Petition — Woelke & Romero Framing, Inc. v. National Labor Relations Board

Supreme Court brief1982

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Office-Supreme Court, U.S.

80-1798 FILED

IN THE APR %9 1981

Supreme Court of the United States:;."

October Term, 1980.

WOELKE & ROMERO FRAMING, INC.,

Petitioner,

vs.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD; CARPENTERS LOCAL

No. 944, UNITED BROTHERHOOD OF CARPENTERS AND

JOINERS OF AMERICA, AFL-CIO; and CARPENTERS LO-

CAL No. 235, UNITED BROTHERHOOD OF CARPENTERS

AND JOINERS OF AMERICA, AFL-CIO,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT.

JOHN W. PRAGER, JR.,

4000 MacArthur Boulevard,

Suite 900,

Newport Beach, Calif. 92660,

(714) 752-6100,

Attorney for Petitioner.

Of Counsel:

DWIGHT L. ARMSTRONG,

Gary W. ROBINSON,

Niet O. ANDRUS,

MUSICK, PEELER & GARRETT,

4000 MacArthur Boulevard,

Suite 900,

Newport Beach, Calif. 92660.

Parker & Son, Inc., Law Printers, Los Angeles. Phone 724-6622

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED.*

1. Does the existence of a collective-bargaining relation-

ship between a construction union and a construction

employer invariably legalize a secondary-boycott

agreement inherent in a union-signatory subcontractor

clause under the construction industry proviso to Sec-

tion 8(e) of the National Labor Relations Act, 29

U.S.C. 158(e)?

2. Did the Court of Appeals misinterpret this Court’s de-

cision in Connell Construction Co., Inc. v. Plumbers

& Steamfitters, Local Union 100, 421 U.S. 616 (1975),

by holding that the construction industry proviso to

Section 8(e) of the Act privileges broad union-signatory

subcontracting provisions which are not designed to

eliminate jobsite friction between union and non-union

workers at a particular construction jobsite?

3. Does Section 8(b)(4)(A) of the National Labor Rela-

tions Act, 29 U.S.C. §158(b)(4)(A), prohibit a union

from engaging in ‘‘top-down’’ organizing by striking

or picketing to force a contractor to execute an agree-

ment containing a union-signatory subcontractor clause

otherwise protected by the construction indy stry proviso

to Section 8(e) of the Act?

*The qpetions presented in this case are similar and related to those

in Donald Schriver, Inc., et al. v. N.L.R.B., numbered in this Court

as Case No. 80-1257, in which a petition for writ of certiorari has been

filed.

ii

LIST OF PARTIES TO PROCEEDING BELOW.

Pursuant to Rule 21.1(b) of the Rules of the Supreme

Court of the United States, a list of the parties in the pro-

ceeding below is submitted:

The caption of the within matter contains a listing of the

names of all parties in the proceeding below in this matter

which was numbered Case No. 78-3468 in the U. S. Court

of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

However, the within matter was consolidated with other

cases for purposes of oral argument and decision below.

_ See Case Nos. 78-3469, 78-3487, 78-3619, and 79-7011.

The parties to those other cases in the proceeding below

were:

1. Pacific Northwest Chapter of the Associated

Builders & Contractors, Inc.;

2. Oregon-Columbia Chapter, the Associated Gen-

eral Contractors of America, Inc.;

3. Internationa) Union of Operating Engineers,

Local No. 701; and

4. National Labor Relations Board.

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Ao. soos oentscasensboronsvsehs i

List of Parties to Proceeding Below .................000+ ii

Statutory Provisions Involved ...............scececeseseeees 2

Opinions and Orders Below ..............cscececececeeeeees 3

Jurisdiction of the Supreme Court ..............0eseeeeeee 3

NOE OE I ID She ctvc csc cecseeksscnccsscccoscvcccstes 3

TNE osc 00h svc .cvutuasphvvssuebecesvabneces 3

PEED BIE wici sdb eis ccnnecdstgusncccsadescseuswens 5

The Decisions of the Board and Court of Appeals

MND: aushatenouknsyébeniascosecesincdnensdpusrsnebeatates 7

Reasons for Granting the Writ ..............cceceeeeeeeeees 10

IEEE op ibuccnaeeddbisivosecabetocsncadbanseutcectevin 10

PE si vi dcvetecowincicds seen csvecsenevancasicsosscesses 11

The Decision Below Conflicts With This Court’s

Decision in Connell Construction Co., Inc. v.

Plumbers & Steamfitters, Local Union 100, 421

Site MP TREE bdikveecncidessshcortankivinaudaveces 11

The Decision Below Presents Important Questions,

Previously Unanswered by This Court, Con-

cerning the Extent of the Validity Under Section

8(e) of the Act of Agreements to Conduct Sec-

ondary Boycotts in the Construction Industry .. 17

The Extent of a Construction Union’s Right to En-

gage in Top-Down Organizing by Picketing Em-

ployers to Obtain Union-Signatory Subcontract-

ing Agreements Has Not Been and Should Be

Determined by This Court ..............cecceeeeees 21

I ie os sthuouscdennieaen 25

iv

Index to Appendices Page

Appendix A. Opinion ..............cceeeeeenees App. p. 1

PGE CI Vadarencvrecseccscccctsascsaswantesss 53

71

Appendix C. Decision and Order ...............000000

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Associated General Contractors of California, Inc. v.

N.L.R.B., 514 F.2d 433 (9th Cir. 1975) ............. 13

Bangor Building Trades Council, AFL-CIO (Davison

Construction Company, Inc.), 123 N.L.R.B. 484

(1959), enf’d, 278 F.2d 287 (Ist Cir. 1960) ......... 24

Bricklayers, Masons etc., (Selby-Battersby & Com-

DRM SAS Peckatbets LETS (IDSD) svccscesesssccccccces 24

Colorado Building & Construction Trades Council

(Utilities Services Engineering, Inc.), 239 N.L.R.B.

REE Vesa ronbiaktebioena dupecenccspesdbscniectaness 6, 8

Connell Construction Co., Inc. v. Plumbers & Steam-

fitters, Local Union 100, 421 U.S. 616

EEE Nidors cencdabducateesekecseysbs i; 7, 3:2, 20, 22,42

pa dvekbs 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24

Construction, Production and Maintenance Laborers

Union, Local 383 (Colson and Stevens Construction

Co., Inc.), 137 N.L.R.B. 1650 (1962), enf. denied,

323 F.2d 422 (9th Cir. 1963) ...............cce ees 21, 22

Drivers, Salesmen, etc., Local 695 v. N.L.R.B., 361

ee CNet NG EPID vp cccacccccsscccwssevcsssecces 13

Essex County and Vicinity District Council of Carpen-

ters and Millrights v. N.L.R.B., 332 F.2d 636 (3rd

ea ed, ac ces acncccadceeebqundests 13, 22

Houston Insulation Contractors Ass’n v. N.L.R.B., 386

I Es, ana dsc scanebseesbuseckenenweces 18

International Union of Operating Engineers, Local 542

(York County Bridge), 216 N.L.R.B. 408 (1979),

enforced, 532 F.2d 902 (3rd Cir. 1976) ............... 13

Local 47, Teamsters (T.C. Bateson Construction Co.,

and Texas Industries), 112 N.L.R.B. 923 (1955),

enf’d, 234 F.2d 296 (Sth Cir. 1956) ..............000. 24

vi

Page

Local 1976, United Brotherhood of Carpenters etc., et

al. v. N.L.R.B. (Sand Door and Plywood Company),

MEE PROG). cdcabhdnns cn ccoeWcccacectenes oie 17, 18

Los Angeles Building and Construction Trades Council;

and Local Union No. 1497, United Brotherhood of

Carpenters & Joiners of America (Donald Schriver,

Inc. and Sullivan-Kelly & Associates), 239 N.L.R.B.

ds Ve di tei Lacexsgecsccuschessceshisigipwesess 6

National Woodwork Manufacturers Ass’n v. N.L.R.B.,

nt EA ias sie actedesasivsieeasvensesteoces 18

N.L.R.B. v. Denver Building & Construction Trades

CS OL, Gee PACA DOL) coccccdesndsscccsquccecess 15

N.L.R.B. v. Iron Workers, Local 103 (Higdon Con-

tracting), 434 U.S. 335 (1978) ..........scsceccesseees 23

N.L.R.B. v. Savair Mfg. Co., 414 U.S. 270 (1973) . 16

Northeastern Indiana Building and Construction Trades

Council (Centrilivre Village Apartments), 148

EE HEMET dink) Sc caaseosubeehnoacneanscroceneys 22

Orange Belt District Council of Painters No. 48 v.

N.L.R.B., 328 F.2d 534 (D.C. Cir. 1964) .......... 22

Pacific Northwest Chapter of the Associated Builders

and Contractors, Inc., et al. v. N.L.R.B., et al., 609

PEE EERO Gals BEE). cocccccesscesecstnsurwenest 6, 8

Miscellaneous

II, Legislative History of Labor-Management Reporting

and Disclosure Act of 1959, p. 1433 ............. 17, 18

II, Legislative History of Labor-Management Reporting

and Disclosure Act of 1959, pp. 1577,

PURO ne otetaiddekcddcccdehs cos doccrebsivcdcébevecs 13, 23, 24

Public Law 95-486—92 Statutes at Large, Secs. 1629,

MONEE Gacbb dep epiuavenatUlecdc hanced ecossvsecevdbdgebrienedas 7

vii

Rules Page

Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, Rule 15(a) .....

Local Rules of the United States Court of Appeals for

SD Pees COUN, TRUS ZS onc cei scccgcecccsasdossecnsaens

Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States, Rule

PRM desabde bissededshetUbajebibsesisescnaesboentonensnse

Statutes

National Labor Relations Act, Sec. 8(b)(4) (29 U.S.C.

es san vedbababenad bs

National Labor Relations Act, Sec. 8(b)(4)(A) (29

U.S.C. §158(b)(4)(A)) ...........5. as Pe | eo Py cB

National Labor Relations Act, Sec. 8(b)(7) (29 U.S.C.

NS PYLE ERIN RMT IE SFR CO

National Labor Relations Act, Sec. 8(e) (29 U.S.C.

§158(e)) . i, 2, 5, 7, 8, 11, 12, 14, 17, 18, 20, 21,

National Labor Relations Act, Sec. 8(b)(4)(i) (29

in IEEE cence sessdenccsnvakwaévasscnenes 2,

National Labor Relations Act, Sec. 8(b)(4)(ii)(A) (29

mens, RUCROIUALDD © ccccccevestcsenscsioveseees 2,

National Labor Relations Act, Sec. 10(f) (29 U.S.C.

ea icide a labs connbivcndanshouseatnoonee 3,

United States Code, Title 28, Sec. 1254(1) .......,.....

United States Code, Title 29, Sec. 160(e) ...............

Treatises

Gorman, R., Basic Test on Labor Law (West, 1976)

Se RROE a chackipeninFitoeveraducssvesRvercessecoesas 15,

St. Antoine, ‘‘Connell: Antitrust Law At The Expense

of Labor Law,’* 62 Va.L.Rev., pp. 605, 619 n. 74

SON CUAEAR ET Movie ccc cscseishededes comesanavexssnee

16

Be videce

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1980.

WOELKE & ROMERO FRAMING, INC.,

Petitioner,

vs.

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD; CARPENTERS LOCAL

No. 944, UNITED BROTHERHOOD OF CARPENTERS AND

JOINERS OF AMERICA, AFL-CIO; and CARPENTERS LO.

CAL No. 235, UNITED BROTHERHOOD OF CARPENTERS

AND JOINERS OF AMERICA, AFL-CIO,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT.

Petitioner, Woelke & Romero Framing, Inc., respectfully

prays that a Writ of Certiorari issue to review the en banc

judgment of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

which was entered in this proceeding on April 17, 1981.'

'The within matter was nurmbered Case No. 78-3468 in the Court of

A s, and was consolidated for argument and decision with certain

related cases. The National Labor Relations Board was the Respon-

dent below, and the Unions were Intervenors below.

an

Statutory Provisions Involved.

United States Code, Title 29:

§158(b)(4)(i) and (ii)(A)

“It shall be an unfair labor practice for a labor orga-

nization or its agents — (4)(i) to engage in, or to induce

or encourage any individual employed by any person

engaged in commerce or in an industry affecting com-

merce to engage in, a strike or a refusal in the course

of his employment to use, manufacture, process, trans-

port, or otherwise handle or work on any gvods, ar-

ticles, materials, or commodities or to perform any

services; or (ii) to threaten, coerce, or restrain any

person engaged in commerce or in an industry affecting

commerce, where in either case an object thereof is:

(A) forcing or requiring any employer or self-

employed person to join any labor or employer

organization or to enter into any agreement which

is prohibited by seciion 8(e);”’

$158 (e)

“It shall be an unfair labor practice for any labor or-

ganization and any employer to enter into any contract

or agreement, express or implied, whereby such em-

ployer ceases or refrains or agrees to cease or refrain

from handling, using, selling, transporting or otherwise

dealing in any of the products of any other employer,

or to cease doing business with any other person, and

any contract or agreement entered into heretofore or

hereafter containing such an agreement shall be to such

extent unenforceable and void: Provided, That nothing

in this subsection (e) shall apply to an agreement be-

tween a labor organization and an employer in the

construction industry relating to the contracting or sub-

contracting of work to be done at the site of the con-

struction, alteration, painting, or repair of a building,

structure, or other work... .””

a

Opinions and Orders Below.

The judgment and opinion of the limited en banc panel

of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, which

was entered in this matter on April 17, 1981, is styled,

Pacific Northwest Chapter of the Associated Builders &

Contractors, Inc., etc., et al. v. National Labor Relations

Board, et al., and is not yet officially reported. It appears

as Appendix A.

The prior judgment and opinion of a three-judge panel

of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit which

was issued on December 26, 1979, is officially reported at

609 F.2d 1341 (9th Cir. 1979), and appears as Appendix

B.

The Decision and Order of the National Labor Relations

Board (‘‘Board’’), which was reviewed by the U.S. Court

of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit pursuant io a Petition for

Review filed under 29 U.S.C. §160(f), is officially reported

at 239 N.L.R.B. 241 (1978), and appears as Appendix C.

Jurisdiction of the Supreme Court.

The judgment and opinion of the limited en banc panel

of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit was

entered on April 17, 1981. No petition for rehearing, or for

further hearing before the full Court, has been filed.

The U.S. Supreme Court’s jurisdiction is invoked pur-

suant to 28 U.S.C. §1254(1). See, 29 U.S.C. §§160(f) and

160(e).

Statement of the Case.

Statement of Facts.

Woelke & Romero Framing, Inc. (‘‘Woelke & Rom-

ero’’), is a framing subcontractor in the buiiding and con-

struction industry in Southern California and, insofar as

relevant to the time period herein involved, had construction

subcontracts with various general contractors and builders

i.

calling for Woelke & Romero to perform construction fram-

ing work.

Woelke & Romero had had a collective-bargaining agree-

ment with the United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners

of America, AFL-CIO, its various district councils and local

unions, including Carpenters Local 944 and Carpenters Lo-

cal 235 (‘‘Unions’’) involved in this case, since at least

1974. The most recent collective-bargaining agreement was

due to expire June 15, 1977.

Between June 3 and August 4, 1977, the Unions and

Woelke & Romero engaged in collective-bargaining for a

successor agreement. On August 4, 1977, the Unions and

Woelke & Romero reached an impasse in bargaining over

various proposals, including the Unions’ proposal dealing

with the subcontracting of work which contained the fol-

lowing ‘‘subcontractor clauses’’:

**103.2 The Contractor agrees that neither he nor any

of his subcontractors on the jobsite will subcontract

any work to be done at the site of construction, alter-

ation, painting or repair of a building, structure or other

work (including quarries, rock, sand and gravel plants,

established on or adjacent to the jobsite to process or

supply materials for the convenience of the Contractor

for jobsite use) except to a person, firm or corporation,

party to an appropriate, current labor agreement with

the appropriate Union, or subordinate body signatory

to this Agreement.”’

**103.5 All work performed by the Contractors or sub-

contractors and all services rendered for the Contractors

or subcontractors, as herein defined, shall be rendered

in accordance with each and all of the terms and pro-

visions hereof.

**103.6 If the Contractor or subcontractors shall sub-

contract jobsite work covered under the jurisdiction of

the United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of

America, including the furnishing and installation of

or oe

material, performance of labor, and the cperation of

equipment, provision shall be made in written contract

for the observance and compliance by his subcontrac-

tors with the full terms of this Agreement.’’ (Pet. App.

C, pp. 78-80)’

Since August 4, 1977, no further collective-bargaining

sessions have been held. In support of the Unions’ demand

for the above contract provisions, the Unions picketed at

the construction jobsites at which Woelke & Romero was

working. As a result of the picketing, individuals employed

by various other subcontractors engaged in work stoppages

and refusals to perform services for their respective

employers.’

Proceedings Below.

