Petition — THOMAS A. A. BAREFOOT v. TEXAS (No. 80-5320)

Supreme Court brief1979

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

: § our

G0 = 5320 wIbED

AUG 27 1980

MARE ROTAK 32, CLERK

heme ~~

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES Pe ae ee ee

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

No.

THOMAS A. BAREFOOT,

PETITIONER

-V~.-

THE STATE OF TEXAS,

RESPONDENT

meres sesse eee sees se ese eee Se ee eee eee See ese ess

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS OF TEXAS

meseseeseseese see sees se sess see sesseseseseseqeqcese=e

WILLIAM E. GRAY, JR.

P.O. Box 377

Simonton, Texas 77476

(713)346-1248

LAWYER FOR PETITIONER

TABLE OF CONTENTS

OPINION BOW 6 06.66 66 G 4 vc we OTE 0 TREES Owiele bb be wee eee eee 1

SUL Ere BO e ok CRT 6 SER ae DO P64 UM Boe eb SUSE ES Ke ReRaeee es 1

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS REVOVE 6 cbc OE bs 606 0b OR RSE eS eee 2

QUESTIONS PRESENTED. ..cccccccccccccccccccccrcccccccccccccccs |

STATEMENT OF THE CASE... wcccccceccccccsescccccccccccsscccsecs 89

A. EVIDENCE AT THE PUNISHMENT HEARING......ccceeeecses 7

G THR: PAYCRIATRIC CHOPIMONS oii 0k ch dentes Ue bsncuban Oe

C. HOLBROOK'S EXPERT PSYCHIATRIC OPINION.........e200- 19

D. GRIGSON'S EXPERT PSYCHIATRIC OPINION........e2-022. 24

E. PETITIONER'S OBJECTIONS TO THE

PSYCHIATRIC TL LE 4 6b OEE VED 06 64 6 ORS Oe 26

F. OBJECTIONS TO THE PSYCHIATRIC

TESTIMONY ON Se abs i wad 6 Cows ¢ Hae Nee wee 26

SUMMARY OF PRUNE o:a Ube 06 6008 6 OSU ON Ce bee Os bee eee nee 27

ARNT 6 6d 6 wee Cab cube Cie 02s 5b 00 eS 00'S 0086 0eb bee eee 29

Le LORE L s obi seeks ob ce 0600 0s Ok ON a OO 6 60 6a Whee Eee eee 32

:

)

)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: PAGE

Chambers v. State, 568 $.W.2d 313

(Tex.Crim.App. TIO Vikviccs vheecdee kde a oavcesenct ene

Estelle v. Smith, 602 F.2d 694 (5 Cir. 1979)..cceeeevecceeeelly

Estelle v. Smith, -- U.S.--, Now 79-1127 (15960)... e eee eee ee 27,29

Gardner v. Florida, 430 U.S. 349 (1977). .cccccccccceseeseeeddl

Green v. Georgia, 442 U.S. 95 (1979). .ccececcccccevceeseeees 30

Jurek v. TexaS, 428 U.S. 262 (1976) .ccccccccccccccccvesesvesad

Lockett v. Ohio, 438 U.S. 586 (1978). ...ccveccceecccevecseses 30

Moore v. State, 542 S.W.2d 664

(Tex.Crim.App. WIS levies cadhscnenkdéevgeesces chun

Roberts Ve Louisiana, 431 5.8. 633 CV977) ccc Hodson ccvdweseeeue

STATUTES:

Texas Code of Criminal Procedure,

Article TE UR gece wbeceedweéenveschaxeneen

Texas Penal Code, Section 19.02(a)(1)..ccccecsccccessereseesd

Texas Penal Code, Section 19.03(a)(1)...ceeeceevceenvevcevveed

Sir bad

\h-

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1979

NO.

THOMAS A. BAREFOOT

Petitioner

vs.

THE STATE OF TEXAS

Respondent

Ssssa2esseSsesesessesseseesessaeoseaeseesesaeza

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE COURT awe CRIMINAL APPEALS OF TEXAS

‘Petitioner prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review

the judgment of the Court of Criminal Appeals of Texas, entered

on March 12, 1980, rehearing denied on April 30, 1980.

CITATION TO OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Criminal Appeals of Texas is

reported at --S.W.2d--, No. 637159, dated March 12, 1980, and

attached as Appendix A.

JURISDICTION

Jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C., Sec.

1237(3), petitioner having asserted below and asserts here the

deprivation of rights secured by the Constitution of the United

States.

The judgment of the Court of Criminal Appeals of Texas was

rendered on March 12, 1980, and petitioner's motion for leave to

file a motion for rehearing was denied on April 30, 1980.

On July 29, 1980, Mr. Justice Powell entered an order

staying petitioner's scheduled execution, [A-100, and granted an

extension of time to and including August 28, 1980, in which to

file a petition for writ of certiorari [A-99].

slag 0

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

1. This case involves the Fifth, Sixth, Eighth and

Fourteenth Amendments to the Constitution of the United States.

2. It also involves the following provisions of Texas law:

TEXAS CODE OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE, ARTICLE 37.071.

(a) Upon a finding that the defendant is guilty of a

capital offense, the court shall conduct a separate

sentencing proceeding to determine whether the def-

endant shall be sentenced to death or life imprison-

ment. The proceeding shall be conducted in the trial

court before the trial jury as soon as practicable.

In the proceeding, evidence may be presented as to any

matter that the court deems relevant to sentence. This

subsection shall not be construed to authorize the

introduction of any evidence secured in violation of

the Constitution of the United States or of the State

of Texas. The state and the defendant or his counsel

shall be permitted to present argument for or against

sentence of death.

(b) On conclusion of the presentation of the evidence, the

court shall submit the following issues to the jury:

(1) whether the conduct of the defendant that caused

the death of the deceased was committed deliberate-

ly and with the reasonable expectation that the

death of the deceased or another would result;

(2) whether there is a probability that the defendant

would commit criminal acts of violence that would

constitute a continuing threat to society; and

(3) if raised by the evidence, whether the conduct

of the defendant in killing the deceased was un-

reasonable in response to the provocation, if

any, by the deceased.

(c) The state must prove each issue submitted beyond a

reasonable doubt, and the jury shall return a special

verdict of "yes" or "no" on each issue submitted.

(d) The court shall charge the jury that:

(1) it may not answer any issue "yes" unless it agre-

es unanimously; and

(2) it may not answer any issue "no" unless 10 or

more jurors agree.

(e) If the jury returns an affirmative finding on each

issue submitted under this article, the Court shall

sentence the defendant to death. If the jury returns

a negative finding on any issue submitted under this

article, the court shall sentence the defendant to

confinement in the Texas Department of Corrections for

life. ‘

(f) The judgment of conviction and sentence of death shall

be subject to automatic review by the Court of Criminal

Appeals within 60 days after certification by the sen-

tencing court of the entire record unless time

is extended an additional period not to exceed 30 days

by the Court of Criminal Appeals for good cause shown.

Such review by the Court of Criminal Appeals shall

have priority over all other cases, and shall be heard

in accordance with rules promulgated by the Court of

Criminal Appeals.

TEXAS PENAL CODE, SEC. 19.02(a)(1). MURDER,

(a) A person commits an offense if he:

(1) intentionally or knowingly causes the death

of an individual.

TEXAS PENAL CODE, SEC. 19.03(a)(1) CAPITAL MURDER

(a) A person commits an offense if he commits murder

as defined under Section 19.01(a)(1) of this Code

and:

(1) the person murders a peace officer .. . who

is acting in the lawful discharge of an

official duty, and who the person knows is a

peace officer...

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I

WHETHER THE STATE'S USE OF PSYCHIATRIC TESTIMONY

BASED SOLELY UPON A HYPOTHETICAL QUESTION WHICH

CONTAINED A DETAILED SUMMMARY OF THE STATE'S

AGGRAVATING EVIDENCE AT BOTH STAGES OF THE TRIAL

AND NONE OF THE MITIGATING CIRCUMSTANCES,

DISTORTED THE SENTENCING FACTFINDING PROCESS AND

BOLSTERED THE STATE'S PUNISHMENT EVIDENCE WITH THE

GLOSS OF MFDICAL EXPERTISE, CONTRARY TO THE EIGHTH

AND FOURTEENTH AMENDMENTS TO THE CONSTITUTION OF

THE UNITED, STATES.

II

WHETHER PSYCHIATRIC TESTIMONY THAT PETITIONER WOULD

CONSTITUTE A CONTINUING DANGER TO SOCIETY, BASED

SOLELY UPON A HYPOTHETICAL QUESTION WHICH CONTAINED

ONLY THE AGGRAVATING EVIDENCE PRODUCED BY THE STATE

AT BOTH STAGES OF THE TRIAL, AND ALREADY HEARD BY

THE JURY, IS OF SUFFICIENT RELIABILITY TO SUPPORT

A SENTENCE OF DEATH, UNDER THE EIGHTH AND FOURTEENTH /

AMENDMENTS TO THE CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED STATES.

° Ii!

WHETHER THE STATE'S USE OF PSYCHIATRIC TESTIMONY BASED

SOLELY UPON A HYPOTHETICAL QUESTION WHICH CONTAINED A

DETAILED SUMMARY OF THE STATE'S AGGRAVATING EVIDENCE

AT BOTH STAGES OF THE TRIAL BUT WHICH CONTAINED NO

MEDICAL, PSYCHIATRIC OR PSYCHOLOGICAL FACTS OR HISTORY,

AND NO TECHNICAL MATERIAL WHATSOEVER PECULIARLY WITHIN

THE EXPERTISE OF A PSYCHIATRIC OR MEDICAL WITNESS,

WAS SO UNRELIABLE AS TO DEPRIVE THE PETITIONER OF DUE

PROCESS OF LAW, SUBJECTING HIM TO CRUEL AND UNUSUAL

PUNISHMENT.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner Thomas A. Barefoot was convicted and sentenced

to death for the shooting of Carl Levin, a patrolman for the City

of Harker Heights, Texas, on August 7, 1978.

At the outset of its case on guilt or innocence, the state

presented the testimony of six witnesses from New Mexico,

regarding petitioner's arrest in Valencia County, New Mexico, on

October 29, 1977, for the offenses of criminal sexual penetration

of a minor in the first degree and kidnapping, and his escape

from the Valencia County jail on January 19, 1978.

(R.1113-1142)

On the morning of August 7, 1978, PFC Edwards was driving

to Fort Hood when he saw flames coming from the roof of the

Silver Spur Club. (R.1168-1170) He saw a man near the edge of the

Club parking lot who was looking in the direction of the fire.

This man ran across the highway. (R.1170-1174)

Edwards reported the fire and the presence of the man to

the Harker Heights police dispatcher. As he was returning to the

fire, Edwards again saw the same man. He reported this to

officers Carl Levin and Chuck Cox who were at the fire when he

got back. He observed what looked like a burning plastic milk jug

on the roof of the club. (R.1182-1193)

Levin, dressed in a Harker Heights police uniform departed

in a marked Harker Heights police car. (R.1194-1195)

Edwards identified the petitioner as the man he saw at the

scene of the fire on August 7, 1978. (R.1203, 1215-1216)

Michael Thrash, another Fort Hood soldier, was walking to

work at 5:35 a.m. on August 7th, when he saw a car with emergency

flashers and a spotlight parked at an intersection. (R.1219-1231)

Thrash saw a man walk from the bushes and up to the police car.

(S£.1228-1231) This man had a conversation with a police officer

and then the man took a step forward. There was a shot and Thrash

saw fire come from the barrel of a gun. (R.1241) The policeman

fell to the ground and the man ran away. Thrash obtained

assistance after attempting to chase the man who fired the shot.

(R.1243-1244) He could not identify the man who did the shooting.

Donnie Ray Tiller, a cab driver who lived in a trailer with

Robert Roberson, Radene Goodlow and Deborah Forbes, in Killeen,

Texas, testified that the petitioner, known to the witness és

"Darren Callier," began living in the trailer in June, 1978.

(R.1396-1404, 1407-1409).

On August 6th, the petitioner told Tiller of a plan to burn

or blow up a building to create a diversion while he was robbing

the Oasis Club. (R.1415-1418) The last time Tiller saw

petitioner was about 4:30 p.m. on August 6th. (R.1419-1422)

The following morning petitioner called Tiller at work and

asked him if he had been listening to the news. When Tiller said

that he had, petitioner stated: "Yeah, I shot him. I killed the

mother fucker, I shot him in the head. . ." (R.1423-1429)

Another habitue of the trailer, Robert Roberson, testified

that at about 4:30 a.m. on August 7th, he drove petitioner to

Harker Heights. Petitioner had what appeared to be a small

automatic pistol, a home-made bomb and a plastic milk jug.

Petitioner said he was going to blow up the Silver Spur Club

because Joe told him to do it for the insurance.(R.1516-

1521,1527,1576-1577) Roberson drove petitioner to a convenience

store where petitioner bought gas, then he left petitioner at

another convenience store in Harker Heights and returned to the

trailer. Petitioner left the bomb in the car and R»berson

disposed of it that afternoon. (R.1539,1575)

Later that morning Roberson was awakened by petitioner who

had red splotches on his t-shirt and face. Petitioner said he had

“wasted a cop." He changed clothes and left the trailer on foot.

(R. 1532-1538, 1581-1582)

That same morning Francisco Hernandez met petitioner on a

street in Killeen and after a brief conversation they went to a

grocery store where petitioner bought groceries and then to

Hernandez's apartment, where petitioner spent the night.

(R.1601-1605, 1629-1630)

Hernandez heard a news broadcast on the morning of August

8th which indicated that the police were looking for petitioner.

6

— ss

Petitioner admitted that he was the man they were looking for but

he denied that he killed a policeman. (R. 1696-1614) :

Petitioner shaved his mustache and Hernandez gave him a

different shirt. Hernandez obtained a ride for them to Belton

where petitioner bought a bus ticket to Houston and Hernandez

hitch-hiked to Austin. (R.1615-1624, 1635-1637)

EVIDENCE AT THE PUNISHMENT HEARING

John E. Green, first assistant United States Attorney for

the Western District of Oklahoma, in Oklahoma City, handled a

case on October 22, 1975, in which petitioner was convicted of

the unlawful possession of a sawed-off .410 gauge shotgun, and

sentenced to confinement in the federal penitentiary for one

year. Petitioner objection to this evidence, because it did not

involve an act of violence, was overruled. (R. 1663-1666)

Byron Legendre first assistant district attorney for the

Fifteenth Judicial District Court in Lafayette Parish, Louisiana,

was the prosecutor in a case where petitioner entered a plea of

guilty to two felony counts, distribution of marijuana and

possession of amphetamine, on December 2, 1974. (R.1968-1970)

Legendre was present in court on November 26, 1974, when

petitioner pled guilty to the misdemeanor offense of possessing

marijuana and the offense of carrying a concealed weapon. (R.1669-

1670)

John Clausen, now a deputy sheriff, was a police officer in

Morgan City, Louisiana, in 1969. At that time he knew the general

reputation of the petitioner for being a peaceful and law abiding

citizen in Morgan City. That reputation was bad. (R.1975-1976)

Louis Belaire had been a deputy sheriff in New Iberia,

Louisiana, in 1972. At that time, in Iberia Parish, petitioner's

reputation for being a peaceful and law abiding citi ses was bad.

(R. 1978-1979)

Lieutenant Danny Brown of the Louisiana State Police

stationed in Lafayette, Louisiana, asserted that petitioner's

reputation was bad in that area in 1973. (R. 1980-1983)

Carl Primeaux, probation parole officer for the Louisiana

Department of Corrections, broadened the area of petitioner's

7

ss

_—— >

bad reputation to include both Lafayette and New Iberia,

Louisiana, during 1973 to 1975. (R.1964-1986)

Chester Childs, a police officer from Oklahoma City,

Oklahoma, testified that petitioner's reputation for being a

peaceful and law abiding citizen in Oklahoma City in 1975 was

bad. (R.1988-1991) ,

Dorece Green, Executive Director of Permian Place,

established the same reputation for petitioner in Ector County,

Texas, in 1976. (R.1991-1994)

Sheriff A. C. Gaston, from Woodward, Oklahoma, gave

identical reputation testimony for the year 1977. (R.1995-1997)

Bob Olive, assistant chief of police in Neodesha, Kansas,

gave like answers for petitioner's reputation in his area in

1977. (R.2001-2004)

Thomas Esquibel, district attorney for Sandeval and

Valencia Counties, New Mexico, testified that petitioner's

reputation in those counties was bad in 1977 and 1978. (R.2004-

2007).

James Trost, a clinical psychologist for the New Mexico

Health and Environmental Department, in Santa Fe, New Mexico, was

in Valencia County on December 6, 1977, in response to a court

order to conduct an evaluation. He had “some familiarity” with

petitioner's reputation for being a peaceful and law abiding

citizen and that reputation was bad. (R.2008-2009)

THE PSYCHIATRIC TESTIMONY

Doctor John Holbrook was “self employed" the major part of

his practice being in the area of forensic psychiatry. His office

was in Dallas, Texas. He listed an impressive array of

qualifications. (R.2066-2069) He was employed by the Texas

Department of Corrections from 1968 until 1973, primarily to

“reinforce through a long correctional experience some of [his]

experiences [he] had prior to that time in doing criminal

evaluations." (R.2069)

According to Holbrook he had been called to testify as an

expert witness for both the state and the defense in death

penalty cases. (R.2070)

Holbrook thought it was within his capacity as a doctor of

psychiatry to predict the future dangerousness of an individual

within a reasonable medical certainty if he was supplied with

enough background data about that individual. (R.2072) He could

do this even if he had never seen the individual or never

performed an actual face to face evaluation process with him.

