

« 33 -

and the DBS had access to the critical

data concerning the polio immunization

program.

In Kubrick the Court questioned

plaintiff's diligence, stating, "Kubrick

need only have made inquiry among doctors

with average training and experience. . .

to have discovered that he probably had a

good cause of action. The difficulty is

that it does not appear that Kubrick ever

made any inguiry. .. ." (Emphasis ad-

ded.) 100 S.Ct. at 360. By contrast,

the record in this case discloses that

Davis exercised diligence of the highest

order in attempting to determine the

cause of his paralysis.

It is well established that a dis-

pute over the facts regarding the date on

which a statute of limitations commences

to run precludes summary judgment for

defendant. Marshall v. Kimberly-Clark

Corp., 625 ¥.24 1300 (Sth Cir. 1980);

Camire v. United States, 535 F.2d 749 (24

« 34

Cir. 1976). On this record Davis is

entitled at a minimum to trial on the

question when he knew of both his injury

and its cause within the meaning of Kub-

rick. We think the record shows that as

a matter of law his cause of action did

net acerue until 1973, that his action

was timely filed in April of 1974, and

that he is entitled te remand for a full

trial en the merits. This Court should

accept review of this case because of the

government's immense superiority in knowl-

edge and resources in this field and the

fundamental implications of fairness

whieh these considerations entail, both

in this case and others likely to follow.

Itt.

THE DECISION BELOW CONFLICTS WITH

SETTLED FEDERAL LAW WHICH TOLLS

GOVERNMENT CONCEALS FROM "A. PLAIN=

HIS CAUSE OF ACTION.

Under the concealment doctrine a

statute of limitations is tolled where

the defendant conceals facts essential to

= 35 =

plaintiff's cause of action. Rahn v.

United States, 222 F.Supp. 775 (8.D.Ga.

1963). The concealment doctrine is read

inte every federal statute of limitations.

Public Service of New Mexico v. General

Blectric Co., 315 F.2d 306 (10th Cir.),

cert. denied, $3 $.Ct. 1695 (1963). The

doctrine has been applied specifically te

the Federal Tort Claims Act. E.g., Rahn,

supre .

In this case the government con-

cealed from Davis both (1) the results of

the second test on Lot 35 and (2) the

faet that one could prove, through evi-

dence of neurevirulence test results,

that a polio case was caused by a defect

in a particular vaccine lot. The results

ef the second test constituted the crucial

evidence on the elements of both causation

and the government's breach of duty.

Without this evidence Davis could not

prove that hie injury was caused by this

= 36 =

particular lot and thereby establish

liability of the government.

The facts of Rahn, supra, are analo-

gous to the circumstances of this case.

In Rahn plaintiff suffered disfigurement

ef her arm because of the negligence of

government doctors. She sought the gov-

ernment's medical records regarding her

ease, but was not furnished them until

more than two years had passed from the

time of her injury. These records com-

prised the only evidence of negligence,

and the court held that the statute of

limitations did not commence to run until

she obtained the critical documents.

Likewise, in this case the federal

government had exclusive possession of

the relevant information so that the

government's concealment made it impos-

sible for Davis to pursue an action

against the United States. Accord, Spe-

vack v. United States, 390 F.2d 977 (Ct.Cl.

1968) (statute of limitations tolled

e $7 «

where Atomic Energy Commission concealed

from plaintiff fact that Commission used

his invention). See also Toal v. United

States, 438 F.2d 222 (2d Cir. 1971) (sta-

tute of limitations tolled where govern-

ment doctor failed to note in medical

records that he did not remove from plain-

tiff's body a chemical contrast medium

used to perform surgery).

It is clear that the government

concealed the results of the second test

@uring the 1965 deposition of Dr. Kirsch-

atein, but the majority below rejected

this position, asserting that the two-year

period had elapsed prior to the deposition.

The majority's position ignored entirely

the substantial evidence in the record,

recited by Judge Tang in his dissent and

summarized in this petition, which shows

that on several occasions in 1964, less

Shan two years before the firet Kirsch-

atein deposition, Davis was still attempt-

ing to determine the cause of his injury.

= 38 <

As late as September 30, 1964, only thir-

teen months prior to the deposition, the

government once again stated that it was

not possible to prove that an individual

case was caused by the vaccine. It is

clear that the cause of action had not

accrued at the time Dr. Kirschstein's

deposition was taken in October, 1965.

Addressing the concealment doctrine,

the majority below also stated:

It may well be that the govern-

ment was negligent in maintain-

ing and publishing records.

However, failure of the govern-

ment to ascertain and publish

the fact of its negligence is

hardly sufficient to constitute

fraudulent concealment.

(Appendix A, p. A-12.) The majority would

equate the Surgeon General's Committee

with the ordinary civil lawsuit where

defendant does not acknowledge his own

negligence. This view completely ignores

the compelling social significance of

this case--the government's role as guard-

ian in the administration of a nationwide

program affecting millions of citizens.

- 39 -«

Without question the government did have

the duty to disclose to the public that

it was possible to prove that a particular

lot of vaccine, as distinguished from a

uniform property of the generic Type III

strain, could cause the disease. Further,

the government had the obligation to

provide to individual participants all

information relating to injuries received

by then.

The main purpose of the neuroviru-

lence testing was to insure safety of the

vaccine and thus to protect people from

contracting the disease from the vaccine.

The regulations prohibited the release of

a lot whose neurovirulence exceeded that

of the reference virus. Yet the Committee

consistently represented that there was

no possible way to prove a causal connec-

tion between ingestion of a particular

let and the onset of polio. The exis-

tence of and reasons for government stan-

dards for neurovirulence, as well as the

results of the second test on Lot 35,

were acutely material to the question

considered by the Committee whether a

causal connection could be proved between

a case of polio and ingestion of vaccine.

The silence of the government's

reports, in combination with non-disclo-

sure of the second test, concealed from

‘Davis an essential element of his cause

of action--that a defect could exist ina

particular lot and that such a defect

could be proved to have caused the con-

traction of polio. Thus at the time he

filed his lawsuit against Wyeth in July,

1964 plaintiff could not have known that

there was a provable defect in Lot 35 and

a causal connection between his injury

and that defect.

In view of the government's complete

control over the polio immunization pro-

gram, to permit the government to invoke

the statute of limitations in this case

would set a precedent inconsistent with

Kubrick and existing federal law on the

concealment doctrine and violative of

fundamental fairness and the public's

right to rely on the government's good

faith. |

CONCLUSION

This Court should review this case

in light of the important questions it

presents concerning the government's

duties to the public in the administra-

tion of nationwide programs affecting the

public health. The majority's decision

incorrectly applies Kubrick, and, if al-

lowed to stand, could cause serious con-

fusion among the federal courts in the

construction of the statute of limita-

tions in future cases. To let stand the

Ninth Circuit's judgment would effective-

ly sanction an abuse of the government's

great power over the lives of individual

citizens and would constitute a dangerous

precedent inimical to the spirit of indi-

vidual rights.

For all of the foregoing reasons,

this Court should grant the Petition for

Certiorari. |

Dated: mes... 1981.

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED,

Mh LY. ge,

Robert M. Tyler, Jw

(Counsel of Record)

ELAM, BURKE, EVANS, BOYD &

KOONTZ

P.O. Box 1559

Boise, ID 83701

Attorneys for Petitioner

» 43 <

ADLER, BARISH, LEVIN &

CRESKOFF

Rohm & Haas Building

Sth Floor, Lafayette Bldg.

6th & Market Streets

Philadelphia, PA 19106

Attorneys for Petitioner

APPENDIX A

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Glynn Richard Davis

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

UNITED STATES of America

Defendant-Appellee.

OPINION

No. 77-1942

(Argued and Submitted Dec. 12, 1979)

(Decided April 20, 1981)

Appeal from the United States District

Court for the District of Idaho

Before: MERRILL, TANG and SCHROEDER,

Circuit Judges

Background

The Sabin Type III oral polio vaccine

Was administered to appellant Davis as

part of a nationwide campaign initiated

by the government of the United States to

eradicate paralytic poliomyelitis (polio)

in this country. Mass immunization cen-

ters were established in cooperation with

with state and local medical authorities,

A-1

and the campaign was widely publicized.’

The Division of Biologic Standards (DBS)

of the National Institutes of Health, a

part of the United States Department of

Health, Education and Welfare, was charged

with testing and licensing manufacture of

‘the vaccine; pursuant to 42 C.F.R. § 73.110

et seq.

The vaccine was administered to appel-

lant Davis at one of these centers in

March, 1963. Within thirty days, appel-

lant was paralyzed from the waist down and

exhibited other symptoms of polio. Davis

brought suit against the manufacturer of

the drug, Wyeth Laboratories, Inc., in

1964.

In the course of that litigation, in

October, 1965, defendant Wyeth Laborato-

‘This mass immunization program is described in

pave < myeth Laboratories, Inc., 339 ¥.24 121,

123- r. » & prev action brought

by this plaintiff against the manufacturer of the

vaccine he ingested. The district court initially

gave judgment for the manufacturer; this court

reversed and remanded. The parties settled out of

court before the case went to trial 4 second time.

A-2

ries, Inc., noticed the deposition of Dr.

Ruth Kirschstein, the chief of the path-

Ology section of the laboratory of Viral

Immunology, DBS, accompanied by a subpoena

duces tecum ordering her to bring to the

deposition, inter alia, all records of

DBS relating to lot No. 03503 of the

Sabin Type I1I oral polio vaccine. The

vaccine inge.ted by Davis was from this

lot. Appellant's attorney was present at

this deposition. Dr. Kirschstein brought

with her records documenting the results

of a single neurovirulence test;* the

results fell within acceptable limits.’

Each lot of vaccine was subjected to various

tests by DBS. The so-called newrovirulence test,

at issue here, involved administering the vaccine

to thirty monkeys. After 4 seventeen-to-twenty-

day observation period, the monkeys were destroyed

and the brain or spinal cord of each monkey, de-

pending on which had been injected with the vac-

cine, was removed and the tissue examined undsr 4

microscope for lesions. Lesions were graded on 4

scale of severity from one to four; if the number

of monkeys developing lesions and the severity of

the lesions fell within DBS standards, the lot was

deemed to have satisfied the newrovirulence test.

‘The test results revealed by Dr. Kirschstein at

the October, 1965, deposition indicated that one

monkey had developed lesions classified “one” and

A-3

Appellant alleges that not until 1973

Gid he learn from an attorney representing

a plaintiff in another suit’ that DBS

had conducted another neurovirulence test

on lot No. 03503, and that the results of

that test did not fall within the accept-

able range.’ In April, 1973, appel-

lant filed a notice of claim under the

Federal Tort Claims Act (FTCA) 28 U.S.C.

§ 1346 et seg., and in April, 1974,

brought the instant action in the court

below.

The district court granted summary judg-

ment for the United States, holding that

Davis’ suit was barred by the two-year

statute of limitations which applied to

all actions brought under the FTCA. 28

another monkey had developed lesions classified

“three”; these results were within the acceptable

range under the DBS standards.

[tit inv, United States, 351 F.Supp. 10 (£.0.Pa.

1972), aff'd ‘ (34 Cir. 1974).

SOne monkey developed lesions classified “four;

appellant contends that this was not within the

acceptable range under the DBS standards.

A-4

U.S.C. § 2401(b).

Davis appeals, contending that either:

(1) the cause of action did net accrue

until he learned, in 1973, of the facts

indicating the government's responsibility

for his paralysis; or (2) the statute was

tolled by the government's fraudulent

concealment of the results of the second

test.

We affirm the district court's grant of

summary judgment.

A two-year statute of limitations ap=«

plies to all suits brought under the FICA.

28 U.S.C. § 2401 (b).* Appellant con=

tends, however, that under the so-called

“discovery rule” applied in medical mal=

"The statute was amended in 1970 to provide that

@ tort claim against the United States shall be

barred unless written notice is provided to the

date federal agency within two years oF

es6 @ suit is instituted within six poaths of

the mailing of notice of final agency action.

Previously, the statute had simply required that

aa action be begua within two years of the time

when it acerued. As will be apparent, the result

in the present case is the same under either form

of the statute.

A=5

malpractice cases, the cause of action

did not accrue and the statute did not

begin to run until he learned, in 1973,

ef the results of the second neuroviru=

lence test. United States v. Kubrick,

444 U.S. 111, 100 S.Ct. 352, 62 L.Bd.2d

239 (1979), is cited in suppert of the

proposition that the action accrues when

the plaintiff learns, or, in the exercise

ef reasonable diligence should have

learned, of his injury and of the actions

that caused it. 444 U.S. at 123=24, 100

$.Ct. at 360-61. While the present case

is not technically one involving medical

malpractice, it is in many ways similar

to such an action,’ and we will assume,

arguendo, that it should be assimilated to

the category of medical malpractice for

statute of limitations purposes. Nonethe«

less, we conclude that appellant's claim

is barred by the statute.

= oe

hee vw. United States, 388 F.Supp. 928,

932 4 * % s s

A=6

The general rule in tort law is that

the claim accrues at the time of the

Plaintiff's injury. In the area of

medical malpractice this has been felt to

be unduly harsh in those cases where the

fact of injury remains undisclosed. The

rule accordingly has widely been modified

to provide that a claim does not accrue

until the injury has manifested itself.

Urie vs. Thompson, 337 U.S. 163, 69 $.Cct.

1018, 93 L.Bd.2d 1282 (1949). The Re-

statement (Second) of Torts § 899, Com-

ment e, quoted in United States v. Kubrick,

supra 444 U.S. at 120 n.7, 100 S.Ct. at

3388 n.7?, reflects this change:

“In a wave of recent decisions

{it has been held) that the

statute must be construed as not

intended to start to run until

the plaintiff has in fact dis-

covered the fact that he has

suffered injury or by the exer-

cise of reasonable diligence

should have discovered it.”

In Kubrick, the Court assumed that the

discovery rule should be further modified

to provide that accrual does not occur, and

A=?

thus that the statute of limitations does

not commence to run, until the plaintiff

has discovered, or, in the exercise of

reasonable diligence should have discov-

ered, both his injury and its cause.*

The Court noted that “the United States

was prepared to concede as much for

present purposes,” id. at 120-21, 100

$.Ct. at 358-59.) The question presented

was whether the rule should be still

further extended to defer accrual until

the plaintiff had, or, in the exercise of

reasonable diligence should have had,

knowledge of the defendant's negligence.

The Court approached this question as one

involving the construction of § 2401(b).

It stated:

*This rule is followed in this and most other cir-

cuits. rford v. United Stat 307 F.2d 99,

102 (9th Cir. 1962). Accord, Exnicious v. United

States, 563 F.2d 418 (10th Cir. 1977); Bridgford

vy. United States, 550 F.2d 978 (4th Ge he 1977);

Jordan v. United States, 503 F.2d 620 (6th Cir.

1974); Toal vw. United States, 438 F.2d 222 (2d

Cir. 1971).

A-8

"[We} are not free to ccn-

strue it so as to defeat its

ebvious purpose, which is to

encourage the prompt presenta-

tion of claims. [Citations

omitted]. We should regard the

plea of limitations as a ‘meri-

terious defense, in itself

serving a public interest.'