On August 11, 1977, Woelke & Romero filed an unfair

labor practice charge alleging that the Unions had violated

Section 8(b)(4)(i) and (ii)(A) of the National Labor Relations

Act (‘*Act’’), 29 U.S.C. $158(b)(4)(i) and (ii)(A), by pick-

eting at various jobsites to force Woelke & Romero to enter

into a collective-bargaining agreement containing the union-

signatory subcontracting restrictions which it believed were

violative of Section 8(e), 29 U.S.C. 158(e), of the Act. On

September 23, 1977, the Board’s General Counsel issued

a Complaint on the charge, and the matter was later pre-

sented to the Board on a Stipulation of Facts. Oral argument

in this and certain other related proceedings was held before

the Board in Washington, D.C., on February 23, 1978. On

November 13, 1978, the Board issued its Decision and Order

finding and concluded that the sought clauses were not un-

The Appendix herein will be cited to as ‘‘Pet. followed

a reference to the appropriate Penmaacat carcolbe 7

*The Unions sought additional clauses which are set forth in

Appendix (Pet. App. C, pp. 78-80)

co a

lawful under the Act, and that the Unions had not violated

the Act by picketing to obtain them.‘

Pursuant to Rule 15(a) of the Federal Rules of Appellate

Procedure and Section 10(f) of the Act, 29 U.S.C. §160(f),

on November 14, 1978, Petitioner filed a Petition for Re-

view of the Board's Decision and Order with the U.S. Court

of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

On December 26, 1979, a three-judge panel of the Court

of Appeals entered its consolidated judgment and opinion

in this and the other related cases, Pacific Northwest Chapter

of the Associated Builders and Contractors, Inc., et al. v.

N.L.R.B., et al., 609 F.2d 1341 (9th Cir, 1979), The three-

judge panel reversed the Board in material part and sustained

Woelke & Romero's Petition for Review. On January 30,

1980, the Board and the Unions filed petitions for rehearing,

and rehearing en banc.

On August 19, 1980, the Court of Appeals issued an

Order granting the petition for rehearing en banc and ordered

“When this matter was pending before the Board in 1978, it was

consolidated with several related proceedings. Because of their impor-

tance in the application of the Act, the Board took the unusual step of

hearing 7 hours of oral ment with respect to this and the related

proceedings, and decided all of them together. See, Colorado Building

& Construction Trades Council (Utilities Services Engineering, Inc.),

239 N.L.R.B, 253 (1978), Los Angas Building and Construction

Trades Council; and Local Union No, 1497, United Brotherhood of

C rs & Joiners of America (Donald Schriver, Inc, and Sullivan-

Kelly & Associates), 239 N.L.R.B, 264 (1978); and /nternational Union

of rating Engineers, Local No, 701, AFL-CIO; Oregon-Columbia

hapter, The Associated General Contractors of America, Inc. (Pacific

Northwest Chapter of the Associated Builders & Contractors, Inc.),

239 N.L.R.B. 274 (1978). The Schriver case was thereafter

to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit, and

the Woelke & Romero and Pacific Northwest cases were appealed to

the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

The Board's view of this Court's decision in Connell Construction

Co., Inc. v. Plumbers & Steamfitters, Love! Union 100, 421 U.S, 616

(1975) was stated in its Woelke & Romero decision,

This a ee questions and issues closely related to those in

Donald Schriver, Inc, et al. v. N.L.R.B. now e% 3 a petition for

writ of certiorari before this Court in Case No, 80-1257,

ok

the matter reheard before a limited en banc panel of the

Court of Appeals as provided by Public Law 95-486, 92

Stat. 1629, 1633 and Rule 25 of the local rules of the U.S.

Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

On October 16, 1980, oral argument before a limited en

banc Court was held in San Francisco, California, On April

17, 1981, the en banc Court issued its judgment and opinion.

The Decisions of the Board and Court of Appeals Below.

The Board concluded that the subject contract clauses

were union-signatory subcontractors clauses which obligate

the employer not to do business with another unless the

latter is signatory to the union's agreement.’ The Board

construed them to be secondary in thrust and within the

scope of Section 8(e) of the Act because the clauses are

addressed to the labor relations policies of other employers

vis-a-vis their employees. The Board further found that the

clauses were privileged by the construction industry proviso

to Section 8(e) of the Act since they were sought within the

context of the Unions’ collective-bargaining relationship

with Woelke & Romero, The ®oard also found that the

Unions, therefore, did not violate Section 8(b)(4)(A) of the

Act by striking and picketing Woelke & Romero to force

its agreement to the clauses.

The Board's decision that the subcontracting provisions

were privileged by the proviso construed this Court's de-

cision in Connell Construction Co., Inc. v. Plumbers &

*The expression *‘union- pslgnatory subcontractors clauses"’ refers to

the type of restrictive subcontracting agreement which obligates the

chosen subcontractor to have the very same agreement with a particular

union and to be bound by all of its provisions. The ‘‘secondary’’ thrust

of such comes from the irement that all provisions be

acknow by the subcontractor, including those dealing with union-

tion, hiring from the union's hiring hall, and provisions —

the subcontractor's emp to observe the requirement to

particular union as a tion of continued employment u ‘the

union-security provisions of the contract.

Steamfitters, Local Union 100, 421 U.S. 616 (1975), as

follows:

**. , , the construction industry proviso to Section 8(e)

permits subcontracting clauses such as those here in

the context of a collective-bargaining relationship, and

possibly even without such a relationship if the clauses

are aimed at avoiding the Denver Building Trades prob-

lem. . .’’ 239 N.L.R.B. at 250 (Pet. App. C, pp. 97-

98)

The Board considered, but rejected, the contention that

this Court's decision in Connell required that the shelter of

the construction industry proviso to Section 8(e) be limited

to only those secondary jobsite subcontracting agreements

which are both (1) contained in the context of a collective-

bargaining relationship, and (2) operational at times and

sites at which the employer has employees represented by

the union, and do not require bargaining relationships with

a particular union. 239 N.L.R.B. at 248. In effect, the

Board held that the mere existence of the collective-

bargaining relationship between the Unions and Woelke

& Romero, invariably and without more, was sufficient to

give the clauses legal shelter under the proviso.

The Court of Appeals initially disagreed with the Board.

Speaking for a unanimous three-judge panel of the Court

of Appeals, Judge Sneed held the clauses outside the proviso

because they were broader than the proviso’s purpose and

operational even at sites when and where no union workers

were employed:

**We hold that the construction industry proviso ex-

tends shelter only when a collective bargaining rela-

tionship exists and even then only when the employer

or his subcontractor has employees who are members

of the signatory union at work at some time at the

jobsite at which the employer wishes to engage a non-

union subcontractor.’’ Pacific Northwest Chapter of

the Associated Builders & Contractors, Inc., et al. v.

Te

N.L.R.B., et al., 609 F.2d 1341, 1347 (9th Cir. 1979).

(Pet. App. B, p. 62)

However, that decision was later vacated, and a limited

en banc panel of the Court of Appeals split 7-4, and sided

with the Board and the Unions. (Pet. App. A, p. 1) The

majority of the en banc Court, in an opinion written by

Judge Canby, concluded that the proviso shelters union-

signatory subcontractor clauses without regard to the pres-

ence or absence of union workers at the jobsite, so long as

such clauses are contained in or sought as part of a collec-

tive-bargaining relationship. Further, the en banc majority

concluded that unions may strike employers to force the

execution of such clauses:

**We find that provisions in a collective-bargaining

agreement forbidding the signatory employer to sub-

contract work at a construction site to firms that do not

have a contract with the « gnatory union are within

§8(e) of the National Labor Relations Act, but are

protected by the construction industry proviso to that

section. They need not be limited to jobsites presenting

the possibility of conflict between union and non-union

workers. We also find that unions may picket or strike

to induce employers to enter such agreements . . .”’

(Pet. App. A, p. 43)

The en banc minority in a dissenting opinion written by

Judge Saeed and joined by Judges Choy, Anderson and

Farri:.. concluded that the original three-judge panel opinion

of thc Court was correct, and that the import of this Court’s

decision in Connell required the view that the proviso sanc-

tioned only those clauses which were both in the context

of a bargaining relationship and which were operational only

at sites when union workers worked alongside non-union

workers. (Pet. App. A, p. 44)

vReY

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.

INTRODUCTION.

This case raises “*. . . important questions concerning

the scope of 8(e) of the National Labor Relations Act

...” (Pet. App. A, p. 1). (emphasis added)

In that manner, the en banc Court below began its ma-

jority opinion legalizing broad ‘‘cease doing business’’

agreements. Its holding that a construction union may enter

into broad union-signatory subcontractors clauses, and may

picket to secure them, so long as the clauses are part of or

sought in a collective-bargaining relationship, effectively

permits a construction union to engage in unlimited ‘‘top-

down’’ organizing contrary to decisions of this Court and

to Congress’ legislative judgment. Moreover, the en banc

majority’s reasoning fails to give credence to this Court’s

prior holding that the proviso’s shelter must be limited to

clauses whose purpose is to alleviate jobsite frictions on

particular common-situs construction sites.

This Court previously has recognized that broad union-

signatory subcontractors clauses, such as those validated by

the decision below, can have far-reaching adverse conse-

quences. In Connell Construction Co., Inc. v. Plumbers

& Steamfitters, Local Union 100, 421 U.S. 616 (1975), this

Court, considering a clause almost identical to those here,

noted in an anti-trust context that such provisions outside

a bargaining relationship were not related to any policies

protected by the labor laws, and that such provisions could

have the potential to restrain competition in ways that

**. . . would not follow naturally from the elimination of

competition over wages and working conditions.’’ /d., at

625.

The broad union-signatory subcontractor clauses involved

here are ‘‘agreements to conduct a secondary boycott’’. As

such, their validation can only serve to cause substantial

and significant policy conflicts under the federal labor laws

ee | eae

such as (1) the statutory right of workers to freely choose

their bargaining representative without the coercive ‘‘top-

down’’ organizing inherent in secondary-boycott union-sig-

natory subcontractor clauses vs. the desire of construction

unions to utilize subcontractor clauses as ‘‘top-down’’ or-

ganizing tools because of the nature of the construction

industry, and (2) a construction union’s interest in stand-

ardizing wages and working conditions vs. the right of con-

struction users, owners, developers, and general contractors

to determine the identity of the firms with whom they will

do business without broad union restraints on that choice.

The delicate balance between these policy questions was

struck incorrectly by the Court below in favor of a con-

struction union’s unrestrained use of union-signatory sub-

contractor clauses and against the statutory and common-

law rights of workers and employers.

The decision below, thus, adversely affects the construc-

tion industry and federal labor policy. Thousands of con-

struction workers who have chosen to remain non-union,

or who have chosen to be represented by other than the

*‘correct’’ union are penalized for such a choice: their work

opportunities are lessened by their employers’ ineligibility

to compete for work in a certain segment of the construction

market. Moreover, the construction users’ and general con-

tractors’ acknowledged freedom to determine the most ef-

ficient, and perhaps the least costly, manner of performing

work has been restrained.

Hence, the important matters of federal policy presented

by the issues in this matter and by the decision below reveal

the necessity for their review and resolution by this Court.

ARGUMENT.

The Decision Below Conflicts With This Court’s Decision

in Conneii Construction Co., Inc. v. Plumbers &

Steamfitters, Local Union 100, 421 U.S. 616 (1975).

The pivotal question before the Court of Appeals was:

how broad an exemption from Section 8(e) of the Act did

Congress intend to give construction unions when it added

it’, ae

the construction industry proviso to that Section? That was

the same question presented to this Court in Connell Con-

struction Co., Inc. v. Plumbers & Steamfitters, Local Union

100, supra. The Court of Appeals and this Court are in

conflict on the answer to this question, and this conflict

requires prompt resolution by this Court.

In Connell, this Court concluded that the proviso’s ex-

emption had to be determined in light of the statutory setting

surrounding its enactment. After reviewing that setting, it

narrowed the proviso’s literal meaning, asserting that its

exemption is narrower than its words. Fairly interpreted,

Connell holds that the shelter, if any, given secondary sub-

contract provisions by the proviso is no greater than the

reason for the proviso’s enactment. /d., at 628.

In Connell, the union demanded that Connell execute an

agreement which would have required that Connell sub-

contract its plumbing mechanical work only to firms which

had agreements with Local 100. When Connell refused to

execute the agreement, Local 100 picketed Connell’s jobsite

to compel its execution. Connell did not normally perform

plumbing mechanical work with its own employees, and

Local 100 was not and did not want to be the collective-

bargaining representative of any of Connell’s employees.

The Court, when presented with the question as to whether

or not this particular subcontracting agreement fell within

the protection of the construction industry proviso to Section

8(e) of the Act, held that although the agreement appeared

privileged by the proviso’s words, the agreement was not

so privileged because, in the Court’s opinion:

**. . . we think [the proviso’s] authorization extends

only to agreements in the context of collective-bar-

gaining relationships, and in light of congressional ref-

erences to the Denver Building Trades problem, pos-

sibly to common-situs relationships on particular jobsites

as well.’’ 421 U.S. at 633.

|

This Court interpreted the construct construction industry

proviso as ‘‘a measure designed to allow [certain secondary]

agreements’’ pertaining to work on a construction site,

because of the close community of interests shared by work-

ers there, including the interest of avoiding the frictions that

may arise when union men work continuously alongside

non-union men at a construction site. /d., at 630.°

The decision below, however, concluded that the pre-

vailing thrust of Connell favors a ‘‘broader view of the

[construction industry proviso’s] exemption’’ (Pet. App. A,

p. 23) that would essentially permit all union-signatory sub-

contractor clauses, even those which are not directly related

to union worker vs. non-union worker ‘‘interests’’ on a

*Accord, International Union of Operating, Engineers, Local 542

(York County Bridge), 216 N.L.R.B. 408, (1979), enforced, 532

F.2d 902 (3rd Cir. 1976) (‘The 8(e) proviso was intended to prevent

labor strife among non-union and union employees at the same jobsite’’);

Drivers, Salesmen, etc., Local 695 v. N.L.R.B., 361 F.2d 547, 553

(D.C. Cir. 1966) (‘*The purpose of the Section 8(e) proviso was to

alleviate the frictions that may arise when union men work continuously

—— non-union men on the same construction site’’); Essex County

and Vicinity District Council of Carpenters v. N.L.R.B., 332 F.2d 636,

640 (3rd Cir. 1964) (‘*This limited exemption was granted apparently

in recognition of problems peculiar to the construction ewer nd gl

eg those resulting from sporadic work st $ occasi by

the traditional refusal of craft union men to work alongside non-union

men on the same project’); Associated General Contractors of Cali-

fornia, Inc. pbs R.B., ay F.2d Sena Regd yoind f tnd

construction viso was designed to enabie employers

unions to t friction between union and non-union employees on

the same Pbsite"’).

Obviously, the *‘close community of interests’’ referred to by the

Court incl the narrower ‘‘shoulder-to-shoulder’’ purpose. However,

the *‘close orem of interests’’ purpose is no broader than the

behind the 1959 Con ional proposals to overrule Denver

uilding Trades, see 421 U.S. at 629, and is no broader than the

protection of the common interests shared by all workers at the common

situs— **. . . they work side by side and the wages and working con-

p> ncend of ving trade ~~, - ed ore het off 195 cn Labor-

anagement Reporting isclosure Act , at :

Accordingly, it would that the proviso’s sanction is clearly

no broader than the of the union's interest in preventing

jobsite tension between the union and non-union workers over their

union versus non-union status c their working conditions.

TAC Ye

particular construction site. In this regard, the en banc Court

of Appeals suggests that the maintenance of industry-wide

contract standards or preserving the general continuity in

benefits of the unions’ members are interests protected by

the proviso. (Pet. App. A, pp. 26-27, and p. 51, Judge

Farris, dissenting.)

This Court’s view of the exemption provided by the pro-

viso and that of the Court of Appeals are, hence, in direct

conflict.

This Court’s view of the proviso would shelter only those

otherwise secondary agreements which are related to the

proviso’s jobsite interests. The latter would shelter those

which are related to general construction union interests

such as maintaining industry-wide contract standards.’

Under this Court’s rationale, subcontractor clauses which

restrict a contractor from subcontracting to non-union sub-

contractors are sheltered by the Section 8(e) proviso only

if there are in the context of a collective-bargaining rela-

tionship and then only if they are limited in language, pur-

pose, and use to the union’s interest on particular jobsites

in alleviating the frictions that may arise between union and

non-union workers at the site, or to some other specific

interest at a particular site."

Under the Court of Appeals’ rationale, such clauses are

sheltered invariably by being in a collective-bargaining re-

"The en banc Court's t view that Congress intended for the

proviso to protect con standards in the construction industry does

not find any definitive support in the legislative history to Section 8(e)

or its proviso. Moreover, **contract standards’’ would appear to be ca-

“nytt ageweracs by a primary ‘‘union standards’’ clause which would

ide the general of Section 8(¢) and, thus, not covered by

= — : any event. See, dissenting opinion of Judge Farris at Pet.

. A, p. 51)

Tas Petitioner understands Connell, the words *‘collective-bargaining

relationship’’ refer to one where the contractor employs workers rep-

resented by the signatory union at the particular jobsite. It is only then

that the contractor is not a ‘‘stranger’’ to the union.

saci i

lationship without regard to the purposes served by such

clauses or the magnitude of the restraint on doing business

involved.

The Court below buttressed its conclusion by remarking

that Congress was aware of and approved a ‘‘pattern of

collective-bargaining,’’ which included broad union-sig-

natory subcontractor clauses, and that Congress thus in-

tended for the proviso to legalize these specific kinds of

clauses. (Pet. App. A, p. 24).

However, this Court has dismissed the legislative history

reference to a ‘‘pattern of collective bargaining’’ as support

for the reason for enactment of the proviso. 421 U.S. at

628-29. This Court felt that the proviso was a ‘‘partial

substitute’’ for legislatively overruling this Court’s decision

in N.L.R.B. v. Denver Building & Construction Trades

council, 341 U.S. 675 (1951), and confined the proviso’s

purpose and exemption to that problem.

