Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Delta Air Lines, Inc. v. August

Supreme Court brief1981

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Unites S

OCTOBER TERM, 1979

No. 79-

DELTA AIR LINES, INC..

Petitioner,

Vs.

ROSEMARY AUGUST.

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT.

E. ALLAN KOVAR,

Max G. BRITTAIN, JR.,

BuRR E. ANDERSON,

The Law Offices of

E. ALLAN Kovar, P. C..

Suite 1526,

100 South Wacker Drive.

Chicago, Illinois 60606.

Counsel tor Delta Air Lines, Inc.

Of Counsel:

ROBERT S. HARKEY,

GREGORY L. RIGGS.

Delta Air Lines, Inc.

Hartsfield Atlanta

International Airport.

Atlanta, Georgia 30320.

Gunthorp-Warren Printing Company, Chicago e Financial 6-6565

7 Sian gl =i) a as . & > a

pe re | i ae ee

EER S Ws vaya sneaks cere cesv rescues

Nene eee eee eh eee aeesees

Neen cee es hee ed ee nee

Teen ne eee abe see beseeance

Teen TT eee oo peek ve etek es eeen

ES enn

1.

iif.

By the Imposition of Trial Court Discretion in

Awarding Costs Pursuant to Rule 68 Offers, the

Court of Appeals Has Emasculated Rule 68....

A. Rule 68 Is Unambiguous and Mandatory. .

1. “Must” Is Imperative..............

2. Progenitor State Laws Compel an

Operation of Rule 68 ..............

3. Post Enactment Interpretation Compels

an Automatic Operation of Rule 68 ..

B. Rule 54(d) Has Been Effectively Duplicated

by the Court of Appeals Redrafting of

EE asia x we hes 6a OH Oo ep eases

By Its Admitted Rewriting of Rule 68, the Court

of Appeals Exceeded Its Authority..........

A. The Supreme Court Has Primary Responsi-

bility for Promulgating the Federal Rules. .

B. Redrafting of the Rules Should Be Done by

Legislation, Not Judicial Interpretation... .

Title VII Cases Do Not Warrant a Redrafting

ee ae bee kt hones be Od ee Oss

A. Exceptions to the Federal Rules Are Not

EPS Per ee eee ee eee

B. The Court of Appeals Ignored This Court's

Direction in Christiansbure Garment Co.

e.g aw au & wie oe

wnsN =

un +>

Hi

WwW Vy tC ceeet et \ppreate Poreereedt The O ¥en Starboard

bey Dora dene PMelbea tf peete "y

Posen Tene bine "

Ct en) ee

AM hee a S UD Mee Qe WAH | CHP ae eencen moot

NUON ge Spe et Da beter PTE B Shee!

Cnty yorsy eo

Naisetic cu Devereor tine fe? Satere atin athe Serb tte t' §

oR 1 FO7R i

Nevsera oy Pipe Rt oavctemotiom ta og i iah Fh brs

Viq yyergs aa)

Navvervct uD Mete Nae Dba Vee eee PS ee thy Oe

gurady porcermny

Viasrcise Veatiwe © Wectieevee US Th Steen e Pes ”

Merde v Pana Pel eee Se hE T8U FS 8e N FF SH gu?

Were v Vdes eae Pet Se cet cote beet

Toa At BH FOR 4 109%) ”

VR ee ceeee yD sene Vetaned Baye Maetetictyteme Gee PTO Seapege

OS, QE VEN VY 10°) 4

Weapes vo Veavelers Drew Tsui te ior RH 78

NUN VY (SQ) ”

Yrcrwie ov Dasat Ndr tee mee ob sth cbiwh tou

a ertonny © Laat States THOU 8 FO Ehet) Ww

woes Napa Ge Antena Sugar Refimmg Cae § 76

. N CT TROY wet ited TIN TS DIS

Hittetione bere ferent é

Hrreeety fC cerepepep teens

it ee,

Pope Pople nt Otppenr

tbr eborey

| en) Oe Pe Pocld Devore Cry Goel ty;

' gy 754 71040)

Po Woiebond & See Diane Pecedarte Oo Wiebord 4

6 FR Fe Se 48 1) We pois)

CO dprrre Rerttiee FER OI GS Pen ecqyast,

f ocetpepeeie Dh eco de Mianegar pen Boer Botrolonny (0

700 Od TR Od Cte POI enee heoteed AID TI S

i

obey Chilscceee USN FI GS Gt CHORD,

ee Nevers coe SF Ae deel Slob tp ly (Ath

Coe Pre,

toceneh VE Phere 1) \Wy h P84 jt» * Ay i J

qonts

oe Abarronee FP SS OD , PPL A PATH CIOTI)

Peevic vy OC bison TES Nh TAS CAbaska OTR)

Perral Clelowd 706 BP Pe nor, ohe Pee fore, j

Picen ve © anlichle & Ta quel tht) GS PSA CIOIA,

Porter ov Ntoboan Aton oom nd O5, 79 TiS. 227

(1OOHbs

Peli Vv ‘ coretnye 4 a i | ! } 0% Ctythy f if | vif;

Porst National Bank of Arison ( ities Se ( tO]

Pishyeold

QS 58 (10K)

71S C1940)

Forman vy Bhavan S74

Sullivon Ptrydeow eo &

S } 7%

Repair

(JO427 3

(

Fowler vo Southern Bell Pelephone & Pelogriph a %4

'

Xd 150 C5th Cor

1965 )

,

",

3

"yy

2A

iy

Pare MR Wieteee Meatb Ge bee SE te tthe

ne hs

Vict te tet COP NE Ee te teh te bee ts

UT aeeee Ett Debs Gee 8 Deteetetee Ded the fb tb

Vy) & O98 ( 7e*gy

Ubvvrrvencd oe Mhcetteene Wha Wh tas 19 om Fae vee

er ft tt

A Yi TC Oe ee Ba TTT ee

LL Cae Wn

VAL vee ee ed ee CC ee TOO Se Nh Pee

Ae 1 en

Vhveciven Ua NG tee Sat te Watt bb mea Pb bin

| hes |e Bs

QU Naveeee ue Verte USE BR Ge Ede

\

Wet vy Uwe ESN WU Ede

Ware ve Ute cee Piven Cee he Sah VU dP Neepepe feed

"I

"i kame Ae

Hee VU tu tt Nee Neeteemeie ote SEE Sb eb teh tte

evr arn en RS VCC he U0 hi Oe

Poi NU aeeatetene Ntgaet a ht he | Vivi bleeee Stped tous Wy

VN te VL ttaen

A aeeeee VUE Notetbeee Bogetawae Ge oe Gdbeaetine Peet (oe

‘x \ \ \ yiviws

Drawn Ve Neath Lata yane Gb Urb NX SER Eber

\ ayy VY toeweon Leathe Ge PETE ON Sam Eby VW,

Viren Deseo Gee bathe Nahe Gage UNG dtd

ree CMA A Ue)

Lovie Dawe nbatase ta oe Wek Set hb Sd bab’ cath

eee)

")

Pith oe Weletel Mailer (a. Ut @ hay ebony

Five Attpelee Detet AGfp fe 6 Pammee ter th GQ fat

vbeyy 9

Nt Dd Tether TIE NE TITS Oth tie born,

Ntaorite 6 Detherab (tepe Peutmee fn Ob Pte tae

(WF be PE bee tte | LD ther orle a |

es ee

Abert grrtie Gabe & Merek FPL A Pr ate reper Ww Gg

PUP tSper |e PP we Pay

Nino Deter Ftd ‘heths thee ie yp eeet desea

(op dh GY AT CI,

Nteathy “wey Welw ‘ i] ‘yeti .S ‘eed ‘ ed Ite

Kbit tet oe Pieter States Tor hh Qo ap ebay,

Netter eo Mettocediten Pelion €ompormy tf 6 Popp

ee

Nitrre ie Deri TPO GPS ebony

NV breton ty Pheri bet Bt PAR CAtacb a FORD,

NMlicohondppd Prrblichtng (np ov Murphree th fi GQ 4te

CV)

Niitette Phere Deetitvte Dr oy Deethord Acoutent & Dndeny

nity Ce TELE PDO Oh ie POTS,

Nie Oberger, Bee oy Ct Pate Blacte Penyers fn 0 48

ee Oe ee ee ee

Nalwtov Peenclen tr Sepp OL OW Pada joan, 4

Nuseet vo Isthmian Pines, S3bb fda 24 Cede O64)

Neely v Phy Conetrution Oo) 8b SSE CLOG 7,

Newton vo Allis, Ih Wis JO C1RHZy

Nolopy Spettel, 267 Wis 245, 64N W 2d 859 (1954,

Owen Pqnipment & Prection Co vo Keoger 447 6. 5

WS (LOTR)

”)

vi

Yyer V Southern Express Co, 00 bo dd Vb 7th Ci

1909) Q

Park & Villon Distillers Con ov Distillers Go bob ROD

oO (STN Y 1950) i)

Perkins © New Orleans Athletic Club) 19 1b Supp 664

(bh Wo ta te) 13

Peterson, ln Reo 8d EES WA ETO) I

Diteless vo Davis, bob UES Ik? Cbers) ”)

Pomeroy ov Zion PO Cab App Md dd 96 Cake Rpts

No) Cal App bern 11

Poperl Trothers, Trev N Wick TPlecthie, Ime. Sto bo td

172 (7th Cie. VY7S5S) 1k, 27

Prather vv Pritehard. *6 Td 8 CER O0) 1

Poasviadent Tradesmen Hank A Trust (oo Patterson, to

oS tas clan) ”

Ragan vo Merchants Pranster & Warehouse Co tty tls

St) (Ode) 10

Ranner vo Russel. t Duet G89 CNew York PSS 4) 11

Read vo Baker, dts hb Supp Tht GD Del by ahd

S77 PONE TIN CA Cin), cert dened, 4898 US) 809

US Sov (1978) py)

Roberson v Wegmann, ato US) 884 Cho es) “0

Ross vo RBerithord, (9 US) SAE CEO), Mb

Santesichban vo MeGrath, 220 Seo fd d7O (bla App

97S) 6s. a See CTT aT eee

Neher vo Beek, 482 2. Supp. 1254 (CD. Cole, 1978). 2 13, 22

Sehlagenhaut vo Holder, 379 US. Od CE9Od) TO, EY, 21, 22

Shima vy. Brown, 140 Bo 2d 337 (DOC. Cin), cert. denied,

RAE GR ak. RRR ee Peer a 17

Siddach vo Wilson & Company, JED US. bE Ci9dbyo 2. 19

vi

Stous balls Adpustment Cov Poon Soo OW Oe. 535 D

T, O10 N W IAG ChOR)

Snyder vo Phun, JOEL S 842 C pong)

Southern Constrnction Goo Prokard S7E ODS ST e196)

Staflend vo bake Central Atos. Ine. 7b RD Ts

(ND) One P9690)

State Parm Pine & Casnalty Go ov Lashes, S860 S528

(1967)

State Mutual Pile Assurance Company. Arthur Andersen

XNCo 6b RD SIRES DPN Yo Pars)

Stevens vo Barnard SEB 2d 876 C1Oth Oar O75,

Subscription belevision, Ince vo Southern Cabtorma Dheatre

Ohvners Asse) S76 bd sO 6oth Car POTRy

Phomas \ Trans World Ambines, Inc. 457 2 Od 105s

(cb Cw base)

Town House. Ene ov Paulino teE bd RED COth Cir

1907)

Froth Seeker Co. Ine vy Durning, 147 1b 2d 54 09d Cir

1945S)

Duro v May Co. SUE b 2d P3887 (Oth Cir 1978)

United States © Brandt & B ROD 16% 6D) Mont 1o4K)

United States vob & M> Schacter Brewing ©ompany. 356

US 227 CL9SKy

United States vo Hougham, $64.08. 310 61960)

United States vo Hyass. $55 08. 570 (195K)

United States vo Indrelunas, 441 US. 216 (1978). . 2,

United States v. Isthmian Steamship Co., 359 LS. 314

(1959) 21

Untied States v. Mississippi, 380 US) 12% (1965)

United States v. Reynolds, 397 U.S. 14 61970)

”

9

Vili

United States v. Robinson, 361 U.S. 220 (1960)..... 21, 23

United States v. Schurz, 102 U.S. (12 Otto) 407 (1881)

Pi SEE TET Ee EO Pere LE Pee TT eee TT OTe. a i

Untermeyer v. Fidelity Daily Income Trust, 79 F. R. D. 36

Se MR, COIN sc panes dep asentaeertestuneenss 24

Van Dusen v. Barrack, 376 U.S. 612 (1964)......... 20

Wachsmuth v. Orient Ins. Co., 49 Neb. 590, 68 N. W.

ee Perry ee eee ere 11

Walters v. Roadway Express, 557 F.2d 521 (Sth Cir.

UM a seeart gp eee aicne sok pe Sanaa See ie 18

Weade v. Dichmann, Wright & Pugh, Inc., 337 U.S. 801

NS reli pad tA ARO a oak we RL ke ae 20

West v. Springfield Fire & Marine Ins. Co., 104 Kan. 157,

2 eB. ers es ee eee 11

Wolfsohn v. Hankin, 376 U.S. 203 (1964) .......... 20

Wordin v. Bemis, 33 Conn. 216 (1866).............. 11

Yeager v. Campion, 70 Colo. 183, 197 P. 898 (1921).. 11

Zenith Radio Corp. v. Hazeltine Research, Inc., 395 U.S.

nO eee Sh ot IDE eye ARO 20

Statutes:

NE i Me ye as S taw yo ae sa meee 2

§$ 723b et seq. (1934) (current version at 28 U.S.C.

i a cae hades KARDON TRY Reece aces 6 es 19

42 U.S.C. § 2000(e) et seg., as Amended.......... passim

OE s.r eer are ee eee rer 15

ESS ESE ES Sear ee oa ae 15

Ce Pee china keke ch san taka ean he 15

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure:

er Ce dca aan CoN EK Oe Kea eS 9

Pe a ey eS cee ea kes eke ea ace ea ye eee 24

a ee es a EE oo ko dg baad be nda oan ee ee 23

Ss ee Es ces CG os kn whey br os a eae eee 9

ee Se a a ee rer ee ae ey passim

Ps OD 6 5 hae now owdeee od Kaw eciee cea 9

Pe ks Nas pideh eNO eae passim

Fed. R. Civ. P. 1-4, 6, 8, 12-20, 22-38, 41, 42, 45, 48, 50-

54, 56-61, 65, 71A, 73, 77, 79, 81-83, 86.......... 19-20

Fed. R. Civ. P. 6(b), 12(a), 15(a), 16, 24(b), 26(a),

26(b), 26(d), 29, 59(d), 58, 62(a), 62(b), 62(c),

ee PR EAE ae Clo as stew eed. 8 kak Daw ares 25

Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure:

Re es S ) ee eer 21

ee eS ON os weir c etc eebas vee ne saeen 21

State Rules of Civil Procedure:

Alaska R. Civ. P. 68; Ariz. R. Civ. P. 68, D. C. R. Civ. P.

68; Fla. R. Civ. P. 1.442; Nev. R. Civ. P. 68......... 22

Cal. Civ. Proc. Code § 997 (West Supp. 1978)....... 11

Miscellaneous:

Recommendations of the Advisory Committee on the Pro-

posed Amendments to the Rules of Civil Procedure re-

produced in 5 F.R. D. 339 (1946)................ 8

Report of the Advisory Committee on the Proposed

Amendments to the Rules of Civil Procedure, repro-

ee a ee ee 8

Armstrong, “Proposed Amendments to Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure”, reproduced in 4 F.R. D. 124 (1946)

BLACKSTONE'S COMMENTARIES (Lewis ed. 1897)...... 15

Dobie, “The Federal Rules of Civil Procedure’, 25 Va.

en a OIG 5g eins Sys he's Case ae oO 7

Goodhart, “Cows, WW Yare bd 849 C1929) 14

Greenberger, “The Cos of Justice, An American Prob

lem. tn Dnelish Solution’, OVut bE Rev. d00 Ch9Gd) TF 7

Hod Tashi. Corprerip Prax Pavers CbQ20). 0

6 Moorr’s brprrar Prvciicr, Vol 6 C2d ed) 1976) 17

Selle and Girossman. EAPPh oy MEN E DESC REMEN CETON Taw

(1970) 22, 24

YA Sutherland, SEVEU TORY CONnseREC HON Goth ed E987 yy 10

Wright and Miller, Prone vt PRACTION AND Pro cr purt

(Rev ed 1979)

Note, 49 Yaurr Pood eo (boda) 1s

Note. “Rule 68. ASNew Pool tor Prtigation’, 87S Dunst

L. J. 888 ¢1978) 9

IN THI

Supreme Court of the United States

OcroBER TERM, 1979

No. 79-....

