Petition — 1776 K Street Associates, et al., v. United States of America

Supreme Court brief1980

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U. Se" &e

Ff

iLED

FEB 25 1989

! MICHAEL RODAK, JP Re

IN THE “

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

“* 79°1314

1776 K STREET ASSOCIATES, et al.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF CLAIMS

WHAYNE S. QUIN

1666 K Street, N.W.

Suite 600

Washington, D.C. 20006

Attorney for Petitioners

Of Counsel:

MAUREEN DWYER STEWART

WILKES & ARTIS,

CHARTERED

1666 K Street, N.W.

Suite 600

Washington, D.C. 20006

WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

CONTENTS

Page

Preliminary Statement. ...........................:.---sscssseseseeeeseenees 1

Onimion: Tebow a... 2022 --n-.-n---nennn-nnoenneneee nes 1

Sa scewscnsnhmenetnanneccersstneneces 2

Questions Presented .....................---.....---...--2-.0--------2000+- 2

GRE Oe 3

Neen ee sass canaccvenemncnesons 3

Reasons for Granting the Writ ................................-------- 8

II LSS EINE EES I OS Oe ee 22

Decne tcetcennnsncevenennseenerennnecceccere= la

ii

CITATIONS

CASES: Page

Ackerman v. United States, 340 U.S. 193 (1950)... 10

Algonac Manufacturing Co. v. United States, 198

Ct. Cl. 258, 458 F.2a 1878 (1972) ......................... 8

Amsden v. United States, 146 Ct. Cl. 809, 175

FI CRE} sosiretiecarebencticeningininiseieuns 9

Brooks v. Brooks, XXVIII Washington Law Rptr.

BCs Arh. RE ciicdcetmtctoeniclneed 8, 12, 20

Brant v. Virginia Coal & I. Co., 98 U.S. 326

| RSG PSR RRIRER tt Aor LE cept ee ey Wo Bowe 13

Carney Vv. United States, 462 F.2d 1142, 199 Ct.

My | SAAR RRNE TS aA IEE Nad ee ES GORY FOE 8

Carr v. District of Columbia, 371 F.Supp. 293

(D.D.C. 1974), aff'd. without opinion, 521 F.2d

824 (D.C. Cir. 1975), modified, 177 U.S. App.

D.C. 468, $48 F.Bd O17 (ISTE) qc.c2s ea. 8, 15

Carr V. District of Columbia, C.A. 77-445, (D.D.C.

ERY - Te, REN pocrtcesotin scones ieee 14

Carr Vv. District of Columbia, C.A. 77-445, (D.D.C.

SRE TE, TCO vcceteticcadei eisniaihidsnd 6, 8, 14, 15, 19

Chesapeake & Potomac Telephone Co. v. District

of Columbia, et al., C.A. 2671-75 (consolidated

March 28, 1978), 106 Washington Law Re-

porter 1065 (June 13, 1978) ............00000000002...... 6, 8-9, 18

Chicago & N.W. Ry. Co. v. Davenport, et al., 95

Fs Be Cas BE FED otecserte ean 17

Crary v. Dye, 280 U.S. 515 (1980) ......................... 12

Crosley Corporation v. United States, 229 F.2d

Sees, ee ike atactes as Sikes co cceess 13

Erie R.R. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1982) .......... 7,9, 21

Fitzhugh v. United States, 59 App. D.C. 285, 40

je By ERNE RRRA A. Ay Prete sm 4, 12,21

Hanna v. Plumer, 380 U.S. 460 (1965) ................ 11

Hyjack v. Nolan, 366 A.2d 715 (N.J. Super. Ct.

ps |, SE ARUP IIE ORR OPA INT Pires Meer ol Renu a Ry LUO 17

In re Cremida’s Estate, 14 FRD 15 (Alaska

SURNAM rey mee nse ted Neen Opa ony WAI COs 17

Klapprott v. United States, 335 U.S. 601 (1949)... 10

iii

CITATIONS—Continued

Page

Love v. United States, 122 Ct. Cl. 144, 104 F.Supp.

BIRR Cae CMe Rota SEPA 8

Morris v. United States, 174 U.S. 196 (1898).4, 16, 20, 21

Oklahoma V. Texas, 268 U.S. 252 (1925) -................ 13

Parker v. Sager, 85 U.S. App. D.C. 4, 174 F.2d

PT iid hiliilorcchadeen 12, 13

Peoples Bank v. Eccles, 161 F.2d 636 (D.C. Cir.

1947) rev’d. on other grounds, 333 U.S. 426

GESTS STE Sea ROD a Be Pdek CO Die a oO ORE Se 13

Pierce Vv. Cook, 518 F.2d 720 (10th Cir. 1975) ........ 10,17

Polites v. United States, 364 U.S. 426 (1960)......... 8,10

Potomac Steamboat Co. v. Upper Potomac Steam-

oe We ok A EG) |} ares 21

Pratt v. Law, 13 U.S. (9 Cranch) 453 (1815) _...... 4, 20

Puget Sound Alumni of Kappa Sigma v. City of

Seattle, 422 F.2d 799 (Wash. 1967) _................... 13, 16

Radock v. Norwegian America Line Agency, Inc.,

$18 F.2d 688 (2nd Cir. 1968) ............................... 17

1776 K Street Associates v. District of Columbia,

C.A. 2015-70 (Order and Judgment, April 6,

| Nagas EF or RUA (oe hele ReaD pln Re SRE Ee Ome 13

Stoner v. New York Life Insurance Co., 311 U.S.

RR LCE A ER LMA A <r ae Ree : 21

Tarkington v. U.S. Lines Co., 222 F.2d 358 (2nd

Oe a os caleesdmseninineecs 9

Tozer Vv. Charles A. Milling Co., 189 F.2d 242 (3rd

a ea eh Siceatemnabenianen 17

Tsakonites v. Trans Pacific Carriers Corporation,

322 F.Supp. 722 (S.D.N.Y. 1970) cert. denied,

eo i ccpusnaunsowyooees 10

United States v. Groen, 72 F.Supp. 713 (D.D.C.

ee ee rsokh ageism vmiieebeaeninnes 4

United States v. Yazell, 382 U.S. 341 (1966) .......... 21

Van Ness Vv. City of Washington, 29 U.S. (4 Pet.)

a cea psevaen 4,21

Washington Medical Center, Inc. v. United States,

211 Ct. Cl. 145, 545 F.2d 116 (1976) ................... 5, 15, 19

iv

CITATIONS—Contirued

STATUTES: Page

D.C. Code (1973), as amended:

eee GTI cisiciciscin sccnsisiatiannciioaiaaaiesaiaginlnaaataneinds 15,19

1 Stat. 189, Chapter 28 (as amended 1 Stat. 214,

Chapter 17); D.C. Code page XXXIII (1973),

(as amended D.C. Code page XXXIV [1973]).. 3

RULES:

Court of Claims Rule 1652(b) ............................---... 8

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure 60(b) ............... 8,10, 11

I ccaciccittinenias 10

TREATISES:

16A Am.Jur.2d, Constitutional Law § 585 (1979).. 16

16A C.J.S. Constitutional Law § 599 (1959) ........ 16

MISCELLANEOUS:

B. Cardozo, The Nature of the Judicial Process,

Re. | Sa a et es 11

Opinion of Hugh T. Taggart, Assistant United

States Attorney for the District of Columbia

CRetd BR, TED nccseesccnctincictaennne 20

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

No.

1776 K STREET ASSOCIATES, et al.,

Petitioners,

V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF CLAIMS

PRELIMINARY STATEMENT

Petitioners 1776 K Street Associates, Metropolitan Club

of the City of Washington, D. F. Antonelli, Jr., and

Washington Medical Center, Inc., pray that a writ of

certiorari issue to review the judgment and opinion of

the United States Court of Claims entered on July 18,

1979.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Claims, reported at 602

F.2d 354, is attached hereto as Appendix A (App. la).

The Order of the Court of Claims denying petitioners’

motion for reconsideration is attached hereto as Appendix

B (App. 8a).

2

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Claims was entered on

July 18, 1979. A timely Motion for Reconsideration, Re-

hearing or, in the Alternative, Suggestion for Rehearing

En Bane, was denied on September 28, 1979. By Order

dated December 14, 1979, the Chief Justice extended the

time within which to file this petition to and including

February 25, 1980. The jurisdiction of this Court is in-

voked under 28 U.S.C. § 1255 (1)

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The questions presented are:

1. Whether the Court of Claims was incorrect in hold-

ing that an independent action for relief from a judgment

due to a change in law is not available under circum-

stances where the Court’s judgment was based on an in-

terpretation of building regulations issued by President

George Washington relating to the original City of Wash-

ington, which interpretation was rejected by both local

federal and state courts.

2. Whether the Court of Claims should have deferred

to the substantive decisions of the local and federal courts

within the District of Columbia on the question of owner-

ship of original alleys within the Federal City of Wash-

ington based on the construction of building regulations

issued by President George Washington.

3. Whether the Court of Claims was in error in grant-

ing respondent’s motion to dismiss on the basis of “equity”

determinations when no factual basis for such determina-

tions was contained in either the complaint or the record

and no evidentiary proceedings were permitted.

4, Whether refusal of Court of Claims to set aside

their erroneous decision requiring property owners to

3

pay for land they already owned upon termination of

public alley use constituted a taking of petitioners’ prop-

erty in violation of the Fifth Amendment to the Consti-

tution.

STATUTES INVOLVED

The statutes involved are the Act of Congress adopted

July 16, 1790 (1 Stat. 139, Chapter 28), District of

Columbia Code, (1973), page XXXIII, as amended by

Act of Congress approved March 3, 1791 (1 Stat. 214,

Chapter 17), District of Columbia Code, (1978), page

XXXIV, from which the United States derived the auth-

ority to negotiate for the acceptance of the land for the

original City of Washington.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In 1788, the State of Maryland authorized the cession

of land to the Congress of the United States for the

Nation’s Capital which today is referred to as the

“original city” within the District of Columbia. In

1790, Congress accepted the cession and authorized the

President to appoint three commissioners to determine

the boundaries of the City and to purchase or accept the

ceded land from its various owners, primarily nineteen

individuals commonly referred to as the “original pro-

prietors.”’

In 1791, the original proprietors executed identical

deeds of trust to trustees designated by the President,

conveying to them, in trust, all of the land within the

bounds of the original city. The trusts operated to divide

the land into three categories: (1) streets, as directed by

the President, to be titled in the United States at no

charge; (2) public appropriations (for example, Farragut

Square), as directed by the President, also to be titled in

the United States, which were purchased by the commis-

sioners for 25 pounds per acre; and (3) the entire residue

4

of the land (the “residue”), which was to be equally

divided, one-half to be assigned by the commissioners

back to the original proprietors and the other one-half

retained by the commissioners for sale to individal pur-

chasers.! The Deeds of Trust also authorized President

Washington to issue regulations affecting the manner of

construction in the Federal City.

Petitioners are the owners of various lots abutting por-

tions of original alleys laid out from the residue portion

of the land assigned under the deeds of trust. Each of the

petitioners filed applications with the appropriate District

of Columbia officials to close portions of the abutting

original alleys in order that they might construct im-

provements on their property. Although the closings were

deemed appropriate, on the assumption that the alley

land was titled in the United States, the District of Colum-

bia required that each petitioner pay to the Treasury

of the United States the assessed fair market value of

the portion of the closed alley abutting each petitioner’s

property.

Subsequently, contrary to the previous advice of the

Office of the District of Columbia Surveyor and Corpora-

tion Counsel, petitioners found evidence in the National

Archives which indicated that the alley land had not been

owned by the United States but rather, in accordance

with common law, was titled in the abutting property

owners.

To recover the money paid by them to the United States

Treasury for the closing of the alley portions, petitioners,

1 More complete discussions of this aspect of the early history of

Washington may be found in Morris v. United States, 174 U.S. 196,

245-259 (1898); Van Ness v. City of Washington, 29 U.S. (4 Pet.)

232 (1830); Pratt v. Law, 13 U.S. (9 Cranch) 456 (1815); Fitz-

hugh v. United States, 59 App. D.C. 285, 40 F.2d 797, 798-799

(D.C. Cir. 1930); and United States v. Groen, 72 F.Supp. 713

(D.D.C. 1947) ; Brooks v. Brooks, XXVIII Wash. L. Rptr. 335 (May

8, 1900).

- one er ee ee

5

in previous proceedings, brought suit against respondent

United States in the United States Court of Claims. Peti-

tioners’ cases were consolidated for purposes of briefing

and arguing Motions for Summary Judgment filed by all

parties, and were disposed of by an opinion of the Court

of Claims in Washington Medical Center, Inc. v. United

States, 211 Ct. Cl. 145, 545 F.2d 116, decided October 20,

1976. (Attached hereto as Appendix E, App. 61a.)

In that ruling, the Court of Claims denied the petition-

ers’ motion for summary judgment based on its construc-

tion of President Washington’s regulations, granted the

respondent’s motion for summary judgment and dis-

missed the petitions. Although respondent never asserted

that title to the alleys was in the United States, and in

fact relied solely upon the defense of estoppel and the argu-

ment that fair market charges could be made regardless

of the title question, the Court of Claims ruled that the

charges were proper since it found that title to the alley-

ways had been in the United States. By Order entered

January 7, 1977, the Court of Claims denied petitioners’

Motion for Reconsideration, Rehearing, or in the Alterna-

tive, Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc, and by Order

entered May 20, 1977, 211 Ct. Cl. 379, it denied peti-

tioners’ Motion for Relief from Judgment and Remand

to Trial Judge for Trial on Issue of Title to Alleyways.

On June 6, 1977 petitioners filed a timely Petition for

Writ of Certiorari (No. 76-1719) seeking review of the

Court of Claims holding that the United States has title

to the original alleys in question and its determination

that the common law does not apply to interpretation of

the deeds of trust or the establishment of the alleys. The

petition was denied by order of the Court entered on

October 17, 1977, 484 U.S. 902 (1977). On April 10,

6

1978, petitioners filed a Petition for Rehearing* on

the basis that the Court of Claims decision was in

direct conflict with the intervening decision of the Superior

Court of the District of Columbia (Judge John Garrett

Penn) in Chesapeake & Potomac Telephone Co. v. District

of Columbia, et al., Civil Action No. 2671-75 (consoli-

dated), entered on March 28, 1978, (attached hereto as

Appendix C, App. 10a) holding that fee title to the

original alleys in the Federal City of Washington does

not lie in the United States. This petition was denied by

order of the court entered on May 1, 1978, 435 U.S. 1018

(1978).

Subsequent to this Court’s denial of the Petition for

Rehearing, the United States District Court for the Dis-

trict of Columbia (Judge Thomas A. Flannery) in the

ease of Oliver T. Carr, Jr. v. District of Columbia, C.A.

No. 77-445, having the full benefit of the Court of Claims’

October 20, 1976 decision and the Superior Court’s March

28, 1978 decision concerning the identical legal, factual

and historical issues, also held that title to the original

alleyways in the District of Columbia resided in the own-

ers of the abutting lots, not in the United States. (At-

tached hereto as Appendix D, App. 52a.) Both the Su-

perior Court and the District Court rejected the Court of

Claims’ interpretation of President Washington’s build-

ing regulations. App. 42a-49a, 54a. The appeal of the

Carr decision* has been stayed pending the outcome of

20On November 8, 1977, Petitioners filed a motion for an exten-

sion of time in which to file a Petition for Rehearing on the basis

that the decision in the Superior Court for the District of Columbia

in Chesapeake & Potomac Telephone Co. v. District of Columbia,

et al., Civil Action No. 2671-75 (consolidated), involving identical

issues, appeared to be imminent. By order of November 10, 1977,

this Court granted the motion for an extension of time in which to

file a Petition for Rehearing until February 11, 1978. By orders of

February 10, 1978 and March 13, 1978, the time for filing was

further extended to April 10, 1978. ;

8 Pending in the United States Court of Appeals for the District

of Columbia Circuit as Carr v. District of Columbia, No. 79-1571.

SRE LRT a aC MENT ee, Che at te ee

T

the C&P Telephone Co. appeal* in the District of Colum-

bia Court of Appeals.

On the basis of the divergent judgments between the

Court of Claims and those of the Superior Court of the

District of Columbia and the U.S. District Court for the

District of Columbia, petitioners filed an independent

action for relief from the Court of Claims’ judgment on

December 5, 1978. On July 18, 1979, the Court of Claims

granted the respondent’s Motion to Dismiss. Petitioners’

timely Motion for Reconsideration, Rehearing or, in the

Alternative, Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc, was

denied on September 28, 1979. In granting respondent’s

motion to dismiss, the Court of Claims held that an in-

dependent action for relief from a judgment due to a

change in law is not available unless the facts of the

case indicate common participants in an accident, the

removal of some but not all claims to the Federal courts

by diversity, and conflicts between the Federal courts and

state dispositions where the Federal courts should have

conformed to state law by Erie R.R. v. Tompkins, 304

U.S. 64 (1938).

Petitioners seek review of the Court of Claims ruling

where the Court’s prior decision was based on an

interpretation of regulations issued by President George

Washington relating to the original City of Washington,

which interpretation was rejected by both local federal

and state courts. The other questions presented for re-

view are stated above.

