Record and brief — Lyon v. California

Supreme Court brief1981

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Yr-~

4

2

fee

bard

*

Ullice- supreme Court, U.S.

In the —— Cou FILED

OF THE JUL 27 1981

United States 1

Lamb L. oi) v AS,

Ocrosrr Term, 1980 CLERK

Raymonp R. Lyon, Marcaret L. Lyon, CHARLAS F. Focerry,

Sretta Focertry, Russert S. Grove, Nancy J. Grove,

Harnotp E. Esricut, In., Katuertne Fam

Esricut, Georce Hitton Epmo:spson, JANET

Louise Epmonpson, Lawrence L. Linpsey, In.,

Rosemary F. Liypsey, Homer M.

Haywarp, Rew W. Dennis, and Tano

Meapows (a California corporation),

Petitioners,

vs.

State or Cauirognia, State Lanps CoMMISSION OF THE

State or CatirorniA and DepaRTMENT OF F'1sH AND

Game or THE State or CALIFORNIA,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF THE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

Epoar B. WasHBURN

One Embarcadero Center

Suite 2407

' San Francisco, CA 94111

(415) 981-2121

Counsel for Petitioners

Of Counsel:

Wasnueurn, Kemp & WacenseiL

Barrara L. GarRLx

Ore Embarcadero Center

Suite 2407

San Francisco, CA 94111

(415) 981-2121

BOWNE-PERNAU WALSH ¢ 190 NINTH ST. © &.F., CA 84108 *¢ (415) 864-2300

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether this Court’s decision in Illinois Central R. R.

v. Illinois, 146 U.S. 387 (1892), decided as a matter of

federal constitutional law that each state’s succession to

and disposition of lands beneath nontidal navigable waters

is subject to the restrictions of the “public trust” doctrine

described in that case.

2. If not, whether the decisions of the California Su-

preme Court which for the first time impose an easement

in favor of the public for navigation, environmental and

recreavional purposes over all lands lying below the high

water mark on navigable lakes and rivers have effected a

taking of private property without payment of compensa-

tion in violation of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments

to the United States Constitution.“

In addition to Raymond R. Lyon, Margaret L. Lyon, Charles F.

Fogerty, Stella Fogerty, Russell S. Grove, Nancy J. Grove, Harold E.

Ebright, Jr., Katherine Fairlie Ebright, George Hilton Edmondson,

Janet Louise Edmondson, Lawrence L. Lindsey, Jr., Rosemary F.

Lindsey, Homer M. Hayward, Reid W. Dennis and Tahoe Meadows

(a California corporation), Tahoe Shorezone Representation (a

Nevada corporation) and the County of Lake were Real Parties in

Interest in the California Supreme Court proceedings. In addition

to State of California, State Lands Commission of the State of

California, and Department of Fish and Game of the State of Cali-

fornia, the respondents include Kenneth Cory, State Controller,

Chairman of the State Lands Commission; Mervyn M. Dymally,

Lieutenant Governor, Commissioner of the State Lands Commis-

sion; Roy M. Bell, Director of Finance, Commissioner of the State

Lands Commission; William F. Northr p, Executive Director of

the State Lands Commission; Evelle J. Younger, Attorney General

of the State of California; and J. F. Trout, Manager, Land Opera-

tions of the Division of State Lands.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions presented

Opinions below

Jurisdiction

Constitutional and statutory provisions involved

Statement

Reasons for granting the writ

Pay ate

13

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases

Page

Anderson v. Trotter, 213 Cal. 414, 2 P.2d 373 (1931) — 6

Appleby v. City of New York, 271 U.S. 364 (1926)

13, 24

Barney v. City of Keokuk, 94 U.S. (4 Otto) 324 (1876)

9 5, 15, 17, 19

Bohn v. Albertson, 107 Cal- App. 2d 738, 238 P. 2d 128

(1951) — 14

Boone v. Kingsbury, 206 Cal. 148, 273 P. 797 (1928) 21

City of Los Angeles v. Aitken, 10 Cal. App. 2d 460, 52

P. 2d 585 (1935) 6

Craig v. White, 187 Cal. 489, 202 P. 648 (1921) 6

Crews v. Jonnson, 202 Cal. App. 2d 256 (1962) 6

Dawson v. Superior Court, 158 Cal. 73, 110 P. 479

(1910) 3

Field Research Corp. v. Superior Court, 71 Cal. 2d 110,

453 P. 2d 747 (1969) —

Genesee Chief v. Fitzhugh, 53 U.S. (12 How.) 443

(1851) 14

Hardin v. Jordan, 140 U.S. 371 (1891) 15, 17

Hitchings v. Del Rio Woods Recreation and Park Dis-

trict, 55 Cal. App. 3d 560 (1976) 14

Hughes v. Washington, 389 U.S. 290 (1967) 23, 24

Illinois Central R. R. v. Illinois, 146 U.S. 387 (1892).

F i, 10, 13, 16, 17, 18, 19

International News Serv. v. Associated Press, 248

U.S. 215 (1918) ................ 23

iv

Tan or AuTHorities Crrep

Cases

Page

Kaiser Aetna v. United States, 444 U.S. 164 (1979) ....22, 23

Lamprey v. State and Metcalf, 52 Minn. 181, 53 N.W.

1139 (1893) 23

Leo Sheep Co. v. United States, 440 U.S. 668 (1979) ....22, 25

Los Angeles Athletic Club v. City of Long Beach, 128

Cal.App. 427, 17 P.2d 1061 (1932) 21

Maginnis v. Hurlbutt, 49 Cal.App. 460, 193 P. 606

(1920) ..... 6

Marks v. Whitney, 6 Cal.3d 251, 491 P.2d 374 (1971)..14, 20

Massachusetts v. State of New York, 271 U.S. 65

(1926) 15

Muhlker v. New York and H. R. Co., 197 U.S. 544

(1905) 24

Newcomb v. City of Newport Beach, 7 Cal.2d 393, 60

P.2d 825 (1936) 21

Oregon ex rel. State Land Board v. Corvallis Sand

& Gravel Co., 429 U.S. 363 (1977) 15, 17, 19, 22

Overstreet v. County of Butte, 57 Cal.2d 504, 370 P.2d

335 (1962) 3

Packer v. Bird, 137 U.S. 661 (1891) 15

People v. California Fish Co., 166 Cal. 576, 138 P. 79

(1913) —

Peopie ex rel. Baker v. Mack, 19 Cal.App.3d 1040

(1971) —

Pollard’s Lessee v. Hagan, 44 U.S. (3 How.) 212 (1845) 5

*

Tasie or Avtuorities Crrep

Cases

Page

Pumpelly v. G.B. & M. Canal Co., 80 U.S. (13 Wall.)

166 (1872) 24

San Francisco Savings Union v. R. G. R. Petroleum

Co., 144 Cal. 134, 77 P. 823 (1904) 23

Tally v. Ganahl, 151 Cal. 418, 90 P. 1049 (1907) — 3

United States v. Gossett, 416 F.2d 565 (9th Cir. 1969) 6

United States v. Lutz, 295 F.2d 736 (5th Cir. 1961) ... 23

United States v. Lynah, 188 U.S. 445 (1903 24

United States v. Pueblo of San Ildefonso, 513 F.2d

1383 (Ct. Cl. 1975) 23

United States v. River Rouge Improv. Co., 269 U.S. 411

(1926) 23

United States v. Title Insurance & Trust Co., 265 U.S.

472 (1924) . 22, 24

Vasquez v. Superior Court, 4 Cal.3d 800, 484 P.2d 964

(1971) 3

Wilson v. Omaha Indian Tribe, 442 U.S. 653 (1979) 17, 19

Yates v. Milwaukee, 77 U.S. (10 Wall.) 497 (1871) ....... 23

Statutes

California Civil Code, Section 830 . 4, 5, 6, 12, 17, 19, 22

Nev. A.B. 234, amending Nev. Rev. Stat. 6 321.595

(1979) 18, 19

28 U.S.C. 512573332 3

Tant or Autuorities Crrep

Other Authorities

Page

1964 Concurrent Resolutions of the California Assem-

bly and Senate

Ops. Cal. Atty. Gen. 3100 at 5-6 (1916) ..............

23 Ops. Cal. Atty. Gen. 97 (1954)

23 Ops. Cal. Attty. Gen. 306 (1954)

30 Ops. Cal. Atty. Gen. (1957)

43 Ops. Cal. Atty. Gen. 291 (1964) 6,

Nev. Op. Atty. Gen. No. 204 (1976) 1

Constitution

United States Constitution:

Fifth Amendment i, 4, 7, 10, 14

Fourteenth Amendment i, 4, 7, 10, 14

2 ee ee 08

No.

In the Supreme Court

OF THE

United States

Octoser Term, 1980

Raymonp R. Lyon, Marcaret L. Lyon, CHARLASs F. Focerry,

Stevia Focerty, Russert S. Grove, Nancy J. Grove,

Harotp E. Esricut, In., Katuertve Fam

Esricut, Georce HILTON EpMonpson, JANET

Louise Epmonpson, Lawzence L. Luypsey, In.,

Rosemary F. Linpsey, Homer M. 7

Haywarp, Rew W. Dennis, and Tanoz

Mrabows (a California corporation),°

Petitioners,

vs.

State or Catirornia, State Lanps CoMMISSION OF THE

Srate or CALWonxA and DepaRTMENT OF FisR AND

GaME or THE State oF CALIFuRNIA,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF THE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

Petitioners Raymond R. Lyon, Margaret L. Lyon (here-

inafter referred to as Lyon“), Charles F. Fogerty, Stella

Fogerty, Russell S. Grove, Nancy J. Grove, Harold E.

Ebright, Jr., Katherine Fairlie Ebright, George Hilton

Edmondson, Janet Louise Edmondson, Lawrence L. Lind-

Tahoe Meadows is a non-profit corporation and has no sub-

sidiaries or affiliates.

2

sey, Jr., Rosemary F. Lindsey, Homer M. Hayward, Reid

W. Dennis, and Tahoe Meadows (hereinafter referred to as

“Fogerty”), pray that a writ of certiorari issue to re-

view the judgments of the Supreme Court of the State of

California entered in these causes on March 20, 1981.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the California Supreme Court (with dis-

senting opinion) entered in State of California v. Superior

Court (Lyon) is reported at 29 Cal.3d 210, 625 P.2d 239

(1981), hereinafter cited as “App. A-1.” The opinion of the

California Supreme Court (with dissenting opinion) en-

tered in State of California v. Superior Court (Fogerty)

is reported at 29 Cal.3d 240, 625 P.2d 256 (1981), herein-

after cited as “App. A-2.” Copies of the opinions and orders

issuing peremptory writs of mandate of the California Su-

preme Court and that court’s denial of Lyon’s and Fo-

gerty’s petitions for rehearing and the decisions of the triai

courts are included in Appendix A.

JURISDICTION

The opinions and orders“ issuing peremptory writs of

mandate by the California Supreme Court were both en-

tered on March 20, 1981. Timely petitions for rehearing

As more fully detailed in the Statement of the Case, infra, the

judgments below both arose from respondents’ filing of petitions

for writs of mandate seeking reversal of the trial court’s orders

granting partial summary judgment in Lyon’s and Fogerty’s favor.

Under California law, the granting of a partial summary judgment

is a nonappealable interlocutory order. However, in recent years,

the California courts have expressly condoned the practice of utiliz-

ing an extraordinary writ procedure to seek immediate appellate

review of such orders. Field Research Corp. v. Superior Court, 71

3

were denied and judgment was entered on April 29, 198

This petition for certiorari was filed within 90 days of that

date. This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1257(3). The federal questions presented for review by

this Court, viz., whether a public trust easement impresses

the beds of all inland waters below high water mark as

a matter of federal constitutional law and, if not, whether

Cal.2d 110, 453 P.2d 747 (1969); Vasquez v. Superior Court, 4 Cal.

3d 800, 484 P.2d 964 (1971).

In providing for this expedited appellate review, the California

courts have equated the use of the petition for writ of mandate in

this context with the traditional proceeding by way of extraordinary

writ. Accordingly, the issuance of a writ of mandamus, along with

a written opinion affirming or overruling a trial court’s interlocutory

order, is res judicata as to any further proceedings in which the

issues decided thereby are raised. Dawson v. Supertor Court, 158

Cal. 73, 110 P. 479 (1910); Overstreet v. County of Butte, 57 Cal.2d

504, 370 P.2d 335 (1962). Further, the appellate court’s decision

will be deemed the “law of the case” and must be adhered to

throughout the subsequent progress of the litigation at trial as well

as the appellate level. Tally v. Ganahl, 151 Cal. 418, 90 P. 1049

(1907).

Consequently, the judgments below by California’s highest court

issuing peremptory writs of mandate directing the trial courts to

vacate their orders granting partial summary judgment and to enter

judgment in respondents’ favor finally resolve the issue of the

boundaries of, and public rights in, the beds of California’s non-

tidal navigable waters. Moreover, even characterizing the writ pro-

ceedings below as in the nature of an interlocutory appeal, the

decisions of the California Supreme Court have in fact disposed of

all of the issues raised by the underlying litigation. The only issue

which was not raised by petitioners’ and respondents’ cross-motions

for partial summary judgment was that of estoppel. However, as

more fully set forth in the Statement of the Case, infra, the Cali-

fornia Supreme Court concluded, as a matter of law, that petitioners

could not pursue relief by way of estoppel. App. A-2, A-42. Accord-

ingly, the decisions below represent a final resolution of the Lyon

and Fogerty actions.

*

4

the California Supreme Court’s action below in imposing

such an easement for the first time constitutes an uncon-

stitutional taking, were first raised in the Lyon and Fogerty

complaints and have been repeated at virtually every stage

of the litigation below.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Section 830 of the California Civil Code provides as

follows:

Except where the grant under which the land is held

indicates a different intent, the owner of the upland,

when it borders on tidewater, takes to ordinary high-

water mark; when it borders upon a navigable lake or

stream, where there is no tide, the owner takes to the

edge of the lake or stream, at low-water mark; when it

borders upon any other water, the owner takes to the

middle of the lake or stream. (Emphasis added.)

The Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution

provides in relevant part as follows:

.; nor shall any person . . . be deprived of life,

liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor

shall private property be taken for public use without

just compensation.

The Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Consti-

tution provides:

. » nor shall any state deprive any person of life,

liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor

deny to any person within iis jurisdiction the equal

protection of the laws.

5

STATEMENT

With this Court’s decision in Pollard’s Lessee v. Hagan,

44 U.S. (3 How.) 212 (1845), it became settled that each

newly admitted state to the Union was entitled to the beds

of its tidal waterbodies by reason of its sovereignty under

the Equal Footing Doctrine. By its decision in Barney v.

City of Keokuk, 94 U.S. (4 Otto) 324 (. 876), this Court ex-

tended state sovereign claims to the beds of navigable non-

tidal waters. However, Barney v. City of Keckuk recognized

the right of each state to develop its own rules governing

ownership of inland waters, including the right of the states

to claim to ordinary high water mark, low water mark or to

relinquish all interests to the upland owners. Id. at 338.

Although tidal and nontidal navigable waters were thereby

accorded similar treatment with respect to claims of sov-

ereign ownership, the distinction that existed at common

law between tidelands,“ which were subject to the public

trust for commerce, navigation and fishery, and inland

waters, which were not, remained.

It is in this setting that California adopted Civil Code

Section 830 in 1872. In relevant part, that section provides

as follows:

Except where the grant under which the land is held

indicates a different intent, the owner of the upland,

.. . when it borders upon a navigable lake or stream,

where there is no tide, . . takes to the edge of the lake

or stream, at low water mark... .

*Tidelands are those lands underlying tidal waters which are sub-

ject to the daily ebb and flow of the tides below the mean high

water mark.

6

Ever since the adoption o, Civil Code Section 830, the

California courts,’ the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals,“

the administrative agencies of the State charged with man-

aging state sovereign lands, as well as the Attorney Gen-

eral of the State of California,’ have consistently recog-

nized that by virtue of that section, California disclaimed

any interest in the beds of its nontidal navigable water-

bodies landward of the ordinary low water mark. The dis-

claimer evidenced by Civil Code Section 830 encompassed

all sovereign claims as to the area between high and low

water marks including the right o impress those lands

with the public trust casement for commerce, navigation

and fishery.

Lyon owns 800 acres of property bordering Clear Lake—

a navigable nontidal waterbody located in Lake County,

*Maginnis o. Hurlbutt, 49 Cal. App. 490, 193 P. 606 (1920); Craig

b. White, 187 Cal. 489, 202 P. 648 (1921); Anderson b. Trotter, 213

Cal. 414, 2 P.2d 373 (103); City of Los Angeles v. Aitken, 10 Cal.

App.2d 460, 52 P.2d 585 (1935); Crews v. Johnson, 202 Cal. App. 2d

256 (1962).

United States v. Gossett, 416 F.2d 565 (9th Cir. 1969).

In 1964, for example, the California legislature determined that

it was “necessary to establish the boundary of the bed [of Clear

Ops. Cal. Atty. Gen. 291 (1964), a copy of which is included

as Appendix C; 30 Ops. Cal. Asty. Gen. 262 (1957); 23 Ops. Cal.

Atty. Gen. 306 (1954); 23 Ops. Cz]. Atty. Gen. 97 (1954); Ops. Cal.

Atty. Gen. 3100 at 5-6 (1916).

7

California. That portion of his property here at issue en-

compasses approximately 500 acres lying between the ordi-

nary high and low water marks of Clear Lake. Lyon, seek-

ing to return that area to its f reviously reclaimed status,

applied to the State of California in 1974 for a permit to

repair a levee. The State notified Lyon that it would not

process his application because it now claimed ownership

of the beds of all nontidal waterbodies to the ordinary high

water mark in its sovereign capacity.

