Petition — Louisiana v. Gary W.

Supreme Court brief1981

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United S

OCTOBER TERM, 1980

GARY W., ET AL.,

Respondent

VERSUS

STATE OF LOUISIANA, ET AL.,

Petitioner

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

WILLIAM J. GUSTE, JR.

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF LOUISIANA

KENDALL L. VICK

ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL

PATRICIA NALLEY BOWERS

STAFF ATTORNEY

PAUL A. ECKERT

STAFF ATTORNEY

LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT OF

JUSTICE

234 LOYOLA AVENUE, 7TH FLOOR

NEW ORLEANS, LOUISIANA 70112

PHONE: (504) 568 - 5575

Attorneys for Petitioner

RRA eA NTR no EN eA ERT NS IY

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1980

NO.

GARY W., ET AL.,

Respondent

VERSUS

STATE OF LOUISIANA, ET AL.,

Petitioner

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner, State of Louisiana, prays that a writ of certiorari

issue to review the judgment and opinion of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit in the above entitled

case.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1) Does the decision of Hutto v. Finney, 437 U.S. 678

(1978), allow the federal court to seize state funds in order

to satisfy an award of attorneys’ fees?

2) May a judgment creditor execute on a money judgment

against a state under the provisions of the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure, Rule 70 for specific performance, instead of

under the provisions of Rule 69 for executions on money judg-

ments?

PARTIES TO PROCEEDING

Listed below are the original plaintiffs and defendants.

Only the defendants whose names are in italics are the main

parties at interest in the current appeal.

GARY W., by his guardian and next friend, W. M. and

his mother D. S.; JOSEPH G., by his mother and next

friend, J. B.; ELIZABETH M., by her mother and next

friend, N. T.; DWANA MARIE M., by her grandmother

and next friend, N. T.; on behalf of themselves and the

class of all others similarly situated; W. M., guardian

of GARY W.; D. S., mother of GARY W.; J. B., mother

of JOSEPH G.; N. T., mother of ELIZABETH M. and

grandmother of DWANA MARIE M.; on behalf of

themselves and the class of all others similarly situated.

Plaintiffs,

STATE OF LOUISIANA in its capacity as guarcian |

parens patriae of the above named and class of chiluren;

EDWIN EDWARDS, individually and as Governor of

the State of Louisiana; LOUISIANA HEALTH AND

SOCIAL AND REHABILITATION SERVICES AD-

MINISTRATION; DR. WILLIAM STEWART, individ-

ually and in his official capacity, LOUIS MICHOT, in-

dividually and in his official capacity; CHARLES

MARY, JR., M. D., individually and in his official

capacity; GARLAND I. BONIN, individually and in

his official capacity; CHARLES YOST, individually

and in his official capacity; DR. ANDREW HEGMEG,

individually and in his official capacity; SIDNEY

GOMEZ, individually and in his official capacity;

OTTO P. ESTES, individually and in his official capaci-

ty; WILLIAM ADDISON, M. D., individually and

in his official capacity; GARY SNEED, M. D., indi-

vidually and in his official capacity; ISRAEL SIDNEY,

individually and in his official capacity; HOWARD K.

SOMMERS, individually and in his official capacity;

CATHERINE OBERHOLTZER, individually and in her

official capacity; CASPER WEINBERGER, individually

and in his official capacity;

FRANK GROSCHELLE, individually and in his official

capacity; THE BROWN SCHOOL, INC.; CAL FAR-

LEY’S BOYS RANCH, INC.; JONES CHILDRE}®’S

HAVEN, INC.; CRIPPLED CHILDREN’S COTTAGE,

INC.; EAST TEXAS GUIDANCE AND ACHIEVE-

MENT CENTER, INC.; MISSION ROAD FOUNDA-

TION FOR EXCEPTIONAL CHILDREN, INC.; MARY

LEE FOUNDATION, INC.; MARBRIDGE FOUNDA-

TION FOR RETARDED CHILDREN, INC.; SHADY

BROOK SCHOOLS CORPORATION, INC.; BEAU-

MONT REMEDIAL’ CLINIC, INC.; MERIDELL

ACHIEVEMENT CENTER, INC.; SUMMIT OAKS

ACHIEVEMENT CENTER, INC.; ABILENE YOUTH

CENTER, I'NC.; BAGLEY HOME FOR EXCEPTION-

AL CHILDREN, INC.; GREENHIGH RESIDENTIAL

TREATMENT CENTER, INC.; HARRIS COUNTY

HALFWAY HOUSE; HEART OF TEXAS CONVA-

LESANT HOME, INC.; THOMAS W. HUGHEN

SCHOOL, INC.; McDONALD DEVELOPMENTAL

HOME, INC.; PEACEFUL VALLEY CHILDREN’S

HOME, INC.; THOMAS HOSPITAL FOR EXCEPTION-

AL CHILDREN, INC.; ROLLING CREEK MANOR,

INC.; FRED DAY HOME FOR CHILDREN, INC.;

WOODACRES CHILDREN’S HOME, INC.; DYER

VOCATIONAL TRAINING CENTER, ROBERT

DYER, GEORGIA DYER, MRS. JAMES H. LATHAM,

GERTRUDE M. GOODMAN, TERRY P. AYRE, JOHN

S. TEED, individually and as agents of the State of

Louisiana and as owners and operators of the Dyer

Vocational Training Center; JOHN DOE’S ONE

iii

THROUGH 6NE HUNDRED (whose true names are

presently unknown) individually and as employees

and agents of the United States Government, the State

of Louisiana, or the above named commercial institu-

tions for the confinement of children,

Defendants.

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Do ea, ok se Caled ate 6s cles @ Uwe i

Pe et eee eee ii

PMT RD kd & 0'v v4 vie s ¥en whee DOS RA ee Ree. v

Oe SUR in Gs whe, ot ¢'Uisvgia oo 6 CNUs see's RA vi

I co RE LL. 4. ale Me sss sale 6 Bike we eo mee |

SN kG 1s OE Ae Ata ROS Ca Ode as 6:i5-0 eR l

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions .................. ]

ME ce ds ne mehaemasé keaeewa ken 2

re a AMEE ssw coc ceeeess oes ecceed 6

CS ich odin the kas aos echonseseeeweentanets 14

aE CNOOD <ou'a wis dws dn nhs bes obese Oc ee bane 16

SN 62 ahs se bOOd ba bs 0 oh aleckeeah an Obeeel A-l

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES:

UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT

Edelman v. Jordan, 415 U.S. 651 (1974) .....-.. eee eee 6

Fitzpatrick v. Bitzer, 427 U.S. 445 (1976) ..........506-- 6

Hutto v. Finney, 437 U. S. 678 (1978) ...i, 6, 7, 8, 12, 13, 14

Metcalf and Eddy v. Mitchell, 269 U.S. 514 (1926) ........ )

National League of Cities v. Usery, 426 U. S.

et as ony ok biga tee bee Meee ee eee 9

South Dakota v. North Carolina, 192 U. S.

et iy on sO ad ace oe vs 0d 6 ROR 12

Virginia v. West Virginia, 246 U. S. 884 (1917) ..........--- 8

APPELLATE COURTS

Gary W. v. Louisiana, 622 F. 2d 804 (Sth Cir. 1980) ...... 3,6

Gates v. Collier, 616 F. 2d 1268 (Sth Cir.

oer rrr y Meer eee oe ree ee S. ts hoe

Hamilton v. McDonald, 503 F. 2d 1138 (9th

EE ass «danke cig oie abo ke dC REES oe He wees 11, 12

New York State Association for Retarded

Children v. Carey, 2nd Cir. June 4, 1980) .......... 10, 14

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CONTINUED

Page

Nixon v. Sirica, 487 F. 2d 700 (D. C. Cir.

Ne and Saline mies « een Om 12

Williams v. McKeithen, 547 F. 2d 1206 (Sth Cir.

Oe eke ak MS 6 ake Ree wee Be 2

DISTRICT COURTS

Gary W. v. Louisiana, 429 F. Supp. 711 (E. D.

La. 1977); 441 F. Supp. 1121 (E. D. La. 1977) ........ 2,4

Williams v. McKeithen, M. D. La., 71-98 (un-

reported minute entry August 4, 1980 .................. 3

STATUTES:

United States Constitution

Co” eee ee 1,6,7

ss ys bg cage we eed wales Och ks l

Federal Statutes

ee dls i'n bbw ea knee on WO 2

ee ie Ni wales os wed ea be eee 2

Oe ce ie cet hba eases sceee ee 2

Oe ee, SEs 2 Wc dew Swed 6 dhe be buae 2

28 U.S.C. sec. 1988 (Supp. 1980), formerly, ........... 2

ch. 114, sec. 18, 16 stat. 144 (1870)

28 U.S. C. sec. 2201 et seq. (Supp. 1980) .............. 2

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

re ae ee ara i, 1,4, 10, 11

a TEE 66k ook bea oe eek i, 1,5, 10, 11

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CONTINUED

Page

Louisiana Constitution

See ee re Oe, BUD GL nck cb awdcce tae ane 2

Se Re ee, SS ED ovo osc 0 bw dc on as demel 2

Vili

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals is reported

at 622 F. 2d 804 and is reprinted in the Appendix hereto

pp. A-23 infra. The opinion of the District Court for the

Eastern District of Louisiana awarding attorneys’ fees is re-

ported at 429 F. Supp. 711 and is reprinted in the Appendix

hereto pp. A-1 infra. The opinion of the District Court

for the Eastern District of Louisiana denying petitioner’s

motion for relief under a Rule 60(b) motion is reported at

441 F. Supp. 1121 and is reprinted in the Appendix hereto

pp. A-8 infra.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was rendered on

July 31, 1980. Jurisdiction of this Court is invoked pursuant

to 28 U.S. C. Section 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

Due to the large number of statutes involved in this litiga-

tion, they are merely listed here and are reprinted in the Appen-

dix hereto pp. A-76 infra.

United States Constitution

U. S. CONST., Amend. 11

U. S. CONST., Amend. 10

Federal Statutes

42 U.S.C. Section 1988 (Supp. 1976)

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

Fed. R. Civ. P. 69

Fed. R. Civ. P. 70

Louisiana Constitution

LA. Const., art. VII, sec. 10(a)

LA. CONST., art. XII, sec. 10(c)

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case originated as class action litigation concerning

mentally retarded and/or emotionally disturbed children

from Louisiana who were placed in Texas institutions by the

Department of Health and Human Resources due to a lack of

space in such Louisiana institutions, Jurisdiction of the district

court was invoked under 5 U. S. C, Section 1321, 1332, 1343,

1361 and 28 U. S. C. Section 2201 et seg. (Supp. 1980).

Before the 1977 legislative session began, a judgment in this

case by the United States District Court for the Eastern District

of Louisiana ordered the return of the Louisiana children from

Texas to Louisiana at an untold cost to the state since there

were no facilities available to house the children. In addition

plaintiffs were held entitled to attorneys’ fees under the Civil

Rights Attorneys’ Fees Act of 1976, 42 U. S. C. 1988 (Supp.

1976), formerly Chapter 114, Section 18, 16 Stat. 144 (1870).

See Gary W. v. State of Louisiana, 429 F. Supp. 711 (E. D. La.

1977), L/

During the same session the Louisiana Legislature was faced

with an opinion by the United States Court of Appeals for

the Fifth Circuit affirming an extensive lower court order to

upgrade the state penitentiary. 2/ The state was ordered to

implement reforms that would cost in excess of one hundred

million dollars.

1/ Due to the procedural complexity of this case, we borrow heavily

from the syllabus provided by the Fifth Circuit in this matter. See, Gary

W. v. State of Louisiana, 622 F, 2d 804, 806 (5th Cir., 1980).

2) ‘Williams v. McKeithen, 547 F, 2d 1206 (5th Cir. 1978).

a

Judge Goldberg. in his opinion for the Fifth Circuit, makes

reference to two attempts by the Louisiana Legislature to pass

an appropriation for the award of attorneys’ fees in this case.

Gary W. v. State of Louisiana, 622 F. 2d 804, 805 - 806 (Sth

Cir. 1980). It appears from a careful analysis that the same

legislator introduced two bills to appropriate the funds during

the 1977 session. He abandoned one and brought the other

to the House floor for a vote, which was defeated by a vote of

47 to 48. .3/ While there is no recorded transcript of the de-

bate of the Louisiana Legislature, it has been reported that the

legislators were concerned with the award of $204,916.88 in

the case at bar when compared to the potential attorneys’

fees in the Williams case -4/ for the reform of the state peniten-

tiary.

The Louisiana Constitution Article 7, Section 10 mandates

the following:

“Section 10. (A) Appropriations. Except as otherwise

provided by this constitution, money shall be drawn

from the state treasury only pursuant to an appropria-

tion made in accordance with law.”

while Article 12, Section 10(c) provides

“The legislature shall provide a procedure for suits

against the state, a state agency, or a political subdivi-

sion. It shall provide for the effect of a judgment, but

no public property or public funds shall be subject to

seizure. No judgment against the state,

3/ See Official Journal of the Louisiana House of Representatives

May 18, 1977 and August 11, 1977, Appendix pp. A-79.

4/ Award of $27,500.00 was made by the District Court after eleven

years of litigation. Williams v. McKeithen, M. D. La., 71-98 (unreported

minute entry) August 4, 1980,

a state agency, or a political subdivision shall be exi-

gible, payable, or paid except from funds appropriated

therefore by the legislature or by the political subdivi-

sion against which judgment is rendered.”

Without such an appropriation, no funds may be withdrawn by

any state official to pay a judgment. Accordingly, the Attorney

General was requested to ask the District Court to reconsider

the award of attorneys’ fees in this case.

The plaintiffs, incensed at the Legislature’s refusal to ap-

propriate the funds, immediately directed the clerk of the

district court to issue a writ of seizure in the form of a fieri

facias directing the U. S. Marshall to seize a bank account of

Department of Health and Human Resources in order to satisfy

the judgment. The State moved to quash the writ of fieri facias

on the ground that the Louisiana Constitution prohibits the

seizure of public property to satisfy a judgment against the

state or a state agency.

Judge Alvin B. Rubin, Circuit Judge, sitting by designa-

tion on the Eastern District bench, struck down the State’s

contention that the pivotal issue of the parameters of the

Court’s discretion to award fees had never been properly

briefed or argued. He further ruled that the federal court “need

not face the difficult problems” -/ of whether Louisiana law

would control execution on a money judgment under rule

69, because rule 70 (specific performance) provided all the

authority needed to execute on the judgment and was not

controlled by state procedure and practice. In dicta he stated

that 42 U. S.C. Section 1988 was a federal law under the terms

of Rule 69 and would supercede state law. He ordered the

state to place $225,000 in a bank account controlled by the

Clerk of Court.

5/ Gary W. v. State of Louisiana, 441 F. Supp. 1121, 1126 (B. D. La.

1977)

The State took exception to such a ruling, and promptly

appealed to the Sth Circuit. Judge Goldberg, writing for the

Circuit, summarily affirmed Judge Rubin in a seven paragraph

decision stating that

“the previous ruling in Gates v. Collier, 616 F. 2d

1268 (5th Cir. 1980) controlled the issue sol

enforcement of attorneys’ fees through Rule 70.”

Petitioners, seeking a more definitive consideration of the

delicate and difficult issues of federalism involved, made timely

application to this court for a writ of certiorari.

6/ Gary W. v. State of Louisiana, 622 F, 2d 804, 805 (5th Cir. 1980)

-5-

REASONS FOR GRANTING WRIT

The decision of the 5th Circuit in Gary W. v. State of Louisi-

ana, 622 F. 2d 804 (5th Cir. 1980) is an unwarranted and

significant extension of this Court’s decision in Hutto v. Finney,

437 U. S. 678 (1978). It should be reversed.

In Hutto, a 5/4 majority held that the Civil Rights Attorney’s

Fees Award Act of 1976 in conjunction with the 14th Amend-

ment authorizes the award of attorney’s fees against the states

per se.

Claims made by the State of Arkansas that the States were

protected by the 11th Amendment were specifically rejected.

The majority successfully argued that Congress had the power

to defeat the States’ 11th Amendment immunity from retro-

active relief in order to enforce the 14th Amendment.

In addition, the opinion stated that the intent of Congress

to award attorney’s fees against the States was sufficiently

evidenced by the legislative history and need not be expressed

in clear statutory language, as costs, including attorneys fees,

were traditionally taxed against the States without regard for

their 11th Amendment immunity.

However, the dissenting justices, relying on Edelman v,

Jordan, 415 U. S. 651 (1974) and Fitzpatrick v. Bitzei, 427

U. S. 445 (1976), maintained that ‘‘the threshold fact of con-

gressional authorization to sue a class of defendants which

literally includes States is wholly absent” Hutto at 705 (dis-

senting) (emphasis in original). Accordingly, they argued that

clear statutory language was required in order to defeat the

protection of the 11th Amendment, and denied that attorneys’

fees should be awarded against the States.

Further, they warned that they did not view attorneys’ fees

-

as having been traditionally awarded against the States as costs,

and that such fees were not routine expenses comparable to

a filing fee as alleged by the majority.

Rather, i emphasized that the ‘fees may involve sub-

stantial sums -/ ” Hutto at 707 (dissenting) and could “place

new or even enormous fiscal burdens on the States, . . . under-

mining the values of federalism served by the 11th Amend-

ment” Hutto at 705 (dissenting).

Hutto, however, did not decide the issues clearly presented

in Gary W. and its companion case Gates v, Collier, 616 F. 2d

1268 (5th Cir. 1980). In Gary W. the issue is not the federal

courts’ power to award attorneys’ fees, but rather the advisi-

bility of federal seizure of state funds when there is a conflict

over the payment of an award of attorney’s fees. Hutto did not

reach this issue. It stopped short of the Gary W. problem

saying only that the courts had the power to make such an

award,

Assuming arguendo a concurrence with the majority view

in Hutto, the power to award attorneys’s fees does not include

within its logical bounds the power to delve into the public

fisc in the face of opposition to such an award. Such a seizure

is an entirely different and more delicate issue. The principles

of federalism demand that the States retain their essential

governmental functions. The integrity of any state is compro-

mised by the order of a federal court to disburse state funds

in contravention of the State’s own Constitution.

It is appropriate then that this court make a decision as to

1) whether the purpose sought to be achieved is important

1! Fees in this case to date including interest are well over $250,000.00.

enough to justify this significant and further intrusion into

state sovereignty, i. e. an exercise by the courts of the legislative

functions and 2) if the intrusion is justified is there sufficient

Congressional authorization in the statutes as written, i. e.

would specific statutory language be needed to authorize such a

seizure?

