Reply Brief — Agins v. City of Tiburon

Supreme Court brief1980

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court of the United

Supreme Court, U.S.

k

ik, es ee

IN THE APR 10 1980

ODAK, JR., CLERK

October Term 1979

No. 79-602

FOR ARGUMENT

DONALD W. AGINS AND BONNIE G. AGINS.

VS.

CITY OF TIBURON,

Appellee.

APPEAL FROM THE SUPREME COURT OF CALIFORNIA.

APPELLANTS’ REPLY BRIEF.

GIDEON KANNER,

1440 West Ninth Street,

Los Angeles, Calif. 90015,

JOHN P. POLLOCK,

800 West Sixth Street, Suite 820,

Los Angeles, Calif. 90017,

REGINALD G. HEARN.

100 California Street, Suite 926,

San Francisco, Calif. 94111,

Attorneys for Appellants.

Appellants,

Parker & Son, Inc.. Law Printers, Los Angeles. Phone 724-6622

<tc rename

SUBJECT INDEX

pS 6 ee ee ees Shee Se

Preliminary Observations on Arguments of Appellee

EOE ES O08

A.

Appellants Contend That It Was Error for the

Court Below to Promulgate the Absolutist

Dogma That Just Compensation Is Never

Available for Regulatory Takings; the Con-

verse Arguments Ascribed to Them Are Spuri-

Large Judgments Can Threaten Only if the

Constitution Is Being Violated on a Large

Scale; if so, All the More Reason for This

Court’s Corrective Intervention ...........

The Invalidation ‘‘Remedy’’ Is de Facto Not

Available in California ..................

The Professed Nobility of Appellee’s Asserted

Goals Does Not Justify the Use of Unconstitu-

ES re ae ee

By Claiming That it Cannot Tell When it Vio-

lates the Constitution Appellee Contradicts the

Basis of its Central Argument ............

Appellee’s Notion of ‘‘Chilling’’ Stands

American Constitutional Jurisprudence on its

Head, by Demanding That Constitutional Vio-

er Sr ee

Appellee’s Arguments Ignore the Concept of

Fairness That Is the Cornerstone of the Con-

EGRET Sy EES

12

16

18

19

il

Page

z.

The Opinion Below Squarely Deals With the Constitu-

tional Issues of Takings and Remedies, and Ex-

pressly Belies Appellee’s ‘‘Administrative Re-

ge ee es ee eee ee

The Present Record Makes It Clear That the Subject

Property Has Been Rendered Useless and Worth-

less; Any Factual Controversy on That Point That

Appellee Wishes To Pursue Should Be Raised in a

pi, YPC e rete ees CTE

The Nature of Property and the Effect of Regulations

on it Lead to the Conclusion That a ‘‘Taking’’ Need

Not Encompass the Entire Fee Simple Absolute

Title, But May Involve Only the Taking of a Particu-

lar Property Right, With Just Compensation

pe eer en eee ee

5.

The Case at Bench Provides an Opportunity to Strike a

Balance Between the Public Interest and Environ-

gg | PTE PET CURE ETT CLE TEE

IS cok BAD OA et are ie eed es aac

22

23

26

i ow wel

iil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases Page

Arastra Limited Partnership v. City of Palo Alto, 401

F.Supp. 962 (1975, N.D. Cal.) 417 F.Supp.

URE Ogg are Here irate Frm eens We testes 25, 28, 29

Armstrong v. U.S., 364 U.S. 40 (1960)............ 33

Askew v. Gables-by-the-Sea, 33 So.2d 56 (1976,

UNIS Bohlen e Le ee nah ot dats cal diase othe 6

Benenson v. U.S., 548 F.2d 939 (1977, Ct.Cl.) ..... 28

Berman v. Parker, 348 U.S. 26 (1954)............. 33

Boston Chamber of Commerce v. Boston, 217 U.S. 189

c.g ies RR Aire ee ieee eri eee 28

Brock v. Superior Court (1952) 109 Cal.App.2d 594,

ph ” __REREISRN as SPUN Sais Ores 0 ea ing anes 22

Buchanan v. Warley, 245 U.S. 60917) ............ 30

Butz v. Economou, 438 U.S. 478 (1978) ........... 7

Bydlon v. U.S., 175 F.Supp. 891 (1959, Ct.Cl.) .... 28

City of Austin v. Teague, 570 S.W.2d 389 (1978,

BN hint 6-ace eck aes esata Ged Ne ea ae wea 29

City of East Lake v. Forest City Enterprises, 426 U.S.

I 55 eh A So he eee ON lee hs 22

Clifton v. Berry, 259 S.E.2d 35 (1979, Ga.) ........ 7

Commissioner of Natural Resources v. S. Volpe & Co.,

yr WS Re | ea reer 17

County of Los Angeles v. Berk, 26 Cal.3d 201, ...

Rk Snap. +00 SE wo Ns hpeip od ows es Oo 5

Dahl v. City of Palo Alto, 372 F.Supp. 647 (1974, N.D.

8 SE ese PO re et re ey ae ee ee 23

Damico v. California, 389 U.S. 416 (1967)......... 23

Davis v. Passman ... U.S. ..., 99 S.Ct. 2264

Eee eR eee er Eee yt ef eRe 8, 9

iV

Page

Davis v. Wechsler, 263 U.S. 22 (1923) ............ 4

Drakes Bay Land Co. v. U.S., 424 F.2d 574 (1970,

Ct.Cl.) and 459 F.2d 504 (1972, Ct.Cl.) ......... 28

Eck v. City of Bismark, 283 N.W.2d 193 .......... 6

Estuary Properties, Inc. v. Askew, ... So.2d ... (1979,

POR ADD.) 0 60:ds cece pike ieeeusdewndaenee een 6, 31

Euclid v. Ambler Realty Co., 272 U.S. 365

CRRBOD.. oan koh + adaceane eet cee 24, 33

Fred F. French Investing Co. v. City of New York, 350

N.E.2d 381, 385 N.Y.S.2d 5 (1976) ............ 6

Frisco Land & Mining Co. v. State, 74 Cal. App.3d 736,

149 Cal. Retr. GEO CIOTT)s. «nos cca cetide saccess 5

Furey v. City of Sacramento, 24 Cal.3d 862, 157

Cal.Rptr. 684, 598 P.2d 844 (1979) ............. 12

Gates v. Collier, 501 F.2d 1291 (1974, Sth Cir.) .... 11

Gerlach Live Stock Co. v. U.S., 339 U.S. 725

CHD es dn 6 ee ee ee 33

Gordon v. City of Warren, 579 F.2d 386 (1978, 6th

COED son nink ae bins beck enna ee eet see 30, 31

Hermanson v. Board of County Comm’rs, etc., 595 P.2d

GB6 C2979, CUR AMD) 5s ibs Rep nee ane ees dante 7

Hillside Water Co. v. City of Los Angeles, 10 Cal.2d

G7e, TPB Ut (IG i os envi cee 4

Hollister Park Investment Co. v. Goleta County

Water Dist., 82 Cal.App.3d 290, 147 Cal.Rptr. 91

COOGEE ob 500540 sad Fe ea SERS heen a eee 5

Hamer v. Town of Ross, 59 Cal.2d 776, 31 Cal.Rptr.

ee 2 By fl). oe rrr eS 12

Hughes v. Washington, 389 Us. a0 (9967) .....%% 4

International Paper Co. v. United States, 282 U.S. 399

GE ioe a WS « ctadlv a jens wwe kw gle es wn 19

Vv

Page

Jacobson v. Tahoe Regional Planning Agency, 566 F.2d

es | 8 Reg) ee Rett At OS Be 7

Jones v. People, 22 Cal.3d 144, 148 Cal.Rptr. 640, 583

NGS 5 duib-t avai spies OB seed cae 30

Kaiser Aetna v. United States, ... U.S. ..., 100 S.Ct. 383

RRs aN as leh olatin'e v.o,5-bice avon diene de ay oo

Keystone Associates v. State, 333 N.Y.S.2d 27 (1972,

App.Div.) aff’d. 307 N.E.2d 254 (1973, N.Y.) ... 31

Keystone Associates v. State, 371 N.Y.S.2d 814 (1975,

Ct.Cl.) rev’d. 389 N.Y.S.2d 895 (1976, App.Div.)

rev'd. and remanded 45 N. 7 2d 894, 383 N.E.2d 560

Se EU fio so Be indians <4 <8 ab baie 0 as 29

Kimball Laundry Co. v. United States, 338 U.S. 1

ie Bahai ad acbiaitin ii ole de wine 444 diem eine 28

Klopping v. City of Whittier, 8 Cal.3d 39, 164 Cal.Rptr.

