Petition — Puerto Rico v. Commonwealth Oil Refining Co.

Supreme Court brief1980

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

a, § ere

a lt bh ;

NOV % 1979

SESE f

IN THE SPE eee oer Kk 19 Mire |

Supreme Court of the United State

October Term, 1979

79-730

No. é

COMMONWEALTH OF PUERTO RICO AND

PUERTO RICO WATER RESOURCES AUTHORITY,

Petitioners

V.

COMMONWEALTH OIL REFINING COMPANY,

INC., ET AL,

Respondents

Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari To The

United States Court Of Appeals

For The Fifth Circuit

KENNETH R. WYNNE

2900 South Tower Pennzoil Place

Houston, Texas 77002

BENJAMIN RODRIGUEZ RAMON

Housing Investment Building

Suite 840

P. O. Box “SS”

Hato Rey, Puerto Rico 00919

Counsel for Petitioners

November 6, 1979

a8

Alpha Law Brief Co., One Main Plaza, No. 1 Main St., Houston, Texas 77002

TABLE OF CONTENTS

oak ce wk wa pa esse scees

re el ao 5 ak oo vn oka s nee sees

ee ee

rr

EE

eee

1. by Predicating Venue Exclusively on the Location of

the Debtor’s Executive Offices, the Decision Below

Undermines the Basic Aim of Chapter XI to Reconcile

ee eee

2. This is One of the Largest, Most Visible Bankruptcies

in History and the Decision Below Both Affects a

Myriad of Interests in These Proceedings and Distorts

the Balance of Authorities as to Bankruptcy Venue in

eee

3. The Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals has Fundamentally

Misconstrued the Venue Provisions of the Bankruptcy

Act and Rules in Conflict With Its Own Prior De-

cisions and Those of Other Circuits ...............

INDEX OF AUTHORITIES

Anniston Soil Pipe Co. v. Central Foundry Co., 216 F.Supp.

473 (N.D. Ala.), aff'd per curiam, 329 F.2d 313 (Sth

Tee cei csncecececss

Bank of Elberton v. Swift, 268 F. 305 (Sth Cir. 1920)....

Boggs v. Blue Diamond Coal Co., 432 F.Supp. 19 (E.D.

SE EE

Burdick v. Dillon, 144 F. 737 (Ast Cir. 1906) ...........

Burlingham v. Crouse, 228 U.S. 459 (1913) .............

Continental Coal Corp. v. Roszelle Bros., 242 F. 243 (6th

ee eee ok ke pbb bese cce acc cee.

Dryden v. Ranger Refining & Pipe Line Co., 280 F. 257

10

12

19

A-1

Page

(5th Cir. 1922), cert. denied, 260 U.S. 726 (1922). .14, 15,17, 18

Guarantee Acceptance Corp. v. Fidelity Mortgage Investors,

re

14, 16

II

Page

In re Flexton Corp., 208 F.2d 869 (2d Cir. 1953)........ 14

In re Guanacevi Tunnel Co., 201 F. 316 (2d Cir. 1912)... 15

In re Hudik-Ross Co., 198 F.Supp. 695 (D.C.N.Y.), aff'd

sub nom. In re S.0.S. Sheet Metal Co. v. Hudik-Ross Co..,

roo e ge get Bs S|, Pers pert re re rr rr 14

In re Kerr’s Inc., 253 F.Supp. 742 (D.C.N.Y.), aff'd, 360

Fie. POO Gee Se PD obs Mix cen see CoO Vae ieee 14

In re Marine Aircraft Corp., 118 F.Supp. 844 (S.D.N.Y.

i: EES ee PE Ee rape te ene or ey aaa 16

In re L. F. Popeli Co., 221 F.Supp. 534 (D.C.N.Y.), aff'd

sub nom. L. F. Popell Co. v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 323

a ee Ge SE on sh ee ee eee ee a ee 14

In re Portex Oil Co., 30 F.Supp. 138 (D.Ore. 1939), aff'd

sub nom. Clark Bros. Co. v. Portex Oil Co., 113 F.2d 45

CR Sess eae Rea OA ce chia ene wre bak 15

In re Pusey & Jones Co., 286 F. 88 (2d Cir. 1922), cert.

Ce ee es ee CEE ce ecb cee a eee cena 15

In re Transvision, Inc., 217 F.2d 243 (2d Cir. 1954), cert.

Ca, Se Wis Ne CE 3 cco chee AA eas 7

Kokoszka v. Belford, 417 U.S. 642 (1974) .............. 7

Lawrence v. Atlantic Paper & Pulp Corp., 298 F. 246 (5th

Cir. 1924), cert. denied, 266 U.S. 606 (1924) ......... 14

Riggs v. Island Creek Coal Co., 542 F.2d 339 (6th Cir.

| NE ee A ea), So ves te yt al 18

Shearin v. Cortez Oil Co., 92 F.2d 855 (5th Cir. 1937)... 15

sivaten ©. New, 263 US. S1B (IGRI) 2... cies ences: 7

Williams v. United States Fidelity & Guaranty Co., 236 US.

Bee SEE eet eo eee tate ae ee een Or ee 7

UNITED STATES STATUTES

Bankruptcy Act, § 2(a)(1) [11 U.S.C. $ 11(a)(1)] 2, 6, 12, 13, 16, 17

Bankruptcy Act, § 32(b)-(c) [11 U.S.C. § 55(b)-(c)] .... 3

pameritey Te P16. ois sk oe sien 2, 3,6, 10, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17

ER et FS Rei UN Mehra Went il icine. rel AA RA 2

eae Ee ro eA oa re eee 2

Oe Ayes OD 8a htc coe PhO eae ee 17,18

Oe Cr on ete ee eed ec ee 13

MISCELLANEOUS

Remington, A Treatise on the Bankruptcy Law of the United

SN ee CE ee ec Ce codak oc ieee oie 7

Report of the Judicial Conference of the United States, Com-

mittee on Jurisdiction and Venue (1951), 2 U.S. Code

Cree. Ot BP PU CUD oo breicc cha dcbuivees 18

S. Rep. No. 1830, 85th Cong., 2d Sess., 2 U.S. Code Cong.

ee i Bre eerie rr se: 18

Supreme Court of the Hnited States

October Term, 1979

| ae See eee er a

COMMONWEALTH OF PUERTO RICO AND

PUERTO RICO WATER RESOURCES AUTHORITY,

Petitioners

Vv.

COMMONWEALTH OIL REFINING COMPANY,

INC., ET AL,

Respondents

Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari To The

United States Court Of Appeals

For The Fifth Circuit

Petitioners, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico and the

Puerto Rico Water Resources Authority, respectfully pray

that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment and

opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Fifth Circuit entered in this proceeding on June 13, 1979.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals is

reported at 596 F.2d 1239 (June 13, 1979) and under

2

No. 78-3019, slip op. at 5460 (Sth Cir. June 13, 1979).

The opinion of the District Court for the Western District

of Texas, San Antonio Division, is not reported. The

opinion of the Bankruptcy Court, District Court for the

Western District of Texas, San Antonio Division, is re-

ported at 4 Bankr. Ct. Dec. 589 (May 26, 1978). Copies

of all of these opinions appear in the Appendix attached

hereto.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Fifth

Circuit was entered on June 13, 1979, a timely Petition

for Rehearing En Banc was denied on August 9, 1979,

and this Petition for Certiorari was filed within 90 days

of that date. This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under

11 U.S.C. $47(c) and 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. What is a corporation’s “principal place of busi-

ness” for purposes of venue under Bankruptcy Rule

116(a)(2)?

2. To what extent are the interests of creditors and

non-debtor parties to be considered in establishing

venue in a Chapter XI brankruptcy proceeding?

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

l. AY pile: Act, § 2(a)(1) [11 U.S.C. § 11(a)

(1)]:

a. The Courts of the United States herein before

defined as courts of bankruptcy are hereby created

courts of bankruptcy and are hereby invested, with-

in their respective territorial limits as now estab-

3

lished or as they may be hereafter changed, with

such jurisdiction at law and in equity as will enable

them to exercise original jurisdiction in proceedings

under this Act, in vacation, in chambers, and dur-

ing their respective terms, as they are now or may

be hereafter held, to —

(1) Adjudge persons bankrupt who have had

their principal place of business, resided, or had

their domicile within their respective territorial

jurisdictions for the preceding six months, or for

a longer portion of the preceding six months than in

any other jurisdiction, or who do not have their

principal place of business, reside, or have their

domicile within the United States, but have property

within their jurisdiction, or in any cases transferred

to them pursuant to this Act;

. Bankruptcy Act, § 32(b)-(c) [11 U.S.C. § 55(b)-

(c)]:

b. Where venue in any case filed under this Act

is laid in the wrong court of bankruptcy, the judge

may, in the interest of justice, upon timely and

sufficient objection to venue being made, transfer

the case to any other court of bankruptcy in which

it could have been brought.

c. The judge may transfer any case under this Act

to a court of bankruptcy in any other district, re-

gardless of the location of the principal assets of

the bankrupt, or his principal place of business, or

his residence, if the interests of the parties will be

best served by such transfer.

. Bankruptcy Rule 116(a)(2), (b):

(a) Proper Venue.

(2) Corporation or Partnership. A petition by

or against a corporation or partnership may be filed

in the district (A) where the bankrupt has had its

4

principal place of business or its principal assets

for the preceding 6 months or for a longer portion

thereof than in any other district; or, (B) if there

is no such district, in any district where the bank-

rupt has property.

(b) Transfer of Cases; Dismissal or Retention

When Venue Improper.

(1) When Venue Proper. Although a petition is

filed in accordance with subdivision (a) of this

rule, the court may, after hearing on notice to the

petitioner or petitioners and such other persons as

it may direct, in the interest of justice and for the

convenience of the parties, transfer the case to any

other district. The transfer may be ordered at or

before the first meeting of creditors either on the

court’s Own initiative or on motion of a party in

interest but thereafter only on a timely motion.

(2) When Venue Improper. If a petition is filed

in a wrong district, the court may, after hearing

on notice to the petitioner or petitioners and such

other persons as it may direct, dismiss the case or,

in the interest of justice and for the convenience of

the parties, retain the case or transfer it to any

other district. Such an order may be made at or

before the first meeting of creditors either on the

court’s own initiative or on motion of a party in

interest but thereafter only on a timely motion.

Notwithstanding the foregoing, the court may with-

out a hearing retain a case filed in a wrong district

if no objection is raised.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This is a venue dispute in one of the largest bankruptcy

actions ever filed in the United States—the Chapter XI

arrangement proceedings of Commonwealth Oil Refining

Company and various of its subsidiaries (““(Corco”). Corco

5

is a massive refining and petrochemical company located

in the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico and is that island’s

largest private enterprise. In controversy is whether Cor-

co’s Chapter XI arrangement proceedings should be con-

ducted in San Antonio, Texas or in Puerto Rico.

Corco was incorporated in 1953 under the laws of the

Commonwealth of Puerto Rico and has developed and

maintained all of its physical operations in Puerto Rico

ever since that date. It is the cornerstone of “Operation

Bootstrap,” the industrialization program of Puerto Rico

fostered by the governments of both Puerto Rico and the

United States. All of Corco’s production, all of its phys-

ical assets (with an estimated replacement value of over

$1,000,000,000.00), over 95% of its employees and ‘the

vast majority of its sales are in Puerto Rico. In 1976,

after Tesoro Petroleum Corporation had successfully ten-

dered for a controlling interest in Corco, Tesoro moved

Corco’s executive offices to San Antonio where Tesoro

was headquartered, to facilitate a planned merger between

the two companies. The merger plan was soon dropped,

but Corco’s executive offices and some 70 Corco em-

ployees have anachronistically remained in San Antonio.

Corco conducts no business in San Antonio.

Corco commenced these proceedings in San Antonio

on March 2 and 3, 1978. On March 6, 1978, the Com-

monwealth of Puerto Rico (“the Commonwealth”) and

the Puerto Rico Water Resources Authority (“PRWRA”),

Puerto Rico’s only utility, which is dependent upon Corco

for fuel oil, objected to venue of these proceedings in

San Antonio and moved to transfer them to the United

States District Court for the District of Puerto Rico.

Following a four day evidentiary hearing in May, 1978,

6

the Bankruptcy Court for the Western District of Texas,

sitting in San Antonio, filed a Memorandum Opinion

holding that venue was proper in San Antonio and should

be retained there. The Commonwealth and PRWRA

promptly appealed. On August 25, 1978, the District

Court found that venue was not proper in San Antonio

but nevertheless affirmed the Bankruptcy Court’s decision

retaining venue in San Antonio. The Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit reversed the District Court’s finding

that venue was improper in San Antonio and affirmed

retention of venue in San Antonio.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. BY PREDICATING VENUE EXCLUSIVELY

ON THE LOCATION OF THE DEBTOR’S EXE-

CUTIVE OFFICES, THE DECISION BELOW

UNDERMINES THE BASIC AIM OF CHAPTER

XI TO RECONCILE DEBTOR AND CREDITOR

INTERESTS.

The Fifth Circuit found venue to be proper in San

Antonio primarily because it decided that San Antonio

was Corco’s “principal place of business” pursuant to

Bankruptcy Rule 16(a)(2).’ The Fifth Circuit justified

its ruling by pointing to the presence of Corco’s executive

offices in San Antonio and assuming therefrom that it

would be “less disruptive” to Corco’s financial rehabil-

itation to maintain venue in San Antonio. In so doing,

the Court contorted the concept of “principal place of

business,” locating it in a city where Corco’s senior fi-

1. Rule 116(a)(2) implements Bankruptcy Act, § 2(a)(1) [11

U.S.C. § 11(a)(1)].

7

nancial officer testified the debtor does no business at all.*

Linking its approval of venue in San Antonio to its unique

notion of “principal place of business,” the Fifth Circuit

virtually ignored the great majority of Corco’s creditors

and parties in interest, in particular the Commonwealth

and the Official Creditors Committee, who requested a

transfer and whose interests would be served by a transfer

of this case to Puerto Rico.

The hallmark of bankruptcy jurisdiction has always

been the protection of the rights and interests of creditors,

as well as the rehabilitation of a debtor. Williams v.

United States Fidelity & Guaranty Co., 236 U.S. 549

(1915); Burlingham vy. Crouse, 228 U.S. 459 (1913).

See also Kokoszka v. Belford, 417 U.S. 642 (1974);

Straton v. New, 283 U.S. 318 (1931); Remington, A

Treatise on the Bankruptcy Law of the United States § 17

at 34-38 (1950). Protecting and serving the entire com-

munity of interests swept into a bankruptcy proceeding,

without undue coddling of the debtor, are essential prem-

ises of the Bankruptcy Act. Bank of Elberton v. Swift,

268 F. 305, 308 (Sth Cir. 1920); Remington, supra, § 17

at 37. A Chapter XI proceeding is not to rehabilitate a

debtor by “unduly prejudicing the rights of any interested

parties.” In re Transvision, Inc., 217 F.2d 243, 246 (2d

Cir. 1954), cert. denied, 348 U.S. 952 (1955). Bank-

ruptcy Rule 116(b)(1) relates venue to the “interest of

justice and the convenience of the parties,’ not of the

debtor alone.

Departing dramatically from these fundamental pre-

cepts the Fifth Circuit has derogated the rights and in-

2. “Q: Mr. Wetzel, is Corco engaged in business in San Antonio?

