Petition — Rexall Drug Co. v. Sindell

Supreme Court brief1980

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

| Supreme Court, U. S.

FILED

AUG 5 1980

MICHAEL 'f

80-170

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1980

No.

REXALL DRUG COMPANY and

ELI LILLY AND COMPANY,

Petitioners,

VS.

JUDITH SINDELL, et al.,

Respondents.

REXALL DRUG COMPANY,

Petitioner,

VS.

MAUREEN ROGERS, ef al.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF

CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME

COURT OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

ADAMS, DUQUE & HAZELTINE CROSBY, HEAFEY, ROACH & May

RICHARD C. FIELD Profession Corporation

DAvID L. BACON RICHARD J. HEAFEY

523 West Sixth Street PETER W. DAVIS

Los Angeles, California 90014 1939 Harrison Street

Oakland, California 94612

WINTHROP, STIMSON, PUTNAM

& ROBERTS Attorneys for Petitioner

A. EDWARD GRASHOF Eli Lilly and Company

THEODORE S. STEINGUT

40 Wall Street

New York, New York 10005

Attorneys for Petitioner

Rexall Drug Company

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1980

No.

REXALL DRUG COMPANY and

ELI LILLY AND COMPANY,

Petitioners,

VS.

JUDITH SINDELL, ¢ al.,

Respondents.

REXALL DRUG COMPANY,

Petitioner,

VS.

MAUREEN ROGERS, et al.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF

CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME

COURT OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

The petitioners Rexall Drug Company (“Rexall”) and

Eli Lilly and Company (“Lilly”) respectfully pray that a

Writ of Certiorari issue to review the judgment and opinion

of the Supreme Court of the State of California entered in

these proceedings on March 20, 1980.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether due process of law or equal protection of the

laws is violated where plaintiffs who cannot prove which

manufacturer’s product allegedly caused their injury are

permitted to recover from a random selection of all manu-

facturers making a similar product?

il

2. Whether due process of law and equal protection of

the laws are violated by a state court decision which pre-

cludes a class of defendants from the right to a fair hearing

on the question of whether any of the defendants manufac-

tured the alleged injury-causing product?

3. Whether the commerce or supremacy clauses are

violated by state action which frustrates, impedes and

erodes federal policies encouraging the manufacturing and

distribution of generic drugs?

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW

Defendants and respondents in Judith Sindell v. Abbott

Laboratories, et al. were Abbott Laboratories, Lilly, E. R.

Squibb & Sons, Inc., The Upjohn Company and Rexall. In

Matreen Rogers v. Rexall Drug Company, et al., defendants

and respondents were E. R. Squibb & Sons, Inc., The

Upjohn Company and Rexall.

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Opinions Below ........sse ddnasdsnegonosebenbedebabhaohshanbibesess

IIIS. iceinssacsitcssaccisdcecestonsapsetsa soehuconmsetiapnnlasiatoagh itis

Constitutional Provisions Involved oc. .eeeeeeseeeeees

Statement of the Case ........... saisdadivavenesnaboeovensiinnea koubepnek

Bi BIRR OION 5osideecicisicaicitibicaccapuantenligthpispentossonie

b. © The DES Comtroverey. accocrsicesscorsnccosssesveeteess

ce. Prior Raising of Federal Issues .................

Reasons for Granting the Wit .........ccssssssssessseeeees

1. The Jurisdiction of This Court Is Properly

ROW. sijasonvecssitsesessrevethcinesacssulibtcepalabatinianins

2. The Judgment Below Violates Procedural

Due Process and Denies Equal Protection

of the Laws by Creating Irrational, Un-

workable and Unfair Procedural Devices to

Do Away With Proof of Causation Linking

A Defendant to the Product Allegedly

CONES TI. is cvicsscssivcanpantgessvesentnncsioauniniios

3. The Judgment Below Is Preempted by the

Supremacy Clause Because It Frustrates

Federal Policy Governing the Develop-

ment and Marketing of Prescription

Drugs, and In Particular the Marketing of

Drugs on a Generic Basis, and Creates an

Invalid Burden on Interstate Commerce

a ee GAGA RAT GTOET ROMP MRP OL Py MAN

PAGE

NI N on SO FF fF fH

21

iv

Appendix A. Opinion of the Supreme Court of the State

of California

Appendix B. Eli Lilly and Company’s Petition for Re-

hearing to the Supreme Court of the State

of California

Appendix C. Rexall Drug Company’s Joinder in Eli Lilly

and Company’s Petition for Rehearing to

the Supreme Court of the State of California

Appendix D. Order of the Supreme Court of the State of

California Denying Rehearing

Vv

TABLE OF CASES, STATUTES AND

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Cases

Abel v. Eli Lilly and Co., Action No. 74-030-070NP

Filed in the Wayne County Circuit Court, Detroit,

Michigan, appeal pending to the Supreme Court of

DESOTO | yicceseniniansesecsecesvnvenenciancenevisasiahtiegiemiataibaaadeinioah

American Motorcycle Ass’n v. Superior Court, 20 Cal. 3d

STG, GIS PBR GEO (RCTB). .cccinceineesticdiensnienntetsitins

American Railway Exp. Co. v. Kentucky, 273 U.S. 269

CAGIRT ) sccocssocescopescasscneasnsesnstisbincanutibaaapianasditeealpnianltmiatc

Armstrong v. Manzo, 380 U.S. 545, 552 (1965) ............

Baker v. Coca Cola Bottling Works of Gary, 132 Ind. App.

Y Bae & & Fe. | peemcmununcsmmn an

Bell v. Burson, 402 U.S. 535 (1971) w.ccccccsscecsseeeseeeeseees

Judy K. Benny v. Abbott Laboratories, et al., Alameda

Superior Court Case No. 525322-5 oc cssssseesseseeeees

Bibb v. Navajo Freight Lines, Inc., 359 U.S. 520 (1959)

Brinkerhoff-Farris Trust & Sav. Co. v. Hill, 281 U.S. 673,

CF CIID) csisesincsscsiinnstansbletasitiatatiisinitcnmmimindatiameiiiaa

Cindy Bocian v. Abbott Laboratories, et al., San Francisco

Superior Court Case No. 760532 ........cscssscsssssssseeeees

Carrington v. Rash, 380 U.S. 89 (1965) w..ccceceeseeecees

Connolly v. Union Service Pipe Co., 184 U.S. 540 (1902)

Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469 (1975)

Cleveland Board of Education v. LaFleur, 414 U.S. 632,

BOE (EDTA) crersecesrsessssscencercersncssssainaivsintettantmontsadenenstonsontal

Dawson Chem. Co. v. Rohm & Haas Co., 40 CCH S&S. Ct.

Bull. p. B3850, BS896 (1980) .....cccccsccsrcscseccessecsseseeees

Diamond v. Chakrabarty, 40 CCH 8S. Ct. Bull. p. B3122,

a A RARE EMS AMEN SNIOE NT

PAGE

13

12

8 8 8

vi

DiSanto v. Pennsylvania, 273 U.S. 34, 43-44 (1927)

IE, Ws) GIN epnecsrectnediesinvicstrinnecnstantdstesavitanaveds

Duke Power Co. v. Carolina Env. Study Group, 438 U.S.

PP IPD: ssiccuidibieusondciaphogansseithanhellicseos dhasatiebenelapebiisinesens

Dunn v. Blumstein, 405 U.S. 330, 349-352 (1971) .......

Farmers Union v. WDAY, Inc., 360 U.S. 525 (1959) ..

Ford Motor Co. v. United States, 405 U.S. 562 (1972)

Giaccio v. Pennsylvania, 382 U.S. 397, 403 (1966) .....

Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254 (1970) wvceccccscseeeseees

Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co., Inc. v. Cottrell, 424 U.S.

Ne Be IN sesisastcnnaacbecapssctinsisdaneselehinciioenencbcwedianabanneenadins

Great A. & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarkei Equip. Corp., 340

U.S. 147, 154 (1950) (Concurring Opinion) ........0

Herndon v. Georgia, 295 U.S. 441, 443-44 (1935) ........

Hettinger v. Glass Specialty Co., 59 F.R.D. 286, 294

Siete Ms NUN whic snc.asdccnaascceedioiseaaatndeeeibcrievoobiansitetsas

Jenkins v. McKeithen, 395 U.S. 411, 429 (1969) ...........

Lyons v. Premo Pharmaceutical Labs, Inc., 170 Nw.

Super. 183, cert. dented, 82 N.J. 267 (1969) .............

McCulloch v. Maryiand, 17 U.S. (4 Wheat.) 316 (1819)

McCreery v. Eli Lilly & Co., 87 Cal. App. 3d 77, 89, 150

Cal, HEpte, TOD CEOTS) cccccscsnnscsorsscsscsscsscccessssoceseboccsacsons

Mercantile National Bank v. Langdeau, 371 U.S. 555, 558

SREY “puitiGiiastteicseenibedavesidacaciac tas iekiieaaneniasiineestakedesbibies

Moore v. East Cleveland, 431 U.S. 494, 502 (1977) ......

NAACP v. Alabama, 377 U.S. 288, 380 (1964) ............

Perez v. Campbell, 402 U.S. 637, 652 (1971) 0.0.0.0...

Picker X-Ray Corp. v. Frerker, 405 F.2d 916 (8th Cir.

EPL Vacca TSR Ts NS

Pike v. Bruce Church, Inc., 397 U.S. 187 (1970) ..........

Prudential Ins. Co. v. Cheeck, 359 U.S. 530 (1922) .....

PAGE

Vii

Raymond Motor Transportation, Inc. v. Rice, 434 U.S. 429

CUNARD Neldsibcuy senbiiashesiisdlesctseapdsecbeseaptasvensbionvaySeupilainivediotiam

Reed v. Reed, 404 U.S. 71 (1971) weccececscsscssseseeeseessees

Rees v. Watertown, 86 U.S. (19 Wall.) 107, 122 (1873)

Reiter v. Sonotone Corp., 579 F.2d 1077, 1086 (8th Cir.

1978), rev’d, 442 U.S. 330 (1979) cecccccsssssssssseeseesseee

Rekasie v. Bucyrus-Erie Co., 262 F.2d 804 (3d Cir. 1959)

San Diego Bldg. Trades Council v. Garmon, 359 U.S. 236

CRUIIUED cocevsipnisnsochindinpnsobalicceaianidenlbachiondacaedditada taille is

Saunders v. Shaw, 244 U.S. 317 (1917) cece eeeseeees

Sears, Roebuck & Co. v. Stiffel Co., 376 U.S. 225 (1964)

Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 U.S. 618 (1969) woe

Smith v. Cahoon, 283 U.S. 553 (1981) ween

Sola Elec. Co. v. Jefferson Elec. Co., 317 U.S. 173 (1943)

Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645, 648, 656 (1972) .......

Thompson-Hayward Chemical Co. v. Childress, 277 Ala.

Ri UTI GD: CEOUOD snosccsesscciesckactdensineidinanndpatvessen

Carol Trevallee v. Abbott Laboratories, et al., San Francis-

co Superior Court Case No. 721204 ......cceseseseseseeees

Vlandis v. Kline, 412 U.S. 441, 446 (1973) oo... cesses

Weinberger V. Hynson, Wescott & Dunning, 412 U.S. 609,

612-614, 37 L.Ed2d 207 (1978) ........scscccsesscsrsesreeecees

Wetzel v. Eaton Corp., 62 F.R.D. 22, 28 (D. Minn. 1973)

Wolff v. McDonnell, 418 U.S. 539, 558 (1974)

Constitutional Provisions

Constitution of the United States, Article I, Section 89,

CARIES icnincedssycutnenvcintadeaadicdeeecpaadianiaaimaieans

Constitution of the United States, Article VI, Clause 2

Constitution of the United States, Fourteenth Amend-

I, TMI Fh sesecesccennssestecncassanutatnes BRINE SS OR

18,

viii

PAGE

Statutes

California Businesses and Professions Code, Section

CEE LD - vicicxitchinissnesvipteistnorivisnsssviersiteneivileataanisiaantbmniniii 21

California Welfare and Institutions Code, Sections

14000, et seg., and Sections 11152 and 11153.7 ......... 17

Ue ae ees OF OEE ac-.sanssentorstemanesdicngiealignaniiials 24

Be A Te OID ccicinsepicisisitipadelasmnchiinsadiMlncthaauiaiaiiiat 23

Ge eS lg 5 RS rer tence eae en 4

i: Ay a Bh SLD seinsnsiicnnsishaprtestieenacainidasheenaduagummeliaaials 5

Sa RAAB BUD pcksisrsasesocchinioniecbonsineinieicianadeininaeiat 5

Fk Sei Me IED cshcvcelsnnsiercanttsasabvavsseacniabusenataiemmaaiatal 4

SOD Pe BRUIT COD -cnctcserssnvasscittisseinersmiienbthantiinice Cala ee

Other Authorities

Brand Names and Generic Drugs, 1974, Hearings Before

Subcommittee on Labor and Public Weifare, 93d

Congress 2d Sess. (July 22, 1974) .o.ceeseseseesseeees 21

Coggins, Indusiry-Wide Liability, 13 Suffolk L. Rev.

Sh DD CODER D: sccncicecicesvetpetveeesicbabenscialil 15, 23

Commerce Department, /nteragency Task Force on Prod-

uct Liability: Final Report of the Insurance Study, Vol-

ume 1 at 2-4, 2-5 (January 1977) wccecceccseseeseeeees 15, 16

Grabowski, Drug Regulation and Innovation: Empirical -

Evidence and Policy Options (1976) ..cccccsccssssesseneencees 23

Hearings Before the Subcommittee on Health of the Com-

mittee on Labor and Public Welfare, 94th Congress, p.

ee gy 5 I ee ee 23

Herbst, Cole, Colton, Robboy and Scully, Age-Incidence

and Risk of Diethylstilbestrol-Related Clear Cell Adeno-

carcinoma of the Vagina and Cervix, 128 Am. J. Obst.

RIN, TR CNS F ails titenascenscasantsbnioieeiccecseciiemncecaienainas 5

ix

Herbst, Cole, Norusis, Welch and Scully, Epidemiolog-

ic Aspects and Factors Related to Survival in 384 Regis-

try Cases of Clear Cell Adenocarcinoma of the Vagina

and Cervix, 135 Am. J. Obstet. Gynecol. 876 (1979)

Herbst, Ulfedler and Poskanzer, Adenocarcinoma of the

Vagina, 284 N. Eng. J. Med. 878 (1971) ween

1 Hursh & Bailey, American Law of Products Liability

IE LOUIE, € ROTTED -chsnsseaisdinirslivabionssesennieniserinenpibooes

Kinsley, Fate and Lawsuits, 182 The New Republic, 20,

SN RNIN TU: RIED "ai. udcnssiptisnncnciingmminibinaibcsatmaghsiadisbonthdnenes

Maximum Allowable Costs for Drugs, Office of the Secre-

tary, Department of Heaith, Education and Welfare

RE EEE, RED civarpssshecsssvnsiehissioonipinecsonmnienttnenipiblanngen

Peltzman, Regulation of Pharmaceutical Innovation; The

1962 Amendments 1-3 (1974) w.ccccccccsccsssesssesseeeeeeseenes

Annotation, Products Liability: Necessity & Sufficiency of

Identification of Defendant as Manufacturer or Seller of

Product Alleged to Have Caused Injury, 51 A.L.R.3d

ESE SITE saris as acti beseiakenepeabimeadanevaimeiicnslioes

Prosser, Handbook of the Law of Torts, 661 (4th Ed.

rae ali crsnsensamtvaatenheovmuseessntanidiiajenietes

Prosser, Res Ipsa Loquitur, a Reply to Professor Carpen-

ter, 10 So. Calif. L. Rev. 459, 464 (1987) wo.

Prosser, The Law of Torts, § 41 at 236 (4th Ed. 1971)

Schwartzman, The Expected Return from Pharmaceutical

Ey EINE Merete So WSO Oe

George & Olive Smith, Prophylactic Hormone Therapy

Relation to Complications of Pregnacy, 4 Obst. & Gyn.

IIIT i iiinseia tdasnjaiabisiabacindpetonenenibienniin ibeauddhanniipeceiohistes

Olive Smith, Diethylstilbestrol in the Prevention and

Treatment of Complications of Pregnancy, 56 Am. J.

IS SER BIDE D - scniccnsrsvectecnanapiinddolabshaninsousssee

Source Book of Health Insurance Data, 1976-77, p. 21 ..

White, P., Pregnancy Complicating Diabetes, J.A.M.A.

EE IEE akc iietisk sh ds nlsiecthinsspiese posneiiebibdeiildpsabediethecsions

PAGE

22

23

PAGE

White, P., Pregnancy Complicating Diabetes, Amer. J.

EE, hs PE CITI. scenudessinnelanieetelaiissdnacniinnbhreetiauidesoss 4

White, P., Pregnancy Complicating Diabetes, The Treat-

ment of Diabetes Mellitus, 9th Edition, Philadelphia,

BI OE CRE) wiccsscctcovesccscncescannsonspbhedavicuyeatiioade 4

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Supreme Court of the State of Califor-

nia, 26 Cal. 3d 588, 607 P.2d 924 (1980), is set forth in

Appendix A hereto.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Supreme Court of the State of Cali-

fornia was entered on March 20, 1980. Timely petitions for

rehearing were denied on May 7, 1980, and this Petition for

Certiorari was filed within 90 days of that date. This

Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(3).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Constitution of the United States, Article I, Section 8,

Clause 3:

“(The Congress shall have Power] To regulate

Commerce with foreign Nations, and among the sev-

eral States, and with the [ndian Tribes;”

Constitution of the United States, Article VI, Clause 2:

“This Constitution, and the Laws of the United

States which shall be made in Pursuance Thereof;

and all Treaties made, or which shall be made,

under the Authority of the United States, shall be

the supreme Law of the Land; and the Judges in

every State shall be bound thereby, any Thing in

the Constitution or Laws of any state to the Con-

trary notwithstanding.”

Constitution of the United States, Fourteenth Amend-

ment, Section 1:

“All persons born or naturalized in the United

States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are

citizens of the United States and of the State

wherein they reside. No State shall make or

enforce any law which shall abridge the privileges

or immunities of citizens of the United States; nor

shall any State deprive any person of life, liberty, or

property, without due process of law; nor deny to

any person within its jurisdiction the equal protec-

tion of the laws.”

