Petition — Dougherty v. Haaland

Supreme Court brief1979

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

OCT 17 1979

Os THR L_ Mickie KODAK, JR., CLERK

Supreme Court of the United States ~

October Term, 1979.

No.

79-642

JOHN J. DOUGHERTY,

Petitioner,

o.

CHRISTIAN HAALAND,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT.

ABRAHAM E. FREEDMAN,

STANLEY B. GRUBER,

FREEDMAN AND LORRY,

Lafayette Building, 8th Floor,

Philadelphia, PA 19106

Attorneys for Petitioner.

international Printing Co., 711 So. 50th St., Phila., Pe. 19143 — Tel. (215) 727-8711

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ........cccccccccccccces

I.

Il.

Ill.

The Standard of Care Adopted by the District Court

Under Section 5(b) of the Longshoremen’s and

Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act, as Affirmed by

the Court of Appeals, Conflicts With the Decision of

This Court in Edmonds v. Compagnie Generale

Transatlantique, — U.S. —, 61 L. Ed. 2d 521 (1979)

The Decision Below Is in Conflict With the De-

cisions of the Ninth Circuit in Santos v. Scindia

Steam Navigation Co., Ltd., 598 F. 2d 480 (9th Cir.

1979) and Another Panel of the Third Circuit in

Griffith v. Wheeling-Pittsburgh Steel Corporation, —

ee eae ca ccs bc ccsccecccecs

This Case Presents an Important Question of Federal

Law Which Has Not Been, But Should Be, Settled

ee ee Serre eee

Nee eee ccceecceccces

Appenprx A—Statute Involved ..............cccccccceees

Appenpix B—Portions of the Transcript of Record Setting

Forth the Reasoning of the District Court in Granting a

CES G ERNE DEd Gp cenceccccssccces

Aprenpix C—Order of the District Court Directing Verdict

for Defendant and Entering Judgment in Favor of De-

EE EE I

INDEX (Continued).

Aprenpix D—Opinion of the District Court Denying Motion

fe 2 Pen Cererr rer rer Ty Ti Tit TT err

Appenpix E—Order of the District Court Denying Motion

se Cer rerITTTe TT ere rrr TT Tite

ApreNpix F—Judgment Order of the U. S. Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit ............0+-seeeeeeeeeeeeees

Apprenpix G—Opinion of the U. S. Court of Appeals for the

Third Circuit in Griffith v. Wheeling-Pittsburgh Steel

oO ar Tere ere re res ery TTL Tree ee ee.

Page

A42

A43

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Cases: Page

Anderson v. Iceland S. S. Co., 585 F. 2d 1142 (1st Cir. 1978) 15

Anuszewski v. Dynamic Mariners, Panama, 540 F. 2d 757

Se Ee OEE adi a dices ved ks ca mennu ths uke .. +14, 15

Canizzo v. Farrell Lines, Inc., 579 F. 2d 682 (2nd Cir. 1978)

14, 15

Cox v. Flota Mercante Grancolombiana, S. A., 577 F. 2d 798

SN ET NE hohe 4: ees ses hERa01s UPR Seekers s 14, 15

Edmonds v. Compagnie Generale Transatlantique, — U. S.

i 1 i ROE h 65'6 Vokes nn aed vS oes vad 7, 8,9

Gallardo v. Westfal-Larsen & Co., A/S, 435 F. Supp. 484

See ee ae tt bacd-ta bob escekanad eres ll

Griffith v. Wheeling-Pittsburgh Steel Corporation, — F. 2d —

(3rd Cir., August 24, 1979) ............... 8, 9, 10, 11, 14, 15

Hurst v. Triad Shipping Co., 554 F. 2d 1237 (3rd Cir. 1977) .14, 15

Samuels v. Empresa-Lineas Maritimas Argentinas, 573 F. 2d

ee Re NE as ko Ve esc dav oc ca wils dois bebidnas 14

Santos v. Scindia Steam Navigation Co., Ltd., 598 F. 2d 480

ar NOS Ae aT eronaey gee 9, 11, 14, 15

Statutes and Authorities:

en Gi acing os bs pGea Nawapieuecevep esas 2

ee a dy bo 65-5 b AMA DAR OA 0 Gea trons c 3

ee I isa 6s 0 6ale 4 cncha 5 hasbeen wens whscc 12

rr er eee 2, 3, 7, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15

3 U. S. Code Cong. Ad. News (1972) ...........ccceccuee 14

Restatement of Torts, 2d, §§ 343 & 343A .................. 14

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcroBER TERM, 1979

No.

JOHN J. DOUGHERTY,

Petitioner,

v.

CHRISTIAN HAALAND,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT.

To the Honorable, the Chief Justice and the Associate

Justices of the Supreme Court of the United States:

Petitioner, John J. Dougherty, respectfully prays that

a Writ of Certiorari issue to review the judgment of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit, en-

tered herein on July 17, 1979.

OPINIONS BELOW.

The opinion of the United States District Court for

the Eastern District of Pennsylvania directing a verdict in

favor of defendant was orally stated from the bench, and

is not reported. Those portions of the record setting forth

2 Petition for Writ of Certiorari

the reasoning of the District Court in granting a directed

verdict are printed as Appendix B (A2). The order of the

District Court granting the motion for directed verdict and

entering judgment in favor of defendant is not reported

and is printed as Appendix C (A22).

The opinion of the District Court denying plaintiff's

motion for a new trial is officially reported at 457 F. Supp.

860 (E. D. Pa. 1978), and is printed as Appendix D (A23).

The Order of the District Court denying plaintiff's mo-

tion for new trial is not reported and is printed as Ap-

pendix E (A42).

The Judgment Order of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit is not officially reported and

is printed as Appendix F (A43).

JURISDICTION.

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit was entered on July 17, 1979 (Ap-

pendix F (A43) ). The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked

under 28 U. S. C. § 1254(1).

QUESTIONS PRESENTED.

1. Did not the Trial Court err in holding that under

the 1972 amendments to Section 5(b) of the Longshore-

men’s and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act an injured

longshoreman, as a condition of recovery against a ship-

owner for injuries sustained as a result of a condition

aboard ship, is required to show that the vessel was negli-

gent in relying upon the stevedore-employer’s expertise

in dealing with that condition and in assuming the work

could safely be done by the stevedore?

2. Under the 1972 amendments to Section 5(b) of

the Longshoremen’s and Harbor Workers’ Compensation

ni ita m

Petition for Writ of Certiorari . 3

Act, is not the appropriate standard of care one which

would permit a finding of negligence upon a showing that

(1) the vessel knew or by the exercise of reasonable care

could have discovered the condition on board the ship

that led to the injury; (2) that the vessel knew or should

have known that the condition would pose an unreason-

able risk of harm to longshoremen working on board ship;

and (3) that the vessel failed to exercise reasonable care

to protect the longshoremen against that danger?

STATUTES INVOLVED.

The statutory provision involved in Section 5(b) of

the Longshoremen’s and Harbor Worker's Compensation

Act, 33 U. S. C. §905(b). The full text of this statutory

provision is printed as Appendix A (Al).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE.

This action was brought by the petitioner longshore-

man against the respondent shipowner to recover damages

for personal injuries sustained by the longshoreman when

he was struck by a heavy piece of steel pipe while working

aboard respondent’s vessel, the S. S. Concordia Tarek.

Federal jurisdiction was based on diversity of citizenship.

28 U.S. C., Sec. 1332.

At the trial of this case, petitioner contended that the

vessel's officers were negligent in directing the petitioner's

longshore gang to load heavy pipe in the inshore portion

of the No. 3 hatch of the vessel when the vessel was

already listing in an inshore direction; in countermanding

the procedure adopted by the stevedore to deal with the

list; and in failing to take appropriate action to straighten

the vessel.

4 Petition for Writ of Certiorari

Viewing the evidence in a light most favorable to

plaintiff, the Trial Court found as follows. On the day in

question, plaintiff was a holdman with a longshore gang

that was assigned to load sections of 15 inch diameter

metal pipe, each about 50 feet long and weighing about

half a ton, into the lower hold of the vessel’s No. 3 hatch

(A25). As plaintiff's gang boarded the vessel that morn-

ing, they observed that the vessel was listing approximately

5 to 8 degrees to the inshore side (A25).

When the No. 3 hatch was opened, the longshoremen

observed that 30 foot sections of 5 inch pipe, stacked 2

tiers high, were already stowed in the offshore portion of

the lower hold (A25-26). The longshoremen determined

that in order to help correct the ship’s list, they would

stack the 30 foot sections of pipe into the wing and then

load the longer and heavier sections of pipe on the offshore

side of the hold, alongside and inboard the 30 foot section

(A26). While the longshoremen were making prepara-

tions to carry out this procedure, a ship’s mate instructed

the gang’s foreman that the longer pipe was to be stowed

in the inshore side of the hold (A26). The hatch foreman

argued with the mate, contending that it would be more

logical to stow the pipe on the offshore side rather than on

the inshore side since the ship was already listing to the

inshore side. However, the ship’s mate insisted that the

pipe be stowed on the inshore side (A26). Accordingly,

the hatch foreman instructed his men to so proceed (A26).

While the 50 foot sections of pipe were being landed by

plaintiffs gang, one section of pipe got away from the

longshoremen who were attempting to steady it at each

end and rolled inshore with the ship’s list, striking and

injuring the petitioner (A26-27).

It was undisputed that the ship’s mate had authority

to direct where in the vessel particular cargo was to be

Petition for Writ of Certiorari 5

stowed and, in particular, to direct that the pipe taken on

at Philadelphia be stowed on the inshore, rather than the

offshore side of the lower hold (A27). Moreover, the Trial

Court found that evidence had been submitted which

arguably could support a jury finding that an experienced

stevedore could not safely carry out the mate’s instruction

to load the pipe in the direction of the list (A31).

At the conclusion of all the evidence, the Trial Judge

granted the motion of the defendant vessel for a directed

verdict. At that time, the Trial Judge concluded that the

plaintiff longshoreman had the burden of proving that the

condition in question created an unreasonable risk of harm

“which could not be overcome by a method of operation

conducted by a competent, experienced stevedore” (A21)

and that “there is no evidence that this operation could

not have been conducted by an experienced, competent

stevedore given the seven degree list.” (A21).

Thereafter, plaintiff moved for a new trial and referred

the Trial Judge to portions of the record containing evi-

dence which, in fact, did support a finding that the opera-

tion could not have been conducted safely by an ex-

perienced, competent stevedore given the list. The Trial

Judge acknowledged that the evidence submitted arguably

could support such a jury finding (A31). Nonetheless, the

motion for new trial was denied.

In denying the motion for a new trial, the Trial Judge

formulated the following standard of care:

“In short, an injured longshoreman seeking to impose

liability on the vessel under Section 905(b) must show

that the vessel was negligent in relying upon the steve-

dore’s expertise and in assuming that the work could

be safely done by the stevedore. This in turn requires

a showing that (1) the conditions aboard ship created

an unreasonable risk of harm, even for a longshoreman

6 Petition for Writ of Certiorari

working under the guidance of an expert stevedore,

and (2) the vessel, although not possessed of the

stevedore’s expertise, knew or should have known of

this unreasonable risk of harm.” (A29-30)

The Trial Judge did find that evidence had been sub-

mitted which arguably could support a jury finding that

the mate’s instruction gave rise to an unreasonable risk of

harm to the longshoremen, “notwithstanding that they

were working under the direction of an expert stevedore.”

(A31). “However, the Trial Judge found that the evidence

was insufficient to demonstrate that the defendant vessel

knew or should have known “that an experienced stevedore

could not safely load this cargo on the inshore side of the

ship, given the ship’s inshore list.” (A32).

The Court of Appeals affirmed the judgment of the

District Court, without opinion, by the issuance of a Judg-

ment Order which stated:

“After considering the contentions raised by appellant,

it is

Apyupcep and Orperep that the judgment of the

District Court be and is hereby affirmed.

Each side to bear its own costs.” (A43)

— |

Petition for Writ of Certiorari 7

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.

I. The Standard of Care Adopted by the District Court

Under Section 5(b) of the Longshoremen’s and

Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act, as Affirmed by

the Court of Appeals, Conflicts With the Decision of

This Court in Edmonds v. Compagnie Generale

Transatlantique, — U. S. —, 61 L. Ed. 2d 521 (1979).

Under the standard of care formulated by the District

Court and affirmed, sub silento, by the Third Circuit, a

vessel is relieved of liability to a longshoreman for unrea-

sonably dangerous conditions on board ship unless the

longshoreman can establish that these conditions created

an unreasonable risk of harm “even for a longshoreman

working under the guidance of an expert stevedore” and

the vessel, “although not possessed of the stevedore’s ex-

pertise, knew or should have known of this unreasonable

risk of harm.” In short, this standard of care relieves a

vessel from liability for unreasonably dangerous conditions

aboard ship whenever the stevedore fails to perform its

tasks in an “expert” fashion, regardless of whether the

individual longshoreman is personally at fault. The effect

is to impute to the longshoremen the negligence of a steve-

dore employer and establish that negligence as a complete

bar to recovery against the vessel.

In Edmonds v. Co.apagnie Generale Transatlantique,

— U.S. —, 61 L. Ed. 2d 521 (1979), this Court held that

the 1972 amendments to the Longshoremen’s and Harbor

Workers’ Compensation Act did not modify a longshore-

man’s pre-existing right to recover for his injuries in full

against a negligent shipowner, even in cases where the

negligence of the stevedore contributed to the injury.

Thus, regardless of the conduct of the stevedore employer,

8 Petition for Writ of Certiorari

a negligent shipowner is liable for the full amount of the

longshoreman’s damages.

In Edmonds, this Court declined to impute the negli-

gence of the stevedore to the longshoreman to reduce the

longshoreman’s recovery against the negligent shipowner.

Yet, the rule formulated by the District Court in this case

would bar recovery against a negligent shipowner if the

stevedore did not carry out its duties in an “expert” fashion.

If the negligence of the stevedore employer is not per-

mitted to reduce the longshoreman’s recovery against a

negligent shipowner, it certainly should not be permitted

to totally bar a longshoreman’s recovery as resulted in the

instant case.

A different panel of the United States Court of Ap-

peals for the Third Circuit reached this conclusion in a

case decided a little over a month after the entry of the

Judgment Order in the case at bar. In Griffith v. Wheeling-

Pittsburgh Steel Corporation, — F. 2d — (3rd Cir., August

24, 1979),’ at page 12 of the Slip Opinion (A58), the

Third Circuit rejected a standard of care similar to the one

adopted by the District Court in this case, as follows:

“ .. Under America’s first proposed standard of care,

the vessel would be relieved of liability to a long-

shoreman for unreasonably dangerous conditions on

board ship whenever the stevedoring contractor failed

to perform his task in an ‘expert and experienced’

fashion. This would occur whether or not the indi-

vidual longshoreman was personally at fault. The

proposed rule thus imputes to the non-negligent long-

shoreman the negligence of his stevedore employer,

and establishes that negligence as a complete bar to

1. A copy of the Slip Opinion in the Griffith case is appended

hereto as Appendix G (A45).

Petition for Writ of Certiorari 9

recovery against the vessel. This result is at variance

with the Supreme Court’s interpretation of the 1972

Amendments in Edmonds v. Compagnie Generale

Transatlantique, supra. It is inconceivable to us that

the Court, which disapproved a rule that imputes the

negligence of the stevedore to the longshoreman to

reduce his recovery against a negligent shipowner,

would approve a rule barring all recovery against the

negligent shipowner on the basis of imputed employer

negligence.”

It is submitted that the reasoning of the Griffith panel

should also have been followed by the panel in the case at

bar. That reasoning clearly indicates that the result in this

case is at odds with this Court’s interpretation of the 1972

Amendments in Edmonds. Accordingly, certiorari should

be granted and the decision below should be reversed.

II. The Decision Below Is in Conflict With the Decisions

of the Ninth Circuit in Santos v. Scindia Steam Navi-

gation Co., Ltd., 598 F. 2d 480 (9th Cir. 1979) and

Another Panel of the Third Circuit in Griffith v.

Wheeling-Pittsburgh Steel Corporation, — F. 2d —

(3rd Cir. 1979).

