Petition — Marino v. United States

Supreme Court brief1981

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Office -Supreme Court, U.S.

FilLED

80-1950 MAY 18 1981

ALEXANDiWN L. STEVAS,

=GEERK

in Ghe

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM 1980

VINCENT E. MARINO, Petitioner

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

HAROLD R. TYLER, JR.

FREDERICK T. DAvis

Attorneys for Vincent E. Marino

30 Rockefeller Plaza

New York, New York 10112

(212) 541-4000

Of Counsel:

Lesuie C. LEVIN

PATTERSON, BELKNAP, WEBB & TYLER

30 Rockefeller Plaza

New York, New York 10112

Question Presented

Whether, in a prosecution under 18 U.S.C. § 660, which

separately requires that the victim of an embezzlement be a

“corporation engaged in commerce as a common carrier” and

further that the embezzled funds arise or accrue from, or be

used in, interstate commerce, the Government met its burden

by alleging and proving only one of the two jurisdictional

requirements.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

oo Br error rt ye ee

TOU OE FIIs 6.6 0 vies ciivesccweeseceeneeee

RI DE ins os awbiacdecesancvaseereine eat

PUT 666.6 che i5 bs aKb Cie eeeka eee

B. The Indictment, The Trial and The Couri of

Ag GR iis vsvacsccernagaxenen

ae Pe rere

2. Pre-Trial Proceedings and Trial.......

3. The Court of Appeals’ Opinion .......

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT..............

I. The Decision of the Panel Is Plainly

PRC Py csvasicdvsvdedexeceeaseneees

A. The Statutory Language ............

B. The Legislative History .............

C. The Canons of Interpretation........

II. The Decision in This Case Conflicts With

the Practice in Every Other District That

Flas Used Section 660 ......ccccccccees

III. The Panel’s Decision Creates an Unwise

and Unintended Policy in the Administra-

tion of the Federal Criminal Laws.......

PAGE

I a kee ee gs ee re 22

APPENDIX

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals in

United States v. Vincent E. Marino, review of

ey eS 6s 60k 5 00 or ioe ve kee a bsaees A-l

Judgment of United States Court of Appeals filed

PE AOE NE oho vinss cee seeaee kines s A-19

Order of United States Court of Appeais Deny-

ing Petition for Rehearing ana Suggestion of

Rehearing En Banc, filed March 18, 1981... A-20

Sp OEE Guns ls bbe bonstcraweens acne A-21

Redacted Indictment Submitted to Jury in

United States v. Vincent E. Marino ........ A-22

Other Indictments in Which Section 660 has

ENS G50 dos sR kebes bivece owas eas A-27

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Adamo Wrecking Co. v. United States, 434 U.S. 275

RR PR Pe Bec kan Ai ath ere ARIE ea Se Kei

Chimel v. California, 395 U.S. 752 (1969).......

Hamling v. United States, 418 U.S. 87 (1974) ...

Houston, East and West Texas Railway v. United

OED, Bae AP Oe COPORD oa va veces ve-eces

Montclair v. Ramsdell, 107 U.S. 147 (1883).....

Perrin v. United States, 444 U.S. 37 (1979)......

Reiter v. Sonotone Corp., 442 U.S. 330 (1979) ...

Rewis v. United States, 401 U.S. 808 (1971).....

Russell v. United States, 369 U.S. 749 (1962) ...

Schwegmann Bros. v. Calvert Corp., 341 U.S. 384

UE Ceca e canter anaes ce cers s Tue unedck ats

Simpson v. United States, 435 U.S. 6 (1978).....

United States v. Bass, 404 U.S. 336 (1971)......

United States v. Camp, 541 F.2d 737 (8th Cir. 1976)

United States v. Chestnut, 533 F.2d 40 (2d Cir),

cert. denied, 429 U.S. 829 (1976).............

United States v. Cook, 384 U.S. 257 (1966) .....

United States v. Corey, 566 F.2d 429 (2d Cir. 1977)

United States v. Debrow, 346 U.S. 374 (1953) ...

United States v. Gregg, 612 F.2d 43 (2d Cir. 1979)

United States v. Kimball, 441 F.2d 505 (10th Cir.

SE deus bodice waren eb scenee bei ceekhemey.s

ky PEPPEECEET ETC E LOOT TEU CL ee

United States v. Marino, 639 F.2d 882 (2d Cir.

| RARE ea Margery ee en ee par

PAGE

14

13

15

5, 11

13

20

13

14

15

12

14

13,14

15

15

16

20

15

19

16, 17

19

passim

CASES PAGE

United States v. McGee, 242 F.2d 520 (7th Cir.

he AR A Aes Mee as ten ee eth ecg eat Be Saree 17

Unites States v. Menasche, 348 U.S. 528 (1955).. 13

United States v. O’Brien, 391 U.S. 367 (1968) ... 12

United States v. Queen, 445 F.2d 358 (10th Cir.),

cert. denied, 404 U.S. 1003 (1971)............ 16, 17

United States v. Rabinowitz, 339 U.S. 56 (1950). 13

United States v. Tye, 519 F.2d 586 (10th Cir.), cert.

SE A ME OU CEP TOD oc ccc seceseawesss 17

Whalen v. United States, 445 U.S. 684 (1980) ... 14

STATUTES

| ce mere eee ee passim

aS er 20

et re 20

EE 6k 6c adevd ons0n a0 seen i denesane 20

Pe PU EMO 6 co vsvccccccsseresaenees 13

IMRT CEP cc wscesccecnessseceeevees l

Be Cs BO OD vce ccccccccccscccenevcces 3

OTHER AUTHORITIES

H. Friendly, Benchmarks (1967) .............44. 13

If Sutherland, Statutory Construction (1973)..... 13

L. Tribe, American Constitutional Law (1978) ... 13

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

The Petitioner Vincent E. Marino respectfully

requests that a writ of certiorari issue to review the opinion

and judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Second Circuit entered on January 22, 1981.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals is reported at 639

F.2d 882. It appears in the Appendix hereto at A-1—A-18.*

The District Court filed no opinions on issues raised in this

petition.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered on

January 22, 1981. (A-19). On February 5, 1981, Mr.

Marino filed a timely petition for rehearing and a suggestion

of rehearing en banc; the petition and suggestion were denied

on March 18, 1981. (A-20). The jurisdiction of this Court is

invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTE INVOLVED

This case involved application of 18 U.S.C. § 660. That

section appears at A-21.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. The Facts

Vincent Marino and William O’Donnel were executives

and principal owners of Marine Repair Service, inc., a New

York company that repaired containers, container chassis,

and other equipment used in ship transportation. In 1974 and

1975, Prudential Grace Lines, Inc., a large American flag

carrier engaged exclusively in foreign commerce, needed

extensive modification work on approximately 50 container

chassis.

* Citations to the Appendix to this petition are in the above form.

The Joint A dix in the Court of Appeals is cited as “J.A.”;

references to “Tr.” followed by a date are to the transcript proceedings

on that date; references to “Ex.” are to Government’s Exhibits, which

were included in an exhibit volume on appeal.

2

In August or September, 1974, Keith Nelson, the Director

of Intermodal Operations at Prudential, spoke with Marino at

Marine Repair’s office in Staten Island about reconditioning

or modifying several Prudential container chassis. Shortly

thereafter, Marino reported to Nelson that the modification

of the chassis would cost either $1,995 or $2,450, depending

on the chassis model involved. (J.A. 193). Nelson objected

that the price was too high, to which Marino allegedly

responded by smiling and saying “[g]o see your boss about

it.” Id. Nelson spoke with John Marano, an executive vice

president and director of Prudential. Marano told Nelson

that Marino’s quoted price included $900 kickbacks which

Marano, Nelson and Anthony Scotto would share equally.

(J.A. 195-96; 206).

On various dates between November 1974 and July 1975,

Marine Repair performed modification work on many of

Prudential’s chassis. Nelson testified that whenever approxi-

mately ten chassis had been completed (J.A. 209), Marine

Repair would submit an invoice to Prudential, and Nelson

would approve and expedite payment of the invoices. A check

would issue from Prudential to Marine Repair (Ex. 21-25),

and would be deposited in Marine Repair’s account. (Ex.

26A, 26B, 26C). Thereafter, Nelson allegedly received his

kickback by means of a check made out to Container Sales,

Ltd., a fictitious company which Nelson controlled. (J.A.

218-19).

No witness testified that any part of the illicit scheme

involved interstate commerce, and no document suggests

interstate movement of any sort. Prudential’s offices were

within the City of New York, and its container chassis were

stored in yards in Brooklyn, New York. Marine Repair’s

offices and yards were in Staten Island. (J.A. 172, Tr. 660).

Thus, the chassis repaired by Marine Repair only traveled

between Brooklyn and Staten Island. Furthermore, Pruden-

tial maintained its bank accounts in New York City (J.A.

139); Marino delivered the Marine Repair invoices in person

to Prudential (J.A. 212); and the Prudential checks were

deposited in New York State banks by Marine Repair. (Ex.

26A, 26B and 26C). Similarly, Nelson picked up his

3

“kickback” checks in person in Staten Island. (J.A. 254, 259,

263). In short, the entire process—from the initial com-

munciation between Nelson and Marino, to the transfer of

container chassis from Prudential to Marine Repair, through

the receipt of kickbacks by Nelson—took place completely

within New York State.

B. The Indictment, The Trial and

the Court of Appeals’ Opinion

1. The Indictment. Mr. Marino was originally indicted

on January 17, 1979, in indictment 79 Cr. 32, which charged

him with four misdemeanor violations of the Taft-Hartley

Act, 29 U.S.C. § 186(a). On July 31, 1979, the Government

filed superseding indictment S 79 Cr. 32, which realleged the

same four misdemeanor counts against Mr. Marino, making

other changes not relevant here. On December '!2, 1979, a

third indictment, SS 79 Cr. 32, abandoned the previous Taft-

Hartley violations, and alleged in their stead five counts of

violating 18 U.S.C. § 660 and of conspiracy to do so. One

day later, the Government filed its fourth indictment against

Mr. Marino, SSS 79 Cr. 32, which realleged the Section 660

violations against him and added for the first time co-

defendant William O’Donnel to three of the five counts. The

indictment alleged that the defendants participated in a

scheme to embezzle funds “arising and accruing from, and

used in, in whole and in part, Prudential Lines’ business as a

firm and corporation engaged in commerce as a common

carrier. ...” (A-23).

2. Pre-trial Proceedings and Trial. Prior to trial, the

defendants moved to dismiss the indictment on the ground,

inter alia, that it failed to state a crime under 18 U.S.C. § 660

in that it alleged only one of Section 660’s two interstate

commerce jurisdictional requirements. The trial court denied

the motion without an opinion. Tr. March 5, 1980 at p. 34.

4

At trial Mr. Marino was convicted on all four counts

submitted to the jury.* He was sentenced to a term of one

year and one day on Counts One and Two (to be served

concurrently), and two years of probation on Counts Three

and Four.

3. The Court of Appeals’ Opinion. On appeal to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, Mr.

Marino’s principal claim was that the Government had mis-

interpreted and misapplied the jurisdictional provisions of

Section 660 and had failed to allege and prove the two

separate and independent jurisdictional links to commerce

required by the statute. Specifically, he argued that in addi-

tion to demonstrating that the funds have been embezzled

from a firm engaged as a common carrier in commerce as

required in the first clause of Section 660, the Government

must prove that the purloined funds arose or accrued from or

were used in such commerce, at least in part, as required by

the last clause. For its part, the Government argued that

Section 660 applies to embezzlements from common carriers

whether or not the embezzled funds themselves had any direct

connection with interstate commerce. It.argued that since the

general funds of Prudential derived at least in part from

transactions in commerce, and since Marino participated in a

scheme to embezzle general funds, the jurisdictional require-

ments of the statute were satisfied.

In an opinion dated January 22, 1981, the Second Circuit

panel rejected Marino’s arguments and affirmed the convic-

tion. United States v. Marino, 639 F.2d 882. Describing the

legislative debates relating to Section 660 as at times

“somewhat confused,” the Court found that “[t]he debate

does not support Marino’s position that the funds must be

traced to a specific transaction in interstate commerce.” (A-

10). Instead, it noted that Congress intended the “arising

from” language only to require that embezzlement of funds

have an effect on commerce sufficient to justify federal

* On the Government’s consent, two counts were consolidated into

one at the close of the Government's case. A redacted indictment

(A-22 - A-26) was submitted to the jury.

5

intervention under the Shreveport Rate Case, Houston, East

and West Texas Railway v. United States, 234 U.S. 342

(1914). From this premise, and without citing to any specific

language from the debates, it concluded that “[t]he correct

focus is on the connection between the funds of the com-

mon carrier and foreign or interstate commerce and is not

between the funds and some particular transaction in com-

merce.” (A-10).

As if forgetting this last statement, the Court later

acknowledged that “the statute requires that the embezzled

funds themselves be connected with foreign or interstate com-

merce, not that the funds be connected to a business which is

engaged in commerce.” (A-12). The Court seemed satisfied,

however, because while “more precise draftsmanship charg-

ing that the funds and assets themselves bear some relation to

interstate commerce beyond mere ownership by the common

carrier would have been preferable, the indictment may be

fairly read to charge that the funds were in fact derived from

foreign or interstate commerce.” (A-11). Moreover, it con-

cluded that “any money accruing from or used in Prudential’s

steamship business must be largely composed of funds which

arise from or are used in foreign commerce and which there-

fore satisfy the jurisdictional requirements of Section 660.”

Id.

REASONS FOR GRANTING WRIT

The pertinent provisions of 18 U.S.C. Section 660 are as

follows:

Whoever, being a president, director, officer, or manager

of any firm, association, or corporation engaged in com-

merce aS a common carrier, or whoever, being an

employee of such common carrier riding in or upon any

railroad car, motortruck, steamboat, vessel, aircraft or

other vehicle of such carrier moving in interstate com-

merce, embezzles, steals, abstracts, or willfully misap-

plies, or willfully permits to be misapplied, any of the

moneys, funds, credits, securities, property, or assets of

such firm, association, or corporation arising or accruing

from, or used in, such commerce, in whole or in part, or

6

willfully or knowingly converts the same to his own use

or to the use of another, shall be fined not more than

$5,000 or imprisoned not more than ten years, or both.

As set forth in greater detail later in this petition, Section

660 is unique in the federal criminal code in that it requires

two separate links with interstate commerce: the first clause

requires that the victim be a “firm, association, or corporation

engaged in commerce as a common carrier” and a later clause

makes it a crime to embezzle funds “of such firm, association

or corporation arising or accruing from, or used in, such

commerce, in whole or in part... .” In this case, as in other

cases in the Southern District of New York, the prosecutor

deliberately ignored these separate and independent jurisdic-

tional requirements. It proceeded on a theory that satisfac-

tion of the first requirement—-that the embezzlement be of a

common carrier—necessarily satisfied the second require-

ment, and that allegation and proof of embezzlement of the

general funds of a carrier without any specific link between

such funds and commerce satisfies the statute. Thus, the

prosecutor ignored the language of the statute and alleged

simply that the defendants participated in a scheme to embez-

zle funds “arising and accruing from, and used in, in whole

and in part, Prudential Lines’ business as a firm and corpora-

tion engaged in commerce as a common carrier. ...” (A-23).

Similarly, the proof showed only that the defendant embez-

zled general funds of Prudential and failed to demonstrate

that the embezzled funds arose or accrued from or were used

in commerce, even in part.

The opinion of a panel of the Court of Appeals, which

allows the Government to premise a violation of 18 U.S.C.

Section 660 upon alleging and proving only one of two

separate jurisdictional requirements, should be reviewed by

this Court for at least three reasons.

First, the decision is clearly incorrect. The language of

the statute itself, its lengthy and detailed legislative history,

and every applicable canon of statutory interpretation all

compel a conclusion that Section 660’s separate jurisdictional

requirements must be separately alleged and proved.

7

Second, the decision in this case conjiicts with the prac-

tice in every other prosecuting district that has used Section

660. As set forth in greater detail in the petition, the

prosecutors in every judicial district other than the Southern

District of New York have separately alleged the two juris-

dictional requirements of Section 660 and, as far as research

reveals, have adduced proof that the embezzled funds directly

derived from interstate commerce.

Third, the panel’s decision yields the unintended result of

distorting the relationship between Section 660 and other

sections of the Criminal Code. Thus, a statute which was

clearly intended by Congress to require definite and precise

links with commerce is being applied to criminalize situations

in which far less restrictive federal criminal statutes cannot be

used.

I. The Decision of the Panel is Plainly Incorrect

Without exception, every aid to statutory interpreta-

tion—the intrinsic language of the statute itself; its legislative

history; and the applicable canons of interpretation—support

Mr. Marino’s contention and demonstrate the error of the

panel’s decision.

A. The Statutory Language.

Section 660 appears to be unique in the federal criminal

code in that it requires two separate and independent links

with interstate commerce. The language and structure of the

statute demonstrate that these twin requirements were not

designed to be repetitious or redundant, but rather were

meant to require separate allegations and proof.

The first jurisdictional requirement—that the defendant

be an officer “of any firm, association, or corporation engaged

in commerce as a common carrier’’—is clearly directed to the

status of the defendant and his victim.* The second jurisdic-

tional requirement of Section 660 is not directed to the

« fendant or the victim, but rather to the origin of the

* Section 660 also contains an alternative means of meeting this

first jurisdictional requirement, which is directed to a defendant who is

“an employee of such common carrier.” The indictment alleged that

the principals of the crime in which Mr. Marino participated, Keith

Nelson and John Marano of Prudential Lines, were officers or

managers of that corporation, and thus the alternative “employee”

provision of Section 660 was not involved in this case.

