Petition — Davis Oil Co. v. Parvin

Supreme Court brief1980

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

re

Gupreme Court, U,

EILED

FEB 23 1980

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United

EL RODAK, JR., ccm”

~~

October Term, 1979

No. ....- sia

“—Fg-1380¢

Davis O1L COMPANY, et al.,

Petitioners,

vs.

A. B. PARVIN,

Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

IRWIN F. WOODLAND,

J. EDD STEPP, JR.,

RICHARD CHERNICK,

S. CRAIG TOMPKINS,

GIBSON, DUNN & CRUTCHER,

515 South Flower Street,

Los Angeles, Calif. 90071,

(213) 488-7000,

Attorneys for Petitioners Davis Oil Com-

pany, Jack Davis, Marvin Davis and Paul

Messinger.

Parker & Son, Inc., Law Printers, Los Angeles. Phone 724-6622

SUBJECT INDEX

Page

fA aie 1

pte EEL 2 ll ih aia OE 2

a) = 2

Statutory Provisions Involved ...........................------- 3

RESTA 4

A. Respondent’s Complaint .............................. 4

EE 4

ES ESSE 4

Ne 5

bn cdntenseececece 8

Reasons for Granting the Writ ................2.........-222...- 10

I

This Case Presents Important Issues Concern-

ing the Extraterritorial Effect of State Blue

ES SST sa

The Expansive Extraterritorial Effect Given

to the California Blue Sky Laws by the

Ninth Circuit Conflicts With California Law

and With the Effect Given to Similar Blue

Sky Provisions by the First Circuit and

| Threatens the Validity of Interstate Trans-

tt nicatn agi desekencccn-sennacases----

10

ii.

B. Page

The Ninth Circuit’s Expansive Extraterritoriai

Application of the California Blue Sky Laws

to Apply to a Transaciion Negotiated and

Accepted by Plaintiff in Colorado, Simply

Because the Document Memorializing That

Agreement Wes Signed in California, Con-

flicts With California Law and Presents an

Important Issue as to the Extraterritorial

Effect of That State’s Blue Sky Laws ............ 13

II

The Ninth Circuit’s Approach to Oil and Gas

Joint Ventures Places Severe and Unnecessary

Burdens Upon Parties Wishing to Organize

Such Joint Ventures and Is Contrary to Ap-

DECODES CRTIONIIR LW cin. anon. o svn ecciccseccancennce 15

lil

fe ERR Rey er ona SIRF aS ME TEN 19

Appendix A. The 1979 Opinion ................ App. p. 1

Appendix B. The 1975 Opinion ............................ 9

po Re CRay e E aEe 20

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law ............ 22

Memorandum of Decision, Filed June 16, 1976 .. 24

Memorandum of Decision, Filed October 24,

Be tistics ieihitiris ccenoanci beens nes 34

ili.

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases Page

B. C. Turf & Country Club v. Daugherty, 94 Cal.

App.2d 320, 210 P.2d 760 (1949) ........ 13, 14, 15

Brant v. California Dairies, Inc., 4 Cal.2d 128, 48

if Bee i.) BAR aero 18

Connor v. Great Western Savings & Loan Assn.,

69 Cal.2d 850, 73 Cal.Rptr. 369 (1968) ........... 16

Doherty v. Bartlett, 81 F.2d 920 (1st Cir. 1936),

reh. den., 83 F.2d 259, cert. den., 298 U.S. 676.. 11

Ellena v. State of California, 69 Cal.App.3d 245,

De ea BO CEN ses cas en isentinertbesontnnence 18

Frankenheimer v. Frankenheimer, 231 Cal.App.2d

101, 41 Cal Rots. 656 (1964). .................... 14

King v. Stanley, 32 Cal.2d 584, 197 P.2d 321

BRS pith indigenes dad encheenimdgetlonn a aiauaaeccih 18

Levan v. Legarra, 103 Cal.App.2d 319, 229 P.2d

cg Feet tnte SAAS OFS ORDA E MONRO ERE Par cet COND 11

Oakley v. Rosen, 76 Cal.App.2d 310, 173 P.2d 55

Sb. | Se RE RO LENOS NP DOR ON 10, 11, 14, 16, 17

People v. Miller, 192 Cal.App.2d 414, 13 Cal.Rptr.

I NE ai hii hci sae locate Fightin 16

Robbins v. Pacific Eastern Corp., 8 Cal.2d 241,

ee CE eines psnicnssecsncnersdvutwasenssens Se ie

Stilwell v. Trutanich, 178 Cal.App.2d 614, 3 Cal.

Ss AUN GREE. Gs asian nintiinensnast ean psenipncmpants-esneiasiin 16

UFITEC, S.A. v. Carter, 20 Cal.3d 238, 142 Cal.

se Fe EE Pi coede hte ode dinonse ecinanncsttsexlestdsionpnniss 16

iv.

Page

Union Bank v. Winnebago Industries, Inc., 528

F.2d 95 (9th: Cie: I9TSs cca es 18

United States v. United States Gypsum Co., 333

U.S. 364, 68 S.Ct. 525, 92 L.Ed. 746 (1948) .... 18

Vicioso v. Watson, 325 F.Supp. 1071 (C.D. Cal.

RTE cisecinsicasinsicaissinsse-cotedececedinaonsgasthadstasae aaiieaanaaimia 16, 17

Statutes

California Corporations Code, Sec. 25100(m) ...... 3

California Corporations Code, Sec. 26100 .......... 3, 10

California General Corporation Law, Sec. 25008

anos yeti titi ctec blSunatwaslcaiplaileagsteateaniaie anion: eae 10

California General Corporation Law, Sec. 25017

wine skins nihcoidedeuasn nahi adele cnaI entra 10

California General Corporation Law, Sec. 25102

OED ciiicacionsigercessignicenveinsack staal aaa 5

California General Corporation Law, Sec. 25503

5 ssc neds nlite Sues ie ste i ual aaa 10

Internal Revenue Code, Sec. 761(a) ...................... 8

Securities Exchange Act of 1934, Sec. 27 (48 Stat.

032;°15 USS. TRG) pace ee 4

United States Code, Title 28, Sec. 1254(1) .......... 2

United States Code, Title 28, Sec. 1332 ~................. 4

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1979

| RS eases

Davis O1L COMPANY, et al.,

Petitioners,

VS.

A. B. PARVIN,

Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

Petitioners Davis Oil Company, Jack Davis, Marvin

Davis and Paul Messinger pray that a Writ of Certiorari

be issued to review the judgment of the Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit in the above-entitled

case.

OPINIONS BELOW.

The opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Ninth

Circuit (the “1979 Opinion”) is set forth in Appendix

“A” and has not yet been officially reported. This

is the second Opinion by the Ninth Circuit in the

case. In its first Opinion (the “1975 Opinion”), offi-

cially recorded at 524 F.2d 112, the Court of Appeals

reversed the initial judgment issued by the District

Court below and remanded the case for proceedings

consistent with its opinion. A copy of this opinion

is set forth in Appendix “B”. The Judgment and Find-

ings of Fact and Conclusions of Law of the District

on. Tae

Court for the Central District of California was entered

on January 14, 1977. The Findings of Fact and Con-

clusions of Law include by reference the Court’s Memo-

randum of Decision filed on October 24, 1973 (the

“1973 Opinion”) as modified and amended by the

Court’s Memorandum of Decision filed June 16, 1976

(these four documents are collectively referred to herein

as the “1977 Opinion”). A-copy of the 1977 Opinion

is set forth in Appendix “C”. The District Court’s

1977 Opinion has not been officially reported.

JURISDICTION.

The Judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Ninth

Circuit was entered on November 26, 1979. This Peti-

tion for Writ of Certiorari was filed within ninety

days of such entry. The jurisdiction of this Court

is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED.

Plaintiff A. B. Parvin, “a highly sophisticated busi-

nessman, knowledgeable in oil investments” seeks to

enjoy risk-free participation in certain oil exploration

projects by rescinding his participation in those specific

projects which failed to produce a profit and by collect-

ing statutory interest from the initial date of his partici-

pations therein.

The questions presented are:

I

Whether the extraterritorial reach of the California

blue sky laws is so great as to void agreements ne-

gotiated and entered into in good faith outside of

California simply because either (a) payment was made

by a check mailed from California or (b) the written

sinilins:

documentation memorializing the agreement was signed

by buyer in California.

II

Whether the unrevealed intent of participant in an

oil exploration project not to treat his participation

therein as a joint venture is sufficient to negate objec-

tive evidence, including the parties’ written agreement,

of such joint venture participation.

Ill

Whether oil drilling programs which retain for par-

ticipants the right to control significant risk related

decisions, including issues relating to well development

and the marketing of any product produced, are ren-

dered void merely because participants have elected not

to exercise control over day-to-day drilling operations.

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED.

At all times relevant to this case, former California

Corporations Code § 25100(m) provided as follows:

“Except as otherwise expressly provided in this

division, the Corporate Securities Law does not

apply to any of the following classes of securities:

* * *

“(m) any bona fide joint venture interest, except

such interest when offered to the public.”

Prior California Corporations Code § 26100 provided

that:

“Every security of its own issue sold by any

company without a permit of the commissioner

then in effect authorizing the issuance or sale

of the security is void.”

emibbicin

STATEMENT OF CASE.

A. Respondent’s Complaint.

Respondent's Complaint, filed on July 13, 1970,

presents state and federal claims seeking the return

of all monies paid to Petitioner Davis Oil Company

(“DOC”) pursuant to ResponJent’s participation in

three separate oil drilling projects. Jurisdiction in the

federal courts was based upon Section 27 of the Se-

curities Exchange Act of 1934, 48 Stat. 881, 15

U.S.C. § 78(aa) and, as Respondent is a citizen of

California and Petitioners are all citizens of Colorado,

on the basis of diversity of citizenship (28 U.S.C.

§ 1332). The Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

upheld the District Court’s Judgment on the basis of

Respondent’s state claims. These claims alleged that

(i) the participation agreements between Respondent

and DOC were securities under California law which

could only be sold pursuant to permit; (ii) no permits

were obtained; and (iii) that such sales were accord-

ingly void. The Court of Appeals did not address

Respondent’s claims under the Securities Exchange Act

of 1934.

B. Statement of Facts.

1. Parties.

Petitioner DOC is a partnership engaged in the oil

exploration business. Its principal place of business

is in Denver, Colorado, and all of its partners (includ-

ing Petitioners Jack Davis and Marvin Davis) are resi-

dents of Colorado. Paul Messinger is an employee

of the partnership and likewise a resident of Colorado.

pre as

Respondent A. B. Parvin is a highly sophisticated

businessman, knowledgeable in vil investments (Ap-

pendix “C” at page 54), and a resident of Beverly

Hills, California. Not including his transactions with

DOC, Respondent has over the years participated in

more than a dozen oil ventures (CR 640'). He is

also a man prone to manipulate the laws regulating

securities transactions to attempt to recover his invest-

ments in those ventures in which he has become dissatis-

fied. (RT 87-90; see also the unreported decision in

A. B. Parvin v. Fulk, (C.D. Cal. 1972) Civil No.

71-1118-LTL.)

2. The Oil Ventures.

At the time of Respondent’s participations, certain

joint venture agreements were exempted from Califor-

nia’s permit requirements.*? Respondent participated

with DOC in three separate oil ventures, identified

below as the “Savoie”, “Offset” and “Wildcat” projects.

The District Court found these projects not to constitute

joint ventures, and this finding has been approved by

the Court of Appeals. Petitioners contest this character-

ization.

1The record on appeal below consists of 5 volumes: The

Clerk’s Record, volumes I, II, III and supplement consists

of 750 pages and will be referred to herein as “CR”, followed

by a number or numbers designating the page or pages of

the Clerk’s Record to which the reference is made. The Re-

porter’s Transcript consists of 337 pages and will be referred

to herein as “RT”, followed by the number or numbers designat-

ing the page or pages of the Reporter’s Transcript to which

the reference is made.

Plaintiff's exhibits are designated 1 through 152, and defend-

ant’s exhibits are designated E through HU. Plaintiff’s exhibits

will be referred to herein as “PX” and defendant’s as “DX”.

Today that exception is contained in modified form in Cali-

fornia General Corporation Law § 25102(f).

saiailiinds

The first of the participation agreements (the Savoie

project) was consummated in 1968 following seven

years of social and business dealings between Petitioner

Marvin Davis and the Respondent. The facts surround-

ing the offering and consummation of this participation

agreement are disputed. Petitioner Marvin Davis testi-

fied that the participation agreement was both offered

and accepted in Colorado. Respondent asserts that the

offer was made in a telephone call to him in Los

Angeles. The parties’ agreement was never reduced

to writing.

The participation agreements pertaining to the Offset

and Wildcat projects were reduced to writing. These

agreements were mailed to Respondent from Denver

to Los Angeles, executed by him in Los Angeles and

returned to Colorado. In the case of the Wildcat project,

the terms were fully negotiated and accepted in Colo-

rado prior to execution of the document memorializing

that agreement (Appendix “B” at page 11).

The written agreements memorializing the Offset

(PX 26; CR 90-119) and Wildcat (PX 36; CR 124-

152) projects were copies of the form agreement gen-

erally used in the oil industry to structure joint oil

ventures and provided Respondent with substantial

and ongoing participation in and right of control over

those projects (RT 163). Specifically, the agreements

provided Respondent with each of the following con-

trols:

(i) Respondent had at all times complete and

free access to the derrick floor and to all informa-

tion obtained in the course of drilling, including

daily drilling reports, final prints of all electrical

surveys run, all core analyses, drill-stem test

aed

+ J4eae~

=

charts, completion reports and governmental and

geographical reports.