[Citations omitted) ."

The Court then made it plain that it

was not prepared to go further than the

government concession. It refused to

defer accrual until fault as well as

injury and cause had been discovered; it

would not hold that “the statute is not

to rum until the plaintiff is led to

suspect negligence.” Id. at 124, 100

S.Ct. at 124.

{2} With knowledge of the fact of

injury and its cause the malpractice

Plaintiff is on the same footing as any

negligence plaintiff. The burden is then

em plaintiff to ascertain the existence

and source of fault within the statutory

period. It follows that diligence or

lack of diligence in these efforts is

A-?

irrelevant. In the absence of fraudulent

concealment it is plaintiff's burden,

within the statutory period, to determine

whether and whom to sue. Kubrick makes

this plain. Once a plaintiff knows that

harm has been done to him, he must, the

Court states, “determine within the

period of limitations whether to sue or

not, which is precisely the judgment that

other tort claimants must make. If he

fails to bring suit because he is incom-

petently or mistakenly told that he does

not have a case, we discern no sound

reason for visiting the consequences of

such error on the defendant by delaying

the accrual the claim until the plaintiff

is otherwise informed or himself deter-

mines to bring suit, even though more

than two years have passed from the

plaintiff's discovery of the relevant

facts about injury." Id.

A-10

{2} Im the present case, appellant was

aware in April, 1963, that he had been

injured and that the Sabin vaccine was

the likely cause of his injury.*

With knowledge of the fact of injury and

its cause, appellant was at the time of

his injury placed on the same footing as

other negligence plaintiffs. The claim,

then, accrued at the time of injury and

the statute started to run. It was up to

him to “determine within the period of

limitations whether to sue or not." Id.

We conclude that i- the absence of

fraudulent concealment, appellant's claim

against the United States was barred by

limitations.

Fraudulent Concealment

{3} Appellamt contends that even if

the cause of action accrued prior to

1973, the statute was tolled by the

*at the very latest, he was certainly aware that

the vaccine was the cause in 1964, when he brought

suit against Wyeth Laboratories alleging that such

was the case.

A-11

government's fraudulent concealment of

the results of the second test during the

October, 1975, deposition of Dr. Kirsch-

stein. This argument fails, since the

two-year period had already elapsed.

Appellant also argues that certain

press releases and reports by the govern-

‘ment indicating that there was no probable

link between the taking of the vaccine

and subsequent polio cases amounted to

fraudulent concealment. This contention

is meritless.** It may well be that

the government was negligent in maintain-

ing and publishing records. However,

failure of the government to ascertain

and publish the fact of its negligence is

hardly sufficient to constitute fraudulent

concealment. See Rutledge v. Boston

**These press releases and reports might have

served also as additional notice to appellant of

the government's involvement in his claim.

A-12

250 (9th Cir. 1978).

We conclude that appellant's action was

barred by the applicable statute of lim-

itations. The decision of the district

court granting summary judgment is af-

firmed.

TANG, Circuit Judge, dissenting.

I respectfully dissent. Quite simply,

the record fails to support the majority's

assertion that “appellant was aware in

April 1963, that the Sabin vaccine was

the likely cause of Davis’ injury."

First, although Davis contacted polio in

April 1963, he was hospitalized until

October 25, 1963, and it is unclear when

he had sufficiently recovered to be aware

of anything. At best, the record indi-

cates that Davis was functioning again in

"approximately June, 1963" when he began

to write letters inquiring about his

A-13

disease. Clerk's Transcript Vol. IA, at

243. ,

More importantly, although Davis may

have wondered in the summer of 1962 if

the vaccine had induced his disease,

"“guestioning” and a “knowing” causation

cannot be equated. The Kubrick court

plainly held that the statute begins to

run only when a plaintiff is "armed with

the facts about the harm donetohim.. ."

444 U.S. at 123, 100 S.Ct. at 360. In

other words, the plaintiff must be in

"possession of the critical facts that he

has been hurt and who has inflicted the

injury" because “the facts about causation

may be in the control of the putative

defendant, unavailable to the plaintiff

or at least very difficult to obtain."

Id. at 122, 100 S.Ct. at 359 (emphasis

added). In Kubrick, the plaintiff had

surgery in April and developed a hearing

loss in mid-June. In succeeding months,

he consulted several specialists who

A-14

diagnosed his malady as "bilateral nerve

disease." Finally, in January (some 7

months after injury), a doctor told

Kubrick that it was “highly possible"

that a treatment administered after

surgery caused his deafness. At that

point, the court held, Kubrick knew of

his injury and its cause and the statute

began to run. .

Here, Davis may have suspected that the

vaccine caused his disease (just as

Kubrick may have suspected his recent

surgery was in some way connected), but

apparently no one, much less a doctor,

would even suggest a "high possibility”

that the two events were causally linked.

To the contrary, all authorities consulted

apparently assured Davis that oral Sabin

vaccine could not be proved to cause the

disease. For example, sometime in October,

1963, still searching for the cause of

his disease, Davis wrote to the Washington

A-15

State Department of Health. In recounting

his story, he stated:

During the last six months I

have had around 20 Drs. check

me and everyone of them have

said I was paralyzed, which I

was just a little bit aware of.

Not one of them would say a

damn thing or admit it could

have been due to the cube that

was the cause of my ill-

ness .. . {sic]

Clerk's Transcript, Vol. IA, at 286.

Consistent with this description, on

October 25, 1963, Davis was discharged

with a diagnosis of paralytic poliomyeli-

tis “due to undetermined cause". Id. at

241. Interestingly, in fact, the Idaho

State epidemiologist refused to report

Davis’ case as poliomyelitis, and, in the

Fall 1964, was stiil diagnosing Davis’

disease as “lower neuron disease with

paralysis--etiology unknown". Id. at

245.

Moreover, the scientists to whom

Davis wrote, and the articles he read,

failed to suggest a causal connection

A-16

between the vaccine and the paralysis.

For example, a1) HEW doctor stated in an

article published in June 1963 that “no

evidence has been adduced to show that

this vaccine, composed of these strains,

had ever caused the disease it was de-

signed to prevent.” Id. at 244. Simi-

larly, in the summer of 1964, Dr. Sabin

informed Davis “that there was absolutely

no way” that he could have contracted

polio from taking the vaccine. Id. at

246. See also id. (U.S. government

committee report of September 30, 1964,

stating that “it is not possible to prove

that any individual case was caused by

the vaccine and that no laboratory tests

available can provide a definitive

answer. )

The record available to me, then,

suggests that Davis was still struggling

to determine the cause of his injury by

the critical date in October 1963, and

well beyond. In any event, at the least

A-17

the question when Davis knew (1) of his

injury (paralysis) and (2) its cause (the

vaccine) should be a factual determination

for the jury, and I would reverse the

premature grant of stmmary judgment ‘

Such a result is justified since the |

Government, as the moving party, has

failed to carry its burden of demornstrat-

ing the absence of a genuine issue of

material fact. See also Marshall v.

Kimberly-Clark Corp., 625 F.2d 1300, 1302

(Sth Cir. 1980) ("A dispute over the

facts surrounding the date the statute of

limitations began ‘would alone warrant

Genial of the motion for summary judg-

_ment.‘'"); see generally Yazzi v. Olney,

Levy, Kaplan & Tenner, 593 F.24 100, 103

(9th Cir. 1979).

In sum, I agree that the majority

properly states the Kubrick rule. On

this record, however, I fail to see how

it can affirm the summary judgment.

A-18

APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

GLYNN RICHARD DAVIS,

)

ee.) ) No, 77-1942

Plaintiff-Appellant, )

» B.C. Neo.

ve. ) Civil

) 1-74-68

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, )

) ORDER

Defendant-Appellee. eens

Before: MERRILL, TANG and SCHROEDER,

Circuit Judges

With regard to the petition for re-

hearing in the above matter, the panel

has voted as follows: Judges Merrill and

Schroeder to deny the petition for re-

hearing, while Judge Tang would grant

panel rehearing; and Judges Tang and

Sehreeder have voted to reject the sug=-

gestion for rehearing in bane and Judge

Merrill has recommended such rejection.

The full court has been advised of the

suggestion for an in bane hearing, and no

judge of the court has requested a vote

A-19

om the suggestion for rehearing in banc.

Fed.R.App.P. 35(b) .

The petition for rehearing is denied

and the suggestion for a rehearing in

bane is rejected.

A-20

wemorxc |S ainct on

Tithe ail ae

eS US Se Se ee ee :

SERB CLAPP, Crmte

Quited States Court of Appeals"

FOR The Nintee Concust

-—--—-——e—eoo

GLYN RECHARD, VAWES..

Phaimt {£f-Apperhaunt,,

WSs ee ae Se

UNETED STATES, OF AMERICA, RE CY 1-74-08 A

Defendant -Appelhee.

4

THIS. CAUSE came on to be heard on the Tranactiph of the Becord from the United States

PO EE SE Ey

“me eee tee ee enn enn 9 Ee

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOR, It in nom hare ordered and adjudged by thin Court, that the

Y Rhee ___ judgment of te saith Dintrick Court im thin Cannan, andi becedy: in, 2° 8. Mn

“—

“h Dy ne

Clark pp Sun

Bint and etanee PER 7D, AW Crees

-m °° a ee -

APPENDIX D

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF IDAHO

GLYNN RICHARD DAVIS, ) Civil Ne.

) 1+74-68

Plaintiff, )

) ORDER ON

Vv. ) DEFENDANT'S

) MOTION FOR

UNITED STATES OF ) SUMMARY

AMERICA, ) JUDGMENT

)

Defendant . )

)

This matter was duly brought on for

hearing om March 15, 1977, om the Motion

of the United States to Dismiss or in the

Alternative for Summary Judgment. The

Court concludes that matters outside the

pleadings, that is, requests for admis-

sions, interrogatories, amd responses

thereto, together with certain deposi-

tions, affidavits and attachments thereto

and the record om file in Davis v. Wyeth

Laboratories, Civil No. 3973, in this

Court having been submitted and consid-

ered as a part of the record for purposes

A-22

ef disposition of the government's motion

and including in part the Affidavits of

the Plaintiff Glynn Richard Davis, dated

February 16, 1977, March 3, 1977, and

March 22, 1977, together with attachments

to those affidavits, the affidavit of

Dector Ernest A. Ager, dated February 25,

1977, and the affidavit of Blaine F.

Evans, and further including in part a

memorandum dated September 19, 1962, to

Dector George A. Hottle, Chief, LVI, from

Ruth L. Kirschstein, Chief, Pathology,

and the Results o% Neurovirulence Test of

Poliovirus Vaccine in Rhesus Monkeys

dated September 19, 1962, comsisting of

four (4) pages, the matter is properly

treated as a Motion for Summary Judgment

Ppursuamt to Rules 12(b) and 56 of the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, and the

Court beins fully advised in the premises,

The Court finds amd comcludes that

there exists mo gemuine or substantial

issue of material fact with respect to

A-23

the Motion of the United States, and that

the United States is entitled to judgment

2s a matter of law, for the reason that

the imstant action is barred by the

applicable period of limitatioms and the

Court lacks jurisdiction of the subject

matter of the action. 28 U.S.C. § 2401(b).

IT IS, THEREFORE, ORDERED and this does

erder that the Motion of the Defendant

Umited States of America for Summary

Judgment be, and the same hereby is

granted, that the Complaint and action

herein be, and the same hereby is, dis-

missed with prejudice, and that the

Defendant recover its costs of action.

Dated this 28th day of March, 1977.

/s/ RAY McNICHOLS

United States District Judge

A-24

APPENDIX E

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR

THE DISTRICT OF IDAHO

GLYNN RICHARD DAVIS,

Civil No.

Plaintiff, 1-74-68

UNITED STATES OF

AMERICA,

ee ee

Defendant .

This matter having come before the

Court upon the Motion of the United

States to Dismiss or in the Alternative

for Summary Judgmeni:, the Court having

heard further oral argument on March 15,

1977, by counsel for the parties, the

Court having om this day entered its

Order om said motion, and the Court

being fully advised in the premises;

IT IS HERESY ORDERED, ADJUDGER AND

DECREED that the Defendant Umited States

of America hereby does, have judgment

against the Plaintiff Glynn Richard Davis

and the complaint and action of said Plain-

tiff shall be, and the same hereby are,

dismissed with prejudice and that the

Defendant shall recover its costs in this

action.

Dated this 28th day of March, 1977.

/s/ RAY McNICHOLS

United States District Judge

A-26

APPENDIX F

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF IDAHO

GLYNN RICHARD DAVIS,

Plaintiff, Civil No. 1-74-78

AFFIDAVIT OF

GLYNN RICHARD

DAVIS IN SUPPORT

AMERICA, OF MOTION TO

RECONSIDER ORDER

Defendant .- GRANTING SUMMARY

et et et et eet et et eet et et ee

GLYNN RICHARD DAVIS, being first

duly sworn under oath, deposes and says:

That I was a plaintiff-appellant in

the case of Glynn Richard Davis, and

Florence Davis v. Wyeth Laboratories,

Inc., and American Home Products

Corporation, Civil No. 3973, United

States District Court for the District of

Idaho, Appeal No. 20995 in the United

States Court of Appeals for the Ninth

Circuit. That I am the plaintiff in this

action and make this affidavit in support

AZ

of my Motion to Reconsider Order Granting

Summary Judgment.

That on or about March 17, 1963, I

ingested Sabin Type 3 oral polio virus

vaccine taken from Lot 35 manufactured by

Wyeth Laboratories.

That approximately two weeks follow-

ing ingestion of the vaccine, I contracted

oral poliomyelitis, and after being

treated in the Ashton Memorial Hospital,

I was transferred to Idaho Falls, Idaho,

where I was treated in the Idaho Falls

Hospital; thereafter I was transferred to

the Idaho Elks Rehabilitation Center, in

Boise, Idaho, on May 14, 1963, and dis-

charged on June 13, 1963, for admittance

to the Veterans Administration Hospital

of the United States government in Boise,

Idaho.

That I remained in the Veterans

Hospital until my discharge on October 25,

1963, but thereafter I returned daily for

physical therapy, which continued until

A-28

,

May 29, 1964. At the time of my discharge

from the Veterans Admiristration on

October 25, 1963, my case was diagnosed

as follows:

"Paralytic poliomyelitis, conva-

lescent stage, due to undeter-

mined cause, with paralysis of

the lower extremeties, and

paresis of the right triceps."

The history of the licensing of

Sabin oral polio vaccine and the mass

immunization clinics that were held

throughout the United States for the

purpose of innoculating as many people as

possible are graphically and correctly

described in Davis v. Wyeth Laboratories,

399 F.2d 121 (9th Cir. 1968). In Febru-

ary, 1962 the Communicable Disease Center,

(CDC) of the United States Public Health

Service, and the Department of Health,

Education and Welfare of the United

States announced that Type 3 monovalent

vaccine had been licensed and that a

complete oral polio virus vaccine was

thus available. The sgcvernment, through

A293

the CDC and HEW, announced at that time a

campaign to completely eliminate paralytic

poliomyelitis in the United States.