* Pending in the District of Columbia Court of Appeals as United

States v. C&P Telephone Co., Nos. 13570, 14206, 79-499. Oral

argument was held on October 23, 1979.

8

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I.

The Court of Claims’ Holding That Petitioners Are Not

Entitled To Relief From Judgment Due To A Change In

Law Was Error. Further, The Decision Is Based Upon

A Point Expressly Left Undecided By This Court In

Polites v. United States® Which Is In Need Of Clari-

fication.

The independent action * below sought relief from the

final came of the Court of Claims entered on October

20, 1976 which held that title to original alleyways was

in the United States. At the time the Court of Claims

rendered its initial decision, the only local, substantive

case law specifically addressing the title to original alleys

was the District Court decision in Carr V. District of

Columbia, 371 F.Supp. 293 (D.D.C. 1974), aff'd without

opinion, 521 F.2d 324 (D.C. Cir. 1975), modified, 177

U.S. App. D.C. 482, 543 F.2d 917 (1976) wherein all

parties had assumed that title was in the United States.’

Subsequent to the Court of Claims’ decision, the District

Court entertained an independent action under Federal

Civil Rule 60(b) by the plaintiff in the Carr case and

concluded that ownership of the alleys was not in the

United States. App. 52a. In a separate, but related action,

the Superior Court of the District of Columbia, in C&P

5 364 U.S. 426 (1960).

6 action was predicated on Court of Claims Rule 152(b),

eg virtually identical to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure

60(b). Carney v. United States, 199 Ct. Cl. 160, 462 F.2d 1142

(1972). Accordingly, federal court decisions involving Rule 60(b)

are considered precedents in applying Rule 152(b). Algonac Manu-

facturing Co. v. United States, 198 Ct. Cl. 258, 458 F.2d 1373

(1972); Love v. United States, 122 Ct. Cl. 144, 104 F.Supp. 102

(1952).

7 Other prior judicial decisions have discussed but not decided

the issue with the clear implication that title to original alleys is

not necessarily in the United States. See pp. 20-21, infra.

~ 9--

a el tN Se ee ee

9

Telephone v. District of Columbia, 106 Wash. Law Re-

porter 1065 (June 13, 1978) also had concluded that,

contrary to what had previously been thought, title to

original alleys was not in the United States. App. 10a.

Based on this clear and authoritative change in the

local governing law, petitioners sought relief from the

Court of Claims’ prior decision.

In denying petitioners’ independent action, the Court of

Claims held that relief from judgment due to a change in

law is limited to cases involving “common participants

in an accident, the removal of some but not all claims to

the federal courts by diversity, and conflicts between the

Federal Courts and state dispositions though the federal

courts should have conferred to state law by Erie RR v.

Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64 (1938).” App. 6a-7a. The holding

clearly conflicts with the Court of Claims’ decision in

Amsden V. United States * and with the decisions of other

federal courts.

(a) In Amsden, the Court: of Claims granted Rule

152(b) relief stating, “we are not willing to permit a

strict application of the doctrine of res judicata to prevent

us from reaching a conclusion which is consonant with

our sense of justice.” For the Court of Claims to now

hold that relief from judgment due to a change in law is

limited to cases involving common accidents or Erie con-

siderations is totally contrary to its Amsden decision.

(b) In Tarkington v. United States Lines Co., 222 F.2d

358 (2d Cir. 1955), a Rule 60(b) motion was granted

on the ground that a case decided subsequent to the

instant case laid down a legal rule contrary to that applied

-in the cases on which the trial judge in the instant case

had relied. In so holding the Second Circuit did not limit

relief to cases involving common accidents or Erie con-

siderations but based its decision on the need to do justice

under the circumstances of the particular case before it.

8146 Ct. Cl. 809, 175 F.Supp. 147 (1959).

10

(ce) In Tsakonites v. Trans Pacific Carriers Corpora-

tion, 322 F.Supp. 722 (S.D.N.Y. 1970), the Court granted

Rule 60(b) relief in light of a change in law, stating

that it was “in the interest of justice in the exceptional

circumstances of this vase to grant Tsakonites his day in

court...” 322 F. Supp. at 725. Again, in reaching its

decision, the Court did not limit relief to cases involving

common accidents or Erie considerations, but based its

decision on the need to do justice under the circumstances

of the particular case before it.

(d) As case law indicates, a Rule 60(b) (6) action for

relief from a judgment can be predicated on a change in

the law. This Court has itself recognized on at least three

occasions, that a change in law can necessitate relief from

a judgment, “where justice so requires,” Klapprott Vv.

United States, 335 U.S. 601 (1949) ; Ackerman V. United

States, 340 U.S. 193 (1950); Polites v. United States,

364 U.S. 426 (1960). The precise question whether 60 (b)

authorizes relief for a change of law, however, was ex-

pressly left open in the Polites case when this Court found

that it:

“need not go so far here as to decide that when an

appeal has been abandoned or not taken because of a

clearly applicable adverse rule of law, relief under

Rule 60(b) is inflexibly to be withheld when there

has later been a clear and authoritative change in

governing law. The fact of the matter is that that

situation is not presented in this case.” Polites at

433.

In the present case, that situation is squarely faced and

it is urged that the Court finally decide whether a change

in law such as that presented here can serve as the basis

for an independent action for relief from judgment.

(e) The Pierce v. Cook case, 518 F.2d 720 (10th Cir.

1975), cited by the Court of Claims as authority for its

novel position that Rule 60(b) relief due to a change in

. em

11

law is limited to common accident situations or Erie con-

siderations, in fact supports the granting of Rule 60(b)

relief under the circumstances of this case. The under-

lying policy of Erie of promoting uniform administration

of the laws moved the court to grant relief in Pierce, and

those same considerations are present here.

II.

The Court Of Claims’ Refusal To Defer To The Deci-

sions Of The Local State And Federal Courts Violates

The Principles Laid Down By This Court in Erie.

In Erie this Court held that, “Except in matters gov-

erned by the Federal Constitution or by Acts of Congress,

the law to oe applied in any case is the law of the state.”

In refusing to apply the decisions of the local state and

federal courts on the issue of title, the Court of Claims

violated this principle.

The decision in Erie was based on a cardinal precept of

American law: the principle of fairness. As stated by

Judge Cardozo:

“Tt will not do to decide the same question one way

between one set of litigants and the opposite way

between another. . . . One of the fundamental social

interests is that law shall be uniform and impartial.

There must be nothing in its action that savors of

prejudice or favor... .” B. Cardozo, The Nature of

the Judicial Process, 38, 112 (1921).

In accordance with this principle, one of the twin aims of

Erie was the avoidance of inequitable administration of

the laws. Hanna v. P/wmer, 320 U.S. 460 (1965). This is

the precise mischief which the “ourt of Claims’ decision

has worked.

Further, where, as here, the local courts have authori-

tatively settled a substantive issue in direct conflict with

the Court of Claims’ prior decision, it is clear that relief

12

from the earlier judgment should be granted and can be

the basis for an independent action. This is especially

true where the local courts have taken notice of the Court

of Claims’ decision and expressly stated that it is erro-

neous. App. 49a, 59a. Accordingly, in the interest of

furthering the Erie policy of federal-state conformity, the

Court of Claims’ decision not to defer to the decisions of

the local state and federal courts should be reversed.

III.

The Court Of Claims’ Decision To Grant The Respond-

ent’s Motion To Dismiss On The Basis Of “Equity” De-

terminations Was Clearly Erroneous When No Factual

Basis For Such Determinations Was Contained In Either

The Complaint Or Record And No Evidentiary Proceed-

ings Were Permitted.

The essential elements of equitable estoppel as related

to the party estoppel were established by the court in

Parker v. Sager, 85 U.S. App. D.C. 4, 174 F.2d 657, 661

(D.C. Cir. 1949). Applying those principles to the pres-

ent case, it is clear that the requirements of estoppel are

not satisfied. The Court of Claims’ opinion is totally

devoid of any facts concerning misrepresentation or con-

cealment or knowledge of the real facts. The Court’s

statement that petitioners were “on notice that at least

there was a colorable claim the United States did not own

the alleys, from decisions ® they themselves cite and rely

on here” does not support estoppel. As this Court stated

in Crary v. Dye, 208 U.S. 515, 521 (1908) :

“And in respect to the title of real property, the party

claiming to have been influenced by the conduct or

declaration must not only have been destitute cf

knowledge of the true state of the title, but also of

® Fitzhugh v. United States, 59 App. D.C. 285, 40 F.2d 797

(1980); Brooks v. Brooks, XXVIII Wash. L. Rptr. 335 (Sup. Ct.

D.C. 1900).

13

any convenient and available means of acquiring

knowledge. Where the condition of title is known to

both parties, or both have the same means of ascer-

taining the truth, there can be no estoppel.” (Em-

phasis added. )

See, also, Oklahoma v. Texas, 268 U.S. 252, 257 (1925) ;

Brant v. Virginia Coal & I Co., 93 U.S. 326, 337 (1876).

Further, in view of the fact that an alley could only be

closed upon a finding that it was unnecessary and useless,

it is difficult to see what detriment the District could

possibly have suffered by reason of such closings.” In this

regard, the Court of Claims’ earlier finding that the City

Council relied on the closing of the streets and alleys to

its detriment is totally erroneous. 211 Ct. Cl. 145, 152-53.

Finally, the identical estoppel argument was specifically

rejected by Judge Flannery in 1776 K Street Associates

v. District of Columbia, Civil Action No. 2015-70, when

he stated:

“4. 1776 K Street Associates is not estopped from

maintaining this action. The doctrine of estoppel is

inapplicable where the plaintiff challenges an agree-

ment with the government on the grounds that the

government acted beyond its statutory authority. See

Peoples Bank v. Eccles, 161 F.2d 636, 644 (D.C. Cir.

1947), rev’d on other grounds, 333 U.S. 426 (1948).

Furthermore, the elements of equitable estoppel are

not present because 1776 K Street Associates did not

misrepresent or conceal any material fact. See

Parker v. Sager, 174 F.2d 657, 661 (D.C. Cir. 1949).

A mutual mistake of law does not give rise to estop-

pel. Cf, Crosley Corp. v. United States, 229 F.2d 376,

381 (D.C. Cir. 1956).”

The Court of Claims’ obvious confusion as to when the

doctrine of estoppel applies is further evidenced by its

10 See Puget Sound Alumni of Kappa Sigma v. City of Seattle,

422 P.2d 799 (Wash. 1967).

14

decision to reverse itself. In its prior decision the Court

of Claims held that the holding on estoppel in the above

1776 K Street Associates case was clearly inapposite,

“because the decision there was based on the lack of

authority of the District of Columbia Council to

charge for the closing of a non-original alley owned

by the District of Columbia, whereas, in the instant

case we are dealing with an original street and origt-

nal alleys which the defendant contends are owned in

fee simple by the United States and which Congress

has authorized to be closed and charges collected

therefor by the District of Columbia Council as its

agent. There is no lack of authority to make the

charges in this case... . On the other hand, if the

United States did not have title . . . the plaintiffs

would be entitled to refunds of the money paid. . . .”

App. 67a-68a.

In its July 18, 1979 opinion, the Court of Claims reversed

itself. It assumed, as it must for purposes of the motion

to dismiss, that title to the alley land was not in the

United States and thus the District of Columbia Council

would have lacked authority to make charges for the

closings of the alleys. The court then went on to apply

the doctrine of estoppel totally contradicting its earlier

decision that, under these facts, the doctrine is not

applicable.

Further support for the position that petitioners are

not estopped is found in the history of Carr v. District of

Columbia, Civil Action No. 77-445 (Carr II). Clearly, if

estoppel applied, it would have barred the independent

action allowed by both the United States Court of Ap-

peals and the District Court.’ It is indeed ironic that

11JIn its opinion and order of December 22, 1977, the District

Court stated: “Here the newly discovered records are not in what

would be considered a “normal” location and the facts indicate that

plaintiffs did diligently search the District of Columbia records

that were available. The representations of the District’s Surveyor

and Corporation Counsel’s Office are also critical.” See also

App. 58a-54a.

15

plaintiffs in Carr were given independent action relief,

but that petitioners herein, who actually found the under-

lying evidence of title and upon whom Carr depended (see

543 F.2d at 921, fn. 13), were not even permitted to pre-

sent evidence to the Court of Claims either on the merits

or on the issue of estoppel. Since no appellate review is

available from the Court of Claims’ decision, only this

Court upon certiorari proceedings can correct this gross

miscarriage of justice.

IV.

The Court Of Claims’ Erroneous Determination Of The

Title Issue Amounts To A Taking Of Petitioners’ Prop-

erty In Violation Of The Fifth Amendment To The

Constitution.

The refusal of the Court of Claims to set aside its

prior erroneous determination amounts to a deprivation

of petitioners’ property in violation of the Fifth Amend-

ment to the Constitution. No more cogent statement of

this fact could be offered than that of the United States

District Court for the District of Columbia in Oliver T.

Carr, Jr. wherein the Court held:

In essence, the District argues that pursuant to

[$ 7-302, D.C. Code (1973)] the Mayor and the

Council of the District of Columbia are vested with

the authority to sell land that is privately owned and

not the property of the District of Columbia or the

United States. It is difficult to imagine how such a

result could be justified on a proper interpretation

of the statute. Section 7-302 is merely a perpetuation

of the erroneous presumption that title to the original

alleys is in the United States. Washington Medical

Center v. United States, 545 F.2d 116, 134-35 (Ct.

Cl. 1979) is an example of the same error. App. D.

Under the rules governing a motion to dismiss, the Court

of Claims was required to accept the conclusions of the

16

D.C. Superior Court and United States District Court

that petitioners owned the land previously devoted to alley

use. With this major premise, it is hornbook law that the

Fifth Amendment of the Constitution would not permit

the United States to extract payment from the owners.

See generally 16A C.JS., Constitutional Law, § 599

(1959) ; 16A Am.Jur.2d Constitutional Law § 585 (1979).

Petitioners are the successors in title to the original

proprietors and original purchasers of lots and alleyways

which were conveyed pursuant to the original deeds of

trust.2. The United States acquired no title to alleys and

no interest beyond police power regulations, and conse-

quently the owners cannot be forced to buy their own land

or to pay td remove the alley use once the use has been

terminated by the City. In this connection the court in

Puget Sound Alumni of Kappa Sigma v. City of Seattle,

422 P.2d at 802, stated:

The legislative powers of a city must be exercised

for the public benefit, but that does not authorize a

municipality to sell or bargain legislation as a means

of obtaining revenue. It would be a novel proposi-

tion to hold that a city, as a condition precedent to

the exercise of its lawful power and authority to

vacate a street or alley no longer needed for public

use, could demand and receive from private parties

a sum of money for its action. Such a holding would

be dangerous in principle, contrary to good morals,

and against public policy.” (Quoting from Lockwood

& Strickland Co. v. City of Chicago, 117 N.E. 81

(Ill. 1979) ).

12 See text of deeds in Morris v. United States, 174 U.S. 196, 202-

206 (1898).

17

V.

The Court Of Claims Decision To Deny The Independ-

ent Action Constituted An Abuse Of Discretion Subject

To Review By This Court.

A motion under rule 60(b) or an “independent action”

gives the court a “grand reservoir of equitable power to

do justice in a particular case.” Radock v. Norwegian

American Line Agency, Inc., 318 F.2d 588 (2nd Cir.

1963). Recent cases applying Rule 60(b) have uniformly

held that it must be given a liberal construction and that

any doubt should be resolved in favor of the petition to

set aside the judgment. Tozer v. Charles A. Milling Co.,

183 F.2d 242 (8rd Cir. 1951). Although relief from judg-

ments, orders, or other proceedings rests in the sound dis-

cretion of the court, “The discretion is not an arbitrary

one to be capriciously exercised, but a sound legal discre-

tion guided by accepted legal principles.” Chicago & N.W.

Ry. Co. v. Davenport et al., 95 F.Supp. 469 (D.C. Iowa

1951). Further,

“that discretion should ordinarily incline towards

granting, rather than denying, relief. This is espe-

cially true if no intervening rights have attached in

reliance upon the judgment and no actual injustice

will occur. In Re Cremida’s Estate, 14 FRD 15

(Alaska 1953). (Emphasis added.)

While it is true that many of the decisions interpreting

Rule 60(b) have been concerned with cases involving de-

fault judgments, the power vested in the courts under

Rule 60(b) is sufficient to enable them to vacate judg-

ments whenever such action is appropriate to accomplish

justice.’* In essence, any case presenting the question of

substantial rights should be resolved in favor of the peti-

tion to set aside the judgment where a litigant has not

13 See, e.g., Pierce, Tsakonites, Tarkington, Amsden, Hyjack v.

Nolan, 366 A.2d 715 (New Jersey Super. Ct. 1976).

18

been afforded the opportunity to have a fair hearing.

This is especially true in the present case Where upon

cross motions for summary judgment, in which petitioners

asserted that title to the original alleys was not in the

United States and respondent did not assert the contrary,

the Court of Claims, sua sponte, decided that title is in

the United States on the basis of a legal theory not pre-

sented by the parties, without considering petitioners’

undisputed documentary evidence and without affording

petitioners an opportunity to meet such new legal theory

or to cure technical deficiencies of proof which the court

found in part of petitioners’ evidence.

