Petition — Georgia Power Co. v. 138.30 Acres of Land

Supreme Court brief1980

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

80-255 Spm bat Te

FILED

AUG2 0 1980

ferent, LLERK

In the Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1980

GEORGIA POWER COMPANY,

Petitioner,

VS.

138.30 ACRES OF LAND and MILDRED

B. SANDERS, ET AL..,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

WALLACE MILLER, JR.

Counsel of Record

W. WARREN PLOWDEN, JR.

500 First National Bank Building

Macon, Georgia 31298

(912) 745-2821

Attorneys for Petitioner

E. L. MENDENHALL, Inv., 926 Cherry Street, Kansas City, Mo. 64106, (816) 421-8080

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the just compensation clause of the fifth

amendment, rather than the law of the forum state, governs

the measure of compensation in condemnation proceedings

brought in a federal district court under the right of

eminent domain delegated to federal licensees by Section

21 of the Federal Power Act.

PARTIES

The parties to this proceeding in the court of appeals

were as follows:

Georgia Power Company;

138.30 Acres of Land in Land Lot 327 of the Third

Land District, 389th GM District, Putnam County, Georgia;

Mildred B. Sanders, a/k/a Mrs. Carl D. Sanders, Jr.;

Brannen McCarthy Sanders;

Carl Walton Sanders;

377.61 Acres of Land in Land Lots 367, 368, 369, 377,

378, 379, 380, 381, 382 and 383 of the Third Land District,

389th GM District, Putnam County, Georgia;

Nellie W. Larman;

532.82 Acres of Land in the 145th GM District, Green

County, Georgia;

Clifford H. Dyer, Jr.;

J.P. Dyer III; and

George M. Dyer.

III

TABLE OF CONTENTS

I ec ccespemisipaieneinasinian I

i. , cceneapiianigneenbianantiuunnapennehegs I

an SESE ya RRO ca 1

EE Se RE RYOTE ORL Se 2

Constitutional Provision and Statute Involved .............. 2

I I sscdsncntesidbondenssationsntiodesncesave 3

Reasons for Granting the Wit ......0..2.0......ccccseecceeeseeeeeees 5

i ecient bepicobalabeloalbonasiiens 12

i gschesdesunidiccgebcansniphiannivinaensntcteanientsaiben Al

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Arnett v. Kennedy, 416 U.S. 134 (1974) 00 eee eee 8

Bauman v. Ross, 167 U.S. 548 (1897) 2.0... eeeeeceeeeeeeeeee 6

Boswell v. Georgia Power Company, 440 U.S. 907

(1979) ....... diese ticstaiilialoc\atdRctit dn onntaiinintescslblianuns 3,9

Clearfield Trust Co. v. United States, 318 U.S. 363

(1943) SC MRSA its hlitsiiapesicinipeaghtigei 4

Dohany v. Rogers, 281 U.S. 362 (1930) 220.022... eeeeeees 11

Georgia Power Company v. 54.20 Acres of Land, et al.,

UE BO AD Gat. LOTT) cncesccscccccensccccsccsnsnassontonsotetiose 3

Georgia Power Company v. 138.30 Acres of Land, et al.,

SE ME. 0D GLE, BITD) ccccccccececccnsercecnsnseeesoscosssecsiocs 3-4

Georgia Power Company v. Sanders, 617 F.2d 1112 (5

ISR ee 4

Kohl v. United States, 91 U.S. 367 (1876) .....00.020020000..-.. 5

Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch) 137 (1803) ...... 7

_ PREVIOUS PAGE WAS BLANK

y%

IV

Monongahela Navigation Company v. United States,

A ee I ita kincaid rapapdiintdacncavecssenecdiccunenas 7,10

Olsen v. United States, 292 U.S. 246 (1934) ~....40000002..... 6

Richmond Elks Hall Association v. Richmond Rede-

velopment Agency, 561 F.2d 1327 (9 Cir. 1977) ........ 11

United States v. 9.17 Acres of Land, etc., C.A. No. 79-

I MN MD Cassis cat Sidee ae ssccdesopaceeetienaumpeee 10

United States v. 146.60 Acres of Land, etc., C.A. No. 78-

SOU We NG icc ce tls ac cncinbn catsnshcenntetidedacelaveiadeabees 10

United States v. Fuller, 409 U.S. 488 (1973) -....0002000... 6

United States v. Gerlach Live Stock Co., 339 U.S. 725

fhe EE RE RNa Mpc ORS RIE NII RE PIED, ROU IE 7

United States v. Kimbell Foods, Inc., 440 U.S. 715

Py ERE EC EN HE Eas ACS EN RA aes eT Oa aL oR NO 4

United States v. Miller, 317 U.S. 369 (1943) 0000... 6, 11

CONSTITUTION, STATUTES AND RULES

Rs A IIS I dickies sdecnchinnmpertiethtlntndcannssninunnonns 2,5, 10, 11

Federal Power Act, Ch. 285, Section 1, 41 Stat. 1063,

16 U.S.C. §792, et seq.—

I BG Tite BOT) cocscsiccsceciccecscscciecccdscosseaee 10

Bactides 31,26 WEG, GONG occ sccesckccnseseaccnrssveccenves 2,4, 5,6

Uniform Relocation Assistance and Real Property A¢-

quisition Policies Act of 1970, 42 U.S.C. §4601,

DE I seesnssteccncssapicsevesearssenescsnmetcbssstinstebeiesssbiossnnssoteosinasoseoses 7

FE I Meet eit Mi cicisthevssitcpieaiossiceguninilopistebage ecnisnes 4)

EE thins vectra tacicnabbiiistanctsinciasabcntsaiteusinserbeetncs. 5)

Be EY MEINE TES scureceussvaucrasiapinbbiertoehscuighudseebensbisadeonmoscatesie 2

Se NE NE i hecistcaracesa astienco nascent susisiiadoeneamibesaicsnnstndianeveasicieens 5

Se IN erick eayisiteiiederdsshabincaicatenmiaslcutieaathsninieaiobtieghtaisaee 5

V

MISCELLANEOUS

Brief for United States as Amicus Curiae, Boswell v.

United States, 440 U.S. 907 (1979) .......-.--ceccececceceeeeeees 3,9

Monaghan, Forward: Constitutional Common Law,

Se Ss tec, UI BRIM cesicsiinccdesdnincicanitensrotnnrindttrnsinesiion 7

Hearings on S. 1419 Before the Water Power Com-

mittee of the House, 65th Cong., 2d Sess. 366 (1918) 6

H. R. Rep. No. 715, 65 Cong., 2d Sess. 20 (1918) ............ 6

a Ie CE ctastintihntienicenainnbe igen celioniohinptesicesniasiiions 2

In the Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1980

GEORGIA POWER COMPANY,

Petitioner,

Vs.

138.30 ACRES OF LAND and MILDRED

B. SANDERS, ET AL..,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

Georgia Power Company respectfully petitions for a

Writ of Certiorari to review the judgment of the Court of

Appeals for the Fifth Circuit in the above-entitled case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The en banc opinion of the Court of Appeals (App. Al)

is reported at 617 F.2d 1112 (5 Cir. 1980). The panel

opinion of the Court of Appeals (App. A36), is reported

at 596 F.2d 644 (5 Cir. 1979). The prior opinion of the

Court of Appeals (App. A53) which was overruled by the

en banc decision is reported at 563 F.2d 1178 (5 Cir. 1977).

Copies of the judgments sought to be reviewed are repro-

duced in the Appendix at A99, A101 and A103. The judg-

ments sought to be reviewed involve identical questions,

and Georgia Power Company is, therefore, filing a single

petition pursuant to Rule 19.4.

JURISDICTION

The judgments of the court of appeals were entered

on May 27, 1980. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked

under 28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION AND

STATUTE INVOLVED

U.S. Const. amend. V:

No person shall . . . be deprived of life; liberty, or

property, without due process of law; nor shall private

property be taken for public use, without just compensa-

tion.

Section 21 of the Federal Power Act, ch. 285, 41 Stat.

1074, 16 U.S.C. §814, provides:

That when any licensee cannot acquire by contract

or pledges an unimproved dam site or the right to use or

damage the lands or property of others necessary to the

construction, maintenance, or operation of any dam, reser-

voir, diversion structure, or the works appurtenant or

accessory thereto, in conjunction with an improvement

which, in the judgment of the Commission, is desirable

and justified in the public interest for the purpose of im-

proving or developing a waterway or waterways for the

use or benefit of interestate or foreign commerce, it may

acquire the same by the exercise of the right of eminent

domain in the District Court of the United States for the

district in which such land or other property may be

located, or in the state courts. The practice and pro-

cedure in any action or proceedings for that purpose in

the District Court of the United States shall conform as

nearly as may be with the practice and procedure in similar

3

action or proceeding in the courts of the state where the

property is situated: Provided, that the United States

District Courts shall only have jurisdiction of cases when

the amount claimed by the owner of the property to be

condemned exceeds $3,000.00.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

These are land condemnation cases brought by Georgia

Power Company in connection with its Lake Wallace

Project, 42 F.P.C. 356 (1969). The jurisdiction of the Dis-

trict Court was invoked under 16 U.S.C. §814.

In a prior decision also involving petitioner’s Lake

Wallace project, Georgia Power Company v. 54.20 Acres

cf Land, et al., 563 F.2d 1178 (5 Cir. 1977), the court of

appeais held that just compensation in a condemnation

case instituted by a Federal Power Commission licensee

under §21 of the Federal Power Act is to be determined

in accordance with rules developed in federal condemna-

tion decisions. It rejected contentions of the landowners

that state law controlled or supplied the rules of decision

to determine just compensation. The landowners filed

a petition for writ of certiorari to this Court. The Court

invited the Solicitor General to file a brief setting forth

the views of the United States, 439 U.S. 814 (1978), and

thereafter denied certiorari, Boswell v. Georgia Power

Company, 440 U.S. 907 (1979).

In the meantime, the instant cases were proceeding

through the district court and were thereafter appealed to

the court of appeals. A panel of the Fifth Circuit held

that it was bound by the earlier decision approving the

use of federal rules to determine just compensation.

Georgia Power Company v. 138.30 Acres of Land, et al.,

596 F.2d 644 (5 Cir. 1979). A motion for rehearing en

banc was granted, and the panel opinion was reversed.

Georgia Power Company v. Sanders, 617 F.2d 1112 (5 Cir.

1980).

The Court of Appeals held that the source of the

eminent domain power in question is federal, but that

“Tslince the statute does not specify the appropriate rule

of decision, the task of interstitial federal lawmaking

falls upon the federal judiciary in this case ‘to declare the

governing law in an area comprising issues substantially

related to an established program of government opera-

tion.’” Id. at 1115. It reviewed a series of decisions

from this Court beginning with Clearfield Trust Co. v.

United States, 318 U.S. 363 (1964) through United States

v. Kimbell Foods, Inc., 440 U.S. 715 (1979) and determined

that “state law should be adopted unless it is shown that

the legislative intent or other sufficient reasons exist to

displace state law with federal common law... .” Id.

It concluded that the “interests of the United States

in the determination of the amount of compensation a

private licensee must pay a landowner in a condemnation

proceeding under §21 are not sufficient to warrant displace-

ment of state law on that issue.” Id. at 1118, and that

“the law of the state where the condemned property is

located is to be adopted as the appropriate federal rule

for determining the measure of compensation when a li-

censee exercises the power of eminent domain pursuant

to §21 of the Federal Power Act.” Id. at 1124.

Four judges dissented on the ground that federal rules

should apply of their own force to such condemnation

proceedings for the reasons set forth in the first opinion

of the Fifth Circuit.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I,

The Court of Appeals Incorrectly Decided an Im-

portant Question Concerning the Interpretation

of the Fifth Amendment Which Should Be Settled

by This Court.

The court of apppeals committed fundamental error

when it treated the issue before it as one of interstitial

lawmaking. Rather, the issue involves the interpretation

of the just compensation clause of the fifth amendment

which is solely and exclusively a question of federal con-

stitutional law. There is no occasion to undertake any

balancing of interests between the federal government

and the states or to search for the intention of Congress

as to how to calculate the amount of money which must

be paid to a landowner to comply with the constitutional

mandate.

Section 21 of the Federal Power Act delegates to li-

censees the use of the federal power of eminent domain.

This is the exact same power which is available to the

federal government, its agencies and officials, and is the

only power which Congress can delegate. Kohl v. United

States, 91 U.S. 367 (1876). When Congress delegated

this “right of eminent domain” to FPC licensees it did

not leave any gap in the statute which needs filling any

more than it did when it delegated the use of the power

to, for example, the Secretary of the Army,’ the Sec-

retary of the Interior,’ the Tennessee Valley Authority,’

or a natural gas pipeline company.‘ It was not setting

33 U.S.C. §591.

43 U.S.C. §421.

16 U.S.C. §831x.

15 U.S.C. §717.

- of =

6

up a new scheme or program with new rights and duties

and the almost invariable gaps or interstices which ac-

company such legislation. Rather, it was delegating a

pre-existing power whose constitutional limitations were

well-known to Congress by 1920.°

Prior decisions of this Court have undertaken to

formulate “working rules” to control the admissibility of

evidence in the determination of just compensation. See,

e.g., Bauman v. Ross, 167 U.S. 548 (1897) (off-setting ben-

efits); Olsen v. United States, 292 U.S. 246 (1934) (highest

and best use in combination with other lands); United

States v, Miller, 317 U.S. 369 (1943) (elimination of en-

hancement); United States v. Fuller, 409 U.S. 488 (1973)

(elimination of value based on use in combination with

government permit lands). However, rather than viewing

its task as one of interstitial lawmaking in the sense of

choosing between “federal common law” and state law

on the basis of the supposed congressional intent, the Court

has viewed its function as one of interpreting and enforc-

ing the provisions of the federal constitution. At the risk

of stating the obvious, we would point out that this is,

after all, “the province and duty of the judicial department

5. The public use limitation was briefly considered by the

Committee on Water Power of the House. During hearings on

S. 1419 Augustus S. Houghton representing the Conservation

Commission of the State of New York testified that Section 21

would conflict with the New York Constitution because it would

allow taking private property for private use which would be

an abuse of the right of eminent domain. Hearings on S. 1419

Before the Water Power Committee of the House, 65th Cong., 2d

Sess. 366 (1918) (statement of Augustus S. Houghton). There-

after the Committee reported the bill to the House on June 28,

1918. The only comment on Section 21 was that “[s]ome mem-

bers of the committee express a doubt as to the constitutionality

of section 21 but a majority of your committee believe the same

is constitutional and a proper provision to be included in the

law.” H. R. Rep. No. 715, 65th Cong., 2d Sess. 20 (1918).

7

.... Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch) 137, 177

(1803).°

The court of appeals, on the other hand, seems to have

assumed that Congress has the power to define just com-

pensation, either by setting its own rules or by reference to

state law. Although Congress can and has on occasion con-

ditioned the exercise of the power upon the payment cf

amounts over and above just compensation,’ it has no

right, authority or prerogative to determine what shall

be the measure of compensation under the fifth amendment

when private property is taken for public purposes. In

Monongahela Navigation Company v. United States, 148

U.S. 312 (1893), this Court held unconstitutional an act

of Congress which authorized the condemnation of a lock

and dam owned by the navigation company, but which

forbade any consideration of the value of its franchise to

collect tolls in placing a value on the property being taken.

The Court held:

By this legislation congress seems to have assumed

the right to determine what shall be the measure of

compensation. But this is a judicial, and not a legis-

lative, question. The legislature may determine what

private property is needed for public purposes; that is

a question of 2 political and legislative character. But

when the taking has been ordered, then the question of

compensation is judicial. It does not rest with the

6. “The Court undoubtedly has both the power and the

duty to fashion ‘interpretative’ implementing rules to fill out

the meaning of generally framed constitutional provisions. This

is simply an ancient aspect of the judicial function in constru-

ing the meaning of any text—constitutional, statutory, con-

tractual, etc.” Monaghan, Forward: Constitutional Common

Law, 89 Harv. L. REv. 1, 22 (1975).

7. See Uniform Relocation Assistance and Real Property

Acquisition Policies Act of 1970, 42 U.S.C. §4601, et seq.; United

States v. Gerlach Live Stock Co., 339 U.S. 725 (1950).

y%

public, taking the property, through congress or the

legislature, its representative, to say what compensa-

tion shall be paid, or even what shall be the rule of

compensation. The constitution has declared that just

compensation shall be paid, and the ascertainment of

that is a judicial inquiry.

Id. at 327.

In a slightly different context, the Court has taken the

same approach with regard to the deprivation of property

under the due process clause of the fifth amendment in

Arnett v. Kennedy, 416 U.S. 134 (1974):

While the state may define what is and what is not

property, once having defined those rights the Con-

stitution defines due process, and as I understand it

six members of the Court are in agreement on this

fundamental proposition.

Id. at 185. (White, J. concurring in part and dissenting in

part.)

As our cases have consistently recognized, the ade-

quacy of statutory procedures for deprivation of a

statutorily created property interest [public employ-

ment] must be analyzed in constitutional terms.

Id. at 167. (Powell, J. concurring in part and concurring

in the result in part.)

Quite apart from the interests of the instant parties,

the decision of the Court of Appeals will have an adverse

impact on the development of federally licensed water

power projects and the costs to consumers of power pro-

duced by those projects. This issue was ably discussed by

the Solicitor General in his amicus brief:

A project’s total costs, including its land acquisition

costs, bear directly on its economic feasibility and hence

9

on whether the project will be undertaken. And once

a project is undertaken and completed, costs that were

incurred for land acquisition are passed on to con-

sumers in the price of the electric power generated.

