Petition — South Dakota v. Lewis

Supreme Court brief1981

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

NO. | ' FEB 4& 198t

}

2 L. STEVAS,

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1981

STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA

Petitioner,

v.

NEIL GOLDSCHMIDT, UNITED STATES

SECRETARY OF TRANSPORTATION;

WILLIAM M. COX, FEDERAL HIGHWAY

ADMINISTRATOR;

ARTHUR JOHNSON, DIVISION HIGHWAY

ADMINISTRATOR;

AND THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS,

AND THE USS. DISTRICT COURT,

DISTRICT OF SOUTH DAKOTA,

CENTRAL DIVISION

Counsel of Record:

Ronald G. Schmidt

Special Assistant Attorney General

State of South Dakota

P.O. Box 8

Pierre, South Dakota 57501

Telephone: (605) 224-0461

STATE PUBLISHING COMPANY, PIERRE, SD 57501

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether 23 USC 131:

(1) Violates the propriety requirement of the neces-

sary and proper clause by the use of economic coercion,

or a penalty as an improper means of inducing state

agreements, and is but an indirect method of vitiating

the limitation of the Tenth Amendment (National

League of Cities v. Usery, 426 U.S. 833, 96 S.Ct. 2465

(1976) prohibiting Congress from directly displacing

traditionally reserved state powers i.e., zoning and

land use regulation;

(2) Violates the necessity requirement of the neces-

sary and proper clause by giving the states the option

of complying, or of not complying with a stated na-

tional policy, and of thus subverting any assumed con-

stitutional necessity or justification for the exercise of

a national power;

(3) Is beyond the power of Congress as an attempt to

regulate the state’s governance of commerce, as op-

posed to commerce itself; and

(4) Violates all notions of comity underlying constitu-

tional federal-state relations through the use of eco-

nomic coercion, or penalties to induce state action.

INDEX

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

ty sia cay wv NEWS a eke awe ORO

IRENA Shear an ah er a eae ome ae

EEE a a ee Oe

os hd goo adware

mremeoms For Grantinl WIE 6 oa siicc ccc ccseneess

ea le ee vcd wee

Appendix A

Opinion of U.S. District Court, District of

South Dakota, Central Division of April 7,

kk Es S| Pre ree re Te rere Tree rer

Appendix B

Judgment of U.S. District Court, District of

South Dakota, Central Division of April 9,

oe ee ee en re eee Xxi

Appendix C

Opinion of U.S. District Court, District of

South Dakota, Central Division, of April 7,

I ts wd ress Oy vet sa 640.08 Xxill

Appendix D

Judgment of U.S. District Court, District of

South Dakota, Central Division of April 9,

Ne eye a ahs 5s ea ob 5aed sO SS lvii

Appendix E

Opinion of Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals of

December 12, 1980 (No. 80-1358/59 Con-

NER A SD ee, Oe tt i

Appendix F

Order of Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals

denying rehearing and suggestions of rehear-

ing en banc of January 3, 1981 (No. 80-1358/59). . . Ixiii

Appendix G

Judgment of Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals

of December 12, 1980, filed below on January

| Perry rT er ere eee PeTerey rere rere Ixv

Appendix H

ee RE nears ce cC ee eter Kareawenes Ixvii

Appendix I

H.B. 786, 1977 South Dakota Legislature,

OE as GO i gc ec pe bescceccakeses Ixxvii

Appendix J

Article 1, Section 8 and Tenth Amendment,

Chee oN rs cies hae ome etter rae XCiil

Appendix K

July 11, 1977 letter from U.S. Secretary of

Transportation, Brock Adams, to South

Dakota Governor Richard F. Kneip ........... xevii

Appendix L

23 CFR Highway Beautification ................. ci

TABLE OF CASES

CASES: PAGE

Brown v. Environmental Protection Agency,

521 F2d 827 (9th Cir. 1975), vacated and

remanded 431 U.S. 99, 97 S.Ct. 1635, (Brown I)

566 F2d 665 (9th Cir. 1977) (Brown II)......... 19, 20

Cleary v. Bolger, 83 S.Ct. 385, 371 U.S. 392 (1963) ...11

District of Columbia v. Train, 521 F2d 971

(D.C.CIR. 1975), vacated and remanded 431

Se EE oe hs eG Sea eGR Lad ee ees 19, 20

Euclid v. Ambler Realty Co., 47 S.Ct. 114, 272

Pa ee ol cl eee aa es hee eee nee ae 21

Hartsville Oil Mill v. U.S., 46 S.Ct. 389, 271

Ue oe a ee een pa oceans bean 14

Leiter Minerals, Inc. v. U.S., T7 S.Ct. 287, 352

U.S. 220 (1957), reh. den. 77 S.Ct. 553, 352 U.S.

Da RRA lat ng LAG eet cy Marat pia Oe a ep regey Hl ae mr 11

McCulloch v. Maryland 4 Wheat. 316 (1819) .. 12,15, 18

National League of Cities v. Usery, 96 S.Ct.

2465, 426 U.S. SBS IGT)... oc cc cccecs 17, 18, 20, 22

Pure Oil Co. v. Tucker, 164 F2d 945 (CCA8)......... 14

State of Oklahoma v. Civil Service

Commission, 67 S.Ct. 544, 330 U.S. 127

tC” GRAN ATE fy PR Eon des Pat as ARs ur uy Pe 3, 5, 11, 16, 17

Steward Machine Co. v. Davis, 57 S.Ct. 883,

Be We oe ick cc ek ces RPE Rees 22

U.S. v. Bethlehem Steel Corp., 62 S.Ct. 581,

EG Rises Ce os os a oo hea hd ee eee 14

United States v. Butler, 56 S.Ct. 312, 297 U.S.

DO eos ok ewe eee eke laees 11,15, 16,17,19

Younger v. Harris, 91 S.Ct. 746, 401 U.S. 37

CWS cb ee kn 6b eee h eee eesbtewwnsssven 12,17

U.S. CONSTITUTION

Article I, Section 8 ................0 ee eee 3, 12,15, 18

Tenth Amendment ...............e cece eee ee ee Oye

STATUTES AND RULES

BO USE 104 2. ccc ccc ccc ccc cece ccc cccccece 3, 5,13

3. ie F. ) Sr 3,4, 5,6, 7,10, 11,

12, 16, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23

BO UBC USL (1)... ccc ccc cece cece cece eccccccs 3,4

Be UG 1ZOE ow ccc cece ccc cece cesceccnces 3,4,5

H.B. 786, 1977 South Dakota Legislature,

codified as SDCL 31-29................0..0200058. 3

23 CFR Highways, Part 750,

Highway Beautification. ........ 0. cee eee 5)

TEXT BOOKS

A Commentary on the U.S. Constitution, Schwartz .13

Restatement of the Law of Contracts.............. 13

Williston On Contracts ...... 0.02 13,14

25 Am. Jr. 2d 351 Duress And Undue Influence..... 13

MISCELLANEOUS

Federalist (No. 79)... 0.0... ccc ce ee ee ee eee eee 14

IN THE

©.PREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

NO.

OCTOBER TERM, 1981

STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA

Petitioner,

v.

NEIL GOLDSCHMIDT, UNITED STATES

SECRETARY OF TRANSPORTATION;

WILLIAM M. COX, FEDERAL HIGHWAY

ADMINISTRATOR;

ARTHUR JOHNSON, DIVISION HIGHWAY

ADMINISTRATOR;

AND THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS,

AND THE USS. DISTRICT COURT,

DISTRICT OF SOUTH DAKOTA,

CENTRAL DIVISION

2

To The Honorable, The Chief Justice and Associate

Justices of the Supreme Court of the United States:

The State of South Dakota, Petitioner herein, prays

that a writ of certiorari issue to review the opinions

and judgments of the United States District Court,

District of South Dakota, Central Division, entered in

the above-entitled case on April 7, 1980, and of the

Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals rendered on Appeal

herein and entered on December 12, 1980, and the Peti-

tion for Rehearing and suggestions for rehearing en

bane denied by such Appellate Court on January 2,

1981.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinions of the United States District Court are

unreported and were rendered on April 7, 1980. That

court’s opinions and judgments are printed herein as

Appendices A-D, infra.

The opinion of the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals is

unreported and with the judgment is printed herein as

Appendices E-F, infra, and were filed December 12,

1980. The judgment was filed below on January 23,

1981.

The order of the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals

denying the petition for rehearing and suggestions for

rehearing en bane was rendered January 2, 1981, and

is also printed herein in Appendix G, infra.

JURISDICTION

The opinion and judgment of the Eighth Circuit

Court of Appeals was entered on the 12th day of

December, 1980. (Appendices E-F)

A timely petition with suggestions of hearing en

bane was denied by the Eighth Circuit Court of Ap-

3

peals on the 2nd day of January, 1981. (Appendix E) Its

judgment was filed in the District Court on January

23, 1981.

The jurisdiction of the United States Supreme Court

is invoked under 23 USC i31(1), expressly providing

for review by this Court of disputes under this Act be-

tween a state and the United States Government upon

certiorari pursuant to 28 USC 1254. (Appendix H)

Where the state has a legitimate right to receive

federal highway trust funds by virtue of statute, 23

USC 104, violation of such right creates a justiciable

claim even without specific statutory authorization for

judicial review. State of Oklahoma v. U.S. Civil Ser-

vice Commission 67 S.Ct. 544 at 550, 330 U.S. 127

(1947).

STATUTES INVOLVED

The Statutes involved in this matter are 23 USC 131,

as amended, and H.B. 786, 1977 South Dakota

Legislature, codified as SDCL 31-29, both printed

herein as Appendices H and I, infra.

The Constitutional provisions involved herein are

Article I, Section 8 and the Tenth Amendment of the

United States Constitution and are also printed herein

as Appendix J, infra.

STATEMENT OF CASE

This Petition concerns the potential reapportion-

ment by the United States Secretary of Transporta-

tion to other states of in excess of $4 million of South

Dakota’s Fiscal Year 1978 Federal Highway Trust

Fund apportionment otherwise legally belonging to

Petitioner as provided by 23 USC 104. The U.S. Secre-

tary of Transportation made an administrative inter-

4

pretation that South Dakota had not complied with the

Federal Highway Beautification program, 23 USC 131,

and rules promulgated thereunder, and penalized the

state by reducing its federal highway funds ten per-

cent. (Appendix K)

The state requested an administrative hearing pur-

suant to 23 USC 131. The hearing examiner found the

state had made a “good faith” effort to comply with the

federal law. The Secretary ignored the hearing ex-

aminer’s findings and conclusions and ordered that the

penalty be made permanent.

The state as provided by 23 USC 131(1) niade a time-

ly appeal of such administrative decision to the United

States District Court, District of South Dakota, Cen-

tral Division. South Dakota raised numerous Constitu-

tional issues in both the administrative proceeding and

appeal to the Federal District Court (No. 78-3051) and,

additionally, had initiated a separate Constitutional

test case (No. 77-3039) attacking the constitutionality

of 23 USC 131. The cases were consolidated and the

Federal District Court rendered opinions and judg-

ments adverse to the state in both cases. (Appendices

A-D)

Appeals as specifically authorized by 23 USC 131(1)

were taken from both adverse decisions and judg-

ments to the United States Court of Appeals for the

Eighth Circuit where, again, consolidation was

ordered. The United States Court of Appeals fer the

Eighth Circuit affirmed the trial court on December

12, 1980, and denied the state’s petition for rehearing

and suggestions for rehearing en banc on January 2,

1981. (Appendices E-G)

Jurisdiction is provided by 23 USC 131(1) for review

of such decisions upon certiorari as provided in 28 USC

9)

1254, and under the principle of Oklahoma v. U.S. Civil

Service Commission, supra. 23 USC 131 provides that

the penalty withheld by the secretary shall not be

reapportioned to the other states as long as suit is

pending.

The penalty which the secretary in his discretion

may impose upon the states under 23 USC 131 is ten

percent of the state’s annual apportionment otherwise

due the state pursuant to 23 USC 104. But for the

penalty the state would automatically receive its full

apportionment pursuant to the statutory formula

enacted by Congress.

The penalty as is clear from the face of the statute

has nothing whatsoever to do with the actual use of the

Federal Highway Trust Funds for the construction of

the Federal-Aid Highway Systems. Thus, it is also

clear from the face of the statute that the penalty is

not in any way 4 conditioning of the actual use of the

funds for the purpose intended, but rather a sanction

for the states not agreeing to undertake an unrelated

object, i.e., state zoning and land use control.

Another material fact is that the U.S. Secretary of

Transportation has actually promulgated a wealth of

administrative rules codified in 23 CFR Highways,

Part 750, Highway Beautification, setting forth every

minute detail of the state’s zoning and land use regula-

tion and enforcement requirements. (Appendix L)

The record establishes that the penalty and threats

of sanction are in fact weapons of coercion.

The requirements imposed upon the states by 23

USC 131, under threat of loss of ten percent of their en-

tire annual Trust Fund apportionment, are to enact

laws and provide all funds and resources for the en-

6

forcement of the Federal scheme for regulating out-

door advertising in the corridor zone adjacent to

thousands of miles of selected federal-aid highways.

The South Dakota highway map (appearing as a trial

exhibit) discloses that the federal statute mandates a

strip zone wherein the state must exercise its jurisdic-

tion of enforcement of the federal regulatory scheme

for several thousands of miles adjacent to all In-

terstate and primary federal-aid highways across the

width and breadth of the state.

This strip zoned corridor covers all private property

within sight of and adjacent to the covered federal-aid

systems. Although other federal-aid highway systems

are not covered by the requirements of 23 USC 131,

the penalty, nevertheless, is imposed upon all federal-

aid highway system apportionments.

The so-called “effective control” of outdoor adver-

tising which must be imposed by the state within this

zoned corridor adjacent to the rights-of-way of the

covered systems means that the state to comply in the

eyes of the secretary must:

(1) Exercise its sovereign police power to prohibit

the erection and maintenance of covered outdoor

advertising within sight of the covered systems

to the full extent of this zoned corridor across the

width and breadth of the state;

(2) Exercise its sovereign powers of eminent domain

to cause the removal of existing non-conforming

outdoor advertising;

(3) Pay from state funds for twenty-five percent of

all “just compensation” due from such taking or

damaging of property rights;

(4) Pay for all legal expenses and costs associated

-

i

with such condemnation and other legal proceed-

ings and negotiations;

(5) Utilize the state court system for all such re-

quired legal proceedings; and

(6) Establish an acceptable surveillance program

which in the opinion of the secretary is

“effective” utilizing state money, personnel, and

resources for total enforcement of the federally

devised scheme pursuant to the federal rules and

regulations.

All of the foregoing state action as clear from the

record is subject to continuous monitoring and ap

proval by various federal Department of Transporta-

tion officials to conform to the myriad of federal rules,

internal Department of Transportation policy memo

randums and directives, and broad, unwritten adminis

trative discretion.

The material facts disclose that the state, in effect,

had no choice at all and that it suffered econumic

reprisals whether it complied or did not comply wit!

the mandates of 23 USC 131.

The material facts disclose that the state faced ir

reparable damage and economic injury no matter what

it chose to do.

The material facts in this regard were undisputed in

the record.

Consider:

Tourism is South Dakota's second largest industry.

Tourism obviously caters to the traveling public, most

ly strangers to the environs, and studies conducted by

Congress, itself, disciose that outdoor advertising is

the only effective means of communicating between

this industry and its constituents.

8

South Dakota, then, faced a dilemma. The record

demonstrates that compliance would severely injure

the state’s second largest industry and its own

finances through tax revenue losses.

The state through the University of South Dakota

had undertaken substantial economic studies to deter-

mine the effect of compliance and non-compliance. The

economic findings and conclusions were placed into the

record by the economist who had been responsible for

these studies.

The studies showed:

(1)

(2)

(3)

(4)

(6)

Over forty percent of South Dakota tourists

would not have stopped at the businesses where

they were interviewed without outdoor adver-

tising;

Thirty-seven percent of the travelers in South

Dakota would not have stopped in the absence of

non-conforming outdoor advertising;

Almost fifty percent of those travelers stopping

in the lesser populated counties would not have

done so in the absence of non-conforming outdoor

advertising;

In the absence of non-conforming ouidcoor adver-

tising over sixteen percent of the tourism

business would have been lost to the state;

This loss of business would have cost the state as

much as $81.5 million in lost income which is ap-

proximately two percent of the gross income of

the state;

The loss of income would have been twice as

great in the smaller more rural counties as in the

more populated ones thus creating some special

9

economic problems through business closings, un-

employment, etc.;

(7) The decrease in state sales tax revenue due to

the removal of outdoor advertising could equal as

much as $2.1 million per year, with local govern-

ments losing substantial amounts of rea] prop-

erty taxes through the closing of businesses;

(8) The loss of employment in the state could total as

many as two thousand eight hundred (2,800) jobs

with the impact being most severe on part-time

and seasonal employees, particularly students;

and

(9) The loss of tourism business in the state would

lead to a reduction in gasoline tax revenues thus

actually reducing the ability of the Highway De-

partment through its dedicated highway revenue

fund to match and obtain Federal Funds which, in

turn, would create a negative impact on the con-

struction and maintenance of the federal-aid

highway program itself.

