Opposition — S.S. Zoe Colocotroni v. Puerto Rico

Supreme Court brief1981

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Beer

hg Bet aaa ek aL Upp “

No. 80-758

| In the

Supreme Court of the United States

OcrosBer TERM, 1980

THE SS ZOE COLOCOTRONI, MARBONANZA COMPANIA

NAVIERA, S.A., COLOCOTRONI LTD., COLOCOTRONI

BROTHERS, S.A., THE WEST OF ENGLAND SHIP OWNERS

MUTUAL PROTECTION AND INDEMNITY ASSOCIATION

(LUXEMBOURG) AND THE WEST OF ENGLAND SHIP

OWNERS MUTUAL INSURANCE ASSOCIATION (LONDON)

LIMITED,

PETITIONERS,

U.

THE COMMONWEALTH OF PUERTO RICO AND THE

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY BOARD OF THE

COMMONWEALTH OF PUERTO RICO,

RESPONDENTS.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

FIRST CIRCUIT

i

5

i

¢

/

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

NICOLAS JIMENEZ

Of Counsel: G.P.O. Box 6104

WILLIAM A. GRAFFAM San Juan, Puerto Rico 00936

Jimenez & FusteE (809) 767-1030

G.P.O. Box 6104 Attorney for Respondents

San Juan, Puerto Rico 00936

Blanchard Press. Inc.. Boston, Mass. -Law Printers

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

eS Se ree ey reer ere re l

A. Summary of Pertinent Facts................ ]

1. The Grounding and Subsequent Oil Spill. 1

Di FP a reo ks ce suek brace son ees 2

B. The Proceedings Below.................... 3

1. The Proceedings in the District Court.... 3

2. The Proceedings in the Court of Appeals. 5

ee REET TIT Le Tee 5

b. The Striking of the Pleadings.... 7

i. Fee BR csass sddesenes 8

Reasons for Denying the Writ....................05: 8

I. The Court of Appeals’ Decision Upholding Per-

sonal Jurisdiction Over the West of England, Is

in Consonance With the Mandate of This

Court and, Therefore, the Writ Should Be

w)

®

S.

s

oo

A. West of England’s Presence in Puerto Rico 9

B. The Decision of the Court of Appeals Is

Not in Conflict With World-Wide

Volkswagen Corp. v. Woodson, supra... 14

C. The Court Below Did Not Devise a

“Minimum Contact” Rule for West of

EE 6 os Siacexekneschecaeeeeeuenes 16

II. Defendants’ “Second Reason for Granting the

Writ” Is Being Improperly Presented to This

Court as They Raised a Defense That Was

Stricken and Otherwise Waived by the Defen-

| SPD eA A ORs ar oe eh hrm pike asa 18

III. The Clear Language of Section 1131(29), 12

L.P.R.A. 1131(29) of the Public Policy En-

vironmental Act of the Commonwealth of

Puerto Rico Provides of Recovery of the Total

Value of the Damages Caused to the Environ-

ment and/or Natural Resources by the Polluter 22

CP ee APT COL A ope hire cw 31

ii Table of Contents

Page

Appendix A—Order of the United States District Court

Dated August 8, 1979 and Entered August

ES eee eee 32

Appendix B— West of England’s Written Instructions to

Their Correspondents in Foreign Ports.... 38

Appendix C—Pertinent Pages of West of England’s List

of Correspondents Throughout the World. 50

Appendix D—Contains the Following Statutes: 48

U.S.C.A. 746, 747, 749; 12 L.P.R.A. 43,

Ma EBs g SS bss ncccccnsees 55

Appendix E—Various Federal and State Statutes Re-

lated to Recovery for Living, Natural Re-

PU EPMUMITD. 00 cece cers cncnne 58

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Barger v. Hanson, 426 F.2d 640 (C.A. 9th 1970)........ 28

Burgess v. M/V Tamano, 564 F.2d 964 (C.A. Ist 1977)

cert. den. 435 U.S. 941 (1978). .......... ccc eee eens 26

California Department of Fish and Game v. SS Bourne-

mouth, 307 F.Supp. 922 (1969)...............-.0 26

Complaint of Steuart Transportation, 435 F.Supp. 798

(E.D.Va. 1977), aff'd, Steuart Transportation Co. v.

Allied Towing, 596 F.2d 609 (C.A. 4th 1979)........ 29

Department of Pollution Control v. International Paper

eS een 26

DeSpirito v. Bristol County Water Co., 102 R.I. 50,

SEE vnc c ns cccccveccncccccncces 29

Hanson v. Denckla, 357 U.S. 235 (1958)......... 9, 14, 18

Higuera v. Pueblo International, Inc., 585 F.2d 555

Rss nin slats sar ccprreccccuwereces 7

Illinois v. Milwaukee, 406 U.S. 91, Note 5 (1972)....... 28

Table of Contents iii

Page

In Re Complaint of Allied Towing, 478 F.Supp. 398

CE TAVA TOF ei ccc dnc shcsrdesesvtveheceaeaes 29

International Shoe Co. v. Washington, 326 U.S. 310,

1 SESS eres ih tree et ere 9, 14, 18

Levi v. Schwartz, 201 Md. 575, 95 A.2d 322 (1953)..... 29

Louisville ¢ Nashville R. Co. v. Becker, 126 Ky. 328,

Fe @& fF. |) rerererrrerr. yrverer ery. 29

Lumbermen’s Mutual Casualty Company v. Elbert, 348

TAS 7). ror rr errr Teer 21

Maine v. M/V Tamano, 357 F.Supp. 1097 (D.Me. 1973)

ahita dh banc ee Oe CRE Ghee eed bald eee aS 23, 26

Maryland v. Amerada Hess, 350 F.Supp. 1060 (D.Me.

BUG cad ie Phattone pests seeaxheet eae eee 23, 26

Matter of Oswego Barge Co., 439 F.Supp. 312 (D.N.Y.

Ee COREE EOE ELC Pert) eri eee ee 23

McGee v. International Life Insurance Company, 355

Jf & 7), rere erer rrr. Cor 14, 17

National Steel Corp. v. Great Lakes Towing Co., 547

F.9d 390 (C.A. Oth 1078)... 0... ccc ec ceecenvcens 28

Olympic Towing v. Nebel Towing Co., 419 F.2d 230

PPP rr erry: rere et nce oe 21

Rector, Wardens & Vestry of St. Christopher's Episcopal

Church v. C. S. McCrossan, Inc., 306 Minn. 535, 235

8 of f fi oo, Serer reriyrs rier 29

Standard Oil Corp. v. Southern Pacific Co., 268 U.S.

i) yr Tren reer ere rr rrr. ere 28

State v. Jersey Power and Light Co., 308 A.2nd 671

FRAME rer rye fryers oie ek yx 26

State Ex-Rel Pollution Control v. Kerr, McGee Corp.,

S98 P.9d 1986 (Olde. 1075)... 2... ccc ceccvccccens 26

Stephenville, N. & S.T.Ry. Co. v. Baker (Texas Court

of Civil Appeals) 203 S.W. 385 (1918)............... 29

The Baltimore, 75 U.S. 377 (1869)..........000ceceee: 28

Table of Contents iv

Page

United States v. SS Ocean Eagle, 47 F.R.D. 519 (1969).. 12

Watson v. Employers’ Liability Assurance Corporation,

Pe eS fe er eee 20

World-Wide Volkswagen Corp. v. Woodson, 444 U.S.

fs Re eee eee re 9, 14, 15, 17

Constitutional Provisions

Art. VI, Sec. 19 of the Constitution of the Common-

Se oe UD view a we eae) 22, 30

Statutes

Clean Water Act, Section 311, 33 U.S.C. 1321(F)(5). 26, 28

OCS Lands Act, 43 U.S.C. 1813(b)(3).............05. 26

CER RE ES eee res ee ee eter eee 9

Mes Ses ck recs ew ham reels oes tees 9

Organic Act of Puerto Rico, 48 U.S.C. 737 ............ 9

a I FU Pk ob .0-o bex aes Ves ves bine 22, 30

gs FS ee RTE Te ee Toe ere eet 22, 30

Public Policy Environmental Act of the Commonwealth

of Puerto Rico, Section 1131(29), 12 L.P.R.A. 1131(29)

lame reer ON ed Ee 4, 8, 22, 23, 26, 30

Ee fs tL ae ery eee ie 23

Insurance Code of the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, .

Chapter 11, 26 L.P.R.A. 1101-1137......... 18, 19

Section 11.190, 26 L.P.R.A. 1119.............. 18

Section 20.010, 26 L.P.R.A. 2001........... 20, 21

OF Re a INS, Via ss eek baa kind va Kas eon’ 22, 30

Florida (F.S.A. Sec. 376.11(5)(c) (1974)............05- 26

Maryland (A.C.Md. Natural Resources Sec. 8-1411(f)

CES Ve Jdr hn see aks 46 0Aan s wdeen gt iawen ed oes 26

Massachusetts (M.G.L.A. c. 21 Sec. 27(10) (1973)...... 26

Mississippi (M.A.C. Sec. 49-27-55 (1979 Supp.) )....... 26

New Jersey (N.J.S.A. 58:10-23.11g(a)(2) (1979 Supp.) ) 26

Table of Contents Vv

Page

New York (N.Y. Nar.L. 181(2)(b) (1979 Supp.) )....... 26

North Carolina (N.C.G.S. Sec. 143-215.90 (1979 Supp.) ) 26

Oklahoma (82 O.S.A. Sec. 937(b) (1971) )............. 26

Oregon (O.R.S. Sec. 468.745 (1977) ).........0000005. 26

Virginia (VA. Code Sec. 62.1-44.15(11)(a)............. 26

Washington (R.C.N. Sec. 90.48.142 (1977)............ 26

Other Authorities

Restatement (Second) of Torts, Section 929, l(a) 1979 24, 29

In the

Supreme Court of the United States

OcrosBer Term, 1980

No.80-758

THE SS ZOE COLOCOTRONI, MARBONANZA COMPANIA

NAVIERA, S.A., COLOCOTRONI LTD., COLOCOTRONI

BROTHERS, S.A., THE WEST OF ENGLAND SHIP OWNERS

MUTUAL PROTECTION AND INDEMNITY ASSOCIATION

(LUXEMBOURG) AND THE WEST OF ENGLAND SHIP

OWNERS MUTUAL INSURANCE ASSOCIATION (LONDON)

LIMITED,

PETITIONERS,

v~.

THE COMMONWEALTH OF PUERTO RICO AND THE

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY BOARD OF THE

COMMONWEALTH OF PUERTO RICO,

RESPONDENTS.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

FIRST CIRCUIT

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Summary of Pertinent Facts

1. The Grounding and Subsequent Oil Spill

On March 15, 1973, the SS ZOE COLOCOTRONI

departed La Salina, Venezuela, with a full load of crude oil

2

for Guayanilla, Puerto Rico. At 0110 hours on March 18, eigh-

teen or twenty miles due south of Puerto Rico the ship’s master

was not able to establish her position. At 0300 hours on March

18 the ZOE COLOCOTRONI ran out of water and went hard

aground 3 miles due south of Puerto Rico. About 10 minutes

after the grounding the ZOE COLOCOTRONI dumped

5,170.1 tons or 1.5 million gallons of oil into the sea. This oil,

displaced by the elements, came ashore at Bahia Sucia, a

natural shoreline mangrove forest in the southwestern tip of

Puerto Rico. The oil devastated the entire Bay. The cause of

the grounding was the fact that the ship’s crew was hopelessly

lost while making the approach to Puerto Rico. The factors

which directly contributed to this condition were (1) lack of

proper charts and nautical publications onboard, (2) the

failure of the master to properly compensate for a westerly set

in the current, (3) inoperative or defective navigational equip-

ment among which were: (a) the gyro compass, (b) the gyro

compass recorder, (c) the fathometer, (d) the fathometer

recording device, (e) the radio direction finder, (f) the radar

and (g) the radio equipment; (4) an incompetent crew (the

third officer, the radio operator and two engineers were

unlicensed) and (5) the failure to post a bow lookout. The ZOE

COLOCOTRONI was a rust bucket. (58a-67a)'

2. The Parties

As a result of the spill the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico

and its principal environmental agency, the Environmental

Quality Board (hereinafter referred to as “E.Q.B.”) on March

19, 1973, filed an admiralty suit in rem and in personam

against the SS ZOE COLOCOTRONI and her owners, Mar-

bonanza Compania Naviera, S.A. and/or Colocotroni Ltd.,

' Page references to defendants-petitioners’ Appendix, which is

bound separately are cited “ a”. Page references to the 10-Volume

Appendix used before the Court of Appeals are cited “A ", and the

3-Volume Consolidated Supplemental Appendix as “SA ”.

3

and/or Colocotroni Brothers, $.A. and the underwriters, The

West of England Ship Owners Mutual Protection and Indem-

nity Association (Luxembourg) and The West of England Ship

Owners Mutual Insurance Association (London) Limited

(hereinafter referred to as “West of England”). (58a)

B. The Proceedings Below

1. Proceedings in the District Court

Plaintiffs claimed clean up costs and damages to the natural

resources of Bahia Sucia. Admiralty and maritime jurisdiction

of the District Court was invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C.A.

1333. (7a)

West of England moved to quash the service of process

made pursuant to the Puerto Rico Long Arm Statute and to

dismiss the action. This motion was denied by the District

Court in its opinion and order of January: 14, 1977. (109a)

On October 21, 1977, the District Court struck defendants’

pleadings on the issue of liability and their petition for ex-

oneration from and/or limitation of liability. The District

Court left open the question of damages. (103a, 58a)

The District Court found that defendants had exhibited

“bad faith and callous disregard of their responsibilities in this

litigation”, characterized defendants’ conduct as “an affront

to this court’s dignity” and found that the conduct had se-

verely prejudiced plaintiffs’ preparation of their case as well as

the court’s attempts to assure that the trial proceeded as sched-

uled. (107a) The facts upon which those findings were based

appeared fully stated by the Court of Appeals’ Opinion of

August 12, 1980. (16a-24a)

The trial on the question of damages commenced on

November 7, 1977 and lasted six weeks.

On August 15, 1978, the District Court ruled that the Com-

monwealth of Puerto Rico had standing to sue by reason of its

4

proprietary interest in the affected property and pursuant to

the common law doctrines of “trustees of the public trust” and

“parens patriae”. The Court also held that the Environmental

Quality Board had a cause of action arising under Section

1131(29) of the Puerto Rico Public Policy Environmental Act, 12

L.P.R.A. 1131(29). (67a-70a) The District Court found that 5

years after the spill there was still 23 acres on the west side of

Bahia Sucia containing oil impregnated sediments. (84a-86a).

The Court further found that over 92 million marine animals

were destroyed as a result of the oil spill. (85a) Based on the

uncontradicted evidence in the record, the Court concluded

that said animals could not be replaced at a cost of less than six

cents per animal. The District Court rejected part of plaintiffs’

restoration proposal of restoring the area by removing the oil

impregnated sediments and replacing said sediments with new

material, but did grant plaintiffs the cost of replanting 23

acres of mangrove and the cost of monitoring the plantation

for five years. Thus; the court entered judgment in favor of the

plaintiffs in the amount of $78,108.89 for plaintiffs’ proven

and unreimbursed clean up costs; $559,500 for replanting 23

acres of mangrove and monitoring them for five years; and

$5,526,583.20 for the replacement cost of the marine animals

that were destroyed by the oil spill. (85a-86a)

After filing a timely appeal, defendants asked the Court of

Appeals for permission to file in the District Court motions

under Rule 60(a) and 60(b) of the Federal Rules of Civil Pro-

cedure for the correction of alleged clerical mistakes and for

relief from judgment. The Court of Appeals, on June 11, 1979,

held that leave was not required prior to filing a Motion for

Relief in the District Court under Rule 60(b). (49a-56a)

Defendants then filed Rule 60(a) and (b) Motions before the

District Court. In support of their Motion they filed

voluminous expert studies and affidavits that they labeled

newly discovered evidence. The Commonwealth, on the other

hand, had to rebut all this alleged newly discovered evidence.