(ii) Unanimous consent of all parties, includ-

ing Respondent, was required to drill additional

wells, rework, plug-back or deepen authorized

wells, and to settle lawsuits for an amount in

excess of $1,000.

(iii) Subject to certain exceptions, no single

project could be undertaken without the consent

of all the parties unless the project was reasonably

estimated to require an expenditure not in excess

of $5,000.

(iv) Respondent had the right to avoid further

financial commitments to a particular drilling

project by opting out at the casing point.*

(v) Respondent, in the event he elected to

proceed in the development of the well past the

casing point, vas entitled to separately receive

and market any production realized therefrom.

Respondent had no day-to-day control over the physical

drilling of the well, as DOC had been retained by

the venture to serve as general contractor for the

drilling operations.

The participation agreements were substantially

similar to that executed by Respondent with Occidental

Petroleum Corporation, which is apparently accepted

by Respondent as establishing a joint venture. More-

over, Respondent has admitted that the participation

agreements were something more than mere investment

8The casing point is that point at which the decision is

typically made whether to incur the further expenses neces-

sary to prepare a well for production including the insertion

of pipe into the hole, or in the alternative, to abandon the

project.

citileee

contracts, referring to DOC as his partner in certain

correspondence with Marvin Davis.

For tax purposes, the participation agreements were

treated by DOC as an “organization” availed of for

the “joint production, extraction, or use of property”

under Section “761(a) of the Internal Revenue Code.

Respondent concedes that the terms of his oral agree-

ment with the Petitioners pertaining to the Savoie proj-

ect were substantially similar to the terms of the Offset

and Wildcat projects.

DOC did not obtain a permit from the California

Commissioner of Corporations for the offer or sale

of the participating agreements to Respondent. But

neither did it intentionally seek to evade California

law (See, Appendix “B”).

3. Prior Opinions.

The District Court initially found the participation

agreements not to constitute securities for purposes

of the California or federal securities laws. The Dis-

trict Court further found (on disputed evidence as

to where the agreements were negotiated and agreed

to) that “the transactions were consummated and the

contracts entered into outside the State of California

and extrinsic to any conversations between the parties

conducted by telephone.”

In its 1975 Opinion the Court of Appeals reversed,

finding the participation agreements to constitute se-

curities and further finding each of the transactions

to have involved a “sale” of securities in California,

OL te. ele ASR TAG, tes - y

PP ee Pn ee ee

teil

triggering the California permit requirement. In the

case of the Savoie project, the signing of a check.

in Los Angeles was found to constitute the “sale”.

In the case of the Offset and Wildcat projects, the

sending of the agreements to Respondent in Los Angeles

and his execution thereof in that city were held to

constitute the “sales” even though all the terms of

the Wildcat agreement had been previously agreed to

in Colorado. Having so ruled, the Court of Appeals

remanded.

In its 1977 Opinion, the District Court found Re-

spondent, as a matter of law, to have had an insufficient

right of control over the essentials of the drilling opera-

tions to be a joint venturer. The District Court also

found that the circumstances of the case “failed to

establish an intent to create joint venture”. The Court

of Appeals, in its 1979 Opinion, upheld these findings

and affirmed, characterizing the joint venture issue

as one fact, and affirming the District Court’s opinion

on the basis of (i) the District Court’s finding that

“the major decisions—those most affecting the ultimate

success or failure of the enterprise—were to be made

solely by the defendants;” and (ii) the District Court’s

purported finding that “the parties themselves never

intended to create a joint venture.”

a

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.

I

THIS CASE PRESENTS IMPORTANT ISSUES CONCERN-

ING THE EXTRATERRITORIAL EFFECT OF STATE

BLUE SKY LAWS.

A.

The Expansive Extraterritorial Effect Given to the

California Blue Sky Laws by the Ninth Circuit

Conflicts With California Law and With the Effect

Given to Similar Blue Sky Provisions by the First

Circuit and Threatens the Validity of Interstate

Transactions. :

The Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit ruled

below that the mere signing of a check in California

is, in and of itself, a “sale” in California and triggers

that state’s blue sky law provision which renders void

certain securities if issued or sold in California without

a permit (California Corporations Code § 26100).*

This ruling was not based upon any analysis of the

legislative history underlying the California blue sky

laws nor was it based upon any California case reaching

a similar result. Rather, the Court of Appeals founded

its expansive reading solely upon the proposition that

as the statute is designed to protect purchasers, it

should be broadly construed.

The Court of Appeals decision is in direct conflict

with the California Court of Appeal case, Oakley

v. Rosen, 76 Cal.App.2d 310, 173 P.2d 55 (1946).

There the Court found that state’s blue sky laws to

‘The California blue sky laws were substantially modified

in 1968. The provision allowing rescission in the case of

sales in violation of the California permit requirement is

now contained in California General Corporation Law § 25503.

The definition of the terms “sale”, “sales” and “offers to sell”

are set forth in Sections 25008 and 25017.

= |) ae

have no application to a transaction executed in New

York, even though the agreement was signed by one

of the plaintiffs in California and funds under such

agreement transmitted from California to New York,

where the final act necessary to effect the agreement

was done beyond the borders of California. Admittedly,

the California statute has been modified since the Oak-

ley decision was rendered. However, later cases support

Oakley’s continued validity. In Levan v. Legarra, 103

Cal.App.?2d 319, 229 P.2d 383 (1951), the Court

by implication likewise found the mere execution of

a check in California to be insufficient to justify applica-

tion of the California blue sky laws.

Moreover, the Ninth Circuit’s interpretation of the

term “sale” to include the execution of a check in

California is in direct conflict with the First Circuit’s

interpretation of the same term under the New Hamp-

shire blue sky law. See Doherty v. Bartlett, 81 F.2d

920 (1st Cir. 1936), reh. den.,.83 F.2d 259, cert.

den., 298 U.S. 676. The New Hampshire statute there

prohibited the sale, offer for sale or invitation of offers

for or inquiries about securities by a person not regis-

tered as a dealer thereunder. Sales made in violation

of that statute were held by the court therein to be void.

In that case, the First Circuit ruled, inter alia, that

the mere mailing of a check by the plaintiff from New

Hampshire to Boston was not sufficient to constitute

a sale, offer for sale or invitation of an offer in

New Hampshire. As is the case in the opinion below,

that ruling was not based upon any review of relevant

legislative history.

The approach adopted by the Ninth Circuit exposes

the validity of interstate transactions to significant un-

certainty. Even in cases where a transaction is com-

ro) es

pletely negotiated and executed within a state allowing

such transactions, the Ninth Circuit’s approach imposes

upon issuers the risk that buyers will use a foreign

state’s blue sky laws to engineer a no-risk investment

by the simple device of mailing any payment required

of them from such foreign state. Such an interpretation

does nothing to advance a state’s interest in protecting

its residents. Indeed, in the case of California, such

an expansive reading is in direct conflict with the

position expressed by the California Supreme Court in

Robbins v. Pacific Eastern Corp., 8 Cal.2d 241, 273-

274, 65 P.2d 42 (1937), that investors should not

be allowed to undo obligations, entered into by others

in good faith, by reliance upon expansive interpretations

of the California blue sky laws.

“It is no answer to point out, as do appellants,

the strong public policy behind the corporate se-

curities act. That statute is undoubtedly a salutary

law. The same can be said of the usury law,

the statutes restricting corporate action, and many

other statutes to which the rule of construction

here being discussed has been applied. This rule of

interpretation must be applied by the courts, unless

a contrary construction is compelled by the terms

of the contract. It is peculiarly applicable in the

present case where the plaintiffs, and the other

stockholders, got exactly what they wanted and

what they bargained for—where no fraud or im-

position has been proved—and where they are

now trying to recoup their losses, by a strained

and technical construction of the contract, from

what turned out to be a bad bargain.”

Robbins v. Pacific Eastern Corp., 8 Cal.2d 241,

273, 65 P.2d 42, 59.

— we

Or, as noted by the California Court of Appeal in

B. C. Turf & Country Club v. Daugherty, 94 Cal.App.

2d 320, 210 P.2d 760 (1949):

“While regulation is necessary in this field, and

honest, legitimate business must, under the police

power, submit to reasonable controls in order to

effectuate the purpose of the statute, the controls,

by strained construction, should not be extended

to wholly unnecessary, unreasonable or absurd

lengths. The courts must approach this problem

with some degree of realism.”

B. C. Turf & Country Club v. Daugherty, 94

Cal.App.2d 320, 330, 210 P.2d 760, 766.

Unless this Petition is granted and the holding below

reversed, it will stand as precedent for an extraordinarily

expansive application of the extraterritorial reach of

the California blue sky laws in effect from time to

time. As most state securities issues are combined with

claims under the federal securities laws and _ tried

in the federal courts, such a precedent will seriously

undermine the pragmatic approach adopted by the Cali-

fornia courts, and will likewise seriously undermine

the validity of interstate transactions.

B.

The Ninth Circuit’s Expansive Extraterritorial Applica-

tion of the California Blue Sky Laws to Apply to

a Transaction Negotiated and Accepted by Plain-

tiff in Colorado, Simply Because the Document

Memorializing That Agreement Was Signed in

California, Conflicts With California Law and

Presents an Important Issue as to the Extraterri-

torial Effect of That State’s Blue Sky Laws.

The District Court, in its Memorandum of Decision

dated October 24, 1973, determined that “the transac-

a eA

tions were consummated and the contracts entered

into outside of the State of California and extrinsic

to any conversations between the parties conducted

by telephone” (Appendix “C” at page 55). The Circuit

Court acknowledged that, as to the Wildcat transaction,

there was evidence that Respondent orally agreed to

participate in the program while in Colorado and that

the terms of the Agreement were settled at that time

(Appendix “B” at pages 11 and 16). Still, the Court

of Appeals ruled that for purposes of the California

blue sky laws, as they then stood, a sale had been

made in California.

This expansive reading of the extraterritorial effect

of California’s blue sky laws is contrary to applicable

California law. California law looks not to the place

of the signing, but to the place where the last act

occurred necessary to create a contract. See B. C.

Turf & Country Club v. Daugherty, supra; and Oakley

v. Rosen, supra. This expansive reading is also con-

trary to the policy enunciated by the California courts,

discussed above, that that state’s voiding provisions

not be construed in such a contorted manner as to

undo transactions entered into by others in good faith

5It would be incorrect to argue that the California statute of

frauds makes California the situs of the Wildcat agreement

Even if the statute of frauds were applicable, it would go

to the contract’s enforceability in court and not to the creation

thereof. Furthermore, that statute may be waived either expressly

or by conduct. A writing is necessary for the creation of

a contract only where such is the intent of the parties. See,

e.g., Frankenheimer v. Frankenheimer, 231 Cal.App.2d 101,

108-109, 41 Cal.Rptr. 636 (1964). The presence or absence

of such an intent is a matter of fact (Frankenheimer v.

Frankenheimer, supra). In the instant case, the District Court

found against the existence of any such intent when it rendered

its ruling that the Wildcat agreement was consummated and

entered into outside of California. As mentioned above, this

finding was not challenged by the Court of Appeals.

ee

and beyond the boundaries of California. Robbins

v. Pacific Eastern Corp., supra; B. C. Turf & Country

Club v. Daugherty, supra.

Unless this Petition is granted and the decision below

reversed, it will stand as precedent for an unreasonably

expansive interpretation of the extraterritorial reach of

California’s blue sky laws in effect from time to

time. As the justification for such a broad application

is founded solely upon the Ninth Circuit’s opinion

that such a broad application is necessary to protect

purchasers, it is a precedent whose impact goes sub-

stantially beyond the wording of whatever California

statute may be then in effect.

II

THE NINTH CIRCUIT’S APPROACH TO OIL AND GAS

JOINT VENTURES PLACES SEVERE AND UNNECES-

SARY BURDENS UPON PARTIES WISHING TO

ORGANIZE SUCH JOINT VENTURES AND IS CON-

TRARY TO APPLICABLE CALIFORNIA LAW.

This nation has committed itself to the pursuit and

achievement of energy sufficiency. If this goal is

to be met, energy exploration must be encouraged

and the erection of new barriers to the flow of capital

into this area must be discouraged. The interpretation

of the California joint venture exception adopted by

the court below is out of step with this commitment.

It has resulted in the striking down, as a void security,

of one of the standard form oil exploration participation

agreements used by the oil industry. In so holding, the

court below has severely diminished the utility of a very

valuable form of oil exploration transaction and has

erected a new and substantial barrier to the creation

of oil exploration joint ventures.

a

The District Court ruled that “as a matter of law”

the various agreements did not constitute joint venture

agreements under the California statute. The Court

of Appeals affirmed that finding on the basis of the

District Court’s findings that those decisions most affect-

ing the ultimate success or failure of the enterprise

were to be made solely by DOC and that the parties

themselves never intended to create a joint venture.

In so ruling, the Court of Appeals failed to realize

that, in California, it is not actual control but the

“right” to control significant decisions which is essential

to a joint venture. See UFITEC, S.A. v. Carter, 20

Cal.3d 238, 142 Cal.Rptr. 279 (1977); Connor v.

Great Western Savings & Loan Assn., 69 Cal.2d 850,

73 Cal.Rptr. 369 (1968); People v. Miller, 192 Cal.

App.2d 414, 13 Cal.Rptr. 260 (1961); Stilwell v.