Pe ge pk ES . pe. Ree ee ee oe 5

Lake County Estates v. Tahoe Regional Planning

Agency, «.. U.S...» .50- b.Ed:2d 401

CR hk flew Sa dias Seas kk) Saw COR ie 6, 7,: a5

Lomarch Corp. v. City of Englewood, 237 A.2d 81

Se WEN Hite eee Ka Fi les bw os shen wae 29

Lynch v. Household Finance Corp., 405 U.S. 538

ase CEs Ceiba howe eh TUR cis ince a 20

Macallen v. Massachusetts, 279 U.S. 620 (1929) .... 17

Marbury v. Madison, 1 Cr. (5 U.S.) 137 (1803) ..... 10

Moore v. East Cleveland, 431 U.S. 494............ 23

Moviematic Industries Inc. v. Dade County, 249 So.2d

oo te ee ee eee ee oe ee ee oe 6

Nectow v. Cambridge, 277 U.S. 183 (1928) ...... a 2

Orsetti v. Fremont, 80 Cal.App.3d 961, 146 Cal.Rptr. 75

OLE, vA GWE as Nase Die eal d aca ee Sere ah 5

vi

Page

Peacock v. County of Sacramento, 271 Cal.App.2d 848,

pee SOA ONG |S perireers Darin eee ari 28

Penn Central Transportation Co. v. City of New York,

Ge GA PRP bee ob bei Done bene sa 4,' 30

Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393

| Rene tee reed Pere a ed eee 33

Pete v. U.S. 531 F.2d 1018 (1976, Ct.Cl.), and 569 F.2d

Se I 5 cb edie ow sd che wae ths velees Kem es 28

Portsmouth Harbor L. & H. Co. v. United States, 260

eT Soi a U4 WA eels hs ea plie cee ae us 26

Raley v. Calif. Tahoe Regional Planning Agency,

68 Cal.App.3d 965, 137 Cal.Rptr. 699

(ods AES ee rere Sees ree ee Cee 15, 16, 27

Richmond Elks Hall Assn. v. Richmond Redevelopment

Agency, 561 F.2d 1327 (1977, 9th Cir.) ......... 29

San Antonio River Authority v. Garrett Bros., 528

S. Wi2d 266 (1975, Tex. Civ. App.) ... 5.0 2ce050 30

San Diego Bldg. Contractors Assn. v. City Council,

13 Cal.3d 205, 118 Cal.Rptr. 146, 529 P.2d 570

SE sb Wine tiln ck ba cues wa eacaes ea 4 oe 22

Sauer v. New York, 206 U.S. 536, (1907) ......... 30

Sixth Camden Corp. v. Township of Evesham, 420

Pe PEC UIO, MUD Wisk t ce vccceee exicwene 31

Sneed v. County of Riverside, 218 Cal.App.2d 205, 32

ee Be or er re eee eee 29

State v. Superior Court (Veta) 12 Cal.3d 237, 115

Cal.Rptr. 497, 524 P.2d 1281 (1974) ......... 3, 24

Strumsky v. San Diego County etc. (1974) 11 Cal.3d 28,

212 Cal. Row, GOS) SAO P.Be FO isi eee ceca. 22

Terry Trading Corp. v. Barsky, 210 Cal. 428, 292

PAE db kiss bss didi s cabs SUN Coe eee be 2

ee ee

Read a0Eal oe tote a

met Ch

Vii

Page

United States v. Causby, 328 U.S. 256 (1946) ...... 29

United States ex rel. TVA v. Powelson, 319 U.S. 266

CRITE \ oie: ahn:a:a-0 aca Wate Ors pee ee ecole 30, 31

United States v. General Motors Corp., 323 U.S. 373

CEIPOED i sd ula vied nuio s ke RUE OL eae bares 28

United States Trust Co. v. New Jersey, 431 U.S. 1

CIEE ows ik] cb eee ewe tae ee 16, 17, 18

Washington Market Enterprises, Inc. v. City of Trenton,

coe we | oy } Ree we ee 30

Watson v. Memphis, 373 U.S. 526 (1963) ......... 1]

Wulzen v. Board of Supervisors (1894) 101 Cal. 15, 35

F. Fee yi vde bea Dives eee bere eee eae bees 22

Statutes

California ‘Civil Code, Sec. GSO in inc Sie e ee 30

California Code of Civil Procedure, Sec. 452 ....... 2

California Code of Civil Procedure, Sec. 1094.5..... 22

California Constitution, Art.I, Sec. 1 .............. 21

California Government Code, Sec. 6953 ........... 31

California Streets & Highways Code, Sec. 5503 ..... 12

United States Code, Title 42, Sec. 1983......... 7; =

United States Constitution, Fifth Amendment ....... 24

United States Constitution, Fourteenth Amendment... 30

Textbooks

American Bar Association, Code of Professional Re-

sponsibility, Canon 7, Ethical Consideration,

hs Seis whe sk 0a ee a 8 Sk 13

A Pee eee ee 30

Comment, Developments in the Law: Zoning, 91 Harv.

es Oh Ay OE sks da bate pele de od es 21

25 Hastings Law Journal, Comment, p. 1165 ....... 15

Vili

Page

Huxtable, Inverse Condemnation — Its Structures, Ad-

vantages and Pitfalls, (1977 Institute of Planning, Zon-

ing and Eminent Domain), Southwestern Legal Foun-

ee i ee ee eee ees 9

Jackson, The Task Maintaining Our Liberties: The Role

of the Judiciary, 39 A.B.A. Journal, pp. 961, 963

GRUDGE ssh de eae aedshgesd Soy Cie eeee baa 17

Marks & Taber, Prospects for Regional Planning in

California, 4 Pacific Law Journal, pp. 117, 118,

GO vs oa ened gelbienkigs den deity ou ee aekas 14, 15

Michelman Property, Utility and Fairness: Comments on

the Ethical Foundations of ‘‘Just Compensation’’

Law, 80 Harv. L.Rev. pp. 1165, 1181 (1967). 10, 11

Note: De Facto Takings and the Pursuit of Just Compen-

sation, 48 Fordham L. Rev. (1948) p. 334........ 6

Sax, Takings and Police Power, 74 Yale Law Journal,

pp. 26, 62-63-1964) ..:..cccecees steeds. 32, 33

Traynor, No Magic Words Could Do It Justice, 49 Cal.

Bn 5 I GES; GR TEED 86 vce cca tet ceetens 9

CON ae 3 ON atid de eat O00 EBA BOYS etic ata BRE

ii WIPE AON, shen

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term 1979

No. 79-602

DONALD W. AGINS and BONNIE G. AGINS,

Appellants,

vs.

CITY OF TIBURON,

Appellee.

APPEAL FROM THE SUPREME COURT OF CALIFORNIA

APPELLANTS’ REPLY BRIEF.

Introduction.

The basic strategy of Appellee and most of its amici is

to treat this controversy not quite as it factually is but to

assume that what is in issue here is “‘pure’’ regulation; /.e.,

a regulatory enactment unaccompanied by any governmental -

acquisitory purpose or activities. To that end the record

reflecting the Appellee’s plans, studies, announcements and

appropriations, specifically and avowedly aimed at acqui-

sition of the subject property as an ‘‘indispensable’’ part of

city-owned open space, as well as the on-again, off-again

condemnation, and their combined impact on the utility and

value of the subject property are virtually disregarded.

Put another way, Appellee and friends simply ignore

Appellants’ arguments presented in Appellants’ Brief at pp.

26-30. More importantly, they likewise ignore this Court’s

eat is.

analysis of taking criteria enumerated in Penn Central

Transportation Co. v. City of New York, 438 U.S. 104, 128

(1978), and emphasizing that governmental actions that may

be characterized as acquisitions of resources constitute a

factor of peculiar significance in the highly fact-dependent

inquiry as to whether a taking has occurred. In contrast, in

Appellee’s hands this important factor is treated as if it had

no significance or did not exist.’

Therefore, Appellants must note at the outset that virtually

all of the arguments of Appellee and friends are based on

a factually deficient premise. What is alleged here is a de

facto deprivation of all utility and value of the subject prop-

erty brought about by the totality of Appellee’s entire course

of conduct. Unless these facts are kept in mind (as they

must be, this being a case of dismissal following a general

demurrer), the pertinent legal principles cannot be properly

applied, and no amount of arguments going to abstract legal

concepts or invoking public policy can make up for the

crucial failing of not dealing candidly with all the facts of

this case. To that extent, virtually all legal arguments pre-

'To be sure, the Solicitor General (Brief of the United States, at pp.

21-22, fn.11) strives to gloss over this issue in a lengthy footnote.

Unfortunately, that argument does riot address the cumulative totality

of all of Appellee’s activities and their combined impact on the subject

property (nor can it, that being a clear issue of fact that cannot be

honestly dealt with, absent evidence and consideration of factual in-

ferences). Rather, that argument exemplifies so-called *‘salami tactics’’;

i.e., it evades the issue by attempting to separate it into pieces, and

then addressing one piece at a time as if the others did not exist. That

ingenious approach cannot be squared with this Court’s commitment |

to case-by-case adjudication of the peculiar facts of each individual

case. Moreover, under California law (this being an appeal from a

dismissal following the sustaining of a general demurrer without leave

to amend as to the inverse condemnation cause of action) the allegations

_ of the Appellants’ complaint must be liberally construed, and all rea-

sonable inferences, favorable to the pleader indulged in. Cal. Code of

Civil Procedure §452. Terry Trading Corp v. Barsky, 210 Cal. 428,

438, 292 P. 474.

aa ee aca ea. ee A

=—

a

sented by Appellee and its amici are inherently deficient’

because they lack a proper, honestly articulated factual basis

pertinent to this controversy as actually presented. Appel-

lants respectfully ask the court to bear these considerations

in mind in considering this case.

It should also be noted by way of introductory clarification

that some of Appellee’s amici seem to be confused as to

California law of remedies. Appellants sued seeking two

remedies: (a) just compensation by way of inverse condem-

nation, and (b) declaratory relief by way of determination

of unconstitutionality of the ordinance. The California Su-

preme Court denied the latter form of relief because under

California law declaratory relief may be used only to chal-

lenge the facial constitutionality of laws (see State v. Su-

perior Court (Veta), 12 Cal.3d 237, 251, 115 Cal.Rptr.

497, 524 P.2d 1281 (1974)). The court below thereby did

not determine that the ordinance worked no taking (as er-

roneously asserted by some of Appellee’s amici), but only

that such a taking did not appear on the face of the ordinance.

That, of course, in no way deals with the question of whether

(notwithstanding the language of the ordinance) any réa-

sonable use can in fact be made of the subject property,

Nectow v. Cambridge, 277 U.S. 183 (1928).

’This is implicitly recognized in the voluminous brief of the Con-

servation Foundation, et al., which unabashedly goes outside the record

in an effort to conduct something in the nature of a trial in writing.

