Petition — United States Postal Service v. United Parcel Service, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1980

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

79-1386

No. ¥ ¥. ff iy AFY

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE, PETITIONER

Vv.

UNITED PARCEL SERVICE, INC., ET AL.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE THIRD CIRCUIT

WADE H. McCCREE, JR.

Solicitor General

ALICE DANIEL

Assistant Attorney General

PETER BUSCEMI

Assistant to the Solicitor General

BARBARA L. HERWIG

BURTON D. FRETZ

Attorneys

Department of Justice

Washington, D.C. 20530

Page

hs da ctckatnbawinsncsamiigsiinshconiem 1

Nee ciaenuutensnnnsinene 1

I i icc icceniisavetanniinnivnewnnnnennsiie 2

as taamccieneaseunsenenensnteenes 2

SE Se 3

Reasons for granting the petition .................... 11

Conclusion .........- Re ali rie aie acraicipeaalensenkasnmnnenvelnics 21

Sk ie REE la

CL EN SE 5la

gh a A 53a

eis dniccirwisinmrenmesanhanorcnscen 55a

RRS RSE SEES A 116a

CITATIONS

Case:

United Telegraph Workers, AFL-CIO v.

I ID oniseccsecnscccsmccnncntannsanen 14

Statutes and regulations:

Administrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C.

551 et seq.

ca ncacsconeiaesomienaniiin 5

oats saatanoniadunn 5

Postal Reorganization Act, Pub. L. No.

91-375, Section 11(b), 84 Stat. 785...... 8,9

Postal Reorganization Act, 39 U.S.C. 101

lc iidectiicessnceemencanicesesmensesee 3

1

Statutes and regulations—Continued Page

BR I a cicicassounibiniceanitoiasnccsine 3

5 | Se SRE atone ae 3

Be MID | wckcietcnsicwtasnerconocisensee 3

Be NED aincedccsctngaacesnaisucesnse 3

I I i. scisnsnandesonmveunuriat 3

BP Ty BED sicccennccnsesicciceccceomn 10, 14

Be Ry NOD oovciciiedctncncass 2,10, 11, 14

Pe a, MED icnircsetecscncescancnevesnie 8

en, MN pebcsvasecncteenesoscoreencnane 20

8 oh , eee 4

Be Ie ac iceneccasessonvasstscnesonns 4

iP oe en 4

RS SE nn 8,15

Be Pa, PD eiissictinssecinsncinccivensrcwsse 2

Be Re NE cicieninitecerccdccemes 4,9, 15, 16

39 U.S.C. 3622(b) (8) :.........-..........---. 15

IRS |) cee 9

Bie. oye. | eee ren 8

BM iicrieciavsssceenssinicncanceiinn 8,19

Be TAR ETD aoc cisgiccinweenedecweesicnnns 3

et APM IEEE) caenecesncdccs sess censoneseius 5, 9, 16

So U.oAx Beenie) (6)... 9

Be ee HI sitethseee chen ico tacecatecindn 16,17

Be SP NONE evista 5

BP? Oe | | Cena aCe 5

Be I ae cece Sacco visitediac cacdnceacits 5

BP Ree ITED cecieictdnccincatnsinsvnsivenss 6

ee III ciivnicinnsnachesceinicicrensdenccuna'se 5, 6

BF A IIIT Sachs cdc sscoeeicuscrenenciecndecinse 19

re rr ID Sacral eecesertnines 20

39 U.S.C. (1964 ed.) 504(a) -...00000... 14

SP RAI ME eh ices aieasntecntdonseieusionvans 4

i,k) ae 4

Ill

Statutes and regulations—Continued

89 C.F.R, 221.6(d) (1)

89 C.F.R. Part 3001 ..-.---n-.-ocseoccecoceeo-e--

89 C.FLR. 3001.54 (8) .-.-----nc--ccecncecoceeoceeoe--

Miscellaneous:

116 Cong. Rec. 19844 (1970) 22.02...

116 Cong. Rec. 20491-20492 (1970) ........

GB FOG. Te, GEIST CIETY wnsicccevencccescvcs.

H.R. Rep. No. 91-1104, 91st Cong., 2d

BNI: 0 RIIIT Dias viniecahaccieinccenmisinianerannsaateniiiens

1 Moore’s Federal Practice (2d ed. 1979)..

S. Rep. No. 91-912, 91st Cong., 2d Sess.

PIPE kaos asin cestianeaclosb tats niainaonadcqnambneneith

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

No.

UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE, PETITIONER

Vv.

UNITED PARCEL SERVICE, INC., ET AL.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE THIRD CIRCUIT

The Solicitor General, on behalf of the United

States Postal Service, petitions for a writ of certio-

rari to review the judgment of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (App. A, infra,

la-50a) is reported at 604 F.2d 1370. The opinion

of the district court (App. D, infra, 55a-115a) is

reported at 455 F. Supp. 857.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals (App. B,

infra, 51a-52a) was entered on August 7, 1979, and

(1)

2

a petition for rehearing was denied on October 9,

1979 (App. C, infra, 58a-54a). On December 28,

1979, Mr. Justice Brennan extended the time for

filing a petition for a writ of certiorari to and in-

cluding March 7, 1980 (App. E, infra, 116a). The

jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

1254(1).

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the Postal Service may conduct a limited,

temporary marketplace experiment to test the feasi-

bility and desirability of possible changes in mail

rates or classifications, without first obtaining the

approval of the Postal Rate Commission in accord-

ance with the statutory procedures applicable to

permanent changes in rates or classifications.

STATUTES INVOLVED

39 U.S.C. 403(a) provides in pertinent part:

The Postal Service shall plan, develop, pro-

mote and provide adequate and efficient postal

services at fair and reasonable rates and fees.

aa

39 U.S.C. 3622(a) provides:

From time to time the Postal Service shall re-

quest the Postal Rate Commission to submit a

recommended decision on changes in a rate or

rates of postage or in a fee or fees for postal

services if the Postal Service determines that

such changes would be in the public interest and

in accordance with the policies of this title. The

Postal Service may submit such suggestions for

rate adjustments as it deems suitable.

3

89 U.S.C. 3623(b) provides:

Following the establishment of the [initial]

mail classification schedule * * *, the Postal Serv-

ice may from time to time request that the Com-

mission submit, or the Commission may submit

to the Governors on its own initiative, a recom-

mended decision on changes in the mail classifi-

cation schedule.

STATEMENT

1. The Postal Reorganization Act of 1970, 39

U.S.C. 101 et seg., abolished the Post Office Depart-

ment and created the United States Postal Service as

“an independent establishment of the executive branch

of the [federal] Government” (39 U.S.C. 201). The

Act provides that an 11-member Board of Governors

shall direct the exercise of the Service’s powers. 39

U.S.C. 202. Nine Governors (no more than five of

whom may be adherents of the same political party)

are apnointed by the President with the advice and

consent of the Senate. They serve staggered nine-

year terms. The Governors in turn appoint the Post-

master General, who is the Service’s chief executive

officer and serves as a member of the Board. To-

gether, the Governors and the Postmaster General

appoint the Board’s eleventh member, the Deputy

Postmaster General. 39 U.S.C. 202(c), (d), 203.

By regulation promulgated under authority dele-

gated by the Board of Governors, the Postal Serv-

ice has established its Executive Committee, the

“organization through which the Postmaster General

and his top staff collectively consider and act on major

policy, planning, and other management control mat-

4

ters.” 39 C.F.R. 221.5(d)(1). The Executive Com-

mittee is composed of the Postmaster General, the

Deputy Postmaster General, seven Assistant Post-

masters General, the Chief Postal Inspector, and the

General Counsel.

The Reorganization Act created the Postal Rate

Commission in addition to the Postal Service. Like

the Service, the Commission is an “independent estab-

lishment of the executive branch of the [federal]

Government” (39 U.S.C. 3601). The Commission is

composed of five Commissioners (no more than three

of whom may be adherents of the same political

party) appointed by the President with the advice and

consent of the Senate. The Commissioners serve stag-

gered six-year terms.

In a subchapter entitled “Permanent Rates and

scribes the respective roles of the Governors and

the Commission in “establish[ing] reasonable and

equitable classes of mail and reasonable and equi-

table rates of postage and fees for postal service”

(39 U.S.C. 3621). Typically, the Postal Service, after

considering the available data and obtaining authori-

zation from the Board of Governors (see 39 C.F.R.

3.4(h), (i)), submits a proposed permanent change

in rates or mail classifications to the Commission and

requests the Commission to forward a recommended

decision on the proposal to the Governors. In evalu-

ating such a proposed change, the Commission must

consider the specific factors enumerated in 39 U.S.C.

3622(b) (changes in rates or fees) or 39 U.S.C.

lasses of Mail," 239 U.S.C, 3621-3628, the Act de-

5

3623(c) (changes in the mail classification schedule).

Before reaching its recommended decision, the Com-

mission is required, under 39 U.S.C. 3624(a), to

afford the Postal Service and users of the mails an

opportunity for a public hearing on the record, in

accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, 5

U.S.C. 556 and 557. The recommended decision trans-

mitted from the Commission to the Governors must

“include a statement specifically responsive to the

criteria established under section 3622 or 3623, as

the case may be.” 39 U.S.C. 3624(d).

On receiving a recommended decision from the

Commission, the Governors must choose one of the

options provided in 39 U.S.C. 3625. The Governors

may (a) approve the decision and order it into effect;

(b) allow the decision to take effect under protest

and either (1) seek judicial review under 39 U.S.C.

3628 or (2) return the decision to the Commission for

reconsideration; or (c) reject the decision and permit

the Postal Service to resubmit its proposal for re-

consideration. If the Postal Service resubmits a re-

quested change, the Commission must render a fur-

ther recommended decision. At that stage, the

Governors may exercise any of the options previously

available or they may modify the Commission’s rec-

ommendation if they expressly find that

(1) such modification is in accord with the rec-

ord and the policies of this chapter, and (2) the

rates recommended by the Commission are not

adequate to provide sufficient total revenues so

that total estimated income and appropriations

6

will equal as nearly as practicable estimated total

costs.

39 U.S.C. 3625(d). Unless the Governors make these

findings, they may not order into effect a change in

rates or classifications not recommended by the Com-

mission. Judicial review of the Governors’ decision

to “approve, allow under protest, or modify” the Com-

mission’s recommendation is available in “any court

of appeals of the United States” at the instance of

an aggrieved party who appeared at the public hear-

ing conducted by the Commission. 39 U.S.C. 3628.

2. On September 26, 1977, the Executive Commit-

tee of the Postal Service approved the Local Parcel

Service Test Plan, a parcel post experiment designed

to test the feasibility and desirability of reduced

third- and fourth-class bulk postage rates, calculated

on a fixed fee per item basis, for mailings within a

single Bulk Mail Center service area. App. A, infra,

2a-4a; App. D, infra, 60a-62a; A. 17-27, 35-46." The

test program was not available to the public gen-

erally, but was limited to 20 volunteer shippers in five

metropolitan areas.”

The shippers agreed to provide a minimum daily

and weekly volume of qualified parcels, to segregate

those parcels from other mailings, and to place them

in appropriate containers. The Postal Service agreed

1“A ” refers to the appendix in the court of appeals.

2 The five areas were: Seattle, Washington; Dallas-Fort

Worth, Texas; Omaha, Nebraska; Boston, Massachusetts ; and

Washington, D.C. A list of the shippers involved is reprinted

at A. 49.

7

to determine the applicable postage rate by weighing

randomly selected samples of a shipper’s parcels. If

the average sample weight was five pounds or less,

the shipper paid $0.87 per parcel; if the average

weight was more than five pounds but not more than

20 pounds, the shipper paid $1.15 per parcel. These

rates were lower than those generally available to

Postal Service customers and were not tied to the

distance a particular parcel was mailed within the

designated service area. See App. D, infra, 6la &

n.7.

The experiment began in mid-October 1977 and was

scheduled to continue for approximately 12 months.

Shortly before the test began, its features and purposes

were described and discussed at a regularly sched-

ulvcl open meeting of the Board of Governors. 42 Fed.

Reg. 51727 (1977); A. 14, 50-52. The Postal Service

unde: cook the experiment in order to determine

whether it should request the Commission to recom-

mend permanent changes in rates and classes of mail

to the Governors. |

3. On October 20, 1977, respondents United Parcel

Service, Inc. of New York and United Parcel Service,

Ine. of Ohio filed this action in the United States

District Court for the Eastern District of Pennsyl-

vania. They alleged that they would “suffer a ma-

terial diversion of parcels and a consequent loss of

revenues” if the Postal Service were permitted to

proceed with the Local Parcel Service Test Plan

(A.9). Respondents sought a permanent injunction

against the experiment on two grounds. First, they

argued that the test program entailed a change in

8

rates and mail classifications that could become effec-

tive only if the Postal Service complied with the

procedures for obtaining a recommended decision

from the Postal Rate Commission in accordance with

39 U.S.C. 3622-3624. Second, respondents contended

that, by making favorable bulk postage rates avail-

able only to shippers participating in the experiment,

the Postal Service was unreasonably discriminating

among users of the mails, in violation of 39 U.S.C.

403(c).

Adopting the first of respondents’ arguments and

not reaching the second (see App. D, infra, 63a-64a

n.10), the district court granted permanent injunctive

relief. The court acknowledged that “as a matter of

pure policy the result advocated by the Postal Service

is more desirable’ (id. at 65a). Nevertheless, the

court held that the plain language of the statute

“compels the conclusion” that even “a reasonable,

limited, and temporary experiment * * * conducted

as a research and development activity” may be im-

plemented only through the Commission review pro-

cedure established by 39 U.S.C. 3622-3624. The court

reasoned that the experiment at issue here involves

a change in rates and mail classifications and there-

fore falls within the ambit of Sections 3622 and

3623.*° Although the court conceded that many of the

3 The district court attributed no significance to the heading

of the statutory subchapter in which Sections 3622 and 3623

appear. Aithough the heading indicates that the sections

apply only to “Permanent Rates and Classes of Mail,” the

court held (App. D, infra, 102a n.21) that Section 11(b) of

the Postal Reorganization Act, Pub. L. No. 91-375, 84 Stat.

9

criteria listed in Sections 3622(b) and 3623(c) “do

seem out of place when applied to experiments” (App.

D, infra, 107a), the court concluded that the “catch-

all provisions” in Sections 3622(b) (9) and 3623(c)

(6) might well afford the Commission sufficient flexi-

bility to conduct a meaningful review of test programs

proposed by the Postal Service. In any event, the dis-

trict court declared (App. D, infra, 110a):

It is not for us * * * to articulate the evi-

dentiary factors the Commission might consider

and to erect the procedural structure in which it

would conduct its review. Our role is confined

to determining whether, consistently with the

statutory purposes, Congress might reasonably

have intended, as the plain language suggests,

that the Postal Service go to the Postal Rate

Commission before any rate or mail classifica-

tions are changed, experimentally or otherwise.

A divided panel of the court of appeals affirmed

(App. A, infra, 1a-50a). Following the analysis of

the district court, the court of appeals ruled that “the

Act is completely unequivocal in requiring all changes

in any rates and any mail classification to be proc-

essed through and by the Commission” (id. at 13a).

The court asserted that, if limited experiments could

be conducted without Commission review, the Postal

785, precludes all use of such captions as a tool of statutory

construction. Section 11(b) provides:

An inference of a legislative construction is not to be

drawn by reason of a chapter in title 39, United States

Code, as enacted by section 2 of this Act, in which a

section is placed nor by reason of the caption or catchline.

10

Service would effectively be authorized “to make sub-

stantial de facto and unregulated changes in either

rates or mail classifications so long as the changes

made were neither ‘permanent’ nor ‘nationwide’ ” (id.

at 22a). The court assumed arguendo that the general

powers conferred on the Postal Service by 39 U.S.C.

401(10) and 403(a) are sufficient to permit market-

place experiments in furtherance of the Service’s

statutory obligation to “plan, develop, promote, and

provide adequate and efficient postal services.” But,

the court insisted (App. A, infra, 26a), “any pro-

posal which would effect a change in mail classifica-

tion or a rate, including a test or experiment em-

bodying those features, must be submitted to the

Rate Commission, no matter how experimental, tem-

porary, or limited in scope the change.”

