Petition — Nelson Oil Co. v. Shell Oil Co.

Supreme Court brief1980

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

te Supreme Court, U.S,

« FILED

80-519 OCT 2 1980

NO

| MICHAEL RODAK IR, CLERK

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1980

NELSON OIL COMPANY, INC.,

Petitioner,

-vs-

SHELL OIL COMPANY,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIROARI TO THE

TEMPORARY EMERGENCY COURT OF APPEALS

DAVID LAUFER,

Counsel of Record

KENNETH P. ROBERTS

JAMES H. LEHR

Of LAUFER AND ROBERTS

Attorneys for Petitioner

15760 Ventura Boulevard

Suite 1825

Crocker Bank Building

Encino, California 91436

(213) 990-6633

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Temporary Emergency

Court Of Appeals erred in sanctioning

the District Court's exercise of juris-

diction, in light of the fact that the

case had already been remanded to state

court, and in violation of 28 U.S.C.

§1447(d).

2. Whether the Temporary Emergency

Court of Appeals erred in affirming the

District Court's failure to defer the

substantive issues herein to the primary

jurisdiction of the Department of Energy,

in light of the failure of the District

Court to consider Petitioner's competi-

tive viability as an independent marke-

ter of gasoline, and in light of the

Department of Energy's statutory obliga-

tion to do so.

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1980

NO.

NELSON OIL COMPANY, INC.,

Petitioner,

-vs-

SHELL OIL COMPANY,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

TEMPORARY EMERGENCY COURT OF APPEALS,

To The Honorable Chief Justice and

Associate Justices of the Supreme Court

of the United States:

Nelson Oil Company, the Petitioner

herein, prays that a writ of certiorari

issue to review the judgment of the

Temporary Emergency Court of Appeals en-

tered in the above-entitled case on

July 21, 1980.

ii

-

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

OPINION BELOW

JURISDICTION

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

INVOLVED

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THE TRIAL OF THIS ACTION IN

FEDERAL COURT WAS ERROR AND

IN EXCESS OF JURISDICTION,

BECAUSE A PRIOR DISTRICT COURT

HAD REMANDED THE ACTION TO

STATE COURT AND, PURSUANT TO

28 U.S S.C. §1447 Ta), SUCH ORDERS

ARE FINAL.

A. THE PRIOR ORDER OF THE

DISTRICT COURT REMANDING

THIS ACTION TO STATE

COURT WAS RES JUDICATA

ON THE QUESTION OF THE

PROPER FORUM.

B. THE ECONOMIC STABILIZATION

ACT DOES NOT PERMIT A CIR-

CUMVENTION OF 28 U.S.C.

§1447(d); DEFENSES BASED

iii

UPON THE ACT MAY BE HEARD

IN STATE COURT.

C. SHELL HAS IMPROPERLY USED

THE REMOVAL PROCEDURE FOR

THE PURPOSE OF FRUSTRAT-

ING TIMELY ACCESS TO STATE

COURT.

II. THE DISTRICT COURT AND TECA

ERRED IN INTERPRETING AND

APPLYING THE CERTIFICATION

REGULATION WITHOUT FIRST -

FERRING THE ISSUE TO THE DOE

AND IN A MANNER INCOMPATIBLE

WITH THE EMERGENCY PETROLEUM

ALLOCATION ACT.

CONCLUSION

iv

16

20

27

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

American Fire & Casualty Co. v.

Finn,

341 U.S. 6, 95 L.Ed. 702 (1951)

Ashland Oil Corp. v. Federal

Energy Administration,

389 F.Supp. [119 (N.D. Cal. 1975)

Chandler v. O'Bryan,

445 F.2d 1045 Cloth Cir. 1971)

Coan v. State of California,

ll Cal.3d 2660, 520 P.2d 1003 (1974)

Eastern Air Lines, Inc. v. Mobil

Oil Corp.,

403 F.Supp. 757 (S.D. Fla. 1975)

Exxon Corp. v. Federal Energy

Administration,

417 F.Supp. 516 (D. N.J. 1975)

Far East Conference v. United

States,

342 U.S. 570, 96 L.Ed. 576 (1951)

Hampton House Management Corp. v.