The Court of Appeals’ decision does not so limit the

proviso, but expands it to permit a construction union to

utilize union-only subcontracting provisions simply because

they are contained in a union contract and recite that they

will apply to some construction site, somewhere. This is

contrary to this Court’s belief that such clauses are

legitimated by the proviso only where they are limited to

particular construction sites involving common-situs inter-

ests.”

*Professor Gorman, has concluded:

**Because of the frictions ecenampens | created by the presence in

the construction industry of union and nonunion employees work-

ing side-by-side at the jobsite, section 8(e) expressly exempts from

its ban hot ae pad grt acy ‘relating to the contracting or sub-

contracting of to be done at the site of the construction.’

**The [Connell] Court read the legislative history of the con-

struction industry proviso to evidence a Congressional concern

for the union which used the hot cargo agreement in order to

eliminate the friction of having union and nonunion employees

working alongside each other on a construction site. This policy

(footnote continued on following page)

ae oe

The Court of Appeals’ approval of broad union-signatory

subcontractor clauses restrains the contractor's subcontrac-

tor’s employees in the selection of their collective-bargain-

ing representative, forcing them to choose the signatory

union as their representative and economically penalizing

those employees for their free choice not to be represented

by the signatory union, a different union or no union, by

making their employer ineligible to compete for certain

work. Permitting this type of economic coercion in aid of

a construction union’s organizing would open that glaring

loophole in the Act’s restrictions on *‘top-down’’ organizing

not intended by Congress or by this Court, /d. at 633. As

this Court has stated before: “The Act is wholly neutral

when it comes to that basic choice [for or against a particular

union.]’’ N.L.R.B. v. Savair Mfg. Co., 414 U.S. 270, 278

(1973). The Court of Appeals’ decision taints the neutrality

of the Act, contrary to this Court’s and Congress’ intent.

This Court concluded in Connell that Congress intended

that garment industry unions could use subcontractor agree- »

ments as organizational weapons, but that construction

unions were not to be permitted to use broad top-down

economic pressure in aid of organizational goals. /d., at 630

(‘*. .. Congress did not .. . indicate that [construction

unions] were free to use subcontracting agreements as a

was licable to the union in Connell because that union was

not seeking to protect the employees of the general contractor

(whom they were not organizing) from working alongside non-

union employees, was not seeking thus to protect its own members

(since the ban on subcontracting would apply even on jobsites at

which these members were not yet employed, and even if they

were employed the ban would not forbid the use of other nonunion

subcontractors), and was not seeking to ize en particular

Seirus te adtoiice wee pera te h the picketing took

place (since ve was generally to exert pressure on me-

chanical subcontractors in the Dallas area). The Court doubted

that Congress intended to shelter hot cargo agreements with con-

tractors who were ‘strangers’ to the union, thereby giving con-

. pacer mae ‘an almost pre wpe ren bp a in

achie ‘top-down’ nst wi of employ-

ees.’’ R. Gorman, Basic Test on poe Law 271-73 (West, 076)

(emphasis added).

i

broad organizational weapon.’’) The Court of Appeals’ de-

cision permits the very vice this Court did not believe should

be the province of construction unions.

In sum, the decision below is contrary to the language,

policy, and intent of this Court’s Connell! decision. Con-

sequently, the Court of Appeals’ conclusion that the

**. .. existence of a collective-bargaining relationship

clearly brings a union-signatory subcontracting agreement

within the proviso to 8(e) . . .’"’ was wrong. This error

requires prompt review and reversal by this Court.

The Decision Below Presents Important Questions, Pre-

viously Unanswered by This Court, Concerning the

Extent of the Validity Under Section 8(e) of the Act

of Agreements to Conduct Secondary Boycotts in

the Construction Industry.

In Local 1976, United Brotherhood of Carpenters etc.,

et al. v. N.L.R.B. (Sand Door and Plywood Company), 357

U.S. 93 (1958), this Court exhaustively examined the leg-

islative history, meaning, and reach of Section 8(b)(4) of

the Act as applied to a construction union’s attempted use

of a ‘‘hot cargo’’ clause — an agreement to conduct a

secondary boycott — in a collective bargaining agreement

as a defense to that Section of the Act. This Court held that

such a provision, even if voluntarily agreed to, could not

be such a defense.

But this Court, in Sand Door, did not reach the validity

or legality of such a provision contained in a collective-

bargaining agreement. Indeed, the Court stated: ‘‘There is

no occasion to consider the validity of hot cargo provisions

as such.’’ 357 U.S. at 107.

When Congress attempted to strike down ‘‘hot cargo’’

clauses in the main portion of Section 8(e) and to exempt

from that prohibition certain agreements relating to the con-

tracting of work to be done at construction sites, it assumed

the legality of the latter agreements. Thus, the legislative

history to Section 8(e) and the proviso contains statements

that such jobsite construction agreements *‘. . . appear to

be legal today. . . .”’ Il, Legislative History of the LMRDA

of 1959, p. 1433.

This Court had not then so ruled, and it has not yet

definitively done so. This Court’s decisions in National

Woodwork Manufacturers Ass'n v. N.L.R.B., 386 U.S. 612

(1967), and Houston Insulation Contractors Ass'n v.

N.L.R.B., 386 U.S. 664 (1967), dealt with the primary-

secondary scope of Section 8(e) of the Act, but not

with the application of that Section’s construction industry

proviso.

This Court’s decision in Connell Construction Co., Inc.

v. Plumbers & Steamfitters, Local Union 100, supra, did

construe the application of the construction industry proviso

to a ‘hot cargo’’ clause -— specifically, a union-signatory

subcontractor clause — but did so in an anti-trust context

and in a situation not involving a collective-bargaining

agreement.

Hence, this case presents an appropriate vehicle for this

Court now to delineate what it left open in Sand Door and

did not definitively determine in Connell: the extent of the

validity or invalidity of ‘‘hot cargo’’ provisions, including

union-signatory subcontractor clauses, in construction in-

dustry collective-bargaining agreements, and the types of

such agreements Congress meant to protect under the pro-

viso to Section 8(e).

Such a determination, of necessity, will require an ex-

amination of the purpose of the enactment of Section 8(e)

and its construction industry proviso, an examination

initially articulated by this Court in National Woodwork

Manfacturers Ass'n v. N.L.R.B., supra, continued, ex-

haustively, in Connell Construction Co., Inc. v. Pi nbers

& Steamfitters, Local Union 100, supra, and in need of

further clarification by this Court to clear up ambiguities

remaining after Connell. Thus, on the question of the pur-

=

pose and breadth of the proviso, the decision below was

adverse to Petitioner. But, as the majority of the en banc

Court noted:

**[T]he Connell decision, . . . admittedly has language

that might point to either result .. .’’ (emphasis

supplied) (Pet. App. A, p. 39)

Indeed, the en banc Court below split 7-4 on the question

of the congressional intent behind the proviso, on the ques-

tion of the validity of the subcontractor clauses at issue, and

on the interpretation of the Connell opinion’s language con-

cerning the shelter afforded such agreements by the proviso.

The four dissenting judges concluded that the subcontractor

agreements in issue could not be privileged by the proviso

because in their view, and, the now-vacated view of the

three-judge panel of the Court, 609 F.2d 1341 (9th Cir.

1979), subcontractor clauses are privileged only in the con-

text of a collective-bargaining relationship and then only

if applicable to particular jobsites where union workers are

working with non-union men.

In contrast, the seven judges in the majority, admitting

the ambiguity of the words, stated:

‘Finally, in summarizing the proviso’s effect, the

Connell Court stated:

‘(W]e think its authorization extends only to agree-

ments in the context of collective bargaining rela-

tionships and in light of congressional references to

the Denver Building Trades problem, possibly to

common-situs relationships on particular jobsites as

well.’

421 U.S. at 633. While it might be susceptible to an-

other reading, (emphasis supplied) we interpret this

language to mean that the existence of a collective

bargaining relationship clearly brings a union signatory

subcontracting agreement within the proviso to §8(e)

and that in the absence of a collective bargaining re-

lationship, it is possible that such an agreement may

—_20—

be valid where the union actually has workers on the

job that may be threatened with shoulder-to-shoulder

friction.””’’ (Pet. App. A, 37)

The seven-judge majority added that the Courts and com-

mentators have varied in their understanding of whether or

not the above-quoted Connell language requires both a

collective-bargaining relationship and a limitation to partic-

ular jobsites, (Pet. App. A, p. 37, n.37),

Clarification of the extent of the proviso's shelter is now

needed in view of the lack of clarity in Connell on this

point, For example, a distinguished commentator has stated:

**Logically, under the [Connell] major ty’s rationale,

either the existence of a collective bargaining relation-

ship or the limitation of the agreement to particular

jobsites (where union men are working?) would appear

to be a separate, independent basis for Section 8(e)

proviso coverage and concomitant antitrust immunity.

The Connell opinion is not clear on these points.”’

(emphasis added.)

St. Antoine, ‘‘Connell: Antitrust Law At The Expense of

Labor Law,"’ 62 Va. L. Rev. 603, 619 n.74 (1976).

The instant case presents the opportunity for this Court

to give the industry and the Courts definitive guidance on

when these ‘secondary boycott’’ agreements, even though

contained in a collective-bargaining relationship, are legi-

timated by the proviso to Section 8(¢). The Court should

take this opportunity to do so in view of the substantial

importance the case has in the application of the Act to

construction industry unions, workers, and empioyers, and

in view of the substantial conflict within the Court of Ap-

peals below on this issue.

Es

The Extent of a Construction Union’s Right to Engage

in Top-Down Organizing by Picketing Employers

to Obtain Union-Signatory Subcontracting Agree-

ments Has Not Been and Should Be Determined by

This Court.

The Court of Appeals’ decision sustains the Board's view

that a construction union can utilize strikes and picketing

to obtain a union-only subcontracting agreement if that

agreement is otherwise protected by the construction in-

dustry proviso to Section 8(e) of the Act. (Pet. App. A, pp.

40-41). This conclusion of both the Board and the Court

of Appeals is contrary to the legislative history behind the

enactment of the proviso and Section 8(b)(4)(A) of the Act.

This Court has never determined the extent to which a

construction union can utilize coercive conduct to extract

union-signatory subcontracting agreements from unwilling

employers. It should take the opportunity to do so in this

case,

In this regard, in Connell Construction Co., Inc. v.

Plumbers & Steamfitters, Local Union 100, supra, this

Court acknowledged the contention that the proviso to Sec-

tion 8(e) of the Act was intended to permit only voluntary

jobsite subcontracting agreements. In view of its holding

that the agreement there was outside the proviso, this Court

did not reach the issue, 421 U.S. at 634, n.14. As this Court

noted in Connell, the foundation for this contention was that

Congress intended Section 8(b)(4) of the Act to forbid such

picketing. /d.

Subsequent to the 1959 congressional amendments which

added Section 8(e), its proviso, and Section 8(b)(4)(A) to

the Act, the Board construed the legislative history to these

Sections to mean that Section 8(b)(4) outlawed all picketing

or economic coercion designed to force an employer to enter

into union-signatory subcontracting agreements otherwise

protected by the proviso. Construction, Production, and

of

Maintenance Laborers Union, Local 383 (Colson and Ste-

vens Construction Co., Inc.), 137 N.L.R.B. 1650 (1962),

enf. denied, 323 F.2d 422 (9th Cir, 1963). The Board's

position in Colson and Stevens was fairly straight-forward.

It found support in the Conference Report to the House

dealing with the enactment of the proviso to Section 8(¢)

for the proposition that Congress intended for the proviso

to permit only voluntarily-entered subcontracting agree-

ments, Thus, in the Board's view, if such were entered into

involuntarily, they were prohibited by Section 8(e) and the

coercion used to exact them would be within the literal

proscription of Section 8(b)(4)(A) of the Act. /d., 137

N.L.R.B. at 1651-52.

The circuit courts which considered the issue shortly

thereafter disagreed with this view. Essex County and Vi-

cinity District Council of Carpenters and Millwrights v.

N.L.R.B., 332 F.2d 636 (3d Cir, 1964); Orange Belt District

Council of Painters No. 48 v. N.L.R.B., 328 F.2d 534, 537

(D.C. Cir, 1964); Construction, Production & Maintenance

Laborers Union, Local 383, 323 F.2d 422 (9th Cir, 1963),

The Board subsequently agreed with those courts that since

Section 8(b)(4)(A) referred to only ‘‘agreements prohibited

by Section 8(e),"’ the construction proviso was incorporated

by that reference and that it, thus, literally permitted pick-

eting and strikes to force a construction employer to agree

to a proviso-protected subcontracting clause. Northeastern

Indiana Building and Construction Trades Council (Cen-

trilivre Village Apartments), 148 N.L.R.B. 854 (1964),

Adherence to this rule by the Court, below, which is at

variance with the legislative ‘istory, permits a construction

union to do that which Mr. Justice Powell, writing for a

majority of the Court in Connell, stated was contrary to

congressional intent: permitting construction unions to use

broad subcontracting agreements as ‘‘top-down"’ organizing

tools. Here, the Unions are and have been at liberty to strike

and picket Woelke & Romero because the latter would not

er

agree to take part in the Unions’ top-down organizing in-

herent in agreeing to the subcontractor clause. Woclke &

Romero is now and has been powerless to resist the Unions’

coercive pressure except by executing the agreement. Sec-

tion 8(b)(7) of the Act, 29 U.S.C. $158(b)(7) affords no

remedy, contrary to the implication of the en banc majority

below (Pet. App. A, p. 36) inasmuch as that Section applies

only to picketing for the purposes of acquiring initial union

recognition and not to picketing in furtherance of contract

demands during an existing bargaining relationship. N.L.R.B.

v. Iron Workers, Local 103 (Higdon Contracting), 434 U.S.

335 (1978). The Court of Appeals below has stated that

Section 8(b)(4)(A) of the Act does not prohibit the Unions’

conduct. The Unions’ coercive force for a top-down organ-

izing agreement is, therefore, unlimited and unrestrained

here: even though Woclke & Romero had a bargaining re-

lationship with the Unions and did say ‘‘No’’ to them when

it was asked to sign a contract containing those provisions,

it subjected itself to unrestrained picketing pressure to force

it to so agree as a penalty for that bargaining position. This

Court has doubted that Congress intended for construction

unions to have such unrestrained power. Connell Construc-

tion Co., Inc. v. Plumbers & Steamfitters, Local Union 100,

supra, at 631-32.

Further, this Court has heretofore indicated ‘*. . . that

§8(e) must be interpreted in light of the statutory setting and

the circumstances surrounding its enactment... .’”’ /d., 421

U.S. at 628. And, the circumstances surrounding its en-

actment show that Congress did not intend that restrictive

secondary subcontracting agreements could be obtained by

picketing. Thus, in explaining the Conference Report to the

House dealing with the enactment of the proviso, Repre-

sentative Barden, one of the conferees, stated:

‘*The first proviso under subsection (e) of section 704

permits the making of voluntary agreements between

a labor organization and an employer in the construc-

_24—

tion industry relating to the contracting or subcontract-

ing of work to be done directly on the site of construc-

tion.

**This proviso is intended to permit what is now lawful

and deals only with situations where there is a con-

tractor or subcontractor relationship and not to situa-

tions where there is no privity of contract between two

or more contractors on a particular site. Such as in the

case of cocontractors, each having direct contracts with

the owner.’’ (Emphasis added.) II, Legislative History

of the LMRDA of 1959, p. 1715.

Since one of the major aims of the 1959 Act was to

restrain and limit ‘‘top-down’’ organizing, to permit a con-

struction union to avoid these restrictions by picketing to

obtain a secondary union-signatory subcontractor clause

would open a loophole in the Congressional scheme.

Connell Construction Co., Inc. v. Plumbers & Steamfitters,

Local Union 100, supra at 632-33.

Finally, inasmuch as part of the Congressional scheme

may have been to preserve the law existing prior to 1959

as to a union’s right, or lack thereof, to picket to obtain

such agreements, it would be more in line with the Congres-

sional intent to prohibit picketing to secure such agreements.

The Board had held prior to 1959 that picketing to achieve

a subcontractors clause was illegal under Section 8(b)(4).

See, e.g., Local 47, Teamsters (T. C. Bateson Construction

Co., and Texas Industries), 112 N.L.R.B. 923 (1955),

enf’d, 234 F.2d 296 (Sth Cir. 1956); Bangor Building

Trades Council, AFL-CIO (Davison Construction Com-

pany, Inc.), 123 N.L.R.B. 484 (1959), enf’d, 278 F.2d 287

(1st Cir. 1960); Bricklayers, Masons etc. (Selby-Battersby

& Company), 125 N.L.R.B. 1179 (1959). Consequently,

it is also likely that Congress did not intend for Section

8(b)(4)(A) to be construed to overrule that body of law by

permitting unions to picket to obtain binding agreeements

not to deal with non-union firms.

net cn

This issue has plagued the industry since the 1959 amend-

ments, and the vice of the current rule is plain. This Court

should provide guidance as to the extent to which such

coercive conduct may be permitted under the Act.

Conclusion.

For the reasons set forth above, a Writ of Certiorari should

be issued by this Court to review the judgment of the

U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit in this matter.

Los Angeles, California

Dated: April 28, 1981

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN W. PRAGER, JR.,

4000 MacArthur Boulevard,

Suite 900,

Newport Beach, Calif. 92660,

(714) 752-6100,

Attorney for Petitioner.

APPENDICES

APPENDIX A.

Opinion.

United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

Pacific Northwest Chapter of the Associated Builders

& Contractors, Inc., Petitioner vs. National Labor Relations

Board, Respondent. No. 78-3469.

