Jurisdictional Statement — Pitsenberger v. Pitsenberger

Supreme Court brief1980

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Bupreme Court, U. &-7

FILED

APR 30 1980

JR., CLERA

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

“79-1729

JOHN W. PITSENBERGER,

Appellant,

~

MARY W. PITSENBERGER,

Appellee.

ON APPEAL FROM THE

COURT OF APPEALS OF MARYLAND

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

Joun G. GILL, JR.

ELLEN ANN CALLAHAN

17 West Jefferson Street

Rockville, Maryland 20850

(301) 340-9444

Attorneys for Appellant

OE

Washington, D.C. «© THIEL PRESS + (202) 638-4621

(t)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Se GREET bs sc cele poe a ae ee ee

FORE Ghee acco ks-ue Cheb hewaee sce et

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, STATUTES,

nn Bcc cue eR EO ETS Lee Cre eee

I. The Maryland Law at Issue Violates the Due Process

Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment in That It

Fails To Provide for a Meaningful Hearing Before

Dispossessing Spouse of His Real Property .....

II. The Maryland Law at Issue Permits the Unlawful

Taking of Private Property Without Just Compen-

sation in Violation of the Fifth and Fourteenth

FN 66.5 Sask 6 oa en BRR ek

APPENDICES:

A. Opinion of the Court of Appeals of Maryland .....

B. Opinion of the Circuit Court for Montgomery

CO, FRU, 5 kis Ni vance owesslelele

i TO CANE 5 is a's cas Kee eke

D. Subtitle 6A. Property Disposition in Divorce and

Annulment, Courts and Judicial Proceedings, Anno-

COR RG OE PN os 6 WS owns we ok bcs

I OHMS 254 0. vos ca te Cbd

WOUNDED oe. ccs cence

DOD NEN ens hk ak eee

Rules of the Sixth Judicial Circuit of Maryland,

wssenhenict Me eC Ce

(12)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: iia

Bell v. Burson, 402 U.S. 535 (1971) .............. rE

Bianchi v. Morales, 262 U.S. 170 (1923)............05.% 8

Calero-Toledo v. Pearson Yacht Leasing Co., 416 U.S.

coat cee MOREE OEE TE Ce Ce ORT eae ee 8

Causby v. United States, 328 U.S. 256 (1946)........... 12

Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad Co. v. Chicago,

Be Wc Ree CORFE ck ve ew aWek ek wea eee 10

Ewing v. Mytinger & Casselberry, Inc., 339 U.S.

Be Se ie cee Sara mee. gree ee me 9

Fahey v. Mallonee, 382 U.S. 245 (1947)... .. cece cccces 9

Fuentes v. Shevin, 407 U.S. 67 (1972) ............ BP

Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254 (1970) ..........206- 7

Jackson v. Metropolitan Edison Co., 419 U.S. 345 (1974)... 7

Lindsey v. Normet, 405 U.S. 56 (1972) .............. 8

North American Cold Storage Co. v. Chicago, 211 U.S.

Pee SOUS 0b oo he a 6 8 ae 4d Ob ee eee 9

Penn. Central Transportation Co. v. City of New York,

ee | a er err ry ee 11

United States v. General Motors Corp., 323 U.S. 373

ERED no 6 oes bens 0s Seip ade a ees 2,10,11

Constitutional Provisions:

Fifth Amendment, United States Constitution .... 1,3, 4,6, 10

Fourteenth Amendment, United States Constitution

PN ey ern Che 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10

Statutes and Rules:

Section 3-6A-06, Courts and Judicial Proceedings, Anno-

tated Code of Maryland

ae oe i, 2, 5, @, &, & 7.9, 26,13, 82,29

Rules of the Sixth Judicial Circuit of Maryland, Rule $74. .3, 4

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

No.

JOHN W. PITSENBERGER,

Appellant,

MARY W. PITSENBERGER,

Appellee.

ON APPEAL FROM THE

COURT OF APPEALS OF MARYLAND

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

John W. Pitsenberger, appellant, appeals from the final

judgment of the Court of Appeals of Maryland, dated

January 31, 1980, holding that Section 3-6A-06, Courts

and Judicial Proceedings, Annotated Code of Maryland,

is not unconstitutional as violative of appellant’s rights to

due process and to just compensation guaranteed by the

Fourteenth and Fifth Amendments of the Constitution

of the United States.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals of Maryland,

which appears in the appendix hereto, p. la, ifra, is

reported unofficially at 410 A.2d 1052 (1980).

The opinion of the Circuit Court for Montgomery

County, Maryland is reprinted in the appendix hereto,

p. 17a, infra.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals of Maryland

upholding the validity of a Maryland statute was filed on

January 31, 1980.

A notice of appeal to this Court was duly filed in the

Circuit Court for Montgomery County, Maryland, the

court possessed with the record, on April 21, 1980. See

p. 21a, infra.

This appeal is being docketed in this Court within 90

days from the filing of the opinion below. The jurisdic-

tion of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1257 (2).

Cases believed to sustain jurisdiction are: Fuentes v.

Shevin, 407 U.S. 67 (1971); Bell v. Burson, 402 U.S.

535 (1970); United States v. General Motors Corp., 323

U.S. 373 (1945).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS,

STATUTES, AND RULES

The statute, the validity of which is questioned, is

Section 3-6A-06 of the Maryland Property Disposition

in Divorce and Annulment Act. It can be found in

the Courts and Judicial Proceedings Volume of the

Annotated Code of Maryland, 1979 Supplement, pgs.

3

70-71.! The full text of this section is set forth in the

appendix hereto, p. 23a, infra.

Constitution of the United States of America, Amend-

ment V:

No person shall be . . . deprived of life, liberty,

or property, without due process of law; nor shall

private property be taken for public use without

just compensation.

Constitution of the United States of America, Amend-

ment XIV:

- - + [NJor shall any State deprive any person of

life, liberty, or property without due process of

ae

Courts and Judicial Proceedings, Annotated Code of

Maryland, Section 3-6A-01.

Courts and Judicial Proceedings, Annotated Code of

Maryland, Section 3-6A-07.

Rules of the Sixth Judicial Circuit of Maryland, Rules

S74.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether Section 3-6A-06, Courts and Judicial Pro-

ceedings, Annotated Code of Maryland, which permits

a pendente lite award of the family home to a petitioning

spouse without a preliminary determination that there

exist grounds for divorce or that the evicted spouse

presents a danger to the health, safety, and welfare of

1Subsequent to the Circuit Court decision in this case, the

Maryland Property Disposition in Divorce and Annulment Act

was amended and incorporated into the most recent Courts and

Judicial Proceedings Volume of the Annotated Code of Maryland.

These amendments do not affect this appeal. The revised statute

can be found in Md. Cts. & Jud. Proc. Code Ann. § 3-6A-06,

pgs. 118-119.

e?

4

the petitioning spouse or the children of the parties,

violates the due process clause of the Fourteenth Amend-

ment of the United States Constitution?

2. Whether Section 3-6A-06, Courts and Judicial Pro-

ceedings, Annotated Code of Maryland, permits the

unlawful taking of private property without just com-

pensation in violation of the Fifth and Fourteenth

Amendments of the United States Constitution?

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Appellant John W. Pitsenberger is married to Appellee

Mary W. Pitsenberger. They own a home located in

Rockville, Maryland as tenants by the entirety. In August

of 1978, appellee left the family home taking two of

the parties’ five children with her (John C. and Alison)

and $10,000.00 from the parties’ joint savings. In Sep-

tember 1978, the other three children of the parties

(Guendolen, Deirdre, and Jennifer) began residing with

appellee.

