Record and brief — Kahlon v. New Jersey

Supreme Court brief1981

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

*

—

Cee Court, U.S. |

FI I. „L U

81-234

; AUG 4 1981

No. ALEXAND | “FEVAS,

In the

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser Term, 1980

MAMOON RASHID KAHLON,

Petitioner,

us.

STATE OF NEW JERSEY,

Respondent.

———— eee

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY,

APPELLATE DIVISION

Srrovup, Gotpstern, Jenkins & Pritzker

Micwaet L. Prirzker

R. Brent Dante.

134 North LaSalle Street

Suite 2100

Chicago, Illinois 60602

(312) 372-2225

Attorneys for Petitioner.

The Scheffer Press, Inc.—(312) 263-6850

i

Questions Presented For Review

I. Whether the judgment of the Appellate Division,

reversing the trial court’s suppression of evidence

obtained from a warrantless search of closed con-

tainers in the trunk of your Petitioner’s automo-

bile should be reversed in light of Robbins v.

Calij ornia, U.S. „ (No. 80-148, July 1,

1981) and Bible et al. v. Louisiana, ........ 2

(No. 80-1080, July 2, 1981)?

II. Whether the Appellate Division’s reliance upon

inde, endent fact-findings controverted by the ree-

ord, and its arbitrary refusal to allow your Pe-

titioner to supplement the record in order to dem-

onstrate the erroneous nature of said independent

fact-findings denied your Petitioner the fair ap-

pellate review to which he is entitled, in violation

of his Fourteenth Amendment right to due process

of law?

ii

List of Parties to the Proceeding

Mamoon Rashid Kahlon—Petitioner

State of New Jersey—Prosecuting Authority and Re-

spondent

Honorable James R. Zazzali—Attorney General of New

Jersey

David Linett—Somerset County Prosecutor

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

Questions Presented i

List of Parties to the Proceeding ii

Official Report of the Case vi

Grounds upon which the Jurisdiction of the Supreme

Court of the United States is Invoked vi

Constitutional Provisions, and Rules Involved . vii

. ͤ[Af][fNk᷑t! 5

Statement of the Case . , 2

a) Procedural History 1

b) Statement of Facts 5

Reasons for Allowing the Writ : ws

1888 ñ—ñ— ͥ ——9.— 1a

TaBLe oF AUTHORITIES

Casxs: PAGE

Abell v. Commonwealth, 272 S.E.2d 204 (Va. 1980) 10

Arkansas v. Sanders, 442 U.S. 753 (1979) . 9

Bible, et al. v. Louisiana, 2 (No. 80-1980,

July 2, 1981) ‘ 8

Bradford v. State, 401 N. E. 2d 77 (Ind. App. 1980) . . 11

Buda) v. State, 150 Ga. App. 686, 258 S. E. 2d 318

(1979) 1

Carroll v. United States, 267 US. 182 (1925) 10

Chambers v. Maroney, 399 U.S. 42 (1970) 10

Commonwealth v. Benoit, 415 N.E.2d 818 —

8 —— 10

Commonwealth v. Timko, 417 A. 2d 620 (Pa. 1980) .... 10

Coolidge v. New Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443 (1971) .... 10

Mapp v. Ohio, 367 U.S. 643 (1961) 9

iv

People v. Boyles, 82 III 2d 128, 44 III. Dec. 880, 411

ex . 10

People v. Dalton, 24 Cal. ard 850, 157 Cal. Rptr. 497,

II „ö 10-11

People v. Plantefaber, 410 Mich. 594, 302 N.W.2d

1 ————————— 10

People v. Spencer, 74 A. D. 2d 77, 426 N. V. S. 2d 605

1114 —. ͤ-:8mů—64c·ĩũß 11

Pirner v. State, 45 Md. App. 50, 411 A. 2d 135 (1980) . 11

Robbins v. Californian, 2 (No. 80-148,

n 9

Rova Farms Resort, Inc. v. Investors Ins. Co. of

Amer., 65 N.J. 474, 323 A.2d 495 (1974) 13

State v. Cole, 265 S. E. 2d 507 (N.C. App. 1980) ........ 11

State v. Crutchfield, 123 Ariz. 570, 601 P.2d 333

1————————2ß&ꝗçç%Cé5p 11

State v. Dean, 574 P. 2d 572 (Kan. App. 1978) 11

State v. Delong, 123 Ariz. 570, 601 P. 2d 333 (1979) .... 11

State v. Dolce, 178 N. J. Super. 275 (App. Div. 1981) .. 11

State v. Filipi, 297 N.W.2d 275 (Minn. 1980) 10

State v. Hassapelis, 404 A.2d 232 (Me. 1979) ............ 11

State v. Jenkins, 619 P. 2d 108 (Haw. 1980) 10

State v. Johnson, 42 N. J. 146, 199 A. 2d 809 (1964) — 13

State v. Johnson, 87 N. J. Super. 195, (App. Div.)

E —kKKK—K T 14

State v. Kahlon, 172 N. J. Super 331. 411 A.2d 1178

„ 11, 15, 19

State v. Pace, 171 N. J. Super. 240 (App. Div. 1979) .... 11

State v. Patino, 83 N. J. 1, 414 (A.2d 1327 (1980) .... 11

State v. Prober, 297 N.W.2d 1 (Wis. 1980) 10

State v. Schrier, 283 N.W.2d 338 (Iowa 1979) 11

State v. Tome, 259 S. E. 2d 16 (W.Va. 1979) 10

State v. Wain and Wright, N. J. Super (No.

A- 4528-78, December 3, 1980) W

State v. White, 94 N. M. 687, 615 P. 2d 1004 (1980) . 11

United States v. Bella, 605 F. 2d 160 (5th Cir. 1979) . 10

United States v. Bulgier, 618 F.2d 472 (7th Cir.

1980) 10

United States v. Chadwick, 433 U.S. 1 (1977) 9

United States v. Dall, 608 F.2d 910 (Ist Cir. 1979) ... 10

United States v. Dien, 609 F.2d 1038 (2d Cir. 1979)

adhered to on rehearing 615 F.2d 10 (1980) 10

United States v. Hartman, 627 F.2d 7 (6th Cir.

1980) 10

United States v. Medina Verdugo, 637 F.2d 649 (9th

Cir. 1980) 10

United States v. Presler, 610 F.2d 1206 (4th Cir.

1979) — 10

United States v. Ross, — (D.C. Cir., No.

79-1624 en banc, March 31, 1981) ceveee 10

United States v. Scheis, 582 F.2d 1166 (8th Cir. en

banc 1978) ...... 10

ConsTITUTIONAL Provisions: PAGE

Fourth Amendment to the United States Constitu-

tion „ *

Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Con-

stitution vii

Article VI, Section II (3) of the Constitution of New

Jersey, 1947 . vin

Article VI, Section V(1) and (2) of the Constitution

of New Jersey, 1947 viii

vi

Official Report of the Case

The interlocutory opinion of the Superior Court of

New Jersey, Appellate Division is reported as State

v. Kahlon, 172 N.J. Super. 331 (App. Div. 1980). A copy

of this decision, as well as Orders denying your Petition-

er’s Motion for Leave to Appeal the interlocutory decision

to the Supreme Court of New Jersey, granting the State's

Motion for Summary Affirmance of the final judgment,

and denying your Petitioner’s Petition for Certification

are included in the Appendix of this Petition.

Grounds upon Which the Jurisdiction

of the Supreme Court is Invoked

The Superior Court of New Jersey, Appellate Division,

denied your Petitioner’s Petition for Rehearing on

February 17, 1981. The Supreme Court of New Jersey

declined discretionary review and denied your Petition-

er’s Petitien for Certification by an Order filed June 5,

1981. The jurisdiction of this Honorable Court is hereby

invoked pursuant to Title 28, United States Code 95

1257(3) and 2201 and Rule 20 of the Rules of the Supreme

Court of the United States.

vii

Constitutional Provisions and Rules Involved

The Fourth Amendment to the United States Constitu-

tion provides:

The right of the people to be secure in their per-

sons, houses, papers, and effects, against unreason-

able searches and seizures, shall not be violated, and

no Warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause,

supported by Oath or affirmation, and particularly

describing the place to be searched, and the persons

or things to be seized.

The Fourteenth Amendment, Section 1, to the United

States Constitution provides:

Section 1. All persons born or naturalized in the

United States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof,

are citizens of the United States and of the State

wherein they reside. No State shall make or enforce

any law which shall abridge the privileges or im-

munities of citizens of the United States; nor shall

any State deprive any person of life, liberty, or

property, without due process of law; nor deny to

any person within its jurisdiction the equal protection

of the laws.

Article VI, Section II (3) of the Constitution of New

Jersey, 1947, provides:

3. The Supreme Court shall make rules governing

the administration of all courts in the State and,

subject to the law, the practice and procedure in

all such courts. The Supreme Court shall have juris-

diction over the admission to the practice of law

and the discipline of persons admitted.

eee

Article VI, Section V (1) and (2) of the Constitution

of New Jersey, 1947, provides:

1. Appeals may be taken to the Supreme Court:

(a) In causes determined by the Appellate

Division of the Superior Court involving a ques-

tion arising under the Constitution of the United

States or this State;

(b) In causes where there is a dissent in the

Appellate Division of the Superior Court;

(e) In capital causes;

(d) On certification by the Supreme Court

to the Superior Court and, where provided by

rules of the Supreme Court, to the inferior

courts; and

(e) In such causes as may be provided by

law.

2. Appeals may be taken to the Appellate Division

of the Superior Court from the Law and Chancery

Divisions of the Superior Court, and in such other

causes as may be provided by law.

Ix Tue

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

Octosen Team, 1980

No.

MAMOON RASHID KAHLON,

Petitioner,

US.

STATE OF NEW JERSEY,

Respondent.

—

—

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY,

APPELLATE DIVISION

Now Comes the Petitioner, Mamoon Rashid Kahlon,

by and through his counsel, and respectfully prays this

Honorable Court to issue a Writ of Certiorari, to the

Superior Court of New Jersey, Appellate Division, to

review the judgment entered therein.

