Petition — Adolph Coors Co. v. R. E. Spriggs Co.

Supreme Court brief1980

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United S

DEC 5

IABL ROGAK JR., CLERK

“Gupreme Court, U.% »,

FILED

1979

October Term, 1979

No.-F-9~8 6 8

ADOLPH Coors COMPANY, a corporation,

Petitioner,

vs.

R.E. Spriccs Co., INc., a California corporation, and

PHOEBE SPRIGGS, Successor-in-interest to the Estate

of Ralph E. Spriggs, Deceased,

. Respondents.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the Court of Appeal

of the State of California for the Second Appellate

District.

McCuTCHEN, BLACK, VERLEGER & SHEA,

G. WILLIAM SHEA,

FRANKLIN H. WILSON,

Jupp L. JORDAN,

3435 Wilshire Boulevard, 30th Floor,

Los Angeles, California 90010,

(213) 381-3411,

BRADLEY, CAMPBELL & CARNEY,

LEO N. BRADLEY,

1717 Washington Avenue,

Golden, Colorado 80401,

(303) 278-3300,

Attorneys for Petitioner

Adolph Coors Company.

Parker & Son, Inc., Law Printers, Los Angeles. Phone 724-6622

SUBJECT INDEX

Page

RE AS 2

a SESS CI 3

ESE ES Se 3

Constitutional Provisions and Statutes .................... 4

Neen ic esceseccdensncneloceness 5

Reasons for Granting the Writ .............................. 11

I.

The Decision Below Conflicts With the Due

Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment

of the United States Constitution .................... 11

Copper Liquor Involved Different Conduct

in a Different State at a Different Time at a

Different Level of Distribution .................. 14

FTC Did Not Involve Clearly Identical Issues

of Fact and There Is No Reference in FTC

to Los Angeles County at Any Time Peri-

od, Relevant or Otherwise, or to Spriggs .... 16

II.

The Decision Below Conflicts With the Decision

of pee. et ee ovens ................................ 17

III.

The Decision Below !s Contrary to Decisions of

the Federal Courts of Appeals ........................ 19

IV.

The Decision Below Conflicts With Section 5(a)

of the Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C. § 16(a) .......... 21

ES 23

ii.

Appendix. Section 5(a), Federal Trade Commis-

sion Act, ch. 311, § 5, 38 stat. 719 (1914), as

amended by Act of Feb. 13, 1925, ch. 229, § 2,

43 stat. 939, Act of Mar. 21, 1938, ch. 49, § 3,

52 stat. 111, Act of June 25, 1948, ch. 646,

§ 32(a), 62 stat. 991, Act of May 24, 1949, ch.

139, § 127, 63 stat. 107. Act of July 14, 1952,

ch. 745, § 2, 66 stat. 632, Act of Aug. 23, 1958,

Pub. L. 85-726, Title XIV, § 1411, 72 stat. 809,

Act of Sept. 2, 1958, Pub. L. 85-909, § 3, 72

stat. 1750 (current version at 15 U.S.C. § 45(a)

ee essa Sunapee eaten ees App. p. 1

I I ee p cicceiags cnavastoead tans 4

EERE RSA RSTES Re tent ireaie Sees Ns) RO) ERE R OPE RS TO 4

REE AION SARI ENS SPREE IN OCR TC 26

Reporter’s Transcript, Testimony of Everett L.

Barnhardt, Spriggs’ Adverse Witness ................-- 72

Reporter’s Transcript, Testimony of William

Kistler Coors, Spriggs’ Adverse Witness ............ 75

Reporter’s Transcript, Coors’ Objections to Ad-

mission of Spriggs’ Exhibit 80 ...........................- 76

a 77

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law .............. 83

sumgment Arter Trial Oy Cutt .........65eccsncccccances... 89

Coors’ Brief as Respondent in the California Court

OO PII Sos ies chitvccenslp ante ic evetuunescencieeabekiacniataiens 91

Coors’ Post Hearing Letter Dated February 1,

ik ee Mia cis Niinasiiartiaig tones Sashepeane pm aniageadendetices 94

Coors’ Post Hearing Letter Dated March 9, 1979.. 96

‘iii.

I i ee at ea

Coors’ Petition for Rehearing in the California

CE Oe TA iis ak a

Modification of Opinion (94 Cal.App.3d 419,

— Cal. Rptr. —) on Denial of Petition for

et COON CTR RI DAUR TSP US EDO Eh OR ROR APES thn

Coors’ Petition for Hearing in the Supreme Court

A adeisc ukibceccals Sepscdcta almohiinbaitoe

CAE TOT TROON onside ee eas

SE TE WN UO oa gan svssccinapiccessioa ceeronsanicas

| ae CEI PORN net Te RT ee PE ee OE

The Court of Appeal Uses the FTC and Copper

Liquor Decisions, Which Did Not Involve

Identical Issues, to Collaterally Estop Coors

From a Trial on Liability, Thus Denying

Coors Due Process of Law Under the Four-

teenth Amendment of the United States Con-

stitution and Article I, Section 7 of the Cali-

EE, ne

A. Copper Liquor Involved Different Con-

duct in a Different State at a Different

Time at a Different Level of Distribu-

a ed ee)

B. FTC Did Not Involve Clearly Identical

Issues of Fact and There Is No Refer-

ence in FTC to Los Angeles County at

Any Time Period, Relevant or Otherwise,

OP Se TI vase gehen astitncesitossenss

13]

134

iv.

Page

C. Spriggs If Is Contrary to Del Rio, A & S,

La Fortune and Sylvania ........................ 137

II.

A Judgment Affirming an FTC Order Under

Section 5 of the FTC Act Is Not Admissible

as Conclusive Evidence in a Private Treble

pmnmenges ANGE ancien Sicieuonens ae 141

Conclusion

V.

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases Page

Adolph Coors Co. v. A & S Wholesalers, Inc., 561

P.26 Ger (10th Cir. 1977) (“A & S&S”) .....-........

SA aNeghdsstallenshenieiedkndaesideaseceibcccanesiivenn 2, 9, 13, 20, 21

Adolph Coors Co. v. FTC, 497 F.2d 1178 (10th

Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 419 U.S. 1105 (1975)

OR dee ek LS Zz, 3, &, 7, 4. 4,

ORO PLES NS CSR te ott ee 13, 16, 17, 19, 20,

Antibiotic Antitrust Action, In re, 333 F. Supp. 317

(S.D.N.Y. 1971) ..........-.. a a ea

Bernhard v. Bank of America, 19 Cal. 2d 807, 122

s&h, das ene nt ener Oran

Boddie v. Connecticut, 401 U.S. 371 (197 1) ree,

California Retail Liquor Dealers Ass’n v. Midcal

Aluminum, Inc., cert. granted, 48 U.S.L.W. 3217

(U.S. Oct. 2, 1979) (No. 79-97) ........ Prete a ae

Commissioner v. Sunnen, 333 U.S. 591 (1948)

Continental T.V., Inc. v. GTE Sylvania Inc., 433

CB. 36 CEST) CORVIVOIR } ov resisvcncciscessicssccien

Po STEN, SPUN RA RTO RIOTED ATONE 4, 8, 9, 17, 18, 20,

Copper Liquor, Inc. v. Adolph Coors Co., 506 F.

2d 934 (Sth Cir. 1975) (“Copper Liquor”) ....

BSI ran ern arg ea 2, 6, 7, 9, 10, 13, 14, 15, 16,

Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469

a teal dn inAidcte sek bdslaidam aaa laoesinnts

Del Rio Distributing, Inc. v. Adolph Coors Co.,

589 F.2d 176 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 48

U.S.L.W. 3219 (U.S. Oct. 2, 1979) (No. 78-

BPO) C BIOE TIP onnscccrexsnssterte a % 44, 33, 19,

10

21

21

11

11

10

14

21

19

20

Vi.

Page

Expert Electric, Inc. v. Levine, 554 F.2d 1227 (2d

Cir.), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 903 (1977) ............ 11

Farmington Dowel Products Co. v. Forster Mfg.

Co, O21 Fie Oe Etat Ce. FR) nnn ccinceccssc.. 17

FTC v. Cement Insti*ute, 333 U.S. 683 (1948) .... 22

Hardy Salt Co. v. State of Illinois, 377 F.2d 768

(8th Cir.), cert. denied, 389 U.S. 912 (1967) .... 15

Haung Tang v. Aetna Life Ins. Co., 523 F.2d 811

I IPE ois iit Gehencnscucsncecadsssasernauanesniers 1]

Hudson Distributors v. Eli Lilly, 377 U.S. 386

L RIRSRTSARID BLAIR pd oo tn Re RE OPS 3

Marin County Bd. of Realtors, Inc. v. Palsson, 16

Cal. 3d 920, 120 Cal. Rptr. 1, 549 P.2d 833

RI a aiken Caan ih Aciadieriounesdatedaiehvind 1

New Jersey Wood Finishing Co. v. Minnesota

Mining & Mfg. Co.:, 332 F.2d 346 (3d Cir.

1964), aff'd on other grounds, 381 U.S. 311

0) ARRESTS ITs ART esha deioto Mey a 21

North Carolina v. Chas. Pfizer & Co., 537 F.2d

67 (4th Cir.), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 870

SN sn tes ee zi. 22

Proper v. John Bene & Sons, Inc., 295 F. 729

RI, I ae oe Cd ey ho rs a

Purex Corp. v. Procter & Gamble Co., 453 F.2d

288 (9th Cir. 1971), cert. denied, 405 U.S. 1065

PIII > eee nacdn ud ingame tensmaicwdacsbcmuaa A, 22

R.E. Spriggs Co. v. Adolph Coors Co., 37 Cal. App.

3d 653, 112 Cal. Rptr. 585 (1974) ....0000002... 7, 14

Sam Fox Publishing Co. v. United States, 366 U.S.

a a ncaenld lo innntiascoe 22

Vii.

Page

State of Michigan v. Morton Salt Co., 259 F. Supp.

Jo CE FE. TOe ince ocr cane 15

Theatre Enterprises, Inc. v. Paramount Film Distrib.

Corp., 346. U.S. SOT CIBGS) -fncncecciane nt, 32

United States v. Arnold, Schwinn & Co., 388 U.S.

365 (1967) (“Schwinn”) ....2............. 4, 5, 7, 8, 20

White Motor Co. v. United States, 372 U.S. 253,

83 S.Ct. 696, 9 L.Ed.2d 738 (1963) ............22.... 6

Statutes

California Business and Professions Code, Secs.

REP ROT onsksernccencecnckcs lee uen 1

California Civil Code, Sec. 1790 ....02.0...2.2eee eee. 17

Clayton Act, Sec. 5(a) (15 U.S.C. § 16(a)

€ RIF RD ~ sccestadecdvenmaibeadsecd cane’ 4. 5. Fe Beco

Federal Trade Commission Act, Sec. 5 (15 U.S.C.

© RE scccoscsscvceaapaeee eee 4, 3, 6& di, 22

United States Code, Title 28, Sec. 1257(3) .......... 3

United States Constitution, Art. VI, Cl. 2 ................ 4

United States Constitution, Fourteenth Amendment

DF iccsinsinvinicttloet eka gealesdeucieaauiaaenadededaaaeaaae 4

Textbook

16 von Kalinowski, J., Antitrust Laws and Trade

Regulation, Sec. 111.02[3], pp. 111-25-26, 27-28

C2 FUED a vicénissnanssccchucennsouspirnaamivoeaaaaaanae 13, 15

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1979

Nt ete

ADOLPH Coors COMPANY, a corporation,

Petitioner,

vs.

R.E. Spriccs Co., INc., a California corporation, and

PHOEBE SPRIGGS, Successor-in-interest to the Estate

of Ralph E. Spriggs, Deceased,

Respondents.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the Court of Appeal

of the State of California for the Second Appellate

District.

Petitioner Adolph Coors Company (“Coors”) re-

spectfully prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review

the judgment and opinion of the Court of Appeal

of the State of California for the Second Appellate

District dated June 26, 1979, as modified on denial

of petition for rehearing on July 23, 1979. Appendix

(“App.”) 98-112, 125.

The decision of the California court denies Coors

a trial on liability in a private antitrust action for

treble damages under the Cartwright Act (Cal. Bus.

& Prof. Code §§ 16700-16758).* It reversed the trial

*California’s Cartwright Act is similar, although not identical,

to the Sherman Act. Federal decisions interpreting the Sherman

Act are “applicable” under the Cartwright Act. E.g., Marin

County Bd. of Realtors, Inc. v. Palsson, 16 Cal. 3d 920,

925, 120 Cal. Rptr. 1, 549 P.2d 833 (1976).

a. ae

court judgment in favor of Coors and held Coors

liable as a matter of law with a new trial only on

the amount of damages. The California Court of Appeal

gave collateral estoppel effect to two federal Court

of Appeals decisions, Copper Liquor, Inc. v. Adolph

Coors Co., 506 F.2d 934 (Sth Cir. 1975) (“Copper

Liquor’), and Adolph Coors Co. v. FTC, 497 F.2d

1178 (10th Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 419 U.S. 1105

(1975) (“FTC”), despite the fact that the two Courts

ot Appeals that rendered these decisions have expressly

refused to give them collateral effect in subsequent

lawsuits involving Coors, Del Rio Distributing, Inc.

v. Adolph Coors Co., 589 F.2d 176 (Sth Cir.),

cert. denied, 48 U.S.L.W. 3219 (U.S. Oct. 2, 1979)

(No. 78-1876) (“Del Rio”), and Adolph Coors Co.

v. A & S Wholesalers, Inc., 561 F.2d 807 (10th

Cir. 1977) (“A & S”). (Copper Liquor and FTC

appear in the appendix at pages 27 and 5, respectively.)

Opinions Below.

The opinion of the California Court of Appeal is

reported at 94 Cal. App. 3d 419, modified on denial

of rehearing, 95 Cal. App. 3d 1028a, as modified,

_ 156 Cal. Rptr. 738 (1979), and appears in the appen-

dix. App. 98-112, 125.

The judgment and findings of fact and conclusions

of law on the second trial dated April 15, 1977 and

the notice of intended decision dated December 17,

1976 of the Superior Court of the State of California

for the County of Los Angeles are not reported and

appear in the appendix. App. 77-89.

nities

Jurisdiction.

The judgment of the California Court of Appeal

was filed on June 26, 1979. App. 98. A petition

for rehearing was denied on July 23, 1979. App. 125.

A petition for hearing in the Supreme Court of the

State of California was denied on September 6, 1979.

App. 143.

This petition for certiorari is filed under, section

1257(3) of Title 28 of the United States Code within

90 days from the denial of hearing in the Supreme

Court of the State of California.

This Court has jurisdiction to review the judgment

of the California Court of Appeal because that court

has imposed liability on Coors without a hearing on

that issue and sent the case back to the trial court

only to determine the amount of damages. It rejected

Coors’ argument that this result would be a denial

of due process under the Fourteenth Amendment. This

rejection was left undisturbed by the California Supreme

Court. On this federal issue the decision below is final

under state law and may be treated as final for purposes

of review by this Court. See Cox Broadcasting Corp.

v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469, 476-87 (1975); Hudson Dis-

tributors v. Eli Lilly, 377 U.S. 386, 389 n.4 (1964).

Questions Presented.

1. Whether offensive collateral estoppel using fed-

eral antitrust judgments from different time periods

and different geographic markets to deny a defendant

a trial on liability in a state antitrust action violates

the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment

of the United States Constitution.

2. Whether collateral estoppel using federal anti-

trust judgments that relied on the now defunct Schwinn

a ve

doctrine violates the decisional law of the United States

including the decision of this Court in Continental

T.V., Inc. v. GTE Sylvania Inc., 433 U.S. 36 (1977),

(“Sylvania”), overruling United States v. Arnold,

Schwinn & Co., 388 U.S. 365 (1967) (“Schwinn”).

3. Whether denying a defendant a trial on liability

in a private antitrust action using a government judg-

ment under section 5 of the Federal Trade Commission

Act (15 U.S.C. § 45) violates section 5(a) of the

Clayton Act (15 U.S.C. § 16(a)).

Constitutional Provisions and Statutes.

Supremacy Clause (Art. VI, cl. 2), United States

Constitution:

“This Constitution, and the Laws of the United

States which shall be made in Pursuance thereof;

.. Shall be the supreme Law of the Land;

and the Judges in every State shall be bound

thereby, any Thing in the Constitution or Laws

of any State to the Contrary notwithstanding.”

Due Process Clause (Section 1), Fourteenth Amend-

ment, United States Constitution:

“#* %* nor shall any State deprive any person

of life, liberty, or property, without due process

of law; * * *”

Section 5(a), Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C. § 16(a)

(1976):

“A final judgment or decree heretofore or here-

after rendered in any civil or criminal proceeding

brought by or on behalf of the United States

under the antitrust laws to the effect that a defend-

ant has violated said laws shall be prima facie

evidence against such defendant in any action

a oe

or proceeding brought by any other party against

such defendant under said laws or by the United

States under section 15a of this title, as to all

matters respecting which said judgment or decree

would be an estoppel as between the parties there-

to: Provided, That this section shall not apply

to consent judgments or decrees entered before

any testimony has been taken or to judgments

or decrees entered in actions under section 15a

of this title.”

Section 5, Federal Trade Commission Act:

Section 5 of the Federal Trade Commission Act

is lengthy and is therefore set forth in the appendix.

App. 1.

Statement of the Case.

The fourteen year history of this case reflects the

birth of the Schwinn doctrine, its death in Sylvania,

and its attempted resurrection by the California Court

of Appeal:

1. In Schwinn, this Court held that territorial limi-

tations were per se violations of section | of the Sher-

man Act. 388 U.S. at 382.

2. In FTC, the Tenth Circuit affirmed an order

of the Federal Trade Commission under section 5

of the Federal Trade Commission Act’ (15 U.S.C.

