Petition — Ashland Oil, Inc. v. Phillips Petroleum Co.

Supreme Court brief1980

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Gupreme Court, U. &

v4 9 ee » 5 0 7 FILED

\ FEB 12 1980

4]

No. 79- | MICHAEL RODAK, JR., CLERR

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1979

PHILLIPS PETROLEUM COMPANY,

. Petitioner,

ASHLAND OIL, INC., et al.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

WILLIAM H. ALLEN

EUGENE D. GULLAND

SARAH E. BURNS

Covington & Burling

888 Sixteenth Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

KENNETH HEADY

C.J. ROBERTS

DON L. JEMiSON

Phillips Petroleum Company

Bartlesville, Oklahoma 74004

Attorneys for Petitioner

February 1980

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

sR a er ree nr eee eee l |

ER Oe ETS OR 2

QUESTION PRESENTED ......... AES Ta ee ee 2

STATUTE INVOLVED .......... 0.0 seeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee ees 2

SEE ea ctdawesds speenee sss ohh ee a aaa 3

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ................-55- 9

ee FERS ee Pee Oe 21

APPENDIX A — Opinion of the District Court ............... la

APPENDIX B — Opinion of the Court of Appeals En Banc .... 20a

APPENDIX C — Memorandum Opinion of the District Court

a ee ee ied 5 wah cdiaee 54a

APPENDIX D —Opinion of Court of Appeals Affirming

District Court’s Judgment on Remand ....... 9la

APPENDIX E — Judgment of Court of Appeals .............. 95a

APPENDIX F —Court of Appeals’ Order Denying

ES 97a

INDEX TO CITATIONS

Cases:

Ashland Oil & Refining Co. v. FPC,

Pvil & Fs) le SS nen ret eer 16

Baltimore & O.R.R. v. United States,

a eckeasukp is CaKe es caenccrccce meses. 15

Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen v. Bangor

& Aroostook R.R.,

EERE ES OE er ae ner rere 21

Cannon v. University of Chicago, .

toe aa a lank dctksaisadhseschinactenues 19

Communist Party v. Whitcomb,

a ad a ne i 2

Cort v. Ash,

an Se NN he i bes wes 19

Grounds v. Northern Natural Gas Co.,

404 U.S. 951 (1971), denying cert. to 441

F.2d 704 (10th Cir.), rehearing denied,

en IE she as okies oo Ge cn bud bes 0ecvw dace 2

Hamilton-Brown Shoe Co. v. Wolf Bros. & Co.,

i a Nn obacbue 21

Montana-Dakota Utilities Co. v. Northwestern

Public Service Co.,

ee IE Tecra. awk Wiad os cb bk oles dd evaeaseueee 18

Northern Natural Gas Co. v. Grounds,

441 F.2d 704 (10th Cir. 1971), cert. denied,

404 U.S. 951, 1063 (1972) . . 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 15, 16, 17, 18, 20, 21

Northern Natural Gas Co. v. Grounds,

393 F.Supp. 949 (D.Kan. 1974) on remand

Po wT Eg ) a 8

Northern Natural Gas Co. v. Mobil Oil Corp.,

404 U.S. 1063 (1972), denying cert. to

Northern Natural Gas Co. v. Grounds,

a i I EUTIT ED ks dc 0d ccdd av bap oe vba was cvcaeces 3

Pan American Petroleum Corp. v. Superior Court,

A EE cS Od 5S bbe ensks ceeds bode esd cowees 11

Panhandle Eastern Pipe Line Co. v. FPC,

eT re I WUD ka d's bsoiev ule ied. pes cecpon ed oaua’ 14

Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Texaco Inc.,

ie a iia se on kins od wb mb- Gade Oe eeeS 7, 8, 17, 18

Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Wisconsin,

Beet a POE: 5 60 c RenG Wht haw K ia cicns ins (IRR 5,11

Phoenix Lumber Co. v. Houston Water Co.,

Se Bs ig Os WE nF CU Ss bods Fo sc akds ca ba weldvccie 12

Skelly Oil Co. v. Phillips Petroleum Co.,

prs UP RUMI be O00 sia a eek so cad conévwahess 11, 18

Texaco Inc. v. Phillips Petroleum Co.,

481 F.2d 70 (10th Cir. 1973),

TIVE, BA I PR whe eek kWh cc hekbbat ccd bawecsec 7

Touche Ross & Co. v. Redington,

eI 5 OS oo ad wins ue coda ba nile hehe 19

Transamerica Mortgage Advisors, Inc. v. Lewis,

PUG PE ee a ees cabhiccess chides ceaceeccs 18, 19

United States v. Wabash R.R.,

Bee ene MIE ih 0 Gide das sss oh un XS Kd wkd debs EEK ckS 15

Statutory Provisions:

Natural Gas Act of June 21, 1938, 52 Stat. 821,

FP is Gl Se os 5% dbase s becouse Beets ok Cake 15, 17, 18

Oe Rs ae Os wh nia oases o Chaseeune ve Seals i

eg REP ORG RIE havaptir cea apace ten “ok pe

ar Oe MEE. FS hare eas UN ARO aS a AUD EKG oy Ekin Ciawen 2

Be eee CY ws bik bh cae bn aed Rbk Week bd hea ek awe 7

Interstate Commerce Act, 49 U.S.C. §§ 1 ef seq. ..>........... 15

Helium Act Amendments of 1960, Pub. L. No. 86-777

74 Stat, 918, SO U.S.C. $B 1G7-1G7Fm nn ccc wcccecss 5,17

§ 3 (a)(2A) & (B), 50 U.S.C.

NE ean. ss bak cee ben RAs OvW cowed ban 13

Sti, seuSiC. FIM . oie eics. 2, 3, 6, 9, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 19

DEA Fe rine CD Ske vk kad Bent heaswevenccevibassares 15

Miscellaneous:

Corbin, Contracts (1960) Peete teen eee eee cece eee enon ee eees

H.R. Rep. No. 1552, 86th Cong., 2d Sess. (1960) ...............

S. Rep. No. 1814, 86th Cong., 2d Sess. (1960) ............ 12, 13,

Pea WU os 5 sack Henne ee ae Oe

Hearings on H.R. 10548 and S. 3376 Before the Senate

Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs,

a PE I sea eo uk ec baa ew

Hearings on H.R. 8440, H.R. 8451, H.R. 10548, and

H.R. 11030 Before the Subcommittee on Mines and

Mining of the House Committee on Interior and Insular

Affairs, 86th Cong., 2d Sess. (1960) .......... 0. ccc ccc ee cc ween

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1979

No. 79-

PHILLIPS PETROLEUM COMPANY,

Vv. Petitioner,

ASHLAND OIL, INC., et al.,

“Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner Phillips Petroleum Company prays that a

writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment of the Court

of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The original opinion of the district court is reported at

364 F. Supp. 6 and is reprinted as Appendix A at pages

la-19a below. An opinion of the court of appeals en banc

affirming the district court in part and reversing in part is

reported at 554 F.2d 381 and is reprinted as Appendix B at

pages 20a-53a below. The district court’s opinion on re-

mand is reported at 463 F. Supp. 619 and is reprinted as

Appendix C at pages 54a-90a below. The opinion of the

court of appeals affirming the district court’s judgment on

the remand is not yet reported and is printed as Appendix

D at pages 9la-94a below.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals (App. E, pp.

95a-96a, infra) was entered on October 15, 1979. An order

denying a petition for rehearing and suggestion for rehear-

ing en banc was entered on November 14, 1979. (App. F,

pp. 97a-98a, infra.)' The jurisdiction of this Court is in-

voked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a federal statute that in terms merely excludes

helium from regulation under the Natural Gas Act is pro-

perly construed to imply a right on the part of a seller of

natural gas to disregard its unfrustrated contract of sale

for the entire gas stream and recover in quantum meruit

for helium contained in the gas stream.

STATUTE INVOLVED

Section 11 of the Helium Act of 1925, as added by the

Helium Act Amendments of 1960, 74 Stat. 922, 50 U.S.C.

§ 167i, provides:

The provisions of the Natural Gas Act of

June 21, 1938, as amended [15 U.S.C. 717 et

seq.], shall not be applicable to the sale, extrac-

'The petition for rehearing was that of respondent Ashland Oil,

Inc. The filing of the petition prevented the unitary judgment of the

court of appeals from becoming final until it was denied, so that the

time for petitioning for review in this Court was extended generally.

Corimunist Party v. Whitcomb, 414 U.S. 441, 445-46 (1974); com-

pare, as to a non-unitary judgment, Grounds v. Northern Natural Gas

Co., 404 U.S. 951 (1971), denying cert. to 441 F.2d 704 (10th Cir.),

rehearing denied, 404 U.S. 1065 (1972).

3

tion, processing, transportation, or storage of

helium either prior to or subsequent to the

separation of such helium from the natural gas

with which it is commingled, whether or not the

provisions of such Act apply to such natural gas,

and in determining the rates of a natural gas

company under sections 4 and 5 of the Natural

Gas Act, as amended [15 U.S‘C. 717c, 717d],

whenever helium is extracted from helium-

bearing natural gas, there shall be excluded (1) all

income received from the sale of helium; (2) all

direct costs incurred in the extraction, process-

ing, compression, transportation or storage of

helium; and (3) that portion of joint costs of ex-

ploration, production, gathering, extraction,

processing, compression, transportation or

Storage divided and allocated to helium on a

volumetric basis.

STATEMENT

Effectively, what the court below has done in this case is

to construe Section 11 of the Helium Act, which on its face

merely removes helium from regulatory control under the

Natural Gas Act, as enlarging the private rights of parties

that have contracted to sell helium as part of a natural gas

stream. That hoiding, embedded now in a final judgment |

of the court of appeals, presents a question that has been

presented before on requests to review interlocutory deci-

sions of the same court in this and another case. See Nor-

thern Natural Gas Co. v. Mobil Oil Corp., 404 U.S. 1063

(1972) (Nos. 71-238, 71-243) (Stewart and Blackmun, JJ.,

noting their opinion that certiorari should be granted);

Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Ashland Oil, Inc., 434. U.S. 921

(1977) (No. 77-221); United States v. Ashland Oil, Inc.,

434 U.S. 968 (1977) (No. 77-530).

4

The entry of the final judgment makes clear that the

question will not go away. It remains an important ques-

tion. And it is an even more substantial question than

when earlier presented because of the apparent incon-

sistency of the court of appeals’ decision with the recent

decisions in which this Court has confirmed that a private

right of action not evident on the face of a congressional

er.actment is not to be read into the enactment unless there

is some unmistakable indicium of a congressional intent to

create the private right.

Factual Background

The case concerns rights under contracts entered into in

1945 and 1953 by which petitioner Phillips Petroleum

Company purchases natural gas from wells in Texas pro-

duced by respondent Ashland Oil, Inc., which had obtain-

ed production rights under typical oil and gas leases. The

natural gas stream from these wells contains a small but

significant amount of helium, a noncombustible gas that

has uses in certain technologies. The wells are located in a

natural gas field rich enough in helium to make helium ex-

traction technologically feasible — a fact known when the

contracts for sale of the natural gas stream were made.

The oil and gas leases pursuant to which Ashland pro-

duces natural gas in these helium-rich fields convey to

Ashland title to the helium as well as other components of

the natural gas stream. And contracts such as those by

which Ashland sells the stream to Phillips convey title to

the helium entrained with the gas. The court below so rul-

ed as @ matter of the relevant state law in the consolidated

helium title litigation, Northern Natural Gas Co. v.

Grounds, 441 F.2d 704, 710-15, 717-18 (10th Cir. 1971).

The Ashland-Phillips contracts were filed with the

Federal Power Commission after this Court held in

5

Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Wisconsin, 347 U.S. 672, 681-85

(1954), that sales of natural gas by producers for resale in

interstate commerce are subject to the Natural Gas Acct. .

The contracts thereby became rate schedules under Section

4 of the Act, subject to the power of the FPC (now the

Federal Energy Regulatory Commission) under Sections 4

and 5 to substitute other rates that it finds just and

reasonable. 15 U.S.C. §§ 717c, 717d. The FPC has never

exercised its power under these sections to prevent

Ashland from collecting the full contract price of the

natural gas stream.

The Helium Act Amendments of 1960

_ The occasion for the Grounds litigation and this

separate litigation was the enactment by Congress in 1960

of comprehensive amendments to the Helium Act of 1925

and actions pursuant to the amendments. The Helium Act

Amendments of 1960 constitute a wholly new, self-con-

tained statute authorizing a forward-looking program for

the conservation of helium. 74 Stat. 918, 50 U.S.C. §§

167-167m. The amendments, among other things, em-

powered the Department of the Interior to purchase and

store helium that otherwise would be wasted when the

combustible gas with which it was entrained was produced

for fuel. Under its new statutory authority, the Depart-

ment in 1961 concluded long-term contracts to buy helium

from Phillips and three other companies that had purchas-

ed and were engaged in processing natural gas from the

helium-rich Hugoton-Panhandle fields of Texas,

Oklahoma and Kansas. Under the contracts, the com-

panies agreed to extract helium from the natural gas

stream at plants designed by them and built at their own

risk and to convey the helium to the Government to be

stored for future use. Phillips and the other companies

warranted their title to the helium, and the Government

6

agreed to reimburse the contractors for any amounts in ex-

cess Of about $3 a thousand cubic feet (mcf) that they

might be compelled to pay for the acquisition of the

helium in the natural gas they processed.

Section 11 of the Helium Act as added by the 1960

Amendments provides that the Natural Gas Act does not

apply to the sale of helium and that costs and revenues at-

tributable to helium are to be disregarded by the FPC in

any determination of rates for natural gas companies. (Pp.

2-3, supra.)

Litigation over the Title to Helium

The Grounds litigation reflected a typical attempt by

sellers who witness an increase in the value of what they

have sold to repudiate their sales contracts and obtain a

share of the enhanced value.

As noted above, the court of appeals in Grounds re-

jected the producers’ argument that helium was not cov-

ered by their natural gas sales contracts. It went on to

hold, however, that Section 11 of the Helium Act, assisted

by the Natural Gas Act, freed the producers of their con-

tractual obligations so far as helium was concerned and

entitled them to a quantum meruit recovery. Its decision

seemed to rest on two separate bases. First, it depended on

the purely conceptual proposition that a “utility rate,” i.e.,

the contractual price for natural gas filed as a rate

schedule with the FPC, may not “be used to obtain a com-

modity or service which is not within the contemplation of

that rate”; helium could not be within the contemplation

of the filed natural gas rate because of Section 11, accor-

ding to the court. 441 F.2d at 723. Second, the court found

that FPC rate regulation had superseded contract prices

and had “largely nullified” the “[clommon provisions of

gas purchase contracts that call for periodic price escala-

tion, arbitration or renegotiation” so that the producers

had not been free to obtain for the natural gas stream in-

cluding helium even what their contracts entitled them to. -

441 F.2d at 722. (As indicated above, that was not true of

the Ashland-Phillips confracts.)

Accordingly, the court of appeals in Grounds reversed

judgments of the District Court for the District of Kansas,

which had denied recovery to the producers (and their

royalty owners) on the basis of the subsisting contracts.

The case was returned to the district court for a determina-

tion of the reasonable value of the helium. At about that

same time, this case was tried in the District Court for the

Northern District of Oklahoma.

The district court on the trial in this case followed

Grounds. It took a very expansive view of Grounds, as the

court of appeals itself had shortly before, attributing to it

the creation of a federal cause of action for the reasonable

value of the helium. (Pp. 14a-16a, infra.) That view was

expressed by the court of appeals ‘n Texaco Inc. v. Phillips

Petroleum Co., 481 F.2d 70 (10th Cir. 1973), another

helium title and compensation case in which both parties

were Delaware corporations and in which therefore there

was no federal jurisdiction by reason of diversity of

citizenship. The court of appeals held that the district

court nevertheless had jurisdiction because the case arose

under federal law within the meaning of 28 U.S.C. §

1331(a). Summarily reversing that decision on the certiorari

papers, this Court held that Grounds did not convert an

ordinary common-law contract or quantum meruit action

governed by state law into a federal case merely because of

the devision in Grounds that federal statutes deprived the

helium purchasers of a defense of payment. Phillips Petro-

leum Co. v. Texaco Inc., 15 U.S. 125 (1974\(per curiam).

The Decisions Below

The district court in the Ashland case, using a so-called

work-back method of valuation, determined a wellhead va-

lue of helium of about $11 to $17 per mcf. (Pp. 9a-10a, infra.)

Both Phillips and the United States appealed. The United

States, which had intervened in the district court pro-

ceeding, was most concerned because the valuation

adopted by the district court, if it became the pattern for

other cases, would impose a heavy liability on it under the

contractual indemnity clauses.

Even though this Court had by this time laid to rest in

Texaco the mistaken idea that helium title and compensa-

tion litigation arises under federal law, the court of ap-

peals panel that initially heard the appeals of Phillips and

the United States in most respects affirmed the district

court, which had proceeded on that mistaken premise.? A

petition for rehearing en banc was granted. Meanwhile,

the district court in the Grounds litigation had rendered

quite a different valuation decision on the remand. It

determined a wellhead value of only 60 to 70 cents per

mcf. Northern Natural Gas Co. v. Grounds, 393 F.Supp.

