Petition — Chamber of Commerce of the United States v. Legal Aid Society of Alameda County

Supreme Court brief1980

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

fa Ost, U.

EIELED

MAR 14 1980

Supreme Court of the Wnited States

OCTOBER TERM 1979

THE CHAMBER OF COMMERCE OF THE UNITED STATES OF

AMERICA, for and on behalf of its affected members,

Petitioners,

VS.

LEGAL AID SOCIETY OF ALAMEDA COUNTY, et. al.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

GERARD C. SMETANA,

Suite 1400

33 North Dearborn Street

Chicago, Illinois 60602

LAURENCE B. KRAUS, WiILLiaAM H. DuRoss, III

General Counsel Suite 200

CHAMBER OF COMMERCE OF 1919 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.

THE UNITED STATES OF Washington, D.C. 20006

AMERICA,

1615 H. Street, N.W., Attorneys for Petitioner.

Washington, D.C. 20006,

Of Counsel:

LAW OFFICES OF

GERARD C. SMETANA

Suite 1400

33 North Dearborn Street

Chicago, Illinois 60602

Suite 200

1919 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

a}

‘

id

s

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Orders and Opinions Below .00............cccccccccccsscsccesescecceceees

Nc ccccosccucausseces

Ne a ccc cncseccnscensecee

Statutes, Orders and Regulations Involved .................0.0..

Cc cscccccesecsees

Ba | Re RI icon ccc conscsccseccseccccceececsee

I]. The Orders and Opinions Below..................0000-

A. The Order and Decree of the District Court........

B. The Decision of the Court of Appeals .................

Reasons for Granting the WFit.............ccccccccsccccesceececeeceeee

TR EE OTR Le

I]. The Questions Presented are of Paramount

ee to Federal Non-Discrimination Po-

et ai aie et i shila lek biivngsekcydeanenvescnsssctcescees

II]. The Ninth Circuit’s Standard for Imposing

Race Conscious Remedies Conflicts with Deci-

a Tn venaceeace

ES SSeS SUES ei

PAORGINGS 5.0 ..60<...00..:.. 66 OSS SEA:

CITATIONS

CASES

Arlington Heights v. Metropolitan Hous. Corp., 429 US.

eg Bac Ce AT SS. a ee

Associated Gen. Contractors of Mass. v. Altshuler, 490

F2d 9 (Ist Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 416 U.S. 957

i EE SREIE Wo) Sea 7 ESE Se

Bd. of Trustees v. Sweeny, 439 U.S. 24 (1978) oocccccccccccs.

Contractors Ass'n of Eastern Pa. v. Sec. of Labor, 442

F2d 159 (3rd Cir.) cert. denied, 404 U.S. 854 (1971).

EEOC v. Local 638, Sheet Metal Wkrs., 532 F2d 821

sc ceceeaneonnes

Farmer v. Phila. Elec. Co. 329 F2d 3 (3rd Cir. 1964) .....

Franks v. Bowman Transp. Co., 424 U.S. 747 (1976)...

Furnco Constr. Corp. v. Waters, 438 U.S. 567 (1978)...

ser School Dist. v. United States, 433 U.S. 299

EEE EEE TES Ry

Kirkland v. New York State Dept. of Correctional

Services, 520 F2d 420 (2d Cir. 1975) .o.......cccccccscccscees

McDonald v. Santa Fe Transp. Co., 427 U.S. 273

Ree RESTS 905 Ee S/S I eel

Page

]

2

2

3

4

4

5

5

7

7

7

8

13

17

Page

15

1]

14-15

1]

15

9

11,13

14

14

15

8,11

i i i

ll

Page

McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792

SMEAR tists incacadiachsat ibis t) sonacwstccreisieketieelRlinaansnsnebaricinaenis 14

NLRB vy. Jones & Laughlin Steel Corp., 301 U.S. 1

I Raa ic cleellirs iiss cons vaniasitaiesculadnsnidcsoateiaeonccebbiiboneisnigites 15

Personnel Administrator of Mass. v. Feeney, 442 US.

2 BUREAU, UOC TRIER Pe Inter sce CPC Pe eae 15

Regents of the University of Cal. v. Bakke, 438 U.S. 265

I etal ce cientrckin ts eatsncsicapeilin Mimcdtlicy rispsainscwechacinnidcees 10, 11

Steelworkers v. Weber, 443 U.S. 193 (1979)... 8,13

Teamsters v. United States, 431 U.S. 324 (1977) wc. 11,14

Weber v. Kaiser Aluminum & Chem. Corp., 563 F2d 216

(Sth Cir. 1977), revs'd on other grounds, 443 U.S. 193

Ca Aiea chalatd nara rected dachiavaide actidaninnsaubictnbattiodice 12

Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer, 343 U.S. 579

5 gg PARE ENE RE BS CRAY EME Cee sores aM A AS PERNT 9

STATUTES AND ORDERS

Fifth Amendment to United States Constitution.............. 8

Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended (78 Stat. 241, 86

Stat. 103, 42 U.S.C. 22 2000e-2000e 15)

I oases Les ete ios laiisasinws cna voce yiedioueshs 10

a ean clips ecenadcomness 15

I cea ds eos edeweiduieoecsane 3

a dc cuibtataialinedoen 3

NE I AL 05... ic ccs databboktvacasionlaniieamngseneeusiesoses passim

a 15

Civil) Rights Act of 1866 (14 Stat. 27, 42 U.S.C.

§§ 1981, 1983)

I NI ooh ci cae a case cee binbbacnwenadbaws 15

I oe ico csnctasantsenectiolnacsisanenineakucune 15

Executive Order 11246

ha ee ee 10

ESS ET ag Re ees: 10

Revised Order No. 4

I I a eae caacptdedsoeinknsevnucthiiabeate 10-11

Eg ete ae CO ll

National Labor Relations Act, as amended (61 Stat.

136, 73 Stat. 419, 29 U.S.C. §§ 151 ef seq)

I aca caus 15

te Nt. Sa Vie eR 1. 2

iil

MISCELLANEOUS

118 Cong. Rec. S. 705 (remarks of Sen. Williams) .........

118 Cong. Rec. S. 693-94 (remarks of Sen. Javits) .........

5 U.S. Comm’n. on Civil Rights, The Federal Civil

Rights Enforcement Effort, 1974: To Eliminate Em-

ployment Discrimination (1975) .......ccccccccceccccceececeeeeees

Fuller, The Forms and Limits of Adjudication, 92 Harv.

hn. NE BOD POD Drapuamnbpacsc tot iii Rocks

Gellhorn, Adverse Publicity by Administrative

Agencies, 86 Harv. L. Rev. 1380 (1973) oo...

Goldstein & Smith, The Estimated Impact of the

Antidiscrimination Program Aimed at Federal Con-

tractors, 29 Indus. Lab. Rel. Rev. 523 (1976) .............

Comment, 60 Iowa L. Rev. 693 (1975) o.occccccccccccececececeees

Comment, 7 Tex. Tech. L. Rev. 671 (1976) ...ccccccccccceceees

Comment, How Far Can Affirmative Action Go Before

It Becomes Reverse Discrimination?, 26 Cath.

A) Rams ee OTE i ks

Note, Title VII and Preferential Treatment: A Response

to EEOC Affirmative Action Guidelines, 67 Geo. L. J.

855 (1979)

SOCHOOSHOSOOOSOSOSO HSE OOOOSESOSCOOOOSESOSLEESOLOEOOSECOEOESECCOOSOOSCSSS

No. __

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM 1979

THE CHAMBER OF COMMERCE OF THE UNITED STATES OF

AMERICA, for and on behalf of its affected members.

Petitioners,

vs.

LEGAL AID SOCIETY OF ALAMEDA COUNTY. et. al.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

The Chamber of Commerce of the United States of

America, on behalf of its affected members (‘the Chamber”),

hereby petitions for a writ of certiorari to review the judgment

of the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit,

affirming the decree of United States District Court for the

Northern District of California.

ORDERS AND OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion and judgment of the Court of Appeals (Pet.

App.I)' is reported at 608 F.2d 1319. The decision of the

'Pet.App.” refers to the Appendix attached to the instant

petition.

2

District Court (Pet.App.II) granting Legal Aid Society of

Alameda County et al’s motion for partial summary judgment

is reported at 381 F.Supp. 125. The order of the District Court

is unreported. (It is reproduced in full in Pet.App.III). See

also reference to District Court “Decree” in Opinion of Court of

Appeals at 608 F.2d at 1339 (fn. 39), 1340 (fn. 40 and 41),

(Pet.App. A-32—A-34).

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals (Pet.App. A-103)

was entered on December 4, 1979. The jurisdiction of this

Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether racial hiring quotas can be imposed upon

government contractors in the enforcement of regulations

promulgated by the Department of Labor under color of

Executive Order 11246 to achieve a designated ratio of minority

employees absent a prior finding of racial discrimination.

2. Whether regulations promulgated by the Department of

Labor as applied by the courts below which in fact impose

minority hiring quotas and create a racial preference violate the

Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution, Title VII of

the 1964 Civil Rights Act and are contrary to Executive Order

11246.

3. Whether the Office of Federal Contract Compliance

Programs in applying its mandate of affirmative action in

employment is necessarily bound by federal equal employment

policy set forth in Title VII of the 1964 Civil Rights Act.

4. Whether underutilization can properly be predicated

upon work force disparities mirrored by general population

percentages without regard to relevent job skills and their

availability in the labor market.

3

STATUTE, ORDERS AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

The relevant provisions of Section 703 of Title VII of the

1964 Civil Rights Act, as amended (78 Stat. 241, 86 Stat. 103,

42 U.S.C. §§ 2000e-2000e-15) are as follows:

(a) It shall be unlawful employment practice for an

employer—

(1) to fail or refuse to hire or to discharge any

individual, or otherwise to discriminate against any

individual with respect to his compensation, terms,

conditions, or privilege of employment, because of

such individual’s race, color, religion, sex or national

origin; ¢

(2) to limit, segregate, or classify his employees or

applicants for employment in any way which would

deprive or tend to deprive any individual of employ-

ment opportunities or otherwise adversely affect his

Statu: as an employee, because of such individual’s

race, color, religion, sex, or national origin.

42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(a).

(d) It shall be an unlawful employment practice

for an employer, labor organization, or joint labor-

management committee controlling apprenticeship or

other training or retraining, including on-the-job train-

ing programs to discriminate against any individual

because of his race, color, religion, sex, or national

origin in admission to, or employment in, any pro-

gram established to provide apprenticeship or other

training.

42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(d).

(j) Nothing contained in this subchapter shall be

interpreted to require any employer... labor organi-

zation, or joint labor management committee subject

to this subchapter to grant preferential treatment to

any individual to or any group because of their

race, ... OM account of an imbalance which may exist

with respect to the total number or percentage of

4

persons of any race ...in comparison with the total

number or percentage of persons of such race, ... in

any community, state, section or other area, or in the

available work force in any community, state, section,

or other area.

Executive Order 11246 and Revised Order Number 4, 41

C.F.R. § 60-2.1—60-2.11 (hereinafter referred to as Revised

Order Number 4) are set forth in Petitioners’ Appendix IV and

V respectively.2

STATEMENT

I.

THE CAUSE OF ACTION

In February 1973, Legal Aid filed a complaint in the

nature of mandamus against officials of all federal compliance

agencies alleging, inter alia, that the federal defendants had

failed to enforce Executive Order 11246 by approving affirma-

tive action programs of contractors which allegedly did not

comply with the requirements set forth in Revised Order

Number 4. Named as specific defendants were the Secretary of

Labor, the Director of OFCCP, the Secretary of Agriculture,

and the Chief of the Contract Compliance Division of the

Agriculture Department’s Office of Equal Opportunity. No

federal contractors were named as defendants and, although

four unemployed minority persons were named as plaintiffs

who allegedly sought employment and claimed to have been

denied employment from contractors within the compliance

jurisdiction on the basis of race and/or sex, no claim against

any specific contractor was alleged. Rather, Legal Aid sought

to compel the federal defendants to conduct affirmative action

compliance reviews in strict conformity with Revised Order No.

4, to restrain defendants from approving “non-complying”

2 Technical Guidance Memo No. | is the instruction by OFFCP

to field personnel for administering Revised Order No. 4 (See Pet.

App. A-96 for current status of Technical Guidance Memo No. 1).

5

affirmative action programs, to rescind approval of “non-

complying” programs, and to seek debarment and other sanc-

tions against any contractor which did not implement hiring

goals and timetables.

Pursuant to agreement between the Parties, the federal

defendants submitted to Legal Aid the affirmative action

programs of 29 Alameda County contractors approved during

1972-1973. Legal Aid filed a memorandum with exhibits

claiming that these 29 approved affirmative action programs

violated Revised Order Number 4 in that the programs contain-

ed inadequate utilization analyses of each job category in

reference to minorities and women and failed to establish

adequate goals and timetables to correct underutilization by

specific reference to the percentage of women and minority

workers in the job group as compared to their percentage in the

applicable labor market. The federal defendants filed no

response to the memorandum. Thereafter. Legal Aid filed a

motion for partial summary judgment on this portion of its

complaint.

THE ORDERS AND OPINIONS BELOW

A. The Order And Decree of the District Court

The Federal District Court granted Legal Aid’s motion.

Specifically, the Court relied upon Revised Order Number 4

and Technical Guidance Memo No. | to reject the federal

defendants’ contention that “ultimate goals” are not required in

establishing goals and timetables (Pet.App. A-63). The Court

further concluded that “glaring inadequacies” in correcting

utilization deficiencies “cannot be explained away by defend-

ant[s]’ fear that percentage goals would impose inflexible and

illegal quotas on the contractors” (Pet.App. A-65). The Court

further found on the basis of Legal Aid’s unopposed memo-

6

randum that 10 affirmative action programs programs had been

approved in violation of Revised Order Number 4 and ordered

the federal defendants to rescind their prior approval ( Pet.App.

A-69). The federal defendants were further enjoined from

approving affirmative action plans not in compliance with

Revised Order Number 4, and to seek sanctions against any

contractor failing to so comply (/d.).

The federal defendants withdrew a notice of appeal

(Pet.App. A-6). The Chamber’s motion to intervene on behalf

of its affected members was denied except as to appeal rights.

The District Court ordered the following affirmative relief

(Pet.App. A-71—A-72):

(b) Each program must contain goals and timetables

which satisfy each of the following requirements:

(i) An ultimate goal must be established for each

job group in which underutilization exists and must be

designed to completely correct the underutilization.

The ultimate goal must be stated as a percentage of

the total employees in the job group and must be at

least equal to the percentage of minorities or women

available for work in the job group in the labor

market.

(ii) For each job group in which underutilization

exists, a specific timetable must be established for

reaching the ultimate goal in the minimum feasible

time period.

(iii) For each job group in which underutilization

exists, the contractor must establish rates for hiring or

promoting the minorities and women. The rates must

be stated as a percentage of new placements in the job

group, and they must remain in effect (unless specifi-

cally modified on the basis of subsequent data) until

the underutilization is completely corrected. The

percentage rates must be the maximum rates that can

be achieved through the contractor’s putting forth

every good faith effort, including the use of available

recruitment and training facilities, and must not be

lower than the percentages set in the ultimate goals.

5

Numerical goals based on projected openings are

permissible but cannot be used in place of percentage

rates.

B. The Decision of the Court of Appeals

| The Ninth Circuit affirmed the District Court’s fact find-

ings, its judgment and its decree, with one modification

(Pet.App. A-6, A-41).3 The Court of Appeals rejected certain

procedural arguments advanced against Legal Aid’s mandamus

action. These procedural objections are not advanced here.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I.

INTRODUCTION

The decisions below require federal contractors to in-

voluntarily establish and adhere to a fixed percentage of

minority or women employees based upon a numerical imbal-

ance of such workers in a broadly defined “labor market” for

each job classification where “underutilization” exists. The

District Court’s decree specifically requires contractors to estab-

lish fixed percentage “rates for hiring or promoting of minor-

ities” (Pet.App. 4-72). This fixed percentage is a quota

requirement. As the Court of Appeals stated ( Pet.App. A-35):

“The regulations do rt explicitly require that ultimate goals be

fixed, but they do so by inescapable implication.”

Since a federal contractor must reach this established

percentage or remain non-compliant (Pet.App. A-72—A-73)

and, thus subject to sanction, this quota is inflexible and fixed.

The Court of Appeals in affirming the District Court’s decision

below further limited the contractors “good faith” flexibility set

forth in Revised Order No. 4 as applicable only to the

establishment of the goal not to its achievement (Pet.App. A-

38-A-39).

3In view of the lengthy period of elapsed time, the Court of

Appeals held moot the District Court’s order requiring the federal

defendants to withdraw approval of the affected contractors’ 1972-73

affirmative action programs (Pet.App. A-11).

8

The predicate for this mandatory requirement here is not

judicially or administratively determined past discrimination

against any specific individuals by any of the 29 contractors

contracting with the federal defendants. Indeed, the relief

imposed is independent of any requirement that specific victims

of discrimination even be identified. Rather, this required

preferential treatment for minority and women applicants not

themselves the victims of discrimination is based solely upon

numerical disparity between utilization of such workers in a job

category (irrespective of actual applicants or job openings ) and

an arbitrary percentage of such prospective applicants in a

general population labor market regardless of skills or any

consideration of other factors in neutral hiring decisions.

This petition then presents the questions whether section

703(j) of Title VII and the Fifth Amendment to the US.