Idaho, pursuant to the national plan,

subsequently held clinics in the eastern

part of the state, one of which was held

at West Yellowstone, Idaho which was

attended by me. Although doctors were

supposed to be in attendance at the

clinics, there was no doctor at the

clinic in West Yellowstone, Montana, and

the administration of the vaccine was

delegated to a pharmacist.

On September 20, 1962, Luther Terry,

M.D., Surgeon General Public Health

Service, U.S. Department of Health,

Education and Welfare, issued a report of

the Surgeon General's Oral Poliomyelitis

Vaccine Advisory Committee, which had

been meeting in Washington, D.C. and

reviewing the data concerning the occur-

rence of cases of poliomyelitis after the

administration of poliomyelitis vaccine —

A-30

during the calendar year of 1962. His

report contained the following statement:

Sats Ste 'er‘Shte ane moe

SEVERAL LOTS AND WAS NOT

PRODUCED BY ANY SINCLE MANU-

FACTURER.*

Lot 35, from which was taken the vaccine

which I ingested, was not yet licensed by

the United States government for use.

However, prior to isouance of the Septen-

ber 20, 1962 report, Lot 35 had been

subjected to two tests by the federal

government. The second test made on the

vaccine revealed that it did not meet

applicable government standards required

for licensing and release of the vaccine

to the public. This information was

available to the Government on Septen-

ber 3, 1962, just two weeks before

Dr. Terry issued his press release. I

did not discover that the vaccine that I

took did not meet government standards

until approximately the time I filed my

claim with the government for damages on

A31

April 39, 1973. I was also unaware of

the Surgeon General's Report, and not

until the summer of 1963 did I discover

it and the report of the Surgeon

General's Committee issued on December 21,

1962. In the latter report the Committee

stated:

"IT SHOULD SE EMPHASIZED THAT

THE COMMITTEE DOES NOT CONSIDER

THAT AN INDIVIDUAL CASE CAN BE

PROVED TO BE CAUSED BY THE

VACCINE AND NO LABORATORY TEST

HAS THUS FAR PROVIDED A DEFINI-

TIVE ANSWER."

The Committee recommended that community

plans for immunization be encouraged,

using all three types of vaccine, that is

Types 1,2 and 3.

In January of 1963, Lot 35 manufac-

tured by Wyeth was released by the Surgeon

General for distribution despite the fact

that it did not meet government tests.

After contracting the disease of polio

and after sufficiently recovering to be

able to do so, I began an intensive

search in approximately June, 1963, to

A-32

@etermine why I was given a vaccine that

weuld give me the the disease instead of

preventing it. My wife is a registered

nurse. Im the process of my search I

discovered the Surgeon General’s Report

of September 20, 1962, and the Commit-

tee's Report eof December, 1962. In

addition, some time in the summer of

1963, I read am article published on

June 22, 1963 im the Journal of the

American Medial Association. The article

was authored by Henry Gelfand, M.D.,

Chief Enterovirus Unit, Communicable

Disease Center, (CDC), Umited States

Public Health Service, Department of

Health, Education and Welfare. It is to

be noted that it was the Communicable

Disease Center which was charged with the

responsibility ef ascertaining the cause

ef the disease and the relationship

between disease amd the cause. It was

Dr. Langmuir of the Communicable Disease

Center who first proved epidemiologically

A

that the vaccine could cause the disease.

My case against Wyeth, Civil No. 39373 in

this Court, was finally tried om the sole

issue of epidemiological proof that the

waccine had caused the disease.

There was mo evidence available to

me or to the public that the vaccine was

not manufactured im accordance with

government standards or that the waccine

with respect to amy particular lot was

defective in the sense that it would give

the recipient the disease. The proof of

causation in that trial, and the only

proof available, was through the use of

epidemiology. Im Dr. Gelfand"s article,

at page 353, he stated the following

after reviewing the various cases of

polio im the United States:.

"Until recently, there was

almost universal agreement that

living, attenuated, oral polio

virus vaccine (OPV) composed of

the Sabin strains is safe, both

t® @ primary vaccinee and to

his contacts. This tation

for safety was one of bases

ef the use of OPV in millions

of persons im the U.S. and many

Aw

ether countries. Although the

thoroughness of routine report=

ing of morbidity and of special

surveillance for possible

vaccine-induced cases of

paralytic poliomyelitis dif-

fered greatly among the

Various programs, no evidence

has been adduced to show that

this waccine, composed of

these strains, had ever caused

the disease it was designed to

prevent."

Im the same article, Dr. Gelfand

alse stated:

“IF A HARMFUL RESULT WERE A

GENERAL PROPERTY OF A VACCINE,

NO ASSOCIATION WITH MANUFACTURER

OR LOT CAN BE DEMONSTRATED WITH

EITHER THE INACTIVATED OR LIVE,

ATTENTUATED TYPES. IF, HOWEVER,

THE DEFECT WERE NOT A UNIFORM

PROPERTY, BUT A VARIABLE IN THE

MANURACTURING PROCESS, SUCH AN

ASSOCIATION MIGHT BE DEMON-

STRABLE..”

Among the “compatible” cases studied by

this special committee in 1962, no assoeci-

ation with manufacturer or lot was found.

Vaccines of all three American producers,

and many different lots, were represented

ameng these cases. And them, in Table 2

of the article, Dr. Gelfand stated that

with respect to Sabin oral vaccine no

ABD

causal connection was demonstrated between

a particular lot of vaccine and incidence

of the disease.

Im attempting to find out why I got

the disease from the vaccine, I commenced

im the early part of the summer of 1963

to write to numerous people, one of whom

was Dr. Ernest Ager, the state epidemi-

elegist for the state of Washington in

Olympia, Washingtom. Im respomse to my

letter, I received ome from Dr. Ager on

October 30, 1963, which was introduced as

plaintiff's Exhibit No. 25 at trial. Im

Dawis w. Wyeth, Civil No. 3973 Dr. Ager

referred my case to the Communicable

Disease Center im Atlanta, Georgia.

Dr. Johm Mather, the Idaho State

Spiduntelaqaet, has refused to report my

case as one of poliomyelitis.

Im 1964, the Surgeom General's

Committee again met, amd issued a new

report, the new committee had greatly

expanded its membership, and Dr. Ager was

AB

a member of that committee. This report

came out om September 30, 1964. Immedi-

ately prior to issuance of the report, in

a letter dated August 17, 1964, Dr. Pierce

Gardmer, Chief of the Poliomyelitis

Surveillamce Umit, Department of Health,

Education and Welfare, wrote Dr. Mather

and told him that the Committee had met,

and that my case was placed in the

compatible probable group. Gardner

stated that he thought that Mather would

appreciate advamce motice of the Commit-

tee"s judgment im that Mather might wish

to comsider the Committee"s opimionm in

reaching a fimal decisiom whether to

include this case as am official reported

case of poliomyelitis. This letter is

plaintiff"s Exhibit No. 17 im Davis wv.

Wyeth. Plaimtiff"s Exhibit No. 16 im

that case is Mather"= -respemse to

Dr. Gardner, im which he <«)scted the

thinking of the Surgeom Gene: al"s Commit-

tee om poliomyelitis, a committee composed

AD

ef the outstanding epidemiologists,

neurologists and doctors im the field of

poliomyelitis im the world, and stated

that:

"The present diagnosis of lower

neurom disease with paralysis--

etiology umknownm--is the con-

timuing diagmosis by this

ee ef this interesting

My case never has been officially reported

by the Idaho Department of Health.

Im conmection with this matter, I

wrote numerous people including the

tiom an} the Umited States Public Health

Service im Boise, Idaho. Attached to

this affidavit as am exhibit is a copy of

the letter which I wrote to Mr. J. W.

Montieth, Administrator of Natiomal

Health and Welfare, Ottowa, Ontario,

Canada, which is typical of the letters

that I semt out. Imcluded im the

correspondence which [I sent to many

doctors amd scientists, both im and out

ef government, was a letter toDr. Sabin

AB

himself sometime in the summer of 1964;

Dr. Sabin responded that there was abso-

Lepaly me way thet I could have contracted

polio from taking the vaccine.

I authorized my attorney, Mr. Blaine

Evans to interview Dr. Jomas Salk to see

what information could be obtaimed from

him. Om July 18, 1964, my attormey, in

company with Mr. Dale Clemoms, another

attormey im Boise, Idaho, visited Dr.

Salk. Dr. Salk was umable to furnish any

information that there was am identifica-

tiom of amy particular lot with the

vaccine induced poliomyelitis cases being

reported around the Umited States.

Im its report of September 30, 1964,

the revised poliomyelitis committee

imcluded my case, amd I was judged a

probable compatible case of having the

disease induced by the vaccine. The

Committee expressly stated im its report,

however, that mo specific case could be

proved to have beem caused by the vaccine.

The Committee specifically stated:

AD

Thereafter, im the Journal of the American

Medical Associatiom, October 5, 1964,

Dr. Alexander Langmuir, who had first

proven epidemiologically that there was

am association between the vaccine and

the disease, stated im referemce to the

Committee's findings:

"There was mo apparent associa-

tiom of cases with specific

lots of vaccine or vaccines

produced by a particular manu-

facturer."

Im other words, at mo time did the govern-

ment ever state that a lot of vaccine

that had beem released and used had mot

met government standards and im fact, the

United States stated continuously to the

contrary that mo specific lot of vaccine

was involved im causing the disease. The

A-40

scientific thinking at that time was that

the vaccine relatiomship to disease was a

general property of the vaccine and not

one resulting from improper manufacturing

of the vaccine. With numerous individuals

having been interviewed by my attorneys,

with my own letter writing, and with the

articles that I had read following my

getting the disease, it was obvious at

that time that the vaccine that had been

released had met government standards and

that the government could not have been

at fault im releasing for public use the

particular lot of vaccine from which I

was vaccinated.

As a matter of fact, it was not

umtil the Surgeom General"s Report in

September of 1964 (and read by me almost

immediately upom its publicatiom) that

there was amy comcrete evidence that my

own case could have been associated with

the vaccine. Here again, it was thought

or believed by the leading scientists and

A41

Goctors, including the very inventor of

the vaccine, that there was no evidence

that it would have made any difference as

to which lot of vaccine I had taken.

Th*« was the proof that was adduced

against Wyeth. The Circuit Court of

Appeals itself im considering my case on

appeal pointed out that the lot of vaccine

that had been used had met government

standards and that the only proof of

vaccine-induced disease was epidemi-

ological. Moreover, when the drug house

took the depositiom of Drs. Kirschstein

and Murray im October of 1965, Wyeth"s

attorneys as well as my attorneys were

assured im the depositiom that the test

administered by the Divisiom of Biologic

Standards of Lot 35 met government stan-

dards, but im fact Dr. Kirschstein failed

to disclose, although asked about it, any

other testing and kept secret the fact

that a second test was conducted on Lot

35 which revealed that Lot 35 failed to

M42

comply with government standards and

therefore never should have been released

to the public. The second test, all of

which is more fully explained in the

affidavit of Stanley Kops, which is

incorporated herein by reference, shows

that the lot of vaccine that was released

by the government and that gave me the

disease was a lot of vaccine that was too

virulent by government standards to be

released. It had not been sufficiently

tamed or in the language of the scien-

tists, attenuated to be released.

Virulence means a capability of giving

the disease to a human host. For this

reason, when I first learned of the

results of this second test, I immediately

filed a complaint against the government

Om the ground that the government was at

fault im releasing this defective lot of

vaccine and the government's release of

Lot 35 in violation of its own regulations

caused me to get the disease.

A43

Following my trial in Davis v.

Wyeth, certain exhibits were withdrawn

from the file of the court at my request.

I have examined these exhibits and they

are the same documents offered into

evidence at that time, and as a part of

this affidavit, I now list these documents

and include them in this affidavit:

Idaho Falls medical

records

Idaho Elks" Rehabilita-

tion Center Records

Veterans Administration

Hospital records

Idaho State Laboratory

Report

Chart of incidence

of polio

Press Release from

the Office of the

Surgeon General,

August 22, 1962

Surgeon General's

Press Release of

September 15, 1962.

A-44

12

14

16

17

23

28

State of Idaho, Dept.

of Health, Bureau of

Vital Statistics-

statistics on polio

Chart on Polio

Incidence in Montana

1962-1965

Letter from William F.

Cashmore, M.D. Secre-

tary of the Board of

Medical Examiners

State of Montana, to

Blaine F. Evans

Letter from John

Mather, M.D.,

Director of Prevertive

Medicine Division to

Pierce Cardner, M.D.

dated June 26, 1964

Letter from Pierce

Gardner, M.D. to

John A. Mather, M.D.

dated August 17, 1964

rr, 1963 issue

of Northwest Medicine

Form used in Sabin

vacination program

Record of plaintiff's

vaccination with

Type 1 Sabin vaccine

Letter from Ernest A.

Ager, M.D. to Glynn

R. Davis, dated

October 30, 1963

Check for $74.50

dated April 1, 1963

to Del Simpson from

Robert M. Brower

A4

32

33

34

35

36

37

38

70

Check for $79.50

dated May 7, 1963

te Del Simpson from

Robert M. Brower

Record of Wyeth

Laboratories of ship-

ment of Type 3

vaccine to Idaho Falls

Medical association

Statement of $150.20

from J.N. Franklin

Invoice to KO Polio

¢/o J. N. Franklin

dated April 30, 1963

for $32.00

K.O. Polio Expense

invoice for $68.91

signed by J.N.

Franklin

Summary of Invoices

PIE Freight Bill

dated 3/6/63 to

Bannock County Health

Unit

Menorarndum to All State

and Territorial Health

Officers frow Dr. A.L.

Gray, re: Statement

on Type 3 Oral Polio-

myelitis Vaccine,

dated September 14,

1962

Morbidity and

Mortality, Weekly

Report, by U.S.

Department of Health,

Education and Welfare,

Public Health Service,

Vol. 13, No. 54

A-46

Poliomyelitis

Surveillance Report

No. 225 dated June 16,

1961

OTHER EXHIBITS OFFERED

WITH THIS AFFIDAVIT:

The Association of

Cases of Poliomyelitis

with the use of Type

III Oral Poliomyelitis

vaccines (September 20,

1962) by Luther L.

Terry, M.D.

Supplement to PSU

273, December 21,

1962

Oral Vaccine: Associ-

ated Paralytic Polio-

myelitis, 1962,

Journal of American

Medical Association,

by Henry M. Gelfand,

M.D. Atlanta

Oral Poliomyelitis

Vaccines, Report of

Special Advisory

Committee on Oral

Poliomyelitis Vaccines

to the Surgeon General

of the PUblic Health

Service, Vol. 190,

No. 1 submitted by

Dr. Alexander D.

Langmuir

Letter dated 9/4/64

from Glynn R. Davis

to Jay W. Monteith

Poliomyelitis Surveil-

lance, Report No. 285

September 30, 1964

A-47

Although the Surgeon General's

Committee was emphatic in issuing state-

ments that no particular lot of vaccine

was involved as a lot that induced the

disease in the human host and that the

disease producing characteristic oi the

vaccine manufactured, I do know, and I

have been informed by Dr. Ernest Ager,

and assert the fact that he, as well as

the other members of the 1964 Surgeon

General's Committee, was told by Dr.