Trutanich, 178 Cal.App.2d 614, 3 Cal.Rptr. 285

(1960); Oakley v. Rosen, 76 Cal.App.2d 310, 173

P.2d 55 (1946); and Vicioso v. Watson, 325 F.Supp.

1071 (C.D. Cal. 1971). In so ruling the Court of

Appeals also misinterpreted the District Court’s finding

as to intent and failed to give proper deference to

the California objective rule of contracts.

California does not require that all members of a

joint venture participate equally in the day-to-day opera-

tions of the venture. As stated by the Court in Stilwell

v. Trutanich a joint venture may exist

“although the property forming the capital of the

adventure is not jointly owned by the parties...

and although one of the parties has contributed

money, another property and another skill... .”

Stilwell v. Trutanich, 178 Cal.App.2d 614, 619,

3 Cal.Rptr. 285, 288.

* re -

poe Nae

Or, as stated in the often cited case, Oakley vy. Rosen,

supra at 76 Cal.App.2d 310, 313-314:

“The fact that appellee was to produce the play

without the assistance of appellants makes it none-

theless a joint venture. Many successful enterprises

owe their pronounced achievements to the program

and direction of a single mind.”

Oakley v. Rosen, 76 Cal.App.2d 310, 313-

314, 173 P.2d 55, 57.

In Vicioso v. Watson, supra, the question also in-

volved the joint venture status of an oil participation

agreement. There the Court found the existence of

a joint venture despite a lack of direct control by

the plaintiff.

“Under the terms of the contract in our case,

plaintiffs were to receive daily drilling reports,

they were welcome at the drilling sites, they were

not billed for the cost of production after it was

undertaken, but provided the cost of drilling in

proportion to their interest prior to the undertaking

of the drilling. I conclude that the plaintiffs had

a right to control the drilling operations, but de-

ferred exercise of this control and chose to rely

on the greater expertise of the defendant. In light

of the interpretation of the term ‘right to control’

and the general concept of joint venture . . ., it

seems clear that a joint venture existed in the

present suit.”

Vicioso v. Watson, 325 F.Supp. 1071, 1076.

In the instant case, Respondent had all the rights

and controls identified, supra. Under the standards

applied by the California courts, these controls should

a ol

have been more than sufficient. The fact that Respond-

ent and his fellow joint venturers chose to retain DOC

as an independent contractor to supervise the day-to-

day line operations does not negate the existence of

a joint venture.

The Court of Appeals also purports to rely upon

the District Court’s findings relating to intent. However,

whereas the Court of Appeals interpreted the District

Court’s opinion as finding an intent not to create

a joint venture, the District Court in fact went no

further than to find that the circumstances surrounding

the agreements failed to establish an intent to create

a joint venture. In relying upon this finding, the Court

of Appeals failed to heed the warning contained in

United States v. United States Gypsum Co., 333 US.

364, 396, 68 S.Ct. 525, 92 L.E d. 746 (1948), that

where oral testimony is in conflict with contemporane-

ous documents, the Court can give it little weight,

particularly where the crucial issues involved are, as

here, mixed ones of fact and law.

In placing such heavy reliance upon this intent

issue, the Court of Appeals also failed to heed the

objective theory used to interpret contracts by the Cali-

fornia court. See King v. Stanley, 32 Cal.2d 584,

591, 197 P.2d 321 (1948); Brant v. California Dairies,

Inc., 4 Cal.2d 128, 133, 48 P.2d 13 (1935); Ellena

v. State of California, 69 Cal.App.3d 245, 262, 138

Caf.Rptr. 110 (1977); Union Bank v. Winnebago In-

dustries, Inc., 528 F.2d 95, 99 (9th Cir. 1975).

oa

In the instant case, the uncontroverted provisions

of the participation agreements themselves were clearly

sufficient to establish a joint venture. The Court below,

however, chose to look (i) to the extent to which

control was actually exercised by Respondent and (ii)

to Respondent’s unspoken intent not to treat the trans-

action as a joint venture. This approach improperly

interprets the joint venture exception, as it fails to

recognize that it is the right to control and not the

actual exercise of control which is required and fails

to give proper weight to the undisputed terms of the

parties’ agreements. It is a burdensome precedent, in

that it makes virtually any joint venture agreement

subject to attack by simple allegation that one of

the parties involved did not “in fact” exercise control

and that he never intended the agreement to constitute

a joint venture. It is a precedent which is contrary

to law, and to this nation’s energy development needs.

Ill

CONCLUSION.

The Ninth Circuit has interpreted California_law

to require expansive extraterritorial application of its

blue sky laws and as requiring an actual exercise

of control over day-to-day operations before an agree-

ment may be deemed a joint venture. The Ninth Circuit

has also failed to accord proper significance to the

undisputed terms’ of the written agreemeni between

the parties. This decision constitutes a precedent which

is at odds with California law and which poses both

oo

a substantial threat to the validity of interstate trans-

actions and a substantial burden upon persons wishing

to establish oil and gas joint ventures in California.

If state blue sky laws are to be kept within their

proper bounds and if oil and gas exploration in this

country is to be encouraged, this precedent must be

reversed.

For these reasons, Petitioners respectfully submit that

a Writ of Certiorari should issue.

Respectfully submitted,

IRWIN F. WOODLAND,

J. Epp STEppP, JR.,

RICHARD CHERNICK,

S. CRAIG TOMPKINS,

G1BsOoNn, DUNN & CRUTCHER,

Attorneys for Petitioners Davis Oil

Company, Jack Davis, Marvin Davis

and Paul Messinger.

AON

Pe. -

APPENDIX “A”.

Opinion.

United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

A. B. Parvin, Plaintiff-Appellee and Cross-Appellant,

v. Davis Oil Company, Jack Davis, Marvin Davis,

and Paul Messinger, Defendants-Appellants and Cross-

Appellees. No. 77-1663; No. 77-1664.

Filed: Nov. 26, 1979.

Appeal from the United States District Court for

the Central District of California.

Before: CHAMBERS and HUFSTEDLER, Circuit

Judges, and FITZGERALD,* District Judge.

HUFSTEDLER, Circuit Judge:

Parvin sued Davis Oil Company (“DOC”) for dam-

ages arising from three investment contracts that Parvin

contended violated both California and federal securities

laws. The district court initially dismissed the action

finding that (1) the oil and gas lease interests were

not securities under either California or federal law,

(2) the transactions did not involve sufficient contacts

with California to permit application of California law,

and (3) the transactions were private offerings ex-

empted from the registration requirements of the Securi-

ties Act of 1933. We reversed (Parvin v. Davis Oil

Co. (9th Cir. 1975) 524 F.2d 112), and we remanded

the cause to the district court to decide whether the

securities qualified under the joint-venture exception

to the California permit requirement and whether Parvin

had the kind of access to information that would have

appeared in the registration statement.

*Honorable James M. Fitzgerald, United States District Judge,

District of Alaska, sitting by designation.

Stl on

On remand, the district court found that these trans-

actions failed to qualify under the joint venture excep-

tion under California law and that they failed to qualify

under the private offering exception from the registra-

tion requirements under the Securities Act of 1933.

The district court held further that DOC’s failure to

inform Parvin that the securities were not registered

under either California or federal law constituted a

violation of § 10(b) of the Securities and Exchange

Act of 1934. Therefore, the district court decided that

Parvin was entitled to the return of the money he

had invested. The district court denied an award of

prejudgment interest, exercising discretion that the court

believed it had under applicable California and federal

law.

DOC appeals from that portion of the judgment

holding the joint venture exemption and the private

offering exemption inapplicable. Parvin appeals from

that portion of the judgment declining to award prejudg-

ment interest.

Parvin is a retired California businessman who has

had substantial experience with investment in oil and

gas properties. DOC is a partnership composed of

Jack Davis, Marvin Davis, and Jean Davis, which

has its principal place of business in Denver, Colorado;

it is engaged in oil and gas exploration. Parvin main-

tained a periodic social and business relationship with

the Davises from the early 1960s until the beginning

of this litigation. During 1968, DOC offered and sold

to Parvin investments in three separate DOC oil and

gas drilling programs, referred to respectively as the

“Savoie,” “Offset,” and “Wildcat” programs.

The investors in the Savoie, Offset, and Wildcat

leases were composed of three separate groups. Gen-

a

a we

erally speaking, each group had been put together

by a friend or a business associate of the Davises

and was composed of that person and a number

of his friends and business associates. Each member

of the group signed an agreement with DOC that was

identical with the agreement signed by everyone else,

with the exception of the names of the parties, the

percentages of their interests, the amounts of their

payments, and the names of well prospects included.

(Parvin himself was an exception to the extent that

he did not execute a written agreement for the Savoie

lease. )

The Davises never met with these investing groups,

and there was no interaction between the different

groups or their members. The Davises selected the

leases ‘to be invested in and the sites to be drilled.

They also conducted both the exploration and the

drilling. Under the terms of the agreement, the individ-

ual investors did have the right to receive daily drilling

reports, final prints of all electrical surveys run, all

core analyses, drill-stem test charts, completion reports

and governmental and gevgraphical reports. They also

had free access to the derrick floor and to all informa-

tion obtained in the course of drilling.

In the case of the Savoie lease, DOC drilled an

unsuccessful well and none of the participants received

any income from his interest in the project. The under-

lying oil and gas leases have, by their terms, expired.

Parvin invested $15,000 in this project. DOC drilled

four wells on the Offset project. Three of the wells

were plugged and abandoned, and the leases under-

lying them have expired. The fourth well was sold

to another company in 1969. Parvin paid DOC $92.-

651.78 and received a return of $2,008.67 on the

uid

Offset leases. Similarly, four wells were drilled under

the Wildcat lease and three of the wells were plugged

and abandoned. The fourth produced some oil for

a time, but none recovered its costs. Parvin paid DOC

$103,740.80 and eventually received a return of $4,-

422.71. If Parvin prevails under either California or

federal law, he is entitled to rescind and to recover

his investments, less the amount he has received.

I

This action arose under the old California Cor-

porate Securities Law (Cal. Corp. Code §§ 25000

et seq. (West 1954)), as amended as of January 2,

1969. Section 25100 of that law requires an issuer

of a security, such as DOC, to obtain a permit before

selling any security, unless it falls under one of the

enumerated exemptions to that requirement. DOC

argues that the joint venture requirement is applicable.

California courts have defined a joint venture as

“an undertaking by two or more persons jointly to

carry out a single enterprise for profit.” (Stilwell v.

Trutanich (1960) 178 Cal. App. 2d 614, 3 Cal. Rptr.

285, 288.) The California courts traditionally look

to the intention of the parties to determine whether

a joint venture existed. (Holtz v. United Plumbing

& Heating Co. (1957) 49 Cal. 2d 501, 319 P.2d

617, 620; Stilwell v. Trutanich, supra. ) Typically, the

inquiry addresses four factors: (1) “a community of

interest in the subject of the undertaking”; (2) “a

sharing in profits and losses”; (3) an “ ‘equal right’

or a ‘right in some measure’ to control the conduct

of each other and of the enterprise”; and (4) “a

fiduciary relation between or among the parties.” (Jd.

at 288; Goldberg v. Paramount Oil Co. (1956) 143

Cal. App. 2d 215; see Vicioso v. Watson (C.D. Cal.

sili

1971) 325 F. Supp. 1071.) Whether a joint venture

exists rests primarily on the facts of the individual

case. (Nelson v. Abraham (1947) 29 Cal. 2d 745,

750, 177 P.2d 931; Spier v. Lang (1935) 4 Cal.2d

711, 716, 53 P.2d 138; Bank of California v. Connolly

(1973) 36 Cal. App. 3d 350, 364, 111 Cal. Rptr.

468, 478.)

On remand, the court below reexamined the evidence

presented to it to determine whether a joint venture

existed. It properly addressed, among other things, the

control Parvin and the others exercised over the project.

(See id.) By agreement, these investors were entitled

to receive notices concerning the progress of the drilling,

were afforded access to the drilling sites, and were

allowed a voice in deciding whether to drill past the

casing point. However, the court below looked beyond

the written agreement “to all the facts and circumstances

of the situation, including the subsequent conduct of

the parties.” It determined that those decisions most

affecting the ultimate success or failure of the enterprise

were to be made solely by DOC. The court below

also found that the parties themselves never intended

to create a joint venture. Both of these findings are

supported by the record. Accepting these findings

of fact, as we must (Fed. Rules of Civ. Proc. 52),

we are compelled to affirm the court’s determination

that no joint venture existed, that the exemption is

inapplicable, and that DOC should have sought a permit

before selling the securities to Parvin. Parvin properly

asserted his right to rescind the transactions.

II

Under California law, an award of prejudgment inter-

est is governed by California Civil Code §§ 3287 and

3288. Section 3287(a) reads in relevant part: “Every

seein

person who is entitled to recover damages certain,

or capable of being made certain by calculation, and

the right to recover which is vested in him upon a

particular day, is entitled also to recover interest thereon

from that day ... .” Section 3288 provides: “In

an action for the breach of an obligation not arising

from contract, and in every case of oppression, fraud,

or malice, interest may be given, in the discretion

of the jury.” California courts have not always inter-

preted the two statutes consistently. In Nathanson v¥.

Murphy (1957) 147 Cal. App. 2d 462, 305 P.2d

710, the court held that whenever a noncontractual

action arose, the question whether to award prejudg-

ment interest lay in the discretion of the factfinder.

