Petition — Exxon Corp. v. United States

Supreme Court brief1980

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Po ..

79-1384 _

No

» = =

IN THE a

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

EXXON CORPORATION,

Petitioner

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

MILLER & CHEVALIER

DONALD B. CRAVEN

MARK L. EVANS

GERALD B. FLEMING

1700 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 393-5660

Of Counsel

D. JOSEPH POTVIN

Exxon Company, U.S.A.

Post Office Box 2180

Houston, Texas 77001

(713) 656-6417

WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON. D.C. 20001

Nee a acisadamasinennuaseseensiemmianenecion 1

Nee a ouniscsevdantcmewcevananennsonmeses 1

QUESTIONS PRESENTED. ...................-.-...-..-.---------+--+- 2

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED ........ 2

RE ERE SN CT Oe eT 2

1. The Petroleum Marketing Practices Act .......... 3

2. The Exxon Subpoena and Administrative

Nee ic sscicesancennemponnssreia

4

3. District Court Proceedings ................----.----------- 5

4. Decision of the Court of Appeals ..................------ 6

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .................. 8

A. Congress Deliberately Withheld Subpoena

Power for Purposes of the Title III Study.... 9

B. The Secretary’s Subordinate Improperly Ig-

nored DOE Regulations Governing Administra-

tive Review of Subpoenas ...................---------------+- 16

Neen eee nn ein sctsnscncectnnancynencessccssnenseses 20

Neen np epennnanbdcntesneccnnecnsenscoes la

Ea 23a

Neen on. centacnseencenrecensencsunbonceens 25a

EC 27a

EES EE 29a

EES EN 37a

Neen ac acadnadcseneirnsodanesnanceueweees 4la

Neen ene ee eo oad sasieeecdisinbenneunecuecsoens 42a

Neen ee ee ssinccesiananavspaendccnccehnanes 47a

Neen a iencsnastvansvacseeennenenceoss 86a

EE 95a

i: oe oe : iL

il

CITATIONS

Cases: Page

Brown v. General Services Administration, 425

a el a ieee beanies 16

Comet Electronics, Inc. v. United States, 381

RE eile | Seen 20

Cudahy Packing Co. v. Holland, 315 U.S. 357 ........ 9,11

Davies Warehouse Co. Vv. Bowles, 321 U.S. 144...... 18

FTC v. Baltimore Grain Cw., 284 F. 886 -............... 16

Harriman V. ICC, 238 U.S. 407 ..........................00000 9

Morton Vv. Mancari, 417 U.S. 5865 .............................. 16

NLRB v. Drivers Local Union, 362 U.S. 274 .......... 16

Oklahome Press Publishing Co. v. Walling, 327

Be a waieseonbative 10

Piper v. Chris-Craft Industries, Inc., 480 U.S. 1.... 17

Reisman V. Caplin, 875 U.S. 440 ..........................0... 9,19

See v. City of. Seattle, 887 U.S. 5411 .................0........ 10

Service Vv. Dulles, 354 U.S. 368 .................................- 17

Simpson Vv. United States, 485 U.S. 6 2.000000... 16

Skidmore v. Swift & Co., 828 U.S. 184 .....00000000000.... 17

SP a IG IY IIR Secs ccectsnascnuncsassencconse a

United States v. Bisceglia, 420 U.S. 141 ..0.000.... 15

United States v. Exxon, 4 CCH Energy Manage-

Ea IRIE: lice MINER AN SURE EAL ae 1

United States v. Humble Oil & Refining Co., 488

ACEI SER APO cs eT eT atc LA Oe CO 16

United States v. Morton Salt Co., 338 U.S. 6382 ...... 9,19

Vitarellt v. Seaton, 359 U.S. 586 .......... a. 17

Yellin v. United States, 374 U.S. 109 .00000 0. 16

Statutes:

Department of Energy Organization Act

Ry Ae Seas NI vis ccsesseti sdminnen cds scuicnais 2, 6, 15

§ 645, 42 U.S.C. §§ 7254, 7256(a), 7259 (a).... 15

Emergency Energy Conservation Act of 1979

fe ee ee ee 11

iii

CITATIONS—Continued

Page

Petroleum Marketing Practices Act

§ 203 (a) (e), 15 U.S.C. § 2823 (a) (e) 2.0000... 2, 3, 10

Sk Oe I coca csc diccenecsce ccdncececcncen 2,3

§ 301(a), 15 U.S.C. § 2841 (a) ...... i... 3

§ 801(c), 15 U.S.C. § 2841 (¢) -...00.. ec... 4,10

§ 301(d) (1), 15 U.S.C. § 2841(d) (1) 000... 3

Powerplant and Industrial Fuel Use Act of 1978

§ Zil (a), 42 U.S.C. § 842) ........... Sst mance ll

rie as scinabainebensheaensinetundsernedeaneaotionens 15

i RS get RAC an ee area RA 2

Bs I TN ID eieseecccscse ptr dn anand dacdaensedecckcceeinines 8

Regulations:

Re ie 19

I ie 16, 19

Be ie in I CUD oroivceccccccncesenccecdcstcrsescnss 2,5,17,18

Te 16

I ees ee a 19

I er en 19

Be ee a 19

ey ear Oe 19

pc EN 5 AIS a cee ean eee ke 19

es ee DOOD oc 19

eek MR 5 ANA ae eae 19

RE aera a ae ee ee aaa 19

Ie a ee 19

oe 19

eR Ns | ee eee aaa aE 19

We Mra neice crema neice ncanedeecocseeerce 19

en 19

Me ee RI oso cccicsecsshcesdecenecesececcccoeosspececccccsccac 13

Ar, a Ue tl 19

ne el 19

Miscellaneous:

39 Fed. Reg. 25602 (July 11, 1974) 0. 18

41 Fed. Reg. 55322, 55323 (December 20, 1976)... 18

ee

iv

i IN THE

CITATIONS—Continued |

— | Supreme Court of the United States

44 Fed. Reg. 3548, 3552 (January 17, 1979) .......... 4 OcToBER TERM, 1979

44 Fed. Reg. 23201, 23202 (April 19, 1979) .......... 17

124 Cong. Rec. H 5002 (Daily ed., June 6, 1978)... 16

124 Cong. Rec. S 7149-7158 (Daily ed., May 9,

| | a enoee Gn tetas We A 4, 11, 12, 18, 14 No

S. Rep. No. 95-731, 95th Cong., 2nd Sess. 13-15 .

f§ .. Seabee tres venisiiiiaitatimiaee eases ane 1l

EXXON CORPORATION,

‘ Petitioner

UNITED STATES OF AMERICs

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

Exxon Corporation petitions for a writ of certiorari

to review the judgment of the United States Court of

Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals (App. A, pp.

’ la-22a)* is not yet reported. The opinion of the District

Court (App. E, pp. 29a-36a) is not officially reported;

it is unofficially reported at 4 CCH Energy Management

7 26,181.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals (App. B, pp.

23a-24a) was entered on February 26, 1980. The juris-

Ae 1“App.” refers to the appendix to this petition.

2

diction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Secretary of Energy has authority to

issue a subpoena to obtain information for a study of

motor fuel marketing subsidization under Title III of

the Petroleum Marketing Practices Act.

2. Whether, in issuing a subpoena to obtain such in-

formation, the Secretary’s subordinate employee may

properly refuse to follow Department of Energy regu-

lations governing administrative review and supervision

of the exercise of delegated subpoena power.

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

Section 203(a) and (e) and Section 301 of the Petro-

leum Marketing Practices Act, 15 U.S.C. §8§ 2823(a)

and (e) and 2841, Section 645 of the Department of

Energy Organization Act, 42 U.S.C. § 7255, and Section

205.8 of the Department of Energy’s regulations are set

forth in Appendix K, p. 95a-101a.

STATEMENT

A divided panel of the Court of Appeals (Chief Judge

Wright, Senior Judge Bazelon; Judge Wilkey dissenting)

affirmed the District Court’s summary enforcement of an

administrative subpoena issued to petitioner Exxon Cor-

poration by a Department of Energy employee. The pur-

pose of the subpoena was to obtain information for a

study required by Title III of the Petroleum Marketing

Practices Act.

Exxon contends that the subpoena is invalid and un-

enforceable for two reasons. First, Congress deliberately

withheld from the Secretary of Energy the power to

3

issue compulsory process for purposes of the Title III

study. Second, the employee who purported to issue the

subpoena in this case unlawfully refused to submit to the

Department’s established administrative procedure for

reviewing and supervising the use of delegated subpoena

power.

1. The Petroleum Marketing Practices Act.

Title III of the Petroleum Marketing Practices Act

(“PMPA”), Pub. L. No. 95-297, 92 Stat. 337, 15 U.S.C.

§ 2841, was adopted on the floor of the Senate as a sub-

stitute for a controversial version that had been narrowly

approved by the Senate Committee on Energy and Na-

tural Resources. As enacted in June 1978, Title III

directed the Secretary of Energy to “conduct a study of

the extent to which producers, refiners, and other sup-

pliers of motor fuel subsidize the sale of such motor

fuel at retail or wholesale with profits obtained from

other operations.” § 301(a), 15 U.S.C. § 2841(a). The

Act instructed the Secretary to submit a report to Con-

gress on the results of his study, together with any legis-

lative recommendations, by December 19, 1979. § 301(d)

(1), 15 U.S.C. § 2841 (d) (1).?

In Title II of the same Act, Congress established re-

quirements for the testing, certification, and posting of

gasoline octane ratings; it authorized the Federal Trade

Commission to enforce compliance with those require-

ments; and it expressly empowered the FTC “to require

the filing of reports, the production of documents, and

the appearance of witnesses, as though the applicable

terms and conditions of the Federal Trade Commission

Act were part of this title.” § 203(a), 15 U.S.C. § 2823

2The Secretary has not yet submitted a report to Congress.

The Department of Energy employee responsible for conducting

the study stated in affidavits filed with the District Court and the

Court of Appeals that he has unilaterally extended the deadline

twice and now proposes to submit a report by April 30, 1980.

4

(a). In Title III, by contrast, Congress did not empower

the Secretary of Energy to obtain information for his

study by compulsory process. The Act provided, instead,

that “the Secretary shall give appropriate notice and

afford interested persons an opportunity to present writ-

ten and oral data, views and arguments concerning such

study.” § 301(c), 15 U.S.C. § 2841(c). The author of

Title III, Senator Bumpers, told his colleagues on the

floor of the Senate that the Secretary “wll not have the

right to get the information under subpena powers

** *” 124 Cong. Rec. S 7155 (Daily ed., May 9, 1978)

(reproduced at App. I, p. 75a).

2. The Exxon Subpoena and Administrative Proceedings.

In January 1979, the Department of Energy published

a proposed “study plan” in which it stated that it would

attempt to issue subpoenas selectively to nine unnamed

companies to obtain “internal, corporate planning docu-

ments” for the Title III study. 44 Fed. Reg. 3548, 3552

(January 17, 1979). The notice cited no statutory auth-

ority for the use of compulsory process, and it made no

attempt to reconcile the use of subpoenas with Title III’s

language and legislative history. A few days later, the

Director of the Office of Competition, a sub-unit of the

Department’s Office of Policy and Evaluation, signed and

mailed a subpoena purporting to direct the Chief Execu-

tive Officer of Exxon Corporation to appear and to pro-

duce for examination documents responsive to 12 broad

specifications. App. H, pp. 42a-46a.

The subpoena covered a nine-year period (January 1,

1970, through January 22, 1979). Id. at 44a. Although

it invoked the authority of the Department of Energy

Organization Act and the Federal Energy Administration

Act, its sole stated purpose was to obtain “information

for use in the preparation of a study required by Title

III of the Petroleum Marketing Practices Act.” Jd. at

42a.

5

Exxon filed an application to quash or modify the sub-

poena.* The application challenged the agency’s statutory

authority to issue the subpoena, sought to narrow the

subpoena’s scope and to clarify its terms, and requested

adequate protective measures to prevent improper dis-

closure of the wide range of highly confidential and com-

petitively sensitive internal documents demanded by the

subpoena. One month later, the employee who had signed

the subpoena sent Exxon a four-sentence letter rejecting

the application to quash. The letter stated in its entirety

(App. G, p. 41a):

I have received the “Application to Quash or Modify

Subpoena” filed on March 20, 1979. There are no

provisions in the DOE rules providing for such

motions. I am, moreover, unpersuaded by your

arguments.

Since we have been unable to reach a satisfactory

agreement regarding document production,-I am

turning this matter over to the Office of the General

Counsel.

3. District Court Proceedings.

In June 1979, the United States filed in the United

States District Court for the District of Columbia a

petition to enforce the administrative subpoena issued

to Exxon. J.A. 83-86.4 Six months later, in Decem-

ber 1979, the District Court granted the government’s

% Department of Energy regulations provided for a three-stage

process for administrative review of the exercise of delegated

subpoena power. 10 C.F.R. § 205.8 (1978) (reproduced at App. K,

pp. 98a-101la).

*The government simultaneously filed a petition to enforce an

identical subpoena that had been issued to Shell Oil Company.

J.A. 87-90. It filed a petition to enforce the subpoena issued to

Marathon Oil Company in October 1979. J.A. 108-111.

“J.A.” refers to the Joint Appendix in the Court of Appeals, a

copy of which has been lodged with the Clerk of this Court.

6

petition and directed Exxon to produce documents re-

sponsive to the subpoena upon not less than 10 days’

notice. App. D, pp. 27a-28a.°

In a supporting memorandum entered a month

later, the Court reasoned that the Secretary has broad

subpoena power under the Department of Energy Or-

ganization Act (“DOE Act”) and that “nothing in the

PMPA or its legislative history * * * suggests that * * *

Congress acted to limit or prohibit the use of subpoenas”

for purposes of the Title III study. App. E, p. 32a. The

Court also held that the agency was free to bypass its

own regulations governing administrative review of sub-

poenas because the Title III study did not fall within the

categories of “proceedings” to which the C.F.R. Part

containing those regulations expressly applied. App. E,

pp. 34a-35a.°

4. Decision of the Court of Appeals.

On consolidated appeals, a divided panel of the Court

of Appeals affirmed the District Court’s orders subject

to a “protective order.” App. A, pp. la-22a.

The panel’s majority (Chief Judge Wright, Senior

Judge Bazelon) concluded that, despite the language and

legislative history of Title III itself, the Secretary could

properly issue the subpoenas in this case by invoking his

general power of compulsory process under Section 645

of the DOE Act, 42 U.S.C. § 7255. According to the

Court, “Congress would have had to build into Title III

a clear withdrawal of subpoena power if it did not want

DOE to issue subpoenas for the Title III study.” App. A,

p. 6a. The majority concluded that Congress had not

satisfied that standard.

5 The District Court entered identical orders in the Shell and

Marathon cases.

* The District Court stayed its own orders pending an expedited

appeal to the Court of Appeals. App. F, pp. 37a-40a.

7

The panel acknowledged that “Senator Bumpers [Title

IIl’s author] thought there would be no subpoena power

under Title III * * *.” Jd. at 8a. But the court dis-

counted the Senator’s repeated assertions to that effect—

assertions that it characterized as “stray remark;s] in

the legislative history” (id. at 10a)—because in its view

the Senator’s “assumption that DOE would have no sub-

poena power * * * was simply not centrally relevant to

the debate.” Jd. at 8a.

The Court saw no significance in the fact that Title II,

unlike Title III, contains an explicit grant of subpoena

power to the FTC. The majority stated that “Congress

may have felt a need to spell out the FTC’s enforcement

powers in some detail” but (notwithstanding the remarks

of Senator Bumpers) “may reasonably have understood

Title III to incorporate DOE’s general enforcement pow-

a***. te om.

Finally, the panel held that the employee who issued

the subpoena could properly refuse to submit to the agen-

cy’s established administrative review procedure—and

could thereby force the parties directly into court—be-

cause the “scope” section of the C.F.R. Part in which the

regulations are codified did not expressly mention sub-

poenas issued under the Petroleum Marketing Practices

Act. Id. .: 12a. The Court acknowledged that its read-

ing of the regulations “may not be obvious”: it rested

its conclusion, however, on the principle that “an agency

is entitled to very broad deference when it construes its

own regulations, Udall v. Tallman, 380 US. 1, 16

(1965) * * *.” App. A, p. 12a. The Court pointed to

no agency “construction” of the relevant regulation apart

from the four-sentence letter written by the employee

who signed the subpoena. See p. 5, supra.”

7In affirming the District Court’s order, the Court of Appeals

modified the subpoenas to incorporate some of the confidentiality

provisions that were contained in settlement agreements that the

8

Judge Wilkey dissented. In his view, the Secretary

cannot use his general subpoena power to conduct the

Title III study because Congress deliberately withheld

subpoena power in connection with that study. Judge

Wilkey stated: “On the face of the statute there is no

subpoena power under Title III, there is admittedly not

one word in the legislative history implying there is such

a power, and there are words from two of the legislators

most active on this statute saying flatly that no subpoena

power exists for the Title III study, a repeated assertion

which was repeatedly uncontradicted.” App. A, p. 22a.°

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Court of Appeals has given the Secretary of

Energy a coercive power that Congress, in a meticulously

crafted legislative compromise, deliberately withheld.

