Petition — United Mine Workers of America v. Kerry Coal Co.

Supreme Court brief1981

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

80- 1 891 . ene G 7

NO. MAY 8 1981

new B 4. SIEVAS,

t Toe

CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1981

UNITED MINE WORKERS OF AMERICA,

and DISTRICT NO. 5 OF THE UNITED MINE

WORKERS OF AMERICA and ESTEL TAYLOR

Petitioners

vs.

KERRY COAL COMPANY

Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

AND APPENDICES

LLOYD F. ENGLE, JR. HARRISON COMBS

KUHN, ENGLE & STEIN 900 Fifteenth Street, N.W.

1512 Frick Building Washington, D.C. 20005

Pittsburgh, PA 15219

Counsel for Petitioners

SMITH BROS., LAW PRINTERS. 620 SECOND AVENUE, PITTSBURGH, PA. 15219

Petitioners, United Mine Workers of America, Dis-

trict No. 5 of the United Mine Workers of America, and

Estel Taylor, respectfully pray that a Writ of Certiorari

issue to review the decision of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Third Circuit filed in the above-en-

titled case on January 8, 1981, as to which an Order

Amending Opinion was entered on January 28, 1981 and

a further Order Amending Opinion was entered on Feb-

ruary 5, 1981, and Petition for Rehearing and Sugges-

tion for Rehearing en Banc was denied on February 9,

1981, affirming the denial of Petitioners’ Motions for

Judgment Notwithstanding the Verdict and for New

Trial by the Opinion and Order of the United States

District Court for the Western District of Pennsylvania

filed on March 25, 1980.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Are labor organizations liable under Section 303

of the Labor-Management Relations Act of 1947 for al-

leged violations of Section 8(b) (4) (i, ii) (B) of that Act

in the absence of clear proof or, at least, substantial evi-

dence of the labor organizations having instigated, sup-

ported, ratified, or encouraged same?

2. Are labor organizations liable under pendent

state tort claims, for alleged unlawful acts in the absence

of clear proof that the labor organizations participated

in, or actually authorized, or ratified such acts after

actual knowledge thereof?

3. Under the common law of agency and the doc-

trine of respondeat superior, are labor organizations

liable for all acts of their agents in the absence of clear

proof that the labor organizations authorized or ratified

such acts after actual knowledge thereof?

4. Where a Court of Appeals perverts the evidence

as to a crucial and essential factor, is that not such a

ii

Parties in the Court Below.

departure from the accepted and usual course of judicial

proceedings as to call for the exercise of the supervisory

power of this Court?

5. When a Court of Appeals fails or refuses to

effect and abide by the law of its own prior decision on

the same matter, is that not such a departure from the

accepted and usual course of judicial proceedings as to

call for the exercise of the supervisory power of this

Court?

PARTIES IN THE COURT BELOW

In addition to the Petitioners and Respondent in this

Petition, other parties-Appellant in the Court below were

Jerry (Gary) Ashton and Brian Short.

iii

Table of Contents.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

QUESTIONS PRESENTED . .. . . . . . .. i

PARTIES IN THE COURT BELOW . . ii

, 1

,,, TTTTkT—TT—dd 1

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED .................. 1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE... . . 2

ARGUMENT; REASONS FOR GRANTING THE

// 20

.. cee „„ —A 1a

Appendix A, Opinion of the United States Dis-

trict Court for the Western District of

0 — 1a

Appendix B, Order of District Court 57a

Appendix C, Opinion of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Third Circuit .................. 58a

Appendix D, Petition for Rehearing and Sugges-

tion for Rehearing en Banne 81a

Appendix E, Order of the Court of Appeals

— . ²⁵ͤ¹“d]]50000 92a

Appendix F, Order of the Court of Appeals

— Ö QQ 95a

Appendix G, Denial of Petition for Rehearing

and Suggestion for Rehearing en Banc........ 98a

iv

Table of Authorities.

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES PAGE

Buckeye Power, Inc. v. Utility Workers Union, 607

n ( ᷣ K 11, 15

Carbon Fuel Co. v. United Mine Workers, 444 US.

rr 11,12

Coronado Coal Co. v. United Mine Workers, 268 U.S.

c ee 12

Slater v. Erie-Lackawanna Railroad Company, 300

F.Supp. 1 (W. D. Pa. 1968), aff’d. 411 F.2d 1015

eee 13

Steelworkers v. Lorain, 616 F.2d 919 (6th Cir. 1980)

SE REE MRS Se ee eee PRE OPO EDP 11, 12, 15

United Mine Workers v. Coronado Coal Co., 259 U.S.

rr peasensiesnes 11,12

United Mine Workers v. Gibbs, 383 U.S. 715 (1966)

William B. Tanner Co., Inc. v. WIOO, Inc., 528 F.2d

R 12, 16, 18, 19, 20

STATUTES

,t! 883 1

Norris-La Guardia Act

eee 12

JJ NE, BIE saicivcdaecscnssnznrursscncsenscessensossonnsi 12, 15

Labor-Management Relations Act

ee Be CAs SRC CED vsesscsvressisescenseccsiess 1, 2, 9, 15

Title 29 U.S.C. §158(b) (4) (i) (ii) (B) ....9, 11, 14, 15

Title 29 U.S.C. §185 (Labor Management Rela-

, cars Vas caendunGepenceetscnoicidaincies

Title 29 U.S.C. §187 (Labor-Management Rela-

rr 1, 9, 11, 12

Civil Rights Act

„ 0 2

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States District Court for

the Western District of Pennsylvania (Appendix A, pp.

la-56a) is reported at 488 F.Supp. 1080. The opinion of

the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Cir-

cuit (Appendix C, pp. 58a-80a), as amended by subse-

quent Orders (Appendix E, pp. 92a-94a, and Appendix F,

pp. 95a-97a) is reported at 637 F. 2d 957.

JURISDICTION

The opinion of the Court of Appeals was filed on

January 8, 1981 (Appendix C, pp. 58a-80a) , was amended

by Order filed on January 28, 1981 (Appendix E, pp.

92a-94a), and was amended further by Order filed on

February 5, 1981 (Appendix F, pp. 95a-97a) . Petition for

Rehearing and Suggestion for Rehearing en banc (Ap-

pendix D, pp. 81a-91a), timely filed, was denied on Feb-

ruary 9, 1981 ( Appendix G, pp. 98a-99a).

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28

U.S.C. $1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

This case involves Section 8(b)(4) (29 U.S.C.

§158(b) (4)), and Section 303 (29 U.S.C. §187) of the

Labor Management Relations Act of 1947 (hereinafter

the Act“). They are printed in Appendix C, Footnote 1,

pp. 60a-63a, infra.

Statement of the Case.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

1. Procedural History

This case arose in the District Court for the Western

District of Pennsylvania from a Complaint filed by Re-

spondent, Kerry Coal Company, on January 31, 1978,

and an Amended Complaint filed by Respondent on Feb-

ruary 13, 1978, alleging that the United Mine Workers

of America (the International Union, hereinafter

“UMWA”), Arnold Miller, District No. 5 of the United

Mine Workers of America (hereinafter “District 5’),

Louis A. Antal, Estel Taylor, Jerry Ashton, James

Beachem, Brian Short, et al. had violated Section

8(b) (4) of the Act (Count I) ; alleging that Respondent

was entitled to exemplary and punitive damages on

account of the alleged violation of Section 8(b) (4) of

the Act (Count II); alleging a conspiracy and acts

against Respondent in violation of 42 U.S.C. $1985

(Count III); alleging a state tort claim of conspiracy

to interfere with contractual relationships of Respond-

ent (Count IV); alleging a state tort claim of inter-

ference with contractual relationships of Respondent

(Count V); and alleging, generally, an entitlement to

exemplary and punitive damages as punishment and

a deterrent to others (Count VI). As a result of various

motions, before and during trial, Counts II, III, and V

were dismissed; all Counts were dismissed as to Arnold

Miller and Louis A. Antal; and Count I was dismissed

as to the remaining individuals.

Near the end of a lengthy trial, the District Court

proposed certain special interrogatories to the jury. Dur-

ing the better part of one and one-half (11%) days, they

were argued about between counsel and the District

Court, were redrawn by the District Court, were deter-

Statement of the Case.

mined in their ultimate form by the District Court (Ap-

pendix A, pp. 1a-6a, footnote 1), and were objected to by

counsel for the UMWA and District 5 (Appendix D, p.

88a). The jury returned its verdict in the form of an-

swering the special interrogatories to the effect of a ver-

dict in the sum of $1,200,000.00 against the UMWA and

District 5 on Count I; in the sum of $1,200,000.00 against

the UMWA, District 5, Taylor, Ashton and Short on

Count IV, all of which amount the jury determined to be

included in the amount of its verdict on Count I; and

made no award of punitive damages (Appendix A, pp.

la-6a, Footnote 1).

Post-trial Motions filed by the UMWA, District 5,

Taylor, Ashton and Short for Judgment Notwithstand-

ing the Verdict and for New Trial were denied by the

District Court (Appendix A, pp. 1a-56a and Appendix B,

p. 57a), and timely appeal was filed to the Court of Ap-

peals with bond in the amount of $1,500,000.00 being

posted on behalf of the UMWA and District 5, no bond

being required by the District Court for Taylor, Ashton

and Short. Oral argument was had before a panel of the

Court of Appeals, consisting of Gibbons and Rosenn, Cir-

cuit Judges, and Hannum, District Judge sitting by des-

ignation, on October 14, 1980. On January 8, 1981, the

panel of the Court of Appeals filed its Opinion (Appen-

dix C, pp. 58a-80a) affirming the denial of the post-trial

Motions by the District Court. On January 20, 1981, the

UMWA, District 5 and Taylor filed Petition for Rehear-

ing and Suggestion of Rehearing In Banc (Appendix D,

pp. 81a-91a) which was joined in by Ashton and Short.

On January 28, 1981, the Court of Appeals filed an Order

Amending its Opinion. (Appendix E, pp. 92a-94a.) On

February 5, 1981, the Court of Appeals filed another

Order Amending its Opinion. (Appendix F, pp. 95a-97a. )

Statement of the Case.

On February 9, 1981, the Court of Appeals denied the

Petition for Rehearing. (Appendix G, pp. 98a-99a.) Upon

Motion, timely filed, the Mandate of the Court of Appeals

was stayed. This Petition for Writ of Certiorari followed.

2. Factual Background

The UMWA is an international labor organization

representing coal miners throughout the United States

and Canada for purposes of collective bargaining. Dis-

trict 5 is a labor organization representing coal miners

for collective bargaining in a lesser geographical area

of the UMWA, namely southwestern Pennsylvania.

Taylor was a District 5 Executive Board Member. Ash-

ton and Short were members of Local Unions within

District 5. Respondent is a non-union producer of coal

from surface mines within the geographical area of Dis-

trict 5.

On December 6, 1977 the National Bituminous Coal

Wage Agreement of 1974 (hereinafter the Agreement“)

expired and a national strike began which extended to

March 28, 1978 (hereinafter the “strike period”). The

UMWA did not direct or authorize any picketing of non-

union operations during the strike period. Considering

that some of the members of Local Unions in District 5

might picket during the strike period, the Executive

Board of District 5 met on November 30, 1977 along with

Kenneth Yablonski, their attorney, and prepared guide-

lines for picketing of employers who were signatory to

the Agreement, in the event that they operated, and

guidelines for informational area standards picketing of

other producers of coal which might operate. Taylor was

assigned by District 5 to patrol picketing which might

occur in that portion of District 5 wherein Respondent’s

operation was situated.

Statement of the Case.

The UMWA Organizing Department has certain em-

ployees, known as organizers, who have, as part of their

function, the conducting of surveys of non-union coal

mining operations to develop sufficient information from

which it can be determined whether or not organizing

should be attempted. The organizers have no authority

to direct or assist in any picketing excepting where a

survey has been completed, a determination to attempt

organizing has been made, and an organizing campaign

is in progress. At a time prior to the commencement of

the strike period, there being a substantial number of

unorganized coal-producing operations in District 5, the

UMWA was requested to send an organizer to survey

those unorganized operations and the UMWA assigned

Jay Kolenc for that purpose.

Prior to the commencement of the strike period, the

Organizing Department notified each of the organizers

in writing that, in the event there should be a strike, they

were directed to remain on their present assignment and

were not to participate in any other activities. In the

course of his survey work, Kolenc first met Ashton who

told him that he (Ashton) wanted some information on

setting up a picket line at Respondent’s operation near

Ashton’s house. Kolenc told Ashton that he would see if

someone from District 5 would provide such information,

since Kolenc was not involved in such matters. There-

after, Taylor contacted Ashton and arranged for several

persons to picket peacefully near the entrance from the

public road into one of Respondent’s operations. This

picketing commenced January 5, 1978 and continued only

until January 9, 1978, during which period, in the course

of his travels for the survey purposes, Kolenc stopped

and talked to the pickets no more than twice and advised

them that they must not interfere with ingress or egress

Statement of the Case.

of any trains or other vehicles or employees going to

or from Respondent’s operation. Kolenc received direc-

tions from the Organizing Department transferring him

to the Western Region in Denver, Colorado, and left the

area of District 5 permanently on January 21, 1978.

Vernon Kerry, President of the Respondent corpora-

tion, testified he heard reports on his CB radio that there

had been damage at a non-union site of a competitor

(never identified) and, because of this, shut down his

operations from December 12, 1977 to December 20, 1977.

He stated further that on January 22, 1978 some of Re-

spondent’s equipment was damaged; that on January

25, 1978 a large number of unidentified persons and cars

appeared on the road near the entrance to another site

of Respondent and he shut down that operation for that

day; and that on February 27, 1978 when he was making

a delivery with several trucks to a customer, St. Joe

Mineral Company, they were confronted by many un-

identified persons near the customer’s plant who threw

rocks, and had difficulty making the delivery and leaving,

but did. He was permitted to testify, over objection, that

Respondent’s employees were “nervous and afraid” dur-

ing the strike period. Substantially, this was the total

evidence of any “interruptions” of Respondent’s opera-

tion.

Respondent had Price-Waterhouse do a work-up of

damages for alleged lost profits based upon the premise

that Vernon Kerry told him the Respondent could have

sold all the coal it could have produced during the strike.

(Appendix A, p. 39a and Appendix D, pp. 87a, 89a.) The

alleged lost profits accounted for all but approximately

Statement of the Case.

$10,000.00 of Respondent’s alleged damages.! The Price-

Waterhouse witness, Mr. Kilzer, testified that he pro-

ceeded on this basis and, from examination of Respon-

dent’s records, chose the month of February, 1978, ex-

clusive of February 1, 1978 when Respondent went to

State Court for an injunction, and exclusive of February

27, 1978 when the alleged St. Joe Minerals incident oc-

curred. He said he chose February, 1978, with those ex-

clusions, as a base period because it was a relatively

uninterrupted period of operation according to Mr.

Kerry. He admitted, however, that his examination of

Respondent’s records over a period of several years

showed that it was much the largest volume sales period

which Respondent had ever experienced. When con-

fronted with the fact that Respondent’s records also

showed that the tonnage sold in that period exceeded

the tonnage produced in that period by 19,000 tons, he

considered that the excess must have come from stock-

piles accumulated by respondent before commencement

of the strike. He made a different calculation for alleged

lost profits from lack of auger production because there

was no auger production during the strike period. As to

this, Mr. Kerry testified that he had scheduled auger

production for some months during the strike period but

the augering contractor did not come. It was not shown

why. Nevertheless, for his calculation of alleged lost

profits—auger,” Mr. Kilzer selected some months from a

previous year for his base.

1. It is to be noted that the total damage calcula-

tion amounted to $1,100,978.00 (Appendix A, p. 39a)

whereas the verdict was in the sum of $1,200,000.00 (a

difference of $99,022.00) with a specific refusal of the

jury to award any exemplary or punitive damages.

(Appendix A, pp. 5a, 6a, Footnote 1, part 18.)

Statement of the Case.

Having selected the aforementioned period in Febru-

ary, 1978, Mr. Kilzer then selected certain purchasers of

coal from Respondent in that period and designated them

as a “representative customer mix,” albeit that at least

one of them had never purchased coal from Respondent

before late in January, 1978. He then utilized the price

per ton to these purchasers reduced by the cost of pro-

duction per ton and came up with “lost profit,” which he

then applied on a daily basis throughout the entire strike

period, rather than limiting its application to the mini-

mal periods of alleged interruption shown by the evi-

dence as discussed hereinbefore. He justified this on the

basis that Mr. Kerry had told him Respondent’s opera-

tion was interrupted “every day of the strike.”

When asked what customers and amount of orders

for coal Respondent had or could have had in December,

1977, and January and March, 1978 which were equiv-

alent to the so called customer mix” constructed for

February, 1978, Mr. Kilzer didn’t know of any. Neither

did Mr. Kerry. Mr. Kilzer merely answered that, if it

hadn’t been the customers and the amounts used in the

February, 1978 “customer mix” it would have been some

other. Further, there was no showing of what the price

per ton would have been on the orders which Respondent

didn’t have in December, 1977, and January and March,

1978.2 Finally, there was no evidence offered to show

what amount of coal Respondent could have produced

during the strike period through continuous, uninter-

rupted operation.

2. It is to be noted that the price per ton was wide-

ly variant as between different customers in the so-called

“customer mix” for the same quality coal, i.e. from

$17.50 per ton to $32.50 per ton.

