Petition — Federal Insurance v. Solo Cup Co.

Supreme Court brief1980

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U. S.

Ff LED

9 AUG1 419890

0-293 Q | mictac rovak, JR, cLeRK

No. |

In the

Supreme Court of the Anited States

Octoser Term, 1980

SOLO CUP COMPANY,

Respondent,

vs.

FEDERAL INSURANCE COMPANY,

Petitioner.

PETITION FOR WRI OF CERTIORARI

TO THE COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

James L. Fox, Rosert G. SCHLOERB

Counsel of Record Russet M. Petron, JR.

Joun EK. Guy Mary Patricia CHAPIN

Donatp P. CoLLETON Peterson, Ross, SCHLOERB

Arsamson & Fox & SEIDEL

One East Wacker Drive 200 East Randolph Drive

Suite 3800 Suite 7300

Chicago, [llinois 60601 Chicago, Illinois 60601

(312) 644-8500 (312) 861-1400

Attorneys for Petitioners.

The Scheffer Press, Inc.—(312) 263-6850

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

I. Whether the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals deci-

sion and order for judgment should be reversed under

Erie v. Tompkins for failure to follow settled Illinois law

that an insurer*, under a contract of casualty insurance,

has no duty to defend or indemnify its insured* in a suit

against it which prayed for no damages but only for

equitable relief.

II. Whether the decision of the Court of Appeals that

Title VII discrimination suits premised on the theory of

“disparate impact” do not allege “intentional” discrimi-

nation is contrary to the decisions of this Court.

III. Whether the decision of the Court of Appeals

conflicts with decisions of other Courts of Appeals on

the issue of whether permitting insurance against inten-

tional wrongs would violate public policy.

*The two parties to this proceeding are those named

in the caption.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

eo ss scomisnsmoceeceversers ii

I IEE EOE 5. cc scasenccsasscnsevssensesosecoosecseces 1

noc cs laceacscscsssnvinconssveseceecevesoecenses 2

Statutory Provision Involved ...........ccccccccsssssssssesssossseseses 2

Ts cnsvepsscnensnsscooevee 3

Reasons for Granting the Writ ...........sssssssssssssesseers 5

1. The Court of Appeals decision and order for

judgment should be reversed under Erie v.

Tompkms for failure to follow settled Illinois

law that an insurer, under a contract of

casualty insurance, has no duty to defend or

indemnify its insured in a suit against it

which prayed for no damages but only for

EE 5

2. The decision of the Seventh Circuit, that Title

VII discrimination suits premised on the

theory of “disparate impact” do not allege

“intentional” discrimination, is contrary to

Te GOCeanONS OF This Court. ..........ccccccccccocccesiceccces 8

3. The Court of Appeals ruling that discrimina-

tion by “disparate impact” under Title VII

ean be a subject of insurance coverage is in

conflict with the general rulings that insurance

against intentional wrongs violates public

ical scasnsanastd socscotsatenencicnsrsessesere 11

Neca aaesccaseasssossseetncssqecosecooeme la

A. Opinion, United States Court of Appeals,

for the Seventh Circuit, filed April 11. 1980,

rehearing denied May 16, 1980 (published

sic cascsabucsmacovensunecesecsecnennees la

li

PAGE

B. Denial of Petition for Rehearing, dated May

RG AIUN vhinsihsnineiiyseitap mnsestatalansetdbonicanidiibidisieibenia 18a

C. Opinion, District Court, Northern District of

Illinois, Eastern Division, The Honorable

Thomas R. MeMillen, filed November 27, 1978. 19a

D. Opinion, District Court, Northern District of

Illinois, Eastern Division, The Honorable

Thomas R. MeMillen, filed April 4, 1979. ...... 24a,

KE. Letter, counsel for Federal to Court of

Appeals, under Circuit Rule 11, dated October

Di! RIPE sntnincsincdson deecststndalatiecuanbiiasdambiabaaetan 27a

F. Amended Complaint by Solo Cup, filed

December 18, 1978, with certain exhibits: .... 29a

EEOC Complaint, filed May 6, 1975, in

Northern District of Georgia. .........0... 40a

Excerpts from insurance policy. ........... 44a,

TasLeE Or AUTHORITIES

CASES:

Albermarle Paper Co. v. Moody, 422 U.S. 405, 45

L.Eid.2d 280, 95 S.Ct. 2362 (1975) ..reccccesscoccsssscecsceces 6

Colton v. Swain, 527 F.2d 296 (7th Cir. 1975) ....0..... 5

Day & Zimmerman vy. Challoner, 423 U.S. 3, 46

TIES 3B, DB TAGE. BE CERIO scscsssctstacstavecsacssrscreoene 5

Erie R.R. Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64, 82 L.Ed.

S568) OG: GET CE -eirtivdsieinicateens 5, 7

Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424, 28 L.Ed.2d

es Be: } Epaenae ennmamnnen near wane 6, 9, 10

Industrial Sugars, Inc. v. Standard Ins. Co., 338 F.2d

GES CF Sees TID seitasentininitinssicsittapitiidamnictgstiaicewenns 11

lil

PAGE

International Brotherhood of Teamsters v. United

States 431 U.S. 324, 52 L.Ed.2d 396, 97 S.Ct.

I SUED sdenirceipeniasinwhtuehssreinhecsanseladasataenenseaaibed 4, 6,9

Johnson v. Georgia Highway Express, Inc., 417 F.2d

URE TUES UPN ciecccnstencidencbnscssediscadaanatsoaebsationtndanis 6

Ladd Construction Co. v. Insurance Co. of North

America, 73 Ill. App.8d 43, 391 N.E.2d 568 (3rd

Dist. 1979) siicicdadlaap aanlianianisadipipiaaniveidpaaredntnenivebeiessees 6, 7,8

McFadyen v. North River Insurance Co., 62 Ill.App.

2d 164, 209 N.E.2d 833 (2nd Dist. 1955) siienebtidininscienes 5,8

Midwest Contractors Equipment Co. v. Bitwminous

Casualty Corp., 112 Il. App.2d 134, 251 N.E.2d 349

Se i I -Kenibliinitiseskincikinencidiiptinesbuiasiadinienditintigsaantigsansbiie 5

Miree v. DeKalb County, 433 U.S. 25, 53 L.ld.2d 557,

ee I a a aiainis ta tanatnunatinnia 5

Morelock v. NCR Corp., 546 F.2d 682 (6th Cir. 1976) 6

NLRB vy. Jones & Laughlin, 301 U.S. 1, 81 L.Ed. 893,

eM MO MER anieindiieennccercadbadnoctietbeicncbesdinonbeseioe 6

Reis v. Aetna Cas. & Surety Co., 69 Ill. App.3d 777,

Be FES TOO CRGE TURE. TOTO) ciscesinscsnisovecssisniccsasenese 8

Robinson v. Lorillard Corp., 444 F.2d 791 (4th Cir.

OU. Sabucinisssctshaibanicodeandicepccesihpeclbbheic thea cRieniecenebichcebinlitatina teint 6

St. Paul Ins. Co. v. Talladega Nursing Home, 606 F.2d

ns EG PMD wisusnses ceicchsheeicitvenin acti densaeiensnaivcanines 11

Thornton v. Paw, 74 Ill.2d 132, 384 N.E.2d 335 (1979) = 8

STATUTES:

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 78 Stat. 253,

as amended by the Equal Employment Opportunity

Act of 1972, 86 Stat. 103, 42 U.S.C. §§ 2000e et. seq.

(1979) ed. and Supp. III) [42 U.S.C.S. $§ 2000e

Rs IRIEAE .. siacsssabnsshssdaiiesenteisonipntineaiiainnatnniboupiiciennnii 2, 3, 6, 9, 11

MISCELLANEOUS:

ee Glee OE CC cacsincantindennaneneiiinns 6

In THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

Octoser T'erm, 1980

No.

SOLO CUP COMPANY,

Respondent,

vs.

FEDERAL INSURANCE COMPANY,

Petitioner.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

TO: THe Honoraste Cuter Justice oF THE UNITED

STATES AND THE ASSOCIATE JUSTICES OF THE SUPREME

Court oF THE UNITED StraTEs:

Petitioner respectfully prays that a Writ of Certiorari

issue to review the opinion of the United States Court

of Appeals entered April 11, 1980, which reversed the

decisions of the District Court and ordered judgment

against petitioner.

OPINIONS BELOW

The District Court’s opinions have not been published.

The Seventh Cireuit Court of Appeals opinion was pub-

lished in 619 F.2d 1178 (1980). These opinions are set

out in the Appendix.

a ae

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

(i) The decision of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Seventh Circuit, which is here

sought to be reviewed, was entered and an

opinion published on April 11, 1980.

(ii) Rehearing was denied on May 16, 1980.

(iii) Jurisdiction is conferred by 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED

TITLE VII OF THE CIVIL RIGHTS ACT OF 1964,

42 USC 4 2000e et seq. in applicable part:

“5. (g) If the court finds that the respondent has in-

tentionally engaged in or is intentionally engaging in an

unlawful employment practice charged in the complaint,

the court may enjoin the respondent from engaging in

such unlawful employment practice, and order such

affirmative action as may -be appropriate, which may

include, but is not limited to, reinstatement or hiring of

employees, with or without back pay (payable by the

employer, employment agency, or labor organization, as

the case may be, responsible for the unlawful employ-

ment practice), or any other equitable relief as the court

deems appropriate. Back pay liability shall not accrue

from a date more than two years prior to the filing of a

charge with the Commission. Interim earnings or amounts

earnable shall operate to reduce the back pay otherwise

allowable. No order of the court shall require the ad-

mission or reinstatement, or promotion of an individual

as an employee, or the payment to him of any back pay,

if such individual was refused admission, suspended, or

expelled, or was refused employment or advancement or

was suspended or discharged for any reason other than

wacibniie

discrimination on account of race, color, religion, sex, or

national origin or in violation of section 794(a).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Solo Cup Company (Solo) brought a diversity action

in the District Court seeking a declaration that it should

have been indemnified and defended under a contract of

casualty insurance issued to it by Federal Insurance

Company (Federal) for the amounts paid by Solo in

settlement and defense of an employment discrimination

suit brought against it by the Equal Employment Oppor-

tunity Commission (EEOC) in the Northern District

of Georgia pursuant to Title VII of the 1964 Civil Rights

Act, 42 U.S.C. $2000e-5(g). The agency had sought in-

junctive and remedial relief for certain alleged acts of

intentional discrimination and Federal had denied cover-

age for Solo’s tender of the suit on the grounds that its

policy covered only unintentional discrimination.

The contract in issue required that Federal indemnify

Solo against losses resulting from liability for any oceur-

rence for which damages were sought. Occurrence was

defined as:

“an accident or happening or event or a continuous

or repeated exposure to conditions which unexpectedly

and unintentionally results in personal injury.” App.

46a.

The word “discrimination” was included in the list of

occurrences called “personal injury”, App. 45a. A sep-

arate endorsement required defense by Federal only of

suits resulting from an occurrence, and also seeking

damages. App. 47a.

On motion the district court granted a summary judz-

ment for Federal and against Solo, App. 19a, 24a, holding

va

that the allegations of the EEOC complaint controlled, that

intentional discrimination was not covered by the insur-

ance contract, and that therefore Federal had no duty

to indemnify or to defend.

On appeal, the Seventh Circuit, agreeing with the

district court, held that the Policy did nut cover the

EEOC complaint insofar as it alleged discrimination

arising from “disparate treatment” as described in this

court’s decision in International Brotherhood of Team-

sters v. United States, 431 U.S. 324, 335 n. 15, 52 L.Ed

2d 396, 97 S.Ct. 1843 (1977). In the view of the court

below, such discrimination was intentional and therefore

outside the contract which covered only unintentional

occurrences. App. 1la-12a.

