Petition — Pennsylvania Gas & Water Co. v. Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission

Supreme Court brief1981

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Office -Supreme Court, U.S.

rite

80-1917

No. VAY 15 198]

ALEXA,’

> v

CLER

Supreme Court of the United State

October Term, 1980

PENNSYLVANIA GAS AND WATER COMPANY,

Petitioner,

t?)

PENNSYLVANIA PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION,

Respondent.

[35 May Term, 1978]

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

CHARLES Epwarp THOMAS

D. Mark THOMAS

Patricia LEE ARMSTRONG

Tuomas & THOMAS Tuomas & THOMAS

212 Locust Street 212 Locust Street

Post Office Box 999 Post Office Box 999

Harrisburg, PA 17108 Harrisburg, PA 17108

Of Counsel Attorneys for Petitioner

International Printing Co., 711 So. 50th St., Phila., Pa, 19143-— Tel. (215) 727-8711

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. A public utility financed a portion of its facilities

with a payment received as compensation for highway

construction damages to its water system. May the public

utility, consistent with the Fourteenth Amendment, be de-

nied a return on and recovery through depreciation ex-

pense of its investment in facilities financed with the high-

way damage payment?

2. A lower state court entered on the same day con-

sistent decisions in two appeals involving the same consti-

tutional issue. A state regulatory commission, respondent

in both lower court appeals, simultaneously filed petitions

for allowance of appeal in each case with the state’s highest

court. May such court, consistent with the Fourteenth

Amendment, grant one of the two appeals and enter an

opinion resulting in the affirmance of the lower court’s con-

stitutional ruling and thereafter grant the other appeal and

enter an opinion reversing the lower court's ruling on the

identical constitutional issue?

3. A state regulatory commission filed a petition for

allowance of appeal with the state’s highest court from a

lower court decision reversing its ratemaking order. May

such court, consistent with the Fourteenth Amendment,

grant such appeal approximately three years after it was

requested, issue a decision reversing the lower court’s de-

cision almost five years after it was entered and then delay

acting on a petition fox reargument for more than a year

after its filing?

(i)

LIST OF ALL PARTIES

Review is sought of the February 1, 1980 judgment

and opinion of the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania in the

case of Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission v. Penn-

sylvania Gas and Water Company, No. 35 May Term,

1978.1 The parties to the proceeding below included

Pennsylvania Gas and Water Company (PG&W) * and the

Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission (PUC).? PG&W

filed an application for reargument with respect to the

February 1, 1980 judgment and opinion. Applications

for reargument were also filed as amici curiae by the Na-

tional Association of Water Companies—Pennsylvania

Chapter, Pennsylvania Gas Association, Mechanicsburg

Water Company, Philadelphia Suburban Water Company,

T. W. Phillips Gas and Oil Company, Western Pennsy]l-

vania Water Company and Equitable Gas Company. All

applications were denied February 18, 1981.

1. The Supreme Court of Pennsylvania issued a consolidated

opinion at No. 35 May Term, 1978 and No. 278 January Term,

1978, with the latter appeal involving a subsequent PG&W water

rate increase. The facts and issues at No. 35 May Term, 1978,

the subject of this Petition, were separate and distinct from those

at No. 278 January Term, 1978. A separate Petition is being filed

with this Court from No, 278 January Term, 1978.

2. PG&W is now a wholly-owned subsidiary of Pennsylvania

Enterprises, Inc., which is a holding company with two groups of

subsidiaries: One group includes PG&W and its five subsidiaries

(Trucksville Water Company, Hillcrest Water Co., Homesite

Water Company, Shavertown-Kingston Township Water Com-

pany and Penn Gas Development Co.) and the other group

includes Pennsylvania Energy Resources, Inc. and Theta Land

Corporation.

3. The City of Scranton (City) and County of Lackawanna

(County) were parties before the Commonwealth Court of Penn-

sylvania and although listed in the caption below did not partici-

pate.

(ii)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED .........csseceeseeseeseceescenens

Laee OF ASd, PARTUM oo ccccccccvccvccevccteeveccessscces

TaseR CF COMMITS 2c cccccccsccccccvccccccsoscsssveses

THEE GP ROTTED oc vcccccccncsiesnccesorvessvesess

OCpmemons BELOW .ncccccccccccscccscccccccsccecce

JORMIDEOTION oo cc ccccccccccccccccscsccceccccccccceeet ;

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED ......++0seeeeeeeees

STATEMENT OF THE CAGE ..ccccccccccccscccccvece PTTTTT

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .......-000eseeeeeeeees

I. The Court Below Misinterpreted the Issue and Its

Opinion Results in Confiscation of Private Property

II. The Action of the Court Below in Rendering Incon-

sistent Opinions on Appeals Simultaneously Filed

Involving the Same Issue Is a Violation of Both

Due Process and Equal Protection of the Laws ...

III. The Long and Unjustified Delay of the Court Below

in Deciding the Case Is a Violation of Both Due

Process and Equal Protection of the Laws ........

eG i Ou cons bubs aibare due bebe kee ee eeaws

Appenpix A—Opinion of the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania,

Pa. P. U. C. v. Pennsylvania Gas and Water Company ..

Aprenpix B—Notice of Denial of Applications for Reargu-

TROT wcccccccccccccccccvcscencescoeccesecoeeescoces

Appenpix C—Opinion of the Commonwealth Court of Penn-

sylvania, Pa. P. U. C, v. Pennsylvania Gas and Water

COMMPERY cc ccccccccccccccccesccvccveesccesoveccoes

Page

o@Qonwnns’ ® <

12

Al

TABLE OF CONTENTS (Continued)

Page

Apprenpix D—Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission Order

at R. I. D. 72, Pa. P. U. C. v. Pennsylvania Gas and

Water Company (Excerpt) .........sesevseeceeees ... A56

Appenpix E—Opinion of the Commonwealth Court of Penn-

sylvania, Keystone Water Co., White Deer District v.

DR Bias Mls Naccacevescccaxansoscberiandenecensecns A67

Aprenpix F—Opinion of the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania,

Keystone Water Co., White Deer District v. Pa. P. U. C. A92

(iv)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

Barbier v. Connolly, 113 U. S. 27 (1885) .........eeeeeeees 9

Board of Public Utility Commissioners v. New York Tele-

phone Company, 271 U. S. 23 (1926) .............46. 8

Duncan v. State of Missouri, 152 U. S. 377 (1894) ........ 8,9, 11

Federal Power Commission v. Hope Natural Gas Co., 320

Te Ge GE COED a ccccvcccvcscccsbcccscetesnssteess 7

Fidelity & Columbia Trust Company v. City of Louisville,

BP We Oe Oe CUED hind cavckccctpdcverdiccviviceeces 10

Keystone Water Co., White Deer District v. Pa. P. U. C., 19

Pa. Commonwealth Ct. 292, 339 A. 2d 873 (1975) . .4, 5, 6,9, 10

Keystone Water Co., White Deer District v. Pa. P. U. C., 477

ye © Fe 8 ks Rewer Tyee rries 5, 10, 11

Lindheimer v. Illinois Bell Telephone Company, 292 U. S.

SEE Sc ckiwerkeecncdh ovnausee nee Saabvaseeneeas 7,8

Market Street Railway Company v. Railroad Commission of

the State of California, 324 U. S. 548 (1945) ......... 7

Missouri ex rel. S. W. Bell Telephone Co. v. Public Service

Commission of Missouri, 262 U. S. 276 (1923) ........ i

Pa. P. U. C. v. Pennsylvania Gas and Water Company, 19 Pa.

Commonwealth Ct. 214, 341 A. 2d 289 (1975) . .2, 4,5, 9, 10, 11

Pa. P. U. C. v. Pennsylvania Gas and Water Company, 47 Pa.

ie ie a Pe MPEP nn adeg tinny ededsecdaveadnacenene 2,4,5

Pennsylvania Gas and Water Co. v. Pennsylvania Turnpike

Commission, 428 Pa. 74, 236 A. 2d 112 (1967) ......... 3

Pa. P. U. C. v. Pennsylvania Gas and Water Company, —

Pa, —, 424 A. 2d 1213 (1980) ............. ii, 1, 2, 5, 6, 10, 11

Shelley v. Kraemer, 334 U. S. 1 (1948) ..........cceeeeuee ll

Stone v. Farmers Loan and Trust Company, 116 U. S. 307

CREED candcsceeveusncsdownesssdé césovtvencsecseves 7

Statutes:

ee ene veccenkedensecsswauhesteacwenswaue 2

Constitutions:

U. S. Constitution, Amendment XIV, Sec. 1 ..... i, 2, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10

(v)

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1980

PENWSYLVANIA GAS AND WATER COMPANY,

Petitioner,

0.

PENNSYLVANIA PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION,

Respondent.

[No. 35 May Term, 1978]

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF

PENNSYLVANIA

Petitioner, Pennsylvania Gas and Water Company,

respectfully prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review

the judgment and opinion of the Supreme Court of Penn-

sylvania entered on February 1, 1980, in the case of Penn-

sylvania Public Utility Commission v. Pennsylvania Gas

and Water Company, No. 35 May Term, 1978.‘

4. See footnote 1, supra.

(1)

2 Petition for Writ of Certiorari

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania

(the “court below”) is reported at — Pa. —, 424 A. 2d

1213 (1980) and together with the concurring opinions

appears as Appendix A hereto. Notice of denial of the

applications for reargument appears as Appendix B. The

opinion of the Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania

(Commonwealth Court) which was reversed by the court

below is reported at 19 Pa. Commonwealth Ct. 214, 341

A. 2d 239 (1975) and appears as Appendix C, together

with a dissenting opinion. The order of the PUC which

was reinstated by the court below is reported at 47 Pa.

P. U. C. 750 (1974). The portion of the order pertaining

to the issue raised herein appears as Appendix D.

JURISDICTION

The opinion of the court below was entered on Feb-

ruary 1, 1980, and its order denying reargument was en-

tered on February 18, 1981. The jurisdiction of this Court

is invoked under Title 28 of the United States Code

§ 1257(3).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

U. S. Constitution, Amendment XIV, Sec. 1:

. . nor shall any State deprive any person of

life, liberty, or property, without due process of law;

nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction the

equal protection of the laws.”

Petition for Writ of Certiorari 3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

PG&W is a Pennsylvania public utility corporation

providing both water and gas service to the public in

Northeastern Pennsylvania subject to regulation by the

PUC, an administrative agency of the Commonwealth of

Pennsylvania (Commonwealth).

In the 1960's, the Commonwealth acting through its

Department of Highways (later named Department of

Transportation ) proposed highway construction which be-

cause of the turbidity it would create would render useless

portions of PG&W’s water system including a reservoir,

several wells, and a thirteen square mile area of water-

shed as a source of water supply. The highway construc-

tion would have destroyed PG&W’s water supply to the

City of Scranton.

After extensive negotiations, an agreement was

reached in 1969 whereby the Commonwealth agreed to

pay PG&W $2,754,754 for damages which would be in-

flicted on its water system by the highway construction.

The basis employed for determining this amount was the

“cost-to-cure” method, i.e., the estimated cost to replace

that portion of the system to be rendered useless as a re-

sult of the highway construction.’ With the damage pro-

ceeds and substantial additional investor supplied capital,

PG&W constructed a reservoir and a thirty-inch pipeline

to replace the affected portion of its system and to provide

additional capacity.

On January 30, 1973, PG&W filed with the PUC a

proposed water rate increase including in its rate base and

depreciation expense claims the investment in the facilities

5. The “cost-to-cure” method had previously been found by

the court below to be appropriate for determining damages to a

water utility's property caused by highway construction. See

Pennsylvania Gas and Water Co. v. Pennsylvania Turnpike Com-

mission, 428 Pa. 74, 236 A. 2d 112 (1967).

4 Petition for Writ of Certiorari

financed with the damage payment. In its final order

dated July 9, 1974 at R. I. D. 72 (Appendix D), the PUC

disallowed $628,313 of the proposed rate increase, based

in part on the exclusion of $2,558,634 from consideration

in the determination of the rate base and depreciation ex-

pense findings. The $2,558,634 represented the invest-

ment in the new facilities financed by the damage pay-

ment after deducting from the total damage payment the

depreciated original cost of the property rendered useless.

Although PG&W had contended that such a holding would

be a violation of the Fourteenth Amendment, the PUC’s

order did not address the constitutional issue.

PG&W petitioned the Commonwealth Court for re-

view of the PUC’s order contending, inter alia, that the

exclusion from rate base and disallowance of the deprecia-

tion expense amounted to confiscation of its property.®

By order and opinion dated May 27, 1975 (hereinafter

“PG&W opinion”) (Appendix C), the Commonwealth

Court affirmed with one exception the PUC’s order. It

reversed the order as to the treatment of the facilities

financed with the highway damage payment and held that

the exclusion thereof from the PUC’s ratemaking findings

was a violation of due process, citing its discussion in its

companion opinion in Keystone Water Co., White Deer

District v. Pa. P. U. C., 19 Pa. Commonwealth Ct. 292, 339

A. 2d 873 (1975) (hereinafter “Keystone opinion”). The

Keystone opinion, Appendix E hereto, involved the same

issue and was filed simultaneously with the PG&W opin-

ion on May 27, 1975.

On June 26, 1975, the PUC petitioned the court below

for allowances of appeal from both the Commonwealth

Court’s PG&W and Keystone opinions, raising in each

6. The City and County, raising different issues, also peti-

tioned for Commonwealth Court review of the PUC’s order. See

footnote 3, supra.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari 5

petition precisely the same contentions. Without taking

any action on the petition from the PG&W opinion, the

court below granted the allowance of appeal from the

Keystone opinion and affirmed that opinion by an equally

divided court on April 7, 1978, in Keystone Water Co.,

White Deer District v. Pa. P. U. C., 477 Pa. 594, 385 A. 2d

946 (1978), which opinion appears as Appendix F. Fol-

lowing its Keystone decision, the court below on June 21,

1978, approximately three years after its filing, granted the

PUC’s petition for allowance of appeal from the Common-

wealth Court’s PG&W opinion.

On February 1, 1980, almost five years after the

Commonwealth Court’s PG&W opinion was entered, the

court below by a judgment and opinion (Appendix A),

directly contrary to the affirmance in the Keystone appeal,

reversed the Commonwealth Court’s PG&W opinion on

the highway damage payment issue and reinstated the

PUC’s July 9, 1974 order.

PG&W filed with the court below an application for

reargument contending that the decision was in error and

in violation of its constitutional rights. On February 24,

1981, over one year after its filing, the application for re-

argument was denied (Appendix B).

The federal constitutional issue involving the rate-

making treatment of the highway damage payment was

timely and properly raised. It was raised initially before

the PUC, though not addressed in its order. It was also

subsequently raised beforé and addressed by both the

Commonwealth Court (see Appendix C, pp. A31, A32 and

Appendix E, pp. A75-A83 referred to therein) and the

court below (see Appendix A, pp. A9-A16).

6 Petition for Writ of Certiorari

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. The Court Below Misinterpreted the Issue and Its Opin-

ion Results in Confiscation of Private Property.

In its opinion, the court below stated the issue to be

“the correct standard to be employed” in fixing the value

of the rate base property (Appendix A, p. Al). It then

proceeded with a discussion as to whether the Fourteenth

Amendment requires consideration to be given to repro-

duction cost in determining the value of a public utility’s

rate base. The court concluded that such consideration

need not be given and reinstated the PUC order denying

PG&W a return on and recovery of its investment in the

facilities financed with the highway damage payment pro-

ceeds.

The court below’s statement of the issue to the con-

trary notwithstanding, there was no issue as to any con-

stitutional requirement in respect to the weight to be

given reproduction cost in arriving at rate base. The issue

was whether it is permissible to deny a public utility a

return on and recovery through depreciation expense of

its investment in property c»nstructed and financed with

proceeds from a damage payment made to replace the

portions of its system which would be rendered useless as

a result of highway construction. This was specifically

recognized by the Commonwealth Court in the Keystone

opinion (Appendix E, p. A75).

“_.. The question before us in this case, however,

is not whether the value allowed for rate-making pur-

poses by the PUC was one of several possible valua-

tions, but rather, whether the PUC’s action in entirely

eliminating this piece of property from the rate base

was proper.”

Petition for Writ of Certiorari 7

The decisions of this Court reveal that such action is con-

fiscatory in violation of the Fourteenth Amendment.

As early as 1886, this Court in Stone v. Farmers Loan

and Trust Company, 116 U. S. 307, 331 (1886) held:

“From what has thus been said it is not to be

inferred that this power of limitation or regulation is

itself without limit. This power to regulate is not a

power to destroy, and limitation is not the equivalent

of confiscation. Under pretense of regulating fares

and freights, the State cannot require a railroad cor-

poration to carry persons or property without reward;

neither can it do that which in law amounts to a tak-

ing of private property for public use without just

compensation or without due process of law.” (em-

phasis added )

In subsequent decisions, this Court has recognized that it

is the capital investment which comprises the rate base

and it is this investment that cannot be confiscated. As

stated by Justice Brandeis in the concurring opinion in

Missouri ex rel. S. W. Bell Telephone Co. v. Public Service

Commission of Missouri, 262 U. S. 276, 290 (1923):

“The thing devoted by the investor to the public

use is . . . capital embarked in the enterprise. Upon

the capital so invested the Federal Constitution guar-

antees to the utility the opportunity to earn a fair

return.” (emphasis added)

Also, see Federal Power Commission v. Hope Natural Gas

Co., 320 U. S. 591, 603 (1944) which cited this opinion

of Justice Brandeis, and Market Street Railway Company

v. Railroad Commission of the State of California, 324

U. S. 548, 567 (1945).

Furthermore, this Court in Lindheimer v. Illinois Bell

Telephone Company, 292 U. S. 151, 167 (1934), recog-

8 Petition for Writ of Certiorari

nized that the Fourteenth Amendment requires “an allow-

ance for consumption of capital” through depreciation ex-

pense “in order to maintain the integrity of the investment

in the service rendered.”