—

5

In essence, the defendants retried the case before the District

Court on documents.

On August 8, 1979, the District Court denied defendants’

Rule 60 Motions. The Court expressed its serious reservations

as to whether the Motions complied with the requirements of

Rule 60(b) (2), but in any event examined defendants’

materials and found nothing that would move it to alter its

original decision.®

2. The Proceedings in the Court of Appeals

The United States Court of Appeals affirmed the District

Court’s findings as to in personam jurisdiction over the in-

surance company (24a-30a) and that the E.Q.B. had

cognizable cause of action to recover the total value of the

damages caused to the environment and/or the natural

resources. (3la-33a) The Court of Appeals, however, vacated

the District Court’s award of damages as measured on the

basis of six cents per animal (45a-46a) and remanded the case

to the District Court for reevaluation of the damages

(47a-48a). A cross-petition for writ of certiorari on said issue

has been timely filed by the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico

and the E.Q.B., respondents herein.

a. Jurisdiction

On the issue of whether West of England properly availed

itself of the privilege of conducting business transactions

within the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, thus invoking the

benefit and protection of the laws of the Commonwealth of

Puerto Rico, the Court decided that the files of the Puerto Rico

correspondent of West of England revealed the many instances

2 In its Order of August 8, 1979, the District Court gives a de-

tailed reasoning as to the method it adopted for computing the

damages awarded. The same is attached to the instant Brief as

Appendix “A”.

6

in which ships insured by West of England were involved in

incidents giving rise to claims or potential claims while the

ships were present in Puerto Rico waters. In each of these in-

stances West of England’s local correspondent was instructed

to take action to forestall claims, to provide services for the

shipowners or to prepare for any eventual litigation. The West

of England advertised to insured shipowners the fact that such

services would be available through its local Puerto Rico cor-

respondent. The contract of insurance contained no provision

preventing any ship from calling on Puerto Rico or limiting

coverage in the event it did. Not only did West of England

know that vessels mentioned in West of England’s correspon-

dent’s files visited Puerto Rico but it stood to reason that many

other West of England insured vessels also did, as West of

England’s correspondent’s files would name only vessels on

which claims or other noteworthy incidents occurred. While

West of England was not engaged in selling insurance in

Puerto Rico, its retention of a correspondent to perform ser-

vices for insured owners and vessels in Puerto Rico

demonstrated that West of England plainly expected its

worldwide business of insuring maritime risks to embrace the

territorial waters of Puerto Rico with some regularity. West of

England plainly knew that vessels it insured would call on

Puerto Rico from time to time and it made no apparent effort

to halt or limit this practice. In fact by advertising the name of

its local correspondent in San Juan, West of England affir-

matively encouraged such commerce. It was further deter-

mined that this is not a case of a single isolated and unpreven-

table appearance of an insured vessel in Puerto Rico waters;

the record shows that such appearances were a readily

foreseeable part of the normal course of business.

The Court of Appeals, after distinguishing the instant case

from World-Wide Volkswagen Corp v. Woodson, 444 U.S.

286 (1980) held:

7

“Where as here, the insurer has the means available to

structure its primary conduct so as to control the area

within which it will be subject to direct action, where it is

undoubtedly aware that the objects of its policies are

regularly present in a particular jurisdiction, and where

it not only does not act to curtail such presence but ac-

tively promotes it by providing contractual services in the

jurisdiction, we hold that such an insurer is amenable to

personal jurisdiction in the forum.” (Emphasis added)

(30a)

b. The Striking of the Pleadings

Defendants contended that the District Court abused its

discretion by striking their pleadings on the issue of liability

and their petition for exoneration from and/or limitation of

liability. The Court of Appeals, after reviewing the record and

analyzing the facts, held:

“.. .the record supports the District Court’s findings that

defendants’ conduct was inexcusably recalcitrant and

that it materially prejudiced plaintiffs’ trial preparation

and the court's legitimate efforts to keep this protracted

law suit moving forward.” (Emphasis added) (21a)

The Court of Appeals, citing Higuera v. Pueblo Interna-

tional, Inc., 585 F2d 555, 557 (C.A. Ist 1978) stated:

_ “There comes a point when the question arises who is

running the court — counsel or the judge. To this there

can be but one answer.” (22a)

The defenses being stricken, defendants are now precluded

or estopped from raising them before this Court much less

argue them.

c. The Damages

The Court of Appeals held that the Commonwealth of

Puerto Rico, exercising its undisputed authority to protect and

conserve its natural environment, had, by statute (Section

1131(29) of the Puerto Rico Public Policy Environmental Act,

12 L.P.R.A. 1131(29)), authorized one of its agencies to main-

tain actions of this sort.

The Court correctly rejected defendants’ contention that

damages should be measured by any diminution in market

value or loss of use of the affected property or of any loss of

commercially valuable plant or animal life. The Court held

that a strict application of the diminution in value rule would

deny the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico any right to recover

meaningful damages for harm to such areas and would

frustrate appropriate measures to restore or rehabilitate the

environment. The Court of Appeals set the following standard

for determining damages in a case such as this:

“We think the appropriate primary standard for deter-

mining damages in a case such as this is the cost

reasonably to be incurred by the sovereign or its

designated agency to restore or rehabilitate the environ-

ment in the affected area to its pre-existing condition or

as close thereto as is feasible without grossly dispropor-

tionate expenditures.” (40a-41a)

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I. THe Court or APPEALS’ DeEcIsION UPHOLDING PERSONAL

JurispicrioN Over THE WEST OF ENGLAND, IS IN CON-

SONANCE WITH THE MANDATE OF THIS CoURT AND

THEREFORE, THE Writ SHOULD BE DENIED.

The Court of Appeals’ decision that the District Court’s ex-

ercise of personal jurisdiction over West of England did not of-

9

fend the limitations imposed by the Due Process Clause of the

United States Constitution follows the decisions of this Court.®

Its decision followed the decision of this Court that “due pro-

cess requires only that in order to subject a defendant to a

judgment in personam, if he be not present within the ter-

ritory of the forum, he has certain minimum contacts with it

such that the maintenance of the suit does not offend ‘tradi-

tional notions of fair play and substantial justice’”. Interna-

tional Shoe Co. v. Washington, 326 U.S. 310, 316 (1945). The

Court of Appeals also followed the ruling of this Court in

World-Wide Volkswagen Corp v. Woodson, supra. For West

of England to be subjected to the jurisdiction of the District

Court it had to, “purposefully avail itself of the privilege of

conducting activities within the foreign state, thus invoking

the benefits and protection of its laws”. Hanson v. Denckla,

357 U.S. 235, 253 (1958). In this respect the Court of Appeals

stated:

“The record makes clear that West of England did

precisely that.” (26a)

A. West of England’s Presence in Puerto Rico

West of England for years had a correspondent in Puerto

Rico. The correspondent was appointed by West of England in

San Juan to service and assist insured shipowners, their agents

3 Petitioners’ reference at pages 2 and 11 of their brief to the Due

Process and Equal Protection Clauses of Section 2 of the Organic Act

of Puerto Rico, 48 U.S.C. 737 is not accurate. Section 2 was repealed

except for the last paragraph by Section 5 of Public Law 600, ap-

proved July 3, 1950, which provided that at such time as the Con-

stitution of Puerto Rico becomes effective, Section 2 of the Organic

Act of 1917, except the last paragraph, shall be deemed repealed.

See Historical Note at 48 U.S.C. 731. The Constitution of Puerto

Rico was approved by Congress on July 3, 1952, and came into force

and effect on July 25, 1952, see 48 U.S.C. 731d.

10

and masters of vessels insured in cases of emergency and dif-

ficulty connected with matters covered by West of England's

policy of insurance.*

West of England, in a document entitled “Investigation of

Claims in Foreign Ports”, provided its Puerto Rican correspon-

dent with written instructions of how to conduct its business in

order to provide insured shipowners, their agents and masters

of insured vessels, while in Puerto Rico, services in cases of

emergency or difficulty connected with matters covered by

West of England’s policy of insurance.°

In the first paragraph of page 3, that document states:

“The day-to-day business of The West of England

(Luxembourg) is managed by The West of England (Lon-

don) to whom all correspondence should be addressed.

The Association does not appoint agents. Commercial

and also legal firms are, however, appointed in the prin-

cipal ports of the world in order to assist Masters and

Ship’s Agents when required in relation to claims which

‘ Upon defendants filing their motion to quash service and dismiss

the complaint, plaintiffs took the deposition of one of the partners of

the Law Firm of Hartzell, Ydrach, Mellado, Santiago, Perez &

Novas, West of England’s correspondent in San Juan and sub-

poenaed the documents in Hartzell’s possession to establish (1) Hart-

zell’s relationship with West of England and (2) West of England’s

business contacts with Puerto Rico. West of England produced a

pamphlet of instructions to members and correspondents entitled,

“Investigation of Claims in Foreign Ports”, which was marked as

Exhibit I; it also produced its “List of Vessels” insured marked as Ex-

hibit 2; West of England's “List of Correspondents” as Exhibit 3 and

West of England’s “Rules or Policy” as Exhibit 4. It also produced 20

files containing approximately 320 documents from where West of

England’s activities with Puerto Rico clearly appeared. All this

evidence was submitted by plaintiffs to the court in support of its

Brief filed in opposition to defendants’ motion to quash summons

and to dismiss the complaint on January 30, 1976. (S.A. 48-623).

5 Said document is reproduced as Appendix B to the instant Brief.

(pp. 38-49 infra)

il

fall within the scope of the cover afforded to its Members

by the Association, as set out in the Rules.”

West of England’s “List of Correspondents” contains the

name and addresses of all its correspondents throughout the

world, and in the introductory paragraph of that document at

page 9, it provides:

“Whilst the Association does not appoint agents, the

following are the names of experts and lawyers usually

engaged to advise on claims in which the Association is

concerned. Captains and agents should consult them in

cases of emergency and difficulty connected with matiers

covered by the Rules to this Association, when there is not

time to apply to their owners for instructions.

“In ports where the Association is not specially

represented the Captain or his agents should com-

municate with the Association or telegraph

(“WESTENG” - London) for instructions in connection

with any serious claim covered by the Rules.”

At page 20 of that same Exhibit the name of West of

England’s representative in Puerto Rico appears advertised. It

reads:

“San Juan (Puerto Rico) - *Hartzell, Ydrach, Mellado,

Santiago, Perez & Novas, 1530 Banco Popular Center,

Hato Rey, Telephone (809) 765-6075, Telex CW-WUI

3654204 (Hartzell).”

* Asterisk denotes Lawyers. (S.A.183, 172).°

In presenting to this court the questions to be decided, West

of England intimates that the only function of West of

® Pertinent pages of this document appear reproduced, as Appen-

dix “C” to the instant Brief (pp. 50-54 infra).

12

England’s correspondent in Puerto Rico was that of lawyers

and nothing else. When West of England appoints a commer-

cial firm as correspondent in a given port, the function of that

correspondent obviously is not that of a lawyer for West of

England in that particular port. Its functions are going to be

related with the insurance business.’

Plaintiffs proved to the District Court that West of England’s

Puerto Rico correspondent acted on its behalf in 27 instances

in which a total of 25 vessels had incidents prior to the ZOE

COLOCOTRONI casualty.’ In relation to those incidents the

correspondent performed the following services: Made all the

arrangements for the burial of a deceased seaman with ap-

propriate religious observances; repatriated by air several

other sailors; contracted surveyors to conduct numerous

surveys; investigated claims for damages or injuries; adjusted

and settled claims; appointed ship agents for insured

shipowners; paid insured shipowners’ agent's disbursements

incurred in attending vessels in Puerto Rico; repatriated

stowaways and deserters; recommended to West of England

lawyers in the Dominican Republic; took care of and rendered

assistance to sick and injured foreign seamen while in Puerto

Rico and the Virgin Islands; assisted insured owners in collec-

7 In United States v. SS. Ocean Eagle, 47 F.R.D. 519 (1969) a

West of England competitor, The London Steam-Ship Owners’

Mutual Insurance Association Ltd., appointed William Munch,

Inc., a cargo surveyor and marine claims settling agent as its

representative in Puerto Rico. The London Club in that case made

the same jurisdictional allegations that West of England is making in

the instant case and the court upheld the jurisdiction. The court in

arriving at the decision analyzed not just the London Club’s mode of

operating but the many instances in which it conducted business

within Puerto Rico through William Munch, Inc., a non-lawyer.

The Hartzell law firm, while acting as correspondent for West of

England, carried out the same activities for West of England as

William Munch, Inc., a commercial firm, conducted for The Lon-

don Club according to the facts of that case.

® The evidence proving these facts is analyzed in S.A. 14-34.

13

ting freight; arranged for insured owners salvage services;

assisted insured owners whenever a ship caused damage to

port facilities; assisted in the release of seamen from jail and

repatriation; and mitigated Immigration fines imposed to in-

sured shipowners. West of England advertised to insured

shipowners the fact that such services would be available

through its local Puerto Rican correspondent.°

Yet, defendants, as a reason for granting the Writ, ignoring

the voluminous evidence in the record evidencing the many

business contacts West of England had with the forum prior to

the ZOE COLOCOTRONI’s casualty, and ignoring the

analysis of that evidence made by both the District Court and

the Court of Appeals in their respective decisions, argued that

the District Court predicated Long Arm jurisdiction on West

of England’s insurance contract with the owners of the ZOE

COLOCOTRONI which insured against risks encountered

whenever the vessel might travel. Said party unbelievably

argued that no action was cited by the Court of Appeals as a

ground upon which the District Court exercised personal

jurisdiction. Furthermore it intimated that the only basis for

upholding jurisdiction was West of England’s failure

specifically to exclude Puerto Rico from the coverage of the in-

surance policy. That is definitely not what the evidence in the

record and the two lower court opinions reflect. One receives

the impression, following defendants’ argument, that the

Court automatically will have in personam jurisdiction over

West of England for its failure to exclude Puerto Rican ports

from the coverage of the policy. Defendants failed to bring to

the attention of the Court that besides the non-exclusion of the

ports from coverage in the policy for years West of England

had engaged in business transactions in Puerto Rico through its

correspondent. So the basis upon which the Court predicated

Long Arm jurisdiction in this case is not just the fact that West

® The evidence proving all the above facts appears in S.A. 48-623.

14

of England failed to exclude or exempt the Puerto Rican ports

from the policy but also the various business contacts it had

with Puerto Rico.

As this argument of defendants has no merit and is contrary

to what the record reflects, the Petition for Writ of Certiorari

should be denied.

B. The Decision of the Court of Appeals is Not in Conflict

with World-Wide Volkswagen Corp. v. Woodson,

Supra.

In Woodson, supra, the Court dealt with facts completely

different from those of the instant case. Furthermore, the

scope of the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico’s Long Arm in

personam jurisdiction as defined by the case of International

Shoe v. Washington, supra; McGee v. International Life In-

surance Company, 355 U.S. 220 (1957); Hanson v. Denckla,

supra, and other more recent cases, has been reaffirmed by

Woodson. Woodson by no means supports defendants’ posi-

tion.