Constitution prohibits the judiciary and the government at the

request of third parties from directing government contractors

to adhere to hiring preferences, based solely on race, to

overcome alleged underrepresentation of minorities in the work

place; and whether the evidentiary standard of discrimination

under Title VII applies to Executive Order 11246.

THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED ARE OF

PARAMOUNT SIGNIFICANCE TO FEDERAL

NONDISCRIMINATION POLICY

This petition presents one of the questions reserved by the

Court four years ago in McDonald v. Santa Fe Transp. Co., 427

U.S. 273, 280-81 n. 8 (1976) and not resolved last Term in

Steelworkers v. Weber, 443 U.S. 193 (1979)—that is the

permissible scope of judicially required affirmative action im-

posed under Title VII, The Fifth Amendment or Executive

Order 11246. This question is purely legal and first requires

discerning Congress’ intention with respect to federally imposed

involuntary affirmative action.

9

This Court has not yet held that Title VII or Executive

Order 11246 grants authority to award preferential hiring

treatment to persons not actually the victims of race or sex

discrimination. Section 703(j) of the 1964 Civil Rights Act

expresses an unequivocal legislative judgment to prohibit hiring

preferences based solely upon race or sex. The authority of

federal compliance agencies under the Executive Order to

require preferential hiring quotas absent a finding of unlawful

discrimination is precluded by this expression of legislative will.

While the Executive Order may be validly promulgated upon

the President’s procurement authority, the Executive Order

cannot be applied in a manner which directly conflicts with the

express will of Congress. Otherwise the precarious equilibrium

between the three coordinate branches of our constitutional

system is placed in jeopardy. See Youngstown Sheet & Tube

Co. v. Sawyer, 343 U.S. 579, 638 (1952).

The legislative history of the enactment of Title VII in 1964

and of its amendment in 1972 demonstrates that Congress

intended affirmative action under the Executive Order to be

applied consistently with Title VII.4 At the time Congress

considered limiting the scope of affirmative action under the

Executive OrJer, affirmative action under Title VII was applied

and sparingly at that to remedy past discrimination not numer-

ical imbalances. In rejecting a proposal in 1972 to amend

section 703(j) to proscribe all affirmative action programs

“Both the Executive Order and Title VII put great emphasis

upon voluntary remedial action and conciliation rather than upon

preferential hiring quotas which may exacerbate group consciousness

and racial stereotyping. As Professor Gellhorn has noted:

[T]he fundamental goal of [ agencies encouraging fair employ-

ment practices] has been to improve group relations and recon-

cile differences. The operating assumption has been that dis-

crimination can be eradicated only by eliminating its causes:

ignorance and historical barriers to contact. Open informational

avenues directly achieve these ends. (footnote omitted ). Gell-

horn, “Adverse Publicity by Administrative Agencies,” 86

Harv.L.Rev. 1380, 1398 (1973). See also Farmer v. Phila. Elec.

Co., 329 F.2d 3, 8 (3d Cir. 1964).

10

under the Executive Order, the Senate desired at most to

preserve the existing case law under Title VII and the Executive

Order that race conscious remedies could be fashioned “to

remedy clearly proven cases of discrimination.” 118 Con-

g-Rec.S. 705 (remarks of Sen. Williams); see also 118 Cong.

Rec.S. 693-° + (remarks of Sen. Javits ).5

As Mr. Justice Powell stated in Regents of the University of

Cal. v. Bakke, 438 U.S. 265, 301-302 n. 40 (1978): “Every

decision upholding the requirement of preferential hiring under

the authority of Exec. Order No. 11246... has emphasized the

existence of previous discrimination as a predicate for the

imposition of a preferential remedy.” And (438 USS. at 302 ):

“['W je have never approved preferential classifications in the

absence of proved constitutional or statutory violations (foot-

note omitted ).” By analogy to the express prohibition against

racial preference in admission policy in section 601 of the Civil

Rights Act of 1964 (42 U.S.C. § 2000d), petitioner contends

that racial preference in hiring under the Executive Order is

precluded by section 703(j) of the same Act. Cf. Regents v.

Bakke, supra., 438 U.S. at 408-421 (Opinion of Mr. Justice

Stevens ).6 Indeed, even in Title VII cases where past dis-

° For the view that Congress intended to outlaw all preferential

treatment based on race, see Comment, 60 Iowa Rev. 693, 697-703

(1975); Comment, 7 Tex.Tech.L.Rev. 671, 685-87 ( 1976).

6 There is also no support for the Ninth Circuit’s imposition of

rigid quota goals absent consideration of “good faith” in the Execu-

tive Order or Revised Order No. 4 (Pet.App. A-38—A-39). Com-

pliance is secured not by federal fiat or litigation but by “conference,

conciliation, mediation, and persuasion” before considering sanctions

such as contract termination and bidding ineligibility. Exec. Order

No. 11246, § 209(b), at 3 C.F.R. 169, 174; § 205 at 3 CFR. 172.

Revised Order No. 4 itself premises compliance upon the contractor’s

good faith efforts to secure equal employment opportunity for minor-

ities. Section 60-2.12, entitled “Establishment of Goals and Time-

tables,” provides in Subsection (a) that projected minority hiring

goals “‘may not be rigid and inflexible quotas which must be met, but

(footnote continued on following page)

crimination against specific minority victims has been judicially

determined, and upheld on appeal, this Court has been acutely

sensitive to the impact affirmative remedies may have upon

innocent nonminority employees and job applicants. See, e.g.,

Teamsters v. United States, 431 US. 324, 347-48 (1977):

McDonald v. Santa Fe T, ransp. Co., supra, 427 U.S. at 278-80:

Franks v. Bowman Transp. Co., 424 US. 747, 762 (1976).

While petitioner further contends, infra, pp. 13-15 that the

Ninth, Circuit applied an erroneous standard in equating under-

utilization with discrimination, it is necessary here to note that

numerical disparities found by the District Court were not

predicated upon an industry-wide exclusionary practice or as a

direct and obvious result of the historic, pervasive practice of

craft lebor organizations or employers to exclude minorities and

women from entrance into a specific industry. Here, unlike the

Executive Order construction industry cases cited by Mr. Justice

Powell in Bakke,” the food Processing industry has not been

(footnote concluded from preceding page)

must be targets reasonably attainable by means of applying every

good faith effort to make all aspect of the entire affirmative action

Program work.” 41 C.F.R. 204, 207. Indeed. under Subsection (k )

establishment of separate goals and timetables for different minority

groups is not required, even upon a showing of substantial disparity of

“under-utilization.” 41 C.F.R. at 209. And Section 60-2.14, entitled

“Compliance Status,” expressly provides “[n]Jo contractor’s com-

pliance status shall be judged alone by whether or not he reaches his

goals and meets his timetables.” 41 C.F.R. at 208. In short, these

regulations provide essential discretionary flexibility to better enable

the federal government to Promote fair employment practices, even

gradually if necessary, rather than risking the forfeiture of all Positive

influence which might result from an arbitrary or rigid compliance

standard. This is not a federal Program administered under simple,

inflexible standards.

? Contractors Ass’n of Eastern Pa. v. Sec. of Labor, 442 F.2d 159

(3d Cir.), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 854 (1971); Associated Gen. Con-

tractors of Mass v. Altshuler, 490 F.2d 9 (Ist Cit. 1973), cert. denied,

416 U.S. 957 (1974). Mr. Justice Brennan did not list these cases in

his citations for the proposition that race conscious remedies had been

approved in the absence of judicial findings of discrimination. 438

U.S. at 364.

12

judicially noticed to have practiced industry-wide dis-

crimination. Moreover, here, the statistical imbalances were

presented to the Court by Legal Aid without the contractors’

participation or any rebuttal evidence as to the actual effect of

the individual contractor’s hiring practices.

The imposition of hiring quotas upon federal contractors

under the procedures of this case raise questions of grave

concern to all current and potential government contractors and

to a large segment of the nation’s labor force whose promotion-

al and employment prospects are necessarily diminished

proportionately to the extent of preferential affirmative action.

The immediate impact of this case is staggering. At least 40%

of the nation’s labor force work in positions subject to the

Executive Order, and over 50% of the nation’s employers with

100 or more employees are subject to the affirmative action

requirements of the Executive Order. 5 U.S. Comm’m on Civil

Rights, The Federal Civil Rights Enforcement Effort, 1974: To

Eliminate Employment Discrimination, 230 (1975); Goldstein

& Smith, “The Estimated Impact of the Antidiscrimination

Program Aimed at Federal Contractors”, 29 Indus.

Lab.Rel.Rev. 523, 531-39, 542-43 (1976).

The resolution of this issue should not be postponed. The

decision below has an immediate impact upon all government

contractors within the jurisdiction of the Ninth Circuit. This

impact is also a continuing one for under the District Court’s

decree all future approvals of affirmative action plans by

OFCCP, the successor compliance agency, must be furnished to

Legal Aid for its scrutiny (Pet.App. A-73). The decision below

also brings confusion and uncertainty for other government

contractors having facilities within other Circuit Courts of

Appeals. If this cause were initiated in the Fifth Circuit, no

such rigid quota relief under the Executive Order would have

been ordered in the absence of a finding of prior hiring or

promotion discrimination. Weber v. Kaiser Aluminum & Chem.

Corp., 563 F.2d 217, 226-27 (1977), reversed on other grounds.

13

443 US. 193 (1979). Resolution of this conflict among the

circuits on the fundamental question of the propriety of prefer-

ential relief is further reason for granting the petition.®

On a more significant plane, the case raises the issue of the

legality of involuntary affirmative action quotas to correct racial

imbalances in the work place. The Court is well aware of the

intensity of the social and political debate over the proper place

of such relief in our antidiscrimination policy. See Fuller, “The

Forms and Limits of Adjudication”, 92 Harv. L.Rev. 353, 394-

404 (1978); Comment: “How Far Can Affirmative Action Go

Before It Becomes Discrimination?”, 26 Cath. U.L.Rev. 513,

546 (1977). Whether such relief serves this policy and under

what circumstances are questions which now require guidance

from the Court.

Ill.

THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S STANDARD FOR IMPOSING

RACE-CONSCIOUS REMEDIES CONFLICTS WITH

DECISIONS OF THIS COURT

In Steelworkers v. Weber, supra, the Court suggested that a

numerical imbalance between a work force and the labor

market may permit voluntary correctional race preference re-

medies, particularly in the context of a collective bargaining

relationship where the union may be safely presumed to

adequately represent the interests of current nonminority em-

ployees. See Franks v. Bowman Transp. Co., supra,. The

| 8 The District Court’s decree is the mirror image of Technical

Guidance Memo. No. |. The continuing application of this Memo to

all government contractors, as applied and enforced by OFCCP,

transforms goals into fixed quotas without regard to a contractors

good faith. Indeed OFCCP has continued to follow this approach. Jn

The Matter of Firestone etc., BNA Daily Labor Report Dec. 12, 1978

(Pet.App. A-91-A-107); (See also Ninth Circuit Opinion Pet.App.

A-29 fn. 36). The affirmance of the District Court’s decree by the

Ninth Circuit has, therefore, approved the method adopted by the

District Court and OFCCP of enforcing Executive Order 11246

through mandatory hiring preferences based solely upon race.

14

decision, however, did not reach the distinct question decided

here, that a statistical disparity alone warrants the imposition of

mandatory, involuntary race conscious hiring quotas based

solely upon race. The Ninth Circuit’s basis for imposing this

relief is contrary to and inconsistent with this Courts’ decisions

discussing the proper use of statistical evidence and the burden

of proof which must be met to support even an inference of

discrimination in Title VII cases. The Court has repeatedly

stated that evidence of a statistical imbalance at most presents a

rebuttable presumption of discrimination which the alleged

violator must be permitted to rebutt. Furnco Constr. Corp. v.

Waters, 438 U.S. 567, 579-580 (1978); Teamsters v. United

States, supra, 431 U.S. at 339. Unlike Teamsters, the Ninth

Circuit here adopted the District Court’s imposition of hiring

quotas upon “statistics alone” (Pet.App. A-21). Moreover, the

statistical “disparities” here were found upon a comparison

between particular jobs and the minority work force as a whole

(Pet.App. A-59).

This Court has held that such comparisons have little if any

probative value. In Hazelwood School District v. United States,

433 U.S. 299,308 n. 13, Mr. Justice Stewart stated:

When special qualifications are required to fill particular

jobs, comparisons to the general population (rather than to

the smaller group of individuals who possess the necessary

qualifications ) may have little probative value.

While Hazelwood involved a public employer, it is clear that

private employers are equally included within its rationale. See

Teamsters v. United States, supra, 431 U.S. at 340 n. 20.

Reliance upon general population—job category comparisons

is prohibited by section 703(j).

In McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792

(1973), the Court established an orderly evidentiary procedure

and allocated the burden of proof in Title VII discriminaiton

cases. The charged party need not introduce evidence of

neutral hiring practices until after a prima facie case has been

15

established. Board of Trustees v. Sweeney, 439 U.S. 24, 25

(1978). This standard of proof of discrimination stands in

stark contrast to the one relied upon by the Court of Appeals,

which premised its judgment upon the District Court’s use of a

Statistical imbalance as conclusive of an irrebutable finding of

discrimination. This evidentiary basis for race preferential

relief is markedly in contrast with the standard articulated by

this Court under Title VII. Unless Congressional intent that the

Executive Order cannot override Title VII is to be flagrantly

flouted, then federal contractors must not be subject to sanc-

tions on a lower standard of culpability than that imposed by

Congress under sections 703 and 707 of Title VII. The standard

of discrimination which justifies preferential remedies based

solely upon race should be identical under both statutory and

regulatory antidiscrimination schemes. The justification for this

position is, of course, that Congress in Title VII requires it, and

further such uniform standards will create a consistent and

reliable means of scrutinizing the identical employment deci-

sion making process for discriminatory intent.9

The Second Circuit, we believe, has adopted the proper

evidentiary standard for the imposition of racial hiring quotas.

In Kirkland v. New York State Dept. of Correctional Services,

520 F.2d 420 (1975)19, a discrimination action brought under

42 U.S.C. §§ 1981, 1983, such relief was limited to circum-

stances where plaintiffs demonstrated a clear-cut pattern of

® Under equal protection analysis, adverse impact alone upon

protected classes is insufficient to invalidate state action; proof of

intent to discriminate is required. Personnel Administrator of Mass. v.

Feeney, 442 U.S. 256, 276 (1979); Arlington Heights v. Metropolitan

Hous. Corp., 429 U.S. 252, 270-71, 270 ns. 20 and 21 (1977). See

also NLRB v. Jones & Laughlin Steel Corp., 301 U.S. 1, 45-6 (1937)

(discriminatory motive must be proven under section 8(a)(3) of

NLRA).

10 Reaffirmed in EEOC v. Local 638, Sheet Metal Workers, 532

F.2d 821, 827-8 (2d Cir. 1976).

16

long-standing and egregious racial discrimination and where

such relief would not affect identifiable nonminority employees

or job applicants. The Court has not considered whether this

standard is a valid restriction upon court-ordered quota relief,

or whether the Executive Order is subject to the evidentiary

standard of discrimination adopted by the Court under Title

VII. Government contractors must have definitive criteria upon

which they can reliably assess their personnel policies and if

necessary, take steps to protect themselves from contract debar-

ment and reverse discrimination lawsuits. Note, “Title VII] And

Preferential Treatment: A Response to EEOC Affirmative Ac-

tion Guidelines”, 67 Geo.L.J. 855, 872-76 (1979). The appro-

priate use of racial preferences in employment under Executive

Order 11246 and the evidentiary standard upon which such

remedial measures must be predicated are significant questions

which can and need to be resolved.

17

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, the Chamber respectfully

requests this Court to grant its petition in this case for a Writ of

Certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth

Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

GERARD C. SMETANA,

Suite 1400

33 North Dearborn Street

Chicago. Illinois 60602

LAURENCE B. Kraus, WILLIAM H. DuRoss, II]

General Counsel Suite 200

CHAMBER OF COMMERCE OF 1919 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W

7 UNITED STATES OF Washington, D.C. 20006

MERICA,

1615 H. Street, N.W.,

Washington, D.C. 20006.

Of Counsel:

LAW OFFICES OF

GERARD C. SMETANA

Suite 1400

33 North Dearborn Street

Chicago, Illinois 60602

Suite 200

1919 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

Attorneys for Petitioner.

March 3, 1980.

APPENDIX I

A-|

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

LEGAL AID SOCIETY OF ALAMEDA COUNTY;

STEPHEN E. RONFELDT; LINDA CASTILLO;

DELORES LUSTER; JOHN STAFFORD; ISA-

DORE PAYNE; WESTERN REGIONAL JOB

COUNCIL,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

v.

PETER J. BRENNAN, Secretary of the United States

Department of Labor; PHILIP DAVIS, Acting

Director of the Office of Federal Contract Com-

pliance; EARL L. BUTZ, Secretary of the United

States Department of Agriculture; WILLIAM

GLADDEN, Chief, Contract Compliance Division,

Office of Equal Opportunity, United States Depart-

ment of Agriculture,

Defendants,

CHAMBER OF COMMERCE OF THE UNITED

STATES OF AMERICA, on behalf of its affected

members,

Defendant-Intervenors-Appellants;

LEGAL AID SOCIETY OF ALAMEDA COUNTY, et

al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

\

NCC FOOD CORPORATION,

Defendant-Intervenor-Appellant;

LEGAL AID SOCIETY OF ALAMEDA COUNTY, et

al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

v.