Roderick Murray, a member of the Commit-

tee and Dr. Kirschstein's superior at the

Division of Biologics Standards, that all

cf the lots that had been released by the

United States government for use by the

public had met government standards. In

fact, of course, as Dr. Murray well knew,

or should have known, Lot 35 did not.

/s/ GLYNN RICHARD DAVIS

A-48

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN to before me

this day of February, 1977.

Notary Public for Idaho

Residing at Boise, Idaho

A-49

APPENDIX G

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF IDAHO

GLYNN RICHARD DAVIS,

Plaintiff, Civil No.

1-74-68

Vv.

AFFIDAVIT OF

STANLEY P.

KOPS

UNITED STATES OF

AMERICA,

Defendant.

me ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee”

A-50

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA:

COUNTY OF PHILADELPHIA:

Stanley Pau] Kops, Esquire, being duly

sworn according to law deposes and says

that he is a member of the law firm of

Freedman, Browosky and Lorry, who were

counsel for the plaintiffs in the case of

Griffin v. United States of America, 351

F.Supp. 10, -F.2d- CA3,

1974, and that in the trial of Griffin v.

United States of America, documents were

introduced into evidence which showed

that Lot 35 of Wyeth Type III did not

comply with the Code of Federal Regula-

tions relating to Sabin Polio Vaccine;

that the five licensing lots of Wyeth

were lots 1€. 19, 20, 23 and 24, that as

of September 1, 1963, Wyeth Lots 23 and

24 would not have been released and in

fact their release was in violation of

the Code of Federal Regulations; that Lot

35 according to documents introduced in

the Griffin trial was tested on two

A-51

occasions by the U.S. Government, once

beginning June l, 1962 and then sonia

beginning August 17, 1962; that at the

depositions of Dr. Roderick Murray and

Dr. Ruth Kirschstein, in the case of

Davis v. Wyeth, the U.S. Government

employees only testified in regard to one

test and only one test was marked as an

exhibit. The test of August 17, 1962

which had a grade 4 monkey which had

never been seen in regard to NA2 by the

use of the intrathalamic test in the

hands of the U.S. Government was never

disclosed to plaintiff or plaintiff's

counsel. According to the regulations

this lot did exceed the NA2 standard. In

addition in a meeting held on October l,

1962 a comparison. of the Wyeth Type III

Vaccine with NA2 indicated that Wyeth

Vaccine far exceed NA2 in regard to the

number of grade 3 lesions and grade 4

lesions and the number of monkeys showing

any grade whatsoever. Attached to this

A-52

affidavit is a letter from Paul Fehnel,

Esq. indicating in paragraph nine that

Wyeth Lots 23, 24, and 31 would not have

been accepted for release as of August 12,

1963. Lots 23, 24 and 31 were among the

four preceding lots to lot 35. Attached

to this affidavit is a copy of the meet-

ing of January 30, 1963 in where there is

a discussion of Wyeth Type III Polio

Vaccine testing in regard to Lots 35, 36

and 40. Lots 36 and 40 were the lots

which followed Lot 35.

Attached to this affidavit is a copy of

the minutes of the meeting of October l,

1962 which indicates on page two of the

said document that Wyeth Type III Vaccine

far exceeded NA2. At no time did the

U.S. Govenrment disclose to plaintiff or

to plaintiff's counsel in the case of

Davis vs. Wyeth the fact of the second

test in regard to Lot 35; the fact that

the four preceding lots did not qualify

under the Code of Federal Regulations;

A-53

the fact that the five licensing lots did

not comply with the Code of Federal

Regulations. The attached documents are

among the records furnished plaintiff's

counsel by the U.S. Government in the

matter of Griffin vs. U.S. of America.

Stanley Paul Kops, Esquire further

deposes and states that the facts set

forth above are true and correct to the

best of his knowledge, information and

belief and based on the review of the

records of Griffin vs. U.S. of America

and the depositions of Dr. Murray and Dr.

Kirschstein in the case of Davis vs.

Wyeth.

/s/ STANLEY PAUL KOPS

A-54

APPENDIX H

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF IDAHO

GLYNN RICHARD DAVIS, Civil No.

1-74-68

Plaintiff,

AFFIDAVIT OF

ERNEST AGER IN

SUPPORT OF MOTION

TO RECONSIDER

ORDER GRANTING

SUMMARY JUDGMENT

TO THE UNITED

STATES

vs.

UNITED STATES OF

AMERICA,

Defendant.

eee Oe eae

STATE OF WASHINGTON )

County of King 106:

ERNEST AGER, being first duly sworn,

deposes and says:

That some time in the summer of 1964,

he was appointed by the Surgeon General

of the United States to the Surgeon Gen-

eral's Special Advisory Committee on Oral

Poliomyelitis Vaccine and that this Com-

mittee met some time in July, 1964.

That one of the members of this Com-

mittee was Dr. Roderick Murray, who at the

time of the Committee's meeting in July,

“4-55

1964, was Director of the Division of Bi-

Ologics Standards of the Nationai Institutes

of Health.

That the subject of the Committee's

study was the possible relationship be-

tween ingestion of Sabin vacine to inci-

dence of the disease of polio.

That during the Committee's meeting in

July, 1964, Dr. Murray represented to the

Committee that all Type 3 Lots of the

oral vaccine which had been tested by the

Division of Biologics Standards up to the

time of the July 1964 meeting had satis-

fied the government's neurovirulence

standards.

/s/ ERNEST AGER

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN to before me this

25th day of February, 1977.

/s/JOY E. McCORMICK

Notary Public for Washington

Residing at Lynnwood

A-56

CERTIFICATE OF DELIVERY

I hereby certify that on the 14th day

of March, 1977, I hereby served a copy

of the above and foregoing Affidavit of

Ernest Ager in Support of Motion to Re-

consider Order Granting Summary Judgment

to the United States by delivering a

true and correct copy of same to United

States Attorney for the District of Idaho,

Paul L. Westberg, 550 W. Fort Street,

Boise, Idaho.

/s/ ROBERT M. TYLER, JR.

A-57

8S-WV

‘ Result of dewrovireien coat vs Pelsevitet Vaccine in eur Honkeys

wyetl Let He. PO 35-11t by _Iatrathalestc teceutation titer-log 107:? | RED.

est perflorned at ops by pes Test scored at__ 08S Se .

olume of inoculum/monkey .

wvber of rry 4 inocu s y -... (2) Date of inoeviation £/17/%7

ee ee Date of secrifice — 9/32

il. iT Histologic Lesions of Poliomyelitis a

ri Monkey | faralyets | ~~ Cuaber | Cervical ~“fedul ie Score wf Foli+

noc. | Wo. —

fa 2 Li2]3/ 4] 5] 6] av | tover|vpper| midbrain |] Severity®|Sprera”

19h} 13046 we Olololojolo] o Folololololol o inline 0 ——

2 15047 af O1O;O;O0;0;0) Oo O;O;O;O;o0;08 0 0 0 0 0 6

L5048 " O}Ololololo] o fololjolojojof o | o 0 0 0 0

» | is049 " ololojololo] o | ololololojof o fo | o | om fo ‘| J

- 1.5050 e (EERE olol eo oie 27.0.9 .0 | 02 | sm = ae ee 5

aS Ulla Glojolojolo] o f ojojojojojof o | o 0 O- t) i

" 1.5052 nd O1O0;0;0;/0; 0) 0 O10; 0/0/;0); 05 0 ie) 0 0 0 Lo

S 15053 ws O1}O;O7O, 0; 048 0 010 4 ojo; 0 tC) QO i) AS Ah eee

° L5054 Mh 3} 3}2/3)2)38 3 83,313) 3, 2,25 3 . a 3 4 Le

« | 15055 ° OL O;Olo; oO; oO] © Fojojolojojo} © Ff o ) 0 ee 2 OE

Total ne. with polio/tetal ac. ef @onkeys - Tetsl Ratio Seesnext pace/

* + non-specific lestons Av. = erithectic average of lusber or cervical icsion score

' « mo lestons @ -s average lesion score in arcas of or close ‘o inoculation

score key for lesions of poliompelitic & = average Lesion score in ares most dist..nt from

1 + winioal ivoculation site :

2 + wfld © -« Tetel ratie; total lesion scere over aueber: of mon! cys

3 - moderately severe uP - no pacelysic

4 + severe

a, Me enessaw - au

6S~-W

220

Reowlt of ticwrovirulonce test of foliovirus Vaccine tn Mheeua Monkeys

kyeth tet He, PO -IS-tF by __Introthalomic Luocutat Lon ‘gheer-tog 10? a

wee Fe eee

perforned at “DNS by — * . Test scored ot aes by mre.

“2 of wnat ~ homer

vc of ot ah! nyo "5,000,000 AY (2) Date of incculation 8/17/62

(4) Date of sacrifice oir?

a a Wistologié Lesions of Poliomyelitis

Neukey | Pavalyete jiabne evizar tedulla Yc ¢ ot toile

tie,

j tl2ialalsis S[a[afe [a] a] ae | tore [onper|auencate ty" lsngend®

| 13056 ud OOOO; O; 0] Oo olololololol o i) °o » © =a = ee

ise] Jolololololol Holelololelolo fo | o| 0 °

_ 15059 ° OfOlOlololo] o Hololojojo ol 0 0 t) t) i = Ss

Ro OOOO lO/ Ol oO VOlolioiolololo fo jo 9 = -_

12000} WOLOTO 10/01 oO Hololaialolof o fo | 0 | 9 8 a

_| ©5061 bed OOO ;0;0;01 Oo O;O;O;O;o;oF o t) ) ) - © 0

_|_ 15062 ” Ojo jo jolojolo Holololojololo ojo] oe { 0 wa Re

[5063 " OfOsolelojof o folololjojolof o Fo C) () | t)

_.| 15066 ” 0 )0/0jo/0/0} © Tolololojojoj o o | 0 0 0 0

Lnsons. J ojolojojojoj o sjojololofo f_o J o-| « Jo 0.

Total no, with polic/totel we. of soukeys = Total Rate Seq wext patsy

non-speelCle Lesions dv. = arithectic average of lusber or cecvien! Irelon sence

no icstons & + average lesion score in areas of oc close to inoculation

> bey fow Lestous of polfowyel itis b + average Lesion scove in ates most distant ices

t+ elatest inoculation site

2 + mild c * Total wath: totel leston score ever .ourber of ecal.cys

Fe eadewstole eeusee ws. weet sole

09-V

rlovecd

ok neculur/

se

ef

—

Resuit of teursvirulence ‘tose of Pelluvives Vacelne tn Mhecus Konkeyy ft

yeth_—4t We. __ pa 2s3tt_. by jntrathelante _tneculagion — tlter-teg 10 aS ee

rage

by pes Test deored o¢__ pw byt

—_---

eris/6>

Auceulated/monkey 32.009,,090_.._ (3) _ __(2) Dace of inoculation <j

ees ji

(3) (4) 7. fe

'* a | — Wletologic estene pe Lh 7

L213 5 Liza 6 ff Lover luppce'

15066) tw FOL OG lololo} o fojololojojoro fe 0

15057 . olojolololo] o foicto 218 eo o ho. to

_ 15068 | ¥ clololololo}] oF ololojojojoj o fF o je

13069 ye Jolololololo ) ololololalo o §_° je

_1s070|__" _ folelolelololo tele olofo | o |e

1.5071 ° olololololol o Fololjejojojo§ o ojo

3072 e Ololololo/ol o Fololol;oio/o8 o o;}o

. ° olololololo} o Fojololelaios o oj ¢

i ABABA Ojojojojojoy o fF of 2)

5075 “ ajojo ojo ejojeloloji o iaaeaee

he Totel no. with polie/tetct no. of monkeys = 2/30.

oe 0 sts tnt test mee ane fo arto

key Cov lesions of pollesyelitis b = average Leslon scoce in eres mest distant fre.

wild

wintwrl

wodevately severe

severe

inoculation site

= Total ratio: total lesion score over ausber of soukeys

a? «+ no paralysis

APPENDIX J

THE ASSOCIATION

OF

CASES OF POLIOMYELITIS

With the Use of Type III

Oral Poliomyelitis Vaccines

A TECHNICAL REPORT

by

Luther L. Terry, M.D.

Surgeon General, Public Health Service

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF

HEALTH, EDUCATION, AND WELFARE

September 20, 1962

. The data in this report have been compiled

by the Poliomyelitis Surveillance Unit, Communi-

cable Disease Center, Public Health Service, U.S.

Department of Health, Education, and Welfare. The

information is based on routine morbidity and spe-

cial poliomyelitis surveillance reports, indivi-

dual case investigations and a wide variety of

laboratory and field studies, all of which repre-

sent the work of several hundred practicing physi-

cians, local, state and federal health officials,

epidemiologists, and laboratory scientists. Their

contribution is gratefully acknowledged.

A-61

On September 15, 1962, the Surgeon

General's Oral Poliomyelitis Vaccine Ad-

visory Committee met in Washington, D.C.,

and reviewed the data concerning the oc-

currence of cases of poliomyelitis after

the administration of oral poliomyelitis

vaccines during the current calendar year.

After a full discussion of the problem

the Committee unanimously recommended

that the use of Type III vaccine be limi-

ted to preschool and school age children

and to adults at high risk, i.e. those

traveling to hyperendemic areas and those

living in areas where Type III epidemics

were present or impending. They advised

that mass programs using Types I and II

oral vaccines be continued for all age

*

Groups.

“The members of the Special Oral Poliomyelitis

Vaccine Advisory Committee who approved the recom-

mendations are: Drs. David Bodian, John P. Fox,

Archie L. Gray, William McD. Hammon, Hugh H.

Hussey, Alexander D. Langmuir, Roderick Murray,

John R. Paul, Edward B. Shaw, Joseph E. Smadel.

Dr. Albert B. Sabin, also a member of the Commit-

tee, participated in its first two meetings on

A-62

The present report summarizes the

information which was reviewed by the

committee and upon which its recommenda-

tions were based. Included are: (1) a

brief review of the use of poliomyelitis

vaccines in the United States, particular-

ly the use of recently licensed oral

poliomyelitis vaccines; (2) an appraisal

of the present poliomyelitis problem; and

(3) a listing, in detail, of the cases of

poliomyelitis that have occurred in

association with the use of oral poliomye-

litis vaccines. This information is

being made broadly available to the

medical and health professions at this

time in order that they may have the

opportunity for a full understanding of

the basis for the recommendations.

Use of Poliomyelitis Vaccines:

The Type I oral vaccine was licensed

for distribution in interstate commerce

August 9 and 16, 1962. He was out of the country

on September 15 and was thus unable to be present

at the meeting on that date. The Surgeon General

served as Chairman of the Committee.

A-63

on August 17, 1961; Type II vaccine on

October 10, 1961; and Type III on March

27, 1962. Prior to these dates, experi-

mental lots of the respective vaccines

were employed in a number of small scale

and some large scale community programs.