On January 2, 1979, appellee filed a bill of complaint

for divorce a mensa et thoro seeking, inter alia, a use

and possession order for the family home and family use

personal property pursuant to Section 3-6A-06, Courts

and Judicial Proceedings, Annotated Code of Maryland?

(effective January 1, 1979).

On February 16, 1979, a pendente lite hearing was

held before a Domestic Relations Master who has no

authority under local judicial rules to consider the merits

of a contested divorce action.? After refusing to hear

testimony relating to the merits of appellee’s suit for

2 This section is hereinafter referred to as Section 3-6A-06.

3Rules of the Sixth Judicial Circuit of Maryland, Rule S74b.

5

divorce, the Master recommended that appellee be

granted custody of the children and pendente lite use of

the family home and familv use personal property. The

Master also recommended that appellant pay $1,000.00

per month child support as well as the monthly mortgage

on the family home. (E. 13-14).* However, the findings

of fact upon which the Master’s recommendations were

based do not include a preliminary finding that there

exist grounds for divorce, that the presence of appellant

in the family home presented a danger to the health,

safety, or welfare of appellee or the children of the

parties, or the amount of money which would justly

compensate appellant for the taking of his possessory

interest in the family home and family use personal

property.

The Circuit Court subsequently adopted the recom-

mendations of the Domestic Relations Master in an order

dated May 23, 1979. However, the Circuit Court’s order

modified these recommendations to award “exclusive”

use of the family home and family use personal property

to appellant (E. 17) thereby ripening the constitutional

issues. The next day that court issued an order for

appellant to show cause why he should not be held in

contempt for failing to vacate the family home. Appel-

lant filed an Opposition to Plaintiff’s Petition to Hold

Defendant in Contempt and raised the federal due

process and just compensation issues:

ee, eo

5. §3-6A-06 is unconstitutional in that it

authorizes the taking of property without just

compensation and due process required by the

4(E. ) refers to the pages of the record extract prepared by

the parties for the Court of Appeals of Maryland.

#*

6

Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the

United States Constitution .... [E. 28]

* * x

Following the contempt hearing of May 26, 1979, the

lower court expressly rejected appellant’s constitutional

arguments by ruling that Section 3-6A-06 does not

violate the due process provisions of the federal and state

constitutions or amount to an unlawful taking of private

property. See opinion below, p. 17a, infra. Appellant

vacated his home* on June 5, 1979 and filed an inter-

locutory appeal to the Court of Appeals of Maryland.®

Appellant’s brief reiterated the two constitutional issues

raised in the Circuit Court as previously set forth in this

Jurisdictional Statement. On January 31, 1980, the

Maryland Court of Appeals filed its opinion which

squarely faced the federal constitutional issues and which

upheld the validity of Section 3-6A-06. See opinion

below, p. la, infra. There has yet to be a trial on the

merits of appellee’s divorce action.

SAppellant was outraged by the Circuit Court’s May 23, 1979

order which, although not based on a finding of marital fault on

the part of appellant, deprived him of the custody of his children,

of his home and possessions, and of two-thirds of his take-home

pay. After vacating the family home, appellant refused to comply

with the remaining portions of the May 23, 1979 order, including

the portion requiring him to pay the mortgage on the family home.

Appellant was incarcerated for ninety-nine days as a result of the

subsequent civil contempt proceedings initiated by the appellee.

During this period of incarceration appellant was fired, after

twenty-six years of government employment, from his $50,000.00

per year position as Chief Engineer of the Navy Strategic Missile

Program.

©The Maryland Court of Special Appeals, the intermediate Ap-

pellate Court, was bypassed when the highest Court of Maryland

granted a petition for certiorari due to great public importance of

the issues involved.

7

THE QUESTIONS ARE SUBSTANTIAL

THE MARYLAND LAW AT ISSUE VIOLATES

THE DUE PROCESS CLAUSE OF THE FOUR-

TEENTH AMENDMENT IN THAT IT FAILS TO

PROVIDE FOR A MEANINGFUL HEARING

BEFORE DISPOSSESSING A SPOUSE OF HIS

REAL PROPERTY.

Section 3-6A-06, which permits a pendente lite award

of the family home to a petitioning spouse without a

preliminary determination that there exist grounds for

divorce or that the evicted spouse presents a danger to

the health, safety, and welfare of the petitioning spouse

or the children of the parties, violates the due process

clause of the Fourteenth Amendment of the United

States Constitution.

The Court of Appeals of Maryland conceded the exist-

ence of the prerequisites invoking the protection of

the Fourteenth Amendment due process clause. First,

appellant’s dispossession of the family home and family

use personal property constituted “state action” because

it entangled the state in the Section 3-6A-06 pendente

kite proceedings. Jackson v. Metropolitan Edison Co.,

419 U.S. 345 (1974). Second, appellant’s dispossession

of the family home and family use personal property was

a significant taking even though the taking involved only

a possessory interest and is possibly temporary. Fuentes

v. Shevin, 407 U.S. 67 (1972). If there is state action

depriving an individual of a significant property interest,

due process requires a meaningful hearing (Bell v. Burson,

402 U.S. 535 (1971)), at a meaningful time. Goldberg v.

Kelly, 397 U.S. 254 (1970); Fuentes v. Shevin, supra.

The pendente lite hearing was not a meaningful hearing

because the Domestic Relations Master refused to permit

8

testimony pertaining to the merits of appellee’s suit for

divorce. It is clear that in a suit for divorce the existence

of grounds for divorce is the ultimate and central issue.

The Court below cited Lindsey v. Normet, 405 U.S.

56 (1972), and Bianchi v. Morales, 262 U.S. 170 (1923)

as authority for constitutionally limiting the issues at the

pendente lite hearing to the considerations set forth in

Section 3-6A-01(A)(1)-(4). However, these cases do not

provide authority for eliminating from consideration, at

a pre-dispossession hearing, the central and ultimate issue

in the case. To the contrary, in Lindsey v. Normet, supra,

this Court upheld a leasehold repossession statute which

limited consideration at the pre-dispossession hearing to

the very issue raised by the landlord’s suit: whether the

tenant failed to timely pay his rent.

The position of the Court of Appeals of Maryland

that the central issue of a case can be avoided at the

pre-dispossession hearing is contrary to the concept of

“meaningful hearing” and is not in accord with the

applicable decisions of this Court. In Bell v. Burson,

supra, this Court considered a Georgia statute which

required that the driver’s license of an uninsured motoxist

involved in an accident be revoked unless he posted

security sufficient to cover the amount of damages

claimed by the aggrieved parties of the accident. The

Court found this statutory scheme violated due process

because the liability of the uninsured motorist was

excluded from consideration at the Motor Vehicle Ad-

ministration hearing. While this Court has previously

determined that there may exist compelling circum-

stances warranting a pre-hearing seizure of property, an

examination of these cases clearly demonstrates that such

compelling circumstances do not exist in this case. See,

e.g., Calero-Toledo v. Pearson Yacht Leasing Company,

9

416 U.S. 663 (1974) (seizure of yacht transporting

marijuana); Ewing v. Mytinger & Casselberry, Inc., 339

U.S. 594 (1950) (misbranded drugs); Fahey v. Mallonee,

332 U.S. 245 (1947) (bank failure); North American

Cold Storage Company v. Chicago, 211 U.S. 306 (1908)

(contaminated foods). Arguably a pre-hearing seizure

may be warranted if the presence of the spouse in the

family home presents a danger to the health, safety and

welfare of the spotisé seeking the use and possession

order or to the children of the parties. However, there

was no such finding by the Domestic Relations Master

and no such a finding is required by Section 3-6A-06.