DET TA AIR LINES, INC,

Petitioner,

Vs

ROSEMARY AUGUST,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRITE OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT.

Petitioner, Delta Air Lines, Inc. (“Delta”), prays that a writ

of certiorart issue to review the judgment and opinion of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit entered

in these preeeedings on July 6. 1979.

OPINIONS BELOW.

The Order of the Court of Appeals denving Delta's petition

for rehearing and suggestion for hearing en banc is set forth

in Appendix A to this Petition. The epinion of the Court of

Appeals on the Rule 68 matter, reported as August v. Delta

Air Lines, Inc., 600 F.2d 699 (7th Cir. 1979), is set forth in

Appendix B to this Petition,

The unreported opinion of the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Ilinois on the Rule 68 matter is

set forth in Appendix C to ths Petition.

2

The separate unpublished opinion of the Court of Appeals on

the merits is set forth in Appendix D to this Petition. The un-

reported opinion of the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Illinois on the merits is set forth in Ap-

pendix E to this Petition.

JURISDICTION.

The judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

was entered on July 6, 1979. Delta’s timely petition for re-

hearing and suggestion for hearing en banc was denied by

Order of the Court of Appeals entered on August 28, 1979.

This Petition is filed within 90 days of said Order. This Court's

jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED.

Rule 68 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure provides

that the offeree who rejects an offer of judgment and does not

receive a more favorable judgment “must pay” the costs incurred

after the making of the offer. Delta made such an offer to a

Title VII plaintiff whose complaint was ultimately dismissed.

The court of appeals denied costs to Delta, holding that “a

liberal, not a technical, reading of Rule 68 is justified, at least

in a Title VII case.” (600 F.2d at 702, A7). The questions

thus presented are:

1. Whether the court of appeals erred in nullifying the

clear and unambiguous mandatory imposition of costs

under Rule 68?

2. Whether the court of appeals exceeded its authority

by rewriting Rule 68?

Rule 54(d) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure provides

that costs shall be allowed as of course to the prevailing party

unless the court otherwise directs. The question thus raised is:

3. Whether the court of appeals abused its discretion

3

by denying costs to the prevailing defendant under either

its liberal reading of Rule 68 or the unchallenged reading

of Rule 54(d)?

FEDERAL RULES INVOLVED.

Rule 54(d) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure for the

United States District Courts provides in relevant part:

“Costs. Except when express provision therefor is made

either in a statute of the United States or in these rules,

costs shall be allowed as of course to the prevailing party

unless the court otherwise directs... .”

Rule 68 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure for the

United States District Courts provides:

“At any time more than 10 days before the trial begins,

a party defending against a claim may serve upon the ad-

verse party an offer to allow judgment to be taken against

him for the money or property or to the effect specified in

his offer, with costs then accrued. If within 10 days after

the service of the offer the adverse party serves wriiten

notice that the offer is accepted either party may then file

the offer and notice of acceptance together with proof of

service thereof and thereupon the clerk shall enter judg-

ment. An offer not accepted shall be deemed withdrawn

and evidence thereof is not admissible except in a pro-

ceeding to determine costs. If the judgment finally obtained

by the offeree is not more favorable than the offer. the

offeree must pay the costs incurred after the making of the

ofier. The fact that an offer is made but not accepted does

not preclude a subsequent offer. When the liability of one

party to another has been determined by verdict or order

or judgment, but the amount or extent of the liability

remains to be determined by further proceedings, the party

adjudged liable may make an offer of judgment, which

shall have the same effect as an offer made before trial if

it is served within a reasonable time not less than 10 days

prior to the commencement of hearings to determine the

amount or extent of liability.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE.

In Tannary 1877 plaintiff sxed Delta allegung that her termina

Hon from emptov nent was discriminatorily motivated. i vie

lation of Title Vib et the Cit Rights Vet of 1064) as amended,

VS © SS We ef veg CVitle VIET) and further alleging

that Delta had defamed plant Delta demied such allegations

iui. nevertheless, inn Mav, 1877 made an Ofer of Tudgment

COME) pursuant te Rule OX of the Tederal Rules of Civil

Procedure Co bederal Rules”) an the amount of S480 C App br,

Ww QUT UL) Mantel failed te accept the OMTer. and the cause

was heard Ix Pystriet Cenrt tndge Titus J Hothvan between

September 21, 1877 and October Vy F877 Phe planttl

admitted mya deposition that she knew of we facts fe sup

port ber clan ef defamation and Deltas metion for sum

mart judgment was granted without appesition I planet

Tudgment on the Tile VU claun was, after trial entered: fort

Delia CApp bo pp AT 8D) Although mdicating that “the

court has ne difheulty a reaching tts decston CNTY. the

ditret court. witheut expheation. ordered cach party to beat

is own costs of Ttegation. ( \%2.)

Thereafter, Delta brought to the courts attention the pra

Ofer and moved that plamnff be ordered te pay all costs in

curred after the Offer had been made The District Court denied

the motion on the bavs that the Offer was net “arguably rea

conable” CApp ©. ALD)

Appeals were fled by beth parties. planttt appealed on the

merits, Delia appealed on the issue of the denial of costs, The

court of appeals afirmed the pidgment tor Delta on the merits,

commenting that plamnufis ev denee of discrimination was

Superheial, incomplete, madequate ot otherwise defective”

(App DD. Ale)

With respect to the Rule 68 matter, although stating that

‘the issue ws not free from doult” and “ijn spite of the foree of

5

[Delta's] arguments” (600 F.2d at 701, AS-6) the court of

appeals held that in the context of a Tithe VIL case a trial judge

may exercise his discretion and refuse to award costs to. the

offeror defendant who prevails, (600 F.2d at 702, App. B, pp.

A2.7.) The court of appeals aflirmed the trial court's order

that each party bear its own costs.

Delta's timely Petition for Rehearing and Suggestion for Hear-

ing En Bane was denied by the court of appeals on August 28,

1979) (App. AL p. AL)

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.

In a narrow sense, the propriety of the Seventh Circuit's

extirpation of Rule O& in the context of a Tithe VIE case ts at

issue. Inca broader sense. the eflicaey and sanctity of a uniform

system of rules governing the operation of our federal district

COUTTS Is at issue

On the surface. this case involves the proper interpretation

and application of the cost shifting provisions of Rule 68. The

court of appeals, despite the mandatory, imperative language of

the rule, held that poley considerations constrained it) from

following the rule as written, inthe context of a Tithe VIP case.

Mithough aware that it was thus essentially duplicating the

provisions of Rule S4¢d). the court of appeals nevertheless

subjected Rule @8's operation to trial court discretion. That de-

cision alone, ignoring, as it does, the legislative history of the

rule, tenents of statutory construction, and federal and state

ease law precedent, compels this Court’s review.

The mischiet of the court of appeals decision, however, cuts

a deeper swath By rewriting and thereby effectively nullifying

the clear and unambiguous provisions of a Federal Rule, the

court of appeals has usurped the power expressly conferred by

Congress upon this Court, that of establishing general rules

governing civil procedure in the federal district courts.

{s

Thomight be urged that the urstant case, invelving “merely”

an awondoetoeests rs tet at suet magiitude as fe require this

Comet camtercesstam Delta subirits however, that the unbridled

evr et atroam at fle Dederal Rules ts mere than a harmless trans

pressnat Ns Tustiee Heelies trenehanth stated “May keenest

iiterest ts ee tte! vet ba wlyat ane c Wed great anesthans and

privat eases. burt tea ttle deers which the commen ran et

selee tons wand prass bey vet whieh have ur them the eenm

ad osemne Wider theer and therefore et seme profound: rites

etitral elvan rir tlre very) trsstte at the law WoT oT asa Gam

vee tered eesay Partners, *6O Gree)

Tre cemrt et appeals rn the distant ease Iv rewriting Rute

OS te ALA vrew ef temporal needs. has pormterusty torn at the

Cabra ot cot mterweven federal rites et procedure and: therety

orormached upen cre poevinee af iis Cau and the Comeress

Accontingly. ecause substantial questiens affecting the proper

ater eretanat amd verter app tration of the Pederal Rules are

mvt tes Ceort should grant this petuhen fer certrenan

Ry he nposition of Dial Cont Diseretion in Awanting Costs

Trrsnant fo Rute 68 Offers, the Court of Appeals Has Pinas:

ontated Rute 68

Kale G8 peevates a omeetaientt fy owlnelt a defomdant may

ai at Gave mowe dan ten dave betorw ta wer te have nidg

mre: Taker agate; for a So cet aru wieether witls oarsts

* * } ’ a ’

‘ Ae AN Wt vite Ow S THA AOE Pes Awl Te Maaigiiwitl

ALN OMS aLING “\ av XK Yo Wh we Tavawaiwie Ulan the

wie Ri ¢ SS inweots what wh wk iat Ve \ i SAN Ure Casts

iow alte Ge making of dhe oder ban iass addal

Vhove ov ae digsote that all a the fecha raquirements

YR gs Rule 88 have wor met oo the aisiant case Delta

made a ens afer crows han fen dave Defore tral CAPD br.

A 23.26) Maw dai as oan a nnigawat mow favorable

7

than the rejected offer, Nevertheless, both the trial court and

appellate court refused to award Delta its costs. Contrary to

the unambiguous language of the Rule, and admittedly at odds

With proer court decisions, the court of appeals adopted an

amorphous standard by which offers under Rule 68 are to be

viewed ) Ino se doing. the court of appeals has emasculated

Rule @8

A. Rule 68 Is Unambiguous and Mandatory.

The device of an Offer of Judgment was entirely new to the

federal courts when it was promulgated and adopted in 1938 as

Rule OS of the then new Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. See

Dobie. The Pederal Rules of Civil Procedure, 28 Val Ll. Rev

Sot, WOR E1938) Offers of Judgment were well known and

used in vatious state courts prior to P938. Accordingly, the

Advisory, Committee Notes concomitant with Rule 68 in its

mitial mtreduction ite the federal system contamn no exphica-

thon of the rule, but merely cite the state stgtutes of Minnesota,

Montana and New York See 12 Wright AND MILLER, Fep-

PRAD PRactICn AND PRocrepurr § 3001 (Rev. ed. 1973),

The Rule was amended in 1946 (etl March 19, 1948). Of

partioular sigmificance i the fact that the language requiring an

unsuccesstul offeree to pay costs was cnanged from “shall pay

costs” fo the present language of “must pay costs.” (App. G,

1 The court et appeals stated standard ts:

“Ina litle VEL case the tual judge may exercise his discretion

and allow costs under Rule 68 when, viewed as of the time of

the offer along with consideration of the final outcome of the

case. the offer can be seen to have been made in good faith

and to have had some reasonable relauenship in amount to the

issues. Lingatien risks. and expenses anticipated and involved in

the case.” LooO FE. 2d at 702, A7)

2 A contemporaneous commentary on the newly enacted Rules

stated that the provision directing the offeree to pay coasts

“reheves the offenng defendant of the burden of future costs,

therety constituting an inducement in the making of such offer.”

Tytic, The Fadend® Rules ot Civil Procedure. capra at 304, n. 198.

Ss

A35). The Advisory Committee Notes to the 1948 amendments

do not specifically discuss this change from “shall” to “must”.

However, in the Report of the Advisory Committee on the Pro-

posed Amendments to the Rules of Civil Procedure (repro-

duced in 5 F.R. D. 433 (1946)) it is stated with respect to

Rule 68 that “[defendant’s] first and only offer will operate to

save him the costs from the time of the offer if the plaintiff

ultimately obtains a judgment less than the sum offered.” 5

F.R.D. at 483. Further, a First Draft of the Advisory Com-

mittee, (submitted by Walter P. Armstrong as “Proposed

Amendments To Federal Rules For Civil Procedures” and re-

produced in 4 F.R.D. 124 (1946)) indicates that Rule 68

was changed to “remove ambiguities” and stated that the

amended provision would provide that “no costs shall be re-

coverable by the offeree which were incurred after the making

of an offer equal to or greater than the judgment finally ob-

tained by the offeree, and that he should pay costs from the time

of such offer.” 4 F.R.D at 126. Additionally, in the final

Recommendations of the Advisory Committee (submitted by

Walter P. Armstrong and reproduced at 5 F.R.D. 339

(1946)), the changes in Rule 68 are discussed in the section

titled “Ambiguities Resolved and Unresolved,” wherein the

sentence changing “shall” to “must” is quoted. 5 F. R. D. at 350.

While the comments and intentions of the Advisory Committee

are not binding, they are entitled to considerable weight in in-

terpreting the Federal Rules. See Mississippi Publishing Corp.

v. Murphree, 326 U.S. 438, 444 (1946). The Committee's

intentions with respect to the operation of Rule 68 are clear; a

discretionary operation was neither envisioned nor drafted.

1, “Must” Is Imperative.

The federal courts have had little occasion to decide what

standards of statutory construction govern the use of the word

“must”. Ostensibly that is due to the infrequency with which

9

it is used.* In no case has “must” been interpreted as being

discretionary. In Berg v. Merchant, 15 F.2d 990 (6th Cir.

1926), cert. den. 274 U.S. 738 (1927) the Sixth Circuit in-

terpreted the word “must” in the context of a wills statute and

stated:

“(T]he word ‘must’ is so imperative in its meaning that no

3. Delta’s scrutiny of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, for

example, reveals that “must” is used but three times in addition to

Rule 68:

Rule 14(a)

Otherwise he must obtain leave on motion to all parties. . . .

Rule 30(a)

Leave of court, granted with or without notice, must be ob-

tained only if the plaintiff seeks to take a deposition prior to

the expiration of 30 days... .

Rule 56(e)

When a motion for summary judgment is made and sup-

ported . . . an adverse party . . . must set forth specific

facts showing that there is a genuine issue for trial.

The cases construing the above-referenced provisions have applied

them in a mandatory, non-discretionary manner. See generally,

Rule 14(a): State Mutual Life Assurance Company vy. Arthur

Andersen & Co., 65 F. R. D. 518, 521 (S. D. N. Y. 1975); Meilinger

vV. Metropolitan Edison Company, 34 F.R.D. 143, 145 (E. D. Pa.

1963); 6 WricHT & MILLER, Feperat Practice & PROCEDURE,

S$ 1454 (Rev. ed. 1973).

Rule 30(a): Brause v. Travelers Fire Insurance Co., 19 F.R.D.

231, 234 (S.D.N. Y. 1956); Park & Tilford Distillers Corp. v.

Distillers Co., 19 F.R.D. 169, 171 (S.D.N. Y. 1956); 8 WRIGHT

& MILLER, supra at § 2104.

Rule 56(e}: Adickes v. S. H. Kress & Co., 398 U.S. 144, 160

(1970); Macklin v. Butler, 553 F.2d 525, 528 (7th Cir. 1977);

Felix v. Young, 536 F. 2d 1126, 1135 (6th Cir. 1976); Turof] v.

May Co., 531 F.2d 1357, 1362 (6th Cir. 1976); Modern Home

Institute, Inc. v. Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co., 513 F. 2d

102, 109 (2d Cir. 1975); Stevens v. Barnard, 512 F.2d 876, 878

(10th Cir. 1975); Brown v. Ford Motor Co., 494 F.2d 418, 420

(10th Cir. 1974); Pace v. Southern Express Co., 409 F.2d 331,

334 (7th Cir. 1969); Town House, Inc. v. Paulino, 381 F.2d 811,

814 (9th Cir. 1967); Liberty Leasing Co. Vv. Hillsum Sales Corp.,

380 F. 2d 1013, 1015 (Sth Cir. 1967); Fov v. Norfolk & Western

Railway Co., 377 F.2d 243, 246 (4th Cir. 1967); Fowler v.

Southern Bell Telephone & Telegraph Co., 343 F.2d 150, 154

(Sth Cir. 1965).

10

case has been called to our attention where that word has

been read ‘may’”. 15 F. 2d at 991.