(R. 2073)

Holbrook did not know petitioner. He had never talked to

him. Even so, he was prepared to answer and did answer the

following hypothetical question posed by the prosecutor: (R.2074-

2091)

"Doctor Holbrook, we'll first start out with an individual

that is approximately [33] years of age and we'll go back in time

to the year [1969] when that individual was approximately [24]

years of age. Starting at that point in time, Doctor, I'll ask

you if you will assume please that during the year of [1969] the

individual that we're talking about had acquired a bad reputation

for the character trait of being peaceful and had also acquired

the bad reputation for the character trait of being law abiding

in the community surrounding Morgan City, Louisiana. I'll then

ask you to asqume that some three years later in the year of

[1972], that same individual in the community surrounding New

Iberia, Louisiana, had once again acquired a bad reputation in

the community for being peaceful and a bad reputation in the

community for being law abiding. Doctor Holbrook, I would ask you

further that in the year [1973] to next year, still within the

state of Louisiana, in the community of Lafayette, Louisiana, the

same individual has once again acquired a bad reputation in the

community for being peaceful and a bad reputation in the

community for being law abiding. I'll further ask you to assume

that in the year [1974], the next year, that this same individual

was convicted of a felony offense of distribution of marijuana

and was sentenced to five years in prison at hard labor probated

and one year to do in the Parish jail in Louisiana. I'll further

ask you to assume that during the year of [1974] this same

individual that we're talking about, was convicted of the felony

ns hte FO of ee

offense of possession of amphetamines. . . . I'll further ask you

to assume also in the year of [1974] this same individual that

we're talking about, was convicted of the offense of unlawfully

carrying a weapon. Once again in the year of [1974] I would ask

you to assume that that individual was convicted of the offense

of possesion of marijuana. Then I'd ask you to go to the year

[1975] and I'd ask you to assume in the year of [1975] this same

individual had acquired or renewed his bad reputation in the

community of New Iberia, Louisiana, and Lafayette, Louisiana for

being -- for having a bad reputation for being peaceful and a bad

reputation for being law abiding. Then I's ask you to assume

that in the year of [1975] in the community of Oklahoma City,

’ Oklahoma, that this same individual had acquired for himself a

bad reputation for being peaceful and a bad reputation for being

law abiding. Doctor, I'd further ask you if you will please, to

assume that during the year of [1975], this same individual was

convicted in the Western District Federal Court in the Western

District of Oklahoma for the federal felony offense of carrying

an unregistered firearm, that being a sawed-off shotgun and was

sentenced to do time in the fed :al prison. I would further ask

you to assume that in the year of [1976] this same individual

acquired a bad reputation for being peaceful and a bad reputation

for being law abiding in the community of Odessa, Ector County,

Texas. I will also ask you then to go to the year of [1977], and

I'll ask you to assume that in the year of [1977] in the

community of Woodward, Oklahoma, that this same individual had

acquired for himself a bad reputation for being peaceful and a

bad reputation for being law abiding. I will further ask you to

assume that in the same year, that being the year of [1977], this

same individual in the community of Neodesha, Kansas, had

acquired a bad reputation for being peaceful and a bad reputation

for being law abiding. I'll further ask you to assume that in

the year of [1977], in the community of Grants, New Mexico and

Los Lunas, New Mexico, this same individual had once again

acquired a bad reputation for being peaceful and a bad reputation

for being law abiding. I'll ask you to assume then also in the

Lee ee La ee OP SRR Ot Nemes me rT ae oe A SY OM ORME! RO, M7) RO Sete a

‘ ’ ;

year of [1978], in the community surrounding Valencia County, New

Mexico, this individual enjoyed at that time a bad reputation for

being peaceful and a bad reputation for being law abiding. I'll

further’ ask you to assume that on January [19, 1978], the same

individual was incarcerated in the Valencia County jail awaiting

trial for a three count felony indictment. I'll ask you to assume

that in an effort to avoid prosecution for those charges, that

same individual unlawfully escaped from custody in Valencia

County jail and firom that day forward became a fugitive from

justice. I'll then ask you to go to June of [1978] to thecentral

Texas city of Killeen which is located in Bell County, Texas.

I'll ask you to assume that this same individual that we're

talking about while in the city of Killeen, Bell County, Texas,

was located in a public restaurant and while in that public

restaurant he met a person that we will call Robert Roberson. And

on that first meeting in that public restaurant in the restroom

facility he discussed with that individual, Robert Roberson, the

sale of methamphetamine or what is called on the street as speed.

I would ask you further to assume that possession of

me amphetamine or speed in the state of Texas is a second degree

felony that carries with it a possible punishment of up to twenty

years in the penitentiary and a fine of up to ten thousand

dollars. I'll further ask you to assume that delivery or the

distribution of methamphetamine is a first degree felony in the

state of Texas. That selling it, buying it or being a party to

the distribution of methamphetamine being a first degree felony

carries with it a possible punishment of life in the Texas

Department of Corrections. I'll ask you to assume further that

those drug laws did not deter or slow down the individual that

we're talking about in his day to day actions. I'll further ask

you to assume that the individual that we're talking about then

meets a person by the name of Tiller, Donnie Ray Tiller. I'd ask

you to assume further that when he meets this individual named

Tiller, he then tells Mr. Tiller the following story. He does not

tell him that he has come from Valencia County, New Mexico but he

tells him that he lives in an adjoining central Texas city by

the name of Copperas Cove, Texas. That he also tells Mr. Tiller

that while in the city of Copper (sic) Cove, Texas he borrowed

his father's truck and lost it and further he tells Donnie Ray

Tiller that his father is fixing to have to go back to coliege

and is going to leave within the next three days and that he then

asked Mr. Tiller that if he could stay for the next couple of

days with Mr. Tiller at his home in Killeen, Texas, so he can

avoid having to answer the consequences of his alleged conduct

with his father in Copperas Cove, Texas. I'll ask you to further

assume that Mr. Tiller and Mr. Roberson lived together in a

trailer park in the city of Killeen, Texas. And I'll ask you to

assume further that based on this story that had just been told

them by this individual, that they allowed him to stay with them

in their trailer for a period of a couple days (sic). I'll

further ask you to assume that when this story was told to Mr.

Tiller, that the individual that told him that story also told

him that his name was Darren Callier and did not tell him what

his true name was. I'll ask you to assume further that he then

moved into this trailer in Killeen, Texas with Tiller and

Roberson and instead of being there for a couple days (sic), he

moved in on a permanent status. I'll ask you to assume further

that after moving into that trailer he would continually ask

Tiller to get him a gun. I'll further ask you to assume that this

individual who we'll now call Darren Callier had told Tiller that

in his opinion he had been previously mistreated by a Harker

Heights police officer. And in response to that he was going to

kill a Harker Heights cop. I'll further ask you to assume that

after predicting that he would kill a Harker Heights cop, he told

Tiller that he, Tiller, would be reading about him, that being

Darren Callier, in the newspapers. I'll further ask you to assume

that while living in this trailer with Roberson and Tiller, there

also lived in that trailer two females, one a prostitute and the

other one was living with Robert Roberson. I'll ask you to

further assume that all of these individuals, the five of them

together, bought, sold, purchased and used speed, that being

methamphetamine on a regular basis, even though possession or

12

sale would carry with it a range of punishment from twenty years

all the way to life in the penitentiary. I'd ask you to assume

further that during most of the time that this Darren Callier was

staying at the trailer, he had no job and no visible means of

Support. I'll further ask you to assume that this Darren Callier

would idly boast on many occasions that he was going to pull off

some jobs or robberies and that he would commit the c*fense of

murder. I'd ask you to assume further that on the date of August

[6, 1978] at the trailer in Killeen, Texas Darren Callier

specifically told the individual I told you was named Tiller,

that he was going to rob a club in Harker Heights, Texas and

before robbing the club he was going to set fire to a coffee shop

in Harker Heights, Texas as an effort to divert the police from

the club that he was then going to rob. I'll then ask you to

assume further that on August [6] of [1978], that person, Darren

Callier, told Tiller at that time that if he was seen by

witnesses he would either then change his appearance so as not to

be recognized later or, if necessary, he would kill the witness.

I'll then ask you to assume further that on the next day, August

[7] of [1978], that individual, Darren Callier, had acquired for

himself a gun, a twenty-five caliber automatic and a bomb. I'll

ask you to assume further that he then goes to Roberson at the

trailer at around [4:30] a.m. in the morning and tells Roberson

that he wants him to give him a ride to Harker Heights, Texas

because he, Darren Callier, doesn't have a car. He tells Roberson

at that time that he is going to blow up the place and rob

something. Further that he tells Roberson that he must do this to

show everybody that he means what he says and that then he can go

on to the next thing. I'll ask you to assume further that he

never specifies what the next thing is. I'll then ask you to

assume that while at the trailer he takes an empty plastic gallon

milk jug and he takes it with him when he goes into the car. That

he then talks Roberson into taking him to Harker Heights, Texas.

That Roberson then takes him to a gas station in Harker Heights,

Texas and that at that time he buys a gallon of gas and puts it

into the plastic milk jug that he has. He tells Roberson at this

¢

time that he needs the gallon of gas to ignite the bomb that he's

going to blow up -- use to blow up a club in Harker Heights,

Texas. I'll ask you: to assume further that then at that time Mr.

Roberson takes him to a Seven Eleven [convenience store] in

Harker Heights, Texas. And at that time the individual by the

name of Darren Callier gets out of the car, tells Roberson that

he's going to go and blow up a club by the name of the Silver

Spur in Harker Heights, Texas and that individual Darren Callier,

then leaves the car. I'll ask you to assume further that when he

left the car he forgot and left the bomb in the car. I'll then

ask you to assume further that this Darren Callier is next seen

at the scene of the Silver Spur. I'll ask you to assume that the

scene that we're talking about when we (sic) talking about the

Silver Spur complex ji. right around a residential community in

Harker Heights, Texas. I'll ask you to assume further that this

Darren Callier never made any mention to anybody to show that he

had any regard whatsoever to the individuals or the community,

the residential community that surrounded this Silver Spur

complex and what might happen to them if the fire burned out of

acontrol. I'll further then ask you to assume that a fire did, in

fact, occur at the Silver Spur complex. They found on top of the

building at the Silver Spur complex a heap of melted plastic that

appeared to be the same type of melted plastic that you would

(sic) in a gallon milk jug. And I'll ask you to assume further

that the only individual that was seen then leaving the scene of

the fire, that being the arson of the Silver Spur, was this same

Darren Callier. I'd ask you to assume that when he was seen by a

third party individual there at the scene of the fire that that

individual was in a car and got within [7 1/2) yards of Darren

Callier at the scene of the fire. I will then further ask you to

assume that Darren Callier had ample opportunity to see the

individual that had already seen him, the third party that was in

the car. I'll then ask you to assume that that individual, that

14

third party, left the scene of the fire to go en route to the

fire department and police department in Harker Heights, Texas.

I'll ask you to assume that the last time that individual saw

Darren Callier he was running down a street which we will call

business [190] and he was going in a westerly direction from the

scene of the fire. I will then ask you to assume that an

individual who was a police officer by the name of Carl Levin had

an occasion to leave his home which was further down business

[190] and proceed on to the fire. And I'll ask you to assume

further that Carl Levin was in a police car that was obviously

marked as a police car as you see in state's exhibit number [29]

that I hold up. I would ask you then to assume that this

individual that had seen Darren Callier at the fire, went, to the

police department and left the police department and went back

down business [190] in an easterly direction going back towards

the fire. I will than ask you to assume that this third party

then saw Darren Callier once again on business [190] proceeding

in a westerly direction. I'll ask you to assume that another

police car similarly marked to the one you see in state's exhibit

number [29], was following behind that individual on business

{190}. I'll ask you to assume that by the time the police car got

to the same location where that third party had seen Darren

Callier on [190], he had then disappeared into darkness. I will

then ask you to take up this individual Darren Callier where he

was next seen and I will ask you to assume that he was next seen

at a vacant house around [5:40] in the morning when it was dark.

At a vacant house in Harker Heights, Texas at the corner of Amy

Lane and Valley Road. I will ask you to assume at that time he

was stopped for questioning by a police officer by the name of

Carl Levin who was in a car that was distinctively marked as the

one you see in state's exhibit number [29] and that Carl Levin

was wearing a distinctive Harker Heights police uniform very

15

similar to the one that you can see over here in state's exhibit

number [9]. I will then ask you to assume, if you will, Doctor

Holbrook, that Darren Callier then meets the officer as the

‘officer stops his car. I'd ask you to assume that the officer is

holding his note pad in his hand. He has a gun strapped to his

side but the officer never reaches for the gun. I'll ask you to

assume that the officer is standing there talking to Darren

Callier and that the officer makes no movement for his gun, no

physical movement towards Darren Callier whatsoever. I'd ask you

to assume further that at that point in time that without any

provocation from the police officer whatsoever, that Darren

Callier then reaches in his back pocket, pulls out a [.25]

caliber automatic and places it within three to six inches of the

head of that police officer and pulls the trigger. I'll then ask

you to assume that the direction that he pointed that pistol

would have been right to the temple area and I'll ask you to

assume that a person's brain would be behind the temple area.

I'll ask you to assume that he did not shoot that officer in any

other place except the temple area which would house the brain.

I'll further ask you to assume that immediately after he shoots

the police officer, he then runs from the scene. I'll ask you to

assume that he never did anything whatsoever to check on the

extent of injuries to that police officer. I'd ask you to assume

further that he then runs from the scene into the darkness

running down the street and runs down behind people's houses and

finally ends up back at the trailer in Killeen, Texas where

Roberson and Tiller had lived. I'd ask you to assume that when he

gets to the trailer that this Roberson tells him that the police

are looking for him. I'll ask you to assume further that he

responds, that he knows the police are looking for him. That he

had just wasted a cop. And I'll ask you to assume that he used

those words, I've wasted a cop. I'll further ask you to assume

that he physically shows Roberson how he wasted the cop, that he

16

reaches into his pocket, comes up with his finger and points his

finger up to the left temple of Robert Roberson showing him how

he wasted the cop. I'll then ask you to assume that at that time

he washes up, washes off what appeared to be blood on his person

and he changes his clothes at that time in an effort to change

his identity. I'll ask you to further assume then that he leaves

the trailer and sometime later he then calls the individual who I

before told you about who was named Tiller. I'll ask you to

assume that Tiller at that time was on his job as a dispatcher at

a cab company. I'll ask you to assume further that when he was

talking to Tiller over the phone, he asked Tiller if he had been

listening to the news. And I'll ask you to assume further that

Tiller had been listening to the news and heard about the murder

of a Harker Heights police officer. I'll ask you to assume

further that Tiller asked him, did you do it? And I want you to

assume further please that Darren Callier responded with the

words, yeah, I killed him, I shot the mother fucker in the head.

And I want you to assume those are the exact words that came

down. I'll further ask you to assume that Darrel Callier is next

seen in the city of Killeen, Texas, in downtown Killeen. I will

ask you to assume that when he's next seen we're talking about a

time which would be within (3 1/2] hours of the murder. That at

that time he is sober and he meets a homosexual in the city of

Killeen. I'd ask you to assume that he had never met this

homosexual before. I would ask you then to assume that he tells

this homosexual the following story. He tells the homosexual that

he had just lost his job and that he had previously been staying

at the Star Motel in Killeen and that because he lost his job he

couldn't pay the rent and was kicked out of the Star Motel and

now he didn't have a place to stay. I'd ask you further to ,assume

that in reliance on what he was just told, the homosexual agreed

to let this Darren Callier stay at his place. I'll ask you to

further assume that on the ~- the time -- that night that

17

followed, that Darren Callier ate a full meal, conversed back and

forth with the homosexual, drank beer with him and never did

anything whatsoever to show remorse for what happened to the

police officer and he never did anything to even indicate that he

had been involved in any type of activity, criminal activity

prior to meeting the homosexual. I'll ask you to further assume

that during the conversation he did tell the homosexual that his

real name was Thomas A. Barefoot. I'd ask you to further assume

then that the homosexual the next morning is listening to the

news and hears a description about -- hears first of all facts

about the capital murder that occurred in Harker Heights and then

hears the description of the suspect. I'll ask you then to

further assume that this Thomas A. Barefoot tells him that yes,

he's the person they're .looking for but he further tells the

homosexual that he didn't do it. I'll then ask you if you will

please to assume that the homosexual is scared and that he tells

Thomas A. Barefoot that he will help have him disguised and get

him out of town if he so desires. I will then ask you to assume

that Thomas A. Barefoot shaves off his mustache to change his

identity and then changes clothes into some of the abevhes that

were owned by the homosexual. I'll ask you to assume that Thomas

A. Barefoot chooses his next destination to be Houston, Texas.

I'll then ask you to assume that the homosexual and Thomas A.

Barefoot obtain a ride to Belton, Texas where Thomas A. Barefoot

purchases a one way ticket to Houston and he gets on the

Greyhound,.bus to go -- or Kerrville bus to go to Houston, Texas.

I'll further ask you to assume that on his person at that time he

has a knife in one pocket and a loaded [.25] caliber automatic in

the other pocket. A one way ticket to Houston, a small amount of

change, no changes of clothes, nothing else with him whatsoever

to indicate that he is a traveler. He sere on the bus en route to

Houston at that time. I'll also ask you further to assume that

the pistol that he has in his pocket, he has strategically

18

placed behind his billfold so that if a person looks at him just

with the naked eye and sees his posterior region he will see only

a billfold protruding from his pocket and not see a gun. I'll ask

you further to assume that the gun is in a location that if he is

patted down only the billfold will be felt. You': have to have a

full blown search of his person to find the weapon that we're

talking about. I'll further ask you to assume that in Houston,

Texas when he arrives he is arrested by five different officers

and that on his person is found the knife and the gun that I

previously told you about. I would furth © ask you to assume that

when he is transported from Houston all the way to Bell County,

he sleeps in the back of the patrol car on his way to Bell

County, Texas. I'll further ask you to assume that this

individual is then charged with capital murder, tried for capital

murder and convicted by a jury of the offense of capital murder

of that Harker Heights police officer in Bell County, Texas. Now,

with all that before you, Doctor Holbrook, I would ask you if

that (sic) would be sufficientfacts for you then to look at and_

to form an expert psychiatric opinion as to what type of

character traits that individual had exhibited during that period

of life."