DEL MONTE CORPORATION,

Defendant-Intervenors-Appellants;

LEGAL AID SOCIETY OF ALAMEDA COUNTY, et

al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

v.

CPC INTERNATIONAL

Defendant-Intervenor-Appellant;

5

No

No

No

. 14-2954

. 74-3013

. 714-3014

. 74-3015

A-2

LEGAL AID SOCIETY OF ALAMEDA COUNTY, et >}

al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

‘ No. 74-3234

No. 74-3250

CARNATION COMPANY, H. J. HEINZ COM-

PANY, SUNSHINE’ BISCUITS, INC., BEL’

BRAND FOODS, INC.,

Defendants-Intervenors-Appellants;

LEGAL AID SOCIETY OF ALAMEDA COUNTY, et

al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellees, > No. 74-3317

v.

GRANNY GOOSE FOODS, INC.,

Defendant-Intervenor-Appellant,

LEGAL AID SOCIETY OF ALAMEDA COUNTY et

al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellees, No. 74-3391

v

GOLDEN GRAIN MACARONI CO., and its division, OPINION

GHIRARDELLI CHOCOLATE., INC.,

Defendants-Intervenors-Appellants. )

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of California

Before: BROWNING, WALLACE and KENNEDY,

Circuit Judges

BROWNING, Circuit Judge:

As a condition of doing business with the federal govern-

ment, larger federal contractors are required to develop “writ-

ten affirmative action compliance programs” designed to fur-

ther equal employment opportunity. The contents of these

programs are specified by regulation. 41 C.F.R. §§ 60-1.40, 60-

2.10 to 13.

Several Black residents of Alameda County, California and

organizations representing them, brought this suit against re-

A-3

sponsible federal officials, alleging they had failed to discharge

their duty to ensure the maintenance by food processing

contractors of adequate affirmative action programs. The

district court granted partial summary judgment and injunctive

relief. Legal Aid Society v. Brennan, 381 F.Supp. 125 (N.D.

Cal. 1974).

I.

A.

Executive Order 11246 requires government contracting

agencies to include in most federal and federally-assisted

contracts dual covenants (1) that the contractor “will not

discriminate against any employee or applicant for employment

because of race, color, religion, sex, or national origin,” and (2)

that the contractor will “take affirmative action to ensure that

applicants are employed, and that employees are treated during .

employment without regard to their race, color, religion, sex, or

national origin.”’"’ This suit concerns the second covenant—the

“affirmative action” obligation—which was added to the

“nondiscrimination” obligation in 1961 in response to “an

urgent need for expansion and strengthening of efforts to

promote full equality of employment opportunity . . .” 26

Fed.Reg. 1977 (March 8, 1961).

The duty to enforce Executive Order 11246 is vested in the

Secretary of Labor, who is authorized to “adopt such rules and

regulations and issue such orders as he deems necessary and

appropriate to achieve the purposes” of the Order.2

' Executive Order 11246 § 202, 30 Fed.Reg 12219 (1965),

as amended by Executive Order 11375, 32 Fed.Reg !4303

(1967), 42 U.S.C.A. § 2000e note (1974)

For a detailed history of Executive Order 11246 and its

predecessors, see Contractors Ass’n of Eastern Pa. v. Secretary

of Labor, 442 F.2d 159, 168-71 (3d Cir. 1971).

2 Executive Order 11246 § 201.

A-4

Pursuant to his rule-making authority, the Secretary has

delegated enforcement responsibility to the Office of Federal

Contract Compliance Programs (OFCCP).3 Until recently, this

office in turn delegated day-to-day enforcement to various

“compliance agencies.” USDA was designated as the com-

pliance agency for non-construction contractors in the food

production and processing industry.4

The Secretary of Labor has issued regulations detailing the

manner in which contractors are to fulfill the affirmative action

commitment. Each contractor with 50 or more employees and

a federal contract of $50,000 or more is required to develop a

written affirmative action program for each of its estab-

lishments. 41 C.F.R. § 50-1.40. The contents of the programs

are specified in Revised Order No. 4, 41 C.F.R. Part 60-2.5

Acceptable programs include two basic elements: (1) “an

analysis of areas within which the contractor is deficient in the

utilization of minority groups and women,” and, where the

analysis discloses deficiencies, (2) “goals and timetables to

which the contractor’s good faith efforts must be directed to

correct the deficiencies . . . at all levels and in all segments of his

work force where deficiencies exist.” 41 C.F.R. § 60-2.10. The

341 C.F.R. § 60-1.2 (1977), as revised, 43 Fed.Reg 49240

(October 20, 1978).

4OFCC, Revised Order No. 1 (October 24, 1969), re-

printed at [1970] Empl. Prac. Guide (CCH) 17.650. The

authority for designating compliance agencies was found in 4]

C.F.R. § 60-1.3(d) (1973).. USDA’s compliance responsi-

bilities were reassigned in 1977. The entire compliance agency

system was subsequently abolished and all compliance respon-

sibilities consolidated in OFCCP. See 43 Fed.Reg. 43572

(September 26, 1978), reprinted at [1978] Empl. Prac. Guide

(CCH) ¥ 4380.

5 Revised Order No. 4 first became effective in 1970. 35

Fed.Reg. 2586 (1970). Its provisions at the time the district

court entered its order in this action appear at 41 C.F.R. Part

60-2 (1973). As presently modified, they appear at 43

Fed.Reg. 49240 (October 20, 1978).

A-5

factors to be considered in analyzing minority and female

utilization and in formulating goals and timetables for correct-

ing underutilizations are spelled out in 41 C.F.R. §§ 60-2.11

and 2.12. Certain additional ingredients required of acceptable

affirmative action programs are set out in 4] C.F.R. § 60-2.13.

Revised Order No. 4 also details the procedures compliance

authorities are to follow in securing corrective action when a

contractor’s program fails to satisfy the specified criteria and in

imposing sanctions if corrective action is not forthcoming. 4]

C.F.R. § 60-2.2.

Appellees’ complaint contained two central allegations.

First appellees charged that responsible USDA officials failed

to review the affirmative action programs of a majority of

federal contractors within USDA’s compliance jurisdiction.€

This portion of the case is still pending below. Second,

appellees alleged that where compliance reviews were under-

taken, USDA officials regularly approved programs that did not

comply with Revised Order No. 4. In discovery proceedings in

support of the second claim, appellees obtained the affirmative

action programs of 29 contractors in Alameda County, Califor-

nia, that had been reviewed and approved by USDA from

August 1972 through January 1973. These included the

programs of all Alameda County contractors within USDA’s

compliance jurisdiction. Based upon these programs and letters

from the officials approving them, appellees moved for Partial

summary judgment on the complaint that USDA officials had

regularly approved noncomplying programs. Appellees asked

that the officials be restrained from approving noncomplying

programs, and that they be required to rescind approval of

6 Named defendants were the Secretary of Labor, the

Director of OFCCP, the Secretary of Agriculture, and the Chief

of the Contract Compliance Division of USDA’s Office of Equal

Opportunity.

A-6

deficient plans and initiate enforcement proceedings against

companies submitting these plans.

The district court granted appellees’ motion. It concluded

that components of affirmative action programs that were

mandated by Revised Order No. 4 were nonetheless absent

from the programs approved by the officials. It declared ten

specific programs to be violative of the regulations, and there-

fore illegally approved. The court enjoined USDA officials

from approving programs that did not comply with Revised

Order No. 4. They were ordered to rescind approval of the ten

noncomplying programs, to issue show cause notices to the

contractors submitting them, and to seek sanctions against any

contractor that did not develop and implement a complying

program.’

The federal officials filed, then withdrew, a notice of

appeal, and have appeared in this court in support of the

judgment.

The appellants are contractors whose affirmative action

plans formed the basis for the court’s order. The plans of four

appellants were among the ten specifically declared unaccept-

able.§

Appellants were not parties to the proceedings below.

After partial summary judgment was granted, appellants

sought to intervene generally for the purpose of reopening the

proceedings. The district court denied their motion, but

permitted intervention for the purpose of appeal.

Appellants present five issues. First, they contend that

approval of affirmative action plans by a compliance agency is

7 The order also established a reporting and monitoring

system requiring USDA officials to submit newly approved

affirmative action programs to the court and to appellees’

counsel for inspection. This part of the decree is not contested.

8 Appellant of Commerce appears as a representative of

various contractors.

A-7

not subject to judicial review or remedies, at least not at the

behest of these appellees. Second, they contend that judicial

review, if available, was premature because appellees had not

exhausted administrative remedies. Third, they argue that they

were entitled to participate in the proceedings below, and that

e~ ry of summary judgment without their presence deprived

them of due process. Fourth, they contend that in finding the

affirmative action programs inadequate and in formulating the

decree, the district court relied upon standards that were

erroneous in substance and not lawfully promulgated. Finally,

they argue that the decree imposes hiring and promotion quotas

in violation of the Constitution and of Title VII of the Civil

Rights Act of 1964.

The federal appellees argue that appellants lack the requi-

site interest to maintain this appeal. Appellants counted that

their interests were sufficient not only to permit intervention to

appeal but also to require that the judgment be set aside

because they were not parties to the proceedings in the court

below. We turn first to these contentions.

II.

A.

The federai appellees argue that appellant contractors

have no appealable interest in the decision below because the

district court’s order is directed only to the manner in which the

federal appellees carry out their regulatory responsibility. They

further contend that the interests of appellants can be fully

protected in the administrative process, which affords con-

tractors the right to justify their compliance efforts before

sanctions for noncompliance may be imposed.

[1, 2] Post-judgment intervention for purposes of appeal

may be appropriate if the intervenors act promptly after

judgment, United Airlines, Inc. v. McDonald, 432 U.S. 385,

395-96 & n. 16, 97 S.Ct. 2464, 53 L.Ed.2d 423 (1977);

A-8

Pellegrino v. Nesbit, 203 F.2d 463, 465 (9th Cir. 1953), and

meet traditional standing criteria. United States v. Imperial

Irrigation Dist., 559 F.2d 509, 521 (9th Cir. 1977).% Appellees

do not challenge the timeliness of appellants’ motion to inter-

vene for the purpose of appeal, but question whether appellants

have met the standing criteria by alleging a threat of particula-

rized injury from the order they seek to reverse that would be

avoided or redressed if their appeal succeeds. '°

[3, 4] Appellants allege that if the order is implemented,

appellants’ past and future compliance efforts will be measured

by erroneous legal standards and appellants’ ability to retain

current contracts and their eligibility for future contracts will be

affected by those erroneous standards. The four appellants

whose affirmative action programs were disapproved by the

district court further allege that approval of their programs will

be rescinded and show cause orders will be issued against them,

leaving them the choice of preparing new programs or suffering

Since the federal defendants have acquiesced in the

judgment against them, appellants must demonstrate such a

stake in the outcome of an appeal that a live Article III case or

controversy remains for appellate resolution. See Shapiro,

Some Thoughts on Intervention Before Courts, Agencies, and

Arbitrators, 81 Harv.L.Rev. 721, 753-54 (1968). If appellants

satisfy this threshold requirement, they necessarily possess the

interest required to support intervention under Fed.R.Civ.P. 24,

as well as the required “‘appealable interest” in the adjudication

below, see Fishgold v. Sullivan Corp., 328 U.S. 275, 281-83, 66

S.Ct. 1105, 90 L.Ed. 1230 (1946); Seaboard Surety Co. v.

United States, 306 F.2d 855, 859 (9th Cir. 1962); Shapiro,

supra at 753.

10 See Duke Power Co. v. Carolina Environmental Study

Group, Inc., 438 U.S. 59, 98 S.Ct. 2620, 57 L.Ed.2d 595 (1978);

Village of Arlington Heights v. MHDC, 429 U.S. 252, 260-61,

97 S.Ct. 555, 50 L.Ed.2d 450 (1977); Simon v. Eastern

Kentucky Welfare Rights Organization, 426 U.S. 26, 38, 96 S.Ct.

1917, 48 L.Ed.2d 450 (1976); United States v. Imperial

Irrigation District, 559 F.2d 509, 517 (9th Cir. 1977).

A-9

termination of existing contracts and debarment from future

contracts. These allegations reflect a “sufficiently direct threat

of personal detriment,” Planned Parenthood of Missouri v.

Danforth, 428 U.S. 52, 62, 96 S.Ct. 2831, 2838, 49 L.Ed.2d 788

(1976), to establish standing. Appellants’ interests could not

be fully protected in subsequent administrative proceedings

since the agency would have no authority to question the

validity of the district court’s interpretation of the regulations so

long as the decree remained in effect."

[5] Appellees assert appellants have suffered no in-

jury—that the district court’s order simply conformed to exist-

ing regulations and required the government officials to under-

take only those enforcement measures they had a present duty

to perform in any event. The argument addresses the merits of

the action, not the issue of standing. Flast v. Cohen, 392 US.

83, 99. 88 S.Ct. 1942, 20 L.Ed.2d 947 (1968); City of Chicago

v. Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe R.R. Co., 357 U.S. 77, 83-4, 78

S.Ct. 1063, 2 L.Ed.2d 1174 (1958).

Appellants are properly before this court as intervenors on

appeal.

The contractor appellants argue that the interests which

give them standing to appeal also required that they be joined

as parties initially or be allowed to intervene, and that they be

accorded notice and hearing before entry of the decree below.

[6-8] Assuming appellants should have been joined as

parties to the proceedings below, their presence on appeal

renders harmless any defect in the party structure so far as the

provisions of the decree respecting standards governing future

11 To the extent appellants were admitted as permissive

intervenors, they were not required to show their stake in the

case could not be fully protected elsewhere. Fed.R.Civ.P.

24(b).

A-10

compliance are concerned.'? Appellants’ objections to the dis-

trict court’s interpretation of the Executive Order and adminis-

trative regulations raise strictly legal issues subject to full review

in this court. Appellants’ future compliance will be judged by

the agency against standards formulated after full and fair

consideration of appellants’ objections on this appeal. '3

[9] The decree also orders compliance officials to rescind

approval of the ten affirmative action programs found to be

defective, including the programs of four of the appellants, and

to institute enforcement proceedings immediately under the

applicable regulations. Appellants contend that due process,

the compulsory joinder requirements of Rule 19(a), and the

guarantee of intervention as of right upon timely application

under Rule 24(a), precluded the court from passing in their

absence upon the legality of their specific conduct. Appellees

12 Where the judgment can be shaped to cure any prej-

udice to a pariy absent below, dismissal at the appellate stage is

not required. See Provident Tradesmen Bank & Trust Co. v.

Patterson, 390 U.S. 102, 111-12, 116, 119, 88 S.Ct. 733, 19

L.Ed.2d 936 (1968). See also 7 Wright & Miller, Federal

Practice & Procedure: Civil § 1611 (1972); Fed.R.Civ:P. 21

(dismissals for defect in party structure disfavored ).

13 Appellant Chamber of Commerce also contends that

appellees lacked standing to challenge enforcement of the

Executive Order by compliance officials. See Part IIIB infra.

Denial of intervention except to appeal may have foreclosed the

Chamber’s opportunity to contest the factual basis for ap-

pellees’ standing, an opportunity not fully protected on this

appeal. However, the Chamber did not appeal the denial of

intervention, but only the earlier entry of summary judgment.

It therefore can argue only that the court’s conclusion that

appellees had standing was erroneous on the record before the

district court, in which appellees’ claims to standing were not

disputed. This argument is considered in Part IIIB infra.

The individual contractor appellants, who have appealed

the denial of intervention, do not challenge appellees’ standing.

Whatever interests they may have had in contesting standing in

the district court are not asserted on this appeal.

A-11

respond that the invalidated programs have been superseded in

the process of annual revision and updating required by the

regulations, 41 C.F.R. § 60-1.40(c), and issues relating to the

process by which they were invalidated have thereby become

moot. Appellants do not deny that the invalidated programs

have been replaced, but argue only that forward-looking

features of the decree remain. Issues relating to the latter

features of the decree are fully dealt with on this appeal, as we

have said. We accept appellee’s undisputed suggestion that

events subsequent to the district court’s finding that specific

programs were deficient have deprived that action of any

present consequence, and vacate as moot the portion of the

decree ordering rescission of approval of the condemned pro-

grams and issuance of show cause notices to the contractors

submitting them.

A.

{[10, 11] The provisions of Revised Order No. 4, issued

under Executive Order 11246, have the force of law.'4 Appel-

14 See United States v. New Orleans Pub. Serv., Inc., 553

F.2d 459, 465-68 (Sth Cir. 1977), vacated and remanded on

other grounds, 436 U.S. 942, 98 S.Ct. 2841, 56 L.Ed.2d 783

(1978). Provisions of the regulations governing disclosure of

information secured from contractors may not be sufficiently

rooted in a grant of authority from Congress to have the force

of law, see Chrysler Corp. v. Brown, 441 U.S. 281, 99 S.Ct. 1705,

1718-1721, 60 L.Ed.2d 208 (1979), but there can be no doubt

that the essential features of the affirmative action program

reflected in the regulations promulgated in Revised Order No. 4

were effectively ratified by Congress in adopting the Equal

Employment Opportunity Enforcement Act of 1972. Several

frontal attacks on the OFCC goal-and-timetable enforcement

system were defeated during congressional consideration of the

1972 Act. Court decisions upholding the validity of the

affirmative action program under the Executive Order were

(footnote continued on following page)

A-12

lants do not disagree. They contend, however, that the terms of

the Executive Order and Revised Order No. 4 are not enforce-

able in the courts.