Lyon ‘hereupon filed an actior in Lake County on

June 29, 1976, against the State and various of its agen-

cies seeking to quiet title to the entire extent of his prop-

erty and for declaratory relief.“ The State of California

cross-claimed against Lyon to quiet title to those portions

of the property lying between the natural high and low

water marks and seeking a declaratory judgment that such

property was subject to a public trust easement for com-

"By the Third Cause of Action of Lyon’s Complaint to Quiet Title,

violation of Amendments V and XIV to the United States Constitu-

tion was expliciily alleged:

I. .. Such claim by defendants State of California and County

of Lake deprives the plaintiffs of their property without due

process of law and denies plaintiffs the equal protection of the

law and is in violation of Amendments V and XIV of the

United States Constitution and Sections 1, 11, 13 and 14 of

Article I of the California Constitution.

n. de tate

Lands, Fish and Game, and County of Lake are seeking to take

plaintiffs’ property without just compensation having first been

paid in violation of Article I, Section 14 of the California Con-

stitution and Amendment V of the United States Constitution.

Lyon Complaint to Quiet Title, p. 12, lines 7-12; 18-23.

merce, navigation and fishery comparable to that which,

under California law, existed only over tidelands.

Lyon, the State and the County of Lake as intervenor,’

all filed motions for partial summary judgment in support

of their respective claims. Petitioner Lyon’s Motion for

Partial Summary Judgment urged, inter alia, that Califor-

nia law had never recognized a public trust easement in

the beds of its inland waters. Lyon Memorandum of Points

and authorities in Support of Motion for Partial Summary

Judgment, pp. 32-34. Conversely, by their Motion for Par-

tial Summary Adjudication, respondents argued that “fed-

eral common law” governs ownership of, and public inter-

ests in, lands underlying nontidal navigable waters:

It is only reasonable for California to look to the

United States Supreme Court for its interpretation

of the law as it should be applied to the navigable

waters of this country. Not only has that court enun-

ciated a consistent rule on the subject, but the United

States Government is California’s antecedent Ameri-

can Government.

Respondents’ Memorandum of Points and Authorities in

Support of Motion for Partial Summary Adjudication and

Injunction, pp. 40-41.

The trial court resolved all questions of law in Lyon’s

favor, concluding that no portion of Lyon’s property lying

landward of the last natural ordinary low water mark at

Clear Lake is, or ever was, sovereign property of the State

. ‘ *

The County of Lake’s complaint in intervention supported Lyon’s

claim of ownership to low water mark.

9

of California. Although recognizing a public right of navi-

gation over the waters of Clear Lake, the trial court further

concluded that no portion of the property at issue is, or

ever was, impressed with a public trust easement.’

On January 19, 1979, the State filed a Petition for

Writ of Mandate with the California Supreme Court

seeking to vacate the trial court’s order and to have judg-

ment entered in its favor. Following transfer of the peti-

tion (on the Supreme Court’s own motion) to the Cali-

fornia Court of Appeal, the First Appellate District issued

its order denying the requested relief. The State there-

upon petitioned the California Supreme Court for a

hearing which was granted on April 26, 1979.

During the progress of petitioner Lyon’s litigation, the

Attorney General of the State of California issued a letter

opinion in March, 1977, in which he purported to “clarify”

that office’s position with respect to litigation pending

between the state and private owners (including the Lyon

action) regarding sovereign claims to the beds of navi-

gable nontidal waters.“ While expressly acknowledging

that his office had taken a contrary position in the past,“

*For a discussion of the distinction between the right of naviga-

tion and the public trust easement, see note 19, infra. A copy of the

trial court’s order in Lyon is included as Appendix A-3.

% copy of the March 8, 1977, letter opinion is included as

Appendix D.

“Prior to Attorney General Younger’s 1977 letter opinion (which

was specifically withheld from publication in light of pending litiga-

tion), the agencies of the State of California responsible for admin-

istering state lands had relied on Attorney General Stanley J. Mosk’s

1964 opinion (43 Ops. Cal. Atty. Gen. 291) which concluded that

Civil Code § 830 represented the State of California’s election to

10

Attorney General Evelle J. Younger concluded that the

State’s current claims regarding ownership of, and public

trust interests in, the beds of navigable lakes and rivers

up to high water mark was supported by a “reanalysis”

of relevant authority. Almost immediately thereafter, the

State Lands Commission—the agency of the State respon-

sible for administering state sovereign land—adopted a

resolution requesting the staff to record “notices” pro-

claiming that the State claimed title to all property extend-

ing between high and low water on all navigable lakes and

rivers and that such area was subject to a highly restrictive

public trust easement.

Petitioners Fogerty, et al., all of whom own property

bordering Lake Tahoe, thereupon filed an action on March

30, 1977, in Placer County, to quiet title and for declara-

tory relief and further seeking to enjoin the State of

California from recording notices, other than a notice of

lis pendens, claiming any ownership or public trust interest

in the property lying between high and low water mark

on Lake Tahoe.” The trial court’s October 17, 1977, order

granting petitioners’ request for the issuance of a pre-

relinquish any claim of sovereign ownership of the beds of inland

waters landward of low water mark. A copy of the 1964 Attorney

Generals Opinion is included as Appendix C.

The allegations set forth in Lyon’s Complaint as to the State's

violation of Amendments V and XIV to the United States Constitu-

tion (see note 7, supra) were repeated in substantially identical

form in Fogerty’s Complaint for Declaratory Relief (Complaint, p.

12, lines 20-26; p. 13, lines 1-7). In its First Amended Answer to

First Amended Complaint, respondents incorporated as Exhibit A

Attorney General Younger’s March 8, 1977, letter opinion (App. D)

which in pertinent part relies on Illinois Central R.R. v. Illinois,

146 U.S. 387 (1892), as the sole authority for the State’s assertion

that the lands in question are subject to a public trust easement.

11

liminary injunction was appealed by the State of Cali-

fornia on December 2, 1977. On March 28, 1978, the Court

of Appeal for the Third District issued its opinion uphold-

ing the trial court’s issuance of the preliminary injunction

order.“

Shortly thereafter, Fogerty and the State filed cross-

motions for partial summary judgment raising substan-

tially the same issues urged in Lyon.“ In addition, the

State in Fogerty contended that its sovereign interest in

the bed of Lake Tahoe was expanded by the artificial

raising of the lake level despite the fact that the affected

landowners would not be compensated for the property

inundated by the increased water level. The trial court

denied the State’s motion in its entirety and concluded

as a matter of law that no portion of Lake Tahoe land-

ward of the last natural ordinary low water mark is or

ever was sovereign property of the State of California

and that mo portion of such property is or ever was

swhject to the tidelands public trust easement.”

The State of California petitioned the California

Supreme Court r a writ of mandate in Fogerty on

1A copy of the Court of Appeal’s opinion is included as Appen-

dix B.

Fogerty s Motion for Partial Summary Judgment reiterated the

views expressed in Lyon’s motion, viz., that California had never

elected to impress the beds of its inland waters with a public trust

easement, and further argued that the State’s ownership and public

trust claims to high water mark, if successful, would constitute a

taking without just compensation. Fogerty Memorandum of Points

and Authorities in Support of Motion for Partial Summary Judg-

ment, pp. 32-47.

10A copy of the trial court's order granting Fogerty’s Motion for

Partial Summary Judgment is included as Appendix A-4.

12

July 2, 1979, seeking to have the judgment of the trial

court set aside and judgment entered in its favor. The

‘California Supreme Court issued alternative writs of

mandate in both Lyon and Fogerty on May 22, 1980, and

both cases were consolidated for hearing.“ By its decision

below, entered on March 20, 1981, the California Supreme

Court directed the issuance of peremptory writs of man-

date directing the trial courts in Lyon and Fogerty to

vacate their respective orders granting petitioners’ motions

for partial summary judgment and to enter judgment in

favor of respondents.

In Lyon, the California Supreme Court concluded that,

although petitioners’ title extended to the low water mark

on Clear Lake by virtue of consistent administrative con-

struction of Civil Code Section 830 to that effect, the area

below high water mark was retroactively impressed with

the tidelands public trust easement."

In Fogerty, the California Supreme Court adopted its

decision in Lyon, and further held the boundary between

Over twenty briefs were filed in the California Supreme Court

consolidated proceedings by petitioners, respondents and numerous

amici curiae. At each stage of those proceedings, petitioners re-

peated the positions first articulated in their respective complaints

and subsequently urged as the basis for their Motions for Partial

Summary Judgment.

‘By its opinion in Lyon, the California Supreme Court expressly

passed on the taking question:

Lyon’s final argument is that his ownership of the Anderson

Marsh to low water free of the public trust is a “rule of prop-

erty” and that a determination applying a trust to such prop-

erty would accomplish a taking of private property in violation

of federal and state constitutional provisions. He relies upon

cases which recognize the protection of property rights afforded

13

sovereign and private interests at Lake Tahoe to be the

artificially raised low water mark. Finally, the court held

that the State could not, as a matter of law, be estopped

to assert the existence of the public trust easement as to

lands lying between high and low water mark, despite

its acknowledgment that the issue of estoppel was not

properly before it. App. A-2, A-42.

Petitions for rehearing were filed by petitioners in both

Lyon and Fogerty on April 3, 1981, and were denied by

the California Supreme Court on April 29, 1981.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The California Supreme Court, by its decisions below,

has construed this Court’s ruling in Illinois Central R. R. v.

Illinois, 146 U.S. 387 (1892), as imposing a restraint on

the ability of each state to develop its own rules of prop-

erty governing the beds of its inland waters as a matter

of federal constitutional law. In petitioners’ view, Illinois

Central is simply a construction of Illinois law.” Accord-

ingly, the California Supreme Court’s reliance on

Illinois Central as the sole authority for impressing, for

the first time, all riparian lands below present high water

mark with a highly restrictive public trust easement is an

erroneous reading of that case. Further, the action of the

by the federal and state Constitutions. [Citations.] We doubt

whether any failure of the state to previously assert its trust

rights in the lands below high water [citations] constitutes a

“rule of property.”

App. A-l, A-

This Court has, in fact, characterized its decision in Illinois

Central as “necessarily a statement of Illinois law.” Appleby v.

City of New York, 271 U.S. 364, 395, n. 13 (1926). .

14

court below in thus subjecting these lands to an easement in

favor of the public has effected a taking of petition-

ers’ property without payment of compensation in vio-

lation of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the

United States Constitution.

1, At the time of California’s admission to the Union

in 1850, the English common law concept that only tidal

waters could be navigable at law prevailed in this country.

Likewise, the incidents of the common law pub“ rust

for commerce, navigation and fishery were cou. .ed to

tidal waterbodies. The only public interest recognized in

nontidal waters at that time was the right of navigation

which allowed members of the public to pass over navi-

gable waters as and when they were capable of sustaining

navigation.” In 1851, however, this Court expanded the

concept of navigability from its common law roots and

held that nontidal waters which were navigable in fact

would be considered navigable in law for purposes of

admiralty jurisdiction. Genesee Chief v. Fitzhugh, 53 U.S.

(12 How.) 443 (1851).

For a comparison between this public right of navigation which

exists over nontidal waters when and if they are capable of sus-

taining navigation and the public trust easement which encumbers

lands which at any time since 1850 were, or are, covered by tidal

waters are impressed, see Bohn v. Albertson, 107 Cal.App.2d 738,

238 P.2d 128 (1951) (right of navigation); Hitchings v. Del Rio

Woods Recreation and Park District, 55 Cal.App.3d 560 (1976)

(right of navigation); People ex rel. Baker v. Mack, 19 Cal.App.3d

1040 (1971) (right of navigation) and Marks v. Whitney, 6 Cal.3d

251, 491 P.2d 374 (1971) (tidelands public trust) and People v.

California Fish Co., 166 Cal. 576, 138 P. 79 (1913) (tidelands pub-

lic trust).

15

It was not until 1876 that this Court ruled on the

validity of a state’s sovereign title claims to the beds of

inland waters. In Barney v. City of Keokuk, 94 U.S. (4 Otte)

324 (1876), this Court upheld the right of Iowa to claim the

beds of its inland waters to high water mark. In recogni-

tion, however, of the disparate rules which the respective

states had already adopted at the time of its decision,

this Court explicitly refrained from imposing a doctrine

which might unconstitutionally interfere with established

property rights:

Whether, as rules of property, it would now be safe to

change these doctrines where they have been applied

.. is for the several states themselves to determine.

If they choose to resign to the riparian proprietor

rights which properly belong to them in their sover-

eign capacity, it is not for others to raise objections.

Id. at 328.

In short, Barney v. City of Keokuk judicially sanctioned

established patterns of ownership to lands underlying

nontidal navigable waters including the right of the states

to claim the full incidents of sovereign ownership to ordi-

nary high water mark, low water mark or not at all.

Although the opinion is silent on the issue, it is to be pre-

sumed that the states were similarly free to impress those

lands as to which they asserted sovereign title claims with

an easement in favor of the public if they so chose. That it

was within the exclusive province of each state to fashion

its own rules governing inland waters has been repeatedly

and consistently confirmed by this Court,” and is vividly

See, e.g., Packer v. Bird, 137 U.S. 661, 663 (1891); Hardin v.

Jordan, 140 U.S. 371, 382 (1891); Massachusetts v. State of New

York, 271 U.S. 65, 93 (1926); Oregon ex rel. State Land Board v.

Corvallis Sand & Gravel Co., 429 U.S. 363 (1977).

16

illustrated by the widely disparate complex of rules

which have evolved in the respective states concerning

ownership of, and public rights in, the underlying lands.”

In its decision below, the California Supreme Court

held that this Court’s ruling in Illinois Central R.R. v.

Illinois, 146 U.S. 387 (1892), established, as a matter

of federal constitutional law, a uniform rule of property

imposing a highly restrictive public trust easement in

favor of the State over all lands lying below the high

water mark whether held in private or federal ownership.

California had not previously sought to apply the public

trust principles described in Illinois Central to inland

waters, and the decisions of the court below were plainly

predicated upon the mistaken belief that Illinois Central

*1At the present time, only nine states claim title to the beds of

navigable lakes and rivers up to the high water mark; four states

claim to high water on lakes and recognize private ownership of

rivers; twenty-two states claim only to low water; nine make no

claim at all; and two claim to low water on lakes and permit pri-

vate ownership of rivers. Those states which have adopted rules of

property which impress nontidal water with an interest comparable

to the public trust (Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Kansas, Nevada

and, possibly, Idaho, Michigan and Ohio) have all limited the

extent of their trust claims to the same boundary as their sovereign

title claims. Of those jurisdictions, only Arkansas, Florida and

Kansas impress lands up to the high water mark with the public

trust. All other “public trust jurisdictions” only claim sovereign

ownership to low water and limit the incidents of the trust to low

water. The vast majority of jurisdictions, however, make no pre-

tension of possessing public trust interests in the beds of inland

waters whatsoever but rather limit such interests to tidelands. For

a discussion of the law of each state, see App. B, A-77 to A-82.

17

represents a rule of federal constitutional law which ap-

plies to all navigable waters throughout the country:

In our view, Illinois Central Railrocu Company v.

Illinois . . . settled the issue. It held very clearly that

the applicability of the public trust doctrine does not

turn upon whether a body of water is subject to the

ebb and flow of the tide, but upon whether it is

_ navigable in fact.

App. A-1, A-21.

XN

In the view of the California Supreme Court, then, IIli-

nois Central absolutely restricts each state’s ability to de-

velop rules of property governing lands underlying the

nontidal navigable waters within its borders. Petitioners

submit that the decision of the court below and its con-

struction of Illinois Central is in direct conflict with this

Court’s repeated adherence to the rule first announced in

Barney v. City of Keokuk, 94 U.S. (4 Otto) 324 (1876), that

each state was free to determine what sovereign interests, if

any, it chose to assert in the beds of its navigable lakes

and streams. The rule of Barney v. City of Keokuk was

reaffirmed by this Court in Hardin v. Jordan, 140 U.S. 371

(1891); Oregon ex rel. State Land Bd. v. Corvallis Sand 4

Gravel Co., 429 U.S. 363 (1977); and, most recently, in

Wilson v. Omaha Indian Tribe, 442 U.S. 653 (1979). Peti-

tioners willingly acknowledge that it was properly within

the State of California’s prerogative to have exercised the

full potential of its sovereign interests in its inland waters

at the time of its admission to the Union. However, as

evidenced by its adoption of Civil Code Section 830 in 1872,

California explicitly chose not to do so.

18

If the California Supreme Court’s interpretation of IIli-

nois Central is correct, the vast majority of states in this

country have adopied rules of property governing their

inland navigable waters in direct contravention of this

federal constitutional mandate. As a result, over forty

states will be constrained to retroactively impose a restric-

tive public trust easement over all lands underlying their

nontidal waters waterward of high water mark where no

sovereign interest had theretofore existed or been claimed.

Although a handful of states have imposed an interest

comparable to the public trust in the beds of its inland

waters, no state has attempted to impose such an ease-

ment landward of its sovereign title claims.“ Thus, hun-

dreds of thousands of riparian and littoral property

owners’ good faith reliance on the fact that their title

is held free of a public trust easement equivalent in force

and scope to that which impresses tidelands, will be irrev-

ocably and unconstitutionally impeached. If this Court

were to decline to review the decision of the California

Supreme Court, it is to be expected that the success of

the State of California’s claims will encourage other

jurisdictions to initiate similar litigation throughout the

country.”

See note 21, supra.

By way of example, the State of Nevada had previously at-

tempted to assert sovereign claims in the bed of Lake Tahoe land-

ward of low water mark (which had theretofore been accepted as

the boundary between state and private interests) in much the

same way California initiated its recently asserted claims as to

ownership of, and public trust interests in, the shoreline of inland

waters. Nev. Op. Att'y Gen., No. 204 (1976). Nevada’s rush to

appropriate private lands was abruptly halted by legislation which

statutorily confirmed a low water boundary at Lake Tahoe. Nev.