The Court was able to reach that result only by belittling

the extraordinarily explicit statements of Title III’s

author and by turning on its head this Court’s traditional

rule that administrative subpoena power will be inferred

only on the strength of unmistakable legislative intent.

The Court’s frustration of the Congressional will takes

on added significance when coupled with its abandon-

ment of the historic relationship between court and

agency in subpoena enforcement cases. The foundation

of the summary enforcement procedure has always been

Department of Energy had entered into with other companies.

App. A, pp. 14a-2la. The Court’s modification of the subpoenas

does not affect in any way the legal issues presented by this petition.

The invalidity of the administrative subpoenas here cannot be

cured by the addition of provisions dealing with the confidentiality

of documents.

* The Court of Appeals granted motions for a stay pending

certiorari, and it stayed the issuance of its mandate until March 10,

1980. App. C, p. 25a. This petition was filed on or before that

date. Under Rule 41(b) of the Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure,

the stay will remain in effect until final disposition by this Court.

9

the availability of an administrative review mechanism

by which the agency supervises the exercise of delegated

subpoena power, and through which issues are narrowed,

facts are developed, and disputes sometimes are resolved.

See United States v. Morton Salt Co., 338 U.S. 632, 653-

654 (1950); Reisman v. Caplin, 375 U.S. 440, 445-449

(1964). In sanctioning the Department of Energy’s re-

fusal to apply its published review procedure in this

case; the Court of Appeals has given agencies a green

light to force subpoena litigation directly into the courts

without supervising the exercise of delegated subpoena

power and without providing an avenue for pre-enforce-

ment dispute resolution.

These issues are important; they warrant plenary

consideration by this Court.

A. Congress Deliberately Withheld Subpoena Power

for Purposes of the Title ITI Study.

1. Mr. Justice Holmes, writing for the Court in Har-

riman v. ICC, 211 U.S. 407, 421 (1908), warned that

compulsory process is an “autocratic power,” the sweep

of which, in the hands of an administrator, must ot be

expanded “on the strength of other than explicit and

unmistakable words * * *.” The Court struck the same

chord in Cudahy Packing Co. v. Holland, 315 U.S. 357

(1942), where it refused to infer a Congressional intent

to give the Wage and Hour Administrator “unrestricted

authority to delegate the subpoena power” when the stat-

ute’s terms granted the power “only to the responsible

head of the agency.” ZJd. at 364. The Court stated (id. at

363) :

Unlimited authority of an administrative officer

to delegate the exercise of the subpoena power is

not lightly to be inferred. It is a power capable

of oppressive use, especially when it may be in-

discriminately delegated and the subpoena is not

returnable before a judicial officer.

10

Even in Oklahoma Press Publishing Co. v. Walling,

827 U.S. 186 (1946)—where the Court upheld an ad-

ministrator’s subpoena authority in the face of “ ‘the

most explicit language’ which leaves no room for ques-

tioning Congress’ intent” (id. at 201)—the Court em-

phasized that “the interests of men to be free from of-

ficious intermeddling” (id. at 213) dictate a cautious

approach to the existence of administrative subpoena

power.?

The Court of Appeals has inverted this Court’s long-

standing presumption. Instead of insisting on an ex-

plicit grant of subpoena power for Title III, the ma-

jority below held that “Congress would have had to

build into Title III a clear withdrawal of subpoena power

if it did not want DOE to issue subpoenas for the Title

III study.” App. A, p. 6a (emphasis added).

2. The Court not only asked the wrong question but

also gave the wrong answer. Even under the majority’s

inverted standard, the language and legislative history

of PMPA do reflect “a clear withdrawal of subpoena

power * * *.” Ibid.

The face of the statute itself strongly implies an in-

tention to withhold the power of compulsory process.

Congress gave the FTC explicit subpoena power in Title

II; in Title III, by contrast, it merely directed the Secre-

tary of Energy to give the public an opportunity to par-

ticipate in the subsidization study. Compare § 203(a)

15 U.S.C. § 2823(a), with § 301(c), 15 U.S.C. § 2841 (e).

When the legislature confers a power in one portion of

an Act but omits any mention of that power in an ad-

jacent portion of the same Act, one may reasonably

?

® These principles are founded in the Constitution. “[W]hen an

administrative agency subpoenas corporate books or records,” the

Fourth Amendment limits the agency to such “reasonable inspec-

tions” as are “contemplated by statute.” See v. City of Seattle, 387

U.S. 541, 544, 545 (1967).

11

infer that the omission reflects an intention to withhold

the power.’®

3. The legislative history corroborates with uncommon

clarity what the text of the Act implies.

As it emerged from Committee, Title III would have

prohibited subsidization of motor fuel marketing opera-

tions with funds or services derived from other petroleum-

related operations. See S. Rep. No. 95-731, 95th Cong.,

2nd Sess. 13-15 (1978). By the time the bill reached

the Senate floor, however, Senator Domenici, a principal

author of the Committee’s version of Title III, acknowl-

edged that the bill would be defeated unless Title III

were eliminated or amended. 124 Cong. Rec. S 7151

(Daily ed., May 9, 1978) (App. 58a, 55a). Senator

10The majority below answered this argument with a non

sequitur—that Title II differs from Title III because the former is

“a directive to private parties” while the latter is “a directive to

a government agency” (App. A, p. 9a; emphasis in original). We

cannot fathom the significance of that distinction. It therefore

merely begs the question to say that “Congress may have felt a

need to spell out the FTC’s enforcement powers in some detail but

“may reasonably have understood Title III to incorporate DOE’s

general enforcement powers from the [DOE Act].” Jbid. The panel

advanced no explanation of why Congress should have felt a differ-

ent need in Title II than in Title IIT.

The majority was also unable to explain away the explicit sub-

poena power conferred by the same Congress in subsequent legis-

lation enacted only a few months later. Section 71l(a) of the

Powerplant and Industrial Fuel Use Act of 1978, Pub. L. No. 95-620,

42 U.S.C. § 8421; see also Section 251 of the Emergency Energy

Conservation Act of 1979, Pub. L. No. 96-102. If, as the majority

asserted, the later grants of subpoena power were a product of un-

certainty and a desire to avoid litigation (App. A, p. 9a), why did

those concerns not lead to the same explicit grant of power in the

PMPA? The situation here is similar to that in Cudahy Packing

Co. Vv. Holland, supra, where the Court inferred “a Congressional

purpose that the subpoena power shall be delegable only when an

authority to delegate is expressly granted” (315 U.S. at 366).

There, as here, Congress had spoken clearly in other st: ates when

it wished to grant the relevant authority. Jd. at 365-366.

The Senate debate on Title III is reproduced at App. I, pp.

47a-85a.

12

Bumpers, one of the Committee members who had op-

posed the entire bill because of Title III, offered an

amendment that he described as ‘“‘a compromise on the

issue of Title III” (id. at 7150; App. 48a). His amend-

ment was ultimately approved by the Senate and enacted

into law as Title III of PMPA.

Senator Bumpers consciously fashioned his amendment

to exclude the power of compulsory process. This much

is vividly revealed by the floor debate on an amendment

offered by Senator Kennedy.

Senator Kennedy’s proposal would have compelled the

Secretary of Energy to make available to other federal

agencies any energy information he acquired in connec-

tion with the subsidization study called for by the Bump-

ers amendment. Jd. at 7152; App. 61la-62a. Senator

Bumpers strongly opposed the Kennedy amendment. He

said that requiring the Secretary of Energy to share the

information he collected for the study would ensure that

the industry would refuse to furnish information volun-

tarily to the Secretary:

If you want to make sure that the Secretary of

Energy gets no cooperation in carrying out the terms

of this [%.e., the Bumpers] amendment, just adopt

the amendment of the Senator from Massachusetts,

and I promise vou that hell will freeze over before

they will voluntarily give one ounce of information,

because they know it is going to be disseminated to

a under the shining Sun. [Jd. at 7153; App.

65a.

Senators Durkin and Kennedy, arguing in favor of the

Kennedy amendment, implied that it would ensure access

to more information than the Bumpers proposal. Senator

Durkin asked: “Why in God’s name is this body so afraid

of information? * * * Why insist that we be blindfolded?”

Id. at 7155; App. 74a. Senator Kennedy ridiculed the

suggestion of Senator Bumpers that the oil companies

“will give us all the information we want.” Jd. at 7155;

App. 75a.

13

Senator Bumpers responded vigorously, rejecting the

suggestion that the Kennedy amendment would in any

way increase the amount of information available to the

government. He stated:

Just so no one is deceived by what we are talking

about, from what the Senator from Massachusetts

just said one would infer that if his amendment

is adopted they could go into the oil companies and

they would have to cough up the information. That

is not the case. His amendment has nothing to do

with what kind of energy information they will get.

They will get no more information under his amend-

ment than under mine. They will not have the right

to get the information under subpena powers either

way. The only thing the Kennedy amendment re-

quires is the sharing of the information it gets.

It does not give the Secretary one iota of authority

to get the information. It does not require the oil

companies to divulge one iota of information they

do not want to give. What we are talking about

is who they will give it to after they get it. That

is all the [Kennedy] amendment goes to. [J/d. at

7155; App. 75a-76a (emphasis added).]

To reinforce his point, Senator Bumpers contrasted the

nature of the Secretary’s authority in preparing the sub-

sidization study called for by his amendment with the

compulsory process available to the Department of Jus-

tice:

The Justice Department has subpena powers. If

they are sure that something is going on that is

wrong among major oil companies, they can subpoena

the information. They do not have to request it.

They do not have to ask for their cooperation. Here

we do. [Id. at 7155; App. 74a (emphasis added) .]

No one, not even Senator Kennedy or Senator Durkin,

contradicted Senator Bumpers’s statement that for pur-

poses of his amendment the Secretary would have no

14

power of compulsory process and would have to proceed

solely by seeking voluntary cooperation. It was on the

basis of this understanding, which Senator Bumpers obvi-

ously believed was important to secure passage of the

bill,** that the Senate voted to reject Senator Kennedy’s

amendment and to approve the Bumpers amendment. One

could hardly ask for a clearer expression of Congressional

purpose with respect to the subpoena issue."

12 Senator Bumpers knew that expedition was an important ele-

ment of his compromise. Senator Domenici, spokesman for those

who had favored the Committee’s version of Title III, joined as

a co-sponsor of the Bumpers amendment. 124 Cong. Rec. S 7150;

App. 48a. His remarks demonstrated both that his support of the

compromise depended upon the expeditious schedule set for the

Title III study (id. at 7151; App. 55a), and that he was sensitive

to the inevitable delays that would result from the use of sub-

poenas. Jd. at 7150; App. 52a. Senator Bumpers, too, knew that

efforts to use compulsory process to obtain sensitive corporate

documents had been “tied up in court for years * * *.” Jd. at 7154;

App. 71a. Since “we are in a time constraint of 18 months for the

study” (id. at 7154; App. 72a), Senator Bumpers concluded that the

best way to proceed was to rely on information already available

and data that the industry would provide voluntarily.

13 The Congressional intent was later confirmed on the floor of

the House when that body approved the Senate amendment. Con-

gressmen Dingell and Brown, Chairman and ranking minority

member of the House Subcommittee on Energy and Power, ex-

changed observations for the obvious purpose of creating legislative

history concerning the understandings on which the legislation

would rest. Concerned about imposing unduly burdensome or ex-

tensive reporting requirements on members of the public, Congress-

man Brown had met with the Deputy Secretary of Energy to

discuss the means by which the Department proposed to collect

the information for the Title III study. Congressman Brown

reported:

* * * T met yesterday at some length with officials of the

Department of Energy, including Mr. John O’Leary, who have

advised me that it is the plan of the Department of Energy

to use the existing EIA P-302 and 306 forms by which they

gather information from refineries, plus revised Bureau of

Labor Statistics and Census surveys, in order to give them

sufficient information regarding supply and price and market

distribution to meet the minimum statutory requirements of

15

Against this background, we are mystified by the Court

of Appeals’ statement that the position of Senator Bump-

ers on the subpoena issue “was simply not centrally rele-

vant to the debate.” App. A, p. 8a. On the contrary, the

entire debate turned on that issue. Had Senator Kennedy

been able to say that the Secretary of Energy would have

subpoena power for purposes of Title III, Senator Bump-

ers’s opposition to the Kennedy amendment would have

collapsed.

Honoring the Congressional purpose in Title III does

not lead to a “repeal or amendment by implication” of

any other statute. App. A, p. 10a. In the first place, the

DOE Act, upon which the majority below relied, does not

authorize the Secretary to issue subpoenas for the Title

III study.“ In any event, the controlling principle here

the legislation under consideration at this point. [124 Cong.

Rec. H 5002 (Daily ed., June 6, 1978) (App. J, p. 92a).]

Thus, like the Senate, the House voted to approve the PMPA

on the understanding that the Secretary of Energy would not use

compulsory process to conduct the study called for under Title III.

Rather, as the Department of Energy confirmed at the time, the

Secretary would rely only on existing data-gathering forms and on

the voluntary cooperation of the industry.

14 Section 645 of the DOE Act, 42 U.S.C. § 7255, provides that,

“(flor the purpose of carrying owt. the provisions of this Act,” the

Secretary shall have the same subpoena power that the FTC has

under 15 U.S.C. § 49 “with respect to all functions vested in, or

transferred or delegated to, the Secretary * * * by this Act.” The

subpoena here, however, was issued to carry out the provisions of

the PMPA, not the provisions of the DOE Act, and the subpoena

itself so states. App. H, p. 42a. Similarly, the Title III study is a

function vested in the Secretary by PM ’A, not by the DOE Act.

Adjacent sections of the DOE Act—which refer to functions “now

or hereafter” vested in the Secretary, 42 U.S.C. §§ 7254, 7256(a),

7259 (a)—show that Congress meant what is said when it limited the

Secretary’s subpoena power to functions vested “by this Act.”

Finally, by incorporating the FTC’s subpoena authority, Congress

limited the use of subpoenas to ‘“matter[s] under investigation.” 15

U.S.C. § 49. The courts have long recognized, in connection with

administrative subpoenas, a “distinction between an investigative

and a more general exploratory purpose * * *.” United States v.

16

is that Congressional intent underlying a specific stat-

ute prevails over the terms of a more general statute

that deals with the same subject matter, particularly

where, as here, the more specific statute is also the

later one. See, e.g., Simpson v. United States, 435 U.S.

6, 15 (1978) ; Brown v. General Services Administration,

425 U.S. 820, 827-829 (1976); Morton v. Mancari, 417

U.S. 535, 550-551 (1974) ; NLRB v. Drivers Local Union,

362 U.S. 274, 291-292 (1960).

B. The Secretary’s Subordinate Improperly Ignored

DOE Regulations Governing Administrative Review

of Subpoenas.

When Exxon filed with the agency its application to

quash the subpoena, Department of Energy regulations

provided for a three-stage process for the administrative

review of such an application. 10 C.F.R. § 205.8 (h)

(1978) (set forth at App. K, pp. 100a-101la).° The DOE

employee who signed the subpoena flagrantly ignored the

terms of the regulations. In response to Exxon’s lengthy

application, he sent a four-sentence letter asserting that

“{t]here are no provisions in the DOE rules providing

for such motions,” that he was “unpersuaded by [Exxon’s]

arguments,” and that he was “turning this matter over

to the Office of the General Counsel” (App. G, p. 41a).

The agency, however, is not free to sidestep applicable

administrative procedures in this manner. E.g., Yellin v.

United States, 374 U.S. 109, 114-121 (1963) (a subpoena

not issued in compliance with the procedural rules of the

Bisceglia, 420 U.S. 141, 152 (1975) (concurring opinion of Mr.

Justice Blackmun). See also United States v. Humble Oil & Refining

Co., 488 F.2d 953 (5th Cir. 1974), vacated, 421 U.S. 943, on remand,

518 F.2d 747 (1975); FTC v. Baltimore Grain Co., 284 F. 886 (D.

Md. 1922), affirmed per curiam, 267 U.S. 586 (1925). The Title III

study is not a “matter under investigation” for purposes of the

statute.

15 The procedure was amended in April 1979. 44 Fed. Reg. 23201-

23202 (April 19, 1979).

ae ee A dbase erene

17

House of Representatives was invalid) ; Vitarelli v. Sea-

ton, 359 U.S. 585, 540-545 (1959); Service v. Dulles,

354 U.S. 363, 382-389 (1957).

The Court of Appeals excused the agency’s failure to

follow its rules in this case on the basis of a restrictive

reading of Part 205’s “purpose and scope” provision. It

provides: “This part establishes the procedures to be

utilized and identifies the sanctions that are available in

proceedings before [FEA} * * *, in accordance with

Parts 209 through 214 of this chapter.” 10 C.F.R. § 205.1.

The panel below accepted the agency’s argument that,

since the subpoena in this case was not issued in a pro-

ceeding under Parts 209 through 214, the administrative

review procedures of Section 205.8 are inapplicable.

That conclusion is unsound for four reasons.

First, the Court of Appeals, admitting that its read-

ing of the regulations “may not be obvious” (App. A,

p. 12a), resolved the issue by invoking the principle

that “an agency is entitled to very broad deference when

it construes its own regulations, Udall v. Tallman, 380

U.S. 1, 16 (1965) * * *.” App. A, p. 12a. But the only

utterance of the agency itself, as contrasted with coun-

sel’s post hoc arguments, is the letter from the very

employee who refused to submit to the review procedure.