A: No, not to my knowledge. . . . Commonwealth Oi! Refin-

ing Company does not do business in San Antonio.” (Tr. 321)

8

terests of the creditors and other non-debtor parties for

the sake of a presumed convenience to the debtor, Corco.*

Entirely overlooked in the Court’s preoccupation with the

benefits it presumed will inure to Corco through venue in

San Antonio are the parties who have urged that venue

be transferred: the Government of Puerto Rico, the Se-

curities and Exchange Commission of the United States,

the Department of Energy of the United States, the Gov-

ernment Development Bank for Puerto Rico, all of Corco’s

bank creditors in Puerto Rico, PPG Industries (the cred-

itor with the largest claim in these proceedings), Trans-

ocean Gulf Oil Company (Corco’s largest trade creditor),

Corco’s employees’ union and, most significantly, the

Official Creditors Committee (charged with the fiduciary

obligation to represent all Corco’s unsecured creditors).

These parties represent a myriad of critical interests and,

as each has consistently maintained, those interests would

3. The Court’s presumption, from the presence of Corco’s execu-

tive offices in San Antonio, that venue there would promote Corco’s

financial rehabilitation is, itself, suspect. The record produced before

the Bankruptcy Court clearly indicates that Corco is geared to work,

to litigate and generally to promote its financial wellbeing in Puerto

Rico. As the Fifth Circuit observed:

[A]ll of its assets are there; all of its production takes place

there; 95% of its employees live there; 70% of its refined

products sales and 88% of its petrochemical sales are made in

Puerto Rico to entities phys ©a!!y located on the island (some of

the entities are headquartered elsewhere and the contracts for

the sales may be negotiated off-island); invoices are prepared

and distributed from Puerto Rico; all original records are kept

in Puerto Rico by virtue of Puerto Rican law; the debtor’s data

processing center is located in Puerto Rico; its audits are con-

ducted in Puerto Rico; stockholders’ and directors’ meetings are

held on the island; most of CORCO’s current litigation, which is

extensive with regard to both the number of suits and the dollar

amounts involved, is going on in Puerto Rican courts (the next

most utilized forum is New York); the majority of its creditors

are in Puerto Rico; and Puerto Rico is its place of incorporation.

596 F.2d at 1246.

9

be better protected if these proceedings were moved to

Puerto Rico.

The Commonwealth of Puerto Rico is a vivid example

of a creditor and vitally interested party whom the Fifth

Circuit’s perception of debtor convenience could adversely

affect. Corco has sued the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico

and its top officials in San Antonio as a part of these

proceedings.* That suit involves hundreds of millions of

tax dollars and affects the entire petrochemical industry

of Puerto Rico. If Corco rehabilitates itself by winning

that suit in a location where the defendants are ill-equipped

to defend themselves, it is no exaggeration to say the

Government of Puerto Rico could be bankrupted. In its

desire not to inconvenience Corco’s executives, the Fifth

Circuit has failed to evaluate the potential effects of its

venue determination, such as the litigation against the

Government of Puerto Rico, on the many parties other

than Corco involved in these Chapter XI bankruptcy

proceedings.

Corco is as well equipped to consumate a plan of

arrangement in 2uerto Rico as it is in San Antonio.* The

4. Commonwealth Oil Refining Company, Inc., et al v. Common-

wealth of Puerto Rico, et al, pending in the United States District

Court for the Western District of Texas, San Antonio Division, Bank-

ruptcy No. SA-78-BK-147, Adversary Proceeding No. 120. The law-

suit challenges the constitutionality of the Commonwealth’s oil excise

tax pursuant to Act No. 6 of March 27, 1975 (codified in pertinent

part at 13 L.P.R.A. §§ 4013, 4045A and 4060) and attacks the legality

of a set-off by the Commonwealth of sums allegedly owing by PR-

WRA to Corco. Although tentatively resolved by agreement, the out-

come is still subject to creditor objections and Court approval.

5. Not only do all of the tangible circumstances reflect Corco’s

ability to function effectively in court proceedings in Puerto Rico

(see footnote 3, supra), Corco’s Comptroller and Treasurer, the ex-

ecutive specifically charged with development of a plan of arrange-

ment, testified that Corco’s financial “thinking, planning and dealing”’

could continue just as well if these Chapter XI proceedings were

transferred to Puerto Rico. (Tr. 446)

10

benefits the Fifth Circuit divined to support its interpre-

tation of “principal place of business” are illusory. Simply

stated, the overall interests which the Bankruptcy Act and

Rules purport to serve are best served by having Corco

deal in bankruptcy where it has chosen to deal in business.

The notion of “principal place of business” under

Bankruptcy Rule 116, in light of the policy objectives of

Chapter XI, should embody a more even-handed con-

sideration of the interests of the creditors and other non-

debtor parties than is reflected in the decision below.

2. THIS IS ONE OF THE LARGEST, MOST VIS-

IBLE BANKRUPTCIES IN HISTORY AND

THE DECISION BELOW BOTH AFFECTS A

MYRIAD OF INTERESTS IN THESE PRO-

CEEDINGS AND DISTORTS THE BALANCE

OF AUTHORITIES AS TO BANKRUPTCY

VENUE IN SUBSEQUENT PROCEEDINGS.

The very size of this bankruptcy, the number of parties

involved in it, and the dimensions of the interests they are

seeking to protect, cloak the ultimate determination of

its venue with special import. Further, the concept of

“principal place of business” on which the decision below

is predicated is perpetuated in the Bankruptcy Act of

1978.° In view of the vast new powers which the new

Act vests in every Bankruptcy Court on the basis of

where a debtor has its “principal place of business,” the

decision below assumes enormous proportions.

Within the considerable ambit of interests affected by

the decision below, there should not be lost those of the

Commonwealth of Puerto Rico and its 3.3 million in-

habitants. The historical role of the Commonwealth in

6. 28 U.S.C. § 1472.

1]

the development of Corco’s oil refining and petrochemical

operations and the vital position Corco occupies in the

development of the economy of Puerto Rico cannot be

overemphasized.‘ Corco is a fundamental aspect of Puerto

Rican life. It is the source of much of Puerto Rico’s

energy and most of its fuel and petrochemicals. Corco’s

largest single customer is PRWRA, which provides elec-

trical power to an estimated 900,000 commercial, indus-

trial and residential customers, and in turn generates

revenues to Corco that range from $132,000,000.00 to

$182,000,000.00 per year.* Corco also provides most of

the other refined petroleum products and petrochemical

needs of Puerto Rican consumers.” Therefore, the people

of Puerto Rico literally depend upon Corco for their light,

heat, power, safety and transportation. The overwhelming

majority of Corco’s employees, customers, and creditors,

and a major portion of its sales and revenues are in

Puerto Rico.'’® In short, the continued economic viability

7. The Affidavit in Support of Objection to Venue and Motion to

Transfer submitted by Carlos Romero Barcelo, Governor of the Com-

monwealth of Puerto Rico, outlines in depth the symbiotic relation-

ship between the Commonwealth and Corco. The Governor stated:

The construction of Corco’s refinery was the first major industrial

project promoted by Puerto Rico pursuant to ‘Operation Boot-

strap,” a joint effort by the United States and Puerto Rico Gov-

ernments to promote the development of the Puerto Rico econ-

omy. Because the establishment of a petroleum refining industry

in Puerto Rico would provide a stable source of supply of res-

idual fuel oils for the generation of Puerto Rico’s electricity

needs by the Puerto Rico Water Resources Authority, as well

as the fuel and raw materials for other industries, refining was

to be the cornerstone of this program of the Commonwealth

Government for the development of the Puerto Rico economy.

8. Bankruptcy Opinion at 490. (All Bankruptcy Opinion refer-

ences are to Transcript pages. Those page numbers appear in brackets

in the Appendix.)

9. Id.

10. Bankruptcy Opinion at 486-90; Affidavit in Support of Ob-

jection to Venue and Motion to Transfer at 20-23.

12

of Corco is a prerequisite to a healthy and stable economy

in Puerto 1.ico.

The Commonwealth of Puerto Rico and numerous

other parties have substantial vested interests in this bank-

ruptcy. Their ability to protect those interests will be

significantly diminished if venue of these proceedings is

not moved to Puerto Rico. Furthermore, by virtue of the

size and visibility of this bankruptcy and the profound

precedential effect its venue determination will have under

the new Bankruptcy Act, the error of the decision below

rises to a level deserving of this Court’s attention and

correction.

3. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS

HAS FUNDAMENTALLY MISCONSTRUED

THE VENUE PROVISIONS OF THE BANK-

RUPTCY ACT AND RULES IN CONFLICT

WITH ITS OWN PRIOR DECISIONS AND

THOSE OF OTHER CIRCUITS.

a. The role and meaning of “principal place

of business” in the context of bankruptcy

venue.

The Bankruptcy Act, § 2(a)(1) [11 U.S.C. § 11(a)

(1)], governs venue in a Chapter XI proceeding.’ Prior

11. Section 2(a)(1) is phrased in terms of jurisdiction. However,

it has been settled for some time that this section relates primarily

to venue. Bass v. Hutchins, 417 F.2d 692, 694-95 (5th Cir. 1969);

In re Eatherton, 271 F.2d 199, 201-03 (8th Cir. 1959); Advisory

Committee Note on Bankruptcy Rule 116 (1976). Prior to the adopt-

ion of Bankruptcy Rule 116 (a)(2), the courts had difficulty de-

termining the “residence” or “domicile” of a corporation as a “‘per-

son” under § 2(a)(1), and often concluded that residence and domi-

cile must be identical in the instance of corporations for purposes of

that section. Rule 116(a)(2) set to rest any ambiguity by stating

that venue could only be filed where a corporation had its “principal

13

to 1973, Section 2(a)(1) was interpreted to limit the

venue of a corporate debtor to its principal place of busi-

ness.'* However, in 1973 Bankruptcy Rule 116(a)(2) ex-

plicitly included the location of a corporation’s principal

assets as an alternative basis for venue."*

In the case sub judice, the Bankruptcy Court found

Corco’s principal place of business to be in San Antonio.

The District Court reversed this finding and held that

Puerto Rico was the principal place of business. The

District Court finding was reversed by the Fifth Circuit,

which affirmed the original finding of the Bankruptcy

Court. The decision of the Fifth Circuit is erroneous and

conflicts with the meaning attributed to “principal place

of business” in numerous other decisions of the federal

courts of appeals.

place of business” or “principal assets.” See 1 Collier on Bankruptcy

§ 3.02(a) (vii) (15th ed. 1979). Section 1472 of the new Bank-

ruptcy Code, which relates to venue in Chapter XI filings, is modeled

after Section 2(a)(1) and perpetuates “principal place of business”

and place of “principal assets” as alternate sites for venue.

12. See authorities cited infra at 14-15.

13. Bankruptcy Rule 116 was adopted pursuant to the authority

granted to this Court in 28 U.S.C. § 2075. That section states:

The Supreme Court shall have the power to prescribe by gen-

eral rules, the forms of process, writs, pleadings, and motions,

in the practice and procedure in cases under Title 11.

Such rules shall not abridge, enlarge, or modify any substantive

right.

Such rules shall not take effect until they have been reported to

Congress by the Chief Justice at or after the beginning of a

regular session thereof but not later than the first day of May

and until the expiration of ninety days after they have been

thus reported.

Bankruptcy Rule 116 is made applicable to filings under Chapter XT

by virtue of Rule 11-13.

As to the impact of the Bankruptcy Rules on the Bankruptcy Act,

see Advisory Committee’s Introductory Note to the Preliminary Draft,

reprinted in 1976 Collier Pamphlet Edition, Bankruptcy Act and

Rules, Part II at 751-63.

14

The record adduced before the Bankruptcy Court is

uncontroverted that Puerto Rico is the location of Corco’s

physical plant, its producing activities and operations, and

its major property assets.’* In addition, the record shows

that Corco was incorporated in Puerto Rico, has always

transacted business there, deals there with its largest

single customer, PRWRA, and there effects the majority

of its sales and has most of its creditors.** On the other

hand, San Antonio is the location of Corco’s executive

offices.*®

Predicated as it is on these facts, the decision below

conflicts with the majority of circuit court opinions which

have analyzed “principal place of business” under the

Bankruptcy Act. The general rule is that a corporation

has its principal place of business where its physical

Operations are conducted and where its principal assets

are concentrated, in short, where is does its business.

Guarantee Acceptance Corp. v. Fidelity Mortgage In-

vestors, 544 F.2d 449 (10th Cir. 1976): In re Kerr’s Inc.,

253 F.Supp. 742 (D.C. N.Y.), aff'd, 360 F.2d 163 (2d

Cir. 1966); In re L. F. Popell Co., 221 F.Supp. 534

(D.C. N.Y.), affd sub nom., L. F. Popell Co. v. Delta

Air lines, Inc., 323 F.2d 50 (2d Cir. 1963); In re Hudik-

Ross Co., 198 F.Supp. 695 (D.C. N.Y.), aff'd sub nom.,

In re S.0.S. Sheet Metal Co. v, Hudik-Ross Co., 297 F.2d

32 (2d Cir. 1961); In re Flexton Corp., 208 F.2d 869

(2d Cir. 1953); Lawrence v. Atlantic Paper & Pulp

Corp., 298 F. 246 (Sth Cir. 1924), cert. denied, 266

U.S. 606 (1924); Dryden v. Ranger Refining and Pipe

Line Co., 280 F. 257 (Sth Cir. 1922), cert. denied, 260

14. Bankruptcy Opinion at 477, 489.

15. Bankruptcy Opinion at 477, 487-90.

16. Bankruptcy Opinion at 477-78.

15

U.S. 726 (1922); In re Pusey & Jones Co., 286 F. 88

(2d Cir. 1922), cert. denied, 261 U.S. 623 (1922); Con-

tinental Coal Corp. v. Roszelle Bros., 242 F. 243 (6th

Cir. 1917). A minority of decisions have, when a com-

pany’s plant operations or property are separated from

its management, looked to the place from which

the “supreme direction and command” of the company

emanates. Jn re Portex Oil Co., 30 F.Supp. 138 (D. Ore.

1939), aff'd sub nom., Clark Bros. Co. v. Portex Oil Co.,

113 F.2d 45 (9th Cir. 1940); Shearin v. Cortez Oil Co.,

92 F.2d 855 (Sth Cir. 1937): In re Guanacevi Tunnel

Co., 201 F. 316 (2d Cir. 1912); Burdick v. Dillon, 144

F. 737, 738 (1st Cir. 1906).

The decision below aptly notes this difference of ap-

proach, 596 F.2d at 1295, including within the Fifth Cir-

cuit. Compare Shearin v. Cortez Oil Co., supra, with Dry-

den v. Ranger Refining & Pipeline Co., supra. Neverthe-

less, the decision below vitiates the holding in Dryden and

directly conflicts with the majority of cases in the other

circuits in tying principal place of business inextricably

and exclusively to the location of executive offices.

The decision below, however, casually dismisses the

relevance of prior case law in its own circuit and in the

circuits of other federal courts of appeals by pointing to

the adoption of Bankruptcy Rule 116. The decision states

that Rule 116(a)(2)’s inclusion of the location of a cor-

poration’s principal assets as an alternate site for venue

obviates the necessity “to choose between the places of

production and management.” 596 F.2d at 1245. Yet,

Rule 116(a)(2) does not offer a choice for venue be-

tween the place of production and the place of.manage-

ment; the choice is between where the debtor corporation

“has had its principal place of business or its principal

16

assets.” In many instances, as here, a corporation will

have its principal place of business and its principal assets

in the same place. Also as here, a temporary relocation

of its management, to serve corporate purposes unrelated

to the conduct of its business, such as to facilitate a merger

with another company, should not alter the court’s per-

ception of the place where the corporation principally

does its business.