VI.

The Decision Below Conflicts With Decisions Of This

Court, The United States Circuit Court Of Appeal For

The District Of Columbia, The Highest Local Court Of

The District Of Columbia And With Other Legal Au-

thorities And Contemporaneous Interpretations.

The heart of petitioners’ independent action below was

that although the Court of Claims undertook to decide

the “crucial and controlling question” of title to original

alleys in the District of Columbia, the local and federal

courts within the District of Columbia have ruled con-

trary to the decision of the Court of Claims on both the

historical facts and the applicable law. Further, the prior

decision of the Court of Claims is in direct conflict with

holdings underlying a prior decision of this Court,

with numerous decisions of local and federal courts of

appeal of the District of Columbia and with other legal

authorities as well as contemporaneous interpretations of

the deeds of trust and the status of the title to the soil of

the alleys.

(a) The Superior Court of the District of Columbia,

the local court of general jurisdiction, faced with the

identical legal, factual and historical issues in Chesapeake

PR RE te RT EE

19

and Potomac Telephone Company, pronounced the sub-

stantive law of the District of Columbia and held that

title to the original alleyways in the District of Columbia

was not in the United States, but was in the owners of

the abutting lots. (App. 3la-40a, 50a.)

In the case of Oliver T. Carr, Jr., the United States

District Court for the District of Columbia, having the

full benefit of this Court’s October 20, 1978 decision con-

cerning the identical legal, factual and historical issues,

granted an independent action to set aside its prior de-

cision and held that title to the original alleyways in the

District of Columbia resided in the owners of the abutting

lots, not in the United States. Specifically the court

stated :

“Section 7-302 is merely a perpetuation of the erro-

neous presumption that title to the original alleys is

in the United States. Washington Medical Center V.

United States, 545 F.2d 116, 134-85 (Ct. Cl. 1976)

is an example of the same error. As Judge Penn

concluded: ‘although some past court opinions have

suggested that title to the alley was in the United

States, those opinions were rendered at a time when

the original documents were not before the court or

the court did not have an opportunity to consider

those documents.’ ” (App. 59a.)

Further, the Superior Court and the District Court

both rejected the Court of Claims’ interpretation of the

regulations issued by President George Washington relat-

ing to the original City of Washington. App. 42a-49a,

54a.

In view of the fact that the local and federal courts

within the District of Columbia have now decided the sub-

stantive question of fee simple title to original alleys, it is

petitioners’ contention that the Court of Claims should

have deferred to those substantive decisions and should at

the minimum have granted a trial to be held on the avail-

able evidence relating to the right of the District of

20

Columbia to impose a charge of fair market value to

petitioners to close abutting alleyways which are no longer

useful or necessary.

(b) The Court of Claims disregarded this Court’s de-

cision in Pratt v. Law, 13 U.S. (9 Cranch) 453, 490

(1815). In Pratt, this Court recognized that if original

alleys were not “comprised under the denomination of

streets,” they were appurtenances to the abutting lots.

The Court of Claims acknowledged that the alleys were

not streets but refused to accept the necessary alternative.

Pratt held that, in a sale between successors in title to

original purchasers and a subsequent purchaser of lots,

compensation could not be charged the subsequent pur-

chaser for the soil of the alley since the alley easement

had not merged with the fee. The critical point is that,

unless the soil of the alley was owned by the abutting

owner, the principle of merger could not have been an

issue since there would be nothing to merge. Pratt, thus,

implicitly held that the alleys were part of the residue

of the land, title to which vested in the original pro-

prietors or the various purchasers at public auction, and

not in the United States.”

(ec) The Court of Claims also flatly refused to apply the

decision of the Supreme Court of the District of Columbia

in Brooks v. Brooks, XXVIII Wash. L. Rptr. 335 (May 8,

1900)** and the decision of the United States Court of

14 Tt is clear from the historical record that the alleys were never

purchased by the United States as part of the second category of

land and the United States has never claimed to have purchased

the alleys. On the contrary, in Pratt, at 476, this court found that

“It was the universal practice for the Commissioners in selling lots

to charge each lot with its proportion of the alley laid out for the

benefit of the lots in the squares... .”

18 Attached to the Brooks decision is the Legal Opinion of Hugh

T. Taggart, Esq., Assistant United States Attorney for the District

of Columbia, dated April 30, 1888, concluding that title to the soil

of original alley is in the abutting property owner. Mr. Taggart

argued the Morris case in this Court.

ee ee ee eee

21

Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit in Fitzhugh

v. United States, 59 App. D.C. 285, 40 F.2d 797 (1930).

This refusal to apply local law violates the principles laid

down by the Court in Erie R. Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S.

64 (1938). United States v. Yazell, 382 U.S. 341, 352

(1966). It calls for the exercise of this Court’s super-

visory power over the federal courts. Stoner v. New

York Life Insurance Co., 311 U.S. 464 (1940).

VII.

The Issue Of Title To Original Alleys In The District Of

Columbia Is Of Major Importance Not Only To The

Present Litigants But To Future Litigants.

The question of title to the original alleys of the City

of Washington is of sufficient importance to merit review

by the Court. As the development of the District pro-

ceeds, the issue of ownership of the original alleys will

continue to arise. The court has previously decided mat-

ters involving the Federal City, such as the title questions

with regard to public streets, public appropriations,

riparian rights and lands beyond the bulkhead lines. See

Van Ness v. City of Washington, 29 U.S. (4 Peters)

323 (1930); Morris v. United States, 174 U.S. 196

(1898) ; Potomac Steamboat Co. v. Upper Potomac Steam-

boat Co., 109 U.S. 672 (1884). The issue of title to the

original alleys is the only remaining title issue yet to be

clearly determined by the Court under the original Deeds

of Trust establishing the City of Washington. A decision

by this Court is necessary to resolve existing conflicts

between decisions on this issue and to govern future alley

closings, necessary to orderly land development in the

down town areas of the District of Columbia. As stated

by the Court of Claims in its former decision:

“We have concluded that the crucial and controlling

question is the title issue, and that it should be de-

cided not only for the purpose of disposing of the

present cases, but also as a precedent for the solution

22

of other like claims we understand are pending, and

others that will no doubt arise in the future. A de-

cision of the title issue is vital, because if the U.S.

owned the street and alleys in fee simple at the time

of the closings, Congress had the power to authorize

the District of Columbia Council to charge for their

sale (closings, and vesting of title in Plaintiffs), be-

cause they were government property. On the other

hand, if the U.S. did not have title in fee simple to

the street and alleys at the time they were closed,

Congress would not have the power to authorize the Appendices

council to charge for their closing, as the government

cannot sell property it does not own. In the latter

case the charges would be unauthorized and the

Plaintiffs would be entitled to refunds of the money

paid if the Plaintiffs themselves had title to the

property.” App. 68a.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, the petition for writ of certi-

orari should be granted, or in the alternative the Court

should summarily reverse and remand the case to the

Court of Claims for full consideration of petitioners’ evi-

dence and trial on the issue of title to the soil of the alleys.

Respectfully submitted,

By

WHAYNE S. QUIN

1666 K Street, N.W.

Suite 600

Washington, D.C. 20006

Attorney for Petitioners

Of Counsel:

MAUREEN DWYER STEWART

WILKES & ARTIS,

CHARTERED

1666 K Street, N.W.

Suite 600

Washington, D.C. 20006

la

APPENDIX A

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF CLAIMS

No. 531-78

(Decided July 18, 1979)

1776 K STREET ASSOCIATES, THE METROPOLITAN CLUB OF

THE CITY OF WASHINGTON, D. F. ANTONELLI, JR.,

WASHINGTON MEDICAL CENTER, INC., et al.

Vv.

THE UNITED STATES

Whayne S. Quin, attorney of record for plaintiffs.

Michael B. McGovern, and Wilkes & Artis, of counsel.

Thomas L. McKevitt, with whom was Assistant Attor-

ney General James W. Moorman, for defendant. William

E.. Hill, of counsel.

Before FRIEDMAN, Chief Judge, NICHOLS and BENNETT,

Judges.

ON DEFENDANT’S MOTION TO DISMISS

PER CURIAM: This case is that somewhat rare crea-

ture in our jurisprudence, the “independent action” un-

der permission of Rule 152 (b) —

2a

* * * 'TJo relieve a party from a judgment, order,

or proceeding, or to set aside a judgment for fraud

upon the court. * * *

Such an action, when it can be brought, lifts the bar of

res judicata. Since ours is a court of limited jurisdic-

tion, often inhibited in doing what would seem useful by

the strict construction of the consent to be sued, we have

had to consider carefully what this rule implies or ex-

presses. See Carney v. United States, 199 Ct. Cl. 160,

462 F.2d 1142 (1972); Andrade v. United States, 202

Ct. Cl. 988, 485 F.2d 660 (1973), cert. denied, 419 US.

831 (1974).

This newly filed and numbered suit prays for relief

from a judgment of this court in Washington Medical

Center v. United States, 211 Ct. Cl. 145, 545 F.2d 116

(1976), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 902 (1977). The present

parties were all plaintiffs in the former cases, which

were consolidated. The object in those cases was to re-

cover moneys paid to the District of Columbia, as agent

for the United States, as fees to obtain closing of alleys

adjacent to plaintiffs’ properties. The holding was that

the moneys were properly collected, because the alleys

were “original” alleys which belonged in fee to the United

States. Plaintiffs do not accept this conclusion. In the

former cases they twice moved for rehearing, without

success, and now in this “independent action” they state

their objections for the third time. Defendant moves to

dismiss. We conclude that plaintiffs do not state a cause

that could prevail as an “independent action” under any

facts alleged in their petition, and, therefore, the petition

must be dismissed.

Plaintiffs move for oral argument, but we decide the

case without any, per Rule 146(b), as we think the rea-

sons asserted for lifting the bar of res judicata insuffi-

cient, without regard to the correctness of the former

decision.

3a

Plaintiffs have two non-frivolous reasons for coming

here again. One is that a series of new discoveries in

the National Archives shows, they say, that the original

conveyances by the original proprietors to trustees did

not convey any title in the alleys to the United States.

Some of this new evidence was disclosed with the two

former motions for rehearing, some has been found more

recently. The other reason is a change in the “legal

climate.”’ Recent successful litigation by one of these

plaintiffs, involving other alleys, in another court, and by

third parties, also in another court, have been made pos-

sible apparently, by placing the required payments for

alley closing in escrow, making the suits not against the

United States and not subject to the exclusive jurisdic-

tion of this court. Chesapeake & Potomac Tel. Co. v. Dis-

trict of Columbia, D.C. Superior Court, Penn, J., March

28, 1978, reported Washington Law Reporter, June 13,

1978; Carr v. District of Columbia, U.S. District Court,

District of Columbia, January 12, 1979, mem. op., Flan-

nery, J. Judge Penn was informed of this court’s de-

cision but attached little weight to it because he thought

it was based on less than the entire body of evidence.

Judge Flannery took the same view. He treated the

Penn decision as collateral estoppel, but not this court’s.

The correctness of our former decision has been reex-

amined already, and the Supreme Court has denied cer-

tiorari. That decision on its record, must be regarded

as unchallengeable. To review the new evidence, unless

the grounds for doing so are adequate, would perpetrate

the very evil the doctrine of res judicata guards against.

For purposes of the motion to dismiss, we must assume,

arguendo, therefore, that the new evidence possibly could

convince this court that title to the involved alleys was

not in the United States, and determine whether, if this

were so, the grounds for reopening would be otherwise

adequate. As stated in Andrade, supra, the petition in an

4a

“independent action” of the kind involved really addresses

the equity side of the court. Despite the well publicized

exclusion of equitable relief from the remedies available

here, a claim for money is not barred merely because it

rests on equitable grounds. Pauley Petroleum, Inc. V.

United States, 219 Ct. Cl. , 591 F.2d 1308 (1979).

The trouble with the petition here is that it is wanting in

equity.

In the previous decision, we reserved the question of

estoppel, preferring to decide on the legal issue of who

owned the alleys. We consider here whether assuming

arguendo the United States did not own them, is reten-

tion of fees for closing them unjust enrichment? We

conclude it is not. The plaintiffs, as is conceded, paid the

fees voluntarily without objection or protest. Their own

explanation for doing so is that if they had not, the

district government, with all its powers, could have de-

layed projects plaintiffs wanted to proceed with. Plain-

tiffs were on notice that at least there was a colorable

claim the United States did not own the alleys, from

decisions they themselves cite and rely on here. Fitzhugh

v. United States, 59 App. D.C. 285, 40 F.2d 797 (1930) ;

Brooks v. Brooks, XXVIII Wash. L. Rptr. 335 (Sup. Ct.

D.C. 1900). On the other hand, they had no reason to

charge that the claim of United States title was in bad

faith. The conclusion seems irresistible that plaintiffs

paid to secure whatever title the United States had or

to remove a cloud on the title, and to obtain ability to

close the alleys without litigation. In this regard, they

obtained their money’s worth. Plaintiffs say they paid

under a mistake. If so, it was a mistake of judgment

and not the kind of mistake for which equity will grant

relief.

Plaintiffs knew or should have known that moneys

paid to the United States without protest are not re-

coverable on the mere basis that such moneys were not

5a

legally due. United States v. Edmonston, 181 U.S. 500

(1901) ; Rough Diamond Co, v. United States, 173 Ct. Cl.

15, 26, 351 F.2d 636, 642 (1965), cert. denied, 383 U.S.

957 (1966). Rough Diamond distinguishes a case where

money was exacted in violation of a law written for

protection of the payor. Applied Devices Corp. v. United

States, 219 Ct. Cl. ——, 591 F.2d 635 (1979), illustrates

the principal applied in that exception. It is not ap-

plicable here. The recovery of money paid the United

States by alleged mistake requires a “clear and convinc-

ing” showing of the nature of the mistake. Pauley Pe-

troleum, Inc. v. United States, 219 Ct. Cl. at ——, 591

F.2d at 1320-21. In that case, as here, the mistake was

one of judgment. The question of recovery of money

paid by mistake there receives an exhaustive examination

which need not be repeated here.

In Amsden v. United States, 146 Ct. Cl. 809, 175 F

Supp. 147 (1959), plaintiff had been a party to a pay

case which was settled by stipulation. He acquiesced in

a pay computation reduced by a mistaken application

of the Economy Act. Later, learning of the error from

other litigation, he moved to reopen, but the court refused.

Defendant, opposing reopening, said plaintiff should file

another petition. He did so, and the suit was manifestly

an “independent action.” He was allowed to prevail. The

grounds were: that the scope of the Economy Act was

not really adverted to as the subject of the former litiga-

tion, and that the defendant had invited plaintiff to bring

another suit when the original one could have been re-

opened. This was a decision by Judge Madden, that

master of the equitable approach, and it may be noted

that Chief Judge Jones dissented on res judicata grounds

The equities relied on by Judge Madden are not present

here: the issue litigated in the former decision is really

the same as proposed here, and defendant to say the

least never invited plaintiffs to bring an “independent

6a

action.” There was an unjust enrichment of defendant

in Amsden not demonstrable here. There is no clear

showing of the nature of the mistake, as there was in

Amsden.

As regards the newly discovered evidence, plaintiffs

appear to have joined with defendant in the previous

ease in submitting it on summary judgment. They do

not appear to have protested that research in the Archives

was incomplete. The panel would not have rushed to

decide the case if warned as to what apparently was the

fact, that the search for evidence was still unfinished.

It would have allowed more time for research. A party

who submits a case on incomplete or inaccurate testimony

cannot, in this court, reopen with new evidence unless

he convinces the court that the defects in the previous

testimony were present without his fault or negligence.

Kaiser Aluminum & Chemical Corp. V. United States,

187 Ct. Cl. 443, 409 F.2d 288 (1969) (concurring opin-

ion). As the concurring opinion referred to had the ad-

herence of four of the seven judges who heard the case,

it is clear it must be regarded as an alternate ground.

The same counsel represented the plaintiffs in the original

Washington Medical Center case here, then in the Su-

perior Court, and then in filing of the present “inde-

pendent action.” He does not attempt to explain why he

did not educate our panel as to the insufficiency of the

evidence he now alleges.

Finally, we turn to the effect in equity of the existence

of decisions subsequent to the one to be reopened, in con-

flict, and allegedly based on better facts or law. Plain-

tiffs cite a number of cases, Of which Pierce V. Cook Co.,

518 F.2d 720 (10th Cir. 1975) is typical. They involve

common participants in an accident, the removal of some

but not all claims to the Federal courts by diversity, and

conflicts between the Federal courts and state disposi-

tions though the Federal courts should have conformed

7a

to state law by Erie R.R. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64

(1938). In such circumstances, a Federal court may

look with aversion on instances when its decisions may

end up in conflict with state ones and seek to effect cor-

rection by F.R. Civ. P. 60(b), the counterpart of our

Rule 152. Defendant says that in the absence of such

considerations, there is nothing in subsequent conflicting

decisions, per se, to oblige a court to reopen its own

previous decisions, once res judicata, even if the later

decisions convince the court its earlier decisions were

wrong. Pierce was heard en bane and four judges dis-

sented. The majority analysis affords persuasive evi-

dence that defendant’s statement is correct. Short of the

compelling circumstances before that court, the result

would have been different.