8

embezzled funds themselves. This second requirement ini-

tially refers back to the first, stating that the embezzled funds

must be “of such firm, association or corporation”; it then

requires in addition that the funds be “arising or accruing

from, or used in, such commerce, in whole or in part. ...”” In

short, a common-sense reading of the statute demonstrates

the obvious: Congress required that, first, the defendant be an

officer of a common carrier, and, second, that wholly apart

from the relationship of the carrier with interstate commerce,

the funds themselves have a direct link with commerce. Since

the indictment alleged only that the embezzled funds came

from Prudential’s business as a common carrier, and since

there was neither allegation nor proof that the funds them-

selves had any lik with interstate commerce, neither the

indictment no: the proof at trial satisfied the terms of the

statute.

B. The Legislative History.

The panel’s error is also confirmed by the statute’s legisla-

tive history. The relevant portion of Section 660 was first

enacted in 1914 as Section 9 of the Clayton Antitrust Act,

Ch. 323, § 9, 38 Stat. 730 (1914), subsequently codifed as 18

U.S.C. § 412 (1940 ed.) and later as 18 U.S.C. § 660 (1948

ed.). In 1914, Congress obviously could not envision the

expansive interpretation of the Commerce Clause developed

during the New Deal and thereafter. Rather, Congress was

acutely aware of its limits under the Commerce Clause.

As first proposed by the Senage Judiciary Committee, the

pertinent language of the bill which became the forerunner of

Section 660 provided:

Every president, director, officer, or manager of any

firm, association, or corporation engaged in com-

merce as a common carrier, who embezzles, steals,

abstracts, or willfully misapplies any of the moneys,

funds, credits, securities, property, or assets of such

firm, association, or corporation, or willfully or

knowingly converts the same to his own use or to the

use of another, shall be deemed guilty of a felony. . .

51 Cong. Rec. 14031 (1914). This version did not ...clude the

second interstate commerce nexus required by the present

9

Statute, and thus, in essence, reflected the position now advo-

cated by the Government.

When the original proposal reached the floor of the

Senate, however, it was rejected. Several senators noted that

the failure to require that the purloined funds themselves

derive from interstate commerce raised questions under what

they understood to be their constitutional limits under the

Commerce Clause. See, e.g., 51 Cong. Rec. 14037 (1914)

(remarks of Senator Shields) (“the language of this bill will

apply to any funds or assets of the common carrier, whether

they be used in interstate commerce or intrastate commerce.

I think as it is now written it is invalid”). Significantly, the

defenders of the bill did not claim that a broad reading of the

Statute was constitutionally permissible, but rather urged that

the statute had the more limited purpose of prohibiting acts

directly linked to interstate commerce. See, e.g., id. at 14036

(remarks of Senator White) (“I believe Congress has the

power to make it an offense to steal property on a railroad car

or steamboat while being carried from one state to another’’)

(emphasis added). In short, in these remarks and others, all

the senators—both those in favor of and opposed to the bill as

originally proposed—determined that an independent link

between the crime and interstate commerce was necessary.

Responding to these concerns, Senator Culberson pro-

posed an amendment to the bill that added the words “arising

or accruing from such commerce, in whole or in part.” /d. at

14041. This amendment was later adopted by the Senate, id.

at 14223, and, with the addition of the words “or used in” by

the Conference Committee, became law. /d. at 16170 and

16344. Thus, Congress specifically required not only that the

victim corporation be a common carrier “in commerce,” but

also that the funds themselves have an independent connec-

tion with “such commerce.”

Notwithstanding the clear purpose of this amendment, the

panel interpreted the second jurisdictional requirement to

require only that the embezzled funds derive from the general

funds of the carrier, and that those general funds derive, at

least in part, from commerce. (A-10- A-11). This argument,

10

however, was expressly rejected by the Senate. At a key point

in the deliberations on Section 660, Senator White, who

supported the bill and defended its constitutionality, discussed

the following question posed by Senator Cummins, who

opposed both:

Mr. Cummins. Very well. The United States

Steel Corporation is engaged in commerce among

the States, and is therefore subject to our regula-

tions in so far as we may impos rules that do

constitute regulations of commerce. Dees the

Senator from Alabama say that we could pass a law

making it a Federal offense or crime to commit

larceny against the property of the United States

Steel Corporation?

Mr. White. Yes; if that property was in

process of transportation from one State to another.

Mr. CuMMINS. But suppose it was not?

Mr. Wuite. Of course we could not.

Mr. CumMMINS. Why not?

Mr. White. Because the Constitution has not

conferred the power. We are without the power to

do it. That is the answer.

51 Cong. Rec. at 14036 (emphasis added).*

Moreover, as the panel acknowledged (A-8), the addition

of the second jurisdictional requirement, proposed by Senator

Culberson, was introduced for the specific purpose of satisfy-

ing doubts of the critics of the original proposal. Since the

* Moments later, Senator White made the same point in a

somewhat more dramatic fashion, as follows:

Mr, CumMMINS. I suppose the Senator would not contend that

we could make it a Federal offense under the constitutional power

for a president of a railroad corporation to beat his wife?

Mr. White. Not unless he beat her while she was bein

transported from one State to another by one of the agencies o

interstate commerce. Then we would try him and convict him for

it and we ought to hang him.

Id. (emphasis added).

persistent and repeated theme of these critics had been that

Congress should not criminalize embezzlement of undifferen-

tiated general funds or property of an interstate carrier, but

should limit the federal crime to embezzlement directly

related to interstate transportation, the purpose of the amend-

ment was obviously to require such a link.

The panel, however, simply ignored the repeated and

pointed observations of many senators, basing its entire read-

ing of the legislative history on one remark of Senator Culber-

son which had nothing to do with the directness of the link

between interstate commerce and the funds. Senator Culber-

son’s statement, quoted at A-9, that “if intrastate receipts

were affected as well as interstate receipts, the statute would

apply, nevertheless. . . .”, obviously reflects the view that if

the embezzled funds derived both from interstate and intra-

state commerce, Congress could constitutionally criminalize

their embezzlement. While this explains the “in whole or in

part”’ provision of the amendment, it has nothing at all to do

with the attack on the original bill that the amendment was

intended to satisfy, that is, the need for a link between the

embezzled funds and interstate commerce.

Similarly, the panel’s statement that the amendment to

Section 660 “was intended only to require that the embezzle-

ment of funds have an effect on commerce sufficient to justify

federal intervention under the Shreveport Rate Case” (A-10),

is wide of the mark. In his brief discussion of that case, in

which no other Senator joined, Senator Culberson pointed out

that if embezzled funds derived both from interstate and

intrastate commerce, Congress may criminalize their embez-

zlement. 51 Cong. Rec. 14041. Once again, this explains the

“in whole or in part” provision of the amendment which had

been discussed at length by Senator Shields shortly before

Culberson’s remarks; it has nothing to do, however, with the

requirement of a direct link between the embezzled funds and

interstate commerce that the “arising or accruing from such

commerce”’ language was designed to address.

12

In short, the panel’s decision turns the lengthy legislative

history of Section 660 on its head.* The original bill

presented to the Senate was the subject of direct and perva-

sive objections relating to the lack of any connection between

the embezzied funds and interstate commerce, and even

senators supporting the provision voiced their opinion that the

statute already required such a connection. In response to

these lengthy remarks, the proponent of the bill proposed an

amendment requiring that the embezzled funds arise or

accrue from interstate commerce. The panel ignored the

clear context and purpose of this amendment and based its

entire reading of the statute on a few remarks—during a

dialogue aptly described by the panel as becoming “somewhat

confused” (A-10)—after the amendment had _ been

introduced. Particularly since this Court has warned against

relying upon the statement of one legislator when attempting

to ascertain the intent of Congress, see United States v.

O’Brien, 391 U.S. 367, 385 (1968); see also Schwegmann

Bros. v. Calvert Corp., 341 U.S. 384, 395-96 (1951) (Jack-

son, J., concurring), the panel’s treatment of the legislative

history is plainly wrong.

C. The Canons of Interpretation.

In its opinion, the panel did not address the applicability

of any canons of statutory interpretation. But two clearly

applicable canons—each forcefully raised by Mr. Marino on

appeal—squarely refute the panel’s interpretation of Section

660.

First, neither the panel nor the Government addressed the

fact that their interpretations make the second jurisdictional

requirement a superfluity. All general funds of an interstate

carrier, as a matter of logic, must derive at least “in part”

from interstate commerce. If the panel and the Government

were correct, the second jurisdictional requirement would add

nothing to the rest of the statute. This Court has long

* While this petition of necessity can only quote from selected

rtions of the debate, the remarks in their ang s Bey oy su at

r. Marino’s interpretation of Section 660. The debate is repr

in the appendix on appeal at J.A. 669-699.

13

adhered to the rule of statutory construction that words in

statutes should not be construed as excess verbiage. See

Reiter v. Sonotone Corp., 442 U.S. 330, 339 (1979); United

States v. Menasche, 348 U.S. 528, 538-39 (1955) (“It is our

duty ‘to give effect, if possible, to every clause and word of a

statute,’ Montclair v. Ramsdell, 107 U.S. 147, 152, rather

than to emasculate an entire section, as the Government’s

interpretation requires’). See generally 11 Sutherland,

Statutory Construction § 46.06 (1973).

Since, as demonstrated by Congress’ lengthy and schol-

arly debate, Congress clearly intended Senator Culberson’s

amendment to have a significant and limiting effect on the

statute, the Government’s attempt to render the amendment a

nullity should be rejected. Furthermore, “words must be read

with the gloss of the experience of those who framed them.”

United States v. Rabinowitz, 339 U.S. 56, 70 (1950)

(Frankfurter, J. dissenting).* The prevalent view at the time

of Section 660’s enactment—and indeed, until at least

1937—was that the interstate commerce power should be

cautiously exploited, see L. Tribe, American Constitutional

Law, at 234-35 (1978), and the Government’s current

approach to interpreting Section 660 should be rejected.**

Second, if there is any ambiguity in Section 660, it must

be resolved in favor of Mr. Marino. In United States v. Bass,

404-U.S. 336 (1971), the defendant was charged with violat-

ing 18 U.S.C. App. § 1202(a), which provided that anyone

who “has been convicted . . . of a felony . . . and who receives,

possesses, or transports in commerce or affecting commerce...

any firearm” was guilty of a crime. The Government argued

that the term “in commerce or affecting commerce” modified

only the immediately preceding verb (“transports”), rather

than the entire verb series. In contrast to this case, certain

* Rabinowitz was overruled, on grounds not relevant here, in

Chimel v. California, 395 U.S. 752 (1969).

** As one distinguished jurist has noted, “[W]hen Congress failed

to use the words that it commonly does to invoke the whole sweep of

the commerce power, the inference was that Congress did not intend to

0 so far.” H. Friendly, “Mr. Justice Frankfurter and the oe of

tatutes,” reprinted in Benchmarks 224 (1967) (footnote omitted).

14

“aspects of the meager legislative history . . . [did] provide

some significant support for the Government’s interpreta-

tion.” /d. at 345. Nonetheless, the Court interpreted the

interstate commerce requirement to apply not only to trans-

porting but also to receiving or possessing a firearm. First, it

followed the well-settled rule that “ambiguity concerning the

ambit of criminal statutes should be resolved in favor of

lenity.” Id. at 347, quoting Rewis v. United States, 401 U.S.

808, 812 (1971). See also Whalen v. United States, 445 U.S.

684, 695 n.10 (1980); Simpson v. United States, 435 U.S. 6,

14 (1978); Adamo Wrecking Co. v. United States, 434 US.

275, 283 (1978). Second, the Court held that “unless Con-

gress conveys its purpose clearly, it will not be deemed to have

significantly changed the federal-state balance.” /d. at 349

(footnote omitted).

Both of these precepts apply to this case. As the Second

Circuit panel’s unconvincing and confused interpretation of

the statute and its legislative history confirms, Section 660 is

at best ambiguous; the ambiguity should be interpreted

against the Government. Furthermore, Congress clearly

demonstrated that it did not want Section 660 to intrude

unnecessarily upon “conduct readily denounced as criminal

by the States.” United States v. Bass, supra, 404 U.S. at 349,

as amply evidenced by the legislative history and the unusual

last paragraph of Section 660,* which plainly contemplates

that most enforcement activity in this area will be by the

states.** Thus, this case is easily governed by Bass, in which

the Government’s argument was intrinsically more plausible

and found support in the legislative history.

* The final paragraph of Section 660 provides as follows:

A judgment of conviction or acquittal on the merits

under the laws of any State shall be a bar to any prosecution

hereunder for the same act or acts.

** During floor debates on Section 660 when first enacted, several

senators expressed the view that the states, rather than the federal

government, should have principal responsibility for prosecuting

embezzlements, even from common carriers. See, e.g., 51 Cong. Rec.

14035-36 and 14038-39 (remarks of Senator Stone).

15

In short, the statutory language, the legislative history and

canons of statutory interpretation combine to compel one

conclusion: a criminal prosecution under 18 U.S.C. § 660 can

be premised only upon a showing both that the victim

corporation was a carrier “engaged in commerce” and,

separately, that the embezzled or misapplied funds them-

selves “arose or accrued from, or were used in” interstate

commerce. The Government’s contrary interpretation of this

statute resulted in a defective indictment, insufficient proof at

trial, and an improper charge to the jury.

An indictment, to be sufficient, must allege all elements of

the crime charged. See Hamling v. United States, 418 U.S.

87, 117 (1974); Russell v. United States, 369 U.S. 749, 763-

64 (1962); United States v. Debrow, 346 U.S. 374, 376

(1953); United States v. Chestnut, 533 F.2d 40, 45 (2d Cir.),

cert. denied, 429 U.S. 829 (1976); United States v. Camp,

541 F.2d 737, 739 (8th Cir. 1976). Here the Government

framed an indictment that addressed one, but not both, of the

interstate commerce requirements. While the indictment

alleged that Prudential was a “firm and corporation engaged

in commerce as a common carrier” and that the misapplied

moneys derived from Prudential’s business, the indictment

ignored the second jurisdictional requirement of an allegation

that the misapplied moneys themselves arose or accrued from

interstate commerce.

Because the trial court adopted the Government's request

to charge in haec verba, its instructions to the jury were

similarly defective. The trial judge’s charge on the require-

ment that the embezzled funds accrue or arise from interstate

commerce was as follows:

In this connection, I also charge you that it is not

necessary for the Government to prove that the very

dollars, monies, or funds which were, according to

the Government’s contention, misapplied or con-

verted to Nelson’s use or the use of others, were at

16

some point actually used by Prudential Lines in

commerce. The Government need only show that

the conversion or misapplication involved funds or

accounts which included monies, such as operating

income, arising or accruing from, or used in, in

whole or in part, Prudential’s business as a common

carrier engaged in commerce. (J.A. 639).

In contrast, the defense submitted its Request Number

28, which urged the Court to charge the language of the

statute; that is, that the moneys at issue arose from interstate

commerce. The trial court declined to charge this language

on the ground that “I don’t think that it is the law.” (J.A.

451). For the reasons set forth above, this was error.

Finally, the Government failed to meet its burden of

proving that the embezzled funds derived from interstate

commerce. It is undisputed that all incidents of the illicit

scheme occurred within one state. Neither the testimony nor

any of the exhibits demonstrated or suggested that any of the

acts from which the embezzled funds “accrued,” “arose,” or

were “used” took place outside New York State. The

damaged chassis were in New York before the scheme began;

they were then transported within New York City to Marine

Repair’s yards; Prudential’s checks were issued in New York

and delivered to Marine Repair in New York; and the

kickbacks and phony invoices were exchanged at Marine

Repair’s office on Staten Island.

In contrast, in every Section 660 decision outside the

Second Circuit in which the reported opinion gives a detailed

version of the facts, the facts demonstrate what the statute

requires—a direct link between the interstate commerce and

the embezzled funds. See, e.g., United States v. Queen, 445

F.2d 358, 359 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 1003 (1971),

(theft of moneys derived from shipment from Colorado to

Oklahoma); United States v. Kimball, 441 F.2d 505, 506

(10th Cir. 1971) (theft of proceeds of shipment from

Nebraska to Oklahoma); United States v. Cook, 384 US.

257, 258 (1966) (embezzlement of “approximately $200 from

funds of his employer accruing from an interstate shipment of

17

bananas’’); United States v. Tye, 519 F.2d 586, 587 (10th

Cir.), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 989 (1975) (theft of fees for

delivery of packages from Illinois, Ohio, Florida and Min-

nesota to Kansas). The practice in the Southern District of

New York, alone among the district courts, is thus clearly

error.

II. The Decision in This Case Conflicts With The Prac-

tice In Every Other District That Has Used Section

660

Until recently, Section 660 has not been widely used by

federal prosecutors, and the decisions interpreting its scope

and application are relatively few. Several decisions appear-

ing in the official reporters, however, quote in their text the

critical language of the indictments upon which they were

based. These decision are United States v. Queen, supra, 445

F.2d at 360; United States v. McGee, 242 F.2d 520, 521-22

(7th Cir. 1959); United States v. Kimball, supra, 441 F.2d at

506 and n. 1; United States v. Tye, supra, 519 F.2d at 587.

Without exception, the prosecutor in each of these cases

separately alleged, first, that the principal was an employee or

officer of the common carrier engaged in commerce, and,

second and separately, that the embezzled funds themselves

derived from commerce.

On appeal to the United States Court of Appeals for the

Second Circuit, Mr. Marino pointed out these decisions and

urged that they showed that the practice in the Southern

District of New York was unique. The Government

responded that each of the cited cases involved the

“employee” clause of Section 660, see p. 7, supra at n. *, and

was thus inapplicable to “officer” prosecutions, such as the

present one. For its part, the panel simply ignored the

contrary practice in other districts and did not address Mr.

Marino’s argument.

Subsequent research has demonstrated that the Govern-

ment’s position is not only misleading but factually incorrect.

The “officer” and “employee” clauses of Section 660 provide

alternative means of satisfying the first jurisdictional link,

that is, that the principal have the stated relationship with a

18

common carrier engaged in commerce. In both “officer” and

“employee” prosecutions, however, the Government bears the

burden of alleging and proving the second jurisdictiona!

requirement, that is, the connection between the embezzled

funds and commerce. Because Mr. Marino focused on this

second requirement and did not contest the first, the

purported “distinction” between officer and employee cases

was irrelevant.

