Amicus Brief — Pincus v. Estate of Greenberg
Supreme Court brief1981
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
LAP OTS TN re
RSI
No. 80-1040
DS eee
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1980
( Mrver Pincus, Appellant,
Vv.
EstaTE Or LEO GREENBERG, THE HONORABLE
Pau. M. MARKO, III and THE HONORABLE
Leroy H. Mor, Appellees.
On Appeal From The Supreme Court Of Florida
BRIEF FOR AMICUS CURIA E THE STATE
OF FLORIDA
Jim SMITH,
Attorney General of the
State of Florida
BRUCE BARKETT,
Assistant Attorney General
THOMAS A. BEENCK,
Assistant Attorney General
DEPARTMENT OF LEGAL AFFAIRS
Suite 1501 — The Capitol
Tallahassee, Florida 32301
(904) 488-9935
PRESS OF BYRON S. ADAMS PRINTING, INC., WASHINGTON, D.C.
TABLE OF CONTENTS
PAGE
See UII tA Poo ce a ili
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE ............0cccceeccceee ]
UN MP EMO CAM So hc cas c as vacvcbsvccoue. 2
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .............cccccecccccceucce 3
Ee Foe UREN k Con cca dN vet enk oc kc ee 4
I. THE APPEAL PRESENTS No JUSTICIABLE CASE OR
RE bo hGudn Vi cat g Probe a: 4
Il. THE APPEAL PRESENTS No SUBSTANTIAL FEDERAL
SMEG Naty en a teeta ele onl On 5
A. The Administration Of Estates Is Commit-
ted By The Constitution To The Several
Ae oe eas on wows cane aes 5
B. No Fundamental Rights Are Infringed By
BENG PME UIE os hiv w o.bh0 bdo we ncacs 7
1. There is no fundamental right to ap-
point a personal representative........ 7
2. The right to travel is not unconstitu-
tionally restricted by the Florida
erp a ee TEE Pe ey ee 9
3. The appellant’s fundamental right to
pursue a livelihood is not infringed by
the Florida statutes...............0.. 1]
C. Since No Fundamental Right Is Infringed,
The Florida Statutes Need Only Reasonably
Serve An Important State Interest ......... 1]
1. The Florida statutes do not deny the
decedent or the appellant equal protec-
CGS ek Wass ee CMeeuber Se ere ea: 11
2. The Florida statutes do not deny the
decedent or the appellant due process of
i EO oa Er en IE RON De 13
D. The Florida Statutes Do Not Deny The Ap-
pellant The Privileges And Immunities Of
Wie Citinetis OF PIOGMR fo ois ccc cco vcses. 14
Table of Contents Continued
PAGE
E. The Appellant’s Claim Under The Com-
merce Clause Is Not Properly Before This
Court And Is Wholly Without Merit ....... 15
F. The Appellant’s Claim Under The Full Faith
And Credit Clause Is Not Properly Before
This Court And Is Wholly Without Merit... 15
ee oa 5 wad ae Wd ae Oe a Kb bd 17
ili
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES: PAGE
Auto Workers v. Scofield, 382 U.S. 205 (1965).......... 4, 16
Beanery. Cart, 369 U.S. 166 (1962)... ccc ccc csccccccs 9
Baldwin v. Montana Fish & Game Commission, 436 U.S.
ER TS Ee ey 14
Beverly Beach Properties v. Nelson, 68 So.2d 604 (Fla.
1953), cert. denied, 348 U.S. 816 (1954) ............
Boddie v. Connecticut, 401 U.S. 371 (1971) ............. 8
Brown v. Supreme Court of Virginia, 414 U.S. 1034,
aff’g 359 F. Supp. 549 (E.D. Va. 1973) .... 6,9, 10, 11, 12
Cee vw. corres, 425 U.S. LCIGTE). 5... cece cc ecces 10
Cardinale v. Louisiana, 394 U.S. 437 (1969)............. 15
DeBacker v. Brainard, 396 U.S. 28 (1969). .............. 15
Fain v. Hall, 463 F. Supp. 661 (M.D. Fla. 1979) ......... 3
ee I EE stn EE OED 5 occ cress ccccsceces
Florida Steel Corporation v. Dickinson, 328 So.2d 418
es nk pw ee clde bes eocesec 2
Goldfarb v. Virginia State Bar, 421 U.S. 773 (1975)... 5, 11, 15
GTE Sylvania, Inc. v. Consumers Union, 444 U.S. 818
Te ee ones bbb boeeeee 5
Head v. New Mexico Board of Examiners, 374 U.S. 424
eres Veet cane rdsbaesedececes 15
Hicklin v. Orbeck, 437 U.S. 518 (1978) ......... 0.00000 14
Huron Portland Cement Co. v. City of Detroit, 362 U.S.