HOLBROOK'S EXPERT PSYCHIATRIC OPINION

The learned doctor, who recently committed suicide, drew

the following purported psychiatric conclusions from this jury

argument framed as a hypothetical question:

"Assuming all these data to be accurate, I think the first

thing that becomes obvious from the data is that we have an

individual who has established what is called a bad reputation as

a law abiding, peace loving citizen. In something in the order

of ten or twelve communities, plus or minus a few, in five states

which is approximately a tenth of the whole continental area of

the United States. He's been unable to establish any sort of

normal kind of relationship to society but who has done just the

19

contrary in that magnitude. Starting as far back as [1969] which

-- we're moving up on ten years at this point. Over that period

of time this kind of antisocial or lack of ability to adapt to

society and not only that to more (R.2092) or less reject it. To

not indicate in some way behaviorally at least, whether we know

what's going on in his mind or not, that they're capable of

relating to any of the normal institutions that most people live

by. Either religion, science or political science, church, family

or whatever. And none of these kind of loyalties seem to appear

with that history. Further then that we have in this history that

is related to me an indication of an ascending sort of scale of

criminal behavior in that the individual has been arrested a

number of times for a variety of charges starting with relatively

minor charges of possession of marijuana as I understand it,

progressing to possession and even distribution of amphetamines,

then moving to the element of adding danger to criminal behavior

or possession of an illegal weapon and then a concealed weapon.

There is a progression of this person actually having been

confined and attempted to correct this kind of behavior at least

on two occasions and indicate that that had no effect on this

behavior. That it continued and accelerated throughout time. We

see this person being very mobile, moving in the confines of five

states that we know about -- probably -- well, I won't say that.

At least five states that we know about and a number of

communities that we know about. This person also has by history

of this report contrived to do two things. To remain relatively

anonymous by taking up an alias when it is convenient to do so.

Further the individual has used that in such a way to serve their

(sic) own purposes. Almost everything that is reported here

indicates that not much behavior at least by history this person

has done to serve purposes for anyone other than themselves

(sic). So the indicators are this is extremely self-serving

purpose -- person. He tends to disregard the normal values of

20

social life with this ascending scale maintaining anonymity and

taking on an alias, to do that and maintaining considerable

mobility. In the latter stages of the history the individual has

continued to associate themselves (sic) with people who would

perpetuate that anonymity and would even by some manipulation on

their (sic) part provide them (sic) with transportation, food,

lodging, without any real effort on that person's part. Assuming

that all of the planning that went into this and the way it's

stated, there are indicators that the individual really had in

mind to commit a very serious offense and was intent upon doing

it by history. This has been reported well in the book called

"The Criminal Personality and Profile for Change" by Yokelman

(phonetic) from Saint Elizabeth's Hospital in Washington, D.C.

which is a net result of about eighteen years work of their

separate life represents thirty-six years of their collective

life. (R.2093-2095) They threw away about [300,000] pages of data

given to them by individuals that they had evaluated there which

is a criminal evaluation center and began to go upon basic data

as this sort of thing, information given by family and the

individual seemed to be worthless and a quarter million pages of

it were thrown away after twelve years. The kind of information

here shows what I have said thus far. The planning indicates what

they found and what I have found over almost twenty years, that

in the mind of the criminal whatever you want to call it, they

operate on the basis of three things -- four really. That they

have a peculiar criminal mind. That each offense they commit has

been thought of many times. The only thing they need is the

opportunity together with a target and anonymity and mobility.

They will invaribly provide those elements if they are very

actively engaged in criminal thinking. This goes on and on. This

is manifest in the history that you give. In the report of the

individual actually sort of bragging about an offense of a very

serious nature indicates that the person derived a great deal

21

of personal pleasure. There certainly was no gain as far as I

could determine from this data. This fits my own experience in

dealine with the criminal (R.2095) what ever you want to call

them diagnostically. That the primary goal of the criminal is the

excitement and the ego enhancing part of criminal behavior and

when this begins to have an ascending kind of order both in

frequency and in seriousness and involving more and more danger,

that there is no end point other than the ultimate of danger to

other people and/or themselves. So all of those elements are

present. This is an invariable set of circumstances and it's born

(sic) out by very good evidence and these people wrote three

volumns on the subject and I made a contribution of my own. In

reviewing the literature on the subject most authors who are

thinking straight and you think now of Yokelman reviewed that and

it's available - -."

At this point petitioner's counsel interposed a hearsay

objection which was sustained by the court, but Holbrook was

undeterred: “Without belaboring that my opinion agrees with all

of that." (R.2096)

Holbrook's opinion was “based within a reasonable

psychiatric certainty.

‘The late doctor next, within reasonable psychiatric

certainty, classified petitioner as a “criminal sociopath."

According to Holbrook "the criminal sociopath involves

criminal (R.2097) behavior. The elements are normally by most

authors including myself, suggest that the individual is number

one, one who continues to demonstrate from early life into

adulthood antisocial behavior and in the criminal its criminal

antisocial behavior. These are acts that are not arrestable to

arrestable kinds of behavior (sic)." (R.2098)

Holbrook basically reiterated his first conclusionary

statement, connecting the history given him with the actions of a

“criminal sociopath." (R.2098-2099) He found “probably six or

22

seven major criterias (sic) for the sociopath in the criminal

area within reasonable medical certainty. Most authors accept

somewhere between five and fifteen. We might add another one here

and that is usually in the history of this individual you will

find some indicator of violence or serious threats of violence

which, if taken alone, may not be significant but if taken in

this history and the context of this person's life, one might

begin to take it very seriously. Another thing that might be

mentioned here is another criteria and I think we're up to around

seven or eight now, would be, the person escaping or running away

from authority or being unwilling to accept a confrontation in

the legal way in a court of law. The run away or escape is

usually a part of the history. Truancy very often when they are

young or it may, in fact, be present in the correctional sense or

the legal sense where a fugitive or a person who had become a

fugitive and run away from (R.2099) even that basic

responsibility. In summary those are the characteristics of the

criminal sociopath in my view and many, many other people."

(R. 2100)

Holbrook knew of no treatment that coulé be given a person

such as petitioner that would make him change his personality and

behavior from that of being a criminal sociopath. (R.2100) In his

opinion, petitioner's personality and behavior may become

accelerated within the next few years, that is what he would

anticipate.It was his further opinion that within reasoable

psychiatric certainty there was a probability that petitioner

would commit criminal acts of violence in the future that would

constitute a continuing threat to society, and this would include

the society within the Texas Department of Corrections.

(R. 2100-2101)

On cross-examination Holbrook conceded that (1) he never

examined petitioner; (2) he never had petitioner under any kind

of clinical study and never observed him before he came into the

23

courtroom that day; and (3) he had not been present during the

course of the trial. (R.2101-2102)

GRIGSON'S EXPERT PSYCHIATRIC OPINION

Doctor James Grigson who, along with Holbrook, has

testified for the state in an inordinate number of capital murder

cases in Texas, was asked essentially the same hypothetical

question. (R.2111-2126) The second hypothetical question

contained additional details about the offenses for which

petitioner was arrested in Valencia County, New Mexico:

“Assume further that Thomas A. Barefoot's name had been

entered into the National Criminal Information Center in

Washington, D.C. for escaping from jail in Valencia County, New

Mexico. . . [and that] at the time of the escape. . . [Thomas A.

Barefoot was under indictment] for the following charges. Count

One that [he] intentionally and unlawfully engaged in vaginal

sexual intercourse with a minor child under the age of thirteen

years old not then his spouse. Count Two that [he]. . . engaged

in the anal sexual intercourse of a minor child under the age of

thirteen old which was not his spouse. Count Three that [he]. . .

restrained and confined a minor child by use of force or

deception with the intent to commit criminal sexual (R.2120)

penetration against the child's will." (R.2121)

The prosecutor also added the details of the escape from

the Valencia County jail to Grigson's question. (R.2121)

Grigson after reviewing his credentials, asserted that,

even without a medical or psychiatric examination of an

individual, he would be able to give a medical opinion within

reasonable psychiatric certainty as to the psychological or

psychiatric makeup of an individual, provided he was given

sufficient facts, information and circumstances. (R.2110)

After hearing the question, Grigson said: “This would be a

fairly classical, typical, sociopathic personality disorder."

(R.2128) According to Grigson the most outstanding personality

24

characteristic of the sociopath is the lack of a conscience.

There are varying degrees of this disorder. On a scale of one to

ten there is the mild sociopath, all the way up to the severe

sociopath who have a complete disregard for another person's

life. Based on the facts given him, Grigson would place

petitioner "into your most severe category. If you go up above

ten, it would be above ten but really in your most severe

sociopaths. . . . There is not anything in medicine or psychiatry

or any other field that will any way at all modify or change the

severe sociopath. There is just not anything available."

(R.2128-2129)

Grigson was then asked: “Assuming as true the facts of the

hypothetical question. . . do you have an opinion within

reasonable psychiatric certainty whether or not there is a

probability that the defendant, Thomas Andrew Barefoot, will

commit criminal acts of violence that would constitute a continu-

ing threat to society?"

Not surprisingly, Grigson did have an opinion: "Yes, he

most certainly would." This would be true, no matter where

petitioner was. "It wouldn't matter whether he was in the

penitentiary or whether he was free. Wherever he is he's going to

continue what he's already been doing." Not satisfied with this

outrageous conclusion, the prosecutor persisted: "Would

you state whether or not, Doctor Grigson, you have an opinion

within reasonable psychiatric certainty as to the degree of that

probability that you have just expressed to this jury?"

Grigson: "Well, yes, sir, I would put it at one hundred

percent and absolute."

On cross-examination Grigson denied that he was familiar

with the following: (1) American Psychiatric Association Task

Force Report on Clinical Aspects of the Violent Individual; (2)

Dr. Bernard Diamond's article on the Psychiatric Prediction of

25

Dangerousness; (3) Cocozza and Stedman's article on the failure

of psychiatric predictions of dangerousness published in 1976;

(4) Doctor Guttmacher's Clinical Evaluation of the Dangerousness

of the Mentally 11l; (5) Doctor Rubin's article on The Prediction

of Dangerousness in Mentally I11 Criminals. (R.2133-2134)

Grigson said it was untrue that it was the position of the

American Psychiatric Association that psychiatrists cannot

reliably predict whether or not someone -- criminals in the

future are going to commit future acts of violence. According to

Grigson "This is that same group that found homosexuality was not

an illness and this is a small minority group."(R.2134)

PETITIONER'S OBJECTIONS TO THE PSYCHIATRIC TESTIMONY

Petitioner objected to the hypothetical question posed to

Holbrook because it assumed only aggravating facts and assumed no

mitigating facts that were brought out during the trial; that is

assumed facts that were controverted by the evidence; that in

some cases it assumes what was going on in the mind of persons

involved "which facts are not facts in evidence at all;" and

because "there is no way that a hypothetical can be generated

which will incorporate all the facts which have come before [the]

jury and which would incorporate what [the] jury as determined to

be true .. . for] untrue." (R.2091)

A similar objection was interposed when Grigson testified,

with the additional statement that the question was asking the

witness to invade the province of the jury. (R.2126-2127)

Earlier, outside the presence of the jury, petitioner made

similar objections to Grigson's testimony. (R.2042-2044)

OBJECTIONS TO THE PSYCHIATRIC TESTIMONY ON APPEAL

On appeal to the Court of Criminal Appeals of Texas,

petitioner argued that psychiatrists, as a group, are not

qualified by education or training to predict future behavior.

(Barefoot v. State, --S.W.--, No. 63,715, page 18, Appendix "B")

The Court, id at page 19, specifically rejected this

‘

26

contention:

"This Court is well aware that the ability of psychiatrists

to predict future behavior is the subject of widespread debate.

However, we are not inclined to alter our previously stated view

that a trial court may admit for whatever value it may have to a

jury psychiatric testimony concerning the defendant's future

behavior at the punishment stage of a capital murder trial.

Chambers v. State, 568 S.W.2d 313 (Tex.Crim.App. 1978); Moore v.

State, 542 S.W.2d 664 (Tex.Crim.App. 1976)."

No member of the Court dissented from this view.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Court has before it now, in Estelle v. Smith, No.

79-1127, 602 F.2d 694 (5 Cir. 1979), issues involving the state's

use of psychiatric testimony in support of an affirmative answer

to punishment issue number two, where the accused was actually

examined by the testifying psychiatrist.

Interwoven with the Smith contentions is the claim there

raised in the brief amicus curiae for the American Psychiatric

Association that the use of psychiatric testimony in a capital

case on the issue of whether a defendant is likely to commit

serious crimes in the future is constitutionally invalid because

it undermines the reliability of the fact finding process.

Here, the state has refined the punishment procedure by

having two psychiatrists, one of them being the same Doctor

Grigson who testified for the state in the Smith case, testify,

based upon a hypothetical question which incorporated all of the

state's evidence at both stages of the bifurcated trial, that the

petitioner "most certainly would" commit criminal acts of

violence that would constitute a continuing threat to society.

Grigson put the degree of probability “at one hundred percent and

absolute." (R.2131)

27

The Court of Criminal Appeals of Texas, with no voice

raised in dissent, asserted that the use of expert testimony and

the testimony of experts based upon hypothetical questions, is a

matter of state law and, under the peculiar Texas statutes,

within the exclusive discretion of each individual trial judge,

who may admit any evidence he deems relevant to sentence.

Such claim must yield to this Court's requirement for

reliability in the determination that death is the proper

punishment after conviction of a capital offense.

The global purview of the Texas punishment issue predicated

upon a finding of future dangerousness, requires exclusion of

psychiatric predictions of future dangerousness as a matter of

federal constitutional law, and petitioner here incorporates the

Summary of Argument contained in the amicus brief for the

American Psychiatric Association.

Second, even if psychiatric predictions of future

dangerousness, based upon a legitimate psychiatric and medical

examination, be proper at the punishment stage of a capital

trial, where these predictions are based, as here, solely upon a

hypothetical resume of the same evidence, embellished with the

prosecutor's conclusions, submitted to the jury with no medical

or psychiatric evidence requiring expert analysis for the

assistance of the jury in resolving the issue of future

dangerousness, the punishment proceeding is distorted, the

petitioner is denied a fair hearing by the fact finders, and the

state is permitted to bolster its non-medical and non-psychiatric

evidence with the gloss of medical expertise.

Third, Grigson's flat prophecy that petitioner "most

certainly would” commit future criminal acts of violence that

would constitute a continuing threat to society, and that the

probability of such future conduct was “one hundred percent and

absolute," within reasonable psychiatric certainty, eliminated

the state's burden of proving an affirmative answer to punish-

28

ment issue number two beyond a reasonable doubt, deprived the

petitioner of his statutory right to have his punishment fairly

assessed by the jury, and denied him fundamental fairness and due

process of law.

ARGUMENT

The petitioner adopts the argument under point I, pages 11

through 17, of the amicus brief for the American Psychiatric

Association, filed in Estelle v. Smith, --U.S.--, No. 79-1127,

and submits that the issue of the reliability of psychiatric

predictions of long-term future criminal behavior was squarely

raised in and rejected by the Court below.

The evil of such predictions, at least by practitioners

like Grigson and Holbrook, under the Texas capital punishment

statutes, is that they eliminate the jury's need to consider

mitigating evidence. There is no cure, according to these

experts, for the criminal sociopath. Thus this Court's reliance

upon the following assurances by the Court of Criminal Appeals of

Texas, in Jurek v. State, 522 S.W.2d 934, 939-940(Tex.Crim.App.

1975), cited with approval in Jurek v. Texas, 428 U.S. 262, at

272-273 (1976), is misplaced:

"In determining the likelihood that the defendant would be

a continuing threat to society, the jury could consider whether

the defendant had a significant criminal record. It could

consider the range and severity of his prior criminal conduct. It

could further look to the age of the defendant and whether or not

at the time of the commission of the offense he was acting under

duress or under the domination of another. It could also consider

whether the defendant was under an extreme form of mental or

emotional pressure, something less, perhaps, than insanity, but

more than the emotions of the average man, however inflamed,

could withstand." —

There is likewise no room in the “criminal sociopath"

category for consideration of the youth of the offender, the

29

influence of drugs, alcohol, or extreme emotional disturbance,

and even the existence of circumstances which the offender

reasonably believed provided a moral justification for his

conduct. Roberts v. Louisiana, 431 U.S. 633, 637 (1977).

Equally immaterial is the fact that the offender was a

party to but did not himself commit the murder. Lockett v. Ohio,

438 U.S. 586 (1978)

All of these mitigating circumstances are moot under the

Grigson-Holbrook caveat that there is no known cure for the

sociopathic personality. What matters, then, the age of the

offender, his part in the crime, whether he was acting under

duress or was under the domination of another, whether he was

under an extreme form of mental or emotional pressure, the fact

that he was under the influence of drugs or alcohol, or the fact

that he reasonably believed in the existence of circumstances

which provided a moral justification for, his conduct? Even if all

these factors be true, if he is a sociopath, he must die.

The Grigson-Holbrook prophecies carefully eliminate the

jury's need to consider life imprisonment for the offender. He

will be a danger to the inmates and personnel of the Texas

Department of Corrections. This all adds up to a mandatory

affirmative answer to the second punishment issue and a mandatory

sentence of death for the offender.

It can thus be seen that the reliability of such opinions

goes to the very heart of the punishment proceedings in Texas

capital murder trials.

A majority of this Court swept aside a state procedural

rule which excluded relevant and reliable mitigating evidence at

the punishment proceeding, holding that such exclusion

constituted a violation of the Due Process Clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment. Green v. Georgia, 442 U.S. 95 (1979).

The harm is just as great to a convicted capital offender

where the state procedural rule or statute permits the admission

30

of potentially unreliable and bolstering aggravating evidence at

the punishment proceeding. Cf. Gardner v. Florida, 430 U.S. 349

(1977).

In Gardner, three Members of this Court agreed that the

sentencing process of a capital trial must satisfy the

requirements of the Due Process Clause and that sentencing is a

critical stage of a capital criminal proceedingat which the

defendant is entitled to the effective assistance of counsel.