Appellants reject the invitation to engage in such an endeavor;this is

no place for it. They offer as a short reply the following query: if

Appellants’ cause is nearly as factually deficient as asserted by these

amici, would it not follow that the amici should welcome a trial on on

the merits, where—if their argument has any merit—Appellants would

quickly suffer a defeat’? Moreover—and far more importantly—this is

the United States Supreme Court, not a trial court. This Court decides

national constitutional law and policy; it does not sit as a trier of fact

for Marin County. In short, if a determination of facts and factual

inferences is what is wanted, the cause ought to be remanded for trial.

ey Eee

In other words, whether an effective taking of the subject

property occurred in fact (i.e., by the impact of the ordi-

nances and the other city acts alleged, in their totality),

could only be reached by the inverse condemnation action

which—until the California Supreme Court spoke in the

case at bench’—was the way in which to examine the impact

of the specific facts on the aggrieved owner’s property

rights. Moreover, the issue is not what any state deems to

“be controlling; this is an avowedly federal constitutional

issue, and it is for this Court to say what type of factual

inquiry into the facts is required to establish a taking, and

what remedy is appropriate. As Mr. Justice Holmes put it

in Davis v. Wechsler, 263 U.S. 22, 24 (1923):

‘**Whatever springes the State may set for those who

are endeavoring to assert rights that the State confers,

the assertion of federal rights, when plainly and rea-

sonably made, is not to be defeated under the name

of local practice.’’

1.

PRELIMINARY OBSERVATIONS ON ARGUMENTS OF AP-

PELLEE AND ITS AMICI.

The wide-ranging Appellee’s Brief and the avalanche of

amici briefs filed in its support make it appropriate to bring

the arguments contained there within some manageable

bounds, before addressing the specific legal arguments

‘It must be observed that (as noted by Clark, J., in his dissent below—

J.S.A., pp. 20-21, fn. 3) California has for a long time adhered to the

view that once a taking has occurred, public use was deemed to attach,

and the owner’s sole remedy was inverse condemnation; see e.g., Hill-

side Water Co. v. City of Los Angeles, 10 Cal.2d 677, 688, 76 P.2d

681 (1938). All of this law and its rationale were simply ignored by

the majority opinion below in a sudden change of state law. Cf. Hughes

v. Washington, 389 U.S. 290 (1967).

tee

sek Edis!

Bi NLT saa i iil ty RIEL

NE etn 5 Be a

aint

pec Se

sought to be made there. To that end some general prelim-

inary observations seem in order:

A. Appellants Contend That It Was Error for the

Court Below to Promulgate the Absolutist Dogma

That Just Compensation Is Never Available for

Regulatory Takings; the Converse Arguments As-

cribed to Them Are Spurious.

Appellee and its amici distort Appellants’ legal argument

to a shocking extent. Appellants do not contend that just

compensation is the only remedy in regulatory takings. A

fortiori, they do not contend that just compensation is or

ought to be payable in every case of regulation that results

in any diminution of private property values; indeed, the

imputation of the latter argument to Appellants is simply

intellectually dishonest. Appellants’ view is that the problem

of takings is so heavily dependent on the specific facts of

each individual case (as so often noted by this Court) that

their exploration in terms of impact on the subject property

and its aggrieved owner is indispensable in terms of fash-

ioning a .emedy. Thus, for example, to a landowner whose

ownership or interest in land has been completely wiped out

by regulatory maneuverings so that whatever he had is gone,

it is grotesquerie, right out of Franz Kafka’s writings, to .

be lectured about invalidation as a ‘‘remedy.’”*

“California case law increasingly involves cases in which landowners

lost their land by foreclosure while being compelled to joust with the

ever-turning regulatory windmills erected in their path by local entities.

See e.g., Jacobson v. Tahoe Regional Planning Agency, 566 F.2d

1353, 1366-1367 (1978, 9th Cir.); Orsetti v. Fremont, 80 Cai.App.3d

961, 146 Cal.Rptr. 75 (1978), Hollister Park Investment Coav. Goleta

County Water Dist., 82 Cal.App.3d 290, 147 Cal.Rptr. 91 (1978);

Frisco Land & Mining Co. v. State, 74 Cal.App.2d 736, 141 Cal. Rptr.

820 (1977). Also see, Klopping v. City of Whittier, 8 Cal.3d 39, 58,

104 Cal.Rptr. 1, 500 P.2d 1345 (1972), County of Los Angeles v. Berk,

rote & Fens fo ee P.2d .... (1980).

=

The issue before the Court is not Appellants’ supposedly

rigid pro-compensation view, but the California Supreme

Court’s absolutist pronunciamenato that just compensation

is never available, no matter how jlagrant the non-physical

taking accomplished by iand use regulation, and no matter

how severe its impact. That court simply set itself at war

with the principle of case-by-case adjudication that weighs

the facts of each controversy, and by fiat did away with the

monetary remedy, irrespective of the individual facts. It is

the correctness of that dogmatic proposition that is before

the Court for review, not its converse. Once that true issue

is confronted, Appellee’s assertion that the opinion below

rests on sound law collapses; it does so even on the very

authorities relied on by Appellee.”

Thus, in Fred F. French Investing Co. v. City of New

York, 350 N.E.2d 381, 385 N.Y.S.2d 5 (1976), the New

York Court of Appeals was careful to delineate areas where

just compensation dves remain available as a remedy for

a non-physical taking. (Even so, the New York position has

been soundly criticized; see, Note, De Facto Takings and the

Pursuit of Just Compensation, 48 Fordham L. Rev. 334

(1979)). So did the Supreme Court of North Dakota in Eck

v. City of Bismarck, 283 N.W.2d 193, 201. So did the

courts of Florida: Moviematic Industries, Inc. v. Dade

County, 249 So.2d 667, 672 (1977, Fla.App.); Estuary

Properties, Inc. v. Askew, .... So.2d .... (1979, Fla.App.);

Askew v. Gables-by-the-Sea, 33 So.2d 56 (1976, Fla.App.).

‘Needless to say, even on Appellee’s faulty premise, such state court

decisions are of little precedential authority in light of Lake County

Estates v. Tahoe Regional Planning Agency, .... U.S. .... 59 L. Ed.2d

401 (1979) The notion embedded in Appellee’s arguments, of the tenor

that such state court decisions are authoritative on the federal consti-

tutional point in issue, has a quaint, positively ante bellum quality.

A COI BO RE ct te hd

eS ba LOBEL LAP te le ERED AINE IE a, PAL OEE BE i

a

So did the courts of Colorado: Hermanson v. Board of

County Comm’rs., etc., 595 P.2d 694, 695 (1979,

Colo.App.).

The point is that these are all states whose courts opt for

the invalidation remedy as the primary remedy. Yet, they

all recognize as a matter of logic and basic fairness that

circumstances can and do arise where a non-physical taking

has occurred but a declaration of invalidation is useless

(such as where the injury has already occurred; see Butz v.

Economou, 438 U.S. 478, 504-505 (1978)). It is only Cal-

ifornia whose courts have taken the dogmatic position that

even where it can do no possible good, invalidation is the

only remedy.° ©

Above all, this Court was careful to note the availability

of the civil rights damage remedy in Lake County Estates,

Inc. v. Tahoe Regional Planning Agency, .... U.S. .... 59

L.Ed.2d 401 (1979).’

Thus, any rigid, unyielding absolutism that may be pres-

ent in this case lies on the Appellee’s, not Appellants’, side

of the argument.

Please note that since the earlier briefing by Appellants yet another

state court opted in favor of inverse condemnation rather than man-

damus: Clifton v. Berry, 259 S.E.2d 35 (1979, Ga.). For a concise

survey of the division of states on this issue see the Jurisdictional

Statement (hereafter cited as J. S.) at pp. 19-22, and [Appellants’]

Response to Motion to Dismiss or Affirm, at pp. 12-13.

In connection with Lake County Estates, Appellants note with be-

musement reliance by Appellee and some of its amici on Jacobson v.

Tahoe Regional Planning Agency, 474 F.Supp. 901 (1979, D. Nev.),

in which a trial judge apparently defied this Court, and on remand

purported to rule that in spite of the plain language of 42 U.S.C. §1983

creating liability ‘*. . . in an action at law . . .’’, and in spite of Lake

County Estates, he would afford no such remedy, and then presumably

for good measure refused to entertain a plea for a non-monetary remedy

as well, and dismissed the action. While no doubt unintended by Ap-

pellee, that decision provides a penetrating commentary on the state

of pertinent law, and the attitude of some toward property rights—an

additude that could stand some corrective action by this Court.

—

B. Large Judgments Can Threaten Only if the Con-

stitution Is Being Violated on a Large Scale; if so,

All the More Reason for This Court’s Corrective

Intervention.

Appellee (and particularly its amici) can scarcely be se-

rious when they intone their doomsday cry of impending

fiscal catastrophe. If ever there was an argument that proves

too much, this is it.

If a dramatic ‘‘financial disaster’’* threatens, that can only

mean one thing (assuming the argument to be anything but

frivolous): private property is being confiscated on a large

scale. As this Court noted in Davis v. Passman, .... U.S.

...., 99 §.Ct. 2264, 2217 (1979), damages can only accrue

when the Constitution has been violated. Surely, the parties

making such assertions are not seriously contending that the

American judiciary is endemically unable to distinguish

between meritorious and frivolous claims.’ Such implicit

argument is itself frivolous; as every lawyer with pertinent

experience knows, an inverse condemnation suit undertaken

on behalf of an owner is a formidable task with victory

“Brief of the Conservation Foundation, et al., at p. 45

*But then again, see amicus brief of State of California, p. 51, fn.

21, which unblushingly deplores the very essence of the flexible case-

by-case approach to taking problems, that this Court has repeatedly

endorsed in recent cases. Given the State’s professed horror at the

prospect that trial judges tend to resolve issues before them on the basis

of their **. . . individualized analysis of the conflicting evidence”’ (/d.),

one is left to wonder as to how the State proposes to resolve individual

disputes in the courts. This bizarre argument seems to be premised on

the avowed notion that courts ought to stultify their most basic function

of adjudication for the sake of administrative convenience (/.¢., to allow

a regulatory agency ‘“‘to draw a hard and well-defined line as to the

permissible extent of its powers’” as opposed to *‘that variable reality”’

of case-by-case adjudication—-/d.). This is nothing short of saying that

the courts should not be permitted to consider the constitutionality of

administrative acts as applied, lest it interfere with regulatory agencies’

‘line drawing”’. That does not leave much of judicial pre-eminence in

constitutional matters.