As previously noted, the Third Circuit panel in

Griffith, supra, rejected any standard of care which would

bar a longshoreman’s recovery against a negligent vessel

due to negligence on the part of the stevedore employer.

Instead, the Griffith panel formulated the following stand-

ard of care at page 14 of the slip opinion:

“The sounder approach, we think, is to recognize that

Section 905(b) imposes on vessel owners the same

duty to exercise ‘reasonable care under the circum-

stances of each case’ that would be applicable to a

10 Petition for Writ of Certiorari

land based business. Accord, Santos v. Scindia

Steam Navigation Co., supra, 598 F. 2d at 485-88;

Gallardo v. Westfal-Larsen & Co. A/S, supra, 435 F.

Supp. at 496. See Kermarec v. Compagnie Generale

Transatlantique, supra, 358 U. S. at 632; Brown v.

Ivarans Rederi A/S, supra, 545 F. 2d at 863. Cf. Re-

statement (Second) of Torts, §§ 281-83, 302A, 305,

452. Proceeding from this broad common law stand-

ard, Federal Courts may develop on a case by case

basis, a uniform federal law of negligence, referring

for guidance to the ‘land based’ standards of care

established in the Restatement (Second) of Torts

whenever such reference accords with the Congres-

sional intent and is helpful to decision of the case at

hand.

“At a minimum we think that the standard of rea-

sonable care under the circumstances would permit a

finding of negligence upon a showing: (1) that the

vessel knew of or by the exercise of reasonable care

could have discovered the condition on board ship

that led to the injury; (2) that the vessel knew or

should have known that the condition would pose an

unreasonable risk of harm to longshoremen working

on board ship; and (3) that the vessel failed to ex-

ercise reasonable care to protect the longshoremen

against that danger. See Santos v. Scindia Steam

Navigation Co., supra, 598 F. 2d at 485.”

The standard of care formulated in Griffith in no way

tests the conduct of the vessel in light of the conduct of

the stevedore employer. The vessel is liable if it knew or

should have known that the dangerous condition on board

its ship posed an unreasonable risk of harm to longshore-

men and failed to exercise reasonable care to protect the

longshoremen against that danger, even if it might have

Petition for Writ of Certiorari 1]

assumed that an expert stevedore could deal with the

situation. Under such a standard of care, this case would

have been submitted to a jury for determination.

So, too, in Santos v. Scindia Steam Navigation Co.,

supra, a case heavily relied upon in Griffith, the standard

of care adopted by the Court would have resulted in this

case being submitted to a jury.” In Santos, the Court

adopted the following standard of negligence in actions

brought under 33 U. S. C., Section 905(b) (598 F. 2d at

page 485):

“A vessel is subject to liability for injuries to long-

shoremen working on or near the vessel caused by

conditions on the vessel if, but only if, the shipowner

(a) knows of, or by the exercise of reasonable care

would discover, the condition, and should realise that

it involves an unreasonable risk of harm to such long-

shoremen, and

(b) the shipowner fails to exercise reasonable care

under the circumstances to protect the longshoremen

against the danger.”

As in Griffith, the adoption of the standard of care

set forth above would have resulted in the instant case

being submitted to the jury since analysis of the steve-

dore’s behavior is not pertinent to that standard.

It is respectfully submitted that certiorari should be

granted to resolve the clear conflict between the standard

of care formulated in the instant case and the standard

of care followed by the Ninth Circuit and the Griffith

panel of the Third Circuit.

2. Interestingly, the Santos decision relies in large measure

upon the scholarly opinion of Judge Orrick in Gallardo v. Westfal-

Larsen & Co., A/S, 435 F. Supp. 484 (N. D. Cal., 1977), a case

squarely rejected by the District Court in its opinion denying the

motion for new trial in this case (A28-29).

12 Petition for Writ of Certiorari

III. This Case Presents an Important Question of Federal

Law Which Has Not Been, but Should Be, Settled

by This Court.

In 1972, Congress adopted sweeping amendments to

the Longshoremen’s and Harbor Workers’ Compensation

Act which resulted in the modifications of the right of an

injured longshoreman to recover in an action against a

“vessel.”* These Amendments included a revision of

Section 5(b) of the Act, 33 U. S. C. §905(b) to read as

follows: *

“In the event of injury to a person covered under

this chapter by the negligence of a vessel, then such

person, or anyone otherwise entitled to recover dam-

ages by reason thereof, may bring an action against

such vessel as a third party in accordance with the

provisions of section 933 of this title, and the employer

shall not be liable to the vessel for such damages di-

rectly or indirectly and any agreements or warranties

to the contrary shall be void. If such person was

employed by the vessel to provide stevedoring services,

no such action shall be permitted if the injury was

caused by the negligence of persons engaged in pro-

viding stevedoring services to the vessel. If such

person was employed by the vessel to provide ship

building or repair services, no such action shall be

permitted if the injury was caused by the negligence

3. The term “vessel” is defined at 33 U. S. C. §902(21) as

follows:

“The term ‘vessel’ means any vessel upon which or in connec-

tion with which any person entitled to benefits under this

chapter suffers injury or death arising out of or in the course

of his employment, and said vessel’s owner, owner pro hac

vice, agent, operator, charter or bare boat charterer, master,

officer, or crew members.”

4. Pub. L. 92-506, § 18(a), 86 Stat. 1263.

ii ith ae

Petition for Writ of Certiorari 13

of persons engaged in providing ship building or re-

pair services to the vessel. The liability of the vessel

under this subsection shall not be based upon the

warranty of seaworthiness or a breach thereof at the

time the injury occurred. The remedy provided in

this subsection shall be exclusive of all other remedies

available under this chapter.”

Clearly, the language of Section 905(b) provides no

meaningful guidance to uncovering an appropriate stand-

ard of care under the statute. It merely refers to the “neg-

ligence of the vessel” without attempting to cast further

light on any standard to be followed in determining vessel

negligence.

In the seven years that have elapsed since the 1972

amendments to the Act, no decision has emanated from

this Court which would issue guidance to the lower courts

in adjudicating longshoremen’s personal injury actions. As

a result, the various Courts of Appeals which have con-

sidered actions arising under Section 905(b) have adopted

a myriad of standards to deal with these cases. The re-

sulting lack of uniformity flys squarely in the face of the

intent of Congress to develop a uniform body of law under

Section 905(b). Thus, the House Report accompanying

the 1972 Amendments ° provides at 3 U. S. Code Cong. Ad.

News (1972) at page 4705:

“Finally, the Committee does not intend that the neg-

ligence remedy authorized in the Bill shall be applied

differently in different ports depending on the law of

the State in which the port may be located. The

Committee intends that legal questions which may

arise in actions brought under these provisions of the

5. H. R. Rep. No. 92-1441, 92d Cong., 2d Sess. (1972), 3 U. S.

Code Cong. Ad. News 4698 (1972).

14 Petition for Writ of Certiorari

law shall be determined as a matter of Federal law

>

At the present time, however, the divergent views of

the various Circuits which have considered this area of

law have in fact resulted in the negligence remedy au-

thorized by Section 905(b) being “applied differently in

different ports” depending on the law of the Circuit in

which the port is located.

A brief survey of the standards presently applied by

the various circuits demonstrates the following:

1. The Second, Fourth and Fifth Circuits have defined

“negligence” under Section 905(b) in terms of a land-

owner's duty to invitees under Sections 343 and 343A of

the Restatement of Torts, 2d. See e.g., Canizzo v. Farrell

Lines, Inc., 579 F. 2d 682, 684-5 (2nd Cir., 1978); Samuels

v. Empresa-Lineas Maritimas Argentinas, 573 F. 2d 884,

885-6 (5th Cir., 1978); Anuszewski ». Dynamic Mariners,

Panama, 540 F. 2d 757, 758-9 (4th Cir. 1978);

2. The Ninth Circuit in Santos v. Scindia Steam Navi-

gation Co., supra, and at least one panel of the Third

Circuit in Griffith v. Wheeling-Pittsburgh Steel Co., supra,

have adopted a standard based on a duty of a shipowner

to exercise reasonable care under the circumstances of each

case to protect longshoremen against danger;

3. Other Court of Appeals’ decisions have focused on

the question of whether the shipowner relinquished control

of the stevedoring operations to the stevedore-employer of

the injured longshoremen, as opposed to focusing on the

reasonableness of the shipowner’s conduct in light of his

practical opportunities to discover and remedy defective

conditions aboard his vessel. See Cox v. Flota Mercante

Grancolombiana, S. A., 577 F. 2d 798 (2nd Cir. 1978);

Hurst v. Triad Shipping Co., 554 F. 2d 1237, 1249-53 (3rd

¥

Petition for Writ of Certiorari 15

Cir. 1977); Anderson v. Iceland S. S. Co., 585 F. 2d 1142

(1st Cir. 1978);

4, Even within the same Circuit, different panels have

taken divergent views on the appropriate standard of care

under Section 905(b). See e.g., the different views ex-

pressed in Canizzo v. Farrell Lines, Inc., supra, and Cox

v. Flota Mercante Grancolombiana, S. A., supra, within the

Second Circuit, and Hurst v. Triad Shipping Co., supra,

and Griffith v. Wheeling-Pittsburgh Steel Co., supra, within

the Third Circuit.

Clearly, no clear direction has emerged from the

myriad of cases decided by the various Courts of Appeals.

However, a sufficient number of decisions have been issued

by the Courts of Appeals to afford this Court a broad base

upon which to distill an appropriate standard of care under

Section 905(b). We submit that the formula distilled by

the Ninth Circuit in Santos and a panel of the Third Circuit

in Griffith is best suited to carry out the congressional

intent underlying the 1972 amendments.

CONCLUSION.

For the foregoing reasons, it is respectfully requested

that a writ of certiorari issue to review and reverse the

decision below.

Respectfully submitted,

ABRAHAM E. FREEDMAN,

STANLEY B. GRUBER,

FREEDMAN AND LorRRY,

Attorneys for Petitioner.

APPENDIX A

Statute Involved

Section 5(b) of the Longshoremen’s and Harbor

Workers’ Compensation Act, 33 U. S. C., § 905(b) reads

as follows:

“In the event of injury to a person covered under this

chapter by the negligence of a vessel, then such

person, or anyone otherwise entitled to recover dam-

ages by reason thereof, may bring an action against

such vessel as a third party in accordance with the

provisions of Section 933 of this title, and the em-

ployer shall not be liable to the vessel for such dam-

ages directly or indirectly and any agreements or

warranties to the contrary shall be void. If such

person was employed by the vessel to provide steve-

doring services, no such action shall be permitted if

the injury was caused by the negligence of persons

engaged in providing stevedoring services to the

vessel. If such person was employed by the vessel to

provide ship building or repair services, no such

action shall be permitted if the injury was caused by

the negligence of persons engaged in providing ship

building or repair services to the vessel. The liability

of the vessel under this subsection shall not be based

upon the warranty of seaworthiness or a breach

thereof at the time the injury occurred. The remedy

provided in this subsection shall be exclusive of all

other remedies against the vessel except remedies

available under this chapter.”

(Al)

A2 Appendix B

APPENDIX B

Portions of the Transcript of Record Setting Forth the

Reasoning of the District Court in Granting

a Directed Verdict

[231]

oO a °

Tue Court: We are aware, Mr. Gruber, that time

and again vessels arrive with certain conditions, and once

those conditions are made known to the stevedore then

there is a burden on the part of the plaintiff, it seems to

me, to establish that there was no way for that work to

have been done in a safe manner. And therein lies the

deficiency in your case. We have no evidence whatsoever

that this work could not have been accomplished, this

stowage could not have been accomplished in a safe man-

ner, even stowing it with a list on the inshore side, on the

low side, That is your deficiency in your case. You keep

on arguing, but you are omitting the main point in the

case, and that is the deficiency in your evidence.

Mr. GrusBer: It seems to me, Your Honor, that Mr.

Keeler testified that in his opinion it was not safe to work

against the list, and it was not safe to work with the list,

but we do have evidence, Your Honor. We have evidence

from Mr. McKenna, the gang boss of 25 years’ experience.

He testified that the proper way to do this work was to

work against the list.

Tue Count: But he also testified that he left the vessel

because the condition was such that it required no special

instructions to his men. It was a very common procedure,

he testified.

Appendix B A3

[232]

You see, this is the problem. You have a deficiency

of evidence in your case. Mr. McKenna testified that he

was not aboard the vessel at the time this occurrence

took place.

Mr. GruBer: That’s correct.

THE Court: But there was nothing unusual. He had

given no special instructions to his men. Nothing unusual.

So, even assuming a list, apparently, it was a condition

that didn’t require any special instructions to his men, any

special precautions. This is according to Mr. McKenna.

Mr. GrusBer: But there is evidence both from Mr.

McKenna, Mr. McBride, Mr. Dougherty and Mr. Keeler,

whether or not it required any special precautions or any-

thing like that, that loading in that direction under the

conditions that existed would be a dangerous method of

operation.

Tue Court: All right. That is your recollection. My

recollection differs. So go ahead.

Mr. GruBer: Well, all right. But again, the evidence

is that the stevedore wanted to do it in a specific way,

which it felt was the safest way of doing it——

THE Court: And you presented no evidence that that

was in fact a safe way of doing it.

Mr. Gruser: I did present evidence, if I may say

with all respect, Your Honor. The testimony of Mr.

McKenna, a gang boss of 25 years’ experience.

THE Court: All right.

[233]

Mr. Gruser: Who so testified.

I would say finally, Your Honor, here at my argument,

that even if we assume that there was negligence on the

A4 Appendix B

part of the stevedore, that that does not absolve the ship-

owner from responsibility. Because if we have a situation

where the shipowner was negligent, and then the steve-

dore was negligent, if we have concurrent negligence,

under my reading of the Lucas decision there is still re-

sponsibility and liability of the shipowner. He cannot

escape responsibility for creating a dangerous condition,

and then trying to get out of it because the stevedore

doesn’t correct the circumstance, doesn’t correct the con-

dition. And that is exactly what they are trying to do in

this case. And I would submit that if we find a directed

verdict in this case, then I think that might effectively lock

the door on all of these cases, and I don’t think that is

what the intent of the Court was in the Brown decision, or

any of the decisions that have come down.

Obviously there still has to be an area where negli-

gence exists. We are trying to find that area. But in this

case we clearly have a dangerows condition that existed, I

submit, aboard the ship. We have the stevedore trying to

do what he thought was the safest method of operation,

instructed by the shipowner, “No, you don’t do that, you

do this. You work in the direction of the list.” Now, if

that is not negligence, I am not sure what would be negli-

gence under the 1972 amendments.

[234]

THe Court: Well, Mr. Gruber, what you have pro-

posed here is, with no expert testimony of any kind, except

perhaps Mr. McKenna and Mr. Dougherty and Mr. Mc-

Bride, is an alternative of working everything against the

list, piling things up on the high side, loading on the high

side, and we have no evidence that that would be a safer

method of operation than one that was undertaken.

You see, this is one of the problems in the case. Com-

mon sense would dictate that constantly working against

Appendix B A5

that list, having things piled on the side that wiil } ive

gravity push the load back down towards the workmen,

would be a dangerous way of operating. So that no mat-

ter which way you operate here under these conditions, it

requires some special precautions. And there is a defici-

ency in the plaintiff's case of evidence to establish that

that was in fact a safer and more reasonable method of

proceeding than the one that was used. Because no mat-

ter which method is used, even according to the plaintiff's

evidence, if you worked against the list you would have a

series of chocking procedures to use as you go along to

prevent the pipe from spilling down and sliding down in

the direction of the list. No matter which way you did it

you have these constant precautions that must be taken.

And by the same token, you have precautions that

must be taken when you are loading on the low side.

Mr. Gruser: What Your Honor has said, I think, it

[235]

shows that there was—they were put in a position that

there was no safe way to do the work. Now, the suggested

one way of doing it, straightening out the ship, the evi-

dence shows that no action was taken by the mate to

straighten the ship out. And he admitted

THe Court: Well, you have said, and I defy you to

show me where in the evidence this was done, I think you

said that the mate was requested to straighten the list. In

fact, all the evidence that there is in the case was that

these men undertook to straighten out what they con-

sidered a list, and the mate stopped them from doing that

particular procedure. There is no evidence, as I recall it,

of any request by the stevedore to the ship for the ship

to straighten out the list.