Investment in land acquisition is included in the rate-

base determinations by the Commission when it reg-

ulates interstate wholesale rates for electric power,

and by state utility commissions when they set rates

for the intrastate sale of power. For these reasons,

in light of the significant differences in land acquisition

costs that may result from the choice between federal

and state rules for measuring compensation, the choice

of the legal standard is a matter of concern to the com-

mission in carrying out its licensing functions.

Brief for United States as Amicus Curiae at 11-12, Boswell

v. Georgia Power Company, 440 U.S. 907 (1979).

Finally, we would respectfully suggest that this issue

is likely to recur. There are something in excess of 30

federal statutes (A105) which delegate the authority to

exercise the federal eminent domain power to various gov-

ernment departments, agencies, cabinet secretaries, govern-

ment corporations, public utilities and others. Under the

opinion of the court of appeals it will be necessary to decide

whether Congress intended federal law to control the

determination of just compensation under each of these

statutes or whether application of state law »vould frustrate

or hinder an ongoing federal program.*®

8. The Court of Appeals attempted to distinguish cases

which apply fede~al rules of valuation in condemnation actions

on the theory that when the United States condemns and pays

for the land “the federal interests involved differ markedly”

617 F.2d at 1119 from the situation in this case. The federal

interests which it identified were 1) maximization of hydro-

electric development, 2) reduced energy costs, and 3) minimi-

zation of cost to the government. Id. at 1120. However, these

are the same federal interests which are at stake in government

(Continued on following page)

10

II.

The Decision of the Court of Appeals Conflicts

With Prior Decisions of the Supreme Court and

the Ninth Circuit.

The issue in this case has always been framed in

terms of whether federal or state law supplies the rules to

determine just compensation. In its most basic sense,

however, what we are really dealing with in this case are

the rules of evidence which guide the fact finder in arriving

at a sum of money representing just compensation.

This Court held in Monongahela Navigation Company

that just compensation within the meaning of the fifth

amendment is the full monetary equivalent of the prop-

erty taken. In order to determine this full monetary

equivalent, the trier of fact of necessity has to take into

account evidence of the value of the property on the date

of taking. Facts regarding this value such as whether

or not the announcement of the project has favorably in-

fluenced prices of comparable property in the neighbor-

hood or whether the remainder will increase in value be-

Footnote continued—

hydro projects, and the interests of the states in preserving their

property laws are also the same. There are several govern-

ment condemnation cases pending in the same district court from

which these cases arose, and which are assigned to the same

commissioners for trial. These cases, United States v. 9.17 Acres

of Land, etc., C.A. No. 79-55-ATH (M.D. Ga.); United States v.

146.60 Acres of Land, etc., C.A. No. 78-57-ATH (M.D. Ga.),

were brought to acquire projerty for the Richard B. Russell Dam

and Lake Project which is being constructed by the Corps of

Engineers. The federal government has just as much interest in

developing hydroelectric power, reducing energy costs and min-

imizing construction expense at Lake Wallace as it does with

the Russell Dam Project. The irony in all this is that under

the theory of the court of appeals, Georgia Power Company will

have to incur excessive and unrealistic land costs, but the gov-

ernment has reserved the right in Section 14 of the Act, 16 U.S.C.

§807(a) to condemn the project at any time upon payment of

just compensation which presumably would be calculated under

federal rules.

11

cause of the project are the types of evidentiary questions

which must be considered to determine the full monetary

equivalent.

In United States v. Miller, 317 U.S. 369 (1943), this

Court held that state law rules concerning what evidence

may be considered by the fact finder “could not affect

questions of substantive right,—such as the measure of

compensation,—grounded upon the Constitution of the

United States.” Id. at 380. The opinion of the court of

appeals in this case not only holds that state evidentiary

rules regarding determination of just compensation can

be relied upon, but that a district court in this circuit has

no choice and must follow state law.

Richmond Elks Hall Association v. Richmond Re-

development Agency, 561 F.2d 1327 (9 Cir. 1977), was

an inverse condemnation action brought under the fifth

amendment by a landowner against a federally assisted

city redevlopment agency. The landowner contended that

just compensation means not only the full monetary value

of the property taken, but that it also includes litigation

expenses and attorneys’ fees. Relying on this Court’s

opinion in Dohany v. Rogers, 281 U.S. 362 (1930) the Ninth

Circuit held that expenses of litigation and attorneys’ fees

are not includable in just compensation under the fifth

amendment. It then rejected a contention by the land-

owner that state law (which provided for an award of

costs and expenses to owners in inverse condemnation

cases against public entities) should be adopted to de-

termine the proper measure of compensation.

The Fifth Circuit, on the other hand, has required the

adoption of state law as the appropriate federal rule, and

if the law of the state in question required the payment

of attorneys’ fees and expenses, these amounts would be

includable in a federal condemnation case.

12

Federally guaranteed rights set forth in the Bill of

Rights should not have materially different dimensions in

each of the states. Both the source of the right and its

ultimate interpretation are unitary, and the conflicts

identified above therefore justify the grant of the writ to

review the judgment below.

CONCLUSION

We respectfully urge the Court, for all the reasons set

forth above, to grant the writ and reverse the decision

below.

Respectfully submitted,

WALLACE MILLER, JR.

Counsel of Record

W. WARREN PLOWDEN, JR.

Attorneys for Petitioner

Al

APPENDIX

GEORGIA POWER COMPANY,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

v.

138.30 Acres of Land, situate, lying and being in Land

Lot 327 of the 3rd Land District 389th G. M. District,

Putnam County, Georgia, Defendant,

Mildred B. SANDERS, a/k/a Mrs.

Karl D. Sanders, Jr., et al.,

Defendants-Appellants,

GEORGIA POWER COMPANY,

Plaintii f-Appellee,

v.

377.61 Acres of Land, situate, lying and being in Land

Lots 367, 368, 369, 377, 378, 379, 380, 381, 382 and 383

of the Third Land District, 389th G. M. District,

Putnam County, Georgia, Defendant,

Mrs. Nellie W. LARMAN, et al.,

Defendants-Appellants.

GEORGIA POWER COMPANY,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

Vv.

532.82 Acres of Land, situate, lying and being in the 145th

G. M. District, Greene County, Georgia, Defendant,

Clifford H. DYAR, Jr., et al.,

Defendants-Appellants,

Nos. 77-1775, 77-1776 and 77-1777.

United States Court of Appeals,

Fifth Circuit.

May 27, 1980.

A2

Appeals from the United States District Court for the

Middle District of Georgia.

Before COLEMAN, Chief Judge, BROWN, AINS-

WORTH, RONEY, GEE, TJOFLAT, HILL, FAY RUBIN,

VANCE, KRAVITCH, FRANK M, JOHNSON, Jr., GARZA,

HENDERSON, REAVLEY, POLITZ, HATCHETT, RAND-

ALL, TATE, SAM D. JOHNSON, and THOMAS A. CLARK,

Circuit Judges.*

RANDALL, Circuit Judge:

These condemnation cases present the issue whether

compensation should be determined under federal law or

under the law of the state where the condemned property

is located when a licensee of the Federal Energy Regulatory

Commission (the Commission)! exercises the power of

eminent domain in federal court as authorized by Section

21 of the Federal Power Act, 16 U.S.C. § 814 (1976). If

federal law is chosen, then the next issue for determination

is whether the court should apply uniform national law

or should apply, as federal law, the law of the state where

the property is located. The panel held that federal law

governed and the measure of compensation was to be

determined under uniform national law. Georgia Power

*Judge Goldberg was a member of the en banc court under

28 U.S.C.A. § 46(c) and participated in the oral argument of the

case en banc. Since that time he has taken senior status and

therefore does not participate in this decision. Judges Godbold

and Anderson were recused and took no part in the consideration

or decision of these cases. Judge Charles Clark took no part in

the consideration or decision of these cases.

1. On October 1, 1977, the Federal Power Commission ceased

to exist and its functions and regulatory responsibilities were trans-

ferred to the Secretary of Energy and the Federal Energy Reg-

ulatory Commission pursuant to the Department of Energy Or-

ganization Act, Pub.L. No. 95-91, 91 Stat. 565 (August 4, 1977).

See 42 U.S.C.A. §§ 7101, et seq. (1978) at §§ 7151(b) (transfer of

functions to Secretary of Energy) and 7172(a) (transfer of func-

tions to Federal Energy Regulatory Commission).

A3

Co. v. 138.30 Acres of Land, 596 F.2d 644, 649 (5th Cir.

1979) (hereinafter referred to as Larman, the name of

one of the landowners in the proceeding). In so doing,

the panel was bound by our prior decision in Georgia

Power Co. v. 54.20 Acres of Land, 563 F.2d 1178 (5th

Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 440 U.S. 907, 99 S.Ct. 1213, 59

L.Ed.2d 454 (1979) (hereinafter referred to as Dodson,

the name of one of the landowners in that proceeding).

Because of the importance of the question at issue, we

decided to have Larman reheard en banc (thereby vacating

the panel opinion, 5th Cir. R. 17), to reconsider our holding

in Dodson. Georgia Power Co. v. 138.30 Acres of Land,

602 F.2d 1243 (5th Cir. 1979). It is the opinion of a

majority of the en banc court that Dodson was, in part,

wrongly decided and, in that respect, should be overruled.

We agree with Dodson that the source of law is federal

but we now hold, contrary to Dodson, that the law of

the state where the condemned property is located is to

be adopted as the appropriate federal rule for determining

the measure of compensation when a licensee of the Com-

mission exercises the power of eminent domain pursuant

to Section 21 of the Federal Power Act.

Parts I and II of the panel opinion in Larman, denom-

inated “Right to a Jury Trial” and “Discretion to Appoint

a Commission,” (up to Part III, “Applicability of Federal

Law,” 596 F.2d at 648), are unaffected by our present

decision on the choice of law issue and are, accordingly,

approved and adopted by the court en banc. In Part IV

of Larman, under the heading “Alleged Errors in the Com-

mission’s Final Report,” the panel first set forth general

principles relevant to commissions’ reports, then discussed

the commission’s findings with respect to each of the

properties involved and, finally, remanded for further fact

findings and reevaluation of the compensation awarded

each of the landowners. The portion of that section out-

A4

lining general principles relevant to commissions’ reports,

(up to the subheading “Sanders Taking,” 596 F.2d at 649),

is unaffected by our present decision and is, therefore,

approved and adopted by the court en banc. The balance

of the discussion in that section, however, insofar as it

is dependent upon the commission’s application of federal

common law to the determination of the amount of com-

pensation, is rendered inapplicable by our holding that

Georgia law supplies the appropriate federal standard and

is superceded to that extent. Part III of the panel opinion,

denominated “Applicability of Federal Law,” is superceded

in its entirety by this opinion.

In both Dodson and Larman, Georgia Power Company,

a privately owned Georgia utility, instituted condemnation

proceedings against Georgia landowners in federal court

to acquire land for the Lake Wallace hydroelectric power

generating project in Georgia. These proceedings were

instituted pursuant to Section 21 of the Federal Power Act,

authorizing persons or entities licensed by the Commission

under Section 4(e) of the Federal Power Act, 16 U.S.C.

§ 797(e),? to exercise the right of eminent domain under

specified circumstances. Section 21 provides as follows:

2. Under 16 U.S.C. § 797(e) (1976), the Commission is au-

thorized and empowered as follows:

To issue licenses to citizens of the United States, or to any

association of such citizens or to any corporation organized

under the laws of the United States or any State thereof,

or to any State or municipality for the purpose of construc-

ting, operating, and maintaining dams, water conduits, reser-

voirs, power houses, transmission lines, or other project works

necessary or convenient for the development and improve-

ment of navigation and for the development, transmission,

and utilization of power across, along, from, or in any of the

streams or other bodies of water over which Congress has

jurisdiction under its authority to regulate commerce with

foreign nations and among the several States, or upon any

part of the public lands and reservations of the United States

(including the Territories), or for the purpose of utilizing the

(Continued on following page)

A5

When any licensee cannot acquire by contract or

pledges an unimproved dam site or the right to use

or damage the lands or property of others necessary

to the construction, maintenance, or operation of any

dam, reservoir, diversion structure, or the works appur-

tenant or accessory thereto, in conjunction with an

improvement which in the judgment of the commission

is desirable and justified in the public interest for the

purpose of improving or developing a waterway or

waterways for the use or benefit of interstate or foreign

commerce, it may acquire the same by the exercise

of the right of eminent domain in the district court

of the United States for the district in which such

land or other property may be located, or in the State

courts. The practice and procedure in any action or

proceeding for that purpose in the district court of

the United States shall conform as nearly as may be

with the practice and procedure in similar action or

proceeding in the courts of the State where the prop-

erty is situated: Provided, That United States district

courts shall only have jurisdiction of cases when the

amount claimed by the owner of the property to be

condemned exceeds $3,000.

The district judge appointed a three-member commis-

sion to determine the amount of compensation due the

landowners. See Fed.R.Civ.P. 71A(h). The judge’s in-

structions to the commission embodied federal rules for

Footnote continued—

surplus water or water power from any Government dam,

except as herein provided: ... Provided further, That in

case the Commission shall find that any Government dam

may be advantageously used by the United States for public

purposes in addition to navigation, no license therefor shall

be issued until two years after it shall have reported to Con-

gress the facts and conditions relating thereto... .

Georgia Power was issued a license by the FPC for the Lake

Wallace Project (then called the Laurens Shoals Project), on

August 6, 1969. 42 F.P.C. 356 (1969).

A6

determining just compensation. The landowners’ requests

to substitute for those instructions ones in accord with

Georgia rules were denied. If Georgia law were applied,

the amount awarded the landowners would be greater

than it would be under federal law.* Under Georgia law,

the value of any benefits accruing by virtue of the project

to any part of the landowner’s land which is not taken

may be offset only against the recovery for damages to

that remainder, if any, and not against the recovery for

the value of the land actually taken. See Ga.CodeAnn.

§ 36-504 (1970). Under federal law, the value of any

benefits accruing by virtue of the project to the portion

of the tract not taken may be offset against the recovery

for the value of the land actually taken. Bauman v. Ross,

167 U.S. 548, 17 S.Ct. 966, 42 L.Ed. 270 (1897); United

States v. Trout, 386 F.2d 216 (5th Cir. 1967). Furthermore,

under Georgia law, just compensation might include any

increase in the value of the property caused by general

knowledge of the project. See Hard v. Housing Authority

of Atlanta, 219 Ga. 74, 132 S.E.2d 25 (1963). Under federal

law, just compensation does not include any such increase

in the value of the property. United States v. Miller, 317

U.S. 369, 63 S.Ct. 276, 87 L.Ed. 336 (1943).‘

3. In fact, in case No. 75-4448, the commission awarded no

monetary compensation, a result which could not be reached

under Georgia law. Dodson, 563 F.2d at 1180.

4. At the time Dodson was decided, under Georgia law, rea-

sonable attorneys’ fees would have been included.in the award.

See White v. Georgia Power Co., 237 Ga. 341, 227 S.E.2d 385

(1976), overruled, DeKalb County v. Trustees, Decatur Lodge No.

1602, 242 Ga. 707, 251 S.E.2d 243 (1978). Since then, however,

the Georgia Supreme Court has held that attorneys’ fees need

not be included in the measure of just compensation under the

Georgia Constitution. DeKalb County, 251 S.E.2d 243 (overruling

White v. Georgia Power Co. and its progeny).

It appears that the two differences in the method of determin-

ing just compensation under Georgia and federal law discussed

in the text above are the key differences. In any event, they

are the only ones mentioned specifically on appeal. Any questions

concerning the exact parameters of Georgia law on this issue

will have to be resolved on remand.

AT

[1] We think it clear that the source of the eminent

domain power at issue here is federal. Since Section 21

licensees derive their authority to exercise the power of

eminent domain from the Federal Power Act, which was

passed in the exercise of a “ ‘constitutional function or

power,’” see United States v. Kimbell Foods, Inc., 440

U.S. 715, 726, 99 S.Ct. 1448, 1457, 59 L.Ed.2d 711 (1979)

(quoting Clearfield Trust Co. v. United States, 318 U.S. 363,

366, 63 S.Ct. 573, 574, 87 L.Ed. 838 (1943)), their rights,

as well, should derive from a federal source. 440 U.S. at

726, 99 S.Ct. at 1457. We think that, in this context,

federal interests are “sufficiently implicated to warrant

the protection of federal law.” Kimbell Foods, 440 U.S.

at 727, 99 S.Ct. at 1457-1458. Since the statute does not

specify the appropriate rule of decision, the task of inter-

stitial federal lawmaking falls upon the federal judiciary

in this case “‘to declare the governing law in an area

comprising issues substantially related to an established

program of government operation.’” United States v.

Little Lake Misere Land Co., 412 U.S. 580, 593, 93 S.Ct.

2389, 2397, 37 L.Ed.2d 187 (1973) (quoting Mishkin, The

Variousness of “Federal Law”: Competence and Discre-

tion in the Choice of National and State Rules for Decision,

105 U.Pa.L.Rev. 797, 800 (1957)). Thus, the question

which remains is whether the court should choose federal

common law or state law as the appliceble federal rule.

See, e. g., Kimbell Foods, 440 U.S. 715, 99 S.Ct. 1448, 59

L.Ed.2d 711; Clearfield Trust, 318 U.S. 363, 63 S.Ct. 573,

87 L.Ed. 838.

The answer to this question is largely dependent upon

whether one begins with the position that state law should

be adopted unless it is shown that legislative intent or

other sufficient reasons exist to displace state law with

federal common law or with the position that federal com-

mon law should be utilized unless it is shown that legis-

A8

lative intent or other sufficient reasons exist to warrant

adoption of state law. Basic considerations of federalism,

as embodied in the Rules of Decision Act,’ prompt us to

begin with the premise that state law should supply the

federal rule unless there is an expression of legislative

intent to the contrary, or, failing that, a showing that

state law conflicts significantly with any federal interests

or policies present in this case. Wallis v. Pan American

Petroleum Corp., 384 U.S. 63, 68, 86 S.Ct. 1301, 1304, 16

L.Ed.2d 369 (1966).