949, 992 (D.Kan. 1974), on remand from 441 F.2d 704

(10th Cir. 1971). Appeals from that decision were heard en

banc at the same time as the Ashland case was reheard en banc.

Phillips and the Government argued to the en banc

court that Grounds was wrong in allowing any quantum

meruit recovery and that, in any event, the Ashland-

Phillips contracts had not been nullified or superseded by

FPC regulation, as the court thought the contracts in

Grounds had been. The court said merely that “[w]e

?The opinion of the panel, never reported, is printed in the appen-

dices to the petitions for certiorari in Phillips Petroleum Co. v.

Ashland Oil, Inc., No. 77-221, pp. 37a-52a, and United States v.

Ashland Oil, Inc., No. 77-530, pp. 44a-63a.

9

decline to reconsider Grounds.” (P. 24a, infra.) The en

banc court differed from the panel in that, while approv-

ing the district court’s work-back valuation method, it did .

not agree completely with the court’s application of the

method. It therefore remanded for further proceedings on

that issue. (P. 42a, infra.)

After petitions for certiorari filed by Phillips and the

Government were denied, 434 U.S. 921, 968, the district

court proceeded on remand to redetermine the value of

helium. It arrived this time at a wellhead value of $3 per

mcf (p. 89a, infra), which by coincidence is approximate-

ly the amount that Phillips must pay under its helium con-

servation contract with the Government before the

Government becomes responsible to indemnify it (p. 82a,

infra). All parties appealled. The argument on the second

appeal and the court’s opinion relate to the revaluation of

the helium, but Phillips and the Government preserved on

the second appeal their positions that, in the light of the

binding, unfrustrated Ashland-Phillips contract, there was

never any occasion for determining the reasonable value

of helium. The court of appeals, by a panel, affirmed the

Cistrict court’s revaluation and remanded only for the

ministerial addition of prejudgment interest, which had

been expressly approved by the court of appeals on the

prior appeal. (Pp. 93a-94a, infra.) The district court has

since filed an order to include prejudgment interest in its

judgment. The consolidated Grounds cases remain pend-

ing before the court of appeals en banc, more than three

years after they were argued.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This case presents the important question whether

federal statutes — Section 11 of the Helium Act when read

with provisions of the Natural Gas Act — override state

law and deprive certain purchasers of natural gas streams

— SaaS

10

of the defense of payment according to contractual terms

when they are sued for the value of the helium content of

the streams. The question is important to the parties to the

transactions — the natural gas producers and their royalty

owners and the companies that purchase the helium-

bearing natural gas. It is vitally important in principle to

the Government because of the indemnification provision

of each of its helium supply contracts.

The question has persisted through the many years of

the helium title and compensation litigation without autho-

ritative resolution by this Court. That litigation, except

for this small piece of it, is still pending. So far as the

federal courts are concerned the litigation has been and

will continue to be confined to the Tenth Circuit. There

will be no conflict of decisions among the circuits. The

Tenth: Circuit’s handling of the cases demonstrates the

need for guidance by this Court.

The question is important doctrinally. The decision of

the Tenth Circuit that Section 11 and the other statutes af-

fect private rights as they have been held to do is inconsis-

tent with the recent decisions of this Court holding that

private rights of action are not to be read into federal

statutes when Congress has not put them there. The deci-

sion below makes an intrusion into the province of the

states at least as serious as the intrusion threatened in the

Court’s private right of action cases of this term and last.

The Tenth Circuit has at long last entered a final judg-

ment in a helium compensation case embodying its in-

trusive reading of Section 11. There are no longer possible

reasons of judicial economy for this Court’s not undertak-

ing review, as there may have been thought to be when the

question was presented before. The question is not going

to disappear.

11

It is a basic principle of contract law that, when one par-

ty purchases from another party under a freely negotiated ~

contract a commodity that later attains a greater value, the

purchaser gets the benefit of the bargain and is not re-

quired to pay compensation beyond the contract price. See

3 Corbin, Contracts § 605, at 645 (1960). By the same rule,

when the commodity declines in value, the seller is entitled

to enforce the contract price. Any other rule would make

commercial transactions so uncertain as to impair the free

transfer of goods.

Here Phillips and Ashland freely entered into natu-

ral gas sales contracts by which, as the court ruled in

Grounds, Phillips received full title to the entire gas

stream, including the helium. Each was aware of the pres-

ence of the helium and the characteristics and uses of that

element. The sales contracts were filed with the Federal

Power Commission after Phillips Petroleum Co. v.

Wisconsin, 347 U.S. 672 (1954), and became rate

schedules under the Natural Gas Act. But that did not

make them any the less contracts whose construction and

performance are governed by state law. Pan American

Petroleum Corp. v. Superior Court, 366 U.S. 656, 661-65

(1961); Skelly Oil Co. v. Phillips Petroleum Co., 339 U.S.

667 (1950). The contract price was of course subject to ad-

justment by the FPC to make it accord with the statutory

standards of justness and reasonableness or to avoid

statutorily proscribed discrimination, preference or pre-

judice. At all times, however, the contract price was below

the rate level prescribed by the FPC as just and reasonable

for the area in which the gas was produced. So the FPC

never had occasion to interfere with the operation of the

contracts and never did so. In the circumstances, under the

relevant state law, that of Texas, the unfrustrated con-

tracts are conclusive of Ashland’s right to recover under

12

an implied contract for the reasonable value of the helium.

See Phoenix Lumber Co. v. Houston Water Co., 94 Tex.

456, 464, 61 S.W. 707, 709 (1901).

If the court below was moved to ignore the contracts by

a concern that Phillips and the other helium conservation

contractors would otherwise enjoy a windfall, it was

wrong as a matter of contract law, as we have just seen. It

was also mistaken in its concern as a matter of fact.

Phillips and the other contractors built expensive extrac-

tion plants and assumed the attendant risks associated

with the helium conservation program. Any profits they

earned, which derived from the helium conservation con-

tracts that took account of the risks, are no windfall. The

existence of the profits affords no basis for overturning

the contracts by which the conservation contractors ac-

quired the helium in order to give the original sellers of the

helium a share of the profits.

Moved in any event the court surely was, and its vehicie

for avoiding the conclusive effect of the contracts on the

sellers’ claims for a share of the helium contractors’ profits

was Section 11 of the Helium Act, added in 1960.

The purpose of the Helium Act Amendments of 1960

was to authorize the Department of the Interior to carry

out a long-range program of helium conservation because

the growing helium needs of the government and of in-

dustry in missile and atomic energy programs were ex-

pected to outstrip available helium resources by 1985

unless some of the helium wasted in the consumption of

combustible gas was saved. See S. Rep. No. 1814, 86th

Cong., 2d Sess. 2 (1960).

To effect this purpose in the least expensive way, Con-

gress included statutory provisions designed to encourage

a ao

13

the participation of private industry in the helium pro-

gram.’ The Secretary of the Interior was authorized to ac-

quire helium by exercise of the power of eminent domain .

only if he made a national interest determination and

found also that the Government was unable to obtain

helium by private contract “upon reasonable terms and at

the fair market value.” 50 U.S.C. § 167a(a)(2)(A) & (B).

Congress empowered the Secretary to enter into long-term

helium purchase contracts so that private industry could

negotiate with banks and financial institutions for the

capital necessary to build the costly extraction plants. S.

Rep. No. 1814, supra, at 4.

That is the context of Section 11. The section itself is a

direction that the Natural Gas Act does not apply to “the

sale, extraction, processing, transportation, or storage of -

helium either prior to or subsequent to the separation of

such helium from the natural gas with which it is com-

mingled”; it further directs that related revenues and costs

be excluded in ratemaking proceedings for natural gas

companies under Sections 4 and 5 of the Natural Gas Act.

(P. 3, supra.) It is obviously addressed to the FPC (now

the FERC), the agency that administers the Natural Gas

Act. Just as obviously, it is designed to ensure that a party

holding title to helium and undertaking the risks of extrac-

ting helium is not constrained by rate ceilings prescribed by

the FPC pursuant to the Natural Gas Act from being fairly

compensated for the added cost and risk of helium extrac-

tion. The imposition of such public utility type constraints

Section 15 of the Helium Act states that it is in the national interest

to foster and encourage individual enterprise in the development and

distribution of supplies of helium. 50 U.S.C. § 167m; cf. S. Rep. No.

1814, supra, at 4 (Congress expects Secretary of the Interior to en-

courage growth of privately owned and operated helium industry to

keep Government costs to a minimum).

14

on compensation for helium activities and transactions

would have undermined the whole idea of the Helium Act

Amendments, which was to enlist private enterprise and

the profit motive in furthering helium conservation.

Precisely what Section 11 means as a direction to the

FPC has been a matter of contention. Congress attempted

to make itself clear by the language of the section and by

the authoritative commentary of committee and individual

sponsors; specifically it tried to avoid any possible in-

ference that the FPC’s power over combustible gas en-

trained with helium was affected.* There has nevertheless

been litigation, before the FPC and in court, over the

meaning of Section 11 in its intended sphere of operation...

See, e.g., Panhandle Eastern Pipe Line Co. v. FPC, 359

F.2d 675 (8th Cir. 1966). But there is not a hint in

the committee reports, in the debates, in the hearings, or in

the agency and court opinions, any more than on the face of

the statute, that Section 11 might entitle sellers under

pre-1960 contracts that did not distinguish the value of

helium from the value of the balance of the gas stream to

disregard those contracts and recover a judicially deter-

mined reasonable value for their helium.

‘The history of § i! itself is in S. Rep. No. 1814, 86th Cong., 2d

Sess., Pt. 1, at 5, 10 (Committee Report) & Pt. 2 (individual views of

Mr. Carroll) (1960); H.R. Rep. No. 1552, 86th Cong., 2d Sess. 9, 20,

22-25 (1960); 106 Cong. Rec. 15119, 18603-08 (1960); Hearings Before

the Senate Comm. on Interior and Insular Affairs on H.R. 10458 and

S. 3376, 86th Cong., 2d Sess. 10-i1, 41-49, 69-94 (1960); Hearings

Before the Subcomm. on Mines and Mining of the House Comm. on

Interior and Insular Affairs on H.R. 8440, H.R. 8451, H.R. 10548,

and H.R. 11030, 86th Cong., 2d Sess. 18-19, 39-43, 55 (1960).

Other discussion of compensation for helium appears in Hearings

Before the Senate Comm.., supra, at 32-39, 50-51, 53, 59, 62: Hearings

Before the House Subcomm., supra, at 30-38, 82-88 & 106-13.

15

Ill

The court below held that Section 11, because it frees

helium from regulation under the Natural Gas Act, re- -

quires Phillips and the other helium conservation contrac-

tors to pay their producer/suppliers additional compensa-

tion for a constituent element of the natural gas that the

contractors have already paid for pursuant to their con-

tracts with the producers. The reasons given by the court

for attributing this effect to Section 11 are unsound. One

of the reasons, moreover, is wholly inapplicable to the

Ashland-Phillips contracts.

The first of the reasons that can be divined from the

Grounds opinion amounts to an exercise in the driest of

logic: When filed with the FPC or FERC, the contract

price for natural gas becomes a tariff rate under the

Natural Gas Act, and Section 11 says that the Natural Gas

Act does not apply to helium. Thus, the court reasoned,

the tariff rate cannot cover the helium. The purchasers

therefore are obtaining the helium without paying for it.

The en banc court said on the first appeal in this case that

“Phillips acquired the whole stream or production, but has

only paid for part.” (P. 31a, infra.) The “free” helium was

equated by the court with non-transportation services pro-

vided at less than cost by rail carriers and condemned by

the Interstate Commerce Commission as effecting discri-

minations and preferences forbidden by the Interstate

Commerce Act. See United States v. Wabash R.R., 321

U.S. 403 (1944); Baltimore & O.R.R. v. United States,

305 U.S. 507 (1939). The court emphasized that the

Natural Gas Act in Section 4(b) similarly condemns undue

preferences or advantages. 441 F.2d at 720.

A short answer to this highly theoretical line of reason-

ing is that the Power Commission, the agency responsible

for ensuring the integrity of the rate schedules filed with it

16

and ensuring that natural gas companies do not give undue

preferences or advantages to some customers and not

others, has not shown the slightest concern since Section

11 was enacted in 1960 over the existence of contract rates

that cover helium as well as combustible gas. The reason

for the lack of official concern is, obviously enough, that

no one is injured in any respect relevant to the public in-

terest served by the Natural Gas Act by continuing to give

effect to freely negotiated contracts that treated helium in

common with the rest of the natural gas stream.

The fragility of the theoretical “filed rate” underpinning

of its decision caused the court in Grounds to go on to

advert to the fact that all or most of the contracts involved

in that case had seemingly been affected by FPC rate

regulation. It said that the price provisions of the natural

gas contracts “have been superseded by FPC rate regula-

tion” and the common contractual provisions for escala-

tion, arbitration and renegotiation “have been largely

nullified by the FPC regulations.” 441 F.2d at 722.

That is not true of the Ashland-Phillips contracts. At no

time has the FPC made any order under Section 4 or 5 of

the Natural Gas Act that prevented Ashland from collect-

ing the full escalated contract price. Ashland during some

years did not file with the FPC to take advantage of the

contractual price escalation provisions, but that was its

own choice. See Ashland Oil & Refining Co. v. FPC, 421

F.2d 17 (6th Cir. 1970). The court below has simply refus-

ed to recognize this distinction of this case from what it

conceived to be the situation in Grounds.°

‘In its petition to review the original, en banc, judgment in this case,

the Government urged the broader point that, even so far as the con-

tracts in Grounds were concerned, there had been no showing that the

FPC had ever interfered with the parties’ ability to negotiate and con-

tract freely with respect to helium or had altered their contract rights

with respect to helium. \n short, § 11 is not a ground for retroactively

17

IV

It is significant that the court below regarded itself as

having established in the Grounds opinion a federal cause -

of action, based on Section 11 and the Natural Gas Act,

for the reasonable value of helium. It took this Court’s

decision in Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Texaco Inc., 415

U.S. 125 (1974), to disabuse the court 7 appeals of that

idea. The Court there said that there is nd “language either

in the Natural Gas Act and the 1960 Helium Act Amend-

ments or in the legislative history of these enactments that

could be read to create a federal cause of action for the

recovery of the reasonable value of the helium. . ..”/d. at

128 n.2. The issue there was federal jurisdiction, but the

language of the Court’s per curiam opinion forecast the

opinions of this term and last expressing the Court’s un-

willingness to infer private causes of action from congres-

sional expressions of public policy addressed to executive

or independent administrative agencies.

Though Texaco itself was out of federal court for lack

of a case arising under federal law, this Court’s Texaco

ruling has not affected the course of decisions in this case

or, so far as we can tell, the Grounds cases, which remain

in the Tenth Circuit and its district courts under other

relieving a producer of the obligation of a freely negotiated contract in

which helium was assigned no separate value merely because the price

of the commodity that was the principal subject of the contract is ad-

justed on the authority of the Natural Gas Act. “If a seller failed to nego-

tiate separately for an unregulated commodity that he believed to be

valueless, the fact that the price of the regulated commodity may later

be changed should not entitle the seller to rewrite the contract with

respect to the unregulated commodity.” United States v. Ashland Oil,

Inc., No.77-530, Pet. for Cert. pp. 18-21 & n.2&. The broader ground

of decision would be available to the Court were certiorari to be

granted here, although we emphasize the narrower point that, on any

view, the Ashland-Phillips contracts have not been frustrated by FPC

rate regulation.

18

heads of federal jurisdiction. The en banc opinion in this

case is murky, but it appears that the court believed that

federal law applied either because of the very existence of

the federal helium contracts, the presence of the United

States as a party or its possession of the helium sold to it

by Phillips and the other conservation contractors. (Pp.

36a-40a, infra.) This Court’s admonition in Texaco that all

that Grounds logically meant was the removal of the

defense of payment, clearing the way for a quantum me-

ruit recovery under state law, 415 U.S. at 129, has not

been heeded. And, regardless of that, it is the very removal

of the defense of payment that brings about the intrusion

into matters of state concern analogous to the intrusions

that this Court has sought to avoid by its retrenchment of

judicial freedom to infer from federal enactments private

causes of action superseding state causes of action. For the

state law here is that a freely negotiated, unfrustrated con-

tract governs the rights of the contractors and leaves no

room for any quantum meruit recovery. (Pp. 11-12, supra.)

-s Thus the question is essentially the same as the question

whether private rights of enforcement or recovery are

created by federal statutes that do not in terms provide for

such rights. The resolution of that question, as this Court

has said, “is basically a matter of statutory construction.

. . . [What must ultimately be determined is whether

Congress intended to create the private remedy asserted . .