§ 45) prospectively enjoining Coors from enforcing

its territorial limitations after July 24, 1973. The court

stated that it was “compelled to follow the Schwinn

per se rule rendering Coors’ territorial limitations illegal

per se... .” 497 F.2d at 1187, App. 20. The Tenth

Circuit expressly requested this Court to reconsider

the Schwinn per se rule for unique products such as

Coors beer:

a

“Although we are compelled to follow the

Schwinn per se rule rendering Coors’ territorial

restrictions oa resale illegal per se, we believe

that the per se rule should yield to situations

. here a unique product requires territorial restric-

tions to remain in business. For example, speed

of delivery, quality control of the product, refrig-

erated delivery, and condition of the Coors product

at the time of delivery may justify restraints on

trade that would be unreasonable when applied

to marketing standardized products. La Fortune

v. Ebie, supra. Perhaps the Supreme Court may

see the wisdom of grafting an exception to the

per se rule when a product is unique and where

the manufacturer can justify its territorial restraints

under the rule of reason. White Motor Co. v.

United States, 372 U.S. 253, 83 S.Ct. 696, 9

L.Ed.2d 738 (1963).

497 F.2d at 1187, App. 20.

In this case Coors’ petition for rehearing in the Court

of Appeal and petition for hearing in the Supreme

Court of California pointed out that a judgment under

section 5 of the FTC Act is neither admissible nor

conclusive in a private treble damages action. App.

113, 120-124, 127, 141-142.

3. In Copper Liquor, the Coors distributor in

Brownwood, Texas “felt constrained” not to deliver

Coors beer to a retailer who bought a store in Brown-

wood in January of 1966 and “advertised Coors at

less than his own cost, using it as a ‘loss leader.’ ”

506 F.2d at 936, 939, 950, App. 27-28, 35, 51. The

Fifth Circuit affirmed in part a jury verdict against

Coors under the Sherman Act, holding that Coors’ terri-

torial limitations were “ancillary to an illegal price fix-

~~

ing scheme” and illegal per se under Schwinn, 506 F.2d

at 947-48, App. 52-53.

4. At the 1976 trial in this case, the trial court

bifurcated liability from damages and determined that

during the relevant time period—the four years before

October 18, 1965—Coors’ territorial restrictions in Los

Angeles County, California were reasonable and did

not violate the Cartwright Act.* App. 85-88. In fact,

the trial court specifically found that Coors’ territorial

restrictions were the only effective way to enforce qual-

ity control and availability to small retailers and to

ensure compliance with extensive state regulation in

California. App. 85-86, 88. The trial court also held

that Coors was not collaterally estopped by FTC, Cop-

per Liquor and the district court decision in A & S,

which was thereafter reversed on appeal. App. 87.

In its notice of intended decision, the trial court ex-

plained that those cases did not involve identical issues:

“The Court finds that Coors is not bound

by the doctrine of collateral estoppel by reason of

the decisions in FTC, Copper Liquor and A & §

*This case was originally filed in the California Superior

Court for the County of Los Angeles by Coors in 1965 seeking

to terminate Spriggs as a distributor and to enjoin certain conduct

of Spriggs. Spriggs cross-complained and a trial was held in

the Los Angeles Superior Court in 1971. The court found

in Coors’ favor on all issues and. on the court’s own motion,

dismissed Spriggs’ cross-claims under the Cartwright Act on

the ground that the alleged restraints of commerce involved

interstate commerce and therefore were within the exclusive

jurisdiction of the federal court. The California Court of Appeal

in R.E. Spriggs Co. v. Adoiph Coors Co., 37 Cal. App.

3d 653, 112 Cal. Rptr. 585 (1974), held that the Superior

Court had jurisdiction over the Cartwright Act claim and re-

manded the case for further proceedings which resulted in the

second trial in the Superior Court in 1976 and the subsequent

appellate proceedings from which this petition is taken.

ec Wan

“The doctrine of collateral estoppel cannot be

used to require a court to apply inappropriate

law or appellate decision. The real thrust of

Spriggs’ argument on collateral estoppel is to re-

quire application of the per se approach. As in-

dicated above, such conclusion cannot be reached

by this Court.

“Secondly, the three cases relied upon by Spriggs

did not involve a determination of completely

identical issues.

“Thirdly, to the extent that the question is

open it does not appear to be appropriate to

apply the doctrine offensively in favor of a stran-

ger to the prior litigation, which is the result

Spriggs urges.”

App. 79 (emphasis added).

The non-identity of issues and injustice of applying

collateral estoppel were raised in the California Court

of Appeal in Coors’ brief as respondent, in Coors’

post hearing letter to the Court of Appeal of February

1, 1979 and in Coors’ petition for rehearing and were

reiterated in Coors’ petition for hearing in the California

Supreme Court. App. 92-95, 114-119, 126-127, 131-

137, 142. The petitions for hearing and rehearing speci-

fically cited and discussed the Due Process Clause of

the Fourteenth Amendment of the United States Con-

stitution and evidence that during the relevant time

period in Los Angeles County, California territories

were not imposed to carry out pricing policy. App.

113-114, 123-124, 127, 131, 142.

5. In Sylvania, this Court expressly overruled

Schwinn, noting that the Tenth Circuit in FTC had

expressly urged the Court

pom

“to consider the need in this area for greater

flexibility, Adolph Coors Co. v. FTC, 497 F.2d

1178, 1187 (CAI0O 1974).”

433 USS. at 49 n.14,

Sylvania was cited and discussed extensively in Coors’

brief as respondent in the California Court of Appeal

and in its petition for hearing in the California Su-

preme Court. App. 91-92, 128-!Z9, 139-141.

6. In A & S, the Tenth Circuit held that Coors’

territorial limitations were not illegal per se, expressly

refusing to follow its own decision in FTC because

Schwinn had been overruled by Sylvania. 561 F.2d

at 811-12.

7. In Del Rio Distributing, Inc. v. Adolph Coors

Co., the Fifth Circuit held that Coors’ territorial limita-

tions were not illegal per se and that the doctrine

of collateral estoppel could not be applied to its own

decision in Copper Liquor or to the decision of the

Tenth Circuit in FTC, because Schwinn had been over-

ruled by Sylvania. 589 F.2d at 179 & n.4. Del Rio

was cited by Coors and its significance discussed in

a letter to the California Court of Appeal dated March

9, 1979, enclosing a copy of the opinion. App. 96-97.

Del Rio was again raised in Coors’ petition for rehearing

in the Court of Appeal and in Coors’ petition for

hearing in the California Supreme Court. App. 113,

119-120, 130, 137-138.

8. On Spriggs’ appeal from the trial court judgment

in favor of Coors after the 1976 trial on_ liability

in this case, the California Court of Appeal* held

*Proper consideration of this petition unfortunately requires

that the opinion of the California Court of Appeal not be

taken at face value. For one example, the Coors policy manual

(This footnote is continued on next page)

_— oe

that Coors was collaterally estopped and reversed, not

for a new trial which would give Coors an opportunity

to be heard on the liability issue, but with an explicit

direction to the trial court to enter judgment against

Coors because of the decisions in Copper Liquor and

FTC.

quoted extensively by the Court of Appeal was not “admitted

to be relevant at all times” as the court states (App. 100)

but was dated June 1970 (more than four years after the

relevant time period) and was admitted into evidence over

Coors’ strong and repeated objections and evidence that it was

not relevant. E.g., App. 472-76. The Court of Appeal also noted

the unconstitutionality of the price provisions of California’s

Alcoholic Beverage Control Act (App. 104), an issue that

is currently before this Court in California Retail Liquor Dealers

Ass'n v. Midcal Aluminum, Inc., cert. granted, 48 U.S.L.W.

3217 (U.S. Oct. 2, 1979) (No. 79-97).

a on

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.

I.

The Decision Below Conflicts With the Due Process

Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment of the United

States Constitution.

This Court has stated that due process of law requires

a meaningful opportunity to be heard:

“|D|ue process requires, at a minimum, that ab-

sent a countervailing state interest of overriding

significance, persons forced to settle their claims

of right and duty through the judicial process

must be given a meaningful opportunity to be

heard.”

Boddie v. Connecticut, 401 U.S. 371, 377

(1971).

Coors submits that, if collateral estoppel is to be applied

so aS to meet the due process standard, there must

be an identity of issues as well as parties for the

opportunity to be heard to be meaningful. See, e.g.,

Expert Electric, Inc. v. Levine, 554 F.2d 1227, 1233

(2d Cir.), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 903 (1977); Haung

Tang v. Aetna Life Ins. Co., 523 F.2d 811, 813 (9th

Cir. 1975); Bernhard v. Bank of America, 19 Cal. 2d

807, 811, 122 P.2d 892 (1942).

By its reversal of the second judgment that Coors

was not liable to Spriggs, the California court has

foreclosed Coors from any hearing on the liability

issue. This denial of due process to Coors rests upon

erroneous application of coliateral estoppel based on

two federal judgments which did not involve identical

issues. This Court expressly held application of col-

lateral estoppel based on different time periods and

geographic markets to be improper in Theatre Enter-

om

prises, Inc. v. Paramount Film Distrib. Corp., 346

U.S. 537 (1954):

“The trial judge instructed, in effect, that the

Paramount decrees alone could not support a re-

covery by petitioner; additional evidence was re-

quired to relate the presumed Paramount conspir-

acy to Baltimore and to the claimed damage

period. The reasons for this are clear. The Para-

mount decrees did not rest on findings, nor were

the findings based on evidence, of a particular

conspiracy concerning restrictions on runs and

clearances in Baltimore theatres; yet such a con-

spiracy is the nub of plaintiff's claim. The Para-

mount case involved a conspiracy found to exist

as of 1945, which was enjoined no later than

June 25, 1948; but the conspiracy alleged here

involves a claimed damage period running from

February 1949 to March 1950. Indeed, the rele-

vancy of Paramount to the instant case is slight.

We need not pass on respondents’ contention that

petitioner was entitled to no benefit at all from

the earlier decrees. We merely hold that petitioner

was entitled to no greater benefit than the trial

judge gave it.”

346 U.S. at 543-44 (footnote omitted).

Most recently this Court refused to review a Fifth

Circuit decision rejecting the use of collateral estoppel

based on the same two judgments against Coors to

impose liability upon Coors. Del Rio Distributing, Inc.

v. Adolph Coors Co., 589 F.2d 176 (Sth Cir.), cert.

denied, 48 U.S.L.W. 3219 (U.S. Oct. 2, 1979). This

also is in direct conflict with the decision of the Cali-

fornia Court of Appeal.

a. oe

An antitrust judgment not expressly dealing with

the same time and place has no estoppel effect in

a subsequent private treble damages action:

“The findings in a government antitrust judg-

ment or decree have an estoppel effect in a sub-

sequent treble damage action only as to the time

and place of the unlawful activity expressly dealt

with in the prior decree. Essentially, this means

that a finding that the defendant has violated

the law in some particular geographical area during

a specific period will not serve as proof that

he acted unlawfully in the same manner in a

different area or at another time.”

16 J. von Kalinowski, Antitrust Laws and

Trade Regulation § 111.02[3] at 111-25-

26 (1978).

In the instant case application of collateral estoppel

constitutes a denial of due process because both federal

decisions relied upon (FTC and Copper Liquor) in-

volved different conduct in a different geographical

area at a different time, and did not involve clearly

identical issues. In Del Rio and A & § the federal

courts deciding Copper Liquor and FTC expressly re-

fused to give collateral estoppel effect to their earlier

judgments. Despite the fact that the very courts that

decided FTC and Copper Liquor have subsequently

refused to find Coors collaterally estopped by those

decisions because of the intervening Sylvania decision,

the California Court of Appeal has now given collateral

estoppel effect to those decisions. —

In Commissioner v. Sunnen, 333 U.S. 591 (1948),

this Court rejected collateral estoppel based on such

obsolete decisions:

osigliilieds

“[A] subsequent modification of the significant

facts or a change or development in the control-

ling legal principles may make that [earlier] deter-

mination obsolete or erroneous, at least for future

purposes. . . . That principle [of collateral estop-

pel] is designed to prevent repetitious lawsuits

over matters which have once been decided and

which have remained substantially static, factually

and legally. It is not meant to create vested rights

in decisions that have become obsolete or erro-

neous with time, thereby causing inequities... .”

333 US. at 599.

Copper Liquor Involved Different Conduct in a Differ-

ent State at a Different Time at a Different Level

of Distribution.

The first trial in this case in 1971 determined that

Spriggs was properly terminated as a Coors distributor

on September 22, 1965. See R.E. Spriggs Co. v. Adolph

Coors Co., 37 Cal. App. 3d 653, 656, 112 Cal. Rptr.

585 (1974). After the second trial in 1976, the trial

court specifically found that

“lt}he ‘relevant period’ as sometimes referred to

in these findings of fact is the four years preceding

the filing of the cross-complaint on October 18,

1965.” Finding of Fact 16, App. 86.

In Copper Liquor the plaintiff was a retailer named

Letcher in Brownwood, Texas, who did not acquire

his store until 1966:

“Letcher acquired a sole proprietorship in the

Brownwood store in January of 1966. About the

same time, Coors entered the Brownwood market.”

506 F.2d at 939, App. 35.

ae

Thus, Copper Liquor clearly involved a different time

period.

Moreover, the relevant geographic market in Copper

Liquor had been designated as “the market for beer

in Brownwood, Texas.” 506 F.2d at 950, App. 59.

There was no question that the relevant geographic

market in this case was the market for beer in Los

Angeles County, California. See, e.g., Findings of Fact

3, 4, 7, 13, 14, 15, Conclusions of Law 8, 10, 11,

App. 83-84, 86, 88. The Copper Liquor judgment con-

cerning events in Brownwood, Texas after January 1,

1966 is not relevant evidence of events in Los Angeles

County, California prior to October 18, 1965.

“A judgment addressing itself to acts or prac-

tices committed in a defined geographical area

is not admissible in an action in which the plaintiff

is alleging unlawful activities elsewhere.”

16 J. von Kalinowski, Antitrust Laws and Trade

Regulation § 111.02[3] at 111-27-28 (1978).

See, e.g., State of Michigan v. Morton Salt

Co., 259 F. Supp. 35, 73-75 (D. Minn. 1966),

aff'd sub nom. Hardy Salt Co. v. State of

Illinois, 377 F.2d 768 (8th Cir.), cert. de-

nied, 389 U.S. 912 (1967).

Finally, the plaintiff in Copper Liquor was a retailer

who claimed that Coors refused to deliver beer to

him because he was selling Coors below his own cost:

“Letcher advertised Coors at less than his own

cost, using it as a ‘loss leader’.”

506 F.2d at 939, App. 35.

In this case not only are the plaintiffs different indi-

viduals; their status is also different. Spriggs was not

a retailer as was the plaintiff in Copper Liquor. Soriggs

was a distributor.

—)

FTC Did Not Involve Clearly Identical Issues of Fact

and There Is No Reference in FTC to Los Angeles

County at Any Time Period, Relevant or Other-

wise, or to Spriggs.

In FTC, the Court of Appeals and Federal Trade

Commission both relied very heavily upon the testimony

of Mr. Letcher, the plaintiff in Copper Liquor. See

497 F.2d at 1185, App. 15. As discussed above, Coors’

dealings with Letcher clearly involved different conduct

in a different state at a different time and at a different

level of distribution from Spriggs.

Moreover, the FTC opinion affirmed an equitable

decree operating prospectively from July 24, 1973.

497 F.2d at 1181-82 n.2, App. 6-8. Especially in view

of FTC’s reliance on the testimony of the plaintiff

in Copper Liquor, supra, it is clear that FTC did

not involve identical conduct at an identical time and

place to the conduct, time and place involved in this

case. Because FTC did not involve identical issues

of fact, application of collateral estoppel is clearly

error. Indeed, the only references in FTC to activities

of Coors in California were to the Oakland and Sacra-

mento areas in Northern California; there is no refer-

ence to any conduct of Coors in Los Angeles County

in Southern California at any time period, relevant or

otherwise, and no reference to Spriggs.

Coors in Copper Liquor and FTC never had any

motive or opportunity to litigate any liability to Spriggs

for any conduct by Coors in Los Angeles County

involving Spriggs. Thus, the Court of Appeal’s decision

denied due process to Coors by using cases involving

different facts to impose liability without trial.

The judgment in FTC determined only that there

was substantial evidence to support the findings of

a

the administrative agency, and did not determine that

Coors had violated the antitrust laws in Los Angeles

County prior to October of 1965, an essential element

of Spriggs’ claim. 497 F.2d at 1184-86, App. 13-17.

There appears to be a square conflict among the circuits

as to whether an FTC order is a judgment under

section 5(a) of the Clayton Act. Compare, e.g., Purex

Corp. v. Procter & Gamble Co., 453 F.2d 288, 291

(9th Cir. 1971), cert. denied, 405 U.S. 1065 (1972)

and Proper v. Join Bene & Sons, Inc., 295 F. 729

(E.D.N.Y. 1923) with Farmington Dowel Products

Co. v. Forster Mfg. Co., 421 F.2d 61 (1st Cir. 1969).

Il.

The Decision Below Conflicts With the Decision of

This Court in Syivania.

In Sylvania, this Court expressly overruled Schwinn.

The Court noted that the Tenth Circuit in FTC had

“expressly urged [the Court] to consider the

need in this area for greater flexibility. Adolph

Coors Co. v. FTC, 497 F.2d 1178, 1187 (CA

10 1974).”

433 USS. at 49 n.14.

Then, this Court in Sylvania expressly recognized that

vertical restrictions promote interbrand competition by

allowing the manufacturer to achieve distribution ef-

ficiencies and noted that federal and state regulations

increasingly require such control. 433 U.S. at 54-55

& n.23, citing, e.g., Cal. Civ. Code § 1790 et seq.