Since the argument in the Court of Appeals, and with the

aid of the computer data base maintained by the Administra-

tive Office of the United States Courts, counsel for Mr.

Marino have identified every indictment filed within the last

ten years under Section 660, and have obtained copies of all

but a few of these indictments. A review of these indictments

forcefully demonstrates three points.

First, without exception, every District other than the

Southern District of New York which has presented an

indictment under 18 U.S.C. Section 660 has separately and

independently alleged both of Section 660's jurisdictional

requirements.* Instead of alleging only that the embezzled

funds arose from the common carrier’s business, as in the

Marino indictment, every other District has charged first that

the defendant was an officer or employee of a common carrier

engaged in commerce, and second that the embezzled funds

themselves derived from commerce. Since these indictments,

which total more than 30 in number, are of critical

importance in understanding the uniqueness of the

prosecutor’s practice in this case, the indictments are

reproduced in their entirety in the Appendix at A-27—A-132.

Second, these indictments show that the Government's

attempted distinction between “officer” and “employee”

prosecutions is misplaced. As the attached indictments

demonstrate, in at least five instances other Districts have

* In United States v. McKellips, No. CR 78-200 (D. Ore. 1978)

(A-96), the two commerce requirements do not appear to be separatel

alleged in the indictment. That indictment was ultimately dismi

however. A ——— indictment in that district seniaet another

individual correct yy alleged the e% requirements. United States

v. Law, No. CR 79-96 (D. Ore. 1979). (A-98).

19

filed indictments against officers of common carriers and have

uniformly drafted the indictments to include separate juris-

dictional allegations. (A-28, A-43, A-92, A-99, A-118). No

District, other than the Southern District of New York, has

combined the jurisdictional allegations into one.

Third, the record shows that in the Southern District of

New York the interpretation of Section 660 reflected in the

Marino indictment is not an isolated occurrence. In the last

five years, the Southern District has utilized Section 660 in ai

least two previous indictments. See, e.g., United States v.

Gregg, 612 F.2d 43 (2d Cir. 1979);* United States v. Kole,

442 F. Supp. 852 (S.D.N.Y. 1977). See also A-74, A-81. In

each case, the indictments failed to allege the separate juris-

dictional requirements.

Of even greater significance, after the impropriety of the

drafting of the Marino indictment was squarely raised by Mr.

Marino and his co-defendant in the District Court in this

case, the United States Attorney's office for the Southern

District of New York filed yet another indictment of Section

660 in which it persisted in collapsing the two jurisdictional

requirements into one. See A-88.** In short, the Marino

indictment was not a negligent or aberrational mistake.

Rather, the Southern District of New York has deliberately

and consistently adopted an interpretation of a statute that is

dramatically at odds with the practice in every other District,

and has served notice that it will continue to do so unless this

Court reviews its interpretation.

No Court of Appeals other than the Second Circuit in this

case has addressed the issue raised in this petition. The

reason for this, however, is clear, and demonstrates that in

every important respect there is a “conflict among the Cir-

cuits” within the meaning of Rule 17.1 of the Rules of this

Court. As exhaustively illustrated by the indictments

* In Gregg, the defendant’s appointed counsel never raised, and

apparently never perceived, the issue raised in this petition, and thus

there is no discussion of it in the Gregg opinion.

** That indictment was — superseded by an indictment

that alleged only a violation of 18 U.S.C. § 371. United States v.

Marano, SS 80 Cr. 149.

20

included in the Appendix to this petition, the prosecutor in

every District outside of the Southern District of New York

has properly drafted indictments alleging both jurisdictional

requirements. In that circumstance, of cvurse, there is no

issue relating to the drafting of the indictmer: or the inter-

pretation of the statute from whicli either the Government or

the defendant can appeal, since the issue raised in this peti-

tion was already resolved by a proper interpretation. The

result on the administration of criminal justice, however, is

precisely the same as if every other Court of Appeals had

ruled in favor of Mr. Marino's position: an indictment like

Mr. Marino's is permissible only in one District and has been

rejected in every other District. In short, no clearer “conflict”

can ever arise, and this Court should review the unique

interpretation which one District has adopted and doggedly

continues to utilize.

Ill. The Panel’s Decision Creates an Unwise and. Unintended

Policy in the Administration of the Federal Criminal

Laws

The Second Circuit’s interpretation of Section 660 creates

an unwise and unintended policy in the administration of the

federal criminal laws by distorting the relationship between

that section and other sections of the Criminal Code. Since

1914, Congress has enacted many federal criminal statutes

containing, in contrast to Section 660, only the most modest

federal jurisdictional requirements. For example, the mail

and wire fraud statutes, 18 U.S.C. §§ 1341 and 1343, have

been held by this Court to apply to illicit schemes virtually

identical to the one alleged by the Government in this case.

See, e.g., United States v. Corey, 566 F.2d 429 (2d Cir.

1977). Similarly, under the Supreme Court’s decision in

Perrin v. United States, 444 U.S. 37 (1979), the facts alleged

here would be covered by the felony provisions of the Travel

Act, 18 U.S.C. § 1952, which prohibits commercial bribery of

the sort alleged here. To avail itself of one of these statutes,

the Government would have had to show only a single

telephone call, a single use of the United States mails, or one

instance in which a participant “travel[ed] in interstate or

foreign commerce or use[d] any facility in interstate or

21

foreign commerce, including the mail.” The reason the

Government did not adopt one of these familiar and often-

used statutes is obvious: the Government could point to no

interstate travel—since all of the acts alleged to have been

committed by the defendant and the co-schemers occurred in

New York; no use of the mails—since the various invoices,

checks, and other documents were hand-delivered, and no use

of the telephone—since the schemers spoke to each other in

person. Rather than leave the prosecution of the alleged

scheme to the office of an appropriate New York State Dis-

trict Attorney, the Government chose to use a more restricted

federal statute when it was unable to proceed with less restric-

tive one.

If this Court declines to review the Second Circuit’s novel

interpretation of 18 U.S.C. § 660, it will have eliminated even

the modest jurisdictional requirements of the mail fraud, wire

fraud and Travel Act statutes with respect to common car-

riers. It will have empowered the Government in one District

alone to charge embezzlements from common carriers—with

a maximum prison term double that of the other statutes

cited above*—without any specific interstate commerce

requirement. Since Congress in 1914 clearly intended Sec-

tion 660 to be more, rather than less, restrictive in its applica-

tion than the other and more modern statutes, the panel’s

interpretation should be rejected.

* The mail and wire fraud statutes and the Travel Act all provide

for five-year maximum sentences.

22

CONCLUSION

If the decision of the panel in this case is allowed to stand,

it will permit a single federal prosecutor's office, alone among

all the federal districts in this country, to make continued use

of a unique interpretation of a criminal statute when

(1) the statute, its legislative history, and canons of

interpretation contradict the interpretation;

(2) every other prosecuting office, without exception,

has followed a different interpretation of the statute; and

(3) the decision fundamentally alters the relationship

between Section 660 and other federal criminal statutes

based on the Commerce Clause.

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for a writ of certi-

orari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

HAROLD R. Ty Ler, Jr.

FREDERICK T. DAVIS

30 Rockefeller Plaza

New York, New York 10112

(212) 541-4000

Attorneys for Vincent E. Marino

Of Counsel:

Lestig C, LEVIN

Patterson, Belknap, Webb & Tyler

30 Rockefeller Plaza

New York, New York 10112

Dated: May 18, 1981

APPENDIX

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

>

No. 182—September Term, 1980 .

(Argued September 30, 1980 Decided January 22, 1981)

Docket No. 80-1213

>—

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Appellee,

_Ve—

VINCENT E, MARINO,

Defendant-Appellant.

Before:

OAKES and NEWMAN, Circuit Judges, and

CorFRin, District Judge.*

+

Appeal froma judgment of the United States District

Court for the Southern District of New York, entered by

Judge Charies E. Stewart, Jr. after a jury trial convicting

° Honorable Albert W. Coffrin, United States District Judge for the

District of Vermont, sitting by designation.

A-l

appellant on charges related to violations of 18 U.S.C.

§ 660. Appellant appeals from his conviction on the

ground that section 660 has no proper application to the

conduct with which he was charged. He also appeals on

the ground that the trial court erred in admitting certain

evidence offered by the prosecution.

Judgment Affirmed.

>

HAROLD R. TYLER, JR., Esq., Patterson, Bel-

knap, Webb & Tyler, New York, New

York, (Frederick T. Davis, Esq., and Ken-

neth A. Caruso, Esq., of counsel), for

Defendant-Appellant.

Scott W. MULLER, Esq., Assistant United

States Attorney, (John S. Martin, Jr.,

Esq., United States Attorney for the

Southern District of New York, Attorney

Mary Jo White, Assistant United States

Attorney, of counsel), for Appellee.

>

CoFFRIN, District Judge:

Vincent E. Marino appeals from a judgment of convic-

tion entered on May 22, 1980, after a three-week jury trial

before Judge Stewart in the United States District Court

for the Southern District of New York. The jury found

Marino guilty on all four counts of an indictment charg-

ing him with conspiracy, 18 U.S.C. § 371, and aiding and

abetting the embezzlement of funds of a common carrier,

A-2

18 U.S.C. §§ 2, 660. Judge Stewart sentenced Marino to a

total of one year and one day’s imprisonment.'

In arguing that his conviction should be reversed,

Marino maintains that the provisions of 18 U.S.C. § 660

do not apply to the acts with which he was charged. In

this connection, he contends that deficiencies in the in-

dictment, the proof at trial, and the charge to the jury

each provide grounds for reversal. He also objects to the

admission of certain evidence at trial on the grounds of

irrelevance, prejudice, and unfair surprise.

Marino was convicted for his part in an overbilling and

kickback scheme involving two executives of the steam-

ship company, Prudential Grace Lines, Inc. (Prudential).

Prudential is a large American flag carrier engaged exclu-

sively in foreign commerce. The executives of Prudential

involved in the scheme were Keith Nelson, Director of

Intermodal [container] Operations, and John Marano, an

officer of the corporation and Executive-Vice President in

charge of operations. At the time of the scheme, Marino

was president and part owner of Marine Repair Services,

Inc. (Marine Repair). Marine Repair is a Staten Island

company engaged in the repair of maritime equipment

including containers and the chassis on which the con-

tainers rest when they are carrying goods by land.

The kickback scheme began in July 1974 when Nelson

decided to seek the repair and modification of approxi-

mately sixty-five of Prudential’s container chassis in or-

der to bring them into compliance with industry stan-

dards. Nelson conferred with Marano and then obtained

bids for the work from Marine Repair and other compa-

! Judge Stewart declared a mistrial of the case against Marino’s co-

defendant William O’Donnel after the jury was unable to reach a

verdict concerning him. Criminal proceedings against O’Donnel were

later terminated with the entry of a nolle prosequi order.

A-3

nies. Nelson and Marano accepted Marine Repair’s bid

for the work even though the bid was substantially higher

than others which Nelson received. The evidence showed

that Marino agreed to pay $900 per chassis in roughly

equal shares to Marano, Nelson, and Anthony Scotto of

the International Longshoremen’s Union.’

Work began on the chassis in October 1974 and lasted

until July 1975. During that period Marine modified

approximately fifty-two chassis. Marine received payment

for the work both through invoices submitted directly to

Nelson for special rush payment and through a second set

of invoices apparently submitted for the same work

through routine billing channels. Nelson, Marano, and

allegedly Scotto each received kickback payments;

Nelson’s payments alone exceeded $13,000. Nelson later

pled guilty to tax charges arising from the unreported

receipt of other kickback payments not involved in this

case.

I. Applicability of 18 U.S.C. § 660.

18 U.S.C. § 660 is directed at the theft or embezzle-

ment of funds of a common carrier by an executive or

employee. The section provides in part that

[w]hoever, being a president, director, officer or

manager of any firm, association, or corporation

engaged in commerce as a common carrier, or

whoever, being an employee of such common carrier

2 Marino was originally indicted as a co-defendant with Anthony

Anastasio, Anthony Scotto, and Joseph Lacqua. The indictment

charged Marino with violations of 29 U.S.C. § 186(a). The trial of

Scotto and Anastasio was severed, Lacqua was also tried separately,

and in December 1979 the government replaced the original counts

against Marino with the four embezzlement and conspiracy counts on

which he and O’Donnel were ultimately tried.

A-4

riding in or upon any railroad car, motortruck,

steamboat, vessel, aircraft or other vehicle of such

carrier moving in interstate commerce, embezzles,

steals, abstracts, or willfully misapplies, or willfully

permits to be misapplied, any of the moneys, funds,

credits, securities, property, or assets of such firm,

association, or corporation arising or accruing from,

or used in, such commerce, in whole or in part, or

willfully or knowingly converts the same to his own

use or to the use of another, shall be fined not more

than $5,000 or imprisoned not more than ten years,

or both.

Marino raises several objections to his conviction under

section 660. First, he claims that the indictment, proof at

trial, and charge to the jury each failed to satisfy the

statutory requirement that the embezzled funds arise or

accrue from commerce. This argument has two parts.

Marino argues that section 660 applies to the embezzle-

ment of funds derived from transactions in interstate but

not foreign commerce. He also contends that the statute

requires that the embezzled funds derive directly from

some specific, identifiable transaction in interstate com-

merce. Finally, Marino claims that the proof and charge

to the jury did not satisfy the requirement that one of the

principals in the scheme be an officer or manager of the

common carrier.

A. Foreign Commerce

Section 660 clearly reaches the embezzlement by execu-

tives of funds accruing from either foreign or interstate

commerce. When section 660 first appeared as section 9

of the Clayton Act in 1914, it applied only to executives

and managers of firms “engaged in commerce as a com-

A-5

mon carrier” who embezzle money “arising or accruing

from, or used in, such commerce.” Clayton Act, ch. 323,

§ 9, 38 Stat. 733 (1914). The Clayton Act defines com-

merce (in 1914 as well as today) to include both foreign

and interstate commerce. 15 U.S.C. § 12(a). This broad

definition of commerce placed the embezzlement of funds

arising or accruing from foreign as well as from interstate

commerce within the scope of the 1914 version of section

660.

In 1940, section 9 of the Clayton Act became section

412 of Title 18. In 1948, Congress combined section 412

with 18 U.S.C. § 409(a)5, a provision aimed at combat-

ting thefts of property from interstate shipments by

employees of the carrier, in order to create section 660.

The only reference in section 660 to interstate commerce

comes from section 409(a)5. Employees prosecuted under

section 409(a)5 and now under section 660 must be

accused of stealing property while riding on a vehicle

“moving in interstate commerce.”

To apply the interstate movement requirement to the

executive provision of section 660, however, would be

plainly incorrect. Congress did not intend the re-codifica-

tion of title 18 in 1948 to effect substantive changes in the

scope and coverage of existing criminal statutes like those

combined to form the modern section 660. United States

v. Cook, 384 U.S. 257, 260 (1966). From 1914 to the

present date, therefore, section 660 and its predecessors

have applied to the embezzlement by executives of funds

arising from either foreign or interstate commerce.

B. “Arising or accruing from, or used in, such com-

merce.”

Marino also contends that section 660 requires that the

embezzled funds must not only derive from interstate

A-6

commerce but from an identifiable transaction in inter-

state commerce as well. Marino argues that the require-

ment that the officer or manager embezzle funds “arising

or accruing from, or used in, such commerce, in whole or

in part” cannot have been satisfied in the indictment,

proof, or jury charge because the fraudulent transactions

were carried out entirely within the state of New York. He

argues further that the funds used to make the fraudulent

overpayments to Marine Repair were not the proceeds of

an identifiable transaction in interstate commerce and

thus failed to bring the fraud within the scope of section

660. In short, Marino’s position is that the ‘arising’

requirement means either that the perpetration of the

fraud must cross state lines or that the embezzled funds

must be traced to some specific interstate transaction.

In divining the intended effect of the ‘arising’ require-

_ment, the court looks to the legislative debate preceding

the passage of section 9 of the Clayton Act in 1914.

Section 9 as first proposed contained no ‘arising’ require-

ment at all. Sharp disagreement then broke out on the

floor of the Senate concerning the constitutionality of the

bill. Opponents of the measure viewed it as an invasion of

an area of the criminal law traditionally left to the states.

As Senator Stone of Missouri observed,

The power of the Federal Government in the mere

regulation of interstate commerce is wide and ample;

but we are going to do now what we have not done

before—we are going to authorize the Federal Gov-

ernment to intrude upon the States and indict offi-

cials and agents of state corporations and private

firms and associations for the crime of larceny, of

embezzlement, and other like offenses known to the

statutes of every State. Think what will result!

A-7

51 Cong. Rec. 14038 (1914). The bill’s proponents, on the

other hand, were primarily concerned with remedying

widespread scandal and abuse in the railroad industry. In

their desire to eliminate fraud, especially watered stock

schemes and the sale of railroad property to insiders for

inadequate consideration, they had few objections to the

imposition of federal penalties for criminal acts affecting

interstate commerce even though those acts might already

be illegal under state law.

In enacting section 9, Congress clearly rejected Stone’s

rather sweeping argument against concurrent state and

federal criminal jurisdiction. The more narrow constitu-

tional problem perceived by proponents and opponents of

the bill alike concerned the effect of section 9 on com-

merce which was part interstate and part local in nature.

Senator Chilton of West Virginia, for example, stated the

problem and resolved it in favor of federal intervention

regardless of any incidental effect on intrastate com-

merce.

Simply because in a specific case the director [of a

carrier] may not be an interstate instrument, or

simply because one piece of freight in a car might not

be interstate commerce, does not make the law in-

valid. We have the general power over interstate

commerce, and because intrastate commerce gets in

the way, or can not be always found out of the way,

we need not surrender our powers.