Saleh,

357 F.Supp. 591 (S.D. N.Y. 1973)

Missouri Pac. Ry. Co. v.

Fitzgerald,

306 Uce. see, 26' S.Ct. 369,

40 L.Ed. 536 (1896)

15

22

Cases

Mobil Oil Corp... v. Federal

Ener Administration,

566 F.2d 67 (TECA 1977)

Morey v. Lockhart,

123 U.S. 56, 31 L.Ed. 68 (1887)

Nelson Oil Co. v. Shell Oil Co.,

Los Angeles Superior Court No.

C271545 (currently pending)

Orange & Rockland Utilities, Inc.

v. Howard Oil Co., 416 F.Supp.

460 (S.D. N.Y. 1976)

Owen Equipment & Erection Co. v.

Kroger,

7 U.S. 365, 57 L.Ed.2d 274 (1978)

Robertson v. Ball,

534 F.2d 63, (5th Cir. 1976)

Shell Oil Co. v. Nelson Oil Co.,

(TECA No. 9-47, Slip opinion,

July 21, 1980)

Terrell Oil Corp. v. Atlantic

Richfield Co.,

468 F.Supp. 860 (E.D. Tenn. 1978)

Thermtron Products, Inc. v.

Hermansdorfer,

423 U.S. 336, 46 L.Ed.2da 542

(1976)

vi

19

a5

22

Federal Statutes

10 U.S.C. §211.13(f)

12 U.S.C. §1904 note §210

12 U.S.C. §1904 note §211

15 U.S.C. §751

15 U.S.C. §753(b) (1) (D)

15 U.S.C. §754(a) (1)

28 U.S.C. §1254(1)

28 U.S.C. §1447(d)

Miscellaneous

Department of Energy Notice of

Rulemaking Proceeding,

44 Fed. Reg. 69962 (Dec. 5, 1979)

Exec. Order 11748,

33575 (Dec. 6,

39 Fed. Reg.

1973)

H. R. Rep. No. 93-531, 93d Cong.,

lst Sess. (1973); reprinted in

[1973] U.S. Code Cong. & Admin.

News 2582

vii

27

20

24

7F

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Temporary Emer-

gency Court of Appeals is unreported

and is reproduced in Appendix A.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Temporary Emer-

gency Court of Appeals was entered on

July 21, 1980. The Petition for Rehear-

ing was denied on September 9, 1980.

The jurisdiction of the Supreme Court is

invoked under 28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

The following statutes and regula-

tions should be considered in determining

the issues herein, the pertinent texts

of which are reproduced in the Appendix:

1. The Economic Stabilization

Act of 1970, 12 U.S.C. §1904, note

§§210, 211;

2. The Emergency Petroleum

i.

Allocation Act of 1973, 15 U.S.C. §751 et

seq. (Appendix H) ;

3. 28 U.S.C. §1447(d) (Appendix

I);

4, 10 C.F.R. §211.13(f) (Ap-

pendix J).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Nelson is a Shell-branded indepen-

dent marketer, or "jobber", and franchi-

see of Shell, an integrated refiner and

distributor of petroleum products. Nel-

son filed a complaint against Shell in

California state court, on September 22,

1978, for unfair competition, fraud and

other unfair business practices in con-

nection with Shell's efforts to horizon-

tally control the marketing of Shell gas-

Oline in California. Shell removed the

complaint to federal court and filed a

counterclaim, asserting jurisdiction pur-

2.

7%

suant to, inter alia, the Economic Sta-

bilization Act of 1970, 12 U.S.C. §1904,

note §210 and the Emergency Petroleum

Allocation Act of 1973 ["EPAA"], 15

U.S.C. §754(a) (1).

Shell's counterclaim included an

allegation that Nelson had violated 10

C.F.R. §211.13(f£), which, Shell contend-

ed, required Nelson to "downward certi-

fy" or reduce the Department of Energy

["DOE"]-ordered allocation that Nelson

was entitled to receive from Shell, if

Nelson's customers' needs declined.

Nelson and the amicus below contested

this interpretation. Although requested

by Shell, the DOE has never issued any

order requiring Nelson to downward cer-

tify.

For the sake of clarity, it should

be noted in this regard that this Peti-

.