Se |

A6 Appendix B

Mr. Gruser: Well, Your Honor, it may be that you

are right on that, that there is no——

Tue Court: It isn’t a question of maybe. It is in-

deed the fact.

Mr. Gruser: I don’t remember precisely, but my

recollection is that you are probably right, with all due

respect, because I don’t remember that specifically. But

whether you are right or not, it seems to me is not the im-

portant thing here. The important thing here——

Tue Court: ‘I think it becomes extremely important

because it does present the alternative.

The testimony in the case reflects that if there is

[236]

a condition on the vessel, when a vessel arrives, that re-

quires correction, there is an alternative. Either the steve-

dore undertakes to do what is necessary to work under

those conditions, or the stevedore requests the vessel to

make the appropriate correction. It really devolves only

to finally who is going to pay the stevedore to do the very

thing that needs to be done. Because in most instances it

appears that what has to be done is that after finding out

what the cause of it is is to make a correction by perhaps

restowing cargo, or whatever. But usually it means paying

detention time and probably for the same work that would

have to be done by the stevedore in any event.

Mr. Gruser: Well, that is true. But is Your Honor

suggesting that there is a talismanic phrase, magic words

that the stevedore has to say, “Please straighten out the

list”?

Tue Court: It is really the question of whether a

duty is created at some point. That is the problem.

Appendix B A7

Mr. GruBer: It seems to me a duty is created when

the mate has knowledge or should have knowledge that

the list exists and should realize that to work under those

conditions is going to create a danger or hazard for the

men that have to go into the hold, has the ability to take

action and doesn’t take action, whether he is asked to do

so or not. And I think that is exactly what we have in this

case, and I don’t think it makes any difference whether

they actually said, “Please help us straighten out this list”

or they didn’t.

[237]

The evidence shows they must have known about the

list and danger and did nothing about it to try to straighten

out the list.

I think Your Honor has our argument, and there is °

little more than I can say. I think you see the arguments

here. I submit that there is evidence that this case can go

and should go to the jury.

Tue Court: Well, tell me precisely what should be

submitted to the jury. First of all, of course there should

be the question of whether a list exists. For the puropse of

this argument, obviously we have to accept the fact that

indeed a list exists.

Assuming that the list did exist, the problem that

concerns me is this: You have presented no evidence that I

can recall that the ship was requested to correct the condi-

tion. Work just started on four hatches; they went right

ahead and proceeded to work. No evidence whatsoever

that any attempt was made through the ship’s boss, or

otherwise, to request that some correction be made, or

that some arrangement be made to correct whatever the

condition might be. One must presume, therefore, under

those circumstances that the stevedore was quite content

A8 Appendix B

to proceed, that he was able to proceed and operate under

the conditions that then existed So then this is the prob-

lem in the case.

Mr. Gruser: I would respectfully disagree with

[238]

Your Honor. I think the best assumption you can make

from what you just said is that at worst the stevedore

should have asked for something to be done to straighten

out the list, and maybe the stevedore is negligent for not

doing so, maybe not. But we have to go back and look at

what the duty of the shipowner is when he has knowledge

of a dangerous condition.

Tue Court: You are using the talismanic phrase

“dangerous condition.”

Mr. GruBer: Yes.

Tue Court: The evidence on that score is precisely

what? I asked you before what was the evidence that a

five, six, or seven-degree list is a “dangerous condition”

per se? Is there any evidence that a longshoreman, that

stevedores cannot operate under such conditions and take

the necessary precautions to operate safely under those

conditions?

Mr. Gruser: Mr. Keeler himself said it would have

been dangerous to work either way, either against or with

the list.

Tue Court: With pipe that was intended to be re-

leased on the runner, with no means of holding it. Now

that is my recollection. I don’t recall his saying that there

was no way that you could operate under those conditions.

Mr. Gruser: I think what was asked to him was:

Would you consider it a safe operation to load pipe of this

Appendix B AQ

size with a three or five-degree list, and there was no at-

tempt to say,

[239]

could you do it this way, could you do it that way, could

you do it this way. His answer was that, no, after some

thought on his part, he didn’t think it would be a safe way

of proceeding.

Tue Court: I simply have a distinct recollection

quite to the contrary, and where that comes from I am not

sure. Let me just check my notes. But I get no such im-

pression that there was no way that one could operate

under these conditions. And here again is whether I point

to the deficiencies in the plaintiff's case. There was no

evidence that this work could not be accomplished in a

safe manner, even with a seven-degree list, which is the

maximum I think that was testified to, seven degrees.

Somewhere in that area, seven degrees, eight degrees,

whatever it was.

But even assuming that, apparently this operation

was proceeding, and in particular, in part of the plaintiff's

own case, appears to be the judgment on the part of the

hatch boss that the condition was one that was quite

ordinary and common in the sense that it required no spe-

cial instructions to his men. Do you recall that? He was

not aboard the vessel and his answer was he gave no spe-

cial instructions.

Mr. Gruser: I don't think you can infer from that

it was an ordinary and common situation.

Tue Court: That is his testimony.

Mr. Gruser: That he said it was ordinary and com-

mon?

Al0O Appendix B

[240]

Tue Court: That they knew how to handle this, there

was nothing unusual about it. Words to that effect. I

don’t recall the precise words. I very definitely have the

impression that when asked if he gave special instructions,

he seemed quite perplexed: “No, I gave no special instruc-

tions. These men were experienced. They knew how to

handle these things.” Words to that effect.

Mr. Gruser: That's true. His men work under

dangerous conditions every day. Let's face it, we know

it is an extra hazardous activity, longshoring. We have

special regulations to deal with it. I don’t think there is

any question the legislative history shows what a hazard-

ous occupation it is.

Tue Court: The best your argument can be is that

all that proved is that the hatch boss was negligent.

Mr. Gruser: No. I don't think that even says the

hatch boss was negligent. I think all it shows is the hatch

boss felt he did all he could in arguing with the chief mate

or the mate about which way it should be done. When he

did all he could do, he left it in the hands of his men to

operate safely, and he left.

Tue Court: You mean not even to tell them, “Be

sure to keep the wires on until you are ready to push it in

the hold, until you are sure Mr. Dougherty is not between

the pipe and the other pipes”?

You mean he could possibly think he had done all he

could?

[241]

Mr. Gruser: I guess he didn’t know at that time that

that situation was even going to come up.

Appendix B All

THE Court: What, that the pipe might possibly slide

and fall, the same thing you say was the obviously danger-

ous condition?

Mr. Gruser: Yes, that is true. I suppose that is true,

that is one of the reasons he thought it was dangerous to

do it that way, I suppose, because just that sort of thing

could happen, and that is the whole point of my argument,

that by putting them in the position they had to work it

that way, that what could have happened did happen.

And sure, I suppose he could have told his men, “Be extra

careful, don’t let that pipe get out of your hands.” That’s

assumed he has experienced men, they are supposed to be

as careful as they can be, and by him telling them to be

careful doesn’t make it any better and doesn’t make the

ship any less responsible for putting them in that position

of peril.

You keep coming back to one thing and I keep com-

ing back to another, and I guess that is where the dis-

agreement lies here.

THE Court: Yes, I think so. I think it is a basic dis-

agreement. And obviously the Court of Appeals is going

to have to resolve this because your office is bound and

determined to get the vessel back in. And with good

justification, obviously. And it just seems to me that we

keep ignoring the fact that there are the amendments,

there has been a recognition that the stevedore

[242]

is the expert, and presumably the one who knows how to

cope with situations and deal with them. And the only

problem, the only thing that gives me the slightest pause,

is whether in my view of this situation I am in the slightest

degree invading the jury’s province. It is the one thing I

am trying to be most careful and cautious about, which is

Al2 Appendix B

why I cautioned Mr. Putz. You must accept there was a

list, you must accept there was a statement made to a

mate, whoever that mate may have been, for this purpose,

for the purpose of this argument, that there was a state-

ment made to the mate that we are going to—or at least

the mate was there when they started to move the pipe

up, and the mate said, “Don’t touch that. Stow it in the

inshore side.” That we must accept, and I am accepting

all these things.

And then I am going further in trying to resolve every

conflict in your favor in determining what evidence the

plaintiff has presented here to establish that this was a

“dangerous condition,” i.e., a condition under which there

was an unreasonable risk of harm, even assuming a proper

and safe method of operation. This is where you and I

have a disagreement. You are saying that because the

condition creates a risk of harm the ship is negligent for

- failing to appreciate that the stevedore might negligently

fail to operate in a safe fashion. And I say that nullifies

what we have understood to be the requirement of the

1972 amendments that there be negligence of the vessel

established separate and apart from the negligence of the

stevedore.

[243]

Mr. Gruser: And I submit, Your Honor, that if we

assume that the condition is created through the negli-

gence of the shipowner, or at least the condition exists

THe Court: Existed. I don't know why we talk

about the negligence of the shipowner. If there is a list,

there is a list, and there is no evidence as to what caused

the list. So we can't say it was caused by the negligence

of the vessel.

Appendix B Al3

Mr. Gruser: In this case I submit that what you

have just posed is exactly the situation contemplated by

Section 302(a) which was looked on with favor in both

Brown and Hurst, although I concede not expressly the

subject of the holding.

THe Court: Well, I think we will have to get that

guidance from the Court of Appeals, because I think I

would have to come to the conclusion that there is really

no way I could submit this case to the jury. If I did, it

would be more in the nature of an advisory opinion. I

think if I were to reserve judgment it would only be for

the purpose of entering the NOV in any event if the jury

were to come in. And I think I would rather have it in a

pure fashion resolved by the Court of Appeals.

Of course, there is some advantage to submitting it

to the jury and have the jury resolve the factual issues.

I have refrained from any comment about the factual is-

sues because they are for the jury. But one must question

of course this so-called list when the testimony is very

clear that it took eight men to push this pipe into the

“low side.” But that is a jury argument.

[244]

That is not for me.

I am trying to be as much of a devil’s advocate as

I can to see whether I should submit this to the jury. In

my view there really is nothing. But I am trying to see

is there anything at all here that could possibly be re-

garded by the appellate court as a factual issue to be re-

solved by the jury. And we get solely into the areas that

I questioned you about: Number one, does the plaintiff

have the burden to establish as part of his case that the

condition was one which created an unreasonable risk of

harm, i.e., one which, assuming a competent stevedore,

Al4 Appendix B

could not be carried out without still an unreasonable

risk of harm. And here is where I think there is a defici-

ency, because although there is no testimony clearly on

the point, Mr. Keeler’s testimony touches on it, and that is

that if this operation continued in the presence of a list,

that you must not release the wires until the time you are

ready to move the pipe into position. This is what I under-

stood his testimony to be.

However, my recollection is not all that infallible

either, and it is conceivable that he may have said that it

would be dangerous under any circumstances to load cargo,

particularly pipe, if there were that degree of list. And

this is why if I seem to be arguing with myself, before it is

too late, I am trying to determine whether I should or

should not. But I say it is on that very, very fine line, and

nothing more because I think in all other respects it is

quite clear that the obligation is

[245]

on the stevedore to operate under the conditions that are

existing and to operate in a safe fashion. And you have

not shown——

Mr. Gruser: All I can say, Your Honor, I do think

there is evidence in this record from which a jury could

conclude that to load against the pipe is an unreasonable

and unsafe method of operation.

Tue Court: To load against the pipe?

Mr. Gruser: I am sorry, to load with the list. From

the testimony both of Mr. Keeler and the three witnesses

that we presented showing what is entailed, the hazards

that are involved in doing it that way.

THe Court: Do you have anything more you want

to say, Mr. Putz?

Appendix B Al5

Mr. Putz: Your Honor, in citing Hurst and Minus v.

Triad, counsel stopped short at Page 28, I believe, when he

said that the Court of Appeals points to Sections 410 to

429 of the Restatement of Torts. The Court disposes of

most of those sections, and in fact concentrates on Section

414, and in looking at Section 414, does not accept all of

414, It goes on to say, “Second Comment C to Section 414

indicates that the ultimate control over stevedoring opera-

tions retained by a shipowner is not the sort of control to

which Section 414 is directed.”

It then quotes from that section:

“The Court below cogently related the import of

Comment C to the case at Bar when it said, ‘thus at Com-

ment C it

[246]

points out an employer who retains only a general right to

order the work stopped or resumed, and the right to in-

spect the progress of the work and to let me correct that

to assure compliance with specification, owes no duty of

care to the employees of the independent contractor con-

cerning the manner in which his work is executed. Only

when a significant degree of control is retained over the

manner in which his work is performed is the duty under

Section 414 triggered for vessel owners. ”

I do not believe there is any evidence that there is a

significant degree of control.

Hurst v. Triad points to a couple of cases in which

the district courts have in fact found obligation and duty

upon the shipowner. One of the cases involves a situation

where the third mate is actually in the hatch telling the

men to put various weights to correct the list:

“Put one here, put one there, put one here.”

Al6 Appendix B

That kind of control is not in fact indicated in this

case. At most, we have a mate saying, “Do not break up

a tight stow.” )

Tue Court: But he went further: “Start stowing from

the inshore side.”

Mr. Putz: “Start stowing from the inshore side.”

Now we have evidence, and I believe it has to be accepted

from Mr. Keeler, that in fact that work, as he assumed

under the facts and circumstances from the plaintiff's case,

progressed for at

[247]

least eight two-thousand-ton sections of pipe without in-

cident, and that work had to be safe or obviously safe

without any knowledge or reason to know that it was un-

safe, or that the men couldn't handle it.

The basic question is: Could they handle it under the

circumstances. Plaintiff's own case shows that they did.

None of those witnesses, plaintiff or the other two men,

ever said, “Yes, a piece rolled prior to plaintiff's accident

because of the list, or because we didn’t control it, or be-

cause we let the wires go.”

As far as the question of was there a proper method

that this pipe could have been loaded given a seven-degree

list, it was, I submit, not defendant’s duty to establish that

one way or the other. I think that falls on the plaintiff's

side. And as I think the Court pointed out, the plaintiff

has not proved that either through Mr. Keeler one way

or the other.

I think Mr. Keeler said that given a situation where

you had the pipe on the offshore side, and you were going

to load pipe on the inshore side, with a seven-degree list,

at best, that was the situation, and he did not know

whether or not they could do it safely because it took the

Appendix B Al7

expertise of the men, and he called into play the thoughts

of, “Well, were these men experts, and could they in fact

handle it, and did they know what do so,” and he brought

that element of the ship boss’ expertise, and the hatch boss’

expertise, and the individual longshoremen’s expertise

[248]

into play, and the question that was asked was general and

not specific, asked by plaintiff's counsel and not by myself,

and I don’t think it was answered directly because he did

not have enough information upon which to give a direct

and definitive answer, and was not—the question was not

followed up. I don’t think the evidence is in the record.

Thank you, Your Honor.

Mr. Gruser: Your Honor, two sentences so I am as

clear as I can be for the record. I submit it is the province

of the jury to determine whether an unreasonably safe

condition existed and that whether or not there is expert

testimony or not it is still within the range, the ability of

the jury, to determine from the facts presented to them in

this case on this record they can make a determination as

to whether having to load the pipe under those circum-

stances did create an unreasonably safe condition for the

longshoremen.

Tue Court: Unreasonably dangerous.

Mr. GruBer: Unreasonably dangerous, I am sorry.

THE Court: I might agree with you ordinarily. We

place a great deal of faith always in the jury as the fact-

finders. But it is quite apparent that we are in an area

where one requires the guidance of some expert opinion.

Just as under Pennsylvania law, and I believe we use the

same thing, matters of medical complication which are not

within normal human understanding and must have some

expert opinion for guidance. I think the same

A18 Appendix B

[249]

‘hing is true when we are dealing in matters such as these.

i think it is not a part of daily human experience to know

the myriad things that these more expert people, these

longshoremen and stevedores are required to do under

most complicated circumstances in the loading and dis-

charging of cargo from vessels. Indeed, I am sure that

the lay person would be quite amazed to find some of the

feats that these men are able to accomplish by the use of

various type of rigging, and so forth. So, no, Mr. Gruber,

I cannot agree with you in this circumstance. This is why

I have had my reservation, that have you gone far enough,

have you brought in any expert opinion to establish that

with a seven-degree list there is no way of accomplishing

this kind of a mission successfully and safely.