2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

a. Introduction

The California Supreme Court has imposed liability

upon manufacturers of products who caused plaintiffs no

injury. That Court has adopted what it itself concedes to

be a novel and revolutionary theory of common law product

liability in tort not raised by any party in any pleading,

brief or argument at any stage of the litigation.

The Court acknowledges that its new theory of liability

finds no basis in, and indeed is contrary to, precedent from

its own jurisdiction or any other common law jurisdiction.

The Court holds that, in product liability actions involving

thousands of claimants who bring suit against only a few of

the more than 200 manufacturers making an identical and

fungible product, those claimants need not establish the

identity of the specific manufacturer whose product alleg-

edly caused the injury. Indeed, the Court rules that a

plaintiff need only join a sufficient, albeit quantitatively

insignificant, number of such manufacturers so that in the

aggregate they comprise a “substantial share” of the mar-

ket for the product. Then plaintiff may recover, says the

Court, against the group of defendants singled out for suit

even though the injury may have been, and probably was,

caused by a product they did not make and even though the

group selected may represent less than 50% of the market.

Thus, the judgment exposes each manufacturer offering

identical and fungible products in a multi-source market to

a random and potentially devastating liability for injuries

it did not cause and over which it has absolutely no control.

The judgment will erect major barriers to generic product

marketing, to product research and development and to the

freedom of market entry, and it will diminish the availabil-

ity and increase the price of essential products flowing in

interstate commerce — all in violation of federal policies

designed to encourage such results.

Sindell and Rogers are both products liability suits by

women alleging injuries to their genital tracts as a result of

in utero exposure over 20 years ago to diethylstilbestre:

(“DES”), a synthetic estrogen prescribed to their mothers

to prevent miscarriage or spontaneous abortion. Sinde!l

alleges that she is unable to identify which manufacturer

of DES produced the drug taken by her mother; Rogers

3

alleges that Lilly manufacturered the drug taken by her

mother. Plaintiffs seek to impose strict liability in tort

against a total of five defendants, including Rexall and

Lilly, out of over 200 pharmaceutical companies which

manufactured DES for sale in the United States. (App. A,

p. 21).

b. The DES Controversy’

Estrogen is a hormone produced naturally by the female

human body. It is vital for sexual development and fertil-

ity, plays a significant role during pregnancy, and has

other functions, some of which are still not fully under-

stood by medical science. After estrogens were isolated in

the 1920s, numerous investigations were conducted to dis-

cover their effects and functions. One of the most promi-

nent series of studies was conducted by Dr. George Smith,

who taught gynecology at the Harvard Medical School and

later became head of that department.

Dr. Smith’s early hormone research in the 1930s indi-

cated that premature pregnancy terminations were asso-

ciated with low progesterone levels, a condition which

could be improved by the administration of estrogen. His

research was hampered, however, because natural estrogen

was difficult to administer and prohibitively expensive.

Thus, when the synthetic estrogen called Diethylstilbestrol

(DES) was created in 1938 by the English doctor E. C.

Dodds, scientists who were conducting research with estro-

gens believed a significant medical advance had been made.

DES could be administered orally, was inexpensive and

duplicated the action of natural estrogen.

DES was not, however, immediately sold for use in treat-

ing accidents of pregnancy. FDA approval for that use

* The Sindell opinion quotes extensively from the unproven and

disputed allegations of the complaint. See, for example, the factual dis-

cussions in the dissenting opinion of the Court below and in Lyons v.

Premo Pharmaceutical Labs, Inc., 170 N.J. Super. 183, cert. denied, 82 N.J.

267 (1969), McCreery v. Eli Lilly & Co., 87 Cal. App. 3d 77, 89, 150 Cal.

Rptr. 730 (1978).

4

would not come until 1947, following nine years of further

research and testing.*

Dr. Smith’s clinical trials with DES in high risk

pregnancies included 117 doctors in 48 cities. He con-

cluded that untreated high-risk pregnancies ran twice the

risk of mishap as those treated with DES.** This

research was entirely independent of any pharmaceutical

manufacturer.

By 1952, DES was considered to be so safe that the FDA

declared that it was no longer a “new drug” within the

meaning of 21 U.S.C. Section 355(a). (CT 205)*** This

classification allowed any manufacturer to market that

drug without performing additional testing or submitting

additional data to the FDA on the drug’s safety, thus avoid-

ing all research and development costs. (CT 205) There-

after, at least 191 companies produced DES. (CT 206)

In 1971, following 30 years of use of DES for various

purposes, medical studies suggested for the first time that

there might be a statistical correlation between the use of

* Indeed, DES was not sold for any purpose in this country until

1941, after the FDA had independently conducted an exhaustive inves-

tigation of the drug’s safety. (CT 204-205) The designation “CT”

refers to the Clarks transcript of the record in Sindell in the court below.

** For a recapitulation of Dr. Smith’s work, see George and Olive

Smith, Prophylactic Hormone Therapy Relation to Complications of Preg-

nancy, 4 Obst. & Gyn. 129 (1954), and Olive Smith, Diethylstilbestrol In

The Prevention and Treatment of Complications of Pregnancy, 56 Am. J.

Obst. & Gyn. 821 (1948). Dr. Smith’s results were duplicated by Dr.

Priscilla White between 1938 and 1952. She found that high risk

pregnancies treated with DES resulted in almost double the number of

live babies as in the untreated group. Dr. White was also able to

examine the offspring of many of these DES-treated women. She

found no abnormalities like those the drug is accused of causing today.

(White, P., Pregnancy Complicating Diabetes, J.A.M.A., 128, 181, 1945;

White, P., Pregnancy Complicating Diabetes, Amer. J. Med. 7, 609, 1949;

White, P., Pregnancy Complicating Diabetes, The Treatment of Diabetes

Mellitus, 9th Edition, Philadelphia, Lea & Febiger, 1952.)

*** The term “NOT A NEW DRUG” means that the composition

of the drug is such that it is generally recognized among experts

qualified by scientific training and experience to evaluate the safety of

drugs to be safe for use under the conditions prescribed. 21 U.S.C. §

321 (p)(1). See, Weinberger v. Hynson, Wescott & Dunning, 412 U.S. 609,

612-614, 37 L. Ed. 2d 207 (1973).

5

the drug and a rare form of cancer (clear cell adenocarci-

noma) in the daughters of women who had taken synthetic

estrogen during pregnancy.* (CT 207) The correlation

has been estimated to range between 0.14 to 1.4 per thou-

sand daughters exposed to the product.**The cancer also

occurs spontaneously in nature; its cause or causes are

unknown.*** Consequently, it is not possible to attribute a

specific person’s injury to DES exposure. Because of these

medical reports, the FDA deterr-‘ined in 1971 that DES

should no longer be indicated for use during pregnancy

although it is still used today foy other purposes.

The formula for DES is a scientific constant. All manu-

facturers producing the drug are required to employ the

same formula for DES set forth in the United States

Pharmacopoeia, a standard compendium to establish the

_ chemical identity of such products. (21 U.S.C. § 351(b)).

Manufacturers are also required to employ the same

description of the drug on labels or bottles containing it.

(21 U.S.C. § 352(e)). DES was therefore distributed as a

classie generic drug.

The delay between the time of ingestion of the drug and

the time litigation is instituted has led to the threshold

issue in this litigation-whether manufacturer identifica-

tion should be zequired. Separated from consumers by at

least two levels of distribution, the defendants have no

mean: of ascertaining the identity of the manufacturer

whose product was ingested by a particular person; facts

pertaining to manufacturer identification rest within plain-

tiffs’ control if available at all. The plaintiffs’ mothers

selected and consulted with the prescribing doctors,

* Herbst, Ulfelder and Poskanzer, Adenocarcinoma of the Vagina, 284

N. Eng. J. Med. 878 (1971).

** Herbst, Cole, Norusis, Welch and Scully, Epidemiologic Aspects

and Factors Related to Survival in 384 Registry Cases of Clear Cell Adenocar-

cinoma of the Vagina and Cervix, 135 Am. J. Obstet. Gynecol. 876 (1979).

*** Herbst, Cole, Colton, Robboy and Scully, Age-Incidence and Risk of

Diethylstilbestrol-Related Clear Cell Adenocarcinoma of the Vagina and Cer-

viz, 128 Am. J. Obst. Gyn. 43 (1977).

6

selected the pharmacies or hospitals from which they

obtained the drug, had the opportunity to observe the

drug’s color, size, coating, markings and other characteris-

tics, and may have discarded the best practical evidence of

identity such as pharmacy records, the container, package

inserts and the drug itself.

The California Supreme Court granted petitions for hear-

ing by Rexall, Lilly and other defendants, thereby vacat-

ing the the prior California Court of Appeal decision

overruling trial court decisions that had sustained demurs

to the complaints. The resulting four to three decision

acknowledged that the Sindell complaint failed to state a

cause of action based on any existing legal theory, but went

on to create a new cause of action based on “market share”

which obviated the need for manufacturer identification.

melt commented that its holding would be applicable in Rogers

only if plaintiff failed to establish her claim that the drug

taken by her mother was manufacturered by Lilly. (App.

A, p. 6)

The court expressly based its decision on the belief it is

more appropriate that the pharmaceutical industry, with

(presumed) financial resources, should pay damages

despite the lack of proof of causation than that the plain-

tiffs should remain without a remedy against the industry.

(App. A, p. 23) Borrowing from and modifying an idea

first proposed in a student comment in the Fordham Law

Review,* the court held that a plaintiff who cannot iden-

tify the manufacturer of a fungible product which has

caused her injury may recover the entire amount of her

damages if suit is brought against manufacturers which in

the aggregate produced a “substantial share” of the market.

It did not define the concept of a substantial share. The

court held that a defendant may overcome the artificial

presumption that it caused the injury only by proving that

it did not manufacture the specific product received by the

* Comment, DES and a Proposed Theory of Enterprise Liability, 46

Fordham L. Rev. 963 (1978) (hereinafter “Student comment”),

7

plaintiff’s mother. A defendant lacking direct proof is

barred, however, from the use of relevant statistical and

market share evidence to overcome the presumption. The

court permitted the defendants to attempt to file third-

party complaints against other manufacturers which may

be subject to the court’s jurisdiction, and to apportion liabil-

ity among the defendants and cross-defendants based on

respective market shares. (App. A, p. 25)

c. Prior Raising of Federal Issues

Because the theory of liability reached by the Court

below was so revolutionary and completely unanticipated

and was not raised or argued by any of the parties before

the Court, the petitioners timely raised the constitutional

objections pressed here in their petition for rehearing.* See

Appendices B and C hereto.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. THE JURISDICTION OF THIS COURT IS PROPERLY

INVOKED.

The California Supreme Court judgment has finally dis-

posed of the federal issues involved for purposes of the state

litigation and is a final judgment for purposes of 28 U.S.C. §

1257.

In Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469 (1975),

this Court reviewed four categories of cases in which it has

treated state decisions on federal issues as final judgments

for purposes of 28 U.S.C. § 1257 notwithstanding the pen-

dency of further state proceedings. The fourth category

includes those cases in which the state decision might seri-

ously erode Federal policies, has finally disposed of the

federal issues, and when reversal on the federal issues

would preclude further litigation on the relevant cause of

action. Jd. at 482-83.

* Brinkerhoff-Faris Trust & Sav. Co. v. Hill, 281 U.S. 673, 678 (1929);

Herndon v. Georgia, 295 U.S. 441, 443-44 (1935).

8

There can be no greater erosion of Federal policies than

to compel petitioners to face long, protracted complex and

expensive litigation premised on an unconstitutional the-

ory of liability. Moreover, the decision below will inhibit

generic distribution of pharmaceutical products in direct

contravention of strong federal policies mandating and

encouraging such generic distribution. In addition, the

decision will erect anti-competitive barriers to entry in the

pharmaceutical industry and otherwise impede socially

desirable research and development efforts to invent new,

life-saving products. Because of these effects, petitioners

demonstrate, infra page 21 et seg., that California’s state

action is preempted by the Supremacy and Commerce

clauses.

As this Court noted in Mercantile National Bank v. Lang-

deau, 371 U.S. 555, 558 (1963), immediate review is fre-

quently desirable

“,. to determine now [ whether] appellants may

be tried rather than to subject them ... to long and

complex litigation which may all be for naught if

consideration of the {federal issue] is postponed

until the conclusion of the proceedings.”

This Court’s immediate review of the judgment in Sindell

and Rogers is essential in order to assure the fair, orderly

and efficient administration of justice. Over 55 cases are

pending in the federal and state courts of California where

the revolutionary Sindell decision will in all likelihood be

applied prior to resolution of the constitutional issues it

involves. Those actions will all be for “naught” if, as

Rexall and Lilly contend, the Constitution bars prosecution

of the claims under the “market share” liability theory.

9

2. THE JUDGMENT BELOW VIOLATES PROCEDURAL

DUE PROCESS BY CREATING IRRATIONAL,

UNWORKABLE AND UNFAIR) PROCEDURAL

DEVICES TO DO AWAY WITH PROOF OF CAUSA-

TION LINKING A DEFENDANT TO THE PRODUCT

CAUSING INJURY.

The California Supreme Court judgment, by adopting a

“market share” liability theory, strikes at the defendants’

fundamental right to be free from a wholly arbitrary and

irrational rule of liability, and their right to fair and

rational rules of procedure and evidence. The judgment

violates the Fourteenth Amendment’s guarantee of due

process* by substituting an unworkable and unreasonable

quasi-legislative damage apportionment scheme for evi-

dence of cause.

The California Supreme Court decision is best under-

stood in its historical context.

* Although the arguments herein are devoted to showing how the

decision below runs afoul of procedural due process, there is substantial

reason to believe it violates substantive due process as well. Not only

did the Court below create novel and untested rules governing liability

for future conduct (cf. Duke Power Co. v. Carolina Env. Study Group, 438

U.S. 59 (1978)), but, in doing so, it abrogated fundamental common

law safeguards developed to protect persons against randomized, specu-

lative and conjectural liability on account of past conduct. This case

thus fails within the category of cases where abrogation of common law

rights is subject to constitutional substantive due process scrutiny. To

pass muster, such action must “provide a reasonably just substitute for

the common law or state tort law remedies protection it replaces” (Jd. at

88). Because the concepts of reasonableness and fairness permeate any

analysis of due process invasions, petitioners demonstrate in their dis-

cussions throughout this petition that the rules California has adopted

to render an appearance of fairness are unreasonable and inequitable in

the extreme and thereby violate procedural due process guarantees.

But, because the predicates of those rules are also arbitrary and irra-

tional in the extreme, they violate substantive due process guarantees

as well. Wolff v. McDonnell, 418 U.S. 539, 558 (1974); Giaccio v. Penn-

sylvania, 382 U.S. 399, 403 (1966). As this Court stated in Rees v.

Watertown, 86 U.S. (19 Wall.) 107, 122 (1873), relying upon the Magna

Carta and the due process clause: “A court of equity cannot, by avow-

ing that there is a right but no remedy known to the law, create a

remedy in violation of law, or even without the authority of law.”

10

Pursuant to the law of all jurisdictions in the United

States, a factual chain linking the defendant with the

allegedly defective product (1.¢., causation) is an essential

element of every products liability action. See, eg., Picker

X-Ray Corp. v. Frerker, 405 F.2d 916 (8th Cir. 1969); Rekasie

v. Bucyrus-Erie Co., 262 F.2d 804 (3d Cir. 1959); Thompson-

Hayward Chemical Co. v. Childress, 277 Ala. 285, 169 So. 2d

305 (1964); Baker v. Coca-Cola Bottling Works of Gary, 132 .

Ind. App. 390, 177 N.E.2d 759 (1961); Wetzel v. Eaton Corp.,

62 F.R.D. 22, 28 (D. Minn. 1973); 1 Hursh & Bailey, Ameri-

can Law of Products Liability 2d, Section 1:41 (1974); Anno-

tation, Products Liability: Necessity and Sufficiency of

Identification of Defendant as Manufacturer or Seller of Product

Alleged to Have Caused Injury, 51 A.L.R.3d 1344, 1349

(1973); Prosser, The Law of Torts, § 41 at 236 (4th ed. 1971).

The common law safeguards afforded by the requirement

of proof of causation insure fairness because they protect

defendants from the imposition of liability premised upon

mere speculation and conjecture:

“An essential element of the plaintiff’s cause of

action for negligence, or for that matter for any

‘other tort, is that there be some reasonable connection

between the act or omission of the defendant and the

damage which the plaintiff has suffered.” Prosser,

supra, § 41 at 236. (Emphasis added)

“!The plaintiff | must introduce evidence which

affords a reasonable basis for the conclusion that it is

more likely than not that the conduct of the defen-

dant was a substantial factor in bringing about the

result. A mere possibility of such causation is not

enough; and when the matter remains one of pure

speculation or conjecture, or the probabilities are at

best evenly balanced, it becomes the duty of the

court to direct a verdict for the defendant.” Jd. at

241. (Footnotes omitted. )

The California Supreme Court has chosen to forsake

these policy considerations and safeguards on the notion

that it is “reasonable” to establish causation by the joinder

¢

11

of a substantial share of a given market where identifica-

tion of the responsible party is not now possible.* In actu-

ality, however, this does not represent an appropriate

substitute for causation, and falls far short of satisfying the

requirements of due process.

The position of the California Supreme Court is that its

new rule of liability may be imposed because of the pre-

sumed fact that defendants are better able to bear the cost

of injury than plaintiffs and that it has developed procedu-

ral devices and standards to accomplish this goal in a just

and fair fashion. (App. A, p. 26)

Once the plaintiff has brought before the court manufac-

turers which in the aggregate produced a “substantial”

share of DES, the court indulges in the presumption that

each and every defendant manufactured the drug ingested

by plaintiff’s mother. (App. A, p. 25). A major error

surrounding the presumption is patent - the presence of

other manufacturers in the action does not :nake it more

likely that a defendant produced the drug taken by a par-

ticular mother. As pointed out by Justice Richardson in

dissent, the use of market share evidence “does not impli-

cate any particular defendant.” (App. A, p. 32).

