Jurisdictional Statement — California Manufacturers Ass'n v. Industrial Welfare Commission

Supreme Court brief1980

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

————EE

Supreme Court, Ui. $.

80-3552 FILED a

js OCT 7 1980

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United!Statés0 2®. cer

October Term, 1980.

CALIFORNIA MANUFACTURERS ASSOCIATION, ef al.,

Appellants,

VS.

INDUSTRIAL WELFARE COMMISSION, ef al.,

Appellees.

ON APPEAL FROM THE SUPREME COURT OF CALIFORNIA.

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT.

GIBSON, DUNN & CRUTCHER,

WILLARD Z. CARR, JR.,

KENNETH E. RISTAU, JR.,

DENNIS A. GLADWELL,

660 Newport Center Drive, #1600,

Newport Beach, Calif. 92660,

(714) 759-3800,

Attorneys for California

Manufacturers Association.

BROBECK, PHLEGER & HARRISON,

JEAN C. GASKILL,

JAMES L. MEEDER,

Spear Street Tower,

One Market Plaza,

San Francisco, Calif. 94105,

(415) 442-0900,

Attorneys for United Air

Lines, Inc., American

Airlines, Inc. and Sierra

Ski Areas Association.

(Names and addresses of Attorneys continued on inside front cover)

Parker & Son. Inc.. Law Printers, Los Angeles. Phone 724-6622

MITCHELL, SILBERBERG & KNUPP,

RICHARD M. MOSK,

1800 Century Park East,

Los Angeles, Calif. 90067,

(213) 553-5000,

Attorneys for Theatre

Properties, Inc., and

Th. .ire Association of

California.

KAHN & SOARES,

JAN L. KAHN,

Old Phone Building,

217 North Douty Street,

Hanford, Calif. 93230,

(209) 584-3337,

RICHARD W. SMITH,

1240 Bayshore Highway,

Burlingame, Calif. 94010,

(415) 579-3538,

Attorneys for Hitchcock

Transportation Co.,

Corcoran Motor Transport, Inc.,

and California Trucking

Association.

Attorneys for Appellants

Questions Presented.

Two questions are before this Court.

(1) Are the California Industrial Welfare Commission’s

Orders 1-80, 3-80, 4-80, 8-80, 9-80 and 10-80 preempted,

in part or in whole, by the National Labor Relations Act,

29 U.S.C. section 151 et seg. and the Railway Labor Act,

45 U.S.C. section 151, et seq.?

(2) Did the California Supreme Court deny procedural

due process to appellants by denying them the right to an

evidentiary hearing and the right to present and develop

evidence on all issues, including the federal preemption

issue?

Parties to Appeal.

Appellants are: The California Manufacturers Associa-

tion; United Air Lines, Inc.; American Airlines, Inc.; Sierra

Ski Area Association; California Trucking Association;

Theatre Association of California; Theatre Properties, Inc.;

Hitchcock Transportation Co. and Corcoran Motor Trans-

port, Inc.

Appellees are: The Industrial Welfare Commission and

the Division of Labor Standards Enforcement of the State

of California.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

ee sd s\ ca iscunbeasdvenen sus anevesovesnns i

ES ae st cas cy Veh oper tas ide rack vevOendeless i

SN Cre. once valinseeareisidsescdsconcsiahiganens I

PU Sass vba rita cea vddcdensnckvcexereTreeitdssckanenssd |

Constitutional Provisions and Regulations ............... I

Statement of the Case ................. padavers ctAROEIIO SE Kee 2

The Questions Are Substantial ...........ccc....cccccceeees 7

A. Presumption by the National Labor Relations

SE Sa iin si vncncntessbbshiecuckavdicakicskssabsdcteree) 7

B. Preemption by Railway Labor Act ............... |

og EE dots snes cddadisinenutsuheiessakdsecaveues 13

LS NLL OT DA EE Ry: TE Te 16

INDEX TO APPENDICES

Page

APPENDIX A. Opinion of the Supreme Court of

RING. d Sa vaul cov Unceuadhetorndnadcens tunis App. p. |

APPENDIX B._ Notice of Appeal to the Supreme Court

of the United States, Filed: Aug. 4, 1980 ............ 55

Notice of Appeal to The Supreme Court of the United

en Ns PUES he OU es ci ccccesceconeaere 58

APPENDIX C. Amended Notice of Appeal to the Su-

preme Court of the United States, Dated: September

I aa Sas takin ed tidds Cok uchanerd ool (iach oavandiaheudes 59

APPENDIX D. Order 1-80. 11180. Order Governing

Wages, Hours, and Working Conditions in the Man-

I i cas Cocbaawuub shy pasnswnedwiniawycs 62

Order 3-80. 11075. Order Governing Wages, Hours,

and Working Conditions in the Canning, Freezing,

ONE PROSETVING INGUBTY .........0.00cccecccsesTeccccccees 79

Order 4-80. 11345. Order Governing Wages, Hours,

and Working Conditions in Professional, Technical,

Clerical, and Similar Occupations ...................... 96

Order No. 8-80. 11110. Order Governing Wages,

Hours, and Working Conditions in the Industries

Handling Products After Harvest ....................64. 115

Order 9-80. 11460. Order Governing Wages, Hours,

and Working Conditions in the Transportation

hs sao lindy bakbhureWivhsiniestaccchdabsexnscens 132

Order 10-80. 11040. Order Governing Wages, Hours,

and Working Conditions in the Amusement and Rec-

ee ew oweeers 150

APPENDIX E. Stipulation and Order, Filed: Jan. 16,

iV

Page

APPENDIX F. Letter to All Counsel: Re: S.F. 24123

— Industrial Welfare Commission v. Superior Court,

County of Kern. S.F. 24140 — Hitchcock Transpor-

tation Company v. Industrial Welfare Commission,

SN PE 20, COR vce caitiensvccacoiaausctintepessesks 170

APPENDIX G. (First Page of Appellants’ April 25,

1980 Brief) Supplemental Return of Real Parties in

Interest Responding to the Court’s Inquiry on Labor

Law Preemption and Replying to Petitioner’s Sup-

PUMRSGREE THOTICIIONE oon. cocsisoscvsicecaciserebnmneens 172

APPENDIX H. Letter to the Honorable Mathew O.

Tobriner, Acting Chief Justice, And All Justices of

the California Supreme Court, Dated May 8, 1980

ee ee

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases Page

City of Burbank v. Lockheed Air Terminal, 411 U.S.

624, 36 L.Ed.2d 547, 93 S.Ct. 1854 (1973) .........

California Hotel and Motel Association v. Industrial

Welfare Commission, 25 Cal.3d 200 (1979) .........

California Manufacturers Association v. Industrial Wel-

fare Commission, et al. (Orange County Superior

RN Gs I OBS a oo ab ewaae bans

California Manufacturers Association, et al. v. Industrial

Welfare Commission, et al. (Civil No. C-80-2644

EES OE Mer pp reo Bem PP eee

California v. Taylor, 353 U.S. 553 (1957) ..............

California Trucking Ass’n et al. v. Industrial Welfare

Commission et al. (Kings County Superior Court No.

ME ies cddtasionk sch ceen lanes Recitals Ceatueck susastensocst

Farmer v. Carpenters, et al., 430 U.S. 290, 51 L.Ed.2d

Pe Ee es PEPE SD wcsavsccsovdereccstsicesaee 8,

Finkel v. Superior Court, 71 Cal.App. 97 (1925) ......

Flournoy v. Wiener, 321 U.S. 253 (1944) ..............

Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254, 25 L.Ed.2d 287, 90

ee I Ses tices nasiessbdetapubseniasessons 3,

Henning v. IWC, 22 Wage Hour Cases 25 (1975) .....

fees V. FUOKES, SZ9-U.S. SHE CUGSD) ccsecevisecsciscseces

Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52 (1941) ...............

Hitchcock Transportation Co., et al. v. Industrial Wel-

fare Commission, 27 Cal.3d 736 (1980) ..............

Homemakers, Inc. v. IWC, 509 F.2d 20 (9th Cir. 1974),

cert. denied, 423: U.S. 1063 (1976) ....................

Joint Anti-Fascist Refugee Committee v. McGrath, 341

SS re ED ise nivel let cannsas kexesweubeowasieadenis

12

vi

Page

Lassen v. Alameda, 150 Cal.App.2d 44, 309 P.2d 520

ERED cava lie Dec saduassin Geis cewhe van diebeiig nite nics deunowis

Linn v. Plant Guard Workers, 383 U.S. 53, 15 L.Ed.2d

_ Baer <4 > ie oe eet es aaa

Lodge 76, Machinists v. Wisconsin Employment Re-

lations Comm'n et al., 427 U.S. 132, 49 L.Ed.2d

FO FE ie RP LEOTOD cccessccdsscscisceeseans 8, 9,

Machinists v. Gonzales, 356 U.S. 617, 2 L.Ed.2d 1018,

ee ee, I, ree, es Nedmawiniewadal babe

Malone v. White Motor Corp., 435 U.S. 497, 55

Be Fe Fo eh) . eer rere S

Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319, 47 L.Ed.2d 18,

ee, PEE Waki keneueesiecncdevavenwedtevatenses

Motor Coach Employees v. Lockridge, 403 U.S. 274

ME cecetnrsvecnivist ersrircrististeisasstessigaeeiiss 14,

New York Tel. Co. et al. v. New York State Dept. of

Labor, etc. et al., 440 U.S. 519, 59 L.Ed.2d 553,

we Lo ae eo) ee ee ero rrren 7, 8,

Ong v. Tovey, 552 F.2d 305 (9th Cir. 1977) ...........

Prudential Ins. Co. v. Cheek, 259 U.S. 530 (1922) ...

Railway Employees’ Dept. v. Hanson, 351 U.S. 225

Ge see eters ine Neos eka pes SAK NTs Sp Niko bn cd Soaae

San Diego Bidg. Trades Council v. Garmon, 359 U.S.

236, 3 L.Ed.2d 775, 79 S.Ct. 773 (1959) . 7, 8, 9,

San Joaquin Nisei Farmers League, et al. v. Industrial

Welfare Commission (Stanislaus County Superior

CA Ft UE hh dis cubs chcudcueecs sallcusensctysaccastee

Sears, Roebuck & Co. v. Carpenters, 436 U.S. 180, 56

L5G. 20 209, 9B S.Ct. V74S CIG7B) .... cer cacscccveess

Shields v. Beto, 370 F.2d 1003 (Sth Cir. 1967) ........

Sotto v. Wainwright, 601 F.2d 184 (Sth Cir. 1979) ...

13

10

10

15

13

13

Vil

Page

Teamsters v. Oliver, 358 U.S. 283, 3 L.Ed.2d 312, 79

Ms IT CIID, cai nus canicddedolccdsdocadaddmebedennt ; a

Teamsters Union v. Morton, 377 U.S. 252 (1964) .... 15

Thompson v. Madison County Board of Education, 476

Fe PO Gs OED ier batidcs thi sdie<iuesidinigdgh 14

Truax v. Corrigan, 257 U.S. 312 (1921) ................ 15

Western Growers Assn., et al. v. Industrial Welfare

Commission (Kern County Superior Court No.

IRR ee atiad BM Se PEN Y «heen amare dark Maus eels 1 5 3, 4

Youngdahl v. Rainfair, Inc., 355 U.S. 131, 2 L.Ed.2d

Re ge es re ir ey patn oe 10

Constitution

United States Constitution, Art. VI ................... i: Se

United States Constitution, Fourteenth Amend-

NE rr coc entawecueelcecuenvereiecrice 2, ¥3

Miscellaneous

California Industrial Welfare Commission’s Orders:

Nos. 1-80, 3-80, 4-80, 8-80, 9-80 and 10:80 ..... om

Statutes

California Administrative Code, Title 8, Sec. 11000 et

Ws sisnnanceiinvdstenciapes sauiaannsd ede doomennadtioeeakiae sa 2

California Code of Civil Procedure, Sec. 1085 ......... 13

California Code of Civil Procedure, Secs. 1090-1091 . 13

California Code of Civil Procedure, Sec. 1090 ......... 13

California Labor Code, Sec. 1182 ............cccceccescees 2

National Labor Relations Act, Sec. 7 ............ 8, 10, 11

National Labor Relations Act, Sec. 9 ..................... 10

National Labor Relations Act, Sec. I] ................... 10

Vili

Page

United States Code, Title 29, Sec. 151 et seq. (National

sg a . ec cibeegueney pai i

United States Code, Title 45, Sec. 151 et seq. —

a ee gi oe in tad coduduieasnaad i

United States Code, Title 45, Sec. 151(a) (Railway La-

ee RU a ce ae pu vbasakcwaLarerbatens 11

United States Code, Title 45, Sec. 152(4) (National

EE PD os os sa vachscehcvaccobsecveseres ia, iz

Textbook

Cox, Labor Law Preemption Revisited, 85 Harv. L.

Rev. pp. 1337, 1337-1338, 1352 (1972) .......... 8, 11

OPINION BELOW.

The opinion of the Supreme Court of California, reported

at 27 Cal.3d 690 (1980), appears as Appendix A hereto.

There are no lower court decisions.

JURISDICTION.

The judgment of the Supreme Court of California was

entered on July 10, 1980. It was modified on August 28,

1980 to allow for recovery of costs by appellees. The effect

of the modification was to move forward to August 28,

1980 the date of entry of judgment. Motions by appellants

for rehearing and stay orders were denied on August 28,

i980. .

Notices of appeal to this Court were duly filed in the

Supreme Court of California on August 4 and 5, 1980.

(Appendix B) An amended notice of appeal was filed on

September 3, 1980 because of the August 28 modification

of the judgment. (Appendix C)

This appeal is being docketed in this Court within ninety

days from the date of entry of judgment. The jurisdiction

of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. section 1257(2).

The Court has jurisdiction to review the constitutional due

process questions presented in this case under the rule in

Flournoy v. Wiener, 321 U.S. 253, 263 (1944) and Pru-

dential Ins. Co. v. Cheek, 259 U.S. 530, 547 (1922).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND

REGULATIONS.

Article VI, United States Constitution:

This Constitution, and the Laws of the United States

which shall be made in pursuance thereof; . . . shall

be the supreme Law of the Land;... .

et, ee

Fourteenth Amendment, United States Constitution:

No State shall . . . deprive any person of life, liberty

The California Industrial Welfare Commission Orders

1-80, 3-80, 4-80, 8-80, 9-80 and 10-80 are too voluminous

to quote here; they are codified in Title 8, California Ad-

ministrative Code, section 11000 et seq. and are reproduced

in Appendix D.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE.

The California Industrial Welfare Commission (‘‘Com-

mission’’) is a five person, quasi-legislative agency of the

State of California. It has the authority, under Section 1182

of the California Labor Code, to promulgate wage orders

which purport to establish a minimum wage and to regulate

overtime hours and other terms and conditions of employ-

ment for all employees in the State of California. The orders

include, inter alia, provisions relating to reporting time pay,

record keeping requirements, cash shortages and breakage,

uniform and equipment allowances, meals and lodging,

meal periods, rest periods, change room ana resting facil-

ities, seats, temperature controls, and elevators.

There are 15 separate wage orders. Twelve prescribe

working conditions in twelve broadly defined **industries’’;

three regulate conditions of employment in certain specified

occupations.’ Historically, the orders applied only to women

'The California Manufacturers Association and its members are cov-

ered by Wage Orders Nos. 1-80 (Manufacturing Industry), 3-80 (Can-

ning, Freezing and Preserving Industry), 4-80 (Professional, Technical,

Clerical, Mechanical and Similar Occupations), 8-80 (Industries Han-

dling Products After Harvest). The California Trucking Association and

its members, United Air Lines, Inc., American Airlines, Inc., Hitch-

cock Transportation Co. and Corcoran Motor Transport, are covered

by Wage Order 9-80 (Transportation Industry). Sierra Ski Areas As-

sociation and its members, Theatre Association of California and its

members, and Theatre Properties, Inc., are covered by Wage Order 10-

80 (Amusement and Recreation Industry).

a

and minors. Since 1972 the Commission has attempted to

promulgate orders regulating industries and occupations

predominantly employing males, but has been unsuccessful

because of various court challenges rendering the orders

invalid.’ If the 1980 orders are ultimately found valid, they

will be the first orders to apply to all employees. The effect

which a totally new set of regulations will have upon in-

dustries numerically dominated by male employment, in

which customs, practices and collective bargaining rela-

tionships have evolved for fifty years unimpeded by the

orders of the Industrial Welfare Commission, is cata-

strophic.

In September 1979, the Commission promulgated 15 new

wage orders which were scheduled to become effective on

January |, 1980. In December 1979, in four separate Cal-

ifornia superior courts, various employer associations and

employers filed petitions for writs of mandate challenging

the impending 1980 orders.’ They did so on a variety of

“In the early 1970s all then existing wage orders, being in the nature

of women’s protective statutes, were declared invalid in a series of

federal cases on the ground that, since they applied only to women,

they conflicted with and were therefore preempted by various federal

civil rights laws. See, e.g., Homemakers, Inc. v. IWC, 509 F.2d 20

(9th Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1063 (1976). All 15 of the

lidustrial Welfare Commission’s 1973 Wage Orders were stayed ab

initio and declared invalid in 1975, in that instance, as the result of a

challenge levied by organized labor. Henning v. IWC, 22 Wage Hour

Cases 25 (1975). In 1976 the Commission issued new wage orders

which again were successfully challenged. California Hotel and Motel

Association v. Industrial Welfare Commission, 25 Cal.3d 200 (1979).

None of the 1976 counterparts to the wage orders here challenged have

ever been fully enforced. See Hitchcock Transportation Co., et al. v.

Industrial Welfare Commission, 27 Cal.3d 736 (1980).

‘California Manufacturers Association v. Industrial Welfare Com-

mission, et al. (Orange County Superior Court No. 325866): California

Trucking Ass'n et al. v. Industrial Welfare Commission, et al. (Kings

County Superior Court No. 31321); Western Growers Ass‘n., et al. v.