Statement of the Case

Procedural History

The Petitioner, Mamoon Kahlon, was arrested by

Trooper Richard Toth on October 3, 1978, and, ax a

result, was charged in Complaint No. SD 96746 with

unlawful use of marijuana, contrary to N. J. S. 24:21-20(b),

and with entering the State for an unlawful purpose,

= =

contrary to N.J.S. 2A:170-1. In addition, the Petitioner

was charged with possession of marijuana in excess of

twenty-five grams and possession of same with intent

to distribute, contrary to N.J.S 24:20(a)(4) and 24:21-19

(a) (i).

On November 9, 1978, a probable cause hearing was

held before the Honorable George B. Esposito in the

Bridgewater Municipal Court, Somerset County, New

Jersey. The State prevailed and the matter was for-

warded to the County Prosecutor. Thereafter, the Peti-

tioner was indicted for the latter two charges by a

Somerset County Grand Jury in Indictment No. 168-78-J.

A Motion to Suppress Evidence was filed and heard

by the Honorable Arthur S. Meredith, J. S. C., on June

15, 1979 and June 18, 1979. Judge Meredith ordered

that all evidence seized from the warrantless searches

of the Petitioner’s person, vehicle trunk and the contain-

ers stored therein be suppressed as violative of the

Defendant’s Fourth Amendment rights. The State moved

for leave to appeal on July 23, 1979, and said motion

was granted on August 24, 1979. Oral argument was

heard by the Appellate Division on January 31, 1980,

and on February 13, 1980, the decision of the trial court

was reversed. A Motion for Leave to Appeal to the

Supreme Court of New Jersey was then filed by the

Petitioner and denied by Order filed April 30, 1980.

The Petitioner then entered a plea of guilty to the

second count of the indictment preserving the right to

appeal the constitutionality of the search of his vehicle

and the closed containers seized from said vehicle’s

locked trunk. Orders were entered dismissing Count One

of Indictment No. 168-78-J and Count One and Two of

Complaint No. SD 96746.

On June 20, 1980, the Petitioner, Mamoon Kahlon, was

sentenced to serve not less than one nor more than two

years incarceration in the State Prison, Trenton, New

Jersey and the Judgment of Conviction was entered by

the Court on that day. A timely Notice of Appeal was

filed on June 26, 1980.

On September 29, 1980, the Petitioner filed his Brief

on Appeal and a companion Motion to Supplement the

Record with the transcript of proceedings at the probable

cause hearing. On October 21, 1980, the State filed an

untimely Motion for Summary Affirmance. On November

13, 1980 the Petitioner responded to the merits of the

State’s motion and requested full briefing on the merits

of the contested searches. On October 23, 1980, two days

after the filing of the State’s Motion for Summary

Affirmance, the Appellate Division dismissed the Petition-

er’s Motion to Supplement the Record on the basis of a

technical failure to comply with R. 2:8-1(a). The State

had not objected to said noncompliance.

On November 17, 1980, The Appellate Division, sua

sponte, allowed the filing of the State’s untimely Motion

for Summary Affirmance nunc pro tunc, and proceeded

to grant said motion. In so doing, the Apnellate Division

reasoned that since it had dismissed the Petitioner’s

Motion to Supplement the Record, the disposition of the

appeal was governed by the “law of the case” doctrine.

The Petitioner’s New Jersey Counsel, Thomas E.

Lenahan, did not receive notice of either the Appellate

Division’s Order dismissing the Petitioner’s Motion to

Supplement the Record or its Order granting the State’s

Motion for Summary Affirmance until December 3, 1980.

Since by that time it was impossible to file a timely

Petition for Rehearing pursuant to R. 2:11-6, the Peti-

3

tioner was constrained to file a Notice of Petition for

Certification in the Supreme Court of New Jersey on or

about December 14, 1980. immediately thereafter the

Petitioner filed a Petition for Rehearing. an Amended

Motion to Supplement the Record, and a Motion for

Leave to File Petition for Rehearing Out of Time and

Nunc Pro Tung in the Appellate Division. It was ex-

pressly noted that the Attorney Generals office had no

objection to the latter two motions. On December 24,

1980, the Petitioner, Mamoon Kahlon, ed a Motion in

the Supreme Court of New Jersey requesting both that

the cause be temporarily remanded to the Appellate

Division for consideration ef the above thiee motions

and an extension of time for filing your Petitioner's

Petition for Certification until ten days after the Appel-

late Division’s disposition of said Motions. The Motion

for Leave to File Petition for Rehearing Out of Time

and Nune Pro Tune was granted by the Appellate Division.

On January 27, 1981, the Supreme Court of New Jersey

temporarily remanded the instant case to the Appellate

Division pursuant to the aforementioned motion of Decem-

her 24, 1980.

On February 17, i981, an order denying the Petitioner's

Amended Motion to Supplement the Record and his Pe-

tition for Rehearing was signed by the Honorable John

W. Fritz. No explanation or opinion accompanied these

Orders.

A timely Petition for Cortifieation was filed in the

Supreme Court of New Jersey which was denied by

an Order filed June 5, 1981. Your Petitioner is presently

free on $10,000 cash bond conditionally continued by the

Supreme Court of New Jersey and granted pending cer-

tiorari by Associate Justice William J. Brennan.

_

STATEMENT OF FACTS

New Jersey State Trooper Richard Toth testified at

the motion to suppress that on Cetober 3, 1978, at ap-

proximately 4:20 P. M., he was clocking eastbound traffic

on Route 78 from a stationary position at mile post 28.

The weather was clear and the flow of traffic was described

by Trooper Toth as ‘‘medium’’. Trooper Toth’s police

vehicle was ten yards off the highway hidden behind a

bush. Toth was equipped with a K-55 radar unit set to

operate at 1,600 yards. Trooper Toth testified that he

saw the radar device register a vehicle traveling at 30

miles per hour and looked up in time to note a 1972 tan

Buick pass him by. There were cars in front of the tan

Buick as well as cars coming up behind. Toth testified

that between 35 seconds and one minute elapsed before

he pulled out to pursue the Buick and that he ultimately

pulled the Buick over at mile post 20 where Route 78

branches into Route 287. Although the Buick was in the

center lane when it passed Toth’s stationary position, it

was in the right lane ‘‘when I finally put the dome lights

on.“ Trooper Toth testified that there was no problem

with the stop.

When the Buick stopped, Trooper Toth brought his

vehicle to a rest about two car lengths behind it. Although

Toth testified at the motion to suppress that the Peti-

tioner, Mr. Kahlon, remained in his vehicle while Toth

approached the driver’s window, he testified at the prob-

able cause hearing that Mr. Kahlon immediately exited

his vehicle and met him at the rear of the Buick. Either

way, when Toth asked for a driver’s license and regis-

tration, they were produced for the Trooper’s inspection.

Trooper Toth described Mr. Kahlon as cooperative. Troop-

er Toth could not see the Buick’s ashtray from his po-

—

sition. Toth testified that he had seen no one smoking

before pulling the vehicle over and that he could see no

smoke inside the car. Aside from the Petitioner, there

was a man in the front passenger seat and a woman in

the rear seat of the vehicle.

Trooper Toth then asked Mr. Kahlon to exit the Buick

and join him at the rear of the vehicle. Toth said ‘‘you

reek of marijuana.’’ According to Toth, Mr. Kahlon re-

plied that the occupants of his vehicle were hitchhikers

he had picked up in Harrisburg and it was they who had

been smoking marijuana. Toth then removed the two

people from the Buick and began questioning them, but

was only able to ascertain that they were French students

heading for New York who spoke very little English.

Contrary to his observation of Mr. Kahlon there was

no indication that Toth noticed any odor of marijuana

emanating from the passengers. According to Trooper

Toth, it was at this point that Mr. Kahlon admitted that

it was he and not the French students who had at some

point been smoking marijuana. Toth testified he then ad-

vised Mr. Kahlon of his constitutional rights.

Trooper Toth then patted down all three persons and

moved them to the side of the road by the guardrail. Toth

then proceeded to search the front seat of the Buick to

determine where the odor of burning marijuana’’ he had

noticed earlier was coming from. Trooper Toth testified

that he first looked in the ashtray and there he found a

half-burned marijuana cigarette. Toth then pulled down

the driver’s side visor and a clear plastic bag of mari-

juana fell down along with a pack of cigarette wrapping

papers.

=

Trooper Toth then advised Mr. Kahlon and his riders

that they were under arrest. Mr. Kahlon spoke up and

said ‘‘please, don’t arrest the French students because

they had no knowledge of the marijuana.’’ Mr. Kahlon

was then handcuffed at the rear of the Buick. At this

time, another New Jersey State Trooper arrived and took

the two French students to the police barracks. Trooper

Toth informed Mr. Kahlon that his vehicle was being

impounded and that they would wait at the scene until

the tow truck arrived, Trooper Toth then placed Mr.

Kahlon in his police vehicle.

Although the record is silent, it is safe to assume that

Trooper Toth followed the customary police practice of

securing an arrestee with the seat belt and shoulder har-

ness of the police vehicle as well as the handeuffs. Troop-

er Toth testified that at the time of the arrests of the

French students, they had previously been patted down,

that they wore only T-shirts and jeans that were inca-

pable of concealing anything, and that he ‘‘felt comfort-

able. Mr. Kahlon’s attitude was cooperative.

Although there was nothing in the back seat of the

Buick except a portable T.V. set on the floor, Trooper

Toth entered the back seat. Toth only then ‘‘«detected

what he believed to be a rather heavy odor of unburned

marijuana.’’ Toth lifted out the back seat of the Buick

but found nothing. Trooper Toth took the keys from the

ignition and opened the trunk. Inside the trunk, Trooper

Toth observed one or two suitcases, a plastic clothing

bag, and a cardboard box that appeared to be a thirty

dozen egg crate.’’ Toth testified that the ‘‘flaps were such

that the box was closed.’’ The cardboard flaps did not

cover the top of the box completely but left a six by six

square on the top covered by green plastic. In the square,

Trooper Toth could see only green plastic. Toth smelled

the box and decided that it was the source of the odor.