* The Court admitted, as defendants contended, that under tradi-

tional product liability theories, there was no rational basis to connect

the plaintiff’s injury to any one named defendant.

“'Sjinee any one of 200 companies which manufactured DES

might have made the product which harmed plaintiff, there is

no rational basis upon which to infer that any defendant in this

action caused plaintiff’s injuries, nor even a reasonable possibil-

ity that they were responsible.

“These arguments are persuasive if we measure the chance

that any one of the defendants supplied the injury-causing drug

by the number of possible tortfeasors. In such a context, the

possibility that any of the five defendants supplied the DES to

plaintiff’s mother is so remote that it would be unfair to require

each defendant to exonerate itself. There may be a substantial

likelihood that none of the five defendants joined in the action

made the DES which caused the injury, and that the offending

producer not named would escape liability altogether.” App. A,

p. 13.

12

Defendants before the court might consist of Manufac-

turer A with 40% of the market, Manufacturer B with 4%

of the market, and Manufacturer C with 0.4% of the mar-

ket. Since even plaintiffs would not dispute that the statis-

tical correlation between DES exposure and clear cell

adenocarcinoma does not exceed 1.4 per 1,000, there is no

way to determine whether sales by the 4% or 0.4% market

share defendants might have resulted in any injuries what-

soever. A’s presence does not in any way increase the

likelihood that either B or C was the responsible

manufacturer.

The court asserted that the “equity” of the presumption

in which it indulges results from the assumption that once

all of the cases are finally adjudicated “each manufac-

turer’s liability would approximate its responsibility for

the injuries caused by its own products.” (App. A, p. 26)*

To the contrary, exactly the opposite is true and the court’s

goal cannot be accomplished. Moreover, the court com-

pletely ignored other factors which make the “market

share” theory unreasonable and unfair.

(a) In the first place, the theory uses the “market

share” concept to impose a lower rather than an upper limit

on liability. The theory assesses joint and several liability

against defendants in the entire amount of damages sus-

tained, including damages attributable to market shares of

absent manufacturers.** Consequently, a defendant’s lia-

bility will almost always exceed its market share. As

explained by Justice Richardson in dissent:

* This case is far different, however, from other modern product

liability cases which assign the risk of loss to a solvent product manu-

facturer because it can spread that risk in advance through higher

prices or increased insurance coverage. In such a case, unlike here,

since that manufacturer is called upon to pay damages only for injuries

its own products caused, it is not unfair to impose that financial-ability

based economic consequence on him. There, at least, the manufac-

turer’s exposure is limited to production and distribution over which it

has some control. Here, in contrast, no such primary justification

exists for the classification created.

** See, e.g., American Motorcycle Assn. v. Superior Court, 20 Cal. 3d 578,

578 P.2d 899 (1978).

13

“ ,, those defendants who are brought to trial in this

state will bear effective joint responsibility for 100

percent of plaintiffs’ injuries despite the fact that

their ‘substantial’ aggregate market share may be

considerably less... .” (App. A, p. 33).

Applying the majority’s theory to the hypothetical above,

it is clear that A, B and C will all be liable for more than

twice their market shares.

(b) The court’s assertion that “equity” will be accom-

plished would be correct only if no plaintiff will be able to

make product identification and no defendant will be able

to exculpate itself. Yet that is clearly not the case, as the

court itself acknowledged by providing for precisely those

two contingencies.

Some plaintiffs do make product identification and some

manufacturers exculpate themselves. The Court below

noted that Rogers can identify and, even prior to the

appeal, one defendant had exculpated itself.* The court

noted that Rogers can identify the manufacturer and, even

prior to the appeal, one defendant had exculpated itself.

Once identification or exculpation occurs, the defendants

will bear disproportionate measures of liability. This point

* In Abel v. Eli Lilly and Co., Action No. 74-030-070NP filed in the

Wayne County Circuit Court, Detroit, Michigan, appeal pending to the

Supreme Court of Michigan, 90 out of 144 plaintiffs, according to a brief

filed by their counsel on appeal, identified the manufacturer of the DES

at issue. The fact that such identification was not made in that case

until after the trial court had determined that identification was

required to state a cause of action highlights another unfair result

which the California court overlooked and which necessarily flows

from the theory which it has espoused. Under the “market share”

theory, the plaintiff has a definite incentive to suppress identification

evidence or at least to be conveniently ignorant of its existence. Why

should she forego the right to sue 100 companies, any of whom might

satisfy a judgment, for the right to sue one company, the company

which actually made the product which allegedly injured her, when

that company may no longer exist or be subject to suit where she wants

to sue? Prosser addressed just this situation when he pointed out that

“sheer ignorence might be, the most powerful weapon of the law.”

Prosser, Res Ipsa Loquitur, a Reply to Professor Carpenter, 10 So. Calif. L.

Rev. 459, 464 (1937).

14

is illustrated by Sindell and Rogers. If Rogers proves her

mother took Lilly’s product and satisfies the other elements

of her case, Lilly will be required to pay 100% of her

damages. If Sindell prevails at trial, Lilly will be required

to pay its market share and its proportion of the shares of

the several hundred absent manufacturers. For the two

cases together, Lilly’s exposure will greatly exceed its mar-

ket share, and the exposure of other manufacturers may be

more or less than their market shares depending on the

shares represented by non-party manufacturers. As the

number of plaintiffs who succeed in identifying the manu-

facturer increases, the “equity” is increasingly out of

balance.

(c) The court also assumes that to achieve equity the

appropriate market can now be reconstructed and will

remain the same in all cases. Once again, there is no

rational basis for this conclusion, The defendants’ market

Shares will vary from case to case and the supposed

“equity” arising from an averaging of results over all cases

will be impossible. The initial definition of the product

market will be arbitrary since DES was manufactured in at

least 13 different dosages, ranging from .1 mg. to 250 mg.,

and was indicated and sold for many purposes other than

prevention of accidents of pregnancy. (CT p. 204, 206-07).

Equally arbitrary will be the definition of the geographic

market. A national market would greatly distort regional

sales; a California market would present distortions of its

own. In Rogers, for example, the drug was obtained and

taken in Illinois, while suit was filed in California.

Finally, the court had no reason to assume, as it did, that

sufficient records exist to rationally determine market

shares of over 200 manufacturers, many of whom may be

out of business or not otherwise subject to suit in California,

based on production and sales 20 to 30 years ago. (App. A,

p. 26)

15

(d) The Court disregarded transaction costs in its con-

sideration of how to achieve “equity” under its theory.

Prior to Sindell, when identification was required, a manu-

facturer having 10% of the market would theoretically be a

defendant in at most 10% of the cases and responsible for

the costs of defending only those suits. Under Sindell, in

contrast, that same 10% manufacturer would have to

defend somewhat less than 100% of the suits and absorb

defense costs in all of them. The court was blind to these

costs of defense and to the special burden its theory places

on defendants with small market shares.

If it is assumed that defense costs in a given action range

between $50,000 to $100,000, the costs of defending 100

actions would be $5,000,000 to $10,000,000. Since defend-

ants with the smallest market shares may incur the same

litigation costs as the largest, their costs of defense may

dwarf their liability exposure. The repetition of such costs

will progressively cripple the smaller companies producing

multi-source drugs, thereby reducing competition, and will

continually drain the resources available to the larger com-

panies for research and development of new drugs.

(e) The theory’s supposed “equity” further depends on

the assumption that the defendant manufacturers are in a

better position than plaintiffs to bear the cost of injury and

to insure against it. (App. A, p.23) It is highly question-

able, however, whether the pharmaceutical industry, and

particularly its smaller firms, can withstand the extraordi-

nary random liability imposed by the new theory. See,

Coggins, Industry-Wide Liability, 13 Suffolk L. Rev. 980,

1003-06 (1979). Even before this decision, the pharmaceu-

tical industry was virtually uninsurable. Commerce

Department, Interagency Task Force on Product Liability:

Final Repori of the Insurance Study, Volume 1 at 2-4, 2-5

(January 1977). The “market share” theory is likely to

render manufacturers of generic drugs totally uninsurable,

16

since the insurer cannot determine the scope of the expo-

sure if it may be liable for damages and litigation costs

resulting from products manufactured by companies other

than its insured.

(f) The “market share” theory further assumes that

litigation is an effective mechanism for compensating per-

sons for drug-induced injuries. The opposite is true.

Apart from the excessive transaction costs exacted by the

Sindell formula, drug litigation remains a slow, costly, inef-

ficient process for compensation. Not only do substantial

delays occur between injury and payment; but plaintiffs

also face uncertainties of proof, the necessity of proving

defect and high litigation expenses. It has been estimated

that it currently costs 77 cents to deliver 65 cents to a

plaintiff in normal products liability suits. Kinsley, Fate

and Lawsuits, 182 The New Republic, 20, 21 (June 14,

1980). See also, Commerce Department, /nteragency Task

Force Report on Product Liability, Final Report of the Insur-

ance Study, Volume 1 at 2-4, 2-5 (January 1977). The Court

below has arbitrarily legislated a remedy which almost

certainly will increase the delivery costs per case to as

much as $3 per dollar of potential recovery.* Kinsley, supra,

at p.21. In contrast, alternate means for assisting persons

injured by drugs, including private health insurance and

public health care programs,** appear vastly preferable to

a radical, extraordinarily expensive restructuring of tort

law. The California legislature itself has enacted a far-

* For example, with 100 defendant and cross-defendant manufac-

turers, 300 trial days will be added if each takes only three days to try

the market share issues. At a time when the publie is becoming

increasingly dissatisfied with our courts, it is unwise from any perspec-

tive to create new mass litigation concepts which entail crippling costs

to the litigants—and ultimately to the public-and huge delays to others

who wish to utilize the limited resources of the courts.

** Source Book of Health Insurance Data, 1976-77, p. 21. The Source

Book reports that at the end of 1975, private health insurance protected

more than 80% of the civilian noninstitutionalized population, and

that of persons under age 65, nearly 9 out of 10 were covered. I/d.

17

reaching and exemplary health care services program cov-

ering both the indigent and many individuals with means

of support.* Moreover, as the dissent below points out, the

problem here “invites a legislative rather than an

attempted judicial solution.” (App. A, p. 38)

(g) The type of evidentiary hearing which the theory

will permit in allowing defendants to rebut the presump-

tion violates procedural due process. The theory seem-

ingly preserves a degree of fairness to defendants in one

respect — it allows them to offer certain types of exculpatory

evidence. The appearance of procedural fairness disap-

pears, however, upon review of other types of exculpatory

evidence which the theory necessarily excludes.

As to defendants which can offer direct proof they did

not manufacture the specific drug taken by plaintiff’s

mother, the presumption of causation may be overcome.

(App. A, p. 25) If evidence establishes that a white tablet

was taken, a defendant may exculpate itself by proof it

manufactured only green tablets. Other direct evidence

includes proof that plaintiff’s mother obtained the drug ata

pharmacy which did not sell a particular defendant’s prod-

ucts. Those defendants with direct proof should be able to

secure Summary judgment.

All defendants remaining at trial, however, will be man-

ufacturers lacking direct proof. As to those defendants,

the “market share” theory necessarily bars the use of rele-

vant and admissible statistical and market share evidence

to overcome the presumption.** (Student comment, p. 995. )

The supposed “equity” of the apportionment scheme falls

* See, California Welfare and Institutions Code, Sections 14000, et

seq., and Sections 11152 and 11153.7 (benefits payable for qualified

persons with residential realty without value limitation up to $25,000

in income-producing realty). The California legislature also has been

considering major reforms in products liability law and enacted, on

July 31, 1980, special legislation to assist in identification and screen-

ing of persons exposed to DES. (See App. A, p. 38)

** Equal protection of the laws has also been violated in that some

defendants may use relevant exculpatory evidence while others are

barred from using equally relevant, albeit circumstantial, exculpatory

18

of its own weight when such evidence is excluded. For

example, a manufacturer which believes it has less than

1% of a given market would ordinarily present evidence of

its market share as proof of exculpation. The Student

comment acknowledges that failure to bar such evidence

could result in one manufacturer with a sufficient market

share being held liable for 100% of the liability in all cases.

(Student comment, p. 995.) As to defendants without

direct proof, the presumption cannot be overcome and con-

sequently the theory bars a fair hearing on the issue of

causation. —

The unfairness of the Court’s procedure is exacerbated by

the fact that it permits a plaintiff to use market share data

in showing that she has sued manufacturers comprising a

“Substantial share” of the relevant market, but precludes

defendants from using that same data to exculpate

themselves.

The “market share” theory does not offer a principled

basis for barring any defendants from use of statistical and

market share evidence to overcome the presumption of cau-

sation. The theory bars defendants from the right to a fair

hearing and fair rules of procedure and evidence in viola-

tion of procedural due process. Due process protects a

defendant’s fundamental right to rational rules of proce-

dure and evidence. Jenkins v. McKeithen, 395 U.S. 411, 429

(1969). In Jenkins, the Court stressed that due process

evidence. Moreover, on the issue of causation, defendants in this case

are treated differentiy from defendants in all other tort cases.

Equal protection prohibits the states from treating similarly situated

persons or business enterprises in different ways. Reed v. Reed, 404 U.S.

71 (1971); Smith v. Cahoon, 283 U.S. 553 (1931); Connolly v. Union Sewer

Pipe Co., 184 U.S. 540 (1902). The singling out of a particular class of

individuals and barring it from the right to a fair hearing violates

equal protection notwithstanding a state’s interest in increasing the

speed and efficiency of adjudication. Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645,

648, 656 (1972). Seealso, Carrington v. Rash, 380 U.S. 89 (1965); Dunn v.

Blumstein, 405 U.S. 330, 349-352 (1971); Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 U.S.

618 (1969).

19

protects the right to present evidence: “{T |he right to pre-

sent evidence is, of course, essential to the fair hearing

required by the Due Process Clause.”

(h) The “equity” of the California court’s “market

share” theory is not achieved by the supposed relief it

proposes of according defendants the right to bring in

through third-party actions unnamed manufacturers. By

making the named defendants liable for 100% of the plain-

tiff’s damages, those defendants, in attempting to equate

liability with market share, must seek to bring in every

other manufacturer. This will necessarily result in a trial

which is not only an unmanageable spectacle, but which,

because it will involve over 100 or possibly over 200 defend-

ants, will deprive those defendants of any possibility of a

fair hearing.* Surely, due process cannot countenance a

trial where the courtroom (or, more likely, an amphithea-

ter) is bursting with counsel for 200 corporate defendants,

their clients, a plaintiff with serious injuries, her counsel,

witnesses, a judge, court personnel and spectators. The

chances of a jury being able to render a fair and impartial

verdict when confronted with such a spectacle are so

remote as to be nonexistent.

* Literally hundreds of suits (some of them, like Sindell and

Rogers, purporting to be class actions) involving DES claims are pend-

ing. Several suits in California contain well over 150 pharmaceutical

manufacturers as defendants in an effort by plaintiffs themselves to

hurdle the manufacturer identification issue. (Carol Trevallee v. Abbott

Laboratories, et al., San Francisco Superior Court Case No. 721204; Judy

K. Benny v. Abbott Laboratories, et al., Alameda Superior Court Case No.

525322-5; Cindy Bocian v. Abbott Laboratories, et al., San Francisco Supe-

rior Court Case No. 760532.) This sideshow aspect has been addressed

in separate context:

“As a practical matter the capacities of even the best judges and

jurors to absorb the factual situation presented are finite and the

capacity of a courthouse does not begin to reach that of a coli-

seum. A class action in the instant case would stretch the

facilities and abilities of this Court beyond their elastic limit.”

aga v. Glass Specialty Co., 59 F.R.D. 286, 294 (N.D. II.

1973).

20

The Fourteenth Amendment’s guarantee of due process

extends to state action, both legislative and judicial. Amer-

ican Railway Exp. Co. v. Kentucky, 273 U.S. 269 (1927);

Prudential Ins. Co. v. Cheek, 259 U.S. 580 (1922); Vlandis v.

Kline, 412 U.S. 441 (1973). See also, Moore v. East Cleveland,

431 U.S. 494, 502 (1977); NAACP v. Alabama, 377 U.S. 288,

308 (1964).

Although states have certain leeway in creating pre-

sumptions through proper legislative classifications, con-

clusive presumptions as to an essential element of a cause of

action or defense, unless universally true, deprive persons

of the opportunity to be heard on an individual basis and

thus violate procedural due process.

See, e.g., Bell v. Burson, 402 U.S. 5385 (1971); Cleveland

Board of Education v. LaFleur, 414 U.S. 632, 644 (1974);

Vlandis v. Kline, 412 U.S. 441, 446 (1973); Stanley v. Illinois,

405 U.S. 645 (1972).

Due process requires a meaningful opportunity to pre-

sent evidence and to be heard. Armstrong v. Manzo, 380

U.S. 545, 552 (1965); Sawnders v. Shaw, 244 U.S. 317 (1917).

Substance, not form, is examined to determine whether

constitutional minimums have been honored. Bell v. Bur-

son, supra, 402 U.S. at 541; Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254

(1970).

Petitioners have demonstrated by example that the Cali-

fornia decision is, first, not reasonably calculated to achieve

its stated goals, second, inequitable in the extreme, and

third, will deprive defendants of any opportunity for a fair

trial. Procedural due process requires that these criteria be

met. The decision below falls far short of satisfying them

and is, therefore, constitutionally invalid.

21

3. THE JUDGMENT BELOW IS PREEMPTED BY THE

SUPREMACY CLAUSE BECAUSE IT FRUSTRATES

FEDERAL POLICIES GOVERNING THE DEVELOP.

MENT AND MARKETING OF PRESCRIPTION DRUGS,

AND IN PARTICULAR THE MARKETING OF DRUGS

ON A GENERIC BASIS, AND CREATES AN INVALID

BURDEN ON INTERSTATE COMMERCE.

The California Supreme Court’s “market share” liability

theory will impose random, destructive liability and

extraordinary litigation costs on manufacturers of drugs

for the marketing of pharmaceuticals which are alleged to

be defective 20 years after they were ingested, and after

they passed the rigorous tests and standards established by

the FDA. The immediate and unavoidable effect will be to

drastically impede the development and marketing of new

prescription drugs (in particular the marketing of drugs on

a generic basis), and erect artificial barriers to entry in

such markets with potential anticompetitive consequences.