Our reading of Supreme Court decisions convinces us

of the correctness of our approach.* In Clearfield Trust,

5. The laws of the several states, except where the Con-

stitution or treaties of the United States or Acts of Congress other-

wise require or provide, shall be regarded as rules of decision

in civil actions in the courts of the United States, in cases where

they apply.

28 U.S.C. § 1652 (1976).

6. Ample support for this presumption favoring adoption

of state law as the federal rule is found in the law review com-

mentaries. As Professor Wechsler has said regarding the role

of federalism, “National action has always been regarded as ex-

ceptional in our policy, an intrusion to be justified by some

necessity, the special rather than the ordinary case. .. The

political logic of federalism thus supports placing the burden of

persuasion on those urging national action.” Wechsler, The Po-

litical Safeguards of Federalism: The Role of the States in the

Composition and Selection of the National Government, 54 Colum.

L.Rev. 543, 544-45 (1954). See also Mishkin, The Variousness of

“Federal Law”: Competence and Discretion in the Choice of

National and State Rules for Decision, 105 U.Pa.L.Rev. 797, 814

n.64 (1957) (“Our federalism, which the [Rules of Decision] act

expresses, seems to posit generally that in case of doubt, the

courts should use state law, leaving new extensions of federal

power to the legislative body.”); Comment, Federal Courts—

Choice of Controlling Law in Cases Involving Federally Insured

Mortgages, 49 N.C.L.Rev. 358, 365 (1971) (“If the philosophy of

the Rules of Decision Act is applied in answering the second

question of whether to adopt the local law as the federal rule,

a presumption will arise that the state law is adopted. This pre-

sumption could be rebutted by a showing of sufficient federal

int_rest for rejection of the local law as the federal rule.”); Com-

ment, Rules of Decision in Nondiversity Suits, 69 Yale L.J. 1428,

(Continued on following page)

A9

federal law was chosen as the applicable federal rule to

govern an action against the United States on a federal

check. 318 U.S. 363, 63 S.Ct. 573, 87 L.Ed. 838. The

Court stated:

In our choice of the applicable federal rule we

have occasionally selected state law.... But reasons

which may make state law at times the appropriate

federal rule are singularly inappropriate here. The

issuance of commercial paper by the United States

is on a vast scale and transactions in that paper from

issuance to payment will commonly occur in several

states. The application of state law, even without the

conflict of laws rules of the forum, would subject the

rights and duties of the United States to exceptional

uncertainty. It would lead to great diversity in results

by making identical transactions subject to the vagaries

of the laws of the several states. The desirability of

a uniform rule is plain.

Id. at 367, 63 S.Ct. at 575 (citation omitted).

Footnote continued—

1446 (1960) (“In the absence of evidence of congressional intent

to the contrary, state law would seem applicable under the Rules

of Decision Act in all three cases [where a federal statute is in-

volved and 1) a term of the act requires further definition; 2)

no provision is made for certain matters; or 3) the statute regu-

lates certain areas without indicating whether existing state law

in that area is preempted or continues in force where the federal

law does not specifically govern], for the statute does not ‘other-

wise require or provide.’ Of course, courts examining the major

purposes of the act may find that the application of state law will

cause results contrary to the objectives sought by Congress. In

some cases, the lack of uniformity itself may obstruct the opera-

tion of a statute even though none of the various results are by

themselves objectionable. But this is, in effect, simply a finding

of congressional intent not to be bound by state law. Without

that finding, state law should be followed.”). Cf. Comment

Adopting State Law as the Federal Rule of Decision: A Pro

Test, 43 U.Chi.L.Rev. 823, 826 (1976) (“when the source of law is

federal, Congress or the Constitution ‘“require[s]"”’ otherwise

than that state law [should] govern of its own force”) (quoting

United States v. Little Lake Misere Land Co., 412 U.S. 580, 592-93,

93 S.Ct. 2389, 2396-97, 37 L.Ed.2d 187 (1973) ).

Al0

The choice of state law as the federal rule was thought

to be similarly inappropriate in determining whether the

United States could recover for damages suffered when

a serviceman is injured by a third party tortfeasor. United

States v. Standard Oil Co., 332 U.S. 301, 67 S.Ct. 1604,

91 L.Ed. 2067 (1947). Uniform national treatment, rather

than diversified local disposition, was called for because

of the distinctively federal nature of the government-

soldier relation and because the question was primarily

one of federal fiscal policy, of no particular concern to the

states or their citizens. Id. at 310-11, 67 S.Ct. at 1609-10."

In Bank of America National Trust & Savings Ass’n v.

Parnell, 352 U.S. 29, 77 S.Ct. 119, 1 L.Ed.2d 93 (1956), the

Supreme Court held state law applicable, refusing to ex-

tend the Clearfield Trust rationale to litigation between

private parties even though the suit involved federal com-

mercial paper. The Court reasoned as follows:

The present litigation is purely between private parties

and does not touch the rights and duties of the United

States. The only possible interest of the United States

in a situation like the one here, exclusively involving

the transfer of Government paper between private

persons, is that the floating of securities of the United

States might somehow or other be adversely affected

by the local rule of a particular State regarding the

liability of a converter. This is far too speculative far

too remote a possibility to justify the application of

federal law to transactions essentially of local concern.

352 U.S. at 33-34, 77 S.Ct. at 121.

In Wallis v. Pan American Petroleum Corp., the Court

held that state law governed the dealings of private par-

7. Judge Wisdom viewed these early cases, Clearfield Trust

and Standard Oil, as representative of a presumption favori

a law, from which later cases departed. Dodson, 563 F.

at 1188.

All

ties in an oil and gas lease issued under the Mineral Leas-

ing Act of 1920. 384 U.S. 63, 86 S.Ct. 1301, 16 L.Ed.2d 369.

The Court there enunciated the following test:

In deciding whether rules of federal common law

should be fashioned, normally the guiding principle

is that a significant conflict between some federal

policy or interest and the use of state law in the

premises must first be specifically shown.

Id., at 68, 86 S.Ct. at 1304.*

In Miree v. DeKalb County, Georgia, 433 U.S. 25, 97

S.Ct. 2490, 53 L.Ed.2d 557 (1977), the Court held state law

applicable in an action against the county by survivors of

deceased airline passengers who attempted to recover as

third party beneficiaries of a contract between the county

and the Federal Aviation Administration. The Clearfield

Trust approach was inapplicable because the rights of pri-

vate litigants alone were at issue. 433 U.S. at 30, 97 S.Ct.

at 2494. Although the United States has a substantial

interest in regulation of air travel and promotion of air

travel safety, id. at 31, 97 S.Ct. at 2494, as was the case in

Parnell and Wallis, any federal interest in the outcome of

the specific question before the Court was “ ‘far too specu-

lative, far too remote a possibility to justify the applica-

tion of federal law to transactions essentially of local con-

cern.’” Id. at 32-33, 97 S.Ct. at 2495-2496 (quoting Parnell,

352 US. at 33-34, 77 S.Ct. at 121-122).

Finally, in Kimbell Foods, decided after Dodson, the

Court held that state law should be adopted as the ap-

propriate federal rule for establishing priorities of com-

peting federal (SBA and FHA) and private liens since a

8. Judge Simpson viewed this language as “nearly, if not

quite,” establishing a ‘presumption favoring state law in choice

of law cases.”” Dodson, 563 F.2d at 1194 (dissent).

Al2

national rule was unnecessary to protect the federal in-

terests involved. 440 U.S. 718, 99 S.Ct. at 1453. The Court

rejected what it considered “generalized pleas for uni-

formity as substitutes for concrete evidence that adopting

state law would adversely affect administration of the fed-

eral programs.” Id. at 730, 99 S.Ct. at 1459. The govern-

ment’s argument that the special priority accorded federal

tax liens was requ‘red here as well, since application of

state law would undermine its ability to recover funds dis-

bursed under the lending programs and thus would conflict

with program objectives, was also rejected. Id. at 733-38,

99 S.Ct. at 1461-1464. The special priority the government

commands in its tax collecting capacity was not warranted

in this context where it was in substantially the same posi-

tion as private lenders. Id.

The foregoing review of Supreme Court decisions leads

us to the conclusion that they do indeed evidence “a grow-

ing desire to minimize displacement of state law,” Dodson,

563 F.2d at 1189, and that conclusion strongly supports our

position that state law should be adopted as the federal

rule of compensation unless it is shown that legislative in-

tent or other sufficient reasons exist to displace state law

with federal common law.

[2] Our review of the relevant legislative history re-

veals no express congressional intent that federal common

law and not state law should supply the federal rule in

determining the measure of compensation in condemnation

cases brought under Section 21. Therefore, we turn to an

examination of the considerations relevant to the “nature

of the specific governmental interests and to the effects

upon them of applying state law.” Standard Oil, 332 U.S.

at 310, 67 S.Ct. at 1609. If the effect of applying state law

is virtually to nullify the federal objectives, then there is

a conflict that precludes application of state law. See, e. g.,

Al3

Little Lake, 412 U.S. 580, 93 S.Ct. 2389, 37 L.Ed.2d 187. If

application of state law would arguably interfere with an

identifiable federal policy or interest, but not amount to

a conflict which would preclude application of state law,

we must proceed to an examination of the relative strength

of the state’s interests in having its rules applied. See

United States v. Yazell, 382 U.S. 341, 351-53, 86 S.Ct. 500,

506-07, 15 L.Ed.2d 404 (1966); cf. Little Lake, 412 U.S. at

599, 93 S.Ct. at 2400 (although adoption of state law was

precluded because it conflicted with the federal program

regarding federal land acquisitions under the Migratory

Bird Act, the Court stated that its conclusion might con-

ceivably be influenced if the retroactive state statute

sought to be applied served “legitimate and important state

interests the fulfillment of which Congress might have

contemplated through application of state law’); Wallis,

384 U.S. at 68, 86 S.Ct. at 1304 (not reaching the issue since

no significant threat was found). See generally Comment,

Adopting State Law as the Federal Rule of Decision: A

Proposed Test, 43 U.Chi.L.Rev. 799 (1976).

[3] While we do not deny the existence of important

federal interests in issues arising under the Federal Power

Act (indeed, that is the basis for our decision that federal

law governs in the first place), we are of the opinion that

the interests of the United States in the determination of

the amount of compensation a private licensee must pay

a landowner in a condemnation proceeding under Section

21 are not sufficient to warrant displacement of state law

on that issue. Before a license may be issued under the

Federal Power Act, there must be a determination by the

Commission that the project does not affect the “develop-

ment of any water resources for public purposes [that]

should be undertaken by the United States itself.” 16

U.S.C. § 800(b). Thus, by definition, a licensed project

does not implicate the interests of the United States to the

Al4

degree that it is thought desirable that the project be under-

taken by the United States itself. We find persuasive and

relevant to determining the nature of federal and state in-

terests in this case the distinction observed by the Ninth

Circuit in Public Utility District No. 1 v. City of Seattle,

382 F.2d 666, 669-70 (9th Cir.), cert. dismissed, 396 U.S.

803, 90 S.Ct. 22, 24 L.Ed.2d 59 (1969) (even though it was

made in support of its finding, which we deem erroneous,

that Section 21 does not delegate full eminent domain

power):

We first observe that the position of a licensee is

disuinguishable from that of the United States with

respect to furthering of the national interest. By is-

suance of a license the United States is not acting in

the national interest through the licensee to the same

extent as it would if it undertook the project itself.

The United States acts in the public interest on a na-

tional scale; the licensee often on a local scale, on

projects thought to be of insufficient dimensions to

warrant the assertion of national power. In many

cases the requirements of federal permission and regu-

lation are all that the national interest requires. Fre-

quently the licensee is a privately owned utility or

even manufacturer, seeking the license for purposes

of profit.

Although federal rules have been applied to the de-

termination of just compensation in federal condemnation

cases where the United States is the party condemning

and paying for the land,® we do not deem those decisions

9. See, e. United States v. Miller, 317 U.S. 369, 380, 63

S.Ct. 276, 283, 7 L.Ed. 336 (1943); United States v. Certain

Property "Located in Borough of Manhattan, 344 F.2d 142, 146

(2d Cir. 1965); United States v. City of New York, 165 F.2d 526,

528 (2d Cir. 1948) (L. Hand, J.); United States v. Certain Parcels

of Land, 144 F.2d 626, 628 (3d Cir. 1944); United States v.

3,595.98 Acres of Land, 212 F.Supp. 617 ( N.D.Cal.1962).

Ald

controlling’’ since our case arises in the context of a Sec-

tion 21 proceeding by a licensee where the nature of the

10. The majority in Dodson denied being bound by those

cases but was of the opinion that those decisions were helpful

starting points even though they did not involve federal con-

demnations by Section 21 licensees. Judge Wisdom wrote:

Other courts in federal compensation cases have balanced

the state and federal interests and have concluded that federal,

rather than state, law should sipply the rules of compensa-

tion. Unless we find the weights on our scale to be sub-

stantively different, we see no reason to diverge from the

yn of the Supreme Court and some of our Courts of

ppeals.

Dodson, 563 F.2d at 1186, n. 21. While a decision to apply federal

rules of compensation might implicitly involve a determination

that federal interests outweigh state interests, we do not find

the cases cited persuasive since they contain no express interest

analysis, which may be indicative of the importance attached to

the presence of the United States as the condemnor in those cases.

In support of its contention that there is no need to balance

any interests in this case, Georgia Power Company places great

reliance on Richmond Elks Hall Ass’n v. Richmond Redevelopment

Agency, 561 F.2d 1327 (9th Cir. 1977), where the court refused to

apply the law of the state (which, unlike federal law, awards

costs and expenses, including attorneys’ fees, to landowners who

obtain judgment in inverse condemnation actions against public

entities) in a successful inverse condemnation action brought

under the Fifth Amendment against a federally assisted city

redevelopment agency. The Ninth Circuit viewed the Supreme

Court’s reasoning in a Miller Act case, F. D. Rich Co. v. Industrial

Lumber Co., 417 U.S. 116, 94 S.Ct. 2157, 40 L.Ed.2d 703 (1974),

controlling. The Miller Act provides a remedy for suppliers and

subcontractors who perform services or provide material for a

contractor in connection with construction on federal property

who must bring suit to recover money owed them by the con-

tractor. 40 U.S.C. § 270a et seg. (1976). In F. D. Rich Co., the

Supreme Court stressed the importance of a uniform national rule

and reversed the Ninth Circuit’s holding that the Miller Act re-

quires an award of attorneys’ fees where the “public policy” of

the state in which suit is brought allows an award of fees in

similar contexts. One reason for reversal was expressed as fol-

lows:

Although the court below premised its decision on the theory

that a Miller Act remedy is afforded “ ‘in lieu of the lien

upon land and buildings customary where property is owned

by private persons,’ ” it gave respondent more protection than

California law affords litigants involved in disputes arising

from private construction projects who are not entitled to an

(Continued on following page)

Al6

federal interests involved differs markedly from the na-

ture of the federal interests involved where the United

States is the condemnor. Furthermore, while also not

controlling, there is authority for the application of state

law to questions concerning compensation, such as ad-

missibility of evidence of consequential damages and the

propriety of interest on a compensation award in con-

demnation actions brought in federal court under Section

21. See, e. g. Feltz v. Central Nebraska Public Power &

Irrigation Dist., 124 F.2d 578 (8th Cir. 1942) .™

Footnote continued—

award of attorneys’ fees. We think it better to extricate the

federal courts from the morass of trying to divine a “state

policy” as to the award of attorneys’ fees in suits on construc-

tion bonds.

417 U.S. at 128, 94 S.Ct. at 2164. The Court also pointed out

that “[m]Jany federal contracts involve construction in more than

one State, and often, as here, the parties to Miller Act litigation

have little or no contact, other than the contract itself, with the

State in which the federal project is located.” Id. at 127, 94 S.Ct.

at 2164. In view of the foregoing analysis, discussing federal

and state interests, we do not think Richmond Elks Hall lends

much support to Georgia Power’s theory that there is no need

to balance interests and we do not deem controlling on the issue

before us the following language from F. D. Rich Co. quoted by

the court in Richmond Elks Hall:

The Miller Act provides a federal cause of action, and the

scope of the remedy as well as the substance of the rights

created thereby is a matter of federal not state law. Neither

respondent nor the court below offers any evidence of con-

gressional intent to incorporate state law to govern such an

important element of Miller Act litigation as liability for

attorneys’ fees. [F. D. Rich Co., 417 U.S.] at 127, 94 S.Ct. at

2164.

561 F.2d at 1334. Furthermore, we note that unlike Section 21

licensees, the redevelopment agency in Richmond Elks Hall was

federally funded.

11. See also Central Nebraska Pub. Power & Irrigation Dist.

v. Harrison, 127 F.2d 588 (8th Cir. 1942); Central Nebraska Pub.

Power & Irrigation Dist. v. Fairchild, 126 F.2d 302 (8th Cir. 1942);

Samuelson v. Central Nebraska Pub. Power & Irrigation Dist., 125

F.2d 838 (8th Cir. 1942); Burnett v. Central Nebraska Pub. Power

& Irrigation Dist., 125 F.2d 836 (8th Cir. 1942); McGinley v. Cen-

tral Nebraska Pub. Power & Irrigation Dist., 124 F.2d 692 (8th Cir.