DOC argues that this action to rescind the purchase

of stock for failure to comply with the California Cor-

poration Securities Act is treated as an action for

fraud or for breach of implied warranty. (See also

Pepitone v. Russo (1976) 64 Cal. App. 3d 685, 134

Cal. Rptr. 709.) Because the court below declined

to sward prejudgment interest, DOC argues that we

musi affirm this portion of the judgment.

DOC has not taken into account the more recent

California cases interpreting these statutes to require

the awarding of prejudgment interest whenever the sum

in question is capable of exact determination. In 1964,

the California Supreme Court in interpreting section

3287 emphasized its reluctance to make mandatory

awards of prejudgment interest turn on the form of

the action. (Mass v. Board of Education (1964) 39

Cal. Rptr. 739.) In Tripp v. Swoap (1976) 17 Cal.

3d 671, 552 P.2d 749, 131 Cal. Rptr. 789, the Califor-

nia Supreme Court expressly declined to limit § 3287(a)

to contract actions. Moreover, the California Court

of Appeals discussed the legislative hisiory of §§ 3287

inl

and 3288 at great length less than two years ago

in Levy-Zenter Co. v. Southern Pacific Transportation

Co. (1977) 74 Cal. App. 3d 762, 794-98, 142 Cal.

Rptr. 1, 22-25. It declared that “when sections 3287

and 3288 were adopted in 1872, the key distinguishing

factor was not . . . whether the cause of action arose

in tort or contract, but rather whether the damages

were readily ascertainable.” (Jd. at 795, 142 Cal. Rptr.

at 23.) It held that “prejudgment interest must be

granted as a matter of right if, as a matter of law,

damages are ‘certain, or capable of being made certain

by calculation.’” (/d. at 798, 142 Cal. Rptr. at 25.

(footnote omitted).) Under California law, when the

question of liability is open to dispute, but not the

amount of damages, in the event that liability is found

to exist, damages are considered “certain.” (Esgro Cen-

tral, Inc. v. General Insurance Co. (1971) 20 Cal.

App. 3d 1054, 1060-61, 98 Cal. Rptr. 153, 157; Conti-

nental Bank v. Blethen (1970) 7 Cal. App. 3d 178,

187, 86 Cal. Rptr. 485, 491.)) Under King v. United

Commercial Travelers (1948) 333 U.S. 153, 158, we

are bound by Levy-Zenter unless there is pervasive

evidence that the California Supreme Court would rule

otherwise. Given both Tripp and Mass, we can see

no such pervasive evidence, and DOC offers us none.

We are well aware of the factors that would lead

the lower court to decline to award prejudgment inter-

est were it free to do so. However, California law

requires awards of such interest as a matter of law,

where, as here, the sum is certain.

As we read Mary Pickford Co. v. Bayly Bros. (1939)

12 Cal. 2d 501, prejudgment interest should run from

the time that the right to rescission arose, rather than

the time the lawsuit was filed.

‘otal

Because California law is dispositive, we do not

reach any of the federal questions.

The cause is remanded to the district court to com-

pute interest. In all other respects, the judgment is

affirmed.

a

APPENDIX “B”.

Opinion.

A. B. PARVIN, Plaintiff-A,pellant, v. DAVIS OIL

COMPANY et al., Defendants-Appellees. No. 74-1235.

United States Court of Appeals, Ninth Circuit.

Oct. 20, 1975.

Buyer of fractional interests in oil and gas leases

brought action against seller charging violations of fed-

eral and state securities laws. The United States District

Court for the Central District of California, Robert

J. Kelleher, J., dismissed the action, and the buyer

appealed. The Court of Appeals, Chambers, Circuit

Judge, held that interest sold to buyer constituted se-

curities under federal and California law; that sending

of sales agreement to California and its execution there

by California buyer constituted a sale of a security

in California subject to California securities law; and

that case would be remanded for a determination wheth-

er joint venture exemption and private offering exemp-

tion applied to transaction so as to release seller from

obligation of obtaining a permit.

Reversed and remanded.

Peter M. Appleton (argued), of Tyre & Kamins,

Los Angeles, Cal., for plaintiff-appellant.

Irwin I. Woodland (argued), of Gibson, Dunn &

Crutcher, Los Angeles, Cal., for defendants-appellees.

Before CHAMBERS and HUFSTEDLER, Circuit

Judges, and FITZGERALD,* District Judge.

*Honorable James M. Fitzgerald, United States District Judge

for the District of Alaska, sitting by designation.

a ee

CHAMBERS, Circuit Judge:

Defendant Davis Oil Company (DOC) is a partner-

ship, engaged in the business of gas and oil exploration.

The partnership is composed of Marvin Davis and

his parents, and has its principal place of business

in Denver, Colorado. Plaintiff, Parvin, a California

resident who has substantial experience with investment

in oil and gas properties, first met the Davises in

1960 or 1961 when he purchased some properties

in which they had an interest. After that time he

maintained a periodic social and business relationship

with them.

Involved in this case is Parvin’s participation in

three DOC oil and gas drilling ventures, referred to

as the “Savoie,” “Offset,” and “Wildcat” programs. .

There is some dispute as to the circumstances surround-

ing Parvin’s agreement to be a participant. In late

1967 or early 1968, Parvin-Dohrmann Co., of which

plaintiff was chief executive, was hired to design and

furnish DOC’s new offices and to furnish Marvin

Davis’s home both in Denver. Marvin Davis testified

that while Parvin was in Denver in January and Febru-

ary 1968, the Davises obtained the lease for the Savoie

program and invited Parvin to join them in the project.

According to Mr. Davis, Parvin immediately agreed

to participate. This agreement was not reduced to writ-

ing. Parvin denies that the meeting occurred and says

that he first became interested in investing in DOC

in August 1966 when he met Jack Davis in Los An-

geles. Then, on February 20, 1968, Jack Davis tele-

phoned him and offered him an interest in the Savoie

program. Under either version, Parvin mailed $15,000 -

to DOC in Denver on February 20. Marvin Davis

acknowledged the receipt of plaintiff’s check on Febru-

ary 27.

|

After the Savoie agreement, Jack and Marvin Davis

met with Parvin twice in Los Angeles, but there was

no indication that any significant discussion of Parvin’s

participation in future DOC projects took place at

that time. On July 1, 1968 Jack Davis mailed a letter

to Parvin which mentioned an investment in some

wells in Louisiana and said that further information

would be sent to Parvin if he indicated an interest.

On July 3, 1968, Davis sent Parvin duplicate originals

of a written agreement, signed on behalf of DOC,

selling Parvin an interest in the Offset wells. Parvin

signed the agreement in Los Angeles and sent one

executed copy back to Davis. Letter agreements on

this project were handled in the same manner.

On July 24, 1968, Jack Davis wrote to Parvin

in California offering him an interest in the Wildcat

program and inclosing duplicate originals of a written

agreement signed on behalf of DOC. Parvin wrote

to the Davises questioning some aspects of the program

and a meeting was arranged in Denver for August

3. At that meeting Wildcat was discussed and it appears

that Parvin orally agreed to participate in the program

at that time. On. August 6, 1968, he mailed an executed

copy of the agreement and his check from Los Angeles

to the Davises in Denver.

Plaintiff subsequently brought suit against defendants

for violation of the Securities Act of 1933, the Securities

Exchange Act of 1934, and the California Corporations

Code as it existed prior to January 1969. After trial,

the district court dismissed the action. On appeai, plain-

tiff challenges the findings of the district court that:

(1) the interests in the gas and oil leases involved

in these transactions were not securities under federal

and California law; (2) there were insufficient contacts

with California to render these transactions subject

ial a

to that state’s laws; (3) the registration provisions

of the Securities Act of 1933 did not apply to these

transactions because they were private offerings. Error

is also alleged in the court’s refusal to admit certain

evidence on the issue of the security status of the

interests involved and in the failure of the district

court to find a violation of the Securitiés Exchange

Act of 1934 when defendants did not disclose the

nonregistration of the interests and the failure to obtain

a California permit.

I. Were the Interests Securities?

In order for the federal or state securities law to

apply to these transactions, the interests involved must

have been securities. These interests were fractional

interests in oil and gas leases where the seller of

the interests would conduct oil exploration operations

on the leased land. Both the federal and California

statutes include a fractional interest in an oil or gas

lease within the definition of a security. 15 U.S.C.

§ 77(b)(1); Corporations Code § 25008(a).’ This

circuit has not determined under what circumstances

such a fractional interest is a security under federal

law. Those other circuits which have considered the

issue have held such an interest to be a security when

the seller or a third party will conduct drilling oper-

ations on the land subject to the leases and it is

from these operations that the buyer expects to derive

his profit. Nor-Tex Agencies, Inc. v. Jones, 482 F.2d

1All references to “Corporations Code” refer to the 1949

version of the California Securities Law, Ch. 384, § 1,

[1949], Cal.Stats. 698, as formerly codified at Cal.Corp.Code

§§ 25000-26104 (1955). These sections were replaced with

the Corporate Securities Law of 1968, Cal.Corp.Code §§ 25000-

25804 (Supp. 1975), which became operative on January

2, 1969...

ae

1093 (Sth Cir. 1973); Gilbert v. Nixon, 429 F.2d

348 (10th Cir. 1970).

Further, this court has established a test for determin-

ing when an interest is an investment contract and,

therefore, a security. SEC v. Glen W. Turner Enter-

prises, Inc., 474 F.2d 476 (9th Cir. 1973). An interest

in an enterprise is an investment contract where “the

efforts made by those other than the investor are the

undeniably significant ones, those essential managerial

efforts which effect the success or failure of the enter-

prise.” Applying that test it is clear that the oil interests

sold in this case are investment contracts and therefore

securities under the law of this circuit. While Parvin

and the other investors had some rights with regard

to these operations including the right to decide whether

to continue drilling past the casing point, the major

decisions which would effect success or failure were

made by the Davises. They selected the leases to be

invested in, the sites to be drilled, and made the

decision to commerce drilling at any site. In addition

they directed the drilling and exploration operations.

Under the Turner test it is clear that the degree of

control possessed by Parvin was not adequate to make

the interest other than an investment contract.”

California law appears equally clear. That state’s

courts have continually held that fractional interests

in oil or gas leases coupled with the seller’s obligation

to conduct an exploration or drilling operation are

2In United Housing Foundation v. Forman, 421 U.S. 837,

95 S.Ct. 2051, 44 L.Ed.2d 621, 632 n.15 (1975), the

Supreme Court declined to rule on the propriety of the test

of investment contract adopted by this court in Turner. The

interests involved in this case are securities either as a fractional

oil lease coupled with an exploration operation or as an

investment contract within the meaning of Turner.

os See

securities. Oil Lease Service, Inc. v. Stephenson, 162

Cal.App.2d 100, 327 P.2d 628 (1958). The district

court was in error in holding that the interests sold

were not securities under federal and California law.

II. Should California Law Apply to These Transac-

tions?

The district court held that even if the interests

involved were securities under California law, that the

transactions lacked adequate contact with California

to make an application of that state’s law proper.

This was based on the determination of the district

court that the portions of any of the three transactions

that took place in California were not sufficient to

amount to a sale or issuance of securities in California.

At the time of the transactions involved here, the

California Securities Law provided:

Every security of its own issue sold issued by

any company without a permit of the commissioner

then in effect authorizing the issuance or sale

of the security is void.

Corporations Code § 26100.

The application of this section to sales by out-of-

State issuers to California residents is unclear. Prior

to 1947, the voiding provision applied only to securities

issued in California, not to those sold in California.

Under that wording, the Supreme Court of California

in Robbins v. Pacific Eastern Corp., 8 Cal.2d 241,

65 P.2d 42 (1937), held that the voiding provision

did not apply to a transaction where there were negotia-

tions in California but the actual delivery of the stock

took place in New York. This opinion has been inter-

preted as saying that the former voiding provision

—

would not apply unless there was an actual issuance

or delivery of the stock in California. Loss, The Conflict

of Laws and the Blue Sky Laws, 71 Harv.L.Rev.

209, 230-39 (1957). There has been no California

Supreme Court opinion on the reach of the voiding

provision now that the sale of stock is included in

its terms.

There are two sources which aid in the interpretation

of this provision. First, the California permit require-

ment with attached criminal penalties applied to both

sales and issuance of stock in the state, even prior

to 1947. Corporations Code § 25500. The statute

defines sale for these purposes as including “an offer

to sell; an attempt to sell; a solicitation of a sale;

an option of sale; a contract of sale . . .” Corporations

Code § 25009(a). The decision under this section

deal largely with whether preliminary negotiations or

the giving of information amount to an offer or solicita-

tion of a sale. See e.g., B. C. Turf & Country Club,

Ltd. v. Daugherty, 94 Cal.App.2d 320, 210 P.2d 760

(1949); People v. Rankin, 169 Cal.App.2d 150, 337

P.2d 182 (1959). From these cases, however, it

seems clear that where any statutory element of a

sale takes place in California, its courts have been

willing to apply injunctive relief or criminal penalties

for failure to obtain a permit. The second aid in

our interpretation of the amended voiding provision

is the opinion of the California Court of Appeals

in Hardy v. Musicraft Records, Inc., 93 Cal.App.2d

968, 209 P.2d 839 (1949). In this opinion the court

held void some securities which it found to be both

sold and issued in California. This case was decided

under the unamended “issue” version of the voiding

provision and the court found issuance in the delivery

wa: am

of the securities in California. The court also treated

the issue of whether there was a sale in California

and found that when an agreement was drafted in

New York and then sent to a California resident to

sign and return to New York, there was a sale in

California. Two recent district court opinions have

interpreted the new voiding section in light of the prior

Robbins decision to apply only where there is either

the execution of a sales contract in California or de-

livery in that state. See Robinson v. Cupples Container

Co., 316 F.Supp. 1362 (N.D.Cal.1970) aff'd 513 F.2d

1274 (9th Cir. 1975); Sandor v. Ruffer, Ballan &

Co., 309 F.Supp. 849 (S.D.N.Y. 1970).