Reasons for Granting the Writ.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

A. The Court of Appeals Decided a Federal Question in

a Manner Conflicting with Applicable Decisions of

This Court and Conflicting with Decisions of An-

other Court of Appeals

1. THe SecTION 8(b) (4) CLAIMS

Count I of Respondent’s Complaint was based on

alleged violation of Section 303 of the Act and, therefore,

had as its gravamen alleged violation of Section 8(b) (4)

of the Act. Only subpart (B) of Section 8(b) (4) is per-

tinent for consideration in this case. Reduced to its rele-

vant essentials, it provides that it shall be an unfair

labor practice for a labor organization or its agents:

1.

To induce or encourage any employee to engage

in a strike or to induce any employee to refuse

to use or otherwise handle goods or perform

services where an object is forcing any person

to cease using, handling or dealing in the prod-

ucts of any other producer, or to cease doing

business with any other person; or

To threaten, coerce or restrain any person

where an object is forcing any person to cease

using, handling or dealing in the products of

any other producer or to cease doing business

with any other person.

During argument on the Motions of UMWA and

District 5 for Directed Verdict on Count I (they being

the only Defendant parties then included therein) the

District Court stated:

10

Reasons for Granting the Writ.

THE COURT: Well, as I see it, we are not in the

secondary boycott situation, I agree with you that

the Plaintiff hasn't shown a secondary boycott situa-

tion. It seems to me that what is here involved is

proof by the Plaintiff that both the International

and the District set out to prevent the movement

of all coal in the District 5 area and that that is,

in fact, what happened.

a. The International Union

As to the UMWA, the only possible connection with

any activity pertaining to Respondent would have to be

established through some act of Kolenc, authorized or

ratified after actual knowledge. Virtually all evidence

regarding Kolenc was produced by Respondent in its

case and is binding upon Respondent. The testimony of

Taylor, called as for cross examination by Respondent,

established that Kolenc had no part in any decision to

picket Respondent; that Kolenc had no authority to

direct anything in District 5; and that Kolenc stopped on

a “couple” of occasions at the picket line which Taylor

had set up and once told them they should not interfere

with ingress or egress of any persons or vehicles. By

other evidence in the case, it is established that Kolenc

and all of the organizers were given written direction

from the UMWA Organizing Department to stay on their

present assignments and not participate in any other

activities; that Kolenc had no authority to authorize or

direct any picketing; and that his only assignment was

to make surveys of unorganized coal mines so that it

could be determined, at a later time, whether an attempt

should be made to organize any of them.

11

Reasons for Granting the Writ.

The circumstances pertaining to the UMWA, Kolenc

and Respondent are virtually identical to those in Buck-

eye Power, Ino. v. Utility Workers Union, 607 F.2d 759

(6th Cir. 1979) wherein local union members were con-

ducting picketing at places where it was alleged to com-

prise secondary activity. An officer of the national union

came to the picket line and had discussions with the

pickets. When asked, he . dvised the local union officers

that they should not picket in some of the places where

they were, but took no action and did nothing to stop

them. There, the Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

held that the national union was not liable for the activi-

ties of the local union or its members which it did not

authorize or ratify and that the statutes upon which the

action there was based (Sections 303 and 8(b) (4) (i)

(ii) (B)) contained no language equating inaction to

inducing, acquiescing in, or encouraging a secondary

boycott. To the same effect is Steelworkers v. Lorain,

616 F. 2d 919 (6th Cir. 1980).

The Court of Appeals in this case held it permis-

sible to infer that Kolenc instigated, supported, ratified,

or encouraged the activity complained of” and to infer

that, in so doing, he was acting as the agent of the

UMWA. (Appendix C, pp. 70a-72a.) This is in conflict

with the decisions in Carbon Fuel Co. v. United Mine

Workers, 444 U.S. 212 (1979) ; Steelworkers v. Lorain,

supra; Buckeye Power, Inc, v. Utility Workers Union,

supra; and United Mine Workers v. Coronado Coal Co.,

259 U.S. 344 (1922). At the very least, any showing

of instigation, support, ratification or encouragement

must be by “substantial evidence,” not inference, United

Mine Workers v. Coronado Coal Co., supra, and, at the

very most, it must be shown by clear, unequivocal and

convincing proof, United Mine Workers v. Gibbs, 383 U.S.

12

Reasons for Granting the Writ.

715 (1966) and Steelworkers v. Lorain, supra. “Infer-

ence” does not fall within the range of those extremes.

There are only two (2) types of agency authority

recognized in law—actual and apparent—and in the

strict sense, neither can be inferred. Each type has its

genesis in and flows from the principal, either through

clear expression and grant ef actual authority by the

principal or by conduct of the principal which justifiably

leads others to believe that authority exists. See William

B. Tanner Co., Inc. v. WIOO, Inc., 528 F.2d 262, 266 (3rd

Cir. 1975). Here, as to the UMWA vis-a-vis the Respon-

dent, neither Kolenc nor any other person in this case

fits those categories, even if it had been shown by “sub-

stantial evidence” that Kolenc instigated, supported,

ratified or encouraged the activity complained of.

Subsequent to the pronouncement in United Mine

Workers v. Coronado Coal Co., supra, and the pronoun-

cement in Coronado Coal Co. v. United Mine Workers,

268 U.S. 295 (1925), Congress passed the Norris-La-

Guardia Act, 29 U.S.C. S101 et seq., and, in Section 6

thereof (29 U.S.C. 8106), provided that no union shall

be held liable for unlawful acts of its officers, members

or agents, except upon clear proof of actual participa-

tion in, or actual authorization of such acts, or of rati-

fication of such acts after actual knowledge thereof.

Thereafter, by enactment of Sections 301 and 303 of the

Labor Management Relations Act of 1947, Congress fol-

lowed the reasoning of Chief Justice Taft in the Corona-

do Coal Case, supra, posturing corporations and labor

organizations in like positions as to vicarious liability,

by applying to both the common-law agency test, and

with it the doctrine of respondeat superior. Carbon Fuel

Co. v. United Mine Workers, supra. However, the com-

13

Reasons for Granting the Writ.

mon-law doctrine of respondeat superior is not the equi-

valent of absolute liability and has never been held to

render the principal (master) an insurer against all

acts of an agent (servant). For example, if an agent com-

mits an intentional tort, such as a battery upon some

person, no vicarious liability attaches to the principal,

there being no express authority and, certainly, no pos-

sibility of apparent authority for such an act.

In the instant case, Respondent produced evidence,

through the testimony of Taylor, that Kolenc had no

authority to direct anything in District 5 and had no

part in the picketing of Respondent. Since Respondent

offered no contradiction, since the testimony was not

inherently improbable, and since it was not a mere

guess, Respondent is bound by that. See Slater v. Erie-

Lackawanna Railroad Company, 300 F.Supp. 1 (W. D. Pa.

1968), aff'd. 411 F.2d 1015 (3rd Cir. 1969). Further

testimony by Sam Church, President of the UMWA, es-

tablished the limited authority or scope of employment

of Kolenc, to survey unorganized coal mining operations

with a view toward determining the reasonableness of

attempting to organize them at a later time. Docu-

mentary evidence ( Defendants’ Exhibit“ G“) established

that Kolenc was instructed by the UMWA to remain on

his assignment and not become involved in other activi-

ties. Even if all of that evidence were disbelieved, an

unsupported and diametrically opposed inference, to the

effect that Kolenc had authority to picket, threaten, co-

erce or commit unlawful acts is not permitted, since

inference cannot arise from a vacuum. If Kolenc had

done any of those things, of which there is no evidence

in this case, they would have been intentional acts with-

out indicia of authority, express or apparent, and the

14

Reasons for Granting the Writ.

UMWA could not be vicariously liable absent subsequent

ratification.

b. The District

As to District 5, it was shown that there was

authorization given by it to Taylor to conduct informa-

tional picketing in accordance with specific guidelines

developed and printed by District 5 (Appendix A, pp. 9a,

10a and Plaintiff’s Exhibit No. 13), which activity is

protected by the Act and the Constitution of the United

States. It was shown also that Taylor did conduct picket-

ing at one of Respondent’s sites from January 5, 1978 to

January 9, 1978. Other than one occasion, when a train

stopped for a relatively short period through voluntary

action of the train crew, there was no showing that there

was any cessation of ingress or egress, or of doing busi-

ness with any other person, or of producing, processing,

handling or dealing in the products of Respondent or any

other person.

Both the District Court and the Court of Appeals

jumped over the “where an object thereof is” language

of Section 8 (b) (4) (B) of the Act and landed upon

where an effect thereof was. Then, by inference, the leap

was made to an object thereof must have been. That is

not only a non sequitur but, in almost every instance,

would abrogate the express protection of the Act and the

United States Constitution. That is to say, the most anti-

septic informational campaign would be transformed

immediately into an unfair labor practice by a chance

happening which was totally beyond the control of and

not sought by the labor organization. It ought not to

become established, by a judicially constructed infer-

ence, that Congress intended the clear language of Sec-

15

Reasons for Granting the Writ.

tion 8(b) (4) (B) of the Act to negate the express pro-

tection preserved by Congress in the second proviso to

Section 8(b) (4) of the Act, or that such inference can

frustrate the paramount protection of the United States

Constitution. Further, these gymnastics of inference are

in conflict with the clear proof requirement of United

Mine Workers v. Gibbs, supra, Buckeye Power, Inc.

v. Utility Workers Union, supra, and Steelworkers v.

Lorain supra.

2. THE STATE TorRT CLAIMS

Count IV of Respondent’s Complaint was based

upon the alleged tortious interference with contractual

relations between Respondent and others by alleged

illegal and violent acts of Petitioners in violation of the

law of Pennsylvania. Liability of Petitioners thereon

was upheld by the Court of Appeals as being grounded

on the same facts as the Section 8 (b) (4) claims of

Count I. (Appendix C, pp. 73a, 74a.) Assuming that the

entertaining of these pendent claims was discretionarily

permissible, their proof, nevertheless, relates back to the

same inferences addressed hereinbefore and, therefore,

does not satisfy the clear proof requirements of Section

6 of the Norris-LaGuardia Act. The Court of Appeals

has decided this question in conflict with United Mine

Workers v. Gibbs, supra, Steelworkers v. Lorrain, supra,

and Buckeye Power, Inc. v. Utility Workers Union,

supra.

16

Reasons for Granting the Writ.

B. The Court of Appeals Has So Far Departed from the

Accepted and Usual Course of Judicial Proceedings

and Has So Far Sanctioned Such a Departure by the

District Court as To Call for the Exercise of This

Court’s Power of Supervision and the Court of

Appeals Has Rendered a Decision in Direct Conflict

with Its Prior Decision on the Same Matter.

These questions pertain to the matter of the dam-

ages as to all Petitioners and are complicated by the fact

that the Court of Appeals perverted the evidence and,

even then, rendered a decision in conflict with its own

decision in Tanner v. WIOO, Inc., supra. As mentioned

hereinbefore and in Appendix D, p. 87a, Respondent’s

entire theory of damages was founded on the premise

that it “could have sold all the coal it could have pro-

duced” by uninterrupted operation through the strike

period. This was twice stated by Mr. Kilzer, Respondent’s

expert witness from Price-Waterhouse, as having been

told him by Mr. Kerry, and it was the foundation for his

work-up of alleged damage. Then, as earlier noted, Mr.

Kilzer chose the month of February, 1978 (exclusive of

the 1st and 27th day), constructed his “customer mix”

of four (4) purchasers, at least one (1) of which had

never purchased coal from Respondent before late in

January, 1978, and developed the net profit per ton from

surface mining for the chosen twenty-six (26) day

period on the basis of sales. Then he calculated the net

profit per ton from auger mining, utilizing a totally dif-

ferent period of months from outside the strike period.

Finally, he applied the so-calculated net profits per ton

to assumed equivalent tonnage on each of the eighty-five

(85) other days, exclusive of the above-mentioned base

17

Reasons for Granting the Writ.

period, during the strike,? on the basis of assumed

equivalent sales to an assumed equivalent “customer

mix” for each of the said days. The shortfall of this pro-

cedure was obvious. There was no showing of how much

coal Respondent could have produced and, therefore, the

keystone of the theory was totally missing. The figures

used by Mr. Kilzer for the base period in February, 1978

were tons sold, not tons produced, and afford no assist-

ance to fill this evidential void, in that the records of

Respondent in evidence showed that it sold 19,000 tons

more than it produced in February, 1978.

Although this problem was raised in the District

Court and it was aware of the faulty premise (Appendix

A, p. 39a), it did not deal with it, other than by use of

the inapplicable platitude that “it is not necessary to

prove the exact amount of the damage suffered. It is

sufficient if the evidence supports a just and reasonable

approximation.” (Appendix A, pp. 41a, 42a.) The matter

was raised again in the Court of Appeals and, peculiarly,

that Court perverted the stated premise into “it could

have sold. .. all the coal it could ship.” (Appendix C,

p. 76a.) No such theory is set forth at any place in the

evidence, or in the Opinion of the District Court. How-

ever, when this was called to the attention of the Court

of Appeals (Appendix D, p. 87a), it failed to correct the

3. Mr. Kilzer applied his figures for net profits per

ton from auger mining to the months of January, Feb-

ruary and March, 1978, on the premise that Mr. Kerry

had told him no augering was scheduled in December,

1977, even though Mr. Kerry testified that augering was

scheduled throughout the entire strike period but the

augering contractor did not come. This discrepancy was

never cleared up, nor was there any evidence as to why

the augering contractor didn’t come.

18

Reasons for Graniing the Writ.

misstatement. (See Appendices E and F.) The serious-

ness of this is, simply, that if the keystone of the theory

had been as the Court of Appeals misstated it, the dam-

ages calculated by Mr. Kilzer would have been consistent

with it, though invalid for the reasons mentioned here-

inafter.

In its own decision in Tanner v. WIOO, Inc., supra,

the Court of Appeals determined that there was no

evidence on the record that the plaintiff had potential

customers for the product, nor any evidence of a price

at which it could have sold the product, and stated:

Although the record reveals the prices at which

WIOO offered to sell spots during various time

periods, that evidence alone cannot suffice to meet

Tanner’s burden of proof. First, the record is barren

as to whether WIOO actually sold spots during the

relevant contract periods at its published sales

prices. Second, and of more importance, the record

is completely silent as to whether Tanner could sell

spots at the same price listed by WIOO. Although

WIO0O’s sales price may be relevant in the proof of

Tanner's damages, it does not provide the “hard

evidence” required for a calculation of Tanner's

damages with “reasonable certainty“.

(Id. at 272)

In the instant case the situation is identical, in that

Respondent failed to show that it had any orders for

coal, or customers to whom it “could have sold” such

coal, or the price at which it could have sold” coal dur-

ing the month of December, 1977 and the months of

January and March, 1978.

19

Reasons for Granting the Writ.

Though the decision in Tanner v. WIOO, Inc., supra,

was raised in the District Court as the applicable law of

damages in the Third Circuit, the District Court took no

notice of it. (See Appendix A.) It was raised again on

appeal to the Court of Appeals and again in the Petition

for Rehearing (Appendix D, p. 89a), but the Court of

Appeals either failed or refused to consider it. Petition-

ers are entitled to the benefit of the law of the Circuit

and that law is decisive of this case in favor of Peti-

tioners. For the Court of Appeals to fail or refuse to

apply that law and to sanction the District Court’s fail-

ure in the same regard constitutes a lack of due process

and is such a departure from the accepted and usual

course of judicial proceedings as to call for the exercise

of this Court’s power of supervision.

C. The “Two-Court Rule“ Does Not Apply

The so-called “two-court rule“ is not applicable to

this case because: (1) upon review of virtually identical

facts, the decisions of the Sixth Circuit and the Third

Circuit are in conflict; (2) the Court of Appeals did not

concur in the finding of the District Court that the basis

for Respondent’s damage calculation was that Re-

spondent could have sold all the coal it could have pro-

duced” but, rather, the Court of Appeals constructed its

own “fact” to the effect that the basis was that Re-

spondent could have sold all the coal it could ship”; and

(3) neither the District Court nor the Court of Appeals

considered the failure of Respondent to show orders or

customers or prices for coal during December, 1977 and

January and March, 1978, to which void each Court

should have applied, but did not even mention, the law of

the Circuit as enunciated in Tanner v. OO, Inc., supra.

Conclusion.

CONCLUSION

The questions discussed herein were wrongly de-

cided by the Court of Appeals. They are important issues

in Federal Law involving conflicts between the Circuits

and departure from the accepted and usual course of ju-

dicial proceedings which should be settled by this Court.

Respectfully submitted,

HARRISON COMBS

900 Fifteenth Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20005

LLoOovD F. ENGLE, JR.

KUHN, ENGLE & STEIN

1512 Frick Building

Pittsburgh, PA 15219

Counsel for Petitioners

APPENDIX

Appendix A

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Kerry CoaAL COMPANY, )

Plaintiff

v.

UNITED MINE WORKERS OF AMERICA,

District No. 5 oF THE

UNITED MINE WORKERS OF AMERICA, q Civil Action

JERRY ASHTON, ESTEL TAYLOR, No. 78-108

JAMES BEACHEM, BRIAN SHORT,

JOHN Dok, RICHARD ROE,

and all others acting in concert with

them or otherwise participatin

with them or acting on their behalf,

Defendants |

Opinion

SNYDER, J.

This matter is before the Court on the Defendants’

Motions for Judgment Notwithstanding the Verdict and

for New Trial. The Motions will be denied.

I. THE PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

Kerry Coal Company (“Kerry Coal“) brought suit

against the United Mine Workers of America (Inter-

national“), District No. 5 of the United Mine Workers of

America (“ District“), Estel Taylor, District No. 5 Board

Member, James Beachem, Brian Short and Jerry (Gary)

Ashton, Members of the United Mine Workers, and the

matter was tried to a jury on three counts of a six count

complaint. The jury answered special interrogatories!