1942); Central Nebraska Pub. Power & Irrigation Dist. v. Berry,

124 F.2d 586 (8th Cir. 1942).

Al7

The overriding federal interest at stake in a case

such as this one is in implementing or effectuating the fed-

eral program. Thus, if state law is so hostile that its

application would actually frustrate this objective, a con-

flict exists which precludes adoption of state law as the

federal rule. See Little Lake, 412 U.S. 580, 93 S.Ct. 2389,

37 L.Ed.2d 187. The specific federal interests or policies

which may be identified under the Federal Power Act

are 1) maximization of hydroelectric development, 2) re-

duced energy costs and 3) minimization of cost to the

government should it decide to exercise its option to ac-

quire a project at the expiration of the license term, upon

payment of ‘‘net investment,” not exceeding the “fair

value” of the property taken, under Section 14(a) of the

Federal Power Act, 16 U.S.C. § 807(a) (1976).'* See First

12. Section 14(a) of the Federal Power Act provides as

follows:

Upon not less than two years’ notice in writing from the

Commission the United States shall have the right upon or

after the expiration of any license to take over and there-

after to maintain and operate any project or projects as

defined in section 796 of this title, and covered in whole

or in part by the license, or the right to take over upon mutual

agreement with the licensee all property owned and held by

the licensee then valuable and serviceable in the development,

transmission, or distribution of power and which is then de-

pendent for its usefulness upon the continuance of the

license, together with any lock or locks or other aids to navi-

gation constructed at the expense of the licensee, upon the

condition that before taking possession it shall pay the net

investment of the licensee in the project for projects taken,

not to exceed the fair value of the property taken, plus such

reasonable damages, if any, to property of the licensee val-

uable, serviceable, and dependent as above set forth but not

taken, as may be caused by the severance therefrom of

property taken, and shall assume all contracts entered into

by the licensee with the approval of the Commission. The

net investment of the licensee in the project or projects so

taken and the amount of such severance damages, if any,

shall be determined by the Commission after notice and op-

portunity for hearing. Such net investment shall not include

or be affected by the value of any lands, rights-of-way, or

other property of the United States licensed by the Commission

(Continued on following page)

Al8

Iowa Hydro-Electric Cooperative v. FPC, 328 U.S. 152,

171-74, 180, 66 S.Ct. 906, 915-16, 919, 90 L.Ed. 1143 (1946).

See generally J. Kerwin, Federal Water-Power Legislation

(1926).

It is clear to us that application of state law to the

narrow question of the determination of the amount of

compensation a licensee must pay a landowner does not

nullify federal objectives and does not result in a conflict

which would preclude application of state law. In Little

Lake, application of a state statute retroactively making

mineral rights imprescriptible would have deprived the

federal government of its previously bargained for con-

tractual interests in mineral rights and would have cre-

Footnote continued—

under this chapter, by the license or by good will, going

value, or prospective revenues; nor shall the values allowed

for water rights, rights-of-way, lands, or interest in lands be

in excess of the actual reasonable cost thereof at the time

of acquisition by the licensee: Provided, That the right of

the United States or any State or municipality to take over,

maintain, and operate any project licensed under this chapter

at any time by condemnation proceedings upon payment of

just compensation is expressly reserved.

16 U.S.C. § 807(a) (1976). The option provision has been cited

as illustrative of the “closensss of the relationship of the Federal

Government to these projects and its obvious concern in main-

taining control over their engineering, economic and financial

soundness.” First Iowa Hydro-Electric Coop. v. FPC, 328 U.S.

152, 172-73, 66 S.Ct. at 906, 90 L.Ed. 1143 (1946). See also id.

at 181 n. 25, 66 S.Ct. at 920, n. 25. The government, however,

in its amicus brief to the Supreme Court on petition for certiorari

in Dodson, brief for United States at 12, Boswell v. Georgia Power

Company, 440 U.S. 907, 99 S.Ct. 1213, 59 L.Ed.2d 454 (1979),

described the governmental interest arising from this option as

a “less important federal interest” since it cannot be predicted

with confidence that many lensed projects will be recommended

for federal take-over as their ‘erms expire. Since under Section

7(b) of the Act, 16 U.S.C. § 809(b), approval may not be given

for any application for a project when the Commission finds that

“the development of any water resources for public purposes

should be undertaken by the United States itself,” the landowners

argue that exercise of the option is unlikely because it will have

already been determined that it was unnecessary for the United

States to undertake the project initially.

Alg

ated uncertain’y in the land acquisition program embodied

in the Migratory Bird Conservation Act, 16 U.S.C. § 715

et seq. The Court held that “borrowing” state law in this

case would be inappropriate since ‘‘specific aberrant or hos-

tile state rules do not provide appropriate standards for

federal law.” Little Lake, 412 U.S. at 595-96, 93 S.Ct. at

2398. Georgia Power Company argues that it would like-

wise be inappropriate to apply Georgia law to the com-

putation of just compensation in condemnation actions in

federal court under Section 21 since, especially in its al-

lowance of enhanced value resulting from knowledge of

the project, as to which it is admittedly in the minority,”

the Georgia law is sufficiently aberrant and hostile to the

energy program embodied in the Federal Power Act. We

do not agree that application of a state law which results

in higher awards to the landowners, even when aspects

of that law represent the minority position, amounts to

the kind of conflict which precluded adoption of state law

in Little Lake. Compare Yazell, 382 U.S. 341, 86 S.Ct.

500, 15 L.Ed.2d 404, where the Court held that state law

governed in a suit by the United States to collect a debt

owed the SBA even though application of that particular

state law precluded the government’s recovery. The Court

recognized that the state’s law of coverture, successfully

13. The Supreme Court of Georgia answered contentions

that only Georgia has a rule allowing enhancement in value re-

sulting from the improvement as follows:

To such contentions we would reply further by paraphrasing

a statement of a great president who once said, “Everybody is

against me—everybody except the people,’ by saying that

all the decisions are against what we hold—all except the

controlling decisions of the courts of Georgia. On this point

in Green v. Coast Line Railroad Co., 97 Ga. 15, at pages 36

and 37, 24 S.E. 814, at page 822, 33 L.R.A. 806, this court

said: “Every direct authority known to us is against us.

Nevertheless, we are right, and these authorities are all

es as time and further judicial study of the subject will

manifest.”

Hard v. Housing Authority of Atlanta, 219 Ga. 74, 132 S.E.2d 25,

30 (1963).

A20

invoked by the debtor, was “peculiar and obsolete” and

had even been repealed in Texas subsequent to the events

in the case. 382 U.S. at 351, 86 S.Ct. at 506. Nevertheless,

the Court declined to override the state law because

state interests, particularly in the field of family and

family-property arrangements . . . should be over-

ridden by the federal courts only where clear and

substantial interests of the National Government,

which cannot be served consistently with respect for

such state interests, will suffer major damage if the

state law is applied.

Id. at 352, 86 S.Ct. at 507.

Although application of state law resulting in higher

condemnation costs to the licensee is not precluded, never-

theless, since application of the state law arguably burdens

or interferes with the three federal interests or policies

enumerated above, we must weigh the federal interest in

avoiding this interference against the state interest in hav-

ing its law applied.

In any case involving the issue of choice of federal

or state law, the desirability of uniformity achieved by

application of federal common law may be advanced.

Where, however, as here, uniformity bears little relation

to the federal program at issue,'* it does not weigh heavily

14. We take the opportunity to note at this juncture that

the Federal Power Act does not represent an attempt by Congress

to provide for application of uniform national law to all aspects

of hydroelectric development under the Act. Examining the legis-

lative history which primarily indicates congressional desire to

insure the passage and constitutionality of the Act in order to

promote the long needed development of water power, the Su-

preme Court cited as illustrative of the integration of state and

federal jurisdiction, which carefully preserves the separate in-

terests of the states, the following provisions:

[Section] 4(a) and (c), cooperation of the Commission with

the executive departments and other agencies of the State

and National Governments is required in the investigation of

(Continued on following page)

A21

in favor of application of uniform federal law. Further-

more, since a licensee often has the option of utilizing

Footnote continued—

such subjects as the utilization of water resources, water-power

industry, location, capacity, development costs and the re-

lation to markets of power sites, and the fair value of power.

§ 4(f), notice of application for a preliminary permit is to

go to any State or municipality likely to be interested. § 7(a),

in issuing permits and licenses preference is to be given to

States and municipalities. § 10(e) licenses to States and

municipalities under certain circumstances shall be issued

and enjoyed without charge. § 14, a right is reserved not

only to the United States but to any State or municipality

to take over any licensed project at any time by condemna-

tion and payment of just compensation. §§ 19 and 20,

regulation of service and rates is preserved to the states.

First Iowa Hydro-Electric Coop., 328 U.S. at 174-75 n. 19, 66

S.Ct. at 916, 917 n. 19. This integration refutes any argument

that failure to promote ease in federal administration through

adoption of uniform national standards of compensation signifi-

cantly undermines operation of the energy program. We think

that Sections 19 and 20, 16 U.S.C. §§ 812 and 813, expressly limit-

ing the Coinmission’s authority to regulate rates and other charges,

which are directly related to energy costs, to situations where a

state does not have its own regulations, is telling of the absence

of intent to apply uniform federal law to the compensation ques-

tion.

Although cost of land acquisition is included in rate-base de-

termination by the Commission in regulating interstate wholesale

rates for electric power and by state utility commissions setting

rates for the intrastate sale of power, the government conceded

in its amicus brief to the Supreme Court on petition for certiorari

in Dodson, brief for United States at 12 n. 11, Boswell v. Georgia

Power Company, 440 U.S. 907, 99 S.Ct. 1213, 59 L.Ed.2d 454

(1979), that “the Commission has not either in its rules and

decisions determining what costs for hydroelectric projects are

allowable under 16 U.S.C. 797(b) [determination of “actual legiti-

mate original cost of and the net investment in a licensed project’ ]

or in its rules and decisions governing rate-making by interstate

wholesalers of electricity and natural gas, developed a standard

favoring the use of either federal or state criteria in the valua-

tion for land acquisition purposes.” See also Grand River Dam

Auth. v. Grand Hydro, 335 U.S. 359, 374-75, 69 S.Ct. 114, 121-122,

93 L.Ed. 64 (1948) (discussing materiality of fact that valuations

are used in determination of rates and net investment; holding

that Federal Power Act does not displace state rules of com-

pensation where a licensee relies only on the powers of eminent

domain granted by the state; leaving open the questions of the

proper measure of value in a condemnation proceeding instituted

by the United States [since settled in favor of application of

(Continued on following page)

A22

either state or federal eminent domain power (as Georgia

Power Company has with respect to most, if not all, of

the land taken for the Lake Wallace project), application

of uniform federal law when a licensee proceeds under

the federal power authorized by Section 21 could result in

a corresponding loss of uniformity even in a single proj-

ect." Of course, distinguishing cases where the United

States is the condemning party from cases where a li-

censee is the condemnor, applying federal law to deter-

mine the measure of compensation in the former but not

in the latter, might be thought to be equally lacking in

uniformity and undesirable.’* Since national uniformity

is not specifically related to the operation of the Federal

Power Act and since application of either federal or state

law may result in a corresponding loss of uniformity,

Footnote continued—

federal law, United States v. Twin City Power Co., 350 U.S. 222,

76 S.Ct. 259, 100 L.Ed. 240 (1956)] or by one of its licensees

under Section 21).

15. We express no opinion as to whether Congress had the

power to compel “application of a uniform, federal standard in

any exercise of eminent domain power, state or federal, to ac-

quire land on which to build these federally regulated facilities”

as contended by Judge Simpson, Dodson, 563 F.2d at 1200 (dissent)

and disputed by the majority, id. at 1183 n. 16.

We agree with the majority in Dodson that the landowners’

arguments that impermissible forum shopping and denial of equal

protection may result from application of different standards of

compensation when a licensee has the option of proceeding under

state or federal powers of eminent domain are without merit. Id.

at 1191-93.

16. Indeed, the same lack of uniformity in a single project

could result if state law is applied to determine compensation when

a licensee condemns the property and if federal law is applied

to determine the “fair value” to which “net investment” is limited

when the United States exercises its take-over option under Sec-

tion 14. We note that, as pointed out by Judge Simpson, problems

of interpretation of “net investment” emphasize that “whether

the price paid by a state party in a Section 21 condemnation will

affect the price later paid by the federal government in exer-

cising its option under Section 14 is by no means certain.” Dodson,

563 F.2d at 1198 n. 11. See also Grand River Dam. Auth. v.

Grand Hydro, 335 U.S. at 374-75, 69 S.Ct. at 121-22.

A23

arguably cancelling out the advantage otherwise gained,

we do not count this argument in either side’s favor."

In analyzing the state’s interests in having its laws of

compensation apply when a licensee exercises the power of

eminent domain under Section 21 of the Federal Power

Act, we begin with the state’s interest in avoiding displace-

ment of its laws in the area of property rights, traditionally

an area of local concern. Since property has been viewed

as a bundle of valuable rights and since the question of

what constitutes property is usually determined with refer-

ence to state law,!® we think it consistent that the value of

those rights also be determined with reference to state law.

Since states, as well as the federal government, have an in-

terest in providing economical energy to their citizens, their

laws of compensation, accommodating that interest with

that of insuring that their condemnee-landowner citizens

are compensated in accord with their (states’) views of

what is just, are entitled to weight. As pointed out by the

landowners, a Section 21 licensee-condemnor is typically

either the state itself, a state-owned entity, a municipality

or a private utility, organized and operating under the laws

of the state and heavily regulated by a state utility com-

mission. A licensee usually condemns property for a proj-

ect and sells electricity produced therefrom only in the

state where it operates. This case, for example, involves a

17. Another argument traditionally advanced in cases in-

volving the issue of choice of state or federal law is that greater

certainty may be achieved by application of well established state

law on an issue as to which there is no established body of

federal common law. As pointed out by the majority in Dodson,

that argument carries no weight in this case since there is an

established body of federal law on the issue of just compensation.

Dodson, 563 F.2d at 1189-90. While that fact does not further

the argument that state law should be adopted in this case, we do

not view it as significantly detracting from it.

18. See, e. g., United States v. Certain Property Located in

Borough of Manhanttan, 344 F.2d 142, 144-45 (2d Cir. 1965)

(Friendly, J.); United States v. 145.30 Acres of Land, 385 F.Supp.

699 (W.D.La.1974), aff'd, 524 F.2d 1231 (5th Cir. 1975).

A24

private corporation using private funds to take private prop-

erty from a private landowner.

Georgia Power Company asserts that the application

of Georgia law as the federal rule of compensation in these

cases will result in higher land acquisition costs than those

which would have obtained if the law applicable to cases in

which the federal government is the condemnor were ap-

plied.” Georgia Power goes on to assert that because those

costs will ultimately be recovered from consumers of hydro-

electric power in the form of higher charges for power,

the selection of Georgia law will impermissibly burden the

achievement of one of the principal objectives of the Fed-

eral Power Act, inexpensive hydroelectric power. As-

suming that the effect of the application of Georgia law

will be higher cost to the consumer, nevertheless, we dis-

agree with the conclusion that the result is an impermissible

burden on the achievement of the objectives of the Federal

Power Act. To apply federal law because of the de-

creased cost to the consumer as compared to the cost to the

19. We do not view as highly probative the conflicting as-

sertions of the parties in their supplemental briefs on rehearing

en banc concerning the inferences which should be made regard-

ing the effects of the energy program of increased costs of con-

demnation based largely on certain statistics gleaned from the

report of the United States Department of Energy, Energy In-

formation Administration, Hydroelectric Plant Construction Cost

and Annual Production Expenses 1976, Twentieth Annual Sup-

plement (May 1978). The landowners argue basically that since

a substantial number of projects were developed through the use

of state laws of condemnation, we may conclude that use of

state law does not retard hydroelectric development. While

this appears to us to be largely conjectural, the argument that

use of state law does retard hydroelectric development does not

appear significantly less so.

The landowners also assert in their en banc briefs that the

Wallace Dam project was budgeted in anticipation that state law

would control the setting of just compensation. The Power Com-

pany vigorously denies that this was the case. We decline to

give weight to this disputed assertion. Cf. Kimbell Foods, 440

U.S. at 729-32, 99 S.Ct. at 1459-61; Yazell, 382 U.S. 341, 86 S.Ct.

500, 15 L.Ed.2d 404.

A25

consumer which would result if Georgia law were applied

is to require certain Georgia landowners partially to sub-

sidize a private Georgia utility and consumers of electric

power in a way which would not be required of them if

Georgia law were applied. In the absence of an indi-

cation of specific legislative intent to impose such a burden

on Georgia landowners, we will not presume that Congress

would have balanced the interests of private licensees and

consumers of hydroelectric power, on one hand, and the

property owners, on the other hand, in a fashion different

from the way in which the laws of the State of Georgia

balance such interests.

As is demonstrated by the persuasiveness of the well-

reasoned positions advanced by both the majority and the

dissent in Dodson, the choice of law question in this case

is a close one. A majority of this court, however, is of the

opinion that absent a showing of legislative intent to the

contrary considerations of federalism warrant a preference

for adoption of state law as the federal rule. We do not

find the showing of federal interest and the effect thereon

of applying state law sufficient to overcome that preference

in this case. Thus, we are led to the conclusion that the law

of the state where the condemned property is located

is to be adopted as the appropriate federal rule for deter-

mining the measure of compensation when a licensee ex-

ercises the power of eminent domain pursuant to Section 21

of the Federal Power Act.

The judgments of the district court are VACATED and

the cases are REMANDED for further proceedings con-

sistent with this opinion.

VACATED and REMANDED.

A26

FAY, Circuit Judge, concurring:

In this era of ever-groping federal tentacles, perhaps

it is quixotic to brandish one small sword in a crusade

against further invasion of the powers of states. With the

hope that this battle cry will not be a last gasp, I will

charge forward with the apparently anachronistic views

that states are sovereigns, that states do control property

and property rights. A significant conflict between federal

and state interests must exist tc preempt state control.