..” Transamerica Mortgage Advisors, Inc. v. Lewis, 100

S. Ct. 242, 245 (1979). This Court has already determined

that the Natural Gas Act was not intended to provide a

federal cause of action for parties such as Ashland, see

Skelly Oil Co. v. Phillips Petroleum Co., 339 U.S. 667

(1950); cf. Montana-Dakota Utilities Co. v. Northwestern

Public Service Co., 341 U.S. 246 (1951) (Federal Power

Act), and indeed has noted its reluctance to imply causes

of action under statutes, such as the Natural Gas Act, that

19

“create duties on the part of persons for the benefit of the

public at large.” Cannon v. University of Chicago, 441

U.S. 677, 692 n.13 (1979).

How, then, does the court of appeals’ analysis of Sec-

tion 11 stand against the considerations that this Court has

described as relevant in the recent opinions emphasizing

the limited availability of implied private remedies under

federal statutes? See Transamerica Mortgage Advisors,

Inc. v. Lewis, supra, at 244 n.3, 246-47; Touche Ross &

Co. v. Redington, 99 S. Ct. 2479, 2485-89 (1979); Cannon

v. University of Chicago, supra, at 688-717 ; Cort v. Ash,

422 U.S. 66, 78 (1975). Because the issue is one of sta-

tutory construction, the language of the statute is the star-

ting point. Section 11 says nothing specifically about

opening up existing contracts that cover both helium and

combustible gas. More than that, it does not indicate any

intent to benefit a class of which Ashland is a member. See

Transamerica Mortgage Advisors, Inc. v. Lewis, supra, at

246; Cannon v. University of Chicago, supra, at 689-92.

In the context of the Helium Act Amendments of 1960,

Section 11 is designed to ensure that private parties owning

the gas stream may be rewarded for extracting and saving

helium rather than wasting it. Ashland as a producer of

helium entrained with natural gas that it had already com-

mitted and sold is not a member of that class.

The language of the statute, according to this Court, is

ordinarily determinative of the question whether Congress

meant to create a private right for the benefit of some

specific class of persons. But if regard is had to other con-

siderations that have been thought relevant, see Cort v.

Ash, supra, at 78, there remains no basis for in-

ferring from Section 11 an intent to enlarge Ashland’s

private rights. (1) Neither the legislative history of Section

11 nor any other evidence of the congressional purpose

20

Suggests such an intent. (2) Enlargement of Ashland’s

private rights does not further the underlying purpose of

either the Helium Act or the Natural Gas Act. (3) The sub-

ject matter, private contracts, is traditionally one of state

concern except insofar as the federal regulatory agency

may properly be moved to intervene, as it has not been

here.

Vv

The way the court below has handled the important

helium title and compensation litigation must be puzzling

to a student of judicial administration. The consolidated

Grounds cases initially were decided by a panel of the

court. When the Grounds cases returned to the court after

the trial on remand, they were heard en banc, along with

this separate case, in which the total monetary stakes were

far smaller than in Grounds. This case was decided by the

en banc court. Grounds was not. After the remand trial in

this case, which resulted in a very much smaller judgment

for Ashland than the judgment that had earlier been re-

viewed en banc, a panel heard the appeals and affirmed

the judgment below with only a ministerial change relating

to prejudgment interest. (Pp. 93a-94a, infra.) Grounds still

remains pending undecided before the court en banc, and

the issues there include substantial, basic issues concerning

the valuation of helium. The district court in Grounds used

a different valuation method from that of the district court

in this case; it has been neither approved nor disapproved.

Whatever judicial strategy or judicial faiiure may be

reflected in the fact that Grounds has not been decided by

the en banc court more than three years after it was ar-

gued, there is now a final judgment in this case. If pru-

dential considerations relating to the lack of finality

entered into the Court’s earlier denials of certiorari in

Grounds and this case, see Brotherhood of Locomotive

21

Firemen v. Bangor & Aroostook R.R., 389 U.S. 327

(1967) (per curiam), they are no longer present. The judg-

ment here is final and squarely presents the important

question we have described. There is no doubt of the

Court's power to hear and decide the question now despite

the carlicr denials of certiorari. Hamilton-Brown Shoe Co.

v. Wolf Bros. & Co., 240 U.S. 251, 257-58 (1916).

Morcover, the rights of Ashland, Phillips and the United

States are concluded by the judgment regardless of any

further rulings of the court of appeals or this Court in

Grounds. There is no reason to withhold exercise of this

Court’s review power.

CONCLUSION

The writ should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM H. ALLEN

EUGENE D. GULLAND

SARAH E. BURNS

Covington & Burling

888 Sixteenth Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006

KENNETH HEADY

C.J. ROBERTS

DON L. JEMISON

Phillips Petroleum Company

Bartlesville, Oklahoma 74004

Attorneys for Petitioner

February 1980

la

APPENDIX A

ASHLAND OIL, INC., Plaintiff

Vv.

PHILLIPS PETROLEUM COMPANY,

Defendant.

and

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, /ntervenor.

No. 67-C-238.

United States District Court,

N.D. Oklahoma.

Aug. 13, 1973.

As Corrected Aug. 31, 1973.

Gerald Sawatzky and Stanley G. Andeel, Wichita,

Kan., Jay W. Elston, of Fulbright, Crooker & Jaworski,

Houston, Tex., and John M. Imel, of Martin, Logan,

Moyers, Martin & Conway, Tulsa, Okl., for plaintiff.

Richard B. McDermott, of Boesche, McDermott &

Eskridge, Tulsa, Okl., and Don L. Jemison, Phillips

Petroleum Co., Bartlesville, Okl., for defendant.

Floyd L. France and Dennis A. Dutterer, Dept. of

Justice, Washington, D.C., and Nathan G. Graham, U.S.

Atty., Tulsa, Okl., for intervenor.

Opinion

BOHANON, District Judge.

This action was initially instituted in the United States

District Court for the Southern District of Texas, and was

later, by proper proceedings transferred to this Court for

trial and disposition. Ashland Oil and Refining Company

sg 2a

(hereinafter referred to as Ashland) originally claimed the

right to recover moneys from Phillips Petroleum Com-

pany (hereinafter referred to as Phillips) representing an

alleged deficiency in payments for sale of natural gas

under the jurisdiction of the Federal Power Commission.

Ashland also asserted claims against Phillips to be paid for

helium contained in the jurisdictional mass of natural gas,

and which was extracted from the natural gas stream by

Phillips under contract with the United States of America

through the Department of Interior, Bureau of Mines.

The Court has diversity jurisdiction and federal ques-

tion jurisdiction, 28 U.S.C.A. §§ 1331(a) and 1332.

Ashland abandoned its claim against Phillips for defi-

ciency payments for sale of natural gas under the jurisdic-

tion of the Federal Power Commission by reason of pro-

ceedings before the Federal Power Commission, and an

appeal from its order (Ashland Oil and Refining Company

v. FPC, 421 F.2d 17, 6th C.A.). Consequently, the only

claim remaining for trial and determination by this Court

is Ashland’s claim for recovery of the reasonable value of

helium contained in the natural gas stream delivered by

Ashland to Phillips.

Plaintiff Ashland acquired all of the interests of United

Producing Company which had entered into a contract

with Phillips Petroleum Company on November 8, 1945

(amended Oct. 1, 1950 & June 27, 1956) providing for the

sale of natural gas from 15 wells located in Sherman

County, Texas. These same parties entered into another

gas purchase agreement on April 15, 1953, (amended June

27, 1956) providing for the sale of natural gas from three

wells in Hansford County, Texas. These agreements were

properly filed with the Federal Power Commission as pro-

vided by law and rate schedules were fixed for the sale of

3a

said gas. These filings were required under the Natural

Gas Act (15 U.S.C. § 717 et seq.) because Ashland’s

deliveries to Phillips constituted sales of natural gas for

resale in interstate commerce. Ashland succeeded to all the

rights and interest of United Producing Company. All of

the wells above referred to are subject to the contract be-

tween Ashland, as successor to United Producing Com-

pany, and Phillips Petroleum Company, and Phillips

Petroleum Company extracted helium which was contain-

ed in the natural gas stream as delivered by Ashland to

Phillips.

Ashland’s contention is that the title to the helium in the

contained natural gas did not pass to Phillips under the gas

purchase contracts and if and when Phillips elected to ex-

tract the helium from the natural gas stream, plaintiff

Ashland was entitled to payment therefor from Phillips

for the reasonable value of such helium less certain costs

of extraction, and other deductions hereafter referred to.

The defendant contends that when it purchased the gas

stream from Ashland, it purchased all of the elements

thereof including the helium, and inasmuch as Phillips

paid Ashland the Federal Power Commission rate for the

gas delivered to Phillips, Phillips became the owner of the

entire stream, including the helium, and therefore, is not

liable in any sum to Ashland for the helium extracted. Fur-

ther, Phillips presents the defense of Statute of Limita-

tions claiming that if liable, they are liable only for the

helium extracted from the natural gas for two years prior

to the filing of this action and thereafter; further Phillips

claims that by reason of payment to Ashland for the

natural gas, plaintiff is barred by the defenses of accounts

stated, accord and satisfaction, and to require payment

now would be a violation of the Fifth Amendment to the

Constitution of the United States.

ee eee

4a

The United States of America by Order of the Court

was realigned as a party defendant.

Findings

1. Helium is an unusual element; it is a gas which is inert

and noncombustible and is the second lightest element

known. Helium is so inert that it will not chemically react

or combine with other elements and thus remains as

helium forever. It is tasteless, colorless, odorless and in-

visible. For a more complete description of helium, its

unusual characteristics, its uses, and where found, etc., see

Northern Natural Gas Co. v. Grounds, 441 F.2d 704 (10

C.A.) and in the Opinion of District Judge Wesley E.

Brown, 292 F.Supp. 619 (D.C.Kan.).

2. The United States of America, through the Depart-

ment of Interior and the Bureau of Mines of the Depart-

ment, recognizing the need for the conservation of this

rare material and its scarcity, and its need for defense

purposes and other important uses, Congress enacted the

Helium Act Amendments of 1960 (50 U.S.C. § 167 et seq.)

authorizing the United States to enter into a program of

conservation of helium for future use; under this program,

private companies negotiated contracts with the United

States of America through the Department of Interior,

Bureau of Mines, to construct plants for the extraction of

helium from natural gas streams, then being produced

from the Hugoton-Panhandle area; otherwise, this

valuable material would be lost at the burner tip of the

ultimate user of the gas and discharged into the air as

residue.

3. Prior to 1961, the United States Government, with

minor exceptions for a short time, was the sole extractor

and source of commercial helium. It controlled and fixed

the price of all wholesale sales of helium.

Sa

4. Pursuant to the authority granted by Congress, the

United States entered into five long-term helium purchase

contracts with four companies, one of which was Phillips

Petroleum Company, which contracted on November 13,

1961, with the United States to sell a helium gas mixture

from two plants it proposed to build, the Sherman Helium

Plant and the Dumas Helium Plant. These plants were

constructed so as to extract for delivery and sale to the

government a helium gas mixture (crude helium) which

was to consist of at least 50% helium under the contract

requirements, the remainder being essentially nitrogen.

Under this contract, the United States agreed to pay a base

price of $10.30 per m.c.f. (thousand cubic feet) of contain-

ed helium in the crude product, which price was subject to

escalation in accordance with the contract. The base price

was also subject to escalation in the event Phillips was re-

quired to pay third parties “for the acquisition of

helium.”' Specifically, under the contract between the

'“In addition to all other amounts payable under this contract

Buyer shall pay to Seller all amounts, except as hereinafter provided,

that Seller shall pay subsequent to the date of this contract, directly or

through an affiliated company, to parties other than itself or an af-

filiated company for the acquisition of helium in the natural gas, as

defined herein, or for any interest in such helium. Any such payment

to qualify for inclusion hereunder shall be made only with the consent

of Buyer; and for the purposes of this paragraph 7.4 Buyer shall be

deemed to have consented to any and all such payments in satisfaction

or settlement of any claims to helium in the natural gas, as defined

herein, or to any interest in such helium that have been judicially

determined in favor of any claimants by any Federal court or the

highest appellate court of any state. Further, Buyer shall be deemed to

have consented to any and all such payments under circumstances

similar to any such judicially determined claim if such payments are

made generally in accordance with the findings, principles, and con-

clusions of any such judicial determination. The amounts that Buyer

shall be required to pay, to Seller in accordance with this paragraph

shall not include an amount to be calculated applicable to each such

acquisition equal to twenty-nine (29) per cent of the weighted average

of part two of the unit price or unit prices in effect during the time

6a

United States and Phillips, producers of commingled

helium such as Ashland and the mineral or royalty owners,

being third parties, and if they were entitled to

recovery from Phillips the reasonable value of the helium

produced from the commingled gas Phillips was required

to pay under paragraph 7.4 of the contract, part 2 of the

unit price only approximately $3.00 per m.c.f. and the

United States under the contract was required to reim-

burse or indemnify Phillips for any excess of $3.00 per

m.c.f. which Phillips was required to pay. This was an im-

portant part of the contract because it indemnified Phillips

against required payments to third persons of the amount

in excess of $3.00 per m.c.f. and thus gave the United

States the right to purchase this helium for a lesser sum

than, no doubt, otherwise would have been required.

5. The United States took delivery of the helium gas

mixture from Phillips and transported it through its own

pipeline to storage in government-owned storage facilities

at Cliffside Field near Amarillo, Texas. From there it can

be withdrawn as needed, and purified to grade A helium

(99.995% pure helium) in government-owned plants at ap-

proximately $2.00 per m.c.f. helium.

6. Under the contracts the government agreed to take all

of the helium produced up to certain amounts, and the

government sold grade A helium at wholesale F.O.B. its

helium plants for $35.00 per m.c.f. and has done so since

the fall of 1961. All federal departments and agencies were

required to purchase their helium needs from the United

States at this price. The Bureau of Mines has the statutory

authority and responsibility to fix the price at whatever

level is necessary to pay for costs associated with the

covered by such acquisition multiplied by the volume in MCF of

helium in the natural gas, as defined herein, covered by such acquisi-

tion.”

Ta

helium conservation program, including any additional

payments which may be required to be paid by the United

States as a result of this case.

7. Beginning in 1961, several private helium plants have

been built to sell pure helium in the private commercial

market. Although the government price for its helium has

remained at $35.00 per m.c.f., the prices for which helium

has sold on the private market from 1963 through 1972

have ranged from $35.00 to approximately $20.00 per

m.c.f. Such prices are wholesale prices and the only

market prices for sale of helium in the United States dur-

ing the period in question.

8. The Court finds the fair and reasonable value of

grade A helium during the periods here involved was

$20.00 per m.c.f.

9. Recognizing the benefit to United States and the im-

portance of paragraph 7.4 of the United States-Phillips

helium contract, the Associate Solicitor of the Division of

Mineral Resources of the Department of the Interior, and

who approved the contract provision, correctly described

it as an escalation in price:

“This provision in effect provides for escala-

tion in price when the cost of the raw material in-

creases.” (Pls. Ex. 39, p. 3)

10. By reason of the above escalation provision in the

contract, the United States was able to obtain a base rice

substantially lower than would otherwise have been possi-

ble.

11. There was no known wellhead price fixed for the

helium gas in the gas stream, and it was and is impractical

and uneconomical to attempt to extract the helium gas at

the wellhead. This can only be done economically through

large plants with large volumes of gas to process.

8a

12. The gas stream delivered by Ashland to Phillips con-

tained all of the natural gas liquids, such as butane, pro-

pane and pentanes plus, which Phillips extracts and did ex-

tract from the feed gas and markets these gases in liquid

form. Because these rich liquids are in concentrated form

(about 10% of the volume of the total feed gas stream),

Phillips has been able to extract and market substantial ad-

ditional quantities of such liquids, above and beyond what

its existing gasoline plants would be able to extract at a

substantial savings in cost. These additional liquids are in

substance a byproduct of the helium plant operation.

13. Experts who testified in the trial of this case estimate

that the Texas Panhandle, Southwestern Kansas and

Western Oklahoma constitute 99% of the free world’s

known commercial reserves of helium. This area is known

as the Hugoton Field, and Ashland wells which deliver gas

to Phillips are in this field.

14. To arrive at the reasonable wellhead value of

Ashland’s helium delivered to Phillips, there should be

deducted from the value those costs incurred by Phillips in

extracting and delivering the helium and also the cost of

purification. In determining these costs, the total costs of

the helium plant itself should be credited and reduced by a

fair allocation of a portion of such costs to the incremen-

tal, or additional liquids, which the helium plant

generates. This can equitably be done by calculating a fair

share of the incremental benefits accruing to Phillips in its

natural gas liquids operation as a direct result of the

helium plant operation. Failure to assign a portion of

helium plant costs to the incremental liquids operation

would inequitably burden the helium plant with substan-

tial costs which are incurred and which result in the pro-

duction of the incremental liquids.

15. After allowing for the following deductions, the

Court finds that the reasonable value of the helium

9a

delivered by Ashland to Phillips is shown in the following

table. The deductions referred to include:

(a) All helium plant costs, including a 10% rate of

return to Phillips on its stockholder equity;

(b) The incremental liquids benefit which should

be applied to reduce costs of the helium plant;

(c) $2.00 per m.c.f. for purification.