Applying these principles to the case before us, we

cannot agree with the district court that California

law should not apply to these transactions. While there

are extensive Colorado contacts here and the parties

did not intentionally seek to evade California law,

there seems to be adequate contacts with California

in this case to mandate application of the permit require-

ment. Here, the second sale of stock was almost identi-

cal to the situation in Hardy. The agreement was

drafted without a prior meeting in Denver, and then

sent to Parvin who signed it and returned it to

Denver. The sending of this agreement into California,

its signing there by Parvin, and its return constitute

a sale of securities in California. The third transaction

is similar to the second except that before Parvin signed

the agreement in California there was a meeting between

the parties in Denver. Even if all of the terms of

the agreement were settled upon orally in Denver,

the prior sending of the agreement to Parvin and

his subsequent signing of it in California constitute

a sale of securities in California. The first transaction

eh ene

—_

presents the most difficult question. There was an oral

agreement between the parties in Denver and no written

agreement was executed. As the purpose of the Califor-

nia Securities Law is to protect investor-residents, we

consider that the payment by Parvin in the form of

a check mailed from California, constituted a sale

of securities in California so as to apply the voiding

provision. The extent of the transactions contacts with

Colorado is irrelevant. The question is not one of

which jurisdiction’s law ought to apply based on the

greatest number of contacts, but rather whether the

appellees by their actions brought themselves within

the scope of the California Securities Law. We find

that they did.

Ill. Do the California Joint Venture Exemption and

the Federal Private Offering Exemption Apply

to these Transactions?

Since we have found that the interests involved were

securities under federal and California law and that

the transactions were sales within California, the ques-

tion remains whether any exemptions apply to render

the state permit requirement or the federal registration

requirement inapplicable.

Corporations Code § 25100 exempts from the permit

requirement securities which are bona fide joint venture

interests and which are not offered for sale to the

public. The district court held that the interests in

this case were not securities and it specifically did

not reach the issue of whether a joint venture exemption

would apply. While the district court did make com-

ments on the joint venture issue, it did not make

findings on the relevant factual issues or make a ruling

on the application of this exemption. Because we have

i” euke dan ee

a es

held these interests to be securities, their exempt status

is relevant to a final determination of this case. There-

fore, on remand the district court should consider wheth-

er these securities qualify for a joint venture exemption.

The district court found that the private offering

exemption applied to the transactions in this case and

therefore the Securities Act of 1933 did not require

their registration. The Supreme Court in SEC v. Ralston

Purina Co., 346 U.S. 119, 73 S.Ct. 981, 97 L.Ed.

1494 (1953), set out the requirements of the private

offering exemption. A private offering is one where

the investors do not need the protection of the Act

because they already have access to the kind of infor-

mation that would be contained in a registration state-

ment. Investor sophistication alone is inadequate, there

must also be demonstrated the requisite access to infor-

mation. Borton & Rifkin, Private Placement and Pro-

posed Rule 145, 25 Hastings L.J. 287, 295-303 (1974).

While the district court found in this case that Parvin

was a previous investor in gas and oil properties and

that by the terms of the agreements he had access

to some information, the findings of the court do not

indicate whether Parvin had full access to the sort

of information that would have appeared in the regis-

tration statement. Absent a determination of this issue,

there can be no ruling on whether the private offering

exemption applies. On remand the district court should

make more specific findings as to what information

Parvin had as an experienced investor and what informa-

tion he could obtain under the terms of the agreement.

—j19—

Appellants argue that the district court erred in failing

to find that the nondisclosure of the lack of a permit

and nonregistration of the securities violated the Se-

curities Exchange Act of 1934. Since we have made

no determination as to whether registration or a permit

are required, any ruling on this alleged violation would

be premature.

Reversed and remanded for proceedings consistent

with this opinion.

~ =

APPENDIX “C”.

Judgment.

United States District Court, Central District of Cali-

fornia.

A. B. PARVIN, Plaintiff, v. DAVIS OIL COM-

PANY, a partnership, JACK DAVIS, MARVIN DA-

VIS, PAUL MESSINGER, Defendants. Case No. 70-

1529 RJK.

Filed: Jan. 11, 1977.

This action came on for trial before the Court,

Honorable Robert J. Kelleher, District Judge, presiding,

and the issues having been duly tried and decisions

having been duly rendered in accordance with Memo-

randa of Decisior filed October 24, 1973 and June

16, 1976 and the Court having made and filed its

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law it is hereby:

1. ORDERED, ADJUDGED, and DECREED that

plaintiff have judgment against defendants Davis Oil

Company, Jack Davis, and Marvin Davis, jointly and

severally, in the sum of $213,905.15, together with

his costs of suit in the amount of .... .............

2. IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED,

and DECREED, that upon satisfaction of paragraph

1 of this Judgment all interest of plaintiff in the leases

described in this Court’s Memorandum of Decision

filed October 24, 1973 and division orders issued to

plaintiff in connection therewith are vested in defendant

Davis Oil Company.

3. IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED

and DECREED that upon satisfaction of paragraph

1 of this Judgment plaintiff shall deliver to defendant

Davis Oil Company, at the offices of its attorneys,

=

Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher, the following checks fully

endorsed, which were received by plaintiff but never

cashed.

Dated Amount

November 25, 1969 $ 98.52

February 9, 1970 1,116.09

February 26, 1970 80.06

March 23, 1970 447.52

April 24, 1970 733.43

May 25, 1970 585.69

June 24, 1970 394.61

June 24, 1970 236.85

August 24, 1970 79.67

September 22, 1970 277.86

December 24, 1970 133.01

January 25, 1971 86.97

February 23, 1971 86.90

April 27, 1971 103.09

October 24, 1971 60.96

Dated at Los Angeles, California this 31 day of

December, 1976.

ROBERT J. KELLEHER

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

Approved as to form: GIBSON, DUNN & CRUTCH-

ER, IRWIN F. WOODLAND, J. EDD STEPP, JR.,

RICHARD CHERNICK.

By J. Edd Stepp, Jr., Counsel for Defendants.

Presented by: TYRE & KAMINS, PETER M. AP-

PLETON.

By /s/ Peter M. Appleton, Peter M. Appleton,

Counsel for Plaintiff.

—

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law.

United States District Court, Central District of Cali-

fornia.

A. B. PARVIN, Plaintiff, v. DAVIS OIL COM-

PANY, a partnership, JACK DAVIS, MARVIN DA-

VIS, PAUL MESSINGER, Defendants. CASE NO.

70-1529-RJK.

Filed: Jan. 11, 1977.

This action, having been tried upon the facts by

the Court without a jury, the Court does hereby find

the facts and states separately its Conclusions of Law

thereon and directs the entry of the appropriate judg-

ment as follows:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The Court’s Memorandum of Decision filed on

October 24, 1973 as modified and addended by the

Court’s Memorandum of Decision filed June 16, 1976

and as addended hereby shall be deemed the Court’s

Findings of Fact. The Court’s memoranda filed on

October 24, 1973 and June 16, 1976 are hereby incor-

porated herein by this reference.

2. As damages, plaintiff is entitled to return of

the monies which he paid to defendants in these trans-

actions less what he received. That amount is $213,-

905.15.

3. The Court, in the exercise of its discretion, finds

that plaintiff should not be awarded any prejudgment

interest.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The Court’s Memorandum of Decision filed on

October 24, 1973 as modified and addended by the

Court’s Memorandum of Decision filed June 16, 1975

and as addended hereby shall be deemed the Court’s

Conclusions of Law. The Court’s memoranda filed on

—

October 24, 1973 and June 16, 1976 are hereby incor-

porated herein by this reference.

2. An award of prejudgment interest in a case

such as this involving violations of the Federal Securities

Laws rests within the equitable discretion of this Court.

3. Under California Law plaintiff is not entitled

to prejudgment interest as a matter of right. An award

of prejudgment interest in a case such as this wherein

a plaintiff recovers monies which he paid for securities

issued without a permit in violation of Section 25100

of the 1949 version of the California Corporate Securi-

ties Law, Ch. 384, § 1 [1949], Cal. State 698, as

formerly codified at Cal. Corp. Code § 25000-26104

(1955), rests within the discretion of the Court.

4. The Court, in the exercise of its discretion, con-

cludes that plaintiff should not be awarded any prejudg-

ment interest on either his California or Federal Securi-

ties Law claim.

5. Plaintiff is entitled to $213,905.15 in damages

under Section 25100 of the 1949 version of the Cali-

fornia Corporate Securities Law and under 15 U.S.C.

Section 78aa.

6. Plaintiff is entitled to recover his costs of suit.

Let judgment be entered accordingly.

Dated: December ........ , 1976.

United States District Judge

Approved as to form: Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher,

Irwin F. Woodland, J. Edd Stepp, Jr., Richard Cher-

nick.

By J. Edd Stepp, Jr., Counsel for Defendants. /

Presented by: Tyre & Kamins, Peter M. Appleton.

By /s/ Peter M. Appleton, Peter M. Appleton,

Counsel for Plaintiff.

= =

Memorandum of Decision.

United States District Court, Central District of Cali-

fornia.

A. B. Parvin, Plaintiff, v. Davis Oil Company, a

partnership, Jack Davis, Marvin Davis and Paul Mes-

singer, Defendants. No. 70-1529-RJK.

Filed: June 16, 1976.

This suit, currently on remand from the Ninth Circuit

Court of Appeals, began as an action by plaintiff

against the defendant oil company for damages concern-

ing certain investment contracts. Plaintiff claims these

transactions to be in violation of both the California

and federal securities laws. This court, sitting without

a jury, dismissed the action, finding that: (1) the

oil and gas lease interests purchased by the plaintiff

were not securities under either California or federal

law; (2) the transactions involved insufficient contacts

with California to afford the protections of that state’s

laws; and (3) the transactions were private offerings

and hence exempt from the registration requirements

of the Securities Act of 1933. Plaintiff appealed all

three rulings.

The Court of Appeals reversed on each of these

grounds and remanded for further proceedings on the

exemptions issue. First, the Court found these invest-

ment contracts to be securities under both federal and

California law. Specifically, the Court held these con-

tracts qualified as securities under the federal test estab-

lished in Securities and Exchange Commission v. Glen

W. Turner Enterprises, Inc., 474 F.2d 476 (9th Cir.

1973), being transactions “where ‘the efforts made

by those other than the investor are the undeniably

significant ones, those essential managerial efforts which

—

effect the success or failure of the enterprise.’” (Par-

vin v. Davis Oil Company, 524 F.2d 112, 115-116

(1975)). The Court also found California law viewed

these transactions as securities, being contracts which

afforded the investor “fractional interests in oil or

gas leases coupled with the seller’s obligation to conduct

an exploration or drilling operation . . . .” Parvin

v. Davis Oil Company, supra.

Second, the Court of Appeals found the actions

which the plaintiff took, while in California, to finalize

these investment contracts were sufficient to establish

the sales as having taken place in that state, and,

thus, as being subject to its laws.

Third, the Court found the investor sophistication

test used by this court in determining that these transac-

tions qualified for the private offering exemption from

the registration requirement of the Securities Act of

1933 was insufficient as it did not determine whether

or not the investor actually had access to the sort

of information which would have been contained in

a registration statement. The case was thus remanded

for determination of both this issue, and that of whether

or not these transactions qualified for the joint venture

exemption under the California permit requirement,

the latter an issue not reached by this court. Parvin

v. Davis Oil Company, 524 F.2d 112, 118 (1975).

As this action was tried without a jury, and, further,

as each party was afforded a full opportunity at trial

to present all relevant evidence, no further proceedings

need be held in order to comply with the mandate

of the Court of Appeals for more specific findings. .

Irish v. United States, 225 F.2d 3, 8 (9th Cir. 1955).

Nor is there a need to hear the evidence already

given a second time. /ngraham vy. Wright, 498 F.2d

—26—

248, 265 (Sth Cir. 1974); Gulbenkian v. Gulbenkian,

147 F.2d 173, 177 (2nd Cir. 1945). Accordingly,

this court will proceed to make its determination.

_ The court finds as follows: (1) that these transactions

fail to qualify for the joint venture exemption from

the California Corporate Securities Law permit require-

ment; (2) that these transactions also fail to qualify

for the private offering exemption from the registration

requirement of the Securities Act of 1933; (3) that

the defendants’ failure to inform the plaintiff that the

securities were not registered under either California

or federai law constitutes a violation of §10(b) of

the Securities and Exchange Act of 1934; and, thus,

(4) that the plaintiff is entitled to the relief he seeks.

I. The California Joint Venture Exemption

This action arose under the old California Corporate

Securities Law (California Corporation Code §§25000

et seq. [West 1954]), adopted in 1949, and amended

as of January 2, 1969. Section 25100 of that law'

demands that an issuer obtain a permit before selling

any security. The defendants obtained no such permit;

they claim that none was required as these transctions

fall within the joint venture exemption from that re-

quirement.