As Mr. Justice Stevens noted in Gardner:

", . »« [F]ive Members of the Court have now

expressly recognized that death is a different

kind of punishment from any other which may be

imposed in this country."

and:

"It is of vital importance to the defendant

and to the community that any decision to

impose the death sentence be, and appear to

be, based on reason rather than caprice or

emotion." 430 U.S. at 357-358.

Both psychiatrists in petitioner's case reached their

standard boilerplate psudo-psychiatric conclusions upon

non-medical and non-psychiatric facts. A person's reputation for

being a peaceful and law abiding citizen in various communities

may or may not have either legal or medical significance.

Doubtless the late Doctor Martin Luther King had such a

reputation over a wider georgaphic range than did thepetitioner

in the same circles that established petitioner's reputation.It

is interesting to note how quickly Holbrook became a legal

advocate when he analyzed this evidence, pointing out that

petitioner had a bad reputation as a peaceful and law abiding

citizen in "ten or twelve communities, plus or minus a few, in

five states which is approximately a tenth of the whole

continental area of the United States." Later Holbrook expanded

on this geographic opinion by saying that petitioner was very

31

~~ pe oe

P

;

:

mobile, moving in the confines of five states "that we know

about" and a "number of communities that we know about."

Then, even though Holbrook had remarked about this

far-flung reputation, he found significance in the fact that the

petitioner had used an alias in Bell County, after his escape

from the New Mexico jail. This showed that petitioner tended to

disregard the normal values of social life with this ascending

scale maintaining anonymity and taking on an aiias while at the

same time maintaining considerable mobility.

Grigson made no effort to correlate petitioner's "history"

as recounted by the prosecutor with his standard conclusions.

A reading of the testimony of these psychiatric witnesses

makes one wonder what they could have done with chicken entrails,

or a flight of birds.

Petitioner's court-appointed counsel made no effort to

counter this damaging testimony, either by a searching cross

examination into the fraudulent basis of the expert conclusions

or by defensive psychiatric witnesses. The record does not reveal

the reason for this supine surrender, but petitioner's present

lawyer is well aware of the extreme difficulty confronting court

appointed counsel for an indigent capital defendant in obtaining

medical or psychiatric assistance of any sort.

CONCLUSION

The sentence of death in this cause should be set aside for

all the reasons stated above.

Respectfully submitted

William E. Gray, Jr.

P.O. Box 377

Simonton, Texas 77476

(713)346-1248

¢

32

CLERK'S OFFICE

COURT OF CRIMINAL APPFLAS

AUSTIN, TEXAS

I, THOMAS LOWE, Clerk of the Court of Criminal Appeals of Texas,

do hereby certify that in Cause No. 63,715, styled:,

THOMAS A. BAREFOOT Appellant

Vs.

STATE OF TEXAS Appellee

the judgment of the 27th. Judicial District Court of Bell County,

Texas was AFFIRMED, on March 12, 1980, the Appellant's Motion for

Leave to File Motion for Rehearing was Denied on April 30, 1980.

The Appellant's Motion to Stay Issuance of Mandate was Granted on

April 30, 1980 for 30 days and the Mandate of this Court issued on

June 2, 1980.

THEREFORE, WITH THE DENYING OF THE APPELLANT'S MOTION FOR LEAVE TO

FILE MOTION FOR REHEARING, this cause was disposed of by this Court

on ~° June’2, 1980, the appellant having exhausted all remedies of

this, The Court of Criminal Appeals of Texas and the judgment has

now become final on the docket of this Court.

WITNESS my hand and the seal of said Court, at my office in Austin,

Texas, this the 2lst. day of July, A. D., 1980.

H

THOMAS Li , Clerk of the

Court of Criminal Appeals

of Texas

“APPENDIX “A”

THOMAS A. BAREFOOT, Appellant

aka DARREN CALLIER

NO. 63,715 v. ~- Appeal from BELL County

THE STATE OF TEXAS, Appellee

OPINION

This is an appeal from a conviction for Capital murder,

The punishment is death.

Appellant contends that the trial court erred by failing

to instruct the jury at the guilt-innocence stage of the trial

en the law of circumstantial evidence, denying his motion for

change of venue, overruling his challenges for cause of three

Prospective jurors, refusing his request for additional peremp-

tory challenges, admitting evidence of extraneous offenses,

failing to define “probability” in the charge at the punishment

stage, and overruling his objections to the testimony of two

witnesses as to the probability he would commit acts of violence

in the future. Appellant also contends that Art, 37.071, V.A.C.

C.P., is unconstitutiorally vague,

Appellant was conv’cted for the murder of Harker Heights

police officer Carl Levin. The appellant fatally shot Levin

after the officer stopped him for questioning in an arson investi-

gation. Although appellant does not contest the sufficiency of

the evidence, a detailed review of the testimony is required in

order to discuss his contention that the circumstantial evidence

charge should have been submitted to the jury.

Appellant and four other persons were living in a trailer

"in killeen during the summer of 1978. One of the appellant's

roommates, Donnie Ray Tiller, testified that appellant had asked

him for a gun and stated that he intended to kill a Harker Heights

policeman who had allegedly mistreated him during an arrest for

public intoxication. Appellant also told Tiller of his plans to

commit various robberies in Narker Heights, :

APPENDIX “RR”

BAREFOOT -2

On August 6, 1978, appellant told Tiller that he was

going to commit a robbery the next morning at the Oasis Club

in Harker Heights after creating a diversion by bombing or

setting fire to a building. Appellant Stated to Tiller that

he would kill anybody who recognized him as the robber. Ap-

pellant was wearing a white T-shirt and blue jeans at the time

of this conversation.

Another roommate, Robert Roberson, testified that appel-

lant awakened him at approximately 4:30 a.m. on October 7 and

asked him for a ride to Harker Heights. Appellant was wearing

a white T-shirt and blue jeans, and was armed with a .25 caliber

automatic pistol and a home-made bomb. On the way to Harker

Heights, appellant told Roberson he was going to blow up the

Silver Spur, a night club. After first stopping at a convenience

store where appellant filled an empty plastic milk jug with

gasoline, Roberson dropped appellant off near the Silver Spur

at about 5:00 a.m. and returned to the trailer.

John Edwards, a soldier at Fort Hood, drove past the Silver

Spur at $:15 a.m. He saw flames coming from the roof and a man

he identified as appellant standing in the parking lot. As

Edwards watched, appellant began to run along Highway 190.

Edwards drove to the police station, which was nearby, to report

the fire and then returned to the Silver Spur. On his way back

to the fire, Edwards saw appellant near the intersection of

Highway 190 and Amy Lane.

Rack at the fire, Edwards saw a fireman remove a melted

plastic jug from the roof of the building. He then told Officer

Levin what he had seen. Levin, who was in uniform and driving

a marked patrol car, left the scene of the fire and drove toward

Amy Lane.

*

BAREFOOT -3

Michael Thrash, another Fort Hood soldier, lived on Amy

Lane. He was walking to work at 5:35 a.m. when he saw a patrol

car parked at the intersection of Amy Lane and Valley Road with

its emergency lights on and its spotlight trained on some bushes.

Officer Levin was standing beside the patrol car. A man wearing

a white T-shirt and blue jeans stepped out of the bushes and

walked toward the officer. The man then shot Levin in the head

at point-blank range and fled down Valley Road.

Mary Richards, who lived on Valley Road, heard the shot

and looking through a window, she saw a man wearing a white T-

shirt running down Valley Road from Amy Lane. Richards could

not positively identify appellant, but testified he resembled the

man she saw.

Appellant called Tiller at approximately 10:30 a.m. on

the morning of the shooting. Tiller described the conversation

as follows:

“I answered the phone. He said, Donnie, I

said, yes. He said this is Darren. He says

have you been listening to the news? And I said,

yes, Darren, did you do that? He said, Yeah, I

shot him. I killed the mother fucker. I shot him

in the head."

Tiller testified that this conversation was in reference to the

August 7 shooting of the Harker Heights policeman. After appel-

lant hung up, Tiller contacted the police.

Appellant returned to the trailer after the shooting and

spoke to Roberson. Roberson testified that appellant was still

dressed in a white T-shirt and blue jeans, had red blotches

which appeared to be blood on his face and shirt, and appeared

to be in a state of panic.

After Roberson

police had been to the trailer looking for

that “he had to get out of town because he

told him that the

him, appellant said

that .

wasted a cop,

he hilled a cop." Asked by Roberson ‘ow he had done it, appel-

i

Jant reached for his back pocket andthen pointed his finger at

BAREFOOT -4

Roberson's head at the place corresponding to the bullet wound

to the head of the deceased. After washing up and changing

clothes, appellant left the trailer.

Francisco Hernandez testified that he met appellant in

downtown Killeen on the morning of August 7. He invited appellant

to his home for lunch and subsequently offered to let him spend

the night. The next morning, after hearing a radio news report

describing the suspect in the Levin murder, appellant told Hernandez

that "I am the one that they're looking for but I didn't kill no

policeman," |

Appellant subsequently made his way to Belton, where he boarded

a bus for Houston. Police acting on information from Hernandez ar-

rested appellant at the bus station in Houston at approximately 11:30

p.m. August 8. A .2S caliber automatic pistol that ballistics tests

proved fired the bullet that killed Levin was in espera s pocket

at the time of his arrest.

David Kingsley was acting Chief of Police for Harker Heights at

the time of the charged offense. He testified that Officer Levin

was the only peace officer killed in Bell County on August 7, 1978,

If the accused admits or confesses killing the deceased,

proof of the admission or confession is direct evidence of the

main inculpatory fact and a charge on circumstantial evidence

is not required. Sloan v. State, S1S S.W.2d 913 (Tex.Cr.App.

1974); Hurd v, State, $13 S.W.2d 936 (Tex.Cr.App. 1974); Swift

Vv. State, $09 S.W.2d 586 (Tex.Cr.App. 1974). However, if the

admission or confession is equivocal as to the killing of the

:' deceased, or if it is not clear that the killing admitted or

confessed is the killing with which the defendant is accused,

proof of the admission or confession alone will not relieve the

trial court of the necessity of giving a circumstantial evidence

charge. Ridyolph v. State, S44 S.W.2d 784 (Tex.Cr.App. 1977); °

Hielscher v. State, 511 S.W.2d 305 (Tex.Cr.App. 1974); Martinez

Vv. State, 207 S.W.2d 387 (Tex.Cr.App. 1948). Even if the con-

fession is equivocal, a circumstantial evidence charge is not

BAREFOOT -$

necessary if tive other evidence, together with the confession,

conclusively establishes that the killing confessed is the

killing for which the defendant is on trial. Ridyolph v. State,

supra; Hogan v. State, 496 S.W.2d 594 (Tex.Cr.App. 1973); Steel

v. State, 459 S.W.2d 649 (Tex.Cr.App. 1970); Patterson v. State,

416 S.W.2d 816 (Tex.Cr.App. 1967).

Tiller testified that appellant's admission to him that

he “shot him in the head" was in reference to the shooting of

the Harker Heights policeman on August 7. Officer Levin, who was

shot in the head, was the only peace officer in Bell County killed

that day. Appellant told Roberson that he “killed a cop" and

described the shooting-in a manner consistent with the murder

of Levin. Appellant was seen in the area a few minutes prior to

the shooting wearing a white T-shirt and blue jeans, the witness

to the shooting testified that the assailant was dressed in that

fashion, and Roberson testified that appellant was so dressed

when he returned to the treiler splattered with blood. These

facts, together with the other evidence discussed above, leave

no reasonable doubt that the killing admitted by appellant was

that of Officer Levin. Therefore, the admissions are direct

evidence of the main inculpatory fact and the trial court did

not err in refusing to charge on the law of circumstantial evi-

dence. See and compare Ridyolph v. State, supra; Casey v. State,

523 S.W.2d 658 (Tex.Cr.App. 1975); Hielscher v. State, supra;

Hogan v. State, supra; Steel v. State, supra; Patterson v. State,

_ Supra,

Appellant contends that the trial court erred by refusing

his motion for a change of venue. Appellant argues that news

accounts of the shooting had created such a prejudice against

him that he could not obtain a fair and impartial trial in Bell

County.

BAREFOOT -6

The trial of appellant commenced eighty-three days after

the commission of the offense. The hearing on the change of

Venue motion was held September 20, 1978, forty-four days after

the shooting. Six residents of Bell County testified that in

their opinion appellant could not receive a fair trial in the

county at the time of the hearing of the motion. However, four

of these witnesses stated during cross-examination that they

could be fair and impartial if selected as jurors. Appellant's

other witnesses were employees of local newspapers and radio

and television stations. Each described the coverage appellant's

case had received and identified copies of newspaper stories and

transcripts of broadcasts that were admitted in evidence. On

cross-examination, these witnesses stated that the purpose of

their news coverage had been to inform, not to inflame, the public,

that they believed appellant could receive a fair trial, and that

they could be impartial jurors.

The State called eleven witnesses to testify that there was

not such a prejudice against appellant in Bell County that he

could not receive a fair trial. The State also introduced

evidence showing that the county's population was between 125,000

and 158,000; that there were 45,000 registered voters in the

county; and that the four largest cities in the county were

Killeen, population $2,000, Temple, population 48,000, Harker

Heights, population 10,500, and Belton, population 10,000.

The evidence raised fact issues whether appellant could

‘obtain a fair and impartial trial in Bell County. These issues

were decided adversely to appellant when the trial Sudge, as ihe

trier of fact, overruled the motion for change of venue. Von

Byrd v. State, 569 S.W.2d 883 (Tex.Cr.App. 1978); Freeman v.

State, $56 S.W.2d 287 (Tex.Cr.App. 1977).

BAREFOOT

Although appellant did not renew his motion for change of

venue, it is instructive to consider the voir dire examination

of prospective jurors which began October 31, 1978. Both ap-

pellant and the State agree that of the 132 prospective jurors

examined, 63 had heard something about the case through news

reports and 21 had formed an opinion that appellant was guilty.

They also agree that 11 of the jurors selected had heard about

the case, but all testified that they could be fair and impartial

and would base their verdict on the evidence presented in’court.

Finally, we have examined the newspaper stories and broad-

cast transcripts in the record and find that they are factual

and not inflammatory. They do not in themselves establish

prejudice or require a change of venue. Freeman v. State, supra;

Knight v. State, $38 S.W.2d 101 (Tex.Cr.App. 1975).

We find no evidence that appellant did not receive a. fair

trial by an impartial jury free from outside influence. The

trial court did not abuse its discretion in overruling the motion

for change of venue.

Appellant contends that the trial court erred in overruling

his challenges for cause to three venire members and in failing

to grant his request for additional peremptory challenges. Two

of these venire members, Johnnie Kopriva and Robert Latsha, were

peremptorily challenged by appellant after his challenges for

cause were overruled. Appellant subsequently exhausted his peremp-

tory challenges and, after his challenge for cause to venire

member James Smith and his request for additional peremptory

challenges were overruled, was forced to accept Smith as a juror

despite his declaration that Smith was an objectionable juror.

Thus, appellant properly preserved the alleged errors. Hernandez

vy. State, $63 S.W.2d 947 (Tex.Cr.App. 1978); Wolfe v. State, 178

S.W.2d 274 (Tex.Cr.App. 1944).

BAREFOOT -8

Appellant contends that venire member Kopriva was biased

against a portion of the law on which appellant was entitled

to rely. Specifically, he argues that Kopriva was unable to

accept appellant's right to remain silent and present no evidence

in his defense. This contention is based on the following voir

dire examination by defense counsel:

"@ Do you feel -- and many people do, so you

would not necessarily be in the minority --

do you feel that a person accused of a’

criminal offense should be required to come

in the courthouse and defend himself, stand

up and defend himself?

ae No, sir.

“O. Do you feel that he should be required to

put on any evidence of any type in the defense

of his case?

"A, Yes, sir.

"0. You feel that he should, sir?

“. Yes, sir, he should. His lawyer should put a

defense on if that's what you mean.

"Q. Yes, sir. That's what I'm asking.

“A. Yes, sir.

"Q, You feel that way, even though the law allows

for the defencant to sit Silently and not put

on any evidence?

"A, I don't think that I understand that question,

eit,

ane R

"Q. A moment ago you kind of indicated that you felt

he should put on some evidence.

"A, 1 didn't understand the question, though.

"Q. All right. To make sure we understand then,

you're saying that he does not have to put on

any evidence to satisfy you?

“MR. EADS: Objection, Your Honor.

“THE COURT: Overruled.

“. If you will answer my question, please, sir.

You are saying again that a defendant does not

have to put on any evidence to satisfy you that

he's not guilty? aid B

BAREFOOT -9

"A. No, sir. I think the lawyers should present

their evidence of the case because --

a

"Q. You can explain that answer if you would like

to, sir.

"A. Well, even though the State proves its case and

-- well, I would still like to hear the other

side of the story."

After this exchange with defense counsel, the prosecutor

explained to the venireman the State's burden of proof and the

defendant's Fifth Amendment privilege. Kopriva indicated that

he understood and that he would not hold appellant's silence

against him. Defense counsel then reexamined Kopriva as follows:

"Q. Mr. Kopriva, Mr. Eads has done an excellent

job of outlining for you what the law says

and what the constitution says.

he yeu, Sit.

“2. You are certainly a mature adult, and you

certainly have the option at this point of

stating to us that you disagree with that law.

All right, sir?

"A, (Headnod.)

"Q. So, that's really what I'm asking you. Do

you, even though the law may say that the de-

fendant has a right to remain silent, the law

may say that the defendant can sit here and

not open his mouth, the law may say that the

defense counsel can sit here and not open their

mouths. Do you yourself still feel that the

lawyers should at least put on some evidence or

that the defendant should at least take the

stand?

"A. No, sir. I understand the question now. If

he proves his case beyond a reasonable doubt

that the defendant is guilty, well then, I'm

sure that y'all are not going to sit there and

just let -- without saying a word -- I mean,

that's what the trial is about.

