Petition — Smith v. United States
Supreme Court brief1981
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED
DEC 20 1980
80-1005
| MICHAEL RODAK, JR., CLERK
In the Supreme Cou
OF THE
United States
Octoser TERM, 1980
Lance Louis SMITH,
Petitioner,
VS.
UniItep STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT
Goorsian & McCabe
J. Frank McCasBe
500 Sansome Street, Suite 212
San Francisco, CA 94111
Telephone: (415) 397-1757
Attorneys for Petitioner
BOWNE-PERNAU WALSH * 1045 SANSOME ST. ¢ S.F., CA 94111 © (415) 961-7862
QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW
3
Whether Congress clearly intended that a criminal de-
fendant who forcibly enters a post office, then imme-
diately takes government property therefrom, then imme-
diately assists in the removal of that property away from
the post office, and later that property is transported inter-
state by another without the defendant’s knowledge can
be convicted of, and consecutively sentenced under, 18
U.S.C. § 2115 (post office burglary), 18 U.S.C. § 641 (theft
of government property) and 18 U.S.C. § 2314 (interstate
transportation of stolen property).
Il.
Whether the prosecutor’s repeated violations of the trial
court’s rulings by deliberately introducing evidence which
violated the Bruton rule conflicted with decisions of this
Court and the Fifth Circuit and denied petitioner due
process of law.
lil
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
Questions presented for reVieW ........ceccccscesecseseeeccesceeeeee i
omens OF Gib: NO ii i ee eae 2
IUCN UE a incas en ssisssiaobuscecestones cease 3
Reasons for granting the WYit .................-..c.cccsccssescsoseeaseeee 5
1. The ruling of the court below that petitioner
could stand convicted and consecutively pun-
ished for post office burglary, theft of property
from inside that post office and interstate trans-
portation of that property conflicts with deci-
sions of this Court which hold that appellate
courts must determine whether Congress in-
tended to subject a defendant to multiple
prosecutions for a single criminal transaction
and, where there is an ambiguity, must resolve
Godnt in favor Of 1emtty .onccciccsccceeuensiaian 5
2. The prosecutor’s repeated violation of the trial
court’s rulings by deliberately introducing evi-
dence which violated the Bruton rule conflicts
with decisions of this Court and the Fifth
Circuit and denied petitioner due process of law 9
FT eR We MR NLU RS SN Re 12
_ PREVIOUS PAGE WAS BLANK
iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED
Cases
Page
Bell v. United States, 349 U.S. 81 (1955)... 8
Berger v. United States, 295 U.S. 78 (1935) -................. 12
Bruton v. United States, 391 U.S. 138, 88 S.Ct. 1620,
a ee i peiciteeri si ndiendegutetectnscotenaslonnd i, 9
Giglio v. United States, 450 U.S. 150 (1972) ............. 11, 12
Ladner v. United States, 358 U.S. 169 (1958) -............. 8
Mooney v. Holohan, 294 U.S. 103 (1935) —202 1]
Morgan v. Devine, 237 U.S. 632 (1915) ...22.0.....eeeeeeeeseee 6, 7
Napue v. Illinois, 360 U.S. 264 (1959) 00 11
Pyle v. Kansas, 317 U.S. 213 (1942) 20. eeeeeee 11
Rewis v. United States, 401 U.S. 808 (1971) -....0020... 8
Simpson v. United States, 435 U.S. 6 (1978) ...000.. 6,8
United States v. Bass, 404 U.S. 336 (1971) -..00020... 8
United States v. Patten, 345 F.Supp. 967 (D.P.R.1972) 7
United States v. Roselli, 432 F.2d 879 (1970), cert.
Miata, TE TEs OG CE Sosdeiitnn i cccsnebccnsniyectarcrecnanise 7
United States v. Sheridan, 329 U.S. 379 (1946) ......0.... 6
United States v. Simmons, 414 F.2d 800 (9th Cir. 1969) 11
United States v. Whimpy, 531 F.2d 768 (5th Cir. 1976) 11
Statutes
18 U.S.C.:
IRI IG eiskatennadinsa ciao setiassicicneibaascinpiaiaoanmanapiid 1, 2, 3, 6, 7
REET ARTS fPRS RE DRI TES Re PO i, 2, 4, 6, 7
RNIN, SUN Veco cians eedstnrascasooihagultviicealspassepsnconmeseaeise 1, 2, 4, 6, 7
No.
In the Supreme Court
OF THE
United States
Octoser Term, 1980
Lance Louis SMITH,
Petitioner,
vs.