Judge Higginbotham dissented (App. A, infra,

29a-50a). Emphasizing that both the statutory lan-

guage and the legislative history of the Reorganiza-

tion Act are silent on the question of rate and classifi-

cation experiments, Judge Higginbotham looked to

the overall purpose that the 1970 restructuring was

designed to achieve. He found that, in creating the

Postal Service, Congress intended to remedy past in-

efficiencies attributable to “a lack of managerial flexi-

bility and freedom” and “a lack of centralized con-

trol” (id. at 35a-36a). In Judge Higginbotham’s

view, “Congress went to considerable effort to give

the Postal Service full management authority” in

order to ensure that postal modernization would not

be obstructed by unnecessary administrative hurdles

11

(id. at 34a). In keeping with this overriding legisla-

tive goal, Judge Higginbotham concluded that the Act

does not bar the Postal Service from engaging in a

“modest and limited experiment * * * designed to

develop data on new techniques for the handling of

parcel post and the effect of different rates and classi-

fications” (id. at 30a, 41a). The dissenting judge

supported his conclusion by noting the incompatibility

of the Commission’s statutory review procedures with

test programs intended to collect information of the

very kind necessary for a meaningful hearing on the

desirability of particular rate or classification changes

(id. at 42a-45a).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The district court and the court of appeals have

misconstrued the Postal Reorganization Act in a way

that threatens to defeat the salutary purpose Con-

gress sought to achieve in its 1970 reform of the

postal system. If the Postal Service must seek a

recommended decision from the Rate Commission be-

fore it may conduct any marketplace experiments

involving rates or mail classifications, the Service will

be severely hampered in its efforts to “plan, develop,

promote, and provide adequate and efficient postal

services at fair and reasonable rates and fees.” 39

U.S.C. 403(a). As a practical matter, the Service

will be unable to gather the detailed emp? ical infor-

mation needed for reliable evaluation of potential

changes in the postal rate structure or mail classifi-

cation schedule. Review by this Court is necessary to

12

reinstate the division of administrative responsibility

established by Congress and thus to permit the Postal

Service to fulfill its statutory mandate unhindered by

bureaucratic obstacles of precisely the kind Congress

sought to eliminate in the 1970 Act.

1. A principal motivation for passage of the Postal

Reorganization Act was the congressional recognition

that the Post Office Department suffered under the

burden of “serious handicaps * * * imposed * * * by

certain legislative, budgetary, financial, and person-

nel policies that are outmoded, unnecessary, and in-

consistent with the modern management and business

practices that must be available if the American pub-

lic is to enjoy efficient and economical postal service

* * *” HR. Rep. No. 91-1104, 91st Cong., 2d Sess.

2 (1970). By abolishing the Department and creat-

ing a new, independent Postal Service, Congress hoped

to rid the mail system of inefficiencies attributable to

political interference and to a lack of effective, cen-

tralized management authority. The Senate Commit-

tee Report, for example, referred to “the obvious

requirement that postal management must now be

given the unfettered authority and freedom it has

been denied for years to maintain and operate an

efficient service.” S. Rep. No. 91-912, 91st Cong.,

2d Sess. 2 (1970). See also H.R. Rep. No. 91-1104,

supra, at 5; App. A, infra, 34a-38a (Higginbotham,

J., dissenting); 116 Cong. Rec. 19844 (1970) (re-

marks of Rep. Dulski, Chairman of the House Com-

mittee on Post Office and Civil Service) ; 7d. at 20491-

20492 (remarks of Rep. Hamilton).

13

The management authority and flexibility desired

by Congress are especially important in connection

with the development and timely modification of the

postal rate structure and mail classification schedule.

In the words of the House Committee (H.R. Rep. No.

91-1104, supra, at 5), “[t]he postal system needs, and

the American public deserves, a means of determining

and adjusting postal rates that is readily responsive

to changing economic conditions and that brings to

bear expert analysis and technical proficiency on the

highly intricate problems of ratemaking.” Indeed, both

the district court and the court of appeals in the

present case acknowledged that, as a policy matter,

the Postal Service should have the authority to test

possible rate or classification changes without under-

taking a formal administrative proceeding before the

Rate Commission. App. A, infra, 28a n.16; App. D,

infra, 65a, 114a. Both courts concluded, however,

that the statutory language adopted by Congress does

not confer such authority on the Service.

Congress itself perceived no such limitation on the

Service’s powers. The House Committee Report ex-

plicitly stated (H.R. Rep. No. 91-1104, supra, at 9):

“The Postal Service is required to develop and pro-

vide adequate and efficient postal service at fair and

reasonable rates * * *. The Postal Service is em-

powered to engage in research and development pro-

grams directed toward the expansion of present postal

service and the development of new services responsive

to the evolving needs of the United States.” The

Act contains not only a specific provision referring

14

to the Service’s duty to “plan, develop, promote, and

provide adequate and efficient postal services” (39

U.S.C. 403(a)) but also a general provision granting

the Service all “powers incidental, necessary, or ap-

propriate to the carrying on of its functions or the

exercise of its specific powers” (39 U.S.C. 401(10)).

This broad language is sufficient to comprehend the

limited parcel post experiment at issue here.*

2. No other provision in the Postal Reorganiza-

tion Act restricts the Service’s authority to conduct

limited, temporary experiments for the purpose of

gathering data concerning possible adjustments in

prevailing rates or classifications. The courts below

erred in attributing such a restrictive effect to 39

*At minimum, Congress’ repeatedly expressed intention

to grant postal managers greater authority supports the con-

clusion that the Reorganization Act should not be construed

to deny the Postal Service powers previously exercised by the

Postmaster General under the statutory scheme in effect

before 1970. Yet that is the consequence of the court of ap-

peals’ decision in this case. Under 39 U.S.C. (1964 ed.)

504(a), the Postmaster General was directed to “maintain

in the Department a research and development program, in-

cluding investigations and studies, for the purpose of intro-

ducing or improving equipment, supplies, methods, proce-

dures, means, and devices used in the Department in order

that its business may be more efficiently and economically

operated.” This provision was interpreted to authorize the

Post Office Department to “engag[e] in experiments as part

of a research and development program to improve the

economy and efficiency of its business.” United Telegraph

Workers, AFL-CIO v. FCC, 436 F.2d 920, 926 (D.C. Cir.

1970). As the court of appeals stated in that case (ibid.),

“the Post Office’s mandate to improve mai! service through

innovative techniques should not be frustrated by implied

or niggardly restrictions upon its authority.”

15

U.S.C. 3622 and 3623. The content and context of

those sections demonstrate that they are applicable

only to proposed permanent changes in the postal

rates and mail classification schedule governing

throughout the nation.

Even putting aside the subchapter heading ‘‘Perma-

nent Rates and Classes of Mail” in deference to the

congressional injunction that captions not be used

for purposes of statutory construction (see note 3,

supra), the provisions establishing the Postal Rate

Commission and describing its role and operation

show that the Commission was intended only to re-

view and regulate permanent changes in rates and

classifications, not to limit the day-to-day activities

of the Postal Service in ascertaining whether such

changes are necessary or desirable. Section 3622(b)

lists numerous factors that must be considered by the

Commission in reviewing a Postal Service request for

a recommended decision on a change in rates. These

criteria make sense only with respect to permanent

changes. For example, Section 3622(b)(3) requires

the Commission to ensure that “each class of mail or

type of mail service bear[s] the direct and indirect

postal costs attributable to that class or type plus

that portion of all other costs of the Postal Service

reasonably assignable to such class or type * * *.”

The detailed assignment of costs contemplated by this

provision is impossible in the context of a temporary

experiment. The critical information relevant to cost

allocation and the other factors listed in Section

3622(b) is not available until after the experiment

16

has been conducted. Indeed, experiments like the

Local Parcel Service Test Plan are designed and im-

plemented precisely for the purpose of obtaining

sufficient information to enable the Postal Service to

decide whether to request a rate change from the

Commission and, if so, what kind of change to pro-

pose. See App. A, infra, 42a-43a (Higginbotham, J.,

dissenting).

Like the substantive inquiries mandated by Sections

3622(b) and 3623(c), the formal hearing procedure

required by Section 3624 as a precondition to any

recommended decision by the Commission is out of

place in the context of a limited, temporary experi-

ment. The Section 3624 hearing requirement was de-

signed to ensure that all users of the mails have an

opportunity to be heard before permanent changes

in rates or mail classifications are implemented. The

elaborate procedural protections established by the

statute and the Commission’s regulations (see 39

C.F.R. Part 3001) are appropriate in that context,

but they cannot profitably be employed as a method

of screening test programs that the Service wishes

to use to collect data on possible future rate or classifi-

cation changes. In the first place, a formal Rate Com-

mission proceeding ordinarily requires several months.

Delay of this kind is antithetical to the success of

marketplace experiments.° Moreover, Postal Service

5In responding to the Postal Service’s argument concern-

ing the inapplicability of the Section 3624 hearing require-

.ment to a proposed experiment, the court of appeals’ major-

ity pointed to 39 C.F.R. 3001.54(s), a regulation in which the

17

competitors eager to thwart the development of new

and more efficient postal rates and services may well

use information obtained in a Section 3624 hearing to

skew the results of a proposed experiment by offering

special terms to shippers in an effort to discourage

their participation in the test program. Finally, as

Judge Higginbotham observed (App. A, infra, 43a-

44a), experiments, by their very nature, frequently

require modification in the course of their perform-

ance, but, if the court of appeals’ decision is per-

mitted to stand, such adjustments in the light of

initial experience will effectively be precluded by the

need to return to the Commission for a new and time-

consuming proceeding under Section 3624.

The Senate Report confirms the foregoing in-

terpretation of the Act derived from the statutory

language. The congressional draftsmen who created

the Postal Rate Commission never intended it to

pass on every temporary variation in rates or clas-

sifications undertaken in order to test possible im-

provements in the total services provided. That

is why, in discussing the Commission’s role, the

Senate Committee described in detail “[t]he rate-

making cycle” and noted that, in the version of the

Rate Commission has provided “a measure of relief” from

the administrative burdens ordinarily associated with formal

hearings on rate or classification changes. App. A, infra,

26a-27a. The regulation cited, however, authorizes only waiv-

ers of certain filing requirements and falls far short of

eliminating the major obstacles imposed by the court of ap-

peals’ ruling that a Section 3624 hearing is a prerequisite to

every marketplace experiment involving rates or mail classi-

fications.

18

Reorganization Act approved by the Committee, the

Postal Service was required to request “appropriate

changes in the rate structure * * * at least once every

2 years, unless the Board’s estimates of income and

costs are approximately in balance, and the Board

does not believe that a change would be in the public

interest” (S. Rep. No. 91-912, supra, at 14-15). The

Committee clearly was referring to permanent rate

changes applicable throughout the nation. That is the

only way to explain the Committee’s instructions that

the Rate Commission “recommend a decision on

changes in the rate structure which, when imple-

mented, will provide sufficient total revenue to bring

the total estimated income and appropriations of the

postal service into balance, as nearly as possible, with

the total estimated costs” (id. at 15). It is difficult

to believe that Congress intended such overall calcu-

lations to be made in connection with every limited

marketplace experiment of the kind at issue here.

38. As Judge Higginbotham’s dissenting opinion

persuasively demonstrates (App. A, infra, 44a-47a),

the Postal Service’s interpretation of its own statute

would not only contribute substantially to the efficient

functioning of the nation’s postal system but it would

do so without infringing the congressionally prescribed

prerogatives of the Rate Commission. Congress be-

lieved that establishment of the Commission was de-

sirable for several reasons: (1) to “ensure that postal

rates reflect[] not only management objectives but

also serve[] broader public purposes”; (2) to pre-

serve “some distance from the day-to-day operations

19

of the Postal Service” in order to facilitate “sound

business decisions on rates”; and (3) to guard against

political pressure on rate and classification determi-

nations. Ibid. None of these concerns is implicated

or jeopardized by the Postal Service’s conduct of the

limited experiment at issue in the present case.

Neither the court of appeals nor the district court

offered any support for the assertion that acceptance

of the Postal Service’s position “would permit un-

regulated changes in rates and mail classification at

any time and under any circumstances whereby less

than all members of the public were entitled to bene-

fits stemming from such changes” (App. A, infra,

17a-18a). In Judge Higginbotham’s apt characteri-

zation, “[t]his ‘logic’ is the worst example of the

parade of horribles” (id. at 48a). If the Postal Serv-

ice were to attempt to usurp the authority of the

Commission under the rubric of experimentation,

both a reviewing court and the Commission itself,

in the exercise of its power to deal with rate and

service complaints under 39 U.S.C. 3662, would be

equal to the task of halting actions inconsistent with

the fundamental statutory scheme. But the experi-

ment challenged by respondents is not such an at-

tempt, and the specter raised by the court of appeals’

majority is chimerical. Illusory predictions about

potential future excesses by the Postal Service should

not be permitted to produce a construction of the

Postal Reorganization Act that “shackle[s] and pre-

vent[s the Service] from pursuing * * * modest

20

experimentation * * * [in order] to provide the

American public with better service and its major

competitor with more robust competition” (id. at 30a).

4. This is the first case in which the Postal Serv-

ice’s authority to conduct marketplace experiments

independent of the Rate Commission has been chal-

lenged. Although there is no conflict among the

circuits, further review is essential at this time be-

cause the court of appeals’ decision is virtually cer-

tain to have a nationwide impact. None of the five

cities involved in the Local Parcel Service Test Plan

is located in the Third Circuit, and the propriety of

venue in the Eastern District of Pennsylvania did not

depend on whether any of the mailings affected by the

experiment was destined for an address in that dis-

trict.° Rather, under 28 U.S.C. 1891(e) and 39

U.S.C. 409(b), the choice of venue was apparently

justified on the ground that one of the respondent cor-

porations has “a place of business” in Philadelphia

(A. 3) and therefore “resides” in the Eastern Dis-

trict of Pennsylvania.” If federal courts may be

chosen on this basis, a conflict among the circuits is

likely never to arise on the question presented here.

® Indeed, the parties stipulated that none of the Bulk Mail

Center service areas involved in the experiment included any

states or parts of states within the Third Circuit. A. 31.

7 Professor Moore reports that the question “whether a

plaintiff corporation may claim residence for venue purposes

in any district in which it is doing business has produced a

split of authority” among the federal district courts. See

1 Moore’s Federal Practice {| 0.142[7], at 1450.2 & n.19 (2d ed.

1979), and cases there cited.

‘

é

21

Major competitors of the Postal Service operate na-

tionwide and therefore would presumably challenge

any future Postal Service experiment in the Third

Circuit. Accordingly, the prospects for appellate re-

view elsewhere are bleak, even assuming the Postal

Service could construct other experiments like the

Local Parcel Service Test Plan that do not involve

any mailings to or from the Third Circuit. Because

of the practical importance of the question pre-

sented to the Postal Service and its nationwide im-

plications, the final determination should not be left

to a divided panel of a single court of appeals.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be

granted.

Respectfrtiy submitted.

WADE H. McCREE, JR.

Solicitor General

ALICE DANIEL

Assistant Attorney General

PETER BUSCEMI

Assistant to the Solicitor General

BARBARA L. HERWIG

BURTON D. FRETZ

Attorneys

MARCH 1980

tle cnt AL sine iE a ai ale thao aie eae

COA

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 78-2390

UNITED PARCEL SERVICE, INC.,

a New York Corporation,

and

UNITED PARCEL SERVICE, INC., an Ohio Corporation

v.

UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE, APPELLANT

Argued March 26, 1979

Decided Aug. 7, 1979

Before GARTH, HIGGINBOTHAM, Circuit Judges,

and SCHWARTZ,* District Judge. Circuit Judge

Higginbotham dissented and filed an opinion.

GARTH, Circuit Judge.

This is an appeal from a final order of the district

court which permanently enjoined the defendant

United States Postal Service (hereafter Postal Serv-

ice) from engaging in a parcel post experiment un-

til it obtained approval from the Postal Rate Com-

mission, in compliance with 39 U.S.C. §§ 3622-25.

We affirm.

* Sitting by designation.

2a

I

In 1970 Congress enacted the Postal Reorganiza-

tion Act of 1970, 39 U.S.C. §§ 101 et seg. The Act

created the Postal Service as an independent unit of

the executive branch, 39 U.S.C. § 201. It also created

the Postal Rate Commission as a separate independent

establishment, 39 U.S.C. § 3601.

The Postal Service is governed by a Board of

Governors, 39 U.S.C. § 202, which pursuant to 39

U.S.C. § 402 established an Executive Committee.

The Executive Committee is comprised of the Post-

master General, the Deputy Postmaster General, var-

ious Assistant Postmasters General, the Chief Postal

Inspector, and the General Counsel. 39 C.F.R. § 221.5

(d) (1) [1978].

On September 26, 1977 the Executive Committee

in accordance with the duty imposed upon the Postal

Service to “plan, develop, promote, and provide ade-

quate and efficient postal services at fair and reason-

able rates and fees,” 39 U.S.C. § 403(a), approved

implementation of a parcel post experiment called

the Local Parcel Service Test Plan. A detailed de-

scription of the Plan may be found in the district

court’s opinion, United Parcel Service v. United

States Postal Service, 455 F.Supp. 857, 861-62 (E.D.