16. The Court finds and is of the opinion that the

following table shows the reasonable cost of extracting the

helium, the reasonable value of helium on a yearly basis

from the Ashland gas delivered to Phillips and further

shows the volume of helium per m.c.f. extracted by

Phillips for the ten-year period in question and the total

value thereof; likewise it shows the interest computed at

6% per annum for the total recovery of helium delivered

by Ashland and recovered by Phillips and the total

amount of money judgment plaintiff is entitled to recover:

Reasonable Value Calculations

A B Cc D E

Minimum Reasonable

Value for Value of

Crude He- Helium De-

lium $20.00 livered by

Liquid Bene- Grade A He- Ashland to

Helium Plant fit Credit Net Helium lium Value Phillips

Costs (Pit's (Pit'’s Ex. Cost (Col- less $2.00 (Columns

Ex. 61 & 62, 61 & 62, ums [a] i mef Purifi- [d] less

line 10) line 12) less [b)) cation Cost (c)

SHERMAN HELIUM PLANT

1963 $4.82 $1.01 $3.81 $18.00 $14.19

1964 3.53 10 3.43 18.00 14.57

1965 4.06 .27 3.79 18.00 14.21

1966 4.09 45 3.64 18.00 14.36

1967 4.94 1.06 3.88 18.00 14.12

1968 4.22 1.16 3.06 18.00 14.94

1969 4.50 82 3.68 18.00 14.32

1970 5.16 2.20 2.96 18.00 15.04

1971 5.31 4.29 1.02 18.00 16.98

1972 5.52 3.97 1.55 18.00 16.45

DUMAS HELIUM PLANT

1966 5.93 .00 5.93 18.00 12.07

1967 6.46 78 5.68 18.00 12.32

1968 5.91 1.01 4.90 18.00 13.10

1969 6.55 31 6.24 18.00 11.76

1970 5.89 1.04 4.85 18.00 13.15

1971 6.39 1.58 4.81 18.00 13.19

10a

Reasonable Value Calculations — Continued

F G H | J

Vol. of Total Rea-

Ashland sonable Value

Helium Ex- of Ashland

tracted by Helium Ex- Periods

Phillips tracted by (Yrs.) at Total

(Pit’s Ex. Phillips interest Interest Recovery

14 & 15, Awarded to to July 1, at 6% By

Sch. 3) Ashland 1973 per year Ashland

SHERMAN HELIUM PLANT

m.c.f.

1963 7,791 $110,554.29 9% $63,015.95 $173,570.24

1964 8,076 117,667.32 82 60,010.33 177,677.65

1965 8,997 127,847.37 7% 57,531.32 185,378.69

1966 7,521 108,001.56 6% 42,120.61 150,122.17

1967 5,757 81,288.84 5% 26,825.32 108,114.16

1968 6,742 100,725.48 42 27,195.88 127,921.36

1969 6,033 86,392.56 3% 18,142.44 104,535.00

1970 5,460 82,118.40 2’2 12,317.76 94,436.16

1971 5,944 100,929.12 1% 9,083.62 110,012.74

1972 6,082 100,048.90 -» Va 3,001.47 103,050.37

DUMAS HELIUM PLANT

1966 431 5,238.38 62 2,042.97 7,281.35

1967 950 11,704.00 5% 3,862.32 15,566.32

1968 949 12,431.90 42 3,356.61 15,788.51

1969 890 10,466.40 3% 2,197.94 12,664.34

1970 681 8,955.15 2 1,343.27 10,298.42

1971 444 5,856.36 1% 527.07 6,383.43

TOTAL $1,402,800.91

17. The Court finds that the attorneys for plaintiff have

expended many hours prosecuting this lawsuit against the

defendant and are entitled to be paid the total attorneys

fees as set out below:

Jay W. Elston firm 1059 hours at $50.00 $ 52,950.00

Houston, Texas 1059 hours at $35.00 37,065.00

Gerald Sawatzky firm 550 hours at $50.00 27,500.00

Wichita, Kansas 275 hours at $35.00 9,625.00

John M. Imel firm 201.4 hours at $50.00 10,070.00

Tulsa, Oklahoma TOTAL $137,210.00

The Court finds that the plaintiff Ashland should have

judgment against the defendant Phillips for attorneys fees

in the total amount of $137,210.00 for the services as

above specified.

18. The Court finds that Ashland has prosecuted this

lawsuit for the total helium contained in the gas stream

from its respective gas wells delivered by Ashland to

lla

Phillips; that in prosecuting this lawsuit the plaintiff

Ashland has incurred and paid the following expenses

which are not chargeable to the defendant Phillips, but

were reasonable and necessary and should be paid on the

basis of one-half by Ashland and one-half by the land-

owners, mineral owners, otherwise royalty owners.

WITNESS:

Leo Garwin

326 Oklahoma Mortgage Bidg.

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Professional Services 1969: $ 2,810.40

1973: __7,260.95 $10,071.35

Troupe, Kehoe, Whiteaker

& Kent

Certified Public Accountants

2900 Power & Light Bidg.

Kansas City, Missouri

Professional Services $24,600.00

Travel Expenses 1,353.73

Duplicating 425.00 $26,378.73

Tulsa Reporting Service

526 Mayo Building

Tulsa, Oklahoma

Depositions: May, 1973 $ 277.15

Transcript: June, 1973 4,686.00 $ 4,963.15

Interrogs, Inc.

2439 Bank of the Southwest Bidg.

Houston, Texas 77002

Depositions: April, 1973 $ 552.00 $ 552.00

Fulston, Siefkin, Powers &

Eberhardt

Suite 600

4th National Bank Bidg.

Wichita, Kansas

1968 1972 1973

Travel $157.12 $3,028.25

Long Distance $6.99 239.34

Court Reporting

Depositions 2,385.30

Postage 96 19.21

Duplicating 434.40

TOTAL $157.12 $6.97 $6,106.50 $ 6,270.59

Martin, Logan, Moyers,

Martin & Conway

National Bank of Tulsa Bidg.

Tulsa, Oklahoma

Expenses: (7-1-69 thru 12-31-72)

Duplicating $ 3.90

Long

Distance 56.81

Travel 14.40 $ 75.11

12a

WITNESS: — Continued

Ashiand Oil, Inc.

Employee Travel Expense

_1972 1973

Ray Althouse $169.50

J. C. Coogan 160.23

B. J. White 101.02

D. W. Cox $179.03 _ 405.66

$179.03 $836.41 $1,015.44

Fulbright, Crooker &

Jaworski

Bank of the Southwest Bidg.

Houston, Texas

_ 1966 =: 1967 1968 1969 1970 1971 1972 1973

Long Distance 85.79 283.96 56.38 275.71 13.20 61.59 141.86 195.52

Duplicating 70.76 294.20 550.45 1,105.01 21.00 18.80 214.32 160.30

Filing Fees 25.00 15.00

Travel 303.72 114.24 1,341.17 126.00 120.50 1,327.77 1,283.63

Printing 1,879.01 89.82

Freight 11.30

Secretarial 80.88 15.92

Total 156.55 906.88 721.07 4,708.08 250.02 200.09 1,699.87 1,639.45

Total Expenses $10,282.01

Less Amounts Incurred in Connection

with FPC Proceedings 1,922.89 $ 8,359.12

TOTAL OF ALL EXPENSES INCURRED $57,685.49

The Court finds that the Plaintiff expended $57,685.49

in the prosecution of this lawsuit which is not assessable or

taxable as costs against the defendant, Phillips, and that

these costs should be divided equally between plaintiff and

landowners, mineral owners (hereinafter referred to as

royalty owners), and from the distribution made by

plaintiff, Ashland, to royalty owners first should be

deducted one-half of the cost above stated as paying the

cost assessable to royalty owners.

19. The Court finds from a review of the pleadings, the

Complaint. Amended Complaint, Stipulation of Facts,

the exhibits and testimony that Ashland has brought, pro-

secuted and maintained this action on its own behalf and

on the behalf of the royalty owners for the delivery of

helium in the entire gas stream on a per wellhead basis

from the inception of the production of helium to June 30,

1972. The Court takes judicial knowledge of the oil and

gas leases executed by royalty owners in favor of the lessee

13a

and the assignee of the lessee, and that at the time of enter-

ing into each of the respective oil and gas leases, no

thought of helium rights was considered by either lessee or

lessor; that no consideration passed from one to the cther

for any helium rights; that the helium as contained in the

gas was an undealt with commodity except that the lessee

had the exclusive right to enter upon the lessor’s property

and drill and produce gas from said premises; that the ex-

clusive right to drill and produce gas is a perpetual right

vested in the lessee so long as oil and gas is produced in

paying quantities from the premises by Ashland or its

assigns.

The Court finds that the helium hereinabove referred to

is and was the sole property of the royalty owners subject

to the exclusive right of Ashland to drill and produce gas

which contained helium and that their rights are equal and

that the proceeds to be derived from the sale of helium

should be equally divided between Ashland and the royal-

ty owners and therefore the judgment herein rendered in

favor of the plaintiff, Ashland, and against the defendant,

Phillips, should be divided equally between Ashland and

the royalty owners and on the basis of the payments

heretofore made by Ashland to the royalty owners for gas

produced and sold to Phillips and transported in interstate

commerce under the regulations of the Federal Power

Commission; and that Ashland shall first deduct from the

royalty owners’ portion of the judgment one-half of the

costs of prosecuting this action. The equal division be-

tween lessor and lessee of the proceeds from the helium is

required in equity; otherwise the windfall would give 7/8

to Ashland and 1/8 to the royalty owners, which would be

unconscionable and an unjust enrichment to Ashland.

14a

Conclusions of Law

This litigation is based primarily on the 1960 Aci of

Congress known as the Helium Act Amendments of 1960

(50 U.S.C. § 167 et seq.) where the United States was

authorized and directed to enter into a program of conser-

vation of helium for future use.

[1] The evidence is convincing to’ this Court that the

United States, through the defendant, Phillips, and by

reason of the Helium Act, confiscated the helium of the

plaintiff and royalty owners rather than acquiring it by

condemnation; nevertheless, the taking was in the nature

of condemnation, and the reasonable value of the helium

plus interest is proper; that the United States was obligated

to pay the reasonable value of said helium in excess of

~ $3.00 per m.c.f. which Phillips was required to pay for the

helium all as provided by their contract.

The Court concludes that the law contained in Northern

Natural Gas Co. v. Grounds, supra governs this case in the

matter of reasonable value of helium and the obligation of

the defendant to pay that value, and no other authorities

need be cited.

Further the United States Court of Appeals for the

Tenth Circuit laid down certain guidelines for trial courts

in Texaco Inc. v. Phillips Petroleum Company, 481 F.2d

70 (opinion filed July 13, 1973). Here the Court said:

“We have here another controversy over

helium. The basic background is outlined in our

decision in the Consolidated Helium cases. See

Northern Natural Gas Company v. Grounds,

* * * We there held that lessee-producers of na-

tural gas could recover the reasonable value of

contained helium out of interpleader funds

created by the government’s purchases of helium

15a

from helium extraction companies and parent

pipeline companies.

* * * * * *

In Consolidated Helium we considered the

claims of the pipelines and helium separation

companies that they were entitled under their gas

purchase contracts to receive the entire gas

stream at the Federal Power Commission service

rate and said that ‘private contract law and the

principles applicable thereto are not controlling.’

(Emphasis Added)

* * * * * *

No good purpose would be served by repeating

our analysis of the Natural Gas Act and the 1960

Helium Act amendments. We held that, * * *

‘* * * the reconciliation of the Natural Gas

Act and of the 1960 amendments to the

Helium Act to attain a symmetrical whole re-

quires the conclusion that the FPC service

rates do not apply to deny recovery for the

contained helium which is processed in the

separation plants.’

* * « * * .

We thought that we made plain that we did not

allow recovery on the application of any prin-

ciples of equity, see 441 F.2d at 719-720, but on

the ground that satisfactory utility regulation

does not permit a utility rate to be used to obtain

a commodity which is not within the contempla-

tion of that rate.

* * * o* * *

We reject defendant’s assertion that Con-

solidated Helium was an interim decision. The

Supreme Court denied certiorari, 404 U.S. 951,

l6a

92 S.Ct. 268, 30 L.Ed.2d 267, 404 U.S. 1063, 92

S.Ct. 732, 30 L.Ed.2d 751, and 404 U.S. 1065, 92

S.Ct. 732, 30 L.Ed.2d 754. The decision is final

and is the law of this circuit. We say nothing on

plaintiff's claim that Consolidated Helium is res

judicata on the issues presented here. We are

concerned with jurisdiction, not with the merits.

* *” * * * *

In Consolidated Helium we pointed out that

there are over 30,000 persons receiving income

from helium bearing natural gas produced by

over 500 lessee-producers under thousands of

leases.

OF oF a + o os

The problems relating to the recovery of the

value of the helium content of natural gas travel-

ing in interstate commerce have arisen because

of, and under, federal statutes. Plaintiff asserts

rights under those statutes and is entitled to sue

in federal court. We believe the federal courts

have jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1331(a).”

[2] The Court concludes as a matter of law that the

plaintiffs are entitled to a legal rate of interest because of

the taking. See St. Paul Mercury Indemnity Co. v. United

States, 201 F.2d 57 (C.A. 10); T. & M. Transp. Co. v.

S.W. Shattuck Chemical Co., 158 F.2d 909 (C.A. 10);

Louisiana & Arkansas Railway Co. v. Export Drum Co.,

359 F.2d 311 (C.A. 5); Jacobs v. United States, 290 U.S.

13, 54 S.Ct. 26, 78 L.Ed. 142 (1933).

The Court in Northern Natural Gas Company et al. v.

Grounds et al., 441 F.2d 704 (10 Cir.), cert. denied, 404

U.S. 1063-1065, 92 S.Ct. 732, 30 L.Ed.2d 751, issued a

post-opinion order, pertaining to costs and the mandate,

recognizing the significance of the interest question.

Paragraph 15 of the Order dated March 16, 1972, states:

werent

17a

“The right of the lessee-producers to interest,

and the amount thereof, on any sums which the

District Court may adjudge to be due and owing

to them shall be determined by the District

Court, subject to review by this Court.”

[3] The Court concludes as a matter of law that the

plaintiff's attorneys are entitled to be paid by the defen-

dants a reasonable attorneys’ fee. See United States Fideli-

ty & Guar. Co. v. Hendry Corporation, 391 F.2d 13 (C.A.

5); Boyd Callan, Inc. v. United States, 328 F.2d 505 (C.A.

5).

In T.F. Scholes, Inc. v. United States, 295 F.2d 366 at

370 (C.A. 10) the Court said:

“The fixing of reasonable attorneys fees rested

in. the sound judicial discretion of the court... .”

In Texas Gas Corporation v. Hankamer, 326 S.W.2d

944 (Tex.Civ.App.) it was held that gas and distillate

delivered by appellees and processed in a plant was

“material furnished”, and an award of attorneys’ fees was

upheld.

The Court concludes as a matter of law that the plaintiff

is entitled to judgment as follows:

(a) That plaintiff, Ashland, should have judgment

against defendant, Phillips, for helium extracted for the

ten-year period from 1963 to December 31, 1972, together

with yearly interest thereon at the rate of 6% per annum

ending June 30, 1973, in the total amount of

$1,402,800.91.

(b) That plaintiff should have judgment for attorneys’

fees, otherwise professional services rendered by plaintiff's

attorneys in the prosecution of this action in the amount

of $137,210.00.

18a

[4] (c) That the royalty owners should be paid one-half

of the proceeds derived from the sale of helium less one-

half of the expenses of $57,685.49 incurred and paid by

Ashland in the prosecution of this action and not

chargeable to the defendant Phillips.

(d) That the prayer of the Intervenor United States of

America is denied.

An appropriate judgment will be entered as herein pro-

vided.

Judgment

Based upon the Memorandum Opinion, Findings of

Fact and Conclusions of Law filed herein this day, the

Court enters the following judgment:

1. It is ordered, adjudged and decreed by the Court that

plaintiff Ashland Oil, Inc., shall have judgment against

defendant Phillips Petroleum Company in the amount of

$1,402,800.91 together with accruing interest as provided

by law from date of judgment, until paid, for helium sold

and delivered during the ten-year period ending December

31, 1972.

2. It is further ordered, adjudged and decreed by the

Court that plaintiff Ashland Oil, Inc. shall have judgment

against the defendant Phillips Petroleum Company in the

amount of $137,210.00 together with accruing interest as

provided by law from the date of this Judgment until the

Judgment is paid as reasonable attorneys’ fees in the pro-

secution of this action.

3. It is further ordered, adjudged and decreed by the

Court that Ashland Oil, Inc., on receipt of the payment of

the helium together with interest thereon, as provided in

19a

item (1) above, shall deduct therefrom its expenses of pro-

secution in the amount of $57,685.49 and pay to its royalty

owners On the basis of payments heretofore made to its

royalty owners for gas sold and delivered and transported

in interstate commerce one-half of said helium receipts

together with its one-half of the accrued and accruing in-

terest.

4. It is further ordered, adjudged and decreed by the

Court that the defendant Phillips Petroleum Company

pay the usual and ordinary costs of this litigation as pro-

vided by the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

5. It is further ordered, adjudged and decreed by the

Court that the prayer of the Intervenor, United States of

America, be, and the same is hereby denied. The defen-

dant Phillips Petroleum Company has made no clai:n for

relief as against the United States of America.

