Petition — Arizona v. Manypenny

Supreme Court brief1981

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

2 a IT SRE NSLS ERENT ea,

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

No.

STATE OF ARIZONA, PETITIONER

Ve

WILLIAM DALE MANYPENNY, RESPONDENT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE NINTH CIRCUIT

STEPHEN D. NEELY

PIMA COUNTY ATTORNEY

DANIEL JESSE SMITH

Deputy County Attorney

900 Pima County Courts Building !

lll West Congress Street

Tucson, Arizona 85701

Attorneys for Petitioner

des - .

INDEX

rama ROMs. bdo os 6 es

hog te. a ee

Questions presented .....

Constitutional and statutory

provisions involved ....

BERCUe 6 +s Oe Se

Reasons for granting the writ

RS 8A eo ke we a

POOTMOCES « © © te be ee ee

nee Ws. 0 4. A. We ee

DCIS e's!) co 6) Bho eas

a RR Oa

NE is > 6, 0 & Che Oech

A Wes. ok ee Kk a ees

CITATIONS

Cases:

Bolling v. Sharpe, 347 U.S

491 e <a — aa eo —_ 7 o * a

Carter v. Tennessee, 18

a

F.2d 8 0. ° ° o ° - ° °

39a

4la

58a

60a

30

22,23,24

Cases--continued Page

Kessler v. Department of ;

Public Safety, 369 U.S. 153... 27

Marshall v. United States, 414

ee a Coe eG 5 8 lk le lo 390

Martenay v. United States, 216

Dee he eis = ~« 6 » « « «. €§

Maryland v. Soper, 270 U.S. 9... 44

Miller v. Kentucky, 40 F.2d

mere i co. s 6 « 5 24e23,24

National League of Cities v.

Usery, 426 U.S. 833. ..... .25,31

Patterson v. New York, 432 U.S.

eT a 6 6 6s 5 6 6 « « 27

Rowlette v. United States, 392

Dh aie says = » » « « 329323

State of Tennessee v. Davis,

Dr a's le 6 6 6 « « 22723,24

United States v. Allison, 555

EE. 6 6 6 6 66 © 0 e 39

United States v. Burroughs, 537

SR RS 39

United States v. Cahalane, 560

i Me ae 6 6 ee wk le 39

United States v. Calloway, 562

Dh ie £okr se 6 5 6 © © « « 39

United States v. Cravero, 530

ee 6 ae es 5 fo 39

United States v. DeGarces, 518

EG @ © © © ¢ + ¢ © w ¢ e 39

United States v. Donahue, 539

ER ECM GAS a 6 4 5 5 5 39

United States v. Dreitzler, 577

Te (6) eR | 6 lf le lt 39

United States v. Helstostki,

61 L.Ed.2d 12, 91 S.Ct.

, Opinion issued June 18,

oe eo eee ss » « « « 18,19,21

II

Cases--continued Page

United States v. Johnson, 487

F.2d 1318, cert. denied, 419

Coe ee ae a ae eee ee, a op eese

United States v. Martin Linen

Supply Company, 430 U.S. 564. . 39

United States v. Rojas, 554

ce a a See a 39

United States v. Rosenson, 291

gi ey J ee oe a ee 45

United States v. Scott, 437 U.S.

Se ve ak ee ae ek Oe eee 39

United States v. Sisson, 399

Mae As sw se eS 6a! +m eo eee

United States v. Smith, 331 U.S. .

SERS ae ea ae Yee Pe

United States v. Weinstein, 452

A oe se al ee ee ee ae ee 45

United States v. Wilson, 420 U.S.

SORES 6 ee Se ee oe « 2

Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S.

oT. sk we 4. 66 6 ee Se & «eee weeses

Constitution, statutes and rules:

United States Constitution:

Pitt Ameneweese. « « 2 is Shs 30

Teun Aes 8 8 oe ce we ee 4

Double Jeopardy Clause . .. .12,15

Due Process Clause ....e«.-s« 30

LS U.8,6.. 3732's so « e 3 Bee Re aes

20,21,23,24,29, 31,43

ae UsBchs 2A al 6: és. & ae eee 3

S60 UiGits BOP eee bee eee

Iil

Constitution, statutes and

rules--continued Page

20 U.S.C. 1442(a) (1). .« « « « «$730, 31

Arizona Revised Statute § 13-249

ee re eee ee gk gg et es 10

Federal Rule of Criminal

Proeecure 29(C) . . « « « «4,6,11,32

33,34,36,37

Federal Rule of Criminal

Peoueaune S36 « & eo

Federal Rule of Criminal

Wem SOs 2 a 6 ew «ow SEOs ii

- 10,34,36

Miscellaneous:

Advisory Committee Note to

Federal Rule of Criminal

Procedure 54(B)(1)..... 22,24,40

Rules of the Supreme Court

BR | Saag ee a cae oo a oe 18

Declaration of Independence .. .28,42

IV

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

No.

STATE OF ARIZONA, PETITIONER

Ve

WILLIAM DALE MANYPENNY, RESPONDENT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE NINTH CIRCUIT

The Pima County Attorney, on behalf

of the State of Arizona, petitions for a

Writ of Certiorari to review the judgment

of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Ninth Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The majority and dissenting

Opinions of the Court of Appeals, (Appendix

A infra 3a-38a) (as amended by the order

of the Ninth Circuit on August 13, 1979,

Appendix D infra at 58a-59a) are reported

at 60 F.2d at. [The original per

curiam opinion of the Court of Appeals,

(Appendix B infra at 39a-40a) issued July 31,

1978, was withdrawn by the Court of Appeals

on July 9, 1979, when the Court of Appeals

granted the Petitioner-State's petition for

rehearing, and the instant majority and

dissenting opinions were substituted. ]

The order of the district court is reported

at 445 F.Supp. 1123 (D. Ariz. 1977) (Appendix

C infra at 4la-57a).

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals

(Appendix A infra at la-2a) was entered on

July 9, 1979. The State's petition for

rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en

banc was denied on September 10, 1979

(Appendix E infra at 60a-6la). The time

for filing this petition was extended ten

days until October 20, 1979 by order of

Justice Rehnquist on October 2, 1979.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked

under 28 U.S.C 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether a state is stripped of

all appellate rights that exist under

federal law (18 U.S.C. 3731 and 28 U.S.C.

1291) and applicable state law, when a

state criminal prosecution is removed by

the defendant to federal court pursuant

to 28 U.S.C. 1442(a) (1).

2. Whether a federal district court

has jurisdiction to enter a judgment of

acquittal on its own motion eleven months

after the jury has returned a guilty

verdict, and beyond the seven-day period

provided for in Federal Rule of Criminal

Procedure 29(c).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Tenth Amendment to the United States

Constitution provides:

"The powers not delegated to

the United States by the

Constitution, nor prohibited

by it to the states, are

reserved to the states respect-

ively, or to the people."

18 U.S.C. 3731 provides in part:

"In a criminal case an appeal

by the United States shall lie

to a court of appeals from a

decision, judgment, or order

of a district court dismissing

an indictment or information

as to any one or more counts,

except that no appeal shall lie

where the double jeopardy clause

of the United States Constitution

prohibits further prosecution.

* * *

The provisions of this section

shall be liberally construed

to effectuate its purpose."

28 U.S.C. 1291 provides:

"The courts of appeals shall

have jurisdiction of appeals

from all final decisions of the

district courts of the United

States, the United States

District Court for the District

of Guam, and the District Court

of the Virgin Islands, except

where a direct review may be

had in the Supreme Court."

28 U.S.C. 1442(a) (1) provides:

"(a) A civil action or criminal

prosecution commenced in a State

court against any of the follow-

ing persons may be removed by

them to the district court of

‘a the United States for the district

and division embracing the

place wherein it is pending:

(1) Any officer of the United

States or any agency thereof,

Or person acting under him, for

any act under color of such

office or on account of any

right, title or authority

claimed under any Act of Congress

for the apprehension or punish-

ment of criminals or the collec-

tion of the revenue."

Federal Rule of Criminal Procedure 29(c)

provides:

"(c) Motion after Discharge of

Jury. If the jury returns a

verdict of guilty or is dis-

charged without having returned

a verdict, a motion for judgment

of acquittal may be made or

renewed within 7 days after the

jury is discharged or within

such further time as the court

may fix during the 7-day period.

If a verdict of guilty is return-

ed the court may on such motion

set aside the verdict and enter

judgment of acquittal. It shall

not be necessary to the making

of such a motion that a similar

motion has been made prior to

the submission of the case to

the jury."

STATEMENT

1. On March 15, 1976 at 9:00 p.m.

Respondent MANYPENNY was on duty as a United

States Border Patrol agent (Tr.* 146, 155,

281). Respondent MANYPENNY, along with Border

Patrol Agent Hjelle, were suppose to stop

and take into custody illegal aliens enter-

ing the United States through a well-known

illegal alien route, Sweetwater Pass

located within Pima County, Arizona (Tr.

44, 243). Three Mexican males were heading

north, seeking work. They had nothing

with them but food and clothing (Tr. 15, 23,

294). One of the three aliens, victim

Elfego Mendoza, when confronted by Agent

Hjeile, turned and ran south along the

path back towards the Mexican border (Tr.

*Tr. refers to reporter's transcript of

Respondent's trial.

273, 284). When victim Mendoza was ap-

proximately 150 feet south and below where

Respondent MANYPENNY was positioned, (Tr.

259) Respondent MANYPENNY fired his shot-

gun three separate times (Tr. 61, 170, 176,

178). Three twelve-gauge shotgun shells

were found within eight inches of one

another (Tr. 61-62).

Two of the three shotgun shells

contained birdshot, the third shell

contained double ought buckshot (Tr. 66).

At least one of the two shells containing

birdshot hit the victim in the buttocks,

causing multiple wounds (Tr. 105-106).

One of the pellets from the double ought

buckshot shell hit the victim in the back

of his neck, (Tr. 55) severing his spinal

cord (Tr. 59), turning him into a quadra-

plegic (Tr. 85, 86).

Respondent MANYPENNY at first

claimed his victim had not been shot, but

had instead "Slipped and fallen" (Tr. 22,

38-39). Later that night, Respondent

MANYPENNY suggested that the two other

Mexican aliens, who were potential witnesses

against him, be deported (Tr. 41).

Two weeks later, Respondent

MANYPENNY, with his attorney present, had

a conversation with two Pima County Arizona

prosecutors, concerning the events surround-

ing the shooting. At this time Respondent

MANYPENNY gave three different versions of

why he shot the victim (Tr. 112-120).

At trial, Respondent took the

stand and testified that he fired the first

shot into the air (Tr. 170); the second

shot went off because the gun "misfired"

while he was reloading (Tr. 176); the third

shot also went off by "accident" (Tr. 178).

Ting

Respondent MANYPENNY testified that he

knew it was only a misdemeanor to enter

the United States illegally (Tr. 123); and

that he knew he was not allowed to shoot a

misdemeanor offender (Tr. 274, 311).