Industrial Welfare Commission, et al. (Kern County Superior Court

No. 164537); San Joaquin Nisei Farmers League, et al. v. Industrial

Welfare Commission (Stanislaus County Superior Court No. 164580).

ea aes

grounds, most of which centered on the Commission’s fail-

ure to comply with certain provisions of the California Labor

Code specifying the procedures for promulgation of the

regulations. Because employer groups concluded that the

preemption issue was exclusively a federal question and

should be raised, as it has been, in a federal court action,

a decision was made not to raise it in the state court liti-

gation.*

In three of the actions, superior courts issued orders stay-

ing in whole or in part the implementation and enforcement

of the challenged wage orders and alternative writs of man-

date ordering the Commission to show cause on dates cer-

tain.” On February 25, 1980 before any evidentiary hearing

could be held in any of the four actions, the Commission

filed an original petition for a peremptory writ of mandate

in the California Supreme Court, challenging the discretion

of the superior courts to issue the stay orders and asking

the California Supreme Court to dispose of the cases on

their merits.

Or April 1, 1980, the California Supreme Court, over

appellants’ written opposition, issued an alternative writ of

mandate directing that all proceedings in the superior courts

cease and that the four actions, in effect, be consolidated

and transferred to the Supreme Court. No factual record had

been developed below and pretrial discovery had barely

commenced when the court took up the cases. Indeed, ap-

pellants were in the midst of taking the depositions of four

“This issue, in conjunction with other constitutional issues, is pendin

before the United States District Court for the Northern District o

California in an action entitled California Manufacturers Association,

et al. v. Industrial Welfare Commission, et al. (Civil No. C-80-2644

WHO).

‘In the case of Western Growers Ass'n et al., supra, n. 3, there was

no need for the Court to issue a stay order because the Commission

stipulated ab initio to the stay order.

iene

of the principal actors in the promulgation of the orders

when the California Supreme Court’s alternative writ came

down; appellants were never allowed to complete the dep-

ositions. On the assumption that the Supreme Court was

aware neither of the status of discovery nor of the lack of

any factual record below, appellants filed, on April 13, 1980

a motion to allow discovery and for reference to a special

master for the taking of evidence and resolution of all factual

issues.°

All motions were denied summarily on April 22, 1980

without comment.

Simultaneously, and only fifteen days before the time set

for oral argument (held on May 7, 1980), the court notified

all counsel of the issues it wished them to address at ar-

gument. One of those issues, raised sua sponte by the court,

was:

Is the IWC precluded by federal or state labor re-

lations statutes from regulating with respect to matters

that are subject to collective bargaining?

(See, letter to all counsel dated April 21, 1980, in Appendix

F hereto. )

On April 25, 1980, in response to the court’s inquiry

concerning federal labor law preemption and in response

to appellees’ unsolicited brief on this issue, appellants filed

a brief with the court objecting on due process grounds to

the court’s assumption of this critically important and highly

¥ —- also moved to dismiss the Supreme Court action on

jurisdictional grounds. Appellants had every right to suppose that they

would have an opportunity to make a factual record. In the case which

originated in Orange County, the California Manufacturers Association

had entered into a stipulated stay order with the IWC, which order

specifically provided for a trial on the merits. See, Stipulation and Order

contained in Appendix E hereto.

for ae

complex issue without a factual record.’ The objection was

stated in the opening page of appellants’ brief:

The major difficulty with addressing [the federal

labor law preemption question] at this point in these

proceedings is that no factual record has been devel-

oped. To the extent that the Court wishes to rule upon

these issues in the present case, it will be doing so in

a vacuum... .

The Real Parties in Interest [Appellants] hereby ob-

ject to the Court’s taking up this issue on the ground

that it deprives them of their right to due process, in

that it denies them the right to a hearing and the orderly

development and presentation of evidence.

Attached hereto as Appendix G is the first page of appel-

lants’ April 25, 1980 brief. This objection was repeated

both during and after oral argument. (See, letter dated May

8, 1980 to Acting Chief Justice Tobriner; Appendix H.) The

California Supreme Court considered these due process ob-

jections and expressly overruled them (27 Cal.3d 699, n.

3, and 725-726, n. 14). On July 10, 1980 the Supreme

Court handed down a unanimous opinion declaring the wage

orders valid despite the doctrine of federal preemption (27

Cal.3d 725-729).

It is not completely informative for the court to say, as it does, that

‘‘both sides have filed briefs.’’ (27 Cal.3d 725-726, n. 14.) The fact

is that, because of the shortness of time and the total absence of a

record, the *‘briefs’’ were nothing more than an accumulation of written

arguments filed by the parties in earlier litigation involving the 1976

wage orders of the Commission. Appellants found themselves between

Scylla and Charybdis; they could either ignore the ‘‘brief’’ filed by

appellees or, in a purely defensive move, respond in kind. They chose

the latter course, taking care first to state their due process objection.

ee, es

THE QUESTIONS ARE SUBSTANTIAL.

This case presents, probably in the most classic sense,

a matter of far-reaching precedential value because of the

context in which the preemption issue arises. The 1980

Industrial Welfare Commission orders seek to override and

supersede some of the most significant provisions in stand-

ard collective bargaining agreements. Not only do the orders

affect local labor agreements entered into by some of the

appellants and their employees, they render ineffectual his-

torical, painstakingly wrought clauses in national labor con-

tracts negotiated by such entities as Kaiser Steel Corpora-

tion, McDonnell Douglas Corporation, United States Steel

Corporation, Bethlehem Steel Corporation, Aluminum

Company of America, Union Oil Company of California

(members of the California Manufacturers Association),

United Air Lines, American Airlines and many members

of the California Trucking Association. The California Su-

preme Court’s almost presumptuous disposition of so critical

a federal issue without giving the appellants the opportunity

to submit evidence is an egregious denial of fundamental

procedural due process.

A. Preemption by the National Labor Relations Act.

A case which raises the preemption question under the

National Labor Relations Act undoubtedly affords this Court

a wide range of judicial alternatives. Witness, for example,

New York Tel. Co., et al. v. New York State Dept. of Labor,

etal., 440 U.S. 519, 59 L.Ed.2d 553, 99 S.Ct. 1328 (1979),

the Court’s most recent explication, in which four separate

viewpoints were advanced.

Collectively analyzed, however, New York Tel. Co., su-

pra, and the important preemption cases of the past two

decades, Teamsters v. Oliver, 358 U.S. 283, 3 L.Ed.2d

312, 79 S.Ct. 297 (1958); San Diego Bldg. Trades Council

stele

v. Garmon, 359 U.S. 236, 3 L.Ed.2d 775, 79 S.Ct. 773

(1959); Lodge 76, Machinists v. Wisconsin Employment

Relations Comm'n, et al., 427 U.S. 132, 153, 49 L.Ed.2d

396, 96 S.Ct. 2548 (1976); Farmer v. Carpenters, et al.,

430 U.S. 290, 51 L.Ed.2d 338, 97 S.Ct. 1056 (1977); and

Sears, Roebuck & Co. v. Carpenters, 436 U.S. 180, 56

L.Ed.2d 209, 98 S.Ct. 1745 (1978); all express the central

theory advanced by Justice Powell in his dissent in New

York Tel. Co., supra:

Free collective bargaining is the cornerstone of the

structure of labor management relations carefully de-

signed by Congress when it enacted the NLRA. .. .

What Congress left unregulated is as important as

the regulations that it imposed. It sought to leave labor

and management essentially free to bargain for an

agreement to govern their relationship.

440 U.S. 519, 552, 59 L.Ed.2d 553, 576.

At the heart of the National Labor Relations Act is section

7 which specifically provides that employees have the right

to organize collectively, to designate representatives of their

own choosing, to negotiate terms and conditions of their

employment and to engage in concerted activity. Cox, Labor

Law Preemption Revisited, 85 Harv. L. Rev. 1337 (1972).

The doctrine of federal labor law preemption, first enun-

ciated in Hill v. Florida, 325 U.S. 538 (1945), has continued

to develop over the past thirty years. The central tenet of

the doctrine is that a forum must be provided in which

parties may contend on even footing, free of unwarranted

state influences.

State attempts to influence the substantive terms of

collective bargaining agreements are as inconsistent

with the federal regulatory scheme as are such attempts

by the NLRB... .

Lodge 76, supra, 427 U.S. at 153.

elias)

|T]here is no room in this [federal regulatory] scheme

for the application . . . of this state policy limiting the

solutions that the parties’ agreement can provide to the

problems of wages and working conditions. Since the

federal law operates here, in an area where its authority

is paramount, to leave the parties free, the inconsistent

application of state law is necessarily outside the power

of the State. The solution worked out by the parties

was not one of a sort which Congress has indicated

may be left to prohibition by the several States.

Teamsters v. Oliver, 358 U.S. at 296.

This case presents squarely the most dramatic example

to reach this Court in 20 years of a state’s attempt to regulate

and set terms and conditions of employment, which up to

now, have been left by the Congress for the exclusive con-

sideration and resolution by the collective bargaining proc-

ess. It is not simply another attempt by a state to regulate

matters ‘arguably protected or prohibited’’ by the Act. San

Diego Bldg. Trades Council v. Garmon, 359 U.S. 236, 3

L.Ed.2d 775, 79 S.Ct. 773 (1959). Rather, it is a straight-

forward effort by the State of California to impose inflexible

legal standards for such mandatory subjects of collective

bargaining as meal periods, rest periods, lunch breaks, cash

shortages and breakage, change room facilities, rest room

facilities, reporting time pay, uniforms, tool allowances,

etc., all of which are major bargained for items of virtually

every labor contract.

The matters which the orders seek to control are not

concerns that are so ‘‘deeply rooted in local feeling and

responsibility,’’ that the states are left with the power to

act." San Diego Bldg. Trades Council v. Garmon, supra,

“Indeed, there actually are no roots at all. Recall that until 1973 there

was no effort by the state to include adult males within the coverage

of the wage orders.

—_— we

359 U.S. at 244, 3 L.Ed.2d at 782. See, e.g., Youngdahl

v. Rainfair, Inc., 355 U.S. 131, 2 L.Ed.2d 151, 78 S.Ct.

206 (1957) (violence); Linn v. Plant Guard Workers, 383

U.S. 53, 15 L.Ed.2d 582, 86 S.Ct. 657 (1966) (libel);

Farmer v. Carpenters, supra (intentional infliction of emo-

tional distress). Nor are these matters merely ‘‘peripheral

concerns’’ of the Labor Act. Lodge 76, Machinists v. Wis-

consin Employee Relations Commission, supra, 427 U.S.

at 137, 49 L.Ed.2d at 401; see, e.g., Machinists v. Gon-

zales, 356 U.S. 617, 2 L.Ed.2d 1018, 78 S.Ct. 923 (1958).

Neither is this a case involving a federal/state benefit pro-

gram specifically sanctioned by legislative history and

congressional intent. New York Tel. Co., supra, see, @.g.,

Malone v. White Motor Corp., 435 U.S. 497, 504-505, 55

L.Ed.2d 443, 451, 98 S.Ct. 1185.

These regulations, in contrast, intrude deeply into the

very core of section 7. In operation, they not only purport

to supersede and render void clauses in existing labor agree-

ments, they impede and actually prohibit the very process

of negotiation. Consider, for example, that each order re-

quires that all employees be given a duty free lunch period

of at least 30 minutes. (See section | 1 of each wage order.)

It is impossible for an employer and a union, in the face

of this proscription, to agree to a twenty minute paid lunch,

or two twenty minute breaks but no lunch, or any other

configuration consistent with the economic realities which

the parties mutually may agree make more sense.

Consider also those provisions of the wage orders that

require employers to pay for and maintain uniforms and

equipment. (See section 9 of each order.) This requirement

virtually eliminates the ability and incentive of the negoti-

ating parties to make one of the fundamental trade-offs

inherent in the bargaining process, i.e., a higher wage in

lieu of a uniform or tool allowance.

What the State of California has done through these wage

orders is to insinuate itself as a third party participant in

collective bargaining. Not only does this smother the ‘‘free

atmosphere’’ created by the NLRA, it brings an Orwellian

flavor to the table. The state, not the parties, hereafter will

decide what is best.

An appreciation of the true character of the national

labor policy expressed in the NLRA and LMRA in-

dicates that in providing a legal framework for union

organization, collective bargaining, and the conduct

of labor disputes, Congress struck a balance of pro-

tection, prohibition, and laissez faire in respect to union

organization, collective bargaining, and labor disputes

that would be upset if a state could also enforce statutes

or rules of decision resting upon its views concerning

accommodation of the same interests. {Emphasis

added].

Cox, Labor Law Preemption Revisited, 85 Harv. L. Rev.

1337, 1337-1338, 1352 (1972).

Collective bargaining, as we have known it for the past

half century, cannot survive this kind of intrusion.

B. Preemption by Railway Labor Act.

Section 151(a) of the Railway Labor Act echoes the pur-

poses and intent of the National Labor Relations Act:

It is one of the purposes of the Act ‘to forbid any

limitation upon freedom of association among em-

ployees . . . to provide for the complete independence

of carriers and of employees in the matter of self-or-

ganization. .. .”

Section 152, Fourth, is the equivalent of section 7 of the

National Labor Relations Act:

Employees shall have the right to organize and bar-

gain collectively through representatives of their own

choosing.

aes Dice

The decision of the California Supreme Couit also con-

flicts directly with the policies and pronouncements of this,

Court in connection with Railway Labor Act matters, insofar

as it allows the wage orders to supersede conflicting pro-

visions of collective bargaining agreements entered into

pursuant to the Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. §$152(4).

Railway Employees’ Dept. v. Hanson, 351 U.S. 225, 232

(1956) and California v. Taylor, 353 U.S. 553, 559-60

(1957). This Court has said, ‘‘a union agreement made

pursuant to the Railway Labor Act has, therefore, the im-

primatur of the federal law upon it and, by force of the

Supremacy Clause of Article VI of the Constitution, could

not be made illegal nor vitiated by any provision of the laws

of a State.’’ Railway Employees’ Dept. v. Hanson, 351

U.S. at 232.

Even where there is no collective bargaining agreement,

the decision of the California Supreme Court still directly

conflicts with the rationale of California v. Taylor, 353

U.S. 553, 567-568 (1957), by allowing the wage orders to

interfere with and supersede a uniform system of national

labor relations policies which this Court has recognized are

established in order to ‘‘[e]liminate inequities and . . . pro-

mote a desirable mobility within the . . . labor force.’’ 353

U.S. at 567. The pressing need for uniformity of labor

relations for employees and employers covered by the Rail-

way Labor Act is evident from the nature of the jobs which

require employees routinely to move from one state to an-

other. 353 U.S. at 567-568, n. 15. The wage orders, by

altering these policies for California employees, directly

conflict with this principle of uniformity and wreck havoc

on employers such as United Air Lines or American Air-

lines, and many members of the California Trucking As-

sociation whose labor agreements are national, even inter-

national, in ‘scope.

C. Due Process.

The substantive content of the due process clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment goes beyond the specific provisions

of the Bill of Rights and embodies a concept of ‘*funda-

mental justice’’. Shields v. Beto, 370 F.2d 1003, 1004 (Sth

Cir. 1967). Fundamental justice embraces the notion of

ordered liberty, Sotto v. Wainwright, 601 F.2d 184, 191

(Sth Cir. 1979) and includes the right of access to the courts.

In this case, the fundamental ingredient missing was the

‘‘opportunity to be heard at a meaningful time and in a

meaningful manner.’’ Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319,

333, 47 L.Ed.2d 18, 32, 96 S.Ct. 893, 902 (1976). Ap-

pellants realize that the process which is ‘‘due’’ is flexible

and must be tailored to the particular situation. Ong v.

Tovey, 552 F.2d 305 (9th Cir. 1977). But in this circum-

stance, at the very least, the appellants should have been

given the opportunity to litigate questions the court chose

to consider sua sponte, through an evidentiary hearing or

the appointment of a master who could make factual de-

terminations.’ Certainly, this is true as to issues framed by

the pleadings.

“All the actions filed by 1 ag in the —- courts, as well as

the proceedings commenced by the Industrial Welfare Commission in

the California Supreme Court, were initiated by petitions for writs of

mandate pursuant to section 1085 of the California Code of Civil Pro-

cedure. Proceedings under section 1085, ef seg. are specifically de-

signed to allow the introduction of evidence. Indeed, Section 1090, a

companion section of the Code, provides that a jury trial may be re-

quested and conducted. When issues of fact are raised in a mandamus

proceeding, the hearing is conducted as a regular trial pursuant to

ordinary civil action rules, with parties given the right to call witnesses.

elicit testimony and produce evidence. Cal. Code of Civil Proc. sections

1090-1091; see, Lassen v. Alameda, 150 Cal.App.2d 44, 309 P.2d 520

(1957). Evidence is not limited to the record of the respondent tribunal.

but is limited only by the issues raised by the petition and the return.

Finkel v. Superior Court, 71 Cal.App. 97, 103 (1925).

FS

caitlin

Due process mandates that a judicial proceeding give

the affected parties an opportunity to be heard on the

allegations asserted in the complaint and to present

evidence and argument on the contested facts and legal

issues framed by the answer to the complaint. Before

a district court adjudges, it must determine the facts

for itself on the basis of the proffered evidence. . . .

In short, a court can only render a judgment after the

parties have been afforded a full and fair trial on the

claims properly before the court.

Thompson v. Madison County Board of Education, 476 F.2d

676, 678 (Sth Cir. 1973). A fortiori where the court raises

the issue sua sponte.

Preemption is not a pure legal question. The collective

bargaining agreement should be before the court, affidavits

or testimony should point to the conflicts between the labor

agreement and the orders (whether by language or practice),

there should be evidence of the economic impact which a

change in the agreement would produce, and there should

be a factual showing of the effect of the regulations on the

ability of the parties to continue meaningful negotiations.