He then seized the box, opened the flaps, tore open a hole

in the green plastic, and observed what he believed to

be marijuana. Toth then placed the box in the back seat

of his police vehicle.

=

Reasons For Allowing the Writ

I. The Judgment of the Appellate Division, reversing

the trial court’s suppression of evidence obtained

from a warrantless search of closed containers in the

trunk of your Petitioner’s automobile, should be

summarily reversed in light of Robbins v. California,

8 U.S. (No. 80-148, July 1, 1981) and Bible

et al. v. Louisiana, ........ a (No. 80-1080, July

Your Petitioner, Mamoon Rashid Kahlon, respectfully

submits that under the circumstances exhibited by the

record in the case at bar, the Appellate Division’s re-

fusal to apply the principles enunciated in the cases of

United States v. Chadwick, 433 U.S. 1 (1977) and Arkan-

sas v. Sanders, 442 U.S. 753 (1979) resulted in a denial

of rights guaranteed to him under the warrant clause of

the Fourth Amendment, made binding upon the states in

Mapp vy. Ohio, 367 U.S. 643 (1961). The Petitioner con-

tends that this Court’s recent decisions in Robbins v. Ca-

lifornia, ........ —— (No. 80-148, July 1, 1981), where

this Court applied the Sanders holding to a search occur-

ring on January 5, 1975; and in Bible et al. v. Louisiana,

— U. S. , (No. 80-1080, July 2, 1981) where this

Court vacated by per curiam Order a judgment of the

Supreme Court of Louisiana refusing to apply Sanders

retroactively, are dispositive of the case at bar. The ar-

rest of your Petitioner occurred on October 3, 1978. The

date of the decision in Sanders was June 20, 1979, at

which time the state was in the process of prosecuting

an interlocutory appeal of the trial court’s granting of

your Petitioner’s Motion to Suppress. The issue then

—10—

becomes whether Sanders exhibited such a marked depar-

ture from the principles recognized in Coolidge v. New

Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443 (1971) and United States v.

Chadwick, supra, that situations similar to that in San-

ders, but occurring in the interim between the Chadwick

and the Sanders decisions, should be governed by cases

that have been substantially limited, in pertinent part, by

Coolidge and Chadwick. Chambers v. Maroney, 399 U.S.

42 (1970) (per se automobile search at station); Carroll

v. United States, 267 U.S. 132 (1925) (per se automobile

search on highway). With only two exceptions that your

Petitioner’s research has been able to reveal, one of which

this Court has recently corrected in Bible et al. v. Loui-

siama, supra, the states and circuit courts of ap-

peal have answered in the negative and afforded retro-

active application of the Sanders decision. United States

FF yy (D.C. Cir., No. 79-1624, en bane,

March 31, 1981); United States v. Medina-Verdugo, 637

F.2d 649 (9th Cir. 1980); United States v. Hartman, 627

F.2d 7 (6th Cir. 1980); United States v. Bulgier, 618 F.2d

472, 475 n. 8 (7th Cir. 1980); United States v. Dien, 609

F. 2d 1038 (2d Cir. 1979) adhered to on rehearing 615 F. 2d

10 (1980); United States v. Presler, 610 F.2d 1206 (4th

Cir. 1979); United States v. Dall, 608 F.2d 910 (Ist Cir.

1979); United States v. Bella, 605 F.2d 160 (5th Cir. 1979);

United States v. Scheis, 582 F.2d 1166 (8th Cir. en bane

1978); People v. Plantefaber, 410 Mich. 594, 302 N.W.2d

557 (1981); Commonwealth v. Benoit, 415 N.E.2d 818

(Mass. 1981); Abell v. Commonwealth, 272 S. E.2d 204

(Va. 1980); State v. Jenkins, 619 P.2d 108 (Haw. 1980);

People v. Boyles, 82 III. 2d 128, 44 III. Dec. 880, 411 N. E.

2d 1346 (1980); State v. Prober, 297 N. W. 2d 1 (Wis.

1980); State v. Filipi, 297 N. W. 2d 275 (Minn. 1980); Com-

monwealth v. Timbo, 417 A. 2d 620 (Pa. 1980); State v.

Tomey, 259 S. E. 2d 16 (W. Va. 1979); People v. Dalton,

*

24 Cal.3d 850, 157 Cal. Rptr. 497, 598 P. 2d 467 (Calif.

1979); State v. Schrier, 283 N. W. 2d 338 (Iowa 1979);

State v. Hassapelis, 404 A. 2d 232 (Me. 1979); State v.

White, 94 N. M. 687, 615 P. 2d 1004 (1980); State v. Cole,

265 S. E. 2d 507 (N.C. App. 1980); People v. Spencer, 74

A.D.2d 77, 426 N.Y.S.2d 605 (1980); Bradford v. State,

401 N.E.2d 77 (Ind. App. 1980); Pirner v. State, 45 Md.

App. 50, 411 A.2d 135 (1980); State v. Delong, 602 P.2d

665 (Or. App. 1979); State v. Crutchfield, 123 Ariz. 570,

601 P.2d 333 (1979); Buday v. State, 150 Ga.App. 686,

258 S.E.2d 318 (1979); See, State v. Dean, 574, P.2d

572 (Kan. App. 1978), applying Chadwick retroactively.

The remaining exception is the State of New Jersey.

Thus it seems to your Petitioner that only in the State

of New Jersey is it still sometimes held that searches con-

ducted after Chadwick but before Sanders are not gov-

erned by the explication of Chadwick set forth in Sanders.

State v. Dolce, 178 N.J.Super. 275 (App. Div. 1981);

State v. Kahlon, 172 N.J.Super. 331 (App. Div. 1980).

It should be noted that this federal constitutional ques-

tion is by no means settled in New Jersey. The precise

issue has never been addressed by the Supreme Court

of New Jersey, however, a number of panels of the

Appellate Division have afforded New Jersey defen-

dants relief by explicitly applying the Chadwick-San-

ders doctrine retroactively.’ State v. Wain and Wright,

— N.J Super. ........ (No. A- 4528-78, December 3, 1980);

State v. Pace, 171 N.J.Super. 240 (App. Div. 1979).

As will become evident in the next question presented

for review, this issue cannot be avoided with any rectitude

*In his a in State v. Patino, 83 N.J.

1, 414 A.2d 1327 ( ), Justice Pashman unequivocally

asserts in a footnote his view that neither Sanders nor

Chadwick announced a new rule of law. State v. Patino,

83 N. J. at 16 n.1.

=

on the basis of exigency. At the time of the subject

intrusions, Mr. Kahlon was physically restrained in the

patrol car and had no access to the contents of the con-

tainers in the trunk. The various containers were ex-

elusively within the control of Trooper Toth. The

vehicle was immobile awaiting the arrival of the tow

truck. Trooper Toth had the keys.

Your Petitioner respectfully suggests that the guidance

of this Honorable Court is necessarily to prevent dis-

parate treatment of similarly situated defendants in New

Jersey. Moreover, your Petitioner respectfully suggests

that the summary relief granted the petitioners in Bible

et al. v. Louisiana. | eee „(No. 80-1080, July 2,

1981) would be an appropriate and just disposition of the

instant Petition.

II. The Appellate Division’s reliance upon independent

Your Petitioner, Mamoon Rashid Kahlon, contends that

when an appellate court sua sponte makes independent

findings of fact crucial to its decision, and when said

facts are controverted by the record on appeal and by

the fair implications of the holding of the trial court,

and when there is no appeal as of right from the subject

appellate decision, a litigant has been denied his state-

granted right to appeal, and, consequently, his right to

due process of law as guaranteed by the Fourteenth

Amendment to the United States Constitution. There

is no question that the State of New Jersey provides a

right to appeal to its criminal defendants. See New

*

Jersey Constitutional provisions, supra; Rova Farms

Resort, Inc. v. Investors Ins. Co. of Amer. 65 N.J. 474,

323 A.2d 495 (1974); State v. Johnson, 42 N.J. 146, 199

A.2d 809 (1964).

The issue then becomes whether your Petitioner has

been denied the rights granted to other persons subject

to the application of New Jersey law.

As will be noted, the very foundation for the inter-

locutory appellate decision, summarily affirmed by the

Appellate Division, was certain independent appellate

findings of fact that are inconsistent with both the find-

ing of the trial court and the record on appeal at the

interlocutory stage. On direct appeal from the final judg-

ment, the Petitioner brought these errors to the atten-

tion of the Appellate Division and sought to confirm and

substantiate them by moving to supplement the record

with the transcript of proceedings at the probable cause

hearing. This transcript proved beyond peradventure

that the factual setting established by the Appellate

Division in its disposition of the state’s interlocutory

appeal was manifestly incorrect, resulting in an im-

proper application of the law of the State of New Jersey

and an erroneous resolution of the interlocutory appeal.

The Petitioner’s first Motion to Supplement the Record,

filed concurrently with the Petitioner’s Brief on Appeal,

was denied for a technical failure to comply with R. 2:8-1

(a); and the Petitioner’s Amended Motion to Supplement

the Record was denied without any explanation whatso-

ever. Having denied these crucial motions, without due

consideration of their importance, the Appellate Division

summarily disposed of the Petitioner’s first direct appeal

from a final judgment against him on the basis of the

“law of the case” doctrine, because, “the record facts

—14—

remain unchanged and are identical here with those of

record in the first appeal at least for purposes of this

motion.“ The Petitioner notes that the record facts“

remained unchanged only because the Appellate Division

so dictated. Notwithstanding that the original record

on appeal conflicts with the interlocutory appellate fact

finding, the Petitioner contends that in ignoring the

record and denying his requested supplementation as

Appellant, the Appellate Division denied him an oppor-

tunity to have his case fairly adjudicated on the basis

of a complete record. Since the record, especially when

read with the requested supplementation, unequivocally

belies the factual underpinnings of the interlocutory deci-

sion, the denial of the motions to supplement the record

denied the Petitioner due process of law by preventing

him from presenting his case. The Appellate Division

itself has stated:

The aim of due process is to prevent fundamental

unfairness. It includes as one of its essential ingredi-

ents the opportunity to defend. If established, the

deprivation of a reasonable opportunity to prepare

a defense may be regarded as a denial of due process.