Adoption of Bankruptcy Rule 116(a)(2) did not

change the meaning of “principal place of business” from

that applied under Section 2(a)(1) of the Bankruptcy

Act.'' The decision below holds that whenever the loca-

tion of a corporation’s principal assets is separate from

that of its executive offices, no matter how remote from

the company’s operations those offices are, the location

of that corporation’s executive offices presumptively is its

principal place of business. Such a construction of Rule

116(a)(2) is unwarranted, departs from earlier interpre-

tations of “principal place of business” and detracts from

the fundamental objectives of the bankruptcy laws.

Specifically, the Fifth Circuit’s construction of Rule

116(a)(2) is inconsistent with the Tenth Circuit’s recent

holding in Guarantee Acceptance Corp. v. Fidelity Mort-

gage Investors, supra, which involved the alternative

choice of venue in a Chapter X proceeding, pursuant

to Rule 10-114(a)(1), between principal place of busi-

ness and location of principal assets. See also In re Marine

Aircraft Corp., 118 F.Supp. 844 (S.D.N.Y. 1954). The

Court in Guarantee Acceptance Corp., supra, citing the

17. Indeed, a major reason for the adoption of Rule 116(a)(2)

was to resolve ambiguity that had existed under Section 2(a)(1)

of the Bankruptcy Act as to the significance of “domicile” and “res-

idence” in the case of a corporation or partnership. See footnote 11,

supra.

17

opinion of the Fifth Circuit in Dryden v. Ranger Refining

& Pipeline Co., supra, stated:

[I]t may be said that the corporate headquarters and

offices are not necessarily the principal place of busi-

ness of the corporation. [Citations omitted.] The

determination to be made is one of fact as to where

in the main, the corporation does its business. 544

F.2d at 452.

In the decision below the Fifth. Circuit nexer made suck .

a determination. The assumption was that Rule 116(a)

(2) embraces a different standard for the determination

of “principal place of business” than the section to which

that rule applies, Section 2(a)(1) of the Bankruptcy Act.

The interpretation given to the term “principal place of

business” in the decision below is based upon a fund-

amentally erroneous view of the effect of the adoption of

Rule 116 and is inconsistent with the meaning attributed

to that phrase in the great majority of bankruptcy cases

which have considered it.

b) The role of diversity jurisdiction decisions in

defining “principal place of business.”

The decision below concludes that “principal place of

business” may have a different meaning for diversity juris-

diction purposes'[28 U.S.C. § 1332(c)] than it has under

the Bankruptcy Act. Accordingly, the Fifth Circuit de-

cided that precedents as to the meaning of “principal

place of business” under the federal diversity statute

(which were contrary to the Court’s interpretation of that

term ‘in the decision below) were irrelevant. 596 F.2d

at 1247 n.17. Yet. the key authority relied upon in the

18

interpretation of “principal place of business” in Anniston

Soil Pipe Co. v. Central Foundry Co., 216 F.Supp. 473

(N.D. Ala.), aff'd per curiam, 329 F.2d 313 (5th Cir.

1964), a diversity jurisdiction case, was the Fifth Cir-

cuit’s decision in Dryden v. Ranger Refining & Pipeline

Co., supra, heretofore that circuit’s foremost bankruptcy

venue decision. In addition, the Sixth Circuit has held

that there is no essential difference between the statutory

standard for the meaning of “principal place of business”

in 28 U.S.C. § 1332(c) and under the Bankruptcy Act.

Riggs v. Island Creek Coal Co., 542 F.2d 339, 341 (6th

Cir. 1976); see also Boggs v. Blue Diamond Coal Co.,

432 F.Supp. 19 (E.D. Tenn. 1977).

The Fifth Circuit’s new position that diversity juris-

diction precedent is irrelevant for purposes of determining

“principal place of business” under the venue provisions

of the Bankruptcy Act is repudiated by the legislative

history of 28 U.S.C. § 1332(c). That statute utilizes

“principal place of business” because of that concept’s

familiarity through the case law under the Bankruptcy

Act. See Report of the Judicial Conference of the United

States, Committee on Jurisdiction and Venue (1951),

reported at 2 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 3114, 3132-

34 (1958); S.Rep. No. 1830, 85th Cong., 2d Sess., re-

printed in 2 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad. News 3099, 3101-

02 (1958).

19

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, a writ of certiorari should issue to

review the judgment and opinion of the Fifth Circuit.

Respectfully

; NE

2900 South Tower aah Place

Houston, Texas 77002

(713) 223-2900

BENJAMIN RODRIGUEZ RAMON

Housing Investment Building

Suite 840

P. O. Box “SS”

Hato Rey, Puerto Rico 00919

Counsel for Petitioners

November 6, 1979

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that three copies of the above and fore-

going have been served on each of the following parties

by placing the same, postage prepaid, certified mail, return

receipt requested, in the United States Mail, on this the

sixth day of November, 1979.

Sheinfeld, Maley & Kay

2130 Two Shell Plaza

Houston, Texas 77002

Rochelle, King & Balzersen

1435 Republic National Bank Building

Dallas, Texas 75201

ee

20

George J. Wade

Shearman & Sterling

One Citicorp Center

153 E. 53rd Street

New York, New York 10022

James G. Ulmer, Esq.

Baker & Botts

3000 One Shell Plaza

Houston, Texas 77002

Burleson Smith, Esq.

Cox & Smith, Incorporated

600 National Bank of Commerce Building

San Antonio, Texas 78205

Howard C. Buschman, III, Esq.

Wilkie, Farr & Gallagher

One Citicorp Center

153 East 53rd Street

New York, New York 10027

Patrick H. Swearingen, Jr., Esq.

Matthews, Nowlin, McFarlane & Barrett

1500 Alamo National Bank Building

San Antonio, Texas 78205

John Tower White, Esq.

Wender, Murase & White

400 Park Avenue

New York, New York 10022

Bond Davis, Esq.

Gresham, Davis, Gregory, Worthy & Moore

1800 Frost Bank Tower

San Antonio, Texas 78205

L. E. Dubon, Esq.

Dubon, Gonzalez & Berrios

Banco de Ponce Building, 15th Floor

GPO Box 6123

San Juan, Puerto Rico 00936

21

Vincente Zayas Puig, Esq.

Baragano, Arzucga & Zayas

P. O. Box 4191-S

San Juan, Puerto Rico 00905

Francis & Doval

GPO Box CH

San Juan, Puerto Rico 00936

Escribano, Carreras, Aceuedo,

Perez & Varela

212 Mayaguez Street, Suite 3-B

Hato Rey, Puerto Rico 00917

E. Delgado Roque

GPO Box 5028

San Juan, Puerto Rico 00136

Anthony V. Ponzio, Esq.

United States Securities and Exchange

Commission

219 S. Dearborn Street

Chicago, Illinois 60604

James T. Eichstaedt, Esq.

Chief Counsel

Div. of Corporate Regulations

Securities and Exchange Commission

500 N. Capitol St.

Washington, D.C. 20549

Michael Paige, Esq.

Assistant General Counsel

U.S. Department of Energy

Washington, D.C. 20461

Barbara Allen Babcock

Assistant Attorney General

Civil Division

Department of Justice

Washington, D.C. 20530

22

Robert Baker

c/o Commonwealth Oil Refining Company,

Inc.

8626 Tesoro Drive

San Antonio. Texas 78217

Jack Hebdon, Esq.

Groce, Locke & Hebdon

2000 Frost Tower

San Antonio, Texas 78205

Joe Warren Jones, Esq.

615 National Bank of Commerce Bldg.

San Antonio, Texas 78205

Solicitor General

Department of Justice

Washington, D.C. 20530

A-1

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

Fifth Circuit

Office of the Clerk

Edward W. Wadsworth Tel. 504-589-6514

Clerk 600 Camp Street

New Orleans, La. 70130

August 9, 1979

TO ALL PARTIES LISTED BELOW:

NO. 78-3019—In the Matter of: Commonwealth Oil Re-

fining Co., Inc.

Commonwealth, etc. v. Commonwealth,

et al

Dear Counsel:

This is to advise that an order has this day been en-

tered denying the petition( ) for rehearing, and no

member of the panel nor Judge in regular active service

on the Court having requested that the Court be polled

on rehearing en banc (Rule 35, Federal Rules of Ap-

pellate Procedure; Local Fifth Circuit Rule 16) the pe-

tition( ) for rehearing en banc has also been denied.

See Rule 41, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure for

issuance and stay of the mandate.

Very truly yours,

Edward W. Wadsworth, Clerk

By: /s/ SALLY HAYWARD

Deputy Clerk

i a a,

A-2

cc: Mr. Benjamin R. Ramon

Messrs. Kenneth R. Wynne

John T. Arnold

Mr. Robert C. Maley, Jr.

Mr. James C. Ulmer

Mr. George J. Wade

Messrs. J. Burleson Smith

R. Laurence Macon

David C. Spoor

Mr. Will M. Kahn

B-1

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For The Fifth Circuit

No. 78-3019

D. C. Docket No. CA SA 78 CA 223

In the Matter of: COMMONWEALTH OIL

REFINING CO., INC., Bankrupt.

COMMONWEALTH OF PUERTO RICO and

PUERTO RICO WATER RESOURCES AUTHORITY,

Appellants, Cross-Appellees,

versus

COMMONWEALTH OIL

REFINING CO., INC., ET AL.,

Appellees, Cross-Appellants.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Western District of Texas

Before COLEMAN, GODBOLD and INGRAHAM,

Circuit Judges.

JUDGMENT

This cause came on to be heard on the transcript of

the record from the United States District Court for the

Western District of Texas, and was argued by counsel;

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, It is now here

ordered and adjudged by this Court that the judgment of

the said District Court in this cause be, and the same is

hereby, affirmed;

B-2

It is further ordered that the appellants pay to the ap-

pellees the costs on appeal, to be taxed by the Clerk of

this Court.

June 13, 1979

ISSUED AS MANDATE:

C-1

APPENDIX C

In the Matter of: COMMONWEALTH OIL

REFINING CO., INC., Bankrupt

COMMONWEALTH OF PUERTO RICO

and Puerto Rico Water Resources Authority,

Appellants Cross-Appellees,

V.

COMMONWEALTH OIL REFINING

COMPANY, INC., et al., Appellees Cross-Appellants.

No. 78-3019

United States Court of Appeals,

Fifth Circuit.

June 13, 1979.

Rehearing and Rehearing En Banc

Denied August 9, 1979.

Debtor, a company engaged in the business of opera-

ting petroleum refinery and petrochemical facilities, filed

a Chapter XI petition for reorganization in the San Anto-

nio Division of the Western District of Texas. The Gov-

ernment of Puerto Rico and the Puerto Rico Water Re-

sources Authority objected to venue and moved to trans-

fer the proceedings to the United States District for the

District of Puerto Rico. The United States District Court

for the Western District of Texas, at San Antonio, Adrian

A. Spears, Chief Judge, affirmed the bankruptcy court’s

denial of the transfer motions, and movants appealed.

The Court of Appeals, Godbold, Circuit Judge, held

that: (1) bankruptcy court was not clearly erroneous in

locating the debtor’s principal place of business in San

C-2

Antonio, where, inter alia, the debtor’s corporate struc-

ture demonstrated that it managed most of its affairs

from San Antonio, even though production is centered

in Puerto Rico, and (2) bankruptcy court, after con-

cluding that venue was proper in San Antonio, did not

abuse its discretion in refusing to transfer the case to

Puerto Rico, as the convenience of the parties and the

interest of justice militated against a transfer to Puerto

Rico.

Affirmed.

Benjamin R. Ramon, Hato Rey, P. R., Bracewell &

Patterson, Kenneth R. Wynne, John T. Arnold, Houston,

Tex., Cadwalader, Wickersham & Taft, New York City,

for appellants cross-appellees.

Sheinfeld, Maley & Kay, Robert C. Maley, Jr., Hous-

ton, Tex., Rochelle, King & Balzersen, Dallas, Tex., for

Commonwealth Oil Refining.

James G. Ulmer, Houston, Tex., George J. Wade, New

York City, J. Burleson Smith, R. Laurence Macon, David

C. Spoor, San Antonio, Tex., Will M. Kahn, New York

City, for Tesoro.

Appeals from the United States District Court for the

Western District of Texas.

Before COLEMAN, GODBOLD and INGRAHAM,

Circuit Judges.

GODBOLD, Circuit Judge:

Commonwealth Oil Refining Company (CORCO),

filed a Chapter XI petition for reorganization in the San

C-3

Antonio Division of the Western District of Texas on

March 2, 1978." On March 6 the Government of Puerto

Rico and the Puerto Rico Water Resources Authority

(PRWRA) objected to venue and moved to transfer the

proceedings to the United States District Court for the

District of Puerto Rico. Both the bankruptcy court and

the district court denied the motions to transfer.

I. Proceedings below

[1-3] Venue for a Chapter XI case is proper in either

the district where the debtor has “had its principal place

of business or its principal assets for the preceding [six]

months or for a longer portion thereof than in any other

district.” Fed.R.Bankr.P. 116(a)(2). All parties agree

that Puerto Rico is where CORCO’s principal assets are

located. There is no agreement on the location of COR-

CO’s principal place of business. CORCO contends that

its principal place of business is San Antonio. Puerto

Rico and PRWRA argue that it is Puerto Rico. The

bankruptcy court concluded that San Antonio is COR-

CO’s principal place of business and that venue is prop-

erly laid there. It refused to transfer the case. The dis-

trict court reversed the findings that the principal place

of business is San Antonio and that venue is proper in

San Antonio, but nevertheless it retained jurisdiction

pursuant to Bankruptcy Rule 116(b), which allows the

court to retain a case “in the interest of justice and for

the convenience of the parties” even though venue was

improperly laid. Fed.R.Bankr.P. 116(b)(2). The dis-

cretion to retain such a case, however, must be used with

caution and in few cases. In re S.0.S. Sheet Metal Co.,

1. Eleven subsidiaries of CORCO filed reorganization petitions

in the same court at the same time.

C-4

297 F.2d 32 (CA2, 1961). The bankruptcy court, on the

other hand, having concluded that venue was proper in

San Antonio, considered the motion to transfer under

Bankruptcy Rule 116(b)(2), which allows the court to

transfer a case to another district if “the interest of jus-

tice and . . . the convenience of the parties” would be

better served by administering the case in the other dis-

trict. Again, the court should exercise its power to trans-

fer cautiously, Jn re Bankers Trust, 403 F.2d 16, 23 n.

10 (CA7, 1968), and the party moving for the transfer

must show by a preponderance of the evidence that the

case should be transferred, Jn re Fairfield Puerto Rico,

Inc., 333 F.Supp. 1187, 1189 (D.Del. 1971).

We reverse the district court’s finding that CORCO’s

principal place of business is Puerto Rico and agree with

the bankruptcy court that its principal place of business

is San Antonio. We also conclude that the bankruptcy

court did not misuse its discretion in refusing to transfer

the case to Puerto Rico. We reach the same conclusion

as the district court, that the case should remain in San

Antonio, but we follow the reasoning of the bankruptcy

court.

The location «£ a debtor’s principal place of business

is a question of fact. It is therefore necessary to set out

in some detail the corporate structure of CORCO and its

operations. We will then determine the legal definition

of principal place of business. Finally, we consider

whether the case should have been transferred under Rule

116(b)(1).