"Q. I'll admit we are kind of stretching it a

little bit. y

"A. Yes, sir.

“Q. And certainly we will be talking just as we

are talking l.ere today.

"A. 7e8.: Sif.

BARLFOOT -10

"@. But let's say we do all of our talking out

here at the counsel table and no evidence of

any kind is put forth in behalf of the de-

fendant.

"A. Tes, Sar.

"Q. Do you feel that a defendant should put on some

evidence of some kind in order to refute or to

contest his guilt?

"A, No, sir. I leave that up to the defendant."

It is obvious that Kopriva was initially confused as to the

relationship between appellant's right to remain silent and his

right to effective assistance of counsel. Subsequent questioning

by both the prosecuting attorney and defense counsel makes it

clear that Kopriva did not expect appellant to testify or present

other evidence but only that his attorneys would do their best

on his behalf. The trial court did not err by overruling the

challenge for cause. Scott v. State, 490 S.W.2d $78(Tex.Cr.App.

1973).)

Appellant contends that his challenge for cause to venire

member Robert Latsha should have been granted because he believed

that death is the only proper punishment for capital murder.

This contention is based on the following exchange with defense

counsel:

vB Okay, let's assume that the State puts on --

here again, a hypothetical case, the State

puts on -- that you were sitting in a capital

murder case and the State proved beyond a

reasonable doubt, satisfied you that the in-

dividual, that the defendant in that particular

case caused the death of a police officer by

shooting him with a gun and that the defendant

knew he was a police officer and knew he was

acting in the lawful discharge of his duties.

"Now, do you have an opinion, having found

that man guilty, as to what proper punishment

would be in that case?

Do I have an opinion as to what the proper

punishment would be?

"Oo. Yes, sir.

BAREFOOT -11

"A, I thought the way it was stated, there is

Only one punishment for capital murder.

"Q. All right. What do you believe the one

punishment is for capital murder?

"A, The death penalty.

“¢. All right. And do you believe that should

be the proper punishment foi capital murder?

a Ves, -Sirs

"Q. And that's an affirmative opinion of yours?

"A, Yes, sir.

a * And is that an opinion that you have arrived

at as a result of your past experience and your

upbringing and your thinking that you have in-

dicated that you have made about the death

penalty?

"A. Yes, sir.

“@. And it would be your position that if a capital

murder case, involving the shooting of a police

officer, that if that -- if the individual was

Proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt that he

shot a police officer who was in the lawful

exercise of his duties and knew that man was a

police officer when he shot him, that in your

mind the only proper punishment that could be

given would be the death penalty?

"A. Yes, sir.”

Prior to this exchange, the prosecutor, during his voir dire,

had stated to the venireman that the law provides that the nunish-

ment for capital murder "shall be death." That this misled

Latsha is indicated by his statement to defense counsel that, "I

thought the way it was stated, there is only one punishment for

capital murder." After the punishment alternatives and procedure

were better explained, Latsha Clearly stated that he would affirma-

tively answer the punishment issues only if the State met its

burden of proof and that he bei teved death to be the proper

punishment only if the answers to the issues were yes. No error

is shown,

Appellant contends juror James Smith expressed an opinion

as to his guilt and a bias against the minimum punishment for

BAREFOOT

-12

murder during his voir div-g examination. The first contention

is based on the following exchange with defense counsel:

"A .

A i.

"@.

bie? B

"Q.

CA.

a F

"A.

"So since we have had publicity in this

case I have to ask you, sir, whether or

not, based on what you've read and maybe

something you've heard from discussions

at Fort Hood with people that you work with,

whether you've formed an opinion as to the

guilt or the innocence of this man?

An opinion. I don't know whether it would

be an opinion -- an assumption I would say

-- assuming -- I don't know.

Well, now, I don't know that it really re-

quires, 1 think, whether you call it an

Opinion or assumption. Let me ask you this,

Would it require some evidence for you to

set aside that assumption or feeling that you

have?

I'm not a lawyer but it seems to me like if he

was found with a weapon that would be pretty

conclusive in my way of thinking. If it was

proved to be the weapon that shot the police-

man .

I understand what you're saying.

I don't know.

And the point I'm trying to make, of course,

is the State has gone over when we say the

State has the burden of proof, what does that

mean to you?

It means they have to prove it beyond a doubt.

Alright, now, sometimes we have individuals

and everyone's opinion, of course, they're

entitled to their opinion and sometimes a per-

son's opinion agrees with the law and sometimes

it doesn't. Sometimes their feelings agree.

We can't help but have feelings established

about something and the only thing that I'm

trying to get at is because of what you read

and because of this feeling that you have, for

example about the gun, would you require the

defendant to produce evidence of his innocence

to you before you cguld set aside these feelings?

“MR. EADS: I1'11 object to the question,

Your Honor. He's said that he would make the

State prove the burden of proof, your lionor.

“THE COURT: Overruled. Answer the question.

I think the State would have to prove it.

BAREFOOT “15

"Q. . . «You still would agree that you have

formed some sort of feelings about this

case?

"A. As to the guilt or innocence?

.: SO8, SET.

"A, An opinion, yes. I have formed an opinion

but now whether it's been proven I don't know

whether I'm correct or not.

za erRR

"Q. Let me ask you this, sir. If you were serving

as a juror on a criminal case, not necessarily

this case and at the close of evidence you felt

like the defendant was probably guilty but you

weren't sure beyond a reasonable doubt, how

would you feel compelled to vote in the jury-

room?

"A. You would have to prove to me that he was guilty

as a juror before 1 would say guilty."

In Murphy v. Florida, 421 U.S. 794, 95 S.Ct. 2031, 44

L.Ed.2d $89 (1975), the Supreme Court said:

"The constitutional standard of fairness re-

quires that a defendant have ‘a panel of impartial,

"indifferent" jurors.'Irvin v. Dowd, 366 U.S.(717]at

722. Qualified jurors need not, however, be totally

ignorant of the facts and issues involved.

"'To hold that the mere existence of aay

preconceived notion as to the guilt or

innocence of an accused, without more, is

sufficient to rebut the presumption of a

prospective juror's impartiality would be

to establish an impossible standard. It

is sufficient if the juror can lay aside

his impression or opinion and render a

verdict based on the evidence presented in

court.’ > 14., et 723.

"At the same time, the juror's assurance that he is

equal to this task cannot be dispositive of the ac-

cused's rights, and it remains open to the defendant

to demonstrate ‘the actual existence of such an

opinion in the mind of the juror as will raise the

presumption of partiality.‘ Ibid."

421 U.S. at 799, S00.

BAREFOOT -14

The voir dire of Smith fails to show that he would be

influenced as a juror by any opinion or prejudice or by any-

thing he may have heard or read about the case. The trial court

did not err in overruling appellant's challenge for cause based

on Smith's alleged opinion as to appellant's guilt. Freeman v.

State, supra.

Appellant's contention that Smith was biased against the

minimum punishment for murder is based on the following voir dire

examination by defense counsel:

' And murder being defined the same way, the

knowing and intentional killing of another

human being. Do you feel like that in a

murder case that you could consider as little

as five years as a punishment?

sO I don't think so, sir.

"THE COURT: Counsel, you need to explain

to him that you're talking about not this case

but a proper case.

ie Right. We're not talking about any particular

murder case. The definition of murder never

changes. Murder is always the intentional and

knowing killing of another human being. But

the facts change. :

"A, Yes, sir.

“eo. And we have diffevent facts and different cases

so we have a range of punishment that varies.

But even so some people themselves feel that

since the definition never changes that they just

could not go along with what the law says and

give somebody as low as five years for the in-

tentional and knowing killing of another human

being.

"A. I think my answer would have to depend on the

facts of the case involved, would it not? That's

a hard question for me to answer.

"Q. I understand, sir. ‘I'm just --

"A. I'm not trying to hedge, I just don't know the

answer.

"Q. I understand what you're saying. And as the judge

said we're not talking about a particular case,

but we do have the same definition regardless of

what the facts are and so I'm just talking about

where you have the knowing and intentional kill-

ing of another human being.

BAREFOOT

a.

“o,

"A.

"Q

"As

“@.

as

15

lf it's obvious murder I don't think five

years is -- I don't see the five years.

Where do you get this opinion from?

I just don't believe in murder.

Alright. Yuu understand, of course, that

as the judge has said, we don't know what ~

the facts would be and I would submit to

you that there are all kinds of facts --

Yes, sir.

And that some facts there may be some sort of

mitigating circumstances and I don't know what

those mitigating circumstances would be but

still you would think that regardless of what

was shown to you that you would still be unable

to give five years in a case for the knowing

and intentional killing of another human being?

Yes, sir, I don't think I could."

Thereafter, the prosecutor sought to rehabilitate the juror

by demonstr

within the

as follows:

ating the wide range of fact situations that may fall

murder statute. The prosecutor then questioned Smith

_ "The point I'm trying to make, Mr. Smith, is

baat Oe

“2.

this. You can see why we have a range of

punishment for murder.

Yes, sir, I see.

And all I'm saying is, do you feel like that

as a juror in the State of Texas, that you could

sit and listen to the evidence and consider the

full range of punishment in a criminal case.

If it's a murder case you could consider not less

than five years or life in the Texas Paper nent of

Corrections in that proper case where the facts

justified it. Where the law allowed it and the

circumstances warranted that particular punish-

ment? That's the point I'm trying to make."

Smith stated that he could consider the minimum punishment

in a proper case. The record does not support appellant's

contention

five years

that Smith could not give the minimum punishment of

and that the juror was subject to challenge for cause

pursuant to Art. 35.16(c)(2), V.A.C.C.P. Von Byrd v. State,

supra.

i

BAREFOOT -16

Since we have concluded that Kopriva, Latsha, and Smith

were not excludable for cause, it follows that appellant was

not wrongfully deprived of a peremptory challenge upon a

venire member who was subject to challenge for cause or forced

to accept such a venire member as a juror. Thus, the trial

court did not abuse its discretion in denying appellant's

request for three additional peremptory challenges. Von Byrd

¥. State, supra; Burns v. State, 556 S.W.2d 270 (Tex.Cr.App.

1977). j

In twelve grounds of error, appellant complains of the

admission of evidence offered to show a motive for the com-

mission of the instant offense that also shows he committed

extraneous offenses in New Mexico. Michael Roach, a deputy

sheriff in Valencia County, New Mexico, testified that he ar-

rested appellant on October 29, 1977, for criminal sexual

penetration of a minor and later took him before a magistrate

for arraignment. John Horecek, a magistrate in Valencia. County,

testified that he arraigned appellant on November 1, 1977. At

this time, Horecek informed appellant that he was charged with

two counts of sexual penetration of a minor Carrying a maximum

punishment of imprisonment for life and one count of kidnapping

carrying a maximum punishment of imprisonment for fifty years,

and set bail at $100,000. Ronald Childress, a New Mexico

attorney, testificd that he represented appellant in regard to

these charges and that a trial was set for January 30, 1978.

Lawrence Romero, sheriff:of Valencia County, Daniel Hawkes, a

deputy sheriff, and Velma Hardesty, the jailer, testified that

appellant escaped from the Valencia County jail on January 9,

1978. These witnesses identified and the trial court admitted

in evidence certified copies of the complaint, indictment, and

arraignment in the sexual penetration and kidnapping case, and

an indictment and arrest warrant charging appellant with escape.

BARL FOOT -17

In its charge to the jury, the trial court limited the

jurors’ consideration of these extraneous offenses to the question

of appellant's novi ve for killing the deceased. One of the

exceptions to the general rule that an accused is entitled to .

be tried on the accusation made in the State's pleading and not

for some collateral crime or for being a criminal generally is

that evidence showing a motive is admissible even though it

also shows the commission of an extraneous offense. Hughes v.

State, 563 S.W.2d S81 (Tex.Cr.App. 1978); Cherry v. State, 488

S.W.2d 744 (Tex.Cr.App. 1972); Rodriguez v. State, 486 S.W.2d

355 (Tex.Cr.App. 1972); Stephens v. State, 182 S.W.2d 707 (Tex.

Cr.App. 1944).

Although several cases in which extraneous offenses were

heid admissible to show motive were prosecutions for escape or

for offenses growing out of an escape, appellant is mistaken

when he argues that the rule of admissibility is limited to this

narrow fact situation. In Hughes v. State, supra, the defendant

shot a police officer who had stopped him for investigation of

a reported case of credit card abuse. This Court held that the

defendant's extortion conviction in an Alabama federal court

seven months prior to the shooting, which resulted in a three-

year probated sentence, was admissible to show motive. In Cherry

v. State, supra, the defendant's escape from a Georgia penitentiary,

where he was serving a life sentence, was held to be admissible

to show his motive for shooting a police officer eight months

later. To the same effect are Washburn v. State, 318 S.W.2d

bly (Tex.Cr.App. 1958) (evidence that the defendant attempted to

extort money from his victim four years prior to the murder) and

Ellisor v. State, 282 S.W.2d 393 (Tex.Cr.App. 1955)}(evidence that

the defendant committed a burglary two days prior to shooting a

police officer who stopped him for specding.)

bend

BAREFOOT -18

Appellant argues that it was unnccessary to admit the

New Mexico offenses because there was other evidence of motive,

including the apparent arson at the Silver Spur and statements

appellant had made to friends threatening to kill a Harker

Heights policeman. That appellant may have had other motives

for killing Levin, however, does not mean that he was not

motivated by a desire to avoid his return to New Mexico. See

hughes v. State, supra; Ellisor v. State, supra. The trial

court did not err in admitting the evidence of extraneous.

offenses for the limited purpose of showing motive.

Appellant contends that the trial court erred by refusing

to define "probability" in its charge to the jury at the punish-

ment stage of the trial. This Court has previously held that

such a definition is not required. King v. State, 553 S.W.2d

105 (Tex.Cr.App. 1977). No error is presented.

Two psychiatrists, Drs. John Holbrook and Janes Grigson,

were called by the State to testify at the punishment stage of

the trial. Both doctors were given a hypothetical fact situation

based on the evidence in this case and asked if the individual

described in that question would probably commit future acts of

violence that would constitute a continuing threat to society.

Both doctors testified that in their opinion he would do so.

Appellant argued at the trial, as he does now on appeal, that

Holbrook and Grigson were not qualified to give an opinion as to

his future conduct because they had not personally examined him

ans based their opinions solely on the State's hypothetical

question. Appellant also argues that psychiatrists, as a group,

are not qualified by education or training to predict future

behavior. Appellant does not contest the individual qualifications

of either witness.

BAREFOOT -19

This Court is well aware that the ability of psychiatrists

to predict future behavior is the subject of widespread debate.

However, we are not inclined to alter our previously stated

view that a trial court may admit for whatever value it may have

to a jury psychiatric testimony concerning the defendant's

future behavior at the punishment stage of a capital murder

trial. Chambers v. State, 568 S.W.2d 313 (Tex.Cr.App. 1978);

Moore v. State, S42 S.W.2d 664 (Tex.Cr.App. 1976).

The trial court did not err by permitting the doctors to

testify on the basis of the hypothetical question. The use of

hypothetical questions in the examination of expert witnesses is

a well established practice. 2 C. McCormick and R.Ray, Texas

Evidence, Sec. 1402 (2d ed. 1956). That the experts had not

examined appellant went to the weight of their testimony, not

to its admissibility.

Appellant argues that the hypothetical question was improper

because it was not based on all of the evidence in the case.

Although a hypothetical question must be based on the facts of

the case, counsel may assume the facts in accordance with his

theory of the case. If the opponent desires to secure the

expert's opinion upon a different set of facts he may do so on

cross-cerxamination. Atkinson v. State, $11 S.W.2d 293 (Tex.Cr.

App. 1974), Knoeppel v. State, 382 S.W.2d 493 (Tex.Cr.App. 1964);

MeMurrevy v. State, 168 S.W.2d 8S8 (“ex.Cr.App. 1943); Davis v.

State, 114 S.W. 366 (Tex.Cr.App. 1908). These grounds of error

are overruled.

Appellant also contends that Holbrook and Grigson should not

have been permitted to express an opinion as to the probability

of future violent behavior on his part because.such testimony

constitutes a legal conclusion. Appellant cites the case of

Carr v. Radhey, 593 S.W.2d $06 (Tex.Sup. 1965). In that case,

the Court held that

BAREFOOT -20

: ¥ 4 a3 P 4 ag i er ee i a

he we tater es tee Bem nen’ bee se euebew ete Hk eee eer ae ee ee ° :

“a witness may not be asked whether a testator

had the mental capacity to make and publish a

will because, under Brown v. Mitchell [31 sS.w.

621 (Tex.Sup. 1895)) whether a person has mental

Capacity to execute a will involves a legal de-

finition and a legal test. A witness may be

asked, assuming he knows or is a properly quali-

fied expert, whether the testator knew or had

the capacity to know the objects of his bounty,

the nature of the transaction in which he was

engaged, the nature and extent of his estate,

and similar questions." 393 S.W.2d at 813.

Appellant argues that a witness should not be permitted to testify

that there is a probability that the defendant would commit

criminal acts of violence that would constitute a continuing

threat to society because the question involves a legal definition

and a legal test.

Appellant's contention is without merit for the simple

reason that “probability,” “criminal acts of violence," and "con-

tinuing threat to society" are not terms defined by statute or

’

case law. On the contrary, they are words of Ordinary meaning.

King v. State, supra. Thus, the testimony in question did not

involve the application of a legal definition or test. We also

note that if appellant were correct in arguing that a witness

may not express an opinion on a matter involving a legal defini-

tion or test, this would, among other things, prevent the routine

Practice of asking a psychiatrist whether, in his opinion, the

defendant was legally insane at the time of the offense. V.T.C.

A. Penal Code, Sec. 8.01.

Finally, appellant contends that Art. OF cOl he et B.C Oal vs

is unconstitutional because the term “probability"™ is so vague

that men of common intelligence must guess as to its meaning and

Appiication. This contention has been repeatedly overruled by

this Court. Granviel v. State, 552 S.W.2d 107 (Tex.Cr.App. 1976);

Collins v. State, S48 S.W.2d 368 (Tex.Cr.App.. 1976); Jurek v.