2. Respondent MANYPENNY was charged

by the State of Arizona with Assault With

A Deadly Weapon in violation of A.R.S.

§ 13-249(A) and (B). On Respondent

MANYPENNY'S motion, the case was removed

to federal court for trial pursuant to

28 U.S.C. § 1442(a) (1). After a trial, on

November 6, 1976, the jury returned a

verdict of guilty as charged. Respondent

MANYPENNY then moved for arrest of judgment,

or in the alternative, for a new trial

pursuant to Federal Rules of Criminal

Procedure 33 and 34. The federal district

court granted the Respondent's motion for

arrest of judgment. The Petitioner-State

10

then moved for reconsideration of this

ruling. The federal district court granted

the State's motion for reconsideration of

its ruling, but took no further action for

almost one year. On September 8, 1977,

Respondent MANYPENNY moved for a hearing to

determine the status of the Petitioner-

State's pending motion. This hearing was

held on September 26, 1977. ‘Two days later,

the district court reversed its previous

Order arresting judgment. The district

court, Sua sponte, decided to construe

Respondent MANYPENNY'S Rule 34 motion for

arrest of judgment as a Rule 29(c) motion

for judgment of acquittal, despite the fact

that Respondent MANYPENNY had never filed a

Rule 29(c) motion. The district court then

granted its own motion for judgment of acquit-

tal, and held Respondent MANYPENNY not guilty.

Arizona v. Manypenny, 445 F.Supp. 1123 (D.

Ariz. 1977) (Appendix C infra at 4la-57a).

ll

3. The Petitioner-State then filed

a timely notice of appeal pursuant to 18

U.S.C. 3731. The Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit originally issued a per curiam

opinion (Appendix B infra at 39a-40a) on

July 31, 1978, dismissing the Petitioner-

State's appeal on double jeopardy grounds

despite the fact that the double jeopardy

issue had never been briefed by the parties

nor mentioned at oral argument. The per

curiam »pinion read:

"We assume arguendo that the

State of Arizona, in its criminal

prosecution which was removed

to the federal court, has the

same right of appeal under 18

U.S.C. § 3731 as is conferred

on the United States ina

federal prosecution. On the

facts of this case, however,

a judgment of acquittal was

entered, and that judgment

is final and unreviewable.

Sanabria v. United States,

U.S. , 46 U.S.L.W.

4646 (June 14, 1978). Accord-

ingly, the appeal is dismissed."

(Ibid. infra at 39a-40a.)

12

The Petitioner-State then filed a

timely petition for rehearing and suggestion

for rehearing en banc pointing out to the

Court of Appeals that its opinion was in

direct conflict with a series of recent

United States Supreme Court decisions, and

was also in direct conflict with two prior

decisions by the Ninth Circuit itself, and

also in conflict with every prior decision

on this issue by the other Circuits. ?

4. On July 9, 1979, the Court of

Appeals granted the Petitioner-State's

petition for rehearing, withdrew its prior

opinion and substituted the instant

majority and dissenting opinions (Appendix

A infra at la-38a). The majority, per

Judge Choy, acknowledged that:

"We share the concerns expressed

by Judge Kennedy in his dissent

that the policy of § 3731, which

is designed to 'prevent erroneous

trial court rulings from thwarting

AZ

lawful prosecutions,' is equally

applicable to state prosecutions

and federal prosecutions, and

that not allowing state appeals

in cases removed to the federal

courts under § 1442(a) (1) has

a substantial effect on the

delicate balance of our federal

system." (Ibid. infra at 8a.)

Nonetheless, the majority concluded that:

", . . Only Congress can author-

ize an appeal by a state ina

§ 1442(a) (1) criminal prosecution.

Thus far, Congress has not seen

fit to do so. Therefore, we hold

that we are without jurisdiction

to entertain this appeal.

APPEAL DISMISSED." (Ibid. infra

at lla.)

The majority did not reach or discuss the

merits of the Petitioner-State's appeal.

Judge Kennedy, in his dissent

found that:

"There are two possible sources

of jurisdiction, 18 U.S.C. § 3731

and 28 U.S.C. § 1291." (Ibid.

infra at 15a.)

Judge Kennedy's dissent first examined the

jurisdictionai issue at length and found:

14

"I conclude not only that there

is jurisdiction, but that the

judgment ought to be reversed."

(Ibid. infra at 24a.)

Judge Kennedy then considered possible double

jeopardy problems posed by the Petitioner-

State's appeal and concluded there was no

double jeopardy barrier to this appeal (ibid

infra at 24a-30a). Turning to the merits of

the district court's ruling, Judge Kennedy

rejected the Petitioner-State's contention

that the district court was without jurisdic-

tion to sua sponte enter a judgment of

acquittal eleven months after the jury

returned a guilty verdict. Judge Kennedy's

dissent noted that:

"At least two circuits have

held that unless a timely motion

is filed, the judge lacks

jurisdiction to enter a judgment

of acquittal. United States v.

Johnson, 487 F.2d 1318, 1321

(5th Cir.), cert. denied, 419

U.S. 825 (1974); Rowlette v.

United States, 392 F.2d 437,

439 (10th Cir. 1968). See also

United States v. Homer, 411

F.Supp. 972, 975 (W.D. Pa.),

aff'd on other grounds, 545 F.2d

15

864 (3rd Cir. 1976), cert. denied,

431 U.S. 954 (1977). The defendant

did file motions for arrest of

judgment and for a new trial with-

in the time limits prescribed by

rules 29(c) and 34. The court

having retained jurisdiction over

the case, I think it had discre-

tion to consider entry of a judg-

ment of acquittal on its own

motion, where it was convinced

there had been a fundamental

error in its instructions, Fed.

| a >) ae Pe

I conclude further, however, that

the trial court misused its discre-

tion in granting a judgment of

acquittal." (Ibid. infra at

30a-3la.)

Judge Kennedy's dissent then discussed the

merits of the Petitioner-State's appeal

and concluded his dissent by stating:

5.

Appeals,

request,

"I would hold that this court

has jurisdiction and reverse

and remand." (Ibid. infra at

34a.)

On August 13, 1979, the Court of

acting upon the Petitioner-State's

issued an order amending the

16

dissenting opinion to correct a factual

error (Appendix D infra at 58a-59a). The

opinion of the Court of Appeals (Appendix A

infra at la-38a) is reproduced in this

petition for certiorari as amended by

the Court's order of August 13, 1979.

6. The Petitioner-State filed a

timely petition for rehearing and suggestion

for rehearing en banc, which was denied on

September 10, 1979, necessitating the

instant petition for a writ of certiorari

(Appendix E infra at 60a-6la).

7. On October 2, 1979, Justice

Rehnquist, acting on Petitioner's motion,

extended the time for filing this petition

a period of ten (10) days until October 20,

1979.

17

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The instant case presents this

Court with an opportunity to resolve two

questions that fit squarely within the

criteria set forth by this Court's Rule

19.1(b) as guidelines governing this Court's

exercise of it certiorari jurisdiction.

i.

The majority's interpretation of

of 18 U.S.C. 3731 is in conflict with this

Court's decisions in United States v. Wilson,

420 U.S. 332, 43 L.Ed.2d 232, 95 S.Ct.

1013 (1975); and United States v. Helstostki,

U.S. , 61 L.Ed.2d 12, 91 S.Ct.

(June 18, 1979). In Wilson, this

Court referring to 18 U.S.C. 3731, wrote:

"While the language of the new

Act is not dispositive, the

legislative history makes it

clear that Congress intended

to remove all statutory barriers

18

. to Government appeals and to

allow appeals whenever the

Constitution would permit."

420 U.S. at 337. (Emphasis added.)

This Court reaffirmed the inter-

pretation of 18 U.S.C. 3731 just this year

in United States v. Helstostki, supra.

Footnote 6 reads in relevant part:

"In United States v. Wilson,

420 U.S. 322, 337, 43 L.Ed.2da

232, 95 S.Ct. 1013 (1975), we

concluded that the purpose of

the section was 'to remove all

statutory barriers to Government

appeals and to allow appeals

whenever the Constitution would

permit. See also United States

v. Scott, 437 U.S. 82, 84-84,

57 L.Ed.2d 65, 98 S.Ct. 2187

(1978); HR Conf Rep No. 91-1768,

p 21, reprinted in 1970 U.S.

Cong Code & Admin News 5842,

5848; S Rep No. 91-1296, pp 2-3

(1970); 116 Cong Rec 35659

(1970) (remarks of Sen. Hruska).

There are no constitutional

barriers to this appeal and we

conclude that the appeal was

authorized by § 3731." 61 L.Ed.2d

at 22. (Emphasis added.)

Despite the fact that 18 U.S.C. 3731 includes

a specific provision reading:

19

"The provisions of this section

shall be liberally construed to

effectuate its purposes."

the majority felt that the use of the term

"United States" in 18 U.S.C. 3731 precluded

an appeal by a state under the authority

of 18 U.S.C. 3731 (Appendix A infra at

7a). This Court's opinion in Wilson

does not use the term "United States"; the

opinion continually uses the term "Govern-

ment" when referring to the prosecution. 2

The majority's interpretation of

the legislative intent behind 18 U.S.C.

3731 is also inconsistent with this Court's

decision in United States v. Sisson, 399

U.S. 267, 26 L.Ed.2d 608, 90 S.Ct. 2117

(1970). In Sisson, this Court discussed

the concerns of Congress that led to the

enactment of the predecessor of the current

version of 18 U.S.C. 3731:

20

"Their primary purpose was perhaps

best expressed by Attorney General

Miller in his 1892 report: 'As

the law now stands... it is in

the power of a single district

judge, by quashing an indictment,

to defeat any criminal prosecu-

tion instituted by the Government.'"

399 U.S. at 293. (Emphasis added.)

The instant case, as the dissenting

Opinion of Judge Kennedy points out (Appendix

A infra at 17a-18a, 3la) is a case where a

valid criminal prosecution, instituted by

the government, has been effectively and

erroneously blocked by a single district

judge. If this Court meant in Sisson,

that the concern of Congress was that

prosecutions by the United States Govern-

ment were subject to defeat by a single

federal district judge; and if this Court

meant in Wilson and Helstostki that the

latest amendment to 18 U.S.C. 3731 meant

that Congress intended to allow appeals

only by the United States Government

21

“whenever the Constitution would permit",

then this case provides an excellent

opportunity to clear up these ambiguities.

The majority opinion also conflicts

with this Court's decision in State of

Tennessee v. Davis, 100 U.S. 257, 25 L.Ed.

