Record and brief — Chicago Bridge & Iron Co. v. Caterpillar Tractor Co.

Supreme Court brief1981

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

— YUBWAIEIS

- jeuoyoipsuny

Office Supreme Court, US.

8 l k IT LED

| 349 AUG 24 198!

No. ALEXAND -? L. STEVAS,

CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocrosrr Tzrm, 1981

CHICAGO BRIDGE & IRON COMPANY,

Appellant,

v.

CATERPILLAR TRACTOR CO., ILLINOIS

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE, et al,

Appellees.

——_————

—————

Appeal from the Supreme Court of Illinois

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

Wu P. Surrer

One First National Plaza

Chicago, Illinois 60603

(312) 558-6616

Attorney for Appellant

Of Counsel:

Ricuarp BroMiey

One First National Plaza

Chicago, Illinois 60603

(312) 558-6614

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

This appeal presents the following questions under the

United States Constitution :

Does imposition of the Illinois income tax on the ap-

portioned combined worldwide business income of a

group of related corporations, including foreign cor-

porations, create a substantial risk of international

multiple taxation, and thus violate the Commerce

Clause?

Does imposition of the Illinois income tax on the ap-

portioned combined worldwide business income of a

group of related corporations, including foreign cor-

porations, prevent the Federal Government from speak-

ing with one voice when regulating commercial rela-

tions with foreign governments, and thus violate the

Commerce Clause?

Does imposition of the Illinois income tax on an Illi-

nois taxpayer, where the amount of its income subject

to tax is measured by reference to the income, prop-

erty, payroll and sales of all members of a group of

related corporations doing a worldwide business, vio-

late the Fourteenth Amendment requirements of due

process and equal protection of the laws?

PARTIES

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rules 12 and 15, the appel-

lant files this, its statement of the bases on which it con-

tends that the Supreme Court of the United States has

appellate jurisdiction to review on appeal the judgment

appealed from herein. The appellees are Caterpillar Tractor

Co., Caterpillar Americas Co., Caterpillar Credit Corp.,

Caterpillar Finance Corp., Caterpillar Machinery Corp.,

ii

Daniel J. Lenckos, Acting Director, and Illinois Depart-

ment of Revenue.'

1 Other parties to the proceeding in the Illinois Supreme Court

who have elected not to join in this appeal are The Coca-Cola Com-

pany, Coca-Cola Bottling Company of Chicago, Canners for Coca-

Cola Bottlers, Inc., C. B. Boiler Service, Inc., Universal Water

Softener Corp., Johns-Manville Products Corporation, Johns-Man-

ville Sales Corporation, Johns-Manville Service Corporation, Johns-

Manville Perlite Corporation, John Brand Corporation, National

Ceiling Systems Corporation, Deere & Company, E. R. Squibb &

Sons, Inc., Sears, Roebuck & Co. and International Harvester Com-

pany. The names of parent companies, subsidiaries (except wholly-

owned subsidiaries) and affiliates of appellant, as required by Rule

28.1, were listed in appellant’s Application for Extension of Time

for Docketing Appeal. Although Deere & Company filed a notice of

appeal in this case, it has chosen not to participate further and has

not joined in this jurisdictional statement.

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Constitutional Provisions and Statute Involved ......

ee Or ee... iwi de oule Dadbmes ce

Reasons Why Questions Presented Are Substantial . . .

I. Combined Reporting Has Never Been Presented

I eETaC EN is so Se eb e tah heasewbawe ©

II. Worldwide Combined Reporting Creates a: Sub-

stantial Risk of International Multiple Taxation,

Thereby Violating the Commerce Clause ........

III. Combined Reporting Prevents the Federal Gov-

ernment From “Speaking With One Voice When

Regulating Commercial Relations with Foreign

Governments,” and Creates a Risk of Retaliation

by Foreign Governments, Thereby Violating the

COIN IID cir oo Ses bo Beldecogenulec os’

IV. Combined Reporting Imposes A Tax on One Cor-

poration Measured By the Income of Another and

Thereby Violates The Fourteenth Amendment’s

Requirements of Due Process and Equal Protec-

SU eG be ghRAGh SA's Beeen cc pcecesechawen case

a ee ake alt cae

12

18

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Adams Express Co. v. Ohio State Auditor, 165 U.S.

194, 41 L.Ed. 683, 17 S.Ct. 305 (1896) .............

American Smelting ¢ Refining Co. v. Idaho State Taz

Commission, 99 Idaho 924, 592 P.2d 39 (1979),

vacated, 445 U.S. 939, 63 L.Ed.2d 773, 100 S.Ct.

hs 06 CAVERN Uae cece cd benteds.s dct,

Asiatic Petroleum Co. v. Commission of Internal Reve-

nue, T9F .2d 234 (2d Cir. 1935), certiorari denied, 296

U.S. 645, 80 L.Ed. 459, 56 S.Ct. 248 (1935), rehearing

denied, 296 U.S. 664, 80 L.Ed. 474, 56 S.Ct. 369 (1935)

Butler Brothers v. McColgan, 315 U.S. 501, 86 L.Ed.

991, 62 S.Ct. 701 (1942), affirming 17 Cal. 2d 664,

RE, RE SS a a Pa

Chicago Bridge & Iron v. Caterpillar Tractor Co., 84

Ill. 2d 102, 417 N.E. 2d 1343 ....................-.

Coca Cola Co. v. Department of Revenue, 271 Ore. 517,

EE OE oe ns enc vanidvasin sent.

Complete Auto Transit, Inc. v. Brady, 430 U.S. 274, 51

L.Ed. 2d 326, 97 S.Ct. 1076, rehearing denied, 430

UU Bohr cide coca. . Gees sacceddode

Container Corporation of America v. Franchise Taz

Board, 1/Civil 48990 (1981) ............ecseeeeeee

Edison California Stores, Inc. v. McColgan, 30 Cal. 2d

iy Se ae OO CRIED cc cpiitc ccccoscccvisesdveres

Ezxazon Corp. v. Wisconsin Department of Revenue, 447

U.S. 207, 65 L.Ed.2d 66, 100 S.Ct. 2109 (1980) ......

Hoeper v. Taz Commission of Wisconsin, 284 U.S. 206,

76 L.Ed. 248, 52 S.Ct. 120 (1931) ...............-.

17

13, 17

=

3

?

b

=

QO

ounty of Los Angeles, 441 U.S.

434, 60 L.Ed.2d 336, 99 S.Ct. 1813 (1979) ....... rae < 5 *

Mobil Oil Corp. v. Commission of Taxes, 445 U.S. 425,

63 L.Ed. 2d 510, 100 S.Ct. 1223 (1980) ............. 2, 13,

Montana Department of Revenue v. American Smelting

é Refining Co., 173 Mont. 316, 567 P.2d 901 (1977),

appeal dismissed, 434 U.S. 1042, 54 L.Ed.2d 793, 98

EE AG ey Ualbac sc ccoccnedeuanmenebuse 6,7

Moorman Manufacturing Co. v. Blair, 437 U.S. 267, 57

L.Ed.2d 197, 98 S.Ct. 2340 (1978) ..............2.- 17

National Carbide Corp. v. Commissioner, 336 U.S. 422,

93 L.Ed. 779, 69 S.Ct. 729 (1949) ...........ee eens 26

Northwestern States Portland Cement Co. v. Minne-

sota, 358 U.S. 450, 3 L.Ed.2d 421, 79 S.Ct. 357 (1959) 13

Railroad Taz Cases, 92 U.S. 575, 23 L.Ed. 663 (1875).. 17

Reeves, Inc. v. Stark, 447 U.S. 429, 65 L.Ed.2d 244, 100

EN Ds dba Ch didc¥:00c so décmeteseteecnes 13

U.S. Steel Corp. v. Multistate Tax Commission, 434

U.S. 452, 54 L.Ed.2d 682, 98 S.Ct. (1978) .......... 11,12

United States Constitution

Commerce Clause, Art. I, § 8, cl. 3 .............0005- 2,7

Fourteenth Amendment, §1 ...............0eeeeees 2, 25, 29

Statutes

Internal Revenue Code of 1939:

EE hu th cain c bac ctcoccccbvcbocedp ers eb 10

Internal Revenue Code of 1954 (26 U.S.C.)

CM UCR Ue cuipus es vsces duke des ben eeuewe 10

PAGE

Ge Bis wan Linus oys.¢ dn eu chbdbe nde « 22

Rein i de... i, che wh dbekacwaeas 23

UR Soe, an e's coc cde nvutebescevs 11

EG a DRPEUUS Cues 6c ccc cccdédedbecboses 11

28 U.S.C. :

EE 2

ER Sent Gla og bcceccecedsesescsune es 2

P. Law 86-272, Title I, § 101, Sept. 14, 1959, 73 Stat.

SE on on, occ cceusoctespecess 22

Illinois Income Tax Act (Ill. Rev. Stat., 1979, ch. 120,

par. 1-102 et seq.)

eR aE OM 6 sb ccedc cavadambeesiee 11

Ne SCRE. oc cc ccc ebebebeccueets 3

Se ee. coc codseneeed sau és 4

I EMER e cCEEEL «oo coccccgeccstectees 4

Other Authorities

ad Department Tax Reform Option Paper No.

SEL Ls Met ditb Pdaletiss 6000 ce cate sghaedae pa - -

Illinois Department of Revenue Proposed Regulations

(Illinois Register, Vol. 5, Issue 29, July 17, 1981):

oe ai ecessc cates vevbeveess 27

ES Pe Se re 16

Testimony of Paul W. Cook on behalf of the National

Association of Manufacturers before the House

Ways and Means Committee, on H.R. 5076 ........ 15

Testimony of Theodore W. DeLooze, Chief Tax Coun-

sel, Oregon Department of Revenue, before the

House Ways and Means Committee, on H.R. 5076.. 23

vii

Written statement of Joseph H. Guttentag, Dutch

Employers’ Federation, to the House Ways and

Means Committee, on H.R. 5076 .............2-55:

Statement of William O. Hetts, Partner, Deloitte, Has-

kins & Sells, before the House Ways and Means

nS ME ss, os be cdcbvebheseneces

Testimony of Donald C. Lubick, Assistant Secretary

of the Treasury for Tax Policy, before the House

Ways and Means Committee, on H.R. 5076 ........

Statement of John S. Nolan on behalf of the Confed-

eration of British Industry and the British National

Committee of the International Chamber of Com-

merce, before the House Ways and Means Commit-

EE es a, cin oaks Cas kbd bobeees

Testimony of Dr. Laurence N. Woodworth, Assistant

Secretary of the Treasury, on the Tax Treaties with

the United Kingdom, the Republic of Korea, and

the Republic of the Philippines, Hearings before the

Committee on Foreign Relations, U. 8S. Senate, 95th

Cong., Ist Sess. (1977), pp. 32-33 ................

Statement by Senator Ribicoff on worldwide combined

reporting, 115 Cong. Rec. 2597 .............00005:

Statement of Donald C. Lubick before the Senate

Finance Committee on 8-983 and S-1688 ..........

Revenue Act of 1934, Section 103 ...................

S. Rep. 558, 73rd Cong., 1939-1 (Part 2) C.B. 586, 610

Comments by Geoffrey Johnson Smith, Member of

Parliament; Peter Rees, Minister of State, Treas-

ury; and Michael Grylls, Member of Parliament;

Debates in the House of Commons, February 18,

1980, Hansard, Parliamentary Debates, p. 190 ....

D. Harnack and R. Hanson, The Continuing Contro-

versy Over Combination, 59 Taxes 531 (August

PLAC a data PO die de sc ccccdgcbécshepenneene 6

PAGE

19

19

19, 20,

22, 28

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

Ocroszr Tzam, 1981

CHICAGO BRIDGE & IRON COMPANY,

Appellant,

Vv.

CATERPILLAR TRACTOR CO., ILLINOIS

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE, et al,

Appellees.

Appeal from the Supreme Court of Illinois

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

OPINIONS BELOW

The order of the Circuit Court of Peoria County was en-

tered on February 9, 1979. The order is not reported, but

is printed in Appendix A. The opinion of the Illinois Ap-

pellate Court is reported in 77 Ill.App.3d 90, 395 N.E.2d

1167, and is printed in Appendix B; the opinion of the Illi-

nois Supreme Court is reported in 84 [1].2d 102, 417 N.E.2d

1343. It is printed in Appendix C.

JURISDICTIONAL GROUNDS

The opinion of the Illinois Supreme Court was filed on

February 20, 1981. A timely petition for rehearing was filed

by appellants and an order denying said petition was

entered on March 27, 1981. Said order is printed in Ap-

pendix D. The Notice of Appeal was filed on June 15, 1981.

The time for docketing this case was extended to August

24, 1981 by Justice Stevens on June 16, 1981. The juris-

diction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(2)

and 28 U.S.C. § 2101(¢). Appellant squarely challenged the

constitutionality of the Illinois income tax, ar -onstrued to

require worldwide combined reporting, and the Illinois

Supreme Court squarely sustained its validity, as so con-

strued. Jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(2) is supported

by the recent decision in Japan Line, Ltd. v. County of Los

Angeles, 441 U.S. 434, 60 L.Ed.2d 336, 99 S.Ct. 1813 (1979),

as well as those in Mobil Oil Corp. v. Commissioner of

Tazes, 445 U.S. 425, 63 L.Ed.2d 510, 100 S.Ct. 1223 (1980),

and Exxon Corp. v. Wisconsin Department of Revenue, 447

U.S. 207, 65 L.Ed.2d 66, 100 S.Ct. 2109 (1980).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND

STATUTE INVOLVED "

This case involves the constitutionality of the Lllinois

Income Tax Act under the Commerce Clause and the «due

process and equal protection provisions of the Fourteenth

Amendment to the United States Constitution. The appli-

cable Constitutional provisions are:

Congress shall have Power . .. To regulate Commerce

with foreign Nations, and among the several States, and

with the Indian Tribes. [Art. I, § 8, cl. 3]

. .. nor shall any State deprive any person of life,

liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor

deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal

protection of the laws. [XIV Amend., § 1]

The Illinois Income Tax Act [Tll. Rev. Stat. 1979, ch. 120,

par. 1-101 et seq.] is printed in its entirety in Appendix E.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Caterpillar Tractor Co. and four of its subsidiaries (the

Caterpillar Companies) originally filed separate Illinois

corporate income tax returns for 1969 through 1974 inclu-

sive. Each corporation determined the amount of its income

subject to Illinois income tax by starting with its federal

taxable income, making adjustments thereto as required

by the Illinois Income Tax Act (the Act), and apportioning

its business income in accordance with the familiar three-

factor formula, based on property, payroll and sales, set

forth in section 304(a) of the Act. Thereafter, these corpo-

rations filed claims for refund with the Illinois Department

of Revenue (the Department), asserting that, in each case,

the amount of the corporation’s income subject to the

Illinois income tax should have been determined by com-

bined reporting.’

An administrative hearing was held on March 14 and 15,

1978, at which evidence was submitted and stipulations were

filed, including a supplemental stipulation filed August 3,

1978, in which the Department stated that its adminis-

trative practice requires use of combined reporting by

corporations conducting a unitary business. (Excerpts from

Record E-32, E-55, E-56.) In a Notice of Decision issued on

November 17, 1978, the Department agreed with the Cater-

pillar Companies that the operations of Caterpillar and all

of its domestic and foreign subsidiaries constituted a uni-

2 Under combined reporting, the business income attributable to

Illinois of a member of a related group of corporations meeting a

more-than-50% stock ownership test is determined by multiplying

the entire group’s business income by the average of the property,

payroll and sales factors. These factors are determined by dividing

the Illinois property, payroll and sales figures for each corporation

filing an Illinois income tax return by the total property, payroll

and sales figures of all members of the group. See, Illinois proposed

tions section 304-1(b) (2), Appendix G, pp. G-17-G-20.

4

tary business, and applied a combined three-factor formula

to the combined worldwide business income of the group.

(Excerpts from Record E-61, E-62.) However, the Depart-

ment denied certain deductions claimed by the Caterpillar

Companies and, on November 22, 1978, they sought admin-

istrative review in the Circuit Court of Peoria County.

(Excerpts from Record E-167.)

Appellant, Chicago Bridge & Iron Company (CBI),

timely filed Illinois income tax returns for the years 1969-

1973 using the separate, non-combined method of reporting

originally employed by the Caterpillar Companies. On June

21, 1976, the Department pursuant to section 904(c) of the

Act, issued to CBI a Notice of Deficiency asserting an

aggregate deficiency of $157,336.18 for the years 1969 and

1970, resulting from applying worldwide combined report-

ing to CBI and all of its subsidiaries. Pursuant to section

908(a) of the Act, on August 3, 1976, CBI protested the pro-

posed assessments. (Excerpts from Record E-200, E-201.)

No hearing has been held on such protest due to the pen-

dency of this case. Further, on May 8, 1980, the Department,

pursuant to section 904(c) of the Act, issued to CBI a Notice

of Deficiency asserting an aggregate deficiency of $837,527

for the years 1971-1973, resulting from applying worldwide

combined reporting to CBI and all of its subsidiaries. Pur-

suant to section 908(a) of the Act, CBI also protested these

proposed assessments. No hearing has been held on such

protest due to the pendency of this case.

Although the issue of the legality of worldwide combined

reporting had never been presented to, or decided by, an

Illinois court, the Caterpillar Companies and the Depart-

ment both favored such method of reporting. Therefore, in

the suit filed by the Caterpillar Companies in the Circuit

Court of Peoria County, the original parties acknowledged

combined reporting as a method which the Department

could require related corporations to employ. The com-

plaint merely raised questions as to how worldwide com-

bined income should properly be computed. Appellant stood

to be directly injured by the legal operation and effect of

a judgment determining the proper method of computing

worldwide combined income and implicitly upholding the

basic premise that worldwide combination is lawful. Ac-

cordingly, it sought leave to intervene as plaintiff oppos-

ing the lawfulness of combined reporting. The Circuit Court

granted leave both as of right and as a matter of judicial

discretion. Appellant’s status as party plaintiff was upheld

by the Appellate Court and by the Supreme Court.