Non-compliance, on the other hand, resulted in

equally serious fiscal and economic problems due to

the loss of ten percent across the board of all federal

highway-aid system apportionments.

The testimony and exhibits of the state highway of-

ficials disclose (1) that there was without the imposi-

tion of the sanction an existing highway finance crisis

in South Dakota at the time of the hearing and (2) the

imposition of the sanction would exacerbate an already

critical fiscal situation. The state’s testimony stands

unrefuted.

Consider:

The state transportation secretary testified that due

10

to the existing crisis, and not considering the ten per-

cent sanction, the state had had to lay off a number of

highway employees and cut back seriously on mainte-

nance due to a lack of highway funding.

Maintenance, which is a 100 , ercent state financial

responsibility since there are no federal-aid funds

available for maintenance of the federal-aid systems,

was without the penalty falling behind 140 miles per

year. The state was already 666 miles in arrears in its

maintenance program. The dramatic impact of infla-

tion and increased costs for petroleum products used

so heavily in highway maintenance were also steeply

increasing due to the energy crisis.

The state as disclosed from the material facts could

not win. 23 USC 131 presented the state with no choice

at all. Any alleged choice is illusory.

The hearing examiner had found that the state had

acted in good faith in attempting to comply.

The trial judge found and held that the state would

not have exercised its sovereign zoning powers with-

out the penalty of 23 USC 131.

The Eighth Circuit, like the trial judge, repeatedly

states that the provisions of 23 USC 131 constitute a

“penalty ’.

The result of 23 USC 131 either on its face or as ap-

plied to the state of South Dakota is penal or con-

stitutes economic coercion.

REASONS FOR GRANTING WRIT

I.

CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED

BECAUSE OF THE PRESENCE OF IMPOR-

1]

TANT AND DIFFICULT QUESTIONS OF

FEDERAL-STATE RELATIONS

This Court has clearly established that the presence

of important and difficult questions of Federal-State

relations is grounds for granting certiorari. Cleary v.

Bolger 83 S.Ct. 385, 371 US 392 (1963). Leiter Minerals,

Inc. v. United States 77 S.Ct. 287, 352 US 220 (1957)

reh. den. 77 S.Ct. 553, 352 US 1019.

A. 23 USC 131 violates the propriety requirement of

the necessary and proper clause, and further violates

all notions of comity underlying tederal-state relations.

The highway beautification act, 23, USC 131, man-

dates a state zoned corridor beyond and within sight of

certain federal-aid highways, and state regulation of

all outdoor advertising within such zone, subject to a

penalty of 10% of each annual highway fund entvtle-

ment for a state's failure to create the control zone and

regulate the private land use therein in accord with

the federal regulatory scheme. South Dakota exer-

cised its police power and created the zone but was

determined by the Secretary to have deviated from

the Federal regulatory scheme. The district court held

the State would not have exercised its sovereign zon-

ing powers but for the penalty. The appellate court

acknowledges 23 USC 131 to be penal, but affirmed.

It is constitutionally impermissible for Congress to

use a penalty to induce state action. Oklahoma v. Civil

Service Commission 67 S.Ct. 544, 330 U.S. 127 (1947).

It is constitutionally improper for the Congress to

use economic coercion to induce an agreement to parti-

cipate in a federal regulatory scheme. United States v.

Butler 56 S.Ct. 312, 297 U.S. 1 (1936).

Thus, 23 USC 131 which admittedly imposes a penal-

12

ty, and which is economically coercive under the undis-

puted facts, is a constitutionally improper exercise of

Congress’ power by the limitation of the necessary and

proper clause of Article 1, Section 8. It is repugnant to

the concepts of comity upon which federal-state rela-

tions are founded. Younger v. Harris 91 S.Ct. 746, 401

US 37 (1971).

Both the tax and spend powers and the necessary

and proper clause are part of Article I, Section 8 of the

United States Constitution.

All express congressional powers, including that of

tax and spend, depend upon the interpretation and ap-

plication of the necessary and proper clause for their

effective implementation.

Even though the exercise of a power itself may be

for a proper end or objective, the “means” of carrying

the power into law must be hoth necessary and proper.

This has long been a litmus test of contitutionality and

is a matter of judicial review and determination.

McCulloch v. Maryland, 4 Wheat. 316 (1819).

23 USC 131 requires that the state enact acceptable

statutes and enter into acceptable agreements.

Whether in fact the state statutes and agreements are

acceptable is a matter of discretion for the United

States Secretary of Transportation.

Thus, 23 USC 131 purports to govern intergovern-

mental relations via contract. In order to induce the

states to enter into the contracts to enforce the out-

door advertising program envisioned by the federal

statutes and rules, a penalty or sanction is imposed in

the amount of ten percent of all otherwise legally ap-

portioned federal-aid highway trust funds. This con-

stitutes economic coercion.

13

If the state complies with the Federal Statute, it

gets to keep what was already its own entitlement,

namely all of its previously legally apportioned

Federal-Aid fund. (23 USC 104) It also however takes

on the additional burdens of diverting its constitu-

tional sovereign police and eminent domain powers,

funds and personnel to implement and enforce the

federal program within the corridor zone which it

would not have adopted but for the penalty. The trial

judge in this case so found and held. (Appendix A)

Agreements not freely reached and entered into,

but which are tainted by any degree of coercion are im-

proper. Restatement of the Law of Contracts, Volume

II, CH. 16; Williston on Contracts, 3rd Ed., Vol. 13, Ch.

47; 25 Am Jur 2nd 351, Duress and Undue Influence.

Contracts of the United States Government are ex-

pressly subject to the law of contract including duress

and undue influence. Williston on Contract, Id. at 728,

et seq.

It is a fundamental constitutional principle that

Americans have rejected dualism in the laws; that is,

one legal standard for the people and a different legal

standard for the government. A Commentary on the

Constitution of the United States, Volume I, Bernard

Schwartz.

Thus the rule of law applies equally to the govern-

ment and the people including in areas of contract.

A fiscal penalty or economic loss is and has long been

recognized as improper as a form of economic coercion.

Restatement of the Law of Contracts, supra, Sec. 492

et seq; Williston on Contracts, supra, Sec. 1603, pages

663-664.

14

It is concluded by Williston in Sec. 1603 that duress

flows from threats or other wrongful withholdings of

land or other things.

The Supreme Court of the United States has long

recognized the concept of economic coercion as imper-

missible. Hartsville Oil Mill v. United States, 46 S.Ct.

389, 271 US 43 (1946) United States v. Bethlehem Steel

Corp., 62 S.Ct. 581, 315 US 289 (1942). The Eighth Cir-

cuit Court of Appeals has also held that a person is

coerced when he is made to execute a contract not

based on a prior proper agreement. Pure Oil Co. v.

Tucker, 164 F. 2nd 945 (CCA8).

Contracts of the United States government have on

numerous occasions been avoided because of coercion.

Williston on Contracts, supra, 726-736.

Is economic coercion of a state by statute to be given

less judicial recognition than economic coercion of a

private contractor by personnel of federal administra-

tive agencies?

As put by Alexander Hamilton in the Federulist (No.

79), “A power over a man’s subsistence amounts to a

power over his will.”

All enlightened authority hold that threats of with-

holding property including money as a lever to extract

an agreement constitutes duress or coercion.

The fact that the coercive inducement has a federal

statutory genesis and is being used as a means by Con-

gress of coercing state action makes it even more

repugnant than economic coercion used between pri-

vate parties. The government supposedly by example

leads the ethics and morality of society.

The use of economic coercion as an inducement to

state action has never been directly judicially review-

ed by the United States Supreme Court.

15

This is an extremely important and difficult ques-

tion of Federal-State relations which deserves to be

heard.

The closest this Court has ever come to this issue

was United States v. Butler, 56 S.Ct. 312, 297 US 1

(1936). The Court in that case held upon dual grounds

that the Agricultural Adjustment Act before it was un-

constitutional. The issues in the case were primarily

focused upon in light of the tax and spend powers of

Article I, Section 8.

The Court held that the Congress was without the

power to tax and spend to regulate intra-state agricul-

ture. The holding in this regard became watered down

when the Court subsequently held that the Congress

could regulate agriculture under the commerce power.

Importantly, however, for present purposes, the

Court in Butler had also held that the Congress could

not properly resort to economic coercion by threaten-

ing to withhold the benefits of the federal program to

farmers who did not enter into agreements to partici-

pate in the program. That portion of the holding of

Butler parallels the concepts now urged by South

Dakota in the present case except that in Butler the

Court was dealing with relationships between the

federal government and individuals as opposed to be-

tween the federal government and the several states.

The Supreme Court in Butler directly held that the

use of economic coercion as a means of inducing con-

tracts was “improper” citing McCulloch v. Maryland,

supra.

This is the thrust of South Dakota's present argu-

ment and to this extent petitioner relies upon Butler

as authority for the proposition that since economic

coercion is improper as a means to induce a contract

between a federal agency and an individual, economic

16

coercion is equally if not more improper as a means to

induce contracts between the federal government and

the several states.

The other relevant authority relied upon by peti-

tioner for its position is Oklahoma v. Civil Service

Comm., 67 S.Ct. 544, 330 US 127 (1947). That case

stands for the proposition that the Congress may con-

dition its funds so long as the condition does not con-

stitute a penalty. (The necessary and proper clause

was not before this Court in Oklahoma as a limitation

upon the tax and spend power or otherwise.)

This Court in Oklahoma expressly notes that it did

not find the condition before it to be a penalty and in

fact states that, “No penalty was imposed on the

state.”’67 S.Ct. at 554. That case involved the withhold-

ing of what would appear to be a few hundred dollars

representing two years compensation of a part-time

highway commissioner from the state's federal high-

way funds which at that time were in excess of two

million dollars per year.

A few hundred dollars withheld out of over two

million dollars certainly would not be coercive. That is

factually distinguishable from the current case where

South Dakota is being penalized in excess of $4 million

dollars and both the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals

and the Federal District Judge recognize, concede and

admit that the sanction provisions of 23 USC 131 are in

fact and in law a “penalty”.

It must, again, be pointed out that the necessary and

proper clause was not considered by the Court in

Oklahoma.

This Court has expressly noted that the power to

condition funds by the Congress is a limited power.

United States v. Butler, supra. The limitation is the

17

necessary and proper clause. This Court points out in

Butler for example that an appropriation to an educa-

tional institution which by its terms is to become avail-

able only if the beneficiary enters into a contract to

teach doctrines subversive of the constitution is clear-

ly bad. 296 US at 323. It is said,

“An affirmance of the authority of Congress so to

condition the expenditure of an appropriation

would tend to nullify all constitutional limitations

upon legislative power.” (Ibid)

The use of a penalty or economic coercion as an in-

strument of inducing state action is equally obnoxious

and constitutionally offensive.

The holding of Butler to the extent that economic

coercion is constitutionally defective as an inducement

to contract has never been overruled or weakened to

this date.

The holding of Oklahoma where the Court stated

that the conditioning of federal funds was valid

because there was no penalty, is totally inapplicable to

the situation here where both the District Court and

the Court of Appeals fully acknowledge that a “penal

ty” is the instrument or means utilized by the statute,

itself.

Federal-State interrelationships are often said to be

based upon the notion of comity. Justice Hugo Black

best defined this notion as one of respect by the federal

government for state functions in recognition of the

belief that the national government will fair best if the

states and their institutions are left free to perform

their separate functions in their separate ways.

Younger v. Harris, 91 S.Ct. 746, 401 U.S. 37 at 44

(1971). See, also: National League of Cities v. Usery,

supra. Comity or cooperation is never founded upon

penalties or coercion.

ie)

B. 23 USC 131 violates the necessity requirement of

the necessary and proper clause.

The federal statute purports on its face to have a

nationwide purpose. 23 USC 131 (a). However, it con

templates that any or all of the states may choose not

to comply. 23 USC 131 (b).

Thus, any state or all of the states may thwart the

alleged national will of Congress and subvert a policy

directed at alleviating what is perceived as a nation

wide problem.

The necessary and proper clause of Article 1, Sec-

tion 8 mandates that Congress in carrying out its ex-

press powers may adopt legislation which is both

necessary and proper. As earlier noted what is “neces

sary’ is a matter of judicial review. McCulloch v.

Maryland, supra.

It is clear by McCulloch v. Maryland, supra, that

what is either necessary or proper must be a matter of

substance, not just a whim.

How can it be argued that 23 USC 131 is “necessary”

if any or all of the states may by the ‘simple expedient

of not yielding’ ignore the problem and assume the

penalty? If the problem rises to one of national scope

and concern may it be treated so lightly?

The federal outdoor advertising control program is

as readily acknowledged merely an attempt to create

and establish a national esthetic. Although desirable it

cannot be argued that there is any national peril justi

fying or necessitating exercise of ary express power of

Congress.

There is no national crisis or emergency falling with

in the exception to the holding of National League of

Cities v. Usery, supra.

%

19

As stated by this Court, similarity of local conditions

does not give rise to a national problem. U.S. v. Butler,

supra, at 392. If on the other hand the control of out-

door advertising is a problem national in scope, giving

the states the option to ignore the problem is a consti-

tutional farce.

There is no necessity of a constitutional stature

justifying this statute.

C. 23 USC 131 regulates the states governance of

commerce, not commerce itself.

Legislation such as 23 USC 131 is readily distin

guishable from direct federal regulation of a problem

(i.e., pollution or environmental despoliation) where a

real and vital national problem is faced and the federal

law is mandatory, direct and knows of no exceptions.

The federal government's position attempting to

justify 23 USC 131 is akin to that of the EPA’s “in

direct polluter” thesis urged in Brown v. Environ-

mental Protection Agency, 521 F.2nd 827 (9th Cir.

1975), vacated and remanded 431 U.S. 99, 97 S.Ct. 1635,

(Brown IJ), 566 F.2nd 665 (9th Cir. 1977) (Brown II), and

District of Columbia v. Train, 521 F.2nd 971 (D.C.C.A.

1975).

The federal government in the two Brown cases

argued that since the states build the roads (albeit pur.

suant to a federal program with federal funds), and

roads attract automobiles which pollute, a state which

owns such roads indirectly pollutes when it fails to

obey an EPA directive to adopt and enforce a federal

scheme of regulation, and the state is thus subject to

penalty.

Presently, the federal government argues that since

the state maintains the roads, and outdoor advertising

20

is adjacent to the roads, the state must enforce a

federal scheme for regulating private land use.

In both instances the federal government seeks to

use state police powers under threat of penalty.

Both the Ninth Circuit and the District of Columbia

Circuit Courts of Appeals rejected the government's

argument pointing out that there is a difference be-

tween the governance of commerce by a state under its

police power, and commerce itself. Brown J] at 669, and

672.

The District of Columbia Court of Appeals notes

that it is constitutionally impermissable to allow the

federal government to “commandeer” the state's

regulatory power. District of Columbia v. Train,

supra, at 992.

Although the legislative history discloses that Con

gress did not choose to adopt the EPA “indirect

source’ concept after Brown J, the Ninth Circuit Court

of Appeals on remand clearly warns that had Congress

done so it would not have lightly rejected the argu

ment that the indirect source theory collides with the

holding of National League of Cities v. Usery, supra.

Brown IT at 672.

Congress has in fact, however, embodied the “in

direct source” concept in 23 USC 131.

The record is clear that the government attempts to

justify 23 USC 131 under the commerce power, and

that the trial court herein so justified this federal

regulatory scheme. (Appendix A)

23 USC 131 makes the state police power the conduit

for the control and regulation of privately owned out

door advertising located on private property.

21

23 USC 131 commandeers the state's power

regulate commerce. 23 USC 131 usurps the state's

police power under threat of penalty. The state's con

stitutional powers, resources and money are used as a

means by Congress of regulating private rersons or

firms who do not conform to the national eschetic

The federal statute regulates the states power

regulate commerce, not commerce itself.

IT.

CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED DUE TO

THE PRESENCE OF A NOVEL QUESTION OF

WHETHER THE CONGRESS MAY BY THE

UNLIMITED USE OF ECONOMIC COERCION

OR PENALTIES UNDER THE GUISE OF CON

DITIONING ITS FUNDS INDUCE STATE AC

TION

The planning and zoning of private land use has

since it was originally recognized by this Court as cor

stitutionally proper been a traditional function of the

state and local governments. Euclid v. Ambler Realty

Co., 47 S.Ct. 114, 272 U.S. 365 (1926).

23 USC 131 requires in effect that the state exercise

its sovereign police power to strip zone a corridor

within sight of certain federal-aid highways wit!

which to regulate and control outdoor advertising.

The trial court in this case held that South Dakota

would not have exercised its sovereign zoning powers

as required by 23 USC 131, except for the penalty. (Ay

pendix A).