648 (1879) (at 271-272) and two Sixth

Circuit cases, Carter v. Tennessee, 18 F.2d

850 (6th Cir. 1927); and Miller v. Kentucky,

40 F.2d 820 (6th Cir. 1930). These cases

all held that in removal prosecutions, the

federal district court is suppose to apply

the "substantive" law of the state and

federal "procedural" law. The Advisory

Committee Note to Federal Rule of Criminal

Procedure 54(B) (1) states this in no uncer-

tain terms.3 The right to appeal is either

a "substantive" or "procedural" right; (this

is discussed at length in Footnote number 1

22

of Justice Kennedy's dissent, Appendix A

infra at 35a-37a) if this Court deems such

right to be "substantive", then Arizona

law authorizes this appeal as Judge

Kennedy points out (Appendix A infra at

2la, 23a). If this Court deems such right

to be “procedural” then Tennessee v. Davis,

supra; Carter v. Tennessee, supra; and

Miller v. Kentucky, supra, (all cited in

the Advisory Committee Note) clearly stand

for the proposition that in a removal

prosecution the state government stands

in the shoes of the United States Govern-

ment for procedural purposes, and has

all the procedural rights of the United

States Government, including the right

to appeal pursuant to 18 U.S.C. 3731.

Irrespective of whether the right to appeal

is deemed substantive or procedural, the

result reached by the majority is in conflict

with Tennessee v. Davis, Carter and Miller.

This case presents an opportunity to

review the continuing validity of the

principles announced in Tennessee v. Davis

in the context of prosecutorial appellate

rights, and to resolve the apparent con-

flict between the Sixth and Ninth Circuits

on this issue. It also provides an

opportunity for the Court to determine

whether the Advisory Committee Note to

Rule 54(B) (1) is correct or mistaken.

Assuming arguendo that this Court

agrees with the majority's restrictive

interpretation of 18 U.S.C. 3731, this

case also presents, again as an issue of

first impression, the question of whether

a state may appeal in a removal prosecution

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 1291. 28 U.S.c. 1291

reads in relevant part:

24

—T

"The courts of appeals shall have

jurisdiction of appeals from all

final decisions of the district

courts of the United States. .."

Judge Kennedy's dissent (Appendix

A infra at 18a-22a) found that 28 U.S.C.

1291 provided an alternative basis of

jurisdiction for the Court of Appeals to

hear the State's appeal.

The majority's ruling that a state

is without any appellate rights in a removal

prosecution conflicts in principle with

many of this Court's recent decisions con-

cerning federalism and the Tenth Amendment.

In National League of Cities v.

Usery, 426 U.S. 833, 49 L.Ed.2d 245, 96

S.Ct. 2465 (1976), this Court, per Justice

Rehnquist stated:

"{5]) This Court has never doubted

that there are limits upon the

power of Congress to override

state sovereignty, even when

exercising its otherwise plenary

powers to tax or to regulate

commerce which are conferred

25

by Art I of the Constitution.

In Wirtz, for example, the Court

took care to assure the appellants

that it had ‘ample power to pre-

vent... "the utter destruction

of the State as a sovereign pol-

itical entity,"' which they feared.

392 U.S. at 196, 20 L.Ed.2d 1020,

88 S.Ct. 2017.

* * *

In Fry, supra, the Court recogniz-

ed that an express declaration of

this limitation is found in the

Tenth Amendment:

‘While the Tenth Amendment has

been characterized as a "truism,"

Stating merely that "all is re-

tained which has not been sur-

rendered," United States v. Darby,

312 U.S. 100, 124, [85 L.Ed.

609, Gi S.Ct. 451, 132 A.L.R.

1430] (1941), it is not without

Significance. The Amendment

expressly declares the constitu-

tional policy that Congress may

not exercise power in a fashion

that impairs the States' integrity

or their ability to function effec-

tively in a federal system.' 421

U.S., at 547 n 7, 44 L.Ed.2d 363,

35 $.Ct. 1792.

* * *

We have repeatedly recognized

that there are attributes of

26

sovereignty attaching to every

state government which may not

be impaired by Congress, not

because Congress may lack an

affirmative grant of legislative

authority to reach the matter,

but because the Constitution

prohibits it from exercising

the authority in that manner."

426 U.S. at 842-845.

In Kessler v. Department of Public

Safety, 369 U.S. 153, 7 L.Ed.2d 641, 82 S.Ct.

.

807 (1962), this Court wrote:

"Yet the statute was upheld. Why?

Because the 'police power' of a

State, especially when exerted for

the protection of life and limb,

is aS pervasive as any of the

reserved powers of the States

and should be respected unless

there is a clear collision with

a national law which has the

right of way under the Supremacy

Clause of Article 6." 369 U.S.

at iva.

See also, Patterson v. New York, 432 U.S.

197, 53 L.Ed.2d 281, 97 S.Ct. 2319 (1978)

at 201-202.

In Younger v. Harris, 40l U.S. 37,

27 L.Ed.2d 669, 91 S.Ct. 746 (1971), this

Court stated:

27

out:

"Since the beginning of this

country's history Congress has,

subject to a few exceptions,

manifested a desire to permit

state courts to try state cases

free from interference by federal

courts." 401 U.S. at 43.4

As Justice Kennedy's dissent points

"My concern with the majority's

approach is that as well as pro-

ducing an anomalous result, it

creates serious and difficult

problems of federalism. In effect

the majority opinion holds that

through removal, a state cannot

only be deprived of jurisdiction

to try a case in its own courts,

it can also be completely deprived

of any right to appeal that

would have existed under state

law." (Appendix A infra at

16a-17a.)

The result reached by the majority

is inconsistent with federalism and the

intent of the founding fathers as manifested

both in the Constitution and the Declaration

of Independence. 5

Wholly apart from the question of

federalism, the majority opinion has inad-

28

ce oe

vertently created a potentially grave

problem for the orderly administration

of justice in the federal courts; the

right of the United States Government to

appeal pursuant to 18 U.S.C. 3731 cannot

Survive the majority's interpretation of

the Congressional intent behind its passage.

The majority wrote:

"In conclusion, only Congress

can authorize an appeal by a

state in a § 1442(a)(1) criminal

prosecution. Thus far Congress

has not seen fit to do so. There-

fore, we hold that we are without

jurisdiction to entertain this

appeal." (Appendix A infra at

lla.)

The majority has ruled that Congress

created two distinct classes of criminal

defendants in federal court: (1) the ordinary

federal defendant, who is subject to an

appeal by the prosecution pursuant to 18

U.S.C. 3731 to challenge erroneous rulings

in favor of the defendant by the district

29

court; and (2) federal employees entitled

to removal under 28 U.S.C. 1442(a)(1) who

now constitute a special "privileged class",

free to enjoy the benefits of errors com-

mitted in their favor by the federal district

court without any possibility of review.

Congress cannot set up such a statutory

scheme consistent with the Equal Protection

guarantee that is embodied in the Due Process

Clause of the Fifth Amendment. Bolling v.

Sharpe, 347 U.S. 491, 98 L.Ed.2d 884, 74

S.Ct. 693 (1954); C.F. Marshall v. United

States, 414 U.S. 417, 38 L.Ed.2d 618, 94

S.Ct. 700 (1974).

Unless someone can think up a

"rational basis" for allowing criminals

who are employed by the Federal Government

these special privileges, the Equal Protec-

tion rights of the ordinary federal defendant

are violated every time the United States

30

Government files an appeal under 18 U.S.C.

3731.

The majority's ruling also calls

into question the continuing constitution-

ality of the removal statute itself (28

U.S.C. 1442(a)(1)) for the reasons set

forth by this Court in National League of

Cities v. Usery, supra; and Younger v.

Harris, supra.

This case allows the Court an

opportunity to forestall these issues from

arising in the lower courts by either

reversing the majority, or taking the case

as an opportunity to explain why the

majority's ruling does not violate the

Equal Protection rights of the ordinary

federal defendant who has been subjected

to a successful government appeal under

18 U.S.C. 3731.

“Se

Il.

The second question presented for

review, (whether a federal district judge

has jurisdiction to enter a judgment of

acquittal on his own motion beyond the

seven-day limit called for in Federal Rule

of Criminal Procedure 29(c)) presents this

Court with an opportunity to resolve an

apparent conflict® between the Ninth Circuit

and the position taken by both the Fifth

Circuit in United States v. Johnson, 487

F.2d 1318, cert. denied, 419 U.S. 825 (1974)

and the Tenth Circuit in Rowlette v. United

States, 392 F.2d 437 (1968). The apparent

position (see Footnote 6 infra at 43)

of the Ninth Circuit on this issue also

conflicts in principle with this Court's

decision in United States v. Smith, 331

U.S. 469, 67 S.Ct. 1330, 91 L.Ed.2d 1610

(1947).

32

Federal Rule of Criminal Procedure

29(c) reads in relevant part:

"(c) Motion after discharge of

Jury. If the jury returns a

verdict of guilty or is discharg-

ed without having returned a

verdict, a motion for judgment

of acquittal may be made or

renewed within 7 days after

the jury is discharged or

within such further time as

the court may fix during the

7-day period."

The Fifth Circuit in Johnson, supra,

and the Tenth Circuit in Rowlette, supra,

have both held that a trial court is without

jurisdiction to consider a Rule 29(c) motion

unless it is timely filed within the seven-

day period. As Judge Kennedy noted in his

dissent, no such motion was ever filed by

Respondent MANYPENNY (Appendix A infra at

30a). |

In United States v. Smith, Supra,

this Court ruled that the government was

entitled to have its writ of mandamus granted

33

to require the vacation of an order by a

federal district judge granting the defend-

ant a new trial pursuant to Federal Rule

of Criminal Procedure 33. The new trial

was granted on the Court's own motion

beyond the five-day limit for such motions

allowed by Rule 33 at that time. (Rule 33

has subsequently been amended to provide

for the same seven-day limit that exists

in Rule 29(c).) This Court stated per

Justice Jackson:

"Briefly, Judge Smith thought

and intervenor argues that the

rule prevents a defendant from

asking the court to grant a new

trial after the times specified,

but that it permits the judge

to order retrial without request

and at any time. The result, in

view of annulment of the term

limitation, would be that the

power of the trial court to grant

new trials on its own motions

lingers on indefinitely. There

are several reasons why this

construction of the Rules is

not acceptable.

* * *

34

We think that expiration of the

time within which relief can

openly be asked of the judge,

terminates the time within which

it can properly be granted on

the court's own initative.

* * *

But the extension of that time

indefinitely is no insurance of

justice. On the contrary, as

time passes, the peculiar ability

which the trial judge has to

pass on the fairness of the

trial is dissipated as the incidents

and nuances of the trial leave

his mind to give way to immediate

business. It is in the interest

of justice that a decision on the

propriety of a trial be reached

as soon after it has ended as is

possible, and that decision be

not deferred until the trial's

story has taken on the uncertain-

ty and dimness of things long past."