1. The Special Interrogatories and Answers there-

to were:

2a

Appendix 4.

and awarded the Plaintiff compensatory damages in the

amount of $1,200,000, against all Defendants except

James Beachem.

Count I of the Complaint charged the International

and the District with a violation of Section 8(b) (4)

of the Labor Management Relations Act, 29 U.S.C.

§158(b) (4), which makes it unlawful for a labor orga-

Footnote (continued)

Count I

A. As To THE EMPLOYEES

1. Did the United Mine Workers of America

(International) induce or encourage one or more

employees of the Kerry Coal Company, or of the

trucking companies hauling for Kerry Coal Com-

pany, or of the Railroad, to refuse to process, trans-

port or handle Kerry coal?

Answer Yes

2. Was an object of the aforementioned con-

duct by the International to require or force the

employer, Kerry Coal Company, to cease doing

business, or the trucking companies hauling Kerry

coal, or the Railroad to cease processing, transport-

ing, or handling Kerry coal?

Answer Yes

3. Were the actions of the International a

proximate cause of damage to the Kerry Coal Com-

pany?

Answer Yes

4. Did the United Mine Workers of America,

District No. 5, induce or encourage one or more

employees of the Kerry Coal Company, or of the

trucking companies hauling for Kerry Coal Com-

pany, or of the Railroad, to refuse to process, trans-

port, or handle Kerry coal?

Answer Yes

oa

Appendia A.

nization or its agents to engage in, or to induce or

encourage any individual employed by any person en-

gaged in commerce. to engage in a strike or a refusal

in the course of his employment to use, manufacture,

process, transport, or otherwise handle or work on

any goods, articles, materials, or commodities”, or to

threaten, coerce, or restrain any person engaged in com-

merce” where an object thereof is a “secondary boy-

Footnote (continued)

5. Was an object of the aforementioned con-

duct by District No. 5 to require or force the em-

ployer, Kerry Coal Company, to cease doing busi-

ness, or the trucking companies hauling Kerry coal,

or the Railroad to cease processing, transporting,

or handling Kerry coal?

Answer Yes

6. Were the actions of District No. 5 a proxi-

mate cause of damage to the Kerry Coal Company?

Answer Yes

B. As To THE EMPLOYERS OR CUSTOMERS

7. Did the United Mine Workers (Internation-

al) threaten, coerce, or restrain Kerry Coal Com-

any, or the trucking companies which hauled

rry coal, or the customers of Kerry Coal Com-

pany, to cease doing business with Kerry Coal Com-

pany?

Answer Yes

8. Were these acts of the United Mine Work-

ers (International) done with an object, purpose,

or intent to 4 — or force Kerry Company

to cease doing business with any other person?

Answer Yes

9. Were the actions of the International a

proximate cause of damage to the Kerry Coal Com-

pany?

Answer Yes

4a

Appendi A,

cott“. The Act provides for money damages, including

the costs of suit. 29 U.S.C. 6187.

Count IV was a pendent state claim against the

International, the District and the Individual Defendants

for tortious interference with business relationships.

Count VI, pertaining to punitive damages arising

from the allegations of Count IV, was sent to the jury

which declined to make such an award.

In essence, the Plaintiff contended at trial that

there was a pattern of unlawful picketing, violence, and

Footnote (continued)

10. Did the United Mine Workers, District No.

5, threaten, coerce, or restrain Kerry Coal Company,

or the trucking companies which hauled Kerry coal,

or the customers of Kerry Coal Company, to cease

doing business with Kerry Coal Company?

Answer Yes

11. Were these acts of the United Mine Work-

ers, District No. 5, done with an object, purpose,

or intent to require or to force Kerry Coal Company

to cease doing business with any other person?

Answer Yes

12. Were the actions of District No. 5 a proxi-

mate cause of damage to the Kerry Coal Company?

Answer Yes

13. We award as compensatory damages to

the Kerry Coal Company the su. of $1,200,000.00.

Count IV

14. Has Kerry Coal Company established by

clear eS in or ratification of violent

acts directed against the Kerry Coal Company with

regard to its contractual or business relationships,

which were a substantial factor in directly causing

damage to the Kerry Coal Company, on the part of:

5a

Appendia 4.

intimidation engaged in by the Officers and Agents of

the International, the District, and the various individ-

uals named as defendants, aimed at disrupting and halt-

ing the nation's coal supply during the winter of 1977-78

(including Kerry Coal, a non-union operation) to bring

about the acceptance of a new contract for the United

Mine Workers of America. „

The motlons presently under consideration here gen-

erally allege that there was insufficient evidence to sup-

Footnote (continued)

a. United Mine Workers of America (Interna-

tional) Yes

b. United Mine Workers of America District

No.5 Yes

15. Has — Coal Company established by

clear proof Berry ation in vlolent acts directed

against the oal Company which were a sub-

stantial factor is in directly causing the damages as

claimed, on the part of any of the following in-

dividuals?

a. Estel Taylor Yes

b. Jerry Ashton Yes

c. James Beachem No

d. Brian Short Yes

16. We award as compensatory dama A

the Kerry Coal Company the sum of $1,200,

A. Of the above amount, $1, ee

(all) is included in Question 13.

17. In addition to com = pred damages

awarded, do you wish to awa itive damages?

Answer No

18. We award as punitive damages to the

Kerry Coal Company the sum of (none),

against:

6a

Appendix 4.

port the verdict; that the damage award is inconsistent

with the special interrogatories and against the weight

of the evidence; that withholding of documents by the

Plaintiff severely and irreparably prejudiced the Inter-

national and the District; that the admission of certain

evidence was severely and irreparably prejudicial; that

the Court erred in allowing certain testimony; that the

Court improperly questioned witnesses; and that the

Court erroneously instructed the jury with respect to

the damage award.

Defendants Ashton and Short filed an Amended

Motion for Judgment Notwithstanding the Verdict or

for New Trial, claiming that the verdict was excessive

as a matter of law; that the Trial Court abused its dis-

cretion in exercising pendent jurisdiction; and that it

was error for the Court not to direct the jury to appor-

tion the damage award.

The International and the District filed a Supple-

mental Motion for New Trial claiming that the Court

erred in admitting certain exhibits into evidence, in re-

fusing to grant their Motion for Mistrial made during

the closing arguments, and in refusing to grant their

Requests for Points for Charge and Supplemental Points

for Charge.

Footnote (continued)

United Mine Workers of America (Interna-

tional) No

United Mine Workers of America, District No.

5 No

Jerry Ashton No

Estel Taylor No

James Beachem No

Brian Short No

7a

Appendix A.

II. THE SCENARIO

The evidence, viewed most favorably to the Plain-

tiff, indicated that Kerry Coal was a non-union surface

coal operation, shipping its coal by rail and truck to in-

dustrial and domestic customers in Pennsylvania and

Ohio. During the national coal strike by the United Mine

Workers, from December 6, 1977 to March 16, 1978,

Kerry Coal was operating five sites in Butler, Beaver

and Lawrence Counties, Pennsylvania.?

The District had a membership of 15,000 and juris-

diction over Washington, Allegheny, Westmoreland, But-

ler, Mercer and Venango Counties, Pennsylvania. It was

split geographically into four Sub-Districts; each Sub-

District elected a member to the District Executive

Board. Estel Taylor was the Executive Board Member

for Sub-District One and District President Louis Antal

assigned him to the Enon Valley area (which included

Kerry Coal’s sites) for the strike.

In November 1977, with a nationwide strike appear-

ing inevitable, and apparently pursuant to a well thought

out plan, District President Antal asked International

President Arnold Miller to send in one of the Interna-

tional’s Organizers, Thomas Pysell, to do a “survey” of

the Western Pennsylvania coal fields. In particular, he

wanted the non-union coal strippers “surveyed” because

“our members kept coming back to us and raising heck

that there were all kinds of strip mines popping up over

night. And I couldn’t go out and look at that, I didn’t

have the time.” (T.237) Mr. Pysell was given responsi-

2. The five sites were: “Perkins” in Franklin

Township, Beaver County; “Leonhardt” and “Ketterer”

in Lawrence County; and two in Muddy Creek Town-

ship, Butler County.

8a

Appendix A.

bility for such a survey in Western Pennsylvania by the

Organizing Department of the International. (T.208)

Pysell left the area prior to the beginning of the strike,

and was thereafter replaced by Jay Kolenc, also an In-

ternational Organizer. The expense vouchers of Kolenc,

P.Ex. 49, indicate that on November 25, 1977 Kolenc met

with Pysell to check non-union mines. Kolenc remained

in the area, surveying non-union mines, until January 21,

1978.

Steve Segedi, a District Executive Board Member,

recalled seeing Pysell and Kolenc in the District offices

just prior to the strike, and Segedi, along with John

Chach, Estel Taylor and Peter Sabo, other District Board

Members, lunched with Pysell and Kolenc. (T.1476,

1502) The expense vouchers of Kolenc, P.Ex. 49, reflect-

ed meetings with District Officers on several occasions,

and the telephone records of Estel Taylor, P.Ex. 100C,

showed phone calls to Kolenc at the Holiday Inn in

Beaver Falls as early as December 6, 1977.

Under date of November 28, 1977, President Antal

notified Kerry Coal and its President, Vernon Kerry, as

well as every other non-union coal company within the

District, that (P. Ex. 11):

We are aware that you are not maintaining

area wage and benefits standards, there“ obtaining

an unfair competitive advantage. We demand that

you immediately raise your current standards to

match those prevailing in the coal mining industry

in this area.

We expect to hear from you that you have

raised your standards as soon as this has been ac-

complished. If, in fact, we do not hear from you

concerning this matter, we will assume that it is

9a

Appendix A.

not your intention to raise your standards at this

time.

Please reply to me at the above address.”

These letters were sent without any knowledge of the

wage and benefits standards paid by Kerry Coal and the

others except, of course, that they were non-union oper-

ations.

On November 30, 1977, a meeting of the District

Executive Board was called by President Antal to make

preparations for the strike and to draw up “guidelines”

for both “strike” and “informational” pickets. Kenneth

Yablonski, the attorney for the District, was also pres-

ent at this meeting and aided in the preparation of the

guidelines. Specifically, informational picketing at inde-

pendent non-union mines was discussed and guidelines

presented.“ The District arranged for the informational

3. Kerry Coal, in fact, had a Fhe sharing plan,

full paid benefits for medical to $250,000, and a long

record of no layoffs. (T.464)

4. These read as follows (P.Ex.13):

“INSTRUCTIONS For INFORMATIONAL PICKETS

Distributed by the United Mine Workers of America

for use by its authorized, informational pickets.

As a picket for the United Mine Workers of America

ou are issued the following instructions concerning

informational picket duty. They must be followed

to the letter or the union may suffer serious legal

consequences:

1. The only picket signs to be used are

those provided by the United Mine Workers

of America.

2. All informational pickets while en-

gaged in informational picketing should carry

the picket signs provided by the United Mine

Workers of America.

10a

Appendix A.

pickets to receive $3.00 for meals and, if they drove, 20¢

per mile.5

Between December 66 and 12, 1977, Vernon Kerry

observed men in vehicles driving around his sites, ap-

parently as “surveillance crews”. Then, on the morning

of December 12th, he received reports by CB radio and

by telephone that several thousand dollars worth of

damage had been done to a non-union competitor’s site

Footnote (continued)

3. You are to picket only where an au-

thorized representative of the United Mine

Workers of America has directed you to per-

form your picket duty.

4. If you are asked any questions concern-

ing your picket activity, you should say noth-

ing! You should simply point to the picket sign

and refer all questions to the United Mine

Workers of America.

5. Picketing must be conducted in a

peaceful manner. Do not speak to any employ-

ees entering or leaving the picketed premises.

Do not attempt to stop anyone. You are there

to publicize the fact that this coal mine opera-

tor is destroying area standards by paying sub-

standard wages and benefits.

Do Not Say ANYTHING To ANYONE

Do Not SHOW THESE INSTRUCTIONS To ANYONE”

It is interesting to note that picketing was to be carried

on only where an authorized representative of the

United Mine Workers directed.

5. The District’s 1977 Labor Management Report

showed payments to pickets at non-union operations of

$5,000 in December, and in 1978, $37,833 was paid for

picketing of non-union operations in January, February

and March.

6. Vouchers for travel by United Mine Workers

members revealed five cars containing 16 people. Four

11a

Appendix A.

(later identified as the Veon site) and, for safety rea-

sons, he shut down all Kerry Coal sites on the morning

of December 13th, with the exception of some mainte-

nance crews.

After receiving numerous calls for coal from his

customers, Vernon Kerry resumed operations on Decem-

ber 20, 1977. It was not long before picketing activity

began and, with the activity, acts of intimidation to his

employees. Roofing nails were thrown across the en-

trances to some of the Kerry Coal sites (10 pounds of

nails were picked up, T.344), and there was general

chaos in the coal fields. On December 27, 1977, Gary

Ashton and James Beachem, during the course of scout-

ing activity, threatened Vernon Kerry that if he did not

shut down, they would bring in 200 men to wreck his

equipment, and Beachem added, “we can do this with

one phone call.” (T.341, 566) In addition, Ashton, who

lived near Kerry Coal’s tipple site, picketed the railroad

crossing with a sign “UMW on Strike—No Contract—-

No Work” whenever a train came to pick up coal, and

the train would leave. (T.343, 568). This effectively

stopped Kerry Coal from shipping coal to its customers.

Prior to that time, Kerry Coal had shipped coal on a

daily basis (T. 341) and 80% of its coal was shipped by

rail.

In the beginning, picketing was not continuous but

it later became 24 hours a day. (T.343) During the

picketing, Vernon Kerry recognized Jay Kolenc, the

International Organizer, at the site on more than one

occasion.

cars traveled the same 222 miles, and one traveled 126

miles, on December 6, 1977 in Western Pennsylvania.

(P.Ex. 44-1, 2, 3, 4, 5)

12a

Appendix A.

It was shortly after Christmas and after his en-

counter with Vernon Kerry, Gary Ashton testified, that

he learned Kerry Coal was not going to be closed and

called his Local President, Edward Lytle, to obtain help

in setting up pickets at Kerry Coal. Lytle said he would

get in touch with someone and let him know. The next

day, Lytle called and told Ashton he would bring some-

one to meet him. Ashton stressed he wanted to set up

pickets because the strip mines were running. A meeting

was arranged at a firehall where Ashton, Beachem and

Lytle discussed briefly with Jay Kolenc setting up pick-

ets at Kerry Coal. Kolenc told them there were papers

and instructions from the District and that someone

would deliver these to him. Later, Estel Taylor, District

Board Member, arranged a second meeting at Felix’s Bar

in Zelienople, some six or seven miles from Kerry Coal’s

Franklin Township site. Brian Short appeared at this

meeting, and Taylor asked Ashton to “scout” the Kerry

Coal operation (Ashton described scouting as seeing

what operations were running and who was hauling coal

where). After Ashton scouted Kerry Coal, he reported

to Taylor that the sites were still operating and another

meeting was called at Felix’s Bar in which Short and

Taylor participated. Taylor gave out the instructions

drawn up at the November 30, 1977 meeting (see Foot-

note 4), and picketing then proceeded on a 24 hour basis

from January 5 to January 9, 1978. Ashton remembered

seeing Kolenc on this picket line.

During the picketing, the pickets harassed inde-

pendent truckers bringing the coal to the tipple. On one

occasion the pickets stopped a train trying to get into

the site, as the train crew refused to cross the picket line.

13a

Appendix A.

Brian Short, a past Local President, was a close

friend of Estel Taylor and became involved in picketing

operations at Kerry Coal, as well as in scouting activi-

ties. Prior to establishment of a formal picket line at

Kerry Coal (described by Brian Short as one for a

period of 24 hours), informational pickets were put at

Kerry Coal at Taylor’s request. Short said that on one

occasion they stopped, milled around the railroad siding,

and left. Short considered this to be only informational

picketing. On another occasion, Vernon Kerry observed

Brian Short’s vehicle, a Ram Charger, near the gas

pumps on his property. At this time, Short threatened

physical violence if Vernon Kerry did not shut down his

operations.

Both Short and Taylor recalled Jay Kolenc being on

the picket lines. Full time pickets continued until Janu-

ary 9, 1978 and were then withdrawn.

On January 20, 1978, Taylor, Short, and two other

United Mine Worker members, Sewoc and Lucas, drove

past Kerry Coal's site. Short said he thought Kerry Coal

was still working. They drove past Kerry Coal into the

Beaver Falls area and breakfasted with Jay Kolenc.

On January 22, 1978, a Sunday morning, at about

8:30 A.M., Vernon Kerry was called to his tipple site be-

cause of damage done to his equipment during the night.

When he arrived he observed extensive damage to a

dragline, three bulldozers, a pan scraper and a fuel

tank.7 Vernon Kerry described the scene as follows

(T.351) :

7. The dragline had a 120 foot long boom with a

7 yard bucket attached capable of — up 40,000

pounds of overburden at one time, and costing $750,000.

The bulldozers weighed about 50 tons each and had 16

foot wide by 6 foot high blades on the front. The pan

was used for removing and replacing the top soil.

Appendia 4.

“Q. Tell the jury what you saw.

A. Broken windows, smashed turbochargers, fuel

lines broken, radiators had holes punched in

them. Most of the destruction was done with

bars or sledges. The radio was destroyed—the

two way radio, The controls were smashed, The

antifreeze and the fuel was all over the ground.

They had broken lines on the fuel truck and

just left the fuel run on the ground. The con-

trols inside of the motor—the motor—the

motor—the injector lines on the dragline was

smashed. Air cleaners were broken. Most of the

controls were broken.