{12, 13] Administrative action is subject to judicial review

unless it is clear that such review was not to be available.

Morris v. Gressette, 432 U.S. 491, 500-01, 97 S.Ct. 2411, 53

L.Ed.2d 506 (1977); Barlow v. Collins, 397 U.S. 159, 166-67,

90 S.Ct. 832, 25 L.Ed.2d 192 (1970); Arizona Power Pooling

before the legislators and figured prominently in the debates.

See 118 Cong.Rec. 1664-72, 4918 (1972) (remarks of Sen.

Javits, reprinting decision in Contractors Ass’n of Eastern Pa. v.

Secretary of Labor, 442 F.2d 159 (3d Cir. 1971)); id. 1386

(Sen. Saxbe); id. 1663-64 (Sen. Ervin); 117 Cong.Rec. 32089

(Rep. Dent); id. 31965 (Rep. Green), H.R.Rep. No.92-238,

92nd Cong. 2d Sess. (1971) (separate views of Rep. Green);

reprinted at [1972] U.S.Code Cong. & Admin.News, pp. 2137,

2176-77. In rejecting the assault on the OFCC affirmative

action approach. Congress approved the exercise of executive

authority to issue binding regulations regarding minority utili-

zation. See Comment, The Philadelphia Plan: A Study in the

Dynamics of Executive Power, 39 U.Chi.L.Rev. 723, 757

(1972).

Independent Meat Packers Ass’n v. Butz, 526 F.2d 228

(8th Cir. 1975), which appellants cite, is not to the contrary.

That court held that Executive Order 11821 was not judicially

enforceable. Executive Order 11821 requires executive agencies

to evaluate the inflationary impact of major legislative propos-

als, rules, and regulations emanating from the executive branch.

The court’s conclusion that the Executive Order lacked legal

force rested on the premise that the Order “was intended

primarily as a managerial tool for implementing the President’s

personal economic policies,” and had been issued as a house-

keeping measure rather than pursuant to constitutional or

statutory authority. 526 F.2d at 235-36. See also Manhattan-

Bronx Postal Union v. Gronouski, 121 U.S. App.D.C. 321, 350

F.2d 451 (D.C. Cir. 1965). Executive Order 11246 rests upon

Statutory and other congressional authorization. See United

States v. New Orleans Pub. Serv., Inc., supra.

A-13

Ass'n v. Morton, 527 F.2d 721, 727 (9th Cir. 1975).15 Nothing

in Executive Order 11246 precludes judicial review. Indeed, the

Order appears to anticipate such review by preserving, in

addition to sanctions expressly authorized by the Order, rem-

edies “as otherwise provided by law.” E.O. 11246, § 202(6).

[14, 15] Although the Executive Order and implementing

regulations place heavy reliance upon administrative expertise

and discretion, not all compliance review action is committed to

discretion of the agency. In these circumstances, judicial review

limited to the non-discretionary aspects of agency action is

appropriate. Ness Investment Corp. v. USDA Forest Service,

512 F.2d 706, 714-15 (9th Cir. 1975); East Oakland-Fruitville

Planning Council v. Rumsfeld, 47\ F.2d 524, 533-34 (9th Cir.

1972 ).16 The regulations sought to be enforced here identify in

clear mandatory terms elements that must be included in

affirmative action programs before they may be deemed accept-

able by compliance officials. Programs “must include an

analysis of the areas within which the contractor is deficient in

the utilization of minorities and women,” 41 C.F.R. § 60-2.10.

This analysis “must contain” the work force breakdown spelled

out in 4] C.F.R. § 60.211, plus a utilization-availability study in

'S It is questionable whether an Executive Order could of

its own force preclude judicial review of action taken pursuant

to it. Congress may create regulatory bodies with lawmaking

powers and insulate those bodies from judicial oversight. It

does not follow that the President may do so solely by

Executive Order, without congressional ratification. In any

event, Executive Order 11246 rests upon statute and other

congressional authorization (see note 14), and neither the

President nor Congress has indicated an intent to preclude

judicial review of action taken by compliance authorities under

the Executive Order.

'6 Compare Peters v. Hobby, 349 U.S. 331, 345, 75 S.Ct.

790, 797, 99 L.Ed. 1129 (1954) (Agencies, whether created

by statute or [by] Executive Order, must of course be free to

give reasonable scope to the terms conferring their authority.

But they are not free to ignore plain limitations on that

authority.”’).

A-14

which the contractor “will consider” at least eight enumerated

factors. 41 C.F.R. § 60-2.11(a)(1) (1973).17 Programs also

“must include ... goals and timetables,” 41 C.F.R. § 60-2.10,

which “must be designed to correct any identifiable defi-

ciencies.” 41 C.F.R. § 60-2.12(g).18 Affirmative action prog-

rams “shall contain” the additional ingredients listed in 41

C.F.R. § 60-2.13.

[16] There is no discretion as to the presence of these

components in an acceptable affirmative action plan. Programs

that lack them do not comply with Revised Order No. 4.

Judicial review is available to insure that compliance officials

perform their non-discretionary duty to refrain from approving

plans that do not contain the elements mandated by the

regulations. The remedies available under the Administrative

Procedure Act—setting aside unlawful program approvals, 5

U.S.C. § 706(2), and compelling unlawfully withheld agency

rejection of noncomplying programs, 5 U.S.C. § 706(1)—may

be invoked against compliance officials who violate this duty.19

17 In the most recent version of Revised Order No. 4, this

provision appears in 41 C.F.R. § 60-2.11(b)(1) (1977). See

43 Fed.Reg. 49240, 49250-51 (October 20, 1978).

18 Similarly, “program[s] shall provide... when there are

deficiencies, [for] the development of specific goals and time-

tables for the prompt achievement of full and equal employ-

ment opportunity.” 41 C.F.R. § 60-1.40(a).

19 Adams v. Richardson, 156 U.S.App.D.C. 267, 480 F.2d

1159 (D.C. Cir. 1973) (en banc), supports this conclusion.

Adams held reviewable the alleged consistent failure of the

Department of Health, Education and Welfare to enforce Title

VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 against public school districts

receiving federal funds. Appellants distinguish Adams on the

ground that Title VI specifically permits a judicial role in its

enforcement. Nothing in the Adams opinion suggests that

HEW enforcement orders were made reviewable expressly.

480 F.2d at 1161-63. In any event, judicial review need not be

expressly authorized; availability of judicial review is presumed

unless clear evidence precludes it.

A-15

[17] Relief in the nature of mandamus is also appropriate.

28 U.S.C. § 1361. In arguing to the contrary, appellants stress

the informality and flexibility of the enforcement scheme under

the Executive Order, pointing to its emphasis on mediation and

conciliation, 41 C.F.R. §§ 60—2.2(c)(2),20 60—1.24(c)(2)

(1973), and to the express reservation that “*[n]o contractor’s

compliance status shall be judged alone by whether he meets

his goals and timetables .... [but] shall be reviewed and

determined by ... his good faith efforts to make his program

work ....” 41 C.F.R. § 60—2.14. As appellants correctly

argue, areas of the administrative process so laced with dis-

cretion are traditionally shielded from direct judicial inter-

vention. Smith v. Grimm, 534 F.2d 1346, 1352 (9th Cir. 1976);

Jarrett v. Resor, 426 F.2d 213, 216 (9th Cir. 1970); Wilmot v.

Doyle, 403 F.2d 811, 816 (9th Cir. 1968 ). But these are not the

areas as to which appellees sought and obtained relief. Ap-

pellees’ claim went to a threshold matter—the required content

of acceptable affirmative action plans. This issue is distinct

from such subsequent questions as to whether a contractor is in

compliance with a valid affirmative action program (to which

the good faith standard is relevant), or what should be done to

secure compliance once it is determined that a contractor has

violated his affirmative action obligations (to which the con-

ciliation provisions are directed ).21 Appellees seek only to

“require . .. [compliance] officers . . . to perform the ministerial

duty of complying with their own regulations” by disapproving

programs that do not contain the elements required by the

regulations. Workman v. Mitchell, 502 F.2d 1201, 1205 (9th

20 Jn the current regulations this provision appears as 4]

C.F.R. § 60-2.2(c)(3) (1977). See 43 Fed.Reg. 49240, 49250

(October 20, 1978).

21 As Revised Order No. 4 recognizes, the complex task of

“transform[ing] . . . paper commitments into equal employ-

ment opportunity” requires leeway for the operation of dis-

cretion and good faith. But “developing and judging” the

initial adequacy of the paper commitments can be carried out

according to clearly stated criteria. 41 C.F.R. § 60-2.1.

A-16

Cir. 1974). See also Elliott v. Weinberger, 564 F.2d 1219, 1226

(9th Cir. 1977), aff'd in part, rev'd in part sub nom. Califano v.

Yamasaki, US. —_, 99 S.Ct. 2545, 61 L.Ed.2d 176

(1979). For this an order in the nature of mandamus will lie.

It is no bar to such relief that the court may be required to

interpret Revised Order No. 4 to determine the precise scope of

the agency’s duties. “[O]jnce the court interprets the law, the

defendant’s duty will become clear; the court is not telling the

defendant how to exercise his discretion.” Knuckles v. Weinber-

ger, 511 F.2d 1221, 1222 (9th Cir. 1975).

Appellants rely on three Court of Appeals’ holdings that

Executive Order 11246 does not afford a basis for a private

right of action by an employee against an employer for alleged

discrimination. These cases are inapposite. Two involved suits

for damages for alleged violation of nondiscrimination cov-

enants in private employers’ contracts with the government.22

The courts held that a private right to initiate judicial enforce-

ment of such a covenant independently of the government

would be inconsistent with the enforcement scheme created by

the Executive Order. The third case involved a suit by a

government employee against the government as an employer,

and was based primarily upon sovereign immunity.23

[18] Appellees do not seek recognition of a supplemental

private enforcement mechanism. They do not seek damages for

specific acts of discrimination against themselves. They ask

only that the court review the government’s own enforcement

effort against the standards established by the Executive Order

and regulations. Review of this sort is an ordinary element of

administrative enforcement schemes, absent clear indication to

the contrary. Since the only relief sought in such a suit is that

22 Farmer v. Philadelphia Electric Co., 329 F.2d 3 (3d Cir.

1964); Farkas v. Texas Instrument, Inc., 375 F.2d 629 (Sth Cir.

1967). .

23 Gnotta v. United States, 415 F.2d 1271, 1275 (8th Cir.

1969).

A-17

government officials be required to perform the non-

discretionary duties imposed upon them by the Executive Order

and regulations, the action is by definition compatible with the

scheme established by the Order and regulations. The reluc-

tance of courts to imply separate private enforcement nghts

from statutes or regulations which provide explicitly only for

government enforcement procedures and penalties, see, e.g.,

Cort v. Ash, 422 U.S. 66, 78-80, 95 S.Ct. 2080, 45 L.Ed.2d 26

(1975); National R. R. Passenger Corp. v. National Ass’n of R.

R. Passengers, 414 U.S. 453, 458, 94 S.Ct. 690, 38 L.Ed.2d 646

(1974), is not applicable to such a private proceeding as this.

If the cases on which appellants rely correctly deny the

right to initiate a private suit against a discriminating employer

under Executive Order 11246, judicial oversight of enforcement

efforts of government officials through such a suit as this

becomes doubly important; without it, no remedy would be

available against compliance agencies that ignore the specific

requirements of the Executive Order and regulations.

[19] The argument that sovereign immunity bars this suit

is no longer available. After briefs were filed, Congress

amended the Administrative Procedure Act to remove the

sovereign immunity defense to judicial review of administrative

action where nonmonetary relief is sought. See Pub.L. 94-574.

§ 1, Oct. 21, 1976, 90 Stat. 2721, amending 5 U.S.C. § 702. The

amendment is applicable on this appeal. Hill v. United States,

571 F.2d 1098 (9th Cir. 1978).

[20] Appellant Chamber of Commerce contends that even

if a private judicial remedy is available, appellees have no

standing to pursue it.24

24The Legal Aid Society of Alameda County and the

Western Regional Job Council appear as representatives of the

(footnote continued on following page)

A-18

[21, 22] The standards for evaluating standing are clear.

To establish an Article III case or controversy plaintiffs must

allege they “personally ha[ve] suffered some actual or threat-

ened injury as a result of the putatively illegai conduct of the

defendant ... that is likely to be redressed if they requested

relief is granted.” Gladstone, Realtors v. Bellwood, 441 U.S. 91,

99 S.Ct. 1601, 1608, 60 L.Ed.2d 66 (1979). The injury must be

“fairly traceable to the defendant’s acts or omissions,” Arling-

ton Heights v. Metropolitan Housing Development Corp., 429

U.S. 252, 261, 97 S.Ct. 555, 561, 50 L.Ed.2d 450 (1977); there

must be a “ ‘substantial likelihood’ that the relief requested will

redress the injury claimed.” Duke Power Co. v. Carolina

Environmental Study Group, 438 U.S. 59, 75 n. 20, 98 S.Ct.

2620, 2631, n. 20, 57 L.Ed.2d 595 (1978).25 To sustain a

favorable judgment, the allegations must be uncontroverted or

proven.26

(footnote concluded from preceding page)

individual appellees. Their standing turns on that of the

individuals they represent. Hunt v. Washington Apple Advertis-

ing Commission, 432 U.S. 333, 342-43, 97 S.Ct. 2434, 53

L.Ed.2d 383 (1977), and is not challenged separately by

appellants.

25 See also Simon v. Eastern Kentucky Welfare Rights Org.,

426 U.S. 26, 38, 96 S.Ct. 1917, 48 L.Ed.2d 450 (1976); Warth

v. Seldin, 422 U.S. 490, 499, 95 S.Ct. 2197, 45 L.Ed.2d 343

(1975); United States v. Imperial Irrigation District, 559 F.2d

509, 517 (9th Cir. 1977), on denial of rehearing, 595 F.2d 525

(9th Cir. 1979); Bowker v. Morton, 541 F.2d 1347, 1349 (9th

Cir. 1976). '

26 Article II] controls not only who may have access to

federal courts at the threshold of the litigation, but also who

may obtain a judgment. To invoke federal jurisdiction, plain-

tiffs must allege facts adequate to confer standing; to obtain a

judgment and remedy, plaintiffs must establish the truth of

these or other adequate allegations. See Gladstone Realtors v.

Bellwood, 441 U.S. 91, 99 S.Ct. 1601, 1608, 60 L.Ed.2d 66

(1979); Duke Power Co. v. Carolina Environmental Study

Group, 438 U.S. 59, 72-78, 98 S.Ct. 2620, 57 L.Ed.2d 595

(1978).

A-19

A fair application of the standards to this case is made

difficult by the fact that appellees’ standing was first questioned

in a reply brief filed in this court by the Chamber of Com-

merce —no other appellant raised the issue. Appellees’ stand-

ing was not contested in the trial court—the defendant officials

did not deny the factual allegations of the complaint relating to

appellees’ standing; they did not challenge the factual or legal

basis for appellees’ standing either in their motion to dismiss

the complaint or in their opposition to appellees’ motion for

partial summary judgment.

[23] The Chamber’s sole argument on standing, stated in

one paragraph in its reply brief, is that contractors might refuse

to contract with the government to avoid complying with the

requirements of the decree, thereby rendering the decree useless

and decreasing rather than increasing job opportunities for

appellees—an argument we reject for reasons stated below. At

no point in the proceedings in this court or the court below has

any party suggested that the named appellees were not injured

or were unlikely to benefit individually from the decree even if

the overall effect of the decree was to make more jobs available

for minority job-hunters in Alameda County. No doubt the

record would be substantially more complete had appellees

been called upon to marshall the facts and law in support of

standing in response to a timely challenge to standing. Taking

the record as it is, however, enough appears to justify the

conclusion that standing requirements were satisfied.

[24] The complaint alleged that the defendant federal

Officials approved affirmative action Programs which did not

comply with Revised Order No. 4. The district court agreed,

finding the officials had consistently approved programs lacking

adequate work force composition analyses and statements of

goals and timetables to correct underutilizations of minorities

and women.27 The complaint further alleged that as a result of

27 The correctness of this finding goes to the merits and is

assumed for purposes of standing. Warth v. Seldin, 422 US.

490, 500, 95 S.Ct. 2197, 45 L.Ed.2d 343 (irs). BGs

considered in parts V-VI, infra.

A-20

the improper approval of affirmative action programs individ-

ual appellees were denied employment opportunities with

contractors for whom appellees desired to work. Second

Amended Complaint 9] 3C-F, 23D, 42. Each individual

appellee alleged that he or she is an unemployed black resident

of Oakland (in Alameda County), and that he or she sought

employment unsuccessfully with identified contractors and was

turned away on the basis of race and/or sex. Appellee Castillo,

for example, alleged that she desired employment generally

with contractors within the defendant officials’ compliance

jurisdiction, that she sought employment with the Chiodo

Candy Company and was turned away without being asked the

type of job she sought or her qualifications, and that she was

denied an opportunity to apply for work because of her race

and sex. On the basis of these uncontested allegations and the

record as a whole, the district court concluded that appellees

‘“‘who have unsuccessfully sought jobs with federal contractors”

had standing because they were “directly and adversely affect-

ed by the failure of [defendant officials] to carry out their

monitoring duties [with respect to approval of affirmative

action programs] under Executive Order 11246.”