The federal government strongly encourages the devel-

opment and marketing of new prescription drugs and the

increased price competition which results from the market-

ing of drugs on a generic basis.* See Brand Names and

Generic Drugs, 1974, Hearings Before Subcommittee on

Labor and Public Welfare, 93d Congress 2d Sess. (July 22,

California likewise encourages the marketing of drugs on a

generic basis. California Businesses and Professions Code, Section

4047.6. Moreover, there is a strong social interest in having more than

one manufacturer of an unpatented product in any field. Society has

repeatedly looked with favor upon the public policy of having multiple-

manufacturers of identical products in other industries. For example,

this Court in Sears, Roebuck & Co. v. Stiffel Co., 376 U.S. 225 (1964),

reversed an unfair competition order of a state court which enjoined

defendant from producing a lamp identical to a lamp provided by

plaintiffs. The Court recently acknowledged the public interest in

having more than one manufacturer of a product, even at the expense

of one company’s goodwill, in the following terms:

“ ‘Sharing in the good will of an article unprotected by patent or

trade-mark is the exercise of a right possessed by all-and in the

free exercise of which the consuming public is deeply inter-

ested.’ ” 376 U.S. at 231.

22

1974). 21 U.S.C. § 301, et seg. Since more diseases can be

treated by drugs than by surgery or radiology, and since

drugs are a relatively inexpensive mode of therapy, drug

therapy is of great benefit in reducing morbidity and mor-

tality rates as well as the costs of medical treatment.

Schwartzman, The Expected Return from Pharmaceutical

Research, 1-3 (1975). This past term, the Court reiterated

the strong public policy in favor of encouraging rather

than, as here, discouraging research and development in

pharmaceuticals and related fields: “Mr. Justice Douglas

reminded that the inventions most benefiting mankind are

those that ‘push back the frontiers of chemistry, physics,

and the like.’ Great A. & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equip.

Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 154 (1950) (coneurring opinion).”

Diamond v. Chakrabarty, 40 CCH 8. Ct. Bull. p. B3122,

B3135 (1980).

The Department of Health, Education and Welfare has

commented regarding generic drugs and “branded

generics”:

“About three-quarters of the drugs commonly pre-

scribed in the United States are available only from

asingle source. The remaining fourth are available

from multiple sources, often at widely differing

prices. Historically, the lower-cost versions of mul-

tiple source drugs have been marketed by relatively

small manufacturers. In recent years, however, the

growing trend toward generic prescribing has

encouraged major manufacturers to enter the mar-

ket with so-called ‘branded generics’ with prices still

greatly below those of the original brands. The

MAC [maximum allowable cost} regulation is

designed to adopt departmental policy to this

increased price competition in the multiple-source

market.” (Maximum Allowable Costs for Drugs, Office

of the Secretary, Department of Health, Education

and Welfare (July 25, 1976)).

Any consideration of increased regulation or imposition

of liability on the pharmaceutical industry must be

23

approached with extreme caution. Prosser, Handbook of the

Law of Torts, 661 (4th ed. 1971); Hearings Before the Subcom-

mittee on Health of the Committee on Labor and Public Welfare,

94th Congress, p. 119 (September 23, 1977). Indeed, com-

mentators have argued that amendments to the Food,

Drug, and Cosmetic Act inhibiting the introduction of new

drugs have cost the American public over 300 million dol-

lars and thousands of lives due to decreased availability of

pharmaceuticais. Peltzman, Regulation of Pharmaceutical

Innovation; The 1962 Amendments 1-3 (1974); Grabowski,

Drug Regulation and Innovation: Empirical Evidence and

Policy Options (1976). The identical concern was

addressed by the Court last term in a different context.

Dawson Chem. Co. v. Rohm & Haas Co., 40 CCH S. Ct. Bull. p.

B3850, B38895 (1980).

The “market share” theory raises a significant risk that

smaller companies may be driven from the business of

producing generic prescription drugs. See, Coggins, 13 Suf-

folk L. Rev. 980, 1003-1006 (1979). If a company cannot

obtain insurance, investment capital is almost impossible to

attract. If the company does obtain the necessary capital,

gambling that it would not be the arbitrary target in litiga-

tion for injuries allegedly caused by a widely-used drug,

the loss of the gamble could result in ruin. See Reiter v.

Sonotone Corp., 579 F.2d 1077, 1086 (8th Cir. 1978), rev’d,

442 U.S. 330 (1979). A further anticompetitive effect is

the development of barriers to entry by new firms. The

existence of a high fixed cost (such as provision for “market

share” liability and litigation expense) will bar a new firm

from entering the industry unless it has sufficient capital or

sales revenue to absorb the cost. A limitation on new entry

is an important precondition for the emergence and mainte-

nance of monopoly power. Under the antitrust laws, merg-

ers have been forbidden where, among other matters, they

would contribute to the development of such entry barriers.

See, e.g., Ford Motor Co. v. United States, 405 U.S. 562 (1972).

24

The court’s decision impermissibly interferes with fed-

eral objectives relating to the development and marketing

of prescription drugs and avoidance of anticompetitive

effects on interstate commerce in such markets. The

Supremacy Clause voids a state’s statutory or decisional

law if it would retard, impede, burden or otherwise frus-

trate the full effectiveness of federal law. McCulloch v.

Maryland, 17 U.S. (4 Wheat.) 316 (1819); Sola Elec. Co. v.

Jefferson Elec. Co., 317 U.S. 173 (1942). Regardless of the

court’s purpose in adopting the “market share” liability

theory, its decision stands as a major obstacle to the accom-

plishment of Congressional objectives in regulating the

drug industry and encouraging the unfettered marketing

of drugs on a generic basis. The decision is therefore inva-

lid under the Supremacy Clause. Perez v. Campbell, 402

U.S. 637, 652 (1971); San Diego Bldg. Trades Council v. Gar-

mon, 359 U.S. 236 (1959); Farmers Union v. WDAY, Inc.,

360 U.S. 525 (1959).

The court’s decision is also preempted because it creates

an invalid burden on interestate commerce, and burdens

commerce without resort to less burdensome alternatives.

The purpose of the Commerce Clause was, of course, to

“prevent discrimination and the erection of barriers or

obstacles to the free flow of commerce, interstate or for-

eign.” Di Santo v. Pennsylvania, 273 U.S. 34, 43-44 (1927)

(Stone, J., dissenting).

At the very least, the “market share” liability theory

will significantly raise the cost of generic drugs,* if not

destroy the market. Under a balancing test, cost increases

are an important factor, especially where economic justifi-

cation for the challenged rule is slight. See, Bibb v. Navajo

Freight Lines, Inc., 359 U.S. 520 (1959); Raymond Motor

* Nor will cost increases be limited to California. The Robinson-

Patman Act would bar pharmaceutical companies from engaging in

price discrimination between the states. 15 U.S.C. § 13, et seq.

25

Transportation, Inc. v. Rice, 484 U.S. 429 (1978). In addi-

tion, the theory will cause manufacturers to avoid eco-

nomic risks by emphasizing the distribution of older,

established pharmaceuticals. The effect of such policy will

be to decrease the variety of pharmaceuticals available,

particularly those more recently developed, and the impact

of the policy will be felt nationally.

Even when a state can justify the establishment of rules

which burden interstate commerce, the rules still are inva-

lid if less burdensome alternatives exist. Great Atlantic &

Pacific Tea Co., Inc. v. Cottrell, 424 U.S. 366 (1976); Pike v.

Bruce Church, Inc., 397 U.S. 187 (1970). In adopting the

“market share” liability theory, the court failed to consider

less burdensome alternatives; instead it selected the most

punitive solution of all.

26

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing resaons, a Writ of Certiorari should

issue, and the judgment of the California Supreme Court

should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

ADAMS, DUQUE & HAZELTINE

RICHARD C. FIELD

DAVID L. BACON

523 West Sixth Street

Los Angeles, California 90014

WINTHROP, STIMSON, PUTNAM

& ROBERTS

A. EDWARD GRASHOF

THEODORE 8S. STEINGUT

40 Wall Street

New York, New York 10005

Attorneys for Petitioner

Rexall Drug Company

CROSBY, HEAFEY, ROACH & MAY

Professional Corporation

RICHARD J. HEAFEY

PETER W. DAVIS

1939 Harrison Street

Oakland, California 94612

Attorneys for Petitioner

Eli Lilly and Company

APPENDIX A

A-1l

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF

CALIFORNIA

L.A. 31063

JUDITH SINDELL,

Plaintiff and Appellant,

Vv.

ABBOTT LABORATORIES et al.,

Defendants and Respondents.

MAUREEN ROGERS,

Plaintiff and Appellant,

vi.

REXALL DRUG COMPANY et al.,

Defendants and Respondents.

This case involves a complex problem both timely and

significant: may a plaintiff, injured as the result of a drug

administered to her mother during pregnancy, who knows

the type of drug involved but cannot identify the manufac-

turer of the precise product, hold liable for her injuries a

maker of a drug produced from an identical formula?

A-2

Plaintiff Judith Sindell brought an action against eleven

drug companies and Does 1 through 100, on behalf of her-

self and other women similarly situated. The complaint

alleges as follows:

SEE DISSENTING OPINION

Between 1941 and 1971, defendants were engaged in the

business of manufacturing, promoting, and marketing

diethylstilbesterol (DES), a drug which is a synthetic com-

pound of the female hormone estrogen. The drug was

administered to plaintiff’s mother and the mothers of the

class she represents,’ for the purpose of preventing miscar-

riage. In 1947, the Food and Drug Administration autho-

rized the marketing of DES as a miscarriage preventative,

but only on an experimental basis, with a requirement that

the drug contain a warning label to that effect.

DES may cause cancerous vaginal and cervical growths

in the daughters exposed to it before birth, because their

mothers took the drug during pregnancy. The form of

cancer from which these daughters suffer is known as ade-

nocarcinoma, and it manifests itself after a minimum

latent period of 10 or 12 years. It is a fast-spreading and

deadly disease, and radical surgery is required to prevent it

from spreading. DES also causes adenosis, precancerous

vaginal and cervical growths which may spread to other

areas of the body. The treatment for adenosis is cauteriza-

tion, surgery, or cryosurgery. Women who suffer from this

condition must be monitored by biopsy or colposcopic exam-

ination twice a year, a painful and expensive procedure.

Thousands of women whose mothers received DES during

pregnancy are unaware of the effects of the drug.

1. The plaintiff class alleged consists of “girls and woman who are

residents of California and who have been exposed to DES before birth

and who may or may not know that fact or the dangers” to which they

were exposed. Defendants are also sued as representatives of a class of

drug manufacturers which sold DES after 1941.

A-3

In 1971, the Food and Drug Administration ordered

defendants to cease marketing and promoting DES for the

purpose of preventing miscarriages, and to warn physi-

cians and the public that the drug should not be used by

pregnant women because of the danger to their unborn

children.

During the period defendants marketed DES, thty knew

or should have known that it was a carcinogenic substance,

that there was a grave danger after varying periods of

latency it would cause cancerous and precancerous growths

in the daughters of the mothers who took it, and that it was

ineffective to prevent miscarriage. Nevertheless, defend-

ants continued to advertise and market the drug as a mis-

carriage preventative. They failed to test DES for efficacy

and safety; the tests performed by others, upon which they

relied, indicated that it was not safe or effective. In viola-

tion of the authorization of the Food and Drug Administra-

tion, defendants marketed DES on an unlimited basis

rather than as an experimental drug, and they failed to

warn of its potential danger.’

Because of defendants’ advertised assurances that DES

was safe and effective to prevent miscarriage, plaintiff was

exposed to the drug prior to her birth. She became aware

of the danger from such exposure within one year of the

time she filed her complaint. As a result of the DES

ingested by her mother, plaintiff developed a malignant

bladder tumor which was removed by surgery. She suffers

from adenosis and must constantly be monitored by biopsy

or colposcopy to insure early warning of further

malignancy.

The first cause of action alleges that defendants were

jointly and individually negligent in that they manufac-

tured, marketed and promoted DES as a safe and efficacious

2. It is alleged also that defendants failed to determine if there was

any means to avoid or treat the effects of DES upon the daughters of

women exposed to it during pregnancy, and failed to monitor the carcino-

genic effects of the drug.

A-4

drug to prevent miscarriage, without adequate testing or

warning, and without monitoring or reporting its effects.

A separate cause of action alleges that defendants are

jointly liable regardless of which particular brand of DES

was ingested by plaintiff’s mother because defendants col-

laborated in marketing, promoting and testing the drug,

relied upon each other’s tests, and adhered to an industry-

wide safety standard. DES was produced from a common

and mutually agreed upon formula as a fungible drug

interchangeable with other brands of the same product;

defendants knew or should have known that it was custom-

ary for doctors to prescribe the drug by its generic rather

than its brand name and that pharmacists filled prescrip-

tions from whatever brand of the drug happened to be in

stock.

Other causes of action are based upon theories of strict

liability, violation of express and implied warranties, false

and fraudulent representations, misbranding of drugs in

violation of federal law, conspiracy and “lack of consent.”

Each cause of action alleges that defendants are jointly

liable because they acted in concert, on the basis of express

and implied agreements, and in reliance upon and ratifica-

tion and exploitation of each other’s testing and marketing

methods.

Plaintiff seeks compensatory damages of $1 million and

punitive damages of $10 million for herself. For the mem-

bers of her class, she prays for equitable relief in the form

of an order that defendants warn physicians and others of

the danger of DES and the necessity of performing certain

tests to determine the presence of disease caused by the

drug, and that they establish free clinics in California to

perform such tests.

Defendants demurred to the complaint. While the com-

plaint did not expressly allege that plaintiff could not iden-

tify the manufacturer of the precise drug ingested by her

A-5

mother, she stated in her points and authorities in opposi-

tion to the demurrers filed by some of the defendants that

she was unable to make the identification, and the trial

court sustained the demurrers of these defendants without

leave to amend on the ground that plaintiff did not and

stated she could not identify which defendant had manu-

factured the drug responsible for her injuries. Thereupon,

the court dismissed the action.’ This appeal involves only

five of ten defendants named in the complaint.‘

Plaintiff Maureen Rogers filed a complaint containing

allegations generally similar to those made by Sindell.

She seeks compensatory and punitive damages on her own

3. There are minor variations in the procedures employed as to the

various defendants. Thus, for example, Eli Lilly and Company filed a

motion for summary judgment, or alternatively judgment on the plead-

ings, rather than a demurrer; the court treated the motion as a demurrer.

The Demurrer of Abbot Laboratories, the first defendant to file a

demurrer and the first to secure a dismissal, was sustained with leave to

amend on the ground that plaintiff had failed to allege that a product

manufactured by Abbott had caused her injuries (as opposed to the

reason given by the trial court for sustaining the demurrers of the other

defendants that plaintiff expressly stated that she could not identify a

particular manufacturer). Upon plaintiff’s failure to amend the com-

plaint, the action was dismissed as to Abbott. A few days after the

dismissal, plaintiff stated in a brief in opposition to the demurrers filed by

defendants other than Abbott that she could not make the identification.

Abbott asserts that as to it the issue we consider on appeal is not

properly raised because plaintiff's statement that she could not identify

the manufacturer was not made until after the action had been dismissed

as to Abbott. This contention is without merit. Plaintiff's failure to

amend her complaint after Abbott’s demurrer was sustained with leave to

amend was based upon her inability to identify a specific manufacturer.

Clearly, Abbott interpreted the complaint in this fashion, for it moved for

dismissal on the ground that the complaint alleges that plaintiff “does not

know the identity of the drug ... ingested” by her mother. Thus, Abbott

may not now claim that the complaint is insufficient to raise the issue

involved in this appeal.

The trial court did not determine other issues raised by the complaint,

such as whether the case was properly brought as a class action.

4. Abbott Laboratories, Eli Lilly and Company, E. R. Squibb and

Sons, The Upjohn Company, and Rexall Drug Company are respondents.

The action was dismissed or the appeal abandoned on various grounds as

to other defendants named in the complaint; e.g., one defendant demon-

strated it had not manufactured DES during the period plaintiff's mother

took the drug.

A-6

behalf, and on behalf of a class described in substantially

the same terms as in Sindell’s complaint, as well as equita-

_ble relief comparable to that sought by Sindell. The trial

court sustained demurrers of E. R. Squibb & Sons, The

Upjohn Company, and Rexall Drug Company.’ Subse-

quent to the dismissal of her action against these defend-

ants, Rogers amended the complaint to allege that Eli Lilly

and Company, one of the defendants named in her com-

plaint, had manufactured the drug used by their mother.

Although Sindell’s action and the present case have been

consolidated on appeal, much of the discussion which fol-

lows will apply to Rogers only if she does not succeed in

establishing that Eli Lilly and Company manufactured the

DES taken by her mother. “Plaintiff” as used in this opin-

ion refers to Sindell, and we discuss only the allegations of

Sindell’s complaint.

This case is but one of a number filed throughout the

country seeking to hold drug manufacturers liable for inju-

ries allegedly resulting from DES prescribed to the plain-

tiffs’ mothers 1947. According to a note in the Fordham

Law Review, estimates of the number of women who took

the drug during pregnancy range from 114 million to 3

million. Hundreds, perhaps thousands, of the daughters

of these women suffer from adenocarcinoma, and the inci-

dence of vaginal adenosis among them is 30 to 90 percent.

(Comment, DES and a Proposed Theory of Enterprise Liability

(1978) 46 Fordham L.Rev. 963, 964-967 [hereafter Ford-

ham Comment].) Most of the cases are still pending.

With two exceptions,’ those that have been decided resulted

5. While the trial court did not specify the ground upon which the

demurrers were sustained, the points and authorities filed by the parties

emphasized the failure of Rogers to identify a particular manufacturer as

the source of her injuries, and we may assume for the purpose of this

appeal that this was the basis of the court's order.

6. DES was marketed under many different trade names.

7. Ina recent New York case a jury found in the plaintiff's favor in

spite of her inability to identify a specific manufacturer of DES. An

appeal is pending. ( Bichler v. Eli Lilly and Co. (Sup.Ct.N.Y. 1979).)