These decisions were not made in Hutto, and it is not ap-

propriate for the Sth Circuit to assume them from the language

of Hutto.

On the contrary this is a case of first impression and should

be decided by this Court. Although in 1917 the case of Virginia

v. West Virginia, 246 U. S. 884, addressed the issue of the

right of the federal courts to enforce a monetary judgment, the

case is clearly distinguishable.

That case dealt with a controversy over a contract between

two states. The court derived its authority to enforce the

monetary judgment by mandamus of the legislature, by levy

of taxes, or by any other means from the original jurisdiction

given to the court over controversies between states. It dis-

cussed at length the reasons for such an extraordinary waiver

of the separation of powers including the fact that there might

be no other way to resolve a controversy between states short

of war.

However, even after noting that they had the power to en-

force the judgment by whatever means necessary, the court

chose not to exercise that power and returned the case to the

docket for further argument so that they might be “spared in

the future the necessity of exerting compulsory power against

one of the states of the Union” Ibid. at 892.

It is urged that such should be the stance of this Court. As

the court realized in Virginia v. West Virginia, an imposition

upon the theories of federalism and separation of powers is so

-8-

grave a constitutional conflict that ‘t should only be under-

taken when there is no other alternative. In the instant case

there are several other solutions, most notably specific remedial

legislation by Congress to correct this problem. The State of

Louisiana contends that Congress never envisioned such a con-

flict and they certainly never envisioned that the federal courts

would seize huge amounts of taxpayers’ money as a result of

that conflict. The State certainly does not wish to pass before

this court an interminable parade of horribles which may

emanate from a decision allowing the federal courts to supplant

the state legislatures. Suffice it to say that a ruling allowing

federal court interference in state fiscai matters would be the

beginning of the end of the principles of federalism and separa-

tion of powers as we know them today.

This Court has counseled such restraint by the federal courts

previously. In Metcalf and Eddy v. Mitchell, 269 U. S. 514,

523 (1926), you said that there is an

“. . . essential requirement of our constitutional system

that the Federal government must exercise its authority

within the territorial limits of the states; and it rests on

the conviction that each government in order that it

may administer its affairs within its own, sphere, must

be left free from undue interference by the other.”

And as recently as 1976 in the National League of Cities

case this theory was reaffirmed.

“We have repeatedly recognized that there are attributes

of sovereignty attaching to every state government

which may not be impaired by Congress, not because

Congress may lack an affirmative grant of legislative

authority to reach the matter, but because the constitu-

tion prohibits it from exercising the authority in that

manner.” National League of Cities v. Usery, 426 U.S.

833, 845 (1976).

Judge Lumbard, writing for the 2nd Circuit this past summer

also recognized the necessity of restraint in enforcing monetary

judgments against states. In New York State Association for

Retarded Children v. Carey, ,F. 2d , Nos. 1215,

1235 (2ad Cir. June 4, 1980) 8/ the State of New York signed

a consent decree wherein Governor Carey agreed to make his

best effort to secure funds for specified programs for the re-

tarded.

When the legislature refused to appropriate the money,

plaintiffs moved to have the Governor held in contempt unless

he paid the funds in contavention of the direct orders of the

legislature. The district court granted plaintiff's demands, but

on appeal the 2nd Circuit reversed, writing in part:

“The cases appellees cite did not, however, involve

the remedy ordered in this case: that a state official

expend state funds for a purpose expressly disallowed

by the state legislature. We have previously held, and

repeat here, that a federal district court ought not to

put itself in the difficult position of trying to enforce

a direct order . . . to raise and allocate large sums of

money, . .. steps traditionally left to appropriate execu-

tive and legislative bodies responsible to the voters.”

Carey, supra., . (emphasis added).

Now only have the Eastern District of Louisiana and the

5th Circuit failed to exercise the restraint that should be shown

in federal/state relations, but they have fashioned a new reme-

dy. A very strained and incorrect reading of Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure 69 and 70 is necessary in order to effectuate the

_8/ Reprinted in this Appendix at A-62.

-10-

result that they desire, namely collection of a money judgment

under the provisions of Rule 70 for specific performance.

Rule 69 was intended to control the execution of money

judgments and is governed by state practice and procedure.

Under the applicable Louisiana procedure, the plaintiffs were

unable to execute on their judgment. Judge Rubin, sitting

by designation on the Eastern District Bench, called it an

“intellectually wrong conclusion” that state procedure could

operate to extinguish the right to execution. Accordingly, he

twisted the language of 69 and 70 to allow execution on a

money judgment under 70.

But other courts have not seen the issue in that light. The

Ninth Circuit in Hamilton v. MacDonald, 503 F. 2d 1138

(9th Cir. 1974) recognized that such a result could obtain and

was correct.

It is, of course, somewhat anomalous that the Federal

Rules of Civil: Procedure, which purport to abolish the

distinction between suits at law and equity (F. R. Civ.

P. 2), operate to adopt a state statute extinguishing the

right to execution on a judgment at law for money,

but not in the case of an essentially equitable decree.

The distinction traces to the sources of present Rules

69 (a) and 70. . . . thus, through the combined effect

of Equity rule 8 and R. S. Subsection 916, process to

execute an equitable decree solely for the payment of

money was like that to execute a judgment at law,

according to state pratice. Ibid., 1148.

It is further submitted that if rule 69 were not to apply

to the execution of all money judgments, that there would

have been an exception clearly provided within the terms of

Rule 69.

Nevertheless, both the trial court and the appeal court

A he

relying on the logic of the companion case Gates v. Collier,

extrapolated Hutto to an end certainly not intended by Con-

gress or this Court. Gates uses a series of glib statements to

construct an argument that supports the use of Rule 70 for

execution of a money judgment. The argument, however, never

deals successfully with the problems of federalism and separa-

tion of powers. It merely glosses over the confrontation.

The primary fallacy in the Gates argument is the assumption

that the power to award attorneys’ fees granted by this Court

in Hutto and the power to seize funds out of a state treasury

are the same. They are not. The latter implies a much greater

intrusion into state affairs and the functions of the legislature.

A series of easily rebuttabal arguments buttress the assumption.

Gates postulates that neither Hutto nor the legislative history

of the Act ‘address the question of how to make an unwilling

state or its officials satisfy a judgment for attorney’s fees.”

Gates at 1271. However, the question could just as easily be

stated as how to make a state or its officials who are protected

by state procedure pay.

Gates correctly proceeds to the proposition that Congress

did not deal with this problem because they assumed enforcabi-

lity would be governed by the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

But Gates then alleges that Rule 70 comes in to reinforce

rule 69, when enforcement is not available under Rule 69 due

to state procedure. Gates provides no authority for such a

statement, and ignores the fact, as treated earlier in this dis-

cussion, that sometimes judgments simply are not enforcable.

See Hamilton v. MacDonald, 503 F. 2d 1138 (9th Cir. 1974);

South Dakota v. North Carolina, 192 U. S. 448 (1903); Nixon

v. Sirica, 487 F. 2d 700 (D. C. Cir. 1973).

Further, Gates uses quotations from Hutto out of context

-]2-

as the basis for statements of law that have no support. For

instance,

‘“‘a federal court’s interest in orderly, expeditions pro-

ceedings Hutto v. Finney, 437 U. S. at 696, justifies

any reasonable action taken by the court to secure

compliance with its orders.” Gates at 1271.

This is true, but only within a certain context, that context

being that reasonable action by the court must be made within

the framework of the rules of procedure. Gates perverts the

meaning intended by saying that it may twist the rules of civil

procedure to arrive at a result it considers to be reasonable and

equitable.

Gates concludes its argument by citing Judge Rubin’s opinion

on the case at bar while sitting on the Eastern District Bench:

“The issue here is not one of judicial confrontation

with the state. It is one of implementation of a Congres-

sional mandate,’ Id. at 1125 (emphasis added).”” Gates

at 1272.

Both Judge Rubin and the Sth Circuit have simply missed

the point. This is not an either/or situation. It is not judicial

confrontation with the state or implementation of a Congres-

sional mandate. It is implementation of a Congressional man-

date within the context of a judicial confrontation with the

state. In other words, the mandates of Congress as interpreted

by Hutto should be carried out, but this court and the Congress

must find a way to do so without infringing upon the principles

of federalism and separation of powers thought by the Found-

ing Fathers to be necessary to the survivial of this nation as

created.

13.

CONCLUSION

Gary W. is a case of first impression and should be decided

by this court. Hutto did not decide this case. The Sth Circuit’s

assumption that it did is an unwarranted and significant ex-

tension of Hutto.

Some lawyers have made the comment that they regard

the Hutto decision as an invitation to raid State treasuries.

Is that really what this Court meant by that decision? Evident-

ly the district and appellate courts thought so.

When the Department of Health and Human Resources of

the State of Louisiana is ordered to place $225,000.00 in a

bank account controlled by the federal court in direct contra-

vention of Louisiana law and the Federal Rules of Civil Proce-

dure, matters have come to a grave pass.

Congress never contemplated this federal/state confrontation.

This Court has counseled restraint in order to avoid this type

of confrontation. The 2nd Circuit in Carey went out of its

way. to avoid just such a confrontation. Only the erroneous,

strained reading placed on rules 69 and 70 by the district court

and the 5th Circuit permitted the development of this confron-

tation.

Unless this court steps in to bring order out of increasing

chaos the result may be catastrophic to federalism as we have

come to know it.

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM J. GUSTE, JR.

ATTORNEY GENERAL

STATE OF LOUISIANA

KENDALL L. VICK

ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL

PATRICIA NALLEY BOWERS

STAFF ATTORNEY

PAUL A. ECKERT

STAFF ATTORNEY

- ed, CA

—

—_

Ss ae

JUSTICE

234 LOYOLA AVENUE, 7TH FLOOR

NEW ORLEANS, LOUISIANA 70112

PHONE: (504) 568 - 5575

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

Undersigned counsel for Petitioner certifies that service

of this Petition for Writ of Certiorari has been made upon

counsel for respondents this date, in accordance with law, by

depositing three copies thereof in the United States Mail,

postage prepaid, to the following persons:

Marion Wright Edelman

Daniel Yohalem

Children’s Defense Fund

1520 N. Hampshire Avenue, N. W.

Washington, D. C. 20036

Stephen Berzon

177 Post Street

Suite 700

San Francisco, California 94108

William Rittenberg

127 Camp Street

New Orleans, Louisiana 70130

-16-

GARY W. et al.,

v.

STATE OF LOUISIANA et al.

Civ. A No. 74-2412

United States District Court,

E. D. Louisiana

Feb. 3, 1977.

ALVIN B. RUBIN, District Judge.

The award of attorneys fees to the plaintiffs in this case is

authorized by recent congressional legislation, The Civil Rights

Attorneys Fees Award Act of 1976, P. L. 94-559, and they will

be granted in the amount stipulated by the parties. L/ This

decision has been reached after full consideration of a number

of issues.

I, THE ELEVENTH AMENDMENT AND P. L. 94-559.

{1,2] The Eleventh Amendment forbids a decree that

would compel a state to pay damages to a private party. Edel-

man v. Jordan, 415 U. S. 651, 94 S. Ct. 1347, 39 L. Ed. 2d

662 (1974) 2/ But the Fourteenth Amendment succeeded the

1/ Statement of Understanding and Joint Stipulation, filed December

27, 1976.

2/ Though this suit is brought against individuals, not against the state

per se, it is, in effect “seeking to impose a liability which must be paid

from public funds in the state treasury . . . .” Edelman, 415 U. S. at 663,

94 S. Ct. at 1356. The individuals are being sued in their official capaci-

ties and not merely as private citizens.

[W]hen the action is in essence one for the recovery of money

from the state, the state is the real, substantial party in interest

and is entitled to invoke its sovereign immunity from suit even

though individual officials are nominal defendants.

Ford Motor Co. v. Department of Treasury, 323 U. S. 459, at 464, 65 S.

Ct. 347, at 350, 89 L. Ed. 389 (1945).

A-1

Eleventh and Section 5 of the Fourteenth Amendment gave

Congress the power to enforce the Fourteenth Amendment

“by appropriate legislation.” Therefore, the Supreme Court

held in Fitzpatrick v. Bitzer, 1976, 427 U. S. 445, 96 S. Ct.

2666, 49 L. Ed. 2d 614, that Congress may enact legislation

permitting damage recoveries against the states when such

legislation is necessary to enforce the Fourteenth Amendment.

Congress may deem that effectuation of the purposes of the

Amendment requires that a state defendant may be held not

only for actual damages in the traditional sense but also for the

attorney’s fees that are necessary in some instances to imple-

ment fully a Civil Rights action. In Bitzer, which involved

the award of attorney’s fees under Title VII of the Civil Rights

Act, the Court recognized that a line of cases defining the

parameters of Sec. five,

As sanctioned intrusions by Congress, acting under the

Civil War Amendments, into the judicial, executive,

and legislative spheres of autonomy previously reserved

to the States. The legislation considered in each case

was grounded on the expansion of Congress’ powers -

with the corresponding diminution of state sover-

eignty-found to be intended by the Framers and made

part of the Constitution ....

96 S. Ct. at 2671. Thus, “. . . the Eleventh Amendment, and

the principle of state sovereignty which it embodies . . . are

necessarily limited by the enforcement provisions of Sec. 5

of the Fourteenth Amendment.” Jd.

Congress, in enacting P. L. 94-599, considered 42 U. S. C.

sec. 1983 as part of the enforcement mechanism of the Four-

teenth Amendment -3/ The report of the House Judiciary

3/ Accord, Wade v. Mississippi Cooperative Extension Service,U. S.

D.C. N. Miss., 424 F. Supp. 1242, 1976.

A-2

Committee states: “Of course, the 11th Amendment is not a

bar to the awarding of counsel fees against state governments.

Fitzpatrick v. Bitzer (citation omitted)”. . R. Rep. No. 94-

1558, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. p. 7. Congressman Drinan, the

author of the bill, said on the House floor shortly before

passage of the bill:

“The question has been raised whether allowing fees against

State governments in suits properly brought under the cover-

ed statutes would violate the 11th Amendment. That Amend-

ment limits the power of the Federal courts to entertain actions

against a state. This issue is no longer seriously in dispute after

the recent Supreme Court decision in Fitzpatrick against

Bitzer. Since this bill is enacted pursuant to the power of

Congress under section 2 of the 13th Amendment and section

5 of the 14th Amendment, any question arising under the

11th Amendment is resolved in favor of awarding fees against

State defendants. 122 Cong. Rec. 12160 (daily ed. Oct. 1,

1976). ” ,

It is true that part of the legal work of plaintiffs’ counsel

was devoted to the claim on behalf of ECA children, which

this court resolved on statutory rather than constitutional

issues. See, the Social Security Act, 42 U. S. C. §608(f) (1).

[3,4] But §1983 was enacted to protect citizens federal

rights, whether statutorily or constitutionally defined from

infringement by state officials. 4/ The plaintiffs’ federal

4 ty of Greenwood Mississippi v. Peacock, 1966, 384 U. S. 808,

86 S. Ct. 1800, 16 L. Ed, 2d 944; Gomez v. Florida State Employment

Service , 5 Cir, 1969, 417 F. 2d 569.

7%

statutory cause of action in Gary W. was brought as a § 1983

claim not on the basis of general federal question jurisdic-

tion. The essence of the plaintiffs’ claims was that their federal

rights had been violated by state officials acting under color of

state law. Thus, their claims are part of the §1983 mechanism

designed to enforce the Fourteenth Amendment.

Moreover, it appears that Congress contemplated enforce-

ment of the policies of the Fourteenth Amendment via P. L.

94-599 with regard to federal statutory rights, »/ Thus, there

is no reason to distinguish between compensation for legal

work accomplished on behalf of the ECA children and work

accomplished on behalf of the DFS children.

Il. APPLICATION OF P. L. 94-599 to “PENDING CASES”.

[5] P. L. 94-599 expressly applies to “‘pending cases”, 6/

The defendants do not dispute that this case is still “pending”

5/ Congressman Drinan stated:

[S]ection 1983 authorizes suits against State and local officials

based upon Federal statutory as well as constitutional rights. For

example, Blue against Craig, 505 F, 2d 830, 4th Cir, 1974.

122 Cong, Rec, 12159 (daily ed. Oct. 1, 1976) (emphasis added), Senator

Kennedy in referring to the types of cases covered by the new Act dis-

cussed, inter alia, a Social Security Act case and stated:

in each of these cases, the victim . . . had to go to court to en-

force the rights promised by Congress or the Constitution. Id.

at 17052 (emphasis added).

_6/ The House Judiciary Committee Report states:

In accordance with applicable decisions of the Supreme Court, the

bill is intended to apply to all cases pending on the date of enact-

ment as well as all future cases, Bradley v. Richmond School Board

H, R. Report No. 94-1558, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. p. 4 n. 6.

A-4

even though an opinion and order have been filed. (Def.’s

brief, p. 2). The question is whether an award can be made

only for those services rendered after the effective dute of the

enactment. In Bradley v. Richmond School District, 1974,

416 U. S. 696, 94 S. Ct. 2006, 40 L. Ed. 2d 476, the court

held that attorneys’ fees might be awarded even though the

statute authorizing recovery of attorneys fees, §718 of the

Emergency School Aid Act, was enacted after the date of

judgment and during the appellate deliberations of the case.

The court in Bradley mentioned concern over “the impact

of [a] change in law upon existing rights, or, to state it another

way, ... the possibility that new and unanticipated obligations

may be imposed upon a party without notice or an opportunity

to be heard,” 416 U. S. at. 720, 94 S. Ct. at 2020-2021. See

Thorpe v. Housing Authority of City of Durham, 1969, 393

U. S. 268, 89 S. Ct. 518, 21 L. Ed. 2d 474. But it found that

the defendant had always been subject to the possibility of a

fees award based on a private attorney general theory or a

finding of bad faith. Nor were new obligations imposed by the

award:

“Even assuming a degree of uncertainty in the law at that

time regarding the Board’s constitutional obligations, there is

no indication that the obligation under §718, if known, rather

than simply the common law availability of an award would

have caused the Board to order its conduct so as to render this

litigation unnecessary and thereby preclude the incurring of

such costs.”

416 U.S. at 722, 94S. Ct. at 2021.

The same considerations apply here. Notwithstanding some

uncertainty in the law on the right to treatment issue, there

has been no showing that the attorneys’ fees statute would

have prompted different behavior by the defendants. It imposed

A-5

no new legal obligation. 1/ This does not mean that a case

might not exist where retroactive application of an attorneys’

fees statute would impose a truly unforeseeable burden; this,

however, is not such a case.