This Court has recently held that the Congress is

without power due to the limitation of the Tenth

..

Amendment to displace the states freedom to struc

22

ture integral operations in areas of traditional govern-

mental functions reserved to the states. National

League of Cities v. Usery 96 S.Ct. 2465, 426 U.S. 833

(1976).

The Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals repeatedly in

its decision affirming the Trial Court herein states that

the sanction of 23 U.S.C. 131 is a “penalty” (Appendix

FE).

The record is clear that the state enacted com-

pliance legislation (Appendix I) creating the zoned cor-

ridor for the regulation of outdoor advertising and that

economic coercion had been placed upon the state by

the federal act. It would not have zoned but for the

penalty.

The state asserts that since the Congress may not

constitutionally directly displace the state’s freedom

to structure its operations in areas of traditional

governmental functions because of the prohibition of

Tenth Amendment, the Congress should not indirectly

be allowed to condition its funds in a way constituting

a penalty or economic coercion as a means of inducing

state action in such areas.

The trial court citing Steward Machine Co. v. Davis,

97 S.Ct. 883, 301 U.S. 548 (1937) intimates that the

power of Congress to so condition its funds is un-

limited. (Appendix A)

This is a novel question of substantial importance.

23

CONCLUSION

WHEREFORE, petitioners respectfully state that

23 USC 131 unconstitutionally affects substantial

state's rights and prays that a writ of certiorari be

granted.

STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA

Ronald G. Schmidt

Special Assistant Attorney General

P.O. Box 1174

Pierre, South Dakota 57501

Telephone: 605/224-0461

24

PROOF OF SERVICE

The undersigned counsel of record for petitioner,

hereby certifies that on the 12th day of February,

1981, he caused forty (40) copies of the above and fore-

going petition to be filed with the clerk of the U.S.

Supreme Court, and further caused three (3) copies of

such petition to be served upon counsel for the United

States Government and all other parties to such pro-

ceedings, by causing such to be mailed to such counsel

by U.S. Mail, postage prepaid, to:

Robert E. Kopp and Douglas N. Letter

Attorneys

Civil Division

Room 3631

U.S. Department of Justice

Washington, D.C. 20530

Ronald G. Schmidt __

Attorney for Petitioner

l

APPENDIX A

District Court Opinion (477-3039)

April 7, 1980

Ronald G. Schmidt

Special Assistant Attorney General

State Capitol Building

Pierre, South Dakota 57501

Attorney for Plaintiff

Terry L. Pechota

United States Attorney

231 Federal Building & U.S. Courthouse

Sioux Falls, South Dakota 57102

Ms. Judith S. Seolnick

Department of Justice

10th and Constitution Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20530

Edward V.A. Kussy

Deputy Assistant Chief Counsel for

Right of Way and Environmental Law Division

Federal Highway Administration

Washington, D.C. 20530

RE: STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA, Plaintiff

vs

BROCK ADAMS, UNITED STATES SECRE.-

TARY OF TRANSPORTATION; WILLIAM M.

COX, FEDERAL HIGHWAY ADMINISTRA-

TOR; ARTHUR JOHNSON, DIVISION HIGH-

WAY ADMINISTRATOR and THE UNITED

STATES OF AMERICA, Defendants

CIVIL NO. 77-3039

ii

Gentlemen and Ms. Scolnick:

MEMORANDUM OPINION

CASE SUMMARY

Plaintiff, the State of South Dakota, (State) seeks to

overturn the final determination of the Secretary of

Transportation (Secretary) under 23 U.S.C. § 131, (the

Highway Beautification Act [Act]), that the State has

not instituted effective control of billboards. The

Secretary assessed a penalty of ten percent of the

State’s highway funds for 1978 and reserved the funds

for 1979, to be returned to the State if the 1979 South

Dakota Legislature complied with the Act. In accord-

ance with the Act, §131(b), the penalty for fiscal 1978

has been withheld and reapportioned to other states

but cannot be distributed to such other states unless

judgment should be rendered against the State in this

action, and in Civ. 78-3051.

In this action, the State contends the Act is unconstl-

tutional because: (1) It is not within the delegated

powers of Congress; (2) it invades the powers reserved

to the states under U.S. Const., Amend. 10; (3) it places

both adjudicatory and prosecutorial functions in the

Secretary; (4) it unlawfully delegates legislative power

to the states; (5) it violates the constitutional guaran-

tee of a republican form of government; (6) it violates

the Due Process Clauses of the U.S. Const., Amendt. 5

and Amendt. 14; (7) it violates freedom of expression

guarantees of Amendt. 1, U.S. Const.

In Civ. 78-3051, the State asserts that the Secretary

abused his discretion and made his determination on a

record with no substantial evidence to support the

determination. These contentions are resolved against

the State in a separate opinion of this court filed in Civ.

78-3051.

ili

In the case at bar, the court now holds that the Act is

constitutional and the State’s request for a declaratory

judgment to the contrary is therefore denied. Sum-

mary judgment shall be entered for defendants.

FACTUAL BACKGROUND

The State of South Dakota has exhibited some reluc-

tance to comply with the provisions of the Highway

Beautification Act. In 1971, then Secretary of Trans-

portation Volpe informed the State that its zoning of

all areas around interstate and primary roads as com-

mercial was not in compliance with the Act. The Secre-

tary determined that the State was in violation of the

Act. This determination was upheld on appeal. South

Dakota v. Volpe, 353 F.Supp. 330 (D.S.D. 1973). The ten

percent penalty was returned in 1973, after the State

complied with the Act.

The State Legislature passed compliance legislation

in 1973, and the South Dakota Board of Transportation

entered into an agreement with the Secretary's dele-

gate, the Federal Highway Administrator. This agree-

ment conformed to the Act and the administrative

Rules under it, and also provided that billboards

erected during the period of non-compliance were to be

removed entirely at the expense of the State. This

agreement was invalidated, however, when the South

Dakota Supreme Court, in Hogen v. State Board of

Transportation, S.D. _ 245 N.W.2d

493 (1976) declared that the 1973 state statute consti-

tuted an impermissible delegation of legislative au-

thority to the State Board of Transportation. There

was no outdoor advertising control of any kind in

South Dakota from September, 1976 to April 1, 1977.

The 1977 legislative session passed House Bill 786,

and the governor signed it, in spite of the fact that the

iv

Secretary's delegate indicated objections to the bill

and warned that passage of the bill could lead to loss of

ten percent of the State’s highway funds for any period

when such law was in effect. On July 11, 1977, the

Secretary notified the State of his preliminary deter-

mination that the State had not complied with the Act

and that ten percent of the State’s highway funds for

fiscal 1978 and succeeding years would be reserved

pending final determination of whether the funds

would be withheld. The notification did not contain a

detailed statement of reasons for the withholding of

funds. The State asked for a more particular statement

and for an administrative hearing. The bill of particu-

lars was received in September, 1977, and the hearing

was held in December, 1977, before an Administrative

Law Judge. The factual record was made before the

Administrative Law Judge on December 12-15, 1977.

The federal government was represented by the

Federal Highway Adminstration. The Secretary took

no part in this phase of the proceedings.

The State, on December 22, 1977, commenced two

actions in this court. The first challenged the legality

of the Secretary’s 1977 reservation of funds, which

reservation took effect on October 1, 1977. This action

was decided adversely to the State in this court, and

affirmed on appeal. South Dakota v. Adams, Dist. Ct.

Civ. 77-3038, 587 F.2d 915(8th Cir. 1978), cert. denied,

441 U.S. 961 (1979). The instant action, Civ. 77-3039,

challenged the constitutionality of the Act and regula-

tions under it.

The recommended decision of the Administrative

Law Judge, issued in March, 1978, noted discrepancies

between South Dakota and federal law, but indicated

that the discrepancies could be reconciled, either

through negotiation between the Secretary and the

¥

State or through the State’s application for an eco-

nomic hardship exemption under 23 U.S.C. §131(0). The

Administrative Law Judge found that the State had

made a good faith effort to comply with the Act, and

recommended that the Secretary not withhold ten per-

cent of the State’s highway funds.

The Federal Highway Administration appealed this

recommended decision to the Secretary on March 24,

1978, in accordance with 5 U.S.C. §557(b), a part of the

Federal Administrative Procedure Act. The State ob-

jected to this procedure as placing both the prosecu-

torial and adjudicative functions in the Secretary. The

Secretary reviewed the record de novo, having con-

cluded that he was not restricted by any presumption

of correctness of the Administrative Law Judge's

determination.

The Secretary’s final Order of November 9, 1978,

determines that the State’s (1) directional sign regula-

tion; and (2) regulation of signs more than 660 feet from

the right-of-way, outside urban areas; and (3) its failure

to enter into an adequate agreement under Section 131

(d), place South Dakota out of compliance with the Act.

The Order further determines that South Dakota’s fis-

cal 1978 funds, previously reserved, are to be reappor-

tioned to the other states. The fiscal 1979 funds were

not to be reapportioned to the other states. The State

failed to enact effective billboard control by March 31,

1979. The State commenced Civ. 78-3051, seeking re-

view of this order, on December 7, 1978.

In the time since the State brought the two actions

now before the court, the legislature has passed, and

the Governor has signed, legislation intended to insure

compliance with the Act. 1979 S.D. Sess. L. Ch. 202,

SDCL 31-29-61 through 87'(Supp. 1979). The State has,

as of December, 1979, entered into an agreement with

vi

the Federal Highway Administration and most of the

fiscal 1979 funds have been released to the State. The

Secretary's order of November 9, 1978, requires that

the fiscal 1978 funds be permanently withheld and re-

distributed to the other states. The redistribution is

automatically stayed pending final judgment in Civ.

77-3039 and Civ. 78-3051. 23 U.S.C. 131(1).

Both parties moved for summary judgment, and

filed briefs and memoranda in support of their motions.

The court first heard oral argument in this case on

August 10, 1979, at which time the State sought and

was granted leave to file an amended complaint. The

State also requested and was granted permission to

file supplemental briefs in support of contentions made

and refined in the amended complaint. The Secretary

duly responded to these briefs and to the amended

complaint. At the request of the State, further argu-

ment was heard on October 19, 1979, and the parties

have filed further briefs and affidavits since that time.

ISSUE

Is the Highway Beautification Act unconstitutional

under any of the State’s contentions?

DECISION

A. Provisions of the Act Relevant to its Constitu-

tionality.

The Act provides that the Secretary has the power

and duty to enforce its provisions. These provisions re-

quire a detailed regulatory program to be undertaken

by each of the States. The program must be such as

will provide “effective control” of roadside outdoor

advertising. “Effective control” is defined with parti-

vii

cularity in 23 U.S.C. 131 and the regulations adopted

under it by the Federal Highway Administration. Any

State refusing to adopt regulation of billboards in ac-

cordance with the federal standards is to have its

federal highway funds reduced by ten percent. For

purposes of the State’s constitutional challenges, it is

sufficient to point out that the requirements of the Act

and the regulations are quite detailed, and that they

require specific state regulation of billboards adjacent

to interstate and primary highways before the State

may receive one hundred percent of its federal high-

way funds. The requirements often conflict with the

way in which the State of South Dakota would exercise

its sovereign zoning powers in absence of such require-

ments.

23 U.S.C. 131(1) requires the Secretary to prelimi-

narily determine whether a state is in compliance with

§131. This must take place at least sixty days before a

final determination is made. The State may request a

hearing within the sixty-day period, and the Secretary

must then issue his final determination after the hear-

ing. The State may appeal the final determination to

any district court for a district of that State. The filing

of such an appeal stays the Secretary’s order until final

judgment in the appeal. The appeal vests the court

with jurisdiction to affirm or reverse the Secretary's

determination, in whole or in part, or to remand to the

Secretary for further proceedings.

B. Whether the subject matter of the Act is with-

in the power of Congress.

(1) Legal Background

The federal government may require that states in-

stitute certain regulatory measures or certain govern-

viii

mental programs in order to receive full funding under

federal grants. This may be accomplished under the

taxing and spending clause, U.S. Const. Art. I, Sec. 8,

Cl. 1 (text of this clause set forth in Footnote 4, infra./.

Steward Machine Co. v. Davis, 301 U.S. 548, 590 (1937).

Conditiens placed on federal grants may be used to

accomplish goals of the federal government provided

certain tests are met. First, as the tax and spend

clause itself indicates, the spending must be in the

“general welfare.” This means that an expenditure, if

it seeks to accomplish certain federal goals, must ac-

complish goals that benefit society at large, and not a

particular group. In United States v. Butler, 297 U.S. 1

(1936), for example, it was held that a tax on processors

of food, the proceeds of which were to benefit only

farmers, viclated the rule that expenditures must be

for the general welfare.

Second, conditioned grants must be “fairly within

national power and policy,’ Steward Machine, supra at

590. A conditioned grant will pass this test if it ad-

dresses a problem Congress could reasonably find to

be national in scope, even if some of the aspects of the

problem might have traditionally been addressed by

state regulation.

Third, if the condition itself is not within national

policy and power, it will not be invalidated if it is

directed to the attainment of a lawful end, for which

nation and state may cooperate. Steward Machine Co.

v. Davis, supra at 593. The means (condition) calculated

to produce a result need not, therefore, be limited to

those within federal power so long as the end sought to

be accomplished is within the area which the federal

government may address. For example, even though

the federal government has no power over state em-

ployees, it may condition funds for the salaries of such

ix

employees on adoption by the State of regulations pro-

hibiting partisan political activity by the State

employees administering funds. This is so because the

end of this condition, to ensure better public service by

those administering federal funds, is an end within the

powers of the federal government. Oklahoma v. Civil

Service Comm'n. 330 U.S. 127, 143 (1947).

A condition placed on a grant will be invalidated if

its effect is to coerce the State to accept the condition

and to deprive the state of a choice. Steward Machine,

supra at 589-90. In Steward Machine , the court did not

discuss the nature of coercion necessary to invalidate a

condition because it found no coercion present. In

Oklahoma v. Civil Serv. Comm'n. supra at 143-44, how-

ever, the court held that where the State could avoid a

penalty “by the simple expedient of not yield”, that is,

by foregoing the federal benefit to which a condition

wes attached, the condition was not coercive. As ap-

pears from the discussion following, it is unnecessary

in this case to determine under what conditions coer-

cion might be found. The language of Oklahoma v.

Civil Service Comm'n, however, suggests that condi-

tional grants might never be coercive.

(2) Whether the Act is within the “General

Welfare”

The court concludes that the Act could reasonably

be found to be in furtherance of the general welfare.

The discretion vested in Congress to determine what

is in the general welfare is “quite expansive.” Buckley

v. Valleo, 424 U.S. 1, 90 (1975). Congress has stated

that its reasons for seeking State regulation of bill-

boards were to protect the public interest in the high-

ways, promote the scenic and recreational value of the

highways, and promote safety on the highways. These

are national goals, benefitting all of society, not just a

x

particular group. This is especially true in light of the

fact that the construction of these highways is financed

almost entirely by federal funds.

The scope of the court’s inquiry in determining

whether a grant and conditions attached to it are in the

general welfare is narrow. See Buckley v. Valleo,

supra. Congress has the benefit of hearings. legislative

and executive branches and the views of all segments

of society in determining what is in the general wel-

fare. This court cannot utilize such fact-finding pro-

cesses, and is not constituted, as in Congress, to ex-

press the national policy through the enactment of

statutes. Even if this court were to disagree on the

wisdom of the Act, it may not, in this case, substitute

its judgment for that of Congress on the question of

whether the Act is for the “general welfare.”

(3) Whether the Act is within the National

power and Policy.

Regulation of roadside outdoor advertising, if within

the scope of national policy and power, would be

brought there by Congress’ power over interstate com-

merce, U.S. Const., Art. I, Sec. 8, Cl. 3.2 There can be

little doubt that outdoor advertising signs along inter

state and primary roads affect interstate commerce.

Such signs are intended to exert influence on the

traveling public. Public travel is part and parcel of in

terstate commerce. See Heart of America Motel v.

United States, 379 U.S. 241 (1964). The highways are

channels of interstate commerce. Their construction is

* This clause reads as follows:

The Congress shall have Power. ..To regulate commerce with

foreign nations, and among the several states and with the Indian

Tribes....

x!

largely financed by federal taxation. Congress intent

that roadside advertising be regulated is clearly shown

by the Act itself.

The State's contention is, however, that direct regu

lation of billboards by the federal government would

usurp the reserved powers of the states and thus con

travene U.S. Const., Amend. 10.° A subject can be a na

tional problem and yet be beyond Congress's power as

violative of this amendment. National League of Cities

v. Usery, 426 U.S. 833 (1976). In this regard, a distiction

must be made between congressional regulation that

directly affects the State's governmental functions,

(such as enforcement against State Government of

maximum hours—minimum wage requirements for

State employees), and regulation that does not affect

the State in its sovereign capacity.* National League of

Cities, supra, concerned federal regulations that

directly affected rendition of state governmental ser

vices by a state. Federal regulation of billboards, on

the other hand, directly affects only the landowner and

advertiser, rather than the State itself in its sovereign

capacity.

