Petition — Hot Springs County School District Number One v. Washakie County School District Number One

Supreme Court brief1980

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

In The

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1979

wt I=IT728

HOT SPRINGS COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT

NUMBER ONE, et al,

Petitioners,

vs.

WASHAKIE COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT

NUMBER ONE, et al,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF

CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF THE

STATE OF WYOMING

ROSS D. COPENHAVER

Ross D. Copenhaver, P.C.

Counsel for Petitioners

Box 839

Powell, Wyoming 82435

INDEX

Opinions Below . ..++-e+#e eb ese

ee OO a ee we Oo eee Wee ee

CUSSCIONS PIEGENTOR. . « 2 ts 6 wk

Constitutional Provision and Statutes

DO es eR ee ee ee ee

Statement of the Case. .......e-.

Reasons for Allowance of the Writ. ..

CSG bos 461 << ek ee eee eee

Appendix A, Opinion of Wyoming Supreme

Court, of Ja@mjuary 15,:° 1960... e« «

Appendix B, Opinion of Wyoming Supreme

Court upon Petition for Rehearing,

Gated February 7, 1960. . .«:« « *s.*

Appendix C, Judgment and Order of

District Court following Mandate

from Wyoming Supreme Court. ....

Appendix D, Original Order granting

motions to dismiss of District

COMED 6 Sie 6 « 6 ee ee eS

Appendix E, Petition for Rehearing . .

Appendix F, Portion of Brief of Points

and Authorities as filed with

Wyoming Supreme Court .......

Appendix G, Cited Statutes and Rules

OS WYOMING: « <« s ss 3 * & e See

WWW

e

ou >

-C-l1

~D=-1

—E=-1

~P=-1

-G=-1

=,

Table of Cases

Baltimore and O.R.

Co.

vs.

U.S.

264 US 258 ..

Baltimore and O.R. Co.

vs.

U.S.

298 US 349 ..

Board of Liquidation vs.

Louisiana,

Rees i: ew amy oe

City of Mountlake Terrace vs.

549 Pp.2a 497 .

Covington and Lexington Turnpike R.

Sandord,

«ee

Wilson

164 U.S.

Cowles vs. Mercer County

7 WSs Rae «&«

578.

Cronin vs. Lindber

ee gs ee

Data Processing Service vs. Camp

397 US 150...

First National Bank vs.

Bellotti

435 U.S. 765.

Holm vs. State (Wyo), 404 P.2d 740.

Jenkins vs. McKiethen,

395 US 41l .

Lincoln TP School District vs.

Redfield Consolidated School Dist

283 N.W.

Louisville R. Co.

Vs.

881 (Iowa 1939)

Letson

2 How. 497...

Manley vs. Georgia, 279 US l.

Monell vs. Department of Social

Services,

436 U.S. 658 .

Moses Lake School District vs. Big

Bend Community College

503 P.2a 86 (Wash. 1872) Rae ogee

Northshore School District vs.

Kinnear, 530 P.2d 178 (Wash. 1974)

Ohio Telegraph Co. vs. Public

Utilities Comm.

’

wad, Was. 292.

Pennsylvania vs. New Jersey,

426 US 660. .

Santa Clara County vs. Southern

Pacific R. Co.,

ii

IT8 U.S. 394

14

School District No. 23 vs. School

Planning Committee, 361 P.2d

Oe Sues BOOBT « 6: e e088 ee

South Carolina vs. Katzenbach

eee Cees se Re ee 8

State vs. Anderson, (Minn.)

Se ae eee aR oe

State vs. State Tax Commission

ee Bemeee eae se 8 ek Se ee ef

Town of Wickenburg vs. State,

565 P.2d 1326 fazi. 4)

Village of Blaine vs. Independent

School District, 138 N.W.2d 32

as eee 6 se 8: he ewe ee

Washakie County School District No.

vs. Herschler, 606 P.2a 310, 317

ts DS <a Sk oe ee Oe ef

Williams vs. Baltimore, 289 US 36...

Wilner vs. Committee on Character and

het ©

Treen. Bee Oe ee sh ss +. + fe

Wolff vs. McDonnell, 418 US 539...

Wyoming State Treasurer vs. City of

tse, SO cee 260. 3 0 ee ee

Statutes

Fourteenth Amendment. ......«.-.

ae: We eee tet 6s sae Sle SSS

Revised Rules of the Supreme Court of

the United States, Rule 19. 1 (a).

Wes. CROP aUL « se a ee a ee

Wels ChPOPRAR 6 6 te ee Hh 8 lt we

ree Oe yo? © 2 ee a ee ae a er

WRCP, Rule 12

WRCP, Rule 39

WRCP, Rule 38

WRCP, Rule 43

WRCP, Rule 52

e o e e *

* © * 2 e

. + ~ e e

e * + e .

e . . _ o

° Oo * * _

e s s s e

* * e > o

. e e * °

o e oO e .

” ° 7 © o

e o * . .

iii

16

14

11

18

17

18

13

pe

10

10

12

Texts

LS Aiki Rs LOST, Anaets (19se? ce ec a UE

16A AmJur, Constitutional Law, §848 .. 9

iv

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

NO.

HOT SPRINGS COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT

NUMBER ONE, and SUBLETTE COUNTY SCHOOL

DISTRICT NUMBER NINE

Petitioners,

vs.

WASHAKIE COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT NUMBER ONE,

DONNA MOBERLY, MARY JANE SCHMELTZER,

RANDALL RIDEOUT, HAROLD MCDONALD, HARRY

UJIFUSA, ROBERT MOODY and JAMES ARGERIS,

being all of the members of THE BOARD OF

TRUSTEES OF WASHAKIE COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT

NUMBER ONE; MARY JANE SCHMELTZER as next

friend for CHRISTOPHER SCHMELTZER, JOE

SCHMELTZER, and FRANCES SCHMELTZER, minors;

RANDALL RIDEOUT as next friend for JASON

RIDEOUT, ANTHONY RIDEOUT, and MICHAEL

RIDEOUT, minors; HAROLD McDONALD as next

friend for KEVEN McDONALD, KEITH McDONALD,

DAVID McDONALD, KENNETH McDONALD, and BRIAN

McDONALD, minors, HARRY UJIFUSA as next

friend for KELLY UJIFUSA and GAYLE UJIFUSA,

Minors; ROBERT MOODY as next friend for

TODD MOODY, SHERRI MOODY, CINDY MOODY, JOHN

MOODY, AL MOODY, and SCOTT MOODY, minors;

and JAMES ARGERIS as next friend for JAYME

ARGERIS, TAWN ARGERIS, and GRETT ARGERIS,

minors; UINTA COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT NUMBER

SIX, G. GRANT REDDEN, CLINT WALKER, F.

DANNY EYRE, DONALD R. CARROLL and CURTIS

MORGAN, being all of the members of THE

BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF UINTA COUNTY SCHOOL

DISTRICT NUMBER SIX, FREMONT COUNTY SCHOOL

DISTRICT NUMBER 25, DENNIS TIPPETS, L. J.

GERAUD, PATRICIA B. FERRIS, ALICE KUCERA,

STANLEY SMALLEY, and THOMAS YOUTZ, being

all of the members of THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

OF FREMONT COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT NUMBER

TWENTY FIVE, ALBERT B. SCHULTZ, ED

HERSCHLER, Governor, State of Wyoming, LYNN

SIMONS, State Superintendent of Public

Instruction, SHIRLEY WITTLER, Wyoming State

Treasurer, JOHN PATTON, KEITH WEST, DR.

DENIS LYMAN, BARBARA ROGERS, KEITH BECKER,

REDELL HOOPER, KAREN HAND, DR. DONALD

BLAKESLEE, GLENN ENGLEKING, being all of

the members of the WYOMING STATE BOARD OF

EDUCATION, PARK COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT

NUMBER SIXTEEN, CAMPBELL COUNTY SCHOOL

DISTRICT NUMBER ONE, CONVERSE COUNTY SCHOOL

DISTRICT NUMBER ONE, CARBON COUNTY SCHOOL

DISTRICT NUMBER TWO, SWEETWATER COUNTY

SCHOOL DISTRICT NUMBER ONE, and LINCOLN

COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT NUMBER ONE,

Respondents,

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF THE

STATE OF WYOMING

To The Honorable Chief Justice and

Associate Justices of the Supreme Court of

the United States.

Petitioners pray that a Writ of

Certiorari issue to review the final Order

and Judgment of the Supreme Court of the

State of Wyoming, entered in this matter on

February 8, 1980.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Supreme Court of

Wyoming is reported at 606 P.2d 310 and is

printed in Appendix A hereto, infra,

page A-l. The decision of the Supreme

Court of Wyoming upon rehearing is reported

at 606 P.2d 340, and is printed in Appendix

B hereto, infra, page B-l. Pursuant to

such decisions, a Judgment and Order dated

March 25, 1980, was entered in the District

Court of Hot Springs County, Wyoming, upon

April 1, 1980, which Judgment is printed in

Appendix C, infra, page C-l.

JURISDICTION

The decision of the Supreme Court of

Wyoming, Appendix A, infra, page A-l, was

entered on January 15, 1980. A timely

Petition for Rehearing was filed and

thereafter a final Order denying rehearing

was entered on February 7, 1980, Appendix

B, infra, page B-l. The jurisdiction of

this court is invoked under 28 USC, §1257

(3).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Have the petitioners been denied due

process and equal protection under the

Fourteenth Amendment by rendition of a

final decision in the Wyoming Supreme

Court based upon evidence developed sua

sponte by the Wyoming Supreme Court, when

petitioners were given no warning of the

use of such evidence, nor any opportunity

to rebut, examine or explain, nor any

advance indication that a final judgment.

would result?

Are petitioners "persons" entitled to

claim rights of due process and equal

protection of the laws under the Fourteenth

Amendment against the acts of the Wyoming

Supreme Court?

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION «ND

STATUTES INVOLVED

The constitutional provision involved is

Section 1 of the Fourteenth Amendment to

the Constitution:

"All persons born or naturalized in the

United States and subject to the juris-

diction thereof are citizens of the

United States and of the State wherein

they reside. No State shall make or

enforce any law which shall abridge the

privileges or immunities of citizens of

the United States; nor shall any State

deprive any person of life, liberty or

property without due process of law; nor

deny to any person within its jurisdic-

tion the equal protection of the laws."

The provisions of Wyoming Statutes

giving to petitioners the same rights as

other litigants to the use of the courts

ana judicial process are:

W.S. (Wyoming Statutes Annotated 1977,

Republished Edition) 21-3-101. "Each

school district now or hereafter legally

organized within this state shall be a

body corporate."

W.S. 21-3-111. "(a) The board of trust-

ees in each school district within the

state may:

(i) Sue and be sued in the name by

which the district is designated.

(iv) Employ legal counsel and bear the

cost of litigation."

The Statutes and Rules of Procedure of

the State of Wyoming providing to all

litigants a right to judicial determination

of issues of fact, to present defenses and

objections, to a trial of issues and

affording an opportunity to be heard are

printed and attached hereto as Appendix G.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Each petitioner is a school district

within the State of Wyoming.

Upon June 20, 1978, three other school

districts within the State of Wyoming, with

members of their boards of trustees acting

as such, as the next friend of their

children, and as taxpayers, and a superin-

tendent of one school district filed in the

District Court of Hot Springs County,

Wyoming, a complaint seeking a declaratory

judgment that the Wyoming system of finan-

cing public education is unconstitutional,

and other relief. Petitioners were named

as defendants along with the Governor,

State Treasurer and Superintendent of

Public Instruction of the State of Wyoming,

members of the State Board of Education,

and six other school districts. Each

defendant filed a motion to dismiss on

several grounds, including lack of a

justiciable controversy, that plaintiff

school districts lacked authority and

standing to bring suit, lack of specificity,

inability of the court to provide a remedy,

lack of jurisdiction, and others. Until a

ruling upon such motions was entered no

answers were required, and no answer was

filed by any defendant.

Following arguments and submission of

memoranda of law upon such motions, the

district court thereafter made and entered

its Order granting motions to dismiss, a

printed copy of which is attached as

Appendix D, infra, page D-l. The plain-

tiffs in such action appealed to the

Supreme Court of Wyoming.

No evidentiary hearing was ever held; no

discovery proceedings had; and no evidence

was presented by the parties to either the

district court or the Wyoming Supreme

Court.

After the submission of briefs of law

and arguments thereon directed solely to

the issues presented by the Order granting

motions to dismiss, the Wyoming Supreme

Court took the matter under consideration

and thereupon proceeded to gather a number

of tables and statistics from the Wyoming

State Library and reports of the Wyoming

State Department of Education and, among

other things, found a classification on the

basis of wealth, stated that the burden was

upon those defending the classification

(petitioners and other defendants), stated

that the proposition of those defending was

unsupported by convincing argument or

authority (although no opportunity to give

such argument or authority was ever af-

forded), stated that petitioners had shown

no other viable criteria or test to a test

which the Supreme Court developed of

equality of dollar input; and remanded the

matter to district court with direction to

vacate the Order of Dismissal and enter

Judgment consistent with its opinion.

Petitioners filed a timely Petition for

Rehearing which is printed as Appendix E

#*

hereto, infra, page E-l, alleging, among

other reasons for a rehearing, that:

(1) Petitioners had been denied due

process and a fair hearing.

(2) That a factual hearing was required

and that such a hearing is guaranteed to

petitioners by the statutes and rules of

Wyoming; and that the Supreme Court of

Wyoming did not have jurisdiction to

render a decision or a judgment on

evidence originally acquired by the

Supreme Court itself, without offer by

any party or opportunity of any party to

rebut or cross examine. Petitioners

therewith filed their brief in support

of the Petition for Rehearing.

The first sixteen pages of the brief of

petitioners are printed and attached hereto

as Appendix F, infra, pages F-l1 - 16. fn

such brief petitioners did further set up

and plead to the Wyoming Court their rights

under the Constitution of the United

States, stating:

", . .The legislature having given

appellee school districts the full right

to use of the courts and the procedures

therein, such right ‘in accord with the

will of its creator' cannot be denied by

the courts, and such denial is a viola-

tion of equal protection under both the

Fourteenth Amendment of the United

States Constitution, and Sections 8 and

34 of Article I of the Wyoming Constitu-

tion." infra, page F-3

"The procedural due process provided by

the statutes and rules of Wyoming is

substantially the same as by decision is

#*

granted to individuals under the Four-

teenth Amendment." infra, page F-4

"The right to present evidence is essen-

tial to the fair hearing required by the

Due Process Clausé." infra, page F-4

"The provision for a hearing implies the

privilege of introducing evidence." infra,

page F-5

"There is no hearing in the constitu-

tional sense where the party does not

know what evidence is offered or con-

sidered and is not given an opportunity

to protest, explain or refute." infra,

page F-5

"The right under the Due Process Clause

to a full hearing includes the right of

a party whose rights are sought to be

affected to introduce evidence and have

judicial findings based upon it."

infra, page F-5

The Petition for Rehearing was denied,

and subsequently Judgment was entered as

directed by the Wyoming Surpeme Court. A

copy of the Judgment is attached hereto as

Appendix C, infra, page C-l.

REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE

OF THE WRIT

When the Wyoming Supreme Court rendered

its decision, directing entry of final

judgment upon this matter which was then

before the court upon an appeal by plain-

tiffs from an Order dismissing their

Complaint, the Wyoming Court denied to all

defendants in the matter, including peti-

tioners, the fundamental due process of an

opportunity to be heard by a trier of fact.

The Wyoming Court gave no advance notice of

its intention to render a final judgment -

It received and heard no evidence except

that which it developed sua sponte. It

gave to no party any opportunity. to examine,

rebut or explain such evidence or to

present any legal authority or agrument

relating thereto.

The Wyoming Supreme Court then, upon

receiving a request for rehearing, calling

these matters to its attention and reques-

ting an opportunity for a "hearing",

denied such request.

The opportunity to be heard is a funda-

mental requisite of due process of law. To

judge in a contested proceeding implies the

hearing of evidence from both sides in open

court, a comparison of the merits of the

evidence, a conclusion from the evidence of

where the truth lies, the application of

appropriate laws to the facts found and the

rendition of judgment accordingly. Manle

vs. Georgia, 279 US 1, 73 L.Ed. 575, 578.

The right to present evidence is essen-

tial to the fair hearing required by the

Due Process Clause. Jenkins vs. McKiethen,

395 US 411, 23 L.Ed.2d 404, 421.

The provision for a hearing implies the

privilege of introducing evidence.

Baltimore and O.R. Company vs. U.S., 264

US 258, 265, 68 L.Ed. EST 674.

There is no hearing in the constitution-

al sense when the party does not know what

evidence is offered or considered and is

not given an opportunity to protest,

explain or refute. 16A AmJur, Constitu-

tional Law, Section 848, page 1059. The

right under the Due Process Clause to a

full hearing includes the right of a party

whose rights are sought to be affected to

introduce evidence and have judicial

findings based upon it. Baltimore and O.R.

Company vs. U.S., 298 US 349, 80 L.Ed.

1209, 1224.

The Wyoming Supreme Court itself in

Holm vs. State, 404 P.2d 740, 744, has

stated: "One of the most basic elements of

due process is the right of each party to

be apprised of all the evidence upon which

an issue is to be decided, with the right

to examine, explain or rebut such evidence.

- . And, the right to hear and controvert

all evidence upon which a factual adjudi-

cation is to be made includes the right to

hear and cross examine witnesses."

The right to confront and cross

examine witnesses is a fundamental aspect

of procedural due process and such right

applies not only in criminal proceedings,

but also in non-criminal proceedings,

including administrative or quasi judicial

proceedings, Jenkins vs. McKiethen, 395 US

411, 23 L.Ed. 2d 404, 421. Wilner vs.

Committee on Character and Fitness, 373 US

96, 10 L.Ed.2d 224, Wolff vs. McDonnell,

418 US 539, 41 L.Ed.2d 935.

In Ohio Telegraph Co. vs. Public

Utilities Comm., 301 US 292, 57 S.Ct. 794,

81 L.Ed. 1093, this Court held that the

fundamentals of due process were denied

when a decision was based upon evidence

obtained without notice to the parties,

or opportunity to dispute, examine or

explain that evidence.

10

The procedural due process rights of a

state were specifically recognized by the

court in State vs. Anderson (Minn.) 19 NW2d

70. A statute provided for a hearing and

the court, at page 74, said: "We now hold

that such right to answer and to have a

hearing at which witnesses may be examined

and cross examined is the absolute right of

the State."

The next question presented in the Peti-

tion is whether petitioners, having been

granted the right to litigate a contro-

versy between them and other school dis-

tricts, have the right to demand procedural

due process guaranteed by the Fourteenth

Amendment. It appears that the precise

question is one of first impression before

this Court.

This Court has had many occasions to

consider the extent to which a municipal

corporation can question the actions of

its creator, the state legislature. In

many of those cases, this Court has held

that a municipal corporation, being a mere

political subdivision of the state created

as a convenient agency for the exercise of

its governmental powers, had no right to

question the actions of its creator. See,

e.g., Williams vs. Baltimore, 289 U.S. 36,

53 S.ct. 431, 77 L.Ed. 1015 (1933) and

other cases cited in Annot. 116 A.L.R. 1037

(1938).

In those cases, however, the municipal

corporations attempted to object to legis-

lative action or action taken pursuant to

statute which adversely affected its powers,

authority or property.