It appears to me, as a lay person, and if I may be for-

given, with some very slight experience from my Army

days of having been involved with port operations, that

there are many, many ways of accomplishing this safely.

But I put that out of my mind because I am assuming the

jury knows nothing about such procedures. And that

being so, can I allow the jury to speculate that a seven-

degree list per se is a dangerous condition which would

preclude a safe operation by an experienced and com-

petent stevedore. And I say that without that guidance

the jury could only speculate. And I think your case is

deficient in that regard.

I start with a premise which has been adopted ap-

parently by the Court of Appeals, that the stevedore es-

sentially

[250]

has the expertise and the obligation to conduct the safe

operation. There is no evidence whatsoever in this case

Ee me pm an eee

Appendix B Al19

that the vessel’s officers attempted in any way to control

the manner of the loading operation. They did control the

end result where cargo was to be stowed. That they did

control. They did even dictate that the cargo stowage

would have to start from the inshore side and out. But

they made no efforts whatsoever to dictate or to control

the manner in which the stevedore then undertook to carry

out this obligation.

Now, I advert to one other factor, and that is the

testimony that if there is a dangerous condition, that the

stevedore has the obligation to bring it to the attention of

the vessel and call upon the vessel to correct it. There is

no evidence whatsoever in this case that that was done.

And I say it leaves then the only reasonable alternative

that the stevedore made the judgment that the stevedore

could operate in a safe manner under the conditions then

existing, even assuming this seven-degree list. And I am

assuming all of those things, and I come to the conclusion,

inevitably, that there is not enough evidence here to sub-

mit to the jury on the issue of control of the operation by

the ship’s officers. And having come to that conclusion, I

really find nothing to submit to the jury.

I have attempted here to resolve every fact issue in

favor of the plaintiff, and if I have failed, then the Court

of Appeals will have to straighten me out as to in which

particular

[251]

area I invaded the jury's province. I can be wrong, of

course, in my assessment of the plaintiff's obligation to

establish by something in the nature of expert testimony

that the condition existed, assuming a seven-degree list,

was one which precluded a safe operation.

I must, and do grant the directed verdict. And I sug-

gest that your further proceedings be direct.

A20 Appendix B

Mr. Gruber: I agree, Your Honor.

Does Your Honor intend to write an opinion on this?

Tue Court: No, indeed. Just as in Henry, what I

had to say I had said. I don’t want to hurt you or help

you.

Mr. GruBer: I understand.

Tue Court: What I have said I have said. If the

Court of Appeals wants to give us further explanation of

these complicated areas, we will certainly welcome it.

There is a certain amount of confusion which remains. I

had hoped that the Court of Appeals would create some

precedent in the Henry v. Orient Lines case. Instead it

did not write an opinion and did it only by judgment order,

and that has no precedential value. This goes a step

beyond Henry. In Henry the situation was simply that

the ship's officer was present in the hold, was aware that

the operation was a dangerous operation, just as the steve-

dore was aware it was a dangerous operation and did

nothing to correct it or to stop it. And I ruled that under

those circumstances a directed verdict for the defendant

was dictated. This goes a step beyond

[252]

that because we now have the further circumstances that

there was a list in the vessel upon the vessel’s arrival; that

that created problems with respect to stowage of cargo,

and particularly with cargo of the nature of pipe, which

has the propensity to roll, and particularly because of its

weight and length, and the ship’s officers dictating where

in the vessel it was to be stowed. So it does go beyond

Henry, but nevertheless in my view required the plaintiff

to produce evidence that with that list and with that cargo

the condition was one which presented an unreasonable

:

ny

4

iS

i tl

Appendix B A2l

risk of harm and one which could not have been overcome

by a method of operation conducted by a competent,

experienced stevedore. I think it required evidence, on

your part, to establish that that could not have been ac-

complished in a way that did not present an unreasonable

risk of harm.

I note further in entering this directed verdict that

the cause of this action, and we would have a problem of

causation here, was the fact that after a draft had been

landed, and apparently after the wires had been removed,

someone saw fit to question whether dunnage or plywood

had been placed along the path for the pipe to travel over.

And it was under those circumstances that Mr. Dougherty

undertook to walk between the draft and the stowed pipe

and this accident happened. Now this may have a bear-

ing only on contributory negligence. It may also have a

bearing on whether instructions by the stevedore as to

when and under what circumstances movement should

take place with a list

[253]

in the vessel would have enabled this operation to be car-

ried on in a safe fashion. This is why I commented on

Mr. McKenna’s testimony that he had not seen fit to give

any instructions, any special instructions, notwithstanding

the fact that there was a list in the vessel. So you may

have a problem of causation in the case also, ultimately.

But primarily, my ruling is based on the fact that

there is no evidence to establish that this operation could

not have been conducted in a safe fashion by an ex-

perienced, competent stevedore given the seven-degree

list.

Mr. Gruser: Thank you, Your Honor.

Mr. Putz: Thank you, Your Honor.

oO G oO

A22 Appendix C

APPENDIX C

Order of the District Court Directing Verdict for

Defendant and Entering Judgment in Favor

of Defendant

IN THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

For THE EASTERN District OF PENNSYLVANIA

Civiz Action No. 76-1703

JOHN J. DOUGHERTY

v.

CHRISTIAN HAALAND

CIVIL JUDGMENT

Before Honorable Alfred L. Luongo

Anp Now, this 9th day of November 1977, in ac-

cordance with civil jury trial and defendant’s motion for

directed verdict upon conclusion of all the evidence, the

Court having GRANTED said motion,

It Is Onperep that Judgment be and the same is

hereby entered in favor of the defendant Christian

Haaland and against the plaintiff John J. Dougherty, to-

gether with costs.

By THE COURT:

ATTEST:

YATES

Deputy Clerk

Appendix D A23

APPENDIX D

Opinion of the District Court Denying Motion

for a New Trial

[1]

IN THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

For THE EASTERN DistRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

Civit Action No. 76-1703

JOHN J. DOUGHERTY

v.

CHRISTIAN HAALAND

OPINION

Lvonoo, J. SEPTEMBER 25, 1978

Plaintiff was injured on July 8, 1974, while working

as a longshoreman on the M/S Concordia Tarek, which

was moored at Girard Point in Philadelphia. On May 28,

1976, plaintiff instituted this tort action against the ship-

owner under the 1972 amendments to the Longshoremen’s

and Harbor Workers Compensation Act of 1927, 33

U. S. C. §905(b) (Supp. V 1975). Jurisdiction is based

solely on diversity of citizenship. The case was tried be-

fore a jury in November of 1977, and, at the close of plain-

tiff’s case, defendant moved for a directed verdict. See

generally Fed. R. Civ. P. 50(a). I reserved decision on

A24 Appendix D

that motion until the close of all the evidence, at which

time I granted the motion and discharged the jury. Plain-

tiff then made a timely motion for a new trial, asserting

that I erred in directing a verdict for defendant. See

generally Fed. R. Civ. P. 59(a). After considering care-

fully the points raised by plaintiff in support of his motion,

I conclude, for the reasons set out in this opinion, that the

motion must be denied.

In 1972, Congress completely overhauled the Long-

shoremen’s and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act of

1927 (LHWCA). See Longshoremen’s and Harbor

Workers’ Compensation Act Amendments of 1972,

[2]

Pub. L. No. 92-576, 86 Stat. 1263. By so doing, Congress

“sought to achieve several goals: adequate, increased and

sure compensation for injured longshoremen, elimination of

the rubric of liability without fault for shipowners, and

encouragement of safety within the industry by placing the

duty of care on the party best able to prevent accidents”

Munoz v. Flota Merchante Grancolombiana, S. A., 553 F.

2d 837, 839 (2d Cir. 1977) (Kaufman, J.).

Under the 1972 amendments, an injured longshore-

man may no longer recover from the vessel for breach of

an implied warranty of seaworthiness, as he formerly could

under Seas Shipping Co. v. Sieracki, 328 U. S. 85 (1946).

E.g., Samuels v. Empressa Lineas Maritimas Argentinas,

573 F. 2d 884, 888 (5th Cir. 1978); Briley v. Charente S. S.

Co., Ltd., 572 F. 2d 498, 499 (5th Cir. 1978) (per curiam);

Davison v. Pacific Inland Navigation Co., 569 F. 2d 507,

511-12 (9th Cir. 1978). However, Congress did preserve

the longshoreman’s negligence action against the vessel.

33 U. S. C. § 905(b) (Supp. V 1975). Unfortunately, the

statute fails to specify the standard of care to which the

SE SS ™

Appendix D A25

vessel may be held, and, as a result, “the legal waters sur-

rounding the question of the proper standard have swirled

turgidly with confusion and controversy.” Davis v. Inca

Compania Naviera S. A., 440 F. Supp. 448, 451 (W. D.

Wash. 1977) (footnotes omitted). Although plaintiff here

has proffered several different legal theories, I conclude

that the evidence adduced at trial was insufficient to sup-

port a verdict for plaintiff under any of the potentially

applicable standards of care, and that it was therefore

proper to direct a verdict for defendant.

[3]

In essence, this motion for a new trial raises only one

issue, i.e., whether plaintiff presented enough evidence to

withstand defendant’s motion for a directed verdict. In

considering the instant motion, I shall of course view the

evidence in the light most favorable to plaintiff, as I am

required to do on a motion for a directed verdict. See

Patzig v. O'Neill, 577 F. 2d 841, 46 (3d Cir. 1978);

Denney v. Siegel, 407 F. 2d 433, 439 (3d Cir. 1969).

The evidence presented at trial may be summarized

as follows. On the day of the accident, plaintiff was em-

ployed as a longshoreman on the Philadelphia waterfront.

His employer was the Independent Pier Company, a steve-

doring concern. On the day in question, plaintiff was a

holdman with a hatch gang that was assigned to load

sections of fifteen-inch diameter metal pipe, each about .

fifty feet long and weighing about half a ton, into the

lower hold of the ship’s number 3 hatch. As plaintiff

boarded the ship ai eight o'clock that morning, he noticed

that it was listing to the inshore side. N. T. 18-19. The

extent of this list was approximately five to eight degrees.

N. T. 85, 106.

When the longshoremen opened the number 3 hatch,

they saw that thirty tons of five-inch pipe, stacked two

A26 Appendix D

tiers high, was already stowed in the offshore side of the

lower hold. They decided that, in order to help correct

the ship’s list, they would stack up the thirty-foot sections

of pipe into the wing, and then load the longer and

heavier sections of pipe on the offshore side of the hold,

alongside and inboard the thirty-foot sections. The

[4]

longshoremen lowered a forklift into the lower hold, in-

tending to use it to stack up the shorter pipe that was

already stowed there, but an unidentified ship’s mate in-

structed the hatch gang’s foreman that the longer pipe

was to be stowed on the inshore side of the hold. Edward

McKenna, the foreman, argued with the mate, contending

that it would be more logical to stow the pipe on the off-

shore side rather than on the inshore side, because the

ship was already listing to the inshore side. The ship's

mate insisted that the pipe be stowed on the inshore side,

however, and McKenna instructed his men to do so.

The longshoremen then began to load the pipe into

the inshore wing of the hold. They lowered and stowed

without incident six or eight sections of pipe, in drafts of

two each, although plaintiff continued to complain to his

foreman about working the inshore side of the ship. N. T.

28. A ship’s mate than asked McKenna whether his men

were putting plywood between the sections of pipe being

loaded and the steel deck of the lower hold. McKenna,

who was on the upper deck, called down into the hold

and instructed the men to put plywood under the pipe to

keep it from sliding around. There was very little ply-

wood in the hold at that time, and the holdmen asked that

more plywood be sent down. Before this could be done,

plaintiff picked up a piece that was already in the hold

and attempted to place it under a section of pipe that had

Appendix D A27

just been lowered. The pipe was then resting on two

wooden “chocks,” and a holdman was steadying it at each

end. One man apparently lost control :

[5]

of his end, and the pipe rolled inshore with the ship’s list,

striking and injuring plaintiff. N. T. 108.

It is undisputed that the ship’s mate had the authority

to direct where in the vessel particular cargo was to be

stowed, and, in particular, to direct that the pipe taken on

at Philadelphia be stowed on the inshore, rather than the

offshore, side of the lower hold. N. T. 75, 143. It is also

undisputed that the longshoremen exercised complete con-

trol of the loading operation, apart from the mate’s direc-

tion that the pipe be stowed on the inshore side of the ship.

In light of the uncertainty surrounding the applicable

standard of care in longshoremen’s negligence actions

under section 905(b), plaintiff has sought in his written

submissions to bring the facts of this case within eight

distinct theories of liability. Six of these theories are set

out in various sections of the Restatement (Second) of

Torts; the others are the unseaworthiness theory men-

tioned earlier and the Gallardo theory, derived from

Gallardo v. Westfal-Larsen & Co. A/S, 435 F. Supp. 484

(N. D. Cal. 1977).

At the outset, it appears that three of the eight

theories are in fact unavailable to plaintiff, and I will

briefly address these three before considering whether the

evidence adduced at trial warranted submitting this case

to the jury under any of plaintiff's other theories of lia-

bility. First, as I noted earlier, an injured longshoreman

may no longer recover from the vessel for breach of an

implied warranty of seaworthiness. See cases cited supra;

H. R. Rep.

A28 Appendix D

[6]

No. 92-1441, 92d Cong., 2d Sess. __-__ (1972), reprinted

in [1972] U. S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 4698. 4701-05;

S. Rep. No. 92-1125, 92d Cong., 2d Sess. 8-12 (1972).

Second, although there is law in other circuits to the con-

trary, the Third Circuit has intimated that the duties irn-

posed on possessors of land by sections 342 and 343 of

the Restatement (Second) of Torts are not to be imposed

on vessels. See Hurst v. Triad Shipping Co., 554 F. 2d

1237, 1249-50 n. 35 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 434 U. S. 861

(1977); Brown v. Ivarans Rederi A/S, 545 F. 2d 854, 863-

64 n. 10 (3d Cir. 1976), cert. denied, 430 U. S. 969 (1977).

Accord, Canizzo v. Farrell Lines, Inc., No. 77-7292, slip

op. at 3210-11 (2d Cir. June 2, 1978) (Friendly, J., dis-

senting in part ), petition for cert. filed, 47 U. S. L. W. 3148

(U. S. Aug. 30, 1978) (No. 78-358).' Contra, e.g., Brown

v. Mitsubishi Shintaku Ginko, 550 F. 2d 331 (5th Cir.

1977) (Wisdom, J.); Gay v. Ocean Transp. & Trading

Co., 546 F. 2d 1233 (5th Cir. 1977). Third, the Gallardo

analysis, while not unpersuasive, diverges in important re-

spects from the Third Circuit’s analysis of the vessel’s

duties under section

[7]

905(b). These considerations led Chief Judge Lord to

reject the Gallardo analysis in a recent opinion, and I am

1. Judge Friendly’s observations bear repeating here:

“In retrospect it seems to have been a mistake for courts

to give such talismanic significance to §§ 343 and 343A of the

[Restatement (Second)] as has sometimes been done. These

sections are awkwardly drafted; the framers had no notion that

they would be ap lied to the tangled situations of ship loading

or unloading; and they must be read together with [§§ 409-29

of the Restatement fl Second)]. In dealing with : 905(b),

courts would do better to consider the policies that actuated

Congress in adopting the 1972 amendments.”

Canizzo v. Farrell Lines, Inc., supra, slip op. at 3210-11 (footnote

omitted ).

Appendix D A29

entirely in agreement with his conclusion. See Blackburn

v. Prudential Lines, Inc., No. 76-3554, slip op. at 2-6 (E. D.

Pa. July 19, 1978). Accordingly, I turn to plaintiff's five

remaining theories of liability.