(Citations omitted).

State v. Johnson, 87 N.J.Super. 195, 197, 198 (App. Div.

1965).

In its interlocutory opinion, the Appellate Division

candidly admitted engaging in appellate fact finding

determinative of their decision. The Court wrote:

We agree generally with the factual findings made

by the judge. They are sustained by sufficient credible

evidence. However, we are compelled to make

independent supplemental findings based on the rec-

ord in order to give a more complete background of

the facts upon which we predicate our determination.

(emphasis added).

= =

State v. Kahlon, 172 N.J.Super. 331, 335 (1980). The

Petitioner submits that the said “independent supple-

mental findings’’ are not in fact based on the record

even then before the Court, and further, that the materials

that your Petitioner persistently and fruitlessly sought

to present to the Appellate Division upon Ais appeal

from the final judgment conclusively establish the errone-

ous nature of said “supplemental findings.” It was this

arbitrary fact-finding and subsequent denial of the Peti-

tioner’s attempts to present a complete record to the

Appellate Division that violated the Petitioner’s due

process rights.

The significance of this arbitrary exclusion becomes

apparent from a brief comparison of the “supplemental

findings” of the Appellate Division with the record on

appeal and the transcript of proceedings at the probable

cause hearing. It will become clear that the basis for

the interlocutory decision is unfounded in the record.

The Appellate Division narrated its “independent” ver-

sion of the relevant facts in the following manner:

Toth ordered defendant out of the car and in-

formed him that somebody was smoking marijuana

in the car. Defendant first stated that his two passen-

gers, hitchhiking students from France picked up by

him near Harrisburg, were smoking it. After Toth

directed the students out of the vehicle and began

to question them, defendant interrupted Toth’s inter-

rogation and stated that defendant alone was smoking

marijuana.

Following this admission Toth gave defendant

Miranda warnings and subjected the occupants of

the car to a protective “pat down.” He then returned

to defendant’s vehicle to determine the area from

which the odor of marijuana had emanated. He

checked the vehicle’s ashtray and found a half-

burned marijuana cigarette (roach) approximately

—=— =

one inch long. From his training Toth thought the

roach to be unusually large. It was neither burning

nor hot when discovered.

In checking the interior further, Toth found a

clear plastic bag filled with what was later determined

to be approximately ½ ounce of marijuana and a

package of cigarette wrapping papers. The bag and

papers were hidden behind the sun visor on the

passenger's side. Toth returned to the three people

and advised them that they were under arrest. De-

fendant asked Toth not to arrest the French students

as they had no knowledge that there was any mari-

juana in the vehicle.

Toth handcuffed only defendant and returned to

the back seat of the car, reasonably believing, since

the female occupied the back seat, that more mari-

juana might be found there. Although he noticed

the very heavy odor of unburned marijuana, Toth

found only a portable television set on the floor and

no potential marijuana containers. He lifted the rear

seat but found nothing.

Toth took the keys from the ignition and opened

the trunk. Again he smelled a very heavy odor of

unburned marijuana. Inside the trunk were several

suitcases and a cardboard box labeled “Cooler Keg.”

The box appeared to be a 30-dozen capacity egg

crate. Although the box flaps were closed, there was

a six-inch square opening on top. The flaps did not

cover the box top completely.

Green plastic, similar to the type used in garbage

bags, was visible from the box opening. Toth lowered

his nose to the opening. He was positive that the

odor of unburned marijuana emanated from the

plastic bag in the box. Upon opening the box flaps

Toth discovered that the bag, although tied shut,

had two or three tears in it. He enlarged one of the

tears and observed what was determined to be mari-

juana. He also found the scale underneath a clothing

bag in the trunk of the car.

~—

At about this time a backup unit arrived at the

scene. It transported the French students to the

Somerville State Police station. Defendant and Toth

awaited a tow truck at the scene. (Emphasis added).

Id. at 336, 337. In this inaccurate scenario Trooper Toth

is on his own, alone, searching the rear seat and the

trunk of the vehicle while in the presence of three persons,

only one of whom is handeuffed. As noted above, this

interpretation is in obvious conflict with the actual testi-

mony. At the hearing on the motion to suppress Trooper

Toth specifically testified that after he had handcuffed

the Petitioner, ‘‘[p]rior to entering the rear of the

vehicle, he] told [the French students] to sit on the

guardrail and almos! simultaneously a backup unit arrived,

another trooper.” (emphasis added) (Motion to Suppress

— p.36). This testimony, contradicting the fact-finding

of the Appellate Division, is consistent with and cor-

roborates Toth’s testimony at the probable cause hear-

ing on November 9, 1978 before the Honorable George

B. Esposito, Magistrate, which the Appellate Division on

two occasions arbitrarily declined to consider. At the

probable cause hearing, Trooper Toth testifed as fol-

lows :

Q. And deseribe the marijuana [sic] or what ever

you found above the sun-visor.

A. It was a small plastic bag, I would say maybe

a quarter of an ounce.

Q. Green vegetable substance inside?

A. Brown.

Q. At that point did you put Mr. Kahlon under

arrest?

A. Yes. And the other two subjects.

Q. This is before you searched the rear of the car?

A. Yes.

Q. Did you call for a back-up unit at that time?

A. No I didn’t, but another trooper was driving

by at the time and he stopped.

2 =

Q. Did you tell Mr. Kahlon at the time you

arrested him, or at the time of the arrest that you

were impounding his vehicle?

A. i told him we were impounding it and me and

Mr. Kahlon would wait at the scene until the tow

truck came. The other two subjects were taken to the

barracks by the other trooper. (emphasis added).

(Probable Cause Hearing — p. 12, 13). It is thus

clear that the supplemental findings” conflict with

the evidence presented at both the motion to suppress

and the probable cause hearing. In actuality, the evidence

indicates that at the time Trooper Toth entered the rear

of the passenger compartment and thereafter searched

the trunk and containers, the French students had already

been removed from the scene and the Petitioner was

handeuffed within the police vehicle. Trooper Toth was,

for all practical purposes, unconcerned and secure when

he searched the trunk of the vehicle and the personal

effects of Mr. Kahlon contained therein. The car was

immobile and everything in it was safely in Toth’s custody

awaiting arrival of the tow truck. No inventory search

was conducted until later, after the vehicle had been

removed to the station.

The situation shown by the evidence stands in stark

contrast to the misconstrued facts underlying the Appel-

late Division’s interlocutory determination. The Court

reasoned :

Unlike State v. Slockbower, 79 N.J.1 (1979), and

State v. Ercolano, supra, the vehicle in the present

case was not impounded. The time here was late

afternoon — 4:20 p.m. Defendant’s vehicle was mov-

able on an open highway and was being used for

an illicit activity. The intent and purpose of the

police, predicated on probable cause, were to search

the trunk of the vehicle for contraband — marijuana

— while it was on the highway. Although all three

—_— =

occupants of the car were arrested and out of the

vehicle, only defendant's freedom of movement was

physically restricted. Toth had moved the others away

from the car and taken the keys. However, Toth’s

testimony supports the view—and even if it did not,

it is not reasonably inconceivable — that, Toth’s

weapons and physical prowess notwithstanding, the

others could have overpowered him, grabbed the keys

and escaped. Under these circumstances a plain ex-

igency existed justifying a warrantless search of the

car trunk at the scene. (emphasis added).

State v. Kahlon, supra at 340. The Petitioner submits

that it is manifestly clear that the “supplemental findings”

of the Appellate division are palpably erroneous. There

was no exigency at the time Toth searched the contents of

the trunk. The vehicle was immobile, the students had been

removed, and Mr. Kahlon was restrained in Toth’s patrol

car. This fact has been brought to the attention of the

Appellate Division in your Petitioner’s Brief on Appeal

from the final judgment, in his Motion to Supplement

the Record, in his Response to the State’s Motion for

Summary Affirmance, in his Amended Motion to Supple-

ment the Record, and in his Petition for Rehearing. The

Petitioner submits that the Appellate Division’s inter-

locutory misapprehensions of fact are undeniable. The

arbitrary, capricious and persistant denial of the Appel-

late Division to responsibly address the actual evidence

is a denial of your Petitioner’s constitutional rights io

due process of law.

The Petitioner, Mamoon Kahlon, faces a sentence of

one to two years incarceration. Mr. Kahlon was a citizen

and resident of East Pakistan until he and most of his

family were forced to flee to the United States during

the Bangladesh Revolution in 1970. He is presently

married to an American citizen and resides in Blooming-

ton, Indiana, where he operates his own business creating

— 20) —

stained glass. Mr. Kahlon is a life long member of the

Ahmadiya sect of Islam, a minority religious group which

has been declared non-muslim and stripped of all civil

rights by government fiat in West Pakistan: the Peti-

tioner’s only destination in the event of deportation as a

result of this case. The serious ramifications of the ar-

bitrary actions of the Appellate Division bear far more

strongly on your Petitioner than the ordinary defendant

because the ultimate penalty is extremely more severe.

The interests of justice militate in favor of this Honor-

able Court’s reviewing the actions of the Appellate Di-

vision in response to their denial of your Petitioner’s

right to due process and fundamental fairness herein

displayed.

Conclusion

Wherefore, your Petitioner, Mamoon Rashid Kahlon,

prays this Honorable Court to grant the instant Petition

for Certiorari and to provide such relief as this Honor-

able Court deems fit and proper.

Respectfully submitted,

Stroup, Go.pstein, Jenkins & Pritzker

Micnakl. L. Pritzker

R. Brent DaxIEI.

134 North LaSalle Street

Suite 2100

Chicago, Illinois 60602

(312) 372-2225

Attorneys for Petitioner.

— 12

APPENDIX

SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY

APPELLATE DIVISION

A-4707-78

STATE OF NEW JERSEY,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

vs.