.-. |

tion raises only the questions of who is

the proper body to determine the meaning

and application of the regulation and the

manner in which such determination is to

be made; this Petition does not seek this

Court's determination of the meaning of

the regulation.

The District Court (Honorable Robert

Firth), on December 27, 1978, remanded

the removed complaint, as well as Shell's

counterclaim, for adjudication in the

state court, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1447

(c). (Appendix E).

Rather than proceed in state court,

Shell refiled its counterclaim in the

District Court (Honorable Manuel Real)

aS a complaint, on February 20, 1979, al-

leging the same claims that had appeared

in its counterclaim, less one count.

Nelson brought motions to dismiss,

4.

|

on the grounds that the regulatory issues

should be heard by the Department of En-

ergy, and because Judge Firth had already

remanded the entire proceedings to state

court. Both motions were denied.

The action proceeded to trial. At

the conclusion of the trial, the court

awarded Shell:

1. Money damages of

$617,308.98, representing the profit of

3.02 cents per gallon that Shell would

have made if it had sold the gasoline

through its dealers instead of through

an independent ,obber.

2. Immediate reduction of Nel-

son's DOE allocation from Shell by

17,935,929 gallons annually (approxi-

mately 40% of Nelson's gasoline supply),

without regard to the new 1977-1978 base

period set by DOE regulations.

5.

3. <A declaratory judgment that

Shell could give notice to Nelson of ter-

mination of its franchise (this issue is

now pending in the Ninth Circuit Court

of Appeals) (Appendices C, D).

Nelson appealed the judgment to the

Temporary Emergency Court of Appeals

["TECA"], arguing, inter alia, that the

District Court lacked subject matter jur-

isdiction because Shell's complaint was

identical to its prior counterclaim,

which had been remanded to state court,

and that the regulatory issues should

have been deferred to the primary jur-

isdiction of the DOE. The TECA affirmed

the judgment on July 21, 1980 (Appendix

A). On September 9, 1980, Nelson's Peti-

tion for Rehearing was denied (Appendix

B).

vy

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I

THE TRIAL OF THIS ACTION IN

FEDERAL COURT WAS ERROR AND

IN EXCESS OF JURISDICTION,

BECAUSE A PRIOR DISTRICT COURT

HAD REMANDED THE ACTION TO

STATE COURT AND, PURSUANT TO

28 U.S.C. §1447(d), SUCH ORDERS

ARE FINAL.

A. THE PRIOR ORDER OF THE

DISTRICT COURT REMANDING

THIS ACTION TO STATE

COURT WAS RES JUDICATA

ON THE QUESTION OF THE

PROPER FORUM,

The TECA committed error in af-

firming the judgment of the District

Court, because the District Court had no

subject matter jurisdiction. This is so

because a different District Court had

previously remanded the action, including

Sheil's counterclaim, to state court, and

that order is final and not reviewable.

The statute controlling proce-

dure after removal, 28 U.S.C. §1447(d),

7.

provides:

"An order remanding a

case to the state court from

which it was removed is not

reviewable on aPRSeS or

otherwise ....,

By refiling its remanded counter-

claim as a complaint in another Dis-

trict Court, Shell circumvented the

provisions and purpose of 28 U.S.C.

§1447(d). This court and other courts

have long recognized that once an ac-

tion improperly removed to federal

court is remanded to state court, it

must remain in state court for adjudi-

cation:

"[S]o far as the ques-

tion of a forum in which a

cause is to be litigated is

concerned, the determination

of a federal district court

that a cause is not removable

and remanding it to a state

court is final. Missouri Pac.

Ry. Co. v. Fitzgerald, 160

U.S. 556, 583, te S.Ct. 389,

40 L.Ed. 536 (1896)... .

[The Order to Remand] is

8.

res judicata as to any further

attempts to litigate the same

issues in a federal court."

——_—_—-

Chandler v. O'Bryan, 445 F.2d

1045, 1057 (10th Cir. 1971)

(emphasis added).

The TECA itself acknowledged both

that Shell's counterclaim had been re-

manded to state court and that Shell's

federal complaint was identical to its

remanded counterclaim:

"The claims stated by

Shell in its complaint were

Originally pleaded in a

counterclaim against Nelson

in an action charging unfair

competition brought by Nel-

son. Shell removed the case

to federal court and there-

upon filed its counterclaim.