Only then can a court realistically decide whether the chal-

lenged regulations interfere impermissibly with the collec-

tive bargaining process.

In Motor Coach Employees v. Lockridge, 403 U.S. 274,

285-286 (1971), a federal labor law preemption case, this

Court noted:

The constitutional principles of preemption, in what-

ever particular field of law they operate, are designed

with a common end in view: to avoid conflicting reg-

ulation of conduct by various official bodies which

might have some authority over the subject matter. A

full understanding of the particular preemption rule set

forth in Garmon especially requires, we think, appre-

pn | oe

ciation of the precise nature and extent of the potential

for injurious conflict. . . . [Emphasis added].

In Teamsters Union v. Morton, 377 U.S. 252, 258 (1964),

another federal labor law preemption case, this Court noted:

The basic question, in other words, is whether ‘in

a case such as this, incompatible doctrines of local law

must give way to principles of federal labor law.’

Teamsters Local 174 v. Lucas Flour Co., 369 U.S.

95, 102. The answer to that question ultimately de-

pends upon whether the application of state law in this

kind of case would operate to frustrate the purpose of

the federal legislation.

The essence of the due process clause is that ‘‘every man

shall have the protection of his day in court, and the benefit

of the general law, a law which hears before it condemns,

which proceeds not arbitrarily or capriciously, but upon

inquiry, and renders judgment only after trial. . . .”’ Truax

v. Corrigan, 257 U.S. 312, 332 (1921). The Court has left

no doubt that, in situations like the present, due process

requires that close attention be paid to questions of fact.

Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254, 269, 25 L.Ed.2d 287,

90 S.Ct. 1011 (1970); cf. City of Burbank v. Lockheed Air

Terminal, 411 U.S. 624, 638, 36 L.Ed.2d 547, 93 S.Ct.

1854 (1973); Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52, 67 (1941).

In setting the standard by which courts should measure the

adequacy of due process provided in particular cases, the

Court stated in Goldberg, supra, that:

The extent to which procedural due process must be

afforded the recipient is influenced by the extent to

which he may be ‘condemned to suffer grievous loss,’

. . and depends upon whether the recipient’s interest

in avoiding that loss outweighs the governmental in-

terest in summary adjudication.

_"

Goldberg, supra, 397 U.S. 254, 262-263 (1970), quoting

Joint Anti-Fascist Refugee Committee v. McGrath, 341 U.S.

123, 168 (1951) (Frankfurter, J., concurring).

It was contended below that some 8 million employees

are affected by the Commission’s orders. The California

Manufacturers Association alone has over 1200 members

employing some [5 million] workers in California. The op-

erations of United Air Lines and American Airlines are at

least national in scope. The California Trucking Association

counts among its members some of this nation’s largest

over-the-road haulers of goods. Existing collective bargain-

ing relationships pervade the workforces of all these parties.

No one disputes that this matter is of enormous significance

and impact. Yet just when careful adherence to concepts

of ‘‘ordered liberty’? and the observance of fundamental

first principles of due process such as the basic right to a

hearing and to present evidence were needed most, the Cal-

ifornia court substituted short shrift and myopic judicial

notice.

To employers in the State of California whose entire

history of employment and compensation practices is about

to be stood on its head, the loss is, quite aside from the

incalculable monetary cost, grievous indeed.

CONCLUSION.

For these reasons, this Court should note probable juris-

diction of this appeal.

DATED: October 6, 1980.

Respectfully submitted,

GIBSON, DUNN & CRUTCHER,

WILLARD Z. CARR, JR.,

KENNETH E. RISTAU, JR.,

DENNIS A. GLADWELL,

Attorneys for California

Manufacturers Association.

—

BROBECK, PHLEGER & HARRISON,

JEAN C. GASKILL,

JAMES L. MEEDER,

Attorneys for United Air

Lines, Inc., American

Airlines, Inc. and Sierra

Ski Areas Association.

MITCHELL, SILBERBERG & KNUPP.

RICHARD M. MOSK,

Attorneys for Theatre

Properties, Inc., and

Theatre Association of

California.

KAHN & SOARES,

JAN L. KAHN,

RICHARD W. SMITH

Attorneys for Hitchcock

Transportation Co.,

Corcoran Motor Transport, Inc.,

and California Trucking

Association.

APPENDIX A.

Opinion.

[S.F. No. 24123. July 10, 1980.]

Industrial Welfare Commission et al., Petitioners, v. The

Superior Court of Kern County et al., Respondents; Cali-

fornia Hotel and Motel Association et al., Real Parties in

Interest.

Summary

By an original petition in the Supreme Court, the Attorney

General, on behalf of the Industrial Welfare Commission,

sought a writ of mandate or prohibition providing a prompt

and definitive resolution of numerous common legal issues

raised in various trial court challenges by employers to

industry-wide wage orders adopted by the commission. Sev-

eral of the trial courts had issued stay orders having the

practical effect of enjoining the operation of the adminis-

trative regulations promulgated pursuant to the commis-

sion’s quasi-legislative authority.

The Supreme Court ordered issuance of a peremptorv

writ of mandate directing the trial courts to vacate the orders

previously issued staying the operation and effect of the

challenged wage orders and to enter judgment in favor of

the commission in each of the underlying mandate actions.

Preliminarily, the court held that, in view of the large num-

ber of affected employees, the tortuous litigation history

which had prevented implementation of the majority of the

commission’s wage orders in recent years, and the effect

of the stay orders, the matter was properly before it. The

court held that the commission had properly complied with

the requirement of Lab. Code, § 1178, that it investigate

and find that wages paid employees were inadequate or that

hours or conditions of labor were prejudicial to the health,

Ce a

morals, or welfare of employees, before appointing wage

boards to consider such matters, and that it had adequately

complied with the requirement of Lab. Code, § 1177, that

each wage order include a statement as to its basis. The

court rejected a claim of invalidity of the orders by reason

of the commission’s alleged failure to comply with the re-

quirements of the Environmental Quality Act relating to

preparation of an environmental impact report or a negative

declaration, as clearly without merit. Rejecting a contention

that the commission’s orders were null and void insofar as

they dealt with matters generally relating to the health and

safety of employees, in that the California Occupational

Safety and Health Standards Board (Cal/OSHA) has exclu-

sive jurisdiction in the field, the court held that the provision

of Lab. Code, § 1173, that, in cases of overlapping juris-

diction, Cal/OSHA shall have ‘‘exclusive jurisdiction, and

rules, regulations, or policies of che commission on the same

subject have no force or effect,’’ is properly interpreted as

permitting the commission to regulate working conditions

related to health and safety in the absence of any actual

conflict with existing Cal/OSHA regulations or policy. The

court further held that neither federal nor state labor reiation

legislation precludes the commission from establishing min-

imum wages, maximum hours or standard conditions of

employment to protect the health and welfare of employees.

Taking up individual challenges to specific provisions by

certain employers, the court held that, in enacting a wage

order relating to the public housekeeping industry, the com-

mission did not abuse its discretion in refusing to provide

a lower minimum wage for tipped employees, that agri-

cultural wage orders did not violate due process or impose

‘undue hardship,’’ and that the commission acted within

its authority in adopting a more restrictive provision with

respect to the work week of agricultural laborers than that

ee EP

provided by general statutes on the subject. (Opinion by

Tobriner, Acting C. J., with Clark, Richardson, Manuel

and Newman, JJ., Taylor, J.,* and Racanelli, J.*° concur-

ring.)

Counsel

George Deukmeyjian, Attorney General, Arthur C. de

Goede, Assistant Attorney General, Randall P. Borcherd-

ing, Joseph M. O’Heron, James M. Schiavenza, Carol

Hunter and Ronald V. Thunen, Jr., Deputy Attorneys Gen-

eral, for Petitioners.

Van Bourg, Allen, Weinberg & Roger, Victor J. Van Bourg,

David A. Rosenfeld, Joan Bodner, Redburn, Bodner &

Palewicz, W. Kenneth Rice, Adrian Andrade and Richard

M. Pear] as Amici Curiae on behalf of Petitioners.

No appearance for Respondent.

Jerome B. Falk, Jr., Dirk M. Schenkkan, Howard, Prim,

Rice, Nemerovski, Canady & Pollak, Richard W. Smith,

Jan L. Kahn, Kahn & Soares, Richard M. Mosk, Mitchell,

Silberberg & Knupp, Jean C. Gaskill, James L. Meeder,

Brobeck, Phleger & Harrison, Willard Z. Carr, Jr., Kenneth

E. Ristau, Jr., Dennis A. Gladwell, Mark Wm. Shurtleff,

Donald B. Ayer, Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher, George J. Tichy

II, Richard H. Harding, Michele S. Poohar, Littler, Men-

delson, Fastiff & Tichy, Robert P. Roy and Dressler, Stoll,

Quesenbery & Hersh for Real Parties in Interest.

Opinion

TOBRINER, Acting C. J.—On September 7, 1979, the

California Industrial Welfare Commission (hereafter IWC

or commission), acting pursuant to its constitutionally and

statutorily based authority (Cal. Const., art. XIV, § 1; Lab.

*Assigned by the Chairperson of the Judicial Council.

-¢

—_4—

Code, §§ 70-74, 1171-1204),' adopted a series of industry-

wide ‘‘wage orders,’’ prescribing the minimum wages,

maximum hours, and standard conditions of employment

for employees in this state. These orders (hereafter 1980

wage orders) were scheduled to go into effect on January

1, 1980. In mid-December 1979, however, shortly before

the effective date of the orders, numerous employer asso-

ciations and individual employers (hereafter employers),

representing companies which employ millions of California

workers, initiated four separate mandate actions in various

superior courts throughout the state, challenging the validity

of nine of the 1980 wage orders on various grounds.’ In

each of the cases, an alternative writ of mandate issued,

along with an order staying each of the nine challenged

wage orders in whole or in part.

In a significant number of respects, the December 1979

lawsuits were sequels to similar litigation that had been

brought by many of the same organizations and employers

several years earlier challenging the 1976 orders adopted

by the IWC. In the earlier round of litigation, various courts

throughout the state had reached differing conclusions with

‘Unless otherwise indicated, all statutory references are to the Labor

Code

’The four actions, and the respective wage orders challenged therein,

are: (1) Western Growers Assn. et al. v. IWC (Kern County Super. Ct.

No. 164537) (challenging orders 8-80 (industries handling products

after harvest), 13-80 (industries preparing agricultural products for

market, on the farm), 14-80 (agricultural occupations); (2) California

Manufacturers Assn. v. IWC (Orange County Super. Ct. No. 325866)

(challenging orders 1-80 (manufacturing industry), 3-80 (canning,

freezing and preserving industry), 4-80 (professional, technical, cler-

ical, mechanical and similar occupations), 8-80); (3) San Joaquin Nisei

Farmers League et al. v. IWC (Stanislaus County Super. Ct. No.

164580) (challenging orders 8-80, 13-80, and 14-80); and (4) California

Trucking Association et al. v. IWC (Kings County Super. Ct. No.

31321) (challenging orders 5-80 (public housekeeping industry), 9-80

(transportation industry) and 10-80 (amusement and recreation indus-

try).

init

respect to a number of common legal issues raised in each

of the separate lawsuits. As a consequence, in some indus-

tries employees were denied the benefits of the 1976 wage

orders, while in other industries similarly situated employ-

ees were afforded the protections of the orders. After the

normal, lengthy process of trial and appeal, one of the cases

challenging the 1976 orders reached this court for decision

in 1979. In California Hotel & Motel Assn. v. Industrial

Welfare Com. (1979) 25 Cal.3d 200 [157 Cal.Rptr. 840,

599 P.2d 31], our court resolved several of the common

legal issues presented in the challenges to the 1976 wage

orders, but at the same time determined that a number of

other legal issues ‘‘could be dealt with more appropriately’

in a future case in which the IWC had explained the basis

of its wage orders in a fashion consistent with our holding

in that case. (25 Cal.3d at pp. 204-205, fn. 2.)

In February 1980, two months after the institution of the

four December 1979 lawsuits noted above, the Attorney

General, acting on behalf of the IWC, initiated this pro-

ceeding seeking an original writ of mandate or prohibition

from this court. The Attorney General’s petition alleged that

each of the four mandate actions filed in December 1979

presented a number of common legal issues, many of which

had been raised but left unresolved in California Hotel &

Motel Assn. The petition also suggested that if the lower

court actions were permitted to run their normal course,

there was a significant possibility that the history of the

1976 wage order litigation would repeat itself, with lower

courts reaching disparate results on common legal issues,

and with employees in many industries being deprived of

the protection of the 1980 wage orders for perhaps as long

as several years. Under these circumstances, the Attorney

General urged this court to issue an alternative writ and to

provide a prompt and definitive resolution of the numerous

a

common legal issues raised in the various court actions

below.

In view of the large number of employees affected by the

challenged orders, and the tortuous litigation history which

had prevented the implementation of the majority of IWC

wage orders in recent years, we concluded that this was an

appropriate instance for the exercise of our original juris-

diction, and accordingly we issued an alternative writ of

mandate. (See, e.g., Agricultural Labor Relations Bd. v.

Superior Court (1976) 16 Cal.3d 392, 402 [128 Cal.Rptr.

183, 546 P.2d 687].) Although the employers claim that we

lack jurisdiction to review the legal challenges to any of the

1980 wage orders because none of the trial courts has as

yet entered a judgment on the merits, the Court of Appeal

in Rivera v. Division of Industrial Welfare (1968) 265

Cal.App.2d 576, 580-581 [71 Cal.Rptr. 739], acted under

similar circumstances to review the validity of an IWC wage

order in an original mandate proceeding instituted in the

appellate court.”

Moreover, because the stay orders issued by several of

the respondent courts have the practical effect of enjoining

the operation of an administrative regulation promulgated

pursuant to the IWC’s quasi-legislative authority, past au-

thorities teach that if this court concludes that the challenged

‘The employers additionally argue that this court should not act at

this time because there are allegedly numerous factual issues upon

which evidence must be taken. We do not believe, however, that the

alleged factual disputes preclude our consideration of the employers’

legal challenges to the wage orders at this stage. As we explained under

similar circumstances in Burrey v. Embarcadero Mun. Improvement

Dist. (1971) 5 Cal.3d 671, 676 [97 Cal.Rptr. 203, 488 P.2d 395}:

‘*Respondents argue that we should not exercise our jurisdiction because

there exist numerous questions of fact which must be resolved prior to

any decision in the case. The petition for writ of mandate does contain

allegations of fact which are controverted by respondent and intervener.

[sic] We are satisfied that these disputed facts are either not material

to our resolution of the case, or may be resolved by judicial notice.”’

pen a

orders are in fact valid, the lower court’s issuance of such

quasi-injunctive relief would properly be subject to correc-

tion by extraordinary writ. (See, e.g., Agricultural Labor

Relations Bd. v. Superior Court, supra, 16 Cal.3d at p.

401.) Accordingly, we conclude that this matter is properly

before this court.

1. Background and general principles of review.

Before undertaking an analysis of the numerous legal

contentions which the employers have advanced in support

of their attack upon the 1980 wage orders, we believe it

may be helpful to summarize very briefly the historical

backaground of the IWC’s jurisdiction and the established

legal principles which govern judicial review of the com-

mission’s administrative orders.

The IWC is a five-member appointive board initially es-

tablished by the Legislature in 1913. For the first 60 years

of its existence, the IWC’s mission was to regulate the

wages, hours and conditions of employment of women and

children employed in this state, in furtherance of such em-

ployees’ ‘‘health and welfare.’’ To this end, the commis-

sion—beginning in 1916—promulgated a series of industry-

and occupation-wide ‘‘wage orders,’’ prescribing various

minimum requirements with respect to wages, hours and

working conditions to protect the health and welfare of

women and child laborers. For many decades, IWC wage

orders have embraced a variety of subjects comparable in

scope to the 1980 wage orders at issue in this case.

In the early 1970s, a number of federal judicial decisions

invalidated a substantial portion of the then-prevailing IWC

wage orders on the ground that the limited application of

such orders to women workers (and chiidren) violated the

prohibition on sex discrimination embodied in title [sic] VII

of the federal [sic] Civil Rights Act of 1964. (See, e.g.,

— am

Rosenfeld v. Southern Pacific Co. (9th Cir. 1971) 444 F.2d

1219, 1225-1227; Homemakers, Inc., Los Angeles v. Di-

vision of Indust. Welf. (N.D. Cal. 1973) 356 F.Supp. 1111,

affd. (9th Cir. 1974) 509 F.2d 20, cert. den. (1976) 423

U.S. 1063 [46 L.Ed.2d 655, 96 S.Ct. 803]; and cases cited,

509 F.2d at p. 23, fn. 7.) In response to these federal

decisions, the California Legislature in 1972 and 1973

amended the applicable provisions of the Labor Code to

authorize the IWC to establish minimum wages, maximum

hours and standard conditions of employment for a// em-

ployees in the state, men as well as women. (Stats. 1972,

ch. 1122, §§ 2-6, pp. 2153-2155; Stats. 1973, ch. 1007,

§§ 1.5-4, pp. 2002-2003.) The constitutionality of this leg-

islative expansion of the IWC’s jurisdiction to all California

workers is explicitly confirmed by Article XIV section |

of the California Constitution which declares: ‘‘The Leg-

islature may provide for minimum wages and for the general

welfare of employees and for those purposes may confer

on acommission legislative, executive and judicial pow-

ers.’””

