Petition — Illinois State Dental Society v. Schiller

Supreme Court brief1981

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

aa -

P wrt

e? (} = ¢ ke )

MAR 23 198

No. ALEXANDER 4

In the

Supreme Court of the United States

Ocroser Term, 1980

THE ILLINOIS STATE DENTAL SOCIETY, ET AL.,

Peititioners,

vs.

HELEN SCHILLER, ET AL.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

Russert M. Perron,

Counsel of Record

Mary Patricia CHapiIn

Craia A. Varca

Peterson, Ross, ScHiorrs & Semex

200 East Randolph Drive, Suite 7300

Chicago, Illinois 60601

(312) 861-1400

Attorneys for Petitioners.

The Scheffer Press, Inc.—(312) 263-6850

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

I. Whether the decision of the Court of Appeals con-

flicts with this Court’s dismissal of an appeal in an

earlier case presenting the same issues as those in

the imstant case.

Il. Whether in assessing the effect that this Court’s

dismissal of a state court appeal in an earlier case

had upon the instant case, the Court of Appeals

departed from decisions of this Court by not giving

proper consideration to the opinion of the state court.

The parties to this proceeding are as follows:

Plaintiffs-Respondents :

Helen Schiller, Walter Coleman, Uptown Peoples Com-

munity Service Center, an Illinois not-for-profit corpora-

tion; Uptown Peoples Community Health Services Board

of Directors, Inc., an L[llinois not-for-profit corporation;

Samuel Abernathy and other individuals listed on Exhibit

“$7” of the Complaint: and Gary Hinton, Walter Dausch,

Sam <Amenta, Jesse Gaudard, Donald Martin, Arthur

Potts, Nick DeAngelis, Mark Knper, Robert Schmitt,

Klmer KE. Higgerson, Caroline Basony, Edward Umbright,

Thomas Gaura, Robert Kopfer, lra Jordan, Robert <A.

Martin, William Norris, Irving Weiss, Robert Yonkee,

Hamazasb Mkrdichian, Joseph E. Hoch, Jerome Getsla,

Joseph Vinci, Edward Davisson, Eli Sutker, Wilson G.

Sargeant, Bruno Alonzo, George Bartmanowski, Ray An-

drews, John Bane, Adelor Guiliano, Miteh Bronner and

Anthony Carbone

Defendants-Petitioners:

The Illinois State Dental Society, an Illinois not-for-profit

corporation, The Chicago Dental Society, an Illinois not-

for-profit corporation; Julius W. Ulaneck, Dr. Louis V.

Fourie, Dr. Frank A. Schroeder, Dr. Dominic J. Catram-

bone, Dr. Bert W. Gilbert, Dr. Grant A. Maclean, Dr.

Lewis L. Weil, Dr. Robert H. Griffiths, Dr. Raffaele

Suriano, Dr. John Madonia, Dr. Thomas Quinn, Dr.

Edward Troutt, Dr. David Valentine, Dr. Thomas Wallen,

Dr. George Kelly and Dr. Raymond P. Kotz.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

I I orsctetceeie ete basen, il

Citation to Opinions Below ....ccccccssscsssssssscssscessssscssseee 1

Jurisdictional Statement ..........ccccccssscsscsssecosscsssssssecescsssececs 2

Statutory Provisions Involved oocecccccscscssssssessssesssseeee 2

ROROMOS GE TR oa ascnssesecescceressoversssereavecscsvndssonecoveees 2

Reasons for Granting the Writ ......c.ccccccccscscscscscssscesese, 6

1. The Decision and Order of Judgment of the

Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals is in Direct

Conflict with this Court’s Dismissal of an

Appeal, for Want of a Substantial Federal

Question, in 44A Dental Laboratories, Inc.

v. Illinois Ex Rel Chicago Dental Society,

ee ee ND oa ce 6

2. In Assessing the 'Tffect of this Court’s Dis-

missal of the A44A Appeal Upon the Instant

Case, the Court Below Departed from Pre-

vious Decisions of this Court By Not Giving

Proper Consideration to the State Court

Opinion and Judgment Appealed from in

WAAR re tia i eee eee, 13

SSRN CO ARO ALARMS es BRUCE COPAY la

Per curiam order and judgment; United States

Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit,

filed December 3, 1980, rehearing denied

nn mens I ch Jae la

Denial of Petition for Rehearing, dated January

Fee nN een NA APIO i AORN EAS cate pct oes Ratan RU 9a

Memorandum opinion and order, United States

District Court, Northern District of Illinois,

Eastern District, The Honorable John Powers

Crowley, filed April 6, 1979 ......ccccccccoccossssecesss 10a

PAGE

Judginent Order, United States District Court,

Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Divi-

sion, The Honorable John Powers Crowley,

SE PRE: RR dco ctacneernccenssndcremncensenne 34a

Conversion Table re: Renumbering of Illinois

Ce Ee |, SRny Nae mane ane Ree 36a

Relevant Sections of the Illinois Dental Prac-

es cthccereecoas eta hatga denoanc cesar eaentennnss 37a

Pleadings in AAA Dental Laboratories, Inc. v.

IUmois ex rel Chicago Dental Society, 352

Be i ED ctr apectin sussncseavimnscesiblaetonamiolsnass 47a

Appellant’s Statement as to Jurisdiction: .... 47a

Appendix (including Opinion of Illinois

Supreme Court in People v. AAA Den-

tal Laboratories, Inc., 8 Ml.2d 330, 134

TERE UP CIPD 5 eaeninas dataset nencoanctaspanvorionees 71a

Motion by Appellees To Dismiss Appeal or

Ue a rN iiscectinscxeaticerersicanrcersaormeecs llla

Brief Opposing Motion to Dismiss or affirm ..133a

UR UNN: TO IE evs siccenacsienecnsessacaxsasncvers 149a

TaBLE oF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

AAA Dental Laboratories, Inc. v. Illinois ex rel

Chicago Dental Society, 352 U.S. 863 (1956) ..5, 6, 9. 12

Canfield v. Wisc. Bd. of Attys Professional Comp.,

490 F.Supp. 1286 (W.D. Wis. 1980) wow. 1d

Chicago Sheraton Corp. v. Zaban, 593 F.2d 808 (7th

Cir.), cert. dismissed, 444 U.S. 911 (1979) occ.

Colorado Springs Amusement, Ltd. v. Rizzo, 524

F.2d 571 (8d Cir. 1975), cert.denied, 428 U.S. 913

PS SES Se, Se ot RSE Soa OF her, A eR 1

Wi

PAGE

Cordak v. Reuben H. Donnelley Corp., 363 U.S.

RIE ida ate drciceasa miesioeakseccnsecasccondnica akan 12

Doe v. Hodgson, 478 F.2d 537 (3d.Cir.), cert.

dented, 414 U.S. 1096 (1973) occcccsssecesesceeeeess 12

Duncan v. Ward, 225 F.Supp. 195 (N.D.II. 1963)..11, 12

Elections Bd. v. Socialist Workers Party, 440 U.S.

RE IIIT scsstistrvnsssccireninisscitisndckucmibchacinscdevscetacneioanen Sen 12

Govt. of Virgin Is. v. 19.623 Acres of Land, 536 F.2d

vc a het a eT! 15

Hawauan Tel. Co. v. State of Hawaii, 614 F.2d

1197 (9th Cir.) cert.denied, ........ fear: 100

Me SO CRD) cesicssccccecnsesececesececssecovesesneeseinvivanesanes 12

Hicks v. Miranda, 422 U.S. 332 (1975) coe. 6, 7,15

Lees v. Oster, 8 U.2d 141, 329 P.2d 648 (1958) ... 7

Mandel v. Bradley, 432 U.S. 173 (1977) ........ 12, 14, 15, 16

McKeesport Area School Dist. v. Pa. Dept. of Educ.

aeons US. 2... 64 L.Ed.2d 831 (1980) oo.cc..12, 15

People v. AAA Dental Laboratories, 8 Tll.2d 230,

134 N.E.2d 285 (1956) oc ccceeceeseeeeseseeeesneeeeen 8, 14

People ex rel Illinois State Dental Society v. Vinci,

39 Tll. App.8d 474, 342 N.E. 206 (1976) coc. 6

State v. Clark, 252 Ta. 578, 107 N.W.2d 726, cert.

denied, 366 US. 949 (1961) coocccccccccccccsccsesecssecseeeeeees 7

Whitlow v. Hodges, 539 F.2d 582 (6th Cir.), cert.

denied, 429 U.S. 1029 (1976) ccccccccccsecescecsteesees 13

Statutes:

Sec. la, Ill. Dental Prac. Act (Ill.Rev.Stat., 1977,

GR. TLD, 200. 2IOZ) ......ecccccccccccosccccccscascscscccersccecsesscscsececsere Bp

iv

PAGE

Sec. 3, Ill. Dental Prac. Act (Ill.Rev.Stat., 1977, ch.

Neen iss ccnentchonssebescieosdeseeseonses +

Sec. 5, Ill. Dental Prac. Act (Ill.Rev.Stat., 1977., ch.

Nee scnddesnenacceod, wine 4,9

Sec. 5a, Ill. Dental Prac. Act (Ill.Rev.Stat., 1977,

I sec ceacacssasasicasanseoouenss 4,8,9

Sec. 5b, Ill. Dental Prac. Act (Ill.Rev.Stat., 1977,

I IE EI cs cctucosoesboisnonsacasasscnsonsevsdecsseonsees +

Sec. 16, Ill. Dental Prac. Act (Ill.Rev.Stat., 1977, ch.

no. ccs cebemseedesssgnurseraceneseveses 4

-=-

Sec. 17a, Ill. Dental Prae. Act (Ill.Rey.Stat., 1977,

NE I cscs cocsoncnassosvaseoscdcecarseseacsssceseceses 6

In THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OctroBer TERM, 1980

No.

THE ILLINOIS STATE DENTAL SOCIETY, ET AL.,

Petitioners,

US.

HELEN SCHILLER, ET AL...

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

SSuEEEEEEEeee

To: THe Honoraste Corer Justice

Or Ter Unrrep States

Anp Tur Associate JUSTICES

Or Tur Supreme Court

Or THe Unitrep States

Petitioner respectfully prays that a Writ of Certiorari

issue to review the judgment and order of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit entered

in this proceeding on December 3, 1980, which reversed

and remanded the decision of the District Court.

OPINIONS BELOW

Neither the District Court’s memorandum opinion nor

the Seventh Cireuit Court of Appeals’ per curiam opinion

a

=

have been published. These opinions are set out in the

Appendix, p. la and 10a, respectively, imfra.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Seventh

Circuit was entered on December 3, 1980. A timely petition

for rehearing was denied on January 27, 1981, and this

petition for certiorari was filed within ninety days of

that date. This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under

28 U.S.C. See. 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED*

_* These statutes are printed in the Appendix, p. 37a

infra.

Sec. la, Ll. Dental Prac. Act (Ll Rev. Stat., 1977, ch.

111, see. 2202)

See. 3, Ill. Dental Prac. Act (Ill. Rev. Stat., 1977, ch.

111, see. 2206)

Sec. 5, Ill. Dental Prac. Act (Ill Rev. Stat., 1977, ch.

111, see. 2217)

See. 5a, Ll. Dental Prac. Act (Ill. Rev. Stat., 1977, ch.

111, see. 2218)

See. Sb, Ill. Dental Prac. Act (Ill. Rev. Stat., 1977, ch.

111, see. 2219)

Sec. 16, Ill. Dental Prac. Act (Ill. Rev. Stat.. 1977, ch.

111, see. 2242)

See. 17a, [ll]. Dental Prac. Act (Ill. Rev. Stat., 1977, ch.

I11, see. 2244)

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On October 4, 1978, plaintiffs in this action, various

dental technicians (“denturists”) and various non-den-

turist community organizations and other individuals,

—

brought suit! against the Illinois State Dental Society

and its program director, the Chicago Dental Society,

the [linois Dental Laboratory Association? and various

individual dentists’. Plaintiffs, none of whom are licensed

dentists, challenged the constitutionality and legality of

the [llinois Dental Practice Act, [lLRev.Stat. 1977, Ch.

I11, See. 2202, et seq. and the methods used to enforce if,

As noted by the District Court:

The Illinois Dental Practice Act, ILRev.Stat. Ch.

IN1, See. 2202 et seq. is a comprehensive statutory

scheme regulating dentistry and various aspects of

dental health care in Hlinois. The act prohibits the

practice of dentistry without a license. Among: acts

Which constitute the practice of dentistry are taking

of impressions, replacing teeth, and making and _re-

pairing dental protheses. However, the Act exempts,

from that definition, the extraoral construction or

repair of dentures and bridges, or replacement. of

teeth when those services are requested by a licensed

dentist, and that request is made on a written work

order. Soliciting or providing those services without

first supplying or obtaining a written work order

constitutes a misdemeanor. In addition, the act pro-

‘The court below incorrectly noted that the instant

action was brought as a “class action”, which it was not.

Schiller v. Illinois State Dental Society, No. 79-1529, slip

op. (7th Cir. Dec. 3, 1980) [hereinafter cited as Op.,

Ct. of App.| (Appendix, p. la)

‘The Illinois Dental Laboratory Association was not

named as a defendant in the case caption, but was so

named in several counts of the Complaint.

“As noted by the court below, “the jurisdictional basis

for this action has been imprecisely stated in the eom-

plaint’’. Op., Ct. of App. (Appendix, p. 2a). It appears,

however, that jurisdiction is asserted under 28 U.S.C.

Sec. 1343 and 28 U.S.C. See. 1331. Id.

may We

hibits public advertisement of the products or ser-

vices of firms performing extraoral work for licensed

dentists.

Schiller v. Illinois State Dental Society, No. 78 C 3936,

slip.op. (N.D. Ill. April 6, 1979) [hereinafter Op., Dist.

Ct.] (Appendix, p. 12a-16a) (footnotes to Sections la, 3,

0, da, Sb, and 16 omitted).

The denturist plaintiffs’ constitutional challenges were

that the Dental Practice Act violates denturists’ equal

protection and due process rights by precluding them

from practicing their alleged profession directly with

the public. Both the denturist and non-denturist plain-

tiffs raised a number of other federal and state claims

as well,’ all of which were found untenable by the District

Court,’ and none of which were addressed by the Seventh

Circuit.

Defendants moved to dismiss the complaint on a variety

of grounds, their principal contention being that all sub-

stantive elements of the complaint had been previously

raised and decided adversely to plaintiffs on a number

of occasions by both the federal and state courts. Defen.

dants also argued that the non-dentnrist plaintiffs lacked

standing to sue.

On motion, the District Court dismissed Plaintiffs’

complaint in its entirety and entered judgment for de.

* See Op., Dist.Ct. (Appendix, p. 18a) for recitation of

other claims raised. The non-denturist plaintiffs’ claims

went only to alleged federal antitrust violations.

*See Op., Dist.Ct. (Appendix, p. 32a). Having found

no substantial federal claim anywhere in the complaint,

the District Court declined to exercise pendent juris-

diction over plaintiffs’ state law claims. Id. at 1.18

(Appendix, p. 32a)

—

fendants, the court holding that since it was “unable

to find a tenable claim for violation of the Constitution

or any law of the United States’. no “substantial federal

question’’ had been presented. Op., Dist.Ct. (Appen-

dix, p. 32a). In addition, the court specifically found

that the Dental Practice Act's provisions regarding den-

tists’ and denturists’ relative roles in the provision of

dental services inct the due process and equal protection

tests of rationality.

On appeal, the Seventh Cireuit, after examining those

eases in which the Dental Practice Act had been chal-

lenged in previous litigation, held that this Court’s dis-

mussal of an appeal for want of a substantial federal

question in Ad.1l Dental Laboratories, Inc. v. Illinois ex

rel Chicago Dental Sociely, 352 U.S. 863 (1956). was not

dispositive of the instant case, even though 144 had

involved a denturist attack on the Act premised on due

process and equal protection grounds. The Seventh Circuit

also held that the District Court had erred in disinissing

the complaint without first making some evidentiary in-

quiry to determine whether the challenged sections of

the Act were “rational” for equal protection and due

process purposes. On that basis, the Seventh Circuit

reversed and remanded the case for an evidentiary in-

quiry. The court did not address any matters beyond

the denturist plaintiffs’ due process and equal protection

challenges to the Act's prohibitions on their providing

denture care directly to the public. Therefore, the court

did not disturb the District Court’s dismissal of the

balance of plaintiffs’ complaint.

_—

REASONS FOR GRANTING WRIT

I

THE DECISION AND ORDER OF JUDGMENT OF

THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS IS

IN DIRECT CONFLICT WITH THIS COURT'S DIS.

MISSAL OF AN APPEAL, FOR WANT OF A SUB.

STANTIAL FEDERAL QUESTION, IN AAA DENTAL

LABORATORIES, INC. V. ILLINOIS EX REL CHICA-

GO DENTAL SOCIETY, 352 U.S. 863 (1956).

In concluding that this Court’s dismissal of an appeal

in AAA was not dispositive of the instant case, the

Seventh Circuit decided a question squarely in confict

with this Court’s previous decision in 144A. The issues

in the instant case being precisely those raised in AAA,

the Seventh Circuit should have aceorded this Court's

dismissal in AAA proper precedential effect. and dis-

missed the instant case under Hicks v. Miranda, 422 U.S.

332 (1975). By failing to do so, the Seventh Cireuit has

left open to re-litigation matters clearly and unquestion-

ably resolved by this Court in 444A, by a lower federal

court,” and by the courts of the State of Illinois.’

The practical effect of this decision is to afford certain

plaintiff-denturists, whose “profession” has been deemed

to constitute a “public nuisance’® and fully one-third of

whom have been found to have practiced dentistry without

* See notes 13 and 14 and accompanying text, infra.

* See. e.g., People ex rel Illinois State Dental Society

v. Vinci, 35 Ill.App.3d 474, 342 N.E.2d 206 (1976).

* See Sec. 17a of the Illinois Dental Practice Act. (TI.

Rev.Stat., 1977, Ch. 111, Sec. 2244) (Appendix, p. 46a).

oat at

a license in Illinois, an opportunity to further ply their

trade upon an unsuspecting public under an ill-conceived

cloak of legitimacy.

Yet another disturbing consequence of the lower court’s

decision is its potential impact on the dental practice

acts of other states. Both the Lllinois act and the AAA

decision have long been given considerable accord by

the courts of other states. See State v. Clark, 252 Ia.