The State contends that such a regulation of bill

This amendment reads as follows:

The powers not delegated to the United States by the Constit

tion, nor prohibited by it to the States, are reserved to the States

respectively, or to the people.

‘In National Le aque of Cities, supra, Congress has extended

minimum wage provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act

state and local employees. The states and localities were thus rs

quired by Congress to pay certain wages. They were given no

choice in the matter. Here, of course, the State of South Dakota

could choose to persist in its refusal to enact compliance legisla

tion, although at this time it appears that the State has chosen t

compiy. See SDCL 31-29-61 through 87 (Supp. 1979

xii

boards would “impermissibly interfere with [its] inte-

gral governmental functions...”, National League of

Cities, supra, at 851, by displacing the state's tradi-

tional control over land use planning and zoning. It is

inevitable that any federal regulation intruding on

areas once controlled by the states will diminish the

state's power in the area. So long as the activity

regulated (in this case, outdoor advertising) is not a

traditional state function, the Tenth Amendment and

National League of Cities, supra, will not prohibit Con-

gress from regulating the activity. If it were other-

wise, Congress could never extend federal regulation

of private business (as distinguished from regulation of

the state as a state) to any area previously controlled

by the states, because any such extension would, under

the State’s argument, violate the Tenth Amendment.

That Congress’ power is not so severly limited is

shown by a multitude of decisions from the United

States Supreme Court, including: Katzenbach v.

McClung, 379 U.S. 294 (1964); Heart of Atlanta Motel,

supra; Wickard v. Filburn, 317 U.S. 111 (1942); United

States v. Darby, 312 U.S. 100 (1941); N.L.R.B. v. Jones

& Laughlin Steel Corp., 301 U.S. 1 (1937); Stafford v.

Wallace, 258 U.S. 495 (1922). It is also worth noting

that the narrow view taken by cases such as Carter v.

Carter Coal Co., 298 U.S. 238 (1936) and Hammer v.

Dagenhart, 247 U.S. 241 (1918) has been specifically

repudiated by the later cases.

The State places reliance on the case of United

States v. Butler, supra The rationale of this case,

however, has been significantly undermined by subse-

quent cases, particularly Steward Machine Co. v.

Davis, supra at 592-93 and Oklahoma v. Civil Service

Comm'n, supra.

Even Butler does not support a legal conclusion that

Xlii

the Highway Beautification Act is unconstitutional.

Butler held unconstitutional a tax designed to in-

fluence or regulate agricultural production. An essen-

tial part of this holding was the court’s conclusion that

Congress had no power to directly legislate so as to

control agricultural production. The subject of agricul-

tural production was viewed, in 1936, as outside the

scope of national power and policy. This view no longer

controls, since later congressional enactments in the

area of agricultural production have been upheld. See

Wickard v. Filburn, supra. In addition, by levying a

specific tax on a specific industry, and appropriating

funds for the benefit of that industry, Congress was

seeking to tax and spend for particular, rather than

general, welfare. The farmers in Butler, the Supreme

Court found, were being coerced to conform their pro-

duction to a federal standard. The state could not free-

ly exercise its reserved powers to police production

within its borders, it was held, so long as the federal

government coerced farmers into following a federal

program. Finally, the State in Butler had no choice; it

could not avoid the operation of the Agricultural Ad-

justment Act by “the simple expedient of not

yielding’, Oklahoma v. Civil Service Comm'n, supra at

143-44.

The Highway Beautification Act does not suffer

from any of these infirmities. There is no spending for

the benefit of any particular group, but instead, the

subject of outdoor roadside advertising along in-

terstate and primary highways is within the national

interest, and it was within the power of Congress and

the President to declare such a public policy by

statute. This case does not present a fact situation of

misuse of the tax and spend power to accomplish

something the federal government has no right to do

XIV

otherwise. The State need not comply, and may cease

to comply at any time. See Steward Machine Co. v.

Davis, supra at 592-93.

(4) Whether the Condition is Directed to the

Attainment of a Lawful End

The court also finds and concludes that the end of

the grant is within the power of Congress, and that the

condition is reasonably adapted to that end. The Con-

gress as indicated above, could choose to regulate out-

door advertising along interstate and primary

highways. Withholding part of the highway funds of a

state that refuses to regulate such advertising is a

means calculated to produce regulation of advertising.

As cases cited elsewhere in this opinion indicate, it is a

legitimate means to bring about an end, if the end is

within the power of Congress. The end, in this case, is

within Congressional power.

(5) Whether the Condition Amounts to Coer-

cion.

The State’s next contention is that even if the

federal government could regulate biliboards directly,

it could not “commandeer” the State’s police power

and coerce the State to regulate on behalf of the

federal government, citing District of Columbia v.

Train, 521 F.2d 971 (D.C. Cir. 1975) vacated and rem.,

431 U.S. 99 (1977) and Brown v. Environmental Protec-

tion Agency, 521 F.2d 827 (9th Cir. 1975), vacated and

rem., 431 U.S. 99 (1977), opinion after rem., 566 F.2d

665 (1977). It is well settled, however, that the federal

government may require the State to comply with cer-

tain conditions in order to obtain funds that the federal

XV

government grants to the State. Steward Machine Co.

v. Davis, supra. The cases cited by the State recognize

this principle. These cases dealt with the attempt by

the Environmental Protection Agency to impose cer-

tain federal regulations on the states by forcing the

states, through direct regulation to control certain

types of automobile pollution. In Brown and Train, the

agency attempted to impose a federal regulatory

scheme through which states were required to adopt

certain regulations or suffer federal sanctions. The

states were given no option. The applicability of these

holdings to the present case, in which the states were

given an option (although a painful one) is thus doubt-

ful at best, as the court recognized in Brown 521 F.2d

at 840:

Our interpretation is in no way inconsistent with

the recognition that Congress has the power to

authorize the Administrator to obtain the consent

of a reluctant state by conditioning certain federal

expenditures within that state on the granting of

such consent. See Steward Machine Co. v. Davis,

301 U.S. 548, 57 S.Ct. 883, 81 L.Ed 1279 (1937).

There is a vast difference between requiring a state to

adopt certain regulations and denying funding to a

state that refuses to adopt them.

This distinction was recognized in Texas Land-

owner's Rights Ass'n v. Harris, 453 F. Supp. 1025,

1028-31 (D.D.C. 1978), aff'd mem., 598 F.2d 311 (D.C.

Cir. 1979), cert. denied sub. nom. Texas Landowner’s

Rights Ass'n v. Director, Federal Emergency Manage-

ment Agency, ___-U.S.___——s«d100 S.Ct. 267, 62

L.Ed. 2d 184 (1979), a post-National League of Cities v.

Usery, supra, case. In Texas Landowners, the State of

Missouri, forty political subdivisions in twelve states,

XV1

and thirty individual landowners within federally

designated flood zones brought suit against federal of-

ficials administering the federal flood control program.

The portion of this Act alleged to offend the Tenth

Amendment required that local governments adopt

certain flood plain building regulations under their

police powers on pain of losing federal financial

assistance for acquistion of construction purposes

within non-participating communities. This sanction in-

cluded denial of FHA and VA home mortgages in af-

fected communities. The plaintiffs in Texas Land-

owners, supra, argued, as does the State in this case,

that the severity of the sanctions was such that the

“choice” represented no choice at all, but only coercion.

The court rejected this contention, holding that coer-

cion is to be found only where the federal government

gives the states no choice, but mandates compliance as

in Brown and Train. This was essentially the holding of

Steward Machine Co. v. Davis, supra at 589-90.

Further, the court is not convinced that the condi-

tioned grant in this case is coercive. The very fact that

the State of Sovth Dakota chose not to enact billboard

compliance legislation after having been specifically

warned of the ten percent penalty shows as much. In

addition, congressional debates cited by the Secretary

show a definite intention not to be coercive. Congress

had originally planned to withdraw all highway funds

from non-complying states, but the amount was re-

duced to ten percent in order to give the states a

choice. It is plain that the State could avoid the alleged

coercion by the simple expedient of not complying.

Oklahoma v. Civil Serv. Comm'n, supra, at 143-44. This

court therefore concludes that the Act does not violate

the Tenth Amendment.

XVII

C. Whether the Secretary's statutory role as

decision-maker violates due process when considered

in light of his other administrative duties.

The Act provides that the Secretary must make a

preliminary determination of whether to withhold

funds from a state at least sixty days before the final

determination is made. During this sixty-day period,

the State may request a hearing, and after the hearing

is held, the Secretary is required to make his final

determination of whether the funds should be

withheld.

The State contends that the fact that the Secretary

has power to make both the initial and final decision

and the fact that the Secretary is the official with

Supervisory powers over the Federal Highway Ad-

ministration, which was the agency seeking enforce-

ment, constitutes a violation of due process. This is

said to be the case because the Secretary is cast in the

role of both advocate and decision-maker. 5 U.S.C. 557

prohibits ex parte communications with decision-

makers. Supervision and direction of the advocates by

the decision-maker would thus be unacceptable and

could constitute a violation of due process. There is no

evidence on the record, however, that such abuses

have taken place. Plaintiffs have offered none and do

not now ask for an opportunity to do so. When a party

challenges the regularity of administrative pro-

ceedings, that party has the burden of proving ir-

regularity. In absence of such proof, it is presumed

that administrative proceedings have been properly

conducted. See Hortonville Joint Sch. Dist. No. 1 v.

Hortonville Ed. Ass'n, 426 U.S. 482 (1976); Withrow v.

Larkin, 421 U.S. 35 (1975). These cases also clearly hold

XVili

that, absent evidence of abuses or bias, the combina-

tion of initial decision-making power with that of

making a final determination does not violate due pro-

cess.

D. Whether the Act Unconstutionally delegates

Congressional authority.

The State's next constitutional contention is that

Congress, in passing the Act, delegated authority to

regulate outdoor advertising to the states without ap-

propriate standards, when it should have regulated

outdoor advertising on its own. The State cites

Schechter Poultry Co. v. United States, 295 U.S. 495

(1935) for the proposition that valid Congressional

delegation may be made only to officials of the Na-

tional Government. This principle is indeed contained

in the cited case, but it is inapplicable here. As the

Secretary points out, the Congress has not directly

regulated outdoor advertising, and has not authorized

the states to do so. The State’s authority to regulate

outdoor advertising, or to fail to do so, flows entirely

from the State’s own sovereignty. That Congress

might encourage or induce the State to exercise its

sovereignty does not convert that exercise of state

sovereignty into an invalid exercise of improperly

delegated federal sovereignty. The State is, whether

successfully or unsuccessfully, induced to exercise its

own sovereignty and to some power delegated to it by

the United States Congress. This contention is re-

jected.

BE. First Amendment Contention.

The State also contends that the Act violates free

speech guarantees of the first amendment, United

States Constitution. The State correctly points out

xix

that commercial speech has recently been given first

amendment protection. Virginia State Board of

Pharmacy v. Virginia Citizen's Council, 425 U.S. 748

(1976). We are not, however, required to consider this

contention, since the State lacks standing to assert the

first amendment rights, if any, of advertisers. The

United States Supreme Court has held that a litigant

must assert his own legal rights and interests, and can-

not rest his claim for relief on the rights of others.

Warth v. Seldin, 422 U.S. 490, 499 (1975). Here, the

State seeks to assert the rights of persons otherwise

free to advertise. It cannot do so. Such advertisers

must assert their own rights, if any. It is noted that 23

U.S.C. 131 excludes official state signs, and it thus ap-

pears that the State is not being deprived of free

speech.

In addition, the State cannot assert this claim as

parens patriae for its citizens. The State has standing

to sue under this doctrine only when “its sovereign or

quasi-sovereign interests are implicated and it is not

merely litigating as a volunteer the personal claims of

its citizens” Pennsylvania v. New Jersey, 426 U.S. 660,

665, (1976). In this case, the other contentions of the

State obviously involve its sovereign powers. The

alleged First Amendment rights, however, are only

those of the individual citizens who might choose to

erect outdoor advertising. The State is, at best, only a

volunteer as to these claims and may not, therefore,

successfully assert them.

F. Additional Constitutional Contentions.

The State makes a number of additional constitu-

tional contentions. Among these are due process and

equal protection challenges, additional arguments

based on improper delegation of legislative authority,

and a contention that the Act violates the Republican

XX

Form of Government Guarantee Clause, U.S. Const.

Art. IV, § 4.° The court has carefully considered these

challenges. Those other than the guarantee clause

challenge are rejected, particularly in view of the fact

that the State has cited no authority for its position on

these challenges. The guarantee clause is rejected

because, as the United States Supreme Court recog-

nized in Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186, 223-26 (1962) such

challenges raise non-justiciable political questions.

CONCLUSIONS

The court specifically finds and concludes that the

Highway Beautification Act is constitutional, and that

there is no merit in the State’s constitutional conten-

tions. The State’s request for a declaratory judgment

is denied; the Secretary’s motion for summary judg-

ment is granted; and an appropriate order will be

entered.

Dated this 7th day of April, 1980.

BY THE COURT:

s/Donald J. Porter

U.S. DISTRICT JUDGE

° This clause reads as follows:

The United States shall guarantee to every State in this Union

a Republican Form of Government, and shall protect each of them

against Invasion; and on Application of the Legislature, or of the

Executive (when the Legislature cannot be convened) against

domestic Violence.

XXi

APPENDIX B

District Court Judgment (477-3039)

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF SOUTH DAKOTA

CENTRAL DIVISION

STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA,

Plaintiff

VS

CIV. 77-3039

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

BROCK ADAMS, UNITED )

STATES SECRETARY OF ) ORDER AND

TRANSPORTATION; WIL- _ ) JUDGMENT

LIAM M. COX, FEDERAL )

HIGHWAY ADMINISTRA- _ )

TOR: ARTHUR JOHNSON, )

DIVISION HIGHWAY AD- )

MINISTRATOR and THE )

UNITED STATES OF )

AMERICA, )

)

)

Defendants.

The court having considered the administrative

record in the above entitled case, all papers on file, and

the briefs and oral arguments of the parties, and good

cause appearing, now it is therefore

ORDERED that defendants’ motion for summary

judgment in the above entitled case be, and hereby is,

in all things GRANTED, and it is further

ORDERED that plaintiffs’ motions for summary

XX

judgment, for a declaratory judgment and_ for

preliminary and permanent injunctive relief be, and

hereby are, in all things DENIED,

All in accordance with the court’s memorandum opi-

nion of April 7, 1980, in the above entitled case, and

further in accordance with this court’s memorandum

opinion in Civil Case No. 78-3051, insofar as the

memorandum opinion in 78-3051 is applicable to the

issues raised in this case.

Dated this 9th day of April, 1980.

BY THE COURT:

s/Donald J. Porter

U.S. DISTRICT JUDGE

ATTEST:

WILLIAM J. SRSTKA, CLERK

BY: s/Judy L. Harvey

Deputy

(SEAL OF COURT)

XXill

APPENDIX C

District Court Opinion (#78-3051)

April 7, 1980

Ronald G. Schmidt

Special Assistant Attorney General

State Capitol Building

Pierre, South Dakota 57501

Attorney for Plaintiff

Terry L. Pechota

United States Attorney

231 Federal Building & U.S. Courthouse

Sioux Falls, South Dakota 57102

Ms. Judith 8S. Scolnick

Department of Justice

10th and Constitution Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20530

Edward V.A. Kussy

Deputy Assistant Chief Counsel for

Right of Way and Environmental Law Division

Federal Highway Administration

Washington, D.C. 20530

RE: STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA, Plaintiff

vs

BROCK ADAMS, UNITED STATES SECRE-

TARY OF TRANSPORTATION; KARL

BOWERS, FEDERAL HIGHWAY AD.-

MINISTRATOR;WILLIAM S. WESEMAN,

DIVISION HIGHWAY ADMINISTRATOR and

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Defen-

dants

CIVIL NO. 78-3051

XX1V

Gentlemen and Ms. Scolnick:

MEMORANDUM OPINION

SUMMARY

This action was brought by the State of South

Dakota [State], against the United States Secretary of

Transportation [Secretary]. The state seeks to over-

turn the Secretary’s final determination and order of

November 9, 1978, because the order and determina-

tion is alleged to be arbitrary and capricious and to be

based on a record not containing substantial evidence

to justify it. The factual and legal background is set

forth in this court’s memorandum opinion in Civ.

77-3039, which deals with the constitutionality of 23

U.S.C. § 131 [The Act].

The administrative hearing from which the factual

record in this case was made was held before an ad-

ministrative law judge on December 12-15, 1977, at

Pierre, South Dakota. The Secretary issued his final

determination and order on November 9, 1978. The

State commenced this action, asking for review of the

Secretary's action, on December 7, 1978. Both parties

have moved for summary judgment and filed briefs

and memoranda in support of their motions. The court

first heard oral argument in this case on August 10,

1979, at which time the State sought and was granted

leave to file an amended complaint. The State also re-

quested and was granted permission to file supplemen-

tal briefs in support of contentions made and refined in

the amended complaint. The Secretary duly responded

to these briefs and to the amended complaint. At the

request of the State, further argument was heard on

October 19, 1979, and the parties have filed further

briefs and affidavits since that time.