20a

APPENDIX B

United States Court of Appeals

Tenth Circuit

Nos. 73-1797, 73-1798, 73-1799

ASHLAND OIL, INC., Appellee, Cross-Appellant,

Ve

PHILLIPS PETROLEUM COMPANY, Appellant,

v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, /ntervenor-Appellant.

Appeal From The

United States District Court

For The Northern District

of Oklahoma

(D.C. # 67-C-238)

(Filed May 10, 1977)

On Rehearing En Banc

Richard B. McDermott, Tulsa, Oklahoma (Lloyd G.

Minter and Don L. Jemison, Bartlesville, Oklahoma, with

him on the Brief), for Appellant, Phillips Petroleum Com-

pany.

Gerald Sawatzky, Wichita, Kansas (Jay W. Elston,

Houston, Texas, John M. Imel, Tulsa, Oklahoma, Arloe

W. Mayne, Ashland, Kentucky, W.O. Strong III,

Houston, Texas, and Foulston, Siefkin, Powers &

Eberhardt, Wichita, Kansas, Fulbright, & Jaworski,

Houston, Texas, and Martin, Logan, Moyers, Martin &

2la

Conway, Tulsa, Oklahoma, of Counsel, with him on the

Brief) for Appellee-Ashland Oil, Inc.

Floyd L. France, Attorney, Department of Justice,

Washington, D.C. (Peter R. Taft, Assistant Attorney

General, Nathan G. Graham, United States Attorney,

Hubert A. Marlow, Assistant United States Attorney, E.

Edward Johnson, United States Attorney, Jon K. Sargent,

Assistant United States Attorney, Edmund B. Clark, Den-

nis A. Dutterer, George R. Hyde, and Jacques B. Gelin,

Attorneys, Department of Justice, with him on the Brief),

for Intervenor-Appellant, United States of America.

Before Lewis, Chief Judge, BREITENSTEIN, SETH,

McWILLIAMS, BARRETT AND DOYLE, Circuit Judges, sitting

en banc.

SETH, Circuit Judge.

Doy Le, Circuit Judge, dissents. Dissenting opinion at-

tached.

This action was brought to recover the reasonable value

of helium intermixed with natural gas, extracted

therefrom, and sold by the defendant Phillips to the

United States. The plaintiff prevailed against the defen-

dant and the Government as intervenor in the lower court

and they both appeal. Plaintiff also appeals, but only as to

the ultimate division of the proceeds derived from the

helium as ordered by the trial court.

The case was commenced in the Southern District of

Texas, but transferred at defendant’s request to the Nor-

thern District of Oklahoma. The complaint asserts

jurisdiction based on diversity, and this ground was

established. The Government intervened as plaintiff, but

was realigned as a defendant.

The general description of the occurrence of helium, its

characteristics, and how it became an issue is described in

22a

the several opinions hereinafter cited. It is, however,

necessary to describe the contractual relationship which

existed between the defendant Phillips and the Bureau of

Mines during the pertinent time period as it bears on the

relationship with plaintiff.

The Helium Act (50 U.S.C. § 167 et seq.) was directed

to the conservation of helium present in natural gas and

which was being wasted by the use of the gas as fuel. It was

determined that the best method to prevent this loss was to

intercept the flow of helium-bearing natural gas after it

had been gathered and where large volumes were being

transported by pipeline to the fuel consumers, and to ex-

tract the helium therein intermingled. At these points the

pipeline companies had possession of the gas stream.

The Bureau of Mines pursuant to the Helium Act

entered into contracts with those in possession of the

‘ natural gas stream to purchase helium after it was ex-

tracted from the stream. The record shows that this deci-

sion to contract apparently was brought about by the in-

ability of the Bureau to then ascertain the identity of the

interest owners in the helium and to deal with them within

any reasonable time. The Bureau indicates that there were

some 30,000 landowners involved and several hundred

lessee-producers of the gas. The production is from several

states and the interest owners reside in many different

states. By the contracts with the defendant and others the

Bureau made possible the construction of extraction

plants and soon came into possession of the helium so

removed from the large gas stream. Waste of the helium

was so prevented, and the purpose of the Helium Act was

accomplished.

We are here concerned with the Government contract

with defendant Phillips whereby the helium was physically

acquired by the Government, but the ownership and com-

23a

pensation problems were put off to another day. The

Bureau thus used by this contract the advantageous posi-

tion of one in possession; postponed the inevitable legal

problems and placed itself in the position of a defendant

when the problems came before a court.

In the contract between the United States as buyer and

the defendant as selier covering the purchase of helium, a

specific amount was provided as compensation to defen-

dant. The record shows that this figure was arrived at by

comparison of the estimated cost to the Government had it

built its own plant. No relationship of this figure to any

then market values was developed in the record. This was

a base price of $10.30 per mcf and was subject to escala-

tion under Paragraph 7.3. Paragraph 7.4 provided that in

addition to such amount the buyer would pay to the seller

the amounts “. . . that Seller shall pay subsequent to the

date of this contract . . . to parties other than itself...

for the acquisition of helium in the natural gas. . . or for

any interest therein.” It provided that such payments to

qualify would have to be made with the consent of the

buyer, and that “consent” included claims that “. . . have

been judicially determined in favor of any claimants by any

Federal Court or the highest appellate court of any state,”

and payments made in accordance with the find-

ings, principles, and conclusions of such “judicial deter-

mination.” Under the contract formula the defendant

would pay the first $3.00 per mcf to third parties and the

Government would pay the rest. The result would be that

the ultimate payment to the “owners” was to be so shared

by defendant and the United States, with the United States

providing an indemnification for required payments

above the stated amount. There are other qualifications

also.

It is obvious that this litigation wherein compensation is

demanded by the interest owners of the helium was con-

24a

templated and was provided for in the contract. It was ap-

parent that some knotty legal problems would have to be

met in order to determine who the interest owners were,

and to decide whether or not they had already been com-

pensated for the helium under the leases, the gas purchase

contracts, or the Natural Gas Act. These postponed legal

problems were in large part decided in the Consolidated

Helium Cases (Northern Natural Gas Co. v. Grounds, 411

F.2d 704 (10th Cir.) ), opinion by Judge Breitenstein. The

basic legal relationships among the landowners, pro-

ducers, and gas purchasers were there established, as was

the relationship of the Natural Gas Act and the Helium

Act. The controlling rules were set in the Grounds opin-

ion, en banc consideration was denied, and the Supreme

Court denied certiorari. We decline to reconsider

Grounds. Further, in Grounds we held that “... the

lessee-producers are entitled to the reasonable value of the

contained helium.” The problem of the amount of

reasonable compensation, and who should pay, was not

decided in Grounds, and was remanded to the trial court.

The Grounds case is again before this court en banc and

was consolidated for hearing with this case, but is not con-

sidered in this opinion.

When the matter of compensation is in issue we are faced

with a somewhat different aspect of the physical and legal

journey helium makes from the natural gas well to the

storage facilities of the Bureau of Mines than we have con-

sidered before. The possession and interception of the gas

stream, the separation of the helium therefrom, and its

delivery to the United States under the contract arrange-

ment are all still important, but the relationship of the

contracting parties to those who now have been determin-

ed to own interests in the helium, and, of course, the value

of the helium are the center of focus.

25a

The position of the United States as a party herein is

somewhat unusual. It filed a motion to intervene as a par-

ty plaintiff with a “Complaint in Intervention of the

United States” attached. This motion was granted. The

Complaint of the Government stated that the court had

jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1345, cited 28 U.S.C.

§ 2201, and recited the existence of the contract for the

purchase of helium from Phillips, asserted that Phillips

had delivered to the United States “large quantities of a

helium-gas mixture” for which it had been paid “substan-

tial sums of money.” This complaint acknowledges that

the plaintiff Ashland is seeking the “fair market value” of

helium in the gas it sold to Phillips which was processed

for helium, and the helium in turn sold to the United

States under the contract referred to above. The Govern-

ment further alleges that Ashland has already been paid

for the helium content along with the hydrocarbons, and

in any event the value of the helium content is “nominal.”

The complaint asserts that: “An actual controversy exists

between the United States and Ashland as to whether

payments between Phillips and Ashland for the gas as pro-

duced was payment for the helium content.” The Govern-

ment also asserts that it “. . . has a real and substantial in-

terest in this litigation because of a provision in its con-

tract with Phillips under which it may be under a duty to

indemnify Phillips for additional payments . . ..” The

Government prayed for a determination that Ashland had

already been paid in full, and if not, that the fair market

value of the helium was “nominal.” Phillips and Ashland

answered the Government’s complaint. Ashland in its

answer prayed for costs and general relief.

As the trial opened, the attorney for Phillips suggested

that the United States be realigned as a party defendant.

The court then said: “The Court will order that the style be

26a

changed to Ashland Oil and Refining Company, Plaintiff,

versus Phillips Petroleum and United States of America as

defendants.” The findings recite that at the Government’s

request it was aligned as a defendant and was an in-

tervenor. The United States participated in the trial, cross-

examined witnesses, put on a witness of its own, objected

to the plaintiffs findings, and submitted proposed find-

ings. The judgment entered ran against Phillips only. The

United States has fully participated in this appeal.

As indicated above, this action was brought by Ashland

against the defendant Phillips to recover the reasonable

wellhead value of helium commingled with the FPC

jurisdictional Gas, but separated at defendant’s plants

constructed pursuant to the Helium Act and delivered as

“conservation helium” to the Bureau of Mines. The suit

was tried within the holding of Northern Natural Gas Co.

v. Grounds, 441 F.2d 704 (10th Cir.) (The Consolidated

Helium Cases, or Grounds).

On this appeal Phillips devotes much of its brief and

argument to contentions which were advanced in

Grounds, there considered and rejected. It would serve no

purpose to again consider these arguments. Instead it is

sufficient to refer to the Grounds opinion for the disposi-

tion of these points.

It must be accepted that the “value” sought to be deter-

mined in this suit is basically a factual matter determined

through the application of the appropriate legal doctrines.

This is the value at the wellhead of the helium commingled

with the natural gas there being produced.

The appellants here urge as a basic error by the trial

court that it chose the wrong method in arriving at this

“value.” The trial court determined that there was no

prevailing market value for the commingled helium, there

27a

was no free competitive market for this helium at the

wellhead. The court thus used a market value for the

ultimate product less the cost of beneficiation of the

helium-bearing gas. The defendants urge that the trial

court had sufficient evidence before it of a “market value”

of the commingled helium at the wellhead.

The defendants, on their “market value” theory, put on

testimony and exhibits as to transactions concerning

helium-bearing gas wherein a value was ascribed to the

helium component. These described events covered a

broad time span and a wide geographical distribution.

They involved both governmental agencies and private

parties.

The trial court, in holding that there was no free com-

petitive market, held that these transactions were of no

probative value because they were not comparable. It thus

concluded that the evidence failed to establish a “market

price” by comparable sales. We reach the same conclusion.

The transactions described by the witnesses for the defen-

dant were too remote in time or place, and otherwise could

not be considered as comparable. The testimony did not

show a free market condition to establish a usable price. It

is apparent that the gas stream here concerned with all its

components was directed by the FPC, and was locked in

by the jurisdictional gas. There was not an opportunity for

free pricing at any point, nor for renegotiation of sales or

the negotiation with new purchases. The helium thus had

to go along with the stream. The purchasers of the stream

here concerned, of course, took the position that they

owned the entire contents, and were not required to pay

anything more. This litigation demonstrates the character

of the market, the Government domination of the market,

and the strength of bare possession.

In the market price evidence of the defendant, con-

siderable detail is presented as to purchases at the several

28a

Government helium plants. These include the plants at Ex-

ell, Otis, Cunningham, and Navajo. The helium purchases

or gas purchases at these plants were made during World

War II. The years which have passed since “The War”

would seem to cast more than a doubt that these could

possibly be comparable sales. The purchases at the Navajo

plant were renegotiated after the War in 1955 and 1959,

but again this cannot be a comparable transaction. The

stream from the Rattlesnake production had no use as a

fuel. It did have a high helium content, but nothing is

developed as to any other market for this gas. The

Government had for all practical purposes a monopoly on

sales of helium until about 1962.

There was also testimony as to purchases of gas by the

Government for the Keyes plant in 1958. The price was

somewhere near $2.00 per mcf. The production costs at this

plant were about $15.50 per mcf. The basic interest of the

seller was to make the residue gas marketable by raising

the BTU. The seller also assumed liability for possible ad-

ditional payments to third parties.

The Otis plant was also used to upgrade the gas for fuel

purposes by separating out the noncombustible portions

of the stream.

Phillips also introduced evidence as to several contracts

it had made for the payment for components of the gas

production purchased. Some mentioned helium, some did

not. This was a dollar price in some, and a formula as for

all other components in others. These are not of particular

significance, especially the casinghead gas contracts,

because there was no evidence that the casinghead gas con-

tained helium nor was ever processed for helium. As to the

other Phillips contracts, there was no showing that the gas

had a helium content at all (with insignificant exceptions),

EE ON Se

29a

nor that there was ever a remote possibility of extradition,

again with insignificant exceptions. Contractual provi-

sions in such a context, even where helium was mentioned,

are a meaningless gesture of the parties, and cannot be

considered as evidence of comparable sales.

The Gas Sales Agreement between Colorado Interstate

and Alamo Chemical Company (a Phillips affiliate or sub-

sidiary) was put in evidence. This provided for the process-

ing of gas produced in Morton County, Kansas, for the

removal of helium and liquefiable hydrocarbons. The

plant operator was to pay $2.00 per mcf for helium ex-

tracted at the plant. This price was not negotiated, and it

seems reasonable to assume that this was because there

was litigation pending as to the obligations to pay for

helium involving the parties. The contract limited the

sellers’ liability on the title warranty of helium to $2.00 per

mcf. There was no contract provision for payment for

hydrocarbons removed. This contract must be considered

for all practical purposes as a post-litigation contract.

There was also in evidence a gas exchange agreement bet-

ween Phillips and Pioneer Natural Gas Company. This

had a price for helium but there were other contractual

considerations such as delivery of gas at other locations,

and payment for only part of the helium. This agreement

cannot be considered as a comparable sale.

The testimony of the defendants and evidence was thus

directed to “other sales” in other places and other times.

There was no substantial showing that these were “com-

parable sales.” Evidence of “other sales” falls far short of

establishing a market without comparability being clearly

established.

In addition to the evidence relating to particular con-

tract provisions, and some sales, there was expert

7

ia

30a

testimony. The plaintiffs and defendants had expert

witnesses who testified as to what the value of helium

should be. This testimony produced by both sides is of

theoretical interest, presents a facet of the entire conserva-

tion program, and a description of the few independent

private enterprises which tried to enter the field. No matter

how interesting, this evidence is only opinion evidence,

and does not establish facts. This testimony comes well

down on the scale of acceptable evidence as to value. It is

obvious that comparable sales or current market price is

the best, and second would come the work-back method.

The expert testimony of the type here presented would

come somewhere after that. The experts were extremely

capable, experienced persons who gave well considered

and conscientious expression of their opinions, but never-

theless it remained opinion evidence on a matter of objec-

tive facts.

We thus must agree that the trial court was correct in

seeking an alternative method to “market price” for

establishing the reasonable value of the helium component

at the wellhead. It is obvious that the comparable sales-

current market price is by far the preferable method when

it can be used. However, it cannot be used when the

elements necessary for its proper application are lacking.

The trial court thus had to resort to a work-back method

or price less costs of beneficiation. This was a less

desirable method but perfectly valid. Under this method a

point was selected where there can be determined an

established price and the cost of processing or beneficia-

tion were deducted to move back to the place where the

value must be established.

The work-back valuation is well recognized in the pro-

duction and early processing of natural gas. It is common-

ly used, according to this record, in placing a value on feed

stock for gasoline plants and related processing. There is

3la

nothing unusual about the method, it is subject to proof,

and can be just as accurate as any other method, but it is

more difficult to apply. There is here concerned a single

plant constructed and operated for the specific purpose of

extracting helium. Other costs, and other elements can be

established. This work-back method was used by the

Government and the Court of Claims in making payment

to the Navajos for gas supplied to the Navajo Helium

Plant. See Navajo Tribe v. United States, 364 F.2d 320,

176 Ct. Cls. 502. The Government has used it on other occa-

sions such as for Kerr-McGee royalty payment in Arizona,

and under different circumstances. As to the work-back as a

method for valuation, See also Brown, Law of Oil and

Gas Leases, § 6.09; Harding v. Cameron, 220 F.Supp. 466

(W.D.OkI.); and Sneed, 25 Tax L. Rev. 641. This method

to establish value has not only been used in the petroleum

industry, but also in other natural resources cases. See

United States v. Wyoming, 331 U.S. 440; 67 S.Ct. 1319,

19 L. Ed. 1590; Black Crystal Coal Co. v. Garland Coal &

Mining Co., 267 F.2d 569 (10th Cir.); and Greer v.