O78, LOT N.W.2d 726, cert. denied 366 U.S. 949 (1961);

Lees v. Oster, 8 Utah 2d 141, 329 P.2d 648 (1958). In

audition, the Illinois State Dental Society, a defendant

here, has long been a national leader in advocating that

interests of public health demand that the provision

of dental prostheses (dentures) not be divorced from

the provision of clinical dental care. The relationship

which this case bears to that ongoing national effort

offers yet another reason why this Court should grant

the writ of certiorari requested.

Under Hicks v. Miranda, supra, dismissals of appeals

for want of a substantial federal question are dispositions

on the merits, and are binding on lower federal courts.

Applicability of the //icks doctrine requires a finding that

issues in a later case are the same as those presented

to this Court in an earlier action ending in either a sum-

mary affirmance or dismissal for want of a substantial

federal question. Had the Seventh ireuit properly ex-

amined the issues in AAA and applied the Hicks doctrine

here, it would have agreed with the Distriet Court’s

dismissal of this action.

The court below concluded that:

In the instant case the issue is whether due process

and equal protection are violated because denturists

see eae

are prevented from providing denture care and ad-

vertising directly to the public.

Op., Ct. of App., at m2 (Appendix, p. Ta).

The court also stated that, in .L.LA,

The due process issue was whether the statute was

rationally related to its purpose where the right

of a dental technician to practice his occupation

depended solely on whether he was employed by a

dentist, without there being any statutory qualifica-

tions for teehnicians or requirement that a dentist

supervise their work. The equal protection issue also

concerned the lack of statutory qualifications for

dental technicians, allegedly resulting in’ arbitrary

decisions by dentists as to which technicians would

be employed.

Id. at m2. (Appendix, p. 7a).

Given those characterizations, the Seventh Circuit con-

cluded that the issues in the respective cases were some-

how “dilferent™. Defendants submit, however, that the

court Mmisapprehended the true nature of the issues. in

Adel, and that the purported difference between the cases

isa “difference without a distinetion.”

It is evident from the opinion of the [linois Supreme

Court in Act that the equal protection and due process

issues there were whether prohibiting those persons not

trained in dentistry from dealing direetly with the public

or from advertising to the public was reasonably related

to preserving the public health.’ In its opinion, 8 THh2d

at S01, the [lnois court stated that: “The controversy

centers primarily upon Section 5(a) and paragraphs 8

*See the court’s discussion in People v. .LAA Dental

Laboratories, Ine., at S Uh 2d 357-38, 134 N.K.2d 287

(Appendix, p. 104a).

=

and 9 of Sec. 5,” which sections deal respectively with

prohibiting dental technicians from advertising to the

public, from taking impressions for dentures directly for

the public, and from constructing or repairing dentures

directly for the public. See, respectively, Ill. Rev. Stat.

1977, Ch. 111, See, 2218, 2217(8) and 2217(9)."" Since

the Illinois Supreme Court decided in favor of the .14-1

plaintiffs (the principal one of which was the Chicago

Dental Society, a defendant in the instant case), it fol-

lows necessarily that the state court’s decision upheld

the constitutionality of the aforementioned sections. The

jurisdictional statement filed on appeal to this Court

by the AAA defendants (dental technicians) acknowledged

as much, for it stated that “the basie sections assailed

are subparagraphs 8 and 9 of See. 5 and separate section

X(a).’’ Juris, Statement in People v. AAA Dental Labora-

tories, OT. 1956, No. 311, p. 3. (Appendix, p. 53a). Hence,

the same Dental Practice Act prohibitions against direct

dealing which were upheld in the face of due process

and equal protection challenges by the Illinois Supreme

Court in AAA were before this Court on appeal in that

case.

Great effort was made in the “Questions Presented”

section of the dental technicians’ Jurisdictional Statement

in AAA to characterize the Dental Practice Act as

establishing dentists as only perfunctory intermediaries

between technicians and the public. Not surprisingly,

'The f[linois Dental Practice Act has remained un-

changed in all relevant respects from the time the 444

case was brought until the present time. Its sections,

however, were renumbered in 1977. For the Court’s ease

of reference, a conversion table is attached. (Appendix,

p. 36a).

a 10

therefore, the technicians’ questions were sclf-servingly

and argumnentatively phrased in terms of employment

or non-employment by a dentist being the arbiter of

compliance with the Act. Despite the biased phraseology

of those questions, they nevertheless stand for the propo-

sition that, under the Act, technicians may not deal

directly with, or advertise to, the public. Technicians

are limited by the Dental Practice Act, for reasons of

public health, to working only with those whom the

legislature has decided have sutlicient training to deal

with the public—lentists. That the formulation of the

questions presented attempted to obscure this faet did

not limit the actual scope of the challenge made in A444,

one which included all those provisions noted both by

the Hlimois Supreme Court and by the technicians as

being at issue. In short, the Jurisdictional Statement’s

“Questions Presented” section cannot be construed as

including anything less than a challenge to the basic

relationship between technician, dentist, and the public

under the Aet. Even a cursory reading of plaintiffs’

Motion to Dismiss or Affirm in Ld reveals as much —-

we, that the issues in wtf went to the reasonability

of the state’s exereise of its police power vis-a-vis the

Dental Practice Act's prohibitions against direct dealing

by non-dentists with the public.’ To conclude that any-

thing less was in issue is to take, as the court below has.

an unduly strained and ineorrect view of the AAA case.

"See e.g., Appellee’s Motion to Dismiss Appeal or to

Affirm Judgment in People v. 1AA Dental Laboratories,

OT, 1956, No. 331, p. 9 (Appendix, p. 123a) (‘*Since the

[Hlinois Statute prohibits dental laboratories from dealing

directly with public ...’’), and p. 10 (Appendix, p. 124a)

(Section entitled “The Federal Question Herein Ts Not

a Substantial One.)

|, eee

The due process and equal protection challenges pre-

sented in the instant case raise exactly the same issues

as those in 1AA. There is nothing encompassed by the

provision of “denture care,” in the instant ease, that

was not included within the technician’s argument in Au4A4

that subparagraphs 8 and 9 of See. 5 and See. 5(a) of

the Dental Practice Act kept them from practicing their

“occupation”. Only in the court below’s ‘ailure to eompre-

hend the nature of the AAA issues does any “difference”

arise between the two cases.

One lower court has correctly perceived the nature of

the issues raised in AAA and has given effect to this

Court’s dismissal of the AAA appeal. In Duncan vy. Ward,

225 F.Supp. 195 (N.D.DL 1963), the plaintiff dental tech-

nicians brought a class action suit challenging the Dental

Practice Act on due process and equal protection

yrounds.'* In granting the defendants’ motions for dis-

mussal there, the court stated that:

As defendants point out, the want of substantiality

of a federal question is here proved ‘because its un-

soundness so clearly results from the previous decei-

sions of the Federal Supreme Court as to foreclose

* Op., Ct. of App., at n.2 (Appendix, p. 7a).

“The court in Duncan, 225 F.Supp. at 201, noted that:

“It is apparent to the Court that the plaintiffs are at-

tempting to use the same identical arguments to over-

throw legislation . .. which has heretofore been univer-

sally upheld as constitutional, both under the Federal and

state constitutions.”

The Illinois State Dental Society, a defendant in the

instant action, intervened as a defendant in Duncan and

filed a motion for dismissal, relying on this Court’s dis-

missal of the Af appeal. See Duncan, 225 F.Supp. at

196, n.1 and accompanying text.

a

the subject and leave no room for the inference that

the question sought to be raised can be the subject

of controversy.’ (Citation omitted)

Since it has heretofore been determined that there

was a want of a ‘substantial federal question’ in both

the AAA Dental Laboratories, Inc. and the Corduk

v. Reuben H. Donnelley Corp. cases. supra, the court

concludes that there is no legal basis advanced by

plaintiffs which differentiates this controversy from

those cases, and such ‘substantial federal question’

is also absent here.

225 F.Supp. at 201.

Application of this Court’s dismissal in 444A to the

instant case does not require the strained extrapolation

that sometimes vexes lower courts when the facts sup-

porting a holding subsequently accorded a summary

adjudication by this Court differ from the facts in the

ease to which that holding is later raised as a bar.

Compare Elections Bd. v. Socialist Workers Party, 440

U.S. 173 (1979) (facts divergent) and Mandel v. Bradley,

432 U.S. 173 (1977) (facts divergent) with Meck eesport

Area School Dist. v. Pa. Dept. of Educ., ........ if . ’

64 L.Md.2d 831 (1980) (facts similar); Hawaiian Tel. Co.

v. State of Hawaii, 614 F.2d 1197 (9th Cir.), cert. denied

inate US. wy LOO S.Ct. 2965 (1980) (facts similar) ;

Colorado Springs Amusement, Ltd. v. Rizzo, 524 F.2d

O7L (3d Cir. 1975), cert. denied 428 U.S. 913 (1976)

(facts similar) and Doe v. Hodgson, 478 F.2d 537, (3d

Cir.) cert. denied 414 U.S. 1096 (1973) (facts similar).

On the contrary, in the instant case the factual cireun-

stances are such that the nature of the parties, relevant

statutes, bases of constitutional challenge, and standard

of review are identical to those in the 4.14 case? Even

‘* And to those in Duncan v. Ward, supra.

—_ oo

the manner of proof called for to sustain the rationality

of the Dental Practice Act by the Seventh Cireuit is

identical to that offered in AAA. The Seventh Cireuit

has remanded this case for an evidentiary inquiry into

whether the Dental Practice Act’s prohibitions are ration-

ally related to its asserted purpose of protecting the

public health. In 4.44, the Illinois Supreme Court focused

on precisely that same question, stating that:

Voluminous testimony establishes beyond doubt that

the furnishing of artificial dentures is intimately

related to the general health of the patient... this

relationship justifies legislative regulation of dentis-

try, including prosthetic dentistry... .

S Hl. 2nd at 533-84, 134 N.K. 2nd at 228

In view of the foregoing, it is diffieult to imagine an

instance in which application of this Court’s dismissal

in “L441 could be any more appropriate than in the instant

case. Indeed, the present action seems to be “on all fours”

With the issues raised in ALA. See Whitlow v. Hodges,

N98, F.2d 582 (6th Cir.), cert. denied. 429 U.S. 1029

(1976). That the court below reached a contrary decision

offers a compelling reason for this Court to grant the

Writ of Certiorari requested.

i

IN ASSESSING THE EFFECT OF THIS COURT'S

DISMISSAL OF THE AAA APPEAL UPON THEE IN.

STANT CASE, THE COURT BELOW DEPARTED

FROM FREVIOUS DECISIONS OF THIS COURT BY

NOT GIVING PROPER CONSIDERATION TO THE

STATE COURT OPINION AND JUDGMENT AP.

PEALED FROM IN AAA.

The court below, at u.2 (Appendix, p. Ga-7a), assessed

the effect that two previous dismissals of appeals by

=" oo

this Court had upon the present action. In concluding

that those decisions were not controlling on the instant

ease, the Seventh Circuit stated that:

We have examined the jurisdictional statements and

pleadings submitted on appeal to the Supreme Court

in those cases, and we conclude that the issues on

which the court based its dismissals are not disposi-

tive of the instant case.

Op., Ct. of App. at n.2 (Appendix, p. 7a).

and that:

The rationale of a summary adjudication may not

be gleaned from the opinion below.

Id.

The above statements establish beyond doubt that the

Seventh Circuit omitted from its consideration the judg-

ment and opinion of the Illinois Supreme Court in People

v. AAA Dental Laboratories, 8 Ul.2nd 330, 134 N.E. 2nd

28) (1956). This omission was both contrary to estab-

lished caselaw and very likely responsible for the Seventh

Circuit’s erroneous conclusion that this Court’s dismissal

of the appeal in AAA was not controlling on the issues

in the instant case.

To state, as the court below did, that “the rationale

of a summary adjudication may not be gleaned from the

opinion below” is a misquotation and misconstruction

of the case cited by the court, Mandel v. Bradley, 432

U.S. 173 (1977). The actual wording of the cited passage

is as follows: “Because a summary affirmance is an

affirmance of the judgment only, the rationale of the

affirmance may not be gleaned solely from the opinion

below.” 432 U.S. at 176 (emphasis supplied).

pam, | pure

This passage from Mand+l clearly indicates that the

opinion of a court below, while not the only matter

appropriate for consideration in assessing a summary

adjudication, must certainly be considered, a proposition

clearly the obverse of that conveyed by the lower court's

onussion of the word “solely” in its opinion. Applied

to the instant facts, then, the Seventh Cireuit’s failure

to properly consider the [linois Supreme Court’s opinion

in 14.14 amounted to a renunciation of this Courts deci-

sion in Mandel, rather than adherence to it.

Both this Court and lower federal courts have stated,

either explicily or implicitly, that consideration of mat-

ters beyond an appellant’s jurisdictional statement is

necessary and proper in assessing the true import of a

summary adjudication of this Court. Most recently, in

McKeesport Area School Dist. v. Pa. Dept. of Educ., 64

L.Ed. 2d 831 (1980), Mr. Justices Blackmun and Brennan.

in a concurring opinion, went to great lengths in attempt-

ing to determine precisely what issues were before this

Court in an appeal which the Court dismissed for want

of a substantial federal question. Their inquiry went not

only to the jurisdictional statement and pleadings filed

with this Court, or to the opinion of the court below,

but also to the holdings of previous state court cases

cited in the state court decision appealed from. That

this Court considers such matters relevant to the nature

of issues before the Court in a Hicks situation implies

that lower courts should likewise expand their inquiries

in trying to resolve the difficult question of the “reach

and content” of summary affirmances or dismissals of

appeals by this Court. See also Govt. of Virgin Is. v.

19.623 Acres of Land, 536 F.2d 566, 571 (3d Cir. 1976)

and Canfield v. Wis. Bd. of Attys Professional Comp., 490

—

a oe

F.Supp. 1286, 1290-91 (W.D. Wis. 1980), both of which

reflect searching inquiries by lower federal courts to

ascertain the issues decided in a summary adjudication

of the U.S. Supreme Court.

The Seventh Circuit itself, in a recent case, had occasion

to consider the specifie point raised here. In Chicago

Sheraton Corp. v. Zaban, 593 F.2d 808 (7th Cir.), cert.

dismissed, 444 U.S. 911 (1979), the Seventh Cireuit did

not feel compelled to limit its consideration to only the

jurisdictional statement and pleadings submitted to che

U.S. Supreme Court, but looked as well to “the opinion

of the Illinois Supreme Court, and the briefs filed by the

parties before that court.’’ 593 F.2d at 809.

Had the Seventh Circuit correctly applied Mandel and

given proper consideration to the opinion of the state

court in .L44, much less to the briefs submitted to that

court, it would have recognized that the issues in .1.44

were precisely the same as those at hand in the instant

case — whether the Dental Practice <Act’s prohibitions

against direct dealing by non-dentists with the public, or

advertising by non-dentists to the public, are violative

of due process and equal protection rights. That the

Seventh Cireuit strayed from established principles of

this Court and other federal courts is an additional reason

for granting the Writ of Certiorari requested.

=

CONCLUSION

ee

For these reasons, a writ of certiorari should issue to

review the judgment and opinion of the Seventh Cireuit.

Respectfully submitted,

Russet. M. Prvron

Counsel of Record

Mary Parricia CHAPIN

Craig A. VARGA

Pererson, Ross, ScHLOERB & SEIDEL

200 Kast Randolph Drive, Suite 7300

Chicago, Llinois 60601

(312) 861-1400

Attorneys for Petitioners,

Marcu 20, 198]

APPENDIX

—la—

APPENDIX

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For the Seventh Circuit

Chicago, Illinois 60604

Arened October 31, 1979

December 3, 1980

Before

Hon. THomas KE. Fatreuinp, Chief Judge

Hon. Luraen M. Swycerr, Cineuit Judge

Hon. Roperr A, Granr, Sentor District Judqe*

No. 79-1529

HELEN SCHILLER, et al.

Plaintiff s-.1pnellants,

ILLINOIS STATE DENTAL SOCIETY, et al.

Defendants Appellees,

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Tllinois Eastern Division.

No. 78 C 3986

JoHN Powers Crow ey, Judge.

ORDER

At issue is the constitutionality of the Tlinois Dental

Practice Act, Ill. Rev. Stat. ch. 111, §§ 2202 et seq. The

district court dismissed the class action complaint for

lack of a substantial federal question. Because we eon-

elude that a substantial federal claim has been stated, we

reverse and remand for further proceedings.

* Sitting by designation,

—

I

At the outset we note that the jurisdictional basis for

this action has heen imprecisely stated in the complaint.

Section 1983 jurisdiction is alleged but no “state action”

is specified and no state official is a party defendant. The

complaint docs allege, however, that the defendants TIli-

nois Dental Society, its oficers, and Julius W. Ulaneck

are ‘‘prosecuting actions’’ against plaintiff denturists. See-

tion 2244 of the Illinois Dental Practice Act, Ill. Rev.

Stat. ch. 111, § 2244, (“the Act”), provides:

The Attorney General for the State of Tllinois. the

State’s Attorney for any county in the State. or any

resident citizen may maintain an action in the name

of the people of the State of Tllinois to perpetually

enjoin any person from so unlawfully praeticine den-

tistry and from doing, committing or continuing of

such unlawful act.

(emphasis added.)

We infer that nlaintiffs are assertine jurisdiction under

section, 1343. 28 U.S.C. & 1342, on the basis that the le.

fendants hy erforeing the Act under section 2244 are

acting under color of state law.

In addition. a basis for jurisdiction under section 1331.

28 U.S.C. § 1331. though seemingly present in licht of

plaintiffs’ allegation that they have suffered more than

$1,000,000 in damages. is not set out in the complaint.

On remand, plaintiffs must amend their complaint. to

state more clearly the jurisdictional bases for this action,

II

Plaintiffs contend that the Tlinois Dental Practice Act

is unconstitutional as violative of hoth equal proteetion

and due process. According to section 2218 of the Act,

denturists may construct and repair dentures, bridees, or

replacements “exclusively, directly and solely for licensed

members of the dental profession, and not for the public

¢2 any part thereof.” In addition, denturists may not ad-

ae yee

vertise to the public “in any manner” the appliances eon-

structed and repaired or the serviees rendered but may

advertise only in dental trade journals and professional

publications, [Il Rev. Stat. ech. 111, ¢ 2218. Violations of

the Act are Class A misdemeanors, Hl. Rev. Stat. eh. 111,

§ 2242.

Plaintiffs argue that permitting dentists but net den-

turists to provide denture care and advertise directly to

the public is a violation of equal protection. Our first task

is to determine the proper standard of review. The right

to practice the profession for which one is trained, plain-

tiffs argue, is a fundamental right, making strict judicial

scrutiny the appropriate standard. We do not agree. In

Massachusetts Board of Retirement yv. Murgia, 427 US.