XXV

The court now finds and concludes that the

Secretary's order is not arbitrary and capricious and

that it is based on substantial evidence. The order is,

therefore, aifirmed.

PAGE

Issues Stated |

Decision j

I

Scope of Review 4

II

Whether the Record Justifies the Secretary's

Determination 6

A. Introduction 6

(1) Relevant Provisions of the Highway

Beautification Act 6

(2) General Considerations §

B. Whether SDCL Ch. 31-29 Complies

with the Act 9

(1) Directional Signs 10

(2) Urban Areas-Municipality Distinction 15

(3) Section 131(d) Agreements 17

a. Genera’iv 17

b. Extent of Unzoned Commercial and

Industrial Areas 18

(4) The Moratorium on Directional

Sign Removal 20)

C. The State’s Arguments Regarding

Compliance 22

XXV1

(1) The State's Record of Billboard Removal 22

(2) Flexibility of the Act 23

(3) Scenic Attractiveness 24

D. Whether the Secretary Abused his Discretion

in Failing to Suspend the Penalty on the

Fiscal Year 1978 Funds, Pursuant to

23 U.S.C.Sec. 131(b). 25

(1) Economic Impact of Compliance 26

(2) The State’s Good Faith Attempt at

Compliance 27

(3) Whether the Penalty Should be

Suspended Because Delay in Rendering

the Secretary’s Decision Allegedly

Caused the State Not to Adopt Com-

plying Legislation in 1978. 28

(4) Whether the Secretary Abused his

Discretion in Treating the Fiscal 1978

Funds Differently from the Fiscal

1979 Funds. 29

Conclusion 30

ISSUES

The following issues are presented by the record in

this case:

I. What scope of review should be employed?

II. Does the administrative record justify the

Secretary's decision and order?

DECISION

I. SCOPE OF REVIEW

The State has asked for a trial de novo in this court

case. The exact grounds are unclear. The request,

XXVIl

although contained in the complaint, is not pressed in

the State’s briefs. The State seems to reason that since

the procedure employed was a denial of due process,

and since the Secretary acted in an arbitrary and

capricious manner, the matter should be heard de

novo. This contention is without merit. The proper

remedy for any such violation would be a remand for

new and untainted fact-finding, rather than a usurpa-

tion of the Secretary's factfinding function by this

court. There is little if anything new which the State

would present to the Court on a trial de novo. Ap-

parently, the State seeks to have this court substitute

its judgment on the factual issues for that of the

Secretary. There is no statutory provision for such a

scope of review, and this court has no authority to

grant such a review of the facts. South Dakota v.

Volpe, 353 F. Supp. 338, 342 (D.S.D. 1973).

The State is, however, entitled to a review of the

Secretary's final determination under the provisions of

23 U.S.C. § 131(1). The scope of review is not specified

by Section 131(1). In the absence of any particularized

standard of review, the proper standard is the substan-

tial evidence standard found in 5 U.S.C. § 706.

The nature of the substantial evidence standard was

considered at length in Universal Camera Corp. v.

NLRB, 340 U.S. 474 (1951). Initially, the standard is

applicable only where the agency action is taken pur-

suant to the rule-making power of the Administrative

Procedure Act or when the agency action is based ona

public adjudicatory hearing. Citizens to Preserve

Overton Park Inc. v. Volpe, 401 U.S. 402 (1971). The

condition is fulfilled here, since a public adjudicatory

hearing was held in this case. In Universal Camera,

supra at 477, the Supreme Court indicated that

substantial evidence is “more than a scintilla. It means

such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might ac-

XXVIII

cept as adequate to support a conclusion.” Substantial

evidence was also equated with the amount of evidence

necessary to deny a motion for a directed verdict and

to justify submitting a case to a jury, where a trial is

by jury. The reviewing court must draw its conclusions

by reviewing the entire record. The evidence detract-

ing from the Secretary's determination must be con-

sidered, as well as that tending to support it. This does

not mean, however, that the court is to weigh the

evidence. The only question is whether all the evidence

on the record, taken as a whole, fairly supports the

Secretary's determination. Universal Camera, supra.

The sufficiency of the evidence will be reviewed under

this standard.

The State further contends that the Secretary's

determination should be set aside because it is ar-

bitrary and capricious 5 U.S.C. 706 (2)(A). Agency ae-

tion may be arbitrary and capricious even if supported

by substantial evidence. Bowman Transportation, Inc.

v. Arkansas Best Freight System, 419 U.S. 281, 284

(1974).

The arbitrary and capricious standard calls for an

“inquiry into the facts [that] is to be searching and

careful’, but “the ultimate standard of review is a nar-

row one.” Citizens to Preserve Overton Park v. Volpe,

supra at 416. In reviewing administrative action under

this standard, the court must determine whether the

decision was based on relevant factors and whether

there has been a clear error of judgment. The court

may not substitute its judgment for that of the agency,

and if the record fairly supports the Secretary's exer-

cise of discretion, that discretion is not to be interfered

with. Citizens to Preserve Overton Park, supra. The

agency must give a reasoned basis for its action. The

Court will not supply a basis on which the agency did

not rely. A decision will, however, be upheld, even

XX1X

when it is of less than ideal clarity, if the agency's path

may be reasonably discerned. Bowman Transportation

v. Arkansas Best Freight System, supra.

Il. Whether The Record Justifies the Secretary's

Determination.

A. Introduction.

(1) Relevant Provisions of the Highway Beau-

tification Act.

The Secretary of Transportation is given authority

to determine compliance with the Act. A ten percent

penalty of federal funds allocated to states for highway

construction is levied under the Act against states that

do not comply. The purpose of the Act is stated as

follows:

The Congress hereby finds and declares that the

erection and maintenance of outdoor advertising

signs, displays, and devices in areas adjacent to

the Interstate System and the primary system

should be controlled in order to protect the public

investment in such highways, to promote the sate-

ty and recreational value of public travel, and to

preserve natural beauty. 28 U.S.C. § 131 (a).

In order to comply with the Act, and avoid the ten

percent penalty, a state is required to prohibit all signs

within the control zone, with the exceptions set out

below. The control zone was initially defined as being

that within 660 feet of interstate and primary highway

rights-of-way. This was later expanded to include the

area more than 660 feet from the rights-of-way, if signs

within this later zone were visible from the highway

and erected with the purpose of being read from that

highway. The following signs may be permitted, even

though they are within the control zone:

(1) Directional and official signs in accordance with

XXX

rules promulgated by the Secretary;

Signs advertising sale or lease of the property on

which they are located;

Signs advertising activities on the property on

which they are located;

Signs in existence on October 22, 1968, determin-

ed by the State to be of intrinsic historic value,

when such determination is approved by the

Secretary; and

Signs advertising distribution of free coffee to

motorists by non-profit groups. 23 U.S.C.

§ 131(c).

These categories and the regulations under the Act,

Si

23 C.F.R. 750.153, do not authorize erection and main-

tena

under South Dakota law relevant to this action. The

Act

nce of certain types of signs which were allowed

does, however, provide the following exemption:

The Secretary may approve the request of a State

to permit retention in specific areas defined by

such State of directional signs, displays, and

devices lawfully erected under State law in force

at the time of their erection which do not conform

to the requirements of subsection (c), where such

signs, displays and devices are in existence on the

date of enactment of this subsection and where the

State demonstrates that such signs, displays, and

devices (1) provide directional information about

goods and services in the interest of the traveling

public, and (2) are such that removal would work a

substantial economic hardship in such defined

area. 23 U.S.C. § 131(o).

gns are also permitted in areas zoned commercial

or industrial, or in unzoned commercial or industrial

XXXI1

areas, in accordance with agreements between the

Secretary and the State, 23 U.S.C. § 131(d). If the

State certifies comprehensive local controls setting

size, lighting and spacing standards, these will govern

in lieu of an agreement insofar as signs are within com-

mercial and industrial areas zoned or unzoned. /d.

States are free to impose stricter controls than those

called for in the Act. 23 U.S.C. § 131(k).

Signs permitted under any of the above provisions,

except Subsection 131(o), are known as conforming

signs. These may be maintained so long as they con-

tinue to conform to state law. Non-conforming signs

(those not fitting within the above provisions) must be

removed as federal funds become available to pay com-

pensation for their removal. Signs that are non-con-

forming, but which come within the provisions of Sub-

section 131(o) are not subject to removal.

Signs erected in violation of state law at the time of

their erection (illegal signs) must also be removed, but

no compensation is paid for them. Owners of conform-

ing or non-conforming signs must be compensated if

the signs are removed, and the federal government is

required to pay seventy-five percent of the cost of

removal and compensation to sign owners, 23 U.S.C.

§§ 131(g), 131(n). This is apparently also the case if con-

forming signs are removed because the State law is

more strict than § 131.

Further, provisions of the Act and the regulations

under it will be set forth as they become relevant.

(2) General Considerations.

The State argues that the Federal Highway Admin.

istration was required to prove that specific signs

located on South Dakota roads at the time of the hear-

ing were out of compliance with the appropriate

XXX

federal standards. The Federal Highway Administra-

tion, on the other hand, contends that highway funds

may be withheld if South Dakota law regulating out-

door advertising does not regulate in a way compatible

with federal law. The question is essentially one of

whether Congress sought to penalize the State for fail-

ing to adopt regulations or for having improper signs

within its borders. The distinction is important since

the Highway Administration presented very little

evidence of signs actually out of compliance.

The Highway Administration's position is more

reasonable. It is clear from 23 USC § 131 that Con-

gress intended to regulate future erection of bill-

boards. If the Secretary could not find a state out of

compliance until non-conforming signs were erected

and if those non-conforming signs were not prohibited

by state law, the owners would be entitled to compen-

sation for removal of the signs. 23 U.S.C. § 131(g). If

the Secretary were not permitted to determine com-

pliance by considering whether state law conformed to

federal law, he could only judge results. He would be

forced to inspect the results of state law and not the

state law itself. This would entail waiting until after

non-conforming signs were erected to determine that

the State’s control program was insufficient. The

language of the Act makes it plain that Congress

sought the adoption of conforming laws by the States.

It the States do not adopt such laws, they are subject

to a ten percent penalty.

B. Whether SDCL Ch. 31-29 complies with the

Act.

The Secretary found that South Dakota law did not

meet federal standards in a number of specifi¢ areas:

(1) Directional signs;

XXXIlil

(2) Urban area-municipality distinction;

(3) The State’s inability to enter into a 23

U.S.C. § 131(d) agreement.

(4) The State’s statutorily mandated moratori-

um on removal of “directional” signs.

This finding will be reviewed in light of the above

standards of substantial evidence and arbitrariness.

(1) Directional Signs

As noted above, 23 USC § 131(c) allows erection of

directional and official signs and notices. The

Secretary's delegate, the Federal Highway Adminis-

tration, has promulgated regulations pursuant to this

subsection defining directional signs. 23 CFR

§ 750.153-154. The definition of directional signs is

located in § 750,153(r)' and does not include, as does

the State definition in effect at the time relevant to

this case* the advertisement of goods and services of

businesses catering to the traveling public.®

The State admits this discrepancy, but argues that

the Highway Administration had no authority to pro-

mulgate the regulations because (1) Congress intended

to leave to the states the task of defining what con-

' 23 CFR § 750.153(r): Directional signs means signs containing

directional information about public places owned or operated by

Federal, State or local governments or their agencies; publicly or

privately owned natural phenomena, historic, cultural, scientific,

educational and religious sites; and areas of natural scenic beauty

or naturally suited for outdoor recreation, deemed to be in the in-

terest of the traveling public.

* SDCL 31-29-62(2): “Directional sign, display or device pro-

viding directional information about goods and services in the in-

terest of the traveling public”, any sign, display or device giving

directional information pertaining to food services, lodging,

gasoline and automotive services, resorts, attractions, camp-

XXXIV

stitutes directional signs and (2) Congress, by amend-

ing the language of § 131(c) from “directional and

other official signs” to ‘directional and official signs”

intended to allow non-official directional signs. The Act

specifically gives the Secretary authority to pro-

mulgate regulations necessary to implement the sec-

tion. If Congress had not intended to give the

Secretary authority over such matters, it would

presumably not have granted such power. To concede

that the Secretary has power to enforce controls over

size, lighting, spacing and other sign characteristics

but not power to control the type of sign is inconsistent

with the comprehensive nature of the Act. Further,

the elimination of “other” does not dictate a contrary

result. There is little, if any, legislative history con-

cerning this amendment. The Congress considered but

rejected an amendment that would have used language

virtually identical to that contained in South Dakota

Law. S.Rep. No. 93-355, 93rd Cong. 1st Sess. 63 (1973);

grounds, truck stops, natural wonders, scenic and historical sites,

and areas suited for outdoor recreation or business catering to

the traveling public.

SDCL 31-29-63(1): Directional and official signs and notices, as

authorized or required by law, which signs may include, but shall

not be limited to, signs and notices pertaining to natural wonders,

scenic and historic attractions, and directional information con-

cerning goods and services of businesses catering to the traveling

public.

’ The House of Representatives proposed addition of the

phrase “information in the specific interest of the traveling

public, including, but not limited to, signs for rest stops, camping

grounds, truck stops, food services, gas, and automotive services,

and lodging.” This amendment was rejected by the Senate, a com-

mittee of which indicated that directional signs should be limited

to those disseminating noncommercial information. S. Rep. No.

93-1111, 93rd Cong. 2d Sess. 13 (1974); H.R. Rep. No. 93-1567, 93rd

Cong. 2d Sess. 4 (1974).

XXXV

S.Rep. No. 93-1111, 93rd Cong. 2d Sess. 13 (1974); H.R.

Rep. No. 93-1567, 93rd Cong., 2d Sess. 4 (1974); H.R.

Rep. No. 94-716, 94th Cong., Ist Sess. 12 (1975); S. Rep.

No. 94-741, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. 48-49 (1976). Also, the

definition in § 750.153(r) does include non-official

signs. It is thus not inconsistent with § 131(c), even

after Congress eliminated the “other’’.*

South Dakota law on directional signs also fails to

comply with federal standards on size, lighting,

spacing and number of signs permitted. South Dakota

standards are set forth in SDCL 31-29-64 to 67. Section

31-29-64 applies to all outdoor advertising and requires

that there be no signs erected within 500 feet of an

interchange on certain interstate and limited access

highways. The federal standards, 23 CFR 750.154(d)(2)

and (3) prohibit signs within 2,000 feet of such inter-

changes, and include parks, scenic areas and rest areas

on unlimited access primary highways.

In addition, the South Dakota size, (SDCL 31-29-65)

lighting, (SDCL 31-29-60) and spacing (SDCL 31-29-67)

criteria do not conform to the federal criteria in a

number of respects. The most serious discrepancy is

that they fail to apply to any sign located outside a

zoned or unzoned commercial or industrial area. Thus,

any sign erected outside commercial or industrial

areas is not subject to any size, lighting or spacing

requirement. Other respects in which the South

Dakota statutes fail to conform are as follows:

a. SDCL 31-29-65 permits signs to a size of 1,200

* This amendment was adopted subsequent to the Highway

Administration's promulgation of the regulations. The Highway

Administration made no change in its regulations, since it did not

believe that the amendment required a change. Congress has not

amended § 131(c) since 1975. See 40 Fed. Reg. 21934 (1974).

XXXVI

square feet. The federal standards, 23 CFR

750.154(b)(1)i) permit a maximum size of 150

square feet;

b. SDCL 31-29-67(2) allows signs to be erected

within 500 feet of one another on interstate high-

ways and within 300 feet of one another on

primary highways. The federal standards, 23

CFR 750.154(d)\(4)(i) require at least a mile be-

tween the signs.

ce. SDCL 31-29-64 to 67 do not prohibit more than

three directional signs in the same direction of

travel relating to the same activity, as does 23

CFR 750.154(d)(4)(ii). South Dakota also does not

prohibit directional signs more than seventy-five

(interstate system) or fifty (primary system) air

miles from the activity. 23 CFR 750.154(d)(4)(iii)

and (iv).

d. South Dakota does not limit message content on

directional signs to identification and directional

information, as do the federal standards 23 CFR

750.154(e).

The State admits these discrepancies, as it must,

since they are plain on the face of the statutes and

regulations. The State contends, however, that the

regulations are inconsistent with 23 USC § 131 and

the legislative intent behind the Act, that the

discrepancies are minor in nature, and that the

discrepancies can be reconciled by application of 23

USC § 131(0). The § 131(0) issue is discussed later in

this opinion.