Moreover, the word “may” is used three times in Rule 68. It

is a fundamental principle of statutory construction that “[wJhere

both mandatory and directory verbs are used in the same statute,

... it is a fair inference that the legislature realized the differ-

ence in meaning, and intended that the verbs used should carry

with them their ordinary meaning.” 2A SUTHERLAND STATU-

TORY CONSTRUCTION § 57.11 (4th ed. 1973).

Finally, this Court has recognized that “the meaning of the

statute must, in the first instance, be sought in the language

in which the act is framed, and if that is plain, . . . the sole

function of the courts is to enforce it according to its terms.”

Caminetti v. United States, 242 U.S. 470, 485 (1917). This

Court has previously admonished appellate courts to refrain

from the sort of judicial legislation here involved. In Schlagen-

hauf Vv. Holder, 379 U.S. 104 (1964), Justice Goldberg stated

for the Court:

“The Federal Rules of Civil Proceuure should be liberally

construed, but they should not be expanded by disregard-

ing plainly expressed limitations.” 379 U.S. at 121.

Where courts of appeals have chosen to ignore plain lan-

guage and clear meaning, this Court has interceded. See, e.g.,

Agosto v. Immigration & Naturalization Service, 436 U.S. 748,

754-55 (1978).

The language of Rule 68 is clear and unambiguous. It is

cast in mandatory, non-discretionary language and should be

so interpreted. To do otherwise is to ignore the imperative

“must”, thereby eviscerating the Rule.

2. Progenitor State Laws Compel an Automatic Operation

of Rule 68.

As previously noted, the original adoption of Rule 68 into

the federal rules was based upon similar state court procedures.

Although the Advisory Committee Notes reference only the

1}

states of Minnesota, Montana and New York, several other

states had established procedures for offers of judgment prior to

1938.4

A feview of state court decisions rendered pursuant to the

respective state procedures for offers of judgment, prior to the

enactment of Rule 68, clearly reveals that a mandatory, non-

discretionary imposition of costs under said procedures was

upheld.”

4. See, e.g. California—Cal. Civ. Proc. Code § 997 (West Supp.

1978); Colorado— Yeager v. Campion, 70 Colo. 183, 197 P. 898

(1921); Connecticut—Wordin vy. Bemis, 33 Conn. 216 (1866);

Indiana—Prather v. Pritchard, 26 Ind. 65 (18606); Kansas—-W est

v. Springfield Fire & Marine Ins. Co., 104 Kan. 157, 185 P. 12

(1919); Nebraska—Wachsmuth v. Orient ins. Co., 49 Neb. 590,

68 N. W. 935 (1896); Nevada—Herring-Hall-Marvin Sate Co. v.

Balliet, 44 Nev. 94, 190 P. 76 (1920); Orcgon—Hammond Vv.

Northern Pac. R. Co., 23 Or. 157, 31 P. 299 (1892): South

Dakota—Sioux Falls Adjustment Co. v. Penn Soo Oil Co., 53 §. D.

77, 220 N. W. 146 (1928); Wisconsin—Newton v. Allis, 16 Wis.

210 (1862).

5. For example, in Ranney v. Russel, 3 Duer 689 (Super. Ct.

N.Y. 1854) the New York court iaterpreted section 3858 of the New

York Code, predecessor to the statute noted in the Advisory Commit-

tee Notes to Rule 68, and stated, in part: “If a defendant. . . . wishes

to make an offer, which a plaintiff must accept at the peril of paying

the subsequent costs, unless he recovers a more favorable judgment

than the one offered. . . .” Id. at 690. In Mareulis v. Selaman &

Berck, 223 A. D. 634, 229 N. Y.S. 157 (Super Ct. N. Y. 1928) the

court stated: “[IIf an offer properly made is net accepted, penalty is

provided in the matter of costs after an offer has been tendered and

refused, dependent on the final result.” 229 N. Y.S. at ISS.

In Wachsmuth v. Orient Ins. Co., supra, the Nebraska Supreme

Court held: “It is plainly the purpose of the statute to require in

such case the plaintiff to bear his own costs, and also to bear the

costs of defendant accruing after the offer” 68 N.W. at 957.

In Herring-Hall-Marvin Safe Co. v. Balliet, supra. the Nevada

Supreme Court interpreted its statute and held: “{I}f the plaintiff

fail to obtain a more favorable judgment, he shall not recover costs,

but shall pay the defendant’s costs from the time of the offer.”

190 P. at 77.

In Sioux Falls Adjustment Co. v. Penn Soo Oil Co.. supre, the

South Dakota Supreme Court stated: “As this [plaintiff's judgement]

was less than the amount stated in the offer of judgment. defendant

(Footnote continued on next page.)

12

The conclusion is inescapable that if the drafters of original

Rule 68 intended it to operate in the federal courts as it had

in the various states, an automatic, non-discretionary operation

was mandated.

3. Post Enactment Interpretation Compels an Automatic

Operation of Rule 68.

While there have not been an abundance of cases decided in

which the issue of mandatory versus discretionary application

of Rule 68 has been an issue, the few available decisions support

the mandatory approach.

Directly on point and at odds with the decisions below in the

instant case, is the recent decision of Dyal v. Cleland, 1/9

F.R. D. 696 (D. D.C. 1978). Dual involved a Title VII case

in which the trial court ruled in favor of defendant and dismissed

plaintiff's claim. As part of his dismissal order, Judge Richey

ordered that each party bear its own costs. Thereafter, defend-

ant (the Veteran’s Administration, represented by the United

States Attorney's office in Washington) brought to the court's

attention the fact inat a Rule 68 offer had been made. After

contrasting Rule 54(d) with Rule 68, Judge Richey stated:

“Rule 68 automatically charges the plaintiff with the

defendant's costs incurred after an offer of judgment when

the requirements of the rule are satisfied . . . The plain

language of the rule eliminates the Court’s discretion.” 79

F. R. D. at 697.

In support of his conclusion, Judge Richey cited the only

(Footnote continued from preceding page.)

is entitled to its taxable costs in this court and in the trial court.”

220 N. W. at 147.

Finally, in Hammond v. Northern Pacific R. Co. supra, the

Oregon Supreme Court interpreted its offer of judgment provision

(which stated that a plaintiff who failed to recover a more favorable

judgment shall not recover costs from the time of the offer) to

provide that: “[UJnless the plaintiff accept [the offer], or recover a

more favorable judgment, the defendant is entitled to costs accruing

subsequent to such offer.” 31 P. at 301.

13

other federal decision directly on point, Mr. Hanger, Inc. Vv.

Cut Rate Plastic Hangers, Inc., 63 F.R.D. 607 (E.D.N. Y.

1974). 79 F.R.D. at 697.

In Mr. Hanger, a patent infringement suit, defendant had

made a twenty-five dollar ($25.00) offer pursuant to Rule 68

before trial. After trial, the court ruled for defendant, con-

cluding that plaintiff's patent was invalid. However, under the

discretion permitted by Rule 54(d), costs were not awarded to

defendant. Thereafter defendant brought to the court’s attention

its prior Rule 68 offer and requested all costs incurred after the

making of the offer. Plaintiff argued that the awarding of costs

is always a matter of the court's discretion, even in the presence

of a Rule 68 offer. Judge Re held that:

“Although there is no case directly in point, the express

language of the rule . . . leave[s] no doubt that costs must

be awarded once a proper offer of judgment has been

made. It cannot be questioned that the rule itself is couched

in mandatory terms. .. .” 63 F. R. D. at 610."

Likewise, state courts interpreting identical or similar pro-

Visions as Rule 68, after its amendment in 1948, have had no

difficulty finding an automatic, mandatory intendment to the

6. All other federal cases interpreting Rule 68, while not directly

addressing the issues raised herein, have implicitly accepted the

automatic, non-discretionary operation of Rule 68. See, e.g., Truth

Seeker Co., Inc. v. Durning, 147 F.2d 54, 56 (2d Cir. 1945):

Staffend v. Lake Central Airlines, Inc., 47 F.R.D. 218. 219-20

(N. D. Ohio 1969); Maguire v. Federal C rop Insurance Corp., 9

F. R. D. 240, 242 (W. D. La. 1949), rev'd in part on other erds. 181

F. 2d 320 (Sth Cir. 1950); Nabors v. Texas Co., 32 F. Supp. 91, 92

(W. D. La. 1940); see also 12 Wricut & MILLER, FEDERAL PRAC-

TICE & PROCEDURE, § 3005 (Rev. ed. 1973). Further, in federal

cases which have mentioned Rule 68 either in comparative con-

texts or without any explication of its operation, no indication is

given therein of a discretionary application of said rule. See, e.2.,

Mason v. Belieu, 543 F. 2d 215 (D.C. Cir.) cert. denied 429 U. S.

852 (1976); Thomas v. Trans World Airlines, Inc., 457 F. 2d

1053 (3d Cir. 1972); Scheriff v. Beck, 452 F. Supp. 1254 (D. Colo.

1978); Read v. Baker, 438 F. Supp. 737 (D. Del. 1977), aff'd. 577

F. 2d 728 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 869 (1978): Perkins

Vv. New Orleans Athletics Club, 429 F. Supp. 661 (E. D. La. 1976):

Honea v. Crescent Ford Truck Sales, 394 F. Supp. 201 (E.D.

La. 1975).

operation ef therm respective ules. Phus, the following deersians

SUpPport Phe ni anelatony Hpesthan ab costs: ats Patel of the opera

fon et offers of padyment MiAdautsed vo Dominick, 482 2. 2d

JAS ¢ Alaska 1969) Clnterpreting a proveston identical to fed

eral Rule OS. the Alaska Supreme Court stated) “ATE that ts

requinedd te brag ite play the offence mist pty the costs

portion of Civil Rule G8 as a recavery whieh falls short of the

otter ot pudeanent [Alay other interpretation would) be

comtiaty fo fhe clear meanmy of the text ot the rule. as well

asain derogation of the rule's cationate "fd at dO. Pomeroy

Voi TP Cal App HE BE 986 Cal Rpts S22 CEal App

IYVTTY (A OME ASE S OO ot the Cade of Civil Procedure,

which was worded smlarly fo) Rule O8) with COP 98s

whieh was broader a scope and: couched un the permissive

nav” the court stated “Under COP 9887 costs: frome the

date ef offer are recevened as a imatter of right, whereas

inidet new COP YN Costs are treeovered: at the disere

homoat the eau fe at 476 MY Cal Rpts at Soa),

Sanesreinan VO Metinart 220 Sa Md a7 CEla Apyy 1978)

(Ulan argued that the fermmelogy Comist pay tie costs

wt Dlomda Rule 1 4d0) REPL should be unterpreted as) dis

erehenan and net omandaters Rereting such argument, the

court stated) These arguments are not well taken bromia

reading of faferal cases Loring Nader vO Devas Co. siapral,

eomsimie Rale OS et the Pederal Rules of Cial Procedure,

whieh ts oidemneal fe Rule 144°) ROP. amd from what we

determine f° Be the untent of the Plomda rule. we hold that the

eupress language leaves me doubt chat reasonable costs be

awaniad th Ure defendant The rule itself. as couched i man

Gatory fers ‘Pd at 478.) Condes \. HePman, 19 Wis, 2d

Sta, PN Woda TET EC EM@EY CTE Wasconsit Supreme

Court, etiag an earher case of Novae V. Sperteld, 207 Wis, 248,

od NW SaNSO (TOSS), statad “[Detendants mnght have

ARerad nadement uinter sec 209 O02) Stats in wineh case if

,

the plauiafls had recta the otter and the plaids Gilad to

recever a mnwe (4. wrabic janigmient the defendants would have

i)

been entitled to full costs.” 19 Wis. 2d at 238, 120 N.W, 2d

at 138). see also Krawiee V. Aratt, 163 Conn, 445, 311 A. 2d

R82 (1972); Crudup \. Marrero, ST N. J. 383, 273 A. 2d 16

(1971). Benda Vv. Fana, 1O Ohio St, 2d 259, 227 N. E. 2d 197

(1967).

Its abundantly clear that the court of appeals herein ignored

precedent and persuasive reasoning from all available sources

when it chose te climinate the “technical” requirement of the

rule i the instant case. This Court: should therefore review

and redress the lower courts emasculation of Rule 08.

B. Rule 54(d) Has Been Effectively Duplicated by the Court

of Appeals Redrafting of Rule 68.

The present “American” position regarding the litigation bur-

dens of costs rs the product of a gradual seven hundred year

evolution. At the outset, the common law denied costs to both

Partics. Ri vcksTONE’S COMMENTARIES 398-400) (Lewis ed.

1887). Although the losing party was lable to the Crown tor at

least a nominal sum, neither unsuccesstul plaintit® nor defendant

Wais faved for costs payable to the prevailing opponent. Good-

hart, Coss 38 Yart bo J. 848 882 (1929). In the early

thirteenth century, the courts began to award to prevailing plain-

ifs a reasonable sum as costs of prosecuting their rightful

clams Note. 49 Yare Lb. J. 689, 700 (1940). This practice

Was noida frm rule. however, unul the Statute of Gloucester

(O Rdwo deg bl 27S) >. wherein costs to the prevailing plaintiff

were made mandatory. Over the next several hundred vears, a

scenes of enactments provided for cosis to successful defendants

Wa Variety of enumerated actions culminating in a 1607 statute

(4 James Lg 3) which gave costs to the prevailing defendants

ut all those achons where prevailing plainuitfs would be entitled

‘ . ’

te) COSTS

In the Supreme Court of Judicature Act of 1878, (38 and 39

Nact 6. 77 CESTS)). Order SS of the Rules of Court attached

16

wy the Act orovided that “the costs of an incident to all proceed

ings inthe High Court shall be inthe diseretion of the Court”

This short order was expanded in E883 when the Rules of Court

were substintially rewertten

The above history of the imposition of costs in Pnghand per

tains only to the practice at haw Ta equity, the giving of costs

was entirely discretionary, Jones \. Coverer, 2 Atk, dOO CL742)

Therefore the merger of law and equity in the Judheature Net of

I87S and the attendant Rules of Court made no basic change in

CqUHty Costs

Prior to the promulyation of the Bederal Rules of Civil Pro

cedure, the Amerean position regarding costs was that the pre

Vatling party man action at law was entitled to costs as of right

Justice Brander: stated the prnerple

“While in equity proceedings the allowance and unposition

of costs rs. unless controtled byw statute or tule of court a

matter of discretion, uohas been unitormly held that in

achons at law the prevailing party is entitled to costs: as

of right. except in thease few cases where by express statu

tory provision oor by established principles costs are

demed ~

In Re Pererson, ISU VS WO, FETUS E19)

The decision whieh most sharply lustrates the binding power

ot the rule giving costs to the winner in litigation was lo nited

Nrates \— Sehurs, W2 LOS. C12 Otted 407 CESST). Tn that

case pudgaent was obtained against Mr Schurz for the aman

ner in whieh he had discharged certam ofhoial duties as Secretary

of the Latenor Ne ritentional wrong was charged agaist him,

and the lower court felt that it would be wrong to require him

to par costs out ot his own pocket, An order was therefore made

that cach party should pay his own costs. The Supreme Court

svinpathized with the defendant but felt compelled to reverse

ihe order

“LA) ecaretal examination of the authorities leaves us ne

option bat to follow the rule that the prevailing party shall

17

recover of the unsuccessful one the legal costs which he has

expended in obtaining his rights.” 102 U.S. at 408.

As was stated above, in England equitable costs were always

discrctionary. That same status existed in American equity juris-

dictions as well:

“In actions at law costs follow the result as of course, but

in equity costs not otherwise governed by statute are given

or withheld in the sound discretion of the court according

to the facts and circumstances of the case.”

Aansas City Southern Railway Co, v. Guardian Trust Co., 281

U.S. 1,9 (1929).

Very much as law and equity merged in England in 1875, the

two bars jomned in this country in the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure with the result that in tederal cases the trial court

generally has broad discretion as to costs at law as well as in

equity, © Moorr’s Proerar Pracricr § S4.70[3} (2d) ed.

1970)

While the use of discretion as a judicial safety valve to avoid

abuses of the general rule is certamly desirable, objective stand-

ards would seem to be necessary to avoid abuses of the disere-

tion, In England the Taxing Master under court: rules may

allow only those costs necessary for defending the rights of any

party. Greenberger, The Cost ot Justice, An American Problem,

4n English Solution, 9 Nut. Lo Rev. 400, 402 no 9 (1964).