Unitep States or AMERICA,
Respondent.
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT
2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
Petitioner Jiance Louis Smith was charged along with
four others, Samuel Bailey, William Eggers, Robert Moore
and Frank Roza, Jr., in a ten-count indictment filed in the
United States District Court for the Northern District of
California on March 13, 1979 (C.R 14). Smith was charged
in only three of the ten counts. Count three alleged that
he, along with Bailey, Eggers and Moore, forcibly broke
into the United States post office in Martinez, California,
with intent to commit larceny on January 1, 1978 in viola-
tion of 18 U.S.C. § 2115. Count four charged that the same
four men stole postage stamps, food coupons, and currency
valued at approximately $119,000 on the same day at the
same place in violation of 18 U.S.C. 4 641. In count five,
the same men were charged with transporting the same
items in interstate commerce from Martinez, California to
Nevada, knowing them to have been stolen, in violation of
18 U.S.C. § 2314.
Petitioner was tried by a jury before District Judge
Stanley A. Weigel between May 15 and 25, 1979, along
with Bailey, Moore and Roza. After having been granted
immunity, Eggers testified for the government, and the
indictment was dismissed as to him. He testified that he
and Bailey entered the Martinez, California, post office
by force while Moore and petitioner Smith acted as look-
outs. They took postage stamps and food stamps from the
post office and immediately thereafter drove to his
(Eggers’) residence at South Lake Tahoe, California. Peti-
1In this Petition, C.R. refers to the Clerks Record on Appeal and
R.T. refers to the Reporter's Transcript on Appeal.
3
tioner, an alcoholic, then went off and got drunk. The next
day Eggers drove Bailey to Carson City, Nevada where
the stamps were apparently fenced by Roza (2 R.T. 231,
244, 251-263, 266-268, 271-275). Petitioner took the stand
at trial and specifically denied any involvement in the
crimes described by Eggers (6 R.T. 968-973).
The jury found petitioner guilty on all three counts (C.R.
200-203). On June 28, 1979, he was sentenced to the custody
of the Attorney General for a period of five years on the
burglary count, three years on the theft of government
' property charge, and two years on the interstate transpor-
tation count, each of the sentences to run consecutively
(C.R. 235, 244). His judgment of conviction was affirmed
by the Ninth Cireuit Court of Appeals on October 23, 1980
(See Appendix A). He is presently serving his sentence.
STATUTES INVOLVED
18 U.S.C. § 641 reads as follows:
Whoever embezzles, steals, purloins, or knowingly
converts to his use or the use of another, or without
authority, sells, conveys or disposes of any record,
voucher, money, or thing of value of the United States
or of any Cepartment or agency thereof, or any prop-
erty made or being made under contract for the United
States or any department or agency thereof; or
Whoever receives, conceals, or retains the same with
intent to convert it to his use or gain, knowing it to
have been embezzled, stoien, purloined or converted—
Shall be fined not more than $10,000 or imprisoned
not more than ten years, or both; but if the value of
such property does not exceed the sum of $100, he
4
shail be fined not more than $1,000 or imprisoned not
more than one vear, or both.
The word “value” means face, par, or market value,
or cost price, either wholesale or retail, whichever is
greater.
18 U.S.C. § 2115 reads as follows:
Whoever forcibly breaks into or attempts to break
into any post office, or any building used in whole or
in part as a post office, with intent to commit in such
post office, or building or part thereof, so used, any
larceny or other depredation, shall be fined not more
than $1,000 or imprisoned not more than five years, or
both.
18 U.S.C. § 2314 reads as follows:
Whoever transports in interstate or foreign com-
merce any goods, wares, merchandise, securities or
money, of the value of $5,000 or more, knowing the
same to have been stolen, converted or taken by fraud;
or
Whoever, having devised or intending to devise any
scheme or artifice to defraud, or for obtaining money
or property by means of false or fraudulent pretenses,
representations, or promises, transports or causes to
be transported, or induces any person to travel in, or
to be transported in interstate commerce in the exe-
cution or concealment of a scheme or artifice to de-
fraud that person of money or property having a value
of $5,000 or more; or
Whoever, with unlawful or fraudulent intent, trans-
ports in interstate or foreign commerce any falsely
made, forged, altered, or counterfeited securities or tax
stamps, knowing the same to have been falsely made,
forged, altered, or counterfeited; or
5
Whoever, with unlawful or fraudulent intent, trans-
ports in interstate or foreign commerce any traveler’s
checks bearing a forged countersignature; or
Whoever, with unlawful or fraudulent intent, trans-
ports in interstate or foreign commerce, any tool, im-
plement, or thing used or fitted to be used in falsely
making, forging, altering, or counterfeiting any secur-
ity or tax stamps, or any part thereof—
Shall be fined not more than $10,000 or imprisoned
not more than ten years, or both.