Bradley has been interpreted to justify an award of attorneys’

fees for previously rendered services by the Sth Circuit in

Thompson v. Madison County Board of Education, 1974,

496 F. 2d 782, at 690. See Campbell v. Gadsen County District

School Board, 5th Cir. 1976, 534 F. 2d 650, at 568.

Beyond the Badley precedent for awarding statutorily

authorized attorneys’ fees for work accomplished prior to the

effective date of the enactment, the legislative history of P.

L. 94-599 supports the plaintiffs’ construction of the statute.

Congressman Drinan, sponsor of P. L. 94-599 stated

. , this bill would apply to cases pending on the date

of enactment. It is the settled rule that a change in

statutory law is to be applied to cases in litigation.

In Bradley versus Richmond School Board, the Supreme

Court expressly applied that long-standing rule to an

Attorney fee provision, including the award of fees for

services rendered prior to the effective date of the

statute. Id. at 12160. (emphasis added).

Ii]. APPORTIONMENT OF “PREVAIL.NG PARTY” BASIS.

It is presumed that the stipulation of counsel for plaintiffs

1) See Ferguson v. Winn Parish Police Jury, 5 Cir. 1976, 528 F. 2d

592, n. 13 where the court awarded attorneys’ fees in a Voting Rights

Act suit challenging the apportionment of the police jury and the use

of multi-member districts, a poorly marked legal territory in which the

defendants might well have been unable to foresee the court’s decision.

A-6

and counsel for state-defendants obviates the need for ap-

portionment of fees. The stipulation indicates the number of

hours for which the plaintiffs are to be remunerated, and was

entered into after the defendants briefed the “prevailing party”

issue.

In any event, approtionment of the fees to each discrete

issue in this complex litigation would be virtually impossible.

Many issues were resovled between the parties by agreement

after protracted discussion. The court therefore awards at-

torneys’ fees consistent with the stipulation of the parties. If

the state defendants still pursue their argument and can suggest

a feasible method to the court for apportionment, together

with legal authority that apportionment is warranted, they

may apply for reconsideration.

A-7

GARY W. et al.

v.

STATE OF LOUISIANA et al.

Civ. A. No. 74-2412

United States District Court

E. D. Louisiana

Oct. 25, 1977

As Amended Oct. 31, 1977

ALVIN B. RUBIN, * Circuit Judge:

The plaintiffs, who have obtained a final judgment for their

attorneys’ fees against the State of Louisiana, now seek to

execute on that judgment. The state filed no appeal from the

judgment, and concedes that it is final, but urges that the judg-

ment is in effect uncollectible until the state chooses to pay it.

Because the statute of the Congress that controls this action,

adopted conformably to the Constitution, is the supreme law

of the land, it is the duty of this court to enforce that law and

to order the judgment satisfied.

On February 3, 1977, following extensive briefing and oral

argument, this court ruled that the plaintiffs are entitled to

attorneys’ fees under the Civil Rights Attorneys’ Fees Act of

1976, 90 Stat. 2641, 42 U. S.C. A. § 1988. Gary W., v. State

of Louisiana, E. D. La. 1977, 429 F. Supp. 711. On March

15, 1977, a judgment against the state defendants was entered

*Sitting as District Judge by designation of Chief Judge John R. Brown.

A-8

in accordance with that opinion. Paragraphs 4 through 6 4/

of that judgment ordered the Louisiana Department of Health

and Human Resources (DHHR) to pay the plaintiffs’ court

costs and reasonable attorneys’ fees.

The state defendants did not appeal the court’s judgment.

The time for appeal has long since passed. However, despite the

plaintiffs’ demands for payment, the state defendants have not

complied with the judgment entered against them. The Loui-

siana State Legislature voted this summer not to appropriate

funds sufficient to pay the plaintiffs’ court costs and attorneys’

fees as this court ordered over six months ago.

The state defendants now seek relief from the March 15

judgment, while the plaintiffs seek to enforce it.

Il

[1] The state defendants seek relief from judgment

under Rule 60(b) (1), Fed. R. Civ. Proc., which permits a court

to relieve a party of a final judgment against it on grounds of

“mistake, inadvertence, surprise, or excusable neglect.” The

state takes the position that the court mistakenly, inadvertent-

ly, or by excusable neglect failed to consider the discretionary

nature of attorneys’ fees awarded under 42 U. S.C. A. §1988.

1/ ‘Paragraphs 4 through 6 read as follows:

4. The Department of Health and Human Resources shall pay the

Children’s Defense Fund of the Washington Research Project $174,

519.88 for attorneys’ fees and litigation expenses incurred through

December 22, 1976, together with interest at the legal rate from

date of Judgment.

5. The Department of Health and Human Resources shall pay

William Rittenberg $30,397 for attorney’s fees incurred through

December 22, 1976, together with interest at the legal rate from

date of Judgment.

6. The Department of Health and Human Resources shall pay the

court costs of plaintiffs and plaintiff-intervenor as taxed by the

clerk of the court.

A-9

When the issue was first presented in this court, the state did

not offer in evidence any facts that would justify the denial of

attorneys’ fees to the plaintiff. It filed a brief contending that

attorneys’ fees should not be granted because the state defend-

ants were not in bad faith. This had been the principle applied

in Alyeska Pipeline Service Company v. The Wilderness Society,

1975, 421 U. S. 240, 95 S. Ct. 1612, 44 L. Ed. 2d 141, but the

Alyeska rule was changed by Congress when it enacted Public

Law 94-559, amending 42 U.S. C. A. §1988. The only other

defenses asserted were the applicability of the Eleventh Amend-

ment, the inapplicability of Public Law 94-559 because it was

enacted after this suit was filed, and the claim that the eat-

torneys’ fees should be mitigated because the plaintiffs did

not succeed in proving every issue they had raised initiatly.

Those defenses were likewise discussed in the prior opiaion.

The state never contended, nor did it ever offer any evidence to

show, that the court should, in the light of the principles

embodied in Public Law 94-559, refuse to allow attorneys’

fees. While the state now contends that the award of attorneys’

fees was erroneous under the terms of that statute, it offers

no evidence to support that conclusion.

The Fifth Circuit has recently announced the standard

to guide discretion in awarding attorneys’ fees under 42 U. S.C.

A. § 1988. In Brown v. Culpepper, Sth Cir. 1977, 559 F. 2d

274, the court said that a plaintiff in such an action, if success-

ful, “should ordinarily recover an attorney’s fee unless special

circumstances would render such an award unjust.’ Brown,

supra, 559 F. 2d at 277. This was the rule adopted by the

Supreme Court with respect to Title II of the Civil Rights Act

of 1964, 78 Stat. 244, 42 U. S. C. A. §2000a-3, in Newman

v. Piggie Park Enterprises, 1968, 390 U. S. 400, 402, 88 S. Ct.

964, 19 L. Ed. 2d 1263.

The state defendants have offered no evidence of special

A-10

7%

circumstances that would render the March 15 judgment un-

just. Cf. Northcross v. Board of Ed. of the Memphis City

Schools, 412 U. S. 427, 428, 93 S. Ct. 2201, 37 L. Ed. 2d

48 (1973). The award was not predicated on a finding of bad

faith. It was based on the thesis, since adopted in Brown, that

Congress intended an award to be made unless there were

special circumstances making the award unjust. Therefore, the

defendants’ motion for relief from judgment must be denied.

Ill

The next group of issues deals with the alleged procedural

barriers to enforcement of the order. Faced with the state

defendants’ refusal to comply with the court’s March 15 judg-

ment, the plaintiffs have caused a writ of fieri facias to be

issued to the United States Marshal for the Eastern District of

Louisiana commanding him to seize the:

‘“* , , rights and credits of the Louisiana Department of Health

and Human Resources, particularly funds under the control

of said Department deposited in the American Bank and Trust

of Baton Rouge...”

in an amount sufficient to satisfy that judgment. Plaintiffs now

seek to execute that writ under Rule 69(a), Fed. R. Civ. Proc.

by petitioning to make American Bank and Trust

a garnishee in these proceedings; in the alternative, plaintiffs

move for an order under Rule 70, Fed. R. Civ. Proc., directing

the DHHR to pay the March 15 judgment, plus such additional

fees and expenses as plaintiffs have incurred in securing compli-

ance with that judgment. The state defendants, in turn have

moved to quash the writ.

The state defendants maintain that the plaintiffs are not

entitled to execution under Rule 69(a), or to a Rule 70 order

directing compliance with the March 15 judgment. The state’s

position is set forth in the following series of hypotheses:

A-11

1. The court cannot order the payment of a money judg-

ment under Rule 70 because that rule concerns only the “‘per-

formance of specific acts.”

2. Consequently, any relief must be ordered under the

terms of Rule 69.

3. Rule 69(a) provides that the procedure on execution or

in aid of execution “shall be in accordance with the practice

and procedure of the state in which the district court is held,

. except any statute of the United States governs to the

extent that it is applicable.”

4. Because no federal statute prescribes a garnishment

procedure, DHHR funds may be seized only in accordance with

the “practice and procedure” of the State of Louisiana.

5. The “practice and procedure’’ of Louisiana includes

art. XII, §10(C) of the 1974 Constitution of the State of Louisi-

ana, which provides:

“The legislature shall provide a procedure for suits against the

state, a state agency, or a political subdivision. It shall provide

for the effect of a judgment, but no public funds shall be sub-

ject to seizure. No judgment against the state, a state agency,

or a political subdivision shall be exigible, payable, or paid

except from funds appropriated therefor by the legislature

or by the political subdivision against which judgment is ren-

dered.”

6. Because Louisiana law proscribes the seizure of public

agency funds, relief cannot be awarded under Rule 69.

The court has parsed the state defendants’ argument in de-

tail because it is a delicately wrought chain of apparent logic

that leads to an ineluctably wrong conclusion. The defendants

would have the court read the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

A-12

in such fashion as to permit Louisiana or any other state to

ignore a federal judgment against it merely by enacting a

statute prohibiting the garnishment of state funds. If the

State of Louisiana may be relieved from satisfying this judg-

ment by a provision enacted in the past, albeit for a different

purpose, and embedded in the Constitution, then any other

state may achieve the same result.

{2] The issue here is not one of judicial confrontation

with the state. It is one of implementation of a Congressional

mandate. Following the decision in Alyeska Pipeline Service

Co. v. Wilderness Society, 1975, 421 U. S. 240, 95 S. Ct. 1612,

44 L. Ed. 2d 141, the Congress might have chosen to take no

legislative action. Or it might have decided to broaden the

basis for an award of attorneys’ fees against private litigants

but not to permit their recovery from the states. Instead it

chose to enact legislation granting the right to recover at-

torneys’ fees against all litigants as a means of strengthening

its efforts to protect individual rights under the powers con-

ferred by Section 5 of the Fourteenth Amendment to the

Constitution. When Congress determines to act pursuant to

the powers conferred on it by the Fourteenth Amendment,

its enactments take precedence over the laws of the states.

Neither state law nor the Eleventh Amendment protects states

from suits under such laws. Fitzpatrick v. Bitzer, 1976, 427

U. S. 445, 96 S. Ct. 2666, 49 L. Ed. 2d 614.

[3] Although Congress has spoken clearly, the state

defendants in effect contend that a judgment against a state

pursuant to the statutory command is merely hortatory, and

the state may elect not to satisfy it. But the statutes of the

Congress and the judgments of the federal courts enforcing

them are not precatory. They are, as the Constitution declares,

the supreme law of the land. U. S. Const. art. VI.

The Fifth Circuit has recently upheld an order issued under

Rule 70 that directed state defendants to pay a money judg-

A-13

7%

ment. In Gates v. Collier, 5th Cir., 1977, 559 F. 2d 241, the

court directed the payment of attorneys’ fees to successful

plaintiffs under 42 U. S. C. A. §1988, the statute involved

here. This is a recent, fully considered construction. This trial

court would be bound by that interpretation even were its

views different. Gates is authority both for the award of at-

torneys’ fees against the state, and for the propriety of using

Rule 70 for such a monetary allowance.

[4] The same procedure was approved in Gilbert v.

Johnson, 5th Cir. 1974, 490 F. 2d 827, where the court held

that the plaintiff properly sought monetary relief for unlaw-

ful dismissal from his position with a Veterans Administration

Hospital under Rule 70. Cf., Finney v. Hutto, 8th Cir. 1977,

548 F. 2d 740 . These cases indicate that Rule 70 may be used

as a means to collect a money judgment rendered in an equit-

able proceeding. Consequently, the relief the plaintiffs seek

is permissible under Rule 70.

[5] The difficult problems of construing Rule 69 need

not be faced because relief is available under Rule 70. How-

ever, perhaps supererogatorily, those problems will be discussed

so that the appellate court will have my views before it should

that court reach the issue. Rule 69(a) provides, in part:

“The procedure on execution, in proceedings supplementary

to and in aid of a judgment, and in proceedings on and in

aid of execution shall be in accordance with the practice and

procedure of the state in which the district court is held,

. . except that any statute of the United States governs to the

extent that it is applicable.”

The defendants correctly insist that the state ‘“‘practice and

procedure” to which Rule 69(a) refers includes states ex-

ceptions of particular property from execution, such as Louisi-

ana’s constitutional proscription against the seizure of public

funds. La. Const. art. XII, §10(c). But if a federal statute is

A-14

applicable, federal statutory exemptions govern execution

practice, Drafter’s Committee Note of 1937 to Rule 69(a), 7

Moore’s Federal Practice 469.01[2] (2d Ed. 1975). It would

be anomalous to interpret the rule so that an applicable federal

statute imports the federal exemptions of property from

execution, while the state “practice and procedure” referred

to in the same sentence does not include the protection of

state exemptions. Cf., United States v. Miller, 3d Cir. 1956,

229 F. 2d 839.

If the plaintiff relies on the state procedure, the state ex-

emption is applicable. On the other hand, if the provisions of

42 U.S.C. A. §1988 are applicable, then that “statute of the

United States governs.” It is literally true that §1988 says

nothing about the means of collecting the attorneys’ fees it

authorizes. Further, those federal statutes cited by the 1937

committee as controlling under Rule 69 speak of execution di-

rectly, while § 1988 does not.

[6,7] However, a remedial statute should not be read as

if it were a lexicon for scriveners. ‘The duty of ascertaining

[an enacted law’s] meaning is difficult enough at best and one

certain way of missing it is by reading it literally . . .”” Address

by Judge Learned Hand, April 10, 1959, in Leflar, Appellate

Judicial Opinions 73 (1974). While §1988 does not mention

the method of its enforcement, the origin and purpose of the

1976 amendment suggest that Congress intended both to

create the entitlement to the fees and to provide a means of

enforcing this remedy. The statute was adopted to provide

attorneys’ fees in situations where they were not available

under the Alyeska rule. It was intended to apply to states

and state officials. And it was intended to be effective against

them, not to be hortatory. The Senate report recites:

“As with the cases brought under 20 U. S. C. §1617,

the Emergency School Aid Act of 1972, defendants in these

cases are often State or local bodies or State of local officials.

A-15

“In such cases it is intended that the attorneys’ fees, like other

items of costs, will be collected either directly from the official,

in his official capacity, from funds of his agency or under his

control, or from the State or local government (whether or not

the agency or government is a named party).”

S. Rep. No. 94-1011, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. (1976), U. S. Code

Cong. & Admin. News, 1976, pp. 5908, 5913. (Emphasis

added.) Within the last month, the Fifth Circuit has twice

held that judicial interpretation of §1988 is to be guided by

this passage. Gates, supra, at 243; Universal Amusement Com-

- pany v. Vance, 5th Cir. 1977, 559 F. 2d 1286, at 1301 & n.

36. See also, Finney v. Hutto, 8th Cir. 1977, 548 F. 2d 740,

742. The evident purpose of the statute compels us to construe

§ 1988, not state procedure, as being applicable for purposes

of Rule 69.

This conclusion is buttressed by the history of Rule 69.

That rule was originally drafted to follow 28 U. S. C. §729

(1940), a statutory predecessor to 42 U. S. C. § 1988. 7 Moore’s

Federal Practice 469.01[2] (2d Ed. 1975). At that time §

1988 said nothing about attorneys’s fees but provided merely:

The jurisdiction in civil and criminal matters conferred

on the district courts by the provisions of this chapter

and Title 18, for the protection of all persons in the

United States in their civil rights, and for their vindi-

cation, shall be exercised and enforced in conformity

with the laws of the United States, so far as such laws

are suitable to carry the same into effect; but in all

cases where they are not adapted to the object, or are

deficient in the provisions necessary to furnish suitable

remedies and punish offenses against law, the common

law, as modified and changed by the constitution and

statutes of the State wherein the court having juris-

diction of such civil or criminal cause is held, so far as

the same is not inconsistent with the Constitution and

A-16

laws of the United States, shall be extended to and

govern the said courts in the trial and disposition of

the cause, and, if it is of a criminal nature, in the inflic-

tion of punishment on the party found guilty.

It then specifically contemplated that state and federal law

would play complementary roles in securing civil rights. It is

reasonable to believe that, in amending §1988, Congress in-

tended to alter those respective roles, and to give extra en-

couragement to plaintiffs who seek to enforce civil rights in

federal courts. Congress thus gave further emphasis to the

federal interest in civil rights enforcement. The same federal

interest that led to the creation of the right must extend to an

adequate means of enforcing it. Construing Rule 69 to permit

the recovery of attorneys’ fees against states notwithstanding

a state proscription against the seizure of public funds is

consistent with that interpretation.

Conversely, state procedure was held to govern federal ex-

ecution of judgments in cases where there was no significant

federal interest in the remedy. In Yazell v. United States,

1966, 382 U. S. 341, 86 S. Ct. 500, 15 L. Ed. 2d 404 aff’g

United States v. Yazell, Sth Cir. 1964, 334 F. 2d 454, the

Supreme Court held that the law of coverture in Texas pre-

cluded the United States from collecting on a Small Business

Administration disaster loan from the separate property of the

debtor wife. The court said:

We do not here consider the question of the constitu-

tional power of Congress to override state law in these

circumstances by direct legislation. . . . We decide

only that this Court, in the absence of specific congres-

sional action, should not decree in this situation that

implementation of federal interests requires overriding

the particular state rule involved here.