However, the opinion of the Court of Appeal in

this case ridiculed the specific findings of the trial

court that Coors’ territorial restrictions were necessary

and reasonable for reasons recognized by this Court

in Sylvania:

=)

“Eventually the trial court signed findings and

conclusions. We summarize the highlights: 1. Com-

pliance with various state laws could ‘be accom-

plished in an effective way only by absolute desig-

nation of responsibility under territorial guidelines.’

2. Territorial limitations on distributorships were

the only practicable way for insuring quality con-

trol. 3. Further, such territorial limitations and

certain regulations which Coors enforced prevented

distributors from servicing only the large, profita-

ble accounts. Thus the system vindicated the pub-

lic’s ‘right to the widest availability of Coors beer.’

4. The territorial limitations had no restraining

effect on interbrand competition. 5. There was

no evidence that the people of Los Angeles would

have benefited from intrabrand competition and

there was evidence to the contrary. 6. There was

no collusion among Coors’ distributors. 7. The

territorial limitations were a vertical restraint but

did not, per se, violate the Cartwright Act. 8.

The territorial limitations were reasonable under

the Cartwright Act in the light of Coors’ legiti-

mate need to insure quality control and compliance

with all applicable state laws and regulations.”

94 Cal. App. 3d at 425, App. 102.

Thus, the California court summarily rejected the

antitrust policy of the United States articulated by

this Court in Sylvania.

—

III.

The Decision Below Is Contrary to Decisions of the

Federal Courts of Appeals.

The United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth

Circuit, the court that decided Copper Liquor, recently

refused to give collateral estoppel effect to that decision

in Del Rio. The plaintiff in Del Rio had been a

Coors distributor until termination by Coors, Del Rio

sued alleging violations of the antitrust laws by Coors

by means of “fixing of wholesale and retail prices

and the limiting of territories where Coors beer could

be resold.” 589 F.2d at 177.:

Following an adverse jury verdict and denial of mo-

tions for new trial or judgment n.o.v., Del Rio appealed

and urged that Copper Liquor and FTC should be

given collateral estoppel effect.

“Del Rio contends that adverse judgments en-

tered against Coors in Adolph Coors Co. v. Federal

Trade Commission, 497 F.2d 1178 (10th Cir.

1974), and Copper Liquor, Inc. v. Adolph Coors

Co., 506 F.2d 934 (Sth Cir. 1975) serve as

collateral estoppel on the issue of liability.‘ We

disagree and find several bases for distinguishing

those cases. One of the most obvious distinctions

of Copper Liquor is that it was decided under

the per se rule of Schwinn that has now been

replaced by the rule of reason under Sylvania.

“The F.T.C. case, decided in another circuit.

was based on an appeal of an F.T.C. cease and

“4We also find that the trial judge did not err in refusing

to take judicial notice of Adolph Coors Co. v. Federal

Trade Commission, 497 F.2d 1178 (10th Cir. 1974)

or in refusing to enter into evidence the F.T.C. Com-

plaint and the F.T.C. Cease and Desist Order.”

a. oe

desist order brought under § 5 of the Federal

Trade Commission Act. The Federal Trade Com-

mission had overturned the decision of an admin-

istrative law judge who had found no violation

of the act. In reaching its decision on vertically

imposed territorial restrictions, the Tenth Circuit

was compelled to rely on law in effect at that

time; the Schwinn per se rule.

“In light of the reliance on Schwinn in both

Copper Liquor and the F.T.C. case we hold that

the doctrine of collateral estoppel has no appli-

cation in the instant case.”

589 F.2d at 178 & n.4.

Although Del Rio had been decided by the Fifth

Circuit and cited by Coors, the original opinion of

the California Court of Appeal in this case did not

even mention Del Rio. On denial of rehearing that

court at last took note of this decision but rejected

Del Rio’s teaching by adding a footnote stating that

it was “not persuaded by that court’s [the Fifth Cir-

cuit’s] narrow legal view of collateral estoppel.” App.

125.

As noted earlier, this Court refused to review the

Fifth Circuit’s rejection of the same collateral estoppel

applied in this case. Del Rio Distributors, Inc. v. Adolph

Coors Co., 48 U.S.L.W. 3219 (U.S. Oct. 2, 1979)

(78-1876). |

Finally, in A & S. the Tenth Circuit expressly refused

to follow its own decision in FTC, stating that its

FTC decision was “firmly anchored” to Schwinn, which

was overruled in Sylvania:

“We see no merit in this contention [for a directed

verdict under FTC| inasmuch as it relies almost

exclusively on the same predicate discussed in

lil sin

(1) above: ‘A & S was entitled . . . to have

the jury informed that the vigorously enforced

territorial restrictions of Coors was a per se viola-

tion of the Sherman Act and that all that they

had to determine was the fact and amount of

damages.’ [Brief of A & S, Appellant, Cross-

Appellee, p. 23.| The Supreme Court decision

in Continental T.V., Inc. v. GTE Sylvania, In-

corporated, supra, disposes of this issue adversely

to A & S.” 561 F.2d at 811-12.

IV.

The Decision Below Conflicts With Section 5(a)

of the Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C. § 16(a).

The California Court of Appeal decision in this

case holds that the FTC order in the FTC case is

conclusive against Coors. This is not the law. Such

an order is made under section 5 of the Federal Trade

Commission Act, 15 U.S.C. § 45, which is much broader

than the Clayton and Sherman Acts. It is not a judg-

ment “under the antitrust laws” under section 5(a)

of the Clayton Act, 15 U.S.C. § 16(a), and therefore

is not admissible in a private treble damages action.

See North Carolina v. Chas. Pfizer & Co., 537 F.

2d 67 (4th Cir.), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 870 (1976);

New Jersey Wood Finishing Co. v. Minnesota Mining

& Mfg. Co., 332 F.2d 346 (3d Cir. 1964), aff'd

on other grounds, 381 U.S. 311 (1965); In re Anti-

biotic Antritrust Action, 333 F. Supp. 317 (S.D.NLY.

1971); Proper v. John Bene & Sons, Inc., 295 F.

729 (E.D.N.Y. 1923).

In North Carolina v. Chas. Pfizer & Co., supra,

for example, the Fourth Circuit held that collateral

estoppel did not apply to a judgment under section

=,

5 of the FTC Act, which was “an administrative pro-

ceeding, not a judicial trial.” 537 F.2d at 74. The

court declared the difference between the FTC Act

and the antitrust laws:

“The issue before the Commission was whether

the respondents in that proceeding were guilty

of unfair methods of competition in violation of

Section 5 of the Federal Trade Commission Act

which is a regulatory statute much broader in

its scope than the Clayton and Sherman Acts

under which the present litigation was instituted.

* * *

“(Bly the very terms of the Federal Trade Com-

mission Act, proceedings under section 5 appear

to be incompatible with the doctrine of collateral

estoppel.” 537 F.2d at 74.

Moreover, section 5(a) of the Clayton Act, 15

U.S.C. § 16{a), provides that judgments in actions

brought by the United States under the Sherman Act

(but not the FTC Act) create at most a rebuttable

presumption. E.g., Purex Corp. v. Procter & Gamble

Co., 453 F.2d 288, 291 (9th Cir. 1971), cert. denied,

405 U.S. 1065 (1972) (“takes no question of fact

from either court or jury . .. [n]or does it in any-

wise work a denial of due process of law”). See

Sam Fox Publishing Co. v. United States, 366 U.S.

683, 690 (1961) (Clayton Act § 5 is a “definitive

legislative pronouncement that a government suit cannot

be preclusive of private litigation”); FTC v. Cement

Institute, 333 U.S. 683, 706 (1948) (“the effect of

the Commission’s order is not to punish or to fasten

liability on respondents for past conduct but to ban

specific practices for the future in accordance with

the general mandate of Congress”).

a

Conclusion.

Since the petition presents a constitutional conflict

on the proper scope of collateral estoppel between

federal and state court application involving federal

court decisions, a writ of certiorari should issue to

review the judgment and opinion of the Court of Appeal

of the State of California for the Second Appellate

District in this case.

Respectfully submitted,

McCuTCHEN, BLACK, VERLEGER & SHEA,

G. WILLIAM SHEA,

FRANKLIN H. WILSON,

Jupp L. JoRDAN,

BRADLEY, CAMPBELL & CARNEY,

LEO N. BRADLEY,

Attorneys for Petitioner

Adolph Coors Company.

APPENDIX

PERRI En BR haba CSR a 8

2 ee

Section 5(a), Federal Trade Commission Act, ch. 311,

§ 5, 38 stat. 719 (1914), as amended by Act of

Feb. 13, 1925, ch. 229, § 2, 43 stat. 939, Act

of Mar. 21, 1938, ch. 49, § 3, 52 stat. 111, Act

of June 25, 1948, ch. 646, § 32(a), 62 stat. 991,

Act of May 24, 1949, ch. 139, § 127, 63 stat.

107, Act of July 14, 1952, ch. 745, § 2, 66 stat.

632, Act of Aug. 23, 1958, Pub. L. 85-726, Title

XIV, § 1411, 72 stat. 809, Act of Sept. 2, 1958,

Pub. L. 85-909, § 3, 72 stat. 1750 (current version

at 15 U.S.C. § 45(a) (Supp. I 1977)).

(a) Declaration of unlawfulness; power to prohibit un-

fair practices.

(i) Unfair methods of competition in commerce,

and unfair or deceptive acts or practices in commerce,

are declared unlawful.

(2) Nothing contained in this section or in any

of the Antitrust Acts shall render unlawful any contracts

or agreements prescribing minimum or stipulated prices,

or requiring a vendee to enter into contracts or agree-

ments prescribing minimum or stipulated prices, for

the resale of a commodity which bears, or the label

or container of which bear the trade-mark, brand, or

name of the producer or distributor of such commodity

and which is in free and open competition with com-

modities of the same general class produced or distrib-

uted by others, when contracts or agreements of that

description are lawful as applied to intrastate transac-

tions under any statute, law, or public policy now

or hereafter in effect in any State, Territory, or the

District of Columbia in which such resale is to be

made, or to which the commodity is to be transported

for such resale.

cilia

(3) Nothing contained in this section or in any

of the Antitrust Acts shall render unlawful the exercise

or the enforcement of any right or right of action

created by any statute, law, or public policy now or

hereafter in effect in any State, Territory, or the District

of Columbia, which in substance provides that willfully

and knowingly advertising, offering for sale, or selling

any commodity at less than the price or prices pre-

scribed in such contracts or agreements whether the

person so advertising, offering for sale, or selling is

or is not a party to such a contract or agreement,

is unfair competition and is actionable at the suit

of any person damaged thereby.

(4) Neither the making of contracts or agreements

as described in paragraph (2) of this subsection, nor

the exercise or enforcement of any right or right of

action as described in paragraph (3) of this subsection

shall constitute an unlawful burden or restraint upon,

or interference with, commerce.

(5) Nothing contained in paragraph (2) of this sub-

section shall make lawful contracts or agreements pro-

viding for the establishment or maintenance of minimum

or stipulated resale prices on any commodity referred

to in paragraph (2) of this subsection, between manu-

facturers, or between producers, or between wholesalers,

or between brokers, or between factors, or between

retailers, or between persons, firms, or corporations

in competition with each other.

(6) The Commission is empowered and directed

to prevent persons, partnerships, or corporations, except

banks, common carriers subject to the Acts to regulate

commerce, air carriers and foreign air carriers subject

to the Federal Aviation Act of 1958, and persons,

Pr, Se

partnerships, or corporations insofar as they are subject

to the Packers and Stockyards Act, 1921, as amended,

except as provided in section 406(b) of said Act, from

using unfair methods of competition in commerce and

unfair or deceptive acts or practices in commerce.

scalallbeas

Spriggs’ Exhibit 80.

COORS PRICING POLICY

Regardless of geographic location or quantities of

purchases, all Distributors pay the same price F.O.B.,

Golden, Colorado.

The Adolph Coors Company requires certain things

of its wholesalers, including but not limited to:

1. Refrigerated Warehouses.

2. Adequate, well-qualified employees in clean uni-

forms.

Necessary insulated, clean trucks.

4. Good community image and relationship.

5. Excellent service to all retailers.

In order to maintain a successful wholesale or retail

business, pricing integrity is essential. Pricing integrity

will resuJt in an adequate and equitable profit to both

Distributor and retailer and is fair to the ultimate

consumer.

It is the policy of the Adolph Coors Company to

suggest, if it so chooses, to either the wholesaler or

retailer level, suggested minimum pricing. We reserve

the right to further that policy by simply refusing

to deal with anyone who doesn’t adhere to said policy.

ws)

The Adolph Coors Company and its agents must

only state the policy. They cannot make agreements,

threaten, coerce, or intimidate wholesalers or retailers

in any manner. They can enforce the policy only by

reserving the right to refuse to deal with those who

don’t adhere to the suggested prices. Rev. 6-70

Opinion.

Adolph Coors Company, Petitioner-Appellant. v.

Federal Trade Commission, Respondent-Appellee. No.

73-1567.

—_ os

United States Court of Appeals, Tenth Circuit.

Filed: June 4, 1974.

Leo N. Bradley, Golden, Colo. (Earl K. Madsen,

Golden, Colo., on the brief), for petitioner-appellant.

Robert E. Duncan, Washington, D. C. (Calvin J.

Collier, Gen. Counsel, Gerald Harwood, Acting Asst.

Gen. Counsel, W. Baldwin Ogden, Washington, D. C.,

on the brief), for respondent-appellee.

Before HOLLOWAY and BARRETT, Circuit

Judges, and DURFEE,* Judge Court of Claims.

BARRETT, Circuit Judge.

Adolph Coors Company appeals an Order to Cease

and Desist issued by the Federal Trade Commission.

The FTC filed a complaint alleging that Coors was

engaged in anticompetitive practices in violation of Sec-

tion 5 of the Federal Trade Commission Act.’ An

Initial Decision was issued by the Administrative Law

Judge after hearings were conducted in Denver extend-

ing over a period of thirty days. The Law Judge

found that Coors had not violated the Act. He recom-

mended that the complaint be dismissed. The FTC

appealed the Initial Decision to the five-member Federal

Trade Commission. The Commission substituted its

findings for those of the Law Judge and found, as

*Honorabie James R. Durfee, sitting by designation.

1Section 5 of the Federal Trade Commission Act, 15 U.S.C.A.

§ 45, provides in part:

(a)(1) Unfair methods of competition in commerce,

and unfair or deceptive acts or practices in commerce,

. are declared unlawful.

* * a

(6) The Commission is empowered and directed to prevent

persons, partnerships, or corporations, ... . from using unfair

methods of competition in commerce and unfair or deceptive

acts or practices in commerce.

—_ a

a matter of law, that Coors had violated Section 5

of the Act.*

Adolph Coors Company, a Colorado corporation,

is engaged in brewing, distribution and sale of beer,

using the trade name of “Coors”. Coors has one brewery

in Golden, Colorado, and distributes its beer in an

eleven-state area. The beer is sold to the distributors

2The Commissioners ordered that Coors cease and desist

from:

1. Entering into, maintaining or enforcing any contract,

agreement, combination, understanding or course of conduct

which has as its purpose or effect the fixing, maintaining, estab-

lishing or setting of the prices at which distributors sell Coors

beer to retailers or the prices at which retailers sell Coors

beer to consumers.

2. Publishing, disseminating or providing any price list or

other document indicating suggested or mandatory prices for

the sale of Coors beer by any distributor to any retailer or

any price list or other document indicating suggested or manda-

tory prices for the sale of Coors beer by any retailer to any

consumer. * * *

3. Publishing, disseminating or providing to any distributor

or any retailer any information or suggestions concerning what

Coors may believe to be an appropriate or proper mark-up

or profit for Coors beer when the distributor sells to the retailer

or when the retailer sells to the consumer or a mark-up or

profit below which the distributor or retailer is advised not

to sell Coors beer. * * *

4. Refusing to sell beer to any Coors distributor or terminat-

ing or threatening to terminate any Coors distributor because:

A. the distributor has in the past or might in the future

sell Coors beer at prices, mark-ups, or profits different

from those approved or recommended by respondent:

B. one or more of the distributor’s customers sold Coors

beer or advertised Coors beer for sale at prices, markups,

or profits different from those approved or recommended

by respondent:

C. the Coors distributor sold Coors beer to another dis-

tributor or to a retailer whose business is located outside

of the territory granted to the distributor; or

D. the Coors distributor distributes, has distributed, or

proposes to distribute in the future the product of another

brewer.

5. Entering into, maintaining or enforcing any contract,

agreement, combination, understanding or course of conduct

Witter

— a

who in turn sell to retailers. While Coors is the fourth

largest beer brewer in the United States, it alone among

the nation’s some 70 brewers is a “shipping” brewery,

i.e., Coors ships all of the beer brewed at its single

“regional” brewing plant at Golden, Colorado, F.O.B.

to the various distributors in Arizona, California, Colo-

rado, Idaho, Kansas, Nevada, New Mexico, Oklahoma,

Texas (some counties only), Utah and Wyoming. In

to fix, establish, limit or restrict the territory in which or

the persons to whom a distributor may sell Coors beer.

* * *

6. Allocating Coors beers among its distributors in times

of beer shortage at the Coors brewery, by any means other

than by allocating shares to distributors equal to their proportion-

ate purchases of Coors beers from the brewery during the

last three months before the allocation or when the distributor

has not been in business for more than a year as a Coors

distributor, on some other equitable basis.

7. Refusing to deliver all of a distributor's order because

the distributor has made sales to customers outside of the

territory granted the distributor or because the distributor or

the distributor’s customer is selling Coors beer at prices, mark-

ups or profits lower than those approved by respondent.

8. Prohibiting its distributors from selling for central ware-

house delivery; provided, however, that respondent can establish

refrigeration standards for the central warehouse which are sub-

stantially similar to those established for distributors and can

require its distributors to be responsible, directly or indirectly,

for maintenance of such refrigeration standards and for rotation

of Coors beer in the central warehouse and at the retail delivery

locations where the beer is redelivered from the central ware-

house, if respondent changes its container dating system so

that the retailer and the consumer will recognize the date without

reference to a code or measuring stick.