A joint venture is defined as “an undertaking by

two or more persons jointly to carry out a single

enterprise for profit.” Stillwell v. Trutanich, 178 Cal.

App. 2d 614 (2 Dist. 1960); Vicioso v. Watson,

4Section 25100 reads as follows:

Except as otherwise expressly provided in this division,

the Curporate Securities Law does not apply to any of

the following classes of securities: . . . (m) Any Bes

fide joint adventure interest, except such interests when

offered to the public.

—

325 F.Supp. 1071, 1075 (C.D. Cal. 1971). California

law has required four elements be present in order

for a joint venture to be found, these being: “(1)

a community of interest among the parties, (2) a

share in profits and losses, (3) a close and fiduciary

relationship between the parties, and (4) a right to

control possessed by each party.” Vicioso v. Watson,

supra; Stillwell v. Trutanich, supra at 288; Goldberg

v. Paramount Oil Company, 143 Cal. App. 2d 215

(2 Dist. 1956).

By far the most important of these elements to

the finding of a joint venture is the right to control.

Bank of California v. Connolly, 36 Cal. App. 3d

350 (4 Dist. 1974). A joint venture can be found

to exist where the parties have unequally exercised

their right of control, as where certain functions have

been delegated to certain of the parties (Stillwell v.

Trutanich, supra); however, the essential inquiry con-

cerns whether or not the right itself exists. Bank of

California v. Connolly, supra; Vicioso v. Watson, supra.

“Absent such right, the mere fact that one party is

to receive benefits in consideration . . . for capital

contribution does not, as a matter of law, make him

a partner or a joint venturer.” Bank of California

v. Connolly, supra, at 364.

The question of whether or not a joint venture

exists must finally became a matter of “determining

the intention of the parties.” Holtz v. United Plumbing

and Heating Company, 49 Cal. 2d 501, 319 P.2d

617, 620 (1957). The court finds there was no such

intent present here.

An initial indication of these parties’ intent is found

in the Operating Agreement itself. Paragraph 21 of

this document states:

iis

The liability of the parties shall be several, not

joint or collective ... . It is not the intention

of the parties to create, nor shall this agreement

be construed as creating a mining or other part-

nership or association, or to render them liable

as partners.

As the incidents of partnership and of joint venture

are essentially identical (Bank of California v. Con-

nolly, supra, at 364), and as the “[r]ights and liabilities

of joint venturers, as between themselves, are governed

by the same principles which apply to a partnership”

(Bank of California v. Connolly, supra, at 371), such

a statement negates any inference from this agreement

itself of an intent to form a joint venture.

Of course, the court is not limited in its inquiry

to written agreements, but may look to all the facts

and circumstances of the situation, including the subse-

quent conduct of the parties. Connor v. Great Western

Savings and Loan Association, 69 Cal. 2d 850, 73

Cal. Rptr. 369, 447 P.2d 609 (1969); Rickless v.

Temple, 4 Cal. App. 3d 869 (2 Dist. 1970). However,

all such circumstances here fail to establish an intent

to create a joint venture. As the Court of Appeals

recognized, the investors here had but a minimal right

of control, sufficient neither in name nor in exercise

for the finding of a joint venture. By agreement, these

investors were entitled to receive notices concerning

the progress of the drilling, were afforded simple access

to the drilling sites, and were allowed a voice in decid-

ing whether or not to drill past the casing point. How-

ever, the major decisions—those most affecting the

ultimate success or failure of the enterprise—were to

be made solely by the defendants.

a

Thus, as he had an insufficient right of control

over the essentials of the drilling operations involved

here, the plaintiff was not, as a matter of law, a

joint venturer, and, thus, these transactions do not

qualify for the joint venture exemption from the permit

requirement of the California Corporate Securities Law.

II. The Federal Private Offering Exemption

Under the Securities Act of 1933 (15 U.S.C. §77

e), there must first be a registration statement in

effect with regard to a security before it may be sold

through or carried in interstate commerce or the mails.

This registration requirement does not apply, however,

to “transactions by an issuer not involving any public

offering.” 15 U.S.C. §77d(2). It is this exemption

which the defendants here claim.

In Securities and Exchange Commission y. Ralston

Purina Company, 346 U.S. 119 (1953), the Supreme

Court set forth guidelines for determining when an

offering of securities is indeed a private one. In so

doing, the court focused upon the intent of the 1933

Act, noting that the “design of the statute is to protect

investors by promoting full disclosure of information

"Section 5 of the 1933 Act (15 U.S.C. §77e) reads, in

pertinent part:

(a) Unless a registration statement is in effect as to

a security, it shall be unlawful for any person, directly

or indirectly—

(1) to make use of any means or instruments of

transportation or communication in interstate

commerce or of the mails to sell such security

through the use or medium of any prospectus

or otherwise; or

(2) to carry or cause to be carried through the

mails or in interstate commerce, by any means

or instruments of transportation, any such se-

curity for the purpose of sale or for delivery

after sale.

a

thought necessary to informed investment decisions.”

Securities and Exchange Commission v. Ralston Purina

Company, supra, at 124. Thus, the Court stated that:

. the applicability of [the private offering

exemption] should turn on whether the particular

class of pérsons affected need the protection of

the Act. An offering to those who are shown

to be able to fend for themselves is a transac-

tion “not involving any public offering.” Securities

and Exchange Commission v. Ralston Purina Com-

pany, supra, at 125.

A prima facie case for the alleged violation of the

registration requirement of the 1933 Act must set

forth that “(1) no registration statement was in effect

as to the securities, (2) the defendant sold or offered

to sell these securities, and (3) interstate transportation

or communication and the mails were used in connection

with the sale or offer of sale.” Securities and Exchange

Commission v. Continental Tobacco Company of South

Carolina, Inc., 463 F.2d 137, 155 (Sth Cir. 1972).

This much the plaintiff has established; the burden

is thus upon the defendant to prove these transactions

qualify for the private offering exemption. Securities

and Exchange Commission v. Sunbeam Gold Mining

Company, 95 F.2d 699, 701 (9th Cir. 1938).

At trial, testimony was offered as to the information

actually afforded the plaintiff both before and during

his relationship with the oil company. Before investing,

the plaintiff was given an opportunity to discuss with

the defendants such particulars as the site maps, the

engineering and geological reports, and the overall pros-

pects of the intended drillings. During the actual opera-

tions themselves, the plaintiff was kept informed con-

cerning the day-to-day progress of the drilling. No evi-

dl un

dence was offered, however, which established that

the plaintiff had access to the kind of information

which would have been available to him had a regis-

tration statement been properly filed by the oil com-

pany.* There was a failure to afford to plaintiff the

following: (1) information concerning the company’s

capital assets; (2) the costs of the offering; (3) the

intended use of the proceeds of the offering; (4) the

company’s other offerings; (5) the company’s overall

assets and debts; (6) the company’s profit and loss

statements for several previous years; and (7) copies

of and information concerning every material contract

made between the company and any other party.

Thus, the defendants have failed to sustain their

burden of proof. Accordingly, this court finds the de-

fendants’ transactions to have been in violation of §5

of the Securities Act of 1933.

Ill. The Securities and Exchange Act of 1934

Plaintiff cannot predicate his claim for relief simply

upon the defendants’ violation of §5 of the 1933 Act,

for that Act’s statute of limitations has already run

(15 U.S.C. §77m). However, relief may be afforded

under the Securities and Exchange Act of 1934.

The wrongful concealment of the fact that a security

is not registered pursuant to the requirement of the

8The information required to be included in a registration

statement is set out in 15 U.S.C. §77aa. Briefly stated, other

than the information already mentioned, such a statement must

include detailed information concerning:

(1) the issuer’s identity; (2) the identity of the issuer’s

executive personnel and of its promoters; (3) the identity

of, and copies of any agreements with, the issuer’s under-

writers; (4) the character of the issuer’s business; and

(5) the prices of the securities. Some further information

is required for the registration of oil and gas interests

or rights by the S.E.C.’s Form S-10.

mee ee

Securities Act of 1933 has been held to be a material

omission in violation of Rule 10b-5 (17 C.F.R. §240.10

b-5), and thus actionable under the 1934 Act with

its different limitations period. Katz v. Amos Treat

Company, 411 F.2d 1046, 1055 (2nd Cir. 1969);

Osbourne v. Mallory, 86 F.Supp. 869, 879. See also

Rotstein v. Reynolds and Company, 359 F.Supp. 109,

112 (N.D. Ill. 1973). As the 1934 Act does not

provide any particular limitation period within which

10b-5 actions must be brought, the court must look

to the period provided by the forum. Osbourne v.

Mallory, supra. California law’ provides a “three-year

statute of limitations, which begins to run when a

plaintiff knows or should have known of the fraud.”

Nichols v. Canoga Electronics Corp., No. 74-1808 (9th

Cir. February 11, 1976). As the series of transactions

between plaintiff and defendants concerned here began

in 1968, and as the plaintiff filed suit in July of

1970, the plaintiff's action is timely with respect to

the 1934 Act.

From the foregoing, it appears, and the court finds,

that on the liability issue the plaintiff must prevail.

On the issue of damages, which was not reached at

4Cal.Civ.Proc.Code §388(4) (West 1954); Cal.Civ.Code §19

(West 1954).

Cal.Civ.Proc.Code §338(4) read, in pertinent part:

Within three years: .. .

4. An action for relief on the ground of fraud or mistake.

The cause of action in such case not be deemed

to have accrued until the discovery, by the aggrieved

party, of the facts constituting the fraud or mistake.

Cal.Civ.Code §19 reads, in pertinent part:

Every person who has actual notice of circumstances

sufficient to put a prudent man upon inquiry as to a

, particular fact, has constructive notice of the fact itself

in all cases in which, by prosecuting such inquiry, he

might have learned such fact.

ne ne a ate ne ase ee

cine

the trial, the parties are ordered to proceed in accord-

ance with the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and

the Rules of this Court to prepare, serve and file

appropriate Memoranda of Contentions of Fact and

Law and a Proposed Pretrial Conference Order. Pretrial

Conference is set for August 2, 1976, at 10:00 a.m.

The Clerk is ordered to serve by mail on the attorneys

for the parties a copy of this Memorandum of Decision.

DATED: June 16, 1976.

Robert J. Kelleher

United States District Judge

_— =

Memorandum of Decision.

In the United States District Court for the Central

District of California.

A. B. Parvin, Plaintiff, v. Davis Oil Company, a

partnership, Jack Davis, Marvin Davis and Paul Mes-

singer, Defendants. Civil No. 70-1529-RJK.

Filed: Oct. 24, 1973.

Pursuant to the stipulation of the parties, and as

set forth in the second amended pre-trial conference

order, this case proceeded to trial bifurcated into two

parts (hereinafter referied to as Trial “A” and Trial

“B”). After receipt of evidence, oral and documentary,

and after hearing argument of counsel, the Court or-

dered the matter submitted as to the issues tendered

on Triai “A”.

This action was brought by the plaintiff, A. B.

Parvin, against Davis Oil Company (a partnerhsip com-

posed of Jack Davis, Marvin Davis and Jean Davis)

and against Jack Davis, Marvin Davis and Paul Mes-

singer, seeking to recover damages from defendants

arising from the alleged offer in sale by defendants

to plaintiff of fractional interests in three oil and gas

drilling programs, consisting of nine separate explora-

tory oil and gas wells, and underlying leases, the plain-

tiff contending that each of the transactions constituted

an offer in sale of securities allegedly in violation

of section 12 of the Securities Act of 1933 as amended

(15 U.S.C. § 77(1)0, section 10(b) of the Securities

and Exchange Act of 1934, as amended (15 U.S.C.

§ 78J(b)), Rule 10b-5, enacted under the Securities

and Exchange Act of 1934 (17 C.F.R. § 240.10b-

5), and the California Corporate Securities Law as

it existed prior to January 1, 1969, being sections

iat

a

25000, et seqg., and more particularly sections 25500,

26100 and 26104.

Defendants contend that the interests purchased by

the plaintiff did not constitute securities under any

of the foregoing State or Federal statutes.

Jurisdiction is asserted under the applicable sections

of the Federal Securities Act and with respect to the

claim of violation of the Calfornia Corporations Code,

diversity of citizenship and the appropriate jurisdictional

amount is claimed.

Most of the facts are admitted as follows:

1. Jack Davis, Marvin Davis, and Paul Messinger

were at all times herein mentioned and are now residents

of Denver, Colorado. A. B. Parvin was at all times

herein mentioned and is now a resident of Beverly

Hills, California.

2. Davis Oil Company was at all times herein

mentioned and is now a partnerhsip composed of Jack

Davis, Marvin Davis, and Jean Davis, with its principal

place of business in Denver, Colorado.

3. On or about February 6, 1968, Wilmer I. Pool,

as assignor, assigned to Davis Oil Company, as assignee,

assignor’s interest in two mineral leases covering the

real estate described in said assignment and located

in LaFourche Parish, Louisiana. On or about March

12, 1968, Pan American Petroleum Corporation as

sublessor, and Davis Oil Company, as sublessee, entered

into a sublease of the working interest in the oil,

gas, and mineral leases described in said sublease and

located in LaFourche Parish, Louisiana. Said assign-

ment and sublease or the exploratory oil and gas well

drilled thereon are herein described as “C. E. Savoie

Unit No. 1” or “Savoie.”