Q. Did you see where any foreign substances had

been put into your equipment?

A. At various places on the machinery there is

places where oil or fuel can be added to main-

tain the necessary levels to operate. Inside those

areas, you could see where sand and mothballs

had been placed. Dirt and sand were placed in

the radiator caps where the radiators were

completely filled.”

At the scene, Vernon Kerry observed tire marks in the

new fallen snow which he identified as being made by

Brian Short’s Ram Charger. He went in search of Short

and when he encountered him in an apartment house

parking lot in Library, Pennsylvania, Kerry accused

Short of “being seen last night“. Short's only reply was,

“TI don’t think so”. (T. 592)

Some replacement parts were not immediately avail-

able and the Kerry equipment was not operational for

over two months, It was also necessary to take produc-

15a

Appendia A.

tion men away from their usual work in order to perform

the repairs, and Vernon Kerry hired private security

guards.

On January 25, 1978, twelve carloads of pickets

came to the Kerry Coal tipple site and, standing shoul-

der-to-shoulder, completely blocked access to the prem-

iges. Vernon Kerry called the state police and while he

was waiting for their arrival, two of the pickets came

into his office, identified themselves as members of the

United Mine Workers, and told him to stop shipping in-

dustrial or electrical utility coal during the remainder of

the strike. Kerry agreed to do so and testified (T.346) :

“... It was a wise decision on my part because with-

in five minutes there was a caravan came past my

office in a show of force. There were some 80 cars

in the caravan in addition to the cars that were

already at my site.“

By the time the state police arrived, the pickets had

gone. The police told Vernon Kerry to get his men out of

there, expecting the pickets to return. Within about five

minutes, the pickets were back but, when they saw the

police, only shouted and made gestures.

The coal trucks were followed on many occasions

and at one attempted delivery at St. Joe Mineral Com-

pany, a regular Kerry Coal customer, on February 27,

1977; pickets threw rocks and damaged these trucks.

After the coal was dumped they could not leave because

the pickets were swarming at the exit. They finally

escaped when they were escorted by the police. This inci-

dent ended deliveries to St. Joe Mineral for the period of

the strike.

Estel Taylor, District Executive Board Member,

acknowledged he had been given the Enon Valley area

16a

Appendia A.

by District President Antal (the area of Kerry Coal's

operations). His calendar of activities showed that he

was in that area on January 26, 1978 “performing legiti-

mate official duties“. He denied being in the Kerry Coal

area during any relevant period of time, although he had

been paid by the District for this particular date, and his

voucher showed he had been in Zelienople. He acknowl-

edged knowing Jay Kolenc, seeing him at the Kerry Coal

site, and meeting him through Ashton to set up the

pickets at Kerry Coal, thus contradicting his own testi-

mony.

A. The Union’s Testimony In Plaintiff’s Case

Much of the Plaintiff's case was established after

lengthy pretrial depositions by calling various union

members on cross examination. Vernon Kerry's testi-

mony was thus strongly corroborated and many details

added.

The first of these witnesses was Michael Encrapera,

who testified that before the strike began, he was asked

by District President Antal to become the administrator

of a legal defense fund (CMLDF), the purpose of which

was to pay fines for the people who would get in trouble

over the strike, and the source of this money would be

contributions solicited from other mine workers and

other unions. District Officers were to announced [sic]

through the jurisdiction that the District could not pay

the fine for those getting into trouble, nor could money

be received from the International. Obviously, tuls was

8. The discrepancy of one day between January 25

and January 26, 1978 was never clarified in the testi-

mony. Because of the vagueness of his 1 the

jury could well have concluded that he was in the Kerry

Coal area on January 25, 1978.

17a

Appendiæ A.

made to prevent any implication of participation by the

District or the International, or ratification of any such

conduct, contrary to its purpose.

How transparent the situation was could be deter-

mined from a letter written by Michael Encrapera and

later sent to many other unions by the District, which

read as follows (P. Ex. 27):

“District 5 COAL MINERS

THE NEED Is GREAT

GIVE

During our contract strike, the Coal Miners

Legal Defense Fund (CMLDF) was formed to help

District 5 miners who were harrassed or prosecuted.

Dozens of miners were arrested on all kinds of

criminal charges, As chairman of CMLDF, I ar-

ranged for the miners to have free legal representa-

tion and I’m proud to tell you that no District 5

miner was sent to jail. However, in some of the hard

core anti-union counties, judges imposed huge fines.

Many fines have already been paid, but thousands of

dollars are still due. If the fines are not paid, the

men will go to jail. District 5 can’t pay the fines be-

cause if it does, it will be subject to coal company

law suits and federal prosecution. These men need

help and all coal miners should help them—I urge

you to help by giving a generous donation to the

CMLDF when a collection is taken at your mine, I

promise you as a long time coal miner and union

member that all money will be used properly and

strictly accounted for.

Fraternally

Michael Encrapera,

Chairman

Coal Miners Legal Defense Fund”

18a

Appendia 4.

(Emphasis added in original.)

The evidence was clear that Encrapera did pay crim-

inal fines and attorney fees in several instances. For

example, there was included a bill for services by Ken-

neth Yablonski, the District’s attorney, for services

rendered for Ashton, Short and Beachem, and this bill

referred to Kerry Coal Company.

District President Antal acknowledged that he was

responsible for insuring that signatories to the Union

Contract lived up to their obligations, that the member-

ship enjoyed the rights given to them under the Consti-

tution, and directing whatever was needed in the way of

services by various District Board Members to benefit

the members. Mr. Antal admitted asking International

President Miller to send in an International Organizer,

Thomas Pysell, to survey the non-union strips because

Antal’s men were complaining of non-union operations in

the District’s jurisdiction. Antal claimed that Pysell did

not give him any report before 2 ae left the area prior

to the strike.

Antal acknowledged there was an Executive Board

meeting on November 30, 1977, when the strike plans

were drawn up and the guidelines for informational

pickets and union mine pickets were distributed. He said

that informational pickets were to be paid $3.00 a meal

and, if they drove, 20¢ per mile, and that the District

was to pay these expenses. He estimated that approxi-

mately $5,000 was spent for non-union pickets during the

strike but could not explain the figure of $37,833 in the

District’s Report to the National Labor Relations Board

as having been spent in January, February and March

of 1978. Responsibility for the picket lines in each sub-

district was on the Executive Board Member of the par-

19a

Appendix 4.

ticular sub-district. Antal disclaimed knowledge of any

violence in the area, and particularly denied having seen

any newspaper reports of violence in the area, or of

having seen the telegram sent by the International on

March 8, 1978, addressed to him at District Headquar-

ters, and reading (P. Ex. 66):

“Upon a petition filed by the Regional Director of

the National Labor Relations Board, the United

States District Court for the Eastern District of

Tennessee issued an order enjoining any picketing

or any like or related activity, at any non-union mine

with whom the International Union does not have a

primary labor dispute and any employer under con-

tract with any other union, including trucking com-

panies and railroads. Similar federal court injunc-

tions have been issued in the state of Kentucky and

the state of Indiana against several Districts and a

number of Local Unions. Therefore, you should ad-

vise all the officerg and representatives of your Dis-

trict, and all of the Local Unions within your Dis-

tricts, that they should avoid any such picketing or

any other like or any related activity at these types

of operations within your District. Full compliance

with the policy of the International Union in this

regard is of the utmost importance to the integrity

and the welfare of our union and its members.

/s/ Arnold Miller

President“

In addition, President Antal denied authorship or

knowledge of a press release issued February 22, 1978 by

the District which stated (P.Ex.25) :

Appendix A.

“On December 6, 1977 when we began our

strike, there were very few people who cared about

our problem. The industry and the general public

thought we were weak and divided. With very few

exceptions, we have shown the entire world what

coal miners are made of—we won’t be broken by

any unfeeling and arrogant industry, nor will we be

divided from within. There are a few of our mem-

bers who are bitter because of election defeats both

in the District 5 and the International Unions....

Those who would depart from our tradition of com-

plete unity during a national strike are traitors to

our cause and we, the District 5 Executive Board, so

label them. We call on all of our members to remain

strong and we will succeed,

We equally condemn irresponsible Congressmen

and other politicians who would interfere in our

internal affairs. We promise that they will hear from

us in the future.

We will continue our program of legitimate in-

formational and others types of picketing... .”

It was clear from the evidence that while Antal did

not administer the CMLDF, he was fully aware that the

funds were being used to pay criminal fines of strikers.

For example, P.Ex.194 was a letter from Antal instruct-

ing Encrapera to take care of a criminal fine for a United

Mine Workers’ member.

The testimony by Ashton and Short corroborated

that Jay Kolenc and Estel Taylor were responsible for

the men being on the picket lines at the Kerry Coal sites.

While they denied any illegal activity, threats or harass-

ment, their credibility was a question for the jury.

21

Appendix A.

According to James Beachem, and apparently be-

lieved by the jury, his only involvement was in scouting

the strip mines; and, on one occasion, picketing a rail-

road siding on the Kerry Coal site (the train had already

turned around and departed before Beachem appeared).

Thus, the jury found in his favor.

Peter Sabo, Secretary-Treasurer of the District, paid

pickets out of the District’s General Fund. (T.1199)

Many of the vouchers submitted for payment included

such descriptive phrases as “shut down trucking”

(P.Ex.44-39) ; “Kerry Coal tipple” (P.Ex.44-42) ; “made

check on these strips in afternoon—roving pickets shut

them down” (P.Ex.44-45) ; “left Bentleyville truck stop

at 4:30 A.M. covered three gates at J&L stockpile. There

are five altogether. Informed all people entering that

UMWA are on strike. We informed them that we would

appreciate no coal being moved. No coal moving at 8:30

A.M. when we left.” (P.Ex.44-46). Sabo admitted that

the District spent $38,000 to $40,000 on pickets but de-

nied that he had anything to do with the fines, although

two of his checks were apparently cashed in a District

Magistrate’s office for two of his union members. He

paid for both the “no contract—no work” signs and the

informational picketing signs.

Steve Segedi, a District Executive Board Member,

was responsible for Sub-District 2, which included Alle-

gheny, Washington, and parts of Greene and Westmore-

land Counties. A miner by the name of Filla was arrested

and charged with violence and Segedi discussed the pay-

ment of Filla’s fine with Encrapera, and sent Filla to him.

He made no investigation of the problem but simply re-

ferred Filla to the CMLDF. The closeness of the CMLDF

to the District was crystal clear.

22a

Appendix A.

As was previously noted, Estel Taylor was the Dis-

trict Board Member making the decisions with respect

to the picketing at the Kerry Coal site. He made the de-

cision to set up the picket line, and to take it down on

January 9, 1978, because of the very cold weather and

because intermittent picketing at the railroad siding

seemed to be shutting off the rail shipments. He acknowl-

edged that Ashton wanted to get people from his Local

to set the picket line up again but was never really told

why. (T.1053) He said he rode by the Kerry Coal site on

January 20th when he was trying to make up his mind

whether to institute the picket line again. Brian Short

and two other men were with him, and they discussed

the situation with Kolenc. He claims he first became

aware of the damage to Kerry Coal’s equipment on Jan-

uary 22, 1978 when on that afternoon Short called to tell

him of Vernon Kerry’s accusations. Taylor also called

Ashton, who lived nearby, to find out what he knew

about it, but was unable to find out anything.

B. The Union’s Defense on Liability

Samuel Church, formerly Executive Assistant to

International President Miller and Vice President of the

International after December 22, 1977, was in active

charge of the day-to-day operations of the International

after President Miller suffered a stroke in July of 1977.

He described the extensive negotiations which started in

early October 1977 and lasted until March 16, 1978. He

denied any personal knowledge of violence in the Dis-

trict’s area, saying that he first learned about it when

he came to a District rally held in Soldiers and Sailors

Memorial Hall in Pittsburgh on January 30, 1978.

(T.1906) He said the strike began December 6, 1977

when there was no contract, in accordance with the

23a

Appendix A.

United Mine Workers’ tradition. While not knowing any-

thing about the violence, he did acknowledge having read

the telegram sent to all District Presidents after the Ten-

nessee injunction proceeding. He claimed he first learned

about the violence at Kerry Coal when he was informed

that an action had been filed and that he would have to

give a deposition. He denied any discussion at the Inter-

national level to try to shut down or disrupt the flow of

non-union coal, claiming that if all coal was stopped, it

would then have been a national problem which could be

remedied under a Taft Hartley injunction. The Inter-

national did not want that. Church did, however, ac-

knowledge that Jay Kolenc was an International Organ-

izer and that he had been paid by the International for

surveying non-union mines in Western Pennsylvania.

(T.1936) Church stated that the International’s Report

showed that in 1977 Kolenc was paid $20,002.36 in salary

and $15,952.05 for expenses, for a total of $35,954.51.

(T.1943) The 1978 Report showed he was paid a total of

$43,255.79, the second highest amount in the group of 40

employees of the International. He admitted that under

the Constitution of the United Mine Workers, the Inter-

national Executive Board would have the power to re-

move, or to suspend and/or limit the autonomy of a local

union that was not carrying out its legitimate objectives,

including imposition of trusteeships on the Districts, but

said that no investigation was carried out with respect to

the District’s activities during the strike. Despite letters

being sent to the International Headquarters, Church

said no action was taken to insure there would be no

United Mine Worker violence at the non-union mines.

(T.1990)

24a

Appendix A.

III. PLEADINGS

The Amended Complaint filed February 13, 1978,

after alleging jurisdiction and identifying the parties,

set forth in Count I a cause of action under Section 303

of the Labor Management Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. §187,

in that the Defendants, acting in concert, committed an

unfair labor practice, a violation of Section 8(b) (4), 29

U.S.C. 8158 (b) (4), by forcing Kerry Coal to cease doing

business.

Count II was a claim for exemplary and punitive

damages for the Defendants’ “wanton and wilful” viola-

tions of Section 8(b) (4), 29 U.S.C. §158(b) (4). By

order dated June 25, 1979 (with stipulation of counsel) ,

all Individual Defendants were granted summary judg-

ment as to Counts I and II. The Court granted a directed

verdict for the International and the District on Count

II, at the close of the Plaintiff's case.

Count III alleged a cause under 42 U.S.C. $1985, in

that the Defendants illegally interfered with the Plain-

tiff’s rights to be free from unfair labor practices. By

opinion and order of August 10, 1978, Defendants Ash-

ton, Beachem and Short were granted judgment on the

pleadings on Count III. By order dated June 25, 1979,

Defendants Miller, Antal and Taylor were granted sum-

mary judgment as to Count III for the reasons given

in our opinion of August 10, 1978. The Court granted a

directed verdict in favor of the International and the

District on Count III at the close of the Plaintiff's case.

Count IV was a pendent state law claim for violent

and tortious interference with existing contracts and

existing and prospective business relationships between

Kerry Coal and others with whom it did or would do

25a

Appendix 4.

business, The Court granted a directed verdict in favor

of Defendant Miller on Count IV at the close of the

Plaintiff's case, and granted a directed verdict in favor

of Defendant Antal at the close of the case.

Count V alleged that Defendants interfered with the

Plaintiff and Plaintiff’s employees, and thereby inter-

fered with the rights of such employees to work at their

lawful vocation. The Court granted a directed verdict in

favor of all Defendants on Count V at the close of the

Plaintiff’s case.

Count VI was a claim for exemplary and punitive

damages for Defendant’s wanton and wilfull [sic] inter-

ference with Plaintiff's contractual relationships. The

Court granted a directed verdict in favor of Defendant

Miller on Count VI at the close of the Plaintiff's case. The

Court, in effect, granted a directed verdict in favor of

Defendant Antal on Count VI when it directed a verdict

in his favor on Count IV.

IV. APPLICABLE LAW

A. Judgment Notwithstanding the Verdict

A judgment notwithstanding the verdict under Fed-

eral Rule of Civil Procedure 50(b) is properly granted

if, without weighing the credibility of the evidence, there

can be only one reasonable conclusion as to the proper

judgment, and it is contrary to the verdict. See Thomas

v. E. J. Korvette, Inc., 476 F.2d 471, 474 (3rd Cir, 1973);

Carpenter v. Koehring Oo., 391 F.Supp. 206, 208 (E. D. Pa.

1975), aff'd 527 F. 2d 644 (3rd Cir. 1976). The court, as a

matter of law, must determine whether the evidence was

sufficient to create an issue of fact for the jury, and in

26a

Appendix 4.

doing so, the court may not weigh the evidence, pass on

the credibility of witnesses, or substitute its own judg-

ment of facts for that of the jury. Wright & Miller,

Federal Practice d Procedure; Civil §2524 at 541-544.

The evidence must be viewed in the light most favorable

to the party securing the verdict, and all inferences must

be drawn in that party’s favor. Monsen v. Consolidated

Dressed Beef Co., Inc., 579 F.2d 793, 796 (3rd Cir. 1978) ;

Thomas v. E. J. Korvette, Inc., supra, The jury verdict

may be overturned only where the facts and all infer-

ences would not permit a reasonable man to come to the

conclusion reached by the jury. Marder v. Conwed Corp.,

75 F.R.D. 48, 54 (E. D. Pa. 1977).

B. NEw TRIAL

The court has considerable discretion under Federal

Rule of Civil Procedure 59 to order a new trial to pre-

vent a perceived miscarriage of justice, and there are

many possible grounds for such a decision. See generally

6A Moore’s Federal Practice {159.08 (2d ed. 1979). A

motion for new trial imposes the duty on the court to

insure that the verdict was not influenced by partiality

or prejudice, and that there is no miscarriage of justice.

University Marketing d Consulting, Inc. v. The Hartford

Life d Accident Co., 413 F.Supp. 1250, 1262 (E. D. Pa.