This statutory scheme, which has few safeguards

against abuse, permitted appellee to abandon the family

home, to take the children, to file for a pendente lite

use and possession order, and to oust appellant from the

family home. And yet appellant, who may be completely

innocent of any marital fault, can obtain no relief until

the trial on the merits of the divorce action.

Appellant will be accorded the opportunity for the

required meaningful hearing only when the trial on the

merits is reached by the Circuit Court for Montgomery

County, Maryland, in the regular course of administering

its calendar. This trial has twice been postponed due to

a crowded court docket. A trial on the merits which

takes place more than a year after a significant depriva-

tion is well beyond the period of delay rejected by this

Court in Fuentes v. Shevin, supra, at 86:

The Fourteenth Amendment draws no bright lines

around three-day, 10-day or 50-day deprivations

of property. Any significant taking of property by

the State is within the purview of the Due Process

Clause. While the length and consequent severity of

a deprivation may be another factor to weigh in

10

determining the appropriate form of a hearing, it is

not decisive of the basic right to a prior hearing of

some kind.

THE MARYLAND LAW AT ISSUE PERMITS THE

UNLAWFUL TAKING OF PRIVATF PROPERTY

WITHOUT JUST COMPENSATION IN_ VIO-

LATION OF THE FIFTH AND FOURTEENTH

AMENDMENTS OF THE UNITED STATES CON-

STITUTION.

It is well-established that the due process clause of

the Fourteenth Amendment requires a State to pay just

compensation when it takes private property for a public

purpose. Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad Co. v.

Chicago, 166 U.S. 226 (1897).

The State, through its entanglement in the Section

3-6A-06 pendente lite hearing, effectively takes from

appellant his property by awarding to appellee the

exclusive use and possession of appellant’s home and

family use personal property. This taking of appellant’s

property was not accomplished through the institution

of formal eminent domain proceedings by the State.

However, the institution of eminent domain proceedings

by the State is not necessary for a taking of property.

United States v. General Motors Corp., 323 U.S. 373

(1945).

Although there is no taking of the ownership interest

of appellant in the property, the requirement of just

compensation for a constitutional taking of property is

not contingent upon the taking of an ownership interest.

This Court has recognized that a taking of property

subject to a lease requires compensation to the tenant

enjoying the leasehold irterest. United States v. General

Motors Corp., supra. It is clear that the taking of only a

ll

possessory interest in property entitles the owner to just

compensation. It is also clear that even the temporary

taking of a possessory interest requires the payment of

compensation to the owner. United States v. General

Motors Corp., supra.

Appellant submits that he is entitled to compensation

in the amount of the fair market value of his possessory

interest in the family home.” However, there is no provi-

sion in Section 3-6A-06 for compensation to a spouse

evicted from the family home. There was no finding of

fact by the Domestic Relations Master of the amount

necessary to justly compensate appellant for the taking

of his family home. Instead of awarding just compen-

sation to appellant, the Circuit Court ordered appellant

to pay the monthly mortgage on the family home.

The Court of Appeals of Maryland found no taking of

appellant’s property because appellant’s children were

occupying his home. The Court concluded that appellant

has not been deprived of all beneficial use of his prop-

erty and is not entitled to compensation.

The lower court’s reasoning is based on an apparent

assumption that the State’s activity is that of a noncom-

pensable regulation of appellant’s property under its

police power. Whether the State’s interference with

private property is a nonconipensable regulation or a

taking can only be determined by examining the facts

of each case. Penn Central Transportation Co. v. City

of New York, 438 U.S. 104 (1978). Appellant respect-

fully submits that the State’s physical intrusion on his

property is not a regulation but is a taking of his property

‘In fact, under principles of Maryland eminent domain law,

he would receive additional compensation for relocation and

assistance provided for in Md. R. P. Code Ann. 12-202 (a).

12

entitling him to compensation. Causby v. United States,

328 U.S. 256 (1946).

Il.

THIS CASE IS IMPORTANT.

In 1978, approximately 1,128,000 marriages were

dissolved by divorce or annulment in the United States.

In 1979, this number increased to 1,170,000.8 It is

clear that in the United States in 1980 a divorce action

has ceased to be a rare or exceptional legal proceeding.

Thus, the implications of this case render it one of

generic importance to a major segment of this country’s

population.

This population segment is becoming significant in

that the Maryland Property Disposition in Divorce and

Annulment Act represents a developing trend in the

treatment of pending divorce actions by numerous state

legislatures. At this time, there are at least thirteen

states permitting the pendente lite ouster of a spouse

from the family home.? None of these statutes requires

a showing of probable grounds for divorce. Two statutes,

like Maryland’s, do not even require a showing that the

petitioning party or the children of the parties is endan-

gered by the presence of the opposing spouse in the

8Nat’l Center for Health Statistics, Monthly Vital Statistics

Report, Provisional Statistics (DHEW Pub. No. (PHS) 80-1120,

1980).

Cal. Civil Code, § 4359 (a); Colo. Rev. Stat., § 14-10-108 (2);

Conn. Gen. Stat., §46b-83; Del. Code Ann., tit. 15, § 1509 (a)(5);

Ill. Rev. Stat., ch. 40, § 701; Me. Rev. Stat. Ann., tit. 19, § 722-B;

Md. Cts. & Jud. Proc. Code Ann., §3-6A-06; Mass. Gen. Laws

Ann., ch. 208, §34B (West); Mo. Rev. Stat., § 452.315 2(3);

Mont. Rev. Codes Ann., § 40-4-106 (2)(c); N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann.,

§ 458.16; Wash. Rev. Code, § 26.09.060(2)(c); W. Va. Code,

§ 48-2-13.

13

family home.!° The sanction by the Court of Appeals

of Maryland of the constitutionality of Maryland’s

statute renders the statute an appealing model for addi-

tional states desiring to legislate an easy method of

providing temporary shelter to a party awaiting the

resolution of a divorce action.

In light of the predictable acrimony involved in a

contested divorce action and in light of the failure of

these statutes to adequately protect innocent spouses

against abuse, these statutory schemes provide a great

potential for the infringement of individual constitu-

tional rights.

This case is a specific demonstration of the injustice

and unfairness accruing to an individual whose constitu-

tional right to be heard has been infringed. Appellant

was forbidden even to preliminarily dispute the merits

of his spouse’s divorce action and he was stripped of his

home and his possessions. The Maryland statute enforces

the shattering of appellant’s family by prohibiting him

from visiting his children in his own home. Appellant

had no meaningful say in his dispossession and he has

no recourse. And yet Appellant has consistently pro-

fessed his willingness to reconcile with his wife; see e.g.,

(E. 9). This statute is repugnant to the concept of fair

play encompassed in the due process clause because

it permits the grossest of deprivations on the mere

assertion by a party that he or she has grounds for

divorce.

This case represents the first constitutional test of a

radically new statute which substantially alters the right

10Conn. Gen. Stat., § 46b-83; Md. Cts. & Jud. Proc. Code Ann.,

§ 3-6A-06; W. Va. Code, § 48-2-13.

14

of a spouse to occupy his or her home prior to a decree

of divorce. It is a case of significant public interest so

as to require plenary consideration of the Supreme Court

of the United States.