i sess sk bsee koe beeeeee 15
In re Emery, 59 Ohio App. 2d 7, 391 N.E.2d 746 (1978)... 11
Be Pe MD Woes FET CRSIOD occ cccccccccccccccss 11
In re Mulford, 217 Ill. 242, 75 N.E. 345 (1905)........... 14
Irving Trust Co. v. Day, 314 U.S. 556 (1942) ............ 5
Kovrak v. Ginsburg, 358 U.S. 52 (1958) .........-000e.. 6
iV
Table of Authorities Continued
CASES: PAGE
Labine v. Vincent, 401 U.S. 532 (1971) ......... 0c eee 5
ES RS BEB 0) 5, 11
Bee yc Pe, Ge OS. SSC CIFTD).. 2. ww vc cenee 5, 8,9, 11, 14
Lindsey v. Normet, 405 U.S. 56 (1972) .........e ee eeeee 8
Lindsley v. National Carbonic Gas Co., 220U.S.61 (1911) 13
Loving v. Virginia, 388 U.S. 1(1967)......... 0c eee eee 8
Martin v. Walton, 368 U.S. 25 (1961) ..........0 eee ee.
McCarthy v. Philadelphia Civil Service Commission, 424
et leche < ck nena cenicenstvvces 10
McDonald v. Board of Election, 394 U.S. 802 (1969) ..... 13
Memorial Hospital v. Maricopa County, 415 U.S. 250
CUCL CERURE Rhee doses ceececscccescess 10
Mishkin v. New York, 383 U.S. 502 (1966) ............-. 15
Moore v. Supreme Court of South Carolina, 447 F. Supp.
527 (D.S.C. 1977), aff’d, 577 F.2d 735 (4th Cir.), cert.
SE ET PO CESTOD, pc cc esc cccccnsccccees 14
Norfolk and Western Railway Co. v. Beatty, 423 U.S.
1009, aff’g 400 F. Supp. 234 (S.D. Ill. 1975)......... 5,9
Parham v. Hughes, 441 U.S. 347 (1979) .........50 eee 13
EE) ae 8
San Antonio Independent School District v. Rodriguez,
slew cccbbcesedsveccsaceceses 8,9
Sanks v. Georgia, 401 U.S. 144 (1971). ........ 0. eee eee 5
Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 U.S. 618 (1969)...........4-. 10
Sosna v. Iowa, 419 U.S. 393 (1975) ....... cece eee ees 14
Texas v. New Jersey, 379 U.S. 674 (1965) ..........0455. 2
Union National Bank v. Lamb, 337 U.S. 38 (1949) ....... 15
United States v. Fruehauf, 365 U.S. 146(1961) ......... 5
United States v. Moser, 266 U.S. 236 (1924) ............. 16
Table of Authorities Continued
CASES: PAGE
Usery v. Turner Elkhorn Mining Co., 428 U.S. 1 (1976)... 13
Western Union Telegraph Co. v. Foster, 247 U.S. 105
NEU ey Sc ee Ray ws aa eu et 4, 16
Weinberger v. Salfi, 422 U.S. 749 (1975)... 0... cece cece 13
Wilson v. Wilson, 416 F. Supp. 984 (D. Ore. 1976), aff'd,
oN SE NII Chalet OPEN tae eae 12
STATUTES:
es a PE RPT x vo v Soc so os b oo bd obec ede 12
Pe RIOD oe nk ras 0 8s bh xO eddliowe vena. 7
Pees es PRION 657 60h ba cb decane ekitces 7
Pa ee a ie iey ae tte ey cly pee eta ey 7
ee Le LL 1): an a ae nee ee ae 7
Pee Ns CPSP ED CEOTOD soy bcc vessccduvaweccee vies 7
MISCELLANEOUS:
Restatement (Second) of Judgments §88.7 (Tentative Draft
Pe NG LOT is Se veers ated bo ae ee 16
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1980
No. 80-1040
I. MEYER PINCUS, Appellant,
Vv.