8. Entering into, maintaining or enforcing any contract,

agreement, combination, understanding or course of conduct

with its distributors which has as its purpose or effect requiring

that retailers serve Coors draught beer as their only light-

colored draught beer.

10. Entering into, maintaining, or enforcing any contract,

agreement or understanding. cr taking any action or course

of conduct with any of its distributors which has as its purpose

or effect the requirement that the distributor eliminate, or refrain

(This footnote is continued on next page)

%

a

1971 the average barrel of Coors beer traveled 961

miles to its market place.

The beer is made by the aseptic brewing process

which requires refrigerated marketing. It is uncontro-

verted that Coors beer is substantially more expensive

than any other beer consumed in the United States,

and yet because of its popularity, Coors has climbed

from the 49th largest brewery in 1948 to its number

4 position today. Coors maintains market leadership

in total sales agasint all competitors except in its terri-

tory served in Texas. Because of the delicacy of the

from obtaining and handling rival brands of beer in order

to become or remain a Coors distributor.

11. Hindering, suppressing or eliminating competition or at-

tempting to hinder, suppress or eliminate competition between

or among distributors or between or among retailers handling

Coors beer.

12. Cancelling any distributor agreement unless and until

the respondent has pursued the following procedure:

A. Cancellation With Cause

(a) Respondent has given the distributor sixty days’ notice

of respondent’s intention to cancel its agreement with the

distributor; .. .

B. Cancellation Without Cause

(a) Respondent has given the distributor one hundred

and eighty days’ notice of respondent’s intention to cancel

its agreement with the distributor;

13. IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that respondent, within

three (3) months from the date this Order becomes final,

shall provide for arbitration, in the city in which a distributor

resides, by an independent and neutral arbitrator, to determine

in the case of any announced termination, and upon the request

of a distributor, whether or not said termination is made in

good faith (in the case of termination without cause) or whether

or not said termination is made in good faith and for material

violation of one or more contract provisions which are relevant

to the effective operation of the franchise (in the case of

termination with cause). * * * *

/s/ Charles A. Tobin

Secretary

ISSUED: July 24, 1973

a

product, it is essential that the refrigeration controls

and expeditious marketing techniques be strictly moni-

tored. Once the beer is delivered to the distributors,

this obligation is assumed by them under an agreement

with Coors. It is the distributor who is required to

protect the “integrity” of the Coors beer quality. by

guarding against a retailer’s failure to rotate the beer,

and failure to insure proper refrigerated storage. Coors

beer retained over 90 days must be destroyed.

Coors has 35 area representatives to help market

the product. Each representative is assigned certain

distributors to work with and .to see that Coors’ Policy

Manual is followed. The price Coors charges to its

distributors is set by Coors. Coors suggests to its

distributors and retailers the price at which to sell

its beer.

Each distributor is assigned a territory in which

to market Coors’ products. Coors may reduce the terri-

tory or add distributors to a particular territory. There

are 166 independent distributors and one wholly owned

subsidiary company.

In 1964 Coors eliminated sales to central warehouse

accounts. Central warehouse accounts are either re-

tailers such as large chain supermarkets who buy for

redelivery to their own outlets, or independents who

purchase for redelivery to nonaffiliated retail outlets

or retailer warehouses.

Coors favors draught accounts. It has a draught

policy in which tavern owners are given 30 days to

discontinue handling other brands of light draught beer.

If the owner-retailer continues to sell another brand

of light draught beer, Coors discontinues its supply

of light draught beer to the tavern.

a"

The contract between Coors and the distributors en-

ables Coors to cancel its contract for any breach by the

distributor, with a five-day notice. Either Coors or the

distributor may cancel the contract without cause with

a 30-day notice.

Coors contends that: (1) it did not engage in whole-

sale or retail price fixing; (2) its vertically imposed

territories are reasonable and legal; (3) it has no

policy of requiring exclusive draught accounts; (4)

it has the right to protect its quality product and

not distribute its beer through central warehousing;

(5) its contract termination rights are reasonable and

legal; (6) the provisions of the Commission’s Order

are not supported by substantial evidence, are not

reasonable, and are in conflict with important public

policies; (7) the FTC internal procedures have preju-

diced its right to a fair hearing; and (8) this court.

must exercise its power and set aside the Commissioner’s

Order.

5.

Coors contends that it did not engage in price fixing

agreements with its distributors. Its practices are set

out in the Coors Policy Manual which states as follows:

In order to maintain a successful wholesale

or retail business, pricing integrity is essential. Pric-

ing integrity will result in an adequate and equi-

table profit to both Distributor and retailer and

is fair to the ultimate consumer.

It is the policy of the Adolph Coors Company

to suggest, if it so chooses, to either the whole-

saler or retailer level, suggested minimum pricing.

We reserve the right to further that policy by

—)

simply refusing to deal with anyone who doesn’t

adhere to said policy.

The Adolph Coors Company and its agents

must only state the policy. They cannot make

agreements, threaten, coerce, or intimidate whole-

salers or retailers in any manner. They can en-

force the policy only by reserving the right to

refuse to deal with those who don’t adhere to

the suggested prices.

Coors’ sales manager, Harvey Gorman, testified that

the product is controlled by agreeing individually with

each distributor. This policy is enforced by a provision

in the contract between Coors and the distributor

enabling Coors to terminate a distributorship in 30

days without cause. Since there are about 7,000 appli-

cants for distributorships, any distributor who does

not conform to Coors’ pricing policies could readily

be replaced. Coors’ area representatives constantly ob-

tain wholesale price information and send the informa-

tion to the home office in Golden. The area representa-

tives also resolve any conflicts between the prices pro-

posed by a distributor and those suggested by Coors.

John Hemphill, a former Coors distributor, testified

that he would only go so far in making a request

to use his own prices, knowing that Coors could ter-

minate him in 30 days. He also testified that a Coors’

area representative told him that the best thing for

him to do is not to be a distributor if he could

not agree to Coors’ policies on pricing and territories.

The Law Judge had questioned Hemphill’s credibility

because of a suit he has pending against Coors, but

the Commissioners rejected this fact as bearing on

the issue of credibility.

=, =

Jay Wagnon, a Coors’ distributor, testified that Coors

insisted on controlling distributor price increases and

that when he refused to adopt wholesale prices sug-

gested by the Coors’ area representative he was sum-

moned to Golden and requested to change his prices.

He stated that Coors’ personnel told him to bring

his prices in line with Coors’ recommendations or they

could put another distributor in his area. He testified

that he was afraid; that he had been threatened; and

that he therefore conformed to the suggested prices.

The Law Judge did not find Wagnon’s testimony cred-

ible. The Commissioners, on the other hand, found

that his testimony was credible.

Jay Thurman, a former distributor, testified that

he was given pricing sheets by the area representative

which were to be followed. He was told that if the

prices were changed, it would go through Mr. Straight,

a Coors official, who, in turn, would determine if the

changes were justified.

Peter Tinetti, a former distributor, testified that Coors

sent him the prices at which to sell Coors beer.

The area representatives submitted reports to the

Golden headquarters about agreements or understand-

ings they had made with distributors on wholesale

prices.

Price fixing is illegal per se under the Sherman

Antitrust Act. 15 U.S.C.A. § 1; Northern Pacific Rail-

way Co. v. United States, 356 U.S. 1, 4-5, 78 S.Ct.

514, 2 L.Ed.2d 545 (1958); United States v. Socony-

Vacuum Oil Co., Inc., 310 U.S. 150, 218, 60 S.Ct.

811, 84 L.Ed. 1129 (1940). Price fixing is also illegal

per se under Section 5 of the Federal Trade Commission

Act. 15 U.S.C.A. § 45. Prices are fixed when they

=, =

are agreed upon. United States v. Masonite Corporation,

316 U.S. 265, 276, 62 S.Ct. 1070, 86 L.Ed. 1461

(1942). The agreement to fix prices renders the conspir-

acy illegal. The agreement may be inferred or implied

from the acts and conduct of the parties, as well

as from surrounding circumstances. Pearl Brewing Co.

v. Anheuser-Busch, Inc., 339 F.Supp. 945 (S.D.Tex.

1972); National Macaroni Manufacturers Association

v. Federal Trade Commission, 345 F.2d 421 (7th

Cir. 1965).

. the test . . . . is whether the agreement,

or conduct, interfers with the freedom of sellers

or traders in such a manner as to prohibit or

restrain their ability to sell in accordance with

their own judgment, and not what particular effect

the agreement or conduct, has on the actual prices.

339 F.Supp. 945 at 952.

The findings of the Commission must be accepted

by this court if there is substantial evidence on the

record considered as a whole to support them. Uni-

versal Camera Corp. v. National Labor Relations

Board, 340 U.S. 474, 71 S.Ct. 456, 95 L.Ed. 456

(1951). The Commission’s overruling of the Law

Judge’s findings on the credibility of two witnesses

is not required to be supported by a very substantial

preponderance of the evidence. Federal Communica-

tions Commission v. Allentown Broadcasting Corp.,

349 U.S. 358, 75 S.Ct. 855, 99 L.Ed. 1147 (1955).

And where there is a possibility of drawing two incon-

sistent inferences from the evidence, the Commission

is not prevented from drawing one. National Labor

Relations Board v. Nevada Consolidated Copper Corp.,

316 U.S. 105, 62 S.Ct. 960, 86 L.Ed. 1305 (1942);

National Macaroni, supra. If the inference is supported

_

by substantial evidence, it cannot be set aside even

though .the court could draw a different inference.

National Macaroni, supra.

The Commission must consider the initial decision

of the Law Judge and the evidence in the record

on which it was based. Cinderella Career and Finishing

Schools, Inc. v. Federal Trade Commission, 138 U.S.

App.D.C. 152, 425 F.2d 583 (1970). But the findings

and conclusions of the Law Judge are not sacrosanct

and are not necessarily binding on the Commission

or the court; they are part of the record to be consid-

ered on appeal. OKC Corp. v. Federal Trade Commis-

sion, 455 F.2d 1159 (10th Cir. 1972). When the

Law Judge and the Commission reach opposite results,

the Law Judge’s findings should be considered on review

and given such weight as they merit within reason

and the light of judicial experience. But this does

not modify the substantial evidence rule in any way.

OKC Corp., supra.

There is substantial evidence from the record as

a whole to support the Commission’s findings of price

fixing agreements between Coors and its distributors.

Coors also challenges the Commission’s finding that

Coors has a resale price maintenance program and

that it has in some cases secured adherence to its

suggested retail prices by unlawful means. There is

substantial evidence to support the Commission’s find-

ing.

Coors’ policy is to establish pricing integrity which

means that a certain profit is allowed on each level

of resale. Pricing integrity is not possible with price

discounting. Coors implements pricing integrity by refus-

ing to deal with anyone not adhering to its price sug-

—

gestions. A Coors’ area representative threatened to

refuse sales to an offending retailer unless he would

adhere to the prices suggested by Coors. Coors used

its distributors to secure retailers’ adherence to suggested

minimum prices. One area representative reported that

a retailer was cut off by a distributor because the

retailer was advertising Coors beer at cut prices. An-

other area representative reported that a distributor

planned to take appropriate action against a retailer

who refused to sell at suggested prices. A distributor

reported that Coors beer was not delivered to a retailer

who cut prices. An area representative reported that

action would be taken against a retailer who refused

to raise his prices to a profit level.

Mr. Letcher, a retailer, testified that he was selling

Coors at special weekend prices and that he was warned

by the Coors distributor to discontinue the practice.

Letcher refused to cooperate and the distributor termi-

nated deliveries to his store. The distributor told Letch-

er that deliveries would be received if he would agree

not to discount the beer, and that Letcher might lose

the retail account if he continued to discount the beer.

Letcher was also told by the distributor that Coors

does not tolerate price cutting. Letcher sold his business.

The distributor resumed deliveries to the new owners

who agreed not to discount the beer. The distributor

did not act independently in cutting off Letcher as

Coors suggests, but cut him off in accordance with

Coors’ pricing policies.

United States Supreme Court decisions hold that

if a manufacturer advances beyond a simple refusal

to deal and takes affirmative action to secure compli-

ance with its prices, a combination in violation of

Section | of the Sherman Antitrust Act and Section

a)

5 of the Federal Trade Commission Act occurs. United

States v. Parke, Davis & Co., 362 U.S. 29, 80 S.Ct.

503, 4 L.Ed.2d 505 (1960); Federal Trade Commission

v. Beech-Nut Packing Company, 257 U.S. 441, 42

S.Ct. 150, 66 L.Ed. 307 (1922). Any trespass on

the independence of a reseller or wholesaler to set

his own prices is a violation of the Sherman Act.

Pearl Brewing Co., supra. A seller may refuse to deal

with one failing to adhere to its specified prices, United

States v. Colgate & Company, 250 U.S. 300, 39 S.Ct.

465, 63 L.Ed. 992 (1919), but where a concerted

effort is used to interfere with the distributors’ pricing

independence and to compel them to adhere to suggest-

ed prices, there is a violation of the Sherman Antitrust

Act. A manufacturer may choose those to whom it

will sell to as long as its conduct has no monopolis-

tic purposes. Colorado Pump & Supply Company v.

Febco, Incorporated, 472 F.2d 637 (10th Cir. 1973),

cert. denied 411 U.S. 987, 93 S.Ct. 2274, 36 L.Ed.2d

965 (1973).

The Commission found that:

.... [Coors] has pursued a policy of fixing, con-

trolling and maintaining prices at which Coors beer

is sold at both the wholesale and retail level, that

in furtherance of this policy it has engaged

in various acts and practices such as: suggested

resale prices to both distributors and retailers,

checking prices at which distributors and retailers

sell Coors beer, advising distributors and retailers

that it is contrary to Coors pricing policy for

them to deviate from prices approved by respond-

ent, threatening to terminate distributorships and

threatening to force distributors to sell their busi-

nesses for refusing to adhere to suggested retail

—17—

prices, entering into agreements and understand-

ings with distributors as to the wholesale prices

which the distributors will charge for Coors beer,

joining with distributors in attempting to coerce

retailers to refrain from selling Coors beer at prices

below those approved by respondent, encouraging

distributors to prevent retail price cutting by refus- |

ing to deliver Coors beer to price cutters, or

to reduce the amount of beer delivered, and enter-

ing into agreements and understandings with re-

tailers as to the retail prices or range of prices

at which such retailers will sell Coors beer.

There is substantial evidence in the record to support.

the Commission’s findings.

II.

Coors “alleges that its vertically imposed territories

are reasonable and legal. The Commission held that

Coors vigorously enforces its territorial restrictions and

that it has engaged in unlawful price fixing which

is: ’

. .. . [s]trong grounds for presuming that the

most injurious effects of vertical territorial division

may be operative, and, therefore, for holding the

entire arrangement of territories with price fixing

illegal per se.

The Coors’ distributor contract provides, in part,

as follows:

While this agreement is in effect the Distributor

will conduct the business of wholesale distribution

of Coors Becr in the above territory only....

In United States v. Arnold, Schwinn & Co., 388

U.S. 365, 87 S.Ct. 1856, 18 L.Ed.2d 1249 (1967), the

=

United States brought an antitrust action against Ar-

nold, Schwinn & Co., an association of Schwinn distrib-

utors and a Schwinn distributor, seeking a declaratory

judgment to invalidate the distribution franchising sys-

tem of its products. Schwinn bicycles are shipped direct-

ly to franchised retailers who agree to sell only to

ultimate consumers. Schwinn also distributed its bicycles

to franchised distributors who agreed not to resell to

anyone outside their assigned territories. The Court

held that:

Under the Sherman Act, it is unreasonable with-

out more for a manufacturer to seek to restrict

and confine areas or persons with whom an article

may be traded after the manufacturer has parted

with dominion over it. White Motor, [Co. v. Unit-

ed States, 372 U.S. 253, 83 S.Ct. 696, 9 L.Ed.2d

738 (1963)]; Dr. Miles [Medical Co. v. Park

& Sons Co., 220 U.S. 373, 31 S.Ct. 376, 55

L.Ed. 502 (1911)]. Such restraints are so obvi-

ously destructive of competition that their mere

existence is enough. If the manufacturer parts with

dominion over his product or transfers risk of

loss to another, he may not reserve control over

its destiny or the conditions of its resale.

388 US. at 379.

The rule of law in Schwinn is clear and unequivocal.

Once the manufacturer has parted with title

and risk, he has parted with dominion over the

product, and his effort thereafter to restrict terri-

tory or persons to whom the product may be

transferred—whether by explicit agreement or by

silent combination or understanding with his ven-

dee—is a per se violation of § 1 of the Sherman

Act. 388 U.S. at 382.

a ae

See Federal Trade Commission v. Sperry & Hutchinson

Co., 405 U.S. 233, 247, 92 S.Ct. 898, 31 L.Ed.2d

170 (1972); United States v. Topco Associates, Inc.,

405 U.S. 596, 92 S.Ct. 1126, 31 L.Ed.2d 515 (1972);

Williams v. Independent News Co., Inc., 485 F.2d

1099 (3rd Cir. 1973); Warriner Hermetics, Inc. v.

Copeland Refrigeration Corporation, 463 F.2d 1002

(Sth Cir. 1972), cert. denied 409 U.S. 1086, 93 S.Ct.

688, 34 L.Ed.2d 673 (1972); Beverage Distributors,

Inc. v. Olympic Brewing Co., 440 F.2d 21 (9th Cir.

1971), cert. denied 403 U.S. 906, 91 S.Ct. 2209,

29 L.Ed.2d 682 (1971); Fontana Aviation, Inc. v.

Beech Aircraft Corporation, 432 F.2d 1080 (7th Cir.