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, this Court should note probable

jurisdiction of this appeal.

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN G. GILL, JR.

ELLEN ANN CALLAHAN

17 West Jefferson Street

Rockville, Maryland 20850

(301) 340-9444

Attorneys for Appellant

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A

John W. PITSENBERGER

v.

Mary W. PITSENBERGER,

No. 80.

Court of Appeals of Maryland.

Jan. 31, 1980.

Ellen Ann Callahan, Rockville (Gill & Sippel, Rock-

ville, on brief), for appellant.

Vincent E. Ferretti, Jr., Rockville (Ferretti, Ehrlich

& Gordon, Rockville, on brief), for appellee.

Argued before MURPHY, C.J., and SMITH, DIGGES,

ELDRIDGE, ORTH,* COLE and DAVIDSON, JJ.

MURPHY, Chief Judge.

This is the first case in which we consider the consti-

tutionality of Maryland’s new legislation on property dis-

position in divorce and annulment — ch. 794 of the Acts

of 1978, now codified as Maryland Code (1974), 1979

Cum.Supp. §§3-6A-01 to 3-6A-07 of the Courts and

Judicial Proceedings Article. More specifically, two ques-

tions are raised for our determination:

1. Does §3-6A-06, on its face, violate procedural

due process by authorizing a pendite lite use and pos-

session award of the family home and other property

without a preliminary showing by the petitioning

spouse that grounds exist for a divorce?

*Orth, J., participated in the hearing of the case and the con-

ference in regard to its decision but retired prior to the adoption of

the opinion by the Court.

R 2a

2. Does §3-6A-06 permit the unlawful taking of

private property without just compensation in viola-

tion of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments of the

United States Constitution, Article 24 of the Mary-

land Declaration of Rights,! and Article Ill, §40 of

the Maryland Constitution?

John and Mary Pitsenberger were married on June 30,

1962, in Alexandria, Virginia. Five children were born as

a result of the marriage. In August of 1978, Mary left the

family, home in Rockville, Maryland, taking two of the

parties five minor children and $10,000 from the parties’

joint savings account. About one month later, the other

three children went to live with Mary in a small three

bedroom townhouse in Derwood, Maryland. Mary rented

the house on a month-to-month lease, but she was in-

formed that the lease would not be renewed after May of

1979. While living with Mary, the children remained en-

rolled in the neighborhood schools near the family home.

Mary drove them to school each day.

On January 2, 1979, Mary filed a bill of complaint for

a divorce a mensa et thoro on the grounds of construc-

tive desertion in the Circuit Court for Montgomery

County. She sought pendite lite custody of the children,

child support, alimony and, pursuant to §3-6A-06(d), an

exclusive use and possession order for the family home

and family use personal property (furniture, applicances,

household furnishings and a 1973 Dodge Dart). On Feb-

ruary 9, 1979, John filed his answer and a cross-bill of

complaint for divorce a mensa et thoro on the grounds of

desertion.”

I Formerly Article 23 until changed by constitutional amend-

ment, ratified November 7, 1978. See chapter 681 of the Acts of

1977.

2John filed a petition on April 19, 1979 to dismiss his cross

claim for divorce without prejudice.

3a

On February 16, 1979, a hearing was held before a

domestic relations master to determine pendite lite the

issues of child custody and support, alimony, and the

need of the parties and the children to remain in the fam-

ily home. Mary testified that she was on welfare and

lacked funds to rent another house or apartment. Despite

John’s yearly salary of approximately $47,000, she said

she had received no child support since August, 1978.

With respect to alternative living arrangements, Mary

explained that her mother’s residence, a small three bed-

room house in Alexandria, Virginia, provided insufficient

living room for her family. The only other alternative

was to stay at the three bedroom house of her brother-in-

law and his wife and two children. Even if they could

reside there on an emergency basis, she would have to

drive each day from Bowie, Maryland to the children’s

schools. Other testimony was heard respecting the fitness

of each party to have custody of the children. A Court

Investigator’s report indicated that all of the children

expressed a strong desire to live with their mother. The

master refused to hear testimony pertaining to the merits

of Mary’s suit for divorce.

The master recommended that Mary be awarded pen-

dente lite custody of the minor children and that John

pay $1,000 per month child support, as well as pay the

mortgage, taxes and insurance for the family home. The

master also recommended that Mary be awarded pen-

dente lite use of the family home, the family personal

property located in the home and the Dodge Dart, but

recommended that Mary be denied temporary alimony

and initial counsel fees. These recommendations were

adopted by the circuit court on May 23, 1979, and its

order specified that Mary was awarded the exclusive use

of the family home.

4a

On May 24, 1979, an order was issued requiring John

to show cause why he should not be held in contempt

for failing to vacate the family home. In response to

Mary’s petition to hold him in contempt, John raised the

constitutional issues upon which he now appeals. Fol-

lowing a contempt hearing, the circuit court (Mathias, J.)

ruled that §3-6A-06, on its face, does not violate the due

process provisions of the federal and state constitutions,

and does not sanction the unlawful taking of private

property without payment of just compensation. On

June 5, 1979, John vacated the family home. We granted

certiorari prior to determination by the Court of Special

Appeals of John’s appeal from the order of the circuit

court.

I.

The new statute has governed property disposition in

divorce and annulment actions since its effective date of

January 1, 1979. In a preamble to the statute, the Gen-

eral Assembly declared that

“*... it is the policy of this State that marriage is a

union between a man and a women having equal rights

under the law. Both spouses owe a duty to contribute

his or her best efforts to the marriage, and both, by

entering into the marriage, undertake to benefit both

spouses and any children they may have.

‘The General Assembly declares further that it is the

policy of this State that when a marriage is dissolved

the property interests of the spouses should be adjust-

ed fairly and equitably, with careful consideration

being given to both monetary and nonmonetary contri-

butions made by the respective spouses to the well-

being of the family, and further, that if there are minor

3The appeal was taken pursuant to §12-303(a) of the Courts

Article.

5a

children in the family their interest must be given par-

ticular and favorable attention.’ ” (Emphasis added.)

The statute changes Maryland law by empowering courts

to distribute assets acquired during marriage through

monetary awards, §3-6A-05, and use and possession

orders of certain property, §3-6A-06. The legislation

recognizes nonmonetary as well as monetary contribu-

tions to a family, § 3-6A-05(b)(1), and authorizes courts

to equitably distribute property acquired during mar-

riage, §3-6A-05(b)(9). The statute provides various fac-

tors to be considered in granting to a spouse with custody

of a minor child use and possession awards of the family

home and personal property used in the home. See gen-

erally, Comment, Property Disposition Upon Divorce in

Maryland: An Analysis of the New Statute, 8 U.Balt.-

L.Rev. 377 (1979).

This case involves only those sections of the statute

that pertain to pendente lite use and possession awards.

Section 3-6A-06 is applicable to disposition of the fam-

ily home and family use personal property. Definitions

of the “family home” and “family use personal prop-

erty” are provided in §3-6A-01(b) and (c), respectively.

The family home is defined as property in Maryland that:

“(1) was used as the principal residence of the spouses’

when they lived together, (2) at the time of the pro-

ceeding is owned or leased by at least one of the

spouses, and (3) is being used or will be used by at

least one of the spouses and a minor child as their

principal residence.”

Excluded from this definition is property acquired prior

to the marriage, property acquired by inheritence or gift

from a third party, or property excluded by a valid

agreement. The term “family use personal property” is

defined to encompass:

6a

“tangible personal property, acquired during the mar-

riage, owned by either spouse or owned jointly by

both spouses, and used primarily for family purposes.