A-17

7%

382 U. S. at 352, 86 S. Ct. at 506.

Here, however, Congress has acted. Cf., Huddleston v. Dwyer,

1944, 322 U. S. 232, 64S. Ct. 1015, 88 L. Ed. 1246 holding

that state law controls the question whether a county must

levy a tax to pay off bonds on a cause of action arising under

state law.

The plaintiffs have stated in oral argument that they have

no preference with respect to the type of relief granted, while

the state defendants have stated that, if relief is to be granted,

they would prefer an order issue pursuant to Rule 70.

[8] State defendants were given an opportunity, even

after these motions were heard, to suggest a manner in which

they would satisfy the judgment. But they have not offered

any kind of compliance with the judgment, direct or indirect,

soon or after an interval. This court would not be fulfilling

its duty if it failed to enforce the constitutional statutes of the

Congress. Pursuant to that duty, it grants the plaintiffs the

relief they seek in accordance with the procedure set forth in

Rule 70.

IV

[9] In accordance with this opinion, an order shall issue

directing state defendants to pay plaintiffs’ attorneys from

DHHR funds those fees and costs specified in the March 15,

1977 judgment, plus interest.

In addition, the plaintiffs seek attorneys’ fees and costs

to compensate them for the present action to enforce the

March 15 judgment. The Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals has

not decided whether such relief is available on facts such as

those before the court. The Court of Appeals has, however,

held that an award of attorneys’ fees under Title II of the

Civil Rights Act of 1964, supra, may include compensation

A-18

for the defense of an appeal on the propriety of attorneys’

fees. Miller v. Amusement Enterprises, Sth Cir. 1970, 426

F. 2d 534, 539. The state defendants here have contested the

plaintiffs’ right to attorneys’ fees through resistance, rather

than appeal. The cost of overcoming that resistance, like the

cost of defending an appeal successfully, is rightly compensable

under 42 U. S. C. A. §1988, the terms of which are identical

to the provisions regarding attorneys’ fees in Title II.

The parties have stipulated that, if this amount is recover-

able, the sum due is $2,322.00 to the Children’s Defense Fund,

and $1,000.00 to William Rittenberg. These amounts will

be added to the judgment.

West Key Number System

A-19

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA

GARY W., ET AL.

VERSUS

STATE OF LOUISIANA, ET AL.

CIVIL ACTION

NO, 74-2412

SECTION “C”

Filed Nov. 16, 1977

ORDER FIXING SECURITY IN THE FORM OF ESCROW

ACCOUNT IN LIEU OF SUPERSEDEAS BOND FOR STAY

OF EXECUTION PENDING APPEAL

This cause came on to be heard on Motion of Defendant,

Dr. WILLIAM CHERRY, Secretary of Louisiana Department of

Health and Human Resources, for waiver of supersedeas bond

as security for stay of execution granted by order herein on

October 28, 1977, and it appearing to the court that an escrow

account would be as appropriate as a supersedeas bond for

security for the stay.

IT IS ORDERED that a supersedeas bond to secure the

stay of execution granted by order herein on October 28,

1977, is not required and, in lieu of such supersedeas bond,

the defendant, DR. WILLIAM CHERRY, within ten days

thereafter shall place in an escrow account with a bank or

other solvent depositary the sum of $225,000, which princi-

pal sum shall not be withdrawable nor transferable except on

order to the bank or other solvent depositary by the Clerk

of the United States District Court, Eastern District of Louisi-

ana, and which shall come from the funds of the Department

A-20

of Health and Human Resources, notwithstanding any state

constitutional or statutory provision to the contrary.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the escrow account may

be interest bearing and that the defendant may elect to with-

draw interest for the use and benefit of the Department of

Health and Human Resources or the State of Louisiana as such

interest becomes withdrawable without encroaching upon the

original $225,000 principal in the account.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Clerk of the United

States District Court, Eastern District of Louisiana, shall issue

an order directing the bank or other solvent depositary to pay

from the escrow account to plaintiffs’ attorneys, if they should

prevail on appeal, the amount of attorneys’ fees that has been

awarded in this case, plus interest, with any remainder to be

paid to defendant for the use and benefit of the Department

of Health and Human Resources; or to pay defendant, if he

should prevail on appeal, the entire amount of the escrow

account for the use and benefit of the Department of Health

and Human Resources, Said order shall issue within ten days

after expiration of the time limit for applying for a Writ of

Certiorari to the United States Supreme Court following a

final decision by the United States Court of Appeals for the

Fifth Circuit, unless a petition for Writ of Certiorari has been

timely filed with the United States Supreme Court, or, if a

petition for a Writ of Certiorari is filed, within ten days after

a final decision by the United States Supreme Court.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the terms of the escrow

account shall incorporate this order so that the bank or other

solvent depositary shall be required to deliver the funds in

said escrow account immediately upon receipt of the order

of the Clerk of Court, required by this order,

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that nothing in this order

shall be deemed to limit plaintiffs’ right to collect from de-

A-21

fendant any attorneys’ fee or interest owed their attorneys

by defendant that exceeds the amount held in escrow.

DATED: November 15, 1977

Alvin B, Rubin/s/

UNITED STATES DISTRICT

JUDGE

A-22

_-

GARY W. et al.

Plaintiffs-Appellees

Vv.

STATE OF LOUISIANA, ET AL.

Defendants

Dr. William Cherry, Secretary of the Louisiana

Department of Health and Human Resources,

Defendant-Appellant

No. 77-3245

United States Court of Appeals

Fifth Circuit

July 31, 1980

GOLDBERG, Circuit Judge

This class action litigation concerning mentally retarded,

emotionally disturbed, and other children from Louisiana who

have been placed in Texas for care and treatment in institutions

was commenced in 1974. Plaintiffs obtained relief ensuring

adequate care and treatment for class members, see Gary W.

v. State of Louisiana, 437 F. Supp. 1209 (E. D. La. 1976),

and were held entitled to attorney’s fees under the Civil Rights

Attorneys’ Fees Act of 1976, 90 Stat. 2641, 42 U.S. C. §1988.

See Gary W. v. State of Louisiana, 429 F. Supp. 711 (E. D.

La. 1977).

The judgment for attorney’s fees was not appealed, but the

state defendants refused to accede to plaintiffs’ demands for

payment. The plaintiffs then, on September 2, 1977, caused

the clerk of the district court to issue a writ of fieri facias

directing the United States Marshal for the Eastern District

A-23

ee

7%

of Louisiana to seize property of the Louisiana Department

of Health and Human Resources (“‘DHHR”’) in order to satis-

fy the judgment. The defendants countered by moving to quash

the writ of fieri facias on the ground that state law prohibits

the seizure of public property to satisfy a judgment against

the state or a state agency and by seeking relief from the

judgment under Fed. R. Civ. P. 60(b) (1).

After a hearing, the district court denied defendants’ motion

for relief from judgment and issued an order based on Fed. R.

Civ. P. 70-1/ directing defendant William Cherry, in his official

capacity as Secretary of DHHR, to pay the judgment from

DHHR funds. Defendants appeal from the court’s denial of

their Rule 60(b) motion and from its order compelling pay-

ment of the judgment.

[1,2] A. Rule 60(b) Motion. A ruting on a motion under

Rule 60(b) will not be overturned absent an abuse of discretion.

See Dugan v. United States, 521 F. 2d 231, 233 (Sth Cir. 1975);

Hand v. United States, 441 F. 2d 529, 531 (Sth Cir. 1971).

Appellants’ argument is that the trial court did not realize

it had discretion to deny attorney’s fees when it originally

ruled on the request for attorney’s fees and that its failure to

exercise its discretion constituted ‘‘mistake, inadvertence or

excusable neglect.” Brief for Appellants at 34. However, even

if the trial court had applied an incorrect legal standard when

assessing attorney’s fees, 2/ the proper way to challenge its

1/ =‘ The state defendants indicated to the trial court that they preferred

an order under Rule 70 to one under Rule 69. The plaintiffs stated that

they were indifferent between these choices.

2/ It did not, but followed our decision in Brown v. Culpepper, 559 F.2d

274 (5th Cir. 1977), which held that prevailing plaintiffs in civil rights

actions should ordinarily recover an attorney’s fee unless special circum-

stances would render such an award unjust. Id at 277; See Christianburg

Garment Co. v. E. E. O. C., 484 U. 8, 412, 417, 98 S. Ct. 694, 698, 54

L. Ed. 2d 648 (1978).

A-24

ruling in the court of appeals is by appeal of its ruling, not by

appeal of a denial of a Rule 60(b) motion. See Silk v. Sandoval,

435 F. 2d 1266 (1st Cir. 1971). Therefore, the district court’s

denial of the Rule 60(b) motion is affirmed.

[3] B. Order compelling Payment.

Appellants argue that federal courts lack power to ensure

compliance with money judgments against states unless state

law provides a means of enforcing such judgments. The Louisi-

ana Constitution prohibits the payment of judgments against

the state except from funds appropriated for that purpose by

the legislature. 3/ On two occasions bills were introduced in

the Louisiana legislature which would have authorized payment

of the judgment, but neither bill was passed. Appellants urge

that the federal court can do nothing to ensure compliance

with its judgment 4/ because Fed. R. Civ. P. 69(a)-2/provides

3/ La. Const. art XII, §10(c) provides:

The legislature shall provide a procedure for suits against the state, a state

agency, or a political subdivision. It shall provide for the effect of a judg-

ment, but no public property or public funds shall be subject to seizure.

No judgment against the state, a state agency, or a political subdivision

shall be exigible, payable, or paid except from funds appropriated there-

for by the legislature or by the political subdivision against which judg-

ment is rendered.

4/ At oral argument, appellants suggested that appellees might seek a

contempt citation against the Louisiana legislature for failing to appro-

priate funds to satisfy the judgment. However, the Louisiana legislature

is not a party to this action. Moreover, the chaos in the state appropria-

tions process appellants predict if the court’s order is affirmed would be

dwarfed by the disruption that would be caused by a contempt citation

against the state legislature, if such a sanction is possible.

5/ Rule 69(a) states in relevant part:

Process to enforce a judgment for the payment of money shall be a

writ of execution, unless the court directs otherwise. The procedure on

execution, in proceedings supplementary to and in aid of a judgment, and

in proceedings on and in aid of execution shall be in accordance with

A-25

7%

that procedures for enforcement of a judgment are to be

carried out in accordance with state law and because Fed. R.

Civ. P. 70-6/ does not provide an alternate means for executing

a money judgment.

This argument has recently been addressed and rejected by

this court in Gates v. Collier, 616 F. 2d 1268 (5th Cir. 1980).

Gates involved the enforcement of a money judgment for

attorney’s fees in a civil rights action against the state of

Mississippi. A Mississippi statute prohibits the satisfaction of

any judgment against the state “except by an appropriation

therefor by the legislature.” Miss. Code Ann. § 11- 45-5

(1972).-2/ The court said:

[W]here a state expresses its unwillingness to comply

with a valid judgment of a_ federal district court, the

court may use any of the weapons generally at its dis-

posal to ensure compliance.

5/Continued

the practice and procedure of the state in which the district court is

held, existing at the time the remedy is sought, except that any statute

of the United States governs to the extent that it is applicable.

6/ Rule 70 states in relevant part:

If a judgment directs a party to execute a conveyance of land or to

deliver deeds or other documents or to perform any other specific act and

the party fails to comply within the time specified, the court may di-

rect the act to be done at the cost of the disobedient party by some

other person appointed by the court and the act when so done has like

effect as if done by the party . .. . The court may also in proper cases

adjudge the party in contempt.

‘I Miss. Code Ann. § 11-45-5 (1972) provides:

A judgment or decree against the state shall not be satisfied except

by an appropriation therefore by the legislature, and an execution shall

not be issued against the state.

A-26

Only when the district court’s response to the recalci-

trance of a litigant is so inappropriate under the circum-

stances as to amount to an abuse of discretion will the

Court of Appeals intervene . . . If statutory authority is

needed for the court’s actions, it may be found in Fed.

R. Civ. P. 70.

Gates. supra, 616 F. 2d at 1271.

We perceive no relevant distinction 8/between Gates and the

instant case. In both cases, an order directing the responsible

state official to satisfy the judgment out of state funds is the

only reasonable way to ensure compliance with a valid federal

judgment.

Therefore, the decision of the district court is affirmed, and

the case remanded for a determination of attorney’s fees for

8/ Appellees suggest that Gates can be distinguished because the

Mississippi statute, unlike the Louisiana constitutional provision, See n.

3 supra, does not expressly prohibit seizure of public funds. We see no

relevance to this distinction, since the provisions in each state provide

that judgment against the state shall only be satisfied by an appropriation

for that purpose by the state legislature. Also, the Mississippi statute pro-

hibits the issuance of executions against the state. Therefore, Mississippi

state property is not subject to seizure by writ of execution.

A second difference is that the Louisiana prohibition is contained in

the state constitution, whereas the Mississippi prohibition is contained in

a statute. Under the Supremacy Clause of the United States Constitution,

U. S. Const. art., VI cl. 2, state constitutional provisions, as well as state

statutes, must comport with federal law. Therefore, this distinction,

too, is irrelevant to the rationale of Gates. See Gates, supra, 616 F. 2d at

1272.

A-27

>

work performed on this appeal. See, e. g., Miller v. Carson,

563 F. 2d 741, 756 (Sth Cir. 1977).

AFFIRMED and REMANDED.

West Key Number System

A-28

Nazareth GATES et al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

v.

John COLLIER, Superintendent of the Mississippi

State Penitentiary, et al.

Defendants-Appellants.

No. 79-1844

United States Court of Appeals

Fifth Circuit

May 14, 1980

JAMES C. HILL, Circuit Judge:

This Court is not unanimous in its resolution of the two

issues presented. All of us agree on the resolution of the issue

presented in Part I. However, in Part II, Judges Brown and

Randall concur with Judge Hill dissenting-L/

This litigation over conditions at Mississippi’s Parchman

Penitentiary began in 1971. In 1974 we affirmed the district

court’s finding that various practices existing at Parchman

violated the constitutional rights of inmates. 501 F. 2d 1291

1) The appellate opinion procedure used in this case is not uncommon.

See, e. g., Usery v. Tamiami Trail Tours, Inc., 531 F. 2d 224, 239 (5th Cir.

1976); United States v. Register, 496 F. 2d 1072, 1075-76 (5th Cir.

1974), cert. denied, 419 U. S, 1120, 95 S. Ct. 802, 42 L. Ed. 2d 819

(1975); Stanga v. McCormick Shipping Corp., 268 F. 2d 544, 546, 551

(5th Cir. 1959). Cf. Grigsby v. Coastal Marine Service of Texas, Inc.,

412 F. 2d 1011, 1023 (5th Cir. 1967).

A-29

(5th Cir. 1974). The succeeding 5 years of litigation primarily

involved the issue of attorneys’ fees. In our most recent con-

sideration of this case we affirmed awards of attorneys’ fees

plus expenses in favor of the plaintiffs and reversed the dis-

trict court’s order denying fees for appellate proceedings. 559

F. 2d 241 (Sth Cir. 1977). On January 25, 1979, the district

court entered an order reaffirming its original award and award-

ing fees for appellate work. Two aspects of that order are now

challenged by the defendants. First, the order directs that

Mississippi’s Auditor and Treasurer be added as defendants

and that the other defendants submit a requisition to the

Auditor for the issuance of a warrant upon the Treasurer to

satisfy the judgment out of funds appropriated for the opera-

tion of Parchman or out of any other funds subject to the

control of the Treasurer. Second, the order adds to the princi-

pal amounts owing for attorneys’ fees and other costs, post-

judgment interest at the rate of 8% per annum.-2/

I. The Directive to Pay

Defendants contend that the district court acted outside the

scope of its authority in ordering the State Auditor to issue a

warrant upon the State Treasurer and ordering the State Trea-

surer in turn to satisfy the judgment. We are directed to sever-

al provisions of the Mississippi Code which limit the authority

of the State Treasurer to disburse state funds. In particular,

Miss. Code Ann. § 11-45-5 (1972) prohibits the satisfaction

of any judgment against the State “except by an appropria-

2/ Interest on the initial award of $41,750 for attorneys’ fees and

$10,986.05 for other costs runs from February 14, 1973, the date of

the original judgment. Interest on the supplemental award of $2,562.50

for time spent on appeal runs from August 10, 1978.

A-30

tion therefore by the legislature.” 3/ The district court’s

order, it is urged, is contrary to the laws of Mississippi and re-

quires the State Auditor and the State Treasurer to violate

these valid laws. Thus, we are urged to hold that, unless the

Mississippi statutes are declared unconstitutional, these plain-

tiffs must simply wait until the State voluntarily satisfies the

judgment. 4/

[1] The awards which the district court has ordered the

defendants to satisfy out of state funds were made pursuant

to the Civil Rights Attorneys’ Fee Awards Act of 1976, 42

U. S. C. A. §1988. In providing statutory authority for the

award of attorneys fees to successful civil rights claimants,

Congress was acting pursuant to the enforcement powers

conferred on it by Section 5 of the Fourteenth Amendment.

See Hutto v. Finney, 437 U. S. 678. 693-94, 98 S. Ct. 2565,

2575-76, 57 L. Ed. 2d 522 (1978). Hutto made it clear that,

by exercising its power under Section 5, Congress successfully

3/ Two other sections of the Mississippi Code relating to the State

Treasurer’s authority are quoted in defendants’ brief:

Miss. Code Ann. § 7-9-9 (1972):

It shall be the duty of the state treasurer to receive and keep

moneys of the state in the manner provided by law, [and] to

disburse the same agreeably tolaw .. .

Miss. Code Ann.§ 7-9-13 (1972):

It shall not be lawful for the state treasurer to pay or receive

any money on account of the state but on the warrant or certi-

ficate of the auditor, issued pursuant to law.

4/ There is no indication that the plaintiffs have attempted to take

their valid judgment and levy on state property. However, the State does

not argue that a judgment creditor must proceed in that fashion.

A-31

abn ;ated the States’ Eleventh Amendment immunity. 5/

Thus, it is now beyond dispute that a federal district court

has the authority to order that attorneys’ fees be paid out of

a state’s treasury. The defendants do not disagree. Their posi-

tion is, in effect: you can order us to pay, but you can’t make

us pay if we don’t want to.