EsTATE OF LEO GREENBERG, THE HONORABLE
PAUL M. MARKO, III and THE HONORABLE
Leroy H. Mog, Appellees.
On Appeal From The Supreme Court Of Florida
BRIEF FOR AMICUS CURIAE THE STATE
OF FLORIDA
INTEREST OF AMICUS CURIAE
: The Attorney General of the State of Florida, pur-
suant to Rule 36.4, Rules of the Supreme Court of the
United States, respectfully submits this brief on behalf
of the State of Florida as amicus curiae urging that this
appeal be dismissed on the grounds that it fails to pre-
sent a substantial federal question or a justiciable case
or controversy. Alternatively, the State of Florida sub-
mits that the judgment of the Supreme Court of Florida
should be summarily affirmed.
The appellant seeks in this action to declare un-
constitutional statutes of the State of Florida precluding
a nonresident who is not a relative of the decedent from
serving as personal representative of a Florida estate.
However, because the appellant did not name as a party
below the State or any other person interested in defen-
ding the statutes, the State has a vital interest in appear-
ing as amicus curiae in support of its legislation. '
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
Leo Greenberg moved to Florida in 1972 and died a
resident of that state in 1978.’ His will designated the
appellant, who drafted the will, as an alternate choice
for co-personal representative. The appellant, I. Meyer
Pincus, is a resident of New York who is not a relative
of the decedent. He petitioned the Florida probate court
for appeintment as co-personal representative of the
estate upon the withdrawal of an original nominee, but
the petition was denied in accordance with Florida’s
statutory requirement that a personal representative be
either a relative of the deceased or a Florida resident.
Mr. Pincus, while serving as an attorney for the
estate, appealed the order denying his appointment,
' The State of Florida wishes to preserve its right to intervene
pursuant to Rule 28.4(c) if the judgment below is not summarily af-
firmed or the appeal dismissed.
2 His estate consisted of Florida real estate, deposits in Florida
banks, and intangible personal property, the situs of which is in
Florida. See Florida Steel Corporation v. Dickinson, 328 So.2d 418
(Fla. 1976); Beverly Beach Properties v. Nelson, 68 So.2d 604 (Fla.
1953), cert. denied, 348 U.S. 816 (1954); cf. Texas v. New Jersey,
379 U.S. 674 (1965) (intangibles escheat to state of owner’s
domicile).
3
naming only the estate as an adverse party. The
qualified personal representative of the estate and the
primary beneficiaries consented to and supported the ap-
pellant’s appointment as personal representative. Neither
the appellee estate nor any other party has presented any
arguments in opposition to the appellant’s claims.
The Attorney General filed on behalf of the State
of Florida a motion to intervene as a party at the ap-
pellate level, but was allowed to participate only as
amicus curiae. The judges who denied the appellant’s
appointment were named as ‘‘narties’’ only upon filing
of the Notice of Appeal to this Court.
In the probate court proceedings, Mr. Pincus
asserted that the Florida statutes violated the privileges
and immunities clause and the fourteenth amendment of
the United States Constitution. During the appeal pro-
ceedings, the decision in Fain v. Hall, 463 F. Supp. 661
(M.D. Fla. 1979), was rendered, holding that due pro-
cess requires that a nonresident nominee be afforded a
hearing to demonstrate his ability to perform as per-
sonal representative. After that decision was rendered,
appellant contended that the Fain decision worked an
‘‘estoppel by judgment’’ binding the Florida courts. The
appellant did not assert in the state court proceedings
that the Florida statutes violated the commerce clause or
expressly claim that the probate court’s denial of his ap-
pointment violated the full faith and credit clause. The
Supreme Court of Florida rejected the appellant’s con-
stitutional claims and upheld the Florida statutes.