IT. CORCO

CORCO, incorporated under the laws of Puerto Rico,

is in the business of operating a petroleum refinery and

C-5

petrochemical facilities.* Its physical plant is located in

Puerto Rico.* Prior to 1971 CORCO’s executive offices

were also located there. From 1971 to 1975 the offices

were in New York City. In 1975, Tesoro Petroleum Cor-

poration, headquartered in San Antonio, successfully

tendered for a controlling share of CORCO’s common

stock.* In contemplation of a merger of the two com-

panies, Tesoro had CORCO’s executive offices moved to

San Antonio in 1976. The merger plans have since been

shelved, but CORCO’s executive offices have remained in

San Antonio.°

Although all of CORCO’s production facilities are lo-

cated in Puerto Rico, almost all of its executive officers

live and office in San Antonio. The management of COR-

CO is divided into six departments: Planning and Eco-

nomics, Operations, Marine Transportation, Refined Prod-

ucts Marketing, Petrochemicals Marketing, and Environ-

mental Affairs. Each department is headed by a vice

president. The vice presidents report to the executive vice

president who in turn is responsible to the president and

chief executive officer. Both the president and executive

2. Most of CORCO’s petrochemical facilities are operated as

joint ventures. For purposes of this opinion, it is not necessary to

explain the legal relationships between the joint ventures and CORCO.

3. The refinery and petrochemical facilities are valued at $545,-

000,000. The replacement cost of the facilities is estimated at one

billion dollars.

4. Tesoro owns 36.7% of CORCO’s common stock.

5. Rule 116(a)(2) is concerned with the location of the debtor's

principal place of business only for the six months preceding the

bankruptcy filing. The prior locations of CORCO’s executive head-

quarters, therefore, is of no relevance to the issue in this case. Nor

is it of any significance that CORCO moved its offices to San Antonio

at the request of Tesoro. CORCO’s offices are in San Antonio and

have been there for the relevant period under Rule 116(a) (2).

C-6

vice president work out of San Antonio. Of the six de-

partment heads, four live in San Antonio; one, vice

president of Refined Products Marketing, lives in Mc-

Lean, Virginia; and one, senior vice president of Opera-

tions, lives in Puerto Rico. There are two other vice

presidents, the general counsel and secretary and the

comptroller and treasurer; both live in San Antonio.

Directly below the vice president level of management is

a group of general managers and directors. Both the

director of Personnel and director of Public Affairs live

in San Antonio. There are three general managers—

Joint Ventures, Operations and Supplies, and Refined

Products Liason. All three live in San Antonio.

An analysis of the jobs performed by CORCO’s man-

agement reveals that the company’s physical operations

are controlled from San Antonio. This is best seen by an

explanation of the process through which CORCO pur-

chases feedstocks for its facilities and ultimately sells its

products to customers.

A starting point in describing the process is the COR-

CO Operating Team. The function of the team is to

prepare what is called the Operating Plan. The plan out-

lines how the refining and petrochemical facilities should

operate for the upcoming 60 or 90 day period, the

amount of each product that should be produced, and the

facility that should produce it. Because of constant

changes in the market the plan must continually be up-

dated. This is accomplished at the weekly or semi-weekly

meetings of the team. The team consists of the heads of

all the departments or their designated representatives.

Input into the plan necessarily comes from all de-

partments. The general manager for Supplies and Re-

C-7

fined Products Liaison reports on the availability of raw

materials and their prices. Marine Transportation must

find available means for transporting the raw materials

to Puerto Rico and some of the finished product to off-

island customers. Both the Petrochemical and Refined

Products Marketing departments estimate the quantities

of products that can be sold. The Operations department

estimates the quantities of the different products that can

be produced. The Planning and Economics department

is charged with assimilating all of these factors, supplies

transportation, production and sales, and coming up with

a plan that will result in the most profitable mix of

products and quantities.

The bankruptcy court found that the Operating Plan

is not a statement of general policy but rather a detailed

production schedule. We agree. The people in charge of

operations at the refinery are not authorized to sub-

stantially deviate from the production schedule in the

plan. Because of the upstream and downstream effect of

any substantial deviation on the rest of CORCO’s opera-

tion, changes must be cleared through San Antonio and

the appropriate changes made in the transportation needs

and marketing aspects of CORCO’s business. There is,

of course, some delegated authority to make adjustments

in production. The refinery is given latitude to cope with

emergencies, and in some instances the plan delegates

options for the Puerto Rico personnel to choose from.°

6. Appellants make much of the fact that the actual production

of various products has often failed to meet the schedule laid out in

the plan. They infer from the deviations that the refinery personnel

have substantial authority to change the operating plan. The evidence

is to the contrary. CORCO’s general manager of operations explained

that a significant portion of the deviations resulted from San Antonio

decisions to shut down certain producing units for necessary main-

tenance.

C-8

This limited delegation of authority, however, does not

alter the basic fact that the purchase of feedstocks, the

refining process, and the transportation of both is di-

rected from San Antonio.‘

The financial heart of CORCO is located in San An-

tonio.© The comptroller and treasurer works out of San

Antonio. He is charged with the normal responsibilities

of a comptroller and treasurer: managing bank accounts,

payment of taxes and preparation of financial reports.

In addition, all of CORCO’s expenses, except for those

directly related to the refinery in Puerto Rico, are paid

out of the San Antonio office. The weekly $20,000,000

bill for feedstocks is paid from San Antonio. The pay-

roll for the refinery workers is prepared in Puerto Rico.

CORCO’s financing is run by people who work in San

Antonio. Although many of CORCO’s loan agreements

are negotiated and executed in New York, the people re-

sponsible for the negotiations work out of San Antonio.

The only significant task relating to the financial manage-

ment of CORCO that is performed in Puerto Rico is the

maintenance of the corporate books, the corporate audit,

and the billing of customers. CORCO maintains its

original books in Puerto Rico as required by Puerto

Rican law.° CORCO’s tax returns, however, are pre-

pared in San Antonio.

7. The evidence indicates that it is not unusual in the petroleum

industry to control the refining process from offices geographically

distant from the physical plant.

8. Since the filing of the Chapter XI petition the bank group

providing post-petition financing has exerted substantial control over

the financial workings of CORCO. Money received by CORCO

from its sales is paid into a special account controlled by the lending

banks.

9. From a computer terminal in San Antonio, CORCO’s officers

have immediate access to its records.

C-9

In addition to the location of CORCO’s physical plant

in Puerto Rico, most of its products are sold to customers

located in Puerto Rico. CORCO’s sales team is divided

into two departments, refined products and petrochem-

icals. CORCO’s largest refined product customer is PR-

WRA, which purchased over 9,000,000 barrels of oil in

1977 for an approximate price of $132,700,000.*° An

employee stationed in Puerto Rico, the general manager

of marketing,’* services CORCO’s account with PRWRA.

This general manager, however, does not have the author-

ity to commit CORCO to delivery of residual fuel oil to

PRWRA. After PRWRA has informed CORCO’s general

manager that it wants to purchase fuel, the vice-president

for Refined Products Marketing is informed, who then

checks with the operating team to determine the avail-

ability of the product. Based on the information the vice-

president receives, he either approves or disapproves of

the sale. Only this vice-president is authorized to bind

CORCO in a sales agreement.

CORCO sold $198,000,000 worth of gasoline to other

customers in Puerto Rico during 1977. The contracts for

these sales are negotiated in the home offices of com-

panies that sell gasoline in Puerto Rico. Of the five gaso-

line contracts, four were negotiated and executed in the

mainland and only one in Puerto Rico. CORCO’s Vir-

ginia office is responsible for negotiating the contracts

and servicing the accounts.

10. The bankruptcy court opinion lists the value of the sales at

$182,000,000. The court was referring to the estimated sales pro-

jections for 1978.

11. The use of the title general manager for corporate officers

of CORCO is confusing. The general managers stationed in San

Antonio are heads of departments. The general manager who services

the PRWRA account is not a department head.

C-10

The sale of refined products to mainland customers re-

sulted in revenues of $190,000,000 in 1977. Most of

these sales were made to customers on the Northeast

coast of the United States. People working out of COR-

CO’s Virginia office are responsible for these sales. No

sales are actually consummated, however, until the Vir-

ginia office has checked with San Antonio on the avail-

ability of the products.

The petrochemical marketing department is stationed

in San Antonio. Over 80% of the petrochemicals pro-

duced by CORCO are either sold to CORCO’s joint

venturers located in Puerto Rico or to CORCO’s refin-

ery for refining into gasoline.” Most of the remaining

production is sold to mainland customers. For sales of

$110,000,000 in 1977, all but $9,000,000 were sold

off-island. The contracts for the petrochemical sales were

negotiated either at the home office of the purchasers or

in San Antonio.

This overview of CORCO’s operation reveals that pro-

duction is centered in Puerto Rico and that management

is centered in San Antonio. CORCO’s supplies come

from off-island sources, but a majority of CORCO’s pro-

duction is sold to customers located in Puerto Rico.’®

With this factual basis we consider the location of COR-

CO’s principal place of business.

12. The record is silent on who or where decisions are made con-

cerning sales of petrochemicals to joint venturers or to CORCO’s

refinery.

13. For example approximately 52% of the gasoline produced

by CORCO is sold for use in Puerto Rico; 90% of its aviation fuel:

44% of its middle distillate; 70% of its residual fuel; and 38%

of its aromatics.

C-11

III. Venue in Chapter XI proceedings

A history of the Chapter XI venue provision is es-

sential to an understanding of the meaning of principal

place of business. Prior to the adoption of the current

Chapter XI venue provision in 1973, Section 2(a)(1)

of the Bankruptcy Act, 11 U.S.C. § 11(a)(1), limited

venue for Chapter XI cases to the corporation’s principal

place of business.** Chapter X of the Bankruptcy Act, on

the other hand allowed for venue in both the district

where the corporation maintains its principal place of

business or its principal assets.’” Rule 116(a)(2) chang-

ed the Chapter XI venue provision to conform to Chap-

ter X’s standards.'® The change is significant for at least

14. Section 2(a)(1) provides in relevant part:

The courts of the United States hereinbefore defined as courts

of bankruptcy are . . . hereby invested . . . with such jurisdic-

tion at law or in equity as will enable them to...

(1) Adjudge persons bankrupt who have had their principal

place of business, resided, or had their domicile within their

respective territorial jurisdictions for the preceding six

months, or for a longer portion of the preceding six months

than in any other jurisdiction. .. .

Although the statute is couched in terms of jurisdiction, prior to

passage of Rule 116 it was interpreted as a venue provision. See Bass

v. Hutchins, 417 F.2d 692, 694-95 (CA5, 1969). It was, therefore,

within the power of the Supreme Court to promulgate a Bankruptcy

Rule altering § 2(a)(1)’s venue provision. See 28 U.S.C. § 2075;

Note, 52 N.Y.U. L. Rev. 362, 367 n.34 (1977).

15. 11 U.S.C. § 528. The statute provides that

If no bankrupcty proceeding is pending, an original petition

may be filed with the court in whose territorial jurisdiction the

corporation has had its principal place of business or its prin-

cipal assets for the preceding six months or for a longer portion

of the preceding six months than in any other jurisdiction.

Id.

16. See Advisory Committee’s Note to Rule 116(a). Rule 116

is made applicable to Chapter XI through Rule 11-13(a)(1). The

venue provision for Chapter X is contained in Rule 10-114. It con-

tinues to allow venue at either the debtor’s principai place of business

or where its principal assets are located.

C-12

two reasons. First, it sheds some doubt on the validity

of old case law construing Chapter XI’s prior venue

statute. Second, the change indicates an intent to ex-

pand the districts where a Chapter XI debtor may file by

appreciating the fact that a debtor’s principal place of

business is not necessarily at the same location as its

principal assets.

Prior to the adoption of Rule 116, the courts were

divided on the question whether a debtor’s principal place

of business is located in the district where the debtor

maintains its general offices or in the district where the

debtor operates its production facilities. Compare Dryden

v. Ranger Refining & Pipe Line Co., 280 F. 257 (CAS),

cert. denied, 260 U.S. 726, 43 S.Ct. 89, 67 L.Ed. 483

(1922), and Continental Coal Corp. v. Rozelle Bros.,

242 F. 243 (CA6, 1917), with Shearin v. Cortez Oil

Co., 92 F.2d 855 (CAS, 1937), and Burdick v. Dillon,

144 F. 737 (CAI, 1906). Although all courts agreed

that the location of a debtor’s principal place of busi-

ness is a question of fact, either production or manage-

ment facts were emphasized, depending on the circuit’s

preference.

This circuit has to some extent been inconsistent in its

treatment of this issue. In Dryden, the debtor maintained

its general office in Kansas City, Missouri. The debtor

was in the business of producing, refining, and selling

oil and gas. Most of its refineries and producing wells

were located in the Northern District of Texas. Most of

the debtor’s contracts were made and filled in the

Northern District. Money owed the debtor on these con-

tracts was also collected in the Northern District. On

these facts the court concluded that the debtor’s princi-

C-13

pal place of business was located in the Northern District.

In the later case, Shearin, this court expressed a prefer-

ence for locating a debtor’s principal place of business

in the district where the debtor manages its affairs. In

Shearin, the debtor’s oil wells and the place where it

delivered its product was in the Southern District of

Texas. The place from where the debtor managed its

business, however, was in the Northern District of Texas.

The court chose the Northern District as the principal

place of business.

Dryden and Shearin are inconsistent in the language

they use in reaching their conclusion on the location of

the debtor’s principal place of business, but they are

reconcilable on their individual facts. Dryden ruled out

the situs of production as a litmus test for locating a cor-

poration’s principal place of business. The court recog-

nized that in an appropriate case the place “from which

general supervision of [the debtor’s] business is exer-

cised, may be properly held to be the principal place of

business.” 280 F. at 263. Shearin was an appropriate

case. All of the debtor’s business was managed from its

offices in the Northern District. The emphasis in Shearin

was on the place where the debtor deals with the public.

Since the adoption of Rule 116 it is no longer neces-

sary to choose between the places of production and

management. The emphasis of earlier decisions on the

location of the debtor’s production facilities is no longer

appropriate because the location of the debtor’s principal

assets is now an independent basis of venue. Although

relevant to an inquiry into a debtor’s principal place of

business, the change in Rule 116 has greatly diminished

its significance. The case law developed under Chapter

C-14

X’s venue provision, which has always contained Rule

116’s alternative basis for venue, is now relevant to

venue under Chapter XI. We agree with the court’s con-

clusion in In re Portex Oil Co., 30 F.Supp. 138 (D.Or.

1939), aff'd sub nom. Clark Bros. Co. v. Portex Oil Co.,

113 F.2d 45 (CA9, 1946), that

A distinction must have been intended between

the two points where jurisdiction could be founded,

although often the principal assets will be at the

principal place of business. The intent must have

been to permit a corporation which habitually trans-

acted its corporate business at some point to bring

proceedings there.

* * *

[T]he distinction noted in the statute permits ad-

ministration if the petition is filed in the district

where the principal place of business is located, for

the very purpose of allowing the internet adminis-

tration of a company to be settled at the point where

those interested in it chose primarily to conduct its

business.

Id. at 140.

[4] Allowing venue in the district where a debtor

manages its business is particularly appropriate in both

Chapter X and XI cases. A corporate arrangement or

reorganization is primarily a financial proceeding. The

debtor is maintained as a going enterprise and its finances

are put back in order. See Note, 52 N.Y.U. L. Rev. 362,

362 n.5 (1977). Where the corporation transacts its

corporate business is a logical place for venue in such

proceedings.

[5] Our review of CORCO’s corporate structure dem-

onstrates that it manages most of its affairs from San

C-15

Antonio. The feedstocks for its facilities are purchased by

people working out of the San Antonio office. The trans-

portation of the raw product to Puerto Rico is arranged

from San Antonio. The operation of the refineries is di-

rected from San Antonio. The sale of its refined products

is managed from Virginia, and the sale of petrochemicals

is managed from San Antonio. The people who deal with

the Department of Energy and other federal agencies are

stationed in San Antonio. On these facts, we conclude

that the bankruptcy court was not clearly erroneous in

locating CORCO’s principal place of business in San

Antonio.

