Respondents Brief — California v. Sierra Club

Supreme Court brief1981

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Nos. 79-1252 and 79-1502

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1980

STATE OF CALIFORNIA, et al.,

Petitioners,

V.

SIERRA CLUB, et al.,

Respondents.

KERN COUNTY WATER AGENCY, et al.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

SIERRA CLUB, et al.,

Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT

OF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR RESPONDENTS

SIERRA CLUB, HANK SCHRAMM AND

WILLIAM DIXON

John B. Clark Michael R. Sherwood

James E. Harrington Sierra Club Legal

Robert B. Thum Defense Fund

Pettit & Martin 311 California Street

600 Montgomery Street San Francisco, CA 94104

San Francisco, CA 94111 Tel: (415) 398-1411

Tel: (415) 434-4000

Counsel for Respondents

These Respondents Have a Right to Maintain

an Action in a Federal Court to Enjoin

Violations of the Rivers and Harbors Act

of 1899.

A.

B.

The Language of the Act Suggests the

Existence of a Private Remedy.

The Common Law Background and

Legislative History of the Act

Demonstrate Indisputably that Congress

Did Not Intend to Abrogate the Pre-

Existing Right of Any Person Injured

by an Unlawful Obstruction to a

Navigable Stream to Obtain an

Injunction Against Continuation of

the Obstruction.

1. The Common Law Background

a. The Injunctive Remedy

for Obstructions to

Navigation

b. Application of the Remedy

in the Decisions of This

Court

¢. Implications of This

Historical Background

2. The Legislative History of the

Act

pe

18

18

20

30

33

Il.

a. The Congressional Debates

b. Other Alleged Indications

of Legislative Intent

Cc. From Shortly After Its Enactment Down

to the Present Day, the Act Has Been

Frequently and Consistently Inter-

preted by the Federal Courts as Allow

ing Private Enforcement of Section 10,

and Congress's Failure to Take Action

to Change This Interpretation Is a

Further Indication of Its Intention

to Permit Such Enforcement.

D. The Other Factors Deemed Relevant to

Implication of a Private Remedy Favor

Its Implication in This Case.

1. Benefit to a Particular Class

2. Consistency with the Legislative

Purpose (Herein of the Alleged

"Tll Effects" of Private

Enforecement)

3. Relegation to State Law

E. Conclusion

The State's Diversion of Water from the

Delta Without a Corps of Engineers Permit

Is a Clear Violation of Section 10 of

the Act.

A. Introduction

60

63

69

70

71

71

Page

B. The Legislative History, the Applicable 73

® Precedents and Every Consideration of

Practicality Require Rejection of the

Argument That a District Court Must

First Find an Unreasonable Opstruc-

tion to Navigable Capacity Before the

e Corps of Engineers May Assume Juris-

diction to Examine That Same Issue, an

Argument Which is Futile in This Case

in Any Event Because the District Court

Did in Fact, Albeit Gratuitously, Make

Precisely Such a Finding.

C. The Argument That the Statute 79

Prohibits Only a Physical Disturbance

of the Streambed Is Likewise Refuted

by Both the Pertinent Authorities

and Considerations of Practical

* Necessity.

D. The Argument That State Activities 81

Are Exempt from the Statute Is Simi-

larly Contradicted by the Statutory

Language, the Decisions of This Court

ad and the Legislative History.

. E. The Contention That the Permit for 91

. the Clifton Court Forebay Intake

Facility Authorized the Earlier Con-

e struction of the Entire Delta Pumping

Plant Is Refuted by the Record.

F. Conclusion 92

CONCLUSION 93

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Acme Boat Rentals, Inc. v. J. Ray 56

McDermott & Co.,

424 F.2d 393 (Sth Cir. 1970)

Alameda Conservation Assn. v. 52

State of California,

437 F.2d 1087 (9th Cir. 1971)

Allen v. Board of Elections, 10-13 ,16, 64

393 U.S. 544 (1969) 65-66

American Zinc Co. v. Foster, 56

313 F.Supp. 671 (S.D. Miss. 1970)

Barcelo v. Brown, 54

478 F.Supp. 646 (D.P.R. 1979)

Bellaire, Benwood & Wheeling Ferry 53

Co. v. Interstate Bridge Co.

40 F.2d 323 (4th Cir. 1930)

,

Board of Gnrs.. of Port of New Orleans 56

v. M/V Agelos Michael,

390 F.Supp. 1012 (E.D.La. 1974)

Burgess v. M/V Tamano,

370 F.Supp. 247 (D.Me. 1973)

California v. United States,

438 U.S. 645 (1978)

Cannon v. University of Chicago,

441 U.S. 677 (1979)

52

83

9,11,14,16,30,32,

33,40,41,42,46,48,

51,59,60,61,63,64,

68

Cardwell v. American River Bridge Co., 21,25,26,87

113 U.S. 205 (1885)

i.

-*

Carver v. San Pedro, L.A. & S.L.

R.R. Co., 151 Fed. 334 (1906)

Carolina Power & Light Co. v. South

Carolina Public Service Auth.,

94 F.2d 520 (4th Cir. 1938)

Citizens Comm. for Environmental

Protection v. United States

Coast Guard, Pas:

456 F.Supp. 101 (D.N.J. 1978)

Citizens Committee for the Hudson

Valley v. Volpe,

302 F.Supp. 1083 (S.D.N.Y. 1969),

affd. 425 F.2d 97 (2d Cir. 1970}

City of Evansville v. Kentucky Liquid

Recycling Inc.,

604 F.2d 1008 (7th Cir. 1979)

City of Memphis v. Ingram,

98 F.Supp. 395 (E.D.Ark. (1951),

revd. on other grounds 195 F.2d

338 (8th Cir. 1952)

Complaint of Tug Helen B. Moran,

560 F.2d 527 (2d Cir. 1977)

Complaint of Wasson,

495 F.2d 571 (7th Cir. 1974)

Connecticut Action Now, Inc. v.

Roberts Plating Co.,

457 F.2d 81 (2d Cir. 1972)

Cort v. Ash, 422 U.S. 66 (1975)

Cummings v. Chicago,

188 U.S. 410 (1903)

Page

19,50-51,43

55,62

53 ;

52,83

54,68

52,62

55

56

54,55

11,15,57,61-62,63,

68,69

56-57

Davis v. County Commissioners, 19

ay 26 N.E. 848 (Mass. 1891)

Dow Chem. Co. v. Dixie Carriers, Inc., 56

330 F.Supp. 1304 (S.D.Tex. 1971)

affd. 463 F.2d 120 (Sth Cir. 1972)

® E.A. Chatfield Co. v. City of New

Haven, 110 Fed. 788 (D.Conn. 1901)

48-49 ,63

Edelman v. Jordan, 415 U.S. 662 (1974) 55

Escanaba & Lake Mich. Transp. Co. v. 21,,25,26,987

City of Chicago,

107 U.S. 678 (1883)

F.S. Royster Guano Co. v. Outten, 56

266 Fed. 484 (4th Cir. 1920)

Gibbons v. Ogden, 22 U.S. 1 (1824) 20,70

Gilman v. Philadelphia,

70 U.S. 713 (1866)

18,21,25,26-27 ,62,

70,87

Gulf Atl. Transp. Co. v. Becker Sand 56-57

& Gravel Co.,

122 F.Supp. 13 (E.D.N.C. 1954)

Hamilton v. Vicksburg, Shreveport & 21,25, 26,87

Pac. R.R. Co.,

119 U.S. 280 (1886)

Hatch v. Wallamet Iron Bridge Co., 28

6 Fed. 326 (1881),

revd. 125 U.S. 1 (1888)

Hawkinson v. Blandin Paper Co., 52

54 F.R.D. 517 (D.Minn. 1972)

v. United States, 54

331 F.Supp. 1056 (D.Conn. 1971)

Page

Hubbard v. Fort, 188 Fed. 987 76,90 2

(D.N.J. 1911) &

Hughes v. Heiser, 18

1 Bin. 463 (Pa. 1808)

Huse v. Glover, 119 U.S. 543 (1886) 21,25,26,87

Illinois v. City of Milwaukee, 68,70

; 406 U.S. 91 (1972)

Intracoastal Transp., Inc. Vv. Decatur 55

County, 482 F.2d 361 (Sth Cir. 19731

James River & Kanawha Canal Parks, 52,62 ,66,83

Inc. v. Richmond Metropolitan Auth.,

289 F.Supp. 611 (E.D.Va. 1973),

affda. 481 F.2d 1280 (4th Cir. 1973)

Kaiser Aetna v. United States, 70

444 U.S. 164 (1979)

Lansing v. Smith, 18

4 Wend. 9 (N.Y. 1829)

Lauritzen v. Chesapeake Bay Bridge 52,55,83

& Tunnel Dist.,

259 F.Supp. 633 (E.D.Va. 1966) ,

affa. 404 F.2d 1001 (4th Cir. 1968)

7%

Lavagnino v. Porto-Mix Concrete, 52,62

Inc. 330 F.Supp. 323 (D.Colo. 1971)

Libby Rod & Gun Club v. Poteat, 52

594 F.2d 742 (9th Cir. 1979)

Loveladies Property Owners Assn. 53

v. Raab,

430 F.Supp. 276 (D.N.J. 1975)

affa. per curiam 547 F.2d 1162

(34 Cir. 1976)

iv.

Page

Lownsdale v. Gray's Harbor Boom Co., 49-50 ,63

117 Fed. 983 (W.D.Wash. 1902)

*

Mayor, etc., of Georgetown v. 18,21

Alexandria Canal Co.,

37 U.S. 91 (1838)

. Miller v. Mallery, 67

410 F.Supp. 1283 (D.Ore. 1976)

Monroe County Conservation Council 52,82

v. Volpe,

472 F.2d 693 (2d Cir. 1972)

&

Morania Barge No. 140 v. M. & J. 56

Tracy, Inc.,

312 F.2d 78 (2d Cir. 1962)

Murray v. Wilson Distilling ©., 55

Ld 213 U.S. 151 (1909)

ss National R.R. Passenger Corp. v. 10,15,65

Passengers Assn. (Amtrak),

414 U.S. 453 (1974)

ad National Sea Clammers Assn. v. City 53 ,54,68

of New York,

616 F.2d 1222 (3d Cir. 1980)

cert. granted U.S. ,

49 USLW 3289 (1980)

° Natural Resources Defense Council 53, 54,67

v. Grant,

355 F.Supp. 280 (E.D.N.C. 1973)

Neches Canal Co. v. Miller & Vidor 51,83

. Lumber Co.,

24 F.2d 763 (Sth Cir. 1928)

Norfolk Dredging Co. v. Radcliff 52,62

Materials, Inc.,

264 F.Supp. 399 (E.D.Va.° 1967)

Vv.

Norfolk & Western Co. v. Dunbar &

Sullivan Dredging Co.,

F. 2d (6th Cir., decided

October 21, 1980)

North Shore Boom & Driving Co. v.

Nicomen Boom Co.,

212 U.S. 406 (1909)

Parseli v. Shell Oil C.,

421 F.Supp. 1275 (D.Conn. 1976),

affa. per curiam 573 F.2d

1289 (2d Cir. 1977)

Pennsylvania v. Wheeling & Belmont

Bridge Co., 54 U.S. 518 (851)

People of State of Ill. ex. rel.

Scott v. Hoffman,

426 F.Supp. 71 (N.D.T11. 1977)

Piscataqua Navig. Co. v. New York,

New Haven & H.R. Co.,

89 Fed. 362 (D.Mass. 1898),

revd. in part on other

101 Fed. 92 (lst Cir. 1901)

Potomac River Assn. v. Lumdeberg

Ma. Sea School, Inc.,

402 F.Supp. 344 (D.Md. 1975)

Pound v. Turck, 95 U.S. 459 (1878)

Puente de Reynosa, S.A. v. City

of McAllen,

357 F.2d 43 (Sth Cir. 1966)

Radford Iron Co. v. Appalachian Elec.

Power Co.,

62 F.2d 940 (4th Cir. 1933)

p

53 \

+

57

+

e

53 ,54,68

18,19,21-24, 29,39,

41,42

52,67

18,19

52,66

21,25, 26,87

52

53,62

ee eee

ee ee ee eo

Reading Co. v. Pope & Talbot, Inc.,

192 F.Supp. 663 (E.D.Pa. 1961),

affd. per curiam 295 F.2d 40

(3d Cir. 1961)

Red Star Towing & Transp. Co. V.

Department of Transp. of

New Jersey,

423 F.2d 104 (3d Cir. 1970)

Riggle v. State of California,

577 F.2d 579 (9th Cir. 1978)

Sanitary District of Chicago v!

United States,

266 U.S. 405 (1924)

Santa Clara Pueblo v. Martinez,

436 U.S. 49 (1978)

Securities Investor Protection Corp.

(SIPC) v. Barbour,

421 U.S. 412 (1975)

Sierra Club v. Andrus, 610 F.2d 581

(9th Cir. 1979), cert. granted

5 RR la 101 S.Ct. 68 (1980)

Sierra Club v. Leslie Salt Co.

354 F.Supp. 1099 (N.D.Cal. 1972)

Silvey v. Commissioners of Montgomery

County, 273 Fed. 202

(S.D.Qhio 1921)

State of Florida v. Charley Toppino

& Son, Inc.

514 F.2d 700 (Sth Cir. 1975)

State of South Carolina v. South

Carolina Elec. & Gas C.,

41 F.Supp. 111 (&.D.S.C. 1941)

vii.

54,82

53,55,82_

75,79,82,90

11

10,15,64,65

52

52,54

51

52

54

-?

Page

Tatum v. Blackstock, 52,62,76 ‘i

319 F.2d 397 (Sth Cir. 1963). »

The Fort Fetterman v. South Carolina 56

Highway Dept.,

261 F.2d 563 (4th Cir. 1958)

Touche, Ross & Co. v. Redington, 9,11,61 +

442 U.S. 560 (1979)

Transamerica Mortgage Advisers, Inc. 11, 30-31, 32,33, 40,

(TAMA) v. Lewis 61,60

444 U.S. 11 (1979)

United States v. Appalachian Power Co. 70

311 U.S. 377 (1940)

United States v. Arizona, 67,82

295 U.S. 174 (1935)

United States v. Bellingham Bay Boom 90

Co., 176 U.S. 211 (1899)

United States v. Joseph G. Moretti, 76

Inc., 526 F.2d 1306 (Sth Cir. 1976)

United States v. Norfolk-Berkeley 56

Bridge Corp.,

29 F.2d 115 (E.D.Pa. 1928)

United States v. Pennsylvania 33,20

Industrial Chem. Corp., /

411 U.S. 655 (1973) Fig

4

United States v. Republic Steel Corp., 33,35,70,75,80,90

362 U.S. 482 (1960)

United States v. Rio Grande Dam & 80,81,85,86

Irrig. Co.,

174 U.S. 690 (1899)

United States v. Standard Oil Co.,

384 U.S. 224 (1966)

Willamette Iron Bridge Co. v. Hatch,

125 U.S. 1 (1888)

Williamson Towing Co. v. State

of Illinois,

534 F.2d 758 (7th Cir. 1976)

Wisconsin v. Illinois,

278 U.S. 367 (1929)

Woodruff v. North Bloomfield Gravel

Mining Co.,

18 Fed. 753 (C.C.Cal. 1884}

Works v. The Junction R.R.,

Fed. Cas. No. 18,046,

30 Fed. Cas. 626 (C.C.Qhio 1853)

Wyandotte Transp

389 U.S. 191 (1967)

Zabel v. Tabb,

430 F.2d 199 (Sth Cir. 1970)

Statutes

Rivers and Harbors Act of 1890,

26 Stat. 954-55 (1890)

Rivers and Harbors Act of 1899,

33 U.S.C. §§401 et seq.

28 U.S.C. §1331

28 U.S.C. §1333

33 U.S.C. §500

. Co. v. United States,

33

15,21,25, 26,28,

35,87

82

57,75,82,90

18,19

18

37,99

76,82

12,34,80,85,87,

90

3,4-8, 9-17, 34,44,

47,48,50,51,53-

60,62-70, 73-78,

79-82 ,85, 90-91, 93

55

55

as

eo,

Legislative Materials

Da

$.27, 50th Cong., lst Sess. (1887) 29, 34,42~43 >

S.Rep. No. 224, 50th Cong., ist 29

sess. (1888)

19 Cong. Rec. 2338 (1887) 42,43 ®

21 Cong. Rec. 8601-8, 8684-90 (1890) 15-16, 29, 34-38,

44,62,63-64,

76-78 , 87-90

32 Cong. Rec. 2296-97 (1899) 13,34 @

Hearings on Water Pollution Control 76

Legislation - 1971 (Qversight of

Existing Programs) Before the House

Comm. on Public Works, 92d Cong.,

lst Sess. (1971) e

Regulations and Executive Materials

33 Code of Federal Regulations 66,92

§§322, 325, 327

15 Opinions of the Attorney General 23

526 (1876)

Books and Treatises

Kinney, Irrigation and Water Rights 83-86

(2d ed. 1912)

Pollock, Torts (Amer. ed. 1894) 18

Prosser, Torts (4th ed. 1971) 69

Warren, The Supreme Court in United § 20,22,24 ry

States History (1922)

Articles and Lectures

Koonce, "Federal Laws Affecting

Harbors Works," reprinted in

Hearings on Water Pollution

Control Legislation - 1971

(Oversight of Existing Programs)

Before the House Comm. on

Public Works, 92d Cong.,

lst sess. (1971)

Note, Federal Common Law and

Interstate Pollution,

85 Harv.L.Rev. 1439 (1972)

Smith, Private Action for Obstruction

to Public Right of Passage,

15 Col.L.Rev. 1 (1915).

. Page

76

68

18,21

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In order to avoid unnecessary repetition, plain-

tiffs and respondents Sierra Club, Hank Schramm and

William Dixon will adopt, with two discrete reservations,

the Statement of the Case set forth at pages 3-ll of the

Brief for the Federal Respondents previously filed in

these cases by the Solicitor General on December 19,

1980. The two exceptions relate to (1) the description,

at page 6 of the government's brief, of the scope of

the allegations of plaintiffs' complaint in the district

court, and (2) the statement, in footnote 8 on pages

8-9 of that brief, that, as a result of the temporary

interruption of the trial proceedings by these inter-

locutory appeals, "plaintiffs never established any

particularized damages resulting from the legal violations

found."