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
There is no case or controversy presented by the ap-
peal because there is no adverse party to the suit.
J
Furthermore, the appeal presents no substantial
federal question. The Constitution commits to the states
the regulation of the administration of estates and the
devolution of property within their jurisdictions, There
is no federally protected fundamental right to appoint a
personal representative, and, in the context of this case,
there is no infringement of the fundamental rights to
travel and to earn a livelihood. The statutory preclusion
of unrelated nonresidents from serving in the important
fiduciary capacity of personal representative is com-
parable to residency requirements for the practice of law
and is rationally related to an important state goal, the
effective and efficient administration of estates. Thus,
the statutes do not deny any citizen equal protection,
due process or the privileges and immunities of Florida
residents. Appellant’s commerce clause claim was not
timely raised and is without merit. His full faith and
credit claim was not expressly asserted below, is not a
proper issue for appeal, and is without merit.
ARGUMENT
I. THE APPEAL PRESENTS NO _ JUSTI-
CIABLE CASE OR CONTROVERSY.
There have never been any adverse proceedings be-
tween I. Meyer Pincus and the only nominal adverse par-
ty below, the Estate of Leo Greenberg, and the presence
of an amicus is insufficient to create a justiciable con-
troversy. See Auto Workers v. Scofield, 382 U.S. 205
(1965); Western Union Telegraph Co. v. Foster, 247
U.S. 105 (1917). Since the Court is being asked to
render an advisory opinion on important state legislation
in a case in which the record has not been fully
developed through the presence of an adverse party
undertaking to uphold the Florida statutes, it should
5
decline to hear this appeal. See Sanks v. Georgia, 401
U.S. 144 (1971); United States v. Fruehauf, 365 U.S.
146, 157 (1961); see generally GTE Sylvania, Inc, v.
Consumers Union, 444 U.S. 818 (1980).
Il. THE APPEAL PRESENTS NO SUBSTAN-
TIAL FEDERAL QUESTION.
A. The Administration Of Estates Is Commit-
ted By The Constitution To The Several
States.
The Constitution commits to the states the power to
control and regulate the disposition of property within
their jurisdictions and the administration of the estates
of their citizens. See Lalli v. Lalli, 439 U.S. 259 (1978);
Labine v. Vincent, 401 U.S. 532 (1971). Thus, supervi-
sion of testamentary dispositions is a legitimate and im-
portant state interest. Nothing in the Constitution for-
bids a state from limiting or even abolishing the power
to make a testamentary bequest of property within its
jurisdiction. /rving Trust Co. v. Day, 314 U.S. 556, 562
(1942).
Supervision of the administration of estates is a
governmental function which, like the administration of
justice, is entrusted to the courts. In both instances, the
state has a significant and even compelling interest in
ensuring that individuals acting in a representative
capacity can fulfill their fiduciary obligations. A state’s
authority to regulate the practice of law is well recogniz-
ed, see, e.g., Goldfarb v. Virginia State Bar, 421 U.S.
773, 792 (1975), and simple residency requirements for
admission to state bars have been consistently found not
to infringe any fundamental rights. Leis v. Flynt, 439
U.S. 438 (1979); Norfolk and Western Railway Co. v.
Beatty, 423 U.S. 1009, aff’g 400 F. Supp. 234 (S.D. Ill.
6
1975); Brown v. Supreme Court of Virginia, 414 U.S.
1034, aff’g 359 F. Supp. 549 (E.D. Va. 1973). Appeals
which present constitutional attacks on residency re-
quirements for state bar admission are uniformly
dismissed for failure to present a substantial federal
question, Martin v. Walton, 368 U.S. 25 (1961); Kovrak
v. Ginsburg, 358 U.S. 52 (1958), and this appeal should
be treated in like fashion.
The state’s interest in the appointment of a personal
representative is in many respects even more compelling
than the general regulation of the practice of law. The
state’s role in limiting the individuals who may serve as
personal representatives is equivalent to that in appoin-
ting a qualified guardian to represent a minor or an in-
competent, or in selecting a receiver in insolvency pro-
ceedings. In each case, the state must assure that the in-
dividual will protect the interests of one who is not pre-
sent or able to guide the representative or the court or
to personally evaluate the representative’s performance.