The $2,558,634 damage proceeds in issue were with-

out question the property of PG&W and its investors. Had

PG&W not been a public utility with a legal duty to render

adequate service, the damage proceeds could have been

distributed in the form of dividends to its stockholders.

The damage proceeds, however, were reinvested to con-

struct uew facilities to assure that adequate service was

maintained. Under the aforementioned decisions of this

Court, the failure to allow any return whatsoever on this

investment, as well as the recovery of the associated de-

preciation expense, violates the Fourteenth Amendment.

The effect of the decision below is to give private

property to the ratepayer, which is contrary to this Court's

decision in Board of Public Utility Commissioners v. New

York Telephone Company, 271 U. S. 23, 32 (1926):

“Customers pay for service, not for the property

used to render it.... By paying bills for service they

do not acquire any interest, legal or equitable, in the

property used for their convenience or in the funds of

the company.”

It is respectfully submitted that this constitutional

violation should not be allowed to stand.

II. The Action of the Court Below in Rendering Incon-

sistent Opinions on Appeals Simultaneously Yiled In-

volving the Same Issue Is a Violation of Both Due

Process and Equal Protection of the —.aws.

“[D]ue process of law and the equal protection of the

laws” this Court has held “are secured if the laws operate

Petition for Writ of Certiorari 9

on all alike, and do not subject the individual to an arbi-

trary exercise of the powers of government.” Duncan v.

State of Missouri, 152 U. S. 377, 382 (1894). To satisfy

the due process and equal protection guarantees, the ap-

pellate process must operate uniformly on all parties simi-

larly situated. As this Court held in Barbier v. Connolly,

113 U. S. 27, 31 (1885):

“The 14th Amendment, in declaring that no State

‘Shall deprive any person of life, liberty or property

without due process of law, nor deny to any person

within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the

laws,’ undoubtedly intended, not only that there

should be no arbitrary deprivation of life or liberty

or arbitrary spoliation of property but that equal

protection and security should be given to all under

like circumstances in the enjoyment of their personal

and civil rights; that all persons should be equally

entitled to pursue their happiness and acquire and

enjoy property; that they should have like access to

the courts of the country for the protection of their

persons and property, the prevention and redress of

wrongs, and the enforcement of contracts; that no

impediment should be interposed to the pursuits of

anyone except as applied to the same pursuits by

others under like circumstances; that no greater

burdens should be laid upon one than are laid upon

others in the same calling and condition . . .”

These Fourteenth Amendment requirements were

violated in the inconsistent holdings by the court below.

Here, the Commonwealth Court on May 27, 1975, entered

both its PG&W and Keystone opinions holding that the

PUC’s ratemaking exclusion of property financed with a

highway damage payment was in violation of the Four-

teenth Amendment. On June 26, 1976, the PUC filed with

10 Petition for Writ of Certiorari

the court below petitions seeking allowances of appeal

from both the Commonwealth Court’s PG&W and Key-

stone opinions, which petitions raised precisely the same

contentions. The Court below in a timely fashion pro-

ceeded to grant the appeal from the Keystone opinion and

rendered its decision at Keystons Water Company, White

Deer District v. Pa. P. U. C., 477 Pa. 594, 385 A. 2d 946

(1978) (Appendix F), affirming by an equally divided

court the Commonwealth Court’s Keystone opinion that

the PUC’s ratemaking exclusion of property financed with

a highway damage award was a violation of due process.

In sharp contrast, the court below delayed the grant-

ing of the appeal from the PG&W opinion for approxi-

mately three years and approximately a year and one-half

thereafter issued its decision reversing the opinion and

finding that the PUC’s ratemaking exclusion of property

financed with a highway damage award was not a viola-

tion of due process. Thus, in appeals simultaneously filed

before the same court, the utility in one was allowed a

return and depreciation while the utility in the other was

not.

Under the circumstances, the action of the court

below in rendering two totally inconsistent decisions in

appeals filed on the same day, by the same party and in-

volving the same issue is a violation of the Fourteenth

Amendment.’

7. This is not a situation such as Fidelity & Columbia Trust

Company v. City of Louisville, 245 U. S. 54 (1917), where the

appellate court reversed one of its earlier decisions, The incon-

sistent decisions rendered by the court below involved appeals

filed on the same day by the same party and it was only as a

result of the court delaying action on the PG&W opinion that its

decision below was rendered subsequent to its decision in Key-

stone Water Co., White Deer District v. Pa, P. U. C., supra.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari 11

III. The Long and Unjustified Delay of the Court Below

in Deciding the Case Is a Violation of Both Due

Process and Equal Protection of the Laws.

As recognized on many occasions by this Court, the

limitations imposed by the constitutional requirements of

due process and equal protection of the laws extend to the

judicial branch of government. See e.g., Shelley v.

Kraemer, 334 U. S. 1 (1948). The judicial branch in

carrying out these requirements must not act arbitrarily

in processing appeals of persons similarly situated. Dun-

can v, State of Missouri, 152 U. S. 377 (1894). In light

of the action of the court below in processing its decision

in Keystone Water Co., White Deer District v. Pa.

P. U. C., supra, in a much more timely fashion, the in-

ordinate and arbitrary delay of the court below in this case

is so flagrant that it should shock the judicial conscience

as an outright violation of both due process and equal

protection of the laws.

The court below took over five and one-half years to

finally dispose of the appeal from the Commonwealth

Court’s May 27, 1975 PG&W opinion. The court did not

act on the PUC’s petition for allowance of appeal for ap-

proximately three years; it did not enter its judgment and

opinion for approximately one and one-half years follow-

ing the granting of the appeal; and it did not take action

on PG&W’s application for reargument for over a one-year

period.

This arbitrary and unjustified delay is particularly

egregious to PG&W. Over the last six years, PG&W has

been collecting rates in accordance with the Common-

wealth Court’s May 27, 1975 PG&W opinion. The action

of the court below in reversing the PG&W opinion some

five years after it was entered has exposed this public

utility to a claim for refunds involving the reasonableness

of the water rates collected during the entire period.

12 Petition for Writ of Certiorari

The court below has so far departed from the ac-

cepted and usual course of judicial proceedings that

PG&W’s constitutional rights have been violated.

CONCLUSION

For all of the foregoing reasons a writ of certiorari

should issue to review the judgment and opinion of the

Supreme Court of Pennsylvania

Respectfully submitted,

CHARLES Epwarp THOMAS

D. Mark THOMAS

Patricia LEE ARMSTRONG

Tuomas & THOMAS

212 Locust Street

Post Office Box 999

Harrisburg, PA 17108

Attorneys for Petitioner

APPENDIX A.

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Mipp.e District AND EASTERN DisTRICT

No. 35 May Term, 1978

PENNSYLVANIA PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION,

Appellant

v.

PENNSYLVANIA GAS AND WATER COMPANY

(WATER DIVISION ),

Appellee

CITY OF SCRANTON, et al.

v.

PENNSYLVANIA GAS AND WATER COMPANY,

(WATER DIVISION )

Appeal from Order of the Commonwealth Court of Penn-

sylvania, Dated May 27, 1975, at Nos. 1092, 1122,

1123 C.D. 1974, Reversing in Part of the Order of

the Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission at R.I.D.

72, Dated July 9, 1974.

No. 278 January Term, 1978

PENNSYLVANIA PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION,

Appellant

v.

PENNSYLVANIA GAS AND WATER COMPANY—

WATER DIVISION

Appellee

(Al)

A2 Appendix A

OFFICE OF CONSUMER ADVOCATE

and

PENNSYLVANIA ATTORNEY GENERAL,

Intervenors

Appeal from the Order of the Commonwealth Court Dated

December 21, 1977, at No. 1523 Commonwealth

Docket 1976, Reversing the Order of the Pennsylva-

nia Public Utility Commission at Rate Investigation

Docket No. 209, Dated August 4, 1976.

Opinion

(Filed February 1, 1980)

Nix, J.

These two appeals present this Court with the trouble-

some issue of the correct standard to be employed by the

Public Utility Commission (PUC) in fulfilling its legis-

lative mandate to “ascertain and fix the fair value of the

whole or any part of the property of any public utility.”

Act of May 28, 1937, P. L. 1053, art. III, § 311, 66 P. S.

§ 1151 (1958) * (the Act). For the reasons that follow,

we are of the view that the PUC was correct in its deter-

mination and that its orders should not have been dis-

turbed. Accordingly, we reverse the orders of the

Commonwealth Court below.

The complex facts surrounding these appeals are

fully set forth in the opinions of the Commonwealth

Court.’ For our purposes, the following brief factual reci-

(1) This Act was repealed by the Public Utility Code of 1978,

66 Pa. C. S. A. §§ 1 et seq., effective August 29, 1978. The instant

appeals are concerned solely with the 1937 Act.

(2) The opinion of the Commonwealth Court in No, 35 May

Term 1978 (PG&W I) is set forth at 19 Pa. Commw. Ct. 214, 341

Appendix A A3

tation is sufficient. The appeal at No. 35 May Term 1978

(PG&W I) concerns construction and improvement

projects undertaken by the Pennsylvania Department of

Highways that were anticipated to affect the water supply

of the Pennsylvania Gas & Water Company (PG&W)

within its Roaring Brook watershed area. An agreement

was entered into between the Department and PG&W to

remedy and minimize the adverse effect of this federally

funded highway project on the turbidity and purity of

the water derived from the watershed. This agreement

provided that the Department would contribute to PG&W

a sum in excess of $2.7 million toward the construction of

a new dam, reservoir, and a 30-inch pipeline. The PUC

rejected the attempt by PG&W to include this $2.7 million

payment in its base for accounting and rate making pur-

poses.* The Commonwealth Court reversed the PUC on

the ground that the exclusion of the $2.7 million payment

from the rate base constituted a violation of the principles

enunciated in Keystone Water Co. v. PUC, 19 Pa. Commw.

Ct. 292, 339 A. 2d 873 (1975), affirmed by an equally

divided Court, 477 Pa. 594, 385 A. 2d 946 (1978). We

granted the PUC’s petition for allocatur.

The appeal at No. 278 January Term 1978 (PG&W

II) concerns PG&W’s request for a two-step increase in

its rates. The PUC approved the first step, but disallowed

the second step after ascertaining and fixing PG&W’s rate

base at $87,700,000 and allowing it a return of 8.53 per

cent. The Commonwealth Court reversed the PUC, find-

2. (Cont'd. )

A. 2d 239 (1975). The opinion of that court in No. 278 January

Term 1978 (PG&W II) is found at 33 Pa. Commw. Ct. 143, 381

A. 2d 996 (1977).

(3) By including this payment into its base, PG&W could pass

this windfall on to its stockholders and also request higher rates

from the public in order to compensate for the injury to its water-

shed.

A4 Appendix A

ing that the PUC’s determination of the fair value of

PG&W’s rate base was legally incorrect in view of its

earlier opinions in the PG&W I and Keystone. We

granted the PUC’s petition for review and the petitions

to intervene filed by the Attorney General and the Office

of Consumer Advocate, and ordered the matters to be

argued together.

1. The Appeal at No. 35 May Term, 1978

Before we discuss the legal and historical basis sur-

rounding the “fair value” controversy, we think it proper

to set forth the rationale employed by the PUC in support

of its Order rejecting PG&W’s attempt to include the

state’s $2.7 million payment in its base for accounting and

rate making purposes:

For public utility accounting and rate making

purposes we must reject respondent's contention.

Property, which is used or useful in rendering a pub-

lic utility service and which has been a part of a pub-

lic utility's rate base is dedicated to a public use, and

is impressed with a public trust. It (or the proceeds

or accruals therefrom) is subject to regulation by the

properly designated regulatory body and remains

subject to that regulation until such time as that regu-

latory body duly finds it in the public interest to

approve its release from public service. Such prop-

erty must be regulated in the interest of the public

no less than in the interest of the utility. Equities

must be balanced and justice must be done to all con-

cerned. Accordingly, when a utility suffers extraor-

dinary losses in service value of utility property

abandoned or otherwise retired from service, or

suffers unforeseen damages to property which dam-

ages could not reasonably be anticipated, and where

the utility has not otherwise recovered its investment,

Appendix A A5

this Commission can and, where equities require,

does permit the utility to recover from the ratepayers,

as a proper and necessary expense of rendering the

public service, the necessary amount to make the

utility whole. On the other hand, where, as here, the

utility recovers an amount or sum as a result of com-

pensation for particular property and the potential

consequential injury to the service of the ratepayers

for whom that property was dedicated to the public

use, the Commission, where the equities dictate, may

require that amount received by the utility to be

treated, for public utility accounting and rate making

purposes, in such manner as will place the utility and

the ratepayers in the same position, insofar as rea-

sonably possible, as they were before the extraordinary

event or transaction which gave rise to the sum or

amount in question.

For rate making purposes, we cannot permit re-

spondent to receive all the salutary effects of the agree-

ment and pass them on to the stockholders as a wind-

fall while passing on to the ratepayers only the

increased rates that would become necessary had there

been no agreement and contribution. Clearly, the

payment in question resulted and stemmed from con-

sideration of the property’s dedication to public use

as a water utility, and recognition of the potential

injury to the interests and service of the water utility

customers. In situations and circumstances such as

this, the customers of a utility are in the nature of

third party beneficiaries whose interest in the utility

service must be protected. The essence of public

utility regulation is the protection of the public and

the assurance of adequate service to them at reason-

able rates on the one hand, and, on the other, a fair

opportunity to the utility to secure a reasonable rate

A6 Appendix A

and no windfall from such services. To reflect

equitably and meaningfully the near restoration of, or

equitable substitution for, the pre-agreement status

quo, both the utility and its customers must be made

whole insofar as reasonably possible.

First, the majority opinions of the Commonwealth

Court in Keystone and in the instant case reflect a mis-

perception of the regulatory authority of the Common-

wealth and its chosen instrumentality for carrying out the

desired objectives (the Pa. PUC) and the significance of

the notion of deference which accompanies that regulatory

scheme. The PUC’s functions in valuing utility property *

and in fixing just and reasonable rates of return thereon °

are exercises of the regulatory powers of the Common-

(4) Valuation of property of a public utility

The commission may, after reasonable notice and hearing, as-

certain and fix the fair value of the whole or any part of the

property of any public utility, in so far as the same is material

to the exercise of the jurisdiction of the commission, and may

make revaluations from time to time and ascertain the fair

value of all new construction, extensions, and additions to the

property of any public utility. When any public utility fur-

nishes more than one of the different types of utility service

enumerated in paragraph seventeen of section two of this act

[66 P. S. §1102(17)], the commission shall segregate the

property used and useful in furnishing each type of such serv-

ice, and shall not consider the propery of such public utility as

a unit in determining the value of the property of such public

utility for the purpose of fixing rates,

Public Utilities Law, § 311, 66 P. S. § 1151.

(5) Rates to be just and reasonable

Every rate made, demanded, or received by any public utility,

or by any two or more public utilities jointly, shall be just and

reasonable and in conformity with regulations or orders of the

commission,

Id. at § 301, as amended, 66 P. S, § 1141.

Appendix A A7

wealth. Cf., Nebbia v. New York, 291 U. S. 502 (1934).

Regulation amounts to a taking when government forces

“some people alone to bear public burdens, which, in all

fairness and justice, should be borne by the public as a

whole.” Armstrong v. U. S., 364 U. S. 40, 49 (1960).

Accordingly, it must be determined whether the PUC’s

exclusion from PG&W's rate base of a payment made out

of public funds to construct a reservoir and pipeline to

minimize the effects of a public construction project on

the performance of water supply functions which are pub-

lic in nature, forced PG&W’s investors and shareholders

alone to bear public burdens which in fairness and justice

should have been borne by the utility’s rate payers as a

whole.

Tlie second deep-rooted fallacy in the Commonwealth

Court analysis in this area has to do with confusing valua-

tion for eminent domain purposes with valuation for

regulatory purposes. These various processes of valuation

are no more necessarily interrelated or interdependent

than valuation for real property assessment purposes or

any other circumstances in which the law requires valua-

tion of property for the performance of a discrete and

separate governmental function. See generally Bon-

bright, Valuation of Property (1937). The mere fact that

a particular part of the company’s property was valued at

its cost of reproduction in an eminent domain award is

not dispositive nor controlling as to its proper valuation

for regulatory purposes. The purpose of just compensa-

tion in eminent domain is to put the owner “in as good a

position pecuniarily as it would have occupied, if its prop-

erty had not been taken.” U. S. v. New River Collieries,

262 U. S, 341 (1923). But it has been cogently observed

that “the purpose of regulating utility rates, unlike that of

condemning property, is to correct an economic maladjust-

ment whereby the company owning the property is ad-

A8 Appendix A

judged to have an undue advantage over the rest of the

community.” Hale, Freedom Through Law—Public Con-

trol of Private Governing Power, p. 463.

