Petition — Smith v. Ford Motor Co.

Supreme Court brief1981

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

| Supreme Court, U.S,

FILE D

80-973 ORC 15 1980

DAK, JR, CLERK |

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1980

JOHN H. SMITH,

Petitioner

V.

FORD MOTOR COMPANY.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE TENTH CIRCUIT

John R. Hursh

Central Wyoming Law Associates, P.C.

105-107 South 6th East

Riverton, Wyoming 82501

G. L. Spence

Spence, Moriarity & Schuster

Post Office Box 554

Jackson, Wyoming 83001

Counsel fox-Respoudents

December 1980

Custom Printing Service 856-9618 1900 E. Park — Riverton, Wy 82501

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Should this Court, exercising its power to regulate pre-

trial procedures in the district courts, determine a uni-

form pretrial procedure in order that trials will be uni-

formly expedited to the end that litigants, for insub-

stantial procedural requirements, not be deprived of their

cases by undue delay.

In a civil case should the Circuit be permitted to reverse

a case based on insubstantial procedural requirements

for the pretrial conference contrary to the rulings in

other circuits, and of the United States Supreme Court,

when to do so will cause petitioner to retry his case

nearly ten years after injury, the result of which would

be to deprive the petitioner of a speedy civil trial, as

guaranteed to him by the Wyoming State Constitution,

as well as to deprive him, because of such delay, of the

right to prove any case, now lost by such unconscionable

passage of time?

Should this Court, recognizing its clear duty to exercise

supervisory control over the circuit courts to insure

speedy justice recognizing further that specifically in

the Tenth Circuit the back-log of cases exceeds one

thousand, and leaves litigants waiting over two years

for some decisions, take “the bull by the horns” and lay

down rules, guidelines, work-load requirements and ex-

pectations for circuit judges and take such other steps

as in the wisdom of this Court might better insure parties

to speedy trials in civil as well as criminal cases.

(i)

ru

4

LIST OF PARTIES

The Petitioner is John H. Smith of Dubois, Wyoming.

The Respondent is Ford Motor Company of Dearborn, Michigan.

(ii)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW............. (i)

ee Ee eT Ck ick Rats WS OES eee kK RDO (ii)

Re NN 655.6 5 a OR ae Cage Ren bee hie (iii)

Py Ba gd. 2 ee ee’ Per eee rete (iv)

POCO ka wick yea tava c occ nene hens eae 2

Rs VS 0G aw h.ca 5 hte eka es Pu ys Pee eee 2

PE OPEN M WINS 5 6 ibe deer en ech ep eetnieestas 2

Sf igs 2 ge Be he \ Se Pera rie ieee 2

Background — Proceedings ...........++-eeeeeeee 2

REASONS FOR GRANTING WRIT............000056: 6

a; ONIN oo WPS deaco'p sia bea nic -wpete nie Wipe 8 del 6

11. Pretrial procedure should not be transformed into

a system of “mini trials” that directly contribute

to the delay and “‘log-jammed”’ dockets in Federal

IEE SANE bo sis bl ie ees Cee oe low ands wes 8

111. Federal District Courts should be encouraged in

their effort to adopt efficient pretrial procedures 11

NE Xs vee b> dea eae eden Rahn Ss AA's 00s 16

APPENDICES:

PUT HRS Re 4D hope Pen eh ae Faeroe ees la

PIE Gie.c 5.4 5055 NEO boob ah iiehe take 1b

PEG hc ai 20 eRe es dk tT ener ans Ic

(iii)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Agrashell, Inc. v. Hammonds Products Company

re ee ee GN; FU TSTs vod aes cacasbine

Berger v. Brannan

Se rc eee es Te nek os Keen cance

Case v. Abrams

Sos Oe Tae GE, POs a vc Sie sewed esi wes

Century Ref. Company v. Hall

i ae gh a a GA ere oe

Coffey v. U.S.

SIS FO Oe LUCy POOEI i eo oc i oc caw caess

Compagnie National Air France v.

Port of New York Authority

RAE Ec ee ee, TROD bs 5 0'n oo Cease cannes

Cruz v. U. S. Lines Company

306 F. 20 OGs Cane Cir. 1967)... ccc cite cees

Davis v. Duplantis

ce at of fo Oe Ay | Ree Pern ea

Delava Turbine, Inc. v. West India Industries

rt a ko a | ree rer

Edgar v. Slaughter

eg oe Ry Te | yy) Sr ec

Ely v. Reading Company

ee Ci Te I ls MIP IIIN 6.» ov a's 0's aie’ n eo bans

Fox v. Ford Motor Company

See Fe als UTE, «vn iecs'es vcd duane

Globe Cereal Mills v. Scrivener

240 F. 2d 330 (10th Sed s 6 eGo ko 08

Identiseal Corp. of Wisconsin y.

Positive Identification

Pe se ee CP SOE a ko Se kaha D aN ce dens

Cases continued Page

Jones v. Union Auto Indemnity Association

i £m Shi ot: me | Gee 10, 14

Kozar v. Chesapeake & Ohio Ry. Co.

320 F. Supp. 335, 374 (D.C. Mich. 1970) ......... 14

Link v. Wabash Railroad Company

a EURO 0%, 5-00.44 5 0409 4d meee omen 5,9, 11

Lynn v. Smith

it me bg Le Oe, rn errs 13

Marks & Company v. Diners Club, Inc.

400 F. Supe. $81 (D.C. NY 1975S)... 2. cence: 14

Monod v. Futura, Inc.

415 F. 2d 1170 (10th Cir. 1969)... 2... ee ee 10, 14

Moore v. Sylvania Electrical Products, Inc.

Car ee SU Ps WUMIL soa av cvs wales eQaue’ 13

Myers v. Penney Packwoods Home

Ownership Association

gg Gl pr ee 11

McCargo v. Hendrick

ee. Oe ON ol. PPPOE: win n dnc ms Wa dawe 5,9

National Farmers Organization Inc., v. Oliver

ee ee Pe ie FPR. x os « bain we oa edas 13

Osborne v. Boeing Airplane Company

ee a , A a Ce GAN. WUE 5 so sv cnccuncccnsaes 15

Padovani v. Bruchhausen

293 F. 2d 546, 548-49 (2nd Cir. 1961)............ 9,13

Pan-American Gas Co. v. Reed

ge BR a a.) are 14

Payne v. S. S. Nabob

og Beg ee te. ee 14

Peter Eckrich & Sons, Inc. v.

Selected Meat Company

Ee ae SE CTO GE. URED 5 whoa cw os tcwerces 14

(v)

?%

Cases continued Page

Reedy v. Travelers Insurance Company

500 F. 2d 1117 (Sth Cir. 1974).......... aeere ote 15

Rodriequez v. Ripley Industries, Inc.

DOT Fy ee Fe CUTTER oo hive ce cc cscpenews 15

Sedowski v. Bombadier Ltd.

SOG Ee PEE: BOTIEy cha b ac pewieoceeses 14

Silas v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., Inc.

Be ee ee CETTE + beh siviecs ode de eaus 9

Simonsen v. Parlo Plastics Company

UW, ee OOM BUTE Docs chs cscceccese ees 14

Spellacy v. Southern Pacific Company

ee a ane 13

Stewart v. Meyers

Re Pf a Se Sa 14

Stroud v. B-W Acceptance Corp.

eh ee 3 Fe Y | re 10, 14

Syracuse Broadcasting Corporation v. Newhouse

Be Oc Oe I Gale POTD cv vikiciccs cea sciceace 12, 13

U. S. v. Pirnie

Pe te TA I FOES ack dRo died caweasss 14

Washington Hosp. Center v. Cheeks

eg ee ea RL EIU. 6 6 ao obs 00 Oks eee ote 14

Washington State Bowling Proprietors

Association v. Pacific Line, Inc.

SOO Fe ee AEN, COIs Keen seewueeccbe's 12

Wright Root Beer Co. v. Dr. Pepper Co.

PST. MEE GUT. CIID. cdc ccencarerses 14

(vi)

Statutes

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure Rule 16.........

Wyoming Constitution, Article |, Section 8.........

ee eT ea ar rea da eeat

Miscellaneous

HANDBOOK FOR EFFECTIVE PRETRIAL

ae RS ee ee ee ee ee eee ae

3 J}. MOORE, FEDERAL PRACTICE

Eg Be ee | Re ere

JOURNAL OF SECTION OF LITIGATION, ABA

Val. 6, No. 3, 0. 34 Goring 1960)... cic ec ccc cees

4 JUSTICE SYSTEM JOURNAL

re eo oui dcs see ees ewe eAS

64 VA L REV 467-83 (Ap. 1978).............4-.

(vii)

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1980

No.

JOHN H. SMITH,

Petitioner

Vv.

FORD MOTOR COMPANY,

Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE TENTH CIRCUIT

John H. Smith hereby respectfully petitions for a writ of

certiorari to review the judgment of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Tenth Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The majority and dissenting opinions of the Court of Appeals

(App. A, infra) are reported ai 626 F. 2d 784.

A 1978 decision of the Court of Appeals in a related case

against Ford Motor Company is reported at 575 F. 2d 774.

After a ten day Jury Trial, a verdict of $800,000 was ren-

dered for the Petitioner. Judgment was entered and Notice of

Appeal filed by Ford Motor Company on July 18, 1978. After

consideration for two years, the Court of Appeals reversed and

remanded for new trial on July 17, 1980. A timely Petition for

Rehearing with a Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc was denied

by the Court of Appeals on September 16, 1980. (App, B,

infra).

JURISDICTION

The Judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered on

July 17, 1980. The Petition for Rehearing was denied on

September 16, 1980. Jurisdiction of this Court is premised on

28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATUTE INVOLVED

1. Rule 16, Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

2. Wyoming Constitution, Article |, Section 8.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Background — Proceedings

This Petition has resulted from the ruling by the Tenth

Circuit Court of Appeals remanding this case for retrial simply

because the Circuit Court, substituting its discretion for the

District Court, believed that the summary of a witness’ ex-

pected testimony in a pretrial memorandum was insufficient.

This decision was reached in spite of the fact that the presiding

trial judge, the Honorable Clarence A. Brimmer, in the exercise

of his discretion, found that the Defendant was not surprised

and that the pretrial procedures in the district for summarizing

testimony had been followed. Even though the Court of Ap-

peals did not find that Judge Brimmer had abused his dis-

cretion, they substituted their discretion fur his, reversed a

jury verdict of $800,000 and remanded it for a new trial, with

Judge Doyle dissenting.

The case was a products liability case for which both sides

were well prepared. Petitioner John Smith was a passenger in

the front seat of a 1970 Ford Thunderbird which was struck by

a pickup truck outside the town of Dubois, Wyoming on Jan-

uary 29, 1973. Although it was a relatively low-speed accident,

Mr. Smith received serious permanent injuries, and the passen-

gers in the back seat were killed. The injuries to the back seat

passengers and to Mr. Smith had two common aspects. First,

they were all severe. Second, the injuries were to the organs

that lay within the soft abdominal section of their bodies.

Upon investigation, it was learned that the injuries were caused

by the fact that the seat belts had been defectively installed

in the vehicle. Those defects greatly magnified the forces of

collision upon the passengers.

Mr. Smith’s lawsuit against Ford Motor Company was the

second of two trials against Ford. The first case was a wrongful

death action for the passengers in the back seat. It was tried

before a jury in same Federal District Court, and resulted in

a jury verdict against Ford due to the defective seat belt instal-

lation. The case was appealed by Ford to the Tenth Circuit

Court of Appeals, and verdict was sustained. Fox v. Ford Motor

Company, 575 F. 2d 772 (10th Cir. 1978).

Mr. Smith, a surviving husband, filed his lawsuit in the

United States District Court for the District of Wyoming on

July 30, 1976. The attorneys representing both parties were

the same attorneys who had represented the parties in the

companion case, and both cases alleged that the seat belts in

the Ford Thunderbird were defective. Likewise, as in the com-

panion case, the jury rendered its verdict against Ford, in this

case in the amount of $800,000. In total, the attorneys repre-

senting the parties in the two cases spent six years in discovery,

preparation, trials, and appeals. Liability against Ford was

=,

Ae,

established by two separate trial juries. At both trials, the ex-

pert witnesses were essentially the same: the medical expert

for Ford was the same; Plaintiff’s engineering expert was the

same; the seat belt assembly, in part, was asserted to be the

cause of the injuries in both cases.

At Mr. Smith’s trial, his treating physician — Dr. James

Freston — testified as to the treatment he afforded Mr. Smith as

well as to the prognosis that he foresaw for Mr. Smith. Dr.

Freston was a department head at the University of Utah

School of Medicine, and Mr. Smith’s doctor in Montana had re-

ferred him to Dr. Freston’s care. He was not a so-called “hired

expert” but was, instead, a specialist who had been sought out

by Mr. Smith’s own doctors. Dr. Freston first saw Mr. Smith in

January of 1978, and when Mr. Smith’s counsel first learned

of that referral they notified counsel for Ford. This notification

coincided with the scheduled pretrial conference in the case on

January 24, 1978 and Dr. Freston was listed by Plaintiff in that

memorandum as an expert witness to testify and his involve-

ment in the treatment of Mr. Smith was explained in some

detail on the record at the pretrial. Ford was advised that Dr.

Freston had just become the treating physician and that he had

scheduled surgery for the very week the pretrial was held. Even

in light of this advice Ford chose not to depose Dr. Freston,

even though they had two and one half months in which to do

so. The trial commenced March 29, 1978, and the verdict

against Ford was rendered April 11, 1978.

At the trial, Dr. Freston was called pursuant to his pretrial

designation. As part of his diagnosis he was asked if he had an

opinion as to what caused the injuries to Mr. Smith. He gave

his opinion that the injuries were caused by the accident. When

asked for more details, Ford objected, claiming surprise that the

treating physician in a products liability case concerning seat

belts might testify that the injuries were caused by the seat belt.

The trial court, in the sound exercise of its discretion, found no

factual basis for the claim of surprise, overruled the objection,

and allowed the testimony. Dr. Freston then testified that the

injuries to Mr. Smith were caused by the seat belt. He did not

testify as to whether the seat belts were defective! ; he merely

gave his medical opinion that the seat belts caused the abdom-

inal injuries.

The Court of Appeals, over a very strong dissent, ruled that

the opinion should not have been allowed. Mr. Smith requested

a rehearing with a suggestion for an en banc panel, pointing out

that the Court of Appeals had substituted its own discretion for

that of the trial court’s even though it had not found that the

trial court abused its discretion. The ruling by the Court of

Appeals which substituted its discretion for that of the trial

court’s on pretrial procedure is contrary to this Court’s holding

in Link v. Wabash Railroad Company, 370 U.S. 626 (1942) and

contrary to the decisions reached by other Circuit Courts.

McCargo v. Hendrick, 545 F. 2d 393 (4th Cir. 1976), and

Davis v. Duplantis, 448 F. 2d 918 (Sth Cir. 1971). The Court of

Appeals denied the petition for rehearing.

This accident occurred January 29, 1973. An earlier trial

on basically the same facts had already occurred. This case has

been pending in the District of Wyoming since July 30, 1976,

and it has been the subject of pretrial conferences, many

depositions, a ten-day jury trial, and an_appeal to the Tenth

Circuit that took over two years from trial to appeallate de-

cision. Now, because of a listing in a pretrial memorandum that

the Court of Appeals found to be insufficient (although the trial

court found to be in compliance with the pretrial procedure),

the case was scheduled to return to the docket of the District

Court for still another pretrial conference and yet another trial.