This section shall not apply to any falsely made,
forged, altered, counterfeited or spurious representa-
tion of an obligation or other security of the United
States, or of an obligation, bond, certificate, security,
treasury note, bill, promise to pay or bank note issued
by any foreign government or by a bank or corpora-
tion of any foreign country.
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
1. The ruling of the court below that petitioner could
stand convicted and consecutively punished for post
office burglary, theft of property from inside that post
office and interstate transportation of that property
conflicts with decisions of this Court which hold that
appellate courts must determine whether Congress in-
tended to subject a defendant to multiple prosecutions
for a single criminal transaction and, where there is
an ambiguity, must resolve doubt in favor of lenity
Petitioner aided and abetted the breaking and entering
of a post office, the theft of stamps therefrom and the get-
away from the scene of the crime. Later the stamps were
6
transported interstate without evidence of petitioner’s as-
sistance or his knowledge. The Ninth Circuit affirmed all
three judgments of conviction, ruling that there was suffi-
cient evidence to convict petitioner for 18 U.S.C. ¢ 2314
and, relying on Morgan v. Devine, 237 U.S. 632 (1915),
that the conviction under 18 U.S.C. § 2115 did not merge
into the 18 U.S.C. § 641 conviction.
Petitioner’s conduct, however, was undeniably a single
criminal episode or transaction and the decision of the
court below conflicted with this Court’s decision in Simpson
v. United States, 435 U.S. 6 (1978), as it failed to “deter-
mine whether Congress intended to subject the defendant
to multiple penalties for the single criminal transaction in
which he engaged.” Jd. at 12.
Petitioner suggests that Congress, in enacting 18 U.S.C.
§ 2314, intended to prosecute offenders for interstate trans-
portation of stolen property im liew of prosecution for such
crimes as theft or embezzlement or possessing or receiving
that stolen property in situations where federal prosecutors
lacked federal jurisdiction to prosecute for those other
offenses. There is nothing to indicate that Congress in-
tended to prosecute offenders for interstate transportation
in addition to federal burglary and theft statutes as was
done here, let alone punish offenders consecutively for in-
terstate transportation.
This Court, in discussing the predecessor statute to Sec-
tion 2314, stated in United States v. Sheridan, 329 U.S.
379, 384 (1946), that Congress “contemplated coming to
the aid of the states in detecting and punishing criminals
whose offenses are complete under state law, but who
7
utilize the channels of interstate commerce to make a suc-
cessful getaway and thus make the state’s detecting and
punitive processes impotent.’”
Following the logic of the court below, any burglar, rob-
ber or thief who carried his stolen property away from the
scene of the crime—and this would include virtually every
offender as no offender remains at the scene—also could
be punished for violating 18 U.S.C. § 2314 as long as his
property eventually was transported interstate. This was
not the intent of Congress in enacting Section 2314. Con-
gress’ intent was to prosecute a class of offenders who had
otherwise evaded prosecution—not to pyramid an addi-
tional charge upon offenders who were already subject to
federal prosecution.
Similarly and notwithstanding Morgan v. Divine, supra,
decided two-thirds of a century ago, there is no evidence
that Congress clearly intended to pyramid punishments for
the single criminal transaction of burglary of a post office
and theft of property therefrom. A clear legislative intent
should be required before courts are permitted to construe
Sections 2115 and 641 to authorize consecutive sentencing
of a successful post office burglar.
*The Ninth Circuit in United States v. Roselli, 432 F.2d 879, 892
(1970), cert. denied, 401 U.S. 924 (1971), wrote: “Suppression of
movement of the fruits of theft and fraud is only the means to the
end of suppressing theft and fraud themselves. The sole reason for
conditioning the statutes’ prohibitions upon use of interstate com-
merce is to provide a constitutional basis for the exercise of fed-
eral power.” See also United States v. Patten, 345 F.Supp. 967,
968 (D.P.R. 1972).
8:
At best, Congress’ intent with regard to these statutes is
ambiguous. Thus, the ruling of the court below conflicts
with a long line of decisions of this Court which have held
that “if Congress does not fix the punishment for a federal
offense clearly and without ambiguity, doubt will be re-
solved against turning a single transaction into multiple
offenses.” Bell v. United States, 349 U.S. 81, 84 (1955). See
also Simpson v. United States, supra, 435 U.S. at 15; Lad-
ner v. United States, 358 U.S. 169 (1958).