Plaintiffs do not allege that our former decision is

having an adverse collateral estoppel or res judicata effect

on other cases. The decisions they do cite would refute

such a claim if made. Independent of getting the fees

back, plaintiffs say they would like to expunge the hold-

ing we made respecting the United States having title

to the alleys but they fail to explain why the latter is

important to them. They have the alleys. The defendant

has the fees, but under circumstances where we fail to see

unjust enrichment.

; The petition therefore does not present allegations, that

if true, would warrant a breach of the res judicata bar.

The claim is res judicata. A reexamination of its origi-

nal grounds, or a reopening of the record to receive new

evidence is not now permissible under that doctrine.

United States v. Sioux Nation, 207 Ct. Cl. 234, 518 F.2d

1298, cert. denied, 428 U.S. 1016 (1975). The defend-

ant’s motion to dismiss is therefore sustained, and the

petition is dismissed.

8a

APPENDIX B

EXHIBIT B

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF CLAIMS

No. 531-78

Sep. 28, 1979

1776 K STREET ASSOCIATES, THE METROPOLITAN CLUB OF

THE CITY OF WASHINGTON, D. F. ANTONELLI, JR.,

WASHINGTON MEDICAL CENTER, INC., et al.

Wa

THE UNITED STATES

DENIAL OF PETITION FOR RECONSIDERATION,

REHEARING OR IN THE ALTERNATIVE,

FOR REHEARING EN BANC

Whayne S. Quinn, attorney of record for plaintiffs.

James A. Stenger and Wilkes & Artis, of counsel.

Thomas L. McKevitt, with whom was Assistant Attor-

ney General James W. Moorman, for defendant. William

E. Hill, of counsel.

Before FRIEDMAN, Chief Judge, NICHOLS and

BENNETT, Judges.

ORDER

Plaintiffs’ motion for reconsideration or rehearing is

hereby denied. To explain why they paid for something

they already owned, plaintiffs deny they knew their own

title was good. This is different from the ordinary pur-

9a

chaser’s claim of ignorance of a defect in a seller’s title.

That portion of the opinion which states that plaintiffs

had notice of a possible claim the United States did not

own the alleys, referring to existing case law, slip op.

at 3-4, is not to be read as construing the local record-

ing statutes of the District of Columbia nor as announc-

ing a blanket rule of law for the District regarding con-

structive notice to bona fide purchasers of land. Rather

this statement was to demonstrate that plaintiffs failed

to show that the equities supported the extraordinary and

rarely granted form of relief which they sought—the

lifting of the bar of res judicata. A reading of Fitzhugh

v. United States, 40 F.2d 797 (D.C. Cir. 1930), and

Brooks v. Brooks, XXVIII WasH. L. RptTR. 385 (Sup.

Ct. D.C. 1900) demonstrates that to say the least there

was a possible dispute. Plaintiffs either knowingly dis-

regarded these cases or failed properly to research the

title in deciding to pay the fees exacted. ‘Notice’ as

used by this court is not intended to be the type of

notice which recording statutes speak of but that notice

which a prudent person paying money to the government

would not disregard.

Plaintiffs failed to show that the equities were in

their favor, and, therefore, the extraordinary relief sought

by plaintiffs—a lifting of the bar of res judicata—was

denied.

A majority of the judges in active service * not having

voted for a rehearing en banc, plaintiffs’ motion for

that purpose is also denied.

BY THE COURT

/s/ Daniel M. Friedman

DANIEL “1. FRIEDMAN

Chief Judge

* Judges Kunzig and Smith not participating.

10a

APPENDIX C

SUPERIOR COURT OF THE

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

C.A. No. 2671-75

CHESAPEAKE AND POTOMAC TELEPHONE COMPANY,

Plaintiff

V.

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA, et al.,

Defendants

C.A. No. 86-74

THE SUPREME COUNCIL,

Plaintiff

om

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA, et al.,

Defendants

C.A. No. 3107-75

6th & E St., INc., SYLVAN C. HERMAN and

SAUL H. BERNSTEIN,

Plaintiffs

Vv.

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA, et al.,

Defendants

C.A. No. 2672-75

ULysses AUGER and LULU AUGER,

Plaintiffs

Vv.

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA, et al.,

Defendants

lla

C.A. No. 783-75

BICENTENNIAL ASSOCIATES,

* Plaintiffs

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA, et al.,

Defendants

C.A. No. 2670-75

WASHINGTON MEDICAL CENTER, INC.,

¥. Plaintiff

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA, et al.,

Defendants

OPINION AND ORDER

These cases came before the Court on the joint motions

for summary judgment filed by the plaintiffs and the

cross motions for summary judgment filed by the de-

fendants.

The plaintiffs are all owners of land in the District of

Columbia who filed applications with the District of

Columbia requesting the District to close portions of

public alleys abutting on their land in the City. The ap-

plications were granted by the District and the alleys

were closed either pursuant to the Street Readjustment

Act of the District of Columbia (D.C. Code 1973, §§ 7-

401 et seg.) or D. C. Code 1973, §§ 7-306 and 17-307.

There were no written objections filed to the applications

however, as a condition precedent to each closing, the

District of Columbia Council ordered each of the plain-

tiffs to pay into escrow funds representing the fair mar-

ket value of the alleys closed. Those funds have all been

paid into escrow.

NOTE: Minor typographical errors have been corrected by

Petitioners.

12a

The plaintiffs challenge the authority of the District

to make such a charge on the grounds that (1) the United

States did not have title to the underlying fees reverting

to the property owners upon closing of the alleys, (2) the

District of Columbia lacks statutory authority to make

such charges under Section 7-401 et seq. or Sections 7-306

and 7-307, (3) the land areas closed had only a nominal

value and (4) the charges in violation of the District of

Columbia Administrative Procedure Act and due process

of law.

The defendants oppose the plaintiffs’ motion and have

filed cross motions of their own. They argue that the

alleys, being original alleys, are owned by the United

States. The defendants have also argued that the plain-

tiffs have failed to join an indispensable party in these

proceedings, namely, the United States of America.

The Court heard final arguments in this case in Febru-

ary 1978 and on March 9, 1978, issued a Memorandum

Order holding that it would grant summary judgment

to the plaintiffs, and would thereafter file a formal writ-

ten opinion. ;

The underlying facts surrounding these cases are as

follows:

1. (a) Plaintiff Chesapeake and Potomac Telephone

Company, at the time and for purposes herein alleged,

was the owner of rights, title and interest in Lots 22,

825, 884 and 835 surrounding and abutting portions of a

public alley in Square 288 in the District of Columbia.

(b) Plaintiff The Supreme Council, at the time and for

the purpose herein alleged, was the owner of rights, title

and interest in Lots 800, 808, 28, 29, 40, 41, 42, 105, and

106 surrounding and abutting portions of a public alley

in Square 192 in the District of Columbia.

13a

(c) Plaintiffs Sylvan C. Herman and Saul H. Bern-

stein at the time and for the purposes herein alleged,

were the owners of rights, title and interest in Lots 18,

831, 833, 847, 848, 834, 21, 835 and 836 surrounding and

abutting portions of a public alley in Square 457 in the

District of Columbia.

(d) Plaintiffs Ulysses G. Auger and Lulu H. Auger,

at the time and for the purposes herein alleged, were the

owners of rights, title and interest in Lots 870, 871, 872,

873, 133, 184 and 135 in Square 70 surrounding and

abutting a portion of a public alley in Square 70 in the

District of Columbia and Lot 870 surrounding and abut-

ting a portion of a public alley in Square 51 in the Dis-

trict of Columbia.

(e) Plaintiff Bicentennial Associates, at the time and

for the purposes herein alleged, was the owner of rights,

title and interest in Lots 113 and 879 surrounding and

abutting a portion of a public alley in Square 100 in the

District of Columbia.

(f) Plaintiff Washington Medical Center, Inc., at the

time and for the purposes herein alleged, was the owner

of rights, title and interest in Lots 849, 848, 838, 837,

827, 825, 844, and 42 surrounding and abutting portions

of certain public alleys in Square 106 in the District of

Columbia.

2. The District of Columbia Council and its members

are the successors to the Board of Commissioners of the

District of Columbia. They are authorized to close alleys

in the District of Columbia pursuant to the provisions of

the Street Readjustment Act of the District of Columbia,

D.C. Code 1973, 7-401 et seg. and § 7-306 and 7-307.

8. The defendants District of Columbia and District

of Columbia Council, hereinafter referred to collectively

as “District of Columbia”, (by virtue of Reorganization

Plan No. 3, Section 402 (168), D.C. Code (1973)), at

14a

the time herein alleged, did maintain jurisdiction and

control of the portions of the public alleys in all of the

squares which were closed in the cases consolidated be-

fore this court. The public alleys which are the subject

of this action were original alleys of the City of Washing-

ton over which the District of Columbia maintained juris-

diction and control.

4. The alley areas involved in this litigation were por-

tions of alleyways of the original City of Washington which

have been generally referred to as “original alleys.” Such

original alleys were part of land conveyed to Trustees by

certain landowners (“original proprietors”) for the estab-

lishment of the seat of government for the United States

in accordance with terms of Deeds of Trust executed

around 1791 (hereinafter described only as Deeds of

Trust.) The authority for negotiating for the acquisi-

tion or acceptance of the land for the original City of

Washington was derived from Act of Congress adopted

July 16, 1790 (1 Stat. 180, Chapter 28; District of Colum-

bia Code, page XX XIII), as amended by Act of Congress

approved March 8, 1791, (1 Stat. 214, Chapter 17, Dis-

trict of Columbia Code, page XXXIV).

5. (a) Plaintiff Chesapeake and Potomac Telephone

Company, on December 9, 1971, filed with the Office of

the Surveyor, D.C., and application pursuant to Section 7-

408 proposing the closing of a part of the public alley abut-

ting Lots 22, 825, 834 and 835 in Square 288.

(b) Plaintiff Supreme Council, on February 25, 1969,

filed with the Office of the Surveyor, D.C., an applica-

tion pursuant to Section 7-408, proposing the closing of

a part of the public alley abutting Lots 800, 808, 40, 41,

42, 106 and 28 in Square 192.

(c) Plaintiffs Herman and Bernstein, on November 3,

1972, filed with the Office of the Surveyor, D.C., an appli-

cation pursuant to Section 7-408, proposing the closing of

15a

a part of the public alley abutting Lots 833, 847, 848,

834, 835, 836, and 38 in Square 457.

(d) Plaintiffs Ulysses and Lulu Auger, in September,

1972, filed with the Office of the Surveyor, D.C., an appli-

cation pursuant to Section 7-408, proposing the closing

of a part of a public alley in Square 70 abutting Lots

870, 871, 872, 873, 188, 184 and 1385 and also filed

an application in December, 1972, proposing the closing

of a part of a public alley in Square 51 abutting Lot 870.

(e) Plaintiff Bicentennial Associates, in January, 1971,

filed with the Office of the Surveyor, D.C., an application

pursuant to Section 7-408, proposing the closing of a

part of the public alley abutting Lots 113 and 879 in

Square 100.

(f) Plaintiff Washington Medical Center, Inc. filed in

the spring of 1971, an application with the Office of the

Surveyor, D.C., pursuant to Sections 7-306 and 7-307, pro-

posing the closing of part of the public alleys abutting

Lots 849, 848, 838, 837, 827, 825, 844, and 42 in Square

106.

6. All applications were duly processed through the Dis-

trict of Columbia departments including the Department

of Highways and Traffic, Department of Sanitary Engi-

neering and through the utility companies and agencies

concerned. Plaintiffs complied with all the statutory re-

quirements and met all conditions imposed by the re-

viewing agencies and received their favorable recom-

mendations. No objections were made to the closing by the

abutting or nearby property owners or by any department

or agency of the District of Columbia or the United

States Government or by anyone else.

7. (a) By Resolution of March 7, 1972, the District of

Columbia Council approved under Section 7-401 et seq.,

the closing of the alley area in Square 288, with the title

thereto in the plaintiff Chesapeake and Potomac Tele-

phone Company.

16a

(b) By Resolution of October 6, 1970, the District of

Columbia Council approved under Section 7-401 et seq.,

the closing of the alley area in Square 192 with title

thereto in the plaintiff The Supreme Council.

(c) By Resolution of December 18, 1973, the District

of Columbia Council approved under Section 7-401 et seq.,

the closing of the alley area in Square 457 with title

thereto in the plaintiffs Herman and Bernstein.

(d) By Resolution of January 23, 1973, the District

of Columbia Council approved under Section 7-401 et seq.,

the closing of the alley area in Square 70 with title there-

to in the plaintiffs Ulysses and Lulu Auger. By Resolution

of December 18, 1973, the District of Columbia Council

approved under Section 7-401 et seq., the closing of the

alley area in Square 51, with title thereto in the plain-

tiffs Ulysses and Lulu Auger. .

(e) By Resolution of October 19, 1971, the District

of Columbia Council approved under Section 7-401 et seq.,

the closing of the alley area in Square 100 with the title

thereto in the plaintiff Bicentennial Associates.

(f) By Resolution of February 5, 1974, the District of

Columbia Council approved under Section 7-306 and 7-307

the closing of the alley area in Square 106 with title

thereto in the plaintiff Washington Medical Center, Inc.

8. As an additional condition precedent to the closing,

the defendants District of Columbia and District of Colum-

bia Council, purporting to act under color of authority

contained in Sections 7-401 and 7-410, supra, and Sections

7-806 and 7-307, supra, required plaintiffs to pay the

following amounts purportedly representing fair market

value of the alley areas closed and the depreciated value

of improvements within the alley area to be closed as

indicated below. Except for the amount representing de-

preciated value of improvements paid by plaintiff The

17a

Supreme Council directly to the District of Columbia, all

moneys were placed in escrow.

Depreciated

Plaintiff Fair Market Value Value

(a) C & P Telephone Co. $ 47,850.00 $ 413.19

(b) The Supreme Council 11,133.56 5,820.00

(c) Herman and Bernstein 84,656.40 —

(d) Ulysses & Lulu Auger

a. Square 70 16,875.00 208.65

b. Square 51 7,098.00 =

(e) Bicentennial Associates 29,172.00 1,512.62

(f) Washington Medical Center 599,258.00 —

9. In each closing pursuant to written agreement be-

tween the plaintiffs and the District of Columbia the

funds representing charges for fair market value were

placed in escrow with various District of Columbia banks

and savings and loan institutions pending final judicial

determination of the authority or lack thereof of the

District of Columbia to make such charges against abut-

ting property owners. The charges representing depre-

ciated value of improvements were also placed in escrow

except those paid by plaintiff The Supreme Council

which were paid directly to the District of Columbia.

10. Pursuant to the terms of the Deeds of Trust the

alley areas were part of that category of land to be

divided equally with one-half the land to be assigned

back to the original proprietors by the Trustees and the

other half of the land to be assigned to the Commis-

sioners to be sold to purchasers for value upon such terms

and conditions as the President should deem proper.

11. Each of the alley areas involved in the instant

litigation was placed in trust as part of the land area

under the terms of the Deeds of Trust as described

in paragraph 10 and were either assigned by the Trustees

back to the original proprietors or were sold to pur-

chasers for value other than the United States of

America.

18a

12. The original division and disposition of the land

areas including the alley areas involved in this litiga-

tion is set forth as follows:

(a) The portion of the original alley closed in Square

288 (C & P Telephone Co.) abutted and was appurten-

ant to Lots 22, 825, 834 and 885. The original alley

abutted original Lots 18, 19, 21, 22. Under the initial

division of the square on January 30, 1797 these lots re-

mained in the ownership of David Barnes, the original

proprietor of the square.

(b) The portion of the original alley closed in Square

192 (The Supreme Council) abutted and was appur-

tenant to Lots 800, 808, 40, 41, 42, 106 and 28. The

original alley abutted original Lots 9, 13-15, 17-18, Square

192 which were assigned to the public “to be sold agreeably

to the deeds of trust concerning lands in the said City”

under the initial division of the square on November 6,

1798 from the lands of Sam Blodget and Robert Peter,

original proprietors. The criginal lots and the apportioned

alley area for each of said lots was in turn sold and con-

veyed by the Commissioners as indicated on the Disposal

of Public Lots documents. These lots were conveyed out

by the Commissioners on May 31, 1852, Liber JAS 41,

folio 229 (new), to Joshua Pearce “subject to terms and

conditions declared by the President . . . to have and to

hold the said ten lots of ground with their privileges and

appurtenances to him his heirs and assigns forever.”

(c) The portion of the original alley closed in Square

457 (Herman and Bernstein) abutted and was appurten-

ant to Lots 833, 847, 848, 834, 835, 886 and 38. The

original alley abutted original Lots 19, 20, 22, 23 and

24. Under the initial division of Square 457 on October

4, 1792, Lots 22 and 23 remanded with David Barnes,

the original proprietor of the square. Said properties

were in turn purchased by other purchasers for value.

Original Lots 19, 20 and 24 were assigned to the public

19a

“to be sold agreeably to the deeds of trust concerning

lands in the said City” from the land of David Barnes,

original proprietor, on October 4, 1792. The original lots

and the apportioned alley area for each of said lots was in

turn sold and conveyed by the Commissioners as indicated

in the Disposal of Public Lots documents.