A Michigan appellate court recently held that plaintiffs had stated a

A-7

in judgments in favor of the drug company defendants

because of the failure of the plaintiffs to identify the manu-

facturer of the DES prescribed to their mothers.* The

same result was reached in a recent California case.

(McCreery Vv. Eli Lilly & Co. (1978) 87 Cal.App.3d 77, 84-93. )

The present action is another attempt to overcome this

obstacle to recovery.

We begin with the proposition that, as a general rule, the

imposition of liability depends upon a showing by the

plaintiff that his or her injuries were caused by the act of

the defendant or by an instrumentality under the defen-

dant’s control. The rule applies whether the injury

resulted from an accidental event (e.g., Shunk v. Bosworth

(6th Cir. 1964) 334 F.2d 309) or from the use of a defective

product. (E.g., Wetzel v. Eaton Corporation (D.Minn. 19730

62 F.R.D. 22, 29-30; Garcia v. Joseph Vince Co. (1978) 84

Cal.App.3d 868, 873-875; and see annot. collection of cases

in 51 A.L.R.3d 1344, 1351; 1 Hursh and Bailey, American

Law of Products Liability 2d (1974) p. 125)

There are, however, exceptions to this rule. Plaintiff’s

complaint suggests several bases upon which defendants

may be held liable for her injuries even though she cannot

demonstrate the name of the manufacturer which pro-

duced the DES actually taken by her mother. The first of

these theories, classically illustrated by Summers v. Tice

(1948) 33 Cal.2d 80, places the burden of proof of causation

upon tortious defendants in certain circumstances. The

second basis of liability emerging from the complaint is

that defendants acted in concert to cause injury to plaintiff.

There is a third and novel approach to the problem, some-

times called the theory of “enterprise liability,” but which

cause of action against several manufacturers of DES even though identi-

fication could not be made. (Abel v. Eli Lilly and Co. (decided Dec. 5,

1979) Docket No. 60497.) That decision is on appeal to the Supreme

Court of Michigan.

8. E.g., Gray v. United States (s. D, Texas 1978) 445 F.Supp. 337.

In their briefs, defendants refer to a number of other cases in which trial

courts have dismissed actions in DES cases on the ground stated above.

A-8

we prefer to designate by the more accurate term of “indus-

try-wide” liability,” which might obviate the necessity for

identifying the manufacturer of the injury-causing drug.

We shall conclude that these doctrines, as previously inter-

preted, may not be applied to hold defendants liable under

the allegations of this complaint. However, we shall pro-

pose and adopt a fourth basis for permitting the action,to be

tried, grounded upon an extension of the Summers doctrine.

Plaintiff places primary reliance upon cases which hold

that if a party cannot identify which of two or more

defendants caused an injury, the burden of proof may shift

to the defendants to show that they were not responsible for

the harm. This principle is sometimes referred to as the

“alternative liability” theory.

The celebrated case of Summers v. Tice, supra, 33 Cal.2d

80, a unanimous opinion of this court, best exemplifies the

rule. In Summers, the plaintiff was injured when two

hunters negligently shot in his direction. It could not be

determined which of them had fired the shot which actu-

ally caused the injury to the plaintiff’s eye, but both defend-

ants were nevertheless held jointly and severally liable for

the whole of the damages. We reasoned that both were

wrongdoers, both were negligent toward the plaintiff, and

that it would be unfair to require plaintiff to isolate the

defendant responsible, because if the one pointed out were

to escape liability, the other might also, and the plaintiff-

victim would be shorn of any remedy. In these circum-

stances, we held, the burden of proof shifted to the defend-

ants, “each to absolve himself if he can.” (/d., p. 86.) We

stated that under these or similar circumstances a defen-

dant is ordinarily in a “far better position” to offer evidence

9. The term “enterprise liability” is sometimes used broadly to mean

that losses caused by an enterprise should be borne by it. (Klemme

Enterprise Liability (1976) 47 Colo. L.Rev. 153, 158.)

A-9

to determine whether he or another defendant caused the

injury.

In Summers, we relied upon Ybarra v. Spangard (1944)

25 Cal.2d 486. There, the plaintiff was injured while he

was unconscious during the course of surgery. He sought

damages against several doctors and a nurse who attended

him while he was unconscious. We held that it would be

unreasonable to require him to identify the particular

defendant who had performed the alleged negligent act

because he was unconscious at the time of the injury and

the defendants exercised control over the instrumentalities

which caused the harm. Therefore, under the doctrine of

res ipsa loquitur, an inference of negligence arose that

defendants were required to meet by explaining their

eonduct."°

The rule developed in Summers has been embodied in the

Restatement of Torts. (Rest.2d Torts, § 433B, subsec.

(3).)'' Indeed, the Summers facts are used as an illustra-

tion (p. 447).

10. Other cases cited by plaintiff for the proposition stated in Sum-

mers are only peripherally relevant. For example, in Ray v. Alad Corpo-

ration (1977) 19 Cal.3d 22, the plaintiff brought an action in strict

liability for personal injuries sustained when he fell from a defective

ladder manufactured by the defendant’s predecessor corporation, We

held that, although under the general rule governing corporate succession

the defendant could not be held responsible, nevertheless a “special depar-

ture” from that rule was justified in the particular circumstances. The

defendant had succeeded to the good will of the manufacturer of the

ladder, and it could obtain insurance against the risk of liability, whereas

the plaintiff would be left without redress if he could not hold the defen-

dant liable. The question whether one corporation should, for policy

reasons, be answerable for the products manufactured by its predecessor

is a different issue than that we describe above.

11. Section 433B, subsection (3) of the Restatement provides:

“Where the conduct of two or more actors is tortious, and it is proved that

harm has been caused to the plaintiff by only one of them, but there is

uncertainty as to which one has caused it, the burden is upon each such

actor to prove that he has not caused harm.” The reason underlying the

rule is “the injustice of permitting proved wrongdoers, who among them

have inflicted an injury upon the entirely innocent plaintiff, to escape

liability merely because the nature of their conduct and the resulting

harm has made it difficult or impossible to prove which of them has caused

the harm.” (Rest.2d Torts, §433B, com. f, p. 446.)

A-10

Defendants assert that these principles are inapplicable

here. First, they insist that a predicate to shifting the

burden of proof under Summers-Ybarra is that the defend-

ants must have greater access to information regarding the

cause of the injuries than the plaintiff, whereas in the

present case the reverse appears.

Plaintiff does not claim that defendants are in a better

position than she to identify the manufacturer of the drug

taken by her mother or, indeed, that they have the ability

to do so at all, but argues, rather, that Summers does not

impose such a requirement as a condition to the shifting of

the burden of proof. In this respect we believe plaintiff is

correct.

In Summers, the circumstances of the accident them-

selves precluded an explanation of its cause. To be sure,

Summers states that defendants are “{o|rdinarily...ina

far better position to offer evidence to determine which one

caused the injury” than a plaintiff (33 Cal.2d 80, at p. 86),

but the decision does not determine that this “ordinary”

Situation was present. Neither the facts nor the language

of the opinion indicate that the two defendants, simultane-

ously shooting in the same direction, were in a better posi-

tion than the plaintiff to ascertain Whose shot caused the

injury. As the opinion acknowledges, it was impossible for

the trial court to determine whether the shot which entered

the plaintiff’s eye came from the gun of one defendant or

the other. Nevertheless, burden of proof was shifted to the

defendants.

Here, as in Summers, the circumstances of the injury

appear to render identification of the manufacturer of the

drug ingested by plaintiff’s mother impossible by either

plaintiff or defendants, and it cannot reasonably be said

that one is in a better position than the other to make the

identification. Because many years elapsed between the

A-11

time the drug was taken and the manifestation of plain-

tiff’s injuries she, and many other daughters of mothers

who took DES, are unable to make such identification.”

Certainly there can be no implication that plaintiff is at

fault in failing to do so-—the event occurred while plaintiff

was in utero, a generation ago.”

On the other hand, it cannot be said with assurance that

defendants have the means to make the identification. In

this connection, they point out that drug manufacturers

ordinarily have no direct contact with the patients who

take a drug prescribed by their doctors. Defendants sell to

wholesalers, who in turn supply the product to physicians

and pharmacies. Manufacturers do not maintain records

of the persons who take the drugs they produce, and the

selection of the medication is made by the physician rather

than the manufacturer. Nor do we conclude that the

absence of evidence on this subject is due to the fault of

defendants. While it is alleged that they produced a defec-

tive product with delayed effects and without adequate

warnings, the difficulty or impossibility of identification

results primarily from the passage of time rather than

from their allegedly negligent acts of failing to provide

adequate warnings. Thus Haft v. Lone Palm Hotel

(1970) 3 Cal.38d 756, upon which plaintiff relies, is

distinguishable.

12. The trial court was not required to determine whether plaintiff

had made sufficient efforts to establish identification since it concluded

that her failure to do so was fatal toher claim. The court accepted at face

value plaintiff's assertion that she could not make the identification, and

for purposes of this appeal we make the same assumption.

13. Defendants maintain that plaintiff is in a better position than

they are to identify the manufacturer because her mother might recall the

name of the prescribing physician or the hospital or pharmacy where the

drug originated, and might know the brand and strength of dosage, the

appearance of the medication, or other details from which the manufac-

turer might be identified, whereas they possess none of this information.

As we point out in footnote 12, we assume for purposes of this appeal that

plaintiff cannot point to any particular manufacturer as the producer of

the DES taken by her mother.

14. In Haft, a father and his young son drowned in defendants’ swim-

ming pool. There were no witnesses to the accident. Defendants were

A-12

It is important to observe, however, that while defend-

ants do not have means superior to plaintiff to identify the

maker of the precise drug taken by her mother, they may in

some instances be able to prove that they did not manufac-

ture the injury-causing substance. In the present case, for

example, one of the original defendants was dismissed from

the action upon proof that it did not manufacture DES

until after plaintiff was born.

Thus we conclude that the fact defendants dc not have

greater access to information which might establish the

identity of the manufacturer of the DES which injured

plaintiff does not per se prevent application of the Swmmers

rule.

Nevertheless, plaintiff may not prevail in her claim that

the Summers rationale should be employed to fix the whole

liability for her injuries upon defendants, at least as those

principles have previously been applied.’® There is an

negligent in failing to provide a lifeguard, as required by law. We held

that the absence of evidence of causation was a direct and foreseeable

result of the defendants’ negligence, and that, therefore, the burden of

proof on the issue of causation was upon defendants. Plaintiff attempts

to bring herself within this holding. She asserts that defendants’ failure

to discover or warn of the dangers of DES and to label the drug as

experimental caused her mother to fail to keep records or remember the

brand name of the drug prescribed to her “since she was unaware of any

reason to do so for a period of 10 to 20 years.” There is no proper analogy

to Haft here. While in Haft the presence of a lifeguard on the scene would

have provided a witness to the accident and probably prevented it, plain-

tiff asks us to speculate that if the DES taken by her mother had been

labelled as an experimental drug, she would have recalled or recorded the

name of the manufacturer and passed this information on to her daughter.

It cannot be said here that the absence of evidence of causation was a

Ke og and foreseeable result” of defendants’ failure to provide a warning

abel.

15. Plaintiff relies upon three older cases for the proposition that the

burden of proof may be shifted to defendants to explain the cause of an

accident even if less than all of them are before the court. (Benson v.

Ross (Mich. 1906) 106 N.W. 1120; Moore v. Foster (Miss. 1938) 180 So.

73; Oliver v. Miles (Miss. 1927) 110 So. 666.) These cases do not relate

to the shifting of the burden of proof; rather, they imposed liability upon

one of two or more joint tort-feasors on the ground that they acted in

concert in committing a negligent act. This theory of concerted action as

a basis for defendants’ liability will be discussed infra. In Summers, we

stated that these cases were “straining” the concept of concerted action

A-13

important difference between the situation involved in

Summers and the present case. There, all the parties who

were or could have been responsible for the harm to the

plaintiff were joined as defendants. Here, by contrast,

there are approximately 200 drug companies which made

DES, any of which might have manufactured the injury-

producing drug.”

Defendants maintain that, while in Summers there was a

50 percent chance that one of the two defendants was

responsible for the plaintiff’s injuries, here since any one of

200 companies which manufactured DES might have made

the product which harmed plaintiff, there is no rational

basis upon which to infer that any defendant in this action

caused plaintiff’s injuries, nor even a reasonable possibility

that they were responsible.”

These arguments are persuasive if we measure the

chance that any one of the defendants supplied the injury-

causing drug by the number of possible tortfeasors. In

such a context, the possibility that any of the five defend-

ants supplied the DES to plaintiff’s mother is so remote that

it would be unfair to require each defendant to exonerate

itself. There may be a substantial likelihood that none of

and that the “more reasonable” basis for holding defendants jointly liable

when more than one of them had committed a tort and plaintiff could not

establish the identity of the party who had caused the damage was the

danger that otherwise two negligent parties might be exonerated. (Sum-

mers, 33 Cal.2d 80, at pp. 84-85.)

16. According to the Restatement, the burden of proof shifts to the

defendants only if the plaintiff can demonstrate that all defendants acted

tortiously and that the harm resulted form the conduct of one of them.

(Rest.2d Torts, § 433B, com. g, p. 446.) It goes on to state that the rule

thus far has been applied only where all the actors involved are joined as

defendants and where the conduct of all is simultaneous in time, but cases

might arise in which some modification of the rule would be necessary if

one of the actors is or cannot be joined, or because of the effects of lapse of

time, or other circumstances. (J/d., com. h, p. 446.)

17. Defendants claim further that the effect of shifting the burden of

proof to them to demonstrate that they did not manufacture the DES

which caused the injury would create a rebuttable presumption that one

of them made the drug taken by plaintiffs’ mother, and that this presump-

tion would deny them due process because there is no rational basis for the

inference.

A-14

the five defendants joined in the action made the DES

which caused the injury, and that the offending producer

not named would escape liability altogether. While we

propose, infra, an adaptation of the rule in Summers which

will substantially overcome these difficulties, defendants

appear to be correct that the rule, as previously applied,

cannot relieve plaintiff of the burden of proving the iden-

tity of the manufacturer which made the drug causing her

injuries."®

The second principle upon which plaintiff relies is the so-

called “concert of action” theory. Preliminarily, we briefly

describe the procedure a drug manufacturer must follow

before placing a drug on the market. Under federal law as

it read prior to 1962, a new drug was defined as one “not

generally recognized as...safe.” (§ 102, 76 Stat. 781 (Oct.

10, 1962).) Such a substance could be marketed only if a

new drug application had been filed with the Food and

Drug Administration and had become “effective.” If the

18. Garcia v. Joseph Vince Co., supra, 84 Cal.App.3d 868, relied upon

by defendants, presents a distinguishable factual situation. The plaintiff

in Garcia was injured by a defective saber. He was unable to identify

which of two manufacturers had produced the weapon because it was

commingled with other sabers after the accident. In a suit against both

manufacturers, the court refused to apply the Summers rationale on the

ground that the plaintiff had not shown that either defendant had vio-

lated a duty tohim. Thus in Garcia, only one of the two defendants was

alleged to have manufactured a defective product, and the plaintiff's

inability to identify which of the two was negligent resulted in a judgment

for both defendants. (See also Wetzel v. Eaton, supra, 62 F.R.D. 22.)

Here, by contrast, the DES manufactured by all defendants is alleged to

be defective, but plaintiff is unable to demonstrate which of the defen-

dant’s supplied the precise DES which caused her injuries.

19. A new drug application became “effective” automatically if the

Secretary of Health, Education and Welfare failed within a certain period

of time to disapprove the application. If the agency had insufficient

information to decide whether the drug was safe or had information that

it was unsafe, the application was denied. (§ 505,52 Stat. 1052 (June 25,

1938).) Since 1962, affirmative approval of an application has been

required before a new drug may be marketed. (21 U.S.C.A. § 355,subd.

(c).)

A-15

agency determined that a product was no longer a “new

drug,” i.e., that it was “gengrally recognized as... safe,” (21

U.S.C.A. § 321, subd. (p) (1) ) it could be manufactured by

any drug company without submitting an application to

the agency. According to defendants, 123 new drug appli-

cations for DES had been approved by 1952, and in that

year DES was declared not to be a “new drug,” thus

allowing any manufacturer to produce it without prior

testing and without submitting a new drug application to

the Food and Drug Administration.

With this background we consider whether the com-

plaint states a claim based upon “concert of action” among

defendants. The elements of this doctrine are prescribed in

section 876 of the Restatement of Torts. The section pro-

vides, “For harm resulting to a third person from the tor-

tious conduct of another, one is subject to liability if he (a)

does a tortious act in concert with the other or pursuant to a

common design with him, or (b) knows that the other’s

conduct constitutes a breach of duty and gives substantial

assistance or encouragement to the other so to conduct him-

self, or (c) gives substantial assistance to the other in

accomplishing a tortious result and his own conduct, sepa-

rately considered, constitutes a breach of duty to the third

person.” With respect to this doctrine, Prosser states that

“those who, in pursuance of a common plan or design to

commit a tortious act, actively take part in it, or further it

by cooperation or request, or who lend aid or encourage-

ment to the wrongdoer, or ratify and adopt his acts done for

their benefit, are equally liable with him. [{] Express

agreement is not necessary, and all that is required is that

there be a tacit understanding....” (Prosser, Law of Torts

(4th ed. 1971), sec. 46, p. 292.)

Plaintiff contends that her complaint states a cause of

action under these principles. She alleges that defendants’

wrongful conduct “is the result of planned and concerted

action, express and implied agreements, collaboration in,

A-16

reliance upon, acquiescence in and ratification, exploitation

and adoption of each other’s testing, marketing methods,

lack of warnings ... and other acts or omissions. . .” and

that “acting individually and in concert, { defendants ] pro-

moted, approved, authorized, acquiesced in, and reaped

profits from sales” of DES. These allegations, plaintiff

claims, state a “tacit understanding” among defendants to

commit a tortious act against her.

In our view, this litany of charges is insufficient to allege

a cause of action under the rules stated above. The grava-

men of the charge of concert is that defendants failed to

adequately test the drug or to give sufficient warning of its

dangers and that they relied upon the tests performed by

one another and took advantage of each others’ promotional

and marketing techniques. These allegations do not

amount to a charge that there was a tacit understanding or

a common plan among defendants to fail to conduct ade-

quate tests or give sufficient warnings, and that they sub-

stantially aided and encouraged one another in these

omissions.