1976) ; Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Au-

thority v. Transit Casualty Co., 412 F.Supp. 839, 842

(E.D.Pa. 1976). However, the court must not interfere

with the verdict unless it is quite clear that the result

reached by the jury was seriously erroneous. The credi-

bility of witnesses is a matter for the jury, and a new

trial may not be granted merely because the evidence is

sharply in conflict, Barrett v. Robinson, 65 F.R.D. 652

(E. D. Pa. 1975), or because the jury could have drawn

27

Appendiæ A.

different inferences or conclusions. Gregory v. South

Hills Movers, Inc., 477 F.Supp. 484, 487 (W. D. Pa. 1979).

In a case such as the one presently before us, it is the

function of the jury to determine the credibility of the

witnesses, that is, what testimony is to be believed. See

Lind v. Schenley Industries, Inc., 278 F.2d 79 (3rd Cir.),

cert. denied 364 U.S. 835, 81 S.Ct. 58, 5 L.Ed.2d 60

(1960).

In deciding a motion for a new trial, the court must

insure that there is no miscarriage of justice, but at the

same time, it must respect a plausible jury verdict. This

necessarily involves a commonsense determination, such

as that articulated by Wright and Miller: “If, having

given full respect to the jury’s finding, the judge on the

entire evidence is left with the definite and firm convic-

tion that a mistake has been committed, it is to be ex-

pected that he will grant a new trial.” Wright & Miller,

Federal Practice & Procedure: Civil 52806 at 49.

Furthermore, 2 new trial should not be granted on

the basis of asserted errors which, in the circumstances,

were not prejudicial. See F.R.Civ.P. 61. Given these well-

known general principles, we turn to the contentions of

the Defendants.

V. THE MOTIONS

A. The Procedural Problem

In its Motion for Directed Verdict, made at the close

of the evidence, the International asserted two grounds

under Count I:

(1) There was no evidence the International

coerced or restrained any person, or induced or en-

couraged any individual employed by any person to

engage in a strike or cease doing business.

Appendix A.

(2) There was no evidence the International

ever engaged in such activity with an object thereof

to force any person to cease doing business with any

other person. (T.2287)

The Motion for Directed Verdict as to Count IV was

based on the grounds that:

(1) There was no evidence pertaining to any

violent acts.

(2) There was no proof of authorization by

the International. (T.2290-91)

Although the International asserted fourteen

grounds in its Motion for Judgment Notwithstanding

the Verdict filed after the trial, such a Motion may be

based only upon the grounds included in its original

Motion for Directed Verdict. See C. Albert Sauter Co. v.

Richard 8. Sauter Co., 368 F.Supp. 501 (E.D.Pa. 1973) ;

Lewis v. Mears, 189 F.Supp. 503, 509 (W.D.Pa. 1960),

aff'd 297 F.2d 101 (3rd Cir. 1961), cert. denied 369 U.S.

873, 82 S.Ct. 1142, 8 L.Ed.2d 276 (1962); 5A Moore's

Federal Practice 50.08 at 50-86 (2d ed. 1979). See also

Lowenstein v. Pepsi Cola Bottling Co., 536 F.2d 9 (3rd

Cir.), cert. denied 429 U.S. 966, 97 S.Ct. 396, 50 L.Ed.2d

334 (1976) ; Dudding v. Thorpe, 47 F.R.D. 565 (W. D. Pa.

1969).

Further, on January 14, 1980, more than three

months after the verdict and the entry of judgment,

Defendants International and District filed a Supple-

mental Motion for New Trial asserting four additional

grounds. This procedure was unavailing to the Movants

for this Court may not consider grounds belatedly as-

serted. Arkwright Mutual Insurance Co. v. Philadelphia

Electric Co., 427 F.2d 1273 (3rd Cir. 1970); Massaro

29a

Appendix A.

v. United States Lines Co., 307 F.2d 299, 303 (3rd Cir.

1962); Russell v. Monongahela Railroad Co., 262 F.2d

349, 354 (3rd Cir. 1958). The district court is without

authority to grant a new trial for reasons assigned after

the mandatory ten day period under F.R.Civ.P. 59(b).

However, none of the reasons assigned have merit, as

we will later discuss.

B. The International’s Motions

The International first argues that the only evi-

dence against it related to the activities of International

Organizer Jay Kolenc, and that these activities were

insufficient on which to base liability. It points to the

express instructions to Kolenc to “remain on (his)

present assignment”, which did not include establishing

or participating in a picket line. It contends that if

Kolenc was merely an employee of the International, the

evidence would be insufficient to support the verdict

since Kolenc would have been acting outside the scope

of his authority.

Kerry Coal, however, contends there was sufficient

evidence upon which the jury could base a finding of

liability. They point to the fact that Kolenc was em-

ployed by the International and was sent into the West-

ern Pennsylvania area to assist or to take over for

Thomas Pysell. (P.Ex.49) He was in constant contact

with District Executive Board Member Estel Taylor, and

was the person making the decision to establish the

picket line at the Kerry Coal site. Kolenc came to Ash-

ton’s home, advised Ashton on establishing a picket line

at Kerry Coal (T.1851), and directed Taylor to call

Ashton to finalize plans for picketing. The plans for es-

tablishing the picket line at the rail siding where Kerry

30a

Appendix A.

Coal’s equipment was later destroyed were finalized at

the meeting at Felix’s Bar which Kolenc attended.

Kolenc was at the picket line on several occasions when

Plaintiff’s employees were threatened and violence oc-

curred. More importantly, on January 20, 1978, two days

before Kerry Coal’s heavy mining equipment was de-

stroyed, Taylor, Short and other union members again

surveyed the Kerry Coal sites and, immediately there-

after, they met with Kolenc. During the evening of the

next day, the damage was done to the equipment at the

Kerry Coal site. Kolenc left the area a few hours before

Kerry Coal’s mining equipment was destroyed. (T. 1994)

Kerry Coal contends Kolenc’s connection with the inci-

dent is a matter for the jury to determine.

In our view, Kolenc’s activities could be the basis

for the International’s responsibility when and if they

were committed within the scope of his general au-

thority, whether or not they were specifically authorized

or ratified. This is consistent with Section 301(b) and

(e) of the Labor Management Relations Act, 29 U.S.C.

§185(b) and (e), which provides in pertinent part:

“(b) Any labor organization .. shall be bound by

the acts of its agents.

* * *

(e) For the purpose of this section in determining

whether any person is acting as an agent' of

another person so as to make such person re-

sponsible for his acts, the question of whether

the specific acts performed were actually au-

thorized or subsequently ratified shall not be

controlling.“ ꝰ

9. We note the Supreme Court's discussion in

Carbon Fuel Co. v. United Mine Workers of America,

3la

Appendix A.

Thus, in White Oak Coal Co. v. UMW, 318 F.2d 591,

508 (6th Cir. 1963), cert. denied 375 U.S. 966, 84 S.Ct.

484, 11 L.Ed.2d 415 (1964), it is stated:

“The Union was responsible for the acts of

their representatives only if the latter were engaged

within the scope of their employment or authority;

but actual authorization of specific acts was un-

necessary.”

See Vulcan Materials Co. v. United Steelworkers, 430

F.2d 446, 457 (5th Cir. 1970), cert. denied 401 U.S. 963

(1971) ; UMW v. Osborne Mining Co. 279 F.2d 716 (6th

Cir.), cert. denied 364 U.S. 881, 81 S.Ct. 169, 5 L. Ed. 2d

103 (1960).

Kolenc could be found to have exhibited a pattern

of conduct in direct cooperation with Estel Taylor, Dis-

trict Executive Board Member, and, if they were acting

in concert, they are responsible for each other’s conduct

and the conduct of each other’s agents. See Vulcan Ma-

terials Co. v. United Steelworkers, supra. Whether

Kolenc was acting within the scope of his employment

was a question for the jury to determine, and the Court

so instructed the jury. 10 See Chuy v. Philadelphia

— US. ——, 62 L.Ed.2d 394, 399 n.6 (1979), where

the court noted: “Congress applied to unions the com-

mon-law doctrine of — 2 superior rather than

the more restrictive test of union 2 under

§6 of the Norris-La Guardia Act, which requires ‘clear

proof of actual participation in, or actual authorization

of such acts, or of ratification of such acts after actual

= thereof.’ 29 U.S.C. 8106 (emphasis sup-

p ”

10. Although the duties of Kolenc were never ex-

— explained, we believe the jury could reasonably

ave found that part of his duties included the organ-

izing of pickets and other activity against non-union

mines during the strike.

32a

Appendix A.

Eagles Football Club, 595 F.2d 1265, 1276 (3rd Cir.

1979) (en banc). No exception was taken to the Court’s

charge on this matter.

Our case is very different from Carbon Fuel Co. v.

United Mine Workers of America, —— U.S. ——, 62

L.Ed.2d 394 (1979), where local labor unions engaged

in an [sic] number of unauthorized or “wildcat” strikes

at petitioner-employer’s coal mines in violation of a col-

lective bargaining agreement between petitioner and the

respondent international union. The court held that the

international and district had no obligation under the

maintenance of the integrity of the contract clause to

use reasonable means to prevent and end unauthorized

strikes because, the Court said, Congress had limited

the union’s responsibility to cases where the union may

be found liable according to the common law rule of

agency. In the instant case, there was evidence of Ko-

lenc’s extensive and active participation in, and leader-

ship of, the illegal activity. Therefore, Carbon Fuel does

not support the Defendants’ Motion for Judgment Not-

withstanding the Verdict in this case.

Buckeye Power, Inc. v. Utility Workers Union of

America, 607 F.2d 759 (6th Cir. 1979), is also inapplic-

able. There, a representative of the national union was

present at the scene of the strike on the first day of the

walkout, and the only evidence of his involvement was

that he warned the local union that picketing of the

gates was prohibited. This was found to be insufficient

evidence of actual involvement and control. The limited

involvement by the national’s agent in Buckeye is in

sharp contrast to the role played by Kolenc in the in-

stant case.

33a

Appendix A.

We believe there was sufficient evidence for the jury

to have concluded that the International, through the

actions of its Organizer Jay Kolenc, induced or en-

couraged the employees of Kerry Coal, or of the rail-

road, or the trucking companies to refuse to process,

transport or handle Kerry coal with an object thereof

to force Kerry Coal to cease doing business, or to force

the trucking companies or the railroad to cease process-

ing, handling, or transporting Kerry coal.

Count IV, the pendent state claim, was based on

tortious interference with a contractual relationship,

and thus, under Section 6 of the Norris-LaGuardia Act,

29 U.S.C. §106, clear proof of actual participation or

actual authorization of violent acts was required, and

the jury was so instructed. The International argued

in its Motion for Directed Verdict at the close of evi-

dence that there was no proof of violence and no proof

of International authorization. However, the testimony

did indicate that threats, obscene gestures, and intimi-

dation occurred on the picket line (T.345), and on Janu-

ary 20, 1978, one day before the Kerry Coal equipment

was destroyed, Kolenc met with Estel Taylor and other

union members. This was a sufficient basis from which

the jury could draw the inference that Kolenc was ac-

tively involved in both violent activities on the picket

line, as well as in the actual planning of the destruc-

tion of the Kerry Coal equipment. Kolenc did not deny

his activity.

C. District’s Motion for Judgment Notwithstanding

the Verdict

At the close of the evidence, the District moved for

a directed verdict. Under Count I they claimed there

34a

Appendix A.

was no evidence the District coerced or restrained any

person, or induced or encouraged any individual em-

ployed by any person to engage in a strike or cease doing

business, or engaged in such an activity with an object

to force any person to cease doing business with any

other person. As to Count IV, the District claimed that

there was no evidence of violence on its part. The over-

whelming evidence however indicated that the District,

with the know-how provided by the International Organ-

izers, planned and implemented the campaign to inter-

fere with the production and sale of non-union coal dur-

ing the strike, including Kerry coal, and that Kerry

Coal’s damages resulted therefrom.

It was District President Antal who wrote the let-

ter to all non-union operators charging that they failed

to meet wage and benefits standards. It was also Antal

who directed the distribution of picketing instructions

to District members, which stated that they were to

picket “only where an authorized representative of the

United Mine Workers of America has directed you to

perform your picket duties. You are there to publicize

the fact that this coal mine operation is destroying area

standards by paying substandard wages and benefits.”

The District authorized payments for picket duty at non-

union operations and paid the pickets some $40,000. De-

fendant Executive Board Member Estel Taylor was as-

signed responsibility for strike activity in the area of

Kerry Coal’s mining sites; he discussed with Kolenc and

Ashton, Kerry Coal’s operation and their intent to stop

the movement of coal by Kerry. The District furnished

pickets with picket signs, and District Officers directed

the attack on Kerry Coal’s operation. Taylor ordered

the picket line to be manned on a 24-hour basis and was

present on the picket line when a coal train was stopped.

35a

Appendix A.

Taylor signed and approved vouchers for “scouting”.

Nails were thrown across the entrances to Kerry Coal

sites; Kerry Coal’s employees, truck drivers, and cus-

tomers were harassed; United Mine Worker members,

paid by the District, mobbed Kerry Coal’s tipple and

ordered Vernon Kerry to cease hauling coal which

brought about the closing of the Kerry Coal operations.

Kerry Coal’s equipment was destroyed in the early

morning hours, just as Ashton and Beachem had threat-

ened. Short’s car tracks were seen in the snow on the

morning of the day the damage was done; Short did

not deny having been involved but only states that he

did not think he had been seen. Violence and threats by

United Mine Worker members prevented Kerry Coal

from shipping to its customer, St. Joe Mineral; again,

the pickets there were paid by the District, and these

pickets destroyed Kerry Coal’s trucks. The evidence in-

deed was strong against the District as to its responsi-

bility for the picketing and violence in the area.

D. Estel Taylor’s Motion

Estel Taylor moved for a directed verdict at the

close of the evidence contending that under Count IV

there was insufficient evidence to show clear proof of

participation in violent acts directed at Kerry Coal

which were a substantial factor in causing the damage

claimed. We have previously discussed Taylor’s partici-

pation in connection with the District’s Motion. The

jury could have found sufficient evidence of Taylor’s

involvement in violence through his actions in planning

and establishing the picket line, by his signing and ap-

proving vouchers for scouting activities, and by his

contact with Kolenc and Short prior to the destruction

of the Kerry Coal equipment.

36a

Appendix A.

E. Ashton and Short’s Motion

In their Motion for Directed Verdict, Defendants

Ashton and Short contended there was no proof es-

tablished as to their participation in violent acts. As to

Ashton, the evidence showed he lived near the Kerry

Coal’s Franklin Township site, and that he urged

Kerry’s employees to cease working. Later, concerned

with Kerry’s continuing operations, Ashton and his

friend Beachem sought to prevent Kerry’s operations

and stopped a truck hauling Kerry coal, telling the

driver he should advise his employer that, as a sensible

man, he should immediately cease hauling. (T.1536-37)

Whether this constituted a threat was a matter for the

jury to determine.

On the same day, Ashton and Beachem confronted

Vernon Kerry and threatened if he did not shut down,

they would make a phone call and bring in 200 men “to

wreck [his] equipment”. (T.562) Ashton contacted

Kolenc, the International Organizer, and, within a

month, the Kerry Coal equipment was destroyed. Late

in December 1977, Ashton himself began to picket the

Kerry Coal rail siding, and the picket line which Kolenc,

Taylor and Ashton had established was characterized

by violence and intimidation. Ashton remained in close

contact with Taylor, and Taylor phoned Ashton on Janu-

ary 20, 1978, after the surveillance of Kerry Coal’s

Franklin Township site and the meeting with Kolenc.

At 7:18 P.M. on January 21st, Taylor again phoned

Ashton and later that evening the mining equipment

located just below Ashton’s house was substantially

destroyed. Ashton maintained that he was asleep until

11 A.M. on Sunday, but the telephone records showed

that Taylor spoke with Ashton about 9:26 A.M., after

37a

Appendix A.

the damage had been done. With this evidence, the jury

could well have determined that Ashton employed vio-

lence and intimidation to tortiously interfere with

Kerry Coal’s contractual and business relationships, and

his credibility was sorely tested.

As to Short, the evidence indicated he met with

Taylor, Ashton and Kolenc to plan the picketing. He

followed coal trucks and conducted surveillance at the

Kerry Coal operation. He confronted Vernon Kerry with

the threat of physical violence if Kerry continued to

operate, and he was with Taylor during the surveillance

of the Franklin Township site on the morning of Janu-

ary 20th and was present at the meeting with Interna-

tional Organizer Kolenc several hours later.

It was finding the tracks of Short’s Ram Charger

encased in the fresh snow that led Vernon Kerry to ac-

cuse Short of having been seen at the site of the dam-

aged Kerry equipment, to which Short replied only I

don’t think so.” There was no denial of being involved

and, instead, after Kerry confirmed that the tracks he

saw belonged to Short’s vehicle, Short later removed

and retreaded the tires. Again, a jury could reasonably

have found from this evidence that Short had been in-

volved in tortious and violent interference with Kerry

Coal’s business relationships.

VI. THE DAMAGE AWARD

A. Plaintiff’s Method of Calculation

Kerry’s expert accounting witness, James R. Kil-

zer, a certified public accountant, of the independent

accounting firm of Price Waterhouse (“P. W.“), holds a

Masters Degree in Business Administration from the

University of Pittsburgh and had four years prior ex-

38a

Appendix A.

perience as a Cost Analyst for the United States Steel

Corporation. Kilzer testified he reviewed Kerry Coal’s

books and records and determined four types of damage

suffered, i.e., (1) lost profits from business interrup-

tions, (2) excess labor costs incurred, (3) lost interest

income on profits, and (4) out-of-pocket expenses from

the picketing.