More specifically, Lots 19 and 20 were advertised for

public sale at auction, August 30, 1802, and sold to

Alexander Kerr (Sen. Doc. No. 658, p. 37, places date

of sale on August 31, 1802). Superintendent Thomas Mon-

roe “doth grant, bargain, sell, alien, release and con-

form’ the lots unto Kerr, his heirs and assigns forever to

his and their proper use and behoof forever.”

Lot 24 was selected by Morris, Nicholson and Green-

leaf and sold by Superintendent Monroe to William Sim-

mons, June 29, 1803 (September 2, 1802 according to

Sen. Doc. No. 653, p. 37). Advertised for sale at pub-

lic auction August 30, 1802 and conveyed to Simmons with

same language as in deed for Lots 19 and 20, Square 457.

(d) The portion of the original alley closed in Square

70 (Auger) abutted and was appurtenant to Lots 870,

871, 872, 873, 133, 184 and 135. The original alley abut-

ted original Lots 6 and 7. Under the initial division of the

Square on October 1, 1796 Lot 6 remained in the owner-

ship of Morris and Nicholson as original proprietors.

Original Lot 7 was deeded Liber WB-120, folio 286 (new),

“William Noland, Commissioner of Public Buildings ‘doth

bargain and sell,’ August 1, 1845, to Thomas Corcoran

—all lots designated (including Lot 7)’. .. to have and

to hold said lots with their privileges and appurtenances

to him the said Thomas Corcoran his heirs and assigns

forever’.

The portion of the original! alley ciosed in Square 51

(Auger) abutted and was appurtenant to Lot 870. The

original alley abutted Lots 9, 10, 12 and 13. Under the

20a

initial division of the Square on July 27, 1796, these

Lots remained in the ownership of the original proprie-

tor, Robert Peter.

(e) The portion of the original alley closed in Square

100 (Bicentennial Associates) abutted and was appurten-

ant to Lots 118 and 879. The original alley abutted orig-

inal Lots 17, 18, 20, 21. Original Lots 17, 20, and 21 were

assigned to the public “to be sold agreeably to the Deeds

of Trust concerning the lands in the said City” from the

lands of the original proprietor, James M. Lingan, pur-

suant to a division made on October 5, 1792. Original

Lots 17, 20 and 21 and the apportioned alley area for

each of said lots was in turn sold and conveyed by the

Commissioners as indicated in the Disposal of Public Lots.

These lots and the apportioned alley area for each of

said lots were in turn sold to John Picherell in fee simple,

who purchased them from the Commissioner of Public

Buildings on January 11, 1830 “subject to the terms and

conditions declared by the Pres. of the U.S. for regulat-

ing the materials and manner of buildings and improve-

ments.” This deed was recorded in Liber WB-28, Folio

246 (new).

Original Lot 18, Square 100, under the initial division

of Square 100 on October 5, 1792, remained in the owner-

ship of the original proprietor, James M. Lingan.

(f) The portion of the original alley area closed in

Square 106 (Washington Medical Center, abutted and

was appurtenant to Lots 849, 848, 838, 837, 827, 825, 844

and 42. The original alley abutted original Lots 3-8, 13-

15, 17-22 and 28. On October 17, 1791, the square, whose

sole proprietor had been James M. Lingan, was initially

divided in the following way pertinent to this closing:

Lots Nos. 6, 7, 8, 18, 21 and 22 were to remain to

the said James M. Lingan.

2la

Lots Nos. 3, 4, 5, 14, 15, 17, 18, 19 and 20 were

assigned to the public “to be sold agreeably to the

Deeds of Trust concerning lands in the said City.”

More specifically, under the disposal of public lots Lot

3, Square 106, was purchased in fee simple (Liber G-7

(A), folio 10 (new) from the Commissioners of the City

of Washington by Absalom Joy, March 25, 1801 (Febru-

ary 25, 1801 according to Senate Doc. No. 653, p. 19)

“subject to terms and conditions declared by the Presi-

dent. . . .” Note: At the end of the certificate is the

following:

“Lot No. 3 in Square

106 contains 4168 sq. ft.

proportion of alley 488 sq. ft.

4656 sq. ft.”

Lots 4 and 5, Square 106, were purchased in fee simple

(Liber T-19, folio 252 (new) from Superintendent Thom-

as Monroe “subject to terms and conditions declared by

the President . . .” by William Morgan, Issac Briggs,

Gerald Brooke and Samuel Lukens as trustees and for the

use of the religious Society of Friends on March 24, 1808.

Lot 14, Square 106, sold to John Sioufsa on November

11, 1811 per Senate Doc. No. 653, p. 19 (believed to be

recorded in Liber A-B-27, folio 350 (old) (could not

locate liber).

Lot 18 purchased in fee simple (Liber A-Q-41, folio

153) June 22, 1815 (June 20, 1815 according to Sen. Doc.

No. 653, p. 19) by John Freeman “subject to terms and

conditions declared by the President ... .”

Lot 19, by virtue of “An Act of Congress granting cer-

tain city lots to the Corporation of the Columbian College

for the purposes therein mentioned” (Act of July 14,

1832, 22d Cong., 1st Sess.) assigned, in fee simple, to the

trustees of that college by Joseph Elgar, Commissioner of

Public Buildings, on February 1, 1833 (not recorded in

22a

Sen. Doc. No. 653) recorded by deed in Liber WB-50,

folio 20 (new).

Lot 20 purchased April 21, 1852 (April 28, 1852 in

Sen. Doc. No. 653, p. 19) from William Easby, Commis-

sioner of Public Buildings by William B. Todd “subject

to the terms and conditions declared by the President...”

Easby “doth bargain and sell” lot to Todd “to have and

to hold the said lot of ground with its privileges and

appurtenances to him [Todd] and his heirs and assigns

forever.” (Liber J.A.S.-39, folio 108 (new) ).

Lot 28 purchased from Superintendent Thomas Monroe

in fee simple (Liber AC-28, folio 252 (new) ) by Toppan

Webster on February 27, 1812 (December 4, 1811, ac-

cording to Sen. Doc. No. 653, p. 19) “subject to the

terms and conditions declared by the President . . . Ps

13. (a) On March 25, 1975 plaintiff C & P filed its

claim for refund in this Court.

(b) On January 5, 1974 plaintiff The Supreme Coun-

cil filed its claim for refund in this Court.

(c) On April 7, 1975 plaintiffs Herman and Bernstein

filed their claim for refund in this Court.

(d) On March 25, 1975 plaintiffs Ulysses and Lulu

Auger filed their claim for refund in this Court.

(e) On January 29, 1975 plaintiff Bicentennial Asso-

ciates filed its claim for refund in this Court.

(f) On March 25, 1975 plaintiff Washington Medical

Center, Inc. filed its claim for refund in this Court.

Il

It is important to note the historical background of the

alleys in the original City of Washington before addres-

sing the merits in these cases. Detailed descriptions

of the founding of the Nation’s Capital and the laying

out of the original squares, lots, streets and alleys are set

forth in a number of cases. The most significant being:

23a

Pratt v. Law, 18 U.S. (9 Cranch) 456 (1815) ; Van Ness

V. City of Washington, 29 U.S. (4 Pet.) 232 (1830) ;

Morris v. United States, 174 U.S. 196 (1898); Fitz-

hugh v. United States, 59 App. D.C. 285, 40 F.2d 797

(1930) ; United States v. Groen, 72 F. Supp. 713 (D. D.C.

1947); Brooks v. Brooks, XXVIII Wash. L. Rptr. 335

(D.C. Supp. 1900).

This Court will not set forth yet another statement

of that history, rather, it will set forth that history as

described in the excellent brief filed by these plaintiffs,

which is also quoted in part in Washington Medical Cen-

ter, Inc. v. United States, 545 F.2d 116, 122-123 (Ct.

Cl. 1976) in which that Court held that title in the orig-

inal alleys was in the United States. See 545 F.2d at

124.1 That history as set out in the plaintiffs’ brief is as

follows:

Under the Charter of June 20, 1632 from Charles I,

King of England, Cecilius Calvert, the first Lord Pro-

prietary of the Province of Maryland, was granted all

lands now embraced within the District of Columbia.

After the American Revolution, Maryland became a state

and succeeded to all rights of the Lord Proprietary, includ-

ing the absolute right to the soil for use by the people

of the new sovereignty.

The State of Maryland authorized cessation to the

United States of the territory which is now the District

of Columbia. (Act of December 23, 1788, Maryland Laws

1788, Chapter 46, D.C. Code p. XXX (1978)). By Act

of Congress, adopted July 16, 1790 (1 Stat. 180 Ch. 28;

D.C. Code p. XXXIII), as amended by Act of Congress

approved March 3, 1791 (1 Stat. 214, Ch. 17; D.C. Code

p. XXXIV), the cession was accepted and the Presi-

1 The plaintiffs in that case have filed a Petition for Certi i

ertiorar

with the United States Supreme Court and have recently cited the

favorable results in this case in support of their Petition for Re-

hearing of their Petition for Certiorari.

24a apes

dent of the United States was authorized to appoint three

commissioners whose duty was to “survey, and by proper

metes and bounds define and limit” such district or terri-

tory. The Act empowered the Commissioners “to purchase

or accept such quantity of land on the eastern side of

[the Potomac River] for the use of the United States,

and according to such plans as the President shall

approve.” Additionally, the Commissioners were required

to provide suitable buildings for the accommodation of

public offices prior to the first Monday in December, 1800,

at which time the seat of government would be trans-

ferred to the federal city.

On January 24, and March 30, 1791, the President by

proclamation located and defined the limits of the Dis-

trict of Columbia and appointed the Commissioners who,

with their successors, located and laid out the City of

Washington. (D.C. Code, p. XXXIV and XXXV (1973) ).

The general boundaries of the proposed City, now called

the “original” City, were the Eastern Branch, the Poto-

mac River, Rock Creek to a point near P Street, N.W.

then following what is now Florida Avenue to 15th and H

Streets, N.E., then south to C Street, N.E. then east to

20th Street and then south to the Eastern Branch. The

land within was devoted mostly to farm purposes owned

principally by 19 owners hereinafter sometimes referred

to as “original proprietors”.

While various maps and plans for the City were

being prepared under the direction of the President and

the Commissioners, negotiations were entered into be-

tween the Commissioners and the original proprietors

which resulted in agreements executed by the parties pro-

viding for the disposition of the land within the original

City pursuant to deeds of trust to be executed.

The Deeds of Trust (see form, Burch’s Digest 330-34

(1823) ) were executed around June 30, 1791 by the orig-

inal proprictors and provided for the disposition of the

25a

land within the limits of the City of Washington in

three different categories: (1) the fee title to streets was

vested in the United States. See Van Ness v. City of

Washington, supra; (2) the land appropriations or res-

ervations for the use of the United States were pur-

chased by the Commissioners with fee title vesting in the

United States at the rate of 25 pounds per acre; (3) the

entire residue of the land, after being laid out in squares,

parcels and lots was to be divided equally with one-half

the land conveyed to the original proprietors by the

trustees and the other one-half assigned to the Com-

missioners to be sold upon such terms and condition as

the President should deem proper with the proceeds from

said sales to be first applied towards the payments due

the original proprietors, with the remaining proceeds to

the President of the United States to be applied for

purposes under the Act of Congress (e.g., construction of

new governmental buildings) authorizing the acquisition

or acceptance.

On December 19, 1791 the State of Maryland ratified

the previous Act of Cession (Meryland Law 1791, Ch. 45;

D.C. Code p. XXX) noting that agreements had been

entered into between the Commissioners and the original

proprietors by the Deeds of Trust previously described

also included in the ratification a specific proviso stating

“That nothing herein contained shall be construed to vest

in the United States any right of property in the soil

as to affect the rights of individuals therein, otherwise

than the same shall or may be transferred by such indi-

viduals to the United States. .. .”

There is no mention in any of the agreements or in

the Deeds of Trust of title or ownership of the interior

alleys. However by regulation of the President dated

October 17, 1791, certain building regulations were prom-

ulgated and declared to be “the terms and conditions

under and upon which conveyances are to be made ac-

26a

cording to the Deeds of Trust of the lands within the

City.” A section of these regulations provided as follows:

The way into the square, being designed in a special

manner, for the common use and convenience of the

occupiers of the respective squares, the property in

the same is reserved to the public, so that there may

be an immediate interference on any abuse of the

use thereof by any individual to the nuisance or

obstruction of others. The proprietors of the lots

adjoining the entrance into the squares, in arching

over the entrance, and fixing gates in the manner the

commissioners shall approve, shall be entitled to di-

vide the space over the arching and build it up

with the range of that line of the square.

Acting pursuant to the Deeds of Trust, the Trustees,

after allocation for streets and public reservations under

the other two categories of land utilization, made the

division of the residue of the lands by assigning squares

and portions there of or lots to the original proprietors

and to the Commissioners for subsequent sale to the pub-

lic. Pursuant to Acts of the assembly of Maryland (De-

cember 19, 1791 and December 28, 1793, respectively) the

assignments made back to the former owners were

deemed completed and sales to the purchasers of the lots

by the Commissioners by certification were deemed to be

“sufficient and effectual to vest the legal estate in the

purchasers . . . without any deed or formal conveyances.”

Ill

The defendants first argue that this case should be

dismissed as the result of the failure of the plaintiff to

join an indispensable party, namely, the United States.

This argument is based on the fact that if the original

alleys were owned by the United States then any funds

collected from these plaintiffs will be paid into the Treas-

27a

ury of the United States. Conversely, should the Court

rule that the alleys are not the property of the United

States, then the moneys would be returned to the plain-

tiffs to the detriment of the United States.

It is important to note, that the moneys paid over

by the plaintiffs as set forth in Part I, par. 8, supra,

have not been paid into the United States Treasury.

Those funds are now being held in bank accounts, in

escrow, pursuant to an agreement by the parties. More-

over, these cases are suits for injunctive and declaratory

relief and challenge the authority of the District of Co-

lumbia and the District of Columbia City Council to

charge for the alleys as a condition for their being

closed by the District of Columbia.

The defendants made a similar argument in Carr V.

District of Columbia, 871 F. Supp. 293 (D. D.C. 1974)

which was affirmed without opinion, 172 U.S. App. D.C.

224, 521 F.2d 324 (1975). There the facts were essen-

tially the same as here and the court (Judge Flannery)

stated (371 F. Supp. at 296) :

In this action the United States is not an indis-

pensable party within the meaning of Fed. R. Civ. e

19(b). Plaintiffs here seek a declaratory judgment.

The sole issue raised is whether the District of Co-

lumbia has authority to charge plaintiffs the fair

market value for alley space closed pursuant to The

Street Readjustment Act of the District of Columbia,

supra. Congress has delegated to the District of

Columbia complete authority to close United States

alleys. See 9, infra. Therefore, a judgment ren-

dered in the United States’ absence would be entirely

adequate and would not prejudice United States’

interests. More importantly, since the funds at

stake in this action have not been deposited into

the United States Treasury, but instead have been

placed in an escrow account in The Riggs National

28a

Bank, judgment here for plaintiff: would neither

run against nor be satisfied from United States

funds. Rather, judgment would simply declare the

rights of the parties who represent all the necessary

interests in such escrow funds. In addition, no party

would be subject to the threat of double liability

which would be present had the District of Columbia

already received and paid the funds to the United

States.

The above reasoning has equal applicability in this case.

Furthermore, a few other factors should be mentioned.

Although the United States is not a formal party in this

case it has actively participated in and been fully rep-

resented at every hearing. An attorney for the United

States, and sometimes more than one, attended all pro

ceedings in this case. Even though the arguments and

briefs were written and filed in the names of these de-

fendants, counsel for the United States argued on given

points of law. This then is not the case where the

United States merely reviewed pleadings and observed

the proceedings in the courtroom; this is the case where

the United States was a very active participant, par-

ticipating in the writing of pleadings and briefs and at

oral argument. Indeed, on one occasion these defendants

asked for additional time to file a responsive pleading to

the plaintiffs’ motions for summary judgment for the

reason that “counsel for the defendant was advised by a

representative of the Department of Justice that a short

additional extension of time was needed in order for

them to prepare and make copies of the pleading re-

sponsive to plaintiffs’ motion”. (Emphasis this Court’s.)

There is no doubt that the argument presented to this

Court in these cases is the argument of the United States.

On one occasion, it was requested by the plaintiffs that

this Court visit the National Archives of the United

29a

States in order to view some of the original documents

which form the basis for this Court’s decision. This

Court agreed to do so and was accompanied by counsel

for plaintiffs, counsel for the defendants, and counsel for

the United States.

Counsel for the United States always sat at defend-

ants’ table during court hearings and did not hesitate

to address the Court on any point where he felt that

counsel for the defendants had not sufficiently articulated

the position of the United States.