The new pretrial conference will not be a standard pretrial, but

will, instead, be ai elaborate, time-consuming “mini trial’. This

result, quite simply, is a manifest injustice to Mr. Smith, which

will further exacerbate the already mounting logjam of pending

cases.

1. It should be noted that the Court of Appeals in their opinion mis-

quoted Dr. Freston on having said the seat belts were defective and

emphasized said statement by underlining the word ‘defective’. This

testimony did not occur and is not in the Record.

REASON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

|. Justice Delayed:

In criminal cases this Court by decision and by rule has

always insisted on the right of a person to speedy trial. This

right comes from the Sixth Amendment of the United States

Constitution. The reasoning and rationale for speedy trials in

criminal cases is obvious, meritorious and need not be set forth

herein.

The reasoning and rationale for speedy trials, and the speedy

administration of justice, in civil cases is as obvious and meri-

torious. Civil cases, which are generally not timely investigated,

must be reconsiructed and the passage of time is generally the

worst enemy of injured plaintiffs even in the best of cases. The

difficulty in meeting the burden of proof imposed upon a

plaintiff in a civil case which occurred on January 29, 1973

and which is sent back for a new trial in September of 1980 is

quite apparent. The appeal in this case took over two years.

If the Tenth Circuit’s opinion is allowed to stand and the case

goes back for a new trial it is likely that it will be almost ten

years from injury to trial. This time span is clearly unconscion-

able, may cause plaintiff to lose his very case, and should not be

permitted.

Heretofore, to our knowledge, no citizen has raised the

question of a constitutional right to speedy trial in a civil case.

But the Constitution of the State of Wyoming in Article 1,

Section 8, states in part:

“All Courts shall be open and every person for an injury done

to person, reputation or property shall have justice adminis-

tered without sale, denial or delay”. (our emphasis!

Therefore, John Smith has such a constitutional right, and

the Federal Courts must give full faith and credit to this sub-

stantive right. The Federal Constitution has not preempted this

right, it is a right reserved for the people and for the states. The

State of Wyoming has chosen to give this right to Wyoming

people involved in civil disputes. Moreover, while all states may

not have guaranteed such a right to their citizens, it is a right

of such magnitude that this Court should declare the same for

all citizens of all states.

The Circuit Court violated the constitutional right of the

Petitioner, denied him equal protection and the delay will

result in a denial of due process. If a retrial is required, it will

be next to impossible for Petitioner to meet his burden of

proof. This is not because Petitioner’s case has no merit since

the facts of this case have resulted in two Plaintiffs’ verdicts.

This impossibility is due to the unnecessary and unjustified

delay of the Court System itself.

By granting the Petitioner’s Writ, this Court may be heard

throughout the judicial system on this important issue con-

cerning the speedy administration of justice in civil cases.

Drastic remedies for this illness have been suggested in congress.

Yet, this Court is in a unique position to remedy this serious

illness in its own domain. Congress may act and promulgate

procedures which are unworkable and which may well cripple

our system of justice. But this Court can, if it will, cure this

“cancer”. This case »rovides a look at the whole seriously ill

patient. We ask th. Court to take this patient, cure him, and

set forth guidelines that will tend to cure the illness of delayed

justice.

How do cure this illness? We are not presumptious enough

to say. We don’t know. The spokesmen of this Court, as well

as other scholars, have voiced remedies for the backlog, for the

congestion, for the inefficiency. This case provides a forum

from which these remedies can become realities. Guidelines

that will provide confidence and assurance in the District and

Appellate Courts can flow from a decision in this case. If the

Writ is granted: this Court can reassure the Trial Courts that

they have discretion in pretrial matters; set forth uniform

guidelines that will expedite the cases; set forth suggested time

tables that trial courts can utilize to stimulate counsel into ad-

vancing their cases expediently; set forth guidelines for Appel-

late Courts that not only stimulate counsel but stimulate the

hearing and decision making process and even expedite judicial

case loads. We ask the Court to write a prescription that will

cure this illness, that is not only result oriented but also that is

workable and reasonable. This case provides an opportunit;

for this Court to utilize its supervisory powers in a time of

need.

1. Pretrial procedure should not be transformed into a sys-

tem of “mini trials” that directly contribute to the delay

and “‘log-jammed” dockets in the Federal District Courts:

A significant amount of criticism has been directed at com-

plex pretrial procedures in Federal Courts. Central to this

criticism has been the delay created by the complex procedures.

The creation of “mini trials” under the guise of Rule 16 for

pretrial conferences has been a major manifestation of those

complex procedures. The criticism has emanated from the

judiciary as well as from the bar. See, for instance, Pretrial

Conference: A critical examination of local rules adopted by

federal district courts, 64 VA L REV 467-83 (Ap. 1978);

Pretrial Orders and McCargo v.. ilendrick: effective manage-

ment or unproductive formalism?, 4 JUSTICE SYSTEM JOUR-

NAL 245-59 (Winter 1978): Local Pretrial Rules in Federal

Courts, JOURNAL OF SECTION OF LITIGATION, ABA,

Vol. 6, No. 3, p. 34 (Spring 1980).

In the present case, the Court of Appeals eliminated the

pretrial procedure that had been established by the presiding

judge of the District Court. The procedure that had been

established by that Court was simple and concise under Rule

16, and the procedure contributed to the fact that this Federal

District has a docket that has traditionally been the most cur-

rent docket in the nation. Rather than encouraging this record,

the Court of Appeals has now mandated on its own a pretrial

procedure that is elaborate, detailed and complex. Designations

must now be so specific that a witness will not be permitted to

testify unless the actual facts and statements are explicitly

mentioned in the pretrial memorandum. This procedure greatly

expounds the length of the memoranda as well as the length

of the hearing, and it serves as a trap on appeal if a witness’

precise testimony has not been detailed in the pretrial memo-

randum.

The “mini trial” concept has been rejected by the Courts in

the Second, Fourth, Fifth, Seventh, and Eighth Circuits for the

reasons that ‘‘mini trials” are at odds with the concept of Rule

16 and at odds with the expeditious progress of cases within

the federal system. Padovani v. Bruchhausen, 293 F. 2d 546,

548-49 (2nd Cir. 1961); McCargo v. Hendrick, 545 F. 2d 393

(4th Cir. 1976); Silas v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., Inc. 586 F. 2d

382 (Sth Cir. 1978); Identiseal corp of Wisconsin v. Positive

Identification, 560 F. 2d 298 (7th Cir. 1977); Edgar v. Slaugh-

ter, 548 F. 2d 770 (8th Cir. 1977).

After this Court confirmed the discretion of the trial courts

in pretrial matters in Link v. Wabash Railroad Co., supra, some

districts began to create distinct and exceedingly complex

pretrial conference procedures. Thus, dual proceedings or

“mini trials’ began to evolve with severe sanctions for non-

compliance. In 1976 the Fourth Circuit in McCargo, supra,

struck down the “mini trial’? concept, thereby adding to the

precedent established by the Second Circuit in Padovani, supra.

The other circuits followed.

The Court in McCargo expressed the problems created by

“mini trials” very aptly:

“Good pretrial practice has also been described. It is always

simple. Professor Moore, for example, states that ‘ (t)he

chief purposes of the pretrial conference are. .. , to lessen

surprise at trial and the risk of prejudicial error, to conclude

stipulations on matters of evidence, and to promote settle-

ments. ’ 3 J. MOORE, FEDERAL PRACTICE §16.02, at

1106 (2d ed. 1974). The HANDBOOK FOR EFFECTIVE

PRETRIAL PROCEDURE, adopted by the Judicial Con-

ference of the United States in 1964, identifies the purpose

of pretrial procedure as being the ‘strip(ping of) each case to

its essential.’ The HANDBOOK states that this goal is a-

chieved by stipulating undisputed matters, specifying issues

with particularity, and formulating an efficient trial plan

so as to avoid technical objections and the introduction of

unnecessary evidence. 37 F.R.D. 255, 272 (1965). Local

Rule 2.08 is a distortion of such purposes. Simplicity has

been forgotten. The theory seems to be that if two pages are

good, four must be better, and ten or thirteen or twenty-one

may prevent a trial altogether, as happened here. . . .In fact,

it contemplates that the district judge himself will dictate

the pretrial order. Of course, the court may seek the aid of

counsel in preparing the order, .. .

Ours is an adversary system of justice. Local Rule 2.08

is inquisitorial in tone and purpose. In our system lawyers

worry about the whereabouts of witnesses. The court does

not. Lawyers worry about proof. The court does not — ex-

cept in the rare case of collusion. Lawyers get the case ready

for trial. The court does not. Local Rule 2.08 subordinates

the role of the lawyer to that of the administering magistrate,

reducing counsel to the role of clerical assistants who are to

anticipate imaginatively what other matters ought to be em-

braced within an endless pretrial order.”

Prior to the present case, the Tenth Circuit had decided a

number of cases that indicated a respect for the trial court’s

discretion in pretrial matters, as well as indicating a disdain for

complex and technical pretrial procedures. Berger v. Brannan,

197 F. 2d 241 (10th Cir. 1941); Jones v. Union Auto Indem-

nity Association, 287 F. 2d 27 (10th Cir. 1961); Monod »y.

Futura, Inc., 415 F. 2d 1170 (10th Cir. 1969); Case v. Abrams,

352 F. 2d 193 (10th Cir. 1965); Coffey v. U.S., 333 F. 2d 945

(10th Cir. 1964); Globe Cereal Miils v. Scrivener, 240 F. 2d 330

(10th Cir. 1956); Stroud v. B-W Acceptance Corp., 372 F. 2d

185 (10th Cir. 1967).

When presented with the instant case, however, the Tenth

Circuit overruled its earlier decisions concerning pretrial pro-

cedures and invokes the ‘‘mini trial’’ system as the rule of this

Circuit. In so doing, the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals has

broken sharply with the developing precedent in other Circuits

at a time when the judiciary and the bar alike are becoming

more sensitive to the need for more efficient procedures in

federal courts.

The need for this Court to exercise its supervisory powers to

define the parameters of Rule 16 procedures is manifest.

The elimination of “Circuit directed mini trials’’ will expedite

the movement of cases to trial. This petition provides an ap-

propriate and timely mechanism to achieve the needed redefi-

10

nition of these procedures to eliminate the conflict that pre-

sently exists in the circuit courts. Such a ruling would not only

provide justice for the petitioner in this case, but it would also

be a positive step in the direction of achieving a more e/ficient

system of justice that would be less prone to delay and un-

necessary “‘logjams’’. In short, a decision in this case could

serve to facilitate the easy and rapid flow of cases through

the federal courts.

l11. Federal District Courts should be encouraged in their

effort to adopt efficient pretrial procedures.

Since this Court’s decision in Link, supra, it has been the

policy within the federal system that district courts are to be

afforded wide discretion in enforcing their pretrial procedures.

When a district court has adopted a simple and workable pre-

trial procedure, that procedure should not be lightly supplanted

by the Court of Appeals. In the present case, Judge Brimmer

had established efficient procedures and these procedures were

significant in developing a docket that stands as the most

efficient and most up to date in the nation.

The interpretations of Rule 16 procedures have resulted in

various guidelines that control appellate review by the Circuit

Courts. These general guidelines can be summarized as follows:

1) The trial court has discretion to enforce and control the

enforcement of its pretrial orders. Link v. Wabash Rail-

road Co., supra.

2) The trial court ruling regarding whether the evidence

presented conforms with the pretrial order will not be

disturbed on appeal absent a clear abuse of discretion.

Myers v. Penney Packwoods Home Ownership Associ-

ation, 559 F. 2d 894 (3rd Cir. 1977).

3) Appellate Courts will not interfere with the rulings of

the district court absent a clear abuse of discretion. Ely

v. Reading Company, 424 F. 2d 758 (3rd Cir. 1970).

4) To make pretrial procedure effective appellate inter-

11

ference with the trial court’s discretion must be kept

to a minimum. Syracuse Broadcasting Corporation vy.

Newhouse, 295 F. 2d 269 (2nd Cir. 1961).

5) Pretrial statements should be interpreted liberally to

save the cause of action and to avoid the burden on the

dockets that is caused by a new trial. Washington State

Bowling Proprietors Association v. Pacific Line, Inc.,

356 F. 2d 371 (10th Cir. 1966).

It is submitted that the ruling by the Tenth Circuit in the

present case is at odds with every one of the above rules, and

the result has been to inflict a manifest injustice upon the

petitioner as well as the trial court. It is important to emphasize

that in overturning the verdict in this case, the Circuit Court not

only disregarded the specific findings of the trial court con-

cerning absence of surprise and compliance with the pretrial

procedure, but the Circuit Court made no attempt to make,

nor did it make, a finding that the District Court had abused

its discretion. Moreover, the background of this case, as earlier

discussed, substantiates Judge Brimmer’s finding of an absence

of surprise. After six years of involvement with this particular

accident, counsel for all parties have become very familiar with

the issues presented. Ford Motor Company was very well pre-

pared on the issue of causation, having listed and provided at

trial medical and engineering experts to testify concerning

causation. In this regard, Judge Brimmer’s finding that phy-

sicians have been permitted traditionally to testify whether a

particular injury was caused by a particular trauma is telling.

If this precedent-setting opinion is permitted to stand, it

will deprive the United States Supreme Court of its rule making

power in that it creates an intricate, unwielding maze out of

the efficient procedures established by this Court in Rule 16.

Further,the ruling by the Tenth Circuit removes the discretion

of the district courts to formulate and enforce single and

effective pretrial procedures. District courts will be straight-

jacketed by a complex pretrial procedure that was not intended

by Rule 16, and they will be precluded from removing that

jacket even if its own discretion indicates that full compliance

has been made with its pretrial procedures. This opinion will

12

have a chilling effect on district courts who will be reluctant

to exercise their discretion to prevent manifest injustice and to

supervise pretrial matters for fear of being second guessed by

the Circuit Courts. This opinion which is in conflict with the

other circuits deprives the district courts of any stable guide-

lines and clearly causes a manifest injustice to petitioner Smith.

The broad discretion afforded to triai courts in pretrial

matters has always been recognized, yet the ruling by the

Tenth Circuit seeks to preclude the exercise of that discretion.

Courts throughout the nation — including the Tenth Circuit

Court of Appeals prior to this case — have given repeated

recognition to this important principle:

1) The pretrial conference is not intended to serve as a

substitute for trial. Lynn v. Smith, 281 F. 2d 501 (3rd

Cir. 1960); Syracuse Broadcasting Corporation v. New-

house, 295 F. 2d 269 (2nd Cir. 1961); Berger v. Brannan,

supra, 172 F. 2d 241 (10th Cir. 1949), cert. den. 337

U.S. 941.

2) Efficient pretrial procedures can be maximized by

keeping appellate interference to a minimum. Spellacy

v. Southern Pacific Company, 428 F. 2d 619 (9th Cir.

1970); Ely v. Reading Co., 424 F. 2d 758 (3rd Cir.

1970); Cruz v. U.S. Lines Company, 386 F. 2d 803

(2d Cir. 1967); Syracuse Broadcasting Corporation vy.

Newhouse, supra, Padovani v. Bruchhausen, 293 F. 2d

546 (2nd Cir. 1961); National Farmers Organization

Inc.v. Oliver, 530 F. 2d 815 (8th Cir. 1976); Davis v.

Duplantis, 448 F. 2d 918 (Sth Cir. 1971); Moore v.

Sylvania Electrical Products, Inc. 454 F. 2d 81 (3rd

Cir. 1972).