19

With the limited exceptions set forth in Oregon ex rel.

State Land Bd. v. Corvallis Sand d Gravel Co., 429 US.

363 (1977), and Wilson v. Omaha Indian Tribe, 442 US.

653 (1979), this Court has always adhered to the principle

that matters of property law, particularly as they apply

to the beds of navigable waters, are within the exclusive

purview of the respective states. Corvallis makes clear

that this right of the states is a constitutional guarantee

protected by the Equal Footing Doctrine. The decision of

the California Supreme Court below in construing Illinois

Central, 146 U.S. 387 (1892), as imposing a federal con-

stitutional restriction on the alienability of lands under-

lying nontidal waters, places this fundamental right of the

states in jeopardy.

In order to avert the confusion, expense and drastic

interference with the stability of land titles which the

decisions elow will engender, this Court should review

the reach of its decision in Illinois Central, 146 U.S. 387

(1892), in light of the actions taken by the State of Cali-

fornia, among others, in formulating rules of property

governing land below high water mark on navigable lakes

and streams in reliance on the principles set forth in

Barney v. City of Keokuk, 94 U.S. (4 Otto) 324 (1876).

A.B. 234, amending Nev.Rev.Stat. § 321.595 (1979). Following the

California Supreme Court’s decisions below, however, the Attorney

General’s Office of the State of Nevada has indicated that it will

pursue litigation challenging the constitutionality of A.B. 234.

Similarly, petitioners have been informed that the State of North

Dakota, which has a statute substantially identical to California

Civil Code § 830, is in the process of initiating litigation asserting

public trust and sovereign ownership interests up to the ordinary

high water mark in the beds of its inland waters.

2. The effect of impressing the lands in question—which

are dry virtually all of the year—with a public trust ease-

ment below high water mark is to convert such lands to

public property. The California Supreme Court concluded

its opinion in Lyon with the remark, [wle emphasize that

Lyon is not deprived of the use of the lands between low

and high water, and that he may utilize them in any manner

not incompatible with the public’s interest in the property.”

(Emphasis added.) App. A-2, A-29. To be charitable, this

statement is a less-than-adequate characterization of the

impact of the court’s decisions. Indeed, a review of the

California cases interpreting the tidelands trust doctrine,

which has now been held to attach to lands fronting on

nontidal lakes and streams, reveals that the State possesses

virtually unfettered discretion in dictating the uses to

which Lyon’s property may be put. The State’s options

range from prohibiting any use by Lyon to actually oceu-

pying the property to promote any of a vast array of

public purposes.

Under the tidelands trust doctrine, the State could desig-

nate Lyon’s property as open space so as to preserve the

land in its current condition. Marks v. Whitney, 6 Cal.3d

251, 259-260, 491 P.2d 374 (1971), one of the more recent

California decisions discussing the nature of the public’s

rights in tidelands, emphasizes the propriety of this course

of action:

There is a growing public recognition that one of the

most important public uses of the tidelands—a use en-

compassed within the tidelands trust—-is a preserva-

tion of those lands in their natural state, so that they

may serve as ecological units for scientific study, as

21

open space, and as environments which provide food

and habitat for birds and marine life, and which fa-

vorably affect the scenery and climate of the area. It is

not necessary to here define precisely all the public

uses which encumber tidelands.

Similarly, the State could appropriate Lyon’s property

for a wide variety of public uses. These uses have been held

to include the right to excavate or make harbor improve-

ments, without the payment of compensation, Newcomb v.

City of Newport Beach, 7 Cal.2d 393, 60 P.2d 825 (1936),

and the right to explore for and produce oil, gas and other

minerals. Boone v. Kingsbury, 206 Cal. 148, 273 P. 797

(1928). Under the tidelands doctrine, the state could im-

prove Mr. Lyon’s backyard for public playgrounds and

parks. Los Angeles Athletic Club v. City of Long Beach,

128 Cal.App. 427, 17 P.2d 1061 (1932).

The decision below affects not only petitioners’ property,

but also that of all owners of land bordering the more than

4,000 miles of shoreline on California’s navigable lakes

and rivers. Approximately one-half of these lands are

owned by the federal government. To detail the variety of

uses to which these lands are put is to capsulize the devel-

opment of the interior of the State. Settlement and develop-

ment of California’s noncoastal areas has been, almost with-

out exception, along the shores of its many navigable lakes

and rivers. The area between high and low water along the

rivers of the San Joaquin and Sacramento Valleys, for

example, which historically have flooded annually, have

been reclaimed and now constitute some of the most pro-

ductive agricultural land in the world. .

22

_ Particularly in light of the uses to which these lands

have been put in reliance on Section 830, the decisions

below go well beyond the recognized power of a state court

to reverse or modify prior decisions. They represent an

abrupt change in the real property law of California im-

pressing a highly restrictive easement over the property of

shoreline owners. No California decision had heretofore

even intimated that the public trust easement might some

day be applied to the area between high and low water

marks on lakes and rivers, and indeed the court concedes

that even the State had never before asserted that these

lands were anything but private property. App. A-1, A-27.

The California Supreme Court has ignored that caution

often repeated by this Court that “[s]ubstantive rules gov-

erning the law of real property are peculiarly subject to

the principle of stare decisis.” Oregon ex rel. State Land

Bd. v. Corvallis Sand d Gravel Co., 429 U.S. 363, 381

(1977); Leo Sheep Co. v. United States, 440 U.S. 668, 687-

88 (1979); United States v. Title Insurance d Trust Co.,

265 U.S. 472, 486-87 (1924).

The action of the California Supreme Court below has

effected a taking, with neither due process nor the tender

of just compensation, of two of the most essential and val-

uable elements of the shore front property affected by its

decision—the right to the exclusive use of the property and

the quality of being riparian.

Last term in Kaiser Aetna v. United States, 444 U.S. 164,

179-80 (1979), Justice Rehnquist wrote for the Court:

In this case, we hold that the “right to exclude,” so

universally held to be a fundamental element of the

23

property right, falls within this category of interests

that the government cannot take without compensation.

See also United States v. Pueblo of San Ildefonso, 513 F.2d

1383, 1394 (Ct. Cl. 1975); United States v. Lutz, 295 F.2d

736, 740 (5th Cir. 1961) ; International News Serv. v. Asso-

ciated Press, 248 U.S. 215, 250 (1918) (Brandeis, J., dis-

senting). By holding that members of the public have the

right to use the dry land area between high and low water

marks for a wide variety of purposes, the California Su-

preme Court has in the same manner as the Government in

Kaiser Aetna confiscated the right of exclusive use.

Also taken from petitioners is an equally important and

valuable property right—the quality of being riparian.

Since the lands in question are dry the majority of the year,

the plain effect of the California Supreme Court’s decision

is to sever riparian lands from the water by creating a strip

of public land between high and low water. This riparian

character of the land has been said to be the “. . . most

valuable feature of [the] property... Hughes v. Wash-

ington, 389 U.S. 290, 293 (1967). See also Lamprey v.

State and Metcalf, 52 Minn. 181, 53 N.W. 1139 (1893);

United States v. River Rouge Improv. Co., 269 U.S. 411, 419

(1926) ; Yates v. Milwaukee, 77 U.S. (10 Wall.) 497 (1871);

San Francisco Savings Union v. R. G. R. Petroleum Co.,

144 Cal. 134, 77 P. 823 (1904).

The extent to which the California Supreme Court has

sanctioned the State’s interference with private and fed-

eral riparian property rights is magnified by its holding

that the State’s sovereign interests may be increased by

an artificial raising of the water level at Lake Tahoe

24

thereby converting formerly private property into sov-

ereigu lands. The taking of property in this fashion has

been consistently prohibited by this Court where it is not

accompanied by payment of just compensation. Pumpelly

v. G. B. & M. Canal Co., 80 U.S. (13 Wall.) 166 (1872);

United States v. Lynah, 188 U.S. 445 (1903).

It is axiomatie that a state may not acquire private prop-

erty for public use by the expedient of declaring a change

in the law, either by legislative action or by judicial deci-

sion. Justice Stewart in his concurring opinion in Hughes v.

Washington, 389 U.S. 290, 296-97 (1967), expressed the

principle as follows:

To the extent that the decision of the Supreme Court

of Washington on that issue arguably conforms to rea-

sonable expectations, we must of course accept it as

conclusive. But to the extent that it constitutes a

sudden change in state law, unpredictable in terms of

the relevant precedents, no such deference would be

appropriate. For a State cannot be permitted to defeat

the constitutional prohibition against taking property

without due process of law by the simple device of as-

serting retroactively that the property it has taken

never existed at all. Whether the decision here worked

an unpredictable change in state law thus inevitably

presents a federal question for the determination of

this Court. [Citations.] The Washington court insisted

that its decision was “not startling”. [Citation.] What

is at issue here is the accuracy of that characterization.

See also Muhlker v. New York and II. R. Co., 197 U.S. 544

(1905) ; United States v. Title Insurance and Trust Co., 265

U.S. 472, 486-87 (1924); Appleby v. City of New York,

25

271 U.S. 364 (1926); Leo Sheep Co. v. United States, 440

U.S. 668, 682-83 (1979).

The issues raised by the California Supreme Court’s de-

cisions in these cases can be ultimately resolved ou y by this

Court. A review of the decisions at this time would go far

toward restoring stability to land titles in California and,

indeed, throughout the country.

Respectfully submitted,

Ebdanx B. WasHBuRN

Counsel for Petitioners

Of Counsel:

Wasnbunx, Kemp & Wacensei.

BannARA L. GarRLx

81-163~ |. Fil

No.

*

*

>t

1

JUL 27 1981

VERE ep nie VOUT, Us,

A

—

In the Supreme Co —

OF THE

United States

Octoser Term, 1980

Raymonp R. Lyon, Marcarer L. Lyon,

CALs F. Focerty, STELLA Focerry,

Russzll. S. Grove, Nancy J. Grove, HAnOl E. Esrient, Jr.,

KatHerine Fam Esricut, Georce Hicton Epmonpson,

Janet Lovise Epmonpson, Lawrence L. Lixpsey, In.,

Rosemary F. Linpsey, Homer M. Haywarp, Rem W. Dennis,

and Tanoz Meapows (a California corporation)

Petitioners,

vs.

State or Cauirornia, State Lanps Commission

or THE Strate or Cauirornia and DepaRTMENT

or Fin anp Game or THe State or Cairornia,

Respondents.

APPENDIX TO PETITION

FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

Epear B. Wasusurn

One Embarcadero Center

Suite 2407

San Francisco, CA 94111

(415) 981-2121

Counsel for Petitioners

Of Counsel:

Wasusurn, Kempe & WaGENsEIL

Barsara L. GaTeiy

One Embarcadero Center

Suite 2407

San Francisco, CA 94111

(415) 981-2121

BOWNE-PERNAU WALSH * 190 NINTH GT. © &.F.. CA 84103 © (415) 864-2900

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Appendix A-1: Lyon opinion A- 1

Appendix A-2: Fogerty opinion A-40

Appendix A-3: Trial court’s order in Lyon .................... A-54

Appendix A-4: Trial eourt’s order in Fogerty .............. A-57

Appendix B: Opinion of the California Court of

Appeal, Third Appellate District in Fogerty ............ A-60

Appendix C: Opinion of Attorney General Stanley J.

. ———— A-83

Appendix D: Letter opinion of Attorney General

Evelle J. Younger . * A-99

A-

APPENDIX A-1

In The Supreme Court of the State of California

[S. F. No. 23981, Mar. 20, 1981.]

THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA et al., Petitioners, v.

THE SUPERIOR COURT OF LAKE COUNTY, Respon-

dent; RAYMOND R. LYON et al., Real Parties in Interest.

OPINION

MOSE, J.—In City of Berkeley v. Superior Court (1980)

26 Cal.3d 515 [162 Cal.Rptr. 327, 606 P.2d 362], we

reaffirmed the ancient doctrine that tidelands—lands

between the lines of mean high tide and mean low tide—

are owned by the public, that the state holds these lands

in trust for the people for their use for commerce, naviga-

tion, fishing and other purposes, and that this trust interest

is retained even if the title to tidelands has been conveyed

to private persons, unless the conveyance has been made

to promote the purposes of the trust.

The present case also concerns lands along the shoreline,

but the issue here is the boundary between state and

private ownership in non-tidal, navigable lakes and streams

between high and low water, i.e., lands alternately covered

and uncovered by water as the level of the lake rises and

falls with the seasons. The Attorney General, representing

the People, claims that these lands are owned by the state,

which acquired title thereto by virtue of its sovereignty

upon admission to th» Union, that they have not been

conveyed to the owners of the lands along the shoreline,

and that even if such conveyances have been made, the

A-2

lands in dispute are subject to the trust described in City

of Berkeley. |

Raymond R. Lyon and Margaret L. Lyon, real parties

in interest (hereafter called Lyon) own 800 acres along

the shore of Clear Lake in Lake County, a navigable body

of water with an area of about 64 square miles. The

portion of the property involved in the present dispute

consists of more than 500 acres of marshland at the south-

ern end of the lake, known as the Anderson Marsh, most

of which is covered by water at certain times of the year.

Lyon’s predecessors in interest purchased the property

from the state under patents issued between 1850 and 1906.

These grants did not specify the waterward boundary of

the land conveyed. Lyon sought to develop the property

and applied for a permit to repair a levee for the purpose

of reclaiming a portion of the marsh. The Fish and Game

Commission notified him that it could not process his

application for a permit because the State of California

claimed ownership of the portion of the marsh which

extends below the high water mark.

Lyon filed an action against the state and various of its

agencies,’ seeking to quiet title to the marsh, and for

declaratory relief. He relied, inter alia, upon section 830

of the Civil Code.“ The section, which was adopted in 1872,

provides “Except where the grant under which the land

is held indicates a different intent, the owner of the

Lyon joined the Department of Fish and Game and the State

Lands Commission in the action. The commission has jurisdiction

over the beds of navigable waters owned by the state or in which

the state has an interest. (Pub. Resources Code, § 6301.)

All references are to the Civil Code unless otherwise noted.

A-3

upland, when it borders on tide-water, takes to ordinary

high-water mark; when it borders upon a navigable lake

or stream, where there is no tide, the owner takes to the

edge of the lake or stream, at low-water mark; when it

borders upon any other water, the owner takes to the

middle of the lake or stream.”

The People filed a cross-complaint to quiet title in the

state to the portion of the Anderson Marsh between high

and low water and for declaratory relief. The County of

Lake intervened in the action in its capacity as grantee

in trust of the state’s interest in the lands underlying the

lake. (Stats. 1973, ch. 639, §1, p. 1165.) The county sup-

ported Lyon’s claim that he owns the property to the line

of low water.

Lyon, the county, and the People, all moved for partial

summary judgment based on their respective claims. The

trial court ruled in favor of Lyon and the county (here-

after sometimes collectively referred to as Lyon) ; it deter-

mined that no portion of the Anderson Marsh lying land-

ward of the ordinary low water mark of Clear Lake is

sovereign property of the state or subject to a common

law public trust, but that the waters of the lake are

impressed with a public servitude so that when the water

rises above the low water mark, the public has the right to

navigate between that line and the ordinary high water

mark. The People seek a writ of mandate to compel the

trial court to vacate its order, and to grant the People’s

motion for partial summary judgment.

The case involves issues which are of vast importance to

the general public as well as to the owners of land bordering

A4

upon navigable lakes and streams. The significance of these

issues has generated extensive briefs by amici curiae,*

and their analyses and arguments have been of consider-

able assistance to the court. No less than 4,000 miles of

shoreline along 34 navigable lakes and 31 navigable rivers

in the state are involved. Substantial areas of land will be

affected by our decision; at Clear Lake alone, there is a

difference of 5,000 acres in the surface area of the lake

between high and low water, and the Anderson Marsh

constitutes one-half of the remaining fresh water marsh

at Clear Lake. Lands of the type involved in this proceed-

ing constitute a resource which is fast disappearing in

California; they are of great importance for the ecology,

and for the recreational needs of the residents of the state.

Lyon’s claim to the fee ownership of Anderson Marsh

to the low water line is based on the following reasoning:

California never acquired title to the beds underlying

navigable nontidal waters above low tide. The United

States Supreme Court has made it plain that the owner-

ship of such lands is a matter of state rather than federal

law. (Hardin v. Jordan (1891) 140 U.S. 371, 382 [35 L.Ed.

428, 433, 11 S.Ct. 808]; Barney v. Keokuk (1876) 94 U.S.

324, 338 [24 L.Ed. 224, 228].) The states exercised their

options with regard to ownership of such land by adopting

*The Department of Water Resources has filed an amicus brief

in support of the People, as have the Sierra Club and the Natural

Resources Defense Council (joint brief) and the Audubon Society

and Friends of the Earth (joint brief). The California Land Title

Association and the California Association of Realtors (hereafter

referred to as California Land Title Association) have filed a joint

brief on behalf of Lyon, and the Upper San Joaquin River Associ-

ation also supports Lyon’s position.

A-5

different rules; some states claim only to low water, some

to high water, and others make no sovereign claim to the

beds of nontidal bodies. Indeed, only a minority of states

claim sovereign ownership to high water.“ When California

entered the Union, it determined to exercise no sovereign

claim to the beds of nontidal navigable waters. This choice

was made when, upon admission to statehood, the Legis-

lature adopted a statute which provided that unless

inconsistent with applicable federal or state law, the

“Common Law of England shall be the rule of decision

in all Courts of this State.” (Stats. 1850, ch. 95, p. 219.)

Under English common law, the sovereign made no claim

to ownership of lands underlying nontidal waters. There-

fore, by the adoption of the English common law, Cali-

fornia made no claim to ownership of the beds of such

waters. Subsequently, by the enactment of section 830 in

1872, the state determined to claim title only to low water.