That case was remanded to

state court in December,

1978." (TECA No. 9-47, Slip

op. at 4, n.l, July 21, 1980)

(Appendix A).

The Court has always been wary

of improper attempts to invoke feder-

al jurisdiction. In American Fire &

Casualty Co. v. Finn, 341 U.S. 6, 95

9.

L.Ed. 702 (1951), this Court stated:

"The jurisdiction of the

federal courts is carefully

guarded against expansion by

judicial interpretation or by

prior action or consent of

the parties. To permit a

federal trial court to enter

a judgment in a case removed

without right from a state

court. . . [would] work a

wrongful extension of feder-

al jurisdiction and give

federal courts a power the

Congress has denied them."

Id. at 17-18 (emphasis added)

(reversing judgment and order-

ing remand to state court).

By permitting Shell to refile its

remanded counterclaim as a complaint,

the District Court and TECA have sanc~

tioned a circumvention of 28 U.S.C.

§1447(d) that constitutes error, and

requires this Court's attention. As

this Court stated in Owen Equipment &

Erection Co. v. Kroger, 437 U.S. 365,

374, 57 L.Ed.2d 274 (1978):

"It is a fundamental

precept that federal courts

10.

ie

are courts of limited juris-

diction. The limits upon

federal jurisdiction, wheth-

er imposed by the Constitu-

tion or by Congress, must be

neither disregarded nor

evaded." (emphasis added)

(reversing Court of Appeals).

Since the first District Court had

already remanded Shell's counterclaim to

state court, there was no basis for its

subsequent adjudication as a "complaint"

in another federal court. The decisions

of this Court and the provisions of 28

U.S.C. §1447(d) require that the action

should have remained in state court and

that there was no possibility of feder-

al jurisdiction.

The rifth Circuit has noted:

"[O]nce the federal dis-

trict court considers the pro-

per factors and decides to re-

mand, the action should go for-

ward in state court without the

further delay of appeal, and

without regard to whether the

federal district court was cor-

rect or incorrect." Robertson

ll.

v. Ball, 534 F.2d 63, 66, n.1,

(5th Cir. 1976); see Thermtron

Products, Inc. v. Hermansdor-

fer, 423 U.S. 336, 343, 46 L.Ed.

2d 542 (1976) (rule well estab-

lished since 1887).

B. THE ECONOMIC STABILIZATION

ACT DOES NOT PERMIT A CIR-

CUMVENTION OF 28 U.S.C.

§1447(d); DEFENSES BASED

UPON THE ACT MAY BE HEARD

IN STATE COURT.

Based upon the discussion, supra,

it is clear that Shell's counterclaim

should have remained in state court.

The TECA, however, excused Shell's re-

filing of the remanded counterclaim

aS a complaint in federal court,

stating:

"Because federal courts

have exclusive jurisdiction

over the claims raised by

Shell, (Economic Stabilization

Act of 1970, §210 12 U.S.C.

§1904 note) Shell filed an

independent action in federal

court following the remand in

Order to pursue its claim in

the proper forum."

(TECA No. 9-47, Slip op. at 4,

12.

7s

n.l, July 21, 1980). (Appendix

A).

The TECA's statement that Shell's

remanded counterclaim had to be refiled

in federal court as a complaint, be-’

cause federal courts have exclusive

jurisdiction over issues involving the

Economic Stabilization Act, is mis-

taken. The issue was addressed in

Hampton House Management Corp. v. Saleh,

357 F.Supp. 591 (S.D. N.Y. 1973).

In Hampton, the defendant had re-

moved the case and asserted, in a motion

for injunctive relief, that federal jur-

isdiction existed under the provisions

of the Economic Stabilization Act. Id.

at 592. Examining the language of the

Act, the court disagreed:

"[D]efendant overlooks

the exception expressly pro-

vided by [12 U.S.C. §1904,

note §211]:

'(NJothing in this sub-

1b

section . . . affects the

power of any court of compe-

tent jurisdiction to consi-

der, hear, and determine any

issue by way of defense

(other than a defense based

on the constitutionality of

this title or the validity

of action taken by any agency

under this title) raised in

any proceeding before such

court,’

"Thus, while the District

Court enjoys exclusive juris-

diction to entertain an origi-

nal action arising under the

1970 Act, it shares concurrent

jurisdiction with the State

Court to hear defenses predi-

cated on the Act when raised

in actions originally brought

on other theories. ...