Oregon-Columbia Chapter, The Associated General Con-

tractors of America, Inc., Petitioner, vs. National Labor

Relations Board, Respondent. No. 78-3487.

International Union of Operating Engineers, Local No.

701, Petitioner, vs. National Labor Relations Board,

Respondent. No. 78-3619.

Woelke & Romero Framing, Inc., Petitioner, vs. National

Labor Relations Board, Respondent, Carpenters Local No.

944 and Carpenters Local No. 235, Intervenors. No.

78-3468.

National Labor Relations Board, Petitioner, vs. Carpen-

ters Local No. 944, United Brotherhood of Carpenters &

Joiners of America, AFL-CIO, and Carpenters Local No.

235, United Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners of

America, AFL-CIO, Respondent. No. 79-7011.

Petitions for Review of Orders of the National Labor

Relations Board. Argued and submitted October 16, 1980.

Before: Browning, Chief Judge, Choy, Wallace, Sneed

Anderson, Schroeder, Fletcher, Farris, Nelson, Canby and

Norris, Circuit Judges.

Filed: April 17, 1981.

CANBY, Circuit Judge.

These cases raise important questions concerning the

scope of § 8(e) of the National Labor Relations Act, 29

U.S.C. § 158(e), which prohibits ‘‘hot cargo’’ agreements.

The primary issue is whether the construction industry pro-

on

viso to § 8(e) renders lawful clauses in collective bargaining

contracts forbidding the employers to subcontract work at

any construction site to a firm not having a contract with

the signatory union. Additional issues are whether unions

may picket or strike to induce an employer to enter these

agreements and whether the agreements, once entered, may

be enforced by picketing or strikes. We conclude that the

subcontracting clauses fall within the construction industry

proviso and consequently do not violate § 8(e). We also

conclude that unions may picket or strike to obtain such

agreements, but not to enforce them. The orders of the

National Labor Relations Board are accordingly enforced.

I.

FACTS.

Two orders of the Board are under review here pursuant

to 29 U.S.C. § 160(e) and ¢f). The first concerns a collective

bargaining agreement between Oregon-Columbia Chapter

of the Associated General Contractors of America, Inc.,

(AGC) and Local 701 of the International Union of Oper-

ating Engineers (Engineers). AGC is an association of some

200 employers engaged in construction in Oregon and south-

west Washington. These employers have delegated their

collective bargaining authority to AGC. AGC and Engineers

entered into a collective bargaining agreement effective

from June 1, 1975, through May 31, 1980, which contained

the following clause:

Article VIII

Subcontractors and Other Employers.

Section 1. Employers shall not contract any work

covered by this Agreement to be done at the site of the

construction, alteration, painting or repair of a build-

ing, structure or other work to any person, firm or

company who does not have an existing labor agree-

ment with the Union covering such work.

2.

Subsequent clauses' provide for a grievance procedure

leading to arbitration and further provide that should the

parties fail to comply with the arbitrator’s decision, then

**{e]ither party may take such action as they deem necessary

to enforce the findings. . . .’’ The effect of the latter pro-

vision is to permit either party to employ self-help, such as

strikes or lockouts, that would otherwise be prohibited by

another article of the agreement.

Upon complaint by Pacific Northwest Chapter of the

Associated Builders & Contractors, Inc., Engineers and

AGC were charged with violating § 8(e)’ of the National

‘Other relevant clauses of the AGC agreement are:

ARTICLE IX

Settlement of Disputes

Grievance Procedure

Section 1, In the settlement of disputes arising out of a violation,

misunderstanding or difference in interpretation of this agreement,

the following procedure shall be followed:

* +

* *

Section 5. Should the parties involved fail to comply with the

{arbitrator's} findings within five (5) days after such written no-

tification by either party . . ., then all means of arbitration shall

be considered exhausted.

Either party saw the. take such action as they deem necessary to

enforce the findings and they shall not be considered in

violation of any oat of this Agreement.

ARTICLE X

Strikes and Lockouts

Section 1. Unless otherwise provided herein, it is mutually

agreed that there will be no strikes or lockouts, or cessation of

work by either party, for the duration of this Agreement. All

disputes arising under this Agreement shall be submitted to the

<r. for the settlement of disputes as provided in this

greement

Section 8{e), 29 U.S.C. § 158(e), provides in pertinent part:

It shall be an unfair labor practice for any labor organization and

any ¢ er to enter into any contract or agreement, express or

implied, whereby such employer ceases or refrains or agrees to

cease or refrain from handling, using, selling, transporting or

otherwise dealing in any of the products of any other employer,

or to cease doing business with any other person, and any contract

or agreement entered into heretofore or hereafter containing such

an shall be to such extent unenforceable and void:

Provided, That nothing in this subsection shall apply to an agree-

ment between a labor organization and an em in the con-

struction industry relating to the contracting or subcontracting of

work to be done at the site of the construction, er Painting

or repair of a building, structure, or other work .

pate YEN

Labor Relations Act, which prohibits agreements between

a labor organization and an employer in wh, h the employer

agrees to refrain from using the products of another em-

ployer or to cease doing business with any other person.

The case was submitted to the Board upon stipulated facts

and the Board found that, while the agreement fell within

the prohibition of § 8(e), it was exempted from the coverage

of that provision by the construction industry proviso ap-

. plicable to agreements ‘between a labor organization and

an employer in the construction industry relating to the

contracting or subcontracting of work to be done at the site

of the construction, alteration, painting, or repair of a build-

ing, structure, or other work. . . ."’ The Board also ruled

that the clause authorizing enforcement of the subcontract-

ing provision by self-help was invalid. All parties petitioned

for review and the Board sought enforcement of its order.

The second decision of the Board concerns Woelke and

Romero Framing, Inc., (Woelke), a framing subcontractor

in the construction industry in Southern California. Woelke

was a party to a collective bargaining agreement entered on

July 5, 1974, with the United Brotherhood of Carpenters

and Joiners of America, AFL-CIO (Carpenters), a group

which included Locals Number 235 and 944 involved in

this litigation. That agreement expired on June 15, 1977.

From about June 3, 1977, to August 4, 1977, Carpenters

and Woelke engaged in collective bargaining for the purpose

of negotiating a successor agreement. They broke off ne-

gotiations when they reached an impasse over several is-

sues.’ One such issue was the union's demand for a clause

*Another issue over which the parties reached impasse was Carpen-

ters’ demand to include Woelke's foremen in the ining unit. The

Board found that picketing to enforce this demand vio’ 8(b)(1)(B)

of the Act. The union has not contested that ruling in this court. We

therefore enforce the Board's order concerning this issue.

a as

in the contract that prohibited Woelke from subcontracting

work at any construction jobsite ‘‘except to a person, firm

or corporation, party to an appropriate, current labor agree-

ment with the appropriate union, or subordinate body sig-

natory to this Agreement.’"* In support of Carpenters’ de-

mand for this contract provision, Locals 235 and 944

picketed Woelke’s construction sites, causing some work

stoppages. The two locals were charged with violation of

§ 8(b)(4)(i) and (ii)(A) of the Act® for picketing to require

“The proposed clause provides:

The Contractor agrees that neither he nor any of his subcon-

tractors on the jobsite will subcontract any work to be done at the

site of construction, alteration, painting or repair of a building,

structure or ope work (including quarries, rock, sand and gravel

— asphalt a= , feady-mix concrete plants, established on

jacent to jobsite to process or supply materials for the

pot ovo of the Contractor for jobsite use) except to a person,

firm or corporation, party to an appropriate, current labor agree-

ment with the mada Union, or subordinate body signatory

to this Agreement.

*Sections 8(b)(4)(i) and (ii)(A) and (B), 29 U.S.C. § 158(b)(4)(i) and

(iiMA) and (B), provide:

©), It shall be an unfair labor practice for a labor organization

or its nts —

(4)(i) to engage in, or to induce or encourage any individual

employed by any person engaged in commerce or in an industry

affecting commerce to engage in, a strike or a refusal in the

course of his employment to use, manufacture, process, trans-

port, or otherwise handle or work on any goods, articles, ma-

terials, or commodities or to perform any services; or (ii) to

threaten, coerce, or restrain any person engaged in commerce

or in an industry affecting commerce, where in either case an

object thereof is —

(A) forcing or requiring coe Pama ded or self-employed per-

son to join any labor or employer —— or to enter into

pra agreement which is prohibited by subsection (e) of this

(B) serge or requiring any person to cease using, selling,

espe pone ing, or otherwise dealing in the products of

oe » processor, or manufacturer, or to cease

doing business with any other person, or forcing or requiring

any other employer to recognize or bargain with a labor or-

fiber oe as the representative of his ¢ —— unless such

abor organization has been certified as tative of

h employees under the provisions of section 159 of this

title: Provided, That nothing contained in this clause (B) shall

be construed to make unlawful, where not otherwise unlawful,

any primary strike or primary picketing. . . .

a

an employer ‘‘to enter into any agreement which is prohib-

ited by section 8(e)."’

The case was submitted to the Board upon stipulation and

the Board found that the proposed subcontracting agreement

was not prohibited by § 8(e) because it fell within the con-

struction industry proviso, and that picketing to obtain such

a clause therefore did not violate § 8(b)(4). Woelke petitions

for review of the Board’s order, and the Board seeks

enforcement.°

Both decisions of the Board were reviewed by a panel

of this court. 609 F.2d 1341 (9th Cir. 1979). On the au-

thority of Connell Construction Co. v. Plumbers & Steam-

fitters Local Union No. 100, 421 U.S. 616 (1975), the panel

held that the subcontractor clauses were prohibited by § 8(e)

and did not fall within the protection of the construction

industry proviso because their applicability was not limited

to jobsites where members of the signatory union were em-

ployed at some time during the construction project. Having

found the present clauses nenforceable, the panel did not

reach the questions whether picketing or striking either to

obtain or enforce a lawful subcontractor clause would violate

§ 8(e). 609 F.2d at 1351. This court subsequently ordered

rehearing before a limited en banc panel as provided by

Public Law 95-486, 92 Stat. 1629, 1633 and Rule 25 of this

court.

*Along with the cases, re at 239 N.L.R.B. 274 (Pacific

Northwest) and 239 N.L.R.B. 241 (Woelke), the Board decided

Angeles Building & Construction Trades Council (Donald Schriver,

Inc.), 239 N.L.R.B. 264 (1978), and Colorado Building & Construction

Trades Council, 239 N.L.R.B. 253. The Board's order upholding broad

subcontractor ments in Schriver was enforced by the carey of

Columbia Circuit in an extensive and instructive opinion b fr

wards. Donald Schriver, Inc. v. NLRB, Nos. 78-3177

Ke

op. (D.C. Cir. Oct. 20, 1980).

em 25

Il.

ISSUES.

Four issues are presented for determination in these cases:

(1) Are the subcontracting clauses ‘‘secondary’’ and

therefore within the scope of § 8(e)?

(2) If the clauses are within the scope of § 8(e), are

they exempted from its proscription by the construction

industry proviso?

(3) If the subcontracting clauses are lawful, does it

nevertheless violate § 8(b)(4) for a union to picket or strike

to induce an employer to agree to one?

(4) If the subcontracting clauses are lawful, does it

nevertheless violate § 8(b)(4) to enforce them by picketing

or strikes?

Il.

APPLICABILITY OF § 8(e).

The subcontractor clauses in the present case clearly re-

quire the signatory employer to cease or refrain from using

the products of another employer or to cease doing business

with another person. The clauses consequently fall within

the literal language of § 8(e). In National Woodwork

Manufacturers Association v. NLRB, 386 U.S. 612 (1967),

however, the Supreme Court held that § 8(e) is not to be

read as expansively as its language seems to indicate. The

Court pointed out that the purpose of Congress in enacting

§ 8(e) was to pronibit voluntary arrangements that reached

the same result as coercive secondary boycotts prohibited

by § 8(b)(4)(ii)(B) of the Act. The Court therefore held that

an agreement between a union and an employer which pro-

hibited certain kinds of subcontracting was permissible so

long as the objective was to preserve work traditionally

performed at the jobsite by employees of the primary em-

ployer. Such a ‘‘work preservation’’ clause was viewed as

primary and therefore did not constitute an unfair labor

practice.’ The test whether an agreement was primary and

permissible was ‘‘whether the agreement or its maintenance

is addressed to the labor relations of the contracting em-

ployer vis-a-vis his own employees.’’ /d. at 645. An agree-

ment was secondary and prohibited when ‘‘the agreements

and boycotts were tactically calculated to satisfy union

objectives elsewhere.’’ Jd. at 644.

By the National Woodwork test, union signatory clauses

such as those in issue here are secondary in objective. They

do not seek to preserve work for the employees of the

contracting employer by limiting the amount of subcon-

tracting. Nor do they seek to protect the wage and benefit

standards of those same employees in their present em-

ployment by merely limiting subcontracting to third parties

who maintain equivalent standards. Instead, these union

signatory clauses permit unlimited subcontracting so long

as the subcontractors have an agreement with the contracting

union. Such clauses are properly viewed as secondary, for

they are intended to satisfy union objectives involving em-

ployees and employers outside of the bargaining or work

unit. Griffith Co. v. NLRB, 545 F.2d 1194 (9th Cir. 1976),

cert. denied, 434 U.S. 854 (1977); NLRB v. National Mar-

itime Union, 486 F.2d 907 (2d Cir. 1973), cert. denied,

416 U.S. 970 (1974).

It is contended by Engineers that the objective of pre-

serving work within the entire multi-employer bargaining

™Union standards’’ clauses, which soquice that an employer not

subcontract with anyone whose wage and fit scale does not meet

union standards, have also been held primary. The purpose of such

clauses is deemed to be protection of the pay and benefit scales of the

workers of the ee! employer. Truck Drivers Union Locui No. 413

v. NLRB, 334 F.2d 539, 548 (D.C. Cir.), cert. denied, 379 U.S. 916

(1964); NLRB v. National Maritime Union, 486 F.2d 907, 912 (2d Cir.

1973), cert. denied, 416 U.S. 970 (1974).

or Tae

unit of AGC is a primary goal and that this fact should take

its subcontracting clause outside of the scope of § 8(e). This

argument fails for two reasons. First, the clause in question

does not limit subcontracting to firms that are members of

AGC. Outsiders having an agreement with Engineers are

eligible, even though they and their employees are wholly

foreign to the multi-employer bargaining unit. The clause

therefore is not a primary work preservation clause. NLRB

v. National Maritime Union, 486 F.2d at 914. Second,

§ 8(e) applies in any event to an agreement which attempts

to preserve work for an entire multi-employer unit rather

than for single employers’ employees. This court dealt with

the issue in NLRB v. Joint Council of Teamsters No. 38,

338 F.2d 23, 28 (9th Cir. 1964):

Respondents seem to argue that [the clause] falls within

the exception to section 8(e) because it preserves the

job opportunities of employees within the multi-

employer bargaining unit by prohibiting subcontracting

to any employer outside that unit. But if this argument

were accepted, the exception to section 8(e) would

permit precisely what the section itself was intended

to prohibit: An agreement by an employer to boycott

another unless the latter entered into a union contract.

Accord, NLRB v. National Maritime Union, supra.

The union’s further contention that work preservation for

the employees of each contractor was one of the objectives

underlying the union subcontracting clause, does not compel

us to alter our conclusion. Regardless of the union’s other

objectives, if ‘‘an object of a clause is to aid union members

generaily rather than members of the unit, the object is

secondary and unlawful.’’ National Maritime Union, 196

N.L.R.B. 1100, 1101 (1972), enforced, 486 F.2d 907 (2d

Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 416 U.S. 970 (1974) (emphasis

supplied).

ee ae

It is true that the primary-secondary distinction is partic-

ularly difficult to maintain in the construction industry,

where contractors and subcontractors assemble their work

forces for specific short-term jobs. There is a great deal of

flexibility and interchangeability of employees between bar-

gaining units. As a result, a subcontractor clause may well

serve the interests of union members in the primary bar-

gaining unit who may later find themselves working for a

subcontractor. While we believe that fact to be of great

significance for purposes of determining the scope of the

construction industry proviso, we do not view it as deter-

minative of the initial applicability of § 8(e) itself. See NLRB

v. National Maritime Union,supra, at 913-14. The primary-

secondary distinction between separate employers working

the same jobsite in the construction industry has been

adhered to in the past, NLRB v. Denver Building & Con-

struction Trades, 341 U.S. 675 (1951), and we do not feel

free to disregard it here. Moreover, the consequences of

viewing union signatory clauses as primary would be not

only to remove them from the scope of § 8(e) but also to

remove picketing to enforce such agreements from the pro-

hibition of § 8(b)(4)(ii)(B). For reasons stated in Section

VI of this opinion, we believe that permitting coercive en-

forcement of union signatory clauses would be contrary to

the intent of Congress.

We accordingly hold that the union signatory clauses in

these cases are secondary and within the scope of § 8(e).

Their validity consequently depends upon their eligibility

for inclusion within the construction industry proviso to that

section.

IV.

SCOPE OF THE CONSTRUCTION INDUSTRY

PROVISO TO § &(e).

In order to ascertain the scope of the construction industry

proviso, it is necessary to examine its legislative history in

the light of the practices existing in the industry at that time

and the law then applicable. In so reviewing the origins of

the 1959 Landrum-Griffin Act of which § 8(e) and its pro-

viso were a part, we recognize that our initial conclusions

as to its meaning are subject to any modifications or cor-

rections that may be compelled by a fair reading of Connell

Construction Co. v. Plumbers & Steamfitters Local Union

No. 100, 421 U.S. 616 (1975). Indeed, it is the effect of

Connell that provides the primary ground of controversy in

the present litigation. We believe, however, that the Connell

decision is best analyzed after a review of the state of the

industry and the legislative and administrative history of the

proviso governing it.