And his “construction” amounted to this: “There are

no provisions in the DOE rules providing for such mo-

tions.” App. G, p. 41a.

Udall v. Tallman neither requires nor justifies judicial

deference to a middle-level employee’s unreasoned ipse

dixit that “was no sooner made than challenged.” Davies

Warehouse Co. v. Bowles, 321 U.S. 144, 156 (1944).

Even when “an agency has rendered binding, consistent,

official interpretations * * * over a long period of time,”

Piper v. Chris-Craft Industries, Inc., 480 U.S. 1, 41 n.

27 (1977), this Court has always said that the “weight”

given to the agency’s judgment “will depend upon the

18

thoroughness evident in its consideration, the validity

of its reasoning, its consistency with earlier and later

pronouncements, and al] those factors which give it pow-

er to persuade, if lacking power to control.” Skidmore

v. Swift & Co., 323 U.S. 1384, 140 (1944). Under that

standard, the agency’s judgment here is entitled to no

weight at all.

Second, the agency itself quite plainly intended the

Section 205.8 procedures to apply to the review of all

subpoenas, not simply those issued in proceedings under

Parts 209 through 214. Neither in the original Notice

of Proposed Rulemaking nor in any subsequent notice

involving Section 205.8 did the agency give any hint that

those salutary procedures would be inapplicable to certain

categories of subpoenas. See, e.g., 839 Fed. Reg. 25602

(July 11, 1974); 41 Fed. Reg. 55322 (December 20,

1976) .*¢

Third, even within the four corners of Part 205 there

is ample evidence that the “purpose and scope” provision

of Section 205.1 is meant to be inclusive, not exclusive.”

16 On the contrary, it quite properly recognized, in terms plainly

applicable to all subpoenas, that administrative review is an im-

portant and effective way to avoid needless litigation:

FEA believes that an administrative review procedure offers

a fair, prompt and less formal means [than court litigation] of

evaluating application[s] to quash or modify * * * subpoenas.

It is intended that this administrative review will provide

adequate redress for most applicants. Of course, an applicant

may seek judicial intervention if aggrieved by the decision

reached at the conclusion of the FEA administrative process.

[41 Fed. Reg. 55323 (December 20, 1976).]

17 For example, Section 205.15(d) makes availavle for inspection

and copying in a public docket room all information “required by

statute to be made available * * *.” Sections 205.90-.98 apply by

their terms to the filing of applications and other pleadings required

or permitted under the entire chapter (Parts 200-699) of Title 10.

Similarly, Sections 205.200-.220 establish procedures applicable to

investigations under the entire chapter. If, as the Court of Appeals

believed, Section 205.1 was meant to be exclusionary rather than

inclusionary, these broadly applicable provisions would make no

sense.

19

Fourth, and most important, under the Court of Ap-

peals’ theory the Department of Energy has no procedure

available for the administrative review of the subpoena

in this case. If so, that agency apparently would stand

alone.*®

Moreover, this is the first case, as far as we know,

in which a Court of Appeals has sanctioned summary

enforcement of an administrative subpoena when the

agency refused to furnish an avenue for administrative

review. The precedent is out of harmony with this

Court’s decisions and stands as a dangerous invitation

to agencies to abandon their traditional screening func-

tion and to force subpoena recipients directly into court.

The summary subpoena enforcement procedure de-

pends for its speed and fairness upon the availability of

a meaningful opportunity for administrative review be-

fore the issuing agency. See United States v. Morton

Salt Co., 388 U.S. 632, 653-654 (1950); Reisman Vv.

Caplin, 375 U.S. 440, 445-449 (1964). The courts rely

18 Qur research has uncovered no other example of an agency

that has subpoena power but precludes administrative review of

its exercise. Most agencies have published regulations specifically

governing such review. E.g., 6 C.F.R. §§ 704.11-.13 (Council on

Wage and Price Stability); 12 C.F.R. § 19.12(b) (Comptroller of

the Currency); 12 C.F.R. § 263.7(b) (Federal Reserve System) ;

13 C.F.R. § 109.16(b), (d) (Small Business Administration); 14

C.F.R. § 302.19(f) (Civil Aeronautics Board); 16 C.F.R. § 3.34(c)

(Federal Trade Commission); 16 C.F.R. § 1025.38(g) (Consumer

Product Safety Commission); 17 C.F.R. § 10.68(c) (Commodity

Futures Trading Commission); 17 C.F.R. § 201.14(b)(2) (Securi-

ties and Exchange Commission); 25 C.F.R. § 503.24(b) (Indian

Claims Commission) ; 46 C.F.R. § 201.124 (Maritime Administra-

tion): 46 C.F.R. § 502.132 (Federal Maritime Commission); 47

C.F.R. § 1.334 (Federal Communications Commission); 49 C.F.R.

§ 510.4 (National Highway Traffic Safety Administration).

Even an agency that has no specific regulations for administra-

tive review of subpoenas will entertain motions to quash. See,

e.g., Comet Electronics, Inc. v. United States, 381 F. Supp. 1233,

1236 (W.D. Mo. 1974), affirmed per curiam, 420 U.S. 999 (1975)

(Interstate Commerce Commission).

20

on the agency te evelop a record, to narrow and refine

the factual and iegal issues, and to resolve disputes be-

fore they even reach the courts. Thus, as this Court

stated in Morton Salt, “[blefore the courts will hold

an order seeking information reports to be arbitrarily

excessive, they may expect the supplicant to have made

reasonable efforts before the Commission itself to obtain

reasonable conditions.” 338 U.S. at 653.

Even if, as the Court of Appeals assumed, an agency

would be free deliberately to foreclose administrative re-

view of subpoenas, that result should not be inferred

upon less than the clearest indication of agency purpose.

It would take a far stronger showing than what the

Court of Appeals accepted to justify so significant a de-

parture from the traditional relationship between court

and agency in subpoena enforcement cases.

Appendices

The question is of enormous practical importance to

courts, government agencies, and the public. This Court

should give it plenary consideration.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Of Counsel MILLER & CHEVALIER

DONALD B. CRAVEN

MARK L. EVANS

GERALD B. FLEMING

1700 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 393-5660

D. JOSEPH POTVIN

Exxon Company, U.S.A.

Post Office Box 2180

Houston, Texas 77001

(713) 656-6417

March 7, 1980

ie

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

No. 80-1002

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Vi,

EXXON CORPORATION, a Corporation, APPELLANT

No. 80-1003

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Wa

SHELL OIL COMPANY, a Corporation, APPELLANT

No. 80-1018

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

v.

MARATHON OIL COMPANY, a Corporation, APPELLANT

2a

Appeals from the United States District Court

for the District of Columbia

(D.C. Miscellaneous Nos. 79-0149, 79-0150, & 79-0217)

Argued February 13, 1980

Decided February 25, 1980

Donald B. Craven, with whom Mark L. Evans was on

the brief, for appellant Exxon Corporation. A. M. Min-

ott? entered an appearance for appellant Exxon Corpora-

tion. [Sic.]

Robert W. Steele, with whom J. Wallace Adair and

Robert E. Hebda were on the brief, for appellant Shell

Oil Company.

Daniel Joseph, with whom Warren E. Connelly and

William M. Berenson were on the brief, for appellant

Marathon Oil Company.

Thomas R. Kline and Ann F. Cohen, Attorneys, De-

partment of Justice, with whom Alice Daniel, Assistant

Attorney General, Charles F. C. Ruff, United States At-

torney, and William G. Kanter, Attorney, Department of

Justice, were on the brief, for appellee. H. Robert Field,

Attorney, Office of Competition, Department of Energy,

also entered an appearance for appellee.

Before WRIGHT, Chief Judge, BAZELON, Senior Circuit

Judge, and WILKEY, Circuit Judge.

Opinion for the court per curiam.

Dissenting opinion filed by Circuit Judge WILKEY.

PER CURIAM: These are appeals from a District Court

order of December 19, 1979 enforcing identical adminis-

32.

trative subpoenas duces tecum against three oil com-

panies: Exxon Corporation, Shell Oil Company, and

Marathon Oil Company. We affirm the District Court’s

enforcement of the subpoenas, subject to a protective

order as discussed below.

On May 9, 1978 Congress passed the Petroleum Mar-

keting Practices Act (PMPA), 15 U.S.C. § 2801 ef seq.

(Supp. 1979), Title III of which directs the Secretary

of Energy, in consultation with the Federal Trade Com-

mission (FTC), the Justice Department, and other ap-

propriate agencies, to conduct a study of subsidization of

wholesale and retail motor fuel sales by vertically inte-

grated oil companies. Id. § 2841.1 The Secretary dele-

gated to the Director of the Office of Competition of the

Department of Energy (DOE) his purported power to

issue subpoenas to obtain information for the Title IIT

study, and on January 22, 1979 the Director served on

these appellants subpoenas for a broad range of docu-

ments related to subsidization.”

1The Title III study, which was to be completed within

18 months of enactment, is to cover the following subjects:

(1) the role of vertically integrated operations in

facilitating subsidization of sales of motor fuel at whole-

sale or retail;

(2) the extent to which such subsidization is preda-

tory and presents a threat to competition;

(3) the profitability of various segments of the petro-

leum industry;

(4) the impact of prohibiting such subsidization on

the competitive viability of various segments of the

petroleum industry, on prices of motor fuel to consumers

and on the health and structure of the petroleum indus-

try as a whole; and

(5) such other matters as the Secretary considers

appropriate.

15 U.S.C.A. § 2841(b) (Supp. 1979).

2 The subpoenas are set out in the Joint Appendix at 24-38.

4a

Appellants have challenged the subpoenas on several

grounds, most notably: (1) DOE’s subpoena power under

Title III can derive only from Title III itself, the lan-

guage of which is silent on subpoena power, and the legis-

lative history of which demonstrates congressional intent

that DOE have no subpoena power for the Title III

study. (2) The general grants of subpoena power to

DOE in the Department of Energy Organization Act

(DOEOA), 42 U.S.C. § 7101 et seg. (Supp. I 1977), and

the Federal Energy Administration Act (FEAA), 15

U.S.C. § 761 et seg. (Supp. I 1977), cannot provide sub-

poena power for an agency function which, like the

subsidization study, stands outside and was mandated

subsequent to these general acts. (3) Even if the general

grant of subpoena power under the DOEOA, 42 U.S.C.

§ 7255 (Supp. I 1977), could apply to a later-mandated

agency function, that section, which incorporates the

subpoena power granted the FTC under 15 U.S.C. § 49

(1976), applies only to narrowly focused agency in-

vestigations of specific legal violations, not open-ended

studies. (4) In denying administrative review of the

subpoenas, DOE violated its own regulations, the Ad-

ministrative Procedure Act, and the due process clause.

(5) The subpoenas are too broad and burdensome to

meet the demands of legitimate purpose and relevancy.

Judge Penn rejected the oil companies’ claims, hold-

ing that DOE had subpoena power for the Title III study

under DOEOA. We agree. Title III of PMPA rather

obviously makes no provision for subpoena power for the

subsidization study.* Our analysis of DOEOA, however,

reveals that DOE did not need a special grant of sub-

poena power for this specific study. Rather, Title III

8 On the other hand, Title II of PMPA, which sets standards

for accurate disclosure of motor fuel octane ratings, does

expressly grant subpoena power to the FTC. 15 U.S.C.A.

§ 2823(a) (Supp. 1979).

5a

specifically instructs DOE to conduct a study which the

agency would in any event be permitted to conduct un-

der its broad general DOEOA mandate. Thus, DOE

can rely on the subpoena power in Section 7255.4 We

address this issue first, because it lays the premise for our

analysis of the oil companies’ legislative history argu-

ment.

DOEOA provides in 42 U.S.C. § 7255:

For the purpose of carrying out the provisions

of this chapter, the Secretary, or his duly authorized

agent or agents, shall have the same powers and

authorities as the Federal Trade Commission under

Section 49 of Title 15 [the FTC’s subpoena power]

with respect to all functions vested in, or trans-

ferred or delegated to, the Secretary or such agents

by this chapter.

In creating DOE, Congress expressly sought to achieve

effective management of energy resources, promote con-

sumer interests by ensuring an ample and reasonably

priced supply of energy, and foster the economic health

of small businesses engaged in energy production.

Id. § 7112. The statute mandates appointment of e.ght

Assistant Secretaries with such responsibilities as pro-

moting competition and setting regulations for consumer

protection. Jd. § 71383(a) (7). The Secretary must create

an Energy Information Administration (EIA) for

carrying out a central, comprehensive, and unified

data and information program which will collect,

evaluate, assemble, analyze, and disseminate data

and information which is relevant to energy re-

*So holding, we agree with the District Court that there

is thus no need to answer the somewhat more involved ques-

tion whether FEAA provides yet another source of this

subpoena power.

6a

source reserves, energy production, demzad, and tech-

nology, and related economic and statistical informa-

tion, or which is relevant to the adequacy of energy

resources to meet demands in the near and longer

term future for the Nation’s economic and social

needs.

Id. § 7185(a) (2). The statute also vests the EIA Ad-

ministrator with the very broad duties the FEAA had

assigned to the Administrator of the Office of Energy

Information Administration under 15 U.S.C. § 790 et seq.

(Supp. I 1977), including the task of maintaining infor-

mation on the economic structure of energy supply sys-

tems. Id. § 790a(b). Finally, the DOEOA requires the

Secretary to make an annual report on the effectiveness

of competitive and regulatory practices of government

and private entities. 42 U.S.C. § 7267(5) (Supp. I 1977).

The specific study required by Title III falls well

within the range of administrative inquiry which these

provisions of DOEOA place within DOE’s power. We

find no reason why the phrase “by this chapter” in Sec-

tion 7255 cannot include an agency function lying with-

in the powers granted by that chapter, but reinforced by

a specific subsequent legislative mandate. Thus, DOE’s

performance of the Title III study is a legitimate means

of “carrying out the provisions of this chapter” within

the meaning of Section 7255.

Since DOE thus already possessed subpoena power for

a general study of subsidization when Congress passed

Title III, that statute’s silence on subpoena power would

seem to be of no consequence; Congress would have had to

build into Title III a clear withdrawal of subpoena power

if it did not want DOE to issue subpoenas for the

Title III study. The oil companies point to the legisla-

tive history of Title III and to grants of subpoena power

in related legislation to argue that Congress intended to

do just that. We disagree.

Ta

The heart of the legislative history argument is a pair

of remarks by Senator Bumpers, the sponsor of Title

III. The remarks arose during debate on a _ proposed

amendment to Title III offered by Senator Kennedy.

That amendment, incorporating the confidentiality section

of the Energy Supply and Coordination Act, 15 U.S.C.

§ 796(d) (Supp. I 1977), would have barred disclosure

of certain information DOE obtained from the oil com-

panies as confidential, except for requiring disclosure

upon request to the Justice Department, the FTC, and

other listed agencies. Senator Bumpers objected vigor-

onsly to the Kennedy amendment, apparently construing

it as giving these other agencies access which they would

otherwise lack to DOE-obtained information. Senator

Bumpers believed that the oil companies’ fear of adverse

use of such information by the other agencies would

chill their willingness to voluntarily comply with DOE

requests for Title III information. Apparently, he felt

that such voluntary compliance was crucial because he

assumed that DOE would have no subpoena power under

Title III. See 124 Conc. Rec. S¥155 (daily ed. May 9,

1978) .°

5 Senator Bumpers’ key remarks were as follows:

* * * The Justice Department has subpena powers.

If they are sure that something is going on that is wrong

among major oil companies, they can subpena the infor-

mation. They do not have to request it. They do not have

to ask for their cooperation. Here we do. * * *

x * + 7

* * * [Kennedy’s] amendment has nothing to do with

what kind of energy information [the other agencies]

will get. They will get no more information under his

amendment than under mine. Chey will not have the right

to get the information under subpena powers either

way. * * *

124 ConG. REc. $7155, cols. 1, 2 (daily ed. May 9, 1978).

8a

The debate on the Kennedy amendment is clouded by

confusion on both sides as to what changes the amend-

ment would make in the status quo. Despite this con-

fusion, it does appear clear that Senator Bumpers

thought there would be no subpoena power under Title

III. Nevertheless, we do not see how Senator Bumpers’

express or implied view can alter our own view of

DOE’s general subpoena power here. First, “(t]he re-

marks of a single legislator, even the sponsor, are not

controlling in analyzing legislative history.” Chrysler

Corp. v. Brown, 441 U.S. 281, 311 (1979). Second, even

if Senator Bumpers did believe that DOE would have no

subpoena power under Title III, that belief was really

unnecessary to his argument against the Kennedy amend-

ment. Senator Bumpers wanted to encourage voluntary

compliance with Title III. Under the severe time con-

straints Title III was to impose on DOE, voluntary com-

pliance would be extremely desirable, even if DOE re-

tained a fall-back subpoena power. Therefore, the con-

text of Senator Bumpers’ remarks weakens their sig-

nificance as evidence of intent on the subpoena issue.