In the State Court action

herein, plaintiff is not seek-

ing any determination concern-

ing any federal agency action;

should defendant wish to as-

sert such a claim, the statute

expressly authorizes its adju=

dication by the State Court.

357 F.Supp. at 592-93 (empha-

Sis added) (remanding case

to state court).

Thus, the TECA's statement that

Shell had to refile its remanded coun-

terclaim as a complaint "in order to

14.

pursue its claims in the proper forum"

(Slip op. at 4, n.1l) is contradicted

by the actual language of the Act.

See also Coan v. State of California,

ll Cal.3d 286, 289-90, 520 P.2d 1003

(1974).

Finally, there is no question here

that Shell's counterclaim was remanded

to the state court for adjudication.

The remanding District Court ordered:

"IT IS HEREBY ORDERED

that the minute order dated

December 14, 1978, and Order

of Remand dated December 27,

1978, be corrected to show

that the counterclaim of

Shell Oil Company was re-

manded to the Superior Court

in and for Riverside County,

State of California, along

with all other proceedings

in this action." (emphasis

added) (Appendix E).

In summary, it should first be

noted that even the TECA has recog-

nized that Shell's complaint is iden-

15.

il

tical to its remanded counterclaim.

(Slip op. at 4, n.l; Appendix A). In-

deed, the only ground advanced by TECA

for sanctioning the District Court's

assumption of jurisdiction was, in fact,

a misinterpretation of the pertinent

provisions of the Economic Stabilization

Act. Shell has truly had its way with

28 U.S.C. §1447(d); it has, in effect,

rendered the statute a nullity, some-

thing to be ignored with impunity when-

ever tactical considerations might bring

an advantage in doing so. By ef fective-

ly sanctioning this tactic over the pro-

tests of Nelson, the District Court and

TECA have so departed from the "accepted

and usual course of judicial proceedings"

as to require exercise of this Court's

power of supervision.

C. SHELL HAS IMPROPERLY USED

THE REMOVAL PROCEDURE FOR

16.

THE PURPOSE OF FRUSTRAT-

ING TIMELY ACCESS TO STATE

COURT.

This Court has traditionally con-

cerned itself with preventing abuses of

28 U.S.C. §1447(d). The continuing need

for such concern is dramatized by Shell's

procedural tactics in the instant case.

After the federal District Court

remanded this case to the state court,

the state court granted a motion for

partial summary adjudication of issues

determining that Nelson had the right to

sell Shell branded gasoline throughout

the State of California. Nelson then

filed a motion to determine the illegal-

ity of Shell's restriction on Nelson.

While this motion was pending, and before

hearing on said motion, Shell again re-

moved the action to the federal District

Court. Upon motion of Nelson the action

17.

was again remanded to state court, but

only after considerable delay and avoid-

ance of a hearing on the summary adjudi-

cation motion. Shell certainly appears

to have made the tactical decision to

remove as a means of preventing a timely

hearing of Nelson's motion.

These delaying tactics have consis-

tently been criticized by the Court:

"The removal jurisdiction

extended by Congress works a

significant interference in

the conduct of litigation com-

menced in state court. While

Congress felt that making avail-

able a federal forum in some in-

stances justifies some such in-

terruption and delay, it obvi-

ously thought it equally impor-

tant that when removal to a

federal court is not warranted

the case should be returned to

the state court as expeditious-

ly as possible. If this bal-

anced concern is disregarded,

federal removal provisions may

become a device affording liti-

gants a means of substantially

delaying justice,

* * *

18.

-

"Congress balanced the continu-

al disruption and delay caused

by further review against the

minimal possible harm to the

party attempting removal -- who

will stiil receive a trial on

the merits before a state court

which cannot be presumed to be

unwilling or unable to afford

substantial justice -- and con-

cluded that no review should be

permitted in these cases."

Thermtron Products, Inc. v. Her-

mansdorfer, 423 U.S. 336, 354-55,

46 pe npc 542 pitirs (Rehnquist,

J., dissenting) citing Morey v.