It includes motor vehicles, furniture, furnishings, and

household appliances.”’

This definition also excludes property acquired by inher-

itance or gift from a third party or property excluded by

valid agreement.

Section 3-6A-06(a) directs that a family home and

family use personal property should be disposed of in

such a manner as to

“permit the children of the family to continue to live

in the environment and community which is familiar

to them and to permit the continued occupancy of the

family home and possession and use of family use per-

sonal property by a spouse with custody of a minor

child who has a need to live in that home.”

Section 3-6A-06(d) provides for a preliminary determin-

ation as to the property which constitutes the family

home and the family use personal property, and auth-

orizes a court to exercise pendente lite powers over these

types of property. In exercising this authority, a court

is directed by §3-6A-06(a) to consider the following fac-

tors:

“(1) The best interests of any minor child;

(2) The respective interest of each spouse in contin-

uing to use the family use personal property or occupy

or use the family home or any portion of it as a dwel-

ling place;

(3) The respective interest of each spouse in contin-

uing to use the family use personal property or occupy

or use the family home or any part of it for the pro-

duction of income;

7a

(4) Any hardship imposed upon the spouse whose in-

terest in the family home or family use personal prop-

erty is infringed upon by an order issued under this

section.”

A temporary or a final order concerning the family home

or family use personal property may not exceed a three-

year period from the time an.absolute or limited divorce

or annulment is granted. §3-6A-06(e). There is no pro-

vision for a preliminary determination of the existence

of grounds for a divorce.

IT.

John argues that §3-6A-06(d) violates his right to pro-

cedural due process guaranteed by the Fourteenth

Amendment of the federal constitution and Article 24

of the Maryland Declaration of Rights. He claims that

he was deprived of the use of his home without a prelim-

inary determination that Mary has grounds for a divorce.

Preliminarily, it should be pointed out that Article 24

of the Maryland Declaration of Rights and the Four-

teenth Amendment of the United States Constituion have

the same meaning, and that Supreme Court interpreta-

tions of the Fourteenth Amendment function as author-

ity for interpretation of Article 24. Barry Properties v.

Fick Bros., 277 Md. 15, 22, 353 A.2d 222 (1976); Bur-

eau of Mines v. George’s Creek, 272 Md. 143, 156, 321

A.2d 748 (1974).

Several issues are presented when analyzing a conten-

tion that a state has deprived one of his property without

due process of law, see generally, Riger v. L & B Ltd.

Partnership, 278 Md. 281, 288-89, 363 A.2d 481 (1976),

but before discussing these issues it should be made clear

that John’s argument is based on a violation of proced-

ural due process rather than substantive due process.

8a

Indeed, John makes no contention that the legislature

acted arbitrarily in enacting the family home and family

use personal property provisions contained in § 3-6A-06.

See Governor v. Exxon Corp., 279 Md. 410, 423-26, 370

A.2d 1102 (1977), aff'd, 437 U.S. 117, 98 S.Ct. 2207, 57

L.Ed.2d 91 (1978).

The first prerequisite to raising a due process argument

is that the action complained of must constitute “state”

action. Jackson v. Metropolitan Edison Co., 419 U.S.

345, 95 S.Ct. 449, 42 L.Ed.2d 477 (1974); Barry Proper-

ties v. Fick Bros., supra, 277 Md. at 22-23, 353 A.2d 222.

Next, the state action must result in a “deprivation” of

the complainant’s interest, Fuentes v. Shevin, 407 U.S.

67, 84, 92 S.Ct. 1983, 32 L.Ed.2d 556 (1972); Barry

Properties v. Fick Bros., supra, 277 Md. at 23, 353 A.2d

222; and such interest must be a “property” interest

within the meaning of the due process clause. Goss v.

Lopez, 419 U.S. 565, 576, 95 S.Ct. 729, 737, 42 L.Ed.2d

725 (1975); Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564,

569-72, 92 S.Ct. 2701, 33 L.Ed.2d 548 (1972); Fuentes

v. Shevin, supra, 407 U.S. at 84.. Finally, if state action

deprives one of a property interest, the court must bal-

ance the various interests at stake in order to determine

the procedural due process which is constitutionally

required under the circumstances. Hortonville Dist. v.

Hortonville Ed. Assn., 426 U.S. 482, 494-96, 96 S.Ct.

2308, 49 L.Ed.2d 1 (1976); Mathews v. Eldridge, 424

U.S. 319, 332-35, 96 S.Ct. 893, 47 L.Ed.2d 18 (1976);

Goss v. Lopez, supra, 419 U.S. at 577-80, 95 S.Ct. 729;

Mitchell v. W.T. Grant Co., 416 U.S. 600, 604, 607, 610,

94 S.Ct. 1895, 40 L.Ed.2d 406 (1974).

It is clear that the remedy of §3-6A-06 involves state

action because it is created, regulated and enforced by

the State. See Barry Properties v. Fick Bros., supra, 277

9a

Md. at 22-23, 353 A.2d 222 (mechanics’ liens involve

state action). There appears to be no significant differ-

ence in the degree or type of state participation in

§ 3-6A-06 proceedings as compared with the statutes per-

mitting seizure of property pendente lite that the Sup-

reme Court has voided on due process grounds. See North

Georgia Finishing, Inc. v. Di-Chem, Inc., 419 U.S. 601,

95 S.Ct. 719, 42 L.Ed.2d 751 (1975) (garnishment);

Mitchell v. W.T. Grant Co., supra (sequestration under a

vendor’s lien); Fuentes v. Shevin, supra (replevin); Snia-

dach v. Family Finance Corp., 395 U.S. 337, 89 S.Ct.

1820, 23 L.Ed.2d 349 (1969) (garnishment). Obviously,

in voiding these statutes, the Court necessarily concluded

that those prejudgment remedies sufficiently involved the

statc so as to activate due process protections. Section

5-6A-06 effectively creates a right in one tenant to

remove a cotenant from property owned by tenants by

the entirety, and thereby totally entangles the State in

§ 3-6A-06 pendente lite proceedings. The enforcement

provision of the statute, §3-6A-07(a), states: “An order,

award, or decree entered under this subtitle may be en-

forced in accordance with the Maryland Rules.” In order

to enforce a use and possession order, a court may direct

the sheriff to eject an objecting spouse from the family

home. Thus, §3-6A-06 pendente lite determinations,

created, regulated and enforced by the State, sufficiently

involve state action so as to activate Fourteenth Amend-

ment protection.

The .second prerequisite to the applicability of pro-

cedural due process protections in this case is “depriva-

tion” of property. See Fuentes v. Shevin, supra, 407

U.S. at 84-86, 92 S.Ct. 1983. John’s property interest

in the family home originates from a deed granted to

him and his wife as tenants by the entirety. The family

use personal property consists of property purchased by

10a

John and Mary during their seventeen-year marriage.

Although the use and possession order obtained by Mary

deprived John of his possession but not his title to the

family home and family use personal property, the Sup-

reme Court has held that possessory interests in prop-

erty are within the protection of the Fourteenth Amend-

ment. /d.

The fact that John’s dispossession of the family home

and the family use personal property may be temporary

does not render due process requirements inapplicable.