The complaint charges also that defendants produce

DES from a “common and mutually agreed upon formula,”

allowing pharmacists to treat the drug as a “fungible com-

modity” and to fill prescriptions from whatever brand of

DES they had on hand at the time. It is difficult to under-

stand how these allegations can form the basis of a cause of

action for wrongful conduct by defendants, acting in con-

cert. The formula for DES is a scientific constant. It is set

forth in the United States Pharmacopoeia, and any manu-

facturer producing that drug must, with exceptions not

relevant here, utilize the formula set forth in that compen-

dium. (21 U.S.C.A. § 351, subd. (b).)

What the complaint appears to charge is defendants’

parallel or imitative conduct in that they relied upon each

others’ testing and promotion methods. But such conduct

describes a common practice in industry: a producer avails

A-17

himself of the experience and methods of others making

the same or similar products. Application of the concept of

concert of action to this situation would expand the doc-

trine far beyond its intended scope and would render virtu-

ally any manufacturer liable for the defective products of

an entire industry, even if it could be demonstrated that the

product which caused the injury was not made by the

defendant.

None of the cases cited by plaintiff supports a conclusion

that defendants may be held liable for concerted tortious

acts. They involve conduct by a small number of individu-

als whose actions resulted in a tort against a single plain-

tiff, usually over a short span of time, and the defendant

held liable was either a direct participant in the acts which

caused damage,” or encouraged and assisted the person

who directly caused the injuries by participating in a joint

activity.”

Orser v. George (1967) 252 Cal.App.2d 660, upon which

plaintiff primarily relies, is also distinguishable. There,

three hunters negligently shot at a mudhen in decedent’

direction. Two of them shot alternately with the gun

which released the bullet resulting in the fatal wound, and

the third, using a different gun, fired alternately at the

same target, shooting in the same line of fire, perhaps act-

ing tortiously. It was held that there was a possibility the

third hunter knew the conduct of the others was tortious

20. Weinberg Co. v. Bixby (1921) 185 Cal. 87, 103, involved a hus-

band who was held liable with his wife for wrongful diversion of flood

waters although he had given his wife title to the land upon which the

outlet causing the diversion was constructed. He not only owned land

affected by the flood waters, but he was his wife’s agent for the purpose of

reopening the outlet which caused the damage. In Meyer v. Thomas

(1936) 18 Cal.App.2d 299, 305-306, both defendants participated in the

conversion of a note and deed of trust.

21. In Agovino v. Kunze (1960) 181 Cal.App.2d 591, 599, a partici-

pant in a drag race was held liable for injuries to a plaintiff who collided

with the car of another racer. In Loeb v. Kimmerle (1932) 215 Cal. 143,

151, a defendant who encouraged another defendant to commit an assult

was held jointly liable for the plaintiff's injuries. Also see Weirum v. RKO

General, Inc. (1975) 15 Cal.3d 40.

A-18

toward the decedent and gave them substantial assistance

and encouragement, and that it was also possible his con-

duct, separately considered, was a breach of duty toward

decedent. Thus, the granting of summary judgment was

reversed as to the third hunter.

The situation in Orser is similar to Agovino v. Kunze,

supra, 181 Cal.App.2d 591, in which liability was imposed

upon a participant in a drag race, rather than to the facts

alleged in the present case. There is no allegation here that

each defendant knew the other defendants’ conduct was

tortious toward plaintiff, and that they assisted and

encouraged one another to inadequately test DES and to

provide inadequate warnings. Indeed, it seems dubious

whether liability on the concert of action theory can be

predicated upon substantial assistance and encouragement

given by one aileged tortfeasor to another pursuant to a

tacit understanding to fail to perform an act. Thus there

was no concert of action among defendants within the

meaning of that doctrine.

III

A third theory upon which plaintiff relies is the concept

of industry-wide liability, or according to the terminology

of the parties, “enterprise liability.” This theory was sug-

gested in Hall v. E. I. Du Pont de Nemours & Co., Ince.

(E.D.N.Y. 1972) 345 F.Supp. 353. In that case, plaintiffs

were 13 children injured by the explosion of blasting caps

in 12 separate incidents which occurred in 10 different

states between 1955 and 1959. The defendants were six

blasting cap manufacturers, comprising virtually the

entire blasting cap industry in the United States, and their

trade association. There were, however, a number of Cana-

dian blasting cap manufacturers which could have sup-

plied the caps. The gravamen of the complaint was that

the practice of the industry of omitting a warning on indi-

vidual blasting caps and of failing to take other safety

A-19

measures created an unreasonable risk of harm, resulting

in the plaintiffs’ injuries. The complaint did not identify a

particular manufacturer of a cap which caused a particular

injury.”

The court reasoned as follows: there was evidence that

defendants, acting independently, had adhered to an indus-

try-wide standard with regard to the safety features of

blasting caps, that they had in effect delegated some func-

tions of safety investigation and design, such as labelling,

to their trade association, and that there was industry-wide

cooperation in the manufacture and design of blasting caps.

In these circumstances, the evidence supported a conclu-

sion that all the defendants jointly controlled the risk.

Thus, if plaintiffs could establish by a preponderance of the

evidence that the caps were manufactured by one of the

defendants, the burden of proof as to causation would shift

to all the defendants. The court noted that this theory of

liability applied to industries composed of a small number

of units, and that what would be fair and reasonable with

22. We deliberately employ the term “suggested” to describe the effect

of the Hall opinion because of the uncertain posture of the decision as

authority. The defendants moved to dismiss the action on the ground

that the plaintiffs had not stated a claim, and they also sought to sever the

claims of the various plaintiffs and transfer them to the district court in

the place where each accident occurred. The opinion discusses various

possible bases of liability, including industry-wide liability, upon the

assumption that there existed a national body of state tort law. (345

F.Supp. at p. 360.) At the conclusion of its opinion, the court called for

briefs on the choice-of-law issues involved in the case. In a subsequent

opinion, the same court decided, after briefs had been filed on the choice-

of-law question, that the plaintiffs’ claims should be severed, and it trans-

ferred each one to the federal court sitting in the district where the

accident occurred. (Chance v. E. I. Du Pont de Nemours & Co., Inc.

(E.D.N.Y. 1974) 371 F.Supp. 439.) Thereafter, the transferred cases

resulted in judgments for defendants upon various grounds unrelated to

the theory of industry-wide liability. (Lehtonen v. E. I. Du Pont de

Nemours & Co., Inc. (D. Mont. 1975) 389 F.Supp. 633 [failure to amend

complaint within 30 days]; Davis v. E. I. Du Pont de Nemours & Co., Inc.

(W.D.N.C. 1974) 400 F.Supp. 1347 [statute of limitations]; Ball v. E. I.

Du Pont de Nemours & Co., Inc. (6th Cir. 1975) 519 F.2d 715 [jury

verdict in favor of defendant after plaintiff identified the manufacturer of

the blasting cap which caused his injuries].) The parties have not

indicated the status of the remaining cases transferred.

A-20

regard to an industry of five or ten producers might be

manifestly unreasonable if applied to a decentralized

industry composed of countless small producers.”

Plaintiff attempts to state a cause of action under the

rationale of Hall. She alleges joint enterprise and collabo-

ration among defendants in the production, marketing, pro-

motion and testing of DES, and “concerted promulgation

and adherence to industry-wide testing, safety, warning

and efficacy standards” for the drug. We have concluded

above that allegations that defendants relied upon one

another’s testing and promotion methods do not state a

cause of action for concerted conduct to commit a tortious

act. Under the theory of industry-wide liability, however,

each manufacturer could be liable for all injuries caused by

DES by virtue of adherence to an industry-wide standard

of safety.

In the Fordham Comment, the industry-wide theory of

liability is discussed and refined in the context of its appli-

eability to actions alleging injuries resulting from DES.

The author explains causation under that theory as follows,

“... {T]he industrywide standard becomes itself the cause

of plaintiff’s injury, just as defendants’ joint plan is the

cause of injury in the traditional concert of action plea.

Each defendant’s adherence perpetuates this standard,

which results in the manufacture of the particular, uniden-

tifiable injury-producing product. Therefore, each indus-

try member has contributed to plaintiff’s injury.”

(Fordham Comment, supra, at p. 997.)

The Comment proposes seven requirements for a cause of

action based upon industry-wide liability,“ and suggests

23. In discussing strict liability, the Hal/ court mentioned the drug

industry, stating, “In cases where manufacturers have more experience,

more information, and more control over the risky properties of their

products than do drug manufacuturers, courts have applied a broader

concept of forseeability which approaches the enterprise liability ratio-

nale.” (345 F.Supp. 353 at p. 370.)

24. The suggested requirements are as follows:

1. There existed an insufficient, industry-wide standard of

safety as to the manufacture of the product.

A-21

that if a plaintiff proves these elements, the burden of proof

of causation should be shifted to the defendants, who may

exonerate themselves only by fnomtag that their product

could not have caused the injury.”

We decline to apply this theory in the present case. At

least 200 manufacturers produced DES; Hall, which

invoived 6 manufacturers representing the entire blasting

cap industry in the United States, cautioned against appli-

cation of the doctrine espoused therein to a large number of

producers. (345 F.Supp. at p. 378.) Moreover, in Hall, the

conclusion that the defendants jointly controlled the risk

was based upon allegations that they had delegated some

functions relating to safely to a trade association. There

are no such allegations here, and we have concluded above

that plaintiff has failed to allege liability on a concert of

action theory.

Equally important, the drug industry is closely regu-

lated by the Food and Drug Administration, which

2. Plaintiff is not at fault for the absence of evidence identify-

ing the causative agent but, rather, this absence of proof is due to

defendant's conduct.

3. A generically similar defective product was manufactured

by all the defendants.

4. Plaintiff's injury was caused by this defect.

5. Defendants owed a duty to the class of which plaintiff was a

member.

6. There is clear and convincing evidence that plaintiff's

injury was caused by a product made by one of the defendants.

For example, the joined defendants accounted for a high percent-

age of such defective products on the market at the time of plain-

tiff’s injury.

7. All defendants were tortfeasors.

25. The Fordham Comment takes exception to one aspect of the

theory of industry-wide liability as set forth in Hall, i.e., the conclusion

that a plaintiff is only required to show by a preponderance of the evi-

dence that one of the defendants manufactured the product which caused

her injury. The Comment suggests that a plaintiff be required to prove

by clear and convincing evidence that one of the defendants before the

court was responsible and that this standard of proof would require that

the plaintiff join in the action the producers of 75 or 80 percent of the DES

prescribed for prevention of miscarriage. It is also suggested that the

damages be apportioned among the defendants according to their share of

the market for DES. (Fordham Comment, supra, 999-1000. )

A-22

actively controls the testing and manufacture of drugs and

the method by which they are marketed, including the

contents of warning labels.” To a considerable degree,

therefore, the standards followed by drug manufacturers

are suggested or compelled by the government. Adherence

to those standards cannot, of course, absolve a manufac-

turer of liability to which it would otherwise be subject.

(Stevens v. Parke, Davis & Co. (1973) 9 Cal.3d 51, 65.)

But since the government plays such a pervasive role in

formulating the criteria for the testing and marketing of

drugs, it would be unfair to impose upon a manufacturer

liability for injuries resulting from the use of a drug which

it did not supply simply because it followed the standards

of the industry.”

IV

If we were confined to the theories of Summers and Hall,

we would be constrained to hold that the judgment must be

sustained. Should we require that plaintiff identify the

manufacturer which supplied the DES used by her mother

or that all DES manufacturers be joined in the action, she

would effectively be precluded from any recovery. As

defendants candidly admit, there is little likelihood that all

the manufacturers who made DES at the time in question

are still in business or that they are subject to the jurisdic-

tion of the California courts. There are, however, forceful

arguments in favor of holding that plaintiff has a cause of

action.

26. Federal regulations may specify the type of tests a manufacturer

must perform for certain drugs (21 C.F.R. § 436.206 et seq.), the type of

packaging used (§ 429.10), the warnings which appear on_ labels

a 369.20), and the standards to be followed in the manufacture of a drug

(§ 211.22 et seq.).

27. Abel v. Eli Lilly & Company, the Michigan case referred to above

which held that the plaintiffs had stated a cause of action against several

manufacturers of DES even though they could not identify a particular

manufacturer as the source of a particular injury (see fn. 7, ante), relied

upon the theories of concerted action and alternative liability.

A-23

In our contemporary complex industrialized society,

advances in science and technology create fungible goods

which may harm consumers and which cannot be traced to

any specific producer. The response of the courts can be

either to adhere rigidly to prior doctrine, denying recovery

to those injured by such products, or to fashion remedies to

meet these changing needs. Just as Justice Traynor in his

landmark concurring opinion in Escola v. Coca Cola Bot-

tling Company (1944) 24 Cal.2d 453, 467-468, recognized

that in an era of mass production and complex marketing

methods the traditional standard of negligence was insuffi-

cient to govern the obligations of manufacturer to con-

sumer, so Should we acknowledge that some adaptation of

the rules of causation and liability may be appropriate in

these recurring circumstances. The Restatement com-

ments that modification of the Summers rule may be neces-

sary in a situation like that before us. (See fn. 16, ante.)

The most persuasive reason for finding plaintiff states a

cause of action is that advanced in Summers: as between an

innocent plaintiff and negligent defendants, the latter

Should bear the cost of the injury. Here, as in Summers,

plaintiff is not at fault in failing to provide evidence of

causation, and although the absence of such evidence is not

attributable to the defendants either, their conduct in mar-

keting a drug the effects of which are delayed for may

years played a significant role in creating the unavailabil-

ity of proof.

From a broader policy standpoint, defendants are better

able to bear the cost of injury resulting from the manufac-

ture of a defective product. As was said by Justice Tray-

nor in Escola, “| t |he cost of an injury and the loss of time or

health may be an overwhelming misfortune to the person

injured, and a needless one, for the risk of injury can be

insured by the manufacturer and distributed among the

public as a cost of doing business.” (24 Cal.2d p. 462; see

A-24

also Rest.2d Torts, § 402A, com. c, pp. 349-350.) The manu-

facturer is in the best position to discover and guard against

defects in its products and to warn of harmful effects; thus,

holding it liable for defects and failure to warn of harmful

effects will provide an incentive to product safety.

(Cronin v. J.B.E. Olson Corp. (1972) 8 Cal.3d 121, 129;

Beech Aircraft Corp. v. Superior Court (1976) 61

Cal.App.3d 501, 522-523.) These considerations are partic-

ularly significant where medication is involved, for the

consumer is virtually helpless to protect himself from seri-

ous, Sometimes permanent, sometimes fatal, injuries caused

by deleterious drugs.

Where, as here, all defendants produced a drug from an

identical formula and the manufacturer of the DES which

caused plaintiff’s injuries cannot be identified through no

fault of plaintiff, a modification of the rule of Summers is

warranted. As we have seen, an undiluted Swmmers ratio-

nale is inappropriate to shift the burden of proof of causa-

tion to defendants because if we measure the chance that

any particular manufacturer supplied the injury-causing

product by the number of producers of DES, there is a

possibility that none of the five defendants in this case

produced the offending substance and that the responsible

manufacturer, not named in the action, will escape

liability.

But we approach the issue of causation from a different

perspective: we hold it to be reasonable in the present con-

text to measure the likelihood that any of the defendants

supplied the product which allegedly injured plaintiff by

the percentage which the DES sold by each of them for the

purpose of preventing miscarriage bears to the entire pro-

duction of the drug sold by all for that purpose. Plaintiff

asserts in her briefs that Eli Lilly and Company and 5 or 6

other companies produced 90 percent of the DES marketed.

If at trial this is established to be the fact, then there is a

corresponding likelihood that this comparative handful of

A-25

producers manufactured the DES which caused plaintiff’s

injuries, and only a 10 percent likelihood that the offending

producer would escape liability.”

If plaintiff joins in the action the manufacturers of a

substantial share of the DES which her mother might have

taken, the injustice of shifting the burden of proof to

defendants to demonstrate that they could not have made

the substance which injured plaintiff is significantly

diminished. While 75 to 80 percent of the market is sug-

gested as the requirement by the Fordham Comment (at p.

996), we hold only that a substantial percentage is

required.

The presence in the action of a substantial share of the

appropriate market also provides a ready means to appor-

tion damages among the defendants. Each defendant will

be held liable for the proportion of the judgment repre-

sented by its share of that market unless it demonstrates

that it could not have made the product which caused

plaintiff’s injuries. In the present case, as we have seen,

one DES manufacturer was dismissed from the action upon

filing a declaration that it had not manufactured DES until

after plaintiff was born. Once plaintiff has met her burden

of joining the required defendants, they in turn may cross-

complain against other DES manufacturers, not joined in

the action, which they can allege might have supplied the

injury-causing product.

Under this approach, each manufacturer’s liability

would approximate its responsibility for the injuries caused

28. The Fordham Comment explains the connection between percent-

age of market share and liability as follows: “[I]f X Manufacturer sold

one-fifth of all the DES prescribed for pregnancy and identification could

be made in all cases, X would be the sole defendant in approximately one- |

fifth of all cases and liable for all the damages in those cases. Under

alternative liability, X would be joined in all cases in which identification

could not be made, but liable for one-fifth of the total damages in these

cases. X would pay the same amount either way. Although the correla-

tion is not, in practice, perfect [footnote omitted], it is close enough so

that defendants’ objections on the ground of fairness lose their value.”

(Fordham Comment, supra, at p. 94.)

A-26

by its own products. Some minor discrepancy in the corre-

lation between market share and liability is inevitable;

therefore, a defendant may be held liable for a somewhat

different percentage of the damage than its share of the

appropriate market would justify. It is probably impossi-

ble, with the passage of time, to determine market share

with mathematical exactitude. Butjust as a jury cannot be

expected to determine the precise relationship between

fault and liability in applying the doctrine of comparative

fault (Li v. Yellow Cab Co. (1975) 13 Cal.3d 804) or partial

indemnity (American Motorcycle Assn. v. Superior Court

(1978) 20 Cal.3d 578), the difficulty of apportioning dam-

ages among the defendant producers in exact relation to

their market share does not seriously militate against the

rule we adopt. As we said in Summers with regard to the

liability of independent tortfeasors, where a correct divi-

sion of liability cannot be made “the trier of fact may make

it the best it can.” (33 Cal.2d at p. 88.)