In considering whether defendant could properly

have been found liable here, I start from the general

proposition that the stevedore is an independent contractor

possessed of special expertise in the loading and unloading

of cargo. Congress, in enacting the 1972 amendments to

the LHWCA, chose to place primary responsibility for the

longshoremen’s safety on the stevedore, “the party best

able to prevent accidents.” Munoz v. Flota Merchante

Grancolombiana, S. A., 553 F. 2d 937, 939 (2d Cir. 1977);

see, e.g., Marant v. Farrell Lines, Inc., 550 F. 2d 142, 144

(3d Cir. 1977); Brown v. Ivarans Rederi A/S, 545 F. 2d

854, 860 (3d Cir. 1976), cert. denied, 430 U. S. 969

(1977). See generally 33 U. S. C. §941(a) (1970).

Thus, the vessel will ordinarily be justified in assuming

that the stevedore and its employees, i.e., the longshore-

men, can safely perform the required loading or unloading

operations, even under conditions that would be dangerous

to those not experienced in the calling. At least this is so

where, as here, no latent or concealed dangerous condi-

tions exist aboard ship. In short, an injured longshoreman

seeking to impose liability on the vessel under section

905(b) must show that the vessel was negligent in relying

upon the stevedore’s expertise and in assuming that the

work could be safely done by the stevedore. This

[8]

in turn requires a showing that (1) the conditions aboard

ship created an unreasonable risk of harm, even for a long-

shoreman working under the guidance of an expeit steve-

dore, and (2) the vessel, although not possessed of the

A30 Appendix D

stevedore’s expertise, knew or should have known of this

unreasonable risk of harm. Cf. Davison v. Pacific Inland

Navigation Co., 569 F. 2d 507, 513-14 (9th Cir. 1978) (no

evidence that defendant knew or should have known that

cargo could not be safely discharged from barge due to

its design; judgment against defendant reversed). See

generally Restatement (Second) of Torts § 289 (1965).

RESTATEMENT (SECOND) § 410

Plaintiff relies initially on section 410 of the Restate-

ment (Second), which provides:

“The employer of an independent contractor is sub-

ject to the same liability for physical harm caused by

an act or omission committed by the contractor pur-

suant to orders or directions negligently given by the

employer, as though the act or omission were that of

the employer himself.”

Hurst v. Triad Shipping Co., 554 F. 2d 1237, 1248-53 (3d

Cir.), cert. denied, 434 U. S. 861 (1977), suggests that

this rule is part of the federal common law that governs

an injured longshoreman’s negligence action against the

vessel. Section 410, of course, carves out an exception to

the general rule that an employer is not liable for the

negligence of an independent contractor he employs. See

Restatement (Second ) of Torts § 409 (1965). This section

deals with an employer's liability for negligently directing

an independent contractor to do work that “is dangerous

in itself, or dangerous

[9]

oecause of the manner in which it is directed to be done.”

Restatement (Second) of Torts § 410, Comment a (1965).

Plaintiff suggests that the jury here might have found

that the task assigned to plaintiff's hatch gang—the loading

Appendix D A3l

of additional cargo on the inshore side of the ship—was

unreasonably dangerous in view of the ship’s inshore list,

and that defendant was therefore negligent in directing the

longshoremen, who were employees of an independent

contractor (the stevedore), to proceed in that manner.

I believe, however, that such a jury determination would

not be supportable on the evidence that was presented

here.

In light of my earlier general observations, the proper

inquiry under section 410 is two-fold: (1) Did the mate’s

instruction give rise to an unreasonable risk of harm to

the longshoremen, notwithstanding that they were work-

ing under the direction of an expert stevedore? (2) If so,

did defendant know, or should it have known, of this un-

reasonable risk of harm?

With regard to the first question, I expressed con-

siderable doubt at the time of trial that plaintiff had pre-

sented enough evidence to warrant submitting this issue

to the jury. Although I remain doubtful, I recognize that

the following exchange between plaintiff's counsel and

Paul J. Keeler, a maritime consultant called as a defense

witness, arguably could support a jury finding that an

experienced stevedore could not have safely carried out

the mate’s instruction:

“Q. And would it be a safe practice in your

opinion for the mate on that vessel to direct the long-

shoremen

[10]

to work in the same direction as a five-degree list?

A. To work in the direction, you mean on the

low side of the list, or the high side?

Q. The low side.

A. With what kind of cargo?

A32 Appendix D

Q. The 15-inch pipe we talked about in this case.

A. With how much list, three degrees?

Q. Five degrees, first.

A. No way.

Q. Now three degrees.

A. Well, I would say three degrees, with 15-inch

pipe would not be a good practice either.”

N. T. 197 (emphasis supplied ).

With regard to the second aspect of plaintiff's case,

however, I am thoroughly convinced that the evidence

presented was insufficient to support a verdict in plaintiff's

favor. Plaintiff offered no evidence whatever tending to

show that the shipowner knew, or should have known,

that an experienced stevedore could not safely load this

cargo on the inshore side of the ship, given the ship's in-

shore list.

I note at the outset that plaintiff could not have car-

ried his burden here except by presenting expert testimony

that the shipowner knew, or should have known, that the

stevedore would be unable to operate safely to accomplish

the result prescribed by the mate. True, the jury generally

is permitted to determine, without the aid of expert testi-

mony, whether an actor should have known that

[1i]

his conduct exposed another to an unreasonable risk of

harm. Compare Restatement (Second) of Torts § 289

(1965) with id. § 328C(b). In the context of a longshore-

man’s negligence action, however, the question whether

the vessel knew, or should have known, that the stevedore

would be unable to operate safely in light of certain con-

ditions aboard ship cannot be answered without some

fairly specific knowledge of the relationship among the

Appendix D A33

vessel, the stevedore, and the longshoremen. The trier of

facts usually will need to know, for example, how the

responsibility for the safe conduct of loading operations is

allocated between the vessel and the stevedore. In par-

ticular, the trier of fact will need to know the extent to

which ships’ officers generally may be charged with knowl-

edge of the stevedore’s ability, or inability, to safely

perform loading operations under various conditions.

These matters clearly lie outside the common knowledge

and experience of ordinary persons. Consequently, the

jury must receive guidance from persons with special

knowledge of, or experience in, these matters if it is to

appraise the situation accurately. Cf., e.g., Robinson v.

Wirts, 387 Pa. 291, 297, 127 A. 2d 706, 710 (1956) (Sertn,

C. J.) (because jurors in medical malpractice case “would

presumably lack the necessary knowledge and experience

to render a just and proper decision, they must be guided

by the testimony of witnesses having special or expert

qualifications”); Ragan v. Steen, 229 Pa. Super. 515, 331

A. 2d 724 (1974) (same).

Plaintiff argues here, as he originally did in opposing

the directed verdict, that Mr. Keeler’s testimony provided

a basis for the jury to determine that the shipowner was

negligent.

[12]

I fail to see how Mr. Keeler’s testimony could support

such an inference. Mr. Keeler did not testify that the

ship’s officers actually knew that the operating conditions

presented an unreasonable danger to the stevedore, nor

did he testify that the ship's officers should have known

of the alleged danger. Rather, Mr. Keeler simply gave

his own expert opinion that the holdmen were working

under dangerous conditions, and he never addressed the

A34 Appendix D

question whether the ship’s officers should have perceived

that these conditions were unreasonably dangerous.

Mr. Keeler’s testimony consistently reflected the view

that the stevedore, rather than the ship’s personnel, is pri-

marily responsible for conducting operations safely. Thus,

Mr. Keeler testified that the ship’s boss, the highest-ranking

employee of the stevedore, makes a preliminary inspection

of the ship before any of his men board it, and that if he

observes any grave safety hazards, it is up to him to insist

that they be rectified before his men begin work on the

ship. N. T. 154-57, 199-200. Mr. Keeler also specifically

testified that, if a ship’s boss observes a list that makes its

dangerous for his men to load cargo, he is then obliged to

order that work be halted until the list is corrected, rather

than to permit his men to “work out” the list by rearrang-

ing cargo. N. T. 155-56. There was no testimony here

that the ship’s boss ever complained about the list, or that

anyone requested on behalf of the stevedore that the ship

itself

[13]

correct the list.2 The ship’s officers evidently assumed,

from the absence of such complaints or requests, that the

stevedore would be able safely to perform the loading

operation, notwithstanding the ship’s list. Plaintiff offered

no evidence, expert or otherwise, that this assumption was

unreasonable, i.e., that the ship’s officers knew, or should

have known, that the holdmen were in fact working under

unreasonably dangerous conditions.

2. Mr. McKenna, plaintiffs hatch boss, simply requested that

his men be itted to try to correct the list themselves. In light

of Mr. Keeler’s uncontroverted testimony that 30 tons of cargo in

the lower hold would have had absolutely no effect on the vessel’s

list, it appears that the longshoremen’s pr course of action

would have proven completely ineffective. N. T. 162-70,

Appendix D A35

Plaintiff points to the deposition testimony of Captain

Lars Vedo, the chief officer aboard the M/S Concordia

Tarek on the day of the accident. The following excerpt

from Captain Vedo’s testimony on cross-examination is

pertinent here:

6 Wee

I want you to assume that there was in fact a list

to the inshore or port side during the morning of July

8, 1974. I want you. . . to also assume that the

stevedore hatch boss asked permission from the deck

officer who was on hand at Number 3 [hatch] to take

corrective action in order to adjust this list.

Now, assuming those facts, what would be the

normal course for the deck officer on duty at that

time?

Mr. Putz: I'll object. I don’t know what you

mean by ‘normal course.’ You mean, would he come

to this witness; would he give authority? What would

he do?

Mr. Gruser: That’s right.

[14]

Mr. Putz: I see.

THE Witness: We would straighten up the ship.

By Mr. GrRuBER:

Q. Straighten up the ship?

A. Yes.”

N. T. 68-69 (emphasis supplied ).

Without belaboring the point, I fail to see how

Captain Vedo’s apparently unresponsive testimony could

support an inference that the shipowner was negligent

A36 Appendix D

here. At the most, the jury might have inferred from the

testimony quoted above that the ship’s mate should have

interpreted McKenna’s request that his men be permitted.

to work the offshore side, in an effort to correct the list, as

a request that the vessel itself correct the list, and further

that such requests, if made, are normally granted. Even

if the jury drew both of those inferences, however, it

would still have had no basis for charging the vessel's

officers with knowledge that it was unreasonably danger-

ous to load the cargo on the inshore side, given the ship’s

inshore list. There was no testimony that McKenna com-

municated to the mate any concern about the safety of

working the inshore side of the ship, nor was there any

evidence that a request to straighten up the vessel gen-

erally is made only where the stevedore believes the list

is dangerous, rather than simply inconvenient. Accord-

ingly, without the aid of additional expert testimony, the

jury would have had to resort to pure speculation in order

to infer from McKenna’s

[15]

request that the vessel should have known that it was un-

reasonably dangerous to load the cargo on the inshore

side, given the ship’s inshove list. Plaintiff therefore was

not entitled to go to the jury under section 410 of the

Restatement (Second ).

RESTATEMENT (SECOND) § 414

Plaintiff also relies on section 414 of the Restatement

(Second ) of Torts (1965), which provides:

“One who entrusts work to an independent contractor,

but who retains the control of any part of the work,

is subject to liability for physical harm to others for

whose safety the employer owes a duty to exercise

Appendix D A37

~

reasonable care, which is caused by his failure to exer-

cise his control with reasonable care.”

Once again, Hurst v. Triad Shipping Co., 554 F. 2d 1237,

1251-52 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 434 U. S. 861 (1977),

suggests that section 414 is part of the federal common

law that governs longshoremen’s negligence actions under

the LHWCA.

Plaintiff contends that the shipowner here retained

control of the loading operation, in that the ship’s mate

directed the holdmen to stow the pipe on the inshore side

of the ship. Defendant, by way of response, argues that

the holdmen were free to use any method they chose in

stowing the pipe, and to take any safety precautions they

thought appropriate, so that it did not retain “control”

over the work within the meaning of section 414. I agree

that defendant here did not retain “control” of the work

within the meaning of section 414. To begin with, the

panel in Hurst, supra, expressly held that the shipowner’s

ultimate control over stevedoring operations, i.e., its power

to halt the operations

[16]

at any time, does not amount to “control” as that term is

used in section 414. 554 F. 2d at 1251. The Hurst panel

noted that a contrary rule would effectively impose on

the vessel a nondelegable duty to supervise stevedoring

operations, and that the legislative history of section 905(b)

made it plain that Congress sought to preclude the im-

position of nondelegable duties on shipowners. Id.

Here, of course, plaintiff does not rely solely on de-

fendant’s ultimate power to terminate stevedoring opera-

tions. Rather, he emphasizes its direction that the pipe

be stowed on the inshore wing of the hold. However, in

view of the testimony here that the vessel generally deter-

mines where each particular part of its cargo is to be

A38 Appendix D

stowed, I cannot agree that mere control over where cargo

is stowed, without more, amounts to control of the load-

ing operation itself. The vessel, by specifying where the

cargo is to be stowed, in effect requires the stevedore to

accomplish a particular result. Yet the employer of an

independent contractor generally does not retain control

of the work simply by specifying the result that the ‘con-

tractor must accomplish. Although the stevedore is re-

quired to load the cargo in a certain location, it neverthe-

less remains “entirely free to do the work in [its] own

way. Restatement (Second) of Torts § 414, Comment c

(1965). Thus, it may direct its employees to use certain

equipment, or to take special precautionary measures, in

order safely to accomplish the job. The stevedore, in

short, retains control of the work. See, e.g., Wescott v.

Impresas Armadoras, S. A. Panama, 564 F. 2d 875, 882-83

& n. 8 (9th Cir. 1977).

[17]

I realize that in some unusual cases, the vessel's

direction to stow cargo in a particular location may, as a

practical matter, leave the stevedore with little or no con:

trol over how the task is to be carried out. For example,

a mate’s direction to stow an oddly-shaped ten-ton counter-

weight in a narrow space between two other items of

cargo may entail a direction to stow the weight in a par-

ticular position, if the weight cannot practically be stowed

in any other way. See Butler v. O/Y Finnlines, Ltd., 537

F. 2d 1205, 1208 (4th Cir. 1976) (“[i]nherent in the

mate’s choice of where . . . was a direction as to how”).

Under circumstances such as those, it might properly be

said that the vessel retains control of the work, and the

vessel might properly be held liable for a negligent direc-

tion. In this case, however, no evidence was presented

to show that the mate’s direction to load the inshore side

Appendix D A39

of the hold effectively dictated the method by which the

stevedore would accomplish that task. There was, there-

fore, no evidence to support a finding that the shipowner

retained control of any part of tle work, and it conse-

quently cannot be held liable under section 414.

RESTATEMENT (SECOND) § 302A

Plaintiff also seeks to impose liability on the ship-

owner under section 302A of the Restatement (Second),

which states that “[a]n act . . . may be negligent if the

actor realizes or should realize that it involves an unreason-

able risk of harm to another through the negligent . . .

conduct of the other or a third person.”

[18]

In short, plaintiff contends that the mate’s order to load

the pipe on the inshore side of the ship created an un-

reasonable risk of harm to plaintiff because of the likeli-

hood that plaintiff or other members of his hatch gang

would act negligently in carrying out that order. Brown

v. Ivarans Rederi A/S, 545 F. 2d 854, 863 (3d Cir. 1976),

cert. denied, 430 U. S. 969 (1977), suggests that section

302A is part of the federal common law governing long-

shoremen’s negligence actions under the LHWCA. On

the evidence presented here, however, plaintiff was not

entitled to go to the jury under section 302A. There was

no evidence here that defendant knew that the holdmen

were likely to be careless in loading the cargo on the in-

shore side of the ship, nor was there any evidence to

support an inference that defendant should have foreseen

the likelihood of negligence on their part.

RESTATEMENT (SECOND) § 305

Plaintiff also invokes section 305 of the Restatement

(Second ), which provides that “[a]n act may be negligent

A40 Appendix D

if the actor . . . should realize that it is likely to prevent,

another or a third person from taking action which the

actor . ... should realize is necessary for the aid or pro-

tection of the other.” In short, plaintiff urges that the

mate's instructions to the holdmen prevented them from

working against the ship’s list, and that working against

the list was necessary for the aid or protection of plaintiff.