John’s dispossession may be considered temporary in

the sense that he may regain possession of his property

if Mary fails to prove grounds for a divorce. Further-

more, if Mary successfully establishes grounds for div-

orce, John may regain the use of his property if he is

awarded custody of the children. §3-6A-06(a). In any

event, the Supreme Court has pointed out that “‘a tem-

porary, nonfinal deprivation of property is nonetheless a

‘deprivation’ in the terms of the Fourteenth Amend-

ment.” Fuentes v. Shevin, supra, 407 U.S. at 85, 92 S.Ct.

at 1996. See Sntadach v. Family Finance Corp., supra;

Bell v. Burson, 402 U.S. 535, 91 S.Ct. 1586, 29 L.Ed.2d

90 (1971). As of December 31, 1979, John has been dis-

posessed of his property for over six months. With

respect to the length of a deprivation, the Supreme Court

said in Fuentes, supra, 407 U.S. at 86, 92 S.Ct. at 1997:

“The Fourteenth Amendment draws no bright lines

around three-day, 10-day, or 50-day deprivations of

property. Any significant taking of property by the

State is within the purview of the Due Process Clause.

While the length and consequent severity of a depri-

vation may be another factor to weigh in determin-

ing the appropriate form of hearing, it is not decisive

of the basic right to a prior hearing of some kind.”’

lla

Thus, John’s possessory interest in the family home and

family use personal property is entitled to the protection

of procedural due process of law.

Once it is determined that an interest is entitled to due

process protection, the pertinent inquiry then becomes

what process is due. Goss v. Lopez, supra, 419 U.S. at

577, 95 S.Ct. at 738. The Supreme Court has recognized

that interpretation of the due process clause is a practical

matter which must be approached with the realization

that due process “negates any concept of inflexible pro-

cedures universally applicable to every imaginable situa-

tion.” Cafeteria Workers v. McElroy, 367 U.S. 886, 895,

81 S.Ct. 1743, 6 L.Ed.2d 1230 (1961). Determing what

process is due requires consideration and accommodation

of both the government and private interests. Hortonville

Dist. v. Hortonville Ed. Assn., supra, 426 U.S.at 494, 96

S.Ct. 2308. This essentially involves balancing the var-

ious interests at stake. Riger v. L & B Limited Partner-

ship, supra, 278 Md. at 289, 363 A.2d 481. At a mini-

mum, due process requires that a deprivation of property

be preceded by “‘... notice and opportunity for hearing

appropriate to the nature of the case.’ ” Goss v. Lopez,

supra, 419 U.S. at 579, 95 S.Ct. at 738 (quoting Mullane

v. Central Hanover Trust Co., 339 U.S. 306, $15, 70 S.Ct.

652, 94 L.Ed. 865 (1950)). Fundamentally, due process

requires the opportunity to be heard “ ‘at a meaningful

time and in a meaningful manner.’ ” Mathews v. El-

dridge, supra, 424 U.S. at 333, 96 S.Ct. at 902 (quoting

Armstrong v. Manzo, 380 U.S. 545, 552, 85 S.Ct. 1187,

14 L.Ed.2d 62 (1965).

John argues that procedural due process requires a

hearing before a spouse can obtain pendente lite the

family home and family use personal property. He fur-

ther asserts that a pendente lite hearing, in order to be

12a

meaningful, must inquire into the probability that a

spouse seeking a use and possession order will ultimately

succeed on the merits of the divorce action. Otherwise,

he helieves, a party may obtain pendente lite that which

he could not obtain if there were no grounds for divorce:

the exclusive use of the family home and family use per-

sonal property. In surn, John argues that the § 3-6A-

06(d) hearing was meaningless because it avoided what he

considers to be the very subject of dispute, namely,

whether Mary had grounds for a divorce.

In addressing John’s attacks on the constitutionality of

§ 3-6A-06, we begin by considering the nature of his

interests at stake. Next, John’s interests in obtaining a

hearing on the probable grounds for divorce prior to a

pendente lite award must be weighed against the State’s

interest in implementing the procedure specified in §3-

6A-06. It should also be recognized that the State’s inter-

est, under the facts of this case, is essentially the same as

the interest of Mary and the parties’ children.

John’s interest is not to be deprived of the use of his

home and family use personal property without a prior

hearing which establishes that Mary has probable grounds

for divorce. His interest is to avoid the hardship and ex-

pense imposed on a parent who is ordered to give exclus-

ive use of the home to his children and the parent who

has been awarded custody. John argues that § 3-6A-06

pendente lite determinations may cause gross injustice.

He asserts that this section permits a spouse to leave the

family home, without grounds for divorce, and to take

the minor children and request a pendente lite use and

possession decree in order to evict his spouse from the

family home. Due to crowded court dockets, he claims

that the evicted spouse is prevented from obtaining im-

mediate relief from this hardship.

13a

In opposition to John’s interests, the State’s interest

is to ensure that when a marriage is dissolved, the inter-

ests of minor children in the family are given “particular

and favorable attention” — this being the policy of the

State as declared by the General Assembly in the pre-

amble to the statute. In enacting §3-6A-06, the State’s

provision of pendente lite use and possession awards is

intended to give special attention to the needs of minor

children to continue to live in a familiar environment for

the temporary duration of the pendente lite period.

The procedure provided for in §3-6A-06 seeks to avoid

uprooting the children from the home, school, social and

community setting upon which they are dependent,

especially during the period of parental separation. Dur-

ing this period, due to the contentious behavior of the

parents, the children have the greatest need for a stable

environment to help them overcome the family instabil-

ity. Finally, to be considered in conjunction with the

State’s and children’s interests in the pendente lite pro-

cedure, Mary also has an interest in continuing to occupy

the family home, which she owns with John as a tenant

by the entirety.

The legislature was aware in enacting §3-6A-06 that

conflicting interests must be considered and accommo-

dated prior to pendente lite use and possession awards.

This accommodation of interests is reflected in § 3-6A-

06(a) which ensures fairness by requiring a court to weigh

various needs and interests of the spouses and the chil-

dren. Prior to a pendente lite determination, which is

subject to later modification, a court must consider the

best interests of the children, the interests of each spouse

in continuing to use the family home for a dwelling place

or for production of income, and finally the court must

consider any hardship on the spouse whose interest in the

l4a

family home or family use personal property would be

interfered with by a pendente lite award. §3-6A-06(a)

(1)-(4).

Notwithstanding this procedure, which is carefully

designed to accommodate the conflicting interests pres-

ent pending dissolution of a marriage, John asserts that

the pendente lite hearing is meaningless because the exis-

tence of probable grounds for a divorce is not a matter

that must be considered prior to a pendente lite award.

In other words, John argues that §3-6A-06 pendente

lite determinations violate procedural due process be-

cause of the legislature’s decision to restrict the pendente

lite hearing to a consideration of the interests specified in

section 3-6A-06(a)(1)-(4). It has been established, how-

ever, that a state may properly limit the issues which may

be raised at a hearing prior to a proposed deprivation of

interests, if (1) the previously ignored issue may be raised

at a subsequent hearing, and (2) the postponement fur-

thers an important state purpose. See Lindsey v. Normet,

405 U.S. 56, 64-69, 92 S.Ct. 862, 31 L.Ed.2d 36 (1972);

Bianchi v. Morales, 262 U.S. 170, 171, 43 S.Ct. 526, 67

L.Ed. $28 (1923); L. Tribe, American Constitutional Lavy

552-53 (1978).