MAMOON RASHID KAHLON,

Defendant-Respondent.

Argued: January 31, 1980- Decided: Feb. 13, 1980

Before Judges Fritz, Kole and Lane.

On appeal from Superior Court, Law Division, Somer-

set County.

L. Gilbert Farr, Assistant Prosecutor, argued the

cause for appellant (David Linett, Somerset County

Prosecutor, attorney).

Thomas E. Lenahan, Jr. argued the cause for respon-

dent (Franchino & Lenahan, attorneys).

The opinion of the court was delivered by

KOLE, J.A.D.

Defendant was indicted for possession of over 25

grams of marijuana and possession thereof with intent

to distribute. He moved for suppression of all evidence

obtained from the search of his motor vehicle. After

a hearing, the judge sustained the seizure of marijuana

found in the interior of the vehicle but suppressed the

evidence found [sic.) the trunk thereof, including 30

pounds of marijuana, a balance scale and cash in the

=

amount of $3,731, as well as statements made by defen-

dant after the search of the trunk.*

We granted the State leave to appeal from the en-

suing order. We reverse the order to the extent that

it suppresses the evidence seized from the trunk of the

car and the statements made by defendant after such

search. We hold that such evidence was legally seized

and, of course, the later statements were not tainted

thereby.

We agree generally with the factual findings made by

the judge. They are sustained by sufficient credible

evidence. However, we are compelled to make indepen-

dent supplemental findings based on the record in order

to give a more complete background of the facts upon

which we predicate our determination.

On October 3, 1978 at approximately 4:20 p.m., State

Trooper Toth stopped defendant’s vehicle as it was

traveling south on Interstate Highway 287 in Bridge-

water Township, since Toth’s radar device showed that

it was proceeding at 30 miles per hour, considerably less

than the normal speed for that highway. The vehicle

was traveling in the center lane and, at that rate of

speed, was causing other motorists to pass it on the

right.

After stopping the vehicle, Toth requested that de-

fendant exhibit his driver’s license and motor vehicle

*The judge properly held that the stop of defendant’s

vehicle was not an illegal random stop; that Officer Toth

had a right to enter the passenger area of the vehicle

to search it for marijuana since he not only smelled

burned marijuana but defendant had admitted smoking

it; that defendant was not entitled to have Miranda

warnings given by the officer since he voluntarily had

stated that it was he who had smoked the marijuana

rather than his French-speaking passengers, and that

probable cause justified the search of the interior of

the car and the seizure therefrom of the ‘‘roach’’ and

the small quantity of marijuana found in the vehicle.

=

registration. Defendant complied with the request. Toth

noticed that another male was seated on the passenger’s

side next to defendant and a female was seated in the

back. When defendant opened his window to exhibit his

credentials, Toth smelled an odor he believed to be burn-

ing marijuana. Toth was familiar with the scent of

marijuana, both burned and unburned, from attendance at

several drug training seminars and courses.

Toth ordered defendant out of the car and informed

him that he knew that somebody was smoking marijuana

in the car. Defendant first stated that his two passengers,

hitchhiking students from France picked up by him near

Harrisburg, were smoking it. After Toth directed the

students out of the vehicle and began to question them,

defendant interrupted Toth’s interrogation and stated

that defendant alone was smoking marijuana.

Following this admission, Toth gave defendant Miranda

warnings and subjected the occupants of the car to a

protective ‘‘pat down.’’ He then returned to defendant’s

vehicle to determine the area from which the odor of

marijuana had emanated. He checked the vehicle’s ash-

tray and found a half burned marijuana cigarette (roach)

approximately one inch long. From his training Toth

thought the roach to be unusually large. It was neither

burning nor hot when discovered.

In checking the interior further, Toth found a clear

plastic bag filled with what was later determined to be

approximately ½ ounce of marijuana and a package of

cigarette wrapping papers. The bag and papers were

hidden behind the sun visor on the passenger’s side.

Toth returned to the three people and advised them they

were under arrest. Defendant asked Toth not to arrest

the French students as they had no knowledge that there

was any marijuana in the vehicle.

Toth handcuffed only defendant and returned to the

back seat of the car, reasonably believing, since the

female occupied the back seat, that more marijuana

might be found there. Although he noticed the very

wile

heavy odor of unburned marijuana, Toth found only a

portable television set on the floor and no potential

marijuana containers. He lifted the rear seat but found

nothing.

Toth took the keys from the ignition and opened the

trunk. Again he smelled a very heavy odor of unburned

marijuana. Inside the trunk were several suitcases and

a cardboard box labeled ‘‘Cooler Keg.’’ The box ap-

peared to be a 30 dozen capacity egg crate. Although

the box flaps were closed, there was a six inch square

opening on top. The flaps did not cover the box top

completely.

Green plastic, similar to the type used in garbage bags,

was visible from the box opening. Toth lowered his nose

to the opening. He was positive that the odor of un-

burned marijuana emanated from the piastic bag in the

box. Upon opening the box flaps, Toth discovered that

the bag, although tied shut, had two or three tears in

it. He enlarged one of the tears and observed what was

determined to be marijuana. He also found the scale

underneath a clothing bag in the trunk of the car.

At about this time, a backup unit arrived at the

scene. It transported the French students to the Somer-

ville State police station. Defendant and Toth awaited

a tow truck at the scene. While defendant’s vehicle was

being towed to the station, Toth questioned defendant

about the quantity of marijuana in the the bag and

learned that it was about 30 pounds. Toth had already

warned defendant of his Miranda rights after he had

volunteered that he was smoking the marijuana. Defen-

dant also told Toth that he had over $3,000 in the bottom

of a plastic clothing bag in the car trunk.

When the police were satisfied that the French students

were innocent of any illegal activities, they were re-

leased.

We agree with what appears to be the judge’s deter-

mination that Toth was rightfully in the rear interior of

=

the car to conduct a further search for marijuana. We

find further that Toth was a trained police officer who,

as found by the judge, smelled and was able to smell un-

burned marijuana while thus lawfully in that part of the

car’s interior. His inability to pin-point the source of

the smell of unburned marijuana while in that area of

the automobile although it appeared to emanate from

the rear of the vehicle, together with the marijuana

already found in the car, reasonably could leave him to

conclude, as he did, that the odor came from the car’s

trunk and accordingly established probable cause to

search the trunk for such marijuana. See, State v. Har-

rison, 111 Ariz. 508, 533 P. 2d 1143 (Sup. Ct. 1975);

People v. Cook, 13 Cal. 3d 663, 119 Cal. Rptr. 500, 532

P. 2d 148 (Sup. Ct. 1975), cert. den. 423 U.S. 870, 96

S.Ct. 135, 46 L.Ed. 2d 100 (1975); Ford v. State, 37 Md.

App. 373, 377 A. 2d 577 (Ct. Spee. App. 1977). See also,

United States v. Hosch, 577 F. 2d 963 (5 Cir. 1978);

United States v. Thompson, 558 F. 2d 522, 524 (9 Cir.

1977), cert. den. sub. nom. Reeve v. United States, 435

U.S. 914, 55 L. Ed. 2d 504 (1978); United States v. Bar-

nard, 553 F. 2d 389 (5 Cir. 1977); Sanchez v. State, 582

S. W. 2d 813 (Tex. Crim. App. 1979), cert. den US.

— (January 21, 1980). (f. Johnson v. United States,

333 U.S. 10, 13, 92 L.Ed. 436, 440 (1948) in which the

court indicated that detection of opium odors by trained

individuals could constitute probable cause. Contrast the

fact situation in State v. Patino, 163 N./. Super. 116,

122-123 (App. Div. 1978), certif. granted 79 N.J. 477

(1979).

There were also sufficient exigent circumstances here

justifying the warrantless search of the trunk and the

search and seizure of the box contained therein and its

contents, as well as the scale and the money. Under the

circumstances of this case, that warrantless search and

seizure were entirely reasonable and legally unassailable.

We disagree with the judge's determination that since

defendant and his passengers had been arrested prior to

the time the trunk was actually opened, the trunk and

—

its contents were under the exclusive dominion and con-

trol of the arresting officer before the search thereof,

and thus there was no exigency to justify the subsequent

warrantless search and seizure. That this car on the

side of a highway could have been towed to the police

barracks while its occupants were under arrest and in

custody and a search warrant for the trunk could have

been obtained does not negative the existence of exigent

circumstances

Ever since Carroll v. United States, 267 U.S. 132, 69

L.Ed. 543 (1925), courts have recognized what has come

to be known as the automobile exception’’ to the war-

rant requirement. The validity of this exception was

reaffirmed and its underlying rationale was restated by

the Supreme Court in Arkansas v. Sanders, U.S.

— , 61 L.Ed. 2d 235 (1975). The court there addressed

the question whether, in the absence of exigent circum-

stances, police are required to obtain a warrant before

searching luggage taken from an automobile stopped

and searched for contraband. However, Sanders further

held that given probable cause to search and the mobility

of the vehicle when it is stopped, the stop and search of

the automobile itself is legally permissible.

The inquiry to be made as to the validity of the war-

rantless search in the present case is twofold: (1) at

the s one did the police have probable cause to search

the .. unk of the automobile? and (2) were the exigencies

then arising from the movable nature of the vehicle such

that a warrantless search was justified? If the answer

to both questions is in the affirmative, the search was

constitutionally valid. See, Sanders, supra, 69 L.Ed. 2d

at 246, n. 14; Teras v. White, 423 U.S. 67, 46 L.Ed. 2d

209 (1975), cited in State v. Ercolano, 79 N.J. 25, 46

(1979). We answer both inquiries in the affirmative.

Unlike State v. Slockbower, 78 N.J. 1 (1979) and State

v. Ercolano, supra, the vehicle in the present case was

not impounded. The time here was late afternoon—4:20

p.m. Defendant’s vehicle was movable on an open high-

way and was being used for an illicit activity. The in-

— 7a—

tent and purpose of the police, predicated on probable

cause, were to search the trunk of the vehicle for con-

traband—marijuana—while it was on the highway. Al-

though all three occupants of the car were arrested and

out of the vehicle, only defendant’s freedom of movement

was physically restricted. Toth had moved the others

away from the car and taken the keys. However, Toth’s

testimony supports the view—and even if it did not, it

is not reasonably inconceivable—that, Toth’s weapons

and physical prowess notwithstanding, the others could

have overpowered him, grabbed the keys and escaped.