With regard to the first of these matters, the

federal respondents' description of plaintiffs' camplaint

seems to suggest that plaintiffs' allegations of the

damage arising from the defendants’ pumping activities

in the Delta have encompassed only "adverse effects

upon wildlife, fisheries and recreation" caused by

“degradation in water quality." This description is

incomplete. An accurate account of the full scope of

plaintiffs' claims would also include a reference to

the further allegation that the defendants’ water

diversions “directly affect navigation in said waters

and the operation in said waters of pleasure boats,

ships and other vessels" by plaintiffs and others

utilizing the Delta channels for navigational pursuits

(Jt. App. 22a).

The federal defendants’ statement that "plaintiffs

never established any particularized damage resulting

from the violations found" is likewise sanewhat mis-

leading. It is true that the defendants’ exercise of

their right to pursue interlocutory appeals fram the

preliminary injunction entered at the conclusion of the

first phase of the bifurcated trial has temporarily

foreclosed plaintiffs from presenting all of the avail-

able evidence of the precise nature and magnitude of

the damages suffered by them. However, even the trun-

cated record developed thus far includes ample evidence

to the effect that defendants' violations of the Rivers

and Harbors Act have caused definite, quantifiable and

severe injury to commercial fishing and recreational

fishing and hunting, and to the capacity of the Delta

channels to accommodate recreational and commercial

navigation (Pet. App. 88-91; Jt. App. 95a; PX 7, ll,

14, 17); and the district court has expressly found

that plaintiffs are among those engaged in these adversely

affected activities (Pet. App. 67-68).

Although plaintiffs do not similarly adopt the

separate statements of the case previously submitted in

the two briefs filed by petitioners State of California

and Kern County Water Agency et al., plaintiffs do not

dispute the literal accuracy, as opposed to the relev-

ancy, of the factual assertions appearing in either of

>

©

7%

those statements. One potentially confusing ambiguity

in the statement submitted by petitioner State of

California, however, should be noted. At various

points in its Statement of the Case, the State refers

to the proposed Peripheral Canal project in such a way

as to suggest that a determination of the legal status

of this project is still an issue in these proceedings

(Brief for California, page 10 and note 6; see also the

State's reference to section 9 of the Rivers and Harbors

Act, 33 U.S.C. §401, which the district court found to

be applicable only to the Peripheral Canal, as one of

the "statutes involved" in these cases). As the court

of appeals noted in its opinion (Pet. App. 8) and as the

federal respondents have previously informed this Court.

(Brief for Federal Respondents, page 9 n.11), no appeal

was taken by the State from the portion of the district

court's order requiring Corps of Engineers approval for

this proposed expansion of the State's diversion

facilities. Accordingly, this matter was not considered

by the court of appeals, and no challenge to this

aspect of the district court's order is now before this

Court. *

® It might also be noted that, 1f the Peripheral

Canal had not been excluded from further consideration

in these proceedings, most of the State's recital in

its brief regarding the impact of its activities on the

navigable capacity of the affected waterways would be

rendered grossly inaccurate. Although the State makes

much of the fact that the substantial lowering of water

levels caused by the present operation of the Delta and.

Tracy pumping plants has occurred primarily in the (contd.)

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Section 12 of the Rivers and Harbors Act of 1899

includes a general and unqualified grant to the district

courts of jurisdiction to enjoin violations of section

10 of the Act. The further grant of enforcement

authority to the Attorney General in section 12 in-

cludes no statement or indication that this authority

is intended to be exclusive. The language of the Act

thus suggests, though it does not campel, the conclusion

that private relief is authorized for any violation of

section 10.

The legislative history of the Act and the back-

ground of its enactment manifest a very clear unders-

tanding on the part of Congress that the provisions of

section 10 would indeed be privately enforceable. The

pre-existing common law afforded a right to injunctive

relief to any person "specially injured" by an unlawful

obstruction to a navigable waterway, and this right had

been frequently enforced in both state and federal

(footnote contd.) immediately adjacent navigable

channels of the Delta itself and was not found to

exceed (at a "minimum") one or two inches in the major

cammercial shipping channels of the Sacramento and San

Joaquin Rivers (Pet. App. 89-90), construction and

operation of the proposed Peripheral Canal, according

to the district court's unchallenged findings, would

divert "as much as 80 per cent" of the Sacramento

River's entire flow during certain seasons of the year,

in addition to causing various other severe effects on

navigation, such as the complete damming of one tributary

stream (Pet. App. 92).

courts in a long series of cases which Congress expressly

took into account in enacting this statute. The prin-

cipal purpose of the 1899 Act and its 1890 predecessor

was simply to overrule a decision of this Court to the _

effect that an obstruction to navigation was not unlaw

ful within the meaning of the rule applied in these

cases when it had been authorized by state law and when

Congress had enacted no specific countervailing pro-

hibition. It would have been extraordinary if, in the

very course of enacting the necessary federal prohi-

bition and strengthening its enforceability by autho-

rizing criminal prosecutions and civil suits by the

Attorney General, Congress had simultaneously abrogated

the principal pre-existing remedy of a private injunc-

tive action which lay at the foundation of the entire

body of law on which the new legislation was based.

The "silence" of the statute on this issue is thus

properly explained as an understandable amission by

Congress to undertake the superfluous gesture of

expressly “creating” an already existing remedy and as

a mere failure to belabor the obvious. The record of

the legislative debates on the statute is completely

consistent with this explanation, and no evidence

exists to support any other version of the legislative

intent.

From shortly after its enactment to the present

day, the lower federal courts have frequently and

consistently permitted the Act to be enforced by private

parties. The opinions of this Court have likewise

frequently intimated that the Act is privately enforce-

able. Congress's failure to take any action to correct

this consistent judicial interpretation is further

evidence of its intention to authorize a private

remedy.

| All of the other factors that are currently deemed

relevant in determining the existence of a private

remedy for violation of a federal statute favor the

implication of such a remedy in this case. The common

law background of the 1899 Act demonstrates that its

primary purpose was to afford "special benefit" to the

class of persons, such as respondents, who have been

"specially injured" by obstructions to the nation's

navigable waterways within the meaning of the pre-

existing common law rule. Wo interference with the

simultaneous public administration of the Act can

possibly arise from affording the private relief sought

in this case, which consists merely of enforcement of

the offending parties' duty.to submit their activities

to review by the responsible public agency and does not

encompass any effort to override or second-guess that

agency's ultimate determination of the legality of

those activities. Indeed, the preservation of a

private remedy will substantially advance the public

interest in enforcement of the Act because (1) private

parties injured by obstructions to navigation which the

Corps of Engineers has failed to review or approve will

otherwise be relegated to common law nuisance actions

-

>

in the state courts, with the undesirable result that

regulation of the interstate system of navigable water-

ways will came to depend on the vagaries.of the dis-

parate laws of the several states, and (2) the fact

that the federal Water and Power Resources Service is

itself, as this case illustrates, one of the most

likely potential violators of the Act might be expected

to deter the Corps of Engineers and the Attomey

General from enforcing the statutory prohibitions with

their full intended vigor in many situations unless

those actually injured by the Service's unlawful

activities are accorded the legal right to protest the

inaction of these enforcement authorities. Finally,

protection of the nation's system of navigable water-

ways, far fram being a subject "traditionally relegated

to state law," has been, at least since 1899, an area

of exclusive federal competence in which state concerns

have universally been forced to yield to the necessity

for uniform national policies enforceable by the federal

courts.

The court of appeals' construction of the substan-

tive terms of section 10 of the Act is not only correct,

but is the only interpretation which would make the

statute operate in a sensible manner to effectuate its

purposes. Petitioners’ contention that a court must

first determine whether an "unreasonable obstruction"

to navigation actually exists before the Corps of

Engineers is authorized to undertake its determination

of the identical issue would render futile the entire

administrative enforcement scheme mandated by the

statute. Petitioners’ alternative argument that obstruc™

tions to navigation authorized by a state are entitled

to same unspecified form of exemption from the ordinary

operation of the statute flies in the face of the

entire history and purpose of the 1899 Act as well as

several specific contrary holdings of this Court. The

further assertion that the statute cannot be applied to

a diversion of the flow of a navigable waterway unless

the streambed of the waterway is physically disturbed

has likewise been rejected by this Court and would

similarly transform the statute into an exercise in

futility. Finally, the contention of the water-agency~

petitioners that the statutory requirement of Corps of

Engineers review of the challenged facility, even if

applicable, was satisfied in the course of the State's

belated procurement of a permit for an ancillary

addition to that facility is, if not disingenuous, at

least devoid of any support in the record.

ARGUMENT

I. These Respondents Have a Right to

Maintain an Action in a Federal

Court to Enjoin Violations of the

Rivers and Harbors Act of 1899.

A. The Language of the Act Suggests the

Existence of a Private Remedy.

As both the federal defendants and the intervening

water agencies have previously pointed out in their

briefs, the starting point for determining whether a

“violation of a federal statute may be redressed in an

action brought by private parties is the language of

the statute itself (Brief for Water Agencies, page 11;

Brief for Federal Respondents, page 16). Touche, Ross

& Co. wv. Redington, 442 U.S. 560, 568 (1979); Cannon v.

University of Chicago, 441 U.S. 677, 689 (1979).

Accordingly, the initial focus of the Court's effort to

resolve that issue in this case must be those provisions

of section 12 of the 1899 Act (33 U.S.C. §406) which

expressly prescribe the civil remedies for violations

of the Act's substantive prohibitions. The language of

those remedial provisions consists in its entirety of

the following few words (33 U.S.C. §406):

(T]he removal of any structures or parts

of structures erected in violation of the

provisions of the said sections may be enforced

by the injunction of any district court exercising

jurisdiction in any district in which such

structures may exist, and proper proceedings to

this end may be instituted under the direction

of the Attorney General of the United States.

Altough the statute thus expressly confers juris-

diction on the district courts to enjoin all violations

of the Act and also permits the Attorney General to seek

such relief on behalf of the United States, it neither

affirms nor denies that private parties as well may

seek to enforce the equitable remedies which it autho-

rizes the courts to grant. The question thus becoumes:

What does the statutory language imply in this regard?

When Congress said that the federal courts might enjoin

violations of the Act "and" that the Attorney General

might seek such injunctive relief, did it mean that the

courts could grant equitable redress to any injured

party and in addition the Attorney General was autho-

rized to seek such relief on behalf of the general

public, or did it mean that the equitable jurisdiction

thus conferred could be exercised only at the request

of the Attorney General? To put the same question

another way: What is to be implied from Congress's

silence with respect to the rights of private parties

injured by the prohibited conduct? Did Congress amit an

express prescription of these rights because it assumed

that their existence was apparent from the pre-existing

law and that only the Attorney General's authority to

sue needed to be expressly conferred, or did it amit

this prescription because it contemplated that no

private remedy should be allowed? :

This Court's only previous recent effort to derive

answers to these sorts of questions from very similar

statutory language occurred in Allen v. Board of Elections,

393 U.S. 544 (1969).* There, as here, the statute

® All of the Court's other recent decisions on

private rights of action have involved very different

statutory terminology. Thus, in National R.R. Passenger

Corp. v. Passengers Assn. (Amtrak), 414 U.S. 453 (1974) ,

the statute provided that the district court "shall

have jurisdiction, except as otherwise prohibited by

law, upon petition of the Attorney General or, in a

case involving a labor agreement, upon petition of

any employee affected thereby," thus plainly excluding

jurisdiction to afford relief to other parties. 414

U.S. at 457. Similarly, in Securities Investor

Protection Corp. v. Barbour, 421 U.S. 412 (1975), the

remedial provision stated only that "the Commission may

apply to the district court. . . for an (contd. )

10.

conferred on the district courts "jurisdiction of proceed-

ings instituted pursuant to this section," and then went

£ on, without addressing the question of private remedies, to

provide separately that the Attorney~General "may insti-

tute . . . an action” to enforce the substantive require-

ments of the statute. 393 U.S. at 555 n.18, 556 n.2l. In

& the course of upholding a private remdey for violation of

Tfootnote contd.) order” enjoining a violation of the

statute. . 421 U.S. at 417-18. In Cort v. Ash, 422 U.S.

66 (1975), the statute prescribed solely criminal

penalties and granted no civil jurisdiction or remedies

whatsoever. 422 U.S. at 74. In Santa Clara Pueblo

v. Martinez, 436 U.S. 49 (1978), the statute authorized

relier only by a writ of habeas corpus and contained no

other jurisdictional or remedial grant. 436 U.S. at

60. In Cannon v. University of Chicago, supra, the

statute provided no judicial remedy of any kind, civil

or criminal, and instead mandated enforcement of its

provisions solely by administrative termination of

federal financial assistance to the offending institu-

tions. 441 U.S. at 684 n.4. In Touche, Poss & Co.

v. Redington, supra, the statute contained only report-

ing requirements and again prescribed no judicial

remedy at all, civil or criminal, for the types of

misstatements in the required reports that were relied

upon by the plaintiffs as the basis for their claim.

442 U.S. at 569. Finally, in Transamerica Mo

Advisers, Inc. (TAMA) v. Lewis, 444 U.S. , the

Statute provided only that agreements violative of its

terms should be "void," and authorized no remedy for

its transgression other than the general power con-

ferred on the Securities Exchange Cammission "in its

discretion" to seek injunctions against any violations

of the Act. 444 U.S. at 16-18. In Cannon, supra, and

TAMA, supra, the Court nevertheless managed to find

that a private remedy could be implied solely from the

substantive prohibitions of the statute. 441 U.S. at

717; 444 U.S. at 18-19.

the statute, this Court expressly rejected the argument

that the last quoted provision implied that the Attorney

General's enforcement authority was exclusive, finding

instead that "the specific references to the Attorney

General were included to give the Attorney General

power to enforce what otherwise might be viewed as

'private' rights." Id. at 555 n.18.

The analysis in the Allen opinion provides an

initial guide for the Court's interpretation of the

nearly identical* statutory language presented here.

* Tt is true that the grant of jurisdiction and the

grant of executive enforcement powers appeared in

separate sections of the statute in Allen, whereas here

the two provisions are separated only by a comma and

the word "and." It is certainly not apparent that any

significance should be accorded to this distinction.

For what it is worth, however, it should be noted that

these two clauses of section 12 were separated by a

semicolon rather than a comma in the corresponding

section of the 1890 statute that was the direct pre-

decessor of the Rivers and Harbors Act. Section 10 of

the 1890 Act (26 Stat. 954-55) provided as follows:

The creating or continuing of any unlawful

obstruction in this act mentioned may be

prevented and such obstruction may be caused

to be removed by the injunction of any

circuit court exercising jurisdiction in

any district in which such obstruction may

be threatened or may exist; and proper

proceedings in equity to this end may ke

instituted under the direction of the

Attorney-General of the United States.

All parties to this proceeding are apparently in agreement

that the 1890 version of the statute must be taken as a

more revealing indication of Congress's underlying

intentions than its 1899 successor, because, as will be

seen below, only the former enactment received (contd. )

12.

Admittedly, the Court in Allen did not rest its holding

solely on its literal parsing of this language. Nor do

respondents here contend that such statutory phrase-

ology necessarily implies a private right of action.

On the face of it, however, this sort of apparently

unqualified grant of general equitable jurisdiction to

the district courts, followed only by a provision for

executive enforcement which itself contains no hint

that it is intended as a limitation on the general

jurisdictional grant, is certainly supportive of the

possibility that such rights may indeed exist. As the

Court held in Allen, this type of legislative language

is at least sufficient to justify a finding that Congress

intended to permit private enforcement of the law when

it is reinforced by a legislative history that is also

indicative of such an intention. As respondents will

demonstrate in the next section, the legislative

history of the Rivers and Harbors Act is replete with

such indications.

Far less revealing of Congress's intentions in

this regard than these remedial provisions of the

Rivers and Harbors Act is the language of the substan-

tive prohibition which petitioners have been found to

have violated. Section 10 of the Act merely provides

that "it shall not be lawful" to engage in specified

activities without a permit from the Corps of Engineers,

footnote contd.) any substantive attention by the

Congress, the later Act having been presented and

accepted without debate as a mere compilation of prior

statutes that would effect no change in the content of

the law. 32 Cong. Rec. 2296-97.

13.

and does not purport to address in any wey the question

of remedies for its violation, which are, as seen

above, specifically prescribed by a separate section of

the Act. 33 U.S.C. §403. The briefs of the federal

defendants and the intervening water agencies neverthe-

less attach great significance to the particular

wording of this prohibition, arguing that it should be

taken as a purportedly clear indication of Congress's

intention to withhold a private right of action. They

rely for this view upon a passage in this Court's

opinion in Cannon v. University of Chicago, supra, in

which the Court observed that a prohibition phrased in

this manner - that is, as a bare proscription of certain

conduct which grants no right to any particular class

of individuals to be protected from the proscribed

conduct - is less indicative of an intention to autho-

rize private suits than a statute which does expressly

confer such a right. Id., 441 U.S. at 690-92.