The district court relied exclusively on this court’s

opinion in Dryden for reversing the bankruptcy court’s

conclusion that CORCO’s principal place of business is

in San Antonio. The court stated “that the facts compel

the conclusion that application of the tests set forth in

Dryden . . . fix the debtor’s principal place of business

in Puerto Rico.” In a footnote the court listed the follow-

ing facts in support of its conclusion:

all of its assets are there; all of its production takes

place there; 95% of its employees live there; 70%

of its refined products sales and 88% of its petro-

chemical sales are made in Puerto Rico to entities

physically located on the island (some of the entities

are headquartered elsewhere and the contracts for

the sales may be negotiated off-island); invoices are

prepared and distributed from Puerto Rico; all origi-

nal records are kept in Puerto Rico by virtue of

Puerto Rican law; the debtor’s data processing center

is located in Puerto Rico; its audits are conducted

in Puerto Rico; stockholders’ and directors’ meetings

are held on the island; most of CORCO’s current

litigation, which is extensive with regard to both

C-16

the number of suits and the dollar amounts involved,

is going on in Puerto Rican courts (the next most

utilized forum is New York); the majority in number

of its creditors are in Puerto Rico; and Puerto Rico

is its place of incorporation.

As already indicated, the location of a debtor’s assets

is not particularly significant since the adoption of Rule

116. The location of employees is, of course, tied to the

location of assets. Many more workers are needed to

run a refinery than to manage one. The district court

mentions the physical location of CORCO’s customers

but does not give sufficient consideration to where the

sales are negotiated and who in the corporate structure

is charged with sales responsibility. Where the invoices

are prepared is significant, but where CORCO pays its

bills is of equal importance. The office of the comptroller

and treasurer is located in San Antonio. The other factors

mentioned by the district court, location of records,

where audits are performed, directors’ and stockholders’

meetings are held, and the location of CORCO’s current

litigation are all relevant factors, but the inquiry should

not have stopped there. Although the district court’s cita-

tion to Dryden is somewhat cryptic, the lower court must

have proceeded on the understanding that the location

of a debtor’s principal assets is its principal place of

business. Dicta in Dryden might support such an assump-

tion, but adoption of Rule 116 has vitiated whatever

validity that dicta once had. Moreover, the Dryden court

eschewed any attempt to set a firm rule and recognized

that general supervision of a corporation’s business can

constitute a corporation’s principal place of business. The

district court should have considered that management

of all aspects of CORCO’s business emanates from San

Antonio.

C-17

[6, 7] For the district court to reverse the bankruptcy

court’s conclusion that San Antonio is CORCO’s principal

place of business it had to conclude that the bankruptcy

court’s finding was clearly erroneous. Guarantee Ac-

ceptance Corp. v. Fidelity Mortgage Investors, 544 F.2d

449, 459 (CA10, 1976); Clark Bros. Co. v. Portex Oil

Co., 113 F.2d 45, 47 (CA9, 1940). Our review of the

facts and the relevant legal principles convinces us that

the bankruptcy court’s finding was not clearly erroneous.*’

IV. Transfer of venue

[8] Even though venue in San Antonio was proper,

it was still within the bankruptcy court’s discretion to

17. The government of Puerto Rico relies heavily on Anniston

Soil Pipe Co. v. Central Foundry Co., 216 F.Supp. 473 (N.D. Ala.

1963). There, the district court concluded that for purposes of

diversity jurisdiction, 28 U.S.C. § 1332(c), a corporation’s principal

place of business is the place where a corporation has its physical

assets, not its executive offices. We intimate no vier on the correct-

ness of the Anniston decision. Rather, we conclude that it is ir-

relevant. The diversity statute was amended in 1958 to give corpora-

tions dual citizenship; in addition to the traditional citizenship in

the state of incorporation, a corporation would also be considered

a citizen of the state where it has its principal place of business.

The purpose of the amendment was to reduce the availability of

diversity jurisdiction. S.Rep. No. 1830, 85th Cong., 2d Sess. (1958),

reprinted in U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News, 1958, pp. 3099, 3100.

The adoption of Rule 116, on the other hand, was intended to expand

venue choices for bankruptcy proceedings. Moreover, one of the pur-

poses of diversity jurisdiction is to protect nonresidents from any

possible prejudice they might encounter in local courts. Bank of the

United States v. Deveaux, 9 U.S. (5 Cranch) 61, 87, 3 L.Ed. 38, 45

(1809). See generally Friendly, The Historic Basis of the Diversity

Jurisdiction, 41 Harv. L. Rev. 453 (1928). A court fixing of a cor-

poration’s principal place of business would naturally try to imple-

ment this policy. No similar concern informs locating a corporation's

principal place of business for bankruptcy proceedings. The policy

concerns guiding each choice have little or nothing in common. 1

J. Moore, Federal Practice { 0.77 [3.-4.], (2d ed. 1978). The Anniston

decision is not persuasive in this context.

C-18

transfer the case to Puerto Rico. Fed. R. Bankr. P. 116

(b)(1). The court declined to do so, and we conclude

that there was no abuse of discretion. Jn re Tonkawa

Refining Co., 502 F.2d 1341, 1343 (CA10, 1974).**

The two general considerations the rule instructs the

court to take into account are the convenience of the

parties and the interest of justice.

[9] Under the heading of convenience of the parties

the bankruptcy court listed six factors:

(1) The proximity of creditors of every kind to the

Court;

(2) The proximity of the bankrupt (debtor) to the

Court;

(3) The proximity of the witnesses necessary to the

administration of the estate;

(4) The location of the assets;

(5) The economic administration of the estate;

(6) The necessity for ancillary administration if bank-

ruptcy should result.

None of the parties has questioned the propriety of these

considerations, nor have they suggested any additional

ones.

The bankruptcy court correctly concluded that the most

important consideration is whether the requested transfer

would promote the economic and efficient administration

18. There is no need to consider whether the district court

abused its discretion in retaining the case after it concluded that

venue in San Antonio was improper, because of our conclusion that

venue was proper in San Antonio.

C-19

of the estate. On the efficiency side, San Antonio is clear-

ly the favored district. The heart of a Chapter XI pro-

ceeding is working up a financial plan of arrangement

acceptable to all relevant parties. The people charged

with this responsibility in CORCO’s managament are all

located in San Antonio. The bankruptcy court also found

that the debtor’s estate could be administered more eco-

nomically in San Antonio. We cannot conclude that the

bankruptcy court’s finding was clearly erroneous.

[10] The next group of considerations concern the

proximity to the court of the creditors (and stockholders),

the debtor, and necessary witnesses. By far the largest

group of creditors numerically is located in Puerto Rico.

On the other hand, the creditors with the largest claims

have either urged retention of the proceeding in San

Antonio or are located in San Antonio. The bankruptcy

court decided to give more importance to the location and

desires of the creditors holding the largest claims. We

think this was inappropriate. To confirm a plan of ar-

rangement under Chapter XI, it must be accepted by

both a majority of creditors and by creditors holding a

majority in amount claimed against the debtor. 11 U.S.C.

§ 762. Both number and size are of equal significance

in gaining acceptance of a plan and should be of equal

significance in considering the convenience of the credi-

tors. Tesoro Petroleum, located in San Antonio, owns

37.6% of CORCO’s common stock. This makes San

Antonio the area with the largest number of stockholders.

Only 1.62% of CORCO’s shareholders are residents of

Puerto Rico. On balance, the proximity of creditors and

stockholders favors San Antonio.

The proximity of the debtor is evident. The concern

is with the corporation’s employees who must appear in

C-20

court, not with the employees who are on the production

line. CORCO’s management is in San Antonio. This also

answers the concern with the availability of witnesses.

Most of the witnesses who must appear in court are

stationed in San Antonio.

The next set of factors is the location of books, records

and assets. Although most of CORCO’s original books

and records are in Puerto Rico, instant access through

CORCO’s computer system is available in San Antonio.

The fact that the original set is maintained in Puerto Rico,

therefore, is of little significance in weighing the relative

convenience of the two forums. CORCO’s assets are in

Puerto Rico. This is of little importance in a Chapter XI

proceeding where the goal is financial rehabilitation, not

liquidation. See In re Banker's Trust, 403 F.2d 16, 23-

24 (CA7, 1968).”°

Finally, the bankruptcy court considered the need for

ancillary administration in the event that liquidation oc-

curs. As the court stated in Jn re Fairfield Puerto Rico,

Inc., supra at 1191, “[a]nticipation of the failure of the

Chapter XI proceeding is an illogical basis upon which

to predicate a transfer.”*°

In addition to considering the convenience of the par-

ties, Rule 116(b)(1) also instructs the court to account

19. The location of the debtor’s assets would be an extremely

significant consideration in a liquidation proceeding.

20. The government of Puerto Rico argues that the case should

be transferred because of the extensive litigation between CORCO

and other entities in Puerto Rico where Spanish civil law applies.

Much of that litigation will not be in the bankruptcy court and

will proceed in the appropriate court in Puerto Rico. The litigation

involving Spanish civil law in the bankruptcy court could probably

be handled more conveniently in Puerto Rico. By itself, however,

that is insufficient reason to transfer the case.

C-21

for the interest of justice. The main concern that this

implicates is the importance of CORCO to the welfare

and economic stability of Puerto Rico and its people.

Because CORCO is a major supplier of..petroleum pro-

ducts to Puerto Rico, both the economy and the people

of Puerto Rico are vitally concerned with the outcome

of the Chapter XI proceeding. The government contends

that the overwhelming concern of Puerto Rico with the

continued operations of CORCO require a transfer of this

case to Puerto Rico. We disagree. Without belittling in

the least the extent of Puerto Rico’s interest in CORCO,

that interest is served by maintaining CORCO as a func-

tioning reiinery. This can best be accomplished in San

Antonio. The troubles of CORCO are financiat The

people who can solve those problems for COR€O are in

San Antonio. The bankruptcy court found, and we cannot

say it is clearly erroneous, that it will be less disruptive

to the continued operation of CORCO if this case is

retained in San Antonio.

V. Conclusion

We conclude that CORCO’s principal place of busi-

ness is San Antonio. The bankruptcy court could have

nevertheless transferred the case in its discretion to

Puerto Rico. It was not an abuse of discretion to refuse

to do so.

Thus we conclude that the bankruptcy court must be

affirmed. Our ultimate conclusion is the same as that

reached by the district court, though arrived at by a

different route.

The judgment of the district court is AFFIRMED.

D-1

APPENDIX D

[1698]

IN THE

DISTRICT COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

SAN ANTONIO DIVISION

BANKRUPTCY NO. SA-78-BK-147

(CHAPTER XI)

(JOINTLY ADMINISTERED)

IN RE:

COMMONWEALTH OIL REFINING COMPANY,

INC., et al

DEBTORS

APPEAL FROM BANKRUPTCY COURT

ORDER

Came on for consideration the appeal of the Common-

wealth of Puerto Rico and the Puerto Rican Water Re-

sources Authority, hereinafter referred to as “appeallants”,

from the bankruptcy court’s Memorandum Opinion of

May 25, 1978, and Order of June 20, 1978, denying

appeilants’ objection to venue and motion to transfer.

The Commonwealth Oil Refining Company, Inc., the

debtor-in-possession in the Chapter XI proceeding below;

Citibank, N.A.; The Chase Manhattan Bank, N.A.;

Chemical Bank; First National Bank of Boston; Irving

D-2

Trust Company and Bank of America have appeared as

appellees in this proceeding. No oral argument having

been requested by either party, and it appearing to the

Court upon examination of the record that none was

necessary, the Court has considered the record designated

by the parties and the briefs of counsel in weighing the

merits of this appeal.

In their first point, the appellants contend that the

court below applied an incorrect legal standard in mak-

ing its determination that the Commonwealth Oil Re-

fining Company, Inc., hereinafter “CORCO”, has its

principal place of business in San Antonio, Texas. The

legal standard applied by the court appears at page 16

of its Memorandum Opinion:

CORCO’s principal place of business under Bank-

ruptcy Rule 116(a) is a question of fact to be de-

termined on a case by case basis and lies totally

within the sound discretion of this Court. (Mem.

Op. 16)

[1699]

The appellants challenge that part of the above state-

ment which characterizes a decision concerning a debtor’s

principal place of business as one that lies “totally

within the sound discretion of this Court.” Upon review

of the cases cited by the court below in support of this

proposition, this Court has been unable to find any

support for it. It is the opinion of this Court that the

above-quoted statement should be, and the same is hereby,

modified to read as follows:

D-2

CORCO’s principal place of business under Bank-

ruptcy Rule 116(a) is a question of fact to be de-

termined on a case by case basis.

The appellants next contend that the court below er-

roneously found that the debtor’s principal place of busi-

ness is located in San Antonio, Texas, from which the

court concluded that the Western District of Texas is a

proper situs for the Debtor’s Chapter XI proceedings.

Despite the unfortunate choice of words used by the court

below to express the legal standard applied to such deter-

minations, this Court, upon a review of the Memorandum

Opinion, is convinced that the bankruptcy judge made a

factual determination concerning the principal place of

business of CORCO. As such, the bankruptcy court’s

finding is to be evaluated by this Court under the stand-

ard set forth in Bankruptcy Rule 810:

. . . The Court shall accept the referee’s findings

of fact unless they are clearly erroneous .. .

The meaning of the phrase “clearly erroneous” as it ap-

plies to a finding of fact has been defined by the Supreme

Court of the United States as follows:

. when although there is evidence to support it,

the reviewing court on the entire evidence is left

with the definite and firm conviction that a mistake

has been committed. United States v. United States

Gypsum Co., 333 U.S. 364, 395 (1947).

This Court, upon a review of the transcript of the hearing

on the venue issue held before the bankruptcy court, the

record designated by the parties, and the briefs of coun-

D-4

sel, is of the opinion that a mistake was committed here-

in by the court below in finding that CORCO’s

[1700]

principal place of business lies in San Antonio, Texas.

This Court believes that the facts compel the conclusion

that application of the tests set forth in Dryden v. Ranger

Refining and Pipeline Co., 280 F. 257 (Sth Cir. 1922),

fix the debtor’s principal place of business in Puerto

Rico.’ Accordingly, that portion of the Memorandum

Opinion which finds the debtor’s principal place of busi-

ness to be San Antonio, Texas, is hereby REVERSED.

The Court next considered the issue of ultimate im-

portance in this appeal. The appellants contend that the

court below erred in denying their motion to transfer

CORCO’s Chapter XI proceedings from the Western

District of Texas to the District of Puerto Rico. The

decision of the court below concerning the transfer issue

is subject to reversal only upon a showing that an abuse

1. The facts in the record which point to a conclusion that the

debtor’s principal place of business is located in Puerto Rico are:

all of its assets are there; all of its production takes place there;

95% of its employees live there; 709% of its refined products sales

and 88% of its petrochemical sales are made in Puerto Rico to

entities physically located on the island (some of the entities are

headquartered elsewhere and the contracts for the sales may be

negotiated off-island); invoices are prepared and distributed from

Puerto Rico; all original records are kept in Puerto Rico by virtue

of Puerto Rican law; the debtor’s data processing center is located

in Puerto Rico; its audits are conducted in Puerto Rico;. stock-

holders’ and directors’ meetings are held on the island; most of

CORCO’s current litigation, which is extensive with regard to both

the number of suits and the dollar amounts involved, is going on

in Puerto Rican courts (the next most utilized forum is New York);

the majority in number of its creditors are in Puerto Rico; and

Puerto Rico is its place of incorporation.