[25-28] Two established rules of construction have signifi-

cant bearing upon the adequacy of these allegations and

findings. The allegations are to be treated as admitted since not

denied, Fed.R.Civ.P. 8(d); and the allegations and supporting

evidence are to be construed in favor of the appellees—the

Parties asserting standing, see Warth v. Seldin, 422 U.S. 490,

501, 95 S.Ct. 2197, 45 L.Ed.2d 343 (1975). Moreover it is

unnecessary to examine the standing of all appellees so long as

one had standing to secure the requested relief. See Arlington

Heights v. Metropolitan Housing Development Corp., 429 U.S.

252, 264 n. 9, 97 S.Ct. 555, 50 L.Ed.2d 450 (1977). We

conclude that appellee Castillo had standing.

[29, 30] The denial of employment opportunities to

Castillo satisfied the requirement of “actual injury.” It must also

A-21

appear that this injury was caused by the federal officials’

failure to enforce the executive order. Such causation is

established if actual job opportunities would have arisen had

the federal officials refused to approve Geficient affirmative

action programs. Fairly read, the complaint alleged and the

district court found that, absent approval of deficient programs,

additional minority job opportunities would have been avail-

able with the contractors from whom appellees sought employ-

ment. The substance of appellee Castillo’s claim was that she

was unable to obtain consideration for suitable work with the

Chiodo Candy Company because enforcement officials had not

required goals and timetables to remedy the underutilization of

women and blacks in the company’s work force. A contempo-

rary compliance review of the Chiodo work force showed that

although minority persons constituted 9.4% of the area labor

force, Chiodo had no black employees in the service worker

category, one black among its 30 unskilled employees (labor-

ers), none in the semi-skilled category (operatives), and none

among its office and clerical workers or in management posi-

tions. Only in the skilled craftsman category did it have

substantial black representation (five of 19 employees). Had

compliance officials required implementation of an affirmative

action plan containing the goals and _ timetables appellees

contend were required, it is more than purely speculative that

Chiodo would have been seeking qualified minority applicants

to correct the evident company-wide underutilizations. More-

over, contemporary compliance reviews reflected under-

utilizations of blacks by 70% of the Alameda County food

processing contractors, and systematic underutilization of

blacks both overall and in every or virtually every job category

by more than a third of such contractors.28 There is a substan-

26 Shasta Beverages had one black employee in a work

force of 154, or .6% utilization. That employee was one of

twenty technicians, giving that category a 5% utilization level: in

all other categories utilization was zero. Carnation Company

(footnote continued on following page)

A-22

tial probability that enforcement of the decree against these

contractors would have opened new job opportunities in every

category for black persons generally and for Castillo specific-

ally. This evidence together with the uncontradicted allegations

of the complaint were sufficient to show that appellee Castillo’s

injury was “fairly traceable” to the challenged approval of

deficient affirmative action programs. Castillo must also show a

substantial probability that the relief sought will remedy the

alleged injury. When a plaintiff has established the requisite

causation, the court usually may infer that correction of defend-

ant’s improper conduct will relieve the injury caused thereby.

See Gladstone, Realtors v. Bellwood, supra, 99 S.Ct. 1601 at

had four black employees of 316 in the work force (1.2%), with

utilization at zero in several categories and no higher than 6% in

any. Oscar Meyer and Heinz had no black employees at all.

Rath Packing had one black employee of 48 (2%) overall and

of 23 (4.3%) in the semi-skilled operatives category, all other

categories showing zero utilization. Kockos Brothers showed

17 black employees of 336 (5%), all but two in the operatives

category (which itself had the highest utilization (6%) in the

work force). Foremost Transport had four black employees of

54 (7.4%), with underutilization in all but one category in

which one of the two employees was black. Ghirardelli

Chocolate had two black craftsmen and one black unskilled

laborer among 73 employees (4.1%), with underutilization in

all but one job category. Kilpatrick’s Bakery had 15 black

employees of 247 (6%), with underutilization in all but the

service worker category. Safeway Stores had 37 black employ-

ees in a work force of 741 (4.9%), with zero utilization in some

categories and underutilization in all others except service

workers, where blacks constituted more than 41% of the work

force.

Other contractors evidenced underutilization in some but

not all categories. Some of these also showed underutilization

in their overall figures as well. E.g., Kellogg Company (6.3%

overall, with underutilization in office and clerical, craftsman,

and high-level management categories); Golden Grain Maca-

roni (7.7% overall; underutilization in laborer, craftsman, office

and clerical, and high-level management).

A-23

1608; Duke Power Co. v. Carolina Environmental study Group,

supra, 438 U.S. at 74, 98 S.Ct. 2620. A properly functioning

enforcement authority can require, by force of sanction, that

contractors within its jurisdiction comply with their own

affirmative action programs. If Castillo’s claims have merit, it is

substantially probable that concrete job opportunities for mi-

nority applicants will arise with Chiodo and other identified

contractors in the same area in every or virtually every job

category, from unskilled labor through high level manage-

ment.29

[31] Whatever specific level of skills or qualifications

Castillo has, some work opportunity for which she is qualified

will likely materialize with these identified employers in the

area in which she desires to work. This is sufficient to establish

standing. Compare Arlington Heights v. Metropolitan Housing

Development., 429 U.S. at 264, 97 S.Ct. 555. Appellee need not

prove she is bound to be selected for the new opportunities over

all others. Like the individual plaintiff in Arlington Heights, she

need show only that her “quest” for a desired employment

opportunity for which she could have competed was

“thwarted” by the actions complained of, and that the opportu-

29 Castillo did not allege in so many words that she was

qualified for specific positions which would have been available

had the contractors been required to implement adequate

affirmative action plans. But Castillo did allege that Chiodo

turned her away “without even asking the type of job that she

sought or what her qualifications were.” This necessarily im-

plied that appellee believed herself qualified to perform some

work required in the company’s operations, and Chiodo under-

utilized blacks in virtually every job category. Moreover,

appellee alleged she was denied consideration for work “‘on the

basis of’ her race and sex. Since refusal to hire because of lack

of qualification is not refusal to hire because of race or sex, the

necessary implication of this allegation is that Castillo was not

hired despite the fact that she was qualified. One who claims

loss of employment solely due to racial discrimination neces-

sarily claims to possess the requisite job qualifications.

A-24

nity will likely materialize—thus allowing her to compete for

it—if the defendants act as required by the decree. Cf. id.

[32] The argument advanced by the Chamber of Com-

merce—the only objection to standing actually raised by any

party—is all but frivolous. The Chamber does not suggest that

appellees were not injured nor that the decree, if complied with,

would not have alleviated this injury. The Chamber’s argu-

ment is that the contractors might elect to forego their contracts

with the government rather than comply with affirmative action

programs of the kind appellees assert to be required, and if they

did so the injury to appellees would persist. The record reflects

no substantial additional cost or other factor that might have

led the contractors to abandon existing and presumably profit-

able contracts with the government, and accept debarment

from future contracts, rather than correct deficiencies in their

affirmative action programs. On the contrary, the record

suggests both that the increase in the available labor supply

that would have resulted from elimination of discrimination

against women and minorities would have reduced the con-

tractors’ costs, and that the opportunity to contract with the

government was of great value to the contractors.9° Compare

Simon v. Eastern Kentucky Welfare Rights Organization, 426

U.S. 26, 43-44, 96, 1917, 48 L.Ed.2d 450 (1976).

Castillo and the other appellees also satisfy the prudential

limitations on standing. Like the individual plaintiff in Arling-

ton Heights, appellees assert more than a generalized grievance

shared in equal measure by many others. Appellees’ injury as

minority job seekers among the Alameda County contractors 1s

“peculiar to [themselves] or to a distinct group of which [they

30 The Chamber does not suggest the record could have

been supplemented with concrete evidence to support the

Chamber’s speculation about contractor withdrawal, had the

Chamber had an opportunity to participate below. At any rate,

the Chamber must accept the record as it stands, since the

Chamber has appealed only the summary judgment and not

the denial of intervention. See note 13.

*.

A-25

are] a part.” Gladstone, Realtors v. Bellwood, 441 U.S. at 100,

99 S.Ct. at 1608. They assert their own rights, not those of third

parties. Jd.3' As set forth in part IIIA of this opinion, plaintiffs

have a right to seek judicial relief under Executive Order 11246

and Revised Order No. 4. Warth v. Seldin, supra, 422 US. at

500, 95 S.Ct. 2197.

IV.

[33] Appellants argue the district court acted prematurely

by granting relief without requiring appellees to exhaust the

administrative remedy available under 41 C.F.R. § 60-1.21 ef

seq. (1973). These provisions apply to complaints by employ-

ers, or applicants for employment, against individual employers

for alleged acts of discrimination violating the employer’s

contractual obligations to the government.32 Alth igh the

complaint in this case alleges such acts as the immediate source

31 If the “zone of interests” limitation on Standing survives,

at least as to matters of review under the Administrative

Procedure Act, see Gladstone, Realtors v. Bellwood, 441 US. 91.

99 S.Ct. at 1608 n. 6 (1979); compare Simon v. Eastern

Kentucky Welfare Rights Org., 426 U.S. 26, 38-39 n. 19, 96

S.Ct. 1917 (1976); K. Davis, Administrative Law in the

Seventies § 22.02-11 at 509-15 (1976); 13 Wright, Miller &

Cooper, Federal Practice & Procedure; Civil § 3531 at 87

(Supp. 1978), as a member of a minority group seeking a job

with federal contractors, Castillo falls easily within the zone of

interests protected by Executive Order 11246 and Revised

Ordei No. 4.

xs The complaint procedure in force when appellees began

this action permitted any employee or applicant of a federal

contractor to file “a complaint of alleged discrimination in

violation of the equal opportunity clause.” 41 C.F.R. §§ 60-

1.21, 1.22 ( 1973). The procedure was apparently designed to

handle complaints that specific employment decisions violated

the nondiscrimination covenant of the employer’s federal con-

tract. Thus, the complaint must identify the contractor “‘com-

mitting the alleged discrimination” and must describe “the acts

considered to be discriminatory.” 41 C.F.R. § 6-1.23.

A-26

of the “distinct and palpable injury” to individual appellees

essential to standing, these acts are not the primary target of the

litigation. The complaint is directed instead at the ultimate

cause of appellees’ injury—the systematic approval by govern-

ment officials of affirmative action programs that did not

contain the provisions mandated by the regulations to expose

and eliminate discriminatory employment practices. Appellees

seek a declaration of the standard: by which the adequacy of

affirmative action plans must be judged and a declaration of the

duties of compliance officials in implementing those standards.

The administrative procedures to which appellants point are

not designed for processing claims of this sort or to provide

relief of this scope. With respect to this major aspect of

appellees’ claim, there was no administrative remedy to be

exhausted. Rosado v. Wyman, 397 U.S. 397, 406 & n. 8, 90

S.Ct. 1207, 25 L.Ed.2d 442 (1970).33

[34] Moreover, even if the complaint procedures were

applicable to appellees’ primary claim, we would not reverse

because appellees failed formally to exhaust them. This is not a

case in which exhaustion of administrative remedies is required

by statute as a prerequisite to judicial intervention. As applied

33 Freeman v. Schultz, 153 U.S.App.D.C. 152, 468 F.2d

120 (D.C. Cir. 1972), and Hadnott v. Laird, 149 U.S.App.D.C.

358, 463 F.2d 304 (D.C. Cir. 1972), on which appellants rely,

are distinguishable. In both cases, the complaint was directed

at discriminatory acts of a particular contractor or contractors.

The relief sought (cancellation of existing contracts and debar-

ment from future contracts) was that authorized in such cases

by the Executive order and regulations. Executive Order 11246,

§ 209(a) (1965) 41 C.F.R. § 60-1.24(c)(3) (1973). Hadnott

did seek relief against the responsible enforcement officials, and

the dissenting judge would have read the complaint as directed

to the failure of these officials to perform their duty, but the

majority treated the complaint as seeking relief against specific

offending companies and relegated the plaintiffs to the adminis-

trative remedy available for processing such complaints. See

aiso note 35 infra.

A-27

here, the requirement that administrative remedies be exhaust-

ed is a judicially created doctrine to be employed in the manner

that best serves the competing interests of the court. the agency,

and the aggrieved individual in the circumstances of the

particular case. Montgomery v. Rumsfeld, 572 F.2d 250, 253-54

(9th Cir. 1978). None of the interests served by the exhaustion

requirement would be advanced by a reversal in this case.

The private appellees did not deliberately flout the admin-

istrative process. It is questionable whether the formal remedy

provided by the regulations was applicable to any part of

appellees’ claims. Appellees submitted their grievance to the

agency by informal means before filing suit, and the agency

ruled against them on the merits, finding the affirmative action

programs acceptable. After litigation was commenced, the

district court, following the procedures approved in State of

Washington v. Udall, 417 F.2d 1310, 1319 n. 14 (9th Cir.

1969), required the private appellees to present their claims to

compliance officials a second time, but to no avail.34 Thus

agency Officials were afforded an opportunity to correct their

errors, to make their expertise available. and to develop an

administrative record for review, see Weinberger v. Salfi, 422

U.S. 749, 765, 95 S.Ct. 2457, 45 L.Ed.2d 522 (1975), and

declined to do so. Moreover, as defendants in this litigation,

responsible officials provided the court with the counsel of their

experience and expertise to the extent expertise was relevant.

34 Before filing this lawsuit, private appellees requested

federal officials to intensify enforcement of the Executive Order

and regulations. In response, the agency conducted reviews of

all Alameda County contractors within its compliance jurisdic-

tion. The agency concluded all had acceptable affirmative

action programs. After appellees filed suit, the court ordered

Proceedings stayed “to permit disposition of all issues herein

involved at the administrative level of each of the offices

affected by the complaint.” Appellees submitted a detailed

memorandum to the agency discussing the various areas in

which appellees believed administrative enforcement of the

regulations to be deficient. The agency took no action.

A-28

They participated actively in the proceedings below and made

their views as to the correct construction of the regulations

known to the court. Finally, no factual determinations were

involved for which agency procedures or creation of an admin-

istrative record could have been especially useful. See McGee

v. United States, 402 U.S. 479, 485, 91 S.Ct. 1565, 29 L.Ed.2d

47 (1971). The allegation was that the responsible agency

officials approved affirmative action programs that were facially

inadequate in light of the Executive Order and regulations.

Only the documents themselves were relevant. Thus, while

resolution of some charges of affirmative action clause viola-

tions might require detailed fact-finding and_ record-

building—for example, a charge that the contractor had not

sought in good faith to implement his affirmative action pro-

gram—the court in this case was not disadvantaged by the lack

of formal agency complaint proceedings below.95

35 These factors further distinguish Freeman and Hadnott.

See note 33. Those cases involved alleged violations of the

nondiscrimination clause in particular contracts. Such viola-

tions usually raise factual issues as to the relationship between

the employer and the alleged discriminatee. Compare Furnco

Construction Corp. v. Waters, 438 U.S. 567, 575, 98 S.Ct. 2943,

57 L.Ed.2d 957 (1978). Agency investigation procedures may

be especially valuable in ferreting out these facts, and the

administrative record compiled by the agency may be essential

to judicial review. This fact-finding and record-building were

absent in Freeman and Hadnott, see, 153 U.S.App.D.C. at 155

& n. 6, 468 F.2d at 123 & n. 6; 149 U.S.App.D.C. at 362, 463

F.2d at 308. As a consequence, the reviewing court had no

basis, short of hearing the testimony itself, upon which to judge

whether the agency determination of nondiscrimination was

justified.

Further, in this case appellees’ letters and subsequent

communications with the agency and their detailed informal

complaint to the agency cataloging the asserted flaws in the

approved affirmative action plans, together with the court’s

decision to stay its hand for further administrative-level nego-

tiations, gave the agency a significantly greater opportunity to

(footnote continued on following pige)

A-29

V.

[35] The legitimacy of the standards applied by the

district court in evaluating affirmative action programs and in

formulating the decree is challenged on procedural grounds.

The district court concluded that compliance officials ap-

proved affirmative action programs that were in violation of

Revised Order No. 4 in one or more of the following respects:

(1) they contained inadequate utilization analyses, 41 C.F.R.

§ 60—2.11; (2) they failed to establish adequate goals and

timetables designed to correct underutilization of minorities and

women within the minimum period necessary, 41 C.F.R.

§§ 60—2.12, 60—1.20(b); and (3) they failed to include the

required additional ingredients listed in 41 C.F.R. § 60—2.13.

In the course of its analysis, the court referred to Technical

Guidance Memo No. 1, issued to compliance agencies “to give

specific guidance on the proper interpretation of certain selected

issues that have been or continue to be raised regarding

Revised Order 4.”36 Appellants contend that as used by the

(footnote concluded from preceding page)

correct the asserted errors than did the single, unpursued oral

complaint in Freeman, 153 U.S.App.D.C. at 153-54, 468 F.2d

at 121-22, or the apparent lack of any resort to the agency at all

in Hadnott. Indeed, in Hadnott there was every indication that

the agency was correcting sua sponte the errors of which '

aaa complained. 149 U.S.App.D.C. at 360, 463 F.2d at

6.

36 The Memo was issued by the Office of the Federal

Contract Compliance of the Department of Labor on February

22, 1974, a few months before partial summary judgment was

granted. Although the Memo has not been published, its

provisions are virtually identical to those of OFCCP’s Standard

Contractor Review Report, Part B, § XII.B(a)-(c), published in

the Federal Register three weeks after entry of the district

court’s order. See 39 Fed.Reg. 25655 (1974), codified at 41

C.F.R. § 60-60.9 (1977), 43 Fed.Reg. 49240 (1978).