Section 305 is apparently part of the federal common law

that governs longshoremen’s negligence actions under the

LHWCA.

[19]

See Brown v. Ivarans Rederi A/S, 545 F. 2d 854, 863 (3d

Cir. 1976), cert. denied, 430 U. S. 969 (1977). On the

evidence presented here, however, section 305 does not

aid plaintiff's case. Indeed, plaintiff's contention here—

that the shipowner exposed plaintiff to an unreasonable

risk of harm by preventing the holdmen from working in

a safe manner (i.e., by loading the offshore side of the

ship )—is essentially the same contention he raised under

section 410 of the Restatement (Second), i.e., that the

vessel was negligent in directing the holdmen to work the

inshore side of the ship. I have already noted, however,

that the evidence offered at trial was insufficient to permit

a jury determination that the vessel was negligent in this

regard, and the same conclusion obtains here, notwith-

standing that plaintiff's theory of negligence under section

305 differs slightly from his theory under section 410.

The fact of the matter is that the ship’s list created a

danger for the longshoremen, whether they worked with

the list or against it. Mr. Keeler’s testimony, upon which

plaintiff relies so heavily, clearly established that loading

the pipe against the list, as plaintiff contends he should’

have been permitted to do, would itself have been a

Appendix D A4l

dangerous undertaking, perhaps even more dangerous than

working with the list. N. T. 166-72, 192-97.

RESTATEMENT (SECOND) § 452(1)

Finally, plaintiff apparently seeks to recover under

section 452(1) of the Restatement (Second) which pro-

vides that, in general, “the failure of a third person to act

to prevent harm to another threatened by the actor’s negli-

gent conduct is not a

[20]

superseding cause of such harm.” However, section 452

(1) does not in and of itself impose liability on the actor

for his negligent conduct; it simply provides that a third

person’s failure to act “does not relieve the actor of lia-

bility for the harm which he has in fact caused.” Restate-

ment (Second) of Torts § 452, Comment a (1965) (em-

phasis supplied). Thus, section 452(1) does not become

applicable until it appears that the actor was in fact negli-

gent and that he seeks to avoid liability for his conduct

on the ground that a third party’s failure to act was a

superseding cause of the harm that the actor caused. As

I have already noted, plaintiff has failed to establish de-

fendant’s negligence in the first instance, and so section

452(1) cannot avail him here.

In sum, then, I find that the evidence presented here

was insufficient to permit a jury to find in plaintiff's favor

under any of the potentially applicable theories of liability

that he advances. Defendant was therefore entitled to the

direction of a verdict in its favor. Inasmuch as plaintiff's

motion for a new trial is premised entirely on the asserted

error in directing a verdict for defendant, I conclude that

plaintiff's motion must be denied.

/s/ ALFRED L. Lvonco, J.

A42 Appendix E . Appendix F A43

APPENDIX F

APPENDIX E Judgment Order of the U. S. Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit

Order of the District Court Denying Motion UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

for a New Trial For THE Tuirp Circuit

No. 78-2575

IN THE hiatald

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

For THE EASTERN District OF PENNSYLVANIA JOHN J. DOUGHERTY,

Appellant

eee v.

Civiz Action No. 76-1703 CHRISTIAN HAALAND

On APPEAL FROM THE UNITED StaTEs Districr Court

JOHN J. DOUGHERTY For THE EasTERN DisTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

v. C. A. No. 76-1703

Argued July 13, 1979

Before: ADAMS, ROSENN and HIGGINBOTHAM,

ORDER Circuit Judges.

This 25th day of September, 1978, it is

JUDGMENT ORDER

OrpERED that Plaintiff's Motion for a New Trial is tonal

DENIED.

CHRISTIAN HAALAND

After considering the contentions raised by appellant,

/s/ ALFRED L. Luonco, J. it is

A44 Appendix F

ADJUDGED AND OrpERED that the judgment of the dis-

trict court be and is hereby affirmed.

Each side to bear its own costs.

By THE COURT,

/s/ Artin M. ApAmMs

Circuit Judge

ATTEST:

/s/ THomas F. Quinn

Thomas F. Quinn, Clerk

Datep: July 17, 1979

Certified as a true copy and issued in lieu of a formal man-

date on August 8, 1979.

Test: THomas F. Quinn

Clerk, United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

Appendix G- A45

APPENDIX G

Opinion of the U. S. Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

in Griffith v. Wheeling-Pittsburgh Steel Corp.

[1]

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For THE THirD Circuit

Nos. 78-2159, 78-2160 and 78-2161

THOMAS W. GRIFFITH

v.

WHEELING-PITTSBURGH STEEL CORPORATION,

et al.

THOMAS W. GRIFFITH,

Appellant in No. 78-2159

WHEELING-PITTSBURGH STEEL CORPORATION,

Appellant in No. 78-2160

AMERICAN COMMERCIAL LINES, INC.,

Appellant in 78-2161

On APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES District CouRT

For THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

(D. C. Civil No. 73-0706)

Argued June 7, 1979

Before Gissons, Weis and HiccinsotTuaM, Circuit Judges

(Opinion filed August 24, 1979)

A46 Appendix G

Thomas L. Cooper, Esquire

(Argued )

Gilardi & Cooper

606 Oliver Building

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15222

Attorneys for Thomas W. Griffith

[2]

William L. Standish, Esquire

( Argued )

Arthur H. Stroyd, Jr., Esquire

Reed Smith Shaw & McClay

747 Union Trust Building

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15219

Attorneys for Wheeling-Pittsburgh

Steel Corporation

John W. Jordan, IV, Esquire

(Argued )

Thomson, Rhodes & Grigsby

1724 Frick Building

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15219

Attorneys for American Commercial

Lines, Inc.

OPINION OF THE COURT

Grspons, Circuit Judge:

Thomas W. Griffith, an employee of Wheeling-Pitts-

burgh Steel Corporation (Wheeling) commenced this ac-

tion in August 1973 against his employer, and against

American Commercial Lines, Inc. ( American ), the owner

of barge No. 2730, pursuant to § 18(a) of the Longshore-

mens and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act Amend-

ments of 1972. 33 U.S.C. § 905(b). He sought damages

Appendix G A47

for injuries sustained on May 26, 1973 when he fell into

the hold of barge No. 2730. Both defendants denied li-

ability to Griffith, and each cross-claimed against the other

for indemnification and contribution. Both also moved for

summary judgment against Griffith and against each other

on their respective cross-claims. The district court

granted Wheeling’s motion for partial summary judgment,

dismissing Griffith’s negligence claim against Wheeling,

and barring any claim for contribution or indemnity by

American against Wheel-

[3]

ing.' The order granting partial summary judgment was

entered as a final judgment, and this court then considered

appeals by Griffith and American from that order. We

reversed and remanded for further proceedings consistent

with our opinion.’

Following a non-jury trial the district court held both

Wheeling and American liable to Griffith on a negligence

theory. It further found that Griffith had suffered com-

pensatory damages in the amount of $209,299.45, but re-

duced his recovery by 25% because it found that 25% of

those damages was attributable to Wheeling’s negligence

in a stevedoring capacity. On June 15, 1978, the court

entered judgment against American for $104,649.73 (50%

of Griffith's damages ) and against Wheeling for $52,324.87

(25% of those damages ) a total of $156,974.60.° All parties

1. Griffith v. Wheeling Pittsburgh Steel Corp., 384 F. Supp.

230 (W. D. Pa. 1974).

2. Griffith v. Wheeling Pittsburgh Steel Corporation, 521 F. 2d

31 (3d Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423 U. S. 1054 1976) (Griffith I).

The Griffith I court affirmed the district court’s holding that Griffith

was not a Jones Act seaman, and therefore had no Jones Act

remedy against either defendant. 521 F. 2d at 36-38.

3. Griffith v. Wheeling-Pittsburgh Steel Corp., 452 F. Supp.

841 (W. D. Pa. 1978).

\

A48 Appendix G

appeal from this final judgment. Once again we must

remand for further proceedings.

I. Facts

The facts respecting Griffith's employment in the

Wheeling common labor pool at Allenport, Pennsylvania,

his assignment on the day of the accident to work with a

barge crew at the river landing, and the happening of the

accident are detailed in our previous opinion. That ap-

peal reviewed the summary judgment record. The trial

court's findings of fact after the trial confirm that state-

ment in all material respects, and we repeat it here.

Appellee Wheeling-Pitt&burgh, Steel Corporation

(Wheeling) operates a steel mill along the banks of

the Monongahela River at Allenport, Pennsylvania.

[4]

It first employed appellant Thomas Griffith on Febru-

ary 11, 1973, about four months before the date of the

injury that was to become the subject of this action.

He worked out of a common labor pool in the con-

struction department and was assigned on a daily

basis to a variety of landbased jobs. On April 1, 1973

Griffith bid into the hot mill labor pool, where as be-

fore he was assigned to various jobs on a daily basis.

As part of this pool he was assigned to work at the

company’s barge landing on the river for a total of 3%

days including the date of the accident on May 26,

1973.

On that day, plaintiff was assigned to work with

the barge crew at the landing to assist in the loading

of two barges. The barge on which the accident was

to occur, No. 2730, was owned by defendant-appellant

American Commercial Lines, Inc. (American). Three

Appendix G A49

days earlier, on May 23, it had been delivered to

Wheeling and was incorporated into the latter’s “coal

fleet” to await future use. On May 25, No. 2730 was

relocated next to the seawall at the barge landing to

take on a load of sheet steel which was destined to

move down river to Louisville, Kentucky. A second

barge, described as a pipe barge, was positioned next

to No. 2730, and it too was to be loaded. The pipe

barge was positioned immediately next to the seawall,

and No. 2730 was lashed alongside further out on

the river.

On the morning of the day of the accident,

Griffith and the regular rivermen in the barge crew

first loaded pipe into the pipe barge. During the

loading of the pipe barge, which was completed be-

fore noon, Griffith worked on the seawall and barge.

No. 2730 was then moved into position for loading

by a procedure known as “rounding” in which a crane

on the seawall pushed the barges away from the wall

permitting the current to turn the boats around in the

water so that No. 2730 was situated next to the sea-

wall. Griffith’s sole as-

[5]

sistance during the procedure involved his throwing

ropes from one barge to the other.

The crew then turned to the loading of No. 2730.

At that time, Joseph Allfree, the crew’s foreman, who

was employed as river foreman by Wheeling, became

aware that the barge covers were difficult to move.

The wheels and track mechanism on which the covers

ordinarily roll were without lubrication and were

rusty and bent. At about 2:00 p.m. Allfree directed

the crew to stop loading the barge and to close the

A50 Appendix G

covers. Allfree then returned to his office away from

the area. The only other experienced riverman on the

crew, Joseph Armstrong, then had difficulty closing

one of the covers. A cable was attached from the

crane on the seawall to the cover to pull it shut; a

second cable was attached to an adjacent cover for

leverage. Because eyelets on the stuck cover were

missing, the hook at the end of the cable was attached

to the lip on the underside of the cover. Both Arm-

strong and plaintiff were standing on top of the stuck

cover when tension was applied to the cable. As the

stuck cover began to rise they stepped back onto an

adjacent cover, but that cover moved backward and

the two men fell into the hold and both were injured.

521 F. 2d at 34-35.

II. GrirFirH’s APPEAL

Griffth’s appeal contests the reduction of his re-

covery to $156,974.60. Griffith’s §905(b) claims were

against the barge owner, American, on the theory that it

had negligently furnished Wheeling a defective barge, and

against Wheeling as owner pro hac vice for negligently

directing him to work on that unsafe barge. As noted, the

trial court found in Griffith’s favor on both of these claims.

Both Wheeling and American contest liability to Griffith,

and their contentions are addressed in Parts III and IV

below. But neither contests the district court's finding of

fact that

[6]

Griffith suffered $209,299.45 in compensatory damages.

Nor does either contend that Griffith, himself, was guilty of

any negligence which contributed to the accident. In this

Part we address the reduction of Griffith’s damages on the

Appendix G A51

assumption that the trial court’s liability determinations in

Griffth’s favor are correct.

The court found that American was negligent in de-

livering a barge with defective cover mechanisms, knowing

that workers such as Griffith would be exposed to risk of

injury for those defects. It found that Wheeling, in its

capacity as owner pro hac vice of the barge, was negligent

in failing to give adequate instructions to steelworkers un-

familiar with river work, in providing a defective barge

for such work, and in failing to inspect, repair, or reject

the defective barge. It also found that in its stevedoring

capacity, as distinguished from its capacity as owner pro

hac vice, Wheeling was liable for the negligence of its em-

ployees, Griffith’s fellow servants. The court allocated the

responsibility for Griffith’s injuries 50% to American, 25%

to Wheeling as owner pro hac vice, and 25% to Wheeling

as stevedore. It then applied what has become known as

the equitable credit doctrine to reduce Griffith’s total re-

covery by 25%, representing the negligence attributable

to his employer, Wheeling, acting in its capacity as steve-

dore.

In adopting the equitable credit doctrine the trial

court decided the question which this court expressly re-

served in Marant v. Farrell Lines, Inc., 550 F. 2d 142, 147

(3d Cir. 1977). The theory behind that doctrine was that

when Congress in the 1972 Amendments to the LHWCA

eliminated the shipowner’s strict liability to longshoremen

for unseaworthiness, and at the same time created in

§905(b) a new negligence cause of action against the

shipowner, it did not intend to impose liability upon the

shipowner for that part of the longshoreman’s damages at-

tributable to the negligence of the longshoreman’s em-

ployer. The workman’s compensation remedy was said to

cover that percentage of the damages. This statutory com-

pensation

A52 Appendix G

[7]

was characterized as equitable in recognition of the fact

that under § 933(c) of the Act the stevedore employer had

a lien on the employee's third party recovery. Thus, in

the absence of a credit principle, the stevedore might in

some cases be fully repaid for its workmen’s compensation

payments by the shipowner, although its own employees

were significantly responsible for the injury. The ship-

owner would then be left to bear the burden of the long-

shoreman’s damage recovery, despite its lesser responsi-

bility. It was thought to be equitable to prevent this result

by reducing the longshoreman’s negligence recovery in

proportion to the percentage of the stevedore’s negligence.

In Edmonds v. Compagnie Generale Transatlantique,

47 U. S. L. W. 4868 (U. S. June 27, 1979), the Supreme

Court reversed an en banc decision of the Fourth Circuit *

which had applied the equitable credit doctrine to reduce a

negligence recovery in a § 905(b) action against a ship-

owner by a percentage equal to the proportionate fault of

the longshoreman’s employer. The Court held that Con-

gress did not intend to modify the longshoreman’s pre-

existing right to recover for his injuries in full against a

negligent shipowner, even in cases where the negligence of

the stevedore contributed to the injury. Whatever the

conduct of the longshoreman’s employer, a negligent ship-

owner is liable for the full amount of the longshoreman’s

damages. Justice White for the Court recognized that by

virtue of the stevedore employer's compensation lien on

the employee’s third party recovery the Edmonds result

may relieve a negligent stevedore even of the burden of

statutory compensation payments, 47 U. S. L. W. at 4871,

4. Edmonds v. Sag ory Generale Transatlantique, 577 F. 2d

1153, 1155-56 (4th Cir. 1978) (en banc).

Appendix G A53

but found that circumstance was not decisive. So much

for equitable credit.

Thus unless both Wheeling and American can prevail

in their appeal on liability issues, a judgment must be en-

tered in favor of Griffith against one or both in the full

amount of $209,299.45,

[8]

III. AMERICANS APPEAL AGAINST GRIFFITH

The district court held that American, as owner, had

breached its duty to exercise reasonable care by delivering

barge No. 2730 to Wheeling with its cover mechanisms

rusted, bent, and unlubricated, and with the eyelets on the

stuck hatch cover completely missing. The court con-

cluded that “[dJelivery of such a barge, with knowledge

that many workers would necessarily come into contact

with the deteriorated barge covers, was inexcusably negli-

gent.” 452 F. Supp. at 845.