The Highway Beautification Act explicitly gives the

Secretary authority to promulgate regulations

relative to directional signs. 23 U.S.C. § 131(c)(1). This

authority has been delegated to the Federal Highway

XXXVII

Administration, which has duly promulgated the regu-

lations found at 23 CFR 750.153-54. When authority is

thus expressly delegated, a reviewing court does not

have the power to set aside the regulations simply

because the court might have interpreted the statute

in a manner different from the agency’s interpretation.

Batterton v. Francis, 432 U.S. 416, 425-26, (19 7). The

regulations under § 131(c)(1) are not merely inter-

pretative, but rather, legislative regulations. They

have the force and effect of law and can be set aside

only if they clearly exceed the Secretary’s statutory

authority or are arbitrary, capricious, an abuse of

discretion or otherwise not in accordance with law. 5

U.S.C. §§ 706(2)(A) and (c); Batterton v. Francis, supra,

at 425-26. The record is barren of any evidence that the

rules constitute this type of abuse. The court might

have adopted different standards, but Congress did

not assign the task of adopting such standards to the

court. The regulations were adopted under express

authority and have been in place since 1973. Congress

has not acted to change them. Since their adoption is

not clearly outside the statutory mandate, the regula-

tions cannot now be set aside merely because this

Court might interpret § 131(c)(1) differently. Batter-

ton v. Francis, supra.

The State's contention that the discrepancies be-

tween state and federal law are minor must also be re-

jected. The Secretary, who has the initial task of fact

finding under the Act, found otherwise. This deter-

mination should not lightly be set aside, since the

Secretary has considerable experience in interpreting

and applying the Act.° In addition, the South Dakota

° The Secretary has little authority over matters of law but

some deference is due to the Secretary's interpretation of the

Highway Beautification Act. Although 5 U.S.C. § 706 requires

the court to interpret statutory provisions, the court can seek

XXXVIli

statutes, when compared with billboard regulation in

the other forty-nine states, permit far larger signs,

with much closer spacing than the regulations in any

other state. As this court stated in South Dakota v.

Volpe, supra, certain standards have been established

through experience with the Act. There can be little

doubt that South Dakota directional sign regulations

are outside these standards, and the Secretary there-

fore did not abuse his discretion in finding that South

Dakota had not complied with the Act.

(2) Urban Area — Municipality Distinction

23 U.S.C. § 131(b)° provides that certain outdoor ad-

vertising devices must be controlled, even though they

are more than 660 feet off the right-of-way of either the

interstate or primary road systems. In order to be sub-

guidance from agencies and other entities having experience in

applying and interpreting particular legislation. Vermont v.

Brinegar, 379 F.Supp. 606, 612-13 (D.Vt. 1974). The Secretary has

such experience and his interpretation should thus be given some

weight even where the Court is required to make its own inter-

pretation of the statute.

° 23 U.S.C. § 131(b):

Federal-aid highway funds apportioned on or after January 1,

1975, or after the expiration of the next regular session of the

legislature, whichever is later, to any State which the Secretary

determines has not made provision for effective control of the

erection and maintenance along the Interstate System and the

primary system of those additional outdoor advertising signs,

displays, and devices which are more than six hundred and sixty

feet off the nearest edge of the right-of-way, located outside of ur-

ban areas, visible from the main traveled way of the system and

erected with the purpose of their message being read from such

main traveled way, shall be reduced by amounts equal to 10 per

centum of the amounts which would otherwise be apportioned to

such State under Section 104 of this title, until such time as such

State shall provide for such effective control. ...[Emphasis sup-

plied]

XX XIX

ject to control, these devices must be located outside

“urban areas’. The Federal Highway Administration

has interpreted this to mean urban areas as defined by

23 U.S.C. § 101(9). 23 CFR § 750, 703(m). Such urban

areas must have populations of 5,000 or more and be

within boundaries fixed by collaboration of state and

local officials, subject to approval by the Secretary.

There are fourteen such areas in South Dakota. SDCL

31-29-63" provides that the zone beyond 660 feet is to

be controlled only outside the corporate limits of a

municipality. An exhibit prepared by the State High-

way Department shows that there are 264 incorpo-

rated municipalities in South Dakota. A municipality

may have as few as 100 residents and 30 qualified elec-

tors. SDCL 9-3-1. Although not all of the municipalities

are located on the interstate or primary systems, the

State’s highway map shows that at least twenty non-

urban area municipalities are on the interstate, and

perhaps one hundred or more are on the primary

system.

The State insists that no advertiser would erect a

sign in a municipality where the sign would have to be

more than 660 feet from the right-of-way. Such argu-

ment is irrelevant, but in any case, as the Highway Ad-

ministration points out, the possibility of such signs is

not remote. This is particularly so with the interstate

system, which often bypasses smaller towns. If the

’ SDCL 31-29-63:

No outdoor advertising shall be erected within six hundred six

ty feet of the nearest edge of the right-of-way and visible from the

main-traveled way or beyond six hundred sixty feet of the

nearest edge of the right-of-way visible from the main-traveled

way located outside the corporate limits of a municipality and

erected with the purpose of its message being read from the

main-traveled way of the interstate or primary systems.... [Em

phasis supplied].

XXXX

interstate were, for example, five hundred feet from

the corporate limits of a municipality, any advertising

¢ »vice could be erected 160 feet or more within the cor-

porate limits without being controlled under South

Dakota iaw. Yet, § 131(b) itself requires control within

this zone. It is therefore clear that South Dakota law

provides greater opportunity for construction of

advertising devices within this area than § 131(b). The

Secretary's determination was thus correct on this

phase of the case.

(3) Section 131/d) Agreements.

A. Generally

23 USC § 131(d)(10)* requires the State and the

Secretary to enter into agreement on what areas will

be considered unzoned commercial and _ industrial

* 23 U.S.C. § 131(d):

In order to promote the reasonable, orderly and effective

display of outdoor advertising while remaining consistent with

the purposes of this section, signs, ‘ splays, and devices whose

size, lighting and spacing, consistent with customary use is to be

determined by agreement between the several States and the

Secretary, may be erected and maintained within six hundred

and sixty feet of the nearest edge of the right-of-way within areas

adjacent to the Interstate and primary systems which are zoned

industrial or commercial under authority of State law, or in un-

zoned commercial or industrial areas as may be determined by

agreement between the several States and the Secretary. The

States shall have full authority under their own zoning laws to

zone areas for commercial or industrial purposes, and the actions

of the States in this regard will be accepted for the purposes of

this Act. Whenever a bona fide State, county, or local zoning

authority has made a determination of customary use, such deter-

mination will be accepted in lieu of controls by agreement in the

zoned commercial and industrial areas within the geographical

jurisdiction of such authority. Nothing in this subsection shall ap-

ply to signs, displays, and devices referred to in clauses (2) and (3)

of subsection (c) of this section. [on-premises advertising].

XXXXI

areas for purposes of the Act. The Secretary states in

his final determination that a state cannot provide for

effective control without the agreement. The State of

South Dakota had no such agreement with the Secre-

tary or his delegate following Hogan v. S.D. State

Dept. of Transportation, supra, until December, 1979.

The State contends that the absence of an agree-

ment is due to the refusal of the Secretary or his dele-

gate to negotiate with the State. The State in argu-

ment has admitted, however, that the only terms it

would or could accept in such an agreement were those

contained in SDCL Ch. 31-29.° Both the Federal High-

way Administration and the Secretary found these

terms totally unacceptable, and so informed the Legis-

lature both before and after passage of the 1977

amendments to Ch. 31-29.

The State, in effect, offered to enter into an agree-

ment based on the provisions of Ch. 31-29 (as amended

1977). If these provisions are sufficient to comply with

the Act, the Secretary or his delegate was not justified

in refusing to enter into an agreement. If, on the other

hand, SDCL 31-29 is not sufficient to constitute effec-

tive control, the Secretary would not be required to

agree to its terms.

The areas for agreement under § 131(d) are the ex-

tent of “unzoned commercial and industrial areas” and

the size, lighting and spacing criteria within such

areas. The Secretary, in his final determination, found

South Dakota size, lighting and spacing standards suf-

* Presumably the State and the Secretary could now enter into

an agreement on terms more acceptable to the Secretary, pur-

suant to 1979 S.D. Sess. L. Ch. 202 (approved March 13, 1979).

That chapter is irrelevant to the present case, however, since it

was approved after the Secretary made his final determination.

XXXXIi

ficient insofar as they regulated signs in zoned and un-

zoned commercial and industrial areas.

B. Extent of unzoned commercial and industrial

areas.

SDCL 31-29-70 defines unzoned commercial and in-

dustrial areas. It permits outdoor advertising on both

sides of the highway, and within one mile on either side

of any commercial or industrial activity except other

outdoor advertising. All land within one thousand feet

of any highway, if traversed by any railroad right-of-

way, is also included. In addition, if any “pockets” of

land not considered zoned or unzoned commercial or in-

dustrial of 1,000 feet or less are between areas con-

sidered zoned or unzoned commercial or industrial,

such “pockets” are also unzoned commercial or in-

dustrial for outdoor advertising purposes. Finally, any

board of county commissioners is given power to deter-

mine what additional areas are appropriate for outdoor

advertising, and to declare these areas to be unzoned

classification. The commissioners also have the power

under SDCL 31-29-70 to determine that certain parts of

the county are not appropriate for outdoor adver-

tising, even though they would otherwise be appropri-

ate under SDCL Ch. 31-29. The total effect of SDCL

31-29-70 would appear similar to that of the strip

zoning rejected in South Dakota v. Volpe, supra.

The Federal Highway Administration refused to

agree to the above provisions because the provisions

allegedly made effective control impossible, because

the provisions were inconsistent with regulations

implementing 23 USC § 131(d)'® and because they did

not conform to the broad outlines of agreements made

” 23 C.F.R. 750.703(1):

Unzoned commercial or industrial areas are unzoned areas ac-

XXXXIll

with other states. 23 CFR 750.703(1) requires that the

areas be unzoned, that they actually be used for com-

mercial or industrial purposes, and that the areas be

defined in agreements between the Secretary and the

states. SDCL 31-29-70 violates at least the first two of

these conditions, since it gives local authorities the

right to convert zoned areas into ‘“unzoned commercial

or industrial” areas and because it authorizes non-

commercial or industrial areas to be used for outdoor

advertising if they fall into “pockets” of less than 1,000

feet. It also gives local authorities the power to allow

outdoor advertising in any area that they feel is appro-

priate for such advertising, regardless of any zoning or

planning for other purposes.

The State contends that Congress intended to allow

individual states to determine the zoned and unzoned

areas for themselves, and that any national standards

on the matter are outside the authority of the Secre-

tary. The legislative history cited in support of this

proposition, however, referred to zoned areas not un-

zoned areas. Further, as this Court said in South

Dakota v. Volpe, supra, at 341:

But through experience gained in

administering the Act criteria of

general applicability nationally [have]

been formulated for comparison with those

state standards submitted for approval.

Charged with administering the Act and pre-

serving the stated purpose from the caprice

of the individual states, the Secretary estab-

lished these generally accepted criteria as a

floor to acceptable alternatives. This court

tually used for commercial or industrial purposes as defined in

agreements made between the Secretary,...and each state pur

suant to 23 U.S.C. § 131(d) [emphasis supplied].

XXXXI1V

concludes that the Secretary so pursuing the

Congressional policy of general uniformity

across the nation reasonably determined that

South Dakota's provisions failed to obtain the

level of any standards previously accepted and,

therefore, finds South Dakota's provisions un-

acceptable.

The same applies to this case. Not only are South

Dakota's provisions in conflict with 23 CFR 750.703(1),

but they are far from the provisions of any of the

agreements made with other states, all of which are

summarized in the record. No other state allows out-

door advertising more than 1,000 feet from commercial

and industrial activities within unzoned areas. The

other states control outdoor advertising in non-com-

mercial, non-industrial “pockets”. Some states permit

advertising only on the same side of the highway as the

commercial or industrial activity. Other states do not

allow local boards to “unzone” strictly to allow outdoor

advertising. The Secretary’s determination on this

phase of the case is, therefore, supported by the record

and in accordance with the law.

(4) The moratorium on directional sign removal.

1977 S.D. Session Laws, Ch. 247, § 3! forbids

1977 S.D. Sess. L. Ch. 247, § 3:

No outdoor advertising relating to directional information con-

cerning goods or services provided the traveling public shall be

removed or caused to be removed by the state, or by any political

subdivision without the owner's consent unless consistent with

local ordinance, until further enactment of express legislative

authority. No permit, license or other authority shali be required

for the erection or maintenance of outdoor advertising which

shall, as other land uses, be controlled exclusively by local

authority pursuant to SDCL 11.

Because this section was part of a temporary chapter, Ch. 247,

XXXXV

removal of any outdoor advertising relating to direc-

tional information in the interest of the traveling

public without prior approval of the legislature. This

section clearly conflicts with the Act, the purpose of

which is to eliminate non-conforming outdoor adver-

tising, much of which includes the type of advertising

that cannot be removed because of this section.

The State argues that the moratorium is justified by

23 U.S.C. §§ 131(q)(2) and 131(0). These arguments

must be rejected. § 131(q)(2) states that directional

signs of this type should be the last signs removed. It

does not state that their removal can be prohibited in-

definitely as does ch. 247, § 3. The Secretary has

implemented 131(q)(2) by putting this type of sign at

the bottom of the federal priority list, 23 C.F.R.

750.304(a), as has the State, SDCL 31-29-81. Neither the

Act [§ 131(q)(2)] nor the regulations under it, however,

justify a moratorium on sign removal.

The State also argues that a moratorium was neces-

sary in order to preserve signs pending an economic

hardship exemption under 23 U.S.C. § 131(o). The

moratorium is, however, much too broad to be excused

as aiding a § 131(o) application. The moratorium ap-

plies to illegal signs and to those erected after May 5,

1976, both of which are not protected under any inter-

pretation of § 131(o). Given the fact that both state and

federal law place this type of directional sign at the

bottom of the removal priority list, it does not appear

that the extreme step of a moratorium would be of any

aid to the State in a § 131(0) exemption application.

C. The State’s Arguments Regarding Com-

pliance.

requiring a Legislative Research Council study of outdoor adver-

tising, it was never codified in SDCL. Ch. 247 was House Bill 927

of the 1977 South Dakota Legislature.

XXXXVI1

The State makes several arguments on the issue of

compliance. It is argued for the following reasons that

either the State is in compliance or that it has made a

good faith attempt to comply with the Act:

(1) The State’s record of billboard removal is near

the top of the list of all the states; and

(2)The Act was not intended to apply equally to

all states, but was to be flexibly applied to

differing situations.

(1) The State’s record of billboard removal.

It is clear that the State has, since the Act was pass-

ed removed a large number of billboards. According to

exhibits offered by both the State and the Highway

Administration, over 20,000 signs have been removed

and perhaps 7,000 remain. Of these, it was estimated

that 5,000 do not comply with the Highway Beautifica-

tion Act. The State contends that this record of bill-

board or sign removal in and of itself shows compliance

with the Act, or at least a good faith attempt to com-

ply. In light of the State’s failure to enact statutes

governing outdoor advertising, however, this argu-

ment must be rejected.

It is undisputed that the State was in compliance

with the Act until the Hogan decision was rendered.

During this time, many non-conforming and illegal

signs were removed, and others were doubtless

prevented from being erected by the State’s comply-

ing regulation of outdoor advertising. Between the

date of Hogan and March 13, 1979, however, the State

was not in compliance with the Act. Pre-Hogan sign

removal cannot change the fact of non-compliance.

The question is not simply a matter of theoretical

distinction between state and federal law. SDCL Ch.

31-29 provided little protection against future erection

XXXXVii

of billboards, no matter what the record of removal in

the past might have been. In short, under Ch. 31-29, it

was reasonable for the Secretary to expect that many

non-conforming billboards would be erected to replace

those that had been removed. It is the legitimate con-

cern of the Secretary that the Highway Beautification

Act be complied with in the future as well as in the

past. Conforming state regulation, to effectuate the

public policy of the Act, must be continuous, not inter-

mittent. For these reasons, the State’s argument

based on billboard inventory statistics must be over-

ruled.

(2) Flexibility of the Act

The State’s second argument regarding compliance

with the Act is that the differences between federal

and state regulations should be disregarded because of

the unique position of South Dakota vis-a-vis other

states. It is argued that the Act, referring specifically

to subsections 131(b), 131(0) and 12 (g) was intended to

be a flexible instrument that would be applied differ-

ently to different states. Since South Dakota is a rural

state with few urban areas and relatively few indus-

trial and commercial areas, it is argued an “inflexible

national standard” should not be applied here. This is

said to be particularly the case where the state is

heavily dependent upon tourism as a source of jobs and

state revenue. It is argued that the Secretary and the

Federal Highway Administration have not taken into

account the differences between states in applying the

Act. The Highway Administration argues that there

are differences in the billboard regulations in the

several states. Differences are tolerated, it is argued,

but certain standards have emerged through experi-

ence and these are typified by Highway Administra-

tion regulations, and the agreements between all the

other states and the Highway Administration. (South

XXXXVill

Dakota v. Volpe, supra). South Dakota law is, as shown

by the discussion above, far out of line with both ex-

isting state agreements and Highway Administration

regulations.