(A) Construction Industry Background.

The primary characteristics which differentiate the con-

struction industry from most others are well stated in the

Senate Report on the 1959 amendments:

The occasional nature of the employment relationship

makes this industry markedly different from manufac-

turing and other types of enterprise. An individual

employee typically works for many employers and

for none of them continuously. Jobs are frequently of

short duration, depending upon various stages of

construction.

S. Rep. No. 187, 86th Cong., Ist Sess. 27 (1959); I

Legislative History of The Labor-Management Reporting

and Disclosure Act of 1959 423 (hereinafter Leg. Hist.).

These peculiarities of the construction industry created spe-

cial problems for both unions and employers long before

1959. Unions had to overcome difficulties of organizing

temporary workers and of maintaining wage and benefit

standards in unstable employment conditions. Employers

required a ready source of skilled workers available for each

new job, and had to be able to forecast labor costs accu-

rately. To satisfy these needs, unions and employers ham-

sill as

mered out a number of mutual accommodations. One such

arrangement was the closed shop, which was prevalent in

the industry by the 1920’s.* A second was negotiation of

area-wide agreements covering all construction work of a

certain type, with multiple contracting employers agreeing

to the standards set in those agreements.’ Of necessity, these

contracts dealt with wages, hours and working conditions

of employees yet to be hired for particular jobs by particular

employers.’ A third device was the agreement to restrict

subcontracting in various ways — to firms maintaining

union standards, or to firms that were unionized,"' or to .

firms that agreed to bind themselves to contracts with the

union signatory to the subcontracting clause."

Some of these devices were not necessarily consistent

with the organizational scheme of the National Labor Re-

lations Act in its original form. The Act initially caused no

disruption in the pattern of collective bargaining in the con-

struction industry, however, because the National Labor

Relations Board declined to exercise jurisdiction over that

industry.'* The Taft-Hartley Amendments to the Act, passed

"Haber, Industrial Relations in the Building Industry 238-40 (1930).

A stud by the National Manufacturers Association reported that in

1926, of all construction work was done under closed-shop con-

ditions. Id. at 240.

"Dunlop, The Industrial Relations System in Construction, in The

Structure of Collective Bargaining 255, 256-57 (Weber ed. 1961).

"S. Rep. No. 187, supra, 28; 1 ae Hist. 424. sgt og em Le

on Labora the Reform Legislation, Hearings before Subcommittee

the Committee of Labor and Public Welfare, United States

Senate (hereinafter Senate Hearings), 86th Cong., Ist Sess. 136

(testimony of Professor Cox).

"A union to limit subcontracting to union firms was held exempt

from the antitrust laws as early as 1934. Levering & Garrigues Co. v.

Morrin, 71 gi 7 te ah oe mye denied, 293 U.S. 595 (1934).

" Marcus, — pan, on the Labor-Man-

Reporting Duccionee As Act of 959, 822, 824 (Slovenko ed.

1)(hereinafter referred to as LMRDA Symposium).

"Brown and Root, Inc., 51 N.L.R.B. 820 (1943; Johns-Manville

Corp., 61 N.L.R.B. 1 (1945).

a,

in 1947, led to a reversal of the Board’s position. Those

amendments prohibited striking or picketing to coerce an

employer to refrain from dealing in the products of any

other employer or to cease to do business with any other

person. § 8(b)(4)(A).'* Subsequent to the amendments, the

Board’s General Counsel determined that the construction

industry would be regulated by the Board.'*

One effect of applying the amended Act to the construc-

tion industry was the invalidation of collective bargaining

agreements entered before any employees were hired on the

job. Guy F.. Atkinson Co. and J.A. Jones Construction Co.,

90 N.L.R.B. 143 (1950), enforcement denied on other

grounds, 195 F.2d 1 (9th Cir. 1952). The amended Act was

also applied to prohibit a construction union from picketing

a jobsite in order to force the general contractor with whom

it had a collective bargaining agreement to cease doing

business with a particular subcontractor on the job whose

employees were non-union. NRLB v. Denver Building &

Construction Trades Council, 341 U.S. 675 (1951). The

“The re oe ——- of § 8(b)(4)(A) are now in § 8(b)(4)(ii)(B),

quoted in

*Denham, 7 “Tat. Act’ s Impact on the Construction Industry, reprinted

in 21 L.R.R.M. 44 (1948). The Board's decision to exercise jurisdiction

over the industry following of the Taft-Hartley Amendments

resulted, in aro from the nts’ prohibiting the closed shop

“back ccuillaniie induces crews’’ (featherbedding), two accepted practices in the

Despite the General Counsel's action, the Taft-

Act was mee Mag ignored within the construction won Toney until

the Board decided United Ass’ n of Journeymen & Apprentices of Plum

ing and Pipefitting Industry (Brown-Olds), 115 N.L.R.B. 594 (1956),

and Mountain Pacific Chapter of Associated General Contractors Inc.

(Mountain-Pacific), 119 N.L.R.B. 883 (1958), remanded on other

= 270 F.2d 425 (9th Cir. 1959).

, The LMRDA and the coger 4 and Construction Industry,

A Symposium, note 12, supra, 1019, 1029. Thereafter the Gen-

ito bring its hiring A pac into line wth the provieioas of tae

to ts hiring nto line wi provisions 0}

Taft-Hart Hartley Act See ton, Union Hiring Halls: NLRB Rules,

Penalties, +) i R.R.M. 101, 103 (1958).

in

picketing was found to violate § 8(b)(4)(A)’s prohibition

of coercive secondary boycotts.

These applications of the amended National Labor Re-

lations Act to the construction industry were sufficiently

disruptive of existing practices that there was agitation for

modification of the Act, particularly in regard to pre-

hire practices and secondary activity. In 1954, President

Eisenhower called for amendments to permit prehire agree-

ments and to shorten to 7 days the time by which a nonunion

worker could be required to join a union under a union-shop

agreement. 100 Cong. Rec. 111, [1954] U.S. Code Cong.

& Admin. News 1532. Again in 1959, when calling for

amendments to tighten the prohibition against secondary

boycotts, the President added that provisions were needed

**to make clear that secondary activity is permitted .. .

under certain circumstances, against secondary employers

engaged in work at a common construction site with the

primary employer.’’ S. Doc. 10, 86th Cong., Ist Sess.; 105

Cong. Rec. 1297; I Leg. Hist. 82.

Accommodation to the special conditions of the construc-

tion industry was consequently an important consideration

that found expression in the 1959 amendments to the Act.

Those amendments, however, also embodied another major

goal of Congress at the time—that of limiting ‘‘hot cargo”’

agreements.

In June 1958, the Supreme Court had decided Local 1976,

United Brotherhood of Carpenters v. NLRB, (Sand Door),

357 U.S. 93. Sand Door stated that a union did not violate

§ 8(b)(4)(A) by securing the voluntary participation of an

employer in a boycott of another employer’s product. Al-

though the Court said it found no occasion to determine the

legality of ‘‘hot cargo’’ clauses (by which an employer

agreed to boycott nonunion firms) as such, id. at 107, Sand

va.) ae

Door was widely interpreted as permitting them. The

decision was seen as creating a loophole in the Act, and it

contributed heavily to the move toward amending the

secondary boycott provision of the Act.

(B) The Landrum-Griffin Amendments and § 8(e).

The 1959 revisions of the Act accomplished the congres-

sional purposes in various ways. The clearest accommo-

dation to the peculiar conditions of the construction industry

was found in § 8(f),"° which authorized unions and em-

ployers in that industry to enter prehire agreements fixing

terms and conditions of employment of workers yet to be

hired. This provision amounts to an exception to §§ 8(a)(1),

(2) and 8(b)(1)(A), which make it an unfair labor practice

for both the employer and the union to enter a collective

"Section 8(f), 29 U.S.C. § 158(f), provides:

It shall not be an unfair labor practice under subsections (a) and

(b) of this section for an employer engaged primarily in the build-

ing and construction industry to make an agreement covering

employees en (or who, upon their employment, will be

engaged) in the building and construction industry with a labor

organization of which building and construction employees are

members (not established, maintained, or assisted by any action

defined in subsection (a) of this section as an unfair labor practice)

because (1) the majority status of such labor organization has not

been established under the provisions of section 159 of this title

prior to the making of such agreement, or (2) such agreement

requires as a condition of employment, membership in such labor

organization after the seventh day following the beginning of such

ray os yey, or the effective date of the agreement, whichever

is , or (3) such agreement requires the employer to notif\

such labor organization of opportunities for employment with suc

employer, or gives such labor organization an coporensy to refer

qualiiied for such employment, or (4) such agreement

ifies minimum training or experience qualifications for em-

ployment or provides for ity in opportunities for employment

upon length of service with such employer, in the industry

or in the particular ical area: Provided That nothing in

this subsection shall set aside the final proviso to subsection (a)(3)

of this section: Provided further, That any agreement which would

be invalid, but for clause (1) of this subsection, shall not be a bar

to a petition filed pursuant to section 159(c) or 159(e) of this title.

a ee

bargaining agreement before the union represents a majority

of employees in the unit. /nternational Ladies Garment

Workers Union v. NLRB, 366 U.S. 731 (1961); see NLRB

v. International Association of Bridge, Structural &

Ornamental Iron Workers, 434 U.S. 335, 344-45 (1978).

Section 8(f) also shortened to 7 days the period for non-

union workers to join the union under the union-shop agree-

ment.

Conflicting policies were reflected clearly in the passage

of § 8(e), which was intended to narrow or close the loophole

for ‘‘hot cargo’’ agreements created by the Sand Door de-

cision. The Senate bill prohibited such agreements only in

the trucking industry,'’ while the House bill outlawed them

everywhere."* The Conference Committee adopted the

House version, but added the provisos creating exceptions

for the garment and construction industries." The garment

industry exception was unlimited as to time and place,”

while the construction industry proviso excepted agreements

“relating to the contracting or subcontracting of work to be

done at the site of the construction, alteration, painting or

repair of a building, structure or other work. . . .”’

"§. 1555, | Leg. Hist. 582.

""H.R. 8342 as amended by H.R. 8400, I Leg. Hist. 683.

"H.R. Rep. No. 1147 (Conference Report) 86th Cong., Ist Sess. 38-

40; | Leg. Hist. 942-44 (1959).

The garment industry proviso to § 8(e), 29 U.S.C. § 158i(e), states:

Provided further, That for the purpose of this subsection and

subsection (b)(4)(B) of this section the terms ‘‘any employer’’,

“any person engaged in commerce or an eyes Bagg: oy com-

merce’’, and ‘‘any person’’ when used in relation to the terms

“‘any other producer, processor, or manufacturer’, ‘any other

**, or ‘‘any other person’’ shall not include persons in

the relation of a jobber, manufacturer, contractor, or subcontractor

working on the goods or premises of the jobber or manufacturer

or performing parts of an integrated process of production in the

appare! and clothing industry. . . .

ret) ee

It is the nature and meaning of the construction industry

proviso’s restriction to the jobsite that gives rise to the

present controversy. The contractors assert that the proviso

is intended to authorize subcontracting clauses in collective

bargaining agreements only when union workers are present

at the jobsite, so that the presence of nonunion workers

there might lead to friction. The unions claim that the intent

was to authorize subcontracting clauses whether or not union

workers were at the jobsite, so long as the clauses refer to

work to be performed at the construction site. Although the

matter is not free from doubt, we believe that the legislative

history favors the latter view.

(C) Legislative Discussion of the Construction Industry

Proviso.

The legislative history regarding the construction industry

proviso is much less exhaustive than that surrounding the

garment industry proviso,”' but there are nevertheless in-

dications of congressional intent in the records. Senator

Kennedy, the chairman of the Conference Committee, said

of the two provisos, that ‘‘[bJoth changes were necessary

to avoid serious damage to the pattern of collective bar-

gaining in these industries.’’ 105 Cong. Rec. 17899; II Leg.

Hist. 1432. Unlike the garment industry, the construction

industry was not exempted from the provisions of § 8(b)(4)

that prohibited striking or picketing to coerce a secondary

boycott; it was merely exempted from § 8(e)’s prohibition

of agreements between a union and an employer by which

"There is a pet oan ex ion in the legislative hi of the

m1 Mowe poontractag ss ments in the garment

and isin of 'ewectety tions. See, ¢.g., 105 Cong. Rec.

17381, Il Leg. Hist. 1385 385 (Senators Javits and Go water); 105 bee

Rec. 15538, Leg. Hist. 1576 (Memorandum of R >

Udall); 105 Cong. Rec. 15848; Il Leg. Hist. 1680 (Rep. Teller).

the employer would boycott others. The Conference com-

mittee stated its intent in regard to the proviso as follows:

The committee of conference does not intend that this

proviso should be construed so as to change the present

state of the law with respect to the validity of this

specific type of agreement relating to work to be done

at the site of the construction project or to remove the

limitations which the present law imposes with respect

to such agreements. . . . To the extent that such agree-

ments are legal today under section 8(b)(4) . . ., the

proviso would prevent such legality from being af-

fected by section 8(e).

H.R. Rep. No. 1147, 86th Cong., Ist Sess. 39; I Leg. Hist.

943. Senator Kennedy analyzed the proposed § 8(e) as

follows:

The first proviso under new § 8(e) of the National

Labor Relations Act is intended to preserve the present

state of the law with respect to picketing at the site of

a construction project and with respect to the validity

of agreements relating to the contracting of work to be

done at the site of a construction project.

Agreements by which a contractor in the construction

industry promises not to subcontract work on a con-

struction site to a nonunion contractor appear to be

legal today. They will not be unlawful under § 8(e).

It should be particularly noted that the proviso relates

only to the ‘‘contracting or subcontracting of work to

be done at the site of the construction.’’ The proviso

does not cover boycotts of goods manufactured in an

industrial plant for installation at the jobsite, or

suppliers who do not work at the jobsite.

itn

105 Cong. Rec. 17900; II Leg. Hist. at 1433 (emphasis

supplied).

As Senator Kennedy made clear, unions continued to be

forbidden to picket or strike at a construction site for sec-

ondary objectives, which meant that the holding of Denver

Building Trades, supra, was \eft in effect. On the other

hand, the Conference Report and Senator Kennedy made

it equally clear that unions and employers could enter sub-

contracting agreements as permitted by law prior to the

enactment of the new § 8(e).

It seems more likely than not that the ‘‘present law’’

referred to by the Conference Committee did not restrict the

agreements that Senator Kennedy said ‘‘appear to be legal’

to jobsites where union workers were present. The Sand

Door decision, supra, which supplied much of the impetus

for § 8(e), had legitimized secondary boycotts the objec-

tives of which clearly went beyond the mere avoidance of

shoulder-to-shoulder friction between workers. It is true that

the construction industry proviso narrowed the geographical

scope of the Sand Door rule by introducing the jobsite

limitation, but we do not interpret the words of the proviso

as indicating an intent to narrow the substantive scope of

the Sand Door rule on the jobsite.

It should be noted that shortly before enactment of the

proviso, the District of Columbia Circuit had upheld a sub-

contractor agreement the terms of which were as broad as

those presently in issue. Operating Engineers Local Union

No. 3 v. NLRB, 266 F.2d 905 (D.C. Cir.), cert. denied sub

_-20—

nom. St. Maurice v. NLRB, 361 U.S. 834 (1959).” While

that case dealt with an interunion dispute, the terms of the

secondary agreement were not restricted to that or any other

situation of jobsite conflict. In upholding the agreement the

Court referred to the Board’s reasoning ‘‘that the preclusion

of future work to a prospective subcontractor in the circum-

stances did not justify the Board in holding that the rights

of unidentified employees of such prospective employer

were adversely affected.’’ 266 F.2d at 908.

Moreover, a survey of major labor contracts in existence

in 1959 revealed that more than 50 of them contained clauses

restricting subcontracting to firms complying with the terms

of the prime employer’s agreement. Lunden, Subcontracting

"The Engineers decision was submitted to the House Committee

investigating labor practices as part of the testimony of Paul H. Robbins,

Executive Director of the National Society of Professional Engineers.

2 Hearings Before a Joint Subcommittee of the Committee on Education

and Labor, House of Representatives, 86th Cong., Ist Sess. on H.R.

3540, H.R. 3302, H.R. 4473 and H.Rf. 4474 and Related Bills

Regarding Labor-Management Reform Legislation, 803-07 (1959)

(hereafter House Hearings).

In addition, Edward M. Carlton, office manager of St. Maurice,

Helkamp and Musser, the subcontractor involved in Engineers,

appeared before the Committee and testified as to the scope of the

su ing clause:

The Contract also contains a clause which is referred to in the

industry as the subcontractor clauses. In effect, that clauses (sic)

says that any time an AGC contractor subcontracts work the sub-

contractor must agree to apply the terms and conditions of the

AGC Operating Engineers’ agreement to his employees. This, of

course, means that the subcontractor’s employees must become

members of Operating Engineers local 3.

Since about 1955, the AGC and the Operating Engineers have

enlarged the subcontractor clauses so that an AGC contractor

will not subcontract any work unless the subcontractor agrees in

advance to be bound by the AGC Operating Engineers’

agreement.