TE Se

. a 9 I OO |

2h SED amen os

er.

an

elusive and just cofnpensation long delayed. It is a drastic

measure of last resort. (See Huxtable, Jnverse Condemna-

tion—Its Structures, Advantages and Pitfalis, 1977 Institute

on Planning, Zoning and Eminent Domain, Southwestern

Legal Foundation, 219, 247-250).

Such arguments were probably best dealt with by the

great past Chief Justice of California, Roger Traynor, who

said of such doomsday cries:

‘*The tenet of lag, strengthening the already great re-

straints on the judge, is deservedly respected. It bears

noting, however, that it is recurringly invoked by astute

litigants who receive aid and comfort from law that is

safely behind the times with the peccadillos of yester-

year and has not caught up with their own. At the

slightest sign that judge-made law may move forward

these bogus defenders of stare decisis conjure up myth-

ical dangers to alarm the citizenry. They do sly injury

to the law when the public takes them seriously and

timid judges retreat from painstaking analysis within

their already great constraints to safe and unsound rep-

etitions of magic words from the legal lore of the year

before much too long ago.’’ Traynor, No Magic Words

Could Do It Justice, 49 Cal.L.Rev. 615, 620 (1961).

And so it is here; logic tells us that if large judgments

threaten, that can only mean that egregious and widespread

takings have occurred. Davis v. Passman, supra, 99 S.Ct.

at 2278. That, in turn, can only mean that the Constitution

is being violated on a massive scale by local regulatory

entities. That, with all due respect, is hardly a condition

that commends itself to protective judicial solicitude. Ap-

pellee and its amici seem to have forgotten that the polestar

of American constitutional jurisprudence is the judicial ad-

herence to the oath of office which commands each judge

— en

to respect the Constitution above all. That is the foutainhead

of American judicial supremacy in constitutional interpre-

tation: Marbury v. Madison, | Cr. (SU.S.) 137, 180 (1803).

Making the lot of the Constitution’s effectively self-con-

fessed large-scale violators easy, cheap and convenient

would not appear to fit that jurisprudential and ethical prin-

ciple.

Moreover, such arguments collapse even on their own

unsound premise; even if just compensation is not an ap-

propriate remedy, that still leads one ineluctably to the

concession that widespread takings are occurring (how else

could there be a threat of massive judgments?). What these

parties are thus really logically saying is that even if they

are right, tiie courts have been remiss in failing to invalidate

large numbers of regulations. Again, the argument is tan-

tamount to concession of massive constitutional violations.

And so, even-accepting arguendo the extravagant asser-

tion that a ‘‘financial disaster’’ threatens, the perpetrators

of such massive constitutional disregard had best mend their

ways rather than ask for a license to continue. These are

matters that, in Professor Michelman’s apt words, call

‘

‘. . . for resolute sophistication in the face of occa-

sional insistence that compensation payments must be

limited lest society find itself unable to afford beneficial

plans and improvements. What society cannot, indeed,

afford is to impoverish itself. It cannot afford to in-

stigate measures whose cost, including costs which

remain ‘unsocialized’ exceed their benefits. Thus, it

would appear that any measure which society cannot

afford or, putting it in another way, is unwilling to

finance under conditions of full compensation, society

cannot afford at all.”” Michelman, Property, Utility

and Fairness: Comments on the Ethical Foundations

An Ore ate Sear

LL eee eee

a ee

of ‘‘Just Compensation’’ Law, 80 Harv. L. Rev. 1165,

1181 (1967)."°

Appellee and its amici are shrilly demanding nothing less

than a rule that would favor the constitutional violator and

disfavor the individual citizen seeking effective (not theo-

retical) vindication of his rights protected by the Bill of

Rights. They are demanding nothing less than a rule that

would make concededly flagrant constitutional violation

cheap, convenient, and in the long run virtually risk-free.

They ought to be informed that here as elsewhere there is

no such thing as a free lunch.

7

*. . . [V]indication of conceded constitutional rights

cannot be made dependent upon any theory that it is

less expensive to deny than to afford them.’’ Watson

v. Memphis, 373 U.S. 526, 537 (1963).!'

"This astute observation spotlights the inherent immorality under-

lying the Appellee’s arguments, whereby in an inversion of the Robin

Hood principle, a conspicuously wealthy community would enhance

its enviable condition at the expense of one of its inhabitants, without

paying for what it gets. Such concerns reach some sort of nadir in the

amicus brief of the Federation of Hillside and Canyon Associations.

These denizens of legendary pinnacles of exclusivity, displaying the

most spectacular accumulation of wealth in the West, comprised in

disproportionate measure of business tycoons, show business person-

alities, successful professionals, and all sorts of entrepreneurs, come

before this Court and fervently denounce, of all things, profits (see /d.

at p. 29), thereby displaying not only awe-inspiring chutzpa but also

a lamentable lack of understanding of the present record (i.e., since

the courts below denied liability, the issue of measure of damages was

never reached; moreover, such measure does not include profits in any

event—see Appellants’ Brief, at pp. 33-34, fn. 14).

''For a detailed exploration of the principle that an asserted shortage

of funds is no justification for violation of constitutional rights, see

Gates v. Collier, 501 F. 2d 1291, 1319-1320 (1974, Sth Cir.). That

principle is a fortiori applicable here, considering the economic make-

up of Tiburon. In other words, what we have here is an unwillingness,

not inability, to pay for the acquisition.

a”, om

C. The Invalidation ‘‘Remedy’’ Is de Facto Not Avail-

able in California.

Appellee espouses a far more favorable view of the in-

validation remedy in California than reality justifies. Ap-

pellants stand by their contention that there has been no

reported case of invalidation on grounds of taking in Cal-

ifornia since Hamer v. Town of Ross, 59 Cal.2d 776, 31

Cal.Rptr. 335, 283 P.2d 376 (1963). Appellants further

suggest that—with all due respect—Appellee has misinter-

preted the case on which it principally relies (Furey v. City

of Sacramento, 24 Cal.3d 862, 157 Cal.Rptr. 684, 598 P.2d

844 (1979)), and has failed to note its literal and legal bottom

line. Furey did not invalidate anything; it merely remanded

the cause to the trial court with directions that at first ab-

solutely nothing be done (See 24 Cal.3d at 878), in defer-

ence to a foreshadowed special reassessment proceeding

(See 24 Cal.3d at 873), without a hint as to how or when

this would occur, or with what results. Moreover, Furey

gives no indication as to the nature of the reassessment: Is

it to be prospective only (i.e., involving reduction or can-

cellation of future payments)?, or, is it retroactive?; and if

the latter, is the entire assessment to be voided, or is there

to be a new reassessment in some lesser amount, and if so,

how determined?

In short, Furey invalidated absolutely nothing; it only

gave a vague promise of delay and more litigation virtually

certain to consume years,'* during which the owner contin-

ues to be denied the right of rational use."

"Since interest in such proceedings accrues at 7% (See Cal. Streets

& Highways Code §5503), and the current rate of inflation hovers

around 18%, little imagination is needed to envision the diligence with

which such reassessment is likely to be pursued.

''A most penetrating insight into the efficacy of this supposed ‘‘in-

validation’ is provided by the fact that the ostensible winner (i.e., the

landowner) went to the trouble and expense of seeking review by this

a

ee ee

ntitinis

As for the many cases collected at Appellee’s Brief, p.

28, fn. 24, not one of them struck down a regulation as

working a taking. What purpose their citation serves is thus

obscure. '*

And so it is with the other California post-1963 cases

cited by the parties; they speak for themselves, and need

not be further discussed.'° In none of them did a landowner

receive any relief for confiscatory regulations; not even in

cases of bankruptcy and foreclosure caused by inability to

use one’s land (See supra, fn. 4). What happens all too

often is that landowners seeking to use their land are con-

fronted with unceasing change in the regulations, until their

economically viable stake is effectively destroyed. That is

how it is done in California; no regulation is stable; nothing

is reliable; indeed, Appellee expressly concedes this.'° No

Court, while the ostensible loser stoutly resisted such review, proclaim-

- ing itself delighted with the decision of the California Supreme Court,

in which it supposedly lost. A most curious epilogue to this ‘‘invali-

dation.”’

‘On the other hand, this may be a somewhat Freudian insight into

prevailing California governmental mentality, suggesting the presence

of a view that whenever a landowner wins in California (on any

grounds), these days that is somehow remarkable.

'SExcept for one. In the amicus brief of the State of California (p.

50, fn. 20) one is startled to come across an assertion impugning the

integrity of Appellants’ counsel in discussing the Briggs case. Since

the State is correct in foreshadowing an imminent review of Briggs by

this Court, the Court will have an early opportunity to assess for itself

the accuracy of the State’s assertion that in Briggs the trial court awarded

damages ‘*. . . based solely on the permit denial’’ (/d., emphasis in

the original). For now, a pointed reference to A.B.A. Code of Profes-

sional Responsibility, Canon 7, Ethical Consideration 7-14 (on the

obligation of government counsel to present the courts with ‘‘a full and

fair record’’) should suffice.

'*At Appellee’s Brief, p. 25, fn. 21, Appellee takes pride in the fact

that *‘[zJoning, by its nature is not permanent’’, and then leaps to the

non sequitur that zoning, therefore, can never work a taking because

supposedly a ‘‘taking’’ must be permanent (this, of course, is simply

wrong; takings can and often are temporary, as more fully discussed,

infra). This further instance of an argument that proves too much, bears

an alarming kinship to the sad (if familiar) notion that a successful shell

game requires its operator to keep the shells in motion. Hardly an

endorsement of zoning.

oe

rights are said to be ‘‘vested’’ until construction is under-

way. This point is probably best made by an extended quo-

tation’’ from a California appellate court which felt bound

by precedent to deny relief, even though its conscience was

obviously shocked. This is California reality of today:

7

*. . . the denouement of this lawsuit leaves the mem-

bers of this court, as appellate chancellors in equity,

with a dissatisfied sense of justice. In hard fact, Raley

spent $150,000 in reliance upon a land-use permit law-

fully granted by a state instrumentality which was then

repudiated by a related state instrumentality. The two

agencies had overlapping membership and occupied

a relationship of mutual awareness and privity. (See

Lerner v. Los Angeles City Board of Education, 59

Cal.2d 382, 398-399 [29 Cal.Rptr. 657, 380 P.2d 97].)