These parties' reliance on this aspect of the

Cannon decision ig entirely misplaced in the present

context. Even if ome does not subscribe to Justice

Powell's dissenting view in Cannon that the Court's

effort to divine Congress's intentions regarding remedies

from differences in the phrasing of its substantive

proscriptions “gives undue significance to essentially

stylistic differences in legislative draftsmanship"

(441 U.S. at 740 n.13), there are at least three com

pelling reasons why the Cannon analysis mist be deemed

inapposite to this case. First, the Court in Cannon

14.

was construing a statute which provided no judicial

remedy whatsoever for its violation, so that an intent

to confer a remedy on a class of private individuals

had to be derived, if at all, solely from the language

of the substantive sections of the law. Where, as

here, the statute goes on to set forth a specific

remedial scheme, the language of the remedial provisions,

not the substantive prohibitions, has uniformly been

deemed to be the proper focus of the analysis. See

Cort v. Ash, supra at 74-75; SIPC v. Barbour, supra at

417-19; National R.R. Pass. Corp. v. Passengers Assn. ,

supra at 456-57. Secondly, the use of the "shall not

be lawful" language in the Rivers and Harbors Act is

specifically and campletely explained by a factor other

than a congressional intention to withhold private

remedies for violations of the Act. As will be shown

in greater detail below, the Act was intended as a

legislative overruling of a Gecision of this Court

(rendered, significantly, in a suit between private

parties) in which the Court had held that "there is no

cammon law of the United States which prohibits obstruc-

tions and nuisances in navigable rivers." Willamette

Iron Bridge Co. v. Hatch, 125 U.S. l, 8 (1888). The

phrase "shall not be lawful" was simply a quite natural

and direct way of expressing the contrary of this

holding by authoritatively propounding the “law of the

United States," and accordingly cannot be taken as

implying anything one way or the other on the separate

question of remedies. See 21 Cong. Rec. 8605 (remarks

15.

of Sens. Edmunds and Dolph). Finally, there is no

need, in any event, to resort to any form of speculation

about the implications of the Act's proscriptive é

language in order to determine Congress's intention to

benefit a particular class of individuals in the present

context, because its intention in that regard is made

perfectly clear by ample other evidence in the legislative e

history of the Act, all of which will be fully de-

scribed below. For all these reasons, and despite

whatever usefulness it may have possessed in Cannon,

therefore, emphasis upon the phraseology of the prohibitory

provision of the statute does not advance the analysis

in this case.*

In sum, the language of the Rivers and darbors °

Act, while not totally unreygaling, is incapable by

itself of resolving the enigma of Congress's intentions

regarding private remedies. As in Allen, supra, the

unqualified grant of general equitable jurisdiction to °

the district courts and the absence of any indication

that the executive enforcement authority conferred by

® Another element of the language of the Act sarm-

what halfheartedly invoked by the other parties in ®

support of their effort to preclude a private remedy is

the statement in section 17 of the Act that "The

Department of Justice shall conduct the legal pro-

ceedings necessary to enforce the provisions of" the

Act. 33 U.S.C. §413. Even a cursory reading of the ®

meng lg Re Sh myatee g : nti gc i: 4 acon ye Rag

term “legal proceedings" cefers exclusively to the

criminal prosecutions that are authorized by various

sections of the Act.

16.

the Act was intended to be exclusive are at least

suggestive that simultaneous private enforcement was

contemplated. Concededly, however, these indications

do not by themselves compel such a finding. Resort

must therefore be had to a detailed review of the

background and history of the congressional deliberations

that led to the law's enactment. |

B. The Common Law Background and Legislative

History of the Act Demonstrate Indisputably

that Congress Did Not Intend to Abrogate

the Pre-Existing Right of any Person Injured

by an Unlawful Obstruction to a Navigable

Stream to Obtain an Injunction Against

Continuation of the Obstruction.

The Rivers and Harbors Act of 1899 emanates fram

an era very different from our own - an era in which,

among other important differences, nearly all civil

litigation was among private parties and the vast

complex of government regulatory agencies which exists

teday was an unknown phenomenon. It would be easy,

therefore, by reviewing nothing more than the bare

record of the legislative debates on this statute, to

misunderstand the content and meaning of those debates

and, in particular, to misinterpret the fact that, as

will be seen below, none of the legislators, in the

course of the debates, actually addressed directly or

expressly the issue of whether a "private right of

action" should or should not be available to enforce

the terms of the statute. If such a misunderstanding

is to be forestalled, any account of the legislative

history of the Act must necessarily be preceded by a

17.

rather detailed consideration of the contemporary legal

climate and of the common law principles that were

perceived by the Congress as furnishing the legal

context for its enactment of this legislation. See

Cannon v. University of Chicago, supra at 696-98, 702-

3. |

1. The Common Law Background

a. The Injunctive Remedy for

Obstructions to Navigation

In the common law of the last century, it was well

settled that any obstruction of a navigable stream, if

undertaken without specific legal authorization, was a

public nuisance and, further, that it would be enjoined

at the suit of any private party to whom it had caused

particular injury. E.g-, Gilman v. Philadelphia, 70

U.S. 713, 722-24 (1866); Pennsylvania v. Wheeling &

Belmont Bridge Co., 54 U.S. 518, 563 (1851); Mayor,

etc., of Georgetown v. Alexandria Canal co., 37 U.S.

91, 97-99 (1838); Piscataqua Navig. Co. v- New York

N.H. & H.R. Co., 89 Fed. 362, 363, 365 (0.Mass. 1898) ,

revd. in part on other grounds 101 Fed. 92 (lst Cir.

1901); Woodruff v. North Bloomfield Gravel Mining Co.,

18 Fed. 753, 769-71 (C.C. Cal. 1884); Works v. The

Junction R.R., Fed. Case No. 18,046, 30 Fed. Cas. 626,

627 (C.C. Ohio 1853); Lansing v. Smith, 4 Wend. 9, 25

(N.Y. 1829); Hughes v. Heiser, 1 Bin. 463, 465 (Pa.

1808). See, generally, Pollock, Torts 488-90 (Amer.

ed. 1894); Smith, Private Action for Obstruction to

Public Right of Passage, 15 Col.L.Rev. 1 (1915).

Although some jurisdictions adopted rather stringent

18.

tests regarding the kind and degree of injury that would

suffice to sustain such an action (€.g., Davis v. County

Commissioners, 26 N.E. 848, 849-50 (Mass. 1891)),

the basic right to private relief was never questioned,

and the federal courts appear to have unanimously

adopted the more liberal rule of standing pursuant to

which any individual who had suffered any form of

actual injury other than the abstract injury to the

right of free travel enjoyed by the public at large would

be entitled to injunctive relief. Pennsylvania v.

Wheeling & Belmont Bridge Co., Supra at 566; Piscataqua

Navig. Co. v. New York, N.H. & H.R. Co., Supra at

363, 365; Woodruff v. North Bloomfield Gravel Mining Co.,

supra at 769. See Carver v. San Pedro L.A. & S.L. R.R.

Co., 151 Fed. 334, 335-36 (S.D.Cal. 1906); Smith,

supra at 16. Under this rule, injunctions were

granted, not only to persons who had actually been

prevented from navigating an obstructed stream, but

also, for example, to a merchant whose shipping costs

had been increased by the obstruction (Works v. The

Junction R.R., supra), to a proprietor of connecting

canals who had suffered a reduction of its toll revenues

by reason of the unlawful obstructions (Pennsylvania

v. Wheeling & Belmont Bridge Co., supra) and to land-

owners forced to pay increased taxes in order to maintain

public levees for protection against the flooding caused

by the obstructions (Woodruff v. North Bloomfield Gravel

Mining Co., supra).

135

e,

b. Application of the Remedy in the

Decisions of This Court

This equitable remedy against obstructions to navi-

gation naturally became an important weapon of the

commercial navigation interests in what Charles Warren

has called "the great contest between the railroads and

the steamboats in their struggle for supremacy in the

development of modern means of transportation." 2

Warren, The Supreme Court in United States History 235

(1922). Because of the earlier establishment of federal

supremacy in the field of navigation (Gibbons v. Ogden, @

22 U.S. 1 (1824)) and the system of state franchising

of reilroads that prevailed prior to the enactment of

the Interstate Commerce Act in 1890, this contest, and

this judicial weapon in the contest, also became

entwined in the great constitutional dispute that was

then being waged over the question of the self-execut-

ing character of the Commerce Clause and the breadth of

the federal commerce power. See Warren, supra at e

134-38, 152-55, 168-82, 234-41. In view of the nature

and importance of these issues and interests, it is not

surprising that a significant proportion of the numerous e

cases filed during this period invoking this particular

form of equitable relief* were finally brought before

® The government's brief refers to certain "rare

occasions" on which private parties had sought to

enjoin obstructions to navigation prior to 1890.

Although neither the government nor these respondents

have conducted any statistical survey, one gains the

distinct impression, from even a casual perusal of the

appellate reports and scholarly surveys of (contd. J

20.

a Ne ee ee ——

Ts - —

this Court for ultimate resolution. E.g., Willamette

Tron Bridge Co. v. Hatch, supra; Huse v. Glover, 119

U.S. 543 (1886); Hamilton v. Vicksburg, Shreveport

& Pac. RR. Co., 119 U.S. 280 (1886); Cardwell v. American

- River Bridge Co., 113 U.S. 205 (1885); Escanaba & Lake

Michigan Transp. Co. v. City of Chicago, 107 U.S. 678

(1883); Pound v. Turck, 95 U.S. 459 (1878); Gilman

v. Philadelphia, supra; Pennsylvania v. Wheeling &

Belmont Bridge Co., supra; Mayor, etc. of Georgetown

“vy. Alexandria Canal Co., supra.

Of these cases, the most important for our present

purposes is the well-known "Wheeling Bridge Case,"

Pennsylvania v. Wheeling & Belmont Bridge Co., supra.

Although possessing great historic significance in its

own right, the case is especially important in our

present context because it marked one of the relatively

few instances in which the standing of an injured party

to maintain an action of this kind, which was otherwise

so well settled as to require no reassurance, was

actually questioned and expressly addressed. In that

case, the plaintiff State of Pennsylvania was suing,

not as a sovereign, but as a proprietor of certain

canals and other transportation works whose revenues

had allegedly declined by reason of the curtailment of

navigation caused by the offending bridge. Id., 54

footnote contd.) the period, that private nuisance

actions of this precise kind must have comprised, in

both numbers and importance, a sizable portion of the

total docket load of the nineteenth century courts of

equity. See generally, Smith, supra.

7%

U.S. at 556-57, 559-61. See 2 Warren, Supra at 234.

Pointing out that the state was not the operator of any

of the ships or craft that had actually been prevented

from passing the bridge, the defendants argued that any

indirect effect of this obstruction on its other

commercial activities was not a sufficient "special

injury" to confer standing upon it to maintain this

type of action. In the course of rejecting this con-

tention and upholding the state's standing to sue, this

Court provided the following reaffirmation of the

existence, content and scope of this equitable remedy

(54 U.S. at 604-5, 606-7):

An indictment at common law could not be sus-

tained in the federal courts by the United

States, against the bridge as a nuisance, as

no such procedure has been authorized by Congress.

But a proceeding, on the ground of a private

and an irreparable injury, may be sustained

against it by an individual or a corporation.

Such a proceeding is common to the federal

courts, and also to the courts of the State.

The injury makes the obstruction a private

nuisance to the injured party; and the doctrine

of nuisance applies to the case where the

jurisdiction is made out, the same as in a public

prosecution. If the obstruction be unlawful,

and the injury irreparable, by a suit at

common law, the injured party may claim the

extraordinary protection of a court of

chancery.

Such a proceeding is as common and as free

from difficulty as an ordinary injunction bill,

against a proceeding at law, or to stay waste

or trespass. The powers of a court of

chancery are as well adapted, and as effectual

for relief in the case of a private nuisance, as

in either of the cases named.

22.

Congress might punish such an act criminally,

but until they shall so provide, an indictment

will not lie in the courts of the United States

for an obstruction which is a public nuisance.

But a public nuisance is also a private

nuisance, where a special and an irremediable

mischief is done to an individual.

In the case of the City of Georgetown v. The

Alexandria Co., 12 Peters, 98, this court say:

"The Court of Equity, also, pursuing the

analogy of the law, that a party may maintain a

private action for special damages, even in case of

a public nuisance, will now take jurisdiction

in case of a public nuisance, at the instance

of a private person, where he is in imminent

danger of suffering a special injury, for which,

under the circumstances of the case, the law

would not afford an adequate remedy."

This court thus provided a clear confirmation of the

availability of private relief against obstructions to

navigation, a principle which, as will be shown below,

was never again to be called into serious question in

any of its subsequent decisions. The passage just

quoted is also noteworthy, for reasons which will also

appear below, for its incidental dictum that no similar

right to relief could be asserted by a public enforce-

ment officer in the absence of express legislative

authorization (see also the subsequent opinion of the

Attorney General to the same effect, 15 GAG 526 (1876)).

Having this resolved the issue of the plaintiff's

right to assert its claim, the Wheeling Bridge opinion

then addressed the further question of whether the

obstruction created by the defendant's bridge could be

found to be unlawful in the face of the fact that it

23.

had been expressly sanctioned by a Virginia statute.

The Court gave an affirmative answer to that question

as well, holding that Congress, in the exercise of its

superior authority over regulation of interstate

navigation, had implicitly condemned any obstruction of

the river by granting licenses to steamboat operators

and by approving an interstate compact which provided

that "navigation of the River Ohio... shall be free

and common to the citizens of the United:States." Id.,

54 U.S. at 605. It was this latter aspect of the

Court's decision that was destined to be repudiated in

a series of subsequent decisions which eventually

provided the direct impetus for the Rivers and Harbors

Act.

The Wheeling Bridge decision marked both a temporary

zenith for the expansionist view of the federal camnmerce

power and the swan song of the commercial navigation

interests who had sought to resist any accommodation of

waterborne commerce with the burgeoning system of

interstate railways. See 2 Warren, supra at 235-36.

Over the next four decades, the Court's holding on the

substantive issue of the legality of state-authorized

obstructions to navigation was expunged by a long

series of decisions in which the Court consistently

yielded to the growing reality "that bridges ... are

means of commercial transportation, as well as navigable

waterways, and that the commerce which passes over a

bridge may be much greater than would ever be trans-

ported on the water it obstructs," and consistently

subordinated any notion of an implied constitutional

24.

preference for waterborne shipping to the states'

"municipal power to weigh the considerations which

belong to the subject, and to decide which shall be

preferred, and how far either shall be made subservient

to the other." Gilman v. Philadelphia, supra at 729.

Accord, Willamette Iron Bridge Co. v. Hatch, supra at

10; Huse v. Glover, supra at 548-49; Hamilton v.

Vicksburg, Shreveport & Pac. R.R. Co., supra at

281-82; Cardwell v. American River Bridge Co., supra at

208-10; Escanaba & Lake Michigan Transp. Co. v. City

of Chicago, supra at 683; Pound v. Turck, supra at

462-63. In these cases, the Court ruled, contrary to

the holding in Wheeling Bridge, that federal licensing

regulations and generalized federal guarantees of

"free" navigability were not sufficiently direct

expressions of the congressional will to justify con-

demnation of locally authorized projects that might

obstruct navigation. E.g., Willamette Iron Bridge

Co. v. Hatch, supra at 12, 14-15; Huse v. Glover, supra

at 547-48; Hamilton v. Vicksburg, Shreveport & Pac.

R.R. Co., supra at 284-85; Cardwell v. Amer. Bridge

Co., supra at 211-12; Escanaba & Lake Mich. Transp.

Co. v. City of Chicago, supra at 689-90. ‘That being

so, and there being no more specific congressional

enactment prohibiting such obstructions, the Court

concluded in each of these cases that there was no

federal substantive law whatsoever that would prevent

the states from authorizing whatever obstructions they

pleased to the nation's system of navigable waterways.

E.q., Willamette Iron Bridge Co. Vv. Hatch, supra at 8,

10; Hamilton v. Vicksburg, Shreveport & Pac. R.R. Co.,

supra at 281-82; Escanaba & Lake Mich. Transp. Co. V.

City of Chicago, supra at 683, 690; Gilman v. Philadelphia,

supra at 730-32. This was of course the particular

aspect of these decisions that eventually provoked the

congressional reaction manifested in the Rivers and

Harbors Act.

For present purposes, however, the significant

feature of this reversal of judicial positions is that

it did not embody any repudiation of, or even cast any

doubt upon, the Wheeling Bridge opinion Ss express

adoption of the basic remedial rule that, if an obstruc~

tion could be shown to be unlawful, a private plaintiff

would have a right to maintain an action to abate it.

Each of these decisions, instead, turned solely on the

separate question whether the challenged obstruction,

though concededly actionable if unlawful, was in fact

unlawful, and based its negative answer to that question

on the purely substantive grounds recited above.