In reaching this conclusion, the trial court considered

at some length the applicable standard of care. It recog-

nized that some prior cases ° had relied upon $§ 343-343A

of the Restatement (Second) of Torts (1965), dealing

with the liability of landowners and occupiers, as defining

the standard of care applicable to vessel owners under

§ 905(b) of the Amendments.’ It concluded, however,

5. E.g., Lubrano v. Royal Netherlands Steamship Co., 572 F. 2d

364 (2d Cir. 1978); Gay v. Ocean Transport & Trading Ltd., 546

F. 2d 1233 (5th Cir. 1977); Anuszewski v. Dynamic Mariners Cor-

poration, Panama, 540 F. 2d 757, 759 (4th Cir. 1976) (per curiam),

cert. denied, 429 U. S. 1098 (1977).

6. Those sections read as follows:

§ 343. Dangerous Conditions Known to or Discoverable by

Possessor

A possessor of land is subject to liability for physical harm

caused to his invitees by a condition en the land if, but only

if, he

A5A Appendix G

that the application of that formulation would introduce

into the maritime torts area distinctions between licensees

and invitees which would be inappropriate in the context

of commercial shipping. Relying on the Supreme Court’s

decision in

[9]

Kermarec v. Compagnie Generale Transatlantique, 358

U. S. 625 (1959), the court discerned an emerging trend

in the law toward imposing upon property owners a more

general “duty to exercise reasonable care under all the

circumstances of the case.” 441 F. Supp. at 844. The

court also observed that in most cases, including the case

sub judice, the same result would be reached whether one

applied the Restatement § 343 formulation or the more

universal duty to exercise reasonable care under all the

circumstances. The court therefore concluded that the

latter standard was the proper one to apply.

On appeal, American urges that the standard adopted

by the district court “leads to an improper imposition of

6. (Cont'd. )

(a) knows or by the exercise of reasonable care would

discover the condition, and should realize that it involves an

unreasonable risk of harm to such invitees, and

b) should go that they will not discover or realize

the danger, or will fail to protect themselves against it, and

(c) fails to exercise reasonable care to protect them

against the danger.

§ 343A. Known or Obvious Dangers

(1) A possessor of land is not liable to his invitees for physical

harm caused to them by any activity or condition on the land

whose ores is known or obvious to them, unless the pos-

sessor should anticipate the harm despite such knowledge or

obviousness.

(2) In determining whether the possessor should anticipate

harm from a known or obvious danger, the fact that the invitee

is entitled to make use of public land, or of the facilities of a

ublic utility, is a factor of importance indicating that the

fares should be anticipated.

Appendix G A55

liability in this case and provides no real guidance for the

decision of future cases.” We are less concerned with the

latter objection than with the former, and we conclude

that the facts found by the trial court justify imposition of

liability on the vessel owner in this case.

A brief review of this court’s prior decisions discuss-

ing the standard of care under § 905(b) will serve as back-

ground for our review of the district court’s decision. In

Griffith I, supra, we pointed out, first, that the clear in-

tent of amended § 905(b) was to relieve vessel owners of

absolute liability for injuries to stevedores, whether that

liability was imposed on the basis of unseaworthiness or on

a respondeat superior theory. 521 F. 2d at 40. At the

same time, we recognized the apparent intention of Con-

gress “to apply land-based common law negligence prin-

ciples on a uniform national basis” in actions against the

vessel owner under § 905(b). Id. at 44 & n. 21. We did

not at that time undertake to specify the principles to be

applied to the record on remand.

This court’s subsequent decisions have concentrated

upon clarifying the implications of Congress’ r jection in

§ 905(b) of strict or respondeat superior liability as a basis

for recovery against the vessel owner. In Brown v. Ivarans

Rederi A/S, 545 F. 2d 854 (3d Cir. 1976), cert. denied,

[10]

430 U. S. 969 (1977), we concluded that § 416 of the Re-

statement (Second) of Torts, which imposes a non-dele-

gable duty of due care upon persons employing a con-

tractor to perform work “dangerous in [the] absence of

special precautions” was inconsistent with the intent of

Congress to eliminate shipowner liablity without fault.

Similarly, in Marant v. Farrell Lines, Inc., supra, we re-

versed a judgment for the longshoreman, because the jury

had been instructed that “responsibility for the safety of

A56 Appendix G

the longshoreman lies concurrently or jointly” with the

stevedore and the shipowner. Relying on Brown, we held

that “the major responsibility for the proper and safe con-

duct of the work was to be borne by the stevedore.” 550

F. 2d at 144 (quoting Brown, supra, 545 F. 2d at 860).

And in Hurst v. Triad Shipping Co., 554 F. 2d 1237 (3d

Cir.), cert. denied, 434 U. S. 861 (1977), we held that

§§ 318 and 416-429 of the Second Restatement were in-

applicable in a § 905(b) action, again on the basis that

each would have resulted in the imposition upon the ship-

owner of liability without fault. We held that § 414 of the

Restatement, which permits imposition of liability upon a

principal who retains control over some part the work

performed by an independent contractor, and who fails

to exercise that control with reasonable care, might pro-

vide a proper basis for liability under § 905(b), but con-

cluded that the plaintiff had failed to introduce sufficient

evidence of the shipowner’s control over the stevedore’s

operation to support a recovery. 554 F. 2d at 1252.

Rich v. United States Lines, 596 F. 2d 541 (3d Cir.

1979), relied on by American at oral argument, continues

the pattern of our earlier decisions. In Rich the plaintiff

longshoreman was injured when he slipped on sheet ice

which had accumulated on top of containers stacked on

board the defendant’s vessel. The panel first held that

plaintiff's evidence was insufficient as a matter of law to

support liability under § 414 of the Restatement. Id. at

550. The plaintiff, relying upon the legislative history of

the Amendments, also argued that the shipowner had

[11]

breached its duty to provide a “safe place to work” by

failing to take appropriate corrective action, despite its

knowledge of the dangerous ice conditions. In a discus-

Appendix G A57

sion closely tailored to the facts of the case, the panel

majority rejected this contention on the ground that the

plaintiff had failed to establish that the ice covered con-

tainers were a part of the ship for whose condition the

shipowner was customarily responsible. In the panel's

view, the evidence in the case showed “beyond a doubt”

that the stevedoring company, rather than the vessel, was

“in complete charge of the details of the handling of the

containers.” Id. at 557. (emphasis added). To impose

liability on those facts, the court concluded, would

“amount once again to the establishment of a non-dele-

gable duty.” Id. at 556 (citing Hurst v. Triad Shipping,

supra, 554 F. 2d at 1251). The panel majority’s view of

the case made it unnecessary for them to consider the

standard of care issue.

These decisions firmly establish that under § 905(b):

The vessel has no general duty continually to super-

vise the activities of the stevedore, to assume respon-

sibility for the stevedore’s equipment, or to assume

responsibility for dangerous conditions in the vessel

created by the stevedore during the course of its oper-

ations (at least when the vessel has no knowledge of

the dangerous conditions ).

Rich v. United States Lines, Inc., supra, 596 F. 2d at 560

(Garth, J., concurring) (footnote omitted). They do not,

however, speak directly to the scope of the vessel's inde-

pendent duty under § 905(b) to “exercise the same care

as a land based person in providing a safe place to work.” *

American presents two arguments against the stand-

ard of reasonable care under all the circumstances applied

by the district court. First, it argues that a vessel should

7. H. R. Rep. No. 92-441, 92d Cong., 2d Sess., nted in

[1972] U. S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 4698, 4704 [hereinafter

cited as House Report}.

A58 ' Appendix G

[12]

not be held liable in negligence under § 905(b) if it has

delivered the ship “in such condition that an expert and

experienced stevedoring contractor, mindful of the dan-

gers he should reasonably expect to encounter” will be

able to load or unload the vessel safely by exercising “or-

dinary care under the circumstances.”* Alternatively,

American urges this court to adopt the standard of care

established in Restatement (Second) §§ 343-343A to gov-

ern all actions under § 905(b).

We reject both suggestions. Under American’s first

proposed standard of care the vessel would be relieved of

liability to a longshoreman for unreasonably dangerous

conditions on board ship whenever the stevedoring con-

tractor failed to perform his tasks in an “expert and ex-

perienced” fashion. This would occur whether or not the

individual longshoreman was personally at fault. The

proposed rule thus imputes to the non-negligent longshore-

man the negligence of his stevedore employer, and estab-

lishes that negligence as a complete bar to recovery against

the vessel. This result is at variance with the Supreme

Court's interpretation of the 1972 Amendments in Ed-

monds v. Compagnie Generale Transatlantique, supra. It

is inconceivable to us that the Court, which disapproved a

rule that imputes the negligence of the stevedore to the

longshoreman to reduce his recovery against a negligent

shipowner, would approve a rule barring all recovery

against a negligent shipowner on the basis of imputed

employer negligence. We do not hold that the likelihood

of negligent conduct on the part of the stevedoring con-

8. American Brief at 14 (quoting Hugev v. Dampskisaktiesels-

kabet International, 170 F. Supp. 601 (S. D. Cal. 1959), affd sub

nom., Metropolitan Stevedore Co. v. Dampskisaktieselskabet Inter-

saienel 274 F. 2d 875 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 363 U. S. 803

Appendix G A59

tractor is always irrelevant in determining whether the

vessel has breached its duty of due care. Compare Re-

statement (Second) of Torts § 302A ° with id. § 302. But

[13]

the fact that the stevedore has been negligent cannot be

automatically decisive of that question.

Similarly, we cannot agree that §§ 343 and 343A of

the Second Restatement define for all cases the appropri-

ate standard of care under §905(b). It is true, as Ameri-

can points out, that we have approved reference to the

Restatement (Second) in § 905(b) negligence actions “as

the national expression of non-maritime tort principles.”

Hurst v. Triad Shipping Co., supra, 554 F. 2d at 1248;

Brown v. Ivarans Rederi A/S, supra, 545 F. 2d at 863. But

as Hurst itself illustrates, those provisions are adopted

only when they are consistent with Congressional intent in

enacting §905(b). Sections 343 and 343A do not meet

that standard. Both sections would apparently relieve a

vessel owner of all liability for an unreasonably dangerous

condition on board ship if the invitee longshoreman has

failed to exercise ordinary care in dealing with that danger,

on the theory that a negligent invitee has assumed the risk

of injury. See §343A,Commente. As we stated in Hurst,

554 F. 2d at 1250, Brown, 545 F. 2d at 863-64 n. 10, and

Rich, 596 F. 2d at 551 n. 21, that principle is inconsistent

with the clearly stated intention of Congress to abolish the

doctrines of contributory negligence and assumption of

risk in cases decided under § 905(b).*°

9. Section 302A reads:

An act or omission may be negligent if the actor realizes or

should realize that it involves an unreasonable risk of harm to

another through the negligent or reckless conduct of the other

or a third person.

10. See House Report, supra n. 7, [1972] U. S. Code Cong. &

Admin. News.

A60 Appendix G

More fundamentally, we think that it would be unwise

to assume that the principles of negligence law applicable

to owners of land will in all cases provide an appropriate

“land based” standard of care for actions against a ves-

sel owner. In some cases the analogy will be appropriate.

In other cases, different portions of the Restatement, in-

cluding, for example, the duty of care owed by a supplier

of a chattel in commerce, may provide a more appropriate

standard of reference. Compare Restatement (Second ) of

Torts §§ 388-389. Indeed, it might persuasively be argued

that it was the latter duty which was breached in this case.

Moreover, we agree with the district court that insofar as

[14]

the standards of liability in § 343 and 343A are colored by

traditional economic and social attitudes uniquely asso-

ciated with land ownership, wholesale importation of those

sections into § 905(b) might be confusing and counterpro-

ductive. See Kermarec v. Compagnie Generale Transat-

lantique, 358 U. S. 625 (1959); Santos v. Scindia Steam

Navigation Co., 598 F. 2d 480, 486-88 (9th Cir. 1979):

Gallardo v. Westfal-Larsen & Co. A/S, 435 F. Supp. 484,

493-95 (N. D. Cal. 1977); Espinoza v. United States Lines,

Inc., 444 F. Supp. 405, 409-12 (S. D. N. Y.), affd, 586

F. 2d 832 (2d Cir. 1978); G. Gilmore & C. Black, The Law

of Admiralty 453-54 (2d ed. 1975).

The sounder approach, we think, is to recognize that

§ 905(b) imposes on vessel owners the same duty to ex-

ercise “reasonable care under the circumstances of each

case” that would be applicable to a land based business.

Accord, Santos v. Scindia Steam Navigation Co., supra, 598

F. 2d at 485-88; Gallardo v. Westfal Larsen & Co. A/S,

supra, 435 F. Supp. at 496. See Kermarec v. Compagnie

Generale Transatlantique, supra, 358 U. S. at 632; Brown

Appendix G A61

v. Ivarans Rederi A/S, supra, 545 F. 2d at 863. Cf. Re-

statement (Second) of Torts §§ 281-83, 302A, 305, 452.

Proceeding from this broad common law standard, federal

courts may develop on a case by case basis a uniform fed-

eral law of negligence, referring for guidance to the “land

based” standards of care established in the Restatement

(Second) of Torts whenever such reference accords with

the Congressional intent and is helpful to decision of the

case at hand.

At a minimum, we think that the standard of reason-

able care under the circumstances would permit a finding

of negligence upon a showing: (1) that the vessel knew of

or by the exercise of reasonable care could have discovered

the condition on board ship that led to the injury; (2) that

the vessel knew or should have known that the condition

would pose an unreasonable risk of harm to longshoremen

working on board ship; and (3) that the vessel failed to

exercise reasonable care to protect the longshoremen

[15]

against that danger. See Santos v. Scindia Steam Navi-

gation Co., supra, 598 F. 2d at 485."

Reviewing the record in this case, we think that the

district court’s application of the standard of reasonable

care under all the circumstances of this case touched all

of these bases. Certainly, there was ample evidence to

support the court’s conclusion that American knew or

should have known of the rusted, decrepit condition of the

covers on barge 2730, and that American failed to exercise

reasonable care to correct that condition. American does

not argue otherwise. Rather the substance of American’s

argument is that the evidence was insufficient to show that :

it knew or should have known that the condition of the

11. Compare Restatement (Second) of Torts, §§ 343(a)-(c);

Id. §§ 388(a) and (c).

A62 Appendix G

barge posed an unreasonable risk of harm to longshoremen

in Griffith’s position. Specifically American contends that

the difficulty with the stuck covers was obvious and could

have been solved without danger to anyone, and that

therefore American should not have been required to

anticipate that Wheeling would attempt to overcome the

defect in the covers by the unsafe method to which it

resorted.

‘In pressing this argument American attacks both the

factual and legal findings of the court below. American

points factual and legal findings of the court below.

American points to the district court’s reference to missing

eyelets to which the hook which Griffith was holding could

have been attached, and argues that that finding is clearly

erroneous. In fact, the record shows that there were two

eyelets on the covers, one close to each side of the barge

(Exhibit D2). But the uncontradicted trial testimony was

that Wheeling’s employees had tried ten or twenty times

without success to unstick the barge covers by attaching

cables to those eyelets. (224a-225a; 313a-3l4a). The

missing eyelets to which the court referred would have

been at the center of the covers, where they could have

been grasped in a balanced manner by the crane cables.

Because such eyelets were missing or had never been in-

stalled,

[16]

Wheeling’s employees had to remain on the cover, holding

the cable hooks under the rim of the cover, while tension

was applied.

American also argues that there were alternative

methods available to Wheeling-Pittsburgh by which the

covers might have been moved safely, which it was entitled

to assume that Wheeling would rely upon. One safe alter-

native method which American suggests is the use of the

Appendix G A63

outboard eyelets on the covers, a method which the testi-

mony discloses was tried and which, due to the defec-

tive condition of the barge, proved ineffective. William

Toutant, the designer of barge No. 2730, also testified that

with the use of a four part sling the covers, which weigh

over nine thousand pounds, could have been lifted off

safely. (393-a). But Frank Merritt, an American em-

ployee, was aware, before barge No. 2730 was furnished

to Wheeling, that at Allenport Wheeling regularly used

the double cable method of moving stuck barge covers.

(41a). Thus when American furnished barge No. 2730 it

knew or should have known that the combination of the

unlubricated, rusty and bent track mechanism and the

missing center eyelets would expose Wheeling’s longshore-

men to the precise sort of risk to which Griffith was ex-

posed. The fact that Wheeling’s chosen method of opera-

tion may have been negligent is therefore of no help to

American.”