The ruling further conflicts with the Court’s oft-repeated
rule that “ambiguity concerning the ambit of criminal
statutes should be resolved in favor of lenity.” Simpson,
supra, at 14; United States v. Bass, 404 U.S. 336, 347
(1971); Rewis v. United States, 401 U.S. 808, 812 (1971).
This Court said in Ladner, supra: “This policy of lenity
means that the Court will interpret a federal criminal
statute so as to increase the penalty that it places on an
individual when such an interpretation can be based on
no more than a guess as to what Congress intended.” 358
US. at 178.
Petitioner Smith thus respectfully asks this Court to
grant his petition and resolve the question of whether Con-
gress intended for punishment under these three federal
statutes to be pyramided where the underlying course of
conduct and criminal intent is, as here, continuous and in-
divisible.
OS RT ne ene ee ee ee
9
2. The prosecutor’s repeated violations of the trial court’s
rulings by deliberately introducing evidence which
violated the Bruton rule conflicts with decisions of
this Court and the Fifth Circuit and denied petitioner
due process of law
At trial, the prosecution indicated its intent to introduce,
through the testimony of its final witness, one Namahoe,
evidence that co-defendant Bailey had hired Namahoe to
murder co-defendant-turned-informant Eggers (See 5 R.T.
719-720). Following a lengthy hearing outside the presence
of the jury, the trial court quite properly ruled that this
evidence was inadmissible and ordered that Namahoe’s tes-
timony be specifically limited to an express admission of
guilt by a defendant (6 R.T. 898-901). The court then gave
the prosecutor a recess to carefully prepare his examina-
tion of Namahoe, avoiding the inadmissible testimony, and
to instruct the witness to obey the court’s ruling (6 R.T.
904).
Once Namahoe took the stand, the court’s ruling was im-
mediately violated by Namahoe’s testimony that Bailey
had talked about Koza and petitioner Smith (6 R.T. 907-
908).
Upon defense counsel’s motion, the court ordered the
answer stricken, admonished the jury to disregard it, and
again suggested the prosecutor elicit admissible evidence
“by more careful questions” (6 R.T. 910).
&*
However, instead of obeying, the prosecutor asked Na-
mahoe what Bailey had said to him, and Namahoe re-
sponded :
10
“Mr. Bailey told me that in part of the indict-
ment he had looked at it that he, Robert Moore, and
Bill Eggers have transported the stamps that they
took from a burglary into Idaho and that Lannie
Smith was not the person who helped them transport
it there, and that he felt at that time, after reading
that section of the indictment, that Bill Eggers had
ratted on them.” (6 R.T. 911).
Defense counsel immediately moved to strike the testimony,
moved for a mistrial and for a hearing to determine
whether the prosecution knowingly elicited that testimony
(R.T. 911-912). Judge Weigel denied the latter two motions
but did admonish the jury to disregard the testimony (6
R.T. 912).
Later in the day, the court reconsidered the defense
request to investigate the prosecutor’s prior knowledge of
Namahoe’s testimony. The prosecutor, Mr. Webb, readily
admitted that “I knew the answer he was going to give
was going to be given... .” (6 R.T. 940). The following
also took place:
The Court: “The question I have in mind for you,
Mr. Webb, is, did you have reason to believe that the
answer would be as it is now going to be read to you?:
“Did you anticipate that answer?”
Mr. Webb: “Yes, your honor.”
The Court: “Counsel, I am at a total loss to under-
stand how you could possibly have put the witness
on the stand and elicited that answer under the Bruton
Rule. I am at a total loss to understand it. You had
a strong case, in my opinion, you still have a strong
case. What did vou do that for?”
Mr. Webb: “I was not thinking.” (6 R.T. 941).
ae
11
The court then instructed the jury to disregard the entire
testimony of Namahoe (6 R.T. 944-946).
A long line of cases of this Court have required reversal
of a criminal conviction when the trial is infected by the
prosecution’s introduction of known false evidence under
the theory that the accused is denied his constitutional
right to due process of law.
See, e.g., Giglio v. United Stutes, 405 U.S. 150 (1972);
Napue v. Illinois, 360 U.S. 264 (1959); Pyle v. Kansas,
317 U.S. 213 (1942); Mooney v. Holohan, 294 U.S. 103
(1935). The prosecution’s introduction of known inadmis-
sible evidence is equally prejudicial to a defendant and
equally violative of his constitutional right to due process
of law.