Stanolind Oil & Gas Co., 200 F.2d 920 (10th Cir.). See

also the gasoline plant case, Freeland v. Sun Oil Co., 277

F.2d 154 (Sth Cir.), which is a common use in the industry.

Phillips argues that its right to acquire the helium com-

ponent was covered by its contracts, and neither the

Helium Act nor the Natural Gas Act altered these con-

tracts. Thus there was a Fifth Amendment violation if its

property was “given” to another. This court on the

Grounds case really decided this issue and there would

seem to be no need to consider it again other than to state

that Phillips acquired the whole stream or production, but

has only paid for part. We said in Grounds, “In our opi-

nion private contract law and the principles applicable

thereto are not controlling.” Apparently the Government

has yet to pay Phillips for much of it also.

32a

The appellant next argues that the value less expense

method was not only inapplicable, but it was improperly

applied in that the proof was deficient as to certain

elements, that mistakes were made, and that “trifling

recOgnnion” was given to certain evidence. We will take

these references to mean that there was not substantial

evidence on the several factors or elements of the method

of valuation.

As to the several elements, the appellants urge that the

amount used as the “return on investment” expense was

not sufficient. The trial court used a figure which was part

of the testimony of plaintiff's witnesses, and the method

by which it was arrived at was so presented. There was no

substantial contrary evidence presented at trial although

on appeal appellants assert deficiencies in the method.

This element however was not adequately developed by

the proof and further hearing is required on this element.

The appellants also object to the allowance made by the

trial court of $2.00 per mcf for the “treatment” of the

“crude” helium sold to it by Phillips (to be incurred by the

Government before resale), as insufficient in that it did

not include transportation and storage. Matters of expense

to be incurred subsequent to the delivery and perhaps

some transportation from place of delivery to the

underground storage are not shown to have been omitted

from the $2.00 figure although it was denominated a

“treatment” or “processing” cost. In any event, these costs

are more properly attributable to the general conservation

program as the duration of the storage and additional

transportation are unknown factors under the record. The

use of the deduction was proper and appellants have not

shown that it was not supported by substantial evidence.

33a

The trial court used a figure of $20.00 per mcf for the

selling price of helium, and this was the starting figure or

element of the value less expense method. This figure was

testified to by the witness for the plaintiffs; this price issue

was not met by defendant by way of proof. On remand the

validity of this figure must be examined by the trial court,

and a determination made again as to the proper starting

value.

The Government, in an argument again based on con-

demnation doctrine, urges that the helium values were

created by its own purchase program — The Helium Con-

servation Program, and it should not have to pay for such

values. It cites several condemnation cases on this point,

and United States v. Fuller, 409 U.S. 488, 93 S. Ct. 801, 35

L.Ed. 2d 16; which in turn cited United States v. Cors, 337

U.S. 325, 69 S.Ct. 1086, 93 L.Ed. 1392. This again con-

cerned payment for something requisitioned by the Gov-

ernment. The issue here is the determination of value of a

commodity which was purchased and sold by the Govern-

ment and by private concerns. It was a stockpiling of a

commercial product. This cannot be equated to the cases

where the condemnation or the reason for condemnation

increases the value of the land taken. The helium has value

by reason of its nature and usefulness. The Government

may have made this helium available but did not create its

value.

The appellants vigorously attack the use by the trial

court of the value of hydrocarbon liquids produced at the

helium plants in the value less expense calculations. The

trial court allocated part of the plant expense to these li-

quids as by-products. The evidence is unclear that an in-

crease in the production of liquids would result from the

helium plant operation over what had been experienced

before and over ordinary extraction plants. Appellants

34a

maintained that the increase in liquid production did not

result at all from the treatment of the gas stream for

helium extractions. The record shows that increased quan-

tities of wet gas were directed to at least one of the plants,

and this could make a difference in the production of li-

quids, but no figures were produced by defendants. Under

this state of the record, we must hold that the trial court

did not have adequate data to this element. Different

quantities of liquids were produced at different plants,

and this may result in different helium values at different

plants. In view of the evidence, this was a consequence of

the application of the expense element in the formula.

However, further evidence on this aspect is needed.

The Government makes the point that the value of

helium at the wellhead determined by the trial court ex-

ceeds the base figure for the helium-nitrogen mixture it

was buying from Phillips under its contract. This may bea

consequence of the decision, but there is no reason why

the well-head price should be determined by the contract

price. This payment was not necessarily the “price” of the

helium as other considerations were present. The contract

between the appellants was negotiated between them

alone, and the pricing was the evaluation by them of the

entire economic consequences of the transaction including

many significant factors such as its duration, warranties,

and indemnities. We have described the contract at the

Outset of this opinion. Attention should however be

directed again to the evaluations made of the legal ques-

tions, especially the title questions. The Government

agreed basically to pay Phillips for its interest in the

helium and then to pay more if other interest owners

established their claims. This has been done, but the price

“paid” for all the interests in the helium has not yet been

determined. The value here sought to be established is in-

35a

dependent of the contract base amount, and is to be of all

interests of the proper parties.

We have considered Lippert v. Angle, 211 Kan. 695, 508

P.2d 920. It states the traditional preference for com-

parable sales proof with which we agree, but the case does

not involve the separate valuation of helium. The plant

was very small, and the situation is not comparable in any

way. See also Greenshields v. Warren Petroleum Corp.,

248 F.2d 61 (10th Cir.).

This appeal also raises issues as to the allowance of pre-

judgment interest, attorney fees, and the matter of limita-

tions. The trial court tried the case as a federal question

case, relying on our opinion in Texaco Inc. v. Phillips

Petroleum Co., 481 F2d. 70 (10th Cir.), which was

thereafter reversed by the Supreme Court in Phillips

Petroleum Co. v. Texaco Inc., 415 U.S. 125 94 S.Ct.

1002, 39 L. Ed. 2d 209. That case was concerned only

with federal question jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1331

(a), and not whether state or federal law controls. The

United States was not there a party. Federal jurisdiction is

here conceded.

The original Consolidated Helium Cases were based on

federal interpleader jurisdiction, and also federal law was

applied. The case before us on this appeal started as a

diversity suit, and the Government has asserted a claim or

an interest. We have described at some length above the

participation of the United States in this action, especially

the initial intervention as a plaintiff expressly under 28

U.S.C. § 1345. It is apparent however that its alignment at

all times was with the defendant Phillips on all important

issues. No relief was sought by Ashland directly against

the United States. The trial court found the elements of a

condemnation or seizure by the United States, but this

analysis of the manner in which helium was acquired was

36a

considered in the Consolidated Helium Cases, and the

arguments were rejected.

As a matter apart from jurisdiction, we hold that the

trial court’s application of federal law was proper. The ac-

tion of the Government in entering the case as a plaintiff

under 28 U.S.C. § 1345 is a significant factor to be con- .

sidered. The real party in interest thus appeared formally to

challenge the claims of Ashland. The Government so

asserted that it had a real and substantial interest in the

litigation, and that an actual controversy existed between

it and Ashland. It is apparent that under the contractual

arrangement, the United States undertook to pay to

Phillips the amounts that Phillips “shall pay” to other par-

ties for the acquisition of helium in the natural gas above a

certain figure. This is in the nature of an indemnity agree-

ment and the contract contains qualifications and limita-

tions not here concerned. The United States is liable for

some of the additional amounts which Phillips will have to

pay. The Government has thus entered the litigation to

assert its own position and interest under the contract. This

is initially a matter of dollars, but the Government still has

possession of a large part of the helium in question, and

this possession can put a somewhat different cast on the

problem. These circumstances and the intervention could

very well have changed the action to something other than

the usual diversity suit at least for the purpose of the ap-

plication of Erie v. Tompkins. This has interesting

possibilities, but in any event, the circumstances direct

that federal law be applied.

As indicated above, and as demonstrated in Northern

Natural Gas Co. v. Grounds, 441 F.2d 704 (10th Cir.), and

by the record here, the Government in the several cases

before this court is faced with claims made by a multitude

of interest owners from many states relating io production

37a

from Kansas, Oklahoma, and Texas. Each state has

somewhat different legal doctrines relating, among other

things, to the nature of interests in oil and gas, and what

rights are created by oil and gas leases. With the primary

liability for the dollars, and for the determination of

ownership resting with the United States which obtained

possession of the helium, we hold that the application of

the rule expressed in Clearfield Trust Co. v. United States,

318 U.S. 363, 63 S.Ct. 573, 87 L. Ed. 838, is indicated.

One of the most significant factors is the one indicated

above, that is, the fact that the United States ended up

with the helium. It directed, by contracting, the diversion

of the helium to itself before resolving the obvious owner-

ship problems with a multitude of claimants having

diverse legal relationships to the helium, depending upon

the place where the natural gas was produced and upon

their contractual positions. The United States, again by

contract, sought to handle these problems by providing

for reimbursement to Phillips, and it may have done so.

The Government nevertheless obviously has the basic

responsibility and liability, as it recognizes by its interven-

tion.

Erie v. Tompkins does not demand the application of

state law to all diversity actions. The Court in the Clear-

field Trust case set out an exception which was there ap-

plied to “obligations” of the United States and later ex-

panded. The case concerned the forgery of a Government

check, and a delay in notice by the Government to the

bank beyond the period contemplated under state law.

The Court held that rights of the Government relating to

commercial paper it issues are determined by federal and

not state law. The Court said that the authority to issue the

check in question originated in the Constitution and

statutes of the United States and was not dependent on the

38a

laws of any state. In the matter before us, the helium was

acquired by the United States by contracts as authorized

by federal statutes. This contracting with private enter-

prise was suggested by statute. As stated by the Court in

the cited case, “The desirability of a uniform rule is plain.”

See also National Metropolitan Bank v. United States, 323

U.S. 454, 65 S.Ct. 354, 19 L.Ed. 383, limited by Bank of

America v. Parnell, 352 U.S. 29, 77 S.Ct. 119, 1 L. Ed. 2d

93. The War Bond cases in state and federal courts lead to

the same result. See Jn re Stanley’s Estate, 102 Colo. 422,

80 P.2d 332. The Court in D’Oench, Duhme & Co. v.

FDIC, 315 U.S. 447, 62 S.Ct. 676, 86 L.Ed. 956, also in-

dicated a considerable area to be excluded from the ap-

plication of Erie. There an action by the FDIC was

brought on a note given to a bank by the defendant, and

the Court applied federal law. Also in the shareholders’

liability action in Holmberg v. Armbrecht, 327 U.S. 392,

66 S.Ct. 582, 90 L.Ed. 743, in the solution of a limitations

problem, the federal law was applied. Generally, see 59

Harv. L.Rev. 976, and 105 U.Pa.L.Rev. 797.

Under Clearfield when the United States seeks to litigate

or seek a remedy arising from transactions it has entered

into in the ordinary commercial world to carry out its pro-

gram, it has been held that federal law may be applied.

The federal courts can adopt a governing rule of law in

such circumstances if there is no statutory direction to the

contrary. Clearfield expressly so held. 318 U.S. at 366, 63

S. Ct. 573. See also United States v. Allegheny County,

322 U.S. 174, 64 S.Ct. 908, 88 L.Ed. 1209. Clearfield thus

indicates that the Court may apply state doctrines or parts

of them as “federal law.” In United States v. Standard Oil

Co., 332 U.S. 301, 67 S.Ct. 1604, 91 L.Ed. 2067, the

Court stated that the interests of the Government and its

legal relationships may be so determined. The impact of

39a

the application of state law upon the governmental in-

terests is a factor of great weight. See United States v. Mit-

chell, 403 U.S. 190, 91 S.Ct. 1763, 29 L.Ed. 2d 406.

The Court in United States v. Little Lake Misere Land

Co., 412 U.S. 580, 93 S.Ct. 2389, 37 L.Ed.2d 187, con-

sidered the application of a Louisiana statute to the reser-

vation of a mineral interest in land acquired by the United

States. The factors discussed above were there treated, and

the process was described as a “choice of law” (federal or

state) matter. The Court there said:

“However, in a setting in which the rights of

the United States are at issue in a contract to

which it is a party and ‘the issue’s outcome bears

some relationship to a federal program, no rule

may be applied which would not be wholly in ac-

cord with that purpose.’” [The quotation includ-

ed being from Mishkin, 105 U.Pa.L.Rev. at pp.

805-6. ]

The Court found further that the federal land acquisition

program in United States v. Little Lake Misere Land Co.

conflicted with the state law on the duration of reserved

mineral interests, and said: “The choice of law merges with

the constitutional demands of controlling federal legisla-

tion; we turn away from state law by default.”

In the case before us, the United States was seeking to

carry out the Helium Conservation Program then con-

sidered of great urgency and importance. It sought to, and

did, acquire possession of the helium as directed by the

legislation. The action of the Bureau of Mines was effi-

cient and effective. In so doing it set up the contractual

barriers between itself and the landowners and gas pro-

ducers, and also put off the inevitable day of reckoning as

to ownership. Phillips is really only a nominal party and

40a

looking at the substance, the Government has the respon-

sibility arising from its acquisition and possession of the

helium. In the face of the multitude of claimants, the

variations in state law, and the Clearfield doctrine, the

trial court was correct in not applying Erie v. Tompkins.

We find no merit to the contention of Phillips that it is

entitled to a setoff for any sums previously paid to Ash-

land for purchases of jurisdictional gas.

The court in the Consolidated Helium Cases considered

the ownership of the interests, title to the helium, and

described how these passed down the gas stream. This

determination prevails. The trial court, as to the interest of

the landowners-lessors, apparently followed a

confiscation-condemnation theory and divided the value

of the helium to be recovered from defendant Phillips

equally between the lessors and lessees. Our opinion in the

Consolidated Helium Cases requires that this division be

in accordance with the lease terms, and thus the same divi-

sion as applied to the hydrocarbons. The judgment of the

trial court making an equal division between lessor and

lessee of the proceeds attributable to helium values must

be and is reversed with directions to enter judgment pro-

viding for a division in accordance with the terms of the

leases, and the terms of other agreements relating to the

shares of production, or payment for shares of produc-

tion, if such be applicable.

The issue of limitations has been raised together with

the tolling of whatever statute may be applicable. This

litigation concerning the property interests in helium and

the right to compensation, considering the related cases,

has been protracted and equitable considerations ap-

plicable to periods of limitation have come into play. See

deHaas v. Empire Petroleum Co., 435 F.2d 1223 (10th

4la

Cir.). We must conclude that this action has not been bar-

red. American Pipe & Construction Co. v. Utah, 414 U.S.

538, 94 S.Ct. 756, 38 L.Ed. 2d 713.

The trial court acted within its discretion under federal

law in the allowance of prejudgment interest. Royal In-

demnity Co. v. United States, 313 U.S. 289, 61 S.Ct. 995,

85 L.Ed. 1361; St. Paul Mercury Indemnity Co. v. United

States, 201 F.2d 57 (10th Cir.).

As to attorney fees awarded by the trial court, we are

unable to find any statutory provision for them or any rule

of practice which would authorize such fees. The Supreme

Court has, since the trial court’s decision, decided F. D.

Rich Co. v. Industrial Lumber Co., 417 U.S. 116, 94S.Ct.

2157, 40 L.Ed. 2d 703, a Miller Act case. The opinion in-

cludes a direct and intensive consideration of attorney

fees. The Court there defines the basic rule:

“The so-called ‘American Rule’ governing the

award of attorneys’ fees in litigation in the

federal courts is that attorneys’ fees ‘are not or-

dinarily recoverable in the absence of a statute or

enforceable contract providing therefor.’”

The Court concluded that Miller Act suits are “plain and

simple commercial litigation,” and the Court would not

change the American Rule “in the context of everyday

commercial litigation.” We must hold that this litigation is

not so dissimilar to Miller Act suits as to bring about a dif-

ferent result as to attorney fees than expressed in F. D.

Rich Co. See also Alyeska Pipeline Co. v. Wilderness

Society, 421 U.S. 240, 95 S.Ct. 1612, 44 L.Ed. 2d 141.

The judgment of the trial court is thus REVERSED as

to the award of attorney fees, and as to the equal division

between lessor and lessee of the proceeds attributed to the

ee

on Ot nema

42a

value of the helium, as above indicated. The judgment is

also set aside as to the valuation determination with direc-

tion to hear further the matters or elements of the work-

back method, referred to above, wherein there was insuffi-

cient evidence in the record.

Thus some elements have been considered in this opi-

nion and ruled on.

On remand the trial court shall also consider whatever ;

other elements that may be developed at further hearing,

in making the value less expense or work-back determina-

tion.

Thus, we affirm the use of the work-back method of

determining value and the use therein of the $2.00 figure

for treatment of crude helium. We set aside the values

which the trial court determined by the use of the work-

back method. On remand the trial court shall give further

consideration to, and receive such evidence as may be ad-

missible bearing on, (1) the proper starting value, (2) the

amount chargeable to return on investment, (3) the ex-

pense properly allocable to production of hydrocarbons,

and (4) such other matters, as are pertinent and not

foreclosed herein, that bear on the deter‘aination of value

by the work-back method.

date 00 Pn, i Nd 6 el

We affirm the decision of the trial court that the action

is not barred by any statute of limitation and that prejudg- |

ment interest may be allowed. We reversed those portions

of the judgment that (1) allow attorneys’ fees and (2) |

“divide the recovery equally between the lessors and the

lessees. The lessors may recover only the amounts deter-

mined by the royalty provisions of their leases.