331 U.S. at 473-476. (Emphasis |

added. )

If this Court reads the Smith case

as applying to all the "Rules", then the

decision of the Ninth Circuit is in direct

conflict with Smith. If this Court views

the Smith case as controlling authority

35

only as to Rule 33, then this case provides

an excellent opportunity for the Court to

decide if the Smith Rule should apply to

Rule 29(c) also. In the instant case,

- the trial court, eleven months after the

trial, without the benefit of any tran-

scripts, sua sponte entered a judgment of

acquittal. The comparison of the reasons

advanced by the district court for its

action (Appendix C infra at 52a-57a) and

the actual trial transcript reveals that the

fears expressed by this Court in the Smith

case ("uncertainty and dimness of things

long past") have indeed come to pass in the

instant case. As Judge Kennedy pointed out

in his dissent:

"I conclude further, however,

that the trial court misused its

discretion in granting judgment

of acquittal. The court's ruling

was based on the premise that the

evidence was insufficient to over-

come a defense of immunity under

36

Clifton v. Cox, Supra. The

defense of immunity was not

raised or argued at all at trial.

The defendant had the burden of

raising immunity as an affirmative

defense but did not do that."

(Appendix A infra at 30a-3la.)

The proper time limitation for

granting judgments of acquittal pursuant to

Rule 29(c) is an important question affect-

ing the day to day operation of the federal

courts and this Court should resolve this

issue.

37

CONCLUSION

The Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

should be granted.

Respectfully submitted this E. acy

day of October, 1979.

STEPHEN D. NEELY

PIMA COUNTY ATTORNEY

Danuel raw AAG

Daniel Jesse Smith

Deputy County Attorney

38

FOOTNOTES

1/ The July 31, 1978 per curiam opinion

of the Ninth Circuit was in direct conflict

with this Court's decisions in the following

cases: United States v. Wilson, 420 U.S.

332, 43 L.Ed.2d 232, 95 S.Ct. 1013 (1975);

United States v. Martin Linen Supply Company,

430 U.S. 5604, 51 L.Ed.2d 642, 97 S.Ct. 1349

(1977); United States v. Scott, 437 U.S. 82,

57 L.Ed.2d 65, 98 S.Ct. 2187, reh. denied,

58 L.Ed.2d 197, 99 S.Ct. 226 (1978) footnote

7. The July 31, 1978 opinion was also

in direct conflict with two prior Ninth

Circuit Opinions: United States v. Rojas,

554 F.2d 938 (1977); and United States v.

Dreitzler, 577 F.2d 539 (June 23, i978).

The opinion was also in conflict with every

other Circuit that had passed on the issue:

United States v. De Garces, 518 F.2d 1156

(2nd Cir. 1975); United States v. Cahalane,

560 F.2d 601 (3rd Cir. 1977); United States

v. Burroughs, 537 F.2d 1156 (4th Cir. 1976);

United States v. Cravero, 530 F.2d 666 (5th

Cir. 1976); United States v. Allison, 555

F.2d 1385 (7th Cir. 1977); United States

v. Donahue, 539 F.2d 1131 (8th Cir. 1976);

United States v. Calloway, 562 F.2d 615

(LOth Cir. 1977).

2/ The majority opinion per Justice

Marshall refers to the prosecution as the

"Government" thirty-nine times in his

majority opinion;.and only uses the term

"United States" one time, (420 U.S. at 338)

to refer to the prosecution. The dissent

‘uses the term "Government" six times and

never uses the term "United States" except

in citing the names of previous cases.

39

—

3/

The Advisory Committee note to

Federal Rule of Criminal Procedure 54B(1)

reads in

4/

Younger:

relevant part:

"In such cases the Federal court

applies the substantive law of

the State, but follows Federal

procedure; State of Tennessee v.

Davis, 100 U.S. 257, 25 L.Ed.

648; Carter v. Tennessee, 18

F.2d 850, C.C.A.6th; Miller v.

Kentucky, 40 F.2d 820 C.C.A.6th.

See, also, State of Maryland v.

Soper, 46 S.Ct. 185, 270 U.S.

9, 70 L.Ed. 449. The rule is,

therefore, a restatement of

existing law, except that it

does not affect whatever power

the State prosecutor may have

as to dismissal.

This Court went on to state in

"This underlying reason for

restraining courts of equity

from interferring with criminal

prosecutions is reinforced by

an even more vital consideration,

the notion of 'comity,' that is,

a proper respect for state

functions, a recognition of

the fact that the entire country

is made up of a Union of separate

state governments, and a con-

tinuance of the belief that the

National Government will fare best

if the States and their institu-

tions are left free to perform

their separate functions in their

40

separate ways. This, perhaps

for lack of a better and clearer

way to describe it, is referred

to by many as ‘Our Federalism,'

and one familiar with the profound

debates that ushered our Federal

Constitution into existence is

bound to respect those who remain

loyal to the ideals and dreams

of ‘Our Federalism.' The concept

does not mean blind deference to

"States' Rights' any more than

it means centralization of con-

trol over every important issue

in our National Government and

its courts. The Framers rejected

both these courses. What the

concept does represent is a

system in which there is sen-

sitivity to the legitimate

interests of both State and

National Governments, and in

which the National Government,

anxious through it may be to

vindicate and protect federal

rights and federal interests,

always endeavors to do so in

ways that will not unduly inter-

fere with the legitimate activities

of the States. It should never

be forgotten that this slogan,

‘Our Federalism,' born in the

early struggling days of our

Union of States, occupies a

highly important place in our

Nation's history and its future."

401 U.S. at 44-45.

41

5/ Indeed, one of the enumerated

grievances listed in the Declaration of

Independence was a situation remarkably

Similar to the instant case. The Declaration

reads in relevant part:

"The history of the Present

King of Great Britain is a

history of repeated injuries

and usurpations, all having in

direct object the establishment

of an absolute Tyranny over

these states:"

The Declaration then goes on to list a

series of enumerated grievances, among them:

". .« « For Protecting them, by a

Mock trial, from punishment for

any murders which they should

commit on the inhabitants of

these states. .."

In the instant case, the same

Federal District Court that erroneously

granted Respondent's motion in arrest of

judgment (Appendix C infra at 43a, 57a)

and then sua sponte entered a judgment of

acquittal eleven months after the guilty

verdict, made the following comment prior

to the trial in the instant case. (This

was at the hearing on a motion brought

by the Respondent-Defendant prior to

trial to force the United State's Attorney's

Office to defend him in the instant case.

The United States Attorney opposed the

motion, which was denied.)

42

"THE COURT

* * *

Now, just what do you think that

this sort of conduct by the

Department of Justice in failing

to come to the aid of a Border

Patrol agent is going to do to

the morale of your law enforce-

ment agents?" Transcript of

August 30, 1976, page 9.

Respondent MANYPENNY has yet to

spend one day in jail for twice shooting

Elfego Mendoza in the back, crippling him

for life, as Mendoza ran south, unarmed,

towards the Mexican border. On this record,

the instant case presents a classic example

of what this Court said Congress was

concerned with when it enacted 18 U.S.C.

3731 and its predecessors. (See United

States v. Sisson, Supra.) For all intents

and purposes, the people of the State of

Arizona have received little more than the

"mock" trial listed as one of the enumerated

grievances in the Declaration of Independence.

To say the majority opinion would cause

some consternation among the founding fathers

is probably an understatement.

6/ The majority opinion does not men-

tion this issue although it was properly

raised by the Petitioner-State before the

Ninth Circuit as Judge Kennedy noted in his

dissent (Appendix A infra at 30a). The

dissent discussed this issue and reject-

ed the position of the Fifth and Tenth

43

Circuits. The majority opinion has im-

plicitly rejected the position taken by

the other Circuits when it dismissed the

State's appeal outright, rather than con-

struing it as a Petition For Mandamus

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 1651. Assuming

arguendo that the State has no right to

appeal in a removal prosecution, if the

district court was without jurisdiction to

enter the judgment of acquittal, then the

Court of Appeals, and this Court both have

jurisdiction by way of mandamum (28 U.S.C.

1651) to order the district court to

reinstate the verdict.

In Maryland v. Soper, 46 S.Ct.

185, 270 U.S. 9, 70 L.Ed. 449 (1925), this

Court reviewed Maryland's challenge to the

granting of a removal petition by a Federal

District Court. This Court per Chief

Justice Taft, granted the State's Petition

For Mandamus. In discussing the use of

this extraordinary remedy, the Chief Justice

wrote:

"Virginia v. Rives, 100 U.S. 313,

Virginia v. Paul, 148 U.S. 107,

and Kentucky v. Powers, 201 U.S. 1,

were cases in which criminal

prosecutions by a State, removed

to a federal court under asserted

compliance with federal statutes,

were ordered remanded by writ

of mandamus.

* * *

44

The writ in those cases was

justified by the Court because

of the gross abuse of discretion

of the lower court, its clear

lack of jurisdiction, and the

absence of any other remedy.

Ex parte Harding, 219 U.S. 363,

at p. 373.

* * *

In respect of the removal statute

prosecutions, there should be a

more liberal use of mandamus than

in removal of civil cases. 220

U.S. at 28.

See also, United States v. Weinstein, 452

F.2d 704 (2nd Cir. 1971).

The Petitioner-State did not formal-

ly request mandamus relief from the Court of

Appeals; it being the position of the State

below and in this Court that the State has

a right to an appeal. The Petitioner-State,

as Justice Kennedy noted supra, did raise

and brief this issue, alleging that the

District Court was wholly without jurisdic-

tion to even enter a judgment of acquittal.

It is the substance and not the label of

pleadings that are controlling. See United

States v. Rosenson, 291 F.Supp. 867 (E.D.

Louisiana 1968); and Martenay v. United

States, 216 F.2d 760 (10th Cir. 1954). By

failing to order the verdict reinstated,

the majority has effectively created a

conflict with the other Circuits on this

issue.

45

“a<

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

STATE OF AREZONA,

Plaintiff-Appellant, No. 77-3453

vs. ORDER

WILLIAM DALE MANYPENNY,

)

)

)

)

)

)

Defendant-Appellee. )

)

)

Filed: July 9, 1979, Emil E. Melfi, Jr.

Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals

Before: CHOY and KENNEDY, Circuit Judges,

and HALL,* District Judge

The petition of the State of Arizona

for a rehearing of this appeal is granted;

and the original per curiam opinion of the

court entered herein on July 3l, 1978 is

withdrawn and there is substituted in its

place the attached opinion and dissenting

opinion.

*The Honorable Peirson M. Hall, Senior United

States District Judge for the Central District

of California, sitting by designation.

la

The State's suggestion for

rehearing en banc is rejected, all active

members of the court having been advised

of the petition for rehearing and suggestion

for rehearing en banc and no member of the

court having indicated a desire for rehear-

ing en banc.

2a

bo,

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

STATE OF ARIZONA,

Plaintiff-Appellant, No. 77-3453

vs. OPINION

WILLIAM DALE MANYPENNY,

Defendant~-Appellee.

ee eee ee ee ee ee ee 8 Se ee”

Appeal from the United States

District Court for the District

of Arizona

Before: CHOY and KENNEDY, Circuit Judges,

and HALL,* District Judge

CHOY, Circuit Judge:

The State of Arizona brought this

criminal prosecution against Manypenny, a

border patrolman of the United States

Immigration and Naturalization Service.