307 (1976), the Supreme Court held that there was no

fundamental right to government emplovment. Although

our ease involves private rather than public employment,

we agree with the trial judge that MWiurgia forecloses our

deciding that plaintiffs have a fundamental right to prac-

tice denturism. Therefore we must apply the traditional

rational basis test rather than strict serutiny in examining

the challenged statute.

Plaintiffs also allege that the statute violates due pro-

cess. Because we hold that the denturists have not been

denied a fundamental right, the due process challenge

must be decided on the basis of whether there is a rational

relationship between the prohibitions in the statute and

the legitimate state interests, if any, the statute was

enacted to serve. Although the due process and equal pro-

tection issues are conceptually different, for practical pur-

poses, they are here indistinguishable. If the statute is

rational, it must be upheld.

The express purposes of the Act are to protect the

publie health, safety and welfare and to further public

trust in the dental profession. Tll. Rev. Stat. ch. 111, §

2202. Those state interests are unquestionably legitimate

and if they are furthered by the statute, then it is consti-

—

a he

tutional even if the classifications contained therein are

imperfect, Dandridge v. Williams, 397 U.S. 471 (1970),

and even if the law is not ‘‘in every respect logically con-

sistent with its aims... .’? Williamson v. Lee Optical Co.,

348 U.S. 488, 487 (1954).

The problem we face is that there is simply no basis in

the record for deciding whether there is a rational rela-

tion between the statutory prohibitions and objectives.

Because the case was dismissed on the basis of the plead-

ings, we are presented with no facts on which to judge

the issues or apply the law. Plaintiffs allege that by pro-

hibiting denturists from providing denture care directly

to the public, the Act results in no or inadequate denture

care for a large segment of our elderly and edentulous

population. Simply stated, plaintiffs assert that the pub-

lic health, safety and welfare is only harmed by this stat-

ute. If that is true, the statute is not rationally related

to its goal. We believe that some evidentiary inquiry is

necessary to decide that issue fairly. In addition, it is not

clear from the pleadings that the statute’s other stated

purpose—to further respect for the dental profession—is

rationally related to prohibiting denturists from practicing

denturism. The State’s requirements for the licensing of

dentists are not challenged; nor do plaintiffs claim that

denturists are qualified to practice dentistry. In a similar

fact situation, the Fifth Circuit held that plaintiff chiro-

practors, who challenged the constitutionality of prohibit-

ing the practice of chiropractic in Louisiana, could not

be denied the opportunity to demonstrate that outlawing

the practice of chiropractic had no rational basis:

As we understand, the plaintiffs can claim no right

to practice medicine as that practice is engaged in by

medical doctors and surgeons. The question is whether

they can be constitutionally excluded from the prac-

tice of chiropractic. .. .

England v. Lowisiana State Board of Medical Exam., 263

¥.2d 661, 665 (5th Cir. 1959). As here, that case had been

dismissed by the district judge on the basis of the plead-

“ss

yt

—

ings for lack of a substantial federal question. The Fifth

Cireuit, while acknowledging that the plaintiffs’ burden

was great, reversed and remanded for a determination on

the basis of an evidentiary inquiry.

In Gault v. Garrison, 569 F.2d 993 (7th Cir. 1977), this

court faced an action by a public school teacher who al-

leged that mandatory retirement at age 65 violated her

equal protection and due process rights. We noted that in

light of Massachusetts Board of Retirement v. Murgia, 427

U.S. 307 (1976), our inquiry was limited to ascertaining

whether the requirement was rationally related to a legiti-

mate state interest. But although we recognized that the

requirement had to be assessed according to the relaxed

rational basis standard, we reversed the district court’s

dismissal on the basis of the pleadings:

It is no answer to say that a state ‘‘does not violate

the Equal Protection Clause merely because the clas-

sification made by its law are imperfect,’’? when these

classifications cannot be shown even to be rationally

related to the objective the state is attempting to

achieve... .

069 F.2d at 996 (citation omitted).

The decision in Murgia, we noted, was based on an evi-

dentiary record showing how the challenged levislation

related to a legitimate state purpose. In the absence of

any such factual showing, this court refused in Gault to

uphold the constitutionality of the state’s action.

We hold that soime evidentiary inquiry is required to

decide whether the challenged sections of this statute have

a rational basis.‘ In each of the cases relied on by the

district court, the decision that the state action was con-

stitutional was based not on the pleadings but on an evi-

* Although the plaintiffs’ burden is admittedly great,

we do not agree with appellees that this a case where the

rationality issue can be resolved on the basis of judicial

notice.

—

dentiary record. Vance v. Bradley, 440 U.S. 93 (1979);

Massachusetts Board of Retirement v. Murgia, 427 US.

307 (1976); Welliamson v. Lee Optical of Oklahoma, Inc.,

348 U.S. 483 (1955); Trafelet v. Thompson, 594 F.2d 623

(7th Cir. 1979).*

Circuit Rule 18 shall apply on remand,

REVERSED and REMANDED

* Although the constitutionality of this statute has been

challenged in previous litigation, see, e.g., Duncan v. Ward,

225 KF. Supp. 195 (N.D. Ill. 1963), those adjudications

are not binding on this court. In People v. AAA Dental

Laboratories, 8 Ill. 2d 330, 134 N.1.2d 285 (1956), the Il-

linois Supreme Court upheld the statute as constitutional,

reversing in part and affirming in part a decision by the

Illinois trial court that it was unconstitutional to prohibit

dental technicians from selling dentures directly to the

public but constitutional to permit only licensed dentists

to take the necessary impressions, give the order or pre-

scription and fit the dentures in the patient’s mouth. We

would be bound on this question onty by a decision of the

Supreme Court of United States. Hlowever, on appeal to

the United States Supreme Court, the case was dismissed

‘for want of a substantial federal question.’ 352. U.S.

863. Similarly, in tay v. Reuben H. Donnelly Corp., 20

Ul. 2d 153, 169 N.E 2d 321 (1960), the constitutionality

of a certain melee restriction in the statute was up-

held by the [linois Supreme Court. The United States

Supreme Court also dismissed that appeal for want of a

substantial federal question. 365 U.S. 299 (1961).

Those summary adjudications by the United States Su-

preme Court are decisions on the merits and if the issues

there decided are the same as those raised here, they are

controlling precedent. [Hicks v. Miranda, 422 U.S. 33 39, 345

(1975); Chicago Sheraton Corp. v. Zaban, 593 F.2d 808

(7th Cir. 1979). Summary adjudications by the Supreme

Court, however, have less precedential value than an opin-

ion on the merits and ‘*the precedential effect of a sum-

mary affirmanee ean extend no farther than ‘the precise

issues presented and necessarily decided by those ac-

tions.’’’ Illinois State Board of Elections yv. Socialist

anes TQ ame

* (Continued )

Workers Party, 440 U.S. 173, 182 (1979), quoting Mandel

v. Bradley, 432 U.S. 173, 176 (1977). The rationale of a

suinmary adjudication may not be gleaned from the opin-

ion below. Mandel v. Bradley, 432 U.S. at 176.

We have examined the jurisdictional statements and

pleadings submitted on appeal to the Supreme Court in

those cases, and we conclude that the issues on which the

Court based its dismissals are not dispositive of the in-

stant case. In AAA Dental Laboratories, Inc. vy. Illinois

ex rel. Chicago Dental Society, 352 U.S. 863 (1956), the

due process issue was whether the statute was rationally

related to its purpose where the right of a dental techni-

cian to practice his occupation depended solely on whether

he was employed by a dentist, without there being any

statutory qualifications for technicians or requirement that

a dentist supervise their work. The equal protection issue

also concerned the lack of statutory qualifications for

dental technicians, allegedly resulting in arbitrary deci-

sions by dentist as to which technicians would be employed.

The due process and equal protection issues before the

Court in Cordak vy. Reuben H. Donnelly Corp., 365 US.

299 (1961), involved the Act’s restriction of advertising

by dental technicians in business and telephone directories

to name, address, and telephone number listings. Not dis-

puting the legitimacy of preventing technicians from ad-

vertising to the public, appellants argued that the law was

irrational because it prevented technicians from adver-

tising important information to dentists as well.

In the instant case the issue is whether due process and

equal protection are violated because denturists are pre-

vented from providing denture care and advertising di-

rectly to the public. That issue is different from those

before the United States Supreme Court in the 444 Den-

tal Laboratories and Cordak cases and therefore those

decisions are not controlling.

—

Unpublished Per Curiam Order

JUDGMENT—ORAL ARGUMENT

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For the Seventh Circuit

Chicago, Illinois 60604

December 3, 1980

Before

Hon. Thomas IK. Fatrcuinp, Chief Judge

Hon. Luraer M. Swycerr, Circuit Judge

Hon. Roperrt A. Grant, Senior District Judge*

No. 79-1529

HELEN SCHILLER, et al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

vs.

THE ILLINOIS STATE DENTAL SOCIETY, an

Illinois not-for-profit corporation, et al.,

Defendants-Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division.

No. 78-C-3936

Judge Jounx Powers Crow rey

This cause was heard on the reeord from United States

District Court for the Northern District of Tlinois, East-

ern Division, and was argued by counsel.

On consideration whereof, IT IS ORDERED AND AD-

JUDGED by this Court that the judgment of the said

District Court in this cause appealed from be, and the

same is hereby REVERSED, with costs, and RE-

MANDED, in accordance with the provisions of the order

of this court entered this date.

* The Honorable Robert A. Grant, Senior District Judge

for the Northern District of Indiana, is sitting by desig-

nation.

—

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For the Seventh Circuit

Chicago, Illinois 60604

January 27, 1981

Before

Hon. Tuomas EK. Fatrcuiip, Chief Judge

Hon. Lutuer M. Swycert, Circuit Judge

Hon. Roserr A. Grant, Senior Judge*

No. 79-1529

HELEN SCHILLER, et al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

VS.

THE ILLINOIS STATE DENTAL SOCIETY, an

linois not-for-profit corporation, et al.,

Defendants-A ppellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Northern District of [llinois, Eastern Divison.

No. 78-C-3936

JoHn Powers Crow sey, Judge.

On consideration of the petition for rehearing and mo-

tion for clarification filed in the above-entitled cause by

defendants-appellees, all of the judges on the original

panel having voted to deny the saine,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the aforesaid petition

for rehearing be, and the same is hereby DENIED.

IT IS HEREBY FURTHER ORDERED that the mo-

tion for clarification be, and the same is hereby DENIED.

*The Honorable Robert A. Grant, Senior Judge from

the Northern District of Indiana, is sitting by designation.

— 10a —

In THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

For Tue Nortuern District Or ILuinors

EASTERN Drvision

HELEN SCHILLER, WALTER COLEMAN, UPTOWN

PEOPLES COMMUNITY SERVICE CENTER, an IIl-

nois not-for-profit corporation; UPTOWN PEOPLES

COMMUNITY HEALTH SERVICES BOARD OF DI-

RECTORS, INC., an Illinois not-for-profit corporation;

SAMUEL ABERNATHY and other individuals listed on

Exhibit ‘‘47’’ of the Complaint; and GARY HINTON,

WALTER DAUSCH, SAM AMENTA, JESSE GAU-

DARD, DONALD MARTIN, ARTHUR POTTS, NICK

DeANGELIS, MARK KUPER,. ROBERT SCHMITT,

ELMER E. HIGGERSON, CAROLINE BASONY, ED-

WARD UMBRICHT, THOMAS GAURA, ROBERT KOP-

FER, IRA JORDAN, ROBERT A. MARTIN, WILLIAM

NORRIS, IRVING WEISS, ROBERT YONKER, HAMA-

ZASB MKRDICHIAN, JOSEPH E. HOCH, JEROME

GETSLA, JOSEPH VINCI, EDWARD DAVISSON, ELI

SUTKER, WILSON G. SARGEANT, BRUNO ALONZO,

GEORGE HARTMANOWSKI, RAY ANDREWS, JOHN

BANE, ADELOR GIULIANO, MITCH BRONNER and

ANTHONY CARBONE,

Plaintiffs,

vs,

THE ILLINOIS STATE DENTAL SOCIETY, an IIli-

nois not-for-profit corporation, THE CHICAGO DENTAL

SOCIETY, an Illinois not-for-profiit corporation; JULIUS

W. ULANECK, DR. LOUIS V. FOURIE, DR. FRANK

A. SCHROEDER, DR. DOMINIC J. CATRAMBONE,

DR. BERT W. GILBERT, DR. GRANT A. MACLEAN,

DR. LEWIS L. WEIL, DR. ROBERT H. GRIFFITHS,

DR. RAFFAELE SURIANO, DR. JOHN MADONIA,

DR. THOMAS QUINN, DR. EDWARD TROUTT, DR.

DAVID VALENTINE, DR. THOMAS WALLEN, DR.

GEORGE KELLY and DR. RAYMOND. P. KOTZ,

Defendants.

No. 78 C 3936

—lla—

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

JoHn Powers Crow ey, District Judge

This case involves the constitutionality and legality of

the Illinois Dental Practice Act, Ill. Rev. Stat., Ch. 111,

$2202, et seq., and the meehods used to enforce that Act.

The plaintiffs are two individual residents and two not-

for-profit Uptown community organizations that are either

‘*concerned’’, ‘*devoted’’ or have as their ‘‘ principal pur-

pose’’ the dental health care needs of the poor of that

area,’ and several hundred individuals whose names are

enumerated in Exhibit 47 and who are ‘‘present and po-

tential consumers of dentures and denture services.’’? In

addition, various denturists*? are plaintiffs, and the ma-

jority of the alleged wrongful acts of defendants pertain

solely to this group.

Defendants are the Illinois State Dental Society and

the Chicago Dental Society,’ the Illinois Dental Labora-

tory Association,’ and various individual defendants who

are 1) all present or former officers of the Illinois State

Dental Society; 2) the program director of the Illinois

State Dental Society; and 3) presumably various other

‘The organizations are Uptown People’s Community

Service Center and Uptown People’s Community Health

Service Board of Directors.

* Denturists are allegedly persons who are trained to

make, fit and repair dentures,

“Both of these organizations are dentists’ trade asso-

clations.

‘Plaintiffs have failed to name the [linois Dental Labo-

ratory Association as a defendant in the caption of the

complaint, although that organization is mentioned as a

defendant in paragraph 3. The Tllinois Dental Laboratory

Association has moved to dismiss the cause against it on

the ground that plaintiffs have failed to comply with Fed.

R. Civ. P. 10(a). In light of the conelusion we reach in

this case, it is unnecessary to decide this issue.

—

dentists whom the complaint depicts merely as residents

and citizens of Illinois.

Defendants have moved to dismiss the complaint on a

variety of grounds. They challenged this Court’s juris-

diction, claiming that plaintiffs have failed to establish

a substantial federal question. Defendants also assert that

the non-denturist plaintiffs lack standing to bring this

action; that the action is barred by the equitable doctrine

of unclean hands, the federal anti-injunction statute, 28

U.S.C. §2283, the statute of limitations and the doctrines

of res judicata and abstention. In addition, defendants

contend that the complaint should be dismissed, because

it violates Fed. R. Civ. P. 8.

The complaint, which is hardly the short, concise state-

ment intended by Rule 8, lists not only the purported

wrongful acts of these defendants, but also sets forth a

comprehensive history of the dental profession and the

sociologicial and economic impact of the Illinois statute.

This Court, however. is concerned only with the factual

allegations relevant to the causes of action set forth and

the legal issues that arise from them.

The Illinois Dental Practice Act, Ill. Rev. Stat. Ch. 111,

$2202 et seq., is a comprehensive statutory scheme regu-

lating dentistry and various aspects of dental health care

in Illinois. The Act prohibits the practice of dentistry

without a license.’ Among acts which constitute the prac-

tice of dentistry are taking of impressions, replacing

Til. Rev. Stat. Ch. 111, §2242:

PENALTY FOR UNLAWFUL PRACTICE

Any person who practices or offers to practice den-

testry m this State without being licensed for that

purpose, or whose license has been suspended or re-

voked, or who violates any of the provisions of this

Act, for which no specific penalty has been provided

herein, is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.

— 13a —

teeth, and making and repairing dental prostheses.’ How-

ever, the Act exempts, from that definition, the extraoral

construction or repair of dentures and bridges, or replace-

ment of teeth when those services are requested by a

*Tll. Rev. Stat., Ch. 111, 2217:

PRACTICE OF DENTISTRY — ACTS CONSTI-

TUTING — PRIMA FACIE EVIDENCE — EX-

EMPTIONS

A person practices dentistry, within the meaning of

this Act:

* * *

(8) Who takes impressions of the human tooth,

teeth, or jaws or performs any phase of any Op-

eration incident to the replacement of a part of

a tooth, a tooth, teeth or associated tissues by

means of a filling, crown, a bridge, a denture or

other appliance; or

(9) Who furnishes, supplies, constructs, re-

produces or repairs, or offers to furnish, supply,

construct, reproduce or repair prosthetic dentures

(sometimes known as ‘‘plates’’), bridges or other

substitutes for natural teeth, to the user or pro-

spective user thereof;

* * *

The following practices, acts, and operations,

however, are exempt from the operation of this

Act:

* * *

(f) The performance of any dental service by

an appropriately trained dental assistant, if such

service is performed under the direction and im-

mediate supervision and full responsibility of a

dentist licensed under this Act, provided, however,

that such persons shall rot be allowed to perform

or attempt to perform any of the following ser-

vices:

* * *

6) Any and all taking of impressions for the

fabrication of orthodontic appliances, prosthetic

appliances, space maintainers, crowns, bridges,

splints, inlays, onlays, or other restorative or re-

placement dentistry.

— lda —

licensed dentist’, and that request is made on a written

work order.’ Soliciting or providing those services with-

"Tl. Rev. Stat. Ch. 111, $2218:

MANUIPPACTURE OF DENTURES, BRIDGES OR

REPLACEMENTS FOR LICENSED DENTISTS —

ADVERTISEMENTS

Licensed dentists may employ or engage the services

of any person, firm or corporation to construct or re-

pair, extraorally, prosthetic dentures, bridges, or

other replacements for a part of a tooth, a tooth, or

teeth. A person, firm or corporation, so employed or

engaged, when constructing or repairing such dentures,

bridges or replacements, exclusively, directly and

solely for licensed members of the dental profession,

and not for the public or any part thereof, shall not

be deemed or considered to be practicing dentistry as

defined m this Act.