Willamette Iron Bridge Co. v. Hatch, Supra at 8, 10;

Huse v. Glover, supra at 547-49; Hamilton v. Vicksburg,

Shreveport & Pacific R.R. Co., Supra at 281-82, 284-85;

Cardwell v. American River Bridge Co., Supra at 208-12;

Escanaba & Lake Michigan Transp. Co. v. City of Chicago,

supra at 687-88; Pound v. Turck, supra at 464; Gilman

v. Philadelphia, supra at 730-732. Indeed, in its

opinion in Gilman v. Philadelphia, supra, which was the

decision that actually initiated this constitutional

26.

reversal, the Court went out of its way to point out

that, while it was about to reject the substantive

holding of Wheeling Bridge, it had no occasion to

question that decision's enunciation of the basic

equitable principle on which the plaintiff based his

standing to maintain the action. On that issue the

Court said (70 U.S. at 722-24):

At the threshold of the investigation we are met

by the objection from the defendants, that the

complainants, "not being specially interested in

navigation, cannot intervene for its protection."

It is said, "that they are not the owners of

licensed coasting vessels, and are not pilots nor

navigators."

As regards this objection, the case is not

essentially different in principle from the

Wheeling Bridge case, 13 How. 553.

The further objection was also taken in that

case, that if a nuisance existed, it was of a

public nature, and was an offense against the

sovereignty whose laws were violated, and that

the sovereign only could intervene for the

correction of the evil.

It was answered by the court, that wherever

a public nuisance is productive of a specific injury

to an individual, he may make it the foundation

of an action at law, and if the injury would ke

irreparable, that a court of equity will inter-

pose by injunction.

The law upon the subject is learnedly and ably

examined. The objections were overruled. Con-

siderations of fact, of the same character

with those adverted to, exist in the case

before us, and the reasoning and conclusions

there are alike applicable in both cases.

. * e

27.

This brings us to the examination of the

merits of the case.

he ee

From that point forward, no further ques

raised in any of these cases, all of which were private

actions, regarding the plaintiff's standing to maintain

the suit. ‘The only other bare mention of that issue

occurs in a single sentence in the lower court's opinion

in the last of these cases, Willamette Iron Bridge Co.

=v. Hatch, supra, in which the circuit court had stated:

If then, this bridge, in its construction or

effect, is in conflict with either of these acts

of Congress, it is so far unlawful, and if

injurious in its operation to the rights of the

plaintiffs, is a nuisance, and may be prevented

or abated.

Hatch v. Wallamet Iron Bridge Co., 6 Fed. 326, 331 (1881) ,

revd. on other grounds 125 U.S. 1 (1888). This Court

took no exception to this statement of the remedial

rule by the lower court, and instead expressly noted

that the sole question being decided by it was “whether the

erection of a bridge over the Willamette River at Portland

was a violation of said Act of Congress [admitting

Oregon to statehood on condition ‘that all the navigable

waters of said state shall be common highways, and

forever free . . .']," a question of purely substantive

law to which the Court ultimately gave a negative

answer. Id., 125 U.S. at 8. Thus, by this stage, the

basic right of an injured private party to maintain an

action to enjoin an unlawful obstruction to navigation

had clearly attained the status of an unquestioned

assumption in the minds of counsel and of this Court.

28.

This last decision, though otherwise an unremarkable

member of the long series of decisions that accomplished

the demise of the substantive holding of the Wheeling

Bridge case, was to acquire further significance by

reason of the incidental fact that the losing plaintiff

had been represented in this Court by a United States

Senator, one J.N. Dolph of Oregon. Id., 125 U.S. at 2;

21 Cong. Rec. at 8605. Realizing that, by his own

later admission, "the Supreme Court had anticipated the

decision" against his client by its earlier decisions

"in other cases, notably The City of Chicago v. The

Escanaba Company” (21 Cong. Rec. 8605), he introduced

in the Senate, while the Willamette Bridge case was

still pending before this Court, the legislation that

eventually resulted in the reversal of his client's

defeat by the enactment of the Rivers and Harbors Act.

S. 27, 50th Cong., lst Sess. (1887); S. Rep. No. 224,

50th Cong., lst Sess. (1888). The history of Congress's

consideration and eventual enactment of what shortly

became known as the Dolph Bill (see 21 Cong. Rec. 8685)

is the subject of the next section of this brief.

First, however, it is appropriate to summarize the

foregoing account of the common law background of this

legislation, and to assess its precise significance in

the light of this Court's current standards for evaluating

congressional intentions regarcing private enforcement

of federal law.

29.

??

c. Implications of This Historical

Background

The importance of pre-existing law in determining

legislative intent was © haustively reviewed by this

Court only last year in Cannon v- University of Chicago,

supra. In that case, which involved a statute prohibit-

ing sex discrimination, the case law preceding enactment

of the statute had allowed a private right of action

for violation of a similar earlier statute proscribing

racial discrimination, but Congress, in enacting the

new prchibition against sex discrimination, had failed

to address the issue of remedies for its violation.

Be ae win aia: « weasel right of action was

nevertheless to be implied from the latter enactment,

reasoning that it is "realistic to presume that Congress

was thoroughly familiar with these unusually important

precedents" authorizing a private right of action under

the earlier statute, and that "the absence of legis-

lative action to change” those precedents should there-

fore be taken as proof that Congress "expected its

enactment to be interpreted in conformity with them."

441 U.S. at 698-99, 702-3. This approach was sub-

sequently reaffirmed in Transamerica Mortgage Advisers,

Inc. v. Lewis, supra, where the Court held that, when

Congress enacted legislation declaring certain invest-

ment contracts "void" but providing no remedy, it

should be deemed to have taken account of the pre-

existing system of equitable remedies, and accordingly

mist have “intended that the customary legal incidents

30.

of voidness would follow, including the availability

of a suit for rescission or for an injunnction against

continued operation of the contracts, and for restitution."

444 U.S. at 19.

These recent decisions place the authority of this

Court firmly behind the common sense propositions that

the legislative process does not take place in a vacuum

and that congressional draftsmen accordingly intend

their enactments to be interpreted as interstitial

additions to a pre-existing legal fabric unless they

expressly state otherwise. More particularly, these

decisions hold that new enactments of substantive law

are intended to be applied in accordance with the pre-

existing scheme of customary remedies unless the

legislation or the legislative history expressly

indicates the contrary.

These principles in turn determine the direction

which the above description of the legal background of

the Rivers and Harbors Act must give to the examination

of the legislative history of the Act which follows in

the next section. As seen above, the pre-1890 decisions

of this Court had clearly established (1) that a private

action would lie to enjoin an unlawful obstruction to

navigation, but (2) that an obstruction authorized by

state law would not be deemed unlawful in the absence

of a specific congressional prohibition, and further

(3) that specific congressional action would also be

necessary to authorize any challenge to such an obstruc-

tion by the Attorney General on behalf of the United

31.

2,

*

States. The statute which Congress enacted against

this background expressly addresses the latter two

issues but says nothing about the first, and the question

has accordingly been presented whether Congress's

Silence on that score implies an intent to leave the

existing remedial scheme in place or to change the law

in that regard by abrogating the established remedial

. rule. The principles enunciated in Cannon, Supra, and

TAMA, supra, establish that the former answer to this

question must be given unless a contrary intent is made

to appear affirmatively and clearly from the statute or

the legislative history.

This rule must be applied with a special stringency

in this case because the otherwise empirically sound

presumptions on which it is based are markedly rein-

forced by the particular background of the legislation

at issue here. One does not even need to "presume"

that Congress knows the pre-existing case law when, as

here, the sponsor of the legislation in question has

personally participated in the litigation from which

the law developed and when, as will be seen below, he

discusses the relevant cases by name with his senatorial

colleagues in the very course of the legislative

debates. Moreover, it is not only sensible, but

virtually compelled by logical necessity, to assum

that legislative silence on the question of private

remedies does not imply abrogation of a remedy clearly

recognized by prior decisional law when, as here, the

legislation has been introduced for the specific purpose

32.

——————————

— es ee

of correcting a judicial failure to grant relief toa

private plaintiff whose action had been based entirely

on that very remedy. In this case, in other words, the

usual improbability, noted in Cannon and TAMA, that a

change in the law is intended when none has been

expressed, is replaced by the virtual impossibility

that legislation enacted to reverse particular judicial

decisions could somehow be accompanied by an unexpressed

intention to revalidate those same decisions by siml-

taneously abrogating a settled principle of the law of

remedies. Something even more convincing than the

ordinary clear showing of legislative intent to change

the prior law should be demanded of those who would

seek to substantiate such an extraordinary hypothesis.

As will now be seen, no convincing evidence of any kind

tending to support this claim can be derived from the

legislative history of the Rivers and Harbors Act,

which in fact affirmatively supports the opposite

hypothesis.

2. The Legislative History of the Act

a. The Congressional Debates

The legislative history of the Rivers and Harbors

Act of 1899 has been described on several prior occasions

by this Court, most exhaustively in Justice Harlan's

dissenting opinion in United States v. Republic Steel

Corp., 362 U.S. 482, 498-503 (1960). See also United

States v. Pennsylvania Industrial Chem. Corp., 4l1

U.S. 655, 663-66 (1973); United States v. Standard Oil

Co., 384 U.S. 224, 226-28 (1966). As is there noted,

33.

the history of the Act begins with the introduction of

the Dolph Bill (S.27, 50th Cong., lst sess.) in 1887,

continues through the eventual enactment of this bill,

with extensive amendments, as the Rivers and Harbors

Act of 1890 (26 Stat. 954-55), and culminates in the

reenactment of that statute, with minor changes, as

part of a general recodification of navigation laws in

the form of the Rivers and Harbors Act of 1899 G3

U.S.C. §§401 et seq.). ‘The 1899 Act was presented and

accepted without significant debate by the Congress as

a mere "compilation" of existing law that changed "not

ten words" in the prior statutory scheme. 32 Cong.

Rec. 2296-97. All parties to this proceeding are

accordingly in agreement that any indications of con-

gressional intent which might be revealed by the Act's

legislative history must therefore be found in the

congressional deliberations on the 1890 predecessor

statute (see Brief for Water Agencies, pages 19-21;

Brief for Federal Respondents, page 21 n.13).

The debates on the 1890 statute, which consisted

of brief discussions on the floor of the Senate on two

consecutive days (21 Cong. Rec. 8601-8, 8684-90), are

themselves not extraordinarily revealing. In parti-

cular, they contain no express disclosure of a con-

gressional purpose to preserve or deny a "private right

of action" to enforce the terms of the Act. ‘The meaning

which ought to be attributed to this silence, to the

extent it is not already obvious from the preceding

discussion of the prior law, will be discussed at a

34.

5

a.

later point below. First, however, it is appropriate

to try to glean from the record of the debates what few

indirect indications are available concerning Congress's

intentions in this regard.

The first such indication is the clear confirmation

of the fact, already noted by this Court in other

contexts (United States v. Pennsylvania Industrial Chem.

‘ Corp., supra at 663; United States Vv. Republic Steel

Corp., supra at 485-86) and conceded by the federal

respondents in their brief (at page 21), that the Act

was directly intended as a legislative overruling of

the decisions in Willamette Iron Bridge Co. Vv. Hatch,

supra, and its predecessors. In a colloquy among

Senators Dolph, Gray and Sdmunds, the latter being the

author of the amendment that contained the actual

language of the remedial provision at issue here,

Senator Edmunds expressly confirmed that "it was for

that purpose that the amendment . . - Was introduced."

21 Cong. Rec. 8605. ‘The compelling significance of

this fact, in light of the further fact that Willamette

Bridge and all of its predecessors were private actions,

will be as obvious to this Court as it was to the court

of appeals (Pet. App. 74-75 n.8).

The debates also clearly reveal a thorough awareness,

on the part of all the participants, of the content of

the pre-existing case law, including the private nature

of all these earlier actions and the general availability

of a private remedy for unlawful obstructions to navigation.

Several of the relevant private actions were cited by

35.

name in the debates (21 Cong. Rec. 8604-5), and one of

the senators at one point, in a passage that will be

more fully quoted below, expressly summarized the

existing remedial rule that, when an unlawful obstruc-

tion to navigation was sought to be removed, "the only

way in which it can be done under law, under judicial

proceedings, is to condemn the fobstruction] as a

nuisance. And how is that done? It must be done at the

instance of same citizen or a number of citizens combin-

ing, who mist institute the proceeding at their own

expense; . . ." 21 Cong. Rec. 8603. Given these remarks,

the principle that congressional silence should be

interpreted as an intention to preserve the pre-existing

law can be applied even without the benefit of the

corollary presumption of congressional familiarity with

the prior law. The legislators who enacted the Rivers

and Harbors Act were in fact personally familiar with

every thread of the legal fabric into which that Act

was to be woven.

Finally, the debates provide a clear refutation of

the notion, on which both the federal respondents and

the intervening water agencies have principally based

their arguments on this whole issue, that the statutory

provision permitting enforcement of the Act by the

Attorney General was intended as an implicit abrogation

of the remedial rights of private parties. In the

following remarks, which were delivered in opposition

to a proposed amendment that would have deleted the

Act's criminal enforcement provisions, Senator Vest of

36.

Missouri eloquently expounded the actual congressional

perception of the reasons why public enforcement of

the Act was needed (21 Cong. Rec. 8603):

It is a very well known fact that hundreds of

bridges are constructed yearly in the United

States, without any permission from Congress,

over navigable streams under the jurisdiction

of the Goverrment.

Now, suppose there is no authority given to the

Secretary of War, if they are obstructions, to

remove them, what is the result? The only way

in which it can be done under law, under

judicial proceedings, is to condemn the bridge

J as a nuisance. And how is that done? It must

be done at the instance of same citizen or a

number of citizens cambining, who must institute

the proceeding at their own expense; and we know

very well that that amounts simply to nothing at

» all. It may occasionally, and that is a very

sporadic case, find some individual public-

spirited enough and with sufficient means to

enter a court of justice as an antagonist to

one of these wealthy corporations, but I have

never known such a case in my experience, and

"] I hardly think any other Senator has.

These corporations can go into the court and

, they can protract litigation until their

bridges will stand there indefinitely. The

only power that they respect in this country is

5 the power of the General Government. The only

way in which you can reach them is through

the Federal power.

These remarks concedly show that purely private enforce=

ment of the right to free navigation, as under the pre-

existing law, was perceived by the Congress as unsatis=-

factory. But they also clearly show that it was so

perceived, not because private actions were deemed

37.

<a

he,

undesirable, but because, by themselves, they were

deemed inadequate for practical reasons to prevent

particular obstructions that were being created by

certain especially affluent and recalcitrant offenders.

It follows, and is also clearly implied in this passage,

that public enforcement was intended, not as a dis-

placement of private remedies, but as a supplement that

would be effective in those instances where private

resources were inadequate to the task. The Senator's

stirring expression of admiration for the "public-

spirited" private suitors who had thus far waged the

battle for freedom of navigation clearly demonstrates,

perhaps more effectively than a direct statement to

that effect, that Congress's purpose in granting enforce-

ment powers to the Attorney General was to assist these

public benefactors, not to thwart them by abolishing

their existing legal rights.

Thus, every indication that can be derived fran

the actual record of Congress's deliberations on the

Act supports, in one way or another, the view that

existing private remedies were intended to be preserved

and utilized as a method of enforcing the Act's sub-

stantive prohibitions. Why, then, did none of the

congressmen say this in so many words? Why does the

legislative history, like the statute itself, appear

"silent" when one searches it for an explicit statement

that, a “private right of action" is afforded by the

Act?

38.

Respondents submit that the answer to this question

which clearly emerges from this entire account of the

background and history of this Act is that such a

statement was plainly unnecessary, and that in fact the

proposition was so obvious to the 1890 Congress that

any express statement of it would have been viewed as

superfluous if not fatuous. It should again be recalled

that this was an age when nearly all civil litigation

was privately initiated, and that it was administrative

enforcement by public officers, not the "private right

of action,” which was then viewed as an atypical remedy

requiring explicit authorization. See Pennsylvania

v. Wheeling & Belmont Bridge Co., supra at 604, 606.

The foregoing discussion has demonstrated that, to this

general perception, there must be added the following

specific corroborative facts: (1) that a private remedy

for obstructions to navigation was an accepted feature

of nineteenth century common law; (2) that the Supreme

Court had early reaffirmed and never again questioned

the existence of this private remedy - even while it

was refusing relief to many suitors on substantive

grounds and even while it was denying in dicta the

existence of any public remedy that might be invoked by

the government - throughout the entire lengthy series

of decisions that precipitated the enactment of this

legislation; and () that the congressmen who passed

the Act were thoroughly familiar, through personal

involvement and otherwise, with all of these decisions

and with their unquestioning acceptance of the principle

39.

of private relief. When all of these factors are taken

into account, it is plain that Congress simply would

not have seen any need for an explicit statement that

private enforcement of this enactment was contemplated.

Indeed, against this background, even the bare question

whether a “private right of action" was intended to be

"implied" from this legislation appears as a curious

modern anachronism that would scarcely have been under-

stood by the 1890 Congress. |

b. Other Alleged Indications of

Legislative Intent

At all events, even if one rejects this interpre-

tation of Congress's silence regarding “private rights

of action" and views it instead as simply a case of

unrevealing legislative oversight, a private right to

enforce the provisions of the Rivers and Harbors Act

would still have to be sustained. As noted above, the

principle that must guide this examination of the Act's

legislative history is that, when prior law has allowed

a private remedy for violation of a certain substantive

right and Congress then enacts a new substantive

prohibition without revealing its intentions regarding

private enforcement, it must be presumed to have

intended no change in the prior law of remedies and,

consequently, to have authorized private enforcement of

its new enactment. Cannon v. University of Chicago,

supra at 698-703; Transamerica Mortgage Advisers, Inc.

vy. Lewis, supra at 18-19. [If nothing else is clear

from the foregoing recital of the background of the

Rivers and Harbors Act, it is at least beyond question

40.

that the pre-existing case law allowed private parties

to sue to enjoin any obstruction to navigation that

could be shown to be unlawful. Even if the legislative

history of the Act is viewed as disclosing absolutely

nothing ‘of Congress's intentions on the issue, therefore,

the legal effect of that lack, by reason of the pre-

sumption adopted in Cannon and TAMA, supra, is to

require the Act to be interpreted as authorizing private

enforcement of its provisions. Cannon, supra at 698-

99; TAMA, supra at 18-19. This result could be avoided

only by a showing that Congress affirmatively intended

to abrogate the prior remedial rule and to foreclose

the right to private relief. See id. 441 U.S. at 686

n.7, 699, 703; 444 U.S. at 19. The burden of producing

positive evidence of Congress's intentions therefore

rests upon those who seek to resist private enforce-

ment.