The Court below, however, also concluded that the

EEOC complaint potentially contained a claim for dis-

crimination arising from “disparate impact” within the

meaning of Teamsters, supra, 431 U.S. 335 n. 15. This

exposure, the court held, was within the contract and

hence Federal breached its agreement of insurance in

not defending Solo against it. Accordingly, the court of

appeals reversed the district court’s ruling on the duty

to defend issue and, on a further principle that an im-

proper refusal to defend estops an insurer from denying

coverage of the insured’s substantive liability, entered

judgment against Federal in the amount of Solo’s settle-

ment with the EEOC less deductibles under the Policy

plus Solo’s costs of defense. The court did not say that

disparate impact discrimination is unintentional or ex-

plain how coverage of such discrimination can be brought

within a policy which insures only against unintentional

risks,

= on

REASONS FOR GRANTING WRIT

I.

THE DECISION AND ORDER OF JUDGMENT OF

THE COURT OF APPEALS CONFLICTS WITH ILLI-

NOIS CASE LAW AND THEREFORE VIOLATES

THE REQUIREMENTS ESTABLISHED BY THIS

COURT IN ERIE v. TOMPKINS.

As this is a diversity case, Erie R. Co. v. Tompkms, 304

U.S. 64, 82 L. Ed. 1188, 58 S. Ct. 817 (1937) required that

the Court below apply Illinois law to determine the scope

of Federal’s duty to defend under the contract of casualty

insurance at bar. See also Day & Zimmerman, Inc. v.

Challoner, 423 U.S. 3, 46 L. Ed. 2d 3, 96 S. Ct. 167

(1975), and Miree v. DeKalb County, 483 U.S. 25, 53

L. Ed. 2d 557, 97 S. Ct. 2490 (1977).

Under Illinois law a casualty liability insurer is ob-

ligated to defend a suit if the complaint alleges facts

which bring the claim potentially within the coverage of

the policy. McFadyen v. North River Inswrance Co., 62

Ill. App. 2d 164, 209 N.E. 2d 833 (2nd Dist. 1955); Mid-

west Contractors Equipment Co. v. Bituminous Casualty

Corp., 112 Ill. App. 2d 134, 251 N.E. 2d 349 (1st Dist.

1969); Colton v. Swain, 527 F.2d 296 (7th Cir. 1975)

(applying Illinois law). Since the EEOC complaint alleged

only acts “intentionally” engaged in, App. 4la, and

since Federal’s insurance policy covers only acts which

“unintentionally” produce injury, App. 46a, no claim

potentially within the policy is alleged and there was,

therefore, no duty to defend.

It makes no difference to the insurance coverage in

this case that, as the Court below contends, 619 F2d at

-_ me

1187, arguendo a “disparate impact” claim’ could have

been proved under the allegations of the EEOC com-

plaint. The casualty policy here in question has two

basic contractual agreements: first, to indemnify, App.

44a, and second, to defend, App. 47a, but both also

require that the suit seek damages. The only relief per-

mitted in an Agency’ action for disparate impact under

Title VII, and the only relief requested by the EEOC

in its complaint, was equitable in nature, 7.e., an injunc-

tion, an affirmative action program, and back pay.*

App. 42a

*See infra, p. 9 and Teamsters v. United States, 431

U.S. 324, at 335 n.15; 52 L.Ed. 2d 396, 97 S. Ct. 1843

(1977); Griggs v. Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424, 28 L.Ed.

2d 158, 91 S. Ct. 849 (1971); Albemarle Paper Co. v.

Moody, 422 U.S. 405, 45 L.Ed. 2d 280, 95 S. Ct. 2362

(1975).

742 U.S.C. §2000e-5(g¢). under which the EEOC com-

plaint was brought provides in relevant part: “If the

eourt finds [an unlawful discrimination] the court may

enjoin... order such affirmative action as may be appro-

priate ... or any other equitable relief. . .. (emphasis

added)

*Tt is settled that a back pay award is strictly equitable

in nature, and is not an element of casualty damages.

NERB v. Jones & Laughlin, 301 U.S. 1, at 48, 81 L.Ed.

893 at 918, 57 S. Ct. 615 (1937), Albemarle Paper Co. v.

Moody, 422 U.S. 405, 45 L.Ed. 2d 280, 95 S. Ct. 2362

(1971) (ineluding Justice Rehnquist’s special concur-

rence): Robinson v. Lorillard Corp., 444 F.2d 791 at 802

(4th Cir. 1971); Johnson v. Georgia Highway Express,

Inc., 417 F.2d 1122 at 1125 (5th Cir. 1969); Morelock

v. NCR Corp., 546 F.2d 682 at 687 (6th Cir. 1976); see

also 21 ALRF 472, §§3(a), 7: Ladd Constr. Co. v. Insur-

ance Co. of North America, 73 Ill. App. 3d 43, 47, 391

N.E. 2d 568 (3rd Dist, 1979)

oa foe

One year ago, the Illinois courts definitively ruled that

a casualty insurer need not defend suits seeking equitable

relief, even if they involve financial exposure to the

insured:

“(We fail to find any allegation by Burlington as

to actual or direct damages to property, but instead

Burlington sets forth allegations which would sustain

a claim that it had suffered economic damages from

loss of the use of its railroad tracks. Burlington’s

complaint did not seek monetary damages, but in-

stead equitable relief in the form of a mandatory

injunction which would require or command .. . [the

insured] ... to remove debris . . . which had slid or

collapsed on the railroad’s tracks.”

* * *

‘The cost of compliance with the mandatory injunc-

tion is not reasonably to be regarded as a sum pay-

99:9 99

able “as damages”.

* * *

[Since the] court would not have been authorized

to award damages . . . the insurance company had

no corresponding duty to defend.” Ladd Constr. Co.

v. Insurance Co. of North America, 73 Ill. App. 3d

43, 45, 47, 48, 391 N.E. 2d 568 (3rd Dist. 1979)

Likewise the courts of Illinois have determined that there

is no duty that a casualty insurer defend an equitable

action on the possibility that a court might award dam-

ages even though none is asked:

“Should we indulge in speculation as to whether

a court by exercising its inherent power might award

damages when none were sought and then conclude

that such inherent power exists and insurance com-

pany must defend an action, then we would by specu-

lation be altering the responsibilities between parties

as set forth in an insurance contract. Moreover,

a giant if not final step would have been taken in

support of a proposition that an insurance company

ae

would be under an obligation to defend all suits,

regardless of policy provisions or allegations con-

tained in a complaint. Such a result could well create

havoc as to both the insurers and the insureds.”

Id. at 48

Since McFayden and Ladd authoritatively establish that

petitioner had no duty to defend in this case, the refusal*

by the court of appeals to follow these Illinois decisions

violates the command of this court in Erie. The decision

and order of judgment’ therefore impermissibly conferred

upon a diversity plaintiff an advantage denied a plaintiff

in the Courts of Illinois, and constitutes reversible error

and a compelling reason to grant the writ of certiorari

requested.

II.

THE DECISION OF THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT THAT

TITLE VII DISCRIMINATION SUITS PREMISED

ON THE THEORY OF “DISPARATE IMPACT” DO

NOT ALLEGE “INTENTIONAL” DISCRIMINATION

IS CONTRARY TO THE DECISIONS OF THIS COURT.

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 prohibits

intentional discrimination. The operative language of

Title VII states:

‘Though urged on the court below by petitioner, App.

27a, xnd in oral argument and in its Petition for Rehear-

ing, Ladd is not mentioned in the court’s decision.

*Since Illinois law requires that before imposing an

equitable estoppel to prevent the insurer from denying

coverage the equities must be examined, Thornton v.

Paul, 74 Tll.2d 132, 384 N.E.2d 335 (1979), Reis v. Aetna

Casualty, 69 Ill. App. 3d 777, 387 N.E.2d 700 (1st Dist.

1979), the ordering of judgment by the court of appeals

without examining the equities as required under Erie

provides a further ground for granting the writ.

= ee

“Tf the court finds that the respondent has intention-

ally engaged in or is intentionally engaging in an un-

lawful employment practice charged in the complaint,

the court may enjoin the respondent from engaging

in such unlawful employment practice, and order such

affirmative action as may be appropriate. .. or any

other equitable relief.” 42 U.S.C. §2000e-5(g). (empha-

sis added)

The intentional discrimination proscribed by Title VIT

has been found to exist under either the theory of dis-

parate treatment or the theory of disparate impact. The

terms “disparate treatment” and “disparate impact”

were defined by the U. S. Supre.se Court m

Int’l Brotherhood of Teamsters v. United States, 431 U.S.

324, 335-36 n. 15, 97 S.Ct. 1848, 1854 n. 15, 52 L.Ed.2d

396 (1977):

“Disparate treatment”... is the most easily under-

stood type of discrimination. The employer simply

treats some people less favorably than others because

of their race, color, religion, sex, or national

origin. ...

Claims of disparate treatment may be distinguished

from claims that stress “disparate impact.” ‘The

latter involve employment practices that are facially

neutral in their treatment of different groups but

that in fact fall more harshly on one group than

another and cannot be justified by business necessity.

Teamsters has amplified this Court’s decision in Griggs

v. Duke Power Co., 401 U.S. 424, 28 L.Ed. 2d 158, 91

S.Ct. 849 (1971), a discrimination case based solely on

what became the disparate impact theory. The Griggs

rationale was that the “intention” required by the siatu-

tory terms of Title VII is present, regardless of the

absence of overt intent, if the effect or consequence

—

of the employment practice was discrimination. In stating

that “Congress directed the thrust of the Act to the

consequences of employment practices, not simply the

motivation”, Griggs, supra, 401 U.S. at 482, 28 L.Ed. 2d

at 165, 91 S.Ct. at 856, this Court necessarily determined

that the failure to correct the discriminatory consequences

of the employment practices constituted the congression-

ally required intent.

The error of the Seventh Circuit arose from an errone-

ous analogy of disparate impact discrimination and

common-law negligence. The liability triggered by dis-

parate impact however does not parallel the tort liability

arising from negligence. In negligence one can plead an

unintentional act with unintentional consequences to state

a valid claim for damages. But no valid disparate impact

discrimination case can be pleaded without intent as its

key element, simply because intent is required by the

terms of Title VII.

The court below therefore failed to follow the decisions

of this court when it ruled, necessarily though not ex-

pressly, that the consequences or effects of discrimination

in a disparate impact case are “unintentional” so as to

require Federal to defend under a contract covering

only unintentional occurrences. The practical effect of this

erroneous ruling is radically to amend Title VII in a

manner manifestly contrary to the intent of Congress by

making actionable under the Civil Rights Act discrimina-

tion which is unintentional in every respect.

axe 1) ax

ITI.

THE COURT OF APPEALS RULING THAT DIS-

CRIMINATION BY “DISPARATE IMPACT” UNDER

TITLE VII CAN BE A SUBJECT OF INSURANCE

COVERAGE IS IN DIRECT CONFLICT WITH THE

GENERAL RULINGS THAT INSURANCE AGAINST

INTENTIONAL WRONGS VIOLATES PUBLIC POL-

ICY.

Inasmuch as the failure to correct the discriminatory

effect or consequences of an employment practice (dis-

parate impact) is an intentional wrong within the meaning

of Title VII, §2000e-5(g¢), the Contract’s provision ex-

eluding such coverage conforms to the public policy

against insuring intentional wrongs. In analogous reason-

ing the Fifth Cireuit held, in St. Paul Ins. Co.'s. v. Talla-

dega Nursing Home, 606 F.2d 631 (5th Cir. 1979), that

an anticompetitive effect, regardless of specifie intent,

must result from an inherent tendency to suppress com-

petition, and therefore, for insurance purposes, the effect

is an intentional wrong and may not be insured. The

alleged antitrust violations in St. Paul were “almost

certainly not per se violations”, St. Paul, supra, p. 634,

n.3, yet a “close reading of the complaint discloses that

appellants are alleged to have committed a series of

intentional acts, each of which was calculated” to be

anticompetitive. St. Paul, supra, 634.

The Seventh Cireuit Court of Appeals ruling, that

disparate impact consequences are insured, violates the

general public policy prohibiting insuring of intentional

wrongs. Industrial Sugars, Inc. v. Standard Accident Ins.