We are not unmindful of the practical problems involved

in defining the market and determining market share,” but

these are largely matters of proof which properly cannot be

determined at the pleading stage of these proceedings.

Defendants urge that it would be both unfair and contrary

to public policy to hold them liable for plaintiff’s injuries in

the absence of proof that one of them supplied the drug

responsible for the damage. Most of their arguments, how-

ever, are based upon the assumption that one manufacturer

would be held responsible for the products of another or for

those of all other manufacturers if plaintiff ultimately

prevails. But under the rule we adopt, each manufac-

turer’s liability for an injury would be approximately

‘29. Defendants assert that there are no figures available to determine

market share, that DES was provided for a number of uses other than to

prevent miscarriage and it would be difficult to ascertain what proportion

of the drug was used as a miscarriage preventative, and that the establish-

ment of a time frame and area for market share would pose problems.

A-27

equivalent to the damages caused by the DES it

manufactured.”

The judgments are reversed.

Mosk, J.

We Concur:

BIRD, C. J.

NEWMAN, J.

*WHITE, J.

30. The dissent concludes by implying the problem will disappear if

the Legislature appropriates funds “for the education, identification, and

screening of persons exposed to DES.” While such a measure may argua-

bly be helpful in the abstract, it does not address the issue involved here:

damages for injuries which have been or will be suffered. Nor, as a

principle, do we see any justification for shifting the financial burden for

such damages from drug manufacturers to the taxpayers of California.

*Assigned by the Chairman of the Judicial Council.

A-28

SINDELL Vv. ABBOTT LABORATORIES

ROGERS Vv. REXALL DRUG Co.

L.A. 31063

DISSENTING OPINION BY RICHARDSON, J.

I respectfully dissent. In these consolidated cases the

majority adopts a wholly new theory which contains these

ingredients: The plaintiffs were not alive at the time of the

commission of the tortious acts, They sue a generation

later. They are permitted to receive substantial damages

from multiple defendants without any proof that any

defendant caused or even probably caused plaintiffs’

injuries.

Although the majority purports to change only the

required burden of proof by shifting it from plaintiffs to

defendants, the effect of its holding is to guarantee that

plaintiffs will prevail on the causation issue because

defendants are no more capable of disproving factual causa-

tion than plaintiffs are of proving it. “Market share” liabil-

ity thus represents a new high water mark in tortlaw. The

ramifications seem almost limitless, a fact which prompted

one recent commentator, in criticizing a substantially iden-

tical theory, to conclude that “Elimination of the burden of

proof as to identification [of the manufacturer whose drug

injured plaintiff] would impose a liability which would

exceed absolute liability.” (Coggins, /ndustry- Wide Liabil-

ity (1979) 13 Suffolk L.Rev. 980, 998, fn. omitted; see also,

pp. 1000-1001.) In my view, the majority’s departure from

traditional tort doctrine is unwise.

The applicable principles of causation are very well

established. A leading torts scholar, Dean Prosser, has

authoritatively put it this way: “An essential element of the

plaintiff’s cause of action for negligence, of for that matter for

any other tort, is that there be some reasonable connection

A-29

between the act or omission of the defendant and the dam-

age which the plaintiff has suffered.” (Prosser, Torts (4th

ed. 1971), § 41, p. 236, italics added.) With particular

reference to the matter before us, and in the context of

products liability, the requirement of a causation element

has been recognized as equally fundamental. “It is clear

that any holding that a producer, manufacturer, seller, or a

person in a Similar position, is liable for injury caused by a

particular product, must necessarily be predicated upon

proof that the product in question was one for whose condi-

tion the defendant was in some way responsible. Thus, for

example, if recovery is sought from a manufacturer, it must

be shown that he actually was the manufacturer of the product

which caused the injury; ...” (1 Hursh & Bailey, American

Law of Products Liability (2d ed. 1974) § 1:41, p. 125,

italics added; accord, Prosser, supra, § 103, at pp. 671-672; 2

Dooley, Modern Tort Law (1977) § 32.03, p. 243.) Indeed,

an inability to prove this causal link between defendant’s

conduct and plaintiff’s injury has proven fatal in prior

cases brought against manufacturers of DES by persons

who were Situated in positions identical to those of plain-

tiffs herein. (See McCreery v. Eli Lilly & Co. (1978) 87

Cal.App.3d 77, 82; Gray v. United States (D. Tex. 1978) 445

F.Supp. 337, 338.)

The majority now expressly abandons the foregoing

traditional requirement of some causal connection between

defendants’ act and plaintiffs’ injury in the creation of its

new modified industry-wide tort. Conceptually, the doc-

trine of absolute liability which heretofore in negligence,

law has substituted only for the requirement of a breach ef

defendant’s duty of care, under the majority’s hand now

subsumes the additional necessity of a causal relationship.

According to the majority, in the present case plaintiffs

have openly conceded that they are unable to identify the

particular entity which manufactured the drug consumed

by their mothers. In fact, plaintiffs have joined only five of

A-30

the approximately two hundered drug companies which

manufactured DES. Thus, the case constitutes far more

than a mere factual variant upon the theme composed in

Summers v. Tice (1948) 33 Cal.2d 80, wherein plaintiff

joined as codefendants the only two persons who could have

injured him. As the majority must acknowledge, our Sum-

mers rule applies only to cases in which “... it is proved that

harm has been caused to the plaintiff by ... one of [the

named defendants |, but there is uncertainty as to which

one has caused it,...” (Rest.2d Torts, § 433B, subd. (3).)

In the present case, in stark contrast, it remains wholly

speculative and conjectural whether any of the five named

defendants actually caused plaintiffs’ injuries.

The fact that plaintiffs cannot tie defendants to the

injury-producing drug does not trouble the majority for it

declares that the Summers requirement of proof of actual

causation by a named defendant is satisfied by a joincer of

those defendants who have together manufactured “a sub-

stantial percentage” of the DES which has been marketed.

Notably lacking from the majority’s expression of its new

rule, unfortunately, is any definition or guidance as to

what should constitute a “substantial” share of the relevant

market. The issue is entirely open-ended and the answer,

presumably, is anyone’s guess.

Much more significant, however, is the consequence of

this unprecedented extension of liability. Recovery is per-

mitted from a handful of defendants each of whom individ-

ually may account for a comparatively small share of the

relevant market, so long as the aggregate business of those

who have been sued is deemed “substantial.” In other

words, a particular defendant may be held proportionately

liable even though mathematically it 1s much more likely than

not that it played no role whatever in causing plaintiffs’ injuries.

Plaintiffs have strikingly capsulated their reasoning by

insisting “... that while one manufacturer’s product may

not have injured a particular plaintiff, we can assume that

A-31

it injured a different plaintiff and all we are talking about is

a mere matching of plaintiffs and defendants.” (Counsel’s

letter (Oct. 16, 1979) p. 3.) In adopting the foregoing

rationale the majority rejects over 100 years of tort law

which required that before tort liability was imposed a

“matching” of defendant’s conduct and plaintiff’s injury

was absolutely essential. Furthermore, in bestowing on

plaintiffs this new largess the majority sprinkles the rain of

liability upon all the joined defendants alike—those whom

may be tortfeasors and those who may have had nothing at

all to do with plaintiffs’ injury—and an added bonus is

conferred. Plaintiffs are free to pick and choose their

targets.

The “market share” thesis may be paraphrased. Plain-

tiffs have been hurt by someone who made DES. Because of

the lapse of time no one can prove who made it. Perhaps it

was not the named defendants who made it, but they did

make some. Although DES was apparently safe at the

time it was used, it was subsequently proven unsafe as to

some daughters of some users. Plaintiffs have suffered

injury and defendants are wealthy. There should be a

remedy. Strict products liability is unavailable because

the element of causation is lacking. Strike that require-

ment and label what remains “alternative” liability,

“industry-wide” liability, or “market share” liability, prov-

ing thereby that if you hit the square peg hard and often

enough the round holes will really become square, although

you may splinter the board in the process.

The foregoing result is directly contrary to long estab-

lished tort principles. Once again, in the words of Dean

Prosser, the applicable rule is: “{ Plaintiff] must introduce

evidence which affords a reasonable basis for the conclusion

that it is more likely than not that the conduct of the

defendant was a substantial factor in bringing about the

result. A mere possibility of such causation is not enough; and

A-32

when the matter remains one of pure speculation or conjec-

ture, or the probabilities are at best evenly balanced, it

becomes the duty of the court to direct a verdict for the

defendant.” (Prosser, supra, § 41, at p. 241, italics added,

fns. omitted.) Under the majority’s new reasoning, how-

ever, a defendant is fair game if ii happens to be engaged in

a similar business and causation is possible, even though

remote.

In passing, I note the majority’s dubious use of market

share data. It is perfectly proper to use such information

to assist in proving, circumstantially, that a particuar

defendant probably caused plaintiffs’ injuries. Circum-

stantial evidence may be used as a basis for proving the

requisite probable causation. (/d., at p. 242.) The major-

ity, however, authorizes the use of such evidence for an

entirely different purpose, namely, to impose and allocate

liability among multiple defendants only one of whom may

have produced the drug which injured plaintiffs. Because

this use of market share evidence does not implicate any

particular defendant, I believe such data are entirely irrele-

vant and inadmissible, and that the majority errs in such

use. In the absence of some statutory authority there is no

legal basis for such use.

Although seeming to acknowledge that imposition of

liability upon defendants who probably did not cause plain-

tiffs’ injuries is unfair the majority justifies this inequity on.

the ground that “each manufacturer’s liability for an

injury would be approximately equivalent to the damages

caused by the DES it manufactured.” (Ante, p. [A-26]

[maj. opn., at p. 35].) In other words, because each defen-

dant’s liability is proportionate to its market share, suppos-

edly “each manufacturer’s liability would approximate its

responsibility for the injuries caused by his own products.”

(Ante, p. [ A-25] [ maj. opn., at p. 33].) The majority dodg-

es the “practical problems” thereby presented, choosing to

A-33

describe them as “matters of proof.” However, the difficul-

ties, in my view, are not so easily ducked, for they relate not

to evidentiary matters but to the fundamental question of

liability itself.

Additionally, it is readily apparent that “market share”

liability will fall unevenly and disproportionately upon

those manufacturers who are amenable to suit in Califor-

nia. On the assumption that no other state will adopt so

radical a departure from traditional tort prinicples, it may

be concluded that under the majority’s reasoning those

defendants who are brought to trial in this state will bear

effective joint responsibility for 100 percent of plaintiffs’

injuries despite the fact that their “substantial” aggregate

market share may be considerably less. This undeniable

fact forces the majority to concede that, “a defendant may

be held liable for a somewhat different percentage of the

damage than its share of the appropriate market would

justify.” (Ante, p. [ A-26] [ maj. opn. at p. 33].) With due

deference, I suggest that the complete unfairness of such a

result in a case involving only five of two hundred manu-

facturers is readily manifest.

Furthermore, several other important policy considera-

tions persuade me that the majority holding is both inequi-

table and improper. The injustice inherent in the

majority’s new theory of liability is compounded by the

fact that plaintiffs who use it are treated far more favora-

bly than are the plaintiffs in routine tort actions. In most

tort cases plaintiff knows the identity of the person who has

caused his injuries. In such a case, plaintiff, of course, has

no option to seek recovery from an entire industry or a

“substantial” segment thereof, but in the usual instance can

recover, if at all, only from the particular defendant caus-

ing injury. Such a defendant may or may not be either

solvent or amenable to process. Plaintiff in the ordinary

tort case must take a chance that defendant can be reached

and can respond financially. On what principle should

A-34

those plaintiffs who wholly fail to prove any causation, an

essential element of the traditional tort cause of action, be

rewarded by being offered both a wider selection of poten-

tial defendants and a greater opportunity for recovery?

The majority attempts to justify its new liability on the

ground that defendants herein are “better able to bear the

cost of injury resulting from the manufacture of a defective

product.” (Ante, p. {[A-23] [maj. opn., at p. 30].) This

“deep pocket” theory of liability, fastening liability on

defendants presumably because they are rich, has under-

standable popular appeal and might be tolerable in a case

disclosing substantially stronger evidence of causation

than herein appears. But as a general proposition, a defen-

dant’s weaith is an unreliable indicator of fault, and should

play no part, at least consciously, in the legal analysis of

the problem. In the absence of proof that a particular

defendant caused or at least probably caused plaintiff’s

injuries, a defendant’s ability to bear the cost thereof is no

more pertinent to the underlying issue of liability than its

“substantial” share of the relevant market. A system prid-

ing itself on “equal justice under law” does not flower when

the liability as well as the damage aspect of a tort action is

determined by a defendant’s wealth. The inevitable conse-

quence of such a result is to create and perpetuate two rules

of law—one applicable to wealthy defendants, and another

standard pertaining to defendants who are poor or who

have modest means. Moreover, considerable doubts have

been expressed regarding the ability of the drug industry,

and especially its smaller members, to bear the substantial

economic costs (from both damage awards and high insur-

ance premiums) inherent in imposing an industry-wide

liability. (see Coggins, supra, 13 Suffolk L.Rev. at pp.

1003-1006, 1010-1011.)

An important and substantial countervailing public pol-

icy in defendants’ favor was very recently expressed in a

similar DES case, McCreery v. Eli Lilly & Co., supra, 87

A-35

Cal.App.3d 77, 86-87. Although the majority herein

impliedly rejects the appellate court’s holding, in my opin-

ion pertinent language of the McCreery court, based upon

the Restatement of Torts and bearing on the majority’s

“market share” theory, is well worth repeating: “Applica-

tion of the comments to the Restatement Second of Torts,

section 402A, to this situation compels a rejection of the

imposition of liability. As the comment states, ‘... It is

also true in particular of many new or experimental drugs

as to which, because of lack of time and opportunity for

sufficient medical experience, there can be no assurance of

safety, or perhaps even of purity of ingredients, but such

experience as there is justifies the marketing and use of the

drug notwithstanding a medically recognizable risk. The

seller of such products, again, with the qualification that

they are properly prepared and marketed, and proper warn-

ing is given, where the situation calls for it, is not to be held

to strict liability for unfortunate consequences attending

their use, merely because he has undertaken to supply the

public with an apparently useful and desirable product,

attended with a known but apparently reasonable risk.’

(Rest.2d Torts, § 402A, com. k.) This section implicitly rec-

ognizes the social policy behind the development of new pharma-

ceutical preparations. As one commentator states, ‘[t]he

social and economic benefits from mobilizing the industry’s

resources in the war against disease and in reducing the

costs of medical care are potentially enormous. The devel-

opment of new drugs in the last three decades has already

resulted in great social benefits. The potential gains from

further advances remain large. To risk such gains is

unwise. Our major objective should be to encourage a con-

tinued high level of industry investment in pharmaceuti-

cal R&D [research and development].’ (Schwartzman,

The Expected Return from Pharmaceutical Research:

Sources of New Drugs and the Profitability of R&D Invest-

ment (1975) P. 54.)”, (McCreery v. Eli Lilly & Co., supra,

A-36

87 Cal.App.3d 77, 86-87, italics added; see also Coggins,

supra, 13 Suffolk L.Rev. at p. 1004.)

In the present case the majority imposes liability more

than 20 years after ingestion of drugs which at the time

they were used, after careful testing, had the full approval

of the United States Food and Drug Administration. It

seems to me that liability in the manner created by the

majority must inevitably inhibit, if not the research or

development, at least the dissemination of new pharmaceu-

tical drugs. Such a result, as explained by the Restate-

ment, is wholly inconsistent with traditional tort theory.

I also suggest that imposition of so sweeping a liability

may well prove to be extremely shortsighted from the

standpoint of broad social policy. Who is to say whether,

and at what time and in what form, the drug industry upon

which the majority now fastens this blanket liability, may

develop a miracle drug critical to the diagnosis, treatment,

or, indeed, cure of the very disease in question? It is

counterproductive to inflict civil damages upon all manu-

facturers for the side effects and medical complications

which surface in the children of the users a generation

after ingestion of the drugs, particularly when, at the time

of their use, the drugs met every fair test and medical

standard then available and applicable. Such a result

requires of the pharmaceutical industry a foresight, presci-

ence and anticipation far beyond the most exacting stan-

dards of the relevant scientific disciplines. In effect, the

majority requires the pharmaceutical research laboratory

to install a piece of new equipment-the psychic’s crystal

ball.

I am not unmindful of the serious medical consequences

of plaintiffs’ injuries, and the equally serious implication to

the class which she purports to represent. In balancing the

various policy considerations, however, I also observe that

the incidence of vaginal cancer among “DES daughters”

has been variously estimated at one-tenth of 1 percent to

A-37

four-tenths of 1 percent. (13 Suffolk L.Rev., Supra, p. 999,

fn. 92.) These facts raise some penetrating questions.

Ninety-nine plus percent of “DES daughters’ have never

developed cancer. Must a drug manufacturer to escape

this blanket liability wait for a generation of testing before

it may disseminate drugs? If a drug has beneficial pur-

poses for the majority of users but harmful side-effects are

later revealed for a small fraction of consumers, will the

manufacturer be absolutely liable? If adverse medical con-

sequences, wholly unknown to the most careful and meticu-

lous of present scientists, surface in two or three generations,

will similar liability be imposed? In my opinon, common

sense and reality combine to warn that a “market share”

theory goes too far. Legally, it expects too much.

I believe that the scales of justice tip against imposition

of this new liability because of the foregoing elements of

unfairness to some defendants who may have had nothing

whatever to do with causing any injury, the unwarranted

preference created for this particular class of plaintiffs, the

violence done to traditional tort principles by the drastic

expansion of liability proposed, the injury threatened to the

public interest in continued unrestricted basic medical

research as stressed by the Restatement, and the other

reasons heretofore expressed.