In the United States, restraints on the courts discretion to levy

costs have developed gradually through case law so that the

discretion, in most circuits, is not unbridled.

Indeed, most circuits impose a requirement that the trial

court articulate justification for not allowing costs to the pre-

vailing party or there will be a finding of abuse of dis-

cretion.

7. See generally, Shima \. Brown, 140 F. 2d 337 (DOC. Cir)

cert. denied, 318 U.S. 787 (1943): Compania Pelineon de Nare-

gacion V. Texas Petroleum Co, 840 F. 2d 83 (2d Cir. 1970) cert.

(Footnote continued on next page.)

Is

By its untoward construction of Rule 68, therein granting

broad discretion to the tral judge, the court of appeals in the

instant case has not only rendered Rule 6&8 essentially duplica-

tive of Rule S4¢d) inca Tithe VEE contest, but has ignored the

considerable historical evolution of rules with respect to costs.

Rule Sd0d) presumes, absent special delineated circumstances,

that the prevarhiog party will be awarded costs. (See cases cited

note 7. supra). Rule O8. oa the other hand. rests not on dis

tinetions of prevailing litigants, but on judgments ultimately

rendered. Tt provides insurance against the obdurate plamiii,

and contimns its own set of internal incentives. Tt offers protec-

thon te the defendant who os willing, before tral to settle a case

by giving plamtil more than the court eventually decides plain

tit ws due

Its axiomatic that rules of the courts are net to be construed

as individually isolated rules, but rather should be interpreted

as a harmonious whole. Nasser \. Isthmian Lines, 331 6. 2d 124,

127 (2d Car 1964) Only a mandatory construction of Rule

OS ensures that wt has significance independent of Rule S4(d),

and that the two rules are allowed to achieve historical intend-

ments

(Footnote continued from preceding page. )

demed, 429 US. L041 (1977). ADM Corp. v. Speedmastic Packag-

ine Corp, S28 bk. 2d O62 (3d Cur, 1978); Constantino \. American

ST Achilles, S80 F.2d 121 (4th Cur, 1978), Walters vo Roadway

Eupress, S87 F.2d S22 (Sth Cir, 1977): Lichter Foundation, Inc

Vv. Welch, 269 F.2d 142 (oth Cir, 1989), Popeil Brothers, Inc. v.

Schick Electric. Inc., $16 F.2d 772 (7th Cur. 1978); Chicago Sugar

Co. Nv. American Sugar Refining Co. 176 F.2d 1 (7th Cir. 1949),

cert. denied, 338 U.S. 948 CLYSO): Subscription Television, Inc. v.

Southern Calitornia Theatre Owner's Assoc, 876 F. 2d 230 (9th

Cir. 1978).

19

By Its Admitted Rewriting of Rule 68, the Court of

Appeals Exceeded Its Authority.

The court of appeals held that it did “not propose to permit

a technical interpretation of a procedural rule to chill” Title

VIL litigation, (600 F. 2d at 701, A6). By inferentially inter-

preting the word “must” to mean “may”, if so required by the

court, the court of appeals has rewritten Rule 68.

A. The Supreme Court Has Primary Responsibility for

Promulgating the Federal Rules.

Congress, by the enactment in 1934 of the Rules Enabling

Act. 28 U.S.C. § 723 b et seg., Courrent version at 28 U.S.C.

$$ 2071, 2072 (1970) ), empowered the United States Supreme

Court to promulgate rules of practice and procedure in’ the

district courts. Upon taking effect, the Federal Rules et Civil

Procedure acquired the force of federal statutes, contro! ng all

district courts. Sibbach v. Wilson & Company, 312 U.S. 1, 13

(1041); United States v. Brandt, & F.R.D. 163, 164-65

(D. Mont. 1948); C.J. Wieland & Son Dairy Products Co. V.

Wickard, 4 FR. D. 250, 252 CE. D. Wis. 1945).

The proper construction and application of the Federal Rules

has traditionally been a subject of great concern to this Court

See, e.g., Schlagenhauf \. Holder, 379 U.S. 104, Ttt-t2

(1964); La Buy v. Howes Leather Co., 352 U.S. 249, 256

(1957): Los Angeles Brush Mtg. Co. v. James, 272 U.S. 701,

706 (1927).* Indeed, this Court has manifested iis responsi-

8. This Court, since the enactment of the Federal Rules in 1938.

has interpreted and given guidelines for proper application of the vast

majority of the extant rules. See, ¢.¢., Beacon Theatres \ Westover,

359 U.S. 500 (1959) (Rules 1, 2. 18. 38. 42 & 87). Reem \

Merchants Transfer & Warehouse Co., 337 U.S. 530 (1949) (Rules

(Footnote continued on next page.)

20

bilities with respect to the cules by allowing the extraordinary

writ of mandamus to issue where a lower court has acted in

derogation of the rules. In Lov Angeles Brush Mig. Co., Chief

Justice Taft, for a unanimous court, stated:

“(Wie think it clear that where the subject concerns the

enforcement of the... rules which by law it ts the duty

of this court to formulate and put in foree, oo 2. it may

use its power of mandamus and deal directly with the dis

trict court in requiring it to conform to them.” 272 U.S.

at 706,

(Pootnote continued from preceding page.)

VR 4). Manna vo Plamer, 3800S. 400 C19OS) CRule 4). Jones A

Laughlin Steel Corp. \. Gridiron Steel Co, AB2 US. S2 CF E9GS)

(Rule 6). Conley vo Gibvon, JSS US. 4b C1987) CRules 8 & 12),

Southern Constructon Co. Vv. Pickard, 371 US. S87 C19O2) CRule

14), Owen bquipmrent & Erection Co vo Aroger, 447 US. 30S

(1978) CRule 14). United States vo Moueham, Jo4 US) ALO

(19YGO) CRules TS & 16). ban Dusen vo Rarrack, 376 US. O12

(1964) CRule 17): Provident: Tradesmen Bank & Trust Con vy.

Xattervon, JMO US. 102 C198) CRule 19). United States \

Mississippe, AWOOU S128 CL9OS) CRule 20), State Farm Fire &

Casualiy Co ov. Tashire, SOULS) 8243 CL9O7) CRule 22). Ameri-

can Pipe & Construction Co Vv. Utah, 414 US. S38 (1974) CRules

DAR 24). Row vo Bernhard, MOUS SAE CL97O) CRules 24.1, 38

& 42). Robertson Vo Weemann, 446 US) S84 (1978) CRule 28);

Hickman Vo Tavlor, 329 US 498 (1947) CRules 26-37). Link v

Wabash Railroad Co. 370 US O26 C1967) CRule 40). Farner

frabian American Oil Co. 37H US 227 (19O4) CRules 48 & S54);

Colerove \) Battin, 443 US) 149 (1979) CRule 48): Veely vo bby

Construction Co. Oo US Al? Cl9O7T) CRule SO), Weade s

Dichmann, Wrieht & Pugh, inc 337 US. SOL C1949) CRule SI);

Zenith Radio Corp. V. Hazeltine Research, Ine, 39S US. 100

(1969) (Rule $2): Mathews vo Weber, 423 US. 261 C1976)

(Rule 83); Pishgold vo Sullivan Drvdowk & Repair Corp, 328 US

278 (1940) (Rule 84): ddiches voSo MH Kress & Co, 98 US

144 (1970) (Rule 86); United States Vv. Indrelunas, 411 US. 216

(1973) (Rule 88): Forman vo Davis, JTL ULS. 178 (1962) CRules

89, OO & 73): Mercer v. Theriot, 377 US. 182 (1964) CRule 61).

Granny Goose Foods, Inc v. Teamsters Local No. 70, 418 US.

$23 (1974) (Rule 68): United States vo Reynolds, 397 U.S. 14

(1970) (Rule TIA): Woltsoln vo Hankin, 376 US. 203 (1964)

(Rule 73): Hill vo Hawes, 320 US. §20 (1944) (Rules 77 & 79);

Porchess Vv. Davis, 421 U.S. 482 (1975) (Rule 81): Snvder v.

Harris, 394 US. 332 (1969) (Rule 82): United States v. Hvass,

386 LS 870 (1988) (Rule 83): and MeCrone v. United States,

307 U_ S. 61 (1939) (Rule 86).

21

Accord, Schlagenhauf v. Holder, 379 U.S. at 111-12; La Buy

Vv. Howes Leather Co., 352 U.S. at 256.

The instant case represents the first substantive construction

of the cost-shifting provisions of Rule 68 by a court of appeals.

Its interpretation has resulted in its declination to follow the

rule as written. While district and circuit courts unquestionably

have the right to interpret the rules, they have no authority to

extirpate and effectively nullify them. The court of appeals

exceeded its authority aad this Court should grant review to

remedy that usurpation.

B. Redrafting of the Rules Should Be Done by Legislation,

Not Judicial Interpretation.

Under the guise of interpretation, the court of appeals has

admittedly redrafted Rule 68. Without regard to the policy

arguments for or against a mandatory construction and opera-

tion of the rule in a Tithe VIP context, the court of appeals has

erroneously encroached upon the legislative function, This Court

has consistently held that fundamental changes in the Federal

Rules are subjects for rulemaking, not judicial decision, Thus,

in Harris Vv. Nelson, 394 U.S. 286 (1969), this Court stated:

“We have no power to rewrite the Rules by judicial interpreta-

tions.” 394. US. at 298. And in United States v. Robinson, 361

U.S. 220 (1960), in a case involving interpretation of Federal

Rules of Criminal Procedure 37(a)(2) and 45(b), this Court

stated:

“That powerful policy arguments may be made both for

and against greater flexibility . . . is indeed evident. But

that policy question, involving, as ii does, many weighty

and conflicting considerations, must be resolved through

the rule-making process and not by judicial decision.” 36]

U. S. at 229.

Further, in United States v. Isthmian Steamship Co., 359

U.S. 314 (1959), in response to the Government's arguments

that the setoff and cross-libel procedures and rules operative in

Admiralty proceedings were in need of revision. Chief Tustice

Warten declared Gor a uiammeus court

The Gavernment contends that the rule has become

OW anachronism amd is cout oat tine wilh the practee in

specie commis and with the general cules af practtee for

federal courts: Tat it should be observed that where the

procedure as beon changed in this regard it las been the

rosutt ot teptstation on rufenmaking and: net the deeisronal

PPCUSS We think that th the Taw is te change if

showld be by colemaking of lepistation and not by dee

TTT ee US|

Rule OS on au umpertat and qitegeal partet the cules govern

my btipants om federal courts Vithough wide usage of the tute

’

by defendants was et cially Gorton rb new appears te

ho pare, QNeetCu hari or suis seman fo the crstamt ane!"

Maoreover several state topistatures thawe adoptod identical pre

Visnos as Rule @8' > and state courts are relying om the federal

courts for guidanmee i applying them respective rules See eg

Merrnader Vo Travelers Davee Car UV Sa dd VIN, VAT

tla Yep 19°70). Natevtetaan VO Mera, F20 So Sd 470,

HPN CVU App POTS Danie Vv Chem STEP Sd ats, AST

(Masha POO Uy Phis Court tras un the past noted: and: accepted

HA OHM POTLANE Teapecsriihiay fe prewide the mecessaey gurdanmee

my ge apyMieation af the Pederal Rules As stated: by Tustice

Curvldbour mn Novagen fait

[Miho assne comeecrm the constriction and: applieation of

the Doderal Rules of Crt Procedure Ths dus approprrate

for us de detente on dhe arertts he issues: presented: and

to toemulate the necessary guidelines un this area 279

LoS at lie

v Nex Note, Rauie SN 4 \ n Pon bo l ede Qatar, iY 'S

Waar Lob SSM C18 7s)

v | rr sw \N. Canter 4Ne H cd | 377 ( th Cn |v PS)

Bead 482 Bo Supp bo84 CD Cole 19o8), Read

Sb. Supp. 737 CD. Del, 1977), afd. 877 Bo dd 728 (ad

Ow), cen. demed, 4389 LLS. SOO CI9I8S), Daal vo Cleland, 79

rR Oe (DDC. 19808). wee wemeraiv, Scurei AND: Grass

MOAN EMEP OVEN TD TRscrtan ation Law. Ei48-4@ (197)

li See ee Alaska ROC POS. Ane RO Cw POS, DCR

On Po os) Ma R Ow PL 4dt. New R Cr Pos

pm)

This Court should grant review and give the reasoned guid-

ance required. ‘That responsibility should not be abdicated and

conferred upon a court of appeals. The conclusion of this Court

in United States Vv. Robinson, JEL USS. 220 C1960), is: par-

ficularly compelling herein: “Whatever may be the proper

resolution of the policy question involved, it was beyond: the

power of the Court of Appeals to resolve it” JOT US. at 230.

Tithe VIE Cases Do Not Warrant a Redrafting of Rule 68.

The court of appeals held that its decision was applicable

only to Tithe VED cases. (600 FF. 2d at 702, A7.) This result is

contrary to clearly established precedeat of this Court.

A. Exceptions to the Federal Rules Are Not Favored.

This Court has consistently held that in order to provide

certunty to district courts and avoid confusion by litigants, a

uniform application of the Federal Rules is required. See, e.g.

United States vo Indrelunas, 441 U.S. 216, 219-21 (1973),

United States vo BO & M. Schaefer Brewing Company, 356 U.S.

227, SOUL CLYSR): City of Morgantown Vv. Royal Insurance

Co. Ltd, 337 US. 254, 258 (1949); see also cases cited note

Ro ovupra

More spectheally, this Court has rejected arguments that

particular kinds of cases warrant dispensations from the un-

ambiguous requirements of the Federal Rules. Thus, in Eisen v.

Carlisle & Jacquelin, 417 U.S. 156 (1974), in a case interpret-

ing the requirements of Rule 23(¢)(2), the Court stated:

“The short answer to these arguments is that individual

notice to identitiable class members is not a discretionary

consideration to be waived in a particular case. It is, rather,

an unambiguous requirement of Rule 23... . There is

nothing in Rule 23 to suggest that the notice requirements

can be talored to fit the pocketbooks of particular plain-

tiffs.” 417 ULS. at 176.

24

And in First National Bank of Arizona v. Cities Service Co,

AOE S. 284 (186K), this Court explicitly rejected the sup

gestion that Rule S6¢e) should. in effect, he read out of anti

trust cases, VOT US. at 288-90.

Title VL claimants do not require the obsequiousness be

stowed by the court ot appeals in the instant case. Hf that result

had heen intended. Conetess could have amended Rule 68 when

HW enacted the Civil Rights Actoof L894) Tt didi not. therefore

the subsequently enacted law should be interpreted compatibly

with the Federal Rules. See Unrermever \. Lidelity Daily In

come Trust, TOR ROD 46. 458 CD Mass. L97R)) Rule O8. an

iis plainty written terms. should apply equally to Tithe VIE hit

pants, See SOUT TER GROSSMAN, spr at LId6.6f Jones. City

of San Antone, S68 bo Od 1224, 1226 (Sth Cir, 1878) (Ap

plying Rule S4cd) without exception for Tithe VEE claimant).

Rormann Vv. Lone Island Prews Publishing Co. VAY Supp

OST O84 (EDN VY. 1974) (Applying Rule 2) without ex

ception fer Tidle VU claimant)

BR. The Court of Appeals Ignored This Court's Decision

in Christiansburg Garment Co. v. KFEOC,

The court of appeals suggests that were it foreed to follow

the plam language of Rule 68, such an approach nught “chill

the pursuit” to seek judicial relief bv individuals myured) byw

racial discnmination. (OOO bo dd at 701, AG) Delta submits

that such fears. if relevant. are unfounded. A legitimate Title

NUL plata ws afforded vast: protection without emasculating

Rule 68

VW plainatl prevails. costs ad attorneys fees are generally

awarded. Civil Rights Act of 1964. ax amended, 42 US. ¢

§ 2000e-S(K)." This is clearly contrary to the normal opera

12. “Ta any action or proceeding under this subchapter the court,

in tis discretion, may allow the prevailing party, other than the

Commission or the United States, a reasonable attorney's fee as

part of the costs. and the Commission and the United States shail

he hable for coasts the same as a private person.” 42 US,

S 2000¢-8(k).