5 House Hearings 2366 (Emphasis supplied).

Although the Engineers decision was not directly referred to in the

Senate Hearings, the problem of union signatory clauses was brought

. the committee’s attention. Senate Hearings 752 (Testimony of Sen.

urtis).

Clauses in Major Contracts, 84 Monthly Labor Review 579

(Part I), 715 (Part II) at 715 (1961). While the survey does

not adequately differentiate between union signatory clauses

and union standards clauses, it is nevertheless clear that

numbers of broad subcontractor agreements were in exis-

tence.” The survey canvasses various limitations appearing

in subcontracting clauses in the construction industry, but

makes no mention of any restrictions to the jobsite or ref-

erences to the problem of friction between union and non-

union workers there. /d. at 715-16. That there may not have

been a consistent pattern of subcontractor agreements of the

type in issue here is not crucial. What does emerge from

the contemporaneous scene is that some such agreements

existed and were legal and that Congress did not appear to

intend a change in that condition.

V.

(A) The Connell Decision.

It was against this industrial and legislative background

that the Supreme Court decided Connell Construction Co.

v. Plumbers & Steamfitters Local Union No. 100, 421 U.S.

616 (1975). Connell was an antitrust suit brought by a gen-

eral contractor against a union that was picketing in order

to coerce the contractor to enter an agreement to deal only

with subcontractors having a collective bargaining agree-

ment with the union. The union expressly disclaimed any

interest in representing the general contractor’s employees.

*Office of the General Counsel, Memorandum 76-57, December 15,

1976, reprinted in Labor Relations Yearbook 1976, p. 295. Because

Lunden failed adequately to distinguish between union signatory and

union standards clauses, the General Counsel found that **incon-

clusive."’ Jd. at 308. The General Counsel's own study concluded that

there was no ** ** of collective bargaining in the industry, but that

the existing c constituted only a ‘‘mosaic.’’ Union signatory

mor pepe tt eee proamsir erst inher mosaic.

Id. at 309.

wis, a

The picketing was successful and the contractor sought to

annul the ensuing agreement on the grounds that it violated

the antitrust laws.” One of the defenses raised by the union

was that the agreement could not be a violation of the

antitrust laws because it was authorized by the proviso to

§ 8(e) of the National Labor Relations Act. The Supreme

court rejected that defense and held that broad subcontract-

ing agreements applicable to every jobsite where the general

contractor might hire subcontractors were invalid when

entered outside of the context of a collective bargaining

relationship between the union and the general contractor.

The employers who attack the subcontracting clauses in

the present case argue that Connell’s language necessarily

requires a conclusion that subcontracting clauses are per-

missible only when they serve the purpose of avoiding job-

site friction between union and nonunion workers employed

at the same jobsite. So interpreted, Connell would invalidate

the agreements in issue here at least until the presence of

“Connell was another chapter in the dispute in Dallas between build-

ing contractors and trade u . In Dallas Building & Construction

Trades Council v. NLRB, 306 I F.2d 667 (D.C. Cir. 1968), a clause

similar to the one in Connell was at issue. Unlike Connell, however,

the general contractor that was picketed had nonunion employees. Al-

though the Trades Council expressly disavowed any interest in organ-

the contractor's workers, both the Board and the District

of Columbia Circuit Court of Appeals concluded otherwise. The court

held that because there was an organizational objective the picketing

was limited to thirty days by § 8(b)(7), a period which the unions had

exceeded.

The court's opinion left open the possibility of picketing more than

thirty days if the unions could conclusively show no organizational

objective. In order to avoid the § 8(b)(7) problem, the unions picketed

contractors who had rds waa G The contractors sought

to challenge this practice before the Board, but the General Counsel

refused to issue a psonudry See Connell, 483 F.2d 1154, 1158 (Sth

Cir. 1973), and 421 U.S. at 631-32 n.10.

When Local 100 began picketing Connell, the contractor did not file

laint with the Board, but immediately sued the union for violating

both federal and state antitrust laws.

or ae

union workers at a particular jobsite triggered their appli-

cation. We concede at the outset that the Connell opinion

contains considerable emphasis on problems of shoulder-

to-shoulder friction between union and nonunion workers

at the jobsite, and additional emphasis on antagonism of the

1959 Congress to ‘‘top-down’’ organizing that is one of the

effects of subcontractor agreements. Nevertheless, we be-

lieve that this reading of the Connell decision misconstrues

the Supreme Court’s view of § 8(e) and gives too narrow

a scope to the construction industry proviso. We think that

the prevailing thrust of Connell is to the contrary and favors

a broader view of the exemption. Our conclusion is sup-

ported in particular by the Connell opinion’s emphasis on

the absence of a colleciive bargaining relationship, its ref-

erences to legislative history, and its characterization of the

interests served by the proviso.” Our view is reinforced by

the adverse practical consequences that would follow from

the narrower reading of the proviso. Each of these factors

bears elaboration.

The first and most obvious distinction of Connell from

the present case is that the agreements in Connell arose

outside of the context of a collective bargaining relationship.

This fact was of course crucial for antitrust purposes, be-

cause the national policy of encouraging collective bar-

gaining has served as the basis for a judicially created labor

*But for the Connell decision, we would have no difficulty in en-

forcing the Board's order. Prior to Connell, this court, other circuits

and the Board had upheld broad subcontracting clauses in collective

bargaining agreements. See, e.g., Construction, Production & Main-

tenance Laborers Union, Local 383 v. NLRB, 323 F.2d 422 (9th Cir.

1963); Suburban Title Center Inc. v. Rockford Building & Construction

Trades Council, 354 F.2d 1, 2-3 (7th Cir. 1965), cert. denied, 384

U.S. 960 (1966) United Association of Journeymen & Apprentices of

rept gone | and Pipefitting Industry, Local 48, 190 N.L.R.B. 415,

( ).

ar, ae

exemption from the antitrust laws.” The absence of such

an interest was pointedly referred to in Connell:

In this case, Local 100 had an interest in representing

Connell’s employees. The federal policy favoring col-

lective bargaining therefore can offer no shelter for the

union’s coercive action against Connell or its campaign

to exclude nonunion firms from the subcontracting

market.

421 U.S. at 626.” The focus of the Connell decision was

therefore understandably upon the situation created by sub-

contracting clauses in the absence of a collective bargaining

agreement with the prime contracting employer.

That focus on the part of the Court was not merely the

product of the antitrust setting of Connell, however. The

parties themselves had framed the issues toward the same

end. The union contended that all subcontractor agreements

were validated by the plain words of § 8(e). The employer

responded by urging that ‘‘despite the unqualified language

of the proviso, Congress intended only to allow subcon-

tracting agreements within the context of a collective-

*See Connell, 421 U.S. at 622-23; St. Antoine, Connell: Antitrust

Law at the Expense of Labor Law, 62 Va. L. Rev. 603 (1976). Labor

unions also have a statutory exemption from the antitrust laws by virtue

of sections 6 and 20 of the Cla Act, 15 U.S.C. § 17, 29 U.S.C.

§ 52, and sections 4, 5 and 13 of the Norris-LaGuardia Act, 29 U.S.C.

$§ 104, 105, 113. These statutes declare that labor unions are not

combinations in restraint of trade and exempt specific union activities

including secondary boycotts from the antitrust laws and from certain

kinds of injunctive relief. These statutes do not, however, exempt con-

certed activity or ments between unions and non-labor ies.

Connell, supra, 622-23. See generally, R. Gorman, Basic Text on

Labor Law, 621-31 (1976).

"The fact that Connell was an antitrust case outside of the context

of collective bargaining led to a natural emphasis by the Court on the

pursuit of market efficiency through competition. This emphasis reap-

in the dissent here, infra p. .... , but we find it far less compelling

in this labor case in which no antitrust issues have been raised. The

thrust of the labor laws, of course, is frequently contrary to that of the

antitrust laws. See St. Antoine, supra, n. 26.

eo

bargaining relationship . . .,’’ but not those involving a

**stranger’’ contractor. Jd. at 627.” The subject of contro-

versy, then, was the validity of subcontractor agreements

outside of the collective bargaining context, and the Connell

opinion must to a large degree be read in that light. The

Court’s conclusion, seached after a discussion of the

legislative history and policies behind § 8(e), was clearly

limited to the situation before it:

We therefore hold that this agreement, which is outside

the context of a collective bargaining relationship and

not restricted to a particular jobsite, . . . may be the

basis of a federal anti-trust suit... .

Id. at 635. The holding of Connell, then, does not in the

strict sense control the cases before us.

The Connell opinion did, however, discuss at length the

reach of § 8(e) and its construction industry proviso, upon

which the present cases turn. It therefore becomes necessary

to interpret the language of Connell and apply it to the

situation of the cases at bar where a collective bargaining

ier... a beiet in Connell concentrated entirely on the distinction be-

presence and absence of a collective a ee

emia the validity of subcontracting clauses policy of

thats jobelte friction was raised tangentially in the a oll to

al 100’s brief which included a inemorandum by the N

Counsel explaining why he wouk! not issue a complaint “Wy a ‘oes

factually similar to Connell. Significantly, that memorandum, dealing

with Hagler Construction Co., was distinguished in the Connell opinion

as being ‘*. . . addressed to a different argument that a subcontracting

clause should be allowed only if there is a pre-existing collective

bargaining relationship gor the general contractor or if the ad any

cprecment."" 421°U. periorm the kind of work covered by the

421 . at 632 n. A. 10. (emphasis in original).

Biv,

relationship existed between the unions and the contractors

with whom the agreements were sought.”

A major question is whether the presence or absence of

a collective bargaining relationship, obviously significant

in the antitrust context of Connell, remains pivotal when

the issue is purely one of labor law.

We believe that there is a complex of factors affecting

labor relations in the construction industry that renders the

collective bargaining relationship crucial in the present cases

and we find the underlying policies reflected in parts of the

Connell opinion itself. We also believe that these factors

exist at the construction jobsite but are by no means limited

to the problem of shoulder-to-shoulder friction between

union and nonunion workers there. These two themes —

the nature of the collective bargaining relationship in the

construction industry and the manner in which these char-

acteristics are exhibited at the jobsite — are interwoven in

Connell as they are in the present controversy. We will

attempt, however, to discuss them separately even though

each will necessarily intrude upon the other.

The legislative history already discussed should make it

clear that the outstanding peculiarity of the construction

industry is that the work force of any given employer —

contractor or subcontractor — is highly flexible and grows

*In Woelke, the union had entered a three-year collective bargaining

agreement with the og og ol and the dispute arose during negotiation

to renew the contract. In Pacific Northwest, the union had long had a

continuous collective ning agreement with the Association of

General Contractors. We ore need not reach and express no opin-

ion on the whether a ‘‘prehire’’ agreement entered or sought

to § 8(f) of the Act is a sufficient ‘‘collective ining re-

** to render ible the entry of subcontracting agree-

ments. We note that ire ments were held sufficient to legitimize

subcontractin ts in Donald Shriver Inc. v. NLRB, Nos.

78-2177 and 79-1001, slip op. (D.C. Cir. Oct. 20, 1980).

ay,

or diminishes or even disappears depending on the tem-

porary contracting or subcontracting arrangements at any

particular jobsite. As Congress recognized in passing § 8(f),

collective bargaining cannot even await the presence of

workers on the job. Moreover, when there are workers al-

ready employed by a general contractor, the interests of

those employees are not permanently or inevitably bound

to that single employer. The employer has an option on any

given project to use some of his own workers, to subcontract

to an employer who will use those same workers, or to

subcontract to one who will use others represented by the

same union, a different union, or no union. Under those

conditions the employees and their unions are faced with

severe problems not only of maintaining wage levels, but

of protecting benefits such as retirement pensions and

paid vacations that depend upon continuity of employer

contributions.

When a union representing a contractor’s employees

seeks to restrict subcontracting to firms having a collective

bargaining agreement with the union, the union in fact pur-

sues a number of objectives some of which might fairly be

characterized as primary and others as secondary. The wel-

fare of the employees in the primary bargaining unit is

clearly likely to be affected by an employer's choice to hire

a subcontractor who may himself employ those same em-

ployees. On the other hand, the union clearly has secondary

goals that may include organizing the employees of a

subcontractor who have no connection with the primary

bargaining unit.

It is quite true that when a union seeks to serve the

interests of employees in its bargaining unit not as employ-

ees of their existing employer, but as potential employees

of some other employer, the arrangement is legally viewed

as secondary. National Woodwork, supra, at 644-45;

i,

National Maritime Union, supra. We do not quarrel with

this well-established rule, nor with the rule that when pri-

mary and secondary objectives are combined, an agreement

is regarded as secondary for purposes of the National Labor

Relations Act. NRLB v. Denver Building & Construction

Trades Council, 341 U.S. 675, 689 (1951).

We do, however, find sufficient support in the legislative

history of the 1959 Amendments to suggest that Congress

was sensitive to both the primary and secondary consid-

erations involved in subcontractor arrangements and wished

not to interfere with these mixed union objectives when they

could be achieved by agreement with the prime employer.

Even though a construction union’s interest in subcontract-

ing at the jobsite is seconciary so as to bring it within § 8(e),

it is far more direct and involves the union’s members in

the primary bargaining unit far more than is the case when

unions outside of the construction industry pursue secondary

objectives.

The importance of this fact is that it renders the existence

of a collective bargaining relationship highly significant.

When a union represents employees of a prime contractor

and seeks a subcontracting agreement, it has the interests

of the employees in its primary bargaining unit at stake to

at least some degree. In the Connell situation, the union is

utterly without any objective that could be characterized as

primary or direct. Because the union in Connell disclaimed

any interest in representing the employees of Connell, all

of its goals were necessarily secondary and could not be

connected to any primary representational interest.

The significance of the restriction of the § 8(e) proviso

to work performed at a jobsite may now become more clear.

It is at the jobsite that all of the special characteristics of

the construction industry are manifested. It is true that one

of these characteristics is that union workers are traditionally

—29—

hostile to the presence of nonunion workers on the same job

at the same time. But that is clearly not the only or even

the major characteristic exhibited. It is at the jobsite where

the general contractor can exercise the flexibility to use its

own workers or those of a subcontractor, where the flexi-

bility of subcontracting arrangements lead to multiple em-

ployers hiring a few workers for short periods of time,” and

where working conditions applicable to one set of workers

may very well affect others working on the same project.”'

We believe that the Connell opinion is sensitive both to

the interconnection of interests between employees of the

The 1977 Census of Construction Industries found that there were

more than 288,000 ‘‘specialty trade contractors’’ (a category which

includes fifteen different subcontracting functions). On the average,

each firm e six construction workers. U.S. Bureau of the Cen-

sus, Census of ion Industries (1977), cited in Statistical Ab-

stract of the United States (1979) Table 1365, p. 776.

One commentator has aptly summarized the peculiar problems con-

fronted by labor unions attempting to organize construction workers as

well as the techniques which they have employed:

Union insistence on having the contractor use only union men

runs counter to the general theory of free determination on which

the Wagner Act was based. Elections on the of th- »mployees

are impractical, however, in an industry w the employment

may be over before an election can be held, and where the em-

oyees on the next job may be a substantially different group.

t would be literally impossible to maintain a union if the men

had to be orga anew each time they went to a new job. The

the employer hes because the important ting sto organize the

im t thing is to organize

> on the Job. The building trade union

cannot operate x hy unless Ve can require the employer to

hire its pr th m the place.

[BJuilding trade unions [therefore] have not organized employees

by familiar to manufacturing. Instead, the construction

unions have, in effect, organized the employers. An agreement

with the that he will hire only union members is much

the most ve way to standardize working conditions in an

industry where jobs are so fluid.

Fleming, The Building Trades and Title VII of LMRDA, in LMRDA

Symnpos ium, , Note 12, at 1034, 1043.

Schriver Inc., supra, slip op. at 43-46.

a

various contractors and subcontractors and to the broad

manner in which any or all of these factors may be exhibited

at the jobsite. In dealing with the legislative history of the

construction industry proviso, the opinion in Connell points

out that the proviso was ‘‘explained only by bare reference

to ‘the pattern of collective bargaining’ in the industry.’’

421 U.S. at 628-29. The legislative history discussed above

indicates, we believe, that the pattern of collective bar-

gaining included broad subcontracting agreements. To the

extent that the just-quoted comment in Connell dismisses

the history regarding the pattern of collective bargaining,

it may well be explained by the fact that Connell was dealing

with a case nut considered by Congress, in which there was

no collective bargaining relationship.”

In any event, the subsequent language of the Connell

opinion appears quite clearly to encompass the multiple

considerations affecting the construction industry at the job-

site. The opinion suggests that the construction industry

proviso may have been adopted ‘‘as a partial substitute for

an attempt to overrule’’ Denver Building Trades, 421 U.S.

at 629. Denver Building Trades had outlawed the picketing

of a contractor at a jobsite in order to force it to cease doing

business with a nonunion subcontractor working there. The

Connell opinion refers to congressional discussion of special

problems in the construction industry related both to the §

™In Connell, the Fifth Circuit requested om the parties and their

amici submit tal briefs concerning the aap bargaining

practices at the of the 1959 amendments. union was unable

to provide any information which would allow the conclusion that

stranger clauses were part of the and that Congress therefore

intended to preserve this practice. 483 F.2d at 1182 (dissenting opinion).