Whatever merit the State’s flexibility argument

may have, there can be little doubt that Congress in-

tended more regulation of outdoor advertising than

was accomplished by the 1977 amendments to SDCL

Ch. 31-29. Particularly, with regard to the extent of un-

zoned commercial and industrial areas, these amend-

ments amount to no effective regulation of outdoor

advertising at all. State law, as it stood until March 13,

1979, would not place any restriction on the areas in

which outdoor advertising could be erected, provided

the local board of county commissioners agreed that all

areas within the county should be open to such adver

tising. The State is not in a good position to claim that

the Secretary shouid be “flexible” when it has failed to

prohibit outdoor advertising in any areas.

(3) Scenic Attractiveness.

The Administrative Law Judge in this case also

found that much of South Dakota is unattractive and

that billboards contributed to safety, since they gave

drivers something to look at while driving through

boring landscape. He therefore concluded that more

billboards should be allowed in places that lack scenic

merit. This appears to have been a subjective conclu-

sion, arrived at after the Administrative Law Judge

drove from the Black Hills area to Pierre. The Act con-

tains no such exception. Though the Administrative

Law Judge did cite some legislative history about bill-

boards obstructing trees, the Act was not intended to

protect the view of only those areas that a particular

judge might find to be of scenic merit. As the Secre-

tary pointed out, citing floor debate on the Act, what

XXXXIX

one person might wish to view in the way of scenery

can differ from what another would want to view.

Thus, in absence of a Congressional declaration re-

quiring that subjective impressions of scenic beauty be

considered, it is preferable to apply the law equally to

all areas. It is not the prerogative of any court or judge

to determine, other than under standards promulgated

by Congress or an agency acting under a valid Con-

gressional delegation, what portions of the landscape

should or should not be obstructed by billboards.

D. Whether the Secretary abused his discretion

in failing to suspend the penalty on the fiscal year 1978

funds, pursuant to 23 U.S.C. § 131/(b).

23 U.S.C. § 131(b) provides that the Secretary may

suspend the effect of the ten percent penalty on a find-

ing that such a suspension would be “in the public

interest”. The State argues that the penalty should

have been suspended in this case because:

(1) Compliance would have an adverse economic im-

pact on the State;

(2) The State made a “good faith attempt” to comply;

(3) The State’s failure to enact complying legislation

in 1978 was occasioned by the Secretary's delay,

until November, 1978, in rendering his final deter-

mination and order;

(4) The Secretary abused his discretion in treating

fiscal year 1978 payments (which were withheld and

redistributed to the other states) differently from

fiscal year 1979 payments (which were to be re-

turned to the State if it complied by March 31, 1979).

(1) Economic Impact of Compliance

At the administrative hearing, the State presented a

great deal of evidence on the cost of compliance. An

|

economics professor from the University of South

Dakota testified, and introduced a study indicating

that fifty million dollars in income and taxes could be

lost if the State complied fully and removed all non-

conforming billboards. Several owners of tourist at-

tractions also testified. In their opinion, the study was

conservative and they believed the losses would be

greater. The Federal Highway Administration pre-

sented an economics professor from another Univer-

sity, who indicated that the study was invalid because

it was based upon biased questionnaires and because it

grouped regions of the state improperly when assess-

ing the economic impact of billboards. The Administra-

tive Law Judge recommended that the Secretary sus-

pend the ten percent penalty because of this economic

impact. The Secretary refused to do so. He held that

the public interest exception contained in 23 U.S.C.

§ 131(b) was, according to legislative history, intended

only to aid states that were making an effort to comply |

but were unable te do so because of unavoidable delay.

The State argues on appeal that this determination

was incorrect in light of recent amendments to § 131,

particularly subsections 131(o0) and 131(q). The State in-

terprets these sections as broadening the Secretary's

discretion, and also, the factors he must consider when

granting or denying a suspension of the ten percent

penalty under 23 U.S.C. § 131(b).

These statutes do not, however, provide for the type

of relief the State seeks. Section 131(o) is a carefully

circumscribed statute allowing exemptions for certain

carefully defined signs in specific areas delineated by a

state. It does not excuse statewide non-compliance

with the Congressional mandate of § 131(b). The State

presumably expected to remain permanently out of

compliance over the entire state, since it had not delin-

eated which areas would be hard hit economically by

li

compliance, nor had it indicated that it would come into

compliance if the Secretary would “suspend” the

penalty. It is significant that the suspension provision

of § 131(b), when originally passed, was intended for

use as an aid in bringing states into compliance." It is

also significant that Congress adopted separate sub-

sections, with carefully circumscribed requirements,

when it decided that economic hardship should be con-

sidered. Since the State has not complied with the pro-

cedures required by these economic hardship sections,

any claim for relief under them is without support in

the record. The State cannot expand the public in-

terest exception of § 131(b) to include matters clearly

not contemplated when that section was enacted, ab-

sent some indication that Congress intended the

subsection to be so expanded. Enactment of carefully

circumscribed subsections 131(o0) and 131(g) is not such

an indication.

(2) The State's good faith attempt at compliance.

The State argues that the Secretary should have

suspended the ten percent penalty because of the

State’s good faith attempt at compliance. As evidence

of this attempt, the State offers its record of billboard

removal, alluded to above. This record, however, is

concerned with what the State has done in the past.

The Secretary was, on the other hand, concerned with

present regulation and with what billboards would be

erected_and taken down in the future. The State con-

ceded that there were approximately 5,000 non-con-

forming billboards remaining. |

Whatever the State’s record for billboard removal

'* S. Rep. No. 709, 89th Cong. Ist Sess. 1, 4, indicates that the

penalty suspension provision was primarily for the purpose of

allowing legislatures that had to amend their constitutions or go

through other lengthy procedural steps in order to adopt com

plying legislation, to do so without loss of highway funds.

lii

may have been in the past, it is not likely to be satisfac-

tory under a statute prohibiting future removal of bill-

boards. 1977 S.D. Sess. L. Ch. 247, § 3. Moreover, the

discrepancies between the 1977 South Dakota statutes

and the Act are quite plain on the face of the statutes,

as the above discussion indicates. The legislature was

not, however, restricted to its own evaluation of

whether the State was in compliance. The Federal

Highway Administration gave the legislature a detail-

ed evaluation of the bills before it, and indicated

specific objections. It also stated that one bill would

comply with only minor amendments. The Secretary

also wrote to the Governor, urging the State to com-

ply. The Highway Administration several times said

that it would help to bring the State into compliance.

The legislature nonetheless enacted the 1977 legisla-

tion, which was patently out of compliance. Such action

does not comport with a “good faith attempt” to com-

ply.'%

(3) Whether the penalty should be suspended

because delay in rendering the Secretary’s decision

allegedly caused the State not to adopt complying

legislation in 1978.

The State argues that if the Secretary’s final deci-

sion had been rendered prior to January, 1978, the

State would have adopted compliance legislation dur-

ing the 1978 session. This argument ignores the fact

'S The Federal Highway Administration also introduced

documents showing its efforts to bring the State into compliance

during the 1978 legislative session. These were not admitted by

the Administrative Law Judge, because they allegedly con-

stituted evidence of settlement offers. Although he found this ra-

tionale questionable, the Secretary did not overturn the failure to

admit the documents. These documents have not, therefore, been

considered by this court on the question after State’s alleged

good faith attempt at compliance.

lili

that adoption of such legislation would not have re-

quired the Secretary to suspend the penalty for fiscal

1978 funds, which were apportioned to the State as of

late 1977. Considering the entire record in this case,

and given the fact that the 1977 legislature (meeting in

January-March, 1977) failed to enact complying legisla-

tion, it was within the discretion of the Secretary

under the Act to redistribute the fiscal 1978 funds. In-

deed, absent an affirmative finding that it would be in

the “public interest” to suspend the penalty, 23 U.S.C.

§ 131(b) requires its imposition.

A state seeking to avoid the ten percent annual

penalty can determine from the provisions of the Act

alone what must be done. The 1978 Legislature was

composed of the same legislators who in 1977 adopted

non-complying legislation, notwithstanding the Secre-

tary’s efforts to work out a complying statute. Nothing

in the record indicates the inaction of the legislature as

to compliance legislation in 1978 was anything but an

independent expression of the will of a legislative ma-

jority.

(4) Whether the Secretary abused his discretion in

treating the fiscal 1978 funds differently from the

fiscal 1979 funds.

The order states that the fiscal year 1978 funds are

to be withheld and reapportioned to the other states

and that the fiscal year 1979 funds are to be reserved

and withheld only if the legislature has not acted by

March 31, 1979.

The State is in no position to complain as to the 1979

funds, since the penalty has been rescinded. If reappor-

tionment of the 1978 funds was authorized by the Act,

as discussed, supra, it is difficult to see why the 1979

provision is at all relevant here. The Secretary in-

dicated that a conditional order would provide a strong

liv

incentive for the State to comply. As noted above, a

public interest suspension under § 131(b) requires an

affirmative finding that the suspension would be in the

public interest. The Secretary explicitly made such a

finding concerning the fiscal 1979 funds. It is reasoned

in his final determination that a conditional reserva-

tion of these funds would induce compliance, and that

inducing compliance is the purpose Congress had in

mind when it gave the Secretary the power to suspend

the penalty in the public interest. In light of the con-

clusion that only the possibility of inducing compliance

would justify a § 131(b) suspension of the penalty, the

Secretary's order is susceptible of only one interpreta-

tion —that he found as a matter of fact, and pursuant to

his discretion, that South Dakota would be more likely

to pass complying legislation if the fiscal 1978 funds

were withheld and reapportioned rather than merely

suspended or reserved. Thus, the Secretary’s reason

for exercise of the discretion granted by the Act may

reasonably be discerned, Bowman Transportation v.

Arkansas Best Freight System, supra.

lv

CONCLUSION

It is plain from the above discussion that the record

contains ample evidence to sustain the Secretary's de-

termination. Considering all the evidence on the re-

cord, even including that which might be opposed to

the Secretary’s decision, it is held that the record fair-

ly supports the Secretary’s determination. In addition,

it is held that the decision was based upon relevant fac-

tors and did not involve a clear error of judgment. The

determination must, therefore, be affirmed. Bowman

Transportation v. Arkansas Best Freight System,

supra, at 284-8.

The State’s Motion for Summary Judgment is

denied. Defendants’ Motion for Summary Judgment is

granted, and an order to this effect will be entered ac-

cordingly.

Dated this 7th day of April, 1980.

BY THE COURT:

s/Donald J. Porter

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

lvii

APPENDIX D

District Court Judgment (#78-3051)

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF SOUTH DAKOTA

CENTRAL DIVISION

STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA, )

Plaintiff

vs

CIV. 78-3051

)

)

)

)

)

)

BROCK ADAMS, UNITED )

STATES SECRETARY OF ) ORDER AND

TRANSPORTATION; KARL) JUDGMENT

BOWERS, FEDERAL HIGH- )

WAY ADMINISTRATOR; )

WILLIAM A. WESEMAN, )

DIVISION HIGHWAY AD- )

MINISTRATOR and THE )

UNITED STATES OF )

AMERICA,

)

Defendants.

The court having considered the administrative

record in the above entitled case, all papers on file, and

the briefs and oral arguments of the parties, and good

cause appearing, now it is therefore

ORDERED that defendants’ motion for summary

judgment in the above entitled case be, and hereby is,

in all things GRANTED, and it is further

ORDERED that plaintiffs’ motions for summary

PREVIOUS PAGE WAS BLANK

Ivili

judgment, for a declaratory judgment and for

preliminary and permanent injunctive relief be, and

hereby are, in all things DENIED,

All in accordance with the court’s memorandum

opinion of April 7, 1980, in the above entitled case, and

further in accordance with this court’s memorandum

opinion in Civil Case N ». 77-3039, insofar as the memo-

randum opinion in 77-3U39 is applicable to the issues

raised in this case.

Dated this 9th day of April, 1980.

BY THE COURT:

s/Donald J. Porter

U.S. DISTRICT JUDGE

ATTEST:

WILLIAM J. SRSTKA, CLERK

BY: s/Judy L. Harvey

Deputy

(SEAL OF COURT)

lix

APPENDIX E

8th Circuit Opinion

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

Nos. 80-1358 and 80-1359

State of South Dakota,

Appellant,

V.

Neil Goldschmidt, United

States Secretary of

Transportation; John

Hassell, Jr., Federal High-

Administrator; Marvin

Espeland, Division Highway

Administrator, and The

United States of America,

Appeals from the

United States

District Court for

the District of

South Dakota.

t+ &#HteetteetetetteeteeeHeeANRe RNR S

Appellees.

Submitted: December 8, 1980

Filed: December 12, 1980

Before HEANEY, ROSS and MeMILLIAN, Circuit

Judges.

Ix

PER CURIAM.

The State of South Dakota (the State) appeals two

adverse decisions of the district court which held that

the Highway Beautification Act, 23 U.S.C. § 131 (1965)

(the Act) is constitutional! and that the Secretary of

Transportation was authorized by the Act to withhold

ten percent of the State’s apportionment of 1978

federal highway funds as a penalty for the State’s

failure to institute effective control of billboards.? We

affirm based on the comprehensive opinions of the

district court, however, we review the history of the

litigation leading to these appeals for purposes of clari-

fication.

Beginning in 1971, then Secretary of Transportation

Volpe notified the State that its zoning of areas adja-

cent to interstate and primary roads did not comply

with the Act. The Secretary assessed a ten percent

penalty pursuant to 23 U.S.C. § 104, but then suspend-

ed the penalty to provide the State with time to com-

ply. The State unsuccessfully challenged the ten per-

cent penalty in district court, South Dakota v. Volpe,

353 F.Supp. 335 (D.S.D. 1973).

Later in 1973, the state legislature passed legisla-

tion which complied with the Act and the Secretary re-

turned the ten percent penalty. The new legislation

provided the State Board of Transportation with the

authority to alter state law. This authority was used in

reaching an agreement between the State Board of

Transportation and the Federal Highway Administra-

tor which conformed to the Act. The agreement, how-

ever, was subsequently invalidated by the South

' South Dakota v. Adams, Civil No. 77-3039, mem. op. (D.S.D.

April 9, 1980).

* South Dakota v. Adams, Civil No. 78-3051, mem. op. (D.S.D.

April 9, 1980).

Ixi

Dakota Supreme Court because the 1973 legislation

improperly delegated legislative authority to the State

Board of Transportation. Hogen v. State Board of

Transportation, 245 N.W.2d 493 (1976).

In April 1977, the state legislature passed new legis-

lation. The governor signed the legislation even

though the State had been informed that the Federal

Highway Administrator objected to the bill, and its en-

actment could lead to another ten percent penalty. On

July 11, 1977, the Secretary notified the State of his

preliminary decision that the new legislation did not

comply with the Act and that ten percent of the State's

1978 apportionment of funds and those for succeeding

years would be reserved pending a final determina-

tion. The State requested and received a bill of par-

ticulars and an administrative hearing regarding the

nonconforming legislation. The administrative hearing

was held on December 12-15, 1977, and the federal

government was represented by the Federal Highway

Administration. Prior to the issuance of the decision of

the Administrative Law Judge, the State filed two ac-

tions in federal district court. The first action chal-

lenged the legality of the Secretary’s reservation of

the funds before rendering a final determination. The

district court held that the Secretary had authority to

reserve the funds and this court affirmed. South

Dakota v. Adams, 587 F.2d 915 (8th Cir. 1978), cert.

denied, 441 U.S. 961 (1979). In the other action, the

State unsuccessfully challenged the constitutionality

of the Highway Beautification Act and the district

court’s decision in that action is the subject of the cur-

rent appeal in No. 80-1358.

The second appeal before this court, No. 80-1359,

alleges that the district court erred in affirming the

Secretary's order and final determination that with-

held ten percent of the State’s 1978 apportionment of

Ixii

federal highway funds. The Secretary’s final order was

issued November 9, 1978, and it withheld $4,085,599 in

funds. Although the Administrative Law Judge in

March 1978 had found the State had made a good faith

effort to comply with the Act, the Secretary reviewed

the record de novo and concluded that the 1978 funds

previously reserved should be permanently withheld

and reapportioned to other states. The Secretary also

determined that 1979 funds should not be reapportion-

ed unless the State failed to enact billboard control

laws which complied with the Act by March 31, 1979.

The state legislature, as noted by the district court,

has enacted such legislation and most of the 1979 funds

have been released to the State.

We have carefully studied the record in these cases,

including the district court’s opinions, the briefs and

the arguments of the parties. We find no merit to the

State’s arguments, and accordingly affirm on the basis

of Judge Porter’s detailed and well reasoned opinions

pursuant to Rule 14 of the Rules of this court. See also

Nebraska v. Tiemann, 510 F.2d 446 (8th Cir. 1975). All

costs shall be taxed to the State.