Co., 338 F.2d 673, 676 (7th Cir. 1964).

The court below stated that although insurance against

disparate treatment could violate public policy, 619 F.2d

— >)

at 1187, insuring against disparate impact would not,

619 F.2d at 1188, based upon a perceived assistance 1o

affirmative action programs which insurance could pro-

vide. Such a concept either rewrites the contract which

prohibits insuring against intentional wrongs, or would

establish that disparate impact is not intentional, in

which case it would not be actionable, in equity, under

Title VII.

The decision of the Court below thus being in error.

this Court should grant petitioner’s prayer and issue

the writ of certiorari.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, the decision of the Seventh

C.i:euit below is erroneous and should be reversed.

Accordingly, the Petitioners request that this Court issue

a Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Seventh Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

James L. Fox, Rosert G. ScHLOERB

Counsel of Record Rvussett M. Petron, Jr.

Joun E. Guy Mary Parricta CHapin

Donatp P. CoLLeToNn Peterson, Ross, Scuioern

Arpamson & Fox & SEIDEL

One East Wacker Drive 200 East Randolph Drive

Suite 3800 Suite 7300

Chicago, Illinois 60601 Chicago, Illinois 60601

(312) 644-8500 (312) 861-1400

Attorneys for Petitioners.

am 1Q a=

APPENDIX

In THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For the Seventh Circuit

No. 79-1528

SOLO CUP COMPANY,

Plaintiff-A ppellant,

vs.

FEDERAL INSURANCE COMPANY,

Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division.

No. 77 C 4540—Thomas R. MeMillen, Judge.

Arcuep November 8, 1979—Dercipep Aprit 11, 1980

Before Pett and Baver, Circuit Judges, and Dvum-

BAULD, Senior District Judge.*

Peti, Circuit Judge. This is an appeal by the plain-

tiff Solo Cup Company (Solo) from a judgment in favor

of the defendant, Federal Insurance Company (Federal).

Jurisdiction is based on diversity of citizenship. The dis-

trict court concluded that the law of Illinois governed

substantive questions, and the parties do not challenge

this determination on appeal. The principal issue presented

for review is whether the lower court erred in holding

that there was a lack of coverage under an insurance

policy for sums paid in settlement of an employment dis-

crimination action brought pursuant to Title VII of the

*Senior District Judge Edward Dumbauld of the

Western District of Pennsylvania is sitting by designation.

—_—

Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. §§ 2000e-2000e-17 (1970

& Supp. IT 1972).

I.

On January 24, 1974, Federal issued an ‘‘ Umbrella

Excess Liability Policy’? to Solo which imposed both in-

demnity and defense obligations upon the insurer. The

relevant indemnity provisions obligated Federal to secure

Solo against any ‘‘ultimate net losses’ which it might

suffer as a result of ‘‘occurrences’’ of covered ‘‘personal

injuries.”’

An ‘‘occurrence’’ was defined as

an accident or happening or event or a continuous

or repeated exposure to conditions which unexpected-

ly and unintentionally results in personal injury

. . . . All such exposure to substantially the same

conditions existing at or emanating from one premise

or location shall be deemed one occurrence.

Policy Definition 5. (Emphasis supplied.)

The term ‘‘personal injuries’’ was broadly defined in

Policy Definition 2 to include

bodily injury, mental injury, mental anguish, shock,

sickness, disease, disability, false arrest, false im-

prisonment, wrongful evictions, detention, malicious

prosecution, discrimination, humiliation; also libel,

slander or defamation of character or invasion of

rights of privacy... .

(Emphasis supplied.)

Finally, covered ‘‘ultimate net losses’’ included not

only sums the insured became obligated to pay through

adjudication or compromise, but also

sums paid as salaries, wages, compensation, fees,

charges and law costs, premiums on attachment or

*Solo had no underlying insurance and Federal’s lia-

bility, if found to exist, could be subject to a deductible

of $10,000.

peo

appeal bonds, interest, expenses for . .. lawyers

. and for litigation, settlement, adjustment and

investigation of claims and suits which are paid as

a consequence of any occurrence covered here-

under....

Policy Definition 6.

In addition to the inclusion of defense costs as a part

of the ultimate net loss for which Solo was entitled to in-

demnity, however, there had been added to the policy

‘‘Endorsement No. 1—Supplementary Payments,’’ which

imposed the following separate and distinct defense ob-

ligation upon Federal:

It is agreed that, with respect to any occurrence not

covered by the underlying policies . . . but covered

by the terms and conditions of this policy ... the

company shall:

(A) Defend any suit against the insured alleging

such injury ... and seeking damages on ac-

count thereof, even if such suit is groundless,

false or fraudulent... .

While the policy was in force, Ann Willard, an em-

ployee in Solo’s Atlanta, Georgia, facility, filed a charge

with the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

(EEOC), in which she alleged that Solo’s failure to

promote her was sexually discriminatory. Thereafter, on

May 6, 1976, the EEOC filed against Solo in the Northern

District of Georgia an action seeking broad compensatory

and injunctive relief for an alleged class of female dis-

criminatees. The complaint included allegations of inten-

tional discrimination.

Separately, on November 16, 1976, the General Ser-

vices Administration (GSA) conducted an on site review

of Solo’s Grandview, Missouri, facility to determine

whether Solo, as a government contractor, had complied

with the mandate of Executive Order 11246 and its im-

plementing regulations to refrain from employnient dis-

crimination. This compliance review resulted in an ad-

—

ministrative allegation that Solo had discriminated against

seventy-two female employees with respect to initial job

placement. While the GSA proposed that Solo pay the al-

leged discriminatees $266,667 in backpay and interest as

a basis for conciliation, the record does not indicate that

any debarment proceedings have been commenced against

Solo to date to enforce its alleged liability.

In a letter dated February 17, 1977, Solo advised

Federal of both the EEOC action*® and the GSA com-

pliance review, and asserted that both matters were with-

in the coverage of the policy. Federal immediately dis-

claimed coverage as to the EEOC matter, and thereafter

asserted in its answer to plaintiff’s amended complaint

below that the GSA review was merely investigative and

that Federal therefore had no obligation to defend.

On May 4, 1977, Solo advised Federal of its intention

to settle the EEOC litigation, and subsequently entered

into a consent decree in the Northern District of Georgia.

Pursuant to the terms of the decree, Solo paid the charg-

ing party, Anne Willard, $25,000. The decree recited,

however, that its entry did not ‘‘constitute or operate as

an acknowledgement or admission’’ that Solo had violated

Title VII. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission v.

Solo Cup Company, No. C 76-806 (N.D. Ga. May 31, 1977).

Solo then commenced this action seeking indemnity for

legal fees, costs, and sums paid in settlement of the EEOC

action, for legal fees paid in conjunction with the GSA

review, and additionally a declaration of its right to in-

demnity for any sums paid as a result of the administra-

tive claim of backpay lability.

The district court granted Federal’s motion for sum-

mary judgment as to all issues. The court reasoned that

Federal could have no indemnity or defense obligations

toward Solo with respect to the EEOC action because

the EEOC complaint contained allegations of intentional

*No issue is raised regarding the timeliness of the

notice to Federal.

au §@ =

discrimination which were inconsistent with the policy

definition of an insured ‘‘oceurrence.’’ With respect to

coverage of the claims related to the GSA review, the

court held that the insurer had no duty to defend against

administrative procedures, and that the question of

whether any claim resulting from the GSA review could

constitute an insured occurrence did not present an actual

controversy within the meaning of the Declaratory Judg-

ment Act, 28 U.S.C. § 2201, or Article III of the Consti-

tution, U.S. Const. art. IIT, § 2.

II.

A. The EEOC Action

The contract of insurance at issue in this litigation im-

posed an absolute duty upon Federal to provide a defense

in any actions filed against Solo charging the occurrence

of an injury within the coverage of the policy. It is well

settled under the law of Illinois that

[this] duty to defend extends to cases where the

complaint alleges several causes of action or theories

of recovery against an insured, one of which is within

the coverage of the policy while others might not be.

Maryland Casualty Co. v. Peppers, 64 Ill. 2d 187, 355

N.E.2d 24, 28 (1976) (emphasis supplied). An insurer

may not refuse the tendered defense of an action unless

a comparison of the policy with the underlying complaint

shows on its face that there is no potential coverage.

Weed v. Ohio Farmer’s Insurance Co., 53 Ill. App. 3d

826, 368 N.E.2d 1310, 1312 (1977). In making the com-

parison any ambiguous or equivocal expressions in the

policy will be strictly construed against the insurer. Pio-

meer Insurance Co. v. Alliance Insurance Co., 374 Tll. 576,

586, 30 N.E.2d 66, 71-72 (1940). See generally TC Apple-

man, Jnsurance Law and Practice § 4683 (1979).

Solo contends, however, that even if Federal’s refusal

to provide a defense was proper under the above de-

scribed duty of defense and was therefore not a breach

of the agreement contained in Endorsement 1 of the

— “er

policy, quoted supra, Federal may nevertheless be required

to indemnify Solo for the $25,000 paid in settlement of

the underlying action if, on remand, a trier of fact con-

cludes that Solo’s actions toward Anne Willard were not

‘tintentional’’ within the meaning of the policy. Solo

bases this argument on the premise that because the

duties of indemnity and defense contained in the insurance

contract are independent covenants, the mere fact that

one covenant has not been breached does not preclude an

opposite conclusion with respect to the remaining cove-

nant.

While it is true that the obligations of indemnity and

defense contained in the contract are independent of each

other, we are unable to agree that Federal may, absent

the existence of a duty of defense regarding the EEOC

claim, have any obligation of indemnity for the sums

paid in settlement of that claim. This follows from the

fact that under Illinois law, a duty to defend such as

is embodied in this contract of insurance, is broader than

a general duty to indemnify for liabilities, fees, and

costs. Colton v. Swain, 527 F.2d 296, 301-302 (7th Cir.

1975) (applying Dlinois law).

The defense obligation is triggered when the insured

tenders the defense of an action against it which is

potentially within the policy coverage. By contrast, the

indemnity obligation at issue here matures only when

the insured becomes obligated to pay by reason of lia-

bility imposed by law. An insurer whose policy has an

assumption of defense clause will therefore frequently

have an independent duty to defend actions which will

not ultimately result in an obligation to indemnify, either

because the insured was not adjudged liable or because

the facts were resolved in such a way as to bring the mat-

ter within a policy exclusion.’ Conversely, litigation over

* The proper course of action for an insurer who disputes

coverage, but nevertheless has an obligation to defend an

action is set forth in Maryland Casualty Co. v. Peppers,

64 Ill. 2d 187, 355 N.E.2d 24 (1976). The insurer should

—

the independent duty to indemnify will result only: (1)

when the insurer has already defended the action under

a reservation of rights, the insured has been found liable,

and the insurer thereafter contests the coverage of the

policy, or (2) when the policy contains no defense clause.

If the broader duty to defend has not been triggered, it

is because the underlying action is not potentially within

the coverage of the policy, and there could be, as a prac-

tical matter, no duty to indemnify in such a situation.

Therefore, because Federal refused to assume the de-

fense of the EEOC action, our analysis here necessari-

ly focuses on whether that refusal was a breach of the

duty of defense covenant contained in Endorsement 1. In

the event it was not a breach of that covenant of the in-

surance contract, our inquiry is at an end. If, however,

we determine that the duty of defense was violated, the

applicable Tllinois law holds that the insurer is estopped

to deny coverage, Aetna Casualty & Surety Co. v. Cor-

onet Insurance Co., 44 Ill. App. 3d 744, 358 N.E.2d 914,

917 (1976), and provides for the following broad

measure of damages to the insured: (1) the costs of de-

fending the suit; (2) the amount recovered from the in-

sured, either by way of judgment or settlement; and, (3)

any additional damages caused by the insurer’s breach

of contract, see, e.g., J.L. Simmons Co., Inc. v. Fidelity and

Casualty Co., 511 F.2d 87, 90 (7th Cir. 1975) (apply-

ing Illinois law); Weed v. Ohio Farmer’s Insurance Com-

pany, 53 Tl. App. 3d 826, 368 N.E.2d 1310, 1313 (1977);

Sims v. Illinois National Casualty Co., 43 Tll. App. 2d

184, 193 N.F.2d 123, 127 (1963); see generally 7C Ap-

pleman, Insurance Law and Practice § 4683 (1979), again

obviating any additional inquiry into the duty to indemnify.