25

tion of our legal system, but is based upon the desire to protect

those wronged by discriminatory treatment in secking redress

This Court bas further protected Tithe VIE plamtils by declar

ing that attorneys’ fees will not be awarded to successful de

fondants unless the action brought as) frivelous. unreasonable

or vexatious. Christiansbure Garment Co Vv Equal Employ-

ment Opportunity Commission, ASE US AN2, 422 Cl9OTR)

Of critical importance to the instant case, however. ts the

fact that ino Christiansburg, this Court mterpreted a statute

which speciically provided for the allowance of attorney's fees

in the cournt’s diveretion. Us opimen was intended to give guid

ance to district courts forced to exercise the discretion directed

by the statute Dhis Court adicated that there were policy

reasons for treating prevarling: defendant, differently than. pre

vanhing plamtdls. thus the articulation of diverse standards wath

respect to awarding attorneys: fees

Rule 68, however, expresses no latitude. Tt provides for no

discretion, and needs no purded interpreiation ots applica

tion is limited solely to defendants who offer to settle, prior

to trial, inan amount nm excess of that which plantff ultimately

receives. Ht insures only costs, not attorneys’ fees, and its opera

tion is clearly mandatory. Tas intended to protect. as rt should,

a defendant who is willing to settle a case by giving plaintiff

more than the court eventually decides plamtff ss due. How

can that possibly “chill” a legitimate plantif? Tt may force an

honest appraisal of the worthiness of plants claim, bat isnt

that what the rule is intended to do?

Rule 68 fills a void. It fairly protects a defendant who wants

to avoid litigation, and settle at an amount in excess of that

duc the plaintiff. It protects that defendart by insuring that at

13. The drafters of the Federal Rules were well aware of the

specific means for vesting lower courts with discretion Phe exphest

language “in its discretion” or “unless the court otherwise (directs)

orders” is used in Federal Rules 6(b), 12(4), [Sfa), 16, 240b),

2o(a), 26(bS, 26(d), 29, 54(d), 58, 62a), 620b), 62(c), 63

and 7IA(h).

26

least the costs of litigation, absent attorneys’ fees, will be

awarded. In the Christiansburg case this Court interpreted the

Congressional instruction (that a court may grant attorneys’

fees to the prevailing party in a Title VII case) to mean that a

prevailing defendant may be granted attorneys’ fees when the

suit is frivolous or vexatious. This is a lower standard for the

imposition of attorneys’ fees than the common law standard

of “bad faith”. See Christiansburg v. EEOC, 434 U.S. at 417

n. 9. Apparently Congress and this Court did not feel that this

lowered standard would “chill the pursuit” of legitimate Title

VII plaintiffs.

Likewise, the intuaded mandatory operation of Rule 68 will

not “chill” the legitimate Title VII plaintiff.

IV.

The Court of Appeals Ignored Its Own Standards in

Denying Delta Costs.

Assuming, arguendo, that the court of appeals had some

basis for revising Rule 68 and substituting its discretionary test,

it nonetheless abused its discretion by not awarding costs to

Delta.

In the first instance, wholly apart from the standards of Rule

68, are the prescriptions of Rule 54(d). As previously dis-

cussed (see Argument I, B, supra) Rule 54(d) embodies the

long evolved principle that a prevailing party is entitled to its

reasonable litigation cosis. The Seventh Circuit has, in response

to situations involving denial of costs to prevailing parties, re-

ferred to such denial as a “penalty” and has adopted a require-

ment that to extract such a “penalty” a trial court must indicate

that defendant engaged in bad faith or deliberate confusion.

Chicago Sugar Co. Vv. American Sugar Refining Co., 176 F. 2d

1, 11 (7th Cir. 1949), cert. denied, 338 U.S. 948 (1950).

Furthermore, the Seventh Circuit has indicated that it is the

27

unsuccessful party’s burden to show that the prevailing party

should be penalized by a denial of costs. Popeil Brothers, Inc.

v. Schick Electric, Inc., 516 F.2d 772, 776 (7th Cir. 1975).

This latter requirement cannot be met by a mere showing that

“the unsuccessful party was an ordinary party acting in gocd

faith.” Id.

In the instant case neither the trial court nor the court of

appeals gave any indication that Delta acted in bad faith. To

the contrary, although stating that the case was not frivolous

(A18). the court of appeals held that plaintiff's evidence was

“superficial, incomplete, inadequate or otherwise defective.”

(A16.) Similarly, the trial court stated that it had “no dif-

ficulty in reaching its decision.” (A24.) Neither court suggested

that Delta had done anything wrong, either in its treatment of

plaintiff or in its conduct at trial. Accordingly, by the appellate

court’s own standards, Delta should have been awarded costs

pursuant to Rule 54(d). To hold otherwise is clearly an abuse

of discretion.

Secondly, even under the court of appeals newly articulated

standard for the operation of Rule 68 in a Title VII case,

Delta should have been awarded costs. The test is that the offer

must have been made in good faith and have had some reason-

able relationship (whatever that means) to the issues, litiga-

tion risks and expenses of the case. (600 F. 2d at 702, A7.)

Consider the untenable position Delta was placed in at

the outset of the instant suit. It discharged a flight attendant

who was not properly performing her job. Through no tault of

its own, a lawsuit was not filed until a year and five months

later; requesting back pay and reinstatement, and claiming dam-

ages for alleged defamation. Delta was convinced that it had

violated no law and had not defamed plaintiff, yet it faced ex-

pensive and protracted litigation. Attempts to settle were un-

successful; the plaintiff was obdurate. There could be no as-

surance, even when ultimately successful in defense, that Delta

would recover court costs, much less attorneys’ fees. Therefore,

28

based on its absolutely correct appraisal that it had done nothing

wrong, it offered nevertheless to have judgment taken against

it and actually pay a sum of $450 to a plaintiff who deserved

nothing.

The gnawing question, left unanswered by the court of ap-

peal’s redrafting of Rule 68 and its imposition of a new test

is, simply, What is a reasonable good faith amount which must

be offered to someone who has not been wronged and deserves

nothing? Under these circumstances, it is, we respectfully sub-

mit, an ineredible determination that Delta’s offer was not

made in good faith.

The test used by the court of appeals is not supported by

the clear language of Rule 68; but beyond that, the district

court and court of appeals’ determination is not supported by

the test. This Court should grant review to redress this obvious

abuse of discretion.

29

V.

CONCLUSION.

The court of appeals compounded failures herein, first by

ignoring the unambiguous application of Rule 68, second by

rewriting Rule 68 for Title VII plaintiffs, third by failing to

follow its own redrafted rule, have brought to life Voltaire’s

admonition that: “I was never ruined but twice—once when

I gained a lawsuit, and once when I lost one.”

This Court should not countenance such an untoward result.

Accordingly, a writ of certiorari should issue for review of the

judgment and opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Seventh Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

E. ALLAN KOVAR,

Max G. BRITTAIN, JR.,

Burr E. ANDERSON,

The Law Offices of

E. ALLAN Kovar, P.C.,

Suite 1526,

100 South Wacker Drive.

Chicago, Illinois 60606,

Counsel for Delta Air Lines, Inc.

Of Counsel:

ROBERT S. HARKEY,

GREGORY L. RIGGs,

Delta Air Lines, Inc.

Hartsfield Atlanta

International Airport,

Auanta, Georgia 30320.

. =a a

. ‘

APPENDICES.

es

Order of the Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

denying petition for rehearing and suggestion for hear-

ing en banc (August 28, 1979) ......--..5-008:

Opinion of the Court of Appeals en the Rule 68

rea

Unreported opinion of the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Illinois on the Rule 68

a OR oe oe oe ae a ea

Unpublished opinion of the Court of Appeals on the

EG ce U rk ona e kee ee eee seers

Unreported opinion of the United States District Court

EON ee

Proof of Service and Offer of Judgment ...........

Rule 68; as enacted effective September 16, 1938;

as amended effective March 19, 1948; as amended

I ES Shas oe ess ocd no sane oo i

PAGE

Al

Al5

Al9

A33

Al

APPENDIX A.

flere Srares Cortror or Aprrars

For the Seventh Circuit

Chicage, Hhinots 60604

August 28, 1979

Refore

Hos Ponrer A Seereuee, Cirenit Judge

Hos Pores Wo Lose. ¢frenit Indge

How Harrinaron Woon Ie Cirenit Inder

Appeal from the United

States Pristrict Court

for the Northern

Posratapy Anegerer.

Plaintiff? Appellee.

Nir 78.9919 te Pristrict of Filinois,

Fastern Division

Pye ra Arp Passes. fave No. 77 C 95S

Ferliers

Delendant Appellant sets ae ore

OOP TER

On consideration of the petition for rehearing and suggestion

for rehearing fn bane fled in the above entitled cause by counsel

for the defendant appellant, mo judge in active service has

requested) a vote thereon, and all of the judges on the original

panel have voted to deny a rehearing Accordingly,

Ir Is Ornrern that the aforesaid petition for rehearing he,

and the same is hereby, Deatvren

‘rrhstee of

RYE Pree mend revete prone try fitle vor Of the ¢ jit

Piphte Aetot Gnd gage S08 Mittin py a |

ie Ate Pe peg ables Niereunpy brad Ail Talat Be) ST

Te Peet tered engy ee Oh prdpene rt tes PE ity thes crore

to Lea Here bee dineg rrvete py Whore ye Pane WOOHOO Fey Hate

PSHE HTT bry Bittn HO ost thy. Veteral Dilan Of Civil Prrodipe t

METITIE Laer Jer tert then dng

Nee nee metaget # 9S Mey Wap gy trial fi tha Wer rieninaticny

eHerpe the Mena , HOt DDD Obyeny Orci thes plorrtifh bo

MAR ed) eT eee twlitng tre ebyrvey pay tal Ave, Peer atin

she bel Podbaed ayy ratty the bitten sf Peep taeial Aieepipny

Merete ity merrePatnm ithe Viton ethinyl Mee Neth Ol Venn

Op Vite Sintee AVE 1) @ ane CTIIN vpyeg LV Pepe

I ttoline type firrn ALE TE & poe (1974)? Accordingly.

the trial jute mertapard A Adda Le Of the AohendAane and

bee J Ca prorty ter bem ite ‘Wn oriete mF Mtipaticny

Phat La ftir iAee

y

At mei bien trirvee Meme Pfs Hay broPripe the op Y he gine a porty

lol se Hitee THM Ie! mW later pry ty Ye tn the arfyapen party an

las 4 levee brtclperrrenee ‘, fabkor 2Pomet him fee the money

P ptieperiy te te the afhans prectiod in bee Aas WIth Crete Phen

rere OF mittin It Have mftee tha enpy, Of the offer phe

mst ous Patty carves FIP tem ppeyes thos the ar ie weentad,

wtibens party tray then ty thy iff + INA Arena” of Ieee NtaAnce

frome thar with rr Wtf éa¥ viene thaeas and ther ‘upon the ly ad

ehrall meytny jnAprnent An of fr net accented ahall ta Aeomed

HMw ae » Maree sheen Wie are MmMice hla yrent in 4a

trem aribee ts, Hetevrninn AAws ff hh. pilamens Ga Why Ntanod

[ th Herne ie tev preven Prcvoop aby ‘han the sffar the oforen

reveee? fay thie pevete jp, mrted aftar tha on king OF the Affae rhe

Fant threat wey ebbane fe Premio Pree rest ae rapicd Aen are prechode ’

cttbremepremet (Atay When the fat lity Af ARa PYETY TO anOhee Hye

bieme, Ne te verrryacd by vaedice rr ofrler Ar pylaoment Sot othe

wrrscettey! crt welmnt 7h the liability pemaine ta Bn determined hey

Fite thins Preecedinge thy preety wi rwiger hable may make a”

fleas off beget arbink thall have tha tame offact ae an Far

trimle bebrren teint if i ie cap ad within 4 reasonable time ane

leee than If) theye prior te the CAM MeAcement af hearings ta

leterinine the amen ve pvtent af liahility

hie cemmet tne firmed the Aictricr -, whan the merite of the

rte VET beter bry 8 eeparate Ardar reed hic date surcnane tn

firemit Rule 44

ae

Ad

Pursuant to Rule 68 the defendant then filed a motion for

costs incurred after the date of the Rule 68 offer, The motion

was denied.” We affirm and add only a few comments in

support of Judge Hoffman's holding. At the time the order was

timely tendered, the plaintiff's alleged actual damages from the

loss of her employment for the preceding 19 months exceeded

$20,000, not including attorneys’ fees and costs. Plaintifl also

anticipated possible reinstatement as a flight attendant. Although

plaintil did not succeed in her discrimination claim, it was not

frivolous. Plaintiff presented some evidence suggesting racial

bias. The trial judge found that plainufl, although guilty of

4. In denying the motion, Senor District Court Judge Hothman

explained:

While there is litthe authority on the point, this court. ts

satistied that in order to be effective, a Rule 68 offer must be

nade ina good faith attempt to settle the parties’ higation and,

thus, must be at least arguably reasonable.

If the purpose of the rule is to encourage settlement, it os

impossible for this court to concede that this purpose can be

furthered or aided by an offer that ts not at least: arguably

reasonable.

At the time this offer of $450 was made this litigation was

approximately four months old) While the offer was intended

ty be received in full settlement of the parties’ dispute, it ts

unlikely that such a small sum of money would even have fully

satisfied the plaintil’s then incurred costs in attorneys fees

lt must also be remembered that the plaintiff was given some

encouragement as to the merit of her claim from the findings of

the Pqual Employment Opportunity Commission, Additionally,

a suceessful lingant inca Tithe VIL case is as a general rule

entitled not only to reinstatement, but also to back pay plus

costs and attorneys fees.

Finally, while the court did ultimately find itself constrained

ty enter its judgment for the defendant, the court certainly did

net find the planutt’s claim to be wholly specious. In- the

opinion of this court and in the particular facts and circum

stances of this case, an offer of only the sum of $450 could onty

have been effective were the phuntifl’s claim totally lacking im

ment or were there present additional factors which would

mutigate in faver of the defendant.

For the reasons T have stated, the court concludes that. the

defendant's Rule 68 offer of May 12, 1977 did not constitute

an effective offer.

AS

poor and unacceptable performance, rendered good service on

occasion. Her file revealed a record of some company awards

and compliments from co-workers and passengers.

Against that general background, the Rule 68 offer of judg-

ment of less than S$SOG6 before tral is not of such significance im

the contert of this case to justify serious consideration by the

plantll At oral argument the defendant urged that even an

offer of $10 would have met the requirements of Rele 6% and

served the purpose of shifting cost lability. If that were so, a

nunimal Rule 6& offer made in bad faith could become a routine

practice bv defendants seeking cheap insurance agaist costs

The useful vitality of Rule 68 would be damaged! U nrealistic

use of the rule would not cncourage settlements, avoid pro

tracted btigation or reheve courts of vexatious litigation

The detendant’s arguments to the contrary that the allowance

of costs is automatic and non-discretionary evidences that the

issuc ts not free from doubt The defendant points to the lan

guage of the rule where there is no specific requirement that the

offer be “reasonable” or un “good faith” If the dgment finally

obtained by the offerce is not more favorable than the offer, the

offerce “must” pay the costs incurred after the making of the

offer, Fed. Ro Civ. Po 68) The defendant contends that it is

entitled to the benefit of the rule if the technical requisites of

the rule have been observed.

The defendant claims that, unless Rule 6% 1s rigidly followed,

the rule will overlap the tral judges express discretion under

Rule S4¢d), which provides costs to the prevailing party unless

4. The concept onginated in state practice and was novel to the

federal courts when the federal rules were adopted in 1938 © Wright

& A. Miller, Federal Practice and Procedure Civil § 300) (1973)

The general principle was cnunciated in Crete her \ Jovce, 146 F 2d

STR, $20 (10th Cir, 1945), where the Tenth Circuit. sitting as an

equity court and without referring to the rule. held that a plaintiff

may be denied costs when he sucs vexatiously after refusing an offer

of setthement and then recovers practically the same sum previously

offered. At feast in cases such as that, Rule 68 provides a just and

fair procedure to all concerned parties.

A6

the court directs otherwise. In spite of the force of these argu-

ments, We are not persuaded.