In the case of water companies, the advantages which

they have secured over the rest of the community have

stemmed directly from their status as public corporations.

White v. City of Meadville, 177 Pa. 643, 35 A. 695 (1896).

For example, at various times, water companies have been

vested with eminent domain taking powers which gave

them the right to take streams" and to acquire land to

preserve their water supply from contamination." So, too,

such rights as any water company enjoys to divert water

for the purpose of supplying municipalities or other con-

sumers are, because they exceed the common law rights of

the riparian owner, wholly public in that they arise by

virtue of public eminent domain and regulatory powers.

Lord v. Meadville Water Co., 135 Pa. 122, 19 A. 1007

(1890); Haupt’s Appeal, 125 Pa. 211, 17 A. 436 (1889).

In refusing to include the $2.7 million contribution

made by the Commonwealth toward the capital construc-

tion costs of the reservoir and pipeline necessitated by the

anticipated impact of the federally aided highway con-

struction project in PG&W’s rate base, the PUC in effect

disallowed PG&W an addition to the original cost measure

upon which the property in question was valued. In so

doing, PG&W contends that the PUC contravened the

controlling statutory norm requiring it “to ascertain and

fix the fair value of the whole or any part of the property

of any public utility.” Public Utility Law, § 311, 66 P. S,

§ 1151 (emphasis supplied). PG&W further contends that

this statutory norm of “fair value” either incorporates by

(6) Corporation Act of 1874, Act of April 29, 1874, P. L. 73,

No, 32, § 34 as amended by the Act of May 16, 1889, P. L, 226,

No, 232.

(7) Act of May 26, 1893, P. L. 158, No. 103,

Appendix A AQ

reference the meaning of that term as adumbrated in

Smyth v. Ames * or, in the alternative, is bottomed on the

continuing validity of Smyth as a standard for adjudicating

the constitutionality of rate regulation under the Federal

Constitution.

In construing the statutory norm of fair valuation, we

must, of course, view that standard within the context of

the enactment as a whole. Accordingly, we find that the

overriding principle governing the PUC’s performance of

its duty is to determine “just and reasonable” rates pur-

suant to Public Utility Law § 301, 66 P. S. § 1141. New

York Telephone and Telegraph v. PSC, 309 N. Y. 569,

579-580, 132 NE. 2d 847, 850-51 (1956). Thus, the

“fair value” must reflect rates that are “just and reason-

able.” The rate making function consists of a two-step

process to effectuate the paramount responsibility of fix-

(8) 169 U. S. 466 (1898). The holding in Smyth reads as

follows:

We hold . . . that the basis of all calculations as to the

reasonableness of rates to be charged by a corporation main-

taining a highway under legislative sanction must be the fair

value of the property being used by it for the convenience of

the public. And in order to ascertain that value, the original cost

of construction; the amount expended in permanent improve-

ments, the amount and market value of its bonds and stock,

the present as compared with the original cost of construction,

the probable earning capacity of the property under particular

rates prescribed by statute, and the sum required to meet

operating expenses, are all matters for consideration, and are

to be given such weight as may be just and right in each case.

We do not say that there may not be other matters to be re-

garded in estimating the value of the property. What the

company is entitled to ask is a fair return upon the value of

that which it employs for the public convenience. On the

other hand, what the public is entitled to demand is that no

more be exacted from it for the use of a public highway than

the services rendered by it are reasonably worth, Jd. at 546,

Al0 Appendix A

ing “just and reasonable” rates: fair valuation of utility

property and the ascertainment of a reasonable rate

thereon. There is ample authority for the proposition that

the power to fix “just and reasonable” rates imports a

flexibility in the exercise of a complicated regulatory

function by a specialized decision-making body and that

the term “just and reasonable” was not intended to confine

the ambit of regulatory discretion to an absolute or math-

ematical formulation but rather to confer upon the regu-

latory body the power to make and apply policy concern-

ing the appropriate balance between prices charged to

utility customers and returns on capital to utility investors

consonant with constitutional protections applicable to

both. See Utah Power and Light Co. v. PSC, 107 Utah

155, 190-191, 152 P. 2d 542, 558 (1944). Accord, State v.

N. J. Bell Telephone Co., 30 NJ 16, 152 A. 2d 35 (1959).

The opinion in support of affirmance in Keystone did

not deny the primacy of the “just and reasonable” stand-

ard or that it represented a delegation of policy-making

powers to the PUC which are basically legislative in

nature. That opinion, however, accepted the notion that

the term “fair value” was intended to have a fixed meaning

incorporating by reference the rule in Smyth v. Ames, as

interpreted in Bluefield Water Works v. Public Service

Commission,’ with respect to the weight of reproduction

cost data in rate making. Keystone, 477 Pa. at 607-08,

385 A.2d at 953-54.

The legislative history of public utility regulation in

this Commonwealth does not support this assertion. The

1913 Public Service Company Law which is the grand-

father of the present statute spelled out the meaning of

“fair value” by express incorporation of each factor enu-

merated in Smyth v. Ames. Act of July 16, 1913, P. L.

1734, No. 854, art. V, § 20. The purpose of such enumera-

(9) 262 U. S, 679 (1923).

Appendix A All

tion was to draft a constitionally valid statute by includ-

ing therein almost in ipsis verbis the constitutional rule

concerning rate fixing powers as it was understood at the

time that the statute was drafted. See Munson, The Pub-

lic Service Company Law (1914). The 1937 statute

superseding the 1913 law significantly omitted any defini-

tion or specification of the meaning of “fair value.” The

Superior Court considered that this omission was con-

sistent with a legislative intent to define “fair value” as

synonymous with that concept as expressly defined by the

prior statute and in Smith v. Ames. Solar Electric Co. v.

PUC, 137 Pa. Super. 325, 326, 9 A. 2d 447 (1939). How-

ever, this omission is equally consistent with a legislative

intent to free itself from the shackles of express adherence

to an understanding of the constitutional meaning of “fair

value” which was in evolution at the time that the 1937

statute was drafted. See Rose, The Hope Case and Public

Utility Valuation, 54 Col. L. Rev. 188, 195 (1954); Bauer

& Gold, Public Utility Valuation for Purposes of Rate Con-

trol, p. 155 et seq. (1935).

In any event, even assuming arguendo that the legis-

lature intended to acquiesce in the “fair value” principle

as enunciated in Smyth v. Ames, little comfort is thereby

afforded to PG&W. The rule in Smyth v. Ames fixes the

very broad constitutional boundaries within which the

legislature may exercise or infer discretionary leeway in

rate-making. As a leading commentator observed:

It is obvious that the instruction that is the essence of

‘fair value’-—to give the matters for consideration

(principally original cost and reproduction cost) such

weight as may be just and right—is not operational.

It offers no criterion or rule to determine what is ‘just

and right’ and, therefore, does not provide a method

to ascertain a uniquely determinate value of the

weight to be assigned to each of the ‘matters for con-

Al2 Appendix A

sideration’ in a finding of fair value.... The fact

is that fair value is an indeterminate magnitude lying

anywhere between original cost and reproduction

cost. [Emphasis added]. ’

Rose, Confusion in Valuation for Public Utility Rate

Making, 47 Minn. L. Rev. 1, 23 (1962).

Properly understood, Smyth v. Ames speaks only to

the outer boundaries beyond which, on the one hand, a

regulator approaches an uncompensated eminent domain

taking of investor property by valuing it below its origi-

nal cost and, on the other hand, a regulator approaches

an unlawful taxation of consumers under the guise of rate

fixing by valuing the property in excess of its reproduction

cost. Between these extremes, the question is one of

policy for the regulatory body concerning which the judi-

cial branch is not warranted in interposing economic

theories. Unless the PUC’s decision does not bear a real

and substantial relationship to the regulatory objects

sought to be obtained by it, that judgment must prevail.

Gambone v. Commonwealth, 375 Pa. 547, 101 A. 2d 634

(1954); Pennsylvania State Bd. of Pharmacy v. Pastor,

441 Pa, 186, 272 A. 2d 487 (1971).

Thus, “fair value” as understood in Smyth v. Ames

does not compel reversal of the PUC’s determination either

as a matter of statutory or constitutional law. In the

instant case, the PUC duly considered the evidence prof-

fered by PG&W as to the reproduction cost of the water-

shed properties but concluded that, under the circum-

stances of the particular case, the allowance of any

addition to original cost figures for rate making purposes

was not just and reasonable and that the 2.7 million dollar

payment should be more appropriately treated as a “con-

tribution,” as it was designated by the agreement between

PG&W and the Department of Highways, rather than as

Appendix A Al3

an additional investment of capital. As we observed in

an earlier case:

The ascertainment of the fair value of the prop-

erty, for rate making purposes, is not a matter of for-

mulas, but is a matter which calls for the exercise

of a sound and reasonable judgment upon a proper

consideration of all relevant facts. The commission is

not bound to adopt any one method to the exclusion

of all others. It may take into consideration various

methods, and use its judgment as to the extent to

which they shall be employed. The original cost of

the property is not to be taken as controlling, for there

may have been extravagance in purchasing, or bad

management; and, on the other hand, there may have

been an actual increase in values since the original

purchase or construction. Then again the reproduc-

tion cost, less depreciation, may not give the present

fair value of an old property, for it may not now be

desirable to reproduce the old type of plant. Im-

proved machinery, and better methods of operation,

may have come into vogue, which would make it true

economy to relegate much of the physical structure

of an old plant to the scrap heap. Much must be left

to the sound discretion of the appraising body, the

tribunal appointed by law and informed by experi-

ence, for the discharge of these delicate and complex

duties. Its report must, of course, justify itself in

reason, upon review in the appellate courts.

Ben Avon Boro v. Ohio Valley Water Co., 260 Pa.

289 at 308-309, 103 A. 744 (1918).

The error which the Commonwealth Court and the

opinion in affirmance in Keystone fell into was the assump-

tion of a constitutionally mandated nexus between the

“fair value” standard and cost of reproduction figures. The

Al4 Appendix A

unsoundness of this assumption is manifested in the fact

that this Court denies that reproduction cost figures have

any probative value for real property tax assessment pur-

poses because of their hypothetical and speculative na-

ture. Buhl Foundation v. Bd. of Property Assessment,

407 Pa. 567, 180 A. 2d 900 (1962); U. S. Steel Corp. v.

Bd. of Assessment & Rev. of Taxes, 422 Pa. 463, 223 A. 2d

92 (1966). Reproduction cost figures are clearly admissi-

ble in PUC proceedings but we see nothing in the “fair

value” rule that requires, either as a statutory or constitu-

tional mandate, that they must be accepted in whole or in

part for valuation purposes. We, therefore, repudiate any

intimations in these decisions or in prior case law that has

the effect of suggesting a constitutional mandate requiring

the inclusion of reproduction cost figures in arriving at the

appropriate rate structure in public utility valuation cases.

To follow the Commonwealth Court and the opinion

in affirmance in Keystone down the path of attempting to

apply a constitutional taking analysis to valuations of prop-

erty by the PUC which do not go beyond original cost, is

unsound both in principal and as a matter of judicial

policy.

In the former respect, it commits the judicial branch

to a constitutionally grounded review of all rate requests

in which the PUC has on an item by item basis failed to

go beyond original cost valuation. In the case at bar,

PG&W sought to include a replacement cost figure in toto

in the rate base because of the fortuity that the property

in question was subject to taking for eminent domain pur-

poses. But if PG&W’s entitlement is constitutionally

founded, then it must be accorded revaluation at repro-

duction cost as to every item on its property concerning

which it requests revaluation since the maturing of its

constitutional rights cannot turn on the mere happen-

stance of a public taking. It is no answer to say that the

Appendix A Ald

PUC’s accounting rules do not permit such a result since

the accounting rules as creatures of statute cannot prevail

against a constitutionally grounded right.

In the latter respect, the opinions commit us without

either statutory or constitutional warrant to a slippery slope

of judicial intervention into rate making whose limit we

cannot now foresee. We can, call upon the experience of

the United States Supreme Court with respect to judicial

intervention in these matters as a guide. As Justice Stone

warned in his dissenting opinion in West v. Chesapeake &

Potomac Telephone Co., 295 U. S. 662, 689 (1935), “In

assuming the task of determining judicially the present

fair replacement value of the vast properties of public

utilities, courts have been projected into the most specula-

tive undertaking imposed upon them in the entire history

of English jurisprudence.” It is a task which this Court

refused to undertake in Ben Avon Boro, supra and the

wisdom of that judgment was ultimately recognized by

the United States Supreme Court in FPC v. Natural Gas

Pipeline Co., 315 U. S. 575, 586 (1942) (the Constitution

does not bind rate making bodies to the service of any

single formula or combination of formulas). Thus in

Natural Gas Pipeline that Court limited its scope of re-

view, “if the Commission’s order, as applied to the facts

before it and viewed in its entirety, produces no arbitrary

result, our inquiry is at an end.” Id.

A careful examination of the record in this case has

led us to the conclusion that in the items wherein the Com-

monwealth Court differed from the PUC upon the ques-

tions presented to it, there was merely the substitution of

the court’s judgment for that of the Commission, rather

than a determination that the order of the latter was un-

lawful.

Accordingly, we reverse the order of the Common-

wealth Court below, and reinstate the order of the Public

Utility Commission.

Al6 Appendix A

2. The Appeal at No. 278 January Term, 1978

As the preceding discussion has totally undercut the

legal foundation for the Commonwealth Court’s decision

in this case, we reverse that court’s order entered below.

Based on our analysis of the arguments presented to this

Court on the merits of the rate increase, we find that the

order of the PUC is supported in law and by sufficient

facts. Accordingly, we reinstate the order of the PUC

entered below.

The orders of the Commonwealth Court are reversed

and the orders of the Public Utility Commission are

reinstated.

Justice Manderino did not participate in the decision

of this case.

Mr. Justice Roberts joins the majority and filed a

concurring opinion.

Mr. Justice Larsen joins the majority and filed a con-

curring opinion.

Appendix A Al7

SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Mipp.e District

No. 35 May Term, 1978

PENNSYLVANIA PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION

v0.

PENNSYLVANIA GAS AND WATER COMPANY

CITY OF SCRANTON, et al

0.

PENNSYLVANIA GAS AND WATER COMPANY

APPEAL OF: PENNSYLVANIA PUBLIC UTILITY

COMMISSION

Judgment

On ConsmvERATION WHEREOF, it is now here ordered

and adjudged by this Court that the orders of the Com-

monwealth Court of Pennsylvania are reversed and the or-

ders of the Public Utility Commission are reinstated.

/s/ Mitprep E. WILLIAMSON

Deputy Prothonotary

Dated: February 1, 1980

Al18 Appendix A

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Mipp.e District

No. 35 May Term, 1978

PENNSYLVANIA PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION,

Appellant

v.

PENNSYLVANIA GAS AND WATER CCMPANY

(WATER DIVISION )

CITY OF SCRANTON ET AL.

v.

PENNSYLVANIA GAS AND WATER COMPANY

(WATER DIVISION)

Appeal from order of the Commonwealth Court of Penn-

sylvania, dated May 27, 1975, at Nos. 1092, 1122, &

1123 C. D. 1974, Reversing in part the order of the

Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission at R. I. D.

72, dated July 9, 1974.

Appendix A Al9

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

EASTERN DISTRICT

No. 278 January Term, 1978

PENNSYLVANIA PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION,

Appellant

v.

PENNSYLVANIA GAS AND WATER COMPANY

(WATER DIVISION )

OFFICE OF CONSUMER ADVOCATE and

PENNSYLVANIA ATTORNEY GENERAL,

Intervenors

Appeal from order of the Commonwealth Court of Penn-

sylvania, dated December 21, 1977, at No. 1523 C. D.

1976, Reversing the order of the Pennsylvania Public

Utility Commission at R. I. D. 209, dated August 4,

1976.

Concurring Opinion

Filed February 1, 1980

Roserts, J.

The PUC is statutorily and constitutionally obliged

to set “just and reasonable” rates and may, but is not re-

quired to, use cost of reproduction in the rate base. See

Keystone Water Co. v. Pennsylvania Public Utility Com-

mission, 477 Pa. 594, 615-26, 385 A. 2d 946, 957-63 (1978)

(Opinion of Roberts, J., in Support of Reversal, joined by

Eagen, C.J. & Nix, J.). I join the majority opinion which

is in accord with the views expressed in the Opinion in

Support of Reversal in Keystone Water, and I agree with

the majority that the orders of the Commonwealth Court

should be reversed and the orders of the PUC reinstated.

A20 Appendix A

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Mippe District AND Eastern Districr

No. 35 May Term, 1978

PENNSYLVANIA PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION,

Appellant

v.

PENNSYLVANIA GAS AND WATER COMPANY,

(WATER DIVISION),

Appellee

CITY OF SCRANTON, et al.

v.

PENNSYLVANIA GAS AND WATER COMPANY

(WATER DIVISION )

Appeal from Order of the Commonwealth Court of Penn-

sylvania, Dated May 27, 1975, at Nos. 1092, 1122,

1123 C. D. 1974, Reversing in Part of the Order of

the Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission at R. I. D.