AFFIRMED IN PART, REVERSED IN PART, and remanded

for further proceedings in the light of this opinion. Each

party shall bear its own costs.

43a

Doy Le, Circuit Judge, dissenting.

I respectfully disagree with the result of the majority

opinion and, particularly, that part of it which affirms the

trial court’s use of the work-back theory or approach in

determining a reasonable value for the commingled helium

at the wellhead. My disagreement stems from the follow-

ing: the work-back approach is not the preferred way to

determine market value of a commodity; the starting point

for determining value is wrong; and the result of its ap-

plication here is an excessively high price to the govern-

ment.

Both the government and Phillips Petroleum favor the

comparable sales plus expert testimony method; this is the

view that I Prefer.

Whether the United States Contemplated, as the

Majority Maintains, the Paying of a Substantial

Amount at a Subsequent Time to Lessee-

Producers and Landowners

I must disagree with the conclusion in the majority opi-

nion that it was within the contemplation of the contract-

ing parties that there would be a large amount paid to in-

terest owners of the commingled helium at some future

time. My reasons are as follows:

The Bureau of Mines had entered into contracts for the

purchase of extracted helium with four companies, in-

cluding Phillips, who had possession of the natural gas

stream. By so doing the government avoided the necessity

for identifying and dealing with ali possible interest

owners of the helium.

It is true that paragraph 7.4 of the contract with Phillips

provided for the partial indemnification of Phillips by the

44a

United States for amounts paid subsequent to the date of

the contract for the acquisition of helium in the natural gas

or for any interest therein. But to raise the obligation of

indemnification, the United States had to consent to the

payments or the payments must have been judicially deter-

mined or they must have been made in accordance with

guidelines established in judicial proceedings. In the

Phillips contract indemnification came into being only

after Phillips paid in excess of about $3.00 per mcf to third

parties for interests in the helium.

The point that is here made is that although the govern-

ment might have been aware of some indemnification

possibility, it did not contemplate the kind of payments

that would be necessary if the work-back method were to

be followed in both the Ashland and the Helex cases.

The findings of the trial court do not support the state-

ment in the majority opinion that it was contemplated by

Phillips and the United States that there would ultimately

be substantial compensation paid to the interest owners.

Memoranda written by the Associate Solicitor of the Divi-

sion of Mineral Resources, Department of the Interior,

and by the chief helium contract negotiator for the Bureau

of Mines mentioned the possibility of increased contract

prices if the government required the extraction companies

to give a warranty of title without some government in-

demnification for helium payments. But there is no

evidence that the original amounts to be paid were simply

a down payment. There was no prior experience of paying

large sums of money for this helium. Mr. Wheeler of the

Bureau of Mines testified that in building the cost model

to arrive at a government negotiation position, a $2.00 per

mcf amount for the commingled helium had been used

because that amount reflected the government’s experience

in obtaining a supply of helium-bearing gas. It had never

paid more than $3.00 per mcf.

45a

The $3.00 per mcf indemnification level was not an ar-

bitrary figure. It represented a ceiling above actual

payments on previous occasions. It was an estimation of

the probable maximum price that might be paid.

Therefore, it is not an established fact that here would be

payments in excess of $3.00 per mcf as the majority

assumes. Even if some excess above $3.00 per mcf was in

the minds of the negotiators of the contracts, it was not

any great amount. For example, there is no evidence that it

was contemplated that the price would go to $10.30. There

was no evidence of a belief that it would exceed $2.00 to

$3.00. If it was thought that the $2.00 to $3.00 was just the

beginning, it seems likely that the extraction companies

would have not left the remaining amounts up to $10.00 to

$14.00 to chance. Their contemplation would in some way

have been expressed.

Whether the Evidence of Comparable Sales Was,

As the Majority Maintains, So Lacking in Pro-

bative Value As to Require That It Be Disregarded

The reasons which the majority opinion gives for rejec-

ting evidence of comparable sales for the purpose of

establishing reasonable value include, first, that the tran-

sactions described by the witnesses which showed com-

parable transactions or sales were said to be too remote in

time or place. The opinion goes on to say that the

testimony did not show a free market condition capable of

establishing a usable price.

Secondly, it is said that the helium was part of the gas

stream and that this was subject to regulation by the FPC

and that this also restricted the opportunities for

renegotiation of sales or the negotiation “with new pur-

chases.”

46a

The fact that the government was the dominant factor

in the market should not, we submit, produce a higher

price, for it only tends to show that there was no market

for the conservation program gas. Stated differently, there

was no demand for it. Where that is the situation it usually

means that it is not worth much. The only reason that it

was worth something to the government was because the

government had some interest in conserving it. It had

some defense projects and space projects in which it might

be used and also there is belief by some that in the future it

might be of some value in creating an atmosphere for the

performance of special tasks. If, as the opinion states,

there is neither demand nor market for this, it would seem

reasonable to adopt a pricing policy which gives to the

lessee-producers such as Ashland actual cost plus a

reasonable profit.

My objection to the work-back method is in its ar-

tificiality. Interestingly, it fails to start with real cost

figures—its beginning is with opinion evidence given by

Mr. Garwin, who was employed as manager of the Kerr-

McGee plant. He testified on behalf of Ashland. His opi-

nions were based on the price of pure helium sold by the

government and private companies. He referred to present

sales of pure helium on the private market as being $20.00.

The government had charged $35.00 not because this

represented a fair price. Rather, the government had no

choice since it was required by law to charge that amount.

The majority apparently has questions about the validity

of the $20.00 starting point. It does not give a reason for

its dissatisfaction. My objection is its gross excessiveness

and its lack of reality.

Moving backward from a $20.00 price for pure helium

to the cost of the gas purchased by the government which

was not pure helium but was composed of about 50 per-

cent helium and 50 percent nitrogen, deductions for the

47a

cost of extracting helium were made. The end result is

prices ranging from $11.76 to $16.98 per mcf for the years

1963-71. The government has already paid to Phillips

$10.30 per mcf which includes the cost to Phillips of

building an extraction plant. Inasmuch as the govern-

ment is obligated to indemnify Phillips for all sums ex-

ceeding $3.00, this means that the difference between the

$11.76 to $16.98 figures and the $3.00 indemnification

threshold will in all probability be paid in addition by the

government.

The trial court and the majority opinion here made no

effort to isolate a rule or procedure to ascertain actual

market value either from the standpoint of comparable

sales or original cost or reproduction cost. It gave its full

and exclusive blessing to the work-back theory. The legal

objection to this is its secondary evidentiary character. It is

secondary because it is called into use only if it is impossi-

ble to ascertain actual market value, from comparable

sales, for example. It would have been valid to have used it

for comparison purposes, that is to test and to compare

the validity of the price arrived at by some other more ac-

cepted method, but this has not been done. We find them

embracing it wholly and completely. This was not

justifiable since there was evidence of comparable sales

either at the wellhead or at the inlet of the plant.

It is more specifically objectionable because of the

$20.00 starting point. If they were going to select a stage in

the process and deduct costs in order to arrive at the selling

price at the wellhead or at the plant inlet, they should not

have started with a product which has nothing whatever to

do with this case, that is they should not have attempted to

discover a price for pure helium. Instead they should have

looked to prices of conservation helium gas with 50 per-

cent helium content and the remainder nitrogen, for this is

the product that is sold to the government. The beauty of

48a

Starting with crude conservation helium is that they had a

demonstrable sale in front of them and that is the sale

from Phillips to the government for the sum of $10.30 for

conservation helium. From this point it would only have

been necessary to deduct the costs of extraction and of

transportation from the wellhead to the extraction plant.

Had they done this they would have come up with a price

close to $3.00. It could be more or less. For comparison

purposes they could look at the actual sales at the wellhead

or at the plant inlet and this would have given them a true

picture. It is worthy of note that this is exactly what Judge

Brown did in the Helex cases, and his result is realistic and

reliable. Judge Brown, needless to say, did not accept the

work-back theory as an exclusive formula.

In the cases which have used the work-back method, I

find that in each instance the court started out with a clear-

ly supported market price and not a contrived one—a

price well established in a real market for the specific com-

modity to be valued—or with proceeds from the actual

sale of the commodity at some later point in its processing.

See Freeland v. Sun Oil Company, 277 F.2d 154 (5th Cir.

1960); Black Crystal Coal Co. v. Garland Coal and Min-

ing Co., 267 F.2d 569 (10th Cir. 1959); Greer v. Stanolind

Oil and Gas Co., 200 F.2d 920 (10th Cir. 1952). See also

Stafos v. Missouri Pacific Railroad Co., 367 F.2d 314

(10th Cir. 1966).

This court in United States v. Sowards, 370 F.2d 87, 91

(10th Cir. 1966), showed that no one method need to be

exclusive unless it clearly establishes the price. It pointed

out that the federal concept of market value is closely

related to selling price on the market and that the best

evidence is comparable sales even though the determina-

tion is not limited to that method. It approved the use of

other data where there are no comparable sales and noted

ee ee

et BET 4 Oe ee ee Swe re. eee

SO OE. Nae om 4) 9 Salt

49a

that in condemnation cases market value may also be bas-

ed upon reproduction costs or capitalization of net income

or an interaction of these methods together with com-

parable sales. It said that all of this must look to what a

willing seller would sell for and a willing buyer would pay.

The Sowards decision nevertheless showed a preference for

comparable sales. On the other hand, the work-back

method is to be resorted to only where everything else

fails.

In summary, then, it was wrong to adopt the work-back

method as an exclusive one. It was wrong to start at the

point where the trial court started and, of course, the

result is an untenable one because it unnecessarily pro-

duces an excessive price.

What about the comparable sales which the majority

_Opinion condemns?

We must bear in mind that the contracts entered into by

the government looked to prices in 1961. The Keyes plant

was cited for example and this involved purchases of gas

by the government in 1958 at prices approximating $2.00

per mcf at the extraction plant inlet. The production costs

were about $15.50 per mcf, but the basic interest of the

seller was to make residue gas marketable by raising the

BTU content. This was the approach that was used in the

Otis plant also. It was seeking to upgrade gas for fuel pur-

poses.

I would submit that the fact that there was this kind of

motivation does not outlaw the comparable sales evidence.

Removal of helium as an aid to the heating quality of the

gas Ought not to render the evidence of the sale noncogent.

The purchases of the government plants at Navajo, Exell,

Otis and Cunningham are said to be out of time because

50a

they occurred in 1945 during the War. They are hardly

more remote from 1961 than are the sales cited by Mr.

Garwin, that is the $20.00 sales which occurred in relative-

ly recent times. There were also. purchases of helium-

bearing gas for the Navajo plant in 1955, 1959, and 1962;

all at about $2.00 per mcf for helium content at the plant

inlet.

The gas sales agreement between Colorado Interstate

and Alamo Chemical Company, a Phillips affiliate, which

were at $2.00 per mcf does not appear to be out of line.

The 1945 Navajo sales just referred to were determined by

the Court of Claims to have a value of $2.99 per mcf. The

fact that they occurred in 1945 could be taken into ac-

count, but this is a two-edged sword because there was

some actual demand for this gas during the World War II

period.

I am not saying that the comparable sales should be ac-

cepted as gospel. This does not mean, however, that we

should bury our heads in the sand to them. We can at least

view them without fear of being contaminated. The pro-

bative value of actual sales is that they provide a more ra-

tional and realistic view of value than does some

theoretical approach such as the work-back approach

because these are actual demonstrations. The majority

opinion does not tell us where the social or other value is in

the work-back theory. As suggested before, it might be

palatable if actual cost figures were used in arriving at a

starting point. It is, however, lacking in palatability when

the opinion of the chief witness for Ashland that $20.00 is

a fair price for pure helium is accepted completely as the

starting point for a work-back process.

The foregoing is important because we are dealing not

with $100,000 or even a few million. Ultimately if the

work-back formula is used this could mean—and we con-

sider not only this case but its companion, the Helex II

5la

cases which have yet to be handed down but which are

likely to follow this same formula— hundreds of millions

of additional dollars to be paid by the government for a

commodity which at best has an uncertain value now and

which does not promise to have any added value in the

future.

Whether Today’s Decision Will Result In The

Government’s Being Compelled To Pay An

Unreasonably High Price, An Amount Which Is

Beyond the Market Value Of The Helium Gas

What would be the effect if the work-back method were

applied to the Helex II cases?

Most of the helium in the United States occurs in Kan-

sas, Oklahoma and Texas. It is not surprising, therefore,

that the companion case to this present one, the so-called

Hellex II cases, arose in Kansas. The enormity of the oc-

currence was probably responsible for the helium conser-

vation program in the beginning. These Kansas cases have

been before this court previously. They were filed in 1964.

The first one was decided at trial in 1968. It is reported in

292 F. Supp. 619. That decision was reviewed by this court

in 1971. Northern Natural Gas Co. v. Grounds, 441 F.2d

704. This initial case was primarily concerned with title to

the helium. Following remand, trial was had in order to

determine value. As in the instant case, the government

had already paid.a substantial amount, about $12.00 per

mcf, which purported to represent the cost of the extrac-

tion plants as well as the cost of the helium. The action

was in interpleader. Its purpose was to determine the value

of the helium and hence the obligation, if any, of the

government or a party to pay additional amounts. At the

trial evidence of comparable sales was not dissimilar to

the evidence offered at the Ashland case. There was a

$2a

difference. A good deal of opinion and interpretative

evidence was offered on behalf of the government. In

sum, the government presented a real case in this in-

stance—a much stronger case than was brought forth in

Ashland.

The trial court’s findings were much different. Utilizing

the comparable sales, and the opinion evidence, the trial

court found that the value of helium at the wellhead was

$.60 to $.70 per mcf. As a result, the government was not

required to pay any more than the $12.00 which it had

paid for the gas at the well plus extraction expense in-

cluding building a plant. This was because the value found

was less than the $3.00 amount beyond which the govern-

ment was required to indemnify. The additional amount

$.60 to $.70 had to be paid by the Helex companies to the

lessee-producers.

If the formula approved in the present case were to be

applied to the Helex cases there may be a far different

result. I am not saying that it will. I do not know. The trial

record is superior in the Helex cases and this could change

it. On the other hand, the work-back doctrine is firmly

adopted. If this present Ashland ruling becomes a prece-

dent for the upcoming Helex I] cases, the result could be a

disaster to the government in that it could virtually double

its cost. The price could go from $12.00 (the amount

already paid and which under the Helex trial court’s deci-

sion is the entire sum), to as high as $24.00.

The Ashland case is in sharp contrast. The trial court, as

we already know, employed the work-back method in ar-

riving at values of commingled helium. The prices which it

adopted were $11.76 to $16.98 per mcf for the years

1963-72. This was in addition to the 10.30 already paid by

the government to Phillips to cover the total cost of extrac-

tion plus cost of gas at the well. The majority opinion in

this case gives restricted approval to the work-back

method. It remands for additional proceedings to recon-

sider three factors used. In remanding the case the majori-

53a

ty opinion has not, as we have also noted, given the trial

court any guidance as to what is sought and as to how

these factors are to be determined. Therefore, the outcome

of the remand as it effects the values in the Ashland case

cannot be anticipated. These values may be lower or they

could just as easily be higher. Thus, both the viewpoint

and the result in Ashland are entirely different from the

approach and result in the Helex I] cases. That is why I am

apprehensive as to possible results in the Helex cases when

the court gets around to applying the work-back theory as

now enunciated.

We are mindful that the government has already paid

the extraction companies a total of about $12.00 per mcf

for the 36,500,000 mcf’s of crude helium in Helex. This is

a sum of about $438 million for helium which has been

purchased and which has been stored under the conserva-

tion program. We cite it to show the magnitude of this

purchase and the extent to which the government would be

called upon to indemnify if the work-back method were to

be applied in the Helex II cases. If the pattern of the pre-

sent case continues, there could be additional payment of

from $9.00 to $12.00 per mcf. It remains to multiply

36,500,000 mcf by the $9.00 or $12.00 addition in order to

view the dismal news.

I submit that the Helex I] cases ought to have been the

precedent and the model rather than the Ashland case.

* * * * * *

Finally, this entire helium conservation program is af-

fected with a public interest. As the majority notes, there

is nO competition to provide low prices. It is a monopoly

condition and the determination of reasonableness of

prices has devolved on the courts. The court should, of

course, see to it that the companies involved in the produc-

tion of the helium receive fair compensation. Fair com-

pensation does not mean that the participants should

receive profits of the possible magnitude indicated here.

54a

APPENDIX C

ASHLAND OIL, INC., Plaintiff, |

Vv.

PHILLIPS PETROLEUM COMPANY,

Defendant, |

and

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Intervenor,

No. 67-C-238.

United States District Court,

N.D. Oklahoma

Dec. 28, 1978.

poe Pe a ee ee Wy

Gerald Sawatzky of Foulston, Siefkin, Powers &

Eberhardt, Wichita, Kan., John M. Imel of Martin,

Logan, Moyers, Martin & Conway, Tulsa, Okl., and

W.O. Strong, III, Ashland Oil, Inc., Houston, Tex., for

plaintiff Ashland Cil, Inc.