Trimmed to the bone, the facts of this case are that a

private, Georgia utility company desires privately-owned

Georgia land from Georgia citizens for a private hydro-

electric power and recreation project in Georgia to sup-

ply power to Georgia citizens and to provide profit to

private investors. In looking to define “just compensa-

tion” when such a private, state-controlled utility company

exerts the eminent domain power to acquire private land,

federal law should not control the inquiry. I therefore

concur in the majority result, although I would have

reached that holding by a different route.

Despite the danger of appearing to have surrendered

this battle, I will also suggest an additional basis for prefer-

ring state laws as federal rules of decision.

A. States Control Property

A helpful, if overly simplified, starting point may be

to sketch out several types of state-federal relationships.

In some instances, the Constitution forbids states to act, or

grants the federal government exclusive power to act. In

these subject areas, state action is precluded. At the op-

posite end of the spectrum are the powers the Constitution

reserves to the states.’ In those areas, congressional au-

1. It is probably the height of naivety to recall that some

of us were taught that the federal government received its powers

through delegation and that powers and authority not specifically

prohibited to the states nor delegated to the United States were

retained by those same sovereign states, U.S.Const. amend. X.

“ A27

thority to regulate states is limited. See, e. g., National

League of Cities v. Usery, 426 U.S. 833, 96 S.Ct. 2465, 49

L.Ed.2d 245 (1976). Between these poles are areas that

Congress has the power to regulate, and Congress either

does or does not act. If Congress has not acted, state

law is usually effective. If Congress has acted, and state

law conflicts, the supremacy clause requires preemption

of the state law, although Congress can designate state

law to be applicable. At times Congress partially exercises

its powers, leaving open some questions of applicable law.

In those instances, the courts decide whether federal or

state law applies, under the rubric of determining the

choice of law or the rule of decision.

Essentially four situations exist, therefore, in which

state law may apply: when Congress expressly adopts

state law, when Congress has not exercised its powers,

when Congress has acted leaving some areas open, and

when the tenth amendment? requires state law to apply

of its own force. In cases involving the latter three

situations, the courts must determine whether state law

applies, of its own force or otherwise, and, except in some

tenth amendment situations, whether it conflicts with fed-

eral programs or policies. The determination requires an

inquiry into the traditional, constitutional allocation of

power over subject matters between state and federal

governments.

My objection to the current framework for determin-

ing choice of law is that it stands on its head the proper

order of questions, losing sight of the inquiry into con-

stitutional allocations of power. The path to choice be-

tween a federal or state rule has acquired many steps.

First, the court decides whether the source of the right is

2. Reference to the tenth amendment is not meant to be

exclusive but rather primary. See also U.S.Const. amend. XXI.

A28

state or federal. If the source is federal, the court inquires

whether Congress has provided that either federal or

state law should govern. In the absence of congressional

statement, the court considers whether the federal rule

should be to adopt state law, or to apply or fashion a uni-

form federal rule. In answering this question, the court

initially determines whether use of state law will truly con-

flict with effectuation of federal policies or programs. If

the answer is “no,” the court balances federal interests in

uniformity against the state’s interests in spheres tradition-

ally left to local control.

In my view the initial inquiry should be into what the

competing subject areas are. The first step should be a

determination of whether the subject area is one tradition-

ally left to state control, not whether the source of right

is state or federal. Especially when dealing with those

powers left to the states, the courts should tread gingerly to

the conclusion that Congress has preempted the field. See

Hisquierdo v. Hisquierdo, 439 U.S. 572, 581, 99 S.Ct. 802,

808, 59 L.Ed.2d 1 (1979); Santa Fe Industries, Inc. v. Green,

430 U.S. 462, 477-80, 97 S.Ct. 1292, 1302-05, 51 L.Ed.2d 480

(1977); United States v. Yazell, 382 U.S. 341, 86 S.Ct. 500,

15 L.Ed.2d 404 (1966). Indeed, a premise to the interstitial

choice of law rulemaking is that Congress has not spoken,

and therefore it should be rare to uncover an intent to

preempt state law. Perhaps this explains why state law is

adopted as the federal rule in so many choice of law cases.

Instead of focusing on the allocation of state-federal

control over the subject areas, the current choice of law

analysis requires looking to the source of the right in

question. Very little space is spent discussing this threshold

inquiry. If the source of right is determined to be federal,

the requirements of Erie R.R. Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64,

58 S.Ct. 817, 82 L.Ed. 1188 (1938) and the Rules of De-

A29

cision Act® do not apply to cause state law to operate of

its own force. The source of right is held to be federal

whenever the case involves the Constitution, Clearfield

Trust Co. v. United States, 318 U.S. 363, 366-67, 63 S.Ct.

573, 574, 75, 87 L.Ed. 838 (1943); see Butner v. United

States, 440 U.S. 48, 99 S.Ct. 914, 59 L.Ed.2d 136 (1979); a

federal statute, UAW v. Hoosier Cardinal Corp., 383 U.S.

696, 86 S.Ct. 1107, 16 L.Ed.2d 192 (1966); a federal rela-

tionship, United States v. Standard Oil Co., 332 U.S. 301,

305-06, 67 S.Ct. 1604, 1606-07, 91 L.Ed. 2067 (1947); a fed-

eral program, United States v. Kimbell Foods, Inc., 440 U.S.

715, 726-27, 99 S.Ct. 1448, 1457-58, 59 L.Ed.2d 711 (1979);

United States v. Little Lake Misere Land Co., 412 U.S. 580,

592, 93 S.Ct. 2389, 2396, 37 L.Ed.2d 187 (1973); an implied

federal cause of action, Burks v. Lasker, 441 U.S. 471, 476-

77, 99 S.Ct. 1831, 1836, 60 L.Ed.2d 404 (1979); a federal

agency, United States v. Security Trust & Savings Bank,

340 U.S. 47, 71 S.Ct. 111, 95 L.Ed. 53 (1950); or a federal

contract, United States v. Allegheny, 332 U.S. 174, 64 S.Ct.

908, 88 L.Ed. 1209 (1944).

In a world in which the ever-burgeoning federal gov-

ernment colors most aspects of life, this federal nexus is

rarely lacking, and, accordingly, state law rarely applies of

its own force.* Indeed, these choice of law cases normally

arise in federal court, and, absent diversity, presumably

need some federal connection to enter the federal halls of

justice. Therefore the question posed in the first step of

3. See note 7 infra.

4. In a review of the choice of law cases, one is impressed

with how infrequently the source of right is not federal. In

United States v. Yazell, 382 U.S. at 357, 86 S.Ct. at 509, the Court

left unanswered whether state law applied of its own force or

as a federal rule. Perhaps if the source of right is state law, the

courts immediately move into standard preemption analysis. See

reel % Ackerman, ........ WP Gecsines , 100 S.Ct. 402, 62 L.Ed.2d 355

(1979).

A30

the prevailing choice of law analysis is often answered the

instant the action is commenced.

Perhaps it is splitting hairs to argue over the means for

selecting state law as the rule of decision so long as that

result is reached in the majority of cases. I, for one, how-

ever, find an inherent harm in this usurpation of state

power contrary to the precepts of federalism even if the

displacement is in name only. But the characterization of

the source of the question as federal goes beyond the ap-

pellation. First, the courts still may reject state law that

conflicts with or is hostile to federal policies, or is aberrant.

Although prevailing preemption analysis might also weed

out conflicting state rules, to call the source federal casts

uncertainty over whether, in any particular case, that

state’s law will apply, or will be found lacking in federal

court. Second, characterizing the source as federal binds

state courts to follow the federal rule. Third, by entitling

the source federal, state conflicts of law rules will not apply,

even if the state law is adopted as the federal rule. Klaxon

Co. v. Stentor Elec. Mfg. Co., Inc., 313 U.S. 487, 61 S.Ct.

1020, 85 L.Ed. 1477 (1941). Fourth, the characterization

and subsequent steps of the analysis relegate state interests

to a simple balancing against federal policies rather than

requiring a focus on constitutional allocations and uncon-

stitutional infringements of power.

In this case, the open question is one of property law,

one of the few areas traditionally left to the states. See

United States v. Little Laxe Misere Land Co., 412 U.S.

580, 605-08, 93 S.Ct. 2389, 2403-05, 37 L.Ed.2d 187 (1973)

(Stewart & Rehnquist, J.J., concurring); United States v.

Yazell, 382 U.S. 341, 352-58, 86 S.Ct. 500, 506-10, 15 L.Ed.2d

404 (1966); United States v. Burnison, 339 U.S. 87, 89,

70 S.Ct. 503, 504, 94 L.Ed. 675 (1950); Davies Warehouse

Co. v. Bowles, 321 U.S. 144, 155-56, 64 S.Ct. 474, 480-81, 88

L.Ed. 635 (1944); see also Sunderland v. United States, 266

A31

U.S. 226, 232-34, 45 S.Ct. 64, 65, 69 L.Ed. 259 (1923). The

Supreme Court sometimes mentions this tradition of state

property control when choosing the federal rule. E. g.

Butner v. United States, 440 U.S. 48, 55, 99 S.Ct. 914, 918,

59 L.Ed.2d 136 (1979); United States v. Brosnan, 363 U.S.

237, 241-42, 80 S.Ct. 1108, 1111-12, 4 L.Ed.2d 1192 (1960);

RFC v. Beaver County, 328 U.S. 204, 210, 66 S.Ct. 992,

995, 90 L.Ed. 1172 (1946). The property question arises be-

tween a Georgia landowner and a privately-owned, Georgia

utility company over land in Georgia condemned for a

Georgia power project. Grant of a federal license is con-

ditioned on the project’s being one that the United States

should not undertake. 16 U.S.C. § 800(b) (1976). The

major purpose of the Federal Power Act was to remove im-

pediments to development of local power plants by grant-

ing licensees permission to infringe upon the federal navi-

gational servitude.’ Under these circumstances state law

should govern the definition of just compensation!

It is true that section 21 appears to grant licensees

some eminent domain power, though it may be limited.

See Public Utility District No. 1 v. Seattle, 382 F.2d 666,

669-73 (9th Cir. 1967). But see Dodson, 563 F.2d 1178, 1187-

88 (5th Cir. 1977). To call the source federal and to apply

the choice of law analysis, however, skips the questions of

whether Congress can constitutionally act in the property

area, and whether Congress can constitutionally delegate

the federal eminent domain power to private individuals or

other legal entities and immunize such recipients from the

5. See Public Utility District No. 1 v. Seattle, 382 F.2d 666,

671 (9th Cir. 1967). Before the Federal Water Power Act of 1920

was enacted, the Rivers and Harbors Act of 1890 restricted con-

struction of bridges, piers, and abutments on navigable streams.

Additional legislation in 1899, 1906, and 1910 allowed construc-

tion of dams upon passing of a special bill in Congress but pro-

vided no protection for investors and permitted forfeiture or gov-

ernment take-over at any time. See H.R.Rep.No.61, 66th Cong.,

1st Sess. ........ (1919).

A32

requirements of state law.® I would not be so quick to

displace state supremacy over property within its borders,

especially when the federal interests are so slight.

B. State Law Preference

While I depart from the majority on the route it took,

I agree that state law governs. Although “considerations of

federalism’’ provide one ground for preferring state law,

another fundamental constitutional principle supports elect-

ing state law as the tie breaker. As vital to our system as

the notion of federal and state sovereignty is the concept

of the separation of powers of the three federal govern-

mental branches. If state law is not utilized, the federal

6. In Dodson, the majority concluded that the delegation was

constitutional by analogy to the Natural Gas Act, upheld in

Thatcher v. Tennessee Gas Transmission Co., 180 F.2d 644 (5th

Cir.), cert. denied, 340 U.S. 829, 71 S.Ct. 66, 95 L.Ed. 609 (1960).

563 F.2d 1178, 1181. Cf. Public Utility District No. 1 v. Seattle,

382 F.2d 666 (9th Cir. 1967) (Congress has not bestowed the full

measure of its eminent domain power on licensees, especially since

licensees are often private companies operating for profit, not for

a national interest).

7. The majority finds the roots of federalism in the Rules of

Decision Act. As suggested by note 6 of the majority opinion,

however, commentators debate whether the Rules of Decision Act

applies when the source of law is federal. If the source is federal,

“the Constitution or Treaties of the United States or Acts of Con-

gress” may “otherwise require” than that state laws be rules of

decision. United States v. Little Lake Misere Land Co., 412 U.S.

580, 592-93, 93 S.Ct. 2389, 2396, 37 L.Ed.2d 187 (1973). See Note.

Adopting State Law as the Federal Rule of Decision: A Proposed

Test, 43 U.Chi.L.Rev. 823, 826 n.23 (1976). Other commentators

believe that the Rules of Decision Act incorporates international

conflicts of law principles to restrict the “cases where they [state

rules] apply” to ones involving intra-territorial situations. R.

Bridwell & R. Whitten, The Constitution and the Common Law

78-87, 99, 129-30 (1977). Although a question of federal source

might involve a totally intrastate transaction, such as this one

involving Georgia parties and Georgia property, it also might

cover a setting in which choice of state law might force its ap-

plication to cases with extraterritorial circumstances. Neverthe-

less, federalism principles do support a preference for choosing

state law, regardless of whether those principles are embodied

in the Rules of Decision Act or extracted from the Constitution’s

structing of the federal system.

A33

courts must decide whether to fashion a federal rule, a

process that may encroach on the legislative powers re-

served to Congress.’ See Wallis v. Pan American Petroleum

Corp., 384 U.S. 63, 68, 86 S.Ct. 1304, 16 L.Ed.2d 369 (1966);

United Auto Workers v. Hoosier Cardinal Corp., 383 U.S.

696, 701, 86 S.Ct. 1107, 1110, 16 L.Ed.2d 192 (1966); United

States v. Standard Oil Co., 332 U.S. 301, 313-16, 67 S.Ct.

1604, 1610-12, 91 L.Ed. 2067 (1947).°

This is not to suggest that federal courts have no power

to shape federal common-law rules; the Supreme Court

has reaffirmed for almost forty years the judiciary’s author-

8. As the majority suggests, a third ground for preferring

state law in this case is that the suit is between private parties.

The Supreme Court has indicated that, especially when the United

States is not a party, a strong conflict is needed to displace state

law. Miree v. DeKalb County, Georgia, 433 U.S. 25, 31, 97 S.Ct.

2490, 2494, 53 L.Ed.2d 557 (1977); Bank of America v. Parnell,

352 U.S. 29, 34, 77 S.Ct. 119, 121, 1 L.Ed.2d 93 (1956). For cases

in which federal law was applied when the United States was not

a party, however, see Illinois v. Milwaukee, 406 U.S. 91, 92 S.Ct.

1385, 31 L.Ed.2d 712 (1972) (federal rule applied in dispute be-

tween states over interstate pollution); Holmberg v. Armbrecht,

327 U.S. 392, 66 S.Ct. 582, 90 L.Ed. 743 (1946) (federal rule of

equity applied in federal action between private parties). See also

Hisquierdo v. Hisquierdo, 439 U.S. 572, 99 S.Ct. 802, 59 L.Ed.2d 1

(1979); J. I. Case v. Borak, 377 U.S. 426, 84 S.Ct. 1555, 12 L.Ed.2d

423 (1964); Tunstall v. Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen & En-

ginemen, 323 U.S. 210, 65 S.Ct. 235, 89 L.Ed. 187 (1944); Sola

Electric v. Jefferson Electric, 317 U.S. 173, 63 S.Ct. 172, 87 L.Ed.

165 (1942). The United States’ status as a party, however, cer-

tainly does not trigger the automatic generation of a federal rule.

E. g., United States v. Kimbell, 440 U.S. 715, 99 S.Ct. 1448, 59 L.

Ed.2d 711 (1978); United States v. Yazell, 382 U.S. 341, 86 S.Ct.

500, 15 L.Ed.2d 404 (1966); United States v. Brosnan, 363 U.S. 237,

80 S.Ct. 1108, 4 L.Ed.2d 1192 (1960).

9. In Standard Oil, the Court turned down the opportunity to

create a federal rule, but it also rejected use of a state rule. That

case is therefore not solid support for a general state law pref-

erence, but it does reflect the Court’s concern that its rulemaking

not infringe on powers best exercised by Congress. See also R.

Bridwell & R. Whitten, supra note 7, at 133-34. These authors also

express the concern that judicial rulemaking rarely takes into

account the parties’ expectations, which causes unfairly retroactive

rulemaking, and uncertainty in the law and in private relations.

Id. at 133. See majority opinion, note 17.

A34

ity to fill many of the gaps left by Congress.’ Nor is it

suggested that separation of powers principles would re-

quire adoption of state law in the face of a significant .con-

flict between that law and federal directives; under the cur-

rent framework, the balancing of state and federal ir.’ »rests

does not occur until after a determination that state law is

not inconsistent with federal goals. Furthermore, I recog-

nize that separation of powers considerations may not carry

as much weight for questions such as this one, in which

the federal common-law rules have been long evolving

without indication of congressional displeasure. It does

seem to me, however, that separation of powers pririciples

fortify a general preference for applying a state law rather

than creating a federal rule when the weight of federal and

state interests is close on balance." If the current frame-

10. Cf. Cannon v. University of Chicago, 441 U.S. 677, 730,

745-47, 99 S.Ct. 1946, 1974, 1982-84, 60 L.Ed.2d 560 (Powell, J.,

dissenting) (1979) (distinguishing separation of powers problems

from choice of law questions). For the view that Congress would

be unable to bear the burden of interstitial lawmaking, see Hart,

The Relations Between State and Federal Law, 54 Colum.L.Rev.

489, 534 (1954). See also United States v. Little Lake Misere Land

Co., 412 U.S. at 593, 93 S.Ct. at 2397.