STll. Rev. Stat. Ch. 111, $2219:

MANUFACTURE OF DENTURES, BRIDGES OR

REPLACEMENTS FOR LICENSED DENTISTS -

WORK ORDER — SUB-WORK ORDER — PEN-

ALTIES

(1) Any licensed dentist who employs or engages

the services of any person, firm or corporation to-

construct or repair, extraorally, prosthetic dentures,

bridges, or other replacements for a part of a tooth,

a tooth, or teeth, shall furnish such person, firm or

corporation with a written work order on forms pre-

scribed by the Department of Registration and Edu-

cation which shall contain: (a) the name and address

of the person, firm or corporation to which the work

order is directed. (b) The patient’s name or identifi-

cation number. If a number is used, the patient’s name

shall be written upon the duplicate copy of the work

order retained by the dentist. (c) The date on which

the work order was written. (d) A description of the

work to be done, including diagrams if necessary.

(e) A specification of the type and quality of mate rials

to be used. (f) The siqnature of the dentist and the

number of his license to practice dentistry.

— l5a —

out first supplying or obtaining a written work order con-

stitutes a misdemeanor.’ In addition, the Act prohibits

. (Continued)

(2) The person, firm or corporation receivmg a

work order from a licensed dentist shall retain the

original work order and the dentist shall retain a du-

plicate copy thereo/ for inspection at any reasonable

time by the Department of Registration and Educa-

tion or its duly authorized agents, for a period of 3

years in both cases.

(3) If the person, firm or corporation receiving a

written work order from a licensed dentist engages

another person, jirm or corporation (hereinafter re-

ferred to as ‘‘sub-contractor’’) to perform some of

the services relative to such work order, he or it shall

furnish a written sub-work order with respect there-

to on forms prescribed by the Department of Reqis-

tration and Education which shall contain: ( a) The

name and address of the sub-contractor. (b) A num-

ber identifying the sub-work order with the original

work order, which number shall be endorsed on the

work order received from the licensed dentist. (c) The

date on which the sub-work order was written. (d)

A description of the work to be done by the sub-

contractor, incliding diagrams if necessary. (e) A

specification of the type and quality of materials to

be used. (f) The siqnature of the person, firm or

corporation issuing the sub.work order. The sub-

contractor shall retain the sub-work order and the is-

suer thereof shall retain a duplicate copy, attached

to the work order received from the licensed dentist,

for inspection by the Department of Registration and

Education or its duly authorized agents, for a period

of 3 years in both cases,

°Tll. Rev. Stat. Ch. 111, §2219:

(4) Any licensed dentist who: (a) employs or en-

gages the services of any person, firm or corporation

to construct or repair, extraorally, prosthetic dentures,

bridges, or other dental appliances without first pro-

viding such person, firm, or corporation with a writ-

ten work order; or (b) fails to retain a duplicate copy

_

— l6a —

public advertisement of the products or services of firms

performing extraoral work for licensed dentists."

* (Continued )

of the work order for 3 years; or (c) refuses to al-

low the Department of Registration and Education or

its duly authorized agents, to inspect his files of work

orders, is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor and the

Department of Registration and Education may re-

voke or suspend his license therefor.

(5) Any such person, firm or corporation, who: (a)

furnishes such services to any licensed dentist with-

out first obtaining a written work order therefor from

such dentist; or (b) acting as a sub-contractor as de-

scribed in (3) above, furnishes such services to anu

person, firm or corporation, without first obtaining a

written sub-work order from such person, firm or cor-

poration; or (c) fails to retain the original work order

or sub-work order, as the case may be, for 3 years;

or (ad) refuses to allow the Department of Registra-

tion and Education or its duly authorized agents, to

inspect his or its files or work orders or sub-work

orders, is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.

Tll. Rev. Stat. Ch. 111, $2218:

However, it is unlawful for persons, firms or corpo-

rations so employed or engaged [rendering services

under licensed dentist work order], to advertise in

any manner the appliances constructed or repaired,

or the services rendered in the construction, repair

or alteration thereof, except, that persons, firms or

corporations so employed may announce in trade jour-

nals and professional publications which circulate

among members of the dental profession. their names,

the locations or places of their business, their office

hours, telephone numbers, and the fact that they are

engaged in the construction, reproduction or repair

of such appliances, together with such display adver-

tisements as disclose the character and application of

their work, and persons, firms or corporation so em-

ployed or engaged may furnish to licensed dentists

information regarding their products, materials, uses

and prices therefor. Announcement may also be made

by business card, in business and telephone direc-

—1fa—

The complaint is filled with faets and statistics about

the need for low cost dental health care. In essence, those

claims are that persons in need of dentures are coneen-

trated among the poor and elderly, and that the inflated

prices charged by dentists place the cost of dental jiealth

care beyond their means, The complaint avers that a

large majority of dentists do not construct dentures for

their patients; they send orders to dental technicians who

are trained to make and fit dentures. Plaintiffs assert

that denturism is a profession independent. of dentistry ;

that as uniquely trained professionals, denturists are Cap

able of direetly rendering their services to. the publie

without endangering the public health, and with the ef-

feet of providing services comparable to those given by

dentists at a fraction of the cost.

Generally, the complaint is divided among allegations

relating to the denturist plaintiffs and the consumer

plaintiffs and antitrust and constitutional violations. The

antitrust allegations pertaining to the denturist plain-

tiffs are that the defendants exercise a monopoly over,

and thus. are able to charge monopoly prices for, den-

tures and the services required for fitting dentures in

*° (Continued)

tories, and by signs located upon the premises where-

im the place of business is situated, but announce-

ments made by business card or in business and tele-

phone directories and signs shall not contain any

amount as a price or fee for the services rendered, or

to be rendered, or for any material or materials used

or to be used, or any picture or other reproduction

of a human head, mouth, denture or specimen of den-

tal work or any other media calling attention of the

public to their business. Announcements in business

and telephone directories shall he limited to name. ad-

dress and telephone number, and shall not occupy

more than the number of lines necessary to disclose

such information, The lettering on siqus shall be no

more than 7 inches in height and no illaminated or

glaring light signs shall be used,

— 18a —

violation of §2 of the Sherman Act," and that defendants

have entered into a contract, combination and conspiracy

in restraint of trade,"

The constitutional challenges are that the Illinois Den-

tal Practice Act violates denturists’ equal protection and

due process rights because it prevents them from prac-

ticing their profession directly with the public; that the

statute violates their rights to be free from involuntary

servitude as guaranteed by the thirteenth amendment as

their ability to engage in their profession is subrogated

to control by dentists; that the Act infringes on den-

turists’ First Amendment right to disseminate useful eom-

mercial information about their products and services:

that this infringement of their constitutional rights in

turn causes a violation of their equal protection and due

process rights; that defendants have entered into a eon-

spiracy to deprive denturists of equal protection and

privileges under the laws and their First Amendment

rights to speak and petition the legislature in violation of

42 U.S.C. §1985(3). Plaintiffs also charge defendants

with violation of their right to equal privileges and im-

munities under the law, 42 U.S.C. §1983."

In addition, the complaint avers that defendants have

engaged in acts that constitute unlawful business prac-

tices, unlawful competition and interference with eon-

tractual relationships contrary to Tllinois law.

115 U.S.C. 62.

215 U.S.C. 61.

“Count VIL of the complaint purports to state a claim

under 42 U.S.C. §1983(3). The allegations, however,

state that defendants have entered into a conspiracy

to deprive plaintiffs of equal privileges and immuni-

ties under the laws. Section 1983 does not. eontain

any subsections, nor does that statute provide a

‘ause of action for conspiracy. Thus, it is impossible

to determine on which civil rights statute the claim

is based.

— 19a —

Only Counts NIP and NIIP pertain to the consumer

plaintiffs, the Uptown organizations and concerned resi-

dents, Mssentially they charge defendants with violation

of the federal anti-trust laws, alleging that consumers

are foreed to pay monopolistic prices for dentures and

dental services,

As one of the grounds presented in defendants’ motion

to dismiss is a challenge to this Court’s jurisdietion, and

this contention bears on the inherent power of the court

to entertain the controversy, if is imperative to resolve

this issue,

It is undisputed that diversity of citizenship is not an

alternate basis for jurisdietion ino this case sinee all

parties are citizens of Tlinois. Plaintiffs claim that our

jurisdiction is founded on various federal statutes and

the doetrine of pendant and aneillars juriydietion.

Defendants answer that since all of plaintiffs’ elaims are

Without merit, there is no substantial federal question

and therefore, the cause should be dismissed,

The authority to hear claims arising under various

federal statutes and the Constitution presupposes that

those claims be of a substantial nature. Thus, although

“tlhe test for dismissal is a rigorous one and if there

is any foundation of plausibility to the claim federal juris-

diction exists.” 13> Wrieht & Miller, Fed. Prae. & Proe.

§3564, at 428, if the claim is frivolous and wholly without

merit, Southpark Square Ltd. vy. City of Jackson, 565 ¥,

2d 338 (5th Cir., 1977), cert. denied. con. epee . 98

S. Ct. 2849 (1978), or if prior decisions of the Supreme

Court clearly foreclose the federal claim. MWeLucas vy.

DeChamplain, 421 U.S. 21 (1975) the Court lacks sui jeet

inatter jurisdiction.

The Antitrust Allegations

Defendants argue that plaintiffs are barred from bring-

ing any action under the antitrust laws since the regula-

tion of denturists in the form of the Act falls within the

perimeters of the state action exception to the federal

— 20a —

antitrust laws. Plaintiffs have failed to support their

position regarding the sufficiency of their complaint in

light of the state action exemption. However, that doe-

trine should not be applied in a mechanical fashion, Kurek

v. Pleasure Driveway & Park District, 557 F. 2d 580, 589

(7th Cir., 1977), vacated on other grounds, 487 U.S. 992

(1978), and the allegations must be examined against the

breadth of the exemption.

In Parker v. Brown, 317 U.S. 341, 352 (1948), the

Supreme Court held that the Sherman Act did not apply

to a state’s anticompetitive regulation when the state im-

posed such regulations “as an act of covernment.” Since

that decision the Court has had occasion to refine the

holding in Parker. See City of Lafayette, Louisiana v.

Lousiana Power & Light Company, 485 U.S. 398 (1978),

Cantor v. Detroit Edison Company, 428 U.S. 579 (1975):

Goldbarb v. Virginia State Bar, 421 U.S. 773 (1975).

While the result of those decisions has heen to narrow

the scope of the exemption, it is clear that when a state

attempts to regulate a profession, in exercise of its police

power, those acts are not susceptible to attack under

federal antitrust statutes. Bates v. State Bar of Arizona

433 U.S. 350, 362, n. 16 (1977).

Accordingly, the task here is to determine whether

the Illinois Act and its enforcement by defendants is an

action by the state acting as sovereign and thus immune

from federal antitrust restrictions.

In Bates v. State Bar of Arizona, 483 U.S. 350 (1977),

the Supreme Court held that plaintiff's claims under the

Sherman Act were barred since the Arizona attorney dis-

ciplinary rule in question fell within the Parker v. Brown

exemption. The Bates decision provides several sign‘ fi-

cant factors that aid in the determination of the question

here. In order that the exemption be applicable it must be

determined 1) whether the regulation is truly the action

of the State; 2) whether the plaintiffs’ claims are ulti-

mately directed at the State; and 3) whether the regula-

tion furthers some policy by the State in order to avoid

bd

=

unnecessary and inappropriate subordination of the fed-

eral policy underlying the antitrust laws.

The Illinois Dental Practice Act is a statute enacted

by the Illinois legislature. As such, it is a direct and

affirmative command by the State concerning a_ vital

aspect of the health and safety of its citizens. There is

no question that in enacting the legislation the State was

acting as sovereign.

It does not apear that plaintiffs take issue with this

finding. However, they claim that in attempting to en-

foree the Act defendants are acting for their private

interests and that it is this activity that runs contrary to

antitrust prohibitions. Whatever defendants’ motivations

in seeking enforcement are, it is clear that plaintiffs’

claims are really direeted at the State.

The Illinois Aet permits the Attorney General, the

State’s Attorney, or “any resident citizen” to bring suit

against any person from unlawfully practicing dentistry.

Ill. Rey. Stat. Ch. ITT 42244. As Tllinois residents, defend-

ants, whether they he Illinois corporations or individual

citizens. are empowered to uphold the statute’s provi-

sions. In so doing, they are acting in a sense not as

individual citizens, hut as vindieators of the publie policy

embodied in the Act. Consequently, even thoueh the

statutes prohibitions buttress defendants’ pecuniary or

professional interests, plaintiffs’ claims against them are

actually directed against the State of Illinois. The fact

that the statutory scheme may sanction some private

restraint on trade is not sufficient to remove the legisla-

tion from the exemption. See New Motor Vehicle Board

of California v. Orrin W. For Company, 47 U.S.L.W.

4017 (Dee. 5, 1978).

There is further support for this eonclusion in Rates

v. State Bar of Arizona, 433 U.S. 350 (1977). In that

ease, although the State Bar of Arizona was named as

defendant, the Court found that the Arizona Supreme

Court was “the real party in interest,” 433 U.S. at 361. as

it was the latter body that had adopted the disciplinary

— 22a —

rule and was charged with its enforcement. Similarly, in

this ease, the Tlinois legislature is responsible for the

enactment of the statute in question, As the Arizona

Supreme Court delegated some enforeement authority to

the State Bar, the Mlinois Legislature depends on both

public officials and private citizens to aid in the enforee-

ment of the [linois Dental Practice Aet. Aceordingly,

plaintiffs’ claims are ultimately directed at the State of

Tllinois.

The health and welfare of its citizens is of primary

concern to a State. Indeed, the express purpose of the

act is to permit only qualified persons to practice den-

tistry in order to promote the public safety and welfare.

Hl. Rev. Stat. Ch. 111 $2202. Like the rule involved in

Rates, the legislation can be eontinuously reviewed and

amended as the legislature sees fit. Thus, “fo]ur eoneern

that federal poliey is being unnecessarily and inappropri-

ately subordinated to state poliev is redueed in sueh a

situation.” Bates v. State Rar of Arizona, 4883 U.S, 350

862 (1977).

The Dental Practice Act is precisely the type of legis-

lation that the Supreme Court contemplated ino carving

out a state action exemption to the federal antitrust laws.

Tt is a regulation designed to protect some general publhie

good or state interest. New Motor Vehicle Board of Cali-

fornia v. Orrin W. For Company, 47 USAW. 4017 (Dee.

9, 1978); Parker ve Brown, 317 U.S. 841 (1948). More-

over, federal interference is partienlarly disfavored when

the profession is one that has been traditionally regulated

by the state."

" Bates ve State Bar of Arizona, 433 US. 350, 362 &

n. 16 (1976),

Indeed, our decision today on the Sherman Aet

issue was presaged in Virginia Pharmacy Loard vy.

Virginia Consumer Council, 425 U.S. 738, 770 (1976),

We noted there: “Virginia is free to require what

ever professional standards it wishes of its phar-

mnacists; if may subsidize them or protect them from

competition in other ways. Cf. Parker vy, Brown, 317

U.S. 341 (19438).

— 23a —

The conclusion that the Act falls within the state ac-

tion exemption to the federal antitrust laws also forecloses

plaintiff denturists’ cause of action under $1 of the Sher-

man Act, 15 U.S.C. §1. Plaintiffs’ claims that defendants

threatened boycotts, retaliation and otherwise interfered

with contracts and business relationships of dental labor-

atories that dealth with plaintiffs amount to no more than

attempts to enforce the Act. Similarly, the allegations per-

taining to the numerous civil and criminal actions

brought against plaintiff denturists are without merit;

such activity is specifically authorized. Ill. Rev. Stat. Ch.

111, $2244. In addition, plaintiffs’ assertions that they

have been deprived of their right to petition the Jegisla-

ture is beyond the reach of the Sherman Act. Eastern

Railroad Presidents Conference vy. Noerr Motor Freight,

Inc., 365 U.S. 127 (1961).

Therefore, because the Dental Practice Act and efforts

to enforce it fall outside both the Sherman and Clayton

Acts, plaintiffs have failed to show that their claims are

meritorious since they are preeluded by prior Supreme

Court decisions. MeLucas vy. DeChamplain, 421 U.S. 21

(1975). Consequently, plaintiffs may not invoke this

Court’s jurisdiction under those statutes.

Equal Protection and Due Process Claims

The allegations of the complaint that refer to a violation

of the equal protection and due process rights of plaintiff

denturists are based on the initial premise that denturism

is a separate and independent profession. Plaintiff

denturists claim that allowing them to practice their pro-

fession by directly dealing with the publie would not en-

danger the health, safety and welfare of Tllinois citizens.

Therefore, the argument continues, because the Tllinois

Dental Practice Act subrogates denturists’ ability to prac-

tice their profession to the control of dentists, the Act

exceeds the constitutional limits of the state’s police

power.

Plaintiffs are correct in that the grant of authority con-

tained in the Tenth Amendment is limited hy the equal

protection and due process clauses of the Fourteenth

—

Amendmeut. Towever it is clear that “[t]he day is gone

when [a] Court uses the Due Process Clause of the Four-

teenth Amendment to strike down state laws, regulatory

of business and industrial conditions, because they may

be unwise, improvident, or out of harmony with a par-

ticular school of thought.” Williamson vy. Lee Optical of

Oklahoma, Inc., 348 U.S, 483, 488 (1955). Similarly in the

context of equal protection, unless a statute unnecessarily

affects a suspect class or impinges on a fundamental

right, a showing that the statute is rationally related to

the legislative objective is sufficient to pass constitutional

muster. See Vanee vy. Bradley, 47 U.S.1..W. 4176, 4177

(Feb. 22, 1979): Massachusetts Bd. of Retirement vy.

Murgia, 427 U.S. 307 (1976): San Antonio Independent

School District v. Williams, 411 U.S. 1 (1978).

Plaintiff denturists do not, nor could they refute that

standard. Rather, they arene that the right to practice

one’s profession is a fundamental right. Consequently,

they contend that the compelling state interest rather

than merely the rational relationship test is the appro-

priate standard,

We cannot agree that there is a fundamental right to

practice a profession free of any legislative prohibitions.

Tt is now firmly established in due process and equal pro-

tection jurisprudence that the fundamental nature of a

right does not depend on “comparisons of fits] relative

societal signifieance,” but rather whether it is “explicitly

or implicitly guaranteed by the Constitution.” San An-

tonio Independent School District y. Rodriquez, 411 U.S.

1. 33-34 (1973).