In Woodson, supra, respondents did not adduce any

evidence that either the dealer or the distributor did any

business in Oklahoma, site of the accident. They did not pre-

sent either any evidence that they shipped or sold any products

to or in the state; nor did it have an agent to receive process

there; nor did it purchase advertisements in any media

calculated to reach Oklahoma. It was even conceded that

there was no showing that any automobile sold by respondents

had ever entered Oklahoma with the single exception of the

vehicle involved in that case.

In the present action, West of England, through its ap-

pointed correspondent, conducted business in Puerto Rico and

prior to the ZOE COLOCOTRONI oil spill West of England

had attended business matters of other ships in Puerto Rico

through its correspondent. These considerations alone are suf-

ficient to factually distinguish Woodson, supra, from this case.

15

There can be little, if any, comparison between a car

distributor and a dealer whose operations are limited to no

more than three states and a Shipowners’ Mutual Insurance

Association, like West of England, whose business is

worldwide, as is clearly shown by its list of correspondents. '°

That ships insured by West of England would come to Puer-

to Rico was a foreseeable event. It was not only foreseeable

that some of the ships insured by West of England would run

into difficulties in Puerto Rico, it was actually expected. What

other reasons could there exist for the appointment of a cor-

respondent in Puerto Rico?

Foreseeability is a relevant factor to determine whether or

not in personam jurisdiction exists over a party. In Woodson,

supra, at 297 the Court held:

“The foreseeability that is critical to due process analysis

is not the mere likelihood that a product will find its way

into the forum State. Rather it is that the defendant’s con-

duct and connection with the forum State are such that

he should reasonably anticipate being haled into court

there.”

A ship, unlike a car, does not usually move within a limited

area, much less a tanker in today’s oil-strained world. This was

a well-known fact to West of England. The presence of the

ZOE COLOCOTRONTI in Puerto Rico was much more than a

mere likelihood. It was an expected event. West of England

foresaw that it could have been haled into court in this forum.

Unlike in Woodson, supra, West of England availed itself of

the benefits and privileges of the laws of Puerto Rico through

its correspondent. Unlike in Woodson, plaintiffs did not seek

to base jurisdiction on one isolated occurrence of fortuitous

characteristics. Unlike in Woodson, it is reasonable to require

West of England to defend this particular suit and Puerto

© (SA167-186)

16

Rico’s interest in adjudicating this dispute is a relevant factor

that has to be considered. Finally, Puerto Rico does not offend

the Due Process Clause by exercising its jurisdiction over a cor-

poration which voluntarily insures ships which knowingly

engage in commerce between ports of the world and Puerto

Rico.

The instant case does not deal with a foreign corporation

whose only contact with the forum was the fortuity that the

car they sold passed through the forum after it had left their

hands. Here West of England had appointed a correspondent

to attend to the obligations it had assumed in the policy

towards its insured shipowners, their agents and ships’ cap-

tains, “in cases of emergency and difficulty connected with

matters covered by the Rules of the Association”. (SA172)

The West of England argued it had no property in Puerto

Rico; never solicited nor sold insurance in Puerto Rico; no

member of West of England is a resident of Puerto Rico. But,

West of England cannot ignore the fact that surveying, in-

vestigating, adjusting and settling of claims and providing its

insured shipowners, their agents and ships in Puerto Rico with

whatever services are needed in cases of emergency and dif-

ficulty connected with matters covered by the policy are very

important parts of West of England’s insurance business.

In the light of all the above, plaintiffs submit that West of

England was at the time of the casualty present in Puerto Rico

and the Petition for Writ of Certiorari should be denied.

C. The Court Below Did Not Devise a “Minimum Con-

tact” Rule for West of England

The Court did not deny West of England's right to the equal

protection of the laws. Defendants argue that the Court of Ap-

peals devised a special minimum-contacts rule for insurance

companies which would deny them equal protection of the

laws. They base this argument on what the Court of Appeals

said in Footnote 18 of the Opinion, which reads as follows:

17

“ ..the result we reach is further buttressed by the

Supreme Court’s occasional suggestions that the test for

measuring minimum contacts for insurance companies

may be somewhat less stringent than for other nonresi-

dent corporations because of the forum state’s public

policy interest in promoting effective redress for injuries.

See McGee v. International Life Insurance Co., 355 U.S.

220, 223 (1957); cf. Hanson v. Denckla, 357 U.S. 235,

252 (1958). Here the maritime accident resulted in injury

to Puerto Rico’s coastal environment, and plaintiffs

represented this forum-related interest.” (30a)

With that statement the court was adding support to results

already reached in the decision. The Court found jurisdiction

over West of England not because Puerto Rico’s public policy

interest in promoting effective redress for injuries made the

contacts for insurance companies somewhat less stringent than

for other nonresident corporations. Jurisdiction was upheld

because of West of England’s frequency, quantity and quality

of all its contacts within Puerto Rico.

Defendants would be correct in making such an argument

had the contacts of West of England with Puerto Rico been

non-existent or insignificant as in Woodson, supra. Upholding

jurisdiction resting on that type of contact would obviously

constitute the discriminatory treatment that West of England

is alleging. However, defendants fail to inform the Court that

West of England’s contacts with Puerto Rico were not that

meaningless. They were frequent and substantial; much more

substantial than the contact International Life Insurance Co.

had with the State of California in McGee v. International

Life Insurance Co., 355 U.S. 220 (1957).

In McGee an insurance policy which had been taken out

with an Arizona corporation was later assumed by the defen-

dant, a Texas corporation, which issued a reinsurance cer-

tificate by mail to the insured in California. Thereafter, the

18

defendant mailed premium notices to the insured in California

who in turn mailed the premium payments to the defendant in

Texas. The insurance company had absolutely no other con-

tact with the forum. In the instant case West of England ap-

pointed a correspondent in Puerto Rico. Then a number of in-

sured ships were sent to Puerto Rico, where their owners,

agents and masters received from West of England, through its

‘correspondents, those services which it had to provide in ac-

cordance with the policy.

This Court, in Hanson v. Denckla, supra, repeated and

followed the privileged concept enunciated in International

Shoe Co., supra, Id. 319, 321. Denckla stands for the proposi-

tion that to be present the defendant must voluntarily do some

act, which, if performed, is expected to have effects in the

forum state. West of England’s appointment of a correspon-

dent in Puerto Rico through which its business could be tran-

sacted, is the act to which this Court referred in International

Shoe Co., supra, and Denckla, supra.

II. DerenpaAnts’ SECOND REASON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT IS

BEING IMPROPERLY PRESENTED TO THIS Court aS THEY

RaisE A DerensE THAT Was STRICKEN AND OTHERWISE

WAIVED BY THE DEFENDANTS.

In their second reason for granting the writ defendants

argued that they are free to oppose the “no action” clause in

the policy because the invalidation of these clauses in Section

11.190 of the Insurance Code of Puerto Rico (26 L.P.R.A.

1119) is ineffective, as the policy was not delivered or issued

for delivery in Puerto Rico.

Section 11.190 does not apply to the facts of this case, not

because of the reason advanced by defendants in pages 16-17

of the Petition but because the cited section is part of Chapter

II of the Insurance Code of the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico

(26 L.P.R.A. 1101-1137) which in Section 11.010 (26

19

L.P.R.A. 1101) expressly excluded protection and indemnity

insurance from its scope. It provides:

“1101 Scope of Chapter

“(1) The applicable provisions of this chapter shall

apply to insurance other than ocean marine ...

“(2) For the purpose of subsection (1) and this title,

‘ocean marine and foreign trade insurances’ shall include

only; (a) insurances upon vessels, crafts, hulls and of in-

terest therein or with relation thereto; (b) insurance of

marine builders risks, marine war risk, and contracts of

marine protection and indemnity insurance. . .” (Em-

phasis added)

In the fourth question presented for review by this Court

and in the argument commencing on page 16 of the Petition,

defendants did not raise a jurisdictional question, rather they

posed the question of whether the complaint failed to state a

claim against West of England upon which relief can be

granted, one of the affirmative defenses which they could have

raised in their responsive pleadings or by separate Motion. If

the alleged “no action” clauses preclude plaintiffs’ direct ac-

tion for the reasons advanced by defendants, the question is

one of sufficiency of the cause of action or claim for relief, not

one of jurisdiction over the person or over the subject matter.

Presenting this question for review to this Court is most im-

proper. If that defense was raised in the responsive pleadings,

same was stricken by the Court on October 21, 1977.

Moreover the question of whether the District Court abused

its discretion in striking their pleadings and defenses and the

question of whether it erred in upholding in personam

jurisdiction over West of England were presented for review

before the Court of Appeals, but there the defendants failed to

make the argument they are now making, thus depriving the

Court of Appeals from ruling on it. The Court of Appeals for

20

the reasons stated in its Opinion affirmed the District Court.

(16a-23a)

In their Petition defendants did not present for review that

part of the Court of Appeals’ decision upholding the District

Court’s striking of defendants’ pleadings and preventing their

defenses from being considered on the merits. Yet they dare

argue a defense that was struck below and of which they did

not seek review before this Court. Defendants are precluded

from arguing this question before this Court as a reason for

granting the Writ.

Assuming arguendo that defendants could raise that defense

before this Court, their argument would still be meritless.

What defendants call the “no action” clause in the policy" is

actually a prohibition which only affects the insured not the

injured. The insured shipowner cannot exercise his “right to

recover from the funds” of West of England “in respect of any

liability” until “he shall first have discharged or paid the

same”. That is not a “no action” clause. The “no action” clause

prevents suits of recovery by any person against the insurer.

See text of a “no action” clause in Watson v. Employers’

Liability Assurance Corporation, Ltd., 348 U.S. 66, 74-75

(1954). But assuming arguendo the clause is a “no action”

clause, the same is expressly prohibited by section 20.010 of

the Insurance Code of Puerto Rico, 26 L.P.R.A. 2001, which

provides:

“The insurer issuing a policy insuring any person against

loss or damage through legal liability for the bodily in-

jury, death, or damage to property of a third person,

'! Payment First by Insured Owner

“18. Unless the Association in its absolute discretion shall other-

wise determine it shall be a condition precedent of an insured

Owner's right to recover from the funds of the Association in respect

of any liability, costs or expenses that he shall first have discharged

or paid the same.” (SA 198)

21

shall become absolutely liable whenever a loss covered by

the policy occurs, and payment ef such loss by the insurer

to the extent of its liability therefore under the policy

shall not depend upon payment by the insured or upon

any final judgment against him arising out of such occur-

rence.” (Emphasis added)

It has been held that the direct action statute nullifies

altogether a “no action” clause and gives to the injured person

the right to proceed against the insurer directly either alone or

together with the insured before recovery of a judgment

against the insured. Olympic Towing v. Nebel Towing Co..,

419 F2d 230, 236-237 (1969).

The “no action” clause defense, like “failure of notice” is a

technical defense in respect to which the insurer is severly

restricted in advancing if not foreclosed from asserting.

Lumbermen’s Mutual Casualty Company v. Elbert, 348 U.S.

48, 51 (1954).

The loss being claimed by the plaintiffs was covered by the

policy.'*

'2 EF. (1) For loss or damage caused to any property or for infringe-

ment of any rights relating to property, whether on land or on water

or whether fixed or movable,...

(2) Subject to acceptance in writing of the risk by the Associa-

tion on such terms and conditions as the Association may determine,

for liabilities arising under the Tanker Owners Voluntary Agree-

ment concerning Liability for Oil Pollution dated 7th January, 1969

(TOVALOP) and also for any costs and expenses reasonably incur-

red with the prior approval of the Association (regardless of fault on

the part of the insured vessel) for the purpose of avoiding or

minimising such liabilities; PROVIDED ALWAYS that the Associa-

tion’s liability under this Sub-Rule shall in respect of each incident

be limited to U.S. $100 per G.R.T. subject to a maximum of U.S.

$10,000,000. (S.A. 193-194) -

22

Il]. THe Cuear LANcuace or Section 1131(29), 12 L.P.R.A.

1131(29) or THE PuBLic Poticy ENVIRONMENTAL ACT OF

THE COMMONWEALTH OF PuerTO Rico PROVIDES FOR

RECOVERY OF THE TOTAL VALUE OF THE DAMAGES CAUSED

TO THE ENVIRONMENT AND/OR NATURAL RESOURCES BY

THE PC_LUTER.

Plaintiffs, respondents herein, are filing a cross-petition for

a Writ of Certiorari on the issue of the measure of damages.

The discussion that follows is limited to the reasons advanced

as to why Certiorari should not issue on the Petition filed by

the defendants.

Defendants do not question, nor could they, the power of

the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico to enact legislation for the

protection and conservation of its natural resources. 48 U.S.C.

746, 747, 749, Art. VI, Sec. 19, Const. Com. of P.R.; 12

L.P.R.A. 43, 44; 31 L.P.R.A. 1023.'° In the exercise of this

undisputed authority to protect and conserve the resources

held in trust for its people, the Commonwealth has by statute

authorized one of its agencies, co-plaintiff, the Environmental

Quality Board, to maintain actions to recover from polluters

the value of the damages caused to the environment. 12

L.P.R.A. 1131(29). This exercise of the police power of the

Commonwealth of Puerto Rico has not been alleged to be in-

valid.'*

'3 The previously cited Constitutional and statutory provisions,

Art. VI, Sec. 19 of the Constitution of Puerto Rico; 48 U.S.C.A. 746,

747, 749, 12 L.P.R.A. 43, 44; 31 L.P.R.A. 1023, are set forth in full

in Appendix “D” (pp. 55-57 infra)

'4 In addition to the E.Q.B.’s allegation in the complaint under

Section 12 L.P.R.A. 1131(29), the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico

also alleged a cause of action under its common law right as trustee

of the Commonwealth’s natural resources, in its quasi-sovereign

capacity and in its capacity as parens patriae. The District Court

found that the Commonwealth had standing to sue to recover for oil

pollution harr to Bahia Sucia and related resources “because it has

proprietary interest in the same ... . because it is the trustee of the

23

Under Section 1131(29) of 12 L.P.R.A., the E.Q.B. has,

among others, the following duties, powers and functions:

“To bring, represented by the Secretary of Justice, by the

Board's attorneys or by a private attorney contracted for

such purpose, civil actions for damages in any court of

Puerto Rico or the United States of America to recover the

total value of the damages caused to the environment

and/or natural resources, upon committing any violation

of this chapter and its regulations. The amount of any

judgment collected to such effect shall be converted into

the special account of the Board on environmental qual-

ity.” (Emphasis added) . (160a)

The Court of Appeals found that this statute both created a

cause of action as the type described by its terms and

designated the E.Q.B. as the proper party to bring such an ac-

tion (33a), upon violation of the anti-pollution provisions, 24

L.P.R.A. 595.'5

public trust in those resources...and additionally, in its capacity as

parens patriae...” (69a). The Court of Appeals held that the Com-

monwealth had by statute authorized the E.Q.B. as the proper

party to bring this action, and in order to avoid the risk of double

recovery and possible confusion, the Court found it unnecessary to

consider whether, had the Legislature of Puerto Rico not delegated

to the E.Q.B. the right to maintain such suits, the Commonwealth

would have an inherent right to bring it itself (33a-34a). However,

other Federal courts have addressed this question and have held that

a state has a sovereign interest in its coastal waters and natural

resources sufficient to maintain a “parens patriae” action on behalf

of its citizens to protect such interests. Maine v. M/T Tamano, 357

F.Supp. 1097 (D.Me. 1973); Matter of Oswego Barge Co., 439

F.Supp 312, 321-322 (D.N.Y. 1977); Maryland v. Amerada Hess,

350 F.Supp 1060 (1972).

'® “It shall be unlawful for any person, directly or indirectly to

throw, discharge, pour or dump or permit to throw, discharge, pour

or dump into the waters, any organic or non-organic material

capable of polluting or leading to the pollution of said waters as to

place them out of the minimum standards of purity that the

Secretary of Health may establish under Section 599 of this Title.”