Moreover, the fact that his assumption that DOE would

have no subpoena power was unnecessary to his position

on the Kennedy amendment may explain why no Senators

rose to challenge that assumption; it was simply not cen-

trally relevant to the debate. In fact, so far from pe-

lieving the goal of voluntary compliance and the presence

of a residual subpoena power inconsistent, Congress may

well have thought the two complementary. Since the fo-

cus of the Title III study is the possibility of preda-

tory subsidization of motor fuel sales by the oil com-

panies, Congress may have assumed the residual sub-

poena power to be necessary to encourage agreements

effecting voluntary compliance. Without the brooding

threat of such subpoena power, Congress might reasonably

have feared that the oil companies’ willingness to par-

ticipate in the study would be less than overwhelming.

9a

The oil companies nevertheless invoke the hoary prin-

ciple of expressio unius est exclusio alterius to buttress

their view of congressional intent. First, whereas Title

III of PMPA never mentions subpoena power, Title II,

which requires accurate disclosures of motor fuel octane

ratings, expressly grants subpoena power to the FTC.

15 -U.S.C.A. § 2823(a) (Supp. 1979). Second, Congress

expressly gave subpoena power to the DOE itself in such

other specific statutes as the Powerplant and Industrial

Fuel Use Act, 42 U.S.C.A. § 301 et seg. (Supp. 1979),

and the Emergency Energy Conservation Act of 1979,

Pub. L. No. 96-102.

These congressional actions might, among many other

factors, provide some evidence on the issue of con-

gressional intent, but they are hardly decisive. The struc-

ture of Title II differs markedly from that of Title III.

Title II is primarily a directive to private parties to

fulfill general reporting requirements imposed by the

Act. Title II, however, secondarily establishes the FTC

as the enforcing agency, and Congress may have felt a

need to spell out the FTC’s enforcement powers in some

detail. Title III, in contrast, is primarily a directive

to a government agency, the Department of Energy, and

Congress may reasonably have understood Title III to

incorporate DOE’s general enforcement powers from the

DOEOA.

As for the Powerplant and Energy Conservation Acts,

the grants of subpoena power there may well have been

the product of “uncertainty, understandable caution, and

a desire to avoid litigation.” Natl Petroleum Refiners

Ass’n v. FTC, 482 F.2d 672, 696 (D.C. Cir. 1973). The

oil companies’ expressio unius argument remains highly

speculative. Moreover, since Section 7255 had already

given DOE subpoena power for a study like that di-

rected in Title III, for us to accept the oil companies’

argument we would have to read the combination of their

10a

legislative history and expressio wnius theories as proof

of repeal or amendment by implication. The Supreme

Court has cast grave doubt on such inferences,. TVA v.

Hill, 4837 U.S. 158, 189-190 (1978), and its suspicions

would be especially justified here where the inference

would be based not on any language in Title III itself,

but on a stray remark in the legislative history and

questionable reference to other statutes.

The oil companies nevertheless argue that 15 U.S.C.

§ 49 (1976), the FTC Act provision on which the Section

7255 subpoena power is based, allows the agency to issue

subpoenas only as part of narrowly focused investiga-

tions of specific parties suspected of specific legal viola-

tions, and not as part of broad inquiries into the possi-

bility of legal violations throughout an industry or into

industry conduct not currently illegal which might war-

rant fresh administrative or legislative action. We find

nothing in the FTC Act or in the judicial history of Sec-

tion 49 or Section 7255 to support this distinction.

The key provision in the FTC Act states:

For the purposes of this subchapter the Commis-

sion, or its duly authorized agent or agents, shall at

all reasonable times have access to, for the purpose

of examination, and the right to copy any docu-

mentary evidence of any person, partnership, or cor-

poration being investigated or proceeded against; and

the Commission shall have power to require by sub-

poena the attendance and testimony of witnesses

and the production of all such documentary evidence

relating to any matter under investigation. * * *

15 U.S.C. § 49 (1976). Although the section might put

some limit on FTC orders of access, the rather laconic

phrase “relating to any matter under investigation” de-

scribing the scope of the subpoena power hardly suggests

the study-investigation distinction argued by the oil com-

panies. Moreover, the language of other related sections

lla

of the FTC Act argues directly against this distinction.

Section 46, in granting substantive powers to the FTC,

clearly uses the verb “investigate” to describe broad ad-

ministrative functions involving studies or inquiries

which logic would force the oil companies to place on the

“study” rather than on the “investigation” side of their

distinction. See id. § 46(a), (h).

Moreover, of the numerous cases cited by the oil com-

panies to support their distinction, none is on point. Some

involve judicial construction of the very particular terms

of a wholly different statute, like the Internal Revenue

Code. United States v. Bisceglia, 420 U.S. 141 (1975) ;

United States v. Humble Oil & Refining Co., 488 F.2d

953 (5th Cir. 1974), vacated, 421 U.S. 943 (1975), re-

instated on remand, 518 F.2d 747 (5th Cir. 1975). Other |

cited cases simply uphold subpoenas issued pursuant to —

law enforcement investigations without judging the valid-

ity of subpoenas issued for other purposes. United States

v. Bell, 564 F.2d 9538 (TECA 1977); United States v.

Empire Gas Corp., 547 F.2d 1147 (TECA 1976), cert.

denied, 480 U.S. 915 (1977). And FTC v. Baltimore

Grain Co., 284 F. 886 (D. Md. 1922), aff'd per curiam,

267 U.S. 586 (1925), involved not a subpoena, but an

order of access. ;

To the extent that these cases might accumulate into

some amorphous general congressional belief in the study-

investigation distinction, they are easily offset by num-

erous cases cited by DOE which suggest, at least gen-

erally, the absence of such a distinction. With no con-

trolling precedent, we revert to the language and scheme

of the FTC Act, and find no grounds for the oil com-

panies’ theory.®

6 Appellants also rely on our recent decision in United

States v. Iannone, 610 F.2d 948 (D.C. Cir. 1979), as support

for limiting DOE’s general subpoera powers. We find the

case easily distinguishable. In Jannone, Congress had given

;

12a

The oil companies’ procedural objections to the subpoena

merit little attention. Appellants claim that under the

DOE regulations for review of agency subpoenas, 10

C.F.R. § 205.8 (1979), DOE was required to entertain

their motion to quash. DOE points in response to Section

205.1 of the regulations, which purportedly limits the

subpoena review regulations to subpoenas issued as part

of the specific agency functions described in 10 C.F.R.

§§ 209-214 (1979), into none of which categories falls

the subsidization study. Whether the reference to Sec-

tions 209-214 in Section 205.1 is inclusive or exclusive

may not be obvious, but an agency is entitled to very

broad deference when it construes its own regulations,

Udall v. Tallman, 380 U.S. 1, 16 (1965), and we see no

reason to disagree with DOE here.

As for other procedural arguments, the oil companies

offer no sound authority for their view that either the

Administrative Procedure Act or due process requires the

agency to promulgate review regulations for all agency

subpoenas. See United States v. Firestone Tire & Rubber

the Inspector General of DOE express power to subpoena

documents but was silent on his power to subpoena live testi-

mony. We held that grant of power to subpoena documents

to be exclusive. There, however, we had a clear and focused

expression of congressional intent with respect to the sub-

poena powers of a particular official. Moreover, our concern

lay not with the general scope of DOE’s subpoena power, but

with problems of delegation of that power to that particular

official. First, the Inspector General is supposed to be an

independent officer within DOE, not an “agent” of the Secre-

tary within the meaning of 42 U.S.C. § 7255. 610 F.2d at 946.

Second, Congress has sought to create a comprehensive sys-

tem of Inspectors General throughout the government, all

with identical powers. Varying grants of subpoena authority

to Inspectors General from agency heads would disrupt such a

system. Plainly, none of the considerations in Jannone bear

on this case.

WD AK Bot re REDE de

13a

Co., 455 F.Supp. 1072, 1080 (D. D.C. 1978). Northern

‘California Power Agency v. Morton, 396 F.Supp. 1187

(D. D.C. 1975), on which the oil companies rely, did not

involve subpoenas, but complex ratemaking matters which,

in the court’s view, required regulations to help the parties

obtain review of massive technical data. Moreover, in

that case court review would be limited to the agency

record, which the court thought would be enhanced by

new regulations. In a subpoena enforcement, by con-

trast, the District Court can inquire into all relevant

matters, unlimited by the scope of the agency’s own in-

quiry; if any. In any event, we find no evidence that the

oil company did not have a reasonable hearing on its

challenges to the subpoenas in the District Court, and

so we find no reason to impose new procedural rules

on the agency.’

Finally, we find that the subpoenas were reasonably

relevant to the agency’s legitimate statutory purpose and

imposed no undue burden on the oil companies. Oklahoma

Press Publishing Co. v. Walling, 327 U.S. 186, 209

(1946). Marathon makes the rather novel argument

that the Secretary should first collect documents on sub-

sidization and only if he finds evidence of this practice

proceed to seek information on the possibly predatory

motive behind it. But nothing in the statute or its legis-

lative history suggests in any way that Congress intended

7 We find no merit and little coherence in Shell’s claim that

the District Court erred in denying it discovery in the en-

forcement proceeding, and in reaching the merits of the

subpoena question in denying Shell’s motion to dismiss, be-

fore Shell filed an answer. Except in extraordinary circum-

stances of the sort that are not apparent here, discovery

is improper in a summary subpoena enforcement proceeding,

United States v. Firestone Tire & Rubber Co., 455 F.Supp.

1072, 1078 (D. D.C. 1978), and Shell appears to have had

ample opportunity to present the District Court with all its

objections to the subpoenas.

l4a

this study to be conducted in stages; its tight deadline

suggests quite the contrary.

We thus conclude that as a matter of law the DOE

acted within its statutory power in issuing the Title III

subpoenas. Nevertheless, we uphold their enforcement

subject to the precise terms of a protective order. Since

the enforcement of a subpoena is an independent judicial

action, and not merely an action ancillary to an earlier

agency action, ICC v. Brimson, 154 U.S. 447 (1894), a

court is free to change the terms of an agency subpoena

as it sees fit. Flotill Products, Inc. v. FTC, 278 F.2d 850,

852 (9th Cir. 1960).

DOE originally issued subpoenas to nine oil companies,

including, in addition to the appellants, Ashland Oil Com-

pany, Atlantic Richfield Oil Company, Clark Oil & Re-

fining Company, Gulf Oil Corporation, Standard Oil Com-

pany of Indiana, and Texaco, Inc. These latter six com-

panies, however, avoided enforcement of the subpoenas by

coming to agreements with DOE providing for volun-

tary submission of documents relevant to the Title III

study with special protection for certain documents desig-

nated by the companies as “confidential” or “extremely

confidential.” Under these agreements, “confidential” docu-

ments in DOE hands would remain in special locked files,

while “extremely confidential” documents would generally

remain in the companies’ possession and thus never be-

come agency records subject to public disclosure under the

Freedom of Information Act. The gist of these protec-

tions is set out in the attached Protective Order. In set-

tling with the six other companies, DOE apparently be-

lieved that these protections put no serious constraints on

the Title III study. DOE has not shown any reason why

the appellants do not need similar protection, and in fact,

in an effort at settling after oral argument in this case,

expressly offered equivalent confidentiality terms to ap-

pellants. We therefore find it appropriate to modify the

15a

subpoenas to incorporate the essential confidentiality pro-

visions of these earlier agreements.®

Subject to the attached Protective Order, the judgment

of the District Court is

Affirmed.

8 The attached Protective Order is essentially the one sub-

mitted by DOE as part of its effort to settle the case after

oral argument in this court. The government’s settlement

proposal appears to differ from the agreements reached with

the nonlitigating oil companies in only two material ways,

and we must presume it was these differences which deterred

the appellants from settling.

First, the government did not offer the appellants, as it did

the nonlitigating companies, assurance that it would not

exercise any discretion it possessed under Chrysler Corp. v.

Brown, 441 U.S. 281 (1979), to release to the public any

information otherwise exempt under the Freedom of Infor-

mation Act. We think the public interest is not disserved by

providing appellants this protection, so we include it in the

Protective Order.

Second, the earlier agreements had provided that if DOE

shares any of its Title III information with the Justice De-

partment or the FTC, those agencies are bound not to use such

information—unless it is elsewhere available—for any pur-

pose other than that of Title III itself. The nonlitigating oil

companies thus obtained assurance that the other agencies

could not use any such information as the basis for any inde-

pendent legal actions against them. After those agreements

were drawn, DOE received complaints from the Justice De-

partment and the FTC that such provisions, forcing them to

read Title III documents with one eye closed, so to speak,

unduly inhibit them in their statutory law enforcement duties

and were not in any event required by law. We agree. Appel-

lants have not alerted us to any authority, either in general

or in the text or legislative history of PMPA, for requiring

such extraordinary protection. Thus, we are loath to make

such protection part of our Protective Order, especially since

Title III expressly provides for consultation between DOE

and other agencies.

16a

PROTECTIVE ORDER

I. Production of Documents.

By March 8, 1980 Exxon Corporation, Shell Oil Com-

pany, and Marathon Oil Company (hereinafter referred

to as company) shall produce all documents specified in

the subpoenas issued on January 22, 1979 by William C.

Lane, Jr. of the Department of Energy (DOE), subject to

the provisions for confidential treatment set forth below.

II. Confidentiality

(A) Each company shall designate in good faith at the

time of production of documents or information pursuant

to this Protective Order those items that it claims to be

“Confidential” in that they contain proprietary, trade

secret, or other confidential information. Each company

may also designate a reasonable number of documents and

information each company deems to be “Extremely Confi-

dential” in that they contain proprietary, trade secret, or

other confidential information of such a significant and

confidential nature that their release may have an ex-

tremely adverse effect on the company’s competitive busi-

ness position. A designation by each company as “Confi-

dential” or “Extremely Confidential” is not a declaration

of the agency of such designation. Documents designated

by being “Extremely Confidential” shall be made available

for examination by personnel assigned to the Title III

study from the Office of Competition (O/C), the Depart-

ment of Justice (DOJ), the Federal Trade Commission

(FTC), and any other agency as designated by the Secre-

tary for participation in the Title III study at the offices

designated by each company in Washington, D.C. In the

event any of the above-listed agencies reasonably de-

termines that physical possession of a copy of a docu-

ment labeled “Extremely Confidential’ is necessary, those

agencies may make a request for such a copy, which re-

quest the company shall not unreasonably refuse.

me Nn OA re et ee Snel | a SA

17a

(B) In the event that copies are made of, or notes are

taken concerning, such “Extremely Confidential” docu-

ments by any person examining the documents, such

copies and notes shall be treated as “Extremely Confi-

dential” documents within the meaning of that term as

it is used in this Protective Order.

(C) In the event that O/C, DOJ, FTC, or any other

agency designated by the Secretary for participation in

the Title III study determines that physical possession of

the notes from, or a copy of, a company document labeled

“Extremely Confidential” is necessary for the completion

of the Title III study, pursuant to Subparts (A) and (B)

of this Part, or if, upon examination of such documents

for Title III purposes, another law enforcement purpose

is evident, such document may be requested for such use.

If so requested, such agency shall provide the following

continuing protections for the confidentiality of such notes

or documents, as well as for documents labeled “Confiden-

tial” or notes taken from such “Confidential” documents:

(1) All such documents and notes, as well as drafts

and manuscripts of the Title III study, shall be

secured in a locked file cabinet when not in use

and in a room which is locked when not in use or

such other facilities as will provide comparable

security.

(2) A log, available to the company upon request,

shall be maintained by all individuals that have

access to “Confidential” documents of that com-

pany.

(3) A separate log, available to the company upon

request, shall be maintained for “Extremely

Confidential” documents which shall show on a

document-by-document basis who has possession

of such document.

(4) Individuals granted access to “Confidential” or

“Extremely Confidential” documents of a com-

pany shall be informed of the status of these

18a

documents and the limitations on their use and

such individuals, other than attorneys employed

by 0/C, DOJ, FTC, and other agencies desig-

nated by the Secretary for participation in the

Title III study, shall sign an acknowledgment of

their understanding of these limitations in the

form attached as Exhibit A. A copy of the

executed undertaking shall be made available to

the company.

(5) All “Confidential” and “Extremely Confidential’

material shall be returned to said locked file

cabinets at the end of each working day.

(D) In the event O/C, FTC, or any other agency

designated by the Secretary for participation in the Title

III study determines that any of a company’s documents

labeled “Extremely Confidential” are not necessary to the

Title III study, that agency shall immediately return such

documents to the company. Provided, however, that if

upon examination of such document for Title III pur-

poses another law enforcement purpose is evident, such

document may be kept for such use.

(E) Any government agency having possession of docu-

ments produced under this Protective Order may share

those documents with any other government agency that

agrees to abide by the terms of this Protective Order.

(F) Nothing in the Protective Order shail be con-

strued as precluding or limiting disclosure:

(1) pursuant to a valid subpoena or court order;

(2) pursuant to a request formally authorized by a

committee or subcommittee of Congress with

jurisdiction over the subject matter of the docu-

ments or information requested;

(3) at the direction of the Office of Management and

Budget under 44 U.S.C. § 3502 et seq.

19a

(G) Any agency having possession of any documents

obtained under this Protective Order shall promptly

notify a company of all requests for disclosure under the

Freedom of Information Act of any document or infor-

mation produced by a company under this Protective

Order, including requests for disclosure that would be

permitted hereunder, and the basis therefor, and shall also

give the company the maximum actual notice reasonably

possible, and not less than ten days’ notice (unless com-

pelled by court order or lawful subpoena to disclose the

document in less than ten days), of any intended dis-

closure. The notice period shall run from the date on

which the company actually receives such written notice.