The discretion to make or approve the appointment of a
personal representative has traditionally been delegated
to the courts, and the states have legislatively restricted
the class of persons from which the selection can be
made to exclude those not best situated to serve.
By enacting the statutes in issue, the Florida
legislature concluded that unrelated nonresidents are not
in the best position to perform the duties of personal
representatives. The administration of a decedent’s
estate is an intensely localized matter, requiring that the
personal representative be well informed on local issues
such as the scope of local property values, the identity
of convenient and reputable appraisers, and local
business practices. He must also be readily available to
the court, beneficiaries and creditors in order to answer
7
questions and take all necessary and timely actions.’
Because this regulation of the process contributes to the
effective, efficient and expeditious administration of the
estate, it is, at a minimum, substantially related to this
legitimate and compelling state goal.
B. No Fundamental Rights Are Infringed By
The Florida Statutes.
(1) There is no fundamental right to ap-
point a personal representative.
This Court has steadfastly resisted efforts to expand
fundamental rights and has confined that concept to
> The availability of the personal representative, defined more
broadly than mere amenability to service of process, is important to
the effective administration of estates. Under Florida’s statutory
scheme, the personal representative must take possession of the
estate assets, Fla. Stat. §733.607 (1978), must perform, compromise
or refuse performance of the decedent’s contracts, id. §733.612(2),
and must secure appraisals of assets. /d. §733.605. In the area of
creditors’ claims, the representative has an obligation to creditors
and beneficiaries, id. §733.612(20) and (24), and must evaluate
claims against the estate and, to preserve decedent’s rights, object
to them within four months of the first publication of notice of ad-
ministration and, where necessary, sue to recover assets. He must
consult with beneficiaries on a continuing basis regarding their
needs and the timing, nature and tax aspects of distributions. He
must file tax returns and reports and inventories required by the
local probate court. /d. §733.604(1). The statutes empower the per-
sonal representative, without a court order, to continue any unin-
corporated business of the decedent for a period, id. §733.612(22),
and to sell the decedent’s property under a testamentary power to
do so. Id. §733.613. The Florida courts must supervise these ac-
tions, and the Florida legislature can, on the basis of practical ex-
perience, resonably conclude that administration by Florida
residents should be more effective since residents are more likely
than nonresidents to be responsive to the Florida judiciary.
8
those rights which are explicitly or implicitly guaranteed
by our federal Constitution. Thus, such important in-
terests as education and housing are not deemed to be
fundamental rights. See, e.g., San Antonio Independent
School District v. Rodriguez, 411 U.S. 1 (1973) (educa-
tion); Lindsey v. Normet, 405 U.S. 56 (1972) (housing).
The Constitution does not expressly provide a right to
appoint a personal representative to oversee one’s
testamentary disposition, and the constitutional language
cannot be construed to imply such a fundamental right.
There is not even a fundamental right to make a
testamentary disposition of one’s property or to receive
a testamentary devise. These are statutory privileges
created by the states pursuant to the power constitu-
tionally reserved to them. Consequently, there can be no
fundamental right to appoint a personal representative
to oversee that testamentary disposition and the ad-
ministration of one’s estate.‘
The appointment of a personal representative can-
not be equated with the intimate family decisions
regarding procreation, divorce and marriage addressed
respectively by this Court in Roe v. Wade, 410 U.S. 113
(1973), Boddie v. Connecticut, 401 U.S. 371 (1971), and
Loving v. Virginia, 388 U.S. 1 (1967). The Constitution
does not create a broad category of fundamental rights
under the banner of ‘‘family decisions.’’ Decisions
regarding procreation, divorce or marriage have been
deemed by the Court to be fundamental only because
they are encompassed by the constitutional right of
privacy. The right of privacy cannot logically be expand-
ed to include the choice of a personal representative.
‘This Court has recognized that there is no right of federal
origin allowing one to choose an attorney who does not meet state
residency qualifications. E.g., Leis v. Flynt, 439 U.S. 438 (1979).