The Circuit Court held that the Illinois Income Tax Act

requires worldwide combined reporting in the case of a

unitary business. In the Illinois Appellate Court, appellant

cited the then very recently decided case of Japan Line,

Ltd. v. County of Los Angeles, 441 U.S. 434, 60 L.Ed.2d

336, 99 S.Ct. 1813 (1979), holding that a fairly apportioned

tax imposed on instrumentalities of commerce domiciled

abroad violates the Commerce Clause. However, no refer-

ence was made to this issue in the Appellate Court’s opinion

upholding worldwide combined reporting. Appellant ap-

pealed to the Illinois Supreme Court, in which Commerce

Clause and Fourteenth Amendment arguments were ad-

vanced. The Court rejected both arguments, holding that

worldwide combined reporting violates neither the Com-

merce Clause nor the Fourteenth Amendment.

REASONS WHY QUESTIONS PRESENTED

ARE SUBSTANTIAL

The questions presented by this appeal are so substantial

as to require plenary consideration, with briefs on the

merits and oral argument, for their resolution. Appellant

is fully aware of the numerous decisions of this Court cited

in Exxon Corporation v. Wisconsin Department of Revenue,

447 U.S. 207, 65 L.Ed.2d 66, 100 S.Ct. 2109 (1980), to the

effect that:

... “the entire net income of a corporation, gener-

ated by interstate as well as intrastate activities, may

be fairly apportioned among the States for tax pur-

poses by formulas utilizing in-state aspects of interstate

affairs.” (447 U.S. at 219]

7 o .

“. .. Although separate geographical accounting may

be useful for internal auditing, for purposes of state

taxation it is not constitutionally required.”

[447 U.S. at 222-223]

The “linchpin of apportionability” for state income

taxation of an interstate enterprise is the “unitary

business principle.” ... If a company is a unitary

business, then a State may apply an apportionment

formula to the taxpayer’s total income in order to

obtain a “rough approximation” of the corporate in-

come that is “reasonably related to the activities con-

ducted within the taxing State.” [447 U.S. at 223]

However, this case presents no timeworn issue involving

the right of a state to tax a corporation upon a portion of

its total income derived from multistate or multinational

operations, determined by use of a formulary method of

apportionment. This case does not involve separate geo-

graphical or separate functional accounting.

This case presents to this Court, for the first time, two

vitally important issnes.* The first of these is whether a

3 Although combined reporting has been upheld in decisions in

California (e.g. Edison California Stores Inc. v. McColgan, 30 Cal.

2d 472, 183 P.2d 16 (1947)), Oregon (e.g. Coca Cola Co. v. Depart-

ment of Revenue, 271 Ore. 517, 533 P.2d 788 (1975), appeal dis-

missed, 434 U.S. 1042, 54 L.Ed.2d 793, 98 S.Ct. 884 (1978)) and

Montana (e.g. Montana Department of Revenue v. American Smelt-

7

state may constitutionally subject to tax a portion of the

income of a foreign corporation which is not doing busi-

ness in such State, if an entirely separate corporation which

is doing business in the State is related to such foreign

corporation and is engaged with it in conducting a “unitary

business.” Appellant submits that the imposition of a tax

on such foreign income, which is the inevitable result of

worldwide combined reporting, is precluded by the Com-

merce Clause of the United States Constitution.

The second, and equally vital issue, involves the basic

concept of combined reporting, interstate as well as world-

wide. Is it constitutional to measure the income of Corpora-

tion A which is subject to State income tax, by reference

to the income, property, payroll and sales of separate Cor-

porations B and C which are not subject to the tax? Ap-

ing & Refining Co., 173 Mont. 316, 567 P.2d 901 (1977) ), the consti-

tutional issues here presented do not appear to have been presented

to the state courts in those cases. They do not contain decisions on or

discussions of such issues, and neither Edison California Stores nor

Coca Cola was brought before this Court. American Smelting &

Refining Co. was dismissed for want of jurisdiction, 434 U.S. 1042

(1977). Another recent decision in this area of state taxation,

American Smelting & Refining Co. v. Idaho State Tax Commission,

99 Idaho 924, 592 P.2d 39 (1979), vacated, 445 U.S. 939, 63 L.Ed.2d

773, 100 S.Ct. 1333 (1980), did not present an issue concerning

combined reporting, but dealt with the classification of items

of income as business income subject to apportionment, rather

than as nonbusiness income subject to allocation. The California

Court of Appeal, in Container Corporation of America v. Franchise

Taz Board, 1/Civil 48990 (1981), recently held that worldwide

combined reporting is constitutional. Leave to appeal was denied by

the California Supreme Court. Although notice of appeal in that

case was filed on July 31, 1981, the time for docketing such appeal

in this Court does not expire until September 11, 1981, and the

appeal has not as yet been docketed to appellant’s knowledge. If an

appeal is docketed in such case, appellant urges this Court to hear

such appeal as well as the appeal in this case.

pellant believes that such measurement of the taxable

income of Corporation A is barred by the due process and

equal protection clauses of the Fourteenth Amendment.

This Court so held as to individuals in Hoeper v. Tax

Commission of Wisconsin, 284 U.S. 206, 76 L.Ed. 248, 52

S.Ct. 120 (1931); this case affords it a chance to apply

that holding to corporations.

L Combined Reporting Has Never Been

Presented to this Court

When a State seeks to impose an income tax on the

business income of a multistate or multinational corpora-

tion engaged in business in such State, two questions must

be answered in compliance with constitutional requirements.

It is first necessary to determine what is the amount of the

taxpayer-corporation’s business income, and, when that has

been determined, it is necessary to determine what portion

of the total business income is properly allocable to the

taxing jurisdiction.

Where a single corporation is involved, there is no ques-

tion as to the amount of its business income; all that is

required is to determine the proper method of allocating

such income among the various jurisdictions in which it

does business. The allocation historically used is commonly

referred to as separate accounting, under which the corpo-

ration’s business income is divided along geographical or

functional lines and the income attributable to a particular

jurisdiction is computed as though the business activities

conducted within the jurisdiction were its only business

However, if the business conducted by a single corporation

is a wnitary business, i.e., none of its income is derived

“from ‘unrelated business activity’ which constitutes a

‘discrete business enterprise’” [Exxon Corp., 447 U.S. at

224], separate accounting was early found to be inappro-

priate for determining what portion of the total business

income is allocable to a particular jurisdiction. In such

case, a tax imposed on “net income derived from business

done within this state,” determined by use of an apportion-

ment formula, was sustained by the California Supreme

Court in Butler Brothers v. McColgan, 17 Cal.2d 664, 111

P.2d 334 (1941), affirmed, 315 U.S. 501, 86 L.Ed. 991, 62 S.Ct.

94 (1942), the Court stating the governing principle as

follows:

. . . It is only if its business within this state is truly

separate and distinct from its business without this

state, so that the segregation of income may be made

clearly and accurately, that the separate accounting

method may properly be used. . . . If there is any evi-

dence to sustain a finding that the operations of ap-

pellant in California during the year 1935 contributed

to the net income derived from its entire operations in

the United States, then the entire business of appellant

is so clearly wnitary as to require a fair system of

apportionment by the formula method in order to

prevent overtaxation to the corporation or under-

taxation by the state. [17 Cal.2d at 667-668; emphasis

supplied]

This Court affirmed, holding that use of an apportionment

formula does not violate the Fourteenth Amendment where

a unitary business of a single corporate entity is involved.

[315 U.S. 501, 86 L.Ed. 991, 62 S.Ct. 701 (1942)] The Butler

Brothers holding has been frequently reaffirmed, most re-

cently in Exxon Corporation v. Wisconsin Department of

Revenue, 447 U.S. 207, 65 L.Ed.2d 66, 100 S.Ct. 2109 (1980),

and appellant readily acknowledges its correctness.

There is now no question but that formulary apportion-

ment is a constitutionally permissible method of allocating

a portion of a single corporation’s business income to a

taxing State.

10

However, where a taxpayer-corporation is a member of

a group of related corporations engaged in a business

involving intra-group transactions, the amount of the tax-

payer’s business income must be determined before any

attempt to allocate a portion thereof to the taxing State

can be made. Since transactions among members of the

group might otherwise be employed as devices to shift in-

come between members of the group, Internal Revenue

Code section 482 requires that the income of each member

of the group be determined as though it dealt only with

unrelated corporations, with necessary reallocations of in-

come and expense to accomplish this result. This method

of determining the amount of a corporation’s business in-

come is known as the arm’s-length method, and it is utilized

by most nations of the industrialized worid.* The constitu-

tionality of section 45 of the Internal Revenue Code of

1939 [the predecessor of section 482 of the 1954 Code] was

upheld in Asiatic Petrolewm Co. v. Commissioner of Inter-

nal Revenue, 79 F.2d 234 (2d Cir. 1935), certiorari denied,

296 U.S. 645, 80 L.Ed. 459, 56 S.Ct. 248 (1935), rehearing

denied, 296 U.S. 664, 80 L.Ed. 474, 56 S.Ct. 369 (1935),

and has not been questioned since.

A second method of determining the amount of business

income of a member of a group of related corporations

is combined reporting. Where the members of the group

are found to be conducting a unitary business, this method

assumes that the business income of each member of the

group constitutes a percentage of the combined business

income of the group as a whole. In allocating the combined

business income of the entire group to a jurisdiction in which

* Counsel for the Caterpillar Companies acknowledge that “the

accepted international apportionment method [is] the arm’s-length

Section 482 approach.” Don S. Harnack and Richard A. Hanson,

The Continuing Controversy Over Combination, 59 Taxes 531, 534

( August 1981).

ll

a particular taxpayer-corporation does business, the appor-

tionment formula used is that corporation’s instate appor-

tionment factors [property, payroll and sales, ete.) divided

by the entire group’s total factors, both instate and without

the state.®

This Court has never before been asked to resolve the

question of the constitutionality of combined reporting,

although it has recognized that there is a difference between

(i) requiring formulary apportionment of a single corpora-

tion’s unitary business income, and (ii) requiring combined

reporting of the income of multiple corporations.

U.S. Steel Corp. v. Multistate Tax Commission, 434 U.S.

452, 54 L.Ed.2d 682, 98 S.Ct. 799 (1978), did not involve

the constitutionality of combined reporting. The attack in

the U.S. Steel case was not on combined reporting, but on

the Multistate Tax Commission’s authority to conduct multi-

state audits using such method. This Court rejected piain-

tiffs’ position, because it found that “Since appellants do

not contest the right of each State to adopt these procedures

if it conducted the audits separately, they cannot be heard

to complain that a threat to federal supremacy arises from

the Commission’s adoption of the unitary-business standard

in accord with the wishes of the member States.” [434 U.S.

at 474)

5 Unlike the making of a consolidated return under the Internal

Revenue Code, which is an election available to members of an

affiliated group of corporations meeting an 80% stock ownership

test [Internal Revenue Code sections 1501, 1504], combined report-

ing is mandatory with respect to members of a related group of

corporations meeting a more-than-50% stock ownership test. See,

Illinois proposed Regulations sections 300-2(c), 304-1(b) (2), Ap-

pendix G, pp. G-4-G-9, G-17-G-20. Illinois does not allow the filing

of consolidated returns. [Ill. Rev. Stat., ch. 120, § 2-203]. A foreign

corporation may not be included in an affiliated group for purposes

of filing a consolidated return for federal income tax purposes.

[Internal Revenue Code, section 1504]

12

This Court carefully drew a distinction between formu-

lary apportionment and combined reporting. It noted that

the former has been upheld by its own decisions, whereas

combined reporting rests entirely on a decision of the

California Supreme Court which was not there challenged:

The “unitary business” technique involves calculat-

ing a corporate taxpayer’s net income on the basis of

all phases of the operation of a single enterprise (¢.g.,

production of components, assembly, packing, distribu-

tion, sales), even if located outside the jurisdiction.

The portion of that income attributable activities

within the taxing State is then determined by means

of an apportionment formula. See, e.g., Underwood

Typewriter Co. v. Chamberlain, 254 Us. 113 (1920).

Nena of income” involves applying the unitary

business concept to separately incorporated entities

engaged in a single enterprise. See Ediscn California

Stores, Inc. v. McColgan, 30 Cal.2d 472, 183 P.2d 16

(1947) [434 U.S. at 473, n. 25]

+ . *

Individual States are free to employ the unitary-

business standard. Underwood Typewriter Co. v. Cham-

berlain, supra; accord, Bass, Ratcliff € Gretton, Ltd.

v. State Taz Comm’n., 266 U.S. 271 (1924). Nor do

appellants claim that individual States could not em-

ploy the combination method of determining taxpayer

income. Cf. Edison California Siores, supra. (434 U.S.

at 474, n. 26]

It is precisely the asserted power of the State of Illinois

to require combined reporting that appellant does challenge

in this appeal.

IX Worldwide Combined Reporting Creates a Substantial

Risk of International Multipie Taxation, Thereby

Violating the Gommerce Clause

In holding that worldwide combined reporting does not

offend the Commerce Clause, the Illinois Supreme Court

placed reliance upon the perceived fact that the three-

13

factor apportionment formula applied to worldwide com-

bined income may be said to be fair. In seeking to distin-

guish this Court’s decision in Japan Line, Ltd. v. County

of Los Angeles, 441 U.S. 434, 60 L.Ed.2d 336, 99 S.Ct. 1813

(1979) the Illinois Court stated:

... The purpose of the apportionment formula is to

confine the taxation of business income to that portion

which is attributable to activities in Illinois. This ap-

peal does not involve the multiple taxation of items or

instrumentalities of foreign commerce nor does unitary

reporting affect federal authority in governing foreign

commerce. The concern here is only with the taxation

of business income fairly attributable to activities

within the taxing state. [84 I1].2d at 123]

In support of this statement the Court cited Mobi! Oil Corp.

v. Commissioner of Taxes, 445 U.S. 425, 63 L.Ed.2d 510,

100 S.Ct. 1223 (1980); Complete Auto Transit, Inc. v.

Brady, 430 U.S. 274, 51 L.Ed.2d 326, 97 S.Ct. 1076 (1977) ;

and Northwestern States Portland Cement Co. v. Minne-

sota, 358 U.S. 450, 3 L.Ed.2d 421, 79 S.Ct. 357 (1959). How-

ever, each of these cases involved solely interstate rather

than foreign commerce, whereas Japan Line and the instant

case present situations where a substantial risk of inter-

national multiple taxation is present. As this Court noted

in Mobil, supra, “Japan Line . . . focused on problems of

duplicative taxation at the international level, while ap-

pellant here has confined its argument to the wholly differ-

ent sphere of multiple taxation among our States.” [445

U.S. at 448)

As this Court reiterated in Reeves, Inc. v. Stark, 447 U.S.

429, 65 L.Ed.2d 244, 100 S.Ct. 2271 (1980); “. . . Commerce

Clause scrutiny may well be more rigorous when a restraint

on foreign commerce is alleged.” [447 U.S. at 438, n. 9]

Indeed, in Japan Line, this Court recognized that, if purely

interstate commerce were involved, “Complete Auto would

apply and be satisfied, and our Commerce Clause inquiry

14

would be at an end.” [441 U.S. at 445] However, where

foreign commerce is involved, two additional consicera-

tions come into play:

. .. The first is the enhanced risk of double taxation.

It is a commonplace of constitutional jurisprudence

that multiple taxation may well be offensive to the Com-

merce Clause. .. . In order to prevent multiple taxation

of interstate commerce, this Court has required ‘hat

taxes be apportioned among taxing jurisdictions, so

that no instrumentality of commerce is subjected to

more than one tax on its full value. The corollary of

the apportionment principle, of course, is that no jur-

isdiction may tax the instrumentality in full... .

Yet neither this Court nor this Nation can ensure full

apportionment when one of the taxing entities is a

foreign sovereign. If an instrumentality of commerce

is domiciled abroad, the country of domicile may have

the right, consistently with the custom of nations, to

impose a tax on its full value. If a State should seek

to tax the same instrumentality on an apportioned

basis, multiple taxation inevitably results. Hence,

whereas the fact of apportionment in interstate com-

merce means that “multiple burdens logically cannot

occur,” Washington Revenue Dept., 435 U.S. at 746-

747, the same conclusion, as to foreign commerce, logi-

cally cannot be drawn. Due to the absence of an

authoritative tribunal capable of ensuring that the ag-

gregation of taxes is computed on no more than one

full value, a state tax, even though “fairly apportioned”

to reflect an instrumentality’s presence within the state,

may subject foreign commerce “ ‘to the risk of a double

tax burden to which [domestic] commerce is not ex-

posed, and which the commerce clause forbids.’” Evco

v. Jones, 409 U.S., at 94 quoting J. D. Adams Mfg. Co.,

304 U.S. at 311. [441 U.S. at 446-448]

Thus, the “fairness” of an apportionment formula is ir-

relevant when foreign commerce is involved.

Worldwide combined reporting inevitably causes double

taxation resulting solely from apportionment. Treasury De-

partment Tax Reform Option Paper No. VIII, dealing with

15

interpational taxation, discussed a proposal to require

States to use arm’s-length reporting rather than worldwide

combined reporting. The Treasury set forth the following

reasons, among others, for and against this proposal:

Pro—

The arm’s-length standard, upon which corporations

apply to inter-firm transactions those prices which

would have been used by an independent buyer and

seller, has become the international method of allo-

eating income between countries. When one country or

the states within that country apply an unconventional

rule, international double taxation of income results.