11. The majority states that “the choice of law question in

this case is a close one,” although federal interests are not “suf-

ficient to overcome [a state law] preference.” The question

does not appear so close to me. No significant conflict exists

that will defeat the purposes of the Federal Power Act. The three

articulated federal interests or policies are not unduly hampered

by application of state law. Congress itself built into the Act a

significant amount of disuniformity. As in Kimbell, the federal

operations already specifically adapt to state law and involve in-

dividual negotiation with landowners, which minimizes the force

of Georgia Power’s “generalized pleas for uniformity.” 440 U.S.

at 729-30, 99 S.Ct. at 1459. The Court’s statements in Butner con-

cerning use of state rules in bankruptcy proceedings have even

greater relevance to the Federal Power Act, under which the fed-

eral interests are less compelling:

Property interests are created and defined by state law.

Unless some federal interest requires a different result, there

is no reason why such interests should be analyzed differently

simply because an interested party is involved in a bank-

ruptcy proceeding. Uniform treatment of property interests

(Continued on following page)

A35

work for analyzing choice of law must remain, principles of

federalism and separation of powers support favoring state

law as the rule of decision.

ALVIN B. RUBIN, Circuit Judge, with whom AINS-

WORTH, TJOFLAT and FRANK M. JOHNSON, Jr., Cir-

cuit Judges, join, dissenting.

Because I fail to perceive any sound reason to dis-

tinguish between condemnation proceedings brought by the

United States and those in which it authorizes its power

to be used by its statutory licensee for a federal public pur-

pose, I respectfully dissent. Federal rules ex proprio

vigore should apply to such condemnation proceedings for

the reasons set forth in the majority opinion in Georgia

Power v. 54.20 Acres of Land, 563 F.2d 1178 (5th Cir.

1977), cert. denied, 440 U.S. 907, 99 S.Ct. 1213, 59 L.Ed.2d

454 (1979), and followed in the panel opinion, 596 F.2d

644.

Footnote continued—

by both State and federal courts within a State serves to

reduce uncertainty, to discourage forum shopping, and to pre-

vent a party from receiving “a windfall merely by reason

of the happenstance of bankruptcy.” Lewis v. Manufacturers

— Bank, 364 U.S. 603, 609, 81 S.Ct. 347, 350, 5 L.Ed.2d

440 U.S. at 55, 99 S.Ct. at 918. Under these circumstances, the

state interests outweigh the federal, regardless of whether a gen-

eral presumption favoring state law is utilized.

A36

GEORGIA POWER COMPANY,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

Ve

138.30 ACRES OF LAND, situate, lying and being in

Land Lot 327 of the 3rd Land District 389th G. M. District,

Putnam County, Georgia, Defendants,

Mildred B. SANDERS, a/k/a Mrs.

Karl D. Sanders, Jr., et al.,

Defendants-Appellants.

GEORGIA POWER COMPANY,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

V.

377.61 ACRES OF LAND, situate, lying and being in Land

Lots 367, 368, 369, 377, 378, 379, 380, 381, 382 and 383 of

the Third Land District, 389th G. M. District, Putnam

County, Georgia, Defendants,

Mrs, Nellie W. Larman et al.,

Defendants-Appellants.

GEORGIA POWER COMPANY,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

Vv.

532.82 ACRES OF LAND, situate, lying and being in the

145th G. M. District, Greene County, Georgia, Defendants,

Clifford H. Dyar, Jr., et al.,

Defendants-Appellants.

Nos. 77-1775 to 77-1777.

United States Court of Appeals,

Fifth Circuit.

June 6, 1979.

A37

Appeals from the United States District Court for the

Middle District of Georgia.

Before MORGAN, FAY and RUBIN, Circuit Judges.

ALVIN B. RUBIN, Circuit Judge:

The owners of three properties were required to ren-

der unto the sovereign portions of their land for the Lake

Wallace hydroelectric project in Georgia; they protest that

they did not receive in return their constitutional due,

and appeal from commission determinations of just com-

pensation for the property taken. The owners, we con-

clude, were not constitutionally guaranteed a jury trial;

the district court acted within the range of its discretion

in appointing a commission; and the commission properly

applied federal rather than state law in determining the

amount of compensation. However, the commission made

clear errors in, or failed adequately to explain the basis

for, its conclusions determining the amount of compensa-

tion due each of the owners. Therefore, the judgments of

the district court approving the reports are vacated, and

the cases remanded for further proceedings consistent

with this opinion.

I. Right toa Jury Trial

[1] The !andowners assert that their right to just

compensation includes the right to have the amount of

compensation fixed by a jury, and urge that the Supreme

Court has never squarely denied the right to a jury trial

on the issue of just compensation in an eminent domain

action brought by the United States. The premises of the

appellants’ argument are mistaken.

In ruling on a challenge to a jury determination of the

scope of a condemnation project, the Supreme Court re-

cently said, “it has long been settled that there is no con-

A38

stitutional right to a jury in eminent domain proceedings.”

United States v. Reynolds, 1970, 397 U.S. 14, 18, 90 S.Ct.

803, 806, 25 L.Ed.2d 12, 17 (denial of jury trial on issue

of project’s scope). That case did not directly present

the issue of the right to have the amount of compensation

determined by a jury, but the Court’s determination that

no constitutional issue was presented is consistent with

prior decisions in which it has implicitly held or stated

in dicta that there is no right to a jury trial in condemna-

tion proceedings. See, e. g., Bawman v. Ross, 1897, 167

U.S. 548, 591, 17 S.Ct. 966, 983, 42 L.Ed. 270, 289; Long

Island Water-Supply Co. v. Brooklyn, 1897, 166 U.S. 685,

694, 17 S.Ct. 718, 722, 41 L.Ed. 1165, 1168; United States

v. Jones, 1883, 109 U.S. 513, 519, 3 S.Ct. 346, 350, 27 L.Ed.

1015, 1017; Curtiss v. Georgetown and Alexandria Turn-

pike Co., 1810, 10 U.S. (6 Cranch) 233, 3 L.Ed. 209. See

also 12 C. Wright & A. Miller, Federal Practice and Pro-

cedure: Civil § 3051 at 120 (1973); 5 Moore’s Federal

Practice {]38.32[1] at 240-49 (2d ed. 1978). In promulgat-

ing subdivision (h) of Rule 71A of the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure, the Supreme Court also expressly ap-

proved use of a commission to determine just compensation

in certain cases.

[2] The Fourth Circuit has, apparently, reconsidered

Beatty v. United States, 4 Cir. 1913, 203 F. 620, dismissed

for want of jurisdiction and cert. denied, 1914, 232 U.S.

463, 34 S.Ct. 392, 58 L.Ed. 686, which recognized the right

to a jury trial. See United States v. 21.54 Acres of Land,

4 Cir. 1973, 491 F.2d 301, 304; Atlantic Seaboard Corpora-

tion v. Van Sterkenburg, 4 Cir. 1963, 318 F.2d 455, 459;

United States v. Cunningham, 4 Cir., 246 F.2d 330, 332.

For example, in 21.54 Acres of Land, supra, 491 F.2d at

304, the court noted that a landowner is not entitled to a

jury trial if the trial judge determines that valuation

should be by a commission or if Congress establishes a tri-

A39

bunal to determine the amount of compensation due. See

40 U.S.C. § 258a; Fed.R.Civ.P. 71A(h). If there were a

constitutional right to a jury trial on just compensation,

the judiciary and Congress would have no power to deny

landowners a jury trial.

II. Discretion to Appoint a Commission.

[3] The landowners contend that it was an abuse of

discretion for the court to appoint a commission in their

cases because only a small amount of property possessing

unique characteristics was involved, a jury trial would

not have occasioned thera hardship, and a jury would have

been more sympathetic than a commission to small land-

owners. Yet it was precisely because the Supreme Court

considered use of a commissivii to be more equitable to

small property owners that it authorized commission ap-

pointment.

Subdivision (h) of Rule 71A of the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure gives the court discretion, ‘because of

the character, location, or quantity of property to be con-

demned, or for other reasons in the interest of justice,”

to order the use of a commission to determine the com-

pensation due. The advisory committee that formulated

the present rule had previously proposed a rule requiring

a jury trial on the issue of just compensation in all cases

except when existing statutes provided to the contrary.’

The Supreme Court directed the committee to reconsider

in view of assertions that: (1) a provision for jury trial

would be unfair in the case of many small landowners who

lived at distances remote from the place where court

would be held; (2) such a trial would be expensive and

1. There were statutory exceptions for TVA cases and cases

arising in the District of Columbia, See 12 C. Wright & A. Miller,

Federal Practice & Procedure: Civil § 3051 at 119-20; 5 Moore’s

Federal Practice 1 38.22[2] at 250.1-52.

A40

burdensome to them; and (3) commissions are less likely

than juries to make disproportionate awards when the

government is condemning great acreages. See generally

12 C. Wright & A. Miller, Federal Practice and Procedure:

Civil § 3051; 5 Moore’s Federal Practice {| 38.32[2].

In presenting its revised proposal, now subdivision (h),

the Advisory Committee noted that the reason justifying

use of a commission for TVA cases “applied not only to

the TVA but to other large governmental projects, such as

. .. hydroelectric power . . . national forests, and others.”

Supplementary Report to the Court of the Advisory Com-

mittee, March 1951, reprinted in 7 Moore’s Federal Prac-

tice | 71A.06[2] at 71A-172. The Committee further noted

that the rule as drafted met the Court’s concerns: “[i]n

large projects like the TVA the court may decide to use a

commission.” Id. at 71A-173.

The Lake Wallace project embraces 21,215 acres, com-

posed of 225 tracts held by 197 different owners. The

property taken is located in five counties, all of which are

some distances from where the district court sits. At the

time these cases were commenced, it was estimated by

Georgia Power Company’s land department manager that

it would be necessary to file about 40 condemnation cases

to acquire the property; coincidentally, 40 cases had been

brought by the time this appeal was briefed. The dis-

trict court noted each of these factors in denying a jury

trial.

Our prior cases applying Rule 71A support the district

court’s decision. Although we have previously stressed

that a commission is to be used only for exceptional rea-

sons, see United States v. Leavell & Ponder, Inc., 5 Cir.

1961, 286 F.2d 398, 407-08, cert. denied, 366 U.S. 944, 81 S.Ct.

1674, 6 L.Ed.2d 855 and United States v. Buhler, 5 Cir. 1958,

254 F.2d 876, 880, we have recognized that Rule 71A(h)

A4l

permits denial of a jury trial and appointment of a com-

mission in cases involving “large areas held by many small

landowners, or property too distant for a jury to view the

premises ....” Id. We have also upheld the use of a

commission in a project involving only sixteen parcels of

land. United States v. 2,477.79 Acres of Land, 5 Cir. 1958,

259 F.2d 23.

[4, 5] The fact that the property of the particular

landowners involved in these cases was small and possessed

unique characteristics, or that the landowners desired a

jury trial, is not controlling; the rule focuses on the

character, location or quantity of the entire property being

condemned, hence on the overall scope of the project. See

Buhler, supra, 254 F.2d at 880. A tremendous undertaking

may embrace particular tracts of small size whose appraisal

is relatively easy. The commission is appointed for the

entire project, not simply for specific parcels whose value

is difficult to determine. If, indeed, these properties are so

singular as to require complex analysis, that factor would

weigh in favor of, rather than against, the appointment of

a commission. See Leavell & Ponder, supra, 286 F.2d at

408-09; United States v. Cunningham, 4 Cir. 1957, 246 F.2d

330, 333.

III. Applicability of Federal Law.

[6-8] Although the constitution requires the payment

of just compensation when private property is taken for

a public purpose, whether the taking is by federal or state

authority, different standards for determining just com-

pensation may be established by state and federal laws.

See Grand River Dam Authority v. Grand-Hydro, 1948,

335 U.S. 359, 69 S.Ct. 114, 93 L.Ed. 64. Under federal com-

mon law, which was applied by the commission, just com-

pensation is calculated by subtracting the project’s benefit

A42

to the land retained from the value of the land taken. Un-

der Georgia law, consequential benefits to the land retained

by the condemnee are not offset against the value of the

land taken in determining just compensation. Because

each of the owners retained land that was benefitted by

the project, if compensation had been determined under

state law rather than federal law, each would have been

entitled to more compensation.

[9] However we have now resolved the issue by

holding that federal law should be applied when a licensee

of the Federal Power Commission exercises the power of

eminent domain in federal court as authorized by Section

21 of the Federal Power Act, 16 U.S.C. § 814 (1970).

Georgia Powe: Company v. 54.20 Acres of Land, 5 Cir.

1977, 563 F.2d 1178, cert. denied, 1979, ........ © Rates , 99

S.Ct. 1213, 59 L.Ed.2d 454.

IV. Alleged Errors in the Commission’s Final Report.

We turn, then, to the commission’s report with respect

to each of the properties. This necessarily involves a dis-

cussion of the characteristics of each property in some

detail. However, we set forth, at the outset, the principles

that apply to the reports of such commissions.

[10-12] Commissions are not juries, whose general

verdicts are favored by a presumption of regularity if sub-

stantial evidence supports their result. See Mortensen v.

United States, 1944, 322 U.S. 369, 374, 64 S.Ct. 1037, 1040,

88 L.Ed. 1331; Sulmeyer v. Coca Cola Company, 5 Cir. 1975,

515 F.2d 835, 845, cert. denied, 424 US. 934, 96 S.Ct. 1148,

47 L.Ed.2d 341; Boeing Company v. Shipman, 5 Cir. en banc

1969, 411 F.2d 365, 374, 9 C. Wright & A. Miller, Federal

Practice and Procedure: Civil § 2524. When a commission

is used in place of a jury to determine the compensation

for a taking “[c]onclusory findings are alone not sufficient,”

A43

because findings by a commission are to “be accepted by

the court ‘unless clearly erroneous’; and conclusory find-

ings as made in these cases are normally not reviewable

by that standard.” United States v. Merz, 1964, 376 U.S.

192, 198, 84 S.Ct. 639, 643, 11 L.Ed.2d 629, 634. “[A] hear-

ing before a commission must result in findings much more

detailed than a general verdict.” United States v. 2,872.88

Acres of Land, 5 Cir. 1962, 310 F.2d 775, 777, modified in

Merz, supra. See Cunningham, supra, 246 F.2d at 333. The

path followed by the commission in reaching the amount of

the award shall be distinctly marked, United States v. Merz,

supra, 376 U.S. at 199, 84 S.Ct. at 643, 11 L.Ed.2d at 634, if

not blazed with an array of findings of subsidiary facts that

demonstrate that the ultimate finding is soundly and legally

based. 2,872.88 Acres of Land, supra, 310 F.2d at 779.

We recently reversed the decision of a district court

accepting a commission’s report that failed to explain why

the commission had rejected certain sales as comparables;

the case was remanded for findings that would give us

“a basis for enlightened appellate review.” United States

v. Trout, 5 Cir. 1967, 386 F.2d 216, 224. While the com-

mission’s path in these cases may have been better marked

than the trail in Trout, certain of its findings were, never-

theless, either clearly erroneous or insufficient to provide a

basis for “enlightened” review. Therefore we remand the

cases for further proceedings related to some of the points

discussed below.

Sanders Taking

[13] After the taking of 138.30 acres by Georgia Power

Co., the landowners are left with three separate parcels

consisting of 4.79, 21.20 and 41.03 acres. The smallest parcel

has direct highway access, but the other two do not. The

21.20 acre parcel has been cut off from the state highway

A44

by the reservoir; after the taking, the only remaining

access to this parcel is over a small, unpaved road that

grazes the eastern corner of the property. In order partially

to remedy this problem, Georgia Power Co., prior to the

commission’s hearing, gratuitously granted to the landown-

ers an unimproved 80-foot easement that allows direct

access to a county road. By its terms, however, the ease-

ment expires “upon nonuse for 24 consecutive months, or

no maintenance for 12 months... .”

The 41.03 acre parcel was deprived of access to a state

highway by the taking of 10 acres in the western corner of

the original tract. The district court’s final order reserves

to the landowners, “a 50-foot, non-exclusive road right-of-

way” along the southwestern boundary of the 10 acres

taken, which will give this parcel access to the highway.

However the topography of the area makes it difficult to

construct a road, and drainage from an adjoining tract may

create maintenance problems. International Paper Com-

pany owns the fee simple interest over which the ease-

ment runs;? if a road is constructed, the users must main-

tain it or they must bear the expense of constructing a

paved surface. Even in that event, the county may refuse

to accept dedication because the road is on property owned

in fee by International Paper Company.

In its amended report, the commission found that the

provision made for road purposes with respect to the 21.20

acre tract was “so nearly adequate” as not to affect ad-

versely the fair market value of the tract. It found that

giving the 41.03 acre tract a value of $1100 per acre “in-

cludes the cost of any road.” The commission allowed no

additional compensation for the construction of a road to

this tract because “[n]Jone of the comparables cited by the

2. Georgia Power Co. obtained from International Paper Co.

the easement that was granted to Sanders.

A45

witnesses for the landowner or the Power Company in-

cluded an item for road construction.” In reaching these

conclusions, the commission did not adequately compensate

the owners for the access problems created for these two

parcels, and, therefore its findings as to their values are

clearly erroneous.