Title VII embodies a basic national policy given a high

p iority by Congress and contains an authorization for the award

ef attorney’s fees intended to encourage aggrieved individuals to

seek redress for violations of their civil rights. Christianburg

Garment Co. v. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission,

434 U.S. 412 (1977); Newman v. Piggie Park Enterprises,

Inc., 390 U. S. 400 (1968). In considering the counsel fee provi-

sion under Title II of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C.

s 2000a-3(b), similar to the present provision of Title VII,

42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(K), the Supreme Court in Newman v.

Piggie Park Enterprises, Inc., explained that the counsel fee

p ovision was “to encourage individuals injured by racial dis-

crimination to seek judicial relief.” 390 U.S. at 402. We do not

propose to permit a technical interpretation of a procedural rule

to chill the pursuit of that higit objective.

The other cases which have considered this Rule 68 issue are

limited. Defendant relies on Mr. Hanger, Inc. v. Cut Rate

Plastic Hangers, Inc., 63 F. R. D. 607 (E. D. N. Y. 1974), and

Dual v. Cleland, 79 F.R.D. 696 (D. D.C. 1978). tn Mr.

Hanger the plaintiff was unsuccessful in a patent infringement

suit and was assessed with the defendant’s defense costs. There

ihe plaintiff argued that the Rule 68 offer was a “tactical sham,”

unreasonable and in bad faith. Although the court considered

Rule 68 as mandatory, the district court nevertheless pointed

out that the offer afforded ihe plaintiff substantially all the relief

prayed for in the complaint and was not a sham.

In Dual the district court in a Title VII case ruled in favor

of defendants after a trial on the merits. The court considered

the application of Rule 54(d) which specifically provides for the

exercise of discretion and Rule 68 which does not. Viewing the

rule as automatic, the district court allowed costs to the defend-

ant under Rule 68 but not under Rule 54(d). The issues of

reasonableness and guod faith apparently were not raised in

A7

Dual, although the court noted that the plaintiff, albeit unsuc-

cessful, had a good faith claim.

The plaintiff argucs that her position is supported by Perkins

v. New Orleans Athletic Club, 429 F.Supp. 661 (E. D. La.

1976), and Honea v. Crescent Ford Truck Sales, Inc., 394

F. Supp. 201 (E.D.La. 1975), but that support is at best

only inferential.

For the considerations stated above, we believe that a liberal,

not a technical, reading of Rule 68 is justified, at least in a

Title VII case. We need not decide whether this same approach

should be taken in other kinds of cases. In a Title VII case the

trial judge may exercise his discretion and allow costs under

Rule 68 when, viewed as of the time of the offer along with

consideration of the final outcome of the case. the offer can be

seen to have been made in good faith and to have had some

reasonable relationship in amount to the issues, litigation risks,

and expenses anticipated and involved in the case.

AFFIRMED.

A true Copy:

Teste:

Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

\8

APPENDIX ©.

i 1] Inne UNiep States Distrier Cours

Northern District of Mlinots

astern Division

ROSEMARY AUGUST, l

Plaintiff, |

No. 77 € 95

|

Der va Atm Ines,

|

Defendant

PRANSCRIPE Ob PROCEEDINGS

had i the above entitled cause before the HON. JUETES J

HOLE MAN, one of the Senior Indges of said) Court, tn tts

courtreont inthe United States Courthouse, Chicage, MHliners

on Monday. September U8, 878. at the hour of LO OO oc clock

am

\ppearances:

Messis) Glazer & Vance

179 W. Washington Street, Room 1125

Chicaro, Uhners 60602

By. Ms. Susan Margaret Vance, appeared on behall

ot the plaintil,

Messrs. Schiff, Hardin & Wate

233 South Wacker Drive

Chicago, Uhnois 60666,

By. Mr Eo Allan KRovar, appeared on behall ot the

defendant,

(2) he Clerk) 77 C98 Rosemary August vo Delta: Atrlines,

Inco porated. metion for hearing and decision on defendant's

} :

pending Moker for costs pursuant to Rule O8.

AY

Mr. Kovar: This, your Honor, is also the defendant Delta

Air Lines’ motion, As you recall there is currently a Rule 68

motion ponding before the Court, which has been fully briefed

And we have here, pursuant to Rule TSC). requested: the

Court fora determination on this because of the pending appeal

and because of the tmminence of that appeal. As noted, the

appellants brief ts due on the 29th of this month and our brief,

of course. is due within thirty days thereafter, We do believe that

a determination of the Rule 68 motion is relevant and significant

to that appeal.

The Court. You style your motion, “Motion for a hearing

and decmton on defendants pending motion for costs pursuant

to Rule 68° Did TP not see in the advertisement that Delta Air

Pines. Incorporated, next to United, was the most solvent and

most prosperous anline im the country and you are concerned

about

Mr Kevar. PE certainly hope so, your Honor

The Court) And you want to hurry me into this decision ona

small matter Tike this

Mr. Kovars Noo We are most: appreciative, your Honor,

Js} of vour own heavy schedule. The only reason we filed this

motion was because of the pendency of the appeal and we be

heved the relevancy of this decision and the importance of. it

possibly to the appellate court,

The Court: Do you want to say anything?

Ms. Vance. No, your Honor, the plaintiff has nothing to say

at this time,

Phe Court: There is now outstanding in this case a motion by

the defendant Delta Air Lines for its costs of litigation. By the

instant motion the defendant now seeks a ruling on that motion,

In its Memorandum of decision in this case, the Court exer:

cised ats discretion under Rule S54(d) of the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure and ordered cach party to bear its own costs

of litigation. By the instant motion the defendant Delta Air

Ane

Piivvec vein yestire peercnnnmt fies Parte ek oot the Pectoral Dirlec arf

Pa Decerdee fav aren linea tiong tye potable tes retebartse

Aran RT) | Rd Hay Dede cherie Nv > 907?

Vy crypt oot Hyie vvotiery thre onerncaet cubite with the

vvetiene een at tye otter oot direlamvent syvevetes Tey DMette tee tye

yl ainnnsdd ase Way 0 F077 Wey etyert atten Dveltin rtteredd tee yen

Ween SERV awd doy Coat cote lever ot thyis Vitioovtieny

LAD Votes Rate et the Vaaterat Ravtec of Cf Precedtane at

any Hae were than tea dvs Potowe te trial Pregine a penn tle

Herve aparently CD te vyen a eeeaye vypsenns the advenree geaety en

atten fecaliow prdipraveat to be taken aporiivst Tytyny fess tlyer pyvevtyery cant

preypeyyy uy vive atVer tt spec itiondt tn Wats otter wth eavcte then

Nevevyyeed Nyy antVery ovyeet voorp ted vo ereeteced ac dttvelecvaey cued eat

yee iver ove oes yedyyyyccutstes eee mo proceeding ti

ere wyie oc iyere

Ve vtye overedgrrvvervay tev ally vadepeveavecet Tey ttyes cetbernerer Fs vend tnestes

favwalte raw tye offer lve fieree Hyrst pon thre casts toured

syes Vive oval at tle otter

Vise vivweclvoled qurestren that rvarct Tre vvecatyedd ts whether 9

Wark WS prertreed ve psyvapier vy ayer Gye est ey ospetere Tey tthe Goce

persoann te Role Red) vlyay en ty peared Peony VS AMA CENSES

AY wary Vie emt weed spend teat Verde tervve eee Pat ascites

oo han aleearedy seer foly coer vet oy doveseteed ti tle ne

went awe aw My Banger Teerporated vo cut Rate Bhasin

Weagers nn NE TEENY evry ol \l nw 4 yorgy

Vhens the etourt Reld and Hye Clowrt mst agive yt pean

yyy “> tb bak - AP VET MD edSt® vitae Rae eS even ragly the

Clon Ra ee rosy denned cesta Pues ait tes Wale Veedd da

es anclnd nag Phe Court doen Wet However oadheterre that the

defemdaar Welt N Vorrterw eu rtd evrtiekt tee pate TER CUlsts i

eaeyy Mmirweerant fr Role &®S® ov hw Veeder vi Rules af coaval

‘

‘ White phere is ile aathont) on he pneu thas Clout ous

sorta ooh ~ areicr fy Ie effective a Rule OS offer must be

All

mrad doa goed Faith attempt te cettle the partios Litigation amd.

Hire net beat beact arprrably ceqcenrabybe

Pha very prreprases of Pate G& of the Pederal Paleo of © aval

Procite ae welloae the few authorities which lave addrecced

Hh too ab this application nm date (his come tachom as stated

try thee Nabe tcery © ceppeittien ce Neve ter Porple QR the preprese of

Hhhicotithe de fee eco cotthemmentc aad agape prrestess todd det

potion Oe ae chated tm Staffemd yo Dake Central Atebies. Dave

1° oP PR Dd PER ON Fd }dbntee FON) Peele GR is tetemedled te

eroompape early cetthemmentc of Ttigattewn Tt as alco uatemeded te

preted the perty whe ds willtop te setthe frown the barreben ef

corte whieh crbycecuny thy noone ‘7 RR al Pays 19

Thoth Ver prerse eel three cenbe ts tee pee cere vine cotter ee he

prossthete few this Coot fee comedies thet thas Pe pros: aw bee

Frethered: on atded: by og other that ts met oat least arguably

peoncorm bebe

Phe few cacec white dy brave acldeeccedd thic asper tof Rule Oa

ppt this come tact Ta Perkins vo New Orleans Athen

Ctaots $99 PF Supp Got cb DP ba 19760, the Cont. in de

Wing aoredquest for attorneys fees meted that under Bute O84

Ie} deferment may offer whoatis neatly dire and put the borden

Wooestsoon the plantte:

Ncllitiomeally da Themed oy Cresont Bord Prack Sales. Pnoor

erated SOE SF Supp OE CE Ud Pa PO75) the Court stated

that of a reasonable offer is spurned. Rule 68 of the bederal

Rules of Civil Procediee prowides a manner am which a party

cam step casts from accemmg JOG bE Supp oat Page 20? Phos

roqurrement that the Rule @8 offer must be reasonable, at least

veuably sel would: alse appear tebe supported by Baldwan

Cooke Company vo Reith © hack, dn orporated, 7} b RD 564

iN 1 TH 1876)

Donally, the Court notes the decision of the Lonited States

Custom Court dodge a Mr Planger, Incorporated vo Cut Rate

last Hangers, Incorporated, 643 6 ROD 607, 4b DON Y

Al?2

1074) In that case in awarding costs pursuant to a Rule 68

offer, Tudge Reed rejected arguments that the offer there in

volved was oa sham” He alse found that it was not made “in

had faith ” Instead he concluded the offer was a “proper offer”

Ry the motion new befere this Court, the Court must now

decide whether in the specific facts and circumstances of this

case the defendant's offer of May i. 1977 in the sum of 441so

sufficiently satisfied Rule 68 of the Pederal Rules of Civil Pro

cedure to warrant the | 7} entry of the order now sought,

In the epmien of the Court it did not bor this reason the mo

tion made parsuant te Rule 68 will be denied) At the time this

offer of S280 was made this litigation was approximately four

months old While the offer was intended to be received in full

settiement of the parties dispute, itis untikely that such a small

sum of money would even have fully satistied the plaintiffs then

Meurred costs my attornervs fees.

le must alse be remembered that the plainti® was given some

encouragement as te the merit of her claim from: the findings

of the Pqual Paytorment Opportunity Commission. Addition

ally. a suceesstul Htigant ina Tithe VID case is as a general rule

enutied. net onl to remstatement, but also te back pay plus

costs and attorners fees

Tinally. while the Court did ultimately find itself! constrained

fy enier Us yudgment for the defendant. the Court certamly did

net Ond the plavii®s clam te be wholly spectous. Tn the epinion

of this Court and am the particular facts and circumstances of

this case. an offer of only the sum of $480 could only have

heen effective were the plamtifs claim totally lacking im merit

or were there present additional factors which would mitigate

m taver of the defendant,

|s) Por the reasons E have stated. the Court concludes that

the defendant’s Rule @8 offer of Mav 12, 1977 did not constitute

an eflecuive offer under that rule) offer of settlement under that

rule Por that reason, Mr Clerk. the motion of the defendant

Als

Delta Air Lines, Incorporated for costs pursuant to Rule 68 of

the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure will be denied. As pre

viously ordered each party to this action will bear its own costs

of litigation,

Mr Kovar: Thank you, your Horner,

Ms Vance: Thank vou. vour Honor

’ + *

[9] In po UNiirp Stares Distrier Court

Northern District of Tinots

Pastern Division

Rosemary AnGust,

Plaintiff, She

o ; Y Civil Action

| No. 77 © 95

Drira Atm Lines,

Defendant.

CERTITICATE

I. Joan M. Unzicker, do hereby certify that the foregoing ts

a true. accurate, and complete transcript of the proceedings had

in the above-entitled cause betore the Hon. Julius J. Hoffman,

one of the Judges of said Court, in his courtroom at Chicago,

liners. on September TR, 1978.

/s) JOAN M. UNZICKER

Official Court Reporter

United States District Court

Northern District of HMlinois

Unite STATES DistRicr Court

Northern District of THlinois

Fastern Division

Name of Presiding Judge. Honorable Tutus 2) Hoffman

Cause No. 77 C 85 Date September 18, 1478

Vitle of Cause -Rosemary August vo Delta Arr Eines. th

Brief Statement of Motion. Motion for Hearnng on

on Defendant's Pending Motion for Costs |

O8

Names and Addresses of moving counse) fb Noam &

Max G. Brittain, Jr. Sechitl Hardin & Waste. 72)

Tower, 2338S. Wacker, Chicago, 60606,

f

Representing Defendant Delta Air Lines.

Names and Addresses of other counsel entitled te motice and

names of parties they represent —Carole Ko Bellows, Rellows

& Rellows, One IBM Plaza. Suite 14, Chicago. Susan M

Vanee, Giazer & Vanee, 179 W. Washington, Chicago. P

ttt Rosemary August.

Defendants motion for costs pursuant to Rule 6)

Hoffman S.J.

AIS

APPENDIX D.

Unirep States Court or Apprars

For the Seventh Circuit

C thy ig Hin ms 60604

hed Order Not to be Cited

Per Cur t Rule 35

A\rgu G bebr ury 20 1979)

luly 6. 1979

Before

Hon. Rorert A. Sprecupr, Circuit Judge

Hon. Pruiuipe Wo Tone, Circuit Judge

HON. HARLINGTON Woop, Jr. Circuit Judge

Appeal from the

Lnited States Dis-

Plaintifi- Appellant trict Court for the

Northern District of

Hlinow, Eastern Di-

\ 7R.1922 Vision.

No. 77 C 95

Dri ta AIRLINES, INC.,

Julius J. Hoffman,

dele t-, Mee.

Defendant-A ppellee Judge.

ORDER.