As state income tax rates have increased, this double

taxation has become more onerous.

Con—

State tax administrators believe that the unitary

method yields higher state tax revenues (this ad-

vantage being the other side of the double taxation

coin), and as a result vigorously oppose Federal restric-

tions on their practices. [Emphasis supplied]

The Treasury recommended that “The States should be

prohibited from applying the unitary apportionment rule to

tax foreign income of foreign corporations.” The relevant

text of Tax Reform Option Paper No. VIII is printed at

Appendix F.*

That apportionment of the worldwide combined income

of a group of corporations, some of which are foreign cor-

porations, inevitably results in international double taxa-

* See, also, testimony of Dr. Laurence N. Woodworth, Assistant

Secretary of the Treasury, on the Tax Treaties with the United

Kingdom, the Republic of Korea, and the Republie of the Philip-

pines, Hearings before the Committee on Foreign Relations, U.S.

Senate, 95th Cong., Ist Sess. (1977), pp. 32-33. The testimony of

Paul W. Cook on behalf of the National Association of Manufac-

turers before the House Ways and Means Committee, March 31,

1980, on H.R. 5076, contains a graphic example of egregious double

taxation.

16

tion may be readily demonstrated. Assume that Illinois

subsidiary S and foreign parent, P, are precisely equal

in the dollar value of their property, payroll and sales, and

that they conduct a “unitary business,” but that all trans-

actions between the two are conducted on an arm’s-length

basis so that reallocation of their incomes is not called

for. P earns $200,000 and pays tax thereon in the foreign

country of its commercial doricile. S has no net income,

but merely breaks even. S pays no U.S. income tax. How-

ever, if combined reporting is employed, the combined

worldwide income of the group is $200,000, and S, the

Illinois taxpayer, is subject to Illinois income tax on

$200,000 multiplied by the apportionment factor which, in

this case, is 50%." S pays Illinois income tax on $100,000.

One-half of P’s income has been subjected to double taxa-

tion, although not one dollar of such income may ever be

transferred to the United States or become subject to U.S.

income tax. Such double taxation is inherent in combined

reporting, which creates not merely a substantial risk, but

a virtual certainty, of international double taxation.

It is, of course, also true that worldwide combination

may result in a State income tax advantage for some cor-

porations. If, in the above example, S earned $200,000, but

P merely broke even, use of combined worldwide reporting

would result in apportioning $100,000 of S’s income out of

Illinois. Worldwide combined reporting results in double

taxation of the incume of foreign corporations whenever

such corporations are more profitable than domestic cor-

porations. When the foreign operations of a group are less

successful than its domestic operations, then worldwide

combined reporting reduces the State income tax of the

domestic members of the group. This explains the Cater-

7 See, Section 304-1(b)(2) of proposed regulations published by

the Illinois Department of Revenue in Volume 5, Issue 29 of the

Illinois Register on July 17, 1981. These proposed regulations are

printed at Appendix G. See pp. G-17-G-20.

17

pillar Companies’ claims for refund of Illinois income tax,

and their enthusiastic support for worldwide combined

reporting. However, the fact that worldwide combined re-

porting may result in unjustifiable undertazation in some

instances cannot justify unconstitutional overtazxation in

others. This is not a case where two wrongs make a right.

As was true in Japan Line, it could be argued that any

multiple taxation which results from worldwide combined

reporting is attributable, not to the State imposing such

system, but to the country of domicile of a foreign corpo-

ration which fails to adopt it. However, this Court there

held that while such argument “may have force in the

interstate commerce context,” “this Court is powerless to

correct malapportionment of taxes imposed from abroad

in foreign commerce.” [441 U.S. at 454] In Mobil Oil Corp.

v. Commissioner of Taxes, 445 U.S. 425, 63 L.Ed.2d 510,

100 S.Ct. 1223 (1980), it was recognized that “Taxation

by apportionment and taxation by allocation to a single

situs are theoretically incommensurate, and if the latter

method is constitutionally preferred, a tax based on the

former cannot be sustained.” (445 U.S. at 444-445] Where

foreign governments are concerned, taxation by allocation

to the situs of commercial domicile is the rule and this

preference cannot be affected by this Court. Accordingly,

taxation by apportionment of worldwide combined income

cannot be sustained.*

* In passing, it should be noted that, while Japan Line involved

a property tax, rather than an income tax, its principles are fully

applicable to the latter, as is evident from the fact that, in Japan

Line, this Court began its discussion with Complete Auto Transit,

supra, a case involving a franchise tax on gross receipts, and by the

manner in which it treated and distinguished Moorman Manufactur-

ing Co. v. Bair, 437 U.S. 267, 57 L.Ed.2d 197, 98 S.Ct. 2340 (1978),

a corporate income tax case relied upon by the State taxing author-

ities. Indeed, the “unitary” concept was first developed in property

tax cases. [State Railroad Tax Cases, 92 U.S. 575, 23 L.Ed. 663

(1875) ; Adams Express Co. v. Ohio State Auditor, 165 U.S. 194, 41

L.Ed. 683, 17 S. Ct. 305 (1896) }

18

III. Combined Reporting Prevents the Federal Government

From ‘‘Speaking With One Voice When Regulating

Commercial Relations with Foreign Governments,’’ and

Creates a Risk of Retaliation by Foreign Governments,

Thereby Violating the Commerce Clause

The [Illinois Supreme Court, in seeking to distinguis.

Japan Line, stated “. . . nor does unitary reporting affect

federal authority in governing foreign commerce.” In truth,

however, it frustrates the achievement of federal uniform-

ity in precisely the ways which this Court there noted:

. .. If the State imposes an apportioned tax, interna-

tional disputes over reconciling apportionment formu-

lae may arise. If a novel state tax creates an asymmetry

in the international tax structure, foreign nations dis-

advantaged by the levy may retaliate against American-

owned instrumentalities present in their jurisdictions.

(441 U.S. at 450]

As long ago as February 4, 1969, Senator Ribicoff made

the following points concerning worldwide combined re-

porting :

A major objection to the unitary concept is that the

California practice requires the inclusion in unappor-

tioned tax base of “foreign source income” which is

earned in countries outside of the United States and

which is not even included in the measure of the Fed-

eral income tax imposed by the United States, For

example, under the California practice, a Connecticut

corporation—with an affiliate in California and other

affiliates in such countries as Holland, France, Japan,

and so forth—is required to include in the measure of

the California tax the income of the foreign affiliates as

well as the income of the California affiliate and the

Connecticut affiliate. Besides being highly inequitable,

this practice conflicts directly with the international

taw policies of the Federal Government and, if per-

mitted to continue, can result in a situation in which

various States of the United States are formulating

their own international tax policies without taking into

19

account the international trade policies of the Federal

Government. [115 Cong. Rec. 2597]

Donald C. Lubick, Assistant Secretary of the Treasury

for Tax Policy, testifying in support of H.R. 5076 before

the House Ways and Means Committee on March 31, 1980,

criticized worldwide combined reporting in the following

terms:

The practice has created, and continues to create, an

irritant in the international relations of the United

States. A number of foreign governments have com-

plained, both officially and informally, that the unitary

system differs from the arm’s-length method used by

the Federal Government and generally accepted in

international practice. [Emphasis supplied]

See, also, Mr. Lubick’s statement before the Senate Finance

Committee on S. 983 and S. 1688, June 24, 1980.

William O. Hetts, a tax partner in the international ac-

counting firm of Deloitte Haskins & Sells, with over 300

offices in 66 countries, has stated that “the unitary method,

when applied to multinational entities, disrupts efforts to

achieve harmony and uniformity in the taxation of com-

merce between the countries of the world and invites re-

taliation by foreign countries in which subsidiaries of U.S.

companies operate.” [Statement before House Ways and

Means Committee, March 31, 1980, on H.R. 5076] Mr. Hetts’

statement is printed in Appendix H.

John 8S. Nolan, speaking on behalf of the Confederation

of British Industry on H.R. 5076, noted:

The Council of the OECD [Organization for Eco-

nomic Cooperation and Development] in July, 1979,

adopted a recommendation for uniform, worldwide use

by countries of the separate accounting, arm’s-length

principle, rather than any formula apportionment

method. This was based on a 100-page report setting

out a number of methods of establishing “accept-

able price levels” for determining intercompany arm’s-

length prices, in which it is clear that the United

States Treasury Regulations under § 482 were given

close attention. The OECD action reflects the consensus

of the Governments who are members of the OECD,

including the United States, that separate accounting

employing arm’s-length standards is the only appro-

priate system for taxation of international transactions.

[Appendix I-40]

Mr. Nolan’s full statement is printed in Appendix I.

Indeed, so strongly do our trading partners feel on this

subject that all nine members of the European Common

Market joined in a demarche to the State Department

“reciting the litany of problems with worldwide combined

reporting, including compliance costs, inequities, double

taxation, inconsistency with internationally accepted rules

and incompatibility with principles adopted by the OECD.”

[Written statement of Joseph H. Guttentag to the House

Ways and Means Committee, March 31, 1980, on H.R. 5076,

on behalf of the Dutch Employers’ Federation. }

A recently adopted tax treaty between the United States

and the United Kingdom would have barred State use of

combined reporting, but in the final draft of the treaty,

this provision was dropped.’ In the debate in the House

of Commons as to whether the revised treaty should be

adopted, on February 18, 1980, a Member of Parliament,

Mr. Geoffrey Johnson Smith, referred to the combined

method as “international robbery,” and Mr. Peter Rees

{the Minister of State, Treasury] replied that “strong

feelings ... are certainly present on the Government side.”

However, another Member, Mr. Michael Grylls, took hope

from this Court:

One cheerful factor is the comment of the United

States Supreme Court that counters the arguments of

® Although the provision was approved by a vote of 49-32 in the

Senate, there were insufficient votes to obtain the necessary 34 in

favor of the treaty with this provision included.

21

those who stress the delicacy of matters related to

state rights. The Supreme Court said:

“The United States must speak with one voice

regarding such international activities.”

It is not right for individual states to speak with dif-

ferent voices on matters of international business.

{Hansard, Parliamentary Debates, p. 190]

Worldwide combined reporting is contrary to interna-

tionally accepted methods of taxation, is strenuously op-

posed by foreign nations, and is contrary to Federal

policy."” In holding that a State statute is void because it

conflicts with Federal policy, this Court has not required an

express Congressional prohibition. Specifically, in the area

of State taxation, this Court held in Japan Line:

... it long has been “accepted constitutional doctrine

that the commerce clause, without the aid of Congres-

sional legislation . . . affords some protection from

state legislation inimical to the national commerce, and

that in such cases, where Congress has not acted, this

Court, and not the state legislature, is under the com-

merce clause the final arbiter of the competing demands

of state and national interests.” Southern Pacific Co.

v. Arizona ex rel. Sullivan, 325 U.S. 761, 769 (1945).

Accord, Hughes v. Oklahoma, ante, at 326, and n. 2;

Boston Stock Exchange v. State Tax Comm’n., 429 U.S.

318, 328 (1977). [441 U.S. at 454-455]

Worldwide combined reporting “discourages foreign in-

vestment in the United States and, thus hurts U.S. employ-

ment, the balance of payments and the extent of competi-

10 Even counsel for the Caterpillar Companies concede that “for-

eign corporations and their governments view combined reporting

as a violation of the normal international procedures for appor-

tioning income.” They conclude that “Absent a U.S. Supreme Court

determination that worldwide combination is unconstitutional,

relief for the foreign corporations appears to depend on congres-

sional action.” Don S. Harnack and Richard A. Hanson, The Con-

tinuing Controversy Over Combination, 59 Taxes 531, 534 (Au-

gust 1981). Appellant urges such determination by this Court.

tion in the U.S. industries.” {Tax Reform Option Paper

No. VIII] When worldwide combination results in taxation

of the income of a foreign corporation related to a U.S.

corporation doing business in a State in which the foreign

corporation does no business, and with which it has no con-

nection, it violates the policy concepts embodied in such

diverse pieces of legislation as Public Law 86-272 [15

U.8S.C.A. § 381], which imposes limits on the taxation of

interstate income of a corporation when that corporation

has only minimal contacts with the taxing State, and In-

ternal Revenue Code section 882(b), expressing the general

rule that only the income of a foreign corporation from

sources within the United States is taxed.

Worldwide combined reporting is also contrary to the

policy of the United States, as expressed in numerous

treaties, both Tax Treaties and Treaties of Friendship and

Commerce, all of which have recognized that the arm’s-

length standard is to be the basis of taxation of inter-

national business. See the in-depth discussion of these

treaties by Mr. Nolan in Appendix I, pp. I-31-I-37.

To see that the risks of international retaliatory taxation

are acute, if worldwide combined reporting is not struck

down, it is necessary only to look to our own Internal Rev-

enue Code. Section 891 of that Code provides that whenever

the President finds that U.S. citizens or corporations are

subjected to discriminatory or extraterritorial taxation by

a foreign country, citizens or corporations of that country

are, pursuant to his proclamation, to be subjected to U.S.

taxes at double the rate ordinarily applicable. This provi-

sion was first enacted in 1934, as section 103 of the Revenue

Act of 1934. The House version applied only where foreign

taxes were discriminatory, but the Senate extended the

provision to extraterritorial taxes with the comment:

In the first place, the section is made to apply if the

foreign country levies extraterritorial taxes, as well

as discriminatory taxes. Thus, a tax on income not

properly within the jurisdiction of the foreign country

imposing such tax will come within this classification.

[S.Rep. 558, 73rd Cong., 1939-1 (Part 2) C.B. 586, 610]

See, also, Internal Revenue Code, section 896. If worldwide

combined reporting is viewed as “international robbery,”

is it unlikely that a statute comparable to section 891 will

be adopted abroad to the detriment of all U.S. businesses?

In Japan Line, this Court noted that the tax there held

invalid “creates an asymmetry in international . . . taxation

operating to Japan’s disadvantage.” This, it found, created

an acute risk of retaliation which would be felt by the

Nation as a whole. Further, it noted that, if other States

were to impose a similar tax, varying degrees of multiple

taxation would be imposed, depending on the taxing juris-

diction involved. It concluded:

... This result, obviously, would make “speaking with

one voice” impossible. California, by its unilateral act,

cannot be permitted to place these impediments before

this Nation’s conduct of its foreign relations and its

foreign trade. [441 U.S. at 453]

Worldwide combined reporting creates an asymmetry in

international income taxation, which operates to the dis-

advantage of our international trading partners. The risk of

retaliatory action is acute. And, since combined reporting

exists in varying forms in only a relatively few States,"'

11 Theodore W. DeLooze, Chief Tax Counsel, Oregon Department

of Revenue and a spokesman for combined reporting, testified

before the House Ways and Means Committee, March 31, 1980, on

H.R. 5076, that “there are probably five or six or seven” States

which use the concept. (Official Transcript, p. 53) The Caterpillar

Companies asserted in the Illinois Supreme Court that ten States

employ it.

24

and is likely to be inconsistently applied in those States

which adopt it, varying degrees of multiple taxation are

imposed, depending on the taxing jurisdiction involved.

Worldwide combined reporting makes “speaking with one

voice” impossible. No State (in this case Illinois) can be

permitted to place these impediments on the Nation’s for-

eign relations and foreign trade.

The Illinois Supreme Court failed to acknowledge the

landmark case of Hoeper v. Tax Commission of Wisconsin,

284 U.S. 206, 76 L.Ed. 248, 52 S.Ct. 120 (1931), and there-

fore erroneously held that due process is not violated by

combined reporting, placing reliance on the perceived

“reasonableness” of the apportionment formula used in

conjunction with combination. Appellant acknowledges that

Butler Brothers v. McColgan, 315 U.S. 501, 86 L.Ed. 991,

62 S.Ct. 701 (1942), and Exxon Corp. v. Wisconsin Depart-

ment of Revenue, 447 U.S. 207, 65 L.Ed.2d 66, 100 S.Ct. 2109

(1980), as well as numerous other decisions, have estab-

lished that due process does not compel use of separate

geographical or functional accounting as opposed to for-

mulary apportionment, so long as the formula is reason-

able and the requirement of nexus is also met. Appellant

also agrees that due process is not contravened merely be-

cause a taxpayer’s income from international activities may

be subjected to a fairly apportioned tax, as held in Mobil

Oil Corp. v. Commissioner of Taxes, 445 U.S. 425, 63 L.Ed.

2d 510, 100 S.Ct. 1223 (1980).

However, that an apportionment formula meets the re-

quirements of due process in apportioning the income of a

single taxpayer is irrelevant to the question whether com-

25

bining the incomes of separate taxpayers meets the re-

quirements of the Fourteenth Amendment. Hoeper, supra,

holds tha: such combination is unconstitutional.

In that case, this Court was called upon to determine the

validity of a State income tax law which imposed combined

reporting on members of a family. The statute required that

the incomes of the wife and children under 18 years of age

be combined with that of the husband, and that a tax be

levied against the husband based on such combined income.

It further provided that, if separate returns were filed, the

tax should be computed on the “combined average taxable

income” and should be paid by the husband and the wife

“in the proportion that the average income of each bears

to the combined average income.” This statute bore an

uncanny resemblance to the concept of combined reporting

as applied to corporations.