As to lost profits—surface mining, a base period

of February 1978 (except the Ist and 27th) was con-

sidered representative. Kilzer determined from produc-

tion and sales records the tonnage Kerry Coal could have

produced and sold over the strike period (T. 1694); the

two days (February 1 and 27) were excluded because

of the low level of activity on those days. He calculated

the profit per ton by determining the “customer mix”

(T.1696), i. e., a breakdown of the sales for each cus-

tomer as the prices per ton varied (T.1698), to which

was applied the cost of production as accumulated from

the most recent cost records (to September 30, 1977).

The final calculation then was the total estimated sales

tonnage for the period of the strike, less the amount

of tons sold; the customer mix was applied and the lost

profit calculated, customer by customer; the lost profits

per customer were added to total the lost profits-surface

mining.

As to lost profits—auger mining (mining by auger

from face of coal done by contractors), since there was

no augering in February 1978, a base period of the year

before was used (to October 31, 1977). The calculation

again was made of lost auger sales tonnage during the

strike period against which was applied a cost figure

to arrive at lost profit-auger. The month of December

1977 was not included for augering was not scheduled

then.

39a

Appendix A.

Lost man hours was equated to excess labor cost

incurred by Kerry Coal during the strike period, i. e.,

labor not utilized for productive purposes. Kilzer com-

pared the normal labor cost per ton with the labor cost

per ton during the strike. The excess labor cost per ton

was multiplied by the number of tons produced during

the strike.

Lost interest income was calculated from the

amount of money Kerry Coal would have earned on the

profits prevented by the strike. Kilzer used the experi-

enced interest rate applied to profits as if received even-

ly over the period.

Out-of-pocket expenses included expenses for equip-

ment repairs, calculated by adding the invoices for cer-

tain replacement equipment and repairs, and the costs

of security guards and attorney fees for obtaining a

state court injunction.

The damages then developed were as follows:

Lost Profits—Surface Mining $ 661,167

Lost Profits Auger 186,305

Lost Man Hours 152,631

Lost Interest Income (to 5/1/79)

($28,000 more to 10/1/79) ........ 90,963

Equipment Repairs .................0ccce 6,739

eee essen ese 3,173

—— . $1,100,978

The basis of the testimony was that all the coal

Kerry Coal could produce would have been sold, and

the calculation was made “using the best means avail-

able to make the calculations.” (T. 1755)

40a

Appendix A.

B. Defendants’ Damage Testimony

Defendants called Farrell Rubenstein as their ex-

pert witness. Mr. Rubenstein had been an accounting

partner of Bachrach, Sanderbeck & Company from 1962

to 1970, at which time the company merged into Touche

Ross & Company. Mr. Rubenstein became a member of

its National Board of Directors. He reviewed the report

and the documentation of Kerry Coal.

Mr. Rubenstein opined that P.W. had insufficient

documents on which to base a valid opinion (T.2056) ;

he felt he needed financial statements which would pro-

vide production costs during the months following the

fiscal year ending September 30, 1977. (T.2128) ; and he

wanted sales history by customer for three years; he

faulted the assumption that February 1978 was a proper

base month and claimed it was improper to apply costs

for a different period (Kilzer said he used a different

period because they were the most recent cost figures

available). Rubenstein disagreed with the assumption

that augering would have been done in January, Feb-

ruary and March, and contended P.W. used the wrong

comparative figures.

He concluded that P.W.’s calculations were mathe-

matically correct (T.2143), but that the back-up for the

figures were not available since P.W. did not have them

either. He concluded the use of February as the base

month was solely to enhance the damages, (T.2145)

As to lost man hours, Rubenstein objected to the

calculations used of average cost per ton based on the

year before instead of the cost in February 1978, which

was an unimpaired month. And, as to the non-productive

man hours, he objected on the basis that back-filling,

41a

Appendiæ 4.

one of the non- productive operations performed by

Kerry Coal's employees during the strike, is a non- pro-

auctive cost which was not properly credited. (T. 2161).

In addition, he claimed that the period immediately prior

to the strike was a high activity period when customers

were building inventories, and that February was the

next period of stockpiling. Thus, Kerry Coal could not

have maintained its February sales through the period.

Finally, he concluded that no ultimate conclusion could

be made as to damages from P.W.’s Report. (T.2180)

C. The Court’s Review

The jury could well have found that Kerry Coal was

forced to close its mining operations in December 1977

because of United Mine Worker violence in the area.

Kerry Coal’s employees were later intimidated, trains

stopped, truckers harassed, land owners “talked to”, and,

finally, Kerry Coal’s mining equipment so badly damaged

that production was seriously affected. Once the Plain-

tiff established that its business and property were dam-

aged, it is not necessary to prove the exact amount of

the damage suffered. It is sufficient if the evidence sup-

ports a just and reasonable approximation. Thus, in

Sheet Metal Workers International Association, Local

223 v. Atlas Sheet Metal Co., 384 F.2d 101, 109 (5th Cir.

1967), it is stated:

“Section 303 of the NLRA, 29 U.S.C. 5187, per-

mits any person injured in his business or property

as a result of a Section 8(b) (4) violation to bring

suit to recover the damages he has sustained plus

the costs of suit. The statute is compensatory in

nature., and damages may only be recovered for

actual losses sustained as the result of the unlawful

42a

Appendix A.

secondary activity. While the employer must prove

that he has sustained some injury to his business or

property, he need not detail the exact amount of

damages suffered. It is sufficient if the evidence sup-

ports a just and reasonable approximation. Story

Parchment Co. v. Paterson Parchment Paper Co.,

282 U.S. 555, 51 S.Ct. 248, 75 L.Ed. 544 (1931).”

Kerry Coal succeeded in proving that it was, in fact,

damaged as a result of the Defendant’s conduct. The

testimony of its accountant from P.W. supported its

theory of lost profit damage. Given the testimony con-

cerning high demand for coal throughout the strike

period and Kerry Coal’s use of its actual sales data in

computing lost profits, the P.W. damage testimony was

entirely proper.

Plaintiff's P.W. expert testified to the selection of

February 1978 as the base period, giving a very detailed

explanation of his reasons for so doing. He calculated

the losses as $1,100,978, and said his figure was conserva-

tive, not including $28,000 interest to date of trial. We

cannot see in this calculation where there is any serious-

ly erroneous result reached by the jury. Defendants con-

tend that the Kerry Coal damage is dependent upon an

express finding of business interruption during every day

of the strike. But Kerry Coal’s theory of damages was

based on a course of conduct which was to cause a de-

crease in the level of monetary return. Whether the

damages were attributable to customer decisions to can-

cel or curtail orders in the face of widespread United

Mine Worker violence and intimidation would not lessen

Kerry Coal’s right of recovery. Kerry Coal’s theory of

damages assumed only that it would have sold as much

coal during the strike period as it did during the Febru-

*

43a

Appendix A.

ary base period, if the Defendants had not interfered

with its operations. The validity of the base period was

a matter for the jury.

VII. THE SPECIAL ARGUMENTS

A. The Discovery Claims

This Court has carefully reviewed Defendants’ con-

tention that the Court prevented them from inquiring

into the substance of Kerry Coal’s damage claims during

discovery. We find this argument to be without merit.

Plaintiff, on March 5, 1978, filed a comprehensive

statement of monetary damage, including a six-page

letter from its damage expert relating to the methodol-

ogy used in calculating damages and a 13-page docu-

ment detailing the calculation. Defendants were thus

apprised of the nature of the monetary damage claimed

by Kerry Coal substantially prior to trial. Further, Plain-

tiff made available to Defendants’ counsel on April 5,

1978 all the business records intended to be marked

exhibits. On May 10, 1978, this Court heard argument on

Defendants’ Motion to Exclude certain of these business

records at trial which Kerry Coal had not produced. Over

the Plaintiff’s objections, this Court ordered Kerry Coal

to produce all documents reviewed by its expert witness.

These were thereupon produced. Thus, the Court went

the full distance required by the law to compel, prior to

trial, the complete disclosure of the methodology and

calculations of Kerry Coal which the Defendants could be

expected to meet at trial.

B. The Evidentiary Rulings

The Defendants contend that the Court erred in

permitting District Executive Board Member Steve

442

Appendiæ A.

Segedi to testify that the District was instrumental in

securing payment for arrested District members.

The evidence showed that Segedi was aware of the

arrest of his friend, Gerald Filla, for dumping trucks

loaded with non-union coal. Filla advised Segedi that he

had been fined and Segedi sent him to Michael Encra-

pera, the Administrator of the CMLDF, and instructed

Encrapera to make a check payable to Anna Shriner to

cover Filla’s fine. Segedi admitted approving vouchers

to reimburse Filla for following coal trucks going to a

zinc works in Burlington; this is where Filla was ar-

rested. The proof was relevant to the relation between

the District and the CMLDF, which was used to pay

Filla’s fine at Segedi’s direction. It was also admissible

as ratification of specific acts of strike violence.

The Defendants contend that the Court erred in

admitting Plaintiff’s Exhibits 70 and 71. Plaintiff’s Ex-

hibit 71 is a letter, dated January 31, 1978, from the

General Counsel of the National Labor Relations Board,

John Irving, to Harrison Combs, General Counsel of the

International, alleging involvement of the International

Executive Board members, agents and employees in il-

legal activity at non-union mines. Sam Church, the Vice

President of the International, and the man in charge of

the day-to-day operations of the union, denied ever see-

ing this letter, but the authenticity of the letter had been

admitted and the only objection related to relevancy.

Clearly, the letter was relevant. Plaintiff’s Exhibit 70 was

also a letter, dated February 2, 1978, from Willard

Owens, Associate General Counsel of the International

to John Irving. Both of these letters related to the activi-

ties of the International and the International’s knowl-

edge with respect to activities being conducted against

45a

Appendi A.

non-union mines during the strike. Sam Church, as noted,

on behalf of the International, denied any such knowl-

edge, as had District President Anta! before him. At this

point, the Court ruled they were relevant to the deter-

mination of that issue. Since both bore direct relation-

ship to knowledge by the chief administrative officers of

each, these exhibits were used to impeach the credibility

of these assertions. Accordingly, the Court did not err in

admitting into evidence Plaintiff's Exhibits 70 and 71.

C. The Veon Coal Company Incident

Defendants allege error in permitting cross exam-

ination of Estel Taylor as to his knowledge of violence

at Veon Coal Company, a competitor of Kerry Coal. The

questioning was permitted after Vernon Kerry had testi-

fied that he had heard about violence at a competitor's

operation, to show his frame of mind concerning the

necessity of closing his own operations. (T.337) The

examination of Estel Taylor was not assuming the facts

of any violence, but was simply to show that he had

heard of this violence as well, so that it was not just a

figment of Vernon Kerry’s imagination, The Defendants

cannot possibly assert that admission of this evidence

was “to instill in the jury’s mind the fact that the equip-

ment at Veon was destroyed.” The evidence was rele-

vant to the testimony of Vernon Kerry, and the necessity

of the December work stoppage.

D. The International’s LM-2 Report

The International argues that it was error to admit

into evidence the International’s Labor Management

Year End Report which showed a contingency litigation

fund of $8,000,000. In the first place, the Report was ad-

mitted into evidence without objection (T.1938) and

46a

Appendia A.

cross examination of Sam Church with respect thereto

was done without objection. Furthermore, this fund was

established early in 1977, before the strike began and

was relevant to the relationship of the International to

the expected activities of its members.

E. The Testimony that Plaintiff’s Employees

were Afraid

Defendants have alleged that the Court erred in

overruling their objection to Vernon Kerry’s testimony

that his employees were afraid; counsel objected to testi-

mony as to the emotional or mental state of people that

were not at trial to testify. The contention is that there

was no exception to the hearsay rule which would permit

such testimony. However, Vernon Kerry was testifying

concerning his own observations of the physical and

mental condition of his employees, based upon his first-

hand knowledge of how they were acting. This is clearly

not hearsay. Sunderland v. Pittsburgh d Lake Erie Rail-

road, 344 F.2d 960, 961 (3rd Cir. 1965) (per curiam) ;

see also Cole v. United States, 327 F.2d 360, 361 (9th Cir.

1964). Thus, Vernon Kerry’s testimony was admissible.

F. The Court’s Participation in Interrogation

of Certain Witnesses

Under Fed. R. Evid. 614(b), “the Court may interro-

gate witnesses, whether called by itself or by a party.”

The Court assiduously throughout this lengthy trial,

covering 16 days and with a transcript of 2636 pages,

interjected questions where it considered that matters

were not clear to the jury. An examination of the record,

we believe, will indicate no such questioning as is claimed

by the Defendants, The objection was made in regard to

questions asked of Brian Short after he had testified he

47a

Appendix 4.

had not been subject to anyone’s direction in setting up

the picket line, particularly from the District or the

International. Earlier, the Court had understood Short

to say, and understood Estel Taylor to say, that there

was no question that the District, through Taylor, had

ordered the picket line to be set up, and that it had been

done directly at District President Antal’s request and at

Taylor’s direction, and that they had ordered Short to

do it. While Short was on the stand and subject to cross

examination of counsel for the International, and in the

context as above set forth, the Court asked the following

questions (T.1333-34) :

“Court: Let me just ask, didn’t you say that the

picket line was set up, the formal picket line, on

directions of Mr. Taylor. Wasn’t it Mr. Taylor

that determined that the picket line should go

up?

Witness: Yes sir,

Court: Well, who is Mr. Taylor associated with?

What was his position?

Witness: Are you asking me, your Honor?

Court: Surely. You are the one that is on the wit-

ness stand,

Witness: OK. He is the District Board Member, sir.

Court: Where?

Witness: At District 5.

Court: Alright.[sic]”

The following discussion then took place between

the Court and Counsel for the International (T.1334-35) :

48a

Appendiæ A.

“Counsel: I don’t understand, your Honor. I never

asked him whether anybody from District 5

ever told him to picket or not. I asked him about

an International representative or anybody

from the International telling him to picket.

Court: And you also said District 5.

Counsel: Oh no, not with regard to picketing. I

asked him with regard to—

Court: Well, the jury will recall the testimony. It

will be for the jury to remember what the testi-

mony was.”

These questions were certainly proper in every re-

spect. They were necessary to bring out matters which

were important and which had not been sufficiently

touched on by counsel. See United States v. Stirone, 311

F.2d 277, 279 (3rd Cir. 1962), cert. denied 372 U.S. 935,

83 S.Ct. 881, 9 L.Ed.2d 66 (1963) ; United States v. Os-

tendorff, 371 F.2d 729, 732 (4th Cir.), cert. denied 386

U.S. 982, 87 S.Ct. 1286, 18 L.Ed.2d 229 (1967). In addi-

tion, this was apparently an afterthought since it was

not brought to the Court’s attention until the next day,

which, by the express terms of Fed.R.Evid. 614(c), was

untimely.

G. Plaintiff’s Counsel’s Closing Arguments

Plaintiff’s counsel had stated “The Veon Coal Com-

pany, right next to the Kerry Coal Company, was hit

with violence on December 12. We closed down December

13. Short was at Veon. Taylor was at Veon. We have to—

then they destroyed Veon’s equipment and he tells you

there’s no causal relation between us closing on the 13th

and what went on at Veon.” (T.2560) It is true, as

49a

Appendix A.

Kerry’s counsel argues, that he did not say that either

Short or Taylor were at Veon when the equipment was

destroyed. Counsel merely stated they had been at Veon,

and this is borne out by the record. Taylor admitted he

was present at Veon during the strike (T.798, 1293,

1366) and admitted he was aware of violence at Veon.

The contention that the Plaintiff’s closing gave a wrong

impression is of no merit.

H. Defendants’ Objections to the Special

Interrogatories

The International and the District argue that the

Court erred in submitting special interrogatories 1, 2, 4,

5, 7, 8, 10 and 11 to the jury, in failing to require the jury

to identify with whom it was the Defendants’ object to

force the Plaintiff to cease doing business. Objection on

these grounds was only obscurely raised during the dis-

cussion on the points for charge and it need not be con-

sidered now. See C. Albert Sauter Co. v. Richard 8.

Sauter Co., supra. Thus, in Chuy v. Philadelphia Eagles

Football Club, supra, the defendant, in a motion for new

trial, argued that the special interrogatories were mis-

leading and contained improper and inadequate instruc-

tions. The court held that this issue was not before it

because specific objections to the interrogatories were

not properly made prior to their submission to the jury.

In any event, the objections to the instant inter-

rogatories are wholly without merit. Interrogatory 1,

set forth previously, focused on whether or not the Inter-

national induced or encouraged the employees of Kerry

Coal, or of the trucking companies, or of the railroad to

refuse to process, transport or handle Kerry coal. In

Interrogatory 2, the jury was asked to determine

50a

Appendix A.

whether the object of that conduct was to force Kerry

Coal to cease doing business, or the trucking companies,

or the railroad to cease transporting or handling Kerry

coal, Interrogatories 4 and 5 asked similar questions as

to the District.

The Defendants’ objection assumes that the jury

could have found that the Defendants forced Kerry Coal

to cease doing business without finding that it could have

been forced to cease doing business with any other per-

son. Particularly in light of the Court’s instructions

(T.2587-89), confusion could not possibly have resulted

and the Defendants’ objections are groundless.

In this regard, we consider Ashton and Short’s con-

tention that the answers of the jury to the special inter-

rogatories were so inconsistent as to require the grant-

ing of a new trial. This issue was raised for the first time

in the Defendants’ Amended Motion for Judgment Not-

withstanding the Verdict or for New Trial and need not

be considered. See Arkwright Mutual Insurance Co. v.