Pa. 1978). Suffice it to say that the Postal Service

in mid-October 1977 instituted a twelve-month bulk

mailing experiment to test the cost and service feasi-

bility of charging a fixed fee per item for each item

mailed by twenty selected shippers, rather than cal-

culating the amount of postage by weighing each

3a

individual parcel. Twenty selected shippers in five

metropolitan communities * entered into contracts with

the Postal Service whereby each guaranteed a mini-

mum mailing volume of 50 pieces per day and 250

pieces per week. Delivery of the items was limited

to the geographic area covered by the Postal Service

Bulk Mail Facility serving the shipper (intra-BMC

delivery). Under the test plan eligible articles were

(1) items mailable as parcel post and (2) third class

single piece mail. ‘“Nonmachineable outsides” (i.e.,

parcels of unusual dimensions which require hand pro-

_cessing) were not eligible articles. The articles had

to be containerized, addressed for delivery in the

BMC service area and all special service parcels had

to be isolated.

Sample weighings of randomly selected items in

the bulk shipment were used to determine the aver-

age weight of all items. The cost of mailing each

‘tem was based on the average weight thus deter-

mined. The cost to the shipper of mailing 50 or

more items averaging five pounds or less was 87

cents per item. The cost per item when average

item weight was over five, but under twenty, pounds

was $1.15 per item. This fixed-fee postage payment

system eliminated the need to calculate postage in-

dividually on each parcel. In any event, the cost of

mailing an item under the test plan differed sub-

stantially from the cost of mailing the same item by

regular parcel post under the rates and mail classi-

1 Seattle, Dallas-Ft. Worth, Omaha, Boston and Washing-

ton, D.C.

4a

fication schedule then in effect. 455 F.Supp. at 861

n.7, Exhibit 2, Appendix at 47.

United Parcel Service (hereafter UPS), the plain-

tiff in this action, is a private parcel delivery service.

UPS, complaining that the Postal Service had no

authority under statute or regulation for conducting

such an experiment, commenced an action in the

Eastern District of Pennsylvania seeking to enjoin

the Postal Service test.

The Postal Service, however, asserting that its

test involved neither a change in rates nor a change

in classification of mail within the meaning of 39

U.S.C. §8§ 3622-28, claimed that such a Plan did not

require submission to approval by, or authorization

of the Rate Commission.”

The Postal Service and UPS submitted the issues

to the district court on a stipulation of facts together

with certain exhibits and affidavits. Although ex-

pressing its belief that “as a matter of pure policy

the result advocated by the Postal Service is more

desirable . .. .” 455 F.Supp. at 863, the district

court held that the test plan effected a change in a

postal rate and a mail classification. Agreeing with

2 At no time did the Postal Service contend that the rates

charged to the shippers participating in the test plan were

the same rates then being charged for regular parcel post

mailings. Nor has it urged that the classifications under the

test plan for the twenty selected shippers were the same as

the prevailing classifications established for all other ship-

pers. Nor has the Postal Service ever argued that Rate Com-

mission approval would not be required if it sought to insti-

tute any feature of its test plan or the test plan itself on a

permanent nationwide basis.

5a

UPS, it thereupon entered an order on July 19, 1978

which “. . . permanently enjoined [the United States

Postal Service], from continuing in operation the

parcel post experiment known as the Service Test

Plan until such time as it has complied with the

provisions of 39 U.S.C. §§ 3622-25 (which we have

held applicable here).” The statutes which the dis-

trict court held to be applicable and with which the

Postal Service was obliged to comply would require

a recommended decision by the Rate Commission ap-

proving the test plan. This appeal followed.

II

Congressional dissatisfaction with postal ineffi- °

ciency reached a peak in 1970. It was then that

the Postal Service was established pursuant to the

Reorganization Act. Congressional declarations of

postal policy resulted in a direction that the Postal

Service be “operated as a basic and fundamental

service provided to the people. . .” 39 U.S.C. § 101

(a). At the same time, Congress commanded that

“Tp]ostal rates shall be established to apportion the

costs of all postal operations to all users of the mail

on a fair and equitable basis.” 39 U.S.C. § 101(d).

In order to eliminate any effect of policies and special

interest lobbying on rate-setting and mail classifica-

tion, Congress completely delegated its rate-setting

authority. The power to set rates of postage and to

establish classes of mail was vested in the nine Presi-

6a

dentially appointed Governors * of the Postal Service.

That power, however, was limited to the extent that

the Governors’ authority over rates and classifica-

tions could only be exercised after comprehensive re-

view and recommendation by the Postal Rate Com-

mission, the regulatory agency which Congress cre-

ated to oversee the ratemaking and mail classifica-

tion process.

The Postal Rate Commission is completely inde-

pendent of the Postal Service. It is comprised of five

Commissioners appointed by the President with the

advice and consent of the Senate. 39 U.S.C. § 3601.

The concept of the Postal Rate Commission in the

statutory scheme was described in the Senate Report

in these terms:

The bill [Postal Reorganization Act] provides

that the Postal Rate Commission shall be a body

fully independent of the Board of Governors and

fully independent of any influence whatsoever of

the Postmaster General or of members of his

staff. The Commission’s independence is con-

templated as being complete from the other arms

of the postal service, subject to no subordination

within the postal service either expressed or im-

plied. The limited circumstances under which a

339 U.S.C. §102(3). The Governors are appointed with

the advice and consent of the Senate and are to represent the

public interest in the exercise of the powers of the Postal

Service by the Board of Governors. The Board has eleven

members—the nine Governors plus the Postmaster General

and Deputy Postmaster General both of whom are officers

of the Postal Service and are appointed by the Governors.

89 U.S.C. § 202.

Ta

recommended rate decision made by the Commis-

sion may be modified by the Governors are care-

fully spelled out in the language of the bill.

It is expected that the Commission will work

in harmony with the Board of Governors, acting

in a timely and responsive manner to the Board’s

requests for recommended decisions for changes

in rates, fees and classifications.

In discharging the highly important responsi-

bilities vested in the Commission, it must exer-

cise its best judgment to insure that all postal

rates, fees, and classifications are reasonable and

equitable, and to insure that the rights of all

mail users are protected, throughout the rate-

making and classification process, by careful

consideration of all the specific public-interest

factors that the statute requires be taken into

account, and by faithful adherence to all of the

ratemaking and classification standards set forth

in the statute.

S. Rep. 91-912, 91st Cong., 2d Sess. at 13-14. In

establishing the “partnership” between the, Board of

Governors and the Rate Commission, the Senate Com-

mittee expressed a fear that:

if the Board of Governors were authorized to

control revenues, it would place them in a posi-

tion of some businesses in the private sector of

the eeonomy—pricing with one eye . . . over

their shoulder to the effect of the cost of an up-

coming labor-management agreement.

Id. at 13.

As an example of the need for independence of the

Rate Commission, the Senate Committee referred to

a proposal to raise first-class mail rates:

8a

The recent proposal for a 10-cent first-class

stamp in order to raise sufficient revenue to bal-

ance the books of the Post Office in one single

step is fair proof of that quest for catching up

with costs. Most of the money in the postal sys-

tem comes from first-class mail. A 100-percent

increase in the rates for all second-clas mail

would not produce as much revenue as a 5-

percent increase in the first-class rate. The temp-

tation to resolve the financial problems of the

Post Office by charging the lion’s share of all

operational costs to first class is strong; that’s

where the big money is. The necessity for pre-

venting that imposition upon the only class of

mail which the general public uses is one of the

reasons why the Postal Rate Commission should

be independent of operating management.

Id. at 18. It was the Senate’s view of the Rate Com-

mission which ultimately prevailed in conference and

consequently that view now finds its expression in

39 U.S.C. §§ 3621-28. The provisions of these stat-

utes implement the concepts deemed important by

the Senate Committee. Thus, after one of the most

extensive studies in the Committee’s history, S. Rep.

91-912 at 1, the postal legislation which was enacted

transferred from a burdened Congress to the Postal

Rate Commission the “highly intricate problems of

ratemaking.” It did so because the postal rate struc-

ture “need[ed] the fulltime skills of professional eco-

nomists, trained rate analysts, and the like.” H.

Rep. 91-1104, U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 1970,

p. 3649 supra, at 3654.

9a

The Postal Service, while recognizing that changes

in rates and mail classifications are committed for all

practical purposes to the Rate Commission, neverthe-

less argues before us that it was not obliged to sub-

mit its parcel post test plan to the Rate Commission.

Essentially it bases this argument on the assertion

that no changes in rates or mail classifications were

involved. Additionally it argues that a contrary in-

terpretation of the Act would be inconsistent with

Congressional intent to increase flexibility and Postal

Service control over postal operations.

III

39 U.S.C. § 3622 requires that any change in a

rate of postage be recommended by the Postal Rate

Commission.t There are nine specified factors in ad-

439 U.S.C. § 3622. Rates and Fees

(a) From time to time the Postal Service shall request

the Postal Rate Commission to submit a recommended

decision on changes in a rate or rates of postage or in a

fee or fees for postal services if the Postal Service deter-

mines that such changes would be in the public interest

and in accordance with the policies of this title. The

Postal Service may submit such suggestions for rate

adjustments as it deems suitable.

(b) Upon receiving a request, the Commission shall

make a recommended decision on the request for changes

in rates or fees in each class of mail or type of service in

accordance with the policies of this title and the follow-

ing factors:

(1) the establishment and maintenance of a fair and

equitable schedule;

(2) the value of the mail service actually provided

each class or type of mail service to both the sender and

10a

dition to the policies of the Act (see 39 U.S.C. § 101)

which the Commission is to consider in making its

recommendation, 39 U.S.C. § 83622 (b) (1)-(9).

Just as changes in rates are the subject of § 3622,

changes in mail classification are subject to the pro-

visions of § 3623.5 That section requires that any

the recipient, including but not limited to the collection,

mode of transportation, and priority of delivery ;

(3) the requirement that each class of mail or type

of mail service bear the direct and indirect postal costs

attributable to that class or type plus that portion of all

other costs of the Postal Service reasonably assignable

to such class or type;

(4) the effect of rate increases upon the general pub-

lic, business mail users, and enterprises in the private

sector of the economy engaged in the delivery of mail

matter other than letters;

(5) the available alternative means of sending and

receiving letters and other mail matter at reasonable

costs ;

(6) the degree of preparation of mail for delivery into

the postal system performed by the mailer and its effect

upon reducing costs to the Postal Service;

(7) simplicity of structure for the entire schedule and

simple, identifiable relationships between the rates or

fees charged the various classes of mail for postal

services ;

(8) the educational, cultural, scientific, and informa-

tional value to the recipient of mail matter, and

(9) such other factors as the Commission deems ap-

propriate.

5 39 U.S.C. § 3623. Mail Classification

(a) Within 2 years after the effective date of this

subchapter, the Postal Service shall request the Postal

Rate Commission to make a recommended decision on

ene

a Deaton sas

PE et Se ce Oe i

pester iti 2.

lla

establishing a mail classification schedule in accordance

with the provisions of this section.

(b) Following the establishment of the mail classifica-

tion schedule requested under subsection (a) of this

section, the Postal Service may from time to time request

that the Commission submit, or the Commission may sub-

mit to the Governors on its own initiative, a recom-

mended decision on changes in the mail classification

schedule.

(c) The Commission shall make a recommended deci-

sion on establishing or changing the schedule in accord-

ance with the policies of this title and the following

factors:

(1) the establishment and maintenance of a fair and

equitable classification system for all mail;

(2) the relative value to the people of the kinds of

mail matter entered into the postal system and the

desirability and justification for special classifications

and services of mail;

(3) the importance of providing classifications with

extremely high degrees of reliability and speed of de-

livery ;

(4) the importance of providing classifications which

do not require an extremely high degree of reliability and

speed of delivery ;

(5) the desirability of special classifications from the

point of view of both the user and of the Postal Service;

and

(6) such other factors as the Commission may deem

appropriate. °

(d) The Postal Service shall maintain one or more

classes of mail for the transmission of letters, sealed

against inspection. The rate for each such class shall be

uniform throughout the United States, its territories and

possessions. One such class shall provide for the most

expeditious handling and transportation afforded mail

matter by the Postal Service. No letter of such a class

of domestic origin shall be opened except under authority

of a search warrant authorized by law, or by an officer or

employee of the Postal Service for the sole purpose of

determining an address at which the letter can be de-

livered, or pursuant to the authorization of the addressee.

12a

change in mail classification be recommended or in-

itiated by the Postal Rate Commission. The policies

of the Act and six specified factors are to be con-

sidered by the Commission in recommending any such

classification change. 39 U.S.C. § 3623 (c) (1)-(6).

Tne Postal Service, contrary to the argument of

UPS, contends that the test plan at issue here does

not involve a “change” in any “rate” or “mail clas-

sification.” As such, the Postal Service asserts that

its test plan need not be submitted to the Rate Com-

mission, and it therefore need not obtain a recom-

mended decision of that body. We cannot agree.

A

The Postal Service claims that because §§ 3622-

23 do not by their express terms require a recom-

mended decision for the conduct of experiments, it

may experiment or test in the marketplace without

complying with the statutory requirements involving

submissions to the Rate Commission. The difficulty

with this argument is that while it is clear that

§§ 3622-23 do not expressly require Rate Commission

approval of Postal Service experiments, it is equally

clear that these statutes contain no express excep-

tion for experiments which involve changes in rates

and classifications.

We recognize that the Postal Service is under a

duty to “plan, develop, promote, and provide adequate

and efficient postal services at fair and reasonable

rates and fees.” 39 U.S.C. §403(a). In discharg-

ing its duty to plan and develop, we can understand

a hl AB Ria

13a

the desire of the Postal Service to institute test plans

or experiments so that postal efficiencies will result.

However, it is apparent that in fulfilling its duty to

“plan, develop [and] promote,” the Postal Service

is just as subject to the rate and classification -pro-

visions of Chapter 36 of the Act, 39 U.S.C. § 3601

et seq. as it is in fulfilling its duty “to provide ade-

quate and efficient postal services at fair and reason-

able rates and fees.” Under the Act no distinction

is made in favor of experiments or tests which in-

volve changes in rates or mail classification. Rather,

the Act is completely unequivocal in requiring all

changes in any rates and any mail classification to

be processed through and by the Commission. In such

a posture, the Postal Service argument which relies

on an absence of express terminology in the statute,

is less than compelling.

B

The Postal Service argues, however, that its parcel

post test does not involve any “rate” or “mail clas-

sification” let alone any “change” in any rate or mail

classification. According to the Postal Service, a

“rate” is only a “rate” when it applies and is avail-

able to the entire public at large. Conversely, claims

the Service, a “rate” is not a “rate” when it is re-

stricted to twenty selected shippers. Similarly, the

Service contends that a “mail classification” is not a

“mail classification” when it is limited to twenty

volunteer participants.

l4a

In advancing their respective arguments as to the

meaning of “rate’’, the Postal Service and UPS have

engaged in a definitional contest. Each has referred

us to varying definitions of “rate” which appear in

Black’s Law Dictionary, 4th Ed., at 1427-28.° Just

as the district court declined to enter such a fray, so

do we. The district court met this challenge to our

satisfaction by stating:

The common meaning of a “rate of postage” is

simply the fee the Postal Service charges for

processing, transporting, and delivering a par-

ticular type of mail. Similarly, the ordinary

understanding of a mail classification is nothing

more complex than a grouping of mail based on

established and shared criteria. See National

Retired Teachers Ass’n v. United States Postal

Service, 480 F.Supp. 141, 146 (D.D.C. 1977).

The usual interpretation of “change” is altera-

tion or making different.

455 F.Supp. at 863.

The wisdom of interpreting these statutory terms

in an “ordinary sense” and giving them an ordinary

and common meaning is borne out by reference to

other sections of the Act. For example, the Act

6 The Postal Service in referring to p. 1427 of Black’s Law

Dictionary, 4th Edition, claims that a rate is “a charge to the

public for a service open to all and upon the same terms.”

UPS, relying on p. 1428 of the same volume recites the

definition as follows: “As used in the interstate commerce

law, [the term rate] means the net cost to the shipper of the

transportation of his property; that is to say, the net amount

the carrier receives from the shipper and retains.”

loa

as it employs the particular terms involved here,

distinguishes between a rate of postage and an

amount ef postage: the “rate” being the charge for

a particular type of mail (i.e. one ounce of first class

mail for 15 cents) and the “amount of postage” being

the total charge assessed for any particular item of

mail at the prescribed rate (i.e.) three ounces of first

class mail at 15 cents results in an “amount of post-

age” of 45 cents).’ It is completely evident that the

amount of postage per item mailed under the test

plan was not in accordance with any existing rate

which had been recommended by the Rate Commis-

sion. Rather, the amount of postage prescribed under

the plan was determined only by applying a new rate

established by the Postal Service.

By the same token, it is the mail classification

which determines which rate of postage is applicable

to the particular item mailed. Thus, mail “classifica-

tion is a ‘grouping’ of mailing matter for the purpose

of assigning it a specific rate or method of handling.

7 Although the term “rate” is not specifically defined in the

Act, nor has it been defined in any of the earlier postal acts,

the use of that term prior to 1970 gives some Congressional

understanding to its content. For example, in 1967, 39 U.S.C.