24

Unable to challenge the E.Q.B.’s right to maintain this ac-

tion, and unable to allege any constitutional bar to the legisla-

tion that empowers the E.Q.B. to seek damages to recover the

total value of the damages caused to the environment and/or

natural resources (33a), defendants in their eleventh hour, at-

tack the clear language contained in the statute and allege that

the Court of Appeals’ interpretation of the same is “novel and

expansive”. (Defendants’ Petition, p. 17).

Defendants argue that the measure of damages envisioned

by the E.Q.B.’s statute is the common law “diminution in

value” rule. Under said rule the measure of damages for tor-

tious injury to real property is the difference in the commercial

or market value of the property before and after the event

causing injury. They cite Restatement (2nd) of Torts, Section

929, 1(a) 1979. Defendants’ next argue that since there has

been no reduction in the per acre commercial market value of

the land area of Bahia Sucia, the Commonwealth of Puerto

Rico and the E.Q.B. are not entitled to recover any damages

for the injuries caused by defendants’ intentional dumping of

1-1/2 million gallons of crude oil into the coastal waters of

Puerto Rico.'® Defendants’ reasoning is clearly contrary to the

manifest intent of Puerto Rico’s Environmental Statute which

authorizes the E.Q.B. to recover the total value of the

damages caused to the environment and/or natural resources.

(36a) Acceptance of defendants’ proposition which finds ab-

solutely no support in the statute or in logic, would effectively

deny the government the power to regulate and protect the

natural resources entrusted to its care while permitting

polluters to escape liability for the destruction of natural

resources they often cause.

The Court of Appeals placed defendants’ allegations in pro-

per perspective when it stated:

16 Defendants candidly state that it is “undisputed that Mangrove

trees and marine organisms were killed by the oil spill ... and that

the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico is the owner of the entire area

polluted by oil. (Defendants’ Petition, p. 3).

25

“We believe that defendants have misconceived the

character of the remedy created by Section 1131. The

E.Q.B. is not concerned with any loss in the market or

other commercial value of the Commonwealth’s land. In

point of fact, the E.Q.B. concedes the land has no signifi-

cant commercial or market value. The claim, rather, is

for the injury— broadly conceived—that has been caused

to the natural environment by the oil spill. ...the District

Court found that the once flourishing natural environ-

ment of the West Mangrove had been seriously damaged

by the oil, to the point where some of the underlying

sediments were no longer capable of supporting any but

the most primitive forms of organic life, such as worms.

The Puerto Rico statute authorizing this action specifical-

ly empowers the E.Q.B. to recover ‘the total value of the

damages caused to the environment and/or natural

resources’ upon a violation of the antipollution provi-

sions. 12 L.P.R.A. 1131(29). Implicit in this choice of

language we think is a determination not to restrict the

state to ordinary market damages. Many natural areas of

considerable ecological value have little or no commercial

or market value. Indeed, to the extent such areas having

commercial value it is logical to assume that they will not

long remain unspoiled, absent some governmental or

philanthropic protection. A strict application of the

diminution value rule would deny the state any right to

recover meaningful damages for harm to such areas, and

would frustrate measures to restore or rehabilitate the en-

vironment.” (36a-37a)!”

'7 Inasmuch as the Court of Appeals recognized that the E.Q.B. is

entitled to recover the “total value of the damages to the environ-

ment, and/or natural resources” and that the damage determination

is not restricted to “ordinary market value”, it was an error to vacate

the District Court’s award based on replacement cost of the animals

destroyed. This matter is covered at length in the Commonwealth's

Cross-Petition for Writ of Certiorari.

26

Puerto Rico’s environmental statute is by no means unique

or novel. Governmental and public awareness of the need to

conserve and protect limited natural resources, as well as their

growing knowledge of the consequences of oil pollution has led

the Federal government and the governments of various states

to enact legislation.'®

Various Federal and state courts have recognized the right

of a state to seek damages for injury to living non-commercial

resources. Burgess v. M/V Tamano, 564 F.2d 964 (C.A. Ist

1977), cert. den., 435 U.S. 941 (1978); California Department

of Fish and Game v. SS Bournemouth, 307 F.Supp 922 (1969);

Maine v. M/V Tamano, 357 F.Supp 1102 (1973); State Ex-Rel

Pollution Control v. Kerr, McGee Corp, 532 P2d 1386 (Okla.

1975); State v. Jersey Power and Light Co., 308 A.2nd 671

(1973); Maryland v. Amerada Hess, 350 F.Supp 1060 (D. Me.

1972); Department of Pollution Control v. International

Paper Co., 329 S.2nd 5 (Fla. 1976). Defendants have not ad-

vanced any valid reason that would justify disregarding the

clear language of Section 1131 and apply a rule of common

law damages which was intended for private property, real

and personal, with a market value, and which has no place in

a case filed by a sovereign seeking to recover damages to the

'® Restoration or replacement costs of the natural resources

damaged is the measure of damages contained in the Clean Water

Act, 33 U.S.C. 1321(f)(5) and the OCS Lands Act, 43 U.S.C.

1813(b)(3). Replacement cost is also being used in state programs

established to recover for living, natural resources damage. Florida

(F.S.A. Sec. 376.11(5) (c) (1974);

Maryland (A.C.md. Natural Resources Sec. 8-1411(f) (1974);

Massachusetts (M.G.L.A. c.21 Sec. 27(10) (1973); Mississippi

(M.A.C. Sec, 49-27-55 (1979 Supp.)); New Jersey (N.J.S.A.

58:10-23.1lg(a) (2) (1979 Supp.)); New York (N.Y. Nar. L.

181(2)(b) (1979 Supp.)); North Carolina (N.C.G.S. Sec. 143-215.90

(1979 Supp.)); Oklahoma (82 O.S.A. Sec. 937(b) (1971)); Oregon

(O.R.S. Sec. 468-745 (1977)); Virginia (Va. Code Sec.

62.1-44.15(11) (a)); Washington (R.C.W. Sec. 90.48.142 (1977)).

The previously cited statutory provisions are set forth in full in

Appendix “E” to the instant brief.

27

natural resources that have been entrusted to its protection.

The importance of preserving and protecting these resources

carries with it the need of an adequate remedy against the

tortfeasor to recover the value of the damage caused to the en-

vironment or the natural resources. (36a-39a, 67a, 70a).

As the Court of Appeals stated:

“In recent times, mankind has become increasingly

aware that the planet’s resources are finite and that por-

tions of the land and sea which at first glance seemed

useless, like salt marshes, barrier reefs, and other coastal

areas, often contribute in subtle but critical ways to an

environment capable of supporting both human life and

other forms of life on which we all depend. The Puerto

Rico statute is obviously aimed at providing a damages

remedy with sufficient scope to compensate for and deter

the destruction of such resources; and while we can see

many problems in fashioning such a remedy, we see no

reason to try and frustrate that endeavor. We, therefore,

do not limit damages herein to the loss of market value of

the real estate affected.” (39a)

The Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, in the present action,

does not stand as a private citizen seeking to recover tradi-

tional damages to an injury to real property, but rather the

claim of Puerto Rico is one for the loss of living, non-

commercial resources of immense value to the People of Puerto

Rico. (36a)

Ironically, the narrow scope of defendants’ arguments

overlook the most basic rule of tort recovery, one which was

recognized by the Courts below—to place the injured party as

nearly as possible inthe same position he would have been in

had there been no tort. (85a)

Defendants’ oil spill constituted a breach of Federal

maritime law (35a) and plaintiffs’ claim for relief came within

28

the admiralty jurisdiction of the District Court. As stated by

the Court of Appeals:

“Where the injury occurs in the territorial waters of a

state, the general rule is that admiralty will give ‘broad

recognition of the authority of the states to create rights

and liabilities with respect to conduct within their

borders, when the state action does not run counter to

Federal laws or the essential features of an exclusive

Federal jurisdiction (citations omitted) ...” (35a)

The measure of damages in this case would be no different

than the measure of damages under maritime collison law.

The maritime doctrine of restitutio in integrum calls for

restoration of Bahia Sucia to its condition prior to the spill.

The Baltimore v. Rowland, 75 U.S. 377, 385 (1869); Barger v.

Hanson, 426 F.2d 640 (C.A. 9th 1970); Standard Oil Corp. v.

Southern Pacific Co., 268 U.S. 146 (1925); National Steel

Corp. v. Great Lakes Towing Co., 574 F.2d 339 (C.A. 6th

1978).

As recognized by the Court of Appeals, states may seek

damages for injury to all natural resources, including those not

generally traded commercially (37a-42a). As noted by the

Court of Appeals, the course of recent Federal legislation in

the area of oil pollution allowing representatives of any State

to act on behalf of the Public Trust of the natural resources to

recover for the cost of replacing or restoring such resources fur-

ther shows the incompatibility of the diminution rule in

recovery for environmental damages.'® (37a-38a). Contrary to

defendants’ assertion, a State’s claim is not precluded or

limited by Section 311 of the Clean Water Act. 33 U.S.C. 1321

'® Although these statutes came into effect after the trial, this

Court has stated that environmental protection statutes may provide

useful guidelines for interpreting the common law. Illinois v.

Milwaukee, 406 U.S. 91, Note 5 (1972).

29

Complaint of Steuart Transportation, 435 F.Supp 798 (E.D.

Va. 1977), affd. Steuart Transportation Co. v. Allied Tow-

ing, 596 F.2d 609 (C.A. 4th 1979); In Re Complaint of Allied

Towing, 478 F.Supp 398 (E.D. Va. 1979).

Defendants have requested that a Writ of Certiorari be

granted, alleging that the rejection of the diminution rule by

the District Court and the Court of Appeals is in direct ir-

reconcilable conflict with other decisions of other Court of Ap-

peals. This statement is incorrect. Defendants have not

cited one single case in which a Federal court has held that a

state or its designated agency is limited to the diminution in

the value of the real property when seeking compensation for

the damages caused to its natural resources.

The cases cited by defendants in support of the “diminution

value” rule merely restate common law principles for measur-

ing losses resulting from injury or destruction of marketable or

commercial property but are entirely inapprorpriate for

measuring the damage society suffers when valuable living

non-commercial resources are destroyed. As defendants are

forced to admit (p. 20 of the Petition) when property has a

special significance damage claims are not constrained by the

diminution of market value. Restatement (2nd) of Torts, Sec.

929 (1)(a) Comment B (1979). DeSpirito v. Bristol County

Water Co., 102 R.I. 50, 227 A.2nd 782 (1967) (damage for

destruction of wearing apparel not limited to market value);

Rector Wardens & Vestry of St. Christopher's Episcopal

Church v. C. 8. McCrossan Inc., 306 Minn. 535, 235 N.W.2d

609 (1975) (damage for destruction of shade tree not limited to

market value diminution of land); see also Stephenville N.&

S.T.Ry. Co. v. Baker (Texas Court of Civil Appeals) 203 S.W.

385 (1918) and Louisville & Nashville R. Co. v. Beeker, 126

Ky. 328, 103 S.W. 300 (1907); Levi v. Schwartz, 201 Md.

575, 95 A.2nd 322 (1953) (replacement costs in excess of

market value diminution awarded for loss due to removal of

lateral support). (39a)

30

The special significance and importance that Puerto Rico

has placed on its limited natural resources cannot be

overstated. Sec. 19 of Article VI of the Commonwealth’s Con-

stitution provides that:

“It shall be the public policy of the Commonwealth to

conserve, develop and use its natural resources in the

most effective manner possible for the general welfare of

the Community.”

The Commonwealth is entrusted with the control of all the

beaches and maritime terrestial zone abutting the navigable

waters of Puerto Rico as well as the living and non-living

resources there located, for the benefit of the People. 48

U.S.C.A. 746, 747, 749, 12 L.P.R.A. 43, 44. Because of the

importance of these coastal areas and the natural resources

they contain, these areas are not susceptible to private owner-

ship, and, therefore, they cannot have a market value as does

marketable or commercial property. 31 L.P.R.A. 1023.

For the foregoing reasons it is submitted that coastal

resources such as those in Bahia Sucia having special

significance to the People of Puerto Rico, damage claims to

said natural resources are not constrained by the diminution of

market value of the real estate, and in accordance with Section

11(29) of the Puerto Rico Environmental Act, the Com-

monwealth has a right to recover the total value of the

damages caused to the environment and/or its natural

resources.

31

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons it is respectfully submitted that

the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court

of Appeals for the First Circuit should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

NICOLAS JIMENEZ

G.P.O. Box 6104

San Juan, Puerto Rico 00936

(809) 767-1030

Attorney for Respondents

Of Counsel,

WILLIAM A. GRAFFAM

JiMENEz & FusTE

G.P.O. Box 6104

San Juan, Puerto Rico 00936

32

APPENDIX A

In Tue Unirep States Districr Court

For Tue Districr Or Puerto Rico

Civil Number: 252-73

THE COMMONWEALTH OF PUERTO RICO and the

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY BOARD OF THE

COMMONWEALTH OF PUERTO RICO

Plaintiffs

v.

THE S.S. ZOE COLOCOTRONI, her engines,

appurtenances, etc., et al.,

Defendants

ORDER

Pursuant to the Orders of the United States Court of Ap-

peals for the First Circuit, April 24, 1979 and June 11, 1979,

Defendants have filed two Motions under Rules 60(a) and (b)

of the Rules of Federal Procedure, 28 U.S.C., for the correc-

tion of clerical mistakes and the vacating of Judgment. In the

present Order we entertain both Motions.

Separate analysis of each follows below.

I. The Rule 60(b) Motion.

Although Rule 60(b) is a liberal remedial rule which draws

on the historical authority of a court to avoid injustice it has its

time, place, and circumstances. See gen.: 7 Wright & Miller,

Federal Practice and Procedure, §2857 et seq. 7 Moore's

Federal Practice, §60.18(8)-§60.24(5). It is not an invitation

for a de novo assestment of the evidence, Williams v. McKen-

zie, 576 F. 2d 566, 570 (C.A. 4, 1978), or an opportunity to

relitigate, Posttape Associates v. Eastman Kodak Company,

68 F.R.D. 323 (E.D.Pa., 1975), nor is it a substitute for an ap-

peal, Fackelman v. Bell, 564 F. 2d 734 (C.A. 5,1977). Extraor-

dinary relief, such as contemplated by Rule 60(b), calls for ex-

33

ceptional circumstances. See: Horace v. St. Louis

Southwestern Railroad Company, 489 F. 2d 632 (C.A. 8,

1974).

In the instant action Defendants, citing different parts of

the record and proceedings, have filed for relief from a judg-

ment which in their view should not stand because of newly

discovered evidence, surprise, mistake, fraud, and

misrepresentation and misconduct by Plaintiffs.