No agency shall exercise any discretion it may have

under the Freedom of Information Act to release other-

wise exempt material provided by any company.

(H) Portions of the draft report on the Title III study

which contain or summarize information from ‘“Confi-

dential” or “Extremely Confidential” documents shall be

treated in the same manner as other “Confidential” or

“Extremely Confidential” documents under this Protective

Order. In addition, O/C wil send to a company those

portions of the final draft of such report which cite or

summarize “Confidential” or “Extremely Confidential”

documents at least ten days prior to public release of the

report and provide the company with an opportunity to

comment on O/C’s intended use prior to release of such

report.

(I) At the conclusion of O/C’s Title III study, any

agency in possession of any documents obtained under this

Protective Order shall immediately return to a company

all documents or information produced by that company

pursuant to this Protective Order (and all copies of such

documents or information) which are not referenced in

or relied upon to prepare the Title III study or which

are not, having been examined for the Title III study,

necessary for a law enforcement purpose. In any event,

20a

all documents will be returned to a company within four

(4) years from the completion of the Title III study un-

less being kept for a law enforcement purpose.

(1) All documents and information not immediately

returned or released to a company pursuant to

Subpart (I) of this Part shall continue to be

maintained by the agency in possession in the

same manner as provided in Subpart (C) of this

Part until returned.

(2) All notes taken from a company document

labeled “Extremely Confidential” shall be de-

stroyed by the agency in possession when the

report of the Title III study is submitted to Con-

gress, unless being kept for a law enforcement

purpose.

(J) O/C, DOJ, FTC, or any other government agency

designated by the Secretary may request and a company

shall not unreasonably refuse the reclassification of any

material designated either “Confidential” or “Extremely

Confidential” which the agency believes may have been

wrongly classified or which the passage of time may have

made less sensitive. Such request of an agency shall spe-

cifically state the reasons for the request, including the

intended use thereof.

(K) A company shall inform O/C of the person auth-

orized to receive notification under this Protective Order.

ee Oe Pee ee ee ee Renee Ee es

2la

EXHIBIT A

STATEMENT

hereby states:

(Name)

I reside at

(Street Adress)

in the City of .

(Name of City)

County of .

(Name of County)

in the

(Capacity) (Department or Agency)

I understand that I will have access to and be ex-

amining corporate documents of

(Company)

which are of a highly proprietary and confidential nature,

and pledge that I, under no circumstances, shall remove

any such confidential document from the control of

. Furthermore, I have

(Government Agency)

read the Protective Order covering these documents and

understand the limitations contained therein on the use

of information contained in those documents. I further

understand that violation of the terms of the Protective

Order may subject me to severe penalties under 18 U.S.C.

§ 1905, including fines and imprisonment.

Dated:

22a

WILKEY, Circuit Judge, dissenting: This case deserves,

and has received, all possible expedition, so I record my

disagreement with my colleagues’ conclusion with unac-

customed brevity. I think the appellants are correct in

their challenge to the subpoenas on points (1), (2), and

(5) as stated in the third paragraph of the Per Curiam.

On the face of the statute there is no subpoena power

under Title III, there is admittedly not one word in the

legislative history implying there is such a power, and

there are words from two of the legislators most active

on this statute saying flatly that no subpoena power exists

for the Title III study, a repeated assertion which was

repeatedly uncontradicted.

I agree, of course, with the imposition of the protective

order.

23a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

September Term, 1979

Miscellaneous No. 79-0149

No. 80-1002

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Ve

EXXON CORPORATION, a Corporation, APPELLANT

No. 80-1003

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Vv.

SHELL OIL COMPANY, a Corporation, APPELLANT

No. 80-1018

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

» A

MARATHON OIL COMPANY, a Corporation, APPELLANT

Appeals from the United States District Court

for the District of Columbia

Before: WRIGHT, Chief Judge, BAZELON, Senior Cir-

cuit Judge, and WILKEY, Circuit Judge

NR ii ara

24a

JUDGMENT

These causes came on to be heard on the record on

appeal from the United States District Court for the

District of Columbia, and were argued by counsel. On

consideration thereof, it is

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED, by this Court, that the

judgment of the District Court appealed from in these

causes is hereby affirmed, for the reasons set forth in the

Opinion for the Court filed in these cases on February

25, 1980, as amended, subject to the protective order at-

tached hereto as Schedule I and which is fully incor-

porated herein.

Per Curiam

For the Court

/s/ George A. Fisher

GEORGE A. FISHER

Clerk

Filed: February 26, 1980

Opinion for the Court per curiam.

Dissenting opinion filed by Circuit Judge Wilkey in which

he notes his disagreement with the disposition of this

case on the merits but agrees with the imposition of

the protective order.

[Protective Order omitted. It is set forth as part of

Appendix A, supra, pp. 16a-21a.]

al Ok Lis eld he On ina 6 lal heat . miata

ee A Do en renee eee T

a Ei al. al a TE St Pte ree i te ee A

25a

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

September Term, 1979

Misc. No. 79-0149

No. 80-

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

V.

EXXON CORPORATION, a Corporation, APPELLANT

And Consolidated Case Nos. 80-1003 and 80-1018

Filed Feb. 29, 1980

Before: WRIGHT, Chief Judge; BAZELON, Senior Cir-

cuit Judge; and WILKEY, Circuit Judge

ORDER

Upon consideration of appellants’ motions for stay of

mandate, of the motions for expedited consideration of

same, and of appellee’s opposition to the requested stays

of mandate, it is

ORDERED, by the Court, that the motions for ex-

pedited consideration of the requests for stay of mandate

are granted, and it is

26a

FURTHER ORDERED, by the Court, that appellants’

motions for stay of mandate are granted to and includ-

ing March 10, 1980, on which date the Clerk is directed

to issue the mandate in these cases.

Per Curiam

FOR THE COURT:

/s/ George A. Fisher

GEORGE A. FISHER

Clerk

ee eae

27a

APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Mise. No. 79-0149

Filed Dec. 19, 1979

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

c/o U.S. Attorney,

Courthouse Building,

Washington, D.C. 20001, PETITIONER

Vv.

EXXON CORPORATION, a Corporation,

c/o C. T. Corporation System,

918 - 16th St., N.W.,

Washington, D.C. 20006, RESPONDENT

ORDER

Petitioner, the United States of America, having in-

voked the aid of the Court, pursuant to Section 645 of

the Department of Energy Organization Act, 42 U.S.C.A.

Section 7255 and Section 13(e) of the Federal Energy

Administration Act, 15 U.S.C. Section 772(e) (1976), in

requiring the above-captioned respondent to comply with

the administrative subpoena duces tecum issued on Jan-

uary 22, 1979, to obtain information for a study being

conducted pursuant to Title III of the Petroleum Market-

ing Practices Act, Public Law 95-297, 15 U.S.C.A. §§ 2801

et seg. and the Court having considered the Petition and

other papers of record, and the Court being of the opinion

that the subpoena was lawfully issued for an inquiry

within the authority of the agency; the demand is not tao

indefinite, and the information sought is reasonably rele-

28a

vant, and therefore the subpoena should be enforced, it

is hereby

ORDERED that respondent Exxon appear before Wil-

liam C. Lane, Jr., the Director of the Office of Competi-

tion of the Office of Policy and Evaluation of the Depart-

ment of Energy or his representative at a time and place

in Washington, D.C., to be designated by the petitioner

upon not less than ten (10) days’ notice, and produce

documents as required by the subpoena duces tecum issued

by William C. Lane, Jr., on January 22, 1979, a copy of

which subpoena is attached to the Petition.

/8/ John Garrett Penn

JOHN GARRETT PENN

United States District Judge

December 17, 1979

a het nanan ee

29a

APPENDIX E

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Misc. 79-149

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

V.

EXXON CORPORATION

Misc. 79-150

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

V.

SHELL OIL Co.

Misc. 79-217

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Vv.

MARATHON OIL Co.

Filed Jan. 15, 1980

30a

MEMORANDUM

These three cases came before the Court on petitions

by the United States to e: force subpoenas duces tecum

dated January 22, 1979, and served on the three respond-

ents, Exxon Corporation {Exxon), Marathan [sic] Oil Co.

(Marathon), and Shell Oil Co. (Shell). Petitioner filed

these actions when the respondents failed to honor the

subpoenas." The Court heard arguments in support of

and in opposition to the respective petitions and on De-

cember 17, 1979, entered Orders directing the respondents

to comply with the subpoenas. The purpose of this Memo-

randum is to briefly set forth the basis of the Court’s

ruling.

Petitioner brings these actions pursuant to the author-

ity granted by the Department of Energy Organization

Act (DOEOA), 42 U.S.C. § 7101 et. seq., and the Federal

Energy Administration Act (FEAA), 15 U.S.C. § 761

et. seq. The subpoenas were issued by the Director of the

Office of Policy and Evaluation, acting under a delega-

tion of authority from the Secretary of the Department

of Energy, to require the respondents to provide infor-

mation necessary for the preparation of a study required

by Title III of the Petroleum Marketing Practices Act

(PMPA), 15 U.S.C. § 2841. Section 2841(a) provides:

(a) The Secretary of Energy, in consultation with

the Chairman of the Federal Trade Commission and

the Attorney General and other agencies as the Sec-

retary deems appropriate, shall conduct a study of

1 The actions against Exxon and Shell were filed on June

29, 1979, and the action against Marthon [sic] was filed on

October 10, 1979.

* Similar subpoenas have been served on several other oil

companies which voluntarily complied after negotiations with

the Department of Energy.

ae

sla

the extent to which producers, refiners, and other

suppliers of motor fuel subsidize the sale of such

motor fuel at retail or wholesale with profits ob-

tained from other operations.

Section 2841(b) provides that the study shall examine

the role of vertically integrated operations in facilitating

subsidization of sales of motor fuel at wholesale or retail,

the extent to which such subsidization is predatory and

presents a threat to competition, the profitability of vari-

ous segments of the petroleum industry, the impact of

prohibiting such subsidization on the competitive viability

of segments of the industry, the prices of motor fuel to

consumers and the health and structure of the industry

as a whole and such other matters as the Secretary deems

appropriate. The Secretary plans to submit his report

on March 31, 1980."

I

Respondents object to the subpoenas on several grounds,

namely, (1) that the PMPA does not confer subpoena

power, (2) Congress did not intend to confer subpoena

power upon the Department of Energy (DOE) for com-

pletion of the study required by PMPA, (3) the DOE

cannot look to other statutes for subpoena power, includ-

ing the DOEOA and the FEAA and (4) DOE may not

use its investigatory powers under FEAA and DOEOA

to fulfill its responsibilities under Title II of the PMPA.

Respondents also attack the subpoenas on a number of

procedural grounds. After giving careful consideration

to the arguments of respondents, this Court concludes

that they are without merit and that the subpoenas

should be enforced.

3’ The report was originally due on December 19, 1979, but

was extended due to various delays in obtaining information.

32a

The petitioner concedes that the PMPA, standing alone,

does not grant DOE the power to subpoena the informa-

tion sought by that agency. However, petitioner argues

and the Court agrees, that such authority is granted by

the DOEOA and, at least arguably, by the FEAA. There

is nothing in the PMPA or its legislative history which

suggests that by enacting the PMPA, Congress acted to

limit or prohibit the use of subpoenas. Such an argument

would necessarily be based on a contention that the

PMPA, having made no mention of subpoenas, necessar-

ily amended the DOEOA and the FEAA by implication.

As noted above, the Court finds nothing to support that

contention and, in any event, amendments by implication

are not favored. See United States v. Weldon, 377 U.S.

95, 108, n. 12 (1964). Moreover, to accept respondents’

argument in this regard, would be to hold that every

time Congress ordered DOE to perform a study pursuant

to its authority under DOEOA, a special direction affirm-

ing the subpoena power would be necessary. The re-

spondents have offered no argument or rationale which

would support such a contention.

The power to issue the subpoenas is found in the

DOEOA. In its declaration of purposes in creating the

DOE, Congress noted that it sought to, among other

things, achieve an effective management of energy func-

tions, promote the interests of consumers through the

provision of an adequate and reliable supply of energy at

the lowest reasonable cost, and foster, insofar as possible,

the good health of the nation’s small business firms, pri-

vate cooperatives and others involved in energy produc-

tion. See 42 U.S.C. § 7112. In order to achieve those

objectives, the statute provided for the appointment of

eight Assistant Secretaries and included in their assigned

responsibilities the task of reviewing competition and con-

sumer affairs including the promotion of competition in

the energy industry, protection of the consuming public

pd A Nn oc Nl es Pt

be AA Rd wine 4 acme at a

AE St i NT ns 8S Ie

33a

in the energy policy making processes, and formulation

and analysis of policies, rules, and regulation relating to

competition and consumer affairs. See 42 U.S.C. § 7133

(a) (7). The statute also provides for the establishment

of an agency information administration and provides

that the Secretary of DOE shall delegate to the adminis-

trator the responsibility for the gathering, analysis and

dissemination of energy information. See 42 U.S.C. § 7185

(b). Finally, the DOEOA provides that the Secretary

shall make an annual report to include a review and

appraisal of the adequacy and appropriateness of the tech-

niques, procedures and practices, including competitive

and regulatory practices, employed by federal, state and

local governments and non-governmental entities to achieve

the purposes of the DOEOA. See 42 U.S.C. § 7267(5).

Taking all of the above objectives into consideration, it

is easily discerned that the study required to be per-

formed by DOE by the PMPA, see 15 U.S.C. § 2841, is

well within the authority and powers granted to DOE

by the DOEOA. Thus, in performing the study required

by the PMPA, the Secretary is merely performing a func-

tion required of him under the DOEOA. Thus the sub-

poenas which make reference to the study required under

PMPA set forth a valid purpose.

II

The authority to issue the subpoenas now challenged by

the respondents is found in 42 U.S.C. § 7255 which

provides:

For the purpose of carrying out the provisions of

this chapter, the Secretary, or his duly authorized

agent or agents, shall have the same powers and

authorities as the Federal Trade Commission under

Section 49 of Title 15 with respect to all functions

34a

vested in, or transferred or delegated to, the Secre-

tary or such agents by this chapter.

The Court concludes that the subpoena power is broad

and would encompass the study required by the PMPA.

Respondents argue that the authority under Section

7255 is restricted to investigations and not studies since

a similar restriction limits the Federal Trade Commis-

sion. See 15 U.S.C. § 49. In this Court’s view, the au-

thority granted under Section 7255 is the same as that

granted by 15 U.S.C. § 49 without any limitation as to

investigation. Section 7255 clearly provides that the sub-

poena power is provided to the Secretary, “[f]or the pur-

pose of carrying out the provisions [of the DOEOA]”.

See also, S. Rep. No. 95-164. 95th Cong. Ist Sess., re-

printed in [1977] U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 854,

904.

While concluding that the authority to issue the sub-

poenas is clearly set forth in the DOEOA, the Court

notes that the authority contained in the FEAA, see 15

U.S.C. § 772(b), appears to be limited to those situations

where organizations are required to make reports. Hav-

ing found that the authority is contained in the DOEOA,

the Court need not discuss the authority or limitations

contained in the FEAA as they relate to these subpoenas.

Ill

Respondents also challenge the subpoenas as being in-

valid because DOE allegedly failed to follow its own

regulations for resolving disputes over subpoenas and that

it failed to comply with the Administrative Procedure

Act (APA).

Respondents contend that 10 CFR § 205.8 applies to

the issuance of the subject subpoenas and that since DOE

did not follow the requirements of that regulation the

subpoenas are unenforceable. That regulation sets forth

ete Bar ns eee ok SR se Lk YS ~“ - .

thew

35a

an administrative procedure for rulings on objections on

motions to quash subpoenas. The argumen* is without

merit since 10 CFR § 205.0 provides that the provisions

set forth in the above regulation applies to those proce-

dures set forth in 10 CFR Parts 209 through 214. Those

. sections relate to International Voluntary Agreements

(Part 209), General Allocation and Price Rules (Part

210), Mandatory Petroleum Allocation Regulations (Part

211), Mandatory Petroleum Price Regulations (Part

212), Oil Import Regulations (Part 213), and Mandatory

Canadian Crude Oil Allocation Regulations (Part 214).

Furthermore, the Court finds no merit in the respondents

due process arguments since the subpoenas issued only

affect the respondents when the Court orders enforcement.

The respondents arguments made pursuant to the APA,

specifically 5 U.S.C. $$ 552 and 555 are likewise found

to be without merit.

IV

This Court is satisfied that the subpoenas were properly

issued pursuant to the DOEOA for a lawful purpose, that

the study for the purposes of PMPA is one which falls

within the authority granted under the DOEOA, that the

subpoenas are not burdensome or unreasonable in view

of the information sought and the requirements of the

PMPA* and that the understandable concern of the re-

spondents respecting confidentiality of their records is met

by the order which provides for at least 10 days notice

before any documents must be produced.

Having carefully considered the arguments of the re-

spondents, and having found those arguments without

* Respondents have failed to show that the subpoenas are

burdensome or unreasonable. See FTC v. Texaco, Inc., 180

U.S. App. D.C. 390, 555 F.2d 862, cert. den. 431 U.S. 974

(1977).