51 Cong. Rec. 14038 (1914).

.Other senators were more troubled than Chilton by the

prospect of federal regulation of purely intrastate com-

merce. In an apparent attempt to put these doubts to rest,

Senator Culberson of Texas proposed the ‘arising’ re-

quirement as an amendment to section 9. In introducing

A-8

his amendment, Culberson quoted from the then recent

decision of the Supreme Court in the Shreveport Rate

Case, Houston, East and West Texas Railway v. United

States, 234 U.S. 342 (1914), in which the Court permitted

federal regulation of rates charged by intrastate carriers

competing with interstate carriers. The gist of

Culberson’s remarks was that federal intervention in

intrastate affairs was permitted by the commerce clause if

the apparent encroachment was necessary for the ade-

quate protection of interstate commerce. Culberson in-

tended the ‘arising’ requirement to mean that although

federal prosecution under section 9 could take place only

if the fraud involved some funds derived from interstate

commerce,

if intrastate receipts were affected as well as inter-

state receipts, the statute would apply, nevertheless,

but a conviction could be had, not with reference to

intrastate trade or property, but with reference to

that affected by or received from or arising out of or

accruing from the conduct of interstate commerce as

defined in this bill.

51 Cong. Rec. 14041 (1914).

Culberson’s intention in proposing the amendment was

not understood by some of the other senators. Senator

Cummins of Texas, for example, questioned Culberson

about whether the ‘arising’ requirement confined section

9 to actual cash receipts derived directly from railroad

operations. Cummins believed that “if you are going to

make the misapplication of some of the proceeds [of

commerce] an offense we certainly ought to reach an

improper diversion of the capital of a railway company or

a common carrier as well as the earnings of a carrier.” 51

Cong. Rec. 14041 (1914). Although the subsequent ex-

A-9

change between Cummins and Culberson is somewhat

confused and ended abruptly with the introduction of

unrelated business before the Senate, it is clear that

Culberson anticipated that section 9 as amended would

reach the embezzlement of capital as well as proceeds of

an interstate carrier. After all, the abuses which prompted

the bill in the first place, particularly the scandal sur-

rounding the failure of the New York, New Haven and

Hartford Railroad, greatly exceeded the mere theft of

cash receipts.

The debate does not support Marino’s position that the

funds must be traced to a specific transaction in interstate

commerce. Although some of section 9’s most earnest

proponents feared that a strict interpretation of the ‘aris-

ing’ requirement (very like that urged by Marino in this

case) might come to restrict the usefulness of the statute,

see remarks of Senator Nelson of Iowa, 51 Cong. Rec.

15942 (1914), the Senate debate read as a whole strongly

indicates that the amendment was intended only to re-

quire that the embezzlement of funds have an effect on

commerce sufficient to justify federal intervention under

the Shreveport Rate Case. “Arise or accrue,” then, should

not be interpreted in a narrow accounting sense which

would require tracing the funds to a particular trans-

action. Instead, Congress intended the ‘arising require-

ment’ to mean that the funds must be derived from or

used in commerce in such a way that theft of the funds

has an adverse effect on foreign or interstate commerce.

The correct focus is on the connection between the funds

of the common carrier and foreign or interstate com-

merce and not between the funds and some particular

transaction in commerce.

The indictment under which Marino and O’Donnel

were ultimately tried adopts much but not all of the

A-10

language of the ‘arising’ requirement. In all four counts

Marino was charged with embezzling funds “arising and

accruing from, and used in, in whole or in part, Pruden-

tial Lines, Inc.’s business as a firm engaged in commerce

as a common carrier.” In drawing up the indictment, the

government relied on the single word “as” to satisfy the

two separate statutory requirements that the carrier be

engaged in commerce and that the embezzled funds bear

the requisite relation to commerce. Although more pre-

cise draftsmanship charging that the funds and assets

themselves bear some relation to interstate commerce

beyond mere ownership by the common carrier would

have been preferable, the indictment may be fairly read to

charge that the funds were in fact derived from foreign or

interstate commerce. The indictment describes Prudential

as a firm “engaged in commerce as a common carrier in

the steamship business.” “Commerce,” we believe, means

for purposes of the indictment exactly what it means for

purposes of section 660—interstate or foreign commerce.

In this case, any money accruing from or used in

Prudential’s steamship business must be largely composed

of funds which arise from or are used in foreign com-

merce and which therefore satisfy the jurisdictional re-

quirements of section 660.

The proof at trial bears out this interpretation of the

indictment. The government showed Prudential to be

engaged exclusively in foreign commerce. The account

from which Nelson made the overpayment was

Prudential’s principal checking account into which the

firm deposited most of its revenues from foreign com-

merce. The presence in the account of some money

derived from sources other than commerce would not

taint the account for jurisdictional purposes since section

660 applies to funds derived either wholly or in part from

interstate or foreign commerce.

A-11

The jury instructions followed the language of the

indictment closely. The trial court read the pertinent

provisions of section 660 to the jury and then discussed in

some detail each element of the crime. The court in-

structed the jury that in order to satisfy the ‘arising’

requirement

it is not necessary for the Government to prove that

the very dollars, monies, or funds which were, ac-

cording to the Government’s contention, misapplied

or converted to Nelson’s use or the use of others,

were at some point actually used by Prudential Lines

in commerce. The Government need only show that

the conversion or misapplication involved funds or

accounts which included monies, such as operating

income, arising or accruing from, or used in, in

whole or in part, Prudential’s business as a common

carrier engaged in commerce.

This instruction, like the indictment, could have been

more precise because the statute requires that the em-

bezzled funds themselves be connected with foreign or

interstate commerce, not that the funds be connected to a

business which is engaged in commerce. In the present

case, however, the distinction is of little practical conse-

quence because it is clear from the testimony at trial that

virtually all of Prudential’s funds and assets are derived

from and used in commerce. Accordingly, Marino has

failed to demonstrate the presence of reversible error

concerning the ‘arising’ requirement in either the indict-

ment, the proof at trial, or the jury charge.

C. ‘Manager’ Requirement

In order to convict Marino under section 660, the

government was required to prove that a president, direc-

A-12

tor, officer, or manager of Prudential participated in the

fraud.’ As a corporate officer of Prudential and Execu-

tive-Vice President in charge of operations, John Marano

clearly qualified as an officer or manager for purposes of

section 660. Marino, however, contends that the evidence

at trial does not support a finding that Keith Nelson was

also a manager. In addition, he claims that the jury

charge concerning the definition of a manager was inade-

quate. Marino argues, therefore, that the faulty charge

may have led the jury to convict Marino on the theory

that Nelson (but not Marano) participated in the fraud.

In the absence of sufficient evidence that Nelson was a

manager, Marino’s conviction would not be expressly

predicated on a finding of wrongful acts by a carrier

executive.

Marino’s argument fails because both the proof at trial

and the jury instructions regarding the manager require-

ment were entirely adequate. At trial Nelson was shown

to have been an executive of some importance within

Prudential at the time of the fraud. He supervised a staff

of about twenty-five people and was responsible for the

use and maintenance of all of Prudential’s containers and

related trucking and stevedoring equipment. Along with

several other division heads, he reported directly to

Marano who reported in turn to the president of the

company.

Above all, Nelson’s role in carrying out the fraud

shows him to have been an individual exercising “a great

deal of control over financial matters and policy deci-

sions” and therefore posing a special threat to commerce

justifying federal prosecution under section 660. United

3 The employee provision of section 660 has no application in this case

because it is limited to theft or embezzlement by employees actually

riding in interstate commerce.

A-13

States v. Gregg, 612 F.2d 43, 49 (2d Cir. 1979). The initial

decision to seek repair and modification of the obsolete

containers came from Nelson and was subsequently ap-

proved by Marano. Although Marano was the Prudential

executive involved in planning the kickback scheme at the

outset, Nelson was largely responsible for putting the

scheme into operation. In particular, Nelson was in a

position at Prudential which enabled him to approve the

unusual rush payment of inflated invoices from Marine

Repair. In short, the government clearly met its burden of

proof that Nelson exercised the authority of a manager

during his tenure at Prudential and could satisfy the

‘manager’ requirement of section 660 even if the jury had

determined that Marano was not involved in the fraud.

The jury instruction regarding the definition of the

term “manager” was also adequate. The trial court in-

structed the jurors to apply the term in light of their

everyday experience and to consider the titles, responsibil-

ities, authority, and hierarchical positions of both Nelson

and Marano. In the case of a term like ‘manager’ which

has no specific technical meaning and is within the com-

mon understanding of the jurors, a special definition by

the trial court is unnecessary. See United States v. John-

son, 575 F.2d 1347, 1357 (Sth Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 440

U.S. 907 (1979). The trial court’s instruction concerning

the manager requirement, therefore, contains no revers-

ible error.

Il. Pre-Trial Disclosure and Admission into Evidence

of the B Series of Invoices.

Much of the documentary evidence introduced at trial

by the government consists of copies of invoices submit-

ted by Marine to Prudential for work performed on

A-14

chassis and containers. The majority of these invoices,

the so-called A series, were submitted directly to Nelson

for special approval and rush payment. In addition,

Marino submitted a second group of invoices, the B

series, through ordinary billing channels at Prudential.

Prudential then seems to have paid both the A and the B

series of invoices. On appeal Marino objects to the

introduction of the B series on grounds of unfair surprise,

prejudice, and irrelevance.

A. Unfair Surprise

Marino claims that the government’s failure to disclose

in a timely fashion its intention of introducing the B series

hindered his defense because his attorney had no ade-

quate opportunity to prepare a means of countering the

effect of the B series. The record, however, simply does

not support Marino’s argument.

Several weeks before trial the government gave

Marino’s attorney access to a collection of documents

(between one and six file drawers according to various

representations by counsel at trial) which included the B

series as well as other documents used by the government

in preparation for trial. The government notified

Marino’s attorney that some of the documents in the

collection might be offered into evidence. Marino con-

cedes that by making the B series available in this manner,

the government complied with the technical requirements

of Fed. R. Crim. P. 16(a)(1)(C) which governs pretrial

discovery of documents and tangible objects. He con-

tends, however, that the government surprised him un-

fairly because he and his attorney were not told that the B

series would be offered into evidence until shortly before

the close of the government’s case-in-chief.

A-15

The record indicates that both the letter and the spirit

of Fed. R. Crim. P. 16 were fully satisfied in this case.

The collection of documents made available to Marino

before trial, while extensive, does not seem to have

exceeded the capacity of an attorney to read and study in

preparation for a major trial. The B series, moreover,

apparently came to the government from Marine Repair’s

files and concerns business transactions in which Marino

was directly involved. Finally, Marino and his attorney

received a special continuance in the midst of trial to give

them an opportunity for preparation concerning the B

series. In short, the defense received fair notice of the

existence of documents, including the B series, which the

government might use at trial, an opportunity to review

these documents before the start of trial, and a special

opportunity in medias res to review copies of the B series

before putting on its own case. Marino has shown no

unfair surprise which justifies reversal on appeal.

B. Relevance and Prejudice

Marino also contends that the admission of the B series

was prejudicial and the documents irrelevant because the

B series indicates only that Marine Repair may have

engaged in a second, quite separate fraud involving bdill-

ing Prudential twice for the same services. The record

indicates, however, that the B series was used at trial by

the government for a relevant purpose which outweighs

the possible prejudicial effect on the jury.

The A series invoices submitted to Nelson for rush

payment are not rich in descriptive detail. In most cases,

they contain an amount for labor and a single charge for

parts of about $650 which is attributed to a front and rear

twist lock assembly. The government introduced testi-

A-16

mony at trial that the four necessary twist locks should

have cost no more than thirty-five dollars each. In the

course of its closing argument, the government argued t

the jury that the $650 charges for parts in the A series

invoices were grossly inflated and a mere cover for money

intended for Nelson, Marano, and Scotto.

The B series bears out this claim of inflation. The

invoices in this series contain lengthy itemized lists of

relatively inexpensive parts typically costing about $400

per chassis. Charges for twist locks do not appear on the

B series invoices. An isolated and extremely high charge

for twist locks in an A series invoice and a long list of

charges in the matching B series invoice for a variety of

parts needed to repair the same chassis fairly tends to

show that the isolated charge for twist locks concealed the

fraudulent transfer of money from Prudential to Marine

Repair. “

Although the government suggested in its closing that

Marine Repair may have engaged in double-billing, that

argument was not improper. In the absence of the B

series, one of the puzzles in this case would have been

how Marine Repair could afford to kickback nearly half

the amount paid through the A series of invoices for the

repair of each chassis. An answer suggested by the B

series is that Marine Repair could afford such largesse

because it was collecting twice for each chassis it repaired.

Marino and O’Donnel were not on trial for concocting

such a scheme, but it was not error to permit the jury to

consider the part such double-billing might have played in

making possible the operation of the kickback scheme for

which Marino and O’Donnel were indicted.

In short, the B series was highly probative and relevant.

Any prejudice stemming from the jury’s discovery that

Marino and his company may have been engaged in a

A-17

certain amount of disgraceful behavior not charged in the

indictment was more than offset by the light the B series

cast on the means Marino, Nelson, and Marano em-

ployed to work the kickback scheme. Admission of the. B

series, therefore, was entirely proper.

The judgment of conviction is affirmed.

A-18

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE

SECOND CIRCUIT

FILED: January 22, 1981

A. Daniel Fusaro, Clerk

At a stated Term of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Second Circuit, held at the United States Courthouse

in the City of New York, on the twenty-second day of

January, one thousand nine hundred and eighty-one.

Present: HON. JAMES L. OAKES,

Hon. JON O. NEWMAN,

Circuit Judges

Hon. ALBERT W. COFFRIN,

District Judge

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

vs. 80-1213

VINCENT MARINO,

Defendant-Appellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Southern District of New York

This cause came on to be heard on the transcript of record

from the United States District Court for the Southern Dis-

trict of New York, and was argued by counsel.

ON CONSIDSRATION WHEREOF, it is now hereby ordered,

adjudged, and decreed that the judgment of said District

Court be and it hereby is affirmed in accordance with the

opinion of this court.

A. DANIEL Fusaro, Clerk

/s/ Edward J. Guardaro, Deputy Clerk

A-19

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

SECOND CIRCUIT

FILED: March 18, 1981

A. Daniel Fusaro, Clerk

At a stated term of the United States Court of Appeals, in

and for the Second Circuit, held at the United States Court

House, in the City of New York, on the 18th day of March,

one thousand nine hundred and eighty-one.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

v. No. 80-1213

VINCENT MARINO,

Defendant-Appellant

A petition for rehearing containing a suggestion that the

action be reheard in banc having been filed herein by counsel

for the defendant-appellant, Vincent Marino,

Upon consideration by the panel that heard the appeal it

is

Order that said petition for rehearing is DENIF>.

It is further noted that the suggestion for rehearing in

banc has been transmitted to the judges of the court in

regular active service and to any other judge on the panel that

heard the appeal and that no such judge has requested that a

vote be taken thereon.

/s/ A. DaNntEL Fusaro, Clerk

A-20

18 U.S.C. § 660

§ 660. Carrier's funds derived from commerce; State

prosecutions

Whoever, being a president, director, officer, or manager

of any firm, association, or corporation engaged in commerce

as a common carrier, or whoever, being an employee of such

common carrier riding in or upon any railroad car, motor-

truck, steamboat, vessel, aircraft or other vehicle of such

carrier moving in interstate commerce, embezzles, steals,

abstracts, or willfully misapplies, or willfully permits to be

misapplied, any of the moneys, funds, credits, securities,

property, or assets of such firm, association, or corporation

arising or accruing from, or used in, such commerce, in whole

or in part, or willfully or knowingly converts the same to his

own use or to the use of another, shall be fined not more than

$5,000 or imprisoned not more than ten years, or both.

The offense shall be deemed to have been committed not

only in the district where the violation first occurred but also

in any district in which the defendant may have taken or had

possession of such moneys, funds, credits, securities, property

or assets.

A judgment of conviction or acquittal on the merits under

the laws of any State shall be a bar to any prosecution

hereunder for the same act or acts.

A-21

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN District OF NEw YORK

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Vv.

VINCENT MARINO 4 INDICTMENT

and SSS 79 Cr. 32

WILLIAM O’DONNEL,

Defendants.

COUNT ONE

The Grand Jury charges:

INTRODUCTION

1. At all times relevant to this Indictment, the defendants

VINCENT MARINO and WILLIAM O’DONNEL were executives

of Marine Repair Services, Inc., 3551 Richmond Terrace,

Staten Island, New York. Marine Repair Services, Inc. is a

marine service and repair company and is a successor com-

pany to Marine Trailers, Inc., 3551 Richmond Terrace, Staten

Island, New York.

2. Prudential Lines, [nc., One World Trade Center, New

York, New York (formerly Prudential-Grace Lines, Inc., One

New York Plaza, New York, New York and hereinafter

referred to as “Prudential Lines’’), at all times relevant to this

Indictment, was a firm and corporation engaged in commerce

as a common carrier in the steamship business.

3. John Marano, at all times relevant to this Indictment,

was the Executive Vice-President of Operations and an officer

and Director of Prudential Lines.

4. Keith Nelson, at all times relevant to this Indictment,

was the Director of Intermodal Operations and a manager of

Prudential Lines.

A-22

THE CONSPIRACY

5. From in and around August 1974 to in and around

February 1976, in the Southern District of New York and

elsewhere, the defendants VINCENT MARINO and WILLIAM

O’DONNEL and Keith Nelson and John Marano (named

herein as co-conspirators but not as defendants), together

with others known and unknown to the Grand Jury, did

unlawfully, wilfully and knowingly conspire and agree

together and with each other to embezzle, steal, abstract,

wilfully convert to their own use, and wilfully misapply and

permit to be misapplied moneys, funds, credits, securities,

properties and assets of Prudential Lines arising and accruing

from, and used in, in whole and in part, Prudential Lines’

business as a firm and corporation engaged in commerce as a

common carrier, in violation of Title 18, United States Code,

Section 660.

MEANS OF THE CONSPIRACY

6. Among the means by which the defendants VINCENT

MARINO AND WILLIAM O’DONNEL and their co-conspirators

would and did carry out the conspiracy was the following:

(a) The defendants VINCENT MARINO and WILLIAM

O’DONNEL would and did submit to Prudential Lines inflated

invoices for refurbishing and repair work which the

defendants’ co-conspirators John Marano and Keith Nelson

authorized to be performed on certain Prudential Lines

container chassis and would and did receive in payment vari-

ous Prudential Lines checks payable to Marine Repair Ser-

vices, Inc.