‘Several factors combined to cause the developer’s

loss and prevent its redress. Raley is the victim of

maladroitly engineered environmental controls. Cali-

fornia’s current need for 200,000 new jobs each year

can be met only by a flow of venture capital. The

protection of the state’s remaining environmental

amenities unavoidably constricts this flow. The com-

peting needs of economic development and environ-

mental protection can be brought into balance only

through competent, speedy and authoritative decision-

making. *‘California is faced with a bewildering num-

ber of conflicting planning jurisdictions, none of which

have the responsibility or the capability to adequately

Carry out comprehensive regional planning. . . . Most

state-mandated planning is done by numerous overlap-

"Appellants beg the Court’s indulgence for the length of this quo-

tation; it needs, however, to be given full expression, coming as it

does, not from an interested party, but from the pen of one of the most

respected and articulate members of California’s appellate judiciary.

ome ete

ee GAAP ithe a TE ECL tt as cit ct, TPR Bie

|

por

ping single-purpose agencies (there are over 100 in the

state), each with a varying degree of authority to en-

force its plan.’’ (Marks & Taber, Prospects for Re-

gional Planning in California, 4 Pacific L.J. 117, 118,

124; see also, Comment, 25 Hastings L.J. 1165.)

‘*The mechanism at work here combined to ‘protect’

the environment by protracted and undependable ad-

ministrative procedures followed by years of litigation.

Only the most hardy and well-heeled can run so harsh

a gauntiet.'* Burdened by land costs, loan interest,

architectural, engineering and attorney fees, many en-

trepreneurs run out of money or heart or both long

before the finish line.

‘*Handmaiden of prevailing administrative anarchy is

the vested rights rule, as voiced by the authoritative

decisions cited earlier. The vested rights rule gives a

green light to administrative vacillation virtually up to

the moment the builder starts pouring concrete. The

rule has been described as a ‘common law’ rule and

as a ‘constitutional common law principle.’ It is nei-

ther. The rule, as we have observed it, is a manifes-

tation of equitable estoppel.

'§**In a recent description of America’s most acute needs for speed

and economy in dispute resolution, Chief Justice Warren Burger de-

clared: ‘Ways must be found to give appropriate weight to ecological

and environmental factors without foreclosing development of needed

public works and industrial expansion by inordinate delays in litigation.

The accommodation of the conflicting values demands that there be a

swift resolution of those cases, so as to avoid the waste involved in

suspending execution of large projects to which vast public or private

resources are committed. This country has appropriately committed

itself to protecting our environment, but we must also build needed

schools, homes and roads, and in the process provide jobs.’ Address

given at National Conference on the Causes of Popular Dissatisfaction

with the Administration of Justice in April 1976, reprinted under the

title, The Direction of the Administration of Justice (1976) 62 A.B.A.J.

ae

_

**Historically, estoppel was administered by the equity

chancellor; its function was justice and good consci-

ence; it was evoked by motives of equity and fair deal-

ing in order to prevent the inequitable enforcement of

other rules of law. (3 Pomeroy’s Equity Jurisprudence

(Sth ed.) § 802, pp. 180-181.) Equitable estoppel be-

speaks a thirst for individualized justice, obedient to

general doctrine but relatively free of servitude to fixed

verbalisms. In the evolutionary dynamics of California

environmental law, the plasticity of equitable estoppel

has been replaced by the rigidity of the vested rights

rule. Doctrinal evolution has come full circle — from

the formal, unmoral rigidities of medieval common law

to the individualized humanity of equity and back again

to the fixed demands of the vested rights rule.

Raley v. Calif. Tahoe Regional Planning Agency, 68

Cal.App.3d 965, 984-985, 137 Cal.Rptr. 699 (1977)

footnote 15 omitted.

That is today’s California reality—not the fanciful sugar-

coated platitudes of Appellee and its amici. It is that grim

reality that underscores the appropriateness of availability

of just compensation as a remedy for egregious abuses, so

that any citizen—not merely ‘‘. . . the most hardy and well

heeled . . .”,—can avail himself of effective constitutional

protection.

D. The Professed Nobility of Appellee’s Asserted Goals

Does Not Justify the Use of Unconstitutional Means.

The presentation of Appellee and its amici makes a classic

example of confusion between ends and means. The pursuit

of noble environmental goals no more entitles one to dis-

regard the language and policy of the Constitution than does

the pursuit of any other desirable societal goal; see United

States Trust Co. v. New Jersey, 431 U.S. 1, 29-30(1977).

Rr het tia 9 TT Si sed ere

ee ee

nD sai

For example, all right-thinking people abhor violent crim-

inal acts (which in today’s world are a most serious and

pervasive problem), but that hardly justifies exhortations to

freely swung police truncheons or warrantless midnight

raids,’ even if such were to reduce criminal activity sig-

nificantly. There are simply some values which this society

deems so vital as to make them supreme law which is not

to be subordinated to arguments of efficiency or desirabil-

ity.°° Or, as the Massachusetts Supreme Court so aptly put

it:

‘*In this conflict between the ecological and the con-

stitutional, it is plain that neither is to be consumed by

the other. It is the duty of the department of conser-

vation to look after the interest of the former, and it

is the duty of the courts to stand guard over constitu-

tional rights.’” Commissioner of Natural Resources v.

S. Volpe & Co., 206 N.E.2d 666, 671 (1965, Mass.)

This Court has likewise expressed itself on this point in

United States Trust Co. v. New Jersey, supra, 431 U.S. 1,

28-29:

"As Mr. Justice Jackson put it: “‘If officers search my house and

seize my papers, with no threat to my person, only property may be

directly touched; but I can think of no greater affront to my person.”’

Jackson, The Task Maintaining Our Liberties: The Role of the Judiciary,

39 A.B.A. Jour. 961, 963 (1953).

Indeed, the amicus brief of the City of San Jose (at p. 34), after

much elocnent circumlocution, eventually gets around to making the

vital concessions on which this controversy ultimately centers: what

needs to be done to achieve what Appellee and its amici really desire

is to nationalize privately owned land and to amend the Fifth Amend-

ment so as to spare the takers the inconvenience of having to pay just

compensation. Just so! That is exacily what Appellee contends, except

that it has not had the temerity to come out and say so as did its amicus.

But the Constitution still stands unamended to such specifications, and

so long as it so stands it guards against indirect, as well as direct,

attacks on the values it protects. Macallen v. Massachusetts, 279 U.S.

620, 629 (1929).

po

‘*Mass transportation, energy conservation, and en-

vironmental protection are goals that are important and

of legitimate public concern. Appellees contend that

these goals are so important that any harm to bond-

holders from repeal of the 1962 covenant is greatly

outweighed by the public benefit. We do not accept

this invitation to engage in a utilitarian comparison of

public benefit and private loss. . . . Thus a State cannot

refuse to meet its legitimate financial obligations sim-

ply because it would prefer to spend the money to

promote the public good rather than the private welfare

of its creditors.’’

The same is true here.

E. By Claiming That it Cannot Tell When it Violates

the Constitution Appelleee Contradicts the Basis of

its Central Argument.

The arguments of the Appellee and its amici add up to

a massive self-contradiction. When it comes to pursuit of

regulatory ends, the city is depicted as clear-thinking, con-

scientious, courageous, respectful of societal values, willing

to face hard realities, and dedicated to the public good.’!

Yet, when it comes to implementation of those ends and

to the choice of means, the regulators are depicted as inept,

confused, and (in spite of lavish assistance by counsel and

expert consultants), unable to tell constitutional right from

wrong, so that they blunder over the constitutional boundary

with such ingenuousness as to lay a claim to a judicial rescue

_ “Although, curiously enough, to the extent local California munic-

ipalities have shown an inclination to regulate themselves so as to

provide ample room for growth, they are criticized for so doing in the

amicus brief of the American Planning Association (at pp. 63-64). One

begins to wonder to what extent the asserted deference to local regu-

latory wisdom is being colored by unspoken commitments to idiosyn-

cratic ideologies.

ry

ee oe rz

= =

operation that would keep them from having to face the

constitutional consequences of their own acts. This, with

all due respect, is an image that simply won’t wash; if the

regulators are astute enough to select and pursue their chosen

governmental ends, they should also be responsible enough

to select appropriate means. As this Court pointedly noted

in International Paper Co. v. United States, 282 U.S. 399,

406 (1930):

‘‘The government exercised its power in the interest

of the country in an important matter, without diffi-

culty, so far as appears, until the time comes to pay

for what it has had. The doubt is rather late.”

F. Appellee’s Notion of ‘‘Chilling’’ Stands American

Constitutional Jurisprudence on its Head, By De-

manding That Constitutional Violators Be Favored.

Much is said in support of Appellee’s position about a

supposed ‘‘chilling’’ of governmental regualtory activities,

that is foreshadowed if access to the constitutional remedy

of just compensation is reaffirmed by this Court. Appellants

suggest in response that the various parties making such

arguments have their societal and constitutional values back-

wards. The concept of ‘‘chilling’’ rests on the idea that the

rights incorporated and protected by the Constitution are so

precious that the courts stand guard over them, and protect

them not only from outright invasions, but also from threat-

ening governmental activities that, though not crudely vi-

olative of the constitutional letter, would in reality tend to

discourage individuals from availing themselves of those

cherished rights. That is what ‘‘chilling’’ is all about.