In no decision which petitioners have

found has any court ever before - after

11

es”

having determined that the political

subdivision (or any other party) has the

standing or capacity to sue - denied such

litigant the full judicial process equal to

that afforded to every other litigant. In

this case the Wyoming State Legislature as

creator of petitioners has granted the

petitioners the full right to use the

courts and the procedures therein. Such

right having been granted by the legisla-

ture, a denial of their right by the court

was a violation of equal protection and due

process.

Under Wyoming law, school districts are

corporate bodies (Wyo. Stat. §21-3-101

(1977)) with the power to sue and be sued,

to employ legal counsel and bear the cost

of litigation. (Wyo. Stat. §21-3-111

(1977)).

Although the Wyoming Supreme Court has

held that municipal corporations do not

have the power to question the legality of

legislation passed by their creators,

oming State Treasurer vs. City of

Rawlins, 510 P.2d 301, 302 (Wyo. 1973), the

Wyoming Supreme Court in this case has

specifically ruled that the Plaintiff

school districts had the power and auhtor-

ity to question the constitutionality of

the system of financing public education

created by the Wyoming Legislature. One of

the bases of the Defendants' motions to

dismiss this case was that the Plaintiff

school districts, as political subdivisions

of the state, lacked standing to question

the legality of the legislative financing

system. In its opinion, the Wyoming Supreme

Court said:

"The school districts and the members of

school boards are charged with the

12

responsibility of providing education to

the children of Wyoming and are tangibly

injured if the statutes which guide their

hands disenable them from so providing.

- « -(W)e hold that each of the named

appellants has standing to sue under the

circumstances of this case." Washakie

County School District No. 1 vs.

Herschler, 606 P.2d 310, 317 (Wyo. 1980)

Of course, the converse must also be

true. If the Plaintiff school districts

are entitled to question the legality of

the system of financing public education,

the Defendant school districts are equally

entitled to support their contention

that the system was constitutional.

The question, then, is whether the

petitioners, as parties to this litigation,

are entitled to demand due process of law

guaranteed under the Fourteenth Amendment

of the United States Constitution. As was

noted above, the petitioners’ research has

not led them to a case where this Court has

decided that precise question. Several

decisions of this Court, however, do have a

bearing on the question.

The Wyoming Supreme Court determined

that the school districts have "standing" -

and that the interest sought to be protected

is within the zone regulated by the

Constitution - within the test determined

by this Court in Data Processing Service

vs. ane 397 us 150, S.Ct. 827, 25 uk.

2d 184.

Petitioners respectfully submit that, it

having been determined that their interests

in this matter are within the zone of the

Wyoming Constitution relating to school

financing - then other constitutional

13

guarantees of a fair hearing under both

State and U.S. Constitutions cannot be

separated or segregated.

This Court has, on a number of occasions,

determined whether various entities were

"persons" entitled to the protection of

various constitutional provisions. For

instance, in South Carolina vs. Katzenbach,

383 U.S. 301, 86 S.Ct. 803, 15 L.Ed.2d 769

(1966) this Court held that a state was not

a person for the purposes of the due pro-

cess clause of the Fifth Amendment to the

United States Constitution. On the other

hand, in First National Bank vs. Bellotti,

435 U.S. 765, 98 S.Ct. 1407, 55 L.Ed.2d 707

(1978) this Court held that corporations

were persons for purposes of availing them-

selves of the Fourteenth Amendment guaran-

tees. This Court said:

"It has been settled for almost a century

that corporations are persons within the

meaning of the Fourteenth Amendment."

Citing Santa Clara County vs. Southern

Pacific R. Co., 118 U.S. 394, 6 S.Ct.

1132, 30 L.Ed. 118 (1886); and

Covington and Lexington Turnpike R. Co.

vs. Sandford, 164 U.S. S78, 17 S.ct. 158,

41 L.Ed. 560 (1896), Id. at 435 U.S. 780,

ps: a &. 7

In reaching that determination, this Court

noted that states were not free to define

the rights of their creatures without con-

stitutional limit. The court said:

"Otherwise, corporations could be denied

the protection of all constitutional

guarantees, including due process and

the equal protection of laws." Id. at

435 U.6. 779, tn. 24.

14

Admittedly, a distinction may be made

between the petitioners, which are public

corporations, and the appellant in Bellotti,

which was a private corporation. It is sub-

mitted, however, that that distinction makes

no difference to the principle involved,

which is whether parties to legal proceedings

can expect and demand the due process guaran-

tees of the Fourteenth Amendment.

In fact, this Court has previously recog-

nized that private and public corporations

should be treated as natural persons for

purposes of constitutional analysis. [In

Monell vs. Department of Social Services,

436 U.S. S53 38 SCE 8 S.Ct. 2018, 56 L.Ed.2d 611

(1978) this Court considered whether school

districts and other municipal corporations

were "persons" subject to liability for

denial of civil rights under the Civil

_ Rights Act of 1871 (42 U.S.C. 1983). The

decision in Monell turned upon the Court's

analysis of the legislative history of the

Act.

After that analysis, however, the Court

considered the status of private and public

corporations in 1871. The court said:

"In addition, by 1871, it was well under-

stood that corporations should be

treated as natural persons for virtually

all purposes of constitutional and

statutory analysis." Id. at 436 U.S. 687.

The Court noted that this had not always

been the case, and it was not until

Louisville R. Co. vs. Letson, 2 How. 497,

ll L.Ed. 353 (1844) that the Court held

that a corporation was to be deemed as a

person for all intents and purposes, and

treated as a citizen of a state as much as

a natural person. The Court then went on

to say:

15

"And only two years before the debate on

the Civil Rights Act, in Cowles vs.

Mercer County, 7 Wall 118, 121, 19 L.Ed.

86 (1869), the Letson principle was

automatically and without discussion

extended to municipal corporations.

Under this doctrine, municipal corpora-

tions were routinely sued in the federal

courts. . ." Id. at 436 U.S. 688

In Monell this Court noted that the usual

meaning of the word person would extend to

municipal corporations. Id.

Decisions of other state courts appear

to be split on the question. In City of

Mountlake Terrace vs. Wilson, 549 P.2d 497

(Wash. App. 1976) the Washington court said:

"The due process clause protects people

from government; it does not protect the

state from itself. Municipal corpora-

tions are political subdivisions of the

state, created for exercising such

governmental powers of the state as may

be entrusted to them and they may not

assert the protection of the due process

clause against actions of the state

government." Id. at 498

A similar holding was made in Moses

Lake School District vs. Big Bend Community

College, 503 P.2d 86 (Wash. 1972). In

1974 the Court denied the standing of a

school district to raise constitutional

issues relating to school financing.

Northshore School District vs. Kinnear,

530 P.2d 178 (Wash. 1974).

On the other hand, in School District No.

23 vs. School Planning Committee, 361 P.2d

360 (Colo. 1961) the Supreme Court of

16

Colorado said:

"Both Federal and State Constitutions

provide that one may not be deprived

of his property except by due process of

law. Plaintiff, even though a mere

school district, has the right to insist

that its property shall not be taken

without adherence to this constitutional

safeguard. On this basis alone Plaintiff

has sufficient interest to maintain the

action. Id. at 361

The Illinois court has held that a school

board may assert a denial of equal protection

of the laws if it is a member of a class

being discriminated against, even though due

process guarantees in the ordinary sense do

not extend to them. Cronin vs. Lindberg,

360 N.E.2d 360 (111. 1976).

In Iowa, the Court, although stating

that a school district is not a "person"

under provisions of the constitution, did

allow the ghee due process of a

hearing. Lincoln T School District vs.

Redfield Consolidated School BEREESEES 283

N.W. 881 (Iowa 1939).

In Arizona, although stating that a

municipality has no rights or privileges

arising under the U.S. Constitution which

it may assert against the state which

created it, the court held that munici-

palities have rights granted to them under

the State Constitution which they may assert

against a state statute - and the right to

bring suit to protect or enforce such rights

is inherent in the power granted. Town of

Wickenburg vs. State, 565 P.2d 1326 (Ariz.

1977) .

17

Minnesota and Missouri courts have stated

that school districts are not persons within

the protections of due process. Village of

Blaine vs. Independent School District, 138

N.W.2d 32 (Minn. 1965); State vs. State Tax

Commission, 589 S.W.2d 613 (Mo. 1979).

It is submitted, however, that there is

no logical reason to hold that the Petition-

ers, and through them the taxpayers and

patrons they represent, are not entitled to

avail themselves of the due process guarantee

of the Fourteenth Amendment. It must be

remembered that the Petitioners were created

by the state government specifically for the

purpose of governing and maintaining the

public schools within their boundaries.

Their creator, the Wyoming State Legislature,

gave the school districts board powers to

effectuate that purpose, including the

right to be a party to this litigation to

assert their position on the questions

raised. They did so, however, as repre-

sentatives of the taxpayers and patrons

within the districts.

The U.S. Supreme Court, in its decision

rendered in Board of Liquidation vs.

Louisiana, 179 U.S. 622, 45 L.Ed. 347, found

a Similar situation. In the Louisiana court

the want of capacity was expressly put at

issue and passed on, the court holding

that both bodies (commissions established

by the state) occupied such a fiduciary

relation as to empower them to assert that

enforcement of provisions of the state

Constitution would impair the obligations

of contracts. Motions to dismiss for the

reason that the commissions did not have

capacity to plead impairment of contracts

in violation of the Constitution of the

United States, were then held to be without

colorable support. As Mr. Justice White

18

7”

stated (p. 637) such argument "is but to

say at one and the same time that there was

capacity and incapacity to assert and protect

the contract rights."

Hindsight would suggest that the Defendant

school districts should have assisted an

interested taxpayer in intervening to assert

his rights as a taxpayer in this litigation.

Had that been done, there would be no ques-

tion but that the taxpayer would be entitled

to avail himself of the due process guaran-

tee of the Fourteenth Amendment. At the

outset of this case, however, none of the

parties had any reason to believe that the

Wyoming Supreme Court would shortcut the

judicial process and reach its determination

on the merits based upon evidence about

which the defendants had no notice and no

chance to rebut, assumptions of crucial

factual matters, and without even giving

the Defendants a chance to present argument

on the substantive legal questions involved.

The mere fact that the parties to the liti-

gation were the entities created by the

State to enforce the rights of its tax-

payers should not be an excuse to deprive

those taxpayers, through the school district,

of their constitutional rights.

It is respectfully submitted, therefore,

that this case falls directly within the

ground set forth in Rule 19.1(a) of the

Revised Rules of the Supreme Court of the

United States. When the Wyoming Supreme

Court denied the petitioners’ Petition for

Rehearing, it clearly decided a federal

question of substance in a way that is not

in accord with the applicable decisions of

this Court. The petitioners, and through

them the taxpayers and patrons they

represent, are entitled to at least the

fundamental elements of due process of law,

19

which includes the right to have notice of

and to rebut opposing evidence, the right

to have a trier of fact (including a jury if

the petitioners are ever given the opportu-

nity to make a demand for one) determine

disputed factual issues, and the right to

present its position on the substantive

legal questions which are to be determined.

CONCLUSION

This Petition for Writ of Certiorari

should, for the foregoing reasons, be

granted.

Respectfully submitted,

ORIGINAL SIGNED BY

ROSS D. COPENHAVER

OF ROSS D. COPENHAVER, P.C.

Counsel for Petitioners

P.O. Box 839

Powell, Wyoming 82435

(Ph. 307 754-2276)

20

APPENDIX A

IN THE SUPREME COURT, STATE OF WYOMING

OCTOBER TERM, A.D. 1979

1/15/80

WASHAKIE COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT

NUMBER ONE, DONNA MOBERLY, MARY JANE

SCHMELTZER, RANDALL RIDEOUT, HAROLD

McDONALD, HARRY UJIFUSA, ROBERT

MOODY and JAMES ARGERIS, being all

of the members of THE BOARD OF

TRUSTEES OF WASHAKIE COUNTY SCHOOL

DISTRICT NUMBER ONE; MARY JANE

SCHMELTZER as next friend for

CHRISTOPHER SCHMELTZER, JOE

SCHMELTZER, and FRANCES SCHMELTZER,

minors; RANDALL RIDEOUT as next

friend for JASON RIDEOUT, ANTHONY

RIDEOUT, and MICHAEL RIDEOUT, minors;

HAROLD McDONALD as next friend for

KEVEN McDONALD, KEITH McDONALD,

DAVID McDONALD, KENNETH McDONALD,

and BRIAN McDONALD, minors, HARRY

UJIFUSA as next friend for KELLY

UJIFUSA and GAYLE UJIFUSA, minors;

ROBERT MOODY as next friend for

TODD MOODY, SHERRI MOODY, CINDY

MOODY, JOHN MOODY, Ai MOODY, and

SCOTT MOODY, minors; and JAMES

ARGERIS as next friend for JAYME

ARGERIS, TAWN ARGERIS, and BRETT

ARGERIS, minors;

UINTA COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT NUMBER

SIX, G. GRANT REDDEN, CLINT WALKER,

F. DANNY EYRE, DONALD R. CARROLL and

CURTIS MORGAN being all of the

members of THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF

UINTA COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT NUMBER

SIX,* FREMONT COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT

NUMBER 25, DENNIS TIPPETS, L. J.

GERAUD, PATRICIA B. FERRIS, ALICE

KUCERA, STANLEY SMALLEY, and THOMAS

me ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee et ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee

YOUTZ, being all of the members of

THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF FREMONT

COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT NUMBER TWENTY

FIVE, and ALBERT B. SCHULTZ,

Appellants

(Plaintiffs),

Ve

ED HERSCHLER, Governor, State of

Wyoming, LYNN SIMONS, State

Superintendent of Public Instruction,

SHIRLEY WITTLER, Wyoming State

Treasurer, JOHN PATTON, KEITH WEST,

DR. DENIS LYMAN, BARBARA ROGERS,

KEITH BECKER, REDELL HOOPER, KAREN

HAND, DR. DONALD BLAKESLEE, GLENN

ENGLEKING, being all of the members

of the WYOMING STATE BOARD OF EDUCA-

TION, PARK COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT

NUMBER SIXTEEN, CAMPBELL COUNTY

SCHOOL DISTRICT NUMBER ONE, CONVERSE

COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT NUMBER ONE,

HOT SPRINGS COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT

NUMBER ONE, CARBON COUNTY SCHOOL

DISTRICT NUMBER TWO, SUBLETTE COUNTY

SCHOOL DISTRICT NUMBER NINE,

SWEETWATER COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT

NUMBER ONE, and LINCOLN COUNTY

SCHOOL DISTRICT NUMBER ONE,

Appellees

(Defendants).

Appeal from the District Court of Hot

Springs County, the Honorable Joseph

F. Maier, Judge.

John W. Davis and Jeffrey A. Donnell,

Worland, signed the bried; and Mr.

Davis appeared in oral argument on be-

half of the appellants.

A-2

de a di i le i i i ee ee ee ee

John D. Troughton, Attorney General,

Mary B. Guthrie, Assistant Attorney

General, Lawrence J. Wolfe, Legal

Intern; T. Michael Golden, Rawlings,

for Carbon County School District No.

2; Ross D. Copenhaver, Powell, for Hot

Springs County School District No. l

and Sublette County School District

No. 9; Dennis L. Sanderson, Kemmerer,

for Lincoln County School District

No. 1; J. Patrick Hand, Douglas, for

Converse County School District No. 1;

L. B. Cozzens, Cody, for Park County

School District No. 16; and Wade Brorby,

Gillette, for Campbell County School

District No. 1, signed the brief for

appellees. Messrs. Wolfe and Golden

appeared in oral argument on behalf of

appellees.

Before RAPER, C.J., MCCLINTOCK, THOMAS,

and ROSE, JJ, and HILL, D.J.**

*Uinta County School District Number

Six,.G. Grant Redden, Clint Walker, F.

Danny Eyre, Donald R. Carroll and Curtis

Morgan, being all of the members of

the Board of Trustees of Uinta County

School District Number Six did not

participate in this appeal.

** Justice Rooney having recused himself,

District Judge Robert A. Hill, Second

Judicial District, was assigned.

RAPER, Chief Justice.

On June 20, 1978, the appellants

brought action under the Wyoming Uniform

Declaratory Judgments Act 1/ seeking

relief from the Wyoming system of financ-

ing public education. The appellants

described in their complaint the ine-

quities that are resulting from the

financing system currently used in this

state and asked as relief that the system

be declared violative of the Wyoming

Constitution. In the latter part of

August, 1978, numerous motions to dismiss

2/ were filed by the defendants. Memo-

randa of law were submitted by all

parties on the various issues raised in

the motions to dismiss. After some

intermediate proceedings, the district

court entered its order dismissing the

complaint on May 4, 1979. The order

dismissing the complaint stated no ground

upon which it was based. However, a

letter from the district court to the

parties under date of April 10, 1979,

sheds some light on the action:

"I have considered

the various memorandums

of all counsel previously

submitted with regard to

the above captioned case

and specifically with

regard to my prior re-

quest that there be con-

sidered the possibility

of stipulations which

would permit the sub-

mission of the case to

the Wyoming Supreme

Court on reserved con-

stitutional questions.

"Counsel have obvi-

ously taken the position

that they do not desire

to cooperate in such an

endeacor and since

the Court has no ability

to require them to do so

I can only conclude

that we cannot proceed

in that manner at this

time. I felt that

it was important to

the citizens of this

state and the various

school districts that

this case be resolved by

a final decision of the

Supreme Court in the

earliest and most econ-

omical manner but that

obviously is not going

to happen.

"Consequently, as I

indicated at the oral

hearing in Thermopolis,

the Court will grant the

motions to dismiss. De-

fendant's counsel are

directed to prepare

appropriate orders and

to submit the same to all

counsel for approval and

then to the Court for

signature and entry.

2/ The defendants'

1/ Sec. 1-37-101 to 1-37-115, W.S.1977.

was enlarged by the court under a

stipulation entered into by the parties.

A-5

time in which to answer

"I presume that

following that, this case

could languish on for

several appeals and many

years before we get any

final determination on

the merits, for which

I am genuinely regretful."

The district court's action in dismissing

appears to be antithetical to his ex-

pressed hope for an early and economical

decision of the case and the avoidance of

multiple appeals. As will become evi-

dent as this opinion progresses, the

district court's action will in fact not

serve to delay a substantive decision of

this crucial question. We will hold

the Wyoming system of school financing

unconstitutional in that it fails to

afford equal protection in violation of

the Wyoming Constitution.

The motions to dismiss were based on

several grounds. Essentially they were

these:

(1) Appellants' complaint

does not state a claim

on which relief can be

granted.

(2) The appellants’ complaint

lacks specificity, i.e.,

it does not specifically

identify the statute or

statutes which they

allege to be in contra-

vention of the constitu-

tion but rather merely

assert that the "system

of financing public

education" is in

violation of the constitu-

tion.

(3) The appellants' each

lack standing to bring

the complaint.

(4) The appellants' action is

not a justiciable contro-

versy: The questions

presented are political

in nature and must be

addressed by the legis-

lature rather than the

courts.

(5) The appellants' action

is defective because they

failed to join every tax-

payer as a party.

(6) The appellants' action

should be dismissed for

failure to request a

proper remedy.

Since the appellees asserted these nu-

merous grounds as bases for dismissal in

the district court and since the district

court did not specify on which ground or

grounds he based his grant of dismissal,

we will address each of these issues seri-

ally, giving to each a brief but clearly

defined answer, before proceeding to the

principal question raised by this appeal--

i.e., is the Wyoming system of financing

public education in violation of the

Wyoming Constitution? As the momentum of

the opinion accelerates, these prelimin-

ary questions will fade from sight as

superficial.