Another factor which negates against the alleged in-

dispensability of the United States is the fact that even

though the statutes under which these alleys were closed

and the charges made had been in existence for many

years the defendants never made any charges until

1967. This fact is conceded by the defendants and the

United States. See also Carr v. District of Columbia, 371

F. Supp. at 296. It is also conceded by the defendants

and the United States that the United States did not in-

volve itself in any decision, past or present, to charge

or not to charge for the closing of the alleys, that it did

not involve itself in the decision to begin charging for

the alley closings in 1967, and that it does not involve

itself in the decisions as to the amount of the charge

for any alley closing or whether any charges should

be made at all. It is conceded that the United States

does not and has not participated in any manner in any

alley closing proceeding of this nature. There is no sug-

gestion that the United States has more recently changed

the nature of its participation in these alley closing pro-

ceedings. All these facts demonstrate that the United

States has no real interest in these proceedings; actually,

the position of the United States is not unlike that of an

incidental beneficiary.

All of the above facts weigh against any argument that

the United States is an indispensable party in these cases

30a

since it has always abided by the defendants’ decision

concerning whether charges should be made and the

amount of such charges. The defendants have always

made the final decision whether the United States was

to recover any funds whatsoever from the closing of a

particular alley and accordingly, this Court concludes

that the United States has no real interest in these pro-

ceedings, and is therefore not an indispensable party.

Turning to Super. Ct. Civ. R. 19 which governs the

joinder of persons needed for adjudication. This Court

notes that the United States is not prejudiced by the

failure to join in this proceeding since it has completely

delegated the authority to collect or not to collect to these

defendants. The relief granted here would not remove

moneys from the Treasury of the United States since

the funds are now in escrow. The issue raised here

concerns only the actions of the defendants and not of

the United States. Finally, these plaintiffs do not have

an adequate remedy if this case is dismissed since they

cannot file an action in the United States Court of Claims

in view of the fact that the moneys have not been paid

into the Treasury of the United States. Taking into con-

sideration all of the above four factors, see 3A Moores

Federal Practice, Civil 19.07-2 (1977), this Court con-

cludes that this case should not be dismissed for failure

to join the United States.

One final point deserves mention and that is, the

United States is fully aware of this litigation and has

actively participated in every phase of this litigation

and could have intervened as a party if it had desired

to do so. On the other hand, the plaintiffs may not have

been able to join the United States as a party defendant

in this case because of the doctrine of sovereign im-

munity.

After considering all of the above factors, this Court

concludes that the United States is not an indispensable

party and that these cases should not be dismissed.

sla

IV

Any discussion of the merits must begin with the docu-

ments found in the National Archives. This Court, to-

gether with counsel, visited the National Archives and

viewed many of the original documents which will be re-

ferred to in this Opinion. Plaintiffs thereafter pro-

vided copies of those documents for the benefit of the

Court, counsel and for the record. One volume of those

documents is attached to the affidavit of Antoinette J.

Lee and her deposition is also a part of the record. Those

documents will henceforth be referred to as the “Lee”

exhibits. Another set of documents is referred to in the

deposition of Elizabeth J. Miller, those documents have

also been copied and are a part of the record and will be

referred to as the “Miller” exhibits. Both Ms. Lee and

Ms. Miller are historians who have conducted consider-

able research in these cases by reviewing the originals of

documents now before the.Court. The “Lee” and “Miller”

exhibits have all been certified as true and authentic

copies of the originals by a representative of the Nationa!

Archives of the United States.

The record also contains the depositions of Harold T.

Pinkett and Dorothy Provine, the former being Chief of

the National Resources Branch of the National Archives

and Records Services, and the latter being an employee

of the National Archives and Records Services who works

primarily with various records relating to the District of

Columbia. The final deposition which is also a part of the

record is that of Ralph E. Ehrenberg who is Director of

the Cartographic Archives Division of the National Ar-

chives. His deposition was taken on October 18, 1977 and

completed on November 9, 1977.

The plaintiffs rely upon testimony set forth in the above

affidavits and depositions to support their argument that

the above documents are authentic records and the actual

32a

records releting to the subject alleys. Now, apparently

unlike their position in the case before the United States

Court of Claims, Washington Medical Center, Inc. V.

United States, 545 F.2d at 126, the United States has

conceded that the documents are authentic. Counsel so

advised this Court at oral argument that they do not

contest the authenticity of the documents.

This Court is satisfied in any event that the documents

are authentic documents and that their authenticity has

been established by the depositions and testimony already

mentioned. Time does not permit a detailed analysis of

the documents, however, a few words 0= just one set of

documents are in order. Some of the important papers

before this Court are taken from a document entitled

“Register of Squares”. Ms. Lee examined the testimony

of John Stewart who testified in the case of Morris V.

United States, supra, in the 19th Century. He referred

to a volume entitled the Register of Squares and to other

relevant documents and described them as authentic docu-

ments. (Lee Dep. 13) It was further determined that one

Nicholas King was appointed as a surveyor on September

21, 1796 to lay out certain streets of the city and to give

gradations. He mentioned his work several times in his

manuscript primarily from December 1797 to January

1798. It has been established that he was assisted in his

work by his brother Robert King. His papers contain a

letter from Robert King to James Rice of Baltimore

County (Maryland). In that letter Mr. King requested

Mr. Rice to prepare two blank volumes of a certain size,

entitled “Register of Squares” and also requested two or

three cakes of what he referred to as “Lake Extra” which

is a reddish ink. Robert King was associated with Nicho-

las King in the preparation of the Register of Squares

and it is noted those volumes are written in reddish ink.

(Lee Dep. 14-16.) Based upon these facts the witness

concluded that the Register of Squares examined by the

Court were the same as the Register of Squares prepared

33a

by the surveyor Nicholas King. This conclusion is also

supported by the testimony of Mr. Ehrenberg who has

co-authored some articles on Nicholas King and is famili-

ar with his style and handwriting (Ehrenberg Dep. 9-13).

These facts together with all of the other information

presented by the witnesses supports the finding that the

Register of Squares reviewed by the Court, copies of

which are in evidence in this case and relied upon by

this Court are authentic documents. The same can be

said for the other documents which are a part of the

record in this case—a fact now conceded by both de-

fendants and the United States.

V

. Without identifying each and every document which is

in evidence, some reference should be made to the more

important documents and their significance respecting

the merits of this case. It must be kept in mind that the

defendants contend that the original alleys were owned

by the United States and based on that contention they

now seek to charge for the alley closings. The plaintiffs,

on the other hand, argue that the United States never had

title in the alleys. The latter argument is borne out by

the documents filed in this case.

The original Deeds of Trust between the original pro-

prietors and the trustees were entered into beginning in

1791. One such Deed of Trust has been filed in this case,

however, it is dated 1793 (Lee Ex. C-1). The language

of the earlier and later. documents are conceded to be

similar. These documents are important because they set

forth the exact terms and conditions under which the

property was conveyed to the trustees. They establish

that the original proprietors conveyed to the trustees with

the understanding that one-half of the quantity conveyed

would be returned to the original proprietors but not

necessarily the same property. The remaining portion

EER Oe ae Soe aE

34a

was for the use of the United States and the public, the

latter to be sold by the Commissioners to members of the

public who wished to purchase land in the City of Wash-

ington. The Deeds of Trust also refer to the sale by the

United States as being “under such terms and conditions

as the President of the United States, for the time being,

shall direct”. More importantly, the Deeds of Trust pro-

vide that the “convenances to the purchasers shall be on

and subject to such terms and conditions as shall be

thought reasonable by the President, for the time being,

for regulating the terms and manner of the buildings and

improvements on the lots generally”. (Emphasis this

Court’s.) In the opinion of this Court, the last reference

is merely a direction that the President may establish

what would today be referred to as a building code. (See

Deed of Trust, Lee Ex. C-1.) That direction was carried

out by the President when he wrote the regulations dated

October 17, 1791. These regulations are also referred to

in Washington Medical Center, Ince. v. United States,

545 F.2d at 124, 125, and will be discussed at a later

point in this Opinion.

The Commissioners divided the squares equally by as-

signing one-half of the lots back to the original pro-

prietors and one-half of the lots for the use of the public.

(Lee Ex. D-1 thru D-25.)

The Register of Squares also sets forth the division be-

tween the original proprietors and the public. The volume

contains one page for each square and the top of each

page contains a drawing of the square showing its

breakdown into numbered lots and the subject alleys.

It is significant at this point that the bottom of the

page again sets forth the division of the lots—ap-

proximately one-half of the lots and one-half of the

square footage being assigned to the original pro-

prietors and the other half of the lots and square

ene tami Sse tent a Ene ee

35a

footage being set aside for sale to the public. (Lee Exs.

E-4 thru E-7.) The latter are the lots which were

thereafter sold to various purchasers and speculators.

It is again significant that each of the pages gives a de-

tailed breakdown not only of the square footage of the

lots but the square footage of the adjoining portion of the

alley. Such a breakdown showing a portion of the alley

in relation to the lots is inconsistent with the theory

that the alleys were owned by the United States. The

portion which was reserved for the public has the same

breakdown of square footage for lot and alley. The

Register of Squares goes on to list when the property

was sold and “to whom sold”.

The next documents of interest are referred to as

“Disposal of Public Lots” (Lee Ex. F-1 thru F-6). These

documents also contain a record of the sale of public lands

and have columns headed “Square”, “Lot”, “Square Feet

in Lots”, “Proportion of Alley”, “When Sold or Selected”,

“To Whom Sold’, “When Conveyed”, and “When Entry

of Transaction is Made”. The significance of this set of

documents is that they also contain a breakdown of the

square footage of the alleys. These documents are con-

sistent with and contain the same entries as those found

in the Register of Squares. The fact that it refers to the

sale of the lots and to the proportion of the alley certainly

suggests that the alleys were included in the sale, a fact

which if true in inconsistent with the argument that title

to the alleys was in the United States.

The following documents refer to various sales of

the lots to purchasers and speculators and shows the

amount paid for some of the lots. (Lee Ex. G thru R.)

Almost all of the documents dated prior to 1815 have

a breakdown of property sold into the area of lot and the

area of the proportion of the alley adjoining that lot.

The entries found in these documents are consistent with

those found in the Register of Squares and the Dis-

posal of Public Land record (Lee Ex. G-1 thru G-7).

36a

Some of the documents do not give a breakdown of the

area of the alley but the figure listed under the column

headed “Contents in Square Feet” include the total area

of lot and alley. One such example can be found in

Square 107, Lot 2. The Register of Squares sets out the

square footage of the lot as 2,685 and the alley as 1594,

the total of the two being 2,844% square feet. The lot was

sold to Morris and Nicholson (Lee Ex. 4.). The Disposal

of Public Land document gives the same breakdown (Lee

Ex. F-3) as does an account book (Lee Ex. G-3). The

same lot was involved in what is apparently yet another

transaction referred to in the same book showing the

square footage as 2,844 and the sales price of $66.00.

(nee Ex. G-8.) The 2,844 square foot figure is exactly

one-half square foot less than the total square footage

for the lot and alley. This record thus suggests that the

sale of the lot included not only the lot but a pro-

portion of the alley and again is inconsistent with the

claim that the alleys were the property of the United

States. ;

The page of the Division of Squares volume reveals

that each square was divided equally between original pro-

prietors and the public a further suggestion there was

no reservation of a fee in the alleys by the United States.

(Lee Ex. N-1 thru N-4.) It would seem that if the

United States had a fee in the alley that the square foot-

age of the alley would have been deducted from the

square footage of the total square but such was not the

case.

Without further elaboration on these points it is suf-

ficient to note that the treatment of the alleys in the

sales dating back to the original Deeds of Trust is con-

sistent with the argument that the alleys were sold to the

public and were not thereafter held in fee by the United

States.

ener: Renna cn mn nMeR nce a TT nn enn

87a

VI

Not only do the records just discussed reveal that the

record keepers were careful to list the area of the

proportion of the alleys as well as that of the lots, those

records contained at least a suggestion that the purchasers

a for “their” proportion of the alleys as well as for the

ots.

Direct evidence of payment for lot and alley can be

found in two documents in which there is a breakdown

of the square footage of the property and the price paid.

(Lee Ex. R-1.) The square involved in Square 76,

Lots 1-8, 8-12, 9-22 and 28-30. The total square footage

for the above lots was 59,129 and that of the proportion of

the alleys adjoining the lots, 5,900 for a total of 65,-

029 square feet. The record notes that the above land

was sold at $80 per “standard lot”, a standard lot being

5,265 square feet. The record further reveals that the

amount paid for the above land was $988. One can arrive

at the same figure by simply dividing the total land area

including the lot and proportion of alley which is 65,029

square feet by the standard lot of 5,265 square feet and

multiplying the resulting figure by $80.00. Simple arith-

metic reveals then that the purchaser paid for both lot

and alley. The same calculation can be performed for a

ingen: square and lots with the same result. (See Lee

x. R-2.

This point can be further illustrated by reference to

Journal Volume 3, page 328 (Miller Ex. Q) which con-

tains the entry that Absalom Joy purchased Lot 3 in

Square 106 for $0.08 per square foot and paid a total of

$372.48. The Journal Volume does not set forth the

square footage of the lot. However, this figure can be de-

termined by referring to the Register of Squares for the

same lot which lists the property as being sold but does

not indicate to whom it was sold. The lot area is listed as

38a

4,168 square feet and the proportion of the alley ad-

joining the lot is listed as 488 square feet for a total of

4,656 square feet for both lot and alley. (Miller Ex.

C-5.) That figure multiplied by the $0.08 per square foot

paid by Absalom Joy equals the $372.48 which was ac-

tually paid by Joy. Further proof that the very lot was

sold to Joy is found in the Disposal of Public Lots docu-

ment (Miller Ex. D-5) which lists the sale of the same

land to Joy on March 25, 1801.

Although the plaintiffs were unable to present docu-

ments which give a breakdown of the price per square

foot or for a standard lot paid for the other land involved

in these cases, since such information could not be lo

cated, the above still presents a further suggestion that

the Commissioners charged for both lots and a proportion

of the alleys when selling the public lots. It seems in-

conceivable that the Commissioners would have charged

for a proportion of the alleys if title to those alleys had

been retained or reserved by the United States.

Vil

As pointed out above, the Commissioners sold public

lots to the public and charged for both lots and alleys.

This is evidence that the Commissioners considered the

alleys as a part of the lots, as did the purchasers of

the property. This is made particularly clear in the

ease of Absalom Joy. Further evidence of the intent of

the Commissioners is found in their reply to a letter ad-

dressed to them by one John Nicholson dated September

6, 1796, while George Washington was still the President.

Mr. Nicholson had apparently questioned one or more of

the Commissioners concerning his right to close the alleys

in his square and thereafter wrote them in order to ob-

tain a written confirmation of their advice to him. His

letter and their reply are preserved in the National Ar-

chives. Mr. Nicholson wrote as follows (Lee Ex. V-1):

ELIE LE CE ES AI

ot ee rn

39a

“Gentlemen:

It will be a satisfaction to me to have you a line

expressive of the opinion you this date gave verbally

that the owner of whole square in the City of Wash-

ington may shut the alleys as laid out by you and

recorded—and otherwise lay out the same square at

their pleasure into lots.

I am the more desirous of this point as some of our

houses are already built on ground you laid out for

alleys—in square wholly our own—we having laid

out the same square differently.

Yours respectfully,

The Commissioners of

the City of Washington

Jno. Nicholson

Sep. 6th, 1796”

The reply from the Commissioners is set out in Entry

No. 494, pp. 188 and 189 of the Records of the Office of

Public Buildings and Grants dated September 7, 1796,

and states (Lee Ex. V-2):

7th Sept. 1796

494 Lin. Commissioner’s Office

The alleys within the Squares not having been

directed by the President, or conveyed by the original

proprietors for public use, but on the contrary, being 3

paid for by the purchasers of the Squares, we are of

the opinion, that where the whole Square belongs to

one person, or to several persons, who will all concur

in the measure, that those alleys may be shut up, or

otherwise, as appropriated as the proprietor or pro-

prietors judge most for their advantage—We are,

with respect,

G. Scott

W. Thornton

A. White

John Nicholson, Esq.

40a

The Commissioners noted that the purchasers paid for

the alleys and that when the square is owned by one

persons or by several persons who concur, the alleys may

be closed. Their conclusion is inconsistent with the theory

that title in the alleys was in the United States.

One further document touching upon the state of mind

of the Commissioners at or about this time is a set of

interrogatories addressed to the Clerk of the Commis-

sioners of the City of Washington in preparation of the

case of Pratt v. Law, supra, which was decided in 1815.

The relevant interrogatory which is No. 11 and the an-

swer thereto is as follows: (Lee Ex. U-1.)

11th Interrogatory—In the answer you have given

* * * to fifteen additional Interrogatory have you

not included in the statement of square feet given by

you; the proportion of square feet contained in pub-

lic alleys as calculated & applied to lots by the Com-

missioners.

Answer—Yea.

The answer by the Secretary to the Commissioners, City

of Washington is yet further evidence that the Commis-

sioners conveyed both lot and alley to purchasers.

vill

The defendants and the United States nave presented

no evidence which is contrary to those documents al-

ready discussed. While it is true that an earlier trial

court was of the opinion that there was a lack of evidence

to prove that the Register of Squares were contemporane-

ous and original books, a fact noted by the Supreme

Court in Morris v. United States, 174 U.S. at 277, that

defect has been overcome in this case. The testimony

of Mr. Ehrenberg of the National Archives is that

the documents were prepared by Nicholas King and his

yt, —

4la

brother Robert King. Nicholas King worked as a sur-

veyor for the City of Washington from 1796 to 1797 and

from 1803 to 1812. There is no statement as to his

duties during his first term but during his second term

his duties included surveying plots, certifying and re-

cording the subdivisions of squares and lots and fixing

the building lines. Since he held the same employment

between 1796 and 1797, we «sn assume that his duties

were the same. (Ehrenberg Dep. 115.)