With respect to the first requirement that must be ful-

filled in order to properly limit the issues that may be

raised at a predeprivation hearing, John’s concern that no

grounds for a divorce exist will be considered at the ad-

versary hearing on the merits of Mary’s divorce com-

plaint. Section 3-6A-06 pendente lite determinations also

satisfy the second requirement. In enacting §3-6A-06,

the legislature decided not to require a preliminary find-

ing of grounds for divorce as a prerequisite to a pendente

lite award. Imposing the additional requirement that

probable grounds for divorce be proven would seriously

15a

impair the effectiveness of the statute in protecting the

children’s welfare. In many cases, the existence of

grounds for a divorce cannot be proven until a final div-

orce trial. Section 3-6A-06 is designed to ensure that

minor children need not suffer up to the point when

grounds for a divorce may be proven. Because the main

purpose of §3-6A-06 is protection of the children’s

interests, the children must be permitted to reside in

the family home regardless of the existence of probable

grounds for a divorce.* In conclusion, pendente lite use

and possession orders awarded after a consideration of

the four elements in §3-6A-06(a) satisfy procedural due

process by effecting a constitutional accommodation of

opposing interests.

III.

John next argues that § 3-6A-06 permits the unlawful

taking of private property without just compensation in

violation of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments of

the United States Constitution, Article 24 of the Mary-

land Declaration of Rights, and Article Ill, section 40 of

the Maryland Constitution.®° John contends that the use

and possession order signed by the court on May 23,

1979 effectively takes his property by awarding Mary the

exclusive use of the family home and family use personal

* John also baldly asserts, without supporting argument that

he should not have been evicted from the family home absent a

finding that he endangered the health, safety or welfare of his

children or spouse. In response to this assertion, it should be

recognized that section 3-6A-06(a) satisfied the requirements of

procedural due process through its provision of the four elements

that must be considered prior to a pendente lite award.

5 Article III, §40 and the Fourteenth Amendment have the

same meaning in reference to a “taking’’ of property. Bureau of

Mines v. George’s Creek, supra, 272 Md. at 156, 363 A.2d 481.

l6a

property. John asserts that he is entitled to compensa-

tion in the amount of the fair market value of his pos-

sessory interest in the family home and for relocation

expenses.

To constitute a taking in the constitutional sense, so

that the State must pay compensation, the state action

must deprive the owner of all beneficial use of the prop-

erty. Md.-Nat’'l Cap. P. & P. Comm’n v. Chadwick, 286

Md. 1, 10-11, 405 A.2d 241 (1979); Governor of Mary-

land v. Exxon Corp., supra, 279 Md. at 437, 370 A.2d

1102. As these cases indicate, it is not enough for the

property owner to show that the state action causes sub-

stantial loss or hardship. John, as guardian of his minor

children, is charged with their support, care and welfare.

Maryland Code (1957, 1978 Repl. Vol.), Art. 72A, §1.

Because his children have the use of the family home and

family use personal property, John is in fact using his

property to properly house his children. John therefore

has not been deprived of all beneficial use of his prop-

erty. In sum, the use and possession order does not

amount to a “taking” of private Property in violation of

the federal or state constitutions.

We thus conclude that Mary was properly awarded

pendente lite use and possession of the family home, and

family use personal property.

ORDER AFFIRMED, WITH COSTS.

© Because we have not found a “‘taking”’ in the constitutional

sense, it is unnecessary to address John’s argument that his prop-

erty was taken for the private use of another.

17a

APPENDIX B

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT

FOR MONTGOMERY COUNTY, MARYLAND

Sitting as a Court of Equity

Equity No. 65624

[Filed: May 31, 1979]

MARY W. PITSENBERGER,

Plaintiff,

v.

JOHN W. PITSENBERGER,

Defendant.

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

Defendant husband is in possession of the “family

home” and has made it clear that he will not voluntarily

yield exclusive possession to his wife who has obtained

a pendente lite order requiring him to do so. The upshot

is that he has been brought into court on a contempt

citation. His defense is that the “family home” section

of the new act on property disposition in divorce and

annulment cases is unconstitutional.

The subject property in this case meets the definition

of “family home” as set out in Section 3-6A-01 CJ.

It is owned as tenants by the entireties and was the

principal residence of the parties and their five children

when they lived together before August 19, 1978, when

the wife left, allegedly because of her husband’s cruel

and vicious conduct.

18a

Section 3-6A-06 and subsections (c)(1)(d) are the

particular portions of the property disposition act which

are alleged to be unconstitutional. Subsection (c)(1)

reads:

“Regardless of how the family home or family

use personal property is titled, owned or leased,

the court may decide that one of the parties shall

have the sole continued possession and use of that

property or it may divide the possession and use of

the property between them.”

Subsection (d) reads:

“The court may make a preliminary determi-

nation of which property is the family home or

family use personal property and may exercise

pendente lite the powers over the family home and

family use personal property which are granted in

this section. These preliminary and pendente lite

determinations are subject to modificiation during

the pendency of the proceeding.”

The defendant relies on subsection (b) for the proposi-

tion that the court may only exercise such power over

real property “when granting a limited or absolute

divorce or annulment.” Such is not our interpretation

of the statute. We must look at the statute as a whole

and attempt to harmonize its parts. It seems clear to us

that the legislature meant to give the court power over

real property used as a family home not only when

granting a divorce or annulment but also preliminarily

by way of a pendente lite order.

The defendant also attacks the law on due process

grounds, alleging an unconstitutional taking of property

prior to a hearing and determination of the basic issue

of whether plaintiff is entitled to a divorce. Defendant

cites as authority the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments

19a

to the Federal Constitution and Article 23 of the Mary-

land Declaration of Rights. We reject the notion that due

process requires first a determination that the plaintiff

is entitled to a divorce. The legislature has specifically

declared the courts may pendente lite exercise the power

granted over the “family home.”

Defendant points out abuses may occur, as, for

example, a fraudulent claim for divorce for the purpose

of expelling a spouse from the marital home. But there

is the possibility of abuse in all pendente lite orders.

We point out, however, that in the statute under review

there is a safeguard. Subsection (d) says “pendente lite

determinations are subject to modification during the

pendency of the proceeding.”

It is true that historically “the estate by the entireties

in Maryland has all its common law incidents.” Foland

v. Hoffman, 186 Md. 423. But common law rights are

subject to change by the legislature. Basta v. State, 133

Md. 568.

While in accordance with the common law our courts

have always held to the concept that neither tenant by

the entireties may dispossess the other, there is no bar

to the legislature changing this concept, as has been done

in new subtitle 6A. |

The defendant here was afforded a hearing before the

Master on a show cause order that put him on notice

that the court would be asked to grant plaintiff and her

children the right to possesss and use the “family home.”

We cannot agree with defendant that the new property

disposition law in divorce and annulment cases violates

the due process provisions of the federal or state con-

stitution or amounts to an unlawful taking of private

property.

#*%

20a

The new law contains no specific recital of sanctions

that may be used. We shall assume it was the legislative

intent that the court’s usual contempt power be used in

appropriate cases to enforce its orders. We cannot say

here that the defendant has willfully and deliberately

violated the pendente lite order of this court because

he may have been under an honest misapprehension as

to the meaning of the law. Therefore, we shall not find

him in contempt but shall instead order him by 12:00

noon on June 5, 1979, to deliver to his wife and five

children exclusive possession of the home at 14937

Walkerway Drive (sic), Rockville, Maryland. His failure

to do so shall be regarded as a contempt punishable under

the contempt power of this court.

So ORDERED this 29th day of May, 1979.