Plaintiffs have cited innumerable eases to support their

theory that this case involves a fundamental right en-

titled to strict judicial scrutiny. To the extent that those

decisions, e.g., People vy. Weiner, 271 Tl. 74. 110 N.E. 870

(1975), emerge from an era in which courts eustomarily

replaced the legislature’s judgment with their own. they

are obsolete, Williamson y. Lee Optical of Oklahoma,

Inc., 348 U.S. 483 (1955): Lasdon v. Hallahan, 377 Til. 187,

36 N.E. 2d 227 (1941). To the extent that they deal with

rights that have been deemed fundamental, e.g., Sherbert

— 5a —

v. Verner, 374 U.S. 398 (1963) (religion) : Shapiro vy.

Thompson, 394 U.S. 618 (1969) (interstate travel) ;

Fisenstadt v. Biard, 405 U.S. 488 (1972) (privacy), they

are inapposite.

We believe that our determination as to whether a

fundamental right is present here is controlled by Massa-

chusetts Board of Retirement y. Murgia, 427 U.S. 307

(1976). In that ease the Supreme Court held mandatory

retirement at age 50 did not violate a state police officer’s

equal protection rights, noting:

This Court’s decisions give no support to the

proposition that a right of eovernmental employment

per se is fundamental. [citations omitted]. Aceord-

ingly, we have expressly stated that a standard less

than strict serutiny “has consistently been applied to

state legislation restricting the availability of em-

ployment opportunities.” Massachuselts Board of

Retirement v. Murqia, 427 U.S. 807. 313 (1976), quot-

mg, Dandridge y. Williams, 897 U.S. 471, 485 (1970).

The faet that Murgia involved publie employment

rather than the pursuit of a private profession does not

detract from the conclusion that plaintiff denturists do

not have a fundamental right to practice their profession

free of any reasonable restraints. Indeed, in light of the

fact that in certain instances public employment gives

rise to greater Constitutional] euarantees, ef. Perry v.

Sindermann, 408 U.S. 593 (1972). that aspect of Murgia

buttresses the determination here. Thus. since plaintiff

denturists do not have a fundamental right to practice

their profession, all that is required is that the provisions

of the [linois Dental Practice Act he rationally related to

its purpose.

In this regard plaintiff denturists areue that the Court

should not imagine statutory objectives, They elaim that

in the very least they are entitled to a hearing which

would require the state to articulate the wrongs at which

the Act is aimed, and affirmatively establish that its terms

bear a rational relation to those ends.

— 26a —

A court should not fabricate legislative designs. How-

ever, once the statute’s objective is articulated, unless

the means chosen are wholly irrational, the legislature is

given a very wide latitude in fashioning ways to combat

the problem at which the statute is directed.

Recently, the Supreme Court has instructed that “those

challenging the legislative judgment must convinee the

eourt that the legislative facts on which the classification

is apparently based could not reasonably be conceived to

be true by the governmental decisionmaker.” Vance v.

Bradley. 47 U.S.L.W. 4176. 4181 (Feb. 22, 1979) (em-

phasis supplied). Plaintiffs have submitted an over-

whelming amount of data supposedly in an attempt to

show that there is no factual basis justifying the Act’s

treatment of denturists.

The plainiffs have misconstrued the scope of review.

Rather than examining all viable alternatives and render-

ing a decision on our eyaluataion of the wiser approach,

the review must focus solely on the alternative chosen by

the legislature and to determine whether there is any

rational basis for that choice,

The express purpose of the Dental Practice Aet is to

protect the public health and welfare. In addition, the

Aet purports to further publie trust in the dental profes-

sions and to ensure that only qualified persons practice

dentistry in I]linois.'

Tl. Rev. Stat. Ch. 111, §2202:

LEGISLATIVE DECLARATION—LIBERAL CON-

STRUCTION

The practice of dentistry in the State of Tllinois is

hereby declared to affeet the publie health, safety

and welfare and to he subject to regulation and econ-

trol in the public interest. It is further declared to

be a matter of publie interest and concern that the

dental profession merit and receive the eonfidence of

the publie and that only qualified persons be per-

mitted to practice dentistry in the State of Tllinois.

This Aet shall be liberally construed to ‘arry out

these objects and purposes.

— Zia —

The means selected to achieve those ends are to require

that any services rendered directly to a patient be per-

formed by a licensed dentist. The legislature has devised

standards to insure that those persons licensed have re-

ceived adequate edueation and training to perform those

funetions. Tl. Rev. Stat. Ch. 111, §2206.

The legislature could have coneluded that sinee the

dentist is charged with the overall dental health eare of

his patients, he is hest qualified to prescribe the most

beneficial type of oral prosthesis. The logislature may

have deeided that the training required of dentists makes

them most eapable to take impressions, ensure that the

necessary extraoral work is done in compliance with the

dentist’s professional standards and euarantee that the

dental fixtures fit properly.

In addition, the Hlinois legislature could have found

that trust in the dental profession would be promoted

only if all work was performed or, in the least. supervised

hy the dentist, making the dentist ultimately responsible

for the adequacy of the services. Many licensing require-

ments are enumerated in the Act. Tl. Rev. Stat. Ch. 111,

52206. The legislature mieht have feared that by permit-

ting non-licensed dental teehnicians to render direct serv-

lees to the publie. some technicians mieht have attempted

to perform funetions whieh only licensed dentists are

qualified to discharge. Moreover, the legislature may

have considered that such unlawful activities would be

more difficult to police were dental technicians permitted

fo treat patients independently. That the legislature

might have more effectively accomplished its purposes by

using less restrictive means is simply immaterial.

Plaintiffs’ argument that some dental health care

services do not require supervision of a licensed dentist

and that denturists are qualified to perform some services

which the statute delegates solely to dentists. is merely

another way of saying that the statute is both over- and

under-inelusive. It is elementary that when the standard

is the rational relationship test imperfect rationally is not

— 289 —

constitutionally fatal. Vance vy. Bradley, 47 U.S.L.W.

4176, 4180 (Feb. 22, 1979); Massachusets Board of

Retirement v. Murgia, 427 U.S. 307, 316 (1975), quoting,

Dandridge v. Williams, 397 U.S. 471, 485 (1970); Walliam-

son vy. Lee Optical of Oklaahoma, Inc., 348 U.S. 483, 487-

88 (1955); Trafelet v. Thompson, No. 78-1941, slip. Op.

at 8 (7th Cir., March 16, 1979),

There is nothing presented in the complaint that could

establish that the state was acting beyond the limits of

its police power. The abundant information concerning

the laws in Canada and other states that permit den-

turists to render their services directly to the public,

while interesting, is not sufficient to alter the conclusion

that plaintiffs’ claims under the due process and equal

protection clause are unmeritorious. It merely reinforees

the determination that state legislatures are better

equipped to make judgments about controversial matters

affecting the health and welfare of their constituents."

‘This ease does not present the first challenge to the

Illinois Act. See Duncan v. Ward, 925 F. Supp. 195

(N.D. TIL, 1963); People ex rel. Chicago Dental

Society v. A.AwA, Dental Laboratories, Inc., 8 Tl. 2d

330, 184 N.E. 2d 285 (1956): Lasdon v. Hallihan, 377

[ll]. 187, 36 N.E. 2d 227 (1941); People ex rel. Watson

v. Spinka, 58 Ill. App. 3d 729, 374 N.B. 9d (87

(1978); People ex rel. Illinois Dental Society v. Vinei,

35 Tl. App. 3d 474, 342 N.E. 2d 206 (1976).

In each of those cases the Illinois Dental Practice

Act was alleged to violate denturists’ equal protee-

tion and due process rights. Although Federe’

Courts are not bound by Illinois Courts’ decisions on

the United States Constitution, the rationale of these

opinions further demonstrates that there is no basis

for a claim that the legislative means are not ration-

ally related to the statute’s purpose,

In People ex rel. Chicaago Dental Society v. A.A.A,

Dental Laboratories, Inc. 8 Tl]. 2d 330, 333-35, 134

N.E. 2d 285, 288-89 (1956), the Illinois Supreme

Court, addressing arguments similar to those pre-

sented here, stated:

eee ee

—

Vance v. Bradley, 47 U.S.L.W. 4177, 4181 (Feb. 22, 1979) ;

Trafelet v. Thompson, No. 78-1941, slip. op. at 7 (7th

Cir.. March 16, 1979).

First Amendment Claim

Plaintiff denturists challenge the Illinois Dental Prac-

tice Act, Ill. Rev. Stat. Ch. 111, $2218, on the ground

that, by prohibiting public advertising ahout denturists’

products and services, it infringes on their right of free

speech. Extended discussion of this issue is unnecessary

since this claim is clearly without merit.

While commercial speech has been afforded some First

Amendment protection, Bates v. State Bar of Arizona,

*® (Continued)

The aim of the statute is to restrict the practice of

dentistry to licensed dentists with the exception that

extra-oral work on dental appliances may be done by

non-dentists who are employed, or employed by den-

tists who are to do it. To that end, dental technicians

are prohibited to do work on dental appliances direct-

ly for the publie. The evidence establishes that the

knowledge and skill of the dentist is necessary in the

diagnosis of the case, the taking of impressions, the

issuance of instructions of a prosthetic denture.

In our opinion the power of the legislature is not

exhausted when it has provided that there shall be

professional supervision at the ineeption and the eon-

clusion of what is essentially a single process. It

may, if it sees fit, go further and insure that respon-

sibility to the patient shall not be fragmented, and

it may foeus that responsibility upon a member of

the profession which it regulates. By that means,

compliance with the requirement that the dentist

shall fit the applianee in place and make the neces-

sary adjustments may he enhanced, proteetion

against inferior workmanship and materials and ex-

orbitant prices may be ensured, and the dentist can

be certain that the work for his patients is done by!

those in whose integrity, competence and skill he has

confidence.

— 30a —

433 U.S. 350 (1977): Virginia State Board of Pharmaacy

v. Viraimia Citizens Consumer Council, Inc., 425 U.S. 748

(1976), the Supreme Court has explicitly stated that

First Amendment guarantees are not applicable when the

underlying activity which is the subject of the advertise-

ment is illegal. Bates vy. State Bar of Arizona, 483 U.S.

390, 384, (1977). See also Pittsburg Press Company x.

Pittsburg Commission on Human Relations, 413 U.S. 376

(1973).

Under the THinois Act plaintiff denturists are not free

to perform their services directly on patients. In fact,

should they fail to obtain a written work order issued by

a licensed dentist they are subject to criminal charges for

a misdemeanor. Tl]. Rey. Stat. Ch. 111, £2219. Plaintiff

denturists do not claim that they are barred from pub-

lishing articles about the usefulness and benefits of their

profession in newspapers, magazines and professional

journals. Indeed, the exhibits attached to their eom-

plaint indicate that a plethora of articles has emereed on

that subject. Their sole contention is that they are

restricted from advertising serviees that the Aet. ex-

rlicitly forbids them from performing. First Amendment

protection of commercial simply does not extend that

far, and therefore plaintiffs’ assertion that they have

heen denied their rieht to free speech must fail.

Thirteenth Amendment Claim.

Plaintiff deturists’ claims that the Illinois Aet deprives

them of their right under the thirteenth amendment to be

free from involuntary servitude are frivolous. To estab-

lish a violation of the thirteenth amendinent. a showing

of compulsion is necessary. Flood v. Kuhn. 316 F. Supp.

271, 281 (S.D.N.Y., 1970), aff'd, 443 F. 2d 264 (2nd cn.

1971).

Plaintiffs have made no allegation that they are eom-

pelled to practice denturism: they are free to engage in

any other profession. Also the fact that their work is

subjected to the control and scrutiny of a licensed dentist

— 3la —

is insufficient to establish that they are unwillingly bound

to pursue a particular livelihood. All that is necessary to

enable denturists to perform their services directly on

their patients is to complete the education and training

required by he statute.’ Therefore, there is absolutely no

plausibility to plaintiffs’ thirteenth amendment allega-

tions, and consequently, no basis upon which to invoke

this Court’s jurisdiction.

Other Constitutional Clims

Plaintiffs purport to state claims for violation of 42

U.S.C. §§1983 and i985(3). To support their cause ot

action under §1983, plaintiffs claim that defendants have

continuously initiated civil and criminal actions against

them knowing the statute to be unconstitutional. These

allegations are spurious,

The Dental Practice Act expressly authorizes actions

against persons who practice dentistry without a license.

Ill. Rev. Stat. Ch. 111, $2244. Although plaintiffs allege

that the suits were knowingly brought in bad faith, there

is no support in fact for their position. Indeed, numerous

decisions have upheld the constitutionality of the Aet.

People ex rel. Chicago Dental Society v. A.A.A. Dental

Laboratories, Inc., 8 Ill. 330, 184 N.E, 2d 285 (1956);

Lasdon vy. Hallihan, 377 Ill. 187, 36 N.E. 2d 227 (1941);

People ex rel. Watson v. Spinka, 58 Ill. App. 3d 729, 374

Plaintiffs have alleged that two defendants, Suriano

and Madonia, have pressured and coereed educators

not to provide dental training for plaintiffs. While

this type of conduct cannot be sanetioned by the

Court, we think that the prohibitions of the thirteenth

amendment do not extend to those acts of defendants.

See, Flood vy, Kuhn, 316 F. Supp. 271 (S.D.N-Y.,

1979), aff'd, 443 I. 2d 264 (2d Cir., 1971) (require-

ment that baseball player play only for a particular

team or not at all does not violate thirteenth amend-

ment rights since he is free to pursue another liveli-

hood).

— 32a —

N.E, 2d 787 (1978); People ex rel. Illinois Dental Society

v. Vinci, 35 Ill. App. 3d 474, 342 N.B. 2d 206 (1976). One

would be hard pressed to imagine a situation in which the

validity of a statute was more clearly defined and ac-

cordingly, there is no merit to plaintiffs’ assertion that

by bringing lawsuits to enforce a valid statute, defen-

dants have infringed their constitutional rights.

With regard to the §1985(3) claim, the complaint avers

that defendants and others have conspired to ‘harass’’

laboratory technicians and denturists who profess to be

able to safely render their services directly to the public

as well as those who have attempted to influence and

inform the legislature about defendants’ practices. These

acts, plaintiffs claim, constitute a violation of their right

to free speech and to petition the legislature,

Insofar as the conspiracy to deprive plaintiffs of their

right of free speech, their claims are unmeritorious. A

similar conclusion concerning the conspiracy to deprive

plaintiffs of their right to petition the legislature is com-

pelled.

The complaint contains no facts pertaining to specific

tactics used by defendants to bar plaintiffs from obtain-

ing the legislature’s attention. Nevertheless, we can in-

fer, from other portions of the complaint, that defen-

dants’ lobbying techniques have been more effective.

These inferences, however, absent some articulated in-

stances of unlawful conduct, do not establish a violation

of §1985(3).

After a careful review of each claim of the complaint,"®

the Court is unable to find a tenable claim for violation

of the Constitution or any law of the United States. Aec-

cordingly, because no substantial federal question has

Plaintiffs have also alleged violations under Tllinois

law. Having found that there is no federal question

jurisdiction, and this being the initial stages of the law-

suit, we decline to exercise pendant jurisdiction over the

state law claims.

— 33a —

been presented, this Court is without jurisdiction to en-

tertain this action. The motion to dismiss is granted.

/s/ John Powers Crowley

John Powers Crowley

United States District Judge

Dated: April 6, 1979.

COUNSEL OF RECORD

FOSS, SCHUMAN & DRAKE

Sheldon Gardner, George C. Pontikes, Richard S,

Kuhlman

11 South LaSalle Street

Chicago, [llinois 60608

Attorneys for Plaintiffs

PETERSON, ROSS, SCHLOERB & SEIDEL

Russell M. Pelton, Pat Chapin

Suite 7300

200 East Randolph Drive

Chicago, Llinois 60601

Attorneys for Illinois State Dental Society, Chicago Den-

tal Society and Individual Defendants

MAX J. SATIN

One North LaSalle Street

Room 1015

Chicago, Illinois 60602

Attorney for Defendant, Illinois Dental Laboratory As-

sociation

=~ 94a —

In The

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

For The Northern District Of Illinois

Eastern Division

HELEN SCHILLER, WALTER COLEMAN, UPTOWN

PEOPLES COMMUNITY SERVICE CENTER, an II-

linois not-for-profit corporation; UPTOWN PEOPLES

COMMUNITY HEALTH SERVICES BOARD OF DI-

RECTORS, INC., an Illinois not-for-profit corporation ;

SAMUEL ABERNATHY and other individuals listed

on Exhibit ‘‘47’’ of the Complaint; and GARY HINTON,

WALTER DAUSCH, SAM AMENTA, JESSE GAU-

DARD, DONALD MARTIN, ARTHUR POTTS, NICK

DeANGELIS, MARK KUPER, ROBERT SCHMITT,

ELMER E. HIGGERSON, CAROLINE BASONY, ED-

WARD UMBRICHT, THOMAS GAURA, ROBERT

KOPFER, IRA JORDAN, ROBERT A. MARTIN, WIL-

LIAM NORRIS, IRVING WEISS, ROBERT YONKEE,

HAMAZASB MKRDICHIAN, JOSEPH KE. HOCH,

JEROME GETSLA, JOSEPH VINCI, EDWARD DA.

VISSON, ELI SUTKER, WILSON 4G. SARGEANT,

BRUNO ALONZO, GEORGE HARTMANOWSKI, RAY

ANDREWS, JOHN BANE, ADELOR GIULIANO,

MITCH BRONNER and ANTHONY CARBONE,

Plaintiffs,

vs.

THE ILLINOIS STATE DENTAL SOCIETY, an II-

linois not-for-profit corporation, THE CHICAGO DEN-

TAL SOCIETY, an Illinois not-for-profit corporation;

JULIUS W. ULANECK, DR. LOUIS V. FOURIE, DR.

FRANK A. SCHROEDER, DR. DOMINIC J. CATRAM-

BONE, DR. BERT W. GILBERT, DR. GRANT A.

MACLEAN, DR. LEWIS L. WEIL, DR. ROBERT H.

GRIFFITHS, DR. RAFFAELE SURIANO, DR. JOHN

MADONTA, DR. THOMAS QUINN, DR. EDWARD

TROUTT, DR. DAVID VALENTINE, DR. THOMAS

WALLEN, DR. GEORGE KELLY and DR. RAYMOND

P. KOTZ,

Defendants.

— 35a —

No. 78 © 3936

JUDGMENT ORDER

John Powers Crowley, District Judge

In accordance with the memorandum opinion and order

entered in this cause, judgment is entered in favor of

the defendants, The Tllinois State Dental Society, an [l-

linois not-for-profit corporation, The Chicago Dental

Society, an Tllinois not-for-profit corporation; Juhus W.

Ulaneck, Dr. Louis V. Fourie. Dr. Frank A. Schroeder,

Dr. Dominie J. Catrambone, Dr. Bert W. Gilbert, Dr.