3) Courts have permitted the introduction of evidence in

situations which do not compare with the present case,

such as where the evidence was not even disclosed during

pretrial. See, e.g., Moore v. Sylvania Electrical Products,

Inc., 454 F. 2d 81, 84 (3rd Cir. 1972).

4) Courts have even permitted witnesses to testify who

13

e%

5)

6)

were not listed in the pretrial memorandum. Payne ».

S. S. Nabob, 302 F. 2d 803 (3rd Cir. 1962); Kozar y.

Chesapeake & Ohio Ry. Co., 320 F. Supp. 335, 374

(D.C. Mich. 1970); U.S. v. Pirnie, 472 F. 2d 712 (8th Cir.

1973); Simonsen v. Parlo Plastics Company, 551 F. 2d

469 (1st Cir. 1977).

(See also the Tenth Circuit decision that permitted a

witness to testify who was not listed in the pretrial

memoranda, the Court basing its decision on the techni-

cality that an order from the pretrial conference had not

been filed. Jones v. Union Auto Indemnity Association,

287 F. 2d 27 (10th Cir. 1961). The previous approach

to pretrial matters by the Tenth Circuit was also reflected

in the case of Stroud v. B-W Acceptance Corporation,

372 F. 2d 185 (10th Cir. 1967) where the Court upheld

the Trial Court’s allowance of a witness to testify even

though the witness was endorsed.).

While pretrial orders have a binding effect, they are not

pointlessly adhered to at trial. The application of pre-

clusion is always viewed as a matter of judicial discretion.

Monod vy. Futura, Inc., supra; Case v. Abrams, supra;

Coffey v. U.S., supra; Globe Cereal Mills v. Scrivener,

supra.

In the absence of a finding of an abuse of judicial dis-

cretion, it is not error for a Court to permit the intro-

duction of evidence or to hear witnesses not listed in

accordance with the Court’s order. Wright Root Beer

Co. v. Dr. Pepper Co., 414 F. 2d 887 (Sth Cir. 1969);

Washington Hosp. Center v. Cheeks, 394 F. 2d 964

(C.A. 1968); Stewart v. Meyers, 353 F. 2d 691 (7th Cir.

1965); Coffey v. U.S., supra; Pan-American Gas. Co.

v. Reed, 240 F. 2d 336 (Sth Cir. 1957); Sedowski v.

Bombadier Ltd., supra; Peter Eckrich & Sons, Inc. v.

Selected Meat Company, 512 F. 2d 1158 (7th Cir. 1975);

Delava Turbine Inc. v. West India Industries, supra;

Agrashell Inc. v. Hammonds Products Company, 479 F.

2d 269 (8th Cir.1973); Marks & Company v. Diners

Club, Inc., 400 F. Supp 581 (D.C. NY 1975); and Davis

v. Duplantis, supra.

14

7) The pretrial order is to be liberally-construed so that

it covers any of the legal or factual theories that might

be embraced by its language. Century Ref. Company v.

Hall, 316 F. 2d 15 (10th Cir. 1963); Compagnie National

Air France v. Port of New York Authority, 427 F. 2d

951 (2nd Cir. 1970); Osborne v. Boeing Airplane Com-

pany, 309 F. 2d 99 (9th Cir. 1962); Rodriequez vy.

Ripley Industries, Inc., 507 F. 2d 782 (1st Cir.1974);

Reedy v. Travelers Insurance Company, 500 F. 2d 1117

(Sth Cir. 1974).

15

CONCLUSION

Should the Tenth Circuit be permitted, in the absence of a

finding of abuse, to substitute its discretion for that of the

trial court contrary to Link v. Wabash and in direct conflict

with the other circuits? Should the Tenth Circuit be permitted

to remand a products liability case, in which Petitioner was

injured in January of 1973 in which two juries have found a

defective product, and in which the Circuit Court had the

appeal for over two years, when the Petitioner has a State

constitutional right to the speedy administration of justice?

Is the Circuit’s mandated use of mini trials in the pretrial

procedures a violation of Rule 16? Should this Court grant this

Writ and by this case formulate supervisory guidelines for pre-

trial matters and the speedy administration of justice.

We respectfully submit that this Writ provides this Court with

the mechanism to remedy a critical problem in the Federal

System that mandates the uniformity that only this Court can

direct. Granting of this Writ will prevent a manifest injustice to

this Petitioner.

We respectfully request that this Writ be granted.

DATED this 12th day of December, 1980.

CAR lea 7

hn R. Hursh

Central Wyoming Law Associates, P.C.

195-107 Sout 6th East

G. L. Spence and

Edward P. Moriarit

Spence, Moriarity & Schuster

Post Office Box 554

Jackson, Wyoming 83001

Counsel for Petitioner

16

APPENDIX A

Opinion of Court of Appeals

PUBLISH

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

TENTH CIRCUIT

JOHN H. SMITH,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

v. No. 78-1636

FORD MOTOR COMPANY,

mr rr ee ee ee

Defendant-Appellant.

Appeal From the United States District Court

For the District of Wyoming |

(D.C. No. C76-137B)

Edward P. Moriarity of Spence, Moriarity & Schuster, Jackson,

Wyoming (G. L. Spence and Robert P. Schuster of Spence,

Moriarity & Schuster, and John R. Hursh, Central Wyoming

Law Associates, Riverton, Wyoming, with him on the brief),

for Plaintiff-Appellee.

Gordon G. Greiner of Holland & Hart, Denver, Colorado (G. G.

Greenlee of Murane & Bostwick, Casper, Wyoming, with him

on the brief), for Defendant-Appellant.

Before BARRETT, DOYLE and SEYMOUR, Circuit Judges.

BARRETT, Circuit Judge.

rt

7%

The basic controversy in this case has been previously before

this Court, and our opinion is reported in Fox v. Ford Motor

Company, 575 F. 2d 774 (10th Cir. 1978). Both the prior case

and the present one arose from an automobile collision which

occurred on January 29, 1973. The plaintiff, John H. Smith,

was riding as a front-seat passenger in a 1970 Ford, four-door

Thunderbird. Driving the car in which the plaintiff was riding

was Mr. Fox, who was a plaintiff in the prior case, and who ob-

tained a judgment for a loss as a result of the death of his wife.

Their wives were passengers in the back seat of this car and both

were killed.

John H. Smith, plaintiff herein, filed this action on July 30,

1976. He alleged that he suffered personal injuries as a result of

defective safety belts and seats; that the defective conditions

were the result of negligence in the design, installation, con-

struction, inspection and testing of the seat belts, the seat

tracks, dashboard and windshield. There were claims which

alleged strict liability and breach of warranty as well.

The January 29 headon collision resulted from a pickup

truck crossing the center line into the plaintiffs’ lane on the op-

posite side of the highway. The Smiths and the Foxes had been

driving in an opposite direction and so the almost headon im-

pact was a heavy one. Even though neither vehicle was moving

at high speeds, the vehicular damage and the personal injuries

were of great magnitude. The approximate speed of each vehi-

cle was 25 to 45 miles per hour just before the impact.

The main action against Ford is based upon the alleged neg-

ligent design of the seats and the seat belts, together with the

subsequent negligence in failing to correct some of these con-

ditions after having discovered the defects. All of the passengers

wore lap seat belts. The Messrs. Fox and Smith had shoulder

belts available, but they were not using them. Smith’s injuries

were more severe than those of Fox. There is, of course, no con-

tention that any defect in the vehicle itself caused the headon

collision. The contention is that the injuries of Smith were

greatly aggravated due to the defects in design of the lap belt

and the manner in which it was anchored so that it could not

protect passengers in a heavy impact.

2a

Plaintiff Smith, whose case is before us, incurred very serious

permanent internal injuries. Included were injuries to his spleen

and pancreas, as well as to his intestines and face. The spleen

had to be removed as a result of the injuries incurred, and sub-

sequently a pancreatic condition developed. Smith’s complaint

was that he had suffered a great amount of pain and would suf-

fer future consequences which allegedly included impairment of

his eating ability, diarrhea, possible diabetes and future surgery

from the pancreatitis. Also alleged was the risk of blindness,

stroke, cancer, heart disease, impotency and amputation. From

the removal of the spleen it was alleged that phlebitis, pneu-

monia, clotting, pulmonary infarctions and susceptibility to in-

fection had occurred.

The cause was tried to a jury, and following a 10-day trial, a

verdict in the amount of $800,000 was returned. Ford seeks

review and reversal of the judgment based upon this verdict.

Motions for judgment notwithstanding the verdict, for new

trial, and remittitur were filed and denied. Various issues are

raised on appeal. However, our determination that the District

Court erred in receiving the testimony of a crucial expert wit-

ness is despositive.

I.

Ford strenuosly asserts that the District Court abused its

discretion in allowing Dr. James W. Freston to testify, over ob-

jection, that Smith’s internal injuries were significantly en-

hanced as a proximate result of the usireasonably dangerous

passenger restraint system employed in the Fox vehicle. Ford

contends that Smith’s failure to disclose the substance of such

testimony (1) violated the Court’s pretrial order; (2) violated

Smith’s duty to provide supplemental responses to interrogator-

ies pursuant to Rule 26 (e), Fed. Rules Civ. Proc., 28 U.S.C.A.;

and, (3) prejudiced Ford’s ability to counter such evidence.

As noted earlier, Smith’s theory of liability was tied to Ford’s

alleged breach of its duty to “design and construct automobiles

in a reasonable and prudent manner so that failures of the parts

of the automobile will not cause [enhanced personal] injuries

to the occupants when a collision occurs.’’ Chrysler Corp. v.

Todorovich, 580 P. 2d 1123, 1129-1130 (Wyo. 1978). Proof of

3a

liability under such a theory requires the plaintiff to establish

that the defective nature of the passenger restraint system

proximately caused “damage or injury...over. and above the

damage or injury that probably would have occurred as a result

of the impact or collision absent the defective design.”’ Larsen v.

General Motors Corp., 391 F. 2d 495, 503 (8th Cir. 1968); Fox

vy. Ford Motor Co., supra. Almost invariably, such proof entails

the presentation of expert testimony. See Randolph V. Col--

lectramatic, Inc., 590 F. 2d 844 (10th Cir. 1979).

Pretrial Background

During the discovery phase of the case, Ford propounded a

series of interrogatories requesting, among other things, the

following information:

23. For each expert witness, including physicians, which

you may call at the trial of this matter, state:

(a) His name and address;

(b) A brief description of his testimony;

(c) Any opinions which he may be called upon to give;

(d) The facts upon which he will base such opinions.

[R., Vol. I, p. 13].

In response, plaintiff identified Dr. Brohm, Dr. Ferris, Dr.

Gullickson, Dr. Axthelm and Professor Crawford as expert

witnesses, described the opinions of each and set forth the basis

for those opinions. In addition, Smith responded:

As the case develops, and detailed examination continues,

further testimony may be required and the essence of same

will be provided as required by the Rules of Civil Pro-

cedure.

[R., Vol. I, p. 19].

Plaintiff did indeed supplement this interrogatory with ad-

ditional information about Professor Crawford, but failed at

any time to mention Dr. Freston.

The first notice of plaintiff’s intention to call Dr. Freston as

an expert witness at trial occurred on January 24, 1978--less

than two and one-half months before trial. Plaintiff’s supple-

mental pretrial submission, filed that date, contained the fol-

lowing:

4a

The Plaintiff, as of the date of the Supplemental Pretrial Sub-

mission, intends to cail the following witnesses:

*

8. Dr. Freston, University Hospital, Salt Lake City, Utah,

will testify as to his medical treatment of the Plaintiff, as well

as to his prognosis.

[App., Vol. |, pp. 71-72].

This identification was in response to an earlier court order

that “‘the parties may call additional witnesses...on the con-

dition that at least five (5) days prior to the supplemental pre-

trial conference they furnish opposing counsel with the names

and addresses of the additional witnesses, together with a brief

summary of the testimony they are expected to give.’ [App.,

Vol. |, p. 61].

At the supplemental pretrial conference, held January 27,

1978, the parties were given until March 6, 1978, to designate

additional witnesses expected to be called at trial. Although

plaintiff earlier anticipated no need to call additional wit-

nesses[App., Vol. |, p. 72], he subsequently designated four-

teen other witnesses for use at trial. | App., Vol |, pp. 114-

116]. Among these witnesses were Drs. Volk and Gainsford of

Salt Lake City, Utah, ‘‘listed in the medical records of the plain-

tiff.”” [App., Vol. |, p. 114]. Ford also designated three addi-

tional witnesses. Both parties’ motions to strike the testimony

of certain of the recently named individuals on the grounds of

inadequate time to conduct discovery prior to trial were denied

by the Court on March 15, 1978. [App., Vol. 1, p. 136]. Ford

did not move to strike the testimony of Drs. Volk and Gains-

ford.

Ford earlier deposed several other doctors designated by

Smith as experts likely to be called at trial--including Drs.

Brohm and Gullickson. Both of these physicians were desig-

nated in plaintiff’s supplemental pretrial submission as experts

who would testify about medical care given to the plaintiff,

as well as his prognosis. Each of these witnesses was specif-

ically asked in deposition whether he had any opinion regarding

Sa

the relationship of plaintiff’s injuries and the alleged defic-

ient design or manufacture of the aucomobile. Each was also

asked whether he had made a study of the seat belt syndrome

or read any literature in the area. Each replied in the negative

to these questions. [Gullickson dep., R., Vol. XVIII, pp. 21-22;

Brohm dep., R., Vol. XXI, pp. 12-15]. Dr.Freston was not de-

posed.

Trial Background

On March 29, 1978, plaintiff called his first witness, Dr.

James W. Freston. Freston testified that he was currently

employed as a Professor of Medicine and Clinical Pharma-

cology, and as Chairman of the Department of Gastroenter-

ology at the University of Utah. Dr. Freston holds both an M.D.

and Ph. D. in medicine, and has compiled a list of impressive

credentials, including the authorship of some sixty-two articles

in his field. At one point in his testimony, he described himself

as a ‘“‘specialist’s specialist” in the area of gastroenterology.

Early in his testimony, Dr. Freston reviewed, in detail, the

history of plaintiff’s injuries and subsequent medical treatment

using various visual aids. From this, the doctor moved to spe-

cifically deal with the injuries to Smith’s pancreas, which he.

identified as resulting from the automobile accident, [App.,

Vol. |, pp. 245, 260-261] as well as his prognosis. No defense

objection was interposed as to Dr. Freston’s opinion that the

injuries complained of arose out of the collision between the

two vehicles. Objections were interposed, however, when

plaintiff’s counsel attempted to elicit testimony establishing

the existence of conditions consistent with seat belt injuries.

A hearing on the objections was held in chambers. Counsel

for Ford claimed prejudicial suprise at Smith’s attempt to e-

licit testimony establishing proximate causation between the

lap belts employed and nature of the injuries—an area Ford

claimed was clearly outside the scope of plaintiff's descrip-

tion of Dr. Freston’s proposed testimony.! The Court ruled

1. The colloquy itself is enlightening and we feel sharpens the issues in-

volved. Its length, however, requires that we frame it in the form of

an appendix to this opinion.

6a

that the testimony sought was proper on three grounds: (1)

that the custom of Wyoming practice has been to describe in

extremely narrow terms the substance of proposed witnesses’

testimony proir to trial; (2) that the claim of surprise was un-

justified because ‘‘we have gone into this question as to the

causal condition with doctors always.” [App., Vol. Il, p. 267] ;

and, (3) that Ford’s failure to object to Dr. Freston’s testimony

that the injury resulted from the accident waived its right to

object as to relationship between those injuries and the lap belts

employed.

The continuation of plaintiff's direct examination of Dr.