(b) The defendants VINCENT MARINO and WILLIAM

O’DONNEL would and did then kick-back to other co-con-

spirators including Keith Nelson and John Marano substan-

tial amounts of money in the form of checks and cash.

Overt ACTS

In furtherance of the conspiracy and to effect its objects,

the following overt acts were committed by members of the

conspiracy in the Southern District of New York and

elsewhere.

A-23

1. In and around September, 1974 the defendant

VINCENT MARINO and KEITH NELSON had a conversation

concerning the refurbishing of certain Prudential Lines

container chassis by Marine Repair Services, Inc.

2. On or about November 12, 1974 the defendant

VINCENT MARINO submitted and caused to be submitted to

Prudential Lines on behalf of Marine Repair Services, Inc.

various invoices for container chassis refurbishing work in the

total amount of $23,814.00.

3. On or about November 25, 1974 the defendant

VINCENT MARINO deposited and caused to be deposited to an

account of Marine Repair Services, Inc. a Prudential Lines

check in the amount of $23,814.00.

4. On or about November 27, 1974 the defendants

VINCENT MARINO and WILLIAM O’DONNEL delivered and

caused to be delivered to Keith Nelson a Marine Repair

Services, Inc. check payable to Container Sales, Ltd. in the

amount of $2,325.00.

5. From on or about November 29, 1974 to on or about

December 6, 1974 the defendant VINCENT MARINO submit-

ted and caused to be submitted to Prudential Lines on behalf

of Marine Repair Services, Inc. various invoices for container

chassis refurbishing work in the total amount of $44,074.80.

6. On or about December 20, 1974 the defendant

V:NCENT MARINO negotiated and caused to be negotiated a

Prudential Lines check payable to Marine Repair Services,

Inc. in the amount of $20,374.20 which was in partial pay-

ment of the invoices referred to in overt act number 5.

7. On or about January 2, 1975 the defendant VINCENT

MARINO negotiated and caused to be negotiated a Prudential

Lines check payable to Marine Repair Services, Inc. in the

amount of $23,700.60 which was the final payment on the

invoices referred to in overt act number 5.

8. On or about January 16, 1975 the defendant VINCENT

MARINO delivered and caused to be delivered to Keith Nelson

a Marine Repair Services, Inc. check payable to Container

Sales, Ltd. in the amount of $4,985.00.

A-24

9. On or about February 6, 1975 the defendant VINCENT

MARINO submitted and caused to be submitted to Prudential

Lines on behalf of Marine Repair Services, Inc. various

invoices for container chassis refurbishing work in the total

amount of $23,700.60.

10. On or about February 24, 1975 the defendant

VINCENT MARINO negotiated and caused to be negotiated a

Prudential Lines check payable to Marine Repair Services,

Inc. in the amount of $23,700.60.

11. On or about February 28, 1975 the defendant

WILLIAM O’DONNEL delivered and caused to be delivered to

Keith Nelson a Marine Trailers, Inc. check payable to

Container Sales, Ltd. in the amount of $2,840.00.

12. On or about June 3, 1975 the defendant VINCENT

MARINO submitted and caused to be submitted to Prudential

Lines on behalf of Marine Repair Services, Inc. various

invoices for container chassis refurbishing work in the total

amount of $25,855.20.

13. On or about July 8, 1975 the defendant WILLIAM

O’DONNEL delivered and caused to be delivered to Keith

Nelson a Marine Trailers, Inc. check payable to Container

Sales, Ltd. in the amount of $3,100.00.

14. On or about July 14, 1975 the defendant VINCENT

MARINO deposited and caused to be deposited to an account

of Marine Repair Services, Inc. a Prudential Lines check in

the amount of $25,855.20.

15. On or about July 29, 1975 the defendant VINCENT

MaRINO delivered to John Marano a sum of cash for John

Marano and another co-conspirator.

(Title 18, United States Code, Section 371).

COUNT TWO

The Grand Jury further charges:

1. The allegations contained in Paragraphs 1-4 of Count

One of this Indictment are hereby repeated and realleged as if

fully set forth herein.

A-25

2. In and around December 17-24, 1974, in the Southern

District of New York, the defendant VINCENT MAarINo,

Keith Nelson and John Marano did unlawfully, knowingly

and wilfully embezzle, steal, abstract, wilfully convert to their

own use and the use of others, and wilfully misapply and

permit to be misapplied monies, funds, credits, securities,

properties and assets of Prudential Lines, Inc. arising and

accruing from, and used in, in whole and in part, Prudential

Lines, Inc.’s business as a firm and corporation engaged in

commerce as a common carrier, to wit, kick-backs of substan-

tial portions of the moneys represented by two Prudential

Lines checks totalling approximately $44.074.80.

(Title 18, United States Code, Sections 660 and 2).

COUNTS THREE THROUGH FOUR

The Grand Jury further charges:

1. The allegations contained in Paragraphs 1-4 of Count

One of this Indictment are hereby repeated and realleged as if

fully set forth herein.

2. On or about the dates set forth below in the Southern

District of New York, the defendants VINCENT MARINO and

WILLIAM O’DONNEL, Keith Nelson and John Morano did

unlawfully, knowingly and wilfully embezzle, steal, abstract,

wilfully convert to their own use and the use of others, and

wilfully misapply and permit to be misapplied monies, funds,

credits, securities, properties and assets of Prudential Lines,

Inc. arising and accruing from, and used in, in whole and in

part, Prudential Lines, Inc.’s business as a firm and corpora-

tion engaged in commerce as a common carrier, to wit, kick-

backs of substantial portions of the monies represented by the

Prudential Lines checks set forth below.

Amount of

Count Date Payee Check

Three .... February 21,1975 Marine Repair $23,700.60 .

Services, Inc

ee July 11, 1975 Marine Repair $25,855.20

Services, Inc

(Title 18, United States Code, Sections 660 and 2).

FOREPERSON RosBertT B. FIsKE, JR.

United States Attorney

A-26

FiLep: April 8, 1976

Jane P. Gordon, Clerk

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF

THE UNITED STATES

For THE MippLeE DISTRICT OF ALABAMA

EASTERN DIVISION

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA Cr. No. 76-18-E

Vv. (18 USC 660)

HERMAN WENDELL FISHER INDICTMENT

The Grand Jury charges:

COUNT I

On or about the 3rd day of August, 1975, at Cusseta,

Alabama, in the Middle District of Alabama, HERMAN

WENDELL FISHER being an employee, that is, a truck driver

for Caddo Moving and Storage Company, a company

engaged in commerce as a common carrier, and while riding

in and upon a motor truck of such Garrier moving in interstate

commerce from Shreveport, Louisiana to Lindale, Georgia,

wilfully and knowingly did embezzle, steal and convert to his

own use the sum of $1,732.73 of the monies and property of

said carrier arising and occurring from such commerce, which

said monies and property had come into the possession of

HERMAN WENDELL FISHER by virtue of his employment as

agent of the said Caddo Moving and Storage Company, in

violation of Title 18, Section 660, United States Code.

A TRUE BILL:

PARES ST ELeeaetaereany aw wy

Foreman

IRA DE MENT

UNITED STATES ATTORNEY

/s/ RoBert C. WATSON

Assistant United States Attorney

CRC 76-0080(E)

A-27

FiLep: April 9, 1980

William L. Whittaker, Clerk

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FoR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA CRIMINAL NoO.:

Plaintiff, VIOLATION:

18 U.S.C.§ 660

v. P

Teppy Ray ARNOLD, Embezzlement of

Defendant. Funds by Officer

of Rail Common

Carrier

INDICTMENT

Count One: 18 U.S.C. § 660

On or about the 3rd day of June 1975, in the City and

County of San Francisco, State and Northern District of

California,

Teppy RAY ARNOLD,

being an officer of the Southern Pacific Transportation Com-

pany, a company engaged in commerce as a common carrier,

did willfully and knowingly embezzle, steal, and convert to his

own use the sum of $1,845.00, of moneys and property of said

carrier, arising and accruing from such commerce, in viola-

tion of Title 18, United States Code, Section 660.

Count Two: 18 U.S.C. § 660

On or about the 26th day of September 1975, in the City

and County of San Francisco, State and Northern District of

California,

Teppy Ray ARNOLD,

being an officer of the Southern Pacific Transportation Com-

pany, a company engaged in commerce as a common carrier,

A-28

did willfully and knowingly embezzle, steal, and convert to his

own use the sum of $4,160.72, of moneys and property of said

carrier, arising and accruing from such commerce, in viola-

tion of Title 18, United States Code, Section 660.

Count THREE: 18 U.S.C. § 660

On or about the Ist day of December 1975, in the City

and County of San Francisco, State and Northern District of

California,

Teppy Ray ARNOLD,

being an officer of the Southern Pacific Transportation Com-

pany, a company engaged in commerce as a common carrier,

did willfully and knowingly embezzle, steal, and convert to his

own use the sum of $3,875.00, of moneys and property of said

carrier, arising and accruing from such commerce, in viola-

tion of Title 18, United States Code, Section 660.

Count Four: 18 U.S.C. § 660

On or about the Ist day of November 1976, in the City

and County of San Francisco, State and Northern District of

California,

Teppy RAY ARNOLD,

being an officer of the Southern Pacific Transportation Com-

pany, a company engaged in commerce as a common carrier,

did willfully and knowingly embezzle, steal, and convert to his

own use the sum of $5,498.90, of moneys and property of said

carrier, arising and accruing from such commerce, in viola-

tion of Title 18, United States Code, Section 660.

Count Five: 18 U.S.C. § 660

On or about the 30th day of March 1977, in the City and

County of San Francisco, State and Northern District of

California,

TEDDY RAY ARNOLD,

being an officer of the Southern Pacific Transportation Com-

pany, a company engaged in commerce as a common carrier,

did willfully and knowingly embezzle, steal, and convert to his

A-29

own use the sum of $3,765.92, of moneys and property of said

carrier, arising and accruing from such commerce, in viola-

tion of Title 18, United States Code, Section 660.

Count Six: 18 U.S.C. § 660

On or about the 2nd day of June 1977, in the City and

County of San Francisco, State and Northern District of

California,

Teppy RAY ARNOLD,

being an officer of the Southern Pacific Transportation Com-

pany, a company engaged in commerce as a common carrier,

did willfully and knowingly embezzle, steal, and convert to his

own use the sum of $3,685.42, of moneys and property of said

carrier, arising and accruing from such commerce, in viola-

tion of Title 18, United States Code, Section 660.

CounT SEVEN: 18 U.S.C. § 660

On or about the 22nd day of June 1977, in the City and

County of San Francisco, State and Northern District of

California,

Teppy Ray ARNOLD,

being an officer of the Southern Pacific Transportation Com-

pany, a company engaged in commerce as a common carrier,

did willfully and knowingly embezzle, steal, and convert to his

own use the sum of $3,526.94, of moneys and property of said

carrier, arising and accruing from such commerce, in viola-

tion of Title 18, United States Code, Section 660.

CounT Eicut: 18 U.S.C. § 660

On or about the 8th day of July 1977, in the City and

County of San Francisco, State and Northern District of

California,

Teppy Ray ARNOLD,

being an officer of the Southern Pacific Transportation Com-

pany, a company engaged in commerce as a common carrier,

did willfully and knowingly embezzle, steal, and convert to his

own use the the sum of $2,317.51, of moneys and property of

A-30

said carrier, arising and accruing from such commerce, in

violation of Title 18, United States Code, Section 660.

CounT Nine: 18 U.S.C. § 660

On or about the 4th day of October 1977, in the City and

County of San Francisco, State and Northern District of

California,

Teppy Ray ARNOLD,

being an officer of the Southern Pacific Transportation Com-

pany, a company engaged in commerce as a common carrier,

did willfully and knowingly embezzle, steal, and convert to his

own use the sum of $3,665.90, of moneys and property of said

carrier, arising and accruing from such commerce, in viola-

tion of Title 18, United States Code, Section 660.

Count TEN: 18 U.S.C § 660

On or about the 2nd day of November 1977, in the City

and County of San Francisco, State and Northern District of

California,

Teppy RAY ARNOLD,

being an officer of the Southern Pacific Transportation Com-

pany, a company engaged in commerce as a common carrier,

did willfully and knowingly embezzle, steal, and convert to his

own use the sum of $2,427.80, of moneys and property of said

carrier, arising and accruing from such commerce, in viola-

tion of Title 18, United States Code, Section 660.

CounT ELEveN: 18 U.S.C. § 660

On or about the 20th day of March 1978, in the City and

County of San Francisco, State and Northern District of

California,

TeppyY Ray ARNOLD,

being an officer of the Southern Pacific Transportation Com-

pany, a company engaged in commerce as a common carrier,

did willfully and knowingly embezzle, steal, and convert to his

own use the sum of $2,633.23, of moneys and property of said

A-31

carrier, arising and accruing from such commerce, in viola-

tion of Title 18, United States Code, Section 660.

CouNT TWELVE: 18 U.S.C. § 660

On or about the 19th day of April 1978, in the City and

County of San Francisco, State and Northern District of

California,

Teppy RAY ARNOLD,

being an officer of the Southern Pacific Transportation Com-

pany, a company engaged in commerce as a common carrier,

did willfully and knowingly embezzle, steal, and convert to his

own use the sum of $1,798.72, of moneys and property of said

carrier, arising and accruing from such commerce, in viola-

tion of Title 18, United States Code, Section 660.

A True Bill.

FOREPERSON

04/09/80

/s/ G. WILLIAM HUNTER

United States Attorney

A-32

FILED: June 13, 1977

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

MIDDLE DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

TAMPA DIVISION

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA Case No.

P 72-143-

v. Cr.T K

RosBert ELwoop DoDSsON

The Grand Jury charges that:

COUNT ONE

On or about November 20, 1969, at St. Petersburg,

Florida, in the Middle District of Florida,

RoBERT ELwoop DODSON

being an employee, that is, a driver of Templeton Moving and

Storage Co., Inc., Pontiac, Michigan, a corporation engaged

in commerce as a common carrier, riding in and upon a motor

truck of such carrier moving in interstate commerce from

Lyndhurst, Ohio to St. Petersburg, Florida, wilfully and

knowingly did embezzle, steal and convert to his own use

monies of the said carrier arising and accruing from such

commerce, to wit, the sum of $437.93; in violation of Title 18,

Section 660, United States Code.

COUNT TWO

On or about November 20, 1969, at Bradenton, Florida,

in the Middle District of Florida,

ROBERT ELwoop DODSON

being an employee, that is, a driver of Templeton Moving and

Storage Co., Inc., Pontiac, Michigan, a corporation engaged

in commerce as a common carrier, riding in and upon a motor

truck of such carrier moving in interstate commerce from

A-33

Youngstown, Ohio to Bradenton, Florida, wilfully and know-

ingly did embezzle, steal and convert to his own use monies of

the said carrier arising and accruing from such commerce, to

wit, the sum of $183.82; in violation of Title 18, Section 660,

United States Code.

COUNT THREE

On or about November 26, 1969, at Lake Alfred, Florida,

in the Middle District of Florida,

ROBERT ELwoop DODSON

being an employee, that is, a driver of Templeton Moving and

Storage Co., Inc., Pontiac, Michigan, a corporation engaged

in commerce as a common carrier, riding in and upon a motor

truck of such carrier moving in interstate commerce from

Pontiac, Michigan, to Lake Alfred, Florida, wilfully and

knowingly did embezzle, steal and convert to his own use

monies of the said carrier arising and accruing from such

commerce, to wit, the sum of $132.74; in violation of Title 18,

Section 660, United States Code.

A TRUE BILL

FOREMAN

JOHN L. BRIGGS

United States Attorney

/s/ HuGH N. SMITH

Assistant United States Attorney

A-34

FiLtep: April 12, 1978

Ben H. Carter, Clerk

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

For THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA

ROME DIVISION

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ve. CRIMINAL

RONNIE NATHAN JOHNSON, INDICTMENT

JOsEPH H. STONE, JR., No. 78-12—R

Lum T. TAYLOR AND

James M. WILLIAMS

THE GRAND JURY CHARGES:

COUNT ONE

That, on or about the 7th day of November, 1977, in the

Northern District of Georgia and elsewhere, the defendant

JAMES M. WILLIAMS, who then was an employee of a corpora-

tion engaged in commerce as a common carrier, namely,

Yellow Freight Lines, Incorporated, and who was riding in

and upon a motortruck of Yellow Freight Lines, Incorporated

moving in interstate commerce between Tennessee and Geor-

gia, did embezzle, steal, abstract and wilfully and knowingly

convert to his own use and the use of others property and

assets of Yellow Freight Lines, Incorporated used in such

commerce, in whole or in part, to wit, diesel fuel, in violation

of Title 18, United States Code, Section 660.

COUNT TWO

That, on or about the 14th day of November, 1977, in the

Northern District of Georgia and elsewhere, the defendant

JAMES M. WILLIAMS, who then was an employee of 2. corpora-

tion engaged in commerce as a common caivier, namely

Yellow Freight Lines, Incorporated, and who was riding in

and upon a motortruck of Yellow Freight Lines, Incorporated

A-35

moving in interstate commerce between Tennessee and Geor-

gia, aided and abetted by the defendant JoseEPpH H. STONE,

Jr., did embezzle, steal, abstract and wilfully and knowingly

convert to his own use and the use of others property and

assets of Yellow Freight Lines, Incorporated used in such

commerce, in whole or in part, to wit, diesel fuel, in violation

of Title 18, United States Code, Sections 660 and 2.