D-5

of discretion was committed. Clark Bros. Co. v. Portex

Oil Co., 113 F.2d 45, 48 (9th Cir. 1940). While the

bankruptcy court, in accordance with its finding that

San Antonio, Texas, is the debtor’s principal place of

business, assigned the burden of proof on the issue of

transfer to the appellants, the shift in that burden to

the appellees necessitated by this Court’s finding that

Puerto Rico is the debtor’s principal place of business

is not necessarily fatal to the validity of the lower court’s

findings that the interest of justice and convenience of

the parties will best be served by

[1701]

retention of the proceedings in the Western District of

Texas. While it is true that discretion to retain jurisdiction

in the interest of justice and for convenience of the parties

where venue is improperly laid should be exercised with

great caution and in few cases, In re S.O.S. Sheet Metal

Co., Inc., 297 F.2d 32 (2nd Cir. 1961), this Court is

of the opinion that the exercise of discretion to retain

jurisdiction is proper in this case under Bankruptcy Rule

116(b)(2). The court below addressed all of the con-

siderations which have been held to control the deter-

mination of whether a transfer of the proceedings would

better serve the interests of justice and the convenience

of the parties. (Mem. Op. 20-24). The majority of its

findings on these issues originated in evidence introduced

by the debtors. In addition to the factors cited by the

bankruptcy judge, certain considerations apparent in this

particular proceeding deserve mention. The debtor’s ar-

rangement proceedings have been underway in the West-

ern District of Texas for approximately six months at

D-6

this writing. The bankruptcy court in this district is

intimately familiar with the progress and present status

of the arrangement proceedings and the problems present

in them. While the debtor’s principal place of business

is located in Puerto Rico, the great majority of the people

charged with its management are in the Western District

of Texas. Their importance to the ongoing operations of

the debtor is well documented by the court below (Mem.

Op. 3-9A). While their presence here and the functions

they perform do not make the Western District of Texas

the Debtor’s principal place of business, it is the manage-

ment personnel who will be looked to by the court during

the arrangement proceedings to ensure a successful out-

come. Their immediate access to the Court is imperative

if there is to be any chance of a successful arrangement.

To require the debtor’s management to travel to Puerto

Rico to attend court proceedings there as often as their

presence will most certainly be required would disrupt

their daily managerial duties to an extent that would

render the potential

[1702]

success of these arrangement proceedings doubtful from

the outset. In addition, the burden of transportation ex-

penses necessary to give management constant access to

a Puerto Rican court would be a considerable drain on

an already overextended estate, and it is apparent that

the institutional lenders prefer that venue be retained in

San Antonio.

The creditors, of course, are also entitled to full access

to the court. They are represented by a creditors’ com-

mittee in arrangement proceedings, however, and would

D-7

suffer little, if any, less hardship were this proceeding

to be transferred.

Finally, the interest in this arrangement proceeding

held by the Puerto Rican people must be addressed. The

central role played by CORCO in the social and economic

well-being of the Commonwealth cannot be denied. Were

this a liquidation proceeding, it should certainly take

place in Puerto Rico. Should it become apparent that a

liquidation proceeding is imminent, a transfer of the

case will certainly be proper, as the court below has

acknowledged (Mem. Op. 25). But to proceed on the

assumption now that CORCO’s efforts to revitalize itself

and rearrange its debt structure are doomed to failure,

and that liquidation will result, is not a proper basis for

transfer. The bankruptcy court in San Antonio is fully

cognizant of the interrelationship of CORCO’s fate with

that of Puerto Rico, (Mem. Op. 13-14, 24-25), and there

is no basis upon which to conclude that the court will

not proceed with the interests of the Puerto Rican people

in mind. Accordingly, the bankruptcy court’s order

denying the appellants’ motion to transfer is hereby

AFFIRMED.

It is SO ORDERED.

Entered at San Antonio, Texas, this 25th day of

August, 1978.

/s/ ADRIAN A. SPEARS

Adrian A. Spears

United States District Judge

E-1

APPENDIX E

* *« *

[476]

IN THE

DISTRICT COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

SAN ANTONIO DIVISION

BANKRUPTCY NO. SA-78-BK-147

(CHAPTER XI)

(JOINTLY ADMINISTERED)

IN RE:

COMMONWEALTH OIL REFINING COMPANY,

INC., et al

DEBTORS

MEMORANDUM OPINION

At San Antonio, Texas, on the 15th day of May, 1978,

came on for hearing the Objection to Venue and Motion

to Transfer (the “Motion”) filed by The Commonwealth

of Puerto Rico (The “Commonwealth”) and the Puerto

Rico Water Resources Authority (the “Authority”) or

(“PRWRA”) to transfer these proceedings from this

district to the United States District Court for the Dis-

trict of Puerto Rico, in San Juan, Puerto. The Common-

wealth and the Authority were joined in the Motion

by Transocean Gulf Oil Company, Banco de Ponce,

E-2

Banco Popular de Puerto Rico, Banco Credito y Ahorro

Ponceno, Union Independiente de al Industria de Petro-

quimicas de Puerto Rico, State Insurance Fund of The

Commonwealth of Puerto Rico and the Securities and

Exchange Commission of the United States. The United

States Department of Energy filed Amicus Curiae.

The Debtors, (“CORCO”) filed their response to the

Motion, opposing the transfer of this case from this dis-

trict. The Debtors were joined in their opposition to a

change of venue by Citibank, N.A., the Chase Man-

hattan Bank, N.A., Chemical Bank, First National Bank

of Boston, Irving Trust Company and Bank of America,

and Tesoro Petroleum Corporation.

The following memorandum opinion constitutes this

Court’s findings of fact and conclusions of law.

[477]

I.

HISTORIC BACKGROUND AND DEVELOPMENT

Commonwealth Oil Refining Company, Inc., (“COR-

CO”) was incorporated in 1953 under the laws of the

Commonwealth of Puerto Rico. CORCO began operat-

ing in 1956 as a petroleum refinery and eventually ex-

panded its operations to include several petrochemical

facilities. In essence, CORCO is in the business of pro-

ducing and selling refined petroleum products and a

variety of petrochemicals. The refinery and petrochemi-

cal facilities represent an investment of $545,000,000.00

and have a replacement cost of $1,000,000,000.00.

E-3

It should be noted that CORCO’s corporate structure

is multi-faceted and complex in that there are a total

of twenty-two affiliates, subsidiaries and joint venture

companies integrally tied to the parent company’s opera-

tions. Eleven of these subsidiaries are involved in these

Chapter XI proceedings. For a variety of business rea-

sons, the parent, CORCO, is licensed to do business in

Puerto Rico, New York and Texas, while the subsidiary

companies are qualified or licensed in those states and

countries which best serve their particular business pur-

pose such as: Liberia, Puerto Rico, the Bahamas, Dela-

ware and Virginia.

From the inception of the company until approximately

1971, all of CORCO’s operations and management were

situated in Puerto Rico. In 1971, the executive offices

were moved to New York City, New York. In 1975,

Tesoro Petroleum Corporation (“Tesoro”) headquartered

in San Antonio, Texas, acquired a 36.7% ownership

interest in CORCO’s common stock. Thereafter, in May,

1976, the executive offices and most management and

executive personnel were moved from New York City

to San Antonio where the CORCO offices are now

located.

[478]

II.

CORCO’S INTERNAL STRUCTURE

CORCO’S organizational structure is divided into two

distinct aspects which may be generally classified as man-

agement and production. The distinction is particularly

magnified by the geographic fact that management of

E-4

the company emanates from the CORCO offices on the

mainland of the United States in San Antonio, Texas,

whereas the actual plant facilities and production are

centered on the island of Puerto Rico.

At its physical plant facility in Puerto Rico, CORCO

directly employs over 1,400 people. There are between

15 and 20 employees at the CORCO office in McLean,

Virginia, 2 employees in New York City and some 70

employees in San Antonio consisting of middle level

management, top management and other executive per-

sonnel.

It is essential to examine in detail the various func-

tions performed by management: The departmental re-

lationship to one another; and management’s relationship

to its Puerto Rico facility and its customers.

Basically, CORCO management is divided into six

(6) separate departments: Planning and Economics,

Operations, Marine Transportation, Refined Products

Marketing, Petrochemicals Marketing, and Environmental

Affairs. Each of these departments are supervised by a

Vice-President who in turn reports directly to the Execu-

tive Vice-President.

In addition to these six (6) major areas of responsi-

bility, there are other departments which oversee COR-

CO’s joint ventures, personnel, public affairs and an

office which acts as liaison for suppliers and refined

products. These departments are supervised by General

Managers who also report to the Executive Vice-Presi-

dent. At the apex of the structural pyramid is the Presi-

dent and Chief Executive Officer. To assist the President

in generally coordinating the company is the Executive

Vice-President, the

E-5

[479]

Vice-President and General Counsel, and the Vice-Presi-

dent, Comptroller and Treasurer. All of the officers of

the company reside in San Antonio, Texas with the excep-

tion of the Senior Vice-President of Operations and the

Vice-President of Refined Products Marketing who reside

in Puerto Rico and McLean, Virginia respectively.

Crucial to the overall operation of CORCO is the

General Manager of Raw Materials Supply Department

and Refined Products Liaison. The department is essen-

tially responsible for locating and purchasing all “feed-

stocks” for the operation of the refinery. The feedstocks

purchased are primarily crude oil and naphtha. As there

are no feedstock supplies in Puerto Rico, all negotiations

and contracts for such purchases are conducted at or

from the San Antonio office or elsewhere in the various

oil centers of the United States such as Houston, New

York and San Francisco. While the majority of crude oil

feedstocks is purchased from United States producers,

it is not uncommon for CORCO to acquire feedstocks

from international sources such as Lybia and Venezuela.

Since prices in the oil industry fluctuate daily and pur-

chases of feedstocks are made on a daily basis in accord-

ance with customer demands, the Supply Department

must maintain a day-to-day and even an hour-by-hour

vigilence of the market to ascertain the best available

supply of feedstocks for the best available supply of feed-

stocks for the best possible price. Parenthetically, it

should be noted that CORCO is one of the largest

naphtha purchasers in the world, and like crude oil pur-

chases, the market for naphtha is world wide and subject

E-6

to similar variances of market fluctuation which requires

constant scrutiny by the Supply Department.

The Marine Transportation Department, whose per-

sonnel are located in the CORCO San Antonio office, is

charged with the daily shipping of feedstocks to the re-

finery as well as other petrochemical facilities in Puerto

Rico. It is this Departmment’s function to insure that

delivery of feedstocks is

[480]

timely and that the requisite ships are chartered, and that

the charter hires are financially complete in every respect

so that the transportation of the raw material to the

refinery and from the refinery to the market place is

economically and efficiently accomplished. The decisions

of the Marine Transportation Department must be made

on a daily basis and represent an integral part of

CORCO’S operations.

The Petrochemical Marketing Department of CORCO

is responsible for the sale and marketing of petrochemi-

cals sold to the customers other than CORCO’S joint

venturers. Negotiations for the sales of these products

are conducted at or from the San Antonio office and/or

the headquarter office of each customer. No such negotia-

tions are conducted in Puerto Rico. While a great major-

ity of CORCO’S petrochemical production is sold and

under long term contracts, about 25% of sales are on a

“spot purchase” basis to various customers in the United

States, Europe, South America and Asia. Of the approxi-

mate $110,000,000.00 in petrochemical sales, 7.5 million

dollars represented sales to Union Carbide for use in

E-7

Puerto Rico. Negotiations for the Union Carbide sales

were conducted both in New York and San Antonio and

not on the island of Puerto Rico. 1.5 million dollars

represented sales to petrochemical customers in Puerto

Rico.

The Refined Product Marketing Department and its

Vice-President are located in McLean, Virginia. This

department is responsible for the direct and daily control

of CORCO’S sales activity for all refined fuel products

marketed on the island of Puerto Rico. The Virginia

office also operates as the CORCO Affiliate Petroleum

Marketing Corporation which is charged with the super-

vision of all cargo, rack, and barge sales of petroleum

products on the East Coast of the United States.

CORCO’S major customer for its refined products is the

Puerto Rican Water Resources Authority (“PRWRA”)

which furnishes the island its total supply of electrical

power. The General Manager of

[481]

Marketing lives in Puerto Rico and has the primary

task of servicing the PRWRA account as regards collec-

tions, delivery dates, disputes involving demurrages, un-

paid invoices, and reconciliation of figures and receipts

of data concerning PRWRA fuel oil inventory. He has no

authority to make commitments for the sale of fuel oil

to PRWRA on behalf of CORCO. Rather, the General

Manager of Marketing acts as a liaison between the cus-

tomer, PRWRA, and the Vice President of Refined

Product Marketing as concerns any supply or fuel oil

inventory requirements. Any requests for a deviation in

the refined product sold to PRWRA is transmitted from

E-8

the customer via the General Manager to his departmental

Vice-President. The Vice-President, must, in turn, report

any major deviation or need for additional fuel oil by

PRWRA to the San Antonio office where the ultimate

decision is made and re-transmitted back through the

same channels to the customer.

As concerns the sale of refined products other than fuel

oil—such as liquified petroleum gas, Jet A-1 aviation

fuel, and gasoline, the sales responsibility is also vested in

the Refined Products Marketing Department in Virginia.

Contracts, sales agreements and negotiations for these

products are all the responsibility of this department upon

the ultimate approval of the San Antonio office. Such

contracts and agreements concerning the sale of these

refined products require the constant attention of the

Vice-President who must be in regular communication

with his corporate superior for ratification of new agree-

ments or deviations from existing contracts.

The Operations Department is charged with the daily

implementation of corporate policy as well as the control

and direction of the daily operation of CORCO’S refin-

ing facilities in Puerto Rico. This department and its

General Manager are located in San Antonio. Operations

and its Manager are directly responsible for any and all

variations in the refinery function which may result from

changes in market, supply, price or oper-

[482]

ating mode. These variables must be dealt with on a day-

to-day basis as problems arise and coordinated with the

pertinent department heads to determine the appropriate

E-9

course of action. In essence, the Operations Department

Manager is chairman of the Operating Team which will

be discussed hereafter and responsible for coordinating,

and implementing the Operating Plan.

The Planning and Economics Department is situated

in San Antonio and one of its primary functions is the

formulation of the basis of the Operating Plan. This de-

partment receives its input from all other departments

and from the refinery and petrochemical facilities. The

information gathered from all of these sources concerns

among other things the availability of feedstock supplies;

fuel price variations; the demands of the refinery and its

customers; any equipment maintenance scheduling and

transportation requirements. All of these and other

pertinent factors are fed into a computer which is pro-

grammed to analyze the data and to produce a composite

of information in mathematical terms of the overall status

of the company, and a forecast of its various needs over

a certain time frame. Obviously, the task is a complex

and intricate one, and serves as a necessary guide in the

formulation of the overall Operating Plan. As problems

are encountered or changes made in the refinery pro-

duction, contracts, supply or transportation, the com-

puter run must be amended accordingly and the informa-

tion re-evaluated. This function of the department is a

daily one and comprises an essential element in the man-

agement of the company. Other responsibilities of the

Planning and Economics Depariment are the development

of short and long term plans for the operation of the

company with particular emphasis on the conduct of op-

erations at the refinery and petrochemical complexes;

providing advice to management on the economic con-

sequences of various business opportunities and options

E-10

as they arise; administering compliance with Department

of Energy Regulations:

[483]

and dealing with the Department of Energy as concerns

the entitlements program.