Freston crystalized the connection between Smith’s intra-

abdominal injuries and the passenger restraint system. Dr.

Freston stated that his examination of over one hundred intra-

abdominal injuries which occurred during traffic accidents,

some showing physical evidence of seat-belt injury, formed the

basis for his opinion that bruises or injury high in the abdomen,

such as to the pancreas, result from seat belts which fail to pro-

perly function. Where bruises are localized in the hip area, this

evidences seat belts which are non-defective. With specific refer-

ence to Smith’s injuries, Dr. Freston testified:

Q [Mr. Spence] All right. Now, when you find an injury as

high as the pancreas, what does that mean to you?

A [Dr. Freston] Well, something unusual has happened;

something out of the ordinary.

Q With respect to the functioning of the seat belt?

A Yes.

*

Q What do you find in that regard?

Al find that if the seat belt isn’t functioning properly

and is over the abdomen rather than over the hips, the

injuries tend to occur higher. And we start to see rupture

of the spleen and we start to see injuries to the pancreas.

7a

_

Q Do you have ari opinion based upon reasonable medical

probability as to the causal — as to what caused the

injuries [to the] spleen and to the pancreas in the case at

hand?

MR. GREENLEE: [objection]

THE COURT: [overruled]

A Yes, | have an opinion.

Q (By Mr. Spence) Would you state to the jury what your

opinion is?

A Yes. My opinion is that the probability is overwhelming

that the injury to the pancreas resulted from the auto-

mobile accident.

And specifically, the evidence is good that the seat belt

was involved in that injury.

And if | may —I’m sensitive to Mr. Greenlee’s objection —

we are quite capable of diagnosing events today that start-

' ed five years ago. That’s a matter of routine in medicine.

Q Thank you very much. Now, | want to ask you another

question. There has been a contention made in this case

that the injuries in this case were a result of upward

pressure on [t]he organs in the accident, which upward

pressure of the organs internally for those organs on other

organs and caused the injury to the spleen and to the

pancreas.

Do you have an opinion based upon reasonable medical

certainty as to that contention?

A Yes.

Q Would you tell the jury what it is and the basis for your

opinion?

8a

opinion or conclusion must permit reasonably accurate con-

clusions as distinquished from mere guess or conjecture. 20

Am.jur., Evidence, §§ 788, et seq.

The inherent problems in forcing the propounding party to

supply such “material” facts often led to awkward results. For

example, in United States v. Sessin, supra, at p. 669 the follow-

ing issue arose:

A hypothetical question was propounded to a physician,

upon the basis of which the witness was asked for his opinion

as to the bodily ailments which afflicted plaintiff on January

1, 1919, as to the prognosis thereof, and as to whether one so

afflicted was physically incapacitated to work. The question

took half an hour to propound; it was necessarily long be-

cause plaintiff's medical history was long. It was objected

that a few of the multitudinous statements of the hypothesis

lacked meticulous accuracy. Two supposedly defective state-

ments are pressed as grounds for reversal. One is that the

question assumed that the wound had been cleaned out once

a year. The proof was that there were twenty-three such oper-

ations over a period of seventeen years, and that plaintiff did

not remember the date of the last operation although it was a

good many years after he left the hospital. The other defect

is that the hypothesis referred to an abscess in the abdomen

as tubercular. That there was an abdominal abscess is not dis-

puted; the proof showed a tuberculosis of the lung and leg

bone at the time. No other cause for the abdominal abscess

being shown, it is not an unfair inference that it was tubercu-

lar, occurring as it did between two foci of tubercular infec-

tion. [Emphasis supplied].

Although we there affirmed the trial court’s decision admitting

the opinion evidence, the practical difficulties are illustrated.

At the same time, the heavy burden placed on the examiner

to articulate foundational facts under the hypothetical question

rule, often resulted in a denial of pretrial discovery to the cross-

examiner concerning the expert and his proposed testimony.

Prior to the enactment of the 1970 amendments to the Federal

Rules of Civil Procedure, 28 U.S.C.A., no provision was made in

9a

rs

*

testimony, however, dealt exclusively with the engineering and

physics aspects of the collision forces. It did not relate those

movements to medical injury.5

Ford’s expert witness, Donald F. Hueke—a professor at the

University of Michigan Medical School, and a recognized au-

thority in the field of automotive injury—refuted in large part

Dr. Freston’s causation testimony, specifically addressing Dr.

Freston’s interpretation of the Garrett and Braunstein study.

A.

The Interface Between Pretrial Discovery

And the Presentation of Expert Testimony

Traditionally, the presentation of expert testimony involv-

ing opinion evidence required the establishment of certain foun-

dational facts prior to the expression of the opinion. See,

J. Wigmore, Evidence § 672, at pp. 792—793 (3rd Ed. 1940).

The use of hypothetical questions provided the normal vehicle

for the elicitation of such evidence. Although this Court treated

the foundational requirements for opinion evidence liberally,

United States v. Sessin, 84 F.2d 667 (10th Cir. 1936), New

York Live Ins. Co. v. Doerksen, 75 F.2d 96 (10th Cir. 1935),

other courts strictly enforced the requirements. Harris v. Smith,

372 F.2d 806 (8th Cir. 1967); Kale v. Douthitt, 274 F.2d 476

(4th Cir. 1960). In Kale v. Douthitt, supra, at p. 482, the Court

Stated:

Generally, a hypothetical question must assume all facts

disclosed by the evidence material to the theory of the case

as viewed from the side propounding the question. A ques-

tion which assumes any material fact not supported by the

evidence is inadmissible. A question which omits any material

fact essential to the formation of a rational opinion is like-

wise incompetent. The facts upon which the expert bases his

5. This testimony was presented primarily through Professor Richard H.

Crawford, who specifically acknowledged that he was not qualified to

discuss the relationship between the load forces and the injury from a

medical standpoint.

10a

MR. GREENLEE: [objection]

THE COURT: [overruled ]

A Well, my opinion is that it’s highly improbable.

[App., Vol. Il, pp. 272-276]. [Emphasis supplied] .

This testimony was presented in a graphic, persuasive man-

ner. Following the statement of his opinion, Dr. Freston punc-

tuated his point with empirical studies2 and the use of a man-

nequin showing the various intra-abdominal organs.

At the completion of Dr. Freston’s direct examination,

counsel for Ford was granted a ten minute recess to prepare for

his cross-examination of the witness.3 Ford did briefly cross-

examine Dr. Freston concerning the seat belt syndrome.

After Dr. Freston was excused as a witness, Ford requested

plaintiff’s counsel to provide him with a copy of Garrett and

Braunstein. Following plaintiff’s refusal, the District Court

ordered production. [App., Vol. Il, pp. 316-321] .4

Smith also produced evidence showing the motion and stress

areas of the human body in relation to passenger restraint sys-

tems such as that employed here at the time of collision. Such

2. Garrett and Braunstein, The Seat Belt Syndrome, delivered before the

Twenty-First Annual Session of the American Association for the Sur-

gery of Trauma, Chicago, Illinois, September 28—30, 1961. [Herein-

after cited as Garrett and Braunstein]. A reprint of the study is avail-

able through the Highway Safety Research Institute at the University

of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan.

3. The recess was granted at 4:43 p.m. and trial resumed at 4:54 p.m.

Dr. Freston was scheduled to leave Casper, Wyoming, at 9:15 a.m. the

next morning.

4 Ford asserts that ‘“‘[d]espite the Court order, plaintiff's counsel never

produced the article.”’ [Brief of Appellant at p. 35, n. 2]. Inasmuch as

Smith has not expressly conceded this statement, we cannot consider

it in deciding whether prejudicial error occurred. See Braden v. Univer-

sity of Pittsburg, 477 F.2d 1, 6 (3d Cir. 1973).

lla

the Federal Rules with respect to the discovery of experts or

the nature of their information. Judicial treatment of the issues

surrounding the discovery of such information varied, with the

result that most pre-1970 decisions denied discovery in its en-

tirety or limited it to extremely narrow areas. See, Long, Dis-

covery and Experts Under the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure,

38 F.R.D. 111, at p. 112 (1965); Winner, Procedural Methods

to Attain Discovery, 28 F.R.D. 97 (1960). Some of the earlier

cases treated experts as agents of the attorney under the attor-

ney-client privilege and denied discovery on that basis. See, e.g.,

Schuyler v. United Airlines, Inc., 10 F.R.D. 111 (M.D. Pa. 1950);

Cold Metal Process Co. v. Aluminum Co., 7 F.R.D. 684 (D. Mass.

1947). A second approach, patterned after the qualified work

product privilege developed in Hickman v. Taylor, 329 U.S.

495 (1947), immunized discovery unless the opponent could

show a substantial, particuierized need for the information. See,

Carpenter—Trant Drilling Co. v. Magnolia Petroleum Corp.,

23 F.R.D. 257 (D. Neb 1959). Other courts refused discovery

simply on the basis of the expert’s status. See, e.g., American

Oil Co. v. Pennsylvania Petroleum Products Co., 23 F.R.D. 680

(D.R.1. 1959). Still other opinions developed a doctrine of “un-

fairness” holding discovery unavailable if the result was that one

party would be taking unreasonable advantage of an opponent’s

diligence or financial resources in obtaining expert testimony.

See, e.g., United States v. 23.76 Acres of Land, 32 F.R.D. 593

(D. Md. 1963).

The drafters of the 1970 amendments to the Federal Rules

of Civil procedure sought to resolve this inharmonious state of

affairs by providing a uniform, orderly scheme of discovery.

That scheme of discovery is now embodied in Fed. Rules Civ.

Proc., rule 26, 28 U.S.C.A. [hereinafter cited as rule 26]. Rule

26 liberalized discovery, adopting the doctrine of “unfairness”’

as its guide. Under rule 26(4 (A) (i),

(A) (i) A party may through interrogatories require any

other party to identify each person whom the other party

expects to call as an expert witness at trial, to state the sub-

ject matter on which the expert is expected to testify, and

to state the substance of the facts and opinions to which the

expert is expected to testify and a summary of the grounds

12a

for each opinion. (ii) Upon motion, the court may order

further discovery by other means, subject to such restric-

tions as to scope and such provisions, pursuant to subdivision

(b) (4) (C) of this rule, concerning fees and expenses as the

court may deem appropriate.

[Emphasis supplied] .

The Advisory Committee on Civil Rules, which promulgated

the original draft, published an accompanying text explaining

the intent of the drafters and the basis for the new provisions:

In cases of this character [involving expert testimony], a

prohibition against discovery of information held by expert

witnesses produces in acute form the very evils that discovery

has been created to prevent. Effective cross-examination of

and expert witness requires advance preparation. The lawyer

even with the help of his own experts frequently cannot an-

ticipate the particular approach his adversary’s expert will

take or the data on which he will base his judgment on the

stand. McGlothlin, Some Practical Problems in Proof of

Economic, Scientific, and Technical Facts, 23 F.R.D. 467,

478 (1958). A California study of discovery and pretrial in

condemnation cases notes that the only substitute for dis-

covery of experts’ valuation materials is “lengthy — and often

fruitless — cross-examination during trial,’’ and recommends

pretrial exchange of such material. Calif. Law Rev. Comm'n,

Discovery in Eminent Domain Proceedings 707—710 (Jan.

1963). Similarly, effective rebuttal requires advance know-

ledge of the line of testimony of the other side. If the latter

is foreclosed by a rule against discovery, then the narrowing

of issues and elimination of surprise which discovery normal-

ly produces are frustrated.

Advisory Committee Notes, rule 26, Fed. Rules Civ. Proc.,

28 U.S.C.A. [Emphasis supplied] .

This liberalization in the discovery area also resulted in liber-

alization in other areas. The increased availability of discovery

concerning expert witnesses and the facts upon which they

based their opinions, prompted reexamination of the hypo-

13a

mr

>

thetical question requirement and other traditional founda-

tional basis that were necessary prior to the introduction of o-

pinion evidence. Criticism surrounding these areas mounted:

The hypothetical question has been the target of a great deal

of criticism as encouraging partisan bias, affording an oppor-

tunity for summing up in the middle of the case, and as com-

plex and time consuming. Ladd, Expert Testimony, 5 Vand.

L. Rev. 414, 426-427 (1952).

Advisory Committee Notes, rule 705, Fed. Rules Evid., 28

U.S.C.A.

* * *

[1] t is a failure in practice and an obstruction to the adminis-

tration of justice. If we require that it recite all the relevant

facts, it becomes intolerably wordy. If we allow, as most

courts do, the interrogating counsel to select such of the ma-

terial facts as he sees fit, we tempt him to shape a one-sided

hypothesis. [Footnotes omitted]. C. McCormick, Evidence

§ 16 at p. 36 (2d ed. E. Cleary 1972).

It was in response to this criticism that Federal Rules of Evi-

dence 703 and 705, 28 U.S.C.A. were enacted. Rule 705, elim-

inating the need for hypothetical questions, allows an expert

witness to “testify in terms of opinion or inference and give his

reasons therefore without prior disclosure of the underlying facts

or data, unless the court requires otherwise.’ Cross-examination

may, however, be used to ferret out such underlying facts. Rule

703 specifies that the underlying facts or data need not be ad-

missible in evidence if “of a type reasonably relied upon by ex-

perts in the particular field in forming opinions or inferences

upon the subject.” See also: Bryan v. John Bean Division of

FMC Corp., 566 F. 2d 541 (Sth Cir. 1978). The combined ef-

fect of these new rules is to ‘place the full burden of explo-

ration of the facts and assumptions underlying the testimony of

an expert witness squarely on the shoulders of opposing coun-

sel’s cross-examination. As stated in the Advisory Committee

Note to Rule 705, and highlighted by the elimination of the

foundation often provided by the hypothetical question, “‘ad-

vance knowledge through pretrial discovery of an expert wit-

14a

ness's basis for his opinion is essential for effective cross-exam-

ination.” Graham Discovery of Experts Under Rule 26 (b) (4)

of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure: Part One, An Analyti-

cal Study, 1976 U. 111.L.F. 895, 897 [hereinafter cited as Gra-

ham, Part One].

The Advisory Committee on the proposed Federal Rules of

Evidence, recognizing the need for such pretrial disclosure, con-

sidered the provisions of rule 26, Fed. Rules Civ. Proc., 28 U.S.

C.A. sufficient:

If the objection is made that leaving it to the cross-examiner

to bring out the supporting data is essentially unfair, the an-

swer is that he is under no compulsion to bring out any facts

or data except those unfavorable to the opinion. The answer

assumes that the cross-examiner has the advance knowledge

which is essential for effective cross-examination. This ad-

vance knowledge has been afforded, though imperfectly, by

the traditional foundation requirement. Rule 26(b) (4) of the

Rules of Civil Procedure, as revised, provides for substantial

discovery in this area, obviating in large measure the obstacles

which have been raised in some instances to discovery of

findings, underlying data, and even the identity of the ex-

perts. Friedenthal, Discovery and Use of an Adverse Party’s

Expert Information, 14 Stan. L. Rev. 455 (1962).

Advisory Committee Notes, rule 705, Fed. Rules Evid., 28

U.S.C.A. [Emphasis supplied].

Professor Friedenthal has also recognized the critical nature

of such pretrial discovery:

It is fundamental that opportunity be had for full cross-ex-

amination, and this cannot be done properly in many cases

without resort to pretiral discovery, particularly when expert

witnesses are involved. Unlike two eye-witnesses who dis-

agree, two experts who disagree are not necessarily basing

their testimony on their views of the same objective features.