Rosemary August initiated this Title VII action against de-

fendant Delta Air Lines, Inc. alleging, inter alia, that she was

discharged from her position as flight attendant solely because

she was black. August sought reinstatement, back pay, benefits,

Alt

Soyer eat wt welled pvt attoniyes feos and costs qrrvycvecvent {’

Vine VW ot the t iil Riglte Netoot w64 APU S.&. 8 TRIAL ATS

coe Miter a bench triat the Aictiet com centered) pidiparent

Se gaged at the defendant Vhe plata Wave appealed oon thy

wronnd that the cee haan was mnsnrpported hy the outdone ayy

sae the dhetaet come improperly aprtied the Taw) Wee fling

avd ada oly a few otbveer cations fe enypypterven ye terad coeds

spore ary oot Herve and order entered on Vane 9 yur7Q

Dianne offered come proog whiel cnooested that che ney

have been anbieet fe aiseviyy ation lav the evidener wey svg

feral ye op © madeqwate om” other wer An fer trve Vhe ev

denee fared Te eetahicels that che was qreated cht yerthy than

camara catnated whites Vhe evidence frome Wrely wap ava

thar Backs on ocersen nan have receiied seme pref semtral

eeatment Wace Mconclhyswe W the absence of thy conyptete files

atainine to the allegedls preferred emplovers and Others sim

lariy cpnated Vie yrtaynt A who had dye Paver of prop ay

seamatnon eclected ois related wvetanees ters yypreyyrcesyy ant

frearmeni & Tormriets sereannel wcerds of other tiroht att yredevryte

eer net mrduced to help establish a basis far meanmoetnt cow

aan of those emplavees sim lavly sitvated Sec Tiere ‘

rexcay Invrerments. Inc. SSF 20 V281, 1257 cSt iy 1077)

Vhe startettes evidence Wace ik omplete aya Poca) eVNTN yyysennt

Nemitad cammics. Which Mav ar MAY Net have fynly reflected what

thes alah AEE Be! fo chow Ve womens LY “ave ‘ ) Lid ‘ Iai

‘ ) fooationeg } gual . / eae Ais \ QS a@d& ere! ( 174)

® spre less ~w the ceftetenctes wore ih mA Ss cVideter tie

Apfoadon: St “ones defended the re or ee OI ih anon a THER BR EARR EL RIA |

fr COP TEIC TION with hic order, an anor has eon yyy) shea

\

thi, dos. afhemiag the tera) CoMr’s AISPoe Hoan oF he Rule 6S offer of

sateen: ieene in plnintifits fave

be Pone Eoptoemenm Onnorriaiv ¢ YWraneeaat pte ryver3

ty, pve of A) Re ‘ mrokow rh, clement4 . mn sar eomeara

‘

bn vwwtener mui be camplete an eciaté TO A cnMoentv large

= -

comp vo similar sitretead Negcoos om Caeaerans co ae Te PrOvice

chal rome hny wan Lay drewing ~s womn sen

Al?

explanation’ As a resntt of the charge of her fourth no show

on December FG. bO7 4. the plaintiff# was placed on indefinite

enepenreion imam corlonce with the cules of Delta Air Eines. On

Ionnar 2. O03 the regtonal manager for Delta reviewed the

ploaintifls file ond informed her thet she was on “last chance

etatus saying:

Contente within your file revealed innumerable discrep

aneies ranoine from one sheas poor condnet while pass

riding. Tafenese oon worker writeups and passenger com

plaints

Actions cue ag vom ve demonstrated: will no longer be

tolerated: You have been adequately warned and previously

disciplined: becamse of you comfinmning tnsatistac tory job

perborate Ry copy of this fotter vou are notiied that

thic is vou finab warning and oany firtere infraction will

reoult dm the femmiaation of yor employment with Delta

Nin Pines

a The following ic a brief cummary of the plaintiffs infractions

white werhine with Delta Ate Lines

7) 4) 90 ten oh 1) 7k Coworker complaint

- yO 7) Ce werker conplaint 5 8 74 Passenger complaint

7 31.72 Ne show S18 74) Discrepancy report

Q 99 7) Neaoshow f 7 TA Coworker complaint

OF 2 Cex worker ceounngetavint 6 OL 74) Discrepaney report

Y 16 7) Noshow 1 2% 74) Discrepancy report

10) 1 7) Dscrepaney report 1) *8 F4 Neo show

1 @ 7D DNiscrepanen repent 1b 19 74) Co worker complaint

WwW te 7 Twe passenger 11 34 740 Discrepancy report

complaints 11 WO 74 Coworker complaint

1) 7) Cewerker complaint oT? 8 74 Discrepancy report

No show 1’ Iq 74 No show

y

4 11 72) Diserepaney reper 1 11 75) Passenger complaint

G@ *1 7) Diiserepaney report 8 1 75) Cooworker complaint

7 77 78) Discrepanes repert 8 1b 78) Coworker complaint

> 8 74 Diserepaney repent 8 6 75) Discrepaney report

i

aes em | Neo show

After the Nevember Wl P2 7d coworker complaint about the

paintift’s lateness iy boarding the plane. the plaintuf, for her third

tardiness my GO) days. was suspended) for two days. Following the

impesitien of the cuspension. the plainti® wrote separate letters: to

her Delta superviser and base manager apologizing for her lack of

responsibility. The plaintif® also told her supervisor, “Getting sus-

ponded is oxag tly what TP deserved).| ne one brought this upen myself

bat me Ponty erateful Pwas suspended for 2 days and not three.”

Al8

After that notification, another passenger complained about the

plaintiff's service, two co-workers complained about her unpro-

fessional conduct, and other discrepancy report for tardiness

was lodged against her. On August 27, 1975, the plaintiff was

asked to resign, and on September 5, 1975, was fired. The

record suggests considerable company forbearance without re-

gard to the employee's race. Nonetheless, we do not view this

case as frivolous.

We find no violation of the Title VIL requirements. Board of

Trustees of Keene State College v. Sweeney, —... U.S...

(1978); Furnco Construction Co. v. Waters, 438 U.S. 567

(1978); McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792

(1973).

AFFIRMED.

ALY

APPENDIX E.

IN THE UNrTreD STATES District Court

For the Northern District of Hlinois

Eastern Division

Rost MARY AUGUST, )

Plaintiff,

st No. 77 € 95

DELTA AIR LINES, INC..

Defendant.

MEMORANDUM OF DECISION AND ORDER.

Juttus J. HoFFMAN, Senior United States District Judge.

This is an action by the plaintiff Rosemary August to recover

against her former employer, defendant Delta Air Lines, Inc.

The plaintiffs complaint, as originally filed, was in two counts.

In Count I, she seeks redress for employment discrimination al-

legedly practiced by Delta Air Lines. It is her position that in

violation of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42

U.S.C. § 2000¢, et seq., Delta subjected her to “. . . terms and

conditions of employment different from those of her similarly

situated Caucasian co-workers . . .” and ultimately discharged

her because she is a Negro. As relief, the plaintiff prays for

reinstatement, back pay and such other equitable relict as may

be proper. She also seeks an award of attorneys’ fees and costs.

These forms of recovery are expressly provided for in the Act.

See 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5.

Count II of the complaint was brought pursuant to the court's

pendent jurisdiction. Ia that count, the plaintiff alleged that

subsequent to her discharge by defendant, she sought employ-

ment with several companies, but “. . . has not been hired de-

A20

spite her good qualifications. . . .” Pleading further, the plaintiff

states that she “. . . therefore believes that . . . defendant has

maliciously caused to be published to prospective employers

libelous, slanderous, and defamatory statements concerning the

plaintiff and having the effect of preventing her employment.”

For this alleged defamation, the plaintiff sought actual and puni-

tive damages totalling $150,000.

In its answer, Delta denied all substantive allegations in the

plaintiff's complaint. Delta also filed a motion for summary

judgment as to Count II, arguing that there was no evidence to

support the plaintiff's “belief” that she was being defamed. In

support, deposition testimony from the plaintiff and the affidavit

of one E. Kendall Allen, a Delta employee, were presented. The

plaintiff admitted in her deposition that she was unable to cite

any facts to support her “belief” she was being defamed. The

afliant stated that no prospective employer inquiries regarding

Rosemary August had even been received by Delta. The plaintiff

elected not to oppose the motion for summary judgment, and

it was granted by the court. This case therefore proceeded to

trial only on the plaintiffs allegations of race discrimination in

violation of Title VII.

In order for this court to have subject matter jurisdiction

in this case, certain procedural prerequisites must have been

satistied. These requirements are detailed in §$ 706 of the Act,

42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5. First, under sub-part (c):

In the case of an alleged unlawful employment practice

occurring in a State, or political subdivision of a State,

which has a State or local law prohibiting the unlawful

employment practice alleged and establishing or authoriz-

ing a State or local authority to grant or seek relief from

such practice or to institute criminal proceedings with

respect thereto upon receiving notice thereof, no charge

may be filed (with the Equal Employment Opportunities

Commission) before the expiration of sixty days after

proceedings have been commenced under the State or local

law, unless such proceedings have been earlier terminated,

~. . 42 USC. § 2000e-5(c).

A2l

More importantly, under sub-part (¢) of § 706:

A charge under this section shall be filed within one hun-

dred and eighty days after the alleged unlawful employ-

ment practice occurred . . . except that in a case of an

unlawful employment practice with respect to which the

person aggrieved his initially instituted proceedings with

a State or local agency . . . such charge shall be filed...

within three hundred days after the alleged unlawful em-

ployment practice occurred, or within thirty days after

receiving notice that the State or local agency has terminated

the proceedings under the State or local law, whichever is

earlier... . 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(e).

The purpose of the State agency filing requirement is to give

available State agencies a prior opportunity to consider dis-

crimination complaints. Compliance with this requirement is

critical. Love v. Pullman Co., 404 U.S. 522, at 524 and 526

(1972). In fact, because these requirements are jurisdictional,

the plaintiff has the burden of establishing them by a preponder-

ance of the evidence. A failure to do so will leave the court

without subject matter jurisdiction. Curliff v. Greyhound Lines,

Inc., 558 F. 2d 803, at 806 (5th Cir. 1977); Bere v. LaCrosse

Cooler Co., 548 F.2d 211, at 212 (7th Cir. 1977); Abshire

Vv. Chicago and Eastern Illinois Railroad Co., 352 F. Supp. 601

(N. D. Ill. 1972).

At the trial of this cause, Rosemary August presented evi-

dence of compliance with the procedural requirements of $ 706.

In its post-trial brief, the defendant argued that the plaintiff

had not sustained her burden of proof on this issue, and that

this court therefore was without subject matter jurisdiction

herein. In response to that argument, the plaintiff filed a motion

by which she petitioned the court to“... reopen the proofs . .

for the limited purpose of further establishing that all jurisdic-

tional requirements .. . have been met by plaintiff.” That motion

was granted, and a special supplementary proceeding was held

for the limited purpose of accepting additional evidence on the

jurisdictional issue.

N22

Tron all the evidence presented, the court finds that heeause

the plaintifl has sustained her burden of establishing comptiance

with the procedural requirements of § 706 by a preponderance

of the evidence, this comm does have the requisite subject matter

jrisdicfion to decide the merits of this litigation. Rosemary

\npust was emploved asia flight attendant for Delta Ain T ines,

Ine commencing November 22. F8 7b Ter employment was

terminated on oor about Anupust 27, 1978 On April 7, 1975,

and apa on Anpust 28, 1878. she filed charges of unfair em

plovment practices against Delta with the Chicago Distriet OF

fice ot the Equal Dinplowment Opportunities Commission On

Apo Pt. 1978, and again ion August 298 1987S. the Conmisston

deterred her charges te the Whines bain Pimplovment Practices

Commission, which is the State agenew with authenty te ad

dress her complaint Prom the evidence adduced. the only ree

sonable conclision ta be reached is that the Pan Pamplovment

Practices Commission elected fo fake ne action on Miss August's

complaint Therefore. acting pursuant to ifs statutory authority,

the Equal Payplovinent Opportunities Commission assumed jit

vabetion over this matter On Tanna 4. 1877. it issned: tts

Notice of Right te Sue The plaintt then filed her complaint

with this court on January EE, 1877,

Prom these facts mos elear that the fime requirements of

§ TOG have been satisfied More importantly. this proeedure dy

whieh the plant fled ber charges with the Equal Pimplovment

Opportunities Commission, which) Commission thea deterred

those charges fo the Ula Pan Pimplovinent Practees Com

AMSsiOn for its prior consideration, dees comply with the State

ageney Hhing requirement of § TO) Love Vv Pidiman Co. 404

ON S822 (1972). Therefore. all procedural requirements of

Tile NUD have been satisfied This court does have qurisdietion

i) deode the merits of this action

In Count Toot her eomplamt, Miss August has alleged that

sho was sulveeted fo emploviment discrimination on the basis

ot ber Negre race A number of cases have addressed the proof

A23

requirements in private, non-class actions challenging employ

ment discrimination. In the leading case of McDonnell Douglas

Corp. Vv. Green, ALL US, 792 (1973), the Supreme Court was

confronted with a situation where the complainant in a Title VI

case alleged that his discharge and the general hiring practices

of his former employer were racially motivated. In that case,

the Court held that the initial burden of establishing a prima

facie case of racial discrimination may be satisfied by a showing

(i) that the plaintiff belongs to a racial minority: (it) that he

applied for and was qualified for a job for which the employer

was seeking applicants; (iii) that, despite his qualifications, he

was rejected, and (iv) that, after his rejection, the position re-

mained open and the employer continued to seek applications

from persons of equal qualifications. Assuming this burden of

proof is discharged, the burden then shifts to the defendant to

articulate some legitimate, nondiscriminatory reason for the

individual's rejection. Uf that is done, the plaintiff then has the

additional burden of proving the stated reason was just a pretext

for a racially discriminatory decision. Accord, Flowers v.

Crouch-Walker Corp., 552 F. 2d 1277, at 1281 (7th Cir. 1977);

Kinsey Vv. First Regional Securities, Inc., 557 FP. 2d 830, at 836

(D.C. Cir, 1977); Sime v. Trustees of California State Uni-

versity and Colleges, 526 F. 2d 1112, at 1114 (9th Cir. 1975).

While the Court in McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green pre-

sented this as one acceptable articulation of the specific ele-

ments necessary to establish a prima facie case, it specifically

pointed out that the facts will vary in Title VII cases, so that

iis statement of the prima facie proof required should not be

considered “. . . necessarily applicable in every respect to differ-

ing factual situations.” /d., at page 802, n. 13. The Court again

addressed this point in International Brotherhood of Teamsters

V. United States, 431 U.S. 324 (1977), where it gave a more

complete statement of the proposition:

The importance of McDonnell Douglas lies not in its spe-

cification of the discrete elements of proof there required,

ASS

but in its recognition of the general principle that any Title

VIL plainti® must carry the initial burden of offering evt

dence adequate ty create an inference that an employment

decision was based on discriminatory ertterion legal under

the Act. 431 ULS. at 358,

See alvo. MeDonald v. Santa Ve Trail Transportation Co., 427

US. 274, at 279, no 6 (1976).

While this court does find the approach articulated in MeDon

nell Douglas Corp. ¥. Green to be instructive. ih must conclude

that the evidence presented here does not lend itself to Che

appheation thereat, But regardless of the approach adopted,

what a plant must establish as a minimum ina Tithe VET case

is that he she is a member of a protected class and that he she

Was subjected to disparate treatment whieh was “rackilly: prem

ised! International Brotherhood of Teamsters \. United States,

AVL ULS. at B38) see alve, Barnes Vo Nt. Catherine's Hospital,

SOX E Md 824 CT Cir, 1977). These facts must be established

by a preponderance of the net ot all the evidence. Barnes \V.

St, Catherine's Hospital, supra: Henry Vv. Ford Motor Company,

§§3 Pod 46 (Sth Cir, 1977). In other words. in order to

prevail, as a minimum, Rosemary Angust must establish bv oa

preponderance of all the evidence that because she is a Negro,

she was subjected to emplovment standards thar were different

from those imposed on similarly situated Caueasnin: fight at

tendants so that she was terminated while siamlacy situated

Caucasian fight attendants were not, Viewing the evidence pre

sented in this case against these requirements, the court has no

dificulty in reaching ts decision.

Rosemary August is 27 years old: she is a member of the

Negre race. She applied for a position as a flight attendant

with Delta Air Lines by sending her employment: application

to their corporate offices in| Atlanta, Georgia in October of

1. This is not to sav that a showing of a discriminatory purpose

is required in Tithe Vib cases. Iris clear that there is no stich require

ment Washington vo Davis, 426 US) 248 CI970). United States \

Civ ot Chicago. No 77-1071 (7th Cir, February 21, 1978)

A25

1971. Following an interview on November 3, 1971, the plain-

tiff was employed as a flight attendant and, after an initial

training period, she was assigned to Delta's base at O'Hare

International Airport in Chicago, Illinois. She worked as a

flight attendant for Delta until her termination on August 27,

1975.

Delta Air Lines, Inc. is a national airline with its headquarters

in Atlanta. It operates various bases throughout the country.

The O'Hare base has a Base Manager who is in charge of all

Delta flight attendants assigned to that base. Reporting directly

to the Base Manager are supervisors. Each supervisor is charged

with primary responsibility for a certain number of flight at-

tendants.

From 1971 through October of 1973, the Base Manager at

O'Hare Airport was June Kulencamp. Commencing in October

of 1973, Nancy Severtsen filled that position. Throughout the

period of Miss August's employment her immediate supervisor

was Carolyn Powers.

These positions are important both because they are positions

of authority and because responsibility for flight) attendants’

employment files is vested in the Base Manager and supervisors.

The importance of this later factor lies in the fact that Delta

employment decisions such as advancement, discipline and

termination are, to a large extent, made based on what. is

contained in the flight attendant’s file.