A-30

district court Technical Guidance Memo No. | was a legislative

rule having a substantial impact upon the rights and obligations

of federal contractors, and was invalid because not issued

pursuant to the rule-making procedures of 5 U.S.C. § 553,

citing Texaco, Inc. v. FPC, 412 F.2d 740, 745 (3d Cir. 1969),

and related cases. Appellees respond that Technical Guidance

Memo No. | is an interpretive rule exempt from notice-and-

comment requirements under subsection (b)(A) of 5 U.S.C.

§ 553. See, e.g., Energy Reserves Group, Inc. v. Department of

Energy, 589 F.2d 1082 (Em.App.1978).

We need not decide whether the Technical Guidance

Memo is to be classified as a legislative rule and, if so, whether

it was lawfully issued. Although the district court found

support for its holding in the Technical Guidance Memo (381

F.Supp. at 135-39), the court also concluded that reference to

the Memo was not necessary to the decision of this case (381

F.Supp. at 135-36 n. 16). We agree. It is clear without

reference to the Memo that appellee officials iepeatedly ap-

proved affirmative action programs that failed to satisfy the

fundamental requirements of Revised Order No. 4.

Although approved by compliance officials, non« of the

affirmative action programs contained an analysis of all eight

factors specified in Revised Order No. 4, 41 C.F.R. § 60—2.11,

for determining underutilization in any job category.37 Most of

37 41 C.F.R. § 60-2.11(b)(1) reads:

In determining whether minorities are being underutilized

in any job classification the contractors will consider at least the

following factors:

(1) The minority population of the labor area sur-

rounding the facility;

(ii) The size of the minority unemployment force in

the labor area surrounding the facility;

(iii) The percentage of the minority work force as

compared with the total work force in the immediate labor

area.

(footnote continued on following page)

A-31

the programs failed to establish goals and timetables designed

to correct the underutilization of minorities and women, 4]

C.F.R. § 60—2.12(g), in a manner that would assure the

“prompt achievement of full and equal employment opportu-

nity.” 41 C.F.R. §60—1.40(a). The goals set forth in the

programs neither established long-range targets to complete the

correction of underutilizations, 41 C.F.R. § 60—2.12(e), nor

committed the contractor to eradicating underutilizations within

any period of time, 41 C.F.R. §§ 60—2.12(d), 60—1.20(b).

The annual numerical goals of a number of the programs rested

on unexplained underprojection of job openings anticipated by

the contractor for the forthcoming year.3® All the programs

failed to contain one or more of the “additional ingredients”

required by 41 C.F.R. § 60—2.13, including development and

implementation of affirmative action recruiting programs for

minorities and women, 41 C.F.R. § 60—2.13(f)(j), plans for

support of community-based programs designed to improve

employment opportunities for minorities and women, 41 C.F.R.

§ 60—2.13(i), and development of internal audit and reporting

systems for measuring the effectiveness of the program, 41

C.F.R. § 60—2.13(g).

(footnote concluded from preceding page)

(iv) The general availability of minorities having

requisite skills in the immediate labor area;

(v) The availability of minorities having requisite

skills in an area in which the contractor can reasonably

recruit;

(vi) The availability o1 promotable and transferable

minorities within the contractor’s organization;

(vii) The existence of training institutions capable of

training persons in the requisite skills; and

(viii) The degree of training which the contractor is

reasonably able to undertake as a means of making all job

classes available to minorities.

A similar analysis is required for utilization of women by

section 60-2.11(b)(2).

38 See 351 F.Supp. at 137 & n.19.

A-32

VI.

Appellants object that certain provisions of the decree are

at variance with the Executive Order and implementing regu-

lations.

The court ordered compliance officials to approve only

affirmative action programs containing the utilization analyses,

goals and timetables, and additional ingredients called for by

Revised Order No. 4. The decree imposes specific requirements

with respect to each of these components. The utilization

analysis in each affirmative action program must compare,

separately for each set of similar jobs, the percentage of women

and of each of specified minority groups in the contractor’s

existing work force with the percentage of available women and

members of each minority group in the applicable labor area.

The applicable labor area must be defined as either the city,

county or Standard Metropolitan Statistical Area, depending

upon which of the three has the highest minority population,

unless the contractor justifies use of an area with fewer minority

residents.99 The decree requires that an ultimate goal be set for

39 The portion of the decree dealing with utilization anal-

yses provides:

(a) Each program must contain a utilization analysis

that satisfies each of the following requirements:

(i) The analysis must include a list of all major

job categories (hereinafter referred to as “job

groups”) in the contractor’s work force and, for each

such job group, a statement of the total number of

male and female incumbents for each of the following

ethnic groups: Blacks, Spanish-Surnamed Americans,

American Indians and Orientals.

(ii) Minority and female “availability” must be

separately analyzed for each job group. The avail-

ability analysis must include a statement of the specif-

ic percentages of minority persons (stated separately

for Blacks, Spanish-Surnamed Americans, American

Indians and Orientals) and minority and non-minority

(footnote continued on following page)

A-33

each job group at least equal to the percentage of women and

minority workers in the job group available in the applicable

labor market; that a minimum feasible period be established for

achieving this goal; and that interim percentage hiring rates be

fixed and remain in effect until that underutilization is com-

pletely corrected.4° Each program must contain specific and

(footnote concluded from preceding page)

women determined to be available in the applicable

labor area for each job group.

(ili) Whenever the percentage of total minorities

or of any ethnic group exceeding 2% of the surround-

ing population or of women in a job group is lower

than the percentage of such persons available in that

job group within the applicable labor area, the

affirmative action program must specifically state that

underutilization exists in that job group.

(iv) For purposes of determining availability, the

labor area must not be defined in such a way as to

minimize the availability of minorities or women. In

defining the relevant labor area, the contractor must

set forth statistics showing the ethnic and sexual

composition (including specific data for the four mi-

nority ethnic groups) of the population of the Stan-

dard Metropolitan Statistical Area, county and city in

which the establishment is located and other appropri-

ate adjacent areas. Any program which adopts a

labor area which has a minority population lower than

the highest of the SMSA, county or city must be

rejected unless the program provides an appropriate

written justification for the use of such area.

40 The goals-and-timetables portion of the decree provides:

(b) Each program must contain goals and timetables

which satisfy each of the following requirements:

(i) An ultimate goal must be established for each

job group in which underutilization exists and must be

designed to completely correct the underutilization.

The ultimate goal must be stated as a percentage of

the total employees in the job group and must be at

least equal to the percentage of minorities or women

available for work in the job group in the labor

market.

(footnote continued on following page)

A-34

detailed action-oriented recruitment and training programs.‘

Appellants object that the decree requires compliance

Officials to apply nmgid standards and criteria in testing the

adequacy of the utilization analysis, goals and timetables, and

compliance programs in affirmative actions plans, and that this

is inconsistent with Revised Order No. 4 which imposes flexible

(footnote concluded from preceding page)

(ii) For each job group in which underutilization

exists, a specific timetable must be established for

reaching the ultimate goal in the minimum feasible

time period.

(iii) For each job group in which under-

utilization exists, the contractor must establish rates

for hiring or promoting the minorities and women.

The rates must be stated as a percentage of new

placements in the job group, and they must remain in

effect (unless specifically modified on the basis of

subsequent data) until the underutilization is com-

pletely corrected. The percentage rates must be the

maximum rates that can be achieved through the

contractor’s putting forth every good faith effort,

including the use of available recruitment and training

facilities, and must not be lower than the percentages

set in the ultimate goals. Numerical goals based on

projected openings are permissible but cannot be used

in place of percentage rates.

41 The action-oriented-program requirement of the decree

provides:

(c) Each program must contain specific and detailed

action oriented programs, including recruitment and train-

ing programs, which comply with the requirements of

Revised Order No. 4. These programs must, at a min-

imum, commit the contractor to undertake every good faith

effort to contact and use in some concrete and specific

manner relevant recruitment and training resources for

recruitment and training minorities and women to fill

positions in job groups where underutilization exists. Data

regarding promotable employees, community training fa-

cilities and company training facilities must be prepared by

the contractor itself and related to the locality.

A-35

standards and leaves determinations of compliance largely to

the discretion of compliance officials. Appellants misread the

regulations and the decree.

Appellants argue, for example, that the regulations do not

require affirmative action programs to contain “ultimate goals”

for female and minority utilization as distinguished from annual

Or interim goals, or indeed, no goals at all: and that the

regulations do not require goals tied to the percentage of

available women and minorities in the job groups or in the

labor pool, as distinguished from flexible goals or goals keyed

to a lower level that is more practical in the Particular

circumstances.

The regulations do not explicitly require that ultimate goals

be fixed, but they do so by inescapable implication. Goals are

to be directed toward achieving “full and equal employment

opportunity.” 41 C.F.R. § 60-1.40(a) by correcting “any identi-

fiable deficiencies” in female or minority utilization. 41 C.F.R.

§ 60-212(g). Affirmative action programs must be “result-

oriented,” and the result to which they are to be directed under

the current regulations is not merely “to increase materially the

utilization of minorities and women” —as it once was, 41 C.F.R.

§ 60-2.10 (1973 )—but “to achieve prompt and full utilization

of minorities and women” in deficient segments of the con-

tractor’s work force. 41 C.F.R. § 60-2.10 (1978). Goals that

must be stated in terms of “full utilization” and correction of

“‘any deficiencies” can hardly be less than ultimate goals.42

__ 42 As appellants note, the regulations anticipate that goals

will not be established in some circumstances. For example, 41

C.F.R. § 60—2.12(k) provides that when no goal is provided

the affirmative action program must detail reasons for the

omission. Appellants argue that the decree conflicts with the

regulations in this respect because the decree provides without

qualification that “Each program must contain goals and

timetables.” However, it is clear from the decree as a whole,

and federal appellees concede that if goals are inappropriate

under the regulations in any circumstances, the exception would

be equally applicable under the decree.

A-36

[ 36, 37] Similarly, although the regulations do not state in

so many words that acceptable ultimate goals must reflect a

level of female and minority employment in the contractor’s

establishment at least equal to the percentage of women and

minorities available in the job group in the contractor’s labor

area, no other inference is consistent with what the regulations

do state. Under the regulations, goals in affirmative action

programs are designed to correct underutilizations. 41 C.F.R.

§ 60-2.12(g). Underutilizations are ‘fewer minorities or wom-

en in a particular job group than would reasonable be expected

by their availability.” 41 C.F.R. § 60-2.11(b). Availability

figures are to reflect only qualified workers reasonably available

in the relevant labor pool. Jd. It follows that, absent

discrimination utilization will not be less than availability, and

that to correct underutilization goals must be set to achieve

parity with the level of available women and minority workers

in the relevant labor pool. To say that compliance officia!. may

accept employment goals lower than the level of qualified

women or minority workers in the relevant labor area, as

appellants do, is inconsistent with the simple central canon of

the regulations that underutilization must be corrected.43

This analysis of the decree and the regulations also sug-

gests the error in appellants’ argument that by determining

underutilization and setting goals and hiring rates on the basis

of a comparison of percentages of women and minorities in job

43In this and other respects the district court’s inter-

pretation of the regulations reflected in the decree is consistent

with that found in Technical Guidance Memo No. 1. See note

36. Although we have refrained from deciding whether the

Memo is a lawfully published rule having the force of law,

unquestionably it reflects a construction of Revised Order No. 4

by the agency responsible for its promulgation and enforce-

ment. As such it is entitled to weight ( Udall v. Tallman, 380

U.S. 1, 16, 85 S.Ct. 792, 13 L.Ed.2d 616 (1965) ), even though

it may not be binding authority because of formal deficiencies.

Skidmore v. Swift & Co., 323 U.S. 134, 140, 65 S.Ct. 161, 89

L.Ed. 124 (1944).

‘

A-37

categories in a contractor’s work force and in the relevant labor

area, the decree substitutes a rigid mathematical formula for

the flexible determination encompassing all relevant factors

contemplated by the regulations. The percentage of women

and minorities available in a contractor’s work force is to be

determined by a consideration of the right variables specified in

the regulations, including, as noted above, possession of the

necessary skills for the particular job category. The same is true

of the determination of the percentage of such persons avail-

able in the work force in the relevant labor area. The

comparison of percentages is mechanical, but the percentages

to be compared are computed on the basis of the full range of

variables specified in the regulations.

[38] Appellants also argue that the decree substitutes a

rigid definition of the relevant labor area for flexible guidelines

in Revised Order No. 4. The regulations require that the

contractor’s availability analysis account for potential minority

employees in the area “surrounding [his] facility,” ‘in the

immediate labor area,” and “in an area in which [he] can

reasonably recruit.” 41 C.F.R. § 60-2.11(b)(1)(i)-(v), (2)(i)-

(v). The decree provides that a program which adopts a labor

area having a lower minority population than the highest in

three standard geographical statistical units (Standard

Metropolitan Statistical Area, County, and City) “must be

rejected unless the program provides an appropriate written

justification for the use of such areas.”44 This provision of the

decree does not displace the regulatory standard. It simply

provides a triggering mechanism for requiring a more explicit

demonstration on the written record that the standard has been

met when it appears that the boundaries of the labor market

may have been skewed to exclude minority workers.

The district court found that compliance officials repeat-

edly approved affirmative action programs containing over or

under-inclusive labor area definitions which minimized minor-

44 See Para (1)(a)(iv) of the decree, note 39.

A-38

ity availability. 381 F.Supp. at 135. Requiring a full written

exposition in the affirmative action program of the justification

for the boundaries drawn, when the circumstances suggest

manipulation, will make it more difficult for compliance offi-

cials to approve noncomplying programs in the future, and

easier to detect abuses if they occur. At the same time, the

power of the agency to determine the appropriate labor market

by careful analysis of the commuting distances, commu-

nications channels, and related factors, remains unimpaired. If

the written justification satisfies compliance officials that the

portions of the municipal unit with the highest minority popu-

lation are beyond reasonable commuting or recruiting range,

for example, a more limited labor area may be approved

though its minority population is lower.

[39] This provision of the decree reflects an appropriate

exercise of the court’s power, in fashioning a remedy on

administrative review, to “adjust its relief to the exigencies of

the case in accordance with the equitable principles governing

judicial action.”” Ford Motor Co. v. NLRB, 305 U.S. 364, 373,

59 S.Ct. 301, 307, 83 L.Ed. 221 (1939). The court’s power is

broad, so long as the court acts “within the bounds of the

[regulation] and without intruding upon the administrative

province.” Jd. The decree violates neither the language of

Revised Order No. 4 nor the “administrative province” of

compliance authorities. Cf. Mitchell v. DeMario Jewelry, 36}

U.S. 288, 290-92, 80 S.Ct. 332, 4 L.Ed.2d 323 (1960); Indiana

& Michigan Electric Co. v. FPC, 163 U.S.App.D.C. 334, 344,

502 F.2d 336, 346 (D.C. Cir. 1974).

[40] Finally, basing goals on availability levels does not

restrict administrative flexibility “in deciding when compliance

has been achieved,” as appellants argue. However the goals

are stated, they remain only “targets reasonably attainable by

means of applying every good faith effort” by the contractor.

41 C.F.R. §2.12(e). Compliance is measured by good faith

efforts to attain them, not by whether they are realized. 41

A-39

C.F.R. § 2.14. The decree does not alter this key tenet. It

affects only how the goals must be set, nor how they are to be

met.

VII.

Appellants argue that the provision in the decree restrain-

ing compliance officials from approving affirmative action plans

unless they include hiring and promotion rates equalling the

percentage of minorities and women available in the relevant

labor market, requires preferential hiring and promotion on the

basis of race and sex and is incompatible with section

703(a)(1), (2), (d) and (j) of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act

of 1964, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(a)(1), (2), (d) & (j), and with

the equal protection component of the Due Process Clause of

the Fifth Amendment.

[41] Appellants’ argument rests on the premise that this

provision of the decree requires preferential hiring and promo-

tion of underutilized minorities and women, and consequent

“reverse discrimination” against individuals not in these

groups. Appellants’ premise is false. Nothing in the decree or

inherent in the circumstances of this case requires preferential

treatment or discrimination on the basis of race or sex. We

therefore need not consider when if ever racial and sexual

preferences and discrimination undertaken to comply with

Executive Order 11246 can be lawful under either Title VII or

the Constitution. Cf. United Steelworkers of America v. Weber,

sebcsiies: Sa , 99 S.Ct. 2721, 2726, 2730, 61 L.Ed.2d

480 (1979); id. at ___, 99 S.Ct. at 2726 (Rehnquist, J.,

dissenting ).

The source of hiring and promotion goals and rates

required by the decree to be included in acceptable affirmative

action programs is significant. As noted earlier (see text at note

43), these goals and rates reflect the contractor’s own determi-

nation of the percentage of minority and female workers

A-40

qualified for the particular job group who are reasonably

available for employment by that contractor. The goals and

rates thus represent the contractor’s own judgment as to the

percentage of females and minority members that would be

found in his work force if all available qualified persons applied

for employment and if all selection processes operated in a

completely nondiscriminatory manner. Given this premise, it is

entirely reasonable to assume that a contractor who finds a

lower percentage of women or minority members in a particular

job category in his work force may well be able to correct the

deficiency simply by removing obstacles to fair and equal

employment, without reliance upon racial preference or dis-

crimination.