9
The selection of a family doctor or lawyer is a more
vital family decision than the selection of a personal
representative. Yet it is well settled that even these deci-
sions do not involve fundamental rights, Leis v. Flynt,
439 U.S. at 443, Brown v. Supreme Court of Virginia,
359 F. Supp. at 559 and 562 n.15, and cannot be given
that status simply because they may be remotely related
to some constitutionally protected right. Cf. San An-
tonio Independent School District v. Rodriguez, 411
U.S. 1 (1973). As stated in Norfolk and Western
Railway Co. v. Beatty, 400 F. Supp. 234, 237 (S.D. Iil.),
aff’d, 423 U.S. 1009 (1975), ‘‘No constitutional basis is
found to grant a civil litigant, patient or other client the
right to compel the admission of a nonresident to the
practice of law, medicine, or other profession within a
state.’’ Likewise, there can be no constitutional basis for
a right to appoint a personal representative simply
because that action may affect family members.
Even if there were some fundamental right to ap-
point a personal representative, it would be the
testator’s right. A denial of any such right of the
testator could result in injury only to the protected in-
terests of the estate or its beneficiaries, who are not ap-
pellants in this suit. Mr. Pincus personally has suffered
no such injury, and therefore has no standing to assert
infringement of any right of the decedent. See Flast v.
Cohen, 392 U.S. 83, 98-101 (1968); Baker v. Carr, 369
U.S. 186, 204 (1962).
(2) The right to travel is not unconstitu-
tionally restricted by the Florida
statutes.
Although the right to travel throughout the states is
a fundamental right protected by the Constitution, state
10
statutes are subject to strict scrutiny only if they
somehow penalize the exercise of that right. See
Memorial Hospital v. Maricopa County, 415 U.S. 250,
256-57 (1974); Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 U.S. 618, 631
(1969). Mr. Pincus complains that Leo Greenberg’s right
to travel was unconstitutionally penalized because his
chosen personal representative was no longer qualified
to serve when Mr. Greenberg moved to Florida.
However, the right to travel requires only that a person
who moves from one state to another be given benefits
equal to those enjoyed by residents of the state to which
he travels, not superior rights that he enjoyed in the
state from which he came. Califano v. Torres, 435 U.S.
1 (1978). All citizens of Florida are prohibited by the
Florida statutes from having unrelatea nonresidents
serve as personal representatives. Thus, the statutes may
make Florida a less attractive destination to the testator,
but they do not unconstitutionally restrict his fundamen-
tal right to travel. This Court has consistently recogniz-
ed that simple residency requirements do not unconstitu-
tionally impact on the right to travel. McCarthy v.
Philadelphia Civil Service Commission, 424 U.S. 645
(1976); Maricopa County, 415 U.S. at 255; accord,
Brown v. Supreme Court of Virginia, 359 F. Supp. at
561.
In any event, the appellant has no standing to assert
an unconstitutional restriction of the testator’s right to
travel. An infringement of that right would not result in
any direct injury to any constitutionally protected in-
terest of the appellant.
1]
(3) The appeliant’s fundamental right to
pursue a livelihood is not infringed by
the Florida statutes.
Appellant’s fundamental right to pursue a
livelihood gives him no more constitutional right to
serve as a personal representative in Florida than he has
to practice law in Florida. Residency requirements for
bar admission do not violate a nonresident’s fundamen-
tal right to earn a livelihood. See Leis v. Flynt, 439 U.S.
438 (1979); Goldfarb v. Virginia State Bar, 421 U.S.
773; 792 (1975); In re Griffiths, 413 U.S. 717, 722-23
(1973); Brown v. Supreme Court of Virginia, 359 F.
Supp. 549 (E.D. Va. 1973). A residency requirement for
personal representatives likewise cannot violate that
right.
C. Since No Fundamental Right Is Infringed,
The Florida Statutes Need Only
Reasonably Serve An Important State In-
terest.
(1) The Florida statutes do not deny the
decedent or the appellant equal pro-
tection.
Regardless of the level of scrutiny applied, the
Florida statutes do not violate the equal protection
clause because the residency requirement is substantially
related to the State’s compelling and important interest
in the efficient and effective administration of estates.