Appellees assert that the appellants'

complaint does not state a claim on which

relief can be granted. The appellants

are claiming that under the Wyoming Con-

stitution they have a right to a school

financing system that provides a relativ-

ely uniform amount of money on an annual

per-pupil basis to each of the Wyoming

school districts, 3/ i.e., they are enti-

tled to an equal educational opportunity.

Further they claim that under the financ-

ing system which has been established by

the legislature they are denied such an

equal educational opportunity. Wyoming

has adopted the Uniform Declaratory Judg-

ments Act, supra. It is evident from

a reading of the Act

interpreting it that

was properly brought

of that legislation.

seek a determination

and status under the

and the case law

the instant action

under the auspices

The appellants

of their rights

constitution and

statues of this state.4/

3/ We are well aware that the formula

that will provide equality will be quite

complex. More money may be needed in one

school district to achieve quality educa-

tion than in another because of, e.g.,

transportation costs, building maintenance

costs, construction costs, logistic con-

siderations, number of pupils with special

problems, et cetera. However, it is not a

problem that cannot be solved, challenging

though it might be.

4/ The most significant provisions are:

Sec. 1-37-1102, W.S.1977:

"Courts of record

within their respec-

tive jurisdictions may

We will not deny the direction of the Act

that it be liberally construed and admini-

stered, particularly when there is a

question of great public importance as is

the one before us. Brimmer v. Thomson,

Wyo. 1974, 521 p.2d 574. Those statutes

empower the courts to grant relief of a

declaratory nature. We can only conclude

that the appellants’ complaint states a

claim on which relief can be granted.

declare rights, status

and other legal rela-

tions whether or not

further relief is or

could be claimed. No

proceeding is open to

objection on the ground

that a declaratory judg-

ment may be either affir-

mative or negative in

form and effect, and

such declarations shall

have the effect of a

final judgment."

Sec. 1-37-103, W.S.1977:

"Any person interes-

ted under a deed, will,

written contract or other

writings constituting

a contract, or whose rights,

status or other legal

relations are affected

by the Wyoming consti-

tution or by a statute,

municipal ordinance, con-

tract or franchise, may

have any question of con-

struction or validity

arising under the instru-

ment determined and obtain

Appellees assert that the complaint

lacks specificity in that it fails to

enumerate the statutes which it claims

to be in violation of the Wyoming Con-

stitution in that appellants contented

themselves with stating merely that the

"system" of financing public education

is in violation of the constitution.

Although it certainly may have been

better had the appellants been more de-

tailed in their allegations, we cannot

conclude that the complaint was so defi-

cient as to require dismissal, particu-

larly since we do not intend to be as

specific in our disposition as appellees

might wish. Whether the specificity

standard has been satisfied is to be

determined in terms of whether the plead-

ings give fair notice to the opposing

party. Harris v. Grizzle, Wyo. 1979,

599 p.2d 580.

a declaration of rights,

status or other legal

relations."

Sec. 1-37-107, W.S.1977:

"The enumeration in W.S.

1-37-103 through 1-37-106

does not limit or re-

strict the exercise of the

general powers conferred

in W.S. 1-37-102 in any

proceeding where declar-

atory relief is sought,

in which a judgment or

decree will terminate the

controversy or remove an

uncertainty."

A-10

We cannot ignore that appellees

demonstrated from the very beginning

their complete understanding of the

statutes that appellants complained of

and how those statutes contributed to

the ailments described in the complaint.

We can only conclude that the appellants’

use of the language "system" of financing

public education, under the special and

unique circumstances of this case, was

as plain and clear a reference to

statutes as if they had cited them by

chapter and section numbers, We have no

problem locating the pertinent constitu-

tional provisions and related statutory

sections; they are easily identifiable.

To urge us to decide otherwise would be

to ask us to stick our heads in the sand,

Appellees have asserted that each

of the named appellants lack standing

to sue under the circumstances presented

by this case. As defined in Black's

Law Dictionary, pp. 1260-1261, 5th ed.

(1979):

"Standing to sue doc-

trine. ‘Standing to sue’

means that party has sufficient

stake in an otherwise justi-

fiable controversy to obtain

judicial resolution of that

controversy. Sierra Club v.

Morton, 405 U.S. 727, 92 S.Ct.

1361, 1364, 31 L.Ed.2d. 636.

Standing is a concept utilized

to determine if a party is suf-

ficiently affected so as to in-

sure that a justiciable contro-

versy is presented to the court.

The requirement of 'standing'

is satisfied if it can be said

that the plaintiff has a legally

A-11

protectible and tangible

interest at stake in the

litigation. Guidry v.

Roberts, La. App., 331

So.2d 44,50. Standing is

a jurisdictional issue

which concerns power of

federal courts to hear

and decide cases and does

not concern ultimate

merits of substantive

claims involved in the

action. Weiner v. Bank

of King of Prussia, D.C.

Pa., 358 F. Supp. 684, 695.

"Standing is a require-

ment that the plaintiffs

“have been injured or been

threatened with injury by

governmental action com-

plained of, and focuses on

the question of whether

the litigant is the proper

party to fight the lawsuit,

not whether the issue it-

self is justiciable. Caro-

lina Environmental Study

Group, Inc. v. U. S. Atomic

Energy Comm., D.C.N.C., 431

F.Supp. 203, 218. Essence

of standing is that no per-

son is. entitled to assail

the constitutionality of an

ordinance or statute except

as he himself is adversely

affected by it. Sandoval

v. Ryan, Colo.App., 535

P.2d 244, 247."

Standing is a concept used to deter-

mine whether a party is sufficiently

affected to insure that a justiciable con-

troversy is presented tc the court.

A-12

67A C.J.S., Parties, Sec. 12, p. 662. It

is a necessary and useful tool to be used

by courts in ferreting out those cases

which ask the courts to render advisory

opinions or decide an artificial or

academic controversy without there being

a palpable injury to be remedied. However,

it is not a rigid or dogmatic rule but

one that must be applied with some view

to realities as well as practicalities.

Standing should not be construed narrow-

ly or restrictively. Wisconsin's Environ-

mental Decade Inc.. v. Public Service

Commission of Wisconsin, 1975, 69 Wis.2d l,

230 N.W.2d 243, 249. Further, as said in

Residents of Beverly Glen, Inc. v. City

of Los Angeles, 1973, 34 Cal.App.3d 117,

109 Cal.Rptr. 724,727:

"In recent years

there has been a marked

accommodation of formerly

strict procedural require-

ments of standing to sue

(citation) and even of

capacity to sue (citation)

where matters relating to

the ‘social and economic

realities of the present-

day organization of society'

(citation) are concerned.

Accordingly, we have seen

a retreat from * * *

formalism and rigidity* * *."

The appellants in this suit are three

school districts and the school board

members of those districts, 5/ the school

board members as taxpayers and as parents

of children attending the school districts

and several students who attend schools in

5/ One of these school districts and its

A=-13

Washakie County School District Number

One.

Educating the youth of our state is

an important function performed by our

state government. Our constitution, as

we shall see, plainly expresses the commit-

ment of a free people to the value of a

thorough education. The school districts

and the members of school boards are

charged with the responsibility of pro-

viding education to the children of Wyo-

ming and are tangibly injured if the

statutes which guide their hands disen-

able them from so providing. Parents

are keenly concerned and suffer tangi-

ble injury if their children themselves

are,obviously, tangibly injured if they

do not uniformly receive the best educa-

tion that tax resources can provide.

With these considerations in mind, we

hold that each of the named appellants

has standing to sue under the circum-

stances of this case.

Appellees asserted that the question

presented by the declaratory judgment

action does not present a justiciable con-

troversy and is essentially a political

question that can and must be answered

board members, which was a plaintiff

(appellant) below, did not join in this

appeal, but that does not affect the

issues. Their interests neither add to

nor detract from the interests of appell-

ants nor are they necessary to an adjudi-

cation.

A-14 \

only by the legislature. We agree that

the legislature must act; but, as shall

be made clear as we proceed, it must

enact .ax legislation to support public

schools consistent with the spirit and

letter of the Wyoming Constitution. This

question of justiciability is closely tied

to those we have answered abcve. We

concede that the issues raised in a de-

claratory judgment action must constitute

a justiciable controversy. The criteria

which qualify a justiciable controversy

are set out in Brimmer v. Thomson, supra,

521 P.2d at 578, quoting from Sorenson v.

City of Bellingham, 80 Wash.2d 547, 496

P.2@ 512, Si7s

=a, © ° Piset, &@

justiciable controversy

requires parties having

existing and genuine, as

distinguished from theo-

retical, rights, or in-

terests. Second, the

controversy must be one

upon which the judgment

of the court may effec-

tively operate, as dis-

tinguished from a debate

or argument evoking a

purely political, admin-

istrative, philosophical

or academic conclusion.

Third, it must be a con-

troversy the judicial

determination of which

will have the force and

effect of a final judg-

ment in law or decree in

equity upon the rights,

status or other legal

relationships of one or

more of the real parties

A-15

in interest * * *,

Finally, the proceedings

must be genuinely adver-

sary in character and not

a mere disputation, but

advanced with sufficient

militancy to engender a

thorough research and

analysis of the major

issues.* * *°*

We find each of these qualifications to

be met in the instant case. Nonetheless,

we point out that in declaratory judgment

actions there is a well-recognized excep-

tion that the rule requiring the exis-

tence of justiciable controversies is

somewhat relaxed in matters of great

public interest or importance. Brimmer,

Supra, 521 P.2d at 578. We have already

made clear our view and will amplify on

it, that the matter of education involves

a fundamental interest of great public

importance. This is no more a political

question than any other challenge to the

constitutionality of statutes. Declar-

ing the validity of statutes in relation

to the constitution is a power vested in

the courts as one of the checks and

balances contemplated by the division

of government into three departments--

legislative, executive and judicial--

ever since first enunciated in Marbury

v. Madison, 1803, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch) 137

and carried forward into Wyoming state

government by Sec. 1, Art. II, Wyoming

Constitution.

Appellees assert that all taxpayers

in this state had to be served in order

A-16

to comply with Sec. 1-37-113, W.S.1977.6/

We do not agree. A summons and copy of

2 complaint were served upon the

Attorney General of the State of Wyoming.7/

This was in compliance with the statute,

Sec. 1-37-113, W.S.1977. Also see, 12

Uniform Laws Annotated, Declaratory Judg-

ments Act, Sec. 11; and Annotations, 71

A.L.R.2d 723. There is no merit to the

claim that appellants’ complaint should

have been dismissed for failure to name

all taxpayers as defendants. Such a re-

quirement would be a departure from reason.

6/ Sec. 1-37-1113, W.S.1977:

"When declaratory

relief is sought, all

persons shall be made

parties who have or claim

any interest which would

be affected by the declar-

ation, and no declaration

shall prejudice the rights

of persons not parties to

the proceeding. In any

proceeding which involves

the validity of a municipal

ordinance or franchise, the

municipality shall be

made a party and may be

heard. If the statute,

ordinance or franchise is

alleged to be unconstitu-

tional, the attorney gen-

eral of the state shall be

served with a copy of the

proceeding and may be heard."

7/ The appellees named in the complaint

(appropriate substitutions have been made to

account for changes to officeholder and

committee membership) are the Governor

A-17 |

Finally, the appellees assert that

the motion to dismiss was properly granted

because the appellants did not seek a

proper remedy. The appellants asked as

their remedy that the Wyoming system of

public school financing be declared un-

constitutional and that the courts retain

jurisdiction over the controversy, stay-

ing the declaration and delaying further

remedy until the Wyoming legislature

shall next again meet. Appellants may

not be entitled to the exact relief

they requested, but their complaint was

not subject to dismissal because of the

prayer for relief. The appellees cited

no authority nor have we uncovered any

which would require the dismissal of

appellants’ complaint on this ground.

Indeed, as shall be further developed in

the course of this opinion, the demand

for relief is quite similar to that

granted by courts which have addressed

the question of unconstitutional public

school financing statutes, which we shall

cite.

We hold that the claim of plaintiffs-

appellants has been brought on solid

jurisdictional and procedural ground and

the controversy is ripe for decision.

of the State of Wyoming, Wyoming's

Superintendent of Public Instruction

and State Treasurer, all members of the

Wyoming State Board of Education, and

several school districts in which dis-

proportionate tax base wealth exists.

A-18

Courts have a duty to uphold the

constitutionality of statutes which the

legislature has enacted if that is at

all possible, and any doubt must be re-

solved in favor of constitutionality.

Witzenburger v. State, Wyo. 1978, 575

P.2d 1100, 1112; Lund v. Schrader, Wyo.

1971, 492 P2d 202, 206. Though the

Supreme court has the duty to give

deference to legislative pronouncements

and to uphold constitutionality when

possible, it is the court's equally

imperative duty to declare a legisla-

tive enactment invalid if it transgresses

the state constitution. Witzenburger,

supra, 575 P.2d at 1114. In our consi-

deration of this case, we have con-

sistently kept these basic principles

in mind to avoid a declaration of un-

constitutionality--but doubt is not

present.

This court has previously con-

sidered school financing in the State

of Wyoming and at that time recognized

that ad valorem taxes for school pur-

poses were not equalized, as required

by Sec. 28, Art. I, Wyoming Constitu-

tion.8/ Sweetwater County Planning

Committee for Organization of School

Districts v. Hinkle, Wyo. 1971, 491

P.2d 1234. That case will be referred

to as Hinkle where hereafter mentioned

in this opinion. The court there made

certain suggestions to the legislature

which were intended as a pare-bone

proposal for legislation intended to

divide equally amongst the school

8/ Section 28, Art. I, Wyoming Con-

stitution: "* * *All taxation shall be

equal and uniform." Our decision in

A-19

districts all funds derived from ad

valorem tax levies, as contemplated by

Sec. 28, Art. I, Wyoming Constitution.9/

We affirm the proposition that, as nearly

as practicable, funds derived from ad

valorem tax levies must be equally

divided amongst the school districts

of the entire state. The court indi-

cated that it had been considerably

influenced by the landmark case of

Serrano v. Priest, 1971, 5 Cal.3d 584,

96 Cal. Rptr. 601, 487 P.2d 1241, 41

A.L.R.3d 1187, a case which in general

held that a system of public school

financing which relies heavily on local

property taxes and causes substantial

disparities among individual school

districts in amount of revenue available

per pupil invidiously discriminates

against the students of the poor per-

sons and is invalid as a violation of

the due process clause of the Four-

teenth Amendment to the Constitution

of the United States and the equivalent

provision of the California Constitution.

We see nothing in our study to indicate

this case will not rest upon this consti-

tutional provision, though it undoubtedly

bears upon the total constitutional

picture of taxation with respect to

public schools.

9/ The court excluded from consideration

funds derived from the six-mill state

levy; motor vehicle fees; fines and

forfeitures; Forest Revenue; Land Income;

Taylor Grazing and all state and federal

funds not derived from ad valorem taxes

levied at the county level.

A-20

that, in this state, poor persons or

the children of poor persons are

affected any differently than the

children of persons in more affluent

circumstances. All children in some

districts are deprived. This situation

does not divest the above-cited case of

its soundness or applicability to the

situation we have in Wyoming.

Violation of the Fourteenth Amend-

ment of the U. S. Constitution as a ground

for invalidating state systems of school

finance has lost any viability since the

decision of the United States Supreme

Court in San Antonio Independent School

District v. Rodriquez, 1973, 411 U.S. l,

93 S.Ct. 1278, 36 L.Ed.2d 16, which

held that the Texas system had no federal

constitutional flaws in that the right

to education is not explicitly or im-

plicitly guaranteed by the terms of the

United States Constitution. We find

no need to dwell on Rodriquez any fur-

ther because the decision we reach will

be based on the provisions of the

Wyoming Constitution, which is the

authority we are governed by in this

case,

This court retained jurisdiction in

the Hinkle case for a "final decision

after the next regular session of the

legislature and for whatever further

orders or disposition may be necessary

in the meantime." In February, 1972,

the court relinguished jurisdiction to

permit the parties to settle their

differences. In closing the case, this

court declared that while it could no

longer ignore inequalities in the

matter of taxation for school purposes,

nothing could be done until the legis-

lature convened and thereafter some

A-21

adversely affected taxpayer could maintain

an action on the question of invidious

discrimination if it still existed after

the legislature had convened and adjourned.

Hinkle, supra, upon reopening, Wyo. 1972,

493 P.2d at 1050. The filing of this

lawsuit breathed new life into that

controversy and the determination of

this court to provide a suitable remedy

to this problem,

In a later case, where a considera-

tion of the financing of schools within

a county was at issue, this court recog-

nized the serious nature of the disparity

in assessed valuation per pupil and

referred to students as "victims" when

located in school districts having a low

valuation ratio as compared to school

districts having a high valuation ratio.

In that case, the forecast of Hinkle

that the problem of unequal assessed

valuation may necessarily become the

subject of statewide action was rea-

ffirmed and it was announced that this

court cannot ignore that courts of other

states have held students are denied

equal protection 10/ when the disparity

of valuation becomes too great. Johnson

v. Schrader, Wyo. 1973, 507 P.2d 814.

10/ Equal protection is granted by Sec.

34, Article 1, Wyoming Constitution

wherein it is provided "All laws of a

general nature shall have a uniform

operation." Nehring v. Russell, Wyo.

1978, 582 P.2d 67.

A-22

Both Hinkle and Johnson involved

a consideration of the Wyoming School

District Organization Law of 1969,

Sec. 21-5-101, et seq., W.S.1977 (as

amended) (Sec. 105 through 150, ch.

111, Session Laws of Wyoming, 1969),

which had as one of its purposes to

“provide a wiser and more efficient

use Of public funds for education by

making it possible to reduce the dis-

parity in per pupil valuation among

school districts." Disparity was

thus obviously a problem which the

legislature was aware of and with

which it was attempting to grapple.

In view of its stated goal, the

difficulty with that legislation is

that it was not far reaching enough

because, even if successful, it could

only effect a reduction in disparity

between school districts within each

county. In 1971, when Hinkle was

first decided, the disparity between

counties was apparent. See appendix

to opinion, Hinkle, supra, 491 P.2d

at 1240-1250. It was apparent in the

Johnson case as well. It is still

apparent and has steadily grown even

more imbalanced. It is an intricate

unsettled question of statewide pro-

portions. The question of inequality

in school financing has been smolder-

ing too long. The continuing dispute

must be settled.

What is Wyoming's constitutional

design of educational responsibility?

"The legislature shall provide for the

establishment and maintenance of a com-

plete and uniform system of public

instruction, embracing free elementary

schools of every needed kind and grade,

* * *," (Emphasis added.) Section l,

A=-23

Art. VII, Wyoming Constitution.

"The general supervision of the public

schools shall be entrusted to the state

superintendent of public instruction,

whose powers and duties shall be pre-

scribed by law." Section 14, Art. VII,

Wyoming Constitution. These and other

constitutional expressions should leave

no doubt that the legislature has com-

plete control of the state's school

system in every respect, including

division of the state into school

districts and providing for their fi-

nancing. The legislature's powers are

subject only to restrictions on discrim-

ination on account of sex, race or color,

Sec. 10, Art. VII; prescribing textbooks,

Sec. II, Art. VII; and, sectarianism,

Sec. 12, Art. VII. The matter of pro-

viding a school system as a whole and

financing it is a responsibility of

the legislature.

Financing of schools is assured by

a broad spectrum of resources. With

statehood came a grant by Congress of

sections sixteen and thirty-six of each

township in the state or in-lieu lands.