Few cases of any federal court have considered this
precise problem. The decision in the most analogous case
conflicts with the decision below. In United States v.
Whimpy, 531 F.2d 768 (5th Cir. 1976), before a witness
testified, the prosecutor advised the trial court what he
would say, but the prosecuter then, as here, either led or
allowed the witness to stray into an area which was un-
questionably prejudicial to the defendant’s case. The court
of appeals ruled that the prosecutor erred in conducting
the examination in a way which was in direct conflict with
the ruling of the trial judge. As the statements and
their effect could not be erased by the judge’s instruction
to disregard the witness’ testimony, the appellate court
reversed the judgment of conviction. See also United States
v. Summons, 414 F.2d 800 (9th Cir. 1969),
7 12
Petitioner respectfully requests this Court to grant this
petition to resolve this conflict and to consider this im-
portant issue in light of the Giglio line of cases. Moreover,
this is an appropriate case for the Court to exercise its
supervisory powers over the administration of criminal
justice to examine the prosecutor’s conduct in light of the
standards set forth in Berger v. United States, 295 U.S.
78 (1935), and its progeny.
CONCLUSION
For the foregoing reasons, petitioner respectfully sug-
gests that a writ of certiorari should issue in this case.
Dated: December 19, 1980.
Respectfully submitted,
Goors1an & MoCaBe
J. Frank McCase
Attorneys for Petitioner
(Appendices Follow)
Appendix A
In the United States Court of Appeals
For the Ninth Circuit
Nos. 79-1487, 79-1491, 79-1493, 79-1518
D.C. No. CR-79-36-SA W
;
United States of America,
Plaintiff-A ppellee,
VS.
i. a
Samuel Gayle Bailey, Lance Louis Smith,
Frank Vernon Roza, Jr., Robert Gary
Moors,
Defendants-A ppellants.
[Filed October 23, 1980]
On Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Northern District of California
The Honorable Stanley A. Weigel, Presiding
Argued and submitted June 10, 1980
Before: ANDERSON and FARRIS, Circuit Judges, and
RICHEY,* District Judge.
MEMORANDUM
The defendants appeal their convictions on a multicount
indictment for various crimes arising from a series of
*The Honorable Mary Anne Richey, United States District Judge,
District of Arizona, sitting by designation.
A-2
burglaries of United States Post Offices located at various
locations in California and Washington. Bailey was con-
victed on separate counts of violations of 18 U.S.C. § 1962
(c) (racketeering), 18 U.S.C. § 2115 (postal burglary), 18
U.S.C. § 641 (theft of government property), and 18 U.S.C.
§ 2314 (interstate transportation of stolen property). Smith
was convicted on three counts of postal burglary, theft of
government property, and interstate transportation of
stolen property. Roza was convicted on two racketeering
counts, two transportation of stolen property counts, and
one count of receiving stolen property in violation of 18
U.S.C. § 2315. Moore was convicted of racketeering, postal
burglary, theft of government property, and transportation
of stolen property.
We affirm.
I. CROSS-EXAMINATION OF WITNESS EGGERS
Bailey and Smith raise as potential error the limitation
of the cross-examination of chief prosecution witness Wil-
liam Paul Eggers. The trial court did not allow defense
counsel to question Eggers regarding certain specific
crimes which he might have committed after he began to
cooperate with the government in the prosecution which
led to the present appeal. Cross-examination of Eggers
revealed his unsavory character and his propensity for
engaging in criminal activity. The defense attorneys were
also allowed to explore possible deals which Eggers may
have made with the government for lenient treatment in
unrelated investigations.
A-3
The scope of cross-examinations is a matter committed
to the sound discretion of the trial judge. E.g., Burr v.
Sullivan, 618 F.2d 583, 587 (9th Cir. 1980). In reviewing a
refusal by a trial judge to allow cross-examination on im-
peachment matters, we look to see whether the jury had
sufficient information to appraise the bias and motives of
a witness. Skinner v. Cardwell, 564 F.2d 1381, 1389 (9th Cir.
1977), cert. denied, 435 U.S. 1009, 98 S.Ct. 1883, 56 L.Ed.2d
392 (1978). Defendants here were afforded a sufficient
opportunity to probe the bias of Eggers by inquiring into
possible understandings with the government on specific
charges. Viewing the cross-examination of Eggers as a
whole, we observe that the defendants elicited a consider-
able amount of information which hardly placed the witness
in a favorable light. We find that defendants conducted an
effective cross-examination of Eggers and were not denied
the right to confrontation.