1970), cert. denied 401 U.S. 923, 91 S.Ct. 872, 27

L.Ed.2d 826 (1971). Cf. Carter-Wallace, Inc. v. United

States, 449 F.2d 1374, 196 Ct.Cl. 35 (1971); Tripoli

Company v. Wella Corporation, 425 F.2d 932 (3rd

Cir. 1970), cert. denied 400 U.S. 831, 91 S.Ct. 62,

27 L.Ed.2d 62 (1970); LaFortune v. Ebie, 26 Cal.App.

3d 72, 102 Cal.Rptr. 588 (Cal.Ct.App.1972).

Coors, a manufacturer, enters into an agreement

with its distributors to distribute Coors beer in the

assigned territory only. Coors maintains that the terri-

torial restrictions are necessary to retain the quality

and proper refrigerated handling of its beer, and that

the territorial restrictions are legal. However, since

Coors parts with title and risk to the product when

it sells and delivers the beer to distributors, and thus

has parted with dominion over the product, its further

effort to restrict the territories or persons to whom

the product can be transferred is a per se violation

of Section 1 of the Sherman Act and Section 5 of

the Federal Trade Commission Act. Coors may still

condition its sales to distributors and others upon main-

"a

tenance of procedures necessary to control the quality

of the product.

Although we are compelled to follow the Schwinn

per se rule rendering Coors’ territorial restrictions on

resale illegal per se, we believe that the per se rule

shiculd yield to situations where a unique product re-

quires territorial restrictions to remain in business. For

example, speed of delivery, quality control of the prod-

uct, refrigerated delivery, and condition of the Coors

product at the time of delivery may justify restraints

on trade that would be unreasonable when applied

to marketing standardized products. La Fortune v. Ebie,

supra. Perhaps the Supreme Court may see the wisdom

of grafting an exception to the per se rule when a

product is unique and where the manufacturer can

justify its territorial restraints under the rule of reason.

White Motor Co. v. United States, 372 U.S. 253,

83 S.Ct. 696, 9 L.Ed.2d 738 (1963).

The dissenters in Schwinn contended that the new

per se rule cannot be justified, automatically invalidating

vertical restraints in a distribution system based on

sales to wholesalers and retailers.

. . the Court has, sua sponte created a bluntly

indiscriminate and destructive weapon which can

be used to dismantle a vast variety of distribution-

al systems—-competitive and anticompetitive, rea-

sonable and unreasonable.

388 U.S. at 394.

Thus we are foreclosed from considering the reasonable-

ness of the restriction or its business justification. We

are cognizant of the unpredictability which is created

in relationship to the Coors operation.

Coors contends that it Iwas no policy of requiring

exclusive draught accounts. Te Commission found that

Coors combined with its dis\ributors in the practice

of encouraging and coercing \retailers to sell Coors

draught beer to the exclusion \of light draught beer

competitors in violation of Section 5 of the Federal

Trade Commission Act.

Mr. Coors testified that exclusive draught accounts

were desirable. Several distributors’, testified that the

purpose of obtaining exclusive draught accounts is to

encourage draught customers to buy béer to take home.

To implement the policy, Coors threatened to terminate

a retailer's supply of Coors draught keer unless he

eliminated competitive draught beers within 30 days.

Coors’ distributors did, in fact, take out \their Coors

draught. beer if the retailer did not comply with the

policy. \

Agreements foreclosing a competitor’s products are

unlawful. Federal Trade Commission v. Brown Shoe

Co., Inc., 384 U.S. 316, 86 S.Ct. 1501, 16 L,Ed.2d

587 (1966); Fashion Originators’ Guild of America,

Inc. v. Federal Trade Commission, 312 U.S. 457, ‘668,

61 S.Ct. 703, 85 L.Ed. 949 (1941); Standard Fashion

Company v. Magrane-Houston Company, 258 U.S. 346,

42 S.Ct. 360, 66 L.Ed. 653 (1922). The policy of

pursuing an exclusive draught policy violates Section

5 of the Federal Trade Commission Act. There is

substantial evidence in the record to support the Com-

mission’s finding.

IV.

Coors asserts that it has the right to protect its

quality product and not distribute its beer through

central warehousing. The Commission held that Coors’

ae We

prohibition of central warehouse sales, or a _ re-

quirement that wholesale prices to those accounts

equal those to other retailers is a substantial restraint

on the capacity of the distributor to resell to whomever

he chooses and threatens the same anticompetitive re-

sults as other illegal restraints on alienation. Therefore,

the Commission found that the practices are unfair

methods of competition in violation of Section 5 of

the Federal Trade Commission Act.

The central warehouse method of distribution in-

volves purchase by the warehouser of beer from the

brewer or the distributor. The beer is delivered by

the retailer to its outlets. This method of distribution

could cut the price of the beer to the retailer and

consumer. Coors eliminated sales to central warehouse

accounts in 1964. The distributors viewed central ware-

housing as a threat to the integrity of their territorial

restrictions. Coors alleges that sales to central ware-

housers affects the quality of its beer because of poor

procedures used by the warehousers.

The Order imposed by the FTC does not prevent

Coors’ distributors from conditioning its sales to central

warehouse accounts on the maintenance of procedures

necessary to the quality control of its products. The

Order only enjoins Coors from requiring its distributors

from refusing to sell to central warehouse accounts.

The restriction by Coors, limiting those with whom

the distributors may deal, amounts to a restriction

on resale and violates the mandates of Schwinn and

the Federal Trade Commission Act. There is substantial

evidence in the record to support the FTC’s finding.

a. an

V.

Coors alleges that its contract termination rights

are reasonable and legal and that its conduct in the

rare instances of its use has been proper and legal

in every respect. The Commission held that:

Whether or not any actual terminations of Coors

distributors, or sales forced by threat of termina-

tion can be ascribed entirely, solely and unambig-

uously to the failure of the terminated or coerced

distributor to participate in an antitrust violation,

it is abundantly clear from the record in this

case that Coors representatives have used the ex-

plicit or implicit threat or speedy termination is

often successful in efforts to force the acqui-

escence of its distributors in anti-competitive be-

havior.

The Coors distributor contract provides in part as

follows:

This agreement and any supplements now or

hereafter effective (whether fixing prices and terms

to the Distributor, or otherwise) may be cancelled

in entirety at any time by the Company for any

breach by the Distributor on five (5) days’ written

notice to the Distributor. This agreement and such

supplements may be cancelled in entirety by either

party without cause upon the giving of notice

to that effect to the other party, in which event

termination shall become effective thirty (30) days

after delivery or the mailing of the written notice

of cancellation, whichever first occurs. * * *

The Commission held that Coors used the threat

of speedy termination to force its distributors into anti-

competitive behavior. There is substantial evidence in

the record to support the Commission’s holding.

— it

—

Coors has the right to terminate distributors accord-

ing to the contract provisions which the distributors

have agreed to. Bushie v. Stenocord Corporation, 460

F.2d 116 (9th Cir. 1972). However, it may not use

the contract termination provisions to force its distrib-

utors into anticompetitive behavior.

The Law Judge was correct in stating that the termi-

nation provisions of Coors and its distributors, based

upon their contractual obligations, are a matter of

private contract and are not subject to interference

by third parties. The termination provisions are reason-

able but may not be used by Coors to force any

unlawful conduct. Therefore the Commission’s attempt

to rewrite Coors’ contract termination provisions in

paragraphs 12 and 13 of its Order must be set aside.

The contract termination provisions do not violate Sec-

tion 5 of the Federal Trade Commission Act.

VI.

Coors alleges that FTC internal procedures have

prejudiced its right to a fair and impartial hearing.

Coors asserts that Mr. Steinitz, a staff attorney of

the FTC, performed investigative and prosecuting func-

tions in preparing the case against Coors, and that

he also participated in the review of the case as attorney-

advisor to Commissioner Paul Rand Dixon in violation

of 5 U.S.C.A § 554(d) and 16 CFR 4.7(a).

Coors’ contention was not raised in the administrative

proceeding and therefore is not properly before this

court. Moog Industries, Inc. v. Federal Trade Commis-

sion, 355 U.S. 411, 78 S.Ct. 377, 2 L.Ed.2d 370

(1958). In any event, Coors’ contention has no merit

because Mr. Steinitz, in an affidavit in the record,

states that upon leaving FTC's staff he did not discuss

=

the merits of the Coors case with any of the Commis-

sioners or the Commission’s trial staff. There was no

error.

Vil.

Coors alleges that the provisions of the Commission’s

Order are not supported by substantial evidence, are

not reasonable, are in conflict with important public

policies, and must be rejected. It alleges that Paragraphs

4C, 5 and 7, if adopted, would force it to abandon

its right to choose those it will authorize to serve

as its distributors in its marketing area, eliminating

its ability to obtain required ‘market penetration for

its survival. Coors states that Paragraph 6, a formula

devised by the FTC for beer rationing, is too simplistic

to work effectively for Coors.

The Order by the Commission is reasonably related

to the violations by Coors. The Commission is vested

with wide discretion in its choice of remedy to cope

with unlawful practices, and its choice will not be

disturbed unless it has no reasonable relation to the

unlawful practices found. Federal Trade Commission

v. Mandel Brothers, Inc., 359 U.S. 385, 79 S.Ct.

818, 3 L.Ed.2d 893 (1959); Jacob Siegel Co. v.

Federal Trade Commission, 327 U.S. 608, 66 S.Ct.

758, 90 L.Ed. 888 (1946). Once the Government

has borne its burden of establishing violations of the

law, all doubts about the remedy are resolved in its

favor. United States v. E. I. du Pont de Nemours

& Co., 366 US. 316, 81 S.Ct. 1243, 6 L.Ed.2d

318 (1961).

We hold that paragraphs 1 through 11 of the FTC’s

Order are enforced; paragraphs 12 and 13 of the

FTC’s Order are set aside.

a

HOLLOWAY, Circuit Judge (concurring in part

and dissenting in part):

I fully concur in the well-reasoned opinion of the

court in upholding paragraphs 1 through 11 of the

Commission’s order and disagree only as to the setting

aside of paragraphs 12 and 13.

It is true that paragraphs 12 and 13 require a

substantial change in the contract provisions on termina-

tion of distributorships. However, the Commission has

found that it is abundantly clear the Coors representa-

tives have used the explicit or implicit threat of speedy

termination in efforts to force acquiescence of its

distributors in anticompetitive behavior. We are agreed

that there is substantial evidence in the record to support

the finding.

The Commission has wide discretion in its choice

of a remedy deemed adequate to cope with unlawful

practices in this area of trade and commerce. See

Siegel Co. v. FTC, 327 U.S. 608, 611, 66 S.Ct. 758,

90 L.Ed. 888. The courts interfere only where there

is no reasonable relation between the remedy and the

violation. Atlantic Refining Co. v. FTC, 381 USS.

357, 377, 85 S.Ct. 1498, 14 L.Ed.2d 443. And orders

affecting contractual relationships have been upheld

where unlawful practices involved similar subtle pres-

sures and threats of termination of dealers’ leases.

Id. at 374-375.

On this record and the findings made I would

uphold as reasonable the Commission’s choice of a

remedy to cope with the unlawful practices.

Opinion.

Copper Liquor, Inc., and Harold Letcher (Robert

Earl Basham, Jr., H. A. Anthony and Willis Ray

Loving, as the personal representative of Appellee,

_—.

Harold Letcher, substituted in the place and stead

of Appellee, Harold Letcher, Deceased), Plaintiffs-Ap-

pellees, v. Adolph Coors Company, Defendant-Appel-

lant. No. 73-3913.

United States Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit.

Jan. 17, 1975.

Rehearing and Rehearing En Banc Denied March

17, 1975. See 509 F.2d 758. ,

Leo N. Bradley, Golden, Colo., William B. Browder,

Jr., Midland, Tex., for defendant-appellant.

Vann Culp, Midland, Tex., James R. Warncke, San

Antonio, Tex., for plaintiffs-appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court for

the Western District of Texas.

Before TUTTLE, WISDOM and GEE, Circuit

Judges.

WISDOM, Circuit Judge:

On May 14, 1970, the plaintiff, Harold Letcher,’

a retail liquor-store owner in Brownwood, Texas,

brought this action under the Sherman Anti-Trust Act

of 1890, §§ 1 and 2,’ against the Adolph Coors

1Mr. Letcher died while the appeal was pending in this

Court. The cause of action survives his death. Barnes Coal

Corp. v. Retail Coal Merchants Ass’n, 4 Cir. 1942, 128 F.2d

645. A motion for substitution of his executors was allowed.

The retail liquor store of which he became sole proprietor

in January of 1966 experienced several changes treated fully

in this opinion.

5135 US. § 1;

Every contract, combination in the form of trust or other-

wise, or conspiracy, in restraint of trade or commerce

among the several States, or with foreign nations, is de-

clared to be illegal...

15 U.S.C. § 2:

Every person who shall monopolize, or attempt to monopo-

lize, or combine or conspire with any other person or

(This footnote is continued on next page)

Company. Letcher contended that Coleman Distributing

Company, a Coors distributor, had refused to deliver

Coors beer to him. At trial Letcher abandoned the

claim under section two of the Sherman Act, and

the court submitted the case to the jury only under

section one. The jury found liability and assessed dam-

ages of $101,011. The trial court trebled the damages

to $303,033, as it was required to do under 15 U.S.C.

§ 15,° and awarded attorneys’ fees of $75,000.

The plaintiff's theory under section one of the Sher-

man Act is based on two interrelated contentions. First,

Letcher contends that Coors conspired or combined

with its distributors to fix the retail price of its beer

and caused its distributor, servicing the plaintiff's retail

liquor store, to discontinue the supply of Coors beer

to the plaintiff when he sold below the suggested retail

price and declined to give assurances that he would

not do so in the future. Second, Letcher contends

that Coors conspired or combined with its distributors

to create and enforce exclusive territories within which

each distributor was to conduct his business, making

it impossible for the plaintiff to obtain a supply of

persons, to monopolize any part of the trade or commerce

among the several States, or with foreign nations, shall

be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor, and, on conviction

thereof, shall be punished by fine not exceeding fifty thou-

sand dollars, or by imprisonment not exceeding one year,

or by both said punishments, in the discretion of the

court.

315 U.S.C. § 15:

Any person who shall be injured in his business or prop-

erty by reason of anything forbidden in the antitrust laws

may sue therefor in any district court of the United States

in the district in which the defendant resides or is found

or has an agent, without respect to the amount in contro-

versy, and shall recover threefold the damages by him

sustained, and the cost of suit, including a reasonable

attorney’s fee.

—29—

Coors beer from another distributor once his original

supply had been cut off. We hold that the plaintiff

adduced sufficient evidence to show a violation of

section one of the Sherman Act, but we remand the

case for further proceedings (1) to determine whether

the violation caused Letcher injury and, (2) if so,

to determine damages in the light of the principles

stated in this opinion.

I.

The Adolph Coors Company, founded in 1873, an

entirely family-owned business, is the fourth largest

brewer of beer in the United States. All its brewing

is done at a single plant at Golden, Colorado, a small

town in a little valley in the foothills of the Rocky

Mountains. The plant is the largest single brewery

in the world. Coors is a “regional” brewer that markets

its beer only in ten western states and half of Texas,

unlike its three larger competitors, which have estab-

lished “branch” breweries at various locations through-

out the country and sell in all fifty states. Coors

restricted its market area, in large part because of

the process by which its beer is brewed. Coors is

expanding its capacity at a rate of ten percent a

year, all of it internally financed.

William Coors, the chief executive officer of the

firm, testified as to the care taken in the brewing

technique. The water used is nearby Rocky Mountain

spring waiter that is remarkably free of microorganisms

and organic matter. The flavoring agent for beer is

hops; Coors imports a ‘special German hop. There

is no accounting for taste. But it is undisputed that

this German hop imparts a flavor to Coors beer that,

as Coor’s witnesses testified, is “very characteristic

— wn

and very delicate”. The firm has developed its own

variety of brewing barley, and maintains a staff of

about fifty persons, some of whom are geneticists and

agronomists, to supervise the production of the barley

crop. To impart lightness to the beer, Coors dilutes

the barley ingredients in the brew with a form of

neutral starch obtained from a short-grain variety of

rice of Asiatic origin that is twice as expensive as

other varieties of rice available for that purpose. Mr.

Coors concluded, “Coors beer is by a wide margin

the most expensive beer made from the standpoint

of the raw materials and the processing.” According

to his testimony, the brewing process at Coors takes

about eighty days, as compared with forty days at

the breweries of one of its three largest national com-

petitors and twenty days at the breweries of another

of the three national competitors.

Mr. Coors testified that Coors beer is brewed in

an “aseptic” process, rather than by a technique employ-

ing pasteurization. In this process the firm employs

refrigeration and rotation of stock so that beer past

a certain age is removed from the marketplace. Special

refrigerated railroad cars or other refrigerated vehicles

are used in transporting the beer from Golden to the

distributors, who must maintain the Coors beer in

refrigerated warehouses and vehicles until it is delivered

to the retailers. The retailers, in turn, are urged to

keep it refrigerated until the ultimate consumer pur-

chases it. Coors, its distributors, and its outlets maintain

substantial efforts to reduce the exposure of the beer

to light, heat, and agitation, for these factors have

an adverse effect upon the flavor of the beer. Distribu-

tors have heavy responsibilities to maintain Coors’s

standards in this regard.

a

Coors limits its market to the states of California,

Arizona, Nevada, Utah, Idaho, Wyoming, Colorado,

New Mexico, Kansas, and Oklahoma, and to roughly

the northern half of the state of Texas. This is about

the same market Coors has enjoyed since the 1930s,

after the repeal of Prohibition. Expansion of the firm

is directed more toward increasing market penetration

within areas already serviced than toward expanding

the geographical area serviced. This policy is dictated

by the centralization of Coors’s brewing facilities. For

example, the average shipment to the California market

for Coors is thirteen hundred miles, while the average

shipment of Budweiser in California is around one

hundred miles. Coors beer is sold to the distributors

at one price, f. o. b. Golden. Since the distributor

pays the freight, the cost of shipment works a substan-

tial practical limitation on the expansion of the market

area. Moreover, Coors has experienced for many years

a shortage of production capacity to meet the existing

demand within the geographical area currently serviced

by its distributors. Mr. Coors characterized market

penetration within that area as crucial to the firm’s

survival. Since the beer is sold only in a limited area,

a large amount of advertising expense is saved, so

that per barrel the firm spends on advertising only

a quarter of what its major competitors spend. In

part, this saving is made possible, as Professor Cundiff,

Coors’s marketing expert, testified, because Coors beer

enjoys a high degree of customer loyalty and brand

identification unusual, if not unique, in the beer market

in the United States; and the savings, of course, help

offset the transportation disadvantage.