COUNT THREE

That, at or about 2:30 A.M. on the 15th day of

November, 1977, in the Northern District of Georgia and

elsewhere, the defendant RONNIE NATHAN JOHNSON, who

then was an employee of a corporation engaged in commerce

as a common carrier, namely, Yellow Freight Lines,

Incorporated, and who was riding in and upon a motortruck

of Yellow Freight Lines, Incorporated moving in interstate

commerce between Tennessee and Georgia, aided and abetted

by the defendant JosePpH H. STONE, JR., did embezzle, steal,

abstract and wilfully and knowingly convert to his own use

and the use of others property and assets of Yellow Freight

Lines, Incorporated used in such commerce in whole or in

part, to wit, diesel fuel, in violation of Title 18, United States

Code, Sections 660 and 2.

COUNT FOUR

That, on or about the 15th day of November, 1977, in the

Northern District of Georgia and elsewhere, the defendant,

JAMES M. WILLIAMS, who then was an employee of a corpora-

tion engaged in commerce as a common carrier, namely,

Yellow Freight Lines, Incorporated, and who was riding in

and upon a motortruck of Yellow Freight Lines, Incorporated

moving in interstate commerce between Tennessee and Geor-

gia, aided and abetted by the defendant JosepH H. STONE,

Jr., did embezzle, steal, abstract and wilfully and knowingly

convert to his own use and the use of others property and

assets of Yellow Freight Lines, Incorporated used in such

commerce, in whole or in part, to wit, diesel fuel, in violation

of Title 18, United States Code, Sections 660 and 2.

A-36

COUNT FIVE

That, at or about 10:25 P.M. on the 15th day of

November, 1977, in the Northern District of Georgia and

elsewhere, the defendant RONNIE NATHAN JOHNSON, who

then was an employee of a corporation engaged in commerce

as a common carrier, namely Yellow Freight Lines,

Incorporated, and who was riding in and upon a motortruck

of Yellow Freight Lines, Incorporated moving in interstate

commerce between Tennessee and Georgia, aided and abetted

by the defendant JosepH H. STONE, JR., did embezzle, steal,

abstract and wilfully and knowingly convert to his own use

and the use of others property and assets of Yellow Freight

Lines, Incorporated used in such commerce, in whole or in

part, to wit, diesel fuel, in violation of Title 18, United States

Code, Sections 660 and 2.

COUNT SIX

That, at or about 1:25 A.M. on the 16th day of

November, 1977, in the Northern District of Georgia and

elsewhere, the defendant James M. WILLIAMS, who then was

an employee of a corporation engaged in commerce as a

common carrier, namely, Yellow Freight Lines, Incorporated,

and who was riding in and upon a motortruck of Yellow

Freight Lines, Incorporated moving in interstate commerce

betweeen Tennessee and Georgia, did embezzle, steal,

abstract and wilfully and knowingly convert to his own use

and the use of others property and assets of Yellow Freight

Lines, Incorporated used in such commerce, in whole or in

part, to wit, diesel fuel, in violation of Title 18, United States

Code, Section 660.

COUNT SEVEN

That, on or about the 16th day of November, 1977, in the

Northern District of Georgia and elsewhere, the defendant

RONNIE NATHAN JOHNSON, who then was an employee of a

corporation engaged in commerce as a common carrier,

namely, Yellow Freight Lines, Incorporated, and who was

riding in and upon a motortruck of Yellow Freight Lines,

A-37

Incorporated moving in interstate commerce between Tennes-

see and Georgia, did embezzle, steal, abstract and wilfully

and knowingly convert to his own use and the use of others

property and assets of Yellow Freight Lines, Incorporated

used in such commerce, in whole or in part, to wit, diesel fuel,

in violation of Title 18, United States Code, Section 660.

COUNT EIGHT

That, at or about 10:15 P.M. on the 16th day of

November, 1977, in the Northern District of Georgia and

elsewhere, the defendant James M. WILLIAMS, who then was

an employee of a corporation engaged in commerce as a

common carrier, namely, Yellow Freight Lines, Incorporated,

and who was riding in and upon a motortruck of Yellow

Freight Lines, Incorporated moving in interstate commerce

between Tennessee and Georgia, aided and abetted by the

defendant JosepH H. Stone, JR., did embezzle, steal,

abstract and wilfully and knowingly convert to his own use

* and the use of others property and assets of Yellow Freight

Lines, Incorporated used in such commerce, in whole or in

part, to wit, diesel fuel, in violation of Title 18, United States

Code, Sections 660 and 2.

COUNT NINE

That, on or about the 16th day of November, 1977, in the

Northern District of Georgia and elsewhere, the defendant

Lum T. TayLor, who then was an employee of a corporation

engaged in commerce as a common carrier, namely, Yellow

Freight Lines, Incorporated, and who was riding in and upon:

a motortruck of Yellow Freight Lines, Incorporated moving

in interstate commerce between Tennessee and Georgia,

aided and abetted by the defendant JosePpH H. STONE, JrR.,

did embezzle, steal, abstract and wilfully and knowingly con-

vert to his own use and the use of others property and assets

of Yellow Freight Lines, Incorporated used in such com-

merce, in whole or in part, to wit, diesel fuel, in violation of

Title 18, United States Code, Sections 660 and 2.

A-38

COUNT TEN

That, at or about 1:29 A.M. on the 17th day of

November, 1977, in the Northern District of Georgia and

elsewhere, the defendant Lum T. TAYLOR, who then was an

employee of a corporation engaged in commerce as a common

carrier, namely, Yellow Freight Lines, Incorporated, and who

was riding in and upon a motortruck of Yellow Freight Lines,

Incorporated moving in interstate commerce between Tennes-

see and Georgia, aided and abetted by the defendant JosEPH

H. STONE, JR., did embezzle, steal, abstract and wilfully and

knowingly convert to his own use and the use of others

property and assets of Yellow Freight Lines, Incorporated

used in such commerce, in whole or in part, to wit, diesel fuel,

in violation of Title 18, United States Code, Sections 660

and 2.

COUNT ELEVEN

That, at or about 1:29 A.M. on the 17th day of

November, 1977, in the Northern District of Georgia and

elsewhere, the defendant James M. WILLIAMS, who then was

an employee of a corporation engaged in commerce as a

common carrier, namely, Yellow Freight Lines, Incorporated,

and who was riding in and upon a motortruck of Yellow

Freight Lines, Incorporated moving in interstate commerce

between Tennessee and Georgia, aided and abetted by the

defendant JosepH H. STONE, JR., did embezzle, steal,

abstract and wilfully and knowingly convert to his own use

and the use of others property and assets of Yellow Freight

Lines, Incorporated used in such commerce, in whole or in

part, to wit, diesel fuel, in violation of Title 18, United States

Code, Sections 660 and 2.

COUNT TWELVE

That, at or about 9:20 P.M. on the 17th day of November,

1977, in the Northern District of Georgia and elsewhere, the

defendant Lum T. TayLor, who then was an employee of a

corporation engaged in commerce as a common carrier,

namely, Yellow Freight Lines, Incorporated, and who was

riding in and upon a motortruck of Yellow Freight Lines,

A-39

Incorporated moving in interstate commerce between Tennes-

see and Georgia, aided and abetted by the defendant JosEPH

H. STONE, JR., did embezzle, steal, abstract and wilfully and

knowingly convert to his own use and the use of others

property and assets of Yellow Freight Lines, Incorporated

used in such commerce, in whole or in part, to wit, diesel fuel,

in violation of Title 18, United States Code, Sections 660

and 2.

COUNT THIRTEEN

That, at or about 10:07 P.M. on the 17th day of

November, 1977, in the Northern District of Georgia and

elsewhere, the defendant James M. WILLIAMS, who then was

an employee of a corporation engaged in commerce as a

common carrier, namely, Yellow Freight Lines, Incorporated,

and who was riding in and upon a motortruck of Yellow

Freight Lines, Incorporated moving in interstate commerce

between Tennessee and Georgia, aided and abetted by the

defendant JosePpH H. STONE, JR., did embezzle, steal,

abstract and wilfully and knowingly convert to his own use

and the use of others property and assets of Yellow Freight

Lines, Incorporated used in such commerce, in whole or in

part, to wit, diesel fuel, in violation of Title 18, United States

Code, Sections 660 and 2.

COUNT FOURTEEN

That, on or about the 9th day of January, 1978, in the

Northern District of Georgia and elsewhere, the defendant

JAMES M. WILLIAMS, who then was an employee of a corpora-

tion engaged in commerce as a common carrier, namely,

Yellow Freight Lines, Incorporated, and who was riding in

and upon a motortruck of Yellow Freight Lines, Incorporated

moving in interstate commerce between Tennessee and Geor-

gia, aided and abetted by the defendant JoseEpH H. STONE,

Jr., did embezzle, steal, abstract and wilfully and knowingly

convert to his own use and the use of others property and

assets of Yellow Freight Lines, Incorporated used in such

commerce, in whole or in part, to wit, diesel fuel, in violation

of Title 18, United States Code, Sections 660 and 2.

A-40

COUNT FIFTEEN

That, on or about the 22nd day of January, 1978, in the

Northern District of Georgia and elsewhere, the defendant

James M. WILLIAMS, who then was an employee of a corpora-

tion engaged in commerce as a common carrier, namely,

Yellow Freight Lines, Incorporated, and who was riding in

a 4d upon a motortruck of Yellow Freight Lines, Incorporated

moving in interstate commerce between Tennessee and Geor-

gia, aided and abetted by the defendant JosepH H. STONE,

Jr., did embezzle, steal, abstract and wilfully and knowingly

convert to his own use and the use of others property and

assets of Yellow Freight Lines, Incorporated used in such

commerce, in whole or in part, to wit, diesel fuel, in violation

of Title 18, United States Code, Sections 660 and 2.

COUNT SIXTEEN

That, on or about the 23rd day of February, 1978, in the

Northern District of Georgia and elsewhere, the defendant

Lum T. TAYLOR, who then was an employee of a corporation

engaged in commerce as a common carrier, namely, Yellow

Freight Lines, Incorporated, and who was riding in and upon

a motortruck of Yellow Freight Lines, Incorporated moving

in interstate commerce between Tennessee and Georgia, did

embezzle, steal, abstract and wilfully and knowingly convert

to his own use and the use of others property and assets of

Yellow Freight Lines, Incorporated used in such commerce,

in whole or in part, to wit, diesel fuel, in violation of Title 18,

United States Code, Section 660.

COUNT SEVENTEEN

That, on or about the 4th day of March, 1978, in the

Northern District of Georgia and elsewhere, the defendant

James M. WILLIAMS, who then was an employee of a corpora-

tion engaged in commerce as a common carrier, namely,

Yellow Freight Lines, Incorporated, and who was riding in

and upon a motortruck of Yellow Freight Lines, Incorporated

moving in interstate commerce between Tennessee and Geor-

gia, aided and abetted by the defendant JosepH H. STONE,

Jr., did embezzle, steal, abstract and wilfully and knowingly

A-41

convert to his own use and the use of others property and

assets of Yellow Freight Lines, Incorporated used in such

commerce, in whole or in part, to wit, diesel fuel, in violation

of Title 18, United States Code, Sections 660 and 2.

A True Bill

/s/ GeorGce C. Warp

Foreman

WILLIAM L. HARPER

United States Attorney

RICHARD WILE

Assistant United States Attorney

A-42

Fitep: November 15, 1978

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

For THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA

EASTERN DIVISION

78 CR 843 VIOLATION:

TITLE 18, UNITED

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA STaTES CODE,

SECTION 660

7 r AND TITLE 40,

Tuomas C, MCCALL UNITED STATES

Cope, SECTION

20(7)(B)

THE SPECIAL MARCH 1978 GRAND JURY CHARGES:

From on or about October 13, 1976 to and including

December 16, 1977, at Chicago, in the Northern District of

Illinois, Eastern Division,

Tuomas C. Mc CALL, Jr.,

defendant herein, knowingly and wilfully did make and cause

to be made false entries in the accounts of a book of accounts

kept by the I}linois Central Gulf Railroad Company, a carrier

regulated by the Interstate Commerce Commission, by caus-

ing to be entered and recorded certain entries in said carrier’s

Overcharge Reserve Fund Account which purported to show

that certain checks totalling approximately $80,273.05 and

drawn on the bank accounts of said carrier were used to pay

expenses incurred in the business of said carrier, when, in

fact, said checks were not used for such purpose;

In violation of Title 49, United States Code, Section

20(7)(b).

A-43

COUNT TWO

THE SPECIAL MARCH 1978 GRAND JURY CHARGES:

On or about October 13, 1976, at Chicago, in the North-

ern District of Illinois, Eastern Division,

Tuomas C. Mc CALL, JrR.,

defendant herein, being an officer and manager of the Illinois

Central Gulf Railroad Company, a corporation engaged in

commerce, as a common carrier, did embezzle, steal, abstract

and wilfully misapply the money, funds and assets of the

Illinois Central Gulf Railroad, in whole or in part arising and

accruing from interstate commerce, namely, Illinois Central

Gulf Railroad Company Draft No. 380257, dated October

13, 1976, in the amount of approximately $5,000.00 payable

to Meyer Industries;

In violation of Title 18, United States Code, Section 660.

COUNT THREE

THE SPECIAL MARCH 1978 GRAND JURY CHARGES:

On or about October 22, 1976, at Chicago, in the North-

ern District of Illinois, Eastern Division,

Tuomas C. Mc CALL, JR.,

defendant herein, being an officer and manager of the Illinois

Central Gulf Railroad Company, a corporation engaged in

commerce, as a common carrier, did embezzle, steal, abstract

and wilfully misapply the money, funds and assets of the

Illinois Central Gulf Railroad, in whole or in part arising and

accruing from interstate commerce, namely, Illinois Central

Gulf Railroad Company Draft, No. 381122, dated October

22, 1976, in the amount of approximately $5,000.00 payable

to Meyer Industries;

In violation of Title 18, United States Code, Section 660.

COUNT FOUR

The SPECIAL MARCH 1978 GRAND Jury charges:

On or about December 3, 1976, at Chicago, in the North-

ern District of Illinois, Eastern Division,

A-44

Tuomas C. McCALL, Jr.,

defendant herein, being an officer and manager of the Illinois

Central Gulf Railroad Company, a corporation engaged in

commerce, as a common carrier, did embezzle, steal, abstract

and wilfully misapply the money, funds and assets of the

Illinois Central Gulf Railroad, in whole or in part arising and

accruing from interstate commerce, namely, Illinois Central

Gulf Railroad Company Draft, No. 383298, dated December

3, 1976, in the amount of approximately $8,400.00 payable to

Meyer Industries;

In violation of Title 18, United States Code, Section 660.

COUNT FIVE

The SpeciIAL MARCH 1978 GRAND JuRY charges:

On or about January 24, 1977, at Chicago, in the North-

ern District of Illinois, Eastern Division,

THomas C. MCCALL, JR.,

defendant herein, being an officer and manager of Illinois

Central Gulf Railroad Company, a corporation engaged in

commerce, as a common carrier, did embezzle, steal, abstract

and wilfully misapply the money, funds and assets of the

Illinois Central Gulf Railroad, in whole or in part arising and

accruing from interstate commerce, namely, Illinois Central

Gulf Railroad Company Draft, No. 385592, dated January

' 24, 1977; in the amount of approximately $6,420.00 payable

to Meyer Industries;

In violation of Title 18, United States Code, Section 660.

COUNT SIX

The SPECIAL MARCH 1978 GRAND JuRY charges:

On or about April 22, 1977, at Chicago, in the Northern

District of Illinois, Eastern Division,

Tuomas C. McCALL, JrR.,

defendant herein, being an officer and manager of the Illinois

Central Gulf Railroad Company, a corporation engaged in

commerce, as a common carrier, did embezzle, steal, abstract

A-45

and wilfully misapply the money, funds and assets of the

Illinois Central Gulf Railroad, in whole or in part arising and

accruing from interstate commerce, namely, Illinois Central

Gulf Railroad Company Draft No. 390420, dated April 22,

1977, in the amount of approximately $7,660.00 payable to

Meyer Industries;

In violation of Title 18, United States Code, Section 660.

COUNT SEVEN

The SPECIAL MARCH 1978 GRAND JuRyY charges:

On or about June 10, 1977, at Chicago, in the Northern

District of Illinois, Eastern Division,

THomas C. MCCALL, JR.,

defendant herein, being an officer and manager of the Illinois

Central Gulf Railroad Company, a corporation engaged in

commerce, as a common carrier, did embezzle, steal, abstract

and wilfully misapply the money, funds and assets of the

Illinois Central Gulf Railroad, in whole or in part arising and

accruing from interstate commerce, namely, Illinois Central

Gulf Railroad Company Draft No. 392768, dated June 10,

1977, in the amount of approximately $7,860.00 payable to

Meyer Industries;

In violation of Title 18, United States Code, Section 660.

COUNT EIGHT

The SPECIAL MARCH 1978 GRAND Jury charges:

On or about June 13, 1977, at Chicago, in the Northern

District of Illinois, Eastern Division,

Tuomas C. MCCALL, JrR.,

defendant herein, being an officer and manager of the Illinois

Central Gulf Railroad Company, a corporation engaged in

commerce, as a common carrier, did embezzle, steal, abstract

and wilfully misapply the money, funds and assets of the

Illinois Central Railroad, in whole or in part arising and

accruing from interstate commerce, namely, Illinois Central

Gulf Railroad Company Draft, No. 392770, dated June 13,

A-46

1977, in the amount of approximately $6,840.00 payable to

T & T Industries;

In violation of Title 18, United States Code, Section 660.

COUNT NINE

The SPECIAL MARCH 1978 GRAND Jury charges:

On or about June 17, 1977, at Chicago, in the Northern

District of Illinois, Eastern Division,

Tuomas C. MCCALL, JR.,

defendant herein, being an officer and manager of the Illinois

Central Gulf Railroad Company, a corporation engaged in

commerce, as a common carrier, did embezzle, steal, abstract

and wilfully misapply the money, funds and assets of the

Illinois Central Gulf Railroad, in whole or in part arising and

accruing from interstate commerce, namely, Illinois Central

Gulf Railroad Company Draft, No. 392983, dated June 17,

1977, in the amount of approximately $7,865.00 payable to

T & T Industries;

In violation of Title 18, United States Code, Section 660.