Although the 1973 modification of the IWC’s jurisdiction

to encompass men as well as women and minors clearly

worked a substantial expansion in the number of workers

affected by the commission’s orders, and, as a practical

matter, was probably a major impetus to the host of litigation

that has surrounded the commission’s wage orders since

1973, the 1973 legislation did not alter the basic nature of

“Article XIV section 1 replaced former article XX, section 17!

which, pricr to 1970, provided: ‘‘The Legislature may, by appropriate

legislation, provide for the establishment of a minimum wage for

women and minors and may provide for the comfort, health, safety and

general welfare of any and all employees. No provision of this Con-

stitution shall be construed as a limitation upon the authority of the

Legislature to confer upon any commission now or hereafter created,

such power and authority as the Legislature may deem requisite to carry

out the provisions of this section.’’

<<

the IWC’s decision-making authority or the basic principles

governing judicial review of the commission’s exercise of

that authority. From its inception in 1913 to the present, the

commission has been vested with broad statutory authority

to investigate ‘‘the comfort, health, safety, and welfare’’

of the California employees under its aegis (§ 1173, enacted

Stats. 1913, ch. 324, § 3, p. 633) and to establish (1) ‘‘[a]

minimum wage .. . which shall not be less than a wage

adequate to supply . . . the necessary cost of proper living

and to maintain the health and welfare of such [employ-

ees],’’ (2) ‘‘[t]he maximum hours of work consistent with

the health and welfare of [such employees]’’ and (3) [t]he

standard conditions of labor demanded by the health and

welfare of [such employees]. . . .”’ (§ 1182, enacted Stats.

1913, ch. 324, § 6, pp. 634-635.)

Indeed, the 1973 act—while retaining the authorizing

language of section 1182 quoted above—restated the com-

mission’s responsibility in even broader terms, directing the

commission continually to review and to update its ‘‘rules,

regulations and policies to the extent found by the com-

mission to be necessary to provide adequate and reasonable

wages, hours, and working conditions appropriate for all

employees in the modern society.”’ (Italics added.) (§ 1173,

enacted Stats. 1973, ch. 1007, § 1.5, p. 2002.)

Judicial authorities have repeatedly emphasized that in

fulfilling its broad statutory mandate, the IWC engages in

a quasi-legislative endeavor, a task which necessarily and

properly requires the commission’s exercise of a consid-

erable degree of policy-making judgment and discretion.

(See, e.g., California Hotel & Motel Assn., supra, 25

Cal.3d 200, 211; California State Restaurant Assn. v. Whit-

low (1976) 58 Cal.App.3d 340, 344 [129 Cal.Rptr. 824];

California Grape etc. League v. Industrial Welfare Com.

(1969) 268 Cal. App. 2d 692, 708 [74 Cal.Rptr. 313]; Rivera

—_ se

v. Division of Industrial Welfare, supra, 265 Cal.App.2d

576, 586, 591, 595.)

Because of the quasi-legislative nature of the IWC’s au-

thority, the judiciary has recognized that its review of the

commission’s wage orders is properly circumscribed. As

the Court of Appeal noted in Rivera, supra, 265 Cal.App.2d

576, 594: ‘‘A reviewing court does not superimpose its own

policy judgment upon a quasi-legislative agency in the ab-

sence of an arbitrary decision; rather, the review is limited

to an examination of the proceedings to determine whether

the action is arbitrary or entirely lacking in evidentiary sup-

port or whether the agency has violated the procedure re-

quired by law; in these technical matters requiring the as-

sistance of experts and the collection and study of statistical

data, courts let administrative boards and officers work out

their problems with as little judicial interference as possi-

ble.’’ (Fn. omitted.)

Moreover, past decisions additionally teach that in light

of the remedial nature of the legislative enactments author-

izing the regulation of wages, hours and working conditions

for the protection and benefit of employees, the statutory

provisions are to be liberally construed with an eye to pro-

moting such protection. As the court observed in California

Grape etc. League, supra, 268 Cal.App.2d 692, 698;

‘*Remedial statutes such as those under consideration [i.e.,

the statutes governing the adoption of wage orders] are to

be liberally construed. [Citation.] They are not construed

within narrow limits of the letter of the law, but rather are

to be given liberal effect to promote the general object

sought to be accomplished. . . . [|] Regulations and orders

of the Industrial Welfare Commission are presumed to be

reasonable and lawful.’’ (Italics in original.)

With these general principles of judicial review and sta-

tutory construction in mind, we turn to the numerous legal

challenges which the employers have mounted against the

IWC’s 1980 wage orders. The employers contend that the

1980 wage orders are fatally flawed on both procedural and

substantive levels. Procedurally, the employers argue that

the wage orders are invalid because the IWC (1) failed to

conduct an adequate ‘‘investigation’’ under section 1178

before selecting wage boards, (2) failed to include an ad-

equate ‘‘statement as to the basis upon which the order is

predicated’ as required by section 1177, and (3) failed to

comply with the requirements of the California Environ-

mental Quality Act of 1970 (CEQA) prior to the adoption

of the orders.

Substantively, the employers contend (1) that all of the

various provisions of the wage orders dealing with the health

and safety of employees are invalid because only the Cal-

ifornia Occupational Safety and Health Standards Board,

and not the IWC, has jurisdiction to act on such matters and

(2) that various labor relation statutes preclude the IWC

from setting fixed minimum standards with respect to mat-

ters that the labor laws leave to the collective bargaining

process between employers and employees. As we explain,

we have concluded that none of these objections to the 1980

wage orders has merit.”

2. The IWC complied with the pre-wage board “‘investi-

gation’ requirements of section 1178.

The employers initially contend that all of the 1980 wage

orders are invalid in their entirety because the IWC allegedly

failed to comply with an initial step in the elaborate pro-

‘In addition to the general common legal issues enumerated above,

a number of the mandate actions filed below set forth additional con-

tentions directed at more specific and limited portions of the various

wage orders. We address these additional contentions in section 7 be-

low, and conclude that all of these challenges also lack merit.

=)

cedure established by Labor Code section 1178 for the

adoption of commission regulations fixing minimum wages,

maximum working hours and standard conditions of em-

ployment. To place this contention in context, we set forth

the lengthy provisions of section 1178 in full.

Section 1178 provides: ‘‘If after investigation the com-

mission finds that in any occupation, trade, or industry, the

wages paid to employees are inadequate to supply the cost

of proper living, or that the hours or conditions of labor are

prejudicial to the health, morals, or welfare of employees,

the commission shall select a wage board to consider any

of such matters. Such wage board shall be composed of an

equal number of representatives of employers and employ-

ees in the occupation, trade, or industry in question; and

a representative of the commission to be designated by it,

who shall act as chairman of the wage board on request of

the commission. The wage board shall report and make

recommendations to the commission, including therein:

‘*(a) An estimate of the minimum wage adequate to sup-

ply the necessary cost of proper living to, and maintain the

health and welfare of employees engaged in the occupation,

trade, or industry in question.

**(b) The number of hours of work per day in the oc-

cupation, trade, or industry in question, consistent with the

health and welfare of employees.

‘*(c) The standard conditions of labor in the occupation,

trade, or industry in question, demanded by the health and

welfare of employees.

‘*Before promulgating an order relating to wages, hours,

or conditions of labor for the occupation, trade, or industry

in question, and after receipt of the report from the wage

board, the commission shall prepare proposed regulations

for the occupation, trade, or industry in question and then

shall hold a public hearing. The proceedings shall be re-

ae.

corde and transcribed and shall thereafter be a matter of

public record. Whenever the occupation, trade, or industry

in question is statewide in scope, a public hearing shall be

held in each of two cities in this state; when it is not state-

wide, a public hearing shall be held in the locality where

the occupation, trade, or industry prevails.’’

The employers concede that before the 1980 wage orders

were adopted (1) the IWC convened wage boards for each

of the industrial and occupational groupings to consider the

updating of its prior wage orders, (2) the wage boards re-

ceived recommendations and statements from affected in-

dividuals and prepared wage board reports containing rec-

ommendations as to revisions, (3) the IWC reviewed the

wage board reports and the records of the wage board pro-

ceedings and, after deliberation, prepared and published

proposed revisions of the existing wage orders, (4) the IWC

held public hearings throughout the state on the proposed

revisions, and (5) the IWC considered the additional matters

raised in the public hearings, amended its proposed orders,

and finally on September 7, 1979, adopted its 1980 wage

orders together with a statement as to the basis of each

order.

Despite this extensive procedure, the employers, focusing

upon the initial passage of section 1178 which states that

‘“lilf after investigation the commission finds that. . . the

wages paid to employees are inadequate to supply the cost

of proper living, or that the hours and conditions of labor

are prejudicial to the health, morals or welfare of employees,

the commission shall select a wage board to consider any

of such matters. . . .’’ (italics added), maintain that the

1980 wage orders are invalid because of the commission's

alleged failure to conduct an *‘adequate’’ investigation prior

to convening the wage boards. The plaintiffs in California

Hotel & Motel Assn. raised a similar contention, but our

oaediliens

court ultimately concluded that we did not need to determine

the general scope of the prewage board investigation pro-

vision of section 1178 in that case, for we found that other

provisions of the 1973 legislation, directing the IWC to

undertake a ‘‘full review’’ of its orders ‘‘forthwith,’’ had

in any event relieved the commission of any separate pre-

wage board investigation requirement prior to the promul-

gation of the 1976 wage orders. (See 25 Cal.3d at pp. 206-

209.) We now address the issue which we did not reach in

California Hotel & Motel Assn, and, as we shall explain,

we conclude that the IWC fully complied with the require-

ments of section 1178.°

On May 8, 1978, the IWC voted to open the 1976 wage

orders for full review by wage boards. At that time, the

commission unanimously adopted a statement explaining

that ‘‘Section 1173 of the Labor Code requires that the

Commission conduct a full review of all existing rules,

regulations and policies made under its jurisdiction at least

once every two calendar years. The Commission has made

a continuous investigation of wages, hours, and working

*In addition to contending that it has fully complied with the prewage

board investigation provision of Section 1178, the IWC points out that

section 1173, as amended in 1973, directed the commission not only

to undertake a ‘‘full review”’ of its orders **forthwith,”’ but also required

the commission to ‘‘conduct such a full review at least once every two

calendar years, or at such more frequent times as the commission,

based upon then current conditions, deems appropriate.’’ (Italics

added.) (Stats. 1973, ch. 1007, § 1.5, p. 2002.)

The commission maintains that, as in California Hotel & Motel

Assn., this statutory mandate of a ‘‘full review’’ of existing orders at

least once every two years itself authorizes the commission, as part of

its biennial review, to convene wage boards without regard to any

prewage board investigation. Because, as we explain below, we con-

clude that the commission complied with the preliminary investigation

requirements of section 1178, we need not decide whether section

1173’s mandate of a full review once every two years in itself empowers

the commission to initiate the wage board procedure as part of its full

review.

oe

conditions affecting employees in industries, trades and

occupations covered by its orders, and it also takes official

notice of the substantial inflation affecting all members of

society, and the recent increase in the federal minimum

wage. It thereby concludes that it would be imperative to

conduct a full review of the existing wage orders in order

to provide for the health and welfare of employees and

wages adequate to supply them with the necessary cost of

proper living even if Section 1173 did not dictate a full

review at that time.”’ (Italics added.) |

Although the employers acknowledge that the commis-

sion, as part of its on-going duties under section 1173,’

gathers a voluminous quantity of statistical and other data

from governmental and private studies with respect to eco-

nomic trends and employment conditions,” the employers

contend that this normal on-going commission activity does

not constitute ‘‘adequate’’ investigation to satisfy the ‘‘after

investigation’’ provision of section 1178. While the em-

ployers concede that section 1178 establishes no standard

as to the required depth or breadth of investigation contem-

’Section 1173 provides in relevant part: ‘‘/t shall be the continuing

duty of the Industrial Welfare Commission. . .to ascertain the wages

paid to all employees in this state, and to ascertain the hours and

conditions of labor and employment in the various occupations, trades,

and industries in which employees are employed in this state, and to

investigate the comfort, health, safety, and welfare of such employees.”’

(Italics added.)

“The administrative record in this case contains a variety of infor-

mation obtained by the commission members prior to their decision to

convene wage boards to review the existing wage orders. That infor-

mation includes: (1) proposed and enacted state and federal legislation

affecting wages, hours, and working conditions, (2) complaints and

correspondence from employees and employers concerning wages,

hours and working conditions, (3) studies, surveys, reports and bulletins

from the California Department of Industrial Relations, and the Cali-

fornia Health and Welfare Agency, and from the United States De-

partment of Labor and Department of Agriculture, and (4) transcripts

of hearings held by the IWC with respect to minimum wage one related

compensation.

a

plated before wage boards are convened, the employers

apparently maintain that the investigation in this case was

not adequate because it did not involve field investigation

and did not apprise the commission of specific changes that

were needed in the existing wage orders.

We think the employers have misconceived the nature of

the preliminary investigation contemplated by section 1178,

as well as the administrative agency’s discretion in deter-

mining the extent of the investigation necessary. As the

United States Supreme Court has explained in a similar

context: ‘‘[An agency’s] duty to investigate is a duty to

make such investigation as the nature of the case requires.

An investigation is ‘essentially informal, not adversary’; it

is ‘not required to take any particular form.’ [Citation. ]

These principles are particularly apt . . . where Congress

has simply told the [agency] to investigate and has left to

it the task of selecting the methods and procedures which

it should employ in each case.’’ (Railway Clerks v. Em-

ployees Assn. (1965) 380 U.S. 650, 662 [14 L.Ed.2d 133,

141-142, 85 S.Ct. 1192]; see, e.g., Inland Empire Council

v. Millis (1945) 325 U.S. 697, 706 [89 L.Ed. 1877, 1883,

65 S.Ct., 1316]; Ruby v. American Airlines, Inc. (2d Cir.

1963) 323 F.2d 248, 255.)

As the full text of section 1178 makes clear, the prewage

board investigation contemplated by the statute is only the

first step in a lengthy administrative process by which the

IWC determines whether existing wage orders are adequate

and decides if and how any present orders should be mod-

ified. The section does not require the commission to for-

mulate specific proposed modifications of the present orders

before selecting the wage boards; indeed, as the Court of

Appeal observed in California Grape etc. League, **it would

be contrary to the clear purpose of the statute for the com-

. a —

ia

mission to arrive at specific proposals without benefit of the

views and advice of interested persons on the wage board

and at the public hearings.’’ (268 Cal.App.2d 692, 708.)

Instead, the investigation contemplated is simply a pre-

liminary inquiry to determine whether there is sufficient

question as to the adequacy of the existing wage orders that

wage boards ought to be selected. In this context, we think

that the commission’s reliance on the statistical and other

data compiled in its normal investigative process, along with

its consideration of the obvious effect on employees of the

economy’s rapidly increasing inflation, clearly sufficed to

justify the convening of wage boards to review the adequacy

of the existing orders under section 1178.

Authorities construing statutes embodying similar prelim-

inary investigation requirements confirm this conclusion.

In Modern Plastics Corporation v. McCulloch (6th Cir.

1968) 400 F.2d 14, for example, an employer sought to

enjoin the NLRB from conducting a representation election

among the company’s employees on the ground that the

NLRB had failed to comply with section 9(c) of the NLRA

(29 U.S.C. § 159(c)) which provides in part that *‘[w]henever

a [representation] petition shall have been filed .. . the

Board shall investigate such petition. . . .’’ (Italics added.)

In rejecting the employer’s contention, the Modern Plastics

court pointed out that the investigation contemplated by the

statute was simply a preliminary inquiry to determine

whether there was sufficient question as to representation

so as to warrant holding a formal hearing on the issue.

Because the investigation contemplated by the statute was

only a threshold step leading to further administrative pro-

cedures, the court concluded that the agency had not violated

the statute merely because it had not undertaken any formal

field investigation before deciding to go forward with a

hearing, when the facts before the relevant administrative

_

official ‘*were not so plainly insubstantial that he could not

reasonably conclude that a sufficient question of represen-

tation existed to justify inquiry through the usual. . . hear-

ing.’’ (400 F.2d at p. 19.)

In like manner, the facts within the knowledge of the

commission in May 1978—by virtue of its continuing in-

vestigation and the readily ascertainable increasing infla-

tion—were certainly sufficient to permit the commission to

conclude that ‘‘further inquiry’’ into the adequacy of the

existing wage orders through the wage board procedure was

warranted. Under these circumstances, the commission did

not violate section 1178 in reopening the wage orders for

review by wage boards.

Our conclusion in this regard is buttressed bv the history

of section 1178. The ‘‘after investigation’’ language of sec-

tion 1178 relied upon by the employers has been part of

California law since the inception of the [WC in 1913.

(Stats. 1913, ch. 324, § 5, p. 634.) Past cases indicate that

the commission has long interpreted the statute as author-

izing the opening of existing wage orders and the convening

of wage boards on the basis of its review of data comparable

to the matters that were before the IWC in the instant case.

(See, e.g., Rivera v. Division of Industrial Welfare (1968)

265 Cal.App.2d 576, 582-584, 590 [71 Cal.Rptr. 739]. See

also Cal. Drive-in Restaurant Assn. v. Clark (1943) 22

Cal.2d 287, 301 [140 P.2d 657, 147 A.L.R. 1028].)

Furthermore, while section 1178 has been amended on

several occasions, the Legislature has never altered the

‘after investigation’ language to indicate that the com-

mission’s long-standing interpretation of the section is er-

roneous. As California courts have noted, ‘‘[r]Jeenactment

of a provision which has a meaning well established by

administrative construction is persuasive that the intent was

to continue the same construction previously recognized and

= =

applied.’’ (Cal. M. Express v. St. Bd. of Equalization (1955)

133 Cal.App.2d 237, 239-240 [283 P.2d 1063]; see, e.g.,

Coca Cola Co. v. State Bd. of Equalization (1945) 25 Cal.2d

918, 922 [156 P.2d 1].)