This Court noted that, at common law, the wife’s prop-

erty is the property of her husband, and said that, if this

were her status, “the statutory attribution of her income

to her husband for income tax would, no doubt, be justi-

fiable.” [284 U.S. at 214] However, since, under applicable

law, the wife’s income was her separate property, “the

question presented is whether the state has power by an

income-tax law to measure his tax, not by his own income

but, in part, by that of another.” The Court answered that

question as follows:

. . . To the problems thus stated, what was said in

Knowlton v. Moore, 178 U.S. 41, 77, is apposite:

“It may be doubted by some, aside from express

constitutional restrictions, whether the taxation by

Congress of the property of one person, accompanied

with an arbitrary provision the’ the rate of tax shall

be fixed with reference to the su» of the property of

another, thus bringing about the profound inequality

which we have noticed, would not transcend the limita-

tions arising from those fundamental conceptions of

free government which underlie all constitutional sys-

tems.”

We have no doubt that, because of the fundamental

conceptions which underlie our system, any attempt by

a state to measure the tax on one person’s property

or income by reference to the property or income of

another is contrary to due process of law as guaranteed

by the Fourteenth Amendment. That which is not in

fact the taxpayer’s income cannot be made such by

calling it income. Compare, Nicols v. Coolidge, 274 U.S.

531, 540. [284 U.S. at 215)

In Hoeper, it was argued that the statute was necessary

to prevent fraud and evasions of the tax by married persons.

The Court gave this argument short shrift:

“That is to say, ‘A’ may be required to submit to an

enactment forbidden by the Constitution if this seems

necessary in order to enable the State readily to collect

lawful charges against ‘B’. Rights guaranteed by the

federal Constitution are not to be so lightly treated;

they are superior to this supposed necessity. The State

is forbidden to deny due process of law or the equal

protection of the laws for any purpose whatsoever.”

The claimed necessity cannot justify the otherwise

unconstitutional exaction. [284 U.S. at 217]

This Court long ago held that subsidiaries must be

treated as separate taxpayers from their parent corpora-

tions, saying, “Complete ownership of the corporation, ancl

the control primarily dependent upon such ownership—the

important ingredients of the Southern Pacific case—are no

longer of significance in determining [federal income] tax-

ability.” [National Carbide Corp. v. Commissioner, 336 U.S.

422, 429, 93 L.Ed. 779, 69 S.Ct. 729 (1949)] The Court

specifically held that, to the extent the “testimony shows the

integration of the corporate system and its direction by

27

Airco, it is, as we have indicated, immaterial.” [336 U.S. at

433-434, n. 13] It is precisely such testimony which would

show the operation of a “unitary business,” yet the opera-

tion of such a business does not make the income of the

subsidiary that of the parent. Combined reporting, on the

other hand, goes even further; it makes the income of the

parent the income of the subsidiary, if it is the subsidiary

which is subject to tax in the State employing such method.

If foreign parent P and Illinois subsidiary S are of equal

size, but P earns $200,000 and S earns nothing, as discussed

above, combined reporting requires that $100,000 of the

combined income be treated as that of S and sibjected to

tax in Illinois. If S’s competitor, X, is precisely the same ©

size as S, but also earns nothing, X pays no tax. S is severely

disadvantaged in its competition with X, and, being a sub-

sidiary, has no means to compel P to remit to it any portion

of P’s profits with which to pay its tax. A clearer case in

which neither due process nor equal protection of the laws

has been afforded S it would be hard to find.

Other examples abound. Under the proposed [Illinois

Regulations Section 300-2(c) (2), combined reporting can be

required in any case of more than 50% common ownership.

{Appendix G-6] Many foreign countries require that local

citizens or the foreign government itself be permitted to

own a significant percentage of a local subsidiary of a U.S.

parent. Appellant’s Saudi subsidiary is 25% locally owned;

its Indonesian subsidiary is 50% locally owned. Suppose

‘at parent P, located in Illinois, owns 50.1% of the stock

of subsidiary S, located in a foreign country, and the gov-

ernment of that country owns 49.9% of S. P is nine times

as large as S in property, payroll and sales, but, separately

stated, each earns $1,000,000 on an arm’s-length basis. Under

combined reporting 90% of the combined income of the two

corporations ($1,800,000) is apportioned to P and sub-

jected to tax in Illinois, even though P has no equity what-

ever in $499,000 of S’s earnings. Even if P repatriates by

means of dividend the full $501,000 of S’s earnings to which

it is entitled, the Illinois income tax is imposed on $299,000

of S’s income which has a permanent foreign situs and to

which P has no claim of right. Not only is this imper-

missible double taxation of S’s foreign income as previously

discussed, but it renders P non-competitive with corpo-

rations based abroad or in other States, the incomes of

which are not subject to combined reporting and which pay

no tax on the income of a subsidiary until such time as

some or all of such income is received by the parent.

It is the assumption upon which the concept of combined

reporting and three-factor apportionment is premised that

an equal amount of property, payroll and sales will produce

an equal amount of income. Thus, if three related corpora-

tions are precisely the same size, their combined business

income will be apportioned 4% to each of the three. [See

proposed Illinois Regulations Section 304-1(b)(2). Appen-

dix G, pp. G-17-G-20] How ver, it has been noted that, in

1979, the average per hour wages for a worker in the United

States were $9.09, and that such wages in other countries

varied from $8.17 in France through $5.58 in Japan, $5.46

in the United Kingdom, $1.80 in Brazil to $0.65 in Indonesia.

Appendix I, p. 1-49. It is obvious that there is no necessary

correlation between productivity and payroll where different

countries are involved. Indeed, productivity may well be

higher in countries with lower wage rates than in the United

States. Even within the United States, variances in union-

ization, the cost of living, and other factors occasion sub-

stantial differences in wage rates, yet combined reporting

assumes that a smaller payroll means a smaller proportion-

ate share of the combined income.

U.S. laws require the expenditure of large sums for pol-

lution control equipment. Such expenditures do not enhance

29

profitability, but under combine! reporting, profits of for-

eign affiliates will be tilted toward the State where a U.S.

corporation is situated because of that State’s greater

proportion of a combined property factor. Similarly, if a

corporation such as appellant is engaged in heavy manu-

facturing in the U.S., and has subsidiaries engaged in a

contracting business abroad, the heavily capital intensive

nature of its manufacturing business will cause a substan-

tial portion of its subsidiaries’ contracting profits to be ap-

portioned to the State where the manufacturing is conducted.

Even a combined sales factor often results in significant

distortions of income. Both political and commercial risk

factors vary tremendously from location to location as a

multistate-multinational group of corporations does busi-

ness around the globe. Where risks are greater, business

will not be transacted unless the gross profit margin is

sufficiently large to justify the assumption of those risks.

Can anyone doubt that no U.S. corporation would conduct

business in Iran at this time unless it believed that a dollar

of sales there would produce a substantially higher profit

than a dollar of sales in Illinois? But a combined sales

factor disregards this fact.

While this Court has refused to impose strict constitu-

tional restraints under the Due Process Clause on a State’s

selection of a particular formula for apportioning the in-

come of a single corporation to such State [Moorman

Manufacturing Co. v. Bair, 437 U.S. 267, 57 L.Ed.2d 197,

98 S.Ct. 2340 (1978)], to require combination of the in-

comes of entirely separate corporations, related by little

more than 50% common ownership, incorporated under

entirely dissimilar local laws, doing business many thou-

sands of miles and many cultures apart, goes far beyond

the application of an apportionment formula. Such com-

bination of incomes cannot withstand scrutiny under the

Fourteenth Amendment.

30

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, it is earnestly requested that

probable jurisdiction be noted.

Respectfully submitted,

Wituam P. Sutter

One First National Plaza

Chicago, Illinois 60603

(312) 558-6616

Attorney for Appellant

Of Counsel:

Ricnarp Bromiey

One First National Plaza

Chicago, Illinois 60603

(312) 558-6614

xIpuddty

Office- Supreme Court, US.

FILED

Ty. 49 AUG 24 1981

ALEXAND:# L. STEVAS,

CLERK

IN TBE

Supreme Court of the United States

Octoser Term, 1981

CHICAGO BRIDGE & IRON COMPANY,

Appellant,

v.

CATERPILLAR TRACTOR CO., ILLINOIS

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE, et al.

Appellees.

Appeal from the Supreme Court of Illinois

APPELLANT’S APPENDIX

Wis P. Sutrer

One First National Plaza

Chicago, Illinois 60603

(312) 558-6616

Attorney for Appellant

Of Counsel:

Ricnarp BroMLey

One First National Plaza

Chicago, Illinois 60603

(312) 558-6614

i]

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Appendix A—Order of the Circuit Court

Appendix B—Opinion of the Illinois Appellate Court

Appendix C—Opinion of the Illinois Supreme Court

Appendix D—Denial of Rehearing by Illinois Supreme

Court

Appendix E—lIllinois Income Tax Act

Appendix F—Tax Reform Option Paper No. VIII

Appendix G—Proposed Illinois Income Tax Regula-

tions

Appendix H—Statement of William O. Hetts, Partner,

Deloitte Haskins & Sells, before the

House Ways and Means Committee on

H. R. 5076

Appendix I—Statement of John S. Nolan on behalf of

the Confederation of British Industry

and the British National Committee of

the International Chamber of Com-

merce, before the House Ways and

Means Committee on H. R. 5076

APPENDIX A

A-1

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF

THE TENTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT OF ILLINOIS

PEORIA COUNTY

CASE NO. 78L 7815

CATERPILLAR TRACTOR CO., et al.

Plaintiff

vs.

ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE AND

DANIEL J. LENCKOS, Director

Defendant

ORDER

THIS CAUSE COMING ON TO BE HEARD this 9th

day of February, 1979 and the Court BEING FULLY AD-

VISED IN THE PREMISES:

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED AS FOLLOWS:

(1) The Petitioners, Coca-Cola et al., are entitled to inter-

vene both as a matter of right and by discretion of this

Court. Intervention is granted only as to the issue of law:

whether the unitary apportionment method must be applied

under the Illinois Income Tax Act to achieve fair represen-

tation of a taxapayer’s business actively in Lllinois. The

Petitioners are not entitled to intervene as to any factual

issue and no determination is made herein as to whether the

intervenors are unitary business operations.

(2) The Unitary Apportionment Method must be applied

by the Illinois Department of Revenue in order to fairly rep-

resent the Plaintiffs’ business activities in Illinois during

the taxable years 1970-1974.

A-2

(3) The Unitary Apportionment Method must be applied

by the Illinois Department of Revenue in order to fairly

represent the Plaintiffs’ business activity in Illinois during

the taxable year 1969, providing however, that is shall be

applied only in determining the Department’s right to offset

to Plaintiffs’ Claim for Refund of overpayment. The use of

the Unitary Apportionment Method is not authorized as a

basis for determining a deficiency with respect to the tax-

able year 1969.

(4) Allegedly fictitious income, including deemed divi-

dend income, subpart F income and foreign income taxes

paid by C. T. Co. and its domestic subsidiaries which were

credited for federal tax purposes are deductible in comput-

ing income subject to apportionment.

(5) Foreign taxes paid by foreign subsidiaries included

in the Unitary group are deductible in computing unitary

worldwide group income under the Illinois Income Tax Act.

Stephen J. Covey

Judge of the Tenth Judicial Circuit

APPENDIX B

B-1

STATE OF ILLINOIS

APPELLATE COURT THIRD DISTRICT

OTTAWA

At a term of the Appellate Court, begun and held at

Ottawa, on the Ist Day of January in the year of our Lord

one thousand nine hundred and seventy-nine, within and for

_ the Third District of Illinois:

Present—

HONORABLE ALLAN L. STOUDER,

Presiding Justice x

HONORABLE JAY J. ALLOY, Justice

HONORABLE RICHARD STENGEL, Justice x

HONORABLE TOBIAS BARRY, Justice

HONORABLE ALBERT SCOTT, Justice x

JOSEPH FENNESSEY, Clerk

BE IT REMEMBERED, that afterwards on October 10,

1979 the Opinion of the Court was filed in the Clerk’s Office

of said Court, in the words and figures following, viz:

B-2

Case No. 79-104

IN THE

APPELLATE COURT OF ILLINOIS

Tuirp District

A.D. 1979

————EEESEoEoEaEaEaaooooeEEeEEeeeeee___=QSQSSQQQSQOESOOEOQOOSOOOONQqEanaanE=—SS—XKXvwmN=

CATERPILLAR TRACTOR CO., .

CATERPILLAR AMERICAS CO.,

CATERPILLAR CREDIT CORP.,

CATERPILLAR FINANCE CORP.,

AND CATERPILLAR

MACHINERY CORP.,

Plaintiff-Appellees,

Cross-Appellants,

vs. On appeal from the

Cireuit Court of the

DANIEL J. LENCKOS, as Acting Tenth Judicial

Director of the ILLINOIS a —

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE, - —”’

and Honorable

ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF Stephen J. Covey,

REVENUE, Presiding Judge.

Defendants-A ppellants,

Cross-Appellees,

COCA-COLA COMPANY, et al.,

Intervening Plaintiff s-

Appellants,

MULTISTATE TAX COMMISSION,

Amicus Curiae. 7

B-3

Mr. PRESIDING JUSTICE STOUDER delivered the

opinion of the court:

There is no dispute as to the facts pertinent to the issues

presented on this appeal. Caterpillar Tractor Co. is a

California corporation with its principal headquarters at

100 N.E. Adams Street, Peoria, Illinois. Caterpillar Trac-

tor Co. is the parent corporation of a number of sub-

sidiaries in the United States and foreign countries. Certain

of these subsidiaries are also subject to Illinois income tax

and their cases were joined with hat of Caterpillar Trac-

tor Co. before the Illinois Department of Revenue, (here-

inafter referred to as the Department), before the court

below and in this appeal. Joined were, Caterpillar Ameri-

cas Co. (“Americas”), Caterpillar Credit Corp. (“Credit”),

Caterpillar Finance Corp. (“Finance”) and Caterpillar

Machinery Corp. (“Machinery”). Coca-Cola and fifteen

other companies were permitted to intervene by the trial

court. On appeal we permitted the Multistate Tax Com-

mission to file an amicus curiae brief.

Caterpillar Tractor Co. and its subsidiaries together con-

stitute the largest manufacturer of earthmoving, construc-

tion and materials handlirs equipment in the world. Each

of the companies carries out one or more production,

marketing, and service functions as part of an integrated

enterprise. For example, Caterpillar Tractor Co. produces,

sells and services virtually every item in the Caterpillar

line of products. Americas, Caterpillar Overseas, S.A.,

and Caterpillar Far East, Ltd., are marketing companies

which engage in sales and service functions in specific

geographic areas. Caterpillar Tractor Co., Ltd., Cater-

B-4

pillar Belgium, Caterpillar of Canada, Caterpillar of

Australia and other subsidiaries manufacture and sell com-

ponents of, or complete machines in, the Caterpillar prod-

uct line. Other companies such as Caterpillar Overseas

_ Credit Corporation, S.A., Caterpillar of Delaware, and

Credit provide financing and other services to other Cater-

pillar companies and to independent Caterpillar dealers

which market Caterpillar products in their particular area.

Many of the Caterpillar machines are manufactured by

more than one of the Caterpillar companies. Each type of

machine, wherever manufactured, is identical to other

machines manufactured at other plants throughout the

world. Worldwide product uniformity permits maximum

product and part intercharuc and allows any particular

company to manufacture noi on, .ts own product but also

components to be used in the manufacture of products by

other Caterpillar companies. Consequently, there is a high

degree of intercompany sales of parts and components.

Product uniformity also allows for substantial uniformity

of advertising, warranties, employee training and other

aspects of the business carried on by each company.

Worldwide product uniformity is maintained by having

the responsibility for design control, product specifications

and quality assigned to a central design group located at

Caterpillar Tractor Co.’s general office in Peoria. In order

to further promote uniformity of products and to maximize

the efficient operation of all of the companies, Caterpillar

Tractor Co. exercises centralized direction over its sub-

sidiaries, including a direction and control over manu-

facturing standards, budgets, accounting, compensation

leveis and benefits, insurance, labor contracts, and research

and development. As a result of the nature and operations

of Caterpillar Tractor Co. and its subsidiaries, their opera-

B-5

tions are integrated with, dependent upon, and contribute

to the overall success of the business activities of the group

carried on throughout the world.

Caterpillar Tractor Co. and each of the subsidiaries

subject to tax in Illinois, hereinafter referred to jointly as

the plaintiffs, initially filed Illinois income tax returns for

each of the years 1969 through 1974 on a separate basis

utilizing the statutory apportionment formula. In these

separate returns each company, where appropriate, sub-

tracted from its federal taxable income deemed dividends

includible in federal taxable income under Section 78 of the

Internal Revenue Code (hereinafter referred to as “deemed

dividend income”) and Subpart F income and deducted

their own foreign income taxes paid or accrued which each

company had credited for federal income tax purposes.

The Department audited the plaintiffs’ returns for each

of the years 1969 through 1974 and denied the subtractions

for the deemed dividend income and Subpart F income and

foreign income taxes, proposing additional assessments of

tax as a result of these adjustments. The plaintiffs paid

said assessments, but on February 21, 1974, they each filed

refund claims for the years 1969, 1970 and 1971, (excepting

Finance which filed a claim for 1971 only) requesting the

refund of the amount of the assessments paid plus addi-

tional amounts resulting from the further subtraction of

foreign dividends, interest and royalties to the extent in-

cluded in base income on a non-unitary basis.

With one exception, the claims for refund relating to the

taxable year 1969 were not timely filed since the three year

period prescribed by the statute of limitations had expired.

On May 18, 1973, Caterpillar Tractor Co. paid additional

income tax and interest for the 1969 taxable year totaling

$175,965.37. Therefore, the period of limitations had not

B-6

expired as to this sum of $175,965.37. Six months later, on

August 21, 1974, these claims were deemed denied, and sub-

sequently protests to this deemed denial of their claims

were filed in which hearings were requested.

On October 15, 1974, timely supplemental claims for re-

fund of overpayments for 1970 and 1971 were filed asserting

the applicability of the unitary apportionment method.