[2,3] Neither Hutto nor the legislative history of the Act

address the question of how to make an unwilling state or it’s

officials satisfy a judgment for attorneys’ fees. This is not

surprising however, for it has never been the practice of Con-

gress, when providing a statutory basis for the recovery of

money damages or costs including attorneys’ fees, to specify

in the same legislation the appropriate means of enforcing the

judgment. In all likehood, Congress assumed it was unneces-

sary to consider the subject because the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure contains a provision for the execution of

district court judgments, Fed. R. Civ. P. 69 and a provision

authorizing the court to appoint an individual to do any act

on behalf of a party who has refused to comply with the judg-

ment himself, Fed R. Civ. P. 70. We have been cited to no au-

thority, nor have we found any to indicate that these statutes

do not apply to a state and its officials Cf. Gary W. v. State of

Louisiana, 601 F. 2d 240, 246 (Sth Cir. 1979). In addition,

“{a] federal court’s interest in orderly,expeditious proceed-

ings,” Hutto v. Finney, 437 U. S. at 696, 98 S. Ct. at 2577,

justifies any reasonable action taken by the court to secure

compliance with its orders. In Hutto, the Court remarked:

“[A] federal court may treat a State like any other litigant

when it assesses costs,” 437 U. S. at 696, 98 S. Ct. at 2577,

5/ The Hutto court also found justificaiion for imposing attomeys’

fees on states in “ ‘the inherent authority of the Court in the orderly

administration of justice as between all parties litigant.’ ” 437 U. S. at

696, 98 S. Ct. at 2577 (quoting Fairmont Creamery Co. v. Minnesota

275 U. 8. 70, 74, 48 8. Ct. 97, 99, 72 L. Ed, 168 (1927)).

A-32

and “{w]hen a State defends a suit for prospective relief

it is not exempt from the ordinary discipline of the courtroom”

Id. at 695-96 n. 24, 98 S. Ct. at 2576 n. 24. We think this is

adequate support for the proposition that, where a state ex-

presses its unwillingness to comply with a valid judgment of

a federal district court, the court may use any of the weap-

ons generally at its disposal to ensure compliance. “[ F] ederal

courts are not reduced to issuing [judgments] against state

officers and hoping for compliance” Jd. at 690, 98 S. Ct. at

2574. Only when the district court’s response to the recalci-

trance of a litigant is so inappropriate under the circumstances

as to amount to an abuse of discretion will the Court of Appeals

intervene. Here, the district court acted well within its authori-

ty to ensure compliance with its lawful orders. If statutory

authority is needed for the court’s actions, it may be found

in Fed. R. Civ. P. 70. 6/ The defendants have made it abun-

6/ Rule 70 states in pertinent part:

If a judgment directs a party to. . . perform any. . . specific act and

the party fails to comply within the time specified, the court may direct

the act to be done at the cost of the disobedient party by some other

person. . . The court may also in proper cases adjudge the party in con-

tempt. Fed. R. Civ. P. 70.

In Gary W. v. State of Louisiana, 441 F. Supp. 1121 (E. D. La. 1977),

the plaintiffs, after unsuccessful attempts to collect on their judgment,

petitioned the court for an order directing the Louisiana Department of

Health and Human Resources to pay a judgment for attorneys’ fees. In

granting the order. Judge Rubin, sitting by designation on the district

court, rejected the argument that Rule 70 may not be invoked to secure

satisfaction of a judgment against the State of Louisiana for attorneys’

fees. In dictum, Judge Rubin also rejected the argument that a garnish-

ment order under Fed. R. Civ. P. 69 could not be granted because-of a

Louisiana statute prohibiting the satisfaction of a judgment against the

State except from funds appropriated for that purpose by the state leg-

islature. In response to this argument, Judge Rubin stated that Louisiana

could not simply elect not to pay an award made pursuant to an Act

of Congress. Support was found in the Supremacy Clause of the Consti-

tution. An appeal is now pending before this Court.

A-33

dantly clear that they intend to resist the judgment until the

bitter end. Given such obstinance, we think it beyond perad-

venture that the remedy fits the wrong.

[4] We recognize that our discussion thus far does not

directly address the defendants’ argument that they cannot be

required to violate the laws of Mississippi. The defendants

misconceive the issue. As Judge Rubin of this Court, sitting by

disignation in Gary W. v, State of Louisiana, 441 F. Supp.

1121 (E. D. La. 1977), responded when recently confronted

with the identical argument: “The issue here is not one of

judicial confrontation with the state. It is one of Implementa-

tion of a Congressional mandate,’’ Id, at 1125 (emphasis added)

The italicized words provide the key. Congress has declared

that states and their officials who violate federal civil rights

laws must reimburse the successful plaintiff for costs incurred

in seeking redress. To strike down the order in this case because

it conflicts with the laws of Mississippi would be no different

than reversing a bare judgment for attorneys’ fees. In either

case, we would be allowing the state, by legislative action, to

recloak itself with the Eleventh Amendment immunity which

Congress has chosen to remove. Such a result would be con-

rary to the command of the Supremacy Clause of the United

States Constitution. Z/

IL. Interest on the Awards 8/

Defendants challenge the authority of the District Court

to add post-judgment interest on attorneys’ fees and out-of-

1) “This Constitution, and the Laws of the United States which shall

be made in Pursuance thereof. . . shall be the supreme Law of the

Land.” U. S. Const. Art, VI, ci 2.

8/ ‘Part II was authored by Judge Brown.

A-34

pocket costs. We believe that interest was properly awarded

on attorneys’ fees but not on costs.

A

Defendants vigorously contend that under this Court’s

decision in Carpa, Inc. v. Ward Foods, Inc., 567 F. 2d 1316

(Sth Cir. 1978), we are precluded from awarding interest on

attorney’s fees and costs under the Civil Rights Attorneys’

Fee Awards Act, 42 U. S. C. A. §1988 (hereafter referred to

as §1988 or the Act). 3/ Despite Judge Hill’s strong expres-

sions, see (dissent), pp. 1283-1284, we fully subscribe to princi-

ples of stare decisis and recognize that a decision by one panel

of this Court is binding on other panels. E. g., Trunkline Gas

Co. v. Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, 608 F. 2d 582,

583 (Sth Cir. 1979), But we are convinced that Carpa is not

controlling on the question before us and we have not been un-

faithful to it in deciding the way we do.

In Carpa, this Court held that under 15 U. S.C. A. § 15

(hereafter referred to as §15), interest on attorneys’ fees can-

not be recovered. Section 15 provides: “Any person who shall

be injured in his business or property by reason of anything

forbidden in the antiturst laws . . . shall recover threefold the

damages by him sustained, and the cost of suit, including a

reasonable attorney’s fee.” The Court’s holding was a very

narrow one. As the Court stated: ‘“‘Our holding that attorneys’

fees in antitrust cases are not to bear interest implies nothing

9/ The Act Provides:

In any action or proceeding to enforce a provision of sections 1977,

1978, 1979, 1980, and 1981 of the Revised Statutes title IX of

Public Law 92-318, or in any civil action or proceeding, by or on

behalf of the United States of America, to enforce, or charging a

violation of a provision of the United States Internal Revenue Code

or title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, the court, in its discre-

tion, may allow the prevailing party, other than the United States,

a reasonable attorney’s fee as part of the costs.

A-35

Whatsoever about the propriety of interest on attorneys’ fees

authorized by other statutes.” 567 F. 2d at 1323 (emphasis

added). This language suggests in clear and unmistakable terms

that each attorneys’ fees statute must be carefully analyzed

to determine whether interest should be awarded.

The Court in Carpa gave two reasons which together led to

its conclusion. First, the Court pointed out that attorneys’

fees are defined under § 15 as part of costs and the costs do not

bear interest. Second, the Court emphasized the existence of

treble damages under §15 and suggested that the need for

interest on attorneys’ fees was therefore less critical in the anti-

trust context than in other contexts.

In analyzing Carpa, Judge Hill in dissent reads the case as

relying exclusively on the definition of attorneys’ fees as part

of costs. See (dissent), p. 1282. Since § 1988 also defines at-

torneys’ fees as part of costs, see note 2, supra, Judge Hill

reasons ipso facto that interest on attorneys’ fees under §1988

is not recoverable.

In our view, this reading of Carpa is misplaced, since it

completely overlooks the Court’s repeated emphasis on the

treble damages provision in §15. For instance, the Court in

Carpa stated:

In the absence of further Congressional guidance,

and in light of the fact that the provision of treble

damages as well as attorneys’ fees in the antitrust laws

affords sufficient scope to the remedial purposes of

encouraging private enforcement of the antitrust laws

and facilitating the procuring of legal services, S/ we

see no basis for stretching the applicable statutory

language to provide interest on the award of attorneys’

fees to successful antitrust plaintiffs.

A-36

567 F. 2d at 1322-23 (emphasis added). The footnote ac-

companying this passage elaborated:

5. We note in this regard that the treble damage pro-

visions of the antitrust laws were designed in part to help

finance litigation expenses in private antitrust suits. By

creating the possibility of sizeable damage awards, Con-

gress encouraged attorneys to try antitrust cases on a

contingent fee basis.

Id. at 1323 n. 5. Later, the Court reemphasized:

The language and history of a given statute might suggest

that the public purposes underlying the statutory authori-

ty for attorneys’ fees would be materially advanced by

allowance of interest, and the absence of a treble damage

provision which complements the attorneys’ fee provision

would also require consideration,

Id, at 1323 (emphasis added),

The Carpa court’s instruction to consider carefully the char-

acteristics of the precise statute at issue would be completely

undercut by Judge Hill’s view that Carpa was based exclusively

on the definition of attorneys’ fees as part of costs. In our view,

Carpa permits - indeed, compels - a comprehensive analysis of

the statute at issue. With that in mind, § 1988 should be careful-

ly analyzed.

Section 1988 was enacted by Congress in 1976 in response

to the Supreme Court’s decision in Alyeska Pipeline Service

Co. v, Wilderness Society, 421 U. S. 240, 95 S, Ct. 1612, 44

L. Ed. 2d 141 (1975), which held that only Congress, not the

Courts, could determine which laws were important enough

A-37

7%

to justify the awarding of attorneys’ fees under the “private

attorney general” principle. The Act is farreaching. It applies

to suits for equitable relief or damages under the following

statutes: 42 U. S.C. A. §1981, forbidding discrimination by

Government officials and private persons in contractual rela-

tions and used frequently to challenge discrimination in em-

ployment and use of recreational facilities; 42 U. S.C. A.

§ 1982, forbidding discrimination in real estate transactions;

42 VU. S. C. A. §1983, prohibiting denial of constitutional

and civil rights by persons acting under color of state law;

42 U.S.C. A. §1985, dealing with conspiracies to deny persons

equal protection of the laws; 42 U. S.C. A. §1986, providing

a cause of action against certain individuals having power to

prevent violations of § 1985 out who do not do so; 42 U.S.C.

A. §2000d, et seq., prohibiting discrimination based on race,

color, or national origin in federally funded programs; and 20

U.S.C. A. §1681, et seq. prohibiting discrimination based on

sex, blindness, or visual impairment in the use of federal funds

in certain educational programs. The Act also authorizes attor-

neys’ fees for prevailing taxpayers in civil suits by or on behalf

of the United States under the Internal Revenue Code.

As the legislative history of §1988 makes clear, Congress

believed that the awarding of attorneys’ fee is critical to the

enforcement of the civil rights laws. The House Report, H. Rep.

No. 1558, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. (1976) (House Report), states:

“The effective enforcement of Federal civil rights statutes

depends largely on the efforts of private citizens. Although

some agencies of the United States have civil rights responsi-

bilities, their authority and resources are limited. In many

instances where these laws are violated, it is necessary for the

citizen to initiate court action to correct the illegality. Un-

less the judicial remedy is full and complete, it will remain a

meaningless right. Because a vast majority of the victims of

A-38

civil rights violations cannot afford legal counsel, they are un-

able to present their cases to the courts. In authorizing an

award of reasonable attorney’s fees, [the proposed legislation]

is designed to give such persons effective access to the judi-

cial process where their grievances can be resolved according to

law.”

Id. at 1. Similarly, the Senate Reprot, S. Rep. No 94-1011,

94th Cong., 2d Sess. (1976) (Senate Report), reprinted in

[1976] U. S. Code Cong. & Admin. News, p. 5908 (hereafter

reffered to as U. S.C. C. A.) states:

In many cases arising under our civil rights laws, the

citizen who must sue to enforce the law has little or no

money with which to hire a lawyer. If private citizens

are to be able to assert their civil rights, and if those

who violate the Nation’s fundamental laws are not to

proceed with impunity, then citizens must have the

opportunity to recover what it cost them to vindicate

these rights in court.

Id. 2t 2, USCCA at 5910. The Senate Report also quotes with

approval the following language from the Supreme Court’s

opinion in Newman v. Piggie Park, 390 U..S. 400, 402, 88

S. Ct. 964, 966, 19 L. Ed.2d 1263, 1265-66 (1968):

When a plaintiff brings an action under [Title IT]

he cannot recover damages. If he obtains an injunction,

he does so not for himself alone but also as a “‘private

attorney general, ” vindicating a policy that Congress

considered of the highest priority. If successful plain-

tiffs were routinely forced to bear their own attor-

neys’ fees, few aggrieved parties would be in a position

to advance the public interest by invoking the injunc-

tive powers of the Federal courts. Congress therefore

enacted the provision for counsel fees [42 U. S.C. A.

A-39

§ 2000a-3(b) to encourage individuals injured by racial

discrimination to seek judicial relief under Title II.

Senate Report at 3, USCCA at 5910.

Very similar ideas were expressed at the debates on the

legislation. As Congress-woman Holtzman stated:

Plaintiffs who suffer discrimination and other in-

fringements of their civil rights are usually not wealthy

people. The organizations who have helped them

bring their cases are frequently not well financed. The

Justice Department does not have the resources to

bring suit for every civil rights violation. Thus, many

people, deprived of their civil rights may not as a practi-

cal matter be able to do anything about it. It is not

right to deny people who cannot afford to pay attor-

neys’ fees the availability of justice through our courts.

122 Cong. Rec. H. 12164 (daily ed. Oct. 1, 1976). And Con-

gressman Seiberling, the original sponsor of legislation permit-

ting the awarding of attorneys’ fees in civil rights cases, stated:

If the law does not authorize the awarding of attor-

neys’ fees in meritorous civil rights cases, many po-

tential plaintiffs will be deterred from bringing deserv-

ing cases to remedy violations of the Constitution,

especially those cases in which the appropriate relief

is primarily equitable or injunctive rather than mone-

tary.

Id, at H. 12165.

Recognizing Congress’ clear signals to apply the Act “‘broad-

ly to achieve its remedial purpose.’’ Mid-Hudson Legal Services,

Inc.,v. G & U, Inc., 578 F. 2d 34, 37 (2d Cir. 1978), Courts

A-40

have taken an extremely liberal view on nearly every interpre-

tative question that has arisen thus far under § 1988. For

example, the Courts have held that when a party files a case

under a federal statute covered by §1988 and also files a

pendent state claim which is dispositive, the Act nonetheless

entitles the prevailing party to attorneys’ fees. See, e. g., Seals

v. Quarterly County Court, 562 F. 2d 390 (6th Cir. 1977);

Bond v. Stanton, 555 F. 2d 172 (7th Cir. 1977). Similarly,

although the Act provides that the Court “‘in its discretion,

may allow the prevailing party [attorneys’ fees]’’ (emphasis

added), Courts have held that unless the awarding of such fees

would, because of special circumstances, be unjust attorneys’

fees should be awarded to the prevailing party as a matter of

course. See, e. g., Iranian Students Association v. Edwards,

604 F.2d 352 (Sth Cir. 1979); Sethy v. Alameda County

Water District, 602 F. 2d 894 (9th Cir. 1979); Wharton uv.

Knefel, 562 F. 2d 550 (8th Cir. 1977); Brown v, Culpepper,

559 F. 2d 274 (Sth Cir. 1977). Furthermore, it has been consis-

tently held that the Act is to be retroactively applied. Gore v.

Turner, 563 F. 2d 159 (Sth Cir. 1977); Bond v, Stanton, supra.

And Courts have held that a party need not win on every

issue to be a “prevailing party”’ under the Act. See, e. g., Bonnes

v. Long, 599 F. 2d 1316 (4th Cir. 1979); Brown v. Culpepper,

supra. See generally Lipson, Beyond Alyeska-—Judicial Response

to the Civil Rights Attorneys’ Fees Act, 22 St. Louis U. L. J.

243 (1978).

[5] While admittedly the Courts in the cases just cited

had somewhat more guidance from the legislative history than

we have here, we believe that a liberal reading of the Act is

also appropriate with respect to the awarding of interest on

attorneys’ fees. We do not mean to suggest that Congress ex-

plicitly intended that interest on attorneys’ fees be awarded.

Congress probably never specifically considered the ques-

A4]1

tion. 19/ On the other hand, we do not believe that Congress

intended to bar recovery of interest on attorneys’ fees. And the

awarding of interest is entirely consistent with the purpose

of the Act: to ensure effective enforcement of the civil rights

laws.

In analyzing the nature of the interest award, it must be

understood that the awarding of interest is in no sense a wind-

10/ However, contrary to the view of Judge Hill, see (dissent), p.

1281, it is at least arguable that by its cite to Davis v. City of Los Angeles,

8 EPD 99444, p. 5047 (C.D. Cal. 1974). Congress intended that interest

on attorneys’ fees be awarded. In Davis, the Court awarded attorneys’

fees to be made within thirty days and added that “interest shall not

begin to accrue if Defendant County of Los Angeles makes the said

payment within thirty days after entry of this judgment. . . .” 8 EPD {

9444, at 5049. Davis is cited in the Senate Report along with several

other cases as one in which “‘the appropriate standards. . . are correct-

ly applied.” Senate Report at 6, USCCA at 5913. And the Senate Report

states that cases such as Davis “have resulted in fees which are adequate

to attract competent counsel, but which do not produce windfalls to

attorneys. "Id.

11/ In trying to make sense out of a statute, it is “appropriate to

look beyond the words to the purpose of the act.’”’ Perry v. Commerce

Loan Co., 383 U. 8, 392, 400, 86 S. Ct. 852, 857, 15 L. Ed. 827, 833

(1966). See also United States v. American Trucking Associations, 310

U. S. 534, 543, 60 S. Ct. 1059, 1063, 84 L. Ed, 1345, 1350 (1940).

Moreover, when “flesh[{ing] out the portions of the law with respect to

which . . . congressional enactment [does not] offer conclusive guid-

ance.” it is “proper [to consider] what may be described as policy con-

siderations.” Blue Chip Stamps v. Manor Drug Stores, 421 U. 8. 723,

737, 95 8. Ct. 1917, 1926, 44 L. Ed. 2d 539, 550 (1975). These cases

recognize that Courts are occasionally required to fill in the interstices

of a statutory scheme. As a body composed of mere mortals, Congress

cannot be expected to address every issue which may possibly arise in a

particular case. The Court in Carpa had precisely these sound considera-

tions of statutory construction in mind when it declared that “the lan-

guage and history of a given statute and the public purposes underlying

the statutory authority for attorneys’ fees” must be considered. 567 F.