Further proof that the documents are originals is that

they are referred to in the detailed “Inventory of Books

Plans Instruments belonging to the Public in the Sur-

veyors Office’ dated May 31, 1802 signed by Robert

King. (Miller Ex. W.) The other documents referred

to in this opinion are also described in that inventory.

When one compares all of the documents presented in

these cases and notes the relationship between those doc-

uments, as for example between the Register of Squares,

the Disposal of Public Lands, the Journal volumes and

the other materials, it must be concluded that the docu-

ments are entitled to great weight and are the original

documents. As noted in Part IV, supra it was Robert

King who ordered the preparation of those volumes titled

Register of Squares and the ink known as “Lake Extra”

which is a reddish ink. The volumes found in the Na-

tional Archives were entitled Register of Squares and

were written in a reddish ink. This Court is also satis-

fied that those volumes were written in the style and hand

of Nicholas King. The relationship between the various

documents has been briefly illustrated by the case of

Absalom Joy. (See Part VI, supra.) Although this Court

did not take the time to trace each and every document

in this opinion, it has reviewed those documents, traced

them and is fully satisfied that they are all interrelated.

This fact alone would establish the authenticity of those

documents as well as their reliability.

42a

Finally, as to the weight to be given to these records,

the defendants as noted above have presented no other

evidence on these points nor have they or the United

States really contested that the documents are the origi-

nal documents and, in fact, they have conceded that the

documents are authentic.

IX

The defendants and the United States argue that, not-

withstanding the above evidence, the determination as

to the ownership of the original alleys can be based en-

tirely on the Regulations signed by President Washington

on October 17, 1791. (Lee Exs. W-1 and W-2.) While it

is true that it is necessary to look to the documents

which purport to assign, convey, reserve or retain title,

the significance of the evidence just discussed is that

they reveal a pattern of disposal of the lands which was

accomplished contemporaneously with the time President

Washington issued his Regulations. That pattern was

to treat the alleys as being sold, and indeed, to charge for

them. It seems unlikely that such action would have been

taken, especially where some land owners raised specific

questions concerning the status of the alleys, see Part

VII, swpra, unless there was a clear understanding that

the alleys were not the property of the United States.

The Regulations issued by President Washington on

October 17, 1791, are as follows:

17 October 1791

The President pursuant to the Deeds in Trust pub-

lished the following Terms and Conditions of Im-

provements in the City of Washington.

Terms and Conditions, declared by the President

of the United States this seventeenth day of October

seventeen hundred and ninety-one, for regulating the

43a

materials and manner of Buildings and Improve-

ments on the Lots in the City of Washington.

lst That the outer and party walls of all houses

within the said City shall be built of Brick or Stone.

2nd_ That all buildings on the streets shall be paral-

lel thereto and may be advanced to the Line of the

Street, or withdrawn therefrom at the pleasure of

the Improver: But where any such building is about

to be erected, neither the foundation or party wall

shall be begun, without first applying to the person

or persons appointed by the Commissioners to super-

intend the buildings within the City, who will ascer-

tain the lines and the walls to correspond with these

regulations.

3rd The wall of no house to be higher than forty

feet to the roof in any part of the City, nor shall

any be lower than thirty five feet on any of the

Avenues.

4th That the person or persons appointed by the

Commissioners to superintend the buildings may en-

ter on the land of any person to set out the founda-

tions and regulate the walls to be built between party

and party as to the breadth and thickness thereof,

which foundation shall be laid equally upon the lands

of the persons between whom such party walls are

to be built and shall be of the breadth and thickness

determined by such person, proper. And the first

builder shall be reimbursed one moiety of the charge

of such party wall, or so much thereof as the next

builder shall any ways use or break into the said

wall. The charge or value thereof to be set by the

person or persons appointed by the Commissioners.

5th As temporary conveniences will be proper for

lodging workmen and securing materials for build-

44a

ing, it is to be understood that such may be erected

with the approbation of the Commissioners, but they

may be removed and discontinued by the special

order of the Commissioners.

6th The way into the squares being designed in a

special manner for the common use and convenience

of the occupiers of the respective squares, the prop-

erty in the same is reserved to the public, so that

there may be an immediate interference on any abuse

of the use thereof by any individual to the nuisance

or obstruction of others. The proprietors of the Lots

adjoining the entrance into the squares, on arching

over the Entrance and fixing gates in the manner

the Commissioners shall approve shall be entitled to

divide the space over the arching and build it up

with the range of that line of the square.

7th No vaults shall be permitted under the streets

the streets nor any encroachments on the foot way

above by stoops, porches, cellar doors, windows,

ditches or leaning walls, nor shall there be any pro-

jection over the streets, other than the eves of the

house without the consent of the Commissioners.

8th These regulations are the terms and conditions

under and upon which conveyances are to be made

according to the deeds in Trust of the Lands within

the City.

Geo Washington

Agreeably to the President’s order for the sale of

lots, the Commissioners published the following:

Terms of Sales of Lots in the City of Washington

this 17th day of October 1791.

All the lands purchased at this sale are to be sub-

ject to the terms and conditions declared by the

President pursuant to the Deed in Trust. The pur-

45a

chaser is immediately to pay one-fourth part of the

purchase.

The origin of the Regulations can be traced directly to

the Deeds of Trust. (See for example, Lee Ex. C-1.) That

document was briefly described in Part V, supra.

Under the Deeds of Trust, the original proprietors con-

veyed their lands to the trustees. The deeds provided

that the President could direct that the land be laid out

for the federal city into squares, parcels and lots as the

President might approve. The trustees would then convey

to the Commissioners who would convey one-half of the

quantity back to the original proprietors, after setting

aside one-half for the use of the public. It is recognized

in the document that the original proprietors might not

receive the same land back so there was a provision to

convey to them a like quantity of land or money in lieu

thereof. The land which was not specifically set aside

for use by the United States or not returned to the origi-

nal proprietors was known as the public lands and was

to be “sold at such time, or times, in such manner, and

on such terms and conditions as the President might di-

rect.” ?

The deed then provides that:

But the said conveyances to the purchasers shall be

on and subject to such terms, and conditions, as shall

be thought reasonable by the President, for the time

being, for regulating the materials and manner of

the buildings, and improvements on the lots generally,

in the said city, or in particular streets, or parts

thereof, for common convenience, safety, and order

* #

2 Actually, of the land deeded to the trustees, a portion was con-

veyed to the United States at the rate of 25 pounds per acre for the

use of the United States (President’s Square, Judiciary Square) and

the residue was divided equally, one-half to the original proprietors

and one-half for sale to the public.

46a

It is obvious that this section of the Deeds authorizes the

President to promulgate building regulations, keeping in

mind that the conveyances from the original proprietors

was for the establishment and erection of a new city.

The language of the Regulations is consistent with that

of the Deeds. First, it provided that the regulations were

being promulgated “pursuant to the Deeds in Trust” and

that the Regulations set the “Terms and Conditions of

Improvements in the City of Washington”. The language

in the next paragraph tracks the language of the Deeds

in providing that the “terms and conditions” are declared

“for regulating the materials and manner of buildings

and improvements on the lots in the City of Washington”.

Clearly the Regulations refer directly to that provision

of the Deeds authorizing the President to establish build-

ing codes or regulations.

The specific language of the regulations themselves are

also significant since the context is typical of building

codes. They provide that the outer and party walls shall

be constructed of brick or stone, that all buildings shall

be parallel to the streets but may be on the street or back

from the street provided however that before beginning

construction the builders must apply for a permit. The

regulations set the height limit of buildings and provides

for building inspectors. The above are all set out in the

first four regulations. The fifth regulation provides for

the temporary lodging of workmen and placement of ma-

terial on the lots on conditions that the material must be

removed by special order of the Commissioners. By this

it is assumed that the Commissioners and the President

sought to avoid any public nuisances.

The sixth regulation is the one on which these defend-

ants and the United States rely in their claim that the

United States held title to the alleys. All parties agree

that the term “way into the squares” refers to the alleys.

en

47a

The defendants argue that the phrase “the property in

the same is reserved to the public’ means that title is

reserved to the United States. That argument is con-

sistent with the holding in Washington Medical Center,

Ine. v. United States, supra. That holding by the Court

of Claims, although not binding on this court, is entitled

to great weight. However, that court did not have the

benefit of the documents and other evidence now before

this Court.

This Court interprets the Regulations as, not giving or

reserving to the United States a fee, but rather, only as

a building regulation providing for, at most, an easement

for the use and benefit of the lot owners. The interpreta-

tion is based upon several factors.

First, there is no indication in the Deeds of Trust that

there was to be a reservation of title to the alleys.

Second, it seems unlikely that such an imp tant reser-

vation of a fee would be buried within what is obviously

a simple building code. The regulation is one of eight reg-

ulations and is numbered six. It occupies no particular

place of prominence in the Regulations. It is preceded by

regulations which concern the establishment of a building

inspection procedure, the height of housing, the construc-

tion of party walls and foundations, and the lodging of

workers and the storage of building materials.

Third, the regulation does not refer to a fee interest or

title in the United States, yet it is based upon documents

(Deeds of Trust) which are carefully drawn and worded

and which spell out in detail the rights of the signatories.

Several times throughout the Deeds of Trust there is ref-

ence to the granting or the conveyance of fee simple

interests. Since the Regulations track the language of the

Deeds of Trust, it would seem that such an important

paragraph in the Regulations would have carefully spelled

out the rights of the property owners by adopting the

48a

language of the Deeds of Trust. The defendants argue

that it is significant that the Regulations refer to “prop-

erty” which they seek to interpret as synonymous with

title or ownership, however, after reviewing the Deeds

and the Regulations this Court concludes that the failure

of the Regulations to refer directly to a fee or ownership

or title was deliberate; simply said, there was no intent

to reserve ownership in the alleys.

Fourth, the defendants have made no showing that the

United States ever had a fee interest in the square or the

alleys upon which they could reserve title. The original

proprietors conveyed their interest to the trustees, in trust,

to have and to hold pending the directions by the Presi-

dent. The land was laid out in squares, lots and parcels.

The President then requested the trustees to convey the

streets and specific squares for the use of the United

States. (Lee Ex. E-1 and E-2.) There is no evidence

that the United States ever paid for the alleys. The

squares conveyed for the use of the United States are

briefly described in “A statement of the quantity of land

appropriated to the use of the United States in the City

of Washington”. (Lee Ex. E-3.) Neither of the above

documents refers to the alleys and there is no showing that

any other land was conveyed to the United States at that

time. The land which was conveyed to the United States

and which is referred to above included such property as

the Judiciary Square, the President’s Square, the Capital

Square, the Center Market, the National Church Square,

and so forth. The remainder of the land was still held

in trust by the trustees who conveyed it to the Commis-

sioners who then returned a one-half quantity to the orig-

inal proprietors, pursuant to the Deeds of Trust, and set

aside the remainder for sale to the public. It is these two

final categories which are of concern here and as can be

seen, there was never a conveyance of title in those lands

to the United States. The conveyance was to the trustees

and thereafter to the Commissioners before the land was

Dail cdi a a a

49a

sold at public auction. Since the United States never held

title to that land, the President could not have reserved

title in the alleys. This is consistent with this Court’s

interpretation of the Regulations, that the Regulations are

a building code which set out an easement for the common

benefit of the land owners adjoining the alleys.

Fifth, the Regulations were promulgated pursuant to

that section of the Deed of Trust authorizing the Presi-

dent to establish “terms and conditions for regulating the

materials and manner of buildings and improvements on

the lots in the City of Washington”. The President, in

his Regulations, uses the same language and states within

the Regulations that they are to establish the manner of

b*']ings and improvements in the new city. He then

goes on to do just that in his Regulations. That is the

specific language of the Deeds of Trust and that specific

language is carried over to the building regulations.

Based upon the above interpretations, this Court con-

cludes that title to the contested alleys was never in the

United States and that the United States is therefore not

entitled either directly or through the District of Colum-

bia to charge a fee based upon depreciated value or the

fair market value of the lands consisting of the alleys. In

view of the above, the plaintiffs are now entitled to receive

back those funds which have been paid into escrow.

X

Although some past court opinions have suggested that

title to the alley was in the United States, those opinions

were rendered at a time when the issue had not been

raised and all parties had assumed that title was in the

United States or at a time when the original documents

were not before the court or the court did not have an op-

portunity to consider those documents.

50a

Here, there are no genuine issues of material fact and

both sides have moved for summary judgment. It has

been conceded by the defendants and the United States

that the documents forming the basis of this Court’s opin-

ion are authentic and original documents, and this Court

is satisfied based upon its own observation of the docu-

ments and the testimony submitted in these proceedings

that the documents are indeed authentic and original and

were made contemporaneously with the transactions they

reflect. After considering the history of the Federal City,

the history of the squares, lots and creation of the alleys,

the Deeds of Trust and the Regulations together with the

actual practice of the Commissioners in selling lots to

members of the public, this Court concludes that title to

the alleys was not in the United States.

To summarize, this decision is based upon the fact that

the United States never had title, that the Deeds of Trust

did not provide for the United States having or retaining

title, that the Regulations signed by President Washing-

ton on October 17, 1791 were made pursuant to the Deeds

of Trust and were no more than building regulations

setting forth an easement for the benefit of lot owners,

that in preparing the Register of Squares and other docu-

ments pertaining to the squares and lots, the proportion

of the alleys was always treated as a part of the lot, that

in fact the Commissioners actually put up for sale and

sold to the public not only the lots but the respective

proportion of alleys and that the statements of the Com-

missioners, made contemporaneously with these events,

reveal that the Commissioners intended to sell, not only

the lots but the proportion of the alleys as well.

It should be noted briefly that the United States has

not always taken the position that title to the alleys was

in the United States, indeed, in a brief filed in prepara-

tion of the case of Fitzhugh V. United States, supra,

there is a suggestion by the Government that title to the

alleys was not in the United States.

- See ee

5la

In view of all of the above factors this Court enters

summary judgment for the plaintiffs.

ORDER

It is hereby

ORDERED that the defendants’ motion for summary

judgment and to dismiss is denied, and it is further

; ORDERED that the plaintiffs’ motion for summary

judgment is granted, and it is further

ORDERED that the plaintiffs shall submit a proposed

order consistent with this Opinion and Order, said pro-

posed order to be submitted within fifteen d

date of this order. n days of the

Dated: March 28, 1978

/s/ John Garrett Penn

JOHN GARRETT PENN

Judge

COPIES TO:

Whayne S. Quin, Esq.

Glenn D. Simpson, Esq.

Attorneys for Plaintiffs

George T. Masson, Jr., Esq.

Attorney for Defendants

52a

APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Civil Action No. 77-445

OLIVER T. CARR, JR., ET AL.,

Plaintiffs,

V.

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA, ET AL.,

Defendants.

MEMORANDUM

This matter comes before the court on the plaintiffs’

motion for summary judgment and the opposition thereto.

The United States has filed a motion for leave to inter-

vene as a party defendant, and a summary judgment

motion. The dispute stems from litigation concerning

the closing of “original alleys” within the District of

Columbia and efforts by the defendants to force the plain-

tiffs to pay the fair market value of the alleys closed.

Procedural Background

In a previous action this court held that the District

of Columbia has the authority to charge plaintiffs, who

own the property abutting the closed alley involved in this

case,! the fair market value of the space which reverted

to plaintiffs’ possession, where the alley was owned by the

1 The alley in question ran parallel to M Street, N.W., in ee

140. It consisted of approximately 3,270 square feet and a os

Lots 875, 883, 24, 839, 882, and 84. It was closed on June 6, :

by resolution of the D.C. Council, contingent on the ented

$196,200.00 to the D.C. Treasury. When the present plaintiffs ow

puted the power of the D.C. Government to compel payment, the

money was deposited in escrow in the Riggs Bank.

53a

United States. Carr v. District of Columbia, 371 F. Supp. .

293 (D.D.C. 1974); aff'd without opinion, 521 F.2d 324

(D.C. Cir. 1975), modified, 543 F.2d 917 (D.C. Cir. 1976).

That decision, however, was predicated on a stipulation

that the alley in question was in fact owned by the United

States. On appeal from the decision of this court, the

plaintiff raised for the first time the factual questior

whether the United States actually held title to the origi- -

nal alleys. The Court of Appeals refused to consider this

question because of the lack of an underlying record.

Carr v. District of Columbia, 543 F.2d 917 924 (D.C. Cir.

1976). The Court of Appeals then noted that the one-year

time limitation for a motion for relief from judgment pur-

suant to Rule 60(b), Federal Rules of Civil Procedure,

had passed, barring that remedy. The court noted, how-

ever, that Rule 60(b) “does not limit the power of a court

to entertain an independent action to relieve a party from

a judgment, order, or proceeding... .” Id. at 926, quot-

ing F.R.C.P. 56. In modifying its previous affirmance,

the court explicitly left open the possibility of an inde-

pendent action by plaintiffs on the question of ownership

of the alleys. 548 F.2d at 929.