Those lands and other miscellaneous prop-

erty acquired by the state are held in

trust as a "general school fund" and the

annual income arising from the property

is devoted exclusively to the support

of free schools "in every county" in the

state. Sections 2-8, Art. VII, Wyoming

Constitution.

Under constitutional taxing author-

ity there are several provisions:

A-24

1. A state tax

for the support of

schools: six mills on

the dollar of the as-

sessed valuation of the

property in the state

may be levied each year.

Section 15, Art. XV,

Wyoming Constitution.

2. A mandatory

county tax for the

support of schools of

twelve mills on the

dollar must be levied

each year on the as-

sessed valuation of the

property in each county.

The proceeds are distri-

buted among the school

districts within the

county as the legisla-

ture shall provide.

Section 17, Art. XV,

Wyoming Constitution.

3, A part of

county revenue from an

annual tax levy of not

to exceed twelve mills

on the dollar "for all

purposes including gen-

eral school tax, exclu-

Sive of state revenue."

Section 5, Art. XV,

Wyoming Constitution.

4. An apparent un-

limited power whereby

the legislature shall

make such further pro-

visions "by taxation or

otherwise, as with the

A-25

income arising from the

general school fund

(trust income) will cre-

ate and maintain a thor-

ough and efficient system

of public schools, ad-

equate to the proper

instruction of all youth

of the state, between

the ages of six and

twenty-one years, free

of charge; * * *,"

(Emphasis added.)

Section 9, Art. VII,

Wyoming Constitution.

Implementing the constitutional pro-

visions are various statutes. The six

mill state levy provided by Sec. 15, Art.

XV, Wyoming Constitution is covered by

Sec. 21-13-303, W.S.1977. The legislature

provides a formula for levying less than

a six mill state tax. The funds accrued

are placed in a trust fund and cannot be

transferred to any other fund or account.

The money generated is transferred into

the foundation program account, which

we shall describe.

The twelve mill county tax for school

support prescribed by Sec. 17, Art XV,

Wyoming Constitution is regulated by Sec.

21-13-201, W.S.1977. The county trea-

surer collects the tax and:

"(b) On or before

September 1 of each year,

the state department of

education shall notify

the treasurer of each

county of the percen-

tage proportion to be

allocated from the county-

A-26

wide twelve (12) mill

school levy to each school

district in his respec-

tive county. The compu-

tation of the distribu-

tion of the countywide

twelve (12) mill levy

shall be made by the

department of education

on the basis of the

number of classroom

units for the previous

year, as that number is

computed in W.S.

21.1-231 (Sec. 21-13-308).

(11/) This number, for

each district, is to be

converted into a per-

centage of the total

number of classroom

units for all school

districts within the

county. The county

treasurer shall dis-

tribute the revenue

arising from the county-

wide twelve (12) mill

levy among the school

districts of the county

according to the per-

centage computed above,

and pursuant to W.S.

21.1-223 (Sec. 21-12-207.)"

(Footnote added.)

This statute is a part of the com-

plex system of distribution of funds under

the foundation program, which we shall dis-

cuss at various points in this opinion.

The foundation program provides a signif-

icant balancing factor in school financ-

ing, but it can only go so far.

A-27

The share of the general county tax

for all county purposes, as a general

school tax, as provided by Sec. 5, Art. XV,

Wyoming Constitution, is limited by

Sec. 21-13-205, W.S.1977, to not exceed

three mills on the dollar, sufficient

to raise $300.00 for each teacher and

an amount for each school bus driver

computed according to the formula set

out in Sec. 21-13-202, W.S.1977.

In addition to the foregoing, and

apparently justified under the general

terms of Sec. 9, Art. VII, Wyoming Con-

stitution, Sec. 21-13-101, W.S.1977, pro-

vides for a school district tax:

"(a) Except as

otherwise provided by law,

the maximum rate of

school district tax

that may be levied for

all school purposes,

exclusive of bond in-

terest and redemption,

for any school district

in any school year on

each dollar of assessed

valuation within the

school district is as

follows:

"(i) In a unified

school district, twenty-

eight (28) mills for

combined elementary and

high school purposes,

three (3) mills of which

shall not be levied ex-

cept with the approval

of a majority of the

voters voting on the

proposition;

A-28

"(ii) Any elementary

nonunified school district,

sixteen and eight-tenths

(16.8) mills for elemen-

tary school purposes,

one and eight-tenths

(1.8) of which shall not

be levied except with

the approval of a

majority of the voters

voting on the proposi-

tion, plus not to ex-

ceed an additional five

(5) milis for tuition to

be expended for high

school students from

the district."12/

This will be referred to in this opinion

as the "Special District Levy." There

is no specific authority for this tax

in the state constitution such as in the

case of the state tax, the county tax

for schools and the general county tax.

At this point, the Wyoming School

Foundation Program 13/ should be briefly

discussed. Its intent is to guarantee a

minimum education for every child by

providing state financial assistance in

inverse proportion to the tax paying

ability of the local school district.

12/ All school districts have now been

unified. As amended by Sec. 1 ch. 119,

Session Laws of Wyoming, 1979.

13/ Sections 21-13-305 through 21-13-314,

W.S.1977.

A-29

In other words, where local resources are

high in some cases, little or no founda-

tion funds are paid by the State to the

district. Schools that raise relatively

large amounts of money through property

taxation receive considerable less

support, if any, from the Foundation Fund

than those districts where a comparable

levy raises a smaller amount of money.

If a district's assessed valuation--

its tax base-- is relatively high, it is

able to raise enough money to go be-

yond the foundation program, whereas

another district with low assessed valu-

ation cannot increase its revenues to

such a level even by taking advantage

of all available local taxes.

The money apportioned to the schools

from the Foundation Fund has several

sources. In the Foundation Fund are

placed all state moneys for elementary

and secondary education, Sec. 21-13-306,

W.S.1977, except the Land Income Fund

which, by Sec. 21-13-301, W.S.1977, must

be distributed among the counties accord-

ing to the number of pupils in each, as

determined by statutory direction.14/

See also, Sec. 21-13-301 and 21-13-302,

W.S.1977, as amended. The six mill

state levy on property, including motor

vehicle registrations, is a Foundation

14/ Section 8, Art. VII, Wyoming Con-

stitution originally read the same as

the statute cited. Section 8 was amended

by resolution adopted by the 1978 legis-

lature, ratified by vote of the people

at the 1978 general election, and pro-

claimed in effect on November 25, 1978.

It now provides "for the equitable

allocation of such income among all

A-30

Fund primary source, but, in addition,

the legislature appropriates money from

the State's general fund. In 1978,

$26,750,000 was appropriated from the

general fund, Sec. 15, ch. 42, Session

Laws of Wyoming, 1978, for the period

July 1, 1978 and ending June 30, 1980.

The foundation program is intended

to take into account not only a basic

education but also to consider excep-

tional and handicapped children, voca-

tional training, kindergarten, the

problems of a one-teacher rural school,

bus transportation, tuition paid by

one district to another, other variables

and supplemental aid for those districts

with less than the minimum assessed

valuation per classroom unit.15/

school districts in the state." This

income could now conceivably be included

in the foundation program, but apparently

the legislature meeting in 1979 did

not take any action as a result of the

amendment, other than refer to Average

Daily Membership rather than according

to number of pupils. For all practical

purposes, ADM and number of pupils are

the same.

15/ For an excellent description and de-

tailed discussion of the foundation pro-

gram, see, The Wyoming School Foundation

Program, published by the State Depart-

ment of Education, 1976, found in the

Wyoming State Library.

A-31

The sources to pay the cost of

education in Wyoming for 1977-1978 is

illustrated and clarified by the follow-

ing table and pie taken from the Statis-

tical Report Series No. 3, Wyoming Public

Schools Fund Accounting and Reporting,

1977-78, published by the Division of

Planning, Evaluation and Information

Services, State Department of Education,

Page 1: 16/ +

16/ This court may take judicial notice

of the official reports of the State

Department of Education, Hinkle, supra,

491 P.2d and 1237. This particular

tabulation and illustration will be re-

ferred to as Table 1. The statistics

we will use in this opinion cover the

period in question and are on file in

the Wyoming State Library. Complete

1979 statistics are not yet available.

A=-32

17S‘ L00‘%

O19‘ 26

116‘60Z‘9

£89°276°LS

ees ‘98

£60*S8t

Ost *£42°zT

$99°SLI*S

796°8L0'TY

12S ‘68

z0z ‘ZI

zze*ze

798‘ 6e°Z

695‘19

OCT ‘Oz

666‘8¥z7‘Z

2£90°187°Z

“eL‘yzo*ee = §

puny wonr;si04

$

$

1

TABLE NO.

607OL0‘ORT$ 2Senueasy pung TeleUeD T#IO]

IWLOL ‘IVuaaad

12420

a ae |

Sa9uNOs TWwadad

IVLOL ALVIS

2283S 19420

Suyzeay rz0TAel

puny owoduy puey

wei8o0ig voy epunog

SADaNOS ALVLS

‘IVLOL ALNNOD

4yuno9 13420

@alasey 3S8a104¥

xBL °OD 18D TIIW ZT

Seinjfajaoyg pue sauyy

Sexey juenbus (ag

@T2F49A AOIOW ‘*Oy *UaD

xey Aqunog [e1aua9

@TITYPA 1070R “TTIW ZI

xey Aquno) TTIK ZI

Sd4D4unos ALNNOD

84-2261 S3NN3AIY GONNA WWYINID “AUVWWNS I1VIS

&97‘9S9°9L

618‘T08

86092

LL2‘°961

$16‘S2Z

194‘869

7LL‘61

LT9‘T9€

980‘7£z

0SL‘874

€06

0€6‘ 166

€10‘0S

176 ‘C6

SL9°%E

292°2t

080‘6ZT

L19‘0€Z

979° 00€

€19‘O9

Z¥€°9Z

681 ‘207

879°SZ

890‘S99‘4

70° 8£6‘99

TVLOL ‘TVD01

snoauel,[e2stH

siajsuell puny

3’va, s0yAg ‘SpuNzay

suoyz esuadwoy so}

Slessy paxti jo eT¥s

Suo}3NG}I23U0D

srequay

Aagazaev tring 129410

suoyssswpy

@2IFAIIS poog

awo2uy 3823102uU]

Saaq vot eIIodsuelyL

suvi8oig aap eisdoo)

JoOoyrs souans

voy wonpy 3AlApy

squapnis podded;puey

BOFIFAL 2283S-INO

UOTIFAL 9303S-uUl

Teo] 138430

uot #a12ay FY Syald

Sax¥] quanbut[ed

xey Auedwo) 189

XBL al2;YyeAQ 2030N

Sax¥]l 2TIISTqG Te}IedsS

SIDUNOS ‘TVDOT

A-33

In this opinion we will consider for

the most part the property tax sources of

income for schools. There are other

sources of income for the various school

districts such as fines and forfeitures

paid to the county treasurers pursuant

to Sec. 5, Art. VII, Wyoming Constitution;

17/ gifts, Sec. 3, Art. VII, Wyoming

Constitution, and Sec. 21-13-403, W.S.

1977; federal aid and grants, Sec. 21-13-

401 through 21-13-403; and miscellaneous

receipts as shown by the foregoing Table

No. 1. The principal source of local

school support comes from property taxes

raised by mill (1/1,000th of one dollar

or 1/10th of a cent) levy on each dollar

of assessed valuation. It is this latter

source, wherein originates the dis-

parity and constitutional fault. Were

all counties and school districts

blessed with equal assessed property

valuations within their boundaries

with each having the same student popu-

lation, there would be no problem; but

it is common knowledge that such a

phenomenon is not possible and statisti-

cal information bears that out. Even

superficial reflection upon the system

outlined above reveals that it will in-

herently create disparity. Nonetheless,

that disparity must be demonstrated.

17/ Section 5, Art. VII, Wyoming Con-

stitution:

"All fines and penalties

under general laws of the

state shall belong to the

public school fund the re-

spective counties and be

paid over to the custodians

of such funds for the current

support of the public schools

therein."

A-34

There were fifty school districts

in the State of Wyoming at the time this

litigation was initiated. From the

Statistical Report Series, No. l, 1978

School District Property Valuations,

Mill Levies and Bonded Debt, a report

prepared by the Division of Planning,

Evaluation and Information Services,

State Department of Education, pages 6,

7 and 8 shows the wide range of assessed

valuation per student and the various

levies in all districts: 18/

18/ We will refer to this as Table 2

in this opinion.

A-35

2

.

(on |

Zz

a

4 Le}

- [oy

&

“LT# 29722870 PIO BF 00°76‘ 7S 02 ATUO saztdde Aaaq (y) “OZ PUP GT g $32543STP PTO UT

“I# 22342870 “S*H PTO UF S99" eEO'9S 02 Ajuo sazydde Anaq (C) 9ZT*6T9*Z$ 02 ATUO Saztdde Aaay S742 JO STITT 69°S (T)

“Es 223438TG PIO UT 665'S¥B‘9S O02 ATUO saz{dde Aaa (7) BOFITAL «

090°ZT 090°Z 000°OT --- --- --- T6T*ZOT SH 4@TT#A s20puey

066°C? *000°S ofo"s 000°ST 000°2T 096° 000°9 699°¢ aoyedesy gf

096 "EL --- 000°ST 000°ZT 096 000°9 996° uospny = (Z

0s0°TS 060°4 000°SZ 000°Z1 096" 000°9 TOS‘ TZ VorseAty CZ

OvI"Le ozz°t 000°SZ 000°2T 096° 000°9 etz‘oe Fucysous 97

06 °S® 086 °TT 000°ST 000°ZT 096" 000°9 298 ‘9C aryeysen 24 IZ

009° rt ov9° 000° ST 000°ZT 096" 000°9 010‘ET 220423 «OT

0S1°99 062°2T 000°ST 000°ZT 096° 000°9 Ors ‘it 4ay9 Aerjyer 6

018°89 O16"? 000° SZ 000°ZT 096° 000°9 L7e*9€ wuosTTTAeg 9

096°L9 000°» 000°Sz 000°2T 096" 000°9 689‘7Z stoqng Z

O2E * 9 Ove *Z 000°ST 000°ZT 096° 000°9 10°99 “meTg Jepue] |

INOWTE4A

810°? 160°€ 000°Sz 000°2T 1z6" 000°9 Tee ‘Se aourpuns |

¥OOuD

St9"99 OCT€ 000°SzZ 000°2T sot’ 000°9 T9L*T9 yeoaueta 7

192°87 869° 856 °2Z 000°2T Sot 000°9 o6T‘ce seyj3n0g |

‘ aSY3ANOO

969°L9 000°¢ 000°2Z 000°ZT 969° 000°9 699°6L BRo ous 7

9€9°0S OvT*Z 600°Sz 000°ZT 967° 000°9 S6S‘9% suyTAey 1

noguvd

S19°S® zee °Z 000°Sz 000°ZT €gz" 000°9 St ‘SOT @2229TTID =6T

TI3@dHVD

0s?" 0s (9) 9SE°9 000°Sz 000°2T OoT'T 000°9 609°6Z utseg ¥

006° 9 (¢) 008” 000°Sz 000°7T OOT*T 000°9 £L0° TE Trnqfaag ¢

0f9°S> (2) 992 006 "CZ 000°ZT oOT*T 000°9 See‘r> Treacy 7

OvT “ts (1)970°6 000°Sz 00u "zt OoT*T 0004 aS*ze uoaky |

NYOH OIG

Oz7°ts 000°6 000°Sz 000°Z1 Oz7"T 000°9 szs*t $ aywese) |

ANVO'IV

Aaa} haa] Aaa] 2920182 haa} has’) hav haat 11dnq 3aqg 32743870

Teoyrss [BIOL Tooyss 49430 -UT 9 puog 22}239S}q Tep2ads vosaezyyenby Aqunon Tessuey TO9y>¢ 92025 “TPA possossy ALNAOO

ADIWISIO AM S3IA31 XVL TOOHIS 8261 9

A- 36

2

>

oO N

Zz

ov

i¢3) on

4 ie]

2 a

&

$90°94 soe'T 000°SZ 000°ZT osT'T 000°9 Sez‘ ez quowseeT> ¢

cee°7s es9o°e 000 °SZ 000° ZT osT*T 000°9 696°6T uupTasis 7

ete°09 €s9°9T 000°SZ 000°7ZT osT*T 00°9 Z16‘€T aa sayjouey

NVGLYaHS

079°99 om*z 000 °SZ 000°ZT O16" 000°9 696 ‘TZ Aasuionn 7

060°S9 OsT’T 000" SZ 000°2T OT6" 000°9 689Se pueyieoun =

ZllV1d

C2729 SLi°T $6 °ST 000°ZT tos" 000°9 €%S*60z 28299290 OT

76i°99 687°C 000°SZ 000° ZT tus" 000°9 999 et 4poy 9

0S “*t9 ahah 2 000 °9Z 000°2T €os* o0co"9 ots ‘Ce Treaeg T

wWivd

610°%% oes 000°SZ 000°ZT 610°T 000°9 470° 9 yeny OT

VuavugoIn

007 "0S ose*s 000°SZ 000°ZT Ose *T 000°9 LoL‘st aedsep 1

VNOULYN

07S "99 086°Z 000°SZ 000°2T Ors" 000°9 TLS Sz woijy Z

OCT "69 06S°S 000°SZ 000°2T Ovs* 000°9 270° asiomesy 6

NIOONTT

09f 9% Ote'T 000°SZ 000°2ZT OC6*T 000°9 ese‘ iz 833919 uta Z

0€6°9S 000°ZT 000°SZ 000°2zT Of6*T 000°9 668‘0OT auuaheys |

aINVuVI

$07°0S 001°9 000°SZ 000°ZT soi" 000°9 its‘ov oTessoa = 6T

nosnnor

696° 979°T 100°ST 000°7T 77e* 000°9 910°16 SyTodouray, |

SOnIudS Lim

6sT'i? 99L°T 000°SZ 000°ZT €19°z 000°9 8L0‘eT $ wuowuyi10, 1

NAHSOD

haa) har haa] 3839193 faa kaa has kaa T¥dnq 149g 39 ;43N30

Tooyss 1820) yoours 19420 -ul 9 puCg = =—«-«39F.438FG TeF2eds =o IEZFTENby AQUNOD TeJ2EU2y =: TOOYDS 92825 “12A possassy- ALNNOD

LVBLSIO AG S$31AI1 XVL IOOHIS 8L61

A-37

2

.

om

=

o

Qo OD pung Bu;PTING yy

4 ©

a Ou

<

&

97S °99 zss°z 000°SZ 000°ZT 716° 000°9 00z‘9E uoidn

97S°OS 9ss"9 000°SZ 000°ZT 716° 000°9 96897 aT 3se2"0N OT

NOLS3A

£80°%9 “= S 000 °SZ 000°ZT £80°T 000°9 961 ‘Zt daats uot 2

86S°LS TIs*6 000 °SZ 000°ZT £80°T 000°9 999°6T puey2om T

3TYVHSVA

O1Z°Ss 099°0T 000°SZ 000 °ZT oss’*T 000°9 Ta1‘TT uews] 9

OZ7€ "89 OLL°€ 000°SZ 000°ZT oss *T 000°9 ST9‘TT MaTA UTEIUNOR

06S 67 070°S 000°SZ 000°ZT oss*T 000°9 91z‘0z uojsueaq iT

VINIA

0s9°0S osi"9 000°SZ 000°ZT 006° 000°9 780‘ 9z vosyoer

NOLaL

Oss*ts OZ ‘OT 000°SZ 000°Z2T OTC’ 000°9 6c0‘TS aeaty veeIg 7

106 °9% #¥069 °C 019°€ T€zZ°Z2 000°ZT omc’ 000°9 609°L2 eBuyads yoy =T

WALVALAAMS

76s 0S ests 069°€2 600°ZT 6.7" 000°9 66°18 outa 31a 6

cost stv"? 688°07 000°7T 617° 000°9 tzt‘tz $ eTepeutd ff

ALL 1aNs

kar] kao} haa] 1829109 kao} haat kaa haa Trang 49) WTIIFIG

Joourys feo] Tours 12430 -U] F PuCg = 3>TAISTq TeFOAads uoy wzyTenby AquUNOD TeI9UIa5 TOoyss 23825 *]®A possossy ALNn0D

L3iWLSIO AB S31A31 XVL TOOHIS 8LEi 8

A-38

The tremendous variation in assessed

valuation and the amount available per

student in each school district is

dramatically illustrated by the follow-

ing statistics 19/:

19/ Statistical Report Series No. 1, 1978

School District Property Valuations, Mill

Levies and Bonded Debt, Division of Plan-

ning, Evaluation, and Information, State

Department of Education, pages, 1-3. We

will refer to this as Table 3.