State, $22 S.W.2d 934 (Tex.Cr.App. 1975), aff'd 428 U.S. 262, —

96 S.Ct. 2950, 49 L.Ed.2d 929 (1976).

ee a eee Lee dine a nmnetih

BAREFOOT -21

At the punishment stage of the trial, witnesses from

Various cities in New Mexico, Kansas, Oklahoma, Louisiana,

and Texas testified that appellant's reputation in their

communities for being a peaceful and law-abiding citizen was

bad. Evidence was also admitted of appellant's prior con-

Viction in Louisiana for possession and distribution of mari-

huana, possession of amphetamine, and carrying a concealed

weapon, and in a federal district court in Oklahoma for unlawful

possession of a sawed-off shotgun. This evidence, together

with the evidence adduced at the guilt-innocence stage of the

trial, is more than adequate to support the jury's affirmative

answers to the punishment issues. '

Although appellant's counsel and the State have both filed

briefs which are of excellent quality and which greatly aided

the Court in its difficult decision, the appellant has filed a

pro se brief in which he asserts additional grounds of error.

In addition to the grounds of error urged by counsel appellant

usserts that the trial court erred in refusing to grant his

motion for an instructed verdict and in refusing to sequester the

jury during the trial. The evidence that we have already

summarized in this opinion is enply sufficient to support the

jury's verdict and the court did not err in overruling appel-

lant's motion for an instructed verdict. The careful trial judge

considered the appellant's motion concerning the sequestering of

the jury during the trial and overruled that motion. Whether to

grant this motion is within the discretion of the trial court,

and we find nothing to show an abuse of discretion by the trial

judge in overruling that motion. The grounds of error presented

by the pro se brief are overruled.

The judgment is affirmed.

DALLY, Judge

(Delivered March 12, 1980)

EN BANC |,

Reberts, J., concurs in result.

THOMAS A. BAREFOOT, Appellant

aka DARREN CALLIER

NO. 63,715 Vv. - - - Appeal from BELL County

THE STATE OF TEXAS, Appellee

OPINION DISSENTING IN PART

To the overruling of the twelve grounds of error concerning

admission of evidence showing commission of extraneous offenses

in New Mexico, I respectfully dissent. The Court appears to re-

cognize other proof made by the State and to acknowledge that

it showed appellant killed Levin from a more immediate, localized

motivation. Given the obvious Prejudicial impact of the extran-

eous New Mexico offenses, I cannot agree that we may tolerate it

on the double negative theory that existence of other motives for

killing Levin "does not mean that he was not motivated by a de-

Sire to avoid his return to New Mexico." It seems clear to me

that this is the classic case where slight probative value is

far outweighed by heavy prejudice.

CLINTON, Judge

(Delivered March 12, 1980)

EN BANC

Phillips, J. joins

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1979

a

No. 79-1127

W. J. ESTELLE, JR., Director,

Texas Department of Corrections,

Petitioner,

v.

ERNEST BENJAMIN SMITH,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE

AND BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE FOR THE

AMERICAN PSYCHIATRIC ASSOCIATION

JoEL I. KLEIN

EUGENE J. COMEY

ROGOVIN, STERN & HUGE

1730 Rhode Island Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

- (202) 466-6464

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

WILSON - Eris Painting Co.. Inc. - 768.0096 - Wasnincton. D.C. 20001

APPENDiIK © CC

-—

TABLE OF CONTENTS

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE BRIEF AMICUS

CURIAE . feakiapoib ies aia lidscasonios destiny sebianlensicegaencapies

BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE 20....0....c.ccccccccesceeeee VBE

INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAB. ................. mW

STATEMENT OF THE CASE. ouunsccssssssssccsmsssssssssesee

SUMMARY OF grb A hs lets aes

AMOUIADING 2 oo ise Po

I. The Use Of Psychiatrie Testimony In A Capital

Case On The Issue Of Whether A Defendant Is

Likely To Commit Serious Crimes In The Future

Is Constitutionally Invalid Because It Under-

mines The Reliability Of The Factfinding

PCN ea cib in cciealspbsagdilasanntentpoegearsipenyaesbaecebece

II. Assuming Arguendo That Psychiatric Testimony

May Be Used In A Capital Case On The Issue

Of Future Criminal Behavior, The Defendant

Must Be Provided A Full And Fair Opportunity

To Challenge and Rebut Such Testimony ............

III. A Defendant In A Capital Case Should Be

Allowed to Refuse To Participate In A Psychia-

tric Examination That May Lead To Testimony

Against Him On The Issue Of Future Criminal

Behavior And Should Be Advised Of The Pur-

pose Of The Examination So That He May In-

telligently Exercise This Right ~. sah Sis

ILRI snc ccthcccovsescsesccenorpacaingncounssnqponionsntwonccccceneoreces

Page

on or we wo

11

17

31

2 A oo

Pra eee <r S eS aS

ae >

fi Be

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases; Page

Adams v. State, 517 $.W.2d 717 (Tex. Crim.

App. 1979) 29

Addington v. Texas, 441 U.S. A18 (1979).......... 4,11, 27

Armstrong .V. State, 502 S.W.2d 731 (Tex. Crim.

App. 1974) . Pa be 19, 30

Barefoot Vv. State, 596 S.W.2d 875 (Tex. Crim.

App. 1980) ....-.-----s-c-cecscedermnsennenensnenecesesnsecnensnenenens 29

Batlie y. State, 551 S.W.2d 401 (Tex. Crim. App.

1977), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 1041 (1978) .......... 9

Brandon Vv. State, —— S.W.2d ——, No. 59,348

(Tex. Crim. App. April 25, 1979) ......--....-.---++ 29

Brewer V. Williams, 430 U.S. 387 CLOTTED 5. ic cieraies 10

Bruce V. Estelle, 536 F.2d 1051 (5th Cir. 1976),

cert. denied, 429 U.S. 1053 (1977) ......-.------.-+ 80

Chambers Vv. State, 568 S.W.2d 313 (Tex. Crim.

App. 1978), cert. denied, 440 U.S. 928 (1979).. 10,29

Collins v. State, 548 S.W.2d 368 (Tex. Crim. App.

1976), cert. denied, 430 U.S. 959 (1977) ........... 9, 29

Couch V. United States, 409 U.S. $22 (1978)........ 24

Furman v. Georgia, 408 U.S. 238 (1972) ............ 18

Gardner v. Florida, 430 U.S. $49 (1977) ............. passim

Garner Vv. United States, 424 U.S. 648 (1976)... 29

Gholson V. State, 642 S.W.2d 395 (Tex. Crim. App.

1976), cert. denied, 432 U.S. 911 (1977) .......... 9, 29, 30

Gilbert v. California, 388 U.S. 263 (1967)............ 26

Granviel v. State, 652°S.W.2d 107 (Tex. Crim. App.

1976), cert. denied, 431 U.S. 933 (1977) .......----- 9

Gregg V. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153 (1976) .........-- 12, 17, 22

Green V. Georgia, 442 U.S. 95 C1G7FB), nnesccccccoccsse 18

Hughes v. State, 662 S.W.2d 857 (Tex. Crim.

App. 1978) - Fee caiaeih abiiinameearena 29

Hurd Vv. State, 613 S.W.2d 936 (Tex. Crim. App.

UDTA) enn nn nnn nnncenensencnrennnnencescnccncs

Jurek Vv. Texas, 428 U.S. 262 (1976) .........-0-00020 9, 16-17

Livingston vy. State, 542 S.W.2d 655 (Tex. Crim.

App. 1976), cert. denied, 481 U.S. 988 (1977)..9, 29, 30

Lockett v. Ohio, 438 U.S. 586 (1978) .........-cccreereoee 238, 25

eel A ied

2

bm

TABLE OF AUTIIORITIES—Continued

Page

Maness V. Meyers, 419 U.S. 449 (1975) ou. 29

Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S, 319 ‘(1976)........... 19

Miranda Vv. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966).......... * 25

Moore Vv. State, 642 S.W.2d 664 (Tex. Crim.

App. 1976), cert. denied, 431 U.S. 949 (1977).. 9,29

Murphy Vv. Waterfront Commission of New York

Harbor, 378 U.S. 62 (1964) oo. eee 8, 25, 28

O’Connor v. Donaldson, 422 U.S. 668 (1975) ........ 3

Parham v. J.R., 442 U.S. 584 (1979) 20. 34

Presnell v. Georgia, 439 U.S. 14 (1978) ............... 8, 25

Rhode Island y. Innis, 48 U.S.L.W. 4506 (May

PAM NERA PTI nt Mn SE ak OR oR as 29

Roberts Vv. United States, 48 U.S.L.W. 4370

(April 15, 1980) ........... REY eae 29

Robinson vy. State, 548 S.W.2d 63 (Tex. Crim.

App. 1977) ... Rh: “SCENTS. +E SO 29

Ross V. State, 542 S.W.2d 395 (Tex. Crim. App.

1976), cert. denied, 482 U.S. 911 (1977) ............. 29

Schmerber v. California, 384 U.S. 757 (1966)...... 26

Shippy. Vv. State, 656 S.W.2d 246 (Tex. Crim.

App.), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 935 (1977) ............ 9-10

Simmons Vv. State, 594 S.W.2d 760 (Tex. Crim.

Fe: ea RRS PRR a IE SC ah Dee a ea 29

Smith v. Estelle, 445 F. Supp. 647 (N.D. Tex.

fy IAT RIE RSE EI, Ts Se RP, MO 2

Smith v. Estelle, 602 F.2d 694 (6th Cir. 1979)....passim

United States v. Albright, 388 F.2d 719 (4th

ae a EER VR ec ee eae 26, 27

United States v. Cohen, 530 F.2d 43 (5th Cir.),

cert. denied, 429 U.S. 855 (1976) 000... 26, 27

United States v. Dionisio, 410 U.S. 1 (1978)........ 26

United States v. Malcolm, 475 F.2d 429 (9th Cir.

RN a Oe 27

United States ex rel. Mathew v. Nelson, 461 F.

Bem, TOG COR BUG cccccectnscvgscnssecesessnecseein 16

United States v. Nobles, 422 U.S. 225 (1976)...... 24

United States v. Weiser, 428 F.2d 932 (2d Cir.

1969), cert. denied, 402 U.S. 949 (1971).......... 27

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Von Byrd v. State, 569 S.W.2d 883 (Tex. Crim.

App. 1978) 10

Whalem v. United States, 346 F.2d 812 (D.C.

Cir.), cert. denied, 382 U.S. 862 (1965)............ 27

Williams v. New York, 337 U.S. 241 (1949) _........ 23

Woodson v. North Carolina, 428 U.S. *280

(197G) nnn annnaencninesecnen-menensemennennmrccnensensnrnensnsnensaseree 8,11

Constitutional Provision:

U.S. Const. Amend. V ....2........-0---cccececceeeeseeesereeee 24

Statutes and Rules:

Tex. Code Crim. Pro. Ann. art. 37.071 (Vernon

Supp. 1979) .......-..- i acatinesselienstbetnabiinencsinmascenetae 5

Tex. Code Crim. Pro. Ann. art. 37.071(b) (1),

(b) (3) (Vernon Supp. 1979) -...........:-ceee-csee 5

Tex. Code Crim. Pro. Ann. art. 37.071(b) (2)

(Vernon Supp. 1979) ....------------.-------c-eneseeeeeeees 4,5

Fed. R. Crim. Pro. 32(€) ..........-::cccc-ceeeceeeceneeneeeesnee 22

Miscellaneous:

American Psychiatric Association, Diagnostic and

Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders { 301.7

(ROOD) anna cas noccevansnsccranscncensenveptsocessaqgeoncsosccsenesoeoes 20

American Psychiatrie Association, Diagnostic and

Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders { 301.70

(19BO) ..-nccenecrecencoasecrsessensensncncnsescncnensersesnssensossees 20, 21-22

American Psychiatric Association, Principles of

Medical Ethics with Annotations Especially

Applicable to Psychiatry, 130 Am. J. Psy-

chiatry 1058 (1973) ..........-------sceceeseeescecreceeeene is 80

American Psychiatric Association Task Force on

Clinical Aspects of the Violent Individual, Clini- .

cal Aspects of the Violent Individual (1974)...... 13-15

Page

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Carney, F.L., “Inpatient Treatment Programs,” in

W.H. Reid, The Psychopath: A Comprehensive

Study Of Antisocial Disorders and Behaviors

261 (1978) ..

Cocozza & Steadman, Some Refinements In The

Measurement and Prediction of Dangerous Be-

havior, 131 Am. J. Psychiatry 1012 (1974)......

Craft, M., The Natural History of Psychiatric

Disorder, 115 Brit. J. Psychiatry 89 (1969)....

Diamond, The Psychiatric Prediction of Danger-

ousness, 123 U. Pa. L. Rev. 439 (1974) ..............

Dinitz, S., “The Antisocial Personality,” in W.J.

Curran, A.L. McGarry & C.S. Petty, Modern

Legal Medicine, Psychiatry, and Forensic

SEO TI COTO era ikea echeebetidiocican

Dix, The Death Penalty, “Dangerousness,” Psy-

chiatric Testimony, and Professional Ethics, 6

Page

Am. J. Crim. Law 151 (1977) ............ nde 13-14, 20, 30

Ennis & Litwack, Psychiatry and The Presump-

tion of Expertise: Flipping Coins In The

Courtroom, 62 Calif. L. Rev. 693 (1974) ............

Griswold, The Fifth Amendment Today 7

EL SRR RS a SAREE i BUSS 3 2G SR Rae gS

Halleck, S. Psychiatry And The Dilemmas Of

TIO RDO LD cece 2 bce rc kaihthcdsceads ceca dveickinsctocedas

Kozol, et al., The Diagnosis ‘And Treatment of

Dangcrousness, 18 Crime and Delinquency 371

- (1972) _.W...... atic stale ceianedditinadibiicaadindibh pera. sink

Levine & Bornstein, Is The Sociopath Treatable?

The Contribution of Psychiatry To A Legal

Dilemma, 1972 Wash. Univ. L.Q. 693 ..................

Livermore, Malmquist & Meehl, On The Justifi-

cation For Civil Commitment, 168 U. Pa. L. Rev.

AE CRRA, iocctethoconnccadlcscsaht satacctecscplabbaneaiictacsspenaiis

Monaghan, Prediction Rescarch and the Emer-

gency Commitment of Dangerous Mentally Il

Persons: A Reconsideration, 185 Amer. J. Psy-

SI TED CT ais eek deesesinecneccosinn

15

21

16

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Rappeport, Enforced Treatment—Is It Treat-

ment?, II Bull. Am. Acad. Psychiatry & Law 48

ISNT bee ae ERR Cid. PRIA NT REE eae ese Re

Sadoff, R., Forensic Psychiatry: A Practical

Guide for Lawyers and Psychiatrists 25

C1OTG) a ee ae

Sands, “Psychiatric History And Mental Status,”

in A. Freedman & H. Kaplan, eds., Comprehen-

sive Textbook of Psychiatry 499 (1977) .............

Schwitzgebel, R. Kirkland, “Prediction of Danger-

ousness and Its Implications for Treatment,”

in W.J. Curran, A.L. McGarry & C.S. Petty,

Modern Legal Medicine, Psychiatry, and Foren-

Page

sic Medicine 783 (1980) ..... 4 14, 15-16

Steadman & Cocozza, Psychiatry, Dangerousness,

and The Repetitively Violent Offender, 69 J. of

Crim. Law & Criminology 226 (1978) ................

Stevenson, “The Psychiatric Interview,” in

American Handbook of Psychiatry (2d ed.

IBURST: Teall WE a SNE

Stone, A., Mental Health and Law: A System

in Transition RMIMIIED kasiptceal shes inde hve stensansdbe cpdeletg ened

Stirrup, “Will This Man Be Dangerous?” in De-

Reueck & Porter, The Mentally Abnormal Of-

fender 17 (1968) ... vat

Vaillant, Sociopathy As A Human ‘Process, "$2

Arch, Gen. Psychiatry 178 (1976) ........0....0...0...

Wenk, Robinson & Smith, Can Violence Be Pre-

dictedf, 18 Crime and Delinquency 398 (1972)..

Wigmore, J., Treatise On Anglo-American System

Of Evidence In Trials At Common Law § 6e (3d

ed. 1940) ............ DRE IT Rk AE A

Will, The Reluctant Patient, The Unwanted Psy-

chotherapist—and Coercion, . Contemp. Psycho-

I ee I rake eatleb stig tiecnishitcelenn ence vonne

Woodruff, R.A., Goodwin, Dw, & Guze, S.B.,

Psychiatric Diagnosis pees

26

14,15

15

20

16

7? aree

, In THE —

Supreme Court of the Muited Piates

OcToBER TERM, 1979

No. 79-1127

W. J. ESTELLE, JR., Director,

Texas Department of Corrections,

Petitioner,

v.

ERNEST aaron SMITH,

Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE BRIEF AMICUS CURIAE

FOR THE AMERICAN PSYCHIATRIC ASSOCIATION

Counsel for the American Psychiatrie Association

hereby respectfully move pursuant to Rule 42 of the

Rules of this Court for leave to file the attached brief

amicus curiae. The consent of the attorney for the re-

spondent has been obtained. The consent of the attorney

for the petitioner has been requested, but no response

has been received.

The American Psychiatric Association, which is the

nation’s largest organization of physicians specializing in

4

"y, JLR., 442 U.S. 584 (1979), and-Addington v. Texas,

441 US. 418 (1979).

The Association has monitored the administration of

capital punishment statutes in this country and the role

of psychiatric testimony in that process. The instant case

raises important questions about how that role will be

implemented. In particular, Texas requires a jury find-

ing that a defendant, if not executed, would “commit

criminal acts of violence that would constitute a coritinu-

ing threat to society.” Tex. Code. Crim. Pro. Ann. art.