The People contend, on the other hand, that California

acquired title to the lands in question to the high water

mark in its sovereign capacity upon statehood, citing, inter

alia, State Land Board v. Corvallis Sand & Gravel Co.

(1977) 429 U.S. 363, 370-371 [50 L.Ed.2d 550, 558-559, 97

S.Ct. 582]; Barney v. Keokuk, supra, 94 U.S. 324, 338.

Moreover, argue the People, section 830 did not grant such

lands to private persons because that provision only sets

forth a rule for the construction of deeds and does not

constitute a grant of sovereign land.

*Approximately 20 states adopt a low water line for

lakes and rivers, a few allow private ownership to the middle of

the water, and other jurisdictions have adopted different rules for

lakes and rivers. Ten jurisdictions have adopted the high water

rule. (See fn. 9 at p. post.)

A-6

We consider, first, whether California acquired sovereign

ownership in the lands between low and high water in

nontidal, navigable lakes and rivers upon admission to the

Union. If this question is answered in the negative, the

People’s claim to fee ownership of these lands cannot

prevail. If, on the other hand, the state owned the property

in question at the time of admission to the Union, it will

be necessary to decide whether, by the enactmert of section

830 in 1872, it granted an interest therein to riparian land-

owners and, if so, the extent of the interest conveyed.

We begin with the proposition that, even accepting

Lyon’s assertion that the state did not automatically suc-

ceed to title to the beds of navigable nontidal lakes and

streams to high water upon statehood but only had the

option to make such a claim, absent an indication that

the new state declined to exercise sovereign ownership

of such lands, we would be compelled to decide the issue

in favor of the state’s title. The only basis for a claim that

California abdicated its rights to claim to high water in

1850 was the adoption of the common law of England as

the rule of decision in this state.“

he disagreement between the parties in this regard appears to

lands in question to high water as an inherent aspect of sovereignty,

830 in 1872, the state elected not to exercise its right to claim

ownership of the land between low and hgh water.

A-7

In England, there were different rules concerning the

ownership by private persons of the beds of tidal waters

and nontidal waters. Nontidal rivers and lakes were pri-

vately owned; a riparian holder took to the middle of

the lake or the thread of the stream, much like the land-

owner along a public street. At the same time, the beds

of all navigable waters were said to belong to the crown,

and the King held such property in trust for the public

and could not dispose of it free of that trust. Only waters

where the tide ebbed and flowed were considered to be

navigable in England. The reason for the difference in

these rules is readily explainable: in England there were

no navigable streams of any importance beyond the ebb

and flow of the tide. Therefore, the terms “navigable”

and “tidal” became synonymous; tidal (navigable) waters

came to mean public waters, while nontidal (and in En-

gland nonnavigable) waters came to mean private waters.

(The Propeller Genesee Chief et al. v. Fitzhugh et al.

(1851) 53 U.S. (12 How.) 443, 454-458 [13 L.Ed. 1058,

1063-1065]; Barney v. Keokuk, supra, 94 U.S. 324, 338.)°

Some of the original 13 states adopted the common law

rule early in their history, for the same reason that the

rule was appropriate in England, i.e., most of their waters

were tidewaters, and until the use of steamboats “there

could be nothing like foreign commerce upon waters with

*The People contend that although the common law rule has

generally been assumed to be as described above, there is some

authority for the proposition that the tidal character of a body of

water was not a critical factor in England in the determination of

navigability. Numerous cases in addition to those referred to above

support our characterization of the English rule. We need not

discuss the authorities upon which the People rely, since we shall

conclude that the common law test was not adopted in California.

A-8

an unchanging current resisting the upward passage.”

(The Propeller Genesee Chief, 53 U.S. at p. 455 [13 L.Ed.

at p. 1063].) However, the English rule was obviously inap-

propriate as the nation expanded westward, where there

were great rivers and lakes which were navigable in fact,

even though they were not subject to the ebb and flow of

the tide. These distinctions, and the inapplicability of the

common law rules to conditions in much of the United

States were recognized as early as 1851 by the United

States Supreme Court. In The Propeller Genesee Chief

it was held that the federal government had admiralty

jurisdiction in rivers and lakes which were navigable in

fact, whether or not the tide ebbed and flowed therein. In

1856, the courts of this state recognized that the tidal

character of a body of water was not a proper test of

navigability. (American Water Co. v. Amsden (1856) 6 Cal.

443, 446.)

The question of public ownership of navigable rivers and

lakes was discussed in McManus v. Carmichael (1856) 3

Iowa 1. That case, which involved the boundary of public

ownership along the Mississippi River, contains an exhaus-

tive analysis of the common law rule of England and its

application by early American courts. The court held that

only those parts of the common law which were suitable

to the conditions in Iowa were adopted by the new state.

The opinion asks, rhetorically and somewhat floridly,

“whether the rules and tests which are applicable enough

to the rivulets of England, shall be taken to measure those

waters whose flow is through the climates and zones of

the earth?” (Id. at p. 31.) Needless to say, it held that

the state owned the beds of navigable, nontidal bodies to

A-9

high water, and that the common law rule was inappro-

priate to the United States because the great nontidal

rivers and lakes in this country are navigable in fact.

Other states recognized the inapplicability of the English

rule to conditions in this country prior to 1850. (E.g.,

Carson v. Blazer (Pa. 1810) 2 Binn. 475, 484-486; Cates v.

Wadlington (S.C. 1822) 1 MeCord 580, 582.)

In Barney v. Keokuk, supra, 94 U.S. 324, the high court

considered the rule declared in McManus, and left no doubt

the correct doctrine was laid down by that case, i.e., that

the states own the beds of navigable, nontidal bodies to

high water, and that the common law is inapplicable to

conditions in the United States. Nevertheless, it held that

states which had adopted the common law rule had the

power to determine whether “as rules of property” it would

be safe to change their adherence to the common law. After

reaching these conclusions, the court made a statement

upon which Lyon places great reliance: “If they [the

states] choose to resign to the riparian proprietor rights

which properly belong to them in their sovereign capacity,

it is not for others to raise objections.” (Jd. at p. 338

[24 L.Ed. at p. 228].) Later cases repeated the proposi-

tion that the states are free to determine the ownership

of lands below high water mark in navigable, nontidal

lakes and streams. (Hardin v. Jordan, supra, 140 U.S.

371, 382 [35 L.Ed. 428, 433]; Shively v. Bowlby (1894)

152 U.S. 1, 40 [38 L.Ed. 331, 346, 14 S.Ct. 548].)

With this background, we consider whether we are com-

pelled to conclude, as Lyon asserts, that by the adoption

of the English common law in 1850, California accepted

A-10

the rule of private ownership of nontidal navigable waters

so that title to their beds was never in the state but was

granted directly to private riparian owners. We do not

so conclude.

First, our courts have never adhered slavishly to com-

mon law doctrines if they were unsuitable to the eireum-

stances of our people or if the conditions were those never

contemplated by the common law. (Van Ness v. Pacard

(1829) 27 U.S. (2 Pet.) 137, 143-144 [7 L.Ed. 374, 376-

377]; Jones v. California Development (1916) 173 Cal.

565, 573-574 [160 P. 823].) Crandall v. Woods (1857) 8 Cal.

136, 142-143, referred to the English test of navigability

as a rule “framed with special reference to the physical

condition of a country differing widely from our own.” The

law is replete with situations in which this and other juris-

dictions which adopted the common law have refused to

follow those aspects which were unsuitable to local condi-

tions. (See Traynor, Statutes Revolving in Common-Law

Orbits (1968) 43 State Bar J. 509, 518 et seq.; Hall, The

Common Law (1951) 4 Vand.L.Rev. 791, 805 et seq.) If

we were to hold, as Lyon urges, that the adoption of the

common law in 1850 signified the acceptance in this state

of the English rule regarding the ownership of the lands

in question, we would “apply a rule founded on a particu-

lar reason, to a case where that reason utterly fails.”

(Crandall at p. 143.) “

Lyon appears to argue that because The Propeller Genesee

Chief was not decided until 1851, the year after California entered

the Union, and Barney was not decided until four years after sec-

tion 830 was enacted into law, the holdings of these cases may not

be considered in deciding whether California, by adopting com-

A-11

Rejection of the common law rule is also supported by

the enactment of section 830 in 1872. As we have seen,

under English common law, a riparian landholder owned

land beneath nontidal waters to the middle of the lake or

the thread of the stream; the King had no ownership

interest in such lands. Under the terms of section 830,

according to Lyon, the boundary between public and

private ownership was set at the low water line. If we were

to accept Lyon’s assertion, we would be led to the entirely

irrational conclusion that, although California, by the

adoption of the common law in 1850, granted fee title to

lands beneath navigable nontidal waters to the center line,

22 years later it deprived riparian owners of their property

to the center by the enactment of section 830, and decreed

that henceforth they owned only to the low water mark.“

agree. These cases and many others (including some cases cited

above decided before 1850) demonstrate that the common law rule

regarding nontidal waters is inappropriate to conditions in this

state. The concept that only common law doctrine applicable to

local conditions has been incorporated into our law is as old as

*Wright v. Seymour (1886) 69 Cal. 122, 127 [10 P. 323], is relied

upon by Lyon for the proposition that section 830 merely codified

the common law. It is true that the decision states the section is a

“declaration of the law . . as it has existed since the formation of

our state government.” However, this statement was made with

reference to the portion of section 830 relating to tidal waters.

Lyon does not directly discuss the inconsistency between his

this approach is that it skirts the critical issue whether the state or

A-12

Finally, we observe that the jurisdictions which hold

the high water line to be the boundary between private

and public ownership have also adopted the common law as

the rule of decision.’ These cases demonstrate that there

is an inconsistency between not accepting the English rule

regarding the ownership of the beds of nontidal, navigable

lakes and rivers and the adoption of the common law as

the rule of decision.

The conclusion follows that California succeeded to the

ownership of the beds of such waters upon its admission

to the Union, to the high water mark.

private persons owned the beds of navigable, nontidal bodies to

high water between 1850 and 1872. If California followed the

English common law, then private persons owned these lands to

the center line and were deprived of their property between that

line and low water by the enactment of section 830. If, as we con-

clude above, the common law rule was not adopted in this respect,

then the lands were owned by the state to high water, at least until

1872. Amicus curiae California Land Title Association, recognizing

this anomaly, asserts that enactment of section 830 amounted to

an unconstitutional taking of lands of riparian owners between

the center line and low water mark.

*Alaska (State, Dept. of Natural Resources v. Pankratz (1975)

538 P.2d 984, 988); Arizona (State t Bonelli Cattle Company

(1971) 107 Ariz. 465 [489 P.2d 699, 701-702], revd. on other

grounds (1973) 414 U.S. 313 [38 L.Ed.2d 526, 94 S.Ct. 517], over-

ruled in Corvallis Sand & Gravel Co., supra, 429 U.S. 363, 382

[50 L.Ed.2d 550, 565]); Arkansas (Anderson v. Reames (1942) 204

Ark. 216 [161 S.W.2d 957, 959]); Florida (Martin v. Busch (1927)

93 Fla. 535 [112 So. 274-283]); Idaho (Gasman v. Wilcox (1934)

54 Idaho 700 [35 P.2d 265, 266]); Kansas (Siler v. Dreyer (1958)

183 Kan. 419 [327 P.2d 1031, 1033]); Oklahoma (State v. Nolegs

(1 4) 40 Okla. 479 [139 P. 943, 946]); Oregon (Brusco Towboat

Co. v. State, By and Through Straub (1977) 30 Ore.App. 509 [567

P.2d 1037, 1040, 1042]); Utah (Provo City v. Jacobson (1947) 111

Utah 68 [181 P.2d 213, 214]; Washington (State v. Superior Court

(1912) 70 Wash. 442 [126 P. 945, 947]).

A-13

We next consider whether the Legislature granted the

lands in question to private persons by the enactment of

section 830 in 1872. We do not doubt that the state had

the power to make such grants. (See, e.g., State Land

Board v. Corvallis Sand d Gravel Co., supra, 429 U.S. 363,

375 [50 L.Ed.2d 550, 561]; Barney v. Keokuk, supra, 94

U.S. 324, 338; Hardin v. Jordan, supra, 140 U.S. 371, 382

[35 L.Ed. 428, 433].) The question is whether section 830

was intended to accomplish this result.

As we have seen, the section provides that [except

where the grant under which the land is held indicates a

different intent, the owner of the upland, . . . when it

borders upon a navigable lake or stream, where there is no

tide, . . takes to the edge of the lake or stream, at low

water mark... .””’ Section 830 was a part of the Field

Code, and when it was enacted in 1872, the Legislature

added section 670 as well as section 2077 of the Code of

Civil Procedure. Section 670 provides that the state is the

owner of “all land below the water of a navigable lake or

stream. Section 2077 sets forth rules for construing

conveyances in situations where the construction is doubt-

upon

edge of the lake at low water mark; when it borders upon any

other water, the owner takes to the middle of the lake or stream.”

was amended in 1874 to its present form. (Stats. 1873-

1874, Amend. to the Codes, ch. 612, p. 220.) The People rely upon

change as indicating that the section was intended to set forth

A-14

ful. It provides that a deed to land bordering a navigable

nontidal lake is to be construed as conveying the right of

the grantor to low water mark.

The People urge that section 670 is a rule of property,

and sections 830 and 2077 are rules of construction. They

point out that section 830 contains no words of conveyance,

such as “grant” or “quitclaim,” and argue that to construe

the section as a grant of thousands of linear miles of lands

owned by the public would violate the rule that grants by

the public to a private party are to be construed in favor

of the public. (§ 1069; People v. Centr-O-Mart (1950) 34

Cal.2d 702, 703 [214 P.2d 378]; Oakland v. Oakland Water

Front Co. (1897) 118 Cal. 160, 174-175 [50 P. 277].) Lyon

claims, on the other hand, that section 830 constitutes a

rule of property, and that by enactment of the section, the

state granted to riparian owners the lands to low water.

The parties cite numerous cases in support of their

respective positions as to the interpretation of the section.

We have examined these cases, and we find that while they

contain dicta, suggestions, and implications from which

one side or the other may take comfort, none contains a

direct holding on the question whether section 830 was

intended to constitute a grant of property between high

and low water in navigable lakes and rivers.

Lyon relies upon Packer v. Bird (1886) 71 Cal. 134 [11

P. 873]. In that case, the plaintiff claimed ownership of an

island in a navigable portion of the Sacramento River,

asserting that his patent extended to the thread of the

stream, which included the island. The court held that his

A-15

title went only to the “edge of the stream” and did not

inelude the island. The quoted words are obviously ambigu-

ous, but Lyon, in support of the argument that the “edge

of the stream” means low water, relies upon the briefs of

the parties in the case, which discussed the import of

sections 830 and 670. Reference in a brief to these statutes

is insufficient to clarify the ambiguous language employed

by the court.”

The case most favorable to the position of Lyon is the

City of Los Angeles v. Aitken (1935) 10 Cal.App.2d 460

[52 P.2d 585]. There the court declared that the title of

private landholders in a navigable nontidal lake extended

to low water mark, citing section 830, and that the state

was the owner below low water, citing section 670. How-

ever, the statement was dictum, since the only issue in the

case was whether Los Angeles, which sought to condemn

fee simple title to the littoral rights of landowners to

maintain the natural level of the lake, could avoid payment

of substantial damages because of the poor quality of the

water for domestic use.”

"Packer was affirmed by the United States Supreme Court, which

also employed ambiguous language in its decision. (Packer v. Bird

(1891) 137 U.S. 661, 672 [34 L.Ed. 819, 822, 11 S.Ct. 210].) Later

decisions of the high court cited Packer for the proposition that the

jurisdiction of California in nontidal navigable waters extends to

high water. (Hardin v. Jordan, supra, 140 U.S. 371, 382-383 [35

L.Ed. 428, 433-434]; Shively v. Bowlby, supra, 152 US. 1, 44-45

[38 L.Ed. 331, 347-348].)

Other cases relied upon by Lyon either make no reference to

section 830 (Maginnis v. Hurlbutt (1920) 49 Cal. App. 460 [193

P. 606]; Crews v. Johnson (1962) 202 Cal.App.2d 256, 258 [21 Cal.

Rptr. 37] [in a dispute between adjoining littoral owners at Clear

Lake, the court stated that the parties conceded that private owner-

A-16

The People rely primarily on Churchill Company v.

Kingsbury (1918) 178 Cal. 554 [174 P. 329]. In that case,

the petitioner sought to compel the surveyor-general to

perform acts preliminary to issuance of a patent for the

lands between high and low water in Little Klamath Lake,

which the court found to be navigable. The petitioner

relied upon the terms of an 1893 statute in support of his

claim. It was held that the statute did not authorize the

issuance of the patent. In the course of its opinion, the

court noted that the petitioner took the position that “the

land is, in fact sovereign land of the state, and in this,

we think it is clearly right.“ (178 Cal. at p. 558.) The

statement was dictum, the court did not cite section 830,

and Lyon points out that the briefs of the parties in the

e did not bring the section to the attention of the court.

(see also People v. Morrill (1864) 26 Cal. 336, 356.)

If the decisional law is ambiguous regarding whether

section 830 constitutes a grant or a rule for the construc-

tion of deeds, the same cannot be said of the administrative

interpretation of the provision. Lyon has produced a

voluminous body of evidence demonstrating that, with few

ship of the submerged lands extended to low water] ) or refer to the

section but do not discuss its meaning (Craig v. White (1921) 187

Cal. 489, 492 [202 P. 648] [the court cited § 830 for the proposition

that patents issued by the federal government conveyed title to the

patentees to “the actual margin of the lake]; Foss v. Johnstone

(1910) 158 Cal. 119, 130 [110 P. 294] [citing § 830 as setting forth

“certain incidents attaching to lands bordering upon waters” in a

case involving a nonnavigable pond].) In United States v. Gossett

(9th Cir. 1969) 416 F.2d 565, 568-569, the court classified Cali-

fornia as a low water jurisdiction, apparently based largely upon

the disclaimer by California’s Attorney General to ownership of the

state above that line.