Instead they may rely on entirely separate data, since the

theoretical bases underlying their respective approaches may

differ radically. Before an attorney can even hope to deal on

cross-examination with an unfavorable expert opinion he

must have some idea of the bases of that opinion and the

15a

|

data relied upon. If the attorney is required to await exami-

nation at trial to get this information, he often will have too

little time to recognize and expose vulnerable spots in the

testimony. He may need advice of his own experts to do so

and indeed, in certain cases, his experts might require time to

make further inspections and analyses of their own.

The need for pretrial discovery regarding expert witnesses

is further evidenced by the ever-increasing dissatisfaction

with the honesty and reliability of expert testimony... .

Friedenthal, Discovery and Use of an Adverse Party's Expert

Information, 14 Stan. L. Rev. 455, 485 (1962) | Footnote o-

mitted]. [Emphasis supplied] .

This liberalization is further illustrated by the provisions of

rule 26(e), Fed. Rules Civ. Proc., 28 U.S.C.A. Under rule 26(e)

a party is under a duty to seasonably supplement his response

only in three situations, one of which includes information con-

cerning ‘the identity of each person expected to be called as

an expert witness at trial, the subject matter on which he is ex-

pected to testify, and the substance of his testimony.”

The failure of a party to comply with discovery requests

under rule 26 has led to findings of prejudice resulting in the ex-

clusion of the proffered evidence. Coleco Industries, Inc. vy.

Berman, 567 F. 2d 569 (3d Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 439 U.S.

830 (1978); Tabatchnick v. G. D. Searle & Co., 67 F.R.D. 49

(D.N.}. 1975). Similiarly, although district courts enjoy wide

discretion in handling discovery and pretrial matters, Phil

Crowley Steel Corp. v. Macomber, Inc., 601 F. 2d 342 (8th Cir.

1979), reversible error has been found in allowing testimony

without such discovery where there has been a ‘gross abuse of

discretion resulting in fundamental unfairness in the trial of the

case.”” Voegeli v. Lewis, 568 F. 2d 89, 96 (8th Cir. 1977); She-

lak v. White Motor Co., 581 F. 2d 1155 (Sth Cir. 1978); Weiss

v. Chrysler Motors Corp., 515 F. 2d 449 (2d Cir. 1975).

The Pretrial Order

We have previously observed that Smith failed to provide any

16a

information, in the form of interrogaroty responses, about Dr.

Freston or his proposed testimony as required by rule 26(e),

Fed. Rules Civ. Proc., 28 U.S.C.A. This duty to provide re-

sponses concerning expert witnesses continues through trial.

Weiss v. Chrysler Motors Corporation, supra. \f we were faced

solely with the plaintiff’s failure to provide such information,

we would be compelled to reverse the District Court’s admission

of such evidence. Weiss v. Chrysler Motors Corporation, supra.

Smith contends, however, that his duty to supplement was

fulfilled by the description of Dr. Freston’s proposed testimony

provided in his supplemental pretrial submission. Smith asserts

that this, combined with the alleged Wyoming custom and prac-

tice of allowing treating physicians to testify concerning cau-

sation of injuries militates against any finding of prejudice to

Ford. Any surprise which may have occurred, argues Smith, was

avoidable, had Ford simply taken the deposition of Dr. Freston.

Rule 16, Fed. Rules Civ. Proc., 28 U.S.C.A., authorizes the

district courts to hold pretrial conferences designed to aid in

the disposition of cases, and enter orders subsequent thereto

which “control . . . the subsequent course of the action, unless

modified at trial to prevent manifest injustice.” The office [of

the pretrial order] as a procedural tool [is] to insure the eco-

nomical and efficient trial of every case on its merits without

chance or surprise.”” [Emphasis supplied]. Case v. Abrams, 352

F.2d 193, 195 (10th Cir. 1965). It ‘measures the dimensions

of the lawsuit, both in the trial court and on appeal.” American

Home Assur. Co. v. Cessna Aircraft Co., 551 F.2d 804, 806

(10th Cir. 1977), quoting, Hodgson v. Humphries, 454 F.2d

1279, 1281 (10th Cir. 1972). The “amendment of a pretrial

order formulating issues [or designating witnesses and their

proposed testimony] will be permitted during trial only if nec-

essary to prevent manifest injustice.” [Emphasis supplied].

Keen v. Detroit Diesel Allison, 569 F.2d 547, 554 (10th Cir.

1978). The burden of establishing such manifest injustice falls

squarely on the moving party. Seneca Nursing Home v. Secre-

tary, 604 F.2d 1309 (10th Cir. 1979). When there exists a

properly drawn, detailed pretrial order, a trial court’s determi-

nation that certain facts or issues must [or should not] be

17a

excluded from trial on the basis of a pretrial order may be

reversed only if there is an abuse of discretion. See James vy.

Newspaper Agency Corp., 591 F2d 579, 583 (10th Cir. 1979)

(pretrial order specifying the witnesses to be called may be used

to bar the calling of unlisted witnesses).” Trujillo v. Uniroyal

Corp., 608 F.2d 815, 817-818 (10th Cir. 1979).

Pursuant to rule 83, Fed. Rules Civ. Proc., 28 U.S.C.A., the

District Court of Wyoming, as well as many other district

courts, has adopted rules implementing the pretrial conference

procedure broadly covered by rule 16, Fed. Rules Civ. Proc., 28

U.S.C.A. Rule 8, Rules of the United States District Court for

the District of Wyoming [hereinafter cited as local rules] , deals

exclusively with pretrial procedure. Rule 8(a) of the local rules

deals with “pre-trial scheduling conferences” and provides that

the parties shall:

(2) Exchange a list of all witnesses to be called at the trial,

together with a brief summary of their proposed testimony.

No testimony shall be received at the trial unless it be conso-

nant with such summary and from a witness so designated,

except for purposes of rebuttal or by order of the court upon

the showing of good cause why the name of the witness and

the summary of his testimony was not disclosed at said pre-

trial conference. Generalized summaries are not acceptable.

Additional witnesses and summaries of testimony shall be

submitted by each party to the opposing party as their names

and addresses are ascertained, and at the final pre-trial con-

ference. [Emphasis supplied] .

Rule 8(e) (1) also requires the parties, in connection with the

final pretrial conference, to submit 4 memorandum with a “‘list

of the names and addresses of the witnesses whom the parties

intend to call to testify at the trial, together with a brief sum-

mary of the testimony intended to be elicited from each witness

in the trial . . .”” The language of Rule 8(e) (3) spells out the

sanctions for counsel’s failure to comply with the rule: “Except

for impeachment or rebuttal purposes and absent good cause

shown, no. . . witness [shall] be permitted to testify unless his

name and address appear on the witness list, together with a

summary of his testimony as required by this order.”

18a

Rule 8 also advises counsel who draft pretrial orders to

follow Appendix D to the Rules. Appendix D is a form of pre-

trial order which includes the following pertinent language:

This pre-trial order has been formulated after conference

at which counsel for the respective parties have appeared.

Reasonable opportunity has been afforded counsel for cor-

rections or additions prior to signing by the Court. Hereafter,

this order will control the course of the trial and may not be

amended except by consent of the parties and the Court,

or by order of the Court to prevent manifest injustice. .. .6

Such local rules of practice, as adopted by the district court,

“have the force and effect of law, and are binding upon the

parties and the court which promulgated them until they are

changed in appropriate manner.’’ Woods Construction Co. v.

Atlas Chemical Industries, Inc., 337 F.2d 888, 890 (10th Cir.

1964). Considerable deference is accorded to the district

courts’ interpretation and application of their own rules of prac-

tice and procedure. Martinez v. Thrifty Drug and Discount Co.,

593 F.2d 992 (10th Cir. 1978); Lance, Inc. v. Dewco Services,

Inc., 422 F.2d 778 (9th Cir. 1970). Where, however, we are

“convinced that the district court has misconstrued its own

rules”, reversal may be warranted. Wright and Miller, Federal

Practice and Procedure, Civil § 3153. See also, Golgrove v.

Battin, 413 U.S. 149, 161 n. 18 (1973).

A comparison of the description of Dr. Freston’s testimony

in plaintiff’s pretrial memorandum, with Dr. Huelke’s testimony

in Ford’s pretrial memorandum, is instructive. Ford described

its witnesses as follows on July 21, 1977:

Defendant does not anticipate that it will call witnesses

other than a Ford engineer (either Everett Kennedy and/or

Louis Tubben) and Dr. Donald Huelke. . .. Dr. Huelke is

expected to testify to anticipated injuries to be expected

from an accident of the type in question and compare the

6. This language does not appear in the final pretrial order entered in this

case.

19a

same to the injuries in fact sustained by the plaintiff. In con-

nection therewith, Dr. Huelke may be asked to testify as to

the speed of the vehicles involved, the force of the crash,

the movement of the body of the plaintiff during the crash,

and the like. Ford is advised that plaintiff intends to call Mr.

Richard Crawford of Ponderosa Associates, and depending

upon the nature of his testimony may call an accident re-

construction expert.

[App., Vol. I, at p. 22].

Despite the rather specific statement that Dr. Huelke would

testify as to the relationship between the accident and plain-

tiff’s injuries, plaintiff described his last four witnesses on Jan-

uary 24, 1978, as follows:

5.Dr. William Brohm, Riverton, Wyoming, will testify as to

the medical care given to the Plaintiff and as to his current

condition, as well as his prognosis. (This witness has been

deposed.)

6. Dr. Donald Gullickson, Lander, Wyoming, will testify as to

subsequent medical care rendered to the Plaintiff, as well

as to his prognosis.

7. Professor Richard Crawford, Louisville, Colorado, will

testify as to the design defects and failures of the right seat

and the right seat compartment of the vehicle in question.

8. Dr. Freston, University Hospital, Salt Lake City Utah, will

testify as to his medical treatment of the Plaintiff, as well

as to his prognosis.

[App., Vol. |, at p. 72].

There is no question, in our view, that the description of Dr.

Freston’s testimony in the supplemental pretrial submission,

later incorporated in the final pretrial order [R., Vol. 1, p. 112],

related solely to plaintiff’s injuries and prognosis and not to the

causal relationship between those injuries and defective lap

belts.

20a

In Meyers v. Pennypack Woods Home Ownership Ass'n.,

559 F.2d 894, 904-905 (3rd Cir. 1977), the court enunciated

a series of factors which should be considered in determining

whether a district court has abused its discretion in excluding,

or in our case allowing, testimony not specified in the pretrial

order: ‘‘(1) the prejudice or surprise in fact of the party against

whom the excluded witnesses would have testified, (2) the abil-

ity of that party to cure the prejudice, (3) the extent to which

waiver of the rule against calling unlisted witnesses would dis-

rupt the orderly and efficient trial of the case or of other cases

in court, and (4) bad faith or willfulness in failing to comply

with the court’s order.’’ We address each of these factors sepa-

rately.

1. Prejudice or Surprise in Fact.

In our opinion, it is noteworthy that Dr. Freston” testimony

is described almost identically to that of Dr. Gullickson and Dr.

Brohm. Each of these latter witnesses was deposed by Ford and

each was specifically asked whether he had any opinion regard-

ing the relationship of plaintiff’s injuries and the alleged defi-

cient design or manufacture of the automobile. Each was also

asked whether he had made a study of the seat belt syndrome

or read any literature in the area. Each replied in the negative

to these questions. [Gullickson dep., R., Vol. XVIII, at pp.

21-22; Brohm dep., R., Vol XXI, at pp. 12-15]. Ford knew

these doctors were experts only in their fields of medicine.

Thus, the addition of Dr. Freston to the list of witnesses, with

the same general description of his testimony, could only have

misled Ford into believing that his testimony would relate sole-

ly to plaintiff’s injuries and not to their relationship to a defec-

tive seat belt. Assuming that the pre-trial order was not designed

to be misleading, the fact remains that such was its effect,’ and

that it prejudiced Ford in the preparation of its defense. See

Ante at pp. 19-20.

Our view is not altered by Smith’s contention that Wyoming

7. Perhaps this explains why Ford excluded Drs. Volk and Gainsford

from their motion to strike recently named witnesses made on the basis

of inadequate time for discovery prior to trial.

21a

custom and practice routinely allows treating physicians to tes-

tify as to the causation of injuries. We discern no major variance

between Wyoming practice and this Court’s decisions concern-

ing the admissibility of evidence not properly disclosed to the

opposing party either in pretrial proceedings or in response to

properly framed discovery requests. See Western Fire Insurance

Co. v. Tim Force Tin Shop, Inc., 599 P.2d 540 (Wyo. 1979);

Crysler Corp. v. Todorovich, supra; Ford Motor Co. v. Kuh-

bacher, 518 P.2d 1255 (Wyo. 1974.) In any event, the custom

and practice in Wyoming is irrelevant. The Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure control this diversity action even where there

exists a conflict. Hanna v. Plumer, 380 U.S. 460 (1965). See

also, Walker v. Armco Steel Corp., —— U.S. ——., 48 J.S.L.W.

4625 (June 2, 1980). These rules, of course, were designed to

make pretrial and discovery uniform across the country and to

prevent ‘‘trial by ambush”.

Parallel arguments that such custom and practice obviates a

finding of surprise and therefore prejudice are also unpersuasive.

First, we find nothing in the record countering Ford’s claim of

surprise and prejudice. Second, Ford was entitled to rely on the

summary of testimony provided in the supplemental pretrial

submission. The fact that Wyoming practice imputes such con-

structive knowledge, if indeed such is the practice, is not suf-

ficient.

Even if plaintiff [or defendant in this case] had reason to

believe that such testimony would be presented . . ., which is

at best sharply disputed, that would not justify the failure. . .

to respond truthfully and completely to a properly framed

interragatory. ‘It is no objection to interrogatories . . . that

the information sought is within the knowledge of the inter-

rogating party.‘‘Bowles v. Safeway Safeway Stores, 4 F.R.D.

469, 470 (W.D.Mo. 1945); Grand Opera Co. v. Twentieth

Century-Fox Film Corp., 21 F.R.D. 39, 40 (E.D.111. 1957).

“A distinction should not be drawn between facts with or

without the knowledge of the examining party.”” 4 Moore’s

Federal Practice para. 26.59 at 26-219 (2d Ed. 1974).

Consequently, to characterize the issue here as being deter-

mined by a lack of “surprise” distorts the essential problem.

22a

The policy which prompted amendment to Rule 26(b) (4)

of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure to allow more liberal

discovery of potential expert testimony was not merely for

convenience of the court and the parties, but was intended to

make the task of the trier of fact more manageable by means

of an orderly presentation of complex issues of fact. “Mu-

tual knowledge of all the relevant facts gathered by both

parties is essential to proper litigation.” Hickman v. Taylor,

329 U.S. 495, 507, 67 S.Ct. 385, 392, 91 L.Ed. 451 (1947).

See generally F.R. Civ. P. 26 (b) (4), Advisory Committee

Notes to 1970 Amendments.

In this case the expert testimony was crucial. As Judge

Bartels has well put it: ‘Realistically speaking, the resolution

of the entire case depends upon [medical] and expert testi-

mony and opinion. The necessities of such a case transcend

the usual limitations which may otherwise be imposed upon

discovery proceedings. “United States v. Nysco Laborator-

ies, Inc., 26 F.R.D. 159, 162 (E.D.N.Y. 1960).

Weiss v. Chrysler Motors Corp., supra, at pp. 456-457. [Em-

phasis supplied].