See Lalli v. Lalli, 439 U.S. 259 (1978) (equal protection
allows staté to restrict illegitimate’s right of inheritance);
In re Emery, 59 Ohio App.2d 7, 391 N.E.2d 746 (1978)
(statutory preclusion of nonresident executors held not
to deny equal protection). Cf. Brown v. Supreme Court
12
of Virginia, 414 U.S. 1034, aff’g 359 F. Supp. 549 (E.D.
Va. 1973) (residency requirement for bar admission held
not a denial of equal protection); accord, Wilson v.
Wilson, 416 F. Supp. 984 (D. Ore. 1976), aff'd, 430
U.S. 925 (1977).
The Florida legislature could rationally decide that
requiring a personal representative to be a Florida resi-
dent or a relative of the decedent would better ensure
that creditors, beneficiaries and assets will be protected
and that the estate will be administered without needless
delays or costs.’ The exception for nonresident relatives
does not indicate, as appellant contends, that the
residency requirement is illogical. A relative named by a
testator is in most circumstances a trusted family
member who is also a primary beneficiary of the estate
or has a personal interest in the welfare of other
beneficiaries. He is more likely to be in close contact
with beneficiaries and creditors and to make himself
available in the state of the decedent’s residence to pro-
tect his personal interest in the administration of the
estate. Therefore, his interest in the expeditious, effi-
cient and effective administration of the estate counter-
balances any disadvantage of having a nonresident per-
sonal representative.
‘ Contrary to the appellant’s assertions, a bonding requirement
inadequately protects the estate from potential loss. Florida law
specifically provides for waiver of the posting of bond by a per-
sonal representative. See Fla. Stat. §733.402 (1978). Such a waiver
is frequently inserted in wills, and was indeed inserted in the
Greenberg will. In addition, the fact that a nonresident personal
representative is amenable to service of process in Florida courts in
some instances affords inadequate protection. No provision of the
Florida statutes establishes service in an action for mismanagement
of the estate by a nonresident personal representative. His failure to
perform his duties properly could, therefore, result in detriment to
the estate and loss to the beneficiaries and creditors.
13
The fact that a particular unrelated nonresident
may be able to perform as well as a nonresident relative
does not make the statutory classification illogical. As
the Court stated in Lindsley v. National Carbonic Gas
Co., 220 U.S. 61, 78 (1911), ‘‘A classification having
some reasonable basis does not offend against [the equal
protection] clause merely because it is not made with
mathematical nicety, or because in practice it results in
some inequality.” See Parham v. Hughes, 441 U.S. 347,
357-58 (1979).
(2) The Florida statutes do not deny the
decedent or the appellant due process
of law.
The Florida statutes do not establish an irrebuttable
presumption that nonresidents are not competent to
serve as personal representatives, but merely reflect a
legislative determination of the most effective method
for the administration of estates. Under the Florida
statutes, the competence of the appellant is irrelevant.
Even if the statutes are analyzed as containing a
presumption, however, due process does not require that
the appellant be given a hearing to demonstrate his
qualifications because the Florida statutes do not im-
pinge upon fundamental rights or involve a suspect
classification. It is only essential that there be some ra-
tional connection between the fact of nonresidency and
the presumption that estates are better administered by
residents or family members, and that this connection
not be so unreasonable as to be arbitrary. Usery v.
Turner Elkhorn Mining Co., 428 U.S. 1 (1976);
Weinberger v. Salfi, 422 U.S. 749 (1975); McDonald v.
Board of Election, 394 U.S. 802 (1969). As already
noted, the Florida legislature can rationally conclude
that unrelated nonresidents are not best suited to serve
14
as personal representatives. Thus, the statutes are
neither arbitrary nor unreasonable. See Leis v. Flynt,
439 U.S. at 443-45; Sosna v. Iowa, 419 U.S. 393, 409-10
(1975); Moore v. Supreme Court of South Carolina, 447
F. Supp. 527 (D.S.C. 1977), aff’d, 577 F.2d 735 (4th
Cir.), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 984 (1978).
D. The Florida Statutes Do Not Deny The
Appellant The Privileges And Immunities
Of The Citizens Of Florida.