72, Dated July 9, 1974.

No, 278 January Term, 1978

PENNSYLVANIA PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION,

Appellant

v.

PENNSYLVANIA GAS AND WATER COMPANY—

WATER DIVISION,

Appellee

Appendix A A2l

OFFICE OF CONSUMER ADVOCATE

and

PENNSYLVANIA ATTORNEY GENERAL,

Intervenors

Appeal from the Order of the Commonwealth Court Dated

December 21, 1977 at No. 1523 Commonwealth

Docket 1976 Reversing the Order of the Pennsyl-

vania Public Utility Commission at Rate Investigation

Docket No. 209, Dated August 4, 1976.

Concurring Opinion

' Filed February 1, 1980

Justice Ror LARSEN

I join in the majority opinion. Additionally, I would

add that under no circumstances can a “windfall” or gift

to a utility be included in a rate base.

A22 Appendix B

APPENDIX B.

[Letterhead of]

SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Mupp.e Districr

CARL RICE, ESQ. 434 Main Capitol Buildin

PROTHONOTARY rs O, Box 624

MILDRED E, WILLIAMSON Harrisburg, Penssyivenia 17108

Deruty PrornonoTany (717) 787-6181

February 24, 1981

Charles E. Thomas, Augustine A. Mazzei, Jr.,

Esquire Esquire

P. O. Box 999 420 Boulevard of the Allies

Harrisburg, Pa. 17108 Pittsburgh, Pa. 15219

Re: Pa. Gas & Water, etc. v. Pa. Public Utility Comm.,

etc. No. 35 May Term, 1978 (J. 237/79)

Dear Mr. Thomas & Mr. Massei:

This is to advise you that the Applications for Reargu-

ment on behalf of Pa. Gas and Water Company and

Equitable Gas Company have been denied.

Very truly yours,

/s/ Mutprep E, WittiaAMson

Deputy Prothonotary

MEW/sb

ce: D. Mark Thomas, Esquire

Patricia Armstrong, Esquire

West Publishing Company

Joseph J. Malatesta, Jr., Esquire

Appendix B A23

[Note: The Prothonotary has advised that the Applications

for Reargument were denied on February 18, 1981

and that the denial was endorsed by the court

below upon the cover of the application, but no

order was issued, }

A24 Appendix C

APPENDIX C.,

IN THE

COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

No. 1095 C, D, 1974

PENNSYLVANIA PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION

OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA,

Appellee

0.

PENNSYLVANIA GAS AND WATER COMPANY

(WATER DIVISION),

Appellant

No. 1122 C, D, 1974

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA,

PENNSYLVANIA PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION,

Appellee

0.

CITY OF SCRANTON,

Appellant

PENNSYLVANIA GAS & WATER CO.,

Intervening Appellee

CARBONDALE AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT,

Intervening Appellant

No. 1123 C. D. 1974

Appendix C A25

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA,

PENNSYLVANIA PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION,

Appellee

v.

COUNTY OF LACKAWANNA,

Appellant

PENNSYLVANIA GAS & WATER CO.,

Intervening Appellee

CARBONDALE AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT,

Intervening Appellant

BEFORE:

HonoraB_e JAMEs S. Bowman, President Judge

HonoraBe JAMEs C. CruMuisi, Jr., Judge

Honoras_e Harry A. KraMer, Judge

HonoraBLe Roy WILKINSON, JR., Judge

HonoraB_e GLENN E. MENCcER, Judge

HonoraB_e THeopore O. Rocers, Judge

HonoraB_e GENEVIEVE BLATT, Judge

Argued: February 3, 1975

Opinion

Opinion By JupGeE KRAMER Fitep: May 27, 1975

This opinion involves three appeals taken from a long-

form order, dated July 9, 1974, issued by the Pennsylvania

Public Utility Commission (PUC). The PUC order is

typical of the extensive, complicated, and technical ad-

judication usually involved in a public utility rate case.

A26 Appendix C

The pertinent procedural and factual aspects of the case,

together with the parties involved in this appeal, will be

described hereinafter.

The public utility involved is the Pennsylvania Gas

and Water Company (PG&W). It is a combination public

utility ' rendering both natural gas service and water serv-

ice. At the end of the test year, September 30, 1972, it

rendered public utility water service to 145,726 consuming

units, in a 165 square mile area, stretching from Forest

City in Susquehanna County on the north, to Glen Lyon

in Luzerne County 70 miles to the south. Its water service

area includes 60 municipalities, including Scranton and

Wilkes-Barre. Its service area is divided into two divisions,

viz., Spring Brook Division and Scranton Division, which,

for all practical purposes, are not interconnected. It sup-

plies water service from over 60 reservoirs and various

water wells situated in mountainous regions, and operates

for the most part on a gravity-flow basis, with a storage

capacity of over 21 billion gallons. PG&W transmits its

water through 1,600 miles of water mains.

This case had its beginning on January 30, 1973,

when PG&W filed various supplements to its tariffs under

which it proposed to increase its water rates so as to pro-

duce a total annual increase in revenue of $4,870,103, or

approximately a 50 percent increase over the then existing

rates, exclusive of the state tax adjustment surcharge.’ All

1. PG&W is a combination public utility in that it renders

natural gas service as well as water service. No issues have been

raised concerning the allocation of costs or expenses incurred in

this joint operation.

2. The following chart shows the pertinent detail on the vari-

ous supplements:

PG&W Tariff Water—Pa. P, U. C. No. 3 (Spring Brook Division)

Supp. No. 8—increase $1,299,949—collected from 4/12/73

Supp. No.9— ” $1,559,939—not collected

Appendix C A27

of the filed supplements were to become effective April

1, 1973, but they were subsequently and voluntarily post-

poned, to become effective April 12, 1973. The increased

rates were to affect all of its customers, except municipal-

ities and public fire-protection consuming units. Some of

the supplements, calculated to produce $2,213,683 of ad-

ditional revenue, were permitted to become effective April

12, 1973. The remainder of the supplements were sus-

pended by the PUC for the full statutory suspension

periods of nine months, to January 12, 1974. PG&W vol-

untraily extended the suspension period to March 15,

1974. On March 14, 1974, the PUC fixed the then effec-

tive rates of that date as temporary rates, until final order.

Twenty-three formal complaints were filed, all of

which were consolidated for the purposes of the hearings.

Three of the complaints were withdrawn or dismissed.

From a reading of the record we can state that in reality

only the City of Scranton and the County of Lackawanna

(hereinafter referred to as complainants) actively partici-

pated at the hearings. After 13 days of hearings (over

1,300 pages of testimony and 32 exhibits), the PUC issued

its long-form order from which came these appeals.

In its adjudication, the PUC found a fair value of

$102,000,000 and a fair rate of return of 7.35 percent, thus

providing income available for return in the amount of

$7,497,000. This return, together with the PUC’s findings

on operating expenses, depreciation, taxes, and other ad-

justments set forth in the adjudication, led the PUC to

2. (Cont'd. )

PG&W Tariff Water—Pa. P. U. C. No. 4 (Scranton Division)

Supp. No. 9—increase $ 913,734—collected from 4/12/73

Supp. No.10— ” $1,096,481—not collected

There was another supplement to Tariff Water—Pa. No. 5 which

in effect transferred service thereunder to Tariff Water—Pa. P. U. C.

No. 4 (Scranton Division)

A28 Appendix C

conclude that the allowable annual revenues were

$13,491,929, or $628,318 less than the total revenues

sought by PG&W in its filings of the various supplements

to its tariff mentioned above.

PG&W, the City of Scranton and the County of

Lackawanna filed separate appeals to this Court. PG&W

filed a petition to intervene in the appeals of the City and

the County which was granted by this Court, after which

all of the appeals were consolidated for disposition. On

September 11, 1974, the Carbondale Area School District

filed a petition to intervene, which was granted on that

same date. However, PG&W filed a motion to quash the

intervention by the school district as an appellant for the

reason that the school district had not filed a timely ap-

peal. Argument on the motion to quash was listed at the

consolidated argument. Preliminarily, we will dispose of

the motion to quash by stating that a party to an adminis-

trative proceeding with the right to appeal may not utilize

a petition to intervene to obviate the statutory time limit

on appeal, and this Court is powerless to extend the man-

datory statutory appeal provisions. See Pittsburgh v.

Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission and Duquesne

Light Company, 3 Pa. Commonwealth Ct. 546, 284 A. 2d

808 (1971) and Smith v. Pennsylvania Public Utility Com-

mission, 174 Pa. Superior Ct. 252, 101 A. 2d 435 (1953).

Therefore, we must grant the motion to quash.

Because these three appeals have been consolidated,

we will deal with each of the issues raised in the various

appeals under appropriate subtitles hereinafter.

Our scope of review is limited by statute. In section

1107 of the Public Utility Law (Act), Act of May 28,

1937, P. L. 1053, as amended, 66 P. S, § 1437, we find:

“The order of the commission shall not be vacated or

set aside, either in whole or in part, except for error

of law or lack of evidence to support the findings, de-

Appendix C A29

termination, or order of the commission, or violation

of constitutional rights.”

We have stated in a recent opinion that this section of the

statute means that the appellate courts cannot conceive an

independent judgment from the record, and substitute it

for the judgment of the PUC. We may not indulge in the

process of weighing evidence and resolving conflicts in

testimony. The PUC’s discretionary findings and conclu-

sions must be accepted unless they are totally without

support in the record, are based on error of law, or are

unconstitutional. See Lower Paxton Township v. Com-

monwealth of Pennsylvania, Public Utility Commission,

13 Pa. Commonwealth Ct. 135, 317 A. 2d 917 (1974) and

Johnstown-Pittsburgh Express, Inc. v. Public Utility Com-

mission, 5 Pa. Commonwealth Ct. 521, 291 A. 2d 545

(1972). With these guidelines in mind, we now turn to

the specific issues raised in these three appeals.

I. RATE BAsE ExcLusion

To understand the issue involved here, it is necessary

to set forth some pertinent facts. At some time prior to

1969 the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, acting through

its Department of Highways (now known as the Pennsyl-

vania Department of Transportation and hereinafter re-

ferred to as PennDOT), proposed to construct portions

of Interstate Route 81-E and Interstate Route 84 through

a portion of PG&W’s service area, rendering “useless” one

of PG&W’s reservoirs and the Roaring Brook watershed.

The proposed action directly affected approximately 13

square miles of watershed used to deliver water to PG&W’s

customers. The effect of PennDot’s construction would

have destroyed, for all practical purposes, the water sup-

ply then existing for the City of Scranton. As a result of

A30 Appendix C

years of negotiations between PennDOT and PG&W, on

October 21, 1969, they entered into an agreement setting

forth a compromise on the reimbursement by PennDOT

to PG&W for the expected damages to its water supply

system. Under this agreement PG&W was paid $2,754,-

753.56. The determination of the damages paid was

based upon what is known as a “cost-to-cure” method,

ie., the estimated cost to replace the company’s water

supply facilities rendered useless as a result of the pro-

posed highway construction. The agreement specifically

set forth that $1,703,103.56 represented the cost of the

construction of pipeline facilities and $1,051,650 for the

cost of construction of a new dam and reservoir to substi-

tute and replace the facilities taken by the proposed high-

way construction. The record indicates that PG&W

constructed 32,000 feet of 30-inch pipeline, and a 1.3 bil-

lion gallon capacity reservoir, and that these new facilities

created additional supply capacity over and above the

capacity of the facilities actually rendered useless by the

PennDOT construction. PG&W invested an additional

$243,202 in the pipeline construction, and $4,122,290 ad-

ditional funds for the new reservoir. In other words,

PG&W used all of the monies paid under the agreement

by PennDOT for new facilities, and as a result of the

entire transaction, spent substantial additional sums.

Based generally upon equitable principles, the PUC

termed the payment by PennDOT as a contribution or

“contributed property” and concluded that it would dis-

allow from the original cost measure of value $2,558,634,

which is the amount deemed to be the net figure, after

deducting PG&W’s unrecovered investment in plant re-

sulting from the transaction. The end results of this de-

duction from the rate base were (1) that PG&W was not

permitted to earn anything on the dollars of investment

in plant, used and useful in the public service, which the

Appendix C A31

PUC characterized as having been “contributed” by Penn-

DOT; and (2) the incomprehensible inclusion in the rate

base of $196,120, representing the unrecovered investment

in plant no longer in service. Annual depreciation allow-

ance was likewise affected.

PG&W, in its appeal to this Court, contends that the

PUC erred in excluding this investment in plant from both

the company’s original cost measure of value and the fair

value determination, and in ordering such part-payment

of PennDOT to be accounted for as contribution in aid of

construction for accounting and rate-making purposes.

This very same issue was presented to this Court in

Keystone Water Company, White Deer District v. Penn-

sylvania Public Utility Commission, 19 Pa. Commonwealth

Ct. 292, 339 A. 2d 873 (No. 633 C. D. 1974, filed May 27,

1975), the opinion for which is filed simultaneously here-

with. In Keystone the sole issue was whether the PUC

could exclude from the rate base monies paid by Penn-

DOT as damages for the taking of part of the property

of a public utility when the monies received were rein-

vested in plant used and useful in the public service. We

there held that it was error for the PUC to exclude such

plant from the rate base. Everything we said there is

equally applicable here, and there is no need to repeat

the principles upon which we based our holding. If there

is any distinction between Keystone and this case, it is that

this case is stronger since here PG&W was forced to secure

a new source of water supply and expend considerable

sums of money, in addition to the payment made by Penn-

DOT, to provide an equivalent or better source of supply

and facilities for service to its customers. Once again,

referring to the principles we set forth in Keystone, we

summarize our disposition of this issue by stating (1) that

the agreement between PennDOT and PG&W dated Oc-

tober 21, 1969, was legally the payment of damages for

A32 Appendix C

property taken by PennDOT, even though the determina-

tion of those damages was based upon a cost-to-cure basis;

(2) that the damages paid under that agreement and the

facilities built therewith are solely the property of the

stockholders of PG&W in which neither the public nor

PG&W’s customers have any property interest; (3) that

for rate case purposes the source of the funds utilized in

the construction or purchase of plant devoted to the public

service of a public utility is irrelevant, unless such monies

are purely donations, contributions in aid of construction,

or customers’ advances for construction (which the monies

herein question are not); (4) that plant used in the public

service by a public utility obtained and financed by dam-

age payments for property taken to permit highway con-

struction must be included in the rate base; (5) that

annual depreciation must be allowed on such plant; and

(6) that under the facts of this case and the facts of

Keystone and the provisions of the uniform system of

accounts for water utilities, the amount of money received

as damages by PG&W from PennDOT in excess of the

dollars representing the undepreciated property actually

taken should be accounted for by PG&W in account 401

entitled “Miscellaneous Credits to Surplus”. For a com-

plete understanding of our holding on this issue, the reader

is referred to our opinion in Keystone, supra. As a result

of our holdings, this matter must be remanded to the

PUC for a redetermination of the rate base so as to in-

clude the $2,558,634 in original cost and determine the

effect of its inclusion on any other measures of value

utilized by the PUC in determining fair value. In addi-

tion the PUC’s allowance for annual depreciation will

have to be increased accordingly.

At this point we should mention that the complainants

mistakenly contend, in an issue arising from the fair value

determination of the PUC, that somehow the PUC failed

Appendix C A33

to exclude this PennDOT payment from its determination

of fair value. Our careful reading of the PUC’s adjudica-

tion permits us to conclude that the PUC did exclude the

PennDOT payment from all measures of value, including

fair value.

II. Fark VALUE

PG&W presented evidence that its total net original

cost for both divisions amounted to $68,288,857. The PUC

accepted this evidence, with the exception of the so-called

“contributed property” mentioned above. On the basis of

the average of measures of value at depreciated original

cost, and trended original cost depreciated at five-year

average prices, PG&W contended that the fair value of its

plant should be $123,184,391 and, in addition, based upon

its claim for an increase in value based upon the current

inflation, it contended that a fair value of $130,000,000

would be more realistic. Complainants contended that

the maximum fair value should be $91,900,000, and their

contention was based upon a weighting of original cost

and trended original cost at five-year average prices, based

upon the capital structure ratios of PG&W. After discuss-

ing at great length the evidence produced and properly

noting that there was no set formula, to which it was

bound, the PUC set a fair value as of September 30, 1972,

at $102,000,000.

PG&W contends that the fair value set by the PUC is

so low as to constitute a manifest abuse of discretion. It

attempted to prove its point by referring back to a finding

of the PUC on the rate base in a prior case (in 1959) in-

volving PG&W, and then adding only the increase in

original cost (not fair value) to the finding of fair value

in the prior case. From this illustration, PG&W argues

that fair value could not be less than $105,000,000. The

problem with PG&W’s argument is that the Commission’s

responsibility is to determine fair value as of the end of

A34 Appendix C

the test period used in this rate case. What may have been

fair value at another time is not necessarily fair value 15

years later. If PG&W had intended to use this approach

to determine fair value, it should have undertaken the

burden of proving that there have been no changed factual

circumstances occurring subsequent to the prior finding

of fair value. This PG&W did not do. See Baltimore and

Ohio Railroad Company v. Pennsylvania Public Utility

Commission, 135 Pa. Superior Ct. 20, 24, 4 A. 2d 628, 630

(1938) and Cheltenham & Abington Sewerage Company

v. Public Service Commission, 122 Pa. Superior Ct. 252,

264-65, 186 A. 149, 156 (1936). There is evidence in the

record that costs, generally, rose materially since the test

year in the prior case, but all of those factors were taken

into account in the trending processes used by the PUC,

and all of the parties to this case, and, therefore, PG&W’s

contention in this regard is without merit.