Lockhart, 123 U.S. >. ee a

L.Ed. 68 (1887).

The rule that an order remanding an

action to state court is final is not a

harsh one; Shell is entitled to and

should pursue its defenses in state

court. On the other hand, however, the

removal statutes should not be used as

a means of preventing timely relief in

state court. Otherwise, both fairness

to the plaintiff, as well as the orderly

functioning of the courts, are threat-

ened.

19,

Il

THE DISTRICT COURT AND TECA

ERRED IN INTERPRETING AND ~

APPLYING THE CERTIFICATION

REGULATION WITHOUT FIRST RE-

FERRING THE ISSUE TO THE DOE,

AND IN A MANNER INCOMPATIBLE

WITH THE EMERGENCY PETROLEUM

ALLOCATION ACT.

In considering the correctness of

the District Court's interpretation of

10 C.F.R. §211.13(f£) -- and, indeed,

whether it was even proper for the court

to attempt any interpretation without

prior guidance by the DOE -- it must

first be recognized that the author and

primary enforcer of regulations promul-

gated pursuant to the authority of the

Emergency Petroleum Allocation Act

["EPAA"], 15 U.S.C. §751 et seg., is the

DOE. Id. §754(d); Exec. Order 11748,

39 Fed. Reg. 33575 (Dec. 6, 1973).

Assuming arguendo that the District

20.

Court properly exercised jurisdiction in

the first place (see Argument I, supra),

the proper course would have been to

postpone exercise of that jurisdiction

and defer to the DOE for initial deter-

mination of the downward certification

issue. This is especially so, given the

particular circumstances of the case at

bar.

The classic statement of the prin-

ciples underlying the doctrine of pri-

1/

mary jurisdiction, still vital today,

was made by Mr. Justice Frankfurter:

"[I]n cases raising

issues of fact not within

the conventional experience

of judges or cases requir-

ing the exercise of admin-

istrative discretion, agen-

cies created by Congress

for regulating the subject

l/ For a good recent discussion of this

~ doctrine, including numerous cita-

tions, see Terrell Oil Corp. v. At-

lantic Richfield Co., 468 F.Supp.

860 (E.D. Tenn. 1978).

21.

matter should not be passed

over." Far East Conference

v. United States, 342 U.S.

570, 574-75, 96 L.Ed. 576

(1951) (emphasis added)

Preliminary resort to the primary

jurisdiction of an administrative agency

has been particularly useful to courts

confronted with the complex regulatory

scheme that has developed under the EPAA.

See, e.g., Terrell Oil Corp. v. Atlantic

Richfield Co., 468 F.Supp. 860, 865 (E.D.

Tenn. 1978) (staying district court ac-

tion pending review of issues by Federal

Energy Administration); Orange & Rockland

Utilities, Inc. v. Howard Oil Co., 416

F.Supp. 460, 466 (S.D. N.Y. 1976) (stay-

ing trial until FEA has opportunity to

rule on interpretation of regulations) ;

Eastern Air Lines, Inc. v. Mobil Oil

Corp., 403 F.Supp. 757, 759 (S.D. Fla.

1975) (staying action pending interpre-

22.

tation of regulations by FEA).

It is significant that, despite

Shell's repeated attempts to obtain a

DOE order requiring Nelson to downward

certify, for the same reasons argued by

Shell before the District Court and the

TECA, the DOE determined not to issue

such an eae”

The reason why the District Court

should have stayed the proceedings pend-

ing an explicit determination of the cer-

tification issue by the DOE, is indi-

cated in the provisions of the EPAA,.

Under the Act, 15 U.S.C. §753(b) (1) (D),

DOE is charged with providing, "to the

maximum extent possible", for the:

"Preservation of an econo-

mically sound and competitive

petroleum industry .. . and

to preserve the competitive

viability of independent re-

27 TECA No. 9-47, Slip op. at 4, July

21, 1980 (Appendix A); R.T. Vol. 3,

pp. 545-47.

23.

finers, small refiners, non-

branded independent marketers,

and branded independent market-

ers." See Exxon Corp. V. Fed-

eral Energy Administration, 417

F.Supp. 516, 522 (D. N.J. 1975);

Ashland Oil Corp. v. Federal En-

ergy Administration, 389 F.Supp.

rite; 1126 (N.D. Cal. 1975).