The record before the district judge contained sub-

stantial evidence that American knew of the condition on

board its vessel; that it knew or should have known that

that condition posed an unreasonable risk to workers in

Griffith’s position; and that it failed to correct that condi-

tion. On this record, then, we hold that the district court's

findings of fact with respect to American’s liability to

Griffith are not clearly erroneous, and that its application

of a general standard of reasonable care in the circum-

stances was not legal error.

[17]

IV. WHEELING’s APPEAL AGAINST GRIFFITH

_ Wheeling does not contest that, if it was properly held

to be an owner pro hac vice, it was guilty of negligence in

12. See Restatement (Second) of Torts § 302 quoted supra at

n. 9.

A64 Appendix G

that capacity. But it contends that the judgment against

it in favor of Griffith must be reversed because as a matter

of law it is not an owner pro hac vice. An appreciation of

that argument requires an examination of the complex

procedural history of this case. As we indicated above,

the trial court in 1974 granted Wheeling’s motion for sum-

mary judgment against Griffith. In doing so it accepted

Wheeling’s argument that even assuming its alleged status

as an owner pro hac vice, the LHWCA precluded liability

against it in favor of an employee. 384 F. Supp. at 237.

Since that legal theory rendered its ownership status im-

material, Wheeling argues, it did not file affidavits contest-

ing that status in support of its motion for summary judg-

ment. On appeal this court, accepting as undisputed

Wheeling’s exclusive though temporary control of barge

No. 2730, rejected its legal position that the LHWCA

barred recovery against it as an owner pro hac vice. As

we explained: “Wheeling concedes that it might be found

to be an ‘owner pro hac vice’ as that term has been applied

in this circuit.” 521 F. 2d at 39-40 (footnote omitted ).

Thus, our reversal of summary judgment in Wheeling’s

favor established no more than that based on the plead-

ings, affidavits, and discovery materials then on file, a

factfinder could find Wheeling to be a pro hac vice owner

within the meaning of Blair v. United States Steel Corp.,

444 F. 2d 1390 (3d Cir 1971) (per curiam), cert. denied,

404 U. S. 1018 (1972).

Wheeling now points out that there is substantial ad-

ditional evidence in the record concerning its relationship

to barge No. 2730 which was not of record at the time of

the summary judgment. That evidence, it contends, estab-

lishes that it was not a pro hac vice owner as defined in

Blair. It contends, moreover, that the trial court, in mis-

placed reliance on the law of the case doctrine, disregarded

Appendix G A65

[18]

that additional evidence in holding it liable. Finally, it

contends that even if the Blair standard as to pro hac vice

ownership has been met, that case should be overruled.

When the case was first before us it was undisputed,

and still is after trial, that barge No. 2730 was delivered to

Wheeling’s Allenport landing by a river boat company,

and incorporated into a fleet there under the supervision

of Joseph Allfree, Wheeling’s river dock foreman. From

the time Wheeling received the barge until the time of the

accident it had exclusive possession. All movements of the

barge while it was in Wheeling’s possession were the re-

sponsibility of Wheeling’s employee rivermen. Their

duties included placing lights on the barges moored with

Wheeling’s fleet and moving them about the landing to

facilitate loading. Barge No. 2730 was one of a number

furnished to Wheeling for transportation of its products,

and it was free to chose which among them it would use.

These undisputed facts fit squarely with the Blair holding.

‘Wheeling does not contend that any available evidence

bearing on its relationship to barge No. 2730 was excluded

at trial. Rather, it points to additional evidence intro-

duced at trial, as follows:

[Wheeling] could load only material destined for

a pre-determined port (350a); the charter between

[Wheeling] and American was oral rather than written

(7a, 337a, 566a); Barge 2730 could have been re-

moved by American for repairs without [Wheeling’s]

prior permission (355a-356a); [Wheeling] was not

responsible for rent on American barges which were

unavailable due to repair (358a); [Wheeling] paid

American for Barge 2730 according to tonnage shipped

rather than type of barge used (449a, 564a); [Wheel-

A66 Appendix G

ing] had nothing to do with the route or time which

Barge 2730 took to arrive at its final destination (565a,

349a); and [Wheeling] could not move Barge 2730

from its landing without [American’s] consent and

without the assessment of an additional fee. (354a,

358a) (ICC Waterways Freight Tariff, 8-B, Items

420-435 )

[19]

Wheeling’s Brief in No. 76-2160 at 12. Wheeling argues

that because the trial court relied on the law of the case

doctrine it disregarded this trial evidence. Because the

record is not clear on this issue, we must remanded for fur-

ther factual findings.

The trial court found after trial that:

The status of [Wheeling] as owner pro hac vice at the

time of the injury is well established under both the

law of the case and the applicable case law.

452 F. Supp. at 845 (emphasis supplied). Since evidence

on the issue of Wheeling’s relationship in barge No. 2730

was received, and the court nowhere denied considering it,

the quoted language could be understood as a finding upon

all the evidence presented, that Wheeling fell within the

definition of pro hac vice owner announced in Blair and in

Griffith I.. On the other hand, it may be read as relying

solely on the holding in Griffith I to determine the issue of

ownership status. There are a number of indications in

the record that the district judge may well have erroneously

viewed our decision in Griffith I as foreclosing any factual

inquiry into Wheeling’s ownership status on remand. See

340a; 34la; 342a. Because we are unable to determine

from the record whether the district judge actually consid-

Appendix G A67

ered the further evidence bearing on ownership status sub-

mitted by Wheeling, and because Wheeling was entitled to

have the district judge pass on that evidence before he de-

termined its ownership status, a remand is required for

further findings of fact on that issue.

We reject, however, Wheeling’s further contention

that Blair and Griffith I should be overruled. In the first

place that would require action by the court in banc. Nor

is this panel persuaded that the Blair holding should be

reconsidered.** Wheeling argues that that holding im-

poses an

[20]

inconvenience upon barge users who operate their own

landings and perform their own stevedoring. That may be,

but such barge customers also undoubtedly obtain substan-

tial cost and convenience advantages from doing so. If the

barges remained in the possession and control of an

owner's crew, that crew would supervise use of the barge

at the landing and might possibly guard against injuries to

longshoreman invitees. But the bargeline customer would

be charged accordingly. When that customer chooses to

take exclusive possession and control of a barge in naviga-

tion, even for a limited time and in a limited space, it

should, as we have held, be obliged to discharge the re-

sponsibilities of an owner. Another experienced admiralty

court agrees. See Eskine v. United Barge Co., 484 F. 2d

1194 (5th Cir. 1973).

13. Judge Weis believes that Blair should not be extended but

should be limited to its facts, and that the burden of establishing a

demise charter rests upon the owner of the vessel. See Guzman v.

Pirchirilo, 369 U. S. (1962); Leary v. United States, 81 U. S.

607, 612 (1871); Dobbins v. Crane, 567 F. 2d 559 (3d Cir. 1977);

Fitzg v. A. L. Burbank, 451 F. 2d 670, 676 (2d Cir. 1971);

1000). v. Union Barge Line Corp., 299 F. Supp. 718 (W. D. Pa.

1 ;

A68 Appendix G

Wheeling also contends that the trial court erred in

finding that it was negligent, in its capacity as owner pro

hac vice, in falling adequately to train steelworkers un-

familiar with river work. That contention bears upon the

allocation of liability between Wheeling and American. It

does not, however, affect Wheeling’s liability to Griffith,

since findings that Wheeling was negligent as owner pro

hac vice in providing a defective barge, and in failing to

inspect, repair or reject it, are not challenged as factually

or legally erroneous.

Thus we hold that the judgment of liability in favor of

Griffith against Wheeling as owner pro hac vice must be

vacated and remanded for further findings regarding

Wheeling’s status as owner.

V. WHEELING’ APPEAL AGAINST AMERICAN

A. Indemnification

Wheeling also appeals from the district court’s rejec-

tion of its claim against American for indemnification.

While a factual finding in the district court that Wheeling

was not an owner pro hac vice would moot this claim, we

think that in light of the possibility that the issue of con-

[21]

tribution or indemnity is not foreclosed by our remand,

resolution of this question is proper on this record.

Wheeling contends that when a demise charterer—an

owner pro hac vice—and an owner are both tound to be

negligent with respect to any injury-causing defeat, the

negligence of the owner in supplying the defective barge

is active or primary, while that of the owner pro hac vice,

in failing to discover and remedy the defect is passive or

secondary. A tortfeasor who is only secondarily or pas-

Appendix G A69

sively negligent, it urges, is entitled to indemnification for

any loss occasioned by the primary or active negligence of

another. It points out that such a non-contractual duty

by a primary or active tortfeasor to indemnify a secondary

or passive tortfeasor has been recognized both by Penn-

sylvania law, e.g., Builders Supply Co. v. McCabe, 366 Pa.

322, 77 A. 2d 368 (1951); Tromza v. Tecumseh Products

Co., 378 F. 2d 601 (3d Cir. 1967), and in maritime cases.

E.g., Tri-State Oil Tool Indus., Inc. v. Delta Marine Drill-

ing Co., 410 F. 2d 178 (5th Cir. 1969); Standard Oil Co.

v. Robins Dry Dock & Repair Co., 32 F. 2d 182 (2d Cir.

1929).

We reject at the outset Wheeling’s suggestion that

rights of indemnity and contribution between maritime

joint tortfeasors should be governed by state law. Con-

sistent with the intent of Congress in enacting the 1972

Amendments, we think that whatever rule is adopted

should be uniform and federal. Brown v. Ivarans Rederi

A/S, supra, 545 F. 2d at 861-63; Griffith I, supra, 521 F. 2d

at 44 & n. 21. Moreover, while we recognize that the fed-

eral cases cited by Wheeling might once have had some

force, we think that the law of maritime indemnity has

been substantially altered by the Supreme Court’s decision

in United States v. Reliable Transfer Co., 421 U. S. 397

(1975). In that case the Court abandoned the traditional

rule of “divided damages” for maritime collision cases.

That rule required “the equal division of property damage

whenever both parties are found to be guilty of contribut-

ing fault, whatever the relative degree of their

[22]

fault may have been.” 421 U. S. at 397. In the future, the

Court held, collision damages should be apportioned on a

comparative fault basis. The rationale behind that de-

A70 Appendix G

cision was simple: allocation of liability directly in propor-

tion to fault was a much fairer method of determining

damages than the rough and ready 50-50 division imposed

by the traditional rule.

The rule of non-contractual indemnity pressed by

Wheeling, like the contribution rule at issue ir Reliable

Transfer, is designed to shift the primary burden of rep-

arations to the party more at fault, thereby avoiding

unjust, or at least unsatisfactory results. But the rule

performs that task by relieving a concededly negligent

tortfeasor—albeit his negligence was “passive’-—from any

liability for the damage that occurred. That result seems

strongly at odds with the preference for comparative

fault expressed in Reliable Transfer. A similar rule,

formerly applied in maritime collision cases, held that

when one ship’s negligence was “major,” and the other’s

“minor,” the grossly negligent party could be held solely

at fault. E.g., The City of New York, 147 U. S. 72, 85

(1893). The Reliable Transfer Court dismissed this rule

as “inherently unreliable” and unfair. “That a vessel is

primarily negligent does not justify it shouldering all re-

sponsibility, nor excuse the slightly negligent vessel from

bearing any liability at all.” 421 U. S. at 406. Similarly,

we can see no good reason why in this non-collision mari-

time context the fact that Wheeling’s conceded negligence

as owner pro hac vice may have been less egregious than

that of American should justify the creation of a right of

indemnity which would impose sole responsibility for the

accident on American, while allowing Wheeling to go scot-

free. In Griffith I, supra, we suggested that the preferable

approach would be to apply the comparative fault princi-

ples endorsed in Reliable Transfer to achieve an equitable

appointment of liability between the two alleged joint

tortfeasors. The district court applied those principles

here, and we affirm that application.

Appendix G A71

[23]

Thus we iiold that the district court properly rejected

Wheeling’s claim that it should be fully indemnified by

American for its liability to Griffith.

B. Percentage of Negligence

The trial court, as we noted above, entered judgment

against Wheeling for $52,324.87 and against American for

$104,649.73, because it held that Wheeling as owner pro

hac vice was responsible for 25%, and American for 50%

of the total damages of $209,299.45. In Part I we held

that it was improper to diminish Griffith's recovery by a

percentage equal to Wheeling’s stevedore negligence. If

the court determines on remand that Wheeling is an owner

pro hac vice, the defendants are jointly and severally liable

under § 905(b) for the full amount of Griffith’s damages.

That holding would require a redetermination of the

amount for which each defendant is liable. According

to the district court, negligence actionable under § 905(b)

produced 75% of the damages, of which 50% was attributa-

ble to American and 25% to Wheeling. The court's find-

ings suggest that on remand contribution in the ratio of

two thirds-one third would be appropriate. Thus, if the

findings upon which the 50%-25% allocation was based

were sustainable it would be a simple matter to calculate

the contribution of each defendant toward the $209,299.45

joint liability.

Unfortunately, however, we are not in a position to

make that simple calculation. As we noted above, the

trial court predicated its finding of negligence by Wheeling

as owner pro hac vice in part on Wheeling’s “[f]ailure to

give adequate safety instructions to steelworkers unfamiliar

with river work.” 452 F. 2d at 845. Wheeling notes

that there is a serious problem of proximate cause with

A72 Appendix G

respect to that finding, since in the same accident which

injured the untrained Griffith, his supervisor, Joseph Arm-

strong, a well-trained and experienced riverman, was also

injured. More fundamentally, Wheeling observes, and we

[24]

agree, that on this record, its failure to train Griffith and

his fellow servants was, insofar as it contributed to his

injuries, a failure to train them in longshoreman skills.

That failure must as a matter of law be attributed to

Wheeling in its capacity as a stevedore rather than as an

owner pro hac vice. “The only negligence of [Wheeling]

which could properly be . . . attributed to Wheeling [as

owner pro hac vice| was its negligence in failing to in-

spect, reject, or correct [b]arge 2730.” Appellant’s Brief

in No. 78-2160 at 25. Since the trial court did not disclose

to what extent its finding of 25% culpability was attributa-

ble to Wheeling’s failure to train, we cannot recalculate

the allocation between Wheeling and American for pur-

poses of contribution. A remand is necessary so that the

trial court can make that determination, excluding from

the calculation Wheeling’s negligence in failing to train.

VI. AMERICAN’s APPEAL AGAINST WHEELING

American objects to the allocation of liability between

it as owner and Wheeling as owner pro hac vice on the

basis of 50%-25%. It urges that since the duties of an owner

and an owner pro hac vice are the same, their liabilities

should be the same unless some special circumstance

alters the balance. We readily grant that the duties to

third parties of an owner and an owner pro hac vice are

the same, with respect to the condition of the vessel. Both

are required to exercise reasonable care under all the cir-

cumstances of the case. But it does not follow that because

Appendix G A73

their duties are the same and each breached those duties

in some manner their liability inter sese for a joint tort

should be the same. What we have said in Part V-A,

above about the applicability of the principles of Reliable

Transfer is equally applicable here. When two acts of

negligence concur in causing injury, contribution should

be allocated on a comparative fault basis. The trial court

heard the testimony and made a factual determination as

to comparative fault which, except to the extent discussed

in Parts IV and V-B, above, we cannot find clearly errone-

[25]

ous. Our decision in Part V-B, above requires a redeter-

mination of the percentage of contribution, excluding one

of the factors on which the trial court relied.

CONCLUSION

The judgment appealed from will be modified so as to

provide that American as owner is jointly liable to Griffith

for $209,299.45. The judgment will be vacated, insofar as

it determines that Wheeling was liable as an owner pro

hac vice, and the case remanded for a redetermination, on

all the evidence presented, of Wheeling’s ownership status.

If Wheeling is held to be an owner pro hac vice, then the

court should redetermine the liability of each defendant

consistent with Part V-B. of this opinion. Costs shall be

taxed in favor of Griffith against American, but Wheeling

and American shall between themselves each bear their

own costs.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition — Dougherty v. Haaland · 444 U.S. 992 | Frix