A-17

exceptions, state authorities, including the Attorney Gen-

eral, took the position until at least 1970 that by virtue of

the provisions of section 830 the state claimed ownership

only to the low water mark. (See 43 Ops.Cal.Atty.Gen. 291,

295 (1964); 30 0, . Cal. Atty. Gen. 262, 269 (1957); 23 Ops.

Cal. Atty. Gen. 300, 307 (1954); 23 Ops. Cal. Atty. Gen. 97, 98

(1954).) In 1970, the Attorney General reexamined this

position, and reversed his opinion, and in the trial of a

condemnation action involving the Feather River (People

v. Shasta Pipe and Supply Co. (Sup. Ct. Butte Co., No.

37390), and in other actions thereafter, asserted that the

state owned the land under navigable lakes and streams to

high water. In 1977, the Attorney General advised the

State Lands Commission of this position. a 5

According to affidavits, the files of the State Lands

Commission contain hundreds of letters stating or implying

that the state’s ownership extends waterward of the ordi-

nary low water mark.

Finally, the Legislature has impliedly accepted the low

water mark of Clear Lake as the boundary of the state’s

ownership. The state has conveyed to Lake County its title

to Clear Lake, in trust. The language of the grant assumes

that the state’s interest is to low water mark. (Stats. 1973,

ch. 639, § 1, p. 1165.)*

Section 1 of the statute, after granting to the county, in trust,

the state’s interest in Clear Lake, provides, “The low water mark

for Clear Lake has not been determined, and such determination

may have to be made by judicial adjudication. Subject to such later

determination and for the purpose of the administration of this

grant only, the low-water mark shall be considered by the parties

to this grant as being zero on the Rumsey Gauge.” The Rumsey

A-18

We are aware of the rule that the administrative con-

struction of a statute is not necessarily determinative

(Whitcomb Hotel, Inc. v. Cal. Emp. Com. (1944) 24 Cal. 2d

753, 756-757 [151 P.2d 233, 155 A.L.R. 405), but we cannot

ignore these long-continued and frequently expressed views

to the effect that section 830 constitutes a grant to private

persons of title to the beds of navigable, nontidal bodies

to low water mark. It cannot be said that the statute is

so clear and unambiguous that these expressions may be

disregarded. In this connection, we note that two states

which adopted a statute similar to section 830 as part of

the Field Code, interpret their enactments as conveying

title to riparian owners to the low water mark in navigable,

nontidal waters. (Mont. Rev. Codes 1947, § 67-712; Herrin

v. Sutherland (1925) 74 Mont. 587 [241 P. 328, 331, 42

A.L.R. 937]; N.D. Cent. Code, § 47-01-15; Hoque v. Bour-

gois (N.D. 1955) 71 N.W.2d 47, 52 [54 A.L.R.2d 633.) “

We conclude, therefore, that Lyon has title to the low

water mark of Clear Lake.

Gauge refers to a method by which Captain George Rumsey estab-

lished the level of Clear Lake. The intersection of zero on that

gauge with an elevation of 1,318.65 feet may represent the low

water mark of the lake.

“There is no merit in the argument of the People that because

section 830 has been employed to construe deeds in disputes in-

volving nonnavigable waters (Hess v. Merrell (1947) 78 Cal. App.

2d 896, 899-900 [178 P.2d 467]) and tide waters (Lynch v. Kupfer

(1933) 134 Cal. App. 652, 656 [26 P.2d 33]), the provision cannot

be viewed as a rule of property in nontidal cases. We find nothing

inconsistent in the notion that the provision may state a rule of

property and may also constitute a rule for the construction of

deeds.

A-19

We come, then, to the question whether the grant of

lands between high and low water made by section 830 to

riparian landholders is free of the trust described in City

of Berkeley. It is well settled that if the state holds these

lands in trust for the benefit of the public, its conveyance

of title to private persons does not necessarily free the

property from the burden of the public trust. Instead,

unless the conveyance is made for the purpose of pro-

moting trust goals, the grantee takes title subject to the

rights of the public. This was the holding in City of

Berkeley and in People v. California Fish Co. (1913) 166

Cal. 576, 596 [138 P. 79].

In City of Berkeley, we were concerned with whether

22,299 acres of tidelands in San Francisco Bay, granted to

private persons by deeds purportedly in fee, between 1868

and 1870, were subject to the tidelands trust. We answered

this question in the affirmative. We observed that under

the venerable doctrine of the tidelands trust, which had its

origin in Roman law, tidelands are owned by the state in

trust for the public, for their use for commerce, naviga-

tion, fishing, recreation, or for the purpose of preserving

the property in its natural state. Grants of such lands to

private persons are subject to the trust unless the convey-

ances are made to enhance trust purposes. We determined

that the grants in question were not made for such pur-

poses, and that in any event, the state was not empowered

to make such vast grants to private parties in its role

as trustee.

The holding of California Fish is similar. There it was

decided that, although various statutes authorizing the

alienation of tidelands into private ownership effectively

A-20

passed title, the grantees took subject to the rights of the

public because the grants in question were not made for

the purpose of promoting the aims of the trust.

Lyon and amicus California Land Title Association urge

that there is not and never has been a doctrine that non-

tidal, navigable waters are subject to a public trust. Rather,

they claim, such waters are impressed only with a “reecre-

ational or navigational easement” which allows the public

to use only the waters, so that when they rise above low

water mark, the public may use them for navigation or

fishing, but the bed between low and high water belongs

to the riparian owner and when the water recedes the

public has no right to use of the land above the low water

mark.

The People and supporting amici curiae rely upon arti-

cle X, section 4 of the Constitution,” which provides for

freedom of access to and the right of navigation upon

waters that are navigable. They rely also upon numerous

eases which declare that California owns the lands under

navigable waters in trust, without distinguishing between

tidal and nontidal bodies in this regard. (See, e.g., Colberg,

Inc. v. State of California (1967) 67 Cal.2d 408, 416 [62

Cal.Rptr. 401, 432 P.2d 3]; Boone v. Kingsbury (1928) 206

This provision was adopted in 1879 as article XV, section 2. It

states: “No individual, partnership, or corporation, claiming or

possessing the frontage or tidal lands of a harbor, bay, inlet, estuary,

or other navigable water in this State, shall be permitted to exclude

the right of way to such water whenever it is required for any

public purpose, nor to destroy or obstruct the free navigation of

such water; and the Legislature shall enact such laws as will give

the most liberal construction to this provision, so that access to the

navigable waters of this State shall be always attainable for the

people thereof.”

A-21

Cal. 148, 189 [273 P. 797]; People v. Gold Run D. & M. Co.

(1884) 66 Cal. 138, 151 [4 P. 1152].)

In our view, Jllinois Central Railroad Company v.

Iljmois (1892) 146 U.S. 387 [36 L.Ed. 1018, 13 S.Ct.

Ae we described in City of Berkeley as the “semi-

case on the scope of the public trust doctrine” (26

Cal.3d at p. 521), settled the issue. It held very clearly

that the applicability of the public trust doctrine does

not turn upon whether a body of water is subject to the

ebb and flow of the tide, but upon whether it is navigable

in fact.

Illinois Central involved a grant by the State of Illinois

of 1,000 acres of the bed of Lake Michigan constituting

the entire harbor of the City of Chicago, to the Illinois

Central Railroad. The high court held that the grant was

revocable, that the state held these lands in trust for the

public, and that it was powerless to relinquish its rights

as trustee. The opinion addressed itself specifically to

whether the trust doctrine was inapplicable because there

was no appreciable tide in Lake Michigan. It rejected this

premise in the following unmistakable language:. . . by

the common law, the doctrine of the dominion over and

ownership by the crown of lands. . . under tidewaters is

not founded upon the existence of the tide over the lands,

but upon the fact that the waters are navigable, tide waters

and navigable waters . . being used as synonymous terms

in England. The public being interested in the use of such

waters, the possession by private individuals of lands

under them could not be permitted except by license of

the crown, which could alone exercise such dominion over

A-22

the waters as would insure freedom in their use so far

as consistent with the public interest. The doctrine is

founded upon the necessity of preserving to the public

the use of navigable waters from private interruption and

encroachment, a reason as applicable to navigable fresh

waters as to waters moved by the tide. We hold, therefore,

that the same doctrine as to the dominion and sovereignty

over and ownership of lands under the navigable waters

of the Great Lakes applies, which obtains at the common

law as to the dominion and sovereignty over and owner-

ship of lands under tide waters on the borders of the sea,

and that the lands are held by the same right in the one

ease as in the other, and subject to the same trusts and

limitations.” (146 U.S. at pp. 436-437 [36 L.Ed. at pp.

1036-1037].)

Lyon and amicus California Land Title Association

insist that the holding of Illinois Central is confined to

the Great Lakes, which are “special because of their size

and importance in interstate commerce.” While it is true

that the opinion emphasizes the importance of the Creat

Lakes for commerce, the portion of the opinion quoted

above makes it clear that it is navigability which is the

touchstone in determining whether or not the public trust

applies. The application of the trust doctrine to tidal

waters is not confined to those bodies which are huge in

size and important for purposes of commerce; we can see

no reason why such a test should not be applied to nontidal

waters. Nor does Illinois Central set forth a special rule

relating to Lake Michigan. Other jurisdictions have recog-

nized that the doctrine enunciated in that case applies to

nontidal bodies which cannot be characterized as “inland

A-23

seas.” (E. g., State v. Southern Sand d Material Co. (1914)

113 Ark. 149 [167 S.W. 854, 856]; State v. Korrer (1914)

127 Minn. 60 [148 N. W. 617, 623]; Flisrand v. Madson

(1915) 35 S.D. 457 [152 N.W. 796, 801]; Hazen v. Perkins

(1918) 92 Vt. 414 [105 A. 249, 251 23 A.L.R. 748]; State

v. Public Service Commission (1957) 275 Wis. 112 [81

N.W.2d 71, 73-74.) It is noteworthy that South Dakota,

like California, has adopted a provision similar to sec-

tion 830 but, as Flisrand makes clear, the state has im-

pressed a trust for public uses on the riparian owner’s

property between high and low water.

Another matter of interest in this connection is that an

opinion of the California Attorney General relied upon by

Lyon for the proposition that section 830 has been inter-

preted by state officials as setting a low water boundary

for public ownership explicitly qualified this opinion by

the statement that the riparian owner’s title between

low and high water is held in trust to preserve the rights

of commerce and navigation for the public. (43 Ops.Cal.

Atty.Gen., supra, 291, 294.) “

of

Ct. 569], it was said that although Illinois Central was “neces-

sarily a statement of Illinois law,” the general principle declared

therein has been recognized throughout the country.

The opinion states, Upon its admission to the Union, Cali-

fornia acquired title to all land below the high water mark of all

navigable water within its territory, whether or not such water was

tidal. This title is held in trust for the people of the State, in order

A-24

Our conclusion that the public trust is applicable to

nontidal waters is also pertinent to the consideration of

Lyon’s argument, apparently accepted by the trial court,

that as to the area between high and low water the public

has an interest only in the water itself, so that it may use

the water for boating and fishing, but when a lake or

stream is at low water, the public has no right to use the

bed to the high water mark. In Marks v. Whitney (1971) 6

Cal.3d 251, 259 [98 Cal.Rptr. 790, 491 P.2d 374], we held

that, although early cases had expressed the scope of the

public's right in tidelands as encompassing navigation,

commerce and fishing, the permissible range of public uses

is far broader, including the right to hunt, bathe or swim,

and the right to preserve the tidelands in their natural

state.

We see no justification in reason or authority for the

proposition advanced by Lyon. In People ex rel. Baker v.

Mack (1971) 19 Cal.App.3d 1040 [97 Cal. Rptr. 448], relied

upon by Lyon as holding that the public interest in non-

tidal waters is confined to the waters themselves, the

primary issue was the navigability of a section of the Fall

River, which defendants had obstructed by erection of

booms, fences and bridges, preventing plaintiff from boat-

ing, hunting and fishing in the stream. The court adopted

a broad definition of navigability, holding that any waters

which could be used for recreation were navigable and

to preserve the right of commerce and navigation for the public. . . .

“There is no requirement that the state claim all land below high

water mark. As long as the rights of the public are not impaired,

the state may permit private ownership of land beneath non-tidal,

navigable waters.”

A-25

could be used by the public. In the course of its opinion, the

court made the following statement, upon which Lyon

relies : “[M]embers of the public have the right to navigate

and to exercise the incidents of navigation in a lawful

manner at any point below high water mark on waters of

this state which are capable of being navigated by oar or

motor-propelled small craft.” (19 Cal.App.3d at p. 1050.)

We fail to see how Lyon can find comfort in this state-

ment. It does not mean that the publie's rights are confined

to the waters as such, but merely attempts to distinguish

between waters capable of commercial use—which were

there claimed to be the test of navigability—and those

capable of recreational use. Other cases cited by Lyon also

fail to support his position.”

Nevertheless, argues Lyon, there is a sound reason in

logie why tidal and nontidal waters should be treated

"*Hitchings v. Del Rio Woods Recreation, & Park Dist. (1976)

55 Cal.App.3d 560 [127 Cal.Rptr. 830], was an action for declara-

tory relief to determine whether a certain portion of the Russian

River was navigable. The court adopted the broad recreational use

test of navigability set forth in People ex rel. Baker v. Mack, supra,

19 Cal.App.3d 1040, 1050, and held that the river was deemed in

law to be navigable even though it was not in fact navigable for

some part of the year.

In Bohn v. Albertson (1951) 107 Cal.App.2d 738 [238 P.2d 128],

a tract of land was flooded when a levee broke. The flooding con-

verted the land into a navigable body of water, upon which plea-

sure boats sailed and the public fished. It was held that the land-

owner could not charge the public for use of the water because

rn | So oe bow

However, the court held that the landowner had the right to re-

claim the land since he had not lost title when it was suddenly

flooded by the break in the levee, in accordance with the estab-

lished rule governing avulsion.

A-26

differently insofar as these publie's rights are concerned.

He asserts that because tidelands are subject to inundation

on a daily basis and nontidal waters are inundated only

seasonally, tidelands are constantly suhject to use for

commerce, navigation and fishing, while te strip of land

between low and high water in a nontidal body is only

useful for such purposes for a limited portion of the year.

Therefore, he concludes, the necessity for impressing non-

tidal waters with the public trust is greatly reduced.

But this contention is predicated on an exceedingly

narrow view of the purposes of the public trust. As

Justice MeComb pointed out for a unanimous court in

Marks v. Whitney, supra, 6 Cal.3d 251, 259, the public’s

rights in tidelands are not confined to commerce, naviga-

tion and fishing, but include recreational uses and the right

to preserve the tidelands in their natural state. We discern

no valid reason why the scope of the publie's right in

nontidal waters should not be equally broad. Lyon’s

assertions in this regard imply the resurrection of the

common law distinction between tidal and nontidal waters

—a distinction which has been thoroughly discredited in

this country. As was said in Illinois Central, when the

United States rejected the English rule that admiralty

jurisdiction was confined to tidewaters because it was

inapplicable to the conditions in this country, “the limita-

tion and all its incidents were discarded.” (146 U.S. 387 at

p. 436 [36 L.Ed. 1018 at p. 1036].) We hold that the

same incidents of the trust applicable to tidelands also

apply to nontidal navigable waters and that the public’s

interest is not confined to the water, but extends also to

the bed of the water.

A-27

In California Fish it was held that a statute authorizing

the conveyance of tidelands will not be interpreted to

abandon the public trust unless no other interpretation is

reasonably possible. Nothing in the language of section 830

requires a conclusion that riparian landholders take free

of the public’s rights in the lands between low and high

water in navigable lakes and streams. We conclude, there-

fore, that Lyon’s title to such lands is impressed with the

public trust.

Lyon’s final argument is that his ownership of the

Anderson Marsh to low water free of the public trust is a

“rule of property” and that a determination applying a

trust to such property would accomplish a taking of private

property in violation of federal and state constitutional

provisions. He relies upon cases which recognize the pro-

tection of property rights afforded by the federal and

state Constitutions. (Board of Regents v. Roth (1972) 408

U.S. 564, 577 [33 L.Ed.2d 548, 561, 92 S.Ct. 2701]; Agins v.

City of Tiburon (1979) 24 Cal.3d 266, 273-274 [157 Cal.

Rptr. 372, 598 P.2d 25]; House v. L.A. County Flood Con-

trol Dist. (1944) 25 Cal.2d 384, 391 [153 P.2d 950].) (4)

(See fn. 19.) We doubt whether any failure of the state

to previously assert its trust rights in the lands below

high water (but see 43 Ops. Cal. Atty. Gen., supra, 291,

294) constitutes a “rule of property.“

In Abbott v. City of Los Angeles (1958) 50 Cal.2d 438, 456

[326 P.2d 484], a “rule of property” was defined as “A settled rule

ple appears to be an extension of the ‘stare decisis’ rule, which . .

seems to apply with peculiar force and strictness to decisions which

A-28

Indeed, in some respects, our holding constitutes less

of an interference with property rights than occurred in

Illinois Central, California Fish, and City of Berkeley. In

those cases, the landowners had received outright grants

from the state, purportedly in fee, while the title of Lyon

to the lands in issue here is based only upon administrative

interpretation of an ambiguous statute. In Illinois Central

the high court held that the grant of the lands in question

was revocable—not merely that the railroad held the

property subject to the trust—on the ground that [there

can be no irrepealable contract in a conveyance of property

by a grantor in disregard of a public trust, under which

he was bound to hold and manage it.” (146 U.S. 387, at

p. 460 [36 L.Ed. 1018, at p. 1045 J.) And, in California Fish,

in response to an argument by the grantees that the public

should be estopped to claim any interest in the tidelands

it had sold into private ownership, the court declared that

the grantees had received title to the soil (subject to the

public trust), and that they had “received consideration

for their money, and it is to be presumed that they bought

have determined questions respecting real property and vested

rights.