Finally, even if the commission’s prewage board inves-

tigation was in some respects inadequate—which we do not

believe to be the case—we do not understand how such a

deficiency realistically prejudiced the employers so as to

justify setting aside the entire 1980 wage orders. (Cf. Mod-

ern Plastics Corp. v. McCulloch, supra, 400 F.2d 14, 17,

fn. 5.) The employers had a full opportunity during both

the wage board proceedings and the subsequent public hear-

ings to fully apprise the commission of all relevant facts

and to present arguments and recommendations either in

support of or in opposition to changes in the wage orders.

Under these circumstances, we would be loath to overturn

vital administrative regulations on the basis of a minor,

nonprejudicial misstep. As the Fifth Circuit Court of Ap-

peals has observed: ‘‘Courts ..., as partners with .. .

agencies in the effectuation of [legislative] will through the

administrative process, . . . do not function to strie down

agency action because of merely formal or technical flaws.’’

(Ala. Ass'n of Ins. A. v. Bd. of Gov. of F. R. System (5th

Cir. 1976) 533 F.2d 224, 236.)

Accordingly, we conclude that the IWC adequately com-

plied with section 1178 prior to convening wage boards to

consider the 1980 wage orders.

3. The ‘‘statements as to basis’’ accompanying the 1980

wage orders comply with the requirements of section

1177 as articulated in California Hotel & Motel Assn.

v. Industrial Welfare Com. (1979) 25 Cal.3d 200.

The employers next contend that in adopting the 1980

wage orders the IWC failed to comply with Labor Code

section 1177 which provides in relevant part: ‘‘Each order

=

of the commission shall include a statement as to the basis

upon which the order is predicated and shall be concurred

in by a majority of the commissioners.’’ The employers

acknowledge that each of the commission’s 1980 orders

includes a lengthy document entitled ‘‘Statement as to

Basis,’ concurred in by a majority of the commissioners,

providing a section-by-section analysis and explanation for

each portion of the accompanying wage orders. The em-

ployers maintain, however, that the statements are not suf-

ficiently detailed to satisfy the statutory requirements of

section 1177 under this court’s recent decision in California

Hotel & Motel Assn. As we shall explain, the employers’

contention misconceives the basic thrust of this court’s hold-

ing in California Hotel & Motel Assn. and, contrary to that

decision, seeks to read into section 1177 unreasonably bur-

densome requirements that are basically incompatible with

the commission’s quasi-legislative task.

In California Hotel & Motel Assn., this court reviewed

the validity of one of IWC’s 1976 wage orders, order 5-76,

dealing with the public housekeeping industry. Unlike the

1980 wage orders now before us, the order contained no

provision or document which specifically purported to be

a statement as to the basis of the order as required by section

1177. The commission, however, contended that the state-

ment as to basis requirement of section 1177 was satisfied

by a paragraph in the order, entitled ‘‘To Whom It May

Concern,’’ which read as follows:

‘*To Whom It May Concern: Take Notice: That pursuant

to the Legislature’s 1973 mandate to the Industrial Welfare

Commission to review, update and promulgate regulations

necessary to provide adequate and reasonable wages, hours,

and working conditions appropriate for all employees, and

by virtue of authority vested in the Commission by section

1171 through 1204 of the Labor Code of the State of Cal-

oe, eae

ifornia, and after investigation and findings pursuant to sec-

tion 1178 and after receiving recommendations from duly

appointed wage boards, and after consideration of all written

material and information submitted, and after public hear-

ings duly held, notice of said hearings having been duly

slven in the manner provided by law, the Industrial Welfare

Commission, upon its own motion has found and concluded

that its Public Housekeeping Industry Order, Number 5-68,

enacted on September 24, 1967 and its Minimum Wage

Order 1-74 enacted on January 1, 1974, should be altered

and amended.

‘‘Now, Therefore, the Industrial Welfare Commission of

the State of California does hereby alter and amend said

Public Housekeeping Industry Order, Number 5-68, and its

Minimum Wage Order 1-74.”’

In California Hotel & Motel Assn. our court rejected the

commission’s contention in this regard, concluding that the

commission had misinterpreted the fundamental purpose of

section 1177 by suggesting that the provision could be sat-

isfied by a statement which simply listed the statutory basis,

i.e., the authorzing statutes, for the agency’s regulatory

action. Instead, adverting to the legislative history of the

provision and to an analogous provision of the federal Ad-

‘ ministrative Procedure Act (APA),”’ we pointed out that the

Statute was a response to the Legislature's belief ‘‘that the

"Section 4(c) of the APA (5 U.S.C. § 553(c)) reads in pertinent part:

‘‘After consideration of the relevant matters presented [in an informal

rule-making proceeding], the agency shall incorporate in the rules

adopted a concise general statement of their basis and purpose.”’ (Italics

added.) In view of the similarity of this provision to section 1177, we

indicate in California Hotel & Motel Assn. that federal authorities

construing section 4(c), while not controlling, will often be persuasive

in interpreting section 1177. (See 25 Cal.3d at p. 210, fn. 20, id., at

pp. 219-220 (Christian, J.. conc.).) As noted post, we have utilized

a number of such federal authorities in reaching our conclusions in the

instant case.

a

public has a right to know the reasons for the laws which

govern them’’ (italics added) (25 Cal.3d at p. 210, fn. 21),

and accordingly we concluded that section 1177 contem-

plated that the IWC would provide a reasoned explanation

to accompany its orders, an explanation that would ‘‘reflect

the factual, legal and policy foundations for the action

taken.”’ (/d., at p. 213.)'°

At the same time, however, we recognized that in pro-

mulgating wage orders the IWC is involved in a quasi-

legislative, rather than a quasi-judicial endeavor, and we

cautioned that ‘‘[t]he statement of basis is not the equivalent

of the findings of fact that a court may be required to make.”’

(Id.) Instead, we emphasized that what section 1177 de-

mands is simply ‘‘an explanation of how and why the Com-

mission did what it did.’’ (Italics added.) (Id.) Because the

‘*To Whom it May Concern’’ paragraph did not fulfill this

basic function, we concluded that the commission had failed

to comply with section 1177 in initially adopting order

5-76.

The 1980 wage orders at issue in this case were pro-

mulgated shortly after this court’s decision in California

Hotel & Motel Assn., and the statements as to the basis of

such orders were quite evidently drafted with that decision’s

guidelines firmly in mind. Unlike the ‘‘To Whom it May

‘We explained this requirement as follows: ‘‘If terms of the order

turn on factual issues, the statement must demonstrate reasonable sup-

port in the administrative record for the factual determinations. If, on

the other hand, the terms of the order turn on policy choices, an as-

sessment of risks or alternatives, or predictions of economic or social

consequences, the statement of basis must show how the commission

resolved conflicting interests and how that resolution led to the order

chosen. If an order differentiates among classes of industries, employ-

ers, or employees, the statement of basis must show that the distinctions

drawn are reasonably supported by the administrative record and are

reasonably related to the purposes of the enabling statute.’’ (25 Cal.3d

at p. 214.)

a. me

Concern’’ paragraph of the initial 1976 orders, the state-

ments accompanying the 1980 orders deal directly with the

substantive provisions of each of the orders, and provide

concise and clearly worded explanations for the various

provisions of those orders. The statements make frequent

reference to specific comments and recommendations raised

in the course of the lengthy administrative proceedings and

indicate why the commission decided to adopt some pro-

pesals and declined to adopt others; when the wage orders

impose different regulations on some industries than are

imposed on others, or exempt some occupations from gen-

erally applicable requirements, the statements explain the

differential treatment. Indeed, a reading of the numerous

statements as to basis in the 1980 orders leaves little doubt

that the commission has made a thorough and conscientious

effort to explain “‘how and why [it] did what it did.”’ (25

Cal.3d at p. 213.)

The employers assert, however, that the commission’s

efforts in this regard were insufficient, and they level a

multi-pronged attack challenging the adequacy of virtually

every statement as to basis in all of the wage orders under

review. We do not believe that it is necessary, in this pro-

ceeding, to review each of the employers’ numerous attacks

separately. As we shall explain, an analysis of several rep-

resentative challenges mounted by the employers reveals

the general tenor and, in our view, misguided nature, of the

employers’ various contentions.

The employers initially challenge the adequacy of the

Statement as to basis relating to section 3 of the wage orders,

concerning ‘‘Hours and Days of Work.’’ The statement

adopted by the commission reads in relevant part:

‘*The 8-hour day, 40-hour week is an accepted standard

in American society. Federal law embodying these standards

(Walsh-Healy Act and Fair Labor Standards Act) was en-

a

acted with the purpose of encouraging employers to hire

more employees when they have need for labor in excess

of 40 hours a week. The California Legislature declares that

‘eight hours of labor constitutes a day’s work’ (Labor Code

Section 510). Employee representatives continue to express

their conviction that a regular schedule of work beyond eight

hours a day is detrimental to the health and welfare of

employees.

‘*The Commission relies on the imposition of a premium

or penalty pay for overtime work to regulate maximum hours

consistent with the health and welfare of employees covered

by this order. Employers have objected to the requirement

for overtime pay after 8 hours a day and in 1976 they urged

a 10-hour day without overtime, asserting that employees

favored such a schedule to save travel time and expense and

to have more leisure for weekend trips. The Commission

provided for such alternative in the 1976 Order, specifying

conditions under which employees could exercise a choice.

In the review just completed, employee representatives [o]n

the wage board and in public hearing asked that the pro-

visions for four 10-hour days be deleted. Some complained

that once employees voted for such a schedule there was

no way to get out of it even when employees found, from

experience, that it was detrimental to their welfare. Em-

ployer representatives on wage boards and in public hearing

proposed an alternative of three or four workdays of not

more than 12 hours each without overtime. In view of the

accepted 8-hour day standard, social experience, and tes-

timony by employees the Commission determined that a

12-hour day generally is detrimental to the welfare of em-

ployees. Where, in special circumstances, employees and

employer agree in collective bargaining that it is not det-

rimental, provision is made for such exception as described

below. The Commission did, retain the provision for the

week of four 10-hour days, and made it more flexible at

the request of some employers and employees by allowing

the four days to be worked any time within the work week

so long as the employee received two consecutive days off.

Previously the four days had to be scheduled within five

consecutive days.

‘At the same time the Commission acknowledges the

employees’ problem of being trapped in such a schedule

when it proved to be detrimental and provided a means of

voting out such a schedule (Section 3(B)(4)) under reason-

able conditions which protect the employer against frivolous

or too frequent changes.’’

In questioning the adequacy of this lengthy statement,

the employers concede that *‘[i]t would be difficult to attack

the Commission’s apparent conclusion that an eight hour

day is consistent with the health and welfare of employees’’

but argue that the statement is deficient for failing to indicate

why the Commission concluded that ‘‘an eight-hour day is

the only work day consistent with the health and welfare

of employees.’’ (Empiloyers’ italics.) In a similar vein, the

employers argue that the statement does not satisfy the re-

quirement of section 1177, as interpreted in California Hotel

& Motel Assn., because while the statement explains why

the commission decided to permit a 10-hour day, 4-day

week without overtime pay, it does not indicate why the

commission did not permit any other alternative 40-hour

week.

In essence, the employers’ contention amounts to an as-

sertion that under section 1177, the commission must not

only explain why it adopted the orders that it did, but also

detail its reason for not adopting the myriad of possible

alternatives to its regulations. Such an interpretation of sec-

tion 1177, however, would be totally impractical and would

impose an unreasonable burden upon the agency. As one

=

federal court has explained in an analogous context. “‘A

rule-making agency makes not one but dozens of ‘ultimate’

decisions—not only because a set of regulations has many

provisions, but also because adoption of any one provision

constitutes simultaneous rejection of many possible alter-

natives. . . . [{]] For these reasons we think petitioners’

expansive reading of the ‘findings’ requirements .. . [to

require findings as to such alternatives] is inherently un-

realistic. To require [such] findings of a rule-making agency

. would be to invite endless confusion and great uncer-

tainty.”’ (Amoco Oil Co. v. Environmental Protection

Agency (D.C.Cir. 1974) 501 F.2d 722, 734-735.)

Indeed, we think that the governing legislation itself dem-

onstrates that the Legislature, in enacting section 1177, did

not intend to require the extraordinarily extensive statement

as to basis that would be required under the employers’

proposed interpretation. As we recognized in California

Hotel & Motel Assn., supra, 25 Cal.3d at page 215, section

1177 provides that the statement as to basis is to be included

as an integral part of each wage order; section 1183, in turn,

requires that the commission mail a copy of such orders to

employers covered by the order and directs such employers

to ‘post a copy thereof in the building in which employees

affected by the order are employed.’’ These statutes dem-

onstrate that the Legislature contemplated that the statement

as to basis would take a form that could reasonably be posted

in places of employment and could be read and understood

by the employers and employees affected by the order.

This legislative purpose of effectively informing em-

ployers and employees of the basic reasons for the com-

mission’s actions would be defeated if we were to interpret

the statute to require a statement so lengthy and detailed

that, in practice, such statement would have to been printed

in extremely small type or in a document so extended that

an, . Se

no one could reasonably be expected to read it. As the

United States Supreme Court has recently emphasized in

another context: ‘‘Meaningful disclosure does not |neces-

sarily] mean more disclosure. Rather, it describes a balance

between ‘competing considerations of complete disclosure

ana the need to avoid . . . ‘‘informational overload’’

* (Ford Motor Credit Co. v. Milhollin (1980) —

U. S. —, — [63 L.Ed.2d 22, 33, 100 S.Ct. 790, 798].)

The — also challenge the adequacy of the state-

ments as to the basis of a number of sections of the 1980

wage orders in which the commission made no changes

whatsoever from previous wage orders. Thus, for example,

the statement as to the basis of section 12, Rest Periods,''

reads: *“The Commission received no compelling evidence

and concluded that there was no rationale to warrant any

change in this section, the basic provisions of which date

back to 1932. \t also noted that administrative exemptions

are available if warranted under provisions of section 17 of

this order.”’ (Italics added.) The employers contend that

even when no change from a previous order is implemented,

section 1177 requires the IWC to provide a full explanation

for the original adoption of the provision and precludes the

commission from simply indicating the historical basis of

the order.

As this court explained in California Hotel & Motel Assn.,

however, the legislative history of section 1177 indicates

that the section was intended to ensure that the commission

"The rest period provision of wage order 1-80 provides in full:

‘*Every employer shall authorize and permit employees to take rest

periods, which insofar as practicable shall be in the middle of each

work period. The authorized rest period time shall be based on the total

hours worked daily at the rate of ten (10) minutes net rest time per four

(4) hours or major fraction thereof.

‘*However, a rest period need not be authorized for employees whose

total daily work time is less than three and one-half (3'/2) hours. Au-

thorized rest period time shall be counted as hours worked for which

there shall be no deduction from wages.”’

_—

would ‘‘accompany any new or revised order’’ with an

explanation for the agency’s determinations. (Italics added. )

(25 Cal.3d at p. 210, fn. 21.) When the commission, on

the basis of its investigation, wage board proceedings and

public hearings, determines that an existing regulation

should be altered or a new regulation promulgated, section

1177 requires that the commission explain the reason for

the new or revised rule. When the commission concludes

that no such modification is warranted, however, no com-

parable explanation is necessary, for the commission is sim-

ply continuing in effect a regulation that has previously

become a part of the standard working conditions of **em-

ployees in the modern society.’’ (§ 1173.) Although we can

perhaps conjure that, under some circumstances, underlying

societal conditions may so change as to reasonably require

an explanation from the IWC for its decision to continue

a particular working condition regulation in effect, we do

not believe that the commission’s retention of the long-

Standing provisions in this case—involving rest periods,

meal periods, and the !ike—require any such justification.

Finally, the employers contend that a number of the state-

ments as to basis are deficient even though they contain a

general explanation of the commission’s actions because the

statements do not specifically respond to some comments

or suggestions raised by wage boards or affected individuals

at some point in the administrative process. Once dgain,

however, the employers’ argument would expand the state-

ment as to basis beyond all reasonable bounds. As the Fifth

Circuit has observed with respect to the analogous “‘state-

ment of basis and purpose’’ called for by section 4(c) of

the federal APA: ‘‘It is not expected that the agency will

discuss in detail every item of fact or opinion included in

the comments submitted to it. [What] is expected [is] that

the agency’s concise general statement of basis and purpose

—,

. ‘will enable us to see what major issues of policy were

ventilated by the |administrative| proceedings and why the

agency reacted to them as it did.’ *’ (Italics added.) (Gen-

eral Telephone Co. of Southwest v. United States (Sth Cir.

1971) 449 F.2d 846, 862.) In our view the statements as

to the basis of the 1980 wage orders adequately fulfill this

function.

In sum, we conclude that the 1980 statements as to basis,

promulgated in the wake of this court’s decision in Cali-

fornia Hotel & Motel Assn., satisfy the requirements of

section 1177 as articulated in that decision.

4. The IWC did not violate the provisions of CEQA in

promulgating the 1980 wage orders, since such orders

are specifically exempted from the statutory require-

ments under title 14, section 15124 of the California

Administrative Code.

The employers next argue that the 1980 wage orders are

invalid because of the IWC’s alleged failure to comply with

the requirements of CEQA, relating to the preparation of

an ‘environmental impact report’’ or a “‘negative decla-

ration,’ prior to the promulgation of its wage orders. As

we explain, this contention is clearly without merit, for the

commission's wage orders have been explicitly exempted

from the statutory requirements of CEQA by a valid ad-

ministrative regulation.

In enacting CEQA to protect the environment of Cali-

fornia, the Legislature recognized that not all actions of

governmental agencies have significant environmental ef-

fect, and concluded that it was desirable to exempt certain

categories of governmental actions from the generally ap-

plicable requirements of the statute. Accordingly, the Leg-

islature in section 21084 of the Public Resources Code,

directed the Secretary of the California Resources Agency

ae ae

to promulgate as part of the administrative guidelines gov-

erning the administration of CEQA, ‘‘a list of classes of

projects which have been determined not to have a signif-

icant effect on the environment and which shall be exempt

from the provisions of this division.”’