Philadelphia Electric Co., supra. The Defendants argue

that the jury’s answer to Special Interrogatory 16A is

inconsistent with the other answers. The Court had in-

structed the jury (T.2610-11) that the damages awarded

in Interrogatory 13 under Count I should not be added

with the damages awarded under Count IV, in order to

come up with the answer to Interrogatory 16, saying:

“What you must find is the compensatory damage due

under each one.” The Defendants assume that the 1.2

million dollars are for damages which could not be

awarded under Count I. However, the jury’s answers to

the Special Interrogatories do not support that assump-

tion. The Special Interrogatories did not request the jury

to specify the type of damages, nor did Defendants Ash-

5la

Appendix A.

ton and Short request such a breakdown. Their assump-

tion that the jury, by awarding the same amount under

Count I and Count IV, awarded damages for non-violent

activity under Count IV is wholly at odds with the jury’s

answers to Special Interrogatory 15, The Defendants

admit that the jury’s answers are susceptible to different

interpretations. There is a perfectly consistent interpre-

tation that may be given to the answers as hereinabove

set forth.

I. Defendants Ashton and Short’s Objection to

Plaintiff's Exhibit 197A

Defendants Ashton and Short have objected to the

admission of Plaintiff’s Exhibit 197A (referred to by

their counsel as P-196) , a bill submitted by their counsel

to the District’s CMLDF. Relevance is questioned as

Michael Encrapera, the Fund’s Administrator, had testi-

fied that the CMLDF did not consist of the District’s

money; furthermore, even if the District was the source

of the funds, the evidence would not be relevant. These

Defendants also object to the admission of the bill as

being highly prejudicial, confusing or misleading. See

Fed.R.Evid. 403.

District President Antal testified that he had re-

quested his longtime friend and United Mine Worker

Member, Michael Encrapera, to establish the CMLDF in

anticipation of the strike. Much of the money sent di-

rectly to the District’s Strike Fund and to the Interna-

tional was diverted to the CMLDF. Antal and other Dis-

trict Board Members on occasion asked Encrapera to

“take care of” various problems which were encountered.

It was thus for the jury to decide if the CMLDF was a

separate fund, or if it was a method used by the District

52a

Appendiæ A.

to take care of the criminal fines of its members who got

into trouble. The payment of Ashton and Short’s legal

fees by the District aided the jury’s understanding of the

relationship of the District to the violence, particularly

in light of the fact that the CMLDF was set up before

the strike even began.

At trial, counsel never objected to the bill on the

grounds set forth in Fed.R.Evid. 403, but asserted that

the bill was not relevant to the facts in issue and was

subject to an attorney-client privilege. (T.128, 130) The

Defendants chose not to press objection to a bill paid by

a third party on the grounds of attorney-client privilege,

nor could they. There was thus no error in admitting the

bill.

J. The Apportionment of Damages

Defendants Ashton and Short contend that the

Court erred in refusing to apportion damages among the

Defendants. This issue as such was first raised in De-

fendants’ Amended Motion and would not need to be

considered by the C irt. Arkwright Mutual Insurance

Co. v. Philadelphia Electric Co., supra.

Prior to the charge of the Court, the parties were

advised of the charge and Ashton and Short vaguely ob-

jected because of the potential for joint and several

liability; however they did not propose any points for

charge with respect to the apportionment of damages.

See Frankel v. Burke’s Excavating, Inc., 269 F.Supp.

1007 (E. D. Pa. 1967), aff’d 397 F.2d 167 (3rd Cir. 1968)

(holding that alleged defects in special interrogatories

could not be the basis for a new trial when counsel had

not pointed out the alleged defect to the court).

53a

Appendiz A.

In any event, under Section 433(b), Restatement 2d

of Torts, it is provided:

“(1) Except as stated in Subsections (2) and

(3), the burden of proof that the tortious conduct

of the defendant has caused the harm to the plain-

tiff is upon the plaintiff.

(2) Where the tortious conduct of two or

more actors has combined to bring about harm to

the plaintiff, and one or more of the actors seeks to

limit his liability on the ground that the harm is

capable of apportionment among them, the burden

of proof as to the apportionment is upon each such

actor.

(3) Where the conduct of two or more actors

is tortious and it is proved that harm has been

caused to the plaintiff by only one of them, but there

is uncertainty as to which one has caused it, the

burden is upon such actor to prove that he has not

caused the harm.”

Section 433(b) has been adopted in Pennsylvania. Som-

mers v. Hessler, 227 Pa.Super. 41, 323 A.2d 17 (1974).

The jury apparently found that the Plaintiff had

established by clear proof participation in violent acts

by the Defendants Ashton and Short against Kerry Coal

which were a substantial factor in directly causing dam-

age. (Special Interrogatory 15) Defendants Ashton and

Short cannot now argue that the verdict against them

should be overturned because the damages were not ap-

portioned, when it was their burden to convince the jury

of the appropriateness of such apportionment and to

propose applicable jury instructions to the Court. This

they failed to do.

54a

Appendix A.

K. Plaintiff's Pendent Claims Against Ashton and Short

In their Amended Motion for Judgment Notwith-

standing the Verdict or New Trial, Defendants Ashton

and Short raised the ground that this Court abused its

discretion in exercising pendent jurisdiction over Plain-

tiff’s claims against them.

There was a substantial federal claim asserted

against the International and the District. The alleged

activities of the Individual Defendants, which formed

the basis of the pendent claim, were an integral part of

this substantial federal claim. Thus, consistent with

Aldinger v. Howard, 427 U.S. 1, 96 S.Ct. 2413, 49 L.Ed.2d

276 (1976) and UMW v. Gibbs, 383 U.S. 715, 86 S.Ct.

1130, 16 L.Ed.2d 218 (1966), we think the Court could

exercise pendent jurisdiction over the state claims

against the Individual Defendants arising out of a com-

mon nucleus of operative fact.

Furthermore, we think the Court properly exercised

its discretion in retaining jurisdiction over the pendent

state claims. Summary judgment was granted on the

Plaintiff's federal claims against Ashton and Short on

June 25, 1979, almost one and a half years after the filing

of the Plaintiff’s Complaint and just a couple of months

prior to trial. A review of the record clearly discloses

that Ashton and Short would have been called in this

action against the other Defendants, even if the Court

had dismissed the pendent claims against them. The

same facts would have been introduced into evidence and

in the interests of judicial economy and convenience, the

Court was warranted in exercising its pendent jurisdic-

tion. Trensok Pipeline Co. v. Darks, 565 F.2d 1150, 1154-

55 (10th Cir. 1977) cert. denied 435 U.S. 1006 (1978). See

also Boudreaux v. Puckett, 611 F.2d 1028 (5th Cir. 1980).

Appendiz A.

VIII. CONCLUSION

The Court has reviewed the Motions for Judgment

Notwithstanding the Verdict and has concluded that the

evidence was sufficient for the jury to reasonably find,

without resort to prejudice or guess, that illegal picket-

ing and violence in the coal fields in Western Pennsyl-

vania was brought about by the International and the

District, participated in by officials acting within the

scope of their employment, and by the Individual De-

fendants as determined by the jury. Therefore, the Mo-

tions for Judgment Notwithstanding the Verdict will be

denied.

We have also examined the Motions for New Trial

alleging that the verdict was against the evidence, and

in particular have concluded that the jury’s verdict was

not only permissible under the evidence, but was strong-

ly indicated thereby. In other words, there was no

seriously erroneous result when leaving to the jury the

determination of the credibility of the testimony, what

testimony was to be believed, and the inferences that it

56a

Appendix A.

should chose [sic] to deduce therefrom. Thus, the Mo-

tions of all Defendants for New Trial will be denied.

An appropriate Order will be entered.

DANIEL J. SNYDER, JR.

United States District Judge

Dated: March 25, 1980

ec: JOHN ELLIorr, Esq. and WILLIAM MILLER, Esq.

DILWORTH, PAXSON, KALISH, LEVY & COLEMAN

2600 Fidelity Bank Building

Philadelphia, Penna. 19109

LLOYD ENGLE, IR., Eso. and PAUL PusKAR, Esq.

KUHN, ENGLE & STEIN

1512 Frick Building

Pittsburgh, Penna. 15219

MELVIN VATZ, Esq.

728 Fifth Avenue

Pittsburgh, Penna. 15219

57a

Appendiæ B.

Appendix B

IN THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

KERRY COAL COMPANY, )

Plaintiff

V

UNITED MINE WORKERS OF AMERICA,

DisTRIcT No. 5 OF THE UNITED MINE Civil Action

WORKERS OF AMERICA, JERRY ASHTON, No

ESTEL TAYLOR, JAMES BEACHEM, BRIAN 78-108

SHORT, JOHN DoE, RICHARD ROE, and

all others acting in concert with them

or otherwise participating with them

or acting on their behalf,

Defendants |

TS

Order

AND Now, to-wit, this 25th day of March, 1980,

after hearing and due consideration of the briefs and

arguments of counsel, and for the reasons set forth in

the accompanying Opinion.

Ir Is ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED that the Mo-

tions of All Defendants for Judgment Notwithstanding

the Verdict and/or for New Trial be and the same are

hereby denied.

DANIEL J. SNYDER, JR.

United States District Judge

ec: JOHN ELLIOTT, Esq. and WILLIAM MILLER, Esq.

LLOYD ENGLE, Esq. and PAUL PuskAR, Esq.

MELVIN VATZ, Esq.

Appendix C.

Appendix C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 80-1733/4/5/6

KERRY COAL COMPANY,

v.

UNITED MINE WORKERS OF AMERICA, ARNOLD

MILLER, DISTRICT #5 of the United Mine Work-

ers of America, LOUIS A. ANTAL, JERRY

ASHTON, ESTEL TAYLOR, JAMES BEACHEM,

BRIAN SHORT, JOHN DOE, RICHARD ROE, and

all others acting in concert or otherwise participat-

ing with them or acting in their aid or behalf,

United Mine Workers of America,

Appellant in No. 80-1733

Estel Taylor,

Appellant in No. 80-1734

District 5, United Mine Workers of America,

Appellant in No. 80-1735

Jerry (Gary) Ashton, Brian Short, et al.

Appellants in No. 80-1736

(D.C. Civil No. 78-0108)

On APPEAL IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Argued October 14, 1980

Before: GIBBONS, ROSENN, Circuit Judges and

HANNUM* District Judge

(Opinion Filed January 8, 1981)

*Honorable John B. Hannum, United States District

Judge for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania, sitting

by designation.

Appendix C.

Harrison Combs, Esquire

General Counsel

United Mine Workers of America,

900 Fifteenth Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20005

Lloyd F. Engle, Jr., Esquire (Argued)

Paul M. Puskar, Esquire

Kuhn, Engle & Stein

1512 Frick Building

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15219

Attorneys for United Mine Workers

of America, Estel Taylor, District 5,

United Mine Workers of America,

Appellants in Nos. 80-1733/4/5

Melvin L. Vatz, Esquire ( Argued)

728 Fifth Avenue

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15219

Attorney for Jerry (Gary)

Ashton and Brian Short,

Appellants in No. 80-1735

John M. Elliott, Esquire (Argued)

Stephen C. Braverman, Esquire

Henry F. Siedzikowski, Esquire

Dilworth, Paxson, Kalish & Levy

2600 The Fidelity Building

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19109

Attorneys for Kerry Coal Company

Appendia O.

Opinion of the Court

Grssons, Circuit Judge.

This is an appeal from an order denying defendants’

motions for judgment notwithstanding the verdict or for

a new trial. The successful plaintiff is Kerry Coal Com-

pany (Kerry Coal), a non-union coal producer. The de-

fendants against which verdicts were returned are the

United Mine Workers of America (the International),

District No. 5 of the United Mine Workers of America

(District 5), Estel Taylor, Brian Short, and Jerry Ash-

ton. The trial court, using special verdict interroga-

tories, submitted three counts of a six count amended

complaint to the jury. One of those counts, seeking puni-

tive damages, resulted in a verdict for the defendants,

and is not before us. On Count I, in which Kerry Coal

sought damages pursuant to section 303 of the Labor

Management Relations Act of 1947 for violations of sec-

tion 8(b) (4) of that Act, the jury returned a verdict of

$1,200,000 against the International and District 5.1 On

1. Section 303 provides:

(a) It shall be unlawful, for the purpose of

this section only, in an industry or activity affect-

ing commerce, for any labor organization to engage

in any activity or conduct defined as an unfair labor

ractice in section 8(b) (4) of the National Labor

lations Act, as amended.

(b) Whoever shall be injured in his business

or property by reason of any violation of subsection

(ay may sue therefor in any district court of the

United States subject to the limitations and provi-

sions of section 301 hereof without respect to the

amount in controversy, or in any other court having

jurisdiction of the parties, and shall recover the

damages by him sustained and the cost of the suit.

29 U.S.C, §187 (1976).

61a

Appendix C.

Count IV, in which Kerry Coal sought damages under

Pennsylvania law for interference with its business and

contractual relationships, the jury returned a verdict in

the same amount against the International, District 5,

Taylor, Short, and Ashton. The district court refused to

set these verdicts aside. We affirm.

Footnote (continued)

Section 8(b) (4) provides:

(b) It shall be an unfair labor practice for a

labor organization or its agents—

(4) (i) to engage in, or to induce or en-

courage any individual employed by any per-

son engaged in commerce or in an industry af-

fecting commerce to engage in, a strike or a

refusal in the course of his employment to use,

manufacture, process, transport, or otherwise

handle or work on any s, articles, mate-

rials, or commodities or to perform any serv-

ices; or (ii) to threaten, coerce, or restrain any

person engaged in commerce or in an industry

affecting commerce, where in either case an

object thereof is—

(A) forcing or requiring any em-

r or self-employed — to join any

abor or employer organization or to enter

into any agreement which is prohibited by

subsection (e) of this section:

(B) forcing or requiring any person

to cease using, selling, handling, transport-

ing, or otherwise dealing in the products

of any other producer, processor, or manu-

facturer, or to cease doing business with

any other person, or forcing or requiring

— Apgar employer to recognize or bargain

with a labor — as the representa -

tive of his employees unless such labor or-

ganization has been certified as the repre-

sentative of such employees under the pro-

visions of section 159 of this title: Pro-

62a

Appendix C.

I.

The Facts

Between December 6, 1977 and March 27, 1978 the

International District 5, and the other local unions of

the United Mine Workers engaged in an economic strike

against members of the Bituminous Coal Operators’ As-

sociation, with whom they had a collective bargaining

Footnote (continued)

vided, That nothing contained in this

clause (B) shall be construed to make un-

lawful, where not otherwise unlawful, any

primary strike or primary picketing:

(C) forcing or requiring any em-

ployer to recognize or bargain with a par-

ticular labor organization as the represent-

ative of his employees if another labor or-

ganization has been certified as the repre-

sentative of such employees under the pro-

visions of section 159 of this title;

(D) forcing or 9 any em-

ployer to assign particular work to em-

ployees in a particular labor organization

or in a cular trade, craft, or class

rather than to employees in another labor

organization or in another trade, craft, or

class, unless such employer is failing to

conform to an order or certification of the

Board determining the bargaining repre-

— for employees performing such

work:

Provided, That nothing contained in this sub-

section shall be construed to make unlawful a

refusal by any person to enter upon the prem-

ises of any employer (other than his own em-

ployer), if the employees of such employer are

engaged in a strike ratified or approved by a

representative of such employees whom such

employer is required to recognize under this

subchapter;

63a

Appendix C.

relationship. Kerry Coal, a coal producer whose facilities

are located in the region for which District 5 has organi-

zational responsibility, has never had such a bargaining

relationship. During a part of the national bituminous

coal strike Kerry Coal’s facilities were closed down, and

at one point partially destroyed. In this lawsuit Kerry

Coal seeks to recover for the resulting damage to its

business. Viewing all the evidence, and inferences drawn

therefrom, in the light most favorable to Kerry Coal,

the party with the verdict,2 the jury could have found

on liability as set out hereafter.

In November, 1977, prior to the commencement of

its economic strike against those operators with which

Footnote (continued)

Provided further, That for the purposes of this

paragraph (4) only, nothing contained in such

—— shall be construed to prohibit pub-

city, other than picketing, for the purpose of

truthfully advising the public, including con-

sumers and members of a labor organization,

that a product or — are produced by an

employer with whom the labor organization

has a primary dispute and are distributed by

another employer, as long as such publicit

does not have an effect of inducing any individ-

ual employed by any person other than the pri-

mary employer in the course of his employment

to refuse to pick up, deliver, or transport any

goods, or not to perform any services, at the

establishment of the employer engaged in such

distribution;

. . . 29 U.S. C. §158(b) (1) (1976).

2. E. g., Chuy v. Philadelphia Eagles Football Club,

595 F. 2d 1265, 3 (3d Cir. 1979) (en banc), citin

Kademenos v. Equitable Life Assurance Society, 51

F.2d 1073, 1074 (3d Cir. 1975).

64a

Appendix C.

it had a bargaining relationship, District 5 wrote to all

other coal operators in its region, charging them with

failure to meet area wage and benefit standards. These

letters were sent without any knowledge of the actual

wages and benefits paid by the non-union operators.

Also in November, the District 5 president asked the

International to send an International organizer to “sur-

vey” the non-union mines in the area. There was never,

however, during the strike any attempt to organize

Kerry Coal, or, so far as the record discloses, any other

non-union coal operator in District 5’s region. Two In-

ternational organizers were sent to the area in Novem-

ber, one of them being Jay Kolenc. Kolenc, the second

highest paid official of the International, was instructed

by the International to stay on “present assignment,”

and remained in the District 5 region until January 21,

1978. While he was in the District 5 region Kolenc was

paid a salary by the International which also reimbursed

him for expenses incurred there. Vouchers for those ex-

penses disclose that he and Thomas Pysell, former Inter-

national Director of Organizing, appeared at non-union

mines, and that he met frequently with District 5 Board

members.