A-39

3

TABLE NO.

*4z pues Tz ‘oT ‘6 ‘Tg @29722eTP AguNOD ruomelg 30 *kyunoy yard @o1zy 761°S18'9

Page l

*LL6T*S*M

*(T)(®)SOE-ET-TZ UoTIoeg =, ‘SAsquieul Se PpaqUNCO aq 3OU

Treys sep repuseTeo aaTINOesuCO (QT) Ua} UeYA alo I0jJ

quasqe useq sAeY OYM 3IO TOOUDS woAy UMeAPUZIM eArey CUM

sttdng -*aeaXk ayy 2OJ uoTSSaS UT ST TOoOYDS ayy Shep jo

aequnu Tenqoe au Aq peptatp ‘juesqe sTtdnd jo aequnu

ezeberbbe ay sntd quesaad sttdnd jo zequnu s3ebaabbe

au sues [YOTYM] ,dTysazequeu ATTep aberaay,,

uoTzeTAaaqge ue st wow /0z

T9uT (t)

BOTIENTBA PeuTquos ey3 JO pestsdwod BT UOFIENTeA ID;228;P ToONre YBTH(S) “AaUNOD YIeg HOIZ LZS*GTO*LTS SOPNTOUT (Z)

oe ae +£yunog 107WAIBONS WOIZ CZ0'EZT*LZ$ BEPOTIUI(y) “42UNOD 42g wOIZ LE*ELE*TS SOPHTOUT (1)

161‘ zoT L%6 0S6‘0CL' 6 Tooyss y8ty faye, sapury

69%'E “ez (Srer‘zze aoyedeay gf

96d "6 ZLL° 9% worpny (Z

TOS ‘Tz 890°C TSL*9ES‘°S9 wo1aaty $z

eti‘oe 90% Lze*st9* ze Fuoysous 97

295‘9€ 492 €z9‘C92°6 erucysen *24 «TZ

010‘CT 9s T18‘9z9‘9 2290423 9T

Ors ‘le 9S€ €90‘ Y9C ‘ET 4319 Aaajjar 6

Lz€ ‘9€ £69 967‘606°LT UOTTTTAe, 9

68972 Lue 919°Css‘s sjoqng Zz

15099 ete'T 198'6zz°99 AaequeweyTg 2epeey 1

69T‘69T‘OzZ LNOWI44

Tee ‘Se Tee ‘Tt 2£e%'¢z0'l9 aouepuns 1

Ley‘szo'ly 400¥d

19°19 006 46%°99S‘°SS yvomuatg = Z

061‘C8 ese‘t T9T‘OST 9ST set3nog 1

$€9°9TL‘607 3S¥3ANOO

694° 64 899°T 9c0'Sss‘zeT w8oww2es Zz

$6S‘99 769°Z (9) 772" VC 9*SZT suyTaew 1

£sz‘098'0tz nogyvo

gt 9‘ SOT ess‘y 6ST‘ 197‘ 969 9229TTTD =T

6ST‘ 197° 969 1138 dKVd

609° 6Z Ovs (S645 886'ST “ere <9

LL0‘TE €02 €%9'L98"1Z TInqfai9 €

See‘? +18 (2) 969° 9S‘ 9€ Tract Z

ecs‘zy 0zZ (1) 960° 429° 0€ uo1kg |

OCC TCT ‘62 KUOH OIG

szs‘at $ Tr0‘ 4 Sze*ete* ol $ eyweivy |

Sze‘eTe‘o $ ANVWTV

/oz NV 424 nay uoyIenyTe, voz Ienyje, 329723830

UOT IENTEA 81-1161 22722830 Ayunop ALNNOD

@L6T 8/6I

ADYLSIG TOOHIS GNV ALNNOID AB SNOILVMIVA ALWadOHd 8Z61

A-40

2

3

TABLE NO.

Page 2

*£quNoD 9238TY WOIZ QyZ*BOTS SepnTour (9)

*8920U200}3 paiequnu oy) uy UMCYSs Se ‘f3QUN0D sayiOUe

Uy WFAIsTP TOouds wB 03 ‘ATUO Sasodind Jooyrds 103 ‘pausysse

UOFIVNTVA Azay? Jo uozzI0d ew sary (y) p211eIs Satz UNC} :7I0N

*Auney uayson woIz TET‘OL$ SePnT>uT (6)

*Ayunoy wayson woIZ 169* TyS$ sapntouT (g)

*kyunog waysog worz 9¢¢*T6zZ$ sapnzrul (1)

69617 ole (6) £89; 82T'8 hasuiang 2

684‘SE 989°T (g) 260° 992 ‘6S puep eauy

161 ‘68¢ ‘29 v3LLlVld

€9S‘60Z 92Z OCs‘ l€6‘9% 28399229H OT

794° BE ece‘z SST‘9CL‘68 pop 9

9ES ‘CE ¥€6‘T Z1z‘6S8‘%9 TT9#0a 1

CCS‘ TO%* zz eMuvd

£70‘9€ 1€9 (4) 460° 696° 22 ysny iT

Tey’ 269°7z VuVUgOIN

LOL‘St TLe‘€T €zy* Izy" siz qadsey |

€Z9* 1Z9* ez VNOWLVN

TLs‘Sz 806‘T 9€1°69L‘SY uorjy 2Z

220‘ 92 z16 €£7‘90S‘29 Azi9wuay

OTT‘ Ty8‘9zT *#NTOONI

ese*Zz 162 8Z1‘099‘ TZ S3I"Ta UTE Z

668‘OT L1z*€T 999°8S0* oT auuakay) 1

Z7L4°869°S9T InVEVI

L€S‘O09 Toot 95776295 ojej3ng =

967‘ 761°9S NOSNHOr

910‘ 16 610°T 907 ‘E9L‘76 SyTodomsayy, 1

90Z‘C 9176 SON1UdS LOH

ei0‘9t $ 166°Z (9) 97S 198 °9E uo yuysioy |

969'osc’“c §$ #NAHSOO

wav 324 nav woz IeNT eA wos ENTE, 197498Ta

UOFIENT A 81-LL6T 327438 ]G A unoy ALNNOD

161 16T

LIINLSIO TOOHIS GNV ALNNOD AG SNOILVNIVA ALY3d0Ud B/E t

A-41

3

TABLE NO.

Page 3

*£yUNoD UTOUT] BOIZ GOT‘EYS‘OT$ SePMT2UI (OT)

ciw'st ¢ Sze‘ 16 Tez‘ecc*tsz‘e ¢ Tez‘*ece‘tsz‘e ¢ S1VLO1 31V1S

00z‘9C 6t® 6EL‘T68°ST woridn f

968°9Z 6Lz‘T BLT‘00¥' 9C eTase2neN T

£16‘ 16z‘0S NOLS3A

61 ‘ze L6T 920‘ %C'9 daets ual, 2

aretee +79°T TT0‘*6S8‘SE puecyiog ff

s€0‘z0z‘zy 21XVHSVA

TT IT 989 zat ‘£99°L uewky 9

S19‘IT 919 Ltr‘ ets AITA UTVIUNEH »

TZ*0z gLT'T 90S ‘zT8*Ez uowsueag

Lie‘ oo’ et VININ

790° 9z 6%S‘T o€9*zoc ‘Le uosyoer

#C9*Z0C ‘LE NO1ZL

6C0°TS oco‘e 90T‘ 879‘ 9ST A@ATY 9929 _Z

609° 44 98L*o Lz‘ zez‘° tLe s8uyads yD0y OT

€0¥*6S0‘ESs #US LVALIIMS

66°28 ols (or) 276; 805° 0s Kkautg 339 6

121° Te 6s 7SZ‘ vee ‘BE ajepousg T

689° 667‘82 aL.La19ns

$8z‘8z dot Z16°LST‘® quowavay> ¢

696‘6T 9es‘€ $%0‘Z19'0L wepzaays Zz

z16‘tT $ 914 $86‘096°6 = § Ja ysayoucy 7

Z¥6‘OCL‘ 9s $¢ NVQTHANS

wav 424 WAV voy wnye, voy 2eNTeA 2272183q

UOFIUNTSA 82-2161 29}13830 A2un09 KINNOD

8L6T 826T

LJIBLSIG TOOHIS GNV ALNNOD AG SNOILVMIVA ALY3dOUd 8l61

A-42

As will be noted, the assessed valu-

ation per student in school districts

varies from $209,543 to $10,899, (School

Districts 27 and 38, Fremont County,

were excluded from consideration because

of unaccounted contributions from the

tribes and Bureau of Indian Affairs)--

a ratio of over 21 tol. The state

average is $35,399 per student.

The state's foundation program

does not adequately equalize the amounts

available to Wyoming districts. As

indicated in Table 2, supra, all school

districts, with few exceptions, are re-

ceiving the maximum taxes that can be

realized from authorized levies, other

than from the general county levy.

Even so, the statistics revealed by

Statistical Report Series Nos. 1 (pages

1, 2, and 3 (Table 3)) and 3, Wyoming

Public Schools Fund Accounting and Re-

porting, 1977-78, State Department of

Education, pages 8 and 9, attached as

Appendix A, the poor districts show a

consistent pattern of less total revenue

per student than the rich districts

based on assessed valuation per student.

For example, using the school district

parties to this action:

Assessed Total

Value Per Revenue Per

District Student Student

Plaintiffs

Washakie No. l $19,446 $1,610

Uinta No. 6 11,171 1,770

Fremont No. 25 21,501 1,697

Defendants

Park No. 16 209,543 4,326

Campbell No. l 108,438 3,299

Converse No. l 83,190 2,845

Hot Springs No. 1 91,014 3,033

Carbon No. 2 79,469 2,609

Sublette No. 9 87,994 3,099

Sweetwater, No. 1 77,609 2,502

Lincoln No. l 74,022 2,303

A-43

>

The foregoing are impressive but

the complete tabulation for all counties

and districts shows that the property-

richer school districts uniformly have

more revenue per student that the

property-poorer ones:

A-44

COUNTY Assessed Vai. Total Revenue 22/

District Per Pupil <1/_S$//ADM Total ADM 23/

ALBANY

1 Laramie $ 17,525 $1,749 $ 4,041

BIG HORN

1 Byron 42,538 2,677 720

2 Lovell 44,885 1,864 814

3 Greybull 31,077 1,926 703

4 Basin 29 ,609 2,248 540

CAMPBELL

1 Gillette 108 ,438 3,299 4,558

CARBON

1 Rawlins 46 ,595 1,841 2,692

2 Saratoga 79,469 2,609 1,668

CONVERSE

1 Douglas 83,190 2,845 1,853

2 Glenrock 61,741 2,249 900

CROOK

1 Sundance 35,331 2,146 1,331

FREMONT

1 Lander Elem. 46 ,057 1,487 1,438

2 Dubois 22,689 2,002 377

6 Pavillion 36,327 2,436 493

9 Jeffrey City 37,540 1,545 356

14 Ethete 13,070 3,126 354

21 Ft. Washakie 36 ,567 3,070 267

24 Shoshoni 80 ,738 2,146 404

25 Riverton 21,501 1,697 3,048

27 Hudson 7,944 1,721 94

38 Arapahoe 3,469 3,844 237

Lander Valley HS 102,191 2,621 927

GOSHEN

1 Torrington 14,078 2,098 2,597

21/ Figures derived from State Department of Education, Statistical Report

Series, No. 1, 1978 School District Property Valuations, Mill Levies and Bonded

Debt, pp- 6-8. Table 3e

22/ Figures derived from State Department of Education, Statistical Report

ries, No. 3, Wyoming Public Schools Fund Accounting and Reporting 1977-78,

pp- 8-9. Appendix A to this opinion.

23/ Figures derived from Table 3.

A-45

Assessed Total

COUNTY Val. Per Revenue Total

District Pupil $/ADM ADM

HOT SPRINGS

1 Thermopolis 91,014 3,033 1,019

JOHNSON

1 Buffalo 40,537 2,113 1,401

LARAMIE

1 Cheyenne 10,899 1,583 13,217

2 Pine Bluffs 27,358 2,642 791

LINCOLN

l Kemmerer 74,022 2,303 912

2 Afton 25,571 1,780 1,908

NATRONA

1 Casper 15,747 1,484 13,871

NIOBRARA

1 Lusk 36,027 2,124 637

PARK

1 Powell 33,536 1,759 1,934

6 Cody 38,464 1,837 2,333

16 Meeteetse 209,543 4,326 224

PLATTE

1 Wheatland 35,489 1,703 1,684

2 Guernsey 21,969 2,037 370

SHERIDAN

1 Ranchester 13,912 2,122 716

2 Sheridan 19,969 2,037 370

3 Clearmont 28,285 2,415 147

A-46

Assessed Total

COUNTY Val. Per Revenue Total

District Pupil $ /ADM ADM

SUBLETTE

1 Pinedale 71,121 2,560 539

9 Big Piney 87,994 3,099 574

SWEETWATER

1 Rock Springs 77,609 2,502 4,784

2 Green River 51,039 2,183 3,030

TETON

1 Jackson 24,082 1,756 1,549

UINTA

1 Evanston 20,214 1,598 1,178

4 Mountain View 11,615 1,714 614

6 Lyman 11,171 1,776 686

WASHAKTIE

1 Worland 19,446 1,610 1,844

2 Ten Sleep 32,198 Zeail 197

WESTON

1 Newcastle 26,896 1,665 1,279

7 Upton 36,200 2,082 439

The column entitled State Revenue .

shown in Appendix A to this opinion includes

not only the Foundation Fund distribution

but also money from the land income fund

which all districts received as a flat

grant per student, Taylor Grazing money

and other miscellaneous state money in

relatively minor amounts. See Table l.

The income from sources other than Foun-

dation Funds decreases the impact of

foundation grants in equalizing school

district revenue and exacerbates the

disparity.

A-47

It is realized that there are varia-

tions which can be partially explained but

the net result cannot be justified. See

Table 1 for the several factors which can

affect the amount of money received by

each school district in each county.

Some of the revenue of the poorer counties,

as shown in Appendix A, includes large

blocks of federal money which brings up

their revenue per student. If we mul-

tiply the differences per student by the

total students affected, the figures

more forcefully demonstrate the dis-

parity. For example, for each 100

students in Washakie District No. l,

$161,000 for their education is avail-

able. In Converse District No. l,

$284,500 for the same number is avail-

able; in Campbell District No. l,

$329,900 is available.

These disparities demonstrated

throughout by the various statistical

tables can lead to but one conclusion:

the quality of a child's education in

Wyoming, measured in terms of dollars

available for that purpose, is dependent

upon the property tax resources of his

school district. The right to an edu-

cation cannot constitutionally be condi-

tioned on wealth in that such a measure

does not afford equal protection.

Serrano v. Priest, 1971, 5 Cal.3d 584,

96 Cal.Rptr. 601, 487 P.2d 1241, 41

A.L.R. 3d 1187; Serrano v. Priest, 1976,

18 Cal.3d 728, 135 Cal. Rptr, 345, 557

P.2d 929; Horton v. Meskill, 1977, 172

Conn. 615, 376 A. 2d 359. Those courts

have approached the problem through the

equal protection provisions of their

various state constitutions and opened

the door to school finance reform. See

A-48

also, Robinson v. Cahill, 1972, 118 N.J.

Super. 223, 287 A. 2d 187, as modified,

1973, 67 N.J. 473, 303 A. 2d 273, reaching

the same result through a different

constitutional guarantee similar to Sec. 9,

Art. VII, Wyoming Constitution, supra.

We recognize that there are decisions to

the contrary, but we reject them.

Section 34, Art. I, Wyoming Consti-

tution provides that "All laws of a gen-

eral nature shall have a uniform operation."

This provision is nearly identical to Sec.

16, Art. 4, of the California Constitution,

which reads, “All laws of a general nature

have uniform operation." This court has

held that provision to be the equivalent

of the "equal protection" words of the

Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution

of the United States. A state may en-

large rights under the Fourteenth Amend-

ment announced by the Supreme Court of

the United States, which are considered

minimal, and thus a state constitutional

provision may be more demanding than the

equivalent federal constitutional pro-

vision. Nehring v. Russell, Wyo. 1978,

582 P.2d 67. When the California Supreme

Court first held a system of school fin-

ancing, similar to that of Wyoming, vio-

lative of the Fourteenth Amendment to

the United States Constitution, it also

oserved that California's constitutional

provisions afforded the same right. It

found that such a system makes the quality

of a child's education dependent upon the

resources of his school district and

held that the right to an education in

public schools cannot be conditioned on

wealth because it denies equal protection.

Serrano v. Priest, 1976, supra. Reinforc-

ing the equal protection requirements of

Sec. 34, Art. I, Wyoming Constitution, is

A-49

the duty imposed upon the legislature by

Sec. 1, Art. VII, Wyoming Constitution,

to "* * * provide a complete and uniform

system of public instruction * * *,"

which words are compatible with and of

the same tenor an the language "All laws

of a general nature shall have a uniform

operation." Equal protection is thereby

projected from general to specific appli-

cation to the school system of the state.

In a later decision, following

remand and return to the California

Supreme Court, Serrano v. Priest, 1976,

reh.den. and modified, 1977, 18 Cal. 3d

728, 135 Cal. Rptr. 345, 557, P.2d 929,

the court abandoned the Fourteenth

Amendment concept because of the. San

Antonio School District v. Rodriquez,

supra, decision of the United States

Supreme Court which held that the right

to education was not explicitly guar-

anteed by the Constitution of the

United States. The California court,

however; did hold the California system

unconstitutional under the equal protec-

tion clauses of the California Constitu-

tion, which are similar to those we have

in Wyoming.

The trial which followed Serrano I

apparently developed nothing which altered

the inherent defects in the California

system and even after extensive tinkering

by the California Legislature. Just as

much can be developed from statistics of

which we take judicial notice. The whole

matter is one of financing explicitly pro-

vided for by constitutional language and

implementing statutory language. The

system is plainly illustrated by the

materials cf which we have taken judicial

notice. The California court in Serrano II

A-50

reverted to its opinion in Serrano I

which was decided without the benefit of

a trial. No trial is necessary in this

case because, as a matter of law, the

statutory structure is inherently defec-

tive and the now obvious disparities

demand that the system's constitutional

infirmities be remedied.