Acting pursuant to this directive, the Secretary of Re-

sources has established a list of classes of projects which,

by regulation, are declared ‘‘to be categorically exempt from

the requirement for the preparation of environmental doc-

uments.’’ In February 1978, the secretary adopted section

15124 of title 14 of the California Administrative Code

which categorically exempts from CEQA’s requirements

‘“‘actions taken by regulatory agencies, including the In-

dustrial Welfare Commission as authorized by statute to

regulate any of the following: (a) Employee wages, (b)

Hours of work, or (c) Working conditions where there will

be no demonstrable physical changes outside the place of

work.’’ Under this regulation, the IWC had no obligation

to prepare an environmental impact report or negative dec-

laration prior to the adoption of the wage impact report or

negative declaration prior to the adoption of the wage orders

at issue here.'”

Although the employers recognize that the regulation in

question exempts IWC wage orders from the application of

CEQA, the employers contend that the Secretary of Re-

sources exceeded his statutory authority in adopting section

15124. In support of this argument, the employers rely on

this court’s decision in Wildlife Alive v. Chickering (1976)

18 Cal.3d 190, 204-206 [132 Cal.Rptr. 377, 553 P.2d 537],

in which we held that an administrative regulation catego-

"Before promulgating the 1980 orders, the IWC specifically made

a written finding ‘‘that none of its proposed regulations would make

a demonstrable physical change outside the place of work or have a

significant effect on the environment.”’

ee

rically exempting ‘‘actions taken . . . to assure the main-

tenance, restoration or enhancement of a natural resource

.’’ could not properly be interpreted as creating an ex-

emption from CEQA for actions of the Fish and Game

Commission in fixing hunting or fishing seasons.

In reaching that conclusion in Wildlife Alive, however,

we recognized that ‘‘the setting of hunting and fishing sea-

sons has the potential for a significant environmental impact,

both favorable and unfavorable,’’ and that ‘‘[t]here inheres

in the fixing of hunting seasons and the issuance of hunting

permits a serious risk of overkill and depletion of the af-

fected species.’’ (18 Cal.3d at p. 206.) Noting that under

section 21084 **[t]he secretary is empowered to exempt only

those activities which do not have a significant effect on the

environment’’ (id., at p. 205), we concluded that because

of the obvious possibility that the setting of hunting and

fishing seasons would have a significant effect on the en-

vironment, an interpretation of the exempting regulation to

cover such administrative acts would cast doubt on the va-

lidity of the regulation.

From an environmental standpoint, however, the wage

orders at issue in this case are obviously a far cry from the

administrative regulations fixing hunting and fishing seasons

which were before our court in Wildlife Alive. Unlike hunt-

ing and fishing season regulations which affect wildlife in

a very direct and unambiguous manner, the IWC regulations

governing the wages, hours and working conditions of em-

ployees have no obvious effect on the environment.

Indeed, the employers in the present case in effect con-

cede the absence of any such direct effect, arguing only that

the categorical exemption is improper because of certain

alleged collateral consequences to the environment which

the employers claim may possibly be engendered by the

commission’s vage orders. Thus, for example, the em-

—_32—

ployers attacking the IWC wage orders with respect to ag-

ricultural industries argue that ‘‘[t]he 1980 provisions with

regard to hours and days of work are much more restrictive

and financially more costly [than prior orders, and thus]

may well have the effect of forcing employers to turn to

mechanization or automation [which in turn] will result in

the greater use of machines and fuel of all types and, there-

fore, may have a significant effect on the environment.’’

In a similar vein, the growers contend that it is “‘likely that

increased mechanization of agricultural operations will

cause greater dust and noise pollution in areas adjacent to

metropolitan centers’’ and also allege that ‘‘increased wages

and overtime provisions will have the probable effect of

increasing the sale of agricultural land to developers for

urban purposes, thereby having an increasingly significant

environmental impact.’’

Aside from the obvious speculation implicit in the em-

ployers’ argument, it is not the IWC regulation of wages,

hours and working conditions that, in the employers’ scen-

ario may significantly affect the environment, but rather it

is the employers’ own future actions, not called for by the

wage orders, that may have such an effect. To the extent

that such future actions by growers may adversely affect the

environment, of course, the employers will be subject to

regulation by a variety of state and federal environmental

protection agencies. In any event, however, we think that

the mere possibility that an employer may respond to the

requirements of a wage order by adopting measures that

may endanger the environment does not undermine the va-

lidity of the Secretary of Resources’ conclusion that the

IWC’s promulgation of wage orders is categorically exempt

from CEQA’s requirements.

Accordingly, the IWC did not violate CEQA in adopting

its 1980 wage orders.

5. In the absence of a conflict with regulations promul-

gated by the California Occupational Health and Safety

Standards Board, the IWC nay adopt wage orders re-

lating to the health or safety of employees.

In addition to the various procedural contentions dis-

cussed above, the employers contend that the IWC exceeded

its substantive authority in promulgating a number of the

provisions included in all of the 1980 wage orders. In this

regard, the employers initially focus on those sections of

the wage orders which deal with matters generally relating

to the health and safety of employees, e.g., provisions reg-

ulating meal periods (§ 11), rest periods (§ 12), seats (§ 14)

and temperature (§ 15). The employers contend that under

the current statutes only the California Occupational Safety

and Health Standards Board (hereafter Cal/OSHA), for-

merly the Industrial Safety Board (see § 140, subd. (e)),

has jurisdiction to act with respect to such matters and that,

as a consequence, the [WC regulations in this field are null

and void.

The employers’ argument rests in principal part upon a

portion of section 1173 that was added to the statute in

1973. The relevant paragraph reads: ‘*‘Before adopting any

new rules, regulations or policies, the commission shall

consult with the Industrial Safety Board to determine those

areas and subject matters where the respective jurisdiction

of the commission and the Industrial Safety Board overlap.

In the case of such overlapping jurisdiction, the Industrial

Safety Board shall have exclusive jurisdiction, and rules,

regulations, or policies of the commission on the same sub-

ject have no force or effect.”’

The employers argue that this provision precludes the

commission from enacting regulations on any matter upon

which the Industrial Safety Board, i.e., Cal/OSHA has the

sails

authority or jurisdiction to act. Since, as the employers

maintain, the governing statutes and judicial precedents

clearly provide that Cal/OSHA has broad authority to act

to protect workers’ health and safety (see §§ 6305-6307; °

Carmona v. Division of Industrial Safety (1975) 13 Cal.3d

303, 312-313 [118 Cal.Rptr. 473, 530 P.2d 161]) the em-

ployer reasons that the IWC lacks any power to act in this

field. The IWC, by contrast, asserts that while the 1973

amendment of section 1173 grants Cal/OSHA the “‘last

word’’ on matters within its jurisdiction, the statute does

not inhibit the IWC from acting to protect employees’ health

and safety in areas in which no conflict with Cal/OSHA

regulations or policies actually exist.

In resolving this question of statutory interpretation, we

begin with a brief historical review of the two agencies’

overlapping jurisdiction in matters of employee health and

safety. Since its inception as an entity charged with the

regulation of wages, hours and working conditions of

women and children, the [WC has been statutorily mandated

‘‘to investigate the comfort, health, safety, and welfare of

such employees’’ and to fix wages, hours and working con-

ditions so as to maintain and protect the ‘‘health and wel-

fare’’ of such employees. (Stats. 1913, ch. 324, §§ 3, 6,

pp. 633, 634-635.) From its earliest days, the commission’s

regulatory orders have contained numerous provisions

aimed directly at preserving and promoting the health and

safety of employees ‘vithin its jurisdiction, and numerous

decisions throughout the commission’s existence have

Clearly recognized the validity of the commission’s regu-

lation of such matters. (See, e.g., Kerr’s Catering Service

v. Department of Industrial Relations (1962) 57 Cal.2d 319,

324-325 [19 Cal.Rptr. 492, 369 P.2d 20]; 2

Ops.Cal.Atty.Gen. 456 (1943); 6 Ops.Cal.Atty.Gen. 193,

194 (1945); 20 Ops.Cal.Atty.Gen. 120, 122 (1952).)

aii

Despite its broad authority in this field, however, the

IWC has never been the only state agency to regulate matters

relating to the health and safety of California employees.

In 1913, the year of the establishment of the IWC, the

Legislature enacted a separate bill creating the Industrial

Accident Commission, and vested that body, inter alia, with

broad authority to adopt regulations relating to the safety

and welfare of employees. (Stats. 1913, ch. 176, §§ 51-72,

pp. 305-311.) Unlike the IWC, however, the Industrial

Accident Commission’s jurisdiction was not limited only

to the protection of women or child workers, but encom-

passed the entire workforce. Subsequently, in 1945, the

Industrial Accident Commission’s broad authority to reg-

ulate safety in places of employment was transferred to a

new body, the Industrial Safety Board. (Stats. 1945, ch.

1431, § 78, p. 2698.)

In view of the broad grant of authority in matters relating

to occupational health and safety to both the IWC and the

Industrial Safety Board, the question of overlapping juris-

diction of these two agencies has existed for many decades.

Prior to 1973, however, no specific statutory provision at-

tempted to reconcile this overlapping jurisdiction. In the

absence of any such provision, the existing authorities de-

termined that both of the agencies had ‘‘concurrent juris-

diction’’ over matters within their authority, and concluded

that affected employers were required to comply with all

applicable regulations of both agencies. (See, e.g., 20

Ops.Cal.Atty.Gen. 120, 122 (1952); 37 Ops.Cal.Atty.Gen.

31, 36 (1961); cf. Orange County Air Pollution Control

Dist. v. Public Util. Com. (1971) 4 Cal.3d 945, 951-954

[95 Cal.Rptr. 17, 484 P.2d 1361].) When more than one

agency’s regulations applied to a particular activity, the

employer was obligated to comply with the most stringent

regulation. (See 37 Ops.Cal.Atty.Gen. 31, 36 (1961.)

~<a

As already noted, in 1973 the Legislature enacted a bill

expanding the IWC’s jurisdiction to include all California

employees, men, women and children. In the same bill, the

Legislature added to section 1173 a paragraph specifically

addressing the question of the overlapping jurisdiction of

the [WC and the Industrial Safety Board. It is the interpre-

tation of this provision upon which the present controversy

turns.'’ To reiterate, the relevant paragraph of section 1173

‘Although the employers argue that a separate 1973 enactment (Stats.

1973, ch. 993, §§ 11, 16, pp. 1919-1920), which renamed the Industrial

Safety Board the California Occupational Safety and Health Standards

Board and which included a provision stating that such board ‘‘shall

be the only agency in this state authorized to adopt occupational safety

and health standards’’ (§ 142.3), was intended by the Legislature to

give additional content to the 1973 amendment of section 1173, we

think that that contention is belied both by the language of the section

1173 amendment and by its legislative history. As we have noted, the

amendment of section 1173 refers to the *‘Industrial Safety Board’ not

the Occupational Safety and Health Standard Board and thus it is clear

that, contrary to the employers’ contention, the amendment of section

1173 was by no means a ‘‘companion’’ to the Cal/OSHA legislation.

Second, as originally introduced, the paragraph of section 1173 in

question provided that the /WC, rather than the Industrial Safety Board,

would have ‘‘exclusive jurisdiction’ in cases of conflict; although the

position of the two agencies in the section 1173 paragraph was ulti-

mately reversed, the legislation was not part of any comprehensive

legislative design to give the newly constituted Cal/OSHA sole authority

in this area.

Similarly, a review of Cal/OSHA legislation also suggests that the

provisions of section 142.3 were not intended to effect the IWC’s

jurisdiction. Unlike section 1173, which specifically addresses the issue

of the overlapping jurisdiction of the IWC and the Industrial Safety

Board (Cal/OSHA), section 142.3 makes no reference to the IWC at

all. Although that section provides that Cal/OSHA shall be the only

agency to adopt ‘‘occupational safety and health standards,”’ that ter-

minology is a term of art specifically defined by the Cal/OSHA leg-

islation (see § 6305, subd. (a)) and does not encompass wage orders

promulgated by the IWC. Indeed, another provision of the Cal/OSHA

legislation, section 144, subdivision (e), specifically provides that

**{njothing in this section shall affect or limit the authority of any state

or local agency as to any matter other than the enforcement of occu-

pational and health standards adopted by the board. . . .”’

Since the Legislature specifically enacted the amendment to section

1173 to address the question of the overlapping jurisdiction of the IWC

and the Industrial Safety Board (Cal/OSHA), we conclude that we must

properly look to that statute to determine legislative intent as to the

proper allocation of authority between the two agencies.

poe, BOR

reads in full: ‘“‘Before adopting any new rules, regulations

or policies, the commission shall consult with the Industrial

Safety Board to determine those areas and subject matters

where the respective jurisdiction of the commission and the

Industrial Safety Board overlap. In the case of such over-

lapping jurisdiction, the Industrial Safety Board shall have

exclusive jurisdiction, and rules, regulations, or policies of

the commission on the same subject have no force or ef-

fect.’’

The empfoyers contend that this provision was intended

to resolve the question of overlapping jurisdiction by entirely

eliminating the power of the IWC to regulate on any matter

over which the Industrial Safety Board (i.e., Cal/OSHA)

has jurisdiction, i.e., all matters of occupational health and

safety. The IWC contends that the Legislature had a more

modest goal in mind and simply intended to provide that,

in cases of conflict, the regulations or policies of the In-

dustrial Safety Board would govern.

Viewed in isolation, the language of the paragraph in

question is somewhat ambiguous. On the one hand, the

paragraph’s reference to the ‘‘exclusive jurisdiction’ of the

Industrial Board appears to support the employers’ reading

of the provision. On the other hand, however, the statutory

requirement of consultation between the two agencies would

be rather pointless if the IWC had absolutely no authority

to act with respect to health and safety matters in any cir-

cumstances. Moreover, the concluding language of the par-

agraph, declaring that ‘‘rules, regulations or policies of the

commission on the same subject have no force or effect,”’

suggests that the Legislature may well have intended that

IWC orders would be preempted only when the Industrial

Safety Board, i.e., Cal/OSHA, has actually regulated on

the same subject.

= =

Although the paragraph at issue, standing alone, is thus

arguably susceptible to either of the interpretations proffered

by the parties, for a number of reasons we conclude that

the construction suggested by the IWC is the more reason-

able and should be adopted.

First, and most significantly, numerous other provisions

of the 1973 bill in which the paragraph in question appears

are entirely incompatible with the employers’ proposed

interpretation. (See Stats. 1973, ch. 1007, §§ 1.5, 2, 3, pp.

2002-2003.) To begin with, as reenacted in 1973, the first

paragraph of section 1173, immediately preceding the par-

agraph relied upon by the employers, provides explicitly

that ‘‘lijt shall be the continuing duty of the Industrial

Welfare Commission. . . to investigate the comfort, health,

safety and welfare of . . . employees.’’ (Italics added.) In

addition, the 1973 legislation also explicitly retained the

provisions of section 1178, declaring that *‘wage board|[s]

shall report and make recommendations to the commission,

including therein: (a) An estimate of the minimum wage

adequate to supply the necessary cost of proper living to,

and maintain the health and welfare of employees . . .; (b)

The number of hours of work per day . . . consistent with

the health and welfare of employees; (c) The standard con-

ditions of labor . . . demanded by the health and welfare

of employees.’’ Finally, the 1973 act, while revising section

1182 in several respects, reiterated the portion of that section

authorizing the IWC to fix ‘‘the standard conditions of labor

demanded by the health and velfare of the employees

. in this state.”’

If the Legislature, by its 1973 enactments, had in fact

intended to preclude the commission from acting with re-

spect to matters of employee health and safety, as the em-

ployers suggest, it clearly would not have explicitly man-

dated the commission ‘‘to investigate the . . . health [and]

safety of . . . employees’’ and would not have continued

a

to authorize the commission to establish ‘‘standard condi-

tions of labor demanded by the health . . . of [such] em-

ployees.’’ A cardinal principle of statutory construction, of

course, decrees that all related statutory provisions must be

read together and harmonized, if possible. (See, e.g., Moyer

v. Workmen's Comp. Appeals Bd. (1973) 10 Cal.3d 222,

230-231 [110 Cal.Rptr. 144, 514 P.2d 1224].) In this case,

a reading of the 1973 enactment as a whole indicates that,

contrary to the employers’ contention, the Legislature con-

templated that the IWC would retain authority to protect

workers’ health and safety, supporting the IWC’s position

that the statute simply requires the IWC to yield to the

Industrial Safety Board (Cal/OSHA) in instances of actual

conflict.

Second, the IWC’s reading of the statute is supported by

the fact that both of the administrative agencies charged

with administering the legislation in question agree that this

is the appropriate construction to be given the statutory

language. Since the enactment of the 1973 legislation, the

IWC and Cal/OSHA have consulted on numerous occasions

pursuant to the provision of section 1173, and as a result

of these consultations, the IWC has deleted from its wage

orders a number of long-standing provisions on various sub-

jects (e.g., protective garments and equipment, sanitary

conditions of toilets and floors) over which Cal/OSHA has

assumed jurisdiction. As the employers concede, however,

throughout this period the officials of both Cal/OSHA and

the IWC have taken the position that the IWC is not totally

precluded from regulating on matters relating to worker

health or safety, but may adopt such regulations so long as

they do not conflict with applicable Cal/OSHA directives

or policy. We have often said, of course, that ‘‘the con-

struction of a statute by officials charged with its admin-

istration. . . is entitled to great weight’’ (Morris v. Williams

—

(1967) 67 Cal.2d 733, 748 [63 Cal.Rptr. 689, 433 P.2d

697]) and this principle applies with particular strength when

two agencies agree as to the interpretation of a statutory

provision concerned with the allocation of authority between

the agencies.