Since vaccine licensure, a great

many community-wide vaccination programs

have been carried out. The programs have

ranged in size from those involving

Single small towns, to those which in-

clude metropolitan areas in several

continguous counties, ‘to an essentially

statewide program in Massachusetts. The

oral vaccines have also been employed for

smaller programs among selected popula-

tion groups and for routine use in pri-

vate practice and health department

immunization clinics.

In epidemic control, Type I vaccine

was used immediately following release in

the Syracuse, New York, area and, in

1962, in many counties of Texas; in

A-64

Mobile, Alabama; Pasadena, California;

and several rural counties in Kentucky

and Pennsylvania to abort existent or

impending epidemics. Experimental lots

of Type III vaccine were used in 1961 in

outbreaks in Atlanta, Georgia, and in

Newberry County, South Carolina. Commer-_

cial Type III vaccine was used in Wash-

ington County, Virginia, in 1962.

The estimated use of oral vaccines

in the United States is summarized in

table 1. Utilization of both experimen-

tal lots and the licensed product is

shown. Since it was recommended that

Type 1 vaccine be fed first and because

many programs did not start until late

spring, the estimates show a much greater

use of this type of vaccine than Types II

and III. Estimated use in community

programs of the three types of vaccine by

mouth is shown in figure 1.

In most areas the vaccine was of-

fered to persons of all ages and found

A-65

wide acceptance among adults as well as

children. In a few areas, as in Massa-

chusetts, use of the oral vaccines in

public programs was largely limited to

children.

During the past 12 months, the

inactivated (Salk) poliomyelitis vaccines

(IPV) have continued to be used although

iess widely. Since April 1955, a total

of 537 million doses of IPV has been

distributed. A random sample survey of

the population in September 1961 indica-

ted that slightly more than 50 million

persons in the population had received 4

or more doses of the inactivated vaccine.

Incidence of Poliomyelitis:

The annual’ incidence of reported

cases of poliomyelitis by paralytic

status from 1955 through 1961 is shown in

table 2. The marked decline in paralytic

cases can be attributed largely to the

widespread use of the inactivated polio

vaccine. During the first 9 months of

A-66

1962, the incidence of poliomyelitis has

further declined as shown in table 3.

Present data indicate that for 1962,

the paralytic poliomyelitis rate for

those under 20 will be approximately 7.6

per million; for those over 20, about 0.9

per million. These rates will represent

a record low for the 52-year period since

the reporting began.

. The further decline in the incidence

of poliomyelitis in 1962 may be attribu-

ted to the steadily improved immunization

status of the population resulting both

from the continued use of inactivated

polio vaccine and the wide use of oral

vaccines.

The Occurrence of Cases Following Oral

Vaccine:

With the licensing of Type I oral

vaccine in August 1961, the poliomyelitis

surveillance program of the Communicable

Disease Center placed particular stress

on the evaluation of reported cases of

A-67

poliomyelitis developing after vaccine

use. It was recognized that when mil-

iions of persons participate in an immun-

ization program, any of a variety of

subsequent events might occur coinciden-

tally but be attributed erroneously to

the vaccine. This could be particularly

true of an intercurrent disease such as

aseptic meningitis that might simulate

poliomyelitis and even poliomyelitis due

to infection with wild polioviruses that

had been acquired prior to the vaccina-

tion. The problem is compounded during

the summer and early fall when many

enteroviruses are actively circulating.

In epidemic control a number of

cases of disease among vaccinees can be

expected in the days immediately follow-

ing an immunization program before there

has been opportunity for immunity to

develop. In nonepidemic areas, the

frequency of coincidental cases should be

lower, although not necessarily zero. If

A-68

vaccine is related in a causal way to the

cases, the intervals between immunization

and onset of disease should group with

the expected 7- to 30-day incubation

period of the disease.

Since August 17, 1961, when Type I

oral vaccine became commercially avail-

able, there have been 62 cases of polio-

myelitis officially reported to the

Public Health Service in which oral polio

vaccine had been administered within 30

days prior to the onset of symptoms.

During the epidemic in New York

State in 1961, a total of 32 "under

30-day vaccinated cases" was reported.

Most of these developed soon after admin-

istration of the vaccine, in fact, 15

within 6 days. The early appearance of

these cases indicates a coincidental

rather than a causal relationship to

vaccination. Similarly, in South Caro-

lina, Georgia, and Texas, a total of 17

"under 30-day vaccinated cases" was

A-69

reported. Again, most appeared soon

after vaccination, 11 within 6 days, and

do not suggest a causal relationship.

In the nonepidemic areas, a total of

16 “under 30-day vaccinated cases" has

been reported. These have come from

seven States. Two followed Type I vac-

cine, 1 followed Type iI vaccine, and 13

followed Type III vaccine. Eleven of the

16 occurred between the 15th and 29th

days. This finding warranted further

consideration of the possibility of a

causal relationship to the vaccine,

particularly to the Type III vaccine.

The Advisory Committee directed

special attention to these 16 under

30-day cases reported from nonepidemic

areas. All available clinical, epidemio-

logical, and laboratory information was

reviewed. Each case was considered

individually, and excluded or not exclu-

ded by group decision from further consi-

deration as to the possibility of its

A-70

being vaccine induced. No case was

excluded except by unanimous agreement of

the committee members. Included for

consideration were those cases clinically

compatible with poliomyelitis which

demonstrated any significant paralysis

and in which laboratory findings to date

were not inconsistent with a vaccine

relationship. Descriptive data regarding

these cases are summarized in table IV.

Of the two cases of poliomyelitis

reported following Type I vaccine admin-

istration, only one (case 2) was thought

by the Committee to be entirely compati-

ble clinically with poliomyelitis. Of

recent onset, the virologic studies on

this patient are still in process. The

clinical history of the other case (case

1) indicated it to be exceedingly mild

and atypical. The patient experienced no

known febrile illness, he was not hospi-

talized, and no cerebrospinal fluid

A-71

studies were performed. He recovered

with no residual paralysis.

The single case reported following

immunization with Type II vaccine was

found to have a Type III virus in his

stool. Since Type III vaccine had not

been fed, it can be concluded that the

infection was due to a wild virus.

Eleven of the 13 cases following

Type III oral polio vaccine were consi-

dered by the Committee as possibly vac-

cine related. Of the two cases excluded,

one (case 14) had an illness atypical for

poliomyelitis with no functional impair-

ment after 30 days. Both Type I and

Type III polioviruses were recovered from

the stool, 55 and 27 days respectively

after Types I and III vaccines had been

fed to the child. The Type I virus which

was recovered was characterized as "wild-

like" according to the results obtained

by the modified Wecker and McBride tests.

These tests are used to demonstrate

A-72

slight antigenic differences between

poliovirus strains of the same type.

Since the virus strains may, after a

period of intestinal multiplication, show

such a shift in the antigenic character-

istics of the viruses, no definitive

interpretation of this finding was possi-

ble. The second case (case 16) which was

excluded from further consideration had

an insignificant paralytic residual and

no detectable Type III antibody in either

acute or convalescent serum specimens.

From 6 of the 11 cases, Type III

poliovirus was recovered from. stool

specimens. Five of the six were charac-

terized as "vaccine-like" by the modified

Wecker and McBride Tests. Although this

finding was of interest, it unfortunately

provided little help in determining

whether the vaccine played a causal role.

Each of these considered had been fed

Oral vaccine and, hence, might be expec-

ted to be excreting the Type III vaccine

A-73

virus which might appear by the modified

Wecker and McBride tests to be, as noted

above, either "wild-like” or "vaccine-

like." Further, it is possible that the

Oral vaccine strain may have displaced a

"wild" enterovirus which was, in fact,

the etiological agent responsible for the

paralytic illness. In summary, isolation

of a Type III virus from the stool and

demonstration of Type III antibodies in

the patient's sera served to indicate

only that the paralytic disease would not

be incompatible with Type III vaccine-in-

duced disease.

The 11 cases considered as possibly

related to Type III vaccine feeding are

between 16 and 52 years of age, with all

but 3 of the cases over 30. The vaccine

administered to this group of cases was

from severai lots and was not produced by

any single manufacturer. Of the 11

cases, 3 occured in Oregon, 3 in Nebras-

ka, 2 in Michigan, 2 in Ohio, and 1 in

A-74

New York State. The clinical illnesses

in these patients range from significant

to ‘severe. No deaths occurred. Among

the 11 cases, the entire spectrum of

nonfatal paralytic illness characteristic

of poliomyelitis was evident.

Discussion Summary:

Of the reported cases to date, 1

following Type I vaccine and 11 following

Type III vaccine were considered by the

Committee to be clinically consistent

with paralytic poliomyelitis and with

laboratory findings which could not

exclude a possible relationship to the

administration of oral vaccine.

As noted, a single case occurred

within 30 days of Type I vaccine adminis-

tration during a period of almost 9

months when approximately 20 million

persons were fed Type I vaccine. This is

wholly compatible with coincidental

origin.

A-75

The 11 cases following Type III

_ vaccine cannot all be assumed to be

coincidental. The adult age distribution

ranging from 16 to 52 years with eight of

the cases over 30 years of age, and the

clustering of the intervals from vaccine

feeding to onset in the 2-3 week period

suggest a vaccine relationship. For

these reasons the Committee concluded

_that "there is sufficient epidemiological

evidence to indicate that at least some

of these cases have been caused by the

Type III vaccines."

The incidence, assuming all cases to

have been vaccine induced, is but ll

cases among more than 13 million fed.

This is less than one case per million

loses given. When the risk is related to

age it is apparent that adults are ex-

posed to a greater hazard than are child-

ren. Inadequate information on the age

specific vaccine acceptance rate, however,

makes it impossible to calculate a more

A-76

precise estimate of the risk at this

time.

With the incidence of poliomyelitis

at a low level in this country, the

Committee therefore recommended that the

Type III vaccine be restricted to pre-

school and school age children and to

those adults in high risk groups, such as

those traveling to hyperendemic areas or

in areas where a Type III epidemic is

present or impending.

Since the vast majority of poliomye-

litis cases occur among young children

and since chiidren are the principal

disseminators of the virus, continued

intensive immunization programs among

this group are clearly indicated. If

this group can be adequately immunized,

the spread of the poliomyelitis viruses

will be sharply restricted, if not essen-

tially eradicated.

A-77

—

Taste I.—Estimated Use of Oral Poliomyelitig Vaccine (Sabin strains) in the

United States

Type of vaccine (in 1,000’s of doses)

I Il Il Total

Experimental vaccines:

Community prophylactic programs... .. *693 *612 *621 *1, 926

| an Sees ee ee Pe 322 322

Licensed vaccines:

Community prophylactic programs... 12,392 | 3,622 | 0,492; 25, 506

Epidemic control. ................... 3, 064 |........ 2 3, 066

Other programs, routine immunization

clinies and private practice.......... 5,000 | 3,000; 4,000/| 12,000

Wi idbtnitisecdsetbtcccencesed 21,149 | 7,234) 14,437 | 42, 820

“Including trivalent vaccine.

Taste If.—Annwal Incidence of Reported Cases of Poliomyelitis by Paralytic

Status in the United States 1955-G1

Number of reported cases

Year ,

Paralytic Nonparalytic Unspecified Total

Si tencédensbeced 13, 850 12, 453 2, 682 28, 985

Bees wedsdeontoccac 7,911 6, 555 674 15, 140

) ae 2, 499 2, 826 160 5, 485

Sb secccocucdécdud 3, 697 1, 041 149 5, 787

Sree 6, 289 * 2,045 91 8, 425

Se 2, 525 626 39 3, 190

Ee 988 305 19 1,312

Taste III.—/ncidence of Poliomyelitis by Paralytic Statue in the United Statca

a through 36th Week—1962 and Comparable Periods in Previous

eare

Paralytic status 1962 1961 1960 1959

eae 393 454 1, 200 3, 122

Nonparalytic...............-.- 78 151 368 1, 304

Vnapesiied. .... crcecccccccce 29 77 167 440

Witah. cicwcccccedsttvece 500 682 1, 735 4, 956

Number cf Persons (1000's)

Figure 1

During Known Moss Community Oro! Polo Voccineten Programs

6.4

a Es

Catimete of the Number of Persons Pod

by Month from Dote of Licensure, United Stotes

o

a 2

ale uP Oot wiv Ol [ain iB MAR ADR MAY UN Am UO

8,000 LICENSED.

v

1200

° ’ u ' ’ ul a” ae ; ‘ ’ . a

ar

gue SEP OCT NOV OFC | vam PEO WAR APR MAY HUN 4%

A-79

TasLe 1V.—Caacs of Reported Pavalytic Poliomyelitia Occurring Within 36 Daya of the Administration of Oral Poliomyclitia Vaccines

in Nonepidemic Arcas January I to Scptember 15, 1962

Type I Vaccine .

Onset Interval ~~ OPV Virus isolates Anti-

a Age | Race | Sex — first | Clinical a body | Committee ‘

0. mptom| severity T T Tesponse, apprainal

| Pt) Type) Wie | Type | Character PY

SE” 3} wi M 2| 5/29 | ae} es ee ¢ | Wid like......... | 1 | Bxetuded.

SATS 25; W M 1 8/30 3 iP Rabies icondne (**) | (9%)... wneneeeeel (**) | Compatible.

Type Il Vaccine

Sie 2|wtlr 2| 223 3 jOver 90) j= lll ie — | Excluded

Type Ill Vaccine ps

ee HD 23| WiM 4] 716 —! ay RRs 17 | III | Wild like......... ul Compatible.

need 36| W b 0 7/20 4} eae ae 22 | Ill | Vaccine like......| Il | Compatible.

Seeing is| W F 5 "1 te > == if SF . saaratsetes (**) =| Compatible.

, Rbraren 51; W | M o| 7/16 lie | Seese 22 _ (**) | Compatible.

BP 37| wi M 0; 7/23 {a of omer 16}; — a= — | Compatible.

Lanes 49| W | M o| «eis 4} +90 |...... 26| O _ Il & IIT} Compatible.

10...--- i) WM | Ol lye) 8] as [ccc is} — - — | Compatible.

OS a sca 36' WiM 0| 715 | Pte eee 21| Oo - T& Il |

eRe: 48| W F 0 ait Oa: Be eed 7 | III | Vaccine like...... 111 | Compatible.

a 39; W M 0 1 4 4 aa 23} IIl | Vaccine like......) — Compatible

a 6; Wi] M 0 Ph. Mea el 27 Wild like......... on Exeluded

15 52| W | M 0} 6/26 4| 52 19| Hi | Vaccine like222.2-) if | Compatible

Mi 610! & 4| 6/12 Are {ewe oe ay eeeenenee Tee ee

**In process. we

Key fer severity : a — Key for CRegative test, outtboty les :

2=Miuor involvement. ba yt

4= Gieability. Virus chargcter. wie Ly by the modified Weeker and

i= dixabled ( wheelchair, extensive bracing). tests.