Central and foremost in Defendants claims of entitlement to

relief is the argument that a mistake was committed in the

calculation of the area which sustained damage. From this,

Defendants follow that the calculations as to the total animal

and plant destruction must also be erroneous. In our decision

of August 29, 1978 we made a finding of damage to marine

organisms in approximately 20 acres and damage to mangrove

area covering about 23 acres. We believed then, as we do now,

that our study of the evidence submitted and our examination

during the on site inspections justified such a finding. Nothing

added by Defendants as an afterthought convinces us to the

contrary.

As further grounds for relief Defendants state that they were

surprised, misled, and misrepresented to by Plaintiffs. Surprise

is claimed on the specifics of Plaintiffs’ theory of recovery.

Misrepresentation is alleged on the nature and source of

authority for such a theory. Defendants state they were misled

when Plaintiffs changed their claim for relief. With respect to

these contentions we simply state that the amended complaint

sufficiently put Defendants on notice as to what it was that

compensation was sought for, and that the record of discovery

proceedings would reveal that Defendants had adequate

notice as to what this compensation encompassed. We cannot

label these contentions a “surprise” if Defendants chose not to

further investigate, pursue, or follow up on information it had

received in the pleadings and during discovery.' Nor can we

' Curiously enough no allegation is made under the “excusable

neglect” provision of Rule 60(b).

34

iabel them “misleading” if Defendants chose to disbelieve and

pursue another avenue of litigation strategy. “Rule 60(b) is not

to be invoked to give relief to a party who has chosen a course

of action which in retrospect appears unfortunate or where er-

ror or miscalculation is traceable really to a lack of care.”

Sadowsky v. Bombardier Ltd., 530 F. 2d 615, 618 (C.A. 7,

1976).

The argument that Plaintiffs misrepresented their theory of

recovery is close to the argument that we erred in the method

we adopted to calculate the amount of damages. The gist of

both is that there is no authority for such a formula for relief

and that Plaintiffs’ witness misrepresented that there was.

In the present action we have found a recoverable wrong. It

is an ancient, elementary, and hardly novel principle of law,

that a transgressor correct or compensate that party which he

has injured.* Where the assestment of the amount of recovery

is a complex question by reason of the facts and the relative

newness of the field in question, the Court’s task will un-

doubtedly be more difficult. But this can hardly excuse the

fashioning of an adequate remedy. And in terms of difficulty,

we cannot compare the present case’s situation with that en-

countered in the valuation of human life or limbs, an everyday

occurrence in the courts, on which subject no aid is received

from available catalogues.°

The law knows no magic formula for computation of an

award of damages.‘ What is required is only that damages

* See gen.: Wigmore, “Responsibility for Tortious Acts: Its

History”, 7 Harv. L. Rev. 315, 1383, 448 (1894).

> Note: 74 Am.Jur. 2d., Torts, §74.

‘ Upon close examination the method we adopted is in fact no

radical deviation from traditional norms. In most general terms

damages for “physical harm to [property] is closely tied with the

concept of value... Value necessarily involves the idea of some stan-

dard by which it can be determined. What we are looking for is the

financial equivalent of the property or the harm to it. ... The theory

underlying this is that the Plaintiff, given his financial equivalent,

35

awarded have their bases in the evidence presented before a

Court. Here there was sufficient evidence to sustain our fin-

dings. We are of the opinion that the method used, the “lowest

possible replacement cost”, has support in the record and is a

fair and equitable method of assessing damages under the par-

ticular setting of this case. To the extent the Defendants argue

that the method of damage computation is a judicial mistake,

that we wrongly decided a point of law, the issue is technically

the proper subject for adjudication on appeal rather than

review on a Rule 60(b) Motion. See: Silk v. Sandoval, 435 F.

2d 1266 (C.A. 1, 1971) cert. den. 402 U.S. 1012 (1971).

The last areas of concern in Defendants’ Motion for relief

concern the scientific accuracy of tests performed and submit-

ted into evidence and objected references to certain catalogues

which set or did not set market values on the organisms

destroyed in the case before us. With respect to these points

Defendants have submitted: the report of an expert done after

the entry of Judgment, and affidavits from nine persons in-

volved in some facet of the biological supply field. Both sub-

missions are impressive examples of steps that should have

taken place prior to trial. During trial these concerns should

have properly been the subject of cross examination and rebut-

tal evidence. The “mere second thought” of a litigant does not,

however, compel Rule 60 (b) relief. Mayberry v. Maroney,

529 F. 2d 332, 337 (C.A. 3, 1976). Having examined Defen-

can go out on the open market and replace the property by buying

other property freely offered for sale.” Prosser, Cases and Materials

on Tort (Foundation Press, 1971) p. 1069. The validity of this

general principle is not diminished by the uniqueness of the market

or the non-salability of the object. See Id., at p. 1071. Just as Defen-

dants argue that the “lowest replacement cost” is unfound as

resulting in too high an award, Plaintiffs may argue that it was too

low. Arguments of this type fall under no category of relief under

Rule 60(b).

36

dant’s materials® we find nothing that would move us to alter

our original decision.

II. The Rule 60(a) Motion.

Defendants sought, and were granted, leave to file a Rule

60(a) Motion, correction of clerical mistakes, and instead now

seek relief more properly brought pursuant to Rule 10(e) of the

Fed.R.App. P. The issue, succinctly, is the correction of the

record on appeal.

Under Rule 10(e) the parties may by stipulation direct that

an omission or misstatement be corrected. From Defendant's

Motion and Plaintiffs’ opposition we find that such is the case

with respect to six of the contested items that make up the

record on appeal. The following, on stipulation, shall be

STRICKEN from the record.

(1) Exhibit 50 a Transcript of Trial Cr. 61-73.

(2) Exhibit 50 b Certified copy of Information and Judgment

in Criminal 61-73.

(3) Exhibit 39 The Ecology of A Mangrove (Booklet)

(4) Exhibit 43 Mangroves cf Arid Environments in P.R.

(Booklet)

(5) Exhibits 2C a and 20 c Field Notes.

(6) The items listed in the Supplemental Index transmitted to

the Court of Appeals on May 1, 1979.

All other issues regarding this Motion deal with whether or

not the items in dispute were admitted into evidence. Defen-

dants seek correction of the record by striking these items.

Plaintiffs oppose by stating that they were admitted. Counsel

for Defendants has filed an affidavit wherein he states that it

5 A great deal of Defendants’ documents,reports, affidavits, and

other exhibits are filed as “newly discovered” evidence. Although we

have examined and considered them on ruling on this Motion we

have serious reservations that they qualify as that type of “evidence

which by due diligence could not have been discovered in time to

move for a new trial”, or that with due diligence could not have

been presented at trial. Cf. Posttape Associates v. Eastman Kodak

Company, supra at p. 327.

37

was his understanding that under this Court’s Order he was to

meet with opposing counsel and the Courtroom Clerk and

mark proposed exhibits for identification purposes only. This

was not the Order of this Court. Further this is a completely

and totally erroneous interpretation of the same. The parties

were to mark items as to which there was no objection as Ex-

hibits; if there was an objection to its admissibility it was to be

marked as an identification. See esp.: pages 122-123 of the

transcript of Trial Proceedings. This is part of the Local Rules

of this Court, see Local Rule 9, and it has always been the

operating policy of this Judge.

For all the above-cited reasons the Motion for Relief from

judgment, Rule 60(b), is DENIED. The Motion for Correction

of the Record, except as otherwise stipulated and noted in this

Order, is DENIED. The Clerk of the Court is instructed to in-

sure that the Clerk of the Court of Appeals for the First Circuit

and all counsel of record are expeditiously notified.

IT IS SO ORDERED. -

In San Juan, Puerto Rico, this 8th day of August, 1979.

/s/ JUAN R. ToRRUELLA

Juan R. TorRUELLA

U. S. Districr Court JupcE

38

APPENDIX B

THE WEST OF ENGLAND SHIP OWNERS MUTUAL

PROTECTION & INDEMNITY ASSOCIATION

(LUXEMBOURG)

To Members and Correspondents

The day-to-day business of The West of England (Luxem-

bourg) is managed by The West of England (London) to

whom all correspondence should be addressed. The Associa-

tion does not appoint agents. Commercial and also legal firms

are, however, appointed in the principal ports of the world in

order to assist Masters and Ship’s Agents when required, in

relation to claims which fall within the scope of the cover af-

forded to its Members by the Association, as set out in the

Rules.

A list of these correspondents is included in the Book of

Rules, a copy of which is issued to Owners and Master of each

vessel entered in the Association, and also to the said cor-

respondents.

When assistance is required in United Kingdom ports,

Masters or Ship’s Agents should contact tho Association’s

Managers in London who will, if necessary, arrange for legal

and/or technical assistance to be provided at the port con-

cerned.

In ports where both commercial and legal firms have been

appointed, the former should, in the first instance, be con-

tacted by Masters or Ship’s Agents. If the matter is one which

the commercial representatives consider requires the Interven-

tion of lawyers, they will make the nccessary arrangements

with the Association’s local lawyers, or with lawyers of their

own choosing, if the Association has no appointed legal

representative.

It is very desirable that there should be the closest liaison

between the respective correspondents in a port, and although

the assistance of lawyers should not be sought unnecessarily,

39

where the matter concerned involves (or may involve) the

vessel in a substantial claim, or where the circumstances pre-

sent particular difficulties, the Association’s lawyers should be

consulted promptly in order that a thorough investigation can

be conducted while the vessel is still in port.

The general requirements of the Association from its cor-

respondents is that they fully investigate the circumstances

relating to the matter on which they have been consulted, ob-

taining full statements from the ship’s officers and/or crew and

independent witnesses (if any). Where necessary, competent

surveyors should be engaged in conjunction with the ship’s

agents.

Advice should be given to the Master about any procedural

steps which should be taken by him to protect his, or his

Owners’ position, in accordance with local or statutory law,

e.g. Noting Protest.

Arrangements should be made to obtain authenticated

abstracts from the log books relating to the matter under in-

vestigation, and in the case of claims for damage and/or loss of

cargo such abstracts should cover the whole of the voyage, i.e.

from the loading of the cargo to its discharge.

When investigations have been completed a full report

should be made to the Association’s Managers in London

together with the witnesses’ reports etc. The Association

welcomes the views of its correspondents as to, (1) the cause of

the accident or loss and (2) the legal responsibility of the ship.

In no case should liability be admitted or any payment

made unless authorised by the Association.

It should be pointed out that although, generally speaking,

the vessels entered in the Association are owned by the

Members concerned, and claims made against them would be

in their capacity as Owners, the Association also accepts en-

tries on behalf of Time Charterers and Voyage Charterers.

The vessels which are the subject of such entries do not appear

in the printed list of vessels, but the Master should have in his

40

possession evidence of entry in the Association. Cor-

respondents can always obtain confirmation of the Associa-

tion’s interest by cabling direct to the Association’s London

Managers.

In some cases the Association has entries for both the

Owners and the Charterers of a particular vessel.

The list of vessels entered in the Association as issued to cor-

respondents should be regarded as no more than a guide—

vessels may be withdrawn from, or new vessels entered in, the

Association after the list is printed. Special terms of entry app-

ly to some members under which certain risks are excluded or

subject to special deductibles.

It is therefore essential that prompt advice of claims is given

to the Association’s London Managers in order that the extent

of its interest can be confirmed.

The attention of correspondents is drawn to Rule 19 which

sets out the deductibles applying to certain types of claims,

and to Rule 16 which lays down the conditions under which

costs and expenses may be recovered from the Association. It

will be noted that such costs, etc., are only recoverable in

respect of claims for which the Association has (or could have

had) liability. It follows, therefore, that costs and expenses in-

curred in respect of claims for which the Association could

never have had any liability are not recoverable from the

association. Where such claims are referred to correspondents

for their attention they should point out to the Members or

their agents that, as the Association’s liability is not involved,

their advice and assistance is provided on the understanding

that their charges will be for account of the Members con-

cerned. It may help to avoid misunderstanding to set out the

rules of practice which we apply.

(1) If the ship concerned is named in our list, the Club

will pay direct to the Correspondent his fee and

disbursements, provided only that the service he

rendered was in respect of a matter within the

41

terms of a full cover; but

(2) Every Correspondent is required to give the Club

notice of a new case as soon as possible. If the ship

concerned is named in our list but the matter for

which a Correspondent has rendered a service is ex-

cluded from that ship’s cover by a special term,

(e.g. a special deductible), the Correspondent will

be so informed in the Club’s reply.And in that event

the Club will send the Member a copy of the Cor-

respondent’s letter, at the same time advising him

that the Club is not concerned and that the cost of

handling the case will be for his account. The Cor-

respondent, if he wishes to continue to handle the

case, is recommended to write to the Member also,

asking whether the Member wants him to carry on

with the case. The Club will pay direct to the Cor-

respondent his charge for services reasonably

rendered until the time he received the Club’s

reply, provided that there was no unnecessary delay

in giving the Club notice of the case. Notwithstan-

ding this payment the Member remains responsible

to reimburse the Club; and

(3) As our list of entered ships is published only once a

year and it is not practicable to circulate amend-

ments from time to time, it might well happen that

a Member or Agent of a ship that is not named in

our list rightly insists that she is nevertheless entered

with the Club. In such cases Correspondents are

recommended to telex us for instructions and

render any service that cannot await our reply.

Even if the ship is not entered, the Club will pay

the Correspondents for any charge reasonably in-

curred before our reply is received.

Correspondents should submit their accounts to the Associa-

tion as promptly as possible after completion of the case or

42

when their services are no longer required in relation to the

matter concerned.

In the event of a vessel being arrested (or threatened with

arrest) and bail or other security required to obtain the vessel's

release, the Association may, in its sole discretion, provide

such bail or security on application being made to the Associa-

tion’s Managers in London. No bail or other security should be

provided on behalf of the Association, without the express

authority of the Association first being obtained.

CARGO CLAIMS. It is sometimes assumed by the Charterers’

Agents that because a vessel is entered in the Association by

the Owner, the Association’s correspondents should advise on,

and/or approve payment of, cargo claims. If under the terms

of the Charter Party the Owners are relieved of liability for

cargo claims, and the Charterers have not covered their cargo

risks with the Association, the Charterers’ agents should be

referred to their Principals for instructions.

As a general rule it is not necessary that minor cargo claims

of a routine nature (e.g. shortages) be submitted to the

Association’s correspondents. Before settling such claims,

however, ship’s agents should be satisfied that the ship’s liabil-

ity is involved and the amounts claimed do not exceed the car-

rier’s contractual or statutory limit of liability. The Associa-

tion’s correspondents should be consulted in all cases where the

ship may be involved in a heavy cargo claim, and in dealing

with such claims, correspondents should bear in mind the bill

of lading conditions and exceptions and the established law

relating to such claims. Where the bill of lading incorporates

the terms, conditions and exceptions of the Charter Party a

copy of the latter document can usually be supplied by the

Master for inspection. If, however, it is not available the cor-

respondents should advise the Association’s London Managers

who will obtain a copy and advise them as to liability of

Owners and/or Charterers.

Correspondents should not approve claims for settlement

43

without first satisfying themselves that the sum claimed is not

in excess of any limitation provided by the bill of lading.

Where damage to cargo occurs a surveyor should be ap-

pointed to attend aboard the ship with a view to ascertaining

the cause and extent of the damage. If the Master anticipates

that the cargo has suffered damage, he should radio his

Owners to this effect, in order that the Association can ar-

range, through its correspondents, for a surveyor to attend

aboard immediately on arrival of the vessel.