Grant A. Maclean, Dr. Lewis L. Weil, Dr. Robert H.

Griffiths, Dr. Raffaele Suriano, Dr. John Madonia, Dr.

Thomas Quinn, Dr. Edward Troutt, Dr. David Valen-

tine, Dr. Thomas Wallen, Dr. George Kelly and Dr. Ray-

mond P. Kotz, and against the plaintiffs, Helen Schiller,

Walter Coleman, Uptown Peoples Community Service

Center, an Illinois not-for-profit corporation; Uptown

Peoples Community Health Services Board of Directors,

Ine, an [llinois not-for-profit corporation; Samuel Aber-

nathy and other individuals listed on Exhibit ‘*47’? of

the Complaint; and Gary Hinton, Walter Dausch, Sam

Amenta. Jesse Gandard, Donald Martin, Arthur Potts,

Nick DeAngelis, Mark Kuper, Robert Schmitt, Elmer FE.

Higgerson, Caroline Basony, Mdward Uibricht, Thomas

Gaura, Robert Kopfer, Ira Jordan, Robert A. Martin,

William Norris. Irving Weiss, Robert Yonukee, Hamazasb

Mkrdichian, Joseph EF. Hoch, Jerome Getsla, Joseph Vinei,

Edward Davisson, fli Sutker, Wilson G. Sargeant, Bru-

no Alonzo, George Hartmanowski, Ray Andrews, John

Bane, Adelor Giuliano, Mitch Bronner and Anthony Car-

bone.

/s/ John Powers Crowley

John Powers Crowley

United States District Judge

Dated: April 6, 1979.

— 36a —

ILLINOIS REVISED STATUTES

CHAPTER 111-PROFESSIONS AND OCCUPATIONS

Conversion Table From Chapter 91

(Illinois Dental Practice Act)

Tll.Rev.Stat. Ill.Rev.Stat. Tll.Rev.Stat. Ill.Rev.Stat.

1975 1977 1975 1977

Ch. 91 Ch. 111 Ch. 91 Ch, 111

Sec See. See See

SUNNE cculsedsiaekesscocicameeuan 2202 Rae i OR Rianne eee 2233

MU seascsanensadcstecccnsanierenaaces 2203 ___ERGRNGPERS NERS rant eee Rie toe 2234

SEN: ‘score ioastdncabasancananensainl 2204 Raa Aan oe 2235

MNT -sudesieinceechaneeddassateae 2205 elec cg etre ee eo 2236

MEF aixesseabieestnonsosndtveneinteit 2206 _ Bae OTN any emir p oN Ore 2237

___ PR eee Neon 2207 CO Seen Tene 9238

SO. <cscitelsorioedsteataneonncven nts 2208 Be Paarl le rete ree ten? 2239

SIU - seasvesianonecubouneascaninatues 2209 | Easel ce Ne eee 9940

GN: shack caastnseceenaenctaeneind 2210 ents SONOS 2a ee 9941

EP cou baatncisabiemalnenaniens 2211 “ee eer ae 9949

RR eivisereceeinssansinsannciesthn A (ee ees 9243

PUM. svcnsastonsisserncneianiessiies | a. 2244

SED acniasdnicondeutigsvcoacesss 2214 Ee ee a5 9945

I ssscncersetenpecxncaressnecinitis de [eee 2246

OE senvexsscaticassicavanronnnsie ne eee 2247

NUUP givisaseinsatisconesae-eesemererind 2217 ANNE Drs nescrs esr 9248

GAM crcenssincerisonsinmectentesaas ee On ee 2249

TE Ie uP nDRNe = SOE 2219 MEP ASE NSS USS 9950

GOO crcccrssesssrsssesenscnceessones gS, CURSRER CE eae 2251

a eae INE! 2221 | RpAn esate tier eaN eAMe 9959

OEP as sriatlentua cesadetcuceepevenada 2222 ETE Es 9953

2: RR Oe oe NO neY 2223 Fee RE ren: 9254

Seren Se ae 2224 RANE E AR Cenk ER Gree 9955

NY v ecisnicacicsaeacateconcut 2225

RID cvnsdcstsakitesn aiudiscatatl 2226

Ree: 2227

ROR eee 2228

RE none 2229

Sanaa es 2230

_ er 2231

— ) eo

§ 2202. Legislative declaration—Liberal construction

The practice of dentistry in the State of Illinois is

hereby declared to affect the public health, safety and

welfare and to be subject to regulation and control in

the public interest. It is further declared to be a matter

of public interest and concern that the dental profession

merit and receive the confidence of the public and that

only qualified persons be permitted to practice dentistry

in the State of Illinois. This Act shall be liberally con-

strued to carry out these objects and purposes.

Laws 1909, p. 277, § la, added by Laws 1945, p. 977, § 1,

eff. May 24, 1945.

§ 2206. Necessity of license—Application—Fee—Eligibil-

ity—Examination

No person, unless previously registered or licensed to

practice dentistry in this State at the time this Act shall

become operative, shall begin the practice of dentistry or

dentistry or dental surgery, or any branches thereof,

without first applying for an obtaining a license for such

purpose from the Department of Registration and Educa-

tion, hereinafter referred to as the ‘‘department.’’ Ap-

plication shall be made to the department in writing,

and shall, in every instance, be accompanied by the exam-

ination fee of $50, together with satisfactory proof that

the applicant is of good moral character, is a citizen of

the United States or has made a declaration of intention

to become a citizen or, having made such declaration of

intention, has filed a petition for naturalization within

30 days after becoming eligible to do so and is 21 years

of age or over at the time of making the application.

Subject to the provisions of Section 3a,’ an application

from a candidate who desires to secure a license from

the department to practice dentistry or dental surgery

in this State shall be accompanied by satisfactory proof

that the applicant so applying for a license has been en-

gaged in the actual, legal and lawful practice of dentistry

* Chapter 111, § 2207.

—

or dental surgery in some other state or territory for

5 consecutive years immediately prior to such applica.

tion; or is a graduate of, and either has a diploma from,

the facility of a reputable dental college, school or dental

department of a reputable university, or has completed

all of the requirements for graduation from such dental

college, school or university and has delivered to the

department a certificate executed under the seal institu-

tion by the dean, registrar or other duly authorized officer

thereof, certifying to such completion and specifying the

date upon which such applicant will receive his diploma;

provided that in no event shall the department issue or

cause to be issued to such applicant any license until he

has actually obtained such diploma and exhibited same

to the department. When such application and the accom-

panying proof are found satisfactory, the department

shall notify the applicant to appear before it for exam-

ination at a time and place to be fixed by the department.

Examination shall be made in writing in all theoretic sub-

jects, both theoretic and practical examinations shall be

of a character to give a fair test of the qualifications of

the applicant to practice dentistry or dental surgery. The

examination papers and all grading thereon, and the

grading of the practical work, shall be deemed public

documents, and preserved for a period of not less than

2 years after the department shall have made and pub-

lished its decisions thereon. All examinations provided

for in this Act shall be conducted by the department under

fair and wholly impartial methods. A fee of $25) shall

be charged for each subsequent examination.

If an applicant neglects, fails or refuses to take an

examination for registration under this Act within 3

years alter filing his application, the fee paid by the

applicant shall be forfeited to the department and = the

application denied. However, such applicant may there-

after make a new application for examination, aecom-

panied by the required fee.

Laws 1909, p. 277, § 3. eff. June 11, 1909. Amended by

Laws, 1915, p. 497, § 1, eff. June 25, 1915; Laws 1935,

— 39a —

p. 965, § 1, eff. July 10, 1935; Laws 1939, p. 713, § 1,

eff. July 13, 1939; Laws 1963, p. 1512, § 1, eff. July 15,

1963; P.A. 76-78, § 1, eff. July 1, 1969; P.A. 79-291, § 1,

eff. Aug. 4, 1975.

§ 2217. Practice of dentistry—Acts constituting—Prima

facie evidence—Exemptions

A person practices dentistry, within the meaning of

this Act:

(1) Who uses a dental degree, or designation, or eard,

device, directory, sign, or other media whereby he re-

presents himself as being able to diagnose, treat, prescribe,

or operate for any disease, pain, deformity, deficiency,

injury, or physical condition of the human tooth, teeth,

alveolar process, gums or jaw; or

(2) Who is a manager, proprietor, operator or con-

ductor of a place where dental operations are performed;

or

(3) Who performs dental operations of any kind gra-

tuitously, or for a fee, gift, compensation or reward,

paid, either to himself or to another person or agency; or

(4) Who uses a roentgen or X-Ray machine for dental

treatment, roentgenograms or for dental diagnostic pur-

poses; or

(5) Who extracts a human tooth or teeth or corrects or

attempts to correct malpositions of the Human teeth or

jaws; or

(6) Who offers and undertakes, by any means or

method, to diagnose, treat or remove stains or concretions

(accretions) from human teeth or jaws; or

(7) Who uses or administers local or general anesthe-

tics in the treatment of dental or oral diseases or in any

preparation incident to a dental operation of any kind

of' character; or

(8) Who takes impressions of the human tooth, teeth,

or jaws or performs any phase of any operation incident

"So in enrolled bill. Probably should read ‘‘or’’,

— 4a —

to the replacement of a part of a tooth, a tooth, teeth

or associated tissues by means of a filling, crown, a bridge,

a denture or other appliance; or

(9) Who furnishes, supplies, constructs, reproduces or

repairs, or offers to furnish, supply, construct, reproduce

or repair prosthetic dentures (sometimes known as

‘*plates’’), bridges or other substitutes for natural teeth,

to the user or prospective user thereof; or

(10) Who performs any clinical operation included in

the curricula of reeognized dental schools and colleges.

‘he fact that any person engages in or performs, or

offers to engage in or perform, any of the practices, acts,

or operations set forth in this Section, shall be prima

facie evidence that such person is engaged in the practice

of dentistry.

The following practices, acts, and operations, however,

are exempt from the operation of this Act:

(a) The rendering of dental relief in emergency cases

in the practice of his profession by a physician or sur-

geon, licensed as such and registered under the laws of

this State, unless he undertakes to reproduce or reproduces

lost parts of the human teeth in the mouth or to restore

or replace lost or inissing teeth in the mouth; or

(b) The practice of dentistry in the discharge of their

Official duties by dentists in any branch of the Armed

Services of the United States, the United States Public

Health Service, or the United States Veterans Bureau; or

(c) Dental schools or colleges as now conducted and

approved, or as may be approved, by the Department of

Registration and Edueation, and the practice of dentistry

by students or clinical instructors in the course of their

teaching duties in dental schools or colleges approved by

the Department, when acting under the direction and

supervision of registered and licensed dentists acting as

instructors; or

(d) The practice of dentistry by licensed dentists of

other states or countries at meetings of the Illinois State

Dental Society or component parts thereof, alumni meet-

— 4la —

ings of dental colleges, or any other like dental organiza-

tions, while appearing as clinicians; or

(e) The use of roentgen or other rays for making roent-

genorgrams or similar records of dental or oral tissues

provided, that such service shall not be offered to the

public by any name whatsoever, as an aid or inducement

to secure dental patronage; or

(f) The performance of any dental service by an ap-

propriately trained dental assistant, if such service is

performed under the direction and immediate supervision

and full responsibility of a dentist licensed under this

Act, provided, however, that such persons shall not be

allowed to perform or attempt to perform any of the

following services:

1) Any and all diagnosis of or prescription for treat-

ment of disease, pain, deformity, deficiency, injury or

physical condition of the human teeth or jaws, or adjacent

structures.

2) Any and all removal of or restoration or addition

to the hard or soft tissues of the oral cavity.

3) Any and all correction of malformation of teeth or

of the jaws.

4) Administration of anesthetics (other than topical),

except that said person may assist the dentist with this

procedure.

D) Any removal of concretions (accretions) from human

teeth.

6) Any and all taking of impressions for the fabrica-

tion of orthodontic appliances, prosthetic appliances,

space maintainers, crowns, bridges, splints, inlays, on-

lays, or other restorative or replacement dentistry.

7) For the purpose of this subsection (f), ‘‘dental

service’’ is defined to mean any intra-oral act which is

included within the definitions of dentistry in Section

5, Paragraphs (1) through (10) of the Act but shall not

include:

i. Any intra-oral service specifically forbidden by

this subsection (f) or

— 42a —

ii. Any intra-oral procedure specifically granted to

registered dental hygienists by Section 4(c) of this

Act.? In addition, a dental hygienist may perform

all services which may be performed by any appro-

priately trained dental assistant.

Laws 1909, p. 277, § 5, eff. June 11, 1909. Amended by

Laws 1929, p. 551. § 1, eff. June 18, 1929; Laws 1933, p.

708, § 1, eff. July 7, 1933; Laws 1939, p. 714, § 1, eff.

July 26, 1939; Laws 1945, p. 977, §1, eff. May 24, 1945;

Laws 1963, p. 2686, § 1, eff. Aug. 9, 1963; P.A. 79-290,

§ 1, eff. Oct. 1, 1975; P.A. 79-555, § 1, eff. Oct. 1975;

P.A. 79-1454, § 40, eff. Aug. 31, 1976.

§ 2218. Manufacture of dentures, bridges, or replace-

ments for licensed dentists—Advertisements

Licensed dentists may employ or engage the services

of any person, firm or corporation to construct or repair,

extraorally, prosthetic dentures, bridges, or other replace-

ments for a part of a tooth, a tooth, or teeth. A person,

firm or corporation, so employed or engaged, when con-

structing or repairing such dentures, bridges or replace-

ments, exclusively, directly and solely for licensed mem-

bers of the dental profession, and not for the public or

any part thereof, shall not be deemed or considered to

be practicing dentistry as defined in this Act. However,

it is unlawful to persons, firms or corporations so em-

ployed or engaged, to advertise in any manner the ap-

pliances constructed or repaired, or the services rendered

in the construction, repair or alteration thereof, except.

that persons, firms or corporations so employed may an-

nounce in trade journals and_ professional publications

which circulate among members of the dental profession,

their names, the locations or places of their business,

their office hours, telephone numbers, and the fact that

they are engaged in the construction, reproduction or re-

pair of such appliances, together with such display ad-

vertisements as disclose the character and application of

* Chapter 111, § 2215.

— 43a —

their work, and persons, firms or corporations so em-

ployed or engaged may furnish to licensed dentists in-

formation regarding their products, materials, uses and

prices therefor. Announcement may also be made _ by

business card, in business and telephone directories, and

by signs located upon the premises wherein the place of

business is situated, but announcements made by busi-

ness card or in business and telephone directories and

signs shall not contain any amount as a price or fee for

the services rendered, or to be rendered, or for any

materials used or to be used, or any picture or other

reproduction of a human head, mouth, denture or . veci-

ment of dental work or any other media ealling attention

of the public to their business. Announcements in busi-

ness and telephone directories shall be limited to name,

address and telephone number, and shall not occupy more

than the number of lines necessary to disclose such in-

formation. The lettering on signs shall be no more than

7 inches in height and no illuminated or glaring light

signs shall be used.

Laws 1909, p. 277, § 5a, added by Laws 1945, p. 977, § 1,

eff. May 24, 1945. Amended by Laws 1959, p. 1461, § 1

eff. July 17, 1959.

§ 2219. Manufacture of dentures, bridges or replace

ments for licensed dentists—Work order—Sub-

work order-Penalties

(1) Any licensed dentist who employs or engages the

services of any person, firm or corporation to construct

or repair, extraorally, prosthetic dentures, bridges, or

other replacements for a part of a tooth, a tooth, or

teeth, shall furnish such person, firm or corporation with

a written work order on forms prescribed by the De-

partment of Registration and Education which shall con-

tain: (a) the name and address of the person, firm or

corporation to which the work order is directed. (b)

The patient’s name or identification number. If a number

is used, the patient’s name shall be written upon the

dupheate copy of the work order retained by the dentist.

— 44a —

(c) The date on which the work order was written. (d) A

description of the work to be done, including diagrams if

necessary. (e) A specification of the type and quality of

materials to be used. (f) The signature of the dentist

and the number of his license to practice dentistry.

(2) The person, firm or corporation receiving a work

order from a licensed dentist shall retain the original

work and the dentist shall retain a duplicate copy there-

of for inspection at any reasonable time by the Depart-

ment of Registration and Education or its duly authorized

agents, for a period of 3 years in both cases.

(3) If the person, firm or corporation receiving a

written work order from a licensed dentist engages

another person, firm or corporation (hereinafter referred

to as ‘‘sub-contractor’’) to perform some of the services

relative to such work order, he or it shall furnish a

written .ub-work order with respect thereto on forms

prescribed by the Department of Registration and Eduea-

tion which shall contain: (a) The name and address of

the sub-contrator. (b) a number identifying the sub-

work order with the original work order, which number

shall be endorsed on the work order received from the

licensed dentist. (c) The date on which the sub-work

order was written. (d) A description of the work to be

done by the sub-contractor, including diagrams if neces-

sary. (e) A specification of the type and quality of

materials to be used. (f) The signature of the person,

firm or corporation issuing the sub-work order. The

sub-contractor shall retain the sub-work order and the

issuer thereof shall retain a duplicate copy, attached to

the work received from the licensed dentist, for inspeet-

tion by the Department of Registration and Education or

its duly authorized agents, for a period of 3 years in

both cases.

(4) Any licensed dentist who: (a) employs or engages

the services of any person, firm or corporation to con-

struct or repair, extraorally, prosthetic dentures, bridges,

or other dental appliances without first providing such

person, firm or corporation with a written work order;

— 45a —

or (b) fails to retain a duplicate copy of the work order

for 3 years; or (c) refuses to allow the Department of

Registration and Education or its duly authorized agents,

0 inspect his files of work orders, is guilty of a Class A

misdemeznor and the Department of Registration and

Education may revoke or suspend his license therefor.

(5) Any such person, firm or corporation, who: (a)

furnishes such services to any licensed dentist without

first obtaining a written work order therefor from such

dentist; or (b) acting as a sub-contractor as described

in (3) above, furnishes such services to any person, firm

or corporation, without first obtaining a written sub-

work order from such person, firm or corporation; or

(c) fails to retain the original work order or sub-work

order, as the case may be, for 3 years; or (d) refuses

to allow the Department of Registration and Education

or its duly authorized agents, to inspect his or its files of

work orders or sub-work orders, is guilty of a Class A

misdemeanor.

Laws 1909, p. 277, § 5b, added by Laws 1959, p. 1461,

§ 1, eff. July 17, 1959. Amended by P.A. 77-2830, Art.

68, § 1, eff. Jan. 1, 1973.