36a 37a

merit, the Court entered the Orders in each of the cases, | APPENDIX F

directing enforcement of the subpoenas.*®

| UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

Dated: January 14, 1980 FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Mise. 79-149

/s/ John Garrett Penn | UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

JOHN GARRETT PENN

United States District Judge V.

EXXON CORPORATION

Astin nee dat kina, ants eas

Mise. 79-150

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

V.

SHELL OIL Co.

Mise. 79-217

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ai 5 ales i ITs anal is Sis satiate sas tat teats. wai nih tani

V.

MARATHON OIL Co.

Filed Jan. 15, 1980

MEMORANDUM ORDER

*In view of the Court’s ruling on the merits, the various This comes before the Court on respondents’ motions

requests of the respondents for discovery and to dismiss the for a stay of the Court’s Order of December 17, 1979,

petitions are moot. pending appeal. In that Order, the Court granted the

38a

petition to enforce subpoenas duces tecum issued to the

respondents.

The guidelines for consideration the the [sic] respon-

dents’ request are found in Virginia Petroleum Jobbers

Association v. FPC, 104 U.S. App. D.C. 106, 259 F.2d

921 (1958), and Washington Metropolitan Area Transit

Commission v. Holiday Tours, Inc., 182 U.S. App. D.C.

220, 559 F.2d 841 (1977). These are whether the re-

spondents have made a strong showing that they are

likely to prevail on the merits, that they would suffer

irreparable harm if the stay is not granted, that the

issuance of a stay would not substantially harm any of

the other parties, and finally, where lies the public in-

terest. 104 U.S. App. D.C. at 110, 259 F.2d at 925.

Viewing each guideline separately, the Court concludes

that respondents have not made a strong showing that

they will prevail on the merits. The Court has carefully

considered the extensive briefs submitted in this case

together with the arguments of counsel. Two separate

hearings were held in these cases. The Court concluded

that the subpoenas should be enforced and that the De-

partment of Energy (DOE) has the authority to issué

the subpoenas pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 7255. Respond-

ents have raised nothing in their motion for a stay pend-

ing appeal which would change the Court’s conclusion.

With respect to the irreparable harm that the re-

spondents might suffer, it falls within two categories.

First is that, if the subpoenas are enforced, the respond-

ents would be required to turn over information that they

contend is confidential and which might affect their

competitive position in the market if exposed to the pub-

lic. The Court’s order providing for ten days notice

should make such a breach of confidentiality unlikely.

Second, if they are required to comply with the sub-

poenas prior to the appeal, such action would effectively

moot the appeal.

nl oat Nal, ttn So sith wie aids

Ome ale Me Bilas men he

deat

ee ales A et nc et

39a

As to the possibility of substantial harm to the other

parties and where lies the public interest, any harm to

the petitioner would be that it may not be able to obtain

the necessary information for the completion of the study

under the Petroleum Marketing Practices Act (PMPA)

and the completion of that study is presumably in the

public interest.

“The Court is not required to find that ultimate suc-

cess by the movant is a mathimatical [sic] probability,

and indeed, as in this case, may grant a stay even though

its own approach may be contrary to moveants’ view of

the merits”. 182 U.S. App. D.C. at 222, 559 F.2d at 843.

Here, the Court views the respondents’ likelihood of suc-

cess as far below 50%. Nevertheless, it has balanced the

other factors in these cases and concludes that a stay,

conditioned upon certain actions by the respondents,

should be granted. Those other factors are that this is a

case of first impression, that the parties can seek an

expedited appeal, that respondents have agreed that they

will cooperate with the petitioner in seeking an expedited

appeal and that such should be done, that an expedited

appeal would not unduely burden either side to this

controversy since the cases have been fully briefed and

argued, that the respondents, notwithstanding the pen-

dency of the appeal, can forthwith begin to collect the

requested information so as to be in a position to im-

mediately turn that information over to the petitioner

by a date certain or final resolution of the appeal in

favor of petitioner, if that is the case, and that while

the petitioner may require the information in order to

complete the study under the PMPA, DOE has already

received similar information from other oil companies

as a result of their voluntary compliance, those companies

including Atlantic-Richfield Co., Standard Oil of Indiana,

the Gulf Oil Companies, Texaco, Inc., Clark Oil and Re-

fining Corp., and Ashland Oil Co.

40a

In view of the above, it is hereby

ORDERED that the Court shall grant the respondents’

motion for a stay pending appeal on the following

conditions:

1. Respondents shall cooperate with petitioner in seek-

ing to have the appeal heard on an expedited basis.

2. Respondents shall immediately begin to collect the

necessary information and be prepared to turn that in-

formation over to the petitioner on or before February

15, 1980, or on the date of the decision of the Court of

Appeals, if that court affirms the order of this court,

whichever is later.* Respondents shall advise this Court

and the Court of Appeals that they are in compliance

with this condition.

Dated: January 14, 1980

/s/ John Garrett Penn

JOHN GARRETT PENN

United States District Judge

* This requirement is similar to and in lieu of the posting of

a vond pending appeal. Respondents have represented to the

Court that they would begin the process of collecting the in-

formation although there is a dispute as to when such infor-

mation can actually be furnished. This Court concludes that

that information should be available no later than February

15, 1980.

4la

APPENDIX G

[SEAL]

Department of Energy

Washington, D.C. 20461

April 25, 1979

Jay L. Carlson, Esq.

Miller & Chevalier

1700 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW

Suite 800

Washington, DC 20006

Re: Subpoena issued to Mr. C. C. Garvin, Jr.

Chief Executive Officer, Exxon Corporation,

January 22, 1979

Dear Mr. Carlson:

I have received the “Application to Quash or Modify

Subpoena” filed on March 20, 1979. There are no provi-

sions in the DOE rules providing for such motions. I am,

moreover, unpersuaded by your arguments.

Since we have been unable to reach a satisfactory agree-

ment regarding document production, I am turning this

matter over to the Office of the General Counsel.

Sincerely yours,

/s/ William C. Lane, Jr.

WILLIAM C. LANE, JR.

Director

Office of Competition

42a

APPENDIX H

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY

WASHINGTON, D.C.

SUBPOENA

TO: Mr. C. C. Garvin, Jr., Chief Executive Officer,

Exxon Corp., 1251 Avenue of the Americas, New York,

N.Y. 10020.

YOU ARE HEREBY REQUIRED TO APPEAR before

William C. Lane, Jr., an officer of the Department of

Energy, or his designated representative, at Room 7A-

142, 1000 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, D.C.

on the 20th day of February, 1979 at 9:00 A.M. to pro-

vide information for use in the preparation of a study

required by Title III of the Petroleum Marketing Prac-

tices Act (PL 95-297).

YOU ARE FURTHER REQUIRED TO bring with you

and produce for examination at the time designated above

the documents and material specified in Attachment “A”.

FAILURE TO OBEY THIS SUBPOENA MAY RE-

SULT IN REFERRAL TO A UNITED STATES DIS-

TRICT COURT FOR ENFORCEMENT.

Issued this 22d day of January, 1979 under the authority

of Section 13(e) of the Federal Energy Administration

Act of 1974 and Section 645 of the Department of Energy

Organization Act.

Signature William C. Lane, Jr.

Director

Office of Competition

Policy and Evaluation

Department of Energy

43a

ATTACHMENT A

INSTRUCTIONS

1. Definitions

(a) The term domestic means within the United

States.

(b) The term document means writings of any kind,

however produced or reproduced.

(c) The word or \s inclusive, referring to any one

or more of the disjoined words or phrases.

(d) The term “your company” means the company

named on the face of the subpoena, and all firms

in which it owns an equity interest greater than

50 percent that are engaged in whole or in part

in the production, refining, or transportation of

crude oil, or the transportation, marketing, or

distribution of motor gasoline, within the United

States or any part thereof.

2. Complete Documents

Where a document includes any material called for by

the subpoena, the subpoena requires the production of the

entire document, including all attachments, cover memo-

randa, appendices, etc., even if only part of the document

is responsive to any specification.

3. Claims of Privilege

Any document responsive to any of the specifications

which is not produced by reason of any claim of privilege,

statute, or regulation shall be identified by a short de-

scription of each such item, including the title, the type

of document, the subject matter, the name, address and

title of its author(s), the names and addresses of persons

to whom copies were furnished, the date of preparation,

44a

and a short statement of the reasons which in your opin-

ion justify withholding it.

4. Specification Identification

Each document shall be identified as to the specification

or specifications to which it is responsive.

5. Limitations of Document Search

Provide all documents described in the Specifications

below which were prepared by, or received by, any of

the following individuals or groups within your company

during the period January 1, 1970 to the date of this

subpoena:

(a) The Board of Directors or any committee there-

of ;

(b) the president or chief executive officer ;

(ec) the senior management committee;

(d) any committee or individual with the authority

to approve capital expenditures of $3 million or

more;

(e) the vice president in charge of domestic refining

(or, if there is no such vice president, the high-

est level employee in the company whose primary

responsibility is domestic refining) ;

(f) the vice president in charge of corporate plan-

ning (or, if there is no such vice president, the

highest level employee whose primary responsi-

bility is corporate planning).

(g) the vice president in charge of domestic market-

ing (or, if there is no such vice president, the

highest level employee whose primary responsi-

bility is domestic motor gasoline marketing).

ae

(1)

(2)

(3)

(4)

(5)

(6)

(7)

(8)

45a

SPECIFICATIONS

All documents that evaluate, analyze, or report on

the feasibility or desirability of evaluating sepa-

rately the financial performance of different func-

tional levels within your company’s petroleum oper-

ations.

All documents that evaluate, analyze, or report on

the financial performance or projected financial per-

formance of any functional level or comparison of

functional levels within your company’s petroleum

operations.

All documents that evaluate, analyze, or report on

plans for the domestic test marketing of motor gaso-

line.

All documents that evaluate, analyze, or report on

the domestic marketing of motor gasoline under

secondary brand name(s).

All documents that evaluate, analyze, or report on

the expansion or contraction of the geographic area

(within the United States) in which motor gasoline

is marketed under brand name(s) owned by your

company.

All documents that evaluate, analyze, or report on

motor gasoline market shares of your company or

any other company in any State or metropolitan

area.

All documents that evaluate, analyze, or report on

the effects of the Department of Energy price or

allocation regulations (10 CFR Parts 210, 211, and

212) on the domestic marketing of motor gasviine.

All documents that evaluate, analyze, or report on

the financial aspects of proposals or plans to build,

(10)

(11)

(12)

46a

expand, close, purchase, or sell any domestic or

Caribbean refinery.

All documents that evaluate, analyze, or report on

the financial aspects of proposals or plans to build,

or to expand the capacity of, any domestic crude

or product pipeline, or purchase or sell any interest

in any domestic crude or product pipeline.

All documents that evaluate, analyze, or report on

the efficiency of, profitability of, or competitive ad-

vantages or disadvantages of, the domestic refining

or motor gasoline marketing operations of any firm

other than your company.

All documents that evaluate, analyze, or report on

your company’s plans for domestic marketing of

motor gasoline through company-operated stations.

All annual or periodic domestic motor gasoline

marketing plans and all documents that evaluate,

analyze, or report on such plans.

SNORE AD i mntndd tla I ~

47a

APPENDIX I

SENATE DEBATE ON TITLE III OF THE

PETROLEUM MARKETING PRACTICES ACT

[124 Cong. Rec. S 7149 - 7158 (Daily ed., May 9, 1978).]

[S 7149]

PETROLEUM MARKETING PRACTICES ACT

The Senate continued with the consideration of the

bill.

Mr. DURKIN. Mr. President, I ask unanimous con-:

sent that Mike Harvey of the Committee on Energy and

Natural Resources, Henry Banta, Tom Susman, of Sen-

ator KENNEDY’S staff, and Richard Arnold of Senator

BUMPERS’ staff be granted the privilege of the floor dur-

ing debate on the pending bill. I make the same request

for Linda Gold as well.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Without objection, it is

so ordered.

The Senator from Arkansas is recognized.

UP AMENDMENT NO. 1307

Mr. BUMPERS. Mr. President, the pending amend-

ment is amendment No. 1809 introduced by Mr. MarK O.

HATFIELD and me. I send to the desk a modified version

of that amendment.

THE PRESIDING OFFICER. The amendment will

be stated.

The legislative clerk read as follows:

The Senator from Arkansas (Mr. BUMPERS) proposes

unprinted amendment numbered 1307 as a modification

to amendment No. 1809.

48a

Mr. BUMPERS. I ask unanimous consent that fur-

ther reading of the amendment be dispensed with.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Without objection, it is

so ordered.

(Text of Title III as enacted is omitted. ]

[S 7150]

The PRESIDING OFFICER. The amendment will

be so modified.

Mr. BUMPERS. I ask unanimous consent that the

Senator from Washington (Mr. JACKSON), the Senator

from New Mexico (Mr. DoMENICI), the Senator from

Kentucky (Mr. Forp), the Senator from Louisiana (Mr.

JOHNSTON), and the Senator from Alaska (Mr. GRAVEL)

be added as cosponsors to the amendment.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Without objection, it is

so ordered.

Mr. BUMPERS. Mr. President, this amendment re-

flects a compromise on the issue of title III, which is pend-

ing before the Senate. It is a compromise which deals

with the most controversial part of the bill. I believe that

the managers will be willing to accept it.

The compromise, very briefly, will require the Secre-

tary of Energy to study the subsidization issue fully.

Full provision is made for public involvement in the

study. The Secretary must send his study, together with

appropriate legislative recommendations, to the Congress

within 18 months after enactment.

In addition, this amendment establishes a procedure

where the President may develop interim measures to

protect the competitive viability of the marketing sector

of the petroleum industry if he considers them neces-

sary and appropriate. Congress would have 90 days to

act affirmatively on his proposal.

Any interim proposals which might be accepted by the

Congress would not extend beyond 18 months from the

date of their affirmation by Congress.

49a

Mr. President, if no interim measure is submitted to

Congress, then, of course, at the end of 18 months from

the date of enactment of this bill the Secretary shall sub-

mit legislative recommendations to Congress, if he finds

them to be necessary to protect the people we are trying

to protect under the present legislation. If the President

determines that interim measures are necessary, Congress

will have 90 days in which to affirm the recommendations

of the President under the procedures set forth in section

523(a) of the Energy Policy and Conservation Act.

I think it is an excellent compromise, and I hope all

my colleagues will see fit to support it.

Mr. President, I believe that adoption of this amend-

ment will help clear the way for enactment of H.R. 130,

which will provide important protection to wholesalers

and retailers of gasoline from arbitrary termination of

supply.

Mr. President, I ask unanimous consent that the name

of the distinguished Senator from Tennessee (Mr. BAKER)

be added as a cosponsor of the amendment.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Wi .out objection, it is

so ordered.

Mr. FORD. Mr. President, I ask unanimous consent

that Jim Fleming, of my staff, have the privilege of the

floor during the debate and vote on H.R. 130.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Without objection, it is

so ordered.

Who yields time?

Mr. DOMENICI. Mr. President, will the Senator yield

5 minutes to the Senator from New Mexico?

Mr. BUMPERS. I am happy to yield 5 minutes.

Mr. DOMENICI. I thank my good friend.

Mr. President, I would like to take several moments to

specifically address the issue of title III, and also to make

several comments on what I am told will be forthcoming

amendments to title ITI.

Congress has moved on several occasions to protect

independent segments of the petroleum industry. During

50a

the oil embargo, Congress and the executive branch pro-

tected independent refiners through the entitlement pro-

gram. Now the dealers are receiving protection under

title I of the dealer day in court. Title III provides com-

parable protection for the independent marketers—job-

bers. Jobber concerns stem from a changing oil market.

Their principal concern is that integrated oil companies,

both major and independent refiners, are subsidizing their

marketing operations with revenues earned upstream.

On a nationa! basis, this concern is borne out by the

decline in total retail outlets over the past several years,

which have been accompanied in turn by an increase

in salary operated stations by refiners. Major refiners

have increased their sales from salary operated stations

by 55 percent while independent and small refiners have

increased their salary operated sales by 50 percent. Over-

all, refiner owned and operated stations have increased

their marketshare by one-third.

Refiner comments on title III admit that a margin

of 3 to 5 cents a gallon is appropriate between a jobber

purchasing gas at the refinery—at the rack—and the

sale price at the dealer outlet. The following table gives

examples ‘of what can only be subsidized pricing by re-

finer operated outlets. I ask unanimous consent to have

the table printed in the RECORD.

There being no objection, the table was ordered to be

printed in the RECORD as follows:

Priceto Refiner

Jobber dealer direct

Refiner: Location price (DTW) price

Marathon: Meridian, Mich. 55.02 58.19 56.19

Powerline: Redwood City,

Calif. 52.45 — 52.9

Ashland: Charlotte, N.C. 51.703 — 51.9

Champlin: Oklahoma City 53.56 51.91

Clark: Alliaoca, Ohio 52.7 — 51.91

5la

Mr. DOMENICI. Mr. President, the most recent evi-

dence available is some January 1978 figures from Kan-

sas where Champlin Petroleum is selling on the street at

0.519 and selling to its jobbers for 0.5175. This is a

0.0015 difference, a situation that begs explanation.