Protests to the denial of these claims were filed on May 19,

1975.

On May 7, 1976, each of the taxpayers filed timely supple-

mental claims for refund of overpayment for the years 1972

through 1974. Claims also asserted the applicability of the

unitary apportionment method.

Thereafter, as a result of audit examinations, 30 day

letters were issued by the Department to the taxpayers for

the years 1969 through 1974. The taxpayers responded with

timely statements of objections, and notices of a deficiency

were issued by the Department on March 8, 1978, for the

tax years 1969 through 1974. Timely protests were filed on

March 10, 1978, and on March 14 and 15, 1978, an adminis-

trative hearing was held before the Illinois Department of

Revenue.

The Department issued a notice of decision which held,

in relevant part, that the operations of Caterpillar Tractor

Co. and its domestic and foreign subsidiaries constituted a

unitary business during the period August 1, 1969 to De-

cember 31, 1969, and for each of the calendar years 1970 to

1974. The Department agreed with the plaintiffs that a fair

apportionment of the income of Caterpillar Tractor Co.

and its subsidiaries to Illinois could only be achieved

through application of the unitary method of apportionment.

Consequently, the Department found that the plaintiffs

should be allowed, as they had requested, to use the unitary

B-7

method of apportionment in determining their income tax

liability in each of the years 1970 through 1974.

In addition to the Department’s ultimate findings regard-

ing the existence of a unitary business and the applicability

of the unitary method of apportionment for the year 1970

through 1974, the Department made certain subsidiary

findings regarding the method of computing the plantiffs’

Tllinois income tax liability on the unitary method of appor-

tionment. Finally, the Department determined that the

plaintiffs were also required to use the unitary method of

apportionment in 1969 even though such use had not been

requested by the plaintiffs.

Administrative review of this determination was sought,

and on February 9, 1979, the lower court issued an order

approving the plaintiffs’ use of the unitary method of

apportionment for 1970 through 1974. The court also ap-

proved the plaintiffs’ method of computing liability under

the unitary method, i.e., deducting allegedly fictitious in-

come, including deemed dividend income, Subpart F income

and foreign income taxes paid by the Caterpillar Tractor

Co. and its domestic subsidiaries as well as Jeducting for-

eign taxes of foreign subsidiaries includible in the unitary

group. However, the court decided that the unitary method

was applicable in determining offsets to the plaintiffs’

claimed overpayment of Illinois tax for the 1969 period.

In addition, it was determined that sixteen corporations

were entitled to intervene concerning the issues of whether

the unitary apportionment method must be applied under

the Illinois Income Tax Act, but intervention was not

allowed as to any factual question, no determination having

been made as to whether the intervenors are unitary busi-

ness operations.

B-8

Initially, this court must address an issue raised by the

Department concerning the propriety of the decision of

the circuit court to permit the intervention of the sixteen

corporations. Although the right to seek review of an ad-

ministrative determination is limited to parties of record

in the proceeding before the administrative agency whose

rights, privileges or duties are affected by the decision

(Lake County Contractors Association v. Pollution Control

Board (1973), 54 Ill. 2d 16, 294 N.E.2d 259; Allender v.

City of Chicago Zoning Board of Appeals (1978), 63 Ill.

App. 3d 204, 381 N.E.2d 4), intervention may be granted

at the administrative review level to entities which do not

meet those requirements, as long as the requirements of

the intervention statute are satisfied. (Will County Board

of Review v. Property Tax Appeal Board of the Department

of Revenue (1971), 48 Ill. 2d 513, 272 N.E.2d 32). Further-

more, once intervention is allowed, the intervening party

may institute an appeal from an adverse determination.

(See Exchange National Bank of Chicago v. City of Chi-

cago (1963), 28 Ill. 2d 341, 192 N.E.2d 343).

Pursuant to the provisions of the Illinois Statute allow-

ing for interventions in a circuit court, the circuit court in

the case at bar, in addition to permitting intervention as

a matter of discretion, found that the sixteen corporations

had a right to intervene. However, if permissive interven-

tion was appropriately permitted, it becomes unnecessary

to determine whether the petition should have been granted

as of right. (See L.S. Heath d Sons, Inc. v. Marathon Oil

Company (1977), 56 Ill. App. 3d 440, 371 N.E.2d 1139).

In the discretion of the circuit court, a person may be

permitted to intervene if a timely application is made and

the applicant’s claim or defense has a question of law or

fact in common with the main action. (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1977,

ch. 110, par. 26.1(2)(b)). While it is unnecessary for a

B-9

person seeking to intervene to demonstrate a direct inter-

est in the suit (Mensik v. Smith (1960), 18 Ill. 2d 572, 166

N.E.2d 265), the application must exhibit a specific enforce-

able or recognizable right greater than the interest of the

general public in the subject matter of the suit (Cooper

v. Hinrichs (1957), 10 Ill. 2d 269, 140 N.E.2d 293).

Of course, when a determination of an issue lies within

the sound discretion of the trial court, in this case inter-

vention, the trial court’s determination will not be reversed

absent a clear showing of an abuse of discretion. (United

Steel Workers of American, Local 5292 v. Bailey (1975),

29 Ill. App. 3d 392, 329 N.E.2d 867). The petitioners in the

case at bar, should the judiciary approve the use of the

unitary method of apportionment of income, would be

prejudiced in their own disputes with the Department. Not

only is it important to allow a person to protect an interest

which may be jeopardized by pending litigation to which

that person is not a party, but it is desirable for reasons

of judicial efficiency to avoid relitigating in another suit

an issue which is already being litigated, (Bredberg v.

City of Wheaton (1962), 24 Ill. 2d 612, 182 N.E.2d 742).

Certainly the question of whether the unitary method of

apportionment is available under the [Illinois Income Tax

Act, the intervenors claiming it is not, is a question of

law in common with a question of law in the main action.

Therefore, intervention was properly allowed.

It is the Department’s contention, on the other hand,

that the intervenors are seeking a declaratory judgment in

a tax matter, which, according to the Department, is im-

permissible. We recognize the principles employed by the

Department. Specifically, a declaratory judgment will gen-

erally not be awarded in a tax case unless injunctive relief

would have been merited. (People ex rel Hamer v. Jones

(1968), 39 Ill. 2d 360, 235 N.E.2d 589). Injunctive relief

B-10

may be used to prevent a tax being levied on property

which is not subject to the tax, but it will not be employed

to halt the collection of revenue, even for irregularities in

the collection, because to so allow may well cause the

government to cease operating entirely. (The Chicago,

Burlington & Quincy R.R. Co. v. Frary (1859), 22 Ill. 34).

Regardless of the subject matter of the case, injunctive

relief will not be granted unless there is no adequate rem-

edy at law, which generally means that all possible admin-

istrative remedies must be exhausted. (Illinois Bell Tele-

phone Co. v. Allphin (1975), 60 Ill. 2d 350, 326 N.E.2d 737).

It is the Department’s complaint that the intervenors ought

to be required to proceed with their individual cases

through administrative proceedings or to use some other

acceptable method to avoid that consequence, such as péy-

ing the taxes under protest and thereafter seeking judicial

review. (See, Chicago ¢ Midland Ry. Co. v. Department of

Revenue (1976), 63 Ill. 2d 474, 349 N.E.2d 22).

While recognizing these principles, we cannot agree with

the recommendation of the Department to reverse the cir-

cuit court’s determination on the issue of intervention based

on these authorities. Having already determined that inter-

vention is appropriate in this factual situation, we must

point out that seeking intervention in an existing suit is

quite different from initiating a suit to avoid an adminis-

trative determination in a particular case. Where interven-

tion is allowed, the rights of the intervenors are generally

not determined directly. However, those rights may be

indirectly determined, and usually are because to seek

intervention requires that a specific interest in the subject

matter of the suit be demonstrated. And so, in this case

the courts are not directly declaring the rights of the

sixteen intervenors in their disputes with the Department

nor are the results of those disputes being determined in

advance. Instead, the intervenors have merely been given

B-11

an opportunity to present their points of view in a case

which, when determined, will likely affect the outcome of

those tax disputes. No declaratory judgment is sought here.

Since the circuit court’s ruling on intervention was cor-

rect, we must consider the issue raised by the intervenors,

whether or not the use of the unitary method of determining

income is authorized or permitted by the Illinois Income

Tax Act (Til. Rev. Stat. 1977, ch. 120, par. 1-101, et seq.).

The Illinois Income Tax Act statutes in controversy were

based on the Uniform Division of Income for Tax Purposes

Act (UDITPA). During the years in question UDITPA

was a part of the Illinois Income Tax Act (Multistate Tax

Compact. Ill. Laws 1967 Sess., at 661.) Before proceeding,

however, the unitary method of apportionment must be

described.

The formula adopted by the State of Illinois to determine

the income of a corporation attributable to activities within

the State involves a two-step process. Non-business income,

once determined, is allocated based on specified rules. The

portion of the business income allocable to Illinois is deter-

mined by means of an apportionment formula which applies

an apportionment factor, the average of the percentages of

the total property, the total payroll and the total sales

attributable to activity in Illinois, to the corporation’s busi-

ness income to determine that portion of the business in-

come properly apportioned to Illinois. Obviously, the cor-

poration’s total taxable income in [Illinois is its business

income apportionable to Illinois plus the non-business in-

come allocable to Illinois.

An extension of this approach, the unitary method, can

be applied where a unitary business is conducted by a

number of corporations. The application of the unitary

method is intended to solve the problem of accurately

identifying the portion of the business income of each

B-12

member of the unitary business which is attributable to

a given state. First, the income of each group member is

computed, with non-business income being identified and

allocated separately as appropriate. Having arrived at the

actual business income generated by the group, each mem-

ber’s individual apportionment factor is calculated by

determining the ratio of the individual corporation’s Illinois

property, payroll and sales to the combined property, pay-

roll and sales of the group, respectively, and then finding

the average of the three elements. The resultant apportion-

ment factor of the individual corporation is applied to the

total group business income to determine the business in-

come of the individual corporate taxpayer attributable to

Illinois. Again, taxable income is the sum of non-business

income allocated to Illinois and the business income of the

group member attributable to Illinois.

Several other states that have adopted UDITPA have

held that it authorizes the unitary method of apportionment

in determining what taxes a corporation owes that state.

These states have relied principally on Edison California

Stores, Inc. v. McColgan (1947), Cal.2d , 183 P.2d

16, in which the California Supreme Court held that the

California tax statute allowed unitary apportionment. One

section of the California act provided that if the entire

business of the corporation was not done within the state,

the tax should be measured by that portion thereof derived

from business within the state, determined by a method of

allocation based upon sales, purchases, expenses of manu-

facture, payroll, value and situs of tangible property or any

of them or of other factors, or by such other method of

allocation as may be fairly calculated to assign to the state

the portion of net income reasonably attributable to busi-

ness done within the state. Another section provided that

net income be computed in accordance with the regular ac-

B-13

counting method of the taxpayer, but if that method does

not clearly reflect income, the computation must be made in

accordance with a method designated by the commissioner

which clearly does reflect the income. And another section

allowed for consolidated returns.

The Califonria court held that under the statute unitary

apportionment was valid, adding that the power to apply

the unitary method was not dependent on the power to

require consolidated returns. Instead the power flowed from

the authorized method of ascertaining the income attri-

butable to a taxpayer’s activities within the state. This

holding is buttressed by cases in other states which have

upheld the unitary apportionment method without the need

for consolidated returns. (See Montana Department of

Revenue v. American Smelting and Refining Co. (Mont.

1977), 567 P.2d 901, Coca-Cola Co. v. Department of

Revenue (1975), 271 Or. 517, 533 P.2d 788)

The utilization of the unitary method does not ignore the

corporate structure. Each individual corporation is taxed

separately. The unitary method is only a device to ascertain

the income attributable to the Illinois business activity of

the taxpaying corporation. As a result, the express ban

of consolidated returns in the reporting of income for IIli-

nois income tax purposes (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1977, ch. 120, par.

2-203(d)(2)(E)) is irrelevant to a determination of whether

the unitary method of apportionment is to be used in

Illinois.

The major advantage of the unitary method is that, with

regard to the taxation of a parent company and its various

subsidiaries, there is no elevation of form over substance.

Without the unitary method were would be a different tax

application for an integrated business which is run as a

number of separate corporations rather than a single

B-14

multistate corporation. (See Coca-Cola Co. v. Department

of Revenue (Or. 1975), 533 P.2d 788). Since the whole

point of the income tax act is to ascertain that portion

of the business which is done within the state, there is no

reason to find different results based simply on the formal

structure of the business.

As mentioned earlier, the great majority of cases in other

jurisdictions have interpreted UDITPA as authorizing the

unitary method of apportionment. We agree with this

interpretation and hold that on the basis of the Multistate

Tax Compact being in effect at that time, the Department

of Revenue was correct in applying the unitary method of

apportionment. We stress that because we hold this way,

we do not reach the issue of whether or not articles 2 and

3 of the Illinois Income Tax Act authorize a unitary method

of apportionment.

Finally, the court is asked to consider a number of issues

in which the contestants are only the plaintiffs and the

Department. The first of these issues is how, or whether,

the unitary apportionment method is to be applied to the

fiscal year 1969 (August 1969 to December 31, 1969). The

circuit court determined that the unitary apportionment

method was applicable to 1969 but the Department could

not utilize it in recomputing the plaintiffs’ returns so as

to declare a deficiency even though it could be used by the

Department to offset the plaintiffs’ claims for refund. The

fact around which the circuit court’s determination centers

is that a statute of limitations prohibited the Department

from assessing additional income taxes for 1969 later than

October 15, 1973.

Without question, the trial court’s ruling is proper. Never-

theless, both parties attack it. The Department wants this

court to approve its declarations of deficiencies based on

B-15

the application of the unitary apportionment method to the

entire taxable year of 1969, while the plaintiffs would like

this court to declare that the unitary apportionment method

is not even available to determine an offset against the

' @laim for refund.

A notice of deficiency, to be effective, must not be issued

later than three years after the date the return was filed,

and unless such notice is timely given, a deficiency cannot

be assessed or collected. (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1977, ch. 120, par.

9-905(a)). If, however, the taxpayer fails to report a change

or correction, which change or correction is treated as if it

were a deficiency for federal income tax purposes, a notice

of deficiency may be issued at any time. (Ill. Rev. Stat.

1977, ch. 120, par. 9-905(d)). A fair reading of this ex-

ception to the statute of limitation would require that the

deficiency declared by the Department be based on the

federal change. The unitary method of apportionment is in

no way related to the federal changes involved in this case.

Therefore, the Department cannot utilize the unitary

method of apportionment as a basis for declaring a de-

ficiency as to plaintiffs’ 1969 income taxes.

This was the interpretation the Department initially ap-

plied, basing their proposed additional tax liabilities for

plaintiffs’ fiscal year 1969 on the federal changes alone

and utilizing the method of apportionment originally em-

ployed by the taxpayers in their returns, on their refund

claim and in the Department’s prior audit. Subsequently,

however, the hearing officer abandoned this approach and

decided that the deficiency, as well as the overpayment, be

‘computed by using the unitary method. Since the findings

of the Department are prima facie correct (III. Rev. Stat.

1977, ch. 120, par. 9-904(a)) and since the findings may be

prima facie evidence of the correctness of the amount of

B-16

tax due even against a claim of the Department (Austin

Liquor Mart, Inc. v. Department of Revenue (1972), 51

Tl. 2d 1, 280 N.E.2d 437 (dissent) ), the plaintiffs argue that

the hearing officer should not have abandoned a presump-

tively correct method of apportionment.

This argument of the plaintiffs need not now be con-

sidered since it has already been explained that the applica-

tion of the unitary apportionment method to the fiscal year

of 1969 to determine a deficiency was incorrect. On the

other hand, a refund is not authorized unless there is, in

fact, an overpayment. Even though the statute of limita-

tions bars the assessment and collection of additional taxes,

payments already receive may be retained to the extent

those funds do not exceed the amount which might have

properly been assessed and demanded. (See, Lewis v.

Reynolds (1931), 284 U.S. 281, 52 S.Ct. 145, 76 L.Ed. 293).

As a result, the unitary method of apportionment must be

applied to taxable year 1969 in order to determine to what

extent overpayments were made, thereby computing the

amount refundable to the plaintiffs.

Simply stated, the remaining issue is whether the plain-

tiffs should be allowed to claim certain deductions for pur-

poses of determining a refund for fiscal year 1969 as well

as in conjunction with the application of the unitary method

of apportionment in the subsequent years. In its determina-

tion, the circuit court would allow the deduction of certain

fictitious income in computing the income subject to ap-

portionment, including deemed dividend income, Subpart

F income and foreign taxes paid by the Caterpillar Tractor

Company, its domestic subsidiaries and its foreign sub-

sidiaries. To make this determination, we believe, was

beyond the province of the circuit court.

B-17

For the years in question, none of these deductions have

been authorized by the legislature. Instead, the Illinois In-

come Tax Act has relied, for its definition of taxable income,

on that taxable income properly reportable for federal in-

, come tax purposes (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1969, 1971, 1973, ch. 120,

par. 2-203(d)(1)). Only subsequently has the Illinois Gen-

eral Assembly created a deduction for one of these items,

foreign taxes. (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1975, ch. 120, par. 2-203(b)

(2)(F), amended by P.A. 79-1022, effective October 1, 1975).

Since such a statutory amendment creates a presumption

that it was intended to change the former law (Chicago &

Illinois Midland Ry. Co. v. Department of Revenue (1976),

63 Ill. 2d 474, 349 N.E.2d 22), it becomes clear that the

former law did not provide for such a deduction, even

impliedly.