Surveyors representing cargo interests should not be allowed

abocrd unless accompanied by the ship’s surveyor and the

ship’s agent. In this respect it should be mentioned that

surveyors appointed by Lloyds Agents almost invariably repre-

sent cargo interests.

Where cargo has been damaged by water which has ob-

tained entry to the cargo compartment through a broken pipe

or valve and it is found necessary for a renewal to be made the

old part should be carefully preserved so that, if required, it

can be produced as evidence in the vessel’s defence.

In respect of cargo carried on deck, claims for damage

and/or loss of deck cargo should be rejected by reference to bill

of lading clauses and conditions.

Where there is evidence that deck cargo has been lost over-

board during heavy weather the Master should be advised to

Note Protest, and the consignees supplied, if required, with

copy of the Protest and relevant log extract to enable them to

claim on their Insurers.

CUSTOMS PENALTIES. The Customs Regulations of all

Countries are designed primarily to protect the State from

infringements of its rights and statutes, both from inside and

outside of the Country, and are of necessity very wide in their

application.

It follows, therefore, that the import vessel is the object of

particular attention by the Customs Authorities and all shipp-

ing documents are closely scrutinized. As a result any errors in

44

Manifests as to quantity or description of goods on board may

result in heavy fines being imposed on the vessel. Failure to ac-

curately manifest all dutiable goods whether owned by the

ship, crew or passengers invariably involves the imposition of

not only heavy fines, but also confiscation of unmanifested

property, in some countries it is an offence for a vessel to enter

a port when she has been “constructed, adapted, altered or fit-

ted for the purpose of concealing goods”.

It is a requirement in certain countries that ship’s

documents, such as Crew List, bill of Health, etc., must be

visaed by their Consuls at loading ports and/or the last port of

‘call, and failure to do this involves the vessel in a penalty on

arrival at the discharging port.

Members should, therefore, impress upon their Masters and

Agents the necessity of fully acquainting themselves, before or

at the time of loading, with the relative Customs requirements

at the port or ports of discharge, and that all documentation

complies with such requirements.

In the event of a fine being imposed on the vessel, the

Association’s correspondents should immediately be consulted

by the ship’s agents, in order that they can consider whether a

petition should be made to the Director of Customs for

cancelation of or a reduction in the fine.

PERSONAL INJURY AND SICKNESS CLAIMS. When

medical assistance is required, Masters and/or ship’s agents

should apply to the Association's local correspondent.

If hospital treatment is necessary the Association’s cor-

respondent will give advice as to a hospital whose charges are

considered reasonable. Private Clinics should, as a general

rule, be avoided.

All medical and hospital accounts (exceeding 450) must be

submitted to the Association’s correspondent for approval

before payment, in order to avoid overcharges. Accounts ap-

proved for payment by the Association’s correspondents should

be endorsed as follows:

45

“Examined and approved for payment subject to the con-

ditions of the vessel’s entry in the West of England Steam-

ship Owners Protection and Indemnity Association Ltd.”

If an account is considered excessive and a suitable reduction

cannot be obtained, such account should be endorsed to the ef-

fect that it is considered excessive and the Association advised

accordingly.

All serious accidents to members of the crew, and all in-

juries, no matter how trivial they may appear to be, suffered

by passengers, longshoremen or third parties should be

reported to the Association’s correspondents in order that the

correspondents may, at their discretion, conduct on-board in-

vestigations into the cause and circumstances of the accident.

Such statements should contain details of any witness con-

cerned, to enable him to be contacted if this should become

necessary. In the case of crew members, the man’s home ad-

dress and the official number of his Seaman’s Book of Service

should be quoted. The greatest care must be exercised to pre-

vent any part of the ship’s gear (the breakage or failure of

which may have caused or contributed to the accident), from

being removed from the ship by any unauthorised person.

Such gear should, immediately following the accident, be

taken out of use and, in the case of portable gear such as ropes,

wires or blocks, be handed to the Association’s correspondents

at the earliest possible moment, in case it is required for ex-

amination by a Specialist to determine the cause of the failure,

and/or for forwarding to the place where claim is subsequently

brought. Where the broken gear is a part of the vessel’s struc-

ture, or is not easily removable ashore, the Association’s cor-

respondents/lawyers investigating should arrange for the

defective part to be properly surveyed and photographed. In

the event that a claim arising out of the accident is intimated,

the Association’s London Managers should immediately be in-

formed with the fullest possible details and should be kept

closely advised regarding all developments.

46

When an officer or seaman is left behind, the ship’s agents

should be instructed to arrange for the man’s repatriation on

the cheapest terms available. Provision is made under the

British Merchant Shipping Acts (Distressed Seamen’s Regula-

tions) for a seaman from a British vessel to be sent home as a

Distressed British Seaman (D.B.S.) on a conveyance order

issued by the Consul or Shipping Master. Every effort should

be made to obtain this means of repatriation. Seamen from

foreign vessels can often be sent home on another vessel of the

same flag at victualling rates, by arrangement with the Master

or Owner concerned.

Where is it necessary, for any reason, to repatriate crew

members by air, excess baggage charges should, where possi-

ble, be avoided or otherwise kept to a minimum. This can be

achieved by forwarding any heavy articles, not immediately

and necessarily required, by sea as personal effects.

STOWAWAYS. When stowaways are discovered on board

subsequent to sailing, the Master should immediately radio the

ship’s Agents at the next scheduled port of call: -

(1) The stowaway’s port of embarkation, date of sail-

ing from that port and place and estimated date of

arrival at next port of call.

(2) Full particulars of stowaway: -

(a) Full names.

(b) Last known address prior to stowing away.

(c) Date and place of birth. ,

(d) Nationality claimed by stowaway.

(e) Full names and last known address of wife,

parents or next-of-kin.

(f) Details, including description. Official number

and date and place of issue of any Passport or

other identification document in the

stowaway ’'s possession.

If the vessel is due to arrive at her next scheduled port of call

within a few days of discovery of the stowaway, the above in-

47

formation should also be repeated by radio to the Association's

correspondents (either direct or via the ship’s agents) at that

port, thereby enabling our correspondents to advise their local

Immigration Authorities of the man’s impending arrival, and

to make any necessary arrangements for his custody on board,

or ashore, whilst the vessel is in port.

In the event that the stowaway possesses a valid passport or

other identification documents, the Association’s cor-

respondents should make immediate application to the local

Consulate of the country of which the man is, or claims to be,

a National, in order to obtain official permission for his re-

entry to that country. Where such permission is obtained, the

authority of the local Immigration Officials should be sought

for the stowaway to be landed from the ship with a view to his

deportation, at the first available opportunity, to the country

which has authorised his re-entry.

Since, in many instances, a stowaway does not possess any

valid identification or travel documents, and the possibility of

landing and effecting his deportation from the vessel's first

port of call is therefore remote. Owners or their Agents on

receipt of the Master’s radio advice should pass on to the

Association in London the full details received from the

Master, together with information concerning the vessel’s

future movements, i.e. future ports of call and estimated dates

of arrival in those ports, so that the Association may, through

its correspondents in the country of which the stowaway

claims to be a national, endeavour to obtain verification of his

claim and official permission and documents enabling him to

return to that country. Such documents and authority will,

when obtained, be forwarded in advance of the vessel’s arrival

with the stowaway on board, to our correspondents at a subse-

quent port of call, with instructions relative to the landing and

repatriation of the man from their port.

48

DESERTERS. In countries where the act of desertion by

members of the crew constitutes a breach of the local immigra-

tion Laws or Regulations which is punishable by a fine upon

the ship, the Master, if he has reason to suspect that any

member of his crew intends to desert, should notify the

Association’s local correspondents prior to or immediately on

arrival in port, thereby enabling the latter to make such ar-

rangements as may be required to prevent the man’s desertion.

In the U.S.A. the boarding Immigration Official may,

without giving reason for so doing, order any member(s) of the

crew to be detained on board throughout the vessel's stay in a

U.S. port. On service of a “Notice to detain” upon the ship, the

Master should inform the Association’s local correspondents

who will arrange for the employment of suitable shore guards

to prevent the detainee(s) from leaving the ship. Under no cir-

cumstances should a crew member be permitted to set foot

ashore until he has been cleared by the local Immigration

Authorities and been granted a landing permit. In the event

that, despite all precautions, a man does desert, the fact

should be reported immediately by the Master to the Associa-

tion’s correspondents and/or the ship’s agents so that Immigra-

tion Authorities may be notified—the earlier the Authorities

know of the desertion the greater are the chances of the

deserter being apprehended.

When a fine in respect of a deserter is levied upon a ship,

our correspondents should be notified when they will, in con-

junction with our local lawyers, take all possible steps to ob-

tain remission or mitigation of the fine imposed.

On a deserter being apprehended after the vessel has sailed,

the Association’s correspondents will assist the ship’s agents in

deporting the deserter at the minimum possible cost to the

shipowner.

49

THE WEST OF ENGLAND SHIP OWNERS MUTUAL

INSURANCE ASSOCIATION (LONDON) LIMITED

CLASS II—FREIGHT, DEMURRAGE & DEFENCE. The

scope of this Class is much wider than might be supposed from

the three items that are traditionally used to describe it. It may

be assumed that the Association is interested in almost any

matter affecting a ship entered in this Class, other than mat-

ters which are the concern of the P. & I. Association.

Members of the Class are covered by the Association only for

the costs and expenses incurred in prosecuting or defending a

matter that comes within it, and it is particularly important,

therefore, that correspondents should send the Association

reports regularly so that the Member may be kept informed of

the progress of the matter.

Whenever a Master of ship’s agent applies to a correspon-

dent for advice or assistance the correspondent should ascer-

tain whether the ship concerned is entered in this particular

Class by reference to the list of entered vessels. If there is any

doubt as to whether or not the vessel is entered, the correspon-

dent should write or cable to the Association, depending on

the urgency of the matter.

It is also important that the correspondent should send a

report to the Association on any matter which he receives

direct from the Shipowner, Master or ship’s agent, so that the

Association may be advised of the matter as soon as possible

and assume conduct of it. Before any action is taken involving

expense, correspondents should immediately communicate

with the Association so that its interests in the matter may be

confirmed and its approval of the proposed procedure given.

June 1971

50

APPENDIX C

LIST OF CORRESPONDENTS

Whils. the Association does not appoint agents, the follow-

ing are the names of experts and Lawyers usually engaged to

advise on claims in which the Association is concerned. Cap-

tains and agents should consult them in case of emergency and

difficulty connected with matters covered by the Rules of this

Association, when there is not time to apply to their owners for

instruction.

In ports where the Association is not specially represented

the Captain or his agents should communicate with the

Association or telegraph (“WESTENG” London) for instruc-

tions in connection with any serious claim covered by the

Rules.

Telegraphic Addresses shown thus: (Westeng).

Asterisk denotes Lawyers.

Abadan

Gray, Mackenzie & Co. Ltd. Telephone 2488 (Gray)

Abidjan

Societe Navale Chargeurs Delmas-Vieljieux. 17, Av. Louis Barthe,

P.O.B. 1281

Telephone 22-88-41 Telex 617 (Samled)

Acapulco

Agencias Maritimas del Pacifico, S.A., Presidente Miguel Aleman s/n.,

Muelle Fiscal, Acapulco, Gro.

Telephone 2-19-56 (Ammsa Acapulco)

Adelaide

*Finlayson & Co., Epworth Bldg., 33, Pirie St.

Telephone 86901 Telex AA 82779 (Galicia)

Luke, Thomas & Co. (Aden Shipping) Ltd., Steamer Point

Telephone 4861-4 (Thomas)

r

Societe Marocaine de Protection Maritime, c/o., Mr. Canal, Bungalow

Marhaba, Av.

Mohamed V. Telephone 31-52 Telex Somaf 21048 (Tranpeschaud)

Alexandria

*Abdel Hadi & Yansouni, 32, Bd. Saad Zaghioul, P.O. Box 152,

ALEXANDRIA

Telephone 21351 (Aicoss Alexandria)

51

Algiers & District

Almeria

Witty S.A., Plaza Medinaceli 5, BARCELONA

Telephone 222-07-70 Telex 54707

(Witty Barcelona)

Amsterdam

Phs. Van Ommeren (Amsterdam) NV., 120 De Ruijterkade, P.O.B.

1457

Telephone 6-22-88 (Esomins)

Van Der Faltz & Voute, Herengracht 499

Telephone 24-01-94 Telex 14291

(Addis)

Post & Co. N.V., P.O.B. 443, 93, Westersingel, ROTTERDAM

Telephone 36-20-33 (After hours (01804) 52-81) Telex 11277

(Jacspost Rotterdam)

Ancona

Humbert Kane, 2 Piazza S. Maria, P.O.B. 157

Telephone 24352 Telex 56069 Agebrok

(Kane)

Annaba

Raymond Barthelemy, 5, Rue de Flandre Annaba

Telephone 35-21 Telex 93040

(Expermari)

Antigua & Montserrat

*Sir Fred Phillips, C.V.O., LL.B., c/o, C.O.R. Phillips, O.C., Phillips

& Phillips, St. Mary Street, St. John’s, Antigua

Antofagasta

The Pacific Steam Navigation Company, Casilla 990

Telephone 21032 (Pacific Antofagasta)

Antwerp

M.F. Caethoven & Co. P.V.B.A., 37, Frankrijklei

Telephone 33-59-63 Telex 32370

(Caethoven)

pa

*Gerald Impey, Barclays Bank Chambers, 40, Marina, P.O. Box 2879,

Lagos, Nigeria

Telephone 26159 (Impey Lagos)

Aqaba

Abou Zeid & Nazzal, P.O.B. 194 AMMAN

Telephone 24104 (Nakel Amman)

Arica

Hansen y Cia. Ltda., Casilla 115 Telephone 31188 (Band Arica)

M. Dizengoff & Co. Ltd., (P & I section) P.O. Box 255.

Athens

*Deucalion Rediadis & Sons, 18/20, Anatasiou Tsoha Street, Athens

602

Telephone 662-719 (Derediadis Piraeus)

Commercial Representative

P.P.D. Holman, see Piraeus Telephone 676054

52

Auckland

*Hesketh & Richmond, 6th Floor, Norwich Union Bldg., Cnr. Queen

& Durham Sts. |

Telephone 20-389 (Herisco)

A

Ditta Carlo A. Ali, Via Dusmet 131, Catania, Sicily. P.O.B. 209

Telephone 214-922 (Expoship) or (Ali)

S. Tagliavia & Cia., c/o Frateli Bonanno, Via Garibaldi 3/5

Telephone 74319 (Tagilaviaco Augusta)

San Francisco

*McCutchen, Doyle, Brown, Trautman & Enersen, 601, California

Street, San Francisco 8

Telephone (415) 981-3400 (Macpag)

*Lillick, McHose, Wheat, Adams & Charles, (Claims Dept.), 500,

Sansome St.

Telephone (415) 981-8666 (Pandiclub)

San Juan (Puerto Rico)

*Hartzell, Ydrach, Mellado, Santiago, Perez & Novas, 1530 Banco

Popular Center Hato Rey, San Juan, P.R. 00918

Telephone (809) 765-6075 Telex CW-WUI 3654204 (Hartzell)

Santa Marta

W. Moller & Cia, Ltda., c/o Ricardo Fuentes Almaceny Fuentes,

Apartado Aereo 524

Telepnone 2067 (Mollercol)

Santos

L. Figueriedo S.A., Rua Visconde do Rio, Branco 2, Caixa Postale 813

Telephone 2-7135 Telex 22841 (Doralice Santos)

Savannah, Ga.