Lyon’s reliance on the rule of property” which he espouses is

open to question. The agreement under which he purchased

Anderson Marsh provides that the seller does not warrant owner-

ship of lands below zero mark on the Rumsey Gauge, and it makes

provision to set aside some of the purchase monies in trust in the

event a governmental body claims property above that point. More-

over, title insurance policies relating to the property except from

coverage claims of the state to any portion of the property lying

within the bed of the lake, any rights of the public for commerce,

navigation or fishing, and any adverse claim to lands created by

artificial means.

A-29

with knowledge of the law on the subject.” (5) (See fn. 20.)

In at least two jurisdictions in which the matter has been

considered, the fact that the land between high and low

water is owned by private parties is held not to prevent

the imposition of the public trust to the high water mark.

(State v. Korrer, supra, 148 N.W. 617, 623; Flisrand v.

Madson, supra, 152 N.W. 796, 801.)”

We emphasize that Lyon is not deprived of the use of

the lands between low and high water, and that he may

utilize them in any manner not incompatible with the

publie's interest in the property.“

Let a writ of mandate issue directing the trial court to

vacate its order granting Lyon partial summary judgment,

and to grant the People’s motion for partial summary judg-

ment insofar as consistent with the views expressed above.

Bird, C. J., Tobriner, J., and Newman, J., concurred.

propriate boundary between public and private ownership is to be

measured in accordance with the “last natural” ordinary low water

mark of the lake, le., the water level in existence prior to the

construction of a dam in 1914. The People argue that the proper

standard of measure is the lake in its current condition. This issue

is also presented in State of California v. Superior Court (Fogerty)

(1981) post, at page 240 [—Cal. Rptr—, —P.2d—], and it is dis-

Lyon has moved to strike the People’s “Replication to Answer

to Petition for Writ of Mandamus” and an appendix to that brief.

The People filed a motion to strike certain portions of the brief

of amicus curiae California Land Title Association. These motions

are denied.

A-30

CLARK, J., Concurring and Dissenting.— The majority

opinion overwhelmingly establishes that by statute, case au-

thority and practice California historically has not claimed

title to land between the high and low water marks of in-

land bodies of water. I thus concur in the majority holding

that Lyon has fee title to lands above the low water mark

of Clear Lake.

However, I must dissent from the holding that lands

lying along navigable streams and lakes between high and

low water levels are subject to the tidelands and submerged

lands trust. That trust should be limited to tidelands as its

name implies—lands covered and uncovered by the flow

and ebb of the tide—and submerged lands. Historically, the

trust has not been applied to land between high and low

water mark on navigable lakes and streams (the shorezone).

To the contrary, millions of acres have been reclaimed be-

tween high and low water for residential, agricul-

tural, and general governmental uses—uses which would

have been and are improper if the trust doctrine is ap-

plicable. History establishes it would have been against

public policy—greatly impeding the development of the

resourees of our state—to have applied the trust doctrine.

To apply that doctrine for the first time today casts clouds

on thousands if not millions of land titles and uses, and

jeopardizes agricultural and residential uses of millions of

acres which are presently so used and are far more valuable

for farm and home than for trust uses. While public recre-

ational and ecological uses of the shorezone are important

considerations, the state has and is providing for such uses.

Application of the trust to millions of acres historically and

A-31

presently within the shorezone is overkill, contrary to

public policy, and an inequitable infringement on long-

settled and vested titles.

I. The Trust

The common law trust at issue has repeatedly been de-

scribed by our courts as applying to tide and submerged

lands. (E.g., City of Berkeley v. Superior Court (1980) 26

Cal.3d 515, 518-519, fn. 1 [162 Cal. Rptr. 327, 606 P.2d 362];

Marks v. Whitney (1971) 6 Cal.3d 251, 257, fn. 1 [98 Cal.

Rptr. 790, 491 P.2d 374]; City of Long Beach v. Mansell

(1970) 3 Cal.3d 462, 482 [91 Cal.Rptr. 23, 476 P.2d 423];

San Diego County Archaeological Society Inc. v. Com-

padres (1978) 81 Cal.App.3d 923, 925 [146 Cal.Rptr. 786].)

The Clear Lake lands now at issue are not tidelands—they

are not daily covered and uncovered by the flow and ebb of

tide water. (See Marks v. Whitney, supra, 6 Cal.3d 251, 258;

People v. Kerber (1908) 152 Cal. 731, 733 [93 P. 878].)

Unlike tidelands the instant shorezone is uncovered for long

periods of time—often the better part of a year. Tidelands

unlike the instant lands are covered and uncovered twice

each day by salt water, which—unlike the waters of Clear

Lake—severely limits use of underlying lands for agri-

cultural purposes. The instant shorezone land is obviously

not submerged land.

Before considering historical matters requiring rejection

of the majority’s extension of the trust to shorezones, we

should first consider the trust as it applies to true tide and

submerged lands.

A-32

Tidelands and submerged lands owned by the state are

held in trust for public purposes of navigation, commerce

and fisheries. (City of Long Beach v. Mansell, supra, 3 Cal.

3d 462, 482; People v. California Fish Co. (1913) 166 Cal.

576, 584 [138 P. 79].) Tidelands subject to the trust may

not be alienated into absolute private ownership; an at-

tempted conveyance of such land transfers “only bare legal

title,” and the property remains subject to the public trust

easement. (Id.) The decisions of this court have established

that the trust is a limitation on governmental as well as

private reclamation activities. (City of Long Beach, supra,

3 Cal.3d 462, 482-486; Atwood v. Hammond (1935) 4 Cal.2d

31, 38 [48 P.2d 20]; City of Oakland v. Williams (1929)

206 Cal. 315, 327-328, 330-331 [274 P. 328].)

The uses permitted within the trust are described in

Marks v. Whitney (1971) 6 Cal.3d 251, 259-260 [98 Cal.Rptr.

790, 491 P.2d 374], as follows: “Public trust easements are

traditionally defined in terms of navigation, commerce and

fisheries. They have been held to include the right to fish,

hunt, bathe, swim, to use for boating and general recrea-

tion purposes the navigable waters of the state, and to use

the bottom of the navigable waters for anchoring, standing,

or other purposes. [Citations.] The public has the same

rights in and to tidelands. [J] The public uses to which

tidelands are subject are sufficiently flexible to encompass

changing pu lie needs. In administering the trust the state

is not burdened with an outmoded classification favoring

one mode of utilization over another. [Citations.] There is

a growing public recognition that one of the most important

publit uses of the tidelands—a use encompassed within the

tidelands trust—is the preservation of those lands in their

A-33

natural state, so that they may serve as ecological units

for scientific study, as open space, and as environments

which provide food and habitat for birds and marine life,

and which favorable affect the scenery and climate of the

area. It is not necessary to here define precisely all the pub-

lic uses which encumber tidelands.”

Permissible uses of tidelands whether by government

or private citizens are numerous within the broad terms of

the public trust for navigation, commerce, fishing and other

purposes. For example, in City of Oakland v. Wiliams

(1929) 206 Cal. 315, 319-323 [274 P. 328], this court upheld

the use of such lands by a private party for a warehouse

to be used for shipping, processing, and packing dried

fruits. (See Atwood v. Hammond (1935) 4 Cal.2d 31, 40 [48

P.2d 20].)

Nevertheless, there are certain common land uses which

are not included within trust uses, namely, residential, agri-

cultural, and general governmental. Individuals as well as

government may enforce the trust. (Marks v. Whitney,

supra, 6 Cal.2d 251, 261-262.)

Reclamation of tidelands does not in and of itself ter-

minate the public trust. (Marks v. Whitney, supra, 6 Cal.

3d 251, 261; City of Long Beach v. Mansell, supra, 3 Cal.

3d 462, 483; Newcomb v. City of Newport Beach (1936)

7 Cal.2d 393, 402 [60 P.2d 825]; Atwood v. Hammond

(1935) 4 Cal.2d 31, 40-41 [48 P.2d 20].) However, if the

Legislature finds and determines that particular lands are

no longer useful for trust purposes, it may free them from

the trust. (Marks v. Whitney, supra, 6 Cal.3d 251, 260;

City of Long Beach v. Mansell, supra, 3 Cal.3d 462, 482.)

A-34

Statutes purporting to terminate the public use will be

carefully scanned to determine whether that was the leg-

islative intent. (City of Berkeley v. Superior Court, supra,

26 Cal.3d 515, 525.)

II. The Shorezone Historically

We were taught in elementary schools that geographical

conditions encountered by early settlers of our great Cali-

fornia valleys were significantly different from those pres-

ently existing. Winter and spring rains and snows melting

in the Sierras created great inland seas in the center of

California. The width of rivers measured by feet in sum-

mer extended to miles during parts of the spring.“ While

the land regularly covered by water was as rich as any

in the world, it could only be effectively farmed after the

Historically, the Sacramento River has carried off the annual

spring flow of seasonal rains and melting snows which arise in sur-

rounding mountains. Large basins were formed as vast amounts of

water regularly overflowed river banks. During spring seasons, the

total basin covered 1,250 square miles and in extraordinary years

1,700 square miles. When spring flood waters evaporated, the most

fertile and productive agricultural land was exposed. (See, Rep. of

A Board of Engineers Upon Examination of Sacramento, San Joa-

quin, and Feather Rivers, Cal., H.R. Doc. No. 262, 59th Cong., Ist

Sess., p. 6 (1905); Rolle, California: A History (1969) pp. 370-371.)

Similarly, the Fresno River (Miller & Lux v. Madera Canal etc. Co.

(1909) 155 Cal. 59, 63-64 [99 P. 502], and the San Joaquin River

(Herminghaus v. So. California Edison Co. (1926) 200 Cal. 81,

q ) have traditionally overflowed during the spring

time to produce large marshland areas, which were subsequently

A-35

Much of the history of California is tied to reclamation

and farming of the state’s rich bottom land. Such reclaimed

lands have become some of the world’s most productive

farmland. Other large areas of reclaimed land have been

used for urban development. For example, much of Sacra-

mento is built upon reclaimed land. (E.g., Gray v. Reclama-

tion District No. 1500 (1917) 174 Cal. 622, 626-631 [163

P. 1024] (Sacramento and Feather Rivers); Miller & Lux

v. Madera Canal etc. Co. (1909) 155 Cal. 59, 67 et seq.

99 P. 502] (San Joaquin River); Modoc L. & L. S. Co. v.

Booth (1894) 102 Cal. 151, 153 et seq. [36 P. 431] (Pitt

River).)

In addition to tracts now protected from flood waters

there remain large tracts that—while flooded in winter

and spring—are naturally drained and farmed in the

summer and fall. For example, the Yolo Basin, which is

used during the annual runoff to reduce flood pressure

on other areas (see, Gray v. Reclamation District No. 1500,

supra, 174 Cal. 622, 631), is an area of many square miles

and is put to productive farm use when the waters recede.

Similarly, not all homes built within the shorezones are

free from regular flooding. Thousands of such homes

remain, for example, along the Russian River. These shore-

zone homes are regularly flooded.

The acres of reclaimed land which have been put to

productive agricultural and residential use numbers in

the millions. So far as I am aware, the Legislature has

never found or determined such reclaimed lands useless

for trust purposes or free of the trust. Indeed, it is by

no means clear the Legislature could have found or could

A-36

now find such reclaimed lands or even the greater portion

thereof uselesc for trust purposes when we remember that

among such purposes are recreational and ecological uses.

While the lands may be extremely valuable for agricultural

and residential purposes, a balancing of values is not the

test under the trust doctrine. The test is lack of value for

trust purposes. In addition, it must be pointed out that the

government exacted a ransom of $783,500 to clear the title

of the homeowners in the subdivision in the asserted tide-

lands area involved in City of Long Beach v. Mansell,

supra, 3 Cal.3d 462, 475.

The history of development of our great agricultural

valleys and related residential development is directly in

conflict with the asserted common law trust the majority

seek to impose.

The majority trust doctrine is not merely in conflict

with the private assertion of fee interest to reclaimed

lands, but it is abundantly clear the state lias encouraged

and provided for such uses. One need only examine the

three volumes of West Publishing Company’s Appendix

to our Water Code to note the collection of statutes enacted

by our Legislature to establish reclamation districts which

were obviously designed to further private agricultural

use of reclaimed lands. While such districts may have also

furthered navigational purposes on the concerned bodies

of waters, it would be unreasonable to conclude that assess-

ments against reclaimed lands to finance the costs of recla-

mation did not reflect increased values of properties as

agricultural lands or that reclamation districts were not

created with the intent the lands were to be used for agri-

A-37

cultural purposes. Further, numerous municipalities in

historical shorezone areas have approved subdivisions for

residential development and have provided residential

services, all of which activities are in conflict with the

majority’s trust.

In concluding that in the past 130 years there has been

a public policy to maintain land in its natural state or

to limit historical shorezones to trust uses, the majority

blind themselves to the historical development of control-

ling law. This law recognizes what highly productive mem-

bers of our society undertook to forge, not only to serve

their needs but also to serve the needs of society with the

authorization, approval and encouragement over the years

of our Legislatures, Governors, and local governmental

agencies.

Application of the trust doctrine to the shorezone is

contrary to California public policy. Rather than preclud-

ing farming and residential use of the shorezone, the policy

has been to encourage reclamation and farming and resi-

dential use of these properties.

Protection of parts of our historic shorezone for the

purposes permitted by the trust is a worthy endeavor but

it should not be accomplished with a blunderbuss that con-

fiscates thousands—perhaps millions—of titles, and jeop-

ardizes existing use of millions of acres of residential and

farm lands. While, as the majority recognize (State of

California v. Superior Court (Fogarty), post, p. 240 [—

Cal.Rptr. —, — P.2d —]), the state must compensate the

landowner for improvements should it choose to exercise

the trust and take property for park or other purpose,

A-38

it is not required to compensate for taking the land. From

time immemorial landowners within the shorezone have

conducted themselves in good faith as if they were owners

in fee, and the land (apart from improvements) has been

assessed and taxed as in the case of all fees not subject

to the state’s assertion of a right to take under a trust.

To impose the trust at this late date on all property within

the shorezone so that the state may take it without pay-

ment is confiscation and constitutionally impermissible.

In concluding that the trust doctrine must extend to the

shorezone the majority rely mainly upon Illinois Central

Railroad v. Illinois (1892) 146 U.S. 387 [36 L.Ed. 1018,

13 S.Ct. 110] where the Supreme Court held that a grant

of submerged lands in Lake Michigan was subject to the

trust. (Id., at p. 452 et seq. [36 L.Ed. at p. 1042 et seq.].)

The court expressly recognized that it did not impose a

trust on the shorezone. It stated: “If it be ascertained

and determined that such piers and docks do not extend

beyond the point of practicable navigability, the claim of

the railroad company to their title and possession will be

confirmed; but if they or either of them are found on such

inquiry to extend beyond the point of such navigability,

then the State will be entitled to a decree that they, or the

one thus extended, be abated and removed to the extent

shown .. .” (Id., at p. 450 [36 L.Ed. at p. 1041].) The

court’s order was to the saine effect. (Id., at p. 464 [36

L.Ed. at pp. 1046-1047].)

A-39

Far from serving as authority to extend the trust to

freshwater shorezones, Illinois Central Railway reflects it

is only navigable submerged lands that are subject to the

trust.

I would deny mandate.

Richardson, J., concurred.

A-40

APPENDIX A-2

In The Supreme Court of the State of California

S.F. No. 24035

THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA et al., Petitioners v.

THE SUPERIOR COURT OF PLACER COUNTY,

Respondent; CHARLES F. FOGERTY et al.,

Real Parties in Interest.

[Filed Mar. 20, 1981]

OPINION

MOSK, J.—The present action is concerned with the

ownership of lands between high and low water in Lake

Tahoe, a navigable lake in which there is no appreciable

ebb and flow of the tide. The primary issues are the same

as those discussed in State of California v. Superior Court

(Lyon), ante, page 210 [. Cal.Rptr. ......, ...... P. 2d ], but

some questions in addition to those in the Lyon action are

raised by the parties.

In the spring of 1977, the State Lands Commission, after

being advised by the Attorney General that the state

claimed ownership of the property between high and low

water in navigable nontidal lakes and rivers, proposed to

record claims to such lands in the offices of county

recorders throughout the state.

Thereupon, Charles and Stella Fogerty and other owners

of property along the shore of Lake Tahoe, and Tahoe

Shorezone Representation, a corporation which represents

many shoreline owners, filed this action for declaratory

relief and inverse condemnation, and claimed violation of

AAl

their civil rights (42 U.S.C. § 1983).* The complaint alleged

that plaintiffs owned the lands between high and low water

in the lake in fee simple, that many of them had built piers

or docks extending to low water, and that the state wrong-

fully asserted title or a public trust t, high water. Plaintiffs

sought an injunction to prevent the s ate from claiming any

interest in the property between high and low water. As

defendants in the action, they joined the state, the State

Lands Commission, and several state officials (hereinafter

called the People).

After overruling the demurrers of the People and grant-

ing plaintiffs a preliminary injunction prohibiting the state

from recording a notice that it owns the lands between high

and low water in Lake Tahoe, the trial court granted plain-

tiffs’ motion for partial summary judgment. It ruled that

no portion of the property involved in this action landward

of the last natural low water mark of Lake Tahoe is or

by the People. Thereafter, the People filed this proceeding,

seeking a peremptory writ of mandate to direct the trial

Section 1983 provides: “Every person who, under color of any

the jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation of any rights, privileges,

to the party injured in an action at law, suit in equity,

prope: proceeding for redress. . . .”