For Appellee and its amici to come out boldly in favor

of standing this concept of ‘‘chilling’’ on its head, and to

demand that the constitutional values be narrowly circum-

— a

scribed, lest those who would violate them be ‘‘chilled’’ ,??

is simply an Orwellian inversion of the English language.

The ethical and logical basis on which the concept of ‘‘chill-

ing’’ rests means to protect the individual citizen from con-

stitutional overreaching by the powerful government, not

the other way around (history teaches that governments tend

to take care of themselves). It is indeed supposed to provide

disincentives to the government when it sets out on a con-

stitu.ionally suspect path. It would be an anomalous twist,

contrary to two centuries of American constitutional juris-

prudence, to say that constitutional violations should be

encouraged, lest their discouragement work a ‘‘chilling”’

of those who would set out on a path of collision with the

nation’s organic law and the precious values it enshrines.”’

It must be emphatically noted that no one on Appellce’s side worries

about any supposed ‘‘chilling’’ in the context of invalidation; it is only

when it comes to having to pay just compensation that the bogus tocsin

of ‘*‘chilling’’ rings out. That—Appellants suggest—tells volumes; the

commitment of the parties making that argument is thus not to the

Constitution, but only to their self-interest (i.e., to a remedial legal

structure that would make constitutional violations convenient, and

above all cheap).

Appellants suggest in reply that confronting a would-be constitutional

violator with the prospect of unpleasant consequences is not ‘‘chill-

ing’’—it is deterrence from wrongdoing.

*In that connection, one notes the es bald assertion (Ap-

pellee’s Brief. 16) suggesting that no ‘‘fundamental rights’’ are involved

here. Significantly, that naked assertion appears as ipse dixit in a head-

ing which is not supported by any reason or authority. Suffice it to say

in reply that this Court definitively rejected this unsound notion in

Lynch v. Household Finance Corp., 405 U.S. 538, 552 (1972), where

it made explicitly clear that the right to ‘*. . . enjoy property without

unlawful deprivation . . .”’ enjoys the same degree of protection as

**. . . the right to speak or the right to travel.’’ This principle, in turn,

rests on the eminently sensible notion that the most precious *‘personal’”’

rights cannot be enjoyed by persons whose property rights are not

similarly protected. ‘‘Neither could have meaning without the other’’

(/d.).

oe

i).

G. Appellee’s Arguments Ignore the Concept of Fair-

ness That Is the Cornerstone of the Constitution.

Finally, an observation must be made on one aspect of

the arguments of Appellee and its amici that is conspicuous

by its absence. fairness.

Appellee and friends devote all their policy arguments

to the support of governmental convenience, studiously ig-

noring in the process the idea that the persons who own

land in this country are not some sort of enemy to be fought,

Sut living, breathing individuals whose lives and lifetimes

of work are at stake, and who both deserve and are entitled

to the protection promised them by their Constitutions.” In

the words of a recent commentary:

‘*Fairness requires that individuals be treated not

merely as means to social ends but rather as persons

who deserve respect as ends in themselves. Although

fairness standards are necessarily indetern:inate, courts

faced with particular challenges to zoning measures

must nonetheless ask whether those measures exact

such a disproportionate sacrifice from individual prop-

erty holders relative to their peers and to their expec-

tations that the affected individuals may be seen as —

having been treated solely as a means in a process of

social engineering.’” Comment, Developments in The

Law: Zoning, 91 Harv. L. Rev. 1429, 1492 (footnote

omitted).

Those ethical principles have been wholly ignored by

Appellee’s arguments.

*The California Constitution (Art. I, §1) symbolically places at its

beginning the ‘*. . . acquiring, possessing, and protecting property

.’ as one of the secured **. . . inalienable rights. . . .”’

—

3

THE OPINION BELOW SQUARELY DEALS WITH THE CON-

STITUTIONAL ISSUES OF TAKINGS AND REMEDIES,

AND EXPRESSLY BELIES APPELLEE’S ‘‘ADMINISTRA-

TIVE REMEDIES” ARGUMENTS.

The matters suggested by the above heading were dis-

cussed in Appellants Response to Motion to Dismiss or

Affirm at pp. 7-10 (to which the Court’s attention is re-

spectfully invited), and need not be repeated at length here.

The court below could not have been clearer in rejecting

the notion that any ‘‘administrative remedies’’ threshold

problem was involved.** So did this Court, as discussed

presently.

By way of brief summary, the ‘‘administrative remedies’’

argument is without merit because:

(a) What is involved here is a major zoning ordinance

which is a legislative, not administrative, gov-

ernmental act (City of East Lake v. Forest City

Enterprises, 426 U.S. 668 (1976); San Diego

Bldg. Contractors Assn. v. City Council, 13

Cal.3d 205, 118 Cal.Rptr. 146, 529 P.2d 570

(1974)). There are no ‘‘administrative’’ remedies

**See particularly Appendix A to Appellants’ Response to Motion

to Dismiss or Affirm, in which the California Supreme Court carefully

deleted all references to ‘‘administrative mandamus’’ (the California

judicial remedy that serves to review administrative acts), and amended

its opinion to make clear that ordinary mandamus (a remedy used to

review legislative acts) was its chosen remedy. *‘Administrative man-

darnus’’ is the statutory review procedure of administrative acts (Cal.

Code Civ. Procedure §1094.5). By long standing and well settled Cal-

ifornia law, this is a remedy limited to judicial review of administrative

matters and is not available to review legislative acts. See Wulzen v.

Board of Supervisors (1894) 101 Cal.15, 35 P.353, Strumsky v. San

Diego County etc. (1974) 11 Cal.3d 28, 35, fn. 2, 112 Cal.Rptr. 805,

809, 520 P.2d 29. For an explication of the California legislative intent

in adopting Cal. Code Civ. Proc. §1094.5, see Brock v. Superior Court

(1952) 109 Cal.App.2d 594, 598-601, 241 P.2d 283.

NR Bo Tre ik tet ten ere

oa

to be pursued here,”° and, moreover, it is axio-

matic that one need not supplicate the legislative

to change the law before challenging its consti-

tutionality.

(b) Since, under the facts alleged, a claim of depri-

vation of constitutional rights is invoked, for

which a judicial remedy at law or in equity lies

under 42 U.S.C. §1983 (Lake County Estates

v. Tahoe Regional Planning Agency, .... U.S.

...., 59 L. Ed.2d 401 (1979)), no pursuit of ad-

ministrative remedies is required in any event

(Damico v. California, 389 U.S. 416 (1967)).

Also, in light of Appellee’s consistent and avowed

commitment to keeping the subject property as

an indispensable part of the City’s open space

resources, any such pursuit of these non-existent

‘*remedies’’ would have been futile in any event.

(See Dahl v. City of Palo Alto, 372 F.Supp. 647,

649, fn. 2, (1974, N.D. Cal.)).

(c) The court below did not base its decision on any

such threshold matters but went to the substantive

and remedial merits of the federal constitutional

issues presented.

(d) The court below decided the very issue tendered

by Appellee (See Appellants’ Response to Motion

to Dismiss or Affirm, at pp. 9-10) and thus Ap-

pellee is hardly in a position to argue that the

issue was not properly before that court.

(e) Whatever comforting language Appellee may find

in the California intermediate appellate court

cases it cites, the blunt fact is that in its most

recent decision on point, the California Supreme

See Moore v. East Cleveland,’ 431 U.S. 494, 511-512 (Brennan,

J., concurring.)

mm, Sam

Court definitively rejected the argument that ad-

ministrative remedies need to be exhausted before

mounting a judicial constitutional challenge. State

v. Superior Court (Veta), 12 Cal.3d 237, 250-

251, 115 Cal.Rptr. 497, 524 P.2d 1281 (1974).

Aside from these matters, Appellee overlooks that this

Court expressly considered and rejected that very argument

in Euclid v. Ambler Realty Co., 272 U.S. 365, 386 (1926).

There, the city argued that the landowner was required to

seek permission to use his land contrary to the zoning or-

dinance before suing. This Court disagreed.

Finally, the California Supreme Court chose to decide a

prime constitutional issue that created a harsh precedent

going directly to federal constitutional rights of Californi-

ans. If the court below had intended to base its decision on

any threshold procedural matters by state law, it would have

said so;”’ instead, it expressly chose to address remedies

under the Fifth Amendment. That is what is before this

Court for review. The issue now ingeniously asserted by

Appellee and its amici formed no part of the decision below

and is thus not properly raised now.

i

THE PRESENT RECORD MAKES IT CLEAR THAT THE SUB-

JECT PROPERTY HAS BEEN RENDERED USELESS AND

WORTHLESS; ANY FACTUAL CONTROVERSY ON THAT

POINT THAT APPELLEE WISHES TO PURSUE SHOULD

BE RAISED IN A TRIAL ON THE MERITS.

Much is said by Appellee and its amici about Appellants’

supposed “‘right’’ to build at least one house. Putting aside

"When the California Supreme Court wants to deal with the state

law of remedies, it knows how to make its purpose clear; see State v.

a a (Veta), 12 Cal.3d 237, 115 Cal.Rptr. 497, 524 P.2d

( ).

x hi i ag NL eR 8S ok

oe a ls ee be 4s

a ee

the fact that the allegations (which on this record are the

only facts before the Court) are to the contrary, and putting

aside the fact that such an argument simply contradicts

Nectow v. Cambridge, 277 U.S. 183 (1928).” the ordinance

before the Court itself belies the supposed ‘‘right’’.

While Appellee and friends exhort the ‘‘Uses Allowed

By Right’’ part of the ordinance as well as its density pro-

visions (see J.S.A. at pp. 31-32), they stop their reading

too soon. Immediately following these provisons there come

‘*Standards’’ (J.S.A. at pp. 32-33), which make it crystal

clear that nothing can be built on the subject property except

by the City’s whim, and that the owner would literally have

to deed the ‘‘open space’’ land to the City (J.S.A. at p.32).