The reasoning which we approve of

and which we have applied to the instant

case involves two different tests which

are designed to determine if statutory

classifications meet equal protection

requirements. The first test is employed

where the interest affected is an ordi-

nary one and the second where fundamen-

tal interests are at issue. When an

Ordinary interest is involved, then a

court merely examines to determine

whether there is a rational relationship

between a classification made by the

statute or statutes being viewed and a

legitimate state objective. When a

fundamental interest is affected or if a

classification is inherently suspect,

then the classification must be subjected

to strict scrutiny to determine if it is

necessary to achieve a compelling state

interest. In addition, this test re-

quires that the state establish that

there is no less onerous alternative by

which its objective may be achieved.

Horton v. Meskill, supra.24/

24/ The test is discussed in VIII Land

and Water Law Review 273, a note by

Stephen A. Bartholow, entitled "Equal

Protection and the Financing of Public

Education in Wyoming." See also, State,

ex rel. Mansfield v. State Board of Law

Examiners, Wyo. 1979, 601 P.2d 174.

A-51

In the light of the emphasis which

the Wyoming Constitution places on edu-

cation, there is no room for any conclu-

sion but that education for the children

of Wyoming is a matter of fundamental

interest. In addition to the Wyoming

constitutional provisions we have cited

and specifically applied in this opinion,

there are two others of a general nature:

Sec. 23, Art. I, 25/ and Sec. 28, Art.

XXI 26/ which reemphasize the funda-

mental importance placed on education

by the founders of our state. A favor-

ite expression referred to by other

state courts to emphasize the basic im-

portance of education is found in Brown

v. Board of Education of Topeka, 1954,

347 U.S. 483, 493, 74 S.Ct. 686, 691,

98 L.Ed. 873, 880, 38 A.L.R.2d 1180:

"Today, education is per-

haps the most important func-

tion of state and local govern-

ments. Compulsory school atten-

dance laws and the great ex-

penditures for education both

25/ Section 23, Art. I, Wyoming Consti-

tution:

"The right of the citi-

zens to opportunities for ed-

ucation should have practical

recognition. The legislature

shall suitably encourage means

and agencies calculated to ad-

vance the sciences and liberal

arts."

26/ Section 28, Art. XXI, Wyoming Consti-

tution:

"The legislature shall

make laws for the establish-

ment and maintenance of

A-52

demonstrate our recognition of

the importance of education to

our democratic society. It is

required in the performance of

our most basic public respons-

ibilities, even service in the

armed forces... It is the very

foundation of good citizenship.

Today it is a principal instru-

ment in awakening the child to

cultural values, in preparing

him for later professional

training, and in helping him

to adjust normally to his en-

vironment. In these days, it

is doubtful that any child may

reasonably be expected to suc-

ceed in life if he is denied

the opportunity of an education.

Such an opportunity, where the

state has undertaken to provide

it, is a right which must be

made available to all on equal

terms."

A classification on the basis of

wealth is considered suspect, especially

when applied to fundamental interests.

Harper v. Virginia Board of Elections,

1966, 383 U.S. 663, 668, 670, 86 S.Ct.

1079, 1082-1083, 16 L.Ed.2d 169, 173,

174-175; Serrano v. Priest, 1971, supra.

The need for a foundation program and

the fact that, as presently employed due

to lack of funds, it falls far short of

systems of public schools which

shall be open to all the chil-

dren of the state and free

from sectarian control."

A-53

raising the level of poor counties to

that of rich counties, clearly indicates

that funds are distributed upon the ba-

Sis of wealth or lack of it. The class-

ification is therefore suspect. The

respective tax bases of the school

districts of this state and their per-

student resources reflect discordant

correlations which plainly demonstrate

the failure of the current system to

provide equal educational opportunity.

The burden is therefore on those

defending the classification once its

unequal results are known. As nearly as

we can determine from the brief of the

appellees, their position is princi-

pally, if not solely, that the school

finance system of Wyoming children and

that financial status is "only one

small part in determining the quality

of education Wyoming children receive."

However, the proposition is unsupported

by any convincing argument or authority.

While we would agree that there are

factors other than money involved in

imparting education, those factors are

not easy of measurement and comparison.

There is some general disagreement over

the degree to which money counts. How-

ever, the legislature has here set up a

system which fosters and predetermines

great disparities in spending. It

would be unacceptable logic to deduce

that the wealth counties are squandering

their money merely from the fact the

poorer counties are getting along just

fine and providing an adequate education

on the lesser amounts per child they

have. For the state and the wealthy

districts to put forth the assertion

that money is not everything is making .

just such an argument. Money for school

district operations, except for the

A-54

foundation fund operation and perhaps

some federal funds, is not distributed

upon the basis of need for quality ed-

ucation. Equality of dollar input is

manageable. There is no other viable

criterion or test that the appellees

show to exist, and our exploration of

the subject has resulted only in dis-

covery of a quagmire of speculation, so

slippery that it evades any secure grasp

for judicial decision making. It is

nothing more than an illusion to believe

that the extensive disparity in finan-

cial resources does not relate directly

to quality of education.

It is our view that until equality

of financing is achieved, there is no

practicable method of achieving equal-

ity of quality. To decide otherwise

only places the whole question, as

observed by the trial judge, in a pos-

ture of delay and further expensive

litigation of questionable value. There

has already been too much litigation to

decide questions, the ultimate answers

to which have for years been suspected,

recognized by the legislature, noticed

by this court before, and which now are

obvious. Litigation had been spawned

in attempts to sieze additional property

for taxing purposes, as was the case in

Hinkle. The Fremont County attempt to

reorganize has been a hotbed of dissen-

tion for ten years and only last year

was resolved, at least on the local

level. See Geraud v. Schrader, Wyo.

1975, 531 P.2d 872, cert.den.sub nom,

Wind River Indian Education Assoc., Inc.

v. Ward, 423 U.S. 904, 96 S.Ct. 205, 46

L.Ed.2d 134. Boundary disputes incessantly

flare up. See most recently, Yates v.

State Committee on School District

A-55

Organization, Wyo. 1979, 598 P.2d ll.

Legal battles continue, initiated by

those that have not, to invade the

territory of school districts that have.

Ramparts of litigation are erected in

defense. Litigation more often than

not worsens the problem when it is not

reaching the roots of the evil. Only a

temporary truce results. Continual

gerrymandering, in an attempt to equal-

ize, was never a solution, and what

little good may have been achieved by

it in the past, serves only to reempha-

size the everdeepening chasms of dis-

parity that exist now.

The cases we cite make it clear

that the state has the burden of demon-

strating a compelling interest of its

own which is served by the challenged

legislation and which cannot be satis-

fied by any other convenient legal

structure. The state has failed to

make any showing that other methods

are not available or possible. We are

satisfied that the Wyoming Constitution,

even as it presently stands, leaves

plenty of room for the creation of

equality in financing.

We are not attempting to isolate

any particular statute as unconstitutional

because it denies equal protection but

we examine the entire system from organ-

ization of school districts through tax

bases and levies and distribution of

foundation funds, all of which have a

bearing upon the disparity which exists.

If we were to focus upon any particular

statute, highly suspect is Sec. 21-13-101,

W.S.1977. It has no specific constitu-

tional permission or limitation which

authorizes the levy of 25 mills with an

override of 3 mills if approved by the

A-56

voters voting on the proposition, as a

special school district tax. This single

tax is greater than the sum of the 6 mills

state tax (Sec. 15, Art. XV), 12 mills

mandatory county tax for support of public

schools (Sec 17, Art XV), and up to 3

mills from the general county tax (Sec. 5,

Art. XV as limited by Secs. 21-12-202

through 21-13-205, W.S.1977), total, 21

mills. We do not look at the special

school district tax from the point of

view that a special school district tax

cannot be authorized and levied. That

a 25 mill special school district levy

is unconstitutional has not been argued

by any party to this case, It is that

tax, however, which creates an opportu-

nity for some school district. to have

greater financial resources for all

school purposes including capital school

building construction than do others.

We would suggest an investigation of

the feasibility, without leaving the im-

pression of our advance approval--

which we cannot give--of a special

school district tax levied throughout

the state in each county and paid into

a state foundation fund, or something

similar, for distribution under a legis-

lative formula on an equitable basis

throughout the state.

With rare exception, all school dis-

tricts request a levy of the 25 mill

district tax from the richest to the

poorest: Park County No. 16, Meeteetse,

with a 1978 assessed value per student

of $209,543, to Uinta County No. 6,

Lyman, an assessed value per student of

$11,171. See applicable chart. As

also said in Serrano I, 487 P.2d at 1252,

the commercial and industrial property

which augments a district's tax base is

distributed unevenly throughout the state.

A-57

To allot more educational dollars to

the children of one district than to

those of another merely because of the

fortuitous presence of such property is

to make the quality of a child's edu-

cation dependent upon the location of

private, commercial, industrial, and

mineral establishments-<-an irrelevant

measure for purposes of school financ-

ing. The Foundation Fund is distributed

upon the basis of need to meet local re-

quirements according to uniform measure-

ments, all dealing in money as a measure.

Tax money collected locally is not based

on need having anything to do with

quality of education, but is received

solely on the arbitrary standard of

assessed valuation. It is primarily

the uncontrollable, locally collected

tax money which defeats the balancing

effect intended as a function of the

Foundation Fund.

With amendment of Sec. 8, Art. VM,

Wyoming Constitution, supra permanent

land income from school lands is now

available for equitable distribution,

though the legislature at its last

session retained the flat grant concept

as provided in the same section before

amendment. There appears to be no re-

cognition given the constitutional

amendment, but by Sec. 1, ch. 75,

Session Laws of Wyoming, 1979, the leg-

islature changed Sec. 21-13-301, W.S.

1977, from distribution “pro rata among

the several counties of the state

according to the number of children of

school age in each as determined by

reference to the last preceding annual

school enumeration" to "pro rata among

the several counties of the state

according to the number of children of

A-58

school age in each as determined by the

average daily membership of the school

districts within each county for the pre-

ceding school year." Use of the ADM

formula only averages pupils present and

absent to determine the number of pu-

pils for computation purposes. We sus-

spect the land income distribution just

described, as contributing to the un-

constitutional aspects of the legislative

scheme of school financing.

In the many cases decided on the

subject are references to in-depth

scholarly studies made on the subject of

school financing, particularly the

Serrano cases, supra, and the United

States Supreme Court case of San

Antonio School District v. Rodriquez,

supra. See also, Anno., "Validity of

Basing Public School Financing System

on Local Property Taxes." 41 A.L.R.3d

1220 and pocket parts. Legislative

committees would certainly have those

available. Everything from the aboli-

tion of local school districts and

placing all school administration on a

statewide basis, to dividing the state

into a few multi-county districts, to

making all mineral, commercial and in-

dustrial property in the state subject

to a state tax for school purposes

have been suggested, but we make no

recommendations in that regard. Re-

organization of school districts within

counties for greater parity appears as

an option in one study, but Wyoming has

tried that with the Wyoming School

District Organization Law of 1969, supra.

It was probably effective to a degree

for counties, but statewide disparity

remains. Amendment of the Wyoming Con-

stitution may be part of a selected

course, after all legislative efforts

A-59

under current constitutional provisions

fail to bring maximum equality.

We only express the constitutional

standard and hold that whatever system

is adopted by the legislature, it must

not create a level of spending which is

a function of wealth other than the

wealth of the state as a whole. There

are alternatives and combinations of

alternatives suggested by the many

comprehensive reference works alluded

to. The ultimate solutions must be

shaped by the legislature. The assign-

ment has complexities but is not insolu-

ble.

So that there may be no question

about this, we wish to make clear that

we are not suggesting that each school

district receive exactly the same number

of dollars per pupil as every other

school district. We understand that

there are special problems and amounts

may be distributed in a mode similar to

the foundation fund which takes into

consideration various balancing factors.

A state formula can be devised which will

weight the calculation to compensate for

special needs--educational cost differen-

tials. We do not purport to exhaustedly

list the factors of methodology that

should be employed. We only proscribe

any system which makes the quality of

a child's education a function of dis-

trict wealth. We hold that exact or

absolute equality is not required. There

must be allowance for variances in indi-

viduals, groups, and local conditions.

All precedents are in accord on this

proposition. In fact, a flat rate per

student distribution of available re-

sources may generate a constitutionally

offensive classification, particularly

A-60

in the light of those presently existing

constitutional provisions such as Sec. 17,

Art. XV. which mandates the levy of a

particular number of mills, 12, and Sec. 5,

Art. VII, which seems to require payment

of fines and penalties to the county

where collected and distributed to the

school districts therein. By reason of

the location of interstate highways,

abutting counties may have an advantage.

It is noted on Table 1 that in 1978,

$2,397,864 in fines and forfeitures state-

wide were collected. We were unable to

locate a report, of which we can take

judicial notice, that would disclose

how those are distributed. Certain

federal funds may be frozen into par-

ticular areas. These matters are dis-

cussed only as a caveat that there may

be inequity created by flat grants.

We see no reason to give particular

attention to the question of finances

for the physical facilities with which

to carry on the process of education.

It is a part of the total education-

al package and tarred with the same

brush of disparate tax resources. The

only constitutional limitation with re-

spect to school buildings is found in

Sec. 5, Art. XVI, Wyoming Constitution,

wherein it is provided that "No school

district shall in any manner create any

indebtedness exceeding ten percent (10%)

on the assessed value of the taxable

property therein for the purpose of

acquiring land, erection, enlarging

and equipping of school buildings."

There is no constitutional requirement

that school buildings must be built by

creation of debt. There are other areas

of consideration, for example, a state-

wide reserve fund for building construc-

tion. The point is that statewide

A-61

availability from total state resources

for building construction or contribu-

tion to school buildings on a parity for

all school districts is required just

as for other elements of the educational

process. The legislature has worked

in that direction. See Secs. 21-15-101l,

et seq., W.S.1977, providing for school

district capital construction entitle-

ments. It is noticed that Sec. l, Art.

VII, Wyoming Constitution, embraces

"free elementary schools of every needed

kind and grade" with a "university" and

other necessary institutions to carry on

"the establishment * * * of a complete

and uniform system of public instruction."

An examination of past appropriations of

funds for the University of Wyoming in-

cludes building construction. Compare

Secs. 15 and 16, Art. VII, Wyoming Con-

stitution pertaining to the University

of Wyoming, with those pertaining to

elementary schools.

We have pointed up various poten-

tial solutions in this opinion only for

the purpose of opening up areas of

exploration for the legislature and

not to specify any particular course.

The goal in any case is to arrive at

financial parity. It is realized

that the presently existing body of

statutory and constitutional law has

been developed as a result of legisla-

tive action over the course of our state-

hood in an effort to keep pace with

changing social and economic conditions.

The legislature has made valiant and

sincere efforts to arrange the financing

of an adequate school program, using a

combination of local and state funds.

It has only been since 1971 that a

successful attack has won in the courts

so that an enlightened course of

A-62

reasoning is available to guide reform

from an inequitable disparity in spend-

able funds for education which has relied

too long and too heavily on the local

property tax. As one legal philosopher

has put it, the rule has always been

present but has only lately been dis-

covered. It will not be an easy task.

It will require time for adequate study,

drafting of appropriate legislation and

transition from the present scheme of

financing to one in conformity with the

sense of this decision; so this court

will provide a period of time in which

to convert to constitutional compliance.

We consider and order that the conversion

be in effect and underway not later than

July 1, 1982.

Neversed and remanded to the dis-

trict court with directions to vacate

its order of dismissal, enter judgment

consistent with this opinion and retain

jurisdiction until a constitutional

body of legislation is enacted and in

effect, taking such action as may be

necessary to assure conformity.

A-63

APPENDIX A

Page 1

6611 879°109'¢ 1 z768°1 191 zzs ‘Olt 799 769‘ 6L7°1 9f6 Cvs *608"1 1faod |

wavd

z'z 149° 7Se*t - - 09% 876° 262 29s Cz‘ 19€ 160°1 667° 869 and

VuVuROIN

ert 976 ‘°SuS ‘OZ zt C19* ASI 99L L£77*619°OT 692 Se *zSu°€ es” sti*wsc's jodsey |

VNOULVN

oct Z0Z* 9ot ‘€ st "01° 67 ert 10799 zes esc ‘sto’! See gut ‘esl worjv Z

€oc*z 720‘ O01 *Z eI 179‘Tl yz Cue*rlt 929 7€4°895 Ovc't $19‘ vor" Jersey |

NWwOKTT

7792 zz1‘060'2 zt byS*6 19S‘T yor’ efz°T z7ze 9198‘ 7S7 Lvl TLu* 16s SIMA Wd Z

€us‘t 790°816‘07 Sul ZLe° see" Ilo S79‘ eze°7t 161 £2z*109°2 oI orc 701? ouuosoyy |

4thvuvi

eri'z 196°096'Z - - gic Zuy*Sv9 60S eti*6C8 9eI‘t I7s*Seo't epesea t

+ RUSNHOL

cco'e $09*060'C et z79*O3t st 14e°9St 6z1°T £cz*Oost't ces*t 944° 2091 stredemsous |

° SONTHIS LOW

860°Z OLS*L97°S ° zzs*6 6671 ci.s*z7ic°€ 92 974° S89 tes 687° 6/C°I vo uzsiel |

- wainsvd

169‘T SSU*LLI'S - - ez Seu‘ s0s'Z 11¢ 001 *6%6 29S o.o'cie't wowIoATy SZ

9vt'2 zu‘ 998 9 L97‘ot zee zez*¥tE 67E 1u8°Or7! 626 S7z°SL€ puoysous 97

97°27 86 Ou7't 6£z 179° “TT 9o8 cic‘ lye ete 67°907 Cae cet ser woFTTFACd Y

z00*Z SC9* SL 69 686°Sz $16 zzz*L9€ ove ce ‘set 16S 680'S7Z spoqna Z

Luowaad

9712 Te1‘9ce*Z l o1.‘2 €0s 970019 69S 716° LSL 990°T Cr *6tr7'l aouupuns |

»00"D

672'2 g00*%z0‘Z - - tz eso‘viIT 768 92° C08 ocz‘t so.‘90t't yroUueTD Z

S782 coc *z22z°s - - sel 667°0SZ ze 6Z0°Z4S ‘I e7e't Siu’ 6L0°€ sepdnog |

aSM4ANuD

609°Z Ol7Ict*y 402 294° S9t 611 66° 861 614 ezs*B6r'T y9S°t 949°809°Z eto weirs 7

I7e*t 101°9S6°7 a 670‘ 8t oct Zz" 99E 6Ls soe" 6ss*t zir‘t 142° 2662 surtacy |

Nuuava

662°C O80*sto*st - = 1st 159° 689 osu't oze‘981‘9 £60'2 £09‘ HSS 6 e2291119 I

‘Trauduvo

e772 6ueCiz‘t - - “cL 400° 86 CY Sic ez 420°! gOS ‘Tus uysty 9

976'1 eyT9Se*L - - 194 sco’ 6cs So” OL‘ ¥8Z SSL Oty‘ Uts LTeqhoay £

79e°T ceoc*cis*t z Tez‘T cee 970°ZIC sze eLt* 797 ost't 604° 66 TT9407 Z

La9°2 elc*2z6°t 1 914 198 €ve*tz9 Ors z.0‘6et zwz‘l 880 916 worky |

nwo D1

6911S €ev*690°C $ a 9y7'uS = §¢ 076 $¢ 916°91L°E $ toc $ 9z9*ciz*1 $ gis $ S€9*940'2 oywesey I

ANVUTV

“wavs

anusaey enuoaad nov/$ anusady wuv/$ anuaaay wav/$ , anuaasy nuv/$ anusasy uo} e204 325323850

yvaey (eIeL Tesaped Tesaped ae 35 2247s yun) 4qunoy peo ye204

8L-LL61 DUNOS AB WOW H3d S3INNIAIY ONNA 1VUINID

A-64

APPENDIX A

2

196‘1$ 609° 010° 08T$ a 6S 176°LO9* 9s 19 6 §¢ 189°L76°LS$ im” $ 796°8L0° 19S ste $ 842°969° OLS STViOL OnvED