See also, Coleco Industries, Inc. v. Berman, supra, (evidence of

accounting study not disclosed to opposing party in pretrial

properly excluded); Voegeli v. Lewis, supra, (expert witness’

change of opinion was not admissible where it was not disclosed

in advance of trial‘; Tabatchnick v. G. D. Searle, supra, (testi-

mony of proposed new expert excluded where opponent was

unfairly prejudiced).

The critical nature of Dr. Freston’s testimony convinces us

that Ford was prejudiced in the presentation of its case. Dr.

Freston not only testified that plaintiff’s injuries were caused

by the seat belts; he also testified that in his opinion, based on

the article he had read, the injuries were caused by a defective

seat belt. [App., Vol. Il, at pp. 271-274]. A review of the arti-

cle on which Dr. Freston based his opinion [Appellee’s br.,

App. |], makes it abundantly plain that no inference about

injuries from defective seat belts, as opposed to properly func-

tioning seat belts, can be drawn because the study did not have

23a

that type of information unless the belt actually broke or was

torn by the force of the accident, which did not occur here.

This is in contrast to Dr. Freston’s testimony that the study

examined only users of properly functioning seat belts and that

based on data derived therefrom, the odds of pancreatic injury

are only “about one in a thousand”. [App., Vol. Il, pp. 311-

312]. Thus, Dr. Freston left the impression with the jury that

Smith’s seat belt was not functioning properly.

If Ford had been apprised in advance of Dr. Freston’s testi-

mony, it could have taken his deposition, discovered the article,

and been well prepared at trial to cross-examine him about his

conclusions.

2. Ability to Cure.

The challenged testimony provided crucial, non-cumulative

evidence on the question of whether a defective seat belt aggra-

vated or enhanced the plaintiff’s injuries. This, of course, sup-

plied the proof of a key element of Smith’s theory of recovery.

Larsen v. General Motors Corp., supra; Fox v. Ford Motor Co.,

supra. Without it Ford would possibly have been entitled to a

directed verdict. The evidence was elicited from the first witness

to appear before the jury—magnifying its impact. Dr. Freston

was scheduled for examination only on the day he appeared.

Counsel for Smith completed his direct examination at 4:43

p.m. Ford requested and was allowed only eleven minutes to

prepare for cross-examination. The Garrett and Braunstein

article was not available for his use prior to cross-examination.

We have previously observed that the Federal Rules of Evi-

dence contemplate that the ‘‘full Surden of exploration of the

facts and assumptions underlying the testimony of an expert

witness [falls] squarely on the shoulders of opposing counsel’s

cross-examination.”’ Graham, Part One at p. 897. “Before an at-

torney can even hope to deal on cross-examination with un-

favorable expert opinion he must have some idea of the basis of

that opinion and the data relied upon. If the attorney is re-

quired to await examination at trial to get this information, he

often will have too little time to recognize and expose vul-

nerable spots in the testimony.” Fridenthal, at p. 486. Finally,

proper impeachment or rebuttal may have required advance

24a

knowledge so that Ford’s own experts could have been con-

sulted.8

Dr. Freston’s scheduled departure the following day com-

bined with the challenged testimony’s revelation in the midst of

trial significantly impaired Ford’s ability to cure the prejudice.

This was magnified by Dr. Freston’s use of an empirical study

not disclosed in advance of trial. Ford, of course, could have

asked for a continuance in which to prepare, but given Dr.

Freston’s appointment the following day in Detroit and the

nature of the testimony, adjournment may well have consti-

tuted a significant disruption in the trial of the case.9

For these reasons, we hold that Ford’s ability to cure the

prejudice was significantly impaired.

3. Disruption of the Trial Process.

Dr. Freston’s testimony was revealed in the midst of trial.

An adjournment for depositions, when considered in light of

the subject matter of the testimony and Dr. Freston’s other

scheduled appointments, would have resulted in a significant

disruption of trial. Proper rebuttal and impeachment undoubt-

edly would have required the consultation of other experts

and, perhaps, the enlistment of new personnel or empirical

data. A short continuance, such as that allowed, wnile not dis-

ruptive, was inadequate. The crucial nature of the testimony

8. Dr. Huelke did address Dr. Freston’s interpretation of Garrett and

Braunstein. We believe however that such rebuttal did not ameliorate

the prejudice presented as effectively as direct impeachment through

cross-examination could have.

9. We reject any suggestion that prejudice did not occur or that it could

have been cured on the grounds that “even if [defendant’s ] counsel

[was] surprised by who gave the testimony, he should not have been

surprised by its substance.” DeMarines v. KLM Royal Dutch Airlines,

580 F. 2d 1193, 1202 (3d Cir. 1978). It simply was not the responsibi-

lity of Ford to second guess Smith’s witnesses’ descriptions in his sup-

plemental pretrial submission. On this basis, and the similarity between

the description of Dr. Freston’s testimony and other witnesses already

deposed, we cannot hold that Ford had a duty to “police” or “‘double-

check” Smith’s pretrial witnesses’ description, on which Ford had every

right to rely.

25a

required more. See, Coleco Industries, Inc. v. Berman, supra,

at 576-577 n. 14; Voegeli v. Lewis, supra.

4. Bad Faith or Willfulness

Although there was an allegation of bad faith and willful-

ness imputed to counsel for Smith, [App. A, p. 4], we can-

not consider it inasmuch as the trial court did not make find-

ings in this regard. See, Ager v. Jane C. Stormont Hospital,

__F. 2d __ , (10th Cir. No. 79-2228 June 2, 1980). Fur-

thermore, we do not deem remand for consideration of this

point necessary. As stated in Coleco Industries, Inc. v. Berman,

supra, at pp. 576-577 n. 14 “Here, as in Meyers [Meyers v.

Pennypack Woods Home Ownership Ass’n., supra], there was

no explicit finding of willfulness or bad faith. Nonetheless,

unlike Meyers, no explanation was proffered for the failure to

inform defense counsel of the [nature of the challenged test-

imony] prior to trial.”

Despite our analysis, we seriously question whether bad

faith or willfulness has an application to this issue While it

may prove aggravated circumstances, this would not necessar-

ily create greater prejudical impact than a negligent act not

in conformance with pretrial procedure. The issue, on appeal,

must be analyzed from the point of view of the prejudiced

party, not vice versa.

C.

Conslusion

Balancing these factors against the wide discretion accorded

the district court in both the discovery and pretrial area, we

hold that Ford suffered such prejudice as requires the case

to be reversed and remanded for new trial.

REVERSED AND REMANDED.

26a

APPENDIX A

THE COURT:

What is your objection, Mr. Greenlee?

MR. GREENLEE:

Your Honor, it seems that Gerry never fails to come up with

a surprise, and he has done it again.

Dr. Freston first saw Mr. Smith in January of this year. He

was first listed in the Supplemental Pretrial Memorandum of

the plaintiff’s. In that Supplemental Pretrial Memorandum,

and in this list of witnesses, they tell me in January, less

than two months to the trial, Dr. Freston, University Hospi-

tal, Salt Lake City, Utah, will testify as to his medical treat-

ment of the plaintiff, to which | have no objection, as well

as to his prognosis, to which | have no objection.

Now, they are now inquiring into the causes behind his

injury, and they are doing it in such a way that the witness

is going to say, ‘Yes, | have made a study of seat-belt injuries

and these injuries are inconsistent with, ” or ‘consistent

with” — I’m not sure what he’s going to say because they

haven’t defined —

THE COURT:

Did you take a discovery deposition?

MR. GREENLEE:

No, sir, there wasn’t time. You know, we are a month and a

half away from trial, they tell me all he’s going to testify to

is how he has treated the plaintiff and how he is going to

treat him in the future.

That, you know, we admit Mr. Smith was injured. There is

no question about that. | don't have any problem and you

haven’t heard one objection from me on this witness until

this point in time. | certainly would have —

27a

THE COURT:

| think you admitted he was injured in the accident, didn’t

you?

MR. GREENLEE:

Yes. Yes, he was. But now they are trying to pinpoint, you

see, those injuries. Now that’s unfair.

THE COURT:

Do you contend that pancreatitis occurred in some other

region?

MR. GREENLEE:

The pancreatitis occurred because the various organs in the

abdominal cavity were injured when Smith was violently

thrown forward, the the inertial forces created by that

accident caused those organs to rip and tear loose and to

bang into each other in the abdominal wall and whatnot.

They were not caused, we contend, by direct application of

force from the seat belt, which is where the plaintiff wants

to go with this witness.

THE COURT:

What is the basis of your objection, Greg? Is it because you

are claiming the doctor is speculating?

MR. GREENLEE:

Well, that’s one. The first objection is, their listing of this

doctor had nothing to do with what they are now calling

him to testify to, to wit, the causes of the injury. That’s

not in here.

They simply talk about treatment, past treatment and

future treatment. And so it’s a surprise to me.

| haven’t had a chance to prepare, | haven’t had a chance

to take a deposition. | didn’t take a deposition because there

was no indication here that he would be so called to testify.

Second of all —

28a

THE COURT:

Let me say this. He did just testify that the overwhelming

weight of the facts — | think is the way he pharased it —

was that the injuries resulted from the accident.

MR. GREENLEE:

| don’t have any problem with that. | do not dispute that

the pancreatic problems arose from the accident.

But now they want him to go further and say what specif-

ically in that accident caused that injury. And that | object

to because | have had no opportunity to prepare, I’m sur-

prised, and, furthermore, in the five-year period the doctor

is speculating.

THE COURT:

Is that the bulk of your objection?

MR. GREENLEE:

That’s the bulk of it.

THE COURT:

Gerry?

MR. SPENCE:

Judge, he says he’s surprised. | guess I’m more surprised than

he is because | have never been into a court of law in my

life but what the medical doctor was asked to give a causal

opinion as to the cause of the injury.

That goes without saying. Medical doctors have to give some

testimony.

You know, if you don’t they would say, “This man isn’t

qualified” — as soon as they put Crawford on they will say,

“Well, he isn’t a doctor,’’ and ask him what he thinks caused

the injuries. You watch and see what kind of an objection

we get there.

| do admit that we are out of order, and | do tell you we will

tie it in with other evidence. But he is here and we have the

29a

intent of having him testify as to his opinion based upon

reasonable medical probability as to the cause of these inju-

ries and the mechanism involved.

THE COURT:

With regard to the surprise: I’m going to allow the witness

to testify on this. | think that what you are really saying,

Greg, is that under our system of telling each other what

a witness is going to testify to is a bad system, and | agree

to that.

Ever since the Federal Rules were adopted in this state, we

have basically, in listing witnesses in pretrial memoranda,

have said as little as we could about what they would really

testify to.

* * *

But | agree, you are basically right. We should do it better.

We haven’t. It hasn’t been our custom.

I’m going to try to make it better, but we haven’t objected

here. So | don’t see where we can really truthfully claim

surprise here, because, as Mr. Spence says, | do think that

we have gone into this question as to the causal condition

with doctors always.

Now, as to your second objection on foundation, I’m not

sure yet, | haven’t heard all the foundation, | don’t know

whether — | can’t say whether Dr. Freston is speculating or

not. The foundation isn’t complete. So | can’t rule on that.

MR. MORIARITY:

Greg can cross-examine on that point.

MR. SPENCE:

He has the right to voir dire.

MR. GREENLEE:

| have not had the opportunity to examine him before.

You know, it’s extremely scary when you get a witness that

you’ve never ever talked to.

30a

| shook his hand for the first time in this courtroom after

lunch.

MR. SPENCE:

| have never seen any of yours.

MR. GREENLEE:

But their depositions were taken by your people.

MR. SPENCE:

Some of them were and some weren’t.

MR. GREENLEE:

It seems to me that this is a critical issue to the defendant’s

defense. Now, certain'y | can get up there and ask him,

“Doctor, what about these seat-belt injuries and whatnot,”

but all I’m doing there is compounding the problem that |

already have.

Your Honor, | try to be fair with listing what my people

are going to say and try to include those areas, all of those

areas that they are expected to be called upon to testify to.

That was not done in this case.

i submit to you that it was an intentional —

MR. SPENCE:

Oh, Greg, don’t say that.

MR. GREENLEE:

— an intentional withholding of information from me on

which | would have reacted entirely differently had they said

“and the causes of his injuries.”’

THE COURT:

Basically, you see, I’m ruling that the tail goes with the hide.

You let without objection in the doctor’s testimony it was

attributable to the accident.

“What is the cause of his pancreatitis?”

“The accident was.”

31a

All right. You’ve got that in and there’s no objection. Now

here is a refinement of that and | just basically think that

that’s what it is, is a refinement of it. That’s why | say it’s

something that maybe we’re at fault in not requiring that

pretrial memoranda in greater detail.

But basicaliy | think that has not been the Wyoming prac-

tice, and | think we will have to live with it, at least in this

case. Gentlemen, let’s move.

No. 78-1636 — JOHN H. SMITH v. FORD MOTOR COMPANY

DOYLE, Circuit Judge, dissenting.

The sole issue which is relied on by the majority for reversal

is whether an alleged trial error consisting of the giving of an

incomplete or general statement as to the testimony of a

proposed expert witness, in conjunction with the naming of the

witness in the plaintiff’s pretrial statement, can justify the

reversal of a judgment rendered following a lengthy and dif-

ficult trial and the award of a highly substantial verdict. There

is not the slightest contention that the evidence is insufficient

or that the claim is ill founded. Nor does it appear that the de-

fendant made any effort by deposition or other means to obtain

a detailed statement of the proposed testimony of the expert.

Some preliminary elements need to be delineated:

A.

JUSTICE DELAYED

These injuries occurred in 1973. There was a prior trial

involving the wrongful deaths of the wives of the plaintiff

Smith and the driver of the automobile in question, Mr. Fox.

Here, we are well into the year 1980, and the end is not is sight.

At the new trial there would not be any great difference, if

any, in the facts. At the retrial either the testimony of Dr.

Freston in person or his former testimony given at the trial

below will be offered. It boils down, then, to whether or not

the plaintiff is to be punished to this extent because of the

action of his lawyer in not detailing the projected testimony of

32a

Dr. Freston rather than merely describing it in general terms.

Note also that this is not a case in which there was a failure to

endorse the name of a witness, as a result of which surprise

was claimed by Ford at the trial. We expect to show that

there was no surprise in fact, conceding that the statement was

not full and complete.

B.

SURPRISE IN FACT IS NOT DEMONSTRATED

Ford maintains that it had only 1-1/2 months to prepare

itself, and thus its failure to take a deposition should not be

counted against it. This is incorrect. The witness in question,

Dr. James W. Freston, was in fact endorsed not quite 2-1/2

months prior to the trial in late March. This notice was given

at a supplemental pretrial conference held on January 24, 1978.

Does the time span of not quite 2-1/2 months prior to trial

constitute a justification for failing to probe the details of

Dr. Freston’s testimony? Counsel for Ford were aware of the

fact that the plaintiff, Mr. Smith, was, at that very time, being

treated by Dr. Freston and was in personal contact with Dr.

Freston. Certainly, this was worthy of some inquiry. But,

counsel for Ford made no move, formal or otherwise, to ascer-

tain the details. Granted, the notice was cryptic and conclusory.

This raises the question whether it is permissible in an adversary

proceeding such as this for the attorney for the defendant to

ignore a notice which gives the name and general nature of the

testimony of an expert and to run the risk incident to not

making inquiry as to the details of the testimony, notwith-

Standing that a mere demand submitted to the judge would have

compelled the plaintiff’s lawyer to reveal in every detail the

proposed testimony of the expert. Thus, it would not have

been necessary for Ford to take a deposition. Certainly, it was

hazardous in a case of this magnitude for Ford’s counsel to elect

to run the risk of having to cope with damaging testimony for

which no specific preparation had been made (so it is claimed).