What these draconian measures leave of utility and value

is at best illusory. Surely, Appellants are entitled to show

on the merits that the market’s reaction is to shun land which

(putting all else aside for the moment) would have to be

purchased by its users in large lots which then would have

to be largely dedicated ‘‘in fee title or of scenic easements’’

etc. to the City. Suffice it to say that when given the op-

portunity an owner may be able to prove that such severe

restrictions (that first create large lots and then stultify their

use and enjoyment as such), do constitute a taking. That

is quite similar to what happened in Arastra Limited Part-

nership v. City of Palo Alto, 401 F.Supp. 962 (1975,

N.D.Cal.), where the aggrieved landowner proved just that.

And, of course, there is also the impact on value, utility

and marketability of Appellee’s avowed and widely publi-

**Nectow—telied on by Appellants but completely ignored by Ap-

pellee—held that notwithstanding a zoning ordinance’s ostensible per-

mission to put the land to some uses, it was proper for a trier of fact

to consider the economics of such uses and to conclude that actually

such ostensibly permitted uses denied the owner any economically

rational use of his land or any return on his investment.

a

cized intention to make the subject property an ‘‘indispen-

sable’’ part of its ‘‘open space’’, and the on-again, off-again

condemnation, all of which Appellee and friends have sim-

ply ignored.

In sum, this record makes it clear that Appellants may

well be able to prove a taking, given a fair chance and their

day in court. That would seem to be their constitutional

right, as this Court explained in Portsmouth Harbor L. &

H. Co. v. United States, 260 U.S. 327, 330 (1922).

4.

THE NATURE OF PROPERTY AND THE EFFECT OF REGU-

LATIONS ON IT LEAD TO THE CONCLUSION THAT A

**TAKING”’ NEED NOT ENCOMPASS THE ENTIRE FEE

SIMPLE ABSOLUTE TITLE, BUT MAY INVOLVE ONLY

THE TAKING OF A PARTICULAR PROPERTY RIGHT,

WITH JUST COMPENSATION AWARDED ACCORD-

INGLY.

One of the myths extant in the field of inverse condem-

nation (that is displayed in the ‘‘parade of horribles’’ ar-

guments of Appellee and its amici” is the legally and log-

ically unjustified notion that if a ‘‘taking’’ is found and

payment of just compensation is ordered, that somehow

requires the taking entity to acquire involuntarily the entire

fee simple absolute title and pay full fair market value of

the entire ‘‘bundle of sticks’’ comprising the regulated prop-

erty. This, in turn, is said to expose regulating entities to

ruinous damages for what is but a misstep that goes only

“See, e.g., the amicus brief of the State of California, at p. 45,

where a crude attempt is made to impute to Appellants an argument

that ‘‘[s]lightly cross the line . . . and the hammer falls.’’ In fact, as

shown presently, that is the myth. The law requires examination of the

facts of each case, and a determination of what, if anything, has been

taken. Again, any supposed dogmatic approach to this problem lies on

Appellee’s—not Appellants’—side of the argument.

= =

a bit too far—so goes the argument. (See, e.g., the amicus

brief of the State of California, at p. 43, where the State

agonizes over whether the United States involuntarily

bought ‘‘an enormous portion’’ of Virginia). In reality, nei-

ther such simplistic all-or-nothing ‘‘taking’’ theory, nor its

supposed economically catastrophic sequelae have any sub-

stance.’ Nonetheless, this spurious theory is regularly

hauled out of mothballs, and is used to frighten unsophis-

ticated local judges into refusing to grant any relief to griev-

ously damaged property owners.”

“And neither does the fallacious premise that would depict ‘‘regu-

lation’’ so severe as to work a taking, as a careless misstep by a well-

meaning regulatory agency. Not only do such meritless importunings

propose that the judiciary ride to the rescue of irresponsible govern-

mental agencies shrinking from facting the consequences of their dis-

regard of the Constitution, but on the facts at bench they lack factual

validity as well. What is involved here is a solemnly undertaken act

of governance, arrived at only after careful study by leading expert

consultants and with assistance of counsel. It was a deliberate process

that invoked the full panoply of governmental powers, and took years

to accomplish. In short, such arguments do not properly tug at judicial

feelings of compassion; rather they are more in the nature of an irre-

sponsible litigant seeking to evade accountability to the Constitution

which it is bound to uphold rather than circumvent. The amicus brief

of the City of San Jose, et al, provides the proverbial ‘‘Exhibit A.”’

There (at pp. 5-6) it is argued with a straight face (albeit in flowing

prose) that a confessed municipal blunder in racing against other cities

to incorporate as much territory as possible, and then caving in to

political pressure to deny reasonable land uses on the annexed land,

is somehow an act of virtue to be rewarded. When viewed with some

detachment, this argument is something less than overwhelming in its

moral sweep. It does, however, provide a good illustration of what the

court in Raley (quoted supra, at pp. 14-16) aptly called ‘‘administrative

anarchy.”’

*'This observation implies no disrespect to the judiciary at any level.

On the contrary, it merely serves to acknowiedge the fact of life known

well to practicing lawyers, that judges are overwhelmingly generalists

and their usual heavy workload is typically composed of criminal pros-

ecutions, tort litigation, divorces, a sprinkling of commercial disputes,

and occasional litigation of governmental regulations of businesses.

Inverse condemnation cases are quite rare, and therefore it is hardly

surprising that a typical state trial judge, bereft of research assistance,

and unfamiliar with this arcane field (which has proven troublesome

to leading scholars, and indeed, even to this Court with all its enviable

resources), may well find himself intellectually intimidated by expe-

rienced attorneys’ doomsday cries of imminent municipal ruin.

ee

In fact, an analysis of the decisional law shows the myth

to be just that. While in some cases in which the regulation’s

impact on the landowner” was wholly confiscatory, or where

_the non-physical taking was brought about by the govern-

mental activities collateral to an overtly acquisitory intent

(as at bench), courts have occasionally held that a complete

taking had occurred. See Benenson v. U.S., 548 F.2d 939

(1977, Ct. Cl.) (severe regulations prevented owner from

using the Willard Hotel in Washington while the Govern-

ment moved to acquire it); Peacock v. County of Sacra-

mento, 271 Cal.App.2d 848, 77 Cal.Rptr. 391 (1969) (for

several years all uses of subject property—save growing of

grass—prohibited while the county tried to decide whether

to acquire it for an airport; in the meantime, taxes on that

property were raised annually); Drakes Bay Land Co. v.

U.S., 424 F.2d 574 (1970, Ct.Cl.), and 459 F.2d 504, 505

(1972 Ct. Ci.) (government successfully interfered with

owner’s plans for use of its land while awaiting Congres-

sional appropriation to condemn it); Arastra Limited Part-

nership v. City of Palo Alto, 401 F.Supp. 962 (1975,

N.D.Cal.), opinion vacated by stipulation following sub-

Please recall that the central criterion of a taking is the owner’s

loss, not the taker’s gain: ‘*. . . The question is, What has the owner

lost? not What has the taker gained?’’: (Boston Chamber of Commerce

v. Boston,) 217 U.S. 189, 194 (1910). This principle, although first

articulated as a rule of valuation, was adopted by the Court as a criterion

of taking: ‘‘The courts have held that the deprivation of the former

owner rather than the accretion of a right or interest to the sovereign

constitutes the taking.’’ United States v. General Motors Corp., 323

U.S. 373, 378 (1943). Also see Kimball Laundry Co. v. United States,

(338 U.S. 1, 13 (1948). Thus, where the governmental conduct has

stripped the owner of all/ rights of ownership, a full taking may be the

result.

“A similar case is Bydlon v. U.S., 175 F.Supp. 891 (1959, Ct.Cl.),

except that the taking technique there consisted of forbidding access

to the subject property. Also see Pete v. U.S., 531 F.2d 018 (1976,

Ct.Cl.), and 569 F.2d 565 (1978, Ct.Cl.) (a long-delayed denouement

of the original Bydlon controversy).

=

stantial settlement, 417 F.Supp. 1125 (extensive scheme of

ostensible regulations imposed in lieu of acquisition that so

burdened the regulated land as to make it unusable); Rich-

mond Elks Hall Assn. v. Richmond Redevelopment Agency,

561 F.2d 1327 (1977, 9th Cir.) (impact of announced, then

delayed, then abandoned plans to condemn the subject prop-

erty destroyed its utility and saleability; held: these events

amounted to taking of such title as aggrieved owner had,

561 F.2d at 1332).

On the other hand, where the impact of governmental

regulatory conduct on the affected land was less severe,

courts have held that the ‘‘taking’’ was either temporary,

or partial, or both. Thus, in Sneed v. County of Riverside,

218 Cal.App.2d 205, 32 Cal.Rptr. 318 (1963), the court

held that an ostensible height regulation was in reality a

taking of an avigation easement. In Lomarch Corp. v. City

_of Englewood, 237 A.2d 81 (1968, N. J.), a regulation

‘*freezing’’ land for a limited period of time in contempla-

tion of possible public park uses was held to be a com-

pensable taking of an option to purchase. In Keystone As-

sociates v. State, 371 N.Y.S.2d 814 (1975, Ct. Cl.) rev'd.

389 N.Y.S.2d 895, (1976. App. Div.) rev’d. and remanded

45 N.Y.2d 894, 383 N.E.2d 560 (1978, N. Y.), aregulation

improperly delaying demolition of the Old Metropolitan

Opera House was held to be a temporary de facto taking

and compensation was awarded on a temporary rental basis.

Similarly, in City of Austin v. Teague, 570 S.W.2d 389

(1978, Tex.), the. offending confiscatory governmental con-

duct (there, an unjustified permit denial) was interdicted by

non-monetary judicial declaration while in the same pro-

“Similarly, in United States v. Causby, 328 U.S. 256 (1946). this

Court did nor require that Causby's land be acquired in toto; on the

contrary, the matter was remanded to the Court of Claims to define

with particularity the nature and extent of the easement found to have

been taken there. See U.S. at 267-268.