PG&W next contends that the weight to be given

trended original cost in the finding of fair value by the

PUC was in error. On the subject of weighting, our courts

have said many times that there is no particular formula

which can be applied to determine fair value. In Duquesne

Light Company v. Pennsylvania Public Utility Commis-

sion, 176 Pa. Superior Ct. 568, 580-81, 107 A. 2d 745,

750-51 (1954), our Superior Court stated:

“Essentially, it would appear that the question in-

volved here is one of the weight to be given the

trended cost evidence. Such evidence is merely a

guide in the determination of fair value. It cannot

be seriously contended that even under the best of

conditions it is free from error, and the fact that it

does contain defects would not justify the Commis-

sion in rejecting it. So long as the evidence is reason-

ably accurate, the weight to be given it is a matter

for the Commission.”

Appendix C A35

In Pittsburgh v. Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission,

187 Pa. Superior Ct. 341, 350-51, 144 A. 2d 648, 654

(1958), the Court said:

“The apparent purpose of the requirement that the

commission exercise its judgment upon all the rele-

vant facts and not confine itself to any one particular

measure of value is to arrive at a rate base which is

fair to both the utility and to the customer. ... To be

fair to both the utility and the customer generally

requires that the commission reject as the predominant

measure of value any particular measure which would

be unreasonably advantageous to one at the expense

of the other of the component interests which the

commission is required to keep in balance in the

public interest.” (Citation omitted. )

PG&W argues that there is support in the law, and

from prior adjudications of the Commission, for the estab-

lishment of fair value at a point near the average of a

depreciated original cost and depreciated trended original

cost at five-year average prices. In Johnstown v. Penn-

sylvania Public Utility Commission, 184 Pa. Superior Ct.

56, 66, 133 A. 2d 246, 251 (1957), our Superior Court

observed that “. . . without approving any formula. . .

the commission has been inclined to establish a definite

finding of fair value, when one is made, at a point near

the average of original cost depreciated and a reproduc-

tion cost depreciated.” If the PUC had applied such a

formula to the statistics in this case, there is no question

but that fair value would have been set at something in

excess of $102,000,000. The fair value found by the

PUC ($102,000,000) is approximately 84 percent of the

amount determined by the averaging method which ap-

parently has been used by the PUC in at least 12 major

water utility rate adjudications since 1971. This is one

A36 Appendix C

of those areas in which our scope of review restrains us

from substituting our judgment for that of the PUC.

While our review of this record would lead us to believe

that the fair value found by the PUC is low when com-

pared with what it found as fair value in other cases, a

fair value which is approximately 150 percent of the net

original cost as found by the PUC, cannot be said to be an

abuse of discretion per se.

The complainants in their appeals raise additional

issues relating to fair value. They contend that (1) the

PUC failed to take into account labor productivity growth,

which they claim is applicable to each and any year of

construction; and (2) the PUC erred in not making suffi-

cient or adequate findings of fact from which they (com-

plainants) could determine the exact weight which the

Commission applied to the original cost figures and to the

trended original cost figures.

The PUC rejected the complainants’ contention on

productivity growth by observing that the trending statis-

tics used reflected to some extent increased productivity

by labor through the use of machines. The PUC also

questioned the credibility of complainants’ witness. Our

review of the record permits us to conclude that the PUC

did not abuse its discretion in its consideration of produc-

tivity growth.

With regard to the weight to be given to the various

factors utilized in arriving at a fair value, the law is quite

clear that there is no magical formula. Section 311 of the

Act, 66 P. S. § 1151, (Supp. 1974-1975), states in pertinent

part:

“The commission may, after reasonable notice

and hearing, ascertain and fix the fair value of the

whole or any part of the property of any public utility,

in so far as the same is material to the exercise of the

jurisdiction of the Commission. . . .”

Appendix C A37

The PUC is given some direction in section 1005 of the

Act, 66 P. S. § 1395, which provides:

“After the conclusion of the hearing, the com-

mission shall make and file its findings and order with

its opinion, if any. Its findings shall be in sufficient

detail to enable the court on appeal, to determine the

controverted question presented by the proceeding,

and whether proper weight was given to the evi-

dence... .” (Emphasis added. )

The fair value figure represents a judgment to be made by

the PUC within its discretion, and there is no magical

mathematical formula to which the PUC is bound in deter-

mining fair value. See Pittsburgh v. Pennsylvania Public

Utility Commission, supra; Equitable Gas Company v.

Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission, 160 Pa. Superior

Ct., 458, 51 A. 2d 497 (1947). The PUC must consider

all relevant elements and factors having a bearing on fair

value, including original costs and trended original cost.

Pittsburgh v. Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission,

supra; Equitable Gas Company v. Pennsylvania Public

Utility Commission, supra. In Pittsburgh v. Pennsylvania

Public Utility Commission, 171 Pa. Superior Ct. 187, 195,

90 A. 2d 607, 612 (1952), our Superior Court stated:

“The weight to be given any particular measure of

value, such as original cost or reproduction cost

[trended original cost], is for the Commission, but its

action must be within the area of its administrative

discretion and supported by the evidence.

Historically, and as approved by the Superior Court

when it had jurisdiction to review utility rate adjudica-

tions, the PUC set and approved determinations of fair

value at a point near the average of the original cost de-

A38 Appendix C

preciated and the trended original cost depreciated. See

Johnstown v. Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission,

supra; Pittsburgh v. Pennsylvania Public Utility Commis-

sion, 174 Pa. Superior Ct. 363, 366, 101 A. 2d 761, 763

(1954); Orlosky v. Pennsylvania Public Utility Commis-

sion, 171 Pa. Superior Ct. 409, 413, 89 A. 2d 903, 906

(1952).

In this case PG&W submitted as evidence the follow-

ing measures of value: (1) an original cost depreciated

measure of value of $68, 288, 857 as of September 30, 1972

(the end of the test period); (2) a trended original cost

depreciated measure of value at December 31, 1971 prices

of $205,513,456; (3) a three-year average trended original

cost depreciated measure of value of $186,789,909; (4) a

five-year average trended original cost depreciated meas-

ure of value of $178,079,925; and (5) « bringdown fair

value of $104,913,694. The complainants presented evi-

dence which, after deducting the approximately two and

a half million dollar payment by PennDOT mentioned

above from the net original cost figures, indicated (1) a

December 31, 1971 price level of $170,757,517; (2) a

three-year average price level (ending December 31,

1971) of $156,487,514; and (3) a five-year average price

level (ending December 31, 1971) of $150,127,913. Our

reading of the record permits us to summarize all of this

by stating that PG&W contended that the fair value could

not be less than $123,000,000 and, after giving effect to

inflation, $130,000,000, while the complainants argued that

the fair value could not be more than $91,900,000. In its

adjudication, the PUC outlined all of the evidence pre-

sented and concluded that, based upon all the credible

evidence, the fair value should be $102,000,000. Com-

plainants contend that the PUC is required to set forth

specifically the weight which it gave to the various valua-

tion factors.

Appendix C A39

The complainants state that the capital structure of

the company should be utilized in determining the weight

to be given the various elements considered in arriving at

fair value. They argue that since the preferred stock-

holders and investors in the debt of the company have

their return fixed by contract, only the common stock-

holders need to be considered in providing sufficient earn-

ings for the company. As a result, they applied 68.3 per-

cent (the percentage of the total capital structure

represented by debt, capital and preferred stock ) to the net

original cost valuation, and the remaining 31.7 percent to

the five-year trended original cost figure. Through this

method, the complainants arrived at a fair value of

$91,900,000. While the complainants’ argument has an

appealing ring to it, and may have been used in other

jurisdictions, the fact remains that this formula can lead to

questionable results. If the PUC would adopt such a for-

mula, what would it do with a public utility whose capital

structure was 100 percent equity? If the complainants’

contention is adopted, the fair value of the rate base of

such a company would be set by the higher trended origi-

nal cost figures. Furthermore, to be consistent, the PUC

would also have to hold that the most current spot prices

would have to be utilized rather than any five-year average

trended price so as to adequately protect the current

stockholders.

While we agree with the complainants that it would

be preferable for the PUC to show in detail in its adjudi-

cation the method it used in arriving at the fair value, we

believe, however, that there is sufficient detail in the

adjudication in this case to permit this Court to conclude

that the PUC did not abuse its discretion. There are no

magical formulae which we can apply to test the reason-

ableness of the fair value set by the PUC. From our read-

ing of the Act, we are certain only that the sole use of

A40 Appendix C

original cost statistics or the sole use of reproduction costs

statistics would violate the legislative intent. We have no

doubt that the Legislature intended an averaging process

somewhere between the two extremes, and, so long as the

fair value set by the PUC is not below or above those two

extremes, or arbitrarily set so close to either extreme that

we can discern a capricious disregard of the evidence or

the law, we will not interfere.

III. Farm Rate or RETURN

In arriving at 7.35 percent as the fair rate of return,

the PUC followed the usual method of determining the

actual capital structure of the company (equity, debt and

preferred stock), determining the cost for each element,

and then computing the weighted cost of each. In arriv-

ing at the fair rate of return, the Commission apparently

used the following statistics:

TABLE 1

Capital Cost Weighted

Item Structure Rate Cost

Debt 57% 5.9% 3.36%

Preferred Stock 11% 4.59% 50%

Common Equity 32% 10.90% 3.49%

Total 7.35%

A. Cost of Equity Capital

This element of the formula is the most speculative, for it

is intended to be the best estimate of what investors would

pay for a current issue of common stock of the public

utility involved. PG&W here claimed a cost of equity in

the amount of 11 percent and the complainants proposed

a range from 9.7 percent to 10 percent. In Lower Paxton

Appendix C A41

Township, supra, we stated that the cost of capital should

be based upon evidence of the company’s recent past

experience:

“The cost of equity determination usually gives con-

sideration to such matters as the demands for the use

of money, the growth in earnings expected by the

investor, earnings—price ratios, dividend yields, the

marketing cost associated with raising common equity

capital and the earnings of comparable companies

with similar risks.” 13 Pa. Commonwealth Ct. at

143-44, 317 A. 2d at 922.

We there noted, once again, that there is no magical

formula we can utilize to test the discretion of the PUC.

The PUC is required to determine the current cost for

common equity in determining fair rate of return, and

current earnings-price ratios are representative of such

costs. Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission v. Peoples

Natural Gas Company, 35 Pa. P. U. C. 61, 84-85 (1957).

The PUC considered earnings-price ratios in this case, as

well as other factors. We have read the record and con-

clude that there is evidence to support the Commission’s

use of 10.9 percent as the cost of equity capital.

B. Cost of Preferred Stock Capital

The PUC found 4.59 percent as the proper cost of

PG&W’s preferred stock capital for rate-making purposes.

This was the actual cost after giving effect to a bond re-

purchase discount (without the discount, the actual cost

was over 6 percent). It is interesting to note that the

record reveals that the expert rate-of-return witnesses for

both PG&W and the complainants adjusted this cost of

preferred stock capital to reflect the estimated cost of a

projected six-million dollar preferred stock issuance, which

increased the cost of preferred stock from 4.59 to 5.72 per-

A42 Appendix C

cent and 5.96 percent (this last percentage having been

recommended by the complainants’ witness). The PUC

did not give any recognition to the proposed increased

cost in their determination of the fair rate of return, in

spite of the fact that it stated in its adjudication that “. . .

this Commission has followed the policy of permitting, in

the allowed rate of return, the weighting of new capital

cost incurred following the end of test year, but known

before the termination of the rate proceedings.” While

this would appear to be a reversible inconsistency which

- lowered the fair rate of return, in reality it was harmless

error because of what the PUC did in its determination of

the cost of debt capital, as follows:

C. Cost of Debt Capital

The Commission found that the cost of debt capital

was 5.9 percent, after reflecting bond repurchase discounts.

The expert rate of return witnesses for both PG&W and the

complainants recommended an embedded cost of long-

term debt at 5.82 percent and 5.86 percent respectively.

While a first reading of the adjudication would seem to

indicate that the PUC allowed a higher cost of debt capital

than either of the experts recommended, still there is evi-

dence in the record which would indicate that the PUC

utilized the actual cost of the long-term debt as 5.97 per-

cent, and adjusted this figure for bond repurchase dis-

counts and arrived at a 5.9 percent judgment figure. While

we might question the PUC’s use of the 5.9 percent figure

in the face of the recommendations found in the expert

testimony, insofar as the cost of debt capital is concerned,

we do not deem this to be reversible error, in light of the

fact that the PUC ignored the increased cost of preferred

stock (as noted above) which these same expert witnesses

both estimated and took into account in their recom-

mended figures for preferred stock capital.

Appendix C A43

A public utility is entitled to an opportunity to earn a

fair rate of return. Riverton Consolidated Water Com-

pany v. Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission, 186 Pa.

Superior Ct. 1, 140 A. 2d 114 (1958); Pittsburgh v. Penn-

sylvania Public Utility Commission, 182 Pa. Superior Ct.

376, 126 A. 2d 777 (1956). Our appellate courts have

stated on many occasions that the following factors, if

shown by the evidence, may be considered in determining

fair rate of return: (1) the amount necessary to assure

confidence in the financial structure of the company and

maintain its credit standing; (2) the payment of dividends

and interest; (3) the amount of the investment, the size

and nature of the utility, its risks, and the circumstances

attending its origin, development and operation; and (4)

the financial structure, the credit standing, dividend, in-

terest, and attendant risks, regulatory lag and wasting

assets. See Riverton Consolidated Water Company, supra;

Pittsburgh v. Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission, 182

Pa. Superior Ct. 376, 126 A. 2d 777 (1956); and Wall v.

Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission, 182 Pa. Superior

Ct. 35, 125 A. 2d 630 (1956). Although cost of capital

and fair rate of return are not always synonymous, cost of

capital “is certainly one of the most important bases upon

which a fair rate of return is determined.” Lower Paxton

Township, supra. In Lower Paxton Township, we also

noted that “[b]ecause of these many variables, the cost of

capital is basically a matter of judgment governed by the

evidence presented and the regulatory agency’s expertise.”

13 Pa. Commonwealth Ct. at 141, 317 A. 2d at 921. The

PUC’s judgment must be accepted unless without support

in the record, based upon error of law or unconstitutional.

Lower Paxton Township, supra. Our review of this entire

complicated record permits us to conclude that there is

sufficient substantial evidence to support the PUC’s final

determination pertaining to fair rate of return.

A44 Appendix C

IV. CLAmmMED Loss DuriInG SUSPENSION

As is set forth at the beginning of this opinion, the

proposed rates filed by PG&W were postponed several

times, and by order dated March 14, 1974, the rates which

were then in effect were prescribed as temporary rates

pending the final determination of this matter. By virtue

of the Commission’s final adjudication, dated July 9, 1974,

there was disallowed $628,318 of the $2,656,420 originally

requested by PG&W and not collected under the tempo-

rary rates. In the final order PG&W was ordered to file

new supplements to its tariffs containing acceptable rates

to provide a total annual revenue of $13,491,929. These

new rates were to become effective from July 9, 1974, or

from within 30 days thereafter, at the election of PG&W.

It was also ordered that the public authorities and public

fire protection customers, which had not been included in

the proposed increase, were to be included with the same

overall percentage increase as all other customers, the

increase to be effective for these customers from August 1,

1974. The Commission further permitted the filing of

supplements to its tariff so as to permit a recoupment of

revenues from its customers under the allowable rates for

sales on and after March 15, 1974. PG&W argues that by

virtue of this order it is not permitted to earn the 7.35

percent fair rate of return on its property used and useful

in public service from January 30, 1973 (the date the

company filed its rate increase) to March 15, 1974. In

its brief, it calculated that loss to be $2,720,878, which it

characterizes as a total loss resulting from regulatory lag.

Section 308 of the Act, 66 P. S. § 1148, sets forth the

power of the PUC to suspend proposed rate increases.