A true copy.

Attest:

CLERK, U.S. COURT OF APPEALS,

EIGHTH CIRCUIT.

Ixili

APPENDIX F

8th Circuit Judgment

JUDGMENT

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For The Eighth Circuit

No. 80-1358 & 80-1359 September Term, 1980

STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA,

Appellant,

VS.

Neil Goldschmidt, etc., et al,

Appellees.

APPEAL FROM the United States District Court

for the District of South Dakota.

THIS CAUSE came on to be heard on the original

designated record of the United States District Court

for the District of South Dakota and briefs of the

respective parties and was argued by counsel.

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, it is now here

ordered and adjudged by this Court, that the judgment

of the said District Court, in this cause, be, and the

same is hereby, affirmed on the basis of Judge Porter's

detailed and well reasoned opinions pursuant to Rule

i4 of the Rules of this Court.

Ixiv

It is further ordered that all costs shall be taxed to

the State of South Dakota.

December 12, 1980

A true copy.

Attest:

Robert D. St Vrain

Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit

January 21, 1981

Ixv

APPENDIX G

8th Circuit Rehearing Order

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

Nos. 80-1358 and 80-1359 September Term, 1980

State of South Dakota,

Appellant,

VS.

)

)

)

)

)

)

Neil Goldschmidt, United )

States Secretary of ) Appeal from the

Transportation; John ) United States

Hassell, Jr., Federal High- ) District Court for

Administrator; Marvin ) the District of

Espeland, Division Highway ) South Dakota.

Administrator, and The )

United States of America, )

)

Appellees.

The Court, having considered appellant's petition

for rehearing and suggestions for rehearing en banc

and being now fully advised in the premises, hereby

orders the petition for rehearing and suggestions for

rehearing en banc denied.

January 2, 1981

Ixvli

APPENDIX H

23 USC 131

131. Control of outdoor advertising

(a) The Congress hereby finds and declares that the

erection and maintenance of outdoor advertising signs,

displays, and devices in areas adjacent to the Inter-

state System and the primary system should be con-

trolled in order to protect the public investment in

such highways, to promote the safety and recreational

value of public travel, and to preserve natural beauty.

(b) Federal-aid highway funds apportioned on or after

January 1, 1968, to any State which the Secretary

determines has not made provision for effective con-

trol of the erection and maintenance along the Inter-

state System and the primary system of outdoor ad-

vertising signs, displays, and devices which are within

six hundred and sixty feet of the nearest edge of the

right-of-way and visible from the main traveled way of

the system, and Federal-aid highway funds appor-

tioned on or after January 1, 1975, or after the expira-

tion of the next regular session of the State legislature,

whichever is later, to any State which the Secretary

determines has not made provision for effective con-

trol of the erection and maintenance along the Inter-

state System and the primary system of those addi-

tional outdoor advertising signs, displays, and devices,

which are more than six hundred and sixty feet off the

nearest edge of the right-of-way, located outside of ur-

ban areas, visible from the main traveled way of the

system, and erected with the purpose of their message

being read from such main traveled way, shall be

reduced by amounts equal to 10 per centum of the

amounts which would otherwise be apportioned to

such State under section 104 of this title, until such

PREVIOUS PAGE WAS BLANK

Ixviii

time as such State shall provide for such effective con-

trol. Any amount which is withheld from apportion-

ment to any State hereunder shall be reapportioned to

the other States. Whenever he determines it to be in

the public interest, the Secretary may suspend, for

such periods as he deems necessary, the application of

this subsection to a State.

(c) Effective control means that such signs, displays, or

devices after January 1, 1968, if located within six hun-

dred and sixty feet of the right-of-way and, on or after

July 1, 1975, or after the expiration of the next regular

session of the State legislature, whichever is later, if

located beyond six hundred and sixty feet of the right-

of-way, located outside of urban areas, visible from the

main traveled way of the system, and erected with the

purpose of their message being read from such main

traveled way, shall, pursuant to this section, be limited

to (1) directional and official signs and notices, which

signs and notices shall include, but not be limited to,

signs and notices pertaining to natural wonders, scenic

and historical attractions, which are required or

authorized by law, which shall conform to national

standards hereby authorized to be promulgated by the

Secretary hereunder, which standards shall contain

provisions concerning lighting, size, number, and spac-

ing of signs, and such other requirements as may be ap-

propriate to implement this section, (2) signs, displays,

and devices advertising the sale or lease of property

upon which they are located (3) signs, displays, and de-

vices including those which may be changed at reason-

able intervals by electronic process or by remote con-

trol, advertising activities conducted on the property

on which they are located, (4) signs lawfully in ex-

istence on October 22, 1965, determined by the State,

subject to the approval of the Secretary, to be land-

mark signs, including signs en farm structures or

xix

natural surfaces, of historic or artistic significance the

preservation of which would be consistent with the

purposes of this section, and (5) signs, displays, and

devices advertising the distribution by nonprofit

organizations of free coffee to individuals traveling on

the Interstate System or the primary system. For the

purposes of this subsection, the term “free coffee”

shall include coffee for which a donation may be made,

but is not required.

(d) In order to promote the reasonable, orderly and ef-

fective display of outdoor advertising while remaining

consistent with the purposes of this section, signs,

displays, and devices whose size, lighting and spacing,

consistent with customary use is to be determined by

agreement between the several States and the Secre-

tary, may be erected and maintained within six hun-

dred and sixty feet of the nearest edge of the right-of-

way areas adjacent to the Interstate and primary

systems which are zoned industrial or commerical

under authority of State law, or in unzoned commercial!

or industrial areas as may be determined by agree-

ment between the several States and the Secretary.

The States shall have full authority under their own

zoning laws to zone areas for commerical or industrial

purposes, and the actions of the States in this regard

will be accepted for the purposes of this Act [23 USCS

§§ 131 and notes, 135 note, 136, 319]. Whenever a bona

fide State, county, or local zoning authority has made a

determination of customary use, such determination

will be accepted in lieu of controls by agreement in the

zoned commercial and industrial areas within the geo-

graphical jurisdiction of such authority. Nothing in

this subsection shall apply to signs, displays, and

devices referred to in clauses (2) and (3) of subsection

(c) of this section.

Ixx

(e) Any sign, display, or device lawfully in existence

along the Interstate System or the Federal-aid

primary system on September 1, 1965, which does not

conform to this section shall not be required to be

removed until July 1, 1970. Any other sign, display, or

device lawfully erected which does not conform to this

section shall not be required to be removed until the

end of the fifth year after it becomes nonconforming.

(f) The Secretary shall, in consultation with the States,

provide within the rights-of-way for areas at ap-

propriate distances from interchanges on the Inter-

state System on which signs, displays, and devices

giving specific information in the interest of the travel-

ing public may be erected and maintained. The Secre-

tary may also, in consultation with the States, provide

within the rights-of-way of the primary system for

areas in which signs, displays, and devices giving

specific information in the interest of the traveling

public may be erected and maintained. Such signs sha!

conform to national standards to be promulgated by

the Secretary.

(g) Just compensation shall be paid upon the removal of

any outdoor advertising sign, display, or device lawful-

ly erected under State law and not permitted under

subsection (ec) of this section, whether or not removed

pursuant to or because of this section. The Federal

share of such compensation shall be 75 per centum.

Such compensation shall be paid for the following:

(A) The taking from the owner of such sign, display,

or device of all right, title, leasehold, and interest in

such sign, display, or device; and

(B) The taking from the owner of the real property

on which the sign, display, or device is located, of the

right to erect and maintain such signs, displays, and

devices thereon.

Ixxl

(h) All public lands or reservations of the United States

which are adjacent to any portion of the Interstate

System and the primary system shall be controlled in

accordance with the provisions of this section and the

national standards promulgated by the Secretary.

(i) In order to provide information in the specific in-

terest of the traveling public, the State highway

departments are authorized to maintain maps and to

permit information directories and advertising pam-

phlets to be made available at safety rest areas. Sub-

ject to the approval of the Secretary, a State may also

establish information centers at safety rest areas and

other travel information systems within the rights-of-

way for the purpose of informing the public of places of

interest within the State and providing such other in-

formation as a State may consider desirable. The

Federal share of the cost of establishing such an infor-

mation center or travel information system shall be

that which is provided in section 120 fora highway pro-

ject on that Federal-aid system to be served by such

center or system.

(j) Any State highway department which has, under

this section as in effect on June 30, 1965, entered into

an agreement with the Secretary to control the erec-

tion and maintenance of outdoor advertising signs,

displays, and devices in areas adjacent to the Inter-

state System shall be entitled to receive the bonus pay-

ments as set forth in the agreement, but no such State

highway department shall be entitled to such pay-

ments unless the State maintains the control required

under such agreement; Provided, That permission bya

State to erect and maintain information displays which

may be changed at reasonable intervals by electronic

process or remote control and which provide public

service information or advertise activities conducted

on the property on which they are located shall not be

Ixxll

considered a breach of such agreement or the control

required thereunder. Such payments shall be paid only

from appropriations made to carry out this section.

The provisions of this subsection shall not be con-

strued to exempt any State from controlling outdoor

advertising as otherwise provided in this section.

(k) Subject to compliance with subsection (g) of this sec-

tion for the payment of just compensation, nothing in

this section shall prohibit a State from establishing

standards imposing stricter limitations with respect to

signs, displays, and devices on the Federal-aid highway

systems than those established under this section.

(1) Not less than sixty days before making a final deter-

mination to withhold funds from a State under sub-

section (b) of this section, or to do so under subsection

(b) of section 136, or with respect to failing to agree as

to the size, lighting, and spacing of signs, displays, and

devices or as to unzoned commercial or industrial

areas in which signs, displays, and devices may be

erected and maintained under subsection (d) of this sec-

tion, or with respect to failure to approve under sub-

section (g) of section 136, the Secretary shall give writ-

ten notice to the State of his proposed determination

and a statement of the reasons therefor, and during

such period shall give the State an opportunity for a

hearing on such determination. Following such hearing

the Secretary shall issue a written order setting forth

his final determination and shall furnish a copy of such

order to the State. Within forty-five days of receipt of

such order, the State may appeal such order to any

United States district court for such State, and upon

filing of such appeal such order shall be stayed until

final judgment has been entered on such appeal. Sum-

mons may be served at any place in the United States.

The court shall have jurisdiction to affirm tine deter-

mination of the Secretary or to set it aside, in whole or

Ixxill

in part. The judgment of the court shall be subject to

review by the United States court of appeals for the

circuit in which the State is located and to the

Supreme Court of the United States upon certiorari or

certification as provided in title 28, United States

Code, section 1254 [28 USCS § 1254]. If any part of an

apportionment to a State is withheld by the Secretary

under subsection (b) of this section or subsection (b) of

section 136, the amount so withheld shall not be reap-

portioned to the other States as long as a suit brought

by such State under this subsection is pending. Such

amount shall remain available for apportionment in

accordance with the final judgment and this sub-

section. Funds withheld from apportionment and sub-

sequently apportioned or reapportioned under this sec-

tion shall be available for expenditure for three full

fiscal years after the date of such apportionment or

reapportionment as the case may be.

(m) There is authorized to be appropriated to carry out

the provisions of this section, out of any money in the

Treasury not otherwise appropriated, not to exceed

$20,000,000 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 1966, not

to exceed $20,000,000 for the fiscal year ending June

30, 1967, not to exceed $2,000,000 for the fiscal year

ending June 30, 1970, not to exceed $27,000,000 for the

fiscal year ending June 30, 1971, not to exceed

$20,500,000 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 1972,

and not to exceed $50,000,000 for the fiscal year ending

June 30, 1973. The provisions of this chapter [23 USCS

§§ 101-144] relating to the obligation, period of

availability and expenditure of Federal-aid primary

highway funds shall apply to the funds authorized to

be appropriated to carry out this section after June 30,

1967.

(n) No sign, display, or device shall be required to be

removed under this section if the Federal share of the

IXxIVv

just compensation to be paid upon removal of such

sign, display, or device is not available to make such

payment.

(o) The Secretary may a»vprove the request of a State

to permit retention in specific areas defined by such

State of directional signs, displays, and devices lawful-

ly erected under State law in force at the times of their

erection which do not conform to the requirements of

subsection (c), where such signs, displays, and devices

are in existence on the date of enactment of this sub-

section and where the State demonstrates that such

signs, displays, and devices (1) provide directional in-

formation about goods and services in the interest of

the traveling public, and (2) are such that removal

would work a substantial economic hardship in such

defined area.

(p) In the case of any sign, display, or device required

to be removed under this section prior to the date of

enactment of the Federal-Aid Highway Act [Amend-

ments] of 1974 [Jan 4, 1975], which sign, display, or

device was after its removal lawfully relocated and

which as a result of the amendments made to this sec-

tion by such Act is required to be removed, the United

States shall pay 100 per centum of the just compensa-

tion for such removal (including all relocation costs).

(q(1) During the implementation of State laws enacted

to comply with this section, the Secretary shall en-

courage and assist the States to develop sign con-

trols and programs which will assure that necessary

directional information about facilities providing

goods and services in the interest of the traveling

public will continue to be available to motorists. To

this end the Secretary shall restudy and revise as

appropriate existing standards for directional signs

authorized under subsections 131(c) (1) and 131(f) to

xxv

develop signs which are functional and esthetically

compatible with their surroundings. He shall employ

the resources of other Federal departments and

agencies, including the National Endowment for the

Arts, and employ maximum participation of private

industry in the development of standards and

systems of signs developed for those purposes.

(2) Among other things the Secretary shall en-

courage States to adopt programs to assure that

removal of signs providing necessary directional in-

formation which also were providing directional in-

formation on June 1, 1972, about facilities in the in-

terest of the traveling public, be deferred until all

other nonconforming signs are removed.

IXXVll

APPENDIX I

H.B. 786, 1977 (SDCL 31-29)

STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA

OFFICE OF

THE SECRETARY OF STATE

Department of State

United States of America, SECRETARY’S-

State of South Dakota, OFFICE

This is to certify that the attached instrument of

writing is a true, correct and examined copy of House

Bill No. 786, as passed by the Fifty-second Session of

the Legislature of the State of South Dakota, approved

by the Governor on April 1, 1977, filed in this office on

April 1, 1977; and the whole thereof, and has been

carefully compared with the original now on file in this

office and found correct.

IN TESTIMONY

WHEREOF, I have here

unte set my hand and af

fixed the Great Seal of the

State of South Dakota at

the City of Pierre, the

Capital, on this 6th day of

April, 1977

s/Lorna B. Herseth

(SEAL) Secretary of State

By s/Jean D. Johnson

FEES $ $8.50 Assistant Secretary of State

PREVIOUS PAGE WAS BLANK

Ixxviil

An Act

ENTITLED, An Act to provide for the regulation and

control of outdoor advertising, and to repeal SDCL

*1-29-15 and 31-29-43 to 31-29-58, inclusive.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE

STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA:

Section 1. The Legislature, recognizing the public in-

vestment in highways and in justification of these ex-

penditures, particularly the cost of maintenance which

is borne wholly by state funds, finds and declares that

it is necessary to promulgate a public policy of plan-

ning and zoning adjacent to the interstate and primary

systems within this state to promote their maximum

utilization by encouraging the development of roadside

businesses to serve the needs and pleasures of the

traveling public, as well as to stimulate tourism, com-

merce, and for purposes of promoting the generai

growth of the state’s economy. It is the intention of the

Legislature by this Act to provide a statutory basis for

the regulation of outdoor advertising. In that regard,

the reasonable regulation and control of outdoor

advertising adjacent to the interstate and primary

highway systems of this state shall, as are other land

use restrictions and controls, be accomplished by local

control pursuant to title 11 of the South Dakota

Codified Laws.

Section 2. Terms used in this Act, unless the context

otherwise requires, mean:

(1) “Interstate system” that portion of the national

system of interstate and defense highways

located within this state, as officially designated,

or as may hereafter be so designated, by the

state department of transportation and approved

by the United States secretary of transportation,

(2)

(3)

(6)

(7)

Ix xix

pursuant to the provisions of Title 23, United

States Code;

“Primary system” that portion of connected main

highways, as officially designated, or as may

hereafter be so designated, by the state depart-

ment of transportation, and approved by the

United States secretary of transportation, pur-

suant to the provisions of Title 23, United States

Code;

“Outdoor advertising” any outdoor sign, display,

device, light, figure, drawing, painting, message,

plaque, poster, or billboard, which is designed, in-

tended or used to advertise or inform, any part of

the advertising or information contents of which

is visible from any place on the main-traveled

way of the interstate or primary systems;

“Safety rest area” an area or site established and

maintained within or adjacent to the right of way

by or under public supervision or control, for the

convenience of the traveling public;

“Information center” an area or site established

and maintained at safety rest areas for the pur-

pose of informing the public of places of interest

within the state and providing such other infor-

mation as the division of tourism development

may consider desirable;

“Department” the South Dak

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.