COUNT TEN

The SPECIAL MARCH 1978 GRAND JuRY charges:

On or about July 15, 1977, at Chicago, in the Northern

District of Illinois, Eastern Division,

Tuomas C. MCCALL, Jr.,

defendant herein, being an officer and manager of the Illinois

Central Gulf Railroad Company, a corporation engaged in

commerce, as a common carrier, did embezzle, steal, abstract

and wilfully misapply the money, funds and assets of the

Illinois Central Gulf Railroad, in whole or in part arising and

accruing from interstate commerce, namely, Illinois Central

Gulf Railroad Company Draft, No. 394040, dated July 15,

1977, in the amount of approximately $5,620.00 payable to

T & T Industries;

In violation of Title 18, United States Code, Section 660.

A-47

COUNT ELEVEN

The SPECIAL MARCH 1978 GRAND JuRY charges:

On or about August 1, 1977, at Chicago, in the Northern

District of Illinois, Eastern Division,

Tuomas C. McCALL, JR.,

defendant herein, being an officer and manager of the Illinois

Central Gulf Railroad Company, a corporation engaged in

commerce, as a common carrier, did embezzle, steal, abstract

and wilfully misapply the money, funds and assets of the

Illinois Central Gulf Railroad, in whole or in part arising and

accruing from interstate commerce, namely, Illinois Central

Gulf Railroad Company Draft, No. 394834, dated August 1,

1977, in the amount of approximately $4,860.00 payable to T

& T Industries;

In violation of Title 18, United States Code, Section 660.

COUNT TWELVE

The SpeciaL MARCH 1978 GRAND Jury charges:

On or about September 1, 1977, at Chicago, in the North-

ern District of Illinois, Eastern Division,

Tuomas C. MCCALL, JR.,

defendant herein, being an officer and manager of the Illinois

Central Gulf Railroad Company, a corporation engaged in

commerce, as a common carrier, did embezzle, steal, abstract

and wilfully misapply the money, funds and assets of the

Illinois Central Gulf Railroad, in whole or in part arising and

accruing from interstate commerce. \amely, Illinois Central

Gulf Railroad Company Draft, No. 396347, dated September

1, 1977, in the amount of approximately $4,865.50 payable to

T & T Industries;

In violation of Title 18, United States Code, Section 660.

COUNT THIRTEEN

The SPECIAL MARCH 1978 GRAND Jury charges:

On or about November 22, 1977, at Chicago, in the

Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division,

A-48

Tuomas C. MCCALL, JR.,

defendant herein, being an officer and manager of the Illinois

Central Gulf Railroad Company, a corporation engaged in

commerce, as a common carrier, did embezzle, steal, abstract

and wilfully misapply the money, funds and assets of the

Illinois Central Gulf Railroad, in whole or in part arising and

accruing from interstate commerce, namely Illinois Central

Gulf Railroad Company Draft, No. 396421, dated November

22, 1977, in the amount of approximately $5,244.45 payable

to T & T Industries;

In violation of Title 18, United States Code, Section 660.

COUNT FOURTEEN

The SPECIAL MARCH 1978 GRAND Jury charges:

On or about December 16, 1977, at Chicago, in the

Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division,

Tuomas C. McCALL, JrR.,

defendant herein, being an officer and manager of the Illinois

Central Gulf Railroad Company, a corporation engaged in

commerce, as a common carrier, did embezzle, steal, abstract

and wilfully misapply the money, funds and assets of the

Illinois Central Gulf Railroad, in whole or in part arising and

accruing from interstate commerce, namely, Illinois Central

Gulf Railroad Company Draft, No. 396438, dated December

16, 1977, in the amount of ey $4,638.10 payable

to T & T Industries;

In violation of Title 18, United States Code, Section 660.

A True Bill

United States Attorney

WJC/jar/wpe

A-49

Fiten: February 18, 1977

Arthur G. Johnson, Clerk

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

For THE DistRICT OF KANSAS

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

4 No. 77-20024-01

(18 U.S.C. 660)

V.

LAVERNE JOSEPH Doris

INDICTMENT

The Grand Jury charges:

On or about the 27th day of September, 1976, in the

District of Kansas,

LAVERNE JOSEPH Doris

being an employee, that is, a truck driver for Morehouse

Moving and Siorage Company, a business organization

engaged in commerce as a common carrier, and while riding

in and upon a motor truck of such carrier moving in interstate

commerce from Ankeny, State of Iowa, to Lenexa, State of

Kansas, wilfully and knowingly did embezzle, steal and con-

vert to his own use the approximate sum of $1,128.34 of the

moneys and property of said carrier, arising and accruing

from such commerce, which said moneys and property had

come into the possession of LAVERNE JOSEPH Doris by virtue

of his employment as agent of the said Morehouse Moving

and Storage Company, all in violation of 18 U.S.C. 660.

A True Bill

Foreman

Dated: February 18, 1977

E. EDWARD JOHNSON

United States Attorney

District of Kansas

/s/ DouGLas B. COMER

Assistant U.S. Attorney

A-50

Fitep: February 7, 1980

JOM:MSC Arthur G. Johnson, Clerk

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

For THE DISTRICT OF KANSAS

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Plaintiff,

i. CRIMINAL No.

80-2001 5-01

Vv.

Roy LEE SMITH

Defendant.

INFORMATION

The United States Attorney charges:

During October, 1979, in the District of Kansas, and

elsewhere:

Roy Lee Situ,

being an employee of Stevens United Van Lines, a corpora-

tion engaged in commerce as a common carrier, while riding

in and upon a motortruck of such carrier moving in interstate

commerce, did embezzle and steal moneys and funds arising

from such commerce, and did willfully and knowingly convert

the same to his own use, in violation of 18 U.S.C. 660.

JAMES P. BUCHELE

United States Attorney

/s/ sOHN OLIVER MARTIN

Assistant United States Attorney

A-51

Fitep: September 24, 1979

Jesse W. Grider, Clerk

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

WESTERN DISTRICT OF KENTUCKY

AT LOUISVILLE

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA INDICTMENT

v. r No. Cr 79-00127-01-C

SAUL WILLIAMS (18 U.S.C. § 660)

The Grand Jury Charges:

COUNT |

On or about the 2Ist day of August, 1978, in the Western

District of Kentucky, SAUL WILLIAMS, being an employee,

that is, a truck driver for Masterson Moving and Storage

Company, a business entity engaged in commerce as a com-

mon carrier, and while riding in and upon a motor truck of

such carrier moving in interstate commerce from Louisville,

State of Kentucky, to Phoenix, State of Arizona, wilfully and

knowingly did embezzle, steal and convert to his own use the

sum of $2,783.40, of the moneys and property of said carrier,

arising and occurring from such commerce, which said

moneys and property had come into the possession of SAUL

WILLIAMS by virtue of his employment as agent of the said

Masterson Moving and Storage Company.

In violation of Section 660, Title 18, United States Code.

The Grand Jury further charges:

COUNT 2

On or about the 28th day of August, 1978, in the Western

District of Kentucky, SAUL WILLIAMS, being an employee,

that is, a truck driver for Masterson Moving and Storage

Company, a business entity engaged in commerce as a com-

mon carrier, and while riding in and upon a motor truck of

A-52

such carrier moving in interstate commerce from Louisville,

State of Kentucky, to Atoka, State of Tennessee, wilfully and

knowingly did embezzle, steal and convert to his own use the

sum of $621.14, of the moneys and property of said carrier,

arising and occurring from such commerce, which said

moneys and property had come into the possession of SAUL

WILLIAMS by virtue of his employment as agent of the said

Masterson Moving and Storage Company.

In violation of Section 660, Title 18, United States Code.

The Grand Jury further charges:

COUNT 3

On or about the Ist day of September, 1978, in the

Western District of Kentucky, SAUL WILLIAMS, being an

employee, that is a truck driver for Masterson Moving and

Storage Company, a business entity engaged in commerce as

a common carrier, and while riding in and upon a motor truck

of such carrier moving in interstate commerce from Louis-

ville, State of Kentucky, to Orlando, State of Florida, wilfully

and knowingly did embezzle, steal and convert to his own use

the sum of $175.65, of the moneys and property of said

carrier, arising and occurring from such commerce, which

said moneys and property had come into the possession of

SAUL WILLIAMs by virtue of his employment as agent of the

said Masterson Moving and Storage Company.

In violation of Section 660, Title 18, United States Code.

The Grand Jury further charges:

COUNT 4

On or about the 25th day of September, 1978, in the

Western District of Kentucky, SAUL WILLIAMS, being an

_ employee, that is, a truck driver for Masterson Moving and

Storage Company, a business entity engaged in commerce as

a common carrier, and while riding in and upon a motor truck

of such carrier moving in interstate commerce from Louis-

ville, State of Kentucky, to Phoenix, State of Arizona,

wilfully and knowingly did embezzle, steal and convert to his

own use the sum of $960.04, of the moneys and property of

A-53

said carrier, arising and occurring from such commerce,

which said moneys and property had come into the possession

of SAUL WILLIAMS by virtue of his employment as agent of

the said Masterson Moving and Storage Company.

In violation of Section 660, Title 18, United States Code.

The Grand Jury further charges:

COUNT 5

On or about the Sth day of October, 1978, in the Western

District of Kentucky, SAUL WILLIAMS, being an employee,

that is, a truck driver for Masterson Moving and Storage

Company, a business entity engaged in commerce as a com-

mon carrier, and while riding in and upon a motor truck of

such carrier moving in interstate commerce from Louisville,

State of Kentucky, to Dallas, State of Texas, wilfully and

knowingly did embezzle, steal and convert to his own use the

sum of $528.13, of the moneys and property of said carrier,

arising and occurring from such commerce, which said

moneys and property had come into the possession of SAUL

WILLIAMS by virtue of his employment as agent of the said

Masterson Moving and Storage Company.

In violation of Section 660, Title 18, United States Code.

The Grand Jury further charges:

COUNT 6

On or about the 10th day of October, 1978, in the West-

ern District of Kentucky, SauL WILLIAMS, being an

employee, that is, a truck driver for Masterson Moving and

Storage Company, a business entity engaged in commerce as

a common carrier, and while riding in and upon a motor truck

of such carrier moving in interstate commerce from Louis-

ville, State of Kentucky, to Conoga Park, State of California,

wilfully and knowingly did embezzle, steal and convert to his

own use the sum of $1,865.99, of the moneys and property of

said carrier, arising and occurring from such commerce,

which said moneys and property had come into the possession

of SAUL WILLIAMS by virtue of his employment as agent of

the said Masterson Moving and Storage Company.

A-54

In violation of Section 669, Title 18, United States Code.

The Grand Jury further charges:

COUNT 7

On or about the 12th day of October, 1978, in the

Western District of Kentucky, SAUL WILLIAMS, being an

employee, that is, a truck driver for Masterson Moving and

Storage Company, a business entity engaged in commerce as

a common carrier, and while riding in and upon a motor truck

of such carrier moving in interstate commerce from Louis-

ville, State of Kentucky, to Reseda, State of California,

wilfully and knowingly did embezzle, steal and convert to his

own use the sum of $906.15, of the moneys and property of

said carrier, arising and occurring from such commerce,

which said moneys and property had come into the possession

of SAUL WILLIAMS by virtue of his employment as agent of

the said Masterson Moving and Storage Company.

In violation of Section 660, Title 18, United States Code.

A True Bill.

$4068 4684.6 666.098 6160.06.09 68.6.4

Foreman

/s/ ALBERT JONES

United States Attorney

A-55

Fitep: May 14, 1976

Henry R. Hanssen, Clerk

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN

SOUTHERN DIVISION

CR 3-76-321

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA os

Aesehp Criminal

Plaintiff, Number

VS. r 6-80636

HiraAM Davip Massie, Vio: Title 18,

Defendant. Section 660

U.S.C.

INDICTMENT

THE GRAND JURY CHARGES:

That on or about December 29, 1975, in the Eastern

District of Michigan, Hiram Davin Massig, being an

employee, that is, a truck driver for C & C Transportation, a

body corporate engaged in commerce as a common carrier,

and while riding in and upon a motor truck of such carrier

moving in interstate commerce from Phoenix, Arizona to

Detroit, Michigan, wilfully and knowingly did embezzle, steal

and convert to his own use the sum of Eight Hundred and

Sixty-Eight Dollars ($868.00), of the moneys and property of

said carrier, arising and occurring from such commerce,

which said moneys and property had come into the possession

of Hiram Davip Massie by virtue of his employment as

agent of the said C & C Transportation; in violation of Title

18, Section 660 United States Code.

This is a True Bill

Py rae Fick nee oe

RALPH B. Guy, JR.

United States Attorney

/s/ Gorvon S. GoLp

Assistant U.S. Attorney

Dated: 5/13/76

A-56

Fitep: April 13, 1978

Henry R. Hanssen, Clerk

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DisTRICT OF MICHIGAN

NORTHERN DIVISION

CR 78-187PHX

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

CRIMINAL No:

Plaintiff 78-20027

” r Vio: TITLE 18,

JOHN DOUGLAS FINNERTY, U.S.C., § 660 :

Defendant. (Embezzlement from

a common carrier)

INDICTMENT

THE GRAND JURY CHARGES:

On or about July 8, 1977 in the Eastern District of Michi-

gan, Northern’ Division, JOHN DOUGLAS FINNERTY,

defendant herein, while being an employee of Stevens Van

Lines, a common carrier, and while rinding [sic] in and on a

motor truck of said carrier, delivered goods moving in inter-

state commerce from Houstin [sic], Texas to Adamsville,

Tennessee, wilfully embezzled to his own use approximately

One Thousand Eight Hundred ($1,800.00) Dollars of the

monies of said carrier arising and occurring from such com-

merce which came into his possession by virtue of said

employment, in violation of Title 18, United States Code,

§ 660.

This Is A True Bill.

Foreman

JAMES K, ROBINSON

United States Attorney

/s/ J. BRiAN McCormick (P 17334)

Assistant United States Attorney

Dated: April 13, 1978

A-57

Fitep: April 14, 1972

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

IN THE UNITED States District CouRT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN,

SOUTHERN DIVISION

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff,

vs No. G-134-72, Cr.

° .

JosePpH ARTHUR MAurRoO, INDICTMENT

Defendant.

The Grand Jury charges:

COUNT |

That on or about the 17th day of August, 1971, in the

Western District of Michigan,

JOSEPH ARTHUR MAURO,

a truck driver, under contract to American Red Ball Transit

Company, a body corporate engaged in commerce as a com-

mon carrier, and while riding in and upon a motor truck of

such carrier moving in interstate commerce from Houston,

State of Texas, to Muskegon, State of Michigan, wilfully and

knowingly did embezzle, steal and convert to his own use the

sum of Six Hundred Thirty-seven and 05/100 ($637.05)

Dollars of the moneys and property of said carrier, arising

and occuring from such commerce, which said moneys and

property had come into the possession of said Joseph Arthur

Mauro by virtue of his acting as agent of the said American

Red Ball Transit Company.

18 U.S.C. § 660

A True Bill

/s/ Epwarp P. WicBurR III

/s/ JOHN MILANOWSKI

United States Attorney

A-58

FILED: April 6, 1978

Harry A. Seiban, Clerk

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DisTRICT OF MINNESOTA

THIRD DIVISION

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

| NDICTMENT

18 U.S.C. § 660)

Vv.

ROBERT EUGENE HANNER

THE UNiTED STATES GRAND JURY CHARGES THAT:

On or about the 3lst day of August, 1977, in the State

and District of Minnesota, the defendant,

ROBERT EUGENE HANNER,

being an employee, that is, a truck driver for Barber Moving

and Storage, Rapid City, South Dakota, an authorized agent

and carrier for United Van Lines, Incorporated, a body

corporate engaged in commerce as a common carrier, and

while riding in and upon a motor truck of Barber Moving and

Storage, which was under contract to United Van Lines,

Incorporated, and while such carrier was moving in interstate

commerce from Redmond, State of Washington, to Red

Wing, State of Minnesota, wilfully and knowingly did embez-

zle, steal, and convert to his own use the sum of $2,306.60 of

the monies and property of said common carrier and their

authorized agent, arising and occurring from such commerce,

which said monies and property had come into the possession

of Robert Eugene Hanner by virtue of his employment as

agent of the said Barber Moving and Storage and United Van

Lines, incorporated; in violation of Title 18, United States.

Code, Section 660.

A True Bill

Foreman

/s/ Met DICKSTEIN

Ass't United States Attorney

A-59

Fitep: May 10, 1978

Norman L. Gillespie, Clerk

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FoR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF MISSISSIPPI

GREENVILLE DISTRICT

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA CRIMINAL No.

CRG78-42

Vv.

(18 USC 660)

GEORGE RUSSELL FLEMING (18 USC 2312)

INDICTMENT

The Grand Jury charges that:

COUNT ONE

Beginning on or about July 7, 1976, and continuing until

on or about August 23, 1976, in or near Greenwood in Leflore

County in the Northern District of Mississippi and elsewhere,

GeORGE RUSSELL FLEMING, being an employee of a firm

engaged in commerce as a common carrier, and while riding

in and upon a motortruck of such carrier moving in interstate

commerce from Tulsa in the State of Oklahoma to Hartford

in the State of Connecticut to Greenwood in the State of

Mississippi, did willfully and knowingly misapply and embez-

zle and convert to his own use the motortruck in and upon

which he was riding, namely, a 1969 Ford 1000 Diesel

Tractor, and a 1972 Utility van refrigeration trailer, both of

which were property and assets of such firm arising in and

accruing from and used in such commerce; all in violation of

Section 660, Title 18, United States Code.

(nm $5,000 or nm 10 yrs., or both)

COUNT TWO

On or about August 23, 1976, in Leflore County in the

Northern District of Mississippi, GEORGE RUSSELL FLEMING

A-60

disposed of a stolen 1969 Ford 1000 Diesel Tractor which was

moving as, was a part of, and constituted interstate commerce

from in or near Americus in the State of Georgia to Leflore

County, State of Mississippi, knowing the said motor vehicle

to have been stolen; in violation of Section 2313, Title 18,

United States Code.