§ 2242. Penalty for unlawful practice

Any person who practices or offers to practice dentistry

in this State without being licensed for that purpose,

or whose license has been suspended or revoked, or who

violates any of the provisions of this Act, for which no

specific penalty has been provided herein, is guilty of a

Class A misdemeanor.

Laws 1909, p. 277, § 16, eff. June 11, 1909. Amended

by Laws 1933, p. 708, § 1, eff. July 7, 1933; Laws 1945,

p. 977, § 1, eff. May 24, 1945; Laws 1963, p. 2772, § 1,

eff. Aug. 13, 1963; P.A. 77-2713, § 1, eff. Jan. 1, 1973.

— 46a —

§ 2244. Unlawful practice as public nuisance—Injunction

The practice of dentistry by any person who has not

been duly licensed so te pratice or whose license has

been suspended or revoked, or the doing, committing or

continuing of any of the acts enumerated in Sections 5a,

18, 18a and 18b' by any person or persons, whether licensed

dentists or not, is hereby declared to be inimical to public

health and welfare and to constitute a public nuisance.

The Attorney General for State of Lllinois, the State’s

Attorney for any county in the State, or any resident

citizen may maintain an action in the name of the people

of the State of Illinois to perpetually enjoin any person

from so unlawfully practicing dentistry and from the

doing, committing or continuing of such unlawful act.

In all proceedings hereunder the court, in its discretion,

may apportion the costs among the parties interested in

the suit, including cost of filing complaint, service of

process, witness fees and expenses, court reporter charges,

reasonable attorneys fees. This proceeding shall be in

addition to and not in lieu of criminal prosecutions or

proceedings to revoke or suspend licenses as authorized

by this Act.

Laws 1909, p. 277, § 17a, added by Laws 1945, p. 977, §

1, eff. May 24, 1945. Amended by Laws 1963, p. 2773, §

1, eff. Aug. 13, 1963; Laws 1965, p. 3597, § 1, eff. Aug.

24, 1965.

‘Chapter 111, $4 2218, 2247, 2248.

— 47a —

In the

Supreme Court of the Anited States

OcroBer Term, 1956

No. 311

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, ex rev.

CHICAGO DENTAL SOCIETY, erc., er ax..

Appellees,

vs.

A A A DENTAL LABORATORIES, ING., ETC., ET AL.,

(Defendants),

A-l DENTAL PLATE LABORATORY COMPANY,

INC.,

AN ILLINOIS CORPORATION, ET AL.,

AND

MARTIN DORNER, porne susiness as CAPITOL

DENTAL LABORATORIES, erc., er oe

Appellants.

APPEAL FROM THE SupreME Court or THE STATE OF

ILLINOIs.

STATEMENT AS TO JURISDICTION

Werner W. Scuroeper and

Ouiver C. Heywoon,

One N. La Salle Street,

Chicago 2, Illinois,

Attorneys for Appellants.

Dated, August 10, 1956.

— 49a —

INDEX

PAGE

re en i ae ee 1

The Grounds on Which the Jurisdiction of This Court

Se IN Shas cidhiccanssecuavescexucotaacensees MeN aR Vem etey Baa 2

Nature of the Proceedings ....0..........ccccccsscsssssssssssecesee

Date of Judgment and of Notice of Appeal ........

The Statutory Provisions Believed to Confer Ju-

risdiction of the Appeal ...........cccsssrsccsssssccsssssssees H)

Cases Believed to Sustain the Jurisdiction 0.0.0.0... dD

BM POUMCMGS TRVOEV OR oc ccccssescccesesscsescossnsssosvecscssoseccedsores 6

Questions Presented by This Appeal ues 6

The Facts Material to Consideration of the Questions

Si 4 ETT TILE INCRE EOE RAT TREO Cie D 7

Reasons Why the Questions Presented Are so Sub-

stantial as to Require Plenary Consideration. ........ 10

APPENDIX.

Illinois Dental Practice Act o...cccscscscsessssssssssessesssssees 21

Opinion of Supreme Court of Illinois co.ccccccccceccseeeee. 48

Judgment of Supreme Court of Tlinois voce. 58

Order of Supreme Court of Illinois, Denying Petition

I aptece ats 60

TABLE OF Cases AND Srarures Crrep.

Cases Crren.

Adams v. Tanner, 244 U. S. 590 wocccccccccccccccoseoseoccoseess, 6

Amsel v. Brooks, 141 Conn. 288, 106 A. 2d 152, 348

RI I Seder als acc cucisiel caiteca Onn IC 8 lie 12

PREVIOUS PAGE WAS BLANK

il

PAGE

Berry v. Summers, 283 P. 2d 1093, 1094 wuss 10

Doud v. Hodge, ........ | a . ee (100 L. ed. 398) 1... 5

RUOO TW. EPMO, BIG T, B, G ernccscccessesnsessmevvessensoveres 5

Emedom V. > Eialiihem, B77 TE, UBF oseisccosscscssovesesssososoceseee 13

Liggett Co. v. Baldrige, 278 U. S. 105 wuss )

Lincoln Fed. L. U. v. Northwestern I. & M. Co., 335

ica ME -shiss ans tara rrsnsie egsaiasuneacatostance vawiaedacd cae 5

McLean v. Arkansas, 211 U. S. 589 vuccccccssscccccscscoseseees 5

Meyer v. Nebraska, 262 U. S. 390 cn.ccccccccscsssscsssssssvees )

New State Ice Co. v. Liebmann, 285 U. S. 262 (dis-

ace BR og. OT TT RNASE OLE LRA LTR DER ARON ESET 4)

People v. Brown, 407 II]. 565. ....c.ccccccsccssssscseseee. 13, 14, 17

Powell v. Pennsylvania, 127 U. S. 678 coccccccccccccccsscee. )

Royster Guano Co. v. Virginia, 253 U.S. 412 ............ O

Schroeder v. Binks, 415 Ill. 192 coocccccccccccccccccscesee. 13, 14, 17

Skinner v. Oklahoma, 316 U.S. 535 cocccccccccccosececcsccscecese., 5

Travelers Health Asso. v. Virginia, 339 U. S. 643... 5

Williamson v. Lee Optical of Okla., 348 U. S. 483... 11

Comstitution and Statutes Cited.

Fifth Amendment to the Constitution of the United

ce pon, Me ERS UREN IDEA A Ee 7,8

Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution of the

United States sansavsenrecesrsoseseroassevseneesesessvesscnassssevecssesnsvoemeDy Ty &

Ill. Rev. Stat., 1955, Chapter 91, Sections O6a, 58, 60,

60a, 71a, 72, 72a and 72b (Vol. IT, pp. 90-98) ....3, 5, 14

Title 28 U. S, C. A. Seetion 1257 (2)

a) |

eee ee ee eee eee eer eee)

— dla —

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

Ocroper Term, 1056.

No. 311

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, ex rer.

CHICAGO DENTAL SOCIETY, erc., er ar,

Appellees,

US.

A A A DENTAL LABORATORIES, INC... erc., er at.

(Defendants),

A-L DENTAL PLATE LABORATORY COMPANY.

INC.,

AN ILLINOIS CORPORATION, ET AL..

AND

MARTIN DORNER, poinc Business as CAPITOL

DENTAL LABORATORIES, erc., et AL...

Appellants.

APPEAL FROM THE SUPREME Covurr oF THE STATE OF

ILLINOIS.

STATEMENT AS TO JURISDICTION

(a) THE OPINION BELOW.

The opinion of the Supreme Court of the State of Illi-

nois is reported in 8 Ll. 2d 330, 184 N. KE. 2d 285. A eopy

is appended,

— 52a —

2

(b) THE GROUNDS ON WHICH THE JURISDICTION

OF THIS COURT IS INVOKED.

(i) Nature Of The Proceedings.

This suit, praying the issuance of permanent injune-

tions against appellants here, was instituted in the Supe-

rior Court of Cook County, Illinois, in the name of the

People of the State of Illinois on the relation of Chicago

Dental Society and certain dentists, individually and as

officers and directors of said Society. and as members of

its Committee on Legislation and Law Enforcement. The

defendants are certain individuals and _ corporations

charged with having violated the Dental Practice Act of

Illinois in furnishing, selling, supplying, constructing,

reproducing or repairing prosthetic dentures, sometimes

called “plates” and sometimes “false teeth.”

The gravamen of the offense charged is that such act

or acts were done directly for the user rather than on

the basis of employment brokered through licensed den-

tists, the substance of the Illinois statute being that if

employment alone (not prescription or supervision) is by

a dentist, the doing of the work is legal,—if the employ-

ment is not so made the same work is illegal.

The action was tried on the amended complaint to

which motions to strike were made, challenging the con-

stitutionality of the sections of the Act involved as being

in violation of both the Federal and State Constitutions.

After such motions were overruled as to the substantial

matters, the defendants filed answers, and throughout the

proceedings, in their answers and thereafter in the pro-

ceedings in the Superior Court and later in the Illinois

Supreme Court, insisted upon the unconstitutionality

both under the Federal and State Constitutions of those

parts of the Dental Practice Act upon which plaintiffs

relied.

— §3a —

3

It will be noted from the opinion sought to be reviewed

that the due process and equal protection objections under

the Fourteenth Amendment were preserved in the record,

urged before the highest court of Illinois, considered by

that Court and mentioned in the opinion.

The amended complaint specifically relied upon Sec-

tions Ja, 3, Section 5 (Subparagraphs (2), (3), (8). (9)

and (10)), Sections 5a, 17a, 18, 18a and 18b of the Dental

Practice Act (Illinois Revised Statutes, 1955, Chapter 91,

Sections 56a, 58, 60, 60a, 71a, 72, 72a and 72b, Vol. IT,

pp. 90-98). (See Appendix hereto.)

The basic sections assailed are Subparagraphs (8) and

(9) of Section 5 and separate Section 5a.** The other sec-

tions* are incidentally involved but come into operation

only if the basic sections, mentioned in this paragraph,

are constitutional.

The ease was decided by the trial court on the theory:

(a) That any person, fm or corporation furnish-

ing, constructing, reproducing, relining or repairing

false teeth was engaged in the practice of dentistry

if such work was done “directly for the user or pros-

pective user” thereof:

(b) That any person, firm or corporation, that did

the same work directly and solely on employment by

licensed dentists was not practicing dentistry and

therefore not violating the law;

(c) That if any defendant did part of his work

for a licensed dentist, but part directly for the user

or prospective user, he was practicing dentistry and

violating the law; and that even that part done on

employment by a dentist was unlawful.

It was not the theory of the decree that the doing of

such work with reference to false teeth was, per sé, the

** Marked ** in copy of statute in appendix.

* Marked * in copy of statute in appendix,

— 54a —

4

practice of dentistry. Whether it was or was not turns

solely on who employed the person, firm or corporation to

do it.

The lower court held with certain defendants, when the

work was in aaceordance with an impression made by a

licensed dentist, who gives an order or prescription there-

for and who makes the fitting thereof in the oral eavity.

The Supreme Court of Illinois sustained the decree ot

the lower court in holding that any work done by defen-

dants when the employment was not made by a lieensed

dentist was unlawful. It reversed the part holding that

the work was lawful when the impression was made by

such a dentist who gave an order or prescription there-

for and made the fitting in the oral eavity.

The issue presented in the trial court and in the Su-

preme Court of Illinois was whether the statute, which

confers power upon a deutist or dentists, by mere em-

ployment, to make legal or, by non-employment. to make

illegal, the work of a laboratory technician, is a constitu-

tional grant of power,

(ii) Date Of Judgment And Of Notice Of Appeal.

The final judgment of the Supreme Court of Tlinois

sustaining the deeree of the Superior Court of Cook

County, Illinois, in part and reversing it in part, which

judgment of the Supreme Court of Tllinois is here sought

to be reversed, was entered on Mareh 22, 1956 (Petition

for Rehearing was filed April 5, 1956: order denying the

Petition for Rehearing was entered on May 22, 1956).

The Notice of Appeal was filed on June 15, 1956, in the

Supreme Court of Illinois,

— 55a —

9)

(iii) The Statutory Provisions Believed To Confer Juris-

diction Of The Appeal.

This Court has jurisdiction of this appeal under U.S.

C.A., Title 28, Section 1257(2).

(iv) Cases Believed To Sustain The Jurisdiction.

The following cases are believed to sustain the juris-

diction of this appeal:

New State Ice Co. vy. Inebmann, 285 U. S. 262

(see also dissent, p. 302).

Powell v. Pennsylvania, 127 U. S. 678.

Adams v. Tanner, 244 U. S. 590.

Meyer vy. Nebraska, 262 U. S. 390,

McLean v. Arkansas, 211 U .S. 539.

Liggett Co. v. Baldrige, 278 U. S. 105.

Travelers Health Asso. v. Virginia, 339 U. S. 643.

Lincoln Fed. L. U. vy. Northwestern I. &: M. Co.,

335 U. S. 525.

Hood v. DuMond, 336 U. S. 525.

On the objection that the statute violates the equal

protection clause of the Fourteenth Amendment to the

United States Constitution, the jurisdiction of the Court

is sustained by:

Skinner v. Oklahoma, 316 U. S. 035.

Royster Guano Co. vy. Virginia, 253 U. S. 412.

Doud v. Hodge, ........ Ric NOs sienniic AO As odd, 398).

(v) The Statute Involved.

This case involves the validity of Section 5a and Sub-

sections 8 and 9 of Section 5 of the Dental Practice Act

(and the other sections relied on by plaintiffs, namely,

Sections la, 3, 17a, 18, 18a and 18b, insofar as they are

dependent upon, or brought into operation by, said Sec-

— 56a —

6

tion 5a and Subsections (8) and (9) of Section 5 of the

Dental Practice Act): said Act being “An Act to regu-

late the practice of dental surgery and dentistry in the

State of Illinois and to repeal certain acts therein named,”

approved June 11, 1909, as amended by an Act of 1945

(fll. Rev. Stat. 1955. Chapter 91, Seetions 56a, 58, 60,

60a, Tla, 72, 72a and 72b, Vol. TT pp. 90-98).

The statutory provisions involved are lengthy, and the

text of the entire statute is set forth in the Appendix.

Only the validity of the sections referred to in the last

paragraph ts involved. The objectional features of those

sections were added by the 1945 amendment.

(c) QUESTIONS PRESENTED BY THIS APPEAL.

The following questions are presented as stated in the

Notice of Appeal:

(1) Whether the seetions of the Tlinois Dental Prae-

tice Act, insofar as they apply to laboratory technicians

(being those who, in accordance with the eustom through-

out the Umted States, design, supply, construct, repro-

duce or repair prosthetic dentures, sometimes known as

“plates” or “false teeth”), are a violation of the due

process clause of the Federal Constitution (Fourteenth

Amendment), in that the right of such technicians to

carry on their oeeupation is dependent entirely upon the

uneontrolled and unregulated whim of licensed dentists.

who, by mere employment of a technician, make his activ-

ity lawful, or by failure to employ, make the technician’s

activity unlawful and eriminal.

(2) Whether since the statute does not prescribe any

qualifications that a teehnician must have, and since it

requires no supervision, direction or prescription by the

dentist of the work to he done, and since the right of the

technician to carry on his occupation depends solely on

—5va —

7

whether he is or is not employed by a dentist, the statute

is unreasonable, arbitrary and capricious or without real

or substantial relation to the objects sought to be attained

and therefore lacking in due process.

(3) As the statute provides no qualifications, either

educational, or in experience or otherwise, of dental

technicians, provides for no licensing of them by any

State agency or department and allows the technician to

engage or not engage in his occupation, dependent solely

on the uncontrolled and unregulated will of a dentist or

dentists, and permits the dentists to /erminate the right

to carry on the occupation upon any ground or upon any

whim, with no judicial review of either the law or facts,

whether the statute has provided due process, in other

words, whether no process of law is due process of law.

(4) Whether, since the laboratory technician’s right

to earry on his oceupation is dependent solely on the auto-

eratie and unregulated action of a dentist, and since a

technician of great ability may never be employed and

another of far less or no ability may be employed, the

statute violates the equal protection clause of the Four-

teenth Amendment to the Federal Constitution.

(d) THE FACTS MATERIAL TO CONSIDERATION

OF THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED.

The Federal questions raised and considered below were

as follows (references to that portion of the reeord econ-

tained in Appellants’ Abstract (attached te Record page

5) will be referred to as ‘Appts.’ Abst. p.

Defendants’ motions to strike the amended complaint,

among other constitutional objections, alleged that the

Illinois Dental Practice Act violated the Fifth and Four-

teenth Amendments to the United States Constitution

(Appts.’ Abst. p .27).

i oe

8

The lower court’s order on the motions to strike held

that Section 5a of the Illinois Dental Practice Act in cer-

tain respects violated the Fifth and Fourteenth Amend-

ments to the United States Constitution, but that those

portions were severable from the rest of the Act ( Appts.’

Abst. pp. 34-35), but this holding of unconstitutionality

was later reversed by the Illinois Supreme Court. See, for

example, Appts.’ Abst. p. 279, par. 99(a); also, opinion of

Illinois Supreme Court, Record pp. 12, 19, and Judgment

of Illinois Supreme Court, Record p. 20. (Said opinion

and order are also in the appendix hereto. )

Defendants’ answers realleged the constitutional objec-

tions under the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the

Constitution of the United States (paragraphs 8(e) and

(f) and 12, Appts.’ Abst. pp. 42, 43). Defendants’ excep-

tions to the Master’s Final Report objected on the ground

of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the Consti-

tution of the United States (Appts.’ Abst. p. 217).

The constitutional objections under the Fourteenth

Amendment to the Constitution of the United States were

also properly raised in defendants’ brief in the Supreme

Court of Illinois and were considered by the Court as

shown in its opinion, Record pp. 138, 19.

The evidence of plaintiffs and defendants in this record

shows the extensiveness of the work of dental laboratories.

The individuals doing the work are sometimes ealled den-

tal technicians.

The work of dental technicians has become an oecupa-

tion and independent ealling separate and apart from the

dental profession. The profits of both parties demonstrate

without question that the major part of the work of mak-

ing, reproduction or repair of dentures (false teeth), that

is, at least 90%, is done by dental technicians who are not

dentists and who work in dental laboratories.

— 59a —

9

The dental schools have on their staff laboratory tech-

nicians who are not dentists to whom the laboratory pro-

cedures are turned over. The senior students in dental

schools work on possibly two to four plates. Any other

laboratory work is done by the school’s laboratory tech-

nicians. Several of the dentists who testified for plaintiffs

testified that they send out all of their laboratory work

to dental technicians. It was also established that there

was no such thing as a prescription for a dental plate,

although, at most, some dentists issue what are ealled work

orders. A few dentists have a laboratory in their own

offices with technicians who are not licensed dentists.