Under these circumstances a plain exigency existed justi-

fying a warrantless search of the car trunk at the scene.

It would not have been readily practicable for the police

to have obtained a warrant for this purpose prior to

the search. See, Chambers v. Maroney, 399 U.S. 42, 26

L.Ed. 2d 419 (1970); State v. Ercolano, supra, at 38,

43-46; State v. Waltz, 61 NJ. 83, 88 (1972); State v. Mur-

ray, 151 N.J.Super. 300 (App. Div. 1977), certif. den. 75

N.Y. 541 (1977); State v. Gaines, 147 N.J.Super. 84,

96-97 (App. Div. 1975), aff'd o.b. 72 N.J. 346 (1977);

State v. Kennedy, 134 N.J.Super. 454 (App. Div. 1975);

State v. McCarthy, 130 N.J.Super. 540, 543-545 (App.

Div. 1974); State v. Boone, 114 N.J.Super. 521 (App.

Div. 1971); State v. Brown, 160 N.J.Super. 227 (Law

Div. 1978). See also, State in the Interest of H.B., 75

N.J. 243, 251-252 (1977); Sanchez v. State, supra.

The search of the box found in the trunk was lawful.

It was from this box that the odor of marijuana emanated

and in which the marijuana was found. Unlike the lug-

gage in Arkansas v. Sanders, supra, the flaps of the box

did not completely cover it, the opening at the top of the

box plainly showed a green plastic bag from which the

odor could be detected and there were tear holes in the

plastic bag which, when opened further, made the

marijuana visible to the trained eye of the officer. In

these circumstances, it cannot be said that defendant had

any reasonable expectation of privacy in the contents of

the box or that the exigency that permitted the open-

ing of the car trunk at the scene did not apply as well

*

to the then search of the box. The facts here did not

require, as in Arkansas v. Sanders, supra, that the police

remove the box, reduce it to his exclusive possession and

obtain a warrant to search it.

In any event, even if a warrant for the search of the

box were required by reason of Arkansas v. Sanders,

supra, we have concluded that, essentially for the rea-

sons expressed in State v. Howery, 80 N.J. 563 (1979),

Sanders is not retroactive to a search and seizure, as

here, that occurred prior to the date of its determination.

Compare, State v. Pace, 171 N.J.Super. 240 (App. Div.

1979), where the matter of the retroactivity of Sanders

was not discussed and apparently not raied. But see,

State v. Carpentieri, 168 N.J.Super. 589 (App.Div. 1979),

certif. granted, 81 V/. 406 (1979), with which we do

not agree.

We note that the police officer here was alone and

could reasonably believe that under the then existing

law, given probable cause to search an automobile on

the highway even though defendant and the two passen-

gers were under arrest, exigent circumstances justified

the warrantless search of the box. See, State v. Gray,

59 N.J. 563 (1971); State v. McCarthy, supra. See also,

State v. Parker, 153 V.. Super, 481, 487 (App. Div. 1977).

We find no indication that our courts anticipated the

holding in Sanders. Thus, for example, State v. De-

Lorenzo, 166 N.J.Super. 483 (App. Div. 1979) and State

v. Parker, swpra, deal with the search of bags or lug-

gage already secured in police facilities, rather than the

search of luggage stored in a car stopped on the high-

way. They are thus distinguishable from Sanders.

The scale was found as part of the legally proper car

trunk search at the scene. The $3,731 in cash was found

by Toth while the automobile was at headquarters in the

ear trunk but in a clothing bag pursuant to information

volunteered to him by defendant after the valid car trunk

search. Hence, the seizure both of the items was valid.

The provisions of the order which suppressed evidence

and defendant’s statements are reversed.

— 9a —

SUPREME COURT OF NEW JERSEY

M-700

September Term 1979

STATE OF NEW JERSEY,

Plaintiff-Respondent,

vs.

MAMOON: RASHID KAHLON,

Defendant-Movant.

ORDER

(Filed April 30, 1980)

This matter having been duly presented to the Court,

it is ORDERED that the motion for leave to appeal is

denied.

WITNESS, the Honorable Robert N. Wilentz, Chief

Justice, at Trenton, this 29th day of April, 1980.

True Copy

Stephen W. Townsend

Clerk

Stephen W. Townsend

Clerk

— 10a —

MOTIONS/PETITIONS

SUPERIOR COURT OF NEW JERSEY

APPELLATE DIVISION

Docket No. A-4071-79T2

Motion No. M-613-80

Before Part C

Judges: Fritz, Polow, Joelson

STATE OF NEW JERSEY,

vs.

MAMOON RASHID KAHLON,

MOVING PAPERS FILED: October 21, 1980

ANSWERING PAPERS FILED: November 13, 1980

DATE SUBMITTED TO COURT: November 17, 1980

DATE ARGUED:

DATE DECIDED:

ORDER

(Filed November 25, 1980)

This matter having been duly presented to the court,

it is hereby ordered as follows:

MOTION/FOR

SUMMARY AFFIRMANCE OF

CONVICTION

GRANTED DENIED OTHER

x

SUPPLEMENTAL:

This is a motion for summary disposition under R.

2:8-3(b), brought by the State. The motion was filed long

after the time limited for the bringing of such motion,

contrary to the express prohibition of the Rule. No leave

was sought to extend this time. We expressly disapprove

of this impropriety. However, defendant has not objected

on this account, and we now grant leave to the State,

nunc pro tunc, to file this motion.

—lla —

Defendant acknowledges as sound the apparent legal

basis for this motion. He defends against the motion on

the ground that the appeal in this matter presents facts

not substantially the same as those appearing in a prior

appeal (172 N.J.Super. 331 (App.Div. 1980)), the de-

termination in which the State here asserts to be the law

of the case. Defendant’s motion to supplement the record

in the present appeal was denied. Accordingly, the rec-

ord facts remain unchanged and are identical here with

those of record in the first appeal at least for purposes

of this motion.

Defendant’s argument distills to one urging that the

opinion in the first appeal contained findings by the

Appellate Division not supported by the record and er-

roneous. Whatever the fact may be, it remains that there

was no motion for rehearing respecting the first appeal,

there was apparently no petition for certification and de-

fendant’s motion for leave to appeal was denied by the

Supreme Court on April 29, 1980 (M-700, September

Term 1979).

Accordingly, the law of the case is that established by

the adjudication on the first appeal.

Following the first appeal, prosecuted by the State

on leave from an order in the trial court suppressing evi-

dence seized from the trunk of defendant’s car in which

the only issue concerned the legality of that search, de-

fendant entered a plea of guilty to possession of a con-

trolled dangerous substance with intent to distribute and

was sentenced. Thereafter defendant appealed. It would

appear from defendant’s brief resisting the State's mo-

tion for summary disposition that the sole issue being

raised on this appeal following the entry of a guilty plea

is the legal propriety of the search. For reasons noted

above that issue was determined in the prior appeal.

=

The State’s motion is granted and the judgment is

affirmed.

For The Court:

/s/ John W. Fritz

John W. Fritz, P.J.A.D.

Witness, the Honorable John W. Fritz, Presiding Judge

of Part C, Superior Court Of New Jersey, Appellate Di-

vision, this day of November, 1980.

Elizabeth McLaughlin

Clerk of the Appellate Division

= 1 —

SUPREME COURT OF NEW JERSEY

C-549

September Term 1980

STATE OF NEW JERSEY,

Plaintiff-Respondent,

vs.

MAMOON RASHID KAHLON,

Defendant-Petitioner.

ON PETITION FOR CERTIFICATION

(Filed June 5, 1981)

To the Appellate Division, Superior Court:

A petition for certification of the judgment in A-4071-

79 having been submitted to this Court and the Court

having considered the same;

It is ORDERED that the petition for certification is

denied.

WITNESS, the Honorable Robert N. Wilentz, Chief Jus-

tice, at Trenton, this 3rd day of June, 1981.

/s/ Stephen W. Townsend

Clerk

IIe

Dome -Supreme cout 9

FILED

No.

AUG N

815334

In Ax, Za L. STEVAS,

g n

*

October Term, 1980

MAMOON RASHID KAHLON,

Petitioner,

vs.

STATE OF NEW JERSEY,

Respondent.

On Petition For Writ of Certiorari to the Superior Court of New

Jersey Appellate Division

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION FOR RESPONDENT

DAVID LINETT

Somerset County Prosecutor

L. GILBERT FARR

Assisiant Prosecutor

County Administration Building

Somerville, New Jersey 08876

(201) 526-4400

L. GILBERT FARR

On the Brief Attorneys for Respondent

$482 LUTZ APPELLATE PRINTERS, INC.

NY (212) 840-9494 © (516) 222-1606 © (914) 683-9363

NJ (201) 257-6850 © PA (215) 563-5587 © DC (202) 783-7288 © MA (617) 227-1133

No.

Supreme Court of the Hnitecl States

*

October Term, 1980

MAMOON RASHID KAHLON,

Petitioner,

vs.

STATE OF NEW JERSEY,

Respondent.

On Petition For Writ of Certiorari to the Superior Court of New

Jersey Appellate Division

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION FOR RESPONDENT

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether Robbins v. California is applicable to a case

where an open container is involved.

2. Whether the Appellate Division property granted

summary disposition.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Questions eo i

We Ge SD nccedcccsanscccccccecesessencccceses ii

L ii

Procedural . l

enn oe eee eee ee I

. 4

D. eee eee 5

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Cases Cited:

Arkansas v. Sanders, 442 U.S. 753, 99 S. Ct. 2586 (1979).. 4, 5

Robbins v. California. U.S. —. 101 S. Ct. 2841

— . i, 5

State v. Patino, 414 A. 2d 1327, 83 N.J. 1, 414 A. 2d 1327

hh 2224“« 2 3

Wallach v. Williams, 52 N. J. 504, 246 A. 2d 713 (1968) .. 4

I

PROCEDURAL HISTORY

We are in substantial agreement with petitioner's procedural

history.