[14, 15] A simple easement over unimproved fields

that will expire “upon no use for 24 consecutive months, or

no maintenance for 12 months,” is clearly less valuable to

the property owned than either a public road or a perma-

nent easement. If the owner is unable for any reason to

build a road over the easement within 24 months, or if,

thereafter, the owner is unable to maintain it, it will be

lost.* Moreover, even if the easement is utilized, the land-

owner must bear both the cost of construction and the con-

tinuing expense of maintenance. Each of the expert wit-

nesses who testified concerning the value of the remaining

21.20 acre tract believed that the limited easement added

to the value of the property and based his estimate of value

on what the property would be worth if a road were con-

structed. Two of them calculated the current value of the

parcel by estimating the value of the tract with road access,

then deducting the cost of constructing a road and an

additional amount to account for the risk of losing the ease-

ment. One estimated that the value of the tract should be

reduced by 25 percent simply to account for the limited

nature of the easement; another, a witness for Georgia

Power, made a 20 percent reduction for the same reason.

A third expert, who did not specifically make a deduction

to account for the limited nature of the easement, never-

theless admitted that such an easement is less valuable

3. International Paper Co. has explained, in a letter to

Georgia Power Co., that the intent of the parties to the easement

was that the 24 month and 12 month limitation periods shall com-

mence when filling of the Wallace Dam Reservoir begins, or, at

the latest, on the scheduled filling date of January 1, 1979.

A46

than a permanent one. The commission relied on these

experts’ other opinions in connection with this parcel, but

ignored their testimony concerning the effect of the limited

easement. Because all of the experts agreed that the re-

stricted nature of the easement had a detrimental effect on

value, and two of the three expressly stated that some

allowance should be made for it, the failure of the commis-

sion to do so was clearly erroneous.

The commission assumed that the cost of building a

road over the right-of-way affected the value of the 41.03

acre parcel, but in allowing only $1100 an acre for the

property with some vague allowance for this expense, it

included far less than the estimated $10,000 cost of a paved

road. If the commission assumed that a less expensive

road would be built that could not be dedicated to the

county, it made no specific allowance for maintenance ex-

pense, and the language of its report suggests that none

was tacitly included. Its failure to take adequately into

account the effect of these costs on the parcel’s value was

clearly erroneous.

Larman Taking

The Larman taking was on October 29, 1974. Sales of

other properties prior to that date were used by the com-

mission as comparables for the purpose of estimating the

value of the Larman property; some of these comparables

were used to estimate its pre-taking value, while the others

were used to estimate its post-taking value. The use of

different comparables apparently was based on the assump-

tion that the character of the property was changed by the

taking and, therefore, other comparables then became ap-

propriate. The prices of these comparable properties were

adjusted to account for the amount of time that had

elapsed between the time of sale and the time of the Larman

taking, and the market conditions prevailing during this

A47

period. Mrs. Larman alleges that the commission was

inconsistent in its adjustments and that, had it followed its

own standards, it would have awarded her more compen-

sation. In particular, she asserts that the commission im-

properly failed to adjust for inflation one of the comparable

sales used to establish the value of the Larman property

before the taking while it made such adjustments in as-

sessing other comparable sales that had occurred about the

same time and that were used to establish pre- and post-

taking values.

One expert witness testified that property in the area

of the Larman property appreciated about 25 percent dur-

ing 1973, but that, beginning in 1974, the market leveled off.

This expert thought that the appreciation rate was a little

higher, approximately 35 percent, during 1973 for property

that would remain after the project was completed or

that was purchased because of speculation prompted by

the project. This testimony clearly supports the commis-

sion’s adjustment of several of the comparable sales that

occurred more than two months prior to the end of 1973.

The following table shows the increases that the com-

mission made in the sale price per acre of the comparable

sales to account for the inflation after they occurred:

Sale used as

comparable for

determining

value Sale Commission’s

Date before price adjustment

of or after (per (price/ Percentage

sale taking acre) acre) adjustment

1/73 Before $550 0 0

2/73 After $825 +$288 34.9%

3/73 After $974 +$87 8.9%

6/73 Before $365 +$86 23.6%

“11/73 Used for both Varied 0 0

or post purposes

1973

*Remaining sales

A48

[16] We have great difficulty in comprehending what

the commission did and why. For example, in establishing

the value of the property before the taking, an adjustment

was made in the June 1973 sale, but none in the January

1973 sale. The reason for this apparent inconsistency is

not explained, In effect, the commission apparently as-

sumed, without adequate explanation of its rationale, that

without the project the value of the property sold in Jan-

uary would have been unchanged from that time through

October 1974. Yet an expert who testified regarding the

inflation rate during 1973 stated that he would add 25 per-

cent to the sale price of that property to adjust for inflation

since the time it was sold. The failure either to make such

an adjustment or to account adequately for the failure to do

so makes the report unacceptable.

When we examine the comparables used to value the

residual property after the taking, we find other unex-

plained adjustments or failures to adjust. The March

sale was adjusted upward less than 10 percent for timing.

The sale price of the comparable property sold a month

before was adjusted upward by almost 35 percent, which

is more in line with what the expert testimony indicated

is appropriate. At least on the surface, the handling of

the March 1973 comparable appears to be an error in

Mrs. Larman’s favor, for it appears that a greater upward

adjustment in the sale price of this property should have

been made.

Dyar Taking

A. Shallow water

[17] Once the reservoir is filled, the property re-

tained by the landowners will have an extensive shoreline.

The water in this part of the lake will be extremely

shallow. Moreover, the level of the water in the lake will

A49

rise and fall daily because Lake Wallace will be a pump-

storage facility. This variation in the water’s depth,

coupled with the shallowness of the reservoir in the area

of Dyar’s property, will cause a substantial daily move-

ment of its shoreline. In the southern portion, it will

move in and out up to 200 feet horizontally each day;

consequently, vast mudflats will often be exposed.

Expert witnesses for both parties testified that the

portion of the Dyar property with shallow water will be

less valuable than the portion with deeper water. One

witness estimated that the value of this property will be

one-third less than if it had deeper water. The commis-

sion, however, made no specific allowance for this factor.

It explained its failure to do so on the basis that it relied

exclusively ‘‘on adjusted comparable sales.”

In valuing the property retained after the taking, the

commission cited the conclusions of the experts who tes-

tified, but did not itself adjust the sales these experts

cited as being comparable. All of these experts clearly

took the shallow water into account in their testimony.

For purposes of comparison with the retained Dyar prop-

erty, two of them adjusted downward the sales prices of

those properties they considered comparable having water

depth superior to that of the Dyar property. In addition,

they included a comparable property that has even shal-

lower water than the Dyar property will have, and ad-

justed its sale price upward to account for this factor.

Based on his analysis of the adjusted comparables he had

selected, one of these two experts concluded that the re-

maining Dyar property was worth $900 per acre. The

other concluded that it was worth $850 per acre. The

third expert, who testified for the landowners, neither con-

sidered any sales involving property with water shallower

than that on the Dyar property, nor adjusted each com-

parable separately for this factor; in order to take it into

A50

account, however, he reduced bv one-third the estimated

value he obtained based on the comparables he considered.

He also included a discount factor for “holding time” until

the lake is ready for use. The commission considered this

to be improper, and, therefore revised his figure of $668

per acre to $813 per acre.

The commission concluded that the remaining Dyar

property is worth $850 per acre, which is less than or

equal to the value given by two of the experts even after

taking the shallow water into account. The commission

would have arrived at a higher value for the property than

it did if it had not accepted the adjustments these experts

made to take into account the shallow water. Its reliance

on the testimony of the experts regarding the influence of

this factor, rather than attempting to make its own specific

adjustments to each comparable sale to take it into ac-

count, was not clearly erroneous.

B. Sales the commission rejected as comparable

The commission rejected three sales that the land-

owners’ expert testified involved property comparable to

the Dyar property. The owners assert that the commission

did not adequately explain its basis for rejecting these

sales.

[18] The Dyar tract was a functioning farm unit.

This gave it a higher value than unused fields. Only one

of the sales accepted as comparable by the commission

involved property employed as a functioning farm unit;

yet, each of the properties involved in the three sales that

the commission rejected as comparables was so utilized.

The commission rejected one of them because it was an

“industrial sale”; the property had been sold to a com-

pany for development of a fertilizer processing plant. The

other two sales the commission refused to consider were

ASdl

dismissed with the conclusory statement that they “were

not of sufficient comparability to use.”

[19] The commission’s refusal to consider the “in-

dustrial sale” was reasonable. However, no basis for its re-

fusal to treat the other two sales as comparable is shown

in the record. In fact, when the landowners’ expert tes-

tified regarding these two sales, the commission indicated

that it would view them as comparables.

These two sales were at prices of $750 per acre and

$733 per acre, considerably higher than the prices of the

other properties considered by the commission. Had these

sales been considered, Dyar’s compensation would have

been greater. The commission’s failure to adequately ex-

plain its refusal to consider these sales as comparables

makes its report unacceptable.

C. Adjustment for pasture

Before the taking, the Dyar property consisted, in part,

of open land or pasture land and, in part, of timber land.

The commission considered sales of different properties in

order to value each of these components of the Dyar prop-

erty. In order to value the open land or pasture land, the

commission considered sales of three properties that it

considered comparable. The prices of each of these prop-

erties was adjusted to take into account differences be-

tween it and the Dyar property. With the adjustments

made by the commission, the prices of these comparables

were $459, $468 and $500; based on this evidence, the

commission valued the Dyar pasture land at $485 per acre.

[20] The owners assert that a 10 percent downward

adjustment made by the commission to account for ‘“‘pas-

ture” in the price of one of the comparables, a sale by

Barksdale to Beauchamp, is clearly erroneous. The com-

mission gave no justification for this adjustment. The

r*%

**

A52

reason for it is not self-evident, although the record sug-

gests at least one possible explanation.‘ We are unable,

however, to determine from the record what the com-

mission’s rationale actually was. The landowner was en-

titled to an explanation that would permit us intelligently

to review it. See United States v. Trout, supra. Further

findings should have been made by the commission.

Conclusion

_ For the reasons set forth above, further fact-findings

and, in light thereof, reevaluation of the compensation

awarded each of these landowners are required. Accord-

ingly, the judgments of the district court in these cases

are VACATED, and the cases are REMANDED for fur-

ther proceedings consistent with this opinion.

VACATED and REMANDED.

4. One of the experts who testified regarding the Barksdale

sale testified that he believed this was a speculative sale. The

commission may well have believed that the sale price was some-

what more than a buyer would pay simply for land to use for

pasture. The 10 percent reduction in this sale price, therefore,

may be attributable to the commission’s taking this factor into

account.

A53

GEORGIA POWER COMPANY,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

Vv.

54.20 ACRES OF LAND, situated lying and being LAND

LOTS 315 AND 326 OF the 3RD LAND

DISTRICT, etc., et al.,

Defendants,

Jim Dodson and Patricia W. Womack,

Defendants-Appellants.

J.C. HILSMAN, et al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

V.

GEORGIA POWER COMPANY,

Defendant-Appellee.

Nos. 75-4448 and 77-1327.

United States Court of Appeals,

Fifth Circuit.

Nov. 28, 1977.

Appeals from the United States District Court for the

Middle District of Georgia.

Before WISDOM, SIMPSON, and TJOFLAT, Circuit

Judges.

WISDOM, Circuit Judge:

These condemnation cases present the issue whether

compensation should be determined under federal law or

under the law of the state where the condemned property

is located when a licensee of the Federal Power Commis-

sion exercises the power of eminent domain in federal

court as authorized by Section 21 of the Federal Power

A54

Act, 16 U.S.C. § 814 (1970). We reserved this question in

Louisiana v. Lindsey, 5 Cir. 1975, 524 F.2d 934, as did the

Supreme Court in Grand River Dam Authority v. Grand-

Hydro, Inc., 1948, 335 U.S. 359, 69 S.Ct. 114, 93 L.Ed. 64.

We now hold that federal law controls.

I.

The plaintiff-appellee, Georgia Power Company, is a

privately owned Georgia utility. It intends to operate a

hydroelectric power generating facility with a dam across

the Oconee River in Hancock and Putnam Counties,

Georgia, at a point known as Laurens Shoals. The dam

will produce a lake to be known as Lake Wallace. The

appellants are Georgia landowners with property which

will be inundated by Lake Wallace.’

Under the Federal Power Act, 16 U.S.C. §§ 791a, et

seq. (1970), the Federal Power Commission may issue

licenses to certain persons or entities to construct, operate,

or maintain various hydroelectric generating facilities. 16

U.S.C. § 797(e). The F.P.C. issued a license to Georgia

Power on August 6, 1969, for the Lake Wallace Project.’

As a licensee, Georgia Power may exercise the right of

eminent domain under Section 21 of the Federal Power

Act, 16 U.S.C. § 814 (1970), which provides:

When any licensee cannot acquire by contract or

pledges an unimproved dam site or the right to use or

1. The numerous appellants in this consolidated appeal fell

into three groups for briefing purposes. In addition, Mrs. Nellie

W. Larman, another landowner involved in a Lake Wallace con-

demnation proceeding, filed an amicus brief. Because each ap-

pellant’s argument, if successful, would benefit the appellants as

a group, we generally have not identified the particular party

advancing an argument discussed in this opinion.

(2; #42 F.P.C. 356 (1969). At that time, the project was known

as the Laurens Shoals Project and the license is issued in that

name.

A55

damage the lands or property of others necessary to

the construction, maintenance, or operation of any dam,

reservoir, diversion structure, or the works appurte-

nant or accessory thereto... it may acquire the same

by the exercise of the right of eminent domain in the

district court of the United States for the district in

which such land or other property may be located, or

in the State courts. The practice and procedure in

any action or proceeding for that purpose in the dis-

trict court of the United States shall conform as nearly

as may be with the practice and procedure in similar

action or proceeding in the courts of the State where

the property is situated: Provided, That United States

district courts shall only have jurisdiction of cases

when the amount claimed by the owner of the property

to be condemned exceeds $3,000.

Exercising this right, Georgia Power brought actions

in the District Court for the Middle District of Georgia.

Senior Judge W. A. Bootle appointed a three-member

Commission, see Fed.R.Civ.Proc. 71A, to determine the

amount of compensation due the condemnees. In his in-

structions to the Commissioners, Judge Bootle set out the

federal law of compensation. These rules differ from

Georgia law. Instruction No. 20 directs the Commissioners

to ignore an increase in value which the Georgia Power

project has created in the condemned property; a Georgia

court might recognize such value. See Hard v. Housing

Authority, Ga. 1963, 219 Ga. 74, 132 S.E.2d 25. Instruction

No. 21 allows the Commissioners to offset any recovery for

land actually taken with benefits to any remaining property

caused by the project; Georgia law prohibits such a set-off.

See Ga.Code Ann. § 36-504 (1970). The district court de-

clined to instruct the Commissioners to include a reason-

able attorney’s fee in their award; in a Georgia proceeding

a reasonable attorneys’ fee would be allowed. See White

A56

v. Georgia Power Company, Ga.1976, 237 Ga. 341, 227 S.E.

2d 385.

After these instructions were first made in 1975 sev-

eral condemnees in cases other than No. 75-4448 filed mo-

tions and objections opposing the use of federal law. The

district court held a pre-trial hearing on the objections.

Judge Bootle made several changes in the phrasing of his

instructions, but he regarded federal laws as controlling.’

The Commission then heard evidence in No. 75-4448. Its

report concluded that the benefits accruing to the land re-

maining with the landowners exceeded the value of the

property taken. As a result, the Commission awarded no

monetary compensation. The landowners opposed Georgia

Power’s motion to confirm the report on the ground that

the offset of benefits was improper. The court overruled

these objections and the condemnees appealed.*

No. 77-1327 began after Judge Bootle’s decision in No.

75-4448 to apply federal law. The condemnees in No. 77-

1327 nevertheless moved that the court incorporate Georgia

law into its instructions.’ The judge conducted a pre-trial

conference and heard argument on the question. He then

denied the motion and adhered to his previous order that

3. After the hearing, Judge Bootle provided a Memorandum

to Counsel citing cases supporting his conclusion that federal law

of compensation applies. Those cases are Clearfield Trust Co. v.

United States, 1943, 318 U.S. 363, 63 S.Ct. 573, 87 L.Ed 838;

United States v. County of Allegheny, 1944, 322 U.S. 174, 64 S.Ct.

908, 88 L.Ed. 1209; United States v. Standard Oil Co., 1947, 332

U.S. 301, 67 S.Ct. 1604, 91 L.Ed. 2067; United States v. Yazell,

1966, 382 U.S. 341, 86 S.Ct. 500, 15 L.Ed.2d 404; Duvall-Wheeler

Livestock v. United States, 5 Cir. 1969, 415 F.2d 226; United States

v. McCleskey Mills, Inc., 5 Cir. 1969, 409 F.2d 1216.

4. During the condemnation proceedings of 75-4448 the ap-

pellant Jim Dodson conveyed his interest in the condemned prop-

erty to Patricia Womack. On March 21, 1975 Judge Bootle

| Georgia Power’s motion to add Patricia Womack as a

fendant.

5. The composition of the Commission and the Instructions

given to the Commissioners are the same in both cases before us.

A57

federal law applies. Judge Bootle certified the question for

immediate review under 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b) (1970). This

Court allowed the appeal, and consolidated it with No. 75-

4448.

Il.

Before a federal court may reach the question of ap-

plying state or federal common law to an issue before it,

the court must determine that the source of the right or

authority in question is federal. If the source is not fed-

eral, Erie Railroad Co. v. Tompkins, 1938, 304 U.S. 64, 58

S.Ct. 817, 82 L.Ed. 1188, and the Rules of Decision Act®

direct that state law apply of its own force. Even if the

source is federal, the court must follow any congressional

directions about the proper law to apply. See Comment,

Adopting State Law as the Federal Rule of Decision: A

Proposed Test, 43 U.Chi.L.Rev. 823, 826 (1976).

We find that the source of the power to condemn prop-

erty contained in Section 21 is federal. Eminent domain

inheres in sovereignty. See Kohl v. United States, 1876, 91

U.S. 367, 23 L.Ed. 449. Within our federal system the

states and the federal government exercise independent

powers of eminent domain, and neither can delegate the

use of the other’s authority. 91 U.S. at 372-73, 23 L.Ed.