The singular importance of this -

Congressional mandate is manifest in the

legislative history of the EPAA. The

Act was designed to correct the shortages

and dislocations in the petroleum dis~

tribution system, resulting, in part,

from the refusal of the major oil com-

panies to follow a voluntary program

aimed at sharing the supplies of scarce

energy resources, See H.R. Rep. No. 93-

531, 93d Cong., lst Sess. (1973); re-

printed in [1973] U.S. Code Cong. & Ad-

min. News 2582, 2587-89; see generally

Mobil Oil Corp. v. Federal Energy Admin-

istration, 566 F.2d 87 (TECA, 1977).

24.

As seen from the explicit objectives

of the Act, as mandated by Congress, the

DOE must consider various factors in the

course of its deliberations, before a

particular regulation may be enforced in

a particular context. Primary among

these factors is that of preserving com-

petition.

Nelson introduced internal Shell

memoranda, in its pending state action,

demonstrating that Shell's foremost con-

cern throughout this dispute has been

to curb the competition of Nelson in

southern jiksbiieds = Given the objec-

tives of the EPAA, it is more than like-

ly that the reason why the DOE refrained

37 Exhibits "D", "E", and "F" to Nelson's

~ Memorandum of Points and Authorities

in Support of Motion for Partial Sum-

mary Adjudication of Issues, Nelson

Oil Co., Inc. v. Shell Oil Co., et

al., Los Angeles Superior Court No.

C 271545.

25.

from giving Shell the relief it sought

(which the District Court nonetheless

granted) was precisely because of the

competition generated by Nelson.

This position is underscored by the

amicus briefs submitted to the TECA by

the Society of Independent Gasoline Mar-

keters of America. The amicus demon-

strated that the District Court's inter-

pretation of 10 C.F.R. §211.13(f£) would

adversely affect not only Nelson's abil-

ity to meet its supply obligations under

other DOE regulations, but also the needs

of Nelson's customers and the general

public. This result is, of course, ex-

actly the opposite of that which the EPAA

was enacted to prevent.

In these circumstances, it was re-

versible error for the District Court to

render judgment based upon its interpre-

26.

tation of a DOE regulation, without the

initial guidance of the DOE. There was

no consideration given to the effects on

competition or the needs of Nelson's

customers and consumers in general.

Finally, the District Court's action ap-

pears to contradict the course chosen by

the DOE. This latter point, itself suf-

ficient to require deferral of the cer-

tification issue to the primary juris-

diction of the DOE, is all the more sig-

nificant because, as the District Court

and the TECA were informed by Nelson,

the DOE is currently engaged in rulemak-

ing proceedings that are considering

generally«the question of downward cer-

tification. 44 Fed. Reg. 69962.

CONCLUSION

The District Court had no jurisdic-

tion over the instant case because the

2i. °

entire proceedings had already been re-

manded for adjudication in state court.

Even if the District Court's assump-

tion of jurisdiction is deemed proper,

for the sake of argument, its judgment,

and the TECA's affirming of the judgment,

constitute reversible error. This is be-

cause the Court's interpretation and

application of 10 C.F.R. §211.13(f) is

inherently incompatible with the re-

quirements of the EPAA, 15 U.S.C. §753

(b) (1) (D). Assuming the District Court

had jurisdiction, it should have stayed

the proceedings and deferred the ques-

tion of the meaning and application of

the certification regulation to the DOE.

This is particularly so because the DOE

is currently in the midst of rulemaking

proceedings on the subject, is the auth-

or and prime enforcer of the regulations,

28.

and because, despite Shell's requests to

do so, has refrained from ordering Nel-

son to downward certify.

For these reasons, Petitioner re-

spectfully requests this Court to reverse

the anidiniliinds and dismiss Shell's action,

or alternatively, to reverse the judg-

ment with directions to stay further

proceedings pending a determination by

DOE as to the certification requirements.

Respectfully submitted,

DAVID LAUFER,

Counsel of Record

KENNETH P. ROBERTS

JAMES H. LEHR

Of LAUFER AND ROBERTS,

Attorneys for Petitioner

29.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.