Underutilization may be traced to failure of available

women and minority workers to apply, for a variety of reasons,

in the expected numbers. They may not be aware of job

openings. If this is the problem, contacts may be established

with local organizations, institutions, or individuals who are in a

position to refer women and minority applicants; advantage

may be taken of media and events through which potential

women and minority applicants can be reached; and word-of-

mouth recruiting by women and minority employees and

applicants may be encouraged.45 Perhaps the contractor will

discover that potential applicants are discouraged by the con-

tractor’s negative image among women workers or in the

minority community. If so, the problem may be solved by

designating minority’ liaison’ officers, 41 £C.F.R.

§ 60—2.22(a)(b), or by widening dissemination of the con-

tractor’s fair employment policy and_ practices, id.

§ 60—2.21(a)(b). Or deficiency in the flow of applications

from women and minority workers may be attributable to

persons other than the contractor—to labor unions or subcon-

45 See 41 C.F.R. § 60 2.24(e). See also [1976] Empl.

Prac. Guide (CCH) 1414; Fiss, A Theory of Fair Employment

Laws, 38 U.Chi.L.Rev. 235, 282-85 (1971).

A-4]

tractors, for example—whom the contractor can persuade to

abandon exclusionary practices. Jd. § 60—2.23(b)(17).

If the contractor is attracting a balanced flow of applicants,

underutilization may be the product of improper screening or

selection processes. Facially objective job criteria that screen

out women and minority workers disproportionately may prove

to be irrelevant or only marginally related to job performance,

and new and validated criteria can be substituted. Jd.

§ 60—2.24(b); [1976] Empl. Prac. Guide (CCH) 99 1416,

1418. Or the contractor may discover that hiring personnel

entertain subjective biases (conscious or not) that can be

corrected by instruction or training, or by removing biased

officials from the hiring process. 41 C.F.R. § 60—2.24(d).

Under most conditions these and similar steps to correct

flaws in the contractor’s hiring system will involve neither

preference nor discrimination, yet they may be adequate to

enable the contractor to comply fully with hiring and promotion

goals and rates required under the decree. Of course, it may

prove otherwise. Employers may find it expedient to adopt,

indeed compliance officials may require, affirmative action

programs that involve preference and discrimination.46 Both

administrative and judicial remedies will be available to test the

lawfulness of such provisions on the basis of a specific record.

But because the hiring and promotion requirements of the

Revised Order and decree may lead in some circumstances to

the adoption of questionable programs is not a sufficient ground

for condemning the requirement on its face: “A hypothetical

threat is not enough,” United Public Workers v. Mitchell, 330

U.S. 75, 90, 67 S.Ct. 556, 564, 91 L.Ed. 754 (1947).

Paragraph (2) of the decree is stricken as moot. The

remainder of the decree is affirmed.

APPENDIX II

A-42

LEGAL AID SOCIETY OF ALAMEDA

COUNTY et al., Plaintiffs,

v.

Peter J. BRENNAN, Secretary of the

United States Department of Labor,

et al., Defendants.

No. C-73-0282 AJZ.

United States District Court,

N.D. California.

June 20, 1974.

MEMORANDUM OPINION

ZIRPOLI, District Judge.

Executive Order 11246, issued September 24, 1965,’ re-

quires companies that hold federal contracts to:

take affirmative action to ensure that applicants are em-

ployed, and that employees are treated during employ-

ment, without regard to their race, color, religion, sex or

national origin.

' Executive Order 11246 is the latest in a series of executive

orders going back over 30 years which were designed to

promote equal employment opportunities for minority groups

by requiring federal contractors to include nondiscrimination

provisions in their contracts with the government. The first

such executive order was issued by President Franklin D.

Roosevelt on June 25, 1941. Executive Order 8802, 6 Fed.Reg.

3109 (1941). It ordered. “All contracting agencies of the

Government of the United States shall include in all defense

contracts hereafter negotiated by them a provision obligating

the contractor not to discriminate against any worker because of

race, creed, color, or national origin . . .” The order also set up a

Committee of Fair Employment Practices to investigate com-

plaints of discrimination in violation of the order and take

appropriate steps to redress valid grievances.

The order was continued in substantially the same form by

President Truman in 1945 and 1951. Executive Orders 9664

and 10308, 10 Fed.Reg. 15301 (1945) and 16 Fed.Reg. 12303

(1951); and by President Eisenhower in 1953, Executive Order

10479, 18 Fed.Reg. 4899 (1953), although primary responsi-

bility for obtaining compliance with the nondiscrimination

A-43

This case involves important questions concerning the enforce-

ment of this executive order and the scope of judicial review of

individual governmental agencies’ actions taken in its enforce-

ment. Plaintiffs move for partial summary judgment and an

order requiring the United States Department of Agriculture

[USDA] and the persons within the USDA responsible for

enforcing the executive order to refrain from approving

affirmative action programs of contractors assigned to the

USDA in Alameda County, California, which do not comply

with the regulations that set out the requirements of an

adequate affirmative action program. Before considering the

narrow questions presented by this motion, it is necessary to

review the history of this litigation, the executive order and

regulations at issue, and consider defendants’ objections to the

court’s jurisdiction.

I

Plaintiffs’ original complaint filed in this action in Febru-

ary, 1973, contained four claims for relief, seeking: (1) to

compel defendants to release information on the ethnic com-

(footnote concluded from preceding page)

provisions was imposed on the heads of the various contracting

agencies. On March 6, 1961, President Kennedy issued Execu-

tive Order 10925, 26 Fed.Reg. 1977 (1961), which established

the President’s Committee on Equal Employment Opportunity.

The order for the first time required the contractors to take

affirmative action to ensure nondiscrimination and established

sanctions and penalties for noncompliance. Executive Order

11246, presently in effect, was issued by President Johnson, 30

Fed.Reg. 12319 (1965), and transferred responsibility for its

implementation to the Secretary of Labor. Executive Order

11246 was amended by Executive Order 11375, 32 Fed.Reg.

14303 (1967), issued October 13, 1967, to include dis-

crimination on the basis of sex within its nondiscrimination

provisions. More detailed discussions of this history are

contained in Farmer v. Philadelphia Electric Co., 329 F.2d 3,

5-7 (3d Cir. 1964), and Contractors Ass’n of Eastern Pennsylva-

nia v. Secretary of Labor, 442 F.2d 159, 168-171 (3d Cir. ), cert.

denied, 404 U.S. 854, 92 S.Ct. 98, 30 L.Ed.2d 95 (1971). The

text of Executive Order 11246, as amended, may also be found

A-44

position of the work forces of the Alameda County contractors

subject to Executive Order 11246; (2) to require the USDA to

disclose the affirmative action programs and compliance review

reports of Alameda County contractors assigned to the USDA

for enforcement purposes; (3) to require defendants respon-

sible for these programs within the USDA to enforce the

requirements of Executive Order 11246 and the regulations and

orders issued pursuant to the executive order; and (4) to direct

the Secretary of Labor and the Director of the Office of Federal

Contract Compliance [OFCC], who delegated enforcement

responsibility to the USDA, to require the USDA to comply

with the executive order and corresponding regulations.

Named as defendants were Peter J. Brennan, Secretary of

the Department of Labor, who is responsible for the overall

administration of Executive Order 11246, and who is required

to “‘adopt such rules and regulations and issue such orders as he

deems necessary and appropriate to achieve the purposes” of

the executive order;? Philip J. Davis, Director of the OFCC. to

whom the responsibility for enforcing the executive order has

been delegated;3 Earl L. Butz, Secretary of the USDA, to which

primary enforcement responsibility for federal contractors en-

gaged in farming, the provision of agricultural services, sup-

pliers of food and kindred products, tobacco manufacturers.

and certain businesses in the wholesale food trade have been

assigned; and, finally, William Gladden, Chief of the Contract

2 Exec. Order No. 11,246 § 201, 3 C.F.R. 169, 170 ( 1974).

3 See 41 C.F.R. § 60-1.2 (1973).

_ “Fifteen federal agencies including the USDA have been

designated as “compliance agencies” by the OFCC and as-

signed compliance responsibilities under Executive Order 11246

for specific industries according to the categories of the Stan-

dard Industrial Code. The OFCC regulations make each such

agency primarily responsible for obtaining compliance with the

executive order and regulations issued by the OFCC. See 41

C.F.R. § 60-1.6 (1973).

A-45

Compliance Division of the USDA’s Office of Equal Opportu-

nity, who is ultimately responsible for enforcement within the

USDA.

Plaintiffs originally included the Alameda Legal Aid So-

ciety, a federally funded law project which represents low

income minority persons in Alameda County, California, and

which has a compliance project designed specifically to secure

the enforcement of laws relating to equal employment opportu-

nity; the director of the project; four unemployed minority

persons who have sought employment at businesses which

come within the compliance requirements of the executive order

and regulations issued thereunder; and the Western Regional

Job Council, an unincorporated association in Oakland, Califor-

nia, whose primary concern is the employment of minority

persons.®

5 The initial stages of this litigation involved plaintiffs’

attempts to obtain disclosure of the EEO-1, or ethnic com-

position reports for those nonconstruction federal contractors in

Alameda County which are subject to Executive Order 11246;

and the written affirmative action programs and compliance

review reports of federal contractors with establishments in

Alameda County that are assigned to the USDA for enforce-

ment purposes. For the most part these disclosure claims have

been resolved through settlement negotiations between the

parties. As a result, plaintiffs have now agreed to dismiss the

Legal Aid Society of Alameda County and its executive director

as plaintiffs.

Since the original complaint was filed, plaintiffs have filed

two amended complaints adding the United States Postal

Service and General Services Administration and their officials

responsible for administration of Executive Order 11246 as

defendants and raising the same issues against them as are

asserted against the USDA. Certain labor unions associated

with the provision of trucking services to the Postal Service

have also been added as defendants. In conjunction with these

additional claims, two individuals and the National Association

(footnote continued on following page)

A-46

With respect to the third and fourth claims for relief,

plaintiffs contend that defendants have failed to enforce Execu-

tive Order 11246 and the regulations issued pursuant to it in

two respects: (1) they have failed to undertake any review

whatsoever of the affirmative action progrims of the majority

of federal contractors, and (2) that where they have reviewed

programs, they have approved ones which fail to comply with

the executive order and regulations. Their motion for partial

summary judgment deals only with the second contention.

These claims were previously the subject of defendants’

motions to dismiss for lack of subject matter jurisdiction and

failure to state a claim upon which relief can be granted on the

grounds of sovereign immunity, nonreviewability of dis-

cretionary agency action, and failure of plaintiffs to exhaust

their administrative remedies. These motions were denied by

the court May 31, 1973, but they have since been renewed by

defendants, and their arguments are discussed more fully

below.

Following the denial of defendants’ motions to dismiss.

plaintiffs obtained the affirmative action programs of some 27

USDA assigned contractors in Alameda County which were

reviewed and approved during the period from August, 1972,

through January, 1973. Following receipt of these programs,

plaintiffs reviewed them and sent the USDA a lengthy and

detailed memorandum specifying their claims that the pro-

grams as approved were in violation of the applicable regu-

lations. specifically Revised Order Number 4, 41 C.F.R. Part

60-2 (1973), entitled, “Affirmative Action Programs.” When

no response was made, plaintiffs discussed the issues raised with

(footnote concluded from preceding page)

for the Advancement of Colored People have been permitted to

intervene as plaintiffs. None of these additional parties is

involved in plaintiffs’ motion for partial summary judgment

presently before the court.

A-47

an attorney from the Department of Labor. Finally, after

waiting over two months, plaintiffs brought the motion for

partial summary judgment now pending before the court. As

initially presented, the motion sought to restrain the USDA

from approving affirmative action programs that are not in

compliance with Executive Order 11246 and the regulations

issued thereunder. A nationwide scope of relief was requested.

Since the motion was presented, the court has held two

hearings and granted additional time for the USDA to present

materials showing its compliance efforts. The USDA has since

conducted or is conducting followup onsite reviews of all the

contractors directly involved and issued a number of show

cause orders.® Plaintiffs have narrowed the relief sought to

include directions to disapprove the affirmative action programs

of Alameda County contractors whose programs are shown to

be in noncompliance with Revised Order Number 4, and to

require of the USDA that any future approvals in Alameda

County, comply with the Order. The relief sought includes a

means of monitoring the USDA’s operations by plaintiffs and

the court. It is anticipated that if they succeed on this motion,

plaintiffs will submit materials showing that the USDA’s fail-

ings locally are duplicated elsewhere justifying nationwide

relief. For the moment, however, the USDA's activities in

Alameda County are directly under consideration. Before

turning to the merits of plaintiffs’ motion, the court will consider

the procedural and other objections to the court’s jurisdiction

postulated by defendants.

I]

It is important to distinguish at the outset that the basis of

this action is not the claims of individuals against specific

6 Upon a finding that a contractor has an unacceptable

affirmative action program, the compliance agency is required

to issue a notice to the contractor giving him 30 days to show

cause why enforcement proceedings under section 209(b) of

Executive Order 11246 should not be instituted. 41 C.F.R.

§ 60-2.2(c) (1973).

A-48

contractors for failure to employ them in a certain job; rather it

is an action seeking relief in the nature of mandamus to require

federal officers to perform specific and clearly defined duties

mandated by Executive Order 11246 and the regulations

promulgated pursuant to the executive order.

Defendants argue that a mandamus action is inappropriate

here under either the mandamus statute, 28 U.S.C. § 1361, or

the Administrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C. §§ 701-706, be-

cause the acts which plaintiffs seek to compel are committed to

the discretion of the agencies involved, because this action is

barred by the doctrine of sovereign immunity, and because

Executive Order 11246 does not create a private cause of action.

[1] Defendants’ principal contention is that Executive

Order 11246 is not mandated by any Act of Congress or the

Constitution, which therefore makes all federal agency actions

taken pursuant to it discretionary and nonreviewable. On the

other hand. executive orders clearly carry the force and effect of

law if they are issued pursuant to constitutional or statutory

authority. This particular executive order and its direct antece-

dents have consistently been held to be based on statutory

authority resting with the President to provide for procurement.

utilization, and management of government property. Con-

tractors Ass'n of Eastern Pennsylvania v. Secretary of Labor,

442 F.2d 159, 166-171 (3d Cir. ), cert. denied. 404 U.S. 854, 92

S.Ct. 98, 30 L.Ed.2d 95 (1971): Farkas v. Texas Instrument,

Inc., 375 F.2d 629, 632 n.1 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 389 U.S.

977, 88 S.Ct. 480, 19 L.Ed.2d 471 (1967).? There is no question

that Executive Order 11246 also has firm foundations in the

7 Thus, in issuing Executive Order 11246 on September 24.

1965, President Johnson declared in a preface to the order that

the order was issued “[u]nder and by virtue of the authority

vested in me as President of the United States by the Con-

Stitution and statutes of the United States.’ Exec.Order No.

11,246, 3 C.F.R. 169, 170 (1974).

A-49

fifth and fourteenth amendments to the Constitution and the

several congressional enactments, including the comprehensive

provisions of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42

U.S.C. § 2000e et seq., intended to provide equal employment

opportunities. This basis for Executive Order 11246 is impli-

citly recognized by defendants when they urge that plaintiffs be

restricted to the procedures provided by the Civil Rights Act of

1964.

In contrast, the authorities relied upon by defendants, for

example, Manhattan-Bronx Postal Union v. Gronouski, 121

U.S.App.D.C. 321, 350 F.2d 451 (D.C.Cir.1965), involve

executive orders which essentially deal with “housekeeping”

functions strictly within the purview of the executive depart-

ment. Gronouski involved the recognition status for federal

employee organizations. As the court pointed out:

Executive Order 10988 represents in essence a formulation

of broad policy by the President for the guidance of federal

employing agencies. It had no specific foundation in

Congressional action, nor was it required to effectuate any

statute. It could have been withdrawn at any time for any

or no reason. It represented simply one President’s effort

to move in the direction of what he had been advised by

his experts would be an improvement in the efficiency of

federal employment.

350 F.2d at 456. The history of Executive Order 11246 and its

basis in the constitutional and statutory provisions noted above

make Gronouski wholly distinguishable from this action.

| 2] Hence, the court concludes that Executive Order 11246

was issued pursuant to constitutional and statutory authority,

and has the full force and effect of law. It is axiomatic that

regulations issued pursuant to such an executive order also

carry the force and effect of law. Vitarelli v. Seaton, 359 U.S.

535, 539, 79 S.Ct. 968, 3 L.Ed.2d 1012 (1959); Service v.

Dulles, 354 U.S. 363, 372, 77 S.Ct. 1152, 1 L.Ed.2d 1403

(1957).

A-50

Next, defendants urge that whatever effect these regu-

lations have, approval and review of federal contractor’s

affirmative action programs are not mandatory, but dis-

cretionary duties, which unenforceable in a mandamus-type

proceeding.

This argument is amply refuted by the language of the

regulations themselves. As noted above, Executive Order

11246 requires companies having federal contracts to:

take affirmative action to ensure that applicants are em-

ployed, and that employees are treated during employ-

ment, without regard to their race, color, religion, sex or

national origin.

§ 202(1), 3 C.F.R. 169, 170 (1974). The requirements of this

“affirmative action” are spelled out in detail in regulations

issued by the OFCC, which also set forth the responsibilities of

the enforcement agency. These duties include requiring certain

federal contractors to adopt affirmative action programs:

(a) Requirement of programs. Each agency... shall

require each prime contractor who has 50 or more employ-

ees and a contract of $50,000 or more... to develop a

written affirmative action compliance program for each of

its establishments.