These deductions now claimed by the plaintiffs arise from

their need to add hypothetical income to their federal in-

come tax return by reason of certain elections allowed to be

made by a taxpayer under the Internal Revenue Code of

1954. To compensate, the taxpayer is allowed a correspond-

ing credit to offset the additional income for federal income

tax purposes. For example, deemed dividend income occurs

if a domestic corporation is deemed to have paid a portion

of the foreign taxes paid by the subsidiary. The deemed

taxes may be claimed as a foreign tax credit only if an off-

setting amount is treated as dividend income received by

the domestic corporation. (26 U.S.C. sections 78 & 902).

The election concerning foreign taxes is even more clear-

cut. Foreign taxes paid by a domestic corporation may be

deducted by the taxpayer (26 U.S.C. section 164(a)(3)) or

credited against the tax due to the federal government (26

U.S.C. sections 78 & 901-908).

B-18

In making these elections, the taxpayer has, presumably,

lessened its federal income tax liability. Now, the plain-

tiffs in this case also want to reduce their Illinois income tax

liability by reversing the effect of their elections. This is

authorized, according to the plaintiffs, because the “prop-

erly reportable” language of the Illinois Income Tax Act is

not equivalent to “properly reported”. Therefore, the plain-

tiffs argue, this fictitious income need not be included for

Illinois income tax purposes because its exclusion from re-

ported income for federal income tax purposes would also

have been proper.

Having made their elections, the sematic distinction is no

longer available. The Illinois statute clearly expresses a

legislative intent that taxable income for Illinois income

tax purposes is that taxable income arrived at for federal

income tax purposes as long as the method employed to

compute taxable income for federal tax purposes was proper

under the Internal Revenue Code. Federal net income is

certainly a reasonable starting point for determining corpo-

rate net income for Illinois income tax. (Warren Realty Co.

v. Department of Revenue (1978), 62 Tll. App. 3d 450, 379

N.E.2d 100). As a result of their own elections, the plaintiffs

have not deducted the amount of foreign taxes from and

have added certain hypothetical income to their gross in-

come, and for federal income tax purposes, they are bound

by those elections. Nothing in our existing Illinois law can

be found to relieve the plaintiffs of the consequences of their

choices for Illinois income tax purposes. (See, Albany Inter-

aational Corp. v. Halperin (Me., 1978), 388 A. 2d 902). The

granting of such a deduction is a privilege created as a

matter of legislative grace, and no one is entitled to a deduc-

tion not clearly allowed by statute, the burden being on the

taxpayer to demonstrate entitlement to the claimed deduc-

tion. (Bodine Electric Co. v. Allphin (1979), 70 Til. App. 3d

B-19

844, 389 N.E.2d 168). A deduction being a matter of legisla-

tive grace, a court has no authority to create such a deduc-

tion as the circuit court herein allowed. This action of the

circuit court must be deversed.

Accordingly, the judgment of the circuit court ul Peoria

County is affirmed in part and reversed in part, and the

cause is remanded for a redetermination of the plaintiffs’

refund for fiscal year 1969 and the plaintiffs’ taxes for tax-

able years 1970 to 1974, not inconsistent with this opinion.

Affirmed in part, reversed in part and remanded.

STENGEL and SCOTT, JJ., concur.

APPENDIX C

C-1

ILLINOIS SUPREME COURT

Docket Nos. 52818, 52828, 52903 cons.—Agenda 43—

May 1980.

CATERPILLAR TRACTOR CO. et al., Appellants and

Cross-Appellees, v. DANIEL J. LENCKOS, Director

of Revenue, e¢ al., Appellants and Cross-Appellees.

MR. JUSTICE WARD delivered the opinion of the

court:

The plaintiffs, Caterpillar Tractor Company and four

of its corporate subsidiaries, filed separate Dlinois corpo-

rate income tax returns for 1969 through 1974 inclusive.

Each corporation, whose business income is generated

through multistate and multinational business operations,

in preparing its return applied the apportionment formula

set out in section 304(a) of the [Illinois Income Tax Act

(Ill. Rev. Stat. 1969, ch. 120, par. 3—304(a)) for the use

of corporations deriving business income from transactions

in Dllinois and in one or more other States. A purpose of

the apportionment formula is to confine taxation to the

portion of corporate income attributable to business opera-

tions within [linois.

Under section 304(a), the Director of Revenue (Direc-

tor) applies a three-factor (sales, payroll and property)

apportionment formula which separately compares the

total value of a corporation’s in-State and out-of-State

sales, payroll, and property, both tangible and intangible,

with the total value of the corporation’s in-State sales,

payroll, and property alone. To illustrate: if the total multi-

state sales of a corporation are $10 million and its total

Illinois sales are $1 million, the Illinois sales would repre-

sent one-tenth of the total multistate sales of the corpo-

ration, giving a sales factor of 10%. Once the percentage

of the other factors, payroll and property, is calculated,

C-2

the three factors are averaged. This average is then multi-

plied by the total amount of business income generated

by the corporation’s in-State and out-of-State operations.

If, for example, the sales, payroll and property multistate

factors of the corporation are each 10% and its combined

business income is $20 million, the amount of business in-

come attributable to Illinois is $2 million.

This method of apportionment was applied by each of

the plaintiff corporations in order to determine the portion

of income upon which Illinois could properly impose its

corporate income tax. (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1969, ch. 120, par.

2—201(b)(2).) The Illinois tax paid by the five corpora-

tions for the six years in question totaled $37,238,681.60.

The separate returns filed by each of the plaintiffs showed

deductions claimed for taxes paid to foreign governments

in other countries which had been credited for Federal

income tax purposes. The plaintiffs also deducted certain

dividend income includable in Federal taxable income (26

U.S.C. sec. 78 (1976)) as well as income obtained under

subpart F of the Internal Revenue Code. 26 U.S.C. secs.

951 through 964 (1976).

Between February of 1974 and Mey of 1976, each of the

plaintiffs filed separate claims with the Director for re-

funds covering 1969 through 1974. They claimed that for

the period of 1970-74, by using separate apportionment

they misapplied the apportionment formula of section

304(a) and, instead, should have applied the unitary method

of apportionment when calculating the percentage of each

plaintiff’s business income attributable to operations within

Illinois. Because of this misapplication, or failure to apply

the unitary method, the plaintiffs claimed that each of them

paid a greater tax than it was liable for under the Illinois

Income Tax Act.

>

C-3

The unitary apportionment methvud or as it is described

in the case of a group of commonly owned and controlled

corporations, the combined reporting method of reporting

the income of the plaintiffs from what are literally world-

wide sources, should have been applied, the plaintiffs said,

since they qualified as a unitary business group. A unitary

business operation is one in which there is a high degree

of interrelationship and interdependence between, typically,

one corporation, which generally is a parent corporation,

and its corporate subsidiaries or otherwise associated cor-

porations, which group is usually engaged in multistate,

and in some cases in international, business operations.

Because of this integrated relationship, which is reflected

in all phases of the business operations, it is extremely

difficult, for purposes of taxation, to determine accurately,

the measure of taxable income generated within a State

by an individual corporation of the unitary group which

is conducting business in the State. Typically, tae corpo-

ration’s transactions and the income derived from them

actually represent the business efforts of the individual

corporation, plus efforts of other and possibly all mem-

bers of the unitary business operation. As a result, the

claimed income of each member of the group standing

alone does not, in a real sense, reflect the conducting of

a unitary business operation because the income is not

attributable solely to the effort of the particular corpo-

ration.

The plaintiffs in their separately filed claims for re-

funds maintained that in order to fairly measure the tax-

able business income of each unitary member, a unitary

method of apportionment should have been applied. They

argued that under this formula, which they asserted was

authorized under section 304(a) of the Illinois Income Tax

Act, each corporation’s in-State, i.e., Illinois, data for its

property, payroll and sales should have been compared

C4

with the combined worldwide totals of the entire unitary

group, which included the plaintiffs and 21 other corpo-

rate subsidiaries of Caterpillar Tractor. The plaintiffs, in

their State returns, compared only the in-State totals of

each corporation with the in-State and out-of-State totals

for property, payroll and sales of the same corporation and

not of the unitary business group.

The plaintiffs argued that the unitary method of ap-

portionment should be applied for each of the plaintiffs

for the years 1970 through 1974 but not as to 1969. The

basis for excluding 1969 was the contention that the uni-

tary method of reporting did not accurately reflect the

amount of taxable income for that year since the Illinois

Income Tax Act did not take effect until August of 1969

(Ill. Rev. Stat. 1969, ch. 120, par. 1—101 et seq.). The

proposed application by the plaintiffs of the unitary

method of apportioament, and the claimed deductions for

dividend income, subpart F income, and foreign income

taxes paid, were denied by the Director. Timely protests

were filed by the plaintiffs.

At the later administra‘ive hearing, the plaintiffs in-

troduced extensive evidence showing a strong integrated

relationship between Caterpillar Tractor, the parent cor-

poration, and its multistate and multinational subsidiaries.

Based on this and on a strict policy of Caterpillar Tractor

to maintain worldwide uniformity in all phases of its

operations, including production, marketing and employer-

employee relationships, all of which were kept subject to

the central control of the parent corporation, the plaintiffs

contended that they should be considered members of a

unitary business group. The Director agreed and then

applied a unitary apportionment formula under section

304 of the Illinois Income Tax Act (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1977,

ch. 120, par. 3—304), using the combined worldwide busi-

C-5

ness income of Caterpillar Tractor and its 25 subsidiaries

in order to determine the appropriate percentage of busi-

ness income attributable to Illinois for each corporate

plaintiff for all six years in question, 1969 through 1974.

The Director, however, denied the deductions claimed for

the foreign income taxes, the deemed dividend income and

the subpart F income.

The plaintiffs appealed to the circuit court of Peoria

County (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1977, ch. 120, par. 12—1201) on

the ground that unitary apportionment should not have

been applied to their 1969 taxable income and on the ground

that the Director erred in denying the various deductions

claimed. The circuit court allowed the petitions of 16

corporations, including the Coca Cola Company, to inter-

vene, but limited intervention to the issue of whether uni-

tary apportionment is authorized under the Illinois Income

Tax Act (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1977, ch. 120, par. 1—101 et seq.).

The circuit court subsequently held that combined re-

porting was authorized in Illinois and affirmed the Direc-

tor’s decision to combine the worldwide income of Cater-

pillar Tractor and its 25 subsidiaries for purposes of

apportioning each plaintiff’s Illinois taxable income for

1970 through 1974. With respect to 1969, it held that the

unitary method of apportionment was, in general, inap-

plicable. The court held also that the plaintiffs could claim

as deductions dividend income, subpart F income, and also

foreign income taxes paid by foreign subsidiaries.

The appellate court, on appeals by the plaintiffs, the

Director, and the intervenors, affirmed the judgment as to

the application of the unitary method for 1970-74 but

held that the unitary method of apportionment was appli-

cable for 1969. (77 Ill. App. 3d 90, 101.) The Court affirmed

also the allowance of the petitions to intervene. It, how-

ever, also reversed the circuit court’s allowance of the

C4

deductions claimed by the plaintitfs. We granted and con-

solidated petitions for leave to appeal filed by the plaintiffs,

the Director and the intervenors and allowed the filing of

a number of amicus curiae briefs. The plaintiffs did not

seek an appeal from the holding that the unitary method

was to be applied to 1969. They did not seek an appeal

either from the appellate courts adverse holding as to

deducting dividend income and subpart F income.

We first address the issue of whether the trial court

erred, as the Director contends, in permitting the petitions

to intervene. The question of when a third party may

intervene is governed by section 26.1 of the Civil Practice

Act (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1979, ch. 110, par, 26.1). This section

provides that a party may intervene as a matter of right:

“(a) when a statute confers an unconditional right to

intervene; or (b) when the representation of the applicant’s

interest by existing parties is or may be inadequate and the

applicant will or may be bound by an order or judgment in

the action; or (c) when the applicant is so situated as to be

adversely affected by a distribution or other disposition of

property °**.” (Til. Rev. Stat. 1979, ch. 110, par.

26.1(1).) In the alternative, the court in its discretion may

permit intervention: “(a) when a statute confers a condi-

tional right to intervene; or (b) when an applicant’s claim

or defense and the main action have a question of law or

fact in common.” Ill. Rev. Stat. 1977, ch. 110, par. 26.1(2).

The circuit court, in permitting intervention, stated it

was being allowed as a matter of right and as a matter of

discretion. It refused, however, to address the question of

whether the intervenors were to he deemed to be con-

ducting unitary business operations.

The overall design of section 26.1 of the Civil Practice

Act was to liberalize the practice of intervention so as to

avoid, upon timely application, the relitigation of issues

C-7

in a second suit which were being litigated in a pending

action. (See Dowsett v. City of East Moline (1956), 8 Tl.

2d 560; Ill. Ann. Stat., ch. 110, par. 26.1, Joint Com-

mittee Comments, at 317-18 (Smith-Hurd (1968).) A party

need not have a direct interest in the pending suit but it

must have an interest greater than that of the general public

(see Mensik v. Smith (1960), 18 Ill. 2d 572-590; Cooper v.

Hinrichs (1957), 10 Tl. 2d 269, 270), so that the party may

stand to gain or lose by the direct legal operation and effect

of a judgment in the suit. In re Appointment of Special

State’s Attorneys (1976), 42 Ill. App. 3d 176, 181.

In their petitions for intervention (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1977,

eh. 110, par. 26.1(1)) before the circuit court, Coca Cola

and the 15 other corporate intervenors maintained that

the plaintiffs’ representation on the issue of whether the

Director may require the unitary method of apportionment

as a means to determine business income allocable to Illinois

as stated above would be inadequate, since the plaintiff only

challenged it use for the tax year 1969 and not for the years

1970 through 1974. The intervenors argue that the plaintiffs

have not raised on appeal any issue as to 1969, thus making

the necessity of intervention more urgent. The intervenors

currently are engaged in a similar dispute with the Director

as to whether the Director may determine their liability for

income tax using the combined income of their corporate

branches and subsidiaries or whether it must calculate the

tax, as the intervenors claim, based on separate corporate

returns. They also say that this appeal and the intervenors’

dispute before the Director involve a common question of

law, i.e., whether combined reporting is even authorized

under the Illinois Income Tax Act.

The Director contends that the intervenors’ position may

be fully protected by their appearance as amici curiae and

that intervention in this instance was improper. The Di-

C-8

rector argues that the intervenors, in actuality, are seeking

a declaratory judgment as to their rights under the [linois

Income Tax Act, which may not be granted unless they can

establish a right to injunctive relief. This relief, the Director

contends, citing Illinois Bell Telephone Co. v. Allphin

(1975), 60 Ill. 2d 350, 358-59, overruling Owens-Illinois Glass

Co. v. McKibbin (1943), 385 Ill. 245, which had provided an

exception in equity to the exhaustion rules, is not permitted

in a tax case unless a party has exhausted its administrative

remedies or has shown special circumstances to avoid this

requirement. The Director also maintains that the protest

act (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1979, ch. 127, par. 172) provides a means

to contest the Director’s position regarding the application

of the unitary apportionment method under the Illinois Tax

Act without the necessity of exhausting administrative

remedies. The Director says, too, that the Illinois Admin-

istrative Procedure Act (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1977, ch. 127, par.

1001 et seq.) dues not allow intervention at the administra-

tive level since to do so would permit a taxpayer to circum-

vent the protest act.

We do not consider the intervenors to be seeking a

declaratory judgment. The declared purpose of the inter-

vention is to raise the questions whether a unitary method

of apportionment is authorized and whether it may be re-

quired. The resolution of these issues will not necessarily

decide the intervenors’ disputes with the Director regard-

ing claimed tax deficiences. Furthermore, were this court

to hold that unitary apportionment is authorized under

the Illinois Income Tax Act, that holding would not decide

whether each of the 16 corporations may properly be

regarded as a unitary business group so that this method

of apportionment might be applied. The contention of the

Director that to permit intervention here would open an

avenue for taxpayers to “evade” the protest tax act does

C-9

not persuade. Intervention under section 26.1 of the Civil

Practice Act is not granted as a matter of course. Where

one has satisfied the burden to intervene as a matter of

right or where a court has not abused discretion in allow-

ing intervention there should be no arbitrary denial of it.

(See L.S. Health & Sons, Inc. v. Marathon Oil Co. (1977),

56 Ill. App. 2d 440.) The circuit court did not abuse dis-

cretion when it granted the petition for intervention. We

need not decide if intervention was to be allowed as a

matter of right. See Mensik v. Smith (1960), 18 Ill. 2d

572; Standard Bank & Trust Co. v. Village of Oak Lawn

(1978), 61 Ill. App. 3d 174.

We consider now the question the intervenors raise as

to whether the provisions of the Dlinois Income Tax Act

(Ill. Rev. Stat. 1979, ch. 120, par. 1-101 et seq.) authorize

the Director to use the unitary apportionment or combined

method of reporting business income for Illinois income

tax purposes. The [Illinois Income Tax Act became effec-

tive on August 1, 1969, and was held constitutional by this

court in Thorpe v. Mahim (1969), 43 Ill. 2d 36. The plain-

tiffs filed income tax returns for the years 1969 through

1974 and, as stated above, they later filed separate claims

for refunds for almost $11,000,000 covering this six-year

period. It was the Director’s agreeing with the plaintiffs

that Caterpillar Tractor and all of its subsidiaries should

be considered a unitary business group and further that

the combined method of apportionment should be applied

in order to determine the percentage of income attributable

to Illinois activities for each corporate plaintiff that led

the intervenors to seek to enter the case. They sought to

present their contention that the Illinois Income Tax Act

does not provide for reporting as a member of a unitary

business group and authorizes only the reporting of the

separate taxable income of a corporation through returns

C-10

filed under section 203(d)(2)(E) of the Illinois Income Tax

Act (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1977, ch. 120, pur. 2—203(d)(2)(E)).