*Lawton, Sipple & Chamlee, 26, East Bryan Street, P.O. Box 9523,

Georgia 31402

Telephone (912) 232-3165 (Lawton)

*Connerat, Dunn, Hunter, Houlihan, Maclean, & Exley, Savannah

Bank & Trust Bldg., P.O. Box 9848

Telephone (912) 233-6685 (Ancan)

Savona

Alfredo Saidelli, Via Santorre di Santarosa 2-5

Telex 27531 Saidelli (Saidelli)

*Studio Mordiglia, 14-17, Via XX Settembre, GENOA

Telephone 581-848 (Name Genoa)

Sete

L. Thos. & Geo. Budd, P.O. Box 842 Colbert, 8, Rue Beauvau, 13

Marseilles (1 er)

Telephone 33.71.36 (Budd Marseilles)

Seattle

Howard, Le Gros, Buchanan & Paul, 2910 Seattle First National Bank

Building,

1001 Fourth Ave., SEATTLE

Telephone Main 3-4990 (Hufhay Seattle)

53

Seoul

Hyopsung Shipping Corp., P.O. Box 236, Kwang Hwa Moon, Seoul

Telephone 22-2442 (Hyopsung Seoul)

Seville

MacAndrews & Co. Ltd., Plaza de Calvo Sotelo, 5, Apartado 99

Telephone 22-67-76 Telex 72049 MCSEV (Macandrews)

Sfax

Societe Commerciale Tunisienne, Rue de Remada, P.O. Box 154

Telephone 21-400 Telex 512 (Socotu)

Gray, Mackenzie & Co. Ltd. (Gray)

Shimizu

Shimizu Shipping K.K., Kashiwa Bldg., No. 10, 4, Chome,

Minato-cho

Telephone 2-8201 (Shiship Shimizu)

pore

Boustead Trading SDN, BDH., P.O. Box 899 Maritime Bldg., Collyer

Quay

Telephone 913355 Telex RS 21010 (Bousmarine)

*Drew & Napier, 30/35 Chartered Bank Chambers, P.O. Box 152

Telephone 982633 (Jures)

Skikda

M. Andre Raynal, c/o Societe Algerienne de Navigation, Charles

Schiaffina & Co.,

P.O.B. 119 Telephone 56-24A20 Telex 90 075 (Navgeri)

Sousse

Societe Commerciale Tunisienne, Cours De La Marine

Telephone 12 (Socoto)

SPAIN

General Representatives:

Witty S.A., Plaza Medinaceli 5, Barcelona

Telex 54707 (Witty Barcelona)

Hector Alinghieri, 19, Via Vittorio Veneto

Telephone 31179 (Hector La Spezia)

*Studio Mordiglia, 14-17, Via XX Settembre, GENOA

Telephone 581-848 (Nemo Genoa)

St. John, New Brunswick

Furness, Withy éc Co. Ltd., 22, King St.

Telephone (506) 693-2613 Telex 014-47212 (Furness)

*Guss, Taylor & Gregory, Ritchie Bldg., 50, Princess Street

Telephone 693-2565 (Argus)

St. John’s Newfoundland

Bowring Bros. Ltd., Box 4100

Telephone (709) 578-0431 Telex 016-202 (Bowring)

St. Kitts/Nevis/Anguilla

*Sir Fred Phillips, C.V.O., LL.B., c/o, Mr. Denis Byron, Chambers,

Basseterre

54

St. Lucia

*Sir Fred Phillips, C.V.O., LL.B., c/o Mr. Vincent F. Floissac, Q.C.,

LL.M., Chambers, P.O. Box 601, Columbus Square, Castries,

St. Lucia, West Indies.

Telephone 2887 (Flody)

St. Malo-St. Servan

Follin, Delamaire & Fourcade, 9 Chausses des Corsaires, P.O.B. 179,

St. Malo (I & V)

Telephone 34-83-21 Telex 73.926 (Naval. St. Malo) (Ships. St. Malo)

St. Nazaire

S.A. Jokelson & Handtsaem, Bd. Leferme 44

Telephone 70-20-10 Telex 71.931 (Jokelson or Trouvemar)

St. Vincent (Cape Verde Isles.)

Millers & Corys, Cape Verde Islands, Ltd. St. Vincent

Telephone 418 (Orlop Sanvicentedecaboverde)

55

APPENDIX D

48 U.S.C.A. § 746. Public lands and buildings; reserva-

tions; rights prior to July 1, 1902.

All public lands and buildings, not including harbor areas

and navigable streams and bodies of water and the submerged

lands underlying the same, owned by the United States in the

island of Puerto Rico and not reserved by the President of the

United States prior to July 1, 1903, pursuant to authority

vested in him by law, are granted to the government of Puerto

Rico, to be held or disposed of for the use and benefit of the

people of said island. Said grant is upon the express condition

that the government of Puerto Rico, by proper authority,

release to the United States any interest or claim it may have in

or upon the lands or buildings reserved by the President as

mentioned herein. Nothing herein contained shall be so con-

strued as to affect any legal or equitable rights acquired by the

government of Puerto Rico or by any other party, under any

contract, lease, or license made by the United States

authorities prior to the lst day of May 1900, July 1, 1902, c.

1383, § 1, 32 Stat. 731; May 17, 1932, c. 190, 47 Stat. 158.

48 U.S.C.A. § 747. Public property transferred

All property which may have been acquired in Puerto Rico

by the United States under the cession of Spain in the treaty of

peace entered into on the 10th day of December, 1898, in any

public bridges, road houses, wa‘er powers, highways, un-

navigable streams and the beds thereof, subterranean waters,

mines or minerals under the surface of private lands, all pro-

perty which at the time of the cession belonged, under the

laws of Spain then in force, to the various harbor works boards

of Puerto Rico, all the harbor shores, docks, slips, reclaimed

lands, and all public lands and buildings not reserved by the

United States for public purposes prior to March 2, 1917, is

placed under the control of the government of Puerto Rigo, to

56

be administered for the benefit of the people of Puerto Rico;

and the Legislature of Puerto Rico shall have authority, sub-

ject to the limitations imposed upon all its acts, to legislate

with respect to all such matters as it may deem advisable. Mar.

2, 1917, c. 145, § 7, 39 Stat. 954; May 17, 1932, c. 190, 47

Stat. 158.

48 U.S.C.A. § 749. Harbors and navigable waters

transferred

The harbor areas and navigable streams and bodies of water

and submerged lands underlying the same in and around the

island of Puerto Rico and the adjacent islands and waters,

owned by the United States on March 2, 1917, and not reserv-

ed by the United States for public purposes, are placed under

the control of the government of Puerto Rico, to be ad-

ministered in the same manner and subject to the same limita-

tions as the property enumerated in sections 747 and 748 of

this title. All laws of the United States for the protection and

improvement of the navigable waters of the United States and

the preservation of the interests of navigation and commerce,

except so far as the same may be locally inapplicable, shall ap-

ply to said island and waters and to its adjacent islands and

-vaters. Nothing in this chapter contained shall be construed so

as to affect or impair in any manner the terms or conditions of

any authorizations, permits, or other powers lawfully granted

or exercised in or in respect of said waters and submerged

lands in and surrounding said island and its adjacent islands by

the Secretary of the Army or other authorized officer or agent

of the United States prior to March 2, 1917. Mar. 2, 1917. c.

145, § 8, 39 Stat. 954; May 17, 1932, c. 190, 47 Stat. 158; July

25, 1947, c. 343, Title II, § 205(a), 61 Stat. 501. |

12 L.P.R.A. § 43. Ownership of fish

All species of fish, mollusks, crustaceans, aquatic mammals,

aquatic plants and all other species comprising the marine,

57

lacustrine and fluvial fauna and flora, are hereby declared to

be the property of the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico and of

common ownership and public use. They may be freely fished,

caught, utilized, or traded, subject to the limtations of sections

41-63 of this title and of the regulations for their enforcement.

May 13, 1936, No. 83, p. 438, § 3 July 1, 1953, No. 118, p.

458, § Il, eff. July 1, 1953.

12 L.P.R.A. § 44. Jurisdictional waters

For the purpose of sections 41—63 of this title, the limit of

the jurisdictional waters of the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico

shall be three (3) miles from the shoreline of Puerto Rico and

the islands politically belonging thereto.—May 13, 1936, No.

83, p. 438, § 4; July 1, 1953, No. 118, p. 453, § III, eff. July 1,

1953.

31 L.P.R.A. § 1023. Common things defined

Common things are those the ownership of which belongs to

no one in particular and which all men may freely use in con-

formity with their innate nature, such as air, rain » ater, the

sea and its shores. —Civil Code, 1930, § 254.

CONSTITUTION OF THE

COMMONWEALTH OF PUERTO RICO

Art. VI §19. [Natural resources; historic or artistic sites; penal

institutions; delinquents]

It shall be the public policy of the Commonwealth to con-

serve, develop and use its natural resources in the most effec-

tive manner possible for the general welfare of the communi-

ty; to conserve and maintain buildings and places declared by

the Legislative Assembly to be of historic or artistic value; to

regulate its penal institutions in a manner that effectively

achieves their purposes and to provide, within the limits of

available resources, for adequate treatment of delinquents in

order to make possible their moral and social rehabilitation.

58

APPENDIX E

Clean Water Act, 33 U.S.C. 1321(f) (5)

“(5) The President, or the authorized representative of any

State, shall act on behalf of the public as trustee of the natural

resources to recover for the costs of replacing or restoring such

resources. Sums recovered shall be used to restore,

rehabilitate, or acquire the equivalent of such natural

resources by the appropriate agencies of the Federal Govern-

ment, or the State government.”

OCS Lands Act, 43 U.S.C. 1813(b)(3):

“...(3) under paragraph (2)(C), by the President, as trustees

for natural resources over which the Federal Government has

sovereign rights or exercises exclusive management authority,

or by any State for natural resources within the boundary of

the State belonging to, managed by, controlled by, or apper-

taining to the State, and sums recovered under paragraph

(2)(C) shall be available for use to restore, rehabilitate, or ac-

quire the equivalent of such natural resources by the ap-

propriate agencies of the Federal Government or the State,

but the measure of such damages shall not be limited by the

sums which can be used to restore or replace such

resources;...”

Florida (F.S.A. Sec. 376.11(5)(c) (1974):

“376.11 Florida Coastal protection trust fund

(1) The purpose of this section is to provide a mechanism to

have financial resources immediately available for cleanup

and rehabilitation after a pollutant has been discharged, to

prevent further damage by the pollutant, and to pay for

damages. It is the legislative intent that this section be liberally

construed to effect the purposes set forth, such interpretation

being especially imperative in light of the danger to the en-

vironment and resources. . .”

59

“(5) Moneys in the Florida coastal protection fund shall be

disbursed for the following purposes and no others:

(a) Administrative expenses, personnel expenses, and

equipment costs of the department related to the enforcement

of this chapter subject to § 376.18.

(b) All immediate costs involved in the abatement of

pollution related to the discharge of pollutants covered by this

chapter and the abatement of other potential pollution

hazards as authorized herein.

(c) All costs and expenses of the cleanup and rehabilita-

tion of water fowl, wildlife, and all other natural resources

damaged by the discharge of pollutants, whether performed

or authorized by the department or any other state or local

agency.

(d) All provable costs and damages which are the prox-

imate results of the discharge of pollutants covered by this

chapter.

(6) The department shall recover to the use of the fund from

the person or persons causing the discharge or from the federal

government, jointly and severally, all sums owed or expended

therefrom, pursuant to section 376.12(4), except that

recoveries resulting from damage due to a discharge of a pollu-

tant or other similar disaster shall be approtioned between the

Florida coastal protection trust fund and the general revenue

fund so as to repay the full costs to the general revenue fund of

any sums disbursed therefrom as a result of such disaster. Re-

quests for reimbursement to the fund for the above costs, if not

paid within thirty days of demand, shall be turned over to the

department of legal affairs for collection.

Amended by Laws 1974, c. 74-336, § 11, eff. July 1, 1974.”

Maryland (A.C.Md. Natural Resources Sec. 8-1411(f) (1974):

“(f) Maryland Oil Disaster Containment, Clean-up and

Contingency Fund—Established; purpose; reimbursement by

polluters; credits; debits.—There is a Maryland Oil Disaster

60

Containment, Clean-up and Contingency Fund for the

Department to use to develop equipment, personnel, and

plans; for contingency actions to respond to, contain, clean-

up, and remove from the land and waters of the State

discharges of oil, petroleum products, and their by-products

into, upon, or adjacent to the waters of the State; and restore

natural resources damaged by discharges. The cost of contain-

ment, clean-up, removal, and restoration shall be reimbursed

to the State by the person responsible for the discharge. The

reimbursement shall be credited to the Fund. The Fund shall

be limited to the sum of $1,000,000. To this sum shall be

credited every license fee, fine, if imposed by the circuit court

for any county or the Criminal Court of Baltimore, as the case

may be, and any other charge related to this subtitle. To this

Fund shall be charged every expense the Department has

which relates to this section.

(1975, ch. 851; 1976, ch. 436; 1977, ch. 784, § 5.)”

Massachusetts (M.G.L.A. c.21 Sec. 27(14) (1973):

“§ 27. Powers and duties of division

It shall be the duty and responsibility of the division to

enhance the quality and value of water resources and to ex-

tablish a program for prevention, control, and abatement of

water pollution. Said division shall:...”

“(14) Undertake immediately whenever there is spillage,

seepage or other discharge of oil or hazardous material into or

proximate to any of the waters of the commonwealth or into

any offshore waters which may result in damage to the waters,

shores or natural resources utilized or enjoyed by citizens of

the commonwealth to cause said spillage, seepage or discharge

to be contained and removed by whatever method it considers

best. Chemicals shall not be used in the cleanup operation of

oil or hazardous material spills unless their use has been

authorized by the division, and if a public water supply or

4.

61

shellfish beds may be affected, by the department of public

health. In this clause, the word “oil” shall mean insoluble or

partially soluble oils of any kind or origin or in any form in-

cluding, but not limited to, crude or fuel oils, lube oil or

sludge, asphalt, insoluble or partially insoluble derivatives of

mineral, animal or vegetable oils.

The division shall determine the person responsible for caus-

ing such spillage, seepage or discharge and the names of all

persons who owned or controlled the oil or hazardous material

or who owned or controlled or leased the vessel, tank, pipe,

hose or other container in which the oil or hazardous material

was located when the spillage, seepage or discharge occurred.

Said persons shall be jointly and severally liable to the com-

monwealth for all costs and expenses incurred by the division

in making such investigation, and in containing and removing

the oil or hazardous material, and shall be jointly and severally

liable to the commmonwealth for all damages done to natural

and recreational resources, including all costs of restoring

damaged areas to their original condition, and to any other

person for any damages to his real and personal property. The

person responsible for causing such spillage, seepage or

discharge shall be punished by a fine of not more than ten

thousand dollars for each day such spillage, seepage or

discharge continues, or by imprisonment for not more than

two years or both.

Upon request of the director, the attorney general shall

bring an action to recover all costs and expenses incurred for

such investigation, containment, removal, and restoration.

Such costs and expenses shall be recovered in an action of

tort, and shall be credited to the account from which said sums

of money had been advanced and may, subject to appropria-

tion, be expended by the division for the purposes set forth in

this clause. In any such action the commonwealth may also

seek recovery for all loss and damage to the natural and recrea-

tional resources of the commonwealth.