§ 4253(a) prescribed postage on first class mail by stating

“.. [e]xcept as other wise provided ... the rate of postage

on first class mail weighing thirteen ounces or less is 6 cents

for each ounce or fraction of an ounce.” (Italics added).

See also 39 U.S.C. §§ 4808, 4858-59, 4862, 4422, 4452, 4554

and 4556-57 [1967]. These sections use the term “rate” in

the general sense of the method by which an amount of

postage due from the mailer is to be calculated, whether

that amount is calculated separately for each piece, as in

39 U.S.C. § 4253(a) (1967), or in bulk, as in 39 U.S.C.

§ 4422 (1967).

16a --

Relevant factors include size, weight, content, ease of

handling, and identity of both posting party and

recipient.” National Retired Teachers Ass’n v. United

States Postal Service, 430 F.Supp. 141, 147 (D.D.C.

1977), affirmed, 593 F.2d 1360 (D.C. Cir. 1979)

(footnote deleted).* Again, it is evident that the

Postal Service created de facto a new mail classifica-

tion by virtue of the criteria which it established

for participation in the plan, to wit, machineable,

containerized, fourth class mail delivered to the BMC

in lots of 50 items per day with an average weight

of 20 pounds or less and destined for delivery in the

BMC service area. Satisfaction of these criteria en-

titled the mailer to the fixed fee rate for calculating

the amount of postage outlined above.

The Act grants the Governors the exclusive and non-

delegable authority to establish “classes of mail” and

“rates of postage,” 39 U.S.C. §§ 402, 3621, but only

after the Governors have received a recommended de-

cision from the Postal Rate Commission. The Postal

Service, on the other hand, is only vested with the

8 Again, although the term “class” or “classification” has

not been specifically defined in this or prior acts, it is evident

from its usage prior to 1970 that the term simply means a

grouping of mail on the basis of shared physical criteria.

For example, prior to 1970, first class mail was “mailable

(1) postal cards, (2) post cards, (3) matter wholly or par-

tially in writing or typewriting .. ., (4) bills and statements

of account, and (5) matter closed against postal inspection.”

39 U.S.C. § 4251 [1967]. The size and weight limitations ap-

plied to that class were “one hundred inches in length and

girth combined” and seventy pounds. 39 U.S.C. § 4252,

[1967]. See also 39 U.S.C. §§ 4301, 4351, 4421, 4451 and

4551 [1967] establishing criteria for other mail classifications.

Oe eee

17a

power “to prescribe, in accordance with this title, the

amount of postage and the manner in which it is to

be paid,” 39 U.S.C. § 404(a) (2). It is thus evident

that the amount of postage collected by the Postal

Service on any particular piece of mail or parcel must

be prescribed in accordance with established rates

of postage and established classes of mail. Pursuant

to UPS’s argument therefore, it would appear that by

the institution of its test plan the Postal Service estab-

lished not only a new classification but also a new

rate for that classification. In so doing, UPS claims,

the Service has usurped the function assigned by

Congress to the Rate Commission and the Governors.

The Postal Service contends, however, that under

the Act the terms “rate” and “mail classification” only

apply to a service made available to all members of

the public on the same terms. If the service is not so

available, i.e., if it is restricted to only a portion of

the public, then the Service claims that the charges

imposed do not constitute a rate and the criteria

employed for plan participation do not constitute a

mail classification. Hence, the Service argues that

anything short of such nationwide availability of a

service (such as restricting availability to twenty

selected voluntary shippers) does not trigger the

rate and mail classification regulatory provisions of

Chapter 36 of the Act. It therefore concludes that

it may proceed with its test plan without prior re-

course to the Rate Commission.

We reject this argument. In essence this position

taken by the Postal Service would permit unregulated

changes in rates and mail classification at any time

18a

and under any circumstances whereby less than all

members of the public were entitled to benefits stem-

ming from such changes. We have been shown noth-

ing in the Act which supports the distinction on which

the Postal Service relies and we can find no authori-

zation for such a construction of the Act. To the

contrary, the Act specifically proscribes the Postal

Service from discriminating among its users. 39

U.S.C. § 403(c) reads:

In providing services and in establishing clas-

sifications, rates, and fees under this title, the

Postal Service shall not, except as specifically au-

thorized in this title, make any undue or unrea-

sonable discrimination among users of the mails,

nor shall it grant any undue or unreasonable

preferences to any such user.

As recited earlier, we have found, and the Postal

Service has pointed to, no exception which would

authorize a test plan such as the one instituted here,

in derogation of this section.

While we need not, and do not, decide that a test

plan could never be instituted because of the operation

of § 403(c), we are nevertheless persuaded that in

light of § 403(c) the Postal Service’s view of “rate”

and “mail classification” is incorrect and cannot pre-

vail.

Not only are the Service’s definitions of rate and

mail classification unsupported by the Act, and indeed

inconsistent with § 403(c) as we have indicated, but

apparently the Postal Service itself has recognized

that the test plan instituted here involves a change

4

|

19a

in rate. The definition urged upon us here by the

Postal Service is inconsistent with use of the term

“rate” as it was employed by Deputy Postmaster

General William F. Bolger when he discussed the

test plan during a Postal Forum in September of

1977:

Basically, the main features of the test program

are...a greatly simplified rate structure based

on average weights . . . [which] allows mailers

to forget weight and zone calculations for most

intra-BMC deliveries . . .” (Emphasis added.)

Fairly read, the term “rate” as it appears in the

test plan description is employed in a sense sig-

nificantly different from that suggested by the Postal

Service here, but no different from the meaning given

it by the district court and approved by us.

C

Consistent with its denial that the charges imposed

upon participants in the test plan were “rates,” and

that the test plan itself constituted a new “mail classi-

fication’, the Postal Service also urges that the term

“change” as it appears in §$§ 3622-23 has a meaning

different from that normally accorded that word. The

Postal Service contends that a change in rate or class

only becomes a “change” within the meaning of

§§ 3622-23 when it is permanent and nationwide—

not experimental, limited or temporary. It argues

that because only nationwide changes in postal serv-

ices need be submitted to the Rate Commission under

20a

39 U.S.C. § 3661,° that Congress intended that Rate

Commission jurisdiction over rates and mail classifi-

cations would similarly exiend only to matters affect-

ing the entire country. However, neither the Act nor

its legislative history suggests that any such qualifi-

cation upon the word “change” was ever intended or

effected in §§ 3622-23.

Although it is true that such a nationwide qualifi-

cation does exist with respect to changes in the nature

of postal services, 39 U.S.C. § 3661, no such qualifi-

cation appears in §§ 3622-23, the statutes with which

we are concerned. With respect to postal services,

Congress clearly contemplated that the nature of such

services would vary from one locale to another de-

pending on local conditions such as sparsity of popu-

® 39 U.S.C. § 3661. Postal Services

(a) The Postal Service shall develop and promote ade-

quate and efficient postal services.

(b) When the Postal Service determines that there

should be a change in the nature of postal services which

will generally affect service on a nationwide or substan-

tially nationwide basis, it shall submit a proposal, within

a reasonable time prior to the effective date of such pro-

posal, to the Postal Rate Commission requesting an ad-

visory opinion on the change.

(c) The Commission shall not issue its opinion on any

proposal until an opportunity for hearing on the record

under sections 556 and 557 of title 5 has been accorded

to the Postal Service, users of the mail, and an officer of

the Commission who shall be required to represent the

interests of the general public. The opinion shall be in

writing and shall include a certification by each Commis-

sioner agreeing with the opinion that in his judgment the

opinion conforms to the policies established under this

title.

RT 2 LL ee

21a

lation, ordinances prohibiting curbside delivery, etc.,

and that changes in such services would often affect

only a relatively small number of people in a limited

geographic area. Recognizing the lack of national in-

terest in purely local conditions requiring changes in

the nature of postal services, Congress did not require

Rate Commission action when such localized changes

were effected. However, when a nationwide or sub-

stantially nationwide postal service change is pro-

posed, then Congress required that the proposed

change be submitted to the Rate Commission—not for

a recommended decision (as required for a rate or

classification change) but merely for an advisory

(and hence not binding) opinion. It is obvious to us

that the substantive differences in § 3661 (services)

as contrasted with § 3662 (rates) and § 3623 (classi-

fications) reflect different Congressional concerns and

therefore different Congressional requirements. Un-

der such circumstances we perceive little value in

attempting to construe §§ 3622-23 by reference to

§ 3661. We perceive even less value in attempting

judicially to impose on the plain and comprehensive

terms of §§ 3622-23, the special provisions which

Congress incorporated in § 3661 for manifestly dif-

ferent purposes and reasons. Moreover, it is quite

clear that, if Congress had intended to qualify the

provisions of §§ 3622-23 by requiring Rate Commis-

sion approval of only nationwide changes, it could

have accomplished that task in the same manner as

it did in § 3661.

22a

Furthermore, if we were to interpret §§ 3622-23

as the Postal Service urges, we would be permitting

the Service to make substantial de facto and unregu-

lated changes in either rates or mail classifications so

long as the changes made were neither “permanent”

nor “nationwide”. Such a view finds no support in

the Act or in the legislative history. Indeed, such a

construction of the Act is capable of completely under-

mining Congressional regulation via the Rate Com-

mission of those aspects of postal affairs which are

most heavily infused with the public interest—an

interest which the Rate Commission is charged with

protecting.”° As the D.C. Circuit explained, albeit in

a different but analogous context,

10 The Postal Service’s construction is also at odds with the

thrust of Congressional intent evident in the 1976 amend-

ments to the Act. Prior to that time, the Rate Commission

was not required to act upon a request for a rate change

within any specified time period and under 39 U.S.C. § 3641

the Postal Service could institute a temporary rate change

90 days after Rate Commission submission. Substantial de-

lays in Commission action produced new requests for rate

changes before final action was taken on older requests. To

remedy this, Congress required that the Rate Commission

act within 10 months but simultaneously amended § 3641 to

preclude the Postal Service from instituting a temporary rate

change until that 10-month period had elapsed. The premium

placed on Rate Commission consideration of, and public

hearings on, rate changes is therefore evident. Permitting

experiments which involve changes in rates and mail classi-

fications would effectively overrule § 3641. Such “experi-

ments” could be commenced and continued throughout the

10-month course of Rate Commission consideration, so long

as the experiment was neither permanent nor nationwide,

according to the Postal Service’s interpretation.

23a

any reasonable examination of the purposes of

the Act discloses Congress’ implicit design that

the distinct functions of service provision and

rate adjustment be divided between the Postal

Service and the Rate Commission. The expertise

of the Postal Service supposedly is in manage-

ment, and its authority therefore reasonably ex-

tends to basic decisions pertaining to the pro-

vision of special, non-postal and other services.

The Postal Rate Commission, however, was cre-

ated specifically to oversee the ratemaking proc-

ess. Its expertise is in the setting of rates and

fees that are fair and equitable, and its au-

thority therefore reasonably extends to all as-

pects of such decisions, including review of bud-

get estimates, allocation of postal costs, establish-

ment of rates for postage, and, it would seem

plainly, the setting of fees for those special

services which management. decides should be

provided.

National Association of Greeting Card Publishers v.

United States Postal Service, 186 U.S.App.D.C. 331,

358, 569 F.2d 570, 597 (1976), vacated in part not

relevant here, 434 U.S. 884, 98 S.Ct. 258, 54 L.Ed.2d

169 (1977).

Thus we do not find persuasive the Postal Service

contention that because only twenty test participants

were involved in its test plan no “change” in a “rate”

or “mail classification” has been effected."

11 The district court expressed its conclusion as follows:

There is nothing “plainer” than the fact that postal

rates and classifications have been changed as to the

participants in the Service Test Plan. When the rates

24a

IV

As we indicated earlier, the Postal Service’s other

major contention is that Congress intended to recog-

nize the need for increased flexibility and Postal Serv-

ice control over postal operations so that the Service

could more readily respond to postal needs. The

Service argues that the district court’s interpretation

of the Act is therefore inconsistent with Congressional

intention.

As our discussion has revealed, we do not believe

that, despite Congressional and public desire for in-

creased efficiency in the postal service, the specific and

plain provisions of the rate and classification sections

can be ignored. Accordingly, we are not impressed

with the Postal Service’s argument that the mandate

given to it to “plan, develop, promote, and provide

adequate and efficient postal services,” 39 U.S.C.

§ 403(a), supersedes and overrides the specific re-

sponsibilities imposed in the first instance upon the

Rate Commission and thereafter upon the Governors

to determine the rates and classifications which are

components of the “postal services” which the Postal

Service is to provide.

and classifications applicable to certain users of the

Postal Service have in fact been changed, we find it both

conceptually and linguistically bizarre to say that al-

though certain postal rates and classifications have been

changed, there has not been a change in the rates or

classification of postage.

455 F.Supp. at 865.

25a

The general powers provision of 39 U.S.C. § 401

(10)** may well vest the Postal Service with authority

to conduct marketplace experiments.** Assuming

arguendo the existence of such authority, we are

nevertheless constrained to reject the Postal Service’s

interpretation of a general grant of power as auth-

orizing activities which necessarily are precluded by

other sections of the Act (§§ 3622-23) specifically

mandating the manner by which rates and mail classi-

fications must be established. “[A] general powers

provision like section [401(10) here at issue] may

not ordinarily override a specific provision such as

section [s403(a) 404(a)(2) and Chapter 36 as

here].” National Association of Greeting Card Pub-

lishers vy. United States Postal Service, supra, 186

U.S.App.D.C. at 358, 569 F.2d at 597. Thus, any

power the Postal Service may have to engage in

marketplace experiments may not be exercised so as

to permit the Postal Service to impose rates or estab-

lish mail classifications absent compliance with Chap-

12The Postal Service shall “have all other powers inci-

dental, necessary, or appropriate to the carrying on of its

functions or the exercise of its specific powers.”

13 Contrary to the suggestion of the dissent (see n.9,

p. 1878), the issue of whether the Postal Service has statu-

tory power to engage in marketplace experiments with Rate

Commission approval is not before us. It was not raised in

the district court, nor was it addressed or briefed on appeal.

‘Under these circumstances we do not deem it apropriate to

discuss or resolve that issue.

a eT a Fen nen Ste ae Ea

26a

ter 36 of the Act, 39 U.S.C. §§ 3601 et seg."

Supplementing its “flexibility” and “control” argu-

ment, the Postal Service additionally argues that re-

quiring submission of test plans to the Rate Commis-

sion is unduly burdensome. We do not here hoid that

all “test plans” must be submitted to the Rate Com-

mission (see e.g. Part III B, supra, p. [18a]). We do

hold, however, that any proposal which would effect a

change in mail classification or a rate, including a

test or experiment embodying those features, must be

submitted to the Rate Commission, no matter how

experimental, temporary, or limited in scope the

change. As to the burdensomeness of such submis-

sions, we observe that the Rate Commission in 39

C.F.R. § 3001.54(s) [1978] has provided that:

The Commission may, upon the filing of a

proper motion by the Postal Service, together

with a showing of good cause therefor, waive

certain of the filing requirements of paragraphs

(b)-(r) of this section if in the Commission’s

judgment it has been demonstrated that the pro-

posed change in a rate or rates of postage and

a fee or fees for postal services does not sig-

14 The district court, while recognizing the legitimacy of the

Postal Service’s argument, nevertheless expressed its dis-

agreement with the Postal Service’s conclusion by stating:

The very existence and function of the Postal Rate Com-

mission bespeaks a limitation on postal management’s

freedom. . . . Thus, although requiring that the Postal

Service go to the Postal Rate Commission with market-

place experiments might impede one congressional pur-

pose, it would promote another.

455 F.Supp. at 869.

27a

nificantly change the then effective rates and

fees or alter the cost-revenue relationships of

the various classes and types of postal services.

Thus the Rate Commission itself has provided a meas-

ure of relief from the burdens hypothesized by the

Postal Service and of which it complains. Moreover,

if indeed the Postal Service conceives that it is truly

burdened by our construction of the Act, it should

address that concern to the Congress, for in the pres-

ent context we do no more than enforce the Congres-

sional command.”

V

Although the Postal Service advances other addi-

tional arguments all of which are predicated on its

interpretation of the Act, we do not find that those

arguments merit discussion. One final contention,

though, does warrant our response. The Postal Serv-

ice contends that we should accord great deference

to its interpretation of the Postal Reorganization Act.

15 This regulation has never been challenged and hence we

express no opinion as to its validity.

16 The dissent is unable to point to any authority, statute

or legislative history supporting its contention that Congress

intended to bypass or override the rate and classification

mandates of §§ 3622-23 when they impact upon the man-

agerial functions assigned to the Postal Service. Indeed

the dissent acknowledges that the Act and its legislative his-

tory are silent in this respect. The dissent premises its

entire argument on Congressional efforts to increase the

efficiency of the Service, evidenced by Congress giving the

Postal Service full management authority (Dissent, pp. [34a-

86a])—an argument which not even the Postal Service em-

phasized to any great extent.