*The Honorable Peirson M. Hall, Senior United

States District Judge for the Central District

of California, sitting by designation.

3a

The State charged Manypenny with assault

with a deadly weapon in violation of

Arizona law. Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 13-249(A)

& (B). On Manypenny's motion, the case

was removed to federal court. See 28 U.S.C.

§ 1442(a) (1) .2/

After trial, the jury returned a

verdict of guilty. Manypenny then moved

for arrest of judgment or, alternatively,

for a new trial. See Fed.R.Crim.P. 33,

34. The court granted the Rule 34 motion

for arrest of judgment. Thereafter, the

State moved for reconsideration of the

grant of the Rule 34 motion. The court

granted the motion for reconsideration,

but no action was taken for a year.

On September 8, 1977, Manypenny

moved for a hearing to determine the status

of the State's pending motion. The hear-

ing was held on September 26. Two days

4a

later, the district court reversed its

previous order arresting judgment. The

court construed Manypenny's Rule 34 motion

to be a motion for judgment of acquittal

under Fed.R.Crim.P. 29(c), granted the

motion for acquittal, set aside the jury's

verdict and held Mannypenny not guilty.

Arizona v. Manypenny, 445 F.Supp. 1123 (D.

Ariz. 1977) .2/

The State appeals from these

rulings. We find that we are without

jurisdiction to satertain such an appeal.

We therefore dismiss the appeal.

It is well-settled that the

prosecution has no right to appeal an

adverse decision absent some statutory

authorization. See United States v.

Martin Linen Supply Co., 430 U.S. 564,

568 (1977); United States v. Wilson, 420

U.S. 332, 336 (1975); United States v.

5a

Sanges, 144 U.S. 310,. 312, 318-23 (1892) .3/

The State contends that it may appeal the

judgment in this case under 18 U.S.C. §

3731, the Criminal Appeals Act.

Section 3731 provides in part:

"In a criminal case an appeal

by the United States shall lie

to a court of appeals from a

decision, judgment, or order ©

of a district court dismissing

an indictment or information

as to any one or more counts,

except that no appeal shall lie

where the double jeopardy clause

of the United States Constitution

prohibits further prosecution.

The provisions of this section

shall be liberally construed to

effectuate its purposes."

(Emphasis added.)

While the Supreme Court has stated

that § 3731 was “intended to remove all

statutory barriers to Government appeals

and to allow appeals whenever the Constitu-

tion would permit," United States v. Martin

6a

Linen Supply Co., 430 U.S. at 568, quoting

United States v. Wilson, 420 U.S. at 337,

it is manifest that § 3731 is limited by

its own terms to appeals by the United

States as a prosecuting entity. The statute

authorizes "an appeal by the United States,"

not an appeal by a state or by "any of the

United States." As we have previously

stated, "'[t]he language of a statute is

the best and most reliable index of its

meaning, and where the language is clear

and unequivocal it is determinative of its

construction.'" Smith v. Califano, No.

77-1296 (9th Cir. Mar. 8, 1979), slip op.

at 709, quoting, Monte Vista Lodge v.

Guardian Life Insurance Co., 384 F.2d 126,

128 (9th Cir. 1967), cert. denied, 390 U.S.

950 (1968).

We note that no court has ever

interpreted § 3731 as providing for appeals

7a

by a state in a § 1442(a) (1) prosecution.

Moreover, the legislative history of this

provision and its predecessors make it

clear that Congress was only concerned

with appeals by the federal Government. 4/

We share the concerns expressed

by Judge Kennedy in his dissent that the

policy of § 3731, which is designed to

"prevent erroneous trial court rulings

from thwarting lawful prosecutions," is

equally applicable to state prosecutions

and federal prosecutions, and that not

allowing state appeals in cases removed

to the federal courts under § 1442(a) (1)

has a substantial effect on the delicate

balance of our federal system. However,

we cannot rewrite § 3731 for Congress. As

the Supreme Court has warned:

"A statute "is not an empty

vessel into which this Court

is free to pour a vintage that

8a

Mr,

we think better suits present

day tastes." United States v.

Sisson, 399 U.S. 267, 297 (1970).

Considerations of this kind are

for Congress, not the courts."

National Broiler Marketing Association v.

United States, 46 U.S.L.W. 4620, 4623 (U.S.

June 12, 1978), quoted in Smith v. Califano,

Slip op. at 712.

Neither can we look to state law

as providing Arizona with a right to appeal

in this case. A case before the federal

courts under § 1442(a) (1) is one within

the judicial power of the United States,

for it arises under federal law. See

Tennessee v. Davis, 100 U.S. 257, 262-65

(1879). In a case arising under federal

law, federal law, rather than state law,

controls. See D'Oench, Dune & Co. v. FDIC,

315 U.S. 446, 456 (1942); Deitrick v.

Greaney, 309 U.S. 190, 200-01 (1940); Board

of County Commissioners v. United States,

9a

”

g

308 U.S. 353, 349-53 (1939); United States

v. Crain, 589 F.2d 996, 998 (9th Cir. 1979).

While in certain cases the federal

courts may adopt state law as federal law,

see Textile Workers Union v. Lincoln Mills,

353 U.S. 448, 457 (1957); D'Oench, Duhme

& Co. v. FDIC, 315 U.S. at 468-72 (Jackson,

J., concurring); Board of Commissioners

v. United States, 308 U.S. at 349-52;

United States v. Crain, 589 F.2d at 999-

1000, adoption of state law in this case

does nak aid the State's case. As previous-

ly noted, the prosecution may appeal only

where authorized to do so by statute.

See United States v. Martin Linen Supply

Co., 430 U.S. at 568; United States v.

Wilson, 430 U.S. at 336; United States v.

Sanges, 144 U.S. at 312, 318-23. Adoption

of state law as the federal rule would not

meet this requirement of statutory author-

10a

ization, for such a federal rule would be a

"common law" rule, even if based upon a

state statute. See United States v. Crain,

589 F.2d at 998-1000; United States v. Best,

573 F.2d 1095, 1101 (9th Cir. 1978).

In conclusion, only Congress can

authorize an appeal by a state ina § 1442

(a) (1) criminal prosecution. Thus far,

Congress has not seen fit to do so. There-

fore, we hold that we are without jurisdic-

tion to entertain this appeal.

APPEAL DISMISSED.

lla

FOOTNOTES

1. [reference on page 1]

28 U.S.C. § 1442(a) (1) provides

A civil action or criminal

prosecution commenced in a state court

against any of the following persons may

be removed by them to the district court

of the United States for the district and

division embracing the place wherein it is

pending.

(1) Any officer of the United

States or any agency thereof,

or any person acting under

him, for any act under color

of such office or on account

of any right, title or author-

ity claimed under any Act of

Congress for the apprehension

Or punishment of criminals

or the collection of revenue.

2. [reference on page 2]

The court stated that its reason

for ordering Manypenny's acquittal was that

he was entitled to immunity under the

principle announced In re Neagle, 135 U.S.

1 (1890). See Clifton v. Cox, 549 F.2d

722 (9th Cir. 1977). The immunity defense

had not been raised at trial. However,

the district court concluded that it had

erred in failing to sua sponte instruct

the jury on such a defense.

l2a

ce [reference on page 2]

In his dissent, Judge Kennedy

suggests that tnis court may have jurisdic-

tion over the State's appeal under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1291, the final judgement rule. We

disagree.

The Supreme Court has twice held

that general appeals provisions are not

sufficiently explicit to overcome the

common-law rule that the State may not

appeal an adverse decision in a criminal

case. United States v. Wilson, 420 U.S.

332, 336 (1975); United States v. Sanges,

144 U.S. 310, 318, 322-23 (1892). A

statute expressly giving the State a

right to appeal in a criminal case is

required. Section 1291 is not such a

statute. Neither does § 1291 allow us

to refer to state law to determine whether

or not the State has a right of appeal.

See discussion of state law infra.

4. [reference on page 3]

Nowhere in the legislative history

of the various criminal appeals acts does

it appear that Congress addressed or even

considered appeals by the State in state

prosecutions before the federal courts

under § 1442. See S. Rep. No. 1296, 91st

Cong., 2d Sess. (1970) H.R. Rep. No. 1768,

9lst Cong., 2d Sess. (1970) 41 Cong. Rec.

2190-97 (Feb. 4, 1907), 2744-63 (Feb. 12,

1907). The reports and debate on the issue

of such acts indicate that Congress was

concerned only with the right of the federal

l3a

Government to appeal in criminal cases.

See S. Rep. No. 1296 at 2, 5, 9-11, 18

H.R. Rep. No. 1768 at 21 41 Cong. Rec.

at 2190 (remarks of Sen. Hale) (remarks of

Sen. Bacon) (concerned with lower court

determinations that acts of Congress un-

constitutional), 2760 (remarks of Sen.

Spooner) (the United States should have

the same right to appeal in federal criminal

cases as many of the states do in their

own courts).

l4a

—

Re: STATE OF ARIZONA v. WILLIAM DALE

MANYPENNY, No. 77-3453

KENNEDY, Circuit Judge, dissenting:

I respectfully dissent from the

majority's conclusion that we are without

jurisdiction to entertain this appeal.

There are two possible sources

of jurisdiction, 18 U.S.C. § 3731 and

28 U.S.C. § 1291. With respect to § 3731,

the majority concludes that the section

must be confined to the United States.

This is a reasonable position and it

certainly has textual validity. But

while a court cannot ignore the language

of the statute, the Supreme Court has

warned against "the dangers of an approach

to statutory construction which confines

itself to the bare words of a statute ..

for 'literalness may be a Strangle meaning

. 15a

Lynch v. Overholser, 369 U.S. 705, 710

(1962) (quoting Utah Junk Co. v. Porter,

328 U.S. 39, 44 (1946)). It is true that

no court has ever interpreted section 3731

as providing for appeals by a state; on

the other hand we find no holding to the

contrary. This is apparently, a case of

first impression. The legislative history

reveals that Congress simply never con-

sidered the question before us. I conclude

that Congress did not intend a state to

be completely prohibited from appealing

in a removed criminal prosecution. My

concern with the majority's approach is

that as well as producing an anomalous

result, it creates serious and difficult

problems of federalisn. In effect the

majority opinion holds that through re-

moval, a state cannot only be deprived

of jurisdiction to try a case in its own

l6a

courts, it can also be completely deprived

of any right to appeal that would have

existed under state law.

The original Criminal Appeals

Act, 34 Stat. 1246, was the subject of

extended congressional debate. See United

States v. Sisson, 399 U.S. 267, 293-96

(1970). Upon its enactment, government

appeals were limited to a narrow category

of cases. The Act was amended in 1971

to permit all appeals that can be main-

tained consistently with the Constitution,

and thus the amendment "remove[d] all

statutory barriers to Government appeals."