37.071 (b) (2) (Vernon Supp. 1979). In the present case,

as has generally been the practice in Texas, testimony on

this issue was provided by a psychiatrist, even though, in

amicus’ view, psychiatrists have no special expertise in

this area. Moreover, the basis for the psychiatrist’s opin-

ion about the defendant was formed at a pretrial exam-

ination purportedly concerned with competency to stand

trial, and in circumstances where the defendant was not

advised that the psychiatrist might subsequently testify

against him at the punishment phase of his trial.

Amicus believes that these practices deviate markedly

from the constitutional guidelines established by this

Court for the administration of capital punishment.

Texas has created a system whereby a psychiatrist, seem-

ingly clothed with professional expertise, acts as little

more than an arm of the prosecution, providing damag-

ing testimony secured from an unsuspecting and un-

counseled defendant. The decision whether this Court

will countenance such practices will have important im-

plications not only for the fair administration of capital

punishment statutes, but also for the quality and integ-

rity of the practice of forensic psychiatry. Accordingly,

resolution of this case will significantly affect the inter-

ests of the Association and its members, i fe

’

5

STATEMENT OF TIIE CASE

Respondent Ernest Smith was indicted for murder for

participating in a robbery during which the victim was

fatally’ shot by Smith’s accomplice. The State announced

its intention to seek the death penalty, and the trial court

ordered the prosecutor to secure a psychiatric examina-

tion to determine Smith’s competence to stand trial.

Smith’s attorney never raised the question of competence

and was not apprised of the court-ordered examination

at the time it was performed. The examining psychia-

trist, Dr. James Grigson, examined Smith for 90 minutes,

concluded that he was competent to stand trial, and so

advised the court by written letter. Smith was then tried

by a jury and convicted of murder.

In Texas, capital cases require bifurcated proceedings:

a guilt phase and a penalty phase. Tex. Code Crim. Pro.

Ann. art. 37.071 (Vernon Supp. 1979). At the penalty

stage, one of the three critical questions to be resolved

by the jury is “[w]hether there is a probability that the

defendant would commit criminal acts of violence that

would constitute a continuing threat to society.” Jd. at

art. 37.071(b) (2).? At the penalty phase of Smith’s trial,

the prosecution initially introduced no new evidence on

this issue, but, rather, rested its case subject to a right

* The other two questions, not at issue in this case, are:

Whether the conduct of the defendant that caused the

death of the deceased was committed deliberately and

with the reasonable expectation that tho death of the de-

ceased or another would result;

[and]

({I}f raised by the evidence, whether the conduct of the

defendant in killing the deceased was unreasonable in

response to the provocation, if any, by the deccased. Tex.

Code Crim. Pro, Ann. art. 37.071(b) (1), (b) (3) (Ver-

non Supp. 1979). °

6

to “reopen.” Smith’s counsel introduced testimony from

several lay witnesses about his good character and repu-

tation. The prosecution then sought to call Dr. Grigson, --

even though neither Smith nor his attorney had been

informed at the time of Dr. Grigson’s pretrial examina-

tion, or at any time prior to his testimony, that the

doctor might testify on this issue.?

Based solely on the information derived from his 90

minute competency examination of Smith, Dr. Grigson

testified that in his view Smith was a “sociopath” because

he had failed to display any remorse over the homicide.

According to Dr. Grigson, sociopaths repeatedly engage in

violent behavior and are not amenable to treatment. On

this basis Dr. Grigson concluded that Smith “certainly”

would continue to commit acts of violence and, therefore,

would constitute a continuing threat to society. The prose-

cution called no other witnesses at the penalty phase of

the trial.

The jury returned a verdict mandating capital punish-

ment. ‘The Texas Court of Criminal Appeals affirmed, 540

S.W.2d 693 (1976), and this Court denied certiorari, 430

U.S. 922 (1977). Smith next unsuccessfully sought ha-

‘ beas corpus in the Texas courts, and then filed a writ of

habeas corpus in the United States District Court for

the Northern District of Texas. On December 30, 1977,

that court (Porter, J.), granted the writ insofar as it

vacated Smith’s death sentence. 445 F.Supp. 647. The

decision rested on the constitutional infirmities surround-

ing the use of Dr. Grigson’s testimony at the penalty

phase of Smith's trial, including the failure to advise the

defendant and his counsel that information learned at

2Dr. Grigson was not listed on the prosecutor’s witness

list even though the prosecutor intended to call him during

the penalty phase. Smith v. Estelle, 602 F.2d 694, 702 (6th

Cir. 1979).

rok

--

~

Ss ine

t

the time of the competency examination might be used

as a basis for testimony against Smith at the death -

penalty hearing. The court further ruled that the failure

to advise the defense that Dr. Grigson would testify at

the penalty phase until the doctor actually took the stand

violated Smith’s ‘ght to due process of law, his right to

the effective assis.ance of counsel, and his Eighth Amend-

ment right to introduce complete evidence on the question

of mitigating circumstances, The State thereupon filed a

motion for a new trial, which was denied.

Texas next appealed to the United States Court of Ap-

peals for the Fifth Circuit. On September 13, 1979, that

court affirmed the judgment of the district court. It first

held, relying on Gardner v. Florida, 430 U.S. 349 (1977),

that the failure to advise the defense that Dr. Grigson

would testify at the penalty phase until the doctor actually .

took the stand violated Smith’s rights under the Fifth

and Eighth Amendments. 602 F.2d 694, 698-703. In

addition, the court went on to hold that a defendant can-

not be compelled to speak to a psychiatrist who can use

his statements against him at the sentencing phase of a

capital trial, that he must be so advised by the examining

psychiatrist, and that he has a right to the ussistance of

counsel in deciding whether to submit to the examination.

Id, at 703-709.

This Court granted certiorari on March 17, 1980. 48

U.S.L.W. 3602.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

I. Although the use of expert testimony in state crim-

inal prosecutions is traditionally a matter of state law,

the need for reliability in the determination that death

is the appropriate punishment for a capital offense war-

rants exclusion of psychiatric: predictions of Jong-term

future criminal behavior as a matter of federal consti-

8

tutional law. Gardner v. Florida, 430 U.S. 349 (1977);

' Woodson v. North Carolina, 428 U.S. 280 (1976). The

professional literature uniformly establishes that such

predictions are fundamentally of very low reliability, and

that psychiatric testimony and expertise are irrelevant

to such predictions. In view of these findings, psychiatric

testimony on the issue of future criminal behavior only

distorts the factfinding process. To the extent that there

are important facts for a jury to consider on this issue,

they can be fully presented by lay witnesses who do not

testify with the mantle of professional expertise.

II. If, contrary to the argument above, psychiatric

testimony may be used in a capital case on the issue of

long-term future criminal behavior, the defendant must

be provided a full and fair opportunity to challenge and

rebut such testimony. This Court’s decision in Gardner v.

Flozida, 430 U.S. 349 (1977), establishes that a defendant

js entitled to a meaningful opportunity to deny or explain

information relied upon in the decision to impose the sen-

tence of death. Only when defense counsel is advised that

psychiatric testimony will be offered can he adequately

prepare cross-examination and rebuttal. The State has

no justification for the failure to provide adequate notice.

IJJ. A defendant in a capital case should be allowed

to refuse to participate in a psychiatric examination that

may lead to testimony against him on the issue of future

criminal behavior and should be advised of the purpose of

the examination so that he may intelligently excercise this

right. The complex of values underlying the Fifth Amend-

ment privilege warrants its application to the penalty

phase of a capital case. Murphy v. Waterfront Commis-

sion of New York, 378 U.S. 52 (1964); Presnell v.

Georgia, 439 U.S. 14 (1978). A psychiatric examina-

tion |that looks toward securing testimony concerning

long-term future criminal behavior invariably requires

_ the defendant to impart testimonial information. The cir-

cumstances surrounding such ° psychiatric interviews,

moreover, necessitate warnings to protect a defendant

against unknowing waiver of the constitutional privilege.

Recognition of the privilege in this context will not dis-

tort the fair state-individual balance that underlies the

privilege,

ARGUMENT

This Court has recognized that “death is a different

kind of punishment ... .” Gardner v. Florida, 430 U.S.

349, 357 (1977). Before it may be imposed, a state must

assure scrupulously fair procedures aimed at protecting

the “interest in reliability” obviously so important in a

capital case. Jd. at 359. Amicus believes that such reli-

ability is undermined by the use of psychiatric testimony

on the issue of likely Jong-term future criminal behavior.

Although this Court previously ruled that the « -estion of

future criminal behavior is a legitimate inquiry in a

capital case, see Jurek v, Texas, 428 U.S. 262, 275-76

(1976), it did not then focus on the use of psychiatric

testimony in relation to this inquiry.*. The fundamental

*The Court did note in passing that in the one capital

case that had then been considered by the Texas Court of

Criminal Appeals, which happened to be defendant Smith's

appeal, a psychiatrist had testified. 428 U.S. at 273. This

factor was noted at the end of a long list of considerations

relating to the issue of future criminal behavior. Since the

decision in Jurek, however, it has become plain that Texr

relies almost exclusively on psychiatric testimony to estaLiish

its proof on the issue of future criminal behavior. Sce, e.g.,

Gholson v. State, 542 S.W.2d 396, 400-01 (Tex. Crim. App.

1976), cert. denied, 432 U.S. 911 (1977) ; Livingston v. State,

642 S.W.2d 655, 661-62 (Tex. Crim. App. 1976), cert. denied,

431 U.S. 938 (1977) ; Moore v. State, 642 S.W.2d 664, 676-76

(Tex. Crim. App. 1976), cert. denied, 431 U.S. 949 (1977);

Collins v. State, 648 S.W.2d 368, 377 (Tex. Crim. App. 1976),

cert, denied, 430 U.S. 959 (1977) ; Battie v. State, 651 S.W.2d

401, 406-07 (Tex. Crim. App. 1977), cert. denied, 434 U.S.

1041 (1978) ; Granviel v. State, 662 S.W.2d 107, 114-16 (Tex.:

im. App. 1976), cert. denied, 431 U.S, 933 (1977) ; Shippy

10

disadvantage of utilizing such testimony is that it gives

the appearance of being based on expert medical judg-

ment, when in fact no such expertise exists. While tradi-

tionally such matters might be appropriate for elucida-

tion on cross-examination, amicus believes that, in the

unique circumstances of a capital case, this Court should

prohibit the use of such testimony altogether, and thereby

bar false claims to expertise that inevitably distort the

jury's factfinding process.

Alternatively, even if this Court is unwilling to pro-

hibit the use of psychiatric testimony on this issue, it

should establish procedures that assure basic fairness in

the utilization of such testimony. At a minimum, consti-

tutionally satisfactory procedures would require that a

defendant and his counsel be fully informed when the

state plans to rely on such evidence so that the defendant

may develop the requisite information to conduct a fair

cross-examination and may be prepared to call rebuttal

witnesses if he so chooses. In addition, a defendant should

be advised prior to a psychiatric examination that it may

subsequently be used to form the basis of expert testi-

mony on the issue of future criminal behavior and that

he need not participate in such an examination if he so

chooses.* ;

v. State, 666 S.W.2d 246, 254-65 (Tex. Crim. App.), cert.

denied, 434 U.S. 936 (1977) ; Chambers v. State, 568 S.W.2d

313, 324-25 (Tex. Crim. App. 1978) ; Von Byrd v. State, 569

S.W.2d 883, 895-96 (Tex. Crim. App. 1978). Indeed, in most

of these cases it hus been Dr. Grigson, the physician who

testified in this case, who appeared as the State’s star witness.

* The Court of Appeals held that the defendant has a right

to be assisted by counsel in making this decision. 602 F.2d

at 708-709. Amicus will not address this issue other than to

note our agreement that the assistance of counsel should be

available at this critical stage of a criminal proceeding,

see Brewer y. Williams, 480 U.S. 387, 398 (1977), and that

such assistance would prove extremely helpful to defendants

confronting this important but difficult decision.

ll

I, THE USE OF PSYCHIATRIC TESTIMONY IN A

CAPITAL CASE ON THE ISSUE OF WHETHER A

DEFENDANT IS LIKELY TO COMMIT SERIOUS

“CRIMES IN THE FUTURE 1S CONSTITUTION-

ALLY INVALID BECAUSE IT UNDERMINES THE

RELIABILITY OF THE FACTFINDING PROCESS.

It is well recognized that the use of expert testimony

in state prosecutions is traditionally a matter of state

evidentiary law. See J. Wigmore, Treatise On Anglo-

American System Of Evidence In Trials At Common Law

§ Ge (3d ed. 1940). Nevertheless, this Court has made

clear that capital punishment cases are constitutionally

“different,” Gardner v. Florida, 430 U.S. 349, 357 (1977)

(plurality opinion), and that it is of “vital importance

to the defendant and to the community that any decision

to impose the death sentence be, and appear to be, based

on reason rather than caprice or emotion.” Jd. at 358.

“(T]he penalty of death is qualitatively different from a

sentence of imprisonment, however long. ... Because of

that qualitative difference, there is a corresponding dif-

ference in the need for reliability in the determination

that death is the appropriate punishment in a specific

case.” Woodson vy. North Carolina, 428 U.S. 280, 305

(1976) (plurality opinion). In amicus’ view the use of

expert testimony on the issue of long-term future crimi-

nal behavior is inconsistent with these established prin-

ciples.*

*It should be made clear at the outset that amicus is urg-

ing « limited prohibition aimed only at long-term predictions

of violence by psychiatrists. In Texas, the inquiry focuses

on the defendant's lifetime, not on a discrete time period

where psychiatric expertise might be more relevant. In civil

commitment cases, for example, as this Court recognized Jast

Term in Addington vy. Texas, 441 U.S. 418 (1979), psychia-

trists often can and do make reliable predictions about short-

term prognoses, and such predictions often include potential ©

violence. See Monaghan, Prediction Research and the Emer-

gency Commitment of Dangerous Mentally Ill Persons: A Re-

12

As the court below recognized, “Dr. Grigson’s testi-

mony was extremely damaging to the defendant.” 602

F.2d at 697. After detailing “his extensive [professional]

qualifications,” id., Dr. Grigson proceeded to testify as a

medical expert, using psychiatric nomenclature to de-

scribe Smith, and concluding that “certainly Mr. Smith

is going to go ahead and commit other similar or same

criminal acts if given the opportunity to do so.” Jd. at

698. Faced with this seemingly expert medical testimony,

it is not surprising that the jury found that Smith was

likely to commit serious criminal acts in the future even

though he had no prior record of violent behavior.

As this Court has observed, “since the members of a jury

will have had little, if any, previous experience in sen-

tencing, they are unlikely to be skilled in dealing with

the information they are given.” Gregg v. Georyia, 428

U.S. 158, 192 (1976) (plurality opinion).

Increasingly, psychiatrists have been asked, both in

civil and criminal proceedings, to make a variety of long

and short term assessments of a person’s propensity to

commit violent acts in the future. As a result, amicus

has for many years been concerned with the question of

psychiatric predictions of future vidlent behavior. In the

early 1970’s the American Psychiatric Association ap-

consideration, 186 Amer. J. Psychiatry 198 (1978). In such

siluations the psychiatrist is able to evaluate the patient’s cur -

rent mental condition and to discern likely behavioral pat-

terns, including potential] violent behavior in the near future,

if the illness remai.is untreated.

Similarly, amicus is not contending that psychiatrists

should be prohibited from testifying on all issues at the

penally phase of a capital case. On the contrary, there are

many issues, such as the defendant's mental state at the time

of the crime or whether he acted under duress, that are well

- within the expertise of psychiatrists,

wis ——

13

pointed a Task Force comprised of distinguished psychi-

atric experts with experience in the field of criminal

behavior “to assemble the body of knowledge concerning

the individual violent patient and the clinical issues sur-

rounding his case.” American Psychiatric Association

Task Force on Clinical Aspects of the Violent Individual,

Clinical Aspects of the Violent Individual at v (1974)

(hereinafter “Task Force Report”). That Task Force

submitted a report, “aimed at the practicing clinician,”

to “describe the current state of the art and [to] pro-

vide[] an overview of selected literature and clinical

opinion on matters of evaluation, management, and pre-

diction of violent behavior.” Jd. The Task Force focused

its analysis on the violent patient—that is, the individual

“who acts or has acted in such a way as to produce

physical harm or destruction.” Jd, at 1.

The primary conclusion of this Task Force was that

judgments as to the Jong-run potential for future vio

lence and the “dangerousness” of a given individual are

“fundamentally of very low reliability,” primarily be-

cause such judgments are predictions of rare or infre-

quent events. Jd. at 23. In some circumstances, of

course, a clinician might be fairly confident that violent

behavior would recur, as for example where a parent’s

past behavior clearly and repetitively evidences physical

abuse of his or her children. But, as the Task Force

noted, the relatively high degree of reliability in these

cases is a function of knowing that the base rate of such

behavior—that is, the rate of repetitive past violent acts

—is very high for the person under scrutiny.* Id. “It

*In this case, Smith had no history of committing harmful

acts; his only prior conviction was for possession of mari-

juana. See Dix, The Death Penalty, “Dangerousness,” Psy-

chiatric Testimony, and Professional Ethics, 6 Am. J. Crim.

14

would not be necessary that the patient be ‘mentally ill’

or suffering from a psychiatric disorder in order to pre-

dict that such behavior will recur.” Jd. Thus, to the

extent that a psychiatrist’s prediction of “dangerousness”

is based solely on this knowledge of base rates of be-

havior, his prediction involves no more “expertise”—and

certainly no more “psychiatric expertise’—than does

that of the average nonexpert.”

According to the Task Force, “the state of the art

regarding predictions of violence is very unsatisfactory.

The ability of psychiatrists or any other professionals to

reliably predict future violence is unproved.” Jd. at 30.

“*(DJangerousness’ is neither a psychiatric nor a medical

Law 151, 154 (1977). In view of this fact, it is apparent

that Dr. Grigeon's testimony that Smith would commit future

harmful acts had no scientific basis whatsoever.