On November 30, 1977 the Executive Board of Dis-

trict 5 met and formally decided to conduct what it re-

ferred to as “informational” picketing at non-union min-

ing operations during the anticipated strike. The Board

authorized payment from District 5 funds to compensate

picketers. Vouchers for such payments contained nota-

tions such as “made check on these strips in afternoon

after having pickets shut them down” (App. at 1970)

and “shut down trucking cos.” (App. at 1966), from

which the jury could reasonably infer that the picketing

was not intended as area standards informational picket-

65a

Appendia C.

ing, but was for the purpose of interrupting production

at the non-union mines. District 5 had a caravan of 16

roving pickets in the vicinity of Kerry Coal’s operations.

There was situs picketing at Abrosia Coal Company and

Veon Coal Company, non-union operations near Kerry

Coal, in early December. Having learned that the picket-

ing at Veon Coal Company was accompanied by violence,

Kerry Coal shut down its operations between December

13 and 20, 1977, but then resumed production.

On December 27, 1977 Vernon Kerry, president of

the plaintiff, was threatened by defendant Ashton, and

by a United Mine Workers member, Beachem, that if he

did not shut down, they would bring 200 men to wreck

his equipment, Beachem adding, We can do this with

one phone call.” Ashton, who lived nearby, began situs

picketing at Kerry Coal’s railroad siding with a sign

saying “UMW ON STRIKE— NO CONTRACT — NO

WORK”. For the picketing he was paid by District 5.

Ashton also called UMW local president Lytle to ask for,

and was promised, help. After this phone conversation

Ashton, Beachem, and Lytle met with Kolenc. Between

January 5 and 9 picketing at the rail siding was carried

on 24 hours a day. The result was that trains coming to

pick up coal did not violate the picket line, and left

empty.

International organizer Kolenc was an encouraging

presence at the picket lines at Kerry Coal’s place of busi-

ness on several occasions between January 5 and 9,

when pickets threatened Kerry Coal’s employees. More-

over, late in December Kolenc had arranged to put Ash-

ton in touch with Taylor, the District 5 Board member

in charge of the sub-district where Kerry Coal was

located. Kolenc advised Ashton that he needed instruc-

66a

Appendix C.

tions about the picketing, and that someone would de-

liver them. At a later meeting among Ashton, Taylor,

and Short, a past local president, Tayor asked Ashton to

“scout” the Kerry Coal operation. Ashton did so, and

Kolenc accompanied Ashton on the scouting trip. Ash-

ton reported back to Taylor and Short that Kerry Coal

was still operating, and a decision was made to insti-

tute 24 hour picketing. Kolenc was present at the meet-

ings at which this decision was made and steps taken

to implement it.

Short, who owned a Ram Charger vehicle, was ob-

served by Vernon Kerry on the Kerry Coal property

near the gas pumps. On this occasion Short threatened

physical violence if Kerry Coal did not shut down its

operations. During the picketing, roofing nails were

strewn across the entrance to Kerry Coal’s site, and the

picketing was accompanied by intimidating gestures

toward Kerry’s truckers and employees.

On January 20, 1978, Taylor, Short, and two other

union members drove past Kerry Coal’s site and con-

cluded that the company was still working. They then

drove to Beaver Falls where they had a breakfast meet-

ing with Kolenc. District 5 paid Short’s and Taylor’s ex-

penses for the trip. Kolenc abruptly left Pennsylvania

the next day. On January 22, 1978, between 3:00 a.m.

and 8:00 a.m., extensive damage was done to Kerry

Coal’s equipment at its loading area. Vernon Kerry,

arriving at the scene, observed in the newly fallen snow

tire marks which he identified as having been made by

Short’s Ram Charger. He went in search of Short, en-

countering him in Library, Pennsylvania, where he

accused Short of having been “seen last night.” Short’s

only reply was, “I don’t think so.” Short then replaced

67a

Appendix C.

a virtually new set of tires on the Ram Charger. On

January 26, after learning what Vernon Kerry had said

to Short about someone having been seen wrecking the

equipment, Taylor traveled to the area and made in-

quiries as to possible witnesses.

On January 25, 1978, twelve carloads of UMW pick-

ets arrived at Kerry’s coal tipple, and, standing shoulder

to shoulder, completely blocked access to the premises.

Vernon Kerry called the state police, but before their

arrival two picketers, identifying themselves as United

Mine Workers members, came into his office and told

him to stop shipping industrial or electrical utility coal

for the duration of the strike. Within five minutes an

additional caravan of 80 cars cruised past the Kerry

Coal site. Vernon Kerry, frightened, agreed to stop

shipping industrial and electrical utility coal. When the

police arrived the pickets had left, but the police told

Vernon Kerry to get his men out of there, since they

could not be protected if the caravan returned.

During the course of the strike coal trucks hauling

Kerry coal were frequently followed and the drivers

harassed. At one regular Kerry Coal customer, St. Joe

Mineral Company, pickets threw rocks, damaging the

trucks. After the delivery was completed, pickets

swarmed at the St. Joe plant gates. Vernon Kerry,

his drivers, and his trucks finally escaped under police

escort. This delivery, on February 27, 1978, was the last

requested by St. Joe for the duration of the strike. Dis-

trict 5 vouchers show payments to pickets at the St. Joe

plant.

District 5 used its funds for the creation of a legal

defense fund to be available to members such as Ash-

68a

Appendix C.

ton, Taylor, and Short for legal problems resulting from

activity they might engage in during the strike.

The defendants offered evidence which would argu-

ably support factual inferences more favorable to them.

We emphasize that the foregoing summary is what the

jury could, from the evidence, have found.

II.

THE 58 (b) (4) CHARGE

Both the International and District 5 contend that

they are entitled to a judgment notwithstanding the

verdict on the 58 (b) (4) charge. Neither urges that the

picketing, harassment of employees, or destruction of

equipment which the jury could have found was lawful

protected activity. It is clear that the activity com-

plained of was not primary; that is, that it was aimed

at preventing the railroads from handling Kerry coal,

and at preventing Kerry from selling coal to industrial

and electrical utility customers. Rather, both the In-

ternational and District 5 contend that, assuming the

threats, coercions and restraints occurred, they were

not responsible.

Section 301(b) of the Labor Management Relations

Act, 29 U.S.C. $185(b), provides that labor organiza-

tions shall be bound by the acts of their agents. More-

over “the question of whether the specific acts per-

formed were actually authorized or subsequently rati-

fied shall not be controlling.” 29 U.S.C. §185(e). The

issue, as to both the International and District 5, is

whether mindful of the agency principles referred to

in section 301, a jury could find that they should be

held liable. A separate analysis must be made for each.

69a

Appendiz C.

Carbon Fuel Co. v. UMW, 444 U.S. 212 (1979).

A. District 5

Before the strike began, District 5 sent letters to

the non-union operators complaining of violations of

area standards. A jury could find that these were pre-

texts for later picketing. District 5 authorized such

picketing on November 30, 1977. The Executive Board

of District 5 was intimately involved in the secondary

activity directed against Kerry Coal. It is undisputed

that Taylor, an Executive Board member, had authority

to conduct picketing operations on behalf of the District,

to approve and submit vouchers for picket travel and

meal allowances, and to see to their payment. It is un-

disputed that Taylor authorized the establishment of a

picket line at Kerry Coal between January 5 and 9, 1978,

and that the District paid the pickets. Moreover, the Dis-

trict paid Ashton for earlier picketing, and paid Taylor

and Short for the expenses incurred in their scouting ex-

pedition on January 20, 1978, a short time before Kerry

Coal’s equipment was sabotaged. There is, besides, the

evidence of massive concert of action by stationary and

roving pickets in the region of District 5’s responsibility,

and of similar concert of action by stationary pickets at

the place of business of a Kerry Coal customer. There is

ample evidence of meetings among officials of District 5

at which the picketing of Kerry Coal was discussed and

set in motion. Short of a certified copy of a resolution. by

the full membership of District 5, it would be difficult to

imagine evidence more strongly suggesting that Ash-

ton, Short, and Taylor were acting as agents for District

5, carrying out its decision to engage in secondary

activity directed at Kerry Coal. There was ample evi-

dence justifying the submission of the agency issue to

70a

Appendix C.

the jury, and a judgment notwithstanding the verdict

would be clearly improper.

District 5 also urges that because no Kerry Coal

employees actually stopped working and no Kerry Coal

customers actually ceased doing business with it, no

section 8(b) (4) violation was shown. That contention

flies in the face of the record evidence supporting the

jury’s award of damages, discussed hereafter. But more

significantly, it is irrelevant. There is ample evidence

of secondary coercive activity, and it is such activity

that section 8(b) (4) proscribes.

B. The International

Liability of the International for the section

8(b) (4) violation depends upon the jury’s assessment

of the role of Kolenc. Relying on Carbon Fuel Co. v.

UMW, 444 U.S. 212 (1979), the International urges that

it cannot be held responsible for the acts of Ashton,

Taylor, Short, or the other pickets absent evidence that

it “instigated, supported, ratified, or encouraged” the

picketing activities. That is undoubtedly the correct

legal standard for measuring the International’s lia-

bility. But when considering the propriety of a judg-

ment notwithstanding the verdict, our task is to

determine whether, considering all the evidence, a ra-

tional factfinder could infer such instigation, support,

ratification, or encouragement. The task can be broken

down further by asking (1) could the jury find that

Kolenc instigated, supported, ratified, or encouraged

the activity complained of, and (2) if so, was he acting

for the International?

The answer to the first question is simple. Kolenc

could be found to be not only an active participant, but

71a

Appendiæ C.

one of the prime movers in the activity directed against

Kerry Coal. Kolenc put Ashton in touch with Taylor,

scouted the Kerry Coal operation with Ashton, at-

tended the meetings of District 5 officials at which the

decision to picket Kerry Coal, and the implementation

of that decision, were discussed, was present at the

Kerry Coal site during the picketing, met with Taylor

and Short after their January 20, 1978 scouting expedi-

tion, and left the area shortly after that meeting and

immediately before Kerry Coal’s equipment was van-

dalized.

But was Kolenc, while involved quite directly in the

secondary activity against Kerry Coal, acting as an

agent for the International? In November, about the

same time District 5 was making the decision to engage

in picketing of the non-union coal operators, its presi-

dent asked the president of the International to send

an organizer to “survey” those operators. The Interna-

tional sent Kolenc, its second highest paid official. The

International suggests that the “survey” was for the in-

nocent purpose of determining whether the non-union

operators were doing a sufficiently large volume of busi-

ness to be able to pay UMW standard wages and benefits.

The jury did not have to credit this explanation, how-

ever, especially in the absence of any evidence of organi-

zational activity in the District 5 region during the

strike. The only evidence with respect to Kolene's activ-

ity was that relating to his participation in the secon-

dary activity directed against Kerry Coal. The Interna-

tional paid his salary during the time he was in the Dis-

trict 5 region, and paid his expense vouchers for travel-

ing to the Kerry Coal situs. No organizational effort was

made there. There is no record evidence that in the criti-

cal time period Kolenc submitted vouchers for organiza-

72a

Appendix C.

tional as distinct from secondary picketing activity.

Finally, it can reasonably be inferred, and undoubtedly

was, that the International and District 5 shared a com-

mon economic interest in interruption of the flow of

non-union industrial and electrical utility coal while

the strike continued.

While the evidence of Kolenc’s status as an agent

of the International is not as overwhelming as is that

of the status of Ashton, Taylor, and Short as agents of

District 5, we conclude that there was enough to go to

the jury. From the collection of circumstances outlined

above a reasonable factfinder could infer that the presi-

dent of the International sent Kolenc to District 5 not

for an organizational purpose, but in order to assist that

district in interrupting the flow of non-union coal during

the impending strike, and that Kolenc had authority to

support and encourage, if not facilitate, Ashton’s, Tay-

lor’s, and Short’s actions against Kerry Coal. On this

record a jury, one supposes, could have concluded that

Kolenc was off on a frolic of his own. The jury did not

do so, and it was not compelled to do so. The Interna-

tional’s motion for judgment notwithstanding the ver-

dict on the section 8(b) (4) claims was properly denied.

III.

THE PENNSYLVANIA INTERFERENCE CHARGE

The International, District 5, and the three individ-

ual appellants, Ashton, Taylor, and Short, all contend

that the court erred in failing to grant a judgment not-

withstanding the verdict on Kerry Coal’s Pennsylvania

law claim of intentional interference with contractual re-

lationships. Pennsylvania has adopted the standard of

73a

Appendix C.

the Restatement (Second) of Torts $766.3 See Franklin

Music Co. v. American Broadcasting Cos., 616 F.2d 528

(3d Cir. 1979); Adler, Barish, Daniels, Levin and

Creskoff v. Epstein, 482 Pa. 416, 393 A.2d 1175 (1978).

The parties agree that in pursuing such a state law

claim against members of a labor organization, the

“clear proof” standard of proof of section 6 of the Nor-

ris-LaGuardia Act, 29 U.S.C. §106, applies. UMW v.

Gibbs, 383 U.S. 715 (1966). The court instructed the jury

that it must find by clear proof actual participation or

actual authorization of violent acts. Thus the case comes

before us in the posture that the jury was satisfied there

was clear proof of such tortious interference. Once the

jury has been properly charged as to the governing

standard of proof, our role in assessing the propriety

of a judgment notwithstanding the verdict is no differ-

ent in such a case than in any other.

Our conclusion that the liability verdict against the

International and District 5 for the section 8(b) (4)

claim must stand makes any discussion of the tortious

interference verdict against those defendants somewhat

of an academic exercise. But since further review is at

least possible, we note that the same evidence which sus-

tains the verdict on the section 8(b)'(4) claim sustains

that based on Pennsylvania law. There was evidence of

threats and intimidation against Kerry Coal’s work-

3. The Restatement (Second) of Torts provides:

One who intentionally and improperly interferes

with the performance of a contract (except a con-

tract to marry) becween another and a third person

by inducing or otherwise causing the third person

not to perform the contract, is subject to liability to

the other for the pecuniary loss resulting to the

other from the failure of the third person to per-

form the contract.

Restatement (Second) of Torts §766.

74a

Appendix C.

force, and of violence to its equipment, directed at pre-

venting Kerry Coal from fulfilling its contractual ob-

ligations to its customers. There was also evidence of

similar intimidation and violence directed at Kerry

Coal’s truckers and at least one of its customers, St. Joe

Mineral Company. The state law claim against the In-

ternational and District 5 arose, moreover, out of the

same operative facts as did the section 8 (b) (4) claim.

UMW v. Gibbs, 383 U.S. 715, 725 (1966). Thus the mo-

tion by these defendants for judgment notwithstanding

the verdict on the tortious interference claim was prop-

erly denied.

The contentions of the individual defendants re-

quire a somewhat more specific treatment. They, too,

urge that the evidence against them was insufficient as

a matter of law. Extended discussion of that contention

need not detain us. The jury could have found that Ash-

ton, Taylor, and Short acted in concert and separately

to interfere with Kerry Coal’s delivery of coal.

Ashton, Taylor, and Short also contend, however,

that the district court lacked subject matter jurisdiction

of the state law claim asserted against them. They quite

correctly point out that, as individual union members,

they were not proper defendants in the section 303(b)

suit against the International and District 5. Atkinson v.

Sinclair Refining Co., 370 U.S. 238 (1962). Since this

was so, even though the state law claim arose out of the

same operative facts as that for which section 303 con-

ferred jurisdiction, they are, so they urge, at best pend-

ent parties as to whom there exists no independent basis

for federal jurisdiction. See Aldinger v. Howard, 427

US. 1 (1976).

75a

Appendix C.

The conclusion that section 303(b) jurisdiction is

insufficient, absent some other federal question jurisdic-

tion, to sustain a pendent state law claim against individ-

ual union members may be sound. The premise, however,

that there was no other basis for federal question juris-

diction against the individual defendants is on this rec-

ord unsound. Kerry Coal also pleaded a non-frivolous

federal claim against the individual defendants under

42 U.S.C. 51985 as well as a federal claim that the in-

dividuals were as a matter of federal common law liable

for exemplary and punitive damages for wanton and

willful violations of section 8 (b) (4). These claims

against the defendants were of “sufficient substance to

confer subject matter jurisdiction on the court.” Len-

tino v. Fringe Employee Plans, Inc., 611 F.2d 474, 478

(3d Cir. 1979). See also Gagliardi v. Flint, 564 F.2d 112

(3d Cir. 1977). Shortly before trial these claims against

the individual defendants were dismissed on motion.

The dismissal was not, however, final. The “‘[c]onstitu-

tional power to adjudicate a pendent claim is ordinarily

to be determined by reference to the pleadings, not on

the facts as they may eventually be established.” Len-

tino v. Fringe Employee Plans, Inc., supra, at 478, citing

Elberti uv. Kunsman, 376 F.2d 567, 568 (3d Cir. 1967).

See also UMW v. Gibbs, 383 U.S. at 727.

Had the trial court, when it dismissed the federal

law claims against the individual defendants, been pre-

sented with a motion for dismissal of the pendent state

law claim against them, we suppose that such a dismiss-

al would have been a permissible exercise of that court’s

discretion. No such motion was made. Instead the indi-

vidual defendants gambled on trying the state law claim

to a federal jury, and only long after the verdict raised

the objection that it should have been dismissed in an

76a

Appendix C.

amended motion for a judgment notwithstanding the

verdict. In such circumstances we cannot say that refu

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.