This section provides that where “a member of an affiliated

group of corporations [files] a consolidated income tax

return for the taxable year for federal income tax pur-

poses * * *,” the Director shall determine taxable income

“as if such corporation had filed a separate return for

federal income tax purposes for the taxable year and each

preceding taxable year for which it was a member of an

affiliated group.” They erroneously claim that this section

shows a legislative intent to bar the unitary or combined

reporting method.

There are two basic methods of accounting used by State

tax officials to determine net taxable income in such a way

as to avoid the constitutional problems which arise when a

State attempts to tax that portion of a corporation’s busi-

ness income which clearly has been earned in other States

or countries. The first method, called separate accounting,

attempts to segregate and identify the sources or trans-

actions which account for the generation of business in-

come. This attempt to isolate the income-»roducing sources

becomes extremely complex in the case of business trans-

actions where members of a unitary business group located

in different States, and even countries, contributed to the

completion of the business transaction. Even where a uni-

tary operation has attempted to identify and separate the

contributions of each member to the completed transaction

and the generation of income by using a separate account-

ing method, there have been difficulties. The Supreme Court

has pointed out that “while it purports to isolate portions

of income received in various States, [separate accounting]

may fail to account for contributions to income resulting

from functional integration, centralization of management,

and economies of scale.” (Mobil Oil Corp. v. Commissioner

of Tawes (1980), 445 U.S. 425, 438, 63 L .Ed. 2d 510, 521,

C-11

100 S. Ct. 1223, 1232.) The court went on to say that “it

becomes misleading to characterize the income of the busi-

ness as having a single identifiable ‘source.’ Although sep-

arate geographical accounting may be useful for internal

auditing, for purposes of state taxation it is not constitu-

tionally required.” (445 U.S. 425, 438, 63 L. Ed. 2d 510, 521,

100 S. Ct. 1223, 1232.) (See also Hellerstein, State and

Local Taxation, 400 (3d ed. 1969); Dexter, “The Unitary

Concept in State Income Taxation, 10 Urb. Law. 243

(1978).) Recently the Supreme Court in Exon Corp. v.

Wisconsin Department of Revenue (1980), U.S. .

65 L. Ed. 2d 66, 100 S. Ct. 2109, held that where a State

has enacted an apportionment statute, the existence and

use by a company of an internal auditing or accounting

method did not bind the State to employ the same tech-

nique for computing taxable income.

The other method of accounting, which was applied

by the Director here, and which has been described, is

the combined or unitary apportionment method of re-

porting. In order to apply this method to the tax returns

of a corporate taxpayer, it must first be determined that

it is a member of a unitary business group. As was briefly

discussed, the term “unitary business group,” when ap-

plied to a corporation which has subsidiaries or other

associated corporations in other States or countries, is

used to describe a group of functionally integrated cor-

porate units which are so interrelated and interdependent

that it becomes relatively impossible for one State to

determine the net income generated by a particular cor-

poration’s activities within the State and therefore allo-

cable to that State for purposes of taxation. A classical

example of a unitary business is the Caterpillar Tractor

Company. This corporation, with its national and inter-

national subsidiaries, forms a network of companies whose

combined operations make Caterpillar Tractor the world’s

C-12

largest construction ar.d earthmoving manufacturer. Cater-

pillar Tractor and its 25 subsidiaries employ over 82,000

individuals at locations around the world. Its net world-

wide income for the taxable years 1969 through 1974

was calculated by the Director to be $1.8 billion. Despite

the magnitude and diversity of these multistate and multi-

national operations, there is an overriding corporate de-

sign to maintain strict uniformity in areas such as product

design, control maintenance, accounting procedures, re-

search and development and even a uniform standard or

code of the conduct for its personnel throughout the world.

Any suggested changes or departures from these uniform

procedures are subject to final approval from the corpo-

ration’s principal headquarters in Peoria.

In determining whether the Illinois Income Tax Act

authorizes and, indeed requires, as the Director contended

and as the appellate court held, combined reporting for

unitary business groups, we must analyze the legislative

history of this and other related income tax acts both

before and after the Illinois Income Tax Act became effec-

tive in August of 1969. In the “Official Commentary on

the Illinois Income Tax Act” which was issued by the

Department of Revenue shortly after the Act’s effective

date, it is stated under the discussion of article 3: “Article

3 of the Act provides rules for the allocation and appor-

tionment of business and non-business income between

Illinois and other states. For the most part this is accom-

plished by embodying * * * the principles of the Multi-

state Tax Compact which was adopted by Illinos effec-

tive July 1, 1967. At present 16 States (including Illinois)

have adopted this Compact and 11 other States are associ-

ate members. Adoption of the provisions of the Compact

was believed desirable in the interests of interstate uni-

formity and consistency with existing Illinois law.” Ill.

C-13

Tax Rptr. (CCH), par. 18—000, at 1901; par. 18—006, at

1903; par. 18—023, at 1911.

The first major attempt in promoting uniformity among

the States with respect to taxing interstate business was

the drafting and adoption of the Uniform Division of

Income for Tax Purposes Act (UDITPA). UDITPA was

incorporated into article IV of the Multistate Tax Com-

pact (MTC) (IIL Rev. Stat. 1973, ch. 120, par. 871 et seq.)

and as stated in the Official Commentary cited above, the

MTC became effective in Illinois on July 1, 1967. The ques-

tions before us now are: (1) whether UDITPA authorizes

the use of the unitary method of apportionment; and (2)

if it does, whether this method has been incorporated into

the Illinois Income Tax Act.

Considering whether UDITPA authorizes the use of

unitary apportionment, we first observe the UDITPA does

not make any reference to unitary apportionment or com-

bined reporting. The absence of specific reference to the

unitary method is not, however, critical, for in a number

of jurisdictions that adopted UDITPA and in some of

them, the MTC as well, courts have held that unitary appor-

tionment or combined reporting was authorized through

the particular income tax statute made no reference to this

method of reporting. In Coca Cola v. Department of Reve-

mue (1975), 271 Or. 517, 533 P.2d 788, the Oregon Depart-

ment of Revenue applied a unitary or combined apportion-

ment method of accounting to the income tax returns of

the plaintiff -orporation and its wholly owned subsidiaries,

which had filed separate returns using Oregon’s three factor

apportionment formula, which is similar to that set out in

the IZinois statute. The Department argued that the com-

bined method, though not specifically provided for in the

tax statutes into which UDITPA had been incorporated,

would more accurately reflect the income of what it con-

C-14

tended was a unitary business operation. Concluding that

the company’s syrup and bottling operations were so in-

extricably connected as to constitute a unitary business, the

court stated: “The combined method of apportionment

reporting is wholly consistent with, and a natural extension

of, the apportionment method.” (271 Or. 517, 528, 533 P.2d

788, 793.) The court held that the plaintiff and its sub-

sidiaries “are all part of the same unitary operation and

were required to use the combined method of reporting

for the tax years in question.” 271 Or. 517, 529, 533 P.2d

788, 794. See also American Smelting & Refining Co. v.

Idaho State Tax Com. (1979), 99 Idaho 924, 592 P.2d 39;

Montana Department of Revenue v. American Smelting ¢

Refining Co. (1977), 173 Mont. 316, 567 P.2d 901.

The Supreme Court has also held that the absence of

any statutory reference to the unitary method of reporting

does not forbid its use. In Butler Brothers v. McColgan

(1942), 315 U.S. 501, 86 L. Ed. 991, 62 S. Ct. 701, the

plaintiff, an [llinois corporation conducting a wholesale

goods and general merchandise business, was licensed to

conduct business in California. The company had whole-

sale distributing divisions located in seven states, including

California, each serving a district area and each controlling

its own sales force, accounting procedures, sales operations

and credit and financing procedures as well. Though the

California tax statute did not specifically authorize the

combined method of reporting or make any references to

unitary operations, the court upheld the State’s decision to

apply the unitary method to the combined income derived

from the operations of the seven divisions. In its holding

the court stated that “this Court has recognized that unity

of the use and management of a business which is scattered

through several states may be considered when a State

attempts to impose a tax on an appointment basis. As

stated in Hans Rees’ Sons, Inc. v. North Carolina, [ (1931),

C-15

283 U.S. 123, 133, 75 L. Ed. 879, 905, 51 S. Ct. 385,

389], ‘the enterprise of a corporation which manufactures

and sells its manufactured product is ordinarily a unitary

business, and all the factors in that enterprise are essential

to the realization of profits.’” 315 U.S. 501, 508, 86 L.

Ed. 991, 996, 62 S. Ct. 701, 704-05.

In a later case, Northwestern States Portland Cement

Co. v. Minnesota (1959), 358 U.S. 450, 3 L. Ed. 2d 421,

79 S. Ct. 357, the court addressed a similar challenge to

the use of a unitary apportionment method, and in citing

Hans Rees’ and other apportionment decisions (e¢.g., Bass,

Radcliff @ Gretton, Lid. v. State Tax Com. (1924), 266

U.S. 271, 69 L. Ed. 282, 45 S. Ct. 82; Underwood Type-

writer Co. v. Chamberlain (1920), 254 U.S. 113, 65 L.

Ed. 165, 41 S. Ct. 45) the court upheld the use declaring:

“These cases stand for the doctrine that the entire net

income of a corporation, generated by interstate as well as

intrastate activities, may be fairly apportioned among the

States for tax purposes by formulas utilizing in-state

aspects of interstate affairs.” 358 U.S. 450, 460, 3 L. Ed.

2d 421, 428, 79 S. Ct. 357, 363. See also Exxon Corp. v.

Wisconsin Department of Revenue (1980), US.

, 65 L. Ed. 2d 66, 100 S. Ct. 2109; Mobil Ow Corp.

v. Commissioner of Taxes (1980), 445 U.S. 425, 63 L.

Ed. 2d 510, 100 S. Ct. 1223.

The intervenors contend that even though the legis-

lature adopted UDITPA, and thus may have authorized

combined reporting, when it enacted article IV of the

MTC, UDITPA was not made a part of the Illinois Income

Tax Act. To support this argument, the intervenors main-

tain that when Illinois withdrew from participation on the

Multistate Tax Commission and repealed the Multistate

Tax Compact in 1975, it repealed UDITPA as well and,

as a result, there no longer is authority in Dlinois for the

C-16

combined or unitary apportionment method. That Illi-

nois withdrew from the Multistate Tax Commission in

1975, however, did not mean that the authority to use

the unitary method was also terminated. An examination

of various relevant provisions of UDITPA, the MTC,

and the Illinois Income Tax Act shows that the language

in each pertaining to the allocation and apportionment

of business income is very similar and in some instances

virtually identical. For example, the term “business in-

come” is defined in section 1501(a)(1) of the Illinois

Income Tax Act (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1979, ch. 120, par.

15—1501(a)(1)) im language, except for one additional

sentence not concerned in this case, identical to the

language used in section 1(e) of UDITPA and article IV,

section 1(a), of the MTC to define the same term. An

example of even greater significance and persuasiveness

is that the three-factor apportionment formula of sales,

property and payroll in the Illinois Income Tax Act,

apart from some minor change not relevant here, is iden-

tical to the formula set out in UDITPA which, as we

apart from some minor change not relevant here, is iden-

tical to the formula set out in UDITPA which, as we

have alreday determined, authorizes the use of the unitary

method. Considering that these provisions taken from

UDITPA are part of the Illinois Income Tax Act and that

the official commentary on the Act states that the rules

for allocation and apportionment under sections 301

_ through 307 of the Act (Til. Rev. Stat. 1979, ch. 120, pars.

3—301 through 3—307) have embodied the principles

underlying article IV of the MTC, which is UDITPA, it is

clear that the use of the combined or unitary apportion-

ment method is authorized under the Act and could be

required by the Department in the case of unitary business

groups. The purpose of this method as has been said, is to

permit the fair determination of the portion of business

C-17

income that is attributable to business activity in Illinois

by the reporting member of the unitary group. The con-

cern, it is emphasized, is in making a fair determination

of tax liability. This is why the legislature provided that if

the calculation of liability made by using the combined or

unitary reporting method does not accurately and fairly

represent the taxable business activity in Illinois, under

section 304(e) of the Illinois Income Tax Act the taxpayer

may petition that another method of determination be

used. Ill. Rev. Stat. 1979, ch. 120, par. 3—304(e).

The intervenors say that if the combined method of

reporting is required under the [Illinois Income Tax Act, its

imposition will be contrary to the decision in Japan Line,

Ltd. v. County of Los Angeles (1979), 441 U.S. 434, 60 L.

Ed. 2d 336, 99 S. Ct. 1813, which, they argue, held that

the combining of worldwide income for purposes of State

taxer‘on was unconstitutional. There, a Japanese shipping

company challenged an ad valorem property tax imposed

upon certain types of containers which were within the

State on March 1, the tax lien date in California. The

containers also were subject to a property tax in Japan

under the law of that country. The Supreme Court said

that the issue was “whether instrumentalities of commerce

that are owned, based, and registered abroad and that are

exclusively in international commerce, may be subjected

to apportioned ad valorem property taxation by a State.”

(441 U.S. 434, 444, 60 L. Ed. 2d 336, 345, 99 S. Ct.

1813, 1819.) The court was concerned with whether the

California tax scheme resulted in multiple taxation of

foreign commerce and therefore constituted an impermis-

sible instrusion into an area which the court described as

one that was “preeminently a matter of national concern.”

(441 U.S. 434, 448, 60 L. Ed. 2d 336, 347, 99 S. Ct.

1813, 1821.) The court, in holding that the tax was

C-18

invalid, judged that, first, the tax scheme “produce[d]

multiple taxation in fact” and, second, it prevented “this

Nation from ‘speaking with one voice’ in regulating foreign

trade.” (441 U.S. 434, 452, 60 L. Ed. 2d 336, 350, 99 &.

Ct. 1813, 1823.) This was especially true since Japan and

the United States had entered into an agreement entitled

“Customs Convention on Containers,” which was designed

to prevent the imposition of all duties and taxes upon con-

tainers deemed “instruments of international traffic”

(19 U.S.C. sec. 1322(a) (1976)) which were imported into

the United States on a temporary basis.

Japan Line is obviously distinguishable from the case

here. The purpose of the apportionment formula is to con-

fine the taxation of business income to that portion which

is attributable to activities in Illinois. This appeal dves not

involve the multiple texation of items or instrumentalities

of foreign commerce nor does unitary reporting affect

Federal authority in governing foreign commerce. The

concern here is only with the taxation of business income

fairly attributable to activities within the taxing State. See

Mobil Oil Corp. v. Commissioner of Taxes (1980), 445

U.S. 425, 63 L. Ed. 2d 510, 100 S. Ct. 1223; Complete

Auto Transit, Inc. v. Brady (1977), 430 U.S. 274, 51 L.

Ed. 2d 326, 97 S. Ct. 1076; Northwestern States Portland

Cement Co. v. Minnesota (1959), 358 U.S. 450, 3 L. Ed.

2d 421, 79 S. Ct. 317.

The intervenors’ argument that the unitary reporting

method violates due process also fails to persuade. In

Ezaon Corp. v. Wisconsin Department of Revenue (1980),

US. , 65 L. Ed. 2d 66, 100 S. Ct. 2109, the

Supreme Court considered the issue of whether a State, in

applying its method of formulary apportionment to a

corporate taxpayer’s total corporate income, violates the

due process clause where the corporation employs a func-

C-19

tional separate accounting method to separate the sources

of income so as to reflect its claimed division of opera-

tions. In upholding Wisconsin’s apportionment statute and

the decision of the Department of Revenue that the corpo-

ration’s Wisconsin marketing division was an integral unit

of its unitary operation, the court stated: “The Due Proc-

ess Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment imposes two

requirements for such state taxation: a ‘minimal connec-

tion’ or ‘nexus’ between the interstate activities and the

taxing State, and ‘a rational relationship between the

income attributed to the State and the intrastate values

of the enterprise’” ( US. , , 65 L. Ed. 2d 66,

79, 100 S. Ct. 2109, 2118). The nexus requirement is

satisfied if the State tax is imposed upon a company which

has availed itself of the privilege of conducting business

within the State. (Wisconsin v. J.C. Penney Co. (1940), 311

U.S. 435, 85 L. Ed. 267, 61 S. Ct. 246; Bass, Ratcliff &

Cretton, Ltd. v. State Taz Com. (1924), 266 U.S. 271, 69

L. Ed. 282, 45 S. Ct. 82; Underwood Typewriter Co. v.

Chamberlain (1920), 254 U.S. 113, 65 L. Ed. 165, 41 S. Ct.

45.) Illinois has a statute to this effect. Ill. Rev. Stat. 1979,

ch. 120, par. 2—201.

In next examining whether a rational relationship exists

between the business income claimed by the State for activ-

ities within the State and the actual value of the taxpayer’s

intrastate activities, the courts have looked to the reason-

ableness of the method used in attempting to determine

fairly the level of income generated by business operations

within the State. (See Butler Brothers v. McColgan (1942),

315 U.S. 501, 506-07, 86 L. Ed. 991, 995-96, 62 S. Ct. 701, 704.

See also Exxon Corp. v. Wisconsin Department of Revenue

(1980), US. , 65 L. Ed. 2d 66, 100 S. Ct. 2109;

Mobil Oil Corp v. Commissioner of Taxes (1980), 445 U.S.