Such is not the case with regard to particular union clauses. The decision

of the District of Columbia Circuit in Operating Engineers, supra, as

well as the House and Senate Hearings, supra, note 24, suggest that

Congress was well aware of the existence of these clauses.

oie, ped

8(e) proviso and to the attempt to overrule Denver Building

Trades. That discussion, according to the Court, ‘‘focused

on the problems of picketing a single nonunion subcon-

tractor on a multiemployer building project, and the close

relationship between contractors and subcontractors at the

jobsite.”’ Id. at 629-30. The Court’s footnote to this state-

ment refers to legislative history that clearly goes beyond

the problem of shoulder-to-shoulder conflict between union

and nonunion workers at the jobsite. The first excerpt re-

ferred to is by Senator Morse whose statement includes the

following:

The secondary boycott ban is based upon the concept

of two employers — a primary and a secondary em-

ployer. The theory is that a neutral employer should

not be compelled to suffer because of a labor dispute

the union has with somebody else, but the theory breaks

down when the two employers are ‘‘allies.’’ Senator

Taft said that the secondary boycott section ‘‘is not

intended to apply to a case where the third party is,

in effect, in cahoots with, or acting as a part of, the

primary employer.’’” The National Labor Relations

Board and the courts have failed to keep Senator Taft's

concept in mind. The Board has considered subsidiaries

to be separate employers. Other enterprises, substan-

tially controlled by the same persons, have been con-

sidered separate employers, even though one manu-

factured a product incorporated into the finished article

produced by the other.

The case of the building and construction industry rep-

resented probably the most flagrant injustice, where

“Senator Taft’s remarks were part of a colloquy with Senator Ives

on June 30, 1949, 95 Cong. Record 8709. Senator Taft was referring

to the garment industry, but he cited for apt denies a case that

involved the construction industry: Douds v. Metropolitan Federation

Architects, Engineers, Chemists & Technicians, Local 231, (Project

ngineering Co.,), 75 F. Supp. 672 (S.D.N.Y. 1948).

co, ae

a general contractor is, in effect, entirely in control of

the kind of labor relations taking place on a site which

he runs. He lets subcontracts based upon price, re-

sponsibility, and the ability to handle labor relations.

He lets those contracts, very well knowing the kind of

labor relations which may exist within any of the sub-

contractor companies. He is not acting in the dark, Mr.

President. He is not innocent of any unfair labor pol-

icies on the part of a subcontractor.

105 Cong. Rec. 17880-81; II Leg. Hist. at 1425. Even

where the sources cited by Connell deal with union workers

at the jobsite, they reflect a number of interests of the union

that affect members of its own bargaining unit as well as

the members in secondary employ. The memorandum by

_fepresentatives Thompson and Udall is illustrative:

Where all the men are employed on the same project,

the division into different trades or crafts, each with

its own employer, must not be allowed to obstruct their

common interests—they work side by side and the

wages and working conditions of one trade affect all

the others. This situation is utterly unlike the situation

in true secondary boycotts, as where carpenters in Los

Angeles refuse to work on nonunion doors made in

Minnesota by men whose wages could not affect the

wages of carpenters in Los Angeles. The illegality of

such a boycott would not be affected by the amend-

ment.

. . . [A] reason for outlawing secondary boycotts is

that they drag neutral employers into disputes in which

they have no interest. Where all the employers affected

are bound together in the common work of putting up

a single building, none is truly neutral. The undertaking

is so integral that each is affected by and can influence

the conduct of the others.

hha ia

105 Cong. Rec. 15541; II Leg. Hist. 1577. These materials

cited by the Connell Court suggest a number of reasons why

Congress may have wanted to restrict the construction in-

dustry’s use of subcontracting agreements to work done

on a jobsite. These sources do not limit themselves to

and, indeed, place very little emphasis on, the problem of

shoulder-to-shoulder friction between union and nonunion

workers actually present at the jobsite.

The Connell opinion quotes National Woodwork Manu-

facturers, supra, to the effect that the construction industry

proviso is ‘designed to allow agreements pertaining to cer-

tain secondary activities on the construction site because of

the close community of interests there, but to ban secondary-

objective agreements concerning nonjobsite work, in which

respect the construction industry is no different from any

other.’’ 421 U.S. at 630, quoting 386 U.S. at 638-39. It

is clear that the Connell opinion views the jobsite consid-

erations of National Woodwork as going well beyond the

problem of friction among workers,” because Connell next

refers to some courts that have suggested that the proviso

serves an ‘‘even narrower function’’ — the alleviation of

**the frictions that may arise when union men work contin-

uously alongside nonunion men on the same construction

site.’’ Id. at 630, quoting Drivers Local Union No. 695 v.

“Indeed, National Woodwork contains a footnote reference succeed-

ing the discussion of the ‘‘close community of interests’ on the jobsite.

386 U.S. at 639 n. 32. That footnote refers to Essex County and Vicin‘ty

District Council of Carpenters and Millwrights v. NLRB, 332 F.2d 636

(3d Cir. 1964), which does deal with shoulder-to-shoulder friction. It

also refers, however, to a Yale Law Journal Comment. The Impact of

the Taft-Hartley Act on the Building and Construction Industry, 60 Yale

L.J. 673, 684-89 (1951), which discusses not vee jobsite friction but

also the additional considerations of interchangeability of workers, short

time span, flexible contracting arrangements, and numerous other in-

terests that a union representing a pri group of employees may

have in the employment arrangements of employers at the jobsite.

>

ve Y sae

NLRB, 361 F.2d 547, 553 (D.C. Cir. 1966). The Connell

opinion does not adopt this ‘‘even narrower’ "eading of the

proviso, and indeed finds it unecessary to treat the matter

further because in the Connei/ -ase the union did not purport

to represent any of the interests served by the proviso. 421

U.S. at 631.”

We believe that it would do some violence to the language

of the Connell opinion to adopt the ‘‘even narrower’’ view

of the construction industry proviso which the Court in

Conneili did not represent to be its own. Yet this consequence

would follow from restricting the applicability of subcon-

tractor agreements to those instances where shoulder-to-

shoulder jobsite friction can occur. Instead, we think that

it is more in accord with the language of Connell to permit

those agreements to apply to any jobsite at which an em-

ployer with a collective bargaining relationship with the

union is a contractor.

We concede that the language of the Connell opinion

dealing with congressional antagonism to ‘‘top-dow or-

ganizing’’ may well lean in a direction contrary to our views.

We think it is countered by Connell’s recognition of other

vital concerns of collective bargaining in the construction

industry reflected in the community of interest at the jobsite.

Essentially the same situation was dealt with by this court in ACCO

Construction Kaui nt, Inc. v. NLRB, 511 F.2d 848 (9th Cir. 1975).

ACCO does contain i language tending to restrict the jobsite proviso to

the goals of avoiding -to-shoulder friction, but we do not read

that as essential to its decision. ACCO was written before Connell and

it dealt with what were essentially off-site workers who only occasion-

ally worked on-site. They and their employers were not at all involved

in the ‘community of interests’’ which are emphasized in National

Woodwork, Connell, and this opinion. The union’s objectives in or-

ganizing such off-site workers were indirect and wholly secondary; the

primary interests of workers in the bargaining unit at the jobsite could

not be directly affected by, and were not interchangeable with, the off-

site workers.

eK a

There is some ‘‘top-down organizing’’ effect in any. sub-

contracting agreement, including those which all parties

must admit would be valid and within the proviso. When

there are union workers on the job next to nonunion workers,

the enforcement of a subcontracting clause is still likely to

have a top-down organizing effect. The answer to this point

is simply that Congress recognized that the community of

interests on the jobsite justified the top-down organizational

consequences that may attend the protection of legitimate

collective bargaining objectives there. The proviso is, after

all, an exception to the general thrust of the 1959 amend-

ments.”°

The Connell opinion’s condemnation of the ‘‘unlimited’’

top-down organizing weapon with which it was confronted

must be read in the context of the applicable factual and

statutory framework. Because tne union in Connell dis-

claimed any interest in organizing or representing Connell’s

employees, its picketing was not limited to the 30 days

established for organizational picketing under § 8(b)(7). It

could therefore picket indefinitely to obtain its objective of

a subcontracting agreement covering all subcontracting by

Connell. If the subcontractor clause were held to be legit-

imate, there would be no limit at all to the coercive force

the union could apply. The decision in Connell solved this

problem by holding that the subcontracting agreement was

an unlawful goal when it was sought outside of a collective

bargaining context.

“Because the proviso is an exception to the 1959 amendments, we

cannot accept the test for its interpretation adopted at the conciusion of of

the dissent. The issue is not which interpretation is the more faithful

to Congress’ overall goal in the 1959 amendments of curbing ee

down’’ organizing. Instead, the question is which i

effectuates Congress’ sconmodaton of he confcting objectives of

curbing *‘top-down’’ organizing and of protecting collective ining

under the peculiar conditions of the construction industry.

i

The situation is quite different when a union seeks a

subcontractor clause in the context of a collective bargaining

relationship. In that situation, the union's coercive force is

limited. If the clause is sought in the course of organizational

or recognitional picketing, that picketing will be subject to

the restrictions of § 8(b)(7). If the union already represents

the contractor’s employees, the employer may resist any

attempts to secure a subcontractor agreement by asserting

its own bargaining position and presenting its own demands.

The existence of a collective bargaining relationship there-

fore avoids the ‘‘unlimited’’ nature of the organizational

tool involved in Connell, where a stranger contractor was

powerless to resist unlimited coercion by any means other

than signing the demanded subcontractor agreement.

Finally, in summarizing the proviso’s effect, the Connell

Court stated:

[W]e think its authorization extends only to agreements

in the context of collective bargaining relationships

and, in light of congressional references to the Denver

Building Trades problem, possibly to common-situs

relationships on particular jobsites as well.

421 U.S. at 633. While it might be susceptible to another

reading, we interpret this language to mean that the existence

of a collective bargaining relationship clearly brings a union

signatory subcontracting agreement within the proviso to

§ 8(e) and that in the absence of a collective bargaining

relationship, it is possible that such an agreement may be

valid wh~re the union actually has workers on the job that

oA”, Bae

may be threatened with shoulder-to-shoulder friction.’’ We

consequently believe that the quoted summary supports our

conclusion that Connell does not deny the protection of the

proviso to the subcontractor agreements in the present cases.

(B) Practical Consequences.

Our reading of Connell to permit broad subcontracting

clauses within a collective bargaining relationship not only

accords with the apparent thrust of the legislative history,

it is supported by the severe practical limitations attending

a contrary conclusion. Limitation of subcontracting agree-

ments to sites where there may be shoulder-to-shoulder con-

flict between union and nonunion workers presents immense

practical problems. If unions are confined to negotiating

these agreements only when they find that there are union

employees on the jobsite, then they must inventory and

negotiate over an incredible number of jobsites. AGC itself

represents some 200 general contractors. The number of

jobsites at which they contract is unquestionably a multiple

of that figure. Jobsite by jobsite negotiation of subcontract-

"Our reading of the quoted language in Connell as nting dis-

junctive ‘alternatives Te tee than conjunctive and cumulative require-

ments is 8 by the District of Columbia Circuit and probably by

the Third it. Donald Schriver, Inc., supra; Larry V. Muko, Inc.

v. Southwestern Pennsylvania Building & Construction Trades Council,

609 F.2d 1368, 1374-75 (3d Cir. 1979) (en banc). Lower courts and

commentators have varied in » gg bs sear to the underlying issue. See

a Specialties, Inc. v. rers’ International Union, Local

806, 477 F. Supp. 17 (C.D. Cal. 1979); Long v. Floorcraft Carpet Co.,

82 Labor cases { 10,044 (D. Or. 1977); St. Antoine, supra, 62 Va. L.

Rev. at 619; Janofsky & Hay, Connell — Consistent with Past, Indic-

ative of Future, Proceedings of N.Y.U. Twenty-Ninth Annual Confer-

ence on Labor 3, 21-22 (1976).

Normally, a union without a collective bargaining relationship that

secks a clause will be pursuing no interest that could

impact upon its primary representation of anyone. The rare exception

might occur when the union has its own employees working for some

other employer on the jobsite and shoulder-to-shoulder friction

oe...

ing agreements would seem burdensome to the point of

impossibility. It also appears to run counter to Congress’s

accommodation in § 8(f) to the necessity in the industry of

entering long term agreements applying to employees not

yet hired for jobs not yet in existence. S. Rep. No. 187,

86th Cong., Ist Sess. 28 (1959); I Leg. Hist. 424.

Even if general subcontracting agreements are permitted

to be negotiated wholesale and then are triggered only when

union workers appear on the job, the enforcement problems

remain severe. The transitory nature of employment at each

jobsite, as well as the difficulty of defining the applicable

time span during which jobsite conflict is threatened, present

substantial problems.” If a rule is adopted that the appear-

ance of any union worker on the job triggers subcontracting

agreements covering the entire project, it presents an es-

pecially strong incentive for anti-union discrimination by

employers.

We are presented, then, with a number of practical and

theoretical considerations supporting our decision that the

present subcontracting agreements, arrived at in the context

of collective bargaining relationships, are within the proviso

of § 8(e). First, there are overwhelming practical difficulties

in confining the subcontractor agreements to jobsites where

actual union-nonunion or interunion conflict occurs among

workers. Second, the legislative history as well as the actual

conditions existing in the construction industry militate in

favor of broad subcontractor clauses in collective bargaining

“The dissent makes the point that even under our decision, unions

must police F aseg y to ensure compliance with subcontractor clauses.

We believe that it is a more manageable task, however, to police jobsites

to ensure that subcontractors working there have agreements with the

licing union than it is to determine whether any union worker has

working on the jobsite at any time, or perhaps at any time when

that worker's presence might lead to jobsite friction.

ae

agreements. Third, the Connell decision, which admittedly

has language that might point to either result, may fairly

be read to support the validity of subcontracting clauses

when there is a collective bargaining relationship, regardless

of the presence or absence of union workers at the jobsite.

Given these considerations, we reject a narrow interpre-

tation of the proviso which will substantially change the

existing practice in the industry. In addition, we believe that

due regard should be given to the view of the National Labor

Relations Board supporting these agreements.” It is true

that the position of the agency has not been an unwavering

one,” but the Board’s articulation of current labor policy

is undoubtedly entitled to weight in our decision.

VI.

ADDITIONAL ISSUES.

It is contended by AGC that even if the construction

industry proviso authorizes clauses requiring subcontractors

to have agreements with unions in general, ‘t does not permit

clauses to require a collective bargaining agreement with

a particular union. We note, however, that nothing in the

language of the § 8(e) proviso suggests such a limitation,

even though ‘‘particu!ar-union’’ clauses were a part of in-

dustry practice at the time of its enactment. Two months

prior to the creation of the proviso, the District of Columbia

Circuit upheld a ‘‘particular-union’’ subcontractor agree-

ment in a decision that was submitted to the House com-

NLRB v Yeshiva University, 444 U.S. 672, 691 (1980). C. e

Beth Israel Hospital v. NLRB, 437 U.S. 483, 500-01 (1978), and NLRB

Vv. iaternatianal Association of Bridge, Structural & Ornamental Iron

Workers, 434 U.S. 335, 350-51 (1978), with NLRB v. International

Longshoremen's Association, 100 S. Ct. 2305 (1980).

See International Union of Operating Engineers, Locals 542,

542-A and 542-B, (York County Bridge, Inc.) 216 N.L.R.B. 408, 409

(1975), enforced, 532 F.2d (3d Cir. 1976), cert. denied, 429 U.S.

1072 (1977), General Counsel Memorandum, note 25, supra.

ip.

mittee considering the 1959 amendments. Operating En-

gineers Local Union No. 3 v. NLRB, supra; 2 House

Hearings 803-07. In the light of this history, we do not feel

free to find in the proviso a limitation not written there by

Congress. We are joined in this conclusion by the District

of Columbia Circuit in Donald Shriver, Inc. v. NLRB, su-

pra, slip op. at 52-5. We also note that prohibition of

**particular-union’’ subcontractor clauses would defeat at

least some of the interests that we earlier found to be served

by the construction industry proviso. One such interest is

that of a union in protecting the wages and benefits of its

members in the primary bargaining unit who may later work

for subcontractors. That concern is shared by no other union,

and is best served by a ‘‘particular-union’’ clause.

It is next contended, this time by Woelke, that even if

a subcontractor agreement is protected by the construction

industry proviso, it is an unfair labor practice for a union

to picket or strike in order to induce a contractor to enter

such an agreement. The legislative history of the 1959

amendments is in conflict on this point.*' The actual wording

of § 8(b)(4)(ii)(A), however, prohibits coercion of any per-

son ‘‘to enter into any agreement which is prohibited by

[$ 8(e)].’"” The negative implication of this provision is

“'Representative Barden, the Leader of the House conferees, referred

to the proviso as permitting *‘voluntary agreements.’’ 105 Cong. Rec.

18128; Il Leg. Hist. 1715.

Senator Kennedy, the leader of the Senate conferees, appeared to be

of the view that economic coercion was permissible, and stated that the

proviso was not intended to change the law ‘‘with respect to the legality

ho wg obtain such a contract.’’ 105 Cong. Rec. 17900, Il Leg.

ist. 1433.

Senator Goldwater, one of the Senate conferees, and the man who

may have been most responsible for the Landrum-Griffin Amendments,

see 105 = Rec. 15516, Il Leg. Hist. 1552 (statement of Rep.

Madden), said that the question was left open for the courts to decide.

105 Cong. Rec. 19772, Il Leg. Hist. 1858.

“(Emphasis supplied). Section 8(b)(4)(iiA) appears supra note 4.

gD ei

surely that picketing or striking to induce entry into an

agreement protected by the proviso to § 8(e) is lawful.