Coors enters into distributorship agreements for cer-

tain geographical territory granting to the distributor

=

a “non-assignable, non-exclusive, personal right to en-

gage in the wholesale distribution of the companv’s

beer products” within the described territory. The dis-

tributor promises to conduct his wholesale distribution

exclusively within the prescribed territe~y. The agree-

ment provides that either party m°, cancel the agree-

ment without cause with thirty days’ written noiice,

and that Coors may cancel the agreement “for any

breach by the distributor” upon five days’ written notice.

Coors has such agreements with 160 distributors within

its market area. A Coors distributorship is highly sought

after; the company has about 7,090 applications on

file. Mr. Coors testified that without the territorial

restrictions imposed in the agreements, it would be

difficult if not impossible to maintain the efficiency

of the distribution system. Although one entering into

a distribution agreement with Coors pays nothing for

the right granted him, the distributor must make a

substantial capital expenditure to establish refrigerated

facilities for warehouses, trucks, and related equipment.

Mr. Coors stated that unless the distributor could be

assured that he would not be confronted with competi-

tion from another Coors distributor within his territory

—-assured that there would be no intrabrand competi-

tion—the distributor would be unwilling to make the

necessary capital expenditure, and lending institutions

would be unwilling to extend credit to him. Aside from

difficulties intrabrand competition among distributors

would create in attracting capital, Mr. Coors indicated

that such competition, if permitted, would eventually

erode the firm’s market penetration. In the short run, so

he said. intrabrand competition among distributors

wold primarily manifest itself in wholesale nrice cqm-

netition and nerhaps lower retail prices in comretition

in service. However, as time passed, the weaker of

those who had been able to make the capital expenditure

to undertake a non-caclusive distributorship would be

eliminated from the competition, the “price” of competi-

tion would decline, and there would be a rise in the

level of wholesale prices. In the long run, the effect

of such competition on the smaller retail accounts

would, he thought, be highly undesirable. Because there

is almost always a shortage of Coors for the ‘market

area, the company allocates the supply with two primary

goals: maintaining retail price stability and servicing

the maximum number of retail outlets within the area

with a supply as dependable as possible, so that consum-

er exposure and prompt stock rotation are promoted.

Coors employs a computer to help balance its produc-

tion capability with the inventory requirements of the

distributors.

~ Mr. Coors and Professor Cundiff implied that in

the earlier phrases of intrabrand competition, distrib-

utors would concentrate their efforts on the larger ac-

counts to the detriment of the smaller accounts. They

stressed that having more than one distributor respon-

sible for a given geographical area would make it

difficult for the company to monitor the treatment

of the beer to ensure its proper refrigeration and rotation

so that beer over sixty days old would be removed

from the market. Additional problems arise in the case

of draught beer, since it is the responsibility of the

distributor to make sure that the draught facilities in

retail establishments are properly cleaned and main-

tained. The flavor of beer is especially susceptible to

deterioration if this responsibility is not meticulously

discharged. Moreover, with exclusive distributorships,

it is easier for the supplier to supervise compliance

a

with state statutes and rules regulating the sale of

alcoholic beverages.

On the pricing policies of Coors there is, of course,

conflicting evidence. Mr. Coors testified that the com-

pany occasionally suggests to its distributors both whole-

sale and retail prices to ensure to both distributors

and retailers a fair return on their investment and

effort. He stated that the company has no policy regard-

ing dealing with retailers who sell Coors beer at a

discount, but that from time to time the company

and its distributors try to persuade retailers not to

sell at a discount, primarily because a larger than

usual volume of sales disrupts the orderly allocation

of Coors’s supply, which generally is ‘ess than the

demand. Mr. Coors and other witnesses for the com-

pany denied that it had ever terminated or threatened

to terminate a distributorship on any ground related

to its pricing suggestions. They maintained that the

company had no power to direct its distributors to

deal or to refuse to deal with particular retailers, or

to otherwise interfere with the relationship between

distributor and retailer, and that the company did not

do so. Its terminations of distributorships were based

upon a breach of the agreement or upon poor per-

formance within an assigned territory. It was not dis-

puted, however, that the company’s right to terminate

the distributorship without cause on short notice was

a formidable one because of the substantial investment

in equipment primarily suitable for the distribution

of Coors. There was evidence, sharply contested, that

one distributorship in Texas, owned by a Mr. Dixon,

had been terminated because the distributor refused

to cut off the supply of certain retailers who had

sold Coors at a discount. But there was also evidence

a oe

that distributorships were held at the time of trial

by individuals who had declined to abide strictly by

the territorial limitations or to take any action to drive

home to the discounting retailer the company’s displeas-

ure with the discounting. There was also evidence that

from 1966 to the time of trial Coors beer was in

fact advertised at a discount by retailers doing business

in the general vicinity of the plaintiff's store in Brown-

wood, Texas. |

Letcher acquired a sole proprietorship in the Brown-

wood store in January of 1966. About the same time,

Coors entered the Brownwood market. Letcher adver-

tised Coors at less than his own cost, using it as

a “loss leader”. Coleman, the distributor for that area,

spoke to Letcher and to Mrs. Williams, an employee

at the time, later a partner, and still later a shareholder

in the business. She testified that Coleman said that

he could not deliver any more Coors to them unless

Letcher would promise not to offer it at a discount.

Letcher refused to make that promise. Mrs. Williams

testified that Coleman replied, “Well, it isn’t my fault,

I would like to sell you the beer but the brewery

won't let me” and “I have a $100,000.00 investment

here and I can’t take a chance on losing it.” There

were some further deliveries after this exchange, but

when Letcher again advertised Coors at a discount,

the deliveries terminated, on June 3, 1966. Coleman

resumed deliveries in August 1971, after Letcher had

sold his interest in the store.

Coleman, on the other hand, testified that Letcher’s

advertising Coors at a discount had nothing to do

with his discontinuing service to the Brownwood store.

Coleman said that he did not get along well with

Letcher on a personal level, that Letcher demanded

— =

a wholesale discount, that he did not give Coors ade-

quate storage space, and that the beer was not adequate-

ly displayed to the customers. In these circumstances,

he testified, he determined not to do business with

Letcher. According to the records introduced at trial,

Coors had no knowledge of Coleman’s refusal to service

Letcher until July 1966. Campbell, Coors’s represen-

tative in that part of Texas and its liaision with Cole-

man, testified that he became aware of Coleman’s refus-

al to service Letcher only after the initial termination

in June of 1966, when Letcher wrote to the company

to see if he could obtain a supply directly from the

brewery. He interviewed the two men individually. He

found the source of the difficulty to be a difference

of opinion as to how the beer should be treated at

the retail store, colored by mutual dislike. He advised

Letcher that he could not force Coleman to do business

with him because Coleman was wholly independent

in this respect. Business records Coors introduced into

evidence, however, tend to support Letcher’s version

of the difficulties experienced with the distributor.‘

‘For example, the report of Mr. Campbell, Coors’ field repre-

sentative, to his superior at the firm, dated August 20, 1966,

reads in part:

Bill Reed called me Monday morning and said that

a Mr. Letcher (owner of the Handy Liquor Store in Brown-

wood) wanted to buy beer from him. Stuart Coleman,

our Brownwood distributor, is not servicing Mr. Letcher

because he has been advertising our beer at cut rate prices.

I filled Bill Reed in on this situation, and Mr. Letcher

was informed that Reed only had enough beer to supply

the retailers he has been supplying.

His report of July 16, 1966, stated in part:

One problem developed from a local liquor store which

is cutting Coors prices and advertised same in the news-

paper.

Mr. Coleman stopped delivery to this retailer [Letcher]

and the retailer wrote Golden a complaint claiming Mr.

~< a

—

In a report to his superiors at Coors, Campbell noted,

“I have suggested to Stuart Coleman to cooperate with

Mr. Letcher if he shows interest in selling our beer

at the right price.”

Il.

The key case in determining whether Coors’s system

of distribution violated section one of the Sherman

Act is United States v. Arnold, Schwinn & Co., 1967,

388 U.S. 365, 87 S.Ct. 1856, 18 L.Ed.2d 1249. In

Schwinn, the Supreme Court had before it a record,

generated in a seventy-day trial, replete with “informa-

tion as to the total market interaction and interbrand

Coleman said it was a brewery policy and a Texas brewery

rep said to stop delivering.

I talked with this retailer about our thinking about re-

tailers making a profit on our product. He, however, said

he would still cut our prices on Coors and adv it in

the newspaper just as he does the other beers he handles.

I talked with Mr. Coleman and asked that he not use

us aS an escape route or excuse but to precede (sic)

on his own principles.

I don’t see any reason for Coleman to deliver to. this

retailer, however, until he is ready to stop these practices

with our product.

His report of February 11, 1967, stated in part:

As per Bob Eke’s request, I stopped in Ballinger, Texas,

and I talked with Mr. Harold Letcher. Mr. Letcher is

is the owner of the Handy Liquor Store in Ballinger and

Brownwood. He has the stores which Mr. Coleman has

not been selling in Brownwood because he is a price

cutter. Mr. Letcher has written several letters to Mr. Cole-

man and letters to Mr. Eke stating his position in ordering

beer. In my conversastion with Mr. Letcher, he was very

congenial, but he still feels he is right in his feelings

that he has to treat all beers the same and when it comes

our turn, he will advertise and cut our prices. He says

he understands our beliefs, but he did not say what he

plans to do.

I have suggested to Stuart Coleman to cooperate with

Mr. Letcher if he shows interest in selling our beer at

the right price.

The record contains a number of similar exhibits with comments

in the same vein regarding other retail accounts,

—

competition, as well as the distribution programs and

practices [challenged by the Government].” 388 U.S.

at 367, 87 S.Ct. at 1859. The distribution scheme

in Schwinn was more complex than the one we have

in the present case. Schwinn had instituted the practice

of franchsing retail outlets for its bicycles. The fran-

chisees were free to sell other brands of bicycles, and

to set their own prices for sales of Schwinn bicycles.

They were forbidden to act as wholesalers or agents

for unfranchised dealers. They obtained their wholesale

supply of Schwinn bicycles from the wholesale distribu-

tor for their area. Schwinn established geographic areas,

each of which was assigned exclusively to one whole-

sale distributor. Schwinn required the distributors to

sell only to franchisees and forbade them to sell outside

their territories. Schwinn sold directly to distributors.

It also made “sales to retailers by means of consign-

ment or agency arrangement with distributors” and

“sales to retailers under the so-called Schwinn Plan

which involves direct shipment by Schwinn to the re-

tailer with Schwinn invoicing the dealers, extending

credit, and paying a commission to the distributor taking

the order.” 388 U.S. at 370, 87 S.Ct. at 1861.

The Schwinn Court noted that in White Motor Co.

v. United States, 1963, 372 U.S. 253, 83 S.Ct. 696,

9 L.Ed.2d 738, the Supreme Court had refused to

say whether certain exclusive allocations of territories

and customers were per se violations of the Sherman

Act; not enough was known of the competitive effect

of the practices to justify departure from the usual

application of the “rule of reason”. The Schwinn Court

prefaced its holding by remarking that “we are remitted

to an appraisal of the market impact of these practices.”

388 U.S. at 373, 87 S.Ct. at 1862. The Court noted

a

that in White it had cited cases of a new firm just

entering a business or a “failing company” as instances

in which the anticompetitive effect of vertical restraints

is minimal or non-existent and therefore permissible

under a rule of reason analysis, and that neither applied

to the Arnold, Schwinn Company. The Court observed:

“We are here concerned with a truly vertical arrange-

ment, raising the fundamental question of the degree

to which a manufacturer may not only select the cus-

tomers to whom he will sell, but also allocate territories

for resale and confine access to his product to selected,

or franchised, retailers.” 388 U.S. at 378, 87 S.Ct.

at 1865. The Court then drew a crucial distinction

between “the situation where the manufacturer parts

with title, dominion, or risk with respect to the article,

and where he completely retains ownership and risk

of loss.” Jd. Then the Court flatly stated: “where a

manufarturer sells products to his distributor subject

to territorial restrictions upon resale, a per se violation

of the Sherman Act results. And . . . the same

principle applies to restrictions of outlets with which

the distributors may deal and to restraints upon retailers

to whom the goods are sold.” 388 U.S. at 379, 87

S.Ct. at 1865. The rule of reason would apply, however,

in a case where the manufacturer retains ownership

and risk of loss because, said the Court: “we are

not prepared to introduce the inflexibility which a

per se rule might bring if it were applied to prohibit

all vertical restrictions of territory and all franchising,

in the sense of designating specified distributors and

retailers as the chosen instruments through which the

manufacturer, retaining ownership of the goods, will

distribute them to the public. Such a rule micht severely

hamper smaller enterprises resorting to reasonable meth-

ods of meeting the competition of giants and of mer-

_—

chandising through independent dealers, and it might

sharply accelerate the trend towards vertical integration |

of the distribution process.” 388 U.S. at 379-380, 87

S.Ct. at 1866.

Whether a per se rule should attach to any sort

of vertically imposed territorial restriction had been

a subject of debate among anti-trust specialists for

some time before and after Schwinn.” But the Supreme

‘For a view that would tolerate many types of market

division, see Bork, The Rule of Reason and the Per Se

Concept: Price Fixing and Market Division, 75 Yale L.J.

373 (1966). For a view that contradicts many of: Professor

Bork’s tenents, and that suggests that most territorial divisions

serve to enhance trends toward monopoly power, and to impede

the efficient allggation of capital and other resources of society,

see Comanor, Vertical Territorial and Customer Restrictions:

White Motor and its Aftermath, 81 Harv.L.Rev. 1419 (1968).

For a paper that is more descriptive than argumentative, see

Presion, Restrictive Distribution Arrangements: Economic Anal-

ysis and Public Policy Standards, 30 L. & Contemp. Probs.

506 (1965).

Vertically imposed territorial restraints have the obvious effect

of reducing or eliminating intrabrand competition, whatever

their effect may be on interbrand competition. Professor Com-

anor posits that firms manufacturing the same general sort

of product will seek to insulate themselves from the effects

of interbrand price competition by “product differentiation”,

that is, by reducing the substitutability of their product and

thereby diminishing consumers’ sensitivity to price.

Advertising of course plays a large part in this process.

In the present case, for example, Coors would have a powerful

incentive to bring home to the consumer the real or imagined

uniqueness of its product in order to decrease the consumer’s

tendency to respond to the lower price of, say, Schlitz. There

is nothing unlawful in this; indeed, in cases brought under

section two of the Sherman Act, the defense of “superior

skill, foresight, and industry” has been recognized since the

decision in United States v. Alumnium Co. of America, 2d

Cir. 1945, 148 F.2d 416 at 430.

Sometimes product differentiation is achieved in part by

Strategies at the retail dealer level that increase the dealer

markup. The refrigeration, the development of its special alum-

inum packaging techniques, and some of the other measures

Coors insists upon, at least insofar as its distributors are

concerned, would fall into this category of methods to increase

_— on

Court has not departed from its holding in Schwinn.

If anything, the Court, in partial reliance upon

Schwinn, has intensified the per se rule in the area

of territorial restrictions. See, for example, United States

v. Topco Assoc., Inc., 1972, 405 U.S. 596, 92 S.Ct.

1126, 31 L.Ed.2d 515. Topco invoved territorial re-

straints that, though apparently primarily horizontal

in nature, had strong vertical aspects as well. Topco

product differentiation. In this connection, Comanor notes,

“Islales by discount houses or other outlets where price is

the major condition of sale are hardly likely to promote

buyer concern for the peculiar attributes of the products of

a particular manufacturer,” and -are therefore viewed with

disfavor by the manufacturer. 81 Harv.L.Rev. at 1427.

One obvious justification for territorial restrictions is that

urged in the present case: that dealers on the wholesale and

retail level will simply not make the capital investment required

unless they can be assured of an absence of intrabrand com-

petition and the greater risk it entails to capital investment.

Just as obvious is the response that activities regarded most

worthy of promotion by a society will offer prospective rates

of return sufficient to attact the additional capital necessary,

that risk is inherent in all capital investment to one degree

or another, and that the most efficient allocation of capital

resources may be achieved by eliminating restrictions that serve

to insulate artificially a particular industry from competition.

Closely related to the investment argument is the argument

that, absent the restrictions, there will be insufficient incentive

for dealers to provide necessary services in relation to the

product. The same counterargument based upon the necessity

for the efficient allocation of economic resources applies.

Another justification frequently proffered, though not present

in the case before us, is that vertically imposed restrictions

are necessary to promote wider coverage of geographic markets.

(Coors claims that its primary aim is to increase “market

penetration” within existing geographical markets.) On the mar-

ket coverage point, Comanor responds: “What is important

is not whether these restrictions enhance market coverage or

customer contact, for this they may well do, but rather whether

restrictions of this character are likely to improve the compe-

titive processes through which resources are allocated to these

activities. While society generally approves of improved market

coverage, it also generally deplores higher dealer markups

and higher costs of distribution. Whether the additional gains

(This footnote is continued on next page)

_—

Associates was an association of small and medium-

sized supermarket chains organized to obtain merchan-

dise under private labels, so that they might compete

more effectively with larger chains. No member of

the association was permitted to retail Topro brand

merchandise outside the territory in which it was li-

censed to operate. There were similar restrictions upon

sales at wholesale. The Court agreed with the finding

of the district court that intrabrand competition in

Topco brands would not be increased, and, in fact,

the ability of the member chains to compete with

the national chains might well be diminished by out-

lawing the challenged restrictions. The Court was not

disposed “to ramble through the wilds of economic

are worth the additional costs, is of course, the essence of

the problem of resource allocation—a problem whose solution

he normally leave to the market place.” 81 Harv.L.Rev. at

1431.