Con-idered me} toy accine-induyed disease cases clinically tndistinguisbaple f lomselitis with some significant residue!

partigels and tobscarian eausine bot tasemeteenes Cite the pasate ct cattine selatani 94 lt

nn ne £6 2¢. 68 S66@.0¢8 sees

APPENDIX K

SUPPLEMENT TO PSU 273

December 21, 1962

Statement Released from the Office

of the Surgeon General, December 19,

1962.

Report of the Special Advisory Com-

mitee on Oral Poliomyelitis Vaccine

to the Surgeon General. December 18,

1962

Line Listing of Cases Considered by

the Committee.

Reprinted with Permission of

Surveillance Section

Epidemiology Branch

Communicable Disease Center

U.S.P.H.S.

A-81

A. Statement Released to the Press by

the Office of the Surgeon General

Communities planning immunization

campaigns against poliomyelitis are urged

to move ahead, using all three types of

Sabin oral vaccine with particular em-

phasis on children and young adults,

Surgeon General Luther L. Terry of the

Public Health Service announced today.

Dr. Terry said that this is the re-

gommendation of the Surgeon General's

Special Advisory Committee on Oral Po-

liomyelitis Vaccine which concluded its

fifth meeting this year on December 18,

and that he has accepted the Committee's

recommendations.

The Committee stressed that special

attention be given to children because

they comprise the population group "in

whom the danger of naturally occurring

poliomyelitis is greatest and who serve

A-82

as the natural source of poliomyelitis

infection in the community."

"The Committee feels and I whole-

heartedly agree that of greatest im-

portance is planning for the continuing

vaccination of oncoming generations,"

the Surgeon General said. "This is the

only way we will succeed in eradicating

polio permanently."

The Surgeon General quoted the re-

commendation of the Committee with respect

to vaccinations among adults:

"Because the need for immunization

diminishes with advancing age and be-

cause potential risks of vaccine are be-

lieved by some to exist in adults,

especially above the age of 30, vaccina-

tion should be used for adult only with

the full recognition of its very small

risk. Vaccination is especially re-

commended for those adults who are at

higher risk of naturally occurring disease;

A-83

for example, parents of young children,

pregnant ‘iin persons in arn sit-

uations and those planning foreign travel."

Dr. Terry presided at the two-day meet-

ing at which committee members reviewed

all cases of suspected polio-like illness

currently known to have been associated

with the administration of oral polio

virus vaccine of all three types in non-

epidemic areas.

"In the oral and the Salk vaccines we

have two established weapons against polio

and we can, I believe, look forward to the

day when polio is finally eliminated in this

country," the Surgeon General stated. "With

a total of around 650 cases reported this

year, compared to almost 58,000 a decade ago,

it is clear we are well on our way."

In commenting on the work of his Advisory

Committee, Dr. Terry said: “The meticulous

care with which members of this committee--

all experts in the scientific disciplines

A-84

involved in the use of vaccines--have

watched and evaluated developments in the

widespread use of oral poliomyelitis

vaccines is exemplary." They are render-

ing an invaluable service in advising

us.

Members of the Surgeon General's Com-

mittee are: Dr. David Bodian, The Johns

Hopkins School of Medicine; Dr. John Fox,

Public Health Research Institute of the

City of New York; Dr. Archie L. Gray,

Secretary and Executive Officer, Mississippi

State Board of Health; Dr. William MCD.

Hammon, University of Pittsburgh; Dr. Hugh

Hussey, Dean, School of Medicine, George-

town University; Dr. Alexander Langmuir,

Public Health Service, Communicable

Disease Center, Atlanta, Georgia; Dr.

Roderick Murray, Public Health Service,

National Institutes of Health, Bethesda,

MD; Dr. John Paul, Yale University School

of Medicine; Dr. Albert Sabin, University

A-85

of Cincinnati; Dr. Edward D. Shaw, Uni-

versity of California School of Medicine;

and Dr. Joseph E. Smadel, Public Health

Service, National Institutes of Health,

Bethesda, Md.

The report of the committee's find-

ings and recommendations is attached.

B. Report of the Special Advisory

Committee on Oral Poliomyelitis

Vaccine to the Surgeon General,

PHS. December 18, 1962

The Committee met to review all cases

of suspect polio-like illness currently

known to have been associated with the

administration of oral poliovirus vaccine

of all three types in non-epidemic areas.

These included, in addition to cases pre-

viously considered, 25 cases newly dis-

covered among persons fed vaccine and four

cases among individuals in contact with

vaccinated persons. Some of the cases pre-

viousiy accepted as “compatible” have been

dropped from this category because of

A-86

additional clinical and laboratory evi-

dence that has become available. New

cases have been added to the “compatible”

group where careful review has justified

such action.

It should be emphasized that the com-

mittee does not consider that an individual

case can be proved to be caused by the vac-

cine and no laboratory test has thus far

provided a definitive answer. However, it

has attempted to decide for each case

whether or not it is *oenpetibie" with

the possibility of having been induced by

the vaccine. Cases have been judged as

“compatible” when three criteria were met:

(1) onsent within a period (4-30 days after

feeding) consistent with a reasonable in-

cubation period; (2) an illness clinically

consistent with paralytic polio; and (3)

laboratory findings which do not exclude

a vaccine relationship.

On the basis of data now available the

total number of cases associated in time

A-87

with the direct administration of Type

III vaccine and considered by a committee

majority as “compatible” is now ll, of

which 8 are over 30 years of age. Four

cases were excluded as clearly unrelated

to Type III vaccination; and seven cases

were considered inconclusive as to a

possible vaccine relationship.

The total number of cases associated

with the administration of Type I vaccine

and considered as “compatible” is seven,

of which 4 are over 30 years of age. Ten

cases were excluded; six were considered

inconclusive. None of the three Type II

associated cases was judged to be

“compatible”.

It should be noted that the total

number of doses of oral vaccine given in

non-epidemic areas during 1962 is approxi-

mately 31 million Type I, 19 million Type

II and 15 million Type III. Hence, the

maximum potential risk for Types I and

A-88

III is of the order of one per million or

less Overall, but higher for those over 30

years of age. For Type II there is still

no indication of risk.

Consideration of the four cases in

unvaccinated persons in household con-

tact with vaccinees resulted in two being

judged “compatible” and two "excluded".

One additional “compatible” case occurred

in a nonhousehold contact. Considering

the large amount of vaccine administered

and the known frequency of vaccine virus

spread from vaccinated to unvaccinated

persons, particularly within homes, it

is concluded that contact spread has

posed no significant hazard.

It is therefore recommended: (1)

that community plans for immunization

be encouraged, using all three types;

wie (2) that immunization be emphasized

for children in whom the danger of natur-

ally occurring poliomyelitis is greatest

A-89

and who serve as the natural source of

poliomyelitis infection in the community.

Because the need for immunization dimin-

ishes with advancing age and because po-

tential risks of vaccine are believed by

some to exist in adults, especially above

the age of 30, vaccination should be used

for adults only with the full recognition

of its very small risk. Vaccination is

especially recommended for those adults

who are at higher risk of naturally occur-

ring disease; for example, parents of

young children, pregnant women, persons in

epidemic situations and those planning

foreign travel.

Of greatest importance is the continu-

ing vaccination of oncoming generations.

C. Cases Considered by the Special

Advisory Committee

As stated in the report of the Advisory

Committee, all known cases of suspect polio-

like illness associated in time with the

A-90

administration of the three types of oral

polio vaccines outside of epidemic areas

were reviewed. The line listings which

appear below categorize the cases for

consideration as occurring after the ad-

ministration of Type I, Type II or Type

III vaccine. Thus any case with onset

more than 30 days after one type of

vaccine administration but within 30

days of a second type received 2 reviews.

Two cases, as indicated in the listing,

were considered both as primary vaccinees

and as contacts of vaccinees.

All cases considered have been listed

in previous P.S.U. reports except for ten

cases from California which have not yet

been officially reported. These were

considered from a special report prepared

and submitted to the Committee by the

California State Department of Public

Health. The Committee appraisal on each

individual case is indicated, based on

the criteria listed in their report.

A-91

76-V

Cases of Polio-lixe Illness Following Oral Polio Vaccines

Occurring Outside of Epidemic Arcas in 1962 - Reviewed ty the

Surgeon General's Advisory Committee on Policnyelitis Vace.nes

I. Cases Follcwing Type I Vacci-e

Strate

calif.

Calif. (sR)

Calif. (XR)

calif.

Calif.

Ceiif.

Calif. (Na)

Calif.

Calif.(NR)

Calif.(@m)

Caiif. (NR)

Calizt. (NWR)

Caliz.(sR)

Calif.(wR)

Calif. (ur)

Til.

lowe

Mess.

Mass.

Ace

8

ll

32

42

ZRSCLKRMIERAKEKMe KK rx .

zum

> ee poe of tn hg

~O@MOF“wUYUOaUNCONOOrS

euu

mr frow Feeding o

~_ ak a

27)

2(4)

(14)

8(11)

18(19)

25(26)

740)

22(25)

~2(12)

14(23)

~4(8)

~8(E)

$(13)

(97) a 48

9(11)

4(6)

(9)

(27)

16(30)

No Specizen

0 No Isolate Obtained

te In Process

Isolate

Character

ue

site 32%

Non-Vacc. like

(3 Specimens)

Vaccine-like

(1 Specicen)

Vaccine-like

Antibody

Response

I

Inconclesive

T

1

I

Inconciusive

**

Incenclusive

Iaconclusive

Inconclusive

Inconclusive

Inconclusive

mee

we

I

I, i

Vaccine-like Inconclusive

Cocnittee

Cxcluded

Incenclusive

Corpat-dle

Cocpatable

Ceapacible

Cozpativle?

Excluded

Inconclusive

Excluccd

Excluded

Excluded

Excluded

Inconclusive

Excluded

Coapacible

Compatible

Compatible

Excluded

Incenclusive

£6-W

- Wo Specicen

I. Cases Following type 1 Vaccine (Continued) © Ho Isolate Obrained

** In Process

Days from Feeding of orv

Doses to Illness Virus Isolate Antibody Committee

Szste Age Sex IPV I Ill. ‘Type Character Response Appraisa}

sy.ay 3 «(8 (23) I Non-Vace.Like 1 Excluded

Ohio 1% #86© ce) 28(43) 1415) - I"t Incoaclusive

Zena. (2) 1 4(11) I WNon-Vecc.Like I, Il, III. Incoxclusive

wash.6 6 Ms 4 (37) (5) I Vaccine-Like I Excluded

1. The number in parenthesis indicates interval from feeding to onset of paralysis.

2. (8K) California cases not yet officially reported but consicered from s special

teport submitted by the California State Departaent of Public Health.

3. Considered a “compatible” case if laboratory work in process is not

inconsistent with a vaccine relationship.

4. Wumber in parenthesis following State-designation corresponds with the number

of the case in the technical report of the Surgeon General - Septexber 20, 1962.

5S. Specizen taken two days after patient received Type II vaccine.

6. Also considered (and listed) with relation to Type III vaccine.

v6-V

=- Ne Specimen

© No Isolate Obtained

*#* In Process

State Ags Sex _IPv I — —-

Neb “2% | 4 90

Ohie{3) a 2 a , — Ge pol

Ohi 67M 0 (64 (8) (36) 0

1 Also considered and listed with relation to Type III vaccine

Antibody

Response

Incon.

Incon.

Comittce

Appraisal

Inconclusive

Excluded

Inconclusive

S6-V

} ~ aresate Obeained

ITI. Cases Following Ives ZI Vaccine em In Frecees

frou of OFV

Days Peeding

State Ase Sex PV. t Response

Mess. 4 Ms 4 $4(64) 26(36 0 -

Mass. sa C=~<*‘ ) 22(24) 40 a

Mich.(4) 23 M 2or4 76(80) 16(20 III intermediate Incen,

to non-vaccine

like

Mich.(S) 36 F 0 22(28 III Vaccine-like III

Neb. (6) 1s 6C6F S 34(42) 7015 III Vaccine-like Incen.

Nob. (7) a Oo 51(S4 22(25 0 Incen.

Ned. (8) 37 «OM Oo 43(48 15/20) - Incen.

Heb. so. 6F 4 61(69) 19{27) ° I, Il, III

Keb. s7 iM 0 49(S7 12(20) o I

Neb. 6 Ms 3 49(56 7(14) Il Ince.

ised. s. Fv 3 41(44) 16(19) III Vaccine-like Incon.

Neb. -: = 0 46(52) 10(16) - Incon.

xx(9) 49 «OM ) (>$0) 26(29) C) 1, I!, U1

Chico 67 += 0 64 (8) 36) 0 Incon,

Ohic(io? 16 M OO 28(43 1(15) - Ill

onieQll)* 33 Nu O 21(25) 0 I, lit

Oregor.(12) 43 F 0 34(38) 7(11) III Vaccine-like I, II, III

Oregon(13) 39 M&M o 8 s50(sl 23(24) III Yaccine-like Incon.

Orcson(l4) 6 4M 0 (54 (27) I —— Incon.

III Vaccinc-like

ae S38 “(3 19(20) III Vaccine-like Incon.

-— & IiI Vaccine-like Incon.

Wash.(16)> 6 M 4 (37 (s) I Vaceine-like I

1 Type II vaccine fed 8 days before specimen

collected

- aoe par soe = paveer with relation to Type II vaccine

Alse consider 3 isted) th relation to T vacc

4+ Also cozpatible with Type I houschold eenesee weed wt

Cormittce

Apgrsisah

Excluded

Inconciusive

Compatidic

Compatidle

Coxpatible

Co-patitle

Cozpatitle

patible

Incorclusive

laconclusive

Compe tible

Incen-:lusive

Inconcl uscive

Ircorclusive

Inconclusive

Corps itle

Compattole

Comyatitle

Excluded

Cenpatible

Exdl uded

Excluded

96-WV

Cesce Aueng Movadheld Contents of Yacein

Age Sex _1PY_

21 M 0

42 F 4

is/iz ™M 0

29 M 0

6/fi2 & 0

Doses to Onset of IlInexs

t iL wu

! (26

‘ss (25

” Qs)

(55 (25)

(69 (33)

1 Contact in adjacent apartzent

- No Specizer

0 io Isolate Crcaionl

#* In Mrecess

Virug Trolate Antitedy

Type Character Resrons>

I We I

I Intermediate I

to non-vaccine

like

II Vaccine-like II

III Vaccine-lixe -

Cormnittee

Aprreis2

Excluded

Excluded

Corpatible

Corpatible

Cenpatibiec

APPENDIX L

SUPPLEMENT TO POLIOMYELITIS

SURVEILLANCE REPORT

NO. 285

September 30, 1964

ASSOCIATION OF PARALYTIC DISEASE

II.*

III.*

Iv.*

WITH ORAL POLIO VACCINES

Press Release

Report of a Special Advisory

Committee on Oral Poliomyelitis

Vaccine to the Surgeon General

of the Public Health Service

Comments on the Report of the

Special Advisory Committee By

Albert B. Sabin

Paralytic Disease Associated with

Oral Polis Vaccines, By D. A.