= we

ceeding the owner was awarded compensation for out-of-

pocket losses incurred by reason of the improper govern-

mental regulatory intervention. Accord, San Antonio River

Authority v. Garrett Bros., 528 S.W.2d 266 (1975, Tex.

Civ. App.). And in Gordon’. City of Warren, 579 F.2d

386, 387 (1978, 6th Cir.), it was alleged that the wrongful

municipal regulatory activities effected a temporary taking,

and this was held to state a proper cause for relief under the

Fourteenth Amendment.

Of particular interest are cases in which the government

engaged in inequitable precondemnation activities that so

trenched on the landowner’s rights of use and enjoyment

of his land as to work a non-physical taking, but then the

governmental acquisition plans were abandoned before all

of the involved property rights were destroyed. In such

situations courts found a taking but awarded just compen-

sation only for the temporary invasion of the owners’ prop-

erty rights. See Washington Market Enterprises, Inc. v. City

of Trenton, 343 A.2d 408 (1975, N. J.), and Jones v. Peo-

ple, 22 Cal.3d 144, 148 Cal.Rptr. 640, 583 P.2d 165

(1978).

Still other cases involved situations where the aggrieved

landowners availed themselves of the remedy of invalidation

of the confiscatory regulation, and after securing judgments

to that effect, sued for just compensation to provide them

with monetary redress for the temporary loss of use* of

‘It is, of course, basic that the very idea of ‘‘property’’ rests on the

notion that its owner has the right to use and enjoy it subject only to

reasonabie regulation (Buchanan v. Warley, 245 U.S. 60, 74 (1917)).

Indeed, California defines property in terms of ‘‘ownership’’ which,

in turn, is defined as ‘*. . . the right of one or more persons to possess

and use it to the exclusion of others,’’ Cal. Civil Code §654, emphasis

added. In that connection, please recall that for purposes of applying

the protection of the Constitution to ‘‘property,”’ this Court iooks to

state law’s definition of ‘‘property’’; see United States ex rel. TVA v.

Powelson, 319 U.S. 266, 279 (1943); Sauer v. New York, 206 U.S.

536, 548 (1907). For an extensive collection of federal cases applying

this principle, see Annotation | A.L.R.Fed. 479, 482-483.

PAR NS ra Son 2D ie NTN

a

their property during the time consumed in obtaining a ju-

dicial declaration of the regulation’s invalidity. See Gordon

v. City of Warren, supra, 579 F.2d 386; Sixth Camden

Corp. v. Township of Evesham 420 F.Supp. 709 (1976, D.

N. J.): Keystone Associates v. State, 333 N.Y.S.2d 27,

(1972, App. Div.) aff'd. 307 N.E.2d 254 (1973, N.Y.).

Finally, some courts have fashioned a flexible remedy

whereby the regulation is found to work a taking, and there-

upon the regulating entity is ordered either to allow the

owner to proceed with his proposed land use or to initiate

condemnation proceedings promptly. See Estuary Proper-

ties, Inc. v. Askew, .... So.2d .... (1979, Fla.App.). This

approach too does not compel full acquisition of the ‘‘taken’’

property but rather confronts the regulating entity with an

intelligent decision whether the public benefit to be derived

from the community’s asset enhancement warrants the cost.

It is, in other words, a situation in which the courts quite

properly present the bill for the illusory ‘*free lunch’’, while

its would-be consumer may opt out of the feast now that

it is no longer ‘‘free’’. -

In sum, the concept of non-physical takings, as any other

takings, is premised on the sound and settled principle that

a compensable taking may be found to exist but, even so,

it need not be a permanent taking of the owner’s entire

‘‘bundle of sticks.’’ Depending on the specific facts and

particularly on the nature and extent of the impact of gov-

ernmental action on the subject property, it may only be a

taking of a limited property interest, possibly for a limited

period of time. In such cases the taking entity pays only for

those rights it has taken, and only for the duration of the

taking.”

“It cannot go without emphasis that the California Legislature con-

templated this very possibility when in Cal. Gov't. Code $6953 it

expressly authorized resales of land acquired for open space. It likewise

cannot go without notice that Appellee’s response to this point noted

by Appellants (see Appellants’ Brief, p. 42). is to ignore it entirely.

Most importantly, as this Court made quite clear in Kaiser

Aetna v. United States, .... U.S. ...., 100 S.Ct. 383 (1979),

a partial taking may result from the deprivation of the

owner’s one significant ‘‘stick’’ in the ‘‘bundle’’ of rights

that comprise property.

Thus, any doomsday cries of impending municipal bank-

ruptcy (which have made their appearance here in spite of

the self-evident fact that any fiscal catastrophe so dramat-

ically foreshadowed perforce has to be self-inflicted), ought

to be viewed with the healthy skepticism they deserve.

For if a finding of a full taking is in the offing on a given

set of facts, that perforce means that the constitutional vi-

olation has been gross and its impact on the owner devas-

tating. Here, as in other areas of constitutional law, it seems

only fitting that the courts opt for supporting the Consti-

tution, and not waste their sympathy on its egregious vio-

lators. Here, as elsewhere, there is no such thing as a free

lunch; there is no intellectually or morally respectable reason

why the public whose amenities are being bettered and

whose resources are being enhanced by quite deliberate and

determined acquistive actions of the government*’ (see Sax,

Takings and Police Power, 74 Yale L. Jour 26, 62-63

(1964)), should not be called upon to provide recompense

to those who are being impoveristied as a result of such

“It cannot go without noting that in the case at bench the events

complained of came about only after an extended period of studies by

renowned experts who determined that the subject property was indis-

pensable to the City’s ‘‘open space’’ resources and recommended its

acquisition; indeed, until the notion of a ‘‘free lunch’’ beckoned, the

City’s conduct was avowedly acquisitory and included formal eminent

doman proceedings. This governmental entity—advised by its counsel

all along—knew exactiy what it was doing; it was acquiring*‘open

space’’ parklands to enhance its own resources. An allusion to this

Court’s observation quoted supra, at p. 19, seems quite appropriate.

= oe

asset transfer.** This Court has repeatedly so held: Gerlach

Live Stock Co. v. U.S., 339 U.S. 725, 752-753 (1950);

Armstrong v. U.S., 364 U.S. 40, 49 (1960); Berman v.

Parker, 348 U.S. 26, 36, (1954). To countenance a contrary

view would be to sanction the ‘‘shorter cut’’ than permitted

by the Constitution, that was enduringly deplored by Mr.

Justice Holmes in Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon, 260

U.S. 393, 416 (1922).

3.

THE CASE AT BENCH PROVIDES AN OPPORTUNITY TO

STRIKE A BALANCE BETWEEN THE PUBLIC INTER-

EST AND ENVIRONMENTALIST ZEALOTRY.

Particularly in juxtaposition with the currently fashionable

rhetoric exhorting environmental concerns as being in the

_public interest, it warrants reiteration of the bedrock prin-

ciple on which this society rests, that the public interest

encompasses those values that the framers sought to protect

by inclusion in the fundamental guarantees of the Consti-

tution. Thus, this case may provide this Court with an ap-

propriate vehicle for striking a balance between environ-

mental zealotry and the constitutionally endorsed public

interest in securing to individual citizens a measure of pro-

The reciprocity theory on which zoning is sometimes justified (i.e.,

that a proper land use pattern confers benefits on all members of the

community) manifestly has no applicability to cases such as this where

one or two members of the community are stripped of their property

in order to improve the lot of their fellows. To call that ‘‘reciprocity”’

is to engage in a certain degree of distortion of the English language.

To put it in legal terms, the Euclid zoning notion on which the idea

of reciprocity rests has it that Jand uses in the community are allocated

and thereby balanced; but it is absurd to claim to find ‘‘balance’’ in

a system that denies all economic use to one citizen in order to enhance

the uses of his neighbors’ land.

=” an

tection against overreaching governmental confiscatory

course of conduct.

Simply put, this isn’t 1960 or even 1970; Rachel Carson’s

plea for the environment is no longer a lone cry in the

wilderness. Today’s world must confront the fact that en-

vironmentalists - far from the embattled little band of yore

- tend to make their appearance armed to the teeth with

potent laws and regulations enforced by a formidable array

of governmental bureaucracies. In short, environmentalism

has come of age and like any other force in society it must

confront its obligations and ethical duties. It is time to strike

a balance, and this Court may quite appropriately do so in

this case.

This case illustrates how an ordinary citizen, who lawfully

accumulated some property, can be simply destroyed by

latter-day environmentalist Savonarolas who care only for

their ideological goals, and who care naught for simple

fairness and its reflection in the Constitution. Such citizens

deserve and are entitled to that Constitution’s protection.

Conclusion.

Much of Appellee’s argument is digressive. It presses on

the Court a red herring having to do with the supposed

horrors of damages being payable for any slight govern-

mental misstep. That is simply not the issue here. The pres-

ent allegations (which must be taken as true, this being a

dismissal following a general demurrer) are that the subject

property has been deprived of all utility and value; that is

what is before the Court. Similarly, the issue is whether just

compensation remains an appropriate remedy in cases of

full deprivation of an owner’s property rights; not some

fantasy involving involuntary fee purchases for minor mis-

steps.

ae

Whatever may be the full panoply of criteria that will

satisfy the scholars as a complete matrix of inverse con-

demnation law governing non-physical takings, this case

presents three important factors:

(a) it charges deprivation of all utility and value.

(b) it charges that the ostensible regulation is in fact

an acquisitory device, and

(c) it charges that the owners have been deprived by

the interaction of all city acts of their substantial prop-

erty rights.

The criteria laid down by this Court in Penn Central and

Kaiser Aetna are thus quite sufficient to permit Appellants

a trial on the merits.

Appellants pray that the judgment below be reversed and

the cause be remanded for trial.

Respectfully submitted,

GIDEON KANNER,

JOHN P. POLLOCK,

REGINALD G. HEARN,

Attorneys for Appellants.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.