The plaintiffs promptly filed a complaint for declara-.

tory judgment on the issue of ownership. The defendants

responded with an answer and a motion for summary

judgment. On December 22, 1977, this court held that

this action is an independent action for relief from judg-

ment, and therefore it must meet the substantive require-

ments of Rule 60(b). After consideration of the argu-.

ments of the parties and the unique circumstances of this

case,? the court ruled that (1) there was an excusable

2It appeared to the court that the newly-discovered records were

not in a “normal” location because they were in the national

Archives, rather than in the District of Columbia’s land records.

Moreover, plaintiffs had diligently searched all available D.C.

records, and had relied upon the representations of the District’s’

Surveyor and the Corporation Counsel’s Office that the United States

did indeed own the alleys.

54a

mistake of fact in the original action, and (2) there was

newly-discovered evidence that was not available in the

first action and the unavailability was not due to a lack

of diligence on plaintiffs’ part. The court, therefore, de-

nied the defendants’ motion for summary judgment. At

the same time, however, the court stayed all proceedings

in this action pending a decision in a similar case by

Judge Penn in the Superior Court of the District of

Columbia.

On March 28, 1978, Judge Penn issued an opinion in

favor of the plaintiffs in six related cases dealing with

the precise issue involved in this case. In summarizing his

decision that the United States of America did not own

fee simple title to the “original alleys” within the District

of Columbia, Judge Penn stated:

To summarize, this decision is based upon the fact

that the United States never had title, that the deeds

of trust did not provide for the United States having

or regaining title, that the Regulations signed by

President Washington on September 17, 1791 were

made pursuant to the Deeds of Trust and were no

more than building regulations setting forth an ease-

ment for the benefit of lot owners, that in preparing

the Register of Squares and other documents pertain-

ing to the lots and squares, the proportion of the

alleys was always treated as a part of the lot, that

in fact the Commissioners actually put up for sale

and sold to the public not only the lots but the re-

spective proportion of alleys and that the statements

of the Commissioners, made contemporaneously with

these events, reveal that the Commissioners intended

to sell, not only the lots but the proportion of the

alleys as well.

Chesapeake and Potomac Telephone Co. v. District of

Columbia, CA No. 2671-75 (March 28, 1978), at 47-48.

55a

This court then reopened proceedings in this case and

directed the parties to prepare motions for summary

judgment on the collateral estoppel effects of the Superior

Court judgment. A hearing was to be held on June 16,

1978; however, the United States requested that the

matter be held in abeyance while the United States pre-

pared a motion to intervene * and a motion for summary

judgment. In due course these papers were filed, and the

matter is appropriately before the court for summary

judgment. The court will enter judgment for the

plaintiffs.

Discussion

A. Remaining 60(b) issues.

Some ambiguity appears to exist concerning the appro-

priateness of this action under Rule 60(b). In the Opin-

ion of December 22, 1977, denying the defendants’ motion

for summary judgment, the court stated that it “will hear

plaintiffs’ new evidence to determine whether 60(b) relief

is warranted because (1) there was excusable mistake

of fact in the original action and (2) there is newly-

discovered evidence that was not available in the first

action and the unavailability was not due to a lack of dili-

gence on plaintiffs’ part.” Although this finding seems

clear enough, the ianguage that the court “will hear” the

evidence has given rise to a dispute over the continuing

existence of a 60(b) issue.

The court holds that this action is appropriate. It is

clear from the record that relief is warranted because of

an excusable mistake of fact and newly-discovered evi-

dence. As the court noted in its earlier opinion, this case

involves unique circumstances. Plaintiffs diligently

searched the available District of Columbia records and

justifiably relied on the assertions of the defendants’ rep-

3 This motion was unopposed and will be granted.

56a

resentatives. It was only through extensive and prolonged

historical research that the relevant ancient documents

were located in the National Archives.

B. Effect of Judge Penn’s Decision.

The plaintiffs believe that the Superior Court decision

should be given collateral estoppel effect because the Dis-

trict of Columbia was the primary defendant in both

cases, the legal and factual issues are the same, and the

defendants have had ample opportunity to litigate all

aspects of the case. Judge Bryant of this court recently

set forth the elements of collateral estoppel:

(1) the facts sought to be foreclosed from reliti-

gation must be the same as those involved in the

prior action;

(2) those facts must have been fully litigated, af-

fording the party against whom they are now offered

a full and fair opportuntiy to contest the facts;

(3) the facts subject to the estoppel must have been

judicially determined and must have been material to

and in support of the holding.

(4) Finally, the party against whom the estoppel is

offered must be the same party or in privity with

the party against whom the original determination

was rendered.

Inmates, D.C. Jail v. Jackson, 415 F. Supp. 119, 120

(D.D.C. 1976). The first three requirements are unques-

tionably met. Regarding the final requirement, strict mu-

tuality of parties should not be required in order to have

Judge Penn’s decision bind the parties in this case. The

older view of collateral estoppel, requiring mutuality of all

parties in an action, has been giving way to an approach

that allows application of the doctrine if the party against

whom the estoppel is asserted has had a full and fair

|

|

|

57a

opportunity to litigate the facts. See Blonder-Tongue

Laboratories, Inc. v. University of Illinois Foundation,

402 U.S. $18, 320-37 (1971) ; Inmates, D.C. Jail v. Jack-

son, 416 F. Supp. at 120; Ballard & Associates, Inc. V.

Mangum, 368 A.2d 548, 550 (D.C. App. 1977). The

District of Columbia vigorously defended its interests in

the previous case before Judge Penn, and did not submit

itself to an adverse judgment because of the insignificance

of the claim. See 1B J. Moore, Moore’s Federal Practice

7 0.412, at 1805-12 (1974 & Supp. 1978). Therefore, the

plaintiffs in this action may apply the collateral estoppel

doctrine against the defendants even though the plaintiffs

here were not parties to the litigation in Superior Court.

The plaintiffs may also benefit from the application of

the collateral estoppel doctrine against the United States,

for two reasons. First, and most importantly, the United

States participated extensively in the proceedings before

Judge Penn. It is sufficient to quote from Judge Penn’s

opinion:

Although the United States is not a formal party in

this case it has actively participated in and been

fully represented at every hearing. An attorney for

the United States, and sometimes more than one,

attended all proceedings in this case. Even though

the arguments and briefs were written and filed in

the names of the defendants, counsel for the United

States argued on given points of law. This then is

not the case where the United States merely reviewed

pleadings and observed the proceedings in the court-

room; this is the case where the United States was a

very active participant, participating in the writing

of pleadings and briefs and at oral argument. In-

deed, on one occasion these defendants asked for addi-

tional time to file a responsive pleading to the plain-

tiffs’ motions for summary judgment for the reason

that “counsel for the defendant was advised by a

58a

representative of the Department of Justice that a

short additional extension of time was needed in

order for them to prepare and make copies of the

pleading responsive to plaintiffs’ motion.” (Emphasis

in opinion) There is no doubt that the argument

presented to this Court in these cases is the argument

of the United States.

Chesapeake and Potomac Telephone Co. v. District of

Columbia, CA No. 2671-75, at 21-22 (March 28, 1978).

The second factor in favor of applying the collateral

estoppel doctrine against the United States is that the

government, in its motion for summary judgment, has

not raised a single fact that would indicate that, on the

merits, it is indeed the owner of the original alleys of

the District of Columbia. This is the case even though

the United States participated in the Superior Court liti-

gation, and even though this court gave the United States

substantial time to review the records in the Archives.

C. Other Claims in Defense.

The defendants nonetheless make a number of argu-

ments why the bar of collateral estoppel should not be

applied to them. First, the District argues that “in

judicial review of administrative proceedings the Court

cannot or will not consider legal contentions not made

before the Commissioners, or, as in this case, in the com-

plaint seeking judicial review” (emphasis added). The

question of ownership of the alleys, however, is a question

of fact, and it properly was considered and resolved by

Judge Penn. Second, the District contends that D.C. Code

§ 7-302 (1973) requires payment for the closing of “origi-

nal alleys” without any reference to title in the United

States, and that the Commissioner could have closed under

that statute.* Section 7-302 states, in pertinent part, that:

4 The alley involved in this case was closed pursuant to D.C. Code

§ 7-401 (1973).

ee

59a

If the alley to be closed is an original alley, [they]

may sell the land contained therein for cash at a

price not less than the assessed value of contiguous

lots. If the alley is not an original alley, the title

thereto shall revert to the owners of the land abut-

ting thereon....

In essence, the District argues that pursuant to this

provision the Mayor and the Council of the District of

Columbia are vested with the authority to sell land that is

privately owned and not the property of the District of

Columbia or the United States. It is difficult to imagine

how such a result could be justified on a proper inter-

pretation of the statute. Section 7-302 is merely a perpe-

tuation of the erroneous presumption that title to the

original alleys is in the United States. Washington Medi-

cal Center v. United States, 545 F.2d 116, 134-35 (Ct.Cl.

1976) is an example of the same error. As Judge Penn

concluded :

Although some past court opinions have suggested

that title to the alley was in the United States, those

opinions were rendered at a time when the original

documents were not before the court or the court did

not have an opportunity to consider those documents.

Chesapeake & Potomac Telephone Co., supra, at 46-47.

Finally, the United States, in an eleventh-hour attempt

to avoid the clear import of Judge Penn’s decision, raises

the claim that this case is in reality a quiet title action

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2409a (1976), which must be

brought only in a U.S. District Court, see 28 U.S.C.

§ 1346(f), within twelve years of the date of the accrual

of a cause of action. See 28 U.S.C. § 2049a(f). These

provisions might be controlling if this were indeed a quiet

title action; however, the court cannot conclude that it is

an action to quiet title. This litigation began with a 1973

challenge to the authority of the District of Columbia to

60a

charge fair market value for the alley space closed. After

the Court of Appeals upheld this court’s determination

that the District did have such power, the factual question

arose as to ownership by the United States. This action

was filed, against the District of Columbia, in April of

1977, to resolve the factual question remaining from the

prior litigation. In September, 1978, the United States

filed a motion for intervention as a party defendant, and

having intervened, asserted that this action should have

been brought from the outset as an action to quiet title,

merely because a factual question of ownership is in-

volved. The court cannot agree.

The plaintiffs presently have title to the land. Their

title has been recorded, and a rather substantial building

constructed. They are not asserting that the United States

presently threatened their title to the land. The question

of whether the United States once owned the land is

merely incidental to the question of the District of Colum-

bia’s ability to collect the fair market value of the alley

closed.

Summary judgment will be entered for the plaintiff.

An appropriate Judgment follows.

/s/ Thomas A. Flannery

United States District Judge

6la

APPENDIX E

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF CLAIMS

(Decided October 20, 1976)

No. 359-72

WASHINGTON MEDICAL CENTER, INC., ET AL.,

V.

THE UNITED STATES

No. 333-73

1776 K STREET ASSOCIATES

Vv.

THE UNITED STATES

No. 156-75

METROPOLITAN CLUB OF THE CITY OF WASHINGTON

V.

THE UNITED STATES

No. 246-75

D. F. ANTONELLI, JR.

v.

THE UNITED STATES

No. 247-75

JACK KoGoK

V.

THE UNITED STATES

62a

Lawrence A. Miller, attorney of record for plaintiff in

No. 333-73.

Whayne S. Quin, attorney of record for plaintiffs in

cases numbered 359-72, 156-75, 246-75 and 247-75. Wilkes

& Artis and Gienn D. Simpson, of counsel.

Thomas L. McKevitt, with whom was Assistant At-

torney General Peter R. Taft.

Before COWEN, Chief Judge, DURFEE, Senior Judge,

and SKELTON, Judge.

ON DEFENDANT’S MOTION AND CROSS-MOTIONS

FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT AND PLAINTIFFS’

JOINT MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT

SKELTON, Judge, delivered the opinion of the court:

In these five consolidated cases four of the plaintiffs

sue the United States to recover money paid by them to

the United States for the closing of certain portions of

various original alleys in the city of Washington, D.C.,

and the remaining plaintiff sues the Government to re-

cover the amount paid by him to the United States for

the closing of a portion of an original street in said city,

namely, G Street, N.W.' The defendant contends that

the charges made for the closing of the portions of the

alleys and G Street were proper and in accordance with

laws enacted by the Congress, and that the plaintiffs

should be denied any recovery. The case is before us on

cross-motions for summary judgment.

After carefully considering the pleadings, evidence,

briefs, and the argument of counsel, we conclude that

1“Original alleys” and “original streets” are those alleys and

streets that were laid out and provided for in the original Federal

City of Washington in the District of Columbia.

63a

the plaintiffs are not entitled to recover and we hold

for the defendant.

The facts involved in these cases are generally as

follows. The plaintiff, Washington Medical Center, Inc.,

joined by William J. Cusack and Frances S. Cusack and

Mary C. Morgan, 1776 K Street Associates, the Metro-

politan Club of the City of Washington, and D. F. An-

tonelli, Jr., were the owners of various lots abutting cer-

tain portions of original alleys in the original squares

listed below.2. None of these plaintiffs owned all of the

lots in an entire square. The plaintiff Jack Kogok owned

certain lots abutting on a portion of G Street, N.W. All

of the plaintiffs desired to have the portions of the alleys

and street (in the case of Kogok) closed so that they

could erect buildings or other improvements thereon. Ac-

cordingly, they filed applications with the City Council

(formerly the City Commission) of Washington, D.C.,

the duly authorized agent of the United States, to close

the portions of the alleys and street on which their lots

abutted. The council acted favorably on the applica-

tions of the plaintiffs provided that the plaintiffs would

pay “a price not less than the assessed value of con-

tiguous lots.” The plaintiffs agreed to such payments and

the council determined and found that the proper pay-

ments to be made by the plaintiffs, respectively, for the

closing of the portions of the alleys in the squares and

street listed below were as follows:

Plaintiff Squares Fair market value

(a) Washington Medical Center 107 $247,701.60

(b) 1776 K Street Associates 126 74,769.05

(c) Metropolitan Club 166 63,725.40

(d) D. F. Antonelli, Jr. 252 30,766.00

(e) Jack Kogok G Street, N.W. 34,700.00

2 When the city of Washington, D.C. was laid out and platted,

the equivalent of modern day city “blocks” were called “squares.”

They are still referred to in that manner in the decided cases and

laws and will be referred to as such in this opinion.

64a

The plaintiffs represented to the council that they were

willing to pay the above amounts, respectively, if the

council would close said portions of the street and alleys,

and, in reliance on such representations, the council made

such closings. The plaintiffs voluntarily, and without

protest, paid the above amounts found by the council to

be due by them, respectively, and in fact were eager to

do so. Title to the closed portions of the street and alleys

was vested by the council in the respective plaintiffs upon

their closings and thereafter the plaintiffs erected build-

ings or other improvements thereon. At all times the

plaintiffs and the council conducted these transactions

on the theory that the United States had fee simple title

to these original alleys and to original G Street, N.W.

The money paid by the plaintiffs was deposited in the

United States Treasury to the credit of the United States.

Within three years after the street and alleys had

been closed, all of the plaintiffs filed suits in the Dis-

trict Court of the District of Columbia for a refund of

the payments they had made for such closings. The

suits were against the District of Columbia and the

United States. In those suits the plaintiffs relied on the

decision of the district court in the case of Carr v. Dis-

trict of Columbia, 312 F. Supp. 283 (D.D.C. 1970) which

held that the District of Columbia could not charge abut-

ting property owners for the closing of a non-original

alley under the Street Readjustment Act of 19382, D.C.

Code § 7-401, and that it could not charge them for the

depreciated value to nearby property caused by the clos-

ings. The D.C. Court of Appeals affirmed without an

opinion.

In the district court suits for refunds, the plaintiffs

included claims for portions of the closed alleys that were

not a part of the original alleys involved here, but were

common law dedicated portions of the closed alleys owned

by the District of Columbia for which the council charged

65a

them. They also asked for refunds for the amounts (not

involved here) for the alleged depreciated value of near-

by property caused by the closings. Included in those

suits were also the identical claims involved here for

refunds of the amounts paid to the United States for

the closing of the described portions of the original alleys

and original G Street, N.W. On January 8, 1974, the

district court entered orders in those cases (Civil Actions

Nos. 1906-72, 2514-72, 1905-72, 660-72, 1093-71 and 2015-

70) holding that the District of Columbia could not

charge abutting property owners the fair market value

of alleys owned and closed by the District of Columbia

unless an objection to the closing has been made, nor

charge for the depreciated value of nearby property

caused by the closing, “notwithstanding the fact that a

portion of the land in Square * * * was original U.S.

property.” The court entered judgment for the plaintiffs

on such claims, but dismissed the United States from

the suits because of lack of jurisdiction. In the course

of the appeal the plaintiffs raised for the first time the

proposition that the United States did not have title to

the original alleys and the original street that were closed

and by reason of that fact could not charge the plaintiffs

for the closings. On June 20, 1975, the D.C. Circuit

Court of Appeals affirmed in cause No. 73-2053 the

judgment of the district court without opinion and with-

out passing on the title question. Thereafter, the plain-

tiffs filed the present suit.

Plaintiffs in this action challenge the authority of the

District of Columbia to impose a fair market value charge

on the basis that (1

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.