62

Any owner or operator of a vessel, vehicle, railroad car or

facility used for the production processing, transportation,

transfer or storage of oil or hazardous material shall, as soon as

he has knowledge of any such spillage, seepage or discharge of

oil or hazardous material into or proximate to waters of the

commonwealth, promptly notify the director of the division or

his representative of such discharge. Any person who fails so to

notify the director or his representative of such discharge shall

be punished by a fine of not more than five thousand dollars.

Any person who removes oil as defined in this clause, or

hazardous material, as defined in section twenty-six A, from

the waters of the commonwealth or adjoining shorelines shall

be entitled to reimbursement from any other person for the

reasonable costs expended for such removal, if such oil or

hazardous material resulted from the negligence of two or

more persons, each shall be liable to the others for his pro rata

share of the cost or removal.

Any person who gratuitously renders assistance at the re-

quest of a duly authorized officer in removing oil or hazardous

material from the waters of the commonwealth or adjoining

shorelines shall not be held liable, notwithstanding any other

provision of law, for civil damages as a result of any act of

omission by him in removing such oil or hazardous material,

except acts or omissions amounting to gross negligence or

willful or wanton misconduct.

Amended by St.1973, c. 546, § 3; St. 1979; c. 705, § 2.”

Mississippi (M.A.C. Sec. 49-27-55 (1979 Supp.)):

“§ 49-27-55. Civil liability of violators — restoration —

punitive damages — mandatory injunction — jurisdiction of

circuit or county court — remedies preserved.

(a) Any person who violates the provisions of this chapter

shall be liable to the State of Mississippi for the restoration of

all affected coastal wetlands to their condition prior to such

63

violation, insofar as such restoration is possible, and for any

and all damages to the wetlands. The appropriate chancery

court by writ of mandatory injunction shall allow a reasonable

time for completion of the restoration and may, in its discre-

tion, order as punitive damages a sum not to exceed fine hun-

dred dollars ($500.00) per day for each day such violation has

existed. The said chancery court may further order as punitive

damages a sum not to exceed five hundred dollars ($500.00)

per day for each day that the violation exists beyond the date

set by said court in its unjunction for the restoration of said

wetland. If injunctive relief is not sought, the appropriate cir-

cuit or county court shall have jurisdiction over any action for

damages and/or punitive damages as set forth in this

paragraph.

(b) Nothing in this chapter shall preclude other statutory or

common law remedies by public or private parties against

violators or nonviolators of this chapter.

SOURCES: Laws, 1973, ch. 385, § 8(d)(e), eff from and after

July 1, 1973.”

New Jersey (N.J.S.A. 58:10-23.11g(a)(2) 1979 Supp.)):

58:10-23.11g Liabilities for cleanup and removal costs and

direct and indirect damages

a. The fund shall be strictly liable, without regard to fault,

for all cleanup and removal costs and for all direct and indirect

damages no matter by whom sustained, including but not

limited to:

(1) The cost of restoring, repairing, or replacing any real or

personal property damaged or destroyed by a discharge, any

income lost from the time such property is damaged to the

time such property is restored, repaired or replaced, and any

reduction in value of such property caused by such discharge

by comparison with its value prior thereto;

(2) The cost of restoration and replacement, where possible,

of any natural resource damaged or destroyed by a discharge;

64

(3) Loss of income or impairment of earning capacity due to

damage to real or personal property, including natural

resources destroyed or damaged by a discharge; provided that

such loss or impairment exceeds 10% or the amount which

claimant derives, based upon income or business records, ex-

clusive or other sources of income, from activities related to

the particular real or personal property or natural resources

damaged or destroyed by such discharge during the week,

month or year for which the claim is filed;

New York (N.Y. Nar.L. 181(2)(b) (1979 Supp.)):

§ 181. Liability

1. Any person who has discharged petroleum shall be

strictly liable, without regard to fault, for all cleanup and

removal costs and all direct and indirect damages, no matter

by whom sustained, as defined in this section.

2. The fund shall be strictly liable, without regard to fault,

for all cleanup and removal costs and all direct and indirect

damages, no matter by whom sustained, including, but not

limited to:

(a) The cost of restoring, repairing, or replacing any real

or personal property damaged or destroyed by a discharge,

any income lost from the time such property is damaged to the

time such property is restored, repaired, or replaced, any

reduction in value of such property caused by such discharge

by comparison with its value prior thereto;

(b) The cost of restoration and replacement, where possi-

ble, of any natural resource damaged or destroyed by a

discharge;

(c) Loss of income or impairment of earning capacity due

to damage to real or personal property, including natural

resources destroyed or damaged by a discharge; provided that

such loss or impairment exceeds ten percent of the amount

which claimant derives, based upon income or business

records, exclusive of other sources of income, from activities

65

related to the particular real or personal property or natural

resources damaged or destroyed by such discharge during the

week, month or year for which the claim if filed;

(d) Loss of tax revenue by the state or local governments

for a period of one year due to damage to real or personal pro-

perty proximately resulting from a discharge;

(e) Interest on loans obtained or other obligations incur-

red by a claimant for the purpose of ameliorating the adverse

effects of a discharge pending the payment of a claim in full as

provided by this article.

North Carolina (N.C.G.S. Sec. 143-215.90 (1979 Supp.)):

§143-215.90. Liability for damage to public resources.

(a) Any person who discharges oil or other hazardous

substances in violation of this Article or violates any order, rule

or regulation of the Environmental Management Commission

adopted pursuant to this Article, or fails to perform any duty

imposed by this Article, or violates an order or other deter-

mination of the Environmental Management Commission

made pursuant to the provisions of this Article, including the

provisions of a discharge permit issued pursuant to G.S.

143-215.1, and in the course thereof causes the death of, or in-

jury to fish, animals, vegetation or other resources of the State

or otherwise causes a reduction in the quality of the Waters of

the State below the Standards set by the Environmental

Management Commission, shall be liable to pay the State

damages. Such damages shall be an amount equal to the cost

of all reasonable and necessary investigations made or caused

to be made by the Environmental Management Commission

in connection with such violation and the sum of money

necessary to restock such waters, replenish such resources, or

otherwise restore the rivers, streams, bays, tidal flats, beaches,

estuaries or coastal waters and public lands adjoining the

seacoast to their condition prior to the injury as such condition

is determined by the Environmental Management Commis-

66

sion in conference with the Wildlife Resources Commission,

and any other State agencies having an interest affected by

such violation (or by the designees of any such boards, com-

missions, and agencies).

(b) Upon receipt of the estimate of damages caused, the

Department shall give written notice by registered or certified

mail to the person responsible for the death, killing, or injury

to fish, animals, vegetation, or other resources of the State, or

any reduction in quality of the waters of the State, describing

the damages and their causes with reasonable specificity, and

shall request payment from such person. Damages shall

become due and payable upon receipt of such notice. Upon

written application to the Department within 30 days of

receipt of notice, the person assessed damages may request an

administrative hearing pursuant to G.S. 143-215.4. On such

hearing, the estimate of the replacement cost of fish or animals

or vegetation destroyed, and the estimate of costs of replacing

or restoring other resources of the State, and the estimate of

the cost of restoring the quality of waters of the State shall

be prima facie evidence of the actual replacement cost of fish,

animals, vegetation or other resources of the State, and of the

actual cost of restoring the quality of the waters of the State;

provided, that such evidence is rebuttable. In arriving at such

estimate, any reasonably accurate method may be used and it

shall not be necessary for any agent of the Department of

Wildlife Resources Commission to collect, handle, or weigh

numerous specimens of dead or injured fish, animals, vegeta-

tion or other resources of the State, or to calculate the costs of

restoring the quality of the waters using any technology other

than that which is existing and practicable, as found to be such

by the Secretary. Provided, that the Department may effect

such mitigation of the amount of damages as the commission

may deem proper and reasonable. Appeal from final deter-

mination of the commission or its agents pursuant to such a

hearing shall be pursuant to G.S. 143-215.5. If the damages

67

are not paid to the Department within 30 days of receipt of

notice, or if the amount of damages provided in an order

issued subsequent to an application to the Department is not

paid within 30 days of the issuance thereof, the Attorney

General, upon request of the Department, shall bring an ac-

tion to recover such damages in the name of the State, in the

Superior Court of Wake County, or in his discretion, in the

superior court of any other county in which the damages oc-

curred. Upon such action being brought, the scope of the

court’s review shall be as provided in G.S. 150A-51. Any

money recovered by the Attorney General or by payment of

damages by the person charged therewith by the Department

shall be transferred by the Environmental Management Com-

mission to appropriate funds administered by the State agen-

cies affected by the violation for use in such activities as food

fish or shellfish management programs, wildlife and water-

fowl management programs, water quality improvement pro-

grams and such other uses as may best mitigate the damage in-

curred as a result of the violation. No action shall be authoriz-

ed under the provisions of this section against any person

operating in compliance with the conditions of a waste

discharge permit issued pursuant to G.S. 143-215.1 and the

provisions of this Part.

(c) For the purpose of carrying out its duties under this Arti-

cle, the Environmental Management Commission shall have

the power to direct the investigation of any death, killing, or

injury to fish, animals, vegetation or other resources of the

State, or any reduction in quality of the waters of the State,

which in the opinion of the Environmental Management

Commission is of sufficient magnitude to justify investigation.

(1973, c. 534, s. 1; c. 1262, s. 23; 1979, c. 535, s. 24.)

Oklahoma (82 O.S.A. Sec. 937(b) (1971)):

§ 937. Penalties-Injunctions

(a) Any person who knowingly or willfully violates any pro-

perly promulgated order of the Pollution Control Coor-

68

dinating Board shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and upon

conviction shall be punished by a fine of not more than Five

Hundred Dollars ($500.00) per day for each of the first ten (10)

days of continuous violation and One Thousand Dollars

($1,000.00) for each day thereafter, or by imprisonment for a

term of not more than ninety (90) days or by both such fine

and imprisonment. Each and every day the violation occurs

shall constitute a separate violation.

(b) Any person, firm or corporation who violates any of the

provisions of, or fails to perform any duty imposed by this act

or regulation issued hereunder, or who violates any order or

determination of the Board promulgated pursuant to this act,

which violation causes the death of fish or other wildlife shall,

in addition to the penalties provided in subsection (a), be

liable to pay to the state an amount equal to the sum of money

reasonably necessary to restock such waters which shall in-

clude replacement cost of fish killed based on the most recent

fish values as officially published by the American Fishery

Society, Southern Division, and all other costs required for

such restocking including but not limited to shipment and‘

handling, or replenish such wildlife and all cost incurred in in-

vestigating, locating or establishing the responsible person,

firm or corporation as determined by the Oklahoma Wildlife

Conservation Commission and approved by the Board. Such

amount may be recovered by the Board on behalf of the state

in a civil action brought in the district court and shall be di-

vided among the agencies in accordance with the expenses in-

curred, as determined by the Board.

(c) It shall be the duty of the Attorney General on the re-

quest of the Board to bring an action for an injunction against

any person, firm or corporation violating the provisions of this

act, or violating any order or determination of the Board. In

any action for an injunction brought pursuant to this section,

any finding of the Board after hearing on due notice shall be

prima facie evidence of the fact or facts found therein.

69

(d) Upon showing by the Attorney General in behalf of the

Board that such person is violating or is about to violate the

provisions of this act or is violating or is about to violate any

order or determination of the Board, an injunction shall be

granted without the necessity of showing a lack of adequate

remedy at law.

Amended by Laws 1971, c. 338, § 10, operative July 1, 1971;

Laws 1976, c. 21, § 1.

Oregon (O.R.S. Sec. 468.745 (977)):

468.745 Liability for damage to fish or wildlife or habitat;

agency to which damages payable.

(1) Where the injury, death, contamination or destruction

of fish or other wildlife or injury or destruction of fish or

wiidlife habitat results from pollution or from any violation of

the conditions set forth in any permit or of the orders or rules

of the commission, the person responsible for the injury,

death, contamination or destruction shall be strictly liable to

the state for the value of the fish or wildlife so injured or

destroyed and for all costs of restoring fish and wildlife pro-

duction in the affected areas, including habitat restoration.

(2) In addition to the penalties provided for by law, the state

may seek recovery of such damages in any court of competent

jurisdiction in this state if the person responsible under subsec-

tion (1) of this section fails or refuses to pay for the value of the

fish or wildlife so destroyed and for all costs of restoring fish

and wildlife production in the affected areas, including

‘ habitat restoration, within a period of 60 days from the date of

mailing by registered or certified mail of written demand

therefor.

(3) Any action or suit for the recovery of damages described

in subsection (1) of this section shall be brought in the name of

the State of Oregon upon relation of the Department of En-

vironmental Quality or State Department of Fish and Wildlife

or the Attorney General. Amounts recovered under this sec-

70

tion shall be paid to the state agency having jurisdiction over

the fish or wildlife or fish or wildlife production for which

damages were recovered. [Formerly 449,109, 1979 c. 534 § 1]

Virginia (Va. Code Sec. 62.1-44.15(11) (a)):

§62.1-44.15. Powers and duties.

It shall be the duty of the Board and it shall have the

authority:...

(11) To investigate any large-scale killing of fish.

(a) Whenever the Board shall determine that any

owner, whether or not he shall have been issued a certificate

for discharge of waste, has discharged sewage, industrial

waste, or other waste into State waters in such quantity, con-

centration or manner that fish are killed as a result thereof it

may effect such settlement with the owner as will cover the

costs incurred by the Board and by the Commission of Game

and Inland Fisheries in investigating such killing of fish, plus

the replacement value of the fish destroyed, or as it deems pro-

per, and if no such settlement is reached within a reasonable

time the Board shall authorize its executive secretary to bring a

civil action in the name of the Board to recover from the owner

such costs and value, plus any court or other legal costs incur-

red in connection with such action.

Washington (R.C.W. Sec. 90.48.142 (1977)):

90.48.142 Violations-Liability in damages for injury or

death of fish, animals, vegetation-Action to recover

Any person who violates any of the provisions of this

chapter, or fails to perform any duty imposed by this chapter,

or violates an order or other determination of the commission

or the director made pursuant to the provisions of this chapter,

including the conditions of a waste discharge permit issued

pursuant to RCW 90.48.160, and in the course thereof causes

the death of, or injury to, fish, animals, vegetation or other

resources of the state, or otherwise causes a reduction, in the

71

quality of the state’s waters below the standards set by the

commission, thereby damaging the same, shall be liable to pay

the state damages in an amount equal to the sum of money

necessary to restock such waters, replenish such resources, and

otherwise restore the stream, lake or other water source to its

condition prior to the injury, as such condition is determined

by the commission. Such damages shall be recoverable in ac-

tion brought by the attorney general on behalf of the people of

the state of Washington in the superior court of the county in

which such damages occurred; Provided, that if damages oc-

curred in more than one county the attorney general may

bring action in any of the counties where the damages occur-

red. Any money so recovered by the attorney general shall be

transferred to either the state game fund or the department of

fisheries to use for food fish or shellfish management purposes

and propagation, or to any other agency of the state having

jurisdiction over the resource damaged and for which said

moneys were recovered, as appropriate: Provided, that the

agency receiving such money, shall utilize not less than one-

half of said money on activities or projects within the county

where the action was brought by the attorney general. No

action shall be authorized under this section against any per-

son operating in compliance with the conditions of a waste

discharge permit issued pursuant to RCW 90.48.160 [Added

by Laws Ist Ex Sess 1967 ch. 139 § 13; Amended by Laws Ist

Ex Sess 1970 ch. 88 § 12, effective February 23, 1970.]

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.