449; Latinette v. City of St. Louis, 7 Cir. 1912, 201 F. 676,

678. Thus, when Congress provided that licensees could

exercise “the” power of eminent domain, it was referring

to the federal power. Both courts and commentators have

described the eminent domain power delegated in Section

6. The laws of the several states, except where the Consti-

tution or treaties of the United States or Acts of Congress other-

wise require or provide, shall be regarded as the rules of decision

in civil actions in the courts of the United States, in cases where

they apply.

28 U.S.C. § 1652 (1970).

A58

21 as the federal power. Federal Power Commission v.

Tuscarora Indian Nation, 1960, 362 U.S. 99, 120, 80 S.Ct.

543, 4 L.Ed.2d 584; City of Tacoma v. Taxpayers of Tacoma,

1958, 357 U.S. 320, 340, 78 S.Ct. 1209, 2 L.Ed.2d 1345; Chap-

man v. Public Utility District No. 1, 9 Cir. 1966, 367 F.2d

163, 167; 7 Moore’s Federal Practice J 71A.10[2]. When it

condemns land under Section 21, a licensee acts as the

agent of the United States government. Tuscarora Nation

of Indians v. Power Authority, 2 Cir. 1958, 257 F.2d 885,

894, vacated as moot sub nom., McMorran v. Tuscarora Na-

tion of Indians, 362 U.S. 608, 80 S.Ct. 960, 4 L.Ed.2d 1009.

This delegation of federal power is constitutional. Missouri

v. Union Electric Light & Power Co., C.D.Mo.1930, 42 F.2d

692; see Thatcher v. Tennessee Gas Transmission Co., 5 Cir.

1950, 180 F.2d 644, cert. denied, 340 U.S. 829, 71 S.Ct. 66, 95

L.Ed. 609 (upholding identical delegation in the Natural

Gas Act, 15 U.S.C. § 717(b) (1970)).

Appellants argue that Section 21 does not delegate

federal authority, but merely provides a federal forum for

exercise of a state created eminent domain power. Such

an interpretation does not accord with decisions upholding

the right of a licensee to condemn property that it could

not obtain under the applicable state statute. E. g., City

of Tacoma v. Taxpayers of Tacoma, 1958, 357 U.S. 320, 78

S.Ct. 1209, 2 L.Ed.2d 1345; First Iowa Hydro-Electric Co-

operative v. Federal Power Commission, 1946, 328 U.S.

152, 66 S.Ct. 906, 90 L.Ed. 1143. There is no suggestion in

the statute that Congress intended to create an interstitial

power of eminent domain that would function only when

state powers were inadequate. In contrast, Section 19, 16

U.S.C. § 812 (1970) expressly limits the FPC’s authority

to regulate rates to situations where a state does not have

its own regulations Section 20, 16 U.S.C. § 813 (1970)

places similar limits on other powers of regulation.

A59

We are not persuaded by the argument that the $3,000

in controversy requirement shows that Section 21 is a

jurisdictional provision. It is true that this requirement

parallels the amount in controversy requirement for di-

versity cases at the time the Federal Power Act was en-

acted. Congress, however, added the $3,000 requirement

late in the consideration of the Federal Power Act. Com-

pare H.R.Rep.No.715, 65th Cong., 2d Sess. 27, H.R.Rep.

No.1147, 65th Cong., 3d Sess. 13, and H.R.Rep.No.61, 66th

Cong., Ist Sess. 10 (original versions without the $3,000

amount in controversy requirement) with S.Rep.No.180,

66th Cong., Ist Sess. 9 and 16 U.S.C. § 814 (1970) (versions

containing $3,000 amount in controversy requirement as

added on the House floor). As a result, the requirement

cannot be read as an indication of the original purpose of

Section 21. Members of Congress do not seem to have

believed the amount in controversy amendment signif-

icantly changed Section 21; the Senate and Conference

Committee Reports, written after the House adoption of the

amendment, do not mention it. Further, the House debates

establish that the amount in controversy minimum was de-

signed to prevent inconvenience to a landowner who might

otherwise need to travel several hundred miles to press a

small compensation claim. 58 Cong.Rec. 2240 (1919) (re-

marks of Mr. Stevenson).

We have not found any congressional directive to apply

state law in either the language of Section 21 or its legis-

lative history. Therefore, the second prerequisite to our

consideration of the choice of law issue is met. The lan-

guage in the statute referring to state “practice and pro-

cedure” does not govern the choice between substantive

rules of compensation. The Supreme Court has held that

such language “[does] not, and could not, affect questions

of substantive right—such as the measure of compensation

—grounded upon the Constitution of the United States”.

United States v. Miller, 1943, 317 U.S. 369, 380, 63 S.Ct. 276,

A60

283, 87 L.Ed. 336. Accord United States v. 93.970 Acres of

Land, 1959, 360 U.S. 328, 79 S.Ct. 1193, 3 L.Ed.2d 1275. The

appellants attempt to distinguish Miller on the ground that

the plaintiff was the United States rather than a private

licensee. We cannot see why in this context the identity of

the plaintiff would change the meaning of virtually identical

language.” And insofar as Section 21 did require con-

7. The Miller opinion specifically interpreted the following

statutes:

In every case in which the Secretary of the Treasury or any

other officer of the Government has been, or hereafter shall

be authorized to procure real estate for the erection of a

public building or for other public uses, he may acquire the

same for the United States by condemnation, under judicial

process, whenever in his opinion it is necessary or advan-

tageous to the Government to do so, and the Attorney Gen-

eral of the United States, upon every application of the

Secretary of the Treasury, under this section and section 258

of this title, or such other officer, shall cause proceedings to

be commenced for condemnation within thirty days from

receipt of the application at the Department of Justice.

40 U.S.C.A. § 257.

The practice, pleadings, forms and modes of proceeding

in causes arising under the provisions of this act shall con-

form, as near as may be, to the practice, pleadings, forms and

proceedings existing at the time ‘n like causes in the courts

of record of the State within w.iich such [district court is]

held, any rule of the court to the contrary notwithstanding.

Act of Aug. 1, 1888, c. 728 § 2, 25 Stat. 357. This section was

codified, as amended, at 40 U.S.C. § 258 until it was superceded

by Rule 71A of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

The Secretary of the Army may cause proceedings to be

instituted, in the name of the United States in any court hav-

ing j iction of such proceedings, for the acquirement by

condemnation of any land, right of way or material needed

to enable him to maintain, operate or prosecute works for

the improvement of rivers and harbors for which provision

has been made by law; such proceedings to be prosecuted in

accordance with the laws relating to suits for the condemna-

tion of property of the States wherein the proceedings may

be instituted: Provided, however, That when the owner of

such land, right of way, or material shall fix a price for the

same, which in the opinion of the Secretary of the Army,

shall be reasonable, he may purchase the same at such price

without further delay: And provided further, That the Sec-

retary of the Army is authorized to accept donations of land

or materials required for the maintenance or prosecution of

such works.

33 U.S.C.A. § 591.

A61

formity with state practice, it has been superseded by Rule

71A of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. United States

v. 93.970 Acres of Land, 1959, 360 U.S. 328, 79 S.Ct. 1193, 3

L.Ed.2d 1275; 7 Moore’s Federal Practice {| 71A.10[2] at

71A-252 (2d ed. 1975).

There is little discussion of Section 21 in the Committee

Reports or the congressional debates, and none of it illu-

minates the choice of law issue. Appellants argue, how-

ever, that other sections of the statute, such as Sections 19

and 20, evidence a congressional respect for state law which

includes state rules of compensation in an eminent domain

proceeding. We are not ready to make this inference from

unrelated provisions in the Federal Power Act without more

support in the legislative materials. The legislative history

reveals that Congress took care to preserve state rights in

the regulation of power and property to forestall a con-

stitutional attack on the Federal Power Act. See, e. g.,

First Iowa Hydro-Electric Cooperative v. Federal Power

Commission, 328 U.S. at 174, 66 S.Ct. 906. As a result, the

Federal Power Act contains many explicit acknowledge-

ments of state authority. See, e. g., Id. at 174 n. 19, 66

S.Ct. 906; Sections 4(a) and (c)* (requires cooperation be-

tween the FPC and the executive departments and other

agencies of the state and federal governments on specified

subject); 4(f)® (requires notice of application for a pre-

liminary permit to be given to any state or municipality

likely to be interested); 7(a)’® (gives preference in issuing

permits and licenses to states and municipalities); 10(e)™

(provides that certain licenses to states and municipalities

be issued and enjoyed without charge); 14"? (gives states

8. 16U.S.C. § 797(a) and (c) (1970).

9. 16 U.S.C. § 797(f) (1970).

10. 16 U.S.C. § 800(a) (1970).

11. 16 U.S.C. § 803(e) (1970).

12. 16 U.S.C. § 807 (1970).

A62

or municipalities as well as federal government an option to

acquire a licensed project); 19;'* 20;'4 and 27° (a “saving”

clause concerning state laws relating to the control, ap-

propriation, use or distribution of water used in irrigation

or for municipal or other uses, or any vested right acquired

therein). The failure to mention specifically state laws of

eminent domain contrasts with these provisions, and sug-

gests, if anything, that Congress did not believe it neces-

sary to follow state eminent domain rules or desire courts

to do so.’®

The Committee Reports reveal thet some members

had concerns over the constitutionality of Section 21, al-

though it is not clear whether they thought it an im-

proper invasion of state prerogatives or an improper dele-

gation of federal authority to private parties. H.R.Rep.

No.61, 66th Cong., Ist Sess. 10. At any rate, a majority

13. 16 U.S.C. § 812 (1970).

14. 16 U.S.C. § 813 (1970).

15. 16 U.S.C. § 821 (1970).

16. The dissent makes much of the fact that Congress did

not assure “application of a uniform, federal standard in any

exercise of eminent domain power, state or federal, to acquire

land on which to build these federally regulated facilities’. (Em-

phasis changed.) This omission becomes much less telling when

one realizes that it is not certain that Congress had the power to

compel such uniformity.

Congress could not have simply passed a statute instructing

the states to apply federal rules of compensation whenever a

licensee chose to exercise a state-granted power of eminent domain

to take property for a licensed project. As Justice Brandeis

stated in Erie: “Congress has no power to declare substantive

rules of common law applicable in a state whether they be local

in their nature or ‘general,’ be they commercial law or a part of

the law of torts’. 304 U.S. at 78, 58 S.Ct. at 822.

Nor could Congress have passed a law forbidding a state from

delegating sta.e eminent domain power to a federal licensee. A

state has exclusive control over its power of eminent domain.

Kohl v. United States, 91 U.S. at 372-73, 23 L.Ed. 449. Just as the

federal government could not force the states to grant licensees

the use of state eminent domain power, it could not force them

not to make the grant.

A63 ,

expressed belief that the provision was constitutional and

appropriate, without any indication that such a conclusion

would be possible only if federal courts applied state

law in Section 21 cases. Id,"'

The appellants also argue that Congress endorsed

the use of state compensation law when it enacted a pro-

vision substantially identical to Section 21 in the Natural

Gas Act, 15 U.S.C. § 717f(h) (1970), without commenting

adversely on certain cases appellants read to mandate

adoption of state law for all substantive issues arising in a

Section 21 lawsuit. In a similar vein, the appellants urge

us to follow these decisions as a matter of stare decisis.

In particular, they draw our attention to a line of Eighth

Circuit cases beginning with Feltz v. Central Nebraska

Public Power and Irrigation District, 8 Cir, 1942, 124 F.2d

578'* and to Oakland Club v. South Carolina Public Ser-

vice Authority, 1940, E.D.S.C., 30 F.Supp. 334, aff’d, 4 Cir.

1940, 110 F.2d 84.

We do not read these cases as determinative of the

issue before us. In Feltz, a FPC licensee condemned land

for relocation of a highway. The landowner claimed con-

sequential losses because the property was divided and

because of increased distance to the railhead. The jury

gave a smaller award than the appraisers, and the court

17. We note that Congress passed the Federal Power Act in

1920, during the era of Swift v. Tyson, 1842, 41 U.S. 1, 10 L.Ed,

865. Thus, Congress would have expected federal courts to apply

general common law absent a specific congressional direction to

the contrary.

18. The other Eighth Circuit cases are Central Nebraska

Public Power & Irrigation Dist. v. Harrison, 8 Cir, 1942, 127 F.2d

588, Central Nebraska Public Power & Irrigation Dist, v, Fair-

child, 8 Cir. 1942, 126 F.2d 302; Samuelson v. Central Nebraska

Public Power & Irrigation Dist., 8 Cir, 1942, 125 F.2d 838; Burnett

v. Central Nebraska Public Power & Irrigation Dist., 8 Cir, 1942,

125 F.2d 836; McGinley v. Central Nebraska Public Power &

Irrigation Dist., 8 Cir, 1942, 124 F.2d 692; and Central Nebraska

Public Power & Irrigation Dist. v. Berry, 8 Cir, 1942, 124 F.2d 586,

A64

added interest from the date of the taking. Both sides

appealed. Among other questions, the court of appeals

ruled on the exclusion of evidence of consequential dam-

ages, 124 F.2d at 578, and the propriety of interest on a

compensation award, 124 F.2d at 584. Without articulating

its reasoning, the court indicated that Nebraska law con-

trolled both issues. There is no indication that the parties

contested this issue or that the court gave it any serious

consideration. Indeed, because of the mixture of issues

each party may have thought it to his advantage to rely

upon state law. The condemnees had read that state

law to allow consequential damages and the condemnor

could cite favorable state law on interest. The specific

issue of just compensation raised before this Court was

not considered. The other Eighth Circuit cases also lack

any discussion of a general choice of law problem or of

the specific issue before us. In the absence of any rea-

soned discussion of the difficult choice of law issue, we

cannot accept these cases as persuasive authority or inter-

pret congressional inattention to them as an endorsement

of the view that state law should fill all substantive gaps

in Section 21.

Oakland Club is not on point. In that case the federal

licensee enjoyed state as well as federal power of eminent

domain. It filed a condemnation in federal court which the

property owner contested on the grounds that the South

Carolina procedure was constitutionally defective and that

Section 21 authorized the licensee to take only an easement

rather than a fee.

The district court upheld the state procedure and in-

terpreted Section 21 to authorize the taking of a fee in-

terest. It went on to make several observations that the

appellants have emphasized in this case. First, the court

stated that Section 21 is not a ‘comprehensive, self-con-

A65

tained and exclusive law of eminent domain’’. Second, the

court construed Section 21 “not as an exclusive law of

eminent domain, . . . but as complementary to the State

law, and as enabling the holder of a Federal Power license

to exercise in the Federal courts .. . the substantive rights

of eminent domain granted to it under the State law.” 30

F.Supp. at 341. The Court of Appeals approved of these

statements and added its own suggestion that Section 21

was meant to give a condemnor “the privileges of eminent

domain under the State law...” 110 F.2d 84, 86.

Insofar as the Oakland Club litigation stands for the

point that Section 21 does not preempt any applicable

state powers of eminent domain, it is irrelevant to the

issue before us.’* Insofar as the case supports the argu-

ment that Section 21 is solely a jurisdictional provision,

we reject it for the reasons already expressed. And in-

sofar as’ it interprets Section 21 to grant a state rather

than a fedsral” power of” eminent domain, we find it in

conflict with holdings by the Supreme Court. See Federal

Power Commission v. Tuscarora Indian Nation, 1960, 362

U.S. 99, 120, 80 S.Ct. 543, 4 L.Ed.2d 584; City of Tacoma v.

Taxpayers of Tacoma, 1958, 357 U.S. 320, 340, 78 S.Ct.

1209, 2 L.Ed.2d 1345; see also Kohl v. United States, 1876,

91 U.S. 367, 372-73, 23 L.Ed. 449, 451 (federal government

lacks the power to grant the use of a state power of emi-

nent domain). Neither the district court nor the Court

of Appeals in Oakland Club considered the specific issue

whether state or federal law governs the methodology of

determining compensation under Section 21. In sum, ‘the

Oakland Club opinions are far too questionable and unclear

19. This Circuit has held that § 7(h) of the Natural Gas Act,

15 U.S.C.A. § 717f(h), which is almost identical to § 21 of the

Federal Power Act, oes not P oon 9 state laws of eminent do-

main. Robinson v. Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corp., 5 Cir.

My on .2d 1397, cert. denied, 398 U.S. 905, 90 Sct 1695, 26

i

A66

to justify adherence by this Court or to warrant an in-

terpretation of congressional failure to comment upon

them as an expression of legislative intent on the choice

of law issue before us.””

IL.

We now proceed to the principal issue. Because the

source of the power delegated by the Federal Power Act

is federal, the governing law must be federal. See, e. g.,

Friendly, In Praise of Erie—And of the New Federal Com-

mon Law, 39 N.Y.U.L.Rev. 383, 407 (1964); Mishkin, The

Variousness of “Federal Law”: Competence and Discretion

in the Choice of National and State Rules for Decision, 105

U.Pa.L.Rev. 797, 798-801 (1957); Comment, Adopting State

Law as the Federal Rule of Decision: A Proposed Test,

43 U.Chi.L.Rev. 823, 826-27 (1976). Of course, federal

law may be fashioned by adopting parallel state rules.

E. g., Clearfield Trust Co. v. United States, 1943, 318 U.S.

363, 367, 63 S.Ct. 573, 87 L.Ed. 838. For instance, the courts

usually determine what constitutes “property” by looking

20. The other cases cited in various landowner briefs as ex-

pressing a direct or indirect conclusion that state law of com-

pensation applies in a Section 21 condemnation are also off the

mark. King v. Grand River Dam Auth., 10 Cir.

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.