41 C.F.R. § 60-1.40 (1973). Revised Order Number 4, 41

C.F.R. Part 60-2 (1973), then sets forth the detailed require-

ments governing the contents of these affirmative action pro-

grams and the steps which the compliance agency must take

whenever a contractor’s program does not satisfy the require-

ments of Revised Order Number 4. 41 C.F.R. § 60-2.2(c)

(1973) requires the compliance agency to initiate enforcement

proceedings immediately when a contractor's program is found

insufficient or nonexistent:

(c) Immediately upon finding that a contractor has no

affirmative action program or has deviated substantially

from an approved affirmative action program or that his

program is not acceptable the contracting officer, the

compliance agency representative or the representative of

the Office of Federal Contract Compliance, whichever has

A-51

made such a finding, shall notify officials of the appropri-

ate compliance agency and the Office of Federal Contract

Compliance of such fact. The compliance agency shall

issue a notice to the contractor giving him 30 days to show

cause why enforcement proceedings under section 209( b)

of Executive Order 11246, as amended, should not be

instituted.

See also 41 C.F.R. §§ 60-1.20(c), 60-2.1 & 60-2.2(a) (1973).

As pointed out by the District of Columbia circuit in

Adams v. Richardson, 156 U.S.App.D.C. 267, 480 F.2d 1159

(D.C.Cir. 1973), the agency discretion exception to the general

rule that agency action is reviewable is a narrow one, applicable

only where the statute and regulations are so broadly drawn

there is no law to apply. Jd. at 1161-62. Executive Order 11246

and the regulations issued thereunder provide detailed and

specific guidance to determine the required content of affirma-

tive action programs, and even these regulations have been

further explicated by the OFCC.§

[3] Furthermore, the appropriate compliance agency re-

sponse is provided for in affirmative and mandatory language,

as set out above. Under these circumstances, defendants are

charged with an enforceable legal duty to disapprove affirma-

tive action programs which do not comply with Revised Order

Number 4.

Nevertheless, defendants argue the actions taken by the

OFCC and the USDA are not reviewable in this court because

this is an unconsented suit against the United States and barred

by the doctrine of sovereign immunity. Larson v. Domestic &

8 On February 22, 1974, Philip J. Davis, Director of the

Office of Federal Contract Compliance, United States Depart-

ment of Labor, signed and promulgated to the compliance

agencies “Technical Guidance Memo No. | on Revised Order

No. 4,” the relevant portions of which are cited by the court

where applicable to the interpretation of certain sections of

Revised Order Number 4, infra.

A-52

Foreign Corp. 337 U.S. 682, 69 S.Ct. 1457, 93 L.Ed. 1628

(1949). Dugan v. Rank, 372 U.S. 609, at 620, 83 S.Ct. 999, at

1006, 10 L.Ed.2d 15 (1963), states the doctrine as follows:

The general rule is that a suit is against the sovereign if

“the judgment sought would expend itself on the public

treasury or domain, or interfere with the public adminis-

tration,” or if the effect of the judgment would be “‘to

restrain the Government from acting, or to compel it to

act.” (citations omitted )

[4] Therefore, this suit is barred by the doctrine of

sovereign immunity unless it falls within one of the exceptions

recognized by these same cases. Plaintiffs’ main contention is

that the OFCC and the USDA officers have taken improper

action and failed to act where clearly required to do so by

regulations having the force and effect of law in approving

programs which violate the requirements of Revised Order

Number 4. Such a claim clearly falls within the ultra vires

exception to the bar of sovereign immunity. /s stated in

Larson:

where the officer’s powers are limited by statute, his actions

beyond those limitations are considered individual and not

sovereign actions. The officer is not doing the business

which the sovereign has empowered him to do or he is

doing it in a way which the sovereign has forbidden. His

actions are ultra vires his authority and therefore may be

made the object of specific relief.

337 US. at 689.

Since plaintiffs allege that the federal defendants have

violated a plain legal duty imposed by valid regulations

properly issued, and since whatever burden which might be

imposed on the federal officials involved is outweighted by the

gains anticipated through vigorous enforcement of Executive

Order 11246,9 the court has jurisdiction to review the chal-

8 Footnote | 1 of the Court’s opinion in Larson v. Domestic

& Foreign Corp., 337 U.S. 682, 691 n. 11, 69 S.Ct. 1457, 93

(footnote continued on following page)

A-53

lenged actions of these government officials on the merits

pursuant to 5 U.S.C. §§ 701-706; 28 U.S.C. § 1361; and 28

U.S.C. § 1331.10 See State of Washington v. Udall 417 F.2d

(footnote concluded from preceding page)

L.Ed. 1628 (1949), announces what several courts have inter-

preted as an exception to the ultra vires exception to the

doctrine of sovereign immunity:

(11) Of course, a suit may fail, as one against the

sovereign, even if it is claimed that the officer being sued

has acted unconstitutionally or beyond his statutory pow-

ers, if the relief requested cannot be granted by merely

ordering the cessation of the conduct complained of but

will require affirmative action by the sovereign or the

disposition of unquestionably sovereign property. North

Carolina v. Temple, 134 U.S. 22, 10 S.Ct. 509, 33 L.Ed.

849 (1890).

The ninth circuit has not interpreted this footnote to mean that

a suit must fail if, as here, portions of the relief sought “require

affirmative action by the sovereign.” State of Washington v.

Udall, 417 F.2d 1310, 1317 (9th Cir. 1969). Instead such suits

must be dismissed as suits against the government only where

“the relief sought would work an intolerable burden on govern-

mental functions, outweighing any consideration of private

harm.” Jd. at 1318.

In this case, the USDA officials involved have previously

indicated their willingness to abide by the newly issued Techni-

cal Guidance Memo from the OFCC which incorporates the

interpretation of Revised Order Number 4 that plaintiffs advo-

cate. Thus, the relief requested will not work any intolerable

burden on these officials. Moreover, vigorous enforcement of

the executive order and regulations should produce significantly

expanded employment opportunities for minority groups and

women, and to the extent that truly equal employment opportu-

nities are created, all elements of the population and the

government itself will benefit. Hence, footnote 11 of the Larson

opinion does not create any additional obstacle to either the

court’s jurisdiction or the relief sought by plaintiffs.

10Since the employment opportunities that would be

provided by strict enforcement of the executive order and

(footnote continued on following page)

A-54

1310 (9th Cir. 1969) (ultra vires exception applies where

plaintiffs alleged federal officials acted beyond their delegated

authority by violating a plain legal duty). See also Adams v.

Richardson, supra.

Finally, defendants argue that the executive order does not

create a private right of action against either government

Officials or private contractors, relying on Blaze v. Moon, 440

F.2d 1348 (Sth Cir. 1971); Gnotta v. United States, 415 F.2d

1271 (8th Cir. 1969), cert. denied, 397 U.S. 934, 90 S.Ct. 941,

25 L.Ed.2d 115 (1970); Farkas v. Texas Instrument, Inc.,

supra; Farmer v. Philadelphia Electric Co., 329 F.2d 3 (3d Cir.

1964); and CORE v. Commissioner, 270 F.Supp. 537

(D.Md.1967). These cases were private suits by individuals

seeking relief from or employment with specific government

contractors, using various theories employing Executive Order

11246. The present action, however is a suit against the

Officials of the federal compliance agencies to require them to

comply with their statutory enforcement duties. See Adams v.

Richardson, supra. None of the plaintiffs in this action seeks a

particular job with a specific contractor. Indeed. the action is

solely directed against federal officials vested with enforcement

duties under Executive Order 11246. Without indicating any

approval of the holdings in those cases cited by defendants.

they are simply inapplicable to this action.

Defendants also argue that plaintiffs have failed to exhaust

their administrative remedies set out in 41 C.F.R. § 60-1.21 et

seq. (1973). The regulations in question provide that, “|a]ny

employee of any contractor or applicant for employment with

(footnote concluded from preceding page)

regulations have a value well in excess of $10,000, jurisdiction

also exists under the general federal question statute.

A-55

such contractor may, ... file in writing a complaint of alleged

discrimination in violation of the equal opportunity clause.” 41

C.F.R. § 60-1.21 (1973). The regulations go on to prescribe

the proper place to file the complaint, § 60-1.22, its contents,

§ 60-1.23, procedures for investigating and informally resolving

the complaint, § 60-1.24, hearings in appropriate cases, § 60-

1.26, and authority where necessary to impose the sanctions

described in subsections 209(a)(1), (5), and (6) of Executive

Order 11246, which include cancellation of government con-

tracts. 41 C.F.R. § 60-1.27 (1973). See also 41 C.F.R. § 60-

1.26(b)(2)(v) (1973). It is undisputed that none of the

named plaintiffs have filed such complaints against any of the

29 contractors’! whose affirmative action programs are before

the court.

[5] Defendants’ argument, however, is based on a mis-

conception of the nature of this action which was discussed

previously in considering defendants’ claim that no private night

of action exists under the executive order. Plaintiffs have

steadfastly insisted, and the court is persuaded, that the crux of

this action is not complaints of specific acts of discrimination

against the named private contractors. Rather, it is based upon

the failure of the federal compliance agencies to require federal

contractors to undertake meaningful affirmative action in the

employment of minorities and women. The complaint proce-

dure outlined above is designed only to deal with complaints by

individuals against the actions of specific companies. The

regulations contain no administrative procedures for challeng-

ing the actions of the federal enforcement agencies themselves.

There are no remedies for plaintiffs to exhaust in this area.

Nevertheless, plaintiffs did file an extensive memorandum

with exhibits attached with defendants on September 5, 1973,

to which defendants have made no direct response. The

memorandum specifically presented plaintiffs’ claims that the

27 (now 29) affirmative action programs were deficient in

11 See note 12, infra.

A-56

virtually every significant respect. These claims form the

substance of plaintiffs subsequently noticed motion for sum-

mary judgment, to which the court now turns.

IV

The essence of plantiffs’ motion fer partial summary

judgment is that each of the 29 affirmative action programs12

approved by the USDA in Alameda County during the period

from August, 1972, to January, 1973, was in violation of the

legal requirements for such programs as set out in the appli-

cable regulations, particularly Revised Order Number 4, 41

C.F.R. Part 60-2 (1973).

[6] Since defendants admit that the affirmative action

programs of all 29 contractors were initially reviewed and

approved by the USDA during the period specified above, the

remaining issues before the court are: (1) whether the pro-

grams so approved were in substantial compliance with Revised

Order Number 4, and (2) if not, whether the failure of the

USDA to enforce the regulations and orders issued pursuant to

Executive Order 11246, is excusable, precluding entry of sum-

mary judgment and the relief sought by plaintiffs.

Plaintiffs have made a thorough and convincing showing

that each of the 29 affirmative action programs approved by the

USDA for Alameda County contractors in in violation of the

regulations in one or more of the following respects: (1) they

contain inadequate utilization analyses which are designed to

'2 As noted above, defendants originally supplied plaintiffs

with 27 affirmative action programs approved by the USDA for

Alameda County contractors during 1972-1973. In response to

this motion for summary judgment, defendants submitted

additional materials in connection with the 27 programs pre-

viously supplied and two additional programs of Alameda

County contractors approved during the same general time

period—Coca-Cola Bottling Co. and Sunshine Biscuits. Inc.

Plaintiffs then modified their claims for relief to include all 29 of

the affirmative action programs which are before the court.

A-57

show each job category in which the contractor is deficient in

the utilization of minority persons and women, 41 C.F.R. § 60-

2.11 (1973), (2) they fail to establish adequate goals and

timetables designed to correct each deficiency within the min-

imum period necessary, 41 C.F.R. §§ 60-2.10, 60-2.12 & 60-

1.20(b) (1973); and (3) they fail to include additional in-

gredients required by Revised Order Number 4, 41 C.F.R.

§ 60-2.13 (1973).

1. Inadequate Utilization Analyses

Revised Order Number 4 requires that each affirmative

action program contain a detailed and specific utilization

analysis showing each job category in which the contractor is

deficient in the utilization of minorities and women.'? The

relevent portion of the regulation provides:

Affirmative action programs must contain the following

information:

(a) An analysis of all mojor job classifications at the

facility, with explanation if monorities or women are

currently being underutilized in any one or more job

classifications (job “classification” herein meaning one or a

group of jobs having similar content, wage rates and

opportunities). ‘“Underutilization” is defined as having

fewer minorities or women in a particular job classification

than would reasonably be expected by their availability.

In making the work force analysis, the contractor shall

conduct such analysis separately for minorities and wom-

en.

41 C.F.R. § 60-2.11 (1973).

This utilization analysis is the basic element of the affirma-

tive action program since it identifies the job categories in which

13 This utilization analysis must be done for every minority

group exceeding 2% or more of the labor area and women.

Technical Guidance Memo. supra, at (4) Underutilization

Analysis.

A-58

more minorities and women must be hired in order to meet the

affirmative action requirements of Executive Order 11246.

Plaintiffs contend that by virtue of the eight separate factors

required by Revised Order Number 4 to be considered by the

contractor in determining whether minorities or women are

being underutilized in any job classification,'4 a proper utili-

zation analysis by a contractor requires five stages: first, a

determination of the appropriate labor area; second, a factual

analysis of each of the eight factors; third, based on that

analysis, a determination of the availability of minorities and

women for employment within that category; fourth, the con-

tractor must set forth the ethnic and sexual composition of his

current work force within that category; and fifth, if the

441 C.F.R. § 60-2.11(a) (1973) provides:

(1) In determining whether minorities are being

underutilized in any job classification the contractor will

consider at least all of the following factors:

(1) The minority population of the labor area

surrounding the facility:

(ii) The size of the minority unemployment force

in the labor area surrounding the facility;

(iii) The percentage of the minority work force

as compared with the total work force in the imme-

diate labor area;

(iv) The general availability of minorities having

requisite skills in the immediate labor area:

(v) The availability of minorities having requi-

site skills in an area in which the contractor can

reasonably recruit;

(vi) The availability of promotable and transfer-

able minorities within the contractor’s organization:

(vii) The existence of training institutions ca-

pable of training persons in the requisite skills; and

(viii) The degree of training which the contractor

is reasonably able to undertake as a means of making

all job classes available to minorities.

41 C.F.R. § 60-2.11(a)(2) (1973) requires the contractor to

consider the same eight factors in determining whether women

are being underutilized in any job classification.

A-59

percentage of minorities or women available in any category

exceeds the percentage of minorities or women employed in

that category, the contractor must designate that category as a

deficiency category. Plaintiffs concede that most of the affirma-

tive action programs submitted contain the fourth stage—the

ethnic and sexual composition of the contractor’s work force.

However, they claim none of the programs contains an ade-

quate analysis of the other four stages.

Plaintiffs first contend that the Alameda County con-

tractors define the appropriate labor area to minimize the

available minority percentages, and that they use inconsistent

and contradictory definitions of the relevant labor area. For

example, Southern Alameda County contractors frequently

exclude the predominately urban nonwhite areas in the north-

ern part of the county within commuting distance from the

_ labor area definition, while the Northern Alameda County

contractors define the relevant labor area as the entire San

Francisco-Oakland Standard Metroplitan Statistical Area

(SMSA )‘5 which contains a lower minority population than the

local area. Some of the programs contain no definition of the

relevant labor area.

Defendants do not deny that the definitions of relevant

labor areas approved are contradictory or that they minimize

‘the minorities available. They claim only that plaintiffs are

seeking a definition of the labor area which exaggerates the

relevant minority population. Revised Order Number 4 re-

quires that the contractor use the “immediate labor area” or the

“labor area surrounding the facility” to define the relevant

‘labor area. 41 C.F.R. § 60-2.11 (1973). As explicated by

defendant Davis, “Both terms refer to the local area within

which the contractor can reasonably expect people to com-

mute.” Statement of Philip J. Davis, Director, OFCC, issued

August 8, 1973. Defining the labor area as roughly the

15 The San Francisco-Oakland SMSA includes all of San

Francisco, Contra Costa, Marin, and San Mateo Counties.

A-60

commuting area thus substantiates plaintiffs’ position that de-

fendants have uniformly approved definitions both over-

inclusive and underinclusive which raise serious questions about

the minority percentages obtained thereby.

Defendants do not dispute plaintiffs’ contention that none

of the USDA approved programs contains an analysis of the

eight factors for any job category, a contention which receives

support from the OFCC’s own “Technical Guidance Memo No.

1 on Revised Order No. 4.” [Technical Guidance Memo] '6 For

example, the Memo states that the required utilization analysis

should include “evaluation of opportunities through training

and recruitment” as part of an expanded concept of occupa-

tional availability. 17

16 Defendants object to any reliance on the Technical

Guidance Memo, issued February 22, 1974. (see note 8, supra)

to show that the Alameda County programs were in non-

compliance with Revised Order Number 4 and therefore illegal

when approved by the USDA, since the Technica’ Guidance

Memo was promulgated subsequent to the approvals in ques-

tion. The Technical Guidance Memo, however, does not

purport to be anything more than a clarification of the stan-

dards contained within Revised Order Number 4 which have

been in effect throughout the period when the approvals were

granted. To this extent, it merely supports plaintiffs’ position

regarding what Revised Order Number 4 always required, and

indicates that the USDA applied improper standards and

criteria under Revised Order Number 4.

Plaintiffs’ showing is complete without any need to resort to the

Technical Guidance Memo, and some of the deficiencies cited

by plaintiffs are independent of any particular set of standards,

for example, the USDA’s approval of programs with inconsist-

en

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition — Chamber of Commerce of the United States v. Legal Aid Society of Alameda County · 447 U.S. 921 | Frix