425, 63 L. Ed. 2d 510, 100 S. Ct. 1223). We consider that

C-20

the overall design of section 304 is calculated to determine

that amount of business income fairly attributable to LIli-

nois. (Hans Rees’ Sons v. North Carolina ex rel. Maxwell

(1931), 283 U.S. 123, 75 L. Ed. 879, 51 S. Ct. 385.) That such

a formula may include income dervied from international

activities is not of consequence in determining whether the

statute satisfies the requirements of due process. See Mobil

Oi Corp. v. Commissioner of Taxes (1980), 445 U.S. 425,

63 L. Ed. 2d 510, 100 S. Ct. 1223; Bass, Ratcliff é Gretton,

Ltd. v. State Tax Com. (1924), 266 U.S. 271, 69 L. Ed. 282,

45 S. Ct. 82. See also United States Steel Corp. v. Multistate

Taa Com. (1978), 434 U.S. 452, 54 L. Ed. 2d 682, 98 S. Ct.

799.

The other arguments presented by the intervenors

against recognition of the combined apportionment method

of filing are not convincing. The intervenors contend that

the prohibition in Illinois against the filing of a consolidated

return (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1977, ch. 120, par. 2—203(d)(2)(E))

demonstrates a legislative intention to prohibit the use of

this method of reporting. We consider that the appellate

court correctly stated that the ban on filing consolidated

returns in Illinois was “irrelevant to a determination of

whether the unitary method of apportionment is to be used

in [inois.” (77 Ill. App. 3d 90, 99.) That Illinois does not

permit the filing of consolidated returns does not mean that

it therefore prohibits the use of the unitary apportionment

method. In permitting the filing of a consolidated tax return,

Federal law only requires that an affiliated group of cor-

porations meet certain stock ownership requirements which

show interrelationship among the corporations. (26 U.S.C.

sec. 1504(a) (1976).) Whether this group may also qualify

as a unitary business group is irrelevant to the determina-

tion of whether it may file a consolidated Federal income

tax return. The purpose of the combined method is solely

C-21

to permit an accurate determination of income attributable

to and taxable by Illinois in the case of a member of a

unitary business group.

Finally, the intervenors’ citation of a 1975 Illinois Tax

Bulletin (ITIB 1975—1) as support for its argument that

unitary reporting was proscribed upon repeal of the MTC

is misleading. The 1975 bulletin is entitled: Withdrawal of

Bulletin [TIB 1974—1 Relating to Combined Reporting for

Unitary Business. The quotation from this 1975 bulletin,

upon which the intervenors rely, is that “combination, as a

method of reporting unitary business income, is not author-

ized.” This 1975 bulletin was prematurely issued after the

MTC was repealed and at a time when it was not known

what changes in the Illinios Income Tax might follow. There

were amendments passed in 1975 but they did not affect

section 304 or any of the rules relating to allocation and

apportionment, which, as we have observed above, allow

the combined or unitary method of reporting. This was

made clear in a second bulletin issued in 1975, ITIB 1975—2,

which declare: “Repeal of the Compact provisions has no

substantive effect on current allocation and apportionment

provisions of the Illinois Income Tax Act.”

We turn now to a question raised by the plaintiffs. It

is whether domestic corporations, which elected to claim a

tax credit on their Federal returns for income taxes paid

to foreign governments, could have deducted the amount

of these foreign taxes from the taxable incomes reported

on their Illinois returns. Under the Internal Revenue Code,

a domestic corporation which has paid foreign income taxes

has the option of claiming a tax credit under sections 901

and 960 of the Code (26 U.S.C. secs. 901, 960 (1976)), or

taking a deduction under sections 164(a) and 275(a). (26

U.S.C. sees. 164(a), 275(a) (1976).) The plaintiffs argue

that they were entitled to claim a deduction on their State

C-22

returns for these taxes peid to foreign governments regard-

less of whether they claimed a tax credit or a deduction

on their Federal income tax returns.

The Director disagrees, saying that if a domestic corpo-

ration elected to take a tax credit on its Federal return for

foreign income taxes paid, as oppoced to claiming a deduc-

tion from taxable income, it is bound by this election for

State tax purposes and may not deduct these foreign tax

payments from the amount of Federal taxable income re-

ported on the State tax return.

We consider that the Director’s statement is correct. The

taxpayer had the election of taking a tax credit or a deduc-

tion on its Federal return. The election was binding. It

would not be permitted to take a tax credit to reduce the

Federal tax liability and also take a deduction from the

Federal taxable income reported on the State return so as

to reduce State taxable income. (Albany International Corp.

v. Halperin (Mrine 1978), 388 A.2d 902; Commonwealth v.

Westinghouse Eiectric Corp. (1978), 478 Pa. 164, 386 A.2d

491.) Moreover, #s we will next discuss, Illinois did not

permit corporations to claim a deduction for the payment

of foreign taxes until 1975 and the plaintiffs had a right

only to deductions specifically authorized under the Illinois

Income Tax Act. See Ill. Rev. Stat. 1977, ch. 120, par.

2-203(g).

The plaintiffs make another contention regarding the

payment of foreign taxes. They argue that foreign taxes

paid by a foreign subsidiary of a domestic corporation in a

unitary group are deductible by the domestic corporation

on its Illinois tax return when computing the combined

income of the unitary group. Section 203(b) of the Ilinois

Income Tax Act provides:

“(1) In general. In case of a corporation, base in-

come means an amount equal to the taxpayer’s taxable

C-23

income for the taxable year as modified by para-

graph (2).

(2) Modifications. The taxable income referred to in

paragraph (1) shall be modified by adding thereto the

sum of the following amounts:

. * o

(D) * * * and by deduction from the total so

obtained the sum of the following amounts:

eee

(F) An amount equal to any amount included

in such total under Section 78 of the Internal

Revenue Code * * *.” (Ill. Rev. Stat. 1977, ch. 120,

par. 2-203(b).)

It is of course true that the effect of section 203(b) as

applied through section 78 of the Internal Revenue Code is

to allow a domestic corporation to claim under the Illinois

Income Tax Act a deduction for foreign taxes paid by its

foreign subsidiary. This provision, however, did not be-

come effective unti! January 1, 1975. A corporation could

qualify for this deduction only in 1975 and thereafter. The

tax returns involved in this case are for years prior to

1975, and therefore the plaintiffs did not qualify for the

deduction.

For the reasons given, the judgment of the appellate

court on the questions raised on this appeal is affirmed.

Judgment affirmed.

MR. JUSTICE SIMON took no part in the considera-

tion or decision of this case.

APPENDIX D

D-1

ILLINOIS SUPREME COURT

CLELL L. WOODS, CLERK

Supreme Court Building

Springfield, Ill. 62706

(217) 782-2035

March 27, 1981

Mr. William P. Sutter

Attorney at Law

One First Natl. Plaza, 52nd Fir.

Chicago, IL 60603

Nos. 52818 — Caterpillar Tractor Co., et al., appellees, vs.

52828 Daniel J. Lenckos as Acting Director of the

52903 [Illinois Department of Revenue, et al., ap-

Cons. _pellees (The Coca-Cola Company, et al., ap-

<= Appeal, Appellate Court, Third

District.

The Supreme Court today denied the petition for re-

hearing in the above entitled cause. Mr. Justice Simon

took no part.

Very truly yours,

Clell L. Woods

Clerk of the Supreme Court

APPENDIX E

E-1

ILLINOIS REVISED STATUTES

CHAPTER 120

ILLINOIS INCOME TAX ACT

AN ACT to impose a tax on the privilege of earning or

receiving income in or as a resident of the State of

Illinois.

P.A. 76-261, $1, eff. Aug. 1, 1969.

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Illinois, repre-

sented in the General Assembly:

ARTICLE 1. SHORT TITLE AND CONSTRUCTION

1-101. § 101. Short Title. This Act shall be known and

may be cited as the “Illinois Income Tax Act.”

1-102. § 102. Construction. Except as otherwise ex-

pressly provided or clearly appearing from the context, any

term used in this Act shall have the same meaning as when

used in a comparable context in the United States Internal

Revenue Code of 1954 or any successor law or laws relating

to federal income taxes and other provisions of the statutes

of the United States relating to federal income taxes as

such Code, laws and statutes are in effect for the taxable

year.

ARTICLE 2. TAX IMPOSED

2-201. §201. Tax Imposed. (a) In general. A tax

measured by net income is hereby imposed on every indi-

vidual, corporation, trust and estate for each taxable year

ending after July 31, 1969 on the privilege of earning or

receiving income in or as a resident of this State. Such tax

shall be in addition to all other occupation or privilege

taxes imposed by this State or by any municipal corpora-

tion or political subdivision thereof.

E-2

(b) Rates. The tax imposed by this section shall be—

(1) in the case of an individual, trust or estate, an

amount equal to 24% of the taxpayer’s net income for

the taxable year, and

(2) in the case of a corporation, an amount equal to

4% of the taxpayer’s net income for the taxable year.

2-202. § 202. Net Income Defined. (a) In general. For

purposes of this Act, a taxpayer’s net income for a taxable

year shall be that portion of his base income for such year

which is allocable to this State under the provisions of

Article 3, less the standard exemption allowed by section

204.

(b) Taxable years beginning before August 1, 1969. (1)

Net income for a taxable year which begins before August

1, 1969 and ends after July 31, 1969 shall be that amount

which bears the same ratio to the taxpayer’s net income for

the entire taxable year as the number of days in such year

after July 31, 1969 bears to the total number of days in

such year, unless the taxpayer elects to apportion net in-

come for such taxable year in the manner provided by |

paragraph (2).

(2) If the taxpayer so elects, in the case of a taxable

year beginning before August 1, 1969 and ending after

July 31, 1969, there shall be taken into account in computing

base income only those items earned, received, paid, in-

curred or accrued after July 31, 1969, and the standard

exemption provided by section 204 shall be limited to that

amount which bears the same ratio to the total exemption

allowable under such section (determined without regard

to this section) as the number of days after July 31, 1969 in

the taxable year bears to 365. The election provided by this

paragraph shall be made in such manner and at such time

as the Department may by forms or regulations prescribe,

E-3

but shall he made ont later than the due date (inelnding any

extensions thereof) for the filing of the return for the tax-

able year, and shall be irrevocable.

2-203. § 203. Base income defined.

(a) Individuals.

‘1) In general. In the case of an individual, base income

means an amount equal to the taxpayer’s adjusted gross

income for the taxable year as modified by paragraph (2).

(2) Modifications. The adjusted gross income referred

to in paragraph (1) shall be modified by adding thereto the

sum of the following amounts:

(A) An amount equal to all amounts paid or accrued

to the taxpayer as interest or dividends during the tax-

able year to the extent excluded from gross income in

the computation of adjusted gross income;

(B) An amount equal to 50% of the excess of the

net long-term capital gain for the taxable year over the

net short-term capital loss for such year, to the extent

deducted from gross income in the computation of ad-

justed gross income; and

(C) An amount eqnal to the amount of tax imposed

by this Act to the extent deducted from gross income

for the taxable year;

and by deducting from the total so obtained the sum of the

following amounts ;

(D) Any amount included in such total in respect of

any compensation (including but not limited to any

compensation paid or accrued to a serviceman while a

prisoner of war or missing in action) paid to a resident

by reason of being on active duty in the Armed Forces

of the United States and in respect of any compensa-

tion paid or accrued to a resident who as a govern-

mental employee was a prisoner of war or missing in

action, and im respect of any compensation paid to a

E-4

resident in 1971 or thereafter for annual training per-

formed pursuant to Sections 502 and 503, Title 32,

United States Code as a member of the Illinois Na-

tional Guard;

(E) An amount equal to all amounts included in

such total pursuant to the provisions of Sections 402(a),

402(c), 402(d), 403(a), 403(b), 405(d), 406(a) and

407(a) of the Internal Revenue Code, or included in

such total as distributions under the provisions of any

retirement or disability plan for employees of any

governmental agency or unit;

(F) The valuation limitation amount;

(G) An amount equal to the amount of any tax im-

posed by this Act which was refunded to the taxpayer

and included in such total for the taxable year; and

(H) An amount equal to all amounts included in such

tetal which are exempt from taxation by this State

either by reason of its Constitution or by reason of the

Constitution, treaties or statutes of the United States.

(b) Corporations.

(1) Im general. In the case of a corporation, base income

means an amount equal to the taxpayer’s taxable income for

the taxable year as modified by paragraph (2).

(2) Modifications. The taxable income referred to in

paragraph (1) shall be modified by adding thereto the sum

of the following amounts:

(A) An amount equal to all amounts paid or accrued

to the taxpayer as interest during the taxable year to

the extent excluded from gross income in the com-

putation of taxable income;

(B) An amount equal to the amount of tax imposed

by this Act to the extent deducted from gross income

in the computation of taxable income for the taxable

year;

E-5

(C) In the case of a regulated investment company

or real estate investment trust, an amount equal to

the excess of (i) the net long-term capital gain for the

taxable year, over (ii) the amount of the capital gain

dividends attributable to the taxable year; and

(D) In the case of a Western Hemisphere trade cor-

poration, China Trade Act corporation, or possessions

company described in Section 931(a) of the Internal

Revenue Code, an amount equal to the amount de-

ducted or excluded from gross income in the computa-

tion of taxable income for the taxable year on account

of the special deductions and exclusions (but in the case

of a possessions company, net of the deductions allo-

cable thereto) allowed such corporations under the

Internal Revenue Code.

and by deducting from the total so obtained the sum of the

following amounts:

(E) An amount equal to the amount of any tax

imposed by this Act which was refunded to the taxpayer

and ineleded in such total for the texable year;

(F) An amount equal to any amount included in

such total under Section 78 of the Internal Revenue

Code; and

(G) An amount equal to all amounts included in

taxable income as modified by subparagraphs (A), (>.

(C) and (D) which are exempt from taxation by this

State either by reason of its Constitution or hy reason

of the Constitution, treaties or statutes of the United

States.

(3) Special rule. For purposes of paragraph (2)(A),

“gross income” in the case of a life insurance company shal!

mean the company’s share of the gross investment income

for the taxable year.

(c) Trusts and estates.

(1) In general. In the case of a trust or estate, base in-

come means an amount equal to the taxpayer’s taxable

income for the taxable year as modified by paragraph (2).

E-6

(2) Modifications. Subject to the provisions of para-

graph (3), the taxable income referred to in paragraph (1)

sha)! be modified by adding thereto the sum of the following

amo ats:

(A) An amount equal to all amounts paid or accrued

to the taxpayer as interest or dividends during the tax-

able year to the extent excluded from gross income in

the computation of taxable income;

(B) An amount equal to 50% of the excess of the

net long-term capital gain for the taxable year over the

net short-term capital loss for such year, to the extent

deducted from gross income in the computation of tax-

able income ;

(C) In the case of (i) an estate, $600; (ii) a trust

which, under its governing instrument, is required to

distribute all of its income currently, $300; and (iii)

any other trust, $100, but in each such case, only to the

extent such amount was deducted in the computation of

taxable income ; and

(D) An amount equal to the amount of tax imposed

by this Act to the extent deducted from gross income

in the computation of taxable income for the taxable

year,

and by deducting from the total so obtained the sum of the

following amounts:

(E) An amount equal to all amounts included in such

total pursuant to the provisions of Sections 402(a),

402(c), 402(d), 403(a), 403(b), 405(d), 406(a) and

407(a) of the Internal Revenue Code or included in

such total as distributions under the provisions of any

retirement or disability plan for employees of any

governmental agency or unit;

(F) The valuation limitation amount;

(G) An amount equal to the amount of any tax im-

posed by this Act which was refunded to the taxpayer

and included in such total for the taxable year; and

E-7

(H) An amount equal to all amounts included in

taxable income as modified by subparagraphs (A), (B),

(C) and (D) which are exempt from taxation by this

State either by reason of its Constitution or by reason

of the Constitution, treaties or statutes of the United

States.

(3) Limitation. The amount of any modification other-

wise required under this subsection shall, under regulations

prescribed by the Department, be adjusted by any amounts

included therein which were properly paid, credited, or re-

quired to be distributed for the taxable year.

(d) Gross income; adjusted gross income; taxable in-

come.

(1) In general. Subject to the provisions of paragraph

(2) and subsection (b) (3), for purposes of this Section and

Section 802(b), a taxpayer’s gross income, adjusted gross

income, or taxable income for the taxable year shall mean

the amount of gross income, adjusted gross income or tax-

able income properly reportable for federal income tax

purposes for the taxable year under the provisions of the

Internal Revenue Code.

(2) Special rule. For purposes of paragraph (1) of this

subsection, the taxable income properly reportable for fed-

eral income tax purposes shall mean:

(A) Certain life insurance companies. In the case

of a life insurance company subject to the tax imposed

by Section 802 of the Internal Revenue Code, life in-

surance company taxable income ;

(B) Certain mutual insurance companies. In the

case of a mutual insurance company subject to the tax

imposed by Section 821(a) or (c) of the Internal Rev-

enue Code, mutual insurance company taxable income

or taxable investment income, as the case may be;

(C) Regulated investment companies. In the case

of a regulated investment company subject to the tax

E8

imposed by Section 852 of the Internal Revenue Code,

investment company taxable income;

(D) Real estate investment trusts. In the case of a

real estate investment trust subject to the tax imposed

by Section 857 of the Internal Revenue Code, real

estate investment trust taxable income;

(E) Consolidated corporations. In the case of a

corporation which is a member of an affiliated group

of corporations filing a consolidated income tax

return for the taxable year for federal income tax pur-

poses, taxable income determined as if such corporation

had filed a separate return for federal income tax pur-

poses for the taxable year and each preceding taxable

year for which it was a member of an affiliated group.

For purposes of this subparagraph, the taxpayer’s

separate taxable income shall be determined as if the

election provided by Section 243(b)(2) of the Internal

Revenue “ode had been in effect for all such years;

and

(F) Cooperatives. In the case of a cooperative

c

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Record and brief — Chicago Bridge & Iron Co. v. Caterpillar Tractor Co. · 454 U.S. 1029 | Frix