* (Continued)

either seek a declaration of its rights in an independent

action, or should defend under a reservation of rights,

which it may do by assuming the defense, or, if neces-

sary to avoid a conflict of interest, by means of indepen-

dent counsel retained to represent the interests of the

insured,

— 8a —

Federal contends that its refusal of the tendered de-

fense‘ was proper because the underlying EEOC com-

plaint against Solo included the following allegation:

Since July 2, 1965, and continuously up until the

present time, Defendant Company has intentionally

engaged in unlawful employment practices at its

Atlanta, Georgia facility, in violation of certain pro-

visions of Title VII. These volations include, but

are not limited to, the following:

1. Failing and refusing to promote women based

on sex;

2. Compensating women at a lower rate than men

for substantially the same work;

3. Maintaining job classifications segregated on the

basis of sex;

4. Having different terms and conditions of em-

ployment for women based on sex; and

5. Discharging women in retaliation for exercis-

ing protected rights under Title VII.

(Emphasis supplied).

Reasoning that the extent of its obligation to defend

should be measured by a comparison of the policy and

the underlying complaint, Federal then argues that the

act of the insured which is the subject of the suit must

be an ‘‘oceurrence.’’ Because the policy defines an ‘‘oe-

eurrence’’ insofar as is relevant to this litigation as one

which ‘‘unintentionally results in personal injury .. .”

(emphasis supplied), Federal therefore insists that the

inclusion of the word ‘‘intentionally’’ in the underlying

complaint negated coverage and relieved it of its duty to

provide a defense. We do not agree.

While it is true that an insurance company’s obliga-

tion to defend depends upon the underlying complaint

against its insured, this obligation, as noted previously,

is present whenever there appears to be a potential for

coverage under the policy. Colton v. Swain, 527 F.2d

‘Federal has not raised an issue as to the adequacy of

the tender.

——

296, 302 (7th Cir. 1975) (applying [Illinois law);

Maryland Casualty Co. v. Peppers, 64 Ml. 2d 187, 355

N.E.2d 24 (1976); Weed v. Ohio Farmer’s Insurance Co.,

53 Ill. App. 3d 826, 368 N.E.2d 1310 (1977). Where, un-

der the allegations of the pleadings against the insured,

‘fan insured’s liability exists on one theory as well as

another and one of them brings the liability within

coverage, we think the insured may avail himself of the

insurance protection.’ United States Steel Corporation v.

Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co., 511 F.2d 96, 99 (7th

Cir. 1975) (emphasis supplied) (applying TUinois law).

Especially since the advent of notice pleading. in a case

where there is doubt as to whether a theory of recovery

within the poliev coverage has been pleaded in the un-

derlying complaint, the insurer must defend, and_ its

defense obligations will continue until such time as the

claim against the insured is confined to a recovery that

the policy does not cover. Carboline Company v. Home

Indemnity Company, 522 F.2d 363, 366-367 (7th Cir.

1975) (analyzing Tllinois law).

To hold otherwise would he to place upon the insured

the burden of demonstrating in advance of the underly-

ing litigation which of the competing theories of re-

covery against it was applicable for purposes of insur-

ance, thereby frustrating one of the basie purposes of

such a clause in the insuranee contract — protection of

the insured from the expenses of litigation. Aetna

Casualty & Surety Co. v. Coronet Insurance Co., 44 Tl.

App. 3d 744, 358 N.F.2d 914 (1976).

The underlying complaint filed against Solo by the

EEOC seemingly alleges a full panoply of offenses under

Title VIT. Although based upon a promotional claim

filed by a single employee, it includes class allegations’

>The EEOC complaint was filed before the decision in

EEOC v. D.H. Holmes Co., Ltd., 556 F.2d 787 (5th Cir.

1977), cert. denied, 436 U.S. 962 (1978). In that case, the

Fifth Cireuit held that when the FEOC alleges class

discrimination and seeks relief for ‘‘those persons ad-

versely affected,’’ the suit is a class action and the FEOC

must comply with the requirements of Rule 23.

=

of sex based discrimination in compensation, promotion-

al opportunities, and job placement, as well as general

allegations of discrimination in terms and conditions ol

employment.

A Title VII plaintiff may establish a violation under

either the ‘‘disparate treatment’’ or the ‘‘disparate im-

pact’”’ theory. As the Supreme Court observed in Inter-

national Brotherhood of Teamsters v. United States, 431

U.S. 324, 335-36 n.15 (1977):

‘‘Disparate treatment’’. . . is the most easily un-

derstood type of discrimination. The employer simp-

ly treats some people less favorably than others be-

cause of their race, color, religion, sex, or national

origin. ...

Claims of disparate treatment may be distin-

guished from claims that stress ‘‘disparate impact.”’

The latter involve employment practices that are

facially neutral in their treatment of different groups

but that in fact fall more harshly on one group than

another and cannot be justified by business neces-

A

Id.

In our opinion, the allegations in the underlying

EEOC complaint were so general that the EEOC would

in all likelihood have been permitted to proceed under

either theory. An analysis of the question of whether a

disparate treatment claim would have been within the

coverage of the policy necessitates an examination of the

burdens of proof articulated for that type of action in

McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792, 802

(1973), and its progeny. In order to establish a prima

facie case under the disparate treatment theory, a plain-

tiff is required to show the following: (1) that he or she

belongs to a protected group under the statute; (2) that

he or she applied and was qualified for the job or

promotion for which the employer was considering ap-

plicants; (3) that despite his or her qualifications, the

applicant was rejected or was not promoted; and (4) that

—lla —

after the plaintiff’s rejection, the employer continued to

seek or consider applicants of the plaintiff’s qualifications.

In Furnco Construction Corp. v. Waters, 438 U.S. 567

(1978), the Court defined the exact scope of the prima

facie case, noting that it was not the equivalent of a find-

ing of discrimination, but rather raises an inference that

the defendant’s acts, if not otherwise explained, were

more likely than not based on a consideration of imper-

missible factors. The burden that shifts thereafter to the

employer is consequently one of articulating a legitimate,

nondiscriminatory reason for its employment decision.

Board of Trustees of Keene State College v. Sweeney,

439 U.S. 24 (1978). If the employer meets this burden,

the plaintiff will then be given an opportunity to intro-

duce evidence that the employer’s proffered justification

is a mere pretext for discrimination.

What emerges from an overview of the above burdens

is that proof of discriminatory motive is critical in a dis-

parate treatment action. International Brotherhood of

Teamsters v. United States, supra, at 335-36 n.15. The

establishment of a case unedr McDonnell Douglas is

equated with proof of motive because

we know from our experience that more often than

not people do not act in a totally arbitrary manner,

without any underlying reasons, especially in a busi-

ness setting. Thus when all legitimate reasons for

rejecting an applicant have been eliminated as pos-

sible reasons for the employer’s actions, it is more

likely than not the employer, who we generally as-

sume acts only with some reason, based his decision

on an impermissible consideration.

Furnco Construction Corp. v. Waters, supra, at 577.

While the concepts of motive and intent are not iden-

tical, we think in the narrow context of determining the

scope of coverage under this insurance policy, there is

a similarity. The policy definition of an insured ocecur-

rence would extend only to a liability incurred by rea-

son of Solo’s unintentionally exposing women to dis-

— 12a —

criminatory conditions. The extent of this coverage is

therefore inconsistent with liability predicated on the

disparate treatment theory since such a liability would

necessarily involve a determination that Solo acted with

a discriminatory motive or purpose.

We reach the opposite conclusion, however, with re-

spect to the disparate impact theory, which is employed

to analyze the validity of employment practices which

are fair and neutral in form, but discriminatory in opera-

tion. The basic legal standards utilized in a disparate

impact analysis were developed in Griggs v. Duke Power

Co. 401 U.S. 424 (1971), and amplified in Albemarle

Paper Co. v. Moody, 422 U.S. 405 (1975). Proof of mo-

tive is not required. International Brotherhood of Team-

sters v. United States, supra, at 335-36 n.15.

In order to make out a prima facie case of diserimina-

tion under the disparate impact theory, the plaintiff is

required to show only that the employer utilized a fa-

cially neutral criterion which resulted in selecting ap-

plicants for hire or promotion in a significantly diserim-

inatory pattern. Once the employment standard is so

shown to be discriminatory in effect, the employer then

must meet the burden of showing that its standard bears

a manifest relation to the job in question. If the employer

can demonstrate the job relatedness of its standard, the

plaintiff may then show that other selection devices with-

out a similarly discriminatory effect will also serve the

employer’s interest in maintaining an efficient workforce.

Solo contended at argument that the basis of the un-

derlying claim against it was in fact a disparate impact

claim based on its policy of requiring sales experience as

a prerequisite for certain promotions. This policy, accord-

ing to Solo’s summary of the EEOC’s position in the

underlying action, disqualified disproportionate numbers

of women, who, as a group. tended not to have the re-

quired experience.

While there is nothing in the record below to enable

us to make a clear determination of whether the EEOC’s

— 13a —

complaint was in fact aimed at such a policy, we cannot,

as noted previously, hold that the EEOC complaint did

not contai: a potential disparate impact claim. Since

disparate impact liability does not require proof of dis-

criminatory motive, and since Federal has, moreover, con-

ceded that the policy covers at least some types of

disparate impact claims,’ we therefore hold that the dis-

parate impact claim which could have been proved un-

der the allegations of the underlying complaint was a

claim potentially within the coverage of the policy, Con-

sequently, under Illinois law, Federal has breached its

duty to defend its insured in the action. See generally

Maryland Casualty Co. v. Peppers, supra, at 28.

The final issue to be considered with respect to the

EEOC claim is whether our construction of the policy to

include coverage of disparate impact liability would, as

Federal contends, render the insurance contract violative

of the publie policy against employment discrimination

embodied in Title VII. It is well settled that ‘‘[a] con-

tract of insurance to indemnify a person for damages

resulting from his own intentional misconduct is void as

agaist public policy and the courts will not construe a

contract to provide such ¢ verage.’’ Industrial Sugars,

Inc. v. Standard Accider.t Insurance Co., 338 F.2d

673, 675 (7th Cir. 1964). This rule is based on the

simple principle long ago stated by Judge Cardozo, that

‘‘no one shall be permitted to take advantage of his

own wrong.’’ Messersmith v. American Fidelity Co., 232

N.Y. 161, 183 N.E. 482 (1921). Placing a limitation on

the clear meaning of an insurance contract due to policy

*Although it might seem that Federal’s argument

carried to its logical extreme would result in its pur-

ported coverage of ‘‘discrimination’’ as being without any

real meaning, Federal argues otherwise, pointing out that

there are instances of vicarious liability imposed by Title

VII, caused by the acts of others, which liability is there-

fore unintentional as to the insured. We regard this ap-

proach as so narrow as to leave little real meaning to the

purported coverage.

— 14a —

considerations, is, however, a restraint on the rights of

private parties to fashion their own contract, Union

Camp Corp. v. Contmental Casualty Co., 452 F.Supp.

565, 568 (S.D. Ga. 1978), and is a step which courts have

taken only where contracts were argued to extend cov-

erage to the knowledgeable and intentional, or the crimi-

nal wrongdoer. Hartford Life Insurance Co. v. Title Guar-

antee Co., 520 F.2d 1170 (D.C. Cir. 1975); 1 Couch on

Insurance 2d § 1.36 (1959 & Supp. 1978).