II. BRUTON VIOLATION
Smith, Roza, and Moore urge reversal of their convic-
tions on the ground that the prosecution deliberately elicited
testimony from the witness Namahoe which violated the
rule of Bruton v. United States, 391 U.S. 123, 88 S.Ct. 1620,
20 L.Ed.2d 476 (1968). Namahoe in substance testified to
statements made by Bailey which arguably incriminated
the other three defendants. The government concedes that
Namahoe’s testimony violated Bruton, but argues on ap-
peal that the error was harmless beyond a reasonable
doubt.’
1For the purposes of this appeal, we assume that Namahoe’s testi-
mony constituted a denial of the defendants’ right to confrontation,
A4
While it is true that every Bruton violation does not
require reversal, we may affirm a conviction potentially
tainted by a Bruton error only if the evidence against the
defendant is overwhelming and the prejudicial effect of a
codefendant’s admission is so insignificant by comparison
that it is clear that admission of the statement was harm-
less beyond a reasonable doubt. See Parker v. Randolph,
442 U.S. 62, 70, 99 S.Ct. 2132, 60 L.Ed.2d 713 (1979) ;
United States v. Lutz, 621 F.2d 940, 947 (9th Cir. 1980).
Our review of the record indicates that this standard was
met as to each of the three objecting defendants. The testi-
mony of witness Escove clearly implicated Roza as the
fence for the stolen stamps, as did the presence of the
stamps in Roza’s Ferrari at the time of his arrest. The
testimony of witness Eggers described in minute detail
the involvement of Moore and Smith in the burglaries, and
the tape-recorded telephone conversations corroborated
much of Eggers’ testimony. While questions of Eggers’
credibility were raised, the jury resolved them in the gov-
ernment’s favor.
The defendants, however, have raised an additional prob-
lem in connection with the Bruton error. It is clear from
the record that the Assistant United States Attorney who
examined Namahoe knew in advance that the witness would
likely allude to statements by Bailey implicating the other
defendants. It is also clear that the government had been
and that the error requires evaluation under the “beyond a reason-
able doubt” standard. See United States v. Castillo, 615 F.2d 878
(9th Cir. 1980); United States v. Eaglin, 571 F.2d 1069 (9th Cir.
1977), cert. denied, 435 U.S. 906, 98 S.Ct. 1453, 55 L.Ed.2d 497
(1978).
A-5
instructed prior to Namahoe’s testimony to confine the evi-
dence only to statements made by Bailey which were admis-
sible against him. The district court held a hearing out
of the presence of the jury to determine whether the gov-
ernment had intentionally elicited the Bruton violative
statements. Government counsel there conceded that he
knew of the answer which Namahoe would likely give, and
explained that he “was not thinking” and concentrating
mainly on steering the witness away from giving testimony
implicating the others in an alleged conspiracy to murder
the witness Eggers. The trial court accepted counsel’s ex-
planation and struck all of Namahoe’s testimony, while
denying motions for a mistrial. The defendants argue that
the government’s knowing use of inadmissible evidence
requires reversal under the principle of United States v.
Whimpy, 531 F.2d 768 (5th Cir. 1976). The court below,
however, accepted counsel's explanation that the use of the
statement was inadvertent and occurred in the course of an
effort to avoid the introduction of other inadmissible evi-
dence. In the face of a clear finding by the trial court on
counsel’s state of mind, we are reluctant to second-guess
counsel’s motivations on appeal. While we admonish coun-
sel to observe all instructions from the bench and to avoid
scrupulously the use of inadmissible evidence, we do not
find that government counsel’s negligence here requires a
reversal. The use of the evidence was not deliberate in the
sense that the government hoped to sneak it past inatten-
tive defense counsel.
A-6
Ill. JOINDER AND SEVERANCE
Roza, Moore, and Smith argue that the trial court erred
in refusing to grant their motions for severance. Smith
challenges the original joinder under Fed. R. Crim. P.
8(b), and all three defendants challenge the failure to grant
severance under Fed. R. Crim. P. 14.
A. Original Joinder under Rule 8(b)
Smith argues that his original joinder with the other
defendants was improper under Rule 8(b) because he was
the only defendant not charged under a RICO count and
because a substantial an ount of the evidence adduced at
trial related to Roza’s fencing operation.
Under Rule 8(b), joinder is permissible so long as all
defendants participate in a series of acts constituting an
offense or offenses, even though not all defendants partici-
pated in every act constituting each joined offense. United
States v. Roselli, 432 F.2d 879, 899 (9th Cir. 1970), cert.
denied, 401 U.S. 924, 91 S.Ct. 883, 27 L.Ed.2d 828 (1971).