Subsection (a) states that no public utility may make any

change in its rates except after 60 days’ notice. Sub-

section (b) states:

Appendix C A45

“(b) Whenever there is filed with the commission by

any public utility any tariff stating a new rate, the

commission may, either upon complaint or upon its

own motion, upon reasonable notice, enter upon a

hearing concerning the lawfulness of such rate, and

pending such hearing and the decision thereon, the

commission, upon filing with such tariff and deliver-

ing to the public utility affected thereby a statement

in writing of its reasons therefor, may, at any time

before it becomes effective, suspend the operation of

such rate for a period not longer than six months

from the time such rate would otherwise become

effective, and an additional period of not more than

three months pending such decision. The rate in

force when the tariff stating the new rate was filed

shall continue in force during the period of suspen-

sion, unless the commission shall establish a tempo-

rary rate as authorized in section three hundred ten

of this act. The commission shall consider the effect

of such suspension in finally determining and pre-

scribing the rates to be thereafter charged and col-

lected by such public utility.” (Footnote omitted. )

(Emphasis added. )

Under section 310 of the Act, 66 P. S. § 1150, we find pro-

visions whereby temporary rates fixed in accordance with

the above provision shall be sufficient to provide a return

of not less than 5 percent upon the original cost, less ac-

crued depreciation of the physical property. Section 310

concludes with the following language:

“(e) Temporary rates so fixed, determined, and pre-

scribed under this section shall be effective until the

final determination of the rate proceeding, unless

terminated sooner by the commission. In every pro-

ceeding in which temporary rates are fixed, deter-

A46 Appendix C

mined, and prescribed under this section, the com-

mission shall consider the effect of such rates in

fixing, determining, and prescribing rates to be there-

after demanded or received by such public utility on

final determination of the rate proceeding. If, upon

final disposition of the issues involved in such pro-

ceeding, the rates as finally determined, are in excess

of the rates prescribed in such temporary order, then

such public utility shall be permitted to amortize and

recover, by means of a temporary increase over and

above the rates finally determined, such sum as shall

represent the difference between the gross income

obtained from the rates prescribed in such temporary

order and the gross income which would have been

obtained under the rates finally determined if applied

during the period such temporary order was in effect.”

(Emphasis added. )

We agree with PG&W that the PUC has a duty to

make allowance for the loss suffered by a public utility

whose rate requests are suspended for the full statutory

period and later sustained by an adjudication. In City of

Pittsburgh v. Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission, 171

Pa. Superior Ct. 187, 217, 90 A. 2d 607, 621 (1952), the

Court stated that it is presumed that the Commission has

considered the effect of the suspension and, therefore, the

burden is upon the public utility to prove the contrary.

PG&W has not met this burden, and, further, under the

facts of this case, we cannot hold that the PUC acted in an

arbitrary or capricious manner. First of all, the PUC per-

mitted approximately one-half of the proposed rate in-

crease to take effect at the end of the 60-day period (plus

12 days during which the effective date was voluntarily

postponed). PG&W, therefore, collected half of the total

increase during the entire period from April 12, 1973.

Another fact which militates against PG&W’s contention

Appendix C A47

is that prior to the end of the nine-month suspension

period, PG&W voluntarily postponed the effective date to

March 15, 1974. On that date, the then effective rates

became temporary rates by order of the Commission dated

March 14, 1974. We have a difficult time understanding

the argument of PG&W that the PUC acted in an arbitrary

manner in suspending these rates to March 15, 1974, when

PG&W voluntarily permitted such suspension. In reach-

ing the conclusion that the PUC did not abuse its discre-

tion or commit an error of law in not permitting a recoup-

ment for the period prior to March 15, 1974, we want to

make clear that under our reading of the Act we believe

it would be an error of law for the Commission to ignore

or refuse to give consideration to the effect of any sus-

pension beyond 60 days from the date of filing. However,

when a public utility voluntarily permits a suspension of

rates beyond the statutory power of the PUC, the PUC

has permitted part of those rates to be collected during

the entire period, and the PUC permits a recoupment back

to the date on which it established temporary rates, no

error of law has been committed. Notwithstanding this,

we must point out that any failure by the PUC to rec-

ognize the effect of the suspension period not only creates

the possibility of the confiscation of the utility’s property,

but could create a situation whereby utilities would be

forced into filing rate increases on a monthly basis so as

to protect their stockholders. The thought of any such

happening (which is certainly conceivable in this day of

the computer printout) would be contrary to what we per-

ceive to be the legislative intent, i.e., reasonable regula-

tion so as to protect both the public and the public utility.

V. PG&W’s Ricut To APPEAL

The PUC contends that by virtue of the fact that

PG&W was disallowed only $628,318 out of a total re-

A48 Appendix C

quest of $4,870,103, it should be denied its right to appeal.

This argument is totally without merit, especially in view

of our discussion of the important issues raised by both

PG&W and the complainants in this case. The cases cited

by the PUC with respect to PG&W’s right to appeal are

totally inapposite.

VI. SUMMARY

In summary, we hold that the PUC committed an

error of law in excluding the $2,558,643 payment for dam-

ages by PennDOT to PG&W for property taken, whether

those damages were determined on the valuation of prop-

erty taken before and after the condemnation, or whether

determined by the “cost-to-cure” basis, where the money

received was invested in plant used and useful in the

public service. The PUC will be directed upon remand

to include the amount it excluded from both the net

original cost, valuation figures and any other trended

original cost statistics needed to arrive at a fair value

figure. Annual depreciation likewise will have to be ad-

justed to include an amount appropriate for the property

which this PennDOT money purchased. Our review of

this long record permits us to conclude that there is suf-

ficient substantial evidence to support all of the Commis-

sion’s findings on fair value with, of course, the exception

of the PennDOT payment problem mentioned above.

Likewise, there is sufficient substantial evidence to support

the final determination of the Commission on rate of re-

turn. While we recognize that the PUC must give con-

sideration to any losses incurred by the public utility dur-

ing any suspension period beyond the 60-day filing period

requirement, PG&W did not prove that the PUC did not

give such consideration, especially in the light of the fact

that the PUC suspended only part of the increased rates

filed.

Appendix C A49

In closing, we should take note that under the cost

of service accounting methods used by all utility regula-

tory bodies, any time a public utility realizes a rate in-

crease, government itself receives an increase in tax rev-

enues. This should not be overlooked. In this day when

all citizens are feeling the terrible pinch of spiraling infla-

tion, public utility bills seem to be increasing with each

receipt of a bill for the past month’s service. We believe

it to be of great importance to highlight the fact that gov-

ernment receives a windfall from public utility rate in-

creases through increased tax revenues. In this case, for

instance, as a result of the Commission’s adjudication,

PG&W was entitled to file supplements to its tariff so as

to permit it to recover annual operating revenues of

$13,491,929. Of that amount, over $2,800,000 or about 20

percent will be paid to the federal, state, and local govern-

ments. We have included here the $373,284 for the public

utility realty tax (part of which will be received by the

local municipalities in the service area of PG&W) and

$124,200 for capital stock tax, both of which are paid by

PG&W’s customers through the state tax adjustment sur-

charge. In reality PG&W is forced to become a tax col-

lector for government to recover what may be deemed to

be hidden taxes which the consumers do not realize they

are paying. In this case, of the approximately four and a

half million dollar rate increase, almost one million dollars

represents increased taxes which the consumers must pay.

Perhaps it is time to take another look at indirect taxation

through consumers of public utilities. While some may

advocate that there should be no taxes on public utilities,

we take no position. That is a legislative matter entirely.

Because of the tone of the dissenting opinion of one

of the PUC commissioners in this case, we feel constrained

to add a few additional words on the role of the PUC

Commissioners, their counsel and intervenors (or “con-

sumer advocates” ).

A50 Appendix C

As this opinion is written, this Court has before it

several cases where government attorneys, often charac-

terized as “consumer advocates”, are opposing public

utility rate increases. As we read the law, and as we have

stated in another case involving another regulatory agency,

any person who finds himself in a judicial or quasi-judicial

position with the responsibility of passing upon the rights

of fellow citizens, should be an advocate of nothing ex-

cept justice. Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company v.

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, 15 Pa. Commonwealth

Ct. 24, 42, 324 A. 2d 878, 886 (1974).

The duty of a PUC commissioner is to carry out the

legislative intent, a part of which is for the PUC to es-

tablish rates which are as equally fair, just and reasonable

as possible to the consumer, the public utility and the pub-

lic. Any partiality by a commissioner in any direction is

a violation of the law and reversible error. While the

courts grant wide latitude in the area of regulatory dis-

cretion, courts may not approve any unreasonable, arbi-

trary or capricious acts which result in an abuse of that

discretion. Counsel for the PUC has a duty to assist the

PUC in carrying out its duty to comply with the legisla-

tive intent. Obviously, where there is no one representing

the consumers in a given public utility rate case, what

may be deemed to be an additional responsibility falls

upon counsel for the PUC (and also the staff of the PUC)

to make certain that the interests of the consumers are

fully protected. Whether or not this can be categorized as

the position of “consumer advocate” is a matter of degree,

for even here, as we perceive counsel's duties, if counsel

goes beyond the bounds of the legislative intent, counsel

acts improperly. On appeal, counsel has a duty to rep-

resent the PUC and support its adjudication; counsel may

not take an independent position. See York v. Public

Utility Commission, 3 Pa. Commonwealth Ct. 270, 281

Appendix C A51

A. 2d 261 (1971), affd. 449 Pa. 136, 295 A. 2d 825 (1972)

and Liquor Control Board v. Kusic, 7 Pa. Commonwealth

Ct. 274, 299 A. 2d 53 (1972). There is a practical need

for a “consumer’s advocate” in these complicated cases,

and the statute permits such intervention. Whether “con-

sumer advocates” are specially authorized statewide (as

now appears to be an accomplished fact in this state), or

appear through specific intervention (as the solicitors for

the complainants did in this case), their sole duty obvi-

ously is to protect the interests of the consumers or the

public, and to highlight any errors made by either the

PUC or the public utility, within the framework of the

law. Even where “consumer advocates” intervene, coun-

sel for the PUC has the same duty to carry out the legis-

lative intent to equally protect the consumers, the public

utility, and the public. We hope that these additional

thoughts will clear the air on the various roles of the parties

involved.

Order

Anp Now, this 27th day cf May, 1975, based upon

the above opinion, the motion of Pennsylvania Gas and

Water Company to dismiss the petition to intervene filed

by the Carbondale Area School District is hereby granted;

and it is ordered that this entire matter be remanded to

the Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission for the pur-

pose of amending its adjudication dated July 9, 1974, so

as to amend its rate-based calculations, both for net origi-

nal cost and fair value, by including the appropriate

amount of money representing the payment by the Penn-

sylvania Department of Transportation to Pennsylvania

Gas and Water Company under the agreement dated Oc-

tober 21, 1969, to amend its findings with regard to annual

depreciation to be allowed on the said property involved

in the rate-base adjustment mentioned immediately here-

A52 Appendix C

inbefore, and to make any other cost of service adjustments

which may be necessary as a result thereof and not incon-

sistent with anything set forth in the above opinion; and

it is also ordered that Pennsylvania Gas and Water Com-

pany shall be permitted to file supplements to its various

tariffs affected hereby so as to recover the total amount of

revenue permitted by the Pennsylvania Public Utility

Commission under its adjudication dated July 9, 1974, as

adjusted by virtue of this order, so that increased rates may

be recovered from its customers from March 15, 1974 and

to permit the collection of increased rates from the public

authorities and public fire protection customers as ordered

in the Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission’s order of

July 9, 1974; and it is further ordered that, to the extent

the order of the Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission,

dated July 9, 1974, is inconsistent herewith, it is reversed;

and insofar as it is not inconsistent herewith, it is affirmed.

/s/ Harry A, KrRaMer

Harry A. Kramer, Judge

Judge Wilkinson concurs in the result only.

Appendix C A53

IN THE

COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

No. 1095 C, D. 1974

PENNSYLVANIA PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION

OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA,

Appellee

v,

PENNSYLVANIA GAS AND WATER COMPANY

(WATER DIVISION )

Appellant

No, 1122 C, D. 1974

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA,

PENNSYLVANIA PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION,

Appellee

v.

CITY OF SCRANTON,

Appellant

PENNSYLVANIA GAS & WATER CO.,

Intervening Appellee

CARBONDALE AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT,

Intervening Appellant

No, 1123 C, D. 1974

A54 Appendix C

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA,

PENNSYLVANIA PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION,

Appellee

v.

COUNTY OF LACKAWANNA

Appellant

PENNSYLVANIA GAS & WATER CO.,

Intervening Appellee

CARBONDALE AREA SCHOOL DISTRICT,

Intervening Appellant

BEFORE:

HonoraBe JAMEs S. Bowman, President Judge

HonoraB_e JAMEs C, CruMuisi, Jr., Judge

HonoraB_e Hanry A. KraMer, Judge

HoNnoRABLE Roy WILKINSON, JRr., Judge

HonoraB_eE GLENN E. MENCER, Judge

HonoraB_e THEopore O. Rocers, Judge

HonoraB_e GENEVIEVE BLATT, Judge

Arcuep: February 3, 1975

Dissenting Opinion

DissENTING OPINION By JupGE BLATT

Fitep: May 27, 1975

For the reasons set forth in my dissenting opinion in

Keystone Water Company, White Deer District v. Penn-

Appendix C A55

sylvania Public Utility Commission, 19 Pa. Commonwealth

Ct. 292, 339 A. 2d 873, (No. 633 C. D. 1974, filed May 27,

1975) I must respectfully dissent to that portion of the

. majority opinion which holds that the Public Utility Com-

mission improperly excluded from the rate base that

amount of the condemnation award paid by the Pennsyl-

vania Department of Transportation, to provide that a

functional substitute would be constructed to insure the

continued availability of a water supply to the affected

consumers of the Pennsylvania Gas and Water Company.

I believe that such exclusions are both constitutional and

just and reasonable under the laws of the Commonwealth.

/s/ GeNEvIEVE BLATT

Genevieve Blatt, Judge

A56 Appendix D

APPENDIX D.

PENNSYLVANIA PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION

RATE INVESTIGATION Docket No. 72,

Comp.Laint Docket No. 19850, ET AL.

R. I. D. 72—Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission

C. 19850 —City of Scranton

C. 19868 —County of Lackawanna

C. 19874 —Wilkes-Barre Township

C. 19891 —County of Luzerne

C. 19893 —Plains Township

C. 19894 —City of Wilkes-Barre

C. 19898 —Carbondale Area School District

C. 19904 —Ervin Hohensee and Gene Basalyga

C. 19911 —vValley View School District

C. 19912 —Borough of Olyphant

C. 19913 —Polish National Union of America

C. 19915 —Borough of Dickson City and Borough of

Throop

C. 19918 —Borough of Jermyn

C. 19920 —Borough of Blakely

C. 19921 —Borough of Moosic

C. 19922 —Borough of Jessup

C. 19924 —Borough of Dunmore

C. 19942 —Sandvik Steel, Inc.

C. 19954 —Borough of Archbald

C. 19970 —Jaunty Fabric Corporation

v.

Pennsylvania Gas and Water Company

(Water Division)

July 9, 1974

[EXCERPT]

Appendix D A57

Contributed Property

On October 21, 1969, the Commonwealth of Penn-

sylvania, acting through the Department of Highways

(now the Department of Transportation) and respondent

entered into an agreement which resulted in a payment of

$2,754,753.56 by the Commonwealth to respondent. The

payment was for construction of plant to replace the exist-

ing Dunmore No. 7 Reservoir and Nay Aug Well System,

located at the Dunmore No. 7 Reservoir, all within re-

spondent’s Roaring Brook watershed area.

The proper treatment of this payment, for public

utility accounting and rate making purposes, is one of the

principal issues in these proceedings. Respondent con-

tends it should be included in its claimed measures of

value. Complainants consider the payment as one in the

nature of a contribution in aid of construction and contend

it should be excluded from measures of value.

The full agreement has been made a part of this

record. The purpose of the agreement and other pertinent

facts are here quoted directly from the agreement, as

follows:

“Wuereas, Commonwealth proposes to undertake, by

contract, with Federal-aid participation, the construc-

tion and improvement of Sections 10, 12, 13 and 14

of Legislative Route 1002, as part of Interstate Route

81-E, and of Sections 1A, 1B, 1C, and 2 of Legis-

lative Route 1012, as part of Interstate Route 84,

within the Roaring Brook watershed area of Lacka-

wanna and Wayne Counties, Pennsylvania... , and

“Wuereas, Company owns and operates certain water

supply facilities which include a dam and reservoir,

known as Reservoir No. 7, within the said Roaring

Brook watershed area, the water supply for which

may be affected adversely by the aforesaid State

highway construction and improvement project, in

A58 Appendix D

that the turbidity and impurity of the water derived

from the springs and tributary streams of the affected

watershed area may be increased to the extent that

their use as a source of water supply for public con-

sumers would be impaired; and

“Wuereas, to best minimize and remedy the antic-

ipated adverse effect of the said construction and

improvement project on the turbidity and purity of

the water derived from the said watershed area, it

has been determined that the Company will have to:

“(A) Replace its said Dam and Reservoir No. 7

through the construction and operation of a

new dam and reservoir at Hollister, Covington

Township, Lackawanna County, Pennsylvania

“(B) Construct a thirty (30”) inch pipeline from the

Company's present Elmhurst Dam and Res-

ervoir, in Roaring Brook Township, Lacka-

wanna County, Pennsylvania, for a distance of

approximately thirty-two thousand (32,000)

feet to a certain point beyond the said Dam

and Reservoir No. 7, as generally shown on

Exhibit “S”, so that the effluent from Com-

pany’s said Elmhurst Dam and Reservoir will

be protected from increased turbidity and im-

purity anticipated to result from the con-

struction and maintenance of the proposed

State highway construction and improvement

project;”

The agreement further states:

“Wuereas, in order to facilitate and expedite the

commencement of the proposed State highway con-

struction and improvement project, Commonwealth

is willing to...:

Appendix D A59

“(C) under certain conditions, hereinafter set forth,

assist the Company financially in making pro-

visions for adequate protection of its water

supply system by contributing the sum of Two

Million Seven Hundred Fifty-four Thousand

Seven Hundred Fifty-three and 56/100

($2,754,753.56) Dollars toward the Construc-

tion of the New Dam and Reservoir and the

thirty (30”) inch pipe line.” (Emphasis

added )

The agreement also sets forth that the total payment

of $2,754,753.56 is comprised of $1,703,103.56, the total

agreed upon contribution toward the cost of construction

of the pipeline facilities, and $1,051,650.00, the total

agreed upon contribution toward the cost of construction

of the new dam and reservoir as a substitute and replace-

ment facility for the existing dam and Reservoir No. 7.