The federal respondents and the intervening water

agencies have sought to satisfy this burden only ina

Curiously indirect and ultimately unconvincing fashion.

They have been unable to point to any evidence of a

congressional intention to abolish the private remedy

in the record of the actual debates on the 1890 Act,

which they barely discuss in their briefs. They have

attempted to fill this void solely by resort to inferences

allegedly to be drawn from congressional actions taken

On two separate legislative proposals at a different

session of the Congress. Even if the very remoteness

of this sort of evidence, both in time and in subject,

4l.

from the central focus of our inquiry did not render it

incapable of providing the sort of positive indication

of congressional intent required by Cannon and TAMA,

supra, both of these items would have to be disregarded

in any event because they simply do not show what these

parties claim they show.

the first item relied upon by these parties is a

Senate amendment to the criminal enforcement section of

the original version of the Dolph Bill which was adopted

shortly after that bill wes first introduced in 1887.

Section 5 of the bill (S.27, SOth Cong., lst sess.,

section 5), which is quoted in full in the federal

respondents’ brief (at pages 17-18), originally provided

that the criminal fine and penalties prescribed therein

were to be enforced and collected by the United States

Mat the suit of any district attorney of the United

States, or at the suit of any person, by information to

any district attorney... - " ‘The amendment changed

this language so as Oo provide for enforcement "by the

district attorney ..-- at the instance of any person

complaining." 19 Cong. Rec. 2338. Ultimately, neither

version of the language was enacted, as this section

was deleted from the bill before its enactment by the

1890 Congress.

There are at least two clear reasons why this

trivial change in the language of a proposal that was

never enacted cannot qualify as even a remote indica-

tion of a congressional intent to abrogate private

civil remedies. In the first place, it is not at all

42.

clear that the amendment would even have effected any

real change in t.2 enforcement rights that would have

been conferred on private parties by this section.

Both before and after the amendment, the prescribed

fines were to be collected by, and to inure only to the

benefit of, the United States, while private parties

had the right, in both versions of the section, to

compel such collection by same form of complaint to the

district attorney. The only apparent change made by

the amendment was in the form of this camplaint, which

originally was to be a "suit [by] any person, by

information to the district attorney” and then became

an “action... by the district attorney. - - at the

instance of any person complaining." If anything was

intended by this change other than clarification, it is

certainly not apparent fram the language, and the lack

of any debate or comment accompanying its eAoption

supports the view that this was indeed its sole purpose.

See 19 Cong. Rec. 2338. ?

Secondly, and more importantly, even if this

amendment is interpreted as prescribing a major change

in the enforcement rights of private parties, and even

, further, it is taken as evidencing a serious con-

gressional purpose to curtail those rights, the fact

remains that the rights thus curtailed would relate

solely to the criminal enforcement provisions of the

bill, which is a matter wholly separate fram the

subject of our present concern. Respondents readily

concede that, though it was accomplished by means other

43.

than this amendment, the right of private parties to

initiate criminal enforcement of the Act was ultimately

deleted by the Congress and is not presently conferred

by any of the Act's provisions. See: 33 U.S.C. $§406,

411, 413. Indeed, respondents will go further and

point out that, in the course of the 1890 debates,

Congress seriously considered deleting the entire

criminal enforcement mechanism, leaving only the civil

remedies presently prescribed by section 12 (33 U.S.C.

§406). 21 Cong. Rec. 8603, 8606. How any of these

events can be deemed probative of a congressional

intent to abrogate the private civil remedy, however,

is impossible to discern. If anything, they would seem

to reinforce the importance of preserving such a remedy,

and hence to prove a precisely opposite intention. For

this second reason as well, therefore, reliance upon

this obscure 1887 amendment to the original bill cannot

aid the argument of the federal respondents and the

water agencies on this issue.

The second item of alleged evidence of Congressional

intent invoked by these parties is Congress's enactment

of a certain 1888 law, eventually recompiled in the

Bridge Act of 1906 and now codified as 33 U.S.C. §590,

which provides that persons causing erosion of private

land by the construction of bridges "shall be liable

ae to the persons injured in a sum double the amount

of said injury." The federal respondents point to this

otherwise completely unrelated statute as evidence that

"when Congress wished to create rights of action in

44.

private parties, it knew how to do so" (Brief for

Federal Respondents, page 19). Again, however, there

are at least two independently sufficient reasons why

this argument is unsound.

First, this statute enacts a penal sanction in the

form of double damages, not an ordinary civil remedy of

the sort involved here. It is only the latter type of

remedy which respondents ‘ave argued need not be

"created" by an express statutory prescription, partic-

ularly where it can be demonstrated that the statute

was enacted with awareness of a pre-existing private

remedial scheme for its enforcement. Respondents

readily admit that penal liability for double damages

could never be "implied" in this same manner from

congressional silence, and that Congress would never

intend enforcement of such an extraordinary remedy

without its express mandate. The fact that Congress

would feel compelled to "do so" when it wished to

create such an unusual remedy, however, bespeaks nothing

about the significance to be attributed to its silence

with regard to a well-recognized pre-existing system of

equitable and common-law remedies. Or rather, if

anything, it supports the proposition that such silence

cannot be read as an abrogation of such an existing

system, because it shows that Congress will affir-

matively "do so" wherever and whenever it wishes to

make any unusual change in the existing legal system,

whether that change amounts to creation of an extra-

ordinary penal sanction or to abrogation of recognized

private remedial rights.

45.

Secondly, in any event, even if this statute did

create a civil damage remedy of the ordinary kind, the

attribution of controlling significance to that fact in

the present context would be improper. This Court

recently cautioned against the dangers of precisely

this sort of speculative extrapolation of congressional

intent. Like the federal respondents here, the respon-

dents in Cannon v. University of Chicago, Supra,

sought to derive a negative implication regarding

private enforcement from the express mention of private

remedies in other sections of the legislation at issue

there. The Court rejected this argument in the following

passage (441 U.S. at 711):

The fact that other provisions of a complex

statutory scheme create express remedies has not

been accepted as a sufficient reason for

refusing to imply an otherwise appropriate remedy

under a separate section. See, e.g., J. I. Case

Co. v. Borak, supra; Wyandotte Transportation

Co. v. United States, supra. Rather the Court

has generally avoided this type of "excursion

into extrapolation of legislative intent,"

Cort v. Ash, supra, 422 U.S., at 82 n. 14, unless

there is other more convincing evidence that

Congress meant to exclude the remedy. See

National Railroad Passenger Corp. v. National

Assn. of Railroad Passengers, supra, 414 U.S.

at 458-61.

In the end, then, far from sustaining their burden

of an affirmative showing that Congress intended to

displace the recognized system of private relief for

obstructions to navigation, the federal respondents and

water agencies have been able to point only to occur=-

rences in the legislative history which are meaning=

46.

less at best and in the end seem to provide less support

for these parties' position than for that of respondents.

The legislative history thus remains a silence - a

silence that is eloquent with clear indications that

Congress chose to say nothing about private rights only

because to do otherwise would have been to belabor the

obvious.

C. From Shortly After Its Enactment Down to the

Present Day, the Act Has Been Frequently and

Consistently Interpreted by the Federal

Courts as Allowing Private Enforcement of

Section 10, and Congress's Failure to Take

Action to Change This Interpretation Is a

Further Indication of Its Intention to

Permit Such Enforcement.

In deciding whether the jurisidictional grant of

section 12 of the Rivers and Harbors Act should be

interpreted as authorizing private relief against

violation of the substantive prohibitions of section

10, this Court is not writing on a clean slate. Com

mencing only two years after enactment of the statute,

the federal. courts have addressed this question on

numerous occasions. With extremely few exceptions, all

of these cases have held that violations of the statute

can be redressed in a private action. These decisions,

particularly those rendered nearly contemporaneously

with the enactment of the statute, must naturally be

accorded a certain amount of authoritative significance

by this Court. Beyond this, however, the existence of

this consistent line of authority, together with

Congress's failure to take action to change the rule

47.

there enunciated must be taken as a further sign that

Congress itself contemplated private enforcement of the

Act. Cannon Vv. University of Chicago, supra at 702-3.

The first reported decision to address the issue

of private enforcement was E.A. Chatfield Co. v. City

of New Haven, 110 Fed. 788 (D.Conn. 1901), in which a

merchant shipper sought to enjoin, under the 1899 Act,

the construction of a bridge by the City of New Haven

without the permission of the Secretary of War required

by section 10 of the Act. In overruling a demurrer’

which, among other defenses, raised a challenge to the

right of a private party to enforce that section, the

court held (110 Fed. at 793-94; citations amitted):

a cause of action has thus arisen, no

or more specific authority is requisite.

It has not been questioned that if congress had

authorized the construction of a bridge over

navigable waters, in accordance with plans

approved by the secretary of war, or by a named

board of engineers, and the bridge should be

constructed in such defiance of the approved

plans as to obstruct navigation, that a bill in

equity in behalf of an individual specially

injured by such obstruction against the corpo-

rations which are constructing the bridge could

be sustained in the circuit court upon the

that the structure is in violation of the laws

of the United States. The bill in this case

is based upon the ground that after the construc~

tion of the bridge without the authority of the

United States it was found, in pursuance of an

act of congress, to be an unreasonable impediment

to navigation, and that the hindrance had not

been removed.

It is next said that the bill does not show that

the complainants had suffered a damage special

and peculiar to themselves, and that the

inconvenience was of a character which was

cammon to the public generally, and that,

therefore, the bill did not show a case sufficient

for their individual relief. It is true that

"relief will not be granted unless it appears

that the party camplaining will sustain a

special or peculiar damage, - an injury distinct

fram that done to the public at large." }

And it is also true that the courts of Connecticut

have required that the special injury should clearly

appear, but the special injury to the Chatfield

company, at least, is sufficiently averred in

the bill.

The next in the succession of early decisions om

this issue was that of the circuit court in Lownsdale

v. Gray's Harbor Boom Co., 117 Fed. 983 (W.D. Wash.

1902). In that case, the court refused relief against

an allegedly obstructive logging boom on the narrow

ground that a court of equity could not enforce the

asserted rights of a riparian landowner where the

question of title to his land was in dispute and

accordingly required prior settlement in a court of

law. Nevertheless, the court affirmed in dicta the

general availability of private relief against such an

obstruction in the following passage (117 Fed. at 987]:

Passing now to consideration of the proposed

injunction against the alleged obstruction to

navigation: If the boom is an obstruction not

authorized by law, it is a public nuisance, which

may be abated by proper proceedings instituted

e%

in behalf of the state or the United States

t. It is essential to the maintenance

of the suit by any individual to abate a public

nuisance for the camplainant to show that he

is peculiarly affected and especially injured

by it. In this case the complainants do not

claim to be peculiarly affected or specially

injured by the obstruction of navigation,

except as owners of the land described in their

complaint. They aver that the boom and the logs

ingress and egress to and fram the land. Their

right, therefore, to complain of the obstruction

depends upon their ownership of the land, which

is disputed, and until their title to the land

shall have been established they cannot prove any

special injury.

The final decision on this issue rendered during

the Act's first decade was Carver Vv. San Pedro L.A.

& S.L.R. Co., 151 Fed.334 (S.D. Cal. 1906). I that

case, the court granted an injunction against an obstruc-

ting bridge constructed without an appropriate permit,

relying upon the Act as the basis for its substantive

ruling but turning to the pre-existing law of private

remedies for nuisance as the sole ground for its

remedial decision, precisely as Congress undoubtedly

intended the courts to do. Thus, the court disposed of

the remedial issue in the following passage, which is

as significant for its citations as for its content

(151 Fed. at 335):

It is firmly established by a long line of

federal decisions that an obstruction to navigable

water may be enjoined by a private person who

is injured thereby differently from the general

public, either in degree or kind. Georgetown

vy. Alexander Co., 12 Pet. 98, 9 L.Hd. 1012;

50.

Pennsylvania v. Wheeling, etc., Bridge Co.,

13 How. 564, 14 L. Ed. 249; Union Pacific

Railroad Co. v. Hall, 91 U.S. 343, 355, 23 L.

Ed. 428; Baird v. Shore Line Ry. Co., 2 Fed.

Cas. 427 (No. 758); Works v. Junction R.R.,

30 Fed. Cas. 626 (No. 18,046); Hatch v.

Wallamet Iron Bridge Co. (C.C.) 6 Fed. 326; Id.

(C.C.) 6 Fed. 780. This last case was reversed

by the Supreme Court, but the reversal was on

jurisdictional grounds, not affecting the point

now under consideration. Willamette Iron Bridge

Co. v. Hatch, 125 U.S. 2, 8 Sup. Ct. 811,

31 L. Ed. 629.

The judges who rendered these three earliest

Gecisions shared the general perceptions, linguistic

usages and legal backgrounds of the legislators who

enacted the statute. Since this perspective is difficult

for us to recreate, these holdings should be given a

special deference even by this Court. See Cannon v.

University of Chicago, supra at 706 n.40.

At any rate, there followed, during the next

seventy-five years, an almost unbroken string of dozens

of decisions in which the lower federal courts either

squarely held that a private remedy was available for

violation of the Act or clearly indicated in dicta. that

the remedy would have been granted but for one or

another circumstance, other than absence of a "private

right of action," that happened to disqualify the

plaintiff from obtaining relief on the merits in the

particular case. Cited in chronological order, these

decisions are: Silvey v. Commissioners of Montgomery

County 273 Fed.202, 204 (S.D. Ohio 1921); Neches Canal

Co. v. Miller & Vidor Lumber Co., 24 F.2d 763, 765 (Gth

Cir. 1928); City of Memphis v. Ingram, 98 F.Supp. 395,

397-99 (E.D. Ark. 1951), revd. on other grounds 195

F.2d 338 (8th Cir. 1952); Tatum v- Blackstock, 319 F.2d

397, 399-400 (Sth Cir. 1963); Puente de Reynosa, S.A.

v. City of McAllen, 357 F.24 43, 47 (Sth Cir. 1966);

Norfolk Dredging Co. V- Radcliff Materials, Inc., 264

F.Supp. 399, 403 (E.D. Va. 19671; Lauritzen v. Chesapeake

Bay Bridge & Tunnel pist., 259 F.Supp. 633, 638 (.D.

Va. 1966), affd. 404 F.2d 1001 (4th Cir. 1968); Citizens

Committee for the Hudson Valley v- Volpe, 302 F.Supp.

1083, 1087 (S.D.N.Y. 1969), affd. 425 F.2d 97 (2d Cir.

1970); Alameda Conservation Assn. V- State of California,

437 F.2d 1087 (9th Cir. 1971); Lavagnino v. Porto-Mix

Concrete, Inc. 330 F.Supp. 323, 325 (D. Colo. 1971) ;

Monroe County Conservation Council v. Volpe, 472 F.2d

693, 702-3 (2a Cir. 1972); Hawkinson v. Blandin Paper

Co., 54 F.R.D. 517, 518-19 (D. Minn. 1972); Sierra

Club v. Leslie Salt G.-, 354 F.Supp. 1099, 1103-4 (N.D.

Cal. 1972); James River & Kanawha Canal Parks, inc. V.

Richmond Metropolitan Auth., 259 F.Supp. 611, 638-39

(E.D. Va. 1973), affd. 481 F.2a 1280 (4th Cir. 1973);

Burgess v. M/V Tamano, 370 F.Supp. 247, 250 (D. Me.

1973); State of Florida v. Charley Toppino & Son, Inc.,

514 F.2d 700, 702 n.4 (Sth Cir. 1975); Potomac River

Assn. v. Lundeberg Ma. Sea School, Inc., 402 F.Supp.

344, 356-58 (D. Md. 1975); People of State of Tite

ex. rel. Scott v. Hoffman, 425 F.Supp. 71, 75-76 (N.D.

Ill. 1977}; Libby Rod & Gun Club v. Poteat, 594 F.2d

742, 748 (9th Cir. 1979); Sierra Club v. Andrus,

52.

610 F.2d 581, 592 (9th Cir. 1979), cert. granted, __—iU«.G.

__, 101 S.Ct. 68 (1980); Norfolk & Western Co. Vv. Dunbar

& Sullivan Dredging Co., F.2d (6th Cir., decided

October 21, 1980). See also National Sea Clammers Assn.

v. City of New York, 616 F.2d 1222, 1232 n.30 (3d Cir.

1980), cert. granted —ssU-S- es 49 USLW 3289

(1980); Riggle v. State of California, 577 F.2d 579,

582-83 (9th Cir. 1978); Radford Iron Go. Vv. Appalachian

Elec. Power Co., 62 F.2d 940, 942-43 (4th Cir. 1933];

Bellaire, Benwood & Wheeling Ferry Co. v. Interstate

Bridge Go., 40 F.2d 323, 325-27 (4th Cir. 1930);

Parsell v. Shell Oil Co., 421 F.Supp. 1275, 1277 (©.

Conn. 1976), affd. per curiam 573 F.2d 1289 (2d Cir.