United States v. Wilson, 420 U.S. 332, 337

(1975). The new Act contains a provision

that it shall be liberally construed.

18 U.S.C. § 3731. The statutory scheme

‘is designed to prevent erroneous trial

court rulings from thwarting lawful

17a

- |

prosecutions. That policy applies with

equal force to appeals in those cases

in which the state is the prosecuting

entity under the removal statute. In

view of the sensitive nature of state-

federal relations in section 1442 (a) (1)

removal cases, I do not believe that

Congress intended to deprive states of

any right to appeal.

Even if one agrees with the

majority's interpretation of section 3731,

there remains another possible source of

jurisdiction, that is, the general grant

of appellate jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1291. In United States v. Sanges, 144

U.S. 310 (1892), the Supreme Court held

that the United States cannot appeal in

a criminal case without express congres-

sional authorization. The Court surveyed

both English and American state precedent

18a

and concluded that the settled practice

was that the state could not appeal

criminal cases except in accordance with

express statutes. The Court then concluded:

"In none of the provisions of

this act, defining the appellate

jurisdiction, either of this

court, or of the Circuit Court

of Appeals, is there any indica-

tion of an intention to confer

upon the United States the

right to bring up a criminal

case of any grade after judgment

below in favor of the defendant.

It. is impossible to presume an

intention on the part of Congress

to make so serious and far-reach-

ing an innovation in the criminal

jurisprudence of the United States."

Id. at 323.

While Sanges is instructive, neither

it nor any other case has held that there

must be express congressional authorization

in order for a state to appeal in federal

court.

The rule in English and American

law which requires statutory authorization

19a

before the prosecution can appeal is rooted

in the concern that a sovereign not be

given the uncontrolled right to prolong

criminal proceedings against those subject

to its jurisdiction. See id. at 315-16.

Except for this concern, there is nothing

peculiar to a criminal judgment that

prevents its being appealed under a

general grant of appellate jurisdiction,

and this is true regardless of the identity

of the prevailing party at trial. By

enactment of 18 U.S.C. § 3731 the Government

of the United States has determined that

its interests are well served by criminal

appeals, and that the rights of itn citizens

are given adequate protection by the double

jeopardy clause. Given the purposes of the

rule requiring special authority for

criminal appeals, it was neither appropriate

nor necessary for Congress to speak to the

20a

authority of prosecutors who represent

a separate state as the sovereign initiat-

ing criminal charges. That question is

solely the prerogative of the State of

Arizona, and the State allows appeals in

cases such as the one before us. The

State's authorization should suffice to

permit this appeal under the general

appellate jurisdiction granted by 28 U.S.C.

§ 1291.

Construing section 1291 as giving

us jurisdiction to hear an appeal by a

state where such appeals are explicitly

provided for by state law is not incon-

Sistent with the purpose of allowing

removal in cases where federal officers

are involved. The federal policies at

stake -- to provide a fair trial for

government officers, free from local bias

-- are not furthered by altering the

2la

instances in which appellate review may be

secured by the state. Further, following

the state rule would violate no other

federal policies. For example, the work-

load of the federal courts, the integrity

of the federal forum, the difficulty of

complying with state rules, are not involved

here.

If one views the right to appeal

as substantive, it is completely consist-

ent with the general scheme in removal

actions to look to state law.4+ As the

Notes of the Advisory Committee state,

in section 1441(a) (1) removal cases, "the

Federal Courts apply the substantive law

of the State, but follow Federal procedure."

Notes of the Advisory Committee on Rules,

Fed. R. Crim. P- 54(b) (1).

Having proposed two alternative

bases of jurisdiction, I realize that

22a

under some circumstances, specifically

where the state has not provided for appeals

by the state, it will make a difference

which theory is relied on. In this case,

however, I need not decide between the

theories because I conclude that Arizona

does provide for appeals by the state.

In State ex rel. Dawson v. Superior

Court, 112 Ariz. 123, 538 P.2d 397 (1975),

the Supreme Court of Arizona granted

appellate review, by certiorari, see Ariz.

Rev. Stat. § 12-2001, of a trial court order

setting aside a jury verdict of guilty,

followed by entry of a judgment of acquit-

tal.

After once remanding to the trial

court, the Arizona Court of Appeals

reviewed the case on the merits and again

confirmed the state's authority to seek

review of a trial court's entry of judgment

of acquittal. State v. Allen, 27 Ariz.App.

23a

377, P.2a £76 (1976). I conclude, there-

fore, that even if state law were to be

controlling, it would not bar Arizona's

appeal in this case.

Because the majority reaches a

contrary conclusion on this first issue,

it has not explored the other problem

raised by this case. However, having

examined the case, I conclude not only

that there is jurisdiction, but that the

judgment ought to be reversed.

I turn first to a consideration

of whether an appellate ruling favorable

to the state would put the defendant twice

in jeopardy as a matter of federal law,

thus barring the appeal.*

I think the

argument must be resolved sielest the

defendant based on a previous decision

of this court and more recent decisions

of the Supreme Court of the United States.

24a

The entry of a judgment of acquittal, after

the jury has returned a verdict of guilty,

may be set aside on review without offend-

ing the principle against placing a defend-

ant twice in jeopardy because the jury

verdict can be reinstated, obviating the

need for a second trial. In this case

there was also a motion for new trial

that was not denied or otherwise ruled

upon by the trial court. It should be

deemed pending upon remand. If granted,

there would be bert proceedings, but

only because the defendant has asked for

them. This outcome similarly does not

violate the double jeopardy clause. The

reasons for these conclusions follow.

Our circuit has squarely held

that where a jury has returned a verdict

and the trial judge subsequently grants

a motion for acquittal under rule 29(c),

25a

the prosecution may appeal the judgment,

and the jury verdict can be reinstated

without violating the double jeopardy

clause. United States v. Rojas, 554 F.2d

938 (9th Cir. 1977). The Rojas case was

decided before a series of Supreme Court

cases, United States v. Scott, 46 U.S.L.W.

4653 (June 14, 1978); Sanabria v. United

States, 46 U.S.L.W. 4646 (June 14, 1978);

Burks v. United States, 46 U.S.L.W. 4632

(June 14, 1978), and it must be decided,

therefore, whether those cases overruled

Rojas. I conclude they did not.

In United States v. Scott, the

court addressed in footnote 7 the problem

we face. Referring to its earlier decision

in United States v. Jenkins, 420 U.S. 358

(1975), the Court stated:

"In Jenkins we had assumed that

a judgment of acquittal could be

appealed where no retrial would

be needed on remand:

"When this principle is applied

to the situation where the jury

returns a verdict of guilt but

the trial court thereafter enters

a judgment of acquittal an appeal

is permitted. In that situation

a conclusion by an appellate

court that the judgment of acquit-

tal was improper does not require

a criminal defendant to submit

to a second trial; the error can

be corrected on remand by the

entry of a judgment on the verdict.'

430 U.S. at 365. Despite the

Court's heavy emphasis on the

finality of an acquittal in Martin

Linen and Sanabria v. United States,

- « « neither decision explicitly

repudiates this assumption."

46 U.S.L.W. at 4655, n.7 (citation omitted).

This ‘analysis is consistent with the result

our court reached in Rojas.

The defendant focuses on language

in Sanabria, emphasizing the differences

between acquittals and dismissals of the

indictment. The reference to acquittals

in the Sanabria case, however, is directed

to the instance in which a defendant

necessarily must be tried again, by reason

27a

of the errors assigned on the prosecution's

appeal, because there is no verdict to

reinstate. Those considerations are in-

apposite to the instant case, where there

has been a jury verdict which can be

reinstated if the prosecution's arguments

are accepted. The footnote quoted above

from Scott is controlling, as is our Rojas

decision. :

Our reversal of the trial court's

judgment of acquittal would result in

reinstatement of the guilty verdict,

subject to the defendant's motion for new

trial. The defendant originally moved in

the alternative for an order arresting

judgment for a new trial. Since the

district court granted the motion to

arrest judgment, the motion for a new trial

became moot. If the trial court's judgment

were reversed, that motion would no longer .

28a

be moot and should be passed on by the

district court. Thus, a second trial might

be appropriate in this case. If so, however,

it would not be ordered as a result of

the errors assigned by the prosecution's

appeal or as a result of our reversing

the judgment of acquittal. The only cause

for new trial, if one were granted, would

be the defendant's motion for new trial.

Where the new trial is granted at the

request of the defendant, and there has

been no bad faith conduct by the judge

or prosecutor, there is no double jeopardy

bar. United States v. Dinitz, 424 U.S.

600, 611 (1976). Here the defendant might

still pursue the motion for a new trial,

based, apparently, on his desire to raise

the Clifton defense. That might be a

proper request, but since it would be at

29a

his instance double jeopardy concerns are

not implicated.

I turn now to the merits of the

district court's ruling. As an initial

matter, the State argues that the judge

lacked jurisdiction to enter a judgment

of acquittal because, contrary to the

requirements of rule 29(c), the defendant

failed to file a proper motion within

seven days of the verdict. At least two

circuits have held that unless a timely

motion is filed, the judge lacks jurisdic-

tion to enter a judgment of acquittal.

United States v. Johnson, 487 F.2d 1318,

1321 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 419 U.S.

825 (1974); Rowlette v. United States, 392

F.2d 437, 439 (10th Cir. 1968). See also

United States v. Homer, 411 F. Supp. 972,

975 (W.D. Pas.), aff'd on other grounds,

545 F.2d 864 (3rd Cir. 1976), cert. denied,

30a

431 U.S. 954 (1977). The defendant did.

file motions for arrest of judgment and

for a new trial within the time limits

prescribed by rules 29(c) and 34. The

court having retained jurisdiction over

the case, I think it had discretion to

consider entry of a judgment of acquittal

on its own motion, where it was convinced

there had been a fundamental error in its

instructions, Fed. R. Crim. P. 2.

I conclude further, however, that

the trial court misused its discretion in

granting judgment of acquittal. The court's

ruling was based on the premise that the

evidence was insufficient to overcome a

defense of immunity under Clifton v. Cox,

supra. The defense of immunity was not

raised or argued at all at trial. The

defendant had the burden of raising immunity

as an affirmative defense but did not do

3la

that. Given the confused state of the

evidence, which we discuss further below,

this may have been a deliberate trial

strategy. In these circumstances the

Government cannot be faulted for failing

to prove that grounds for immunity were

not present. It makes no sense to apply a

test of insufficiency of the evidence to

a defense not raised at trial and pertain-

ing to a subject that the Government did

not have the duty to open. At most, the

defendant is entitled to a new trial so

that he may have the advantage of the

Clifton case in preparing his defense.