/s/ Joseph M. Mathias

Judge of the Circuit Court for

Montgomery County, Maryland

Pla

APPENDIX C

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT

FOR MONTGOMERY COUNTY, MARYLAND

Equity No. 65624

[Filed: April 21, 1980]

MARY W. PITSENBERGER,

Plainttff,

v.

JOHN W. PITSENBERGER,

Defendant.

NOTICE OF APPEAL TO THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE

UNITED STATES

Notice is hereby given that John W. Pitsenberger,

Defendant in the above-entitled case and appellant in

Appeal No. 80 in the Court of Appeals of Maryland,

hereby appeals to the Supreme Court of the United

States from the final judgment of the Court of Appeals

of Maryland filed January 31, 1980 holding constitu-

tional Section 3-6A-06, Courts and Judicial Proceeuings,

Annotated Code of Maryland.

This appeal is taken pursuant to 28 U.S.C. Section

1257(2).

22a

/s/ Ellen Ann Callahan

Attorney for Defendant/Appellant

17 West Jefferson Street

Rockville, Maryland 20850

(301) 340-9444

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that I served a copy of the foregoing

Notice of Appeal to the Supreme Court of the United

States on Vincent E. Ferretti, Jr., Attorney for Appellee,

by placing said copy in an envelope with first class post-

age prepaid addressed to said attorney at 416 Hungerford

Drive, Rockville, Maryland 20850, which is his post

office address, and by depositing said envelope and its

contents in a United States mail box in Rockville, Mary-

land, this 21st day of April, 1980. All parties required

to be served have been served.

/s/ Ellen Ann Callahan

Attomey for Defendant/Appellant

17 West Jefferson Street

Rockville, Maryland 20850

(301) 340-9444

23a

APPENDIX D

STATUTES AND RULES

Subtitle 6A. Property Disposition in Divorce and Annul-

ment, Courts and Judicial Proceedings, Annotated

Code of Maryland.

§ 3-6A-01. Definitions.

(a) Jn general.— As used in this subtitle, the follow-

ing words have the meanings indicated:

(b) Family home.—“Family home” is the property

in this. State that: (1) was used as the principal resi-

dence of the spouses when they lived together, (2) at

the time of the proceeding is owned or leased by at

least one of the spouses, and (3) is being used or will

be used by at least one of the spouses and minor child

as their principal residence. It does not include prop-

erty acquired prior to the marriage, property acquired

by inheritance or gift from a third party, or property

excluded by valid agreement.

(c) Family use personal property.—“Family use

personal property” is tangible personal property,

acquired during the marriage, owned by either spouse

or owned jointly by both spouses, and used primarily

for family purposes. It includes motor vehicles, furni-

ture, furnishings, and household appliances. However,

it does not include property acquired by inheritance or

gift from a third party, or property excluded by valid

agreement.

* ok x

**

24a

§ 3-6A-06. Family Home; Family Use Personal

Property.

(a) The authority conferred by this section shall

be exercised to permit the children of the family to

continue to live in the environment and community

which is familiar to them and to permit the continued

occupancy of the family home and possession and use

of family use personal property by a spouse with cus-

tody of a minor child who has a need to live in that

home. However the use, occupancy, and possession

of the family home may not be continued under the

authority conferred by this section if the spouse

having the use, occupancy, and possession remarries;

and also the use and possession of family use personal

property may not be continued under the authority

conferred by this section if the spouse having the use

and possession remarries. In exercising its authority

under this section, the court shall consider each of the

following factors:

(1) The best interests of any minor child;

(2) The respective interest of each spouse in con-

tinuing to use the family use personal property or

occupy or use the family home or any portion of it

as a dwelling place;

(3) The respective interest of each spouse in con-

tinuing to use the family use personal property or

occupy or use the family home or any part of it for

the production of income;

(4) Any hardship imposed upon the spouse whose

interest in the family home or family use personal

property is infringed upon by an order issued under

this section.

25a

(b) When granting a limited or absolute divorce,

or annulment, the court may determine which prop-

erty is the family home and family use personal

property.

(c)(1) Regardless of how the family home or

family use personal property is titled, owned, or

leased, the court may decide that one of the parties

shall have the sole possession and use of that property,

or it may divide the possession and use of the property

between them.

(2) The court may also order either or both of the

parties to pay all or any part of any mortgage pay-

ments or rent, all or any part of the indebtedness

related to the property, the cost of any maintenance,

insurance, assessments and taxes, and any other

similar expenses in connection with the property.

(d) The court may make a preliminary determina-

tion of which property is the family home or family

use personal property, and may exercise pendente

lite the powers over the family home and family use

personal property which are granted in this section.

These preliminary and pendente lite determinations

are subject to modification during the pendency of

the proceeding.

(e) Any provision in any temporary or final order

or decree concerning the family home or family use

personal property is subject to the terms and condi-

tions and limited to the period of time specified by the

court, and is subject to modification or dissolution

by the court, as the circumstances and justice may

require. However, any such order or decree or any

modification thereof concerning the family home or

family use personal property shall be made for a time

26a

period not to exceed 3 years from the date of the

granting of the limited or absolute divorce, or annul-

ment. Nevertheless, if the provision concerning the

family home or family use personal property is a part

of an order or decree incident to a divorce a mensa

et thoro, the provision may not subsequently be

extended for an additional period of time as part

of an order or decree incident to a divorce a vinculo

matrimonii.

(f) Upon the termination of an order issued under

this section of the family home or family use personal

property, the property shall be treated as marital

property if it so qualifies, and the court shall consider

the factors set forth in § 3-6A-05(b) in arriving at a

division of the proceeds or value of the property. If

however, the family home or the item of family use

personal property was acquired by one of the parties

before marriage or by inheritance, or was acquired by

gift by one of the parties from a third party or was

excluded by valid agreement, then upon termination

of the order the property shall be awarded to the party

who owns it.

(g) If the court determines that there is no need

for an order issued under this section regarding the

family home or all or any items of family use personal

property, the property shall be treated as marital

property if it would otherwise have been treated as

marital property.

§ 3-6A-07. Enforcement.

(a) An order, award, or decree entered under this

subtitle may be enforced in accordance with the

Maryland Rules.

27a

RULES OF THE SIXTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT

OF MARYLAND, RULE S74.

a. Scope.

In Counties having a full-time Domestic Relations

Master, or Masters, this rule shall apply. (Revised July 1,

1971)

b. Referral.

The Court, in its discretion, shall direct the Clerk to

refer to the Domestic Relations Master actions in which a

hearing has been requested, including but not limited to

the following. A bill or petition:

(i)

(ii)

(iii)

(iv)

for alimony pendente lite; or for support, cus-

tody and visitation of children pendente lite, or

for initial counsel fee;

for modification of existing orders or decrees to

increase or decrease the amount of alimony or

child support, or to change the custody of minor

children or provisions for child visitation;

for divorce, annulment, custody or separate

maintenance in which there is a decree pro con-

fesso or where the action is at issue as a result of

an answer having been filed but in which there is

no actual contest and where the parties have not

specifically requested a hearing before the Court;

however, in cases where an answer has been filed

but there is no actual contest, the file shall not be

referred to the Domestic Relations Master until

both counsel have filed with the Clerk a praecipe

(or praecipes) stating that there is no actual

contest as to any issue;

originally seeking separate maintenance, ali-

28a

mony or child support wherein it is the amount

thereof and not the right thereto that is actually

contested. 4

filed pursuant to the Uniform Reciprocal En-

forcement ot Support Act (Article 89C) where

this State is the initiating State or the responding

State.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.