Title III is predicated on a question: Why would in-

tegrated oil companies sell below cost? Title III answers

that as a general rule below cost sales are predatory per

se unless: They result, in fact, from proven cost savings;

they are designed to meet competition; or they are pro-

vided to enter a new market.

The basic elements of title III are as follows:

First. Section 302 prohibits subsidization.

Second. Section 303 makes price data available to in-

dependent marketers.

Third. Section 304 provides for defenses based on

cost, meeting competition, or penetrating a new market.

Fourth. Section 305 switches the burden of proof once

the jobber has proved below cost sales.

Fifth. Section 306, the enforcement section, provides

for civil fines, and a private right of action for treble

damages.

Sixth. Section 307 is the definitions section.

I should like to stress that in fashioning title III,

largely at my urging, I and other committee members

made a variety of changes designed to meet what we

saw as legitimate criticisms.

Nevertheless, several policy arguments have been raised

against the bill. These include:

First. The oil industry does not know its costs: Ba-

loney. How then does the industry know if it is making

a profit? How does it know whether to make more or less

of a given product? To open or close stations? The fol-

lowing quote from Champlin to one of its Kansas lessees

should help lay the matter to rest as to whether the in-

dustry knows its costs:

52a

Champlin Petroleum Company regrets to inform you

that it has determined that it is no longer economic for

it to operate the Champlin Service Station located at U.S.

Highway No. 56 and I-35 West, McPherson, Kansas,

under the present lease agreement with you.

This issue of costs raises a more fundamental ques-

tion. My opposition to divestiture is based on the belief

that integrated oil operations generate efficiencies and

economies of scale. In simple terms: they lower costs.

Now the industry tells us they cannot document this.

The industry cannot have it both ways. Either the cost

savings of integrated oil operations can be documented

or they cannot. And if they cannot, either they should

be, or the industry should be broken up.

Second. The Domenici title III will comulicate [sic]

antitrust litigation: This is the last straw. Antitrust

litigation has been ponderous and incomprehensible for

decades. The present FTC case against the industry is

an example. The FTC filed its complaint in 1973. In

1975, its first subpena was squashed. In November of

1976, it issued a “minisubpena.” This modest subpena

ran to 1,300 pages for each of the 8 major companies.

The industry responded with somewhere between 500,000

and 1 million pages. And what type of information did

this “minisubpena” call for. Just basics. Organization

charts, holdings, and so forth. A new subpena has now

gone out asking for more information. Five years after

its start, the FTC case is in the early, I repeat, early

stages of discovery. Urgings by oil industry lawyers

that independent marketers not confuse the crystalline

verities of antitrust litigation remind one of the nursery

rhyme poem:

(S 7151]

Will you walk into my parlour,

said the spider to the fly

Tis the prettiest little parlour

that ever you did spy.

53a

Oh, no, no, said the little fly,

to ask is in vain.

For who goes up your winding stair,

can ne’er come down again.

In short, independent marketers believe they serve an

important competitive function. If they are to be driven

from the marketplace, it should be because of increased

efficiency, not because of the market power of the big

fish who live upstream. All they ask is a chance to com-

pete fairly. This hardly seems too much to ask.

Mr. President, at this point I would like to spend sev-

eral minutes discussing the compromise that has been

worked out at the 11th hour on title III. As my remarks

indicate, I am satisfied with the present title III. It is a

finely tuned solution to the problem at hand. It does not

establish another wave of regulations. It simply gives the

little guy his day in court.

It is apparent, however, to the proponents of title III

that there is not support for the present title III. This

lack of support arises in some cases from a legitimate

concern over the lack of data at hand. Although I find

this argument unpersuasive, I admit its strength.

: Now, Mr. President, I am not one to attack bigness for

bigness’ sake. I am also not one that believes that the

oil industry is evil incarnate. I do, however, believe that

this biggest of American industries does the Nation a

disservice when they refuse to allow the little guy a

chance to make his case in court.

I feel a study is like prescribing aspirin for a severed

jugular. Personally, I believe we should attend to the

business at hand: Protecting the independent marketers.

I do not believe their livelihood should be sacrificed while

we await the results of a study. I believe the need for

action is now.

_Accordingly, I join this compromise not out of con-

viction, but rather because I see it as the only way that

the independent marketers can keep their case before the

54a

Congress. To be frank, a setback here might doom their

cause forever. I see this amendment as a way for the

independent marketers to establish a more complete fac-

tual case. In short, I see it, in military terms, as a way

for them to keep an army in the field so that they can

return to fight another day.

Mr. President, the dealer’s day in court bill would

have come to the Senate with two titles that basically

directed their attention to trying to protect the inde-

pendent filling station operator as we move through this

energy crisis and these difficult, changing times. I cer-

tainly support that; that is needed.

As that evolved during the last year or year-and-a-

half, it became quite obvious that there was another

group of independent businessmen related to the delivery

of petroleum and petroleum products—sometimes called

the independent jobbers, sometimes called the independent

marketers, sometimes called independent wholesalers—

who indeed were becoming the victims of both major re-

fineries and refineries that own substantial numbers of

filling stations, by virtue of the fact that it appeared,

and the facts seemed to indicate, that the refiner would

take upstream profits and put them into downstream cut-

rate prices at the filling station level, while at the same

time, in many instances, selling to their own jobber in

between for a higher price. If this were happening with-

in an integrated company, then most certainly it also was

happening in the field at large, where a major refinery

or a large refinery was selling at subsidized prices down-

stream, having earned the profits upstream in the re-

finery, and a jobber or independent distributor was

caught in the middle, paying a higher price for the same

product.

It was my opinion that that kind of marketer, who,

by definition, is independent, was necessary in the Amer-

ican marketplace system, that we usually ask them to

take care of the distribution system where it was most

SRE TENE NETS

dha 9a ali enn aaa i tris A

55a

expensive, in the rural parts, where they had to drive

large distances to serve the filling stations to which they

sold. It appeared from the facts that they were going

to be gobbled up and put out of business by this process.

So it was my amendment in committee that gave a

private cause of action to this kind of independent jobber

or distributor to sue the refinery, if he could prove that

there was such a subsidization downstream by virtue of

the profits upstream in the integrated system.

Since our antitrust laws do not help this kind of per-

son, we can imagine an independent jobber using the

existing antitrust laws of our Nation to try to take on

this kind of situation, with all the truth that is required

and the resources that are required.

So my amendment would say that if you can prove

the differential in price, let the burden shift, and see if

the big one can disprove that it is trying to control the

market.

I acknowledge that my amendment to title 3, which

was adopted by a slim margin in committee—8 to 7—

would have been defeated here today. It is a new and

different approach to create a cause of action of this type

based only upon the evidence that I required in my

amendment. So I have most willingly joined the distin-

guished Senators who bring this substitute. It will not

do the job as well, but it will begin an investigation of

the facts, to see if what we are saying is happening

and to make recommendations, if they are happening, as

to how to cure it.

This amendment will provide a remedy, by virtue of

Congress being able to adopt the recommendations in an

expeditious manner, if recommendations are forthcom-

ing. During this study, and as a result of it, this would

protect this middle-man independent in the scheme of in-

tegration that is going on in this country, where they

are finding less and less of an opportunity to survive.

56a

The PRESIDING OFFICER. The time of the Sena-

tor has expired.

Mr. DOMENICI. Mr. President, wiil the Senator

yield me 1 additional minute?

Mr. BUMPERS. I yield 2 minutes to the Senator.

Mr. DOMENICI. Mr. President, I generally have not

been one who wants to put restrictions on the private

sector. I have not been one who takes on bigness simply

because it is big. I take them kind of one at a time and

look at them. But I am firmly convinced, and the evi-

dence in my statement convinced me, that if we do not

do something, there would be no more independent mar-

keters or jobbers in the delivery system of petroleum

products in this country.

I hope those in the industry will understand that the

Bumpers-Hatfield-Domenici substitute amendment today

is a serious one; that in a year or so we will find the

evidence reversing itself, and perhaps we will never have

to do anything else; but, if not, that we find a way to

cure this approach which, in my opinion, is definitely

committed in the direction of monopoly; ir. the direction

of putting the little independent out of business.

Mr. President, I ask unanimous consent that a state-

ment by Senator MARK OQ. HATFIELD be printed in the

RECORD.

There being no objection, the statement was ordered

to be printed in the RECorRD, as follows:

STATEMENT BY SENATOR MARK O. HATFIELD

I am pleased to join with my colleagues in support of

the modified version of amendment 1809.

This compromise proposal will require the Secretary

of Energy to study the subsidization issue fully. Full pro-

vision is made for public involvement in the study. The

Secretary must send his study, together with appropriate

legislative recommendations, to the Congress within 18

months after enactment.

ae a) 0 ~PRERD tm

57a

In addition, this amendment establishes a procedure

where the President may develop interim measures to

protect the competitive viability of the marketing sector

of the petroleum industry if he considers them necessary

and appropriate. Congress would have 90 days to act

affirmatively on his proposal.

I believe that adoption of this amendment will help

clear the way for enactment of H.R. 130, which will pro-

vide important protection to wholesalers and retailers of

gasoline from arbitrary termination of supply.

I urge my colleagues to support this amendment and

to adopt this legislation.

Mr. BUMPERS. Mr. President, I yield 2 minutes to

the Senator from Wyoming.

Mr. HANSEN. I thank my distinguished colleague

from Arkansas for his courtesy.

Mr. President, we have searched long, with our col-

leagues, the ramifications of title III in this bill. We

have written to the Department of Justice as well as to

the Federal Trade Commission. We have letters from

them which have not been included in the hearing record

before our committee.

In essence, both the Department of Justice and the

Federal Trade Commission have opposed title III as

written. It is their considered opinion that, in a word,

this title III is anticompetitive, that it will not achieve

the goals that I know its sponsors hope very much might

be achieved.

[S 7152]

Mr. President, the amendment is acceptable to our side.

This is a reasonable compromise, and we will anxiously

await the results of the study, so that we can deal im a

rational way with the subsidization issue if it becomes

necessary.

I am prepared to yield back the remainder of my time,

if the distinguished floor manager of the bill is willing to

58a

do so. But I withhold that, awaiting whatever signal the

Senator from New Hampshire may want to give.

Mr. DURKIN. I thank the Senator from Wyoming.

Mr. President, we have a serious problem. I am not

sure the original language in title III solved that prob-

lem. Someone is going to have to face up to it. We hope

that the study language will enable us to come to better

terms with what I consider to be a growing problem,

which many of us consider to be a growing problem.

I am willing to accept the amendment of the Senator

from Arkansas, as modified.

Mr. HANSEN. I am willing, then, to yield back the

remainder of my time.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. The question is on

agreeing to the amendment.

Mr. KENNEDY. Mr. President, I send an amend-

ment to the desk.

Mr. HANSEN. I withhold that.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Until the time on this

amendment has expired, an amendment to it is not in

order.

Mr. KENNEDY. I understood that. I thought the

time had been yielded back.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. The time had not been

yielded back.

Mr. BUMPERS. Mr. President, what is the remain-

ing time on the amendment?

The PRESIDING OFFICER. The Senator from New

Hampshire has 28 minutes remaining and the Senator

from Arkansas has 17 minutes remaining.

Mr. BUMPERS. Mr. President, a parliamentary in-

quiry.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. The Senator will state

it.

Mr. BUMPERS. If the amendment of the Senator

from Massachusetts is an amendment to a modified

59a

amendment, the Senator from Arkansas submitted, which

is now the pending business, is it not an amendment in

the third degree and, therefore, out of order after all the

time is yielded back?

The PRESIDING OFFICER. The committee amend-

ment is considered original text for the purpose of amend-

ment. The amendment of the Senator from Arkansas,

therefore, is in the first degree and the proposed amend-

ment of the Senator from Massachusetts would be in the

second degree.

Mr. KENNEDY. Mr. President, I am sure that is

what the Senator from Arkansas intended.

[ Laughter. ]

Mr. BUMPERS. I certainly do not want to cut off

the time the Senator from Massachusetts might have.

Mr. KENNEDY addressed the Chair.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. The Senator from

Massachusetts.

Mr. KENNEDY. Mr. President, a parliamentary in-

quiry.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. The Senator will state

it.

Mr. KENNEDY. Mr. President, how. much time is

there on the amendment to the amendment?

The PRESIDING OFFICER. There will be one-half

hour on an amendment to amendment, equally divided.

But the second amendment has not been proposed yet.

Mr. BUMPERS. Mr. President, just so the record is

straight, I am prepared to yield back the remainder of

my time if the floor marager is in agreement in order

that Senator KENNEDY may go ahead and offer his

amendment and let the time start running on his amend-

ment. ‘

Is the floor manager prepared to yield back the time?

Mr. DURKIN. I am prepared to yield back the time.

60a

The PRESIDING OFFICER. The Senator from New

Hampshire yields back time.

Mr. DURKIN. He may call up his amendment at this

time.

Mr. President, a parliamentary inquiry.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. The Senator will state

it.

Mr. DURKIN. How much time will be allotted? Is it

a half-hour on this amendment to be equally divided?

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Fifteen minutes to the

Senator from Massachusetts and 15 minutes to the Sena-

tor from New Hampshire.

Mr. KENNEDY. I hope since it is a worthy amend-

ment that it will be accepted.

Mr. BUMPERS. Mr. President, in the unlikely event

it is not a worthy amendment and universally acceptable,

I ask unanimous consent that the 30-minute time limit

be divided equally between the proponent, Mr. KENNEDY,

and myself.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Is there objection?

Mr. KENNEDY. If the manager of the bill has no

objection, I have no objection.

Mr. BUMPERS. We are getting into a fox watching

the henhouse type of situation here. Mr. President, be-

cause I think the Senator from New Hampshire favors

this amendment.

Mr. KENNEDY. Whose time is this charged to, Mr.

President?

The PRESIDING OFFICER. Who yielded time?

Mr. KENNEDY. Mr. President, I do.

Mr. BUMPERS. I made a unanimous-consent request.

Mr. DURKIN. Mr. President, reserving the right to

object, I think we should proceed with the normal course,

that the Senator from Massachusetts will offer his amend-

ment, and I will be glad to yield to my good friend from

Arkansas time to rebut in the event he does not care to

accept this amendment.

6la

Mr. BUMPERS. That is fine with me, Mr. President.

The PRESIDING OFFICER (Mrs. HUMPHREY). Does

the Senator withdraw his request?

Mr. KENNEDY. Madam President, as I understand,

I have 15 minutes, and I wish to yield what time I might

need.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. The Senator from Ar-

kansas has made a unanimous-consent request. Does he

withdraw it?

Mr. BUMPERS. Madam President, I withdraw the

request.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. The Senator from

Massachusetts.

UP AMENDMENT NO. 1308

Mr. KENNEDY. Madam President, I send an amend-

ment to the desk and ask for its immediate consideration.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. The amendment will be

stated.

The assistant legislative clerk read as follows:

The Senator from Massachusetts (Mr. KENNEDY) pro-

poses an unprinted amendment numbered 1308.

On page 3, at the end, insert the following new sec-

tion:

“Sec. 802. Any energy information acquired, collected,

or held by the Department of Energy shall be subjected

to the requirements of Section 11(d) of the Energy Sup-

ply and Environmental Coordination Act of 1974, Public

Law 93-319.”

Mr. KENNEDY. Madam President, this amendment

is very simple. It basically tracks the actions which have

been taken by the Senate on previous occasions. It makes

energy information available to certain other agencies of

the Federal Government.

Under the amendment which is before us, Madam

President, a study will be done by the Department of

62a

Energy. The whole issue to be studied is one which is

fundamental to this particular legislation; it is the com-

petitive position of the independent retailers and mar-

keters and the extraordinary economic power which has

been used to squeeze them out of this industry.

So it is basically an issue of competition, and the agen-

cies of our Government which are concerned about the

competition happen to be the Federal Trade Commission

and the Department of Justice, and not necessarily the

Department of Energy.

Under the amendment which I have offered to the

amendment of the Senator from Arkansas, no new au-

thority is given to any of the agencies. The Department

of Justice on its own can get the same information that

is collected by the Department of Energy. The Federal

Trade Commission can also get the same information.

All we are saying is if we are so concerned about com-

petition, so concerned about the little guy, so concerned

about the corner gas station, then let us say if the De-

partment of Energy is going to get that information, they

will share it with those agencies of Government that have

the primary responsibility for protecting the little guy,

the corner gas station, and the independent segment of

our society.

It is not very complicated. It is not very complex. The

Senate has already gone on record in support of this

amendment last year in the coal conversion bill. It was

dropped in conference. This body already voted for this

amendment last year and suddenly when we have a bill

down here that really is talking about dealing with com-

petition, then there is a reluctance to set information and

share it with the other departments of Government.

In this particular amendment, Madam President, we

have the confidentiality provisions that are spelled out

under

63a

[S 7153]

section 11(d) to insure that this information will not be

leaked and we have the other provisions for the protec-

tions of confidentiality.

Madam President, I just wonder why it is that last

year the Senate was prepared to accept the sharing of

information between governmental agencies, and now we

in the Chamber are refusing to say, if the Department

of Energy gets data, it must share it with the Depart-

ment of Justice or the Federal Trade Commission.

That is, Madam President, just a position which I find

difficult to justify, particularly when we are talking about

a fundamental theme of this legislation which is supposed

to be competition and the protecting of small independent

marketers.