1977); Natural Resources Defense Council v. Grant, 355 ©

F.Supp. 280, 290 (E.D.N.C. 1973). The only isolated

departures fram this otherwise unanimous view during

this entire period have consisted of: (1) two very

recent decisions, from the same district court, to the

effect that the Attorney General's authority to enforce

section 10 is exclusive (Citizens Comm. for Environ-

mental Protection v. United States Coast Guard, 456

F.Supp. 101, 112 (D.N.J. 1978); Loveladies Property

Owners Assn. v. Raab, 430 F.Supp. 276, 281 (D.N.J.

1975), affd. per curiam 547 F.2d 1162 (3d Cir. 1976));

(2) a handful of instances of overly broad dicta to the

same general effect in cases that actually involved

very different issues, such as the availability of

private relief under other sections of the Act per-

mitting exclusively criminal enforcement or an alleged

33.

waiver of a state's sovereign immunity from damage

suits (City of Evansville v. Kentucky Liquid Recycling

Inc., 604 F.2d 1008, 1011-12 (7th Cir. 19791; Red

Star Towing & Transp. Co. V. Department of Transp. of

New Jersey, 423 F.2d 104, 105-6 (3d Cir. 1970); Barcelo

7. Brown, 478 F.Supp. 646, 670-71 (D.P.R. 1979); Hooper

v. United States 331 F.Supp. 1056, 1058 (D.Conn. 1971) ; @

State of South Carolina v. South Carolina Elec. & Gas

Co., 41 F.Supp. lll, 118-19 (E.D.S.C. 1941)*); and

¥—the other parties to this proceeding have from ,

time to time cited these decisions, as well as other r

decisions on these distinct issues which do not even

include the type of broad dicta referred to, as a basis

for representing to this Court that there is a serious

"conflict" among the lower federal courts on the issue

presented here. It is therefore worthwhile to point

out why the issue involved here is indeed very different <

fram the issues presented in these cases. The difference

between the category of cases involving a i tam

complaint by a member of the general public to

enforce the criminal penalties of the Rivers and Harbors

Ret and the type of civil action by an injured party

being prosecuted here is obvious on its face, as the

court below was careful to take note. Pet. App. 2l.

See also Connecticut Action Now, Inc. Vv. Roberts

Plating Co., 457 F.2d Ol, 93-89 (2d Cir. 1972);

Sierra Club v. Leslie Salt Co., supra at 1104 n.2.

Riso clearly distinguishable, as the court below and P

its enforcement. Pet. App. 21. See National Sea

Clanmers Assn. v. City of New York, ra at 1232 n.30;

Parsell v. Shell Oil Co., Supra at 1277. Compare

Natural Resources Derense Council v. Grant, Supra. (contd. )

54.

(3) two cases in which the courts expressed doubt

regarding the availability of private relief, but

declined to resolve the issue on the ground that, in

any event, the party before them had not alleged the

type of particular injury that would sustain such a

claim (Connecticut Action Now, Inc. v. Roberts Plating

Co., supra at 89; Carolina Power & Light Co. v. South

Carolina Public Service Auth., 94 F.2d 520, 524 (4th

Cir. 1938)).*

Tootnote contd.) Finally, this Court itself has

acknowledged that cases presenting the question whether

a state has intentionally waived its sovereign immnity

from private damage actions by entering upon a federally

regulated activity, which requires a determination

whether Congress has authorized private actions against

the state "by the most express language or by such

overwhelming implications from the text as [will] leave

no roam for any other reasonable construction," present

an issue very different from the mere implication of a

private right of action in suits for injunctive relief

of the kind presented here. Edelman v. Jordan, 415 U.S.

662, 673-74 (1974), quoting Murray v. Wilson Distilling

Co., 213 U.S. 151 (1909). Accord, Riggle v. State of

California, supra at 583; Intracoastal Tr In.

v. Decatur County, 482 F. 2d 361, 365-66 Game Cir.

1973). Compare Lauritzen v. Chesapeake Bay Bridge &

Tunnel Dist., supra.

ad Concurrently with the development of the nearly

unanimous view that the Act confers a private remedy

enforceable on the "law side" of the federal court

under 28 U.S.C. §1331, an even more numerous group of

admiralty decisions were construing the Act as estab-

a basis for negligence claims under 28 U.S.C.

§1333 on behalf of private parties injured in collisions

with obstructive bridges and by other violations of the

Act. E.g., ras aint of Tug Helen B. Moran, 560 F.2d

$27, 5 2d Cir iF (contd. )

55.

During the same pericd, several decisions of this

Court similarly indicated, albeit without addressing

the issue with complete explicitness, that a private

cause of action would lie for violation of section 10.

Only four years after enactment of the statute, for

example, the Court upheld the right of a private party

to maintain what might be called a 'reverse-section-10-

action,' sustaining an injunction against local governmental

interference with a private project authorized by a

Corps of Engineers permit. Cummings v. Chicago, 188

(Footnote contd.) Complaint of Wasson, 495 F.2d 571,

579-80 (7th Cir. 1974); Acme Boat Rentals, Inc. Vv.

J. Ray McDermott & Co., 424 F.2d 393, 309 (oth Cir.

T070); Morania Barge No. 140 v. M. & J. Tracy, Inc.,

312 F.2d 78, 980 aa Cir. 1962); The Fort Fetterman

v. South Carolina Highway Dept., ol F.2d 503, 900, 567

(4th Cir. 1958); F.S. Royster Guano Co. v. Outten, 266

Fed. 484, 486 (4th Cir. 1920); Board of Cmrs. of Port

of New Orleans v. M/V los Michael, 300 F.Supp. 1012,

TOLD (B.D. La. 1974); Dow - co. Vv. Dixie Carriers,

Inc., 330 F.Supp. 1304, 13 07 (S.D. Tex. 1971), arfd. . e

463 F.2d 120 (5th Cir. 1972); American Zinc Co. v. Foster,

313 F.Supp. 671, 680-81 (S.D. Miss. 1970); Reading Co.

v. Pope & Talbot, Inc,, 192 F.Supp. 663, 667 (B.D.Pa.

Tool), atta. per curiam 295 F.2d 40 (3d Cir. 1961);

Gulf Atl. Transp. Co. Vv. Becker Sand & Gravel Co., 122

F.Supp. 13, 17 (&.D.N.C. 1954); United States v. Norfolk- é

Berkeley Bridge Corp. 29 F.2d 115, 124-25 (E.D. Pa.

1928) . While Many Of these cases can perhaps be distin-

guished on the. ground that they merely viewed the Act

as providing a standard of conduct for adjudicating

claims that ultimately rested on sare other jurisdictional

base, others among them cannot be read so narrowly. In <«

Gulf Atl. Tr . Co. v. Becker Sand & Gravel Co.,

Supra for example, the court said (La2 F.Supp. at 17-

* citations omitted) : (contd. )

q

56.

U.S. 410 (1903). In another case arising in the same

decade, the Court dismissed a writ of error in a private

action directly based on section 10 on the basis of an

adequate state ground for the judgment below, extensively

discussing the issues in the case without ever intimating

that the underlying cause of action might not be sustain-

able because of the unavailability of a "private right

“of action" to enforce the Act. North Shore Boom & Driving

Co. v. Nicomen Boom Co., 212 U.S. 406 (1909). Most

footnote contd.)

Congress has specifically prohibited the creation

of any obstruction, not affirmatively authorized,

to the navigable capacity of any United States

waters, 33 U.S.C.A. §403; . . . Any person who

sustains a special injury by an unlawful obstruc-

tion of or deposit in navigable waters may main-

tain an action for the resulting damages.

It is not necessary for libelant to prove that

respondent was negligent in the way it operated

its gravel washing plant. Whether the theory

of the action be negligence or nuisance a showing

that respondent unlawfully obstructed a navigable

stream entitles libelant to recover any damages

proximately caused it by such obstruction...

Even those decisions that are more clearly confined to

the standard-of-conduct rationale can be read as same

authority for a private right of action on the law

side of the court insofar as the role played by the

Act in these admiralty cases is not really very different

from the role Congress apparently contemplated it would

play in legal and equitable cases. As shown above, the

principal thrust of the Act as a whole was simply to

furnish substantive prohibitions which Congress assumed

would automatically become privately enforceable by

virtue of the entire panoply of pre-existing legal,

equitable and admiralty remedies.

37.

significantly, in Wisconsin v. Illinois, 278 U.S. 367

(1929), a decision relied upon by the court below as a

sub silentio approval of private enforceability, the

Court sustained a claim by a party other than the

Attorney General - namely, a state — for which the only

legal basis recited in the opinion was “that the with-

drawals [of water from Lake Michigan] were in palpable

violation of the Act of Congress of March 3, 1899 [the

Rivers and Harbors Act]." 278 U.S. at 400.* Fourthly,

in Wyandotte Transp. Co. V- United States, 389 U.S. 191

(1967), the Court, besides generally advocating a

"broad" construction of the remedial provisions of the

Act, expressly held that the remedies specified therein

"were not intended to be exclusive," and on that basis

authorized a proprietary action by the United States to

recover its expenses sustained in removing a sunken

ship that was obstructing a navigable waterway. 389

U.S. at 200-1. Finally, in Cort v. Ash, supra at 79,

the Court cited Wyandotte, supra, among other cases, as

representing an instance of "implication of a private

cause of action."

id The other parties have striven mightily to distinguish

this decision, claiming that the plaintiff's reliance

on the Rivers and Harbors Act was only an alternative

basis for its complaint and that the judgment in its

favor actually rested on other grounds (e.g., Brief for

Water Agencies, pages 25-26). They have unable to

point to any other such basis or ground, however,

beyond a single phrase in the opinion referring to

inflicted upon "riparian and other rights of the

complainant" (278 U.S. at 410), which hardly constitutes

a statement of a specific alternative legal basis for

either the complaint or the judgment.

58.

ee ee ——————— nar

It is true that the Court very recently seemed to

retreat from this last arguable overstatement by reclassi-

fying the Wyandotte decision among those decisions that

have "implied causes of action in favor of the United

States where the statute creates a duty in favor of the

public at large." Cannon Vv. University of Chicago,

supra at 691 n.13. It is also true, of course, that

the Court's grant of certiorari on this issue in this

case indicates that it does not view the issue of

private enforceability as having been definitively

resolved. Nevertheless, a perceptive review of this

entire series of encounters with this issue in the

opinions of this Court would necessarily convey the

distinct impression that the Court has harbored same

inclination, at the very least, to concur in the nearly

unanimous view of the lower courts that a private

remedy is available for violations of the Rivers and

Harbors Act.

All of these decisions, particularly the decisions

of this Court and the earliest decisions of the lower

federal courts, are of course entitled to be treated as

authoritative precedents in the context of the Court's

present effort to reach a resolution of this issue in

this case. See Cannon v. University of Chicago, supra

at 706 n.40. Perhaps more importantly, however, they

have also constituted a clear signal to the Congress

that the prevailing judicial interpretation of the Act

has permitted its enforcement by private parties. The

fact that Congress took no action to correct that

59.

=>

interpretation during the entire 80-year history of

this line of authority is further persuasive evidence

that Congress has shared the courts' view that «9 Act

should be enforced in this manner. The importance of

this consideration was recently stressed by this Court

in Cannon v. University of Chicago, Supra, in a passage

of that opinion which, with appropriate substitutions

of dates and titles, would seem directly applicable to

this case (441 U.S. at 702-3):

Finally, the very persistence ~ before 1972 and

since, among judges and executive officials,

as well as among litigants and their counsel ,

and even implicit in decisions of this Court -

of the assumption that both Title VI and Title

IX created a private right of action for the

victims of illegal discrimination and the

absence of legislative action to change that

assumption provide further evidence that Congress

at least acquiesces in, and apparently affirms

that assumption.

The decisions reviewed herein thus provide a final

decisive reinforcement, not only by way of stare decisis

but as a further indication of congressional intent,

for the conclusion that a private remedy exists for

violation of section 10 of the Rivers and Harbors Act.

D. The Other Factors Deemed Relevant to

Implication of a Private Remedy Favor

Its Implication in This Case.

This Court has recently indicated that, in cases

of this kind, “our task is limited solely to determining

whether Congress intended to create [a] private right

of action," and that the inquiry "ends there" once the

legislative intent in this regard has been ascertained.

60.

Touche, Ross & Co. v. Redington, supra at 568, 576.

Accord, Transamerica Mortgage Advisers Assn. v. Lewis,

supra at 15-16, 23-24. Since it has already been

demonstrated that Congress contemplated private enforce-

ment when it enacted the Rivers and Harbors Act, respon-

dents might safely conclude their discussion of this

issue at this point. Nevertheless, since the Court has

also intimated in these recent decisions that the

additional "factors" originally identified as "relevant"

to the resolution of this issue in Cort v. Ash, supra,

might still be given some weight, at least as further

aids to determining legislative intent, and because the

Solicitor General has taken the position in his brief

that "ill effects on the administration of section 10"

by the Corps of Engineers would result fram acknowledg-

ment of Congress's intention to afford a private

remedy, respondents are campelled to undertake a brief

discussion of the application of these additional

considerations to the circumstances of this case (Brief

for Federal Respondents, page 23 n.15). Touche, Ross,

supra at 575-76; TAMA, Supra at 23-24. See also,

Cannon, supra at 688 ("a court must carefully analyze

the four factors that Cort identifies"). )

l. Benefit to a Particular Class

Besides ascertainment of Congress's intent fran

the legislative history, the first additional "factor"

mentioned in Cort v. Ash, supra, is whether the statute

confers a benefit on a particular class of individuals

as opposed to the public at large. Cort v. Ash, supra

6l.

——— _ Neel ———— Cn me

at 78-79. As regards this case, this question has

already been affirmatively answered by the earlier

recital of the common-law background of the Rivers and

Harbors Act. It was there shown that only those persons

who could demonstrate a "particular injury" to them |

selves by reason of an obstruction to navigation - and

not the public at large - could invoke the particular

equitable remedies which Congress took into account

when it enacted the Rivers and Harbors Act. Gilman v.

Philadelphia, supra at 604-5. It was also shown that the

Act was passed for the specific purpose of overruling a

line of decisions in which private parties who had

suffered such particular injuries had been unable to

obtain relief because of an existing inadequacy in

substantive federal law. 21 Cong. Rec. 8605. This

restriction on the availability of relief to persons

actually injured by the challenged obstructions has

been carefully preserved in the subsequent line.of

decisions in the lower courts affording relief to

private parties under the Act. Tatum v. Blackstock,

supra at 399; Carolina Power & Light Co. v. South

Carolina Public Service Auth., supra at 524; Radford

Iron Co. v. Appalachian Elec. Power Co., supra at 251-

52; James River & Kanawha Canal Parks, Inc. v. Richmond

Metropolitan Auth., supra at 638-39; Lavagnino v.

Porto-Mix Concrete, Inc., supra at 325-26; Norfolk

Dredging Co. v. Radcliff Materials, Inc., supra at

403; City of Memphis v. Ingram, supra at 398-99;

62.

Carver v. San Pedro L.A. & S.L.R Co., supra at 335;

Lownsdale v. Gray's Harbor Boom Co., supra at 987;

E.A. Chatfield Co. v. City of New Haven, supra at 794.

Accordingly, it is clear that a particular class of

individuals has been singled out to receive the benefits

granted by the Act, and that this first additional

"factor" therefore favors effectuation of the con-

gressional purpose to preserve the private remedy.

2. Consistency with the Legislative Purpose

(Herein of the Alleged "Ill Effects" of

Private Enforcement)

The next additional factor listed in Cort is

whether the recognition of a private remedy would

effectuate or frustrate "the underlying purpose of the

legislative scheme." Cort v. Ash, supra at 78. Accord,

Cannon v. University of Chicago, supra at 703. This

question may seem somewhat anachronistic in this

context because it seems to assume a typical modem

Situation in which the "underlying purpose" of the

statute is the creation of same wider regulatory program

to which private rights of action would be a mere

adjunct, whereas this statute was enacted with a full

awareness that the normal enforcement method against

obstructions to navigation had been private injunctive

actions and the enforcement authority of the Attorney

General was itself envisioned as a mere adjunct to

these private efforts which would be brought into play

when it was necessary to confront same of the mre

resourceful and affluent violators with "a power that

63.

they respect." 21 Cong. Rec. 8603. Nevertheless,

since the federal government concededly now conducts an

extensive enforcement program which neither respondents

nor the Court would wish to see undermined, and since

the government has claimed that private enforcement

would have certain "ill effects" on that program, the

issue of the compatibility of private remedies with the

public regulatory scheme must be briefly addressed.

The short answer to the Solicitor General's argument

is of course that the Corps of Engineers must simply be

required to suffer any "ill effects" that might arise from

private enforcement of section 10 because Congress clearly

contemplated - indeed, desired - that such enforcement

should take place. See Cannon, supra at 706-7 n.4l.

An almost equally obvious answer to the argument is

that the Corps' enforcement program has apparently

managed to survive and thrive despite the supposed "ill

eff " of private actions during the preceding 80

years in which the lower federal courts have consistently

and frequently entertained such actions. See

cases cited at pages 48-53, supra. However, because of

the substantial deference which the Court has

accorded to the government's views on this type of

issue in past cases (see Cannon, supra, at 687-88 n.8,

706-8; SIPC v. Barbour, supra at 414; Allen v. Board

of Elections, supra at 557 n.23), respondents will

eschew these easy answers and go on to demonstrate,

first, that the government's fears are in fact entirely

imaginary and, second, that consequences far more

64.