From the record, it was the purpose and intent of the

parties to the agreement to anticipate any potentially ad-

verse effects from the proposed highway construction and

to preclude or forestall them. Accordingly, the agreement

was concluded before the c: amencement of the highway

construction; and, before highway construction began,

new facilities were constructed, per the agreement, to re-

place the former facilities. This was done before there

were any adverse effects on the turbidity and purity of the

water. As a result of the corrective measures taken in

anticipation of the highway construction, service defi-

ciencies were precluded. The Roaring Brook water supply

was at all times fully available for use, without significant

adverse effects, before, during and after the highway con-

struction. Respondent showed no loss of revenues nor

any other adverse effects as a result of the highway

construction.

A60 Appendix D

Respondent accepted the agreement costs of

$1,703,103.56 for the 30-inch pipeline and $1,051,650.00

for the replacement of capacity of the replaced reservoir.

We find that it was unnecessary for respondent to have

expended any of its own funds for the adjustment of facili-

ties to assure a continued potable water supply source.

Any excess of funds expended in this transaction by re-

spondent over the agreement payment apparently was for

the additional capacity of water impounded by the Hollis-

ter Dam and Reservoir which respondent chose to build

instead of a reservoir with the same capacity as Dunmore

No. 7.

It is contended by respondent that the aforesaid

agreement payment was not a donation or contribution,

but on the contrary, was compensation for damages, and

therefore, should not be credited to Account No. 265,

ConTrRIBUTIONS IN Arp oF CONSTRUCTION, but instead

should be credited to the earned surplus account with con-

current charges to the fixed capital and depreciation re-

serve accounts for the retirement of the property replaced.

Respondent further contends that it should be permitted

to earn a return on all of the property financed by the

$2,754,753.56 payment received from the Commonwealth.

At present, the agreement payment is reflected by re-

spondent in Account No. 242, Other Deferred Credits.

Complainants contend that respondent has unduly

complicated the issue and that the language of the agree-

ment is clear wherein the agreement provides that the

Commonwealth:

“is willing to . . . assist the company financially in

making provisions for adequate protection of its water

supply system by contributing $2,754,753.56 toward

the construction of the New Dam and Reservoir and

the thirty (30”) inch pipeline.”

Appendix D A61

Complainants contend that respondent has accepted a

contribution from the Commonwealth to build certain

specific plant; and since such capital was not supplied by

the investors, the payment should be excluded from rate

base after allowance for the unrecovered portion of origi-

nal cost of the facilities that were replaced as a result of

the agreement. By this treatment, for public utility ac-

counting and rate making purposes, neither the respondent

nor the rate payers will have suffered any adverse effects

as a result of the highway construction and the agreement

related thereto.

It should be noted that respondent’s valuation engi-

neer in his studies of this project labeled the Dunmore

No. 7 Reservoir and Nay Aug Well System as plant held

for future use. This classification, rather than a retire-

ment of plant, was made when he transferred this plant

from used and useful property as a result of the replace-

ment by facilities paid for by the Commonwealth con-

tribution. This Commission’s order of December 1, 1969,

relating to the approval of the aforesaid agreement at

A. 95621, stated that the damage to the watershed, while

not permanent, may be over 15 years duration. The rec-

ord indicates that the replaced facilities have not been

physically removed. This is an indication that respondent

may in the future reinstate these properties to a used and

useful status to the benefit of the stockholders.

A prime purpose and intention of the parties to the

October 21, 1969 agreement was to anticipate and elimi-

nate, preclude or neutralize any potentially adverse ef-

fects of highway construction on the public utility service

being furnished by respondent. This was accomplished.

Because of the construction of the pipeline facility and

the new dam and reservoir neither respondent’s ability to

serve nor respondent’s potable water supply was adversely

effected by the highway construction, and respondent's fi-

A62 Appendix D

nancial standing was in no way impaired thereby. As a

result of the entire transaction, respondent was left with

equivalent or better facilities than it had had prior thereto,

at no cost to respondent's stockholders. The problem is

how this $2,754,753.56 shall be treated for public utility

accounting and rate making purposes under the aforesaid

facts and circumstances.

For public utility accounting and rate making pur-

poses we must reject respondent's contention. Property,

which is used or useful in rendering a public utility service

and which has been a part of a public utility’s rate base

is dedicated to a public use, and is impressed with a public

trust. It (or the proceeds or accruals therefrom) is sub-

ject to regulation by the properly designated regulatory

body and remains subject to that regulation until such

time as that regulatory body duly finds it in the public

interest to approve its release from public service. Such

property must be regulated in the interest of the public

no less than in the interest of the utility. Equities must

be balanced and justice must be done to all concerned.

Accordingly, when a utility suffers extraordinary losses in

service value of utility property abandoned or otherwise

retired from service, or suffers unforeseen damages to

property which damages could not reasonably be antici-

pated, and where the utility has not otherwise recovered

its investment, this Commission can and, where equities

require, does permit the utility to recover from the rate-

payers, as a proper and necessary expense of rendering the

public service, the necessary amount to make the utility

whole. On the other hand, where, as here, the utility re-

covers an amount or sum as a result of compensation for

particular property and the potential consequential injury

to the service of the ratepayers for whom that property

was dedicated to the public use, the Commission, where

the equities dictate, may require that amount received by

Appendix D A63

the utility to be treated, for public utility accounting and

rate making purposes, in such manner as will place the

utility and the ratepayers in the same position, insofar as

reasonably possible, as they were before the extraordinary

event or transaction which gave rise to the sum or amount

in question. :

For rate making purposes, we cannot permit respond-

ent to receive all the salutary effects of the agreement and

pass them on to the stockholders as a windfall while pass-

ing on to the ratepayers only the increased rates that would

become necessary had there been no agreement and con-

tribution. Clearly, the payment in question resulted and

stemmed from consideration of the property’s dedication

to public use as a water utility, and recognition of the po-

tential injury to the interests and service of the water utility

customers. In situations and circumstances such as this,

the customers of a utility are in the nature of third party

beneficiaries whose interest in the utility service must be

protected. The essence of public utility regulation is the

protection of the public and the assurance of adequate

service to them at reasonable rates on the one hand, and,

on the other, a fair opportunity to the utility to secure a

reasonable rate and no windfall from such services. To

reflect equitably and meaningfully the near restoration of,

or equitable substitution for, the pre-agreement status quo,

both the utility and its customers must be made whole

insofar as reasonably possible. This we shall do. As a re-

sult of our treatment of the highway transaction, the

customer's rates remain unchanged by the highway trans-

action and respondent's financial status and stability and

its ability to serve also remain unchanged.

It should be further noted that this Commission, as

a matter of longstanding policy, has consistently deducted

recorded contributions in aid of construction and cus-

tomer’s advances for construction from all measures of

A64 Appendix D

value in determining rate base; and respondent, in these

proceedings and heretofore, has eliminated these items

as recorded on its books from the claimed measures of

value. Similarly, the Commonwealth's payment at issue

herein must be deducted from all measures of value at a

net amount after giving consideration to respondent's un-

recovered balance of the plant replaced. We find this rea-

sonable and necessary, inter alia, for the following reasons:

(1) the stockholders would otherwise benefit unjustly and

unnecessarily at the expense of the customers, (2) the

funds were not provided by respondent and respondent is

not injured, (3) governmental funds were used, indicat-

ing a compound of payments by the customers, (4) re-

spondent has not suffered any loss of income through

interruption of service by reason of the replacement facili-

ties, (5) it was unnecessary for respondent to develop any

new source of supply, (6) respondent has the option to

maintain the Dunmore No. 7 Reservoir in a future use cate-

gory for future storage upon the Roaring Brook open chan-

nel when the watershed becomes stable.

We shall order the Commonwealth's payment herein

to be treated for accounting and ratemaking purposes as

a contribution in aid of construction to reflect equitably

the interests of the public as well as the interests of

respondent.

Based on all of the foregoing, we will disallow from

the original cost measure of value $2,558,634 which repre-

sents the net of the Commonwealth payment of $2,754,754,

less respondent's unrecovered investment in the plant

replaced at Dunmore No. 7 Reservoir and Nay Aug Well

System of $196,120. In addition, we will give considera-

tion for rate making purposes to the unrecovered invest-

ment in our determination of fair value.

Appendix D A65

Ir Is OnDERED:

1, That the complaints listed in the caption of this

Order be and are hereby sustained to the extent indi-

cated by the disallowance of $628,318 of the proposed

rate increase.

2. That forthwith respondent file, effective for service

rendered on and after the date of this Order or within 30

days thereafter, as respondent may elect, tariffs or tariff

supplements containing acceptable rates to provide total

annual revenues of $13,491,929 (Spring Brook Division

$7,917,989 and Scranton Division $5,573,940, both exclu-

sive of revenues from the State Tax Adjustment Surcharge )

as computed herein at the level of operations at September

30, 1972.

3. That detailed calculations be filed with said tariffs

or tariff supplements demonstrating that the rates do in

fact comply with the requirements set forth in this order.

4. That the new tariffs or tariff supplements give ef-

fect to the comments in this order that the Public Authori-

ties and Public Fire Protection customers shall be

increased the same percent overall as all other customers.

The increase to the Municipal Customers and for Public

Fire Protection customers will be effective August 1, 1974.

Furthermore, as outlined in this order under contributed

property, respondent will correct its accounting entry which

credited Other Deferred Credits in the amount of

$2,754,754 and will, instead, credit Contributions in Aid

of Construction in an amount of $2,558,634 the net pro-

ceeds contributed plant in order to properly reflect pay-

ment by Pennsylvania Department of Highways (now

Pennsylvania Department of Transporation) to Pennsyl-

vania Gas and Water Company for a reservoir and trans-

mission line.

A66 Appendix D

5. That with the filing of said tariffs or tariff supple-

ments respondent may, if it so elects, also file a detailed

plan of recoupment of revenues from the application of

the allowable rates for water sales rendered on and after

March 15, 1974, (as per our temporary rate order) to the

date the increased rates approved herein are applied. If

respondent elects full or partial recoupment, it may apply

the rates filed in compliance with this order to billings

rendered after the date of this order or within 30 days

thereafter. However, in no case, can these billings be

applied to service prior to March 15, 1974.

6. That the surcharge authorized by our State Tax

Adjustment Surcharge order of March 10, 1970, be re-

computed and revised in accordance with Section B, para-

graph 2, of that order.

7. That upon filing the tariffs or tariff supplements,

our investigation and inquiry at R. I. D. No. 72 be and

is hereby terminated and the record marked closed.

PENNSYLVANIA Pusuic UTILITY

CoMMISSION

(signed) George I. Bloom

Chairman

ATTEST:

Secretary

Commissioner Carter reserved decision.

Orpver Apoptep: JuLy 9, 1974.

Orpver ENTERED: JuLy 16, 1974

Appendix E A67

APPENDIX E.

IN THE

COMMONWEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

No. 633 C. D, 1974

KEYSTONE WATER COMPANY,

WHITE DEER DISTRICT,

Appellant

v.

PENNSYLVANIA PUBLIC UTILITY

COMMISSION,

Appellee

BEFORE:

HonoRABLE JAMES S. BowMan, President Judge

HonoRABLE JAMEs C. CruM.isu, JR., Judge

HonoraB_e Harry A. KraMer, Judge

HonoraBLE Roy WILKINSON, JR., Judge

HoNnoRABLE GLENN E. MENCER, Judge

HonoraB_eE THEOvORE O. Rocers, Judge

HonorABLE GENEVIEVE BLATT, Judge

Argued: January 7, 1975

Opinion

Opinion BY JUDGE KRAMER Fitep: May 27, 1975

This is an appeal filed by Keystone Water Company—

White Deer District (formerly and during the entire rec-

ord inade herein known us White Deer Mountain Water

A68 Appendix E

Company, hereinafter referred to as Keystone) from an

order of the Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission

(PUC), dated April 17, 1974, setting forth findings of fact

and conclusions of law concerning a proposed rate in-

crease by Keystone. The Commission’s order contains

complicated facts, statistics, and data such as are normally

involved in a public utility rate case.

This case had its genesis on April 29, 1969, when

Keystone filed an amendment to its tariff providing for

increases in all metered water rates, except public fire

protection. After hearings the PUC issued its long-form

order, dated September 28, 1971, which order was ap-

pealed by Keystone to this Court at Nos. 934 and 941

C. D. 1971, apparently because the PUC had excluded

from its findings of fair value the cost of a new filtration

plant (the same issue which is the subject of the instant

appeal). Upon request of the PUC, the case was re-

manded for the purpose of taking further evidence. At

the subsequent hearing it was agreed among all the par-

ties that the record should have incorporated into it the

entire record made in the prior proceedings. As a result

of these developments, on August 31, 1972, Keystone filed

a further supplement to its tariff proposing certain changes

under which it proposed to increase its annual operating

revenues by $415,477, approximately a 48 percent in-

crease, based upon the level of its operations for the test

year ending April 30, 1972. The PUC suspended the

effective date of the proposed changes to August 22, 1973,

after which time Keystone collected under the proposed

rates as temporary rates subject to refund. Because of

the very narrow issue presented by this case, we need not

go into all the details of the PUC’s adjudication except to

note that the final order permits a total annual increase in

revenues of $365,450 from Keystone’s 7,400 customers in

Union and Northumberland counties.

Appendix E A69

To understand the narrow issue involved in this case,

it is necessary to describe Keystone’s operation. For al-

most 75 years, one of the three sources of water for Key-

stone was the White Deer Creek watershed (watershed ).

The area of the watershed above Keystone’s intake point

is approximately 37 square miles. The watershed was

almost entirely forest land and Keystone owned about

1,300 acres in fee. Approximately 10 percent of the water-

shed is owned by the Commonwealth and is maintained

as state forest land. For the remaining 90 percent, Key-

stone holds deeds granting water rights dating back to

about 1902, wherein it is stated that Keystone has the

complete control and use of all the waters and even the

right to enter upon the lands at all times for the purpose

of maintaining its supply of water. This water was so

pure that it required no treatment other than the minimal

chlorination required by the Department of Health for all

public water companies. In 1959 Keystone became aware

that the Commonwealth proposed to construct Interstate

Highway I-80 through the valley of the White Deer Creek.’

Keystone advised the Pennsylvania Department of Trans-

portation (PennDOT) of the danger to its water supply

but was unsuccessful in attempting to have I-80 rerouted

so as not to touch the watershed. As a result of long, in-

volved negotiations with PennDOT concerning Keystone’s

condemnation rights, an understanding was reached and

reduced to a written agreement dated July 18, 1966. It is

well to note at this point that the PUC was not in any way

involved in these negotiations.

The July 18, 1966 agreement includes the following

provisions:

1. We know from prior cases that if a private individual had

intended to pollute a watershed such as this, the Commonwealth

of Pennsylvania probably would have enjoined him.

A70 Appendix E

“Wuenreas, the construction and improvement of

Sections 74, 75 and 76 of said State highway will re-

quire the taking by Commonwealth for highway pur-

poses of approximately one hundred thirty (130)

acres of the said lands belonging to the Company and

will seriously impair the water rights over the balance

of the Company's land in said watershed area required

for the protection of the waters of White Deer Creek;

and,

“WueEreas, it has been agreed between Common-

wealth and the Company that the just compensation,

to which Company is entitled by reason of said taking

of its land, the impairment of its water rights as afore-

said and the cost to insure the continuance of the

supply of potable water to the said communities which

Company serves, is one million three hundred thou-

sand ($1,300,000.00) dollars, which is to be made pay-

able in accordance with the terms and conditions

hereinafter set forth in this agreement.” (Emphasis

added. )

The ‘agreement sets forth that the Commonwealth

would acquire by deed 130 acres of land owned by

Keystone.”

Our review of this agreement permits us to conclude

that PennDOT was negotiating a settlement under con-

demnation principles. In the agreement Keystone agreed

2. The record contains a PennDOT memorandum, concerning

items to be covered in the agreement, which contains the following

paragraph:

“6. The damages are to be $1,300,000, which include, cost to

cure on the stream, and the taking of approximately 130 acres

of the Water Company land.

Note: The District Office appraisal on the land damages is

$3,900.”

Appendix E A71

“at its own cost and expense” to commence the prepara-

tion of plans and designs for construction of necessary

filtration facilities to insure the continued purity of the

water in White Deer Creek. The filtration plant was to

be constructed within about 15 months. The Common-

wealth of Pennsylvania was to pay Keystone the

$1,300,000, immediately upon receipt of the executed deed

for the 130 acres of land and notice that Keystone had

awarded a contract for the construction of the filtration

facilities. PennDOT agreed that it would not commence

construction of the highway, so as to affect the watershed,

until the filtration plant was in operation. After settle-

ment, which was made March 30, 1967, the company

signed a “Receipt and Acquittance” in which it acknowl-

edged receipt of the money “for the taking” of the land,

“for the impairment of its water rights within the water-

shed area”, and “for insuring the continuance of the supply

of potable water to the communities served by it.”