It was shown that a busy dentist finds it preferable to

send more and more of his work to a laboratory hecause

of its experience. In some cases impressions or easts are

sent to the laboratory but in some not.

In the University of Mlinois College of Dentistry, stu-

dents do work on dentures, but they have two trained

dental technicians (not dentists) who supervise the labora-

tory procedures,

At the present time there are 300 and possibly more

dental laboratories in the City of Chieago alone. These

businesses, with few exceptions, are owned and operated

by non-dentists and are independent of a dental office, al-

though a few do their work in connection with a dental

office.

The making of dentures by dentists themselves has be-

come a lost art.

The findings of the deeree in the lower court were based

largely on the premise that the defendants do not work ex-

elusively for dentists.

— 60a —

10

(e) REASONS WHY THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED

ARE SO SUBSTANTIAL AS TO REQUIRE PLE-

NARY CONSIDERATION.

Due Process.

The sections of the statute here involved go farther

than any similar regulatory statute that has been con-

sidered by this or other courts, except perhaps one, which

was held unconstitutional by the Supreme Court of Idaho

in *Berry v. Summers, 283 P. 2d 1093. Even that was not

as extreme as the Illinois Code here involved.

Defendants have eoneeded that the making and fitting

of false teeth is a matter affecting public health and could

* In that case the constitutional objections of the dental

technicians were well summarized by the court as follows

(283 P.2d 1094):

“Appellants contend inter alia that they engage in

an ordinarily useful, independent occupation or eall-

ing, Which has been for a loye time past and now is

legislatively recognized as an independent calling and

as having an independent occupational nature of. its

own, Wholly disconnected from the practice of den-

tistry as such as ordinarily and customarily under-

stood and regarded; that they perform merely me-

chanical work upon inert matter in their dental labor-

atories. They assert that the regulation attempted to

he imposed by the 1953 amendment is designed and

intended for the benefit of a class, i.e., the dentists:

that it is an arbitrary, unreasonable and discrim.

natory regulation; that if it is permitted to be en-

foreed such would deprive them of their large sums of

‘apital invested in their dental laboratories, and of

their means of livelihood, and thereby would deprive

them of. liberty and property without due process of

law, in contravention of Article I, §§ 1 and 13 of the

Constitution of the State of Idaho, and of the Four-

teenth Amendment of the Constitution of the United

States.”

These contentions were sustained by the Idaho court.

— 6la —

1]

be regulated by constitutional methods, as are the oceupa-

tions of pharmacists, optometrists, opticians, and others

who though not members of the medical profession deal

with matters affecting public health. The vice of the Tlli-

nois Act can best be illustrated by comparison with the

situation found in a recent case decided by this. Court:

Williamson v. Lee Optical of Okla., 348 U. S. 483. That

ease upheld an Oklahoma Act regulating opticians, and it

contains a concise description of the occupations relating

to the prescribing and making of eyeglasses.

Neither an optometrist nor an optician is a medical

doctor. Nor are they captives of the related medical doe-

tor—the ophthalmologist. A person may go to an oph-

thalmologist and have glasses prescribed. He is then free

to go to any optometrist or optician of his choice to have

the glasses made and fitted (or he may go directly to an

optometrist without consulting a medical doctor at all).

An optician or optometrist. whether or not he is regulated

by statute, is free to go into business and deal with the

general public.

The situation of the dental patient and the dental tech-

nician in Illinois is far removed from this pattern. In

Illinois a person who goes to a dentist and has false teeth

prescribed is not free to go to a dental technician of his

own choosing to have his false teeth made. In Illinois a

dental technician cannot take a designated course of train-

ing, qualify and become licensed by the State and then

go into business and deal with members of the general

public. The means of becoming eligible to deal with the

public is not available. The making of false teeth, which

is a parallel situation to the making of eyeglasses, is con-

trolled throughout by the dentist. So is the maker of false

teeth. Neither the maker nor the making of eyeglasses

—_ 620 —

12

is controlled by the ophthalmologist. Nor is the pharma-

cist or the making of a medical prescription controlled

by the medical doctor. In each of the latter two cases, the

patient of the medical doctor is free to go to an artisan

of his own choosing and the publie can be protected by

comprehensive requirements for qualification and licensing

of such artisans.

The vice of the Illinois Act is further illustrated by an-

other case which came before this Court: Amsel vy. Brooks,

141 Conn. 288, 106 A. 2d 152 (348 U.S. S80). That was a

case involving the Connectieut statute regulating dental

technicians. This Court dismissed the appeal for want

of substantial Federal question. But before the case came

to this Court, the Supreme Court of Connecticut held un-

constitutional a portion of the statute on the very ground

urged here; namely, that it made the technicians ‘de-

pendent exclusively upon the customers a licensed dentist

nay send to them,’’ saying:

‘The connection between such a drastic and unreason.-

able regulation and the public welfare is so tenuous

that, upon the principles hereinbefore stated, the por-

tion of the statute relating to advertising cannot be

legally justified. We hold this portion to be uncon-

stitutional.’’

The Illinois statute aims to do exactly what the Supreme

Court of Connecticut held was unconstitutional when in-

ferentially accomplished by the statute.

The following elements are absent in this Illinois

statute—elements which historically have been considered

indispensable to due process in the regulation of oceupa-

tions or professions: (a) The rules for admission to the

occupation—citizenship, character, education. experience —

are usually definitely prescribed by the legislature—but not

here; (b) An executive department is given power to ad-

— 63a —

13

minister the rules—by examination or otherwise to de-

termine compliance with them—but not in this statute:

(¢) Ouster from the occupation is according to usual ad-

ministrative practice, and follows only after a hearing—

no such procedure is provided here; (d) Misapplication

of the rules or manifest disregard of evidence is controlled

by the courts through administrative review—but not in

this instance.

The presence of those parts of a regulatory scheme is

due process as Illinois and other states have usually prac-

ticed it. Here, however, every one of those elements is

missing in the statute. This statute is a radical departure

from due process as usually understood. Under the parts

of the statute here assailed, a favored class, having a fi-

nancial interest, is given all of the powers usually exer-

cised by government without rules to guide its action,

without intervention or impartial action by a state agency

and without possibility of resort to the courts.

The decision of the Supreme Court of Illinois creates

a new doctrine—that a certain class—on account of its

college training or on account of some other merit—may

be endowed with the absolute powers of government,

without restraint or review—powers that have heretofore

been exercised by three departments of government, with

each empowered to inhibit errors or excesses on the part

of others.

The Supreme Court of Illinois has held in People v.

Brown, 407 Ill. 565, and Schroeder v. Binks, 415 Til. 192,

that master plumbers cannot in accordance with due pro-

cess he given sole power to employ apprentice and journey-

men plumbers and thus become their exclusive educators.

But as to dentists, that Court has now held that dentists

may be given even greater power: that is, the power arbi-

— 64a —

14

trarily to make one a dental technician without regard

to his education, training or experience, and by the same

power prevent a person from becoming a technician, even

though his prior education, training, and experience have

equipped him with great ability. The effect of the opinion

of the Illinois Court is to hold that no process is due pro-

cess—when control is given to a favored few.

The [linois Supreme Court in its opinion in the ease

at bar relied on an earlier case. Lasdon vy. Hallihan, 377

Ill. 187. We contended that that case decided only the

specific question of the validity of prohibiting a dentist

from obtaining employment indirectly through advertising

done by a laboratory, and was not applicable, and that part

of the opinion dealing with dental technicians was dictum ;

that if the dictum were considered to be the law of Illinois.

it was necessarily overruled by the later cases of People v.

Brown, 407 Il. 565, and Schroeder vy. Binks, 415 ll. 192.

Also Lasdon vy. Hallihan, 377 Til. 187, was decided on a

prior version of the statute which did not go nearly as far

as the 1945 amendment. Even that version was probably

violative of the state and federal constitutions.

Two of the basic paragraphs of the statute, namely,

Section 5, Subparagraphs (8) and (9), now provide, in

effect, that one who furnishes, supplies, constructs, re-

produces or repairs plates, or offers to do so, is engaged

in the practice of ‘dentistry and must before he Inay do so

on his own initiative have all the qualifications for the ad-

mission to practice of a dentist: and must be so licensed.

However, Section 5a, which is particularly assailed, pro-

vides :

‘‘Licensed dentists may employ or engage the serv-

ices of any person, firm or corporation to construct

or repair, extra-orally, prosthetic dentures, bridges,

or other replacements for a part of a tooth, a tooth,

— 65a —

15

or teeth. A person, firm or corporation so employed

or engaged, when constructing or repairing such

dentures, bridges or replacements, exclusively, direct-

ly and solely for licensed members of the dental pro-

fession, and not for the public or any part thereof,

shall not be deemed or considered to be practicing

dentistry as defined in this Act.’’ (Italics supplied).

The effect of these provisions is to make it wiawful

for a laboratory technician to take impressions for false

teeth or make or repair them except when engaged or em-

ployed to do so by a licensed dentist. If however, any

person, firm or corporation is so engaged or employed,

his or its activity becomes lawful. This is the gist of the

extraordinary power granted by the statute.

The statute creates in this area of the government of

Illinois a government of men rather than a government of

law. It is a fundamental departure from due process as it

has been known in the United States.

Another strange aspect is that a corporation may not

under the statute practice dentistry or make or repair

dentures, but a licensed dentist may employ any corpora-

tion to do the work of a technician; with such employment,

the activity of that corporation becomes legal and ap-

proved, and that without regard to the powers given it

by the State in its charter.

The lack of due process in this Act may be summarized

in the following words:

(a) Whether a person, firm or corporation may

make dental plates depends completely on the whim of

a licensed nentist.

(b) The dentist is not required to order or pre-

seribe the plate or to make the impressions or to place

the plate in the oral cavity—the dentist is required

to do nothing in the way of prescribing or supervision

of the work.

(c) All that is required is that the dentist be the

broker between the member of the public and the

laboratory technician who makes the false teeth.

— 66a —

16

When the dentist is permitted to dominate the situa-

tion and to farm out the employment, the work of the

laboratory technician is made legal, even though the

dentist does no work or does not even touch the den-

ture. If, however, the member of the public does not

first hire a dentist who then doles out the work, the

same activity of the laboratory technician becomes

unlawful.

(d) The dentist is given no professional responsi-

bility; he is merely given commercial control of the

employment or non-employment.

(e) The Act contains no prescription of the educa-

tion, training, experience or qualification of the per-

son, firm or corporation whom, or which, the dentist

may employ. Under this statute, the dentists could

set up someone i: business who has had neither train-

ing nor experience. On the other hand, a person may

be ever so able and experienced in this work, but un-

less he gains the favor—by some means or other—of

a dentist or dentists, he cannot earn his livelihood.

(f) Not only are there no rules governing who may

do the work (other than that the work must be

brokered through a dentist), but the entire decision

as to who may or may not do such work is delegated

by the general assembly to a licensed dentist or

dentists.

(g) The statute gives the dentists a complete mono-

poly, uninhibited by any rules of conduct as to who

may carry on the work of a laboratory technician. or

who, on the other hand, is going to be put out of

business.

(h) Obviously, there is a lack of uniformity, as

one dentist or group of dentists may use one standard

as to who is employed and another a different one.

The provisions of the statute here assailed are more

consistent with feudalism than with due process.

This statute represents the extreme in the lack of due

process,

— 67a —

17

EQUAL PROTECTION.

The objection that the provisions of the statute under

discussion violate the equal protection clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment has been made throughout the

proceeding in the lower courts and was rejected by the

Supreme Court of Illinois in its opinion.

It is obvious that under these statutory provisions, a

person’s training, character and ability in the making of

dentures will not entitle him to a right to do this work.

In effect, he may be heensed only by a dentist or dentists.

On the other hand. Section 5a provides specifically that

the dentist may employ any person, firm or corporation to

do this type of work. It is not provided that such person

must have any training or any experience or any ability.

He may be made into a laboratory technician by the ar-

bitrary and whinsical action of a dentist or dentists.

Thus, nen of great ability may be rejected, and those of

mediocre or no ability may be emploved to do the work.

Mere statement of the provisions of the statute indi-

cates that men of equal talent do not have equal opportu-

nity in this field of economic activity. The right of a

technician to carry on his occupation is dependent ex-

elusively upon the grace of the dentist or dentists. Thus,

people in equal circumstances, as respects their education,

training and capabilities, have no equal protection in the

law.

Moreover, the decisions of the Supreme Court of Illinois

have emphasized this lack of equal protection. As pointed

out, in the plumbers licensing cases statutes were involved

that gave to master plumbers the sole power to determine

who might get the apprentice training and who inight thus

work his way up to the status of a journeyman plumber

and eventually to that of a master plumber. On many

grounds that statute was held to violate the Illinois and

the Federal Constitutions, the court saying at p. 573 of

407 Ill.: ‘‘No matter how well qualified a person may be

by instruction or training he can never of his own free will

and choice become a certified registered plumber’s ap-

— 68a —

18

prentice, a journeyman plumber or master plumber, unless

a licensed master plumber so wills.’? These were the rul-

ings in People v. Brown, 407 Ill. 565, and Schroeder v.

Binks, 415 Ill. 192. Here, however, the dentists have more

extensive power. A person may have had all requisite pre-

paratory training and experience and yet his right to

work depends upon a whimsical decision by a dentist or

dentists—a decision that may be based on sound grounds,

or on economic advantage to the dentist brokering the

employment, or on personal likes or dislikes or as vehe-

mently stated by the Supreme Court of Illinois in the

Brown case, upon ‘‘the facts of race, creed or color.’’

(p. 574).

Thus, under the decisions of the Supreme Court of

Illinois on these two statutes—the one pertaining to ap-

prentice, journeymen and master plumbers; the other

pertaining to laboratory technicians—the State of Illinois,

through its Supreme Court, has denied equal protection

of the law by failing to apply a like principle to dentists

as to master plumbers.

The decision sought to be reviewed says (Record p. 16;

Appendix p. 54):

‘Any person is free to become a dental laboratory

technician. The statute places no artificial restraint

upon him. His success is determined by the normal

process of competition.’’

This emphasizes the point of objection that is made.

Any person is free to become a technician—if he is em-

ployed by a dentist. If not so employed, he is not free to

become one.

The statute does place an artificial restraint upon him

in that there is nothing in the statute which guarantees

him the right to carry on his occupation—nothing except

the favor he can gain by one means or another with those

who are licensed dentists.

— 69a —

19

It would seem that the statutory provisions under at-

tack are a clear denial of equal protection. They do not

even guarantee equal protection by the dentists. The lat-

ter are given greater powers than are given to the govern-

ment itself under State and Federal Constitutions.

It is urged that the jurisdiction of this Court is clear,

and that this appeal is substantial in that it submits con-

stitutional questions that are vital to the rights of these

appellants as well as to the rights of all citizens of the

United States.

Respectfully submitted,

WERNER W. ScHROEDER AND

Otiver C. Heywoop,

One N. LaSalle Street,

Chicago 2, Illinois,

Attorneys for Appellants.

—Tla—

21

APPENDIX.

a

COPY OF STATUTE HERE INVOLVED.*

Illinois Revised Statutes, 1955, Chapter 91, Sections 56

to 72h, inclusive. Vol. II pp. 90-98.

DENTAL SurGERY.

Aw act to regulate the practice of dental surgery and

dentistry in the State of Illinois, and to repeal cer-

tain acts therein named. [Approved June 11, 1909.

L. 1909, p. 277.]

Be it enacted by the People of the State of Illinois,

represented m the General Assembly:

96. § 1. Repealed. Act approved July 10, 1935.

L,.1935, p. 965.

d6a. Legislative declaration—Liberal construction. ]

*§ la. The practice of dentistry in the State of Ili-

nois is hereby declared to affect the public health,

safety and welfare and to be subject to regulation and

control in the public interest. It is further declared

to be a matter of public interest and concern that the

dental profession merit and receive the confidence of

the public and that only qualified persons be permitted

to practice dentistry in the State of Illinois. This Act

shall be liberally construed to carry out these objects

and purposes. Added by act approved May 24, 1945.

L.1945, p. 977.

o7. § 2. Repealed. Act approved July 10, 1935.

1.1935, p. 965.

ofa. Severability—Partial invalidity.| 4 2a. This

Act is declared to be severable, and should any word,

** The sections of the statute so marked are primarily

involved in this appeal.

* The sections of the statute so marked are incidentially

involved in this appeal.

Those sections not marked are not involved in this ap-

peal.

PREVIOUS PAGE WAS BLANK

a

22

phrase, sentence, provision or section hereo! be here-

after declared unconstitutional or otherwise invalid,

the remainder of this Act shall not thereby be affected,

but shall remain valid and in full force and effect for

all intents and purposes. Added by act approved May

24, 1945. 1.1945, p. 977.

"58. Dentistry or dental surgery—Who may prac-

tice — License — Application — Fee — Eligibility —

Examination.| § 3. No person, unless previously reg-

istered or licensed to practice dentistry in this State

at the time this Act shall hecome operative, shall be-

gin the practice of dentistry or denial surgery, or any

branches thereof, without first applving for and ob-

taining a license for such purpose from the Depart-

ment of Registration and Education, hereinafter

referred to as the ‘‘department.’’ Application shall

be made to the department in writing, and shall, in

every instance, be accompanied by the examination

fee of twenty dollars ($20.00), together with satis

factory proof that the applicant is of good moral char-

acter, is a citizen of the United States or has made

a declaration of intention to become a citizen or,

having made such declaration of intention, has filed

a petition for naturalization within thirty davs after

becoming eligible to do so and is twenty-one years of

age or over at the time of making the application. An

application from a candidate who desires to secure a

license from the department to practice dentistry or

dental surgery in this State shall be accompanied by

satisfactory proof that the applicant so applying for

a license has been engaged in the actual. legal and

lawful practice of dentistry or dental surgery in some

other state or territory for five consecutive vears im-

mediately prior to such application; or is a graduate

of, and has a diploma from, the faculty of a reputable

dental college, school or dental department of a rep-

utable university. When such application and the

accompanying proof are found satisfactory, the de-

partment shall notify the applicant to appear before

— 73a —

23

it for examination at a time and place to be fixed by

the department. Examination shall be made in writ-

ing in all theoretic subjects, both theoretic and practi-

cal exeminations shali ‘ve of a character to give a fair

test of the qualifications of the applicant to practice

dentistry or dental surgery. The examination papers

and all grading thereon, and the gradi

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition — Illinois State Dental Society v. Schiller · 451 U.S. 1010 | Frix