The majority’s decision effectively makes the entire drug

industry (or at least its California members) an insurer of

all injuries attributable to defective drugs of uncertain or

unprovable origin, including those injuries manifesting

themselves a generation later, and regardless of whether

particular defendants had any part whatever in causing

the claimed injury. Respectfully, I think this is unreason-

able overreaction for the purpose of achieving what is per-

ceived to be a socially satisfying result.

Finally, I am disturbed by the broad and ominous ramifi-

cations of the majority’s holding. The law review com-

ment, which is the wellspring of the majority’s new theory,

A-38

conceding the widespread consequences of industry-wide

liability, openly acknowledges that “The DES cases are

only the tip of an iceberg.” (Comment, DES and a Proposed

Theory of Enterpise Liability (1978) 46 Fordham L.Rev. 963,

1007.) Although the pharmaceutical drug industry may

be the first target of this new sanction, the majority’s rea-

soning has equally threatening application to many other

areas of business and commercial activities.

Given the grave and sweeping economic, social, and med-

ical effects of “market share” liability, the policy decision to

introduce and define it should rest not with us, but with the

Legislature which is currently considering not only major

statutory reform of California product liability law in gen-

eral, but the DES problem in partienlar. (See Sen. Bill No.

1392 (1979-1980 Reg. Sess.), which would establish and

appropriate funds for the education, identification, and

screening of persons exposed to DES, and would prohibit

health care and hospital service plans from excluding or

limiting coverage to persons exposed to DES.) An alterna-

tive proposal for administrative compensation, deseripea as

“a limited version of no-fault products liability” has been

suggested by one commentator. (Coggins, supra, 13 Suffolk

L.Rev. at pp. 1019-1021.) Compensation under such a plan

would be awarded by an administrative tribunal from

funds collected “via a tax paid by all manufacturers.” (P.

1020. fn. omitted.) In any event, the problem invites a

legislative rather than an attempted judicial solution.

I would affirm the judgments of dismissal.

RICHARDSON, J.

We Concur:

CLARK, J.

MANUEL, J.

y ce

a hide

4

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF

CALIFORNIA

L.A. 31063

JUDITH SINDELL,

Plaintiff, Appellant and Respondent,

VS.

ABBOTT LABORATORIES et al.,

Defendants, Respondents and Petitioners.

MAUREEN ROGERS,

Plaintiff, Appellant and Respondent,

VS.

REXALL DRUG COMPANY et al.,

Defendants, Respondents and Petitioners.

PETITION FOR REHEARING OF ELI LILLY AND COMPANY

After Decision by the Supreme Court of the State of

California

FROM THE JUDGMENT OF THE SUPERIOR COURT OF THE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA, IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF LOS

ANGELES

Honorable Jerry Pacht, Judge

RICHARD J. HEAFEY

PETER W. DAVIS

CROSBY, HEAFEY, ROACH &

MAY

Professional Corporation

1939 Harrison Street

Oakland, CA 94612

(415) 834-4820

Attorneys for Defendant,

Respondent and Petitioner

ELI LILLY AND COMPANY

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED ..........ccsesccceesesceeeesess

I

II

III

IV

ENP RODIV IOI. sicisctincconcescctetiscscetinnimvettidaiites

THE COURT’S MARKET SHARE APPROACH

WILL Not EQUATE DAMAGES WITH THE

INJURY ALLEGEDLY CAUSED By EACH

MANUFACTURER’S PRODUCT. .......ccccsseseeeeeees

THE RULE OF LAW ESTABLISHED BY THE

CourT Is VIOLATIVE OF LILLY’s SUBSTAN-

TIVE DUE PROCESS RIGHTS UNDER THE

CALIFORNIA AND FEDERAL CONSTITU-

THOM, iccccicsvitincscinseinateaieeanvnitecuasaaiamaanias

A. Due Process Protects Lilly Against Ar-

bitrary And Capricious Actions Of The

TREE. ssrsvesrssonssbeckinipssencsssnieboeednaiiaide

B. The Element Of Causation Is Indispen-

sable To Due Process of Law. ...........0000

C. The Decision Fails To Satisfy The Mini-

mum Due Process Requirement That

Actions Taken By The State Bear A

Real And Substantial Relationship To A

Constitutionally Permissible Objective

THE DECISION VIOLATES PROCEDURAL

DUE PROCESS BECAUSE IT CREATES A

FALSE AND IRREBUTTABLE PRESUMPTION

OF CAC ATINN sihiivchincidisscsitervicaseaticdanain

A. An Irrebuttable Presumption of Causa-

tion Is Created ..........scssssrsserssecsesessoreees

B. The Presumption Of Causation Is False,

Unreasonable And Arbitrary And

Hence Unconstitutional 0... ceseeeeeees

B-3

B-8

B-8

*D-11

B-13

B-13

Vi

VII

Vill

(X

il

THE DECISION OF THE COURT FRUSTRATES

FEDERAL LAWS AND POLICIES Gov-

ERNING THE MARKETING OF GENERIC

Druas, AND THEREFORE IS VIOLATIVE OF

THE SUPREMACY CLAUSE OF THE UNITED

STATES CONSTITUTION cccccssscoccssssssssvescscvveeeees

THE OPINION VIOLATES DEFENDANT'S

RIGHTS To EQUAL PROTECTION UNDER

WHEE IE aici ccnsasadlcssamaninahaokieacudmesensrabitesanediaas

THE MARKET SHARE THEORY CREATES

NUMEROUS OTHER PROBLEMGB. ...........00eeeeeee

A. The Holding Of This Court Must Be

Confined To Plaintiff’s Causes Of Action

BOE THCIAOD » vis cccessscecscensatCrsesinssdiceinasen

B. The Court’s Proposal That All Manufac-

turers Of DES Cross-Complain Against

Each Other’ Presents Enormous

PP ROEUIIN cinves\nighetinsssessstuctssvcchiobbussnciacninal

RISK SPREADING WILL Not BE ACHIEVED,

AND THE DISASTROUS PUBLIC POLICY

Costs OF LIABILITY WILL Not BE AVOID-

ED BY THE MARKET SHARE THEORY .......

CHAINED cxcoce dics sdantescbeschssanmearshoadelinncndinaus

PAGE

B-17

B-19

B-21

B-21

B-23

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Federal Cases

PAGE

American Railway Exp. Co. v. Kentucky, 273 U.S. 269,

FE Ra es I ID. ssekssdeeebbbireccdancdoksics tepnestvedsepineiobes B-9

Andrews v. Drew Municipal Separate School District,

ST Wie GEE COGa GAL. SOTO) senses scescarpnvedvenvecssanenes B-15

Armstrong v. Manzo, 380 U.S. 545, 14 L.Ed. 62 (1965) B-14

Bailey v. Alabama, 219 U.S. 219, 55 L.Ed. 191 (1910) B-13

Bell v. Burson, 402 U.S. 535, 29 L.Ed.2d 90

ERUEE 2’ siessisisiveitcicaraeiericulasenninnsiaia sneaked B-14, B-15

Bibb v. Navajo Freight Lines, 359 U.S. 520, 3 L.Ed.2d

REE RIED Nintesiriinsehedcehictocsvenqtinvdisakassosieuesebaanialiamnnaas B-19

Boddie v. Connecticut, 401 U.S. 371, 28 L.Ed.2d 113

DIPTR Rs icusiiiccalovalcaeceigvcobiursoincbivknivkaenseteacenadtbennaccaeanias B-14

Cleveland Board of Education v. La Fleur, 414 US.

Gow, GO La OW CEGIE) « csssesisecicccvcvesvassensnsens B-14, B-15

Ex Parte, Commonwealth of Virginia, 100 U.S. 318, 25

cB, HET. TEER ais phvsmiabeasib ideeseenshachedndcceeabveladelvancive B-9

Giaccio v. Pennsylvania, 382 U.S. 399, 15 L.Ed.2d 447

| ERIS SADE SESSA UD SOR 7 oases Prob, B-8

Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254, 25 L.Ed.2d 287

EUMTTTEE Sicissecohivdln sehransubiobedensesus'iatssa can uaveenuabsineromemaninibicks B-14

Hawes v. Georgia, 258 U.S. 1, 66 L.Ed. 431 (1922) B-15

Haymes v. Regan, 525 F.2d 540 (2d Cir. 1975) ....... B-9

Hollenbaugh v. Carnegie Free Library, 436 F.Supp.

1328 (W.D. Pa. 1977), aff'd, 578 F.2d 1374, cert.

TE, BE FG, FRE tts ierntecnicreyrressvesentesonenerennpiivcennes B15

Leary v. United States, 395 U.S. 6, 23 L.Ed.2d 57

CRU ITEE. snuchidetrettsstsanstehhasnssensdtvtesssdzesipaninauaecbtiappniiiins B-16

Lynch v. Household Finance Corp., 405 U.S. 538, 31

SEINE GE SMEID | Sivestnbscssisvsssivvesssdleniannevacstbesisensias B-11

iv

PAGE

Martin v. Harrah Independent Sch. Dist., 579 F.2d 1192

(10th Cir. 1978), reversed on other grounds,

US. » 59 L.Bd.2d 248 (1979) ....crcccsccssssssrreres B-9

McCulloch v. Maryland, 4 Wheat 316 (1819) ........... B-18

McFarland v. American Sugar Ref. Co., 241 U.S. 79, 60

EA) UE LRTI T. : éniincesisatuacmatsiadivushoghvcticasemaciias B-15, B-16

Moore v. East Cleveland, 431 U.S. 494, 52 L.Ed.2d 531

CINE T © snesupiciecisAatatectasdeshiesieidivodendngeteetaciemaabnbnemes B-12

NAACP v. Alabama, 377 U.S. 288, 12 L.Ed.2d 325

CRED calksintustacineicibioniidienbiaibaees sesvenorevevoosenseons B-9

New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254, 11

SATE CABO). seitcbipbocesvanvabstducnovesistechavibesuputbaes B-9

Perez v. Campbell, 402 U.S. 687, 29 L.Ed.2d 233

CI <asic eX siscdihiav iii ienaiescibiche'saddesiesaiebinceencttondapndesdunonioadine B-18

Prudential Ins. Co. v. Cheek, 259 U.S. 530, 66 L.Ed.

i RE | beaiielalssalaieosinsiaionkniesssuaboliammnpeded ebabsesures B-9

San Diego Bldg. Trades Council v. Garmon, 359 US.

Dy SB RAMEE: BT GRO). cicvcotsssinibcessonadiphaveepannnen B-18

Shelley v. Kraemer, 334 U.S. 1, 92 L.Ed. 1161 (1948) B-9

Sola Elec. Co. v. Jefferson Elec. Co., 317 U.S. 173, 87

BAM: SOD CRO Y. sericiiennerisisntnereansstepsncuenatins B-18, B-19

Solesbee v. Balkcom, 339 U.S. 9, 94 L.Ed. 604 (1950) B-16

Speiser v. Randall, 357 U.S. 513, 2 L.Ed.2d 1460

CRO Py icosnnsschcsiitehzcesansesnnbenhaciesarpndinniken-th tecsaelgiaiaan B-10, B-13

Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645, 31 L.Ed.2d 551

CRIT sicicasncusctisdciasicdabasnanniasscnmanciestanctubaiabamiaetainmenats B-14

State v. A/S Nye Kristianborg, 84 F.Supp. 775 (D.C.

EETIES RIPIIIE:- edseerticsuciveivineves beasiinvisbeaiesouns awedienbiecione B-11, B-12

U.S. Dept. of Agriculture v. Murry, 413 U.S. 508, 37

Ei a OUT CRED . visicirteresiciolsaiicdareennenaecapanitanies B-15

Vlandis v. Kline, 412 U.S. 441, 37 L.Ed.2d 63 (1973) B-14

Western & A. R. Co. v. Henderson, 279 U.S. 639, 73 |

Li Bx GOP ERIE D> sdvssicrinetsidvenecinadsebnelociarvesthatiababiiceens B-14

Wolff v. McDonnell, 418 U.S. 539, 41 L.Ed.2d 935

EIU PID . vinrrnionsicvevsvienevtavbntevodantae ditty avabecaleticabanmlednieaee B-9

Vv

California Cases

PAGE

Department of Mental Hygiene v. Kirchner, 60 Cal.2d

716, 36 Cal.Rptr. 488 (1964), cert. granted and va-

eated, 380 U.S. 194 (1964), on remand, 62 Cal.2d

586, 43 Cal. Rptr. 329 (1965) .........cscscsssssscssseees B-20

Durham v. City of Los Angeles, 91 Cal.App.3d 567, 154

SO. MP GURIV IED acscivtctesciesttbonicsscinccsensvitininsenioes B-19

Fogo v. Cutter Laboratories, Inc., 68 Cal.App.3d 744,

Se, MEG, EEE CUNT P .vicccserdensednapssenndabssnocsocsenbete B-22

Hall v. Department of Adoptions, 47 Cal.App.3d 898,

Be RN PC RUIED sinccrtesveseriroccnicense: veiipamneioebe B-22

Hauter v. Zogarts, 14 Cal.38d 104, 120 Cal.Rptr. 681

EETPIININY dutesalisobisincansclscsjunepiniinindiiedividsinaphontitaianstininsansiibihionrs B-21

Hills Trans. Co. v. Southwest Forest Industries, Inc., 266

Cal.App.2d 702, 72 Cal.Rptr. 441 (1968) ......0.... B-22

Holmes Packaging Mach. Corp. v. Bingham, 252

Cal.App.2d 862, 60 Cal.Rptr. 769 (1967) ........... B-22

Johnson v. Goodyear Mining Co., 127 Cal. 4 (1889) B-8

People v. Collins, 68 Cal.2d 319, 66 Cal.Rptr. 497

ITD - Sore ucslldesan inidiebalqsotanantaatiinessniibadaiidicadteaiineinbiadesenas B-10

Peter W. v. San Francisco Unified Sch. Dist., 60

Cal.App.3d 814, 131 Cal.Rptr. 854 (1976) .......... B-22

Sail’er Inn, Inc. v. Kirby, 5 Cal.3d 1, 95 Cal. Rptr. 329

ES TTTAD tos iicvebed iaeotirasneniipsitihdiiceainegininausindtliiiadinewndaiannial B-18

Scafidi v. Western Loan & Bldg. Co., 72 Cal.App.2d 550

INI, Adilnstinasisnecsiistecaonisaniiadchaauekanecssiansedineniapsetiials B-22

Constitutions

California Constitution

SIL Tc IED T * scneceitusintbevinncnssennapenigicbetnecsdne’ B-8, B-13

I Ts RIED. UD kccscossceconnsccncastvciiessonneasiebeatiighl B-19

pg Oe RR ee a Ae B-18

United States Constitution

Fourteenth Amendment ...........cccccsseeeeseeeeeeeeees B-8, B-13

vi

Statutes

PAGE

es Te Se I RO aden dccissscnainniecioneeaas B-21

Sees GN SMD Wh MRED do vets nccbiniccsitivascnnssnnsonsenticaonss B-22

a Pe NE I ic aise caccssusatndinavonsctipiall B-18

Texts

SE NEY AEE HOI). BORE F Deca teodccnichvevercncssguspatieiannninbien B-21

PRI ME CURIS OU, ROE ED ncccesipstsnvovnsssosspcsnaebibpnecesmnecss B-22

BAJI 12.31 (6th ed. 1977) .............000scee00e scans tesheidions B-22

Prosser, The Law of Torts, § 41 (4th ed. 1971) ........ B-10

Tribe, American Constitutional Law, § 10-15 (1978) B-18

3 Witkin, California Procedure Pleading, §§ 573-574

(BOE. LITLY vsnssvosvevonioonsenvscnsonnscvsssnevosssovsonberesenssongese B-22

B-1

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF

THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

L.A. No. 31063

JUDITH SINDELL,

Plaintiff, Appellant and Respondent,

vs.

ABBOTT LABORATORIES, et al.,

Defendants, Respondents and Petitioners.

MAUREEN ROGERS,

Plaintiff, Appellant and Respondent,

vs.

REXALL DRUG COMPANY, et al.,

Defendants, Respondents and Petitioners.

PETITION FOR REHEARING OF ELI LILLY AND

COMPANY

To CHIEF JUSTICE BIRD, AND TO THE ASSOCIATE JUS-

TICES OF THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF

CALIFORNIA

Respondent Eli Lilly and Company petitions for a

rehearing to reconsider the decision filed in this Court on

March 20, 1980, on the following grounds:

B-2

INTRODUCTION

The Court’s March 20, 1980 opinion in this case carefully

and thoughtfully analyzes existing theories of liability

asserted by Plaintiff and concludes that none will suffice.

Desiring, however, to supply some remedy, the Court pro-

ceeds to create a new doctrine where proof of causation is

replaced by proof of market share.

The justification for the new rule is explained at page 32

of the opinion. Acknowledging that it would be unfair to

hold pharmaceutical manufacturers liable for injuries their

products did not cause, the Court accepts the “rough justice”

proposal advocated in the Fordham Law Review Comment

that the market share approach avoids that vice. It is

asserted that if a manufacturer is held liable for the per-

centage of damages in each case that represents its market

share percentage, the net result will roughly equal the

amount of injury actually caused by that manufacturer’s

product.

In fact, however, this conclusion is premised on a series

of assumptions which, upon close analysis, prove to be

untrue. Moreover, Defendants will never be given an

opportunity to disprove many of these assumptions in the

underlying case, as they are not elements of Plaintiff’s

cause of action, or of any defense.

Together with other aspects of the opinion, serious consti-

tutional questions are accordingly raised.

We therefore urge the Court to reexamine part IV of its

opinion, and after consideration of the objections posed

herein, to reject the proposed rough justice market share

approach and affirm the judgment of the court below.

>

B-3

II

THE COURT’S MARKET SHARE APPROACH WILL NOT

EQUATE DAMAGES WITH THE INJURY ALLEGEDLY

CAUSED BY EACH MANUFACTURER’S PRODUCT

The Court holds that if Plaintiff joins the manufacturers

of a “substantial share of the DES which her mother might

have taken,” she need not prove that her injuries were

caused by the product of any particular defendant. The

Court, however, declines to define, or even provide any

guidance, on what would qualify as a substantial share.

The Court further declines to address the problem of defin-

ing “the market” and determining market share. The

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition — Rexall Drug Co. v. Sindell · 449 U.S. 912 | Frix