—

4. On or about February 16, 1968, Perrin-Marsh-

land, a joint venture, entered into a written agreement

with Davis Oil Company under the terms of which

Perrin-Marshland acquired 30% of Davis Oil Com-

pany’s interest in the Savoie program. On or about

February 23, 1968, Mortimer M. Caplin and Davis

Oil Company entered into a written agreement under

the terms of which Caplin acquired 124% of Davis

Oil Company’s interest in Savoie. On or about March

1, 1968, Julius Livingston and Davis Oil Company

entered into a written agreement under the terms of

which Livingston acquired 1242% of Davis Oil Com-

pany’s interest in Savoie. Plaintiff A. B. Parvin acquired

a 1/8% (12%%) interest in Savoie or $15,000

on or about February 27, 1968. No written agreement

was executed between Mr. Parvin and Davis Oil Com-

pany with respect to the purchase of this interest.

5. Drilling of the Savoie test well commenced. on

or about March 1, 1968. The well was not commercially

successful and none of the participants received any

income from his interest in Savoie. The underlying

oil, gas and mineral leases have, by their terms, expired.

6. The Offset program consisted of the following

four exploratory oil and gas well prospects: (a) North

La Rose Prospect (P. G. Lake No. 1); (b) North

Veltin Field Prospect (N. A. Pellerin No. 1); (c)

Avondale Prospect (S. D. G. Robicheaux No. 1);

and (d) East Bayou Henry Prospect (Sohio-Wilbert

No. 1). Said exploratory oil and gas well prospects,

the underlying oil, gas and mineral leases or the explora-

tory oil and gas wells drilled thereon are herein de-

scribed collectively as “Offset Program.”

7. On or about January 22, 1968, William R.

Bullen, Jr., as lessor, and Davis Oil Company, as

aed a

he bine

~~

lessee, entered into an oil, gas, and mineral lease cover-

ing the real estate described in said lease and located in

LaFourche Parish, Louisiana. Said lease or the explora-

tory oil and gas well drilled thereon are herein described

as “P. G. Lake No. 1” or “Lake.”

8. On or about July 20, 1968, Frederick Lionel

Maryer, attorney in fact for lessor, and Davis Oil

Company, as lessee, entered into a gas and mineral

lease covering the real estate described in said lease

and located in St. Landry Parish, Louisiana. Said lease

or the exploratory oil and gas well drilled thereon

are herein described as “N. A. Pellerin No. 1” or

“Pellerin.”

9. On or about July 1, 1968, Mrs. Sara Day

Gibbens Robicheaux and eighteen other persons, as

lessors, and Vincent R. Perrin, Jr., as lessee, entered

into an oil, gas, and mineral lease covering the real

estate described in said lease and located in Jefferson

Parish, Louisiana. On or about July 3, 1968, Vincent

R. Perrin, Jr., and Davis Oil Company, entered into

a written agreement under the terms of which Perrin

agreed to assign to Davis Oil Company a three-fourths

interest in the oil, gas, and mineral lease between

Perrin and Robicheaux, et al., on the conditions de-

scribed in said agreement. Said lease agreement and

the exploratory oil and gas well drilled thereon are

herein described as “S.D.G. Robicheaux No. 1” or

“Robicheaux.”

10. On or about December 12, 1967, Mable Helen

Cassidy Tieman,. Executrix of the estate of Helen Wil-

bert Cassidy, as lessor, and Davis Oil Company, as

lessee, entered into an oil and gas lease covering the

real estate described in said lease, and located in Iber-

ville Parish, Louisiana. On or about December 12,

ea Ne

1967, A. Wilbert Sons Lumber and Shingle Company, a

Louisiana corporation, and twenty-seven others, as

lessors, and Davis Oil Company, as lessee, entered

into an oil and gas lease covering the real estate

described in said lease and located in Iberville Parish,

Louisiana. Said lease or the exploratory oil and gas

wells drilled thereon are herein described as “Sohio-

Wilbert No. 1” or “Sohio-Wilbert.”

11. On or about June 25, 1968, Davis Oil Company

entered into written agreements with the following

named persons under the terms of which said persons

acquired portions of Davis Oil Company’s interest in

the Offset program as follows:

Mortimer M. Caplin 12.5%

Harold Toppel 11.25%

Manuel Vallecillo 1.25%

Salvatore Coletta 1.25%

Sergio Camero 1.25%

Edwin Epstein 2.5%

David Epstein 2.5%

George Toppel 2.5%

Milton Toppel 2.5%

On or about July 22, 1968, David L. Kreeger and

Marvin Willig each entered into a written agreement

with Davis Oil Company, under the terms of which

Kreeger and Willig each acquired 3.25% of Davis

Oil Company’s interest in the Offset program. On or

about August 5, 1968, Robert L. Heymann and Davis

Oil Company entered into a written agreement under

the terms of which Heymann acquired 1.5626% of

Davis Oil Company’s interest in the Offset program.

12. On or about September 4, 1968, Blaez, “td.,

a limited partnership, entered into a written agreement

with Davis Oil Company under the terms of which

“ i Bonde sive Rbabl Statin eased

ilies

Blaez, Ltd., acquired 1242% of Davis Oil Company’s

interest in the Sohio-Wilbert.

13. The parties have stipulated that with the excep-

tion of the names of the parties, the percentages of

their interests, the amounts of their payments and the

well prospects included, the terms of the agreements

between Davis Oil Company and each working interest

owner are the same.

14. Subsequent to plaintiff's investment in the C. E.

Savoie, the parties discussed plaintiffs participation

in further drilling programs. Following these discussions,

on or about July 1, 1968, Jack Davis, acting on

behalf of Davis Oil Company, at Denver, Colorado,

mailed to plaintiff A. B. Parvin, at Los Angeles, Cali-

fornia, a letter dated July 1, 1968, which read as

follows:

“Deal Al:

“Many, many thanks for your kindness on our

recent visit with Marvin and Jean. I really wanted

to discuss some things with you about a well,

but there was no time as you seemed to be in

a rush and a hurry and I did not want to disturb

[sic] you.

“I am really determined to get you some very

good oil reserves if I can. At this particular time

we have four direct offset wells to drill in Louisi-

ana, all have exceptionally large reserves. These

wells are deep and very expensive, but we can

put you in some of these if you so desire. If

you are interested I will send you all the maps

and reserve figures.

“We are going to commence these wells in July

and if you can give me a quick answer I can

—

elucidate you further if you are interested. You

can call me here at the office and I can proceed

immediately with information to you if you are

so inclined.

“These deals we usually keep for ourselves, but

Marvin and I feel we want to get you some

oil and believe this is an opportunity with driect

offset wells. These are. development fields. They

will run approximately 12,000 feet and a 1/16th

interest would be between $14,000.00 and $15,-

000.00.

“Al, you would not have to go, but these wells

really are minimum risk prospects. Would you

please let me know if you are interested as soon

as you can.

Very truly yours,

Jack Davis”

Said letter was received by Mr. Parvin in the oridnary

course of the United States mails. On or about July

3, 1968, Paul Messinger, as authorized agent for Davis

Oil Company, at Denver, Colorado, caused a written

agreement to be prepared and signed in duplicate on

behalf of Davis Oil Company. On or about July 3,

1968, Jack Davis, acting on behalf of Davis Oil Com-

pany, at Denver, Colorado, mailed to plaintiff A. B.

Parvin, at Los Angeles, California, a letter dated July

3, 1968, and the said written agreement. The letter

read as follows:

“Dear AI:

“Enclosed are the Agreements on the four offset

wells which we are commencing to drill in the

very near future in the State of Louisiana. If

all are successful, the monthly income and reserves

could be very substantial. I could get our engineers

pared

a a

to draw up the potential in each case, if you

so desire.

“I am not enclosing a geological map, but only

a plat of the acreage. They are all adjacent to

very large oi! and gas fields and are the equivalent

of development wells.

“I hope this brings good luck and will accomplish

what I am trying for you inasmuch as these

are not wildcats.

“I am leaving for New York and Washington

this coming Monday and will return to Denver

on Thursday evening. Let me know if you would

like more information.

“With regards from Jean and Marvin,

Sincerely,

Jack Davis”

Said letter and written agreement were received by

Mr. Parvin in the ordinary course of the United States

mails. Duplicate originals of both the “written agree-

ment” and “operating agreement” (the operating agree-

ment is Exhibit “B” to the written agreement) were

signed on behalf of Davis Oil Company, a partnership,

by Paul Messinger, its attorney in fact, when Mr.

Parvin received them in the mail. Mr. Parvin signed

the written agreement and put one fully executed copy

in his file, and returned by mail the other to Davis

Oil Company at Denver, Colorado.

15. On or about July 24, 1968, Paul Messinger,

as authorized agent for Davis Oil Company at Denver,

Colorado, caused a letter agreement to be prepared

and signed in duplicate on behalf of Davis Oil Com-

pany. On or about July 24, 1968, Jack Davis, acting

on behalf of Davis Oil Company, at Denver, Colorado,

mailed to plaintiff, A. B. Parvin, at Los Angeles,

sila

California, the letter and the letter agreement. Said

letter and letter agreement were received by Mr. Parvin

in the ordinary course of the mails. The duplicate

originals of the letter agreement were signed on behalf

of Davis Oil Company, a partnership, by Paul Mes-

singer, its attorney in fact, when Mr. Parvin received

them in the mail. Mr. Parvin signed the letter agree-

ment, put one fully executed copy in his file, and

mailed the other back to Davis Oil Company at Denver,

Colorado; it covered plaintiff's interest in the Offset

program.

16. The following constitutes a recap of the working

interest ownership in the Offset program as a result

of the transactions described in paragraphs 11, 12,

14 and 15:

Lake, Pellerin and Robicheaux—Working interest as

follows:

Mr. Harold Toppel 11.2500

Mr. George Toppel 2.5000

Mr. Milton Toppel 2.5000

Mr. Manuel Vallecillo 1.2500

Mr. Sergio Camero 1.2500

Mr. Edwin Epstein 2.5000

Mr. David Epstein 2.5000

Mr. Salvatore Coletta 1.2500

Mr. Mortimer Caplin 12.5000

Mr. David Kreeger 3.1250

Mr. Marvin Willig 3.1250

Mr. A. B. Parvin 7.8125

Mr. Robert L. Heymann 1.5625

DAVIS OIL COMPANY 46.8750

: Total 100.0000%

—43—

Sohio-W ilbert—W orking Interest as follows:

Mr. Haroid Toppel 11.2500

Mr. George Toppel 2.5000

Mr. Milton Toppel 2.5000

Mr. Manuel Vallecillo 1.2500

Mr. Sergio Camero 1.2500

Mr. Edwin Epstein 2.5000

Mr. David Epstein 2.5000

Mr. Salvatore Coletta 1.2500

Mr. Mortimer Caplin 12.5000

Mr. David Kreeger 3.1250

Mr. Marvin Willig 3.1250

Mr. A. B. Parvin 7.8125

Mr. Robert L. Heymann 1.5625

Blaez, Ltd. 12.5000

DAVIS OIL COMPANY 34.3740

Total 100.0000%

17. Mr. Parvin paid Davis Oil Company the

amounts required of him for his participation in the

Offset program as follows: July 8, 1968—$56,000.00,

and August 5, 1968—$14,000.00. -

18. Neither Lake, Robicheaux, nor Sohio-Wilbert

was commercially successful. The decision was made

to abandon Lake and Robicheaux at the casing point

without attempting to complete them as producers.

None of the participants received income from his

interests in Lake, Robicheaux, or Sohio-Wilbert. The

wells have been plugged and abandoned and the under-

lying oil, gas, and mineral leases have, by their terms,

expired.

ES EL Le

|

~~ 44— —45—

19. The decision was made to attempt to complete 20. Davis Oil Company, as operator, incurred the

Pellerin and Sohio-Wilbert as producers. Pursuant to following costs in drilling and/or completing the wells

the agreement, Mr. Parvin was billed for and paid constituting the Offset program:

the following amounts: Vole

November 6, 1968 $ 1,989.15 Drilling Cost $117,022.29

November 25, 1968 7,002.36 Land Acquisition 7500.00

December 23, 1968 4,215.93 if Seaeayind

January 15, 1969 232.79 Subtotal Cost $124,522.29

February 25, 1969 32.48 Minus Contribution 106,807.40

March 7, 1969 5,864.89 Total cost $ 17,714.89

March 31, 1969 95.21

April 28, 1969 16.59 Pellerin

May 20, 1969 1,565.81 Drilling Cost $120,495.42

July 21, 1969 230.32 Land Acquisition Cost 10,000.00

May 18, 1970 «i PRE ee RL eee, Noles

Subtotal Cost $130,495.42

Total $22,651.78 Minus Contribution 106,807.40

Plaintiff received the following receipts from his in- Total Cost $ 23,688.02

terest in Pellerin:

Total Cost of Completeion $160,124.27

venmary 19,1909 $232.45 Davis’ Percentage (46.8750) 75,058.25

tages te, ana S01 80 Grand Total $ 98,746.27

March 31, 1969 187.30

May 20, 1969 290.76

June 12, 1969 244.30

July 18, 1969 153.22

July 29, 1969 229.94

August 27, 1969 78.42

October 2, 1969 142.13

November 26, 1969 98.52

Total $2,008.67

adil

On October 3, 1969, Davis Oil Company and Clinton

Oil Company entered into a written agreement under

the terms of which Clinton acquired Davis Oil Com-

pany’s interest in Pellerin for $144,843.75.