Within the corporate structure of CORCO, it is also

important to note the position of the Comptroller and

Treasurer. While this office performs the usual fiscal

functions generally associated with its title (i.e. main-

tenance of bank accounts, payment of taxes, prepara-

tion of financial reports) it is also charged with the pay-

ment of virtually every expenditure of the company ex-

cept those related to actual local operations in Puerto

Rico. These payments include among others the pur-

chase of feedstocks and total expenditures amounting to

approximately $20,000,000.00 per week. The depart-

ment also supervises the investment of surplus funds on

a short term basis which has earned about $100,000.00

to $150,000.00 per month. Cash disbursements, expedi-

tures and investments of this magnitude require the daily

attention of the Treasurer and his entire staff. Ad-

ditionally, this department has been required to work

closely with the various bank creditors, the fiscal agent

and be accessible to the Court during these Chapter XI

proceedings.

The Executive Vice-President of CORCO is directly

involved in the day-to-day supervision of the supply

and purchase of raw materials; the transportation of

refined products; and the manufacturing and sale of

refined and petrochemical products. He is not simply a

E-11

formulator of general company policy, but is rather an

integral and essential supervisor of all department func-

tions and, other than the President, is responsible for

the ultimate decisions in the daily operational structure

of CORCO.

There is one CORCO Vice-President who is responsible

for the refinery operation in Ponce, Puerto Rico. Like

other department heads, he is under the supervision of

the Executive Vice-President in San Antonio, Texas.

The refinery Vice-President essentially serves as a Plant

Manager to supervise personnel, make incidental pur-

chases, and insure that the refinery is run according to

the Operating Plan which is formulated and directed from

San Antonio. He has no authority to negotiate purchases

[484]

of feedstocks; to negotiate sales of refined products; to

stop or start refinery production except in emergencies;

or to decide the volume of production.

Finally and most important is a description of the

CORCO Operating Team. The Team is composed of

the various department heads or their designated repre-

sentatives. It is incumbent on the Team to evaluate all

of the relevant information from as many department

sources as possible to devise what has previously been

termed as the Operating Plan. The Team meets once

or twice a week and is chaired by the General Manager

of Operations. Specifically, members of the team in-

clude personnel from Planning and Economics, Marine

Transportation, Raw Materials and Supply, Refined

Products Marketing and Operations as well as other de-

E-12

partments whenever their specific expertise and advice

is desired. The Team reviews in detail the computer

analysis and forecast prepared by Planning and Eco-

nomics. Projections are made in light of the computer

analysis and on the basis of information supplied by

each department as to an overall Plan of Operation for

the succeeding sixty-ninety days. Customer demand,

availability of supply, transportation requirements, pricing

and cost are among the factors taken into account in

formulating the plan. As has been stated previously,

many factors are presented almost daily which demand

some degree of amendment to the Operating Plan. For

that reason, the Plan is re-evaluated and re-structured

on a weekly basis as often as necessary. This constant

short term revision of the Operating Plan also affects

the long range projections which must also be amended

accordingly. The Plan is disseminated to all departments

and plant facilities so that at every level of operation the

company’s goals, both immediate and in the future, are

known by those charged with the task of its implementa-

tion. The Plan is far and above a mere statement of

general policy or company guidelines. Rather, it repre-

sents the overall production schedule in detail and affects

each and every aspect of the company’s daily, weekly

and monthly operations. There is no substantial deviation

from the Plan by any department

[485]

without clearance from the Operating Team in San

Antonio. In essence, it is the Operating Team and the

Plan which they devised that guides, governs, and affects

every phase of CORCO’s operations.

E-13

[486]

t III.

% CORCO SUPPLIERS AND CUSTOMERS

While CORCO’S physical plant facilities are situated

in Puerto Rico, it must be noted that the island produces

no raw materials or feedstocks which may be locally

purchased. As a result, the company is required to buy

its crude oil and raw petrochemicals not only from the

United States mainland but from worldwide markets.

As concerns crude oil purchases, CORCO’S major sup-

plier is Coastal States Trading Company based in Hous-

ton, Texas. Libyan and Venezuelan crude oil is also

purchased in significant quantities. Negotiations for feed-

stock purchases are generally conducted either by tele-

phone contact with the supplier from the CORCO

General Manager of Raw Materials and Supply in San

Antonio or by personal contact with suppliers or their

representatives in New York, Houston and San Francisco.

Purchases of raw materials for use in the petrochemical

plants are primarily negotiated and consummated with

suppliers in the Southeast area of the United States.

The sale of CORCO petrochemical products is con-

ducted by the Department of Marketing in San Antonio.

Sales to customers, other than CORCO joint venture

affiliates, in 1977 totalled some $110,000,000.00. Of

that amount, approximately $9,000,000.00 represents

sales in Puerto Rico. CORCO’S major petrochemical

customers are located principally throughout the United

States, Delaware, Missouri, Louisiana, New Jersey, West

Virginia, as well as Germany, South America and Asia.

E-14

Negotiations for these sales are conducted either at the

purchasers home office or from San Antonio.

Sales of refined products produced by CORCO and

sold on\the island of Puerto Rico was the responsibility

of the Refined Product Marketing Department in Mc-

Lean, Virginia. CORCO customers on the island include

the major oil companies that

[487]

purchase gasoline and aviation fuel (Texaco, Esso, Shell,

Arco and Gasolinas de Puerto Rico), liquified petroleum

gas customers, bunker sale customers, PRWRA and mis-

cellaneous spot sales customers. PRWRA is undoubtedly

the largest single customer of CORCO. In 1977, for

example, sales to PRWRA generated approximately

$182,000,000.00. Other gasoline sales on the island,

during the same period account for some $198,000,000.00

or 9.9 Million barrels. Contracts for these sales are

negotiated in the various home offices of these customers.

PRWRA sales are conducted between the Authority exec-

utives and the CORCO liaison officer on the island with

the approval of the Marketing Vice-President in McLean,

Virginia and the Operating Team in San Antonio. Texaco

contracts are negotiated in White Plains, New York. Shell

sales are conducted in Puerto Rico. Arco contracts are

consummated from Los Angeles, California. Gasolinas de

Puerto Rico has its parent company in California where

the contract was originally negotiated. Esso sales are con-

ducted in Coral Gables, Florida.

Off-island spot sales of gasoline are made to customers

principally in the Northeast United States and Eastern

hice ~

E-15

seaboard from Norfolk, Virginia to Boston, Massachu-

setts. Those sales are made from the McLean, Virginia

office upon the approval of the CORCO Operating per-

sonnel in San Antonio. In 1977 some 12.7 million barrels

were sold at a dollar value of $190,000,000.00. The spot

market includes sales of gasoline, kerosene and tool oil.

IV.

CORCO REVENUES AND DEBT STRUCTURE

The present financial picture of CORCO with parti-

cular attention to its existing debt structure is an essential

aspect in the determination of proper venue. Initially and

as was previously noted in this opinion, CORCO’S invest-

ment in its physical Puerto Rican plant facilities is in the

neighborhood of

[488]

$545,000,000.00 with a replacement cost of approxi-

mately $1,000,000,000.00. Tesoro Petroleum Company’s

purchase of 36.7% of CORCO common stock (5.5

million shares) represents an investment in CORCO of

$80,000,000.00. As of the date of filing of these pro-

ceedings the additional indebtedness to Tesoro was in

the $70,000,000.00 range. Primary lenders to CORCO

comprise several of the largest banking houses in New

York, California and Puerto Rico and are referred to

as the Citibank Group. The debt owed to the bank group

is presently in the neighborhood of $150,000,000.00.

The total shares of CORCO common stock outstand-

ing is 14,999,831. Of that total, 243,441 shares (1.62% )

are held by Puerto Rican residents numering 1,099

E-16

shareholders out of a total of 23,241 shareholders. Ad-

ditionally, CORCO has issued $17,856,000.00 of 442%

convertible subordinated debentures due in 1992. These

debentures are held by 783 accounts and Puerto resi-

dents hold 2.6% of the total outstanding debentures.

According to the schedules filed by CORCO in this

case, there is a total indebtedness to all creditors in the

amount of $322,.881,857.88. From that total indebted-

ness there are landlord debts of about $606,000.00 of

which 55% is owed to United States mainland creditors

and 45% to Puerto Rican creditors. The debt scheduled

as owing to taxing authorities is some $1,768,000.00

of which 11% is owed to United States mainland tax-

ing authorities and 89% to Puerto Rico authorities.

Priority wage claims total $400.69, 100% of which is

owed to Puerto Rican employees. The secured debt totals

$263,366,705.48 of which 91% is owed to United States

mainland creditors and 9% to Puerto Rican creditors.

The unsecured debt amounts to $57,140,364.98, of

which 93% is scheduled as owing to United States main-

land creditors and 7% to Puerto Rican creditors. In

summary, the total indebtedness from all categories in-

dicates that 90% of all debts are owed to United States

mainland creditors and 10% to Puerto Rican creditors.

[489]

Aside from the value of its physical plant facilities,

and revenues generated therefrom, CORCO relies heavily

upon the entitlements and exceptions programs ad-

ministered by the Department cf Energy of the United

States. At the risk of oversimplification, the entitlements

program is a monetary contribution by the Department of

E-17

Energy to certain companies in order to equalize com-

petitive factors where it has been determined that in-

equities exist in the market place. The inaccessibility

of the CORCO refinery to a material source of feedstock,

the lack of a pipeline facility from the supplier to the

refiner, the expense of shipping refined products to the

mainland are some of the factors weighed in awarding

CORCO the entitlements it receives. The company has

been awarded entitlements amounting to $90,000,000.00-

$100,000,000.00 a year from the Department of Energy.

Obviously, these entitlements are a significant factor in

the financial operation of the company.

7.

THE COMMONWEALTH OF PUERTO RICO

Having thus far set out the historic background and

corporate and financial structure of CORCO as it exists

internally and with respect to its customers, suppliers

and creditors, it is also incumbent to consider the im-

pact this proceeding has on The Commonwealth and

people of Puerto Rico, and the factual basis for its posi-

tion urging the transfer of the case to the Bankruptcy

Court in San Juan.

In a strictly factual context, it must first be noted

that all of CORCO’s physical plant facilities—both re-

fining and petrochemical—are located on the island of

Puerto Rico. As has been noted, CORCO directly em-

ploys approximately 1,200 Puerto Rican _ residents.

Through its own plant operations as well as its partici-

pation in the various joint venture projects in Puerto

Rico, CORCO ultimately effects 12,000 Puerto Rican

citizens. CORCO’S Puerto Rican payroll is $750,000.00.

E-18

[490}

CORCO’S largest single customer is the Puerto Rican

Water Resources Authority which consists of four power

generating installations and provides all of the electrical

power on the island. Electrical service customers number

approximately 900,000 including commercial, industrial

and residential. Forty percent of the total power gene-

rated by PRWRA emanates from its South Coast

Plant which is dependent exclusively on CORCO for its

fuel oil supply. Revenues from PRWRA to CORCO

range from $132,000,000.00 to $182.000,000.00 per

year.

In addition to furnishing PRWRA much of its fuel oil

supply, CORCO provides other refined petroleum prod-

ucts and petrochemicals to island consumers. For ex-

ample, CORCO supplies Puerto Rico with 98% of its

liquified petroleum gas requirements, 62% of its motor

gasoline, 90% of its aviation fuel, 58% of its middle

distillates, and 73% of its aromatics.

CORCO is a fact of life for many of the people and

businesses of Puerto Rico who depend on the company

for jobs, transportation, fuels and electrical power. In

turn, CORCO’S revenues are in large meature attribut-

able to its sale of refined products and petrochemicals

on the island. The immense public interest of the citizenry

of Puerto Rico and their government are well founded

and fully appreciated by this Court.

VI.

POST CHAPTER XI PROCEEDINGS

On March 2, 1978. CORCO filed for Chapter XI in

E-19

the San Antonio Division of the Western District of

Texas. Since the date of filing, this Court has appointed

a Fiscal Agent to oversee the company’s operation gen-

erally and assist all parties in the formulation of a

Plan of Arrangement. The Court has also approved the

retention of various attorneys and law firms both in the

United States and Puerto Rico to handle the myriad of

legal problems facing the company during the pendency

of the case.

[491]

Prior to the First Meeting of Creditors, the Court was

required to hear various emergency matters concerning

the rejection of certain executury contracts, temporary

restraining orders, designation of bank depositories and

the like. Since the filing of the instant Motion for Trans-

fer of this matter to Puerto Rico, the Court has refrained

from ruling on substantive issues pending in the case

until the venue question was heard and resolved.

On May 15, 1978, the First Meeting of Creditors

was held for the limited purpose of receiving the report

of the Fiscal Agent. Thereafter, the meeting was ad-

journed and the Motion now before the Court was there-

after presented in its entirety.

[492]

Vil.

LAW APPLIED TO THE FACTS

Jurisdiction is conceded to be in the Western District

of Texas. Proper venue for these Chapter XI proceedings

E-20

is determined by Bankruptcy Rule of Procedure 116

(a)(2) which provides:

(2) CORPORATION OR PARTNERSHIP. A pe-

tition by or against a corporation or partnership may

be filed in the district (A) where the bankrupt has

had its principal place of business or its principal

assets for the preceding 6 months or for a longer

portion thereof than in any other district; or, (B)

if there is no such district, in any district where the

bankrupt has property.

The Motions to Transfer Venue are brought under

Bankruptcy Rule 116(b)(1) and (2) which provide:

(1) WHEN VENUE PROPER. Although a peti-

tion is filed in accordance with subdivision (a) of

this rule, the court may, after hearing on notice to

the petitioner or petitioners and such other persons

as it may direct, in the interest of justice and for

the convenience of the parties, transfer the case to

any other district. The transfer may be ordered at

or before the first meeting of creditors either on the

court’s own initiative or on motion of a party in

interest but thereafter only on a timely motion.

(2) WHEN VENUE IMPROPER. If a petition

is filed in a wrong district, the court may, after

hearing on notice to the petitioner or petitioners and

such other persons as it may direct, dismiss the case

or, in the interest of justice and for the convenience

of the parties, retain the case or transfer it to any

other district. Such an order may be made at or

before the first meeting of creditors either on the

court’s own initiative or on motion of a party in

interest but thereafter only on a timely motion. Not-

withstanding the foregoing, the court may without

a hearing retain a case filed in a wrong district if

no objection is raised.

E-21

CORCO’s principal place of business under Bankruptcy

Rule 116(a) is a question of fact to be determined on

a case by case basis and lies totally within the sound

discretion of this Court. Continental Coal Corp. v.

Rozelle Brothers, 242 F. 243 (6th Cir. 1917); Chicago

Bank of Commerce v. Carter, 61 F.2d 968 (8th Cir.

1932); In re R. H. Pennington & Co., 228 F. 388 (W.D.

Kentucky 1915); Clark Brothers Co. v. Portex Oil Co..,

113 F.2d 45 (9th Cir. 1940); In re Hudik-Ross Co., Inc.,

198 F. Supp. 695 (S.D.N.Y.) aff'd sub. nom.; In re S.O.S.

Sheet Metal Co., Inc., 297 F.2d 32 (2d Cir. 1961);

In re Bankers Trust, 403 F.2d 16 (7th Cir. 1968);

Dryden v. Ranger Refining & Pipeline Co., 280 F. 157

(Sth Cir.); cert. denied 260 U.S. 726 (1922).