Because we have construed the policy to exclude cov-

erage of disparate treatment liabilities, we do not con-

sider whether the degree of motive which must be proved

in that type of action would be equivalent to a knowl-

edgeable and intentional wrong such as would void policy

provisions purporting to cover those claims.

With respect to the coverage of disparate impact lia-

bilities, there is clearly no basis for voiding or limiting

the contract. An insured may incur liability or become

involved in litigation under that theory as a result of

its utilization of any of a variety of seemingly neutral

selection criteria. We note our agreement with the opin-

ion of the Court of Appeals for the Sixth Cireuit in

L’Orange v. Medical Protective Company, 394 F.2d _ 57,

60 (6th Cir. 1968), where that court, interpreting Ohio

law, observed that ‘‘the violation of public policy is mea-

sured by the tendency of the contract to injure the pub-

lic good rather than by actual injury under the partic-

ular circumstances.’’

We do not think that allowing an employer to insure

itself against losses incurred by reason of disparate im-

pact liabilities will tend in any way to injure the

public good, which we equate here with that equality of

employment opportunity mandated by Title VII. To the

contrary, the fact of insurance may be helpful toward

achieving the desirable goal of voluntary compliance with

the Act. The statistical proofs in disparate impact ac-

tions, most particularly those involving employment test-

ing, have become increasingly complex, and employers

— 15a —

now often retain batteries of experts to validate their

selection criteria. Such complex analyses of employment

standards, while apparently necessary in order to ensure

that an employer’s policies do not needlessly place a

stumbling block in the way of women or minorities, may

well become, as a practical matter, beyond the financial

capabilities of all but the largest employers. The involve-

ment of insurance in the field might, however, ease the

burden on smaller employers by making claim prevention

services available on a cost effective basis to help em-

ployers evaluate their employment standards. Workmen’s

compensation insurers have, by way of analogy, no doubt

helped prevent numerous employee injuries, and it is not

undesirable, nor inconceivable, that discrimination insur-

ers might aid in preventing the injury of discrimination

as well.

Because we have held that Federal breached its duty

to defend its insured in an action which was potentially

within the coverage of its policy, and because there is no

public policy reason for limiting the contract, Solo is en-

titled under Illinois law to damages in the amount of the

costs and fees involved in defending the action, and the

sums paid in settlement of the claim, less the policy

deductible.

B. The GSA Review

Solo also seeks a declaration that it is entitled to have

Federal provide a defense with respect to the allegations

of sex discrimination made by the GSA in its compliance

review. It additionally seeks indemnity for the $3,750 in

legal fees and costs already expended during the review,

and further seeks a declaratory judgment that any sums it

becames obligated to pay as backpay to female employees

in the facility which was the subject of the GSA review

will be within the indemnity coverage of the policy.

Dealing with these contentions in order, our review of

the record does not indicate that Federal’s defense obli-

gations have been triggered by the events to date sur-

rounding the compliance review. Our determination rests

— 16a —

upon the fact that the only ‘‘claim’’ which has so far

been made against Solo is an administrative proposal’

that Solo pay some $266,667 in allegedly due backpay as

a basis for conciliation. Solo, has, however, refused to

conciliate upon this basis. Moreover, this excerpt from

Solo to Federal dated May 19, 1977, is itself illustrative

of the remote and indeed speculative nature of any claims

which might be made against Solo:

Solo Cup Company denies that it is guilty of any

such [backpay] deficiency because there are a number

of available defenses to the allegation and in any

event believes that the amount claimed is greatly

exaggerated. As a result of refusing to conciliate this

matter, it is anticipated that some time in the future

there will be a hearing with respect to Solo’s right

to continue as a government contractor and there

might be an action filed to seek backpay.

(Emphasis supplied.)

‘In the GSA matter there are no adjudicatory proceed-

ings taking place in any forum; therefore we leave for

another day the question of whether the duty to defend

imposed by the provisions of the policy is necessarily

confined to judicial proceedings. We do note, however,

that the duty to defend in Endorsement 1 obligates the

insurer to ‘‘defend any suit against the insured.’’? The

indemnity provisions of the policy, by contrast, obligate

the insurer to indemnify Solo for all sums paid by reason

of liability imposed ‘‘by law.’’ In light of this language

in the indemnity provisions, we think that the duty to

defend ‘‘suits’’ might in some circumstances be triggered

by adjudicatory proceedings before an administrative

body. This conclusion follows from the fact that under

Illinois law, the duty to defend, while independent of

the duty to indemnify, is the broader of the two. Further,

the word ‘‘suit’’ contained in the defense provisions is

ambiguous, see, e.g., Webster’s New Unabridged Inter-

national Dictionary (2d ed.) (defining ‘‘to sue’’ as ‘‘to

seek justice or right ... by legal redress’’), and must

therefore be construed liberally in favor of the insured.

J.L. Simmons Co., Inc. v. Fidelity & Cas. Co., 511 F.2d

87, 90 (7th Cir. 1975).

—17a—

Because we have held that Federal’s broad duty of

defense has not yet been triggered, we must examine the

question of whether Solo might be entitled to reimburse-

ment of the $3,750 of fees and costs expended to date in

conjunction with the review under the imdemnity provi-

sions of the policy. Because there have been no formal

proceedings against Solo, and therefore, no “liability im-

posed upon the Insured by law” as required by Paragraph

4 of the indemnity coverage, we hold that it is not so

entitled at this time.

Finally, we are in full agreement with the district

court that the question of whether Solo would be entitled

to indemnity for sums paid to female employees in any

actions which might be brought either to debar Solo as a

federal contractor or to seek backpay for alleged dis-

criminatees is not ripe for adjudication. The Declaratory

Judgment Act, 28 U.S.C. § 2201, provides for a remedy

only in cases of “actual controversy.” The mere possibili-

tv that proceedings might be commenced against an in-

sured regarding an act of the insured’s as to which the

insurer might contest coverage, is not sufficient to create

a controversy within the meaning of either the Declara-

tory Judgment Act or Article III of the Constitution.

The district court erred, however, in granting the in-

surer’s motion for summary judgment as to the GSA

related allegations. The appropriate remedy where an

action is found not to constitute a controversy is not

judgment but dismissal. Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(h)(3).

Reversep AND Remanpep, for entry of a judgment on

Count I and an order of dismissal on Count IT consistent

with this opinion. The judgment of this court shall in-

clude costs to the appellant.

A true Copy:

Teste:

POURUUURUOUS TOSS OCS COSC CET CeCe eee eee eee ea

Clerk of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

— 18a —

Unitep States Court Or AppEaLs

For the Seventh Circuit

Chicago, Illinois 60604

May 16, 1980

Before

Hon. Witaur F. Pew, Jr., Circuit Judge

Hon. Wituiam J. Baver, Circuit Judge

Hon. Epwarp DumBavuLp, Senior District Judge*

No. 79-1528

Soto Cup Company,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

vs.

FreprerAL [NsuRANCE COMPANY,

Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Illinois, Mastern Division.

No. 77 C 4540

THomas R. McMitien, Judge

On consideration of the petition for rehearing filed in

the above-entitled cause by Federal Insurance Company,

defendant-appellee, all of the judges on the original panel

having voted to deny the same,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the aforesaid petition

for rehearing be, and the same is hereby, DENIED.

*Senior District Judge Edward Dumbauld of the

Western District of Pennsylvania is sitting by designation.

— 19a —

Unitep States District Court

NortHERN Disrricrt Or ILuLiNors

EASTERN DIVISION

No. 77 C 4540

Soto Cup Company,

Plaintiff,

vs.

FreperaL INSURANCE COMPANY,

Defendant.

DECISION ON PENDING MOTIONS

Plaintiff has filed a complaint seeking a declaratory

judgment concerning whether or not the defendant is

required to reimburse plaintiff for its defense and settle-

ment of an E.E.O.C. action filed in the Northern District

of Georgia and, in addition to such reimbursement, to

defend plaintiff in a G.S.A. investigation concerning its

racial practices in Grand View, Missouri. Defendant has

filed a motion to dismiss the complaint or for judgment

on the pleadings, and plaintiff has filed a motion for

judgment on the pleadings with respect to the declaratory

action portion of the complaint. We find and conclude

that the defendant is entitled to most of the relief which

it seeks.

The controversy involves defendant’s “Umbrella Excess

Liability Policy” which it issued to the plaintiff for the

period January 1, 1974 through January 1, 1977. The

defendant agreed to indemnify the plaintiff for all sums

which the plaintiff became obligated to pay for damages

and expenses on account of “Personal Injuries”; personal

injuries expansively are defined in par. 2 of the Defini-

tions to include such things as “malicious prosecution,

discrimination, humiliation . . . invasion of rights of

privacy. .. .” However, these injuries must be caused by

or arise out of an “occurrence” which is defined in par. 5

as “an accident or a happening or event or a continuous

or repeated exposure to conditions which unexpectedly

and unintentionally results in personal injury... .”

_ en

The complaint in the District of Georgia case was filed

on May 6, 1976 and, we find, does not allege an “ocecur-

rence” as defined in the policy. Paragraph 7 alleges:

Since July 2, 1965, and continuously up until the

present time, Defendant Company has intentionally

engaged in unlawful employment practices at its

Atlanta, Georgia facility, in violation of certain pro-

visions of Title VIT. These violations include, but are

not limited to the following:

1. Failing and refusing to promote women based

On sex;

2. Compensating women at a lower rate than men

for substantially the same work;

3. Maintaining job classifications segregated on the

basis of sex;

4. Having different terms and conditions of em-

ployment for women based on sex; and

5. Discharging women in retaliation for exercising

protected rights under Title VII.

None of the foregoing allegations constitutes an ac-

cident, happening or event, They allege a course of con-

duct, resulting in plaintiff's continuous or repeated ex-

posure to conditions which it intentionally created and

which resulted in the discrimination. This is not the type

of risk intended to be covered by the policy.

Under Illinois law, which controls this case, the duty

of an insurance company to defend is broader than the

duty to indemnify and arises when the complaint poten-

tially sets forth a situation covered by the policy. Coun-

try Mutual Ins. Co. v. Murray, 97 Til. App. 2d 61 (2d Dist.

1968). A claim which potentially falls within coverage

of the policy must be defended unless the complaint af-

firmatively alleges facts which, if proved, would exclude

coverage. John Mohr d Sons v. Hanover Ins. Co., 322

F. Supp. 184 (N.D. Til. 1971). Although plaintiff cor-

rectly contends that superfluous and immaterial allega-

tions of the complaint cannot control the duty to defend,

— 21a —

the gravamen of the E.E.0.C. complaint was to correct

an allegedly intentional and unlawful employment prac-

tice which had continued for more than a decade, It

sought a permanent injunction, an affirmative action pro-

gram, and back pay for the women who had been dis-

eriminated against. Defendant was justified in not de-

fending this case under the policy.

Also condition F of the policy requires that the in-

sured notify the defendant in advance of any settlements

above the retained limit, which is $10,000. Plaintiff has

shown no such notice to the defendant in advance of pay-

ing the $25,000 in settlement. Nor did it even tender

the defense to the defendant when it became apparent

that the claim might exceed the retained limit. There-

fore, plaintiff is not entitled to reimbursement for any

portion of the settlement, even though the defendant re-

fused to defend. In construing condition F, incidentally,

the parties have not shown whether or not there was any

“underlying insurer” who was obligated to defend the

claim, but we will assume, for plaintiff's benefit, that

either defendant or one of its assignees met this defini-

tion and that therefore there was an obligation under the

policy to defend covered claims.

The G.S.A. demand in Missouri also involved alleged

discrimination but did not result in any court proceed-

ings during the life of the policy. The insuring agree-

ment itself provides that the defendant indemnify the

plaintiff “for damages direct or consequential and ex-

penses, all as more fully defined by the term ‘ultimate

net loss”, on account of: (i) Personal Injuries. .. .”” How-

ever, ultimate net loss is defined in par. 6 as the amounts

which the insured becomes obligated to pay “either

through adjudication or compromise . .. and for litiga-

tion, settlement, adjustment and investigation of claims

and suits which are paid as a consequence of any occur-

rence covered hereunder... .” This does not appear to

us to require the defendant to defend against adminis-

trative procedures, particularly when they cannot be

filed as a court action.