(nm $5,000 or nm 5 yrs., or both)

A True Bill

$66.6 GOO ©2866 £6.80 OS CC: 0 64.0754. 286. E88

eee 622 £96 OF 0 OO: 2.6946 8 2 6 eee

United States Attorney

A-61

Fitep: March 26, 1979

R. F. Connor, Clerk

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

WESTERN DisTRICT OF MissouRI

CENTRAL DIVISION

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA No. 79-03093-01

Plaintiff, CR-S

"s ». 18 U.S.C. § 660

KENNETH FRANK USHER, (NMT 10 years

(DOB: 08/29/33)

Defendant. and/or $5,000)

INDICTMENT

THE GRAND JURY CHARGES THAT:

On or about the I1lth day of December, 1978, in tue

Western District of Missouri, KENNETH FRANK USHER, being

an employee, that is, a truck driver for Lowrence Moving and

Storage Company, Lebanon, Missouri, a firm engaged in

commerce as a common carrier, and while riding in and upon

a motor truck of such carrier moving in interstate commerce

from Memphis, State of Tennessee, to St. Louis County,

State of Missouri, wilfully and knowingly did embezzle, steal

and convert to his own use the sum of Nine Hundred Seventy-

Four Dollars Seventy Three Cents ($974.73), of the monies

and property of said carrier, arising and occurring from such

commerce, which said monies and property had come into the

possession of the said KENNETH FRANK USHER by virtue of

his employment as an agent of the said Lowrence Moving and

Storage Company; all in violation of Title 18, United States

Code, Section 660.

A True Bill

SSteyYVyererey ee Ree a eee ee Eee ee ee

Fereman of the Grand Jury

/s/ Ropert G. ULRICH

Assistant United States Attorney

A-62

Fitep: March 10, 1980

R. F. Connor, Clerk

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

For THE WESTERN District OF Missouri

CENTRAL DIVISION

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plantiff, No. 80-04007-01-CR-C

v.

| 18 U.S. C. 660

Ep BAILEY COWARDIN (NMT 10 years

(DOB: 1/26/47) and $5,000)

Defendant.

INDICTMENT

THE GRAND JURY CHARGES THAT:

On or about August 21, 1978, in the Western District of

Missouri, Ep BAILY COWARDIN, being an employee, that is, a

truck driver for Simmons Moving and Storage Company,

Columbia, Missouri, a body corporate engaged in commerce

as a common carrier, and while riding in and upon a motor

truck of such carrier, moving in interstate commerce from St.

Peters, Missouri, to El Paso, Texas, wilfully and knowingly

did embezzle and convert to his own use the sum of $814.28,

of the moneys and property of said carrier, arising and accru-

ing from such commerce, which said moneys and property

had come into the possession of E> BaiLey COWARDIN by

virtue of his employment as an agent of the said Simmons

Moving and Storage Company; all in violation of Title 18,

United States Code, Section 660.

A TRUE BILL

Foreman of the Grand Jury

/s/ Gene C, Napier

Assistant United States Attorney

A-63

FILED: December 12, 1976

John E. Pederson, Clerk

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

For THE DistRICT OF MONTANA

HELENA DIVISION

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, CR-76-33-H

Plaintiff, | 18 U.S.C. § 660

Vv. » ($5,000 and/or

ALAN D. O’LEary, II, 10 years)

Defendant.

INFORMATION

THE UNITED STATES ATTORNEY CHARGES:

COUNT |

That on or about the 24th Day of August, 1976, in the

District of Montana, ALAN D. O’LEARY II, being an

employee, that is, a truck driver for United Parcel Service

Inc., a body corporate engaged in commerce as a common

carrier, and while riding in and upon a motor truck of such

carrier moving in interstate commerce from Seattle, State of

Washington to Helena, State of Montana, wilfully and know-

ingly did embezzle, steal and convert to his own use the sum

of $12.30, of the moneys and property of said carrier, arising

and occurring from such commerce, which said moneys and

property had come into the possession of Alan D. O’Leary II

by virtue of his employment as agent of the said United

Parcel Service, Inc., in violation of 18 U.S.C. Section 660.

COUNT II

That on or about the 27th day of August, 1976, in the

District of Montana, ALAN D. O'LEARY II, being an

employee, that is, a truck driver for United Parcel Service

Inc., a body corporate engaged in commerce as a common

A-64

carrier, and while riding in and upon a motor truck of such

carrier moving in interstate commerce from Phoenix, State of

Arizona to Helena, State of Montana, wilfully and knowingly

did embezzle, steal and convert to his own use the sum of

$39.55, of the moneys and property of said carrier, arising

and occurring from such commerce, which said moneys and

property had come into the possession of Alan D. O'Leary II

by virtue of his employment as agent of the said United

Parcel Service, Inc., in violation of 18 U.S.C. Section 660.

COUNT III

That on or about the 7th Day of September, 1976, in the

District of Montana, ALAN D. O'Leary II, being an

employee, that is, a truck driver for United Parcel Service

Inc., a body corporate engaged in commerce as a common

carrier, and while riding in and upon a motor truck of such

carrier moving in interstate commerce from South Windsor,

State of Connecticut to Helena, State of Montana, wilfully

and knowingly did embezzle, steal and convert to his own use

the sum of $12.65, of the moneys and property of said carrier,

arising and occurring from such commerce, which said

moneys and property had come into the possession of Alan D.

O'Leary II by virtue of his employment as agent of the said

United Parcel Service, Inc., in violation of 18 U.S.C. Section

660.

COUNT IV

That on or about the 7th of September, 1976, in the

District of Montana, ALAN D. O'Leary II, being an

employee, that is, a truck driver for United Parcel Service

Inc., a body corporate engaged in commerce as a common

carrier, and while riding in and upon a motor truck of such

carrier moving in interstate commerce from Oklahoma City,

State of Oklahoma to Helena, State of Montana, wilfully and

knowingly did embezzle, steal and convert to his own use the

sum of $199.05, of the moneys and property of said carrier,

arising and occurring from such commerce, which said

moneys and property had come into the possession of Alan D.

O'Leary II by virtue of his employment as agent of the said

A-65

United Parcel Service, Inc., in violation of 18 U.S.C. Section

660.

DaTeD this 6th day of December, 1976.

Tuomas A. OLSON

United States Attorney

/s/ Ropert L. ZIMMERMAN

Assistant U. S. Attorney

A-66

Fitep: January 27, 1975

Richard P. Peck, Clerk

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

For THE DistTRICT OF NEBRASKA

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff, CR. 75-L-2

Vs. ‘ INDICTMENT

BILLY STARNS, (18 U.S.C. 660)

Defendant.

The Grand Jury charges:

COUNT I

On or about the 26th day of June, 1974, through the 8th

of July, 1974, in the District of Nebraska, BILLy STARNS,

being an employee, that is, a truck driver for Kelco Foods

Transportation, Inc., York, Nebraska, a body corporate

engaged in commerce as a common carrier, and while riding

in and upon a motor truck in interstate commerce from lowa

to California, wilfully and knowingly did misapply, embezzle,

steal and convert to his own use the sum of $100 of the moneys

and property of said carrier, arising and occurring from such

commerce, which said moneys and property had come into

the possession of BILLY STARNS by virtue of his employment

as agent of the said Kelco Foods Transportation, Inc., and

such moneys were in the form of a check Number 1483 drawn

on the York State Bank, York Nebraska, signed by Lucille

Caves and made payable to Billy Starns.

In violation of 18 United States Code, Section 660.

COUNT Il

On or about the 26th day of June, 1974, through the 8th

day of July, 1974, in the District of Nebraska, BILLY STARNS,

being an employee, that is, a truck driver for Kelco Foods

Transportation, Inc., York, Nebraska, a body corporate

A-67

engaged in commerce as a common carrier, and while riding

in and upon a motor truck in interstate commerce from lowa

to California, wilfully and knowingly did misapply, embezzle,

steal and convert to his own use the sum of $100 of the

moneys and property of said carrier, arising and occurring

from such commerce, which said moneys and property had

come into the possession of BILLY STARNS by virtue of his

employment as agent of the said Kelco Foods Transportation,

Inc., and such moneys were in the form of a check Number

1484 drawn on the York State Bank, York, Nebraska, signed

by Lucille Caves and made payable to Billy Starns.

In violation of 18 United States Code, Section 660.

COUNT III

On or about the 26th day of June, 1974, through the 8th

day of July, 1974, in the District of Nebraska, BILLY STARNs,

being an employee, that is, a truck driver for Kelco Foods

Transportation, Inc., York, Nebraska, a body corporate

engaged in commerce as a common carrier, and while riding

in and upon a motor truck in interstate commerce from lowa

to California, wilfully and knowingly did misapply, embezzle,

steal and convert to his own use the sum of $100 of the

moneys and property of said carrier, arising and occurring

from such commerce, which said moneys and property had

come into the possession of BILLY STARNS by virtue of his

employment as agent of the said Kelco Foods Transporation,

Inc., and such moneys were in the form of a check Number

1485 drawn on the York State Bank, York Nebraska, signed

by Lucille Caves and made payable to Billy Starns.

In violation of 18 United States Code, Section 660.

COUNT IV

On or about the 26th day of June, 1974, through the 8th

day of July, 1974, in the District of Nebraska, BILLY STARNS,

being an employee, that is, a truck driver for Kelco Foods

Transportation, Inc., York, Nebraska, a body corporate

engaged in commerce as a common carrier, and while riding

in and upon a motor truck in interstate commerce from lowa

to California, wilfully and knowingly did misapply, embezzle,

A-68

steal and convert to his own use the sum of $100 of the

moneys and property of said carrier, arising and occurring

from such commerce, which said moneys and property had

come into the possession of BILLY STARNS by virtue of his

employment as agent of the said Kelco Foods Transportation,

Inc., and such moneys were in the form of a check Number

1486 drawn on the York State Bank, York, Nebraska, signed

by Lucille Caves and made payable to Billy Starns.

In violation of 18 United States Code, Section 660.

A True Bill:

Foreman

/s/ WILLIAM K. SCHAPHORST

United States Attorney

The United States of America requests that Lincoln,

Nebraska, be designated place of trial in accordance with the

Rules of this Court.

/s/ WitttiaAM K. SCHAPHORST

United States Attorney

A-69

FILED: June 20, 1971

Angelo W. Locascio, Clerk

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF NEW JERSEY

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA Criminal No. 491-71

= Title 18 U.S.C. § 660

JOHN COLLIE SMART

The Grand Jury in and for the District of New Jersey,

sitting at Newark charges:

COUNT I

That on or about August, 1970, at Livingston, New Jersey

and within the jurisdiction of this Court, the defendant,

JOHN COLLIE SMART

being an employee of the common carrier, Thomas A. Reyn-

olds Moving and Storage, Agent for United Van Lines, riding

in and upon a motortruck of said carrier, which was moving in

interstate commerce, did embezzle, steal, abstract and con-

vert to his own use, $102.75 belonging to said firm, which

money arose and accrued from the interstate transportation

of chattels owned by Helen Hauilla from Pittsburgh, Penn-

sylvania to White Plains, New York.

In violation of Title 18 U.S.C., Section 660.

COUNT II

That on or about July, 1970 at Livingston, New Jersey and

within the jurisdiction of this Court, the defendant,

JOHN COLLIE SMART

being an employee of the common carrier, Thomas A. Reyn-

olds Moving and Storage, Agent for United Van Lines, riding

in and upon a motortruck of said carrier, which was moving in

A-70

interstate commerce, did embezzle, steal, abstract and con-

vert to his own use, $843.00 belonging to said firm, which

money arose and accrued from the interstate transportation

of chattels owned by Tom Brown from Denver, Colorado to

Gaithersburg, Maryland.

In violation of Title 18 U.S.C., Section 660.

COUNT III

That on or about July, 1970 at Livingston, New Jersey and

within the jurisdiction of this Court, the defendant,

JOHN COLLIE SMART

being an employee of the common carrier, Thomas A. Reyn-

olds Moving and Storage, Agent for United Van Lines, riding

in and upon a motortruck of said carrier, which was moving in

interstate commerce, did embezzle, steal, abstract and con-

vert to his own use, $148.46 belonging to said firm, which

money arose and accrued from the interstate transportation

of chattels owned by Robert L. Kerns from Emporia, Kansas

to Alexandria, Virginia.

In violation of Title 18 U.S.C., Section 660.

COUNT IV

That on or about August, 1970 at Livingston, New Jersey

and within the jurisdiction of this Court, the defendant,

JOHN COLLIE SMART

being an employee of the common carrier, Thomas A. Reyn-

olds Moving and Storage, Agent for United Van Lines, riding

in and upon a motortruck of said carrier, which was moving in

interstate commerce, did embezzle, steal, abstract and con-

vert to his own use, $749.95 belonging to said firm, which

money arose and accrued from the interstate transportation

of chattels owned by John Simpson from Topeka, Kansas to

Hampton, New Jersey.

In violation of Title 18 U.S.C., Section 660.

A-71

COUNT V

That on or about August, 1970, at Livingston, New Jersey

and within the jurisdiction of this Court, the defendant,

JOHN COLLIE SMART

being an employee of the common carrier, Thomas A. Reyn-

olds Moving and Storage, Agent for United Van Lines, riding

in and upon a motortruck of said carrier, which was moving in

interstate commerce, did embezzle, steal, abstract and con-

vert to his own use, $1,277.44 belonging to said firm which

money arose and accrued from the interstate transportation

of chattels owned by W. G. Suttle, from Atlanta, Georgia to

Watertown, Massachusetts.

In violation of Title 18 U.S.C., Section 660.

A True Bill.

Foreman

/s/ HERBERT J. STERN

United States Attorney

A-72

FILED: February 1, 1977

Angelo W. Locascio, Clerk

RBK:alm

76 1386

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DisTRICT OF NEW JERSEY

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA CRIMINAL No

v. pr ~=CR 77«257-A

Grapy LEE WiKE, JR. i8 U.S.C. § 660

The Grand Jury in and for the District of New Jersey,

sitting at Camden, charges:

That on or about February 18, 1976, at Pennsauken, in

the District of New Jersey, and elsewhere, the defendant

Grapy LEE WIKE, JR.

being an employee, that is, a truck driver for Coryell Truck

Rental, a firm engaged in commerce as a common carrier,

and while riding in and upon a motortruck of such carrier

moving in interstate commerce from Laredo, Texas, to Penn-

sauken, New Jersey, and back, did knowingly and wilfully

embezzle and convert to his own use moneys and assets of the

said firm in the amount of $1,237.50, the said moneys and

assets arising and accruing from such commerce, which said

moneys and assets had come into the possession of GRADY

LEE WIKE, JR., by virtue of his employment as agent of the

said Coryell Truck Rental.

In violation of Title 18, United States Code, Section 660.

A True Bill

Rae ee ee oe se ee Oe ee a ee |

Foreman

/s/ JONATHAN L. GOLDSTEIN

United States Attorney

A-73

FiLteED: November 9, 1977

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

V.

Tom KOLE,

RICHARD SIMPSON,

STEPHEN FINKEL,

, ‘ INDICTMENT

77 Cr. 0796

and

RENA STANCHFIELD,

Defendants.

COUNT ONE

The Grand Jury charges:

INTRODUCTION

1. At all times relevant herein REA Express Inc.

(“REA”) was a Delaware Corporation with its corporate

headquarters in New York, New York, and was a firm and

corporation engaged in commerce as a common carrier, and

was the nation’s largest ground and air express service with

offices throughout the United States employing thousands of

employees.

2. At all times relevant herein, the defendant, Tom

KOLE, was the President and Chief Operating Officer and

Chief Executive Officer of REA.

3. At all times relevant herein, the defendant, RICHARD

SIMPSON, was an officer and manager of REA and from on or

about March 21, 1972 was a Vice President of REA for

Marketing and Sales.

4. At all times relevant herein, the defendant, STEPHEN

FINKEL, was a director and manager of REA and from at

A-74

least in or about June 1972 was the Director of Advertising

and Public Relations for REA.

5. From on or about March 22, 1972, Communications

Jax, Inc. (“Communications Jax’), also known as Jax Com-

munications, was a Florida corporation with its principal

place of business in Jacksonville, Florida, which was engaged

in the advertising business and which did a substantial

amount of business with REA.

6. From on or about March 22, 1972, Wesley Jack Mar-

tin, was the President of Communications Jax and its Chief

Operating Officer.

7. From on or about January 12, 1973 Thoroughbred

Investors Services Inc. (“TIS”) was a Florida Corporation,

whose stock was owned by the defendants Tom KOLE, which

engaged in business relating to thoroughbred race horses.

8. At all times relevant herein, the defendant, RENA

STANCHFIELD, was the sister-in-law of the defendant, Tom

KOLE.

9. At all times relevant herein, Glenn Stanchfield, was

the brother-in-law of the defendant, Tom KOLE, and was,

according to the books and records of REA, an employee of

REA until May 1974.

THE CONSPIRACY

10. From in or about December 1970 to in or about

November 1975, in the Southern District of New York, and

elsewhere, TOM KOLE, RICHARD SIMPSON, STEPHEN FINKEL

and RENA STANCHFIELD, the defendants, and Wesley Jack

Martin and Glenn Stanchfield, named herein as a co-con-

spirators but not as defendants, and others to the grand jury

known and unknown, did unlawfully, knowingly and wilfully

conspire and agree together and with each other to embezzle,

steal, abstract, wilfully convert to their own use and the use of

others, wilfully misapply and wilfully permit to be misapplied

moneys, funds, credits, securities, properties and assets of

REA arising and accruing from, and used in, in whole and in

A-75

part, REA’s business as a common carrier engaged in com-

merce, in violation of Title 18, United States Code, Section

660.

OBJECTS OF THE CONSPIRACY

11. It was a part of said conspiracy that the defendants,

Tom KOLeE and RIC

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition — Marino v. United States · 454 U.S. 825 | Frix