The indictment here charged the defendants with an inter-
related series of illegal acts of which Roza’s fencing opera-
tion was an integral part. Furthermore, the evidence at
trial indicated that each of the acts charged was a portion
of an overall series of illegal transactions. We are satisfied
that Smith’s participation in the burglary operation was
sufficiently related to other acts charged in the indictment
to justify joinder under Rule 8(b). No error was committed
here.
A-7
B. Severance Motions under Rule 14
Kach defendant claims error in denial of their severance
motions made at various stages of the proceedings. We can
overturn the trial court’s denial of a severance motion
only if the prejudice resulting is of such magnitude that
the defendant was denied a fair trial. See, e.g., United
States v. Escalante, ...... tiene , slip op. p. 2897 (April
29, 1980). We have examined the relevant portions of the
record and have found no basis for overturning the trial
court’s rulings. Each of the defendants has received a fair
trial. The court below did not abuse its discretion.
IV. RICO COUNTS
Moore and Roza each seek dismissal of the counts against
them arising from alleged violations of the Racketeer In-
fluenced and Corrupt Organizations Act (RICO), 18 U.S.C.
§ 1961, et seq.
Moore challenges the constitutionality of the definitions
of the word “enterprise” contained in $1961 (4) and the
phrase “pattern of racketeering activity” in § 1961 (5).
Moore’s argument, as is forthrightly conceded in his brief,
is foreclosed by our decision in United States v. Campanale,
518 F.2d 352, 363 (9th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S.
1050, 96 S.Ct. 777, 46 L.Ed.2d 638 (1976).
Roza’s claim that the statute does not apply to legitimate
business enterprises is similarly foreclosed by prior deci-
sions in this cireuit. See United States v. Rone, 598 F.2d
564 (9th Cir. 1979), cert. denied, ...... USS. ......, 100 S.Ct. 1345,
63 L.Ed.2d 780 (1980) ; United States v. Campanale, supra,
at 364. Roza also contends that the evidence was insufficient
A-8
to sustain a conviction under RICO. Roza’s knowledge that
the stamps were stolen and his activities as the gang’s fence
are well documented in the record.
We affirm each of the convictions under RICO.
V. WARRANTLESS SEIZURE OF ROZA’S FERRARI
Roza challenges the constitutionality of the seizure of
his Ferrari in the Sacramento hotel parking lot. The postal
inspectors who arrested Roza impounded the automobile
and later searched it pursuant to a search warrant. At the
time that Roza was arrested, he was several hundred feet
away from the automobile, and it was legally parked in
a public lot. The inspectors impounded the car, acting upon
the tip of informant Escove, who had been told by Roza
that some $30,000 worth of stamps were located in the
trunk.
This court upheld the warrantless search of an automo-
bile under nearly identical circumstances in United States
v. McClain, 531 F.2d 431 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 429 U.S.
835, 97 S.Ct. 102, 50 L.Ed.2d 101 (1976). Here, probable
cause was provided by Escove’s tip. Circumstances were
sufficiently exigent in that an accomplice could well have
moved the automobile or removed the stamps. The action
of the inspectors in securing the automobile pending issu-
ance of a search warrant was entirely proper.’
_.*Cases cited by Roza are inapposite. United States v. Hellman,
556 F.2d 442 (9th Cir. 1977), involved a warrantless inventory
search with no probable cause. Ramon v, Cupp, 423 F.2d 248 (9th
Cir. 1970), was predicated upon a warrantless search following im-
poundment after all possible exigencies had been precluded.
A-9
VI. FORFEITURE OF THE FERRARI
The jury returned a verdict of forfeiture against Roza’s
Ferrari pursuant to 18 U.S.C. § 1963 (a)(1). The evidence
showed that Consolidated Coin Company was the deposi-
tory of funds which Roza had received from fencing the
stolen stamps, and that the Ferrari was purchased with
a $35,000 check drawn on Consolidated Coin’s account.
Roza challenges the sufficiency of this evidence to support
a verdict of forfeiture. The evidence was sufficient to
demonstrate that Consolidated Coin was an enterprise con-
ducted in violation of RICO. Because the Ferrari was pur-
chased with funds on deposit with Consolidated Coin, the
jury could properly find that it was an asset of Consoli-
dated Coin, even though purchased in the name of another.
The evidence therefore was sufficient to support the jury’s
verdict of forfeiture.