Henderson, J. J. Witte, L. Morris,

and A. D. Langmuir

Listing of Reported Cases of Para-

lytic Poliomyelitis Occurring

A-97

Within 30 Days After Receiving the

Oral Poliomyelitis Vaccines, 1961-

1964

Appearing in The Journal of the

American Medical Association

dated October 5, 1964.

A-98

HUNTFER--WO 2-2125

U. S. DEPARTMENT OF

HEALTH, EDUCATION, AND WELFARE

Public Health Service

Washington 25, D. C.

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE HEW-C60

Wednesday, September 23, 1964

A special advisory committee to the

Surgeon General of the Public Health

Service, Department of Health, Educa-

tion, and Welfare, urged today renewed

drives by local communities during the

fall and winter to vaccinate the younger

age group against poliomyelitis.

The report was prepared by a special

advisory committee on oral poliomyelitis

vaccine and was made public today by

Surgeon General Luther L. Terry.

A-99

The committee's report said that the

age groups to be immunized and the vaccine

chosen for use should be determined lo-

cally. The committee said, however, that

in its view the oral vaccination of persons

over 18 should "generally be recommended

only in those situations in which unusual

exposure to poliomyelitis might be anti-

cipated, such as epidemics, entry into

military service, and travel to other

countries."

The committee recommended strongly

the immunization of infants during their

first year of life and the routine im-

munization of all children on entering

school.

Dr. Terry, in releasing the report,

said that the Public Health Service was

accepting the committee's recommendations.

He pointed out that the shift in emphasis

away from adults toward the younger age

groups was forecast in a committee report

A-100

of December 1962. The advisory committee

at that time emphasized the importance

of concentrating on the immunization of

the younger age groups and noted a “very

small risk" incident to the use of oral

vaccine in persons 30 years of age and

over.

The current committee report also re-

commends alteration in the sequence of

administering monovalent vaccines, with

Type II the first to be given. The newly-

recommended order is Type II, I, and III.

Dr. Albert Sabin, developer of the oral

vaccine and a member of the committee,

filed a report dissenting from the commit-

tee’s recommendations and calling for the

continued immunization of all age groups.

The Service is making available the full

text of both reports to State Health Of-

ficers, professional organizations, and

other interested agencies, Dr. Terry said.

A-101

The committee's recommendations were

based on an exhaustive analysis of 87

reported cases of "“polio-like illness

associated with the administration of

oral vaccines" which have occurred in

non-epidemic areas since December 1961.

These cases were considered by the

committee on the basis of whether or not

they were "compatible with the possibility

of having been induced by the vaccine."

I concluded that it is not possible

to prove that any individual case was

caused by the vaccines and that no labo-

ratory tests available can provide a

definitive answer. Nevertheless, the

committee said, “Considering the epi-

demiological evidence developed with

respect to the total group of ‘compati-

ble' causes, the committee believes that

at least some of these cases were caused

by the vaccine."

A-102

The committee's recommendations were

based on an exhaustive analysis of 87

reported cases of "polio-like illness

associated with the administration of

oral vaccines" which have occurred in

non-epidemic areas since December 1961.

These cases were considered by the

committee on the basis of whether or not

they were "compatible with the possi-

bility of having been induced by the

vaccine."

It concluded that it is net rersible

to prove that any individual case was

caused by the vaccines and that no labo-

ratory tests available can provide a

definitive answer. Nevertheless, the

committee said, "Considering the epi-

demiological evidence developed with

respect to the total group of ‘compati-

bie’ causes, the committee believes that

at least some of these cases were caused

by the vaccine."

A-103

The extent of the “risk factor", ac-

cording to the report, is, for Type III,

only 1 case in 2.5 million doses adminis-

tered; for Type I, only 1 in 6 million;

and for Type II, only 1 in 50 million.

With respect to the very minimal risk,

‘Dr. Terry emphasized that there should be

no apprenhension whatsoever among those who

have already taken the oral vaccine.

In its analysis of the 87 cases, the

committee found 57 which they considered

“compatible.”

The “compatible” cases, the report said,

occurred largely among adults. Most were

widely scattered throughout the country.

The onset of illness fell between 4 and 28

days following vaccine administration.

"There was no soparest association of

cases with specific lots of vaccine or

vaccines produced by a particular manu-

facturer," the report added.

A-104

In urging a renewed effort to vaccinate

those still susceptible, most of them

poorly-immunized children in economically-

depressed population groups, the commit-

tee cited the spectacular decline of polio

during recent years.

The decline has been from an annual rate

of 14.6 cases per 100,000 during 1950-54

to a rate of 1.8 for 1957-61. This repre-

sents a decrease of 88 percent.

"On the basis of reports to date, less

than 150 cases of paralytic poliomyelitis

may be anticipated for the entire year

(of 1964)," the report added.

In commenting on this phase of the

report, Surgeon General Terry said:

"When you compare this year's record

low with the 54,000 cases of polio re-

ported in 1952, the triumph against polio

is an historic achievement in preventive

medicine. This great victory has been

made possible by the work of two

A-105

extraordinarily dedicated scientists--

Dr. Jonas Salk and Dr. Albert Sabin--and

it has come to pass through the devoted

efforts of hundreds of organizations and

thousands of individuals,” Dr. Terry said.

The Surgeon General added: "I heartily

and enthusiastically endorse the committee's

primary recommendation that every effort

be made for the continuing vaccination of

infants and younger age groups. Only

through this means can we achieve total

victory over polio."

Dr. Terry praised the committee for a

“painstaking, conscientious and thorough

report in the public interest."

Members of the Committee were:

Dr. Ernest A. Ager, State Department

of Health, Olympia, Washington

Dr. David Bodian, The John Hopkins

University, Baltimore, Maryland

Dr. Gordon C. Brown, University of

Michigan School of Public Health,

Ann Arbor

Dr. Alice D. Chenoweth, Childrens

Bureau, Washington, D.C.

A-106

Dr. Geoffrey Edsall, Massachusetts

Department of Public Health, Boston

Dr. John P. Fox, Public Health Re-

search Institute of New York, New

York

Dr. James L. Goddard, Communicable

. Disease Center, Public Health Service,

Atlanta, Georgia

Dr. A. L. Gray, Mississippi State

Board of Health, Jackson

Dr. William McD. Hammon, University

of Pittsburgh, Pa.

Dr. Donald A. Henderson, Communicable

Disease Center, Public Health Service,

Atlanta, Georgia

‘Dr. David T. Karzon, Childrens Hospital,

University of Buffalo, New York, (unable

to attend)

Dr. Alexander D. Langmuir, Communicable

Disease Center, Public Health Service,

Atlanta, Georgia

Dr. Theodore A. Montgomery, California

State Department of Public Health,

Berkeley

Dr. Roderick Murray, National Institutes

of Health, Public Health Service,

Betheada, Maryland

Dr. Albert Sabin, The Childrens Hospital

Research Foundation, Cincinnati, Ohio

Dr. Edward B. Shaw, University of Cali-

fornia School of Medicine, San Francisco

A-107

Dr. Paul F. Wehrle, University of

Southern California School of Medicine,

Los Angeles

A-108

Number of Cases

Figure V

PARALYTIC POLIOMYELITIS

OCCURRING WITHIN 30 DAYS OF OPV

INTERVAL BETWEEN VACCINATION AND ONSET

December |, 196! through June 27, 1964

1 5

12° EPIDEMIC AREAS RECEIVED

Type |

10 Type tl

Type tll

8 Trivolent

6

4

2

0

NON- EPIDEMIC AREAS *

12 -

10 -

WRARGA

: SK :

mit Bom ew eS ear

Intervals by 3-Day Periods

*coses considered compatible by committee

A-109

OTT-W

Paralytic Poliomyelitis Cases (Non-Epidemic Areas)

With Onsets Less than 30 Days After Receiving OPV

I. Cases Adjudged “Compatible” by Special Advisory Committee

A. Cases Following Type I

State

1961

SP

NK. Ve

1962

Calif.

Calif.

Calif.

Calif.

Calif.

Calif.

Tl.

lowa

B. Cases Following Type II

1962

Ariz.

1964

Se Cc.

County

Chautauqua

Chautauqua

Santa Clara

Alameda

San Francisco

Santa Clera

San Mateo

San Diego

Stephenson

Story

Gibson

Yakina

Chippewa

Bartow

Pr. Georges

Maricopa

Lenoir

49

zz EM EFEMNEETMNEVNEEZT ET

Doses

PV

Type

Fed

6-14

et et et et et ee ee —

Interval (Days)

OPV to Onset

12

28

Isol.

60-Day*

Status

a

ee wn VeuvuUn wuu &

TItt-wv

C. Cases Following Type II!

State County

1962

Mich. Branch

Mich. Midland

Neb. Dougias

Ned. Douglas

Neb. Dodge

Keb. Lancaster

Neb. Cherry

Neb. Phelps

Neb. Lincoln

Neb. Keya Paha

Ohio Portage

Ohio Cuyahoga

Okia. Logen

Oreg. Washington

Oreg. Benton

1963

Calif. Sacramento

Calif. Los Angeles

Calif. Napa

Calif. Shasta

Calif. Los Angeles

Mass. Middlesex

Mass. Middlesex

Minn, hennepin

Pa. Schuykill

Pa. Del aware

Pa. Delaware

Ss. Cc. Spartanburg

Tenn. Mont gomery

Texas Bexar

Idaho(NOR)

Utah(NOR) Sevier

EREEEEEEECEEEEEE EVES TEMEEEKTME

Doses Type Interval (Days)

Onset Mad Fed CPV to Onset

7-1S 4 (2) If! 16

7-20 t) Il 22

7-1 5 Ill 7

7-16 0 Ill 22

7-23 0 Il 1s

8-S cr 8-12 53 II 7 or 14

8-15 0 Ir 10

8-16 4 Il 19

8-24 0 Il 19

9-3 3 Ill 16

6-& 0 lll 15

7-18 0 Ill 24

8-7 0 Il! 17

5-5 0 Il! 7

6-26 0 Il! 19

1-24 t) Ill ll

3-1 () Il 20

3-23 s Il! 13

3-26 3 Il. 16

12-10 S or 6 Il! 20

$-28 Unk It 8

6-7 4 I1I 19

$-27 0 Il 14

6-8 0 i! 14

11-21 © Il! 2s

41-21 t) Il! 2s

12-18 0 It 10

6-16 () Ill 10

1-25 0 11! 12

4-12 Unk Il! 26

c.4-30 4 Il! c.9

60-Day*

Statu;

ee VeuUvVauuuwuuwuw

een euwUevVucwenveun & &

APPENDIX M

ORAL VACCINE:

ASSOCIATED PARALYTIC POLIOMYELITIS, 1962

Henry M. Gelfand, MD, Atlanta

UNTIL RECENTLY, there was .almost |

universal agreement that living attenua-

ted, oral poliovirus vaccine (OPV) com-

posed of the Sabin strains is safe, both

to the primary vaccinee and to his con-

tacts. This reputation for safety was

won on the basis of the use of OPV in

millions of persons in the US and many

other countries. Although the thorough-

ness of routine reporting of morbidity

and of special surveillance for possible

vaccine-induced cases of paralytic polio-

myelitis differed greatly among the

various programs, no evidence had been

adduced to show that this vaccine, com-

posed of these strains, had ever caused

the disease it was designed to prevent.

A-112

From July through November, 1962, a

small number of cases which had followed

the use of oral vaccine came to light and

they have cast some doubt on the safety

of OPV in adult vaccinees. This cluster

of cases was intensively studied and

discussed in a series of meetings by a

Special Advisory Committee on Oral Polio-

‘“myelitis Vaccine to the Surgeon General,

USPHS. This Committee concluded in its

1 that "...there

report of September 20,

is sufficient epidemiological evidence to

indicate that at least some of these

cases have been caused by the type III

vaccines." After considering new case

reports accumulated during the following

few months, and additional laboratory

2

data, in its report of Dec 18, the

Committee recommended:

Chief, Enterovirus Unit, Communicable Disease

Center, USPHS, Department of HEW.

Based on a presentation at the Annual Meeting

of the Association of Teachers of Preventive

Medicine, Miami, Fla., Oct 14, 1962.

A-113

which this conclusion was based

discuss ' some

"...(1) that community plans

for immunization be encour-

aged, using all three types;

and, (2) that immunization be

emphasized for children in

whom the danger of naturally

eccurring poliomyelitis is

greatest and who serve as the

natural source of poliomyeli-

tis infection in the commun-

ity. Because the need for

immunization diminishes with

advancing age and because

potential risks of vaccine are

believed by some to exist in

adults, especially above the

age of 30, vaccination should

be used for adults only with

the full recognition of its

very small risk. Vaccination

is especially recommended for

those adults who are at higher

risk of naturally occurring

disease; for example, parents

of young children, pregnant

women, persons in epidemic

situations and those planning

foreign travel.

Of greatest importance is

the continuing vaccination of

oncoming generations."

It is the purpose of the present

communication to review the data upon

analysis and evaluation of the signifi-

A-114

and to

theoretical problems in

cance of OPV-associated paralytic polio-

myelitis. Only cases accepted as "compa-

tible with the possibility of having been

induced by the vaccine” and included in

the two reports just cited will be consi-

dered in this article. A summary of some

pertinent details relating to these cases

is presented in Table 1. Other cases of

paralytic poliomyelitis followed the use

of OPV in 1962 and were considered by the

Committee. A majority of the Committee

believed these to be clearly incompatible

with the possibility of vaccine induction

or as "inconclusive" - on clinical, epi-

demiologic, or laboratory grounds. Still

other cases which had followed the use of

OPV were not considered to be part of

this investigation, because they had

occurred in epidemic settings where

vaccine had been used as a control mea-

sure. Under those circumstances, new

cases are expected for several weeks

after vaccination.

A-115

The compilation of the data in

Table 1. was made possible by the work of

hundreds of practicing physicians and

others in the epidemiology and laboratory

divisions of the various state health

departments and of the Communicable

Disease Center of the Public Health

Service. The Surgeon General has grate-

fully acknowledged their contri-.

{[cjommunity, all three types were in ex-

tensive use at about the same time, if

the country is considered as a whole.

The pecdeniiant association of "compat-

ible" cases with Type 3 OPV is apparent.

Other Laboratory Data. - The diffi-

culties and limitations of characteriza-

tion of poliovirus strains as a tool for

the solution of problems of OPV-case

association have been discussed. All

that can be said is that those patients

from whom "vaccine-like" virus strains

were isolated were almost certainly ex-

creting the progeny of vaccine viruses.

A-116

Unfortunately, no naturally occurring

poliovirus strains of the same type were

available from the same localities for

comparative tests. However, only rarely

are “vaccine-like" strains found where

OPV has not been used. 27 In those few

instances in which monkey intracerebral

tests were performed, the results con-

firmed that the fecally excreted viruses

were attenuated. Neither antigenic nor

virulence tests added appreciably to

epidemiologic analysis.

The most useful application of

antigenic strain differentiation would be

in the testing of a virus isolate ob-

tained from tissues from a fatal case.

The recovery of a "vaccine-like" strain

from the brain or spinal cord would be

almost certain evidence for incriminating

the vaccine as the causative agent, even

if all other evidence were equivocal.