After the 1959 amendments, the Board originally took

the position that such agreements had to be voluntarily en-

tered, but its position was uniformly rejected by this and

other courts of appeals. Construction Production & Main-

tenance Laborers Union, Local 383 v. NLRB, (Colson &

Stevens Construction Co.) 323 F.2d 422 (9th Cir. 1963);

Orange Belt District Council of Painters No. 48 v. NLRB,

328 F.2d 534, 537 (D.C. Cir. 1964); Essex County and

Vicinity District Council of Carpenters and Millwrights v.

NLRB, 332 F.2d 636 (3d Cir. 1964). The Board subse-

quently acquiesced in the courts’ view. Northeastern In-

diana Building & Construction Council, 148 N.L.R.B. 854

(1964), remanded on other grounds, 352 F.2d 696 (D.C.

Cir. 1965). We see no reason to disturb the present law and

to read into the Act a limitation that runs counter to the

suggestion of its plain words. Nor do we accept the con-

tention that picketing or striking to obtain a subcontractor

agreement violates the § 7 rights of employees of subcon-

tractors; they are no more affected by a subcontractor agree-

ment achieved by picketing than by one voluntarily entered.

The final issue concerns the effect of the provision in the

AGC contract that permits each party to resort to self-help

when the other party does not comply with an arbitration

decision made pursuant to the grievance procedure.*? The

Board concluded that these provisions authorized picketing

or strikes to enforce the subcontractor agreement, and held

that the contract was consequently unlawful. The rule that

picketing or strikes may not be used to enforce subcontractor

agreements arises from the fact that the 1959 amendments

“See note 1, supra.

4? —

exempted the construction industry from § 8(e)’s prohibition

against secondary boycott agreements, but did not exempt

it from § 8(b)(4)(ii)(B), which forbids economic coercion

to enforce such a boycott. The legislative history makes

clear Congress’s intent that subcontractor clauses entered

pursuant to § 8(e) were to be enforced judicially rather than

by self-help,“ and this court has followed that view. NLRB

v. International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, 405

F.2d 159, 163-64 9th Cir. 1968, cert. denied, 395 U.S.

921 (1969). We have also held that such clauses may be

enforced by arbitration. La Mirada Trucking, Inc. v. Team-

sters Local Union 166, 538 F.2d 286 (9th Cir. 1976).

Engineers argue, without pressing the point strongly, that

self-help to enforce an arbitration award that in turn enforces

a subcontractor agreement is not unlawful. The picketing

or strike, according to the Union, is simply enforcing the

arbitration award and not the underlying agreement. We

believe that acceptance of this contention would too easily

circumvent the clear intent of Congress and would do vio-

lence to the plain words of § 8(b)(4)(ii)(B). Nor can we

accept the suggestion of the Union that the AGC agreement

must be construed to limit the self-help clause to self-help

which is determined to be lawful. We must take the agree-

“The Conference Committee, after stating that it did not intend the

proviso to change existing law regarding subcontractor agreements,

stated: ‘‘Picketing to enforce such contracts would be illegal under the

Sand Door case Local 1796, United Brotherhood of Carpenters v.

NLRB, 357 U.S. 93 (1958).’” H.R. Rep. No. 1147, 86th Cong., Ist

Sess. 39, I Leg. Hist. 943. See also, 105 ae oe 17900, Il mn

Hist. 1433 (remarks of Sen. Kennedy). Senator Goldwater subsequently

explained the proviso as follows: ‘*The union may go into a court and

sue [the contractor] if he fails to live up to that agreement. But they

cannot strike or picket him to make him live up to it. . . .”’ 105 Cong.

Rec. A8359, II Leg. Hist. 1830.

243—.

ment to mean what it says. Operating Engineers, Local No.

701 v. NLRB, 578 F.2d 841, 842 (9th Cir. 1978); Donald

Schriver, Inc. v. NLRB, supra, slip op. at 57-58.

VIL.

CONCLUSION.

We find that provisions in a collective bargaining agree-

ment forbidding the signatory employer to subcontract work

at a construction site to firms that do not have a contract

with the signatory union are within § 8(e) of the National

Labor Relations Act, but are protected by the construction

industry proviso to that section. They need not be limited

to jobsites presenting the possibility of conflict between

union and nonunion workers. We also find that unions may

picket or strike to induce employers to enter such agreements

but that, once entered, the agreement may not be enforced

by self-help. Clauses authorizing self-help enforcement,

directly or through arbitration decisions, are consequently

invalid. We accordingly enforce the orders of the Board in

their entirety.

wv Chast

Pacific Northwest Chapter of the Associated Builders

& Contractors, Inc., et al. v. NLRB, et al. - Nos. 78-3469,

78-3487, 78-3619, 78-3468, 79-7011

SNEED, Circuit Judge,(with whom CHOY, ANDER-

SON and FARRIS, Circuit Judges, concur) dissenting:

As with many legal issues, where one ends up in this

case depends upon were one starts. While I have no dis-

agreement with the court’s holding that union signatory

clauses are secondary and within the scope of section 8(e),

I respectfully dissent from its holding that such clauses are

invariably within the construction industry proviso to section

8(e) when a collective bargaining relationship exists be-

tween the employer and the union seeking the clause. The

majority reaches its conclusion by commencing with the

view that the construction industry presents unique problems

in labor relations that require the legitimation of union sig-

natory clauses. Although admitting that the legislative his-

tory is not compelling, the court finds that legitimation was

provided by the construction industry proviso. My starting

point, on the other hand, is with Connell Construction Co.

v. Plumbers & Steamfitters Local Union No. 100, 421 U.S.

616 (1975), and its concern with the *‘top-down organizing”’

effect of union signatory clauses. This concern led the panel

before which this case was heard originally to hold as

follows:

**We hold that the construction industry proviso ex-

tends shelter only when a collective bargaining rela-

tionship exists and even then only when the employer

or his subcontractor has employees who are members

of the signatory union at work at some time at the

jobsite at which the employer wishes to engage a non-

union subcontractor.’’ Pacific Northwest Chapter of

the Associated Builders & Contractors, Inc. v. NLRB,

609 F.2d 1341, 1347 (9th Cir. 1979).

ry” oe

I would adhere to that holding and to the reasons given by

the panel therefor. /d. at 1348-50.

The court rejects the panel’s result because it is said to

represent an ‘‘even narrower’’ view of the construction in-

dustry proviso than that adopted by the Supreme Court in

Connell. .... F.2d .... (p. 26 majority opinion). Alleviation

of ‘‘the frictions that may arise when union men work con-

tinuously alongside nonunion men on the same construction

site,’’ 421 U.S. at 630, is said not to have been a concern

of the Supreme Court in Connell because in that case ‘‘the

union did not purport to represent any of the interests served

by the proviso.’’ .... F.2d .... (p. 26). Presumably this is

because there was no collective bargaining agreement be-

tween the employer and union in that case.

As I see it, the crucial language in Connell is as follows:

‘*We therefore hold that this agreement, which is out-

side the context of a collective-bargaining relationship

and not restricted to a particular jobsite, but which

nonetheless obligates Connell to subcontract work only

to firms that have a contract with Local 100, may be

the basis of a federal antitrust suit because it has a

potential for restraining competition in the business

market in ways that would not follow naturally from

elimination of competition over wages and working

conditions.’’ 421 U.S. at 635.

This language, as the majority acknowledges, is not entirely

unambiguous. It is, however, not inconsistent with the

panel’s holding as set out above; and, more importantly,

that holding is more empathetic with Connell’s concern with

the ‘‘top-down’’ organizing effect of union signatory clauses

than is that of the majority.

It is true, as the majority states, that any union signatory

clause has some ‘‘top-down’’ organizing effect. The dif-

ference between the panel’s holding and that of the en banc

San

court lies in the scope of this effect. The en banc court

permits a clause that forbids subcontracting work covered

by the collective bargaining agreement to any firm not hav-

ing a contract with the signatory union. It matters not

whether any of the employees of the signatory employer,

who are members of the signatory union, are employed on

the jobsite. It matters not that, in the absence of the union

signatory clause, the work could have been subcontracted

to a firm which, even though adhering to union standards

governing wages and working conditions, was more effi-

cient than its competitors.

It must be acknowledged that the panel’s holding would

not greatly diminish the ‘‘top-down’’ organizing effect of

the union signatory clause. It would permit the choice of

the more efficient firm only when to do so would entail no

jobsite friction between members of the signatory union and

workers performing work covered by the collective

bargaining agreement. Thus, a provision in the agreement

precluding subcontracting of all the covered work would

prevent choice of the more efficient firm and thus provide

a substantial *‘top-down’’ organizing effect. A clause pro-

hibiting subcontracting is permissible. National Woodwork

Manufacturers Association v. NLRB, 386 U.S. 612, 644-

46 (1967); see also Fibreboard Paper Products Corp. v.

NLRB, 379 U.S. 203 (1964); NLRB v. Johnson, 368 F.2d

549 (9th Cir. 1966). However, the panel’s holding would

afford an opportunity by which an employer could accept

a union signatory clause without sacrificing all right to

choose the more efficient subcontractor. Preservation of this

opportunity would be more consistent with the primary con-

cern of Connell than is the position of the en banc court.

I doubt that the en banc court seriously contends otherwise.

It does believe that the preservation of this opportunity

would provide a ‘‘strong incentive for anti-union discrim-

sO Vite

ination by employers.’’ .... F.2d .... (p. 29). I am dubious.

Under either view an anti-union employer will strive to

avoid a union signatory clause. That an employer under the

panel’s view would have a limited opportunity to subcon-

tract to a firm not having an agreement with the signatory

union is not likely to make it more anti-union.

I agree with the en banc court that the legislative history

of the construction industry proviso is not conclusive. We

have previously considered the legistlative history of the

proviso. ACCO Construction Equipment, Inc. v. NLRB, 511

F.2d 848, 851 (9th Cir. 1975). In surveying the legislative

history, we conclude that the dominant motive of Congress

in adopting the proviso was to permit agreements that aimed

at eliminating jobsite friction between union and nonunion

workers. /d. at 851; accord, Drivers Local 695 v. NLRB,

361 F.2d 547, 553 (D.C. Cir. 1966); Essex County District

Council of Carpenters v. NLRB, 332 F.2d 636, 640 (3d

Cir. 1964). And the National Labor Relations Board

previously believed: ‘‘[T]he 8(e) proviso was intended to

prevent labor strife among nonunion and union employees

at the same jobsite.’’ International Union of Operating En-

gineers, Locals 542, 542-A and 542-B, 216 N.L.R.B. 408,

409 (1975), enforced, 532 F.2d 902 (3d Cir. 1976), cert.

denied, 429 U.S. 1072 (1977). I see no reason to depart

from our earlier analysis of the purpose of the proviso.

Admittedly, Senator Kennedy thought that the construc-

tion industry proviso would permit subcontracting clauses

such as those challenged in these cases. Others argued that

the proviso was intended to permit agreements not to use

prefabricated pipe unless union workers did the fabricating.

105 Cong. Rec. 19785-86, 19809 (1959); II Leg. Hist.

1815-16 (extension of remarks of Senator McNamara and

Representative Thompson); contra 105 Cong. Rec. 20004-

05 (1959); II Leg. Hist. 1861 (extension remarks of Rep-

eT ae

resentative Kearns). But neither of these purposes were

clearly understood as the reason for the proviso. As Connell

and ACCO concluded, the legislative history supports the

conclusion that most congressman thought the proviso was

intended to address the problem of jobsite friction. See,

e.g., | Leg. Hist. 82 (message from President Eisenhower

to Congress); 105 Cong. Rec. 15852, II Leg. Hist 1684

(statem nt of Congressman Goodell); 105 Cong. Rec.

17333-34, II Leg. Hist. 1383-84 (proposed instructions for

Senate conferees). Also, as I read the excerpt from the

memorandum by Representatives Thompson and Udall

quoted by the en banc court, it too strongly supports the

conclusion that the proviso was aimed at the jobsite friction

problem. The references to employees working ‘‘side by

side’’ on a ‘‘single building’’ so indicate. 105 Cong. Rec.

15541 (1959); II Leg. Hist. 1577.

The en banc court notes that some subcontractor clauses

similar to those challenged in these cases existed in 1959.

Since they conclude that the Congress intended to preserve

the law relating to the construction industry as it then ex-

isted, the court argues that Congress intended that the pro-

viso would protect broad subcontractor clauses. I believe

this reasoning gives far too much weight to the bare ref-

erence to the pattern of collective bargaining referred to in

the Committee Report. See Connell, supra, 421 U.S. at

628-29. Furthermore, the lawfulness and permissible scope

of subcontractor agreements had not been conclusively de-

termined in 1959. And the proviso clearly changed the law

by explicitly limiting its protection to jobsite work. That

limitation at least partially overruled the Sand Door case,

Local 1976, United Brotherhood of Carpenters v. NLRB,

357 U.S. 93 (1958). Thus the most that can be said is that

Congress intended to preserve the existing law within the

scope of the proviso. That proposition, however, begs rather

—49—

than answers the question of what the proper scope of the

proviso is. That is what this case is about. Our decision,

whatever it is, can draw but little comfort from the legis-

lative history.

The majority also argues that practical considerations fa-

vor the result they reach. But the practical problems of

following the panel’s decision would not have been severe.

If broad subcontractor clauses are approved, unions must

still police construction sites to ensure compliance. No more

is required by a rule limiting subcontractor clauses to jobsites

at which members of the signatory union are employed. The

serious practical problems raised by the majority would arise

only ‘f subcontractor clauses were required to be renego-

tiated on a jobsite by jobsite basis, but that would not be

required by the panel's interpretation of tiie proviso.

Thus, we come to the nub of the matter. Which inter-

pretation of the proviso is more faithful to curbing

**top-down’’ organizing, which, it must be remembered,

was Congress’s objective in adopting the 1959 Act which

included section 8(e). Connell, supra, 421 U.S. at 632-33.

The holding of the panel gets my nod.'

"Because the panel concluded that the broad subcontractor clause in

the AGC supra violated section 8(e), it did not address the law-

fulness of the agreement's self-help enforcement provision. 609 F.2d

at 1351. I agree with the majority of this en banc court that the self-

help enforcement provision must be interpreted to mean what it says

that Congress clearly intended that subcontractor clauses were to

be enforced judicially rather than by strikes or picketing. Therefore, |

agree that the self-help clause in the AGC contract is invalid.

a

Pacific Northwest Chapter of the Associated Builders

& Contractors, Inc., et al. v. NLRB, et al. — Nos. 78-

3469, 78-3619, 78-3468, 79-7011.

FARRIS, Circuit Judge, with whom Judge Choy and

Judge Anderson join, dissenting:

I join Judge Sneed’s dissent in all respects and add some

comments regarding the scope of the construction industry

proviso.

The collective bargaining agreements here prohibit sig-

natory general contractors from subcontracting any work

covered by the agreement at any construction site to non-

signatory contractors. These agreements violate subsection

8(e) of the National Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. § 158(e)

(1976), unless they are permitted under the construction

industry proviso, which allows ‘‘agreement between a labor

organization and an employer in the construction industry

relating to the contracting or subcontracting of work to be

done at the site of the construction. . . .’’ /d. The precise

issue here is whether that proviso legalizes agreements that

limit subcontracting. at sites where the employer has no

employees represented by the union. The majority holds

that it does. I disagree.

In Connell Construction Co. v. Plumbers Local 100, 421

U.S. 616 (1975), the Supreme Court concluded that the

construction industry proviso did not authorize a construc-

tion industry employer and a union not representing its em-

ployees to agree to limit the employer’s right to subcontract.

Finding no congressional purpose in extending the proviso

to legalize agreements between employers and ‘‘stranger’’

unions, the Court narrowly construed the proviso to limit

its scope ‘to agreements in the context of collective-

bargaining relationships and ... possibly to common-

situs relationships on particular jobsites as well.’’ Jd. at 633.

ite 8 cies

Here, the three judge panel concluded that the proviso

was designed to deal with the special problem of jobsite

friction in the construction industry. It read the proviso to

allow a collective bargaining agreement to restrict an em-

ployer’s subcontracting at the jobsite where it employs the

union’s members. The majority asserts that another pur-

pose—maintenance of contract standards in the industry—

requires that the proviso be read to allow restrictions on the

use of nonsignatory subcontractors at any jobsite. See also

Donald Shriver, Inc. v. NLRB, No. 78-2177, slip op. at 43-

47 & n.29 (D.C. Cir. Oct. 20, 1980). I agree that a con-

gressional purpose in addition to reduction of jobsite friction

may require a broader scope for the proviso, but I do not

agree that maintenance of contract standards in the industry

is such a purpose. The Court in Connell read the proviso

to allow restraints in the context of collective bargaining

relationships. That does not mean that when a relationship

exists any restraint can be imposed; rather, the relationship

only has a bearing on the legality of the restraint when the

relationship and the restraint are related. It is not sufficient

that the restraint serves the interest of workers in the industry

generally. It must serve the interests of the workers repre-

sented by the union in the course of their employment by

the employer.

The only way the all-jobsite restraints here can serve the

interests of these workers is by preventing loss of work due

to subcontracting. This problem, however, is resolved by

a common, primary restraint: the union standards clause.

Such clauses effectively insulate workers from falling in-

dustry standards by removing the incentive to subcontract.

At the same time they avoid many of the evils inherent in

the restraints here. In my view the construction industry

proviso is not concerned with maintenance of contract stan-

dards. See generally Archibald Cox, Derek Bok & Robert

Gorman, Cases and Materials on Labor Law 892-95 (8th

ed. 1977) (while garment industry proviso was concerned

with maintenance of industry standards, construction in-

dustr

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.