STATEMENT OF FACTS

On October 3, 1978, at approximately 4:20 p.m., State

Trooper Richard Toth was operating a stationary model K-55

Radar Unit at milepost 28 on Interstate Route 78, Bridgewater

Township, New Jersey (T5-4 to 8). At that time, a 1972 Buick

traveled eastbound through the radar set up at 30 m.p.h. in the

center lane of the highway (T5-9 to 10). The speed limit on

Route 78 is 55 m.p.h. (T5-15).

The Trooper pursued the vehicle for traveling too slow and

constituting a hazard on the roadway. In the Trooper's

experience, vehicles do not generally travel at so slow a speed on

Route 78; and in addition, this vehicle was in the center lane of

the highway when it should have been to the right (T5-19 to 22).

Its position was forcing numerous other vehicles to pass

improperly on the right (T5-23).

The Trooper pursued the vehicle for approximately 2 miles

and brought it to a stop at milepost 20 on Route 287

southbound (T6-1 to 3). There were three individuals within the

car. The petitioner, Mamoon Rashid Kahlon, was the driver of

the vehicle, a male passenger sat in the front seat and a female

passenger sat in the backseat of the vehicle. Trooper Toth

approached the vehicle. At this point, there is a factual

discrepancy in the testimony. The Trooper testified that he

approached the driver’s side of the vehicle with the petitioner

still seated behind the wheel and requested credentials. As soon

as he reached the front window of the vehicle, Toth detected the

odor of burning marihuana (T7-11 to 12). At that time, he asked

the petitioner to exit the vehicle and walk to the rear of the car

2

where he advised the petitioner of his observations (T7-19 to 25).

The petitioner, on the other hand, testified that he was standing

outside the vehicle when Trooper Toth approached, asked for

credentials, then took the petitioner to the side of the vehicle and

told the petitioner that he “reeked of marihuana.” (T49-

16—T50-4). In any event, it is undisputed that the Trooper did

note the odor of burned marihuana and so advised the

petitioner.

At this point, the petitioner stated that the two passengers

had smoked marihuana, whereupon the Trooper asked them to

exit the vehicle and attempted to question them regarding the

incident (T8-12 to 15). Questioning was difficult since the

passengers were French students and spoke little English (T8-17

to 22). The petitioner interrupted the questioning and admitted

to Trooper Toth that he had been smoking marihuana (T8-25).

The petitioner was advised of his Miranda rights. Toth then

merely patted down all three individuals (T9-2 to 4).

Trooper Toth then asked the three individuals to move to

the side of the roadway and searched the front passenger area of

the vehicle. That search revealed an unusually large half-burned

marihuana cigarette in the ashtray of the vehicle as well as a

clear plastic bag of marihuana and a pack of wrapping paper

over the driver's visor (T9-19 to 21, T11-4 to 7, T11-23 to 25). At

this time, Trooper Toth went to the rear of the vehicle and

advised all three individuals that they were under arrest for

possession of the marihuana (T12-12 to 14).

The Trooper handcuffed only this petitioner and returned

to check the rear passenger seat area of the vehicle for additional

contraband since one of the occupants had been sitting back

there (T13-2 to 9).

Once inside the rear passenger area of the petitioner's

vehicle, Trooper Toth detected a heavy odor of unburned

3

marihuana (T13-18 to 19). Trooper Toth is an officer with

extensive training in the investigation and detection of narcotics.

This training was outlined for the court below at the hearing

(T3—T4). The Trooper searched the rear compartment, lifting

the seat of the vehicle, but could find no other marihuana inside

the passenger area to account for the heavy unburned

marihuana odor (T14-9 to 10).

At that time, the Trooper retrieved the car keys from the

ignition and opened the trunk of the vehicle. As it opened, he

smelled a very heavy odor of unburned marihuana emanating

from inside the trunk of the vehicle. There were several suitcases

and containers in the trunk. The Trooper noted a cardboard box

with closed flaps and a 6 x 6 square opening on the top. The

box was not taped closed. He lowered his head to the box and

smelled a very strong odor of unburned marihuana. Through the

6 x 6 opening, Trooper Toth could see a green plastic bag, the

type of bag, which based upon his experience and training,

usually conceals large quantities of marihuana. (Trooper Toth

also saw stalks of raw marihuana protruding through holes in

the plastic bag.) Trooper Toth was positive that the odor was

coming from the box, which he seized and opened, revealing

approximately 30 Ibs. of unburned marihuana (T14-15 to 25,

T1I5-1 to 15). The Trooper also retrieved a bench beam scale

from the trunk.

At this time, Trooper Toth called foi a back-up unit, which

transported the two passengers to headquarters. Trooper Toth

and the petitioner waited at the scene for the arrival of a tow-

truck (T16-21 to 25). While en route to the station, the petitioner

indicated to the Trooper that over $3,000 in currency was located

in a plastic bag in the trunk of the car (T18-19 to 21). Upon his

arrival at headquarters, Trooper Toth seized the bag of money

which contained $3,731 (T21).

3

LEGAL ARGUMENT

Petitioner contends certification should be granted because

the Appellate Division refused to allow him to supplement the

record on appeal. Initially, it should be noted that the probable

cause hearing transcript was prepared for defense counsel on

April 9, 1979, whereas the motion to suppress was not heard

until June 1979. Thus, the transcript could have been, but was

not, utilized to impeach the Trooper's credibility at the hearing.

Since the transcript is not newly discovered evidence, and was

not introduced at the motion to suppress, we submit it could not

properly have been added to the record on appeal in any event.

It is clear that the Supreme Court's consideration of an appeal

of the decision of the Appellate Division, affirming the

judgment of the trial court, must be confined to the record made

in the trial court. Wallach v. Williams, 52 N.J. 504 (1968). Thus,

we submit that no error, much less federal constitutional error,

occurred in the denial of the motion to supplement the record.

We also submit that this case falls squarely within State v.

Patino, 83 N.J. 1 (1981) where the Court noted that, in the case

of a moving vehicle, probable cause is the minimal requirement

for a reasonable search permitted by the Constitution. /d. at 10.

No additional exigency beyond the moving or readily moveable

nature of the vehicle at the time the initial stop is made is

required. The search here did not initially go beyond the interior

of the vehicle. Only after the strong odor of unburned

marihuana was noted coming from the trunk did Trooper Toth

proceed to search the trunk.

Petitioner contends Arkansas v. Sanders, 442 U.S. 753, 99

S. Ct. 2586 (1979) should have been held by the Appellate

Division to apply retroactively. We submit that this aspect of the

opinion is mere dicta, the holding of the Court being that

Sanders is inapplicable under the facts here presented.

3

The Court, in its published opinion, ruled that Arkansas v.

Sanders did not apply to the instant case because the flaps of the

box from which the odor of marihuana was detected were not

closed. Further, there were tear holes in the bag which made the

marihuana visible to the trained eye of the officer. Thus, these

facts distinguished the instant case from Arkansas v. Sanders, as

well as Robbins v. California, _. U.S. (1981) which was

limited expressly to closed containers. A bag with stalks of

marihuana protruding therefrom is not such a closed container

and its possessor has failed by his sloppy packaging to exhibit a

reasonable expectation of privacy in the item searched. We

submit the plain view exception, as discussed in Robbins, is fully

applicable here.

Finally, we note that the Appellate Division expressly

entertained the State’s motion for summary disposition because

the petitioner failed to object to the untimely filing. It therefore

granted leave to file the motion nunc pro tunc, a procedure

authorized under New Jersey practice.

CONCLUSION

Based upon the above authority and the facts of the within

matter, the State of New Jersey respectfully requests this Court

to deny petitioner's petition for certification.

Respectfully submitted,

0 DAVID LINETT

Attorney for Respondent

L. GILBERT FARR

On the Brief

Re ñ ᷑?˙8 ꝛ•³m n ² lbb c ç ꝗdd.

joug Aidey

S Une

Office - Supreme Court, U.S.

FILED

Sep iz? 1981

No. 81-234 | ALEXANDER L STEVAS.

In the

Supreme Court of the United States

* Octroser Term, 1980

MAMOON RASHID KAHLON,

Petitioner,

vs.

STATE OF NEW JERSEY,

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the Superior Court

of New Jersey, Appellate Division.

PETITIONER'S REPLY TO RESPONDENT'S

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Micnakl. L. Prirzxer, Lop.

Micuaet L. Pritzker

R. Brent Dante.

134 North LaSalle Street

Suite 2100

Chicago, Illinois 60602

(312) 372-2225

Counsel for Petitioner.

The Scheffer Press, Inc—(312) 263-6850

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I.

Whether Arkansas v. Sanders Is Controlling, Retro-

actively, To A Case Arising After This Court’s Decision

In United States v. Chadwick, Where The Evidence

Against Petitioner Was Contained In A Closed Card-

board Box, External Examination Of Which Did Not

Reveal Its Contents And Which Was Seized From The

Locked Trunk Of Petitioner’s Vehicle Without Warrant

Or Valid Exception?

II.

Whether When A State Grants To A Defendant In A

Criminal Case The Right Of Appeal From The Trier Of

Fact And The Appellate Court Sua Sponte Makes

Findings of Fact Not Otherwise In Or Supported By

The Record, The Appellant Then Has The Right To A

Review Of Said Additional Findings Of Fact?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

Questions Presented — i

Table of Contents : „

Table of Citations ii

The Respondent's Statement Of Facts Is Incorrect

And Is Controverted By The Testimony Of

Trooper Toth 1

Argument ——

Conclusion 8

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Cases Crrep:

PAGE

Arkansas v. Sanders, 442 U.S. 753 (1979) 6

Bible, et al. v. Louisiana, ........ — (No. 80.