— 22a —

Whether any demand or letter from G.S.A. can con-

stitute an “occurrence” within the definition of the policy,

in our opinion, would depend upon the nature of the

claims being made by the government. We do not find

any such document in the record, but plaintiff alleges

that the back pay claim involved 72 female employees

for a two-year period from October 1974 through Oc-

tober 1976. Thus, the definition of an occurrence as an

unexpected and unintentional repeated exposure to con-

ditions seems to be lacking in the G.S.A. claim also. In

view of the lack of evidence on this claim, we cannot

at this time make a final determination of plaintiff’s

rights for settling any claims arising from the G.S.A.

demand involving Grand View, Missouri, however.

The question arises why the crucial word “disecrimina-

tion” appears in the insuring agreement if it does not

eover these matters. In the context of this kind of insur-

ance policy, it was probably intended to cover a claim by

an individual or individuals for one act of discrimination

which resulted in a claim or lawsuit by such persons.

There is no evidence that the type of occurrences in-

volved in this case were ever contemplated by the par-

ties or intended to be insured against.

We do not reach the question of whether the plain-

tiff is entitled to any reimbursement for the settlement

of the G.S.A. claim over and above the retained amount

(prayer 5 of the Complaint) because of lack of evidentiary

support.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND

DECREED that the motion of the defendant for judg-

ment on the pleadings is granted as to prayers 1, 2, 3 and

4 of the Complaint. A status report will be held on the

remaining portions of the Complaint on Monday, Decem-

ber 18, 1978 at 11:30 a.m.

ENTER:

/s/ Thomas R. MeMillen

Judge, U. S. District Court

Dated: Nov. 27, 1978

— 23a —

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

For The

Northern District Of Illinois -— Eastern Division

Civil Action File No. 77 C 4540

SOLO CUP CO.,

Plaintiff,

vs.

FEDERAL INSURANCE CO.,

Defendant.

JUDGMENT

This action came on for (hearing) before the Court,

Ffonorable Thomas R. Me Millen, United States District

Judge, presiding, and the issues having been duly (heard)

and a decision having been duly rendered,

It is Ordered and Adjudged that defendant’s motion

for summary judgment on count I of the amended com-

plaint is granted. Defendant’s motion for summary judg-

ment on Count II of the amended complaint is also

granted.

Dated at Chicago, Illinois, this 4th day of April, 1979.

H. Stuart Cunningham

Clerk of Court

By: Kathleen Branch

Deputy Clerk

—

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

No. 77 C 4540

SOLO CUP COMPANY,

Plaintiff,

vs.

FEDERAL INSURANCE COMPANY,

Defendant.

DECISION ON DEFENDANT’S MOTION TO DISMISS

OR FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT ON THE

AMENDED COMPLAINT

On November 27, 1978, this court entered a decision

granting defendant judgment on the pleadings with re-

spect to prayers 1, 2, 3, and 4 of the original complaint.

That decision did not reach prayer 5 of the complaint,

for lack of the necessary evidentiary support. Plaintiff

was granted leave to file an amended complaint in lieu

of a motion to reconsider this court’s decision. Defendant

moves to dismiss or for summary judgment with respect

to the amended complaint. We reaffirm the reasoning of

our November 27, 1978 decision, with certain clarifica-

tions.

Count I. Count I of the amended complaint incor-

porates prayers 1-3 of the original complaint. Plaintiff

seeks reimbursement for the costs of defense and settle-

ment arising from a civil action filed by the E.E.O.C.

alleging discrimination at plaintiff's Atlanta, Georgia

facility, and a declaratory judgment that plaintiff is en-

titled to insurance coverage and benefits for the ultimate

net losses incurred from the discrimination alleged.

Without repeating the November 27, 1978 decision, our

reading of the insurance policy and the complaint filed

in the District of Georgia case is unaffected by the al-

legations of plaintiff’s amended complaint. Plaintiff does

allege that it tendered the defense of the action to this

insurer, and that it notified defendant in advance of pay-

— 25a —

ing $25,000, in settlement of the action. Plaintiff also al-

leges that no underlying insurer was obliged to defend

or indemnify against covered losses in the Georgia ac-

tion. And condition F in the poliey provides:

The Insured shall be responsible for the settlement

or defense of any claim made or suit brought or

proceeding instituted against the Insured which no

underlying insurer is obliged to defend.

The matters raised by plaintiff are only incidental to

the major issues in this portion of the case: the proper

construction of the insurance policy and of the E.E.O.C.

complaint filed against plaintiff in the District of Georgia.

We will grant summary judgment for defendant on Count

I of the amended complaint.

Count IT, Count IL of the amended complaint incor-

porates prayers 4-5 of the original complaint. Plaintiff

seeks reimbursement for costs of defense already in-

eurred from a General Services Administration on-site

review of plaintiff’s Grandview, Missouri plant. This re-

view was to investizate whether plaintiff complied as a

government contractor with Executive Order 11246, as

amended, and related rules and regulations thereunder,

which prohibit employment discrimination and require

that an affirmative action plan be implemented to pro-

vide equal employment opportunity. Plaintiff also prays

for a declaratory judgment that it is entitled to defense

in that review, and reimbursement for the ultimate net

losses incurred from the diserimination alleged pursuant

to the G.S.A. review.

The amended complaint, as previously, alleges no more

than administrative * procedures, instituted by the G.S.A.

to review plaintiff's conduct. We find that defendant is

not required under the. policy to defend against purely

administrative procedures, as we held in the November

27, 1978 decision.

We previously declined to rule as to whether any de-

mand or letter from the G.S.A. ean constitute an “oecur-

rence” within the definition of the policy, for in our

— 26a —

opinion that depends upon the nature of the claims being

made by the government. Sufficient evidence was lack-

ing for a final determination of plaintiff’s rights for

settling any claims arising from the G.S.A. demand, as

the nature and scope of the government’s demand was

unclear on the record, We find that an appropriate basis

for a ruling on this issue is still lacking in the record.

However, we find that this portion of plaintiff’s claim

does not present an “actual controversy,” ripe for deci-

sion under the Declaratory Judgments Act and within

the confines of Article III of the Constitution. Plaintiff

merely alleges that the G.S.A. has found that the plain-

tiff was guilty of discrimination at its Grandview, Mis-

souri plant, and that G.S.A. proposes, as a conciliation

of the alleged discrimination, that plaintiff pay speci-

fied amounts of backpay and interest. Plaintiff does not

allege that it has done so to date or that. any court

proceedings have been instituted.

While we have previously expressed our doubt that

the G.S.A. claim is founded upon an “occurrence,” as de-

fined by the policy coverage provisions, we will dismiss

the claim for indemnification of ultimate net losses un-

der Count II of the amended complaint, for lack of sub-

ject matter jurisdiction under the Declaratory Judgments

Act.

Finally, we call plaintiff's attorneys attention to

F.R.C.P. Rule 11 which requires that an amended com-

plaint be signed by at least one attorney of record.

IT IS THEREFORE, ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND

DECREED that defendant’s motion for summary judg-

ment on Count I of the amended complaint is granted.

Defendant’s motion for summary judgment on Count. II

of the amended complaint is also granted. A Rule 58

judgment will be entered.

SO ORDERED.

/s/ Thomas R. Me Millen

Judge, U. S. District Court

Dated: April 4, 1979

— 27a —

(Title Head — Abramson & Fox)

Law Offices

ABRAMSON & FOX

One East Wacker Drive

Chicago, Llinois 60601

(312) 644-8500

October 9, 1979

Thomas F. Strubbe, Clerk

United States Court of Appeals

for the Seventh Circuit

219 South Dearborn Street

Chicago, Illinois 60603

RE: Citation of Additional Authority

Under Cireuit Rule 11

No. 79-1528, Solo Cup Co. v.

Federal Ins. Co.

Oral Argument Scheduled, 11/8/79

Dear Sir:

Pursuant to Cireuit Rule 11, as amended March 30,

1979, Appellee respectfully cites:

Ladd Constr. Co. v. Insurance Co. of N. Amer.,

73 IllApp.3d 438 (Third Dist., filed 6/19/79,

reported 8/15/79),

for the proposition that:

The Complaint of the injured person, and not of

the insured, controls the duty of the insurance com-

pany to defend under a casualty policy where dam-

ages are sought.

The cited case relates to pages 2, 4, 5 and 6 of Ap-

pellee’s Brief.

—

A copy of this letter has been sent to counsel for Ap-

pellant.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ John E. Guy

John E. Guy

Thomas M. Knepper

Abramson & Fox

One East Wacker Drive

38th Floor

Chieago, Illinois 60601

(312) 644-8500

Attorneys for Defendant-Appellee

Federal Insurance Company

Orig., 6 ec:

ec: Fox & Grove

JEG/kts

a=» 900, ...-

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF ILLINOIS

EASTERN DIVISION

CIVIL ACTION No. 77 C 4540

PLAINTIFF DEMANDS TRIAL BY JURY

SOLO CUP COMPANY, a Delaware corporation,

Plaintiff,

vs.

FEDERAL INSURANCE COMPANY, a New Jersey

corporation, Détendend

efenaant.

AMENDED COMPLAINT

COUNT I

Plaintiff Solo Cup Company, by and through its at-

torneys, Shayle P. Fox and Russell M. Kofoed, for Count

I of its Amended Complaint against Federal Insurance

Company, states as follows:

1. Plaintiff Solo Cup Company (hereinafter referred

to as “Solo”) is a Delaware corporation with its prin-

cipal place of business in Illinois.

2. Defendant Federal Insurance Company (hereinaf-

ter referred to as “Federal”) is a New Jersey corpora-

tion with its principal place of business in New Yotk.

3. The matter in controversy, exclusive of interest and

costs, exceeds $10,000.00.

4, On January 24, 1974,,Federal issued to Solo an

Umbrella Excess Liability Poliey, (“the Policy”) a copy

of which is attached hereto as Exhibit A and incorpo-

rated herein,

5. The Policy provided in part as follows:

“DECLARATIONS ...

Item 2. Policy Period: From 1-1-74

to 1-1-77...

=

Item 4. Limit of Liability—as per

Insuring Agreement II.

(a) Limit in respect of each occur-

rence $10,000.00

(b) Limit in the Aggregate for each An-

nual Period where applicable $10,-

000.00

(c) Retained Limit $10,000.00”

“1. Coverage

The Company hereby agrees, subject to the lim-

itations, terms and conditions hereinafter men-

tioned, to indemnify the Insured for all sums for

which the Insured shall become obligated to pay

by reason of liability

(a) imposed upon the Insured by law

or (b) assumed under contract or agreement by

the Named Insured and/or by any officer,

director, stockholder, partner or employee

of the named insured, while acting in his

capacity as such,

for damages direct or consequential and expenses,

all as more fully defined by the term “ultimate

net loss”, on account of:

(i) Personal Injuries, including death at any

time resulting therefrom,

(ii) Property Damage,

(iii) Advertising Liability,

caused by or arising out of each occurrence hap-

pening anywhere in the world.

2. Limit of Liability

The Company shall only be liable for the ultimate

net loss the excess of either

(a) the amount recoverable under underlying

insurances as set out in the attached sched-

ule

— 3la —

or (b) the retained limit as stated in Declara-

tion 4(c) in respect of each occurrence not

covered by said underlying insurances,

(hereinafter called the “underlying lim-

Pe

“THIS POLICY IS SUBJECT TO THE FOL-

LOWING DEFINITIONS ...