Moreover, I think the evidence

introduced at the first trial may have

permitted a reasonable inference that. the

defendant was not executing his duties in

good faith, and therefore that the judgment

of acquittal was improper. The defendant's

32a

theory was that his gun twice went off by

accident and coincidentally hit the victim

at a distance of 120 feet. The victim was

hit in the back by multiple pellets from

at least two shells. Three twelve-gauge

shotgun shells were found within eight

inches of one another to the right of the

trail. All three of them had the smell of

fresh powder on them. The defendant had

no explanation for the shells being so

close together. He testified that the

accidental shots were fired about fifteen

feet apart. In addition, he originally

denied that the victim had been shot. Later

he told different versions of what happened,

at one point stating that he meant to shoot

in front of the victim, and other times

stating that he shot the man intentionally

because he was uncertain whether his

partner was safe. Finally, the defendant

33a

testified that when a suspected illegal

alien runs back towards the border, as

the victim was doing, it is normal

procedure to let him go. He gave no

explanation why that practice was not

followed in this case.

On remand, the district court

would have the defendant's motion for a

new trial before it. I express no opinion

on the propriety of granting this motion

as it rests largely with the trial court's

discretion. I do note that Clifton did

not create a new defense. The immunity

defense for federal officers has been in

existence since In re Neagle, 135 U.S. 1

(1890); Clifton reaffirmed the existence

of federal officer immunity.

I would hold that this court has

jurisdiction and reverse and remand.

34a

POOTNOTES

1/ The analysis of whether the right

to appeal is substantive or procedural is

not governed, in a strict sense, by the

principles of Erie Railroad v. Thompkins,

304 U.S. 64 (1938), and its progeny, see,

e.g., Hanna v. Plumer, 380 U.S. 460 (1965),

for this case is not in federal court because

of diversity jurisdiction. The instant case

concerns the actions of an officer in his

federal capacity and by the removal statute,

28 U.S.C. § 1442(a) (1), Congress has made

the implicit declaration that such suits

are ones arising under the laws of the

United States. Osborn v. United States,

22 U.S. (9 Wheat.) 738 (1824); Tennessee

v. Davis, 100 U.S. 257 (1880). There is

no Rules of Decision Act, 28 U.S.C. § 1652,

or Rules Enabling Act, 28 U.S.C. § 2072,

which governs the choice of law analysis

in such actions. Cf. Notes of Advisory

Committee on Rules, Fed. R. Crim. P. 54

(b) (1) (in section 1441(a) (1) removal cases,

“the Federal Court applies the substantive

law of the State, but follows Federal

procedure"). The Erie line of cases,

however, would be useful by analogy, for

if we were to say the right in question

is a substantive one and conclude further

that Congress has by statute prescribed a

federal standard which overrides the state

rule on a point which has no bearing upon

federal interests in the case, (interests

such as the defense of immunity and provid-

ing a neutral forum for the trial of federal

officers), then we would be exercising

federal jurisdiction in a sensitive, perhaps

new, dimension. Accordingly, I think the

35a

=

Erie line of cases, adopting a general

distinction between substantive and proced-

ural rights, would help resolve a choice

of law question as to the right of appeal

in this case.

The Government's right to appeal

in a criminal case could be characterized

as substantive, since a particular jurisdic-

tion may afford to the defendant greater

protection against multiple trials than

is required by the minimum dictates of the

fifth amendment double jeopardy clause.

See the debates on the first Criminal

Appeals Act, discussed in United States v.

Sisson, 339 U.S. 267, 293-96 (1970). On

the other hand, it cannot be doubted that

Congress has an interest in assigning the

responsibility for ruling on questions of

law between federal trial and appellate

courts, courts which operate under different

constraints than do those of a state, and

such concerns seem to be procedural in

nature. In making the substantive-procedural

determination, we would think that balancing

the importance of the state and federal

policies implicated would be a significant

factor in the inquiry. Cf. Ely, The

Irrepressible Myth of Erie, 87 Harv. L. Rev.

693, 717 n.130 (1974); Redish and Phillips,

Erie and the Rules of Decision Act: In

Search of the Appropriate Dilemma, 91 Harv.

L. Rev. 356 (1977) (disagreeing on whether

balancing the importance of state and

federal policies is appropriate in decid-

ing whether state or federal law should be

followed in diversity cases).

What are the state policies

supporting its determination of when the

36a

|

state may appeal? Finality and repose

are the principal purposes as well, I

Suppose, as a desire to correct the more

serious errors in the lower court proceed-

ings. These considerations also support

state decisions regarding statute of

limitations and res judicata questions.

Both of these issues, in the Erie context,

have been held matters of state law.

Moreover, Arizona and New Mexico

cases have held the-right to appeal to be

a substantive question. State v. Birming-

ham, 96 Ariz. 109, 392 P.2d 774, 776 (1964);

In re Maricopa County, Juvenile Action No.

JS-834, 26 Ariz.App. 485, 549 P.2d 580,

583-84 (1976). See Durand v. New Mexico

Comm'n on Alcoholism, 89 N.M. 434, 553

P.2d 715, 715 (Ct.App. 1976).

Of course, some parts of state

appeals statutes might be framed so that

compliance by the federal court with all

their provisions would be impossible (e.g.,

specifying which district or which inter-

mediate court of appeals is the proper

forum for hearing the appeal). For these

questions, federal law and procedure would

control. But as to the basic question

whether the state can secure appellate

review, state law can be accomodated by

the federal system.

2/ It is quite possible that Arizona

courts would permit the state to appeal in

this case under Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 13-4032

(5), which permits the state to appeal from

"{a]n order made after the judgment affect-

ing the substantial rights of the state."

See Ariz. R. Crim. P. 24.2; Rules of the

37a

>

*

Supreme Court of Ariz. 22(c) (3); State

v. Birmingham, 96 Ariz. 109, 392 P.2d 775

(1964) (“order" and "judgment" are

synonymous as used in the civil appeals

statute, Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 12-2101);

State v. Allen, 557 P.2d at 182-83.

Even if no right of appeal existed under

§ 13-4032, however, appellate review is

appropriate under the certiorari statute.

3/ Arizona courts have held that

although the certiorari statute speaks

of review to determine whether the lower

court lacked jurisdiction, the statute

also permits rewiew to determine whether

a lower court abused its discretion. See,

e.g., State ex rel. Dawson v. Superior

Court, 112 Ariz. 123, 538 P.2d 397, (1975);

State ex rel. Ronan v. Superior Court,

95 Ariz. 319, 390 P.2d 109 (1964) ("A

writ of certiorari may be used to review

abuse of discretion."); Jones v. Lopez

Plascencia, 10 Ariz.App. 253, 458 P.2d

120 (Ct. App. 1969).

4/ If this appeal is viewed as fall-

ing under § 3731 then the question of

double jeopardy is jurisdictional because

that section provides that "no appeal

shall lie where the double jeopardy clause

of the United States Constitution prohibits

further prosecution." If jurisdiction

is found by virtue of § 1291 then the

double jeopardy issue still must be reached,

though technically the presence of double

jeopardy is a constitutional bar to a

second trial, not a jurisdictional defect

in this appeal.

38a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

STATE OF ARIZONA,

Plaintiff-Appellant, No. 77-3453

vs. OPINION

WILLIAM DALE MANYPENNY,

Defendant-Appellee.

mee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee”

Appeal from the United States

District Court for the District

of Arizona

Filed: July 31, 1978, Emil E. Melfi, Jr.

Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals

Before: CHOY and KENNEDY, Circuit Judges,

and HALL,* District Judge.

PER CURIAM:

We assume arguendo that the State .

of Arizona, in its criminal prosecution

which was removed to the federal court,

*The Honorable Peirson M. Hall, Senior United

States District Judge for the Central District

of California, sitting by designation.

39a

has the same right of appeal under 18

U.S.C. § 3731 as is conferred on the United

States in a federal prosecution. On

the facts of this case, however, a judg-

ment of acquittal was entered, and that

judgment is final and unreviewable.

Sanabria v. United States, U.S. .

46 U.S.L.W. 4646 (June 14, 1978). Accord-

ingly, the appeal is dismissed.

40a

~

APPENDIX C

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

THE STATE OF ARIZONA,

Plaintiff, No. CR-76-377-

TUC-WCF

vs.

WILLIAM DALE MANYPENNY, ORDER

Defendant.

eee ee ee ee ee ee eee ee

Filed: September 28, 1977, 2:02 P.M.,

W. J. Furstenau, Clerk, U.S.

District Court for the District

of Arizona

While acting as a Border Patrol

Officer the defendant, William Dale Manypenny,

shot and injured a fleeing alien. The

event occurred on the Organ Pipe National

Monument in Pima County, Arizona, not far

from the Mexican border, or perhaps on the

Papago Indian Reservation which is also

in Pima County. Manypenny was indicted

4la

in the Pima County Superior Céurt for

assault with a deadly weapon or instrument,

a violation of A.R.S. Section 13-249A

and B. The case was removed to this Court

pucsuant to Title 28, United States Code,

Section 1442(a) (1). The defendant was tried

and the jury returned a verdict of guilty.

When defendant moved for new trial and

for arrest of judgment, the Pima County

Attorney failed to respond and the motion

to arrest judgment was granted. The

County Attorney immediately moved for

reconsideration and this Court granted

the motion.

The motion for arrest of judgment

contended that the State of Arizona, and

therefore this Court on removal, had no

criminal jurisdiction over the land within

either the Organ Pipe National Monument

42a

5

or the Pagago Indian Reservation. Defendant

also contended that the area of immigration

is preempted by the United States and that

his prosecution is an attempt at regula-

tion of immigration, and, therefore, void.

He argued further that the federal criminal

laws must be applied to his acts instead

of Arizona laws, Title 18, United States

Code, Section 13 and that his acts as a

federal officer are not within the jurisdic-

tion of the State.

The Court finds on reconsideration

that Arizona has criminal jurisdiction

over both the Organ Pipe National Monument

and the Papago Indian Reservation, that

the Arizona statute is not void as applied

to the area of immigration and that the

Arizona criminal statute can be used as

to events occurring on said lands. However,

43a

the Court also finds that officers acting

under color of federal law have a perfect

defense to state criminal prosecutions

when their actions are honestly and

reasonably believed to be necessary and

proper in carrying out their federal

duties and that such defense is here

established.

Jurisdiction over the place of

occurrence will be discussed first. The

general rule is that a state has complete

jurisdiction over the land within its

exterior boundaries. United States Y.

McBratney, 104 U.S. 621 (1881); People v.

Martin, 326 U.S. 496, 66 S.Ct. 307 (1946).

There are three exceptions. The first is

provided by Article I, Section 8, Clause 17

of the Constitution of the United States.

The United States has exclusive jurisdiction

44a

Over land "purchased" by the United States

"by the Consent of the Legislature of the

State in which the Same shall be, for the

Erection of Forts, Magazines, Arsenals,

Dock-Yards, and other needful Buildings".

Since the land here in question was not

~"“purchased" and is not far one of the

specified purposes, the first exception

is admitted by defendant not to apply.

Fort Leavenworth R. Co. V. Lowe, 114 U.S.