2d at 1323;

A-42

fall. Because a dollar today is worth more than a dollar in the

future, “‘the only way [a party] can be made whole is to award

him interest from the time he should have received the money.”

Louisiana & Arkansas Railway Co, v. Export Drum Co., 359 F.

2d 311, 317 (Sth Cir. 1966). Indeed, this case dramatizes the

need for interest on attorneys’ fees if the attorneys for the

prevailing party are to be adequately compensated. Most of

the fees at issue in this case were awarded in 1973. Because

of inflation, these awards are worth far less today than they

were seven years ago. Had the awards been made in 1973,

the attorneys could have been drawing interest on that amount

for the last seven years. J

The appropriateness of awarding interest on attorneys’

fees in the civil rights context becomes even clearer when

§1988 is examined in light of the precise considerations ex-

pressed in Carpa. As stated above, Carpa relied on the exis-

tence of treble damages and on the definition of attorneys’

fees as part of costs. Section 1988 is distinguishable on both

bases.

First, there are no treble damage provisions under any of

the civil rights statutes covered by §1988. Indeed, as the

legislative history discussed above emphasizes, many of

the litigants in civil rights cases have little or no money

with which to hire a lawyer. Frequently the litigant is un-

able to obtain any damages under the applicable statute

12/ The case before us is in no way atypical. The law books are filled

with civil rights cases extending over decades, For a classic example,

See Singleton v. Jackson Municipal Separate School Dist., 348 F. 2d

729 (5th Cir. 1965) (Singleton I); 355 F. 2d 865 (5th Cir. 1966) (Single-

ton II); 419 F. 2d 1211 (5th Cir. ) (en banc) (Singleton II) rev'd, 396

U. 8. 290, 90 S. Ct. 608. 24 L. Ed. 2d 477, cert.denied, 396 U. S. 1032,

90 S. Ct. 612, 24 L. Ed. 2d 530 (1970); 426 F. 2d 1864 (5th Cir. 1970)

(Singleton IV); 430 F. 2d 368 (5th Cir. 1970) (Singleton V); 432 F. 2d

927 (5th Cir. 1970) (Singleton VI); 509 F. 2d 818 (5th Cir. 1975) (Single-

ton VII).

A-43

- |

but can seek only injunctive or declaratory relief. In Senate

debate on the legislation, Senator Kennedy drew a sharp distinc-

tion between the civil rights and anti-trust contexts:

“The lawyer who undertakes to represent a client alleging

a violation of the civil rights statutes covered by this bill faces

significant uncertainty of payment, even where he has a strong

case. For there is often important principles to be gained in

such litigation, and rights to be conferred or enforced, but just

as often no large promise of monetary recovery lies at the end

of the tunnel. So civil rights cases - unlike tort or antitrust

cases - do not provide the prevailing plaintiff with a large

recovery from which he can pay his law) er. That is why Con-

gress has already decided in many recent civil rights laws to in-

clude provisions for recovery of attorneys’ fees, in order to in-

sure that the rights guaranteed by the laws are not lost through

the inability of those who are supposed to benefit to obtain

judicial enforcement of those rights.”

122 Cong. Rec. S 17052 (daily ed. Sept. 29, 1976) (emphasis

added). We can think of no type of litigation where “the ab-

sence of a treble damage provision which complements the

attorneys’ fee provision.” Carpa, supra, 567 F. 2d at 1323,

is more significant than in the civil rights context.

Second, while it is true that §1988 also defines attorneys’

fees as part of costs, see note 9, supra, the legislative history

makes clear that this was done for one reason and one reason

only: to ensure that the Eleventh Amendment is no bar so that

these fees are recoverable against Government officials acting

in their official capacity. As this Court stated in Morrow uv.

Dillard, 580 F. 2d 1284, 1299 n. 18 (Sth Cir. 1978):

“The Senate Report contemplated that by defining fees as

costs there would be no problem in awarding fees against

State officers acting in their official capacities. . . .”

A-44

See Senate Report at 5, USCCA at 5913; House Report at 7.

In the anti-trust context, by contrast, the Court in Carpa could

point to nothing to explain Congress’s inclusion of attorneys’

fees as part of costs. Certainly Congress was not trying to make

clear th t attorneys’ fees could be assessed against state and

local Governments, since Congress intended that the anti-

trust laws be inapplicable to suits against Government

entities..

Thus, in analyzing §1988 and its inclusion of a .torneys’

fees as part of costs, Congress’ concern about the possible

immunity of Government officials must be kept clearly in

mind. This fact rebuts the assumption of Judge Hill that Con-

gress intended to define attorneys’ fees as part of costs for all

purposes.

To read Carpa as Judge Hill does would be to place Congress

in a no win situation. If Congress specifies attorneys’ fees as

part of costs, then interest cannot be awarded, and in cases

such as this, attorneys’ fee awards will be inadequate. On the

other hand, if Congress does not specify attorneys’ fee awards

as part of costs, it runs the risk that such fees will not be asses-

sed against Government officials acting in their official capacity.

In addition, Judge Hill’s view - that Carpa requires rejection

of interest on attorneys’ fees whenever they are defined as part

of costs - would foreclose the possibility of recovering interest

on attorneys’ fees under a variety of other statutes. As of

1977, there were at least 75 statutes enacted by Congress

See, e. g., Parker v. Brown, 317 U. 8. 341, 63 S. Ct. 307, 87

L. Ed. 315 (1943). While the “state action” doctrine has been undercut

recently, see e, g., Lafayette v. Louisiona Power & Light Co., 435 U.

8. 389, 402, 98 S. Ct, 1123, 1131, 55 L. Ed, 2d 364, 376 (1978), these

recent inroads do not undercut Parker in any manner relevant to this

issue.

A-45

authorizing attorneys’ fees. See Berger, Court Awarded Attor-

neys’ Fees: What is “Reasonable”? 126 U. Pa. L. Rev. 281,

303-04 n. 104 (listing statutes), 14/

14/ For convenience, we reproduce the author’s exhaustive collection

of the statutes:

Federal Contested Elections Act § 17, 2 U. S. C. § 396

(1970); Act of Nov, 21, 1974 (Freedom of Information Act

amendments) § 1(b) (2), 5 U. S. C. §552(a) (4) (E) (Supp.

V 1975); Privacy Act of 1974 § 3, 5 U. S. C. § 552a (g) (2)

(B) (Supp. V 1975); Government in the Sunshine Act § 3, 5

U, 8. C. A. § 552b(i) (Supp. 1977); Workmen’s Compensation

Acts § 208, 5 U. S.C. § 8127(b) (1970); Commodity Futures

Trading Commission Act of 1974 § 106, 7 U.S, C. §§ 18(f),

(g) (Supp. V 1975); Packers and Stockyards Act, 1921 § 309,

7 U. 8. C. §210(f) (1970). Perishable Agricultural Commodities

Act, 1980 § 7, 7 U. 8. C. §§ 499g(b) , (c) (1970 & Supp. IV

1973); Agricultural Fair Practices Act of 1967, § 6,7 U. S.C,

§§ 2305(a), (c) (1970); Plant Variety Protection Act § 125,

7 U. 8. C. § 2565 (1970); Bankruptcy Act § 1, 11 U. 8. C.

§§ 205, 641, 643, 644 (1970); Home Owners Loan Act of 1933,

12 U. 8. C. § 1464(d)(8) (1970), as amended by Financial

Institutions Supervisory Act of 1966, Pub. L. No. 89-695, §

102(a), 80 Stat. 1036 (1966); National Housing Act, 12 U. S.

C. § 1730(m), as amended by Financial Institutions Supervisory

Act of 1966, Pub. L. No, 89-695, § 102(a), 80 Stat. 1036

(1966); Federal Credit Union Act, 12 U. 8S, C. §1786(0) (1970),

as amended by Act of Oct. 19, 1970, Pub. L. No. 91-468, §

1(3), 84 Stat. 1010 (1970); Federal Deposit Insurance Act,

12 U. S. C. § 1818(n) (1970), as amended byFinancial Institu-

tions Supervisory Act of 1966, Pub, L. No. 89-695 § 202, 80

Stat. 1036 (1966); Bank Holding Company Act Amendments

of 1970 § 106(e), 12 U. 8. C. § 2607(d) (Supp. V 1975); Clay-

ton Act § 4, 15 U. 8. C, § 15 (1970); Clayton Act § 4C, 15

U. 8. C. A. § 15¢ (Supp. 1977), as amended by Hart-Scott-

Rodino Antitrust Improvements Act of 1976, Pub. L. No, 94-

435, § 301, 90 Stat. 1894; Clayton Act § 16, 15 U.S.C. A.

§ 26 (1976), as amended by Hart-Scott-Rodino Antitrust Im-

provements Act of 1976, Pub. L. No. 94-435, § 802(3), 90

A-46

A large number of these statutes define attorneys’ fees as part

of costs. See, e. g., Federal Contested Elections Act, § 17,

2U.5S.C. A. § 396; Freedom of Information Act Amendments,

14/ Continued

Stat. 1896; Federal Trade Commission Act, 1975 Amendments

§ 202(a), 15 U. S. C. § 57a(h) (Supp. v 1975); Unfair Com-

petition Act § 801, 15 U. S, C. § 72 (1970); Securities Act

of 1933 § 11, 15 U. S. C. § 77k(e) (1970); Trust Indenture Act

of 1939 § 323, 15 U. S. C. § 77 www(a) (1970); Securities

Exchange Act of 1934 §§ 9, 18, 15 U. 8. C. §§ 78i(e), 78r(a)

(1970); Jewelers’ Liability Act (Gold and Silver Articles) §

1(b), 15 U. S. C, § 298(b). (c). (d) (1970); National Traffic and

Motor Vehicle Safety Act of 1966 § 111, 15 U.S.C, § 1400

(1970); Truth in Lending Act § 408(a), 15 U.S.C. § 1640(a)

(Supp. V 1975); Consumer Leasing Act of 1976 § 3, 15 U. S.

C. A. § 1667b (Supp. 1977); Fair Credit Reporting Act § 601,

15 U.S.C, §§1681n. 16810 (1970); Equal Credit Opportunity Act

§ 503, 15 U. S. C. § 1691(e) (Supp. V 1975), redesignated as

§ 1691e(d) and amended by Equal Credit Opportunity Act

Amendments of 1976, Pub. L. No, 94-289, § 6, 90 Stat. 253

(1976); Motor Vehicle Information and Cost Savings Act §§

109, 409, 15 U. S. C. §§ 1918, 1989(a)(2) (Supp. V 1975);

Consumer Products Safety Commission Improvements Act of

1976 §§ 10(a) (b), 15 U. 8. C. A. §§ 2959(e), 2060(c) (Supp.

1977); Consumer Product Safety Act 3§ 23, 24, 15 U. S. C.

§§ 2072, 2073 (Supp. V 1975), as amended by Consumer

Product Safety Commission Improvements Act of 1976, Pub.

L. No, 94-284, §§ 10(c), (d) 90 Stat, 503 (1976); Hobby Pro-

tection Act § 3, 15 U. 8. C. § 2102 (Supp. V 1975); Magnuson-

Moss Warranty-Federal Trade Improvement Act § 110(a)(5),

15 U. S.C. § 2810(d) (Supp. V 1975); Copyrights Act § 1, 17

U. 8. C, § 116 (1970), redesignated as § 505 and amended

by Pub, L, No, 94-5653, § 101, 90 Stat, 2541 (1976); Organized

Crime Control Act of 1970 §901(a), 18 U. S. C. §1964(c)

(1970); Omnibus Crime Control and Safe Streets Act of 1968

§ 802, 18 U. 8. C, § 2520 (1970); Emergency School Aid Act

§ 718, 20 U. S.C. § 1617 (Supp. V 1975); American-Mexican

Chamizal Convention Act of 1964 § 5, 22 U.S. C. § 2774-21

(1970); International Claims Settlement Act of 1949 § 4, 64

A-47

§ 1(b)(2), 5 U. S.C. A. § 552 (a)(4)(E); Privacy Act of 1974,

§3, 5 U.S.C.A. §552 a (g) (2) (B); Government in the Sunshine

Act, § 3(a), 5 U. S.C. A. § 552b(i); Magnuson-Moss Warranty-

14/ Continued

Stat. 13 (1950) (current version at 22 U.S.C. § 1623(f) (1970);

Act of June 25, 1948 (Federal Tort Claims), ch. 646, 62 Stat.

984 (1948) (current version at 28 U. S. C. § 2678 (1970);

Norris-LaGuardia Act § 7, 29 U.S.C. 107(e) (1970); Fair Labor

Standards Amendments of 1974, § 6(d)(1), 29 U.S. C. § 216(b)

(Supp. V1975); Employee Retirement Income Security Act of

1974 § 502, 29 U. S.C. § 1132(g) (Supp. V 1975); State and

Local Fiscal Assistance Amendments of 1976 § 7(b), 31 U. S.

C. A. § 1244(e) (Supp. 1977); Longshoremen’s and Harbor

Workers’ Compensation Act Amendments of 1972 §§ 13, 15,

33 U. S. C. §§ 928, 933 (Supp. V 1975); Federal Water Pollu-

tion Control Act Amendments of 1972 §§ 505, 507, 33 U. S.

C. §§ 1365(d), 1367(c) (Supp. V 1975); Marine Protection,

Research, and Sanctuaries Act of 1972 § 105, 33 U. S.C. §

1415(g)(4) (Supp. V 1975); Deepwater Port Act of 1974 §

16(d), 33 U. S. C. § 1515(d) (Supp. V 1975); Patent Infringe-

ment Act § 1, 35 U. S, C. § 285 (1970); Safe Drinking Water

Act § 1449(d), 42 U. S. C. § 300j-8 (Supp. V 1975); Social

Security Act § 206, 42 U. S. C. § 406 (1970); Clean Air Act

§ 12a, 42 U. S. C. § 185h-2(d) (1970); Voting Rights Act

Amendments of 1975 § 402, 42 U. S. C. § 19731 (e) (Supp.

V 1975); Civil Rights Attorney’s Fees Awards Act of 1974

§2, 42 U. 8. C. A. § 1988 (1976); Civil Rights Act of 1964

§§ 204, 706, 42 U. S. C. §§ 2000a-3(b), 2000e 5(k) (1970);

Atomic Energy Act of 1954 § 1, 42 U. S. C. § 2184 (1970);

Fair Housing Act of 1968 § 812, 42 U. S. C. § 3612(c) (1970);

Crime Control Act of 1976 § 122(b), 42 U. 8. C. A. § 3766(c)

(4)(B) (1976); Noise Control Act of 1972 § 12,42 U.S.C. §

4911(d) (Supp. V 1975); National Mobile Home Construction

and Safety Standards Act of 1974 § 613, 42 U.S.C. § 5412(b)

(Supp. V 1975); Railway Labor Act § 3, 45 U.S.C. § —)

(1970), Shipping Act, 1916 § 30, 46 U. S. C. § 829 (1970);

Communications Act of 1934 §§ 206, 407, 47 U. S. C. ¥

206, 407 (1970); Act of Mar, 3, 1887 (aliens holding land)

6, 48 U. 8S. C. § 1506 (1970); Interstate Commerce Act §

8, 15, 16, 222, 308, 417, 49 U. 8. C. §§ 15(9), 16 (2), 322(b),

A-48

Federal Trade Improvement Act, § 110(d), 15 U.S.C. A. §

2310(d); Civil Rights Act of 1964 §§ 204, 706,42 U.S.C.A.

§§ 2000a-3(b), 2000e-5(k). We cannot believe that the Court

in Carpa, with its emphatic language that each must be carefully

considered, intended to decide the question of interest on at-

torneys’ fees with respect to these and many other statutes.

[6] In sum, we believe that § 1988 should be liberally

construed to permit the awarding of interest on attorneys’

fees

Such a liberal approach finds general support both in the legis-

lative history of §1988 and in the various cases interpreting it.

14/ Continued

908(b), 1017(b) (1970) Natural Gas Pipeline Safety Act Amend-

ments of 1976 §8, 49 U.S.C.A.§1686(e) (1976); Housing and

Rent Act of 1947 § 206, 61 Stat. 199 (1947) (repealed 1948);

Defense Production Act of 1950, § 409, 64 Stat 811 (1950)

(repealed 1951).

15f Indeed, Judge Hill seems to suggest that attorneys’ fees, no matter

how they are defined, belong to that enigmatic category of costs. See

(dissent), p. 1282, That means that given Judge Hill’s reading of Carpa,

interest cannot be recovered on attorneys’ fees under any of the statutes

listed in note 14, supra. Such reasoning stands stare decisis on its head

and permits Carpa - an extremely narrow opinion - to do exactly what

the Court did not want to do: resolve the issue of interest on attorneys’

fees under the myriad other attorneys’ fee provisions enacted by Congress.

16/ We are not troubled by this Court’s Order in Rainey v. Jackson

State College, 591 F. 2d 1000 (5th Cir. 1979). The cryptic Order “denied,

could be based on at least three separate grounds, only one of which

involves the present issue presented here. For example, the parties in

Rainey seeking interest on attorneys’ fees did so very late in the game,

after the opinion for the Court approving the awarding of attorneys’

fees had been written. The Court may well have denied the motion for

interest simply because it came too late.

A-49

Nor do we believe that Carpa compels a contrary result. Be-

cause the Carpa decision was a very narrow one, and because

the decision today is likewise a very narrow one, we disagree

with Judge Hill’s suggestion (dissent), p. 1283 that to award

interest on attorneys’ fees under § 1988, en banc reconsidera-

tion of Carpa is essential. With twenty-five Judges on this Court,

it hardly serves good sound administration of justice to call an

en banc session to reconsider a narrow decision arising under

the antitrust laws that is readily distinguishable from the

facts presented here.

[7] Accordingly, we affirm that part of the District

Court’s opinion holding that Appellees are entitled to interest

on the initial award of $41,750 for attorneys’ fees and on the

supplemental award of $2,562.50 for time spent on appeal.