2. Personal Injuries

The term “Personal Injuries” wherever used here-

in means bodily injury, mental injury, mental

anguish, shock, sickness, disease, disability, false

arrest, false imprisonment, wrongful eviction, de-

tention, malicious prosecution, discrimination, hu-

miliation; also libel, slander or defamation of

character or invasion of rights of privacy, except

that which arises out of any Advertising ac-

tivities . . . (emphsais applied)

5. Occurrence

The term “Occurrence” wherever used herein shall

mean an accident or a happening or event or a

continuous or repeated exposure to conditions

which unexpectedly and unintentionally results in

personal injury, property damage or advertising

liability during the policy period. All such ex-

posure to substantially the same general condi-

tions existing at or emanating from one premises

location shall be deemed one occurrence.

6. Ultimate Net Loss

The term “Ultimate Net Loss’ shall mean the

total sum which the Insured, or any company as

his insurer, or both, become obligated to pay by

reason of personal injury, property damage or

advertising liability claims, either through ad-

judi ation or compromise, and shall also include

hospital, medical and funeral charges and _ all

sums paid as salaries, wages, compensation, fees,

charges and law costs, permiums on attachment

or appeal bonds, interest, expenses for doctors,

lawyers, nurses and investigators and other per-

— 32a —

sons, and for litigation, settlement, adjustment

and investigation of claims and suits which are

paid as a consequence of any occurrence covered

hereunder, excluding only the salaries of the In-

sured’s or of any underlying insurer’s permanent

employees .. .”

6. On or about October 18, 1974, Anne Willard, an

employee of Solo at that time, filed a Charge of Employ-

ment Discrimination against Solo with the Equal Oppor-

tunity Commission principally based upon her allega-

tion that she was denied a higher paying position with

the company by reason of her being a female.

7. Solo’s denial of a higher paying position to Anne

Willard in 1974 was a single act or occurrence as defined

in the policy.

8. On May 6, 1976, on the basis of the Charge of

discrimination filed with it by Anne Willard against

Solo, the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

filed a Complaint against Solo in the United States Dis-

trict Court for the Northern District of Georgia, Eastern

Division, as civil action No. C76-806A, (hereinafter re-

ferred to as the “Lawsuit”) and had a Summons issued

against Solo, a copy of each of which are attached hereto

as Exhibit B and incorporated herein, in which the Equal

Employment Opportunity Commission alleged that Solo

was guilty of employment discrimination in violation

of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended.

9. By its letter of February 17, 1977, to Critchell-

Miller, Ine., an authorized agent of Federal, a copy of

which is attached hereto as Exhibit C and ineorporated

herein, Solo gave due netice to Federal of said oeenr-

rence of discrimination alleged by Anne Willard, an

ex-employee of Solo, on whose behalf the Equal Employ-

ment Opportunity Commission had filed the Lawsuit.

10. On or about February 17, 1977, Solo tendered to

Federal the defense of the Lawsuit and requested Fed-

eral to acknowledge its coverage under the policy.

— 33a —

11. By its letter of February 18, 1977, to Solo, a

copy of which is attached hereto as Exhibit D and in-

corporated herein, Critchell-Miller, Ine., an authorized

agent of Federal, acknowledged receipt of Solo’s letter

to it dated February 17, 1977.

12. By its letter of March 1, 1977, to Solo, and at-

tached Chubb Chicago Claims Office Notice of Loss Ac-

knowledged form dated February 23, 1977, a copy of

which are attached hereto as group Exhibit E and in-

corporated herein, Critchell-Miller, Ine., an authorized

agent of Federal, acknowledged the receipt of notice of

the occurrence of discrimination alleged by Anne Willard

on whose behalf the Equal Employment Opportunity

Commission had filed the Lawsuit, and Chubb/Pacifie In-

demnity Group, an authorized agent of Federal, specifi-

cally acknowledged Solo’s notice of loss and specifically

requested its Atlanta, Georgia office to handle Solo’s loss.

13. By its letter of April 1, 1977 to Solo, a copy of

which is attached hereto as Exhibit F and ineorporated

herein, Chubb/Pacifie Indemnity Group, an authorized

agent of Federal, denied that the Policy provided Solo

with any coverage for said occurrence of alleged discrimi-

nation and refused to pay any expenses and any portion

of the damages which Solo would suffer from the Law-

suit.

14. By his letter of May 4, 1977, to Ray MeCully

of Chubb/Pacifie Indemnity Group, an authorized agent

of defendant Federal Insurance Company, a copy of which

is attached hereto as Exhibit G and incorporated herein,

Shayle P. Fox, attorney for Solo, requested approval of

Federal to settle the Lawsuit by paying $25,000.00 to

Anne Willard to make her whole for her loss of income

during the two years from August, 1974, through August,

1976, which she alleged was due to the occurrence of al-

leged discrimination in denying her the higher paying

position, and advised Federal that in the absence of any

objection from Federal, Solo would proceed to settle

the Lawsuit by a $25,000.00 payment to Anne Willard.

== Sie

15. Having received no response to the Shayle P. Fox

letter of May 4, 1977, to Ray McCully of Chubb/Pacific

Indemnity Group, a copy of which is attached hereto as

Exhibit G, Solo settled the Lawsuit on May 31, 1977, paid

Anne Willard the sum of $25,000.00 in back pay, interest

and damages arising from the occurrence of alleged dis-

crimination, and in his letter of June 14, 1977, to Ray

McCully of Chubb/Pacifie Indemnity Group, a copy of

which is attached hereto as Exhibit H, Shayle P. Fox,

attorney for Solo, advised Federal that Solo had settled

the Lawsuit and had paid Anne Willard the sum of

$25,000.00 since Federal had never responded to his May

4, 1977 letter.

16. By its letter of June 22, 1977, to Solo, a copy

of which is attached hereto as Exhibit I and incorporated

herein, Ray McCully of Chubb/Pacifie Indemnity Group,

an authorized agent of Federal, again denied that the

Policy provided Solo with any coverage for the occur-

rence of alleged discrimination and refused to make

payment on any claims related to the Lawsuit.

17. Anne Willard, alone, received the entire sum of

$25,000.00 paid by Solo to settle the Lawsuit and no other

person or entity received any monies whatsoever from

Solo in settlement of said civil action.

18. Solo had no underlying insurer who was obligated

to provide coverage, or to pay any ultimate net losses, or

to defend it in the Lawsuit which was based on the

charge of discrimination filed with the Equal Employ-

ment Opportunity Commission by Anne Willard based

on the said occurrence of alleged discrimination against

Anne Willard.

19. In addition to $25,000.00 paid to Charging party,

Anne Willard, Solo has paid $6,500.00 in fees for legal

services rendered and $1,200.00 in costs incurred to settle

the Lawsuit.

20. Under the provisions of 28 U.S.C. 2201, Rule 57

of the Rules of Civil Procedure for the United States

District Courts, and Section 57.1 of the Civil Practice

=

Act of Illinois, Jllinots Revised Statutes (1977), FP oter

110, section 57.1, this Court is empowered to make bind-

ing declarations of rights and obligations of the parties

hereto under the terms and provisions of the Policy.

21. Any personal injury from discrimination which

may have resulted to Anne Willard from the occurrence

of Solo’s refusal to grant her the higher paying job was

unexpected and unintended by Solo.

WHEREFORE, plaintiff Solo Cup Company prays

this Court for the following relief on Count I of its

Amended Complaint against defendant Federal Insur-

ance Company:

1. Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 2201, Rule 57 of the Rules

of Civil Procedure for the United States District Courts,

and Section 57.1 of the Civil Practice Act of Illinois,

Illinois Revised Statutes (1977) chapter 110, section 57.1,

declare that Solo is entitled to insurance coverage and

benefits from defendant Federal for the ultimate net

losses incurred from said occurrence of discrimination

alleged by Anne Willard.

2. Order Federal to pay Solo the sum of $7,700.00 to

reimburse Solo for its payment of fees for legal serv-

ices rendered and costs incurred and the sum of $25.,-

000.00 to reimburse Solo for its payment of that sum to

Charging party Anne Willard to settle civil action No.

C76-806A brought by the Equal Employment Opportunity

Commission against Solo formerly pending in the United

States District Court for the Northern District of Geor-

gia, Eastern Division.

3. Order Federal to pay Solo interest on all amounts

this Court determines to be due from Federal to Solo

from June 22, 1977, at the statutory rate.

4. Order Federal to pay Solo its reasonable attorneys

fees incurred in this action.

5. Grant Solo such other relief as this Court may deem

proper.

— 36a —

COUNT II

Plaintiff Solo Cup Company, by and through its at-

torneys, Shayle P. Fox and Russell M. Kofoed, for Count

II of its Amended Complaint against Federal Insurance

Company, states as follows:

1.-5. Solo realleges each and every allegation set forth

in paragraphs 1 through 5 of Count I of its Amended

Complaint as though set forth in full as paragraphs 1

through 5 of Count IT of its Amended Complaint.

6. On or about November 16, 1976, and thereafter, the

United States of America General Services Administra-

tion (hereinafter referred to as GSA) conducted an on-

site review of the Grandview, Missouri, plant of Solo to

investigate whether or not Solo, as a government con-

tractor, had complied with Executive Order 11246, as

amended, and rules and regulations promulgated there-

under, which prohibit employment discrimination and re-

quire implementation of an Affirmative action plan to

provide equal employment opportunity. After the com-

pletion of said on-site review. GSA found that Solo

was guilty of discrimination in employment opportuni-

ties arising from the initial placement of 72 female em-

ployees in cup packing area positions instead of higher

paying entry level jobs and proposed as a conciliation

of said occurrences of alleged discrimination, that Solo

pay $266,667.00 in back pay and interest to said group of

72 female employees, a list of whom together with their

date of hire is attached hereto as Exhibit J and incor-

porated herein, for all wages allegedly lost for the 2 year

period from October, 1974, through October, 1976.

7. Solo’s initial placement of said 72 female employees

in cup packing area positions were 72 single acts or oc-

eurrences, with each act or occurrence involving one per-

son only.

8. By its letter of February 17, 1977, to Critchell-

Miller, Inc., an authorized agent of Federal, a copy of

which is attached hereto as Exhibit C, Solo gave due

notice to Federal of said occurrences of discrimination

— 37a —

alleged by GSA on behalf of a group of Solo employees

at Solo’s Grandview, Missouri plant.

9. By its letter of February 18, 1977, to Solo, a

copy of which is attached herteo as Exhibit D, Critchell-

Miller, Inc., an authorized agent of Federal, acknowl-

edged receipt of Solo’s letter to it dated February 17,

1977.

10. By its letter of March 1, 1977, to Solo, and at-

tached Chubb Chicago Claims Office Notice of Loss Ac-

knowledged form dated February 23, 1977, a copy of

which is attached hereto as group Exhibit KE, Critchell-

Miller, Ine., an authorized agent of Federal, acknowledged

receipt of notice of the occurrences of discrimination

alleged by GSA on behalf of a group of Solo employees

at Solo’s Grandview, Missouri, plant.

11. By its letter of May 19, 1977, to Critchell-Miller,

Ine. Insurance, an authorized agent of Federal, a copy

of which is attached hereto as Exhibit K and incorporated

herein, Solo notified Federal that as a result of GSA’s

on-site review and proposed conciliation at Solo’s Grand-

view, Missouri, plant, GSA had found occurrences of

discrimination against a group of 72 female employees

resulting from their initial placement as cup packers

rather than placement in higher paying entry level jobs,

and requested Federal to state its position on Solo’s

claim for coverage under the Policy, a copy of which

is attached hereto as Exhibit A.

12. Despite the request of Solo in its letter of May

19, 1977, a eopy of which is attached hereto as Exhibit

K, of Federal to state its position on Solo’s claim for

coverage arising from GSA’s on-site review and pro-

posed conciliation of oceurrences of said alleged dis-

crimination, Federal has failed and refused to date to

state its position and is guilty of an anticipatory breach

of the Policy.

13. Solo had no underlying insurer who was obligated

to provide coverage, to pay any ultimate net losses, or

to defend it from any claim or action brought against

= ee

it by the GSA based upon said occurrences of alleged

discrimination by Solo against 72 of its female employees.

14. Through the date hereof, Solo has _ ineurred

$3,500.00 in legal fees for services rendered and $250.00 in

costs incurred in the defense of said pending claim of

GSA against Solo alleging oceurrences of diserimina-

tion.