The new filtration plant went into service in the spring

of 1968, and its final construction cost was $1,100,000.

The record indicates that there were additional costs, but

these were not specifically stated. In any event, both the

PUC and Keystone agree in their argument that $1,300,000

was utilized by Keystone for this purpose and so we will

accept that figure. The record also shows that the annual

operating expense of this plant amounts to approximately

$50,000 a year. There was no provision in the agreement

between Keystone and PennDOT concerning the operat-

ing expenses.

This bit of background is necessary for the reason

that in the rate case adjudication (both September 28,

1971 and April 17, 1974) the PUC excluded $1,292,347

from the fair original cost and fair value of Keystone’s

plant which amount represents the $1,300,000 less the

PUC’s allowance of $2,609 representing its finding of the

A72 Appendix E

value of the 130 acres taken, plus $5,044 of other expenses.

In other words, the PUC removed $1,292,347 from the

rate base of Keystone for ratemaking purposes. We note

that although the PUC, in its adjudication, states that it

removed this amount from the fair value, technically that

is not correct. They, in effect, removed it from original

cost, which is only one of several criteria utilized for de-

termining fair value. As a result of this adjustment, the

PUC also disallowed approximately $12,000 a year in an-

nual depreciation based upon the original cost of the

filtration plant in question.

The Commission’s reasoning was that, based upon

equitable principles, it could not “permit . . . [Keystone]

to receive all of the salutary effects of the land condem-

nation and pass them on to the stockholders while pass-

ing on all of the deleterious effects of the condemnation to

the rate-payers.” The PUC garnered from the terms of

the agreement of July 18, 1966 an intent on the part of

PennDOT to benefit the consumers of Keystone. The

PUC stated:

“Indeed, it is obvious from the terms of the agree-

ment... that the major consideration was the need

to insure the potability of . . . [Keystone’s] White

Deer Creek source of supply.”

It concluded that with the exception of the minimal

amount of dollars represented by the value of the land

(which is non-depreciable for accounting or rate-making

purposes) and minimal expenses, the balance of the

$1,300,000 was for “consequential damages to the rate-

payer's service”. While counsel for the PUC makes an

appealing argument that the rate payers are asked to pay

twice for this property, once through the condemnation

settlement and once through rates, upon complete analysis,

Appendix E A73

the argument cannot be supported legally and, therefore,

we believe the order of the PUC must be reversed.

We have stated many times that this Court’s scope of

review is limited both by statute and prior case law. Sec-

tion 1107 of the Public Utility Law (Act), Act of May 28,

1937, P. L. 1053, as amended, 66 P. S. § 1437, provides in

pertinent part:

“The order of the commission shall not be vacated or

set aside, either in whole or in part, except for error

of law or lack of evidence to support the finding, de-

termination, or order of the commission, or violation

of constitutional rights. . . .”

See Lower Paxton Township v. Pennsylvania Public Utility

Commission, 13 Pa. Commonwealth Ct. 135, 317 A. 2d

917 (1974); Pennsylvania Power & Light Co. v. Pennsyl-

vania Public Utility Commission, 10 Pa. Commonwealth

Ct. 328, 311 A. 2d 151 (1973) and Philadelphia Suburban

Transportation Company v. Public Utility Commission, 3

Pa. Commonwealth Ct. 184, 281 A. 2d 179 (1971).

The basic and narrow issue confronting us is whether

the dollars representing the investment in the new infiltra-

tion plant should be included in Keystone’s rate base for

rate-making purposes. We hold that it should be included.

We should immediately emphasize that this is not a

condemnation case such as was involved in Pennsylvania

Gas & Water Company v. Pennsylvania Turnpike Com-

mission, 428 Pa. 74, 236 A. 2d 112 (1967). That case,

however, is noteworthy and has been cited by both parties,

because our Supreme Court held that due to “somewhat

unique circumstances” a departure from the traditional

test of utilizing fair market value before and after the

taking by government would be permitted, in which event

the “replacement value or repair test” could be used as a

measure of damages. In that case, the government con-

AT74 Appendix E

demned a portion of property which had been held for

many years in reserve for the use of a water reservoir. The

portion which was taken was that portion where the dam

had been planned to be built. In effect, the majority of

our Supreme Court permitted a recovery of damages based

upon construction costs to build the reservoir as it was

intended prior to the taking. The instant case is a rate

case, and not a condemnation case.

Sections 301-313 of the Act, 66 P. S. §§ 1141-1153,

give directions to the PUC to be used in the establishment

of just and reasonable rates, but none of these sections

specifically states what is to be included within the term

“fair value”. We are guided, however, by the pronounce-

ments of our Supreme Court in Scranton v. Scranton

Steam Heat Company, 405 Pa. 397, 176 A. 2d 86 (1961),

the facts of which are analogous to this case. There the

Scranton Steam Heat Company had purchased the steam

heat service facilities of a combination electric and steam

utility for $250,000. Although the facilities purchased

had an original cost of $2,200.00, they had a much greater

reproduction cost. The PUC in that case rejected both

the original cost and reproduction cost statistics presented

and fixed its fair value on the acquisition cost alone. Our

Supreme Court, in sustaining the Superior Court’s reversal

of the PUC, stated:

“Acquisition cost is not and never has been in Penn-

sylvania the criterion of ‘fair value’ or a substitute for

either or both the factors of original cost of construc-

tion or reproduction cost...” (Citations omitted. )

405 Pa. At 402-403, 176 A. 2d at 89.

The Scranton Court also stated:

“More than half a century ago it was held that

‘the basis of all calculations as to the reasonableness

of rates to be charged . . . must be the the fair value of

Appendix E A75

the property being used by it for the convenience of

the public. . . . What the company is entitled to

ask is a fair return upon the value of that which it

employs for the public convenience’. . . .” (Cita-

tions omitted.) 405 Pa. at 401, 176 A. 2d at 88.

The Court then went on and noted that fair value for rate-

making purposes has a connotation peculiar to rate pro-

ceedings, and that there is no precise formula by which

the Commission is bound in fixing the rate base. The

question before us in this case, however, is not whether

the value allowed for rate-making purposes by the PUC

was one of several possible valuations, but rather, whether

the PUC’s action in entirely eliminating this piece of

property from the rate base was proper.

At the very root of this issue there are certain funda-

mental constitutional rights involved. Both the Fifth and

Fourteenth Amendments to the United States Constitution

and Article I, sections 9 and 10 of the Pennsylvania Con-

stitution of 1968 provide that no person may be deprived

of his property without due process of law and that private

property may not be taken or applied to the public use

without just compensation. These principles are as old

as the Magna Charta. Our Pennsylvania Supreme Court

has affirmed these principles at every opportunity. Andress

v. Zoning Board of Adjustment, 410 Pa. 77, 188 A. 2d 709

(1963); Lord Appeal, 368 Pa. 121, 81 A. 2d 533 (1951);

and White’s Appeal, 287 Pa. 259, 134 A. 409 (1926). In

applying these constitutional principles to public utility

regulation, the appellate courts of this Commonwealth

have stated over and over again that the rates set by the

Commission must not be confiscatory. It has been held

that confiscation results when the order of the Commission

refuses the utility company an opportunity to earn a fair

return upon the fair value of its property devoted to the

A76 Appendix E

public service. See Ben Avon Borough v. Ohio Valley

Water Co., 271 Pa. 346, 114 A. 369 (1921); Pittsburgh v.

Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission, 182 Pa. Superior

Ct. 551, 128 A. 2d 372 (1956); Solar Electric Co. v. Penn-

sylvania Public Utility Commission, 137 Pa. Superior Ct.

325, 9 A. 2d 447 (1939); and Beaver Valley Water Co. v.

The Public Service Commission, 76 Pa. Superior Ct. 255

(1921), aff'd. 271 Pa. 358, 114 A. 373 (1921). In this case

Keystone is a public utility and is required by law to pro-

vide adequate and continuous water service to its cus-

tomers. To explain our conclusion that the Commission

violated these basic principles and thereby committed an

error of law, we turn now to a discussion of what the

Commission did in this case.

The PUC stated in its adjudication that the result of

its elimination of any value for the filtration plant from the

rate base equitably establishes “the pre-condemnation

status quo, [that is that] both the utility and its customers

must be made whole insofar as reasonably possible.” But

the facts of the case do not support that conclusion. Prior

to the taking by PennDOT, Keystone had acquired deeded

rights to the pure water in almost all of this 37-square-mile

watershed. Those rights had value. True enough, those

rights were carried on the books of Keystone at what ap-

pears to be nominal evaluation because the value was set

in 1902 when a dollar purchased much more than it does

today. Under accounting principles, the value of these

rights was required to be carried on the books at original

cost. That does not say that whatever property rights

Keystone had actually had a fair value for condemnation

purposes of only the nominal amounts carried on books.

On March 30, 1967, when PennDOT and Keystone made

settlement under their agreement, property which had

value was taken from Keystone and its stockholders, so

that what remained had less value to the stockholders than

Appendix E AT77

what had existed prior thereto. No matter what reasons

PennDOT may have had in reaching the dollar settlement,

it is apparent that under the reasoning of Pennsylvania

Gas & Water Company, supra, Keystone was entitled to

the “repair or replacement value” of that which was taken

from it. In this case, what was taken from it were its

water rights and some of its property rights in the water-

shed which would be polluted by the construction of 1-80.

In its brief the PUC argued that the purpose of the pay-

ment of $1,300,000 was to protect the rights of Keystone’s

customers to a continuing supply of potable water, but the

,record just does not support that contention. First of all,

we can find nothing in the law which would authorize

PennDOT to contribute or donate money to anyone, and

the PUC cites no such authority. We do find specifically

that PennDOT may pay “damages”. For example, section

8 of the Pennsylvania Limited Access Highways Act, Act

of May 29, 1945, P. L. 1108, as amended, 36 P. S. § 2391.8,

reads in pertinent part as follows:

“For the purpose of constructing limited access high-

ways ... the Secretary of Highways is hereby em-

powered to take property and pay damages therefor

as herein provided.”

Secondly, the record proves beyond cavil that in addition

to the cost of constructing the filtration plant, therewill

be a continuing annual expense of at least $50,000 per

year to operate that plant. If the government's intention

was to continue a supply of potable water, then why also

did it not include payment of $50,000 a year to run the

plant. If it had included such payment, then some cre-

dence could be given to the PUC’s argument.

Throughout its argument, the PUC says that the

money PennDOT paid was based upon a “cost to cure”

measure of damages, and that somehow this theory of

A78 Appendix E

condemnation can be transformed into a principle of rate

making. We can find no support for this contention in

the law applicable to rate cases.

Another contention of the PUC is that its adjudica-

tion in no way affects Keystone’s ownership of the filtra-

tion plant or the interest of its stockholders therein. Once

again, the record does not support such a contention. Two

sentences found in the PUC’s brief prove our point:

“In such a transaction such stockholders would, indis-

putably, be free to ask whatever price they should

choose for the property of respondent, including the

filter plant. In determining such price they would

be equally free to set the value of the filter plant at

whatever they may wish and should a purchaser sub-

sequently be willing to pay such asking price the

stockholders and not the rate paying customers would

be entitled to receive it.” (Emphasis in original. )

We agree with these statements, and they support the

proposition that the stockholders own the filtration plant.

Keystone’s ratepayers do not own it in any fashion. Coun-

sel for the PUC quite frankly admitted that if Keystone

had dissolved its corporate existence on the day after it

received the $1,300,000 that money would have gone to its

creditors and any balance to its stockholders. The rate-

payers would not have received one dollar of that amount.

One of the leading constitutional cases in this field is the

decision of the United States Supreme Court in Board of

Public Utility Commissioners v. New York Telephone Co.,

271 U. S. 23 (1926) where the Court enunciated the prin-

ciple that the utility plant of a privately-owned utility

belongs to its stockholders not to its ratepayers. The Court

stated:

“Customers pay for service, not for the property

used to render it... . By paying bills for service they

Appendix E A79

do not acquire any interest, legal or equitable, in the

property user for their convenience or in the funds of

the company.” 271 U. S. at 32.

The Court further noted that a utility is entitled to a rea-

sonable return on the value of the property used for public

service regardless of the source of the money used to con-

struct the property. In this connection it stated:

“The just compensation safeguarded to the utility

by the Fourteenth Amendment is a reasonable re-

turn on the value of the property used at the time that

it is being used for the public service, and rates not

sufficient to yield that return are confiscatory . . .

Constitutional protection against confiscation does not

depend on the source of the money used to purchase

the property. It is enough that it is used to render

the service.” (Citations omitted) 271 U. S. at 31.

These same principles must apply to the PUC’s elimi-

nation of the annual depreciation applicable to the filtra-

tion plant. The company claimed $62,743 for annual

depreciation on the original cost of its plant in service on

April 30, 1972. Because of the disallowance of the filtra-

tion plant, the Commission allowed only $50,669 for total

annual depreciation. The difference then is $12,074,

which would appear to be the annual depreciation charge

attributable to the filtration plant. In this connection our

Superior Court in Penn Sheraton Hotel v. Pennsylvania

Public Utility Commission, 198 Pa. Superior Ct. 618, 627,

134 A. 2d 324, 328-329 (1962), stated:

“Annual depreciation is an operating expense

representing the consumption of assets in rendering

service. A utility is entitled under the law to re-

cover from the rate payers the original cost of con-

struction of its depreciable plant.”

A80 Appendix E

This principle was restated by our Court in Pennsylvania

Power & Light Company v. Pennsylvania Public Utility

Commission, 10 Pa. Commonwealth Ct. 328, 311 A. 2d

151 (1973). The PUC takes the attitude that somehow

the rights of Keystone and its stockholders are protected

by its adjudication despite the elimination of the deprecia-

tion applicable to the filtration plant. Nothing could be

further from the truth. If we assume this filtration plant

had, for instance, a ten-year life, then five years from the

day it went into operation, if the company was sold or

dissolved, it can be assumed that the selling price would

be something substantially less than 100 percent of the

value determined on the day it went into service. Under

these facts, how could the stockholders of Keystone pos-

sibly be protected? They have lost whatever value their

company had in that portion of the 37 square mile water-

shed area which was polluted or taken by virtue of I-80,

and they are left with a plant worth less than the amount

which had been determined to be the appropriate dam-

ages under the condemnation agreement. A failure to

recognize this is clearly an error of law because the PUC’s

adjudication results in a taking of Keystone’s property.

There is no way that the PUC can support its conclusion

that the $1,300,000 payment by PennDOT became the

property of the rate payers. If further proof were needed,

we point out the fact that if this filtration plant had cost

$2,000,000 rather than $1,300,000, can there be any ques-

tion even under the PUC’s reasoning that $700,000 would

have to be placed in the rate base in this case. That

being so, does that mean that the rate payer would have

some right against PennDOT or against Keystone for not

computing sufficient damages? We know of no such

right.

The PUC’s bases its approach to this case on the

alleged inequity of taxpayers paying money damages to

Appendix E A81

Keystone which are utilized in the construction of a filtra-

tion plant and thereafter the rate payers paying a second

time through depreciation and earnings on the value of

that plant. Although it does not negate the PUC equity

argument, we should not lose sight of the fact that ap-

parently 90 percent of the state’s payment of these dam-

ages was paid by the federal government. We also should

not lose sight of the fact that it was for the benefit of the

public I-80 was constructed. So all of the people in the

area, including the consumers of Keystone, obtain the

benefit of the use of the new public super highway. Be

that as it may, the PUC has advanced the novel theory

that a privately-owned public utility may be forced to

operate a plant representing 20 percent of its net invest-

ments in total plant without any earnings whatsoever.

The PUC, under its adjudication, of course, permits Key-

stone to recover the expenses involved in operating this

filtration plant, but under the cost of service rate-making

process a utility earns nothing on expenses. A utility

earns only on the net fair value of its plant. In other

words, if a person would receive as a gift or through in-

heritance a public utility, according to the PUC adjudica-

tion that person would be under a duty to operate the

plant for the benefit of the consumers without the pos-

sibility of earning any profit. That kind of reasoning flies

in the face of our Supreme Court’s holding in Scranton,

supra. In Peoples Natural Gas Company v. Pennsylvania

Public Utility Commission, 153 Pa. Superior Ct. 475, 34

A. 2d 375 (1943), it was argued that if a utility had ac-

cumulated a depreciation reserve while consistently earn-

ing and paying liberal dividends, that the consumers or

rate payers should become the real owners of the property

bought with the depreciation funds and ought not to pay

a return on it. The Superior Court answered that argu-

ment as follows:

A82 Appendix E

“But this ought-not argument can be disposed of by

pointing out that, under the existing law, the only

test is present fair value of the property used and use-

ful in rendering the service. That appellant [the

utility] owns the property and is using it in the serv-

ice is unquestioned. And, so long as present fair value

is the test, it makes no difference whether appellant

bought it, received it as a gift, or won it in a lottery.”

153 Pa. Superior Ct. 486, 34 A. 2d at 381.

Our appellate courts have consistently held that the

source of the funds used to finance the construction of

the property used in the public service by a public utility

must be include

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition — Pennsylvania Gas & Water Co. v. Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission · 454 U.S. 824 | Frix