Our more basic difference with the dissent, however, is our

belief that the concerns expressed by the dissent are more

28a

In doing so, we of course would thereby be obliged to

accept the construction placed upon the Act by the

Postal Service, including the various definitional argu-

ments which we have previously rejected.

This same contention was made in National Asso-

ciation of Greeting Card Publishers v. United States

Postal Service, supra, 186 U.S.App.D.C. at 357 n.110,

569 F.2d at 596 n.110. The court there declined to

defer to the Postal Service’s interpretation on two

grounds. In the first instance the D.C. Circuit found

the Postal Service’s “construction too ‘curious’ and

‘narrow’ to prevail over a commonsense reading of the

statute,” an observation equally appropriate here, and

one with which we are in accord. Second, it was

recognized there, as we do here, that the agency en-

titled to deference in the interpretation of 39 U.S.C.

§§ 3622-24 is the Rate Commission—not the Postal

Service—as it is the Rate Commission which is

charged with making recommended decisions on

appropriate for legislative rather than judicial consideration

and action. Our function as jurists is to require compliance

with those statutes enacted by Congress. In this case it is not

for us to substitute our view of postal policy for the legisla-

tion which has been passed by Congress. Certainly Congress

is free to modify its enactments so as to accommodate the

considerations suggested by the dissent and in fact, we might

applaud such legislative adjustments if mide. Failing their

enactment by Congress, however, and rec: gnizing that Con-

gress has explicitly required all rate and clussification changes

without exception to be submitted to the Commission, we do

not think it is our function to rewrite the Act, or at a mini-

mum, to create a legislative exception where none is inti-

mated.

29a

changes in rates and mail classification.

Both of these reasons are sufficient grounds for re-

jecting the Postal Service’s contentions regarding

judicial deference to administrative interpretations.

VI

Thus, by giving the common and ordinary meaning

to the relevant terms of §§ 3622-23, it is apparent

that the parcel post test plan at issue here involved

changes in the rates of postage and classification of

mail. This being so, it was incumbent on the Postal

Service to resort to the Rate Commission as mandated

by §§ 3622-23. It did not do so. As a result, the dis-

trict court under date of July 19, 1978 enjoined the

Postal Service from continuing in operation the Serv-

ice Test Plan until such time as it has complied with

the provisions of 39 U.S.C. §§ 3622-25.

Having concluded that the district court did not

err, we will affirm the July 19, 1978 order.

A. LEON HIGGINBOTHAM, Jr., Circuit Judge,

dissenting.

I.

Competition, experimentation and creative business

policies designed to better serve the consumer are

highly valued in American society. The traditional

folklore has been that one beats his competition by

“building a better mousetrap,” or, in the context of

this case, by providing better delivery services. The

majority rejects these traditional values—so they say,

because of a statutory mandate. Thus, we have the

80a

paradox of the United Parcel Service (UPS) one of

the United States Poste! Service’s (Postal Service)

major competitors, preventing the Postal Service from

undertaking on its own a modest and limited experi-

ment which is a relatively small threat, if any, to the

plaintiffs, involving no more than twenty selected

shippers in no more than five metropolitan areas. As

I view the applicable statutes, the Postal Service need

not be shackled and prevented from pursuing such

modest experimentation. It has some latitude to ex-

periment, without indulging in further bureaucratic

processes, and to determine whether a plan can be

devised to provide the American public with better

service and its major competitor with more robust

competition. The learned trial judge below, in his

customarily thorough fashion, noted that “as a mat-

ter of pure policy the result advocated by the Postal

Service is more desirable.” United Parcel Service v.

United States Postal Service, 455 F.Supp. 857, 863

(E.D. Pa. 1976). However, he and the majority have

concluded that the statute precludes even the modest

experiment proposed by the Postal Service in this

case. I agree that the result advocated by the Postal

Service is far more desirable. But, I disagree with

the majority, and the court below, because their de-

cision, from my view, makes no sense when con-

sidered against the relevant legislative history. Thus,

I dissent.

II.

As the majority’s opinion observes, the Postal Serv-

ice and the Postal Rate Commission (Commission)

cinerea 3

sla

were established under the Postal Reorganization Act

of 1970, 39 U.S.C. §§ 101-5605 (the Act), which

created a new and comprehensive scheme for the

management of the nation’s postal system,’ so that

the nation’s mail could be handled more efficiently and

with less expense.

Acting in accord with this Congressional design,

the Postal Service has attempted to undertake a very

small and temporary experiment in order to develop a

new technique to deliver parcel post more efficiently.

The experiment was to involve only twenty shippers

in five metropolitan areas, who were to handle about

907,000 items of mail. Defendant’s Brief Before Dist.

Ct., Exhibits 1(A)-1(R). When compared with the

approximately 92.2 billion items of mail and 387

million items of parcel post that the Postal Service

processed in 1977, the limited nature of this experi-

ment is self-evident. Department of Commerce, Sta-

tistical Abstract of the United States 585, 587

(1978); Joint Appendix, at 29.

In this appeal we are presented with the questions

of how Congress intended for the new postal manage-

ment to modernize the postal system and where Con-

gress placed the responsibility of supervising rate and

classification experiments.

In order to decipher the Congressional scheme and

resolve this question, the Act and its extensive legis-

1 The Act also established a fourteen member Postal Serv-

ice Advisory Council to advise the Postal Service on “all

aspects of postal operations.” 39 U.S.C. § 206. The role of

the Advisory Council is not raised in this appeal.

82a

lative materials must be reviewed. I am convinced

that a review of the legislative materials in their

totality is especially important here where the legis-

lation was designed to effect a comprehensive reorga-

nization.

The majority focuses on the language of sections

3622 and 3623 and urges that these provisions place

the responsibility for supervising rate and classifi-

cation experiments in the hands of the Rate Commis-

sion. To be sure, the challenged experiment involves

a “change” in the way the limited number of program

participants send their parcel post. It is also evident

that the “rates” and “classifications” used in this

experiment are different from those normally applied

to the Postal Service’s customers. However, it is not

self-evident whether the temporary and small-scale

“changes” which occur as a result of an experiment

are the “changes” Congress was referring to when it

drafted these sections of the Act. The decision to

make a national or permanent rate or classification

change is a management decision of a different quality

from a decision to undertake an experiment. At the

very least, different criteria of evaluation may be used

and different results may flow from the decision.

Therefore, before these sections are read to cover ex-

periments it is necessary to unravel the management

scheme Congress envisioned.

The majority does so by analyzing whether the

ordinary, plain, dictionary, or regulatory definitions

2 See Majority opinion, supra, at nn. 4 & 5 for text of

statutes.

33a

of the words “rates,” “classifications” and “change”

are to be used. In doing so, the majority misses the

essential question: Whether these sections were in-

tended to give the Commission the responsibility of

supervising rate and classification experiments. As

Learned Hand said:

_ [I]t is one of the surest indexes of a mature

and developed jurisprudence not to make a

fortress out of the dictionary; but to remember

that statutes always have some purpose or ob-

ject to accomplish, whose sympathetic and

imaginative discovery is the surest guide to their

meaning.

Cabell vy. Markham, 148 F.2d 737, 789 (2d Cir.),

affd, 326 U.S. 404, 66 S.Ct. 193, 90 L.Ed. 165

(1945) quoted in, United States v. Cerilli, 603 F.2d

415, 429 (3d Cir. 1979) (Aldisert, J., dissenting).

Arguably Congress might have intended for sections

3622 and 3623 to cover experiments, although they

make no reference to experiments. The majority

argues that the absence of such a reference supports

their view of the Act. It seems equally plausible to

me that it indicates a possible limitation on the scope

of the Commission’s authority. The ease with which

contrary arguments can be made about the impor-

tance of the absence of a single word in the statute

strengthens my conviction that resort to the legisla-

tive history is essential.

In this case, our inquiry into Congressional intent

is made difficult by the fact that the legislative ma-

terials are also silent about rate and classification

84a

experiments. However, we are obliged to find an

answer and therefore must resort to materials from

which the Congressional intent can only be inferred.

III.

A.

After reviewing the Act in its entirety and its

legislative history, I am convinced that Congress in-

tended to permit the Postal Service to undertake rate

and classification experiments and that it did not

intend for the Postal Service to seek Commission ap-

proval before it undertook such an experiment. I

reach this conclusion because of the overwhelming

evidence contained in the legislative history that

shows that Congress went to considerable effort to

give the Postal Service full management authority.

Congress wished to strip away and not create layers

of managerial control so that new and more efficient

modes of operation could be developed and could be-

come a part of our nation’s postal system. Commis-

sion review of experiments would be inconsistent with

that Congressional purpose. Moreover, I have found

nothing in the legislative materials that shows that

Commission review was nevertheless intended. In-

deed, the references to the Commission contained in

both the Act and the legislative history show that the

Commission was established and structured so it

might address concerns that are not implicated in

the experimentation process.

35a

B.

In this case, as in many others, the legislative his-

tory is ambiguous in many regards. But arising

above all ambiguity is the Congressional conviction

that the Postal Service should be more efficient,

utilizing modern managerial techniques rather than

sinking further into its maelstrom and that the Postal

Service should have, in most instances, full authority

to undertake that effort.

The Congressional debates, reports, and the other

legislative materials are replete with references to the

inefficiencies of the pre-1970 postal system. For ex-

ample, the House Report stated:

For several years there has been a growing

awareness .. . that our vast sprawling postal

complex is heavily overburdened and in deep

trouble. Delays, breakdowns, errors, damage,

and other inconvenience to the public have be-

come more and more frequent.

H. Rep. No. 91-1104, 91st Cong., 2d Sess. (1970) re-

printed in [1970] U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News

3652 [hereinafter H. Rep.] See also S. Rep. No. 91-

912, 91st Cong., 2d Sess. 2 (1970) [hereinafter Sen.

Rep.]; Remarks of Rep. Dulski, 116 Cong. Ree. 19844

(June 16, 1970); Towards Postal Excellence the Re-

port of The President’s Commission on Postal Orga-

nization 1-14 (1968) [hereinafter President’s Com-

mission }.

These materials are also replete with references

that show that Congress believed these deficiencies

were caused by ineffective management, which in turn

resulted primarily from a lack of managerial flexi-

36a

bility and freedom and from a lack of centralized

control. For example, the Senate Report which ac-

companied the Senate version of the Act stated:

[T]he Postmaster General is blocked or under-

cut at every turn by a labyrinth of postal stat-

utes echoing every postal concern, interest, or

whim expressed by Congress over a 200 year

period ... leaving the Postmaster General bound

in his own house. Twist and turn as he may, he

cannot function in the public interest as a re-

sponsible manager.

Sen. Rep., supra, at 2.

The House report stated:

It has now become apparent that all the short-

comings of The Post Office Department are bound

up in the fact that responsibility for managing

the system is shared by a number of executive

agencies and by several congressional commit-

tees.

H. Rep., supra, at 3653. See also President’s Com-

mission, supra, at 33-43.

The Act was designed to correct this problem. New

and more efficient systems were to be developed. The

new managers would

create a lasting foundation for a modern, dy-

namic, and viable postal institution that is

equipped and empowered at all times to satisfy

the postal requirements of the future.

H. Rep., supra, at 3650.

And the Postal Service was to have major responsi-

bility for the development of those new systems. The

House Report stated:

37a

The Postal Service is empowered to engage in

research and development programs directed to-

ward the expansion of present postal service and

the development of new services responsive to the

evolving needs of the United States.

H. Rep., supra, at 3657. The Act itself provides that

the Postal Service “shall plan, develop, promote, and

provide adequate and efficient postal services.” 39

U.S.C. § 403.

Further, it is evident that Congress felt that mod-

ernization could be accomplished only if the Postal

Service was provided broad authority to undertake

its duties.

The House Report stated that the Act was de-

signed to

[e]liminate serious handicaps that are now im-

posed on the postal service by certain legislative,

budgetary, financial, and personal policies that

are outmoded, unnecessary, and inconsistent with

the modern management and business practices

that must be available if the American public is

to enjoy efficient and economical postal service.

H.Rep., supra, at 3650. It also stated:

[T]he only solution to these problems is funda-

mental reform that puts complete responsibility

in a single place, with appropriate safeguards

against abuse of that responsibility.

Id. at 3653.

The Senate agreed. Its report stated:

[The Act] is not a halfway measure. Its objec-

tive is to establish a postal structure and a

38a

method of operating that will entrust the nian-

agement of the U.S. Postal Service, within broad

policy guidelines designed to protect the ordi-

nary mailer, to responsible public officials.

Sen. Rep., supra, at 3.

Thus modernization and managerial freedom were

prime Congressional objectives.

C.

It is also evident that Congress anticipated that

rates and classifications would be changed as a result

of the development of more efficient systems and that

the Postal Service would be involved in that process.

The interrelationship between rates and classifica-

tions changes and the modernization of postal services

was discussed in the House Report which stated:

Since the Postal Service will be required to pro-

vide postal services ‘“‘at reasonable and equit-

able rates and fees,” massive and far-reaching

improvement in postal efficiency must be achieved

before a self-supporting Postal Service becomes

a reality.

H.Rep., supra, at 3665.

Ample evidence is available to show that Congress

intended for the Postal Service to be involved with

rate and classification changes.

Most dramatic is the fact that the Act very ex-

plicitly states that the Postal Service and not the

Commission has the final authority to set rates and

classifications. The Act provides:

39a

Upon receiving a recommended decision from

the Postal Rate Commission, the Governors [of

the Postal Service] may approve, allow under

protest, reject, or modify that decision. 39

U.S.C. § 3625.°

Moreover, there is evidence that shows that Con-

gress intended for the Postal Service to provide the

Commission with information so that the Commission

could make decisions about rate and classification

changes.

For example, one of Congress’s concerns about the

pre-1970 rate-making process was that costs attribut-

able to a particular class of mail were often not

charged to that class of mail. Under the Act, each

class of mail was to bear its own costs. 39 U.S.C.

§ 3622. While perhaps a simple theory, it was antici-

pated that implementation of this mandate would be

difficult because, under the accounting system used by

the Post Office Department, costs could not readily

be attributed to a particular class of mail. President’s

Commission, supra, at 132-35. The Postal Service

was thus empowered and given a Congressional man-

date to develop an accounting system that permitted

cost attribution so rates could be accurately set. 39

U.S.C. §§ 2008, 2009, 2401. See Association of Ameri-

can Publishers v. Governors of U.S. Postal Service,

157 U.S.App.D.C. 397, 485 F.2d 768 (1973).

3 The full text provides that in the event that the Postal

Service wishes to reject or modify a decision, the Postal

Service must resubmit its request and if still dissatisfied it

may modify or reject the decision if it is inconsistent with

the Act or if it will produce insufficient revenues.

Te TS ene

40a

I therefore disagree with the Court of Appeals for

the District of Columbia, which implied in language

the majority quotes, that rates and classifications

were Commission business and that the Postal Service

was to have nothing to do with those matters.‘ Na-

tional Association of Greeting Card Publishers V.

United States Postal Service, 186 U.S.App.D.C. 331,

569 F.2d 470 (1976), vacated in part, 434 U.S. 884,

98 S.Ct. 253, 54 L.Ed.2d 169 (1977). The Act does

not provide for such a sharp delineation of duties.

Indeed, the majority concedes that the Postal Service

has an independent role to play in rate and classifica-

tion making when it recognizes the right of the Postal

Service to develop, plan and implement a “test plan”

thet would provide information that would be used

by the Commission. Majority’s opinion, supra, at

[18a].°

It is against this backdrop of Congressional con-

cern that the responsibility fur experimentation

should be evaluated. Alone, it would support the

41 do not mean to suggest by this point that the Commis-

sion does not have substantial and dominant authority in the

area of rate and classification making. My point is simply

that Congress intended for the Postal Service to have a

significant involvement in this process, especially with regard

to the development of data to be considered by the Com-

mission.

5’ The majority has reserved for another day the question

of whether the Postal Service may conduct, even with Com-

mission approval, marketplace experiments. However, the

majority does not seem disturbed by the Postal Service’s

involvement in rates and classifications; it is merely the type

of involvement it questions.

a, eae Tee

4la

Postal Service’s authority to engage in the rate and

classification experiment challenged by the UPS, an

experiment which was designed to develop data on

new techniques for the handling of parcel post and

the effect of different rates and classifications.

D.