Finally, the interpretation of the statute urged by the IWC

is sustained by the general principle of statutory interpre-

tation, noted at the outset of this opinion, that remedial

legislation of this nature is to be liberally construed in favor

of accomplishing the principal objective of the legislation,

i.€., protecting workers. Under the employers’ interpreta-

tion of the statute, employees would be deprived of the

benefits of health- and safety-related regulations of the [WC

even though Cal/OSHA had not yet acted on the subject to

protect the workers’ interests. Such a construction is clearly

at odds with the remedial purpose of the entire statutory

framework.

Contrary to the employers’ claim, the I[WC’s interpre-

tation of the provision in no way deprives the relevant

statutory provisions of section 1173 of all meaning. Unlike

the situation prior to 1973, under the new statute employers

need not comply with the most restrictive regulation when

IWC and Cal/OSHA regulations collide; instead, the statute

provides that in such a situation, the resulations promulgated

by Cal/OSHA will prevail.

Accordingly, we conclude that IWC retains jurisdiction

to regulate working conditions related to the health and

safety of employees in the absence of any actual conflict

with existing Cal/OSHA regulations or policy. Because the

record establishes that no such conflict exists, we reject the

employers’ challenge to the orders’ validity on this ground.

ae a

6. Neither federal nor state labor relation legislation pre-

cludes the IWC from establishing minimum wages,

maximum hours or standard conditions of employment

to protect the health and welfare of California em-

plovees.

A number of employers additionally contend that a variety

of state and federal labor relation statutes, which have as

a principal objective the resolution of employer-employee

disputes over wages, hours and working conditions through

the collective bargaining process, operate to ‘‘preempt’’ the

IWC from ‘‘imposing’’ or ‘‘dictating,’’ upon either em-

ployers or employees, conditions of employment that have

not been arrived at through collective bargaining.'* Relying

upon a number of labor law decisions which have indicated

in other contexts that neither the National Labor Relations

Board nor similar state agencies may ‘‘impose [their] own

views of a desirable settlement’’ in the event of a dispute

over employment conditions (see, e.g., Porter Co. v. NLRB

(1970) 397 U.S. 99, 103-104 [25 L.Ed.2d 146, 151, 90

S.Ct. 821]; Machinists v. Wisconsin Emp. Rel. Comm'n

(1976) 427 U.S. 132, 153 [49 L.Ed.2d 396, 411, 96 S.Ct.

‘In the underlying mandate actions, the employers have raised this

issue with respect to the provisions of the California Agricultural Labor

Relations Act (ALRA) (§ 1140 et seq.) which guarantee collective

bargaining rights in the agricultural sector. Because (1) the ALRA’s

provision in this regard were modeled upon the provisions of the Na-

tional Labor Relations Act (NLRA) (see, e.g., Vargas v. Municipal

Court (1978) 22 Cal.3d 902, 910-911 [150 Cal.Rptr. 918, 587 P.2d

714]), (2) many of the lawsuits challenging the 1976 orders raised an

analogous issue with respect to the federal labor legislation, and (3)

one of the issues specifically left open in California Hotel & Motel

Assn. concerned the alleged preemptive effect of federal labor laws

(25 Cal.3d at p. 205, fn. 2), we believe it is appropriate to analyze this

issue with reference to both state and federal labor legislation. Although

the employers have objected to the court’s addressing and discussing

the federal labor preemption issue in this proceeding, all parties were

notified prior to oral argument of this court’s intention to consider the

issue, and both sides have filed briefs directed to this issue.

—.

2548]), the employers maintain that the IWC lacks authority

to “‘interfere’’ with the collective bargaining process by

mandating minimum permissible employment conditions in

matters that are ‘*‘mandatory subjects’’ of collective bar-

gaining under the applicable labor statutes.

Taken at face value, the employers’ contentions in this

regard would have the effect of precluding the IWC from

regulating with respect to any of the matters within its ju-

risdiction. Under each of the labor statutes which apply to

the industries regulated by the commission—the National

Labor Relations Act (NLRA) (29 U.S.C. § 151 et seq.),

the Railway Labor Act (RLA) (45 U.S.C. § 151 et seq.),

and the Agricultural Labor Relations Act (ALRA) (§ 1140

et seq.)—‘**wages, hours and working conditions’’ consti-

tute mandatory subjects of collective bargaining. Thus, if

these labor statutes in fact prohibited all governmental reg-

ulation on any matter that is subject to employee-employer

bargaining, neither the IWC nor any other state or federal

agency would have authority to prescribe minimum wages

or maximum hours, to promulgate occupational health and

safety standards, or to prohibit discriminatory employment

practices. The mere recitation of the logical consequences

of the employers’ arguments, of course, signals the extreme

tenuousness of the employers’ contention.

In fact, the fundamental flaw in the employers’ present

argument was fully exposed nearly 30 years ago by Justice

Jackson in his opinion for the United States Supreme Court

in Terminal Assn. v. Trainmen (1943) 318 U.S. 1 [87 L.Ed.

571, 63 S.Ct. 420]. In Terminal, an employer covered by

the Railway Labor Act challenged the validity of a state

agency regulation which, to protect the health and safety

of employees, required the company to provide cabooses

on designated railroad runs. The employer in Terminal

pointed out that the state regulation conflicted with a specific

a Oe

provision of a collective bargaining agreement that had been

negotiated between the employer and employees, and ar-

gued that since the question of providing cabooses involved

a working condition of the employment and thus was a

‘‘mandatory subject’’ of collective bargaining subject to

resolution under the Railway Labor Act, state regulation on

the subject was preempted by the act.

In Terminal, the Supreme Court unanimously rejected the

employer’s contention and upheld the validity of the state

regulation. In reaching this conclusion, Justice Jackson ex-

plained: ‘‘The Railway Labor Act, like the National Labor

Relations Act, does not undertake governmental regulation

of wages, hours, or working conditions. Instead it seeks to

provide « means by which agreement may be reached with

respect to them. The national interest expressed by those

Acts is not primarily in the working conditions as such. . . .

‘*State laws have long regulated a great variety of con-

ditions in transportation and industry, such as sanitary fa-

cilities and conditions, safety devices and protections, purity

of water supply, fire protection, and innumerable others.

Any of these matters might, we suppose, be the subject of

a demand by workmen for better protection and upon refusal

might be the subject of a labor dispute which would have

such effect on interstate commerce that federal agencies

might be invoked to deal with some phase of it. But we

would hardly be expected to hold that the price of the federal

effort to protect the peace and continuity of commerce has

been to strike down state sanitary codes, health regulations,

factory inspections, and safety provisions for industry and

transportation. We suppose employees might consider that

state or municipal requirements of fire escapes, fire doors,

and fire protection were inadequate and make them the

subject of a dispute, at least some phases of which would

be of federal concern. But it cannot be that the minimum

a Eee

requirements laid down by state authority are all set aside.

We hold that the enactment by Congress of the Railway

Labor Act was not a preemption of the field of regulating

working conditions themselves and did not preclude the

State ... from making the order in question.’’ (Fn.

omitted.) (318 U.S. at pp. 6, 7 [87 L.Ed. at pp. 577-578].)

This reasoning, we believe, fully answers the employers’

contention that federal or state labor legislation, fostering

collective bargaining, can be read to preempt legislative

efforts to prescribe minimum standards of wages, hours and

working conditions for the protection of employees. Indeed,

as already suggested, the numerous existing federal and

state statutes embodying just such ‘‘minimum standards”’

stand as eloquent testimony to the validity of such regula-

tion. Thus, notwithstanding the NLRA and the RLA, the

federal government has enacted the Fair Labor Standards

Act of 1938 (29 U.S.C. § 201 et seq.) prescribing minimum

wages and maximum hours, and the Occupational Safety

and Health Act of 1970 (federal OSHA) (29 U.S.C. § 651

et seq.), authorizing the promulgation of specific standards

directly relating to workers’ conditions of employment.

Moreover, both the Fair Labor Standards Act and federal

OSHA contain specific provisions which recognize the

States’ authority to go beyond the federal legislation in

adopting more protective regulations for the benefit of em-

ployees. (29 U.S.C. § 218; 29 U.S.C. §§ 651 (b)(11), 667.)

Furthermore, although the employers argue that state reg-

ulation in this field—if permissible at all—must be confined

only to matters of minimum wages, maximum hours or

working conditions which directly implicate the health or

safety of employees, federal and state legislation directed

to discrimination in employment demonstrates that govern-

mental entities retain broad authority to establish minimum

standards related generally to the ‘‘welfare’’ of employees.

antcnds

(See, e.g., 42 U.S.C. §§ 2000e-2, 2000e-7; Lab. Code; §

1410 et seq.)

As the Terminal case teaches, the fact that these matters

may also constitute proper, indeed ‘‘mandatory,’’ subjects

of collective bargaining does not preclude the state from

adopting minimum standards to protect the welfare of work-

ers who may not enjoy sufficient bargaining strength to

obtain adequate protection from their employers at the bar-

gaining table.'®

To the extent that the case of United Air Lines v. Industrial Welfare

Com. (1963) 211 Cal.App.2d 729, 744 [28 Cal.Rptr. 238], supports

the contention that state regulation of working conditions is invalid

outside the realm of health and safety provisions, that decision is dis-

approved. Numerous legislative enactments and judicial authorities

make it clear that the states possess broad authority, under their police

power, to prescribe minimum standards of employer conduct found

necessary to protect the welfare of employees, even when health or

safety considerations are not directly implicated. (See, e.g., 42 U.S.C.

§ 2000e-7 (recognizing validity of state antidiscrimination provisions);

15 U.S.C. § 1677 (recognizing validity of state laws prohibiting dis-

charge on basis of wage garnishments); Lab. Code, § 1101 et seq.

(prohibiting employer interference with employees’ political activities

or affiliations); De Canas v. Bica (1976) 424 U.S. 351, 356 [47 L.Ed.2d

43, 49, 96 S.Ct. 933]; Baltimore & O. R. Co. v. Commonwealth, Dept.

of L. & 1. (1975) 461 Pa. 68 [334 A.2d 636, 643], app. dism. for want

of substantial federal question, 423 U.S. 806 [46 L.Ed.2d 26,

96 S.Ct. 14].)

‘’The numerous labor law preemption decisions relied upon by the

employers are clearly not in point. None of the decisions dealt with a

state regulation prescribing a minimum standard for working conditions

to protect the health, safety or welfare of employees. Instead, the cases

involve either direct state interference with the collective bargaining

process (see, e.g., California v. Taylor (1957) 353 U.S. 553 [1 L.Ed.2d

1034, 77 S.Ct. 1037}) or with the choice of economic weapons available

during a labor dispute (see, e.g., Machinists v. Wisconsin Emp. Rel.

Comm'n. supra, 427 U.S. 132), or the state’s use of its antitrust laws

to bar the collective action by employees or employers protected by

federal law. (See, e.g., Teamsters Union v. Oliver (1959) 358 U.S.

283 [3 L.Ed.2d 312, 79 S.Ct. 297].) As the United States Supreme

Court recently observed: **|A]Imost all of the Court's labor law deci-

sions in which state regulatory schemes have been found to be

preempted have involved state efforts to regulate or to prohibit private

conduct that was either protected by § 7 [of the NLRA] prohibited by

§ 8 [of the NLRA], or at least arguably so protected or prohibited.”’

(New York Tel. Co. v. New York Labor Dept. (1979) 440 U.S. 519,

529 [59 L.Ed.2d 553, 561-562, 99 S.Ct. 1328] (fns. omitted).)

(footnote continued on following page)

—46—

Accordingly, we conclude that existing federal and state

labor statutes establish no bar to the IWC’s promulgation

of the 1980 wage orders. (See, e.g., Rivera v. Division of

Industrial Welfare, supra, 265 Cal.App.2d 576, 602-604.)

7. The employers’ additional, individual challenges to

specific provisions in various wage orders are without

merit.

Finally, in addition to raising the numerous common legal

challenges to the 1980 wage orders discussed at length

above, a number of employers have put forward a variety

of more limited objections to specific provisions of one or

more of the various 1980 wage orders. As we shall explain,

we have also concluded that none of these additional con-

tentions has merit.

(a) Treatment of tipped employees in wage order 5-80.

In the Kings County action (see fn. 2, ante), a number

of employers argue that in enacting wage order 5-80, relating

to the public housekeeping industry, the IWC abused its

discretion in refusing to provide a lower minimum wage for

tipped employees. The IWC explained the basis of its de-

cision in the statement as to the basis for order 5-76 which

it adopted upon remand of this court’s decision in California

Hotel & Motel Assn. The commission stated: ‘‘Many re-

quests were received from the hotel and restaurant industry

for a special, lower rate for tipped employees. The Com-

mission carefully studied written and oral arguments on the

ee

Contrary to the employers’ contention, the Supreme Court has never

retreated from its holding in Terminal, quoted above, that the federal

labor laws do not ‘‘preempt [ |] . . . the field of regulating working

conditions. . . ."’ (318 U.S. at p. 7 [87 L.Ed.2d at p. 578]. See, e.g.,

Malone v. White Motor Corp. (1978) 435 U.S. 497, 504-505, 512 [55

L.Ed.2d 443, 450-451, 455, 98 S.Ct. 1185]; Baltimore & O. R. Co.

v. Commonwealth, Dept. of L. & 1., supra, 334 A.2d 636, app. dism,

for want of a substantial federal question, 423 U.S. 806.)

ae, Wes

matter. It denied the request, however, for two reasons.

First, and most important, the Legislature specifically re-

voked the authority it had earlier given the IWC to allow

credit for tips against the minimum wage, when it amended

Section 351 of the Labor Code this year [i.e., 1975]. Sec-

ond, the Commission noted from enforcement experience

during the time that tip credit was allowed that tip sharing

was required to such an extent that the traditional tipped

employees were subsidizing the minimum wages of other

classifications.’’

The employers contend that the [WC has misinterpreted

the effect of the 1975 amendment to section 351,'’ asserting

that while the Legislature intended by such amendment to

prohibit the [WC from allowing employers directly to deduct

from an employee’s wages tips that an employee actually

receives, the Legislature did not intend to prohibit the com-

mission itself from indirectly achieving a somewhat com-

parable result by establishing a lower minimum wage for

tipped employees. Although the tip credit practice sanc-

tioned by the IWC in the past may have engendered par-

ticular abuse because individual employers exacted credit

from their employees on an individual basis, we think that

the legislative history of the 1975 bill supports the IWC’s

conclusion that the Legislature contemplated that the en-

actment would insure that tips received by an employee

would not reduce an employer’s minimum wage obligation,

either directly or indirectly.

"Prior to 1975, section 351 provided in relevant part: ‘‘No employer

.. Shall . . . receive any gratuity or a part thereof, paid, given to or

left for an employee by a patron, or deduct any amount from wages

due an employee on account of such gratuity . . . except to the extent

that may be permitted by a valid regulation of the Industrial Welfare

Commission, . . .** (Italics added.) In 1975, section 351 was amended

to delete the italicized language of the statute.

a wer

For example, an analysis of the 1975 bill by the Senate

Industrial Relations Committee specifically states: ‘‘The

effect of this bill would be to require employers to pay

employees at least the minimum wage regardless of the

amount of tips the employees receive.’’ Similarly, a mem-

orandum on the legislation drafted by the Assembly Labor

Relations Committee states in part: ‘‘The basis for this leg-

islation would appear to be that tips or gratuities are given

for individual excellence of service above and beyond the

basic duties of employment, and as such, the employer has

no vested right to consider tips a part of wages.’’ In light

of the legislative history, the [WC could reasonably interpret

the amendment of section 351 as a legislative determination

that all employees should be guaranteed a minimum wage

that is not reduced by virtue of any tips an employee may

possibly receive. As already noted, the commission’s inter-

pretation of the statutes which it administers is entitled to

great weight, and, in our view, the employers have not

demonstrated a sufficient basis for rejecting the commis-

sion’s interpretation of this provision.

The employers additionally contend, however, that as

interpreted by the commission, section 351 violates equal

protection principles by creating an arbitrary distinction

between tipped and nontipped employees. We do not agree.

The Legislature could rationally determine (1) that, for

minimum wage purposes, employers should not receive the

benefits of gratuities that customers intend for the sole ben-

efit of employees and (2) that employers should not be

excused from the obligations of paying minimum wages to

certain employees upon the uncertain possibility that such

employees will in fact receive a predetermined amount of

tips for their services. (See generally Cal. Drive-in Restau-

rant Assn. Vv. Clark (1943) 22 Cal.2d 287, 295-300 [140

P.2d 657, 147 A.L.R. 1028]; Williams v. Terminal Co.

aesciillNcias

(1942) 315 U.S. 386, 388-389 [86 L.Ed. 914, 920-921, 62

S.Ct. 659]; id., at pp. 410-411 [86 L.Ed. at pp. 931-932]

(Black, J. dis.).) Although the employers also claim that

the absence of a lower minimum wage for tipped employees

is arbitrary in light of the credits which employers are given

for other ‘‘non-wage benefits,’’ e.g., meals provided by the

employer, there is an obvious distinction between the two

categories of “‘non-wage benefits’ in that the employer

makes a direct out-of-pocket expenditure for meals and the

like, whereas tips are paid by customers, not the employer.

Accordingly, we conclude that the minimum wage pro-

visions of wage orders 5-80 are not invalid in failing to

provide a differentiated minimum wage for tipped and non-

tipped employees.

(b) ‘‘Due process’’ challenge to orders 8-80, 13-80 and

14-80.

In the Stanislaus County case, numerous agricultural em-

ployers contend that the 1980 wage orders regulating ag-

ricultural industries violate due process, asserting in con-

clusory terms that the orders impose such ‘‘inflexible

overtime and work rules [that] many such employers will

not be able to operate efficiently or economically [and]

. will be forced out of business.’* The employers ad-

ditionally contend that in evaluating the constitutionality of

the wage order provisions, the judiciary should exercise de

novo review because the regulation may deprive the growers

of the right to practice a common occupation.