Of course, there had been preparation. Ford had brought in an

expert from the University of Michigan Medical School, Dr.

Huelke, who was fully prepared to refute any testimony dealing

with the seat belt as a cause. Perhaps this latter fact accounts

for Ford’s decision not to pursue the deposition.

The doubling of the damage demand by counsel for Smith to

33a

one million dollars, which took place virtually simultaneously

with the listing of the witness, gave added notice to Ford that

plaintiff did not believe that there existed a void in the testi-

mony.

Accordingly, we have a setting in which a case had been

carefully prepared over a long period of time and which was in

the last weeks of preparation. The issues were fully understood.

Ford knew about the problem of cause as applied to the seat

belt because the main deficiency relied on by the defendant

was this specific element. Also, Ford was prepared to meet

this issue. The fact that Ford was ready detracts from the claim

of Ford that it was surprised.

The witness who was endorsed, Dr. Freston, was not any

ordinary internist. He was an expert in the particular field

and in this particular part of internal medicine. He had not

only an M.D. degree, but a Ph. D. as well, and he was Chairman

of an important department of the University of Utah Medical

School. Surely none of this was ignored by Ford.

c..

THE IMPORTANCE OF THE TRIAL COURT’S FINDING

A third factor which is entitled to be weighed is the finding

of the trial court that surprise did not exist. In view of the

specialty of Dr. Freston and the peculiarly serious injuries of

Smith, including extensive injuries to the pancreas, which

could be fatal, and removal of the spleen, there was good

reason for counsel to be generally aware of the foregoing

testimony and to expect testimony as to causation. This issue

was anticipated of each of the other medical witnesses who

were deposed.

D.

FORD’S ELECTION NOT TO OBJECT WHEN DR FRESTON

WAS ASKED A GENERAL QUESTION ABOUT

PROXIMATE CAUSE

A timely objection to the testimony of this witness was not

given. Counsel waited until Dr. Freston had testified to one

phase of proximate cause, that which had to do the the auto-

mobile coilision as a cause of the injuries which were the

34a

subject of the lawsuit. Objection was not made until the ques-

tion of cause as it related to the seat belt was introduced.

Only then did counsel for Ford claim surprise. The trial court

considered this a waiver of objection.

E.

SURPRISE WAS NOT ESTABLISHED

Finally, the trial court had lived with this case and the pre-

decessor. Having worked closely with the lawyers, the judge

was in a good position to make a finding on the existence or

nonexistence of surprise. Not a scintilla of evidence on the

subject of surprise was offered by Ford. No detailed inquiry

was conducted, no witness was presented, and so the reversal

rests on an analysis by the majority of the circumstances

surrounding this incident to the extent that they are able to

squeeze favorable inferences from the basic facts, plus the mere

claim that was made by counsel. This isn’t much.

The circumstances at the trial do not bespeak surprise.

Not only was it brought out that Dr. Donald F. Huelke, Ford’s

expert witness, was fully prepared on the general subject of

seat belt cause, he was also ready to refute the testimony of

Dr. Freston that the position of the seat belt produced the

serious internal injuries. Dr. Huelke was even familiar with

the Garrett and Braunstein article (the literature on which Dr.

Freston relied).

The case of Tupman Thurlow Co. v. S.S. Cap Castillo, 490

F. 2d 302 (2d Cir. 1974), considered whether the party claim-

ing surprise was prepared to cope with the evidence to which

objection was made, which fact was considered pertinent in

deciding whether in fact there was surprise.

* kek KK

The preliminary facts which are stated raise a question as to

why Ford refrained from deposing Dr. Freston, and whether

Ford should be allowed to refrain from making any effort to

ascertain the details of the testimony of an expert who is

listed and to rely entirely on the initiative of the plaintiff in

bringing each and every detail to its attention. Ford would

35a

say that it was so misled by the statement that it did not con-

sider it necessary to act. This ignores the complexity of the

case, for example, the fact that the causation issue was fore-

most in the minds of both lawyers. A distinguished physician

was named and thorough preparation required every possibility

to be examined. Is it unnecessary for the adversary party to

take obvious steps to protect its position? Neither side should,

consistent with the spirit of the rules, be allowed to sit back

and fail to take obvious action to ascertain facts. To fail to do

sO suggests an attempt to use the rules for the object of devel-

oping an error. The trial court was of the view that neither side

was genuinely surprised, that each was trying to outmaneuver

the other. If this was the case, there should not be a reversal

because this punishes the innocent litigant.

The important guide to the duty to supplement requests for

discovery is subsection (e) of Rule 26, an amendment which

was added in 1970. It states that ‘A party who has responded

to a request for discovery with a response that was complete

when made is under no duty to supplement his response”

except in two instances: 1) where the question is addressed to

the identity and location of persons having knowledge of dis-

coverable materials; 2) the identity of persons who expect to be

called as an expert witness at trial, the subject matter on which

he is expected to testify, and the substance of his testimony.!

Professor James Moore in his Treatise, Moore’s Federal

Practice Section 26.81, explains the purpose of the amend-

ments:

Subdivision (e) of Rule 26 was added in 1970 to end the un-

certainty that had developed over the duty to supplement.

This provision imposes directly the duty to supplement

1. The text of Rule 26 (e) (1) is as follows:

1. A party is under a duty seasonably to supplement his response with

respect to any question directly addressed to (A) the identity and lo-

cation of persons having knowledge of discoverable matters, and (B) the

identity of each person expected to be called as an expert witness at

trial, the subject matter in which he is expected to testify, and the sub-

stance of his testimony.

36a

answers to interrogatories seeking the identity and location

of persons having knowledge of any discoverable matter,

and answers to interrogatories seeking the identity of persons

expected to be called as expert witnesses at the trial and the

substance of their expected testimony. Further, when a

party who has answered interrogatories discovers that the

answers were incorrect when given, he has a duty to amend

them to conform to the truth.

Along the lines suggested by Judge Ellis in Gorsha [v. Com-

mercial Transport Cpr., 38 F.R.D. 188 (E. D. La. 1965)],

the subdivision also provides that under circumstances in

which failure to provide subsequent information would be

“in substance in a knowing concealment”’ there is a duty to

supplement the answer though it was correct when made.

Flexibility is provided by a provision in subdivision (e) (3)

that the duty to supplement answers may be imposed by the

court or by agreement of the parties. Of course the parties

are free to serve new interrogatories requesting supplemen-

tation of the answers to the earlier set. (Emphasis supplied.)

Does the majority opinion impose an absolute and exclusive

duty on a party to supplement answers to interrogatories or

to amend them? It does this and more. The failure to detail

the testimony, according to the majority, can be likened to an

offense Malum in se. It calls for imposition of the extreme

penalty regardless of whether surprise, prejudice or willfulness

is established.

The First Circuit in Simonsen v. Barlo Plastics Co., Inc.,

551 F. 2d 469 (1st Cir. 1977), considered the consequence of

plaintiff’s failure to disclose the complete substance of an

expert witness’s testimony. It held that the consequence was

within the trial court’s discretion. The plaintiff in Simonsen

had not given notice that his expert would testify to permanent

unemployability of the plaintiff. The defense sought a recess

in order to find a vocational rehabilitation expert. The trial

court denied the motion seeking delay and the First Circuit

affirmed. The court said:

PSCo argues that it should not be bound by the pretrial

37a

order as it was surprised by testimony of plaintiff’s expert,

Arthur Kenison, that Simonsen might be permanently un-

employable .... At the time the list of expert witnesses was

filed, Simonsen is said to have been working on and off as

a truck driver so that PSCo had no reason to anticipate any

need for testimony about vocational rehabilitation. However,

PSCo was informed over five months prior to trial that

Kenison would be testifying as an expert and, through dis-

covery, could have ascertained the substance of his testimony

. . . .Moreover the complaint had alleged permanent disa-

bility. Clearly the court did not abuse its discretion in refus-

ing to hold up the progress of the trial for the testimony of

the unlisted and as yet unlocated expert. (Emphasis sup-

plied.)

551 F. 2d at 471.

Simonsen thus places the burden on the defendant to take

the initiative by deposing the witness—just the opposite of the

position taken by the majority here.

The situation is far different where the expert witness is

unknown and an effort is being made to call him after having

failed to name him. See Davis v. Duplantis, 448 F. 2d 918

(Sth Cir. 1971). But in that case the trial judge allowed the

expert to testify notwithstanding failure to list his name as a

witness in accordance with the pretrial order. The Fifth Circuit

upheld the ruling, noting the severity of the sanction which

denies the testimony. Thus, the court weighed the consequences

of precluding the calling of the witness against the magnitude

of the violation of the rule and decided that the discretion of

the trial court should be upheld. The Fifth Circuit was also

persuaded by the fact that the plaintiff’s counsel knew that the

doctor was a potential witness since he had been furnished a

report before the trial and had had an opportunity at that time

to depose him.

The Seventh Circuit has also had occasion to rule on the

subject of failure to name the witnesses where knowledge of

expertise was not discovered until time to the trial. See Sa-

dowski v. Bombardier Ltd., 539 F. 2d 615 (7th Cir. 1976). The

38a

witnesses in that case had been listed in the pretrial order,

but had not been listed as experts. The court noted that the

question was a close one, but observed that the testimony

became significant during the trial and this tended to excuse the

lateness of their being treated as experts. Again, the exercise

of the trial court’s descretion was upheld.

This court had occasion to consider the admissibility of

material which had not been disclosed in a supplement to a

response given in answer to an interrogatory required by Rule

26 (e) in Price v. Lake Sales Supply R.M., Ins., 510 F. 2d 388

(10th Cir. 1974). We stated:

It is quite true that parties are under a continuing duty to

supplement their responses. See 4 J. Moore, Moore’s Federal

Practice [Section] 26.81 (1970). Rule 26 clearly requires

this. There is no indication, however, that the trial court

believed that this failure to amend was a knowing conceal-

ment. In any event, it is questionable whether exclusion is

the only proper penalty for failing to comply with require-

ment. Surely the trial judge has some discretion in selecting

the sanctions and it does not appear that the court abused its

discretion in this instance.

510 F. 2d at 395. We thus recognized in that case the impor-

tance of the fact that there was a lack of evidence showing a

knowing concealment. It was also recognized that the use of the

exclusion sanction was questionable and that the trial judge

should have some discretion in selecting sanctions and that in

that instance there was no reason to conclude that there had

been an abuse of trial court discretion.

The majority opinion cites, among other cases, the Fifth

Circuit’s decision in Shelak v. White Motor Co., 581 F. 2d 1155

(Sth Cir. 1978). In that case the trial court’s discretion was

determined to have been improperly exercised in allowing the

testimony of plaintiff’s expert witness, which testimony con-

nected the plaintiff’s back injuries to an accident on a defective

step and also connected a heart attack to the same accident.

The evidence of the causal connection of the heart attack

39a

arose on the date of the jury selection. It is understandable that

the testimony in the Shelak case, considering the date on

which it arose, and the nature of it, justified the trial court’s

decision that it should be rejected. However, even in that ex-

treme situation, there was a divided court. Judge Rubin dis-

sented on the ground that the trial court’s discretion in allowing

the evidence should have been upheld. In the Shelak case the

trial court had also allowed a witness to testify who had not

been named. The Fifth Circuit ruled that receipt of this evi-

dence was not reversible error because it did not appear that

there was surprise and thus prejudice. See 581 F. 2d at 1159.

Thus, the Shelak case is at odds with the proposed opinion in

this case, which holds that it was error for the trial court to al-

low Dr. Freston to testify even in a situation in which surprise

was far from clear.

Weiss v. Chrysler Motors Corporation, 515 F. 2d 449 (2d Cir.

1975), is relied on by the majority as upholding the right of a

reviewing court to void the exercise by the trial court of dis-

cretion on a matter such as is presented. It is to be noted,

however, that the Weiss case involved broad and generai notice

as to what the witness was going to testify to. Actually, the

Second Circuit in the Weiss case ruled that this was not re-

versible error. The case was reversed for error in refusing to

admit proffered evidence in rebuttal, which evidence was ad-

missible as a matter of right and which did not become per-

tinent until the rebuttal. 515 F. 2d at 458, 459.

The majority opinion also relied on the case of Voegeli v.

Lewis, 568 F. 2d 89, 96 (8th Cir. 1977), a malpractice case in

which one of the expert witnesses for the defense changed his

testimony between the time of his deposition and the time of

trial. Tie defense had demanded through interrogatories the

nature of the testimony which was being offered. The answers

were inadequate and the court granted a motion to compel

answers, but, again, the answer was inadequate and misleading.

A second set of interrogatories was denied enforcement by the

court. Also, the court allowed the defendant to call another

expert witness, although, previously, counsel for the defendant

had indicated that he would not be called, as a result of which

there had not been voir dire examination of the jury concerning

40a

the witness. The Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit re-

versed the case and remanded it to the trial court, saying

that there had been an abuse of discretion by that court grow-

ing out of the trial court’s having failed to enforce its original

order compelling answers to interrogatories in the case of one

of the experts who changed his testimony. The court said, in

addition, that the plaintiff was deprived of the opportunity to

voir dire with respect to the other expert. Voegeli is so complex

and different from the case at bar that it is not an effective au-

thority in this case, which is limited to an objection to allegedly

Surprise expert testimony, the substance of which was claimed

to have produced surprise.

There is one other complaint by the majority and that is

that Ford was allowed only 10 minutes to prepare cross-exami-

nation. The majority does not mention the fact that the 10 min-

utes was all that was requested. Moore’s Federal Practice para-

graph 59.08[2] states that the surprised party should move for

a continuance at the time of the surprise or otherwise he will

be considered as having waived his objection. The cases cited by

Moore are Jackson v. MFA Mut. Ins. Co., 169 F. Supp. 638

(W.D. Ark. 1959); Campbell v. District of Columbia, 153 F.

Supp. 730 (D.D.C. 1957), aff'd 254 F. 2d 357 (D.C. Cir. 1958);

Dow v. Carnegie-Illinois Steel Corp., 70 F. Supp. 1016, 1019

(W.D. Pa. 1947), rev’d on other grounds, 165 F. 2d 777 (3rd

Cir. 1947); Beardsley v. Howard & Bullough American Mach.

Co., 176 F. 619 (C.C. D.R.I. 1910). Cf. Tabatchnick v. G.D.

Searle, 67 F.R.D. 49 (D.N.J. 1975).

In summary:

The finding of the trial judge that surprise was nonexistent

is of high importance of these reasons:

1) The cases show that actual existence of surprise is essen-

tial. Also necessary is, of course, prejudice.

2) Constructive surprise, as discussed in the majority opinion,

without more, surely is not enough. Surprise implied in

law will not suffice. The surprise must be real.

3) The evidence of surprise is meager. There exists, of course,

the claim made in open court by Ford’s counsel, but this is

4la

not evidence. It is merely an allegation. If, indeed, this sea-

soned and experienced trial lawyer was surprised, that in-

deed would be surprising given the exposure that he has

had in this case. In fact, both sides have lived with the case

for many years and they were sensitive to the issue of seat

belt cause alleged by plaintiff and defended by Ford. Both

sides knew that plaintiff had to come forward with evi-

dence establishing that the seat belt caused the harm. Fur-

thermore, the conduct of counsel for Ford during the trial

showed that he was alert to the issue and indeed apprehen-

sive about the special testimony of Dr. Freston on the sub-

ject, for he was quick to distinguish between general causa-

tion and the specific causation involved here.

In the face of the foregoing, how can the majority demon-

strate the plain error necessary to a substitution of its judgment

for that of the trial court?