Robicheaux

Drilling Cost $ 77,842.40

Land Acquisition Cost 3,500.00

Subtotal Cost $ 81,342.40

Minus Contribution 99,307.40

Total Cost (Profit) ($ 17,965.00)

Sohio-W ilbert

Drilling Cost $625,375.08

Land Acquisition Cost 16,578.00

Subtotal Cost $641,953.08

Minus Contribution 145,787.66

Total Cost $496,165.42

Completion Attempt $ 85,463.44

Davis’ Percentage (44.375) 28,346.81

Grand Total $524,512.23

21. The Wildcat program consisting of the follow-

ing four exploratory oil and gas well prospects: (a)

Southeast Sweet Lake Prospect (Sweet Lake Land &

Oil Co. No. 1); (b) East Napoleonville Prospect (West-

over Planting Co. No. 1); (c) South Grosse Savanne

Prospect (Miami Corp. No. 1); and (d) South Valen-

tine Prospect (Frank E. Ducos No. 1). Said explora-

tory oil and gas well prospects cr the underlying oil,

gas, and mineral leases drilled thereon are described

collectively as “Wildcat Program.”

am

22. On or about July 31, 1968, Albert D. Miller,

as assignor, assigned to Davis Oil Company, as assignee,

assignor’s interest in two oil, gas and mineral leases

described in said assignment and covering the real

estate described in said lease and located in Cameron

Parish, Louisiana. Said assignment, leases or explora-

tory oil and gas well drilled thereon are herein described

as “Sweet Lake Land & Oil Co., No. 1” or “Sweet

Lake.”

23. On or about August 8, 1968, St. Emma, Inc.,

a Louisiana corporation, as lessor, and Davis Oil Com-

pany, as lessee, entered into a mineral lease covering

the real estate described in said lease and located

in Ascension Parish, Louisiana. Said lease or the explor-

atory oil and gas well drilled thereon are herein de-

scribed as “Westover Planting Co. No. 1” or “West-

over.”

24. On or about July 23, 1968, William R. Bullen,

Jr., as assignor, assigned to Davis Oil Company, as

assignee, assignor’s interest in the oil, gas, and mineral

lease described in said assignment and covering the

real estate described in said lease and located in Cam-

eron Parish, Louisiana. Said assignment or the explor-

atory oil and gas well lease dritled thereon are described

as “Miami Corp. No. 1” or “Miami.”

25. On or about July 27, 1968, Annie Le Blanc

Federine, as lessor, and Davis Oil Company, as lessee,

entered into an oil and gas lease covering the real

estate described in said lease, and located in La Fourche

Parish, Louisiana. Said leases or the exploratory oil

a

and gas well drilled thereon are described as “Frank

E. Ducos No. 1” or “Ducos.”

26. Onor about June 25, 1968, Davis Oil Company

entered into written agreements with the following

named persons under the terms of which said persons

acquired portions of Davis Oil Company’s interest in

the Wildcat program as follows:

Mortimer C. Caplin 12.5%

Harold Toppel 11.25%

Manuel Vallecillo 1.25%

Salvatore Coletta 1.25%

Sergio Camero 1.25%

Edwin Epstein 2.5%

David Epstein 2.5%

George Toppel 2.5%

Milton Toppel 2.5%

On or about July 22, 1968, David L. Kreeger and

Marvin Willig each entered into a written agreement

with Davis Oil Company, under the terms of which

Kreeger and Willig each acquired 3.25% of Davis

Oil Company’s interest in the Wildcat program.

27. On or about October 22, 1968, Blaez, Ltd.,

a limited partnership, entered into a written agreement

with Davis Oil Company under the terms of which

Blaez, Ltd., acquired 124%2% of Davis Oil Company’s

interest in Sweetlake.

28. The parties have stipulated that with the excep-

tion of the names of the parties, the percentages of

their interests, the amounts of their payments and the

—_

well prospects included, the terms of the agreements

between Davis Oil Company and each working interest

owner are the same.

29. Subsequent to plaintiff's investment in the C. E.

Savoie, the parties discussed plaintiffs participation

in further drilling programs. Following these discussions,

on or about July 24, 1968, Paul Messinger, as author-

ized agent for Davis Oil Company, at Denver, Colorado,

caused a written agreement to be prepared and signed

in duplicate on behalf of Davis Oil Company. On

or about July 24, 1968, Jack Davis, acting on behalf

of Davis Oil Company, at Denver, Colorado, mailed

to plaintiff, A. B. Parvin, at Los An: -les, California,

a letter dated July 24, 1968, and the written agreement.

Said letter and written agreement were received by

Mr. Parvin in the ordinary course of the United States

mails. Duplicate originals of both the written agreement

and operating agreement (the operating agreement is

Exhibit “B” to the written agreement), were signed

on behalf of Davis Oil Company, a partnership, by

Paul Messinger, its attorney in fact, when Mr. Parvin

received them in the mail. Mr. Parvin signed both

the written agreement and operating agreement, put

one fully executed copy in his file, and returned the

other to Davis Oil Company by his letter to Mr.

Jack Davis dated August 6, 1968. Davis Oil Company

received said letter and written agreement in the ordi-

nary course of the United States mails.

— oe

30. The following constitutes a recap of the working

interest ownership in the Wildcat program as a result

of the transactions described above:

Mr. Harold Toppel 11.2500

Mr. George Toppel 2.5000

Mr. Milton Toppel 2.5000

Mr. Manuel Vallecillo 1.2500

Mr. Sergio Camero 1.2500

Mr. Edwin Epstein 2.5000

Mr. David Epstein 2.5000

Mr. Salvatore Coletta 1.2500

Mr. Mortimer Caplin 12.5000

Mr. David Kreeger 3.1250

Mr. Marvin Willig 3.1250

Mr. A. B. Parvin 9.3750

Blaez, Ltd. 12.5000

DAVIS OIL COMPANY 34.3750

Total 100.0000%

31. Plaintiff paid Davis Oil Company the amounts

required of him for his participation in the Wildcat

program as follows: August 6, 1968—$95,000.00.

32. Neither Sweet Lake, Westover, nor Miami was

commercially successful. The decision was made to

abandon Sweet Lake, Westover, and Miami at the

casing point without attempting to complete them as

producers. None of the participants received income

from his interests in Sweet Lake, Westover, or Miami.

The wells have been plugged and abandoned and the

underlying oil, gas and mineral leases have, by their

terms, expired.

Par

33. The decision was made to attempt to complete

Ducos as a producer. Pursuant to the operating agree-

ment plaintiff was billed for and paid the following

amounts:

May 30, 1969 $13,030.22

June 3, 1969 75.17

July 21, 1969 46.88

August 12, 1969 11.25

Total $13,163.52

Plaintiff received the following receipts from his inter-

est in Ducos:

February 9, 1970 $ 1,116.09

February 26, 1970 80.06

March 23, 1970 447.52

April 24, 1970 733.43

May 25, 1970 585.69

June 24, 1970 394.61

July 24, 1970 236.85

August 24, 1970 79.67

September 22, 1970 277.86

December 24, 1970 133.01

January 25, 1971 86.97

February 23, 1971 86.90

April 27, 1971 103.09

October 27, 1971 60.96

Total $ 4,422.71

a. om —-53-—

34. Davis Oil Company, as operator, incurred the

following costs in drilling and/or completing the wells

constituting the Wildcat program:

To May 11, 1972, the working interest owners in

Ducos had received revenues of $131,505.41 and

Davis Oil Company, as owner of 34.3750 of the work-

Sweetiake ing interest had received $45,204.98.

Drilling Cost $74,755.57 36. Neither defendants nor any of them obta:ned

Land Acquisition Cost 9,163.68 or attempted to obtain a permit from the California

Subtotal - cost 83.919.25 Commissioner of Corporations for the offer or sale

Minus Contribution 145.807.40 to plaintiff of said interests in the Savoie, Offset, and

Total Cost (Profit)

($61,888.15)

Wildcat programs.

37. Communications made by Paul Messinger, Reid

Westover M. Waltman, and E. L. Karn, Jr., to Mr. Parvin,

Drilling Cost $128,409.46 or Melvin B. Fields, plaintiffs office manager, were

Land Acquisition 6,745.00 made with the knowledge and consent and under the

Suhectal cost 135,154.46 control of Davis Oil Company.

Minus Contribution 158,070.61 38. No registration statement was in effect with

Total Cost (Profit)

($ 22,916.15)

the Securities and Exchange Commission as to the

interests in the Savoie, Offset, and Wildcat programs

- miu a offered and sold to plaintiff.

mf q ze eae Cost sad SG 39. During the course of the work on the Savoie,

bs bac tanaatsd Offset, and Wildcat programs, Davis Oil Company

Subtotal Cost 135,129.49 mailed certain periodic reports to all working interest

Minus Contribution 144,024.51 owners. The Court finds that all reports required by

Total Cost (Profit)

($ 8,895.02)

the agreement to be furnished to plaintiff were in

fact so furnished.

pref Cost $205,397.48 Also, there are issues of fact between the parties

Land Acquisition Cost 13,350.00 as to whether the modus operandi provided under the

ny lacthi ghee BS dod various agreements, and in fact followed, was one under

_ Subtotal Cost 218,747.48 which plaintiff had the right to, or did, exercise that

Minus Contribution 136,346.87 degree of control over the operation of the various

Total Cost $ 82,400.61 ventures so as to make him a joint venturer and hence

Completion Cost $174,630.57 within the statutory exemption. The Court finds that

Davis’ Percentage (34.3750) 60,029.26 he did not.

Grand Total

$142,429.87

— ee mae ee

ae. a

Upon the foregoing, there is presented for determina-

tion by the Court essentially the questions of whether

these transactions by their nature came within the pur-

view of the Federal or State Securities Acts referred

to above, and additionally, whether, although coming

within the purview of either or both of the Acts,

any of the exemptions provided therein existed here.

With respect to the claim under the California Cor-

porations Code, the Court finds that the plaintiff is

a highly sophisticated business man, knowledgeable in

oil investments, not the sort of person contemplated

under the California Act to need or be afforded statu-

tory protection, who, as a member of a small and

selective class, learned, as a result of casual social

contacts, that an opportunity existed to make an invest-

ment with the defendants.

The record indicates that the fractional interests were

not offered to the public within the meaning of the

California Corporations Code. The groups which in

fact participated, and hence to whom it must be assumed

the offers were made, were both small, select and

relatively insignificant in number. It metters not that

there was an absence of close relationship between

the offerees, nor does it matter that they were relative

strangers amongst themselves as a group and to the

defendants. The record indicates that they knew, or

at least had the opportunity to know, the general charac-

ter and business skills of the defendants, together with

the risks and opportunities of the projects in which

they were to invest their money. They did so with

eyes open and they thereby made that special kind

of investment as fractional owners of oil and gas inter-

ests which were unlike the kinds of investments com-

monly known as “securities” which are placed in free

circulation. The offerees, for example, were restrained

ee a TNT

pee ae

from transferring their interest except that they might

have assigned the totality thereof.

In light of the foregoing determination by the Court,

it becomes unnecessary to make any determination as

to whether the plaintiff and defendants entered into

that kind of joint venture which would bring an exemp-

tion to the transaction out of the provisions of section

25100(m) of the California Corporations Code. The

Court is satisfied, nevertheless, that the control, or

the opportunity to control, or the right to control,

reposed in the plaintiff was not sufficient to make

him a joint venturer with the defendants for the purposes

of the statutory exemption.

Another issue tendered with respect to the claim

under the California Corporations Act relates to the

place where the transaction was negotiated, agreed upon

and finalized. As indicated above, it appears that some

conversations occurred in three states, some of which

took place in California, either in person or by telephone

calls with the plaintiff here in the State of California.

But the record indicates that all that was done within

the State of California was so fragmentary and inci-

dental to the persuading of plaintiff to participate as

not to bring transactions within the language of the

statutes which requires that the interests be “sold to

plaintiff in California” within the meaning of the Cali-

fornia statutes. This appears to be the case with regard

to the Savoie, the Offset and the Wildcat programs.

The Court determines that the transactions were con-

summated and the contracts entered into outside the

state of California and extrinsic to any conversations

between the parties conducted by telephone.

With regard to the Securities Act of 1933, the Court

makes the same factual findings as noted above. Accord-

ingly, this was not a “security” within the meaning

Bie” aN

and definition of the Act, nor did the transaction by

the manner in which it occurred fall within the purview

of the Act. Accordingly, it becomes unnecessary to

determine whether plaintiff acquired a joint venture

interest so as to make the transaction exempt under

the statute; as indicated above, the Court is satisfied

that no joint venture was entered into within the mean-

ing of the Federal Securities Law.

Similarly, with regard to the Securities Act of 1933,

the Court finds, on the same grounds noted above,

that the interests were not “offered to the public.”

With respect to the Securities and Exchange Act

of 1934, the Court finds the issues the same as noted

above and, accordingly, makes the same finding and

determination with respect to issues raised under that

Act.

Therefore, the Court finds in favor of the defendants.

and against the plaintiff on all claims. Hence, no further

issues, under Trial “B”, or otherwise, remain to be

litigated.

This memorandum of decision shall be deemed the

Court’s findings of fact and conclusions of law. Defend-

ants through their counsel, and pursuant to Local Rule

7, will prepare, serve and lodge an appropriate judg-

ment.

The Clerk of the Court will send, by United States

mail, copies of this memorandum to ali counsel for

the parties herein.

DATED: October 24, 1973.

/s/ Robert J. Kelleher

Robert J. Kelleher

United States District Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.