A-42

court to vacate its order granting plaintiffs’ motion, and

to enter an order granting the motions made by the People.

The major issue raised by the plaintiffs, not discussed

in Lyon, is that of estoppel. Strictly speaking, that issue

is not formally before us. Plaintiffs’ complaint pleads a

cause of action for declaratory relief in estoppel, but their

motion for partial summary judgment did not seek a ruling

on this issue, and the trial court did not pass upon the

question. The People, urging that plaintiffs should not be

permitted to raise the issue, assert that estoppel is a ques-

tion of fact for the trial court in any future proceeding.

This argument is technically tenable. But if estoppel were

to be determined on a case-by-case basis it would require

a massive expenditure of time and money by the state,

riparian landowners, and the judiciary. Such an effort

may be avoided if, as we shall conclude, we can decide

the question as a matter of law on the basis of the present

record. (Cf. City of Long Beach v. Mansell (1970) 3 Cal.3d

462, 487-488 [91 Cal.Rptr. 23, 476 P.2d 423].)

The elements of equitable estoppel were described so

thoroughly by Justice Sullivan in Mansell that little more

need be said on the subject.“

*There are four elements necessary to apply the doctrine: “(1)

the party to be estopped must be apprised of the facts; (2) he must

intend that his conduct shall be acted upon, or must so act that the

party asserting the estoppel had a right to believe it was so in-

tended; (3) the other party must be ignorant of the true state of

facts; and (4) he must rely upon the conduct to his injury.” (3 Cal.

3d at p. 489.)

We note that the opinion of the Attorney General referred to in

Lyon declares that the public trust applies to the land in question

(43 Ops. Cal. Atty. Gen. 288, 294 (1984)), and that it has long been

A-43

Since we find that one critical requirement for the

application of the doctrine is absent, we need not discuss

other aspects of the doctrine or their relevance to the

present case. Estoppel will not be applied to the govern-

ment if the result would be to nullify a strong rule of

policy adopted for the benefit of the public (Mansell, 3

Cal3d at p. 493), and we entertain no doubt that this

would be the result if we were to hold that the People

are barred from asserting the public trust in the lands at

issue.

As we point out in Lyon, our decision will affect the

rights of the public in 4,000 miles of shoreline along 34

navigable lakes and 31 navigable rivers, and many thou-

sands of acres of land between high and low water (the

shorezone). Amicus curiae in the Lyon action, the Cali-

fornia Department of Water Resources, points out that

the shorezone has been reduced to a fraction of its original

size in this state by the pressures of development. Such

lands now cover less than one half of 1 percent of the

state; a further reduction by 15 percent was projected

for 1980. Some authorities have warned that at the pres-

ent rate of destruction nearly all riparian vegetation on

the Sacramento River could be eliminated in the next

20 years.

The shorezone is a fragile and con plex resource. It

provides the environment necessary for the survival of

numerous types of fish (including salmon, steelhead and

settled in this state that the fact a private landowner has title to

tidewaters does not establish such ownership is free of the interest

of the public. (See, e.g., People v. California Fish Co. (1913) 166

Cal. 576 [138 P. 79].)

A-44

striped bass), birds (such as the endangered species: the

bald eagle and the peregrine falcon), and many other

species of wildlife and plants. These areas are ideally suited

for scientific study, since they provide a gene pool for the

preservation of biological diversity. In addition, the shore-

zone in its natural condition is essential to the maintenance

of good water quality, and the vegetation acts as a buffer

against floods and erosion.

The close relationship of the life forms in the shorezone

to one another and to the condition of the bed of the

stream or lake, the delicate balance among them, and the

adverse effects of reclamation and development of these

areas have been documented in numerous studies and

reports. (E.g., U. © Dept. of Agr., Forest Service (1973)

Gen. Plan for Management of Nat. Forest Lands, Lake

Tahoe Basin, Review Draft, Lake Tahoe Management Unit,

South Lake Tahoe, pp. 1-2; Cal. Dept. Fish and Game

(1974) Fish and Wildlife Res. of Anderson Marsh, Clear

Lake, Lake County; Cal. Dept. Fish and Game (1966)

1 Fish and Wildlife Plan, p. 14.) One commentator has

observed: [The argument is now commonplace that these

environments are the earth’s most biologically productive

... If nature bats last, wetlands may be the natural team’s

designated hitter.” (Nash, Who Loves a Swamp? in Strate-

gies for Protection and Management of Floodplain Wet-

lands, ete., a Symposium (USDA Forest Service, GTR-

WO-12, Dec. 11-13, 1978.)) The recreational use of these

areas for picknicking, hunting, fishing, hiking, birdwatch-

ing and nature study does not require elaboration to any

Californian. In Marks v. Whitney (1971) 6 Cal.3d 251,

259-260 [98 Cal.Rptr. 790, 491 P.2d 374], Justice MeComb

made the following comment for a unanimous court regard-

A-45

ing the public uses of tidelands: “There is a growing

public recognition that one of the most important public

uses of the tidelands—a use encompassed within the tide-

lands trust—is a preservation of those lands in their

natural state, so that they may serve as ecological units

for scientific study, as open space, and as environments

which provide food and habitat for birds and marine life,

and which favorably affect the scenery and climate of the

area.” That observation is equally applicable to the shore-

zone.

The Legislature has recognized the value of the shore-

zone by enacting statutes calling for its protection. (Pub.

Resources Code, §§ 5093.50, 5811.) Section 5811 provides

that “the remaining wetlands of this state are of increas-

ingly critical economic, aesthetic, and scientific value to the

people of California, and . . . there is need for an affirma-

tive and sustained public policy and program directed

at their preservation, restoration, and enhancement, in

order that such wetlands shall continue in perpetuity to

meet the needs of the people.”

We are not convinced by the assertion that fhese con-

siderations do not rise to the level of a strong public

policy in favor of retaining the public trust in the shore-

zone. Plaintiffs argue that a large percentage of the shore-

line of Lake Tahoe is presently devoted to public use

either because of public ownership or the public utilization

of privately owned shoreline facilities such as marinas,

that the problems at Lake Tahoe are related to a large

influx of people which contributes to the pollution of the

lake, that the public beach areas are overused and the

A-46

forest cover destroyed by motor vehicles, and that the best

preserved areas of the lake are in private ownership.

Thus, they urge, the public interest in preservation of the

scenic beauty of the lake would be enhanced by private

rather than public ownerskip of the shorezone. Moreover,

it is argued, owners are limited in their use of the shore-

zone by many regulations designed to protect the ecology

of the area,“ and these are adequate to protect the public’s

interest.

Amicus curiae, the California Land Title Association, in

a brief filed in the Lyon action, asserts that the People

exaggerate the ecological importance of the shorezone

since not all shorezone areas are of ecological importance,

some of the most significant being located above high

water or below low water. It is also argued that the

imposition of a trust on behalf of the public will not

necessarily provide the ecological benefits which the

People envision. That goal can be better accomplished on

a project-by-project basis n which ecological concerns can

be dealt with and private improvements prohibited, lim-

*For example, state law requires mitigation of adverse environ-

mental effects of a project (Pub. Resources Code, § 21000 et seq.),

development which will obstruct the flow of a river or lake or

which uses material from a stream bed must be approved by the

Department of Fish and Game to determine whether it will ad-

versely affect fish and wildlife (Fish & G. Code, § 1603); the

California Tahoe Regional Planning Agency has broad powers to

enact ordinances for the regulation of improvement at the lake

(Gov. Code, § 67100), and 10 percent of the wetlands in the state

are protected by a law providing for the formulation of a plan to

control development of Suisun Marsh (Pub. Resources Code,

§ 29000 et seq. ).

AAT

ited, or modified, depending on the ecological needs of the

area involved.

Whether or not the shorezone of Lake Tahoe would be

better preserved if privately owned than if the public has

an interest therein is not determinative, since we are not

concerned here with recreation only, nor with Lake Tahoe

alone, but with a principle which will apply to 4,000 linear

miles along all the navigable lakes and rivers in California,

in many of which the conditions may well differ in some

respect from those at Lake Tahoe. Preservation of the

public trust in the shorezone will allow the state flexibility

in determining the appropriate use of such land, so that,

for example, areas which are endangered by overuse can

be closed to certain activities such as public bathing. A

number of the considerations advanced by plaintiffs and

amicus would call also for abdication of the tidelands trust

and the substitution of regulation of tidelands development

for the concept of the publie's right to control such lands

as a matter of right. These arguments appear to oppose

the established public trust doctrine in principle, rather

than its application to the shorezone as such.

The exercise of the police power has proved insufficient

to protect the shorezone. The urgent need to prevent deteri-

oration and disappearance of this fragile resource provides

ample justification for our conclusion that the People may

not be estopped from asserting the rights of the public

in those lands.

One question remains: whether the boundary between

public and private ownership should be determined with

reference to Lake Tahoe in its current condition, or the

A8

“natural” level of the lake as it existed prior to the con-

struction of a dam in 1870, which had the effect of raising

the level of the lake. (See 30 Ops.Cal.Atty Jen. 262, 267-

268 (1957).) The trial court concluded that the appropriate

boundary between public and private ownership is to be

measured in accordance with the “last natural” low water

mark of the lake. Plaintiffs argue in favor of the trial

court's ruling, while the People assert that the boundary

should be fixed by assessing the lake in its current condi-

tion.

There is no direct authority on this issue in California.

While there is authority relating to a landowner's right

to accretions and relictions* and to the maintenance of a

body of water at its existing level,“ the issue in the present

case revolves around rights in land between the natural

water level of a lake and its current shoreline as raised

by a dam constructed many decades ago. The People point

Section 1014 of the Civil Code provides that where land forms

by imperceptible degrees from natural causes upon a river or

stream by accumulation of material or the recession of the stream,

it belongs to the owner of the bank. In Carpenter v. City of Santa

Monica (1944) 63 Cal.App.2d 772, 794 [147 P.2d 964], the court

refused to apply this statute to tidelands, deciding that artificial

accretions to tidelands belong to the state, because to hold other-

wise would indirectly convey public tidelands into private owner-

ship.

Some cases hold that a landowner has a vested interest in a

long-continued diversion of water by the state if he has made sub-

stantial expenditures in reliance upon the diversion (Natural Soda

Prod. Co. v. City of L. A. (1943) 23 Cal.2d 193, 197 [143 P.2d 12);

Chowchilla Farms Inc. v. Martin (1933) 219 Cal. 1, 18 [25 P.2d

435]), and that he may recover damages if the level of a lake is

lowered (City of Los Angeles v. Aitken (1935) 10 Cal. App. 2d 460,

472 [52 P.2d 585] ).

A-49

out that it would be difficult (and probably impossible in

some cases) to reconstruct the natura! water level of a

lake. There are hundreds of dams in California, some

dating back to the early days of statehood. (Dept. of Wat.

Resources, Dams Within Jurisdiction of State of Cal.

(1976) Bull. No. 17-76.) The monumental evidentiary prob-

lem which would be created by measuring the boundary

line between public and private ownership in accordance

with the water level which existed prior to the construction

of these dams provides a convincing justification for ac-

cepting the current level of the lake as the appropriate

standard.

Moreover, the dam at Lake Tahoe has been in existence

since 1870, long past the period required for the acquisition

of prescriptive rights by the state in the lands in question.

(Civ. Code, § 1007; Code Civ. Proc., § 325.) It has been

held in other jurisdictions that a landowner loses owner-

ship of property covered by water resulting from the

construction of a dam if the condition has continued for

the period required for the acquisition of prescriptive

rights. (State v. Parker (1918) 132 Ark. 316 [200 S.W.

1014, 1016]; State v. Sorenson (1937) 222 Iowa 1248 [271

N.W. 234, 238-239].) Sorenson stated that in these circum-

stances “the artificial condition is . . . stamped with the

character of a natural condition, and the title to the lands

covered by the waters of the lake is deemed to have passed

from private ownership to the same trust as that of lands

covered by the waters of natural navigable lakes. The

state, and private owners, as well of lands affected by

the artificial condition, may enforce the maintenance of

that condition.” (Cf. Chowchilla Farms Inc. v. Martin,

A-50

supra, 219 Cal. 1, 18; Natural Soda Prod. Co. v. City of

L. A., supra, 23 Cal.2d 193, 197.)

We hold that, under all the circumstances, the trial

court erred in its conclusion that the “last natural” low

water mark of Lake Tahoe is the appropriate standard

by which to measure the boundary between public and

private ownership.

We emphasize, as we did in Lyon, that these plaintiffs

may use the shorezone for any purposes which are not

incompatible with the public trust. Landowners who have

previously constructed docks, piers and other structures

in the shorezone may continue to use these facilities unless

the state determines, in accordance with applicable law,

that their continued existence is inconsistent with the

reasonable needs of the trust. In that event, both statute

and case law require that plaintiffs be compensated for

the improvements they have constructed in the shorezone.

(Pub. Resources Code, § 6312; Illinois Central Railroad v.

Illinois (1892) 146 U.S. 387, 455 [36 L.Ed. 1018, 1043,

13 S.Ct. 110]; City of Berkeley v. Superior Court (1980)

26 Cal.3d 515, 534 [162 Cal.Rptr. 327, 606 P.2d 362].)

Let a writ of mandate issue directing the trial court to

vacate its order granting plaintiffs partial summary judg-

ment, and to grant the People’s motion for partial sum-

mary judgment and partial judgment on the pleadings,

insofar as consistent with the views expressed above.

Bird, C. J., Tobriner, J., and Newman, J., concurred.

CLARE, J., Dissenting—For the reasons stated in my

concurring and dissenting opinion in State of California v.

Superior Court (Lyon), ante, page 210, [...... Cal.Rptr. ......,

A-51

..... P.2d ......], the public trust declared today by the majority

applies only to tide and submerged lands and does not

apply to the shorezone. While the shorezone at Lake Tahoe

may be a ring around the lake only a few feet in width,

shorezones on navigable streams encompass hundreds of

square miles which are presently in productive use for

other than trust purposes, and we should not at this late

date declare ‘such uses unlawful.

I must also dissent from the majority’s conclusion that

the People may not be estopped from asserting the trust.

The holding of the sole authority relied on by the majority,

City of Long Beach v. Mansell (1970) 3 Cal.3d 462 [91

Cal.Rptr. 23, 476 P.2d 423], is directly contrary to today’s

decision.

In Mansell, the City of Long Beach had claimed portions

of a residential subdivision were tidelands subject to the

trust. Estoppei was urged on the ground: “[T]he subject

lands were filled and improved with the knowledge and

acquiescence of the state and city and . . . since annexation

of the area in 1923 the city has exercised full municipal

jurisdiction over it—granting building permits, approving

subdivision maps, constructing and maintaining streets

and city services, collecting taxes.” (Id., at p. 487.)

This court first discussed estoppel as applicable to

private parties in land title cases, concluding that the

cireumstances would be sufficient to estop private claims.

The court continued: “It is settled that ‘[t]he doctrine of

equitable estoppel may be applied against the government

where justice and right require it. (United States Fid. &

Guar. Co. v. State Board of Equalization (1956) 47 Cal.2d

A-52

384, 388-389 [303 P.2d 1034] and cases there collected.)’

(Driscoll v. City of Los Angeles, supra, 67 Cal.2d 297,

306 [61 Cal. Rptr. 661, 431 F.2d 245].) (See generally 28

Am.Jur.2d, Estoppel and Waiver, W 122-133, pp. 782-802;

31 C. J. S., Estoppel, §§ 138-147, pp. 675-733.) Correlative to

this general rule, however, is the well-established proposi-

tion that an estoppel will not be applied against the govern-

ment if to do so would effectively nullify ‘a strong rule of

policy, adopted for the benefit of the public, ...’ (County

of San Diego v. Cal. Water etc. Co. (1947) 30 Cal.2d 817,

829-830 [186 P.2d 124, 175 A.L.R. 747], see also cases there

cited.) The tension between these twin principles makes

up the doctrinal context in which concrete cases are

decided.” (Id., at p. 493.)

After lengthy discussion of the leading cases on the issue

of estoppel against government, Mansell distilled the con-

trolling rule: “After a thorough review of the many Cali-

fornia decisions in this area, as well as a consideration of

various out-of-state decisions, we have concluded that the

proper rule governing equitable estoppel against the gov-

ernment is the following: The government may be bound by

an equitable estoppe! the same manner as a private party

when the elements requisite to such an estoppel against a

private party are present and, in the considered view of a

court of equity, the injustice which would result from a

failure to uphold en estoppel is of sufficient dimension to

justify any effect apon public interest or policy which would

result from the raising of an estoppel.” (Id., at pp. 496-497.)

The court concluded that the great injustice to home-

owners which would result from failure to uphold an

A-53

equitable estoppel against the state and city justifies the

minimal effect upon public policy resulting from raising

an estoppel. (Id., at p. 501.)

The majority in the instant case rely upon the language

quoted above that “an estoppel will not be applied against

the government if to do so would effectively nullify ‘a

strong rule of policy, adopted for the benefit of the public,

..” The majority conclude that establishing trust rights

to the shorezone is so important that the People may not be

estopped as to thousands of linear miles of shorezone.

(Ante, pp. ............. )

The majority decision is arbitrarily contrary to Mansell.

That case established that in appropriate circumstances

the People could be estopped to assert the trust, when the

resulting injustice would outweigh the public policy. There

are no doubt, thousands of homeowners in cities of the Sac-

ramento and San Joaquin Valleys, as well as other areas of

the shorezone, in substantially the same position as were

the homeowners in Long Beach. These homeowners, and

thousands of farmers will suffer thousands of “great

injustices,” clearly outweighing the public trust loss in

respect to individual lands. (3 Cal.3d at p. 501.)