12797 v086zy'z 6sz 621 Oe 192 910" S07 sce Tes 99 900T Glisii'T ~=—s st Aat i, sepuwy

140° 2s 196" 9R9°S $ 6it $ $iz°Ovu' Is ce § Z£z° 1672 § cor $ zze‘ore = =6§ ccs TE9°SIS*T $ ‘TW1OL-8nS ANVarraTa

ve'C OsO'116 656 GiC°(2z c6z°2 746°C9S 9 Ozu ‘ZO! 9SI Oue ‘OC aoyedeay Bt

1ze"1 908° 191 - - ocz‘t oL9"’sit zee 1S2°1¢ 6S! C76‘ vospon (7

o10°¢ Z7L* 618 1sz°1 986LCE 164 806"Z12 1s 166°C6 9 OSZ° 64 PT4eYKeM IVE 12

9zi°¢ 614°90T ‘1 S1i't 916°S6C 1 a | 909°C69 oct 696°RIT e127 167°86 929427 91

Sos‘t 016 "69S 971 290‘7zs eos 716° Ou! coz OZ" 2% £89 674° 997 AItD 4eajjor 6

Lents 919° LCI? § a. 6 st6*or ¢ zs ¢ woz'ose §$ 9ez ¢$ me6'Ily § s9 CSS*or6 = Jopuey |

INOW gaa

1S6°IS ry9*CS6°ILIS Lut *2z1‘es 79 $ OCO°Szté"9S$ =—oSH oF 665‘188"°6C$ one ¢ $64°610°9/$TVLOI-GNS *1S10 Gi14INa

zeu"z OTL" 916: cz $10or $19 est Olz 61s 906"L2Z $6 0€6°909 wardn ¢

so9"t 6706212 - - ec? CoL*6ss zo vie ezs ste ZL1*290'T eT 2St2"2N |

; : KOLS3A

Mazz Bet" Loy - - 06 TLT*Ser Té6€ 676°94 16 e92°Ser daaTs ual Z

o19"t 919°696°2 - - 908 97L°09S°T Siz £67°906 689 11° 206 PuvyTion |

. ‘ JI YVuSVA

OLe"t 169" 91z"t o 7602S cert 076‘9L 602 LS7*Cor cse €2z‘292 wees] 9

met Sy¥C*zs0'r “9 994°19 901 112°619 coz T9d*ozt “ee 0S9°90z AatA UIeQUNON

8oS"1 (€z°za9"t - - 2% isz*6or't z0z 17S *2ez Sse 6Co*<es vo sutng |

vinin

95c°1 (tc*uze*z 6t L22°6S © c6S C10°616 199 or. *¢89 C89 89z‘eso'r wosyrer |

NOL3L

cei'z PUl' 9199 64 Lec‘ eez To! 061° 90€ coe €9e‘7C9°z 00z‘T ot. ‘*seo'e 29ATe UI029 7

z0s*2 O18" I26°E1 ci 7€9°98 zo SSt*6L9 zie 101 ‘998°C ocs‘T O76‘6IC*s% sBusids 4204 1

WLLVALAAS

660°C 120°6L2°1 £02 616°SIT cc! 90°94 9S 816°689 906'T 100‘960°T Aoutd 31a 6

ovs*2 Berl 6LC°T 1% Cé6I‘et oct 98T* OL 678 ves*9oy L9S‘T Sei‘ ore aTtpoutrd |

aiLatei

Si9*z 710" SSC % - 972°T 991 ‘ost Tot 461‘ OS 868 189‘ 921 uOwIeriD €

w7"1 fez*1iz"s $z Ov» ee 998 £68‘090°¢ £02 I€ C24 6LE£ 96S*BCC ‘I veprasus Z

zzz LiZ*61S'1 al Lec*z Ovz*T 11S" cee 17 168° 6zz 9S 81° 68C 2PISSYIRUAY |

Nva Mans

Loz ves" ese - - 816 969" 19¢ 60” 1SC*691 $s9 LLo*zy2z fasusong 2

cout It" eou'z S cit*e £8L ZLo*BIC'T sce 60$‘99¢ oas 188°916 puep vous, |

ailVv1d

9zt"9 666°996 7 C96 €or 1eu'2ze $86 £29° O72 cér‘t 6627°S1L4 25292290H 91

Lte'is voy" 997" § - $ - $ etl § Lig‘oze = ¢ sco ¢ €Z1*zs5°t §$ £90 TS voc*Cen'2 §$ kped 9

pte il WNUIATY Kev/$ anuanay KuV/$ onudaay Kev/$ omuaaay WGV/$ enudAoy Wes WeG] IW>s4385g

tea feael [esvpag [Wsapag 930s ots Aaune) kyune9 yvou4 {ese}

6

81-1264 JDUNOS AB NOV Y3d SINNZA3Y ONNA WYINID

A-65

APPENDIX B

IN THE SUPREME COURT, STATE OF WYOMING

OCTOBER TERM, A.D. 1979

FEB. 7-1980

WASHAKIE COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT NUMBER

ONE, DONNA MOBERLY, MARY JANE SCHMELTZER,

RANDALL RIDEOUT, HAROLD McDONALD, HARRY

UJIFUSA, ROBERT MOODY and JAMES ARGERIS,

being all of the members of THE BOARD

OF TRUSTEES OF WASHAKIE COUNTY SCHOOL

DISTRICT NUMBER ONE; MARY JANE SCHMELTZER

as next friend for CHRISTOPHER SCHMELTZER,

JOE SCHMELTZER, and FRANCES SCHMELTZER,

minors; RANDALL RIDEOUT as next friend

for JASON RIDEOUT, ANTHONY RIDEOUT, and

MICHAEL RIDEOUT, minors; HAROLD McDONALD

as next friend for KEVEN McDONALD,

KEITH McDONALD, DAVID McDONALD, KENNETH

McDONALD, and BRIAN McDONALD, minors,

HARRY UJIFUSA as next friend for KELLY

UJIFUSA and GAYLE UJIFUSA, minors;

ROBERT MOODY as next friend for TODD

MOODY, SHERRI MOODY, CINDY MOODY, JOHN

MOODY, AL MOODY, AND SCOTT MOODY,

minors; and JAMES ARGERIS as next friend

for JAYME ARGERIS, TAWN ARGERIS, and

BRETT ARGERIS, minors; UINTA COUNTY

SCHOOL DISTRICT NUMBER SIX, G. GRANT

REDDEN, CLINT WALKER, F. DANNY EYRE,

DONALD R. CARROLL and CURTIS MORGAN,

being all of the members of THE BOARD

OF TRUSTEES OF UINTA COUNTY SCHOOL

DISTRICT NUMBER SIX, FREMONT COUNTY

SCHOOL DISTRICT NUMBER 25, DENNIS

TIPPETS, L. J. GERAUD, PATRICIA B.

FERRIS, ALICE KUCERA, STANLEY SMALLEY,

and THOMAS YOUTZ, being all of the mem-

bers of THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF FREMONT

COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT NUMBER TWENTY

FIVE, and ALBERT B. SCHULTZ,

Appellants

(Plaintiffs),

B-1

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

Ve No. 5145

ED HERSCHLER, Governor, State of Wyo-

ming, LYNN SIMONS, State Superintendent

of Public Instruction, SHIRLEY WITTLER,

Wyoming State Treasurer, JOHN PATTON,

KEITH WEST, DR. DENIS LYMAN, BARBARA

ROGERS, KEITH BECKER, REDELL HOOPER,

KAREN HAND, DR. DONALD BLAKESLEE, GLENN

ENGLEKING, being all of the members of

the WYOMING STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION,

PARK COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT NUMBER SIxX-

TEEN, CAMPBELL COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT

NUMBER ONE, CONVERSE COUNTY SCHOOL DIS-

TRICT NUMBER ONE, HOT SPRINGS COUNTY

SCHOOL DISTRICT NUMBER ONE, CARBON

COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT NUMBER TWO,

SUBLETTE COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT NUMBER

NINE, SWEETWATER COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT

NUMBER ONE, and LINCOLN COUNTY SCHOOL

DISTRICT NUMBER ONE,

Appellees

(Defendants).

ORDER DENYING REHEARING AND

RESPONDING TO REQUESTS FOR CLARIFICATION

The court after examination and study

of the petitions for rehearing concludes

1. The opinion and decision of the

court was implicit in its language,

particularly ir fixing of a date for

future compliance that it was prospective

in operation and not intended to disturb

present statutory provisions for financ-

ing of school operations, including

bonded indebtedness.

2. Because of previous holdings of

this court dating back to 1971 which

clearly enunciated inequity in school

financing, an opportunity for reform has

de de ee ee

been available. Sweetwater County Plan-

ning Committee for Organization of School

Districts v. Hinkle, Wyo. 1971, 491 P.2d

1234 and Johnson v. Schrader, Wyo. 1973,

507 P.2d 814. The court's decision

herein again finds unconstitutional the

state's system of school financing in

failing to provide equal protection in

violation of Sec. 34, Art. I, Wyoming

Constitution, compatible with Sec. I,

Art. VII, Wyoming Constitution, re-

quiring a "uniform system of public in-

struction." Undue delay in implementing

the court's decision would only be

doing a disservice to the educational

needs of the state with respect to fin-

ancing. However, upon reconsideration,

it appears advisable that the time for

compliance with the court's direction

be extended for a further brief period.

3. Other than a consideration of

and accommodation to possible bonding

impediments that are conceived to exist

along with an extension of time for com-

pliance, which will not anywise alter

the thrust of the court's decision here-

tofore made, we find that all other

questions raised by the petitions for

rehearing have already been considered

and resolved within the court's opinion.

It is therefore

ORDERED that the relief granted and

direction of the court's opinion handed

down on January 15, 1980, are prospective.

FURTHER ORDERED that the time in

which to convert to constitutional com-

pliance be, and is, extended to July l,

1983.

FURTHER ORDERED that the school

system of the state of Wyoming continue

under existing statutes; and the validity

and enforceability of past and future

*%

acts, bonded indebtedness and obliga-

tions incurred under applicable statutes,

as long as they are in force and effect,

are assured.

FURTHER ORDERED that the judgment

of the district court, made and entered

on the mandate, be consistent with this

order.

FINALLY ORDERED that the petitions

for rehearing be and are denied, except

as otherwise in this order provided.

February 7 , 1980.

By the Court

JOHN F. RAPER

JOHN F. RAPER

Chief Justice

APPENDIX C

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF HOT SPRINGS

COUNTY, WYOMING

WASHAKIE COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT )

NUMBER ONE, ET AL, )

Plaintiffs, )

-vs- CIVIL NO. 6770 )

ED HERSCHLER, ET AL, )

Defendants. )

JUDGMENT AND ORDER

This matter having come before the

Court upon and after a decision of the

Wyoming Supreme Court rendered on Jan-

uary 15, 1980, mandate having issued

from that Court, IT IS, hereby, the

holding and ORDER of this Court, that:

1. The Order of Dismissal entered

herein on May 3, 1979, which was the

subject of an appeal to the Wyoming

Supreme Court, is hereby vacated.

2. The Wyoming system of financing

public education is hereby declared

unconstitutional, in that it fails to

afford equal protection in violation of

the Wyoming Constitution. The relief

granted herein, and the direction of

the opinion of the Wyoming Supreme Court

shall be prospective.

This matter is referred to the

Wyoming State Legislature for the con-

version of the present system of financ-

ing public education in the State of

Wyoming to a system in conformity with

the Wyoming Constitution and the sense

C-1

of the decision of the Wyoming Supreme

Court. It is considered and ordered

that this conversion be in effect and

underway not later than July l, 1983.

4. It is FURTHER ORDERED that

the school system of the State of Wyo-

ming continue under existing statutes;

and the validity and enforceability of

past and future acts, bonded indebted-

ness and obligations incurred under

applicable statutes, as long as they

are in force and effect, are assured.

5. This Court shall retain ju-

risdiction over this cause until a

constitutional body of legislation is

enacted and in effect, and for the

further purpose of taking such action

as may be necessary to assure conform-

ity to the decision of the Wyoming

Supreme Court.

DONE this a3 day of March, 1980.

Joseph F. Maier, Judge

Joseph F. Maier, Judge

April 1, 1980

CERTIFIED A TRUE COPY

Pe Rushin

otek of Court

Deputy

APPENDIX D

STATE OF WYOMING )

) ss

COUNTY OF HOT SPRINGS )

IN THE DISTRICT COURT

FIFTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT

Civil No. 6770

WASHAKIE COUNTY SCHOOL

DISTRICT NUMBER ONE,

et al.,

)

)

)

)

Plaintiffs, )

: )

V. )

)

ED HERSCHLER, et al., . )

)

Defendants. )

ORDER GRANTING MOTIONS

TO DISMISS

THIS MATTER HAVING COME before the

Court on the motion of all Defendants to

dismiss the Complaint herein and the

Court having considered the memoranda

of the parties in support of and in

opposition to said motions, and having

heard oral arguments of counsel thereon,

and being fully advised in the premises;

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the mo-

tions to dismiss of the Defendants and

each of them should be and hereby is

granted, and that the Complaint in the

captioned matter is hereby dismissed.

DATED this 3 day of May , 1979.

Joseph F. Maier, District Judge

APPENDIX E

IN THE SUPREME COURT

STATE OF WYOMING

WASHAKIE COUNTY SCHOOL

DISTRICT NUMBER ONE, et al,

Appellants,

vs. No. 5145

ED HERSCHLER, et al,

eee eee ee eee

Appellees.

PETITION FOR REHEARING

The Appellees, Hot Springs County

School District No. 1, and Sublette

County School District No. 9 petition

the Court for rehearing the above en-

titled matter for the following reasons:

1. Appellees have been denied due

process and a fair hearing.

2. A factual hearing is required

to determine whether the findings of

fact and conclusions of law can be

supported and,

a. Such hearing is guaranteed by

the Statutes and Rules of Wyoming

and required for procedural due

process.

b. If there is a justicible con-

troversy, such hearing is required.

c. Such hearing is required by the

Declaratory Judgment Act under which

this action was brought and decided.

3. The Supreme Court lacks juris-

diction to render such a decision or

judgment on evidence originally intro-

duced in the Supreme Court without offer

by any party or opportunity of any party

to rebut or cross examine.

4. The present decision lacks ad-

equate standards and guidelines for

compliance therewith and is indefinite

and vague.

5. The constitutional questions

have been decided without being fully

presented and argued, in contravention

of all previous decisions of this Court.

6. The decision as it now stands

has effectively stopped all bonded in-

debtedness financing by school districts

within Wyoming and has jeopardized the

holders and value of all existing bond

issues, thereby stopping nearly all

school construction.

7. The decision as it now stands

has declared unconstitutional all school

tax levies and most other sources of

revenue, thereby jeopardizing the con-

tinuation of all public eduction with-

in the State of Wyoming, including

even that of Appellants.

DATED this 28th day of January, 1980.

ROSS D. COPENHAVER

OF ROSS D. COPENHAVER, P.C.

Attorney for Appellees, Hot

Springs County School District

Number One and Sublette County

School District Number Nine

Box 839, Powell, WY 82435

APPENDIX F

BRIEF OF POINTS AND AUTHORITIES

I

APPELLEES HAVE BEEN DENIED DUE PROCESS

AND A FAIR HEARING.

"Due process of law does not mean

according to the whim, caprice or

will of a judge. . . It means accord-

ing to law. . . It shuts out all

interference not according to

established principles of justice,

one of them being the right and

opportunity for a hearing: to cross

examine, to meet opposing evidence,

and to oppose with evidence...

Judicial absolutism is not a part

of the American way of life. The

odious doctrine that the end jus-

tifies the means does not prevail

in our system for the administra-

tion of justice. The power vested

in a judge is to hear and determine,

not to determine without a hearing.

When the constitution requires a

hearing, it. requires a fair one, one

before a tribunal which meets es-

tablished standards of procedure. . "

In Re Estate of Buckman, (Cal. 1954)

267 P2d 73, 47 ALR2d 291, 306.

Although Appellee school districts

are not persons for the purposes of due

process of law under the Fifth Amendment,

56 L.Ed.2d 895, 901, the state is a

"person" under statutory provisions. Anti-

Trust Laws, 56 L.Ed2d 895, 908; Internal

Revenue Code, 56 L.Ed.2d 895, 913. As

used in the Statutes of the State of

Wyoming, "person" includes a corporation

or any other entity, public or private.

W.S. 8-1-102.

7%

Appellee school districts are each a

body corporate. W.S. 21-3-101. Each of

them has authority to sue and be sued.

W.S. 21-3-111. This court in the instant

decision has stated:

"The school districts and the members

of school boards are charged with the

responsibility of providing education

to. the children of Wyoming and are

tangibly injured if the statutes

which guide their hands disenable

them from so providing."

And as such Appellees have a standing

and an interest in this action brought

against them by the Appellants and the

Statutes and Rules of Procedure of the

State of Wyoming would appear to govern

the rights and procedures to which these

Appellees are entitled and upon which

they can rely.

The statutes and rules governing this

matter include:

1. The Declaratory Judgment Act gives

a right to judicial determination

of issues of fact. W.S. 1-37-111.

2. The order of trial provided by

statute (and Appellees are even en-

titled to a jury determination of

factual issues if demanded and if

afforded an opportunity to make

such demand) would provide an oppor-

tunity to produce evidence and to

rebut the evidence of Plaintiffs

(and presumably any additional evi-

dence secured or admitted by the

court). W.S. 1-11-205.

3. Appellees should have the oppor-

tunity to present their defenses and

objections. WRCP, Rule 12.

4. A right to have the issues

tried by the court is provided by

Rule 39 WRCP.

5. The testimony of witnesses

should be taken orally in open

court. Rule 33, WRCP.

6. Appellees should have an oppor-

tunity to request a special findings

of fact. Rule 52, WRCP.

In addition to which any litigant, in-

cluding Appellees, should be afforded

all of the fundamental rules of due pro-

cess contemplated in common law.

The opportunity to be heard is a

fundamental requisite of due process of

law. 16A AmJur2d Constitutional Law,

Section 827, page 1014.

Although the Supreme Court has ack-

nowledged that a state is not a person

for the purposes of due process of law

of the Fifth Amendment, 16A AmJur2d

Constitutional Law, Section 826, page

1010; and a political subdivision is not

within the protection of the equal pro-

tection clause of the Fourteenth Amend-

ment against an act of the State Legis-

lature "in opposition to the will of.its

creator," Williams vs. Baltimore, 289

us 36, 77 Leeds 1015, 1020; and the

Amendment does not protect the State

itself, as against the acts of other

states. Pennsylvania vs. New Jersey,

426 US 660, 49 L.Ed.2d 124, 129; it

is respectfully submitted that the

legislature having given Appellee school

districts the full right to use of the

courts and the procedures therein,

such right "in accord with the will of

its creator" cannot be denied by the

courts, and such denial is a violation

of equal protection under both the

Fourteenth Amendment of the United

States Constitution, and Sections 8

and 34 of Article I of the Wyoming

Constitution.

The procedural due process provided

by the Statutes and Rules of Wyoming is

substantially the same as by decision

is granted to individuals under the

Fourteenth Amendment. The Court in

the instant decision has said that

Wyoming's Constitutional provision of

uniform operation of law is equivalent

to equal protection and is projected

to the school system of the state.