Mr. Pincus apparently claims that he was denied
the privilege of serving as a personal representative in
Florida, and that reservation of that activity for
residents or relatives of decedents violates the privileges
and immunities clause. Yet the privileges and immunities
clause protects against only those distinctions between
residents and nonresidents which hinder the formation,
purpose or development of a single union of states and
requires that nonresidents be treated equally with
residents only where the nonresident is seeking to
‘engage in an essential activity or exercise a basic
right.’’ Baldwin v. Montana Fish and Game Commis-
sion, 436 U.S. 371, 387 (1978); see Hicklin v. Orbeck,
437 U.S. 518 (1978).
Serving as a personal representative does not rise to
the level of an essential activity or basic right, nor can it
be said to be a privilege or immunity bearing upon the
vitality of this nation as a single entity. Accordingly, ap-
pellant’s appointment is not protected by the privileges
and immunities clause of the Constitution. See In re
Mulford, 217 Ill. 242, 75 N.E. 345 (1905) (statutory
preclusion of nonresident executors held not to violate
the privileges and immunities clause).
15
E. The Appellant’s Claim Under The Com-
merce Clause Is Not Properly Before This
Court And Is Wholly Without Merit.
The appellant did not raise his commerce clause
claim in the Florida courts and has therefore failed to
preserve this issue for review by this Court. See Car-
dinale v. Louisiana, 394 U.S. 437 (1969).
Even if the commerce clause claim were properly
raised below, it has no merit. Denying the appellant the
right to serve as the personal representative of an estate
does not ‘‘materially restrict the free flow of commerce’’
and has at most only a de minimus and incidental effect
upon interstate commerce. See Goldfarb v. Virginia
State Bar, 421 U.S. at 792; Head v. New Mexico Board
of Examiners, 374 U.S. 424 (1963); Huron Portland Ce-
ment Co. v. City of Detroit, 362 U.S. 440 (1960).
F. The Appellant’s Claim Under The Full
Faith And Credit Clause Is Not Properly
Before This Court And Is Wholly Without
Merit.
The appellant did not expressly assert a full faith
and credit claim in the Florida courts and has therefore
also failed to preserve this issue for review.
Moreover, the appellant’s full faith and credit claim
does not address the constitutional validity of the
Florida statutes but is an attack upon the action of the
Supreme Court of Florida in not following the Fain
decision. This issue is not a proper subject for appeal,
and should be disregarded in determining the propriety
of ‘eviewing this case. See DeBacker v. Brainard, 396
U.S. 28 (1969); Mishkin v. New York, 383 U.S. 502,
512 (1966); Union National Bank v. Lamb, 337 U.S. 38
(1949).
16
Furthermore, the judgment in Fain does not bind
the appellee estate, which was neither a party nor in
privity with parties to that suit.* Appellant’s contention,
which is in effect an assertion that the judgment of the
first court to decide an issue of law may be used by a
stranger to the first action to estop a defendent also a
stranger to the first action, is patently erroneous. A
federal district court’s declaratory judgment on unmixed
questions of law regarding the constitutionality of a
state statute of public importance does not estop that
state’s highest court from reaching an independent deci-
sion. See United States v. Moser, 266 U.S. 236, 242
(1924); Restatement (Second) of Judgments §88.7 (Ten-
tative Draft No. 3, 1976).
*° The State of Florida, as an amicus in this case, is not a party
for purposes of res judicata or collateral estoppel. See Auto
Workers v. Scofield, 382 U.S. 205 (1965); Western Union Telegraph
Co. v. Foster, 247 U.S. 105 (1917). The appellant was not a party
to the Fain case. The appellees Paul M. Marko, III and Leroy H.
Moe were not named as parties in the state court proceedings in this
case.
17
CONCLUSION
For the reasons stated herein, either this appeal
should be dismissed or the judgment of the Supreme
Court of Florida should be affirmed.
Respectfully submitted,
JIM SMITH
Attorney General of the
State of Florida
BRUCE BARKETT
Assistant Attorney General
THOMAS A. BEENCK
Assistant Attorney General
DEPARTMENT OF LEGAL AFFAIRS
Suite 1501 — The Capitol
Tallahassee, Florida 32301
(904) 488-9935
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.