A further justification offered for vertically imposed restric-

tions is that without them, dealers would “invade” the territories

of other dealers, seeking to take advantage of special sales

efforts the local dealer has made in the form of advertising,

provision of repair and other types of services and the like.

However, many sorts of promotional activity that potentially

redound to the benefit of any dealer in a given geographical

area are usually undertaken by the manufacturer anyway

(e.g., regional or national advertising), and those efforts that

are undertaken by particular dealers (e.g., a liquor store ad-

vertisement in the local media advertising a “weekend special’’)

are likely to be tailored to the local dealer and therefore

difficult for the interloper to take advantage of.

But, it is argued, the existence of restrictions will be an

incentive for the dealer to supply more “free” services, over

and above those afforded by the manufacture, than he would

otherwise. One rejoinder to this is that there are, in reality,

no “free” services; that they are, in effect, paid for out

of the single price charged for the product, and that pricing

them in this manner leads to further “product differentiation”

and a concomitant increased tendency toward monopoly power

for the manufacturer of the particular product in question.

The alternative, of course, is obvious in the case of many

sorts of products (but not the product involved in the present

— on

theory in order to maintain a flexible [as opposed

to per se] approach”. 405 U.S. at 610, 92 S.Ct. at

1134. Instead, the Court considered a judgment that

competition with the national chains was to be favored

at the expense of intrabrand competition was appro-

priate for Congress, not the Court, to make. It therefore

held the territorial restrictions to be per se violations

of the Sherman Act. Notwithstanding, Standard Oil

Co. v. United States, 1911, 221 US. 1, 31 S.Ct.

502, 55 L.Ed. 619, Topco and Schwinn, read together,

suggest that at this point we must accept the fact

that the Court has set its face against both horizontal

and vertical territorial restrictions, with the possible

exception of vertically imposed restrictions by “new

case): additional services providec on the dealer level should

be charged for separately, and consumer demand will then

more accurately determine the level at which and_ variety

at which they should be applied.

Another justification sometimes advanced for vertically im-

posed restraints is that they facilitate price discrimination among

various classes of customers. This seems indisputable, as does

the assertion that they also facilitate price fixing on the retail

level. The question is whether price discrimination (when it

is legal at all) is a sufficient justification for the otherwise

anticompetitive effect of vertically imposed restraints. Price

discrimination itself implies that less competitive (higher) prices

will be charaged to some classes of customers. Moreover,

the increased revenues possible through price discrimination

are really available only to manufacturers already enjoying

an “entrenched market position”, and they tend to enhance

monopoly power with no countervailing benefit to the consuming

public.

Finally, it is sometimes argued that forward vertical integra-

tion will result if vertically imposed territorial restrictions are

not allowed, and that such integration either (a) is somehow

bad in and of itself, or (b) is uneconomical for the manufacturer

relative to distribution through independent wholesalers and

retailers. And of course there are the possible justifications,

mentioned in the text, of the necessity of restrictions to promote

new entrants or new products, or to promote safety when

a particular product is subject to misuse.

«ptbitinin

entrants” and “failing companies” briefly mentioned

in Schwinn.

A number of lower federal courts have sought to

escape this conclusion. Some have centered their efforts

to distinguish the case before them from Schwinn by

focusing their attention on the following observation

of the Court:

In any event, it is clear and entirely consistent

with the District Court’s findings that Schwinn

has been “firm and resolute” in insisting upon

observance of territorial and customer limitations

by its bicycle distributors and upon confining sales

by franchised retailers to consumers, and that

Schwinn’s “firmness” in these respects was ground-

ed upon the communicated danger of termination.

388 U.S. at 372, 87 S.Ct. at 1862.

In Janel Sales Corp. v. Lanvin Parfums, Inc., 2

Cir. 1968, 396 F.2d 398, cert. denied, 393 U.S. 938,

89 S.Ct. 303, 21 L.Ed.2d 275, for example, the

court refused to find a contract clause prohibiting

sales of Lanvin products by its retailers “except to

consumers for use”, a per se violation because the

evidence was conflicting with respect to whether the

clause was enforced in a “firm and resolute manner”,

or enforced at all. At least one other court has required

some evidence of enforcement of vertically imposed

restrictions before holding per se violations of the Sher-

man Act. Colorado Pump & Supply Co. v. Febco,

Inc., 10 Cir. 1973, 472 F.2d 637, cert. denied, 411

U.S. 987, 93 S.Ct. 2274, 36 L.Ed.2d 965. In that

case the court also stated that a mere designation in

a contract of an area of primary marketing responsibil-

ity, without more, would not be a per se violation,

following the suggestion of Plastic Packaging Materials,

— a

Inc. v. Dow Chemical Co., E.D.Pa. 1971, 327 F.Supp.

213. This Court, however, has held that similar loose

contractual designations and circumstances from which

an understanding to adhere to the previous restrictions

could be inferred, would constitute a per se violation.

Hobart Brothers Co. v. Malcolmn T. Gilliland, Inc.,

5 Cir. 1973, 471 F.2d 894.

Even this group of exceptions to Schwinn would

not help Coors’s position in the present case. From

our summary of the evidence it is apparent that, al-

though there is some evidence that some distributors

from time to time made some sales outside their terri-

tories, the jury’s finding that Coors had been “firm

and resolute” in enforcing the territorial restrictions

is not contrary to the manifest weight of the evidence,

and must be upheld.

There are, however, other cases potentiaily helpful

to Coors in that they attempt to temper Schwinn’s

per se rule where the character of the product in

question requires special safeguards in distribution. The

outstanding example is Tripoli Co. v. Wella Corp.,

3 Cir. 1970, 425 F.2d 932, cert. denied, 400 USS.

831, 91 S.Ct. 62, 27 L.Ed.2d 62, a case involving

customer restrictions. A long-standing distributor of

beauty supplies, manufactured by Wella, distributed

certain Wella products intended for use by professional

beauticians to members of the consuming public. Wella

refused to deal with the distributor. The Third Circuit

affirmed a grant of summary judgment for Wella in

a treble damage action brought against it by the distrib-

utor, noting that the customer restrictions were reason-

ably necessary to protect the public, since some of

the products involved could cause serious physical in-

juries if not applied by properly trained personnel;

_— i

the Schwinn per se rule was said to be inapplicable.

Another example is the consent order in United States

v. Safety First Products Corp., 1972 Trade Cases

€74,223 (S.D.N.Y.1972), which permitted restrictions

of sales of potentially dangerous fire protection equip-

ment to “qualified persons” who met certain qualifica-

tions with respect to training, insurance, and experience.

The present case presents a tempting invitation.

Tripoli suggests that we broaden the exception to

Schwinn to products susceptible to damage in the dis-

tribution process unless that process is closely moni-

tored. One may accept the testimony of witnesses of

Coors that beer is just beer—unless it is Coors. But

a great many products are good and popular. If an

analog were sought to support such a departure from

Schwinn, it could best be found in United States v.

Jerrold Electronics, E.D.Pa.1960, 187 F.Supp. 545,

aff'd, mem. 365 U.S. 567, 81 S.Ct. 755, 5 L.Ed.2d

806 (1961). In that case a tying arrangement, other-

wise a per se violation of the Sherman Act, was permit-

ted, because the services “tied in” with the sales of

certain community television antenna equipment neces-

sary to prevent malfunction of that equipment.

Assuming the validity of the Tripoli exception for

the moment, we are unwilling to extend it to the

facts of this case. The most important reason for our

reluctance is that, whatever may be said of the effi-

cacy of the territorial restrictions here in maintaining

quality control, the restrictions also play a vital role

in Coors’s maintaining control over the wholesale and

retail prices of its beer. Even if this element were

not in the case, we think that the present record

would not support the conclusion that the vertically

imposed territorial restrictions are essential to the integ-

—

rity of Coor’s product to the survival of the firm.

It may be that the process by which Coors beer is

brewed necessitates refrigerated marketing and rotation

of stock, and that vertical territorial restraints are help-

ful in supervising the proper application of these tech-

niques, as well as in facilitating “orderly” allocation

of the limited supply of beer to Coors’s market areas

and ensuring compliance with state law. But there

is not enough in the present record to demonstrate

that these ends could not be met by less restrictive

means than those presently employed.® Moreover, al-

though Coors has made a good case for its contention

that its special marketing techniques are necessary to

®It is impossible for us to say, on the basis of this record,

that there is or is nct a less restrictive alternative than the

exclusive territories to maintain adequate quality control. The

manufacturer here has never experimented with nonexclusive

distributorships, for example. In any event, the strong evidence

that the restrictions in this case were used to forward an

illegal price fixing scheme renders further consideration of

this point academic at best. Without this evidence of price

fixing, the case would be in a much more favorable posture

for such consideration.

The question whether there exists an alternative less destruc-

tive of competition than the restrictions imposed by Coors

in this case is, of course, a proper inquiry under the tradi-

tional rule of reason analysis (which we hold foreclosed to

us on these facts), well summarized by Judge Davis in Carter-

Wallace, Inc. v. United States, 1971, 449 F.2d 1374, 1381,

196 Ct.Cl. 35: :

Conduct which can conceivably violate the Sherman Act

may be examined in terms of three basic variables: (1)

its economic effects, positive (furthering efficient perform-

ance of economic functions) and negative (anti-competitive

impact on the free play of market forces); (2) the

power of the parties in the markets which they serve;

and (3) the motives underlying the conduct. A full rule-

of-reason standard requires scrutiny of all three variables

before a judgment is reached that a given practice is

“reasonable” (permissible under the Act) or “unreasonable”

(proscribed). A rule of reason inquiry may also eliminate

examination of one or more elements, so that, for instance,

anti-competitive effect wil be assessed but motive excluded

as immaterial.

,

—

maintain the quality of the product, it is likely that

many manufacturers could make—and support—such

claims to one degree or another. There is many a

whiskey the quality of which is allegedly based on

spring water and close monitoring by the manufacturer.

Any justification of restrictions on the ground of

special techniques for manufacturing or supervising dis-

tribution should be premised on the absence of less

restrictive means to assure the same control over quality.

It is true that Mr. Coors testified that it would

be impossible to get people to undertake distributorships

without the assurance that their distributorships would

be exclusive within their respective territories. Yet the

record does not support that conclusion, beyond the

testimony of one distributor that he would not have

invested in the distributorship had it not been exclusive.

There is no showing that willingness to make capital

investments in distributorships would be seriously im-

paired or that adequate measures to protect the product

would not be taken if the distributorship were not

exclusive. And, even if these were demonstrated, there

remains the problem, so strongly emphasized in the

Court’s opinion in Topco, of determining the utility

of decreasing competition in one segment of the econo-

my in order to enhance it in another.

We do not say that vertically imposed territorial

restrictions may never comport with the Sherman Act;

Schwinn itself conceded they might be proper in the

case of new entrants in a highly competitive field

or “failing companies”. And there may be other excep-

tions. We say only that this record does not, as a

matter of law, provide justification for excepting Coors

from the effect of Schwinn, in light of the price fixing

evidence.

a

Schwinn may be subject to criticism. Indeed, it has

been criticized.. We must bear in mind, however,

that the Supreme Court’s entire discussion of the dis-

tribution scheme in Schwinn was premised on the lack

of evidence that the scheme was used to facilitate

price fixing. The Court said:

If it were otherwise—if there were here a finding

that the restrictions were part of a scheme in-

volving unlawful price fixing, the result would

be a per se violation of the Sherman Act. United

States v. Sealy, Inc., 388 U.S. 350, 87 S.Ct.

1847, 18 L.Ed.2d 1238; United States v. Bausch

& Lomb Optical Co., 321 U.S. 707, 64 S.Ct.

805, 88 L.Ed. 1024.

388 U.S. at 373, 87 S.Ct. at 1862. The restrictions

Coors imposed necessarily facilitated price fixing.

In United States v. Colgate & Co., 1919, 250 USS.

300, 307, 39 S.Ct. 465, 468, 63 L.Ed. 992, 997,

the Supreme Court held:

In the absence of any purpose to create or maintain

a monopoly, the |Sherman| act does not restrict

the long recognized right of trader or manufacturer

engaged in an entirely private business, freely to

exercise his own independent discretion as to par-

ties with whom he will deal; and, of course, he

7See generally Handler, The Twentieth Annual Antitrust

Review—1967, 53 Va.L.Rev. 1667, 1680-89; Pollock, Alterna-

tive Distribution Methods After Schwinn, 63 Nw.L.Rev. 595

(1968); Sadd, Territorial and Customer Restrictions After Sealy

and Schwinn, 38 U.Cin.L.Rev. 249 (1969); The Supreme

Court, 1966 Term. 81 Harv.L.Rev. 69, 235-39 (1967); Note,

Restrictive Distribution Arrangements After the Schwinn Case,

53 Corn.L.Rev. 515 (1967); Note Territorial and Customer

Restrictions: A Trend Toward a Broader Rule of Reason?

40 Geo.Wash.L.Rev. 123 (1971).

— es

may announce in advance the circumstances under

which he will refuse to sell.

As we understand its position, Coors does not even

rely on the Colgate doctrine insofar as its own actions

are concerned. Rather, Coors urges that it had nothing

at all to do with what happened between its distributor

and the plaintiff, and implies that this conduct was

shielded by Colgate. The Colgate doctrine operates

within a narrow ambit, and does not immunize conduct

that goes beyond a simple refusal to deal. The leading

case limiting the scope of Colgate is United States

v. Parke, Davis & Co., 1960, 362 U.S. 29, 80 S.Ct.

503, 4 L.Ed.2d 505. In Parke, Davis the Court de-

scribed the conduct that exceeded the limits of Colgate

in the following terms:

Parke Davis did not content itself with announcing

its policy regarding retail prices and following

this with a simple refusal to have business rela-

tions with any retailers who disregarded that policy.

Instead Parke Davis used the refusal to deal with

the wholesalers in order to elicit their willingness

to deny Parke Davis products to retailers and

thereby help gain the retailers’ adherence to its

suggested minimum retail prices. The retailers who

disregarded the price policy were promptly cut

off when Parke Davis supplied the wholesalers

with their names. The large retailer who said

he would “abide” by the price policy . . . was

not cut off. In thus involving the wholesalers

to stop the flow of Parke Davis products to the

retailers, thereby inducing retailers’ adherence to

its suggested retail prices, Parke Davis created

a combination with the retailers and wholesalers

a ee

to maintain retail prices and violated the Sherman

Act.

See also F.T.C. v. Beech-Nut Packing Co., 1922, 257

U.S. 441, 42 S.Ct. 150, 66 L.Ed. 307; United States

v. Bausch & Lomb Optical Co., 1944, 321 U.S. 707,

64 S.Ct. 805, 88 L.Ed. 1024; Albrecht v. Herald

Co., 1968, 390 U.S. 145, 88 S.Ct. 869, 19 L.Ed.2d

998.

The court correctly charged the jury that a con-

spiracy, combination, or agreement to fix prices was

a per se violation of the Sherman Act.’ There was

evidence that would support a jury finding of such

an agreement. There was testimony that a Mr. Dixon’s

distributorship had been terminated because he refused

to “refuse to deal” with discounting retailers. There

was evidence that Coleman refused to deal with the

plaintiff because he felt constrained to enforce Coors’s

suggested retail prices. And there was evidence, chiefly

in business records of Coors introduced at trial, that

Coors’s representatives were very attentive to wholesale

and retail price levels. In the language of some of

the reports, these representatives were quick to “sug-

gest” to the distributors that they “take appropriate

action” with respect to retailers who were not selling

at the “right” price. A jury could reasonably conclude

from these reports that the territorial restrictions have

as much to do with Coors’s attempts to maintain whole-

sale and retail price levels as with its concern with

maintaining the quality of its beer on the market.

Although we recognize that some form of territorial

8Two leading cases are United States v. Socony-Vacuum

Oil Co., 1940, 310 U.S. 150, 60 S.Ct. 811, 84 L.Ed. 1129,

and Keifer-Stewart Co. v. Joseph F. Seagram & Sons, Inc.,

1951, 340 US. 211, 71 S.Ct. 259, 95 L.Ed. 219.

restrictions might be shown to be justified to protect

a product unusually susceptible to damage in distri-

bution, for example, or dangerous in the hands of the

untrained, the restrictions here are too intimately related

with practices within the per se proscription of Parke,

Davis. The plaintiff therefore need not have alleged

or proved a “public injury,” as Coors contends. See

Radiant Burners, Inc. v. Peoples Gas, Light & Coke

Co., 1961, 364 U.S. 656, 81 S.Ct. 365, 5 L.Ed.2d

358; Klor’s Inc. v. Broadway-Hale Stores, Inc., 1959,

359 U.S. 207, 79 S.Ct. 705, 3 L.Ed.2d 741.

Our conclusion is strengthened by the fact that the

Teath Circuit has recently upheld a cease and desist

order issued by the Federal Trade Commission against

Coors, holding that there was substantial evidence to

support the Commission’s findings that Coors engaged

in a conspiracy with its distributors to fix prices, that

its territorial restrictions imposed upon its distributors

were per se violations of the Sherman Act as interpreted

in Schwinn, and that Coors used the termination pro-

visions of its contracts with its distributors to enforce

these anticompetitive policies. Adolph Coors Co. v.