The procedural due process right of

a state were specifically recognized

by the court in State vs. Anderson,

(Minn.) 19 NW2d 70. The statute pro-

vided for a hearing and the court, at

page 74 said;

"We now hold that such right to

answer and to have a hearing at

which witnesses may be examined

and cross examined is the abso-

lute right of the state."

To judge in a contested proceeding

implies the hearing of evidence from both

sides in open court, a comparison of

the merits of the evidence, a conclu-

sion from the evidence of where the truth

lies, the application of appropriate laws

to the facts found and the rendition of

judgment accordingly. Manley vs. Georgia,

279 US 1, 73 L.Ed. 575, 578.

The right to present evidence is

essential to the fair hearing required

by the due process clause. Jenkins vs.

McKeithen, 395 US 411, 23 L.Ed.2d 404,

421. Due process of law is provided

when the party is given full opportunity

to present the questions of law and fact

in trial court with the right to reserve

questions for review and have them reviewed

*”*

by the appellate courts. All this is

provided for by law in an orderly adminis-

tration of justice. Life and Casualty

Insurance Company vs. Womack, (Ala.)

151 S. 880, S81; Minnesota vs. Sax,

(Minn.) 42 NW2d 68; 18 ALR2d 929, 940.

The provision for a hearing implies

the privilege of introducing evidence.

Baltimore & O.R. Co. vs. U.S., 264 US

258, 256, 68 L.Ed. 657, 674.

There is no hearing in the constitu-

tional sense where the party does not

know what evidence is offered or con-

sidered and is not given an opportunity

to protest, explain or refute. 16A

AmJur Constitutional Law, Section 848,

page 1058. The right under the Due

Process Clause to a full hearing inclu-

des the right of the party whose rights

are sought to be affected to introduce

evidence and have judicial findings

based upon it. Baltimore & O.R. Co.

vs. U.S., 298 US 349, 80 L.Ed. 1209,

1224.7

This Wyoming Supreme Court itself,

in Holm vs. State, 404 P2d 740, 744, has

stated:

"One of the most basic elements

of due process is the right of

each party to be apprised of

all the evidence upon which an

issue is to be decide, with

the right to examine, explain

or rebut such evidence. ..

and, the right to hear and

controvert all evidence upon

which a factual adjudication is

to be made, includes the right

to hear and cross examine

witnesses."

It is an elementary principle of due

process that if during a trial the court

sua sponte unearths a point of law which

F-5

Pe

is deemed decisive of the case, the

party against whom the decision impends

has the same right to be heard before

the decision as he has to produce evi-

dence on the issues of fact, and a

denial of such an opportunity deprives

him of due process. Moore vs. Cali-

fornia Mineral Products, (Cal.) 252

P2d 1005, 1007. The exclusion of com-

petent and relevant evidence on the

ground that the trial court was in po-

session of the evidence although it

was not in the record is not due pro-

cess. Minnesota vs. Sax, 42 NW2d 680,

18 ALR2d 929, 940.

Even in proceedings before admini-

strative agencies, the Due Process

Clause forbids an agency to use evidence

in a way that forecloses an opportunity

to offer a contrary presentation. 16A

AmJur2d Constitutional Law, Section 848,

pages 1061 and 1062.

The right to confront and cross

examine witnesses is a fundamental

aspect of procedural due process and

such right applies not only in criminal

proceedings, but also in noncriminal

proceedings, including administrative or

quasi judicial proceedings. Jenkins

vs. McKeith, 395 US 411, 23 L.Ed.2d 404,

421; Willner vs. Committee on Character

and Fitness, 373 US 96, 10 L.Ed.2d 224;

Wolff vs. McDonnell, 418 US 539, 41

L.Ed.2d 935.

In almost every setting where impcr-

tant decisions turn on questions of fact,

due process requires an opportunity to

confront and cross examine adverse wit-

nesses. Goldberg vs. Kelley, 397 US

254, 25 L.Ed.2d 3e7- 300. Denial of the

right to challenge matters set forth in

affidavits was denial of trial of issues

and procedural due process was lacking.

.

Collins vs. Superior Court of Los

Angeles County, (Cal.) 310 P2d 103

109-110.

II

A FACTUAL HEARING IS REQUIRED TO

DETERMINE WHETHER THE FINDINGS OF FACT

AND CONCLUSIONS OF THE COURT CAN BE

SUPPORTED.

1. A factual hearing is guaranteed

to appellees by the Statutes and Rules

Of Wyoming hereinabove identified and

is required by procedural due process

as hereinabove outlined.

2. If there is a justicible contro-

versy, a factual hearing is required.

This Court in the instant decision

in determining that the Appellants had

a standing to sue, declared that the

Appellants had a stake in an “otherwise

justicible controversy" and that such

standing was the concept used to insure

"that a justicible controversy is pre-

sented to the court." (Emphasis added).

e court conceded that there must

be a justicible controversy and found

each of the qualifications for a justi-

cible controversy to be met. The cri-

teria previously set forth in Brimmer

vs. Thompson, (Wyo. 1974), 521 P2d 574,

578, were reiterated. Such criteria

again cited, approved and adopted by the

court includes the following with empha-

sis added:

"Finally, the proceedings must

be genuinely adversary in

character and not a mere dis-

putation, but advanced with

sufficient militancy to engen-

der a thorough research an

analysis of the major issue."

This is consistent with previous de-

cisions of this court that the court will

not entertain jurisdiction unless a con-

troversy exists and there are parties

opposing each other therein. All of

which contemplates, and emphasizes the

importance previously attached by the

court to, a full and thorough presenta-

tion of issues of fact both sides of the

controversy.

Yet, the parties in this matter

have not yet been permitted to present

their controversy in a “genuinely ad-

versary"™ manner or "with sufficient

military to engender a thorough research

and analysis of the major issues."

3. A factual hearing is required

by the Declaratory Judgment Act.

"When a declaratory judgment

proceeding involves the deter-

mination of an issue of fact,

the issue may be tried and

determined as in other civil

actions." W.S. 1-37-11ll.

Appellees are not only entitled to

a judicial determination of issues of

fact, but are entitled to a determina-

tion by a jury if they should elect.

Holly Sugar Corp. vs. Fritzler, 42 Wyo

446, 474, 296 P. 206.

The Wyoming Court in the Holl

Sugar case also indicated that the

courts ordinarily will not entertain

jurisdiction unless a bona fide con-

troversy exists and there are parties

opposing each other therein. Holly

sugar Corp. vs. Fritzler, Supra, page

4. There are issues issues of fact

and conclusions found or assumed by

the court which are not supported by

evidence,

LC

Attached hereto as Exhibit "A" is

an Affidavit with Exhibits attached,

executed by George W. Cassell, Super-

intendent of Hot Springs County School

District No. 1. The Affidavit and the

Exhibits attached hereto clearly show

and illustrate that the educational

program offered by Appellants, Washakie

County School District No. 1 and Fre-

mont County School District No. 25,

and also that offered by Natrona County

School District No. 1, which has here-

tofore been designated a "poor" district

by the court are in each instance

greater and broader than the course

offerings which can be offered to their

students by Appellee, Hot Springs

County School District No. 1, and by

the "richest" school district, Park

County School District No. 16.

There is no evidence to show or

substantiate any assumed correlation

or relative relationship between ed-

ucational offering and wealth (as

measured by assessed valuation per

pupil).

It is a non-sequitur, to assume

that because there is not a relatively

uniform amount of money on an annual

per pupil basis that there is not an

equal educational opportunity; par-

ticularly when this court itself

recognizes that "More money may be

needed in one school district to achieve

quality education than in another

because of . . ." enumerating various

differentiating factors.

Although the Wyoming Constitution

May provide:

#%

“No tax shall be imposed without the

consent of the people or their

authorized representatives. All

taxation shall be equal and uniform."

Article I, Sec. 28, Wyoming Consti-

tution.

This clause has always been construed by

this court to apply only to the assess-

ment and levy of a tax upon the property

of the subdivision which makes the levy.

Nowhere is there previous authority or

evidence that it was the intent or de-

sire of the framers of this constitu-

tion that the "proceeds" or funds

derived from the tax must be distributed

or “equally divided", either within the

tax levying subdivision or throughout

the state. In fact, this court has

heretofore said that the people of one

municipality cannot be taxed for the

benefit of people in another munici-

pality. Tennant vs. Sinclair Oil &

Gas Co., 355 P2d 887, 889.

The tables and information obtained

and used by the court in this matter

show substantial uniformity in the

assessment and levy of taxes. The prin-

ciple variations are the result of levies

for payment of principal and interest on

bond issues - and, of course, it seems

illogical to exnect every school dis-

trict to require buildings at the same

time or to issue a proportional amount

of bonds whenever a debt is incurred

by another school district.

There is no evidence to support the

statement that:

"All children in some districts are

deprived."

nor, to show of what they are deprived.

There is no evidence to show or

indicate that any portion of the system

of public schools is not "thorough and

F-10

efficient."

There is no evidence to show or

indicate that the system of public

schools is not “adequate to the proper

instruction of all youth of the state."

The court recognizes the Wyoming

School Foundation Program, its equali-

zation effort and that the fund takes

into account many variables - including

primarily the property tax revenues of

each district. The court recognizes

that there are many variables by reason

of which more money may be needed in

one school district than in another to

achieve quality education. Yet, there

is absolutely no evidence that the

foundation fund does not achieve a

substantially equal, quality educational

program - or quality education - or

thorough and efficient system - in each

school district. There is only evidence

to show, by the statistics secured and

used by the court, that there is a

different quantity of money expended by

or available to the different school dis-

tricts.

There is no evidence to show the

results of the educational program in

any school district or that there is

any difference in such results as be-

tween the various school districts.

There is no evidence that the dis-

parity in funds available under the

Wyoming system of school financing re-

sults in a disparity of educational

opportunity. There is no evidence that:

"The income from sources other than

foundation funds decreases the im-

pact of foundation grants in

equalizing school district revenue

and exacerbates the disparity."

F-11

It is respectfully submitted that an

evidential hearing would show what

funds are included as “local revenue"

in computing Foundation Fund entitle-

ments.

There is no evidence from which the

court can assume that the quality of a

child's education must be measured

solely in terms of dollars available -

rather than in dollars required to

obtain such quality.

There is no evidence to show that

any school district does not receive

the dollars required to provide a com

plete, uniform, thorough, efficient,

adequate or quality education to its

pupils.

There is no evidence, in fact,

to show what is a complete, uniform,

thorough, efficient, adequate or quality

education, either under the provisions

of the Constitution or otherwise.

There is no evidence to support the

conclusion that the Foundation Program

falls short of raising the level of ed-

ucation of any school district which

the court denominates as "poor" to

that of the level of the level of educa-

tion ot other school districts which the

court calls “rich.” In fact, it is

respectfully submitted that the affida-

vit attached hereto as Exhibit "A"

should clearly indicate that there is

or may be substantial evidence to the

contrary if such evidence will be con-

sidered.

Any classification on the basis of

wealth is a classification for distri-

bution of funds from the Foundation

Program in which the "poor" districts

receive the greater amount of distribu-

tion. It does not follow therefore that

such classification under such circum

stances can be "suspect" as labeled by

F-12

the court. In fact, the entire tenor

of the court's decision is that funds

must be distributed or redistributed on

the basis of wealth or lack of it.

The court has said:

"The burden is therefore on those

defending the classification once

its unequal results are known."

but, there is no evidence to show an

"unequal result" in education. The

only evidence shows that different

amounts of money are available to or

expended by different school districts.

The court has said the burden is on

those defending. That being the case,

those defending should be afforded an

opportunity to defend.

The court has summarily and without

evidence, rejected the proposition that

finances are:

"Only one small part in determining

the quality of education Wyoming

children receive."

Such rejection was made on the basis that

the proposition: "is unsupported by any

convincing argument or authoritv." None

of the Appellees have been afforded any

opportunity to support the proposition

by evidence, argument or authority. Due

process requires such opportunity.

Unless evidence is presented the

contrary, it appears to be wompletely

illogical to accept the statement that

because one school district spends more

money than another, it is either "squan-

dering" its money or that a similar ex-

penditure is required in every other

school district to provide an adequate

education. As hereinbefore set forth,

F-13

this court itself has recognized some of

the variable. Only an evidential hear-

ing and thorough analysis and argument,

can result in sound, proper and logical

conclusions.

This court has said:

"There is no other viable cri-

terion or test that the

Appellees show to exist, and

our exploration of the subject

has resulted only in discovery

of a quagmire of speculation,

so slippery that it evades any

secure grasp for judicial

decision making."

Appellees have, however, been given no

opportunity to show that other criteria

may be valid.

There is no evidence to show or in-

dicate or from which to conclude that:

", . « until equality of financing

is achieved, there is no practicable

method of achieving equality of

quality."

There is no evidence to show or

indicate what constitutes "equality of

financing" other than dollars per pupil -

which the court itself indicates may

generate a constitutionally offensive

classification.

The court has completely ignored

any substantial equalizing effect of the

capital construction entitlements, other

than to mention that such fund exists.

F-14

III

THE SUPREME COURT LACKS JURISDICTION

TO RENDER SUCH A DECISION OR JUDGMENT

UPON EVIDENCE ORIGINALLY INTRODUCED IN

THE SUPREME COURT WITHOUT OFFER BY ANY

PARTY OR OPPORTUNITY OF ANY PARTY TO

REBUT OR CROSS EXAMINE.

Unless the po\2r or authority of a

court to perform a contemplated act can

be found in the constitution or the laws

enacted thereunder, it is without juris-

diction and its acts are invalid. 16

AmJur2d Constitutional Law, Section 307,

page 824, 825.

Courts, like other agencies of the

government, are subject to controlling

constitutional provisions and valid ex-

isting laws; and in performing judicial

functions, courts must be careful to

keep within the constitutional limits of

their own powers and to proceed by due

process of law. 16 AmJur2d Constitu-

tional Law, Section 307, page 830.

"The Supreme Court shall have

general appellate jurisdiction,

coextensive with the state, in

both civil and criminal causes,

and shall have a general super-

intending controlsever all in-

ferior courts, under such rules

and regulations as may be pre-

scribed by law." Article V,

Section 2, Wyoming Constitution.

The Supreme Court is essentially a

court of review with reference to cases

where original jurisdiction is lodged

exclusively in a lower court and in that

sense, its jurisdiction is limited and

ought not to be extended beyond the limits

prescribed. State vs. Kelley, 17 Wyo 335,

“i, 2: OS UC

F-15

"The district court shall have orig-

inal jurisdiction of all causes, both

at law and in equity. . . The district

court shall also have original juris-

diction in all cases and of all

proceedings in which jurisdiction

shall not have been by law vested ex-

clusively in some other court;. . ."

Article V. Sec. 10, Wyoming Consti-

tution.

The provisions of the Wyoming Uniform

Declaratory Judgments Act include:

"Courts of record within their re-

spective jurisdictions may declare

rights, status and other legal re-

lations whether or nor further relief

is or could be claimed. .."

"Any person. . . whose rights,

status or other legal relations are

affected by the Wyoming Constitution

or by a statute. . .may have any

question of construction or validity

arising under the instrument deter-

mined and obtain a declaration of

rights, status or other legal rela-

tions." W.S. 1-37-103.

"Final orders and judgments entered

in declaratory judgment proceedings

may be reviewed as in other civil

actions." W.S. 1-37-109

"Further relief based on a declara-

tory judgment may be granted. Appli-

cation therefor should be by petition

to a court having jurisdiction to

grant the relief. If the application

is sufficient, the court, on reason-

able notice, shall require any adverse

party whose rights have been

F-16

adjudicated by the declaratory judg-

ment to show cause why further relief

should not be granted." (Emphasis

added) W.S. 1-37-110.

"When a declaratory judgment pro-

ceeding involves the determination

of an issue of fact, the issue may

be tried and determined as in other

civil actions." W.S. 1-37-111l.

The court has no power to ignore court

procedure. It is an exercise of unlawful

authority to ignore the well established

and securely grounded processes of orderly

court procedure so necessary under our

system of government to secure to a liti-

gant his day in court - due process of law.

State vs. Tedder, (Fl. 1936) 166 S. 590, 595.

The trial court must determine and

dispose of all factual questions before the

Supreme Court should be asked to determine

constitutional problems. State Ex Rel

Fawcett vs. Board of Count Commissioners,

73 Wyo. 69, 87, 273 P2d 188; State Ex Rel

Keefe vs. Jones, 62 Wyo. 71, 161 P2d 135;

White vs. Board of County Commissioners, 77

Wyo. 246, 313 P2d 484.

As hereinabove indicated, the Supreme

Court does not have jurisdiction to

exercise original authority, to enter any

declaratory judgment, or order specify-

ing what judgment should be entered; the

court does not have jurisdiction, power,

or authority to disregard court procedure,

or to deny any judicial determination or

trial of fact as provided by the Declara-

tory Judgment Act. The jurisdiction of

this court itself is controlled by the

Constitution. The district court has

original jurisdiction and this court can

exercise only appellate jurisdiction.

There is no constitutional or statutory

F-17

#%

procedure whereby the Supreme Court can

deny to Appellees a judicial determina-

tion and trial of facts at the district

court level.

F-18

APPENDIX G

W.S. 1-37-111. When a declaratory

judgment proceeding involves the determi-

nation of an issue of fact, the issue may

be tried and determined as in other civil

actions.

WRCP (Wyoming Rules of Civil Procedure)

Rule 12. ". . .(1) If the court denies the

motion or postpones its disposition until

the trial on the merits, the responsive

pleadings shall be served within ten (10)

days after notice of the court's action;

- - -" “Every defense, in law or fact,

to a claim for a relief in any pleading,

whether a claim, counterclaim, cross-claim,

or third-party claim, shall be asserted in

the responsive pleading thereto if one is

required, except that the following

defenses may at the option of the pleader

be made by motion: (1) lack of jurisdic-

tion over the subject matter, ... (6)

failure to state a claim upon which relief

can be granted, (7) failure to join the

party under Rule 19. A motion making any

of these defenses shall be made before

pleading if a further pleading is permitted.

No defense or objection is waived by being

joined with one or more other defenses or

objections in a responsive pleading or

motion.

WRCP Rule 39. ". . .(b) By the court. -

Issues not demanded for trial by jury as

provided in Rule 38 shall be tried by the

SOGECS. « «”

WRCP Rule 38. "(a) Right preserved. -

Issues of law must be tried by the court,

unless referred as hereinafter provided;

and issues of fact arising in actions for

the recovery of money only, or specific,

real or personal property, shall be tried

by a jury unless a jury trial be waived,

or a reference be ordered. All other issues

of fact shall be tried by the court, subject

to its power to order any issue to be tried

by a jury, or referred.”

WRCP Rule 43. "(a) Form and admissibil-

ity. - In all trials the testimony of wit-

nesses shall be taken orally in open court,

unless otherwise provided by these rules,

by statute, the: Wyoming Rules of Evidence,

or other rules adopted by the Suprem Court

of Wyoming."

WRCP Rule 52. "(a) General and special

findings by court. - Upon the trial of

questions of fact by the court, or with an

advisory jury, it shall not be necessary

for the court to state its findings,

except generally for the plaintiff or

defendant, unless one of the parties

requests it before the introduction of

any evidence, with the view of excepting

to the decision of the court upon the

questions of law involved in the trial, in

which case the court shall state in writing

its special findings of fact separately

from its conclusions of law; provided, that

without such request the court may make

such special findings of fact and conclu-

sions of law as it deems proper and if the

same are preserved in the record either by

stenographic report or by the court's

written memorandum, the same may be con-

sidered on appeal. . ."”

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.