The majority argues that regardless of this history,

the existence of the Commission demonstrates a Con-

gressional intent to restrict the power of the Postal

Service to undertake experiments. I do not agree. It

is my belief that the legislative materials discussed

above compel any court to exercise caution before it

decides that Congress intended to place a restraint on

the Postal Service’s management authority. Indeed,

I believe that this history, which demonstrates an

overwhelming concern with deregulation, almost com-

pels us to hold that management flexibility exists,

unless contrary evidence is provided. Cf. United Tele-

graph Workers v. F.C.C., 141 U.S.App.D.C. 190, 194,

436 F.2d 920, 924 (1972) (“This expression of con-

gressional desire that the Commission encourage tech-

nological innovation requires us to demand a com-

pelling showing of legislative prohibition before we

strike down an experiment . . . which is designed

to furnish the information input that makes such

innovation possible.” ).

It is my view that the legislative materials do not

provide the evidence necessary to reject the presump-

tion of flexibility and to hold that Congress intended

to have the Commission supervise experiments. More-

TT eT TT es Monten nine then e enn enn nyu nrsens Sunn n NNO OSE vane AgSS

iii iis (ili

42a

over, these materials provide positive support for my

conclusion that supervision of experiments was not

one of the duties envisioned for the Commission.

As I note above, the descriptions of the Commis-

sion’s responsibilities contained in the legislative docu-

ments are somewhat lacking as they contain no ref-

erence to rate and classification experiments. How-

ever, read in their totality they suggest that the Com-

mission was given the responsibility of setting na-

tional policy on rates and classifications and acting

as an overseer to ensure that these policies were

properly implemented. See H.Rep., supra, at 3666,

3667-68, 3692-95 and Sen.Rep., supra, at 13-17. To

be sure, at times this responsibility would include

the supervision of permanent rate or classification

changes that would have a limited impact, for ex-

ample, a subsidized rate for sending a particular type

of periodical. However, the duty to supervise these

changes is derived from the broader duties. In the

case of an experiment, such as the one challenged here,

whose object is the testing of new systems of handling

mail, these broader duties are not implicated. This

suggests that the duty to supervise experiments was

not included among the Commission’s responsibilities.

Sections 3622 and 3623 also make no reference to

rate and classification experiments. Again, read in

their totality they give us some assistance. For ex-

ample, the statutes outline a specific process which

the Commission must follow when it makes rate and

classification decisions. Section 3624 further provides

that the Commission can approve a request by the

43a

Postal Service only after an opportunity for a

hearing conducted pursuant to the Administrative

Procedure Act has been granted.° This process

is simply not a productive one when a managerial

decision as to the necessity for the development

of data on a system change is being made. More-

over, the information that would be necessary to have

a meaningful kearing on the desirability of the change

would not be available until the experiment is con-

ducted. Cf. Delta Airlines v. CAB, 147 U.S.App.D.C.

272, 276, 455 F.2d 1340, 13844 (1971) (“The CAB

in reality is not able to investigate without testing

how this experimental tariff actually works.”) and

American Airlines v. CAB, 123 U.S.App.D.C. 310,

319, 359 F.2d 624, 633 cert. denied, 385 U.S. 843, 87

S.Ct. 73, 17 L.Ed. 78, 17 L.Ed.2d 75 (1966) (“A

month of experience will be worth a year of hear-

ings.’’).

In addition, I envision that during the process of

an experiment the Postal Service might wish to

modify some portion of the experimental design on

rates or classifications. Under the majority’s reading

of the statute, hearings would be necessary. I cannot

believe Congress intended so absurb a result. For

® 39 U.S.C. § 3624 provides:

(a) The Postal Rate Commission shall promptly con-

sider a request made under section 3622 or 3623 of this

title, except that the Commission shall not recommend a

decision until the opportunity for a hearing on the record

under sections 556 and 557 of title 5 has been accorded

to the Postal Service, users of the mails, and an officer

of the Commission who shall be required to represent the

interests of the general public.

44a

example, during the course of the experiment chal-

lenged here the Postal Service might decide that pack-

ages were falling in different weight groups than

originally anticipated and may wish to change the

weight classifications in the experiment. It would

simply make no sense to have a hearing to make the

modification.

Another indication that Congress did not intend

to have the Commission review experiments is also

found in sections 3622 and 3623. These provisions,

section 3622(b) and section 3623(c), state that the

Commission’s decisions are to be made in accordance

with the policies of the Act and with a number of

itemized factors.” These factors, which include fac-

tors such as the relative value of the kind of mail

transmitted and the effect of rate increases upon the

general public are not generally applicable to experi-

ments. E.g., 39 U.S.C. § 83622(b) (4) and § 3623(c)

(2). Moreover, some of the factors involve cost evalu-

ations that cannot be made before an experiment is

complete. 39 U.S.C. & 3622(b) (5) & (6).

Finally, an examination of the reasons that were

given to support the Commission’s creation leads me

to conclude that the Commission was not designed to

supervise experiments. These reasons are, for the

most part, relevant only when major policy decisions

are made, when the integrity of the Postal Service

could be threatened, or when one of the Act’s under-

7 See Majority opinion, supra, at [9a-lla] n.4, & n.5 for

the text of the statute.

= 8 oe owe are ew Oe ae

45a

lying purposes could be frustrated. These are not

concerns which arise during an experiment.

First, many members of Congress were concerned

that while they wanted the Postal Service to operate

as an efficient business enterprise, they were con-

cerned that the

Postal Service in fact and shall be operated

as a service to the American people, not as a

business enterprise, designed to provide excel-

lent postal service.

Sen.Rep., supra, at 4.

It was felt that the Commission would be able to strike

the necessary balance, and would ensure that postal

rates reflected not only management objectives but

also served broader public purposes, e.g., certain non-

profit organizations might be given special rates.

These broader public purposes are not implicated by

an experiment.

A second impetus for the establishment of the Com-

mission was the sentiment that some distance from

the day-to-day operations of the Postal Service might

be necessary to make sound business decisions on

rates. See Majority’s Opinion, supra, at [6a-8a].

Again an experiment would not tamper with this con-

cern, and would, if anything, permit the Postal Serv-

ice to give the Commission information it needs to

perform this function.

Congress was also concerned about the impact

political pressure had had on rate and classification

determinations. Under the reorganization, Congress

wished to design a system that would be as free from

46a

political influence as possible, where experts could

make decisions based on the technical problems of

running the postal system and not the effectiveness of

particular lobbyists. See, e.g., Remarks, Sen. McGee,

116 Cong. Rec. 26955 (1970).

The Commission was seen as a Solution to this

problem. The House report stated:

The Commission provides an invaluable buffer

between the management of the Postal Service

and the possible influence of partisan politics.

Insulation from partisan politics is one of the

principal purposes to be served.

H.Rep., supra, at 3660.

It is conceivable that partisan politics could influence

the Postal Service’s decision to select particular par-

ticipants in an experiment which used cheaper rates.

But there is no showing of partisan politics in the

pleadings or the stipulated facts in this case. To the

contrary, it is clear that this “Local Parcel Service

Test Plan” was created for managerial purposes.*®

8 The Postal Service outline of the experiment indicates the

following:

Test Objectives

A. The first objective is to determine the feasibility of

the new operations configuration affecting:

1. Acceptance procedures.

2. Local Holdout and BMC processing.

3. MVS operations.

B. The second objective is to determine the costs asso-

ciated with reduced handlings which result from the new

operations configuration.

[Footnote continued on page 47a]

47a

The authority to undertake limited and temporary

experiments does not permit the return to the days

when every interest group imaginable had special

permanent rates established for them. Moreover,

political influence on the decision to undertake an

experiment or to choose a participant is simply not

as dangerous as on decisions where national policy is

made.

In our zeal to protect the public we must remember

that the public is not always protected by more regu-

lation and more supervision. That is the overwhelm-

ing message of the Postal Reorganization Act. In-

deed, in this case, the effort to impose regulation upon

the Postal Service and to require it to seek Commis-

sion review is spearheaded not by a representative of

8 [Continued ]

C. The third objective is to determine the service and

cost impact on the mailer and to measure mailer ac-

ceptance of this impact.

D. The fourth objective is to analyze the service within

the context of our continuing review of the structure of

traditional services. Issues to be explored are:

1. Whether nearer Parcel Post zones are in need of an

adjustment?

2. Whether volume requirements for Bulk Parcel Post

are in need of adjustment?

38. Whether pick-up (not plant load) offered as an

option or offered as a feature (no option) of the service

is needed?

4. Whether further refinements are needed in the single

piece third class and zone-rated, fourth class classifica-

tions and rate design?

48a

the general public but by one of the Postal Service’s

major competitors, the United Parcel Service.

The majority rejects the present plan because it

hypothesizes that the authority to approve an experi-

ment for twenty shippers in five metropolitan areas

“would permit unregulated changes in rates and mail

classification at any time and under any circumstance

whereby less than all members of the public were en-

titled to benefits stemming from such changes.” Ma-

jority Opinion, supra, at [17a-18a]. This “logic” is the

worst example of the parade of horribles. If the

Postal Service, under the rubric of experimentation,

attempted to set up permanent or specialized rates

for any individual or group presumably a court would

not be misled by a label marked “experiment.” More-

over, if the Postal Service abused the limited author-

ity that I believe Congress intended for it to have,

the Commission has the power under 39 U.S.C. § 3662

to review and prohibit Postal Service actions that

circumvent the policies of the Act.

One final point raised by the majority. I believe

39 U.S.C. § 403, which proscribes the “unreasonable

discrimination” “preferences,” provides no assistance

in resolving the question in this appeal. Majority’s

Opinion, supra, at [18a]. First, any experiment will

discriminate against other users of the postal system

whether or not the Commission approves it. And sec-

ond, the section only prevents “unreasonable discrimi-

nation.” A properly conducted marketplace experi-

49a

ment is certainly not an “unreasonable” type of “dis-

crimination” or “preference.”

IV.

I believe the experiments are a permissible exercise

of Postal Service authority. I do not believe, as the

majority concludes, that the Congress, in its attempt

to free the postal system of constraints so that it

might operate as a modern and efficient enterprise,

intended to require the Postal Service to undertake

the time-consuming process of hearings and Commis-

sion review in order to develop and provide data for

the Commission’s rate-making judgments.

One of the nation’s leading scholars on administra-

tive law, Dean James O. sreedman, in his classic

treatise, Crisis and Legitimacy: The Administrative

Process and the American Government, 261-62

(1978), has stressed:

The legitimacy of the administrative process can-

not turn, then, upon its non-conformity to a

simplistic version .... Rather, it must be tested

pragmatically, by the responsiveness of adminis-

trative institutions to the most fundamental prin-

ciples of a democratic society ard by the degree

to which administrative institutions meet the

nations highest aspirations for justice and effec-

tive government.

Unfortunately in this case, despite the Congressional

dream and design to bring flexibility, creativity and

managerial efficiency to the Postal Service, the pub-

lic’s aspirations have once again been dashed. The

50a

public has been precluded from having within the

Postal Service “justice and effective government.”

I therefore dissent.’

® The majority has decided this appeal without determining

whether the Postal Service has the authority to undertake

the experiment even if it seeks Commission approval. At oral

argument the Postal Service indicated that it still had an

interest in conducting this specific experiment. As a result

of the majority’s decision, the Postal Service will have to

submit the proposed experiment to the Commission and par-

ticipate in hearings with the possibility that it will be deter-

mined after a second challenge, a second decision by a dis-

trict court and a second appeal to this court, that the Postal

Service cannot undertake marketplace experiments even with

‘Commission approval. (I would of course disagree with that

conclusion). I believe this would be a waste of the resources

of the Postal Service, the Commission and the judiciary. The

majority should reach this issue.

5la

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 78-2390

UNITED PARCEL SERVICE, INC.,

a New York Corporation,

and

UNITED PARCEL SERVICE, INC., an Ohio Corporation

vs.

UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE, APPELLANT

(D.C. Civil No. 77-3620)

ON APPEAL FROM THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Present: GARTH and HIGGINBOTHAM, Circuit Judges

and SCHWARTZ,* District Judge

JUDGMENT

This cause came on to be heard on the record from

the United States District Court for the Eastern

District of Pennsylvania and was argued by counsel

on March 26, 1979.

* Honorable Murray M. Schwartz, United States District

Judge for the District of Delaware, sitting by designation.

52a

On cowsideration whereof, it is now here ordered

and adjudged by this Court that the judgment of the

said District Court, filed July 19, 1978, be, and the

same is hereby affirmed. Costs taxed against appel-

lant.

ATTEST:

/s/ Thomas F. Quinn

Clerk

August 7, 1979

53a

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

[Filed October 9, 1979]

No. 78-2390

UNITED PARCEL SERVICE, INC.,

a New York Corporation,

and

UNITED PARCEL SERVICE, INC., an Ohio Corporation

Vv.

UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE, APPELLANT

SUR PETITION FOR REHEARING

Present: SEITZ, Chief Judge, ALDISERT, GIBBONS,

ROSENN, HUNTER, WEIS, GARTH, HIGGIN-

BOTHAM and SLOVITER, Circuit Judges, and

SCHWARTZ, District Judge

The petition for rehearing filed by United States

Postal Service, Appellant in the above entitled case

having been submitted to the judges who participated

in the decision of this court and to all the other avail-

able circuit judges of the circuit in regular active

service, and no judge who concurred in the decision

having asked for rehearing, and a majority of the

circuit judges of the circuit in regular active service

not having voted for rehearing by the court in banc,

54a

the petition for rehearing is denied. Judge Higgin-

botham would grant the petition for rehearing.

By THE COURT:

/s/ Garth

Circuit Judge

SO Dee ahd Med 2 hint ALL et ho a nb om

a a De)

Oa Ait Res tb ROR LT eet ah ele ey

55a

APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

E. D. PENNSYLVANIA

Civ. A. No. 77-3620

UNITED PARCEL SERVICE, INC.,

a New York Corporation

and

UNITED PARCEL SERVICE, INC., an Ohio Corporation

Vv.

UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE

July 19, 1978

OPINION AND ORDER

EDWARD R. BECKER, District Judge.

I. Preliminary Statement

This case raises the question whether the United

States Postal Service may, without notice, hearing, or

prior submission to the Postal Rate Commission, con-

duct limited and temporary experiments in which

proposed new mail classifications, offered at hereto-

fore unavailable rates, are tested in the marketplace

or, conversely, whether the institution of such experi-

mental postal services is subject to the procedures

governing changes in permanent rates and classifica-

56a

tions.: The question appears to be one of first im-

pression.

The United States Postal Service and the postal

procedures at issue in the case at bar find their com-

mon genesis in the Postal Reorganization Act of 1970,

Pub.L. 91-375, 84 Stat. 719 (codified at 39 U.S.C.

§§ 101-5605) [hereinafter “Act”]. Passage of the

Act signalled a major change in the structure and

accountability of the postal bureaucracy. Critics of

the Post Office Department claimed that the Post

Office was at once over-political and under-efficient,

see generally H.R.Rep. No. 91-1104, 91st Cong., 2d

Sess., reprinted in [1970] U.S. Code Cong. & Admin.

News, pp. 3649, 3651-54, 3660-61; S.Rep. No. 91-

912, 91st Cong., 2d Sess. 1-3 (1970); President’s

Commission on Postal Organization, Towards Postal

Excellence (1968) and that the Postmaster General

was generally powerless to take the kind of extensive

remedial action necessary to affect significantly the

Department’s all too apparent ills, see S.Rep., supra,

at 3.’

1 Postal rates and mail classifications are distinct concepts

in the statutory scheme. 39 U.S.C. §§ 3622 & 3623.

2 Tilustrative of this problem is the following exchange in

1967 between then-Postmaster General Lawrence O’Brien and

the Chairman of the House Post Office Appropriations Sub-

committee:

MR. STEED: General . . . would this be a fair sum-

mary: that at the preset time, as the manager of the

Post Office Department, you have no control over your

workload, you have no control over the pay rates of the

employees that you employ, you have very little control

over the conditions of the service of these employees, you

OT: TERE NE NN

nS I on Tt

eek ee ote re ath AN

57a

Congressional response to these postal maladies was

far-reaching. The Post Office was taken out of the

Cabinet and established as the United States Postal

Service, an independent unit of the executive branch.

39 U.S.C. § 201. Under the new system, the Post-

master General is no longer appointed by the Presi-

dent; rather, the President appoints the nine Gov-

ernors of the Postal Service, no more than five of

whom may be from the same political party. The

Governors, who serve for rotating nine year terms,

appoint the Postmaster General and Deputy Post-

master General and set the latters’ tenure and com-

pensation; the Governors and their two appointees

become the Board of Governors of the Postal Service.

Id. § 202.

The Postal Reorganization Act gives to the Postal

Service increased control of and responsibility for

postal operations and management, free of the formal

and direct supervision of the legislative and executive

branches. Thus, the Postal Service is empowered to

sue and be sued in its own name, to adopt rules and

have virtually no control, by the nature of it, of your

physical facilities, and you have only a limited control,

at best, over the transportation facilities that you are

compelled to use—all of which adds up to a staggering

amount of “no control” in terms of the duties you have

to perform.