VII. LIMITATION ON CROSS-EXAMINATION
OF THE WITNESS ESCOVE
Roza’s claim that his ability to cross-examine the wit-
ness Joseph Escove was improperly limited is not sup-
ported by the record. Escove provided the names of sev-
eral dealers to whom he had sold the stolen stamps before
he announced his intention to name no others without an
order from the court. The trial court sustained the prose-
cution’s objection to further inquiry on relevancy grounds,
but left the matter open for Roza’s counsel to develop
later in the trial. Counsel did not avail himself of the
opportunity to reopen the issue. Roza’s argument as to
the possible relevancy of the testimony sought is specu-
lative and contradicted by Mscove’s direct testimony which
A-10
quite clearly identified Roza as the source of the stolen
postage stamps. The trial court’s ruling on the Escove
testimony was not in error.
VIL. SUFFICIENCY OF THE EVIDENCE
Smith challenges the sufficiency of the evidence to sup-
port his conviction under count five of the indictment for
causing the postage stamps stolen from the Martinez, Cali-
fornia, post office to be transported in interstate commerce
in violation of 18 U.S.C. 4 2314. Smith attacks the evidence
on two grounds: (1) there is no evidence that Smith phys-
ically “caused” the stamps to be transported across state
lines, and (2) there is no evidence that Smith knew that
the stamps were to be transported in interstate commerce.
Neither an intention to use interstate facilities nor
knowledge that they will be used is an element of a § 2314
offense. See, e.g., United States v. Masters, 456 F.2d 1060,
1061 (9th Cir. 1972). Smith’s lack of knowledge that the
stamps were to be transported across state lines is there-
fore irrelevant. The test for causation under § 2314 is
whether interstate transportation of stolen goods was a
reasonably foreseeable consequence of the defendant’s
actions. Masters, supra.
The evidence showed that Smith aided in the transpor-
tation of the stamps from the scene of the burglary to
Kggers’ home in South Lake Tahoe. After unloading and
inventorying the stamps, the defendants reloaded the
stamps into Bailey’s car, after being informed that Bailey
intended to take them to his fence. The movement of the
stolen stamps across state lines was thus a reasonably
A-11
foreseeable consequence of Smith’s participation in the
burglary and transporting of the stamps to South Lake
Tahoe. Viewing the evidence in the light most favorable
to the government, we cannot say that it was insufficient to
convict Smith on count five of the indictment.
IX. MERGER OF OFFENSES
Smith raises the issue whether his conviction for postal
burglary under 18 U.S.C. § 2115 merges into his conviction
for theft of government property under 18 U.S.C. 4 641.
We find that each statute describes a separate offense, and
that each contains an element which the other does not.
§ 2115 requires that forcible entry of a post office be proven;
under § 641, forcible entry need not necessarily be proven.
§ 641 requires proof of theft while § 2115 does not. See
Clemas v. United States, 423 F.2d 461 (8th Cir.), cert.
denied, 398 U.S. 968, 90 S.Ct. 2183, 26 L.Ed.2d 554 (1970).
The Supreme Court reached a similar conclusion under a
pair of older postal burglary and theft statutes. See Mor-
gan v. Devine, 237 U.S. 632, 35 S.Ct. 712, 59 L.Ed. 1153
(1915) ; see also Prince v. United States, 352 U.S. 322, 328,
n.9, 77 S.Ct. 403, 1 L.Ed.2d 370 (1957). It was not error to
punish Smith for the separate violations.
X. PRIOR CRIME EVIDENCE
We assume without deciding that the court erred in allow-
ing Eggers to testify as to Smith’s prior burglaries with
Ed Witwick. See Fed. R. Evid. 404(b). We agree with the
government, however, that any error here was harmless
beyond a reasonable doubt. The evidence of Smith’s guilt
was overwhelming, and the reference to the previous
A-12
burglaries brief and general. The government did not refer
to this evidence in its closing argument.
XI. SANDSTROM VIOLATION
Finally, Smith asserts that the jury instruction on in-
ferring intent violates the Supreme Court’s decision in
Sandstrom v. Montana, 442 U.S. 510, 99 S.Ct. 2450, 61
L.Ed.2d 39 (1979). This court, however, has recently ap-
proved in a post-Sandstrom decision an instruction virtu-
ally identical to that challenged here. See United States
v. Ross, F.2d __, slip. op. p. 3807 (9th Cir., June 19, 1980).
The instruction did not amount to reversible error.
The judgment of the trial court and conviction of each of
the defendants is
AFFIRMED.
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.