Since there have been no fatal cases in

the aggregate under investigation in

A-117

1962, no‘CNS strains have been available

for testing.

The inclusion of each case in a

problem group must be predicted on the

failure to detect concurrent infection

with another potentially paralytogenic

agent. As already mentioned, no nonpol-

iovirus infection was demonstrated, by

isolation of virus or serologic change,

in any single case included in the pre-

sent investigation. However, it must be

remembered that the finding of random

infections with other enteroviruses might

be mere coincidence in the opposite

Girection. Each instance of dual infec-

tion would have to be considered in the

light of our present incomplete know-

ledge. Greater understanding will deve-

lop with accumulating experience.

Comment and Summary

We expected and we have found that

cases of paralytic poliomyelitis occur in

A-118

temporal relationship with the widespread

use of OPV, particularly if it is used

during the summer season. It is the

responsibility of the appropriate author-

ities to establish and maintain polio-~

myelitis surveillance of a very high

standard and to examine reports of vac-

cine-associated disease critically and

objectively, making maximum use of all

available clinical, laboratory, and

epidemiologic data. .The Poliomyelitis

Surveillance Unit of the Communicable

Disease Center, with its long history of

experience in this field, performed this

task in the US in 1962 with extraordinary

skill and speed. However, it was ham-

pered in some instances by delays in

reporting by the patients themselves,

attending physicians, hospitals, and

local public health agencies.

After close examination, it was

possible to eliminate many cases from

serious consideration of a causal rela-

A-119

tion to vaccine on the basis of incorrect

or uncertain diagnosis, the recovery of a

poliovirus not fed as vaccine, too long

or too short an interval between vaccina-

tion and the disease onset, or some other

factor. There was then left a residuum

of suspicious cases.

Such a collection of cases was hard

to evaluate. They had been diagnosed

clinically as "poliomyelitis," they had

occurred after use of OPV at an interval

compatible with the incubation period,

and the only demonstrable infection was

with a poliovirus of the type fed as

vaccine. This triad of circumstances

constituted the basis for considering

them “compatible with vaccine-induced

disease." Occurring, as they did, in a

rather random and sporadic manner, they

might have remained only a suspicion and

& puzzle if the aggregation of cases had

not presented certain epidemiologic

features that appeared significant.

A-120

There were three characteristics of

this group of cases that appeared most

meaningful to the Surgeon General's

Special Advisory Committee on Oral Polio-

myelitis Vaccine: the adult age distri-

bution of "compatible" cases, the fre-

quent interval of one to four weeks

between vaccination and onset of symp-

toms, and the predominance of cases after

use of Type 3 OPV as compared with Types 1

and 2. Although it remained impossible

to decide whether or not an individual

case had been caused by the oral vaccine,

this constellation of findings suggested

that, as a group, at least some of these

cases had been causally related to OPV.

Because of the widespread interest in

possible vaccine-associated cases in the

US, in 1962, and the zealous activities

of the Poliomyelitis Surveillance Unit,

it is unlikely that any significant

number of suspicious cases went unrepor-

ted. Since it can be concluded only that

A-121

at least some of the "compatible" cases

were one case per 4.4, 0, and 1.4 million

"attack rates" express the maximum poten-

tial risk associated with the use of

these vaccines; the actual risk may be

considerably less. These rates were one

case per 4.4, 0, and 1.4 million vaccines

for OPV wr 1, 2, and 3, respectively.

Since a complete course of OPV consists

of the administration of all 3 types,

these rates must be added to produce a

"combined maximum potential risk" of one

case per 1.04 million complete immuniza-

tions.

The combined maximum potential risk,

moreover, was not felt equally by all age

groups; in 12 of the 18 "compatible"

cases the patients were more than 30

years of age. With only one "com-.

A-122

APPENDIX N

Boise, Idaho

June 26, 1964

Air Mail

Pierce Gardner, M.D.

Assistant Chief

Poliomyelitis Surveillance Unit

Communicable Disease Center

Atlanta, Georgia 30333

DAVIS, Glynn

Dear Doctor Cardner:

Mr. Glynn Davis developed a paralytic

illness within a thirty-day period follow-

ing the administration of Type III oral

poliomyelitis vaccine. He may have had

one or two injections of poliomyelitis

vaccine (Salk) in prior years. Dates of

vaccination and illness are as follows:

Oral poliomyelitis vaccine --

Type I February 3, 1963

Type III March 17, 1963

» Onset of illness April 12, 1963

Onset of paralysis April 14, 1963

A-123

Hospitalized at Ashton

Memorial Hospital April 17, 1963

Transferred to Idaho

Falls LDS Hospital April 24, 1963

Transferred to Elks

Convalescent Center,

Boise May 14, 1963

Transferred to VA

Hospital, Boise June 13, 1963

Enclosed are hospital and physician

examinations at the time of admission

of Mr. Davis to the Idaho Falls LDS

Hospital on April 24, 1963, and a con-

sultation after his transfer to Boise.

Doctors John S. McMillan and Maurice M.

Burkholder practice the specialty of

internal medicine.

Spinal fluid tests are as: follows:

During hospital-

ization at Ashton April 24, 1963

Pressure 165mm 96mm

Jugular pressure --- 254mm, rapid

fall to 136

WBC 60 78

Polys 64% 3%

A-124

Sugar -- 66 mgs %

Protein -- 40 mgs %

Pandy Pos oo

Wasserman -- Neg.

Mr. Davis was released from the

Veterans Administration Hospital in the

early fall of 1963 and has continued

with physiotherapy treatment at the

Veterans Administration Hospital on an

outpatient basis until the present time.

Physiotherapy will be discontinued during

the week of June 29, 1964, and muscle

evaluations at time of admission and

during the week of June 29, 1964, will be

obtained and forwarded. His diagnosis

at the Veterans Administration Hospital

is paralytic poliomyelitis (old defini-

tion of “inflammation of grey matter of

spinal cord") etiology undetermined.

The paralysis of the right triceps

has disappeared. The present involve-

ment is limited to below the knees with

A-125

weakness of the anterior muscle group

of the right lower leg and both an-

terior and posterior muscle groups of

the left leg. He continued to show im-

provement of muscle function and appar-

ent return of muscle use from a flaccid

paralysis state. He now walks with a

left leg brace, elastic aid to prevent

foot drop on the right, and crutches.

There are unusual circumstances con-

cerning the clinical course and the in-

conclusive laboratory findings in this

case. A flu like illness may have been

present among residents of West Yellow-

stone as noted by Mr. Davis. There were

sensory changes found by one consultant.

There has been an apparent recovery of

partial muscle function over an extended

period of time. The etiology of this case

of paralysis has not been determined and

a large number of virus deseases are to be

considered. The present diagnosis of

A-126

lower neuron disease with paralysis --

etiology unknown -- is the continuing

diagnosis by this office of this inter-

esting case.

Sincerely yours,

PREVENTIVE MEDICINE

DIVISION

John A. Mather, M.D.

Director

Enclosures

A-127

APPENDIX O

43 C.F.R. § 73.114(b) (1) (iii) provides:

(iii) DETERMINATION OF NEUROVIRULENCE.

At the conclusion of the observation period

comparative histopathological examinations

shall be made of the lumbar cord, cervical

cord, lower medulla, upper medulla and

mesencaphalon of each monkey in the groups

injected with virus under test and those

injected with the NIH Reference Attenuated

Poliovirus, except that for animals dying

during the test period, these examinations

shall be made immediately after death.

The animals shall be examined to ascertain

whether the distribution and histological

nature of the lesions are characteristic

of poliovirus infection. A comparative

evaluation shall be made of the evidence

of neurovirulence of the virus under test

and the NIH Reference Attenuated Poliovirus

with respect to (a) the number of animals

showing lesions characteristic of polio-

virus infection, (b) the number of animals

A-128

showing lesions other than those character-

istic of poliovirus infection, (c) the

severity of the lesions, (d) the degree

of dissemination of the lesions, and (e)

the rate of Occurrence of paralysis not

attributable to the mechanical injury re-

sulting from inoculation trauma. The virus

pool under test is satisfactory for polio-

virus vaccine manufacture only if at least

80 percent of the animals in each group

survive the observation period and if a

comparative analysis of the test results

demonstrate that the neurovirulence of

the test virus pool does not exceed that

of the NIH Reference Attenuated Poliovirus.

The “NIH Reference Attenuated Poliovirus"

was designated by regulation to be Type I

poliovirus. 42 C.F.R. § 73.111. It was

referred to herein as the "reference

strain."

The regulation specifically refers to

"virus pool" under test. Both the district

A-129

court and the briefs filed with this court

treat “virus pool” and “lots” interchange-

ably. We continue this treatment.

43 C.F.R. § 73.114(b) (1) (iii) is a

regulation promulgated by the Surgeon

General pursuant to the Public Health

Service Act, 43 U.S.C. § 201 et seq.;

see 43 U.S.C. § 262(d).

A-130

‘UoNISoddg

T Office - Supreme Co =

FIL urt, U.S.

ED

3 In the Supreme Court of the

OcTOBER TERM, 1981

GLYNN RICHARD DAVIS, PETITIONER

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE NINTH CIRCUIT -

MEMORANDUM FOR THE UNITED STATES

IN OPPOSITION

Rex E. Lee

Solicitor General

Department of Justice

Washington, D.C. 20530

(202) 633-2217

STEVAS.

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Rahn v. United States, 222 F.Supp. 775 ....... 6

Spevack v. United States, 390 F.2d 977 ........ 6

Toal v. United States, 438 F.2d 222 .........+. 6

United States v. Kubrick, 444 U.S.

PEE Kanddeehb cc ebsadusecoscocceeeces 2, 3-4, 5

Statute:

Federal Tort Claims Act, 28 U.S.C.

ED 60k hecdncsinkeversoccavescaseces 1,2

Inu the Supreme Court of the Hnited States

OcTOBER TERM, 1981

No. 81-644

GLYNN RICHARD DAVIS, PETITIONER

A

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE NINTH CIRCUIT

MEMORANDUM FOR THE UNITED STATES

IN OPPOSITION

1. The question presented in this case is whether peti-

tioner’s claim under the Federal Tort Claims Act is barred

by the applicable two-year statute of limitations, 28 U.S.C.

2401(b). Petitioner filed his administrative claim in 1973

seeking damages for injuries he suffered in 1963, allegedly

as a result of the government's negligence in its administra-

tion of a nationwide program for mass immunization

against poliomyelitis, using the Sabin oral vaccine (Pet.

App. A-! to A-4).

The vaccine was licensed and tested by the Division of

Biological Standards (DBS), a part of the Department of

Health, Education, and Welfare, and it was administered at

state and local immunization centers (Pet. App. A-I to

A-2). Petitioner was administered Type II] Sabin vaccine at

an immunization center in March 1963; within 30 days he

was paralyzed from the waist down and manifested other

2

symptoms of polio (id. at A-2). In 1964, petitioner brought

suit against Wyeth Laboratories, Inc., manufacturer of the

vaccine he had ingested (ibid.).'

In 1965, during the course of that litigation, Wyeth

noticed the deposition of Dr. Ruth Kirschstein, the chief of

the pathology section of Viral Immunology, DBS, accom-

panied by a subpoena duces tecum ordering her to bring to

the deposition all records relating to the DBS testing of

vaccine Lot No. 03503. The vaccine petitioner ingested was

from this lot. Dr. Kirschstein brought records document-

ing one neurovirulence test on the lot which indicated that

the results fell within acceptable limits (Pet. App. A-2 to

A-3). Petitioner alleges that not until 1973 did he learn,

from an attorney engaged in another lawsuit, that a second

neurovirulence test had been performed on Lot No. 03503

and that the results of that test exceeded acceptable limits

(id. at A-4).

Petitioner filed an administrative claim under the Tort

Claims Act in Apri! 1973 and brought this action in the

United States District Court for the District of Idaho in

April 1974 (Pet. App. A-4). The district court granted the

government’s motion for summary judgment, ruling that

the action was barred by the applicable two-year statute of

limitations, 28 U.S.C. 2401(b) (Pet. App. A-22 to A-24).

The court of appeals affirmed, with one judge dissenting

(Pet. App. A-I to A-18). The court concluded that petition-

er’s claim had accrued in April 1963 and that it therefore

was time-barred. Relying on United States v. Kubrick, 444

U.S. 111 (1979), the court reasoned (Pet. App. A-11; foot-

note omitted):

'In that action the district court ruled in favor of the manufacturer,

but the court of appeals reversed and remanded. Davis v. Wveth

Laboratories, Inc., 399 F.2d 121 (9th Cir. 1968). The case was settied by

the parties prior to a second trial (Pet. App. A-2 n.1).

3

[ Petitioner] was aware in April, 1963, that he had been

injured and that the Sabin vaccine was the likely cause

of his injury. With knowledge of the fact of injury and

its cause, [petitioner] was at the time of his injury

placed on the same footing as other negligence

plaintiffs.

The court of appeals rejected petitioner’s contention that

the limitations period was tolled by the government's

alleged fraudulent concealment of the results of the second

neurovirulence test during the October 1965 deposition of

Dr. Kirschstein.2? The court noted (id. at A-12) that the

allegation was irrelevant because, by that time, the two-year

period for filing the tort elaim had already expired. As to

the government's conduct during that two-vear period, the

court acknow:edged that the government might have been

negligent in its publication of reports on the vaccine, but it

held that the government's failure “to ascertain and publish

the fact of its negligence” did not amount to fraudulent

concealment (ibid.).

2. The decision of the court of appeals is correct and does

not conflict with decisions of this Court or of other courts of

appeals. Both lower courts held that petitioner's claim for

injuries sustained in 1963 was barred by the statute of

limitations. Further review of this fact-bound question is

unwarranted.

a. Contrary to petitioner's contention (Pet. 25-35), the

decision below is entirely consistent with United States v.

Kubrick, supra. As the Court noted in Kubrick, the general

rule is that a claim under the Federal Tort Claims Act

“accrues at the time of the plaintiff's injury.” 444 U.S. at

?The appendix to the petition contains a typographical error: the

court of appeals referred to the October 1965 deposition. not to the

“October, 1/975, deposition™( Pet. App. A-12; emphasis added). See 642

F. 2d 328, 331.

4

120. A number of courts have held that in medical malprac-

tice cases, in which the injury may not manifest itself until

long after it has been inflicted, the claim should be deemed

to accrue only later, when the victim discovers both the

injury and its cause. /d. at 120-121 & n.7. Kubrick rejected

any extension of this “discovery” rule, however, and it thus

reversed a decision extending the accrual period until the

plaintiff became aware, not only of his injury and its cause,

but also of the fact that his injury had been negligently

inflicted. /d. at 123.

Even assuming that the “discovery” rule applies to this

case, the court of appeals correctly held that petitioner's

claim was time-barred. Petitioner contracted polio in April

1963, not long after he was given the vaccine; and according

to his own affidavit (Pet. App. A-32 to A-33; emphasis in

original), he “began an intensive search in approximately

June, 1963, to determine why I was given a vaccine that

would give me the disease instead of preventing it.” Peti-

tioner does not contend that the government’s involvement

in the vaccine program— in particul

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.