As the IWC suggests, the employers’ contentions in this

regard fly in the face of a long line of contrary. authority.

From at least as early as the United States Supreme Court

decision in West Coast Hotel Co. v. Parrish (1937) 300

U.S. 379 [81 L.Ed. 703, 57 S.Ct. 578, 108 A.L.R. 1330},

sustaining the constitutionality of a state minimum wage

—

law in the face of a similar due process challenge, the cases

have made clear that state regulations of minimum wages,

maximum hours and working conditions come to the courts

‘‘freighted with [a] strong presumption of regularity’’

(Ralphs Grocery Co. v. Reimel (1968) 69 Cal.2d 172, 175

(70 Cal.Rptr. 407, 442 P.2d 79]) and are not subject to

‘de novo’’ judicial review. As the court emphasized in

West Coast Hotel; ** ‘|T]imes without number we have said

that the legislature is primarily the judge of the necessity

of such an enactment, that every possible presumption is

in favor of its validity, and that though the court may hold

views inconsistent with the wisdom of the law, it may not

be annulled unless palpably in excess of legislative power.’ *’

(300 U.S. at p. 398 [81 L.Ed. at p. 712].)

Moreover, the authorities similarly declare that the ‘‘leg-

islative power’’ to regulate employment conditions is very

broad indeed, even though such regulations almost inevit-

ably impose some economic burden upon employers. Again,

as the Supreme Court stated in West Coast Hotel: *‘In deal-

ing with the relation of employer and employed, the leg-

islature has necessarily a wide field of discretion in order

that there may be suitable protection of health and safety,

and that peace and good order may be promoted through

regulations designed to insure wholesome conditions of

work and freedom from oppression.’ (/d., at p. 393 [81

L.Ed. at p. 709].) The employers completely fail to show

that the wage and hours regulations they attack are not

rationally related to these permissible state interests.

Indeed, although the agricultural employers complain

about the harshness of the wage orders applicable to their

industry, the fact of the matter is that the wage order relating

to agriculture appears to be particularly solicitous of the

interests of agricultural employers in several respects. Thus,

for example, wage order 14-80 provides for a longer work

ahs,

week for agricultural employees (ten-hour day, six-day

week) before the overtime premium applies, exempts grow-

ers from the requirement of providing specific places for

meal periods, changing rooms or rest facilities, and imposes

no temperature restrictions.

(c) ‘‘Undue hardship’’ .

In a corollary to the above ‘‘due process’’ argument, the

agricultural employers argue that orders 8-80, 13-80 and

14-80 are invalid because they impose an ‘‘undue hardship”’

on employers in violation of a provision of the 1973 leg-

islation which reads: ‘‘It is the intent of the Legislature in

enacting this act that the Industrial Welfare Commission

interpret these provisions in a manner which does not cause

undue hardship or loss of employment opportunities in any

segment of industry in California.’’ (Stats. 1973, ch. 1007,

§ 11, p. 2005.)

As already noted, however, the 1980 agricultural wage

orders give full consideration to the interests of both em-

ployees and employers, and provide numerous exemp-

tions—where the [WC found it appropriate—in recognition

of the commission’s responsibility to avoid ‘‘undue hard-

ship’’ to all affected individuals. The statutory language to

which the employers point makes it clear that the ‘‘undue

hardship’’ provision was not intended to grant courts the

prerogative of usurping the agency’s quasi-legislative func-

tion; the statute directs the /WC to interpret the provision

so as to forestall undue hardship. The employers fail to

demonstrate that the commission failed to give heed to the

guidance of this provision.

(d) Alleged conflict with section 554.

The agricultural employers additionally contend that sec-

tion 3(A) of orders 8-80 and 13-80 conflict with section 554

and are invalid. Section 3(A)(1) of each of these orders

requires that employees in the covered industries be given

a twenty-four hour period off after they have worked

seventy-two hours in any seven-day period,'” the employers

contend that this requirement is inconsistent with the pro-

visions of section 554 which exempt agricultural employees

from section 551’s statutory requirement of one day’s rest

in seven."”

The employers’ contention rests upon a fundamental

misconception of the relationship between the general stat-

utory provisions of sections 510-556 and the more specific

regulations embodied in IWC wage orders. Although section

1182 expressly provides that the maximum hours fixed by

IWC wage orders ‘‘shall not be more than the maximum

for employees in California’’ (italics added), the authorities

have uniformly held that ‘‘the Industrial Welfare Orders

may provide more restrictive provisions than are provided

by [the general] statutes adopted by the Legislature on this

subject [in sections 510-556]. .. .’’ (Italics added.) (2

Ops.Cal.Atty.Gen. 456, 457 (1943); accord Cal. Drive-in

Restaurant Assn. v. Clark, supra, 22 Cal.2d 287, 290-294,

cf. § 1356; Rivera v. Division of Industrial Welfare, supra,

265 Cal.App.2d 576, 599-601.) Thus, in the opinion cited

above, the Attorney General rejected a contention, similar

to that raised by the employers in the instant case, that the

provisions of section 556—exempting certain empleyees

from the statutory mandate of section 551—operated to pre-

"Section 3(A)(1) reads in relevant part: *‘An employee may work

up to a maximum of seventy-two (72) hours in any seven (7) consecutive

days after which the employee shall have a twenty-four hour period off

duty.’’

"Section 551 provides: ‘‘Every person employed in any occupation

of labor is entitled to one day’s rest therefrom in seven.”’

Section 554 provides in part: ‘*This chapter shall not apply to any

cases of emergency nor to work performed in the necessary care of

animals, crops or agricultural lands... ."’

clude the IWC from requiring employers to afford such

employees one day’s rest in seven. (2 Ops.Cal.Atty.Gen.

456, 458 (1943).)

Moreover, this conclusion is reinforced in the instant case

by the fact that the sections of the 1980 wage orders chal-

lenged by the employers have been part of the wage orders

of the industries in question since 1943. As the Court of

Appeal noted in Rivera about a similar wage order provision:

‘This long-continued and consistent administrative inter-

pretation has received at least silent acquiescence from the

Legislature. It supports the interpretation that the statutory

[provisions] . . : should not be construed to prevent it. The

courts will not depart from such an administrative construc-

tion unless it is clearly erroneous or unauthorized.” (Fn.

omitted.) (265 Cal.App.2d 576, 601.)

(e) Alleged conflict with section 1394, subdivision (a).

Finally, the agricultural employers contend that section

3(c) of order 13-80, regulating the hours of employment of

minors, conflicts with section 1394, subdivision (a) and is

invalid. As the IWC’s replication points out, however, the

employer's argument rests entirely upon an outdated version

of section 1394, subdivision (a) and completely ignores

recent amendments to section 1394 and the enactment of

section 1394.1. The employers have not demonstrated that

the 1980 wage orders conflict with the currently prevailing

Statutes.

8. Conclusion.

We are aware of the vexation that the managements of

many regulatea corporations must feel as to the multiple

controls an administrative society is compelled to impose

upon them. Perhaps this extensive regulation is the price

we pay for the very life of a society based upon the con-

=

glomerate and the mass producer. Yet the incidence of such

control hopefully should not endanger the very continuance

of those fundamental protections of the workers that trace

back over a half century and that the Legislature and re-

sponsible administrative officials have determined to be

necessary to the workers’ welfare. The likely chagrin of the

regulated should not obscure the underlying social need that

prompts the regulation.

For the reasons discussed at length above, we conclude

that none of the employers’ challenges to the IWC’s 1980

wage orders has merit.

Let a peremptory writ of mandate issue, directing the

respondent courts (1) to vacate the orders previously issued

staying the operation and effect of the challenged wage

orders and (2) to enter judgment in favor of the commission

in each of the underlying mandate actions.

Clark, J., Richardson, J., Manuel, J., Newman, J., Tay-

lor, J.,* and Racanelli, J.,* concurred.

*Assigned by the Chairperson of the Judicial Council,

APPENDIX B.

Notice of Appeal to the

Supreme Court of the United States

In the Supreme Court of the State of California. Industrial

Welfare Commission, et al., Petitioners, v. Kern County

Superior Court, et al., Respondents, California Hotel &

Motel Association, et al., Real Parties in Interest. No. S.F.

24123.

Filed: Aug. 4, 1980.

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that American Airlines,

Inc., Sierra Ski Areas Association, California Trucking

Association, California Manufacturers Association, Theatre

Association of California, Theatre Properties, Inc., Hitch-

ceck Transportation Co. and Corcoran Motor Transport,

Real Parties in Interest above-named, hereby appeal to the

Supreme Court of the United States from the final judgment

of the Supreme Court of the State of California, entered on

July 10, 1980, ordering the issuance of a peremptory writ

of mandate directing the Superior Courts above-named to

vacate previously issued orders staying the operation and

effect of challenged wage orders and to enter judgments in

favor of petitioners above-named.

This appeal is taken pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1257(2).

DATED: August 4, 1980.

RICHARD M. MOSK

MITCHELL, SILBERBERG & KNUPP

1800 Century Park East

Los Angeles, Ca. 90067

Telephone: (213) 553-5000

Attorneys for Theatre

Properties, Inc. and

Theatre Association of

California.

— =

WILLARD Z. CARR, JR.

KENNETH E. RISTAU, JR.

DENNIS A. GLADWELL

MARK Wm. SHURTLEFF

DONALD B. AYER

GIBSON, DUNN & CRUTCHER

660 Newport Center Drive

Suite 1600

Newport Beach, Ca. 92660

Telephone: (714) 759-3800

Attorneys for California

Manufacturers Association

JAN L. KAHN

KAHN & SOARES

Old Phone Building

217 North Douty Street

Hanford, Ca. 93230

Telephone: (209) 584-3337

RICHARD W. SMITH

1240 Bayshore Highway

Burlingame, Ca. 94010

Telephone: (415) 347-3651

Attorneys for Hitchcock

Transportation Co.,

Corcoran Motor Transport,

Inc. and California

Trucking Association

ao; Hamm

JEAN C. GASKILL

JAMES L. MEEDER

BROBECK, PHLEGER & HARRISON

One Market Plaza

Spear Street Tower

San Francisco, Ca. 94105

Telephone: (415) 442-0900

Attorneys for American

Airlines, Inc. and

Sierra Ski Areas

Association

/s/ JEAN C. GASKILL,

Jean C. Gaskill,

On behalf of all Real Parties

in Interest.

a te

Notice of Appeal to the

Supreme Court of the United States.

In the Supreme Court of the State of California. Industrial

Welfare Commission, et al., Petitioners, v. Kern County

Superior Court, et al., Respondents, California Hotel &

Motel Association, et al., Real Parties in Interest. No. S.F.

24123.

Filed: Aug. 5, 1980.

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that Real Party In Interest

United Airlines, Inc., hereby appeals to the Supreme Court

of the United States from the final judgment of the Supreme

Court of the State of California, entered on July 10, 1980,

ordering the issuance of a peremptory writ of mandate di-

recting the Superior Courts above-named to vacate previ-

ously issued orders and to enter judgments in favor of pe-

titioners above-named.

This appeal is taken pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1257(2).

DATED: August 5, 1980. —

JEAN C. GASKILL

JAMES L. MEEDER

BROBECK, PHLEGER & HARRISON

One Market Plaza

Spear Street Tower

San Francisco, CA 94105

Telephone: (415) 442-0900

By /s/ JAMES L. MEEDER,

JAMES L. MEEDER,

Attorneys for

United Airlines, Inc.

—_

APPENDIX C.

Amended Notice of Appeal to the

Supreme Court of the United States

In the Supreme Court of the State of California. Industrial

Welfare Commission, et al., Petitioners, v. Kern County

Superior Court, et al., Respondents, California Hotel &

Motel Association, et al., Real Parties in Interest. No. S.F.

24123.

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that United Air Lines,

Inc., American Airlines, Inc., Sierra Ski Areas Association,

California ‘Trucking Association, California Manufacturers

Association, Theatre Association of California, Theatre

Properties, Inc., Hitchcock Transportation Co. and Cor-

coran Motor Transport, Real Parties in Interest above-

named, hereby appeal to the Supreme Court of the United

States from the final judgment of the Supreme Court of the

State of California, entered on August 28, 1980, ordering

the issuance of a peremptory writ of mandate directing the

Superior Courts above-named to vacate previously issued

orders staying the operation and effect of challenged wage

orders to enter judgments in favor of petitioners above-

named. :

This appeal is taken pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1257(2).

DATED: September 3, 1980.

RICHARD M. MOSK

MITCHELL, SILBERBERG & KNUPP

1800 Century Park East

Los Angeles, CA 90067

Telephone: (213) 553-5000

Attorneys for Theatre

Properties, Inc. and

Theatre Association of

California.

ot eRe

WILLARD Z. CARR, JR.

KENNETH E. RISTAU, JR.

DENNIS A. GLADWELL

MARK Wm. SHURTLEFF

DONALD B. AYER

GIBSON, DUNN & CRUTCHER

660 Newport Center Drive

Suite 1600

Newport Beach, CA 92660

Telephone: (714) 759-3800

Attorneys for California

Manufacturers Association

JAN L. KAHN

KAHN & SOARES

Old Phone Building

217 North Douty Street

Hanford, CA 93230

Telephone: (209) 584-3337

RICHARD W. SMITH

1240 Bayshore Highway

Burlingame, CA 94010

Telephone: (415) 579-3538

Attorneys for Hitchcock

Transportation Co.,

Corcoran Motor Transport,

Inc. and California

Trucking Association

a

JEAN C. GASKILL

JAMES L. MEEDER

BROBECK, PHLEGER & HARRISON

Spear Street Tower

One Market Plaza

San Francisco, CA 94105

Telephone: (415) 442-0900

Attorneys for United Air

Lines, Inc., American Airlines,

Inc. and Sierra Ski Areas

Association

/s/ JEAN C. GASKILL

Jean C. Gaskill

On behalf of all Real Parties in

Interest

—_.,

APPENDIX D.

Order 1-80.

Article 7. Manufacturing Industry

(Order No. 1-80, Effective January 1, 1980)

11180. Order Governing Wages, Hours, and Working

Conditions in the Manufacturing Industry.

1. Applicability of Order. This Order shall apply to

all persons employed in the manufacturing industry whether

paid on a time, piece rate, commission, or other basis,

except that:

(A) Provisions of Section 3 through 12 shall not apply

to persons employed in administrative, executive, or profes-

sional capacities. No person shall be considered to be em-

ployed in an administrative, executive, or professional ca-

pacity unless one of the following conditions prevails:

(1) The employee is engaged in work which is primarily

intellectual, managerial, or creative, and which requires

exercise of discretion and independent judgment, and for

which the remuneration is not less than $900.00 per month;

or

(2) The employee is licensed or certified by the State

of California and is engaged in the practice of one of the

following recognized professions: law, medicine, dentistry ,

pharmacy, optometry, architecture, engineering, teaching,

or accounting.

(B) The provisions of this Order shall not apply to em-

ployees directly employed by the State or any county, in-

corporated city or town or other municipal corporation, or

to outside salespersons.

(C) Provisions of this Order shall not apply to any in-

dividual who is the parent, spouse, child, or legally adopted

child of the employer.

=

2. Definitions.

(A) ‘‘Commission’’ means the Industrial Welfare Com-

mission of the State of California.

(B) ‘‘Division’’ means the Division of Labor Standards

Enforcement of the State of California.

(C) ‘*Manutacturing Industry’’ means any industry,

business, or establishment operated for the purpose of pre-

paring, producing, making, altering, repairing, finishing,

processing, inspecting, handling, assembling, wrapping,

bottling, or packaging goods, articles, or commodities, in

whole or in part; EXCEPT when such activities are covered

by Orders in the: Canning, Preserving, and Freezing In-

dustry; Industries Handling Products After Harvest; Indus-

tries Preparing Agricultural Products for Market, on the

Farm; or Motion Picture Industry.

(D) ‘‘Employ’’ means to engage, suffer, or permit to

work.

(E) ‘‘Employee’’ means any person employed by an

employer.

(F) ‘‘Employer’’ means any person as defined in Sec-

tion 18 of the Labor Code, who directly or indirectly, or

through an agent or any other person, employs or exercises

control over the wages, hours, or working conditions of any

person.

(G) ‘‘Hours worked’ means the time during which an

employee is subject to the control of an employer, and

includes all the time the employee is suffered or permitted

to work, whether or not required to do so.

(H) ‘*Minor’’ means, for the purpose of this Order, any

person under the age of eighteen (18) years.

(1) ‘‘Qutside Salesperson’’ means any person, 18 years

of age or over, who customarily and regularly works more

than half the working time away from the employer's place

ee.

of business selling tangible or intangible items or obtaining

orders or contracts for products, services or use of facilities.

(J) ‘*Primarily’’ as used in Section 1, Applicability,

means more than one-half the employee’s work time.

(K) ‘‘Split shift’? means a work schedule which is in-

terrupted by non-paid non-working periods established by

the employer, other than bona fide rest or meal periods.

(L) **Teaching’’ means, for the purpose of Section |

of this Order, the profession of teaching under a certificate

from the Commission for Teaching Preparation and Licen-

sing or teaching in an accredited college or university.

(M) ‘‘Wages’’ means all amounts paid for labor per-

formed by employees of every description, whether the

amount is fixed or ascertained by the standard of time, task,

piece, commission basis or other method of calculation.

(N) ‘*Workday’’ means any consecutive 24 hours be-

ginning at the same time each calendar day.

(O) ‘‘Workweek’’ means any seven (7) consecutive

days, starting with the same calendar day each week.

‘*Workweek”’ is a fixed and regularly recurring period of

168 hours, seven (7) consecutive 24-hour periods.

3. Hours and Days of Work.

(A) Noemployee eighteen (18) years of age or over nor

any minor permitted to work as an adult as provided in

(C) (1) shall be employed more than eight (8) hours in any

one workday or more than forty (40) hours in any workweek

unless the employee receives one and one-half (

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.