[493]

This Court, after thoroughly reviewing the evidence

adduced concerning where the debtors’ principal place of

business is located concludes that their principal place

of business is San Antonio, Texas, and therefore the

Western District is a proper venue situs for the debtors’

Chapter XI proceeding as provided for under Bankruptcy

Rule 116(a)(2). Movants rely on and cite Dryden v.

Ranger Refining & Pipe Line Co., 280 F. 257 (Sth Cir.

1922) and Anniston Soil Pipe Co. v. Central Foundry

Co., 216 F.Supp. (N.D. Alabama, 1963); Affd per

curiam, 329 F.2d 313 (5th Cir. 1964), as authority

for their position that the debtors’ principal place of

business is situated in Puerto Rico. In the Dryden case,

the Court concluded from the evidence that the bank-

rupt’s principal place of business was in Ranger, Texas

where its refinery was located. The Dryden case is easily

E-22

distinguished from the case at bar for the following

reasons:

(1) In the Dryden case substantially all of the

bankrupt’s feedstocks were supplied from oil and gas

wells owned by it in Texas which were situated in

the general area of its refinery. In the case at bar,

no feedstocks exist in Puerto Rico, but have to be

imported by the debtor from the United States main-

land and from certain foreign countries.

(2) In Dryden substantially all contracts for the

sale of the bankrupt’s refinery products were initiated

and closed in Ranger, Texas, where its refinery was

located. In the instant case substantially all of the

debtors’ contracts for purchase and sale of its feed-

stocks and refined products are controlled, negoti-

ated, contracted for and closed from either their

offices in San Antonio, Texas, McLean, Virginia,

or from the customer’s and purchaser’s offices in the

United States.

(3) In Dryden contracts for and agreements with

various transportation companies for the inflow and

[494]

outflow of its feedstocks and refined products were

handled at the refinery office of the bankrupt in

Ranger, Texas. In the case at bar, all contracts for

and arrangements with Marine Transportation Com-

panies are handled and controlled from the debtors’

San Antonio office and not in Puerto Rico.

(4) In Dryden the great majority of the bankrupt’s

dealings with the public were carried on and closed

E-23

at its refinery office in Ranger, Texas. In the instant

case, the great majority of the debtors’ dealings

with the public are directed, controlled, carried on

and closed from either their San Antonio offices or

from the offices of the various members of the

public located in the United States.

Finally, the Court of Appeals in Dryden at pages 263

and 264, concedes that the place where a corporation’s

sales are negotiated, contracted, concluded and from

which general supervision of all of its business is exer-

cised, may be properly held to be the principal place

of business of such corporation—as opposed to the place

where the working operations of ihe corporation are

located.

The Anniston Soil Pipe Co., case is also distinguish-

able for the following reasons:

(1) No bankruptcy proceeding or venue issue was

present in the Anniston case.

(2) In the Anniston case, the sole issue to be

determined was whether the District Court had

jurisdiction of the case based upon diversity of

citizenship of the parties. In the case at bar, the

jurisdiction of this Court over these Chapter XI

proceedings is not an issue in the case.

(3) Movants have not shown that the factors and

rationale used in Anniston or any other diversity

case,

[495]

bearing on a jurisdictional question, are applicable

E-24

to a determination of venue in a bankruptcy pro-

ceeding where jurisdiction itself is not an issue.

(4) In Anniston, the jurisdiction of the District

Court failed because the principal place of business

of the Appellant was found to be located in the

same State as its Operating Plant, and as a result,

no diversity of citizenship existed to support juris-

diction. In the instant case, the venue of this Court

will not necessarily fail if the evidence had shown

that the principal place of business of the debtors

was in Puerto Rico, because Bankruptcy Rule

116(b)(2) expressly allows this Court to retain

venue of the case—if the interest of justice and the

convenience of the parties so requires.

The Court, having concluded and determined that

proper venue for CORCO’S Chapter XI proceedings lie

in the Western District under Rule 116(a)(2), must now

determine whether venue for these Chapter XI proceed-

ing should be transferred to the District of Puerto Rico

under the discretionary provisions of Rule 116(b)(1).

In determining such transfer issue, this Court should not

freely abandon to another district, or lightly shift to

another Court, its duty to determine a matter clearly

within its jurisdiction and same should be exercised with

caution. In re United Button Co., 137 F. 668, 672 (D.

Del. 1904), In re Bankers Trust, 403 F.2d 1623 (C.A. 7

1968). In re Miller, 172 F.Supp. 208, 209-210 (D.

Kan. 1959). Also the burden of proof is upon the mov-

ing party requesting and seeking the transfer—with the

quantum of the burden being a “fair preponderance of

the evidence”. In re Triton Chemical Corp., 46 F.Supp.

326, 328 (D. Del. 1942); In re Fairfield Puerto Rico,

Inc., 333 F.Supp. 1187 (D. Del. 1971); In re S.O.S.

E-25

Sheetmetal Co., Inc., 297 F.2d 32 (2nd Cir. 1961);

In re Fada Radio & Electric Co., 132 F.Supp. 89 (S.D.

N.Y. (1955).

[496]

While Rule 116(b)(1) uses the term “convenience of

the parties” in connetion with a discretionary transfer of

venue in a bankruptcy proceeding, it does not attempt to

define who are the parties at interest. It has been held

however, that the term includes creditors, whether secured

or unsecured, the debtor, shareholders, debenture holders,

and all persons whose pecuniary interests are directly

affected by the bankruptcy proceeding. Clark Bros. Co.

v. Portex Oil Co., 113 F.24 45, 48; Re United Button Co.

137 F. 672; Re Statewide Treatres Corp., 4 F.Supp. 87;

Haas v. Gerstel, 134 F.2d 803, (C.A. 5 Fla. 1943); In

re Fairfield Puerto Rico, Inc., Supra, In re Okmulge Pro-

ducing & Refining Co., 265 F. 736 (D. Del. 1920). Ac-

cordingly it is held that CORCO, its affiliated companies,

its creditors, both secured and unsecured, its debenture

holders and shareholders are among those who are parties

in interest.

The tests for transfer under Rule 116(b)(1) is whether

it is “in the interest of justice and for the convenience of

the parties” to transfer the case to another district.

Neither the Bankruptcy Act nor the Bankruptcy Rules of

Procedure attempt to define the phrase “in the interest

of justice” or “convenience of the parties”. However, it

has been held and recognized by the Courts that some of

the factors to be considered in determining whether a

transfer of venue will be “in the interest of justice” and

“for the convenience of the parties” are:

E-26

(1) The proximity of creditors of every kind to the

Court;

(2) The proximity of the bankrupt (debtor) to the

Court;

(3) The proximity of the witnesses necessary to the

administration of the estate;

(4) The location of the assets;

(5) The economic administration of the estate;

(6) The necessity for ancillary administration if

bankruptcy should result.

See In The Matter Of Fairfield Puerto Rico, Inc.,

debtor 33 F.Supp. 1187 (D. Del. 1971); In re United

Button Co., 137 F.

[497]

668, (D. Del. 1904); Haas v. Gersiel, 134 F.2d 803,

(C.A. 5 Fla. 1943); In re Triton Chemical Corp., 46

F.Supp. 326, (D. Del. 1942); In re Bankers Trust, 403

F.2d 16, (C.A. 7 1968); In re Miller, 172 F.Supp. 208,

(D.C. Kan. 1959).

The foregoing factors are applied as follows in the

instant case:

The Economic And Efficient

Administration Of The Estate Of

The Debtor-In-Possession

If one factor could be singled out as having the most

logical importance, it would be whether a transfer would

promote the efficient and economic administration of an

E-27

estate. In re United Button Co., 137 F. 668; In re Triton

Chem. Corp., 46 F.Supp. 326, 329. The evidence clearly

shows that the estates of the Debtors-In-Possession are

being jointly administered in the Western District in an

economic and efficient manner. Refererice is here made

to the voluminous findings set forth by the Court in Parts

I & II of this Opinion which bear upon and relate to this

important factor. Such findings clearly show that the

debtors’ management operations are substantially based

and geared to their San Antonio, Texas office from which

the economic and efficient operations of the estates of

these Debtors-In-Possession are currently being accom-

plished and will continue to be accomplished in the future.

Additionally, no evidence was adduced to show that the

Debtors-In-Possession have any other office in Puerto

Rico or elsewhere which can readily duplicate the man-

agement functions of the San Antonio office. Also,

Movants, in support of their Motion to Transfer Venue,

adduced no meaningful evidence to show how or under

what circumstances the estates of the Debtors-In-Posses-

sion could be administered as economical and efficiently,

or more economical and efficiently in Puerto Rico than

is currently being accomplished in San Antonio. Rather,

the evidence tended to show that in all probability, the

expenses of administering the debtors’ Chapter XI pro-

ceedings would increase if venue is transferred to

[498]

Puerto Rico, and the remoteness of the proceedings in

Puerto Rico from the debtors’ total management opera-

tions in San Antonio, and the United States mainland,

would reduce the efficient administration of these Chapter

XI proceedings.

E-28

Proximity Of The Creditors To The Court

In considering the interest of the creditors in deter-

mining whether venue should be transferred in this case,

it is the total dollar amount of the claims held by

creditors, and not their number, which is more important.

Clark Bros. Co. v. Portex Oil Co., 113 F.2d 45, 48.

In the instant case, the evidence established 90% of the

debtors’ total indebtedness is owed to United States main-

land creditors and only 10% to Puerto Rican creditors.

Additionally, only 1.62% of the debtors’ shareholders

are residents of Puerto Rico, and only 2.6% of its

debenture holders are Puerto Rican residents. By com-

parison, 36.7% of the debtors’ common stock is owned

by a San Antonio based shareholder having an invest-

ment of approximately $80,000,000.00 in same. Also,

the same San Antonio based shareholder has advanced

loans to CORCO totaling approximately $70,000,000.00.

It has been held that the creditors with the largest

claims have the greatest interest and their interests should

be weighed accordingly. Re Republic Gas Corp., 6 F.

Supp. 70, 71; Re United Button Co., 137 F. 673; Clark

Bros. Co. v. Portex Oil Co., 113 F.2d 45. In the case at

bar, a substantial number of the creditors having the

largest claims have requested the Court to retain venue

in the Western District. Among these large creditors

desiring venue to be retained in San Antonio are a major-

ity of the debtors’ lender-banks who are currently pro-

viding post-Chapter XI financing for the debtors’ con-

tinued operations. Finally, Tesoro Petroleum Company,

the owner of 36.7% of the debtors’ common stock, and

the owner and holder of a $70,000,000.00 indebtedness,

has also expressed a preference for venue in the Western

District.

E-29

[499]

Proximity To The Court And Choice Of

Forum Of The Debtors-In-Possession

Due to the extensive operations of the Debtors-In-Pos-

session, numerous hearings have been held and will con-

tinue to be held during the course of these Chapter XI

proceedings, which require the attendance in Court as

witnesses, of a substantial number of the debtors’ middle

level and top level management—based in San Antonio.

Most of these hearings are substantive in nature, in-

volving large sums of money, and involve subject matter

which is vital to the continued business operations of the

debtors and their goal of rehabilitation. These hearings

must be conducted in a timely and expeditious manner

if the interests of the debtor and other parties at interest

are to be fully protected. No counterparts of debtors’

middle and top level management personnel are situated

in Puerto Rico. Additionally, all of such witnesses and

their interpolated work data, are located in San Antonio.

Further, the Attorneys-In-Chief, who represent the debtors

in these Chapter XI proceedings, have their offices in

Houston, Texas and Dallas, Texas, which are in close

proximity to the Court. Finally, the debtors’ chief supplier

of crude oil, with whom CORCO must negotiate and

confer on an almost daily basis, and whose sales to

CORCO amount to $2,500,000.00 to $3,000,000,00 a

day, is situated in Houston, Texas and is in close prox-

imity to the Court.

Location Of Books, Records And Assets

Substantially all of the books and records of debtors

are maintained in Puerto Rico. By computer systems sit-

E-30

uated both in San Antonio and Peurto Rico, the man-

agement of CORCO at San Antonio has instant access

to such books and records, and can actually “override”

the computer systems in Puerto Rico in order to make

changes in such books and records or in order to “update”

[500]

same. Additionally, the principal assets of the debtor,

which consist of its plant facilities, are located in Ponce,

Puerto Rico—with management and operations of such

plant facilities being principally situated and conducted

from San Antonio. As previously stated, the tests for

transfer under Rule 116(b)(1) is whether “the interest

of justice” and “the convenience of the parties” will best

be served by such transfer. However, it is clear from Rule

116(b)(1) that the location of the principal assets does

not necessarily control whether transfer should be or-

dered. Determinative factors will vary with each case.

In re Fairfield Puerto Rico, Inc., 333 F.Supp. 1187 (D.

Del. 1971).

The Necessity For Ancillary Administration

If Bankruptcy Results

This Court is not unmindful of the necessity for ancil-

lary administration in the event a subsequent adjudica-

tion of the debtors as bankrupts occur in this proceed-

ing. However, anticipation of the failure of these Chap-

ter XI proceedings is not a valid or logical basis upon

which to base or predicate a transfer of venue in this

case. Again, determinative factors vary with each case.

In re Fairfield Puerto Rico, Inc., 333 F.Supp. 1187, (D.

Del. 1971).

E-31

The Necessity For Ancillary Administration

If Bankruptcy Results

This Court is not unmindful of the necessity for ancil-

lary administration in the event a subsequent adjudica-

tion of the debtors as bankrupt occur in this proceeding.

However, anticipation of the failure of these Chapter XI

proceedings is not a valid or logical basis upon which to

base or predicate a transfer of venue in this case. Again,

determinative factors vary with each case. In re Fairfield

Puerto Rico, Inc., 333 F.Supp. 1187, 1190 (D. Del.

1971).

Vil

CONCLUSION

There are several matters which have not received

specific treatment in this opinion but which were raised

either in briefs or during the hearing which require

comment by the Court.

Substantial testimony was elicited by the Common-

wealth of Puerto Rico and PRWRA regarding CORCO’S

inability to provide sufficient supplies of fuel oil reserves

to meet emergency situations that may arise especially

during the hurricane season. The evidence showed that

all of PRWRA’S fuel oil consumption requirements have

been met on a regular basis, and that a reserve in-

ventories fell into short supply only when the refinery

refused to furnish fuel because of a dispute over payment.

In any event, witnesses for CORCO reiterated their

[501]

assurances that PRWRA’s requirements would be met in

all respects now and in the future.

E-32

Additionally, testimony was adduced at the hearing

from witnesses on behalf of the Puerto Rican Govern-

ment concerning the devastating effect a refinery shut

down would have on the island generally. This Court is

completely aware of the absolute necessity of CORCO’s

continued operation at full capacity, and during the pen-

dency of this case will keep a constant vigil to prevent

any cessation of operation in order to preserve and pro-

tect the national and economic interests of the people of

Puerto Rico.

Considering and weighing all of the above set forth

factors and being aware that the formulation of a Plan

of Arrangement depends primarily on efforts and activi-

ties of a financial nature which are, for the most part,

conducted from San Antonio or from other parts of the

United States mainland, the Court concludes that the

Movants have failed to carry their burden of proof by

a fair preponderance of the evidence in support of trans-

ferring venue to Puerto Rico. The Motions, therefore,

will be denied but with leave granted to The Common-

wealth of Puerto Rico and Puerto Rico Water Resources

Authority to renew their Motion in the event there is

an adjudication under the Bankruptcy Act.

Entered this 26th day of May 1978 at San Antonio,

Texas.

JOSEPH C. ELLIOTT

Joseph C. Elliott

Bankruptcy Judge

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition — Puerto Rico v. Commonwealth Oil Refining Co. · 444 U.S. 1045 | Frix