MR. O’BRIEN: Mr. Chairman, I would have to gen-

erally agree with your premise. . . . that is a staggering

list of “‘no control.” I don’t know [whether] it has ever

been put that succinctly to me. If it had been at an

appropriate time, perhaps I wouldn’t be sitting here.

H.R.Rep. 91-912, 91st Cong., 2d Sess. 3 (1970).

58a

regulations, to enter into and perform contracts, to

keep its own system of accounts, to acquire and dis-

pose of property, etc. Id. § 401. To professionalize

and depoliticize the Postal Service even further, a

postal career service was established, id. § 1001(a),

provision was made for hiring executives, id. § 1001

(c), and otherwise upgrading postal management,

id. § 1004, and political recommendations on person-

nel matters were prohibited, id. § 1002. As to em-

ployee-management matters, collective bargaining was

made applicable to postal service employees, with pro-

vision for binding arbitration in the event of lack of

agreement, id. §§ 1202-1207, and postal employees

were granted the right to work, zd. § 1209(c).

Reform in the area of setting postal rates and

classes was at least as thoroughgoing as the other

reforms just referred to. Congress abandoned the

business of postal rate-making and established a

quasi-regulatory agency, the bipartisan Postal Rate

Commission. The Commission, which is independent

of the Postal Service and the members of which serve

for rotating six year terms, was given primary re-

sponsibility for overseeing changes in postal rates,

classes, and services. Jd. §§ 3601-3604. Although the

Governors of the Postal Service are charged with the

establishment of fair and equitable classes of mail

and postal rates and fees, id. § 3621, before insti-

tuting such rates or classes the Post Service must

request recommended decisions from the Postal Rate

Commission, id. §§ 3622 & 3623. The Commission is

to hold evidentiary hearings under 5 U.S.C. §§ 556

59a

& 557 (Administrative Procedure Act) pursuant to

regulations that it may establish, 39 U.S.C. § 3624,

to evaluate the proposed rates or classes of mail ac-

cording to criteria established by Congress, id. §§ 3622

& 3623. Upon receiving the recommended decision of

the Commission, the Governors of the Postai Service

may approve, allow under protest, reject, or modify

the decision in accordance with specific statutory

provisions. Jd. § 3625. If no decision is forthcoming

from the Commission within a specified period of

time, the Postal Service may, upon ten days notice in

the Federal Register, establish temporary changes in

rates or classes in accordance with the proposed

changes under consideration by the Commission. /d.

§ 3641.° Proposed changes in the nature of postal

services that will generally affect service on a nation-

3 Section 3641 of the Act, providing for temporary changes

in rates and classes of mail, permits the Postal Service to

institute a temporary rate if the Postal Rate Commission fails

to transmit a recommended decision in accordance with

§ 3624(c). 39 U.S.C. § 3641(a). Section 3624(c) requires

the Commission to transmit its recommended decision within

ten months after receiving the request for such a decision

from the Postal Service, except that if the Commission’s

failure to comply is caused by the Postal Service’s delay in

responding to any lawful order of the Commission, the ten

month period is exsended by the time of the Postal Service’s

noncompliance. The temporary rate instituted under § 3641

is to be in accordance with the rate proposal under considera-

tion by the Commission, id. § 3641(c), and must terminate no

later than 150 days after the Commission renders its recom-

mended decision, id. § 3641(d). Section 3641(e) permits the

Postal Service to institute a temporary change in mail

classification if a recommended decision is not forthcoming

from the Commission within 90 days of submission of a

reguest by the Postal Service. Such a temporary classifica-

60a

wide or substantially nationwide basis must also be

submitted to the Commission for hearing and an ad-

visory opinion before such changes may be instituted.

Id. § 3661.

Responding to its congressional mandate to “plan,

develop, promote, and provide adequate and efficient

postal services at fair and reasonable rates and fees,”

id. § 403(a), in mid-October of 1977 the Postal Serv-

ice instituted an experimental parcel delivery service

that is scheduled to last approximately twelve months.

Under this test program, which is not available to

the public generally, about twenty selected shippers *

in five metropolitan areas ° entered into service agree-

tion change must be in accordance with the proposal made

to the Commission and must terminate no later than 30 days

after the Commission transmits its recommended decision.

The procedures for temporary rate changes were estab-

lished as stated above in 1976 by Pub.L. 94-421, 90 Stat. 1303

(1976). The original 1970 Act had permitted temporary

rate increases to gu into effect 90 days after submission to the

Commission, but such increases were not to exceed 33% of

the existing permanent rates. Further, they expired 30 days

after the Commission rendered its decision. There was no

statutory provision requiring the Commission to render a

decision within a specified period of time. Temporary classi-

fication changes were unaffected by the 1976 amendment.

4Shippers were selected from among the Postal Service’s

regular parcel post patrons whose mailing patterns made

them likely prospects for the service represented by the

test plan.

5 The metropolitan areas involved are: Seattle, Washing-

ton; Dallas-Fort Worth, Texas; Omaha, Nebraska; Boston,

Massachusetts; and Washington, D.C. One test participant is

in fact located in Baltimore, Maryland, but, in accordance

with past practice, mails its parcels at the Washington, D.C.

Bulk Mail Center. '

6la

ments with the Postal Service. These agreements pro-

vide that parcels mailed by the test participants, when

suitably packaged for bulk mail processing,® will be

assessed postage based upon the average weight of

such packages. For example—and subject to the dis-

tance limitations set out in note 7 infra—regardless

of the actual weight of any given package, if the

average weight of the pieces tendered, based on

sample weighings, is five pounds or less, postage for

each parcel is $.87; if the average weight of the

packages is more than five but not more than twenty

pounds, postage for each parcel is $1.15. These

charges are significantly less than the generally avail-

able parcel post rates of the Postal Service. Further,

the postage charges under the test program do not,

for the most part, vary with distance, as they do

under regular parcel post.’ Participants in the pro-

®The Postal Service’s Bulk Mail System came into full

operation in 1976 in an effort to automate and expedite the

mailing of parcels. It consists of 21 Bulk Mail Centers and

9 auxiliary facilities. As a result, postal operations involving

parcel post and third-class parcels are now organized around

the Bulk Mail System facilities, rather than around standard

post offices and the general mail network. Packages mailed

through the Bulk Mail System must meet certain packaging,

size, weight, shape, and content restrictions. Basically, these

limitations seek to ensure that the packages are “machine-

able” by standardizing to some extent parcels mailed through

the System. A minimum of 300 pieces per mailing must be

tendered in order to qualify for bulk parcel post. Rates are

based on the average weight per piece of all parcels in the

mailing and vary with distance.

7 Distance is limited to the extent that the delivery destina-

tion of the parcel cannot be outside the geographic area

covered by the Postal Service Bulk Mail Facility that serves

62a

gram must provide a minimum volume of 50 pieces

per mailing and 250 pieces per week. They also must

present all parcels to the Postal Service in containers

and cooperate with the Postal Service in data collec-

tion and research activities.*

The plaintiffs, large nationwide providers of parcel

delivery services that compete with the Postal Serv-

ice’s parcel post program and that would suffer ad-

verse competitive impact were the current Postal

the shipper. Thus, the Boston Bulk Mail Center service area

is Maine, Vermont, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Rhode

Island, Connecticut, and a part of upper New York; packages

mailed from Boston as part of the test plan are limited to

that area. As a further example, the Dallas-Fort Worth Bulk

Mail Center service area is most of Texas and parts of Louisi-

ana, Arkansas, Oklahoma, and Kansas.

Within such service areas, which cover five parcel post

zones—a local zone and four numbered zones—a five-pound

package mailed under normal parcel post would cost from

$.91 to $1.86, depending on distance; under the test plan,

paskages averaging five pounds would each cost $.87, regard-

less of distance within the service area. Similarly, a twenty-

pound package would regularly cost anywhere from $1.58

to $2.93; the test plan standardizes the cost at $1.15. Com-

parable rates for parcels shipped via plaintiff United Parcel

vary by distance from $1.05 to $1.28 for five-pound parcels

and from $2.10 to $3.02 for twenty-pound packages.

A further limitation on distance under the current plan is

that regardless of the size of the service area, no more than

25% of the test volume may be delivered beyond parcel post

zone number two, which is approximately 150 miles from the

parcel’s point of origin.

®As an additional aspect of the test, a service feature

known as Day Certain Delivery, not being generally pro-

moted by the Postal Service during the experiment, is being

promoted to the shippers participating in the test.

63a

Service test instituted on a permanent and system-

wide basis,’ contend that the Postal Service’s experi-

ment is in violation of the policy and procedures

established by the Postal Reorganization Act. Al-

though the particular experiment at issue in this case

poses a relatively small threat to plaintiffs, see notes

9 supra & 11 infra, the plaintiffs fear that other less

restricted experiments will be deleterious. Choosing

to strike before significant harm is done rather than

after, they attack the precedent of marketplace ex-

periment sans Rate Commission approval which the

Service Test Plan establishes. The primary focus of

this attack on the Service Test Plan is grounded on

the procedures mandated by 39 U.S.C. §§ 3622-3624

for rate and mail classification changes.’ Plaintiffs

® Although plaintiffs, the United Parcel Service companies,

now have only limited contract carrier rights to deliver par-

cels for designated retail stores, U.P.S. currently has a pro-

posal before the Interstate Commerce Commission that, if

approved, would grant U.P.S. the unlimited right to deliver

for retail stores as a common carrier. N.T., Dec. 30, 1977,

at 9. The service presaged by the Postal Service’s experiment

would also be aimed in large measure at retailers. See Stipu-

lated Exhibits 4, 5. The test itself however, has relatively

little competitive impact on U.P.S. since distance of delivery

and participant limitations have been imposed on the experi-

ment by stipulation of the parties. See N.T., Nov. 21, 1977,

at 3-4, 5.

10 Plaintiffs originally asserted that the Postal Service’s

experiment violates both the mandate of 39 U.S.C. § 403(c)

that “[i]n providing services and in establishing classifica-

tions, rates, and fees under this title, the Postal Service shall

not . . . make any undue or unreasonable discrimination

among users of the mails, nor shall it grant any undue or

unreasonable preferences to any such user” and the require-

64a

contend that, insofar as the test takes place in the

marketplace, because the rates charged to participants

in the experiment are previously unavailable rates

and because the plan represents a new class of mail,

the Postal Service is required to submit the plan to

the Postal Rate Commission and await the Commis-

sion’s recommended decision before instituting the

test. Plaintiffs argue that the Postal Service may not

lawfully circumvent the statutorily required proce-

dures for postal rate and classification changes merely

by unilaterally denominating the changes “experimen-

tal.” Since the statutory procedures, which contain

no exceptions for market “experiments,” were not fol-

lowed, plaintiffs argue that the Service Test Plan

should be enjoined.”

ment of § 3661 that any service change “which will gen-

erally affect service on a nationwide or substantially nation-

wide basis” must be submitted to the Postal Rate Commis-

sion for an advisory opinion before it is instituted. In brief-

ing and argument, however, plaintiffs placed primary em-

phasis on the argument based on §§ 3622 & 3623. Because of

our disposition of the latter argument, we need not address

plaintiffs’ alternative contentions.

11 The complaint was filed on October 20, 1977, and a motion

for preliminary injunction was filed on October 28. A hear-

ing on the motion was scheduled for November 21. On that

date, but prior to the scheduled hearing, plaintiffs and de-

fendant entered into a stipulation restricting the scope of the

test. See note 9 supra. As part of that stipulation, plaintiffs

withdrew their motion for a preliminary injunction. On the

scheduled trial date of December 30, 1977, a stipulation of

facts was moved into evidence and the matter was submitted

on final hearing as a case stated.

‘

|

65a

The Postal Service rejoins that, although the pro-

cedures cited by plaintiffs would indeed be applicable

if the Service Test Plan were instituted on a perma-

nent and system-wide basis, those procedures are not

triggered where, as here, a reasonable, limited, and

temporary experiment is conducted as a research aid

development activity pursuant to the Postal Service’s

duty to “plan [and] develop . . . adequate and effi-

cient postal services.” 39 U.S.C. § 403(a). The ex-

periment, the Postal Service maintains, is designed

to assist the Service in determining what, if any, rate

and/or classification changes it should make in order

to better utilize the Bulk Mail System, and is not

itself such a change.

For reasons that will at length appear, although

we believe that as a mxtter of pure policy the result

advocated by the Postal Service is more desirable,

construction of the statute compels the conclusion that

the plaintiffs must prevail and that continution of the

“experimental” parcel delivery service at issue must

be enjoined.

II. Discussion

A. The Statutory Language; Some General Princi-

ples of Statutory Construction and the Principle

of “Plain Meaning”

We begin our inquiry by focusing on the statutory

language that governs the Postal Service’s submission

of changes in rates and classifications to the Postal

Rate Commission. Section 3622(a) of the Postal Re-

organization Act provides:

66a

From time to time the Postal Service shall

request the Postal Rate Commission to submit

a recommended decision on changes in a rate or

rates of postage or in a fee or fees for postal

services if the Postal Service determines that

such changes would be in the public interest and

in accordance with the policies of this title. The

Postal Service may submit such suggestions for

rate adjustments as it deems suitable.

39 U.S.C. § 3622(a). Similarly, the next section pro-

vides :

Following the establishment of [an initial]

mail classification schedule . . . the Postal Service

may from time to time request that the Com-

mission submit, or the Commission may submit

to the Governors on its own initiative, a recom-

mended decision on changes in the mail classi-

fication schedule.

Id. § 3623(b).

Our objective as we seek to determine the meaning

to be given this statutory language is, of course, to

give effect to the congressional intent. Philbrook v.

Glodgett, 421 U.S. 707, 718, 95 S.Ct. 1893, 44 L.Ed.2d

525 (1975). We think it reasonable to assume that

in expressing its intent through the Postal Reorgani-

zation Act, Congress sought clarity rather than obfus-

cation and, unless the contrary appears, that Congress

therefore used statutory words in their ordinary and

usual sense and with the meaning commonly attrib-

uted to them. Caminetti v. United States, 242 U.S.

470, 485-86, 87 S.Ct. 192, 61 L.Ed. 442 (1917);

i ae

Saaiinn ieddaiidnaie onaitere Saeed

67a

Institute for Scientific Information, Inc. v. United

States Postal Service, 555 F.2d 128, 131 (8d Cir.

1977).

Reading the statute according to this general princi-

ple, there does not on the surface appear to be any-

thing inherently difficult or ambiguous about the

language involved. The common meaning of a “rate

of postage” is simply the fee the Postal Service

charges for processing, transporting, and delivering a

particular type of mail. Similarly, the ordinary un-

derstanding of a mail classification is nothing more

complex than a grouping of mail based on established

and shared criteria. See National Retired Teachers

Ass’n v. United States Postal Service, 430 F.Supp.

141, 146 (D.D.C. 1977). The usual interpretation of

“change” is alteration or making different. Although

the Postal Service argues vigorously that, in the con-

text of Postal Rate Commission supervision, “changes”

in “rates of postage” and “mail classifications” sig-

nifies only permanent and system-wide rate and classi-

fication changes rather than the limited experimental

adjustments in rates and classifications at issue in the

instant case, the statute itself does not at any point

set out or specifically allude to any exceptions to the

general scheme,” nor do the particular provisions on

12 There is provision for temporary rates and classes in

39 U.S.C. 3641, see note 2 supra & accompanying text, but

such temporary changes are not exceptions from the require-

ment that. rate and classification «aanges be filed with the

Postal Rate Commission. Temporary rates and classes are

permitted when changes, already filed with the Postal Rate

Commission, are not acted upon within statutorily prescribed

time periods.

68a

which we have focused expressly limit their applica-

bility to changes of a nationwide, systemwide, or

permanent scope. On the face of the statute, there-

fore, there appears no reason to restrict the ordinary

and usual scope of the statutory terms, which, we

think, would generally be read to include any change

in rates or classifications.

Turning our attention to the particular actions of

the Postal Service that are challenged in this case,

there can be no doubt that the Postal Service’s ex-

periment does involve rates of postage and classifi-

cations of mail within the ordinary meaning of those

terms. Fees are being paid to the Postal Service to

transport and deliver a certain type of mail that is

grouped according to established and shared criteria.