A termination decision at Delta normally requires first a

determination by the supervisor and Base Manager that a flight

attendant has failed to satisfy Delta standards for continued em-

ployment. Next, the employee file and a recommendation for

termination are sent to the defendant's corporate headquarters

in Atlanta where they are reviewed by various management

personnel, These people include a member of the defendant's

staff of in-house counsel, defendant's Equal Employment Man-

ager, and the corporate Vice-President in charge of personnel.

Oi their concurrence, a Delta flight attendant is terminated.

A26

In the case of Rosemary August these steps were carried out

After Nancy Severtsen and Carolyn Powers decided to recom

mend her termination, Miss August's records were transmitted

to Atlanta. There, they were reviewed by Peter Caldwell, Ad

ministrative Assistent-Persennel, Hunter Hughes, one of the

defendant's in house counsel, Richard Paley, Equal Employment

Manager. and Ro W. Allen, Vice-President-Personnel Benefits

Each of these individuals agreed with the original recommenda:

tion, and Rosemary August was terminated.

The decision to terminate was based on a determination

of “poor job performance and attitude’. The supervisory per

wnnel invelved based this conclusion on their findings that

Rosemary August had committed a number of “no shows”

(failures to report for an assignment on time or other equally

serious misconduct), that numerous co-worker and passenger

complaints had been tiled against her, that she was not properly

performing her job and that she had been guilty of various

Delta policy infractions.

The plaintiff has taken the position that Delta Air Lines’

base at O'Hare International Airport had, between 1971 and

1978. a policy or practice of subjecting Negro flight attendants

to discriminatory treatment, and that she was the victim of this

discrimination. She argues that in the case of Negro emplovees

in general and herself in particular, in making entries into flight

attendant’s files and im reaching employment decisions, the de-

fendant held Negro attendants to higher or stricter standards

than Caucasians. As the court has previously noted, entries

in flight attendants’ employment files are critical to the defend

ant’s employment decisions. Therefore, a showing that the

defendant was guilty of disparate treatment regarding file com

pilations would be highly probative of a Tithe VIE violation.

In support of her allegations of disparate treatment, the plain-

tiff Chose not to present for comparison the full employment

files of Rosemary August and similarly situated Caucasian flight

attendants. As will be more fully developed. she also elected to

A27

make only limited use of statistical data. Instead, her approach

was primarily to present evidence to demonstrate that on particu.

lar occasions Caucasian flight attendants were treated a certain

way while in similar situations either Rosemary August or one

of Delta’s other Negro flight attendants was dealt: with more

harshly.

The record presented in this case does establish that Rosemary

August did perform her job on various flights in what one

individual described as a “top notch” manner, During her career

with Delta, she received a number of complimentary. letters

from passengers, which letters were placed in her file. She was

also formally complimented by co-workers on occasion, those

compliments were also made a part of her tle More im-

portantly, she also received one Customor Service Award and

two Feather-In-Your- Cap Awards. The co are awards issucd by

Delta’s corporate office for outsiandine scrvice by an employee.

They are awarded to a fight attendanc who has conductoc him-

self or herself on a fight, or has in some coer manner per-

formed his or her duties in. an excniplary manner, The Customer

Service Award includes Delta Air Lines, Inc. stock certificates,

recognition in the Delta Digest, a company newsletter, and a

letter of appreciation from the Chairman of Delta’s Board of

Directors.

However, the record also contains evidence that establishes

Mis August was capeble of poor or unacceptable performance

Her file contains four “no show” citations: it is Delta's estab-

shed policy that an employee may be subject to dismissal for

four such infractions. Her file also contains a number of co-

worker and supervisor complaints. Co-workers found that the

plaintiff could be offens.ve in her manner and uncooperative.

Additionally a number of Ictters of crit. ism were received from

passengers. The plaintiff defendant against these complaints by

claiming they were not factually correct. She also argued they

were not adequately investigaicd by Delta. The court cannot

respect failures to investigate complaints. Nevertheless, the com-

A28

plaints were filed, and they were received from a number of

sources.

From all of this evidence, the court concludes that Rosemary

August was capable of quality work performance, but was also

guilty of carrying out her duties in a manner that was unac-

ceptable to her employer. However, this is not the issue now

before the court. What this court must now decide is whether

the plaintiff has established by a preponderance of the evidence

that two standards of performance were applied at Delta's

O'Hare Airport base, and that Rosemary August, as a Negro,

was a victim of this double standard. After a thorough review of

the record in this case, the court must conclude that this burden

has not been met.

The most probing evidence of disparate treatment presented

in this case was a showing that in the period from 1972

through 1975, of a total of 34 flight attendants terminated, 10

(or 29%) were Negroes. And when the period is extended

through 1976, 13 out of 38 (or 34° ) were Negroes. Delta

maintains a total staff of approximately 500 flight attendants at

its O'Hare base. From the available evidence, approximately

one-fifth of that total, or approximately 100 of Delta’s flight

attendants, are Negroes.

The defendant has argued that where the statistical sample

is small as is admittedly the case here, the results obtained

should be rejected as meaningless. In support, it cites, inter alia,

Mayor of Philadelphia v. Educational Equality League, 415

U.S. 605 (1974); Robinson v. City of Dallas, 514 F.2d 1271

(Sth Cir. 1975); Morita v. Southern California Permenente

Medical Group, 541 F.2d 217 (9th Cir. 1976); Ochoa v.

Monsanto, 473 F.2d 318 (Sth Cir. 1973). With this argu-

ment, the court does not agree.

In the recent Supreme Court case of /nternational Brother-

hood of Teamsters Vv. United States, 431 U.S. 324 (1977),

the Court did caution that “(c)onsiderations such as a small

sample size may, of course, detract from the value of such

A29

evidence, [citing Mayor of Philadelphia v. Education Equality

League, 415 U.S. 605, at 620-621 (1974)]. . . .” However,

in that case the Court also noted that wtih proper caution, they

can be of assistance to the fact finder in reaching his decision.

See International Brotherhood of Teamsters v. United States,

431 U.S. at 339-240. Other cases are in accord; see e.g., Burns

Vv. Thiokol Chemical Corporation, 483 F.2d 300, at 305-307

(Sth Cir. 1973); Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

v. Eagle Iron Works, 424 F. Supp. 240 (S. D. la. 1976).?

While these statististics do constitute evidence of disparate

treatment because of the small numbers of employees involved

relative to Delta’s employment population, they cannot consti-

tute conclusive proof thereof. See International Brotherhood of

Teamsters v. United States, supra, and other cases previously

cited herein. Rather, they must be considered aiong with all of

the evidence in deciding this case.

As the court has previously stated, the main thrust of the

plaintiff's case was a showing that in numerous specific situa-

tions Delta’s supervisory personnel dealt more harshly with

Negroes, ooth as to the disciplinary action taken and as to the

entries made to the employees’ files, than Caucasians. A review

of every such incident is not practicable, and the court will

not now attempt to do so.

However, one incident involving the plaintiff is sufficiently

offensive to this court that individual recognition must be given

to it. Based on little more than rumors or gossip, in April of

1972 defendant's then Base Manager, June Kulenkamp, de-

termined to have Rosemary August examined for a venereal

disease. Not only was the plaintiff not given any chance to con-

2. In reaching this decision to give weight to this statistical

evidence presented by the plaintiff, the court has determined that it

must reject plaintiff's argument that the proper measuring period is

only 1975, the year she was terminated. In that year, 6 of 8 termi-

nations involved Negroes. Clearly, 1975 cannot stand alone because

the sample is too small, the measuring period is too short to be

meaningful, and the results obtained are misleading.

A30

front the sources of Kulenkamp’s information, she was not even

told why she must submit to the medical examination until after

the tests proved negative. In the interim, she was left to specu-

late on the need for this immediate physical examination,

While the court believes the embarrassment and anxiety caused

Rosemary August in this incident were unnecessary and the

result. of improper handling of the situation, it cannot find a

racial motive therefor in the record. There simply was no show-

ing that any other Hight attendant, Negro or Caucasian, was

subjected to treatment even remotely similar thereto.

By the remainder of her evidence, the plaintil presented

numerous other incidents where one employee, a Nero, was

dealt with severely while in sinilar situations lesser measures

were taken against Caucasian fight attendants, ‘These included

showings that Negroes were given “no shows”, suspensions, and

“discrepeney reports” Con the order of a warning notice) where

in like cases, Caucasians were dealt with more tolerantly. How-

ever, both by its own evidence and during cross-examination,

the defendant established that on an equal number of occasions,

Delta personnel showed favoritism to Negroes.

For example, the plaintiff established that for infractions such

as tardiness, missing Delta training sessions, not being within

ready telephonic reach while on reserve duty, substandard work

performance, substandard service to passengers, offensive dis-

position, missing scheduled uniform and weight checks, and for

various other inftactions, stern measures were taken against

Negroes in general and Rosemary August in particular, while a

more tolerant attitude was displayed toward Caucasians. Addi-

tionally, the plaintit! demonstrated that in’ certain cases, the

benetit of any doubt was shown a Caucasian flight attendant but

not a Negro. Finally, certain Caucasian flight attendants who

were in jeopardy of losing their jobs were given more warnings

and “last chances” than certain Negro attendants,

Standing unrebutted, this evidence would raise the necessary

inference of racial bias, However, the evidence establishes that

A31

in equal numbers of cases, it was the Negro that benefited from

a benevolent supervisor, Negroes were given discrepancy reports

(warnings) instead of “no shows”, or were excused from any

discipline where in similar situations Caucasians were dealt

with severely,

Rosemary August's own employment history includes such

incidents. While her file contains four “no shows”, it was es-

tablished that she was properly subject to citation on at least

three additional occasions. At other times, she received only

verbal reprimands or was excused from any discipline when her

conduct could under Delta policy have resulted in the imposi-

tion of stronger sanctions,

In reaching its conclusion in this case, the court must note

certain discrepencies in the testimony. It is established Delta

policy that an applicant disclose any prior employment within

the airline industry, Rosemary August had previously been em-

ployed by United Airlines, Inc. when she applied for the posi-

tion of flight attendant with Delta Air Lines. Her employment

application fails to disclose this fact. While Miss August testified

that she orally disclosed this experience during her job inter-

view but was told “not to worry about it’, the interviewer in-

volved, Kendall Allen, denied this. Allen also testified, and it

appears reasonable to conclude, that prior airline experience is

an important clement in evaluating a job applicant. Miss August

also testified that in her opinion she had performed her duties

as a flight attendant in an acceptable manner and was not ade-

quately apprised of dissatisfaction harbored by her supervisors.

However, it was shown that in December of 1974, following a

series of events culminating in a two-day suspension, Rosemary

August sent letters of apology to both Base Manager Severtsen

and her immediate supervisor, Carolyn Powers, in which she

acknowledged that she may have been guilty of substandard

work performance and would endeavor to correct the situation.

As is its duty, the court has taken these factors into account in

A32

determining the weight to be given to the evidence presented by

the parties in this lawsuit.

From the evidence presented, it would appear that Delta Air

Lines, Inc. may not be the most pleasant place to work. How-

ever, this trial record does not establish that its employment

practices are racially premised. It further does not support the

conclusion Rosemary August was subjected to disparate treat-

ment, either in her employment or termination, because of the

fact she is a Negro. For this reason, this court has concluded

that it must enter its judgment in this case in favor of the de-

fendant.

Accordingly, this case will be, and the same hereby now is

dismissed with prejudice in favor of the defendant Delta Air

Lines, Inc. and against the plaintiff Rosemary August. Each

party will bear its own costs of litigation. No award of attorney’s

fees will be made in favor of either party.

This Memorandum of Decision and Order is intended to

satisfy the provisions of Rule 52(a) of the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure which require the court to set forth its findings

of fact and conclusions of law in all cases tried by the court sit-

ting without a jury.

Dated at Chicago, Illinois, this 9th day of June, 1978.

A33

APPENDIX F.

IN THE UNITED STATES DistTRICT COURT

For the Northern District of Illinois

Eastern Division

ROSEMARY AUGUST, 7

Plaintiff,

se - No. 77 € 95

DELTA AiR LINEs, INC.,

Defendant. }

PROOF OF SERVICE OF OFFER OF JUDGMENT

State of Illinois

County of Cook

Max C. Brittain, Jr., being duly sworn, deposes and says:

1. I am attorney for the defendant in this action.

2. On May 12, 1977, Delta Air Lines, Inc., the defendant

in this action, served upon plaintiffs attorney the annexed offer

of judgment.

Max G. Brittain, Jr.,

One of the Attorneys for

Defendant Delta Air Lines, Inc.

Dated:

Notary Public

A34

IN THE UNITED STATES District CouRT

For the Northern District of Illinois

Eastern Division

ROSEMARY AUGUST, a

Plaintiff,

vs.

r No. 77 C 95

DELTA Arr Lines, INC.,

Defendant.

OFFER OF JUDGMENT

To: Carole K. Bellows

Bellows & Bellows :

One IBM Plaza, Suite 1414

Chicago, Illinois 60611

Pursuant to Rule 68 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure,

defendant hereby offers to allow judgment to be taken against

it in this action, in the amount of $450 which shall include at-

torney’s fees, together with costs accrued to date. This offer of

judgment is made for the purposes specified in Rule 68, and is

not to be construed cither as an admission that the defendant is

liable in this action, or that the plaintiff has suffered any damage.

Max G. Brittain, Jr.,

One of the Attorneys for

Of Counsel: Defendant Delta Air Lines, Inc.

Schiff Hardin & Waite

7200 Sears Tower

233 South Wacker Drive

Chicago, Illinois 60606

876-1000

Sidney F. Davis

Hunier R. Hughes

Delta Air Lincs, Inc.

Hartsfield Atlanta International Airport

Atlanta, Georgia 30320

A35

APPENDIX G.

Original Rule 68, eff. September 16, 1938

At any time more than 10 days before the trial begins, a

party defending against a claim may serve upon the adverse

party an offer to allow judgment to be taken against him for

the money or property or to the effect specified in his offer, with

costs then accrued. If within 10 days after the service of the

offer the adverse party serves written notice that the offer is

accepted, either party may then file the offer and notice of

acceptance together with proof of service thereof and thereupon

the clerk shall enter judgment. If the offer is not so accepted it

shall be deemed withdrawn and evidence thereof is not ad-

missible. If the adverse party fails to obtain a judgment more

favorable than that offered, he shal! not recover costs in the dis-

trict court from the time of the offer but shall pay costs from

that time.

As amended, eff. March 19, 1948

At any time more than 10 days before the trial begins, a

party defending against a claim may serve upon the adverse

party an offer to allow judgment to be taken against him for

the money or property or to the effect specified in his offer, with

costs then accrued. If within 10 days after the service of the

offer the adverse party serves written notice that the offer is

accepted, either party may then file the offer and notice of

acceptance together with proof of service thereof and thereupon

the clerk shall enter judgment. An offer not accepted shall be

deemed withdrawn and evidence thereof is not admissible ex-

cept in a proceeding to determine costs. If the judgment finally

obtained by the offeree is not more favorable than the offer, the

offeree must pay the costs incurred after the making of the offer.

A36

The fact that an offer is made but not accepted does not pre-

clude a subsequent offer.

As amended, eff. July 1, 1966

At any time more than 10 days before the trial begins, a

party defending against a claim may serve upon the adverse

party an offer to allow judgment to be taken against him for

the money or property or to the effect specified in his offer, with

costs then accrued. If within 10 days after the service of the

offer the adverse party serves written notice that the offer is

accepted, either party may then file the offer and notice of

acceptance together with proof of service thereof and thereupon

the clerk shall enter judgment. An offer not accepted shall be

deemed withdrawn and evidence thereof is not admissible ex-

cept in a proceeding to determine costs. If the judgment finally

obtained by the offeree is not more favorable than the offer, the

offeree must pay the costs incurred after the making of the offer.

The fact that an offer is made but not accepted does not pre-

clude a subsequent offer. When the liability of one party to

another has been determined by verdict or order or judgment,

but the amount or extent of the liability remains to be deter-

mined by further proceedings, the party adjudged liable may

make an offer of judgment, which shall have the same effect as

an offer made before trial if it is served within a reasonable time

not less than 10 days prior to the commencement of hearings to

determine the amount or extent of liability.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Delta Air Lines, Inc. v. August · 450 U.S. 346 | Frix