525, 5 S.Ct. 995 (1885). Some examples

of such land in Arizona are provided by

A.R.S. Sections 26-251 through 253 (land

for military purposes) and Sections 37-61ll

through 613 (land for penal purposes).

A second exception is recognized

when a state affirms the United States’

retention of exclusive jurisdiction at the

time it is admitted into the Union. Defend-

ant strongly urges the argument that Arizona

45a

'*

has so affirmed in Section 20 of its

Enabling Act, 36 Stat. 557, 1A.R.S.,

p. 81 and Article XX, Paragraph Fourth of

Arizona's Constitution, 1 A.R.S. P. 181:

"Fourth. The people inhabiting

this State do agree and declare

that they forever disclaim all

right and title to the unap-

propriated and ungranted public

lands lying within the boundaries

thereof and to all lands lying

within said boundaries owned

or held by any Indian or Indian

tribes, the right or title to

which shall have been acquired

through or from the United States

or any prior sovereignty, and

that, until the title of such

Indian or Indian tribes shall

have been extinguished, the

same shall be, and remain,

subject to the disposition

and under the absolute jurisdic-

tion and control of the Congress

of the United States." |

Draper v. United States, 164 U.S.

240, 17 S.Ct. 107 (1896), interpreted a

clause from the Enabling Act of Montana

which is very similar to Arizona's Enabling

Act and which appears indistinguishable

46a

i

for the purposes of this case. The holding

of the case was that the United States

had no jurisdiction over a non-Indian

who murdered a non-Indian on an Indian

reservation and that Montana did have

jurisdiction. The reasoning of the case

was that the "absolute jurisdiction"

language of the Act was intended only

to preserve the complete control of the

United States over the title to Indian

lands owned by Indians outside of reserva-

tions. The United States had an interest

in preventing the State of Montana from

frustrating federal limitations on the

|

| alienability of Indian lands.

Organized Village of Kake v. Egan,

369 U.S. 60, 82 S.Ct. 562 held that the

disclaimer of "right and title" in a Similar

clause by Alaska was a disclaimer of

propriety rather than governmental interest.

47a

rt held further that "absolute" means

undimiiished, not exclusive.

These cases show that Arizona did

not disclaim governmental interests over

any land within its external boundaries

by this clause in its Constitution. Even

a military reservation comes under the

jurisdiction of the state on statehood

when there is no express savings clause

to prevent it. Fort Leavenworth R. Co.

v. Lowe, Supra. For an example of such

an express savings clause, see, the Act

admitting the State of Wyoming into the

Union, 26 Stat. 222 and Title 16, United

States Code, Section 24 (Yellowstone

National Park).

The third exception is the cession

of jurisdiction to the United States by an

individual state after statehood. Collins

v. Yosemite Park and Curry Co., 304 U.S.

48a

518, 58 S.Ct. 1009 (1938). Yosemite

National Park came under the qualified

jurisdiction of the United States by this

‘imate ke 1919. Many National Parks and

National Monuments are now under the "sole

and exclusive" jurisdiction of the United

States. Eg., Title 16, United States Code,

Sections 95, 117, 124, 157 and many others.

No such cession of jurisdiction was ever

made by Arizona until 1976 after the events

in this case. See 1964 U.S. Code Cong. &

Ad. News 3923 recognizing the facts as they

then stood; and A.R.S. Section 37-620,

Laws 1976, Ch. 54, Section 1 which cedes

concurrent rather than exclusive jurisdic-

tion to the United States over the Organ

Pipe Cactus National Monument and other

parks, monuments, forest and dams.

Since Arizona does have Finns ies

tion over the land in question, its power

49a

to prosecute an Immigration Officer acting

under color of his federal duty must be

examined. Further, Since the Arizona

criminal law concerning assault with a

deadly weapon is not a direct attempt

to regulate immigration and since it

expresses legitimate State concerns,

the preemption doctrine does not prevent

the applicability of this law unless it

is an unreasonable burden on the implement-

ation of federal immigration policy. Cé£.,

Southern Pac. Co. v. State of Arizona, 325

U.S. 761, 65 S.Ct. 1515 (1945). This is

apparently the exact intent of Congress.

Title 8, United States Code, Section 1358

provides for local jurisdiction within

immigration stations to enforce state

criminal laws. The reasonableness of the

burden in this situation appears to this

Court to involve many of the same consider-

50a

ations as the official duty doctrine

protecting federal officers as set out

In re Neagle, 135 U.S. 1, 10 S.Ct. 658

(1890); and Clifton v. Cox, 549 F.2d

722 (9th Cir. 1977). Therefore, these

two matters will be discussed together

later herein.

People v. Martin, supra, suf-

ficiently answers defendant's contention

that only the federal criminal statutes

can be applied to him even by the State.

When there is concurrent jurisdiction,

the State may use its own criminal

statutes to prosecute.

Clifton v. Cox, supra, thoroughly

reviews the history and the present status

of the doctrine set out in the landmark

case of In re Neagle, Supra. It is not

necessary for this Court to repeat the

reasoning from Clifton; it is sufficient

5la

to summarize the holding:

If a person is authorized to do an

act by the law of the United States and if

he does no more than what is necessary and

proper for him to do, he is innocent of any

crime against the laws of any state. This

is true if the acts are within the outer

perimeter of his line of duty, taking into

account that the concept of duty encompasses

the sound exercise of discretionary authority.

Further, veri ‘when an act is not actually

authorized, errors of judgment in what one

conceives to be his legal duty will not,

alone, serve to create criminal xesponsibil-~

ity of a federal officer. An officer's acts

are not necessary and proper only if the

official employs means which he cannot

honestly consider reasonable in discharging

his duties Or otherwise acts out of malice

Or with some criminal intent. The finder

52a

of fact may find that the actions were not

reasonable under all of the circumstances;

however, when the evidence shows that the

officer honestly believed them to be reason-

able, he must be found innocent.

ka Sead ten by this doctrine,

Arizona's criminal law against assault with

a deadly weapon cannot be said to be an

unreasonable burden on the implementation

of federal immigration policies. Congress

has provided two procedural devices in

addition to this judge-shaped doctrine

which protect federal officers and federal

policies. They are the habeas corpus

provision, Title 28, United States Code,

Section 2241l(c) (2), used in Clifton, and

the removal statute, Title 28, United States

Code, Section 1442(a) (1), used in the

present case. These three limitations

are all the protection that the federal

53a

immigration policy requires. State

criminal law may constitutionally be applied

in this case; thus, this Court has jurisdic-

tion.

Prodecurally, it is unclear if

the determination as to whether defendant

Manypenny was carrying out federal duties

in performing the act should be decided

as a question of law by the Court or

should be decided by a jury as a question

of fact. United States ex rel. Drury v.

Lewis, 200 U.S. 1,.26 S.Ct. 229 (1906),

seems to hold that it is a question of fact

for the jury, but Clifton says:

"The issue of petitioner's

scope of authority presents

a question of law which we

find was properly resolved

by the district court."

_Id., 547 F.2d at 726.

In either event, this Court commit-

ted fundamental error; the issue was not

54a

properly resolved by the Court at the time

of trial. The Court should have considered

this principle of law and thus granted

defendant's motion for verdict of acquittal

or failing that should have submitted the

matter to the jury on altogether different

instructions which embodied this federal

law on the matter of the officer's reason-

able belief.

Again, in either event, it now

appears that the procedurally correct

method of rectifying the error after trial

was not to arrest judgment pursuant to

Title 28, United States Code, Federal Rules

of Criminal Procedure, Rule 34, but to

grant a judgment of acquittal pursuant to

Rule 29(c) or a new trial pursuant to Rule

33. On reconsideration, the Court must

reverse its arrest of judgment and proceed

with matters as they now stand.

55a

In order to secure simplicity in

procedure, fairness in administration and

the just determination of this proceeding,

this Court will .consider the motion for

arrest of judgment as a motion under Rule

29(c) for judgment of acquittal. Federal

Rules of Criminal Procedure, Rule 2; cf.,

United States v. Baker, 432 F.2d 994 (10th

Cir. 1970).

The test for such a motion is

whether, viewing the evidence in light

favorable to the government, there is

relevant evidence from which the jury

could reasonably find that the defendant

was guilty beyond a reasonable doubt.

United States v. Rojas, 554 F.2d 938 (9th

Cir. 1977), Applying the standards set out

in Clifton v. Cox, supra, and considering

further the standard in Rojas, the Court

56a

~

finds that a reasonable jury could not

conclude defendant's guilt beyond a

reasonable doubt. The motion for judgment

of acquittal shall be granted.

IT IS ORDERED that the Order of

this Court entered November 30, 1976, is

visited, the motion for arrest of judgment

heretofore granted is reconsidered and

denied.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that consider-

ing the motion for arrest of judgment as

a motion for judgment of acquittal, the

motion is granted, the verdict rendered

herein is set aside; defendant William

Dale Manypenny, is ADJUDGED not guilty.

| IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the

Clerk of this Court forthwith mail a copy

of this Order to all counsel of record

herein.

DATED this 27th day of September,

1977.

57a

APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT |

STATE OF ARIZONA,

Plaintiff-Appellant, No. 77-3453

vs. ORDER

WILLIAM DALE MANYPENNY,

Defendant~Appellee.

eee eee ee ee ee ee ee

Filed: .August 13, 1979, Emil E. Melfi, Jr.

Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals

Before: CHOY and KENNEDY, Circuit Judges,

and HALL,* District Judge.

The dissenting opinion is amended

as follows:

(1) At page 9, line 6 delete

"at least once."

(2) At page 9, lines 7-8 after

the words, "The victim was hit," delete

*The Honorable Peirson M. Hall, Senior United

States District Judge for the Central District

of California, sitting by designation.

58a

| /

"by not less than two pellets" and insert

"in the back by multiple pellets from at

least two shells."

59a

APPENDIX E

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

STATE OF ARIZONA,

Plaintiff-Appellant, No. 77-3453

vs. ORDER

WILLIAM DALE MANYPENNY,

Defendant-Appellee.

ee ee eee ee ee eee ee ee ee”

Filed: September 10, 1979, Emil E. Melfi,

Jr., Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals

Before: CHOY and KENNEDY, Circuit Judges,

and HALL,* District Judge.

The panel as constituted in the

above case has voted to deny the second

petition for rehearing and to reject the

suggestion for rehearing en banc. The full

court has been advised of the suggestion

for rehearing en banc and no judge of the

*The Honorabie Peirson M. Hall, Senior United

States District Judge for the Central District

of California, sitting by designation.

60a

court has voted to grant rehearing en banc.

F.R.App.P. 35(b). The petition for rehear-

ing is denied and the suggestion for

rehearing en banc is rejected.

Appellant's Second Petition for

Rehearing and Suggestion for Rehearing

En Banc is ordered filed.

6la

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition — Arizona v. Manypenny · 451 U.S. 232 | Frix