We also hold, however, that the District Court erred in award-

ing interest on the out-of-pocket costs of $10,986.05. See

Supra at 1270 n. 2,17/

17/ While Appellees seek affirmance of the District Court decision in

all respects, they virtually concede that the awarding of interest on out-

of-pocket costs was not proper. Their analysis rests on the argument that

attorneys’ fees should not be treated the same as other costs. E. g.,

Appellees’, Brief, at 29 (“‘Congress’ determination . . . to award attor-

ney’s fees as part of costs’ (42 U. S. C. § 1988) does not indicate any

intent to bring these attorneys’ fees awards under the general rule against

allowing interest on taxable costs of court ’’). Although there is little case

law on the question, the view that out-of-pocket costs (as opposed to

attornyes’ fees) do not bear interest appears firmly established in our

jurisprudence and Courts either explicitly or implicitly have accepted this

principle. E. g., Jesko v. American-First Title & Trust Co., 603 F, 2d

815, 820 n. 11 (10th Cir. 1979); Carpa, supra, 567 F. 2d at 1322; Duffer

v. American Home Assurance Co., 512 F.2d 793, 800 (5th Cir. 1975);

20 C, J. 8.Costs § 190, p. 422 (and cases cited therein).

Judge Hill will not concede that the cases cited above support the

position that out-of-pocket costs do not bear interest, (dissent), pp.

1282 1283 even though he reads Duffer and Carpa as holding that costs

A-50

CONCLUSION

This case has flip-flopped from the District Court to this

Court to the District Court and to this Court again for almost

a decade. In 1972, the District Court held that the operation

of Parchman Penitentiary infringed upon the constitutional

17/ Continued

do not bear interest, p. 1282, and even though Appellees clearly concede

in their brief that this principle of law is well established.

As Appellees point out, there are several distinctions between attor-

neys’ fees and out-of-pocket costs. Whereas out-of-pocket costs are

routinely awarded upon submission of a bill of costs, a much more elabo-

rate documentation process is required with respect to attorneys’ fees.

And whereas Court costs mzy only be taxed after entry of final judgment,

attorneys’ fees may be as-essed even if an action is settled and no final

judgment is entered. IrJeed, it is interesting that even though § 1988

defines attorneys’ fe-s as part of costs, Courts have, for purposes of

analysis, consistently eparated attorneys’ fees and other costs. See, e. g.,

Morrow v. Dillard, supa, 580 F. 2d at 1296 (Part IV of opinion contains

heading “‘Attorney’s F »es and Costs’); McPherson v. School District No.

186, 465 F. Supp. 749, 763 (S. D. Ill. 1978) (Immediately under the

heading “Costs,” the opinion begins “In addition to attorneys’ fees, the

plaintiffs’ attorneys are seeking to have their out-of-pocket expenses

assessed against the defendants as costs.””) Alsager v. District Court of

Polk County, Iowa, 447 F. Supp. 572, 580 (S. D. lowa 1977) (holding

that “counsel will also be permitted, in addition to attommeys fees, $2,000.

00 in costs.”); Dawson v. Pastrick, 441 F. Supp. 133, 143 (N. D. Ind.

1977) (Court’s heading reads “Costs and Attorneys’ Fees” and Court

states that plaintiffs have asked for ‘“‘costs and reasonable attorney fees’’).

As we have already stated, by defining attorneys’ fees as part of costs.

Congress was merely concerned with problems of immunity and did not

intend for attorneys’ fees to be treated as part of costs for all purposes.

Moreover, the legislative history of § 1988 emphasizes the need in civil

rights cases for adequate attorneys’ fee awards, On the other hand, there is

nothing in the legislative history of § 1988 which even remotely suggests

that the treatment of out-of-pocket costs should in any way change as

a result of the enactment of § 1988, While we sympathize with Appellees’

A-51

be 4

rights of its inmates. 349 F. Supp. 881 (N.D. Miss. 1972).

We affirmed the District Court. 501 F. 2d 1291 (Sth Cir. 1974).

In 1973, the District Court awarded attorneys’ fees and costs,

and we affirmed. 489 F. 2d 298 (Sth Cir. 1973). Two Supreme

Court cases, Edelman v. Jordan, 415 U. S. 651, 94S. Ct. 1347,

39 L. Ed. 2d 662 (1974), and Alyeska Pipeline Service Co.

v. Wilderness Society, supra, led this Court (sitting en banc)

to vacate and remand for reconsideration of attorneys’ fees

in light of these cases. 522 F. 2d 81 (5th Cir. 1975). The

District Court reassessed attorneys’ fees, 70 F. R. D. 341

(N. D. Miss. 1976), and this Court affirmed the judgments

(but reversed the denial of attorneys’ fees for appellate pro-

ceedings and remanded on that question). 559 F. 2d 244

(Sth Cir. 1977). In the 1977 Fifth Circuit case, we remarked:

“This is, we hope, the last appearance of this lengthy litigation

challenging prison conditions in the Mississippi State Penitentia-

ry.”’ 559 F. 2d at 241.

But the last appearance it was not. The defendants tried one

last desperate effort: they refused to pay over the attorneys’

fees, raising Eleventh Amendment ..guments that, as Part I

points out, are-so clearly meritless as to be frivolous. Yet,

recognizing that they were bound to lose on those arguments,

the defendants also challenged the awarding of interest on

attorneys’ fees and out of pocket costs. By Part II, the Court

now rejects the argument that interest on attorneys’ fees was

17/ Continued

claim for interest on costs, we believe that Congress must provide at

least some indication of its intent to abrogate the traditional rule sgainst

awarding interest on out-of-pocket costs, or at least express a strony and

clear intent that costs, like attorneys’ fees, must be liberally awarded to

ensure effective enforcement of the civil rights laws.

Ae52

|

was not proper. -18/

And we once again express our hope that with this opin-

ion, 19/ the long history of this litigation involving conditions

at the Mississippi State Penitentiary has come to an end.

AFFIRMED IN PART; REVERSED IN PART.

JAMES C. HILL, Circuit Judge, dissenting in part:

There is no doubt that the equitable considerations weigh

overwhelmingly in favor of the plaintiffs and their attorneys.

The obstinance of the defendants has resulted in the two

awards, one 7 years old, remaining unpaid to date. The bulk of

the fees awarded reflect rates for attorneys’ services prevailing

in 1973. Inflation has diminished drastically the value of the

awards, If the judgment had been paid promptly, the attorneys

would have had the use of the money since 1973 and presum-

ably could have earned a significant amount of interest on the

money since that time. The same holds true for the substantial

out-of-pocket costs which have been incurred since the start of

this litigation more than 9 years ago. Defendants, on the other

hand, get a windfall. They have been unrestricted in their use

of the money. Even assuming earnings of only 5% per annum,

they could have by now recovered a substantial portion of the

amount they ultimately will have to pay. Their obstinance has

indeed been profitable.

18/ Obviously attorneys’ fees (to be fixed by the District Court on

remand) are allowable for successfully resisting this appeal on all but

the issue of interest on costs.

19/ Judge Hill, of course, continued in his view that en banc court

action is required.

Ac53

7%

I wholeheartedly join with the majority in the feeling that

the law ought to permit these plaintiffs to recover interest on

the attorneys’ fees awarded so long ago and since stubbornly

withheld from them by these defendants. Nevertheless, I must

dissent from the holding that attorneys’ fees, although a part of

costs, bear interest. The decision of a panel of this Court in

Carpa Inc. v. Ward Foods, Inc., 567 F. 2d 1316 (Sth Cir. 1978)

is, in my view, dispositive of the issue. As such, the majority’s

holding flies in the face of the doctrine of stare decisis repre-

sented here by the rule that one panel of this Court must abide

the decision of a prior panel. This abrupt departure comes

at a most inappropriate time in our history.

Although I am of the opinion that Carpa prevents the award-

ing of interest on out-of-pocket expenses, I must dissent from

the majority’s holding disallowing interest on those costs.

The majority’s partial recognition of Carpa to deny interest on

money actually paid out long ago cannot be made to dove

tail with its having kicked off the Carpa traces as to attorneys’

fees.

I. Attorneys’ Fees

Although several courts have either expressly or impliedly

approved the general proposition that interest on fee awards is

permissible, see City of Detroit v. Grinnell Corp., 575 F. 2d

1009, 1010 (2d Cir. 1978); Perkins v. Standard Oil, 487 F. 2d

672 (9th Cir. 1973); Holly v, Chasen No. 75-2116 (D. D. C.

Feb. 2, 1979); McPherson v. School District No. 186, 465 F.

Supp. 749, 765 (D. Ill. 1978); Cleverly v. Western Electric Co.

450 F. Supp. 507, 512 (W. D. Mo. 1978), aff'd, 594 F. 2d

638 (8th Cir. 1979), a panel of this Court recently came to the

contrary conclusion. Carpa was a treble-damage action brought

under the antitrust laws. The plaintiffs were awarded attor-

neys’ fees plus 6% interest. The court framed the issue before

it as follows: “whether the district court may award interest on

attorneys’ fees when the fees are treated as costs.” 567 F. 2d

at 1321. In reversing the award of interest, the panel relied

A-54

heavily on the fact that the statutory provision authorizing fee

awards, 15 U. S. C. A. § 15, categorizes fees as part of costs,

Id. at 1322. No authority for awarding interest on costs was

found, 2! there was nothing in the language of the statute to

indicate that interest on costs was recoverable, and the legisla-

tive history of the statute was silent on the question. Id,

The statute under consideration in this case, the Civil Rights

Attorneys’ fees Awards Act, also treats attorneys’ fees as

part of costs: “(T]he court, in its discretion, may allow the

prevailing party . . . areasonable attorney’s fee as part of the

costs.” 42 U. S. C. A. § 1988. As in Carpa, the legislative

history of the Act is silent on the question of interest, and there

is nothing in the language of the statute to indicate that Con-

gress intended that attorneys’ fees bear interest.

The majority criticizes this reading and application of Carpa

as “[relying] exclusively on the definition of attorneys’ fees

as part of costs.”” At 1273, supra, In the majority’s view, Carpa

only disposed of the interest issue in the context of the anti-

trust fee award provision. Having so freed itself of the obli-

1/ 15 U.S.C. A. § 15 provides for the recovery of “the cost of suit,

including a reasonable attorney’s fee.”

2/ ‘The one case which had been decided prior to Carpa, Perkins v.

Standard Oil, 487 F. 2d 672 (9th Cir. 1973), was rejected by the Panel

because it was “based on an erroneous view of the law.” Carpa, Inc. v.

Ward Foods, Inc,, 567 F. 2d 1316, 1822 (5th Cir, 1978).

3/ One district court case in which interest was allowed on an award

of fees is cited in the Senate Report accompanying the Act. S. Rep.

No, 94-1011, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. 6 (1976). That case, however, was

cited only as an example of the proper way of calculating the amount

of the award. Id. (citing Davis v. County of Los Angeles, 8 E. P. D. 9944

(C. D. Cal. 1974)).

A-55

gation to apply Carpa to this case, the majority porceeds to

analyze the Act’s fee provision to determine whether the rele-

vant policy considerations militate in favor of allowing interest

to be awarded. In this vein, three significant characteristics

of civil rights cases are noted. First, civil rights claimants often

do not have the money to hire an attorney. Second, unlike the

antitrust laws, the civil rights statutes do not provide for treble

damage awards from which a plaintiff might draw on to help

compensate his attorney. Third, since the relief in civil rights

cases frequently is injunctive only, normally there is no fund

from which to supplement court-awarded fees. With these

observations I have no argument. It is clear that these factors

led Congress to the conclusion that a fee award provision was

necessary to ensure that private citizens be able to obtain

counsel to assist them in seeking redress for violations of their

civil rights. Unfortunately, the question before this panel is

not whether attorneys’ fees should be awarded; rather, the

question is whether the fees that were awarded should bear

interest. I have little doubt that Congress would have authoriz-

ed interest had they thought of it. But, as the majority con-

cedes, Congress never considered the issue. Since Congress did

not manifest an intent one way or the other, the issue is one for

the judiciary to decide.

As in any other case where we are not compelled to a result

by the action or inaction of Congress, our first duty is to deter-

mine whether we are writing on a clean slate. My disagreement

with the majority stems from my belief that we are not writing

on a clean slate. While I agree that the result reached by the

majority is a desirable one, I do not feel that we are free to

reach it.

I begin with the proposition that attorneys’ fees although

different than other costs, are nevertheless a part of the costs of

a lawsuit. A reading of the majority opinions in Hutto v, Fin-

ney, 437 U. S. 678, 695-98, 98 S. Ct. 2565, 2576-77, 57 L.

Ed. 2d 522 (1978) and Alyeska Pipeline Co. v. Wilderness

Society, 421 U. S. 240, 247-57, 95 S. Ct. 1612, 1616-21, 44

A-56

L. Ed. 2d 141 (1975), leaves one with the unmistakable impres-

sion that attorneys’ fees are, and have long been considered,

a part of litigation costs. Thus, the majority’s belief that Con-

gress categorized fees as part of costs to ensure that the states

would not be insulated by the Eleventh Amendment is irrele-

vant. Whether Congress was or was not correct in the belief that

the terminology used would be dispositive of the Eleventh

Amendment question does alter the fact that attorneys’ fees

are part of costs.

The next question-whether costs bear interest-was, as I have

already stated, the question before the Carpa panel. The basis

of that panel’s holding is clear from its citation of Duffer v.

American Home Assurance Co., 512 F. 2d 793 (5th Cir. 1973).

Duffer was a diversity case in which the plaintiff was awarded

attorneys’ fees under the authority of a Texas insurance statute.

The statute stated that “‘attorney’s fee shall be taxed as a part

of the costs in the case.’’ Jd, at 800, The district court included

the fee award in the damage judgment and assessed interest

on the whole amount. This Court held that the fees should

have been taxed separately and no interest awarded thereon.

It is clear that the decision was based on the fact that attorneys’

fees are part of costs and, as such, do not bear interest. At least

that is the way the Carpa panel read Duffer:

[I]t is somewhat instructive to note that faced with a

statutory language similar to 15 U.S.C. §15, and without

any controlling precedent to bind it, the court held that

attorneys’ fees are an item of costs and as such do not

bear interest.

567 F. 2d at 1322 (emphasis added),

In my view, the four opinions discussed above preclude this

three-judge panel from deciding the desirability of allowing

interest on attorneys’ fees awarded under the Act.

A-57

Il. Out-of-Pocket Costs

The question whether interest should be awarded on out-

of-pocket costs is disposed of by the majority all too easily.

The footnote accompanying the one-sentence textural discus-

sion of out-of-pocket expenses explains that “firmly established

in our jurispurdence” is the principle that such costs do not

bear interest. At 1279, supra. The three cases cited by the

majority-Carpa, Duffer, and Jesko v. American-First Title &

Trust Co., 603 F. 2d 815, 820 n. 11 (10th Cir. 1979)-simply

do not support that statement. There is nothing in any of those

opinions to the effect that some costs are interest bearing while

others are not.

Judge Brown’s eloquent presentation of the Act’s legislative

history demonstrates that Congress perceived a great need to

authorize awards of attorneys’ fees. Contrary to the apparent

assumption of the majority, I do not believe that anything in

the legislative history discloses that Congress was only luke

warm in its decision that a prevailing plaintiff also should be

awarded his out-of-pocket costs. There is nothing to suggest

that Congress considered attorneys’ fees more important or

less important than other litigation expenses.

In my view, there is more reason to allow interest on out-

of-pocket expenses than on attorneys’ fees. The label “‘out-of-

pocket”’ is most revealing. Such costs include filing fees, court

reporter fees and the like. Unlike attorneys’ fees, these are bills

that had to be paid years ago to keep the lawsuit alive. Were

I not of the opinion that Carpa prevents us from allowing in-

terest on any part of costs, I would not hesitate to hold that

these plaintiffs should have interest on their out-of-pocket

costs.

III. Stare Decisis

The respective positions of the three judges on this panel can

A-58

be stated as follows:

The Majority

“I cannot bear to be told when an argument has been addressed

to me by which I am not convinced, that there is a case decided

which I am bound to follow.” In re Holmes, 60 C. D. 269

(1890).

The Dissent

“My duty is, as a Judge, to be governed by fixed rules and form-

er precedents.” Brownlow v, Egerton, 23 L. J. Rep. part 5, ch.

364 (1854).

The Panel

“I have often thought since that there is sound sense in what

was once said by the late Lord C. J. Eyre, that the sooner a bad

precedent was gotten rid of, the better.” King v. Stone, |

East 648 n. (a) (1801).

Were I writing on a clean slate, I would be hard pressed to

hold that costs do not bear interest. Outside this Circuit, there

is no authority supporting such a holding. As noted above,

most federal courts have found no barrier to awarding interest

on costs. Nonetheless, in our Circuit one panel cannot over-

rule a prior panel decision, and the question before this panel

is controlled by Carpa. See United States v. Lewis, 475 F.

2d 571, 574 (Sth Cir, 1973),4/

4# Defendants argue that even if we are not bound by Carpa we are

still precluded, by Rainey v. Jackson State College, 591 F. 2d 1002

(5th Cir. 1979), from affirming the award of interest. The cited decision

was an order of a panel of this Court denying a motion for post-judgment

interest on an award of attorneys’ fees. Because the order was not accom-

A-59

The majority’s departure from the doctrine of stare decisis

presents a grave threat to the orderly administration of justice

in this Circuit at a time in history when adherence is of particu-

lar and vital importance. This court has been restructured in a

fashion unprecedented in the history of the judiciary. With

the implementation of the Omnibus Judgeship Bill of 1978,

Pub. L. 95-486, 92 Stat. 1629 (1978), this Court is now made

up of twenty-six active judges and ten senior judges, most of

whom sit regularly on our panels, Whether or not such a body

can fairly and efficiently articulate, in one voice, the law af-

fecting nearly 50 million people remains to be seen. I submit

that our success may in large part depend on our adherence to

the doctrine of stare decisis. If we give only lip service to the

rule that one panel is bound by prior panel decisions, we run

the risk of transforming what has heretofore been an orderly

institution into an inconsistent, unpredictable body, made

up of three-judge panels that resemble waterbugs chasing each

other around and around the suface of a summer pond.

The issue of interest on costs should be presented to the

entire Court on a proposal that it be considered en banc.

Should a majority of the Court conclude that Carpa was an un-

wise decision, these long persevering plaintiffs can receive a full

loaf instead of the half loaf given them by the majority. More

importantly, it would give the full Court the opportunity

to establish a general rule for the scores of federal statutes that

authorize awards of attorneys’ fees and our-of-pocket expenses.

4/ Continued

panied by a written opinion, it is not clear that Rainey alone would

preclude us from affirming the award of interest. Even if the panel in

Rainey did base its decision on Carpa, an en banc decision declaring that

costs bear interest would eliminate any precedential value that Rainey now

carries.