While it would be a tremendous burden on the judicial

system to determine in individual cases whether imposition

of the trust involves “great injustice” outweighing trust

detriment, the courts’ business is the administration of

justice. However burdensome the alleviation of “great

injustice” may be, courts should not shirk their duty.

I would deny mandate.

Richardson, J., concurred.

A-54

APPENDIX A-3

SUPERIOR COURT

OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

FOR THE COUNTY OF LAKE

No. 13925

RAYMOND R. LYON and MARGARET L. LYON,

Plaintiffs,

v.

THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA, et al.,

Defendants.

THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA, et al.,

Cross-Complainants,

v.

RAYMOND R. LYON, et al.,

Cross-Defendants.

COUNY OF LAKE,

Plaintiff in Intervention,

v.

RAYMOND R. LYON, et al.,

Defendants in Intervention.

ORDER PARTIALLY DENYING

AND PARTIALLY GRANTING

MOTIONS FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT

(Code of Civ. Proe. § 437¢)

[Filed Oct. 25, 1978]

A-55

Plaintiffs Raymond R. Lyon and Margaret L. Lyon

having filed herein (on June 12, 1978) their motion for

partial summary judgment, defendants State of California,

acting by and through the State Lands Commission and the

Attorney General of the State of California having filed

herein (on July 6, 1978) their motion for partial summary

adjudication, and plaintiff in intervention County of Lake

having filed herein (on June 16, 1978) its motion for partial

summary judgment;

IT IS ORDERED THAT:

1. Kach of said motions is denied, except to the extent

to which it is hereinafter granted.

2. Pursuent to the provisions of Code of Civil Pro-

cedure §437c, the following matters shall be deemed

established for all purposes of this action:

a. No portion of the property which is the subject

of this action, lying landward of the last natural

ordinary low water mark of Clear Lake, is sovereign

property of the State of California.

b. No portion of the property which is the subject

of this action, lying landward of the last ordinary low

water mark of Clear Lake, is subject to the common

law public trust for commerce, navigation and fisheries.

e. Lands underlying the waters of Clear Lake and

lying waterward of the last natural ordinary low water

mark of Clear Lake are held by intervenor County of

Lake in trust for the People of the State of California

by virtue of Chapter 639, Statutes of 1973, and defend-

ant State of California is the owner of all rights in said

lands reserved to it in said Chapter 639.

A-56

d. Lands underlying the waters of Clear Lake and

lying water-ward of the last natural ordinary low

water mark of Clear Lake are subject to the public

trust for commerce, navigation and fishery.

e. The waters of Clear Lake, as, when, and to the

extent that they rise above the last natural ordinary

low water mark of Clear Lake and cover lands lying

between the last natural ordinary low water mark and

the last natural ordinary high water mark, are subject

to a public servitude for navigation, the nature and

extent of which shall be determined by the judgment in

this action.

Dated: October 25, 1978.

JOHN J. GOLDEN

Judge of the Superior Court

A-57

APPENDIX A-4

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF THE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

FOR THE COUNTY OF PLACER

No. 48281

CHARLES F. FOGERTY, STELLA FOGERTY,

RUSSELL S. GROVE, NANCY J. GROVE, HAROLD

E. EBRIGHT, JR. KATHERINE FAIRLIE

EBRIGHT, GEORGE HILTON EDMONDSON,

JANET LOUISE EDMONDSON, LAURENCE L.

LINDSEY, JR., ROSEMARY F. LINDSEY, HOMER

H. HAYWARD, REID W. DENNIS, TAHOE MEAD-

OWS, a California corporation and TAHOE SHORE-

ZONE REPRESENTATION, a Nevada corporation,

Plaintiffs,

vs.

STATE OF CALIFORNIA; STATE LANDS COM-

MISSION OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA;

KENNETH CORY, STATE CONTROLLER, CHAIR

MAN OF THE STATE LANDS COMMISSION;

MERVIN M. DYMALLY, LIEUTENANT GOV-

ERNOR, COMMISSIONER OF THE STATE LANDS

COMMISSION; ROY M. BELL, DIRECTOR OF

FINANCE, COMMISSIONER OF THE STATE

LANDS COMMISSION; WILLIAM F. NORTHROP,

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR OF THE STATE LANDS

COMMISSION; GEORGE DEUKMEJIAN, ATTOR-

NEY GENERAL OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA;

J. F. TROUT, MANAGER, LAND OPERATIONS

OF THE DIVISION OF STATE LANDS; DOES I

through X, inclusive. Defendants.

A-58

ORDER GRANTING PLAINTIFFS’ MOTION FOR

PARTIAL SUMMARY JUDGMENT AND DENY-

ING DEFENDANTS’ MOTION FOR PAR-

TIAL SUMMARY JUDGMENT (CODE

OF CIVIL PROCEDURE § 437c)

[Filed June 4, 1979]

Plaintiffs’ motion for partial summary judgment, filed

March 1, 1979, and defendants’ motion for partial sum-

mary judgment, filed March 30, 1979, came on regularly

for hearing before me on April 16, 1979. Edgar B. Wash-

burn, William T. Chidlaw and Barbara L. Gately appeared

as counsel for plaintiffs and Jan Stevens, David B. Judson

and Stephen H. Mills appeared as counsel for defendants.

The Court examined the declarations submitted in support

of, and in opposition to, the respective motions, and the

matter was argued and submitted to the Court.

The Court being fully advised herein, and good cause

appearing therefor,

IT IS ORDERED that plaintiffs’ motion herein is

granted and the following matters are found to be without

substantial controversy and shall be deemed established

for all purposes of this action:

1. That no portion of the subject property land-

ward of the last natural water mark of Lake

Tahoe is, or ever was, sovereign property of the State

of California; and

2. That no portion of the subject property land-

ward of the last natural low water mark of Lake

5

A-59

Tahoe is, or ever was, subject to the common law

public trust for commerce, navigation and fisheries.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that defendants’ motion

herein is denied.

DATED: June 4, 1979

KEITH F. SPARKS

Keith F. Sparks

Judge of the Superior Court

A-60

APPENDIX B

NOT TO BE PUBLISHED IN OFFICIAL REPORTS

SEE CONCURRING OPINION

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL

OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

IN AND FOR

THE THIRD APPELLATE DISTRICT

(Placer)

3 Civil 17381

(Super. Ct. No. 48281)

CHARLES F. FOGERTY, et al., Plaintiffs

and Respondents,

V.

STATE OF CALIFORNIA, et al., Defendants

and Appellants.

[Filed Mar. 28, 1979]

Defendants appeal from a preliminary injunction order.

As will appear, without addressing the merits, we shall

conclude that the trial court did not abuse its discretion

in issuing the preliminary injunction.

The events leading to the injunction are as follows:

by letter dated March 8, 1977, the Attorney General

advised the State Lands Commission (“Commission”) of

the State’s claim of sovereign ownership—to ordinary

high-water mark—of the beds of non-tidal navigable lakes

and streams throughout California. Pursuant to this

advice, the State Lands Commission announced its inten-

tion to record notices of such claim in the counties where

A-61

navigable lakes and streams are located. Plaintiffs, alleging

ownership interests in Lake Tahoe waterfront property,

sought to restrain the Commission from recording such

notices unless the notices consisted of a lis pendens filed

in conjunction with a legal proceeding. As requested, the

trial court issued a pr liminary injunction prohibiting

the Commission from recording such notices.

Defendants ve the right to appeal from an order

granting a preliminary injunction. (Code Civ. Proc.,

§ 904.1, subd. (f).) However, the scope of inquiry on appeal

is limited so that the reviewing court will not interfere

with the trial court’s order in the absence of a showing of

clear abuse of discretion. (Weingand v. Atlantic Sav. &

Loan Assn. (1970) 1 Cal. 3d 806; Continental Baki... Co.

v. Katz (1968) 68 Cal.2d 512; Porter v. Jennings (1891)

89 Cal. 440.) Nevertheless, the parties’ briefs exhaustively

argue the heart of the underlying dispute.

The substantive issue is whether the land between the

ordinary high and low water marks along the shorelines

of navigable lakes and streams is in State or private

ownership. The State urges us to resolve this issue on

this appeal from the preliminary injunction order. The

trial court’s issuance of a preliminary injunction order,

however, neither attempts to adjudicate nor has the effect

of adjudicating the merits of the ultimate controversy.

(Patterson v. Board of Supervisors (1875) 50 Cal. 344;

Socialist Workers etc. Committee v. Brown (1975) 53

Cal.App.3d 879.) Rather, it simply preserves the status quo

pending trial (Continental Baking Co. v. Katz, supra,

68 Cal.2d at p. 534; People v. Black’s Food Store (1940)

16 Cal.2d 59; West Coast Constr. Co. v. Oceano Sanitary

Dist. (1971) 17 Cal.App.3d 693), so that final resolution on

A-62

the merits may not become ineffectual. (Froomer v.

Drollinger (1960) 183 Cal.App.2d 787.) Here, then, the

trial court’s granting of the preliminary order succeeded

in restraining the Commission’s recording of notice without

proceeding further to comment one way or another on the

strength of opposing claims to the lakeshore property.

(See Bomberger v. McKelvey (1950) 35 Cal.2d 607; Miller

& Lux v. Madera Canal ete. Co. (1909) 155 Cal. 59.) Con-

sequently, at this stage of the litigation, we as an appellate

court do not determine the rightful owner of the lakeshore

property, but properly confine ourselves to a review of the

propriety of the trial court’s issuance of the preliminary

injunction against the Commission. (Continental Baking

Co. v. Katz, supra, at p. 512; Patterson v. Board of Super-

visors, supra, 50 Cal. 344; State Bd. of Barber Examiners

v. Star (1970) 8 Cal App.3d 736; French Art Cleaners v.

St. Bd. ete. Cleaners (1949) 91 Cal. App. 2d 890.)

The Supreme Court, in Continental Baking Co. v. Katz,

supra, at page 528, has described the mechanics by which

a trial court, in balancing the respective equities of the

parties, decides whether to grant or deny a request for a

preliminary injunction: “. . the court examines all of the

material before it in order to consider ‘whether a greater

injury will result to the defendant from granting the

injunction than to the plaintiff from refusing it:

ations.] In making that determination the court will

consider the probability of the plaintiff’s ultimately

prevailing in the case, and it has been said, will deny a

preliminary injunction unless there is a reasonable prob-

ability that the plaintiff will be successful in the assertion

of his rights. [Citations.] As was said in Family Record

Plan, Inc. v Mitchell (1959) 172 Cal. App. 2d 235, 242 [342

A-68

F. d 10], In the last analysis the trial court must deter-

mine which party is more likely to be injured by the

exercise of its discretion [citation] and it must then be

exercised in favor of that party [citation].’ ”

The preliminary injunction here preserved plaintiffs’

existing claims to the property extending to the low water

mark of Lake Tahoe. The State has demonstrated no

significant injury that would result to it from a granting

of the preliminary injunction order. In the other hand,

plaintiffs have asserted that they would stand to incur

substantial harm from a refusal of their request for a

preliminary injunction. Base“ on respondents’ reasonable

likelihood of prevailing on the merits, the trial court,

within the appropriate bounds of its discretion, eguld have

concluded that denial of the preliminary injunction order

would threaten to cloud title so as effectively to prevent

respondents’ transfer of the lakeshore property, or would

otherwise threaten to interfere with any interests in the

lakeshore property presently possesse? by respondents.

Finally, we do not agree with State that it is beyond

the reach of injunctive relief in the instant circumstance

because the application of Civil Code section 830 to these

facts is the very question in issue in this litigation. (Cf.

Code Civ. Proc., § 526, subds. 4 and 6; Civ. Code, § 3423,

subd. (4).)

The order granting the preliminary injunetion is

affirmed.

REYNOSO, J.

I concur:

PUGLIA, P.J.

A-64

Who owns the land between the ordinary low-water mark

and the ordinary high-water mark along the shoreline of

California’s non-tidal’ navigable waters, including Lake

Tahoe? Is it the State or the bordering property owner?

From at least 1916, and until 1970, the Attorney Gen-

eral of California took the position that the State owned

the beds of non-tidal navigable lakes and streams only to

ordinary low-water mark. (Ops.Cal.Atty.Gen. 3100, pp. 5-6

(1916); 23 Ops.Cal.Atty.Gen. 97 (1954); 43 Ops.Cal.Atty.

Gen. 291 (1964).) By its letter of March 8, 1977, however,

the Attorney General advised the State Lands Commission

that the State asserts, and since 1970 has been asserting,

sovereign ownership of the beds of navigable lakes and

streams to ordinary high-water mark. When the Commis-

sion thereafter announced its intention to record notice of

the State’s claims in the reeorder’s office of counties where

such lakes and streams are located, certain owners of prop-

erty bordering on Lake Tahoe filed this action and ob-

tained the challenged preliminary injunction against such

recordation.

I

The majority does not reach the merits of the contro-

versy. My colleagues conclude that on appeal from the

issuance of a preliminary injunction they need only decide

whether there is a reasonable probability that plaintiffs

will ultimately prevail and whether a greater injury will

A-65

result from granting the injunction than from denying it.

That general proposition is both correct (Continental Bak-

ing Co. v. Katz (1968) 68 Cal.2d 512, 528) and applicable

here; therefore I concur in the majority opinion. But un-

like the majority, I am not prepared to end the matter thus.

Because I view the ownership issue, on the merits, as a

pure question of law with a very clear answer, in the

interests of judicial economy, I would resolve it here and

now. No further evidence or hearing in the trial court could

possibly change the result.

II

California Civil Code section 670, as enacted in 1872 and

amended in 1873-1874, states: “The State is the owner of

all land below tide-water, and beiow ordinary high-water

mark, bordering upon tide water within the State; of all

land below the water of a navigable lake or stream; .. .”

This is clarified in Civil Code section 830, also enacted

in 187, and amended in 1874 to read: “Except where the

grant under which the land is held indicates a different

intent, the owner of the upland (when it borders on tide-

water) takes to ordinary high-water mark; when it borders

upon a navigable lake or stream, where there is no tide,

the owner takes to the edge oj the lahe or stream, at low-

water mark; .. .” (Emphasis added.)

*In its original form, section 830 provided:

“When land borders upon tide water, or upon water which

constitutes an exterior boundary of the State, the owner of the

upland takes to the high water mark; when it borders upon a

navigable lake where there is no tide, the owner takes to the

edge of the lake at low wate: mark; when it borders upon

any other woter, the owner takes to the middle of the lake

or stream.”

A-66

Section 830 has been widely accepted as establishing

ordinary low-water mark as the limit of California’s

sovereign lands beneath non-tidal inland navigable lakes

and streams. In addition to such treatment in the line of

Attorney General’s opinions cited above, it has been so

treated in a number of reported decisions, including Los

Angeles v. Aitken (1935) 10 Cal.App.2d 460, 467; Crews

v. Johnson (1962) 202 Cal.App.2d 256, 258; and United

States v. Gossett (9th Cir. 1969) 416 F.2d 565. More-

over, I note from the limited record before us that certain

of the conveyances of property bordering Lake Tahoe

specifically describe the waterward boundary as the line of

“ordinary low water.” None of the conveyances in the

record refer to high water.

The asserted rationale for the State’s repudiation of its

former position begins with an 1850 statute providing that

. . . unless inconsistent with applicable state law, the com-

mon law of England shall be the rule of decision.” (Stats.

1850, ch. 95, p. 219; see now Civ. Code, § 22.2.) The Sn-

preme Court in Lux v. Haggin (1886) 69 Cal. 255, 384-385

ruled: “The act of 1850 adopts the common law of England.

.. . And the expression common law of England” desig-

nates the English common law as interpreted as well in the

English courts as in the courts of such of the states of the

Union as have adopted the English common law. . . And

it was not the common law ‘as the same was administered’

at a certain date that it was adopted, but the common law.

..+ The statute adopts the common law of England except

where inconsistent with the constitutions and statutes, and

there can be no good reason why, to ascertain the common

A-67

law of England, we should not refer to the decisions. of

English and American courts (in states where the common

law prevails) rendered before and subsequent to the date

of the statute.”

The State then argues that pursuant to this definition

the “common law” rule in 1850 (or at least prior to the

enactment of section 830 in 1872) was sovereign ownership

of non-tidal inland navigable lake and stream beds to ordi-

nary high-water mark; once California adopted the high-

water mark standard by “common law” incorporation, the

subsequently enacted section 830 was but a “rule of con-

struction of boundaries,” in view of the introductory clause

“Ce)xcept where the grant .. indicates a different intent.”

By its terms, the argument continues, section 830 does not

purport to grant the State’s sovereign lands and thus for

sound policy reasons it cannot be construed as a grant,

citing inter alia, People v. California Fish Co. (1913) 166

Cal. 576.

The State errs in its initial hypothesis. The common law

was not sovereign ownership to high-water mark.

The earliest United States Supreme Court case to asso-

ciate inland “navigable water” (and “high water”) with

title was Barney v. Keokuk (1876) 94 U.S. 324. In that

landmark decision, the court summarized the American

view of the common law of England on the subject: “By

the common law, . . [all lands beneath] navigable waters

belong to the Crown; but as the only waters recognized in

England as navigable were tide waters, the rule was often

expressed as applicable to tide-waters only, . . (Barney,

supra at p. 337.) The court then pointed out that the

A-68

reason for the rule was equally applicable to nontidal

navigable waters, . . that reason being, that the public

authorities ought to have entire control of the great pas-

sage ways of commerce and navigation, to be exercised

for the public advantage and convenience. (Barney,

supra at p. 338.)

The court went on: “The confusion of navigable with

tide-water, found in the monuments of the common law,

long prevailed in this country, notwithstanding the broad

differences existing between the extent and topography

of the British island and that of the American continent.

It had the influence for two generations of excluding the

admiralty

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.