™One commentator has noted:

“In an experimental study .. ., college students and

psychiatrists agreed extensively on the degree of ‘dan-

gerousness’ and ‘nondangerousness’ as indicated by vari-

ous personality characteristics. Tt iggests the possi-

bility that psychiatric judgment is not based upon any

special knowledge or expertise beyond that of educated

laymen. There are also several studies indicating that the

diagnostic classifications made by psychologists are not

more reliable or valid than those made by laymen.”

R. Kirkland Schwitzgebel, “Prediction of Dangerousness and

Its Implications For Treatment,” in W.J. Curran, A.L.

McGarry & C.S. Petty, Modern Legal Medicine, Psychiatry,

and Forensic Medicine 786 (1980) (footnotes omitted).

See A. Stone, Mental Health and Law: A System In Transi-

tion 83 (1976) (“There are... a group of patients in which

anyone could predict dangerous ucts; ¢.g., drug addicts who

-regularly support their habit by mugging, but that predie-

tion does not require a mental health professional,”),

15

diagnosis, but involves issues of legal judgment and defi-

nition, as well as issues of social policy. Psychiatric

expertise in the prediction of ‘dangerousness’ is not es-

tablished and clinicians should avoid ‘conclusory’ judg-

ments in this regard.” Id. at 33.*

‘The professional literature on the issue of predictions

of future criminal behavior was also reviewed and ana-

lyzed in a monograph published by the Center for Studies

of Crime and Delinquency of the National Institute of

Mental Health. A. Stone, Mental Health And Law: A

System In Transition 27-36 (1975). That study simi-

larly demonstrated that there are no reliable criteria for

psychiatric predictions of long-term future criminal be-

havior. Jd. at 29, citing S. Halleck, Psychiatry And The

Dilemmas Of Crime 348 (1971); Stiirup, “Will This

Man Be Dangerous?,” in De Reueck & Porter, The Men-

tally Abnormal Offender 17 (1968); Kozol, et al., The

Diagnosis And Treatment of Dangerousness, 18 Crime

and Delinquency 371, 383 (1972). These conclusions are

equally true today. Indeed, it has recently been noted that

“the professional literature almost uniformly affirms low

predictive accuracy with regard to the dangerousness of

mental patients.” R. Kirkland Schwitzgebel, “Prediction

of Dangerousness and Its Implications for Treatment,”

*A second important observation of the Task Force was

that “psychiatrists, in order to be safe, too often predict

dangerousness, especially in the case of the mentally ill offen-

ders.” Task Force Report at 25. See “Prediction of Danger-

ousness and Jts Implications for Treatment,” supra note 7, at

788 (“Mental health personnel rather consistently overpredict

dangerousness.”) This tendency toward false positive errors

in prediction—that is, persons clinically predicted to be

dangerous who are in fact not dangerous—has been attributed,

at cast in part, to “the strong negative reaction of the public

to errors associated with the release of dangerous persons,

whereas there is relatively little concern about unnecessary

confinement.” Id,

16

in W.J. Curran, A.L. McGarry, and C.S. Petty, Modern

Legal Medicine, Psychiatry, and Forensic Medicine 784

(1980).*

In view of these findings, the use of psychiatric testi-

mony on the issue of long-térm future criminal behavior

can only distort the factfinding process in a capital pun-

ishment trial. To the extent that there are important

facts for a jury to consider on this issue—such as a

defendant’s history of violence—those facts, as in most

criminal cases, can be fully presented by lay witnesses

who do not testify with the mantle of professional ex-

pertise. Indeed this Court recognized as much in Jurek,

where it upheld the use of the Texas criteria at issue

here:

“(P]rediction of future criminal conduct is an essen-

tial element in many of the decisions rendered

throughout our criminal justice system. The decision

whether to admit a defendant to bail, for instance,

must often turn on a judge’s prediction of the de-

fendant’s future conduct. And any sentencing au-

thority must predict a convicted person’s probable

future conduct when it engages in the process of de-

termining what punishment to impose. For those

sentenced to prison, these same predictions must be

made by parole authorities. The task that a Texas

jury must perform in answering the statutory ques-

* See also Diamond, The Psychiatric Prediction of Danger-

ousness, 123 U. Pa. L. Rev. 439 (1974) ; Ennis & Litwack, Psy-

chiatry and The Presumption of Expertise: Flipping Coins In

The Courtroom, 62 Calif. L. Rev. 693 (1974); Livermore,

Malmquist & Meehl, On The Justifications for Civil Commit-

ment, 117 U. Pa. L. Rev. 17 (1968); Steadman & Cocozza,

Psychiatry, Dangerousness, and The Repetitively Violent

Offender, 69 J. Crim. Law & Criminology, 226, 229-231

(1978) ; Wenk, Robinson & Smith, Can Violence Be Predicted?

18 Crime and Delinquency 393 (1972). See also United States

. ez rel. Mathew v. Nelson, 461 F.Supp. 707, 710 (N.D. Ill,

1978).

17

tion in issue is thus basically no different from the

task performed countless times each day throughout

the American system of criminal justice.” Jurek v.

Texas, 428 U.S. 262, 275-276 (1976).

A prohibition against using expert testimony, then, will ,

deny the jury no “possible relevant information about the

individual defendant whose fate it must determine... .”

Id. at 276. On the contrary, by sifting the mystique

from the facts and leaving only the latter, it will help

assure that a sentence of death is not the product of

“wholly arbitrary and capricious action.” Gregg V.

Georgia, 428 U.S. 153, 189 (1976). The integrity of the

criminal process demanded in a capital case will allow

for no less.

II. ASSUMING ARGUENDO THAT PSYCHIATRIC

TESTIMONY MAY BE USED IN A CAPITAL CASE

ON THE ISSUE OF FUTURE CRIMINAL BE-

HAVIOR, THE DEFENDANT MUST BE PROVIDED

A FULL AND FAIR OPPORTUNITY TO CHAL-

LENGE AND REBUT SUCH TESTIMONY.

In Gardner v. Florida, 430 U.S. 349 (1977), this Court

held that the Constitution is violated when a defendant

is sentenced to death on the basis of information that he

had no opportunity to explain or deny. 430 U.S. at

362-364. In that case, the sentencing judge relied on por-

tions of a presentence investigation report that he con-

sidered confidential and did not disclose to either counsel

for the State or counsel for the defendant.

In striking down that practice, the plurality opinion

reviewed each of the justifications asserted by the State

for a capital sentencing procedure that would permit

a trial judge to impose the death sentence based on un-

disclosed information. As to the State’s asserted need to

provide assurances of confidentiality to potential sources

of information, the plurality found intolerable the “risk

18

that some of the information accepted in confidence may

‘ be erroneous, or may be misinterpreted.” 430 U.S. at 359.

The plurality also found insufficient the State’s asserted

need to eliminate the potential for delay and to avoid

disruption of the rehabilitation process. Finally, the

plurality characterized as “foreclosed” by Furman Vv.

Georgia, 408 U.S. 288 (1972), the contention that trial

judges could be trusted to exercise their discretion in a

responsible manner. In sum, the plurality concluded that

the defendant had been deprived of due process of law

because he was denied “the opportunity to deny or ex-

plain” information that was relied upon in the decision

to impose the sentence of death.’®

The “opportunity to deny or explain” referred to by

the plurality in Gardner surely refers to the “opportunity

to be heard ‘at a meaningful time and in a meaningful

© Mr. Justice White concurred in the judgment on the

ground that the use of secret information in a capital sen-

tencing procedure failed to meet the requirement under

Woodson v. North Carolina, 428 U.S. 280, 305 (1976), for

“reliability in the determination that death is the appropri-

ate punishment... .” 430 U.S. at 364. In view of that con-

clusion, Mr. Justice White found it unnecessary to address

“the possible application to sentencing proceedings—in death

or other cases—of the Due Process Clause, other than as the

vehicle by which the strictures of the Eighth Amendment are

triggered ... .” Jd. Mr. Justice Brennan, though adhering

to the views he had expressed in Gregg Vv. Georgia, 428 -

U.S. 153, 227 (1976), stated that he agreed that the Due

Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment is violated

when a defendant facing the death sentence is not informed

of the contents of a presentence report made to the sentencing

judge. 430 U.S. at 364. Decisions of this Court subsequent to

Gardner establish that the Due Process Clause is applicable

to capital sentencing procedures. Green V. Georgia, 424 U.S.

95 (1979) (per curiam); Presnell v. Georgia, 4389 U.S. 14

(1978) (per curiam).

19

manner.” Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319, 333

(1976), quoting Armstrong v. Manzo, 380 U.S. 545, 552

(1965). The circumstances surrounding the presentation

of Dr. Grigson’s testimony in this case highlight the

need for defense counsel to have a meaningful oppor-

tunity to comment on psychiatric testimony concerning

future criminal behavior. As discussed above, the

scientific literature seriously undermines the validity of

the kind of professional judgments advanced by Dr.

Grigson, See pp. 18-16, supra. Obviously, famili-

arity with this body of information will not be common-

place among lawyers charged with representing defen-

dants in capital cases. Only when counsel is properly

advised that such testimony will be offered can he ade-

quately prepare cross-examination and rebuttal.

In this case, defense counsel was totally denied this

important opportunity. First, counsel was not notified in

advance that the state trial court had ordered a psychi-

atric examination of the defendant to determine compe-

tency to stand trial. Dr. Grigson filed no formal report

after his interview with the defendant, but instead wrote

a letter to the state trial judge stating his conclusion

that the defendant was competent. A copy of this letter

was never sent to defense counsel. By happenstance, de-

fense counsel did see the letter while inspecting the court’s

files, but they testified that this did not lead them to con-

clude that Dr. Grigson would testify as to “dangerous-

ness” since his letter went to the issue of competency

to stand trial.

Next, the trial court entered an order requiring coun-

sel for the prosecution to list all the State’s witnesses

whom he in good faith expected to use at the trial of the

State’s case in chief, both during the guilt or innocence

stage and, if known, the punishment stage. This order

notwithstanding, the prosecution never notified defense

counsel that Dr. Grigson would (or even might) be

called on the issue of dangerousness. Moreover, the trial

court subsequently entered an order precluding the pros-

ecution from calling in its case-in-chief any witnesses not

named on the witness list. Thus, defense counsel could

legitimately claim surprise when the prosecution “re-

opened” its case after presentation of defense witnesses

at the punishment stage to introduce the testimony of

Dr. Grigson.

4 As the court below stated, “[s]urprise can be as ef-

tive as secrecy in preventing effective cross-examination

. -”’ 602 F.2d at 699. That is plainly so here. If

defense counsel had been provided adequate time to pre-

pare, he could obviously have raised serious questions

about Dr. Grigson’s testimony. See Dix, The Death Pen-

alty, “Dangerousness,” Psychiatric Testimony, And Pro-

fessional Ethics, 5 Am. J. Crim. Law 151 (1977).™

‘ In fact, these questions could have covered other issues

q in addition to the inaccuracy of psychiatric prediction of long-

term future criminal behavior. Dr. Grigson testified that

; Smith was a “sociopath,” and he based this conclusion to a

considerable extent on his obser, ‘‘on that Smith evidenced no

“remorse.” But the American Psychiatric Association’s Diag-

nostic and Statistical Manual of Menta) Disorders was re-

vised in 1968 to eliminate the term “sociopathy” and to

reclassify a roughly equivalent category of disorder entitled

“antisocial personality disorder.” See DSM II, § 301.7 (1968).

More significantly, the discussion of the “antisocial personality

disorder” in the most recent version of that manual evidences

the need for an examination of a broad range of the patient’s

behavior in connection with a diagnosis of that disorder.

DSM III, 7301.70 (1980). See generally, S. Dinitz, “The

Antisocial Personality,” in W.J. Curran, A.L. McGarry,

& C.S. Petty, Modern Legal Medicine, Psychiatry, and

Forensic Science 799 (1980) ; R.A. Woodruff, D.W. Goodwin,

& S.B. Guze, Psychiatric Diagnosis 148 (1974) ; G.E. Vaillant,

Sociopathy As A Human Process, 32 Arch. Gen. Psychiatry

178 (1975). This broad behavioral approach undermines

21

any suggestion that the disorder is established solely or even

primarily by the absence of indications of “remorse” as Dr.

Grigson suggested.

Moreover, although Dr. Grigson’s brief 90 minute mental

status examination of Smith may well have been sufficient for

a psychiatric determination as to competency, it was wholly

inadequate in terms of the detail that should have been pur-

sued to diagnose an antisocial personality disorder or to make

a prediction concerning long-term future behavior. A mental

status examination focuses on the individual’s current per-

ceptions and orientation. By itself, it provides no medical

basis for making long-term future behavioral predictions of

any type, let alone those aimed at future criminal behavior.

See Sands, “Psychiatric History And Menta] Status,” in A

Freedman & H. Kaplan, eds., Comprehensive Textbook or

Psychiatry 499 (1977).

Dr. Grigson also testified that no psychiatric treament

could change Smith’s behavior and that Smith would not

improve but would only continue the same way or get worse.

But an extensive review of the professional literature in

1972 prompted two commentators to note that, although the

results had to be interpreted with some caution, the data

indicate that “some techniques may be effective in the treat-

ment of antisocial personality in juvenile offenders and possi-

bly in some adults.” Levine & Bornstein, Js The Sociopath

Treatable? The Contribution of Psychiatry To A Legal

Dilemma, 1972 Wash. Univ. L.Q. 698, 711. See F.L. Carney,

“Inpatient Treatment Programs,” in W.H. Reid, The Psycho-

path: A Comprehensive Study Of Antisocial Disorders And

Behaviors 261 (1978); Rappeport, Enforced Treatment—Is

It Treatment?, II Bull. Am. Acad. Psychiatry & Law 48

(1974). Moreover, there is evidence indicating that even

if treatment is not possible, the mere passage of time may

effect improvement. R.A. Woodruff, D.W. Goodwin, & S.B.

Guze, Psychiatric Diagnosis 149 (1974); Cocozza & Stead-

man, Some Refinements In The Measurement and Pre-

diction of Dangerous Behavior, 181 Am. J. Psychiatry 1012

(1974) ; M. Craft, The Natural History of Psychopathic Dis-

order, 115 Brit. J. Psychiatry 39, 43 (1969). Indeed, the

most recent edition of the Association’s Diagnostic And

Statistical Manual notes that “[a]fter age 30 the more flag-

wan

22

Counsel could have prepared an effective cross-examina-

tion and, indeed, could perhaps have secured convincing

rebuttal witnesses. In this manner, the jury could at

least have received a more complete presentation of the

relevant considerations.

In capital cases, as this Court has made clear, a jury

requires both “standards to guide its use of the infor-

mation [presented],” Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153,

195 (1976), and the participation of counsel in “com-

ment{ing] on facts which may influence the sentencing

decision,” Gardner v. Florida, 430 U.S. 349, 360 (1977).

Here, by contrast, the procedures used by the State de-

prived the jury of an opportunity to hear defense coun-

sel challenge the accuracy or materiality of the infor-

mation.”

Texas asserts no justification—and amicus can con-

ceive of none—for the failure to give defense counsel

adequate notice that expert psychiatric testimony would

be admitted on the issue of dangerousness. Instead,

Texas argues that since Dr. Grigson’s testimony was dis-

closed on the record, this case is governed not by Gard-

rant aspects may diminish, particularly sexual promiscuity,

fighting, criminality, and vagrancy.” DSM III, § 301.70

(1980). .

* It is worth noting in this regard that the statute upheld

in Gregg V. Georgia provided that at the penalty stage of the

criminal proceeding “only such evidence in aggravation as

the State has made known to the defendant prior to his trial

shall be admissible.” 428 U.S. at 164, quoting Ga. Code Ann.

§ 27-2503 (Supp. 1975). Moreover, this Court noted in Gregg

that “the importance of obtaining accurate sentencing infor-

mation” was underscored by the requirement in Rule 32(c)

of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure that counsel be

afforded an opportunity to comment on the presentence report

and to introduce information relating to any alleged factual

inaccuracy in the report. 428 U.S. at 129 n.87,

De te ae

23

ner V. Florida, supra, but by Williams v. New York, 337

| US. 241 (1949).** The argument is flawed. In its zeal

to distinguish Gardner, Texas apparently overlooks the

fact that the plurality opinion in Gardner specifically

noted that Williams was decided some 30 years ago, and

that in the interim this Court had “acknowledged its

obligation to re-examine capital sentencing procedures

against evolving standards of procedural fairness in a

civilized society.” 480 U.S. at 357. In the course of that

re-examination, fiye members of the Court had by 1977

concluded that death is a different kind of punishment

from any other that may be imposed in this country. |

And it is now beyond question that “this qualitative dif-

ference between death and other penalties calls for a

greater degree of reliability when the death sentence is

imposed.” Lockett v. Ohio, 488 U.S. 586, 604 (1978)

(Burger, C.J.). The state’s continued reliance upon Wil-

| liams v. New York, supra, is therefore plainly mis-

placed. .

ee

~~ ) aie, Mie ot det Bie ee

Federal constitutional guarantees surrounding imposi-

tion of the unique and irrevocable punishment of death

necessitate procedures that meet the need for reliability

in the determination that death is the appropriate sen-

tence. That need for reliability is not satisfied when de-

fense counsel is given only a technical opportunity to

comment on critical psychiatric testimony and no advance

notice sufficient to allow meaningful preparation for

cross-examination and rebuttal. The thrust of this ‘

Court’s ruling in Gardner is that the interest in reli-

* The state also argues that the defendant waived any

error of constitutional dimension. The Court of Appeals

correctly concluded that there was no effective waiver of

the constitutional error. 602 F.2d at 701 n.8, 708 n.19; see

Gardner v. Florida, supra, 480 U.S. at 361-62 (no waiver

where defense counsel failed to request access to entire pre-

sentence report),

at?

24

ability demands “an Opportunity to comment on facts

Which may influence the sentencing decision in capital

cases.” 430 U.S. at 360. A meaningless “opportunity”

to comment fails to further the interest in reliability, and

thus fails to withstand constitutional] Scrutiny.

EXERCISE THIS RIGHT.

The Fifth Amendment provides that no person “shall

be compelled in any criminal ca

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.