FTC, 10 Cir. 1974, 497 F.2d 1178. Perhaps uneasy

with its holding on the territorial limitations point,

the Tenth Circuit noted:

Although we are compelled to follow the Schwinn

per se rule rendering Coors’ territorial restrictions

on resale illegal per se, we believe that the per

se rule should yield to situations where a unique

product requires territorial restrictions to remain

in business. For example, speed of delivery, quality

control of the product, refrigerated delivery, and

condition of the Coors product at the time of

delivery may justify restraints on trade that would

oa

be unreasonable when applied to marketi 1g stand-

ardized products . . . ?erhaps the Supreme Court

may see the wisdom of grafting an exception to

the per se rule when a product is unique and

where the manufacturer can justify its territorial

restraints under the rule of reason.

Id. at 1187. We recognize the validity of the reasons

underlying the exception the Tenth Circuit might en-

graft on the Schwinn rule. But the exceptions might

engulf the rule itself. Many manufacturers may assert

a claim of uniqueness with respect to their products,

and in good faith believe. that they would be “driven

out of business” without the restraints in question.

Coors itself in the present case has argued that it

needs the restrictions to survive, yet the record shows

that the firm is thriving, not struggling, that it is

expanding at a rate of ten percent of capacity a year,

and that its expansion is internally financed. The core

facts of this case suggest caution in assessing a manu-

facturer’s assertion that a marketing restriction with

demonstrable anticompetitive effegts is necessary to its

“survival”. At the very least, assuming such an “excep-

tion” to the per se rule were to be allowed, a manu-

facturer should be required to demonstrate, as we have

noted, the absence of means less restrictive of competi-

tion to achieve the same end.’ But we need pursue

the question no further here. Coors’s restraints were

ancillary to an illegal price fixing scheme.

"For a recent case rejecting “considerations relating to

quality control of the product [and shortages of the product],”

advanced to justify enforcement of territorial restrictions similar

to those involved in the present case, see Todhunter-Mitchell

& Co., Ltd. v. Anheuser-Busch, Inc., E.D.Pa.1974, 375 F.Supp.

610, 622. 10 4k ce)

For a case suggesting that territorial restrictions are subject

to the rule of reason if it could be show:: that there were

(This footnote is continued on next page)

a” en

III.

Before passing to the damage problems in_ this

case, we must briefly address Coors’s remaining conten-

tions on the liability issue. Coors argues that it was

necessary for the plaintiff here to allege and prove

a combination or conspiracy involving the plaintiff's

competitors. Whatever may be said of cases involving,

for example, group boycotts, we think that a private

suit based upon price fixing and territorial limitations

enforced by a manufacturer and his distributors may

be maintained by a retailer hurt by those practices

without proof that other retailers who continued to

do business with the manufacturer or distributor were

part of an illegal combination. None of the cases relied

upon by the parties confronts this problem directly,

nor have we found any.

Some cases, however, such as Simpson v. Union

Oil Co., 1964, 377 U.S. 13, 84 S.Ct. 1051, 12 L.Ed.2d

98 and Lehrman v. Gulf Oil Corp., 5 Cir. 1972,

464 F.2d 26, support our conclusion that a retailer

hurt by the practices complained of in this case may

maintain a treble damage action. The plaintiff here

has adduced evidence sufficient to support the jury’s

conclusion that Coors conspired with its local distributor

to deny him their product, because he would not abide

by their pricing policy, and that because of the territorial

no “other practicable method of carrying on a prepaid insurance

towing system,” see Anderson v. American Automobile As-

sociation, 9 Cir. i972, 454 F.2d 1240. However, the majority

opinion noted: “If . . . the dominant motive for the restric-

tive arrangements is to compensate the contract stations

for unprofitably low towing charges by limiting competition

for repair work on members’ vehicles, the whole vertical arrange-

ment may operate to unreasonably restrain trade in the auto-

mobile repair market.” /d. at 1246.

<x

restrictions he was unable to obtain an alternate supply.

The role played by other retailers in these practices

should not affect the injured retailer’s standing to sue,

whatever other relevance that role might have to the

case.

IV.

Coors argues that the practices complained of did

not occur in or affect interstate commerce. This conten-

tion may be dismissed largely upon the authority of

Burke v. Ford, 1967, 389 U.S. 320, 88 S.Ct. 443,

19 L.Ed.2d 554. In that case, the plaintiffs in a treble

damage action sought review of dismissal of their com-

plaint. The action had been dismissed, and the dismis-

sal affirmed in the court of appeals, on the ground

that the division of territories among the liquor whole-

salers involved in that case did not occur in or affect

interstate commerce, since the liquor “came to rest”

in the wholesalers’ warehouses before being shipped

to the retailers. The Supreme Court held that the dismis-

sal was improper:

Horizontal territorial divisions almost invariably

reduce competition among the participants....

When competition is reduced, prices increase and

unit sales decrease. The wholesalers’ territorial di-

vision here almost surely resulted in fewer sales

to retailers—hence fewer purchases from out-of-

state distillers—than would have occurred had free

competition prevailed among the wholesalers.

389 U.S. at 321-322, 88 S.Ct. at 444. Price fixing

was not involved in that. case, as it is in the present

one. Moreover, the effects upon interstate commerce

ascribed to horizontal division of territories in Burke

are equally attributable to the vertically imposed restric-

tions in this case.

— )

The record shows that Coors’s shipments into the

state of Texas are substantial—their value was around

$20 million in 1970—and it cannot be said that Coors’s

policies respecting pricing and distribution of its prod-

ucts moving into the state do not have sufficient impact

upon interstate commerce to bring them within the

ambit of the federal antitrust laws. Coors says there

is no effect upon interstate commerce because there

is always a shortage of their beer and the amount

shipped to Texas “is not a product of fluctuations

in retail sales.” Regardless of whether we accept the

full import of this last statement in Coors’s brief,

we must reject the argument that the application of

the federal antitrust laws turns on whether, if the illegal

practices were halted, a change would occur in the

volume of the product involved crossing the boundaries

of the state in which the particular plaintiff does busi-

ness, particularly where the practices are widespread

and constant, rather than sporadic and wholly local

in character. In any event, there is evidence in the

record tending to show that the unavailability of Coors

.at a retail outlet led to a diminution in demand for

other products on sale at that outlet that moved in

interstate commerce. This impact on other products

has been held to have a sufficient effect on interstate

commerce to bring the case within the federal antitrust

laws. Lehrman v. Gulf Oil Corp., 5 Cir. 1972, 464

F.2d 26, 34-36.

V.

Coors has vigorously contended throughout this law-

suit that the cause of action asserted by the plaintiff

Letcher cannot include any cause of action of the

partnership composed of Letcher and Mr. and Mrs.

Williams, nor of the Corporation subsequently formed,

ad

= =

of which the three individuals were the sole sharehold-

ers. The record shows that Letcher operated the retail

liquor store in question from January 1, 1966, to

January 1, 1967, as a sole proprietorship. On January

1, 1967, he sold a one-half interest to Mr. and Mrs.

Williams, who had worked as salespeople in the store

during the preceding year. Then, on September 1, 1967,

the partnership was incorporated with Letcher and Mr.

and Mrs. Williams as the sole shareholders. They oper-

ated the store from that date until July 17, 1971.

The corporation was subsequently dissolved and its

assets, apart from any legal causes of action against

Coors, transferred to Mr. and Mrs. Williams, who re-

opened the store on August 14, 1971, and operated

it as a sole proprietorship from that date to the time

of trial. The legal causes of action against Coors were

assigned to Letcher by an instrument dated April 13,

1972. The plaintiff also introduced into evidence a

ratification signed by Mr. and Mrs. Williams reciting

that they owned a one-half interest in the store as

a partnership with Letcher from January 1, 1967, to

the date of incorporation of the corporation, and that

it was the intention of the partners that all assets of

the partnership including leading causes of action were

to become assets of the corporation. It further recited

that Mr. and Mrs. Williams “ratify” the institution

of the present lawsuit by Letcher and that neither

of them had any further personal interest in the cause

of action.

Relying on cases holding that an antitrust action

may not be brought individually by a partner in a

partnership nor by a shareholder of a corporation,

Coors advances two primary objections to Letcher’s

standings to bring this suit. The first is that the “ratifica-

— a

tion” was ineffective to transfer the cause of action

to the corporation, and that the partnership therefore

should have been named as a party to the suit. Since

by the time of trial the four-year statute of limitations

had run on any claim that might have arisen during

the existence of the partnership, Coors says, no damages

may be awarded for any harm suffered by the partner-

ship attributable to Coors’s violation of the antitrust

laws. Coors does not, however, specify in what respects

the ratification was inadequate, nor does it suggest

what the proper manner of transferring the cause of

action would have been. Second, with respect to the

assignment of the corporation’s cause of action to Letch-

er, Coors argues that

in reality [the assignment] is not corporate action

but merely signifies the desires of two persons

who happen to be on the Board of Directors

of the corporation. No certified copy of

any resolution of the Board of Directors of the cor-

poration accompanied said exhibit. Furthermore,

there was no evidence whatsoever that the corpora-

tion ever did any business with a Coors distributor

or that it ever requested and was refused Coors

beer.

In our view, these objections? given the factual con-

text of this case, seek to exalt corporate form over

substance. All the testimony at trial, taken together

with the “assignment” and the “ratification”, would

certainly estop Mr. and Mrs. Williams from ever bring-

ing a suit against Coors on the same cause of action.

We are dealing with a small retail outlet, owned and

operated by three individuals over the period of time

relevant to this suit, and in these circumstances we

think that Coors must have been aware of the identity

eee

—59—

of the plaintiff and the genesis of his cause of action.

There is nothing in the record to the contrary. There

is no danger of exposure to multiple suits arising out

of the facts here. Moreover, there is no demonstration

of any other prejudice to Coors attributable to the

failure—if there were a failure—to comply strictly with

Texas law regarding the transfer of assets from one

form of business organization to another or the ratifica-

tion of corporate action. Though Coors’s objections

are grounded on this purported failure, its counsel

did not examine Letcher or the Williamses, the only

individuals owning or operating the store during the

period in question, as to whether they complied with

the formalities of the Texas corporation and partnership

law, what their intent was in changing the corporate

form, or pursue other lines of inquiry relevant to its

objections. On these facts, we hold Coors’s objections

to the plaintiff's standing to sue to be insubstantial.

VI.

Coors objects to the admission of certain statements

of Mr. Coors describing the degree of market penetra-

tion the firm had achieved in its various marketing

areas. This general sort of information was relevant

to the cause of action alleged under section two of

the Sherman Act. The section two claim was abandoned

at trial. Coors now urges that the admission of this

testimony prejudiced the jury. Because the relevant

market had been designated as the market for beer

in Brownwood, Texas, in the pretrial order (a designa-

tion we neither approve nor disapprove), the relevance

of the challenged statements regarding market penetra-

tion in other areas is open to serious question, but,

in light of the entire record, the substantial evidentiary

—

basis for the jury’s verdict, and considering the nature

of the statements, we cannot say that admitting the

evidence was so prejudicial as to require setting that

verdict aside.

VI.

Coors objects to the trial court’s action in reopening

the case before charging the jury to receive into evidence

as an exhibit the “ratification” already discussed. We

note that when Mr. and Mrs. Williams, who signed

the challenged instrument, were on the stand, counsel

for Coors did not delve into the irregularities now

complained of in connection with the transformations

of the store’s corporate form from sole proprietorship

to partnership to corporation and back to sole propri-

etorship. This failure, coupled with the absence of any

showing of prejudice to Coors stemming from the irregu-

larities, leads us to conclude that the trial court did

not abuse its discretion in admitting the exhibit.

Vil.

Coors complains that the trial court demonstrated

a prejudicial attitude toward it. We dismiss this conten-

tion as insubstantial.

IX.

This case is unusual in that the plaintiff is seeking

damages because his supplier cut off his supply of

a product he had always sold for less than it cost

him. )

Between January 1, 1966, and June 3, 1966, the .

date after which no further deliveries of Coors were

a

made,’ Letcher testified that he sold roughly 1,000

cases of Coors at the Brownwood store, and that all

Coors beer was sold at less than he paid the distributor

for it. Letcher stated that he sold Coors below his

cost, as a “loss leader”, in order to attract business.

Mrs. Williams testified that, after deliveries of Coors’s

were halted in June, 1966, the store experienced a

decline in business. She said that customers, before

the termination of service by Coors’ distributor, would

come into the store primarily to purchase Coors but

would frequently buy other items as well, as a matter

of convenience, and it was her impression that these

customers no longer patronized the store after the termi-

nation. Coor’s marketing expert disputed the accuracy

of this recollection or impression. He stated that the

market for beer and liquor items was very sensitive

to variations in price, and that consumers often made

purchases of different types of items at different retail

establishments, depending on relative prices. Letcher

and the Williamses testified that they experienced a

loss on sales of all products at the store, and that,

in order to compensate for the loss, they reduced

their markup on all items, from an average of 25

percent to an average of 15 percent after the termina-

tion. Moreover, Mrs. Williams testified that, based upon

her daily experience as a salesperson at the store,

The record shows that the store ran out of its supply

of Coors on June 20, 1966, and Coors contends that if

any comparison is to be made of bank deposits (and it

denies this method is valid), that comparison should be of

the thirty-day period before June 20 and the thirty-day period

following. This suggestion may have some merit if we assume

the bank deposits accurately reflect sales, but, as will appear

in the text, we cannot make that assumption on the present

record.

eer, Wa

her opinion was that the “loss of markup profits”

attributable to the termination was $75 to $100 per

business day. She did not offer any facts in support

of that conclusion, nor was “loss of markup profits”

defined.

Most of the evidence relating to damages was present-

ed by Dr. Dickson, the plaintiff's expert, and, because

the jury returned a verdict for damages in the amount

of $101,011, the exact amount of his estimated compu-

tation of “lost profits and good will”, we must examine

his testimony carefully. His testimony was based upon

a rather limited store of business records tendered

to him by the plaintiff, including the corporate income

tax returns for the years in question, certain “operating

statements” of a highly summary character, and certain

receipts from the Coleman distributing concern. These

items are all we have in the record. Dr. Dickson

apparently based his testimony on certain other financial

records as well that were present in the courtroom

and examined by the defendant for the first time at

trial. These further items contained certain bank state-

ments, but what else they contained is unclear to us.

What is clear, however, from the testimony is that

no accurate records of the sales for 1966, on an

itemized product-by-product, daily or weekly basis or

otherwise, were offered into evidence, nor were there

any inventory records from which such a breakdown

could be derived. That is, all products sold were lumped

together, and Dr. Dickson testified that he analyzed

sales by looking at the gross bank deposit records

for the store. On that basis alone, he concluded that,

because the bank deposits for June 1966 were $20.270,

— wn

and those for July 1966 were $13,144, the termination

of service by Coors’ distributor cost the plaintiff the

difference between the two sums. The difference was

53 percent of the lower figure, or, put another

way, if one wanted to derive what the June deposits

had been, one would multiply the July deposits by

.53 and add that product to the July deposits.

Coors, of course, strenuously objected to this part

oi the calculation, noting, first, that there were unusual-

ly large bank deposits made in the opening days of

August 1966, and that if one averaged the deposits

‘for the months of June, July, and August together,

or, alternatively, included the early August deposits

with the July deposits, there would be no discernible

decline in “sales”. Second, Coors objected to the post

hoc ergo propter hoc trand of reasoning applied to

the decline in sales, if there were any decline at all.

There was, Coors says, no showing at all of any

causal relationship between the termination and a de-

cline in sales. There was, in fact, no actual decline

in sales in the months after July 1966. Using though

not approving the plaintiff's own measure of sales—

bank deposits—, the exhibits demonstrate that the sales

actually increased after the termination in June. The

circumstance, coupled with the dubious character of

the July “decline” in bank deposits, the fact that no

records were introduced into evidence relating to daily

or weekly sales on a product-by-product basis and

the fact that by his own admission Letcher sold all

the Coors he ever purchased from the distributor at

a loss, raises serious doubt that Coors’ violation of

the antitrust laws caused Letcher any injury at all.

We will return to this problem after tracing Dr. Dick-

— *

son’s thread of computations, as the jury apparently

did, to its bottom line.”

Dickson assumed that by multiplying the actual bank

deposits (“sales”) by .53 and adding the product,

he would arrive at a “gross sales” figure that would

accurately reflect what the sales would have been had

the termination of Coors not occurred. He then deter-

mined that the markup on goods sold was the gross

sales minus the cost of goods sold, divided by the

cost of goods sold. The striking difficulty with this

formula is the computation of “cost of goods sold”

for 1966, for Coors’s expert in accounting testified

11The following equations, derived from the exhibits, may

clarify the discussion in the text.

Actual sales—Cost of goods sold

Cost of goods sold

(Markup was derived for each fiscal period from

1966 through 1971)

Lost sales = .53 x Actual sales

(How the multiplier of .53 was derived is explained

Markup =

in the text.)

a = Lost sales

Lost gross profits = Lost sales (i + markup)

Lost net profits = Lost gross profits — (sales taxes + inventory

carrying costs +

salaries)

(The record does not reveal how the figure of “inventory

carrying costs” was derived.)

Total lost net profits

Total months of alleged x 12x .78x 15x .14

antitrust violation

Goodwill lost =

(The division by number of months’ alleged violation and multi-

plication by 12 is to annvalize the figure; the multiplier of .78

is to deduct “sales tax or corporate profits tax”; the multiplier

of 15 represents, presumably, Dr. Dickson’s judgment as to how

many years in the future an antitrust plaintiff should be com-

pensated for lost profits; and the multiplier of .14 is intended

to reduce—the record does not show how or why—the figure

already derived to its present value.)

=

that, based upon his study of the books tendered to

Coors for the first time at trial, he concluded that

they were incomplete; that “sales” were in fact bank

deposits made; that there was no breakdown of the

ledger into the traditional sections for capital, assets,

liabilities, or i

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition — Adolph Coors Co. v. R. E. Spriggs Co. · 444 U.S. 1076 | Frix