A-60

If we approach this problem on a case-by-case basis, we can

expect to be deluged with litigation over the more than 75

statutes listed in footnote 14 of the majority opinion. Cf.

Arkansas v, Sanders, 442 U. S. 753, 99 S. Ct. 2586, 2595,

61 L. Ed. 2d 235 (1979) (Blackmun, J. dissenting).

If it be the will of the Court, the correct rule can be an-

nounced en banc, Of course, if a majority of the Court does

not wish the Carpa rule reconsidered, then it should not be,

for it is the Court’s decision to make. It would be a gross

departure from good judicial practice for a three-judge panel

to alter an established rule merely because its members fear

that the full court would not agree with its views.

West Number System

A-61

|

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Nos. 1215, 1235 - September Term, 1979

(Argued April 28, 1980 — Decided June 4, 1980)

Docket Nos. 80-7289, 80-7295

NEW YORK STATE ASSOCIATION FOR

RETARDED CHILDRED, INC. et al.

and

PATRICIA PARISI, et al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

against

HUGH L. CAREY, individually and as Governor of the State

of New York, and EDWARD V. REGAN, individually and as

Comptroller of the State of New York, et al.,

Defendants-Appellants

Before:

LUMBARD, VAN GRAAFEILAND and KEARSE,

Circuit Judges.

3323

A-62

LUMBARD, Circuit Judge:

Hugh L. Carey and Edward V. Regan, the Governor and

Comptroller of the State of New York respectively, appeal from

two orders entered in the Eastern District by Judge Bartels on

April 10, 1980. One order joined the Comptroller as a party,

the other adjudged the Governor and the Comptroller to be

in contempt if funding was not provided for the Willowbrook

Review Panel by April 15th. We granted a stay of the contempt

order pending disposition of this appeal.

Although the Governor was a party to the Consent Judgment

of April 30, 1975, which was designed to improve conditions

for a class of 5200 mentally retarded residents at the Willow-

brook Developmental Center on Staten Island, in part through

the establishment of a Review Panel, we conclude that Gover-

nor Carey has complied with the Consent Judgment by taking

all steps within his lawful authority to secure funding for the

Panel. Furthermore, we conclude that since the Consent Judg-

ment clearly states that the Governor’s efforts are to be made

within the framework of the state constitution and laws, there

is no justification for requiring action in violation of New

York law. Accordingly, the order is reversed.

This action was brought in 1972 by plaintiff and other

similar organizations and the parents of retarded residents on

behalf of all Willowbrook residents against the Governor and

numerous state agencies and officials charged with operating

Willowbrook to improve conditions which were alleged to vio-

late the constitutional rights of the residents. After extended

hearings, the parties agreed to a Consent Judgment signed by

Judge Orrin G. Judd on April 30, 1975, which provided in

part that “Without admission and prior to final findings of

fact and conclusions of law”’ the parties agreed to “additional

steps, standards and procedures necessary to secure the consti-

tutional right to protection from harm for Willowbrook’s

A-63

residents” in order to ensure that the procedures set out in

greater detail in the judgment and accompanying 29 page ap-

pendix would be carried out. The judgment provided for the

creation of a seven member Review Panel.

Paragraph 2 of the Consent Judgment provided:

“Within their lawful authority, including the State constitution

and applicable State laws, and subject to any legislative approval

that may be required, defendants are hereby ordered and en-

joined to take all actions necessary to secure implementation

of the steps, standards and procedures contained in this judg-

ment and in Appendix ‘A’ hereto . . . Defendants shall take

all steps necessary to ensure the full and timely financing of this

judgment, including, if necessary, submission of appropriate

budget requests to the legislature.’ It is conceded that the

Governor has done all in his power to make specific budget

requests to the Legislature to obtain the appropriation of

$342,000 to finance the operation of the Review Panel and

its staff. The funds requested for a Review Panel constituted a

specific line item under the $747,000 requested for “‘Court-

Ordered Program’’. Despite the Governor’s request the Legis-

lature specifically deleted the entire $342,000 item. The Senate

Finance Committee and the Assembly Ways and Means Com-

mitte stated:

The Fiscal Committees support the efforts of the

Executive to meet the community placement mandates

of the Willowbrook Consent Decree. Funding is decreas-

ed by ($348,000) to reflect denial of funding for the

Willowbrook Review Panel and to return reimbursement

rates for other advisory groups to 1979-80 levels.

Apparently the Legislature disapproved of the high per diem

rate to be paid to consultants on the Review Panel. The plain-

tiffs then petitioned the district court to order the restoration

A-64

of the funds and Judge Bartels directed the Governor and the

Controller (about to be joined as a party) to show cause on

April 7 why they should not be ordered to pay the Review

Panel’s expenses or be held in contempt by failure to do so.

After hearing argument, Judge Bartel ordered that the Comp-

troller be joined as a party and that he and the Governor be

adjudged in contempt if funding was not provided by April 15.

Meanwhile, on April 14, the Governor submitted a supplemen-

tal appropriation bill, upon which the Legislature has not yet

acted, to restore the Review Panel’s funds.

Judge Bartels acknowledged at the April 7 show-cause

hearing that Governor Carey has acted entirely in good faith

in this dispute. Nevertheless, Judge Bartels stated in his April

10 Memorandum Decision and Order, “[W]e remain un-

convinced that the Governor, together with the extensive

resources, financial and otherwise, at his disposal, has done

all within his powers, through formal and informal channels,

to see that funding be either restored or replaced.”’ Judge

Bartels then suggested that the Governor, in order to provide

at least temporary funding for the Panel, could draw funds

from any one of five appropriations which, in Judge Bartels’

view, could be considered to comprehend such a use, or could

interchange a portion of appropriated funds pursuant to Sec. 51

of the New York Finance Law. Accordingly, on the ground

that funds from which the Review Panel could be paid were

at the appellants’ disposal, Judge Bartels ordered that Governor

Carey and Comptroller Regan be held in contempt if funding

was not provided for the review Panel by April 15. We reverse.

The appellants can obey Judge Bartels’ order and thereby

avoid the sanctions attending contempt, only by violating the

Constitution and laws of the State of New York. Article VII,

Section 7 of the New York State Constitution prescribes:

No money shall ever be paid out of the state treasury

or any of its funds, or any of the funds under its man-

A-65

agement, except in pursuance of an appropriation by

law;. . . and every such law making a new appropria-

tion or continuing or reviving an appropriation shall

distinctly specify the sum appropriated, and the object

or purpose to which it is to be applied; and it shall not

be sufficient for such law to refer to any other law to

fix such sum.

New York case law states clearly that this provision “‘prohibits

funds from being expended in excess of the amounts appro-

priated and for purposes other than those specified in the

Appropriations Bill.” County of Oneida v. Berle, 91 Misc. 2d

694, 398 N. Y. S. 2d 600, 603 (Sup. Ct. 1977), aff'd

N. Y. 2d (N. Y. Court of Appeals, per curiam, April 1,

1980). In affirming the Supreme Court in Berle, the New

York Court of Appeals reiterated, “However laudable its

goals, the executive branch may not override enactments which

have emerged from the lawmaking process. It is required to

implement policy declarations of the Legislature, unless vetoed

or judicially invalidated.” N. Y. 2d (Slip op.

at 7 (N. Y. Ct. App., April 1, 1980) ). Thus, under New York

law, Governor Carey can legally expend funds for the Review

Panel only if the Legislature has appropriated funds for that

purpose. The Legislature did not appropriate funds for the

Review Panel; on the contrary, it deleted the proposed line

item for the Review Panel and it expressly stated its intention

to deny such funding in the Report of the Senate Finance

Committee and the Assembly Ways and Means Committee. L/

1) Appellees argue that statements in the Report of the Senate Finance

Committee and the Assembly Ways and Means Committee do not amount

to binding statements of legislative intent under New York Public Interest

Research Group, Inc, v. Carey, 55 A. D. 24 274, 390 N. Y. S. 2d 236

(3d Dept. 1976), app. dism. as moot, 41 N. Y. 2d 1072, 896 N. Y. S, 2d

185 (1977), and that Governor Carey can therefore legally expend funds

for the Review Panel. However, even assuming that the report in the case

before us is the same type of report as that in New York Public Interest

A-66

The Legislature’s denial also. bars Governor Carey, notwith-

standing the suggestions of Judge Bartels and appellees, from

drawing funds for the Review Panel from other appropriations

or pursuant to his authority under Section 51 of the New York

Finance Law to interchange up to 5% of different appropria-

tions. Section 43 of the New York State Finance Law states:

Money appropriated for a specific purpose shall not

be used for any other purpose, and the Comptroller

shall not draw a warrant for the payment of any sum

appropriated, unless it clearly appears from the detailed

statement presented to him by the person demanding

the same as required by this chapter, that the purposes

for which such money is demanded are those for which

it was appropriated.

1/ Continued

Research Group, where taxpayers sought to restrain the Governor from

expending funds actually appropriated, we do not find appellee’s argument

persuasive. In that case, the report recommended to the Legislature,

prior to the budget’s enactment, certain reductions in the proposed ap-

propriations and, in conjunction therewith, that certain specific job

titles be abolished. In enacting the budget, the Legislature reduced pro-

posed appropriations and specifically abolished jobs in some instances,

and reduced appropriations but did not specifically abolish jobs in other

instances. The Appellate Division held that the Legislature’s specific

abolition of some jobs and its silence as to other jobs “is sufficient to

destroy reliance upon the Report as establishing the intent to abolish

certain positions where the legislation is silent thereto.” Jd. at 237. In

the case before us, however, the Legislature's deletion of the line item

for the Review Panel wholly accords with the statement of intent in the

Report. There is no reason, therefore, to doubt that the Report's state-

ments represent the Legislature’s intent. Moreover, Governor Carey

could not draw funds for the Review Panel even absent the Report, for

he could not do so in compliance with Section 43 of the New York

Finance Law, as explained infra.

A-67

vy

In light of the Legislature’s denial of funding for the Review

Panel, Governor Carey cannot present to Comptroller Regan

as Section 43 requires, a statement clearly indicating that “the

purposes for which such money is demanded are those for

which it is appropriated.’’ Section 51 does not avail Governor

Carey because it only authorizes an interchange between, on

the one hand, ‘“‘any item or items within a program or purpose”’

and, on the other, “‘any item or items within the same program

or purpose, or with other items . . . contained in the comp-

troller’s classification.” There being no item for the Review

Panel in enacted budget, Governor Carey cannot interchange

funds between the Review Panel and some item that the Legis-

lature did enact.

Appellees argue that Judge Bartels can order Governor

Carey to expend funds for the Review Panel, or face con-

tempt, even if New York law forbids Governor Carey from

expending funds for that purpose. Appellees rest this argument

upon cases which hold that state action, or inaction, cannot

defeat a constitutional or federally created right, See, e. g.,

State of Washington v. Washington State Commercial Passenger

Fishing Vessel Association, 444 U. S. (1979); North

Carolina Board of Education v. Swann, 402 U. S. 43 (1971).

The cases appellees cite did not, however, involve the remedy

ordered in this case: That a state official expend state funds

for a purpose expressly disallowed by the state legislature.

We have previously held, and repeat here, that a federal district

court ought not to put itself “in the difficult position of trying

to enforce a direct order. . . to raise and allocate large sums of

money, . . . steps traditionally left to appropriate executive

and legislative bodies responsible to the voters.”” Rhem uv;

Malcolm, 507 F. 2d 333, 341 (2d Cir. 1974). In the face of

constitutional violations at a state institution, a federal court

cna order the state either to take the steps necessary to recti-

fy the violations or to close the institution. Thus, a state cannot

avoid the obligation of correcting the constitutional violations

of its institutions simply by pleading fiscal inability. Dimarzo

A-68

- .

v. Cahill, 575 F. 2d 16 (lst Cir. 1978); Welsch v. Likins, 550

1122 (8th Cir. 1977); Rhem, supra, But that remedy leaves the

question of the expenditure of state funds in the hands of

citizens of the state, not in the hands of federal judges. Further-

more, the broad remedial powers invoked by appellees are

predicated upon a finding of a constitutional violation. Assum-

ing that the conditions at Willowbrook violated the Constitu-

tion in 1975 when the Consent Judgment was filed, -2/ and

accordingly that the federal court would have had remedial

power to order the establishment of the Review Panel upon a

finding of unconstitutionality, 3/ there is no basis for ad-

ditionally assuming that, by itself, the state’s refusal to fund the

Review Panel, which was established by the Consent judgment,

violates the Constitution.

The wording of the Consent Judgment envisioned the practi-

cal and political difficulties which the Governor necessarily

faced regarding the appropriation of funds to maintain Willow-

brook, and provide for the Review Panel, in accordance with

provisions of the Consent Judgment, Thus, the Governor

consented only to act within his “lawful authority, including

the State Constitution and applicable State laws, and subject

to any legislative approval that may be required.”

Under the Consent Judgment the court cannot compel the

2/ Appellants do not concede that the conditions of Willowbrook

Developmental Center violate the Constitution today.

3/ Nothing in this opinion should be construed to agree with the view

that a federal court properly exercises its function when it takes upon

itself the supervision of a state institution like Willowbrook Develop-

ment Center. From the record before us in New York Association for

Retarded Children v, Carey, 596 F. 2d 27, 33 (2d Cir.), cert denied,

U. 8S. (1979), and in this proceeding, it appears that the

district court has, since 1975, devoted considerable attention to the

detaiis of the operation of the Review Panel and the supervision of Willow-

brook.

A-69

i

Governor to act unlawfully. Those organizations and citizens

who are properly concerned with the supervision of the con-

ditions at Willowbrook must seek to convince their represen-

tatives in the New York State Senate and Assembly, who

control the purse-strings and determine the priorities for the

expenditure of State money, that funds for the Review Panel

should be provided.

Reversed.

KEARSE, Circuit Judge (concurring) :

I concur in the result, but I find it unnecessary, on the facts

of this case, to decide whether a federal court ought to be in

a “ ‘position of trying to enforce a direct order. . . to raise

and allocate large sums of money. . ..’ ” (Majority opinion

6.) And, with all due respect, I do not agree with the impli-

cations of the majority opinion that the only alternatives

available to the district court to remedy constitutional viola-

tions at a state institution are to “‘order the state either to

take the steps ory) to rectify the violations or to close

the institution.” (Id.) -1/ 1 believe that the order of contempt

1/ = The majority cites and endorses Rhem v. Malcolm, 507 F. 2d 333,

841 (2d Cir. 1974), as holding that a district court “ought not” to put

itself in a position of trying to enforce a direct order requiring the expen-

diture of state funds, To the extent that the majority intends this state-

ment, together with the sentence that follows, to reflect a limitation of

the court’s power, I do not believe Rhem should be read so broadly.

In Rhem this Court opted for a remedy which it described as having

“the crucial practical advantage . . . of not putting the judge in the

difficult position of trying to enforce a direct order to the City to raise

and allocate large sums of money. . .” 507 F. 2d at 341 (emphasis ad-

ded). In a footnote the Court indicated that special circumstances might

warrant such an order:

A-70

should be reversed simply because it was not demonstrated

that the Consent Judgment was violated.

The defendants who were parties to the Consent Judgment

included Governor Carey and other State officials but did not

include the State Legislature. Paragraph 2 of the Consent

Judgment expressly stated that the defendants would take

the actions required by the Judgment, which included the

funding of the Review Panel, -2/ within the framework of the

State’s constitution and laws, and subject to any legislative

approval that might be required. Paragraph 2 concluded with

1/ Continued

{S]Jince prohibiting use of the Tombs to incarcerate detainees

is a viable alternative, we do not have a situation where the

unconstitutionally-administered governmental function must be

kept operating in any event. In such a case, a court might have

no choice but to order an expensive, burdensome or administra-

tively inconvenient remedy.

507 F. 2d at n. 19.

There is little doubt that a federal court can issue a remedial order

which as a practical matter requires expenditures by the state. See Mil-

likin v, Bradley, 433 U. S. 267, 289 (1977) (upholding order requiring

state to bear expenses since federal court can “enjoin state officials to

conform their conduct to requirements of federal law, notwithstanding

a direct and substantial impact on the state treasury’). The courts under-

standably have been reluctant to cause “needless direct confrontations”

with state legislatures, Welsch v. Likins, 550 F. 2d 1122, 1132 (8th Cir.

1977), and in some cases have merely expressed the hope that state legis-

latures will cooperate once their constitutional duty is made clear, See,

e. g., N. Y. 8. Ass'n for Retarded Children v. Carey, 596 F. 2d 27, 38-

39 (2d Cir, 1979); Welsch v. Likins, supra, 550 F., 2d at 1132.

2/ Paragraph 7(c) of the Consent Judgment provides, in part: “Review

Panel members and Review Panel staff shall receive appropriate compen-

sation from defendants, on a monthly basis, and shall promptly be reim-

bursed by defendants for reasonable out of pocket expenses incurred in

performing the duties of the Review Panel.”

A-71

the requirement that “Defendants should take all steps neces-

sary to ensure full and timely financing of this Judgment,

including, if necessary, submission of appropriate budget

requests to the legislature.”

The district court found that the Governor had made a good

faith effort to ensure financing for the Review Panel, through

the submission of a budget request which expressly sought

$342,300 for “services and expenses of the Willowbrook

Review Panel. including compensation for panel members.” -3/

The legislature deleted this line from the proposed budget

and enacted the budget without providing funds for the Review

Panel. The legislature’s Fiscal Committees’ Report on the bud-

get stated as follows:

The Fiscal Committees support the efforts of the

Executive to meet the community placement mandates

of the Willowbrook Consent Decree. Funding is decreas-

ed by ($348,000) to reflect denial of funding for the

Willowbrook Review Panel and to return reimburse-

ment rates for other advisory groups to 1979-80 levels.

(Emphasis added.) Thus the Governor’s request for Review

Panel funds was denied by the legislature.

The district court was nevertheless critical of the Governor

for not funding the Review Panel out of moneys appropriated

3/ Prior to entry of the contempt order below, the Governor had

submitted to the legislature a supplemental appropriation bill, with a

“message of necessity,” to restore funds for the Review Panel. The legis-

lature had not acted upon this request by the date of oral argument and

we are unaware of any action since that time.

A-72

elsewhere in the budget. Yet, as pointed out by the majority,

New York law forbids the Governor’s expenditure of funds

for purposes specifically eliminated by the legislature. In

New York Public Interest Research Group, Inc. v. Carey,

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.