We mention one final point. The Rules of Civil Procedure do

not allow counsel on one side to depend on his opponent for

every item of evidence that the opponent is going to offer. The

Rules contemplate the identification of witnesses and subject

matter so as to permit the adversary to take depositions or to

seek interrogatories or move for a more detailed statement as to

what the evidence is going to be, but all of these avenues are

open and to place all of the burden on the plaintiff to the

detriment of his client is, to say the least, grossly unjust.

In closing, there is no gainsaying that the sanction imposed

was excessive considering the circumstances, including the

length and difficulty of the trial and the fact that there is no

real issue as to Ford’s liability.

This was a well conducted trial, as lengthy and complex

trial go. Unfortunately, it is impossible to have a perfect trial,

human fallibility being considered. This is especially true from

the standpoint of technical perfection. This does not mean that

perfection should not be sought after, but there is not an indi-

cation that this goal was ever abandoned in the present case.

For all of these reasons, | respectfully disagree with the

reasoning and conclusion of the majority opinion.

42a

APPENDIX B

Order Denying Petition for Rehearing

in Court of Appeals

SEPTEMBER TERM — September 16, 1980

Before Honorable Oliver Seth, Chief Judge, Honorable William

}. Holloway, Jr., Honorable Robert H. McWilliams, Honorable

James E. Barrett, Honorable William E. Doyle, Honorable Mon-

roe G. McKay, Honorable James K. Logan and Honorable Step-

hanie K. Seymour, Circuit Judges.

JOHN H. SMITH,

Plaintiff-Appellee, No. 78—1636

)

)

)

)

vs. )

)

FORD MOTOR COMPANY, )

)

)

Defendant-Appellant.

This matter comes on for consideration of the petition of

appellee for rehearing with suggestion for rehearing in banc.

Upon consideration whereof, it is ordered:

1. The petition for rehearing is denied by the panel that

rendered the decision sought to be reheard. Judge

Doyle voted to grant rehearing.

2. The suggestion for rehearing having been transmitted

to the members of the panel and to the judges of the

Court who are in regular active service and a vote hav-

ing been taken, the suggestion for rehearing in banc is

denied. Judge Doyle voted to grant rehearing in banc.

/s/

HOWARD K. PHILLIPS, Clerk

APPENDIX C

Petit:on for Rehearing

in Court of Appeals

Without Exhibits

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

JOHN H. SMITH,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

)

)

)

)

VS. ) No. 78-1636

)

FORD MOTOR COMPANY, )

)

)

Defendant-Appellant.

PETITION OF PLAINTIFF-APPELLEE, JOHN H. SMITH

FOR A REHEARING WITH SUGGESTION

OF REHEARING EN BANC

EDWARD P. MORIARITY

Spence, Moriarity & Schuster

Post Office Box 554

Jackson, Wyoming 83001

JOHN R. HURSH

Central Wyoming Law Associates, P C

105—107 South 6th East

Riverton, Wyoming 82501

Attorneys for Plaintiff-Appellee

July, 1980

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

JOHN H. SMITH, )

Plaintiff-Appellee, !

vs. ) No. 78-1636

FORD MOTOR COMPANY, :

Defendant-Appellant. |

PETITION OF PLAINTIFF-APPELLEE, JOHN H. SMITH

FOR A REHEARING WITH SUGGESTION

OF REHEARING EN BANC

The Plaintiff-Appellee, John H. Smith, respectfully petitions

this Court for a rehearing with suggestion of rehearing en banc.

Reasons Why The Petition for Rehearing

Should Be Granted And Why The

Rehearing Should Be En Banc

This Petition for Rehearing en banc should be granted for

the following reasons:

(1) A sharply divided panel of this Court has substituted its

discretion for that of the trial judge by completely mis-

apprehending and desregarding the Record by finding

nothing in the Record countering Ford’s claim of sur-

prise and prejudice, (Opinion p. 28), when in fact Judge

Brimmer made a specific factual finding of no surprise.

(App. p. 267).

(2) The majority completely misapprehended and disre-

garded the Record in finding that Dr. Freston testified

that the injury was caused by a defective seat belt.

(3) The majority allows Ford’s Appellate Counsel to appeal

on premises not properly raised at the trial level, deny-

ing Appellee due process. This action permitted the ma-

jority to make erroneous factual findings.

(4) The far-reaching ramifications of the majority ruling

upon the pretrial practice and discretion of the trial

judges in this Circuit must be examined en banc as it is

a direct departure from prior rulings of this Circuit and

the Fifth, Seventh and Eighth Circuits, as well as the

Supreme Court.

From the foregoing, it is urged that this case be reheard en

banc under Rule 35 (a), R.R.App.P.

ARGUMENT

THE TRIAL COURT DID NOT ABUSE ITS DISCRETION

AND THE MAJORITY’S FINDING WAS BASED UPON AN

ERRONEOUS PREMISE:

(1) One of the best protected rules of Appellate Procedure

is that the discretion of a trial court judge will not be

disturbed absent clear and convincing evidence of an

abuse. Bosse v. Ideco Division of Dresser Industries, 412

F. 2d 567 (10th Cir. 1969). The majority, at Page 28 of

the Opinion concluded, “We find nothing in the Record

countering Ford’s claim of surprise and prejudice”. This

finding is contrary to the Record. The issue was argued

in Chambers (A-262-269). There are no facts in the

Record to support Ford’s Claim of surprise or prejudice.

The Record, however, does disclose Judge Brimmer’s

finding: ‘I’m going to try to make it better, but we

haven’t objected here. So | don’t see where we can really

truthfully claim surprise here, because, as Mr. Spence

says, | do think we have gone into this question as to

causal condition with doctors always.” (A-267).

2c

Three points are made by Judge Brimmer:

(1) No objection to how information was listed in the

pretrial;

(2) No surprise;

(3) The doctors always testify to causation.

There is absolutely no abuse of discretion by Judge

Brimmer. He knew his case, the attorneys, the atmo-

sphere, and the applicable rules of practice and pro-

cedure. Considerable defference should be accorded his

interpretation and application of these rules, Martinez

v. Thrifty Drug and Discount Company, 593 F. 2d 992

(10th Cir. 1978).

(2) There is absolutely no evidence Judge Brimmer mis-

construed his rules. It is submitted that Judge Brimmer

would have abused his discretion had he granted the

relief requested based upon the Record before him at

that time. There were no objections made prior to trial

that would have put the parties on notice and which,

if made, would have permitted the Court to make rulings

that would not have prejudiced one side or the other.

The rules require a record be made at the time so the

court ard counsel are given an opportunity to correct the

problem if one exists. To permit Appellate Counsel to

succeed without a proper timely record amounts to

appeal by ambush — not only of opposing counsel but

of the trial judge as well. Prior to trial there were no re-

quests for updated interrogatories; no request for more

information on the witnesses (even though Plaintiff’s

counsel had offered said information, see A-131 at-

tached); no objection to the procedure used at the pre-

trial, no request for additional information at the pretrial

(A-78-106); and no deposition was taken, with the excuse

given to the Court on the Record that Ford didn’t take

the time. Trial courts in the heat of battle are called upon

to make rulings based on the record and facts and repre-

sentations of counsel at that time. Based upon the repre-

sentations and facts at the time, it is clear that Judge

Brimmer did not abuse his discretion. The Record did

contain matters countering Ford’s claim of surprise and

3c

prejudice and contained the trial court’s finding of no

surprise. The majority erred in its findings based upon

an erroneous premise and, therefore, a rehearing should

be granted.

Misapprehension of the Record re Causation:

1. The majority, at Page 29, states that Dr. Freston testified,

“*, . the injuries were caused by a defective seat belt”’.

They went on to say at Page 30, “The challenged testi-

mony provided crucial, non-cumulative evidence on the

question of whether a defective seat belt aggravated or

enhanced Mr. Smith’s injuries. The majority placed so

much reliance on defective that it was underscored in the

Opinion. NOWHERE JIN THE RECORD DOES DR.

FRESTON TESTIFY THAT THE INJURY WAS CAUS.-

ED BY A DEFECTIVE SEAT BELT. It was never there.

2. Dr. Freston’s testimony was clear and concise:

“The evidence is good that the seat belt was involved in

that injury.” (App. Vol. Il p. 273). There is absolutely no

reference anywhere in the Record where L'r. Freston says

a defective seat belt caused the injury. He simply, as a

part of his diagnosis, isolated the cause of the trauma.

3. The issue of the seat belt being defective was addressed

directly in the testimony of Professor Crawford. This

expert engineer testified that the defective seat belt,

as well as the whole defective passenger restraint system,

caused the injury. An example of where the defective

seat belt testimony derives comes from Crawford’s testi-

mony at p. 559:

“Q. Do you have an opinion as to the effectiveness of the

seat belt attachment design in providing reasonable

protection to the passengers, from the seat belt, in

25 to 35 mile per hour crashes of the kind involved

in this case?

A. Yes, sir, | do.

Q. What is your opinion:

4c

A. The seat belt location is not at 45 degrees and it tends

to cause injury to an individual wearing it in crashes

of this nature.” (App. Vol. III, p. 559) See also: pp.

469, 502-511, 559 to 572 of the Appendix for the

other opinions re causation.

4. A careful review of the Record clearly shows that causa-

tion was per Professor Crawford and that Dr. Freston did

not render an opinion that the seat belt was defective,

thus, the majority premised its opinion on a misapprehen-

sion of the Record.

The New Pretrial Practice:

1. Ford’s trial counsel, by letter to the Court on January 5,

1978, suggested the exact procedure that he wanted

to follow for final discovery and listing of witnesses.

Judge Brimmer exercised his discretion and adopted

Ford’s plan. (The letter is attached). Dr. Freston was

listed in the manner Ford requested. His medical records

were given to Ford which spoke of “seat belt trauma”.

Plaintiff’s counsel offered to meet with Ford’s counsel

and discuss any problem areas in testimony (App. p. 131

attached). Ford did not respond nor depose Dr. Freston

who was the treating physician and not a hired expert as

was Ford’s Dr. Huelke. The trial court found that the

parties had cooperated well and no objections to the pro-

cedure by Ford or discovery motions were pending when

the trial began.

2. The majority now says this was bad practice and com-

pletely rewrites the pretrial practice for this Circuit. The

trial judge’s discretion in controlling discovery and struc-

turing the pretrial is wiped out. The majority here now

dictates mini-trials which in a complex case such as this

could last for days.

3. The majority found the Wyoming practice is in accord

with its rationale and cites Ford Motor Co. v. Kuhbacher,

518 P.2d 1255 (Wyo. 1974). Even a cursory reading of

Kuhbacher shows that the majority misread the case.

In that case, the Wyoming Supreme Court allowed a wit-

5c

ness to testify who was not even named. (The relevant

portion of the Opinion is attached). No new pretrial pro-

cedure was retroactively applied to the Plaintiff in Kuh-

bacher. (The Defendant incidentally was Ford Motor Co.,

Appellant).

The majority here usurps the trial judge’s discretion con-

cerning pretrial discovery which is not in accord with the

Supreme Court or the other circuits. The new interpre-

tation of Rule 16 will cause pretrial conferences to be-

come trials on paper instead of in the courtroom. This is

contrary to Link v. Wabash Railroad Co., 370 U.S. 626

(1962); McCargo v. Hendrick, 545 F.2d 393 (4th Cir.

1976); Davis v. Duplantis, 448 F.2d 918 (5th Cir. 1971).

The majority directs a new maze of complex and detailed

pretrial procedures. The remedial sanctions against J udge

Brimmer are applied retroactively and Mr. Smith suffers.

The Wyoming procedure has never been criticized before

and even Ford’s trial counsel made no objection. In fact,

by letter, Ford’s trial counsel invoked the very custom

and practice Ford’s appellate counsel succeeds in over-

turning. The District of Wyoming prides itself and its

Docket has been nationally recognized for its speed and

efficiency. This decision ends that. This Court’s own pre-

cedent is even overruled. Martinez v. Thrifty Drug and

Discount Co., 593 F.2d 992 (10th Cir. 1978). See e.g.

Silas v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., Inc., 586 F.2d 382 (Sth

Cir. 1978); Identi Seal Corp. of Wisconsin y. Positive

Identification, 560 F.2d 298 (7th Cir. 1977). (A perti-

nent article appearing in the 1980 Edition of Litigation is

also attached.)

SUMMARY

This precedent-setting Opinion which is in conflict with rul-

ings in four other circuits will have far-reaching ramifications on

a trial judge’s discretion as well as on pretrial practices. The

critical factors relied on by the majority for reversal, i.e. Dr.

Freston saying the seat belt was defective and there being noth-

ing in the Record countering Ford’s allegations of surprise and

6c

prejudice are both incorrect. The Appellant was allowed to lay

silent, not required to make a record, and did not afford the

trial court an opportunity to correct an alieged error. The

majority ruling changes the guidelines of appellate procedure

and without notice changes the existing accepted procedures of

pretrial practice in the District of Wyoming after the fact. This

adds up to appeal by ambush which is resulting in a prejudicial

ruling against an innocent Wyoming victim of a defective cor-

porate product. A reversal not only makes bad law, but requires

a new trial of a case over eight years old because defense coun-

sel chose not to take a deposition and now claims surprise.

Since justice delayed is justice denied and as this matter

has been on appeal for two years, a careful review of this dan-

gerous precedent-setting reversal by a sharply divided court is

only just and proper.

CONCLUSION

The Petition for a Rehearing en banc should be granted.

DATED this 31st day of July, 1980.

Respectfully submitted,

Edward P. Moriarity

Spence, Moriarity & Schuster

Post Office Box 554

Jackson, Wyoming 83001

John R. Hursh

Central Wyoming Law Associates, P. C.

105—107 South 6th East

Riverton, Wyoming 82501

Counsel for John H. Smith

Plaintiff-Appellee

Tc

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

| hereby certify that on this 31 day of July, 1980, I did serve

the foregoing Petition of John H. Smith for a Rehearing with

Suggestion of Rehearing en banc by mailing two copies, first-

class postage prepaid, to the following:

Mr. G. G. Greenlee

Murane & Bostwick

500 Wyoming Building

Casper, Wyoming 82601

Mr. Gordon G. Greiner

Holland & Hart

Post Office Box 8749

Denver, Colorado 80201

John R. Hursh

CENTRAL WYOMING LAW ASSOCIATES, P. C.

105—107 South 6th East

Riverton, Wyoming 82501

of Counsel for John H. Smith

Plaintiff-Appellee

8c

Misapprehension of the Record:

(1) The majority opinion reads:

“The critical nature of Dr. Freston’s testimony convinces

us that Ford was prejudiced in the presentation of its case

Dr. Freston not only testified that Plaintiff’s injuries were

caused by the seat belt; he also testified that in his opinion,

based on the article he had read, the injuries were caused by a

defective seat belt.” (Opinion p. 29)

(2) Dr. Freson did not so testify. The Record shows the fol-

lowing exact testimony.

“Q. Do you have an opinion based upon reasonable medi-

cal probability as to the cause. . . as to what caused

the injuries (to the) spleen and to the pancreas in the

case at hand?

Mr. Greenlee: (Objection)

The Court: (Overruled)

A. Yes, | have an opinion.

Q. (By Mr. Spence) Would you state to the jury what

your opinion is?

A. Yes, my opinion is that the probability is overwhelm-

ing that the injury to the pancreas resulted from the

automobile accident.

And specifically, the evidence is good that the seat

belt was involved in that injury.”

(App. Vol. Il, p. 273-274)

Attachment No. 1

9c

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.