15. Any personal injuries from discrimination which

may have resulted to said 72 female employees from the

occurrence of Solo’s initial placement of said employees

in cup packing area positions were unexpected and un-

intended by Solo.

16. Under the provisions of 28 U.S.C. 2201, Rule 57

of the Rules of Civil Procedure for the United States

District Courts, and Section 57.1 of the Civil Practice

Act of Illinois, Illinois Revised Statutes (1977), chapter

110, section 57.1, this Court is empowered to make bind-

ing declarations of rights and obligations of the parties

hereto under the terms and provisions of the Policy.

WHEREFORE, plaintiff Solo Cup Company prays

this Court for the following relief on Count IT of its

Amended Complaint against defendant Federal Insur-

ance Company:

1. Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 2201, Rule 57 of the Rules

of Civil Procedure for the United States District Courts,

and Section 57.1 of the Civil Practice Act of Illinois,

Illinois Revised Statutes (1977) chapter 110, section 57.1,

declare that Solo is entitled to insurance coverage and

benefits from defendant Federal for the ultimate net

losses incurred from said occurrences of discrimination

alleged by the GSA on behalf of 72 female Solo employees

in the initial placement of them by Solo in eup packing

area positions.

2. Order Federal to pay Solo the sum of $3,750.00

to reimburse Solo for its payment of fees for legal serv-

ices rendered and costs through the date hereof, in the

defense of the pending claim of GSA against it for oc-

eurrences of alleged discrimination.

— 39a —

3. Order Federal to defend Solo and to pay Solo all

sums which Solo pays or is required to pay as a result

of the pending claim of GSA against Solo.

4, Order Federal to pay Solo interest on all amounts

this Court determines to be due from Federal to Solo

from June 22, 1977, at the statutory rate.

5. Order Federal to pay Solo its reasonable attorneys

fees incurred in this action.

6. Grant Solo such other relief as this Court may

deem proper.

December 18, 1978

Solo Cup Company

by:

Shayle P. Fox

Russell M. Kofoed

its attorneys

FOX AND GROVE

Suite 7818

233 S. Wacker Drive

Chicago, Illinois 60606

(312) 876-0500

PROOF OF SERVICE BY MAIL

I, Russell M. Kofoed, certify that I served this Amended

Complaint by mailing a copy to John G. Guy at One

E. Wacker Drive, Floor 38, Chicago, Illinois 60601 and

depositing the same in the U.S. mail at 233 S. Wacker

Drive, Chicago, Illinois 60606 at 11:30 a.m. on December

18, 1978, with proper postage prepaid.

/s/ Russell M. Kofoed

Russell M. Kofoed

——_

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF GEORGIA

ATLANTA DIVISION

EQUAL EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY

COMMISSION,

Plaintiff,

vs.

SOLO CUP COMPANY, a corporation,

Defendant.

CIVIL ACTION NO. C 76-8064

COMPLAINT

JURISDICTION AND VENUE

1. Jurisdiction of this Court is invoked pursuant to

28 U.S.C. Sections 451, 1343 and 1345. This is an action

authorized and instituted pursuant to Section 706(f)

(1) and (3) and (g) of Title VII of the Civil Rights

Act of 1964, as amended 42 U.S.C. Section 2000e. et seq.

(Supp. II. 1972), hereinafter referred to as ‘‘Title VII.”

2. The unlawful employment practices alleged below

were and are now being committed within the State of

Georgia and the Northern District.

PARTIES

3. Plaintiff, Equal Employment Opportunity Commis-

sion (hereinafter, the ‘‘Commission’’), is an agency of

the United States of America charged with the adminis-

tration, interpretation and enforcement of Title VII and

is expressly authorized to bring this action by Section

706 (f) (1), 42 U.S.C. Section 2000e- 5(f) (1).

4. Since at least July 2, 1965, Defendant, Solo Cup

Company (hereinafter, the ‘‘Company’’), has continuously

been and is now a Delaware corporation, doing business

in the State of Georgia and City of Atlanta, where it is

engaged in manufacturing cups and paper goods and

shipping them among the several states, and has continu-

ously and does now employ more than twenty-five em-

ployees.

a ee

5. Since at least July 2, 1965, the Company has con-

tinuously been and is now an employer engaged in an

industry affecting commerce within the meaning of Section

701 (b) (g) and (h) of Title VU. 42 U.S.C. Section

2000e-(b), (g) and (h).

STATEMENT OF CLAIM

6. More than thirty (30) days prior to the institution

of this lawsuit, a person claiming to be aggrieved filed

charges with the Equal Employment Opportunity Com-

mission alleging violations of Title VII by Defendant All

conditions precedent to the institution of this lawsuit have

been fulfilled.

7. Since July 2, 1965, and continuously up until the

present time, Defendant Company has intentionally en-

gaged in unlawful employment practices at its Atlanta,

Georgia facility, in violation of certain provisions of Title

VII. These violations include, but are not limited to the

following:

1. Failing and refusing to promote women based

On sex;

2. Compensating women at a lower rate than men

for substantially the same work;

3. Maintaining job classifications segregated on the

basis of sex;

4. Having different terms and conditions of em-

ployment for women based on sex;

and

5. Discharging women in retaliation for exercising

protected rights under Title VIT.

8. The effect of the policies and practices complained

of in paragraph (7) above has been to deprive women

of equal employment opportunities and otherwise adver-

sely affect their status as employees because of their sex.

—

PRAYER FOR RELIEF

WHEREFORE, The Commission respectfully prays

that this Court:

A. Grant a permanent injunction enjoining Defen-

dant, its officers, agents, employees, successors, assigns

and all persons in active concert or participation with it

from engaging in any employment practice which dis-

criminates because of sex.

B. Order Defendant to institute and carry out policies,

practices and affirmative action programs which provide

equal employment opportunities for women, and which

eradicate the effects of its past and present unlawful em-

ployment practices.

C. Order Defendant to make whole those persons ad-

versely affected by the unlawful employment practices

described herein, by providing appropriate back pay, with

interest, in an amount to be proved at trial and other

affirmative relief necessary to eradicate the effects of its

unlawful employment practices.

D. Grant such further relief as the Court deems nec-

essary and proper.

E. Award the Commission its costs in this action.

Respectfully submitted,

ABNER W. SIBAL

General Counsel

WILLIAL L. ROBINSON

Associate General Counsel

EQUAL EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY

COMMISSION

2401 ‘‘E”’ Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20506

/s/ Donald L. Hollowell

DONALD L. HOLLOWELL

Assistant Genera] Counsel

— 43a —

/s/ Roger J. Martinson

ROGER J. MARTINSON

Supervisory Trial Attorney

/s/ Laverne § Tisdale

LAVERNE 8. TISDALE

Trial Attorney

/s/ Cheryl P. Smith

CHERYL P. SMITH

Trial Attorney

EQUAL EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY

COMMISSION

ATLANTA REGIONAL OFFICE OF

GENERAL COUNSEL

1389 Peachtree Street, N.E.,

Suite 101

Atlanta, Georgia 30309

—_ ee

UMBRELLA EXCESS LIABILITY POLICY

Policy No. FXL 77860406

FEDERAL INSURANCE COMPANY

Item 1. Named Insured Solo Cup Company, Etal. (See

Endt. #5)

Item 2. Policy Period From 1-1-74 To 1-1-77

Item 3. Premium: $13,500.00

Item 4. Limit of Liability—as per Insuring Agreement

II.

(a) Limit in respect of each

se $10,000,000.00

(b) Limit in the Aggregate for each

Annual Period where applicable.... $10,000,000.00

CG) BODINE TIE move sesescsspceccceesnscsssonss $ 10,000.00

Issued at Chicago, Illinois(Date) January 24, 1974

FEDERAL INSURANCE COMPANY...

Agrees with the Insured named in the declarations made

a part hereof, in consideration of the payment of the pre-

mium, and in reliance upon the statements in the declara-

tions and subject to the limit of liability, exclusions, eondi-

tions and other terms of the policy.

INSURING AGREEMENTS

1. Coverage

The company hereby agrees, subject to the limitations,

terms and conditions hereinafter mentioned, to indemnify

the insured for all sums for which the Insured shall be-

come obligated to pay by reason of liability

(a) imposed upon the Insured by law

— 45a —

or (b) assumed under contract or agreement by the

Named Insured and/or by any officer, direc-

tor, stockholder, partner or employee of the

named insured, while acting in his capacity

as such,

for damages direct or consequential and expenses, all as

more fully defined by the term ‘‘ultimate net loss’’, on

account of:

(i) Personal Injuries, including death at any time

resulting therefrom,

(ii) Property Damage,

(iii) Advertising Liability,

caused by or arising out of each occurrence happening

anywhere in the world.

2. Limit of Liability

The Company shall only be liable for the ultimate net

loss the excess of either

.. or (b) the retained limit as stated in Declaration

4(c) in respect of each occurrence not covered

by said underlying insurances (hereinafter

ealled the ‘‘underlying limits’’: ...

THIS POLICY IS SUBJECT TO THE FOLLOWING

DEFINITIONS ...

2. Personal Injuries The term ‘‘Personal Injuries’’

wherever used herein means bod-

ily injury, mental injury, mental anguish, shock, sickness,

disease, disability, false arrest, false imprisonment, wrong-

ful eviction, detention, malicious prosecution, discrimi-

nation, humiliaton; also libel, slander or defamation of

character or invasion of rights of privacy, except that

which arises out of any Advertising activities.

—_

5. Occurrence The term ‘‘Occurrence’’ wherever used

herein shall mean an accident or a hap-

pening or event or a continuous or repeated exposure to

conditions which unexpectedly and unintentionally results

in personal injury, property damage or advertising lia-

bility during the policy period. All such exposure to sub-

stantially the same general conditions existing at or

emanating from one premises location shall be deemed

one occurrence.

6. Ultimate Net Loss The term ‘‘Ultimate Net Loss’’

shall mean the total sum which

the Insured, or any company as his insurer, or both, be-

come obligated to pay by reason of personal injury, prop-

erty damage or advertising liability claims, either through

adjudication or compromise, and shall also include hos-

pital, medical and funeral charges and all sums paid as

salaries, wages, compensation, fees, charges and law

costs, premiums on attachment or appeal bonds, interest,

expenses for doctors, lawyers, nurses and investigators

and other persons, and for litigation, settlement, adjust-

ment and investigation of claims and suits which are paid

as a consequence of any occurrence covered hereunder,

excluding only the salaries of the Insured’s or of any

underlying insurer’s permanent employees.

The Company shall not be liable for expenses as afore-

said when such expenses are included in other valid and

collectible insurance.

Date issued 1-24-74 Endorsement No. 1

Insured Solo Cup Co. etal. Policy No. FXL 77860406...

— 47a —

SUPPLEMENTARY PAYMENTS

IT IS AGREED THAT, WITH RESPECT TO ANY

OCCURRENCE NOT COVERED BY THE UNDER-

LYING POLICIES LISTED IN THE SCHEDULE OF

UNDERLYING INSURANCE, BUT COVERED BY

THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF THIS POLICY

EXCEPT FOR THE AMOUNT OF RETAINED LIM-

IT SPECIFIED IN ITEM 4(C) OF THE DECLARA-

TIONS, THE COMPANY SHALL:

(A) DEFEND ANY SUIT AGAINST THE INSURED

ALLEGING SUCH INJURY OR DESTRUC-

TION AND SEEKING DAMAGES ON ACCOUNT

THEREOF, EVEN IF SUCH SUIT IS GROUND-

LESS, FALSE OR FRAUDULENT; BUT THE

COMPANY MAY MAKE SUCH INVESTIGA-

TION, NEGOTIATION AND SETTLEMENT OF

ANY CLAIM OR SUIT AS IT DEEMS EXPE-

DIENT;

ALL OTHER TERMS AND CONDITIONS NOT IN-

CONSISTENT HEREWITH REMAIN UNCHANGED.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.