Le)

—OH

undesirable than any conceivable "ill effects" of

private enforcement will follow if the long-recognized

private remedy for violations of the Rivers and Harhors

Act should now be expunged by this Court.

The plaintiffs in this case have sought and obtained

from the courts below a very limited form of relief,

consisting of an injunction that would abate the

challenged water diversions pending an application for

Sta Corps permit and a determination by the Corps whether

these diversions should be prevented or limited.

Plaintiffs are not here seeking to have the courts

dictate the outcame of that determination or even the

manner in which the Corps should go about making it.

They seek only to compel the initiation of the admin-

istrative process. Given the limited scope of this

requested relief, it is difficult to conceive what "ill

effects" might actually arise fram permitting the

action to be entertained.

In past cases, the typical difficulty which has

led the Court to find that private relief would be

undesirable has been potential inconsistencies between

administrative determinations of the legality of regulated

activities and privately initiated judicial determinations

of that same issue. E.g., SIPC v. Barbour, supra at

422-23; National R.R. Pass. Corp. v. National Assn.

of R.R. Passengers, Supra at 463. As the Court expressly

recognized in Allen v. Board of Elections, supra at 555

n.19, this type of problem simply does not arise where

"the only question is whether [the challenged conduct]

must be submitted for approval." Accord, Potomac

River Assn. v. Lundeberg Mi. Sea School, Inc., supra at

356; James River & Kanawha Canal Parks, Inc. v. Richmond

Metropolitan Auth., supra at 639. In cases presenting

this limited issue, the only imaginable legitimate

concern of the enforcement authorities would be the

threat that private actions might force them to dissipate

their resources in reviewing large numbers of trivial

or obviously uncensurable activities. Any such threat

can easily be forestalled, however, by the simple

expedient of incorporating into the administrative

process summary procedures for disposing of such unmeri-

torious camplaints. Indeed, the Corps of Engineers

itself appears to have already anticipated and resolved

this very sort of problem by means of its "general

permit” program. 33 C.F.R. §322.5(b). The "ill effects"

of this limited type of private enforcement are thus

seen to be either entirely illusory or easily manageable.

The Solicitor General has offered nothing in his brief

which would refute or qualify this conclusion.

Turning now to the potential adverse consequences

of not permitting private enforcement of the Act, these

are seen to be of two kinds, both of which are substan-

tial. First, exclusive public enforcement would fail

to achieve the congressional goal of vigorous protection

of the nation's navigable waterways because, with

respect to many of the activities most harmful to

navigation, the public enforcement authorites are the

proverbial "fox in the chicken coop." While the rail-

66.

roads may have been the principal original target of

the 1890 legislation, probably the most prominent

potential violator of the Act today is, as this case

illustrates, the federal Water and Power Resources

‘Service.* Although this Court has long since held that

the proscriptions and permit requirements of the Rivers

and Harbors Act apply with their full vigor to the

activities of this agency (United States v. Arizona,

295 U.S. 174, 184 (1935)), actual enforcement of its

ohligations in this regard obviously involves the

Attorney General and the Corps of Engineers in a certain

conflict of loyalties. In this type of circumstance,

as the court below and other federal courts have

previously recognized, private enforcement might well

afford the only means of fully effectuating the con-

gressional objectives underlying the enactment. Pet.

App. 19; People of State of Illinois ex rel. Scott v.

Hoffman, supra at 76; Miller v. Mallery, 410 F.Supp.

1283, 1289 (D.Ore. 1976); Natural Resources Defense

Couricil v. Grant, supra at 290. The preclusion of such

enforcement would accordingly risk substantial frus-

® As the court Knows, one of the diversion facilities

challenged by plaintiffs and found unlawful by the

district court in this case was the Tracy Pumping Plant

of the federal government's Central Valley Project

(Pet. App. 88-90, 101-3). ‘The court of appeals’ dis-

missal of this claim, on the basis that Congress had

implicitly exempted the plant from the Rivers and

Harbors Act in the course of appropriating the funds

for its construction (Pet. App. 40-49), is the subject

of a separate review petition now pending in this

Court. Sierra Club v. Andrus, No. 791625 (filed April

15, 1980).

67.

#%

tration of "the underlying purpose of the legislative

scheme." Cort v. Ash, supra at 78. See Cannon v.

University of Chicago, supra at 706-7.

A second adverse consequence of foreclosing private

relief under the Rivers and Harbors Act would be to

relegate protection of the country's navigable water-

ways to the vagaries of state nuisance laws. In those

cases where, as here, the federal authorities have

abdicated their responsibility to require administrative

review of potentially obstructive activities, a nuisance

action in a state court would be the only alternative

relief available to an injured party in the event he

were to be denied the right to compel such review by

means of a private action under the Rivers and Harbors

Act.* State nuisance laws being in a notorious state

s Tt 1s possible that a nuisance action could be

prosecuted in a federal court under the federal common

law of nuisance which the federal judiciary was autho-

rized to develop by the decision of this Court in

Illinois v. City of Milwaukee, 406 U.S. 91 (1972).

However, there still appears to be sare uncertainty

whether that holding will ultimately be interpreted to

authorize claims by private parties. See National

Sea Clanmers Assn. v. City of New York, supra at 1234;

cee of Evansville v. Ss Liguid Recycling, ya

at ; Parselil v. Co., supra at 1280-81;

Note, Federal Common Law and Interstate Pollution, 85

Harv. L.Rev. 1439 (1972). In any event, the "ill

effects" on the government's administrative enforcement

program, by way of potential inconsistent judicial

determinations, of even federal nuisance actions would

surely be greater than those that would arise fram

merely permitting private enforcement of the obligation

to submit a challenged activity to Corps of Engineers

review, which is the only relief sought here.

68.

of confusion and conflict (see Prosser, Torts 571 (4th

ed. 1971)), it would be hard to imagine an outcome more

productive of "ill effects" upon the system of uniform

federal regulation of navigation rights contemplated by

Congress when it passed the Act. Only recently, in

sustaining a private right of action in Transamerica

Mortgage Advisers Assn. v. Lewis, supra, this Court

stated that it would be an "anomalous construction" of

a federal statute which, by denying a private federal

remedy, would relegate enforcement of private rights in

an important area of federal regulation to litigation

in the state courts, let alone to litigation conducted,

as it would be here, according to the vagaries and

disparities of state substantive law. Id., 444 U.S. at

19.n8. This disturbing prospect thus provides, not

only a final compelling reason why preclusion of private

relief under the Rivers and Harbors Act would frustrate

"the underlying purpose of the legislative scheme," but

further reinforcement, if any were needed, of the

earlier conclusion that such a result could not have

been contemplated by Congress.

3. Relegation to State Law

The last of the Cort v. Ash "factors" is the

question whether the subject matter of the action lies

"in an area traditionally relegated ‘to state law."

Cort v. Ash, supra at 78. The intervening water agencies

have arsued in their brief that this question must be

answered in the affirmative because plaintiffs are here

seeking to prevent "the appropriation of waters within

>

California's borders... and..-- control of that

activity has been traditionally relegated to the Sta ‘

(Brief for Water Agencies, page 27).

This is a brazen mischaracterization of the nature

of this action. Plaintiffs are not disgruntled water

consumers seeking same different allocation of water

appropriations but users of interstate navigable streams

seeking to prevent the destruction of their capacity to

support navigation; and the Rivers and Harbors Act of

1899 is not same regulation of competing appropriative

water rights but the very cornerstone of the federal

statutory framework for protection of the nation's

system of navigable waterways from private and state

interference and obstruction. See United States v.

Republic Steel Corp., Supra at 492-93. With the possible

exceptions of national defense and foreign affairs,

there is no area which, thitoughout the nation's history,

has been more campletely committed to federal control

or of which the rubric "traditionally relegated to

state law" would be less descriptive than that of

regulation of interstate navigation. Kaiser Aetna V-

United States, 444 U.S. 164, 173 (1979); Illinois v. City

of Milwaukee, supra at 101; United States v. Appalachian

Power Co., 311 U.S. 377, 426-27 (1940) ; Gilman v.

Philadelphia, supra at 724-25; Gibbons v. Ogden, supra

at 188-92.

E. Conclusion

Every relevant consideration thus supports the

recognition of a private remedy for violations of

70.

section 10 of the Rivers and Harbors Act of 1899.

While the pertinent language of the Act is not explicit,

it suggests the existence of a private remedy by

8 granting unrestricted jurisdiction to the district

courts of cases arising under the Act amd by amitting

any suggestion that public enforcement of the Act is

e intended to be exclusive. The common law background of

x" the legislation reveals universal recognition of a

private right to enjoin obstructions to navigation of

the type prohibited by the Act, and the legislative

history contains no indication that this established

private right was intended to be abrogated by the

authorization of supplementary public enforcement. The

80-year history of judicial interpretation of the

Statute reflects a consistent view that section 10 is

- privately enforceable, and the absence of congressional

action to correct that view is further evidence that

private enforcement accords with the intent of Congress.

Finally, all of the other “factors" heretofore deemed

"relevant" to implication of a private right of action,

particularly the clear consistency of private enforce-

ment with the "underlying purpose of the legislative

scheme," militate in favor of such implication in this

case. The court of appeals' holding on this issue

should therefore be affirmed.

II. The State's Diversion of Water fram the

Delta Without a Corps of Engineers Pernit Is

a Clear Violation of Section 10 of

the Act. —

A. Introduction

The foregoing discussion of the first major question

71.

presented by this case - whether there exists a private

right to enforce the Rivers and Harbors Act of 1899 -

has perforce been lengthy and thorough. This exhaustive

treatment has been necessitated primarily by the fact

that these respondents alone have been required to bear

the burden of demonstrating an affirmative answer to

this question, the federal respondents having taken an

opposing position on the issue. In addition, respondents

were unable to relieve themselves of this burden to any

significant extent by reliance on the court of appeals'

opinion, since certain intervening decisions of this

Court had rendered many aspects of that opinion arguably

obsolete with respect to its treatment of this issue.

Respondents do not suffer from these same handicaps in

dealing with the second of the two major issues presented

here - namely, whether the challenged water diversions

are in violation of the substantive prohibitions of

section 10 of the Act. The court of appeals’ opinion

on this issue sets forth a painstaking and thought-

ful analysis of the question to which little can or

need be added. In addition, the federal respondents

have sided with these respondents on this latter issue,

and have previously submitted to the Court in their

brief a thorough refutation, with which these respon-

dents are in full accord, of each of the several arguments

for rejecting the conclusions of the court of appeals

that have been offered by the State and the intervening

water agencies. Accordingly, these respondents will

not burden the Court with yet another comprehensive

72.

treatment of all of the numerous reasons and authorities

which demonstrate the lack of merit in those arguments.

Instead, they will rest content with a partial treatment

in which they will emphasize only those few discrete

points or authoritative sources which, for one reason

or another, may not have received due emphasis in

either the government's brief or the opinion of the

court below.

B. The Legislative History, the Applicable

Precedents and Every Consideration of

Practicality Require Rejection of the Argument

That a District Court Must First Find an

Unreasonable Obstruction to Navigable Capacity

Before the Corps of Engineers May Assume

Jurisdiction to Examine That Same Issue, an

Argument Which Is Futile in This Case in Any

Event Because the District Court Did in Fact,

Albeit Gratuitously, Make Precisely Such a

Finding.

The first argument of the State and the inter-

venors is that section 10 of the Act must be construed

to require a judicial finding of an unreasonable obstruc-

tion to navigation within the meaning of that section's

first clause before any of the activities enumerated in

the second and third clauses need be submitted to the

Corps of Engineers for its determination of whether

such an obstruction has occurred. The following two

consecutive paragraphs fram the brief of amici curiae

States of Arizona et al. (at page 8) best epitomizes

both the content and the fundamental flaw of these

parties’ argument on this question:

Fram these cases, it should be clear that

unless the structure or work would create same

kind of obstruction to navigation or navigable

capacity, the Army Corps of Engineers has no

authority under Section 10 to require a permit.

The Corps of Engineers has traditionally

administered Section 10 consistently with this

premise, so that the primary consideration in

determining whether a permit should be issued has

been whether the proposed structure or activity

would adversely affect navigable capacity.

As stated in the second of these paragraphs, it is

conceded by these parties that the issue which has been

delegated for determination to the Corps of Engineers

by the second and third clauses of section 10 is

"whether the proposed structure or activity would

adversely affect navigable capacity." As stated in the

first quoted paragraph, however, they simultaneously

argue that the Corps "has no authority under section

10" to commence proceedings to determine this question

"unless the structure or work would create some kind of

obstruction to navigation or navigable capacity." The

question which determines the Corps’ jurisdiction is

thus precisely the same, under this interpretation, as

the ultimate question which the Corps is called upon to

decide when it reviews a permit application on the

merits. That being so, the practical result of adopting

this interpretation would be to require the Corps or,

as here, same private party to secure a judicial deter-

mination that the challenged activity was in fact an

obstruction to navigation before the perpetrators of

74.

that activity could be forced to submit to a review and

determination of that identical question by the Corps

in an administrative proceeding.

The mere statement of this position is almost

enough to refute it. Even aside from the perplexing

problems of res judicata which might be presented by

such a repetitive procedure, the sheer waste of admin-

istrative and judicial resources that it would entail

is enough to impose on its advocates a heavy burden of |

. clearly demonstrating that Congress has indeed mandated

such a cumbersome and inefficient method of enforcing

the Act.

The brief of the federal respondents has already

adequately demonstrated that the State and the inter-

venors have utterly failed to carry this burden. As

shown therein, there is nothing in the language of the

section, its legislative history or any of its subsequent

judicial applications that would support the impractical

interpretation which these other parties have advocated.

Quite to the contrary, as revealed in the government's

brief (at pages 27-29), that interpretation has been

repeatedly rejected by the decisions of this Court and

the lower federal courts and, most tellingly, by the

nearly contemporaneous commentary of the individual

member of the War Department who was apparently the

principal draftsman of the language in question.

United States v. Republic Steel Corp., supra at 486-37;

Wisconsin v. Illinois, supra at 412-13; Sanitary

District of Chicago v. United States, 266 U.S. 405, 429

75.

(1924); United States v. Joseph G. Moretti, Inc., 526

F.2d 1306, 1309 (5th Cir. 1976); Zabel v. Tabb, 430

F.2d 199, 207 (Sth Cir. 1970); Tatum v. Blackstock,

supra at 401; Hubbard v. Fort, 188 Fed. 987, 994-99

(D.N.J. 1911); Koonce, "Federal Laws Affecting Harbor

Works," reprinted in Hearings on Water Pollution

Control Legislation - 1971 (Oversight of Existing

Programs) Before the House Comm. on Public Works, 92d

Cong., lst Sess. (1971), at page 289. Respondents have

nothing to add to the government's discussion of these

authorities.

This discussion should be augmented, however, by

apprising the Court that the misguided interpretation

of the statute now offered by these other parties was

also expressly rejected by the Congress itself in the

course of the legislative debates preceding the enact-

ment of this section. At one point in those debates,

an amendment was proposed by Senator Carlisle of

Kentucky which would have required, as a prerequisite

to prohibition and removal of an unauthorized structure,

a judicial finding that it constituted an obstruction

to navigation. 21 Cong. Rec. 8602. The following

passages fram the Congressional Record reflect same of

the comments on this proposal offered by the bill's

proponents and its ultimate rejection by the Senate (21

Cong. Rec. 8604, 8690):

Mr. Gray. I can not imagine any greater source

of confusion than this would prove to be if we

lodged it in the circuit courts of the United

States and nine or more of the circuit courts

76.

)

*

all over the country were called upon to decide

upon such evidences as they can bring before

them whether certain structures are really

* an obstruction to navigation, called upon to

decide a professional and scientific question

lying outside of the damain of their education

and knowlege entirely.

Mr. Pugh. Mr. President, will the Senator

® from Missouri allow me to make an inquiry in

the line of his judgment in reference to this

matter?

Mr. Vest. Certainly.

@ Mr. Pugh. Is not the question of obstruc-

tion of navigation more a question to be

settled by the engineers than it is a judicial

question to be settled by the courts?

e Mr. Vest. It is, unequestionably.

Mr. Pugh. It seems to strike me that it is

a question to be decided by the engineers,

and not by a judicial adjudication.

® Mr. Vest. That is unquestionable.

As I said before, we put these questions under

, the control of the War Department, which acts

through the Bureau of Engineers.

& As I said yesterday, all the feeling that I

could possibly have in regard to this question,

all the teachings of my life, are in behalf of

the doctrine that every citizen, corporation, or

private person should have their day in court;

but we are driven by absolute exigencies to this

* sort of legislation. It is mockery to talk

about a suit between these corporations and

the Government of the United States, and in

the meantime the citizen stands by and sees the

navigation of a great river obstructed by a

446

ey aN oe ree ere

We ere eR I eer

e%

- RF PIPL I DG IRL EOC, TONER, GOL OOD LOO

- * EELS BV ABI ET re.

bridge that ought never to have been put there.

What is to become of the navigation of the

country whilst this litigation is protracted

fram one tribunal to another, from one term

of court to another? This is the only remedy;

and I sincerely hope that the amendment of the

Senator from Kentucky will be voted down.

In the light of Congress's action in rejecting this

proposed amendment and its stated reasons for that

action, it is plain that adoption by this Court of the

interpretation now urged by the State and the intervenors

would constitute judicial enactment of precisely what

the Congress deliberately decided not to enact.