I 2K 7

Robbins v. California, ........ U.S. (No. 80-148,

July 1, 1981) — 7

State v. Kahlon, 172 N.J. Super. 331, 340 (App.

Div. 1980)

United States v. Chadwick, 433 U.S. 1 (1977) ........ 6,7

Wallach v. Williams, 52 N. J. 504 (1966) 5

Ix Tue

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

Ocroser Term, 1980

N. 0. 81-234

MAMOON RASHID KAHLON,

Petitioner,

vs.

STATE OF NEW JERSEY,

Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the Superior Court

of New Jersey, Appellate Division.

PETITIONER’S REPLY TO RESPONDENT'S

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

The Respondent’s Statement Of Facts Is Incorrect And Is

Controverted By The Testimony Of Trooper Toth.

Although the record is clear and unambiguous, your

Petitioner is constrained to correct the same errors and

misinterpretations of the record that have been noted to

the New Jersey Courts and the Respondent herein on at

least six prior occasions. Completely disregarding the

testimony of Trooper Toth, the Respondent asserts that

no back up unit arrived at the scene of Petitioner’s

traffic arrest until after the search of the locked trunk

_

and the closed containers within it had occurred.

(Respondent’s Brief - 3). This claim carries with it the

false implication that Trooper Toth was in the area

with three arrestees, only one of whom was handcuffed,

and was therefore in some form of danger. It was pre-

cisely this misapprehension of fact that formed the

cornerstone for the Appellate Division’s erroneous finding

of exigency in the State’s interlocutory appeal. State

v. Kahlon, 172 N.J. Super. 331, 340 (App. Div. 1980).

The testimony of Trooper Toth belies this fiction.

The Trooper testified that after he informed the French

students and your Petitioner that they were under arrest

“almost simultaneously a back up unit arrived, another

trooper. (Transcript - Motion to Suppress p. 36). Based

upon the admissions of Mr. Kahlon regarding the ‘‘roach”’

and the small bag of marijuana exculpating the others,

Toth testified that he had “the other trooper [take]

the two French speaking people to the station” for

release. (Transcript - Motion to Suppress, p. 16). And

further, Toth testified that he handcuffed Mr. Kahlon

at the time of his arrest and placed him in the police

car. (Transcript Motion to Suppress p. 36). Trooper

Toth testified similarly at the probable cause hearing on

November 9, 1978. He there testified consistent with his

prior testimony that after he had arrested the subjects

another trooper was driving by and he stopped, (Tran-

script - Probable Cause Hearing p. 12), and based upon

the inculpatory admissions of Mr. Kahlon regarding the

“roach” and the small bag of marijuana, Trooper Toth

then had the other two subjects taken to the barracks

by the other trooper where they were released. (Tran-

script - Probable Cause Hearing p. 13; Motion to Suppress

P. 21-22). Trooper Toth testified that Mr. Kahlon was

cooperative and that he never felt any danger.

~

In regard to the cardboard box seized from the locked

trunk of Petitioner’s vehicle, Trooper Toth testified that

it was closed and that all he could see through the aper-

ture left by the flaps was green plastic. (Transcript - Mo-

tion to Suppress p. 14, 15). The record is silent as to

whether the box was taped shut, however, it is clear

that Trooper Toth had to open the flaps in order to

search the cardboard box. Toth then noticed that the

bag which he removed from the box was tied shut.

(Transcript Motion to Suppress p. 15). Only after the

cardboard box was searched and the bag removed did

Toth notice “two or three tear holes,” in the bag, one of

which he tore open in order to ascertain the contents.

(Transcript - Motion to Suppress p. 15). Contrary to

the parenthetical allegations of the Respondent, there is

absolutely no evidence that Toth ever saw ‘‘stalks of raw

marijuana protruding through holes in the plastie bag.”

(Respondent’s Brief p. 3).

ARGUMENT

It is readily apparent that the Respondent fails to

understand the Fetitioner’s second question presented for

review. The denial of the Petitioner’s motion for supple-

mentation of the record is only a minor aspect aggra-

vating the true issue: whether the Petitioner was afforded

his due process right to an appeal to which he is entitled

under New Jersey law? The Petitioner contends that

where an appellate court, without ever hearing the evi-

dence or observing the demeanor of the witnesses, re-

verses the judgment of the trial court on the basis of

findings of fact made independently of the record below,

controverted by the actual evidence, and from which no

further review is allowed, that Petitioner has thereby

been denied a right to which he is entitled, i.e, a fair

appellate review. To argue that an appellate court can

sua sponte make findings of fact not supported by the

record, thereby reversing the judgment of the trial court

where there is no right to further review and discretion-

ary review is denied, does not raise a federal constitu-

tional error is ludicrous. The enormity of such arbitrary

actions offends the concept of fundamental fairness and

renders the safeguards provided by the right of appellate

review of factual findings pursuant to New Jersey law

a nullity.

Despite the Respondent’s suggestions, in fact, there

was no necessity for Petitioner to impeach Trooper

Toth’s testimony at the suppression hearing with his

testimony at the probable cause hearing because Trooper

Toth’s testimony at both hearings supported the Peti-

tioner’s assertion that the two students had been taken

_ on

from the scene to be released and that the Petitioner

was handcuffed in the police vehicle at the time of the

search of his trunk and its contents, thus removing the

possibility of any so-called exigency. Moreover, Trooper

Toth testified that Mr. Kahlon was cooperative and that

he did not feel any jeopardy. The motion to supplement

the record in the Appellate Division was made solely to

demonstrate the orignal error made at the interlocutory

stage. It must be borne in mind that the trial court ruled

in favor of the Petitioner and suppressed the evidence

and that that finding was therefore cloaked with a pre-

sumption of correctness. Since the Appellate Division

reversed the judgment of the trial court in the instant

case, the case of Wallach v. Williams, 52 N.J. 504 (1968)

relied on by respondent is inapposite.

The supplementation of the Appellate record sought

by Petitioner clearly indicated the injustice done at the

interlocutory appeal level, but whether supplementation

should have been granted or not is only one facet of the

issue. The Petitioner submits that the Appellate Division

was thereby put on notice that it had a duty to re-examine

its erroneous interlocutory independent fact-finding by

an examination of competent evidence already in the

record, if your Petitioner was to be given his opportunity

to prosecute a fair appeal. Instead, the same panel of

the Appellate Division that decided the interlocutory

appeal prosecuted by the State arbitrarily and capricious-

ly granted summary affirmance of your Petitioner’s

Appeal from the final judgment based on the tenuous

principle of judicial convenience — the “law of the case”

doctrine. The Petitioner respectfully submits that this

constitutes a due process violation.

a

In response to the Petitioner’s primary issue, i.e., the

applicability of United States v. Chadwick, 433 U.S. 1

(1977) and Arkansas v. Sanders, 442 U.S. 753 (1979),

the Respondent argues first that the retroactivity issue

was mere dicta, and second, that in any event Sanders

should not apply in this situation. The “facts” relied

on by the Respondent are not supported by the record.

The first “fact” asserted by the respondents is neither

supported by the evidence nor the opinion of the Appellate

Division. The respondent argues that Sanders should not

apply because the flaps of the cardboard box “were not

closed.” (Respondent’s Brief p. 5, Respondent’s Questions

Presented I). The Appellate Division disagreed, finding

rather that the flaps did not completely cover it, but noted

that the opening was covered with green plastic. (Petition

for Certiorari p. 7a). Trooper Toth testified that the

“flaps were such that the box was closed.” (Transcript -

Motion to Suppress p. 14). All that could be seen was

green plastic, (Transcript - Motion to Suppress p. 15,

42) in a cardboard box that was as closed and as sealed

as it could practicably be. Trooper Toth then opened the

closed flaps and searched the interior of the cardboard

box. Toth testified that [all I saw was the square, some-

thing square and plastic around it, and as I looked on

the sides there were” “two or three tear holes in the bag.

The bag was tied shut.” (Transcript - Motion to Suppress

p. 42, 15). Trooper Toth then ripped open one of the

holes and observed marijuana. (Transcript - Motion to

Suppress p. 15).

The tear holes were invisible until after Toth searched

the cardboard box and removed the bag, and there is no

testimony that marijuana was visible until after he had

torn one of the small holes open. The alleged odor of

ati.

marijauna provided no justification for the warrantless

search of the box and could only properly be used as an

averment in an affidavit for a search warrant. United

States v. Chadwick, supra at 5 (trained police dog’s posi-

tive response did not override warrant requirement).

Again, the Petitioner is constrained to note that there

is not one jot of evidence indicating that “stalks of

marihuana” protruded from anywhere. (Respondent’s

Brief p. 5).

The Petitioner respectfully submits the case of Robbins

v. California, ........ — , (No. 80-148, July 1, 1981)

has settled both aspects of the Appellate Division’s treat-

ment of Sanders in favor of the Petitioner. First, Robbins

held Sanders applicable to a search conducted in 1975.

And second, this Honorable Court in Robbins rejected

the so-called doctrine of worthier containers as being

unworkable. Robbins v. California, supra at 29 Cr.L.

3117. As in Robbins, this case involved an opaque green

plastic bag, except that here the bag was further pro-

tected by being encased in an egg crate whose “flaps

were such that the box was closed,” and unlike Robbins,

the box was located in the locked trunk of Petitioner’s

vehicle. As in Robbins, however, visual examination of

the exterior of the box did not reveal the nature of its

contents. (Transcript - Motion to Suppress p. 14). The

Petitioner respectfully proposes that the summary relief

granted the petitioners in Bible, et al. v. Louisiana, ........

— (No. 80-1080, July 2, 1981) would be a just

disposition of the instant Petition.

Wherefore, your Petitioner, Mamoon Rashid Kahlon,

prays this Honorable Court to grant his Petition for

Certiorari and to provide such relief as this Honorable

Court deems fit and proper.

Respectfully submitted,

Micnakl. L. Parirzxer, Lop.

Micuart L. Pritzker

R. Brent Dax I.

134 North LaSalle Street

Suite 2100

Chicago, Illinois 60602

(312) 372-2225

Counsel for Petitioner.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.