Don L. Jemison, Phillips Petroleum Co., Bartlesville,

OkI., and L. K. Smith of Boone, Ellison & Smith, Tulsa,

OKl., for defendant Phillips Petroleum Co.

John E. Lindskold, Dennis A. Dutterer and Andrew F.

Walch, Dept. of Justice, Washington, D.C., and Hubert

H. Bryant, U.S. Atty., and Hubert A. Marlow, Asst. U.S.

Atty., Tulsa, Okl., for intervenor United States.

Memorandum Opinion

BoHANON, District Judge.

Introduction

(See also Findings Nos. 1-13)

55a

Plaintiff Ashland seeks compensation for helium con-

tained in the natural gas stream acquired from plaintiff by

defendant Phillips, which was subsequently extracted and

sold separately to the United States government. Original-

ly tried in 1973, this case was remanded on appeal to retry

controlling factual issues. In the first trial plaintiff and

defendants’ legal theories and approaches were suf ficiently

divergent to prevent a joining of issues. Consequently,

crucial factual considerations were never fully developed

evidentially. At retrial the significant faccual matters were

developed more fully and thoughtfully than before. Thus,

the court must be amenable to discarding earlier erroneous

conclusions. The interests of justice, aptly perceived by the

circuit court opinion in this case, require no less.

In adjudicating this controversy a second time, the court

was assisted by the appellate court’s enunciation of certain

controll’ng legal principles. The basic legal relationships

among the landowners, producers and gas purchasers were

established, notably including the lessee-producer’s right

to the reasonable value of the contained helium. Northern

Natural Gas Company v. Grounds,, 441 F.2d 704 (10th

Cir. 1971); Ashland Oil, Inc. v. Phillips Petroleum Com-

pany (hereafter Ashland v. Phillips), 554 F.2d 381 at 384

(10th Cir. 1975).

The prime responsibility of this court is to determine the

reasonable value of the helium herein when commingled at

the wellhead with other natural gas. Ashland v. Phillips,

_ Supra at 385-386. Such “value” is basically a factual matter

to be ascertained through application of the appropriate

legal doctrines. Ashland v. Phillips, supra at 385. Opti-

mally, a product’s “fair market value” is determinable by

examining comparable sales of the same product. Ashland

v. Phillips, supra at 387. Significantly, some sales of com-

56a

mingled helium offered in evidence here were too remote

in time, and otherwise incomparable, to be relied on solely.

The “Work-Back” Method

The next best approach is the “work-back” or “value less

expense” method whereby a raw material’s value is ex-

trapolated by using as a starting point an end product of

that material whose value is certain. The costs of trans-

forming the raw material from the stage where its value is

unknown to that where its value is certain are subtracted

from the starting value to reveal the value being sought.

“The work-back valuation is well recognized in

the production and early processing of natural

gas. . There is nothing unusual about the

method, it is subject to proof, and can be just as

accurate as any other method, but it is more dif-

ficult to apply.” Ashland v. Phillips, supra at

387.

Effective application of this method requires selection

of an appropriate starting value in the form of a process-

ing stage whose product possesses a value certain; accurate

assessment of the costs accruing between the known stage

and the one in question is also essential. In developing a

resource from a raw material into a finished product, each

production stage will add economic value to what was in-

itially only the value of the raw material. The value added

at each stage of production is essentially the cost of

resources used in taking the material through that stage of

production. The work-back method essentially establishes

at each production stage the value of the product at that

point. By subtracting out all production costs, the value of

57a

the raw material is revealed.' Application of this ap-

proach, however, can be difficult. Market structures vary

at different production stages and correlating figures from

one stage to the next can require abstruse analytical

calculations, easily resulting in error. The selected starting

point should be as close as possible to the production stage

in question.

With these theoretical considerations in mind, two

potentially viable starting points emerge. One is helium in

'“Yes, | am familiar with the workback method of discovering the

value of a raw material where there are no comparable sales that can

be used to attribute value to it. Essentially, as 1 understand it, if a raw

material is scarce enough to command a price or to have an economic

value, then, this raw material may go through several stages of pro-

duction and production process to turn it into an end product. At each

of the production stages, there will be value added to what was

originally a value of the raw material. The value added at each stage of

production is essentially the cost of resources used in taking the

material through that stage of production.

Now, then, a workback amounts to determining at some stage, at

some market, at one of the stages of production, what the value of the

product up to that point really is. Then we subtract out the costs and

that should leave us with the economic value of the raw material, if the

Starting point is correct, if the workback is correctly done.” (Tr.

368-369, Dr. Richard H. Leftwich, Regents Professor of Economics

and former head of the Department of Economics at Oklahoma State

University.)

2“. . . [I]f you work back through several successive stages in going

from one stage of the production process to another, there are likely

to be errors involved, errors involved in computations. There will be

errors involved because market structures differ at differing stages of

production, and the more stages of production that you work back

through, the more likely we are to compound these errors and to wind

up with an erroneous computation, an erroneous value for the raw

material. . . [I]t seems to me that the appropriate starting point is the

closest identifiable market to the raw material.” (Tr. 369-370, Dr.

Leftwich, supra)

See also the testimony of Dr. Ezra Solomon, Dean Witter Professor

of Finance at Stanford University, at Tr. 418.

58a

its crude form; the other is helium in its pure Grade A

refined form, the starting point initially adopted by this

court.

Refined Helium Market

(See also Findings Nos. 14-18)

If one fact has clearly emerged at retrial, it is the inap-

propriateness of using refined helium prices as a starting

value in extrapolating commingled helium’s value at the

wellhead.

Possession of a production phase where the raw

material has been processed to a point of possessing a

value certain is crucial to the work-back method, whose

efficacy is based on employing known data to extrapolate

the unknown. Refined helium prices for the time period

relevant to this case were not only distorted by mono-

polistic market conditions which prevented pure helium’s

prices from reflecting the product’s “fair market value,”

but even more significantly there was never any relation-

ship whatsoever established between the commingled

helium in this case and any refined helium market.

All of the commingled helium in this case was processed

into crude helium and placed in underground storage by

the government, where it remains today. None has been

refined into Grade A helium.? It was acquired with conser-

“. . . [T]he crude helium that has been put into the government’s

Cliffside field . . . was never produced to supply current demands. . . .

We don’t know when it’s going to be used. We don’t know what pur-

pose it’s going to be used for, and we don’t know what price it’s going

to be sold for sometime in the future, when and if it’s ever used. . . .

So, it’s setting there, and it’s in the Cliffside field, and there is 36

billion cubic feet of it. Now, 2 billion cubic feet of that was put in

there by the Bureau of Mines, 30 only 34 billion cubic feet represents

59a

vational intent and for consumption at some undetermin-

ed future time. Any suggestion that the helium in this case

could have been refined and subsequently sold at then

prevailing market prices of $20 to $35 per Mcf is at

variance with what the most persuasive evidence before

this court demonstrates to be the truth.¢

‘Refined helium prices during the period in question con-

sistently were distorted by effects of a monopolistic seller’s

market and never were determined by free and open com-

petition. Government prices based on long-term policy

considerations completely dominated the market in the in-

itial years is significant to this case, and were influential

throughout the entire course of the pertinent time period.

Introduction into the refined helium market of even a

small percentage of the large helium quantities at issue

here would have plummeted prices industry-wide, not only

because any reasonable competition would have con-

stituted an effective assault on the then prevailing ar-

tificially high price structure, but also due to the relatively

helium that was obtained from the conservation companies. . . .” (Tr.

321-322, Henry P. Wheeler, Jr., former Assistant Director to the

Bureau of Mines responsible for the government’s helium conserva-

tion program) ;

“Q Of all of the helium acquired under the conservation pro-

gram is all of it in storage at Cliffside?

A Yes, it is.” (Tr. 283, 284, Ray D. Munnerlyn, Chief of the

Helium Division of the Bureau of Mines)

4“ _. Ashland’s calculations assume that if more crude had been

refined, that the price would not have changed. Basic economic princi-

ple called the law of demand tells us that this is. false, and the

numerical analyses that I have just gone through show just how false

this kind of an assumption, an underlying assumption can be. Because

only a very small increase in the quantity of crude refined would lead

to a relatively large decrease in the price of the Grade A helium.” (Tr.

794, Dr. Ronald Braeutigam, Professor of Economics at North-

western University).

60a

inelastic helium demand at the time. Only a small number

of end uses for refined helium exist, and those end uses

can absorb only limited quantities of refined helium.’

When a product is available in quantities greatly exceeding

anything the market requires or can absorb, the excess

amount is worth very little and will tend to severely

depress prices, as competition forces sellers to unload

their product for virtually anything they can get.°®

Large quantities of crude helium were produced and

sold in the United States during the years in question. In

comparison, very small quantities of refined helium were

bought and sold. In light of the inelasticity of demand for

refined helium, and the marked disparity volume-wise be-

tween crude and refined helium, the best evidence in-

dicates that a 1 percent increase in the refinement of

available crude helium would have led to a drop in refined

helium prices of at least 5 percent, and possibly in excess

of 9 percent, depending on the year chosen.’ Introduction

*“There are a small number of end uses of refined helium and each

of these end uses can absorb only limited quantities of refined

helium.” (Tr. 386, Dr. Leftwich, supra)

®“We could have gone out and been very hard bargainers, playing

one of these companies against the other, because obviously some of

them are going to get something for their helium and some of them

were not... .” (Tr. 324, Wheeler, supra)

™, . . [T]he volume of the crude helium was something like five to

nine times the volume of the helium in the Grade A market, depending

on which year you pick. So, for example, if we were to take one per-

cent of the crude in any given year that had been produced and convert

that to Grade A, then, you would get from five to nine percent change

in the quantity of Grade A helium. And using this information on

elasticity of demand, we conclude that the one percent increase in the

quantity of crude which is refined would lead to a drop in price in the

Grade A market, at least five percent, and maybe even more than

nine percent, depending on the year we pick.” (Tr. 793, Dr.

Braeutigam, supra)

6la

of a large quantity of such helium into the market would

have driven the price down to near zero.®

The salient fact questions herein can in no manner be

resolved by’ reference to the refined helium market. The

helium here was never refined, and it never influenced or

was affected by any refined market. Simply stated, in this

case refined helium prices represent an inappropriate and

unsatisfactory starting point for application of the work-

back method. The best evidence repeatedly emphasizes the

ineffectiveness of attempting to infer the value of large

quantities of crude or commingled helium, based upon the

relatively small number of refined helium market transac-

tions.?

*“If a very large quantity of Grade A helium or refined helium were

thrown on the market, this would drive the price down to near zero.”

(Tr. 387, Dr. Leftwich, supra)

“It is simply not proper to infer the value of a large amount of

crude helium, based upon the small amount of helium.in the Grade A

market. And to illustrate this. Suppose we did start with that $20 price

of Grade A helium and suppose following the workback method we

subtracted Off the cost of converting crude helium to Grade A helium

to arrive at some kind of net price for crude helium. The next step in

the workback method then would be to try to compute a value for all

of that crude helium, and this would be done by taking the net price

that we calculated and multiplying it by the quantity of crude. The

problem which arises is simply this. It imputes a value to all of the

crude helium, based upon the $20 attached to only a very small

volume in the Grade A market. In other words, the method that was

proposed by Ashland assumes, in principle, if not in fact, that we

could have refined all of that crude helium and sold it in the Grade A

markets, and that the price would not change from $20. This violates

the fundamental law which economists call the law of demand, name-

ly, we know that if the quantity of Grade A helium had been larger,

that the price would have dropped. And this is exactly the point that

Ashland has ignored in coming up with this workback method and ap-

plying the $20 figure as though we can impute a value to all of that

crude helium based on that quantity, which is very small in the Grade

A market.” (Tr. 789-790, Dr. Braeutigam, supra)

62a

Crude Helium Market ~

(See also Finding No. 19)

The other potential starting point for application of the

work-back method is the crude helium market. It repre-

sents the first processing stage at which helium per se is

freely marketed and the first form into which commingled

helium is separated. The close proximity of the two stages

makes work-back calculations easier and more reliable.

During the relevant years, crude helium production was

much more comparable in quantity to commingled helium

production than was refined helium production, and all

the helium at issue was sold and maintained in crude

helium form. The crude helium market was by far the

largest helium market existent during the pertinent ten

year period. Beginning the work-back method here would

allow us to make computations on the basis of events and

transactions which actually occurred, and would minimize

the need for speculation of the type refined helium figures

require.

Supply and demand characteristics of the crude helium

market were similar in size and structure to those which

would have attended a commingled helium market if one

haa been independently identifiable, and the comparabili-

ty of these economic factors makes comparisons between

the commingled and crude stages much more realistic than

comparisons with the refined stage.

Several factors made crude helium prices more represen-

tative of helium’s fair market value at that level than pure

helium prices were at the refined level. When the conserva-

tion program was initiated, a great many potential sellers

received notice from the government of its intention to

buy crude helium, and some 13 or 14 companies expressed

interest in contracting as crude helium suppliers. The con-

63a

tracts which finally emerged, including Phillips’ contract,

followed extensive “good faith” and “arm’s length”

negotiations. The price paid for crude helium to the

“Helex” companies, including Phillips, averaged about

$12 per Mcf. While the evidence reveals that the crude

helium market was not a perfectly competitive market in

the classical economic sense, throughout most of the rele-

vant period there were at least four sellers in the market,

dealing at prices freely negotiated, and substantial

amounts of crude helium were exchanged within a fairly

narrow range of prices.'° This market was at least im-

perfectly competitive and significantly more competitive

than the refined market. A rather well developed crude

helium market existed, then, during the time period rele-

vant here, generally operating within a price range of

$11.00 to $14.00.

Phillips Contract Price

Since the evidence of both Ashland and defendant

Phillips offers work-back calculations based on Phillips’

actual extraction costs, employing Phillips’ actual contract

price as a starting value would be ideal if shown to repre-

‘I think that to start with we have a market which I would not

characterize at the crude level as being a perfectly competitive market,

certainly, in the classical economic sense. However, we do have

throughout most of the time period I’m talking about evidence that we

had at least four sellers in that market, and they were entering into

contracts at prices which were not dictated, either by the government

or by anyone else. They were freely negotiated prices. I would

characterize the market as perhaps imperfectly competitive. . . .” (Tr.

801, Dr. Braeutigam, supra)

“So with these exchanges and very very substantial amounts of

crude helium being exchanged, within a fairly narrow range of prices,

I think there is no question but what we had a very good market for

crude helium existing.” (Tr. 375-376, Dr. Leftwich, supra)

64a

sent a fair and reasonable price for crude helium.'' The

Phillips contract was one of four negotiated with the four

“Helex” companies and, like the others, resulted from ex-

tensive “arms length” negotiations. The court is now per-

suaded that Phillips’ contract price of approximately

$10.30 per Mcf represented a fundamentally fair and

reasonable price for crude helium. This contrasts with the

first trial, wherein the evidence demonstrated no relation-

ship between the negotiated contract price and the fair

market value of the helium. See Ashland v. Phillips, supra

at 384.

Ashland’s argument that the contract figure did not

represent the full and complete helium “price,” due to the

contract’s indemnity clause, is persuasive on its face but

was shown at retrial to be factually unsound. At issue is

contractual provision 7.4 of the Phillips contract, wherein

the government agreed to indemnify Phillips for amounts

in excess Of $3.00 paid to third parties for their helium

ownership rights. Such provision implies that the complete

crude helium price was contemplated to be the base figure

of approximately $10.30 plus additional payments re-

quired by third party ownership interests. The evidence

now establishes that the base figure was considered by the

parties to be the full and complete price for the crude

helium and that it, in fact, constituted a fair and

reasonable price. Phillips’ negotiators had been advised by

legal counsel that Phillips possessed sole and complete title

to all of the contracted helium. Phillips was willing to so

warrant its title and was intent on negotiating a contract

11“. , . [SJince the workback cost figures that are being used in this

case are Phillips’ cost figures, Phillips’ workback cost figures, then it

appears to me that they ought to be applied to a Phillips’ price, rather

than taking Phillips’ cost figures and applying it to some nebulous

overall price. If we are going to use Phillips’ costs, let’s use Phillips’

price to do our workback.” (Tr. 391, Dr. Leftwich, supra)

65a

price reflecting the full and complete value of the crude

helium. Approximately half of the helium Phillips con-

tracted to sell was produced from its own gas wells and in-

disputably belonged to Phillips, and the base contract

figure unquestionably represented full payment as to this

one-half.'? Significantly, the indemnification clause was

never requested by Phillips, and was never a focal point of

negotiations, but was merely inserted at the government’s

behest to provide continuity with previously negotiated

contracts containing the same clause.

Ashland’s contentions that the negotiated contract price

was depressed by the potential threat of government con-

demnation of the helium is not supported by the record.

The negotiated price essentially represented that dollar

figure necessary to induce Phillips to bring forth the

amount of crude helium

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition — Ashland Oil, Inc. v. Phillips Petroleum Co. · 446 U.S. 936 | Frix