The only additional observation which respondents

would offer regarding this particular argument of the

State and the intervenors is that they have chosen an

especially inappropriate context in which to advance

the argument. As it happens, the district court in

this particular case fully acceded to their demand for

a preliminary judicial determination of whether an

obstruction to navigable capacity had been caused by

the state's activities in the Delta and concluded that

such an obstruction was amply demonstrated by the

evidence (Pet. App. $/-92). Indeed, it expressly found

that the diversion of water from navigable waterways

that had taken place in this case was even greater than

78.

>

2

the diversions found to have occurred in Sanitary

District of Chicaso v. United States, supra - the very

case which these parties have held cut to this Ccurt as

the paradigm of the type of judicial inquiry which

their interpretation of the statute would mandate

- App. 86-87 n.22). Respondents of course do not

accept the view that the district court's examination

of this question was required by the statute, and they

agree instead with the federal respondents that the

court of appeals’ interpretation, which dispenses with

the need for these sorts of findings as a prerequisite

to the Corps' assumption of jurisdiction, is the correct

one. It is nevertheless ironic that, even if this view

were to be rejected in favor of an unqualified accep-

tance of the interpretation offered by the State and

the intervenors, the presence of these unchallenged

findings of the district court would still require that

the judgment be affirmed on this record.

C. The Argument That the Statute Prohibits Only

a Physical Disturbance of the Streambed Is

Likewise Refuted by Both the Pertinent

Authorities and Considerations of Practical

Necessity.

The intervenors, though not the State, advance cne

further argument for which they purport to find suprort

in the language of the statute. ‘This is the contention |

that the reference to "the channel of any navigable

water of the United States” in the third clause of

section 10 confines the application of that clause, in

the case of navigable rivers, to those activities which

\

79.

physically disturb the streambed of the river, and

precludes its apolication to any diversion of water

from a river, however extensive it may be, which can be

effected without causing such a physical disturbance.

Again, the brief of the federal respondents (at

pages 29-39) adequately refutes the argument. As

indicated therein, such a cramped construction of the

- statute would permit rampant evasion and frustration of

its umderlying purpose to protect the capacity of all

of the nation's waterways to support navigation. As

the government coints cut, this was precisely the

concern which induced this Court reject an identical

restrictive interpretation of the 1890 orecdecessor

statute in United States v. RLo Grande Dam & Irrig.

Co., 174 U.S. 690, 708-9 (1899). See also tnited

States v. Republic Steel Corp., Supra at 485, 486

(third clause of section LO covers any modification of

"tthe capacity of . . . the channel of any navigable

water'" or of "'the course, location, condition, or

capacity of' a navigable river"). Moreover, 2s the

government's brief also shows, such an interpretation

of the clause would effectively import into the statute

a wholly different, and far less effective, scheme of

regulation for rivers than for harbors, lakes and the

several other kinds of waterbodies enumerated in that

clause. These respondents would only add that such a

result would be particularly irrational in light of the

fact that rivers alone, among these enumerated water-

bodies, flow frem one place to another and hence are

80.

exclusively susceptible to the very type of destruction

of their navigable capacity by remote means which this

proposed interpretation would authorize. See United

States v. Rio Grande Dam & Irrig. Co., supra at 709.

D. The Argument That State Activities Are Exempt

from the Statute Is Similary Contradicted by

the Statutory Language, the Decisions of This

Court and the Legislative History.

The final argument of the State and the intervenors

abandons the relatively firm ground of statutory inter-

pretation in favor of an Open invitation to the Court

to legislate, without any basis in the statutory language

or any other form of congressional authorization, a

complete exemption of state-authorized water diversions

from the pronibitions of section 10. The Court should

clearly understand that this is indeed the position

these entities are taking. Though there is much talk

in their briefs of a mere need to show some "deference"

to state concerns and to "harmonize" state and

federal interests in applying the federal navigation

laws, they have in fact entirely refused to submit

their activities to any procedure or process in which

such "deference" might be afforded or such "harmonizing"

might take place. They have instead, from the outset,

relied exclusively on the self-help remedy of simply

ignoring the federal navigation laws and the procedures

established for their enforcement, and they now openly

argue, at other points in their brief, that all of

these laws and procedures simply "do not apply” to

state—aithorized water diversions (e.g., Brief for

nn

8l.

California, page 48). ‘They ask, in short, that this

Court engraft upon the statute a complete and unqualified

exemption for all such state activities.

The numerous faults of the arguments which these

parties have conjured in support of this revolutionary

proposal are sufficiently catalogued in the govermment's

brief. As is shown there, if stare decisis means

anything at all, it requires rejection of the con-

)

®

tention that state-sponsored activities enjoy same form

of special exemption from the navigation laws, this

very contention having been repudiated, either expressly

or by implication, in numerous prior decisions of this

Court, as well as of the lower federal courts. E.g.,

United States v. Arizona, supra at 184; New Jersey v.

New York, 283 U.S. 336, 344-45, 348 (1931); Wisconsin

v. Illinois, supra at 401, 417;* Sanitary District

of Chicago v. United States, supra at 426-26, 431-32;

United States v. Rio Grande Dam & Irrig. Co., supra at :

709; Riggle v. State of California, supra at 982-83; e

Williamson Towing Co. v. State of Illinois, 534 F.2d

£ 758, 761 (7th Cir. 1976); Monroe County Cons. Council

v. Volpe, supra: Babel v. Tabb, supra at 201-2; Red

Star Towing & Transp. Co. v. Department of Transportation,

* In this case, the Court held that the Corps of

Engineers was not only not required to exempt a state

sewage disposal project from the prohibitions of the @

Act but was not even permitted to afford any special

consideration to the state's sanitation needs where

these conflicted with the federal interest in pro-

tection of navigation. Id., 278 U.S. at 418.

82.

supra; Neches Canal Co. vy. Miller & Vidor Lumber Co.,

supra at 764-65; James River & Kanawha Canal Parks,

Inc. v. Richmond Metropolitan Auth., supra; Citizens

Comm. for the Hudson Valley v. Volpe, supra; Lauritzen

v. Chesapeake Bay Bridge & Tunnel Dist., supra at 637-

38. The government's brief also persuasively disposes

of the suggestion that the various reclamation statutes

enacted by Congress can be read as implicitly pre- _

cluding application of the navigation laws to state :

water projects, including the particular assertion that

support for this notion can somehow be derived fram

this Court's recent expansive construction of these

statutes in California v. United States, 438 U.S. 645

(1978). In fact, the Court went considerably out of

its way in that case to avoid lending any encouragement

to such an interpretation of its decision by using the

term "non-navigable" or its equivalent no less than ten

times in the course of its opinion. Id., 438 U.S. at

655 n.9, 657, 657 n.1l, 658, 661 n.16, 662, 6/0.

It is an accurate ultimate measure of the utter

lack of authoritative support which exists for any

different treatment of state projects under the naviga-

tion laws that one of the few sources which the State

is able to cite for this novel conceit is a 1912 treatise

camposed by an advocate of local control over western

water rights who, in fact, flatly rejects this inter-

pretation of the law and every element of the arguments

which the State and the intervenors have mustered in

support of it. 1 Kinney, Irrigation and Water Rights

83.

@_

578, 588-97, 1155 (2d ed. 1912). Although the federal

respondents have previously pointed out the State's

misuse of this source, it is worth quoting this author's ©

actual views at same length, as they administer a

fitting coup de grace to this entire unfounded theory

- navigable capacity of a body of water than

higher up on the stream than the point of

navigability, which hold the water back that a

would otherwise naturally flow down and add

to the flow in the navigable portion. .. -

The waters from the tributaries of the stream may

be diverted from their natural course to such

an extent that the capacity for the navigation

of the main river may be partially or wholly

destroyed. All of these must in time give

way to the paramount right of navigation,

unless Congress makes some radical changes in

the law as it now stands, based upon the theory

of the relative importance of interests. e

Congress has seen fit to place the navigation

of all the public waters of the United States

unt to all other uses of water. It is

true that . . ., by the Act of July 26, 1866,

Congress recognized, so far as the United *

States is concerned, the validity of the

local customs, laws and decisions of the courts

in respect to the appropriation of water, - - -

[and further stated in subsequent enactments]

that the provisions therein granted should not

be construed to interfere with the control

of waters for irrigation and other purposes

84,

ee

priate the waters of any navigable body of

water of the United States, or in any way inter-

fere with the navigable capacity of any of these

waters. In one of these acts the navigable waters

were expressly reserved, notably the Act of

1877, from these appropriations. And, as was

said by the Supreme Court of the United States,

in the case of the United States v. Rio Grande Dam &

Irrigation Co., "to infer therefrom that Congress

intended to release its control over the navigable

streams of the country and to grant in aid of

mining industries and the reclamation of arid

lands the right to appropriate the waters on the

sources of navigable streams to such an extent

as to destroy the navigability, is to carry

those statutes beyond what their fair import

permits."

Upon the other hand, Congress has passed Acts

directly forbidding the interference with

the navigable capacity of any of the navigable

waters of the United States. By the Act of

September 19, 1890, as amended by the Act of

March 3, 1899, it is expressly provided,

that the creation of any obstruction not

affirmatively authorized by Congress, to the

navigable capacity of any of the waters of the

United States was thereby prohibited; and the

section further provides that it shall not be

lawful to alter or modify the course,

location, condition, or capacity of the channel

of any navigable water of the United States,

unless the work has been recommended by the

Chief of Engineers and authorized by the Secretary

of War prior to the beginning of the same.

Section 12 of the Act provides for severe

penalties against any person or corporation

violating any of the provisions of Section 10.

It is evident that Congress, perceiving

that the old rule that a State could authorize

any obstructions to the navigability of a

stream or body of water of the United States

85.

=

©

until interfered with by Congress, was gradually

leading to the destruction of the inland waterways

should be subjected to the direct control of the

National Government, and that nothing should be

done by any State tending to destroy the naviga-

bility of any of these waters without the explicit

consent of the Government.

Under the statutes of the United States as they

are now in force, and as the same are

by the courts, the irrigation inter , as

developed under the laws of the separate States,

are not only threatened with serious impaimnent

of their progress in the future, but also interests

already in existence are threatened. It must be

conceded , as was held by the Supreme Court of

the United States, in United States v. Rilo

Grande Dam & Irrigation Co., that the jurisdiction

of the general Government over interstate

commerce and its natural highways vests in

Congress the right to take all needed measures

to preserve the navigability of the navigable

water courses of the United States, even

against any State action.

As Mr. Kinney observes, no matter how undesirable

it may seem from the point of view of the western

states that state water diversion projects enjoy no

exemption or entitlement to special treatment under the @

federal navigation laws, this misfortune must simply

be tolerated "unless Congress makes same radical changes

in the law as it now stands." Id. at 591. The State

and the intervenors have asked this Court, by judicial q

fiat, to make the "radical changes" which Congress has

declined to make. Their request is plainly addressed

to the wrong forum.

86.

The only further item which respondents would add

to the government's refutation of the other parties’

argument on this issue is a demonstration that their

position is also directly contradicted by the legis-

lative history of the 1899 Act itself. As noted earlier,

the principal purpose of this statute, when it was

originally enacted in the form of its 1890 predecessor,

was to overrule a line of Supreme Court decisions

holding that, under existing law, bridges and other

projects obstructing navigable rivers could not be

prevented either by the federal government or by private

parties where these activities had been specifically

authorized by state laws or state franchises. Willamette

Iron Bridge Co. v. Hatch, supra; Huse v. Glover, supra;

Hamilton v. Vicksburg, Shreveport & Pacific R.R. Co.,

supra; Cardwell v. American River Bridge Co., Supra;

- Escanaba & Lake Mich. Transp. Co. v. City of Chicago,

' supra; Pound v. Turck, supra; Gilman v. Philadelphia,

supra. The intent of Congress to assert the paramount

federal authority over navigation and thus to override

all forms of state authorized interference with use of

the nation's navigable waterways was clearly expressed

during the debate on the Act on the floor of the Senate

(21 Cong. Rec. 8605): ;

Mr. Dolph. I had the honor to represent one

of the parties in Hatch & Lonsdale vs. the

Willamette Bridge Company, referred to by the

Senator from Vermont. ‘The Supreme Court had

anticipated the decision in that case and in

other cases, notably in The City of Chicago

vs. The Escanaba Company, decided some years

87.

previous to the one referred to by the Senator

from Vermont, and the Supreme Court has also

expressly held that until Congress does assert its

power of jurisdiction over navigable streams

wholly within the limits of a State, the’ legis-

lative authority of the States may authorize

the construction of bridges across such streams.

oe

Mr. Edmunds. They have gone further than that

even, that if it goes outside the State line — *

. Mr. Dolph. I mean to say at a point where the

: river is entirely within the boundaries of a

State; but it is competent at any time for Congress

to assert its authority, and the moment the

United States occupies the field and Congress a

exercises its authority, that moment the

power of the State ceases.

Mr. Edmunds. Yes; but my friend fran Oregon

will agree with me that the court has said -

and I think probably rightly in point of law -

that the assertion of this power must be made

by Congress, and that until it does make it

the obstruction of a stream is no violation

of any law of Congress and not of the common

law, because the United States has no common

law; and, therefore, if there is anything to

stop it, it is only state law.

Mr. Dolph. That is correct.

Mr. Gray. It was for that purpose that the

amendment which I understood was introduced

by the Senator from Vermont the other day was

offered. *

Mr. Edmunds. Exactly. It was reported from our

committee after consideration of the subject.

* "This was the amendment that ultimately became

Section 12 of the present Act. See 21 Cong. Rec. 8603,

8607-3.

88.

Mr. Dolph. It is held by the Supreme Court that

an act of the State Legislature authorizingthe

construction of a bridge, or any other obstruction

to a navigable river or navigable water, entirely

within the limits of a State, is a sufficient

justification of the act.

But Congress may at any time exert its authority.

It does not do that by simply making appropriations

for the improvement of a river or authorizing the

construction of one bridge over a stream. It

would require the express authority of Congress

for the assumption of this power and the exercise

of the jurisdiction.

Mr. Gray. Gilman vs. Philadelphia is a leading

case on that point.

Mr. Dolph. I desire to say that the Senate at

the Fiftieth Congress and also at the present

session of Congress passed an act [the original

Dolph Bill] covering this whole question of the

obstruction of navigable waters.

Mr. Gray. Has passed an act?

Mr Dolph. The Senate passed a bill which has been

reported favorably in the House and is now on the

Calendar there. One section of that bill provides

that hereafter whenever a State authorizes a

bridge over a navigable stream the plan shall be

submitted to the Secretary of War and approved by

him before the bridge shall be built. Another

section provides that there shall be no piers or

bulkheads constructed in a river or other navi-

gable water without the approval of the Secretary

of War, and prevents the casting or throwing of

sawdust and other material into a navigable river,

which would naturally impede navigation.

Mr. Edmunds. Are you speaking of the law?

Mr. Dolph. No; I am speaking of the bill which

has passed the Senate at two different sessions,

89.

in answer to what was said by the Senator fram

Delaware. That bill, as I say, has been reported

favorably in the other House and is on its Calendar.

Tt covers the subject of wrecks and of other

obstructions to navigable streams, and if passed )

would be a partial exertion of the power of ®

to regulate the construction of bridges

over navigable streams within the States.

The purpose of the original statute to override

5

the states' authority to permit obstructions to navigation, *

which is so clearly expressed in this colloquy, was

nevertheless frustrated when this Court, apparently

without examining the legislative history, interpreted

the statutory exemption for projects "affirmatively

authorized by law" in Section 10 of the 1890 Act as

encompassing authorizations by state law as well as

federal law. United States v. Bellingham Boom Co., |

176 U.S. 211, 215 (1899). One of the few substantive a

changes which Congress was forced to make in the 1899

recodification was, therefore, to substitute for the

quoted words the new language “affirmatively authorized

by Congress." 33 U.S.C. §403. This Court has previously <

acknowledced that the entire purpose of this change was

to eliminate once and for all the exemption for state-

authorized projects that had been judicially created by ‘

the decision in Bellingham Bay Boom Co., Supra.

Wisconsin v. Illinois, supra at 412; Sanitary District

of Chicago v. United States, Supra at 428-292. See also

United States v. Republic Steel Corp., supra at 504

n.25 (Harlan, J., dissenting) ; Hubbard v. Fort, supra

at 997-98.

Thus, both in the legislative history of the

original enactment and by this later corrective amend-

ment, Congress has provided the clearest possible

statement of its intention that no implied exemption

for state-authorized activities should be read into the

Rivers and Harbors Act. In now urging the adoption of

just such an exemption, therefore, the State and the

intervenors are proposing nothing less than direct

contravention of the congressional will.

E. The Contention That the Permit for the

Clifton Court Forebay Intake Facility

Authorized the Earlier Construction of the

Entire Delta Pumping Plant Is Refuted

by the Record.

Respondents have little to add to the lower courts’

disposition of the rather audacious, if not disingenucus,

contention that the entire Delta Pumping Plant was

implicitly authorized by the Corps of Engineers’

issuance of a permit for a later addition to the plant

known as the Clifton Court Forebay Intake (Pet. App.

50-52, 97-99). Even if it were to be assumed that the

district court's rejection of this contention is not a

finding of fact that is entitled to affirmance unless

found to be "clearly erroneous," no basis whatsoever

could be found in the record for questioning that

court's conclusion that this permit, which fails even

to refer to the pumping plant, constituted an official

authorization of that facility (Pet. App. 50, 98; Jt.

App. 115a-119a). The most that might be permitted by

the record is speculation that same private understanding

91.

of the Corps' acquiescence in the existing pumping

plant might have accompanied the later issuance of the

intake permit. But no legal significance could be

attributed to such an understanding in any event in the

absence of the required public hearing or of any notice

to the public that this permit was intended to auth

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.