Indeed, as we have already observed, the Postal Serv-

ice concedes that the very changes at issue would

have to be submitted to the Postal Rate Commission

pursuant to §§ 3622 and 3623 were these innovations

permanent and systemwide. Further, it is clear that

as to the twenty participants in the Service Test Plan,

postal rates and mail classifications have in fact been

changed, for the participating shippers now mail their

packages under previously unavailable rates as part

of a previously nonexistent class of mail. So stated,

where the “experiment” does not consist of mock

packages mailed at hypothetical rates but instead re-

quires the payment of real postage by real shippers

for real parcel post service, there have been changes,

however limited, in rates of postage and classifications

of mail that affect these shippers and that fall within

a “plain meaning” reading of the statutory language.

eaten? pe wks ot. tbe PO ee

69a

There is a possible counterpoint to our “plain

meaning” analysis, which can be constructed by

analogy to 39 U.S.C. § 3661; ** that is, by compar-

ing, in the postal context, rate, classification, and

service changes."* When one thinks of a rate or

classification change, the argument goes, one naturally

tends to think in systemwide terms; 7.e., when one

thinks of a change in the rates, for example, of

parcel post, it is the more “common” understanding

that such a change would be across the board, and

not a change affecting only twenty mailers and only

for a predetermined length of time. The “common”

or “ordinary” conception of a classification change

might be said to be similar. In the case of a service

change, however, the argument continues, one might

more naturally think in less sweeping terms. To be

sure, a service change could be systemwide. But it

commonly also could be purely !ocal—for example, the

decision to discontinue home delivery in a single

town when the mailboxes are moved farther away

from the curb. Grover City v. United States Postal

Service, 391 F.Supp. 982 (C.D.Cal. 1975). See also

Bradley v. United States Postal Service, 554 F.2d

186 (5th Cir. 1977) (decision to discontinue door-to-

18 Under § 3661, Postal Rate Commission involvement in

service changes is triggered only when the Postal Service

plans “a change in the nature of postal services which will

generally affect service on a nationwide or substantially na-

tionwide basis.” 39 U.S.C. § 3661. See generally Part II.B.4

infra.

14 This argument is hinted at by the Postal Service in its

brief, though not clearly articulated.

10a

door delivery in one town not a service change of

nationwide or substantially nationwide scope) ; Mar-

tin v. Sloan, 482 F.Supp. 616 W.D.N.C. 1977) (con-

solidation of two rural postal routes not a service

change of nationwide or substantially nationwide

scope). Thus, in § 3661 Congress had to modify the

ambiguous “plain meaning” of a “service change”

to make it clear that Postal Rate Commission in-

volvement was to be only in the broader, systemwide

situation. Under this theory, no such modification of

the plain meaning of rate or classification changes

was necessary in § 3622 or § 3623 because the ordi-

nary usage of such terms already includes a ‘“‘system-

wide” component, but modification would have been

necessary to expand Rate Commission jurisdiction to

the less-than-systemwide situation. The argument

concludes that the plain meaning reflects, consistent

with § 3661, a congressional desire to reserve Rate

Commission review of the “‘big’’ case.

The effect of the foregoing argument, if successful,

would be to reverse the presumption under which we

otherwise would be laboring. For if the “plain mean-

ing” of the statute is as we initially articulate it,

it is incumbent on the Postal Service to demonstrate

that imputing such a meaning to the words of the

Act would be unreasonable in terms of the Act’s pur-

pose and structure. See discussion infra. If, how-

ever, the “plain meaning” is as the Postal Service

posits it to be, the presumption reverses and it be-

comes the burden of the plaintiff to show unrea-

sonableness.

4

ti

|

§

4

‘3

ia

iy

3

eI

;

|

:

|

4

4

‘

of

re

ee

Tla

Although the Postal Service’s argument has some

appeal, we ultimately are unconvinced by it. There

is nothing “plainer” than the fact that postal rates

and classifications have been changed as to the par-

ticipants in the Service Test Plan. When the rates

and classifications applicable to certain users of the

Postal Service have in fact been changed, we find it

both conceptually and linguistically bizarre to say

that although certain postal rates and classifications

have been changed, there has not been a change in

the rates or classification of postage. We do not say

that such a statutory definition is impossible; the

ultimate length of this opinion is testimony to its

possibility. We do, however, say that it strains “plain

meaning” to impose such a definition on the language

as a presumptive matter.

Moreover, this argument ultimately hinges on the

assumption that Congress wanted the approach to

rate, classification, and service changes to be identical

vis-4-vis Rate Commission involvement. Congress’

linguistically different treatment of the different

kinds of changes, however, may well indicate that

the changes were thought of in different categories

because, for example, of the different areas of ex-

pertise of the Postal Service (Service Management)

and the Postal Rate Commission (ratemaking).

See National Association of Greeting Card Publishers

v. United States Postal Service, 186 U.S.App.D.C.

331, 358, 569 F.2d 570, 597 (1976) [hereinafter

“NAGCP”’]. Thus, comparing rate changes and serv-

ice changes is like comparing apples and oranges.

Even without drawing an inference adverse to the

72a

Postal Service from § 3661, we therefore are unable

to employ § 3661 to provide a restrictive gloss on

the facially comprehensive language of §§ 3622 and

3623.

Rather than lowering the curtain on our inquiry

into the meaning of the statute, however, we think

that the foregoing actually only sets the stage for

further analysis. Although it is received wisdom that

when a statute’s plain meaning is clear “the duty

of interpretation does not arise and the rules which

are to aid doubtful meanings need no discussion,”

Caminetti v. United States, supra, 242 U.S. at 485,

37 S.Ct. at 194, it is also an endorsed caveat to this

rule that “[w]hether or not the words of a statute

are clear is itself not always clear.” Barbee v.

United States, 392 F.2d 532, 535 n.4 (5th Cir. 1968).

Thus, what might appear to be the plain meaning

must yield if it is inequitable, un:easonable in con-

text, or manifestly contrary to the statutory purpose

or legislative intent. See, e.g., Center for National

Policy on Race and Urban Issues v. Weinberger, 163

U.S.App. D.C. 368, 372, 502 F.2d 370, 374 (1974).

Our goal, after all, is to vindicate Congress’ intent,

and we therefore must read statutory language as

Congress used it—which may or may not be precisely

as Webster defined it. In order to determine whether

the “plain meaning” of a particular provision is in

fact unreasonable in light of the totality of the stat-

ute, the statutory purpose, or the legislative intent, -

a court must in the first instance engage in at least

some measure of further statutory analysis. See 2A

73a

Sands, Statutes and Statutory Construction §§ 46.

02.04 (4th ed.) Additionally, since the terms with

which we are concerned are used in the Postal Re-

organization Act against the particular background

of regulatory activity, and, indeed, against the even

more particular background of postal regulatory ac-

tivity, we must discern whether such contexts im-

parted to the operative terms some modifying quasi-

technical meaning at variance with the terms’ “plain

meaning.” NLRB v. Coca-Cola Bottling Co., 350 U.S.

264, 76 S.Ct. 383, 100 L.Ed. 285 (1956); Barber v.

Gonzales, 347 U.S. 637, 74 S. Ct. 822, 98 L.Ed. 1009

(1954).

Thus, the “plain meaning” of the statutory lan-

guage raises no more than a presumption, which may

be rebutted, as to the true “statutory meaning” of

that language. The meaning of a federal statute is

for the federal courts to decide. Enochs v. Smith,

359 F.2d 924, (5th Cir. 1966). When a court is

faced with a situation in which Congress could ‘“‘rea-

sonably” have meant two different things, 7. e. when

one expressed statutory purpose might lead to one

interpretation but a different clear purpose leads

to another, and when on its own terms the statute

makes a coherent whole whichever of two ways par-

ticular provisions are interpreted, a more complicated

situation is present. Rut, in such a case, we must

remember: (1) that we are a court, not a legislature,

and are charged with interpreting the words that

Congress used, not with choosing them; and (2)

though our own normative preference might be other-

wise, if the plain and ordinary meaning of the lan-

74a

guage is itself reasonable in light of the broad pur-

poses of the statute and in light of the structure and

context of the legislation'as a whole, we must uphold

that meaning. Arkansas Valley Industries, Inc. v.

Freeman, 415 F.2d 713 (8th Cir. 1969); Sea-Land

Service, Inc. v. Federal Maritime Commission, 131

U.S.App.D.C. 246, 404 F.2d 824 (1968).

Our modus procedendi in pursuing the further

statutory analysis which is necessary will be to

analyze a number of considerations asserted by the

Postal Service to militate against application of the

“plain meaning principle.” First, we shall consider

the Postal Service’s research and development role

and the congressional goal of managerial flexibility.

Second, we shall address the possible analogy to re-

search and development provisions of other federal

regulating schemes. Third, we shall consider the

alleged cumbersomeness and futility of APA type

hearings and the alleged unsuitability of the stat-

utory criteria governing evaluations of rate changes

to experimental rates (and the question whether

these are parameters of congressional intent contra

subjecting experimental rates and classifications to

Postal Rate Commission review). Fourth, we shall

further explore the Service’s argument based on 39

U.S.C. § 3661. As will be seen, when all is said and

done, the plain meaning principle will survive the

assault.

re Tes Sank hain nat

eee

B. Considerations Alleged to Militate Against the

Application of the Plain Meaning Principle

1. The Postal Service’s Research and Development

Role and the Goal of Managerial Flexibility.

The argument most vigorously pressed by the

Postal Service against an inclusive reading of the

statutory jurisdiction of the Postal Rate Commis-

sion—and the one that is apparently at the core of

the Service’s position—is based on § 403(a) of the

Act. This section makes it the responsibility of the

Postal Service to plan, develop, promote, and provide

adequate and efficient postal services at fair and rea-

sonable rates and fees.” 39 U.S.C. § 403(a). When

coupled with §401(10), which provides that the

Postal Service shall “have all . . . powers incidental,

necessary, or appropriate to the carrying on of its

functions or the exercise of its specific powers,” the

Postal Service contends that the duty to “plan, de-

velop, promote, and provide” efficient postal services

means that the Service has the authority to conduct

marketplace experiments like the Service Test Plan.

In support of its position, the Postal Service cites

to the history of the Post Office in general and of the

Postal Reorganization Act in particular. The Serv-

ice points especially to the explicitly articulated con-

gressional purpose of permitting—indeed mandat-

ing—increased managerial initiative and flexibility.

See, e. g., Buchanan v. United States Postal Service,

508 F.2d 259, 268 (5th Cir. 1975). Thus, the Senate

Report accompanying the Act found it “obvious” that

76a

“postal management must now be given the unfet-

tered authority and freedom it has been denied for

years to maintain and operate an efficient service.”

S.Rep. No. 91-912, 91st Cong., 2d Sess. 2 (1970).

The Postal Service argues that “unfettered authority

and freedom” to experiment with new rates and new

classes of mail is essential to fulfilling this congres-

sional expectation. Without experimentation, it is

said, the Service would risk either operational stag-

nation or premature implementation on a systemwide

scale of innovations that might turn out to be coun-

terproductive or, at least, not trouble-free. The Postal

Service reminds us that the old Post Office was con-

sidered to have been deficient in the degree to which

it engaged in service experimentation, see President’s

Commission on Postal Organization, Towards Postal

Excellence 37 (1968) (‘“[N]o service experimenta-

tion program [currently] exists. As a result, though

the service ideal is deeply imbedded in postal em-

ployees, they serve a market whose needs are but

dimly perceived.”), and that Congress clearly in-

tended that the new Postal Service would remedy this

shorteoming, see H.R.Rep. 91-1104, 91st Cong., 2d

Sess. 9, reprinted in [1970] U.S.Code Cong. &

Admin.News pp. 3649, 3657 (‘“‘The Postal Service is

empowered to engage in research and development

programs directed toward the expansion of present

postal service and the development of new services

responsive to the evolving needs of the United

States.”’).

ee ee ee eee

+ ubedle cts we

: >, TIO ‘ated: °

77a

Furthermore, argues the Postal Service, even un-

der the predecessor provisions of § 403(a) in the

old postal legislation, e. g., Pub.L. No.. 86-682, 74

Stat. 578 (1960), which was replaced by the Postal

Reorganization Act, the Post Office was permitted to

engage in marketplace experiments. Thus, the old

§504(a) of Title 39 of the United States Code

provided:

The Postmaster General shall maintain in the

Department a research and development pro-

gram, including investigations and studies, for

the purpose of introducing or improving equip-

ment, supplies, methods, procedures, means, and

devices used in the Department in order that its

business may be more efficiently and economically

operated.

In United Telegraph Workers vy. FCC, 141 US.

App.D.C. 190, 436, F.2d 920 (1970) the D.C. Circuit

upheld the Post Office’s participation, jointly with

Western Union, in the Mailgram experiment. Mail-

gram was conceived of as a hybrid of the traditional

telegram and first-class mail, between the two in

speed and cost. The experimental service was to

be available to Western Union subscribers in 12

selected cities for a test period of two years. It

was projected that the subscribers would be able

to send messages through Western Union communi-

cations network to one of the 110 post offices nation-

wide that would have teleprinters installed. Postal

workers were to scan the printed messages for com-

pleteness and legibility and then insert them in win-

78a

dow envelopes for placement in ordinary first class

mail. The Post Office charged Western Union a han-

dling fee; postage was the nermal first-class rate.

In finding that § 504(a) of the postal statute per-

mitted the Post Office’s participation in the experi-

ment, the D.C. Circuit relied on its earlier decision

in Atchison, T. & S. F. Ry. v. Summerfield, 97

U.S.App.D.C. 208, 229 F.2d 777 (1955), cert. denied,

351 U.S. 926, 76 S.Ct. 779, 100 L.Ed. 1456 (1956).

In Summerfield, the Postmaster General had insti-

tuted an experiment whereby ordinary first-class mail

was to be carried by air on a space available basis,

without payment of additional airmail postage. In

all other respects (e. g., handling and distribution )

the first-class mail procedures were unchanged. The

district court recognized the Post Office’s power to

experiment, but held that the experiment was unduly

prolonged and so not a true experiment. 128 F.Supp.

266, 274 (D.D.C.1955). The D.C. Circuit reversed,

stating that “we are unable to find any prohibition

of the present experimental program, while we do

find statutory provisions broad enough to encompass

it within their terms.” 97 U.S. App.D.C. at 208, 229

F.2d at 782. However, the statutory provisions to

which the Swmnmerfield court referred included ap-

parent approval of the experiment by the Congress in

an appropriations bill, Act of May 28, 1954, 68 Stat.

144, 148, see S.Rep. No. 1286, 83d Cong., 2d Sess.

(1954), and the Postmaster General’s authority to

provide for the transportation of the mail, 52 Stat.

1027 (1938). The opinion in fact made no mention

19a

of the Postmaster General’s research and develop-

ment responsibilities under 63 Stat. 608 (1949),

which was the direct line ancestor of the old § 504

(a), on which the United Telegraph Workers court

and the Postal Service here rely.

On the basis of this rather brief history of the Pos-

tal Reorganization Act and also of the Postal Serv-

ice’s research and development power, as subsumed

within the cited cases, the Service would have us ap-

prove the Test Plan as a legitimate exercise of that

power. The Service further asserts that requiring

submission to the Postal Rate Commission of pro-

posals like the Service Test Plan would thwart the

goal of managerial freedom and would impede im-

plementation of a managerially ordered undertaking

designed to improve the efficiency of the Postal Serv-

ice.

The reliance of the defendant Postal Service on

cases that antedate the Postal Reorganization Act is

misplaced and its evaluation of the Act’s legislative

history one-sided. For the Act produced broad

changes in postal responsibility that went beyond the

simple transfer of the responsibilities of Congress to

the Postal Rate Commission and the responsibilities

of the Post Office to the Postal Service. It is an in-

complete characterization of the changes worked by

the Act to assert that because the Post Office once

took certain actions—e. g., initiation of experimen-

tation—without input from Congress, the Postal

Service may now take those actions without input

from the Postal Rate Commission. This point was at

‘

80a

issue in NAGCP, supra. The Postal Service there as-

serted that it was authorized under the Postal Re-

organization Act to set fees for special services,’* pri-

marily because it had had the power to set such

fees under prior law. The Service also relied on § 404

(a) (6) of the Act, a general power provision that

authorizes the Service “to provide, establish, change,

or abolish special nonpostal or similar services.” Yet,

relying on the “plain language” of the new Act, 39

U.S.C. § 3622, and referring to the postal restruc-

turing rendered by that Act, the D.C. Circuit rejected

the Postal Services’ claim of fee-setting power.

[Any] reasonable examination of the purposes

of the Act discloses Congress’ implicit. design

that the distinct functions of service provision

and rate adjustment be divided between the

Postal Service and the Rate Commission. The

expertise of the Postal Service supposedly is in

management, and its authority therefore reason-

ably extends to basic decisions pertaining to the

provision of special, non-postal and other serv-

ices. The Postal Rate Commission, however,

was created specifically to oversee the ratemak-

15 The services in question included: (1) the furnishing of

mail list corrections; (2) the privilege of prepayment of

postage without stamps; (3) the forwarding or returning of

undeliverable mail; (4) the registry of mail; (5) the insur-

ance of mail; (6) the provision of COD mail; (7) the certifi-

cation of mail; (8) the securing of a signed receipt upon

the delivery of mail and the returning of it to the sender;

(9) special delivery; (10) the special handling of mail;

(11) the provision of money orders. See 40 Fed.Reg. 43233-

84 (Sept. 19, 1975).

“wero NE ma

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition — United States Postal Service v. United Parcel Service, Inc. · 446 U.S. 957 | Frix