So, Madam President, a final point that I make is that

the Department of Justice and the Federal Trade Com-

mission have repeatedly stated their need for the energy

data. President Carter said that energy data analysis is

the keystone of the administration’s approach to the

formulation of competition policys in the energy industry.

I certainly hope that the amendment will be accepted.

I reserve the remainder of my time.

The PRESIDING OFFICER. The galleries will be in

order.

Who yields time? '

Mr. BUMPERS. Madam President, will the Senator

from New Hampshire yield?

Mr. DURKIN. I am glad to yield 10 minutes to the

Senator from Arkansas.

Mr. BUMPERS. Madam President, the amendment

the Senator from Massachusetts is proposing has the ef-

fect of making certain that this study will not be com-

pleted in 18 months. It will not be completed in 18 years.

The purpose of the study in the modified amendment I

offered is to determine if major oil companies are using

64a

upstream profits at the refinery level or at the marketing

level to subsidize their company-owned stations to the

detriment of independently owned stations.

To give you some idea of how bad title III was before

we offered this modified amendment, both the Justice De-

partment, the Antitrust Division, and the Federal Trade

Commission were unalterably opposed to title III. Now,

the fact that they were opposed to it is not totally com-

pelling to me, but it does throw up a red flag to me and

say, “Wait just a minute. If they are opposed to it on

the grounds they set out, let us try to help the small in-

dependent retail service stations in the country, but let

us do it in an orderly, workmanlike manner, and let us

not try to prove who hates major oil the most.”

Now, the Senator from Massachusetts knows I have

never been guilty of being considered a close associate of

major oil companies in this country. I am vitally con-

cerned about small business of all kinds. I am especially

concerned about small independent service station oper-

ators, who may indeed be facing unfair competition from

major oil companies or any oil company, that maybe

using upstream profits to unfairly compete and drive in-

dependents out of business.

So what are we doing here? We are saying, “Let us

allow the Secretary of Energy to make a determination

as to whether or not this is a problem.” Why on earth

would we stand here and try to pass a law when there

is no manifestation that the law is needed? That is what

has got people in this country upset now.

What would the Senator from Massachusetts’ amend-

ment do? Why, he says, “Let us permit the Department

of Energy to do this study subject to a little old provision

here called section 11(d) of the Energy Supply and Envi-

ronmental Coordination Act of 1974.”

What does that do? It says the Secretary of Energy

may not share this information. He must keep it confi-

65a .

dential except, and then everybody on God’s green Earth

is named in section 11(d).

He has to keep it confidential except that he will give

it to any delegate of the Federal Energy Administration

for the purposes of carrying out this act; he will give it

to the Attorney General; he will give it to the Secretary

of Interior; he will give it to the Federal Trade Commis-

sion; he will give it to the General Accounting Office, and

those are the only ones named he has to share this infor-

mation with. That is what I call confidentiality. [Laugh-

ter. |

Madam President, I have the same feelings the Senator

has about getting this kind of information into the hands

of the Antitrust Division of the Justice Department. But

do you know something? They can get the information

today. They do not have to have this act. They can get

it today.

I want the Federal Trade Commission to have it, be-

cause the Federal Trade Commission is charged with the

responsibility of promoting competition in this country

to preserve the free enterprise system. But the Federal

Trade Commission can go and get it today, they do not

need this bill. So what are we doing? We are cluttering

up the books.

Mr. DURKIN. Mr. President, will the Senator yield?

Mr. BUMPERS. In just one moment.

If you want to make sure that the Secretary of Energy

gets no cooperation in carrying out the terms of this

amendment, just adopt the amendment of the Senator

from Massachusetts, and I promise you that hell will

freeze over before they will voluntarily give cne ounce

of information, because they know it is going to be dis-

seminated to everybody under the shining Sun.

Mr. DURKIN. Mr. President, will the Senator yield

for a question? “

Mr. BUMPERS. I will be happy to yield.

66a

Mr. DURKIN. Is the thrust of the Senator’s opposi-

tion that he does not think the Department of Energy

should give that information to the Attorney General, to

the Federal Trade Commission, to the General Accounting

Office? They are not hostile entities, are they? They are

part of our Government charged with the responsibility

to enforce the law. Why the fear of giving them the

information?

Mr. BUMPERS. I have absolutely no objection to the

Attorney General or the Federal Trade Commission or

the General Accounting Office or anybody else getting the

information, but we are trying to help the small dealer.

If you adopt the amendment of the Senator from Massa-

chusetts, you are assuring yourself that the Secretary of

Energy will not get cooperation. The oil companies will

know it is going to be shared with all these people, possi-

bly used to prosecute them. They have been through this

before, they know how the Federal Government works,

and they know if this information is disseminated and

anybody can possibly distort it to file some kind of prose-

cution against them, they will do it.

What I am saying is we are setting an 18-month time

limit here, and I promise you the Secretary of Energy

will not get into the front door in 18 months if this

amendment is adopted.

Mr. DURKIN. But does not the Senator’s opposition

go to the principle that you can collect the information

but you cannot use it?

Mr. BUMPERS. Absolutely not. If the Federal Trade

Commission has any information to indicate that unfair

competition is being perpetrated by the majors in viola-

tion of the criminal laws of this country, they ought to

go after the information and prosecute them.

Mr. DURKIN. One further question: What is the

position of the Secretary of Energy on this matter?

we BN ee nn NY SE

Re Om RT i AS. fA a RT te

67a

Mr. BUMPERS. I do not know the position of the

Secretary of Energy on this amendment by Senator KEN-

NEDY.

Mr. HANSEN. Mr. President, if the Senator will

yield, I will be happy to tell him. The Secretary of En-

ergy opposes this amendment.

Mr. DURKIN. That is the best argument I have heard

for it yet. [Laughter. ]

Mr. KENNEDY. Madam President, how much time

do I have?

The PRESIDING OFFICER. The Senator from

Massachusetts has 10 minutes.

Mr. KENNEDY. [yield myself 5 minutes.

I have heard convincing arguments from my good

friend from Arkansas before, and I am usually very

much carried away with the nationality of his dialog and

debate.

But this particular argument he makes in opposition

to this amendment fails to meet his usual standard of

persuasiveness.

If you are talking about make-work for lawyers, you

are talking about the Bumpers position. All those small

independent outlets have to respond, under the Bumpers

amendment, not only to the Department of Energy but

to the Department of Justice and to the Federal Trade

Commission.

We are saying if you collect it once, Mr. Local Gas

Dealer, why are you going to have to answer all those

paper forms again, because they have got the power to

get it today?

Under the Bumpers amendment, they are going to have

to go out there, each of those particular departments, and

get that information. It is make-work for the lawyers.

We are hearing those words rattled around: “harass-

ment of American business.” Here we are threatening

the har-

68a

[S 7154]

assment of the smallest segment of American business.

The Senator from Arkansas points out or asks who is

going to get all this information? The Department of

Justice, the Department of Energy, the Federal i'rade

Commission, the GAO. Interesting. Add those together

and what do you get? The Congress of the United States

and the antitrust divisions of this Nation that are com-

mitted toward competition. Not a bad group—the Ameri-

can people, their elected representatives, and those who

are charged with maintaining competition. Those are the

people that are getting the information. Under the

Bumpers amendment, if the Department of Energy gets

the information, it does not even share it with the Con-

gress of the United States. Yet under his particular

amendment it gives the President the power to make

recommendations for interim relief.

Do we get the information then? No. Does the Fed-

eral Trade Commission get the information? No. Does

the Justice Department get it? No.

It just does not make any sense, Madam President,

particularly when this body has gone on record, as we

know, that it has been the failure of Congress to get

intelligent, accurate information that has been at the

heart of the inability to fashion and develop an adequate

energy policy for this Nation to meet the needs of both

producers and consumers alike.

We have not been able to get that information, and

here we are in 1978 still saying, “Well, we have to oppose

this amendment, because if we get a little information

we want to keep it all nice and together.” We want to

do that so that the other agencies of Government cannot

get it.

It does not make any sense in logic or rationality. Be-

yond that it does not make any sense in terms of energy

69a

policy; and third, it does not make any sense in terms of

trying to protect the legitimate interests of the people

we are attempting to protect, and that is the small and

independent firms in the oil and gas industry.

I withhold the remainder of my time.

Mr. DURKIN. Mr. President, will the Senator yield

for a question? Was not this very same amendment part

of the Coal Conversion Act?

Mr. KENNEDY. The Senator is absolutely correct. It

was passed and accepted without dispute. That is why

I felt some degree of hope.

Mr. DURKIN. What concerns me is the statement of

the Senator from Arkansas that it could take 18 years

to get the information.

If my memory serves me correctly, during the con-

ference on the coal conversion bill, this is one of the things

that JOHN DINGELL recommended. So if we have a con-

ference, JOHN DINGELL will be chairman of the House

conferees, and I think he will be as amenable to the pros-

pect in this conference as in the conference on the coal

conversion bill, and it will not slow down the bill and in

fact will hasten the bill on its way to enactment and to

the President’s desk.

I urge that we accept the amendment.

_Mr. KENNEDY. I thank the Senator.

Madam President, I would like to point out that both

Mr. Shenefield, the Assistant Attorney General of Anti-

trust, and Mr. Doherty, the FTC’s Director of the Bureau

of Competition, have testified before the Antitrust Sub-

committee that they cannot get data from the Depar-

ment of Energy, and they have told us that this is true

even today.

Mr. HANSEN. Madam President, will the Senator

from Arkansas yield me one-half minute?

Mr. BUMPERS. The time is not mine. It belongs to

the floor manager.

70a

Mr. DURKIN. Madam President, I yielded the Sena-

tor from Arkansas 10 minutes. I do not believe he used

all that time.

Mr. BUMPERS. How much of the 10 minutes did I

use?

kansas used 5 minutes.

Mr. BUMPERS. In that case, I yield the Senator

from Wyoming 1 minute.

Myr. HANSEN. Madam President, I would point out

to my colleagues that the Energy and Natural Resources

Committee is considering the energy information issue as

a part of the Department of Energy authorization bill.

We agreed to do this during the conference on the coal

conversion bill. Last week, I asked the committee staff

to prepare recommendations so that we can act upon it.

I would suggest that the amendment of the Senator

from Massachusetts is irrelevant to the issue before us.

I would also state that the administration is opposed

to this amendment. They believe that the amendment

would make it difficult to collect energy information. It

goes much further than the study before us and would

apply to all information.

I quote from the statement of the Energy Administra-

tion Service, headed by Mr. Lincoln Mosher. He says:

Two of the Federal Trade Commission’s bureaus

nicely illustrate the same problem. The Bureau of

Economics operates among other things, the Line of

Business reports, essential to understanding concen-

trations and profits within particular industrial sec-

tors. That Line of Business reporting system is in-

tended to promote understanding of particular in-

dustries, otherwise strongly obscured by the cross-

industry aggregation of revenues and outlays in the

operating statements of conglomerates. The product

of the Line of Business reporting system is the abil-

The PRESIDING OFFICER. The Senator from Ar-

Tla

ity to follow profitability, concentration and, by in-

ference, the competitive status of particular indus-

tries, not individual companies. Although the infor-

mation has been furnished by individual companies,

the product is an understanding of whole industries.

A second bureau in the Federal Trade Commission

is the Bureau of Competition. Its program is, doubt-

less, informed by industry-wide statistics like those

coming from the Line of Business reports. But to

perform its enforcement and prosecutorial functions

the Bureau of Competition must have individually

identifiable company data.

In a word, the Department of Energy Information

Service opposes the amendment by the Senator from

Massachusetts.

I thank the Senator from Arkansas for yielding.

Mr. BUMPERS. Madam President, along the lines of

the comments of the Senator from Wyoming, here is

what happened when the Federal Power Commission

sought all kinds of information from the energy compa-

nies of this country on what they called Form 40. Form

40 was tied up in court for years, because we were doing

what the Senator from Massachusetts is asking us to do

now. The energy companies simply were not going to re-

lease that information voluntarily; they were not going

to release it until after a court told them to.

If we adopt this proposal, we are saying to the oil

companies that we are trying to prove a point that we

do not like what they are doing. I will stand out on the

Capitol steps and denounce the oil companies with the

Senator from Massachusetts as loudly as he wants to,

but that will not help the small independent dealers in

the country.

What we are doing is calling them in and saying, “We

are just going to ask you a few simple questions; don’t

worry about the sheriff and the prosecuting attorney,

72a

they are just sitting here wanting to listen in, but you

be as truthful as you can.” .

Then if they ask, “What if we tell you something that

will be incriminating,” we say, “Well, that could get a

little hairy”; we are saying, “We cannot guarantee that

you will not get in trouble, but don’t worry about all

these people sitting around that could prosecute you.”

I will guarantee you we will be back here in 18 months

without one scintilla of information. All the small deal-

ers will still be going broke, nobody will know why, and

we will not be able to do anything about it.

Madam President, on most tax matters I agree with

the Senator from Massachusetts. But when we are in a

time constraint of 18 months for the study, I say that

we will not be able to get the information. If you want

to bring the country down on your head to prove a point,

the Senator’s amendment is the greatest thing since night

baseball. But if we are going to try to help the small

dealers, the Senate should reject the amendment and pass

something the oil companies will cooperate on and pro-

vide the small dealers with informa‘ion they can act on,

one way or the other.

I urge that the Senate reject the amendment.

Mr. KENNEDY. Madam President, I yield myself 3

minutes.

The issue we are talking about here is one of the most

basic and fundamental competitive issues involving the

petroleum industry, and that is the question of down-

stream subsidy of various levels of the oil industry.

It is interesting that the major oil companies do not

have as much difficulty in providing information to the

Department of Energy as they do to other departments

in our Government that are supposedly protecting the

little guy, the Federal Trade Commission and the Anti-

trust Division, by promoting competition. It just seems

to me, Madam President, that they are going to have to

get that information in order to make an informed judg-

ment on these matters. It is

PRET

73a

[S 7155]

imperative as a matter of public policy, and it is im-

perative that those agencies of the Government be able

to obtain it. I would hope that we would make it easier

on the smaller companies, and, when the information is

provided to the Department of Energy, provide that it be

shared with the other agencies of the Government.

Mr. BUMPERS. Madam President, do I have any time

remaining?

The PRESIDING OFFICER. The Senator from Mas-

sachusets has 2 minutes, and the Senator from New

Hampshire has 8.

Mr. HANSEN. Madam President, if the Senator from

Arkansas desires more time, I will be happy to yield some

time on the bill.

Mr. BUMPERS. Well, I think the Senator from New

Hampshire will yield me a minute or 2 to make just one

concluding remark. There has been some mention about

similar legislation on the coal conversion bill.

I would like to make two points. First, that was

thrown out in the conference. It is not in the Conference

report as the coal conversion bill.

Second, even the requirement of information which was

in the original coal bill, before it was thrown out in

conference, provided that only information which was

gathered pursuant to the coal conversion bill would be

shared.

Here the Senator from Massachusetts says any energy

information that the Secretary acquires, collects, or holds

shall be shared with all of these agencies.

I think his amendment is bad, but it would not be half

as bad if he said any energy information collected pur-

suant to section 301. But this means any energy infor-

mation collected pursuant to section 301. But this means

any energy information that the Secretary gets pursuant

to this bill or any other bill.

Mr. DURKIN. Will the Senator yield for a question?

Mr. BUMPERS. Yes.

74a

Mr. DURKIN. Why in God’s name is this body so

afraid of information? We are supposed to be the Board

of Directors of America. It is one thing to have the lady

with the scales across the way at the Supreme Court

blindfolded but legislators are not supposed to be blind-

folded. Why insist that we be blindfolded?

Mr. BUMPERS. The Justice Department has subpena

powers. If they are sure that something is going on that

is wrong among major oil companies, they can subpena

the information. They do not have to request it. They

do not have to ask for their cooperation. Here we do.

We are not talking about how we get the information.

We are talking about who we are going to share it with.

We are going to share it with everybody. I would just

as soon talk about it over the clothesline in the backyard.

I say when we do that we will get no cooperation. That

is what we are trying to do, get enough information.

I believe there will be enough cooperation to get the in-

formation to determine whether or not the practice we

are trying to cure here is going on.

The Congress has been answering questions that no-

body asked for years and it has people upset. This is

just a manifestation and exacerbation of it.

Mr. DURKIN. But the United States is faced with a

national energy problem. The U.S. Congress does not

have the information. The only person who has the in-

formation is the pipesmoking, birdwatching Secretary

of Energy, and he will not release that information.

Mr. KENNEDY. The fact of the matter is, Mr. Presi-

dent, that the Senate accepted—we are not talking about

what was dropped over there in the conference but what

the Senate accepted—these words:

“Any energy information acquired, collected or held by

the Department shall be subject to the requirement” mak-

ing it available. It was not limited to coal.

The fact of the matter is, Mr. President, if we accept

the argument of the Senator from Arkansas we would

75a

assume that those major oil companies are just waiting

to empty all of their information on the Congress of the

United States or the Department of Justice and the Fed-

eral Trade Commission. On the one hand, Mr. President,

this bill is saying, “We are going to protect the small

independent man in the oil industry, with title I and title

II and protect him from being squeezed out.” That is

why we have titles I and II. Then the Senator from

Arkansas says those nice, benevolent oil and gas com-

panies who are doing the squeezing w

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.